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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 



EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 08 – STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Elections intends to adopt the rules cited as 08 

NCAC 21 .0101-.0106 and amend the rule cited as 08 NCAC 21 

.0201. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncsbe.gov/index.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 23, 2020 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  Third Floor, Dobbs Building, 430 N. Salisbury Street, 

Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The above rules are proposed for 

adoption and amendment in order to comply with existing 

directives to the State Board of Elections to engage in rulemaking 

related to campaign finance reporting requirements, to establish 

the reports and schedule for federal political committees required 

to register with the State of North Carolina pursuant to G.S. 163-

278.7A, and to clarify that the agency's noncompliance process 

for late campaign finance reports applies to all reports filed under 

Article 22A, Chapter 163. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Kelly Tornow, Rulemaking 

Coordinator, PO Box 27255, Raleigh, NC 27611-7255; email 

rules@ncsbe.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 21 - DEPARTMENTAL RULES 

 

SECTION .0100 – REPORTING 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0101 BEST EFFORTS 

The treasurer of a political committee or referendum committee 

will be deemed to have exercised best efforts to obtain, maintain, 

and report the information required by G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1) if 

all of the following efforts are made: 

(1) All written solicitations for contributions 

include a request for the contributor's full name, 

mailing address, and principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1), and include 

an accurate statement of North Carolina law 

regarding the collection and reporting of 

individual contributor information. The 

following are examples of acceptable 

statements for a candidate committee, political 

committee, or referendum committee, but are 

not the only allowable statements: "State law 

requires us to use our best efforts to collect and 

report the full name, mailing address, job title 

or profession, and employer's name or 

employer's specified field of business activity 

of individuals whose contributions exceed fifty 

dollars ($50.00) in an election;" and "To 

comply with State law, we must use best efforts 

to obtain, maintain, and submit the full name, 

mailing address, job title or profession, and 

employer's name or employer's specified field 

of business activity of individuals whose 

contributions exceed fifty dollars ($50.00) in an 

election." The request and statement shall 

appear in a clear and conspicuous manner on 

any response material included in a solicitation. 

The request and statement are not clear and 

conspicuous if they are in small type in 

comparison to the solicitation and response 

materials, or if the printing is difficult to read or 

if the placement is easily overlooked; 

(2) For each contribution received aggregating in 

excess of fifty dollars ($50.00) per election (as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.13(e)) which lacks 

required contributor information, such as the 
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contributor's full name, mailing address, job 

title or profession, or employer's name or 

employer's specified field of business activity, 

the treasurer makes at least one effort after the 

receipt of the contribution to obtain the missing 

information. That effort shall consist of either a 

written request sent to the contributor or an oral 

request to the contributor documented in 

writing. The written or oral request must be 

made no later than 30 days after receipt of the 

contribution. The written or oral request shall 

not include material on any other subject or any 

additional solicitation, except that it may 

include language solely thanking the 

contributor for the contribution. The request 

must clearly ask for the missing information 

and must include the statement set forth in Item 

(1) of this Rule. Written requests must include 

this statement in a clear and conspicuous 

manner. If the request is written, it shall be 

accompanied by a pre-addressed return post 

card or envelope for the response material; 

(3) The treasurer reports all contributor 

information not provided by the contributor, but 

in the political committee's or referendum 

committee's possession, including information 

in contributor records, fundraising records and 

previously filed reports, in the same election; 

(4) If, after complying with all provisions of this 

section, the treasurer is unable to identify the 

contributor's principal occupation the treasurer 

shall list all available information and report 

"unable to obtain" as to the missing 

occupational information; and 

(5) If any of the contributor information is received 

after the contribution has been disclosed on a 

regularly scheduled report, the candidate 

committee, political committee, or referendum 

committee shall file on or before its next 

regularly scheduled reporting date, 

amendments to the report(s) originally 

disclosing the contribution(s), which include 

the contributor identifications together with the 

dates and amounts of the contribution(s). 

Amendments must be filed for all reports that 

cover the election in which the contribution was 

received that disclose itemizable contributions 

from the same contributor. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.11; 163-278.22. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0102 REPORTING OF INDEPENDENT 

EXPENDITURES 

(a)  Once an individual as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(55), person 

as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(72) or other entity required to report 

independent expenditures under G.S. 163-278.12(a) has made 

independent expenditures with a present actual or market value in 

excess of one hundred dollars ($100.00) during an election as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.6(30), the individual, person or entity 

shall report all independent expenditures, and any donations made 

to further independent expenditures, with the following board of 

elections: 

(1) If the district of the candidate or ballot issue 

supported or opposed is within one county, and 

the candidate is not running for a legislative, 

judicial or district attorney office, the report 

shall be filed with the county board of elections; 

or 

(2) If the district of the candidate or ballot issue 

supported or opposed extends to more than one 

county, or the candidate is running for a 

legislative, judicial or district attorney office, 

the report shall be filed with the State Board. 

(b)  An independent expenditure filer is the individual, person, or 

other entity making a reportable independent expenditure under 

G.S. 163-278.12(a). 

(c)  Independent expenditure reports filed with the county board 

of elections or the State Board shall include all of the following: 

(1) The independent expenditure filer's name and 

mailing address; 

(2) If the independent expenditure filer is an 

individual, the filer's principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1); 

(3) If the independent expenditure filer is a person, 

the principal place of business of the person; 

(4) For each independent expenditure made: 

(A) The name and mailing address of the 

payee; 

(B) The amount paid; 

(C) The date the expenditure was incurred; 

(D) A description of the expenditure; and 

(E) The name of the candidate, candidates 

of a clearly identified political party or 

referendum supported or opposed by 

the independent expenditure; 

(5) For each donation of more than one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) that must be reported under 

G.S. 163-278.12(f): 

(A) The donor's name and mailing 

address; 

(B) If the donor is an individual, the 

donor's principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1); 

(C) If the donor is a person, the principal 

place of business of that person; 

(D) The amount of the donation; and 

(E) The date of the donation; 

(6) A certification as to whether all expenditures 

reported were made in concert or cooperation 

with, or at the request or suggestion of, a 

candidate, a candidate campaign committee as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.38Z(3), a referendum 

committee, the agent of a candidate, the agent 

of a candidate campaign committee, or an agent 

of a referendum committee. 

(d)  An independent expenditure filer that makes expenditures 

with a present actual or market value in excess of five thousand 

dollars ($5,000) during an election shall file independent 
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expenditure reports electronically consistent with 08 NCAC 21 

.0106. All other independent expenditure filers shall report 

independent expenditures, and any donation made to further 

independent expenditures, on forms available on the State Board's 

website, or electronically consistent with 08 NCAC 21 .0106. The 

independent expenditure filer shall use the following State Board 

forms available on the State Board's website: 

(1) Independent Expenditure Report Cover; 

(2) Donations to Further Independent 

Expenditures; and 

(3) Incurred Costs of Independent Expenditures. 

(e)  For each independent expenditure report filed electronically, 

the treasurer shall sign the Independent Expenditure Report Cover 

and mail or hand-deliver the signed original to the board of 

elections in (a). 

(f)  The independent expenditure filer shall complete and sign 

forms within the time period set forth in G.S. 163-278.12(d). After 

the initial report, the independent expenditure filer shall continue 

to file independent expenditure reports according to the reporting 

schedule in G.S. 163-278.9 until the end of the election. If the 

independent expenditure filer makes independent expenditures in 

support of or in opposition to municipal candidates or municipal 

ballot issues, the independent expenditure filer shall report all 

independent expenditures according to the reporting schedule in 

Part 2 of Article 22A. The due date of each report shall be 

published on the State Board of Elections website. 

(g)  A report is consider filed: 

(1) On the date it is received by hand-delivery 

during regular business hours at the county 

board of elections or State Board of Elections; 

(2) On the date it is postmarked by the United 

States Postal Services or marked with an 

equivalent marking by a delivery service 

authorized by G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4; 

(3) For an independent expenditure report filed 

electronically pursuant to Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule, on the date the completed report is 

emailed to the State Board of Elections at 

campaign.reporting@ncsbe.gov. 

(h)  A report that is missing any of the information in Paragraph 

(c) of this Rule shall not be considered filed in accordance with 

G.S. 163-278.12(d). 

(i)  An independent expenditure filer that makes an expenditure 

of five thousand dollars ($5,000) or more or receives a donation 

of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or more before an election but 

after the period covered by the last report due before that election, 

shall file a 48-hour report with the State Board or county board of 

elections using forms available on the State Board's website. 

 

Authority G.S. G.S. 163-278.12; 163-278.22. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0103 SPECIAL REPORTING OF 

CONTRIBUTIONS 

(a)  Once a person as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(72) or other entity 

required to report contributions under G.S. 163-278.12(b) has 

made contributions with a present actual or market value in excess 

of one hundred dollars ($100.00) during an election as defined in 

G.S. 163-278.6(30), the person or entity shall report all 

contributions made, and any donations made to further 

contributions, with the following board of elections: 

(1) If the district of the candidate or ballot issue 

supported or opposed is within one county, and 

the candidate is not running for a legislative, 

judicial or district attorney office, the report 

shall be filed with the county board of elections; 

or 

(2) If the district of the candidate or ballot issue 

supported or opposed extends to more than one 

county, or the candidate is running for a 

legislative, judicial or district attorney office, 

the report shall be filed with the State Board. 

(b)  A special contributor is the person or other entity making a 

reportable contribution under G.S. 163-278.12(b). 

(c)  Special contributor reports filed with the county board of 

elections or the State Board of Elections shall include all of the 

following: 

(1) The special contributor's name and mailing 

address; 

(2) The special contributor's principal place of 

business; 

(3) For each contribution made: 

(A) The name and mailing address of the 

recipient committee; 

(B) The amount of the contribution; 

(C) The date of the contribution; and 

(D) For any in-kind contribution, a 

description of the expenditure; 

(4) For each donation of more than one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) that must be reported under 

G.S. 163-278.12(f): 

(A) The donor's name and mailing 

address; 

(B) If the donor is an individual, the 

donor's principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1); 

(D) If the donor is a person, the principal 

place of business of that person; 

(E) The amount of the donation; and 

(F) The date of the donation; 

(d)  When reporting contributions, the special contributor shall use 

the following State Board forms available on the State Board's 

website: 

(1) Special Contributor Report Cover; 

(2) Donations to Further Contributions; and 

(3) Contributions to Registered Committees. 

(e)  The special contributor shall complete and sign forms within 

the time period set forth in G.S. 163-278.12(d). After the initial 

report, the special contributor shall continue to file special 

contributor reports according to the reporting schedule in G.S. 

163-278.9 until the end of the election. If the special contributor 

makes contributions in support of or in opposition to municipal 

candidates or municipal ballot issues, the special contributor shall 

report all contributions according to the reporting schedule in Part 

2 of Article 22A. The due date of each report shall be published 

in the State Board of Elections website. 

(f)  A report is consider filed: 
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(1) On the date it is received by hand-delivery 

during regular business hours at the county 

board of elections or State Board of Elections; 

(2) On the date it is postmarked by the United 

States Postal Services or marked with an 

equivalent marking. 

(g)  A report that is missing any of the information in Paragraph 

(c) of this Rule shall not be considered filed in accordance with 

G.S. 163-278.12(d). 

(h)  A special contributor that makes a contribution of five 

thousand dollars ($5,000) or more or receives a donation of one 

thousand dollars ($1,000.00) or more before an election but after 

the period covered by the last report due before that election, shall 

file a 48-hour report with the State Board or county board of 

elections using forms available on the State Board's website. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.12; 163-278.22. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0104 ELECTIONEERING 

COMMUNICATIONS 

(a)  Once an individual as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(55), or 

person as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(72) required to report 

electioneering communications under G.S. 163-278.12C has 

incurred an expense for the direct cost of producing or airing 

electioneering communications with a present actual or market 

value aggregating in excess of five thousand dollars ($5,000) 

during an election as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(8j), the individual 

or person shall report all electioneering communications, and any 

donations made to further electioneering communications, with 

the following board of elections: 

(1) If the district of the candidate supported or 

opposed is within one county, and the candidate 

is not running for a legislative, judicial or 

district attorney office, the report shall be filed 

with the county board of elections; or 

(2) If the district of the candidate supported or 

opposed extends to more than one county, or 

the candidate is running for a legislative, 

judicial or district attorney office, the report 

shall be filed with the State Board. 

(b)  The direct cost of producing or airing electioneering 

communications includes but is not limited to the cost of studio 

rental time; video or audio recording media; staff salaries; talent; 

airtime on broadcast, cable or satellite radio and television 

stations; and the charges for a broker to purchase the airtime. 

(c)  Electioneering Communication reports filed with the county 

board of elections or the State Board of Elections shall include all 

of the following: 

(1) The name and mailing address of the individual 

or person incurring the expense; 

(2) The name and mailing address of the custodian 

of the books and accounts of the individual or 

person incurring the expense; 

(3) If the expense is incurred by an individual, the 

individual's principal occupation as defined in 

G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1); 

(4) If the expense is incurred by a person, the 

principal place of business of the person; 

(5) If an individual or person is sharing or 

exercising direction or control over the 

activities of the individual or person incurring 

the expense with regards to the electioneering 

communication: 

(A) The name and mailing address of the 

individual or person sharing or 

exercising direction or control; 

(B) If an individual, the individual's 

principal occupation as defined in G.S. 

163-278.11(a)(1); 

(C) If a person, the principal place of 

business of the person. 

(6) For each electioneering communication 

reported: 

(A) The name and mailing address of each 

individual or person paid to produce 

the electioneering communication; 

(B) The amount paid to each individual or 

person to produce the electioneering 

communication; 

(C) The date of the electioneering 

communication; 

(D) A description of the electioneering 

communication, including any title; 

(E) The name of the candidate or 

candidates referred to in the 

electioneering communication. 

(8) For each donation of more than one thousand 

dollars ($1,000) during the reporting period 

made to further the electioneering 

communication: 

(A) The donor's name and mailing 

address; 

(B) If the donor is an individual, the 

individual's principal occupation as 

defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1); 

(C) If the donor is a person, the principal 

place of business of the person; 

(D) The amount of the donation; and 

(E) The date of the donation. 

(d)  When reporting electioneering communications, the 

individual or person shall use the following State Board forms 

available on the State Board's website: 

(1) Electioneering Communications Report Cover; 

(2) Controlling/Directing Entity List; 

(3) Receipts for Electioneering Communications; 

and 

(4) Incurred Costs for Electioneering 

Communications. 

(e)  The individual or person required to report electioneering 

communications shall complete and sign forms within the time 

period set forth in G.S. 163-278.12C(b). After the initial report, 

the individual or person incurring the expense shall continue to 

file electioneering communications reports according to the 

reporting schedule in G.S. 163-278.9 until the end of the election. 

The due date of each report shall be published in the State Board 

of Elections website. 

(f)  A report is considered filed: 
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(1) On the date it is received by hand-delivery 

during regular business hours at the county 

board of elections or State Board of Elections; 

(2) On the date it is postmarked by the United 

States Postal Services or marked with an 

equivalent marking by a delivery service 

authorized by G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4; 

(g)  A report that is missing any of the information in Paragraph 

(c) of this Rule shall not be considered filed in accordance with 

G.S. 163-278.12C. 

(h)  An individual person or entity that makes an expenditure of 

five thousand dollars ($5,000) or more or receives a donation of 

one thousand dollars ($1,000) or more before an election but after 

the period covered by the last report due before that election, shall 

file a 48-hour report with the State Board of Elections or county 

board of elections using forms provided by the State Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.12C; 163-278.22. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0105 FEDERAL POLITICAL 

COMMITTEE REPORTING 

(a)  A federal political committee that makes a contribution to a 

North Carolina political committee pursuant to G.S. 163-278.7A 

shall register with the State Board of Elections by filing the 

following forms available on the State Board's website no later 

than the 10th day following a federal political committee's transfer 

of anything of value to a North Carolina political committee: 

(1) A Federal Committee Statement of 

Organization; 

(2) Certification of Financial Account Information; 

(3) An Organizational Disclosure Report to include 

the following: 

(A) A Federal Committee North Carolina 

Disclosure Report Cover; 

(B) A Federal Committee Report of 

Contributions to NC Political 

Committees, which shall list all 

contributions to North Carolina 

political committees made prior to the 

filing of the Organizational Disclosure 

Report. 

(b)  The treasurer of a federal political committee registered with 

the State of North Carolina pursuant to G.S. 163-278.7A shall file 

reports according to the reporting schedule in G.S. 163-278.9. If 

the federal political committee makes contributions to municipal 

candidates, the federal political committee must report 

contributions to municipal candidates according to the reporting 

schedule in Part 2 of Article 22A. The due date of each report shall 

be published on the State Board of Elections website. 

(c)  A federal political committee that shows a cumulative total of 

more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) in contributions to 

statewide candidates for an election cycle, or more than ten 

thousand dollars ($10,000) in contributions to nonstatewide 

candidates for an election cycle, shall file reports electronically 

consistent with 08 NCAC 21 .0106. For each report filed 

electronically, the treasurer shall sign the Federal Committee 

North Carolina Disclosure Report Cover and mail or hand-deliver 

the signed original to the State Board of Elections. All other 

federal political committees shall report on forms provided by the 

State Board, or may choose to file reports electronically consistent 

with 08 NCAC 21 .0106. A federal political committee shall use 

the following State Board forms available on the State Board's 

website to file a disclosure report; 

(1) A Federal Committee North Carolina 

Disclosure Report Cover; and 

(2) A Federal Committee Report of Contributions 

to NC Political Committees, which shall list all 

contributions to North Carolina political 

committees made between the period start date 

and period end date. 

(e)  A report, certification, or other form is considered filed: 

(1) On the date it is received by hand-delivery 

during regular business hours at State Board of 

Elections; 

(2) On the date it is postmarked by the United 

States Postal Service or marked with an 

equivalent marking by a delivery service 

authorized by G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4; or 

(3) For a disclosure report that is filed 

electronically pursuant to Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule, on the date the completed report is 

emailed to the State Board of Elections at 

campaign.reporting@ncsbe.gov. 

(f)  If no contribution is made during a period described in G.S. 

163-278.9, the treasurer may file concurrently with a quarterly or 

semiannual report a certification to have the committee deemed 

inactive. The certification shall be made on forms provided by the 

State Board and available on the State Board's website. An 

inactive committee shall not be required to file reports so long as 

the federal political committee makes no contributions. Once a 

contribution is made, the federal political committee shall resume 

reporting according to the reporting schedule in G.S. 163-278.9. 

(g)  A federal political committee may close at any time. In order 

to close, the federal political committee shall file the following 

forms available on the State Board's website: 

(1) A Certification to Close Federal Committee; 

and 

(2) A Final Disclosure Report to include the 

following: 

(A) A Federal Committee North Carolina 

Disclosure Report Cover; 

(B) A Federal Committee Report of 

Contributions to NC Political 

Committees, which shall list all 

contributions to North Carolina 

political committees made since the 

period end date of the last report. 

(h)  Organizational, quarterly, semiannual and final disclosure 

reports shall be filed even if no contributions are made by the 

federal political committee during the period of time covered by 

the report. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.7A; 163-278.22. 

 

08 NCAC 21 .0106 ELECTRONIC FILING 

(a)  All political committees required to file electronically 

pursuant to G.S. 163-278.9(i) shall prepare disclosure reports 

using the following: 
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(1) the current version of the campaign finance 

software made available by the North Carolina 

State Board of Elections and available for 

download on the State Board website; or 

(2) third party software only if that software can 

generate reports that are capable of import into 

the State Board's central database. The import 

file formats and validation tool shall be 

available on the State Board's website. 

(b)  Reports generated by the State Board software or third-party 

software shall be filed by e-mailing the exported .cfd file to 

campaign.reporting@ncsbe.gov. State Board staff will process 

the .cfd file and send an e-mail to the treasurer confirming receipt. 

(c)  Reports received until 11:59 pm shall be deemed to have been 

filed that business day. 

(d)  For each disclosure report filed electronically, the treasurer 

shall sign the Disclosure Report Cover and mail or hand-deliver 

to the board of elections office where the political committee filed 

its Statement of Organization. 

(e)  A committee that exceeds the reporting threshold and is 

required to start filing electronically during an election cycle shall 

ensure that each contributor's sum-to-date is reported accurately 

on all subsequent disclosure reports. 

(f)  A committee that is required to file electronically pursuant to 

G.S. 163A-1418(i) and files a paper report shall have failed to file 

and shall receive a Notice of Noncompliance pursuant to 08 

NCAC 21 .0201. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-278.9. 

 

SECTION .0200 - NONCOMPLIANCE 

 

08 NCAC 01 .010421 .0201 PROCEDURES FOR 

POLITICAL COMMITTEES 

(a)  All bank accounts, safety deposit boxes, and other 

depositories utilized by political committees and listed on the 

statement of organization as required by G.S. 163A-1412(b)(8) 

G.S. 163-278.7(b)(8) or G.S. 163A-1414(b) G.S. 163-278.8(b) 

must be maintained in North Carolina. 

(b)  Whenever a political committee or referendum committee 

fails to file with the State Board any report required to be filed 

under the provisions of G.S. 163A-1418 or G.S. 163A-1419, G.S. 

163, Article 22A, the Board, by certified mail, shall issue a formal 

Notice of Noncompliance to the political treasurer of the 

committee and shall order that the report be filed within 20 30 

days of issuance. In the event the committee does not file its report 

within 20 30 days of the issuance of the Notice of Noncompliance, 

the Board by certified mail shall issue a Notice of Termination of 

Active Status, which shall render the committee ineligible to 

receive or make contributions until such time as it has filed the 

delinquent report and has satisfied any statutory penalty incurred 

pursuant to G.S. 163A-1451. G.S. 163-278.34. 

 

Authority G.S. 163A-1412; 163A-1414; 163A-1439; 163A-1440; 

163A-1441; 163A-1445; 163A-1451; G.S. 163-278.7; 163-278.8; 

163A-278.21; 163-278.22; 163-278.23; 163-278.27; 163-278.34. 

 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09A .0205; 09B 

.0101, .0202, .0203, .0303; 09E .0104; 09G .0309; and 09H 

.0102. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 13, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Wake Technical Community College Public Safety 

Training Center 321 Chapanoke Rd. NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

12 NCAC 09A .0205 - Period of Suspension: Revocation: Or 

Denial-to issue a lesser sanction for or more unlawful acts defined 

as Class B misdemeanors. 

12 NCAC 09B .0101 - Minimum Standards for Criminal Justice 

Officers- to require officers to report to the Standards Division 

whenever they are notified in writing by a judge, prosecutor, or 

their agency head, or in open court by a judge, that because of 

their lack of honesty, they may not testify in court as a law 

enforcement officer. 

12 NCAC 09B .0202 - Responsibilities of the School Director-to 

obtain consistency and a realistic time period required for School 

Directors to submit pre-delivery documentation for Commission 

courses.  

12 NCAC 09B .0203 - Admission of Trainees- allows BLET 

Applicants to use the "right to review"record check conducted by 

the SBI. 

12 NCAC 09B .0303 - Terms and Conditions of General 

Instructors Certification-to allow probationary General 

Instructors the opportunity to earn their certification without 

waiting a year.  

12 NCAC 09E .0104 - Instructors: Annual In-Service Training-to 

provide in-service training credit to participants attending an In-

Service Instructor Update conducted by the NC Justice Academy. 

12 NCAC 09G .0309 - Terms and Conditions of General 

Instructors Certification-to allow probationary General 

Instructors the opportunity to earn their certification without 

waiting a year.  

12 NCAC 09H .0102 - Minimum Training Specifications-to 

clarify the requirements for qualified retired law enforcement 

officers to carry concealed. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Charminique Williams, PO 

Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602; email cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 13, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
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rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09A - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION 

AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0200 - ENFORCEMENT OF RULES 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0205 PERIOD OF SUSPENSION: 

REVOCATION: OR DENIAL 

(a)  When the Commission revokes or denies the certification of 

a criminal justice officer, the period of the sanction shall be 

permanent where the cause of sanction is: 

(1) commission or conviction of a felony offense; 

or 

(2) commission or conviction of a criminal offense 

for which authorized punishment included 

imprisonment for more than two years; or 

(3) the second suspension of an officer's 

certification for any of the causes requiring a 

five-year period of suspension. 

(b)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of 

a criminal justice officer, the period of sanction shall be not less 

than five years; however, the Commission may either reduce or 

suspend the period of sanction under Paragraph (b) of this Rule or 

substitute a period of probation in lieu of suspension of 

certification following an administrative hearing, where the cause 

of sanction is: 

(1) commission or conviction of a criminal offense 

other than those listed in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule; or 

(2) refusal to submit to the applicant or lateral 

transferee drug screen required by these Rules; 

or 

(3) production of a positive result on a drug screen 

reported to the Commission under 12 NCAC 

09C .0310, where the positive result cannot be 

explained to the Commission's satisfaction; or 

(4) material misrepresentation of any information 

required for certification or accreditation; or 

(5) obtaining, attempting to obtain, aiding another 

person to obtain, or aiding another person to 

attempt to obtain credit, training or certification 

by any means of false pretense, deception, 

defraudation, misrepresentation or cheating; or 

(6) failure to make either of the notifications as 

required by 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8); or 

(7) removal from office under the provisions of 

G.S. 128-16 or the provisions of G.S. 14-230; 

or 

(8) performing activities or duties for which 

certification by the Commission is required 

without having first obtained the appropriate 

certification. certification; or 

(9) commission or conviction of offenses as 

specified in 12 NCAC 09B .0111(1)(d). 

(c)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of 

a criminal justice officer, the period of sanction shall be for an 

indefinite period, but continuing so long as the stated deficiency, 

infraction, or impairment continues to exist, where the cause of 

sanction is: 

(1) failure to meet or satisfy relevant basic training 

requirements; or 

(2) failure to meet or maintain the minimum 

standards of employment; or 

(3) discharge from a criminal justice agency for 

impairment of physical or mental capabilities; 

or 

(4) failure to meet or satisfy the in-service training 

requirements as prescribed in 12 NCAC 9E. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 

TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0100 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0101 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS 

Every criminal justice officer employed by an agency in North 

Carolina shall: 

(1) be a citizen of the United States; 

(2) be at least 20 years of age; 

(3) be of good moral character pursuant to G.S. 

17C-10 and as evidenced by the following: 

(a) not having been convicted of a felony; 

(b) not having been convicted of a 

misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 

09B .0111(1) for five years or the 

completion of any corrections 

supervision imposed by the courts, 

whichever is later; 
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(c) not having been convicted of an 

offense that, under 18 U.S.C. 922, 

incorporated by reference with 

subsequent amendments and editions 

(found at no cost at 

(http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USC

ODE-2011-title18-partl-chap44-

sec922.pdf), would prohibit the 

possession of a firearm or 

ammunition; 

(d) having submitted to and produced a 

negative result on a drug test within 60 

days of employment or any in-service 

drug screening required by the 

appointing agency that meets the 

certification standards of the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs. A list of certified 

drug testing labs that meet this 

requirement may be obtained, at no 

cost, at 

(https://www.samhsa.gov/programs-

campaigns/drug-free-

workplace/guidelines-resources/drug-

testing/certified-lab-list); 

(e) submitting to a background 

investigation consisting of the 

verification of age and education and a 

criminal history check of local, state, 

and national files; 

(f) being truthful in providing 

information to the appointing agency 

and to the Standards Division for the 

purpose of obtaining probationary or 

general certification; 

(g) not having pending or outstanding 

felony charges that, if convicted of 

such charges, would disqualify the 

applicant from holding such 

certification, pursuant to North 

Carolina General Statute 17C-13; and 

(h) not engage in any conduct that brings 

into question the truthfulness or 

credibility of the officer, or involves 

"moral turpitude." "Moral Turpitude" 

is conduct that is contrary to justice, 

honesty, or morality, including 

conduct as defined in: re Willis, 299 

N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 771 appeal 

dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); in re 

State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 

2d 854 (1940); in re Legg, 325 N.C. 

658, 386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); in re 

Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 

S.E. 635 (1906); in re Dillingham, 188 

N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State 

v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 

647 (1983); and later court decisions 

that cite these cases as authority. 

(4) have been fingerprinted and a search made of 

local, state, and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(5) have been examined and certified by a licensed 

surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or 

nurse practitioner to meet physical 

requirements necessary to properly fulfill the 

officer's particular responsibilities and shall 

have produced a negative result on a drug 

screen administered according to the following 

specifications: 

(a) the drug screen shall be a urine test 

consisting of an initial screening test 

using an immunoassay method and a 

confirmatory test on an initial positive 

result using a gas 

chromatography/mass spectrometry 

(GC/MS) or other reliable initial and 

confirmatory tests as may, from time 

to time, be authorized or mandated by 

the Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs; 

(b) a chain of custody shall be maintained 

on the specimen from collection to the 

eventual discarding of the specimen; 

(c) the drug screen shall test for the 

presence of at least cannabis, cocaine, 

phencyclidine (PCP), opiates, and 

amphetamines or their metabolites; 

(d) the test threshold values meet the 

requirements established by the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR 

7920 (2017) incorporated by 

reference, including later amendments 

and editions (found at no cost at 

https://www.federalregister.gov/docu

ments/2017/01/23/2017-

00979/mandatory-guidelines-for-

federal-workplace-drug-testing-

programs); 

(e) the test conducted shall be not more 

than 60 days old, calculated from the 

time when the laboratory reports the 

results to the date of employment; 

(f) the laboratory conducting the test shall 

be certified for federal workplace drug 

testing programs, and shall adhere to 

applicable federal rules, regulations, 

and guidelines pertaining to the 

handling, testing, storage, and 

preservation of samples; 

(6) have been administered a psychological 

screening examination by a clinical 

psychologist or psychiatrist licensed to practice 
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in North Carolina or by a clinical psychologist 

or psychiatrist authorized to practice in 

accordance with the rules and regulations of the 

United States Armed Forces within one year 

prior to employment by the employing agency 

to determine the officer's mental and emotional 

suitability to properly fulfill the responsibilities 

of the position; 

(7) have been interviewed personally by the 

Department head or his representative or 

representatives to determine such things as the 

applicant's appearance, demeanor, attitude, and 

ability to communicate; 

(8) notify the Standards Division of all criminal 

offenses that the officer is arrested for or 

charged with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty 

to or is found guilty of as well as Domestic 

Violence Orders (50B) that are issued by a 

judicial official. This shall include all criminal 

offenses except minor traffic offenses and shall 

specifically include any offense of Driving 

Under The Influence (DUI) or Driving While 

Impaired (DWI). A minor traffic offense is 

defined, for purposes of this Subparagraph, as 

an offense for which the maximum punishment 

allowable by law is 60 days or less. Other 

offenses under Chapter 20 (Motor Vehicles) of 

the General Statutes of North Carolina or 

similar laws of other jurisdictions which shall 

be reported to the Standards Division expressly 

include G.S. 20-139 (persons under influence of 

drugs), G.S. 20-28(b)(driving while license 

permanently revoked or permanently 

suspended), and G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in 

event of accident). The notifications required 

under this Subparagraph shall be in writing and 

shall specify the nature of the offense, the court 

in which the case was handled, the date of the 

arrest or criminal charge, the final disposition, 

and the date thereof. The notifications required 

under this Subparagraph shall be received by 

the Standards Division within 30 days of the 

date of arrest or charge and of case disposition. 

The requirements of this Subparagraph shall be 

applicable at all times during which the officer 

is certified by the Commission and shall also 

apply to all applicants for certification. Officers 

required to notify the Standards Division under 

this Subparagraph shall also make the same 

notification to their employing or appointing 

executive officer within 20 days of the date the 

case was disposed of in court. The executive 

officer, provided he has knowledge of the 

officer's arrests or criminal charges and final 

dispositions, shall also notify the Standards 

Division of all arrests or criminal charges and 

final dispositions within 30 days of the date the 

case was disposed of in court. Receipt by the 

Standards Division of a single notification, 

from either the officer or the executive officer, 

shall be sufficient notice for compliance with 

this Subparagraph. 

(9) notify the Standards Division within five days 

of being notified that because of the officer's 

lack of honesty, truthfulness, or credibility, the 

officer may not testify in court as a law 

enforcement officer. This provision shall apply 

only to notifications: 

(a) made in writing by a superior court 

judge, district court judge, federal 

judge, district attorney, assistant 

district attorney, United States 

Attorney, Assistant United States 

Attorney, or the officer's department 

head, or 

(b) made in open court by a superior court 

judge, district court judge, or federal 

judge. The officer's notification to the 

Standards Division shall be in writing 

and shall state who notified the officer 

that the officer may not testify in court 

as a law enforcement officer and when 

the officer was so notified. An officer 

required to notify the Standards 

Division under this subparagraph shall 

make the same notification to his or 

her department head within five days 

of being notified that he or she may not 

testify in court as a law enforcement 

officer. A department head who is 

notified that an officer in his or her 

agency has been notified that the 

officer may not testify in court as a law 

enforcement officer shall also notify 

the Standards Division within five 

days of the department head's receipt 

of such notice. Receipt by the 

Standards Division of a single 

notification, from either the officer or 

the department head, shall be 

sufficient notice for compliance with 

this Item. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0200 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS AND CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE TRAINING PROGRAMS OR COURSES OF 

INSTRUCTION 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0202 RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE 

SCHOOL DIRECTOR 

(a)  In planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each 

Commission-certified criminal justice training course, the School 

Director shall: 

(1) Formalize and schedule the course curriculum 

in accordance with the curriculum standards 

established in this Subchapter; 
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(2) Select and schedule instructors who are 

certified by the Commission; 

(3) Provide each instructor with a current 

Commission course outline and all necessary 

additional information concerning the 

instructor's duties and responsibilities; 

(4) Notify each instructor that he or she shall 

comply with the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course Management Guide and 

provide him or her access to the most current 

version of the Course Management Guide; 

(5) Review each instructor's lesson plans and other 

instructional materials for conformance to 

Commission standards and to minimize 

repetition and duplication of subject matter; 

(6) Arrange for the availability of appropriate 

audiovisual aids and materials, publications, 

facilities, and equipment for training in all topic 

areas; 

(7) Develop, adopt, reproduce, and distribute any 

supplemental rules and requirements 

determined by the school to be necessary or 

appropriate for: 

(A) effective course delivery; 

(B) establishing responsibilities and 

obligations of agencies or departments 

employing or sponsoring course 

trainees; and 

(C) regulating trainee participation and 

demeanor, ensuring trainee 

attendance, and maintaining 

performance records; 

(8) If appropriate, recommend housing and dining 

facilities for trainees; 

(9) Administer the course delivery in accordance 

with Commission procedures and standards, 

give consideration to advisory guidelines issued 

by the Commission, and ensure that the training 

offered is safe and effective; 

(10) Maintain direct supervision, direction, and 

control over the performance of all persons to 

whom any portion of the planning, 

development, presentation, or administration of 

a course has been delegated. The 

comprehensive final examination shall be 

administered by the Criminal Justice Education 

and Training Standards Commission; and 

(11) Report the completion of each presentation of a 

Commission-certified criminal justice training 

course to the Commission. 

(12) All forms required for submission to the 

Commission are located on the Agency's 

website: http://www.ncdoj.gov/About-

DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-

Standards/Criminal-Justice-Education-and-

Training-Standards/Forms-and-

Publications.aspx. 

(b)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the School 

Director shall: 

(1) Deliver training in accordance with the most 

current version of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course Management Guide as 

published by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy; 

(2) Schedule course presentation to include 12 

hours of instruction each week during 

consecutive calendar weeks, except that there 

may be as many as three one-week breaks until 

course requirements are completed; 

(3) Schedule only specialized instructors certified 

by the Commission to teach those high-liability 

areas as specified in Rule .0304(a) of this 

Subchapter as either the lead instructor or as 

assistant instructors or role players; 

(4) With the exception of the First Responder, 

Physical Fitness, Explosives and Hazardous 

Materials, and topical areas outlined in Rule 

.0304(a) of this Subchapter, schedule one 

specialized instructor certified by the 

Commission for each every six trainees while 

actively engaged in a practical performance 

exercise; 

(5) Schedule one specialized instructor certified by 

the Commission for each every eight trainees 

while actively engaged in a practical 

performance exercise in the topical area 

"Subject Control Arrest Techniques;" 

(6) Schedule no single individual to instruct more 

than 35 percent of the total hours of the 

curriculum during any one delivery of the Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course 

presentation; 

(7) Not less than 15 30 days before commencing 

delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course, submit to the Commission a 

Pre-Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation as set out in pursuant to 12 NCAC 

09C .0211. The Pre-Delivery Report (Form F-

10A) shall indicate a requested date and 

location for the administration of the state 

comprehensive exam, and include the 

following attachments: 

(A) a course schedule showing the 

arrangement of topical presentations 

and proposed instructional 

assignments; and 

(B) a copy of any rules and requirements 

for the school. A copy of such rules 

shall also be given to each trainee and 

to the executive officer of each 

trainee's employing or sponsoring 

agency or department at the time the 

trainee enrolls in the course; 

(8) Monitor, or designate an instructor certified by 

the Commission to monitor, a presentation of 

each instructor once during each three year 
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certification period in each topic taught by the 

instructor and prepare a written evaluation on 

the instructor's performance and suitability for 

subsequent instructional assignments. The 

observations shall be of sufficient duration to 

ensure that the instructor is using the 

Instructional System Design model, and that the 

delivery is objective based, objective-based, 

documented by, and consistent with a 

Commission-approved lesson plan. For each 

topic area, the School Director's evaluation 

shall be based upon the course delivery 

observations, the instructor's use of the 

approved lesson plan, and the results of the 

student evaluations of the instructor. For 

probationary instructors, the evaluations 

conducted by another instructor shall be 

prepared on the Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation (Form F-16), (Form F-16) and 

forwarded to the Commission. Based on this 

evaluation, the School Director shall 

recommend approval or denial of requests for 

General Instructor Certification. For all other 

instructors, these evaluations shall be prepared 

on the Criminal Justice Instructor Evaluation 

(Form F-16), be kept on file by the school for a 

period of three years, and shall be made 

available for inspection by a representative of 

the Commission upon request. In the event the 

evaluation of an instructor indicates that his or 

her performance was less than acceptable, the 

School Director shall forward a copy of the 

evaluation to the Commission. Any instructor 

who is evaluating the instructional presentation 

of another instructor shall hold certification in 

the same instructional topic area as that for 

which the instructor is being evaluated; 

(9) Administer or designate a staff person to 

administer appropriate tests during course 

delivery: 

(A) to determine and record the level of 

trainee comprehension and retention 

of instructional subject- matter; 

(B) to provide a basis for a final 

determination or recommendation 

regarding the minimum degree of 

knowledge and skill of each trainee to 

function as an inexperienced law 

enforcement officer; and 

(C) to determine subject or topic areas of 

deficiency for the application of Rule 

.0405(a)(3) of this Subchapter; and 

(10) Not more than 10 days after the conclusion of a 

school's offering of Basic Law Enforcement 

Training, submit to the Commission a Post-

Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation (Form F-10B) that shall include: 

(A) a "Student Course Completion" form 

for each individual enrolled on the day 

of orientation; and 

(B) a "Certification and Test Score 

Release" form. 

(c)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course," the 

School Director shall: 

(1) Schedule course presentation to include a 

minimum of 40 78 hours of instruction during 

the time period the class is taught until course 

requirements are completed. each week during 

consecutive calendar weeks until course 

requirements are completed; 

(2) Schedule at least one evaluator for each six 

trainees, as follows: 

(A) no evaluator shall be assigned more 

than six trainees during a course 

delivery; 

(B) each evaluator, as well as the 

instructors, shall have completed a 

Commission-certified instructor 

training course or an equivalent 

instructor training course utilizing the 

Instructional Systems Design model, 

an international model with 

applications in education, military 

training, and private enterprise; and 

(C) each instructor and evaluator shall 

document successful participation in a 

program presented by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy for 

purposes of familiarization and 

supplementation relevant to delivery 

of the instructor training course and 

trainee evaluation; evaluation. 

(3) Not fewer than 30 days before commencing 

delivery of the course, submit to the 

Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training 

Course Presentation [Form F-10A(ITC)]with 

the following attachments: 

(A) a course schedule showing the 

arrangement of topical presentations 

and proposed instructional 

assignments; 

(B) the names and last four digits of the 

social security numbers of all 

instructors and evaluators; and 

(C) a copy of any rules, and requirements 

for the school; and 

(4) Not more than 10 days after course completion, 

submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery 

Report [Form F-10B(ITC)] containing the 

following: 

(A) class enrollment roster; 

(B) a course schedule with the designation 

of instructors and evaluators utilized 

in delivery; 
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(C) scores recorded for each trainee on the 

80 70 minute skill presentation; and 

(D) designation of trainees who completed 

the course in its entirety and whom the 

School Director finds to be competent 

to instruct. 

(d)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, 

developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-

certified radar, radar and time-distance, time-distance, or lidar 

RADAR, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR 

speed measurement operator training course or re-certification 

course, the School Director shall: 

(1) select and schedule speed measurement 

instrument instructors who are certified by the 

Commission as instructors for the specific 

speed measurement instruments in which the 

trainees are to receive instruction as follows: 

(A) provide to the instructor the 

Commission form(s) for motor skill 

examination on each trainee; 

(B) require the instructor to complete the 

motor skill examination form on each 

trainee indicating the level of 

proficiency obtained on each specific 

instrument; and 

(C) require each instructor to sign each 

individual form and submit the 

original to the School Director; 

(2) not fewer than 30 days before the scheduled 

starting date, submit to the Director of the 

Standards Division a Pre-Delivery Report of 

Speed Measuring Instrument Course 

Presentation [Form F-10A (SMI)] that shall 

contain a period of course delivery including 

the proposed starting date, course location, 

requested date and location for the 

administration of the state exam, and the 

number of trainees to be trained on each type of 

approved speed measurement instrument. The 

Director of the Standards Division shall review 

the request and notify the School Director 

within thirty business days if the request is 

approved or denied; and 

(3) upon completing delivery of the Commission-

certified course, and not more than 10 days after 

the conclusion of a school's offering of a 

certified radar, radar and time-distance, time-

distance, or lidar RADAR, RADAR and Time-

Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR speed 

measurement operator training course or re-

certification course, the School Director shall 

notify the Commission regarding the progress 

and achievements of each trainee by submitting 

a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation [Form F-10B (SMI)]. This report 

shall include the original motor-skill 

examination form(s) completed and signed by 

the certified instructor responsible for 

administering the motor-skill examination to 

the respective trainee. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0203 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES 

(a)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course who 

is not a citizen of the United States. 

(b)  The school shall not admit any individual younger than 20 

years of age as a trainee in any non-academic basic criminal 

justice training course. Individuals under 20 years of age may be 

granted authorization for early enrollment as trainees in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course with 

prior written approval from the Director of the Standards 

Division. The Director shall approve early enrollment if the 

individual will be 20 years of age prior to the date of the State 

Comprehensive Examination for the course. 

(c)  The school shall give priority admission in certified criminal 

justice training courses to individuals holding full-time 

employment with criminal justice agencies. 

(d)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course" 

who does not meet the education and experience requirements for 

instructor certification under Rule .0302 of this Subchapter within 

60 days of successful completion of the Instructor Training State 

Comprehensive Examination. 

(e)  The school shall not admit an individual, including partial or 

limited enrollees, as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course unless the individual, within one 

year prior to admission to the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Course, scores at or above mastery level on the NROC EdreadyTM 

Skills Inventory for English or places into course DRE 098 or 

above at a North Carolina Community College as a result of 

taking the Reading and English component of the North Carolina 

Diagnostic Assessment and Placement test as approved by the 

State Board of Community Colleges on October 17, 2014, 

(http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/state-board-community-

colleges/meetings/october-17-2014), or has taken the reading 

component of a nationally standardized test and has scored at or 

above the tenth grade level or the equivalent. For the purposes of 

this Rule: 

(1) Partial or limited enrollee does not include 

enrollees who hold, hold or have held within 12 

months prior to the date of enrollment, general 

certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0304. 

(2) A "nationally standardized test" means a test 

that: 

(A) reports scores as national percentiles, 

stanines, or grade equivalents; and 

(B) compares student test results to a 

national norm. 

(f)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual has provided to the School Director a 

medical examination report, completed by a physician licensed to 

practice medicine in North Carolina, a physician's assistant, or a 

nurse practitioner, to determine the individual's fitness to perform 

the essential job functions of a criminal justice officer. The 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 2, 2020 

1200 

Director of the Standards Division shall grant an exception to this 

standard for a period of time not to exceed the commencement of 

the physical fitness topical area when failure to receive the 

medical examination report is not due to neglect on the part of the 

trainee. 

(g)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual is a high school, college, or university 

graduate or has received a high school equivalency credential 

recognized by the issuing state. High school diplomas earned 

through correspondence enrollment in an entity that charges a fee 

and requires the individual to complete little or no education or 

coursework to obtain a high diploma shall not be recognized 

toward the educational requirements. 

(h)  The school shall not admit any individual trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual has provided the School Director one of the 

following types of record checks in the manner set forth in 

Paragraph (i) of this Rule: a certified criminal record check for 

local and state records for the time period since the trainee has 

become an adult and from all locations where the trainee has 

resided since becoming an adult. An Administrative Office of the 

Courts criminal record check or a comparable out-of-state 

criminal record check shall satisfy this requirement. 

(1) a written notification, known as a "Criminal 

Record Conviction History for B.L.E.T. 

Enrollment," Form F-25, located at 

https://www.ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Law-

Enforcement-Training-and-

Standards/Criminal-Justice-Education-and-

Training-Standards/Forms-and-

Publications.aspx, from a department head 

stating that a criminal record check for local and 

state records has been conducted and no 

criminal convictions as listed in Paragraph (j) 

of this Rule were found that prohibit the 

individual trainee's enrollment in a presentation 

of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course. 

The hiring agency or the individual trainee shall 

also provide certified court documentation for 

each criminal conviction; or 

(2) a certified criminal record check for local and 

state records, and certified court documentation 

for each criminal conviction; or 

(3) if the individual trainee has only resided in 

North Carolina since obtaining the age of 

majority, provide a fingerprint-based criminal 

history background check known as a "Right to 

Review" performed by the North Carolina State 

Bureau of Investigation. The individual shall 

also provide certified court documentation for 

each criminal conviction; or 

(4) a fingerprint-based criminal history 

background check known as a "Right to 

Review" performed by a federal agency 

including all locations where the trainee has 

lived since obtaining the age of majority. The 

individual shall also provide certified court 

documentation for each criminal conviction; or 

(5) trainees who have served in the United States 

Armed Forces, in addition to one of the types of 

criminal records checks listed in paragraphs one 

through four above, shall provide a copy of 

their Certificate of Discharge, DD Form 214, 

that shows their "Character of Service" and 

"Narrative Reason for Separation." Individuals 

showing a "Character of Service" as "Bad 

Conduct" or "Dishonorable" shall provide 

certified copies of their court-martial 

proceedings to include the final disposition. 

Trainees shall also provide documentation to 

show that they have requested their official 

military personnel file, which shall be provided 

upon receipt. 

(6) a trainee who has been naturalized as a United 

States Citizen is exempt from providing the 

criminal record checks for locations where they 

resided outside of the United States prior to 

naturalization. 

(7) a trainee who has resided outside the United 

States, other than those described in 

Subparagraphs (5) and (6) of this Paragraph, 

who cannot obtain a criminal record check from 

any location outside the United States shall 

document the following, to be forwarded to the 

Standards Division for review on a case by case 

basis: 

(A) the name of the agencies contacted, 

(B) the date the agencies were contacted, 

(C) the contact information for the 

agencies contacted, and 

(D) the reason the information cannot be 

provided. 

(i)  Documents obtained in accordance with Paragraph (h) of this 

Rule shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) Any records provided shall fall within the time 

period beginning when the trainee obtains the 

age of majority and continuing through the date 

of application. 

(2) Any records provided shall include all locations 

where the trainee has resided since obtaining 

the age of majority. 

(3) "Resided in" means any place the trainee has 

lived, worked, attended school, or participated 

in an internship. 

(4) "Certified court documentation" and "record 

check" mean a document with either a raised 

seal or other visible verification that the 

document is authentic as a copy of the court's 

official record as authorized by law. 

(5) Any records provided shall include all legal 

names utilized by the trainee since obtaining the 

age of majority. 

(j)(i)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course who 

has been convicted of the following: 

(1) a felony; 
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(2) a crime for which the punishment could have 

been imprisonment for more than two years; 

(3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a Class B 

Misdemeanor within the five year period prior 

to the date of application for employment, 

unless the individual intends to seek 

certification through the North Carolina 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 

Commission; 

(4) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as 

Class B Misdemeanors, regardless of the date 

of conviction; 

(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as 

Class A Misdemeanors, except the trainee may 

be enrolled if the last conviction date occurred 

more than two years prior to the date of 

enrollment; or 

(6) a combination of four or more Class A 

Misdemeanors or Class B Misdemeanors 

regardless of the date of conviction, unless the 

individual intends to seek certification through 

the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education 

and Training Standards Commission. 

(k)(j)  Individuals charged with crimes specified in Paragraph 

(i)(j) of this Rule may be admitted into the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course if such offenses were dismissed or 

the person was found not guilty, but completion of the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course does not ensure that certification as 

a law enforcement officer or justice officer through the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission will be issued. Every individual who is admitted as 

a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Course shall notify the School Director of all criminal offenses 

the trainee is arrested for or charged with, pleads no contest to, 

pleads guilty to, or is found guilty of, and of all Domestic 

Violence Protective Orders (G.S. 50B) that are issued by a judicial 

official after a hearing that provides an opportunity for both 

parties to be present. This includes all criminal offenses except 

minor traffic offenses and includes any offense of Driving Under 

the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI). A "minor 

traffic offense" is defined, for the purposes of this Paragraph, as 

an offense where the maximum punishment allowable by law is 

60 days or fewer. Other offenses under G.S. 20 (Motor Vehicles) 

or similar laws of other jurisdictions that shall be reported to the 

School Director are G.S. 20-138.1 (driving while under the 

influence), G.S. 20-28 (driving while license permanently 

revoked or permanently suspended), G.S. 20-30(5)(fictitious 

name or address in application for license or learner's permit), 

G.S. 20-37.8 (fraudulent use of a fictitious name for a special 

identification card), G.S. 20-102.1 (false report of theft or 

conversion of a motor vehicle), G.S. 20-111(5)(fictitious name or 

address in application for registration), G.S. 20-130.1 (unlawful 

use of red or blue lights), G.S. 20-137.2 (operation of vehicles 

resembling law enforcement vehicles), G.S. 20-141.3 (unlawful 

racing on streets and highways), G.S. 20-141.5 (speeding to elude 

arrest), and G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in event of accident). The 

notifications required under this Paragraph shall be in writing and 

specify the nature of the offense, the court where the case was 

handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of 

issuance of the Domestic Violence Protective Order (50B), and 

the final disposition and the date thereof. The notifications 

required under this Paragraph shall be received by the School 

Director within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in 

court. The requirements of this Paragraph are applicable at all 

times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course. The requirements of this 

Paragraph are in addition to the notifications required under 12 

NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8). 

(l)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in the 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual has provided to the School Director copies 

of all active Domestic Violence Orders of Protection and Civil 

Non-Contact Orders issued to the individual. 

(m)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in the 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual has provided to the School Director a copy 

of their valid driver's license. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTORS 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0303 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

GENERAL INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for certification as a 

general instructor shall, for within the first 12 months of 

certification, be in a probationary status. status until satisfying the 

requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The General Instructor 

Certification, Probationary Status, shall automatically expire 12 

months from the date of issuance. 

(b)  The probationary instructor shall be eligible for General 

Instructor general instructor status if the instructor, through 

application at the end of the probationary period, submits to the 

Commission a favorable recommendation from a certified School 

Director or In-Service Training Coordinator, located on the 

agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcment-

training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/#102-wpfd-

instructor. Form-F-12A shall be accompanied by a certification 

on a Commission Instructor Evaluation Form F-16 that the 

instructor taught a minimum of eight hours of Commission-

accredited basic training, course, Commission-recognized in-

service training course, or training course pursuant to 12 NCAC 

10B .0601, 10B .1302, or 10B .2005 during the probationary 

period. The instructor shall achieve a minimum of 64 points on all 

instruction evaluations submitted to the Commission. The 

Commission Instructor Evaluation Form F-16 is located on the 

agency's website: http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/c2eba6aa-12bc-

4303-bf4b-5fa0431ef5a1/F-16-6-11.aspx. https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcment-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-

publications/#102-wpfd-instructor. 

(c)  Probationary Instructors for just cause, may be granted an 

extension of the one-year period to teach the eight hour minimum 

requirement. The Director may grant such extensions on a one-

time basis only not to exceed 12 months. For purposes of this 

Rule, "just cause" includes an accident, illness, emergency, or 

course cancellation that precluded the instructor from fulfilling 

the teaching requirement. 
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(d)  The term of certification as a general instructor is indefinite, 

provided the instructor completes during each calendar year a 

minimum of one hour of instructor refresher training provided by 

North Carolina Justice Academy. The Standards Division shall 

post on its website on January 1 of the current year the list of 

instructors who have met this requirement during the previous 

calendar year. 

(e)  If the instructor fails to meet the instructor refresher training 

specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, he or she shall deliver eight 

hours of evaluated instruction in a Commission-accredited basic 

training, Commission-recognized in-service training course, or 

training course pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, or .2005, 

and complete the instructor refresher training specified in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule within 60 days from the last day of the 

previous calendar year. 

(f)  If an instructor fails to meet the requirements of Paragraph (d) 

or (e) of this Rule, the certification period for the instructor shall 

cease, and the instructor shall be required to complete the 

requirements of Rule 09B .0302 of this Section in order to obtain 

probationary instructor status. 

(g)  The use of guest participants in a delivery of the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course is permissible. However, such 

guest participants shall be supervised on-site by a Commission-

certified instructor and must be authorized by the School Director. 

A guest participant shall only be used to complement the primary 

certified instructor of the block of instruction and shall not replace 

the primary instructor. 

(h)  "Commission-recognized in-service training" shall mean 

training meeting the following requirements: 

(1) training is taught by an instructor certified by 

the Commission; 

(2) training utilizes a lesson plan in the 

Instructional Systems Design format; and 

(3) completion of training shall be demonstrated by 

a passing score on a written test as follows: 

(A) a written test comprised of at least five 

questions per credit shall be developed 

by the agency or the North Carolina 

Justice Academy for each in-service 

training topic requiring testing. 

Written courses that are more than 

four credits in length are required to 

have a written test comprising of a 

minimum of 20 questions. The 

Firearms Training and Qualifications 

in-service course is exempt from this 

written test requirement; 

(B) a student shall pass each test by 

achieving at least 70 percent correct 

answers; and 

(C) a student who completes a topic of in-

service training in a traditional 

classroom setting or online and fails 

the end of topic exam shall be given 

one attempt to re-test. If the student 

fails the exam a second time, the 

student shall complete the in-service 

training topic in a traditional 

classroom setting before taking the 

exam a third time. 

(D) Topics delivered pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09E .0104(1) and 12 NCAC 

09E .0105(a)(1) shall not require 

written testing. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09E - IN-SERVICE TRAINING 

PROGRAMS 

 

SECTION .0100 - LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER'S 

IN-SERVICE TRAINING PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09E .0104 INSTRUCTORS: ANNUAL IN-

SERVICE TRAINING 

The following requirements and responsibilities are hereby 

established for instructors who conduct the law enforcement 

officers' annual in-service training program: 

(1) The instructor shall hold Instructor 

Certification issued by the Commission as 

outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0302, 09B .0304, 

and 09B .0306, except for instructors: 

(A) delivering CPR certifications that 

include cognitive and skills testing; 

(B) delivering use of equipment training 

conducted by a manufacturer, 

manufacturer's representative or a 

service provider and documented 

through a certificate of completion; or 

(C) delivering Incident Command System 

training for NIMS (National Incident 

Management System) compliance 

who are certified through FEMA 

(Federal Emergency Management 

Agency) as Incident Command 

Instructors. 

In addition, each instructor certified by the Commission 

to teach in a Commission-accredited basic training, 

Speed Measuring Instrument Operator or Instructor 

training, Instructor or Specialized Instructor training, or 

Commission-recognized in-service training course shall 

remain competent in his or her specific or specialty areas. 

Such competence includes remaining current in the 

instructor's area of expertise, which may be 

demonstrated by completing all instructor updates issued 

by the Commission. 

(2) Instructors who teach a required in-service 

training topic, other than a topic taught pursuant 

to Paragraph (1) of this Rule, or a Firearms 

Training and Qualification course pursuant to 

Rule .0105(a)(1) of this Section, shall achieve a 

passing grade on a topic specific test developed 

by the North Carolina Justice Academy or by 

the agency delivering the training. Instructors 

who teach a required in-service training topic 

online shall also complete the in-service 

training for the topic he or she will be teaching. 
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Instructors who teach an in-service training 

topic in a traditional classroom format will 

receive credit toward their own in-service 

training requirements, provided that they pass 

all required tests and have their instruction 

documented by the Department Head or In-

Service Training Coordinator once completed. 

(3) Instructors completing mandated in-service 

topics in their entirety pursuant to 12 NCAC 

09E .0105 as presented by the North Carolina 

Justice Academy as part of the Instructor 

Training Update program no more than 60 days 

prior to the calendar year, shall have satisfied 

the requirements of 12 NCAC 09E .0105. 

(4)(3) The instructor shall deliver the training 

consistent with the specifications established in 

Rules 09E .0105 and .0106. 

(5)(4) The instructor shall report the successful or 

unsuccessful completion of training for each 

officer to the Department Head. 

(6)(5) When the officer fails to qualify with a weapon, 

the instructor shall inform the officer that the 

officer did not qualify and the instructor shall 

deliver a Commission form F-9A (Firearms 

Qualification and Record) to the officer that 

shall be signed by the officer. This form shall 

instruct the officer not to use the weapon and 

shall require the officer to notify the 

Department Head or designated representative 

within 24 hours of the failure to qualify. The 

instructor shall personally deliver this form or 

send the form by certified mail to the 

Department head or designated representative 

within 72 hours of the failure to qualify. 

All Commission forms are available for download on the Criminal 

Justice Standards Division website: http://ncdoj.gov/About-

DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-Standards/Criminal-

Justice-Education-and-Training-Standards/Forms-and-

Publications.aspx. https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS 

EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION 

 

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF 

CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, PROBATION/PAROLE 

OFFICERS, AND INSTRUCTORS 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0309 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

GENERAL INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for certification as a 

general instructor shall, for within the first 12 months of 

certification, be in a probationary status. status until satisfying the 

requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The General Instructor 

Certification, Probationary Status shall automatically expire 12 

months from the date of issuance. 

(b)  The probationary instructor shall be eligible for General 

Instructor general instructor status if the instructor, through 

application at the end of the probationary period, submits to the 

Commission a favorable recommendation from a certified School 

Director or In-Service Training Coordinator, located on the 

agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcment-

training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/#102-wpfd-

instructor. Form-F-12A shall be accompanied by a certification 

on a Commission Instructor Evaluation Form F-16 that the 

instructor taught a minimum of eight hours of Commission-

accredited basic training, course, Commission-recognized in-

service training course, or training course pursuant to 12 NCAC 

10B .0601, 10B .1302, or 10B .2005 during the probationary 

period. The instructor shall achieve a minimum of 64 points on all 

instruction evaluations submitted to the Commission. The 

Commission Instructor Evaluation Form F-16 is located on the 

agency's website: http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/c2eba6aa-12bc-

4303-bf4b-5fa0431ef5a1/F-16-6-11.aspx. https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcment-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-

publications/#102-wpfd-instructor. 

(c)  The term of certification as a general instructor is indefinite, 

provided the instructor completes during each calendar year a 

minimum of one hour of instructor refresher training provided by 

North Carolina Justice Academy. The Standards Division shall 

post on its website on January 1 of the current year the list of 

instructors who have met this requirement during the previous 

calendar year. 

(d)  If the instructor fails to complete the instructor refresher 

training specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, he or she shall 

deliver eight hours of evaluated instruction in a Commission-

accredited basic or Commission-recognized training course and 

complete the instructor refresher training specified in Paragraph 

(c) of this Rule within 60 days. 

(e)  If an instructor fails to meet the requirements of Paragraph (c) 

and (d) of this Rule, the certification period for the instructor shall 

cease, and the instructor shall be required to complete the 

requirements of Rule .0308 of this Section in order to obtain 

probationary instructor status. 

(f)  "Commission-recognized in-service training" shall mean 

training meeting the following requirements: 

(1) training is taught by an instructor certified by 

the Commission; 

(2) training utilizes a lesson plan in the 

Instructional Systems Design format; and 

(3) completion of training shall be demonstrated by 

a passing score on a written test as follows: 

(A) a written test comprised of at least five 

questions per credit shall be developed 

by the agency or the North Carolina 

Justice Academy for each in-service 

training topic requiring testing. 

Written courses that are more than 

four credits in length are required to 

have a written test comprising of a 

minimum of 20 questions. The 

Firearms Training and Qualifications 

in-service course is exempt from this 

written test requirement; 
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(B) a student shall pass each test by 

achieving 70 percent correct answers; 

and 

(C) a student who completes a topic of in-

service training in a traditional 

classroom setting or online and fails 

the end of topic exam shall be given 

one attempt to re-test. If the student 

fails the exam a second time, the 

student shall complete the in-service 

training topic in a traditional 

classroom setting before taking the 

exam a third time. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09H - QUALIFIED RETIRED LAW 

ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS 

 

SECTION .0100 - FIREARMS QUALIFICATION 

CERTIFICATION PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09H .0102 MINIMUM TRAINING 

SPECIFICATIONS 

(a)  Firearms Training and Qualification-four hours. 

(b)(a)  Each qualified retired law enforcement officer shall qualify 

with each handgun he or she carries in accordance to the 

guidelines as published in the In-Service Firearms Qualification 

Manual as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy 

relating to rounds fired, distances, the ratio of shots fired from 

each yard line and positions of fire. with the standards outlined in 

12 NCAC 09E .0105(a)(1) and 12 NCAC 09E .0106(a), (c), (e), 

(f) and (g), which shall incorporate in classroom instruction and 

firearms qualification on the firing range utilizing the course of 

fire from the "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Manual." 

(c)(b)  Qualification shall include a day and night qualification 

course with each handgun he or she carries, and a single day and 

night combat course with one handgun that he or she carries. In 

addition to the standards set out 12 NCAC 09E .0105 and .0106, 

each qualified retired law enforcement officer shall also receive a 

minimum of two hours of instruction on the North Carolina laws 

of self defense and the use of force by private citizens, detention 

of persons by private persons, and assistance to law enforcement 

officers by private persons 

(d)(c)  Each qualified retired law enforcement officers shall 

receive a minimum of two hours of instruction on the North 

Carolina laws of self-defense, the use of force by private citizens, 

detention of persons by private persons, and assistance to law 

enforcement officers by private citizens. Qualified retired law 

enforcement officers meeting the requirements of Paragraphs (a) 

and (b) of this Rule, and have met the requirements of Rule .0105 

of this Subchapter, shall be certified for a period of 12 months 

from the date the application is approved by the Commission. 

Upon application for renewal, the certification may be renewed 

by the Commission for 12 month periods, provided the qualified 

retired law enforcement officer meets the rules specified in this 

Subchapter. 

(e)(d)  Instruction shall include a review of firearms safety and 

basic marksmanship fundamentals. Qualified retired law 

enforcement officers shall qualify each certification period with 

each handgun that will be carried concealed. 

(f)  The qualification requirements shall be achieved at least once 

in a single day in no more than three attempts in a single day for 

each course of fire and for each weapon for which qualification is 

required. Officers not qualifying in a single day for each course 

of fire shall be deemed as a failure and the retired qualified law 

enforcement officers shall not be allowed to carry that weapon. 

(g)  Qualified retired law enforcement officers shall be certified 

for a period of 12 months from the date the application is approved 

by the Commission. Upon application for renewal, the 

certification shall be renewed by the Commission for 12-month 

periods provided the qualified retired law enforcement officer 

meets the rules specified in this Subchapter. 

(h)  Qualified retired law enforcement officers shall qualify each 

certification period with each handgun that he or she carries. 

 

Authority G.S. 14-415.10; 14-415.25; 14.415.26; 17C-6. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends 

to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0407. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-

commission-forms-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 6, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC  27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This amendment will further 

clarify the requirements and process for a former elected or 

appointed Sheriff to obtain justice officer certification upon 

leaving office. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Diane Konopka, Post Office 

Box 629, Raleigh, NC 27602-0629; email dkonopka@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
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further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0400 - CERTIFICATION OF JUSTICE 

OFFICERS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0407 CERTIFICATION OF FORMER 

SHERIFF 

(a)  The Division shall issue a General Certification to any person 

as either a deputy sheriff, a detention officer, or telecommunicator 

who has previously served as an elected or appointed sheriff, if 

the person: 

(1) applies to the Commission within one year of 

ceasing to serve as an elected or appointed 

sheriff; and 

(2) has served as an elected or appointed sheriff for 

a minimum of eight years; and 

(3) left the office of sheriff in good standing. 

(b)  The Division shall issue a General Certification to any person 

as either a deputy sheriff, a detention officer, or telecommunicator 

who has previously served as an elected or appointed sheriff, if 

the person: 

(1) applies to the Commission within one year of 

ceasing to serve as an elected or appointed 

sheriff; and 

(2) has served as an elected or appointed sheriff for 

a minimum of four years and has held a General 

Certification as deputy sheriff, detention 

officer, or telecommunicator with the North 

Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training 

Standards Commission or has held a General 

Certification as a sworn officer with the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Commission, with a 

break in service not to exceed one year prior to 

serving as an elected or appointed sheriff; and 

(3) left the office of sheriff in good standing. 

(b)(c)  In order for an officer to be certified under this Rule .0407, 

there must be: 

(1) compliance with the Report of Appointment 

form requirement of Rule .0403 of this Section; 

(2) submitted to the Division, a copy of the Oath of 

Office for applicants requesting certification as 

a deputy sheriff; and 

(3) submitted to the Division verification that the 

applicant meets the requirement of this Rule 

.0407(a)(2). 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Public Safety intends to adopt the rules cited as 

14B NCAC 19A .0101-.0104; 19B .0101-.0107; and 19C .0101. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2020 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A request for a 

public hearing must be made within 15 days of notice. Email 

Rulemaking Coordinator Margaret McDonald at 

Margaret.mcdonald@ncdps.gov to request a public hearing. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Department of Public Safety 

(DPS) is promulgating permanent rules as required pursuant to 

N.C. Sess. Law 2018-70. Sections 1 and 2 established a statewide 

Sexual Assault Evidence Collection Kits (SAECK) tracking system 

(beginning October 1, 2018) to be administered according to 

protocols developed by the Director of the State Crime 

Laboratory. The Secretary of Public Safety is required to adopt 

rules, guidelines, and sanctions for agencies required to 

participate in the tracking system. In addition, pursuant to S.L. 

2018-70, the Secretary convened a working group of diverse 

stakeholders and tasked them with making recommendations to 

both the Secretary and the State Crime Lab concerning SAECK 

tracking rules and protocols. The proposed rules reflect both 

those recommendations and the protocols currently being 

followed by agencies in possession of untested SAECK. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Margaret McDonald, NC 

Department of Public Safety, 4201 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 

NC 27699-4201 

 

Comment period ends:  March 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
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further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 19 – STATEWIDE SEXUAL ASSAULT 

EVIDENCE COLLECTION KIT TRACKING SYSTEM 

 

SUBCHAPTER 19A – GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

14B NCAC 19A .0101 SCOPE 

The rules in this Chapter are applicable to persons or entities in 

the State that have custody of any sexual assault evidence 

collection kits, including medical service providers, law 

enforcement agencies, forensic laboratories, and the Department 

of Public Safety Law Enforcement Support Services. 

 

Authority G.S. 114-65. 

 

14B NCAC 19A .0102 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Chapter: 

(1) "Covered entity" means an agency, medical 

facility, or medical professional, person, or 

entity subject to the System tracking 

requirements. 

(2) "Director" means the Director of the North 

Carolina State Crime Laboratory. 

(3) "Forensic laboratory" means a person, agency, 

or department that takes custody of a sexual 

assault evidence collection kit for purposes of 

conducting forensic testing. 

(4) "Forensic medical examination" means an 

examination provided to a sexual assault victim 

by medical personnel trained to gather evidence 

of a sexual assault in a manner suitable for use 

in a court of law and includes collection and 

evaluation of physical evidence. 

(5) "Kit" or "sexual assault evidence collection kit" 

means a prepared kit used to conduct a forensic 

medical examination. 

(6) "Law enforcement agency" means any police 

department, sheriff's office, campus police 

department, or any other person, agency, or 

department investigating a reported sexual 

assault for which a sexual assault evidence 

collection kit has been utilized by a medical 

service provider or that is taking possession of 

or storing an unreported or anonymous sexual 

assault evidence collection kit. 

(7) "Medical service provider" means a medical 

facility or medical professional in the State who 

administers a forensic medical examination 

using a sexual assault evidence collection kit. 

(8) "Previously untested kit" means a sexual assault 

evidence collection kit used in a forensic 

medical examination which has not undergone 

forensic testing and was identified and included 

in the 2017 statewide inventory. 

(9) "System guidelines" means the guidelines 

published by the Director of the North Carolina 

State Crime Laboratory for use by covered 

entities. 

(10) "Statewide System Administrator" means an 

employee of the North Carolina State Crime 

Laboratory who has responsibility for the 

overall administrative functions of the System, 

including providing assistance to covered 

entities, training all covered entities, making 

corrections in the system, and generating data 

reports for the Director's annual tracking report 

to the Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on 

Justice and Public Safety. 

(11) "System" means Sexual Assault Evidence 

Collection Kit Tracking and Inventory 

Management System (STIMS). 

 

Authority G.S. 114-65; G.S. 143B-1200. 

 

14B NCAC 19A .0103 SYSTEM ADMINISTRATOR 

DESIGNATION 

(a)  The System shall be administered by the Statewide 

Administrator. 

(b)  The Statewide Administrator shall grant System access to 

each covered entity. 

(c)  The Statewide Administrator shall provide training and 

technical assistance to all local administrators. 

(d)  The Statewide Administrator shall keep a log of all 

notifications for entities out of compliance with the rules of this 

Chapter as covered in 14B NCAC 19C .0101 Compliance and 

Sanctions. 

(e)  The Statewide Administrator contact information is 

NCSTIMS@ncdoj.gov. 

 

Authority G.S. 114-65. 

 

14B NCAC 19A .0104 COVERED ENTITY SYSTEM 

ACCESS; LOCAL ADMINISTRATORS 

(a)  Each covered entity shall access the System and require that 

its users are trained to enter kit information data in the System. 

(b)  Each covered entity shall designate a local administrator, who 

shall provide his or her contact information to the Statewide 

Administrator in writing, by mail, hand delivery, or email. If a 

covered entity changes its local administrator or contact 

information for its local administrator, the covered entity shall 

update the System administrative information and provide written 

notice of the change to the Statewide Administrator within 10 

business days. 

(c)  The local administrator shall report any issues requiring 

technical support to the Statewide Administrator within two 

business days at NCSTIMS@ncdoj.gov. 
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Authority G.S. 114-65. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 19B – COVERED ENTITY TRACKING 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

14B NCAC 19B .0101 SYSTEM COMPATIBILITY FOR 

KITS 

Any State or local government agency responsible for the 

production of kits to be used in this State shall produce kits that 

are compatible with the System. A government agency that 

contracts for kit production by a vendor shall ensure that the 

vendor is contractually obligated to meet this requirement. 

 

Authority G.S. 114-65; 143B-1201. 

 

14B NCAC 19B .0102 MEDICAL SERVICE 

PROVIDERS 

(a)  Medical service providers shall: 

(1) In the System, receive all kits used for the 

collection of physical evidence during forensic 

medical examinations from the kit vendor; 

(2) make all required data entries in accordance 

with System guidelines; and 

(3) track all kit transfers from the provider to a law 

enforcement agency or to Law Enforcement 

Support Services (LESS) in the System. 

(b)  Prior to using any kit that does not already have a tracking 

number, the medical service provider shall affix a tracking label 

received from the statewide System administrator. 

(c)  The medical service provider shall inform the victim of the 

North Carolina Department of Justice Sexual Assault Kit 

Tracking Web Portal found at 

https://www.sexualassaultkittracking.ncdoj.gov/SexualAssaultKi

tTracking/ and provide the victim with the kit tracking number to 

view kit tracking and testing information. 

 

Authority G.S. 114-65. 

 

14B NCAC 19B .0103 LAW ENFORCEMENT 

AGENCIES 

(a)  Each law enforcement agency in the State shall comply with 

System guidelines to track the: 

(1) receipt of kits by the law enforcement agency 

from medical service providers or Law 

Enforcement Support Services (LESS); 

(2) the transfer of kits from the law enforcement 

agency to forensic laboratories; and 

(3) the transfer of kits from forensic laboratories 

back to the law enforcement agency. 

Each law enforcement agency shall enter all data in accordance 

with System guidelines and keep the data updated as the 

investigation of the incident evolves. 

(b)  When a law enforcement agency submits a kit to any private 

vendor laboratory or any public laboratory outside of North 

Carolina for forensic testing, the law enforcement agency shall 

coordinate with that forensic laboratory to ensure that entries for 

the tracking of the kit are made in the System, in accordance with 

System guidelines. 

(c)  Each law enforcement agency that receives into its custody a 

kit that does not already have an assigned tracking number shall 

affix a tracking label received from the Statewide System 

Administrator. 

(d)  Each law enforcement agency shall enter all data from each 

previously untested kit in their custody into the North Carolina 

SAKI online data collection tool. Kits entered in the collection 

tool will be placed into STIMS by the system administrator to 

make them trackable. Each law enforcement agency shall send an 

e-mail to NCSAKI@ncdoj.gov to gain access to the online data 

collection tool. 

 

Authority G.S. 114-65. 

 

14B NCAC 19B .0104 LAW ENFORCEMENT 

SUPPORT SERVICES 

Law Enforcement Support Services shall: 

(1) confirm all kits held or received into its custody 

have tracking labels or are otherwise System 

compatible; 

(2) enter tracking data in accordance with System 

guidelines; and 

(3) track the subsequent transfer of any kit to a law 

enforcement agency in the System. 

 

Authority G.S. 114-65. 

 

14B NCAC 19B .0105 FORENSIC LABORATORIES 

(a)  Any forensic laboratory in this State that takes custody of a 

kit for purposes of conducting forensic testing shall: 

(1) Enter the transfer and receipt of the kit in the 

tracking System in accordance with System 

guidelines; 

(2) Enter all data on the examination in accordance 

with System guidelines and keep the data 

updated if a CODIS hit occurs; and 

(3) Enter the transfer of the kit back to the 

submitting law enforcement agency in the 

tracking System in accordance with System 

guidelines. 

(b)  Any forensic laboratory in this State that receives into its 

custody a kit that does not already have tracking label shall affix 

a tracking label to the kit received from the Statewide System 

Administrator or otherwise make the kit System-compatible. 

(c)  North Carolina law enforcement agencies that submit kits to 

private vendor laboratories or public laboratories outside of this 

State for purposes of conducting forensic testing shall coordinate 

with those laboratories to ensure that entries for the tracking of 

the kit are made in the System in accordance with System 

guidelines. 

 

Authority G.S. 114-65. 

 

14B NCAC 19B .0106 PREVIOUSLY UNTESTED KITS 

(a)  Each covered entity's local administrator shall contact the 

Statewide Administrator to obtain tracking labels designated for 

previously untested kits. 

(b)  Covered entities shall comply with System guidelines for 

submitting data to be used by the Statewide System Administrator 
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to enter previously untested kits in their custody in the tracking 

System. 

 

Authority G.S. 114-65. 

 

14B NCAC 19B .0107 VICTIM NOTIFICATION FOR 

KITS COLLECTED PRIOR TO OCTOBER 1, 2018 

Law enforcement agencies shall take reasonable measures to 

provide victims with kit tracking numbers and information about 

the System after a previously untested kit is assigned a tracking 

number and entered into the System. 

 

Authority G.S. 114-65. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 19C – COMPLIANCE AND SANCTIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 - PROVISIONS 

 

14B NCAC 19C .0101 COMPLIANCE AND 

SANCTIONS 

(a)  The Statewide Administrator shall give written or oral notice 

to any covered entity out of compliance with the rules of this 

Chapter and such notice shall include: 

(1) identification of the deficiency or failure to 

comply; and 

(2) notice that the deficiency must be corrected 

within 10 business days following notification. 

(b)  If a covered entity fails to correct the deficiency within 10 

business days following notification, the Statewide Administrator 

shall give written notice by mail, hand delivery, or email to the 

covered entity and such notice shall include: 

(1) identification of the deficiency or failure to 

comply; and 

(2) notice that the failure to resolve the identified 

deficiency within 10 business days following 

notification may result in the covered entity 

being listed in the Director's annual tracking 

report to the Joint Legislative Oversight 

Committee on Justice and Public Safety. 

(c)  The Statewide Administrator shall keep a log of all 

notifications for entities out of compliance with the rules of this 

Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 114-65. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Education intends to adopt the rules cited as 16 

NCAC 06B .0111-.0114; 06C .0334-.0397, .0701; 06D .0211, 

.0212, .0307-.0311, .0313; 06E .0106, .0107, .0204-.0206; 06G 

.0314-.0316, .0503-.0524; 06H .0113-.0117; 06K .0101, and 

.0103-.0105. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://stateboard.ncpublicschools.gov/rules-apa/public-

comments 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 30, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 30, 2020 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  Education Building, 301 N. Wilmington Street, 7th 

Floor Board Room, Raleigh, NC 27601 

 

Date:  February 13, 2020 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  Education Building, 301 N. Wilmington Street, 7th 

Floor Board Room, Raleigh, NC 27601 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Section 27.(b) of Session Law 

2019-154 became law on July 22, 2019, and conferred "interim 

rule" status on certain existing State Board of Education (SBE) 

policies.  Pursuant to that law the SBE adopted emergency rules 

and submitted them for codification.  The SBE submits this notice 

for publication of text in order to adopt previously-adopted 

emergency rules as permanent rules.  The SBE takes these steps 

in order "to ensure that administration of the free public schools 

shall continue without interruption."  See S.L. 2019-154, Sec. 

27.(b). 

For purposes of clarity and brevity, the SBE proposes separating 

elements of the emergency rules identified below into multiple 

proposed rules; these proposed changes will not result in 

substantive changes to the requirements of the emergency rules 

or change the manner by which they have been implemented.  

16 NCAC 06C .0316 - (SBE Policy LICN-001) is being recodified 

as 16 NCAC 06C .0334-.0360 

16 NCAC 06C .0319 - (SBE Policy LICN-005) is being recodified 

as 16 NCAC 06C .0361-.0363 

16 NCAC 06C .0320 - (SBE Policy LICN-006) is being recodified 

as 16 NCAC 06C .0364-.0370 

16 NCAC 06C .0321 - (SBE Policy LICN-007) is being recodified 

as 16 NCAC 06C .0372-.0377 

16 NCAC 06C .0322 - (SBE Policy LICN-008) is being recodified 

as 16 NCAC 06C .0371 

16 NCAC 06C .0323 - (SBE Policy LICN-021) is being recodified 

as 16 NCAC 06C .0378-.0380 

16 NCAC 06C .0327 - (SBE Policy TCED-009) is being recodified 

as 16 NCAC 06C .0391-.0392 

16 NCAC 06C .0328 - (SBE Policy TCED-012) is being recodified 

as 16 NCAC 06C .0395-.0396 

16 NCAC 06C .0331 - (SBE Policy TCED-015) is being recodified 

as 16 NCAC 06C .0386-.0390 

16 NCAC 06C .0332 - (SBE Policy TCED-016) is being recodified 

as 16 NCAC 06C .0381-.0385 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Lou Martin, 301 N. 

Wilmington Street, Raleigh, NC 27601; phone (919) 807-3402; 

fax (919) 807-3198; email lou.martin@dpi.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
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Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required  These proposed rules will 

codify emergency rules, which are comprised of SBE policies that 

(i) existed before May 29, 2019, and (ii) were given "interim rule" 

status under S.L. 2019-154.  The proposed rules do not make 

substantive changes to the requirements of the emergency 

rules/existing policies.  Nor will the proposed rules change the 

manner by which the SBE has implemented the emergency 

rule/existing policies.  Rather, the permanent rules are being 

proposed in order to preserve the status quo; accordingly, the 

SBE has determined the proposed rules will have no new 

economic impact. 

 

North Carolina State Board of Education 

Rulemaking  

December 6, 2019 

Citation for Proposed 

Rule 

 

Title of Proposed Rule 

 

Existing  

SBE Interim 

Code* 

16 NCAC 06B .0111 School Bus Passengers TRAN-006 

16 NCAC 06B .0112 Purchase of School Bus Equipment TRAN-008 

16 NCAC 06B .0113 Activity Bus Drivers TRAN-010 

16 NCAC 06B .0114 School Bus and Activity Bus Inspections TRAN-011 

16 NCAC 06C .0334 Definitions  LICN-001 

16 NCAC 06C .0335 NC Educator License for Area of Assignment LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0336 License Levels for a NC Educator License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0337 Basic Entity Data to Apply for a NC Educator License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0338 Licensure Transaction Checklist to Apply for a NC Educator License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0339 Requirements to be Issued a Continuing Professional License for an Educator LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0340 Requirements to be Issued an Initial Professional License for an Educator LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0341 Requirements to be Issued a Residency License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0342 Requirements to Add a Provisional Teaching Area to a North Carolina Educator 

License 

LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0343 Degree Level Requirement to be Issued a Provisional License for Student Services 

Personnel 

LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0344 Requirements to be Issued a Provisional Student Services License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0345 Requirements to be Issued a Provisional License for Principals and Assistant Principals LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0346 Requirements to be Issued a Permit to Teach LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0347 Recommendation to be Issued an Initial Professional License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0348 Enrollment and Employment Requirements for a Residency License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0349 Comparability for Out-of-State Licensure Exams LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0350 Duration of an Initial Professional License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0351 Testing Requirements to Convert an Expired License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0352 Testing Requirements to Convert a Lateral Entry License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0353 Deadline for Licensure Testing Requirements LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0354 Effectiveness Data Requirement to Qualify for a Continuing Professional License for 

an Out-of-State Applicant 

LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0355 Teaching Experience Requirements to be Issued a North Carolina Educator License 

for Out-of-State Applicants 

LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0356 Content Area Examination and Coursework Requirements to be Issued a Residency 

License 

LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0357 Requirements to be Issued an International Faculty License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0358 Restrictions to be Issued an Alternative License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0359 Restrictions for an Emergency License LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0360 Applicant Eligibility to be Issued a Lifetime License LICN 001 
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16 NCAC 06C .0361 Requirements for an Educator to be Placed on a Mandatory Improvement Plan LICN 005 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0362 Renewal Credit Requirements to Renew a Continuing Professional License for 

Teachers and Support Service Personnel 

LICN 005 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0363 Renewal Credit Requirements to Renew a Continuing Professional License for School 

Administrators 

LICN 005 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0364 Experience/Degree Credit for Salary Purposes LICN 006 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0365 Non-Teaching Work Experience Credit Requirements for North Carolina Educators LICN 006 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0366 Experience Credit Requirements for Career and Technical Education Teachers LICN 006 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0367 Experience Credit Requirements for Junior Reserve Officers’ Training Corps 

Instructors 

LICN 006 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0368 Requirements to be Awarded the Corporal Pruitt Rainey Brass to Class Act LICN 006 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0369 Requirements for an Educator to be Granted Master’s Degree Level Pay LICN 006 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0370 Experience Credit Restrictions Enforced by the Appeals Panel LICN 006 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0371 Licensure Fees for North Carolina Educators LICN 008 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0372 Denying a License Application or Suspension or Revocation of a License Issued by 

the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction 

LICN 007 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0373 Reporting Requirements for Suspected Child Abuse by a Local Education Agency 

Administrator to the Superintendent of Public Instruction 

LICN 007 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0374 Investigation Requirements to Determine Reasonable Cause to Suspend or Revoke an 

Educator License 

LICN 007 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0375 Voluntary Surrender of an Educator License LICN 007 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0376 Reinstatement or Issuance for an Educator with a Suspended or Revoked by the State 

Board of Education 

LICN 007 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0377 Notification to Other States Involving Denial, Suspension, Revocation, Surrender, or 

Reinstatement of a Professional Educator’s License 

LICN 007 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0378 Procedure for Seeking Exception from Licensure Requirements LICN 021 

16 NCAC 06C .0379 One-Year Extension Process for Coursework Requirements to Fulfill Licensure 

Requirements 

LICN 021 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0380 Decision of the State Board of Education for a Requested Extension for an Educator’s 

License 

LICN 021 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0381 Beginning Teacher Support Program Requirements TCED-016 

16 NCAC 06C .0382 Beginning Teacher Support Requirements TCED-016 

16 NCAC 06C .0383 Beginning Teacher Professional Development Plan TCED-016  

16 NCAC 06C .0384 Mentor Program Requirements TCED-016 

16 NCAC 06C .0385 Standards that Determine Teacher Ratings TCED-016 

16 NCAC 06C .0386 School Administrator Preparation Program Coursework Requirements TCED-015 

16 NCAC 06C .0387 School Administrator Preparation Program Curriculum Requirements TCED-015 

16 NCAC 06C .0388 School Administrator Preparation Program Internship Requirements TCED-015 

16 NCAC 06C .0389 School Administrator Preparation Program Internship Site Requirements TCED-015 

16 NCAC 06C .0390 School Administrator Preparation Program Requirements TCED-015 

16 NCAC 06C .0391 Testing Exemptions for Admission into an Educator Preparation Program TCED-009 

16 NCAC 06C .0392 Testing Requirements for Admission into an Educator Preparation Program TCED-009 

16 NCAC 06C .0393 Mathematics Instructional Requirements for Educator Preparation Programs Training 

Elementary and Exceptional Children General Curriculum Teachers 

TCED-011 

16 NCAC 06C .0394 Standards of Practice for Innovative or Experimental Programs for School 

Administrator Preparation 

TCED-006 

16 NCAC 06C .0395 Process for Filing a Complaint Against an Educator Preparation Program (EPP) TCED-012 

16 NCAC 06C .0396 Restrictions on the Authority of the State Board of Education on Complaints Against 

an Educator Preparation Program (EPP) 

TCED-012 
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16 NCAC 06C .0397 Educator Preparation Program Coursework Requirements for All Programs TCED-011 

16 NCAC 06C .0701 Model Teacher Contracts for Teachers BENF-009 

16 NCAC 06D .0211 Textbook Evaluation Criteria and Invitation to Submit TEXT 002 

16 NCAC 06D .0212 Textbook Publishers Registry TEXT 006 

16 NCAC 06D .0307 Test Administration in Public Schools TEST-001 

16 NCAC 06D .0308 Role of the Testing Coordinator TEST-002 

16 NCAC 06D .0309 Requirements of End-of-Course Assessments TEST-003 

16 NCAC 06D .0310 Appropriate Use of State Tests TEST-004 

16 NCAC 06D .0311 Testing Code of Ethics  TEST-010 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0313 

Use of State-Designated Assessments for the NC Teacher Evaluation Process TEST-016 

16 NCAC 06E .0107 School Violence Acts Defined and the Annual Report of These Crimes SSCH-000 

16 NCAC 06E .0106 Definition of Student Chronic Absenteeism Rate ATND-004 

16 NCAC 06E .0204 Interscholastic Athletics ATHL-001 

16 NCAC 06E .0205 Concussion Safety Requirements for Interscholastic Competition ATHL-003 

16 NCAC 06E .0206 Athletic Trainers ATHL 000 

16 NCAC 06G .0314 Alternative Schools’ Accountability Models ACCT-038 

16 NCAC 06G .0315 Accountability Annual Performance Standards ACCT-021 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0316 

Purpose and Composition of SBE’s Compliance Commission for Accountability ADVS-000 

16 NCAC 06G .0503 Charter School Accountability Requirements CHTR-001 

16 NCAC 06G .0504 Charter Schools Student Admissions CHTR-003 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0505 

Charter Schools Financial Noncompliance – Impact of Financial Noncompliance CHTR-006 

16 NCAC 06G .0506 Charter Schools Governance Noncompliance CHTR-006 

16 NCAC 06G .0507 Charter School Renewal Process CHTR-007 

16 NCAC 06G .0508 Charter School Application and Review Process CHTR-012 

16 NCAC 06G .0509 Planning Year for New Preliminary Charter Schools CHTR-013 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0510 

Charter Amendments for Existing Public Charter Schools – Approval Process CHTR-014 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0511 

Charter Amendments for Existing Public Charter Schools – Required Documentation CHTR-014 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0512 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools – Purpose and Definitions  CHTR-016 

16 NCAC 06G .0513 Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - Eligibility CHTR-016 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0514 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools – General Requirements CHTR-016 

16 NCAC 06G .0515 Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - Accountability CHTR-016 

16 NCAC 06G .0516 Virtual Charter Schools Attendance and Membership – Applicability CHTR-018 

16 NCAC 06G .0517 Alternative Charter School Designation Policy – Purpose and Applicability CHTR-020 

16 NCAC 06G .0518 Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Eligibility CHTR-020 

16 NCAC 06G .0519 Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Application CHTR-020 

16 NCAC 06G .0520 Alternative Charter School Designation Policy – Application Approval CHTR-020 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0521 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy – Review and Renewal of Designation CHTR-020 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0522 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy – Termination of Designation CHTR-020 

16 NCAC 06G .0523 Management Organizations and Support Organizations CHTR-021 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0524 

Charter Schools Process for Assumption of Inadequately Performing Charter Schools CHTR-017 

16 NCAC 06H .0113 Nutrition Standards for Elementary Schools CHNU-002 

16 NCAC 06H .0114 Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students – Definitions SBOP-020 

 

16 NCAC 06H .0115 

Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students – LEA Dispute Resolution Process SBOP-020 

16 NCAC 06H .0116 Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students – State Appeal Process SBOP-020 

16 NCAC 06H .0117 Operations of Federal Programs FEDL-000 

16 NCAC 06K .0101 School Security ESDB 001 

16 NCAC 06K .0103 SCOS ESDB 010 

16 NCAC 06K .0104 Placement procedures ESDB 014 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 2, 2020 

1212 

16 NCAC 06K .0105 Weapons Prohibited on School Property ESDB 021 
 

*Provided for Reference Purposes Only 

 

CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY 

EDUCATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06B - STUDENT TRANSPORTATION 

SYSTEM 

 

SECTION .0100 - STUDENT TRANSPORTATION 

SYSTEM 

 

16 NCAC 06B .0111 SCHOOL BUS PASSENGERS 

(a)  Local education agencies (LEAs) shall provide instruction in 

school bus safety to all children (regardless of whether they 

regularly ride a school bus to and from school) during the first five 

days of school and at least once during each semester thereafter. 

LEAs shall document the date on which training was provided to 

each student. This instruction shall include but not be limited to: 

(1) basic skills and knowledge vital to safety in 

school bus transportation; 

(2) proper loading techniques, including street 

crossing at the bus stop and the North Carolina 

crossing signal; and 

(3) instruction as needed to ensure that passengers 

are familiar with location and operation of 

emergency exits for the vehicle on which they 

are riding for any specific trip. 

(b)  LEAs shall adhere to the following when assigning pupils to 

school buses, activity buses, commercial buses, or other 

contracted vehicles. 

(1) LEAs shall not allow the number of passengers 

being transported to exceed the official rated 

capacity for the specific vehicle being used. 

(2) LEAs shall ensure that all riders are seated 

completely within the seating compartment, 

when any bus or other vehicle is in motion. 

(3) LEAs shall ensure that no person is standing or 

sitting in the aisle or stepwell when any bus or 

other vehicle is in motion. 

(c)  LEAs shall require school bus drivers to utilize the North 

Carolina crossing signal to communicate to students when it is 

safe to cross the street to board the bus and when it is safe to cross 

the street after exiting the bus. The Department of Public 

Instruction shall develop and make available training materials 

describing the crossing signal for students and school bus drivers. 

(d)  LEAs shall also provide safety instruction to students taking 

trips on activity buses or commercial buses as needed, including 

but not limited to instruction and demonstration of emergency exit 

operation for the vehicle on which they are riding for any specific 

trip. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-240. 

 

16 NCAC 06B. 0112 PURCHASE OF SCHOOL BUS 

EQUIPMENT 

Local education agencies shall purchase school buses, school bus 

tires, brake pads, brake shoes, brake hardware, and other related 

equipment that meet the safety specifications listed in the request 

for bids for the statewide term contracts for these items. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-249; 115C-249.1; 115C-522. 

 

16 NCAC 06B .0113 ACTIVITY BUS DRIVERS 

(a)  Definitions: 

(1) "CDL" means a Commercial Drivers License, 

which is a license issued by the state that 

authorizes an individual to drive a commercial 

motor vehicle (G.S. 20-4.01). 

(2) "CDL Activity Bus" means a school activity 

bus (G.S. 20-4.01) built to transport 16 or more 

passengers including the driver. A CDL is 

required to drive a "CDL Activity Bus" (G.S. 

20-4.01). 

(3) "School bus driver's certificate" means a 

certificate issued by a duly designated 

representative of the Commissioner of Motor 

Vehicles and the Director of Transportation, or 

a designee of the Director in charge of school 

buses in the county which shows that he or she 

has been examined and has been certified fit 

and competent to drive a school bus over the 

highways and public vehicular areas of the 

State. (G.S. 20-218) 

(b)  Local education agencies shall require individuals who 

transport students to or from a school-related activity in a CDL 

Activity Bus to hold a valid Commercial Drivers License with a 

Passenger (P) and School Bus (S) endorsement (CDL-P/S) as 

required by the Division of Motor Vehicles. 

(c)  LEAs shall require individuals being initially licensed with a 

CDL-P/S, who transport students to or from a school-related 

activity in a CDL Activity Bus, also to hold a school bus driver's 

certificate. 

(d)  LEAs shall not permit any individual to transport students in 

a CDL Activity Bus unless he or she holds both a CDL-P/S license 

and valid school bus driver's certificate. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-240; 115C-245(a). 

 

16 NCAC 06B .0114 SCHOOL BUS AND ACTIVITY 

BUS INSPECTIONS 

Local education agencies shall require each 30-day inspection 

required under G.S. 115C-248 to be conducted by an individual 

who has completed the vehicle inspection training and 

certification requirements administered by the Department of 

Public Instruction. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-240; 115C-248. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06C - PERSONNEL 

 

SECTION.0300 – LICENSURE AND EDUCATOR 

PREPARATION PROGRAMS (EPPS) 
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16 NCAC 06C .0334 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply throughout this Section unless the 

context indicates otherwise: 

(1) "Accomplished" means a teacher has received 

ratings of accomplished or higher on three of 

the five standards to include Standard 4 on the 

most recent summative evaluation, or on 

Standard 4 for teachers on an Abbreviated 

Evaluation. 

(2) "Beginning Teacher Support Program" means a 

program that provides ongoing support for 

teachers entering the profession. 

(3) "Beginning teacher" means a teacher who is 

within their first three years of teaching. 

(4) "Career and Technical Education (CTE) 

Restricted License" means a three year license 

that requires educators to have related work 

experience for the CTE program area as well as 

a related degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university unless it is a high school 

diploma level license. CTE Restricted License 

holders are restricted to teaching only in the 

area of licensure and additional non-CTE 

license areas may not be added to the license. 

(5) "CPL" means a Continuing Professional 

License. 

(6) "Distinguished" means a teacher has received 

ratings of distinguished on three of the five 

standards to include Standard 4 on the most 

recent summative evaluation, or on Standard 4 

for teachers on an Abbreviated Evaluation. 

(7) "ECGC" means Exceptional Children General 

Curriculum. 

(8) "ELED" means Elementary Education. 

(9) "EPP" means an Educator Preparation Program. 

(10) "In-State Applicant" means an applicant for 

licensure who received training and a 

recommendation from a North Carolina 

approved Educator Preparation Program (EPP). 

(11) "IPL" means an Initial Professional License. 

(12) "Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps 

(JROTC) License" means a license that is 

issued to a former military serviceperson to 

teach the federally sponsored school program 

which is designed to instill in students the 

values of citizenship, service to the United 

States, personal responsibility and a sense of 

accomplishment. 

(13) "NCDPI" or "DPI" means the North Carolina 

Department of Public Instruction. 

(14) "NCEES" means the North Carolina Educator 

Evaluation System. 

(15) "NCSBE" or "SBE" means the North Carolina 

State Board of Education. 

(16) "Out-of-State Applicant" means an applicant 

for licensure who receives training and a 

recommendation from an approved Educator 

Preparation Program (EPP) in another state or 

country regardless of residency. 

(17) "PEPSC" means the Professional Educator 

Preparation and Standards Commission. 

(18) "Permit to Teach License" means a one-year 

nonrenewable license issued to individuals who 

do not qualify for any other type of license. 

(19) "Praxis" means the Praxis Core Academic 

Skills for Educators assessment. 

(20) "Proficient" means a teacher has received 

ratings of proficient or higher on three of the 

five standards on the most recent summative 

evaluation, or on Standards 1 and 4 for teachers 

on an Abbreviated Evaluation. 

(21) "Provisional License" means an educator 

license that is valid only for the remainder of 

the fiscal year following the effective date of 

the license. 

(22) "Regional Assistance Licensing Center" or 

"RALC" is a State Board of Education 

authorized educational entity that serves as an 

extension of the Department of Public 

Instruction licensure section to review 

transcripts and prescribe plans of study leading 

to licensure for lateral entry, CTE restricted, 

and provisional license holders. 

(23) "Student Services" means any non-instructional 

personnel providing specialized assistance to 

students, teachers, administrators, or the 

education program in general Student services 

personnel include individuals employed in 

school counseling, school social work, school 

psychology, audiology, speech-language 

pathology, and media coordination. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0335 NORTH CAROLINA 

EDUCATOR LICENSE FOR AREA OF ASSIGNMENT 

An individual employed as an educator in a North Carolina public 

school shall hold an educator's license appropriate for the area of 

assignment. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-295. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0336 LICENSE LEVELS FOR A 

NORTH CAROLINA EDUCATOR LICENSE 

(a)  In order to qualify for a North Carolina educator license, an 

applicant must meet all educational requirements appropriate for 

the license level issued, as prescribed by a North Carolina State 

Board of Education-approved Educator Preparation Program, and 

must hold a diploma or degree at the designated level or higher. 

(b)  The five levels of professional educator licenses available in 

North Carolina are as follows: 

(1) "V" which requires a High School Diploma or 

Associates Degree and is only appropriate for 

Career and Technical Education (CTE) and 

Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps 

(JROTC) licenses; 

(2) "A" which requires a Bachelor's Degree; 
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(3) "M" which requires a Master's Degree; 

(4) "S" which requires a Specialist or Advanced 

Degree; and 

(5) "D" which requires a Doctorate Degree. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-295. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0337 BASIC ENTITY DATA TO 

APPLY FOR A NORTH CAROLINA EDUCATOR 

LICENSE 

Every applicant for a North Carolina educator license shall 

provide the following basic entity data: 

(1) Social Security Number; 

(2) Full legal name; 

(3) Date of birth; 

(4) Mailing address; 

(5) Telephone number; and 

(6) Email address. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0338 LICENSURE TRANSACTION 

CHECKLIST TO APPLY FOR A NORTH CAROLINA 

EDUCATOR LICENSE 

Any applicant applying for a North Carolina educator license 

must provide documentation to complete the licensure transaction 

checklist, which includes the following: 

(1) Statement of applicant, which is an attestation 

of applicant regarding previous criminal 

conviction or adverse action taken against a 

professional license, and supporting documents 

if applicable; 

(2) Education as provided by rule; 

(3) File attachments to support statements made on 

the licensure application; 

(4) All official degree dated transcripts; 

(5) Verification by institution form and any 

applicable valid and current out-of-state 

educator license; 

(6) Work Authorization, if applicable; 

(7) National Board Certification, if applicable; 

(8) Effectiveness data, if applicable; 

(9) Experience forms, if applicable; 

(10) Test scores, if applicable; and 

(11) Licensure Fees as provided for by rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.10; 115C-270.15; 115C-270.20; 115C-270.25. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0339 REQUIREMENTS TO BE 

ISSUED A CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL LICENSE 

FOR AN EDUCATOR 

To be issued a Continuing Professional License (CPL), an 

applicant shall satisfy the requirements of G.S. 115C-270.20 and 

complete all State Board of Education (SBE) requirements 

appropriate for the license as follows: 

(1) Submit official degree dated transcripts; 

(2) Submit passing test scores; 

(3) Complete three years of teaching experience, if 

applicable; 

(4) Submit recommendation by the Educator 

Preparation Program and any applicable valid 

and current out-of-state educator license; and 

(5) Submit effectiveness data. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-270.25. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0340 REQUIREMENTS TO BE 

ISSUED AN INITIAL PROFESSIONAL LICENSE FOR 

AN EDUCATOR 

To be issued an Initial Professional License (IPL) pursuant to G.S. 

115C-270.20, an applicant must complete all State Board of 

Education (SBE) requirements appropriate for the license as 

follows: 

(1) Submit official degree dated transcripts; and 

(2) Submit recommendation by the Educator 

Preparation Program and any applicable valid 

and current out-of-state educator license. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.15; 115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0341 REQUIREMENTS TO BE 

ISSUED A RESIDENCY LICENSE 

To be issued a Residency License pursuant to G.S. 115C-

270.20(a)(5), an applicant must complete all State Board of 

Education (SBE) requirements appropriate for the license as 

follows: 

(1) Official degree dated transcripts; 

(2) Completed Residency License form; 

(3) Employed by a local education agency (LEA) 

(4) Has either completed coursework relevant to 

the requested licensure area or passed the 

content area examination relevant to the 

requested licensure area that has been approved 

by the State Board. 

(5) Enrolled in a State Board of Education 

approved educator preparation program. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0342 REQUIREMENTS TO ADD A 

PROVISIONAL TEACHING AREA TO A NORTH 

CAROLINA EDUCATOR LICENSE 

(a)  A provisional teaching area may be added to a Continuing 

Professional License (CPL), Initial Professional License (IPL), 

and Career and Technical Education (CTE) Restricted license 

issued at the bachelor's level or higher. 

(b)  Requirements to clear the provisional teaching license may be 

met by testing when added to the CPL and IPL 

(c)  CTE Restricted licensees must clear other provisionally added 

CTE license area(s) by meeting State Board of Education 

requirements. 
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Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0343 DEGREE LEVEL 

REQUIREMENT TO BE ISSUED A PROVISIONAL 

LICENSE FOR STUDENT SERVICES PERSONNEL 

A Provisional Student Services license may be issued at a degree 

level other than that required for the Educator Preparation 

Program (EPP) recommendation. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0344 REQUIREMENTS TO BE 

ISSUED A PROVISIONAL STUDENT SERVICES 

LICENSE 

To be issued a Provisional Student Services License, an applicant 

shall complete all State Board of Education (SBE) requirements 

for the license areas as follows: 

(1) School Counselor Licensee shall: 

(a) Be enrolled in an accredited school 

counselor preparation program and 

have completed a minimum of 24 

graduate semester hours of that 

program with completion of 

remaining requirements within three 

years; or have completed a master's 

degree in addiction; career; clinical 

mental health; clinical rehabilitation; 

college counseling and student affairs; 

marriage, couple, and family 

counseling; or rehabilitation 

counseling from a regionally 

accredited college or university and be 

enrolled in an accredited school 

counselor preparation program to 

complete additional master's level 

courses needed to add school 

counseling specialization with 

completion of remaining requirements 

within three years; 

(c) Submit official degree dated 

transcripts to document verification of 

a bachelor's degree; and 

(d) Be employed by an LEA. 

(2) School Social Work Licensee shall: 

(a) Be employed by an LEA; 

(b) Have completed a bachelor's, master's, 

specialist, or doctoral degree in social 

work; and 

(c) Submit official degree dated 

transcripts. 

(3) Media Coordinator Licensee shall: 

(a) Be employed by an LEA; 

(b) Obtain an "A" level teaching license or 

bachelor's degree in media or have 

completed 18 graduate semester hours 

applicable toward a school media 

coordinator program; and 

(c) Submit official degree dated 

transcripts. 

(4) School Psychology Licensee shall: 

(a) Be employed by an LEA; 

(b) Have completed all program 

requirements at the advanced level 

except for the thesis or internship and 

submit written confirmation from the 

college or university at which the 

individual has matriculated concurring 

with the individual's employment; and 

(c) Submit official degree dated 

transcripts. 

(5) Curriculum and Instructional Specialist 

Licensee shall: 

(a) Be employed by an LEA; 

(b) Submit official degree dated 

transcripts; and 

(c) Obtain a Master's level teaching 

license and have a minimum of five 

years of successful teaching 

experience in that license area 

(6) Exceptional Children Program Administrator 

Licensee shall: 

(a) Be employed by an LEA; 

(b) Submit official degree dated 

transcripts; 

(c) Obtain a Master's level license in an 

exceptional children's area, 

curriculum instruction, or school 

administration, or advanced level 

license in school psychology. 

(7) Teaching Area Licensee shall: 

(a) Be employed by an LEA. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0345 REQUIREMENTS TO BE 

ISSUED A PROVISIONAL LICENSE FOR PRINCIPALS 

AND ASSISTANT PRINCIPALS 

(a)  A one-year provisional principal's license may be issued to 

individuals selected by local boards of education for employment 

as assistant principals if: 

(1) The local board has determined there is a 

shortage of persons who hold or are qualified to 

hold a principal's license and the employee 

enrolls in an approved program leading to a 

master's degree in school administration before 

the provisional license expires; or 

(2) The employee is enrolled in an approved 

masters in school administration program and is 

participating in the required internship under 

the Masters program. 

(b)  The Department may renew the provisional license on an 

annual basis for a total of no more than two additional years while 

the employee is completing the program. 
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Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-284. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0346 REQUIREMENTS TO BE 

ISSUED A PERMIT TO TEACH 

To be issued a Permit to Teach, which is a one-year nonrenewable 

license, an applicant must complete all requirements as follows: 

(1) Be employed by a local education agency 

(LEA); 

(2) Submit documentation from the LEA that no 

appropriately licensed professionals or persons 

who are eligible for a residency or lateral entry 

license are available to accept the position; and 

(3) Hold a bachelor's degree and do not qualify for 

a license under any other pathway. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0347 RECOMMENDATION TO BE 

ISSUED AN INITIAL PROFESSIONAL LICENSE 

Applicants for the Initial Professional License must be 

recommended by a state approved Educator Preparation Program 

(EPP) or be approved directly by the State Board of Education to 

be issued the license. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0348 ENROLLMENT AND 

EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR A RESIDENCY 

LICENSE 

Applicants for a Residency License must be enrolled in a state 

approved Educator Preparation Program and be employed in a 

North Carolina public school system to be eligible to be issued the 

license. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0349 COMPARABILITY FOR OUT-

OF-STATE LICENSURE EXAMS 

(a)  An out-of-state licensure exam shall be considered 

comparable to the North Carolina State Board of Education (SBE) 

approved licensure exam if: 

(1) The out-of-state licensure exam satisfied one 

component of the licensure process in that state 

at the time the exam was taken; and 

(2) The out-of-state applicant demonstrates a score 

on the exam that meets or exceeds the passing 

score, or range of scores, established by the test 

developer. 

(b)  An out-of-state applicant for the initial professional license 

(IPL) or continuing professional license (CPL) shall meet the SBE 

required exam score when comparable testing is the same test 

code and produced by the same test developer. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.15; 115C-270.20. 

16 NCAC 06C .0350 DURATION OF AN INITIAL 

PROFESSIONAL LICENSE 

(a)  An Initial Professional License (IPL) covers three fiscal years, 

as measured beginning July 1 and ending June 30. 

(b)  All IPLs shall expire on June 30 of the third fiscal year 

following the issuance of the license. 

(c)  An IPL may be extended to allow an individual to accrue 

sufficient teaching experience to convert to a Continuing 

Professional License (CPL), provided that all testing requirements 

have been met. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0351 TESTING REQUIREMENTS TO 

CONVERT AN EXPIRED LICENSE 

If a license expires due to failure to pass SBE required licensure 

exams, an individual may still convert the license after testing 

requirements are met. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0352 TESTING REQUIREMENTS TO 

CONVERT A LATERAL ENTRY LICENSE 

If a current Lateral Entry License expires due to the holder's 

failure to pass a State Board of Education required licensure 

exam, an individual may still convert the license until June 30, 

2022 once testing requirements are met, and upon 

recommendation by a state-approved Educator Preparation 

Program or the Regional Assistance Licensing Center (RALC). 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0353 DEADLINE FOR LICENSURE 

TESTING REQUIREMENTS 

The deadline for an individual to complete State Board of 

Education licensure testing requirements is June 30 of the third 

fiscal year of the license. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0354 EFFECTIVENESS DATA 

REQUIREMENT TO QUALIFY FOR A CONTINUING 

PROFESSIONAL LICENSE FOR AN OUT-OF-STATE 

APPLICANT 

An out-of-state applicant for a continuing professional license 

(CPL) shall submit evidence of effectiveness in order to qualify 

for the continuing license. The applicant shall provide 

documentation of the model used to generate the effectiveness 

data. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-270.25. 
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16 NCAC 06C .0355 TEACHING EXPERIENCE 

REQUIREMENTS TO BE ISSUED A NORTH CAROLINA 

EDUCATOR LICENSE FOR OUT-OF-STATE 

APPLICANTS 

(a)  Out-of-state applicants with fewer than three years of teaching 

experience seeking an initial professional license (IPL) in 

Elementary Education (ELED) or Exceptional Children: General 

Curriculum (ECGC) must take the North Carolina State Board of 

Education approved licensure examinations. 

(b)  Out-of-state applicants with fewer than three years of 

experience seeking an IPL in a teaching area other than ELED or 

ECGC may submit licensure examination scores for a comparable 

teaching area from another state for the purpose of meeting SBE 

testing requirements provided the passing score of the out-of-state 

examination meets or exceeds the test developer's recommended 

cut score. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0356 CONTENT AREA 

EXAMINATION AND COURSEWORK REQUIREMENTS 

TO BE ISSUED A RESIDENCY LICENSE 

An applicant for a Residency License must have either completed 

24 hours of coursework or passed the North Carolina State Board 

of Education approved content area examination in order to be 

granted the license. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0357 REQUIREMENTS TO BE 

ISSUED AN INTERNATIONAL FACULTY LICENSE 

(a)  An applicant for an International Faculty License must 

complete all requirements as follows: 

(1) Hold a cultural exchange visa; 

(2) Hold a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited institution; 

(3) Meet their country's requirements for qualified 

teachers; and 

(4) Have two years of classroom teaching 

experience. 

(b)  The applicant may extend the license for an additional two 

years by submitting documentation of an extension of the visa 

from the U.S. Department of State at the request of the employing 

LEA or charter school. 

(c)  The International Faculty license holder may qualify for the 

standard Initial Professional License (IPL), Continuing 

Professional License (CPL), Residency License, and Career 

Technical Education (CTE) Restricted License upon meeting all 

license requirements and providing U.S. Department of State 

work authorization. 

(d)  International Faculty License holders must provide an 

evaluation of an international transcript for education equivalency 

from a professional evaluation agency. 

(e)  An International Faculty License is issued at the A Level with 

zero years of experience and remains at that level for the duration 

of that license. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0358 RESTRICTIONS TO BE ISSUED 

AN ALTERNATIVE LICENSE 

Once an individual holds a Residency License the individual may 

not hold a Permit to Teach or Emergency License. A Permit to 

Teach shall only be issued once to an individual and is not eligible 

for an extension. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0359 RESTRICTIONS FOR AN 

EMERGENCY LICENSE 

The issuance of an Emergency License to an individual does not 

guarantee that the license holder will qualify for any other type of 

licensure. The Emergency License shall be issued only at the A-

level but may qualify for experience credit. An Emergency 

License shall not be granted an extension. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0360 APPLICANT ELIGIBILITY TO 

BE ISSUED A LIFETIME LICENSE 

Administrator and student-support licenses are not eligible for the 

Lifetime License; however, administrators and other student-

support professionals are eligible for a Lifetime License in an 

approved teaching area provided they have met the 30-year 

requirement and have maintained an active license in the teaching 

area during the 30-years. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0361 REQUIREMENTS FOR AN 

EDUCATOR TO BE PLACED ON A MANDATORY 

IMPROVEMENT PLAN 

(a)  An educator may be placed on a mandatory improvement plan 

by their hiring Local Education Agency (LEA) if they do not meet 

the following renewal requirements: 

(1) The educator is not employed by a local board 

of education; 

(2) The educator does not possess a Continuing 

Professional License; 

(3) The educator is in the final year of the 5-year 

renewal cycle; or 

(4) The educator is not deemed proficient on their 

most recent final summative evaluation. 

(b)  An educator who meets the above criteria and who is placed 

on a mandatory improvement plan may be eligible to receive an 

Initial Professional License (IPL) provided all other licensure 

requirements are met. 

(c)  An educator who meets the above criteria and who is not 

placed on a mandatory improvement plan shall be deemed to have 

an "expired" teaching license. 
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(d)  An educator whose license has expired pursuant to the 

provision in this Rule shall be eligible to apply for an IPL after a 

30-day waiting period. 

(e)  The term of the mandatory improvement plan shall be 90 

instructional days for teachers in schools identified as low 

performing and 60 instructional days for teachers in schools not 

identified as low performing. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-270.30; 115C-333; 115C-333.1. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0362 RENEWAL CREDIT 

REQUIREMENTS TO RENEW A CONTINUING 

PROFESSIONAL LICENSE FOR TEACHERS AND 

SUPPORT SERVICE PERSONNEL 

(a)  A teacher with a K-12 license must meet the licensure renewal 

requirements for the grade-span corresponding to their teaching 

assignment. 

(b)  Teachers of grades kindergarten through five with licenses 

expiring on or after June 30, 2019 must complete 8.0 renewal 

credits during each five-year renewal cycle that meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) three renewal credits in their academic subject 

area; 

(2) three renewal credits addressing literacy 

pursuant to G.S. 115C-270.30(b)(2); and 

(3) two renewal credits addressing the Digital 

Learning Competencies. 

(c)  Teachers of grades 6 through 12 with licenses expiring on or 

after June 30, 2019 must complete 8.0 renewal credits during each 

five-year renewal cycle that meet the following requirements: 

(1) three renewal credits in their academic subject 

areas; 

(2) two renewal credits addressing the Digital 

Learning Competencies; and 

(3) three general credits, which does not include 

years of teaching experience, at the discretion 

of the employing LEA. 

(d)  Student services personnel with licenses expiring on or after 

June 30, 2019 must complete 8.0 renewal credits during each five-

year renewal cycle that meet the following requirements: 

(1) three renewal credits that align with the 

expectations of the North Carolina standards for 

their professional discipline area; 

(2) two renewal credits addressing the Digital 

Learning Competencies; and 

(3) three general credits, which does not include 

years of work experience, at the discretion of 

the employing LEA. 

(e)  Educators completing the National Board for Professional 

Teaching Standards certification process may earn all 8.0 renewal 

credits for completion of the process and certification. Educators 

who are in the national board renewal cycle may earn two credits. 

(f)  LEAs may assign literacy requirements for any educator. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-270.30. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0363 RENEWAL CREDIT 

REQUIREMENTS TO RENEW A CONTINUING 

PROFESSIONAL LICENSE FOR SCHOOL 

ADMINISTRATORS 

(a)  School administrators with licenses expiring between June 30, 

2016 and June 30, 2018 must complete 8.0 renewal credits during 

each five-year renewal cycle that meet the following 

requirements: 

(1) three renewal credits that align with the 

expectations of the North Carolina School 

Executive Standards 2, 4, and 5, focused on the 

school executive's role as instructional, human 

resources, and managerial leader; and 

(2) five general credits, which does not include 

years of work experience, at the discretion of 

the employing local education agency. 

(b)  School administrators with licenses expiring on or after June 

30, 2019 must complete 8.0 renewal credits during each five-year 

renewal cycle that meet the following requirements: 

(1) three renewal credits that align with the 

expectations of the North Carolina School 

Executive Standards 2, 4, and 5, focused on the 

school executive's role as instructional, human 

resources, and managerial leader; 

(2) two renewal credits addressing the Digital 

Learning Competencies; and 

(3) three general credits, which does not include 

years of work experience, at the discretion of 

the employing LEA. 

(c)  LEAs may assign literacy requirements for any educator. 

(d)  LEAs may assign literacy requirements for any educator. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-270.30; 115C-284. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0364 EXPERIENCE OR DEGREE 

CREDIT FOR SALARY PURPOSES 

(a)  Teaching Experience Credit Requirements as a North 

Carolina Educator 

An educator must be employed for at least 15 hours per week to 

receive teaching experience on an educator license in a local 

education agency (LEA). 

(b)  An educator in an LEA or college may combine full-time 

experience of less than six calendar months in one fiscal year with 

another fiscal year of part-time or full-time experience to equal 

one year of experience credit to receive teaching experience. 

(c)  An educator may receive teaching experience on their license 

for college teaching based on the number of clock hours spent in 

the classroom teaching per week. Six class hours per week shall 

be considered half-time teaching and 12 class hours per week shall 

be considered full-time teaching. 

(d)  With a recommendation by the LEA, an educator may use 

service as a tutor, clerical paraprofessional, or substitute teacher 

as non-teaching experience provided, they are a current employee 

of the LEA. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20;115C-302.1. 
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16 NCAC 06C .0365 NON-TEACHING WORK 

EXPERIENCE CREDIT REQUIREMENTS FOR NORTH 

CAROLINA EDUCATORS 

(a)  An educator may receive credit for non-teaching work 

experience earned while self-employed if it is verified by a tax 

attorney or an accountant who prepared the educator's tax returns 

or by a company co-owner. 

(b)  An educator may receive credit for non-teaching work 

experience when it is determined to be relevant and directly 

related to the educator's work assignment and license held. 

(c)  An educator may combine full-time non-teaching work 

experience of less than six calendar months in one fiscal year with 

another fiscal year of part-time or full-time non-teaching work 

experience to equal one year of experience credit. 

(d)  An educator may receive credit for one year of work 

experience for every two years of full-time relevant work 

experience completed prior to earning a bachelor's degree. 

(e)  An educator may receive credit for one year of experience for 

each year of full-time relevant non-teaching work experience 

completed after earning a bachelor's degree. 

(f)  For the purposes of this Rule, relevant non-teaching work 

experience shall be defined as professional work experience in 

public or private sectors that is directly related to an individual's 

area of licensure and work assignment. Credit for non-teaching 

work experience is not transferable to other licensure areas for 

which the experience is not relevant. To be eligible for credit, the 

experience must meet the following criteria: 

(1) was at least half-time, which is defined as 20 

hours or more per week; 

(2) was completed after age 18; 

(3) did not include on-the-job training; and 

(4) was paid and documented. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-302.1; 115C-302.3. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0366 EXPERIENCE CREDIT 

REQUIREMENTS FOR CAREER AND TECHNICAL 

EDUCATION TEACHERS 

Career and Technical Education license holders may receive 

credit for one year of relevant CTE Trade and Industry experience 

for each year of experience earned prior to earning a bachelor's 

degree. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-151; 115C-153; 115C-154; 115C-

156; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 115C-302.1; 115C-

302.3. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0367 EXPERIENCE CREDIT 

REQUIREMENTS FOR JUNIOR RESERVE OFFICERS' 

TRAINING CORPS INSTRUCTORS 

Junior Reserve Officers' Training Corps (JROTC) instructors who 

completed partial service in both active duty and the Military 

Reserve that totals at least 20 years may receive credit for 10 years 

of experience, provided the service member retired honorably. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-302.1; 115C-302.3. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0368 REQUIREMENTS TO BE 

AWARDED THE CORPORAL PRUITT RAINEY BRASS 

TO CLASS ACT 

The Corporal Pruitt Rainey Brass to Class Act may be awarded to 

veterans initially employed by a North Carolina Local Education 

Agency (LEA) or Charter School on or after July 1, 2014. Junior 

Reserve Officers' Training Corps (JROTC) instructors covered by 

Rule III(a) do not qualify for the Corporal Pruitt Rainey Brass to 

Class Act. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-302.1; 115C-302.3; S.L. 2013-268. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0369 REQUIREMENTS FOR AN 

EDUCATOR TO BE GRANTED MASTER'S DEGREE 

LEVEL PAY 

(a)  The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction 

(NCDPI) may authorize salary on the master's degree level salary 

schedule for professional educators who hold master's degrees or 

advanced degrees that do not lead to a professional educator 

license if the following criteria are met: 

(1) The master's or higher-level degree is from a 

regionally accredited Educator Preparation 

Program (EPP); 

(2) The master's or higher-level degree is in an 

education or subject area directly related to an 

existing area of licensure and current teaching 

assignment or instructional support 

responsibilities; and 

(3) The educator's assignment for 50 percent or 

more of the school day is in the area for which 

the master's or higher-level degree applies. 

(b)  Teachers and student services personnel who complete a 

degree at the master's, six-year, or doctoral degree level must 

have: 

(1) Completed at least one course toward that 

degree prior to August 1, 2013; or 

(2) Qualified for the salary supplement on or before 

June 30, 2013. 

(c)  The recognized regional accreditation bodies include the 

Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools, the New 

England Association of Schools and Colleges, the North Central 

Association of Colleges and Schools, the Northwest Commission 

on Colleges and Universities, the Southern Association of 

Colleges and Schools, and the Western Association of Schools 

and Colleges. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-302.1. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0370 EXPERIENCE CREDIT 

RESTRICTIONS ENFORCED BY THE APPEALS PANEL 

An educator shall not be awarded experience credit if the Appeals 

Panel deems the experience or degree not to be directly related to 

the areas of work assignment. An educator shall not be awarded 

graduate pay if the Appeals Panel deems the master's or higher 

level degree to be not directly related to the areas of work 

assignment for 50 percent or more of the school day. 
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Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-45(c) ; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 

115C-270.5; 115C-302.1. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0371 LICENSURE FEES FOR NORTH 

CAROLINA EDUCATORS 

(a)  For applications opened on or after January 1, 2017, an 

educator must pay the required fee to apply for the following 

application types pursuant to G.S. 115C-270.10: 

(1) In-State Initial Professional License - $70.00 

(2) Out-of-State Initial Professional License - 

$100.00 

(3) Extend Provisional License Area - $60.00 

(4) Delete License Area - $60.00 

(5) Change Work Authorization - $60.00 

(6) Add Area by Program Completion - $60.00 

(7) Add Experience - $60.00 

(8) Add Area by Test or 24 Semester Hours - 

$60.00 

(9) Add National Board Certification - $60.00 

(10) Clear Validation - $60.00 

(11) Upgrade or Clear License Area - $60.00 

(12) Late Renewal - $35.00 

(13) Name Change - $60.00 

(14) Update Contact Information – No fee 

(15) Education Record Correction – No fee 

(16) Verification of NC License - $30.00 

(17) Request Copy of Files or Test Scores - $30.00 

(18) Research Experience - $30.00 

(19) Initial Alternative License - $100.00 

(20) Validate an Expired Continuing Professional 

License - $60.00 

(21) Extend Initial Professional License - $60.00 

(22) Recommend Initial to Continuing Professional 

License - $60.00 

(23) Upgrade or Clear License Area - $60.00 

(24) Clear Validation - $60.00 

(25) Convert to LAT - $60.00 

(26) Convert to CTE - $60.00 

(27) Add Alternative Area - $60.00 

(28) Authorize Graduate Pay - $60.00 

(29) Renew License - $35.00 

(30) Recommend Initial to Continuing Professional 

License – No fee 

(31) Extend Provisional License Area – No fee 

(32) Upgrade of Clear License Area - $60.00 

(33) Convert to Initial Professional License - $60.00 

(34) Convert to Continuing Professional License - 

$60.00 

(b)  All licensure fees are non-refundable and non-transferrable. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.10. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0372 DENYING A LICENSE 

APPLICATION OR SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF 

A LICENSE ISSUED BY THE NORTH CAROLINA 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

The State Board of Education (SBE) may deny an application for 

a license or may suspend or revoke a license issued by the North 

Carolina Department of Public Instruction (DPI) only for the 

following reasons: 

(1) Fraud, material misrepresentation, or 

concealment in the application for the license; 

(2) Changes in or corrections of the license 

documentation that make the individual 

ineligible to hold a license; 

(3) Conviction or entry of a plea of no contest, as 

an adult, to a crime if there is reasonable and 

adverse relationship between the underlying 

crime and the continuing ability of the person to 

perform any of their professional functions in 

an effective manner; 

(4) Final dismissal of a person by a local board 

pursuant to G.S. 115C-325(e)(1)b if there is a 

reasonable and adverse relationship between 

the underlying misconduct and the continuing 

ability of the person to perform any of their 

professional functions effectively; 

(5) Final dismissal of a person by a Local 

Education Agency (LEA) due to physical or 

mental incapacity under G.S.115C-325(e)(1)e; 

(6) Resignation from employment with an LEA 

without thirty calendar days' notice, except with 

the prior consent of the local superintendent; 

(7) Revocation of a license by another state; 

(8) Any other illegal, unethical or lascivious 

conduct by a person if there is a reasonable and 

adverse relationship between the underlying 

conduct and the continuing ability of the person 

to perform any of their professional functions in 

an effective manner; and 

(9) Failure to report revocable conduct as required 

by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-270.35; 115C-325. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0373 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE BY A LOCAL 

EDUCATION AGENCY ADMINISTRATOR TO THE 

SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

(a)  In addition to any duty to report suspected child abuse, any 

superintendent, assistant superintendent, associate 

superintendent, personnel administrator or principal who knows 

or has reason to believe that a licensed employee of the LEA has 

engaged in behavior that would justify revocation of the 

employee's license or involves physical or sexual abuse of a child, 

shall report that information to the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction promptly or at least no later than five working days 

after the date of a dismissal or other disciplinary action or the 

acceptance of a resignation based upon that conduct. 

(b)  For purposes of this section, the term "physical abuse" shall 

mean the infliction of physical injury other than by accidental 

means and other than in self-defense. The term "sexual abuse" 

shall mean the commission of any sexual act upon a student or 

causing a student to commit a sexual act, regardless of age of the 

student and regardless of the presence or absence of consent. 
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(c)  This Rule shall apply to acts that occur on or after October 1, 

1993. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-270.35. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0374 INVESTIGATION 

REQUIREMENTS TO DETERMINE REASONABLE 

CAUSE TO SUSPEND OR REVOKE AN EDUCATOR 

LICENSE 

(a)  Upon the receipt of a written request and substantiating 

information from any LEA, local superintendent or other person 

in a position to present information as a basis for the suspension 

or revocation of a person's license, the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction will conduct an investigation sufficient to determine 

whether reasonable cause exists to believe that the person's license 

should be suspended or revoked. 

(b)  If the Superintendent determines that reasonable cause exists 

to believe that the person's license should be suspended or 

revoked on one or more of the grounds specified in Rule .0372 of 

this Section, the Superintendent shall prepare and file written 

charges with the SBE. 

(c)  The SBE will review the written charges and determine 

whether the person's license should be suspended or revoked 

based on the information contained in the written charges. If the 

SBE determines that the written charges constitute grounds for 

suspension or revocation, it shall provide the person with a copy 

of the written charges, and notify the person that it will revoke the 

person's license unless the person, within 60 days of receipt of 

notice, initiates administrative proceedings under G.S. 150B, 

Article 3. The notice will be sent certified mail, return receipt 

requested. 

(d)  If the person initiates administrative proceedings, the SBE 

will defer final action on the matter until receipt of a proposed 

decision as provided for in G.S. 150B-34. If the person does not 

initiate administrative proceedings within 60 days of receipt of 

notice, the SBE may suspend or revoke the person's license at its 

next meeting. 

(e)  The SBE may suspend an individual's license for a stated 

period of time or may permanently revoke the license, except as 

limited by G.S. 115C-325(o). 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-270.35; 115C-325. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0375 VOLUNTARY SURRENDER OF 

AN EDUCATOR LICENSE 

The State Board of Education (SBE) may accept the voluntary 

surrender of a license in lieu of seeking revocation of the license. 

Before it accepts a voluntary surrender, the SBE shall make 

findings of fact regarding the circumstances surrounding the 

voluntary surrender to demonstrate that grounds existed under 

which the SBE could have initiated license revocation 

proceedings. The SBE shall treat a voluntary surrender the same 

as a revocation. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-270.35; 115C-325.9; Interim Rule status 

conferred Eff. June 27, 2018, pursuant to S.L. 2018-114, sec. 

27.(b). 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0376 REINSTATEMENT OR 

ISSUANCE FOR AN EDUCATOR WITH A SUSPENDED 

OR REVOKED LICENSE BY THE STATE BOARD OF 

EDUCATION 

(a)  The SBE may reinstate a suspended or revoked license or may 

grant a new license after denial of a license upon an individual's 

application submitted no sooner than six months after the 

suspension, revocation, or denial and a showing that: 

(b)  The action that resulted in suspension, revocation or denial of 

the license did not involve abuse of minors; moral turpitude or 

grounds listed in G.S.115C-325(e)(1)(b); 

(c)  The person has no record of subsequent behavior that could 

have resulted in license revocation; and 

(d)  There is no court order or judicial determination that would 

prohibit the person from returning to or holding a licensed 

position. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-270.35; 115C-325. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0377 NOTIFICATION TO OTHER 

STATES INVOLVING DENIAL, SUSPENSION, 

REVOCATION, SURRENDER, OR REINSTATEMENT 

OF A PROFESSIONAL EDUCATOR'S LICENSE 

The State Board of Education (SBE) will notify all other states of 

all actions which involve the denial, suspension, revocation, 

surrender, or reinstatement of a license for a professional 

educator. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20; 115C-270.35; 115C-321; 115C-325. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0378 PROCEDURE FOR SEEKING 

EXCEPTION FROM LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The State Board of Education may grant one-year extensions 

of time to satisfy licensure requirements due to extenuating 

circumstances for individuals who: 

(1) Following initial licensure, have not completed 

the course work required to maintain a license; 

or 

(2) Have not met other licensure requirements. 

(b)  Extenuating circumstances shall be defined as the illness or 

physical disability of the teacher, the death or catastrophic illness 

of a member of the teacher's immediate family, or other 

unforeseeable emergencies beyond the reasonable control of the 

teacher that have a direct and immediate impact on the teacher's 

ability to complete the licensure requirements. 

 

Authority G.S. 115-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0379 ONE-YEAR EXTENSION 

PROCESS FOR COURSEWORK REQUIREMENTS TO 

FULFILL LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A Local Education Agency (LEA) may apply to the State 

Board of Education for a one-year extension of time to satisfy 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 2, 2020 

1222 

state licensure requirements for an individual who, due to 

extenuating circumstances, has not completed the course work 

required to maintain a license. The application for this extenuating 

circumstance must include the following: 

(1) A document, signed by the individual, which 

includes: 

(2) A description of the extenuating circumstances 

that the teacher claims prevented him or her 

from satisfying the requirements for licensure; 

(3) A request for an extension of his or her license 

for one additional year to complete the course 

work required to maintain a license; and 

(4) An acknowledgment that the teacher 

understands that the materials submitted to the 

State Board of Education in support of his or 

her request are public records subject to 

disclosure G.S. 132. 

(b)  Copies of medical or other documentation to support the 

individual's claim of extenuating circumstances 

(c)  A document, signed by the North Carolina principal who most 

recently supervised the individual, which includes: 

(1) The dates the principal supervised the teacher; 

(2) Sufficient evidence of the individual's academic 

and professional preparation showing that the 

individual is competent to teach the standard 

course of study and has demonstrated the ability 

to implement effective educational methods 

that provide differentiated, individualized 

instruction, assessment and remediation to all 

his or her students; 

(3) A statement that in the principal's opinion the 

teacher is competent to teach the standard 

course of study and has demonstrated the ability 

to implement effective educational methods 

that provide differentiated, individualized 

instruction, assessment and remediation to the 

students in his or her classroom; and 

(4) A copy of any of the individual's summative 

annual evaluations for the past three years. 

(d)  A document, signed by the superintendent of the local school 

system, which includes: 

(1) A statement certifying that, based upon a 

review of the individual's and the principal's 

documentation and evidence, the 

superintendent believes the individual is 

competent to teach the standard course of study 

and has demonstrated the ability to implement 

effective educational methods that provide 

differentiated, individualized instruction, 

assessment and remediation to the students in 

his or her classroom; 

(2) A list of the required course work that the 

applicant has completed; 

(3) A description of the efforts that the local school 

administrative unit has made to assist the 

teacher to complete the required course work; 

(4) A list of the required course work that the 

applicant must complete to qualify for a license; 

(5) A description of the efforts that the local school 

administrative unit will make to assist the 

teacher to complete the required course work 

during the next year of teaching; and 

(6) A statement that the superintendent believes 

that the applicant is likely to complete the 

required course work within the one-year 

extension. 

(7) A document, signed by the chair of the local 

board of education, which includes: 

(8) A certification that the local board of education 

has investigated the extenuating circumstances 

that the teacher claims prevented him or her 

from completing the required coursework for a 

license without undue hardship; 

(9) A statement that the local board of education is 

satisfied that the teacher's description of the 

circumstances is true; 

(10) A statement that the local board of education is 

satisfied that, due to extenuating circumstances, 

the teacher could not have completed the 

required coursework for a license without 

undue hardship; 

(11) A certification that the local board of education 

has approved the employment of the teacher for 

the next school year, subject only to the State 

Board of Education's decision to grant the 

requested one-year extension of the teacher's 

provisional license. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0380 DECISION OF THE STATE 

BOARD OF EDUCATION FOR A REQUESTED 

EXTENSION FOR AN EDUCATOR'S LICENSE 

After receiving the panel's recommendation, the State Board of 

Education shall make a decision whether to grant the requested 

extension unless otherwise prohibited by state or federal law. 

 

Authority G.S. 115-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-270.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0381 BEGINNING TEACHER 

SUPPORT PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All public school units must have a Beginning Teacher 

Support Program (BTSP) and a Beginning Teacher Support 

Program Plan (BTSP Plan) that has been approved by the public 

school unit and by NCDPI. All beginning teachers who are 

pursuing a continuing professional license must participate in a 

BTSP for three years. For the purposes of this Rule, a "year" is 

defined as working in a full-time permanent position for six or 

more calendar months during a North Carolina fiscal year. BTSP 

Plans shall include a documented process for identifying and 

verifying all beginning teachers. 

(b)  Student services personnel, administrators, and curriculum-

instructional specialists are not required to participate in the 

BTSP. 
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(c)  A beginning teacher with an initial license who converts to a 

continuing license must complete three years of teaching and a 

Beginning Teacher Support Program prior to conversion. Once a 

teacher has earned a continuing license in one licensure area, an 

additional participation in a BTSP is not required. 

(d)  Beginning teachers must be assigned to a BTSP in their area 

of licensure. 

(e)  Public school units must collect and submit data on the 

reasons why teachers leave the teaching profession and on 

vacancies in teaching positions to NCDPI for the State of the 

Teaching Profession in North Carolina Report. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-300.1. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0382 BEGINNING TEACHER 

SUPPORT REQUIREMENTS 

In order to support beginning teachers, all public school units 

must: 

(1) Assign all beginning teachers a mentor who 

works in close proximity to the beginning 

teacher; 

(2) Limit non-instructional duties, which are duties 

that are not directly involved with the 

instructional program or the implementation of 

the standard course of study. 

(3) Assign beginning teachers a limited number of 

exceptional students; and 

(4) Assign beginning teachers no extracurricular 

assignments, which are activities performed by 

a teacher involving students that are outside the 

regular school day and not directly related to the 

instructional program unless such assignments 

are requested in writing by the beginning 

teacher. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-300.1. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0383 BEGINNING TEACHER 

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT PLAN 

(a)  All beginning teachers must create a Professional 

Development Plan (PDP) annually in collaboration with their 

mentor and the principal or principal's designee. 

(b)  The PDP must be based on the North Carolina Professional 

Teaching Standards, and must include goals, strategies, and 

assessment of the beginning teacher's progress in improving 

professional skills. 

(c)  The beginning teacher, mentor and principal must meet at the 

beginning, middle, and end of each year to conduct formative 

assessment conferences to monitor the progress of the beginning 

teacher in meeting the goals established by the PDP. Signatures 

of beginning teacher, mentor, and principal are required for each 

formative assessment conference. 

(d)  All beginning teachers must complete any professional 

development assigned by the public school unit annually. 

(e)  All beginning teachers shall be evaluated. 

(f)  Public school units with approved BTSP plans must 

participate in an annual review, which includes a self-assessment 

and a peer review. This review shall be filed annually with the 

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Data from the 

annual reviews will be summarized and analyzed by NCDPI on a 

five-year cycle. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-300.1. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0384 MENTOR PROGRAM 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All local boards shall have a mentor program to provide 

ongoing support for new teachers entering the profession. 

(b)  Public school units shall select qualified teachers to serve as 

mentors using the North Carolina Professional Teaching 

Standards and North Carolina Educator Evaluation System to 

evaluate teachers unless it develops an alternative evaluation that 

is properly validated and that includes standards and criteria 

similar to those in the North Carolina Professional Teaching 

Standards and North Carolina Educator Evaluation System. 

(c)  Public school units may use the most recently available 

evaluation for teachers who lack an evaluation from the prior year. 

Teachers without evaluation data for two or more consecutive 

years shall not be eligible to serve as mentor teachers, unless the 

mentor is a retired teacher. 

(d)  Any teacher who is assigned to be a mentor to a beginning 

teacher shall meet eligibility requirements in the year of the 

assignment. No mentor whose evaluation falls below the 

"proficient" level may continue to serve as a mentor to a beginning 

teacher, regardless of existing mentor-mentee relationships with 

the beginning teacher. 

(e)  Mentor assignments and guidelines shall follow the 

expectations listed under the key features of Standard 2: Mentor 

Selection, Development, and Support for Beginning Teacher 

Support Program Standards: 

(1) Mentor selection criteria shall include input 

from a variety of stakeholder groups. 

(2) Mentor selection criteria are clearly articulated 

by program leadership. 

(3) The process for mentor application and 

selection is transparent and uniformly applied. 

(4) Mentors support beginning teacher orientation 

and provide logistical and emotional support. 

(5) Mentors focus their primary support on 

improving instruction and learning. 

(6) Mentors provide ongoing support and 

encouragement for the beginning teacher. 

(7) Mentors receive initial training regarding their 

role as mentors and their responsibilities in the 

induction program. 

(8) Mentors receive ongoing training to advance 

their knowledge and skills. 

(9) Mentors have opportunities to participate in 

professional learning communities of 

mentoring practice. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-270.5; 

115C-300.1; 115C-333.1. 
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16 NCAC 06C .0385 STANDARDS THAT 

DETERMINE TEACHER RATINGS 

The North Carolina Professional Teaching Standards used to 

determine teacher proficiency are a part of the North Carolina 

Educator Evaluation System (NCEES). The Professional 

Teaching Standards assess the following areas of the teaching 

profession: 

(1) Demonstration of leadership; 

(2) Establishment of a respectful learning 

environment for a diverse population of 

students; 

(3) Understanding of instructional content; 

(4) Facilitation of student learning; and 

(5) Self-reflection of professional practice. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(22); 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-

299.5; 115C- 333; 115C-333.1; 115C-335. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0386 SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR 

PREPARATION PROGRAM COURSEWORK 

REQUIREMENTS 

All School Administrator Preparation Programs shall incorporate 

coursework addressing the North Carolina Standards for School 

Executives including: 

(1) Understanding state and federal laws, 

regulations, and case law that affects North 

Carolina public schools; 

(2) Using technology for effective teaching and 

learning and administrative duties; 

(3) Determining how a child responds to research-

based interventions to screen students who may 

be at risk of academic failure, monitoring the 

effectiveness of instruction proposed for 

students identified as at-risk, and modifying 

instruction as needed to meet the needs of each 

student; 

(4) Applying skills to observe and analyze the 

teaching of literacy and numeracy across 

content areas using developmentally 

appropriate and differentiated instructional 

strategies to meet the needs of all learners; 

(5) Understanding the importance of creating and 

promoting an engaging, safe school climate; 

(6) Understanding and using processes to evaluate 

licensed staff; and 

(7) Using effective leadership and implementation 

strategies to facilitate professional practices and 

manage change. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-269.5; 

115C-284; 115C-284.1. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0387 SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR 

PREPARATION PROGRAM CURRICULUM 

REQUIREMENTS 

All School Administrator Preparation Programs shall offer 

curriculum aligned with the North Carolina Standards for School 

Executives that addresses student learning and school 

improvement and focuses on the following: 

(1) All grade levels from preschool through grade 

12; 

(2) The role of kindergarten through grade 12 

instruction, emphasizing literacy and 

numeracy, curriculum, assessment and the 

needs of the school or district in improving 

learning; 

(3) All students, with specific attention to students 

with special needs, such as specific learning 

disabilities, English language learners, gifted 

students, and students in early childhood 

programs; 

(4) Collaborative relationships with all members of 

the school community, such as parents, school 

board members, local school councils or other 

governing councils, and community partners; 

and 

(5) The role of instructional and student services 

personnel. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-269.5; 

115C-284; 115C-284.1. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0388 SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR 

PREPARATION PROGRAM INTERNSHIP 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All School Administrator Preparation Programs must include 

an internship as part of its curriculum. The internship shall be 

conducted at one or more public or nonpublic schools to expose 

the candidate in a variety of school leadership situations in 

settings that represent diverse economic and cultural conditions, 

including interaction with various members of the school 

community. The internship shall include the following 

components: 

(1) Engagement in instructional activities that 

involve teachers in a variety of disciplines and 

grade levels, including general education, 

special education, bilingual education and 

gifted education classroom settings; 

(2) Observation of the hiring and supervision of 

teachers, other licensed staff, and non-licensed 

staff, which includes the development of a 

professional development plan for teachers; and 

(3) Participation in leadership opportunities. 

(b)  Each program shall assign a faculty member to serve as 

faculty supervisor for the internship portion of the program. All 

programs shall ensure that each candidate successfully completes 

the training. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-269.5; 

115C-284; 115C-284.1. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0389 SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR 

PREPARATION PROGRAM INTERNSHIP SITE 

REQUIREMENTS 

To serve as an internship site for a School Administrator 

Preparation Program, a public or nonpublic school shall fulfill the 

following requirements: 
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(1) The principal of the school shall hold a valid 

and current North Carolina principal license or 

if the internship site is located in another state, 

the principal shall hold a valid and current 

license with an area that is comparable or 

equivalent to the North Carolina principal 

license; and 

(2) The principal shall have two years of 

experience as a building principal. Local 

Education Agencies (LEAs) and other public-

school governing bodies shall ensure that the 

cooperating principal meets the experience 

requirement prior to placement of the intern. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-269.5; 

115C-284; 115C-284.1. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0390 SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR 

PREPARATION PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS 

For the creation and implementation of a School Administrator 

Preparation Program, as approved by the State Board of 

Education, the following requirements shall be met: 

(1) The program shall be jointly established by one 

or more institutions of higher education, not-

for-profit entities, or for-profit entities, and a 

local education agency or nonpublic school. 

(2) Each program shall offer curricula that address 

student learning and school improvement 

aligned with the North Carolina Standards for 

School Executives. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-269.5 

115C-284; 115C-284.1. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0391 TESTING EXEMPTIONS FOR 

ADMISSION INTO AN EDUCATOR PREPARATION 

PROGRAM 

(a)  A student seeking admission to an Educator Preparation 

Program (EPP) shall be exempt from taking the Praxis assessment 

if he or she meets one of the following conditions: 

(1) For SAT scores prior to March 2016: 

(A) Individuals with a total SAT score of 

1100 are exempt from Praxis Core 

testing requirements; 

(B) Individuals with a total SAT score of 

less than 1100 but a score of at least 

550 on the Verbal test are exempt from 

the Preprofessional Skills Tests in 

Reading and Writing; and 

(C) Individuals with a total SAT score of 

less than 1100 but a score of at least 

550 on the Math test are exempt from 

the Preprofessional Skills Test in 

Mathematics. 

(2) For SAT scores after March 2016: 

(A) Individuals with a total SAT score of 

1170 are exempt from Praxis Core 

testing requirements; 

(B) Individuals with a total SAT score of 

less than 1170, but a score of at least 

600 on the evidence-based reading and 

writing test are exempt from the 

Preprofessional Skills Tests in 

Reading and Writing; and 

(C) Individuals with a total SAT score of 

less than 1170 but a score of at least 

570 on the Math test are exempt from 

the Preprofessional Skills Test in 

Mathematics. 

(3) For ACT scores: 

(A) Individuals with a composite ACT 

score of 24 or higher are exempt from 

Praxis Core testing requirements; 

(B) Individuals with a composite ACT 

score of less than 24, but with a score 

of at least 24 on the English test are 

exempt from the Preprofessional 

Skills Tests in Reading and Writing; 

and 

(C) Individuals with a composite ACT 

score of less than 24, but a score of at 

least 24 on the Math test are exempt 

from the Preprofessional Skills Test in 

Mathematics. 

(b)  In the event that either the College Board or ACT changes the 

scaling of their respective assessments, the SBE shall use 

concordance information from the testing vendor to establish new 

cut scores for exemption from the Praxis assessments. 

(c)  The passing scores for the Praxis assessment are established 

by the test vendor and approved by the State Board of Education. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-269.5; 

115C-269.15. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0392 TESTING REQUIREMENTS FOR 

ADMISSION TO AN EDUCATOR PREPARATION 

PROGRAM 

Students seeking admission to an Educator Preparation Program 

must pass the Praxis Core academic Skills for Educators 

assessment unless an exemption is permitted under G.S. 115C-

269.15 or Rule .0390 of this Section. The Praxis assessment is a 

preprofessional skills test as specified in G.S. 115C-269.15 and 

established by the North Carolina State Board of Education. The 

passing scores for the Praxis assessment are established by the test 

vendor and approved by the State Board of Education. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-269.5; 

115C-269.15. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0393 MATHEMATICS 

INSTRUCTIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR EDUCATOR 

PREPARATION PROGRAMS TRAINING 

ELEMENTARY AND EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN 

GENERAL CURRICULUM TEACHERS 

In addition to the minimum requirements set forth in G.S. 115C-

269.20(1) and (2), all Educator Preparation Programs that provide 

training for elementary and exceptional children general 
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curriculum teachers shall include coursework in the following 

areas: 

(1) Instruction in the teaching of mathematics with 

attention to the following: 

(a) Content, which includes number and 

operations, early algebra, 

measurement; and 

(b) Pedagogical issues, which includes 

high quality tasks, classroom 

discourse, instructional moves. 

(2) Instruction in evidence-based learning 

trajectories, how to identify what students are 

able to do, and what is needed to address their 

needs including: 

(a) How to identify which mathematical 

concepts or skills students have and 

have not demonstrated, and 

(b) How to plan for instruction based on 

student strengths and needs as 

determined by the evidence. 

(3) Instruction in understanding the strengths and 

weaknesses of instructional supports and how 

to adapt and utilize mathematical resources to 

advance instruction; and 

(4) Instruction in designing learning experiences to 

align with specific learning goals. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-269.5; 

115C-269.20. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0394 STANDARDS OF PRACTICE 

FOR INNOVATIVE OR EXPERIMENTAL PROGRAMS 

FOR SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR PREPARATION 

(a)  Any existing Innovative or Experimental School 

Administrator Preparation Programs shall be reviewed by the 

Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission 

annually, which shall use the following standards: 

(1) The program is organized and administered, 

showing a structure for the oversight and 

management of the program which ensures 

flexibility and accountability. 

(2) The program provides documentation of 

human, fiscal, and physical resources. 

(3) The program addresses the needs of the 

students. 

(4) The program includes exit levels of 

competency, a procedure for recommending 

licensure, and a follow up process. 

(5) The program has defined and measurable 

expected outcomes and results as measured by 

the annual Educator Preparation Program 

Report Card pursuant to G.S. 115-269.50. 

(b)  No new innovative or experimental school administrator 

preparation programs will be approved after July 1, 2017. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-269.5; 

115C-269.35; 115C-269.50; 115C-284; 115C-284.1. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0395 PROCESS FOR FILING A 

COMPLAINT AGAINST AN EDUCATOR 

PREPARATION PROGRAM (EPP) 

Complaints against an EPP must be made in writing to the State 

Board of Education. The written complaint may be filed by an 

individual or entity through the following means: 

(1) Filling out and submitting the complaint form 

online; 

(2) Mailing a hard copy to the physical address on 

the form; or 

(3) Faxing a hard copy to the fax number on the 

form. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-269.5; 

115C-269.55. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0396 RESTRICTIONS ON THE 

AUTHORITY OF THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

ON COMPLAINTS AGAINST AN EDUCATOR 

PREPARATION PROGRAM (EPP) 

The State Board of Education does not have jurisdiction over 

complaints against Educator Preparation Programs (EPPs) that 

relate to the following areas: 

(1) Contractual arrangements with an EPP, such as 

program removal due to not meeting a program 

requirement or being noncompliant with the 

EPP on the university level; 

(2) Commercial issues including any type of 

business transaction with the EPP or university, 

such as financial enrollment, bankruptcy, 

closing of institution, and program fidelity; 

(3) Grade issues such as requesting a change in 

grade for a course or gaining credit for a course 

or requirement in the program; and 

(4) Seeking readmittance to an EPP. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-269.5; 

115C-269.55. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0397 EDUCATOR PREPARATION 

PROGRAM COURSEWORK REQUIREMENTS FOR 

ALL PROGRAMS 

(In addition to the minimum requirements set forth in G.S. 115C-

269.20(a)(1), all Educator Preparation Programs shall include 

instruction in the following areas: 

(1) The identification of academically or 

intellectually gifted children; 

(2) Evidence based practices as defined by the 

Every Student Succeeds Act, which are 

essential for early career success in content 

instruction; 

(3) The teaching of diverse populations of students; 

and 

(4) Classroom management. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-268.1; 115C-268.5; 115C-269.5; 

115C-269.10; 115C-269.20. 

 

SECTION .0700 – EDUCATOR EMPLOYMENT 
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16 NCAC 06C .0701 MODEL EMPLOYMENT 

CONTRACT FOR TEACHERS 

All contracts between a local board of education, as defined in 

G.S. 115C-5(5), and a teacher, as defined in G.S. 115C-325.1(6), 

shall contain the following: 

(1) A statement that the contract is effective only if 

approved by a majority of the local board at an 

officially called meeting of the local board. 

(2) The term of the contract. Such term may be for 

any length permitted by law. At the conclusion 

of the contract term, the local board may, but is 

not required to, re-employ the teacher by 

offering the teacher a subsequent contract as 

provided by law. 

(3) An indication of the compensation that the 

teacher shall receive for professional services 

performed pursuant to the contract. Such 

compensation shall be at a rate consistent with 

the North Carolina General Statutes, the salary 

schedule for teachers established by the State of 

North Carolina, and any local supplement that 

may apply. If the teacher is to be paid from local 

funds, the compensation will be consistent with 

the local salary schedule adopted pursuant to 

G.S. 115C-302.1(h). 

(4) With respect to qualifications: 

(a) The teacher's obligation to maintain a 

North Carolina teaching license valid 

for the teacher's area of assignment. 

(b) The teacher's obligation to inform the 

local board's Human Resources Office 

in the event that the teacher's license is 

revoked, suspended, expired, or not 

renewed for any reason. 

(c) A statement that the teacher is solely 

responsible for obtaining and 

maintaining the required licensure. 

(5) With respect to duties: 

(a) A requirement that the teacher shall 

perform all duties assigned by the 

superintendent or superintendent's 

designee and required by the laws of 

the State of North Carolina. 

(b) A statement that the contract does not 

give the teacher a right to any 

particular assignment or school site. 

(c) A requirement that the teacher agrees 

to become familiar with and abide by 

the policies and practices of the local 

board and the North Carolina State 

Board of Education, and to abide by 

the laws of the State of North Carolina 

and the United States. 

(6) With respect to special duties: 

(a) A statement that, if there are special 

duties or assignments for which the 

local board has agreed to compensate 

the teacher, those will be described in 

a separate agreement and the 

additional compensation will not be 

considered salary for the purpose of 

computing the teacher's salary under 

the provisions of G.S. 115C-325.1 et 

seq. 

(b) A statement that any return to regular 

duties is not a demotion as defined by 

law. 

(7) A provision that explains the teacher's 

entitlement to health care benefits, earned leave 

and such other benefits as are available 

pursuant to the laws of the State of North 

Carolina and the policies and practices of the 

local board. 

(8) Any requirements for termination of the 

contract initiated by the teacher pursuant to the 

provisions and procedures provided in G.S. 

115C-325.1 et seq. 

(9) Any requirements for alteration or termination 

of the contract by the local board pursuant to the 

provisions and procedures provided in G.S. 

115C-325.1 et seq. 

(10) With respect to modification, a statement that 

the contract is subject to modification as a result 

of subsequent legislative enactments. 

(11) With respect to severability, a statement that if 

any provision of the contract is held to be 

invalid or unenforceable, such provision shall 

be severed and shall be inoperative, and the 

remainder of the contract shall remain in full 

force and effect. 

(12) A statement indicating that the contract shall be 

governed by the laws of the State of North 

Carolina. 

(13) Any other provisions deemed necessary or 

appropriate by the parties, or as required by law. 

(14) The model teacher contract is found online on 

the Department of Public Instruction website. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; S.L.  2013-360, s. 9.6(e). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06D - INSTRUCTION 

 

SECTION .0200 - TEXTBOOKS 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0211 TEXTBOOK EVALUATION 

CRITERIA AND INVITATION TO SUBMIT 

The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction shall 

develop the criteria used to evaluate textbooks presented for 

adoption for their conformity to the North Carolina Standard 

Course of Study. 

(1) The criteria shall be included in the Invitation 

to Submit Textbooks for Evaluation and 

Adoption in North Carolina. The Invitation, 

also developed by the Department, shall 

provide the required procedures for submission, 

evaluation, and adoption of textbooks and a 

schedule for the process. 
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(2) General Counsel to the State Board of 

Education shall review and approve the 

Invitation prior to its being submitted to the 

State Board of Education for review and 

adoption. 

(3) The State Board-approved and adopted 

Invitation to Submit Textbooks for Evaluation 

and Adoption in North Carolina that includes 

the criteria shall be sent to the publishers on the 

NC Publishers Registry requesting the 

submission of textbooks for evaluation and 

adoption. Only publishers on the NC Publishers 

Registry will be sent the invitation and can 

submit textbooks for evaluation and adoption. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-89. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0212 TEXTBOOK PUBLISHERS 

REGISTRY 

(a)  In accordance with G.S. 115C-94, the State Superintendent of 

Public Instruction or designee shall maintain a register of all 

publishers who submit textbooks for adoption by the State Board 

of Education. The State Superintendent shall prescribe the 

information required for registration. 

(b)  Publishers shall be registered on the NC Publishers Registry 

in order to receive the State Board of Education-approved 

Invitation to Submit Textbooks for Evaluation and Adoption in 

North Carolina, which shall provide the required procedures for 

submission, evaluation, and adoption of textbooks. Publishers are 

required to follow the procedures set forth in the invitation. 

Failure to comply with all procedures, including stated deadlines, 

may result in disqualification. Only publishers on the NC 

Publishers Registry will be sent the invitation and can submit 

textbooks for evaluation and adoption. 

(c)  Each publishing company piloting textbook materials being 

submitted for consideration in the current adoption year shall 

notify the Textbook Commission, in writing, which materials are 

being piloted and in which local education agencies materials are 

being piloted. The Textbook Commission shall notify all local 

superintendents involved in piloting textbook materials prior to 

the end of the textbook selection process that the materials they 

are piloting may or may not be accepted by the Commission. 

(d)  Contact with the State Board of Education, the Textbook 

Commission, advisors, and the Department must be limited. 

(1) The Commission may meet publicly with 

representatives of publishers to discuss the 

Commission's plans and procedures for 

adoption of textbooks. 

(2) At no time during the adoption process (from 

the time the State Board approves the invitation 

until the State Board adopts the list of 

textbooks) may the publishers or any of their 

representatives meet privately with members of 

the Textbook Commission, the State Board of 

Education, evaluation advisors, or the 

Department staff involved in submission, 

evaluation, or adoption process. 

(3) A period of time shall be set aside for the 

Textbook Commission to meet and deliberate 

before a list of textbook recommendations is 

taken to the State Board of Education for 

adoption. Publishers will have time to present 

additional information to the Commission if 

their title(s) have been excluded from the list of 

recommendations. The procedure for 

reconsideration shall be described in the 

Invitation to Submit Textbooks for Evaluation 

and Adoption in North Carolina. 

(e)  Publishers may not exercise undue pressure. 

(1) For purposes of restrictions, "undue pressure" 

means personal contact, whether in person, by 

telephone, or in written form, that attempts to 

advocate for the selection of a particular book 

or series of books. "Undue pressure" does not 

include social contact or presentations to the 

Textbook Commission as a whole, and does not 

include written communication with Textbook 

Commission members or agency officials 

following acceptance or rejection of a 

submission in an effort to seek clarification or 

reconsideration. 

(2) The State Superintendent shall remove from the 

NC Publishers Registry any publisher whose 

representatives attempt to exercise undue 

pressure of any kind to adopt its books upon a 

member of the Textbook Commission, the 

advisors, or the Department. 

(3) The State Board of Education shall direct the 

State Superintendent of Public Instruction to 

remove from the NC Publishers Registry any 

publisher whose representatives attempt to 

exercise undue pressure of any form upon a 

member of the State Board of Education to 

adopt its books. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-89. 

 

SECTION .0300 - TESTING PROGRAMS 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0307 TEST ADMINISTRATION IN 

PUBLIC SCHOOLS 

(a)  Test Administration -- Only persons who are employed by the 

school system, either permanently or contractually, and have 

professional training in education and the state testing program 

shall administer secure tests to students. 

(1) The North Carolina Department of Public 

Instruction (NCDPI) shall supply the tests to the 

local education agencies (LEAs). 

(2) LEAs shall: 

(A) account to the NCDPI for all tests 

received; 

(B) provide a secure, locked storage 

facility for all tests received; 

(C) prohibit the reproduction of any or all 

parts of the test; and 

(D) prohibit its employees from disclosing 

the content of the tests or specific 

items contained in the tests to persons 
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other than authorized employees of the 

LEA. 

(b)  LEAs must monitor test administration procedures. If school 

officials discover any instance of improper administration and 

determine that the validity of the test results has been affected, 

they must notify the local board of education, declare a 

misadministration, and order the affected students to be re-tested. 

Only the superintendent and the LEA test coordinator have the 

authority to declare a test misadministration at the local level. 

(c)  The Superintendent of Public Instruction may conduct audits 

of LEAs if he/she receives written complaints that allege improper 

test administration, and he/she may require the re-testing of 

students. 

(d)  The NCDPI shall score or have scored all tests in the North 

Carolina Testing Program. In addition, the department shall 

provide score interpretative services to the LEAs. 

(e)  LEAs shall, at the beginning of each school year, provide 

information to students and parents or guardians advising them of 

the districtwide and state-mandated tests that students will be 

required to take during that school year. In addition, LEAs shall 

advise students and parents or guardians of the dates the tests will 

be administered and how the results from the tests will be used. 

Information LEAs provide to parents shall include whether the 

State Board of Education or the local board of education requires 

the test(s). 

(f)  LEAs shall report scores resulting from the administration of 

districtwide and state-mandated tests to students and parents or 

guardians along with available score interpretation information 

within 30 days from generation of the score at the LEA level or 

receipt of the score and interpretive documentation from the 

NCDPI. 

(g)  In order to ensure adequate representation and the 

generalizability of the data used to develop tests and to conduct 

evaluation studies, selected LEAs and schools, determined 

through stratified random samples, shall participate in field testing 

and other sample testing such as the National Assessment of 

Educational Progress (NAEP) and other national or international 

assessments as designated by the department or the SBE. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(9); 115C-174.11; 115C-174.12. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0308 ROLE OF THE TESTING 

COORDINATOR 

(a)  The local superintendent in a local education agency (LEA) 

shall act as or appoint a school system testing and accountability 

coordinator to assist in the local administration, reporting, and 

interpretation of test results and other accountability measures in 

the North Carolina Testing Program. 

(b)  LEA testing and accountability coordinators shall attend 

training sessions provided by the North Carolina Department of 

Public Instruction regarding proper test administration, test 

security, appropriate use of accommodations, scanning and 

scoring answer sheets, and preparation of test materials for 

scoring at a central site. LEA test coordinators shall conduct in-

person training for the school test coordinators in their LEAs for 

the purpose of providing instruction to local test administrators 

and proctors. LEA testing and accountability coordinators shall 

arrange for the scanning, scoring, and reporting of results from 

tests adopted by the State Board of Education. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(9); 115C-174.11; 115C-174.12. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0309 REQUIREMENTS REGARDING 

END-OF-COURSE ASSESSMENTS 

(a)  All eligible students shall participate in the administration of 

end-of-course assessments (standard administrations with or 

without accommodations or an alternate assessment). This rule 

shall apply to all public schools, including traditional, charter, and 

regional schools. 

(b)  Public schools shall include each student's end-of-course 

(EOC) assessment results in the student's permanent records and 

high school transcript. 

(c)  Public schools shall administer EOC assessments within the 

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction's designated 

testing window. 

(d)  Public schools shall use results from all operational EOC 

assessments as a minimum of twenty percent (20%) of the 

student's final grade for each respective course with the exception 

of: 

(1) students following the Occupational Course of 

Study Pathway; English Learner (EL) students 

in their first year in a U.S. school; and 

(2) effective with the 2018–19 school year and 

beyond, all students enrolled in a course during 

the initial implementation year of the new 

assessment for that course where scores are not 

immediately available due to standard setting. 

(3) For these exceptions, public schools shall adopt 

policies regarding the use of EOC assessment 

results in assigning final grades. 

(e)  Public school students who are enrolled for credit in courses 

in which EOC assessments are required shall take the appropriate 

EOC assessment at the completion of the course. 

(f)  Public school students who are exempt from final exams by 

local board of education policy shall not be exempt from EOC 

assessments. 

(g)  Public school students shall take the appropriate EOC 

assessment the first time the student takes the course requiring the 

assessment. 

(h)  Public school students shall take the appropriate EOC 

assessment at the end of the course regardless of the grade level 

in which the course is offered. 

(i)  Public school students who are identified as failing a course 

for which an EOC assessment is required shall take the 

appropriate EOC assessment. 

(j)  Public school students may drop a course with a required EOC 

assessment within the first 10 days of enrollment in a semester 

block schedule or within the first 20 days of enrollment in a 

yearlong traditional schedule. Students who are enrolled for credit 

after the 10/20 days, regardless of course delivery (e.g., traditional 

classroom, NC Virtual Public School, vendor-based online) shall 

not drop a course with a required EOC assessment and shall 

participate in the appropriate EOC assessment at the completion 

of the course. 

(k)  Public school students enrolled in courses requiring the 

administration of the EOC assessment who previously obtained a 

proficient score on the appropriate EOC assessment may use the 

proficient score as a minimum of 20% of their final course grade 
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or they may elect to retake the appropriate EOC assessment at the 

completion of the course and use the most recent score for the 

final grade calculation. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(9); 115C-174.11; 115C-174.12. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0310 APPROPRIATE USE OF STATE 

TESTS 

Secure tests developed by the State of North Carolina may not be 

used for purposes other than those approved by the Division of 

Accountability Services and the State Board of Education. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(9); 115C-174.11; 115C-174.12. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0311 TESTING CODE OF ETHICS 

(a)  This Rule sets out the administrative testing procedures and 

testing code of ethics and shall apply to all public school 

employees, including charter school and regional school 

employees, who are involved in the state testing program. 

(b)  The superintendent/charter school director or 

superintendent's/charter school director's designee shall develop 

local policies and procedures to ensure maximum test security in 

coordination with the policies and procedures developed by the 

test publisher. 

(c)  The superintendent/charter school director or 

superintendent's/charter school director's designee shall instruct 

personnel who are responsible for the testing program in testing 

administration procedures. This instruction shall include test 

administrations that require testing accommodations and shall 

emphasize the need to follow the directions outlined by the test 

publisher. 

(d)  The superintendent/charter school director or 

superintendent's/charter school director's designee shall designate 

the personnel who are authorized to have access to secure test 

materials. "Access" to test materials by school personnel means 

handling the materials but does not include reviewing tests or 

analyzing test items. 

(1) Persons who have access to secure test 

materials shall not use those materials for 

personal gain. 

(2) No person may copy, reproduce, or paraphrase 

in any manner or for any reason the test 

materials without the express written consent of 

the test publisher. 

(e)  The principal shall ensure test security within the school 

building. The principal shall store test materials in a secure, 

locked facility. The principal shall allow test materials to be 

distributed immediately before the test administration. 

(f)  Any breach of security, loss of materials, failure to account 

for materials, or any other deviation from required security 

procedures shall be reported immediately to the principal, school 

test coordinator, school system (LEA) test coordinator, 

superintendent/charter school director, and regional 

accountability coordinator. 

(g)  Preparation for testing. The superintendent/charter school 

director shall ensure that school system (LEA) test coordinators: 

(A) secure necessary materials; 

(B) plan and implement training for school 

test coordinators, test administrators, 

and proctors; 

(C) ensure each school test coordinator 

and test administrator is trained before 

each test administration on the policies 

and procedures for conducting a 

proper test administration and for 

processing and returning test 

materials; and 

(D) in conjunction with program 

administrators, ensure the need for test 

accommodations is documented and 

that accommodations are limited to the 

specific need. 

(h)  The principal or the principal's designee shall serve as school 

test coordinator. 

(i)  The principal shall ensure the school test coordinator 

maintains test security and accountability of test materials, 

including taking the following actions: 

(A) before each test administration, the 

school test coordinator shall 

accurately count and distribute test 

materials, and 

(B) immediately after each test 

administration, the school test 

coordinator shall collect, count, and 

return all test materials to the secure, 

locked storage facility establishes any 

needed school policies and procedures 

to assure all eligible students are tested 

fairly; 

(C) identifies and trains personnel, 

proctors, and backup personnel for test 

administrations; and 

(D) encourages a positive atmosphere for 

testing. 

(j)  Test administrators shall be school personnel who have 

professional training in education and the state-testing program. 

(k)  Teachers shall provide instruction that meets or exceeds the 

state-adopted curriculum standards to meet the needs of the 

specific students in the class. 

(1) Teachers may help students improve test-taking 

skills by: 

(2) helping students become familiar with test 

formats using curricular content; 

(3) teaching students test-taking strategies and 

providing practice sessions; 

(4) helping students learn ways of preparing to take 

tests; and 

(5) using resource materials such as test questions 

from test item banks and linking documents in 

instruction and test preparation. 

(l)  With respect to test administration, the superintendent/charter 

school director or superintendent's/charter school director's 

designee shall: 

(1) assure each school establishes procedures to 

ensure all test administrators comply with test 

publisher guidelines; 
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(2) inform the local board of education of any 

breach of this code of ethics; and 

(3) inform school system (LEA) test coordinators 

and principals of their responsibilities. 

(m)  The school test coordinator shall: 

(1) assure school personnel know the content of 

state and local testing policies; 

(2) implement the school system and local testing 

policies and procedures to assure all eligible 

students are tested fairly; 

(3) ensure trained proctors are assigned to test 

administrations by the principal; and 

(4) ensure all testing irregularities are reported to 

the school system (LEA) test coordinator. 

(n)  Test administrators shall: 

(1) administer tests according to the directions in 

the assessment guide and any subsequent 

updates developed by the test publisher; 

(2) administer tests to all eligible students; 

(3) report all testing irregularities to the school test 

coordinator; and 

(4) provide a positive test-taking environment. 

(o)  Proctors shall serve as additional monitors to help the test 

administrator assure that testing occurs fairly. 

(p)  Scoring. The school system test coordinator shall: 

(1) ensure each test is scored according to the 

procedures and guidelines defined for the test 

by the test publisher; 

(2) maintain quality control during the entire 

scoring process, which consists of handling and 

editing documents, scanning answer 

documents, and producing electronic files and 

reports. Quality control shall address at a 

minimum accuracy and scoring consistency. 

(3) maintain security of tests and data files at all 

times, including; 

(A) protecting the confidentiality of 

students at all times when publicizing 

test results; and 

(B) maintaining test security of answer 

keys and item-specific scoring rubrics. 

(q)  Analysis and reporting. Educators shall use test scores 

appropriately. This means that the educator recognizes that a test 

score is only one piece of information and must be interpreted 

together with other scores and indicators. Test data help educators 

understand educational patterns and practices. The superintendent 

shall ensure that school personnel analyze and report test data 

ethically and within the limitations described in this paragraph. 

(1) Educators shall maintain the confidentiality of 

individual students. Publicizing test scores or 

any written material containing personally 

identifiable information from the student's 

educational records shall not be disseminated or 

otherwise made available to the public by a 

member of the State Board of Education, any 

employee of the State Board of Education, the 

State Superintendent of Public Instruction, any 

employee of the North Carolina Department of 

Public Instruction, any member of a local board 

of education, any employee of a local board of 

education, or any other person, except as 

permitted under the provisions of the Family 

Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, 20 

U.S.C.§1232g. 

(2) Educators shall release test scores to students, 

parents, legal guardians, teachers, and the 

media with interpretive materials as needed. 

(3) Staff development relating to testing must 

enable school personnel to respond 

knowledgeably to questions related to testing, 

including the tests, scores, scoring procedures, 

and other interpretive materials. 

(4) Items and associated materials on a secure test 

shall not be in the public domain. Only items 

that are within the public domain may be used 

for item analysis. 

(5) Data analysis of test scores for decision-making 

purposes shall be based upon: 

(A) disaggregation of data based upon 

student demographics and other 

collected variables; 

(B) examination of grading practices in 

relation to test scores; and 

(C) examination of growth trends and goal 

summary reports for state-mandated 

tests. 

(r)  Unethical testing practices include, but are not limited to, the 

following practices: 

(1) encouraging students to be absent the day of 

testing; 

(2) encouraging students not to do their best; 

(3) using secure test items or modified secure test 

items for instruction; 

(4) changing student responses at any time; 

(5) interpreting, explaining, or paraphrasing the 

test directions or the test items; 

(6) classifying students solely for the purpose of 

avoiding state testing; 

(7) not testing all eligible students; 

(8) failing to provide required accommodations 

during testing; 

(9) modifying scoring programs including answer 

keys, equating files, and lookup tables; 

(10) modifying student records solely for the 

purpose of raising test scores; 

(11) using a single test score to make individual 

decisions; and 

(12) misleading the public concerning the results 

and interpretations of test data. 

(s)  In the event of a violation of this Rule, the State Board of 

Education may, in accordance with the contested case provisions 

of G.S. 150B, impose any one or more of the following sanctions: 

(1) withhold any applicable monetary incentive 

awards; 

(2) file a civil action against the person or persons 

responsible for the violation for copyright 

infringement or for any other available cause of 

action; 
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(3) seek criminal prosecution of the person or 

persons responsible for the violation; and 

(4) in accordance with the provisions of 16 NCAC 

06C .0312, suspend or revoke the professional 

license of the person or persons responsible for 

the violation. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(9); 115C-174.11; 115C-174.12. 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0313 USE OF STATE-DESIGNATED 

STUDENT ASSESSMENTS IN NC TEACHER 

EVALUATION PROCESS 

(a)  This Rule specifies requirements for the assessments used as 

standardized artifacts to report student growth for teachers and 

school growth for participants in the North Carolina Teacher 

Evaluation Process. The following assessments are considered 

standardized artifacts reflective of student growth for teachers and 

school growth for participants in the Teacher Evaluation Process: 

(1) End-of-Grade English Language Arts/Reading 

(grades 3–8) 

(2) End-of-Grade Mathematics (grades 3–8) 

(3) End-of-Grade Science (grades 5 and 8) 

(4) End-of-Course NC Math 1 

(5) End-of-Course NC Math 3 

(6) End-of-Course English II 

(7) End-of-Course Biology 

(8) NC Final Exams (will end after the 19-20 

school year) 

(9) K–3 Checkpoints 

(10) Career and Technical Education State 

Assessments 

(b)  All eligible public school students shall participate in the 

standard administration of the aforementioned assessments, with 

or without accommodations). 

(1) All students (including charter school students) 

enrolled in North Carolina Virtual Public 

School (NCVPS) courses that administer a 

North Carolina Final Exam (NCFE) shall 

participate in the administration of the NCFE. 

(2) All students in NCVPS Occupational Course of 

Study (OCS) courses that are taught jointly 

between the local education agency (LEA) and 

the NCVPS shall participate in the 

administration of the NCFEs. 

(c)  Public schools shall administer these assessments within the 

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction's (NCDPI's) 

designated testing window: 

(1) Last 5 days of the course for block or semester 

courses or 

(2) Last 10 days of the course for yearlong courses. 

(d)  Public schools shall administer these assessments to students 

enrolled in NCVPS courses within the final five instructional days 

for block/semester courses and within the final 10 instructional 

days of the course for yearlong courses. For students who will 

complete an NCVPS course before the five- or ten-day testing 

window opens, public schools shall apply to the NCDPI's 

Division of Accountability Services for permission to administer 

the assessment(s) at the completion of the NCVPS course as long 

as there is no impact on providing instruction to other students in 

the school. 

(e)  Public schools shall use the course-specific operational 

assessment as the only final exam for the course. 

(f)  Public schools shall use results from all course-specific 

operational assessments as a minimum of 20 percent of the 

student's final grade for each respective course. 

(1) This requirement does not apply to end-of-year 

assessments in grades 3–8 nor does it apply to 

students following the OCS Pathway. 

(2) This requirement does not apply to English 

Learner (EL) students in their first year in a 

U.S. school. 

(3) Effective with the 2018–19 school year and 

beyond, this requirement does not apply to 

students enrolled in a course during the initial 

implementation year of the new assessment for 

that course where scores are not immediately 

available due to standard setting. 

(4) Since the NCVPS is a supplement to public 

schools, determination of an NCVPS final 

course grade is the district's decision. The 

district determines according to local policy 

how much the final exam will count (i.e., 

minimum of 20 percent or higher) in the 

student's final grade for the course. 

(g)  Public schools may adopt policies to use results from end-of-

year assessments in grades 3–8 elementary and middle school 

assessments as part of the student's final grade. 

(h)  Regardless of the grade level in which the course is offered, 

students enrolled in courses in which assessments are required 

shall take the appropriate assessment at the completion of the 

course. 

(1) This requirement does not apply to students for 

Science NCFEs at grades 6, and 7 whose 

teachers have their test scores for the same year 

from the end-of-grade (EOG) tests of English 

Language Arts (ELA)/Reading and/or 

Mathematics and/or the Social Studies NCFEs. 

The decision must be applied consistently to all 

schools within a district so that teachers in like 

categories have the same measures. 

(2) This requirement does not apply to students for 

Social Studies NCFEs at grades 6, 7 and 8 

whose teachers have their test scores for the 

same year from the EOG tests of ELA/Reading, 

Mathematics, and/or Science and/or Science 

NCFEs. The decision must be applied 

consistently to all schools within a district so 

that teachers in like categories have the same 

measures. 

(3) School Systems may elect to administer the 

Science and Social Studies Final Exams even if 

teachers have ELA/Reading, Mathematics, 

Science, or Social Studies scores. 

(i)  Public school students (including seniors) who are exempt 

from final exams by local board of education policy shall not be 

exempt from these assessments. 
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Public school students who are identified as failing a 

course/grade/subject for which an assessment is required shall 

take the appropriate assessment. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(9);115C-83.6; 115C-83.5; 115C-174.11; 

115C-174.12; 115C-269.35; 115C-333.2;115C-334; 115C-335. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06E - STUDENTS 

 

SECTION .0100 - ATTENDANCE 

 

16 NCAC 06E .0107 SCHOOL VIOLENCE ACTS 

DEFINED AND THE ANNUAL REPORT OF THESE 

CRIMES 

(a)  Local Education Agencies (LEAs) shall report the following 

crimes and offenses within five school days to the State Board of 

Education via the Department of Public Instruction-approved 

discipline reporting system in conformity with the State's Uniform 

Education Reporting System: 

(1) Homicide as defined in G.S. 14-17 and 14.18; 

(2) Assault resulting in serious personal injury as 

defined in G.S. 14-32.4; 

(3) Assault involving the use of a weapon as 

defined in G.S. 14-32 through 14-34.10; 

(4) Rape as defined in G.S. 14-27.2, 14-27.3 and 

14-27.7A; 

(5) Sexual offense as defined in G.S 14-27.4, 14-

27.5 and 14-27.7A; 

(6) Sexual assault as defined in G.S. 14-27.5A and 

14-33(c)(2); 

(7) Kidnapping as defined in G.S. 14-39; 

(8) Robbery with a dangerous weapon as defined in 

G.S. 14-87; 

(9) Indecent liberties with a minor as defined in 

G.S. 14-202.1, 14-202.2 and 14-202.4; 

(10) Assault with a firearm or powerful explosive as 

defined in G.S. 14-34 through 14-34.10 and 

14.49 through 14-50.1; 

(11) Robbery with a firearm or dangerous explosive 

as defined in G.S. 14-87; 

(12) Willfully burning a school building as defined 

in G.S. 14-60; 

(13) Making bomb threats or engaging in bomb 

hoaxes as defined in G.S. 14-69.2; 

(14) Assault on school officials, employees, and 

volunteers as defined in G.S. 14-33(c)(6); 

(15) Possession of a controlled substance in 

violation of the law as defined in G.S. 90-86 

through 90-113.8; 

(16) Possession of a firearm in violation of the law 

as defined in G.S. 14-269.2; 

(17) Possession of a weapon in violation of the law 

as defined in G.S. 14-269.2; 

(18) Unlawful, underage sales, purchase, provision, 

possession, or consumption of alcoholic 

beverages as defined in G.S. 18B-302; 

(19) Assault as defined in G.S. 14-33 but not 

resulting in an injury as severe as defined in 

G.S. 14-32.4; 

(20) Fighting, or affray as defined in G.S. 14-33; 

(21) Gang activity as defined in G.S. 14-50.16 14-

50.20; 

(22) Robbery as defined in G.S. 14-87, but without 

the use of a dangerous weapon; 

(23) Extortion as defined in G.S. 14-118.4; 

(24) Communicating threats as defined in G.S. 14-

277.1; 

(25) Threat of assault with a firearm or powerful 

explosive as defined in G.S. 14-277.1; 

(26) Threat of assault with a weapon as defined in 

G.S. 14-277.1; 

(27) Threat of assault without a weapon as defined 

in G.S. 14-277.1; 

(28) Possession or use of tobacco products as 

defined in G.S. 14-313; 

(29) Property damage as defined in G.S. 115C-398; 

(30) Bullying as defined in G.S. 115C-407.15; 

(31) Cyberbullying as defined in G.S. 14-458.1 and 

14-458.2; 

(32) Verbal harassment as defined in G.S. 115C-

407.15; 

(33) Sexual harassment as defined in G.S. 115C-

335.5; Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 

42 U.S.C. 2000e et seq.; 

(34) Harassment - Race/Ethnicity as defined in G.S. 

115C-407.15; 

(35) Harassment – Disability as defined in G.S. 

115C-407.15; 

(36) Harassment – Sexual orientation as defined in 

G.S. 115C-407.15; 

(37) Harassment – Religious affiliation as defined in 

G.S. 115C-407.15; and 

(38) Discrimination as defined in Title VI of the 

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000d et 

seq.; Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 

42 U.S.C. 2000e et seq.; Title IX of the 

Education Amendments of 1972, 20 U.S.C. 

1681-1688; Americans with Disabilities Act, 

42 U.S.C. 12101 et seq. 

(b)  Failure to follow reporting requirements under this provision 

may justify disciplinary action pursuant to 16 NCAC 06C .0312 

(License Suspension and Revocation). 

(c)  These offenses shall be reported when they occur under the 

following conditions and circumstances:  

(1) on school property, defined as any public 

school building, bus, public school campus, 

grounds, recreational area, or athletic field in 

the charge of the principal; or  

(2) off school property on a school-sponsored field 

trip. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(18), (21); 115C-288(g); 115C-307(a). 

 

16 NCAC 06E .0106 DEFINITION OF STUDENT 

CHRONIC ABSENTEEISM RATE 

(a)  Student chronic absence is a risk factor for adverse outcomes. 

Student chronic absence differs from both truancy and average 

daily attendance. Student daily attendance is the percentage of 
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students present in a school each day. Student truancy measures 

unexcused absences only. Student chronic absence refers to 

missing so much school, for any type of absence – excused, 

unexcused, disciplinary – that a student is at risk of falling behind. 

(b)  Student Chronic Absentee is a student who is enrolled in a 

North Carolina public school for at least 10 school days at any 

time during the school year, and whose total number of absences 

is equal to or greater than 10 percent of the total number of days 

that such student has been enrolled at such school during such 

school year. This definition is established to track rates of student 

chronic absenteeism accurately and consistently for North 

Carolina students. 

(c)  This definition applies to all students enrolled in a school, 

including those who have not reached the compulsory attendance 

age, as well as those who have reached or exceeded the 

compulsory attendance age. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(9)(d), (18); 115C-378; 115C-379. 

 

SECTION .0200 - SCHOOL ATHLETICS AND SPORTS 

MEDICINE 

 

16 NCAC 06E .0204 INTERSCHOLASTIC 

ATHLETICS 

(a)  Local Education Agencies (LEAs) and charter school boards 

are authorized to determine whether and to what extent students 

in grades 6-12 may participate in interscholastic athletics; 

provided, however, that students in sixth grade are not eligible to 

participate in football. 

(b)  In order to qualify for participation in public school athletics, 

a student shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) The student shall meet the residence criteria of 

G.S. 115C-366(a). The student shall participate 

only at the school to which the student is 

assigned by the LEA or, if over the age 

requirements, the school to which the student 

would be assigned at the next higher grade 

level. 

(2) The student shall meet age requirements at each 

grade level to participate. The principal shall 

have evidence of the legal birth date of the 

student. A student who is ineligible to 

participate at one grade level due to age is 

eligible to participate at the next higher grade 

level only. However, no student shall 

participate at the high school level for more 

than eight consecutive semesters, beginning 

with the student's first entry into grade nine or 

participation on a high school team, whichever 

occurs first. No student is eligible to participate 

at the middle school level for a period lasting 

longer than six consecutive semesters, 

beginning with the student's entry into sixth 

grade. 

(A) A student is eligible to participate in 

high school athletic contests during a 

school year if the student does not 

reach the 19th birthday on or before 

August 31 of that school year. 

(B) A student shall not participate on a 

ninth grade junior high school team if 

the student becomes 16 years of age on 

or before August 31 of that school 

year. 

(C) A student shall not participate on a 

sixth, seventh or eighth grade team if 

the student becomes 15 years of age on 

or before August 31 of that school 

year. 

(c)  In grades 9-12, the student shall pass at least five courses (or 

the equivalent for non-traditional school schedules) each semester 

to be eligible anytime during the present semester and meet 

promotion standards established by the LEA/Charter School. In 

grades 6, 7 and 8, the student shall pass at least one less course 

than the number of required core courses each semester and meet 

promotion standards established by the LEA/Charter School. 

Regardless of the school organization pattern, a student who is 

promoted from the eighth grade to the ninth grade automatically 

meets the courses passed requirement for the first semester of the 

ninth grade. Regardless of the school organization pattern, a 

student who is promoted from the fifth grade to the sixth grade 

automatically meets the courses passed requirement for the first 

semester of the sixth grade. 

(d)  The student shall receive a medical examination each year by 

a duly licensed physician, nurse practitioner, or physician 

assistant, subject to the provisions of G.S. 90-9, 90-18.1, and 90-

18.2. 

(e)  The student shall not participate in interscholastic athletics 

after any of the following: 

(1) graduation; 

(2) becoming eligible to graduate; 

(3) signing a professional athletic contract; 

(4) receiving remuneration as a participant in an 

athletic contest; or 

(5) participating on an all-star team or in an all-star 

game that is not sanctioned by the association 

of which the student's school is a member. The 

student is ineligible only for the specific sport 

involved. 

(f)  Each principal of a school that participates in interscholastic 

athletics shall certify a list of eligible students for each sport. 

(g)  Any student-athlete, coach or school official in grades 6-12 

who is ejected from any athletic contest shall at least be penalized 

as follows: 

(1) for the first offense, the person shall be 

reprimanded and suspended for the next game 

at that level of play (varsity or junior varsity) 

and for any intervening games at either level; 

(2) for a second offense, the person shall be placed 

on probation and suspended for the next two 

games at that level of play (varsity or junior 

varsity) and for any intervening games at either 

level; 

(3) for a third offense, the person shall be 

suspended for one calendar year; 

(4) a coach who is suspended at any level of grades 

6-12 (middle school, junior high or high school) 
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may not coach in any other grade level in grades 

6-12 during the period of suspension. 

(5) Penalties are cumulative from sport to sport and 

from sport season to sport season. If no member 

of the school's coaching staff is present to 

assume an ejected coach's duties, the contest 

shall be terminated by a forfeit. 

(h)  LEAs and charter schools may allow their schools to belong 

to the North Carolina High School Athletic Association 

(NCHSAA), which has established as a minimum the rules 

adopted by the SBE. The NCHSAA may waive any eligibility 

requirement contained in this Rule, except the age requirement, if 

it finds that the rule fails to accomplish its purpose, or it works an 

undue hardship when applied to a particular student. The 

NCHSAA may enforce penalties for the violation of this Rule at 

the high school level. 

(i)  The LEA or Charter School that has jurisdiction over the high 

school may impose additional penalties. LEAs or charter schools 

or conferences may adopt and impose penalties at the middle and 

junior high school levels. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(12); 115C-12(23). 

 

16 NCAC 06E .0205 CONCUSSION SAFETY 

REQUIREMENTS FOR INTERSCHOLASTIC ATHLETIC 

COMPETITION 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, a concussion is a traumatic brain 

injury caused by a direct or indirect impact to the head that results 

in disruption of normal brain function, which may or may not 

result in loss of consciousness. 

(b)  All coaches, school nurses, athletic directors, first responders, 

volunteers, students who participate in middle or high school 

interscholastic athletic activities, and the parents or guardians of 

those students shall receive, on an annual basis, a concussion and 

head injury information sheet. 

(c)  The information sheet shall include: 

(1) The definitions and symptoms of concussions 

and head injuries; 

(2) A description of the physiology and the 

potential short-term and long-term effects of 

concussions and other head injuries; 

(3) The medical return-to-play protocol for post-

concussion participation in interscholastic 

athletic activities; and 

(4) Any other information deemed necessary by the 

local board of education. 

(d)  School employees, first responders, volunteers, and students 

shall sign the sheet and return it to the coach before participating 

in interscholastic athletic activities, including tryouts, practices, 

or competition. 

(e)  Parents shall sign the information sheet and return it to the 

coach before a child may participate in any such interscholastic 

athletic activities. The signed sheets shall be maintained in 

accordance with subsection (f). 

(f)  If a student participating in a middle or high school 

interscholastic athletic activity exhibits signs or symptoms 

consistent with concussion, the student shall be removed from the 

activity at that time and shall not be allowed to return to play or 

practice that day. 

(g)  A student removed from play for exhibiting signs or 

symptoms consistent with concussion shall not return to play or 

practice on a subsequent day until the student is evaluated by and 

receives written clearance for such participation from one of the 

following: 

(1) A physician licensed under Article 1 of Chapter 

90 of the General Statutes with training in 

concussion management; 

(2) A neuropsychologist licensed under Article 

18A of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes with 

training in concussion management and 

working in consultation with a physician 

licensed under Article 1 of Chapter 90 of the 

General Statutes; 

(3) An athletic trainer licensed under Article 34 of 

Chapter 90 of the General Statutes; 

(4) A physician assistant, consistent with the 

limitations of G.S. 90-18.1; or 

(5) A nurse practitioner, consistent with the 

limitations of G.S. 90-18.2. 

(h)  Each school shall develop a venue-specific emergency action 

plan to deal with serious injuries and acute medical conditions in 

which the condition of the patient may deteriorate rapidly. 

(i)  This plan shall be: 

(1) In writing; 

(2) Reviewed by an athletic trainer licensed in 

North Carolina; 

(3) Approved by the principal of the school; 

(4) Distributed to all appropriate personnel; 

(5) Posted conspicuously for community and 

parental awareness at all athletic-sponsored 

venues; and 

(6) Reviewed and rehearsed annually by all 

licensed athletic trainers, first responders, 

coaches, school nurses, athletic directors, and 

volunteers for interscholastic athletic activities. 

(j)  The plan shall include: 

(1) A delineation of roles; 

(2) Methods of communication; 

(3) Available emergency equipment; and 

(4) Access to and plan for emergency transport. 

(k)  Each school shall maintain complete and accurate records of 

its compliance with the requirements of this subdivision 

pertaining to head injuries. 

(l)  The State Board of Education authorizes the NCHSAA to 

apply and enforce this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(12); 115C-12(23). 

 

16 NCAC 06E .0206 ATHLETIC TRAINERS 

(a)  Each Local Education Agency (LEA) must designate for each 

high school within its jurisdiction either a licensed athletic trainer 

who is qualified pursuant to Article 34 of Chapter 90 of the 

General Statutes of North Carolina or a first responder. These 

persons may be employed on a full-time or part-time basis or may 

serve as a volunteer. 

(b)  If not a licensed athletic trainer, a first responder shall: 

(1) have completed and continue to maintain 

certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
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as certified by an organization such as the 

American Red Cross or the American Heart 

Association; 

(2) have completed and continue to maintain 

certification in first aid as certified by an 

organization such as the American Red Cross 

or the American Heart Association; 

(3) have completed and continue to maintain 

training in concussion management as offered 

by an organization such as the National 

Federation of State High School Associations 

(NFHS). 

(4) have completed and continue to maintain 

continuing education in injury prevention and 

management as offered by an organization such 

as the National Federation of State High School 

Associations (NFHS); and 

(5) complete 10 hours of staff development each 

school year specific to first aid, injury 

recognition and prevention. The 10 hours may 

include hours necessary for 

recertification/renewals. 

(c)  The licensed athletic trainer or first responder may not have 

concurrent coaching responsibilities during the time in which the 

person is working as a licensed athletic trainer or first responder. 

(d)  A licensed athletic trainer or first responder shall attend all 

football practices and games, unless excused by the 

superintendent due to emergency. 

(e)  Each LEA shall monitor school athletic trainer's or the first 

responder's compliance with this Rule. 

(f)  LEAs shall work toward having a licensed athletic trainer or 

first responder available for all school practices and games of all 

sports at both the high school and middle school. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(12); 115C-12(23). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06G - EDUCATION AGENCY 

RELATIONS 

 

SECTION .0300 - SCHOOL-BASED MANAGEMENT AND 

ACCOUNTABILITY PROGRAM 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0314 ALTERNATIVE SCHOOLS' 

ACCOUNTABILITY MODELS 

(a)  This Rule establishes the North Carolina Department of Public 

Instruction's (NCDPI) procedures for alternative schools' 

participation in the State's Alternative Schools' Accountability 

Model and shall apply to all alternative schools, including charter 

schools approved to use the alternative accountability model, that 

have an NCDPI-assigned local education agency (LEA) school 

code. Accountability indicators and results for students who 

attend programs or classes in a facility that does not have an LEA 

school code shall be reported to and included in the students' base 

school's accountability results. 

(b)  At the beginning of each school year, local public school and 

charter school boards shall determine the option that each 

alternative school under their jurisdiction will follow for 

participation in the Alternative Schools' Accountability Model. 

The local board's participation decision shall be reported to the 

NCDPI's Director of Accountability Services by August 1 of each 

school year. 

(c)  Local public school and charter school boards shall select 

from the following Alternative Schools' Accountability Model 

options: 

(1) Option A. Alternative schools can participate in 

School Performance Grades as defined by G.S. 

115C-83.15 or 

(2) Option B. Alternative schools can participate in 

the Alternative Schools' Progress Model. 

(A) Schools electing to participate in the 

Alternative Schools' Progress Model 

will be evaluated as follows, with 

Components used in the overall school 

score: (i) 20 percent Student 

Persistence, which is defined as the 

percent of alternative students who 

remain enrolled in any North Carolina; 

(ii) 20 percent School Achievement, 

which is comprised of: three years of 

data using the following indicators: 

End-of-Grade (EOG) English 

Language Arts/Reading and 

Mathematics Assessments at Grades 

3–8; EOG Science Assessments at 

Grades 5 and 8; End-of-Course (EOC) 

Assessments in Biology, NC Math 1, 

NC Math 3, and English II; ACT®; 

ACT WorkKeys; 4-year graduation 

rate; 5-year graduation rate; and math 

course rigor; (iii) 60 percent Growth, 

which will be calculated using the 

Education Value-Added Assessment 

System (EVAAS). 

(B) A change rating will be assigned to 

schools comparing their previous year 

to the current year. All schools will 

receive a rating of: "Progressing," 

which indicates a change in the school 

from the previous year by at least +3 

points; "Maintaining," which indicates 

a change in the school from the 

previous year by -2.9 to +2.9 points; 

or, "Declining," which indicates a 

change in the school from the previous 

year by at least -3 points. 

(3) Option C. The alternative school may propose 

its own alternative accountability model for 

approval by the State Board of Education 

(SBE). The proposed model must include 

criteria for achievement and growth. A request 

for Option C must be submitted annually to the 

SBE for approval at its October meeting. 

(d)  Schools that are identified as Developmental Day Centers (as 

determined by the Department of Health and Human Services) 

and schools which are providing special education and related 

services in public separate settings to students with disabilities 

who are significantly cognitively delayed, have multiple 

handicapping conditions, and may also have significant 
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behavioral or sensory integration needs shall participate in 

accountability by administering the appropriate assessment to all 

eligible students, and participating in either Option B or Option C 

as defined herein. To participate in this model, schools who meet 

the criteria in this Section will be reviewed and approved by the 

Exceptional Children's Division and the Accountability Services 

Division. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(24); 115C-105.35; 115C-83.15. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0315 ACCOUNTABILITY ANNUAL 

PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  All eligible students in membership (i.e., enrolled in a school) 

at grades 3 through 8 and in high school courses in which an end-

of-course (EOC) assessment is administered shall participate in 

the state assessment program adopted by the State Board of 

Education (SBE). Participation is reported for: 

(1) grades 3 through 8 end-of-grade (EOG) English 

language arts/reading and mathematics; 

(2) grades 5 and 8 EOG science; 

(3) grade 10 EOC English II, 

(4) grade 11 EOC assessments in NC Math, NC 

Math 3, and EOC Biology; 

(5) grade 11 ACT; and 

(6) grade 12 Career and Technical Education 

Concentrators and ACDT WorkKeys. 

(b)  Effective 2017–18 and beyond, all eligible students in 

membership at grade 8 enrolled for credit in NC Math 1 shall take 

the EOC assessment at the completion of the course. Schools shall 

not assess these students on the grade 8 mathematics EOG 

assessment. These students shall take the NC Math 3 EOC 

assessment for federal accountability in high school. 

(c)  For the accountability model, a school that does not assess at 

least 95 percent of its expected test population for the all students 

group and each subgroup of students shall be deemed not to have 

met participation rate requirements. For the ELA/reading and 

mathematics assessment (i.e., EOG ELA/reading, EOG 

Mathematics, EOC English, and EOCs NC Math 1/NC Math 3) 

academic indicator, the greater of all students tested, or 95 percent 

of students expected to test, shall be the denominator for 

proficiency calculations used in reporting, long-term goals, and 

the accountability model. Participation rates shall be publicly 

reported annually. 

(d)  For the science (i.e., EOG Science and EOC Biology), ACT, 

and ACT WorkKeys assessments, participation rates shall be 

reported for all students and each subgroup of students. Missed 

participation rates will be highlighted in public reporting. Schools 

shall submit to the North Carolina Department of Public 

Instruction (NCDPI) justification for not meeting participation 

rates and a plan of action to improve participation rates. 

(e)  Students identified as English Learners (ELs) shall participate 

in the statewide testing program using either the standard test 

administration or the standard test administration with 

accommodations. 

(1) Effective 2017–18 and beyond, ELs shall 

participate in state assessments beginning with 

their first year in a U.S. school; however, 

(A) For the first year, the requirement is 

for participation and for reporting 

(e.g., NC School Report Card), not the 

accountability model. 

(B) For year two, ELs' test scores shall be 

included in the growth analysis for the 

accountability model. 

(C) For year three and beyond, ELs' test 

scores shall be included in growth and 

the achievement indicator of the 

accountability model. 

(f)  All students with disabilities who are included in membership, 

including those with Individualized Education Programs (IEPs) 

and those identified under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act 

of 1973, shall participate in the state assessment program using 

one of the following assessments as appropriate and as determined 

by the student's IEP or Section 504 Plan: 

(1) The standard test administration with or without 

accommodations, or 

(2) An alternate assessment (as defined below in 

letter F) with or without accommodations, if 

eligible. 

(g)  Only students with the most significant cognitive disabilities 

who have IEPs may participate in a state-designated alternate 

assessment based on alternate academic achievement standards. 

(1) These students shall be evaluated and included 

in the accountability performance composite. 

(2) The Every Students Succeeds Act (ESSA) 

requires the total number of students assessed 

in each subject using the alternate assessment 

based on alternate academic achievement 

standards statewide does not exceed 1.0 percent 

of the total number of all students assessed in 

each subject. 

(3) As required by ESSA, the NCDPI must notify 

districts and charter schools that have been 

identified (based on the previous school year's 

participation data) as being likely to exceed 1.0 

percent of students assessed in a subject area on 

the alternate assessment for the current school 

year. 

(A) These identified districts and charter 

schools must provide the NCDPI a 

justification of the need to assess more 

than 1.0 percent of its students on the 

alternate assessment in any subject. 

(B) Districts and charter schools that did 

not exceed 1.0 percent in the previous 

school year but anticipate exceeding in 

the current school year, must also 

submit a justification. 

(C) Justifications from each district and 

charter school will be reviewed by the 

NCDPI, and follow up actions will be 

determined based on the information 

in the justification document. 

(D) The completed justification must be 

signed by the superintendent/charter 

school director, exceptional children's 

director, and LEA/charter school test 

coordinator. 
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(E) The justification documents for 

districts and charter schools that 

actually exceed the 1.0 percent 

participation on the alternate 

assessment will be publicly posted. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-105.35; Every Student Succeeds 

Act ESSA). 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0316 PURPOSE AND COMPOSITION 

OF THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION'S 

COMPLIANCE COMMISSION FOR ACCOUNTABILITY 

The purpose of the Compliance Commission for Accountability 

(Commission) shall be to advise and to make recommendations to 

the State Board of Education (SBE) through the North Carolina 

Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) on testing issues and 

other issues related to school accountability and improvement. 

(1) The SBE, after discussing issues related to 

testing and accountability as presented by the 

NCDPI, may request that the Commission 

further discuss such issues and make 

recommendations to the SBE. Issues the 

Commission may discuss include the 

following: 

(a) proposed changes to the State's 

accountability program; 

(b) the testing code of ethics; 

(c) test security and administration; 

(d) auditing procedures to ensure integrity 

of the testing and accountability 

programs; 

(e) the relationship of testing to other 

aspects of schooling; and 

(f) other issues related to testing and 

accountability as deemed appropriate 

by the SBE. 

(2) The Commission shall consider requests from 

schools that desire to be exempt from 

participating in field test(s)/special studies and 

shall make a recommendation to the SBE on 

such requests. 

(3) Upon recommendation by the State 

Superintendent of Public Instruction, the SBE 

shall approve appointments to the Compliance 

Commission consisting of 22 members in 

accordance with the procedures stated in SBE 

Policy ADVS-002 (Appointments to Advisory 

Committees to the State Board of Education), 

who shall represent the following categories: 

(a) Four shall be teachers; 

(b) Five shall be principals representing 

elementary, middle, and high schools; 

(c) Four shall be from central office staffs, 

(at least one must represent 

Exceptional Children); 

(d) Two shall represent local boards of 

education; 

(e) One shall represent NC charter 

schools; 

(f) Two shall be members of the business 

community; 

(g) One shall be a parent representative; 

(h) One shall represent higher education; 

and 

(i) Two shall be at-large. 

(4) Terms of membership shall be for four years, be 

staggered, and shall run through December 31. 

Members may be reappointed by the SBE for 

one additional term. 

(a) To the extent possible, members will 

be appointed from the eight education 

districts (as defined in G.S. 115C-65) 

to keep the Commission balanced 

geographically and professionally. 

(b) As Commission members are 

replaced, the SBE shall, to the extent 

possible, recommend and approve 

replacements to keep the Commission 

balanced geographically and 

professionally. 

(c) A member of the SBE as designated 

by the State Board membership shall 

sit on the Commission as a non-voting 

ex-officio member. 

(5) The SBE shall appoint a chair from the 

membership of the Commission. The Chair 

shall serve for two years. 

(6) The Commission shall elect a Vice-Chair from 

its membership. 

(7) The Commission shall meet at least annually. 

The SBE may call a special meeting of the 

Commission to discuss an issue. 

(8) The Department of Public Instruction, Division 

of Accountability Services, shall staff the 

Commission and shall develop the agendas for 

the scheduled meetings in conjunction with the 

Commission's Chair. Draft minutes of the 

Commission meetings shall be provided to the 

SBE within one month following each meeting, 

with official approved minutes being shared 

with the SBE following approval by the 

Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-105.35. 

 

SECTION .0500 - CHARTER SCHOOLS 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0503 CHARTER SCHOOL 

ACCOUNTABILITY REQUIREMENTS 

Each year all eligible students shall take state-required 

assessments mandated by law or State Board of Education policy. 

All charter schools shall comply with G.S. 115C-83.15 and G.S. 

115C-83.16 and accountability measures identified in the State's 

federally-approved Every Student Succeeds Act Consolidated 

State Plan, unless granted a waiver by the State Board of 

Education pursuant to 16 NCAC 06G .0517 - .0522. 
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Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-83.15, 115C-83.16, 115C-105.20, 

115C-218(a), 115C-218.85(a)(3); Every Student Succeeds Act of 

2015 (P.L. 114-95). 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0504 CHARTER SCHOOLS STUDENT 

ADMISSION 

All charter schools admission procedures and policies shall 

comply with G.S. 115C-118.45. Open enrollment for a charter 

school shall follow the mission statement and targeted population 

in the State Board of Education approved application. The 

admissions period shall be no less than 30 consecutive calendar 

days. If there are more applications than seats available, the 

charter school shall determine a date, time, and location to hold 

the lottery required by G.S. 115C-218.45(h). The lottery shall 

occur during an official meeting that shall be open to the public 

and subject to Article 33C of Chapter 143 of the General Statutes. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218.45. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0505 CHARTER SCHOOLS 

FINANCIAL NONCOMPLIANCE – IMPACT OF 

FINANCIAL NONCOMPLIANCE 

(a)  There are three stages of financial noncompliance under 

which a charter school may be placed: cautionary, probationary, 

and disciplinary. 

(b)  The presence of any one of the following financial conditions 

shall result in a charter school being assigned a noncompliance 

status: 

(1) If the charter school fails to report required 

Uniform Education Reporting System (UERS) 

data within 10 days of the required or agreed-

upon reporting date or does not submit accurate 

data due to incorrectly utilizing UERS 

approved materials or software within the next 

reporting cycle; 

(2) If the charter school fails to respond to a 

specific financial, personnel, or student 

information request for information or data 

from the Department of Public Instruction by 

the required reporting date; 

(3) If the charter school fails to submit the required 

audited financial statements to the North 

Carolina Department of State Treasurer's Local 

Government Commission, as prescribed by 

G.S. 115C-218.30 and G.S. 115C-447. 

(4) If the charter school shows signs of financial 

insolvency or weakness, including a decline in 

student membership; 

(5) If the Office of State Treasurer receives a "non-

sufficient funds (NSF)" notification during the 

course of cash certification processing; 

(6) If the charter school receives a material audit 

finding in its annual independent financial 

statement audit which indicates a violation of 

State law, a violation of any of the conditions or 

procedures set forth in its Charter, a failure to 

meet generally accepted accounting practices 

and principles, including sound fiscal 

management in accordance with G.S. 115C-

218.95 and remains unresolved; and/or 

(7) If the charter school's staff fails to attend 

required financial training. 

(c)  For these warning conditions, funds may be frozen (i.e. the 

school's access to the cash management system is revoked) until 

the exception is corrected. Any combination of the above 

violations may immediately move the charter school to Financial 

Disciplinary Status without first being held in either the 

Cautionary or Probationary status. Should a charter school have 

repeated violations of the same or similar non-compliance 

condition, the charter school may be moved to Financial 

Disciplinary Status. 

(d)  This policy does not preclude the State Board of Education 

from taking any action with regards to a charter school if so 

warranted, regardless of the charter school's financial 

noncompliance status. 

(e)  The stages of financial noncompliance are as follows: 

(1) Level 1: Financial Cautionary Status 

(A) A charter school may receive a 

notification of Financial Cautionary 

Status for any of the above conditions. 

The school shall remain in cautionary 

status for a minimum of 30 calendar 

days from the date of notification, and 

during that time must correct the 

exception(s) that caused the financial 

warning(s) if applicable. When the 

exception(s) is corrected as prescribed 

in the notification of noncompliance 

by NCDPI, the school will be notified 

of removal from cautionary status. 

(2) Level 2: Financial Probationary Status 

(A) A charter school may receive a 

notification of Financial Probationary 

Status for any of the above conditions. 

The school will be placed in Financial 

Probationary Status, if the school fails 

to correct the exception(s) during the 

30 calendar days cautionary period, 

unless otherwise stated in the initial 

notification of noncompliance. The 

school remains in probationary status 

for a minimum of 30 calendar days 

from the date of notification, and 

during that time must correct the 

exceptions that caused the financial 

warnings if applicable. When all of the 

exceptions have been corrected, the 

school will be notified of removal 

from probationary status. While in 

probationary status, state funds for the 

school may be allotted on a monthly 

basis until the exceptions that caused 

the financial warnings are corrected. 

Failure to resolve the exceptions may 

result in the school being placed on 

Financial Disciplinary Status, referred 

to the Charter School Advisory Board 
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and/or to the State Board of Education 

for further action. 

(3) Level 3: Financial Disciplinary Status 

(A) The school will be placed in Financial 

Disciplinary Status, if the school fails 

to correct all of the exceptions during 

the established timeframe. Any of the 

financial conditions noted in this 

policy, or combination thereof, may 

immediately result in the charter 

school being placed on Financial 

Noncompliance Disciplinary status 

without the benefit of being first held 

in either the Cautionary or 

Probationary status. Also, should a 

charter school have repeat violations 

of the same or similar non-compliance 

condition, the charter school may be 

moved to Financial Disciplinary 

Status without the benefit of 

completing either the Cautionary or 

Probationary status periods. 

(f)  When in Disciplinary status, the school is expected to 

immediately address all of the exceptions that caused the financial 

noncompliance within 10 business days from the date of 

notification or otherwise stated. State funds for the school may be 

allotted on a monthly basis until the exceptions causing the 

noncompliance are corrected. When all of the exceptions have 

been corrected, the school will be notified of removal from 

disciplinary status. Failure to resolve the exceptions will result in 

the school being referred to the Charter School Advisory Board 

and/or to the State Board of Education for further action. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(5); 115C-218, 115C-218.15, 115C-

218.30, 115C-218.95; 115C-408. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0506 CHARTER SCHOOLS 

GOVERNANCE NONCOMPLIANCE 

(a)  There are three (3) stages of Governance Noncompliance: 

Governance Cautionary Status, Governance Probationary Status, 

and Governance Disciplinary Status. A charter school may be 

placed within a governance non-compliance status based on any 

one of the following governance warning conditions: 

(1) Failure to have a functioning board in place, 

including failure to conduct regular meetings of 

the board and failure to adopt policies regarding 

the operation of the charter school. Such 

policies would include a minimum of 

Personnel, Disciplinary, and Parental 

Grievance policies. 

(2) Inability to show progress towards the 

educational and organizational goals described 

in the charter school application. 

(3) Failure to maintain student enrollment. (i.e., 

Required minimum of 80 students, or as 

otherwise stated in the charter application or 

approved waiver to operate under the minimum 

of 80 students.) 

(A) Bylaws violations including, but not 

limited to, failure to follow the Open 

Meetings Law, failure to maintain 

Public Records, failure to implement a 

Conflict of Interest Policy, failure to 

adhere to basic rules of Parliamentary 

Procedure. 

(B) Charter Agreement violations 

including, but not limited to, following 

State/Federal Regulations, ensuring 

Health & Safety Standards, making 

adequate academic progress, meeting 

Testing and Reporting requirements, 

and supplying all reports and 

documentation as requested by the 

Office of Charter Schools to ensure 

legal compliance with General Statute, 

State Board of Education Policy, and 

the Charter Agreement. 

(C) Substantiated complaints indicating 

that the Board is not acting as a 

representative of the school 

community to ensure that the needs of 

all students, parents, and teachers will 

be addressed. 

(D) Failure to maintain certification of at 

least 50 percent of teachers in all 

grades pursuant to G.S. 115C-218.90. 

Charter schools shall maintain 

compliance with this law from 

December 31 of each year through the 

end of the school calendar year. 

Failure to do so will be seen as 

noncompliance with the statutory 

requirement. 

(b)  The stages of noncompliance are as follows: 

(1) Level 1: Governance Cautionary Status: Upon 

receiving a Governance Warning for any of the 

above conditions, the charter school will be 

placed on Governance Cautionary Status. The 

school remains in cautionary status for 30 

calendar days and during that time must correct 

the exception that caused the warning. When 

the 30 calendar days have ended and the 

exception is corrected, the governance warning 

will be removed and the school will be removed 

from cautionary status. Failure to correct the 

exception during the 30 calendar days 

cautionary period constitutes a second warning 

and the school will be placed on Governance 

Probationary Status. 

(2) Level 2: Governance Probationary Status: The 

school remains on Governance Probationary 

Status for 30 calendar days and during that time 

must correct the exceptions that caused all of 

the governance warnings. When the 30 calendar 

days have ended and the exception is corrected, 

the governance warning will be removed and 

the school will be removed from probationary 
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status. Failure to correct the exception during 

the 30 calendar days probationary period 

constitutes a third warning and the school will 

be placed on Governance Noncompliance 

Status. 

(3) Level 3: Governance Noncompliance Status: 

The school remains on Governance 

Noncompliance Status for 10 calendar days. 

When in Noncompliance Status, the school is 

expected to immediately address all of the 

exceptions that caused the governance 

warnings. State funds for the school may be 

allotted on a monthly basis until the exceptions 

that caused all of the governance warnings are 

corrected. A School placed in Governance 

Noncompliance Status may be referred to the 

Charter Schools Advisory Board for 

appropriate inquiry and action as determined by 

the State Board of Education. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218, 115C-218.15, 115C-218.30, 

115C-218.95. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0507 CHARTER SCHOOLS 

RENEWAL PROCESS 

(a)  In order for the State Board of Education to assess whether a 

charter school seeking a renewal of its charter is meeting expected 

academic, financial, and governance standards, a charter school 

seeking renewal shall submit to the Office of Charter Schools a 

Self-Study. 

(b)  The charter holder shall provide the following information in 

the Self-Study on the form made available by the Office of 

Charter Schools: 

(1) School name; 

(2) School mailing address; 

(3) Primary contact person, including name, title, 

phone number, fax number, email address, and 

dated signature; 

(4) Contact information for the board of directors' 

chairperson, including name, term of office, 

mailing address, phone number, fax number, 

email address, and dated signature; 

(5) A letter signed by the Board Chairperson 

stating the charter holder's intent to seek charter 

renewal; 

(6) School mission statement as stated in the 

charter application; 

(7) If applicable, revised school mission statement 

approved by the State Board of Education; 

(8) A narrative statement not to exceed two pages 

explaining how the school is fulfilling the State 

Board approved mission statement; 

(9) Five goals the charter holder has for the school 

during the next five years, including at least one 

academic goal, one financial goal, and one 

operational goal; 

(10) The name of or a description of the curriculum 

design presently used by the school; 

(11) A summary of instructional methodology or 

instructional techniques utilized used at the 

school; 

(12) The names of evaluation instruments, other 

than state-mandated tests, used to assess student 

performance, including descriptions of those 

assessments; 

(13) A narrative statement explaining how the 

school uses student data to improve student 

learning and to raise the academic performance 

of all students; 

(c)  All pages of the Self-Study shall be numbered consecutively. 

(d)  The Self-Study shall include a table of contents and all pages 

shall be numbered consecutively. 

(e)  No font smaller than 12 point shall be used and all reports 

shall be typed, or computer prepared. 

(f)  The charter school seeking to renew its charter may utilize 

assistance from outside the school to complete the Self-Study. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218(a)(6); 115C-218.6. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0508 CHARTER SCHOOLS 

APPLICATION AND REVIEW PROCESS 

(a)  Deadline for Filing Charter School Applications. 

(1) Prior to each application round, the State Board 

of Education shall approve the application 

process, timeline, and non-refundable fee. 

(2) Applications for charters, and the 

nonrefundable fee, must be received by the 

Office of Charter Schools no later than the date 

and time specified for the charter application 

round that year. 

(3) Applications and fees received after the 

deadline specified by the Office of Charter 

Schools will not be considered, and any 

affected applicant groups will be notified in 

writing. 

(4) Rejection of Incomplete Applications. The 

Charter School Advisory Board and Office of 

Charter Schools shall review all timely 

applications and shall reject all incomplete 

applications. In order to be deemed complete, 

all sections of the application must be 

completed as prescribed in the "Application 

Instructions" and G.S. 115C-218.2. 

(b)  Charter School Advisory Board Responsibilities 

(1) The Charter School Advisory Board, with the 

assistance of the Office of Charter Schools, 

shall review each complete application and 

determine whether the application meets the 

requirements of G.S. 115C-218.1 

(A) Meets all the requirements of the 

Charter School Act, G.S. 115C-218 et 

seq.; 

(B) Would achieve one or more of the 

purposes set forth in G.S. 

115C-218(a); 

(C) Contains viable governance, business, 

and education plans; and 
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(D) Satisfies any other requirements 

adopted by the SBE. 

(2) The Charter Schools Advisory Board will 

present its recommendation on each charter 

school application to the SBE by the May SBE 

meeting for discussion. 

(c)  SBE Review of Applications and Award of Charters 

(1) The SBE may request information from 

applicants, their officers, agents or employees 

or other persons having information regarding 

the charter application reviewed by the Charter 

School Advisory Board when the SBE seeks 

clarification or greater detail regarding an 

application 

(2) When awarding charters, the SBE may give 

priority consideration to applications that 

demonstrate the capability to provide 

comprehensive learning experiences to students 

identified as at risk of academic failure. 

(3) When determining whether to award a charter, 

the SBE may consider any factors including the 

extent to which the application: 

(A) Reflects the applicant's commitment 

to the purposes of the charter school 

law stated in G.S. 115C-218(a); 

(B) Promotes innovation through charter 

schools; 

(C) Reflects the applicant's planning, 

research and understanding of 

educational issues, including 

budgeting, financing and accounting; 

(D) Demonstrates the applicant's 

commitment to governance by 

participation of a large, diverse and 

locally-based board; 

(E) Contains articles of incorporation and 

by-laws; 

(F) Contains a budget that accurately 

reflects anticipated revenues and 

costs; including costs associated with 

maintenance of the school facilities 

and projected growth; 

(G) Describes student admission 

requirements and lottery system that 

comply with G.S. 115C; 

(H) Describes a plan for acquisition and 

utilization of a facility; 

(I) Describes a five year marketing plan 

that promotes a diverse learning 

environment; and 

(J) Any other factor that it determines will 

promote the purposes of the Charter 

School Act, G.S. 115C-218 et seq. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218, 115C-218.1; 115C-218.5. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0509 PLANNING YEAR FOR NEW 

PRELIMINARY CHARTER SCHOOLS 

(a)  All nonprofit boards eligible to receive a charter for the first 

time shall participate in a year-long planning program prior to the 

charter school's opening for students. During this planning year, n 

directors from nonprofit boards holding charters shall attend 

meetings conducted by consultants from the Office of Charter 

Schools regarding the following topics: school opening plans, 

staff development, finance, governance, board training, 

marketing, policies and procedures, securing a school site, and 

hiring a school administrator. Final approval of the charter shall 

be contingent upon the nonprofit board completing all of the 

planning program requirements. 

(b)  The State Board of Education may accelerate the mandatory 

planning year for a charter applicant that meets the following 

requirements: 

(1) Demonstrates a clear and compelling need for 

the accelerated planning year; 

(2) Demonstrate an exceptional need for the charter 

school in the proposed location; 

(3) Agrees to participate in the planning year while 

the charter application is being reviewed 

without any guarantee of charter award; and 

(4) Demonstrates that there is a facility identified 

by the applicant that is feasible for opening on 

an accelerated schedule. 

(c)  The State Board shall also consider the presence or absence 

of the following factors in making its determination of whether to 

accelerate a planning year: 

(1) Unique mission and educational program 

outlined in the nonprofit board's application; 

(2) Local, state, and national nonprofit partnerships 

committed to assisting the school; 

(3) Potential for economic and educational 

development of the region; 

(4) Mentoring by a successful organization that has 

experience in creating public schools; 

(5) Obstacles to educational reform efforts that 

leave chartering as an available option; 

(6) Commitment to work with a successful charter 

school board as a guiding mentor; 

(7) The length of time the nonprofit corporation has 

existed; and 

(8) Whether the proposed board has previously or 

currently operates a public charter school. 

(d)  An applicant requesting acceleration shall submit the request 

to the State Board of Education prior to the application due date 

for consideration. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218; 115C-218.1; 115C-218.5(b). 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0510 CHARTER AMENDMENTS FOR 

EXISTING PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS - APPROVAL 

PROCESS 

(a)  The following constitute material charter amendments that 

require the State Board of Education's ("SBE") approval prior to 

implementation: 

(1) Grade expansion beyond increases 

contemplated in G.S. 115C-218.8(3); 
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(2) Relocation outside a 5-mile radius or outside of 

the Local Education Agency (LEA) identified 

in the charter; 

(3) Transferring the charter to another non-profit 

entity; 

(4) Altering the mission or targeted student 

population; 

(5) Employing or terminating a management 

company; 

(6) Change to the charter application with respect 

to the National School Lunch program; 

(7) Enrollment growth, consistent with 

requirements in G.S. 115C-218.7. 

(b)  The following constitute charter amendments that must be 

approved by the Department of Public Instruction staff prior to 

implementation, but do not require further approval from the SBE: 

(1) Bylaws; 

(2) The name of the charter school; 

(3) The Articles of Incorporation; 

(4) Relocation within a 5-mile radius or outside of 

the Local Education Agency (LEA) identified 

in the charter; 

(5) Class sizes as stated in the application; 

(6) Length of school day; 

(7) Length of academic year; 

(8) Curriculum changes; 

(9) Change to the charter application with respect 

to student transportation; 

(10) Change to the charter application with respect 

to changing its food service plan; 

(11) Requests to delay the opening of the school by 

one year; and 

(12) Using second year enrollment as outlined in the 

approved charter. 

(c)  Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Department of Public 

Instruction may carry any proposed amendment to the SBE for its 

review. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218.7, 115C-218.8. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0511 CHARTER AMENDMENTS FOR 

EXISTING PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS – REQUIRED 

DOCUMENTATION 

(a)  A charter holder shall submit the following documentation to 

the State Board of Education when it seeks to amend its charter: 

(1) Board meeting minutes reflecting the vote of 

the Board of Directors for the charter school; 

(2) A cover letter fully explaining the request 

signed by the nonprofit board chair and lead 

administrator of the charter school; 

(3) A strikethrough version of the charter 

application showing proposed amendments; 

and 

(4) The proposed amended text to the charter 

application. 

(b)  If the charter holder does not provide the required 

documentation, its amendment proposal will not be processed. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218.7, 115C-218.8. 

16 NCAC 06G .0512 FAST TRACK REPLICATION 

OF HIGH QUALITY CHARTER SCHOOLS – PURPOSE 

AND DEFINITIONS 

(a)  Purpose 

(1) A charter school model that has been 

successfully implemented in North Carolina or 

elsewhere should serve as a platform on which 

additional schools could and should operate. 

Accordingly, the State Board of Education 

(SBE) may, in certain well-defined instances, 

grant permission for a non-profit corporation 

board of directors (board) to replicate either its 

own successful model, or to employ an 

educational management company (EMO) or a 

charter management organization (CMO) to 

replicate a successful model currently being 

operated under the management of the EMO or 

CMO. The SBE may also, in certain well-

defined instances, grant permission for a non-

profit corporation board to "fast track" such a 

replication by foregoing the planning year 

normally required for newly-approved charter 

applicants. These Rules outline the criteria and 

process by which the SBE may authorize fast-

track replication. 

(2) Nothing in these Rules shall be construed to 

prohibit a North Carolina non-profit 

corporation board that seeks to replicate another 

charter school from doing so through the 

regular application process and, upon approval, 

receiving the planning year trainings from 

NCDPI. 

(b)  Definitions 

(1) "Charter school model" or "model" mean the 

core mission and function of a charter school, 

including its governance, its curriculum, its 

organizational structure, its targeted 

population, and other key characteristics of the 

school, such as small class size, thematic 

academics, extended day, etc. 

(2) "Replication" means the act of copying, 

recreating, or repeating, in this case a successful 

charter school model. A "replication" would 

require the utilization of one charter school 

"model" to form the creation of a new charter 

school. 

(3) "Fast-Track Replication" is a special form of 

replication in which the approved applicant 

foregoes the planning year normally required of 

new charter school applicants. The "fast-track" 

applicant will still be required to participate in 

a one-day basic training workshop that will be 

provided by the Department of Public 

Instruction. The State Board of Education shall 

make final decisions regarding "fast track" 

replication applications in less than 120 days 

from the application submission. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218.3. 
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16 NCAC 06G .0513 FAST TRACK REPLICATION 

OF HIGH QUALITY CHARTER SCHOOLS – 

ELIGIBILITY 

(a)  A non-profit corporation board that currently operates a 

charter school in North Carolina is eligible to apply to fast-track 

replicate its existing model only if the non-profit corporation 

board's current school or schools demonstrate a consistent track 

record of academic, financial, and operational success. If the 

board operates more than one school, each school shall meet this 

standard. To meet this standard, the non-profit corporation board 

shall meet each of the following conditions at all times while its 

application is pending: 

(1) Each school operated by the non-profit 

corporation shall: 

(A) have academic outcomes at least 

comparable to those of the students 

enrolled in the LEAs in which they are 

located; or 

(B) meet or exceed growth for the three 

years preceding the application at 

issue, by measures contemplated by 

G.S. 115C-83.15; 

(2) Each school operated by the non-profit 

corporation shall have unqualified audits for the 

three years preceding the application. 

(3) Each school operated by the non-profit 

corporation shall have resolved any 

noncompliance issues cited by the Department 

of Public Instruction during the three years 

preceding the application. 

(4) A majority of the non-profit corporation board 

members and 50 percent or greater of the board 

officers shall be North Carolina residents. 

(b)  A non-profit corporation board that does not operate a charter 

school in North Carolina is eligible to apply to replicate through 

fast-track replication an existing model operated by an EMO or 

CMO. The non-profit corporation board is eligible to apply only 

if the schools operated by the EMO or CMO have a consistent 

track record of academic, financial, and operational success. The 

non-profit corporation board is eligible to replicate an existing 

model operated by the EMO or CMO only if the non-profit 

corporation board shows that each of the following conditions at 

all times while its application is pending: 

(1) The non-profit corporation board shall 

demonstrate that each school managed by the 

EMO or CMO: 

(A) has an academic proficiency 

comparable to the LEAs in which the 

current schools are located by 

measures contemplated by G.S. 115C-

83.15; or 

(B) meets or exceeds growth for the three 

years preceding the application at 

issue. 

(2) The non-profit corporation board shall 

demonstrate that the schools operated in other 

states by the EMO or CMO meet similarly 

rigorous standards for academic performance. 

(3) The non-profit corporation board shall 

demonstrate that each school managed by the 

EMO or CMO have unqualified audits without 

fiscal compliance issues for three years 

immediately preceding the application. 

(4) The non-profit corporation board shall 

demonstrate that the schools operated in other 

states by the EMO or CMO meet similarly 

rigorous standards for financial performance. 

(5) A majority of the non-profit corporation board 

members and 50% or greater of the board 

officers shall be North Carolina residents. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218.3. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0514 FAST TRACK REPLICATION 

OF HIGH QUALITY CHARTER SCHOOLS – GENERAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  In addition to the specific requirements set forth in these 

Rules, the State Board of Education ("SBE") may impose 

reasonable requirements both in the review and application stages 

as well as in the approval process. 

(b)  In addition to considering growth and proficiency and 

financial audits, the SBE may consider any other relevant factors 

in determining whether to grant a fast-track replication request, 

including but not limited to the following: 

(1) The needs of the particular geographical area 

proposed to be served by the replicated model; 

(2) The ability of the non-profit corporation board 

to manage additional schools; 

(3) The abilities and strengths of the non-profit 

corporation board that seeks to employ the 

EMO or CMO; and 

(4) The community support for the replicated 

model. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218.3. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0515 FAST TRACK REPLICATION 

OF HIGH QUALITY CHARTER SCHOOLS – 

ACCOUNTABILITY 

(a)  For purposes of accountability, each school within a network 

of schools operated by a single non-profit corporation board or a 

single EMO or CMO is a separate and distinct charter school and 

shall be assessed based upon its own separate academic, financial, 

and operational performance. 

(b)  The strengths or weaknesses of other schools are not factors 

in determining whether the State Board of Education ("SBE") 

should take action against an individual school; however, the 

strengths and weaknesses of all schools in a network may 

influence the SBE's decision regarding whether or not to allow 

fast track replication of a school in that network. 

(c)  The SBE, the Department of Public Instruction, and the Office 

of Charter Schools will observe and evaluate schools that are 

replications to the same extent and in the same manner as the State 

monitors all charter schools. 

(d)  The non-profit corporation board shall ensure that, with 

respect to each of the schools in the EMO or CMO's network, the 
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public will have open access to board members and meetings of 

the board. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218.3. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0516 VIRTUAL CHARTER SCHOOLS 

ATTENDANCE AND MEMBERSHIP - APPLICABILITY 

(a)  A pilot virtual charter school established pursuant to S.L. 

2014-100 and approved by the State Board of Education (SBE) is 

not required to record and report daily attendance to the 

Department of Public Instruction. 

(b)  A pilot virtual charter school established pursuant to S.L. 

2014-100 and approved by the State Board of Education (SBE) is 

required to keep records of student activity by course and shall 

report that information to the Department of Public Instruction 

within fifteen days of the end of each school month. The virtual 

charter school's measurements of student activity shall be defined 

by the school in a manner consistent with its SBE-approved 

charter. 

(c)  A virtual charter school shall define a full instructional course 

load for each grade level it offers. A student s shall be enrolled for 

at least half of the instructional course load to be considered in 

membership at the virtual charter school. 

(d)  A student shall not be counted in the virtual charter school's 

average daily membership until the student has measurements of 

student activity in each of his or her courses. 

(e)  When a student who has no measurements of student activity 

for ten consecutive calendar days, excluding holidays, the virtual 

charter school shall remove the student from the school's 

membership. Upon a determination that the student is not 

returning to the school, the virtual charter school shall withdraw 

the student's enrollment. The effective date of withdrawal 

reported to the Department of Public Instruction shall the first day 

immediately after the student's last day of student activity. 

(f)  Virtual schools must use the statewide student information 

management system to record and report school and student data. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(18); 115C-218; 115C-218.30; S.L. 2014-

100. 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0517 ALTERNATIVE CHARTER 

SCHOOL – PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY 

Unless otherwise prohibited by federal or state law, a charter 

school that meets specific criteria may be eligible to be designated 

an "Alternative School" for purposes of participation in the "North 

Carolina Alternative Schools' Alternative Accountability Model." 

The purpose of the following rules is to establish the criteria for 

eligibility and the procedures for applying for this designation. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(24); 115C-218(a)(2). 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0518 ALTERNATIVE CHARTER 

SCHOOL – ELIGIBILITY 

(a)  Definitions 

(1) "Student at risk" means a person eligible to 

enroll in a North Carolina public school who 

because of a wide range of individual, personal, 

financial, familial, social, behavioral or 

academic circumstances may experience failure 

at school or other unwanted academic or 

personal outcomes unless interventions occur to 

reduce the risk factors. Circumstances which 

often place students at risk may include, but are 

not limited to: not meeting state or local 

proficiency standards; grade retention; 

unidentified or inadequately addressed learning 

needs; alienation from school life; experiencing 

unchallenging curricula or instruction; 

tardiness or poor school attendance; negative 

peer influence; unmanageable behavior; 

substance abuse and other health risk behaviors, 

abuse and neglect; inadequate support from 

family or schools ; and limited English 

proficiency. 

(2) "Dropout" means any student who leaves 

school for any reason before graduation or 

completion of a program of studies without 

transferring to another elementary or secondary 

school. 

(b)  In order to qualify for designation as an "alternative school" 

for purposes of accountability under G.S. 115C, the charter school 

must include grades 9-12. 

(1) At least 75 percent of the school's population in 

grades 9-12 must be "Students at risk" of 

academic failure and must also meet one or 

more of the following indicators: 

(2) The students must either be recently released 

from a juvenile justice facility, or otherwise be 

subject to and participating in the juvenile 

justice court process; 

(4) The students must be currently served by a 

treatment facility licensed pursuant to G.S. 

122C, or have recently been discharged from 

such a facility; 

(5) The students must be currently under long-term 

suspension from a public or private school; or 

(6) The students must be high-school dropouts as 

defined Paragraph (a) of this Rule; or be 

imminently at risk of dropping out as 

demonstrated by adequate documentation in the 

charter school's application for designation 

under this policy. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(24); 115C-218(a)(2). 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0519 ALTERNATIVE CHARTER 

SCHOOL - APPLICATION 

(a)  A charter school that meets the eligibility criteria set forth in 

16 NCAC 06G .0518 and seeks to be designated as an "alternative 

school" shall submit an application to the Office of Charter 

Schools that includes the following: 

(1) The school's mission as it relates to the request 

for designation as an "alternative school"; 

(2) A designation of which alternative 

accountability option, as defined by the 

Department of Public Instruction's School 

Based Management and Accountability 

Program under G.S. 115C-105.20, that it is 
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requesting, which option cannot be changed 

except at the time of renewal; 

(3) The criteria the school plans to use that will 

meet the eligibility requirements, including the 

documentation the school will use to support its 

admissions process; 

(4) An admission plan for recruiting at-risk 

students as described in the application; 

(5) An explanation of how the school intends to 

serve its student population; and 

(6) The goals the school is setting for academic 

achievement for its student population. 

(b)  A plan that is not well-defined shall not be approved. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(24); 115C-218(a)(2). 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0520 ALTERNATIVE CHARTER 

SCHOOL – APPLICATION APPROVAL 

(a)  The Charter School Advisory Board ("CSAB") shall, if 

appropriate, establish a timeline for the submission of applications 

for alternative charter schools and for the review and approval of 

such applications. 

(b)  The CSAB shall develop an application template to be used 

for applicants for alternative charter school designation. 

(c)  The Office of Charter Schools ("OCS") will first review the 

alternative charter school application for completeness and will 

then submit all complete applications to the CSAB for its review. 

(d)  The CSAB shall review complete applications and make 

recommendations to the State Board of Education. 

(e)  The State Board of Education's approval of alternative charter 

school designation is valid for three years from the effective date 

of the approval, which effective date will be set forth in the 

approval document. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(24); 115C-218(a)(2). 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0521 ALTERNATIVE CHARTER 

SCHOOL – REVIEW AND RENEWAL OF 

DESIGNATION 

(a)  The Charter School Advisory Board ("CSAB") shall review 

each alternative charter school every three years to determine if 

the school should continue with its alternative charter school 

designation. In its review the CSAB shall utilize the criteria set 

forth in 16 NCAC 06G .0521. The CSAB shall also evaluate the 

school's academic progress and compare the projected outcomes 

in the alternative charter school's application to actual outcomes. 

(b)  If the review shows that the school continues to meet 

eligibility criteria, the CSAB may recommend the school to the 

State Board of Education for final approval for another three-year 

designation. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(24); 115C-218(a)(2). 

 

SECTION .0500 - CHARTER SCHOOLS 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0522 ALTERNATIVE CHARTER 

SCHOOL – TERMINATION OF DESIGNATION 

(a)  If at any time it appears the school is not meeting the criteria 

for designation under these Rules, or is otherwise not in 

compliance with state or federal the Charter School Advisory 

Board ("CSAB") may: 

(1) direct the Office of Charter Schools or the 

Department of Public Instruction to investigate 

the school; or 

(2) direct the school to appear before the CSAB and 

respond to questions. 

(b)  In the event the CSAB finds cause to terminate the school's 

designation as an alternative school, the CSAB may make such a 

recommendation to the State Board of Education ("SBE"). 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(24); 115C-218(a)(2). 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0523 APPROVAL AND DISCLOSURE 

OF MANAGEMENT ORGANIZATIONS AND SUPPORT 

ORGANIZATIONS 

(a)  A "Management Organization" means an entity that meets one 

of the following definitions: 

(1) A "Charter Management Organization" (CMO) 

is a non-profit organization that operates or 

manages one or multiple charter schools by 

centralizing support and operations. 

(2) An "Education Management Organization" 

(EMO) is a for-profit organization that 

contracts with new or existing public-school 

districts, charter school districts, and charter 

schools to operate and manage one or multiple 

charter schools by centralizing support and 

operations. 

(3) A "Charter Support Organization" (CSO) is a 

for-profit or non-profit, nongovernmental entity 

that provides: 

(A) assistance to developers during the 

application, planning, program design, 

and initial implementation of a charter 

school, or 

(B) technical assistance to operating 

charter schools, including specific and 

limited services such as but not limited 

to professional development, non-

profit board development, payroll, and 

curriculum development. 

(b)  All applicants for a charter school must receive SBE approval 

before partnering with a Management Organization. This 

approval may be sought as part of the application or renewal 

processes or through the amendment process 

(c)  All existing charter schools must receive SBE approval before 

partnering with, or terminating an existing relationship with, a 

Management Organization. 

(d)  All applicants for a charter school must disclose existing or 

contingent partnerships with Charter Support Organizations as 

part of the applicant's charter application. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218; 115C-218.1; 115C-218.5. 
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16 NCAC 06G .0524 CHARTER SCHOOLS PROCESS 

FOR ASSUMPTION OF INADEQUATELY 

PERFORMING CHARTER SCHOOLS 

(a)  Upon determination by the State Board of Education (SBE) 

that grounds exist to terminate or not renew a charter (hereinafter 

referred to as the "Existing School"), the SBE, in lieu of 

terminating the charter may allow a different non-profit entity to 

assume the charter. 

(b)  In determining whether a different non-profit entity may 

assume a charter the SBE shall complying with the provisions of 

S.L. 2014-101, s.6 and consider all factors, including: 

(1) Factors relevant to the existing school whose 

charter may be eligible for assumption: 

(A) Academic performance; 

(B) Financial status of the existing school, 

including outstanding debts; 

(C) Compliance with all applicable laws 

and policies; 

(D) Status of the school facility; 

(E) Feedback from the school community, 

including the parents, staff and 

students; and 

(F) Any other relevant factor. 

(2) Factors Relevant to the non-profit entity 

seeking to assume a charter: 

(A) Overall financial viability; 

(B) Academic performance; 

(C) Geographic location; 

(D) Existence of any financial and 

governance compliance issues; 

(E) Ability of the assuming school to 

retain existing students; and 

(F) Any other relevant factor. 

(c)  No single factor is given any weight or is, by itself, 

determinative. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-218.95. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06H - FEDERAL PROGRAMS 

 

SECTION .0100 – FEDERAL PROGRAMS 

 

16 NCAC 06H .0113 NUTRITION STANDARDS FOR 

ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS 

(a)  Minimum Standards for school meals are as follows: 

(1) Meals served shall be consistent with the 

current edition of the Dietary Guidelines for 

Americans, Federal Regulations as approved 

for North Carolina and State Board of 

Education Policy on Nutrition Standards for 

School Meals. 

(2) When averaged over the week, reimbursable 

meals shall contain 20 to 35 percent of calories 

from fat, and less than 10 percent total calories 

from saturated fat. Trans fat and sodium levels 

shall be monitored regularly and kept as low as 

possible. 

(A) In addition to the above, the following 

standards shall apply: 

(i) Reimbursable meals shall 

contain no more than 200 mg 

cholesterol when averaged 

over breakfasts and lunches 

for the week. 

(ii) Food preparation methods 

for all foods shall be limited 

to baking, roasting, broiling, 

boiling, and steaming. 

(iii) A minimum of one daily 

serving of whole grain 

products shall be offered; 

whole grain foods will be 

increased gradually to a 

minimum of eight servings 

per week as market 

availability of whole grain 

products increases to supply 

menu needs. Efforts to meet 

the daily target of whole 

grain foods shall be 

contingent upon market 

availability. 

(iv) Four fruits and/or vegetables 

shall be offered daily. Fruits 

and vegetables may be 

canned, frozen, fresh, or 

dried with preparation 

methods limited to baking, 

roasting, broiling, boiling, 

and steaming. Dark green, 

deep yellow or orange fruits 

or vegetables shall be offered 

three or more times per week. 

Fresh fruits or vegetables 

shall be offered at least four 

times weekly at breakfast 

and/or lunch. 

(v) Legumes shall be offered at 

least one time per week. 

(vi) All milk choices shall be one 

percent or less milk fat. 

(b)  Minimum Nutrition Standards for A la Carte Foods and 

Beverages. If local policy allows A la Carte food and beverage 

choices, the following options may be offered: 

(1) In addition to items offered as a part of the 

reimbursable meal, A la Carte items shall 

contain less than 35 percent total calories from 

fat, excluding seeds and nuts, less than 10 

percent total calories from saturated fat, less 

than one percent total calories from trans-fat, 

and less than 35 percent added sugar by weight 

(2) Any item in the same serving size as offered 

that day as part of the reimbursable meal, with 

a limit of one additional entrée portion 

(3) Single serving dairy products containing less 

than 200 calories, less than 35 percent total 

calories from fat, less than 10 percent total 

calories from saturated fat, less than one percent 
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total calories from trans-fat, and less than 35 

percent added sugar by weight 

(4) Nuts and seeds (less than 1 oz portion) 

(5) Single serving yogurt or frozen yogurt 

(6) Canned, frozen, fresh, or dried fruits and 

vegetables found in the Food Buying Guide for 

Child Nutrition Programs with preparation 

methods limited to baking, roasting, broiling, 

boiling, and steaming water 

(7) Milk containing one percent or less milk fat 

(8) Fruit juice containing 50 percent or more fruit 

juice with no added sweeteners (less than 8 oz 

portion) 

(9) Frozen fruit products containing 100 percent 

fruit with no added sweeteners (less than 8 oz 

portion) 

(c)  Minimum Standards for After School Snack Programs 

(1) All After School Snack Programs (ASSP) 

administered by NC DPI shall meet the meal 

pattern requirements specified by the US 

Department of Agriculture. 

(2) All foods and beverages available to students 

enrolled in the ASSP shall meet the same 

criteria required for A la Carte foods and 

beverages. 

(d)  Local Child Nutrition Programs shall implement these 

nutrition standards in all elementary schools no later than the first 

day of the 2008 school year. 

(e)  The Child Nutrition Services Section of the Department of 

Public Instruction shall review the nutrition standards for 

elementary schools annually and shall modify the standards as 

needed based on several criteria, including, but not limited to, 

current science, best practices in the food and beverage industry, 

and the availability and affordability of new foods and beverages. 

(f)  The Child Nutrition Services Section of the Department of 

Public Instruction shall monitor the progress of each local school 

administrative unit toward achieving the nutrition standards and 

shall provide technical assistance and training as needed to assist 

local school administrative units in implementing the nutrition 

standards. Each local Child Nutrition Program shall submit 

nutrient analyses of menus planned for the months of October and 

March annually which shall be used to assess progress towards 

achieving the standards. 

(g)  The Child Nutrition Services Section shall report annually on 

the progress of each local school administrative unit to the State 

Board of Education, and to the Joint Legislative Education 

Oversight Committee. 

(h)  Students who have special nutritional needs that are in conflict 

with the nutrition standards shall be exempt from the standards. 

Each student's special needs shall be addressed through a 

medically-recognized document provided by a health care 

professional. When the child's documented nutritional need 

differs from the nutrition standards, the Child Nutrition Program 

shall comply with a documented plan or other specific 

instructions. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-264.3. 

 

16 NCAC 06H .0114 DISPUTE RESOLUTION 

PROCESS FOR HOMELESS STUDENTS - DEFINITIONS 

(a)  The State Board of Education recognizes that the interests of 

students are best served when disputes are resolved informally at 

the local level where the issues and parties are best known. 

(b)  As used in this Rule: 

(1) The terms "homeless," "homeless child," and 

"homeless student" shall mean the same as the 

term "homeless children and youth" as defined 

by 42 U.S.C. 11434a(2). These terms shall also 

be deemed to include the term "unaccompanied 

youth". 

(2) The term "unaccompanied youth" shall mean 

the same as defined by 42 U.S.C. 11434a(6). 

(3) The term "local educational agency" (LEA) 

includes local school administrative units, 

charter schools, lab schools, regional schools, 

Innovative School District schools, and 

Innovations Zone schools. 

(4) The term "LEA dispute resolution process" 

shall refer to the LEA's policy on resolving 

complaints brought by parents, guardians, or 

unaccompanied youth regarding students 

experiencing homelessness. The term shall 

refer to appeals processes within the LEA, prior 

to any appeal by the parent, guardian, or 

unaccompanied youth appeals to the State 

Coordinator. 

(5) The term "local liaison" shall refer to the 

official at each LEA, who ensures the LEA 

dispute resolution process for homeless 

children and youth is mediated in accordance 

with local, state, and federal policy as required 

by 42 U.S.C. 11432(g)(6)(A)(vii). 

(6) The term "school business day" means days on 

which students are scheduled to be in 

attendance at school, according to the academic 

calendar adopted by the LEA. 

(7) The term "State Coordinator" shall refer to the 

staff person who carries out federally mandated 

duties regarding students experiencing 

homelessness as required by 42 U.S.C. 

11432(d)(3). 

(8) The term "State appeal process" shall refer to 

the policies the State Coordinator, LEAs, 

parents, guardians, and unaccompanied youth 

must follow when a parent, guardian, or 

unaccompanied youth seeks to appeal a dispute 

to the State Coordinator. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 42 U.S.C. 11431; 42 U.S.C. 11432. 

 

16 NCAC 06H .0115 DISPUTE RESOLUTION 

PROCESS FOR HOMELESS STUDENTS – LEA DISPUTE 

RESOLUTION PROCESS 

(a)  Each LEA shall develop and implement a process for parents, 

guardians, or unaccompanied youth who have complaints about 

eligibility, school selection, or enrollment to file an appeal to the 

local liaison upon registering, or attempting to register, the child 
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or youth at the school in which enrollment is sought. For purposes 

of this policy, the phrase "school in which enrollment is sought" 

may be either the school of origin or the school located in the 

attendance zone of the child or youth's temporary residence. 

Enrollment shall be deemed to include attending classes and 

participating fully in school activities. The LEA shall define and 

describe the LEA dispute resolution process in its local board of 

education's official policy manual. The LEA dispute resolution 

process shall provide that: 

(1) the parent, guardian, or unaccompanied youth 

may initiate the dispute resolution process with 

the local liaison at the school in which 

enrollment is sought or at the local liaison's 

office; 

(2) faculty and staff of the school who know about 

the complaint must refer the parent, guardian, 

or unaccompanied youth to the local liaison; 

(3) the local liaison shall expeditiously carry out 

the LEA dispute resolution process within 

fifteen school business days, or thirty calendar 

days, whichever is less; 

(4) the LEA official(s) responsible for making the 

final LEA decision are identified in the local 

policy; 

(5) the LEA shall enroll the child or youth 

immediately in the school in which enrollment 

is sought pending resolution of any complaint 

between the school or LEA and the parent, 

guardian, or unaccompanied youth over school 

enrollment; 

(6) the LEA shall provide the student with all the 

services for which the student is eligible and 

shall permit the student to participate fully in 

school activities while the dispute is being 

resolved; 

(7) the LEA shall, at the time a complaint is made 

to the local liaison when practicable, but in no 

case more than one school business day later, 

provide the parent, guardian, or unaccompanied 

youth with a statement of rights and procedures, 

written in an understandable and uniform 

format, and to the extent practicable, in a 

language that the parent, guardian, or 

unaccompanied youth can understand, that 

informs them of: 

(A) contact information including 

telephone number, e-mail address, and 

physical address of the local liaison 

and of the State Coordinator for 

homeless education, with a brief 

description of their roles; 

(B) the right to notify the local liaison, 

within two school business days of the 

school's decision, of the parent, 

guardian or unaccompanied youth's 

intent to appeal the decision and the 

right to receive notice of the appeal 

procedure, including the timeline and 

process for making the initial appeal 

and any subsequent appeals available 

under LEA policy, which process must 

allow for appeals to be made orally or 

in writing and must identify the LEA 

official(s) who makes the final LEA 

decision; 

(C) a simple form that parents, guardians, 

or unaccompanied youth can complete 

and submit to the local liaison to 

formally initiate the appeal and any 

subsequent appeals available under 

LEA policy; 

(D) the right to appeal the final LEA 

decision to the State Coordinator 

within three school business days after 

the final LEA decision with the option 

of requesting an extension from the 

State Coordinator (though extensions 

are not guaranteed) and a step-by-step 

description on how to file this appeal; 

(E) the right to enroll immediately in the 

school located in the attendance zone 

of the child or youth's temporary 

residence or remain in the school of 

origin with transportation provided 

pending resolution of the dispute, if 

such transportation is requested by the 

parent, guardian, or local liaison on 

behalf of the youth; 

(F) notice that immediate enrollment 

includes full participation in all school 

activities; 

(G) the right to obtain assistance of 

advocates or attorneys; 

(H) the right to provide supporting written 

or oral documentation during the 

appeals process. 

(b)  Each LEA shall appoint a local liaison for identifying 

homeless students. The local liaison shall: 

(1) ensure that when parents, students, and 

unaccompanied youth initiate the dispute 

resolution process, all parties comply with the 

LEA's dispute resolution policy and that the 

parents, students, and unaccompanied youth are 

provided with the information listed above. 

(2) ensure that each unaccompanied youth and any 

student experiencing homelessness who files a 

dispute about enrollment or whose parent or 

guardian files such a dispute is enrolled 

immediately in the school pending resolution of 

the dispute; 

(3) communicate the LEA dispute resolution 

process to parents, guardians, and 

unaccompanied youth experiencing 

homelessness; and 

(4) inform the LEA superintendent, other 

appropriate school officials, and the State 

Coordinator of the dispute immediately after 
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the parent, guardian, or unaccompanied youth 

has initiated the dispute resolution process. 

(c)  The State Coordinator shall train the local liaisons to carry out 

and mediate the dispute resolution process and to ensure that each 

school and the LEA meets the requirements of the McKinney-

Vento Act as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act of 

2015. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 42 U.S.C. 11431; 42 U.S.C. 11432. 

 

16 NCAC 06H .0116 DISPUTE RESOLUTION 

PROCESS FOR HOMELESS STUDENTS - STATE 

APPEAL PROCESS 

(a)  Any parent, guardian, or unaccompanied youth who is not 

satisfied with the final LEA decision regarding enrollment may 

appeal the decision, within three school business days after the 

final LEA decision, to the State Coordinator through an oral or 

written appeal to the State Coordinator, including: 

(1) the name, physical address if available, e-mail 

address, and telephone number of the person 

filing the appeal; 

(2) the relationship or connection of the person to 

the child in question; 

(3) the name of the school system and the specific 

school in question; 

(4) the federal requirement alleged to have been 

violated; 

(5) how the requirement has been violated; and 

(6) the relief the person is seeking. 

(b)  If the State Coordinator receives an appeal that is not 

complete, the Coordinator shall contact the person making the 

appeal and the local liaison, explain the deficiency, and offer the 

person the opportunity to complete the appeal. 

(c)  Upon request of the State Coordinator, the local liaison shall 

provide the State Coordinator with the record of the complaint, 

the LEA's actions, and other supporting documents. If the matter 

involves more than one LEA, then the local liaisons shall 

cooperate to provide the State Coordinator with a complete 

record. In either event, the local liaison or liaisons shall provide 

the complete record within three school business days following 

the State coordinator's request. 

(d)  The State Coordinator shall provide the LEA and the parent, 

guardian, or unaccompanied youth with the opportunity to 

respond to the LEA decision and to provide any additional 

evidence they deem relevant within three school business days. 

(e)  The State Coordinator shall issue a final written decision to 

the parent, guardian, or unaccompanied youth and the LEA 

involved within 10 school business days following receipt of the 

complete appeal. 

The State Coordinator's decision shall include: 

(1) a summary of the issue appealed; 

(2) the federal requirement at issue; and 

(3) a description of the State Coordinator's decision 

in an understandable and uniform format, and, 

to the extent practicable, provided in a language 

that the parent, guardian, or unaccompanied 

youth can understand, including further steps 

that the LEA or parent, guardian, or 

unaccompanied youth are required to take. 

(f)  Nothing contained in this Rule shall prohibit the State 

Coordinator from investigating whether the parent, guardian, or 

unaccompanied youth knowingly and voluntarily entered into any 

agreement affecting their rights under McKinney-Vento Act as 

amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015. If the State 

Coordinator determines that the parent, guardian, or 

unaccompanied youth did not knowingly and voluntarily enter 

into the agreement, then the State Coordinator may void the 

agreement and enter a decision consistent with the applicable facts 

and law. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 42 U.S.C. 11431; 42 U.S.C. 11432. 

 

16 NCAC 06H .0117 OPERATION OF FEDERAL 

PROGRAMS 

In accordance with applicable federal regulations, the Department 

shall administer such federal education programs as are 

authorized by Congress and accepted by the State Board of 

Education. In administering federal programs, the Department 

shall reclaim and/or withhold funds from any local education 

agency (LEA) or program sponsor that fails to comply with 

current federal regulations and state policies until the LEA or 

program sponsor complies. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-263; 115C-264; 115C-409. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06K – EDUCATION SERVICES FOR THE 

DEAF AND BLIND (EDSB) 

 

16 NCAC 06K .0101 SCHOOL SECURITY 

The North Carolina School for the Deaf, Eastern North Carolina 

School for the Deaf and the Governor Morehead School, shall 

develop and implement policies to provide guidance and support 

to the Education Services for the Deaf and Blind (ESDB) schools 

in the management of campus security. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-150.13. 

 

16 NCAC 06K .0103 NC STANDARD COURSE OF 

STUDY, OCCUPATIONAL COURSE AND EXTENDED 

CONTENT STANDARDS 

Education Services for the Deaf and Blind (ESDB) shall follow 

the requirements of the NC Standard Course of Study, 

Occupational Course of Study, and Extended Content Standards, 

for each subject for which a standard is provided. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-150.13. 

 

16 NCAC 06K .0104 PLACEMENT PROCEDURES 

(a)  Consistent with federal regulations, the Education Services 

for the Deaf and Blind (ESDB) shall establish uniform procedures 

for referral, screening, and placement of Deaf, Hard of Hearing, 

Blind, Deaf-Blind and Visually Impaired students in the state 

operated residential programs in ESDB. 

(b)  Each ESDB school shall name a school representative who is 

qualified to provide or supervise the provision of specially 

designed instruction to meet the unique needs of the child. The 

individual must hold a current license as a special education 

teacher, administrator in North Carolina, or speech/language 
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pathologist. In addition, the individual shall be knowledgeable 

about the North Carolina Standard Course of Study; Occupational 

Course of Study (OCS) and Extended Content Standards (ECS); 

and knowledgeable of the available resources of the school. It is 

important that the school representative has the authority to 

commit school resources and ensure that whatever services are 

described in the Individualized Education Program (IEP) will be 

provided. 

(c)  The school representative will contact the local special 

education director, (not a particular school, unless directed by the 

local Exceptional Children director) and arrange to observe the 

student referred in multiple settings, including the student's 

classroom, cafeteria and a non-structured setting. All contact 

concerning possible admission to a residential school must be 

initiated by the LEA. Inquiries from parents and others shall be 

directed to the appropriate LEA. 

(d)  The school representative will review forms and consider 

information used in making the recommendation for placement. 

(Schools should consider the present status and needs of the 

student, reason for referral, and services presently and previously 

provided, and results of screening and assessment.) All state-

adopted forms must be completed and signed. 

(e)  The school representative will participate in discussions about 

the least restrictive environment for student. 

(f)  If the IEP team decides that residential school placement is the 

least restrictive environment for the referred student, the ESDB 

school representative should take a copy of properly completed 

and signed forms back to the appropriate ESDB school, discuss 

with staff and plan for the student's transition. 

(g)  The ESDB superintendent shall be notified of all student 

placements and transitions back to an LEA. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-150.13. 

 

16 NCAC 06K .0105 WEAPONS PROHIBITED ON 

SCHOOL PROPERTY 

(a)  All Education Services for the Deaf and Blind (ESDB) 

schools and places of employment within ESDB shall be free of 

all unauthorized weapons. No employee or other person shall 

carry, or engage another person to carry, whether openly or 

concealed, an unauthorized weapon as defined below, on to 

school property at any time. 

(b)  Weapon is defined as any gun, rifle, pistol, or other firearm 

of any kind, or any dynamite cartridge, bomb, grenade, mine or 

other powerful explosive, BB gun, stun gun, air rifle, air pistol, 

bowie knife, dirk, dagger, slingshot, leaded cane, switchblade 

knife (a knife containing a blade that opens automatically by the 

release of a spring or a similar contrivance), blackjack, metallic 

knuckles, razors and razor blades (except solely for personal 

shaving), firework, and any sharp-pointed or edged instrument 

except instructional supplies, unaltered nail files and clips and 

tools used solely for preparation of food, instruction, and 

maintenance, on school property. 

(c)  School property is defined as any building, bus, school 

campus, grounds, recreational area, athletic field, or other 

property owned, used, or operated by the Education Services for 

the Deaf and the Blind. 

(1) Exceptions Include: 

(A) A weapon used solely for educational 

or school-sanctioned ceremonial 

purposes, or used in a school approved 

program conducted under the 

supervision of an adult whose 

supervision has been approved by the 

school director; 

(B) Firefighters, emergency service 

personnel, North Carolina Forest 

Service Personnel, and any private 

police employed by the Education 

Service for the Deaf and the Blind 

when acting in the discharge of their 

official duties, law enforcement 

officers, or any of those persons 

specifically exempted by G.S. 14-

269(b). 

(d)  Any employee who is aware that an unauthorized weapon has 

been carried onto school property must immediately notify the 

school director. 

(1) Violation of this policy may subject the 

employee to disciplinary action up to and 

including dismissal. 

(2) The principal shall immediately report 

violations of this policy to law enforcement. 

 

Authority G.S. 14-269; 14-269.2; 115C-12. 

 

 

TITLE 19A – DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Transportation intends to 

readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 19A NCAC 

02E .0201-.0204, .0206-.0210, .0212-.0215, .0224, .0225, .0601-

.0604, .0608-.0611 and repeal through readoption the rule cited 

as 19A NCAC 02E .0226. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.nddot.gov/about-us/how-we-operate/policy-

process/rules/Pages/default.aspx 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 20, 2020 

Time:  3:00 p.m. 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Location:  Transportation Mobility and Safety Conference Room 

161, 750 Greenfield Parkway, Garner, NC 27529 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire.  As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapter 10A NCAC 02B, 02D and 

02E these proposed rules were determined as "Necessary With 

Substantive Public Interest" thus necessitating readoption. 

Upon review for the readoption process, the agency deemed the 

following rules to be necessary without substantive changes and 

are recommended for readoption:  19A NCAC 02E .0201-.0204, 

.0206-.0210, .0212-.0215, .0224-.0225, .0601-.0604, and .0608-

.0611. 

Upon review for the readoption process, the agency deemed the 

following rule to be unnecessary and is recommending repeal:  

19A NCAC 02E .0226. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Hannah D. Jernigan, 1501 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1501; phone (919) 707-

2821; email Rulemaking@ncdot.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 5, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - DIVISION OF HIGHWAYS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02E - MISCELLANEOUS OPERATIONS 

 

SECTION .0200 – OUTDOOR ADVERTISING 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0201 DEFINITIONS FOR OUTDOOR 

ADVERTISING CONTROL (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0202 AGREEMENT (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0203 OUTDOOR ADVERTISING ON 

CONTROLLED ROUTES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0204 LOCAL ZONING AUTHORITIES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0206 APPLICATIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0207 FEES AND RENEWALS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0208 PERMIT AND PERMIT 

EMBLEM (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0209 TRANSFER OF 

PERMIT/CHANGE OF ADDRESS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0210 REVOCATION OF OUTDOOR 

ADVERTISING PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0212 NOTICE GIVEN FOR 

REVOKING PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0213 APPEAL OF DECISION OF 

DISTRICT ENGINEER TO SEC. OF TRANS. 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E. 0214 STANDARDS FOR 

DIRECTIONAL SIGNS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0215 PERMITS FOR DIRECTIONAL 

SIGNS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0224 SCENIC BYWAYS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0225 REPAIR/MAINTENANCE/ 

ALTERATION OF SIGNS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0226 ORDER TO STOP WORK ON 

UNPERMITTED OUTDOOR ADVERTISING  

 

Authority G.S. 136-130; 136-133. 

 

SECTION .0600 - SELECTIVE VEGETATION REMOVAL 

POLICY 
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19A NCAC 02E .0601 SELECTIVE VEGETATION 

REMOVAL PERMIT REQUIRED TO REMOVE 

VEGETATION FROM STATE HIGHWAY RIGHT OF 

WAY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0602 REQUESTS FOR SELECTIVE 

VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMITS FOR A FACILITY 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0603 ISSUANCE OR DENIAL OF 

SELECTIVE VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMIT FOR A 

FACILITY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0604 CONDITIONS OF SELECTIVE 

VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMIT FOR FACILITIES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0608 REQUESTS FOR SELECTIVE 

VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMITS FOR OUTDOOR 

ADVERTISING (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0609 ISSUANCE OR DENIAL OF 

SELECTIVE VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMIT FOR 

OUTDOOR ADVERTISING (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0610 CONDITIONS OF SELECTIVE 

VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMITS FOR OUTDOOR 

ADVERTISING (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0611 BEAUTIFICATION AND 

REPLANTING REQUIREMENTS FOR SELECTIVE 

VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMITS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 30 – BOARD OF MASSAGE AND 

BODYWORK THERAPY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy intends to adopt the 

rule cited as 21 NCAC 30 .1014. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://bmbt.org/mtpages/news.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 20, 2020 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  Wells Fargo Capitol Center, 13th Floor Conference 

Room, 150 Fayetteville Street, Raleigh, NC 27601 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The adoption of Rule .1014 is to 

implement fees for licensure of massage and bodywork therapy 

establishments. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Charles P. Wilkins, PO Box 

2539, Raleigh, NC 27602; phone (919) 546-0050; email 

cwilkins@bws-law.com 

 

Comment period ends:  March 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .1000 – MASSAGE AND BODYWORK 

THERAPY ESTABLISHMENT LICENSURE 

 

21 NCAC 30 .1014 FEES 

(a)  Fees are as follows: 

(1) Application for license  $20.00 

(2) Initial license fee   150.00 

(3) License Renewal   100.00 

(4) Late renewal penalty  75.00 

(5) Duplicate license   25.00 

(6) Inspection of establishment 150.00 

(b)  Fees shall be nonrefundable and shall be paid by credit card 

or cashier's check, certified check or money order made payable 

to the North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-632.14; . 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 57 - APPRAISAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Appraisal Board intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 

57A .0201, .0210, .0211, .0301, .0404, .0407, .0410, .0601; 57B 
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.0101, .0302, .0304, .0306, .0307, .0606, .0613, .0614; 57C .0101; 

57D .0101 and repeal the rules cited as 21 NCAC 57A .0302, 

.0306; 57B .0102, and .0103. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.ncappraisalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 28, 2020 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  NC Appraisal Board 5830 Six Forks Road Raleigh, 

NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  In rules 21 NCAC 57A .0201, 

.0301, .0302 (repeal), .0306 (repeal), .0407, .0601 and 57B .0101, 

.0102 (repeal), .0103 (repeal), .0302, and .0304 the 

changes/repeals that were made are primarily as a result of the 

adoption of the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as 

implemented by The Appraisal Foundation’s Appraisal 

Qualifications Board as set forth in N.C. Gen. Stat. 93E-1-6. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0210 - the changes remove the requirement of a 

notarized application and set forth the requirements in the 

application for temporary practice.   

21 NCAC 57A .0211 - the changes provide another option to apply 

when licensed or certified in another State.  

21 NCAC 57A .0404 - the changes set out required documentation 

for name changes with the Board.  

21 NCAC 57A .0410 - the changes are required to be consistent 

with the new language in N.C. Gen. Stat. 93E-2-2.  

21 NCAC 57B .0306 - clarifies the requirements for certified 

appraisers to become instructors.  

21 NCAC 57B .0307 - allows for online instruction for certain 

courses.  

21 NCAC 57B .0606 - changes the time period and manner of 

notification to the Board for course offerings.   

21 NCAC 57B .0613 - removes the requirement that sponsors 

have 30 days to remit payment.  

21 NCAC 57B .0614 - adds an option to take a course from the 

Board or another approved sponsor and changes the renewal 

date. 

21 NCAC 57C .0101 - adds an additional step in the complaint 

process.   

21 NCAC 57D .0101 - revises the information required to be 

consistent with federal AMC requirements. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Donald T. Rodgers, NC 

Appraisal Board, 5830 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27609; 

phone (919) 870-4854; fax (919) 870-4859; email 

ncab@ncab.org 

 

Comment period ends:  March 2, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 57A – REGISTRATION, LICENSING, 

CERTIFICATION AND PRACTICE 

 

SECTION .0200 – TRAINEE REGISTRATION AND 

APPRAISER LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0201 QUALIFICATIONS FOR 

TRAINEE REGISTRATION AND APPRAISER 

LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Applicants for trainee registration, licensure as a licensed 

residential real estate appraiser, and for certification as a certified 

real estate appraiser must shall satisfy the qualification 

requirements set forth in the Real Property Appraiser 

Qualification Criteria as implemented by The Appraisal 

Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board as stated in G.S. 

93E-1-6 and in this Section. The Appraisal Foundation's website 

is www.appraisalfoundation.org. 

(b)  Applicants for trainee registration shall have completed, 

within the five-year period immediately preceding the date 

application is made, 90 hours of education as set forth in 21 

NCAC 57B .0101 or education found by the Board to be 

equivalent to such courses. Applicants for trainee registration 

must possess a high school diploma or its equivalent. 

(c)  Applicants for licensure as a licensed residential real estate 

appraiser shall have completed 150 hours of education as set forth 

in 21 NCAC 57B .0102 or education found by the Board to be 

equivalent to such courses. In addition, applicant for licensure as 

a licensed residential real estate appraiser must hold an associate's 

degree, or higher, from an accredited college, community college, 

or university. Applicants shall have obtained at least 2,500 hours 

of appraisal experience acquired within the eight year period 

immediately preceding the date application is made and over a 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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minimum period of two calendar years. Applicants must have 

been engaged in real estate appraising for at least two calendar 

years prior to the date application is made. At least 50 percent of 

this appraisal experience must have been of one to four family 

residential properties in which the sales comparison approach was 

utilized in the appraisal process. 

(d)  Applicants for certification as a certified residential real estate 

appraiser shall have completed 200 hours of education as set forth 

in 21 NCAC 57B .0102 or education found by the Board to be 

equivalent to such courses. In addition, applicants for certification 

as a certified residential real estate appraiser must hold a 

bachelor's degree, or higher, from an accredited college, 

community college, or university. Applicants shall have obtained 

at least 2,500 hours of appraisal experience acquired within the 

eight year period immediately preceding the date application is 

made and over a minimum period of two calendar years. 

Applicants must have been engaged in real estate appraising for 

at least two calendar years prior to the date application is made. 

At least 50 percent of this appraisal experience must have been of 

one to four family residential properties in which the sales 

comparison approach was utilized in the appraisal process. 

(e)  Applicants for certification as a certified general real estate 

appraiser shall have completed 300 hours of education as set forth 

in 21 NCAC 57B .0103 or education found by the Board to be 

equivalent to such courses. In addition, applicants for certification 

as a certified general real estate appraiser must hold a Bachelor's 

degree or higher from an accredited college or university. 

Applicants shall have obtained at least 3,000 hours of appraisal 

experience acquired within the eight year period immediately 

preceding the date application is made and over a minimum period 

of two and a half calendar years of which at least 50 percent must 

have been in appraising non-residential real estate. Applicants 

must have been engaged in real estate appraising for at least two 

and one-half calendar years prior to the date application is made. 

At least 50 percent of the non-residential appraisal experience 

must have been of special use properties such as schools, 

churches, or hospitals in which the income approach is not 

applicable or of improved properties in which the income 

approach was utilized in the appraisal process. 

(f)(b)  Applicants for licensure or certification who are currently 

registered trainees must shall submit a copy of their complete 

appraisal log. The log form may be found at the Board's website, 

www.ncappraisalboard.org. www.ncappraisalboard.org and the 

contents are found in Rule .0407 of this Subchapter. 

Applicants for certification who are currently licensed or certified 

appraisers must shall submit an appraisal log showing that they 

possess the requisite amount and length of experience as set forth 

in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule. the Real Property Appraiser 

Qualification Criteria as implemented by The Appraisal 

Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board. All applicants for 

licensure or certification shall provide to the Board copies of 

appraisal reports and work files in support of experience credit. In 

order for an appraisal to be given experience credit, it must 

comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 

Practice (USPAP) and with any applicable state statutes or rules. 

credit. 

(g)(c)  When a trainee or a licensed real estate appraiser becomes 

a certified real estate appraiser, his or her previous registration or 

licensure shall be cancelled by the Board. When a certified 

residential real estate appraiser becomes certified as a general real 

estate appraiser, his or her previous certification shall be 

immediately cancelled by the Board. 

(h)(d)  In the event that the Board asks requests that an applicant 

to submit updated information or provide further information that 

the Board determines is necessary in order for the applicant to 

complete the application and the applicant fails to submit such the 

requested information within 90 days following the Board's 

request, the Board shall cancel the applicant's application and the 

application fee shall be retained by the Board. application. An 

applicant whose application has been cancelled and who wishes 

to obtain a registration, license, or certificate must shall start the 

licensing process over by filing a complete application with the 

Board and paying all required fees. 

(i)(e)  An applicant may request that his or her application be 

withdrawn at any time before final action is taken by the Appraisal 

Board on the application. 

(j)(f)  If an applicant has a current an open complaint before the 

North Carolina Appraisal Board or an appraiser licensing board 

from any other state, or if the applicant has pending criminal 

charges in this or any state, the application shall be accepted but 

no further action shall be taken on the application until the 

complaint or criminal charges are resolved. For the purposes of 

this Section, Paragraph, criminal charges do not include speeding 

tickets or traffic infractions. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0210 TEMPORARY PRACTICE 

(a)  A real estate appraiser who does not reside in North Carolina 

and who is licensed or certified by the appraiser licensing or 

certifying agency in another state may apply to receive temporary 

appraiser licensing or certification privileges in this State by filing 

a notarized an application with the Board. The application is 

available on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

The application shall include: 

(1) the applicant's name, address, phone number, 

email, date of birth, social security number, 

driver's license number; 

(2) license or certification number currently held in 

another state; 

(3) whether the applicant has had any disciplinary 

actions taken against them in connection with 

any appraiser, real estate, or other professional 

license held; 

(4) whether the applicant has ever been convicted 

of any criminal offense or has any criminal 

charges pending; 

(5) the projected beginning and ending date; 

(6) a legal description of the subject properties and 

state the purpose of the appraisal assignment; 

and 

(7) the signature of the applicant. 

(b)  Upon filing a completed application accompanied by the fee 

prescribed in G.S. 93E-1-9(c), the Board shall consider whether 

an applicant's appraiser license or certification is or has been 

subject to discipline in their resident state or any other state, and 

shall consider all other information outlined in Rule .0202 of this 

Section. If the application is approved, an applicant shall be 
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granted a temporary practice permit by the Board authorizing the 

applicant to perform in this State the appraisal assignment 

described in such the application, provided that the Board 

determines the length of time projected by the applicant for 

completion of the assignment is reasonable given the scope and 

complexity of the assignment. The fee must be paid by money 

order, certified check, or cashier's check. The Board may consider 

whether an applicant's trainee registration or appraiser license or 

certification is or has been subject to discipline in their resident 

state or any other state, and may consider all other information 

outlined in Rule .0202 of this Section. 

(c)  Privileges granted under the provisions of this Rule shall 

expire upon the expiration date set forth in the temporary practice 

permit. However, upon a showing by the permittee satisfactory to 

the Appraisal Board that, notwithstanding the permittee's 

attention to the appraisal assignment, that additional time is 

needed to complete the assignment, the Board shall extend the 

temporary practice privileges granted under the permittee's 

temporary practice permit to afford him or her additional time to 

complete the appraisal assignment. The Board shall receive the 

Such request for extension must be received before the original 

temporary practice permit expires or it shall not be granted. The 

request shall be in writing and shall include the temporary practice 

permit number, the amount of additional time needed to complete 

the assignment, and the reason the extension is necessary. An 

applicant for a temporary practice permit shall not begin 

performing any appraisal work in this State until the temporary 

practice permit has been issued by the Board. The Board shall 

deny an applicant who begins work before the permit is issued. 

(d)  Persons granted temporary practice privileges under this Rule 

shall not only advertise or otherwise hold themselves out as being 

a North Carolina trainee or licensed or certified appraiser. 

appraiser for the assignment for which they received the 

temporary practice permit. Any appraisal report for an appraisal 

of property located in North Carolina must shall contain a copy of 

the temporary practice number for that assignment. 

(e)  A trainee may not apply for a temporary practice permit. The 

term "trainee" shall include apprentices and others who are 

licensed and regulated by a state agency to perform real estate 

appraisals under the supervision of a certified appraiser. If a 

trainee does enter the state to inspect a property located in this 

state, the trainee must shall be accompanied by the trainee's 

supervising appraiser. The trainee's supervisor must shall be a 

North Carolina licensed or certified real estate appraiser. If not, 

the supervising appraiser must shall be licensed or certified as a 

real estate appraiser in another state and must shall receive a 

temporary practice permit for the assignment. 

(f)  An applicant for a temporary practice permit shall not begin 

performing any appraisal work in this State until the temporary 

practice permit has been issued by the Board. If an applicant does 

begin work before the permit is issued, the temporary practice 

permit shall be denied. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-9 (c) and (d); 93E-1-10; Title XI, Section 

1122(a); 12 U.S.C. 3351(a). 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0211 APPLICANTS LICENSED OR 

CERTIFIED IN ANOTHER STATE 

(a)  Applicants for licensure or certification who are not licensed 

or certified in residents of North Carolina but are licensed or 

certified in another State shall file an application as stated in Rule 

.0101 of this Subchapter. The application may be found on the 

Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. The application 

requires requires: the name, contact information, educational 

background of the applicant, an experience log when required for 

licensure or certification, answers to questions regarding 

character (regarding both disciplinary matters and criminal 

offenses), and a sworn statement that the information in the 

application is correct. 

(1) the applicant's name and contact information; 

(2) the applicant's education background; 

(3) the applicant's prior disciplinary and criminal 

history; and 

(4) a sworn statement that the information in the 

application is correct. 

In addition, nonresiden t applicants Applicants who do not reside 

in North Carolina, shall also consent to service of process in this 

State and file an affidavit of residency with the application. If the 

applicant is licensed by the appraiser licensing board of the 

applicant's resident state, board, not active on the Appraisal 

Subcommittee's National Registry, the applicant shall also file 

with the application a letter of good standing from the appraiser 

licensing board of the resident any state where the applicant is 

licensed or certified that was issued by that licensing board no 

later than 30 days prior to the date application is made in this 

State. 

(b)  Applicants for certification who are residents of North 

Carolina and who are certified in another state shall file an 

application as stated in Rule .0101 of this Subchapter. The 

application may be found on the Board's website at 

www.ncappraisalboard.org. The applicant shall file a letter of 

good standing from the other state that that was issued by that 

licensing board no later than 30 days prior to the date application 

is made in this State. 

(c)(b)  Applicants for registration licensure or certification shall 

obtain a criminal records check that complies with the 

requirements of Rule .0202(e) of this Subchapter. This records 

check shall have been performed within 60 days of the date the 

completed application for registration or certification is received 

by the Board. Applicants shall pay the reporting service for the 

cost of these reports. 

(d)(c)  An appraiser whose license or certification is suspended in 

North Carolina shall not apply for licensure or certification in this 

State under this Rule while the license or certification is 

suspended. An appraiser whose license or certification was 

revoked in North Carolina shall not apply for licensure or 

certification in this State under this Rule for five years after the 

date of revocation. 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-9 (a) and (b); 93E-1-10; 12 U.S.C. 3351(a). 

 

SECTION .0300 – APPRAISER EXAMINATIONS 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0301 TIME AND PLACE 

(a)  Applicants who have completed the education and experience 

requirements for licensure or certification as set forth in 21 NCAC 
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57A .0201 G.S. 93E-1-6 shall be issued an examination approval 

form. form by the Board. The examination approval form is valid 

for five attempts at the examination or for one year from date of 

issuance, whichever comes first. 

(b)  Examinations for appraiser licenses or certificates shall be 

scheduled at such times and places as determined by the Executive 

Director and the Board-approved private testing service. 

Applicants for the examination shall be scheduled for 

examination based on their successful completion of appraiser 

educational qualification requirements stated in G.S. 93E-1-6 and 

filing an application with the Board. The application may be 

found on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

Violation of examination procedures and instructions is grounds 

for denial, suspension, or revocation of a certificate. 

(c)(b)  As set forth in the Real Property Appraiser Qualification 

Criteria as implemented by The Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser 

Qualifications Board, as adopted in G.S. 93-1-6, Examination 

examination results are valid for 24 months from the date the 

examination is successfully completed. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0302 SUBJECT MATTER AND 

PASSING SCORES 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0306 EXAMINATION REVIEW 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-10. 

 

SECTION .0400 – GENERAL APPRAISAL PRACTICE 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0404 CHANGE OF NAME OR 

ADDRESS 

All trainees, licensees licensees, and certificate holders shall 

notify the Board in writing of each change of business address, 

residence address, or trade name change within 10 days of said 

the change. The address shall be sufficiently descriptive to enable 

the Board to correspond with and physically locate the trainee, 

licensee or certificate holder. The trainee, licensee, or certificate 

holder shall submit the Request for Reissuance of Appraiser Wall 

Certificate and Pocket Card Due to Name Change form. The form 

shall be accompanied by the fee prescribed in G.S. 93E-1-7(d). 

The form may be found on the Board's website at 

www.ncappraisalboard.org, and shall include the following 

information: 

(1) licensee's previous name; 

(2) licensee's new name; 

(3) the date the name was legally changed; 

(4) signature, date, and license number; and 

(5) the legal documentation showing the name 

change. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0407 SUPERVISION OF TRAINEES 

(a)  A certified real estate appraiser may engage a registered 

trainee to assist in the performance of real estate appraisals, 

provided that the appraiser: 

(1) has been certified for at least three years; 

(2) has no more than three the number of trainees 

working under him or her at any one time as 

follows: 

(A) a certified residential appraiser may 

have two trainees working under his or 

her supervision at any one time. Once 

at least one of those trainees has 

completed 50 percent of the required 

appraisal experience required by 21 

NCAC 57A .0201(c), (d), or (e), as set 

forth in G.S. 93E-1-6, a certified 

residential appraiser may add another 

trainee; and 

(B) a certified general appraiser may have 

three trainees working under his or her 

supervision. 

(3) Prior to the date any trainee begins performing 

appraisals under his or her supervision, the 

supervisor shall inform the Board of the name 

of the trainee by filing a Supervisor Declaration 

Form with the Board. The form may be found 

on the Board's website at 

www.ncappraisalboard.org. The supervisor 

shall also inform the Board when a trainee is no 

longer working under his or her supervision by 

using the Supervisor Declaration Form. The 

form shall include the following information: 

(A) the name and registration number of 

trainee; 

(B) the name and certification number of 

supervisor; 

(C) the date the trainee completed the 

supervisor/trainee course; 

(D) the date the supervisor completed the 

supervisor/trainee course; 

(E) whether the supervisor has had any 

disciplinary action within the past 

three years or pending complaints 

against his or her license; certification; 

and 

(F) the signature of both the supervisor 

and trainee (only required for 

association). 

(4) actively and personally supervises the trainee 

on all appraisal reports and appraisal related 

activities until the trainee is no longer under his 

or her supervision; 

(5) reviews all appraisal reports and supporting 

data used in connection with appraisals in 

which the services of a trainee is utilized, and 

assures that research of general and specific 

data has been conducted and reported, 

application of appraisal principles and 

methodologies has been applied, that the 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 2, 2020 

1258 

analysis is sound and reported, and that any 

analysis, opinions, or conclusions are 

developed and reported so that the appraisal 

report is not misleading; 

(6) complies with all provisions of Rule .0405 of 

this Section regarding appraisal reports; 

(7) reviews and signs the trainee's log of appraisals 

prepared in accordance with Paragraph (c) of 

this Rule. The supervisor shall make available 

to the trainee a copy of every appraisal report 

where the trainee performs more than 75 

percent of the work on the appraisal; and 

(8) has not received any disciplinary action against 

his or her appraisal license or certificate from 

the State of North Carolina or any other state 

within the previous three years. For the 

purposes of this Section, disciplinary action 

Subparagraph, "disciplinary action" means an 

active suspension, a downgrade of a credential, 

a revocation, or any other action that restricts a 

supervisor's ability to engage in appraisal 

practice. 

(b)  Active and personal supervision "Active and personal 

supervision" includes direction, guidance, and support from the 

supervisor. The supervising appraiser shall have input into and 

knowledge of the appraisal report prior to its completion, and shall 

make any changes to the report before it is transmitted to the 

client. In addition, the supervisor shall accompany the trainee on 

the inspections of the subject property on the first 50 appraisal 

assignments or the first 1500 hours of experience, whichever 

comes first, for which the trainee will perform more than 75 

percent of the work. After that point, the trainee may perform the 

inspections without the presence of the supervisor provided that 

the supervisor is satisfied that the trainee is competent to perform 

those inspections, and that the subject property is less than 50 

miles from the supervisor's primary business location. The 

supervisor shall accompany the trainee on all inspections of 

subject properties that are located more than 50 miles from the 

supervisor's primary business location. 

(c)  The trainee shall maintain a log on a form that includes each 

appraisal performed by the trainee, the type of property appraised, 

type of appraisal performed, complete street address of the subject 

property, the date the report was signed, the experience hours 

claimed, the name of the supervisor for that appraisal, and whether 

the supervisor accompanied the trainee on the inspection of the 

subject property. An appraisal experience log shall be maintained 

jointly by the supervisor and the trainee. Both the supervisor and 

the trainee are responsible for maintaining the experience log and 

ensuring that it is accurate, current, and includes the following: 

(1) the type of property appraised; 

(2) the type of appraisal performed; 

(3) the date the report was signed; 

(4) the complete street address of appraised 

property; 

(5) a description of the work performed by the 

trainee; 

(6) the scope of review and supervision of the 

supervisor, including whether the supervisor 

accompanied the trainee on the inspection of 

the subject property; 

(7) the number of actual work hours by the trainee 

on the assignment; and 

(8) the signature and state certification number of 

the supervisor. 

The log shall be updated at least every 30 days. A separate log 

shall be maintained for each supervising appraiser. A log form is 

available on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

(d)  An appraiser shall attend an education program regarding the 

role of a supervisor before any supervision of a trainee. This 

course shall be taught only by instructors approved by the Board 

in accordance with 21 NCAC 57B .0614. 

(e)  Trainees shall ensure that the Appraisal Board has received 

the Supervisor Declaration Form on or before the day the trainee 

begins assisting the supervising appraiser by contacting the Board 

by telephone or email at ncab@ncab.org. The form may be found 

on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. Trainees 

shall not receive appraisal experience credit for appraisals 

performed in violation of this Paragraph. 

(f)  Supervising appraisers shall not be employed by a trainee or 

by a company, firm, or partnership in which the trainee has a 

controlling interest. 

(g)  If a trainee signs an appraisal report or provides significant 

professional assistance in the appraisal process and is noted in the 

report as having provided assistance, the appraiser signing the 

report shall have notified the Appraisal Board before the appraisal 

is signed that he or she is the supervisor for the trainee. If more 

than one appraiser signs the report, the appraiser with the highest 

level of credential shall be the declared supervisor for the trainee. 

If all appraisers signing the report have the same level of 

credential, at least one of them shall be declared as the trainee's 

supervisor before the report is signed. 

(h)  Only one trainee may receive credit for providing real 

property appraisal assistance on an appraisal report. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1.6.1; G.S. 93E-1-6-1; 93E-1-10; 93E-1-12. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0410 APPRAISAL MANAGEMENT 

COMPANIES 

An appraiser who performs an appraisal for an appraisal 

management company (AMC) shall assure verify that the 

company is properly registered with the North Carolina Appraisal 

Board pursuant to G.S. 93B-2-4 G.S. 93E-2-4, unless the AMC is 

exempt from registration pursuant to G.S. 93E -2-2, before 

accepting the assignment. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-2-1; 93E-2-3; 93E-2-4(a). 

 

SECTION .0600 - EXPERIENCE CREDIT 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0601 EXPERIENCE CREDIT TO 

UPGRADE 

As required by Rule .0201 of this Subchapter, applicants As set 

forth in G.S. 93E-1-6, applicants for licensure or residential 

certification shall possess 2,500 hours of appraisal experience and 

applicants for general certification shall possess 3,000 hours of 

appraisal experience as defined in this Section. meet the Real 

Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as implemented by The 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 2, 2020 

1259 

Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board. All 

experience shall have been obtained by performing or reviewing 

appraisals using appraisal methods and processes that are 

employed by real estate appraisers and shall comply with the 

edition of the USPAP in effect at the time of the appraisal, in 

addition to meeting the applicable requirements set forth in this 

Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 57B - REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL 

EDUCATION 

 

SECTION .0100 - COURSES REQUIRED FOR 

REGISTRATION, LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0101 REGISTERED TRAINEE 

COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Each applicant for registration as a trainee shall meet the Real 

Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as implemented by The 

Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board as set 

forth in G.S. 93E-1-6. complete a minimum of 90 hours of 

precertification education, consisting of the following; 

(1) Thirty hours in Basic Appraisal Principles; 

(2) Thirty hours in Basic Appraisal Procedures; 

(3) Fifteen hours in Residential Market Analysis 

and Highest and Best Use or 30 hours in 

General Appraiser Market Analysis and 

Highest and Best Use; and 

(4) A minimum of Fifteen hours in The Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 

(USPAP). 

(b)  Credit for these courses shall be earned from a Board-

approved course sponsor or school and all course content shall be 

approved by the Appraisal Board in accordance with the rules in 

this Subchapter. The Board shall approve all course sponsors, 

schools, and course content that qualify for credit. These courses 

shall be completed within the five-year period immediately 

preceding the date when application for registration is made to the 

Board by the applicant. 

(c)  Basic Appraisal Principles shall be a prerequisite to taking 

Basic Appraisal Procedures, and Basic Appraisal Procedures shall 

be a prerequisite to taking either Residential or General Market 

Analysis and Highest and Best Use. The the 15 hour USPAP 

course may be taken any time after the successful completion of 

Basic Appraisal Procedures. course. 

(d)  These four courses shall be obtained in a classroom setting. 

No credit shall be given for these courses taken by any other 

method, such as correspondence school courses or on-line online 

courses. 

(e)  Before the application may be granted by the Board, the 

applicant shall complete the supervisor course developed by the 

North Carolina Appraisal Board as set forth in 21 NCAC 57A 

.0407(d). 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(a); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0102 LICENSED RESIDENTIAL AND 

CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER 

COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

21 NCAC 57B .0103 CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL 

ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(b); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 

 

SECTION .0300 – COURSE STANDARDS FOR 

PRELICENSING AND PRECERTIFICATION 

EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0302 COURSE CONTENT 

(a)  All courses shall consist of instruction in the subject areas 

outlined in the Appraiser Qualification Board's Guide Note 1. 

Guide Note 1 may be accessed at the Appraisal Foundation 

website at www.appraisalfoundation.org. 

(b)  Courses may also include coverage of additional related 

subject areas; however, any such course must shall provide 

additional class time above the minimum required classroom 

hours specified in 57B .0101, .0102, and .0103 and the minimum 

requirement of 15 hours for USPAP for the coverage of such 

additional subject areas. as set forth in G.S. 93E-1-6. 

(c)  On or before the first class meeting day of the Basic Appraisal 

Principles course, the instructor shall give to each student material 

prepared by the Board regarding the trainee registration process 

and the process to upgrade to a licensed or certified appraiser. The 

student handout may be accessed on the Board's website at 

www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0304 COURSE SCHEDULING 

(a)  All courses shall have fixed beginning and ending dates, and 

schools and course sponsors shall not utilize a scheduling system 

that allows students to enroll late for a course and then complete 

their course work in a subsequently scheduled course. Late 

enrollment shall be permitted only if the enrolling student satisfies 

the attendance requirements set forth in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of 

Rule .0303 of this Section. 

(b)  Courses shall be scheduled in a manner that provides for class 

meetings of up to eight classroom hours in any given day. 

(c)  A classroom hour consists of 50 minutes of classroom 

instruction. Classroom breaks at the rate of 10 minutes per 

classroom hour shall be scheduled and taken at reasonable times; 

however, instructors shall not use accumulated, unused break time 

to end the class early. 

(d)  Instruction shall be given for the minimum hours specified in 

Rules .0101, .0102, and .0103 of this Section. as set forth in G.S. 

93E-1-6. 

(e)  All courses, except those taught on-line online via the Internet, 

shall have a minimum of five students enrolled in order for the 

course to be held. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0306 INSTRUCTOR REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Except for guest lecturers as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule, all qualifying courses or courses deemed equivalent by the 
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Board that qualify for credit pursuant to this Section shall be 

taught by instructors who are found by the Board to be equivalent 

to those listed below. The meet the following minimum 

qualifications are as follows: qualifications: 

(1) for residential appraiser courses, the instructor 

shall: 

(A) have completed 200 classroom hours 

of real estate appraisal education as set 

forth in Rules .0101 and .0102 of this 

Subchapter; 

(B)(A) have two years' full-time experience as 

a certified residential or general real 

estate appraiser within the previous 

five years, with at least one-half of the 

experience in residential property 

appraising; and 

(C)(B) be a current certified as a residential or 

general real estate appraiser. 

(2) for general appraiser courses, the instructor 

shall: 

(A) have 300 classroom hours of real 

estate appraisal education as set forth 

in Rules .0101, .0102, and .0103 of 

this Subchapter; 

(B)(A) have three years' full-time experience 

as a general real estate appraiser 

within the previous five years, with at 

least one-half of the experience in 

income property appraising; and 

(C)(B) currently be and has been a certified 

general real estate appraiser for at least 

five years. 

(3) for USPAP courses, the instructor shall: 

(A) currently be a certified residential or a 

certified general appraiser; and 

(B) be certified by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board of the Appraisal 

Foundation as an instructor for the 

National USPAP Course. If a USPAP 

instructor fails to renew or loses his or 

her certification by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board, the instructor 

shall stop teaching and notify the 

Appraisal Board of the loss of 

certification. 

(4) for statistics, modeling and finance courses, the 

instructor shall: 

(A) have previously completed this class; 

or 

(B) have completed 3 semester hours of 

statistics from a regionally accredited 

college or university. 

(b)  Guest lecturers who do not possess the qualifications set forth 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may teach collectively up to one-

fourth of any course, provided if the Board determines that each 

guest lecturer possesses education and experience in the subject 

area about which the lecturer is teaching. 

(c)  Instructors shall conduct their classes in a manner that 

demonstrates knowledge of the subject matter being taught and 

mastery of the following basic teaching skills: 

(1) The ability to communicate through speech, 

including the ability to speak at a rate of speed 

and with appropriate grammar and vocabulary; 

(2) The ability to utilize illustrative examples, and 

to respond to questions from students; 

(3) The ability to utilize varied instructive 

techniques other than straight lecture, such as 

class discussion or other techniques; 

discussion; 

(4) The ability to utilize instructional aids to 

enhance learning; 

(5) The ability to maintain a learning environment 

and control of a class; and 

(6) The ability to interact with adult students in a 

manner that does not offend or criticize them. 

(d)  Upon request of the Board, an instructor or proposed 

instructor shall submit to the Board a recording that depicts the 

instructor teaching portions of a qualifying course. 

(e)  The inquiry into determining whether to approve an instructor 

shall include consideration of whether the instructor has ever had 

any disciplinary action taken or has a disciplinary action pending 

against his or her appraisal license or certificate or any other 

professional license or certificate in North Carolina or any other 

state, or whether the instructor has ever been convicted of or pled 

guilty to any criminal act or has criminal charges pending. 

charges. An instructor shall not have received any disciplinary 

action against his or her appraisal license or certificate from the 

State of North Carolina or any other state within the previous two 

years. For the purposes of this Section, disciplinary action means 

a reprimand, suspension (whether active or inactive), or a 

revocation. 

(g)(f)  Proposed qualifying course instructors who do not meet the 

minimum appraisal education and experience qualifications listed 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and who seek to have their 

qualifications determined by the Board to be equivalent to the 

qualifications listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, shall supply the 

Board with copies of sample appraisal reports or other evidence 

of experience. 

(h)(g)  Persons desiring to become instructors for qualifying 

courses shall file an instructor application for qualifying 

education and be approved by the Board. There is no fee for 

application for instructor approval. Once an instructor has been 

approved to teach a specific qualifying course, that person may 

teach the course at any school or for any course sponsor approved 

by the Appraisal Board to offer qualifying courses. The instructor 

application form shall include the following information: 

(1) the instructor's name, address, phone number 

number, and email address; 

(2) a list of course provider(s) the instructor will be 

teaching for; 

(3) the programs the instructor is seeking approval 

for; 

(4) the instructor's Licensing/Certification History; 

licensing/certification history; 
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(5) whether the instructor has ever been denied a 

trainee registration, or appraiser license license, 

or certificate in NC or any other state; 

(6) whether the instructor has any disciplinary 

action taken against a trainee registration, 

appraiser license or certificate in NC or any 

other state; 

(7) whether the instructor has any current charges 

pending against any professional license in NC; 

has had any disciplinary action within the past 

three years or pending complaints or charges 

pending against his or her license; any 

professional license in this State; 

(8) the instructor's college education, appraisal 

education, appraisal experience, and 

description of work experience; and 

(9) the signature of applicant. 

(i)(h)  Current Appraisal Board members shall not be eligible to 

teach qualifying courses during their term of office on the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0307 CRITERIA FOR COURSE 

RECOGNITION 

(a)  Schools and course sponsors seeking to offer appraiser 

qualifying courses shall make written application to the Board and 

pay applicable fees as required by G.S. 93E-1-8(b). The 

application may be accessed at the Board's website at 

www.nappraisalboard.org. www.ncappraisalboard.org. This 

application shall include: 

(1) the name of school, mailing address, and phone 

number; 

(2) the name and email address of the school owner 

and contact person; 

(3) the name of the school's Director pursuant to 

Rule .0207 of this Subchapter; 

(4) whether the school owner(s), Director, or any 

proposed instructor have had any criminal 

convictions or had any disciplinary action taken 

against a professional license; 

(5) whether the classroom facilities meet the 

minimum requirements in Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter; 

(6) the courses they are seeking approval for; 

(7) the proposed instructors for the courses; and 

(8) the applicant's signature. 

(b)  Appraisal subject matter electives offered for qualifying credit 

pursuant to the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as 

implemented by The Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser 

Qualifications Board shall meet all other requirements of this 

Chapter. The content of these electives shall be directly related to 

the appraisal of real property to be approved for credit. Appraisal 

subject matter elective courses shall contain a minimum of 15 

hours. 

(c)  Various combinations of courses may be recognized as 

equivalent to the appraiser qualifying courses specified in 57B 

.0101, .0102 and .0103. 

(d)(c)  The 15 hour USPAP course shall be the 15-hour National 

USPAP Course as approved by the Appraiser Qualifications 

Board of the Appraisal Foundation, or its equivalent. Foundation. 

(e)(d)  The application shall state the name of the instructor for 

the each course. All instructors shall be approved by the Board 

pursuant to 57B .0306(h). Rule .0306 of this Section. After the 

course is approved, if a school or course sponsor wishes to change 

instructors, the school shall notify the Board of the name of the 

new instructor at least seven calendar days before the proposed 

change would take effect. If the proposed instructor is not 

currently approved in accordance with 57B .0306(h), Rule .0306 

of this Section, the instructor shall be approved by the Board 

before the school or course sponsor may change instructors. allow 

the instructor to start instructing. 

(f)(e)  Course sponsors may offer all qualifying classes other than 

Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach class and the 

General Appraiser Income Approach class on-line via the 

Internet. Basic Appraisal Principles, Basic Appraisal Procedures 

Procedures, and the 15 hour USPAP course online. The Board 

shall be provided access to the course via the internet online at a 

date and time satisfactory to the Board and shall not be charged 

any fee for such access. To be approved for credit, an on-line 

online qualifying education course shall meet all of the conditions 

imposed by the Rules in this Subchapter in advance, except where 

otherwise noted. Subchapter. The course shall be interactive, 

permitting the participant to communicate, via telephone, 

electronic mail, or a website bulletin board, with the presenter and 

other participants. The sponsor of an on-line online course shall 

have a method for recording and verifying attendance. A 

participant may periodically log on and off of an on-line online 

course provided the total time spent participating in the course is 

equal to or exceeds the credit hours assigned to the program. The 

course design and delivery mechanism for an on-line online 

course offered on the Internet shall have received approval from 

the International Distance Education Certification Center 

(IDECC). Information about the IDECC may be found on their 

website at www.idecc.org. A course completion certificate shall 

be forwarded to the student as stated in Rule .0303(e) .0607 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 

 

SECTION .0600 - CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0606 COURSE OPERATIONAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

Course sponsors shall maintain compliance with Rule .0603 of 

this Section and shall also comply with the following 

requirements: 

(1) Courses shall be last a maximum of eight 

classroom hours in any given day. A classroom 

hour shall consist of 50 minutes of classroom 

instruction and ten minutes of break time. For 

any class that exceeds 50 minutes in duration, 

breaks at the rate of ten minutes per hour shall 

be scheduled. 

(2) Course sponsors shall not utilize advertising of 

any type that is false or misleading. 

Advertisements misleading and shall specify 
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the number of continuing education credit hours 

awarded by the Board for the course. 

(3) Course sponsors shall, upon request, provide 

any prospective student a description of the 

course content regarding the instruction to be 

provided in the course. 

(4) Courses shall be conducted in a facility that 

meets the following requirements: 

(a) is of sufficient size to accommodate all 

enrolled students; 

(b) contains a student desk or worktable 

space for each student; 

(c) is free of noise or visual distractions 

that disrupt class sessions; and 

(d) complies with all applicable local, 

state and federal laws and regulations 

regarding safety, health health, and 

sanitation. Classes shall not be held in 

a personal residence under any 

circumstances. 

(e) Classes shall not be held in a personal 

residence under any circumstances. 

(5) The course sponsor shall require students to 

attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled 

classroom hours in order to complete the 

course, even if the number of continuing 

education credit hours awarded by the Board 

for the course is less than the number of 

scheduled classroom hours. Attendance shall be 

monitored during all class sessions to ensure 

compliance with the attendance requirement. 

Instruction shall be given for the number of 

hours for which credit is given. Instructors shall 

not accumulate unused break time to end the 

class early. 

(6) Instructors shall require student attentiveness 

during class sessions. Students shall not be 

permitted to engage in activities that are not 

related to the instruction being provided. 

(7) Course sponsors for which an application fee is 

required by Rules .0602(b) and .0611(b) of this 

Section shall administer course cancellation 

and fee refund policies. In the event a scheduled 

course is canceled, efforts shall be made to 

notify preregistered students of the cancellation 

and all prepaid fees received from such 

preregistered students shall be refunded within 

30 days of the date of cancellation or, with the 

student's permission, applied toward the fees 

for another course. 

(8) Upon request of the Board, the course sponsor 

shall submit to the Board a recording that 

depicts the instructor teaching portions of any 

continuing education course. 

(9) Course sponsors shall provide the Board in 

writing or via an electronic link with the dates 

and locations of all classes the sponsor is 

offering in the State of North Carolina at least 

30 10 calendar days before the class is offered, 

unless circumstances beyond the control of the 

course sponsor require that the course be 

rescheduled, such as a weather emergency. If 

the dates or location of the classes change after 

such information is provided to the Board, the 

course sponsor shall notify the Board of such 

changes within five days of the rescheduled 

date. date in writing or via an electronic link. 

(10) Course sponsors shall provide each student with 

contact information for the Appraisal Board. 

(11) If an instructor has any disciplinary action taken 

on his or her appraisal license or any other 

professional license in North Carolina or any 

other state, or if the instructor has been 

convicted of or pled guilty to any misdemeanor 

or felony, the school or course sponsor shall 

report that fact to the Board within 15 business 

days. 

(12) All courses, except those taught on-line via the 

Internet, online, shall have a minimum number 

of five students enrolled in the course. course in 

order for the course to take place. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0613 PAYMENT OF FEE REQUIRED 

BY G.S. 90E-1-7(B1) 93E-1-7(B1) 

Schools and course sponsors who are required by G.S. 93E-1-

7(b1) to pay a fee to the Board for each licensee completing an 

approved continuing education course conducted by the school or 

course sponsor shall remit the fee to the Board within 30 days after 

the date the course is completed. upon uploading the course roster 

online. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c)(d); 93E-1-7; 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0614 INSTRUCTORS FOR THE 

TRAINEE/SUPERVISOR COURSE REQUIRED BY G.S. 

93E-1-6.1 

(a)  Instructors for the trainee supervision course set forth in G.S. 

93E-1-6.1 shall be real estate appraisers who have been certified 

residential or certified general appraisers for at least three years. 

(b)  Instructors shall not have received any disciplinary action 

regarding their appraisal certificate from the State of North 

Carolina or any other state within the previous three years. In 

addition, instructors shall not have been convicted of or pleaded 

guilty to any criminal act. "Criminal act" shall not include 

speeding tickets or traffic infractions. 

(c)  All applicants for instructor of the trainee supervision course 

shall obtain a criminal records check. This records check must 

shall have been performed within 60 days of the date the 

completed application for approval as an instructor is received by 

the Board. Applicants shall pay the vendor directly for the cost of 

these reports. The records check shall comply with the provisions 

of 21 NCAC 57A .0202(e). 

(d)  Persons who wish to teach the trainee supervision course shall 

be approved by the Board before they may teach this course. Such 

approval Approval of a trainee supervision course instructor 
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authorizes the instructor to teach the course for any approved 

course sponsor. 

(e)  Applicants who wish to become instructors for the trainee 

supervision course shall attend an educational workshop 

sponsored by the Board or complete the NC Supervisor/Trainee 

course with another approved sponsor, which is a minimum of 

four hours, before they may be approved. Applicants may check 

the Board's website for information regarding the date and 

location of the workshop. The website may be accessed at 

www.ncappraislboard.org. www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

(f)  Approval of trainee supervision course instructors granted on 

or after July 1 shall expire on June 30 of the following year. 

expires on the next December 31 following the date of approval. 

Applications for renewal of Board approval, shall be filed with 

the Board annually on or before December 1. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6.1; 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 57C – ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

PROCEDURES 

 

SECTION .0100 – APPRAISAL BOARD HEARINGS 

 

21 NCAC 57C .0101 FORM OF COMPLAINTS AND 

OTHER PLEADINGS 

(a)  Complaints shall be in writing, identify the trainee, appraiser, 

or appraisal management company, identify the Complainant by 

name, provide a physical address and contact information for the 

Complainant, and state the facts that form the basis of the 

complaint.  

(b)  When a complaint is received by the Board it shall be 

considered an allegation. The Board staff shall review the 

allegation to determine whether it shall be investigated, including 

examination of the appraisal report, if applicable, which shall be 

requested from the appraiser, and if based on this information 

there appears to be no violations of USPAP or any of the Board 

rules or statutes, then the allegations shall not be further 

investigated and will be dismissed. A three-panel committee of 

the Board shall review this decision. 

(c)  If the Board staff or the three-panel committee determine that 

further investigation is required, then a formal complaint shall be 

opened, and the Board staff shall request a response and the entire 

workfile from the appraiser and shall proceed to investigate the 

matter. 

(b)(d)  When the Board staff investigates a formal complaint, the 

scope of the investigation shall not be limited to the persons or 

transactions described or alleged in the complaint. 

(c)(e)  Complainants are not parties to contested cases heard by 

the Board, but may be witnesses in the cases. 

(d)(f)  There is no specific form required for answers, motions, or 

other pleadings submitted prior to the hearing relating to contested 

cases before the Board, except they shall be in writing. The 

document shall identify the file number and state the matters it 

alleges, answers, or requests. Motions may be made on the record 

during the course of the hearing before the Board. 

(e)(g)  During the course of an investigation of a formal 

complaint, licensee, the Board, through its legal counsel or staff, 

may send a trainee, appraiser, or appraisal management company 

one or more letters of inquiry requesting a response from the 

trainee, appraiser, or appraisal management company. The initial 

letter of inquiry, or attachments thereto, shall set forth the subject 

matter being investigated. Upon receipt of a letter of inquiry, the 

trainee, appraiser, or appraisal management company shall 

respond within 30 calendar days. The response shall include 

copies of all documents requested in a letter of inquiry. 

(f)(h)  Hearings in contested cases before the Board shall be 

governed by the provisions of Article 3A of Chapter 150B of the 

General Statutes. 

(g)(i)  A complaint shall not be accepted if the applicable time 

period for retention of the work file for that appraisal assignment 

pursuant to the Recordkeeping Rule of the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice has expired. This Section does not 

apply to complaints involving the actions outlined in G.S. 93E-1-

12(b)(1),(2),(4), and (5). 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-10; 93E-1-12; 93E-2-3; 93E-2-8. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 57D – APPRAISAL MANAGEMENT 

COMPANIES 

 

SECTION .0100 – APPLICATION FOR APPRAISAL 

MANAGEMENT REGISTRATION 

 

21 NCAC 57D .0101 FORM 

An appraisal management company that wishes to file an 

application for an appraisal management company certificate of 

registration may obtain the required form upon request to the 

Board or on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

The form calls for requires information such as: the following 

pursuant to G.S. 93E-2-4(b): 

(1) the legal name of the applicant; 

(2) the name under which the applicant will do 

business in North Carolina; 

(3) the type of business entity; 

(4) the address of its principal office; 

(5) the applicant's NC Secretary of State 

Identification Number if required to be 

registered with the Office of the NC Secretary 

of State; 

(6) a completed application for approval of the 

compliance manager; 

(7) any past criminal conviction of and any pending 

criminal charge against any person or entity that 

owns ten 10 percent or more of the appraisal 

management company; 

(8) any past revocation, suspension, cancellation, 

or denial of an appraisal license of any person 

or entity that owns any part, directly or 

indirectly, owns ten percent or more of the 

appraisal management company; 

(9) any disciplinary action taken against the 

applicant, including the effective date of the 

disciplinary action and whether the applicant 

has complied; 

(10) other States where the applicant is registered to 

operate, if applicable; 

(11) applicant's employer identification number 

(EIN); 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 2, 2020 

1264 

(9)(12) if a general partnership, a description of the 

applicant entity, including a copy of its written 

partnership agreement or or, if no written 

agreement exists, a written description of the 

rights and duties of the several partners; 

(10)(13) if a business entity other than a corporation, 

limited liability company, or partnership, a 

description of the organization of the applicant 

entity, including a copy of its organizational 

documents; 

(11)(14) if a foreign business entity, a certificate of 

authority to transact business in North Carolina 

and an executed consent to service of process 

and pleadings; and 

(12)(15) a certification that the applicant has obtained a 

surety bond as required by G.S. 93E-2-4(g). 

Incomplete applications shall not be acted upon by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-2-4; S.L. 2013-403. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on November 21, 2019 Meeting. 
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Lethal Instruments 07 NCAC 15 .0401* 34:03 NCR 

Pets 07 NCAC 15 .0504* 34:03 NCR 

Photographs 07 NCAC 15 .0603* 34:03 NCR 
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Certification and Training for School Resources Officers 12 NCAC 10B .0510* 34:02 NCR 
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Commemorative Bottles 14B NCAC 15A .1404* 34:02 NCR 
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REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Attendance and Participation Requirements 21 NCAC 58A .1705* 34:03 NCR 
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TITLE 01 - DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

 

01 NCAC 05B .1520 DEBARMENT 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, "debarred" or "debarment" 

means a Vendor shall not be entitled to enter into a Contract for 

Goods or Services and shall be removed from any distribution lists 

which may be utilized by the Division. 

(b)  A Vendor shall be debarred pursuant to G.S. 143-59.2 if the 

Vendor or any officer, director or owner is convicted of any 

violation under G.S. 78A, the Securities Act of 1933 or the 

Securities Exchange Act of 1934. 

(c)  A Vendor may be debarred by the SPO upon a finding of 

fraud, misrepresentation, or other deceptive acts or practices 

while doing business with a State agency during an audit by the 

State Auditor in accordance with G.S. 147-64.6(c)(21) or after an 

internal audit by an internal auditor in accordance with G.S. 143-

746(f). After a finding by the State Auditor or internal auditor, the 

SPO's determination to debar a Vendor shall be based on the 

following factors: 

(1) the severity of the conduct identified in the 

findings and any recommended actions by the 

State Auditor or internal auditor; and 

(2) a Vendor's history of performance on one or 

more contracts. 
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(d)  The SPO shall notify a Vendor of any debarment and appeal 

rights under Article 3 of G.S. 150B, in writing, which may include 

Electronic form. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52; 143-53; 143-

59.2; 143-60; 147-64.6(c)(21); 143-746; 

Eff. February 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES 

 

07 NCAC 15 .0104 PERMISSIBLE ACTIVITIES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.182; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2010; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 28 .0104 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

07 NCAC 15 .0105 PERMISSION FOR USE 

(a)  Any person or group wishing to rent, commercially 

photograph or film, or otherwise use any of the Aquarium or Pier 

buildings or grounds for a private purpose shall obtain prior 

written permission from the Aquarium or Pier Director for use of 

the building or grounds. For the purposes of this Rule, "a private 

purpose," includes activities which are outside of the daily 

operations of the Aquarium or Pier. Prior to the approved use, the 

user shall enter into a written agreement setting forth the terms of 

the use of the Aquarium or Pier. 

(b)  In determining whether to approve the use, the Aquarium or 

Pier Director shall consider the following factors: 

(1) the reason for the use; 

(2) the availability of the requested facilities, or 

portion thereof; 

(3) the impact of the use on the operations of the 

Aquarium or Pier, including the impact to 

public access; 

(4) the impact of the use on Aquarium or Pier 

resources and facilities; and 

(5) whether the use would be detrimental to the 

purposes of the Aquariums as defined in G.S. 

143B-135.184. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.182; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2010; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 28 .0105 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

07 NCAC 15 .0401 WEAPONS 

Carrying or possessing firearms, airguns, bows and arrows, 

slingshots or deadly weapons of any kind as defined in G.S. 14-

269 in the Aquarium or Pier or on Aquarium or Pier property, 

except by law enforcement officials with jurisdictional authority 

or other persons as defined in G.S. 14-269(b) and G.S. 14-415.27, 

is prohibited. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-269.3; 143B-135.182;  

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2010; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 28 .0401 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

07 NCAC 15 .0504 PRIVATELY-OWNED ANIMALS 

(a)  No person shall bring any privately-owned animal inside the 

Aquarium buildings or Pier.  

(b)  Animals are allowed on the Aquarium's property outside the 

perimeter fence, not including the Pier House and Pier itself, 

provided they remain at all times under the owners' control and 

are restrained by a leash. 

(c)  Owners with animals that are left unattended or exhibit 

aggressive behavior, including excessive barking, shall be 

directed to remove the animal from the Aquarium or Pier 

premises. 

(d)  Animal owners shall pick up their animal's waste from 

Aquarium grounds and dispose of it. 

(e)  Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall not apply to service animals 

that meet the criteria specified in the Americans with Disabilities 

Act (42 U.S.C. 12101 et seq).  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.182; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2010; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 28 .0504 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

07 NCAC 15 .0603 PHOTOGRAPHS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.182; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2010; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 28 .0603 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 01E .0101 NONDISCRIMINATION 

PROCEDURES 

The Department of Health and Human Services provides for the 

resolution of complaints against any Division within the 

Department alleging any act prohibited by Federal laws and 

regulations implementing Title II of the Americans with 

Disabilities Act, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and other applicable 

nondiscrimination regulations as required by Federal agencies for 

the Department's receipt of Federal financial assistance. The 

Department's forms for filing complaints or grievances are located 

at https://www.ncdhhs.gov/about/department-initiatives/ada-

grievance-procedure. Complaint forms submitted to the 

Department shall include the name and contact information for the 

individual making the complaint and a description of the basis for 

the complaint. 
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History Note: Authority 28 C.F.R. 35.107; 45 C.F.R. 84.7; 45 

C.F.R. Part 80.7; 

Eff. May 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 01E .0102 COMPLAINTS 

10A NCAC 01E .0103 INVESTIGATION 

10A NCAC 01E .0104 WRITTEN DETERMINATION 

10A NCAC 01E .0105 RECONSIDERATION 

10A NCAC 01E .0106 RECORDS 

10A NCAC 01E .0107 OTHER REMEDIES 

10A NCAC 01E .0108 CONSTRUCTION 

 

History Note: Authority 28 C.F.R. 35.107; 

Eff. May 1, 1993; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 01E .0201 APPLICABILITY AND SCOPE 

10A NCAC 01E .0202 COMPLAINTS 

10A NCAC 01E .0203 INVESTIGATION 

10A NCAC 01E .0204 WRITTEN DETERMINATION 

10A NCAC 01E .0205 RECONSIDERATION 

10A NCAC 01E .0206 RECORDS 

10A NCAC 01E .0207 OTHER REMEDIES 

10A NCAC 01E .0208 CONSTRUCTION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10(j)(2); 45 C.F.R. 84.7; 

Eff. May 1, 1994; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 01E .0301 APPLICABILITY AND SCOPE 

10A NCAC 01E .0302 COMPLAINTS 

10A NCAC 01E .0303 INVESTIGATION 

10A NCAC 01E .0304 RESOLUTION OF MATTERS 

10A NCAC 01E .0305 RECONSIDERATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10(j)(2); 45 C.F.R. Part 

80.7; 

Eff. November 1, 1994; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0510 CERTIFICATION AND 

TRAINING FOR SCHOOL RESOURCE OFFICERS 

(a)  A "School Resource Officer (SRO)" is defined as any law 

enforcement officer assigned to one or more public schools within 

a local school administrative unit, as defined in G.S. 115C-5(6), 

who works in a school at least 20 hours per week for more than 

12 weeks per calendar year to assist with all of the following: 

(1) School safety; 

(2) School security; 

(3) Emergency preparedness; 

(4) Emergency response; and 

(5) Any additional responsibilities related to school 

safety or security assigned by the officer's 

employer while the officer is acting as a School 

Resource Officer. 

Any written memorandum of understanding between the local 

school administrative unit and the law enforcement agency 

governing the School Resource Officer shall be consistent with 

this Paragraph. 

(b)  Deputy Sheriffs assigned by their agency to perform duties as 

a School Resource Officer shall: 

(1) have been issued general certification by the 

North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and 

Training Standards Commission as a Deputy 

Sheriff; and 

(2) have until December 31, 2020 to complete the 

Basic School Resource Officer Training Course 

if they are acting in the capacity of a School 

Resource Officer between January 1, 2019 and 

December 31, 2019. Any officer assigned as a 

School Resource Officer effective January 1, 

2020 or later shall complete the Basic School 

Resource Officer Training course pursuant to 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule, within one year after 

being assigned as a School Resource Officer. 

Deputy Sheriffs who previously completed the 

training pursuant to Paragraph (f) of this Rule 

and who have been continually assigned as an 

SRO pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall 

be credited with completion of the Basic School 

Resource Officer Training course. 

(c)  A Deputy Sheriff assigned to one or more public schools 

within a local school administrative unit, who works in a school 

at least 20 hours per week for more than 12 weeks per calendar 

year and who has not completed the initial training as established 

by Paragraph (f) of this Rule shall not work in a school as a School 

Resource Officer until the officer has completed the initial 

training as established by Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(d)  The agency head shall submit to the Sheriffs' Standards 

Division a Form F-20 Commission School Resource Officer 

Assignment Form for the person(s) selected to act as a School 

Resource Officer for the agency. The Form F-20 is located on the 

agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov and must be completed in its 

entirety. The Form F-20 Commission School Resource Officer 

Assignment Form consists of the following: 

(1) applicant's name; 

(2) date of birth; 

(3) social security number; 

(4) name of agency and address; 

(5) date awarded general certification; 

(6) completion date of School Resource Officer 

training; and 

(7) date assigned as a School Resource Officer. 

(e)  The term of certification as a School Resource Officer shall 

be indefinite, provided the School Resource Officer completes 

during each calendar year one credit of School Resource Officer 

refresher training authored by North Carolina Justice Academy. 

For School Resource Officers who complete the basic SRO 

training requirement in 2020 or earlier, this requirement becomes 

effective January 1, 2021. Otherwise, this requirement becomes 

effective the year following the officer's successful completion of 

the Basic School Resource Officer Training course. A certified 

School Resource Officer who has not completed the refresher 

training during a calendar year as established by this Rule shall 
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not work in a school as a School Resource Officer until the officer 

has completed the required refresher training as established by 

this Rule. 

(f)  The School Resource Officer training course for Deputy 

Sheriffs shall provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to 

perform in the capacity of a School Resource Officer. The Basic 

School Resource Officer Training course authored by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be used as the curriculum for this 

training course. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the 

agency: 

Sheriffs' Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 629 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .2005 MINIMUM TRAINING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A Sheriff or Department Head may use a lesson plan 

developed by the North Carolina Justice Academy or a lesson plan 

for any of the topic areas developed by another entity such as a 

different law enforcement agency or training provider. The 

Sheriff or Department Head may also use a lesson plan developed 

by a certified instructor, provided that the instructor develops the 

lesson plan in accordance with the Instructional Systems 

Development model as taught in Criminal Justice Instructor 

Training and as described in 12 NCAC 09B .0209. Lesson plans 

shall be designed to be delivered in hourly increments. A student 

who completes the training shall receive the number of credits that 

correspond to the number of hours assigned to the course, 

regardless of the amount of time the student spends completing 

the course, where each hour of instruction shall be worth one 

credit (e.g., "Legal Update" is designed to be delivered in four 

hours and will yield four credits). With the exception of Firearms 

Training and Requalification, successful completion of training 

shall be demonstrated by passing tests as developed by the 

delivering agency or as written by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy. A written test comprised of at least five questions per 

hour of training shall be developed by the delivering agency, or 

the agency may use the written test developed by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy, for each in-service training topic. A 

student shall pass each test by achieving 70 percent correct 

answers. Firearms Training and Requalification shall be 

demonstrated qualification with a firearm as set out in Section 

.2100 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The in-service training for topic areas of the Sheriff's or 

Department Head's choosing required by this Rule shall either: 

(1) meet the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule; or 

(2) be delivered pursuant to National Certification 

Programs administered by the International 

Association of Directors of Law Enforcement 

Standards and Training (IADLEST) completed 

during the mandated in-service year to satisfy 

these topics in part or in whole. It is not required 

that this IADLEST training be written in the 

Instructional Systems Design (ISD) format or 

delivered by a Commission certified instructor. 

(c)  The 2019 Law Enforcement In-Service Training Program 

requires 24 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) Legal Update; 

(2) Juvenile Law Update; 

(3) Individual Wellness: Coping with Stress and 

PTSD; 

(4) Best Practices for Officers During Community 

Dissent; 

(5) Law Enforcement Intelligence Update: Gangs 

and Divisive Groups; 

(6) Domestic Violence: Law and Procedure 

Update; 

(7) Opioid Awareness and Response; 

(8) Firearms Training and Requalification for 

deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(9) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing. 

(d)  The 2019 Detention Officer In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) Detention Officer Legal Update; 

(2) Detention Intelligence Update: Gangs and 

Divisive Groups; 

(3) Individual Wellness: Coping with Stress and 

PTSD; 

(4) Inmate Suicide Prevention; 

(5) Opioid Awareness and Response; and 

(6) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(e)  The 2019 Telecommunicator In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) Individual Wellness: Coping with Stress and 

PTSD; 

(2) Civil Liability for Telecommunicators; 

(3) Human Fatigue in Shift Work; Strategies for 

Improving Performance; 

(4) Handling Difficult Callers; and 

(5) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(f)  The 2020 Law Enforcement In-Service Training Program 

requires 24 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) 2020 Legal Update; 

(2) 2020 Long-Term Effects of Childhood 

Adversity; 

(3) 2020 The Signs Within: Suicide Prevention 

Education and Awareness; 
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(4) 2020 Career Survival: Training and Standards 

Issues; 

(5) 2020 Communication Strategies When 

Encountering Persons Who are Deaf or Hard of 

Hearing; 

(6) 2020 Armed/Unarmed Security/Company 

Police: Understanding Their Roles and 

Authority; 

(7) 2020 Firearms Training and Requalification for 

deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(8) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing. 

(g)  The 2020 Detention Officer In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) 2020 Overcoming Negativity in the Detention 

Center; 

(2) 2020 Documenting the Incident Refresher; 

(3) 2020 The Signs Within: Suicide Prevention 

Education and Awareness 

(4) 2020 Career Survival: Training and Standards 

Issues; 

(5) 2020 Recognizing Signs of Assaultive 

Behavior; and 

(6) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(h)  The 2020 Telecommunicator In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) 2020 Suicide Callers; 

(2) 2020 Overcoming Negativity in the 

Communications Center; 

(3) 2020 Processing Calls/Quality Assurance; 

(4) 2020 Responding to Domestic Violence 

Callers; 

(5) 2020 Career Survival: Training and Standards 

Issues; and 

(6) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; January 1, 2016; 

January 1, 2015; February 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; February 

1, 2012; January 1, 2011; January 1, 2010; January 1, 2009; 

January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020; August 1, 2019; January 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 15A .0902 MAINTENANCE OF WORKING 

CAPITAL 

(a)  A local board shall set its working capital requirements at not 

less than two weeks' average gross sales of the latest fiscal year 

nor greater than: 

(1) four months average of the latest fiscal year for 

boards with gross sales less than one million 

five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000); 

(2) three months average of the latest fiscal year for 

boards with gross sales greater than or equal to 

one million five hundred thousand dollars 

($1,500,000) and less than fifty million dollars 

($50,000,000); and 

(3) two months average of the latest fiscal year for 

boards with gross sales equal to or greater than 

fifty million dollars ($50,000,000). 

(b)  A local board is considered insolvent if all of the following 

conditions apply: 

(1) the local board does not adhere to the working 

capital requirements as stated in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule; 

(2) the local board's current assets are less than the 

local board's current liabilities and the current 

portion of long-term debt; 

(3) the local board is unable to pay its debts as they 

fall due; and 

(4) the Commission determines the projected 

revenues will not meet the projected expenses 

in the next fiscal year based upon factors 

including statewide trends in sales and 

revenues, the status of the local economy, and 

the local board's projected expenses based upon 

the prior fiscal year's expenses. 

(c)  As used in this Rule, "long-term debt" means the loans and 

financial obligations lasting over one year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(20); 18B-

207; 18B-702(g),(u); 18B-805(d); 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2011; July 1, 1992; June 1, 1988; May 

1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .0902 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .0903 DEPOSITS 

(a)  Each local board shall designate as its official depositories one 

or more banks or trust companies in this State. 

(b)  The amount of funds on deposit in an official depository or 

deposited at interest shall be secured as provided in the Rules of 

the Local Government Commission at 20 NCAC 07, which are 

incorporated herein by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-

702(t),(u); 

Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .0903 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 2, 2020 

1271 

14B NCAC 15A .0905 DAILY DEPOSITS 

(a)  Each officer whose duty it is to collect or receive moneys of 

the local board shall deposit the collections and receipts daily into 

an official depository. If the local board gives its approval, 

deposits shall be required only when the moneys on hand are 

equal to or are greater than two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00), 

but in any event a deposit shall be made of any amount of moneys 

on hand on the last business day of the month. Deposits in an 

official depository shall be reported to the finance officer by 

means of a duplicate deposit ticket. 

(b)  A change fund necessary for daily operation of an ABC store 

shall be established by each local board and maintained in a secure 

place on the store's premises and shall not be subject to the daily 

deposit rule set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Each change 

fund shall be maintained in the amount and place established by 

the local board. 

(c)  The finance officer may at any time audit the records 

maintained by any employee collecting sales revenue and may 

prescribe the form and detail of these records. 

(d)  The Commission shall waive or alter the daily deposit 

requirement set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule for any local 

board upon a written request where security for the funds involved 

would include a locked fireproof safe or other container designed 

for the protection of valuable documents or money. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-

702(t),(u); 

Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .0905 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .0907 ANNUAL INDEPENDENT 

FINANCIAL AUDIT 

(a)  Each local board shall have its accounts audited after the close 

of each fiscal year by an independent certified public accountant. 

The auditor shall be selected by and report to the local board. The 

audit contract shall be on a form provided by the Commission. 

The audit contract shall include a definition of the scope of work, 

a requirement that the audit be conducted in accordance with 

generally accepted auditing standards, and a requirement that all 

audited financial statements be prepared in accordance with 

GASB Statement 34. The audit report is due to the Commission 

90 days after the end of the fiscal year. The financial officer shall 

ensure one unbound copy of the audit report and management 

letter is filed with the Commission. 

(b)  Each officer and employee of the local board having custody 

of public money or responsibility for keeping records of financial 

or fiscal affairs shall produce books and records requested by the 

auditor or the Commission and shall divulge any information 

relating to fiscal affairs as requested. If any member of the local 

board or any employee conceals, falsifies or refuses to deliver or 

divulge any books, records, or information with intent to mislead 

the auditor or impede or interfere with the audit, that individual is 

subject to removal for cause pursuant to G.S. 18B-203(a)(8). 

(c)  Each local board shall disclose the distribution of profits, 

including all distributions made pursuant to G.S. 18B-805, in a 

schedule to be included with the annual audited financial 

statements. The schedule shall be supported by a listing of each 

person who receives moneys from the local board, the date of 

payment and, if applicable, the purpose for which the payment 

was made and restrictions on use of the payment. The listing shall 

provide the same totals as were used in the schedule for each type 

of distribution. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(8); 18B-

207; 18B-702(s),(u); 

Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .0907 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1003 EMPLOYMENT AGE 

REQUIREMENT 

A person employed by a local board shall be at least 18 years of 

age unless waived by the Commission. The Commission shall 

grant a waiver pursuant to this Rule subject to compliance with 

the conditions and limitations applicable to permittees pursuant to 

G.S. 95-25.5(j). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-302(h); 

18B-807; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1986; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1004 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1006 PERSONNEL MANUAL 

(a)  Each local board shall establish rules governing each of the 

following: 

(1) Initial employment of employees, including 

qualifications and requirements for new 

employees; 

(2) Compensation and benefits; 

(3) Hours and days of work, holidays, vacation, 

sick leave;  

(4) Promotion, transfer, demotion, and suspension 

of employees; 

(5) Separation or termination of employees; 

(6) Granting of salary increases; and 

(7) Employee grievance procedures. 

(b)  A local board may model its personnel policies and 

procedures after those adopted by the county or municipality in 

which it operates. 

(c)  A local board shall not adopt a rule that conflicts with the 

provisions of Chapter 18B or these Rules. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(10); 18B-

207; 18B-700(g1); 18B-701(a); 18B-807; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1009 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1102 LOCAL RULES 

(a)  Submitted to Commission. A copy of all rules or amendments 

thereto that may be adopted by a local board to govern the 

operation of ABC stores or the enforcement of the ABC laws shall 

be submitted to the Commission at least 30 days prior to the date 

on which it is proposed that those rules or amendments are to 

become effective. 

(b)  Power to Approve. The Commission shall notify a local board 

within 15 days of receipt of a proposed rule or amendment if the 

rules are disapproved or the effective date of the rules will be 

delayed. Those rules or amendments shall become effective when 

and as approved by the Commission. If the Commission does not 

send a notice of disapproval within 15 days of receipt, those rules 

or amendments shall stand approved. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(10); 

18B-207; 18B-807; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1102 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1103 COST OF AUDIT 

The cost of any audit or examination of records required by the 

Commission pursuant to G.S. 18B-205 shall be borne by the local 

board being audited or examined. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-205; 18B-207; 

18B-702(u); 18B-807; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1104 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1203 APPROVAL OF NEW STORES 

(a)  Notice to Commission. The opening of any new ABC stores 

shall not be considered by the Commission unless a 45-day notice 

is given to the Chairman as to the intended location of the store 

and until a public notice of the intention to open the ABC store 

has been posted for 30 days at the proposed location. 

(b)  Sign Requirements. In order to meet the public notice 

requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the local board shall 

post at least one sign at the proposed new store site in accordance 

with all the following requirements: 

(1) Dimensions of the sign shall be at least three 

feet high and three feet wide; 

(2) The board shall state on the sign its intention to 

open an ABC store on the site and shall state the 

telephone number of the local board where 

public comments will be received; 

(3) Lettering shall be at least four inches in height 

and background colors shall contrast so that the 

notice may be discerned by the viewer; and 

(4) The sign shall be posted within 10 feet of the 

property line that is parallel to the public road 

or sidewalk that will be in front of the proposed 

store, or if the proposed store will be in an 

existing shopping center, the sign shall be 

posted on the front exterior of the existing 

storefront or building. Lettering on the sign 

shall face the public road or sidewalk, or if 

within an existing shopping center, the lettering 

shall face the exterior of the existing storefront 

or building. 

(c)  In considering whether to approve the opening of a new ABC 

store, in addition to determining whether the health, safety or 

general welfare of the community would be adversely affected, 

the Commission shall consider the factors enumerated in G,S. 

18B-901(c)(3), (4), (5), (6), and (7). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-801; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; July 1, 1992; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1203 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1204 NEW STORES PROHIBITED IN 

CERTAIN AREAS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-801; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1204 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1301 STORAGE: DELIVERIES: 

SECURITY 

(a)  Storage. Private warehouse contractors performing the 

receipt, storage, and distribution functions shall: 

(1) Allocate space in the State ABC warehouse for 

each item listed on the price list adopted by the 

Commission. Space allocated shall be based on 

sales volume; 

(2) Develop and publish a delivery schedule of 

spirituous liquors to all local boards based on 

each local board's sales volume and the 

economical delivery of spirituous liquor to all 

local boards, subject to approval of the 
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Commission. Orders and shipments over the 

quantity on the approved schedule may be made 

as agreed between the local boards and the 

Contractor. All orders over the quantity on the 

schedule shall be accepted and delivered when 

the Contractor determines it is economically 

feasible based upon the size of the regular load 

and the size of the additional quantity. 

(3) Develop and publish standard operating 

procedures not covered by these Rules for use 

by the Contractor and local boards. All 

procedures published shall be submitted to the 

Commission. 

(b)  Deliveries and Shipments. The processing of shipments upon 

receipt by the local boards shall be as follows: 

(1) The Contractor shall provide the local board 

representative an Off-Loading Check Sheet, an 

Invoice Bill(s) of Lading, and a Transmittal 

Sheet with the shipment. The Off-Loading 

Check Sheet shall reflect the items and 

quantities being delivered in numerical order, 

and the quantities shall agree with those on the 

Invoice Bill(s) of Lading and the Transmittal 

Sheet; 

(2) The system used for off-loading shall be such 

that an accurate count of the merchandise is 

made and all overages or shortages can be 

verified by the local board before any 

exceptions entries are made on the Transmittal 

Sheet; 

(3) If there are no overages, shortages or breakage, 

remittance shall be made as referenced in 

Subparagraph (10) of this Paragraph; 

(4) If there is an overage which is accepted by the 

local board representative, the local board 

representative shall line through the number of 

cases invoiced and shall write the correct 

number of cases on the Transmittal Sheet. The 

local board representative shall enter the 

quantity over, the stock code number and an 

explanation in the "comments" block on the 

Transmittal Sheet. Upon return of the 

Transmittal Sheet to the State ABC warehouse, 

the Contractor shall issue a debit adjustment. 

The debit adjustment shall have the original 

invoice number in the purchase order reference 

box as a cross reference. Remittance shall be 

made as referenced in Subparagraph (10) of this 

Paragraph; 

(5) If there is an overage that is not accepted by a 

local board representative, the local board 

representative shall enter the quantity, the stock 

code number and an explanation in the 

"comments" box on the Transmittal Sheet. The 

driver shall return the merchandise to the State 

ABC warehouse; 

(6) If there is a shortage, the local board 

representative shall line through the number of 

cases invoiced and shall write the correct 

number of cases on the Transmittal Sheet. The 

local board representative shall enter the 

quantity under, the stock code number and an 

explanation in the "comments" box on the 

Transmittal Sheet. Upon return of the 

Transmittal Sheet to the State ABC warehouse, 

the Contractor shall issue a credit adjustment. 

Remittance shall be made as referenced in 

Subparagraph (10) of this Paragraph; 

(7) The local board representative shall handle 

breakage discovered during the unloading 

process as a shortage in shipment in accordance 

with the procedure set forth in Subparagraph (6) 

of this Paragraph with the note in the 

"comments" block of the Transmittal Sheet 

indicating that the case was returned due to 

breakage. If the breakage involves a case that is 

an overage not accepted by the local board 

representative, the procedures in Subparagraph 

(5) of this Paragraph shall be followed. 

Remittance shall be made as referenced in 

Subparagraph (10) of this Paragraph; 

(8) If a local board's shipment includes a shrink-

wrapped pallet(s), the local board shall break 

down the pallet(s) and any overage, shortage, or 

breakage shall be reported to the State ABC 

warehouse as follows: 

(A) The procedures for marking the 

Transmittal Sheet in Subparagraphs 

(4), (5), (6) and (7) of this Paragraph 

shall be followed; and 

(B) The updated Transmittal Sheet shall 

be emailed, faxed or postmarked to the 

State ABC warehouse within three 

days of delivery of the pallet(s); 

Remittance shall be made as referenced in 

Subparagraph (10) of this Paragraph; 

(9) Except as provided for in Subparagraph (8) of 

this Paragraph, the local board representative 

and the driver shall sign the Transmittal 

Sheet(s) and the driver shall return the 

Transmittal Sheet(s) to the State ABC 

warehouse. The local board representative shall 

receipt date stamp or sign the distiller's Invoice 

Bills of Lading copies and the driver shall 

return them to the State ABC warehouse; and 

(10) The local board shall remit payment to the party 

listed in the "Remit to" information listed on the 

Invoice Bill(s) of Lading which includes any 

Bailment Invoices or Surcharge Invoices. The 

local board shall enter the Invoice Bill of 

Lading number on each check or each check 

stub. 

(c)  Security Measures. Security of the merchandise during the 

delivery process shall be as follows: 

(1) The conveyances (trucks and trailers) shall be 

secured with a serially numbered metal or 

plastic seal by the Contractor:  
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(2) The seal numbers will be entered on the "Seal 

Nos." line of the invoice transmittal sheet. Extra 

seals shall be included in sealed envelopes for 

resealing the unit when shipments are destined 

for more than one local board and for the return 

trip after final delivery; 

(3) The local board general manager or the general 

manager's designated representative shall check 

the seal number on the unit with the number on 

the invoice transmittal sheet upon arrival of a 

shipment. If the numbers correspond the unit 

shall be unsealed by the local board's 

representative. If the numbers do not 

correspond the Contractor shall be contacted for 

further instructions; and 

(4) The local boards' general manager shall not 

allow the Contractor's driver or his assistant to 

remove the seal. 

(d)  Local boards shall not pick up merchandise from the State 

ABC warehouse without prior approval from the Administrator or 

the Administrator's designee. 

(e)  Local boards may purchase, exchange, or otherwise obtain 

spirituous liquor from another local board and transport such 

beverages as necessary for the operation of its ABC stores. 

Payment for such transactions shall be satisfied as provided by 

14B NCAC 15A .1406. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-204; 18B-207; 

18B-701(a)(1); 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2011; May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1302 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1302 COMMERCIAL 

TRANSPORTATION: PERMIT AND BOND REQUIRED 

(a)  Any person transporting spirituous liquors into and through 

the State shall first secure a blanket fleet permit for the 

transportation of spirituous liquors signed by the Chairman or 

Administrator. That permit shall designate the spirituous liquors 

to be shipped. 

(b)  Driver to Possess Permit. Any person applying for and 

receiving this permit shall require the driver or operator of any 

truck, tractor, or trailer to have in the driver's possession a copy 

of all the documents required pursuant to G.S. 18B-1115(d)(3) 

and (4). 

(c)  Commission to Provide Forms. Blank forms for the bond shall 

be supplied by the Commission upon request. The bond form shall 

include the name of the principal, the name and address of the 

surety, the bond number, and an obligation on the surety to insure 

the permittee's lawful transport and delivery of alcoholic 

beverages in the State in the amount of one thousand dollars 

($1000). 

(d)  A local board owning and operating trucks for the purpose of 

transporting spirituous liquors from a local warehouse to the 

various local stores within a local ABC system shall not be 

required to give bond and shall be permitted to operate its trucks 

without a common carrier permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1115; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1303 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1304 DIRECT SHIPMENTS 

(a)  A "direct shipment" means a shipment from the distiller or a 

warehouse of spirituous liquors, or from an antique spirituous 

liquor seller, directly to a local board without passing through the 

State ABC warehouse. 

(b)  Direct shipments shall be allowed by the Commission in 

emergency situations when the State ABC warehouse is closed 

due to natural or other disasters or in a situation where for 

transportation reasons it is mutually advantageous to local boards, 

the Commission, or the operator of the State ABC warehouse. 

(c)  Direct shipment shall have prior written approval from the 

Commission. Merchandise authorized to be shipped by direct 

shipment shall be consigned by the State ABC warehouse to the 

distiller's account in care of the local board. The local board shall 

acknowledge receipt of the merchandise on the shipping 

documents and forward them to the Contractor for processing 

through the accounting system as though the merchandise were 

shipped from the State ABC warehouse. 

(d)  Upon compliance with 14B NCAC 15A .1403 and obtaining 

a transportation permit as required by G.S. 18B-403, an antique 

spirituous liquor seller may deliver antique spirituous liquor listed 

in its inventory directly to the local board that placed the special 

order for that inventory. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-204; 18B-207; 

18B-403; 18B-701(a)(1); 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2011; May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1305 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019; January 1, 2018. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1404 COMMEMORATIVE BOTTLES 

The Commission shall approve local boards' orders and sales of 

specially designed bottles commemorating particular events, 

occasions, or ceremonies, provided advertising borne upon 

commemorative bottles is limited to commemorating historical 

events of the local board and non-profit, charitable enterprises. 

Other businesses, other than the distiller, shall not advertise 

themselves or their products via commemorative bottles. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-807; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; 
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Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1405 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1405 RECORDS REQUIRED 

(a)  A record of all orders, receipts, invoices, and payments shall 

be maintained by local boards and be available for inspection by 

any representative of the Commission during the local board's 

normal business hours. 

(b)  Local boards shall retain the following records for the length 

of time specified in this Paragraph: 

(1) sales report until the annual audit is completed, 

(2) warehouse report for one year, 

(3) daily store report until the annual audit is 

completed, 

(4) stock difference report for three years, 

(5) receiving report until the annual audit is 

completed, 

(6) clerk's daily sales and cash report until the 

annual audit is completed,  

(7) paid invoices for three years, 

(8) loss and damage claim records for three years, 

and 

(9) required records pursuant to 14B NCAC 15B 

.0501 related to the sale of mixed beverages for 

three years. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(4); 

18B-205; 18B-207; 18B-702(s), (u); 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1406 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0804 INVESTIGATION/ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0804 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Repealed Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 17 – BOARD OF DIETETICS, NUTRITION 

 

21 NCAC 17 .0101 DEFINITIONS, ACRONYMS, 

AND INITIALISMS 

(a)  As used in this Chapter, the following terms shall mean: 

(1) "Act" means Dietetics/Nutrition Practice Act in 

G.S. 90, Article 25. 

(2) "Applicant" means any person who has applied 

to the Board for a license to lawfully do any of 

the acts listed under G.S. 90-365(a). 

(3) "Application" means a written request directed 

to and received by the Board, on forms supplied 

by the Board, for a license to lawfully do any of 

the acts listed under G.S. 90-365(a), together 

with all information, documents, and other 

materials necessary to demonstrate that the 

applicant has met the requirements for licensure 

as specified in the Act. 

(4) "Degree" means a degree received from a 

college or university that was regionally 

accredited at the time the degree was conferred, 

or a validated foreign equivalent. 

(5) "Dietitian/nutritionist" or "nutritionist" means 

one engaged in dietetics or nutrition practice. 

(6) "Health care practitioner" includes any 

individual who is licensed under G.S. 90 and 

whose licensed scope of practice includes 

dietetics or nutrition. 

(7) "Nutrition assessment" means: 

(A) the evaluation of the nutrition needs of 

individuals and groups by licensed 

dietitians/nutritionists and licensed 

nutritionists based upon biochemical, 

anthropometric, nutrigenomic, 

physical, and food and diet history 

data to determine nutritional needs and 

order therapeutic diets, including 

enteral and parenteral nutrition; and 

(B) the ordering of laboratory tests related 

to the practice of nutrition and 

dietetics. 

(8) "Nutrition counseling" means the advice and 

assistance provided by licensed 

dietitians/nutritionists and licensed nutritionists 

to individuals or groups on nutrition intake by 

integrating information from the nutrition 

assessment with information on food and other 

sources of nutrient and meal preparation 

consistent with therapeutic needs and cultural 

background, which shall include ethnicity, race, 

language, religious and spiritual beliefs, 

education, and socioeconomic status.  

(b)  As used in this Chapter, the following acronyms and 

initialisms shall mean: 

(1) "ACBN" means the American Clinical Board of 

Nutrition, whose Diplomate of the American 

Clinical Board of Nutrition credential is 

accredited by the National Commission for 

Certifying Agencies. 

(2) "ACEND" means the Accreditation Council for 

Education in Nutrition and Dietetics. 
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(3) "AND" means the Academy of Nutrition and 

Dietetics. 

(4) "BCNS" means the Board for Certification of 

Nutrition Specialists, whose Certified Nutrition 

Specialist credential is accredited by the 

National Commission for Certifying Agencies. 

(5) "CDR" means the Commission on Dietetic 

Registration, whose Registered Dietitian 

Nutritionist credential is accredited by the 

National Commission for Certifying Agencies. 

(6) "LDN" means licensed dietitian/nutritionist. 

(7) "LN" means licensed nutritionist. 

(8) "PLDN" means provisionally licensed 

dietitian/nutritionist. 

(9) "PLN" means provisionally licensed 

nutritionist. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-352; 90-356; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 19, 1992 for a period of 180 days 

to expire on September 13, 1992; 

Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 17 .0001 Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2011; April 1, 2010; July 18, 2002; 

March 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 17 .0303 SUPERVISION 

For purposes of G.S. 90-368(2), "direct supervision" means the 

supervising practitioner: 

(1) discusses and recommends, with the student or 

trainee, nutrition care services undertaken by 

the student or trainee, which are appropriate to 

the level of nutrition care; 

(2) is available for consultation on nutrition care 

services being performed by the student or 

trainee, either through on-site or through 

electronic communication; 

(3) shall be available to render assistance when 

requested by the student or trainee or the patient 

or client, or shall have arranged for another 

practitioner to be available in the absence of the 

supervising practitioner; 

(4) periodically observes the nutrition care services 

of the student or trainee supervised, and 

evaluates and approves all nutrition care 

services of the student or trainee supervised; 

and 

(5) shall maintain responsibility for the nutrition 

care activities performed by the student or 

trainee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-356(2); 90-357.5; 90-368(2); 

Eff. March 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2011; July 18, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 34 – BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

21 NCAC 34A .0201 FEES AND OTHER PAYMENTS 

(a)  Fees for funeral service shall be as follows: 

Establishment permit 

Application         $250.00 

Annual renewal        $200.00 

Late renewal fee        $100.00 

Establishment and embalming facility reinspection fee    $100.00 

Courtesy card 

Application         $  75.00 

Annual renewal        $  50.00 

Out-of-state licensee 

Application         $200.00 

Embalmer, funeral director, funeral service 

Application, North Carolina resident     $150.00 

Application, non-resident       $200.00 

Annual renewal 

Embalmer         $  75.00 

Funeral Director        $  75.00 

Total fee, embalmer and funeral director, when both are held by same person $ 100.00 

Funeral service        $ 100.00 

Inactive status        $  30.00 

Reinstatement fee        $  50.00 

Resident trainee permit 

Application         $  50.00 

Voluntary change in supervisor      $  50.00 

Annual renewal        $  35.00 

Late renewal         $  25.00 
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Duplicate License certificate       $  25.00 

Chapel registration 

Application         $150.00 

Annual renewal        $100.00 

Late renewal         $  75.00 

(b)  Fees for crematory and hydrolysis licensees shall be as follows: 

License 

Application         $400.00 

Annual renewal        $150.00 

Late renewal fee        $  75.00 

Crematory or hydrolysis reinspection fee      $100.00 

Per-cremation or hydrolysis fee        $  10.00 

Late filing or payment fee for each cremation or hydrolysis    $  10.00 

Late filing fee for cremation or hydrolysis report, per month    $  75.00 

Crematory or Hydrolysis Manager Permit 

Application         $150.00 

Annual renewal        $  40.00 

(c)  Fees for preneed funeral contract regulation shall be as follows: 

Preneed funeral establishment license 

Application         $150.00 

Annual renewal        $150.00 

Late renewal fee        $100.00 

Reinspection fee        $100.00 

Preneed sales license 

Application         $  20.00 

Annual renewal        $  20.00 

Late renewal fee        $  25.00 

Preneed contract filings 

Filing fee for each contract      $  20.00 

Late filing or payment fee for each contract     $  25.00 

Late filing fee for each certificate of performance    $  25.00 

Late filing fee for annual report      $150.00 

(d)  Fees for Transportation Permits shall be as follows: 

Application          $125.00 

Annual renewal         $  75.00 

Late fee          $  50.00 

(e)  All fees remitted to the Board are non-refundable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25(c); 90-210.28; 90-210.67(b),(c),(d),(d1); 90-210.68(a); 90-210.132; 

Eff. September 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1991; July 1, 1988; January 1, 1988; October 1, 1983; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 34 .0123 Eff. February 7, 1991; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; August 2, 1993; May 1, 1993, July 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. August 20, 2014; March 1, 2004; August 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 40 – STATE BOARD OF OPTICIANS 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0104 INFORMATION AND 

APPLICATION 

(a)  Potential applicants for a North Carolina optician's license can 

download application forms from the Board's website 

www.ncopticiansboard.org. Application forms shall be submitted 

in order to be considered for licensure by waiver of the 

examination, or to sit for the licensure examination. 

(1) Applicants for licensure examination shall 

provide documentation of eligibility for 

examination participation by having met 

requirements of G.S. 90-240(a)(1) or (2), or 

G.S. 90-241(b). 

(A) Applicants qualifying by G.S. 90-

240(a)(2) shall provide a certified 

transcript showing completion of AAS 

degree from an accredited school of 

opticianry. 

(B) Applicants qualifying by G.S. 90-

241(b) shall provide a certified 
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transcript showing completion of an 

optical certificate program from an 

accredited school of opticianry, or a 

Board-recognized training program. 

(2) Applicants for licensure by waiver of 

examination shall provide documentation for 

having met requirements of G.S. 90-241(a). 

(A) Verification of good standing from the 

state where licensure was previously 

obtained. 

(B) Affidavits as set forth in 21 NCAC 40 

.0319. 

(3) Applicants shall provide a certified transcript 

showing graduation from high school as 

required by G.S. 90-237 for all applications 

shown in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (2) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  Any person not able to download licensure information, or the 

licensure or examination application, or training or renewal 

application, may request that the Board office mail the materials 

which the Board will mail to the requesting person. 

(c)  When submitting an application as set forth in Subparagraphs 

(a)(1) through (2) of this Rule above, applicants shall submit the 

fee as set forth in G.S. 90-246. Additionally, the applicant shall 

provide: 

(1) information, including an affirmation regarding 

whether the applicant has violated G.S. 90, 

Article 17, or 21 NCAC 40 of the North 

Carolina Administrative Code, or been 

convicted of a felony or misdemeanor; 

(2) information as to whether the applicant has 

been named as a defendant or respondent to a 

lawsuit involving fraud, deceit, or 

misrepresentation, malpractice, unethical 

conduct, gross negligence, or gross misconduct;  

(3) the applicant's age; and 

(4) a passport-size photograph taken within six 

months of the date the application is submitted 

to the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-237; 90-239; 90-240; 90-

246; 90-249(6); 90-249.1(a)(8); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; August 1, 1998; February 1, 

1989; February 1, 1988; November 1, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0109 ELECTION OF MEMBERS 

(a)  By April 1 of each year, any licensed optician desiring to be 

nominated for the Board shall forward a petition endorsed by five 

licensees to the Board. 

(b)  By April 10 of each year, the Board shall prepare and 

distribute by mail to each North Carolina licensed optician: 

(1) a notice of the election, and its dates;  

(2) the name of each nominee; 

(3) biographical information on each nominee; 

(4) a ballot; and 

(5) a return envelope. 

(c)  The return envelope containing the ballot shall be postmarked 

no later than April 30. The enclosed ballot shall not be valid unless 

the optician's signature, license number, and correct mailing 

address are on the left top corner of the return envelope. 

(d)  The Board Chair shall appoint an Election Committee of at 

least three members, who may be Board members, staff members, 

or a combination of the two, but who shall not be nominees. The 

Election Committee shall review all ballots for validity based on 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule, and count all valid ballots. 

(e)  Based upon the canvass by the Election Committee, the Board 

Chair shall submit to the Governor a list of three nominees for 

each vacancy for completion of the appointment process as set 

forth in G.S. 90-238. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-238; 90-239; 

Eff. November 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; April 1, 2011; February 1, 

1989; January 1, 1986; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0209 DISPLAY OF REGISTRATION 

AND LICENSE 

(a)  Each registered optical place of business or training 

establishment shall display its registration certificate, containing 

the name of the current optician in charge or the name of the 

current trainer or trainers, in a visible and public area of the place 

of business or training establishment. 

(b)  Each apprentice and intern shall display his or her registration 

certificate in a visible and public part of the training establishment 

wherein he or she is engaged as a trainee. 

(c)  Each optician to whom a license has been granted shall display 

his or her license and current renewal seal in a visible and public 

part of the office or establishment wherein he or she is engaged as 

a dispensing optician. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-244; 

Eff. November 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; February 1, 1989; July 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0314 APPRENTICESHIP AND 

INTERNSHIP REQUIREMENTS: REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each trainee entering the apprenticeship or internship shall 

register with the Board providing contact information, training 

establishment wherein training is being served, name of 

sponsoring trainer, and paying fees per G.S. 90-246.  

(1) The apprenticeship registration fee shall be paid 

on initial registration and on or before June 30 

each year for an annual renewal. 

(2) The internship registration fee shall be paid on 

initial registration. 

(3) The work as an apprentice or intern shall be full 

time, defined as a minimum of 32 hours per 
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week, under the training sponsorship of a 

licensed optician, ophthalmologist, or 

optometrist. 

(4) Part-time work or work as an optical salesman 

or consultant shall not apply toward completion 

of apprenticeship or internship. 

(5) No more than two persons, whether apprentices 

or interns or a combination, may be registered 

and under training sponsorship of any one 

optician, ophthalmologist, or optometrist at the 

same time. 

(6) An apprentice or intern shall be credited with 

training time only from the date of registration 

and fee payment with the Board as an 

apprentice or intern. 

(A) If an apprentice or intern is transferred 

to another business location or another 

registered trainer, or ceases 

employment with the registered 

training establishment, the trainer 

shall document to the Board the 

trainee's beginning and ending dates 

under their training. 

(B) An apprentice or intern shall be 

credited by the Board with time 

documented by a prior trainer if the 

apprentice or intern registers under 

another trainer within 12 months of 

ending training with a prior trainer. 

(b)  In addition to the work specified in Subparagraph (a)(3) of 

this Rule, the curriculum for the apprentice shall include one of 

the following, as chosen by the apprentice: 

(1) an optical curriculum certificate program 

presented by a school of opticianry approved 

pursuant to Rule .0312 of this Chapter; or 

(2) the National Academy of Opticianry's home 

study Career Progression Program; or 

(3) any apprenticeship program, approved by the 

Board, which is offered by an optical place of 

business registered with the Board pursuant to 

Rule .0202 of this Chapter. The Board shall 

approve such apprenticeship program if the 

program's curriculum summary contains 

subject matter similar to the curriculum 

summary of the National Academy of 

Opticianry's home study Career Progression 

Program. 

The classroom and laboratory time spent in the optical curriculum 

certificate program shall be credited as part of the apprenticeship 

period and its minimum of 32 hours per week. Certification that 

the apprentice has completed and passed one of the approved 

programs shall be required.  

(c)  When registering to serve a six month internship, the applicant 

must have completed the two and one-half years of apprenticeship 

as required by G.S. 90-240(a)(2) and (3) or have completed the 

course of training required by G.S. 90-240(a)(1). 

(d)  Trainers shall document to the Board completion of training 

for apprentices and interns. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-239; 90-240; 90-243; 

90-249; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. September 6, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; January 1, 1994; July 1, 1991; 

February 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0319 APPLICANTS FROM OTHER 

STATES 

(a)  An applicant seeking licensure in North Carolina under G.S. 

90-241(a) shall tender an application to the Board as set out in 21 

NCAC 40 .0104 accompanied by affidavits from two employers 

for whom the applicant worked as an optician for the four years 

immediately preceding the application to the Board, and affidavits 

from two persons who can attest to the moral character of the 

applicant. In addition, the applicant shall furnish affidavits from 

two licensed refractionists, either ophthalmologists or 

optometrists, for whom the applicant has practiced the profession 

of opticianry in the state in which the applicant claims credit for 

the four years prior to the application. An application under G.S. 

90-241(a) shall be filed with the Board within 90 days following 

the termination of the applicant's out-of-state opticianry work for 

which the applicant claims credit. 

(b)  An applicant seeking admission to an examination under G.S. 

90-241(b) shall tender an application to the Board as set out in 21 

NCAC 40 .0104 accompanied by affidavits from two persons 

under whom or with whom the applicant worked in the practice 

of opticianry in the other state, either in one or multiple places of 

business. The application and the affidavits shall describe the 

tasks performed by the applicant in the other state and the dates 

the tasks were performed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-237; 90-239; 90-241; 

90-249(12); 

Eff. November 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; December 1, 1994; July 1, 1991; 

February 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0323 AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT 

(a)  Applicants for any Board training, registration, examination, 

and licensure process shall attest to the completeness and 

accuracy of the information contained in applications. 

(b)  Upon obtaining agreement from an applicant, the Board shall 

conduct a criminal background check during review of an 

applicant as identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Application 

fees are inclusive of costs involved for such investigations, and no 

additional charges shall be assessed against the applicant. 

(c)  If an applicant submits incomplete, false, or misleading 

information, the Board shall deny the applicant admission to 

examination, apprenticeship, internship, business, or training 

establishment registrations or licensure. 
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(d)  It is a violation of G.S. 90-249.1 for any optician shown on a 

registration application to submit incomplete, false, or misleading 

information.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-243; 90-249; 90-249.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; February 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 40 .0325 LICENSURE FOR MILITARY-

TRAINED APPLICANT; LICENSURE FOR MILITARY 

SPOUSE 

(a)  Licensure for a military-trained applicant. Upon receipt of a 

request for licensure pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 from a military-

trained applicant, the Board shall issue a license to the applicant 

who satisfies the following conditions: 

(1) submission of a complete application with 

applicant's name and contact information, and 

date of birth; 

(2) providing documentation to satisfy conditions 

set out in G.S. 93B-15.1(a)(1) and (2); and 

(3) providing documentation that the applicant has 

not committed any act in any jurisdiction that 

would constitute grounds for refusal, 

suspension, or revocation of a license in North 

Carolina at the time the act was committed. 

(b)  Licensure for a military spouse. Upon receipt of a request for 

licensure pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 from a military spouse, the 

Board shall issue a license to the applicant who satisfies the 

following conditions: 

(1) submission of a complete application with 

applicant's name and contact information, and 

date of birth; 

(2) submission of written documentation 

demonstrating that the applicant is married to 

an active member of the U.S. military; and 

(3) providing documentation to satisfy conditions 

set out in G.S. 93B-15.1(b)(1) through (4). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-234; 90-239; 93B-15.1; 

Eff. December 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1705 ATTENDANCE AND 

PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  In order to receive credit for completing an approved 

continuing education course, a broker shall: 

(1) attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled 

instructional hours for the course; 

(2) provide his or her legal name and license 

number to the course sponsor; 

(3) present his or her pocket card or photo 

identification card, if necessary; and 

(4) personally perform all work required to 

complete the course. 

(b)  With the instructor or the sponsor's permission, a 10 percent 

absence allowance may be permitted at any time during the 

course, except that it may not be used to skip the last 10 percent 

of the course unless the absence is: 

(1) approved by the instructor; and 

(2) for circumstances beyond the broker's control 

that could not have been reasonably foreseen by 

the broker, such as: 

(A) an illness; 

(B) a family emergency; or 

(C) acts of God. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; July 1, 2010; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1712 BROKER-IN-CHARGE COURSE 

(a)  The Broker-in-Charge Course is a 12-hour educational course 

that is required for all brokers designating as broker-in-charge 

under Rule .0110 of this Subchapter. The 12-hour course is 

divided into an 8-hour module and a 4-hour module. A broker 

shall complete the 8-hour module before beginning the 4-hour 

module. 

(b)  In order to receive credit for completing the Broker-in-Charge 

Course, a broker shall: 

(1) attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled 

instructional hours for the course; 

(2) provide his or her legal name and license 

number to the course provider; 

(3) present his or her pocket card or photo 

identification card, if necessary; 

(4) personally perform all work required to 

complete the course; and 

(5) complete the 12-hour Broker-in Charge Course 

no later than 120 days after the broker registers 

for the course. 

(c)  Upon completion of the 12-hour Broker-in-Charge Course, a 

broker shall receive four credit hours of elective continuing 

education. The four credit hours will be awarded in the license 

year in which the broker completes the 12-hour Broker-in-Charge 

Course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 93A-4.2; 

Eff. January 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Don Overby 

Selina Malherbe    J. Randall May 

J. Randolph Ward   David Sutton 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 DHR 02708 10/9/2019 Deborah 

Washington 

v. North Carolina Division of Health 

Benefits Glana Surles 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 03473 10/15/2019 Karla Collard v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 04712 10/17/2019 Ali Alsaras owner 

Saras Inc D/B/A 

University Market 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Ward 

        

19 DOJ 01687 10/16/2019 Derrick Demond 

Lee 

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

19 DOJ 02981 10/30/2019 Shawn Brian Morris v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 03749 10/15/2019 Shelly Lashawn 

Morales 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 04702 10/15/2019 Douglas Earl Martin v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

18 DST 07704 10/28/2019 Ritchie Darnell 

Longworth 

v. State Treasurer of North Carolina 

Retirement Systems Division 

May 

        

    Unpublished    

19 ABC 04313 10/22/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Jensen Restaurant Ventures LLC T/A 

Edenton Oyster Bar 

Overby 

19 ABC 04553 10/16/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Wachdi R Khamis Awad T/A Brothers 

in the Hood 

Overby 

        

19 CSE 02932 10/22/2019 Jeremiah Hightower v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 
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19 CSE 04087 10/1/2019 Joe Roswech v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

        

19 DHR 02931 10/15/2019 The Moses H Cone 

Memorial Hospital 

and MC 

Kernersville LLC 

d/b/a Triad Surgery 

Center  

v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of Health 

Service Regulation, Health Care 

Planning & Certificate of Need  

May 

19 DHR 02954 10/18/2019 Marie Blamoh Teah v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 04140 10/9/2019 Ilene Knox v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 04634 10/28/2019 Kasey Ross v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation Adult Care Licensure 

Section 

May 

19 DHR 04665 10/28/2019 Valerie A 

Hernandez 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 04718 10/24/2019 NOA Human 

Service(Nena 

Ikwechegh) 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Mental Health Licensure 

and Certification 

May 

19 DHR 05155 10/16/2019 Cindy Locklear v. Health Care Registry Overby 

19 DHR 05427 10/25/2019 Antoinette H 

Rochelle 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Lassiter 

        

17 DOJ 04844 10/8/2019 S&M Brands, Inc v. North Carolina Department of Justice Overby 

19 DOJ 04336 10/8/2019 Anthony Clyde 

Fleener 

v. North Carolina Alarm Systems 

Licensing Board 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 04337 10/7/2019; 

10/8/2019 

Peggy Sue Dove v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 04700 10/7/2019; 

10/8/2019 

Dwight Denorris 

Cox 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 04701 10/8/2020 Michael Gray 

Parsons 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

19 EDC 03665 10/28/2019 Robert Marshall 

Hooks 

v. NC Departmetn of Public Instruction May 

        

19 EHR 04370 10/28/2019 DSF of NC Inc 

Javed Warriach 

v. NCDEQ May 

        

19 INS 04662 10/22/2019 Phyllis Charlene 

Dority 

v. NC Health Plan for Teachers and State 

Employees 

Bawtinhimer 

19 INS 04908 10/25/2019 Carolyn Lasater v. State Health Plan of NC Retirement 

Division 

Malherbe 

        

19 OSP 03050 10/4/2019 Andre Tyron 

Caldwell 

v. North Carolina Cental University Jacobs 
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19 OSP 03990 10/3/2019; 

10/4/2019 

Kelly Butler Inman v. County of Alamance Alamance County 

Dept of Social Services 

Ward 

19 OSP 04217 10/9/2019 Susan Bunch v. Mount Airy School Board of Education May 

 

 


