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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Medical Care Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 10A NCAC 13B .3501, .3703, 

.3708, readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A 

NCAC 13B .3502, .3503, .3701, .3704-.3707, and repeal through 

readoption the rule cited as 10A NCAC 13B .3702. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 5, 2020 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Brown Building, Room 104, 801 

Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapter 10A NCAC 13B, Licensing 

of Hospitals, a total of 40 rules were determined as “Necessary 

With Substantive Public Interest,” thus requiring readoption. At 

this time, the agency is proposing to readopt seven rules with 

substantive changes, repeal one rule through readoption, and 

amend three rules for hospital medical staff and bylaws to 

improve safety, quality and access to care by modernizing the 

rules and ensuring consistency with Medicare regulations and 

Joint Commission standards. The proposed rules provide for 

physician consultation and input while recognizing the facility's 

governance responsibilities. The proposed rules update language, 

provide clarity in the rules, remove ambiguity, implement 

technical changes, and reference general statute where 

appropriate. In addition, the requirements for Rule 10A NCAC 

13B .3702 are incorporated into rule 10A NCAC 13B .3704 

proposed for readoption with substantive changes, therefore this 

rule is not necessary and is proposed for readoption as a repeal. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  February 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 – MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13B – LICENSING OF HOSPITALS 

 

SECTION .3500 - GOVERNANCE AND MANAGEMENT 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3501 GOVERNING BODY 

(a)  The governing body, owner owner, or the person or persons 

designated by the owner as the governing authority body shall be 

responsible for seeing ensuring that the objectives specified in the 

charter (or resolution if publicly owned) facility's governing 

documents are attained. 

(b)  The governing body shall be the final authority in the facility 

to which the administrator, for decisions for which the facility 

administration, the medical staff, and the facility personnel and all 

auxiliary organizations are directly or indirectly responsible. 

responsible within the facility. 

(c)  A local advisory board shall be established if the facility is 

owned or controlled by an organization or persons outside of 

North Carolina. A local advisory board shall include members 

from the county where the facility is located. The local advisory 

board will provide non-binding advice to the governing body. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-75; 131E-79. 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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10A NCAC 13B .3502 REQUIRED FACILITY 

BYLAWS, POLICIES, RULES, AND REGULATIONS 

(a)  The governing body shall adopt written bylaws, policies, 

rules, and regulations in accordance with all requirements 

contained in this Subchapter and in accordance with the 

community responsibility of the facility. The written bylaws, 

policies, rules, and regulations shall: 

(1) state the purpose of the facility; 

(2) describe the powers and duties of the governing 

body officers and committees and the 

responsibilities of the chief executive officer; 

(3) state the qualifications for governing body 

membership, the procedures for selecting 

members, and the terms of service for members, 

officers and committee chairmen; 

(4) describe the authority delegated to the chief 

executive officer and to the medical staff. No 

assignment, referral, or delegation of authority 

by the governing body shall relieve the 

governing body of its responsibility for the 

conduct of the facility. The governing body 

shall retain the right to rescind any such 

delegation; 

(5) require Board governing body approval of the 

bylaws of any auxiliary organizations 

established by the hospital; facility; 

(6) require the governing body to review and 

approve the bylaws of the medical staff 

organization; staff; 

(7) establish a procedure procedures for processing 

and evaluating the applications for medical staff 

membership and for the granting of clinical 

privileges; 

(8) establish a procedure for implementing, 

disseminating, and enforcing a Patient's Bill of 

Rights as set forth in Rule .3302 of this 

Subchapter and in compliance with G.S. 131E-

117; and 

(9) require the governing body to institute 

procedures to provide for: 

(A) orientation of newly elected board 

governing body members to specific 

board functions and procedures; 

(B) the development of procedures for 

periodic reexamination of the 

relationship of the board governing 

body to the total facility community; 

and 

(C) the recording of minutes of all 

governing body and executive 

committee meetings and the 

dissemination of those minutes, or 

summaries thereof, on a regular basis 

to all members of the governing body. 

(b)  The governing body shall assure provide written policies and 

procedures to assure billing and collection practices in accordance 

with G.S. 131E-91. These policies and procedures shall include: 

(1) a financial assistance policy as defined in G.S. 

131E-214.14(b)(3);  

(2) how a patient may obtain an estimate of the 

charges for the statewide 100 most frequently 

reported Diagnostic Related Groups (DRGs), 

where applicable, 20 most common outpatient 

imaging procedures, and 20 most common 

outpatient surgical procedures. The policy shall 

require that the information be provided to the 

patient in writing, either electronically or by 

mail, within three business days; 

(3) how a patient or patient's representative may 

dispute a bill; 

(4) issuance of a refund within 45 days of the 

patient receiving notice of the overpayment 

when a patient has overpaid the amount due to 

the hospital; facility; 

(5) providing written notification to the patient or 

patient's representative at least 30 days prior to 

submitting a delinquent bill to a collections 

agency; 

(6) providing the patient or patient's representative 

with the facility's charity care and financial 

assistance policies, if the facility is required to 

file a Schedule H, federal form 990; 

(7) the requirement that a collections agency, 

entity, or other assignee obtain written consent 

from the facility prior to initiating litigation 

against the patient or patient's representative; 

(8) a policy for handling debts arising from the 

provision of care by the hospital facility 

involving the doctrine of necessaries, in 

accordance with G.S. 131E-91(d)(5); and 

(9) a policy for handling debts arising from the 

provision of care by the hospital facility to a 

minor, in accordance with G.S. 131E-91(d)(6). 

(c)  The governing body shall ensure that the bylaws, rules, and 

regulations of the medical staff and the bylaws, rules, policies, and 

regulations of the facility shall not be in conflict. 

(c)(d)  The written policies, rules, and regulations shall be 

reviewed every three years, revised as necessary, and dated to 

indicate when last reviewed or revised. 

(d)(e)  To qualify for licensure or license renewal, each facility 

must provide to the Division, upon application, an attestation 

statement in a form provided by the Division verifying 

compliance with the requirements of this Rule. 

(e)(f)  On an annual basis, on the license renewal application 

provided by the Division, the facility shall provide to the Division 

the direct website address to the facility's financial assistance 

policy. This Rule requirement applies only to facilities required to 

file a Schedule H, federal form 990. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79; 131E-91; 131E-214.8; 131E-214.13(f); 

131E-214.14. S.L. 2013-382, s. 10.1; S.L. 2013-382, s. 13.1. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3503 FUNCTIONS 

(a)  The governing body shall: 

(1) provide management, physical resources 

resources, and personnel determined by the 

governing body to be required to meet the needs 
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of the patients for which it is licensed; treatment 

as authorized by the facility's license; 

(2) require management facility administration to 

establish a quality control mechanism which 

that includes as an integral part a risk 

management component and an infection 

control program; 

(3) formulate short-range and long-range plans for 

the development of the facility; as defined in the 

facility bylaws, policies, rules, and regulations; 

(4) conform to all applicable federal, State and 

federal laws, rules, and regulations, and 

applicable local laws and regulations; 

ordinances; 

(5) provide for the control and use of the physical 

and financial resources of the facility; 

(6) review the annual audit, budget budget, and 

periodic reports of the financial operations of 

the facility; 

(7) consider the advice recommendation of the 

medical staff in granting and defining the scope 

of clinical privileges to individuals. When the 

governing body does not concur in the medical 

staff recommendation regarding the clinical 

privileges of an individual, there shall be a 

review of the recommendation by a joint 

committee of the medical staff and governing 

body before a final decision is reached by the 

governing body; individuals in accordance with 

medical staff bylaws requirements for making 

such recommendations and the facility bylaws 

established by the governing body for the 

review and final determination of such 

recommendations; 

(8) require that applicants be informed of the 

disposition of their application for medical staff 

membership or clinical privileges, or both, 

within an established period of time after their 

privileges in accordance with the facility 

bylaws established by the governing body, after 

an application has been submitted; 

(9) review and approve the medical staff bylaws, 

rules rules, and regulations body; regulations; 

(10) delegate to the medical staff the authority to to: 

(A) evaluate the professional competence 

of medical staff members and 

applicants for staff privileges medical 

staff membership and clinical 

privileges; and 

(B) hold the medical staff responsible for 

recommending recommend to the 

governing body initial medical staff 

appointments, reappointments 

reappointments, and assignments or 

curtailments of privileges; 

(11) require that resources be made available to 

address the emotional and spiritual needs of 

patients either directly or through referral or 

arrangement with community agencies; 

(12) maintain effective communication with the 

medical staff which shall may be established, 

established through: 

(a)(A) meetings with the Executive 

Committee executive committee of 

the Medical Staff; medical staff; 

(b)(B) service by the president of the medical 

staff as a member of the governing 

body with or without a vote; 

(c)(C) appointment of individual medical 

staff members to governing body 

committees; or the medical review 

committee; or 

(d)(D) a joint conference committee; 

committee that will be a committee of 

the governing body and the medical 

staff composed of equal 

representatives of each of the 

governing body, the chairman of the 

board or designee, the medical staff, 

and the chief of the medical staff or 

designee, respectively; 

(13) require the medical staff to establish controls 

that are designed to provide that standards of 

ethical professional practices are met; 

(14) provide the necessary administrative staff 

support to facilitate utilization review and 

infection control within the facility and facility, 

to support quality control, control and any other 

medical staff functions required by this 

Subchapter or by the facility bylaws; 

(15) meet the following disclosure requirements: 

(a)(A) provide data required by the Division; 

(b)(B) disclose the facility's average daily 

inpatient charge upon request of the 

Division; and 

(c)(C) disclose the identity of persons 

owning 5.0 five percent or more of the 

facility as well as the facility's officers 

and members of the governing body 

upon request; 

(16) establish a procedure for reporting the 

occurrence and disposition of any unusual 

incidents. allegations of abuse or neglect of 

patients and incidents involving quality of care 

or physical environment at the facility. These 

procedures shall require that: 

(a)(A) incident reports are analyzed and 

summarized; summarized by a 

designated party; and 

(b)(B) corrective action is taken as indicated 

by based upon the analysis of incident 

reports; 

(17) in a facility with one or more units, or portions 

of units, however described, utilized for 

psychiatric or substance abuse treatment, adopt 

policies implementing the provisions of G.S. 

122C, Article 3, and Article 5, Parts, 2, 3, 4, 5, 

7, and 8; 
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(18) develop arrangements for the provision of 

extended care and other long-term healthcare 

services. Such services shall be provided in the 

facility or by outside resources through a 

transfer agreement or referrals; 

(19) provide and implement a written plan for the 

care or for the referral, or for both, of patients 

who require mental health or substance abuse 

services while in the hospital; facility; 

(20) develop a conflict of interest policy which shall 

apply to all governing body members and 

corporate officers. facility administration. All 

governing body members shall execute a 

conflict of interest statement; statement; and 

(21) prohibit members of the governing body from 

engaging in the following forms of self-dealing: 

(a) the sale, exchange or leasing of 

property or services between the 

facility and a governing board 

member, his employer or an 

organization substantially controlled 

by him on a basis less favorable to the 

facility than that on which such 

property or service is made available 

to the general public; 

(b) furnishing of goods, services or 

facilities by a facility to a governing 

board member, unless such furnishing 

is made on a basis not more favorable 

than that on which such goods, 

services, or facilities are made 

available to the general public or 

employees of the facility; or 

(c) any transfer to or use by or for the 

benefit of a governing board member 

of the income or assets of a facility, 

except by purchase for fair market 

value; and 

(22) prohibit the lease, sale, or exclusive use of any 

facility buildings or facilities receiving a license 

in accordance with this Subchapter to any entity 

which provides medical or other health services 

to the facility's patients, unless there is full, 

complete disclosure to and approval from the 

Division. 

(21) conduct direct consultations with the medical 

staff at least twice during the year. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule, "direct consultations" means 

the governing body, or a subcommittee of the governing body, 

meets with the leader(s) of the medical staff(s), or his or her 

designee(s) either face-to-face or via a telecommunications 

system permitting immediate, synchronous communication. 

(c)  The direct consultations shall consist of discussions of matters 

related to the quality of medical care provided to the hospital's 

patients, including quality matters arising out of the following: 

(1) the scope and complexity of services offered by 

the facility; 

(2) specific clinical populations served by the 

facility; 

(3) limitations on medical staff membership other 

than peer review or corrective action in 

individual cases; 

(4) circumstances relating to medical staff access to 

a facility resource; or 

(5) any issues of patient safety and quality of care 

that a hospital's quality assessment and 

performance improvement program might 

identify as needing the attention of the 

governing body in consultation with the 

medical staff. 

(d)  For the purposes of this Rule, "specific clinical populations" 

includes those individuals who may be treated at the facility by 

the medical staff in place at the time of the consultation. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-14.2; 131E-79; 42 CFR 482.12; 42 CFR 

482.22. 

 

SECTION .3700 - MEDICAL STAFF 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3701 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a) The facility shall have a self-governed medical staff organized 

in accordance with the facility's by-laws which that shall be 

accountable to the governing body and which shall have 

responsibility for the quality of professional services care 

provided by individuals with medical staff membership and 

clinical privileges. privileges to provide medical services in the 

facility. Facility policy shall provide that individuals with clinical 

privileges shall perform only services within the scope of 

individual privileges granted. 

(b) Minutes required by the rules of this Section shall reflect all 

transactions, conclusions, and recommendations of meetings. 

Minutes shall be prepared and retained in accordance with a 

policy established by the facility and medical staff, and available 

for inspection by members of the medical staff and governing 

body, respectively, unless such minutes include confidential peer 

review information that is not accessible to others in accordance 

with applicable law, or as otherwise protected by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3702 ESTABLISHMENT 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3703 APPOINTMENT 

(a)  The governing body may grant, deny, renew, modify, 

suspend, or terminate medical staff membership and clinical 

privileges after consideration of the recommendation made by the 

medical staff in accordance with the bylaws established by the 

medical staff and approved by the governing body for making 

such recommendations, and the facility bylaws established by the 

governing body for review and final determination of such 

recommendations. 

(b)  Formal appointment Review of an applicant for medical staff 

membership and the granting of clinical privileges shall follow 

procedures set forth in the by-laws, rules or bylaws, rules, and 

regulations of the medical staff. These procedures shall require 

the following: 
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(1) a signed application for medical staff 

membership, specifying age, date of birth, year 

and school of graduation, date of licensure, 

statement of postgraduate or special training 

and experience with experience, and a 

statement of the scope of the clinical privileges 

sought by the applicant; 

(2) verification by the hospital facility of the 

applicant's qualifications of the applicant as 

stated in the application, including evidence of 

any required continuing education; and 

(3) written notice to the applicant from the medical 

staff and the governing body, body regarding 

appointment or reappointment reappointment, 

which specifies the approval or denial of 

clinical privileges and the scope of the 

privileges granted; and if granted. 

(4) members of the medical staff and others granted 

clinical privileges in the facility shall hold 

current licenses to practice in North Carolina. 

(c)  Members of the medical staff and others granted clinical 

privileges in the facility shall hold current licenses to practice in 

North Carolina. 

(d)  Medical staff appointments shall be reviewed at least once 

every two years by the medical staff in accordance with the 

bylaws established by the medical staff and approved by the 

governing body, and shall be followed with recommendations 

made to the governing body for review and a final determination. 

(e)  The facility shall maintain a file containing performance 

information for each medical staff member. Representatives of the 

Division shall have access to these files in accordance with, and 

subject to the limitations and restrictions set forth in, G.S. 131E-

80; however, to the extent that the same includes confidential 

medical review information, such information shall be reviewable 

and confidential in accordance with G.S. 131E-80(d) and other 

applicable law. 

(f)  Minutes shall be taken and maintained of all meetings of the 

medical staff and governing body that concern the granting, 

denying, renewing, modifying, suspending or terminating of 

clinical privileges. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79; 42 CFR 482.12(a)(10); 42 CFR 

482.22(a)(1). 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3704 STATUS ESTABLISHMENT AND 

CATEGORIES OF MEDICAL STAFF MEMBERSHIP 

(a)  The medical staff shall be established in accordance with the 

bylaws of the facility and organized in accordance with the 

bylaws, rules, and regulations of the medical staff. The governing 

body of the facility, after considering the recommendations of the 

medical staff, may grant medical staff membership and clinical 

privileges to qualified, licensed practitioners in accordance with 

their training, experience, and demonstrated competence and 

judgment in accordance with the medical staff bylaws, rules, and 

regulations. 

(a)(b)  Every facility shall have an active medical staff staff, as 

defined by the medical staff bylaws, rules, and regulations, to 

deliver medical services within the facility. The active medical 

staff shall be responsible for the organization and administration 

of the medical staff. Every member facility and to administer 

medical staff functions. The members of the active medical staff 

shall be eligible to vote at medical staff meetings and to hold 

office. medical staff office positions as determined by the medical 

staff bylaws, rules, and regulations and shall be responsible for 

recommendations made to the governing body regarding the 

organization and administration of the medical staff. Medical staff 

office positions shall be determined in the medical staff bylaws, 

rules, and regulations. 

(b)(c)  The active medical staff may establish other categories for 

membership in the medical staff. These categories for 

membership shall be identified and defined in the medical staff 

bylaws, rules or regulations adopted by the active medical staff. 

bylaws. Examples of these other membership categories for 

membership are: include: 

(1) active medical staff; 

(1)(2) associate medical staff; 

(2)(3) courtesy medical staff; 

(3)(4) temporary medical staff; 

(4)(5) consulting medical staff; 

(5)(6) honorary medical staff; or 

(6)(7) other staff classifications. 

The medical staff bylaws, rules or regulations may grant limited 

or full bylaws shall describe the authority, duties, privileges, and 

voting rights to any one or more of these other for each 

membership categories. category consistent with applicable law, 

rules, and regulations and requirements of facility accrediting 

bodies. 

(c)  Medical staff appointments shall be reviewed at least once 

every two years by the governing board. 

(d)  The facility shall maintain an individual file for each medical 

staff member. Representatives of the Department shall have 

access to these files in accordance with G.S. 131E-80. 

(e)  Minutes of all actions taken by the medical staff and the 

governing board concerning clinical privileges shall be 

maintained by the medical staff and the governing board, 

respectively. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3705 MEDICAL STAFF BYLAWS, 

RULES RULES, OR AND REGULATIONS 

(a)  The active medical staff shall develop and adopt, subject to 

the approval of the governing body, a set of bylaws, rules or rules, 

and regulations, regulations to establish a framework for self 

governance self-governance of medical staff activities and 

accountability to the governing body. 

(b)  The medical staff bylaws, rules rules, and regulations shall 

provide for at least the following: 

(1) organizational structure; 

(2) qualifications for medical staff membership; 

(3) procedures for admission, retention, 

assignment, and reduction or withdrawal of 

granting or renewing, denying, modifying, 

suspending, and revoking clinical privileges; 

(4) procedures for disciplinary or corrective 

actions; 

(4)(5) procedures for fair hearing and appellate review 

mechanisms for denial of staff appointments, 
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reappointments, suspension, or revocation of 

denying, modifying, suspending, and revoking 

clinical privileges; 

(5)(6) composition, functions and attendance of 

standing committees; 

(6)(7) policies for completion of medical records and 

procedures for disciplinary actions; records; 

(7)(8) formal liaison between the medical staff and the 

governing body; 

(8)(9) methods developed to formally verify that each 

medical staff member on appointment or 

reappointment agrees to abide by current 

medical staff bylaws bylaws, rules, and 

regulations, and the facility bylaws; and 

bylaws, rules, policies, and regulations; 

(9)(10) procedures for members of medical staff 

participation in quality assurance functions. 

functions by medical staff members; 

(11) the process for the selection and election and 

removal of medical staff officers; and 

(12) procedures for the proposal, adoption, and 

amendment, and approval of medical staff 

bylaws, rules, and regulations. 

(c)  Neither the medical staff, the governing body, nor the facility 

administration may unilaterally amend the medical staff bylaws, 

rules, and regulations. 

(d)  Neither the medical staff, the governing body, nor the facility 

administration may waive any provision of the medical staff 

bylaws, rules, and regulations, except in an emergency 

circumstance. For purposes of this Rule, an "emergency 

circumstance" means a situation of urgency that justifies 

immediate action and when there is not sufficient time to follow 

the applicable provisions and procedures of the medical staff 

bylaws. Examples of an emergency circumstance include an 

immediate threat to the life or health of an individual or the public, 

a natural disaster, or a judicial or regulatory order. The duration 

of a waiver permitted by this Rule will be only so long as the 

emergency circumstance exists. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3706 ORGANIZATION AND 

RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE MEDICAL STAFF 

(a)  The medical staff shall be organized to accomplish its required 

functions as established by the governing body and medical staff 

bylaws, rules, and regulations and provide for the election or 

appointment of its own officers. 

(b)  There shall be an executive committee, or its equivalent, 

which represents the medical staff, which that has responsibility 

for the effectiveness of all medical activities of the staff, and 

which that acts for the medical staff. 

(c)  All minutes of proceedings of medical staff committees shall 

be recorded and available for inspections by members of the 

medical staff and the governing body. 

(d)(c)  The following reviews and functions shall be performed by 

the medical staff: 

(1) credentialing review; 

(2) surgical case review; 

(3)(2) medical records review; 

(4) medical care evaluation review; 

(5)(3) drug utilization review; 

(6)(4) radiation safety review; 

(7)(5) blood usage review; and 

(8)(6) bylaws review. review; 

(7) medical review; 

(8) peer review; and 

(9) recommendations for discipline or corrective 

action of medical staff members. 

(e)(d)  There shall be medical staff and departmental meetings for 

the purpose of reviewing the performance of the medical staff, 

departments or services, and reports and recommendations of 

medical staff and multi-disciplinary committees. The medical 

staff shall ensure that minutes are taken at prepared for each 

meeting and retained in accordance with the policy of the facility. 

These minutes shall reflect the transactions, conclusions and 

recommendations of the meetings. medical staff, departmental, 

and committee meeting. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3707 MEDICAL ORDERS 

(a)  No medication or treatment shall be administered or 

discontinued except in response to the order of a member of the 

medical staff in accordance with established rules policies, rules, 

and regulations established by the facility and medical staff and 

as provided in Paragraph (f) below. of this Rule. 

(b)  Such orders shall be dated and recorded directly in the patient 

chart or in a computer or data processing system which provides 

a hard copy printout of the order for the patient chart. medical 

record. A method shall be established to safeguard against 

fraudulent recordings. 

(c)  All orders for medication or treatment shall be authenticated 

according to hospital policies. medical staff and facility policies, 

rules, or regulations. The order shall be taken by personnel 

qualified by medical staff rules bylaws, rules, and regulations, and 

shall include the date, time, and name of persons who gave the 

order, and the full signature of the person taking the order. 

(d)  The names of drugs shall be recorded in full and not 

abbreviated except where approved by the medical staff. 

(e)  The medical staff shall establish a written policy in 

conjunction with the pharmacy committee or its equivalent for all 

medications not specifically prescribed as to time or number of 

doses to be automatically stopped after a reasonable time limit, 

but no more than 14 days. The prescriber shall be notified 

according to established policies and procedures at least 24 hours 

before an order is automatically stopped. 

(f)  For patients who are under the continuing care of an out-of-

state physician but are temporarily located in North Carolina, a 

hospital facility may process the out-of-state physician's 

prescriptions or orders for diagnostic or therapeutic studies which 

maintain and support the patient's continued program of care, 

where the authenticity and currency of the prescriptions or orders 

can be verified by the physician who prescribed or ordered the 

treatment requested by the patient, and where the hospital facility 

verifies that the out-of-state physician is licensed to prescribe or 

order the treatment. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-75; 131E-79. 143B-165. 
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10A NCAC 13B .3708 MEDICAL STAFF 

RESPONSIBILITIES FOR QUALITY IMPROVEMENT 

REVIEW 

(a)  The medical staff shall have in effect a system to review 

medical services rendered, care provided at the facility by 

members of the medical staff, to assess quality, to provide a 

process for improving performance when indicated quality 

improvement, and to monitor the outcome. outcome of quality 

improvement activities. 

(b)  The medical staff shall establish criteria for the evaluation of 

the quality of medical care. 

(c)  The facility shall have a written plan approved by the medical 

staff, administration and governing body which that generates 

reports to permit identification of patient care problems. The plan 

shall establish problems and that establishes a system to use this 

data to document and identify interventions. The plan shall be 

approved by the medical staff, facility administration, and the 

governing body. 

(d)  The medical staff shall establish and a policy to maintain a 

continuous review process of the care rendered to both inpatients 

and outpatients provided by members of the medical staff to all 

patients in every medical department of the facility. At least 

quarterly, the The medical staff shall have a meeting policy to 

schedule meetings to examine the review process and results. The 

review process shall include both practitioners and allied health 

professionals from the facility medical staff. 

(e)  Minutes shall be taken at prepared for all meetings reviewing 

quality improvement, and these minutes shall be made available 

to the medical staff on a regular basis in accordance with 

established policy. These minutes shall be retained as determined 

by the facility. improvement and shall reflect all of the 

transactions, conclusions, and recommendations of the meeting. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79. 

 

 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Insurance intends 

to adopt the rules cited as 11 NCAC 06A .1001, .1002 and readopt 

with substantive changes the rules cited as 11 NCAC 04 .0418, 

.0419, .0421, and .0425. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdoi.gov/insurance-industry/rules-and-rules-

review 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 14, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  1st Floor Hearing Room, Room 131 (Albemarle 

Building) located at 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The rules are being submitted to 

provide clarity, modifications, and guidance on existing and new 

regulations to industry, motor vehicle damage appraisers, 

consumers, and interested parties about the expectations for all 

parties involved in the claims process. This includes providing 

motor vehicle damage appraisers ethical standards they shall 

follow, provide industry, motor vehicle damage appraisers, 

consumers, and interested party's guidance on how to address 

motor vehicle repair estimates, handling of loss and claims 

payments, and managing total loss claims settlements. 

11 NCAC 04 .0418; 11 NCAC 04 .0419; 11 NCAC 04 .0421; 11 

NCAC 04 .0425 are being proposed for readoption in accordance 

with G.S. 150-B21.3A(d)(2). 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Loretta Peace-Bunch, NC 

Department of Insurance, 1201 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1201; phone (919) 807-6004; email loretta.peace-

bunch@ncdoi.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  February 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 04 - CONSUMER SERVICES DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0400 - PROPERTY AND LIABILITY 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0418 TOTAL LOSSES ON MOTOR 

VEHICLES 

The commissioner shall consider as prima facie violative of G.S. 

58-63-15(11) the failure by an insurer to adhere to the following 

procedures concerning settlement of covered "total loss" motor 

vehicle claims when such failure is so frequent as to indicate a 

general business practice: 

(1) If the insurer and the claimant are initially 

unable to reach an agreement as to the value of 

the vehicle, the insurer shall base any further 

settlement offer not only on published regional 

average values of similar vehicles, but also on 
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the value of the vehicle in the local market. 

Local market value shall be determined by 

using either the local market price of a 

comparable vehicle or, if no comparable 

vehicle can be found, quotations from at least 

two qualified dealers within the local market 

area. Additionally, if the claimant represents 

that the vehicle actually owned by him was in 

better than average condition, the insurer shall 

give due consideration to the condition of the 

claimant's vehicle prior to the accident. 

(2) Where the insurer has the right to elect to 

replace the vehicle and does so elect, the 

replacement vehicle shall be available without 

delay, similar to the lost vehicle, and paid for 

by the insurer, subject only to the deductible 

and to the value of any enhancements 

acceptable to the insured. 

(3) If the insurer makes a deduction for the salvage 

value of a "total loss" vehicle retained by the 

claimant, the insurer, if so requested by the 

claimant, shall furnish the claimant with the 

name and address of a salvage dealer who will 

purchase the salvage for the amount deducted. 

(4) If a written statement is requested by the 

claimant, a total loss payment by an insurer 

shall be accompanied by a written statement 

listing the estimates, evaluations and 

deductions used in calculating the payment, if 

any, and the source of these values. 

(5) When a motor vehicle is damaged in an amount 

which, inclusive of original and supplemental 

claims, equals or exceeds 75 percent of the 

preaccident actual cash value, as such value is 

determined in accordance with this Rule, an 

insurance carrier shall "total loss" the 

automobile by paying the claimant the 

preaccident value, and in return, receiving 

possession of the legal title of the salvage of 

said automobile. At the election of the claimant, 

or in those circumstances where the insurance 

carrier will be unable to obtain an 

unencumbered title to the damaged vehicle then 

the insurance carrier shall have the right to 

deduct the value of the salvage of the total loss 

from the actual value of the vehicle and leave 

such salvage with the claimant subject to the 

insurance carrier abiding by Subparagraphs (3) 

and (6) of this Rule. No insurer, adjuster, 

appraiser, agent, or any other person shall enter 

into any oral or written agreement(s), by and 

between themselves, to limit any original or 

supplemental claim(s) so as to artificially keep 

the repair cost of a damaged vehicle below 75% 

of its preaccident value, if in fact such original 

and any supplemental claim(s) exceed or would 

exceed 75% of the vehicle's preaccident value. 

(6) The insurer shall be responsible for all 

reasonable towing and storage charges until 

three days after the owner and storage facility 

are notified in writing that the insurer will no 

longer reimburse the owner or storage facility 

for storage charges. Notification to the owner 

shall include the name, address, and telephone 

number of the facility where the vehicle is being 

stored. Notification to the storage facility shall 

include the name, address, and, if available, 

telephone number of the owner. No insurer 

shall abandon the salvage of a motor vehicle to 

a towing or storage service without the consent 

of the service involved. In instances where the 

towing and storage charges are paid to the 

owner, the check or draft for the amount of such 

service shall be payable jointly to the owner and 

the towing or storage service. 

(a)  The Commissioner shall consider as prima facie violative of 

G.S. 58-63-15(11) the failure by an insurance company to adhere 

to the procedures in this Rule concerning the settlement of 

covered "total loss" motor vehicle claims when the failure is so 

frequent as to indicate a general business practice. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following terms shall mean: 

(1) "Licensed Motor Vehicle Dealer" means a 

person who is licensed by the North Carolina 

Department of Transportation Division of 

Motor Vehicles pursuant to Chapter 20, Article 

12 of the N.C. General Statutes. 

(2) "Local Market Area" means an area within a 

100-mile radius of the place where the motor 

vehicle is principally garaged. If a substantially 

similar motor vehicle is unavailable within a 

100-mile radius, the insurance company may 

increase the radius in increments of 50 miles 

until a substantially similar motor vehicle can 

be found. 

(3) "Published Regional Average Values" means 

values derived from printed or electronically 

published pricing guides including Edmunds, 

Kelley Blue Book, and National Automobile 

Dealers Association Pricing Guide Book. 

(4) "Reasonable and Customary Towing and 

Storage Charges" means the amount that is 

generally charged in in the local business 

market. 

(5) "Substantially Similar Motor Vehicle" means a 

motor vehicle of the same make, model, year, 

options, equipment, condition, and mileage of 

the damaged motor vehicle. If unable to identify 

substantially similar motor vehicles, 

documentation in Paragraph (d) of this Rule 

shall be sufficient proof of compliance for the 

purposes of this Rule. 

(c)  When a motor vehicle is damaged in an amount which, 

inclusive of original and supplemental claims, equals or exceeds 

75 percent of the pre-accident actual cash value as determined in 

accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule, an insurance company 

shall designate the motor vehicle as a "total loss" and pay the 

claimant the pre-accident value. In return, the insurance company 
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shall receive possession of the legal title of the salvage of the total 

loss motor vehicle. 

(d)  If the insurance company and the claimant are initially unable 

to reach an agreement as to the actual cash value of the total loss 

motor vehicle, the actual cash value shall be calculated using the 

following methods and adjusted for condition, options, 

equipment, and mileage, less the cost of unrepaired damage that 

pre-existed the accident: 

(1) The published regional average values of 

substantially similar motor vehicles; and 

(2) The retail cost of two or more substantially 

similar motor vehicles in the local market area 

when substantially similar motor vehicles are 

available or were available within the last 90 

days to consumers in the local market area; or 

(3) One of two or more quotations obtained by the 

insurance company from two or more licensed 

motor vehicle dealers located within the local 

market area. 

(e)  Applicable sales tax and vehicle registration fees shall be 

included as part of the actual cash value settlement of the total loss 

motor vehicle, except where the claimant retains the salvage 

vehicle. 

(f)  The insurance company shall give consideration to evidence 

presented by the claimant such as receipts, photographs or other 

documentation that the total loss motor vehicle owned by him or 

her was in a better condition prior to the accident than suggested 

by the insurer's settlement offer. 

(g)  When a motor vehicle's total loss is settled on a basis which 

deviates from this Rule, the deviation must be supported by 

documentation within the claim file detailing the total loss motor 

vehicle's condition and the reason for the deviation. Any 

deductions from the actual cash value of the total loss motor 

vehicle, including deduction for salvage or prior damage, must be 

itemized and contain the amount of the deduction. The basis for 

the settlement shall be explained to the claimant. The insurance 

company's record shall include documentation of the total loss 

settlement. 

(h)  If requested by the claimant, a total loss payment by an 

insurance company shall be accompanied by a written statement 

listing the estimates, evaluations, and any deductions used in 

calculating the payment, and the source of these values. 

(i)  No insurance company, adjuster, appraiser, agent, or any other 

person shall enter into any oral or written agreement(s), by and 

between themselves, to limit any original or supplemental 

claim(s) to keep the repair cost of a damaged motor vehicle below 

75 percent of its pre-accident value. 

(j)  At the election of the claimant, or in those circumstances 

where the insurance company will be unable to obtain an 

unencumbered title to the total loss motor vehicle, the insurance 

company shall have the right to deduct the value of the salvage of 

the total loss motor vehicle from the actual cash value calculation 

and leave the salvage motor vehicle with the claimant. 

(k)  If the insurance company makes a deduction for the salvage 

value of a total loss motor vehicle retained by the claimant, the 

insurance company shall, upon request of the claimant, furnish the 

claimant with the name and address of a salvage dealer who will 

purchase the salvage for the amount deducted. 

(l)  Where the insurance company has the right to elect to replace 

the total loss motor vehicle and does so, the replacement motor 

vehicle shall be substantially similar to the total loss motor vehicle 

and paid for by the insurance company, subject only to the 

deductible and to the value of any additional options and 

equipment chosen by the claimant. 

(m)  The insurance company shall be responsible for all 

reasonable and customary towing and storage charges until three 

days after the motor vehicle's owner and storage facility are 

notified in writing that the insurance company will no longer 

reimburse the motor vehicle's owner or storage facility for storage 

charges. Notification to the motor vehicle's owner shall include 

the name, address, and telephone number of the facility where the 

motor vehicle is being stored. Notification to the storage facility 

shall include the name, address, and, if available, telephone 

number of the motor vehicle's owner. Proof of mailing, as defined 

in Rule .0430 of this Section, shall serve as the proof that the 

notification required by this Rule occurred. 

(n)  No insurance company shall abandon the salvage of a total 

loss motor vehicle to a towing or storage service without the 

consent of the service involved. 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-63-65. 58-63-65; 20-279.2; 20-

279.21. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0419 MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR 

ESTIMATES 

The commissioner shall consider as prima facie violative of G.S. 

58-63-15(11) the failure by an insurer to adhere to the following 

procedures concerning repair estimates on covered motor vehicle 

damage claims submitted when such failure is so frequent as to 

indicate a general business practice: 

(1) If the insurer requires the claimant to obtain 

more than two estimates of property damage, 

the cost, if any, of such additional estimates 

shall be borne by the insurer. 

(2) No insurer shall refuse to inspect the damaged 

vehicle if a personal inspection is requested by 

the claimant. However, if the damaged vehicle 

is situated other than where it is normally used 

or cannot easily be moved, the insurer may 

satisfy the requirements of this Section by 

having a competent local appraiser inspect the 

damaged vehicle. 

(3) When the insurer elects to have the claimant's 

property repaired, the insurer shall, if so 

requested by the claimant, furnish the claimant 

with a legible front and back copy of its 

estimate. This estimate shall contain the name 

and address of the insurer and, if the estimate 

was prepared by a repair service, the name and 

address of that service. If there is a dispute 

concerning pre-existing damage to the vehicle 

which the insurer does not intend to have 

repaired, the extent of such damage shall be 

clearly stated in the estimate. 

(4) If requested by a claimant, an insurer shall 

provide to the claimant copies of the estimate 
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and all supplements thereto that it uses to offer 

a settlement. 

(a)  The Commissioner shall consider as prima facie violative of 

G.S. 58-63-15(11) the failure by an insurance company to adhere 

to the procedures in this Rule concerning repair estimates on 

covered motor vehicle damage claims when the failure is so 

frequent as to indicate a general business practice. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following terms shall mean: 

(1) "Digital Inspection" means an inspection of a 

damaged motor vehicle conducted by using 

digital photographs, videos or other digital 

evidence through an electronic processing 

system authorized by an insurer. 

(2) "Licensed Motor Vehicle Damage Appraiser" 

means an individual who is licensed as a motor 

vehicle damage appraiser pursuant to Article 33 

of Chapter 58 of the N.C. General Statutes or is 

licensed in another state whose licensing 

requirements are substantially similar to or 

exceed those established under that Article. 

(3) "Physical Inspection" means an inspection of a 

damaged motor vehicle conducted in person by 

an insurer's representative. 

(c)  When a motor vehicle is damaged, and the claim is either 

covered by an insurer for a first-party claim or liability is 

established for a third-party claim, the insurer shall adhere to the 

following procedures concerning repair estimates: 

(1) If the insurer requires the claimant to obtain 

more than two estimates of property damage, 

any cost of the additional estimate(s) shall be 

paid by the insurer. 

(2) An insurer shall perform a physical or digital 

inspection of the damaged vehicle within 10 

business days. If the insurer cannot perform the 

inspection in the timeframe, the insurer shall 

provide the claimant with a verbal or written 

explanation of the reason the inspection has not 

occurred. The reason for the delay shall be 

documented in writing within the claim file. 

(3) No insurer shall refuse to perform a physical 

inspection of the damaged vehicle if requested 

by the claimant. 

(4) The insurer may satisfy the inspection 

requirements of this Rule by having a licensed 

motor vehicle damage appraiser conduct the 

inspection of the damaged vehicle. 

(5) An insurer shall provide a verbal or written 

explanation to the claimant if there is any delay 

in responding to a request for a supplemental 

inspection. The reason for the delay shall be 

documented in writing in the claim file. 

(6) An insurer shall, upon request, provide copies 

of the original estimate and all supplemental 

estimates to the claimant. 

(7) When the insurer elects to have the damaged 

vehicle repaired, the insurer shall, upon request 

of the claimant, furnish the claimant with a 

copy of its estimate. This estimate shall contain 

the name and address of the insurer and, if the 

estimate was prepared by someone other than 

the insurer, the name and address of the person 

preparing the estimate. If there is a dispute 

concerning pre-existing damage to the vehicle 

that the insurer does not intend to have repaired, 

the extent of such damage shall be stated in the 

estimate. 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-63-65. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0421 HANDLING OF LOSS AND 

CLAIM PAYMENTS 

The commissioner shall consider as prima facie violative of G.S. 

58-3-100 and 58-63-15(11) failure by an insurer to adhere to the 

following procedures concerning loss and claim payments when 

such failure is so frequent as to indicate a general business 

practice: 

(a)  The Commissioner shall consider the failure by an insurer to 

adhere to the procedures in this Rule concerning loss and claim 

payments as prima facie evidence violation of G.S. 58-63-15(11) 

when such failure is so frequent as to indicate a general business 

practice. 

(b)  When a motor vehicle is damaged and the claim is covered by 

an insurer, the insurer shall adhere to the following procedures 

concerning loss and claim payments. 

(1) Loss and claim payments shall be mailed or 

otherwise delivered within 10 business days 

after the claim is settled. 

(2) Unless the insured consents, no insurer shall 

deduct premiums owed by the insured on a 

policy from a loss or claim payment made under 

one policy premiums owed by the insured on 

another policy. 

(3) No insurer shall withhold the entire amount of 

a loss or claim payment because the insured 

owes premium or other monies in an amount 

less than the loss or claim payment. 

(4) If a release or full payment of claim is executed 

by a claimant, claimant involving a repair to a 

motor vehicle, it shall not bar the right of the 

claimant to promptly assert a claim for property 

damages unknown to either the claimant or to 

the insurance carrier prior to the repair of the 

motor vehicle vehicle, which if the damages 

were directly caused by the accident and which 

damages could not be determined or known 

until after the repair or attempted repair of the 

motor vehicle. Claims asserted within 30 days 

after repair shall be considered promptly 

asserted. vehicle. This claim must be asserted 

within the statute of limitations set forth in G.S. 

1-52(16). 

(5) If a release or full payment of claim is executed 

by a third party third-party claimant, claimant 

involving a repair to a motor vehicle, it shall not 

bar the right of the third party third-party 

claimant to promptly assert a claim for 

diminished value, which diminished value 

diminution in fair market value pursuant to G.S. 
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20-279.21(d1) was directly caused by the 

accident and which diminished value could not 

be determined or known until after the repair or 

attempted repair of the motor vehicle. Claims 

asserted within 30 days after repair for 

diminished value shall be considered promptly 

asserted. vehicle. This claim must be asserted 

within the statute of limitations set forth in G.S. 

1-52(16). 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, "diminution in fair market value" 

shall be as defined in 11 NCAC 06A .1001. 

(d)  If a claim for diminution in fair market value is asserted 

pursuant to this Rule and G.S. 20-279.21(d1), the written 

appraisal reports prepared by each appraiser shall be exchanged 

with the other party. 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-100; 58-63-65. 58-63-65; 20-279.2. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0425 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Section the following terms shall be construed as 

follows: 

(1) "After market part" means a part made by a 

nonoriginal manufacturer. 

(2) "Claimant" means a first-party or third-party 

claimant. 

(3) "Diminution in Fair Market Value," as that term 

is used in G.S. 20-279.21, means the difference 

in the fair market value of the vehicle 

immediately before the accident and after any 

repairs made to the vehicle as a result of the 

accident have been completed. 

(4) "Disinterested appraiser," as that term is used in 

G.S. 20-279.21, means a motor vehicle damage 

appraiser who: 

(a) Is not employed by either the claimant 

or the insurer; 

(b) Has no financial interest in the 

outcome of the appraisal; and 

(c) Did not participate in the original 

appraisal. 

(5) "First-Party Claimant" means a person that is 

making a claim on an insurance policy in which 

they are the insured party. 

(2)(6) "Insurer" means as defined in G.S. 58-1-5(3), 

and includes any person authorized by the 

insurer to represent the insurer with respect to a 

claim and who is acting within the scope of the 

person's authority. 

(3)(7) "Nonoriginal manufacturer" means any 

manufacturer other than the original 

manufacturer of a part. 

(4)(8) "Part" means a sheet metal or plastic part that 

generally is a component of the exterior of a 

motor vehicle, including an inner or outer 

panel. vehicle. 

(9) "Third-Party Claimant" means a person that is 

making a claim on an insurance policy in which 

they are not the insured party. 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 20-279.2; 20-279.21. 

 

CHAPTER 06 - AGENT SERVICES DIVISION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06A - AGENT SERVICES DIVISION 

 

SECTION .1000 - MOTOR VEHICLE DAMAGE 

APPRAISERS 

 

11 NCAC 06A .1001 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Section, the following terms shall mean: 

(1) "Claimant" means as defined in 11 NCAC 04 

.0425. 

(2) "Motor vehicle damage appraiser" means as 

defined in G.S. 58-33-10(14). 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-40. 

 

11 NCAC 06A .1002 ETHICAL STANDARDS 

(a)  Every licensed motor vehicle damage appraiser, when 

conducting business, shall: 

(1) identify himself or herself and his or her job 

title; 

(2) when requested, provide his or her National 

Producer Number, and the Department's 

website address and phone number for 

verification of license status; 

(3) prepare an independent appraisal of damages; 

and 

(4) comply with all local, State, and federal laws, 

in the motor vehicle damage appraiser's 

business affairs. 

(b)  Every licensed motor vehicle damage appraiser shall refrain 

from: 

(1) disparaging the professional reputation of a 

motor vehicle damage appraiser or other 

persons associated with the claim; 

(2) recommending the utilization of a particular 

motor vehicle repair service without informing 

the claimant that he or she is under no 

obligation to use the recommended repair 

service and that he or she may use the service 

of his choice; 

(3) recommending a claimant needing repairs or 

other services in connection with a loss to any 

person with whom the motor vehicle damage 

appraiser has a financial interest or who 

provides the motor vehicle damage appraiser 

any compensation for the referral or any 

resulting business; 

(4) impeding the appraisal process or the settlement 

of a property damage claim; 

(5) receiving any gratuity or other consideration in 

connection with his or her appraisal services 

except from his or her employer or, if self-

employed, his or her customer; 

(6) advising or recommending a claimant to obtain 

or not obtain legal advice or counsel from a 

particular legal counsel; 
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(7) giving legal advice on property damage claims 

in violation of G.S. 84-4; 

(8) solicit a power of attorney from a consumer that 

authorizes the motor vehicle damage appraiser 

to sign insurance-related forms; 

(9) attempting to influence a magistrate in the 

selection of an umpire pursuant to G.S. 20-

279.21(d1), including using influence through a 

client or claimant; 

(10) engaging in the salvage of automobiles if the 

salvage is obtained as a result of appraisal 

services rendered by the motor vehicle damage 

appraiser; and 

(11) act in any manner outside the scope of a motor 

vehicle damage appraiser, as set forth in 

Chapter 58, Article 33 of the General Statutes. 

(c)  Pursuant to G.S. 58-2-70 and G.S. 58-33-46, the 

Commissioner may consider the failure of a licensed motor 

vehicle damage appraiser to comply with this Rule as a basis for 

administrative action. 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-40. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Insurance intends to amend the rule cited as 11 

NCAC 10 .0602. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdoi.gov/insurance-industry/rules-and-rules-

review 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 14, 2020 

Time:  11:00 a.m. 

Location:  1st Floor Hearing Room, Room 131 (Albemarle 

Building) located at 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This rule is being amended to 

include necessary language regarding Worker's Compensation 

and Employers' Liability Insurance. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Loretta Peace-Bunch, NC 

Department of Insurance, 1201 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1201; phone (919) 807-6004; email loretta.peace-

bunch@ncdoi.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  February 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - PROPERTY AND CASUALTY DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0600 - CONSENT TO RATE 

 

11 NCAC 10 .0602 CONSENT TO RATE 

PROCEDURES: RATE BUREAU COVERAGES 

(a)  Automobile Physical Damage, Excess Motor Vehicle 

Liability Coverage and Residential Property With Not More than 

Four Housing Units. Insurers may charge a premium in excess of 

that promulgated by the North Carolina Rate Bureau by instituting 

a consent to rate procedure that meets the requirements of G.S. 

58-36-30(b), (b1) and this Rule. 

(b)  Residential Property With Not More than Four Housing Units: 

(1) The premium to be charged against loss to 

residential property with not more than four 

housing units shall be presumed reasonable if it 

does not exceed 250 percent of the premium 

based upon the approved rates in North 

Carolina. 

(2) Any proposed premium in excess of 250 

percent of the premium based upon the 

approved rates in North Carolina shall be filed 

with the Commissioner for his review and 

approval in accordance with the procedures set 

forth in G.S. 58-36-30(a).  

(c)  Workers' Compensation and Employers' Liability Insurance. 

An initial (first time) application to effect consent to rate, pursuant 

to G.S. 58-36-30(c), for workers' compensation or employers' 

liability insurance in excess of the rate promulgated by the North 

Carolina Rate Bureau, shall contain the following: 

(1) a description of the insurance proposed, 

including primary and excess limits, the amount 

of coverage, the deductible, and any other 

factor used for rating, where applicable; 

(2) the rate and premium that would be charged 

without application of consent to rate; 

(3) the proposed rate and premium; 

(4) the percent increase. The rate to be charged 

shall be presumed reasonable if it does not 

exceed 250 percent of the rate that would be 

charged without application of consent to rate. 
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Any proposed rate in excess of 250 percent 

must be explained fully and shall be subject to 

review and approval of the Commissioner; 

(5) the names and addresses of the insurer, the 

writing agent, and the insured; 

(6) the effective date of the proposed rate; 

(7) the policy period; 

(8) the policy number; and 

(9) a letter signed by the insured acknowledging 

and consenting to the proposed rate. If coverage 

for the specific risk written on consent to rate is 

available through a residual market (North 

Carolina Workers Compensation Insurance 

Plan), a statement signed by the insured 

acknowledging that fact must also be executed. 

This letter shall be retained in the insurer's 

office and be made available to the 

Commissioner upon request. 

The insurer is not required to obtain the written consent of the 

insured on any renewal of or endorsement to the policy if the 

policy renewal or endorsement states that the rates are greater than 

those rates that are applicable in the State of North Carolina. 

(c)(d)  All records generated under G.S. 58-36-30(b), (b1)(b1), (c) 

and this Rule shall be maintained in accordance with the 

requirements of 11 NCAC 19 .0100. 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-40(1); 58-36-30(b). 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Environmental Management 

Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02N 

.0406; 02O .0101, .0102, repeal the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02O 

.0103, .0311-.0316, readopt with substantive changes the rules 

cited as 15A NCAC 02N .0203, .0301, .0303, .0304, .0504, .0901-

.0907; 02O .0203, .0204, .0302, .0304, .0308, .0402, .0503, .0504, 

readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

02N .0201, .0202, .0302, .0401-.0405, .0501-.0503, .0505, .0506, 

.0601-.0604, .0701-.0708, .0801-.0805, and repeal through 

readoption the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02O .0201, .0202, .0301, 

.0303, .0305- .0307, .0401, .0501, and .0502. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-main 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 14, 2020 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  Green Square Building, Room 1210, 217 West Jones 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The rule changes to 15A NCAC 

02N are necessary to implement legislative requirements in SL 

2018-114, incorporate input from stakeholders, and make 

technical corrections such as: formatting of rule text; updating 

websites; adding clarifying language; deleting sampling methods, 

industry standards and codes of practice, and other standard 

procedures that were no longer relevant and replacing them with 

those that are current; deleting unnecessary language and 

obsolete rules; and correcting grammar, cross-references, 

inconsistencies, authorities, etc., and as part of the readoption of 

the 15A NCAC 02N rules as required by G.S 150B-21.3A 

(Periodic Review of Existing Rules). 

The rule changes to 15A  NCAC 020 are necessary to make 

technical corrections such as:  formatting of rule text; updating 

websites; adding clarifying language; deleting unnecessary 

language and obsolete rules; and correcting grammar, cross-

references, inconsistencies, authorities, etc. and as part of the 

readoption of the 15A NCAC 02O rules as required by G.S. 150B-

21.3A (Periodic Review of Existing Rules). 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Andria Merritt, 

NCDEQ/DWM/UST Section, 1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 

NC 27699-1646; phone (919) 707-8157; fax (919) 715-1117; 

email andria.merritt@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  February 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02N - UNDERGROUND STORAGE 

TANKS 
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SECTION .0200 - PROGRAM SCOPE AND INTERIM 

PROHIBITION 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0201 APPLICABILITY 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0202 INSTALLATION 

REQUIREMENTS FOR PARTIALLY EXCLUDED UST 

SYSTEMS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0203 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  The regulations governing "Definitions" set forth in 40 CFR 

280.12 (Subpart A) are hereby incorporated by reference, 

reference excluding any subsequent amendments and editions, 

except that: 

(1) 40 CFR 280.12 "UST system" shall be changed 

to read "'UST system' or 'Tank system' means 

an underground storage tank, connected 

underground piping, underground ancillary 

equipment, dispenser, and containment system, 

if any"; 

(2) 40 CFR 280.12 "Class A operator" shall not be 

incorporated by reference; 

(3) 40 CFR 280.12 "Class B operator" shall not be 

incorporated by reference; 

(4) 40 CFR 280.12 "Class C operator" shall not be 

incorporated by reference; 

(5) 40 CFR 280.12 "Replaced" shall not be 

incorporated by reference; and 

(6) 40 CFR 280.12 "Secondary containment or 

secondarily contained" shall not be 

incorporated by reference. 

(b)  This Rule shall apply throughout this Subchapter except that: 

(1) "Implementing agency" shall mean the 

"Division of Waste Management." 

(2) "Division" shall mean the "Division of Waste 

Management." 

(3) "Director" and "Director of the Implementing 

Agency" shall mean the "Director of the 

Division of Waste Management." 

(c)(b)  The following definitions shall apply throughout this 

Subchapter: 

(1) "De minimis concentration" means the amount 

of a regulated substance that does not exceed 

one percent (1%) of the capacity of a tank, 

excluding piping and vent lines. 

(2) "Director" and "Director of the Implementing 

Agency" shall mean the "Director of the 

Division of Waste Management." 

(3) "Division" shall mean the "Division of Waste 

Management." 

(2)(4) "Expeditiously emptied after use" means the 

removal of a regulated substance from an 

emergency spill or overflow containment UST 

system within 48 hours after use of the UST 

system has ceased. 

(5) "Implementing agency" shall mean the 

"Division of Waste Management." 

(3)(6) "Previously closed" means: 

(A) An UST system from which all 

regulated substances had been 

removed, the tank had been filled with 

a solid inert material, and tank 

openings had been sealed or capped 

prior to December 22, 1988; or 

(B) An UST system removed from the 

ground prior to December 22, 1988. 

(4)(7) "Temporarily closed" means: 

(A) An UST system from which the 

product has been removed such that 

not more than one inch of product and 

residue are present in any portion of 

the tank; or 

(B) Any UST system in use as of 

December 22, 1988 that complies with 

the provisions of 15A NCAC 02N 

.0801. Rule .0801 of this Subchapter. 

(5)(8) "Secondary containment" means a method or 

combination of methods of release detection for 

UST systems that includes: 

(A) For tank installations or replacements 

completed prior to November 1, 2007, 

double-walled construction and 

external liners (including vaults); 

liners, including vaults; 

(B) For underground piping installations 

or replacements completed prior to 

November 1, 2007, trench liners and 

double-walled construction; 

(C) For tank installations or replacements 

completed on or after November 1, 

2007, double-walled construction and 

interstitial release detection 

monitoring that meet the requirements 

of Section .0900 of this Subchapter; 

and 

(D) For all other UST system component 

installations or replacements 

completed on or after November 1, 

2007, double-walled construction or 

containment within a liquid-tight 

sump and interstitial release detection 

monitoring that meet the requirements 

of Section .0900 of this Subchapter. 

Upon written request, the Division 

shall approve other methods of 

secondary containment for connected 

piping that it determines are capable of 

meeting the requirements of Section 

.0900 of this Subchapter. 

(6)(9) "Interstitial space" means the opening formed 

between the inner and outer wall of an UST 

system with double-walled construction or the 

opening formed between the inner wall of a 

containment sump and the UST system 

component that it contains. 
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(7)(10) "Replace" means to remove an UST system or 

UST system component and to install another 

UST system or UST system component in its 

place. 

(8)(11) "UST system component or tank system 

component" means any part of an UST system. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(a)(2)(h). 150B-21.6. 

 

SECTION .0300 - UST SYSTEMS: DESIGN, 

CONSTRUCTION, INSTALLATION, AND 

NOTIFICATION 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0301 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

FOR UST SYSTEM INSTALLATIONS OR 

REPLACEMENTS COMPLETED AFTER DECEMBER 

22, 1988 AND BEFORE NOVEMBER 1, 2007 

(a)  The regulations governing "Performance standards for new 

UST systems" set forth in 40 CFR 280.20 (Subpart B) are hereby 

incorporated by reference, reference excluding any subsequent 

amendments and editions, except that: 

(1) 40 CFR 280.20(a)(4) shall not be incorporated 

by reference; 

(2) 40 CFR 280.20(b)(3) shall not be incorporated 

by reference; and 

(3) UST system or UST system component 

installations or replacements completed on or 

after November 1, 2007, shall also meet the 

requirements of Section .0900 of this 

Subchapter. Subchapter; and 

(4) Note to Paragraph (d) of 40 CFR 280.20 is 

amended to include Petroleum Equipment 

Institute Publication RP1000, "Recommended 

Practices for the Installation of Marina Fueling 

Systems." 

(b)  No UST system shall be installed within 100 feet of a well 

serving a public water system, as defined in G.S. 130A-313(10), 

or within 50 feet of any other well supplying water for human 

consumption. 

(c)  An UST system existing on January 1, 1991, and located 

within the area described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule may be 

replaced with a new tank meeting the performance standards of 

40 CFR 280.20 and the secondary containment provisions of 40 

CFR 280.42(a) through (d). The replacement UST system shall 

not be located nearer to the water supply source than the UST 

system being replaced. 

(d)  Except as prohibited in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, an UST 

system shall meet the requirements for secondary containment 

described at 40 CFR 280.42(a) through (d): 

(1) Within 500 feet of a well serving a public water 

supply or within 100 feet of any other well 

supplying water for human consumption; or 

(2) Within 500 feet of any surface water classified 

as High Quality Water (HQW), Waters (HQW); 

Outstanding Resource water (ORW), Waters 

(ORW); WS-I, WS-II or SA. Water Supply I – 

Natural (WS-I); Water Supply II – 

Undeveloped; Market Shellfishing, Salt Water 

(SA). 

(e)  An UST system or UST system component installation 

completed on or after November 1, 2007, to replace an UST 

system or UST system component located within the areas 

described in Paragraphs (b), (c), or (d) of this Rule shall meet the 

requirements of Section .0900 of this Subchapter. 

(f)  40 CFR 280.20 Note to paragraph (d) is amended to include 

Petroleum Equipment Institute Publication RP1000, 

"Recommended Practices for the Installation of Marina Fueling 

Systems." 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(a)(2)(h). 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0302 UPGRADING OF EXISTING UST 

SYSTEMS AFTER DECEMBER 22, 1998 AND BEFORE 

NOVEMBER 1, 2007 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0303 NOTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

The regulations governing "Notification requirements" set forth 

in 40 CFR 280.22 (Subpart B) are hereby incorporated by 

reference, reference excluding any subsequent amendments and 

editions, except that: 

(1) Owners and operators of an UST system shall 

submit to the Division, on forms provided by 

the Division, a notice of intent to conduct any 

of the following activities: 

(a) notice of installation of a new UST 

system or UST system component 

shall be in accordance with Rule .0902 

of this Subchapter; 

(b) notice of installation of a leak 

detection device installed outside of 

the outermost wall of the tank and 

piping, such as vapor detection or 

groundwater monitoring devices, shall 

be given at least 30 days before the 

activity begins. The notice shall be 

provided on form "UST-8 Notification 

of Activities Involving Underground 

Storage Tank Systems," which may be 

accessed free of charge at 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/wast

e-management/underground-storage-

tanks-section/forms. Form "UST-8 

Notification of Activities Involving 

Underground Storage Tank Systems" 

shall include: 

(i) the same information 

provided in Appendix I to 40 

CFR 280, except that 

Sections X (2) and (3), and 

Section XI shall not be 

included on the form; 

(ii) operator identification and 

contact information; 

(iii) number of tank 

compartments and tank 
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compartment identity, 

capacity, and product stored; 

(iv) identity of tanks that are 

manifold together with 

piping; 

(v) stage I Vapor Recovery 

equipment type and 

installation date; 

(vi) corrosion protection methods 

for metal flexible connectors, 

submersible pumps, and riser 

pipes;  

(vii) UST system and UST system 

component installation date, 

manufacturer, model, and 

leak detection monitoring 

method; 

(viii) spill containment equipment 

installation date, 

manufacturer, model, and 

leak detection monitoring 

method; 

(ix) overfill prevention 

equipment installation date, 

manufacturer, and model; 

and 

(x) leak detection equipment 

manufacturer and model; 

(c) notice of permanent closure or 

change-in-service of an UST system 

shall be given at least 30 days before 

the activity begins, unless a North 

Carolina Professional Engineer or 

North Carolina Licensed Geologist 

retained by the owner or operator to 

provide professional services for the 

tank closure or change-in-service 

submits the notice. A North Carolina 

Professional Engineer or North 

Carolina Licensed Geologist may 

submit the notice at least five business 

days before the activity begins. begins. 

The notice shall be provided on form 

"UST-3 Notice of Intent: UST 

Permanent Closure or Change-in-

Service," which may be accessed free 

of charge at 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/wast

e-management/underground-storage-

tanks-section/forms. Form "UST-3 

Notice of Intent: UST Permanent 

Closure or Change-in-Service" shall 

include: 

(i) owner identification and 

contact information; 

(ii) site location information; 

(iii) site contact information; 

(iv) contractor and consultant 

identification and contact 

information; 

(v) identity of UST systems to be 

permanently closed or that 

will undergo a change-in-

service; 

(vi) for permanent closure, the 

proposed method of UST 

System closure – removal or 

fill in-place; 

(vii) for a change-in-service, the 

new contents to be stored; 

(viii) proposed UST system 

closure or change-in-service 

date; and 

(ix) signature of UST system 

owner; 

(d) notice of a change of ownership of a 

UST system pursuant to 40 CFR 

280.22(b) shall be provided on form 

"UST-15 Change of Ownership of 

UST System(s)," which may be 

accessed free of charge at 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/wast

e-management/underground-storage-

tanks-section/forms. Form "UST-15 

Change of Ownership of UST 

System(s)" shall include: 

(i) the same information 

provided in Appendix II to 40 

CFR 280; 

(ii) site location information; 

(iii) notarized signature of the 

new owner of an UST 

system; 

(iv) name and notarized signature 

of the previous owner of an 

UST system; and 

(v) appended information shall 

include documentation of an 

UST system ownership 

transfer such as a property 

deed or bill of sale and for a 

sale. A person signing the 

form on behalf of another, 

another shall provide 

documentation they can 

legally sign in such capacity, 

such as an officer of a 

corporation, administrator of 

an estate, representative of a 

public agency, or as having 

power of attorney, 

documentation showing that 

the person can legally sign in 

such capacity. attorney. 

(2) Owners and operators of UST systems that 

were in the ground on or after May 8, 1986, 
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were required to notify the Division in 

accordance with the Hazardous and Solid 

Waste Amendments of 1984, Public Law 

98-616, on a form published by the 

Environmental Protection Agency on 

November 8, 1985 (50-FR 46602) 46602), 

unless notice was given pursuant to Section 

103(c) of CERCLA. Owners or operators who 

have not complied with the notification 

requirements shall complete the appropriate 

form "UST-8 Notification of Activities 

Involving Underground Storage Tank Systems" 

and submit the form to the Division. 

(3) Beginning October 24, 1988, any person who 

sells a tank intended to be used as an UST shall 

notify the purchaser of such tank of the owner's 

notification obligations under Item (1) of this 

Rule. 

(4) Any reference in 40 CFR Part 280 to the 

notification form in Appendix I shall refer to the 

North Carolina notification form "UST-8 

Notification of Activities Involving 

Underground Storage Tank Systems". 

Systems." 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(a)(2)(h). 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0304 IMPLEMENTATION 

SCHEDULE FOR PERFORMANCE STANDARDS FOR 

NEW UST SYSTEMS AND UPGRADING 

REQUIREMENTS FOR EXISTING UST SYSTEMS 

LOCATED IN AREAS DEFINED IN RULE .0301(D) 

(a)  The following implementation schedule shall apply only to 

owners and operators of UST systems located within areas 

described in Rule .0301(d) of this Section. This implementation 

schedule shall govern tank owners and operators in complying 

with the secondary containment requirements set forth in Rule 

.0301(d) of this Section for new UST systems and the secondary 

containment requirements set forth in Rule .0302(a) of this 

Section for existing UST systems. 

(1) All new UST systems and replacements to an 

UST system shall be provided with secondary 

containment as of April 1, 2001. 

(2) All steel or metal connected piping and 

ancillary equipment of an UST, regardless of 

date of installation, shall be provided with 

secondary containment as of January 1, 2005. 

(3) All fiberglass or non-metal connected piping 

and ancillary equipment of an UST, regardless 

of date of installation, shall be provided with 

secondary containment as of January 1, 2008. 

(4) All UST systems installed on or before January 

1, 1991 shall be provided with secondary 

containment as of January 1, 2008. 

(5) All USTs installed after January 1, 1991, and 

prior to April 1, 2001, shall be provided with 

secondary containment as of January 1, 2020. 

Owners of USTs located within 100 to 500 feet 

of a public water supply well, if the well serves 

only a single facility and is not a community 

water system, may seek a variance in 

accordance with Paragraphs (d) through (i) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  All owners and operators of UST systems shall implement the 

following enhanced leak detection monitoring as of April 1, 2001. 

The enhanced leak detection monitoring shall consist of the 

following: 

(1) An automatic tank gauging system for each 

UST; 

(2) An electronic line leak detector for each 

pressurized piping system; 

(3) One 0.1 gallon per hour (gph) test per month or 

one 0.2 gph test per week on each UST system; 

(4) A line tightness test capable of detecting a leak 

rate of 0.1 gph, once per year for each suction 

piping system. No release detection shall be 

required for suction piping that is designed and 

constructed in accordance with 40 CFR 

280.41(b)(1)(ii)(A) through (E); 

(5) If the UST system is located within 500 feet of 

a public water supply well or within 100 feet of 

any other well supplying water for human 

consumption, owners or operators shall sample 

the water supply well at least once per year. The 

sample collected from the well shall be 

characterized in accordance with: 

(A) Standard Method 6200B, Volatile 

Organic Compounds Purge and Trap 

Capillary-Column Gas 

Chromatographic/Mass Spectrometric 

Method, which is incorporated by 

reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and may be 

obtained at 

http://www.standardmethods.org/ at a 

cost of sixty-nine dollars ($69.00); 

seventy-five dollars ($75.00); 

(B) EPA Method 625, 625.1, 

Base/Neutrals and Acids, which is 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions, 

and may be accessed free of charge at 

http://water.epa.gov/scitech/methods/

cwa/organics/upload/2007_07_10_me

thods_method_ organics_625.pdf; and 

(C) If a waste oil UST system is present 

that does not meet the requirements for 

secondary containment in accordance 

with 40 CFR 280.42(b)(1) through (4), 

the sample shall also be analyzed for 

lead and chromium using Method 

6010C, 6010D, Inductively Coupled 

Plasma-Atomic Plasma-Optical 

Emission Spectrometry, which is 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions, 

and may be accessed free of charge at 

http://www.epa.gov/epawaste/hazard/
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testmethods/sw846/pdfs/6010c.pdf 

https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/

files/2015-12/documents/6010d.pdf 

or Method 6020A, 6020B, Inductively 

Coupled Plasma-Mass Spectrometry, 

which is incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions, and may be accessed free of 

charge at 

http://www.epa.gov/epawaste/hazard/

testmethods/sw846/pdfs/6020a.pdf; 

https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/

files/2015-12/documents/6020b.pdf; 

and 

(6) The first sample collected in accordance with 

Subparagraph (b)(5) of this Rule shall be 

collected and the results received by the 

Division by October 1, 2000, and yearly 

thereafter. 

(c)  An UST system or UST system component installation 

completed on or after November 1, 2007, to upgrade or replace an 

UST system or UST system component as required in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule shall meet the performance standards of Section 

.0900 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  The Environmental Management Commission may grant a 

variance from the secondary containment requirements in 

Subparagraph (a)(5) of this Rule for USTs located within 100 to 

500 feet of a public water supply well if the well serves only a 

single facility and is not a community water system. Any request 

for a variance shall be in writing by the owner of the UST for 

which the variance is sought. The request for variance shall be 

submitted to the Director, Division of Waste Management, 1646 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1646. The 

Environmental Management Commission shall grant the variance 

if the Environmental Management Commission finds facts to 

support the following conclusions: 

(1) The variance will not endanger human health 

and welfare or groundwater; and 

(2) UST systems are operated and maintained in 

compliance with 40 CFR Part 280, Article 21A 

of G.S. 143B, and the rules in this Subchapter. 

(e)  The Environmental Management Commission may require 

the variance applicant to submit such information as the 

Environmental Management Commission deems necessary to 

make a decision to grant or deny the variance. Information that 

may be requested includes the following: 

(1) Water supply well location, depth, construction 

specifications, and sampling results; 

(2) Groundwater depth and flow direction; and 

(3) Leak detection monitoring and testing results. 

(f)  The Environmental Management Commission may impose 

such conditions on a variance as the Environmental Management 

Commission deems necessary to protect human health and 

welfare and groundwater. Conditions for a variance may include 

the following: 

(1) Increased frequency of leak detection and leak 

prevention monitoring and testing; 

(2) Periodic water supply well sampling; and 

(3) Increased reporting and recordkeeping. 

(g)  The findings of fact supporting any variance under this Rule 

shall be in writing and made part of the variance. 

(h)  The Environmental Management Commission may rescind a 

variance that was previously granted if the Environmental 

Management Commission discovers through inspection or 

reporting that the conditions of the variance are not met or that the 

facts no longer support the conclusions in Subparagraphs (d)(1) 

and (2) of this Rule. 

(i)  An owner of an UST system who is aggrieved by a decision 

of the Environmental Management Commission to deny or 

rescind a variance or to conditionally grant a variance may 

commence a contested case by filing a petition pursuant to G.S. 

150B-23 within 60 days after receipt of the decision. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(a)(2)(h). 

 

SECTION .0400 - GENERAL OPERATING 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0401 SPILL AND OVERFILL 

CONTROL (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0402 OPERATION AND 

MAINTENANCE OF CORROSION PROTECTION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0403 COMPATIBILITY 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0404 REPAIRS ALLOWED 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0405 REPORTING AND 

RECORDKEEPING (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0406 PERIODIC TESTING OF SPILL 

PREVENTION EQUIPMENT AND CONTAINMENT 

SUMPS USED FOR INTERSTITIAL MONITORING OF 

PIPING AND PERIODIC INSPECTION OF OVERFILL 

PREVENTION EQUIPMENT 

The regulations governing "Periodic testing of spill prevention 

equipment and containment sumps used for interstitial monitoring 

of piping and periodic inspection of overfill prevention 

equipment" set forth in 40 CFR 280.35 (Subpart C) are hereby 

incorporated by reference, reference excluding any subsequent 

amendments and editions, except that that: 

(1) UST system or UST system component 

installations or replacements completed on or 

after November 1, 2007, shall meet the 

requirements of Section .0900 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) 40 CFR 280.35(a)(1)(ii)(C) shall be rewritten as 

follows: (C) Requirements determined by the 

US Environmental Protection Agency or the 

Division to be no less protective of human 

health and the environment than the 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 16, 2019 

1122 

requirements listed in Paragraphs (a)(1)(ii)(A) 

and (B) of this section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(a)(2)(h). 150B-21.6. 

 

SECTION .0500 - RELEASE DETECTION 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0501 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ALL UST SYSTEMS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0502 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

PETROLEUM UST SYSTEMS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0503 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCE UST SYSTEMS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0504 METHODS OF RELEASE 

DETECTION FOR TANKS 

(a)  The regulations governing "Methods of release detection for 

tanks" set forth in 40 CFR 280.43 (Subpart D) are hereby 

incorporated by reference, reference excluding any subsequent 

amendments and editions, except that 40 CFR 280.43(f)(3), (f)(4), 

and (f)(5) shall not be adopted by reference. 

(b)  Wells used for monitoring or testing for free product in the 

groundwater shall be: 

(1) Located as follows: located: 

(A) for new installations, within and at the 

end of the excavation having the 

lowest elevation and along piping at 

intervals not exceeding 50 feet; or 

(B) for existing installations, in the 

excavation zone or as near to it as 

technically feasible and installed in a 

borehole at least four inches larger 

than the diameter of the casing; 

(2) A a minimum of two inches in diameter. 

diameter; 

(3) The number of wells installed shall be sufficient 

to detect releases from the UST system; 

installed such that a release from any portion of 

the UST will be detected; 

(3)(4) Equipped equipped with a screen that extends 

from two feet below land surface to a depth of 

20 feet below land surface or two feet below the 

seasonal low water level, whichever is 

shallower. The screen shall be designed and 

installed to prevent the migration of natural 

soils or filter pack into the well while allowing 

the entry of regulated substances into the well 

under both high and low groundwater level 

conditions; 

(4)(5) Surrounded surrounded with clean sand or 

gravel to the top of the screen, plugged and 

grouted the remaining distance to finished 

grade with cement grout; 

(5)(6) Constructed constructed of a permanent casing 

and screen material that is inert to the stored 

substance and is corrosion resistant; 

(6)(7) Developed developed upon completion of 

installation until the water is clear and sediment 

free; 

(7)(8) Protected protected with a water-tight cover and 

lockable cap; 

(8)(9) Labeled labeled as a liquid monitor well; and 

(9)(10) Equipped equipped with a liquid leak detection 

device continuously operating on an 

uninterrupted basis; or 

(A) For tanks storing petroleum products, 

tested at least once every 14 days with 

a device or hydrocarbon-sensitive 

paste capable of detecting the liquid 

stored; or 

(B) For tanks storing hazardous 

substances, sampled and tested at least 

once every 14 days for the presence of 

the stored substance. 

(c)  Wells used for monitoring or testing for free product in the 

groundwater at new installations and constructed in accordance 

with Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be deemed to be permitted in 

accordance with the requirements of 15A NCAC 02C .0105. 

(d)  Any person completing or abandoning any well used for 

testing of vapors or monitoring for free product in the 

groundwater shall submit the record report required by 15A 

NCAC 02C .0114(b). 

(e)  Wells used for monitoring for the presence of vapors in the 

soil gas of the excavation zone shall be equipped with a 

continuously operating vapor detection device operating on an 

uninterrupted basis or tested at least once every 14 days for vapors 

of the substance stored. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(a)(2)(h). 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0505 METHODS OF RELEASE 

DETECTION FOR PIPING (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0506 RELEASE DETECTION 

RECORDKEEPING (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0600 - RELEASE REPORTING, 

INVESTIGATION, AND CONFIRMATION 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0601 REPORTING OF SUSPECTED 

RELEASES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0602 INVESTIGATION DUE TO 

OFF-SITE IMPACTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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15A NCAC 02N .0603 RELEASE INVESTIGATION 

AND CONFIRMATION STEPS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0604 REPORTING AND CLEANUP OF 

SPILLS AND OVERFILLS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0700 - RELEASE RESPONSE AND 

CORRECTIVE ACTION FOR UST SYSTEMS 

CONTAINING PETROLEUM OR HAZARDOUS 

SUBSTANCES 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0701 GENERAL (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0702 INITIAL RESPONSE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0703 INITIAL ABATEMENT 

MEASURES AND SITE CHECK (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0704 INITIAL SITE 

CHARACTERIZATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0705 FREE PRODUCT REMOVAL 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0706 INVESTIGATIONS FOR SOIL 

AND GROUNDWATER CLEANUP (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0707 CORRECTIVE ACTION PLAN 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0708 PUBLIC PARTICIPATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0800 - OUT-OF-SERVICE UST SYSTEMS AND 

CLOSURE 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0801 TEMPORARY CLOSURE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0802 PERMANENT CLOSURE AND 

CHANGES-IN-SERVICE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0803 ASSESSING THE SITE AT 

CLOSURE OR CHANGE-IN-SERVICE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0804 APPLICABILITY TO 

PREVIOUSLY CLOSED UST SYSTEMS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0805 CLOSURE RECORDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0900 - PERFORMANCE STANDARDS FOR 

UST SYSTEM OR UST SYSTEM COMPONENT 

INSTALLATION OR REPLACEMENT COMPLETED ON 

OR AFTER NOVEMBER 1, 2007 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0901 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  This Section applies to a UST system or UST system 

component installation or replacement completed on or after 

November 1, 2007. 

(b)  A UST system or UST system component shall not be 

installed or replaced within an area defined at 15A NCAC 02N 

.0301(b). in Rule .0301(b) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  A tank shall meet the requirements for secondary containment 

including interstitial release detection monitoring in accordance 

with this Rule. 

(d)  All UST system components other than tanks including 

connected piping, underground ancillary equipment, dispensers, 

line leak detectors, submersible pumps, spill buckets, siphon bars, 

and remote fill pipes shall meet the requirements for secondary 

containment including interstitial release detection monitoring in 

accordance with this Rule. Spill buckets replaced on tanks 

installed prior to November 1, 2007 may comply with the 

interstitial release detection monitoring requirements described in 

Paragraph (k) of this Rule. Gravity-fed vertical fill pipes, vapor 

recovery, vent lines, and containment sumps are excluded from 

the secondary containment requirements in this Rule. 

(e)  A UST system design is required for installation or 

replacement of a UST system, UST, or connected piping. If 

required by G.S. 89C, UST system designs must be prepared by a 

Professional Engineer licensed by the North Carolina Board of 

Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors. 

[Note: The North Carolina Board of Examiners for Engineers and 

Surveyors has determined via letter dated December 20, 1993, 

that preparation of a UST system design constitutes practicing 

engineering under G.S. 89C.] 

(f)  If required by the equipment manufacturer, persons installing, 

replacing or repairing UST systems or UST system components 

must be trained and certified by the equipment manufacturer or 

the equipment manufacturer's authorized representative to install, 

replace or repair such equipment. 

(g)  UST systems or UST system components shall be installed, 

tested, operated, and maintained in accordance with the 

manufacturer's specifications and the codes of practice, and 

industry standards described at 15A NCAC 02N .0907. in Rule 

.0907 of this Section. 

(h)  UST systems or UST system components shall not be 

installed or replaced in areas where they will be in contact with 

contaminated soil or free product. 

(i)  Secondary containment systems shall be designed, 

constructed, installed and maintained to: 

(1) Detect detect the failure of the inner wall and 

outer wall for UST system components with 

double wall construction; 

(2) Contain contain regulated substances released 

from a UST system until they are detected and 

removed; 
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(3) Prevent prevent a release of regulated 

substances to the environment outside of the 

containment system; 

(4) Direct direct releases to a monitoring point or 

points; 

(5) Provide provide a release detection monitoring 

device or monitoring method for the interstitial 

space; 

(6) Continuously on an uninterrupted basis, 

monitor the inner and outer walls of double-

walled tanks for breaches of integrity using 

pressure, vacuum or hydrostatic monitoring 

methods or monitor the interstitial space of 

double-walled tanks for releases using an 

electronic liquid detecting sensor method along 

with periodic testing as specified in Rule 

.0903(f); .0903(f) of this Section; 

(7) Continuously on an uninterrupted basis, 

monitor the inner and outer walls of double-

walled non-tank components for breaches of 

integrity using pressure, vacuum, or hydrostatic 

methods, or monitor a non-tank component for 

releases by using an electronic liquid detecting 

sensor placed in a containment sump and in the 

interstitial space of a double-walled spill bucket 

along with periodic integrity testing as specified 

in Rules .0904(h), .0905(f), .0904(f), .0905(g) 

and .0906(e); .0906(e) of this Section; and 

(8) Provide provide a printed record of release 

detection monitoring results and an alarm 

history for each month. 

(j)  Electronic liquid detecting sensors used to monitor the 

interstitial space of double-walled tanks and non-tank components 

shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) Electronic liquid detecting sensors used for 

tanks and spill buckets must shall be located at 

the lowest point in the interstitial space. 

Electronic liquid detecting sensors used for 

containment sumps must shall be located as 

specified in Rule .0905(d). .0905(d) of this 

Section. 

(2) A tank must shall have a method to verify that 

an electronic liquid detecting sensor is located 

at the lowest point of the interstitial space. 

Verification of the sensor location must shall be 

available for inspection. 

(3) Electronic liquid detecting sensors must shall 

detect the presence of any liquid in the 

interstitial space and must shall activate an 

alarm when any type of liquid is detected. 

(4) Any liquid detected in the interstitial space 

must be removed within 48 hours of discovery. 

(k)  Spill buckets replaced on tanks installed prior to November 1, 

2007 may use mechanical liquid detecting sensors for interstitial 

leak detection monitoring instead of electronic liquid detecting 

sensors. If a mechanical liquid detecting sensor is used, then a 

spill bucket shall comply with all spill bucket requirements of 

Rule .0906 of this Section except that Subparagraphs (i)(7) and 

(8) of this Rule do not apply. In addition, the following specific 

requirements shall be met: 

(1) mechanical liquid detecting sensors shall be 

located at the lowest point in the interstitial 

space; 

(2) mechanical liquid detecting sensors shall detect 

the presence of any liquid in the interstitial 

space. The presence of liquid shall register on a 

gauge that can be viewed from within the spill 

bucket; 

(3) spill buckets shall be monitored every 30 days. 

The interstitial leak detection monitoring 

results shall be documented for each month; 

(4) any liquid detected in the interstitial space shall 

be removed within 48 hours of discovery; and 

(5) spill buckets shall be integrity tested every three 

years in accordance with Rule .0906(e) of this 

Section. 

(k)(l)  New or replacement dispensers shall be provided with 

under dispenser containment sumps and shall meet the secondary 

containment requirements and performance standards of this 

Rule. 

(l)(m)  All release detection monitoring equipment shall be 

installed, calibrated, operated and maintained in accordance with 

manufacturer's instructions. All release detection monitoring 

equipment shall be checked annually for operability, proper 

operating condition and proper calibration in accordance with the 

manufacturers manufacturer's written guidelines. The results of 

the last annual check must be recorded, maintained at the UST site 

or the tank owner or operator's place of business, and made 

available for inspection. 

(m)(n)  Releases detected in an interstitial space shall be reported 

in accordance with Rule .0601 of this Subchapter and investigated 

in accordance with the manufacturers manufacturer's written 

guidelines. Any changes in the original physical characteristics or 

integrity of a piping system or a containment sump must shall also 

be reported in accordance with Rule .0601 of this Subchapter and 

investigated in accordance with the manufacturer's written 

guidelines. 

(n)(o)  UST systems and UST system components shall also meet 

all of the installation requirements specified in 40 CFR 280.20(c), 

(d) and (e). In addition, overfill prevention equipment shall be 

checked annually inspected at least once every three years for 

operability, proper operating condition and proper calibration in 

accordance with the manufacturer's written guidelines. with: 

(1) written requirements developed by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) a code of practice developed by a nationally 

recognized association or independent testing 

laboratory; or 

(3) requirements determined by the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency or the 

Division to be no less protective of human 

health and the environment than the 

requirements listed in Subparagraph (1) or (2) 

of this Paragraph. At a minimum, the inspection 

must ensure that overfill prevention equipment 

is set to activate at the correct level specified in 
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§40 CFR 280.20(c)(1)(ii) and will activate 

when regulated substance reaches that level. 

The results of the last annual triennial check must shall be 

recorded, maintained at the UST site or the tank owner or 

operator's place of business, and made available for inspection. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(a)(2)(h). 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0902 NOTIFICATION 

(a)  Owners and operators must shall provide notification of 

installation or replacement of an UST system, UST, or connected 

piping to the Division in accordance with 15A NCAC 02N .0303. 

Rule .0303 of this Subchapter. The notice shall also include: 

(1) An UST system design. 

(2) Equipment to be installed including model and 

manufacturer and the materials of construction. 

(3) Device or method to be used to allow piping to 

be located after it is buried underground. 

(4) A site plan drawn to scale showing the proposed 

location of UST systems relative to buildings 

and other permanent structures, roadways, 

utilities, other UST systems, monitoring wells, 

and water supply wells within 500 feet used for 

human consumption within 500 feet. 

consumption. 

(5) A schedule for UST system installation or 

replacement. 

(b)  Owners and operators must shall notify the Division at least 

48 hours prior to the following stages of construction so that the 

Division may perform an inspection of the installation: 

(1) Pre-installation pre-installation tightness 

testing of tanks; and 

(2) Final final tightness testing of piping before it 

is backfilled. 

(c)  Documents showing the following information shall be 

submitted to the Division within 30 days after UST system, UST, 

or connected piping installation or replacement is completed and 

shall be maintained at the UST system site or the owner's or 

operator's place of business for the life of the UST system. These 

records shall be transferred to a new tank owner at the time of a 

transfer of tank ownership: 

(1) Certification from the UST system installer 

containing: 

(A) The the UST system installer's name, 

address and telephone number; 

training and any certification received 

from the manufacturer of the 

equipment that was installed or 

replaced or the equipment 

manufacturer's authorized 

representative including any 

certification number; 

(B) An an as-built diagram drawn to scale 

showing: the name and address of the 

UST system site; the date of UST 

system, UST, or connected piping 

installation or replacement; the 

equipment that was installed including 

model and manufacturer; the 

information described at 15A NCAC 

02N .0903(b); in Rule .0903(c) of this 

Section; the method used to anchor a 

tank in the ground; if the equipment 

has single-walled or double-walled 

construction; the year the piping was 

manufactured and any production 

code; and the device or method used to 

allow piping to be located after it is 

buried underground. The as-built 

diagram shall also show the location of 

the installed or replaced UST systems 

relative to: buildings and other 

permanent structures, utilities, 

monitoring wells and other UST 

systems located at the site; adjacent 

roadways; and water supply wells 

used for human consumption within 

500 feet; 

(C) A a listing of the manufacturer's 

written guidelines, codes of practice, 

and industry standards used for 

installation; and 

(D) A a statement that the UST system was 

installed in accordance with the design 

and the manufacturer's specifications. 

(2) Manufacturer manufacturer warranties; 

(3) Any any equipment performance claims; and 

(4) Records records of all tightness testing 

performed. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(a)(2)(h). 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0903 TANKS 

(a)  Tanks must shall be protected from external corrosion in 

accordance with 40 CFR 280.20(a)(1), (2), (3), or (5). 

(b)  Owners and operators of tanks installed in accordance with 

40 CFR 280.20(a)(2) shall comply with all applicable 

requirements for corrosion protection systems contained in this 

Subchapter. 

(c)  The exterior surface of a tank shall bear a permanent marking, 

code stamp, or label showing the following information: 

(1) The the engineering standard used; 

(2) The the diameter in feet; 

(3) The the capacity in gallons; 

(4) The the materials of construction of the inner 

and outer walls of the tank, including any 

external or internal coatings; 

(5) Serial serial number or other unique 

identification number designated by the tank 

manufacturer; 

(6) Date date manufactured; and 

(7) Identity identify of manufacturer. 

(d)  Tanks that will be reused shall be certified by the tank 

manufacturer prior to re-installation and meet all of the 

requirements of this Section. Tank owners and operators shall 

submit proof of certification to the Division along with a notice of 

intent (Rule .0902). in accordance with Rule .0902 of this Section. 
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(e)  Tanks shall be tested before and after installation in 

accordance with the following requirements: 

(1) Pre- Installation Test - Before installation, the 

primary containment and the interstitial space 

shall be tested in accordance with the 

manufacturers written guidelines and 

PEI/RP100, "Recommended Practice for 

Installation of Underground Liquid Storage 

Systems." PEI/RP100, "Recommended 

Practice for Installation of Underground Liquid 

Storage Systems" is hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments 

and editions. A copy may be obtained from 

Petroleum Equipment Institute, P.O. Box 2380, 

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74101-2380 Institute at 

https://my.pei.org/productdetails?id=a1Bf4000

001yPEBEA2 at a cost of one hundred and 

ninety-five dollars ($95.00). ($195.00). The 

presence of soap bubbles or water droplets 

during a pressure test, any change in vacuum 

beyond the limits specified by the tank 

manufacturer during a vacuum test, or any 

change in liquid level in an interstitial space 

liquid reservoir beyond the limits specified by 

the tank manufacturer, shall be considered a 

failure of the integrity of the tank. 

(2) Post-installation Test – The interstitial space 

shall be checked for a loss of pressure or 

vacuum, or a change in liquid level in an 

interstitial space liquid reservoir. Any loss of 

pressure or vacuum beyond the limits specified 

by the tank manufacturer, or a change in liquid 

level beyond the limits specified by the tank 

manufacturer, shall be considered a failure of 

the integrity of the tank. 

(3) If a tank fails a pre-installation or post-

installation test, tank installation shall be 

suspended until the tank is replaced or repaired 

in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications. Following any repair, the tank 

shall be re-tested in accordance with 

Subparagraph (e)(1)(1) of this Rule Paragraph 

if it failed the pre-installation test and in 

accordance with Subparagraph (e)(2)(2) of this 

Rule Paragraph if it failed the post-installation 

test. 

(f)  The interstitial spaces of tanks that are not monitored using 

vacuum, pressure, or hydrostatic methods shall be tested for 

tightness before UST system start-up, between six months and the 

first anniversary of start-up, and every three years thereafter. The 

interstitial space shall be tested using an interstitial tank tightness 

test method that is capable of detecting a 0.10 gallon per hour leak 

rate with a probability of detection (Pd) of at least 95 percent and 

a probability of false alarm (Pfa) of no more than 5 five percent. 

The test method shall be evaluated by an independent testing 

laboratory, consulting firm, not-for-profit research organization, 

or educational institution using the most recent version of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) 

"Standard Test Procedures for Evaluating Various Leak Detection 

Methods." EPA's "Standard Test Procedures for Evaluating 

Various Leak Detection Methods" is hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments and additions. A 

copy may be obtained by visiting EPA's Office of Underground 

Storage Tank website: 

http://www.epa.gov/OUST/pubs/protocol.htm 

https://www.epa.gov/ust/standard-test-procedures-evaluating-

various-leak-detection-methods and may be accessed free of 

charge. The independent testing laboratory, consulting firm, not-

for-profit research organization, or educational institution shall 

certify that the test method can detect a 0.10 gallon per hour leak 

rate with a Pd of at least 95 percent and a Pfa of no more than 5 

five percent for the specific tank model being tested. If a tank fails 

an interstitial tank tightness test, it shall be replaced by the owner 

or operator or repaired by the manufacturer or the manufacturer's 

authorized representative in accordance with manufacturer's 

specifications. Tank owners and operators shall report all failed 

interstitial tank tightness tests to the Division within 24 hours. 

Failed interstitial tank tightness tests shall be reported by fax to 

the Division of Waste Management, Underground Storage Tank 

Section, at (919) 715-1117. Following any repair, the tank 

interstitial space shall be re-tested for tightness. The most recent 

interstitial tightness test record shall be maintained at the UST site 

or the tank owner's or operator's place of business and shall be 

available for inspection. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(a)(2)(h). 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0904 PIPING 

(a)  Piping, with the exception of flexible connectors and piping 

connections, shall be pre-fabricated with double-walled 

construction. Any flexible connectors or piping connections that 

do not have double-walled construction shall be installed in 

containment sumps that meet the requirements of 15A NCAC 

02N .0905. Rule .0905 of this Section. 

(b)  Piping Piping, with the exception of metal flex connectors and 

piping connections, shall be constructed of non-corroding 

materials. materials that prevent corrosion and meet the 

requirements of Subparagraph (1) or (2) of this Paragraph. Metal 

flexible connectors and piping connections shall be installed in 

containment sumps that meet the requirements of 15A NCAC 

02N .0905. Rule .0905 of this Section. 

(c)  Piping shall  

(1) Primary and secondary piping are constructed 

of non-corroding materials and comply with the 

UL Underwriters Laboratories Standard (UL) 

971 standard "Nonmetallic Underground 

Piping for Flammable Liquids;" Liquids" that is 

in effect at the time the piping is installed. UL 

971 standard "Nonmetallic "Standard for 

Nonmetallic Underground Piping for 

Flammable Liquids" is hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments 

and editions. A copy may be obtained from 

Underwriters Laboratories, 333 Pfingsten 

Road, Northbrook, Illinois 60062-2096 

Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/PurchasePro
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duct.aspx?UniqueKey=7936 at a cost of four 

hundred and two dollars ($402.00). 

(2) Primary piping is constructed of stainless steel 

and secondary piping is constructed of non-

corroding materials and complies with UL 

971A "Outline of Investigation for Metallic 

Underground Fuel Pipe." UL 971A "Outline of 

Investigation for Metallic Underground Fuel 

Pipe" is hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from Underwriters 

Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/PurchasePro

duct.aspx?UniqueKey=15373 at a cost of two 

hundred and twenty-five dollars ($225.00). 

(d)(c)  Piping that is buried underground shall be constructed with 

a device or method that allows it to be located once it is installed. 

(e)(d)  Piping that conveys regulated substances under pressure 

shall also be equipped with an automatic line leak detector that 

meets the requirements of 40 CFR 280.44(a). 

(f)(e)  At the time of installation, the primary containment and 

interstitial space of the piping shall be initially tested, monitored 

during construction, and finally tested in accordance with the 

manufacturers written guidelines and PEI/RP100, 

"Recommended Practice for Installation of Underground Liquid 

Storage Systems." The presence of soap bubbles or water droplets 

or any loss of pressure beyond the limits specified by the piping 

manufacturer during testing shall be considered a failure of the 

integrity of the piping. If the piping fails a tightness test, it shall 

be replaced by the owner or operator or repaired by the 

manufacturer or the manufacturer's authorized representative in 

accordance with the manufacturer's written specifications. 

Following any repair, the piping shall be re-tested for tightness in 

accordance with the manufacturers written guidelines and 

PEI/RP100, "Recommended Practice for Installation of 

Underground Liquid Storage Systems." 

(g)(f)  Piping that is not monitored continuously for releases using 

vacuum, pressure, or hydrostatic methods, shall be tested for 

tightness every three years following installation. The primary 

containment and shall be tested using a piping tightness test 

method that is capable of detecting a 0.10 gallon per hour leak rate 

with a probability of detection (Pd) of at least 95 percent and a 

probability of false alarm (Pfa) of no more than five percent. The 

test method shall be evaluated by an independent testing 

laboratory, consulting firm, not-for-profit research organization, 

or educational institution using the most recent version of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) 

"Standard Test Procedures for Evaluating Various Leak Detection 

Methods." EPA's "Standard Test Procedures for Evaluating 

Various Leak Detection Methods" is hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments and additions. The 

independent testing laboratory, consulting firm, not-for-profit 

research organization, or educational institution shall certify that 

the test method can detect a 0.10 gallon per hour leak rate with a 

Pd of at least 95 percent and a Pfa of no more than five percent. 

The interstitial space of the piping shall be tested in accordance 

with the manufacturers manufacturer's written guidelines and 

PEI/RP100 "Recommended Practice for Installation of 

Underground Liquid Storage Systems." or a code of practice 

developed by a nationally recognized association or independent 

testing laboratory. If the piping fails a tightness test, it shall be 

replaced or repaired by the manufacturer or the manufacturer's 

authorized representative in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications. Following any repair, the piping shall be re-tested 

for tightness. tightness in accordance with Paragraph (f) of this 

Rule. The most recent periodic tightness test record shall be 

maintained at the UST site or the tank owner or operator's place 

of business and shall be available for inspection. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(a)(2)(h). 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0905 CONTAINMENT SUMPS 

(a)  Containment sumps must shall be constructed of non-

corroding materials. 

(b)  Containment sumps must shall be designed and manufactured 

expressly for the purpose of containing and detecting a release. 

(c)  Containment sumps must shall be designed, constructed, 

installed and maintained to prevent water infiltration. 

(d)  Electronic sensor probes used for release detection monitoring 

must shall be located no more than two inches above the lowest 

point of the containment sump. 

(e)  At installation, containment sumps shall be tested for tightness 

after construction, but before backfilling. Tightness testing shall 

be conducted in accordance with the manufacturers 

manufacturer's written guidelines and PEI/RP100, 

"Recommended Practice for Installation of Underground Liquid 

Storage Systems." Any change in water level shall be considered 

a failure of the integrity of the sump. Other tightness test methods 

may be used if they are approved by the Division. In approving a 

containment sump tightness testing method the Division shall 

consider the following factors: 

(1) The the inner surface of the sump is tested to at 

least six four inches above the highest joint or 

penetration fitting, whichever is higher; and 

(2) The the method is capable of detecting a 

fracture, perforation or gap in the sump within 

the specified test period. 

(f)  If a containment sump fails an installation tightness test, the 

sump must shall be replaced or repaired by the manufacturer or 

the manufacturer's authorized representative in accordance with 

the manufacturer's specifications. Following replacement or 

repair, the containment sump must shall be re-tested for tightness 

in accordance with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(g)  Containment sumps that are not monitored continuously on 

an uninterrupted basis for releases using vacuum, pressure or 

hydrostatic interstitial monitoring methods shall be tested for 

tightness every three years following installation in accordance 

with the manufacturers written guidelines and PEI/RP100, 

"Recommended Practice for Installation of Underground Liquid 

Storage Systems." with: 

(1) written requirements developed by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) a code of practice developed by a nationally 

recognized association or independent testing 

laboratory; or 

(3) requirements determined by the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency or the 

Division to be no less protective of human 
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health and the environment than the 

requirements listed in Subparagraph (1) and (2) 

of this Paragraph. 

If a containment sump fails a periodic tightness test, the sump 

must shall be replaced in accordance with Paragraphs (a), (b) and 

(c) of this Rule or repaired by the manufacturer or the 

manufacturer's authorized representative in accordance with the 

manufacturer's specifications. specifications or a code of practice 

developed by a nationally recognized association or independent 

testing laboratory. Following replacement or repair, the 

containment sump must shall be re-tested for tightness in 

accordance with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. The last periodic 

tightness test record must shall be maintained at the UST site or 

the tank owner or operator's place of business and must shall be 

readily available for inspection. 

(g)(h)  All containment sumps shall be visually inspected at least 

annually for the presence of water or regulated substance. in 

accordance with Rule .0407 of this Subchapter. Any water or 

regulated substance must present in a sump at the time of 

inspection shall be removed from the sump within 48 hours of 

discovery. The visual inspection results must shall be documented 

and must shall be maintained for at least one year at the UST site 

or the tank owner's or operator's place of business and must shall 

be readily available for inspection. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(2)(h). 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0906 SPILL BUCKETS 

(a)  Spill buckets shall be pre-fabricated with double-walled 

construction. 

(b)  Spill buckets must shall be protected from corrosion by being 

constructed of non-corroding materials. 

(c)  Spill buckets must shall be designed, constructed, installed 

installed, and maintained to prevent water infiltration. 

(d)  After installation but before backfilling, the primary 

containment and interstitial space of the spill bucket shall be 

tested in accordance with the manufacturers manufacturer's 

written guidelines and PEI/RP100, "Recommended Practice for 

Installation of Underground Liquid Storage Systems." or a code 

of practice developed by a nationally recognized association or 

independent testing laboratory. Any change in vacuum during a 

vacuum test or any change in liquid level in an interstitial space 

liquid reservoir beyond the limits specified by the equipment 

manufacturer shall be considered a failure of the integrity of the 

spill bucket. If the spill bucket fails a tightness test, it must shall 

be replaced or repaired by the manufacturer or the manufacturer's 

authorized representative in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications. Following any repair, the spill bucket must shall be 

re-tested for tightness in accordance with the manufacturers' 

written guidelines and PEI/RP100, "Recommended Practice for 

Installation of Underground Liquid Storage Systems." or a code 

of practice developed by a nationally recognized association or 

independent testing laboratory. 

(e)  Spill buckets that are not monitored continuously on an 

uninterrupted basis for releases using vacuum, pressure or 

hydrostatic methods, must shall be tested for tightness every three 

years following installation. The primary containment and 

interstitial space of the spill bucket shall be tested in accordance 

with the manufacturers' written guidelines and PEI/RP100 

"Recommended Practice for Installation of Underground Liquid 

Storage Systems." with: 

(1) written requirements developed by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) a code of practice developed by a nationally 

recognized association or independent testing 

laboratory; or 

(3) requirements determined by the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency or the 

Division to be no less protective of human 

health and the environment than the 

requirements listed in Subparagraph (1) and (2) 

of this Paragraph. 

If the spill bucket fails a tightness test, it must shall be replaced 

and tested in accordance with Paragraphs (a) through (d) of this 

Rule or repaired by the manufacturer or the manufacturer's 

authorized representative in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications. Following any repair, the spill bucket must shall be 

re-tested for tightness. tightness in accordance with Paragraph (d) 

of this Rule. The last periodic tightness test record must shall be 

maintained at the UST site or the tank owner or operator's place 

of business and must shall be readily available for inspection. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(2)(h). 

 

15A NCAC 02N .0907 NATIONAL CODES OF 

PRACTICE AND INDUSTRY STANDARDS 

In order to comply with this Section, owners and operators must 

comply with either of the following standards: 

(1) The most recent versions of the following 

national codes of practice and industry 

standards applicable at the time of UST system 

installation or replacement shall be used to 

comply with this Section. used. 

(a) American Concrete Institute (ACI) 

International 224R-89, 224R-01, 

"Control of Cracking in Concrete 

Structures." ACI International 224R-

89, 224R-01, "Control of Cracking in 

Concrete Structures" is hereby 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from ACI 

International, P.O. Box 9094, 

Farmington Hills, Michigan 48333-

9094 International at 

https://www.concrete.org/store/produ

ctdetail.aspx?ItemID=22401&Format

=DOWNLOAD&Language=English

&Units=US_AND_METRIC at a cost 

of sixty-seven seventy-four dollars 

and fifty cents ($67.50). ($74.50). 

(b) ACI International 350-06, 

"Environmental Engineering Concrete 

Structures." ACI International 350-06, 

"Environmental Engineering Concrete 

Structures" is hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 
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be obtained from ACI International, 

P.O. Box 9094, Farmington Hills, 

Michigan 48333-9094 International at 

https://www.concrete.org/store/produ

ctdetail.aspx?ItemID=35006&Langua

ge=English&Units=US_Units at a 

cost of one hundred sixty-six eighty-

one dollars and fifty cents ($166.50). 

($181.50). 

(c) American Petroleum Institute (API) 

Standard 570, "Piping Inspection 

Code: Inspection Repair, Alteration 

and Re-rating of In-Service Piping 

Systems." API Standard 570, "Piping 

Inspection Code: Inspection Repair, 

Alteration and Re-rating of In-Service 

Piping Systems" is hereby 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from API 

Publications, 15 Inverness Way East, 

M/S C303B, Englewood, Colorado 

80112-5776 Publications at 

https://www.techstreet.com/api/stand

ards/api-570?product_id=1910713 at 

a cost of one hundred eight eighty-five 

dollars ($108.00). ($185.00). 

(d) API Recommended Practice 1110, 

"Recommended Practice for the 

Pressure Testing of Liquid Petroleum 

Pipelines." API Recommended 

Practice 1110, "Recommended 

Practice for the Pressure Testing of 

Liquid Petroleum Pipelines" is hereby 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from API 

Publications, 15 Inverness Way East, 

M/S C303B, Englewood, Colorado 

80112-5776 Publications at 

https://www.techstreet.com/api/stand

ards/api-rp-1110-

r2018?product_id=1852115 at a cost 

of fifty-five ninety-eight dollars 

($55.00). ($98.00). 

(e) API Recommended Practice 1615, 

"Installation of Underground 

Petroleum Storage Systems." API 

Recommended Practice 1615, 

"Installation of Underground 

Hazardous Substances or Petroleum 

Storage Systems" is hereby 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from API 

Publications, 15 Inverness Way East, 

M/S C303B, Englewood, Colorado 

80112-5776 Publications at 

https://www.techstreet.com/api/stand

ards/api-rp-

1615?product_id=1780646 at a cost of 

one two hundred eight eleven dollars 

($108.00). ($211.00). 

(f) API Recommended Practice 1621, 

"Bulk Liquid Stock Control at Retail 

Outlets." API Recommended Practice 

1621, "Bulk Liquid Stock Control at 

Retail Outlets" is hereby incorporated 

by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from API Publications, 15 

Inverness Way East, M/S C303B, 

Englewood, Colorado 80112-5776 

Publications at 

https://www.techstreet.com/api/stand

ards/api-rp-1621-

r2012?product_id=14616 at a cost of 

seventy-three eighty-five dollars 

($73.00). ($85.00). 

(g) API Recommended Practice 1631, 

"Interior Lining and Periodic 

Inspection of Underground Storage 

Tanks." API Recommended Practice 

1631, "Interior Lining and Periodic 

Inspection of Underground Storage 

Tanks" is hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from API Publications, 15 

Inverness Way East, M/S C303B, 

Englewood, Colorado 80112-5776 

Publications at 

https://www.techstreet.com/api/stand

ards/api-rp-1631?product_id=913787 

at a cost of seventy-six eighty-nine 

dollars ($76.00). ($89.00). 

(h) API Recommended Practice 1637, 

"Using the API Color Symbol System 

to Mark Equipment and Vehicles for 

Product Identification at Service 

Stations Gasoline Dispensing 

Facilities and Distribution Terminals." 

API Recommended Practice 1637, 

"Using the API Color Symbol System 

to Mark Equipment and Vehicles for 

Product Identification at Service 

Stations Gasoline Dispensing 

Facilities and Distribution Terminals" 

is hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

API Publications, 15 Inverness Way 

East, M/S C303B, Englewood, 

Colorado 80112-5776 Publications at 

https://www.techstreet.com/api/stand

ards/api-rp-1637-

r2012?product_id=1274225 at a cost 
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of fifty-nine sixty-eight dollars 

($59.00). ($68.00). 

(i) American Society of Mechanical 

Engineers (ASME) International: 

B31.4-2006, "2006 Pipeline "Pipeline 

Transportation Systems for Liquid 

Hydrocarbons Liquids and other 

Liquids." Slurries." ASME 

International: B31.4-2006, "2006 

Pipeline "Pipeline Transportation 

Systems for Liquid Hydrocarbons 

Liquids and other Liquids." Slurries" 

is hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

ASME, 22 Law Drive, Box 2900, 

Fairfield, NJ 07007-2900 ASME at 

https://www.asme.org/codes-

standards/find-codes-standards/b31-

4-pipeline-transportation-systems-

liquids-slurries at a cost of one two 

hundred twenty-nine fifteen dollars 

($129.00). ($215.00). 

(j) National Fire Protection Association 

(NFPA) 30, "Flammable and 

Combustible Liquids Code." NFPA 

30, "Flammable and Combustible 

Liquids Code" is hereby incorporated 

by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from National Fire 

Protection Association, 1 

Batterymarch Park, Quincy, 

Massachusetts 02169-7471 

Association at 

https://catalog.nfpa.org/NFPA-30-

Flammable-and-Combustible-

Liquids-Code-P1164.aspx?icid=D729 

at a cost of forty-two dollars and fifty 

cents ($42.50). seventy-five dollars 

($75.00). 
(k) NFPA 30A, "Automotive and Marine 

Service Station Code." "Code for 

Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities and 

Repair Garages." NFPA 30A, 

"Automotive and Marine Service 

Station Code" "Code for Motor Fuel 

Dispensing Facilities and Repair 

Garages" is hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from National Fire 

Protection Association, 1 

Batterymarch Park, Quincy, 

Massachusetts 02169-7471 

Association at 

https://catalog.nfpa.org/NFPA-30A-

Code-for-Motor-Fuel-Dispensing-

Facilities-and-Repair-Garages-

P1165.aspx?icid=D729 at a cost of 

thirty-three fifty dollars and fifty cents 

($33.50). ($50.50). 

(l) NFPA 329, "Handling Underground 

"Recommended Practice for Handling 

Releases of Flammable and 

Combustible Liquids." Liquids and 

Gases." NFPA 329, "Handling 

Underground "Recommended 

Practice for Handling Releases of 

Flammable and Combustible 

Liquids." Liquids and Gases" is 

hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

National Fire Protection Association, 

1 Batterymarch Park, Quincy, 

Massachusetts 02169-7471 

Association at 

https://catalog.nfpa.org/NFPA-329-

Recommended-Practice-for-

Handling-Releases-of-Flammable-

and-Combustible-Liquids-and-Gases-

P1287.aspx?icid=D729 at a cost of 

thirty-three fifty dollars and fifty cents 

($33.50). ($50.50). 

(m) PEI: PEI/RP100, "Recommended 

Practice for Installation of 

Underground Liquid Storage 

Systems." PEI: PEI/RP100, 

"Recommended Practice for 

Installation of Underground Liquid 

Storage Systems" is hereby 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from 

Petroleum Equipment Institute at 

https://www.techstreet.com/pei/stand

ards/pei-rp100-

17?gateway_code=pei&product_id=1

945712 at a cost of one hundred 

ninety-five dollars ($195.00). 

(n) PEI: PEI/RP1200, "Recommended 

Practice for Testing and Verification 

of Spill, Overfill, Leak Detection and 

Secondary Containment Equipment at 

UST Facilities." PEI: PEI/RP1200, 

"Recommended Practice for Testing 

and Verification of Spill, Overfill, 

Leak Detection and Secondary 

Containment Equipment at UST 

Facilities" is hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from Petroleum 

Equipment Institute at 

https://www.techstreet.com/pei/stand

ards/pei-rp1200-

17?product_id=1952629 at a cost of 
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one hundred ninety-five dollars 

($195.00). 

(n)(o) Steel Tank Institute (STI) ACT 100 

F894, "Specifications for External 

Corrosion Protection of FRP 

Composite Steel Underground Storage 

Tanks." Steel Tank Institute (STI) 

ACT 100 F894, "Specifications for 

External Corrosion Protection of FRP 

Composite Steel Underground Storage 

Tanks" is hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from Steel Tank Institute, 

at 570 Oakwood Road, Lake Zurich, 

Illinois 60047 

https://www.steeltank.com/Publicatio

ns/STISPFAStore/ProductDetail/tabid

/502/rvdsfpid/act-100-specification-

for-external-corrosion-protection-of-

frp-composite-steel-usts-f894-

2/Default.aspx at a cost of fifty sixty 

dollars ($50.00). ($60.00). 

(o)(p) STI ACT 100-U F961, "Specifications 

for External Corrosion Protection of 

Composite Steel Underground Storage 

Tanks." STI ACT 100-U F961, 

"Specifications for External Corrosion 

Protection of Composite Steel 

Underground Storage Tanks" is 

hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

Steel Tank Institute, 570 Oakwood 

Road, Lake Zurich, Illinois 60047 

Institute at 

https://www.steeltank.com/Publicatio

ns/STISPFAStore/ProductDetail/tabid

/502/rvdsfpid/act-100u-specification-

for-external-corrosion-protection-of-

composite-steel-underground-storage-

tanks-f961-250/Default.aspx at a cost 

of fifty sixty dollars ($50.00). 

($60.00). 

(p)(q) STI 922, F922, "Specifications for 

Permatank." STI 922, F922, 

"Specifications for Permatank" is 

hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

Steel Tank Institute, 570 Oakwood 

Road, Lake Zurich, Illinois 60047 

Institute at 

https://www.steeltank.com/Publicatio

ns/STISPFAStore/ProductDetail/tabid

/502/rvdsfpid/permatank-f922-

specification-for-permatank-

231/Default.aspx at a cost of fifty sixty 

dollars ($50.00). ($60.00). 

(q)(r) Underwriters UL 58, "Steel 

Underground tanks for Flammable 

and Combustible Liquids." UL 58, 

"Steel Underground tanks for 

Flammable and Combustible Liquids" 

is hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

Underwriters Laboratories, 333 

Pfingsten Road, Northbrook, Illinois 

60062-2096 Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=3392

0 at a cost of four five hundred forty-

five and two dollars ($445.00). 

($502.00). 

(r)(s) UL 567, "Pipe "Standard for 

Emergency Breakaway Fittings, 

Swivel Connectors and Pipe-

Connection Fittings for Petroleum 

Products and LP Gas." UL 567, "Pipe 

"Standard for Emergency Breakaway 

Fittings, Swivel Connectors and Pipe-

Connection Fittings Petroleum 

Products and LP Gas" is hereby 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from 

Underwriters Laboratories, 333 

Pfingsten Road, Northbrook, Illinois 

60062-2096 Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=2779

1 at a cost of eight hundred eighty-five 

ninety-seven dollars ($885.00). 

($897.00). 

(t) UL 567A, "Standard for Emergency 

Breakaway Fittings, Swivel 

Connectors and Pipe-Connection 

Fittings for Gasoline and 

Gasoline/Ethanol Blends with 

Nominal Ethanol Concentrations up to 

85 Percent (E0 – E85)." UL 567A, 

"Standard for Emergency Breakaway 

Fittings, Swivel Connectors and Pipe-

Connection Fittings for Gasoline and 

Gasoline/Ethanol Blends with 

Nominal Ethanol Concentrations up to 

85 Percent (E0 – E85)" is hereby 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy may be obtained from 

Underwriters Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=2919

7 at a cost of six hundred thirty-one 

dollars ($631.00). 

(u) UL 567B, "Standard for Emergency 

Breakaway Fittings, Swivel 
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Connectors and Pipe-Connection 

Fittings for Diesel Fuel, Biodiesel 

Fuel, Diesel/Biodiesel Blends with 

Nominal Biodiesel Concentrations up 

to 20 Percent (B20), Kerosene, and 

Fuel Oil." UL 567B, "Standard for 

Emergency Breakaway Fittings, 

Swivel Connectors and Pipe-

Connection Fittings for Diesel Fuel, 

Biodiesel Fuel, Diesel/Biodiesel 

Blends with Nominal Biodiesel 

Concentrations up to 20 Percent 

(B20), Kerosene, and Fuel Oil" is 

hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

Underwriters Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=2919

5 at a cost of four hundred and two 

dollars ($402.00). 

(s)(v) UL 971, "Nonmetallic "Standard for 

Nonmetallic Underground Piping for 

Flammable Liquids;" Liquids." UL 

971, "Standard for Nonmetallic 

Underground Piping for Flammable 

Liquids" is hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from UL at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=7936 

at a cost of four hundred and two 

dollars ($402.00). 

(w) UL 971A, "Outline of Investigation 

for Metallic Underground Fuel Pipe." 

UL 971A, "Outline of Investigation 

for Metallic Underground Fuel Pipe" 

is hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

UL at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=1537

3 at a cost of two hundred and twenty-

five dollars ($225.00). 

(t)(x) UL 1316, "Glass-Fiber-Reinforced 

Plastic "Standard for Fibre Reinforced 

Underground Storage Tanks for 

Petroleum Products, Alcohols, 

Flammable and Alcohol-Gasoline 

Mixtures." Combustible Liquids." UL 

1316, "Glass-Fiber-Reinforced Plastic 

"Standard for Fibre Reinforced 

Underground Storage Tanks for 

Petroleum Products, Alcohols, 

Flammable and Alcohol-Gasoline 

Mixtures." Combustible Liquids" is 

hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy may be obtained from 

Underwriters Laboratories, 333 

Pfingsten Road, Northbrook, Illinois 

60062-2096 Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=3517

2 at a cost of four hundred forty-five 

and two dollars ($445.00); or 

($402.00). 

(u)(y) UL 1746, "External Corrosion 

Protection Systems for Steel 

Underground Storage Tanks." UL 

1746, "External Corrosion Protection 

Systems for Steel Underground 

Storage Tanks" is hereby incorporated 

by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy may 

be obtained from Underwriters 

Laboratories, 333 Pfingsten Road, 

Northbrook, Illinois 60062-2096 

Laboratories at 

https://www.shopulstandards.com/Pur

chaseProduct.aspx?UniqueKey=1574

2 at a cost of eight nine hundred 

eighty-five ninety-eight dollars 

($885.00); or ($998.00); and 

(2) Other appropriate codes or standards applicable 

at the time of UST system installation or 

replacement may be used provided they are 

developed by ACI, American National 

Standards Institute (ANSI), API, ASME, 

ASTM, NFPA, National Leak Prevention 

Association (NLPA), PEI, STI and UL. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(a)(2)(h). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02O - FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 

REQUIREMENTS FOR OWNERS AND OPERATORS OF 

UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANKS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL CONSIDERATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0101 GENERAL 

(a)  The purpose of this Subchapter is to establish the requirements 

for financial responsibility for owners Owners and operators of 

underground storage tanks underground storage tank systems that 

are subject to regulation pursuant to 40 CFR 280.10 and located 

in North Carolina. North Carolina, shall comply with the financial 

responsibility requirements in this Subchapter. 

(b)  The Department of Environment, Health, and Natural 

Resources Environmental Quality (Department), Division of 

Waste Management (Division) shall administer the underground 

storage tank financial responsibility compliance program for the 

State of North Carolina. 

(c)  Department staff may conduct inspections as necessary to 

ensure compliance with this Subchapter. 
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Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(15); 143-215.94H; 143B-282(2)(h) 

143B-282(a)(2)(h). 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0102 COPIES OF REFERENCED 

FEDERAL REGULATIONS FINANCIAL 

RESPONSIBILITY 

(a)  Copies of applicable Code of Federal Regulations sections 

incorporated in this Subchapter are available for inspection at 

Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources 

regional offices. They are: 

(1) Asheville Regional Office, Interchange 

Building, 59 Woodfin Place, Asheville, North 

Carolina 28802; 

(2) Winston-Salem Regional Office, Suite 100, 

8025 North Point Boulevard, Winston-Salem, 

North Carolina 27106; 

(3) Mooresville Regional Office, 919 North Main 

Street, Mooresville, North Carolina 28115; 

(4) Raleigh Regional Office, 3800 Barrett Drive, 

Post Office Box 27687, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27611; 

(5) Fayetteville Regional Office, Wachovia 

Building, Suite 714, Fayetteville, North 

Carolina 28301; 

(6) Washington Regional Office, 1424 Carolina 

Avenue, Farish Building, Washington, North 

Carolina 27889; 

(7) Wilmington Regional Office, 127 Cardinal 

Drive Extension, Wilmington, North Carolina 

28405. 

(b)  Copies of such regulations can be made at these regional 

offices for ten cents ($0.10) per page. Individual complete copies 

may be obtained from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

Office of Underground Storage Tanks, Post Office Box 6044, 

Rockville, Maryland 20850 for no charge. 

The governing Federal Regulations set forth below are hereby 

incorporated by reference excluding any subsequent amendments 

and editions. Copies may be obtained at www.ecfr.gov/cgi-

bin/ECFR?page=browse at no cost. 

(1) 40 CFR 280.90, "Applicability"; 

(2) 40 CFR 280.91, "Compliance Dates"; 

(3) 40 CFR 280.94, "Allowable Mechanisms and 

Combinations of Mechanisms"; 

(4) 40 CFR 280.96, "Guarantee"; 

(5) 40 CFR 280.98, "Surety Bond"; 

(6) 40 CFR 280.99, "Letter of Credit"; 

(7) 40 CFR 280.102, "Trust Fund"; 

(8) 40 CFR 280.103, "Standby Trust Fund"; 

(9) 40 CFR 289.104, "Local Government Bond 

Rating Test"; 

(10) 40 CFR 280.105, "Local Government Financial 

Test"; 

(11) 40 CFR 280.106, "Local Government 

Guarantee"; 

(12) 40 CFR 280.107, "Local Government Fund"; 

(13) 40 CFR 280.108, "Substitution of Financial 

Assurance Mechanisms by Owner or 

Operator"; 

(14) 40 CFR 280.109, "Cancellation or Nonrenewal 

by a Provider of Financial Assurance"; 

(15) 40 CFR 280.110, "Reporting by Owner or 

Operator"; 

(16) 40 CFR 280.112, "Drawing on Financial 

Assurance Mechanisms"; 

(17) 40 CFR 290.113. "Release from the 

Requirements". 

 

Authority G.S. 12-3.1(c); 143-215.3(a)(15); 143B-282(2)(h). 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0103 SUBSTITUTED SECTIONS 

(a)  References to sections of the Federal Regulations 

incorporated by reference will refer to those sections and any 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

(b)  References to 40 CFR 280.93 are to be taken as references to 

Rule .0204 of this Subchapter, with Paragraph correspondence 

being: 40 CFR 280.93(a) corresponds to 15A NCAC 2O .0204(a) 

and (b); 40 CFR 280.93(b) corresponds to 15A NCAC 2O 

.0204(c) and (d); 40 CFR 280.93(c) and (d) have no correspon-

dence; and 40 CFR 280.93(e), (f), (g), and (h) correspond to 15A 

NCAC 2O .0204(f), (g), (h), and (i), respectively. 

(c)  References to 40 CFR 280.95 are to be taken as references to 

Rule .0302 of this Subchapter, with Paragraph correspondence 

being: 40 CFR 280.95(a), (e), (f), and (g) correspond to 15A 

NCAC 2O .0302(a), (c), (d), and (e), respectively; 40 CFR 

280.95(b) and (c) correspond to 15A NCAC 2O .0302(b); 40 CFR 

280.95(d) corresponds to 15A NCAC 2O .0302(f) and (g). 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 143-215.94T; 150B-21.6. 

 

SECTION .0200 - PROGRAM SCOPE 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0201 APPLICABILITY 

(a)  The provisions for "Applicability" contained in 40 CFR 

280.90 are hereby incorporated by reference including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. Locations where this 

material is available are specified in Rule .0102 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  The Rules contained in this Subchapter apply to all dual usage 

tanks as defined in Rule .0203 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94A; 143-215.94H; 143-215.94T; 

150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0202 COMPLIANCE DATES 

The provisions for "Compliance Dates" contained in 40 CFR 

280.91 are hereby incorporated by reference including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. Locations where this 

material is available are specified in Rule .0102 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94A; 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0203 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  The definitions contained in 15A NCAC 2N .0203 and 40 

CFR 280.92 are hereby incorporated by reference including any 

subsequent amendments and editions, reference, except for 

"Director of the Implementing Agency", "Occurrence", and 
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"Financial Reporting Year". Locations where this material is 

available are specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. as 

modified below. The federal regulation may be accessed at 

www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/ECFR?page=browse at no charge. 

(1) "Director of the Implementing Agency" shall 

mean the Director of the Division of Waste 

Management. 

(2) "Financial reporting year" shall be modified to 

allow a compilation report to be used to support 

a financial test. The compilation report shall be 

prepared by a Certified Public Accountant 

(CPA) or Certified Public Accounting Firm 

(CPA Firm) as defined in 21 NCAC 08A .0301. 

(b)  The following definitions are defined for the purposes of shall 

apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Annual Operating Fee" is an annual fee 

required to be paid by the owner or operator of 

each commercial underground storage tank, as 

defined in G.S. 143-215.94A, in use on or after 

January 1 of the year, beginning with 1989. 

(2) "Dual Usage Tank" means an underground 

storage tank which has had varied usage which 

would cause the tank to be considered an 

underground storage tank regulated in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 2N during certain 

times and an unregulated tank during other 

times and for which both the regulated and 

unregulated usages were integral to the 

operation or existence of the tank. 

(3) "Director of the Implementing Agency" means 

the Director of the Division of Environmental 

Management of the Department of 

Environment, Health, and Natural Resources. 

(4) "Financial reporting year" means the latest 

consecutive twelve-month period for which any 

of the following reports used to support a 

financial test is prepared: 

(A) a 10K report submitted to the SEC; 

(B) an annual report of tangible net worth 

submitted to Dun and Bradstreet; 

(C) annual reports submitted to the Energy 

Information Administration or the 

Rural Electrification Administration; 

or 

(D) a compilation report by a Certified 

Public Accountant or Certified Public 

Accounting Firm. 

(5) "Occurrence" means one or more releases 

which result(s) in a single plume of soil, 

groundwater, and/or surface water 

contamination (consisting of free product 

and/or associated dissolved contaminants 

exceeding standards established under 15A 

NCAC 2L .0202 or any other applicable laws, 

rules, or regulations) emanating from a given 

site. 

(1) "Independent" Certified Public Accountant or 

Certified Public Accounting Firm shall mean a 

CPA or CPA firm that examines the financial 

records and business transactions of an owner, 

operator or guarantor for whom the CPA or 

CPA firm is not affiliated. 

(2) "Financial assurance" shall mean per 

occurrence and annual aggregate amounts of 

financial responsibility, collectively. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94A; 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0204 AMOUNT AND SCOPE OF 

REQUIRED FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 

(a)  Owners or operators of petroleum underground storage tanks 

located in North Carolina must demonstrate financial 

responsibility for at least one million dollars ($1,000,000) per 

occurrence for taking corrective action and for compensating third 

parties for bodily injury and property damage caused by 

accidental releases arising from the operation of petroleum 

underground storage tanks. 

(b)  Compliance with all laws, rules, and regulations relating to 

the Commercial Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Tank 

Cleanup Fund shall constitute demonstration of financial 

responsibility for that amount specified in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule which is in excess of the sum of the amounts required to be 

paid per occurrence by the owner or operator for cleanup and for 

third-party claims. 

(c)  Owners or operators of petroleum underground storage tanks 

located in North Carolina must demonstrate financial 

responsibility for taking corrective action and for compensating 

third parties for bodily injury and property damage caused by 

accidental releases arising from the operation of petroleum 

underground storage tanks in at least the following annual 

aggregate amounts: 

(1) For owners or operators of one to 100 

petroleum underground storage tanks, one 

million dollars ($1,000,000); and 

(2) For owners or operators of 101 or more 

petroleum underground storage tanks, two 

million dollars ($2,000,000). 

(d)  If all laws, rules, and regulations relating to the Commercial 

Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Cleanup Fund are 

complied with, the owner or operator may meet the financial 

responsibility requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule by 

providing an annual aggregate financial assurance of at least the 

sum of the amounts specified in Subparagraphs (d)(1), (2), and (3) 

of this Rule as follows, in addition to the assurance provided by 

the Commercial Fund: 

(1) The average maximum amount required to be 

paid by an owner or operator per occurrence for 

cleanup as determined in accordance with 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule; 

(2) The average maximum amount required to be 

paid by an owner or operator per occurrence for 

third party claims as determined in accordance 

with Paragraph (e) of this Rule; and 

(3) Three percent of the multiple of: 

(A) the amount in Subparagraph (d)(1) of 

this Rule; and 

(B) the number of tanks being covered. 
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(e)  An owner or operator providing financial assurance for more 

than one underground storage tank where the various tanks do not 

all require the same maximum amounts to be paid per occurrence 

for cleanup and/or third party claims shall calculate an average 

maximum amount to be paid per occurrence as follows: 

(1) Determine the maximum amount to be paid per 

occurrence for each underground storage tank 

being assured; 

(2) Sum the values determined in Subparagraph 

(e)(1) of this Rule and divide by the number of 

underground storage tanks being assured. 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 143-215.94H(a)(2), owners or operators shall 

maintain evidence of financial responsibility for taking corrective 

action and for compensating third parties for bodily injury and 

property damage caused by accidental releases arising from the 

operation of petroleum underground storage tanks. The minimum 

financial responsibility that must be maintained per occurrence is 

determined by calculating the sum of the following: 

(1) twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) for taking 

corrective action to cleanup environmental 

damage pursuant to G.S. 143-215.94(B)(b)(3); 

(2) one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) for 

compensating third parties for bodily injury and 

property damage pursuant to G.S. 143-

215.94(B)(b)(5); and 

(3) the multiple of six hundred dollars ($600.00) 

and the number of petroleum underground 

storage tanks that an owner or operator owns or 

operates in the state of North Carolina. 

(b)  The minimum financial responsibility that shall be maintained 

as an annual aggregate is equal to the per occurrence amount. 

(f)(c)  Owners or operators shall annually review the amount of 

aggregate financial assurance provided. The amount of required 

financial responsibility and annual aggregate assurance shall be 

adjusted at the time of the review to that required in Paragraphs 

(a), (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule. All changes in status, including 

installations and closures, shall be reported to the Department, and 

all fees due shall be paid in accordance with applicable laws, 

rules, and regulations. review. 

(g)(d)  If an owner or operator uses separate mechanisms or 

separate combinations of mechanisms to demonstrate financial 

responsibility for different petroleum underground storage tanks, 

the annual aggregate amount of financial assurance required shall 

be based on the number of tanks covered by each such separate 

mechanism or combination of mechanisms. 

(h)(e)  The amount s of financial assurance required under this 

Rule exclude s legal defense costs. 

(i)(f)  The required per-occurrence and annual aggregate coverage 

amounts do amount of financial assurance does not in any way 

limit the liability of the owner or operator. 

(j)(g)  Assurance Evidence of financial responsibility for 

petroleum underground storage tanks located in North Carolina 

must shall be provided separately from that provided for 

petroleum underground storage tanks not located in North 

Carolina. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 143-215.94T. 

 

SECTION .0300 - ASSURANCE MECHANISMS 

15A NCAC 02O .0301 ALLOWABLE MECHANISMS 

AND COMBINATIONS OF MECHANISMS 

The provisions for "Allowable Mechanisms and Combinations of 

Mechanisms" contained in 40 CFR 280.94 are hereby 

incorporated by reference including any subsequent amendments 

and editions. Locations where this material is available are 

specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. "Guarantee" and 

"Surety Bond" are acceptable mechanisms in the State of North 

Carolina. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0302 SELF INSURANCE 

(a)  Assurance of financial responsibility may be provided by an 

owner or operator or guarantor as a self-insurer if the owner or 

operator has complied with all of the laws, rules, and regulations 

relative to the Commercial Leaking Petroleum Underground 

Storage Tank Cleanup Fund and the owner or operator or 

guarantor either establishes a Trust Fund as set out in Paragraph 

(h) of this Rule or qualifies to be a self-insurer An owner, operator 

or guarantor may meet the financial responsibility requirements 

by passing the financial test specified in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

or a financial test of 40 CFR 280.95. of this Rule. 

(b)  To qualify as an insurer, an An owner, operator, operator or 

guarantor, individually or collectively, must shall meet the 

following criteria based on year-end financial statements for the 

latest completed fiscal year. 

(1) The owner or operator, operator or guarantor, 

individually or collectively must shall have a 

total tangible net worth of at least: at least one 

hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000) and 

not more than three million dollars 

($3,000,000): 

(A) The sum of the amounts specified in 

Subparagraphs (b)(1)(A)(i) and (ii) of 

this Rule as follows, not to exceed 

three million dollars ($3,000,000) and 

not to be less than one hundred fifty 

thousand dollars ($150,000):  

(i) the multiple of: 

(2) A cleanup cost factor determined by 

multiplying the following: 

(I) the number of tanks 

being covered by 

this mechanism,  

(A) the number of petroleum underground 

storage tanks that an owner or operator 

owns and/or operates in the state of 

North Carolina and that are covered by 

self-insurance. USTs that are 

manifolded together are considered 

separate USTs. A multi-compartment 

UST is considered one UST; 

(II) the cleanup costs 

required to be paid 

by the owner or 

operator per 

occurrence in 

accordance with 
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G.S. 

143-215.94B(b),  

(B) twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) for 

taking corrective action to cleanup 

environmental damage pursuant to 

G.S. 143-215.94(B)(b)(3); 

(III) the proportion of the 

required financial 

assurance required 

pursuant to Rule 

.0204 of this 

Subchapter being 

covered by this 

mechanism, and 

(C) the proportion of financial assurance 

required pursuant to Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter being covered by self-

insurance; and 

(IV) a constant 

representing an 

average value per 

tank calculated from 

0.05 for each 

underground 

storage tank 

covered by this 

mechanism which is 

in compliance with 

any performance 

standards required 

on December 22, 

1998, and 0.18 for 

each underground 

storage tank 

covered by this 

mechanism which is 

not in compliance 

with any 

performance 

standards required 

on December 22, 

1998. 

(D) a constant equal to 0.05. 

(ii) two percent of the multiple 

of: 

(3) A third party liability cost factor determined by 

multiplying the following: 

(I) the number of tanks 

being covered by 

this mechanism, 

(A) the number of petroleum underground 

storage tanks that an owner or operator 

owns and/or operates in the state of 

North Carolina and that are covered by 

self-insurance; 

(II) the amount for third 

party claims 

required to be paid 

by the owner or 

operator per 

occurrence in 

accordance with 

G.S. 

143-215.94B(b), 

(B) one hundred thousand dollars 

($100,000) for compensating third 

parties for bodily injury and property 

damage pursuant to G.S. 143-

215.94(B)(b)(5); and 

(III) the proportion of the 

required financial 

assurance required 

pursuant to Rule 

.0204 of the 

Subchapter being 

covered by this 

mechanism, 

(C) the proportion of financial assurance 

required pursuant to Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter being covered by self-

insurance; and 

(D) a constant equal to 0.02. 

(B) Any amount of tangible net worth used 

to assure financial responsibility for 

petroleum underground storage tanks 

not located in North Carolina; 

(4) The amount of tangible net worth used to assure 

financial responsibility for petroleum 

underground storage tanks not located in North 

Carolina; 

(C) Ten times the sum of the corrective 

action cost estimates, the current 

closure and post-closure care cost 

estimates, and amount of liability 

coverage for Hazardous Waste 

Management Facilities and Hazardous 

Waste Storage Facilities for which a 

financial test is used to demonstrate 

financial responsibility to EPA under 

40 CFR Parts 264.101, 264.143, 

264.145, 265.143, 265.145, 264.147, 

and 265.147 or to a state implementing 

agency under a state program 

authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Part 

271; and 

(5) Ten times the sum of the corrective action cost 

estimates (40 CFR 264.101(b)), the closure (40 

CFR 264.143 and 265.143) and post-closure 

care (40 CFR 264.145 and 265.145) cost 

estimates, and amount of liability coverage (40 

CFR 264.147 and 265.147) for Hazardous 

Waste Management Facilities and Hazardous 

Waste Storage Facilities for which a financial 

test is used to demonstrate financial 

responsibility to EPA or to a State 

implementing agency under a State program 

authorized by EPA under 40 CFR 271; and 
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(D) Ten times the sum of current plugging 

and abandonment cost estimates for 

injection wells for which a financial 

test is used to demonstrate financial 

responsibility to EPA under 40 CFR 

Part 144.63 or to a state implementing 

agency under a state program 

authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Part 

145. 

(6) Ten times the sum of current plugging and 

abandonment cost estimates for injection wells 

(40 CFR 144.63) for which a financial test is 

used to demonstrate financial responsibility to 

the EPA under 40 CFR 144.63 or to a State 

implementing agency under a State program 

authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Part 145. 

(2)(7) In addition to any other requirements of this 

Section, a Guarantor must guarantor shall have 

a net worth of at least two hundred thousand 

dollars ($200,000) greater than any tangible net 

worth used by the guarantor in Subparagraph 

(b)(1) of this Rule. Subparagraph (1) of this 

Paragraph. 

(3) The owner or operator, or guarantor, 

individually or collectively, must each have a 

letter signed by the chief financial officer, 

worded as specified in Paragraph (g) of this 

Rule, and must do one of the following: 

(A) Obtain annually a compilation report 

issued by an independent certified 

public accountant or certified public 

accounting firm; 

(B) File financial statements annually with 

the U.S. Securities and Exchange 

Commission, the Energy Information 

Administration, or the Rural 

Electrification Administration; or 

(C) Report annually the firm's tangible net 

worth to Dun and Bradstreet, and Dun 

and Bradstreet must have assigned the 

firm a financial strength rating of 4A 

or 5A. 

(c)  The owner or operator, operator or guarantor, individually or 

collectively, must shall each have a letter signed by the chief 

financial officer, worded as specified in Paragraph (g) of this 

Rule, and must shall do one of the following: 

(1) Obtain annually a compilation report issued by 

an independent certified public accountant or 

certified public accounting firm; 

(2) File Pursuant to 40 CFR 280.95(b)(4)(i), file 

financial statements annually with the U.S. 

Securities and Exchange Commission, the 

Energy Information Administration, or the 

Rural Electrification Administration; or 

(3) Report Pursuant to 40 CFR 280.95(b)(4)(ii), 

report annually the firm's tangible net worth to 

Dun and Bradstreet, and Dun and Bradstreet 

must have assigned the firm a financial strength 

rating of 4A or 5A. 

(4) The firm's year-end financial statements must 

be independently compiled and cannot include 

an adverse accountant's report or a "going 

concern" qualification. 

(d)  The firm's year-end financial statements cannot include an 

adverse accountant's report or a "going concern" qualification. 

(c)(e)  If an owner or operator is acting as a self-insurer in 

accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule and finds that he or 

she no longer meets the requirements of the test in Paragraph (b) 

of this Rule based on the year-end financial statements, the owner 

or operator must obtain alternative coverage within 150 days of 

the end of the year for which financial statements have been 

prepared. 40 CFR 280.95(d), (e), (f) and (g) are incorporated by 

reference except that "financial test" means the financial test 

specified in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  The Department may require reports of financial condition at 

any time from a guarantor and from an owner or operator who is 

self insuring. If the Department finds, on the basis of such reports 

or other information, that the owner, operator, or guarantor no 

longer meets the financial test requirements of Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule, the owner or operator must obtain alternate coverage 

within 30 days after notification of such a finding. 

(e)  If the owner or operator fails to obtain alternate assurance 

within 150 days of finding that he or she no longer meets the 

requirements of the financial test based on the year-end financial 

statements, or within 30 days of notification by the Department 

that he or she no longer meets the requirements of the financial 

test, the owner or operator must notify the Department of such 

failure within 10 days. 

 

(f)  To demonstrate that it meets the financial test under Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the chief financial officer of each owner or owner, 

operator or guarantor must shall sign, within 120 days of the close of each financial reporting year, as defined by the 12-month period 

for which financial statements used to support the financial test are prepared, a letter worded exactly as in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, 

except that the instructions in brackets are to be replaced by the relevant information and the brackets deleted. 

(g)  LETTER FROM CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER 

I, [insert: name of chief financial officer], the chief financial officer of [insert: name and address of the owner or operator, owner, 

operator or guarantor] have prepared this letter in support of the use of [insert: "the financial test of self-insurance," and/or "guarantee"] 

to demonstrate financial responsibility for [insert: "taking corrective action" or "compensating third parties for bodily injury and property 

damage"] caused by [insert: "sudden accidental releases" and/or "nonsudden accidental releases"] in the amount of at least [insert: dollar 

amount] per occurrence and [insert: dollar amount] annual aggregate arising from operating (an) underground storage tank(s). 

Underground storage tanks at the following facilities are assured by this financial test by this [insert: "owner or operator," or 

"guarantor"]: 

[List or attach the following information for each facility: the name and address of the facility where tanks assured by this financial test 

are located, located and facility number(s) assigned by the Department, and date(s) of last payment of annual tank operating fee(s). 
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Department. If separate mechanisms or combinations of mechanisms, other than the Commercial Leaking Petroleum Underground 

Storage Tank Cleanup Fund mechanisms are being used to assure any of the tanks at this facility, list each tank assured by this financial 

test.] 

[When appropriate, include the following for Hazardous Waste Management Facilities, Hazardous Waste Storage Facilities, and 

Injection Wells: 

A {insert: "financial test," or "guarantee"} [insert: "financial test" or "guarantee"] is also used by this {insert: "owner or operator," or 

"guarantor"} [insert: "owner, operator" or "guarantor"] to demonstrate evidence of financial responsibility in the following amounts 

under EPA regulations or state programs authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Parts 271 and 145: 

EPA Regulations            Amount 

Closure (including 264.143 and 265.143) 40 CFR 264.143 and 265-143)     $____________ 

Post-Closure Care (including 264.145 and 265.145) 40 CFR 264.145 and 265.145)    $____________ 

Liability Coverage (including 264.147 and 265.147) 40 CFR 264.147 and 265.147)    $____________ 

Corrective Action (including 264.101(b)) 40 CFR 264.101(b))      $____________ 

Plugging and Abandonment (including 144.63) 40 CFR 144.63)      $____________ 

Total             $____________] 

This [insert: "owner or operator," "owner, operator" or "guarantor"] has not received an adverse report or a "going concern" qualification 

from an independent accountant on his financial statements for the latest completed fiscal year. 

 

1. a. Number of USTs being covered       __________ 

b. Average maximum amount of cleanup costs      __________ 

(Rule .0204(d)(1)) 

c. Average maximum amount of third-party costs     __________ 

(Rule .0204(d)(2)) 

d. Proportion covered        __________ 

e. Constant (Rule .0302(b)(1)(A)(i))       __________ 

f. Cleanup Total (a x b x d x e)       $____________ 

g. Third-Party Total (0.02 x a x c x d)       $____________ 

h. If Guarantor, list $200,000        $____________ 

2. Tangible assets applied to USTs not in North Carolina      $____________ 

3. Ten times the costs for Hazardous Waste Facilities and Injections Wells    $____________ 

4. Sum of lines 1f, 1g, 1h, and 2         $____________ 

5. Total tangible assets          $____________ 

6. Total liabilities [if any of the amount reported on line 4 is included in total liabilities, 

you may deduct that amount from this line and add that amount to line 7]    $____________ 

7. Tangible net worth [subtract line 6 from line 5]       $____________ 

1. a. Number of USTs in North Carolina being covered     _____________ 

b. Proportion covered        _____________ 

c. Cleanup cost factor (multiply 0.05 x $20,000 x #1a and #1b)    $____________ 

d. Third party liability cost factor (multiply 0.02 x $100,000 x #1a and #1b)  $____________ 

2. Cleanup and third-party liability cost factor total (sum of #1c and #1d)    $____________ 

3. Guarantor factor (enter $200,000, if guarantor)      $____________ 

4. Net worth used to assure environmental liabilities for Hazardous Waste Management Facilities, 

Hazardous Waste Storage Facilities, and Injection Wells multiplied by 10   $____________ 

5. Net worth used to assure environmental liabilities for USTs outside of North Carolina  $____________ 

6. Total net worth required to self-insure or to be a guarantor (sum of #2, #3, #4 and #5)  $____________ 

7. Total tangible assets         $____________ 

8. Total liabilities (if any of the amount reported for #6 is included in total liabilities, you may 

deduct that amount from this line and add that amount to #9)     $____________ 

9. Tangible net worth (subtract #8 from #7)       $____________ 

Yes No 

8. 10. Is line 7 9 at least [for an owner or operator: $150,000; for a guarantor: $350,000]?  _____ _____ 

9. 11. Is line 7 9 equal to or greater than line 4? 6?       _____ _____ 

10. 12. Has a compilation report been issued by an independent certified public accountant or certified 

public accounting firm?          _____ _____ 

11. 13. Have financial statements for the latest fiscal year been filed with the Securities 

and Exchange Commission?         _____ _____ 

12. 14. Have financial statements for the latest fiscal year been filed with the Energy Information 

Administration?           _____ _____ 

13. 15. Have financial statements for the latest fiscal year been filed with the Rural Electrification 
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Administration?           _____ _____ 

14. 16. Has financial information been provided to Dun and Bradstreet, and has Dun and 

Bradstreet provided a financial strength rating of 4A or 5A? [Answer "Yes" only 

if both criteria have been met]         _____ _____ 

 

I hereby certify that the wording of this letter is identical to the wording specified in 15A NCAC 02O .0302, as such regulations were 

constituted on the date shown immediately below, and that the information contained herein is complete and accurate. 

 

[Signature of chief financial officer] 

[Name] 

[Title] 

[Date] 

 

(h)  The provisions for "Trust Fund" contained in 40 CFR 280.102 are hereby incorporated by reference including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. Locations where this material is available are specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-205; 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0303 GUARANTEE 

The provisions for "Guarantee" contained in 40 CFR 280.96 are 

hereby incorporated by reference including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. Locations where this material is 

available are specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0304 INSURANCE AND RISK 

RETENTION GROUP COVERAGE 

The provisions for "Insurance and Risk Retention Group 

Coverage" contained in 40 CFR 280.97 entitled "Insurance and 

Risk Retention Group Coverage" are hereby is incorporated by 

reference including reference, excluding any subsequent 

amendments and editions, except that "licensed to transact the 

business of insurance or eligible to provide insurance as an excess 

or surplus lines insurer in one or more states" in 280.97(b)(1), 

40 CFR 280.97(b)(1), (b)(2), and (c) is replaced by "licensed, 

registered, or otherwise authorized to provide insurance in North 

Carolina". Locations where this material is available are specified 

in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. This document may be accessed 

at www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/ECFR?page=browse at no charge. The 

requirements in 40 CFR 280.97 shall be met to demonstrate 

financial responsibility by insurance pursuant to G.S. 143-

215.94H. 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-125; 58-22; 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0305 SURETY BOND 

The provisions for "Surety Bond" contained in 40 CFR 280.98 are 

hereby incorporated by reference including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. Locations where this material is 

available are specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0306 LETTER OF CREDIT 

The provisions for "Letter of Credit" contained in 40 CFR 280.99 

are hereby incorporated by reference including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. Locations where this material is 

available are specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0307 STANDBY TRUST FUND 

The provisions for "Standby Trust Fund" contained in 40 CFR 

280.103 are hereby incorporated by reference including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. Locations where this 

material is available are specified in Rule .0102 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0308 INSURANCE POOLS 

(a)  Insurance Pools established by owners and operators may be 

used alone or in combination to demonstrate financial assurance 

in accordance with Rules .0204 and .0301 Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  To be an eligible mechanism, mechanism for demonstrating 

financial assurance, Insurance Pools must shall comply with the 

requirements of G.S. 143-215.94I and any other requirements 

imposed by the Commissioner of Insurance of the State of North 

Carolina and any relevant law, rule, or regulation. G.S. 143-

215.94I. 

(c)  Each owner and operator provided providing financial 

assurance through an Insurance Pool must shall maintain a 

certificate of insurance issued by the Insurance Pool listing, at 

least: that lists at a minimum the following information: 

(1) the name and address of the member; 

(2) the location of the facilities owned by that 

member where underground storage tanks are 

being insured by the pool; 

(3) the number of insured underground storage 

tanks at each facility; 

(4) the capacity of each insured underground 

storage tank; 

(5) the amount of insurance provided for each 

underground storage tank; and 

(6) the name, address, and signature of the 

Administrator of the Insurance Pool. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 143-215.94I. 
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15A NCAC 02O .0311 LOCAL GOVERNMENT BOND 

RATING TEST 

The regulations governing "Local Government Bond Rating Test" 

set forth in 40 CFR 280.104 (Subpart H) are hereby incorporated 

by reference. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0312 LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

FINANCIAL TEST 

The regulations governing "Local Government Financial Test" set 

forth in 40 CFR 280.105 (Subpart H) are hereby incorporated by 

reference. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0313 LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

GUARANTEE 

The regulations governing "Local Government Guarantee" set 

forth in 40 CFR 280.106 (Subpart H) are hereby incorporated by 

reference. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0314 LOCAL GOVERNMENT FUND 

The regulations governing "Local Government Fund" set forth in 

40 CFR 280.107 (Subpart H) are hereby incorporated by 

reference. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0315 SUBSTITUTION OF FINANCIAL 

ASSURANCE MECHANISMS 

The regulations governing "Substitution of Financial Assurance 

Mechanisms by Owners or Operators" set forth in 40 CFR 

280.108 (Subpart H) are hereby incorporated by reference. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-21 5.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0316 CANCELLATION OR 

RENEWAL BY A PROVIDER OF ASSURANCE 

The regulations governing "Cancellation or Non-renewal by a 

Provider of Financial Assurance '' set forth in 40 CFR 280.109 

(Subpart H) are hereby incorporated by reference. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-21 5.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

SECTION .0400 - RESPONSIBILITIES OF OWNERS AND 

OPERATORS 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0401 REPORTING BY OWNER OR 

OPERATOR 

The provisions for "Reporting by Owner or Operator" contained 

in 40 CFR 280.106 are hereby incorporated by reference including 

any subsequent amendments and editions. Locations where this 

material is available are specified in Rule .0102 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

15A NCAC 02O .0402 RECORD KEEPING 

(a)  The provisions for "Record Keeping" contained in 40 CFR 

280.107 280.111 entitled "Record Keeping" are hereby is 

incorporated by reference including any reference, excluding 

subsequent amendments and editions. Locations where this 

material is available are specified in Rule .0102 of this 

Subchapter. This document may be accessed at 

www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/ECFR?page=browse at no charge. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements incorporated in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule, the following are required as evidence of financial 

responsibility: an owner or operator using an Insurance Pool as a 

financial assurance mechanism in accordance with Rule .0308 of 

this Subchapter, shall maintain a copy of the signed insurance 

certificate as specified in Rule .0308(c) of this Subchapter. 

(1) An owner or operator using an "Insurance Pool" 

must maintain a copy of the signed insurance 

certificate as specified in Rule .0308(c) of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) Each owner or operator must maintain copies of 

cancelled checks for payment of annual tank 

operating fees for the preceding three years or 

any alternate evidence of payment of the annual 

operating fees supplied by the Department. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

SECTION .0500 - CHANGES IN STATUS 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0501 DRAWING ON FINANCIAL 

ASSURANCE MECHANISMS 

The provisions for "Drawing on Financial Assurance 

Mechanisms" contained in 40 CFR 280.108 are hereby 

incorporated by reference including any subsequent amendments 

and editions. Locations where this material is available are 

specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0502 RELEASE FROM THE 

REQUIREMENTS 

The provisions for "Release From the Requirements" contained in 

40 CFR 280.109 are hereby incorporated by reference including 

any subsequent amendments and editions. Locations where this 

material is available are specified in Rule .0102 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0503 INCAPACITY OF OWNER OR 

OPERATOR OR PROVIDER OF ASSURANCE 

(a)  The provisions for "Bankruptcy or Other Incapacity of Owner 

or Operator or Provider of Financial Assurance" contained in 40 

CFR 280.110, 280.114 entitled "Bankruptcy or Other Incapacity 

of Owner or Operator or Provider of Financial Assurance, except 

for Subsection 280.110(d), are hereby is incorporated by 

reference including any reference, excluding subsequent 

amendments and editions. Locations where this material is 

available are specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. This 
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document may be accessed at www.ecfr.gov/cgi-

bin/ECFR?page=browse at no charge. 

(b)  Within 30 days after receipt of notification that the 

Commercial Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Tank 

Cleanup Fund has become incapable of paying for assured 

corrective action or third-party compensation costs, the owner or 

operator must shall obtain financial assurance for the full amounts 

specified in Rule .0204, Paragraphs (a) and (c), of this Subchapter. 

40 CFR 280.93. 

(c)  Within 30 days after receipt of notification that the 

Noncommercial Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Tank 

Cleanup Fund has become incapable of paying for additional 

cleanup actions to be undertaken by the Department, any owner 

or operator or guarantor who self insures or guarantees based on 

Rule .0302, Paragraph (b), of this Subchapter must obtain 

financial assurance for at least twice the amount specified in Rule 

.0204, Paragraph (d), of this Subchapter assured in accordance 

with Rule .0302, Paragraph (b), of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 143-215.94T; 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02O .0504 REPLENISHMENT 

(a)  The provisions for "Replenishment of Guarantees, Letters of 

Credit, or Surety Bonds" contained in 40 CFR 280.111 are hereby 

280.115 entitled "Replenishment of Guarantees, Letters of Credit, 

or Surety Bonds" is incorporated by reference including any 

reference, excluding subsequent amendments and editions. 

Locations where this material is available are specified in Rule 

.0102 of this Subchapter. This document may be accessed at 

www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/ECFR?page=browse at no charge. 

(b)  If at any time after a standby trust (40 CFR 280.103) is funded 

upon the instruction of the Department with funds drawn from a 

guarantee, guarantee (40 CFR 280.96), letter of credit, credit (40 

CFR 280.99), or surety bond, bond (40 CFR 280.98), and the 

amount in the standby trust is reduced to less than the amount for 

which the owner or operator is responsible per occurrence for 

third party claims, the owner or operator shall within 60 days from 

which the funds were drawn: 

(1) Replenish replenish the value of financial 

assurance to equal the full amount of coverage 

required, or required pursuant to Rule .0204 of 

this Subchapter; or 

(2) Acquire acquire another financial assurance 

mechanism for the full amount of coverage 

provided by the Standby Trust. the amount by 

which funds in the standby trust fund have been 

reduced. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.94H; 143-215.94T; 150B-21.6. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the 

rules cited as 15A NCAC 13A .0101 and .0111. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-management/hw/rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 16, 2020 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  NCDEQ Green Square Building, 271 West Jones 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27603, Room 1210 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

15A NCAC 13A .0101 is proposed for amendment due to a 

change in a federal regulation: 83 Federal Register (FR) 420 

(January 3, 2018) "Electronic Hazardous Waste Manifest System 

(e-Manifest) User Rule." The amendment will incorporate by 

reference federal regulations 40 CFR 260.4 and 260.5.  

15A NCAC 13A .0111 is proposed for amendment due to a 

change in a federal regulation: 84 Federal Register (FR) 5816 

(February 22, 2019)("Management Standards for Hazardous 

Waste Pharmaceuticals Rule"). "The amendment will incorporate 

by reference federal regulations 40 CFR 266 subpart P (40 CFR 

266.500 through 266.510). 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jenny Patterson, 

NCDEQ/DWM/Hazardous Waste Section, 1646 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1646; phone (336) 767-0031; email 

Jenny.Patterson@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  February 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13A - HAZARDOUS WASTE 

MANAGEMENT 

 

SECTION .0100 - HAZARDOUS WASTE 
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15A NCAC 13A .0101 GENERAL 

(a)  The Hazardous Waste Section of the Division of Waste 

Management shall administer the hazardous waste management 

program for the State of North Carolina. 

(b)  In applying the federal requirements incorporated by 

reference throughout this Subchapter, the following substitutions 

or exceptions shall apply: 

When used in any of the federal regulations incorporated by 

reference throughout this Subchapter, except where the context 

requires references to remain without substitution (including with 

regard to forms, publications, and regulations concerning 

international shipments, variances from land disposal restrictions, 

and other program areas over which the federal government 

retains sole authority): "United States" shall mean the State of 

North Carolina; "Environmental Protection Agency," "EPA," and 

"Agency" shall mean the Department of Environmental Quality; 

and "Administrator," "Regional Administrator," "Assistant 

Administrator," and "Director" shall mean the Secretary of the 

Department of Environmental Quality. The North Carolina Solid 

Waste Management Act and other applicable North Carolina 

General Statutes set forth in G.S. 130A shall be substituted for 

references to "the Solid Waste Disposal Act," "the Resource 

Conservation and Recovery Act," and "RCRA" where required by 

context. 

(c)  In the event that there are inconsistencies or duplications in 

the requirements of those Federal rules incorporated by reference 

throughout this Subchapter and the State rules set out in this 

Subchapter, the provisions incorporated by reference shall prevail 

except where the State rules are more stringent. 

(d)  40 CFR 260.1 through 260.3 260.5 (Subpart A), "General" are 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions. 

(e)  40 CFR 260.11, "Incorporation by Reference" is incorporated 

by reference including subsequent amendments and editions. 

(f)  Copies of all materials in this Subchapter may be inspected or 

obtained as follows: 

(1) Persons interested in receiving rule-making 

notices concerning the North Carolina 

Hazardous Waste Management Rules shall 

submit a written request to the Hazardous 

Waste Section, 1646 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1646. Upon receipt of 

each request, individuals shall be placed on a 

mailing list to receive notices. 

(2) Material incorporated by reference in the 

Federal Register may be obtained electronically 

free of charge from the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency website at 

http://www.epa.gov/laws-

regulations/regulations. 

(3) All material is available for inspection at the 

Department of Environmental Quality, 

Hazardous Waste Section, 217 West Jones 

Street, Raleigh, NC and at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-

management/hw/rules. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-294(c). 

 

15A NCAC 13A .0111 STANDARDS FOR THE 

MANAGEMENT OF SPECIFIC HAZARDOUS WASTES 

AND SPECIFIC TYPES OF HAZARDOUS WASTE 

MANAGEMENT FACILITIES - PART 266 

(a)  40 CFR 266.20 through 266.23 (Subpart C), "Recyclable 

Materials Used in a Manner Constituting Disposal" are 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions. 

(b)  40 CFR 266.70 (Subpart F), "Recyclable Materials Utilized 

for Precious Metal Recovery" is incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Off-site recycling 

facilities that receive materials described in 40 CFR 266.70(a) 

shall mark or label each container and tank holding recyclable 

materials at off-site precious metal recycling facilities with the 

words "Recyclable Material." 

(c)  40 CFR 266.80 (Subpart G), "Spent Lead-Acid Batteries 

Being Reclaimed" is incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

(d)  40 CFR 266.100 through 266.112 (Subpart H), "Hazardous 

Waste Burned in Boilers and Industrial Furnaces" are 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions. 

(e)  40 CFR 266.200 through 266.206 (Subpart M), "Military 

Munitions" are incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

(f)  40 CFR 266.210 through 266.360 (Subpart N), "Conditional 

Exemption for Low-Level Mixed Waste Storage, Treatment, 

Transportation and Disposal" are incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

(g)  40 CFR 266.500 through 266.510 (Subpart P), "Hazardous 

Waste Pharmaceuticals" are incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

(g)(h)  Appendices to 40 CFR Part 266 are incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-294(c). 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 33 - MIDWIFERY JOINT COMMITTEE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Midwifery Joint Committee intends to amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 33 .0101- .0103, .0105, and .0110. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbon.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 17, 2020 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  NC Board of Nursing, 4516 Lake Boone Trail, 

Raleigh, NC 27607 
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Reason for Proposed Action:  Proposed amendments to 21 

NCAC 33 .0101, .0102, .0103 and .0105 update language, clarify 

definitions, update requirements related to initial applications 

and annual renewals and updated the process for disciplinary 

actions. Amendments to .0110 provide additional criteria for 

reports from the Department of Health and Human Services 

regarding prescribing practices of midwives. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Angela Ellis, PO Box 2129, 

Raleigh, NC 27602-2129; fax (919) 781-9461; email 

public.comment@ncbon.com 

 

Comment period ends:  February 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0100 – MIDWIFERY JOINT COMMITTEE 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0101 ADMINISTRATIVE BODY AND 

DEFINITIONS 

(a)  The responsibility for administering the provisions of G.S. 90, 

Article 10A, shall be assumed by an administrative body, the 

Midwifery Joint Committee, hereinafter referred to as the 

"Committee." The certified nurse midwife shall hereinafter be 

referred to as "midwife." 

(b)  Definitions: 

(1) "Primary Supervising Physician" means the a 

physican with an active unencumbered license 

licensed physician with the North Carolina 

Medical Board who, by signing the certified 

nurse-midwife midwife application, shall be 

held accountable for the on-going supervision, 

consultation, collaboration, and evaluation of 

the medical acts performed by the certified 

nurse-midwife, midwife, as defined in the site 

specific written clinical practice guidelines. A 

physician in a graduate medical education 

program, whether fully licensed or holding only 

a resident's training license, shall not be named 

as a primary supervising physician. A physician 

in a graduate medical education program who 

is also practicing in a non-training situation 

may supervise a certified nurse-midwife 

midwife in the non-training situation if he or 

she is fully licensed. 

(2) "Back-up Primary Supervising Physician" 

means the a physican licensed physician by the 

North Carolina Medical Board who, by signing 

an agreement with the certified nurse-midwife 

midwife and the primary supervising physician 

or physicians shall be held accountable for the 

supervision, consultation, collaboration 

collaboration, and evaluation of medical acts by 

the certified nurse-midwife midwife in 

accordance with the site specific written clinical 

practice guidelines when the Primary 

Supervising Physician primary supervising 

physician is not available. The signed and dated 

agreements for each back-up primary 

supervising physician or physicians shall be 

maintained at each practice site. A physician in 

a graduate medical education program, whether 

fully licensed or holding only a resident's 

training license, shall not be named as a back-

up primary supervising physician. A physician 

in a graduate medical education program who 

is also practicing in a non-training situation 

may be a back-up primary supervising 

physician to a certified nurse-midwife midwife 

in the non-training situation if he or she is fully 

licensed and has signed an agreement with the 

certified nurse-midwife midwife and the 

primary supervising physician. 

(3) "Obstetrics" means a branch of medical science 

that deals with birth and with its antecedents 

and sequels, including prenatal, intrapartum, 

postpartum, newborn, newborn or gynecology, 

and otherwise unspecified primary health 

services for women. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-178.4. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0102 FEES 

(a)  The fee for a new application and initial approval shall be one 

hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(b)  The fee for annual renewal shall be fifty dollars ($50.00). 

(c)  The fee for reinstatement for a lapsed an expired approval 

shall be five dollars ($5.00). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-178.4(b). 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0103 APPLICATION AND ANNUAL 

RENEWAL 

(a)  The application to obtain To be eligible for an approval to 

practice as a midwife is electronically available from the 
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Committee on the North Carolina Board of Nursing website, 

www.ncbon.com. midwife, an applicant shall: 

(1) submit a completed application for approval to 

practice, attesting under oath or affirmation that 

the information on the application is true and 

complete, and authorizing the release to the 

Committee of all information pertaining to the 

application. Application is posted on the Board 

of Nursing's website at www.ncbon.com; 

(b)(2) The application shall require submit 

information on the applicant's education, 

evidence of the applicant's certification by the 

American College of Nurse Midwives, 

identification of the physician or physicians 

who will supervise the applicant, and the sites 

where the applicant intends to practice 

midwifery. midwifery; 

(3) submit the approval to practice application fee 

as established in G.S. 90-178.4(b)(1); 

(4) have an unencumbered registered nurse license 

and midwifery license/approval to practice in 

all jurisdictions in which a license/approval to 

practice is or has ever been held; 

(5) have no pending court conditions as a result of 

any misdemeanor or felony conviction(s). 

Applicant shall provide a written explanation 

and any investigative report or court documents 

evidencing the circumstances of the crime(s) if 

requested by the Committee. The Committee 

may use these documents when determining if 

an approval to practice should be denied 

pursuant to G.S. 90-178.6 and G.S. 90-171.37; 

(6) submit a written explanation and all related 

documents if the midwife has ever been listed 

as a nurse aide and if there have ever been any 

substantiated findings pursuant to G.S. 131E-

255. The Committee may take these findings 

into consideration when determining if an 

approval to practice should be denied pursuant 

to G.S. 90-178.6. In the event findings are 

pending, the Committee may withhold taking 

any action until the investigation is completed; 

and 

(7) complete a criminal background check in 

accordance with G.S. 90-171.48. 

In the event that any of the above-required information 

should indicate a concern about the applicant's 

qualifications, an applicant may be required to appear in 

person for an interview with the Committee if the 

Committee determines in its discretion that more 

information is needed to evaluate the application. 

(b)  Each midwife shall annually renew their approval to practice 

with the Committee no later than the last day of the midwife's birth 

month by: 

(1) submitting a completed application for renewal, 

attesting under oath or affirmation that the 

information on the application is true and 

complete, and authorizing the release to the 

Committee of all information pertaining to the 

application. Applications are located on the 

Board of Nursing's website at www.ncbon.com; 

(2) attest to having completed the requirements of 

the Certificate Maintenance Program of the 

American College of Nurse Midwives, 

including continuing education requirements, 

and submit evidence of completion if requested 

by the Committee as specified in Rule .0111 of 

this Section; 

(3) submitting the approval to practice renewal fee 

as established in G.S. 90-178.4(b)(2). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-178.4(b); 90-178.5. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0105 DUE PROCESS DISCIPLINARY 

ACTION 

(a)  Denial, revocation, or suspension of an approval to practice 

midwifery shall be governed by G.S. 90-178.6 and this Chapter. 

The applicant aggrieved by a decision of the Committee shall be 

entitled to a hearing pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 150B, 

Article 3A. 

(b)  Complaints. 

(1) A complaint regarding a violation of the 

Midwifery Practice Act or Rules shall be 

submitted in writing and document: 

(A) the name of the certified nurse-

midwife or other person involved; 

(B) a description of the alleged behavior or 

incident; and 

(C) the name, mailing address, and phone 

number of the person filing the 

complaint. 

(2) The complaint shall be delivered to the 

Committee administrative office by mail, 

private carrier, facsimile, electronic mail, or in 

person. 

(c)  Action on a Complaint. Action on a complaint shall consist of 

the following: 

(1) The Committee shall receive and acknowledge 

complaints, open a file, and initiate complaint 

tracking. 

(2) Complaints shall be screened to determine 

jurisdiction and the type of response 

appropriate for the complaint. 

(3) Investigation: 

(A) If the facts clearly indicate a 

Midwifery Practice Act violation, the 

Committee shall commence an 

investigation. 

(B) A report of each investigation shall be 

prepared for the Committee's review. 

(4) Formal and Informal Hearings: 

(A) The Committee, after review of an 

investigative file and upon request by 

a licensee, shall schedule an informal 

meeting. 

(B) If the matter cannot be resolved 

informally, then a formal hearing shall 

be held. 
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(C) No Committee member shall 

participate in more than one of the 

following steps in the enforcement 

process: 

(i) investigation; 

(ii) informal hearing; or 

(iii) formal hearing. 

(D) Members of the Committee shall not 

make ex-parte communication with 

parties to a hearing. 

(5) Final Orders: No later than 60 days after a 

hearing, the Committee shall issue its final 

decision, in writing, specifying the date on 

which it shall take effect. The Committee shall 

serve one copy of the decision on each party to 

the hearing. 

(6) Compliance: The Committee Chair shall cause 

a follow-up inquiry to determine that the orders 

of the Committee are being obeyed. 

(d)  Disciplinary Sanctions. 

(1) The following types of disciplinary sanctions 

may, among others, be used by the Committee 

when a violation of G.S. 90-178.6(a) is found: 

(A) Letter of reprimand; 

(B) probation; 

(C) suspension of approval; 

(D) nonrenewal of approval; 

(E) revocation of approval; and 

(F) injunction. 

(2) The Committee may request information from 

professional associations, professional review 

organizations (PROs), hospitals, clinics, or 

other institutions in which a certified nurse-

midwife performs professional services. 

(3) The Committee shall provide notice of sanction 

taken by it to other public entities as necessary 

to ensure that other state Boards and 

enforcement authorities receive the names of 

certified nurse midwives who have been 

disciplined. 

(b)  The midwife is subject to G.S. 90-171.37; 90-171.48 and 21 

NCAC 36 .0217 by virtue of the license to practice as a registered 

nurse. 

(c)  After an investigation is completed, the Committee may 

recommend one of the following: 

(1) dismiss the case; 

(2) issue a private letter of concern; 

(3) enter into negotiation for a Consent Order; or 

(4) a disciplinary hearing in accordance with G.S. 

150B, Article 3A. 

(d)  Upon a finding of violation, the Committee may utilize the 

following range of disciplinary sanctions: 

(1) Public Letter of Concern; 

(2) Letter of Reprimand; 

(3) Probation; 

(4) Suspension of approval; 

(5) Nonrenewal of approval; 

(6) Revocation of approval; and 

(7) Injunction. 

Authority G.S. 90-178.6. 

 

21 NCAC 33 .0110 REPORTING CRITERIA 

(a)  The Department of Health and Human Services 

("Department") may report to the Committee information 

regarding the prescribing practices of those midwives 

("prescribers") whose prescribing: 

(1) falls within the top two percent of those 

prescribing 100 morphine milligram 

equivalents ("MME") per patient per day; or 

(2) falls within the top two of those prescribing 100 

MME's per patient per day in combination with 

any benzodiazepine and who are within the top 

one percent of all controlled substance 

prescribers by volume. 

(b)  In addition, the Department may report to the Committee 

information regarding midwives who have had two or more 

patient deaths in the preceding 12 months due to opioid poisoning 

where the prescribers authorized more than 30 tablets of an opioid 

to the decedent and the prescriptions were written within 60 days 

of the patient deaths. 

(c)  In addition, the Department may report to the Committee 

information regarding prescribers who meet three or more of the 

following criteria, if there are a minimum of five patients for each 

criterion: 

(1) At least 25 percent of the prescriber's patients 

receiving opioids reside 100 miles or greater 

from the prescriber's practice location; 

(2) The prescriber had more than 25 percent of 

patients receiving the same opioids and 

benzodiazepine combination; 

(3) The prescriber had 75 percent of patients 

receiving opioids self-pay for the prescriptions; 

(4) The prescriber had 90 percent or more of 

patients in a three-month period that received 

an opioid prescription that overlapped with 

another opioid prescription for at least one 

week; 

(5) More than 50 percent of the prescriber's patients 

received opioid doses of 100 MME or greater 

per day excluding office based treatment 

medications; and 

(6) The prescriber had at least 25 percent of 

patients who used three or more pharmacies 

within a three-month period to obtain opioids 

regardless of the prescriber. 

(d)  In addition, the Department may report to the Committee 

information regarding prescribers who authorize a prescription for 

opioids to at least one patient where the prescribing meets the 

following criteria: 

(1) The prescription is for 100 MME or greater; 

(2) The prescription is for 30 or more days; 

(3) The patient has not had a prescription for an 

opioid from any prescriber dispensed in the six 

months prior to the prescription in question. 

(c)(e)  The Department may submit these reports to the Committee 

upon request and may include the information described in G.S. 

90-113.73(b). 
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(d)(f)  The reports and communications between the Department 

and the Committee shall remain confidential pursuant to G.S. 90-

113.74. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.74; 90-178.4. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Pharmacy intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 

46 .1207, amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 46 .2102, .2104, and 

repeal the rule cited as 21 NCAC 46 .2109. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 18, 2020 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  North Carolina Board of Pharmacy, 6015 Farrington 

Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC  27517 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board proposes to change the 

method of selection for its Device and Medical Equipment 

Committee from election to appointment.  This will bring the 

selection method for that committee into line with all other Board 

committees.  It will further (a) eliminate wasteful use of Board and 

candidate resources to hold elections with extremely low voter 

turnout; (b) potentially increase the interest in serving on the 

Device and Medical Equipment Committee, since interested 

persons would no longer have to run for election; and (c) 

eliminate term limits for committee members, allowing 

experienced and contributing members to continue to serve. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Campbell, 6015 Farrington 

Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517; fax (919) 246-1056; 

email jcampbell@ncbop.org 

 

Comment period ends:  February 18, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .1200 - ORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 46 .1207 DEVICE AND MEDICAL 

EQUIPMENT COMMITTEE 

(a)  The device and medical equipment committee shall consist of 

the following: 

(1) a representative of the medical equipment 

suppliers; 

(2) a representative of the medical oxygen 

suppliers; 

(3) a representative of the rehabilitation technology 

suppliers; and 

(4) two Board members. 

(b)  Each of the members of the device and medical equipment 

committee shall be appointed by the Board and serve at its 

pleasure. The Board may seek the input of device and medical 

equipment permit holders in these appointments. The 

representative must practice in the particular area for which he or 

she is nominated, but need not practice exclusively in that area. In 

case of death, resignation or removal from the committee, the 

Board shall fill the vacancy with a representative who meets the 

criteria for the position. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.22. 

 

SECTION .2100 - ELECTIONS 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2102 ELIGIBILITY TO VOTE 

(a)  Eligible voters for Board members shall be the pharmacists 

licensed in North Carolina and residing in North Carolina on 

October 31 of the year the election begins. 

(b)  Eligible voters for the device and medical equipment 

subcommittee shall be all device and medical equipment permit 

holders in North Carolina and residing in North Carolina on 

October 31 of the year the election begins. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.7. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2104 COMMITTEE ON 

NOMINATIONS 

The Board may appoint an advisory committee on nominations in 

September of each year that an election for Board position(s) 

begins. Members of this committee shall submit at least two 

names of eligible candidates for each position to be filled on the 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Board and on the device and medical equipment subcommittee by 

October 1 for the next election. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.7. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2109 DEVICE AND MEDICAL 

EQUIPMENT COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.22. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 56 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 

ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors intends to adopt 

the rule cited as 21 NCAC 56 .0304 and amend the rules cited as 

21 NCAC 56 .0303, .0501, .0503, .0601, .0603, .0804, .0902, 

.1301, .1302, .1403, .1603, .1604, and .1607. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbels.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 15, 2020 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  4601 Six Forks Road, Suite 310, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 56 .0303 – Clarifies process to disperse funds for 

education programs. 

21 NCAC 56 .0304 – Adoption of new rule to address suspension 

of authority to expend funds pursuant to G.S. 93B-2(d). 

21 NCAC 56 .0501 – Clarifies requirements for licensing as a 

Professional Engineer. 

21 NCAC 56 .0503 – Reflects changes to the examination process 

for licensing as a Professional Engineer. 

21 NCAC 56 .0601 – Clarifies requirements for licensing as a 

Professional Land Surveyor. 

21 NCAC 56 .0603 – Reflects changes to the examination process 

for licensing as a Professional Land Surveyor. 

21 NCAC 56 .0804 – Clarifies business (firm) annual renewal and 

30-day reporting of violations, criminal convictions, change of 

address(es), resident professional, company name, officers, 

directors or owners, or the services being offered. 

21 NCAC 56 .0902 – Clarifies the requirements for the business 

titles to be determined as not misleading. 

21 NCAC 56 .1301 – Clarifies and makes revisions to the 

disciplinary procedures for improper practice by a licensee. 

21 NCAC 56 .1302– Clarifies and makes revisions to the 

disciplinary procedures for unlawful practice by a non-licensee. 

21 NCAC 56 .1403 – Clarifies notice of contemplated action as 

to applicant for licensure. 

21 NCAC 56 .1603 – Clarifies positional accuracy standards for 

surveys. 

21 NCAC 56 .1604 – Clarifies mapping requirements for 

boundary surveys, deletes reference to repealed control corner 

statute. 

21 NCAC 56 .1607 – Updates the names of the satellite-based 

global positioning systems. 

Comments may be submitted to:  David S. Tuttle, Board 

Counsel, NC Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors, 

4601 Six Forks Road, Suite 310, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 

791-2000 ext. 111; email NCBELSRulesComments@ncbels.org 

 

Comment period ends:  February 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0300 - INSTRUCTIONAL PROGRAMS 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0303 DISBURSEMENT OF FUNDS 

The Board shall dispense Funds funds for educational programs 

will be allocated and dispensed in the following manner: 

(1) Funds will be dispensed by vote of the The 

Board shall dispense funds after Board 

Committees, as organized, study each specific 

committee related request and recommendation 

recommend funding. of each specific request by 

the appropriate committee of the Board. 

(2) The Board will shall consider requests for funds 

only from the following entities: approved 

schools or professional organizations. 

community colleges, public or private 

institutions of higher learning, State and county 

boards of education, or governing authorities 

for any industrial education center. 

(3) Requests will be considered for any use that 

will directly further engineering or surveying 

education and competence. 
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(3) The Board shall consider educational programs 

to establish instructional programs for 

individuals currently licensed and those seeking 

to become licensed. 

(4) Requests Approved entities for money shall be 

request funds in writing and provide the 

following information: 

(a) The amount needed; needed, or 

appropriate limits thereof; 

(b) Intended uses to be made of the 

requested monies; The intended use of 

the funds; 

(c) Subject material to be presented with 

and qualifications of instructors to be 

employed; 

(d) Itemized estimate breakdown of the 

amount needed and the total expected 

costs; 

(e) Source and amount of assistance being 

given by any other person or 

organization. 

 

Authority G.S. 89C-10(g). 89C-11. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0304 SUSPENSION OF AUTHORITY 

TO EXPEND FUNDS 

In the event that the Board's authority to expend funds is 

suspended pursuant to G.S. 93B-2(d), the Board shall continue to 

issue and renew licenses and collect all fees set forth in G.S. 89C-

14, 89C-17, and 89C-24. The Board shall maintain an escrow 

account into which any fees tendered during the Board's period of 

suspension shall be deposited. Once the Board's authority is 

restored, the funds shall be moved from the escrow account into 

the general operating account. 

 

Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-11; 93B-2. 

 

SECTION .0500 - PROFESSIONAL ENGINEER 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0501 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

LICENSING 

(a)  Education. The Board shall consider the education of an 

applicant shall be considered in determining eligibility for 

licensing as a Professional Engineer. The terms used by the Board 

for the specific educational requirements in G.S. 89C-13(a1) to be 

eligible to be licensed as a Professional Engineer are defined as 

follows: 

(1) "Engineering curriculum of four or more years 

approved by the Board" is defined as a program 

that has been accredited by the Engineering 

Accreditation Commission (EAC) of the 

Accreditation Board for Engineering and 

Technology (ABET). This program is 

incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. This material is 

available at www.abet.org/accreditation-

criteria-policies-documents/ at no cost, or for 

inspection at the office of the North Carolina 

Board of Examiners for Engineers and 

Surveyors. Copies may be obtained at the Board 

office at a cost of five dollars ($5.00) per copy. 

(2) "Engineering or related science curriculum of 

four or more years other than ones approved by 

the Board" is defined as a curriculum, although 

not accredited by ABET, of technical courses 

which that contains engineering or scientific 

principles. 

(3) "Equivalent education satisfactory to the board" 

is defined as: 

(A) A graduate degree in Engineering 

from an institution in which where the 

same discipline undergraduate 

engineering program has been 

accredited by ABET (EAC) shall be 

considered equivalent to an 

engineering curriculum of four or 

more years approved by the Board. 

(B) A bachelor's degree in Engineering 

Technology, whether or not accredited 

by the Technology Accreditation 

Commission (TAC) of ABET, shall be 

considered equivalent to an 

engineering or related science 

curriculum of four or more years other 

than one approved by the Board. 

(C) Until June 30, 2016, an associate 

degree in an engineering related 

curriculum with an additional two 

years of progressive engineering 

experience shall be considered 

equivalent to an engineering or related 

science curriculum of four or more 

years other than one approved by the 

Board and may be used until that date 

as a basis for admission to the 

principles and practice of engineering 

examination. Once admitted to the 

examination, an applicant may 

continue to re-take the examination 

until required to submit a new 

application as set out in Rule .0503 of 

this Section. After June 30, 2016 an 

associate degree shall no longer be 

used as a basis for admission to that 

examination, unless the individual has 

passed the fundamentals of 

engineering examination prior to June 

30, 2016, in which case the individual 

may continue the process to take the 

principles and practices exam based 

upon the associate degree and it will 

not be necessary to qualify for 

admission to the principles and 

practice of engineering examination 

prior to June 30, 2016. 

(D) Foreign degrees are shall be 

considered equivalent only after 

receipt of an evaluation report that the 
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degree is substantially equivalent to an 

EAC/ABET accredited engineering 

curriculum from the Center for 

Professional Engineering Education 

Services, an affiliate of the National 

Council of Examiners for Engineering 

and Surveying (NCEES), or from the 

American Association of Collegiate 

Registrars and Admissions Officers 

(AACRAO). The Board shall equate 

the degree to an EAC/ABET 

accredited engineering curriculum of 

four or more years approved by the 

Board in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this 

Rule if it receives a substantially 

equivalent evaluation. 

(b)  Experience. The experience of an applicant shall be 

considered in determining whether an applicant is eligible to be 

licensed as a Professional Engineer. 

(1) Required Experience. In evaluating the work 

experience required, the Board shall consider 

the total experience record and the progressive 

nature of the record. Experience shall be of a 

progressive engineering nature obtained after 

graduation from a program that meets the 

criteria set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

Not less than half of required engineering 

experience shall be of a professional grade and 

character, and shall be performed under the 

responsible charge of a licensed Professional 

Engineer, or if not, the applicant shall submit a 

written explanation to the Board explaining 

why the experience should be considered 

acceptable. The Board shall approve if it is 

satisfied of the grade and character of the 

progressive experience on a case-by-case 

basis." a written explanation shall be submitted 

showing why the experience should be 

considered acceptable and the Board shall 

approve if satisfied of the grade and character 

of the progressive experience. Experience 

gained under the technical supervision of an 

unlicensed individual shall be considered if the 

appropriate based upon the engineering 

education and experience credentials of the 

unlicensed supervisor are submitted to the 

Board. Experience gained in the armed 

services, usually while serving in an 

engineering or engineering related group, shall 

be considered if of a character accepted only if 

substantially equivalent to that which would 

have been gained in the civilian sector doing 

similar civilian work. 

(2) Definition. The word "progressive" in the terms 

"progressive nature of the record," "progressive 

engineering experience" experience," 

"progressive land surveying," "progressive 

engineering nature," or "progressive experience 

on engineering projects" mean means that 

during the period of time that an applicant has 

made a practical utilization of acquired 

knowledge, continuous improvement, growth 

and development have been shown in the 

utilization of that knowledge as revealed in the 

complexity and technical detail of the work 

product or work record. The applicant shall 

show continuous assumption of greater 

individual responsibility for the work product 

over that period of time. The progressive 

experience on engineering projects shall be of a 

grade and a character that indicates shows to the 

Board that the applicant is competent to 

practice engineering. 

(3) Specific Credit for Experience. In evaluating 

progressive engineering experience, the Board 

shall give credit for experience in the following 

areas of work: 

(A) Graduate schooling or research in an 

engineering program resulting in 

award of a master's degree from an 

institution that offers EAC/ABET-

accredited programs – one year; 

(B) Graduate schooling or research in an 

engineering program resulting in 

award of an earned doctoral degree in 

engineering from an institution that 

offers EAC/ABET-accredited 

programs – two years, with or without 

a master's degree, but this includes the 

one year for the master's degree, if 

obtained; 

(C) Progressive land surveying - 

maximum two years; and 

(D) Teaching of engineering subjects at 

the university level in an engineering 

program offering a four year or more 

degree approved by the Board. 

The Board shall not accept combinations of the categories in this 

Subparagraph as fulfilling all the necessary statutory experience 

requirements. Every applicant for licensure as a Professional 

Engineer, as part of the total experience requirement, shall show 

a minimum of one year experience of a progressive engineering 

nature in industry, government, or under a licensed Professional 

Engineer offering service to the public. 

Full-time engineering faculty members who teach in an 

engineering program offering a four year or more degree 

approved by the Board, Board may request and shall be granted 

waiver of the minimum one year experience in industry, 

government, or private practice if they demonstrate consulting or 

research work of at least one year's duration, which was pursued 

to fruition, completion of the project, and which that is of a 

progressive engineering nature. The faculty applicant shall 

document the work and demonstrate to evidence that the work 

meets the Board's requirement. 

(4) An exception to the requirement in 

Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule that 

experience be obtained after graduation is for 
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long-established practice of 20 years or more, 

as provided for in G.S. 89C-13(a3). 

(5) Other experience is considered if it is: shall be: 

(A) Experience obtained prior to 

graduation as part of an ABET 

accredited engineering program 

shown on the transcript, with a 

maximum credit of one year; or 

(B) Experience obtained in a foreign 

country that is performed under direct 

supervision of a Professional Engineer 

licensed with a member Board of the 

National Council of Examiners for 

Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). 

 

Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-13. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0503 EXAMINATIONS 

(a)  The Board offers the following examinations that are the 

national examinations of the National Council of Examiners for 

Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) with application made 

directly to NCEES to take the exam: 

(a)(1) Fundamentals of Engineering. Engineering 

(FE): This examination is designed to test the 

applicant's proficiency and knowledge of the 

fundamentals of engineering. engineering; and 

(b)(2) Principles and Practice of Engineering 

Engineering (PE): This examination is designed 

to test the applicant's proficiency and 

knowledge of engineering principles and 

practices. 

(c)(b)  Examination Aids. Examinees may utilize examination 

aids as specified and published by the exam preparer. NCEES. 

(d)  Preparation of Examination. The examinations in the 

fundamentals of engineering and in the principles and practice of 

engineering are national examinations provided by the National 

Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES), 

of which the Board is a member. 

(e)(c)  Examination Sequence. Before the applicant shall be 

permitted to be examined on the principles and practice of 

engineering, the applicant shall pass the examination on the 

fundamentals of engineering, unless the applicant can provide 

evidence of 20 years of progressive engineering experience, or as 

is a full-time engineering faculty member, or possesses an earned 

doctoral degree in engineering to be exempt from taking the 

fundamentals of engineering exam. engineering. NCEES 

administers the fundamentals of engineering examination as a 

computer-based exam. Application shall be made directly to 

NCEES to take the exam. 

(f)  Examination Filing Deadline. Only those applicants who have 

met the education requirements as set forth in Rule .0501(b) of 

this Section, and have passed the FE exam may sit for the PE exam 

prior to gaining the required experience. Upon gaining the 

required experience, as set forth in Rule .0501(b) of this Section, 

an applicant may apply for the PE license. The applicant who 

wishes to take the principles and practice of engineering 

examination shall deliver the completed application, including all 

necessary references, transcripts, and verifications, to the Board 

office prior to August 1 for Fall examinations and January 2 for 

Spring examinations. 

(g)  Seating Notice. After approval of an application the applicant 

shall be sent a seating notice. This notice shall inform the 

applicant of the date, time and location of the examination and the 

seat number assigned. 

(h)  Unexcused Absences. After a seating notice has been issued 

for a scheduled examination by the Board, if the applicant fails to 

appear, that applicant's record shall reflect "unexcused absence," 

unless the absence was for jury duty or the applicant was not 

physically able to be present, as indicated by a doctor's certificate. 

The examination fee shall be forfeited. 

(i)(d)  Re-Examination. A person who failed an examination may 

apply to take the examination again at the next regularly 

scheduled examination period after a six month waiting period by 

making written request and submitting the required exam fee. A 

person having a combined record of three failures or unexcused 

absences shall be eligible only after submitting a new application 

with appropriate application fee, and shall be considered by the 

Board for reexamination at the end of 12 months. After the end of 

the 12-month period, the applicant may take the examination no 

more than once every calendar year. The applicant shall 

demonstrate to the Board that actions, such as additional courses 

of study, have been taken to improve the applicant's chances for 

passing the exam. 

(j)(e)  Reasonable Accommodation. An applicant may make a 

written request to NCEES, before the application deadline, for 

reasonable accommodation for the exam. Reasonable 

accommodation shall be granted based upon meeting the 

Guidelines for Requesting Religious and ADA Accommodations 

published by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering 

and Surveying (NCEES), which are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

are available at no cost at www.ncees.org. 

(k)(f)  Exam Results. Exam results shall be supplied in writing as 

pass or fail. No results will be given in any other manner. 

(l)(g)  Review of Failed Exams. An applicant who fails to make a 

passing score on an exam shall receive an exam analysis by 

NCEES. 

 

Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-13; 89C-14; 89C-15. 

 

SECTION .0600 - PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYOR 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0601 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

LICENSING 

(a)  Education. The terms used by the Board for the specific 

education requirements to be eligible to be licensed as a 

Professional Land Surveyor are defined as follows: 

(1) "B.S. in surveying or other equivalent 

curriculum." These degrees shall contain a 

minimum of 45 semester hours, or their 

quarter-hour equivalents. equivalents, of 

subjects directly related to the practice of 

surveying. Of the 45 semester hours, a 

minimum of 12 semester hours of surveying 

fundamentals, 12 semester hours of applied 

surveying practice and 12 semester hours of 

advanced or theoretical surveying courses are 
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required. The remainder of the required 

surveying courses may be elective-type courses 

directly related to surveying; in any of the 

categories; and 

(2) "Associate degree in surveying technology." 

This degree shall contain a minimum of 20 

semester hours, or quarter-hour equivalents. 

equivalents, of subjects directly related to the 

practice of surveying. Courses shall be in 

surveying fundamentals, applied surveying 

practice and advanced or theoretical surveying 

courses, to include, at a minimum, courses in 

surveying practices, subdivision design and 

planning, surface drainage drainage, and 

photogrammetry which must be completed with 

a passing grade. 

(b)  Experience: 

(1) Definition. As used in the North Carolina 

Engineering and Land Surveying Act, the term 

"progressive practical surveying experience" 

means that during the period of time in which 

an applicant has made a practical utilization of 

the knowledge of the principles of geometry 

and trigonometry in determining the shape, 

boundaries, position position, and extent of the 

earth's surface, such that continuous 

improvement, growth and development in the 

utilization of that knowledge have been shown. 

In addition, the applicant shall show the 

continuous assumption of greater individual 

responsibility for the work product over that 

period of time. 

(2) Required Experience. Experience Accepted. In 

evaluating the work experience required, the 

Board shall consider the total experience record 

and the progressive nature of the record. Half or 

more Not less than half of the required land 

surveying experience shall be of a professional 

grade and character, and shall be performed 

under the responsible charge of a Professional 

Land Surveyor. If the work was not under the 

responsible charge of a Professional Land 

Surveyor, the applicant shall submit a written 

explanation to the Board explaining why the 

experience should be considered acceptable and 

the The Board shall approve if it is satisfied of 

the grade and character of the progressive 

experience. experience on a case by case basis. 

Experience gained under the technical 

supervision of an unlicensed individual shall be 

considered based upon the engineering 

education and experience credential of the 

unlicensed supervisor. Experience gained in the 

armed services, usually while serving in an 

engineering or surveying related group, shall be 

accepted only if substantially equivalent to that 

which would have been gained in civilian work. 

(3) Other Experience. The applicant shall 

document the nature and details of the work 

Work done in the following areas requires to 

evidence to the Board of its equivalency to land 

surveying: 

(A) construction layout; 

(B) engineering surveying; or 

(C) part-time surveying work. 

(c)  Exhibits, Drawings, Plats: Maps: 

(1) Required Exhibit Before Principles and 

Practice of Surveying Examination: 

(A) General. The applicant shall submit, 

along with the application, an actual 

plat map of a boundary survey of an 

actual project prepared by, or under 

the direct supervision and responsible 

charge of a Professional Land 

Surveyor who states that of, the 

applicant did the preparatory work of 

the survey; that shows shows, by its 

conformance, that the applicant is 

knowledgeable of the contents of the 

Standards of Practice for Land 

Surveying in North Carolina as set 

forth in Section .1600 of this Chapter, 

Chapter; and that shows that the 

applicant is able to apply this 

knowledge by preparing a plat map in 

accordance with the various legal and 

professional requirements of land 

surveying. 

(B) Physical Requirement. The map 

submitted shall be a clean, clear, 

legible print of an original map in the 

file of a Professional Land Surveyor. 

(2) Specific Requirements. The specific details that 

shall be evaluated are those applicable to the 

particular project as described in the Standards 

of Practice for Land Surveying in North 

Carolina as set forth in Section .1600 of this 

Chapter, and as described in G.S. 47-30. In 

addition, the exhibit shall contain a statement 

that the field work, calculation calculation, and 

mapping were performed by the applicant under 

the supervision of a Professional Land 

Surveyor, attested to by that Professional Land 

Surveyor. 

(3) Requirements for Comity Applicant. The map 

submitted by an applicant under comity may be 

a sample plat representative map of an actual 

survey of a project or work performed in the 

state of licensure. licensure that is modified to 

meet the requirements in Subparagraph (c)(2) 

of this Rule and It shall be evaluated in 

accordance with legal requirements of North 

Carolina the requirements applicable to the 

particular project as described in the Standards 

of Practice for Land Surveying in North 

Carolina as set forth in Section .1600 of this 

Chapter, and as described in G.S. 47-30. 
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Authority G.S. 47-30; 89C-10; 89C-13. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0603 EXAMINATIONS 

(a)  The Board offers the following examinations that are the 

national examinations of the National Council of Examiners for 

Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) with application made 

directly to NCEES to take the exam: 

(a)(1) Fundamentals of Surveying. Surveying (FS): 

This examination is designed to test the 

applicant's proficiency and knowledge of the 

fundamentals of surveying. Reference 

(Reference to Fundamentals of Surveying is the 

revised name of the national exam that is the 

Fundamentals of Land Surveying in G.S. 89C. 

89C); and 

(b)(2) Principles and Practice of Surveying. This 

examination is designed to test the applicant's 

proficiency and knowledge of land surveying 

practices and procedures generally and 

specifically within North Carolina. 

(b)  State-Specific Exam. The state-specific portion of the 

principles and practice of surveying examination shall be 

provided by the Board. 

(1) Examination Filing Deadline. The applicant 

who wishes to take the state-specific portion of 

the principles and practice of surveying 

examination shall deliver the completed 

application, including all necessary references, 

transcripts, and verifications, to the Board 

office at least 60 days prior to the date for taking 

the exam. 

(2) Unexcused Absences. For the state-specific 

portion of the principles and practices of 

surveying examination, after a seating notice 

for a scheduled examination has been issued, if 

applicant fails to appear, the applicant's record 

shall reflect "unexcused absence," unless the 

absence was for jury duty or the applicant was 

not physically able to be present, as indicated 

by a doctor's certificate. The examination fee 

shall be forfeited if the applicant's record 

reflects an unexcused absence. 

(3) Re-Examination. A person who failed the state-

specific portion of the principles and practices 

of surveying examination may apply to take the 

examination again at the after a six-month 

waiting period by making written request and 

submitting the required exam fee. A person 

having a combined record of three failures shall 

be eligible only after submitting a new 

application with appropriate application fee, 

and shall be considered by the Board for re-

examination at the end of 12 months after the 

last failure. 

(c)  Examination Aids. Examinees may utilize examination aids 

as specified by the national exam preparer. 

(d)  Preparation of Examination. The examination in the 

fundamentals of surveying and of the examination in the 

principles and practice of surveying are national examinations 

provided by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering 

and Surveying (NCEES), of which the Board is a member, or 

other examinations as adopted by the Board. The North Carolina 

portion of the principles and practice of surveying examination 

shall be provided by the Board. NCEES administers the 

fundamentals of surveying examination and the examination in 

the principles and practice of surveying as a computer-based 

exam. exams. Application is shall be made directly to NCEES to 

take the exam. 

(e)  Examination Filing Deadline. The applicant who wishes to 

take the principles and practice of surveying examination shall 

deliver the completed application, including all necessary 

references, transcripts, and verifications, to the Board office prior 

to August 1 for Fall examinations and January 2 for Spring 

examinations. 

(f)  Seating Notice. After approval of an application, the applicant 

shall be sent a seating notice by NCEES. This notice shall inform 

the applicant of the date, time and location of the examination and 

the seat number assigned. 

(g)  Unexcused Absences. After a seating notice for a scheduled 

examination has been issued, if applicant fails to appear, the 

applicant's record shall reflect "unexcused absence," unless the 

absence was for jury duty or the applicant was not physically able 

to be present, as indicated by a doctor's certificate. The 

examination fee shall be forfeited. 

(h)  Re-Examination. A person who failed an examination may 

apply to take the examination again at the next regularly 

scheduled examination period by making written request and 

submitting the required exam fee. A person having a combined 

record of three failures or unexcused absences shall be eligible 

only after submitting a new application with appropriate 

application fee, and shall be considered by the Board for re-

examination at the end of 12 months. After the end of the 12-

month period, the applicant may take the examination no more 

than once every calendar year. The applicant shall demonstrate to 

the Board that actions, such as additional courses of study, have 

been taken to improve the applicant's chances for passing the 

exam. 

(i)(e)  Reasonable Accommodation. An applicant may make a 

written request, before the application deadline, for reasonable 

accommodation for the exam. Reasonable accommodation shall 

be granted based upon meeting the Guidelines for Requesting 

Religious and ADA Accommodations published by the National 

Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). 

(j)(f)  Exam Results. Exam results shall be supplied in writing as 

pass or fail. No results shall be given in any other manner. 

(k)(g)  Review of Failed Exams. An applicant who fails to make 

a passing score on an NCEES exam shall receive an exam 

analysis. analysis by NCEES. An applicant who fails to make a 

passing score on the two-hour North Carolina state-specific 

portion of the exam may request in writing within thirty days of 

receiving the result to have an opportunity to review that portion 

of the exam. The review shall be done in the Board Office under 

supervision of staff and is limited to one hour. 

Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-15. 

 

SECTION .0800 - FIRM REGISTRATION 
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21 NCAC 56 .0804 ANNUAL RENEWAL AND 30-

DAY REPORTING OF VIOLATIONS AND CHANGE OF 

ADDRESS 

(a)  Renewal. The certificate of licensure for a business entity, 

including a professional corporation, limited liability company, 

Chapter 87 corporation, or business firm shall be renewed 

annually. 

(b)  Expiration. The certificate of licensure expires on the last day 

of June following its issuance by the Board and becomes invalid 

on that date unless renewed. 

(c)  Written Application. Upon The applicant shall submit a 

written application on a renewal form provided by the Board that 

requires the physical place of business address and report of 

disciplinary actions actions, accompanied by a fee of seventy-five 

dollars ($75.00)($75.00). the The Board shall renew the certificate 

of licensure licensure, providing that the firm business has 

complied with all Rules of the Board and applicable General 

Statutes of North Carolina. The form shall be provided to all 

licensees in good standing no later than June 1st. 

(d)  Reporting. The licensed entity business shall give notice to 

the Board of a change of of: 

(1) business address and branch locations; 

(2) resident professional (or licensee in responsible 

charge; 

(3) company name; 

(4) officers, directors or owners; or 

(5) the services being offered within 30 days of the 

any change. 

The firm business shall give notice to the Board of any 

disciplinary actions or conviction of any crime, in any jurisdiction 

on any license within 30 days of the disciplinary action. action or 

conviction. 

(d)(e)  If a firm business fails to renew its certificate of licensure 

within one year of the expiration date, the firm business shall 

submit a new application for a new certificate of licensure in 

accordance with all requirements of 21 NCAC 56 .0802. 

(e)(f)  If any business entity that holds a current certificate of 

licensure ceases business because the professional licensee 

receives a waiver from paying the individual renewal fee under 21 

NCAC 56 .0506 or 21 NCAC 56 .0607 .0607, the annual renewal 

fee for the business shall be waived for the same time period. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-11; 57C-2-01; 57D-2-01; 89C-10; 89C-14; 

89C-17; 89C-24. 

 

SECTION .0900 - BUSINESS ENTITIES: GENERAL 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0902 BUSINESS TITLES OF 

BUSINESS ENTITIES 

(a)  Companies, partnerships, corporations, limited liability 

companies companies, or any other business organization 

providing professional engineering or land surveying services in 

North Carolina shall not practice under a name that is misleading. 

Except as provided below, in Paragraph (b), for purposes of this 

Rule, "misleading" means that the titles of engineering or land 

surveying companies, partnerships, corporations, limited liability 

companies companies, or any other business organization 

organized primarily to provide for the primary purpose of 

providing such professional services shall not contain the name of 

an individual individual: 

(1) not licensed to provide the professional services 

offered offered in North Carolina; or  

(2) who is not eligible for licensure by comity to 

provide the professional services offered in 

North Carolina under the provisions of G.S. 

89C-13. G.S. 89C-13; or  

(3) is licensed to provide the professional services, 

offered in North Carolina, in a state where the 

business (or of a successor to that business or 

business created to comply with G.S. 55B), is 

incorporated, organized, or is authorized to 

transact business. 

(b)  A firm business may include in its title the name or names of 

one or more deceased or retired former members of the firm 

business, or of a successor to that business or a business created 

to comply with G.S. 55B, provided that the firm business submits 

a letter of request and explanation with its application to the 

Board, and that the Board finds as fact that the use of the name is 

not misleading. 

(c)  A business organization shall not change its title, or operate 

under an assumed name, without first applying to the Board for a 

determination that the proposed title meets the requirements of 

Paragraph (a) or (b) of this Rule. Requests for name changes shall 

be made in writing on forms provided by the Board for this 

purpose. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-5; 57C-2.01; 57D-2.01; 89C-10; 89C-24. 

 

SECTION .1300 – BOARD DISCIPLINARY 

PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1301 IMPROPER PRACTICE BY A 

LICENSEE 

(a)  General. Alleged practice Practice that may violate the rules 

in this Chapter or G.S. 89C by a licensee is subject to Board 

investigation and disciplinary action by the Board. 

(b)  Preferring Charges. Any person who believes that any 

licensed Professional Engineer, Professional Land Surveyor 

Surveyor, or firm business holding a certificate of authorization 

licensure is in violation of the provisions of G.S. 89C or the rules 

in this Chapter may prefer charges against that person or firm by 

setting forth in writing those charges and swearing to their 

authenticity, business, along with providing corroborative 

evidence. evidence that helps support the charges. A complaint 

form is provided by the Board to aid in filing the complaint. The 

charges shall be filed with the Board's office in Raleigh, North 

Carolina. 

(c)  Preliminary Review: 

(1) Upon receipt of a properly filed charge, a case 

shall be opened. Other information indicating 

that a licensee is in violation of the provisions 

of G.S. 89C or the rules in this Chapter may be 

a basis for opening a case by the Board. 

(2) A field investigation may be performed if 

determined necessary by the Executive 

Director. Director in order to obtain additional 

information and evidence. 
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(3) If the Executive Director determines that the 

charges are corroborated by evidence, a written 

notice and explanation of the charge shall be 

forwarded to the person or firm against whom 

the charge is made and a response is requested 

of the person or firm so charged to show show, 

within 15 days, compliance with all lawful 

requirements G.S. 89C and the rules in this 

Chapter for retention of the license. Notice of 

the charge and of the alleged facts or alleged 

conduct shall be given personally or by certified 

mail, return receipt request. 

(4) After preliminary evidence has been obtained, 

the matter shall be referred to the Board's 

review committee committee, which is made up 

of the following individuals: 

(A) one member of the Board who is 

licensed in the respective profession, 

profession; 

(B) the legal counsel of the Board, Board; 

and 

(C) the Executive Director of the Board or 

Assistant Executive Director if 

designated by the Executive Director. 

(5) Upon review of the available evidence, the 

review committee shall present to the Board a 

written recommendation that: shall: 

(A) recommend that the Board dismiss the 

charge be dismissed as unfounded or 

trivial; 

(B) when the charge is admitted as true, 

recommend that the Board accept the 

admission of guilt by the person 

charged and order that person not to 

commit in the future the specific act or 

acts admitted and also not to violate 

any of the provisions of the Board 

Rules rules or the statutes at any time 

in the future; 

(C) the charge, whether admitted or 

denied, be presented to the full Board 

for a hearing and determination by the 

Board on the merits of the charge in 

accordance with the substantive and 

procedural requirements of the 

provisions of Section .1400 of this 

Chapter and the provisions of G.S. 

150B; or 

(D) whether the charge is admitted or 

denied, the Board give written notice 

to the licensee of a contemplated 

action as set out in Rule .1403(b) of 

this Chapter. that: 

(i) sufficient evidence exists 

which, if not rebutted or 

explained, would justify the 

Board in taking an action set 

out in Rule .1402(4) through 

(12); 

(ii) stating the nature of the 

evidence; and 

(iii) that unless the licensee, 

within 20 days after service 

of said notice, deposits in the 

mail a certified letter 

addressed to the Board and 

containing a request for a 

hearing or settlement 

conference, that it will 

recommend that the Board 

take the action(s) specified in 

the notice, set out in Rule 

.1402(4) through (12). 

(d)  Consultant. A consultant to the review committee shall be 

designated by the Board Chair if a board member is a 

complainant, witness witness, or respondent in a case. The 

consultant shall be a licensed professional engineer or 

professional land surveyor, depending on the nature of the case, 

case. and selected from a list provided by the Executive Director 

of former Board members or other licensed professionals who are 

knowledgeable with the Board's processes. The consultant shall 

review all case materials and make a recommendation for 

consideration by the review committee as to the merits of the case. 

The consultant shall review any new information presented in the 

event of a settlement conference and make a recommendation to 

the settlement conference committee. 

(e)  Board Decision. Notice of the decision by the Board on 

recommendations of the review committee When the review 

committee proceeds to any Part of Subparagraph (c)(5) of this 

Rule shall be given to the party against whom the charges have 

been brought and the party submitting the charge. Though it is not 

forbidden to do so, the The Board is not required to notify the 

parties of the reasons of the Board in making its determination. 

(f)  Settlement Conference. When the Board issues a citation for 

hearing or notice of a contemplated action, review committee 

proceeds pursuant to Parts (c)(5)(C) or (D) of this Rule, the 

licensee may request in writing a settlement conference to pursue 

resolution of the issue(s) through informal procedures. If, after the 

completion of a settlement conference, the licensee and Board's 

settlement committee do not agree to a resolution of the dispute 

for the full Board's consideration, the original administrative 

proceeding shall commence. During the course of the settlement 

conference, no sworn testimony shall be taken taken, nor shall any 

witnesses be cross-examined. 

(1) The Board's settlement committee shall be 

made up of the following individuals: 

(A) the member of the Board who served 

on the review committee or the 

replacement a replacement member if 

the member is not available, available; 

(B) one public member from the Board, 

Board; 

(C) the legal counsel of the Board, Board; 

and 

(D) the Executive Director of the Board or 

Assistant Executive Director if 

designated by the Executive Director. 
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(2) Upon review of the available evidence, the 

settlement committee shall present to the Board 

a written recommendation that: shall: 

(A) recommend that the Board dismiss the 

charge be dismissed as unfounded or 

trivial; 

(B) when the charge is admitted as true, 

recommend the Board accept the 

admission of guilt by the person 

charged and order the person not to 

commit in the future the specific act or 

acts admitted and, also, not to violate 

any provisions of the Board Rules or 

the statutes at any time in the future; 

(C) direct that the charge, whether 

admitted or denied, be presented to the 

full Board for a hearing and 

determination by the Board on the 

merits of the charge in accordance 

with the substantive and procedural 

requirements of the provisions of 

Section .1400 of this Chapter and the 

provisions of G.S. 150B; or 

(D) whether the charge is admitted or 

denied, the Board give notice to the 

licensee of a contemplated action as 

set out in Rule .1403(b) of this 

Chapter. recommend that the Board 

approve a settlement agreed to by the 

licensee and proposed by the 

settlement conference committee. 

 

Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-21; 89C-22. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1302 UNLAWFUL PRACTICE BY AN 

UNLICENSED PERSON 

(a)  General. Alleged unlawful practice by an unlicensed person 

shall be subject to Board investigation and enforcement, to 

include applying for relief by injunction or referral to an agency 

of the state for appropriate legal action. 

(b)  Preferring Charges. Any person who believes that any person 

or firm (party) is in violation of the acts specified in G.S. 89C may 

prefer charges against that person or firm by setting forth in 

writing those charges and swearing to their authenticity. to the 

best knowledge and belief, in the form of a complaint, along with 

providing corroborative evidence. The charges shall be filed at 

with the Board's office in Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(c)  Preliminary or Threshold Determination: 

(1) Upon receipt of a properly filed charge, a case 

an investigation shall be initiated, opened. 

Other information indicating that a party is in 

violation of the provisions of G.S. 89C or the 

rules in this Chapter may be a basis for opening 

a case by the Board. 

(2) At the discretion of the executive director, a 

field investigation may be performed without 

notifying any of the parties involved, 

(3) If the Executive Director determines that 

charges are corroborated by evidence, a written 

notice and explanation of the charge shall be 

forwarded to the person or firm against whom 

the charge is made and a response is requested 

of the person or firm so charged to show 

compliance with all lawful requirements. 

Notice of the charge and of the alleged facts or 

alleged conduct shall be given personally or by 

certified mail, return receipt requested. 

(3)(4) After preliminary evidence has been obtained, 

the matter shall be referred to the Board's 

review committee which is made up of the 

following individuals: 

(A) one member of the Board; 

(B) the legal counsel of the Board; and 

(C) the Executive Director of the Board or 

Assistant Executive Director if 

designated by the Executive Director. 

(4) The review committee shall recommend to the 

Board whether there is probable cause to 

believe that a party against whom a charge has 

been brought in fact has violated the provisions 

of G.S. 89C. 

(5) Upon review of the available evidence, the 

review committee shall make a threshold 

determination of the charges brought. The 

review committee shall then present 

recommend to the Board written 

recommendations that: 

(A) The the investigation be continued; 

continued and the party be notified 

with an explanation of the charge(s) 

and given an opportunity to provide a 

response to show compliance with all 

lawful requirements; 

(B) The the charge be dismissed as 

unfounded or trivial; or 

(C) a letter be issued informing of the 

possible violation of G.S. 89C and that 

further action may be pursued under 

G.S. 89C-23; or 

(C)(D) The the matter be referred to an 

appropriate agency for necessary legal 

action. 

(d)  Board Decision. Notice of decision by the Board on 

recommendations of the review committee shall be given to the 

party submitting the charge. 

 

Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-23. 

 

SECTION .1400 - CONTESTED CASES 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1403 NOTICE OF CONTEMPLATED 

BOARD ACTION: ACTION TO APPLICANT: REQUEST 

FOR HEARING 

(a)  When the Board takes an action of a type specified in 

Subparagraphs (1), (2) or (3) of Rule .1402 of this Section, it shall 

give to the applicant a written notice containing a statement: 
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(1) that the applicant has failed to satisfy the Board 

of meet the qualifications to be examined or to 

be issued a license, as the case may be; license; 

(2) indicating stating in what respects the applicant 

has so failed to satisfy the Board; specific 

deficiencies as to why the applicant failed; and 

(3) that unless the applicant, within 20 days after 

service of said the notice, deposits in the mail a 

certified letter addressed to the Board and 

containing a request for a hearing, the Board's 

action will become final. 

In any Board proceeding involving the denial of a duly made an 

application to take an examination, or refusal to issue a license 

after an applicant has taken and passed an examination, the burden 

of satisfying the Board of the applicant's qualifications shall be 

upon the applicant. 

(b)  When the Board contemplates taking any action of a type 

specified in Subparagraphs (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), or (9) of Rule 

.1402 of this Section, it shall give to the licensee a written notice 

containing a statement: 

(1) that the Board has sufficient evidence which, if 

not rebutted or explained, will justify the Board 

in taking the contemplated action; 

(2) indicating the general nature of the evidence; 

and 

(3) that unless the licensee, within 20 days after 

service of said notice, deposits in the mail a 

certified letter addressed to the Board and 

containing a request for a hearing or settlement 

conference, the Board will take the 

contemplated action. 

 

Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-21; 89C-22; 150B-38. 

 

SECTION .1600 – STANDARDS OF PRACTICE FOR 

LAND SURVEYING IN NORTH CAROLINA 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1603 CLASSIFICATION OF 

BOUNDARY SURVEYS 

General. "Boundary surveys" are defined as surveys made to 

establish or to retrace a boundary line on the ground, or to obtain 

data for constructing a map, plat, or report showing a boundary 

line. For the purpose of this Rule, the term refers to all surveys, 

including "loan" or "physical" surveys, that involve the 

determination or depiction of property lines. For the purpose of 

specifying minimum allowable surveying standards for boundary 

surveys, the following four general classifications of lands in 

North Carolina are established from the standpoint of their real 

value, tax value, or location. Each map shall contain a statement 

of the calculated ratio of precision before adjustments or a 

statement of positional accuracy. 

(1) Local Control Network Surveys (Class AA). 

Local control network surveys are traverse 

networks utilizing permanent points for the 

purpose of establishing local horizontal control 

networks for future use by local surveyors. For 

Class AA boundary surveys in North Carolina, 

the angular error of closure shall not exceed ten 

seconds times the square root of the number of 

angles turned. The ratio of precision shall not 

exceed an error of closure of one foot per 

20,000 feet of perimeter of the parcel of land 

(1:20,000). When using positional accuracy 

standards for Class AA control and boundary 

surveys, neither axis of the 95 percent 

confidence level error ellipse for any control 

point or property corner shall exceed 0.05 feet 

or 0.015 meters plus 30 ppm measured relative 

to the position(s) of the horizontal control 

points used and referenced on the survey. 

(2) Urban Land Surveys (Class A). Urban surveys 

include lands that normally lie within a town or 

city. For Class A boundary surveys in North 

Carolina, the angular error of closure shall not 

exceed 20 seconds times the square root of the 

number of angles turned. The ratio of precision 

shall not exceed an error of closure of one foot 

per 10,000 feet of perimeter of the parcel of 

land (1:10,000). When using positional 

accuracy standards for Class A control and 

boundary surveys, neither axis of the 95 percent 

confidence level error ellipse for any control 

point or property corner shall exceed 0.10 feet 

or 0.030 meters plus 50 ppm measured relative 

to the position(s) of the horizontal control 

points or property corners used and referenced 

on the survey. 

(3) Suburban Land Surveys (Class B). Suburban 

surveys include lands in or surrounding the 

urban properties of a town or city. For Class B 

boundary surveys in North Carolina, the 

angular error of closure shall not exceed 25 

seconds times the square root of the number of 

angles turned. The ratio of precision shall not 

exceed an error of closure of one foot per 7,500 

feet of perimeter of the parcel of land (1:7,500). 

When using positional accuracy standards for 

Class B control and boundary surveys, neither 

axis of the 95 percent confidence level error 

ellipse for any control point or property corner 

shall exceed 0.12 feet or 0.037 meters plus 90 

ppm measured relative to the position(s) of the 

horizontal control points or property corners 

used and referenced on the survey. 

(4) Rural and Farmland Surveys (Class C). Rural 

and farmland surveys include lands located in 

rural areas of North Carolina and generally 

outside the suburban properties. For Class C 

boundary surveys in North Carolina, the 

angular error of closure shall not exceed 30 

seconds times the square root of the number of 

angles turned. The ratio of precision shall not 

exceed an error of closure of one foot per 5,000 

feet of perimeter of the parcel of land (1:5,000). 

When using positional accuracy standards for 

Class C control and boundary surveys, neither 

axis of the 95 percent confidence level error 

ellipse for any control point or property corner 
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shall exceed 0.15 feet or 0.046 meters plus 150 

ppm measured relative to the position(s) of the 

horizontal control points or property corners 

used and referenced on the survey. 

 

Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-20. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1604 MAPPING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR BOUNDARY SURVEYS 

(a)  The size of a map shall be such that all details are legible on 

a copy. 

(b)  Any lines that are not actually surveyed shall be indicated on 

the map and a statement included revealing the source of 

information from which the line is derived. 

(c)  All surveys based on the North Carolina grid system shall 

contain a statement identifying the coordinate system referenced 

datum used. 

(d)  All plats (maps), unless marked as "Preliminary Plat - Not for 

recordation, conveyances, or sales" shall be sealed, signed signed, 

and dated by the Professional Land Surveyor and shall contain the 

following: 

(1) An accurately positioned north arrow 

coordinated with any bearings shown on the 

plat. Indication shall be made as to whether the 

north index is true, magnetic, North Carolina 

grid ('NAD 83' and realization (date of 

adjustment of coordinate system) or 'NAD27'), 

or is referenced to old recorded deed or 

recorded plat bearings. If the north index is 

magnetic or referenced to old recorded deed or 

recorded plat bearings, the date and the source 

(note if determined) (note if not determined) 

shall be indicated. 

(2) The azimuth or courses and distances of every 

property line surveyed shall be shown. 

Distances shall be in feet or meters and 

decimals thereof. The number of decimal places 

shall be appropriate to the class of survey 

required in Rule .1603 of this Section. 

(3) All plat lines shall be horizontal or grid 

measurements. All lines shown on the plat shall 

be correctly plotted to the scale shown. 

Enlargements of portions of a plat are 

acceptable in the interest of clarity, where 

shown as inserts. are not required to be to scale. 

Where the North Carolina grid system is used, 

the combined grid factor shall be shown on the 

face of the plat. If grid distances are used, they 

shall be shown on the plat. 

(4) Where a boundary is formed by a curved line, 

the following data must shall be given: actual 

survey data, or as a series of subchords with 

bearings and distances around the curve. If 

standard curve data is used, the bearing and 

distance of the long chord (from point of 

curvature to point of tangency) must shall be 

shown on the face of the plat. 

(5) Where a subdivision of land is set out on the 

plat, all streets and lots shall be accurately 

plotted with dimension lines indicating widths 

and all other information pertinent to retracing 

all lines in the field. This shall include bearings 

and distances sufficient to form a continuous 

closure of the entire perimeter. 

(6) Where control corners have been established in 

compliance with G.S. 39-32.1, 39-32.2, 39-

32.3, and 39-32.4, as amended, the location and 

information as required in the referenced statute 

shall be shown on the plat. All Control corners, 

and all other corners that are marked by 

monument or natural object shall be so 

identified on all plats, and where practical, all 

corners of adjacent owners along the boundary 

lines of the subject tract that are marked by 

monument or natural object shall be shown. 

(7) The surveyor shall show one of the following 

where they (or note if could not be determined: 

determined): 

(A) The names of adjacent land owners; 

(B) The lot, block, parcel and subdivision 

designations; or 

(C) Other legal reference where 

applicable. reference. 

(8) All visible and apparent rights-of-way, 

easements, watercourses, utilities, roadways, 

and other such improvements shall be 

accurately located where crossing or forming 

any boundary line of the property shown. 

(9) Tie lines as required and defined in Rule 

.1602(g) of this Section shall be accurately 

shown on the face of the plat, whether or not the 

plat is to be recorded. 

(10) A vicinity map (location map) shall appear on 

the face of the plat. 

(11) Each map shall contain: 

(A) the property designation; 

(B) the name of owner or prospective 

owner; 

(C) the location (including township, 

county, and state); State); 

(D) the date or dates the survey was 

conducted; 

(E) a scale of the drawing listed in words 

or figures; 

(F) a bargraph; 

(G) the title source; and 

(H) a legend depicting nomenclature or 

symbols not otherwise labeled. 

(12) Any map not certified for recording under G.S. 

47-30, and all reports of survey, shall contain 

this certificate signed by the Professional Land 

Surveyor in substantially the following form: 

"I certify that this map was drawn under my supervision from an 

actual survey made under my supervision (deed description 

recorded in Book ______, page ______ or other reference source 

____________________); that the boundaries not surveyed are 

indicated as drawn from information in Book ______, page 

______ or other reference source ____________________; that 
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the ratio of precision or positional accuracy is 

___________________; and that this map meets the requirements 

of The Standards of Practice for Land Surveying in North 

Carolina (21 NCAC 56. 1600)." 

This ______ day of _______________, 2_____. 

Seal __________________________________________ 

Professional Land Surveyor 

 

Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-16; 89C-20. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1607 GLOBAL POSITIONING SYSTEMS SURVEYS 

(a)  General. Global Positioning Systems (GPS) are defined as the Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) is the generic name of navigation 

and positioning systems with global coverage that is comprise comprised of the Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), which 

includes GPS (Global Positioning System, United States, originally NAVSTAR, Navstar), GLONASS, GLONASS (Global Navigation 

Satellite System, Russia), GALILEO, Galileo (Europe), COMPASS, BDS (BeiDou Navigation Satellite System, China, also known as 

COMPASS), and any other satellite-based navigation and positioning systems. systems that provide global coverage. 

(b)  The Professional Land Surveyor in responsible charge of the GPS survey shall certify all prepared documents. When a map or 

document consists of more than one sheet, only one sheet must contain the certificate and all others must be certified. The certificate or 

metadata notes shall contain the following information: 

(1) Class of GPS survey as defined in the Standards of Practice (or list the sections); 

(2) Type of GPS field procedure, such as Static, Kinematic, Pseudo-Kinematic, Real-time Kinematic, Real-time 

Kinematic networks, and Online Position User Service; 

(3) Positional accuracy; 

(4) Dates of survey; 

(5) What datum and epoch coordinates or geographic positions are based on; 

(6) Designation of fixed-control stations and their positional data; 

(7) Geoid model used; 

(8) Combined grid factor(s); and 

(9) Units. 

The certificate shall be substantially in the following form: 

"I, ____________________, certify that this map was drawn under my supervision from an actual GPS survey made under my 

supervision and the following information was used to perform the survey: 

(1) Class of survey: _____________________________________________________ 

(2) Positional accuracy: _________________________________________________ 

(3) Type of GPS field procedure: __________________________________________ 

(4) Dates of survey: ____________________________________________________ 

(5) Datum/Epoch: ______________________________________________________ 

(6) Published/Fixed-control use: ___________________________________________ 

(7) Geoid model: ______________________________________________________ 

(8) Combined grid factor(s): ______________________________________________ 

(9) Units: ___________________________________________________________" 

(c)  GPS surveys performed to provide control networks shall be performed in such a manner that it meets a 95 percent confidence level 

of the positional accuracy of each point relative to the published positions of the control points used and shall meet the accuracy standards 

of a Class AA survey as set out in Rule .1603. 

(d)  GPS surveys performed to provide local horizontal or vertical Grid control on a parcel of land where the boundary or topography 

of that parcel will be shown relative to NC Grid horizontal or vertical datum shall be performed using techniques that will provide the 

standards of accuracy for the class of survey being performed while determining the horizontal or vertical positions of objects as set out 

in Rule .1603 or Rule .1606 as applicable. 

(e)  Fixed station(s) used for the project shall appear on the map, plat, or report. The minimum data shown for each fixed station shall 

be station name, horizontal position (northing and easting) or latitude, longitude, elevation (ellipsoid or orthometric), and datum and 

epoch. 

 

Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-20. 

 

 

TITLE 25 – OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Human Resources Commission intends to amend the rules 

cited as 25 NCAC 01E .0311; and 01J .1306. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://oshr.nc.gov/about-oshr/state-hr-commission/proposed-

rulemaking 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 7, 2020 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 
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Location:  Office of State Human Resources, Department of 

Administration, 116 Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

25 NCAC 01E .0311 Separation: Added reference in 25 NCAC 

01E .0210 as exception to unused sick leave not being paid out 

when an employee is separated from state service. 

25 NCAC 01J .1306 Back Pay: Revise and clarify the language 

of 01J .1306 (3) and (11)(g) to require only that the employee 

provide a sworn statement verifying gross interim income and 

unemployment compensation, and remove the requirement that 

the employee provide verification of gross earnings. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Christine Ryan, Office of State 

Human Resources, 1331 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-

1331; phone (984) 236-0824; email Christine.Ryan@nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  February 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 01 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN 

RESOURCES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01E - EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

 

SECTION .0300 - SICK LEAVE 

 

25 NCAC 01E .0311 SEPARATION 

(a)  Unused sick leave is not paid when an employee separates 

from state service. service except as provided in 25 NCAC 01E 

.0210. 

(b)  If an employee separates and is overdrawn on leave, 

deductions shall be made from the final salary check. 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01J - EMPLOYEE RELATIONS 

 

SECTION .1300 - EMPLOYEE APPEALS AND 

GRIEVANCE PROCESS 

 

25 NCAC 01J .1306 BACK PAY 

In grievances: 

(1) Back pay may be awarded in all cases in which 

back pay is warranted by law. 

(2) Full or partial back pay shall not be dependent 

upon whether reinstatement is ordered. 

(3) Gross back pay shall always be reduced by any 

gross interim earnings, except that interim 

earnings from employment that was approved 

secondary employment prior to dismissal shall 

not be set off against gross back pay. Any 

unemployment insurance benefits paid to the 

employee shall also be deducted from the gross 

back pay amount due. due if the unemployment 

insurance benefits were not taxed when 

received by the employee. 

(4) All applicable State and federal withholding 

taxes, including social security taxes, shall be 

paid from the reduced gross back pay due. 

"Reduced gross back pay" is gross back pay due 

minus interim earnings and unemployment 

insurance benefits received. 

(5) The employee's regular retirement contribution 

shall be paid on the total, unreduced amount of 

gross back pay due. 

(6) Back pay shall include payment for all holidays 

that the grievant would have been paid for 

except for the interruption in employment 

status. Holiday premium pay shall not be a part 

of any back pay award. 

(7) Shift pay shall be a part of a back pay award if 

the grievant would have been entitled to the pay 

in the absence of the interruption in 

employment. This benefit shall not be 

applicable in cases involving a failure to hire or 

a failure to promote. 

(8) Employees shall not be entitled to any 

discretionary pay that may or may not have 

been awarded to them in the absence of the 

interruption in employment, including merit 

increments. 

(9) Back pay shall include any across-the-board 

compensation that would have been included in 

the grievant's regular salary except for the 

interruption in employment. This includes one 

time "bonuses," and across-the-board 

legislative pay increases. 

(10) If the grievant's longevity eligibility date 

occurred during the period of interrupted 

employment, back pay shall include the 

difference between the prorated longevity 

payment made at dismissal and the amount of 

longevity pay that would have been payable had 

employment not been interrupted. If the 
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grievant is reinstated prior to his or her 

longevity date, no adjustment for longevity pay 

shall be made in the back pay award. The 

prorated longevity payment made at the time of 

dismissal shall be deducted from the full 

amount otherwise payable on the next longevity 

eligibility date. 

(11) Back pay shall be applied for on the Office of 

State Human Resources form, available on the 

Office of State Human Resources website, 

www.oshr.nc.gov. The back pay application 

form requires the following information: 

(a) agency or university name; 

(b) division or department or school; 

(c) employee name; 

(d) employee social security number; 

(e) position classification; 

(f) position number; and 

(g) a notarized sworn statement verifying 

the following information for a total 

earnings calculation: 

(i) gross earnings for back pay; 

(ii)(i) gross interim income, not 

including secondary 

employment approved prior 

to adverse action; and 

(iii)(ii) unemployment 

compensation. compensation 

(untaxed). 

(12) One component of the decision to award back 

pay shall be evidence, if any, of the grievant's 

efforts to obtain available employment 

following separation from State government. 

The burden of proof that an employee mitigated 

his or her lost wages by seeking employment 

following separation shall be on the employee. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4(9); 126-34.01; 126 -34.02. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Wildlife Resources Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 10A .1601 

 

Effective Date:  January 1, 2020 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  November 

21, 2019 

 

Reason for Action:  The effective date of a recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.  SL 2019-204, 

Effective August 20, 2019. The Commission was in the process of 

adopting permanent rules to establish and increase fees in rule 

per G.S. 113-270.1B(e) when HB 597 was introduced.  This bill 

changed license structure, increased and established several fees, 

and modified G.S. 113-270.1B(e) by adding permits, stamps, and 

certifications to the CPI–U increase and giving the Commission 

the authority to round up on the CPI-U increase to the next whole 

dollar. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10A - WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .1600 – WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

COMMISSION FEES 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1601 LICENSE FEES. 

(a)  License fees established by the Commission in this Rule shall 

be subject to the requirements of G.S. 113-270.1B(e). 

(b)  The following fees shall apply to combination hunting and 

inland fishing licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in 

G.S. 113-270.1C: 

(1) Resident Annual Combination Hunting and 

Inland Fishing License - $35.00. 

(2) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime 

Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing 

License - $11.00. 

(3) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime 

Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing 

License - $11.00. 

(c)  The following fees shall apply to sportsman licenses issued 

by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.1D: 

(1) Annual Sportsman License - $53.00. 

(2) Infant Lifetime Sportsman License - $212.00. 

(3) Youth Lifetime Sportsman License - $371.00. 

(4) Adult Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$530.00. 

(5) Nonresident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$1,272.00. 

(6) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$16.00. 

(7) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Sportsman 

License - $106.00. 

(8) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Sportsman 

License - $106.00. 

(d)  The following fees shall apply to hunting licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.2: 

(1) Resident State Hunting License - $25.00. 

(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Hunting 

License - $265.00. 

(3) Controlled Hunting Preserve Hunting License - 

$22.00. 

(4) Resident Annual Comprehensive Hunting 

License - $39.00. 

(5) Nonresident State Hunting Licenses: 

(A) Season License - $100.00. 

(B) Ten-Day License - $80.00. 

(6) Falconry Hunting License - $25.00. 

(e)  The following fees shall apply to special activity licenses 

issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.3: 

(1) Resident Big Game Hunting License - $14.00. 

(2) Nonresident Bear Hunting License - $239.00. 

(3) Bear Management Stamp - $11.00. 

(4) Nonresident Big Game Hunting License: 

(A) Season License - $100.00. 

(B) Ten-Day License - $80.00. 

(5) Bonus Antlerless Deer License - $11.00. 

(6) Game Land License - $16.00. 

(7) Falconry License - $11.00. 

(8) Migratory Waterfowl Hunting License - 

$14.00. 

(9) Resident American Alligator License - 

$250.00. 

(10) Nonresident American Alligator License - 

$500.00. 

(11) Resident Elk License - $500.00. 

(12) Nonresident Elk License - $1,000.00. 

(f)  The following fees shall apply to hunting and fishing guide 

licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.4: 

(1) Resident Hunting and Fishing Guide License - 

$16.00. 

(2) Nonresident Hunting and Fishing Guide 

License - $159.00. 

(g)  The following fees shall apply to trapping licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.5: 

(1) Resident State Trapping License - $32.00. 

(2) Resident Lifetime Trapping License - $300.00. 

(3) Nonresident State Trapping License - $133.00. 

(h)  The following fees shall apply to hook-and-line licenses in 

inland and joint fishing waters issued by the Commission, as set 

forth in G.S. 113-271: 
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(1) Resident State Inland Fishing License - $25.00. 

(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Inland 

Fishing License - $265.00. 

(3) Nonresident State Inland Fishing License - 

$45.00. 

(4) Short-Term Inland Fishing License: 

(A) Resident 10-day Inland Fishing 

License - $9.00. 

(B) Nonresident 10-day Inland Fishing 

License - $23.00. 

(5) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Inland Fishing 

License - $16.00. 

(6) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Inland 

Fishing License - $11.00. 

(7) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Inland 

Fishing License - $11.00. 

(8) Special Landholder and Guest Fishing License 

- $106.00. 

(9) Mountain Heritage Trout Waters 3-Day Fishing 

License - $8.00. 

(i)  The following fees shall apply to special device licenses issued 

by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.2: 

(1) Resident Special Device License - $80.00. 

(2) Nonresident Special Device License - $530.00. 

(j)  The fee for a collection license issued by the Commission, as 

set forth in G.S. 113-272.4 shall be $10.00. 

(k)  The following fees shall apply to captivity licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.5: 

(1) Captivity License for Holding - $50.00. 

(2) Captivity License for Rehabilitation - $10.00. 

(l)  The following fees shall apply to dealer licenses issued by the 

Commission as set forth in G.S. 113-273: 

(1) Resident Fur-dealer License - $64.00. 

(2) Nonresident Fur-dealer License - $318.00. 

(3) Fur-dealer Station License - $128.00. 

(4) Controlled Hunting Preserve Operator License 

- $100.00. 

(5) Game Bird Propagation License - $10.00. 

(6) Furbearer Propagation License - $27.00. 

(7) Taxidermy License - $50.00. 

(8) Taxidermy Cervid Certification - $5.00. 

(9) Wildlife Control Agent License - $50.00. 

(10) Alligator Control Agent Certification - $25.00. 

(m)  The following fees shall apply to permits issued by the 

Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-274: 

(1) Possession Permit - $10.00. 

(2) Exportation or Importation Permit - $10.00. 

(3) Trophy Wildlife Sale Permit - $10.00. 

(4) Endangered Species Permit - $10.00. 

(5) Field Trial Permit - $10.00. 

(n)  Unified hunting and fishing licenses issued by the 

Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-351: 

(1) Annual Resident Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $69.00. 

(2) Annual Resident Unified Inland/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $43.00. $41.00. 

(3) Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing Licenses: 

(A) Infant Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $292.00. 

(B) Youth Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $477.00. 

(C) Resident Adult Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $716.00. 

(D) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $1,643.00. 

(E) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $32.00. 

(F) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime 

Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - 

$117.00. 

(G) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime 

Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - 

$117.00. 

(4) Resident Lifetime Unified Inland/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $477.00. 

(o)  The following fees shall apply to Coastal Recreational Fishing 

Licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-

174.2: 

(1) Annual Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $16.00. 

(2) Annual Nonresident Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $32.00. 

(3) Ten-Day Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $6.00. 

(4) Ten-Day Nonresident Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $11.00. 

(5) Infant Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $106.00. 

(6) Youth Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $159.00. 

(7) Resident Adult Lifetime Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $265.00. 

(8) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $530.00. 

(9) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $16.00. 

(10) Resident Disabled Veteran Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $11.00. 

(11) Resident Totally Disabled Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $11.00. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-270.1B(e); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Rule-making Agency:  NC Wildlife Resources Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 10L .0101 
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Effective Date:  December 3, 2019 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  November 

21, 2019 

 

Reason for Action:  The effective date of a recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress. SL 2019-95, Effective 

June 25, 2018 – The section of Bill Rule is based on became 

effective for taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2019. 

The Commission is required to adopt rules needed to administer 

the4 activities mandated for creating and maintaining land as a 

wildlife reserve for hunting, fishing, shooting, wildlife 

observation or wildlife activities.  This rule lists qualifying habitat 

types and defines qualifying activities for land created and 

maintained to propagate a sustaining breeding, migrating, or 

wintering population of indigenous wild animals for human use, 

including food, medicine, or recreation. 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10L – WILDLIFE CONSERVATION 

LAND PROGRAM 

 

15A NCAC 10L .0101 WILDLIFE RESERVE 

(a)  A wildlife reserve is a type of wildlife conservation land that 

meets the size and ownership requirements in G.S. 105-277.15 

and where the conditions in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule are 

met and maintained by the owner under a written Wildlife Habitat 

Conservation Agreement with the NC Wildlife Resources 

Commission that is submitted by the landowner to the county 

where an application for reduced property tax assessment is 

requested. 

(b)  Qualifying habitat shall be planned for or exist as, and be 

maintained as one or more of the following natural community 

types: 

(1) aquatic and wetland communities communities: 

(A) coldwater systems less than 20°C; 

(B) coolwater systems greater than 20°C, 

less than 25°C; 

(C) warmwater systems greater than 25°C; 

(D) headwaters and small creek 

communities less than 40 square mile 

drainage area; 

(E) large creeks and small river 

communities 40 to 200 square mile 

drainage area; 

(F) medium river communities 200 to 

3,800 square mile drainage area; 

(G) large river communities greater than 

3,800 square mile drainage area; 

(H) stream swamp systems; 

(I) natural lakes; 

(J) reservoirs and impoundments; 

(K) groundwater, springs, and 

subterranean water; 

(L) estuarine aquatic communities; 

(M) bogs and fens; 

(N) estuarine wetland communities; 

(O floodplains - blackwater, brownwater, 

or inland systems; 

(P) freshwater tidal wetlands; 

(Q) nonalluvial mineral wetlands; 

(R) pocosins; 

(S) upland pools and depressions; 

(T) upland seepages and spray cliffs; or 

(U) wet pine savannas. 

(2) upland communities communities: 

(A) caves and mines; 

(B) cove forests; 

(C) dry coniferous woodlands including 

loblolly and slash pine timberlands; 

(D) dry longleaf pine communities; 

(E) grass and heath balds; 

(F) high-elevation cliffs and rock 

outcrops; 

(G) low elevation flatrocks, cliffs, and 

rock outcrops; 

(H) mafic glades and barrens; 

(I) maritime forests; 

(J) maritime grasslands; 

(K) mesic forests; 

(L) oak and mixed hardwood and pine 

forests; 

(M) montane oak forests; 

(N) northern hardwood forests; 

(O) sand, shell, and wrack shorelines; 

(P) spruce - fir forests; or 

(Q) herbaceous, shrub, and woody 

successional communities. 

(c)  At least three of the following activities shall be maintained 

on the land as agreed upon in the written Wildlife Habitat 

Conservation Agreement: 

(1) "supplemental food" is annual or perennial 

noninvasive plantings that provide a direct or 

indirect source of food or nutrition for wildlife 

resources. 

(2) "supplemental water" includes natural and 

artificial water features or sources that are 

created or installed for the benefit of wildlife 

resources. 

(3) "supplemental shelter" is natural or artificial 

structures that are created or installed to provide 

shelter from the weather, nesting sites, nesting 

sites, shelter from the weather, or escape cover 

from predators. Supplemental shelter may 

include the addition of natural or artificial 

structures into aquatic habitats. 

(4) "habitat control" is managing upland, wetland, 

riparian, or aquatic vegetation or physical 

aquatic habitat using practices to establish, 

restore, enhance, or maintain the natural 

community type(s) listed in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. 

(5) "erosion control" is the implementation of 

practices to prevent, reduce, or minimize soil 

erosion. Practices may include streambank and 

in-stream channel stabilization. Practices 
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established for erosion control shall not be 

known to harm wildlife or include invasive 

plant species. 

(6) "predator control" is a practice implemented to 

reduce the abundance of a species or suite of 

species that preys on any life stage of wildlife 

species for which the land is managed. Predator 

control includes removal of invasive animal 

species to manage or protect wildlife or wildlife 

habitats. 

(7) "census of animal population on the land" is 

conducting or participating in periodic surveys 

and inventories to determine the presence, 

number, composition, biological condition, or 

human use of wildlife. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-277.15; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 3, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Commission for Public Health 

 

Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 18A .2508 and .2543 

 

Effective Date:  December 3, 2019 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  November 

21, 2019 

 

Reason for Action:  The effective date of a recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.  SL 2019-88, effective 

July 8, 2019 directs the Commission for Public Health (CPH) to 

adopt rules governing the construction and operation of artificial 

swimming lagoons by December 1, 2019.  Artificial swimming 

lagoon is defined as any body of water used for recreational 

purposes with more than 20,000 square feet of surface area, an 

artificial liner, and a method of disinfectant that results in a 

disinfectant residual in the swimming zone that is protective of the 

public health. 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 

 

SECTION .2500 - PUBLIC SWIMMING POOLS  

 

15A NCAC 18A .2508 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Department" means North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(1)(2) "Equipment replacement" means replacement 

of individual components of the hydraulic and 

disinfection systems such as pumps, filters, and 

automatic chemical feeders. 

(2)(3) "Public swimming pool" means public 

swimming pool as defined in G.S. 130A-280. 

Public swimming pools are divided into five 

types: 

(a) "Swimming pools" are public 

swimming pools used primarily for 

swimming. 

(b) "Spas" are public swimming pools 

designed for recreational and 

therapeutic use that are not drained, 

cleaned, or refilled after each 

individual use. Spas may include units 

designed for hydrojet circulation, hot 

water, cold water mineral bath, air 

induction bubbles, or any combination 

thereof. Common terminology for 

spas includes "therapeutic pool," 

"hydrotherapy pool," "whirlpool," 

"hot spa," and "hot tub." 

(c) "Wading pools" are public swimming 

pools designed for use by children, 

including wading pools for toddlers 

and children's activity pools designed 

for casual water play ranging from 

splashing activity to the use of 

interactive water features placed in the 

pool. 

(d) "Specialized water "Water recreation 

attractions" are pools designed for 

special purposes that differentiate 

them from swimming pools, wading 

pools and spas. They include: 

(i) water slide plunge pools and 

run out lanes, which transfer 

the kinetic energy of the 

users' velocity through 

friction to the slide; 

(ii) wave pools; 

(iii) rapid rides; 

(iv) lazy rivers; 

(v) interactive play attractions 

that incorporate devices 

using sprayed, jetted, or other 

water sources contacting the 

users and that do not 

incorporate standing or 

captured water as part of the 

user activity area; and area; 

(vi) training pools deeper than a 

24 inch deep wading pool 

and shallower than a 36 inch 

deep swimming pool. pool; 

and 

(vii) artificial swimming lagoons 

as defined in G.S. 130A-280. 

(e) "Special purpose and therapy pools" 

are pools designed and used for 

therapeutic treatments or physical 

training and fitness outside of a 

licensed medical facility or practice of 

a licensed physical therapist. They 

include: 
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(i) float tanks used for float 

therapy in a salt brine 

solution; 

(ii) swim spa training pools 

which use jetted water for 

stationary swimming against 

a water current; 

(iii) exercise therapy and 

treadmill pools equipped for 

water resistance exercise 

therapy; and 

(iv) scuba pools designed and 

used for training swimmers 

to use self-contained 

underwater breathing 

apparatus. 

(3)(4) "Registered Design Professional" means an 

individual who is registered or licensed to 

practice engineering as defined by G.S. 89C or 

architecture as defined by G.S. 83A. 

(4)(5) "Remodeled" means renovated in a manner 

requiring disruption of the majority of the pool 

shell or deck, changes in the pool profile, or 

redesign of the pool hydraulic system. 

(5)(6) "Repair" means returning existing equipment to 

working order, replastering or repainting of the 

pool interior, replacement of tiles or coping and 

similar maintenance activities. This term 

includes replacement of pool decks where the 

Department has determined that no changes are 

needed to underlying pipes or other pool 

structures. 

(6)(7) "Safety vacuum release system" means a 

system or device capable of providing vacuum 

release at a suction outlet caused by a high 

vacuum occurrence due to suction outlet flow 

blockage. 

(7)(8) "Splash zone" means the area of an interactive 

play attraction that sheds water to a surge tank 

or container to be recirculated. 

(8)(9) "Unblockable drain" means a drain of any size 

and shape that a human body cannot 

sufficiently block to create a suction entrapment 

hazard. 

(10) "Water feature" means any component within a 

public swimming pool that pumps, jets, or 

sprays water above the waterline. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-280; 130A-282; S.L. 2019-

88; 

Eff. May 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 1994 for a period of 180 days 

or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2013; May 1, 2010; March 1, 2004; April 

1, 1999; January 1, 1996; October 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 20, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 3, 2019. 

15A NCAC 18A .2543 WATER RECREATION 

ATTRACTIONS 

(a)  Water recreation attractions including water slides, wave 

pools, rapid rides, lazy rivers rivers, artificial swimming lagoons, 

and other similar features can deviate from the requirements of 

this Section with respect to pool profile, depth, freeboard, flow 

dynamics and surface skimming systems. The designing engineer 

or equipment manufacturer shall provide the Department with 

information design plans and technical specifications to justify 

such deviation deviation. as necessary for the proper function of 

the attraction. Water recreation attractions shall meet all other 

requirements of this Section. 

(b)  Water slide landing pools with a capacity of less than 60,000 

gallons shall have a circulation and filtration system capable of 

turning over the entire pool capacity every two hours. Where 

automatic chemical controllers are used the turnover time shall be 

no more than three hours. Landing pool dimensions shall be 

consistent with the slide manufacturer's recommendation. 

(c)  When waterfalls are incorporated in water recreation 

attractions, they shall be constructed with no handholds or 

footholds to a height of four feet to discourage climbing. 

(d)  Interactive play attractions shall be constructed and operated 

in accordance with the rules of this section rules of this Section 

and shall comply with the following: 

(1) The recirculation system shall contain a water 

capacity equal to at least three minutes of 

maximum flow of all feature pumps and filter 

circulation pumps combined and shall not be 

less than 1,000 gallons. Where the water 

capacity exceeds 10,000 gallons, the minimum 

capacity shall be based on the lesser of three 

minutes of maximum feature flow or 7.5 

gallons per square foot of splash zone 

watershed drained to the surge container. 

(2) Access shall be provided to the surge water 

container. 

(3) A filter circulation system shall be provided and 

shall be separate from the feature pump system 

except that both systems can draw water from a 

common drain pipe if the drain and pipe are 

sized to handle the flow of all pumps without 

exceeding the flow velocities specified in Rule 

.2518 of this Section. 

(4) The filter circulation system shall draw water 

from the surge container through a variable 

height surface skimmer and a bottom drain 

located no more than 6 inches from the bottom 

of the container. Custom skimming systems 

that do not comply with ANSI/NSF Standard 50 

shall be approved where the operational 

requirements make it necessary to deviate from 

that standard. 

(5) The filter circulation system shall filter and 

return the entire water capacity in no more than 

30 minutes and shall operate 24 hours a day. 

(6) Automatic chemical controllers shall be 

provided to monitor and adjust the disinfectant 

residual and pH of the water contained in the 

system. 
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(7) The disinfectant residual in interactive play 

attractions shall be maintained at a level of at 

least two parts per million of free chlorine. 

Chlorine feeders shall be capable of producing 

12 parts per million of free chlorine in the filter 

circulation piping. 

(8) Valves shall be provided to control water flow 

to the features in accordance with the 

manufacturers' specifications. 

(9) Splash zones shall be sloped to drains sized and 

located to remove all feature water to the surge 

tank without water accumulating on the surface. 

(10) Deck or walkway space is not required outside 

the splash zone. 

(11) Dressing and sanitary facilities shall be 

provided. 

(12) Interactive play features shall not be required to 

have a fence except the wading pool fence 

requirements shall apply to interactive play 

features located inside a swimming pool 

enclosure. 

(13) The safety provisions of Rule .2530 of this 

Section shall not apply except a sign shall be 

posted prohibiting pets and glass containers. 

(14) Interactive play attractions built prior to April 

1, 2004, that do not comply with these design 

and construction requirements shall be 

permitted to operate as built if no water quality 

or safety violations occur. 

(e)  Training pools shall meet the requirements for swimming 

pools with the following exceptions: 

(1) Training pools shall be equipped with a filter 

circulation system that filters and returns the 

entire pool capacity in no more than two hours. 

(2) The free chlorine residual in training pools shall 

be maintained at no less than two parts per 

million. 

(f)  Artificial swimming lagoons shall meet the requirements for 

public swimming pools except as specified in this Rule: 

(1) Pool shells shall not be required. Liners shall 

meet the requirements of Rule .2514 of this 

Section. 

(2) Underwater components of the artificial 

swimming lagoon or float lines with openings 

greater than one-half inch shall not be allowed 

in swimming zones. 

(3) All swimming zone float rope components shall 

be a color contrasting with the pool liner. The 

location of the float rope may vary from the 

requirements of Rule .2523(e) of this Section 

regarding breakpoint and slope. A contrasting 

color band shall not be required on the liner 

under the rope. 

(4) Each swimming zone and water feature shall 

meet water quality standards as required in Rule 

.2535 of this Section. If the water quality of a 

swimming zone or water feature does not meet 

the requirements of Rule .2535 of this Section, 

the operator shall close the swimming zone or 

water feature and post a sign at the entrance of 

the swimming zone with legible letters of at 

least four inches (10 cm) in height stating 

"ATTENTION: THE SWIMMING ZONE IS 

CLOSED. SWIMMING IN THIS AREA IS 

NOT PERMITTED AT THIS TIME". The 

swimming zone or water feature shall remain 

closed until the water quality in the swimming 

zone or water feature complies with the 

requirements of Rule .2535 of this Section. 

(5) All non-swimming zones shall be maintained so 

the bottom of the lagoon is visible in all areas. 

(6) A sign shall be posted at all entrances with 

legible letters of at least four inches (10 cm) in 

height stating "NOTICE – NO SWIMMING 

ALLOWED OUTSIDE OF DESIGNATED 

SWIMMING ZONES". 

(7) Signage shall be provided indicating swimming 

zones. 

(8) Depth markings and no diving markers shall be 

provided on decks in swimming zones as 

required in Rule .2523 of this Section. Signs 

shall be posted at all entrances to swimming 

zones with legible letters of at least four inches 

(10cm) in height stating "NO DIVING" and 

stating the maximum depth of the swimming 

zone in Arabic numerals and shall include the 

word "feet" or the symbol "ft" to indicate the 

unit of measure. 

(9) Decks may vary from the minimum deck area 

requirements in Rule .2522 of this Section at 

zero entry areas located within swimming 

zones. Access to swimming zones shall be 

provided for emergency vehicles and 

personnel. No decks shall be required in non-

swimming zones. 

(10) Swimming zones shall meet all safety 

provisions as set out in Rule .2530 of this 

Section. Where swimming zones are separated 

by more than 75 feet, each swimming zone shall 

separately meet all safety provisions. Non-

swimming zones are exempt from the 

requirements in Rule .2530 of this Section. 

(11) A water treatment system that does not meet the 

requirements of Rules .2518 and .2519 of this 

Section shall be approved by the Environmental 

Health Section of the Department's Division of 

Public Health when the treatment system 

performs in a manner equal or superior to the 

systems described in Rules .2518 and .2519 of 

this Section in terms of water clarification, 

disinfection, and removal of debris, and results 

in a measurable disinfectant level residual and 

pH level as required in Subparagraph (f)(4) of 

this Rule. 

(12) The requirements of Rule .2526(e) – (h) of this 

Section shall not apply. Sanitary facility 

requirements shall comply with the 2018 North 

Carolina State Building Code: Plumbing Code, 
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which is incorporated by reference, including 

any reference with subsequent changes or 

amendments or editions and available free of 

charge at: 

https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/NCPC2018. 

(13) Bacteriological samples (enterococcus) shall be 

collected by the operator in non-swimming 

zones and tested weekly. One sample shall be 

collected for every 250 feet of shoreline, with 

no more than 300 feet and no less than 25 feet 

between any two sampling locations. The 

samples shall be collected at least one foot 

below the surface, in at least three feet of water. 

The samples shall be analyzed by a laboratory 

accredited by the National Environmental 

Laboratory Accreditation Program. The test 

results shall be maintained as part of the records 

required in Rule .2535(11) of this Section. 

(14) When the result of any test required by 

Subparagraph (f)(13) of this Rule exceeds the 

standards in Rule .3402(a) of this Subchapter, 

the operator shall: 

(A) notify the permitting agency and 

resample the water within 24 hours of 

receipt of the result from the 

laboratory; and 

(B) close all non-swimming zones and 

post a sign at all non-swimming zone 

entrances with legible letters of at least 

four inches (10 cm) in height stating 

"ATTENTION: ALL NON-

SWIMMING ZONES ARE 

CLOSED. RECREATIONAL 

ACTIVITIES IN THIS AREA ARE 

NOT PERMITTED AT THIS TIME". 

This sign shall remain posted until 

resampling determines that bacterial 

levels do not exceed the standards in 

Rule .3402(a) of this Subchapter. 

(15) Non-swimming zones shall not be required to 

comply with the lighting requirements of Rule 

.2524 of this Section. When night swimming is 

allowed, the operator shall provide lighting in 

swimming zones as required for public 

swimming pools. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-280; 130A-282; S.L. 2019-

88; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 20, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 3, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISISONS 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Rule-making Agency:  Real Estate Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 58A .0305 

 

Effective Date:  December 3, 2019 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  November 

21, 2019 

 

Reason for Action:  The proposed adoption of 21 NCAC 58A 

.0305 would establish a process for individuals who wish to file a 

petition for a predetermination of whether the individual's 

criminal history will likely disqualify them from obtaining a real 

estate license.  21 NCAC 58A .0305 is in response to the recently 

approved S.L. 2019-91, specifically Section 4, that is effective 

October 1, 2019. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 58A – REAL ESTATE BROKERS 

 

SECTION .0300 – APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0305 PETITION FOR 

PREDETERMINATION 

(a)  An individual who wishes to file a petition for a 

predetermination of whether the individual's criminal history will 

likely disqualify the individual from obtaining a real estate license 

shall submit a petition on the Commission's website. 

(b)  The petition shall include the petitioner's: 

(1) legal name; 

(2) mailing, physical, and email addresses; 

(3) social security number; 

(4) date of birth; 

(5) telephone number; 

(6) places of residence for the past seven years; 

(7) employment history during the last three years 

or since the date of the crime was committed; 

petitioner's last criminal conviction, whichever 

is greater; 

(8) criminal record report prepared by the 

Commission's approved independent vendor 

pursuant to G.S. 93B-8.1 no more than 60 days 

prior to the date of petition; 

(9) written statement describing the circumstances 

surrounding the commission of the crime(s); 

(10) written statement of any rehabilitation efforts, 

if applicable; 

(11) rehabilitative drug or alcohol treatments, if 

applicable; 

(12) Certificate of Relief granted pursuant to G.S. 

15A-173.2, if applicable; 

(13) affidavits or other written documents, including 

character references, that the petitioner intends 

to submit for review; references; 

(14) certification; certification that the information 

is true and accurate; and 

(15) signature. 

(c)  The fee for a petition for predetermination shall be forty-five 

dollars ($45.00). 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93B-8.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 3, 2019. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission November 21, 2019 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079 
Ashley Snyder  (919) 431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 December 19, 2019          January 16, 2020 
  February 20, 2020 March 19, 2020 

 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
November 21, 2019 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, November 21, 2019, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina. Commissioners present were Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Bobby Bryan, Margaret 
Currin, Jeanette Doran, Garth Dunklin, Brian LiVecchi, Paul Powell, and Tommy Tucker. 
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsel Amber Cronk May, Ashley Snyder, and Amanda Reeder; and Julie 
Brincefield, Alex Burgos, and Dana McGhee.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m. with Vice-Chair Doran presiding. 
 
Vice-Chair Doran read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a 
duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
Vice-Chair Doran asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the October 17, 2019 
meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
The Vice-Chair notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end 
of the agenda: Temporary Rules for the State Board of Education. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Department of Administration 
01 NCAC 05B .1520 was unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Elections 
The agency is addressing the objection for 08 NCAC 10B .0103. No action was required by the Commission. 
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Commission for the Blind 
The agency is addressing the objections for 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, and .0601. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Department of Justice 
12 NCAC 02I .0306 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Private Protective Services Board 
14B NCAC 16 .0804 was unanimously approved. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
The agency is addressing the technical change requests from the October meeting for 15A NCAC 02B .0229, .0232, .0234, 
.0235, .0236, .0237, .0238, .0239, .0240, .0255, .0256, .0257, .0258, .0701, and .0730 - No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, 
.0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, 
.0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, .0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, 
.1204, .1205, and .1206 - The agency is addressing the objections from the July meeting. The Commission renewed its 
objection.  
 
Commissioner Bryan joined the meeting during the discussion of the rules from the Environmental Management 
Commission. 
 
Board of Dietetics/Nutrition 
21 NCAC 17 .0101 and .0303 were unanimously approved. 
 
Commissioner LiVecchi joined the meeting during the discussion of the rules from the Board of Dietetics/Nutrition. 
 
Board of Funeral Service 
21 NCAC 34A .0201 was unanimously approved. 
 
21 NCAC 34B .0310; 34C .0305; 34D .0105, .0203, and .0303 were withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Funeral Service, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate 
in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm represented the Board at the time the rules were 
submitted. 
 
State Board of Opticians  
21 NCAC 40 .0104, .0109, .0209, .0314, .0319, 0323, and .0325 were unanimously approved.  
 
21 NCAC 40 .0321 - The agency is addressing the objections and requests for technical changes from the September 
meeting.  
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the State Board of Opticians, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate 
in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm represents the Board and assists the Board with 
rulemaking. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Department of Natural and Cultural Resources  
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Department of Health and Human Services 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
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Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission 
All rules were unanimously approved with the following exceptions: 
 
The Commission extended the period of review for 14B NCAC 15A .1406 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. They did so 
in response to a request from the agency to extend the period in order to allow the agency additional time to prepare a 
response to a staff opinion issued on the rule.   
 
14B NCAC 15A .1101 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Real Estate Commission 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Real Estate Commission, Commissioner Dunklin recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because he practices before the Commission. 
 
Building Code Council  
All rules were unanimously approved with the following exceptions: 
 
Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202; and Energy Conservation Code R406.2. – The 
Commission voted pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9 to ask the Office of State Budget and Management to determine if the above-
referenced rules have a substantial economic impact and therefore require a fiscal note. A response to this request pursuant 
to G.S. 150B-21.9 will assist the Commission in determining whether the agency adopted the rules in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 
 
These Rules will remain under the Commission’s review until after review by OSBM and subsequent action by the agency 
pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12.   
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
Wildlife Resources Commission  
15A NCAC 10A .1601 and 10L .0101 were approved with Commissioner Tucker voting against.   
 
Michael Smallwood, with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Commission for Public Health 
15A NCAC 18A .2508 and .2543 were unanimously approved. 
 
State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06C .0326, .0329, .0334, .0335, .0336, .0337, .0338, .0339, .0340, .0341, .0342, .0343, .0344, .0345, and .0346. 
 
The Commission found that the statements of the findings of need as provided in the Temporary Findings of Need Forms 
did not meet the criteria set forth in G.S. 150B-21.1(a) and also that the rules did not meet the standards set forth in G.S. 
150B-21.9.    
 
The Temporary Findings of Need Forms for these Rules indicate that the agency engaged in temporary rulemaking as a 
result of a recent act of the General Assembly, specifically S.L. 2019-149.  Box 7 of the Forms state that “the General 
Assembly directed the State Board of Education to adopt by October 1, 2019, a rule required by N.C. Gen. Stat. 115C-
269.45(c1).”  Box 5 of the Forms indicate that the State Board of Education did not adopt these Rules until November 7, 
2019.  The Commission did not approve these Rules because the adoption date of these Rules was after October 1, 2019 
and therefore, the State Board of Education lacked the statutory authority for temporary rule making. 
 
In addition, the Commission objected to all rules except for .0340, which specifically addresses the small group exception 
referenced by Section 2 of S.L. 2019-149, for lack of statutory authority.  The Commission found that the remaining rules 
are beyond the limited and narrow scope of the mandate provided in the Section 2 of S.L. 2019-149 as referenced on the 
Findings of Need Forms.   
 
The Commission also objected to 16 NCAC 06C .0339 and .0342 through .0346 for clarity.  The Commission determined 
that it was unclear whether these Rules create sanctions in addition to those provided in G.S. 115C-269.45(a)(1) through 
(3) or whether the intent is to address the “performance measures” as referenced by the same.   
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Finally, the Commission objected to 16 NCAC 06C .0346 for lack of statutory authority, finding that this Rule as filed directly 
contradicts G.S. 115C-269.45.  Specifically, Paragraph (b) of this Rule allows for “an EPP on revoked status” to “continue 
to admit students…”; however, G.S. 115C-269.45(b)(2) states “upon assignment of revoked status of EPP approval, the 
EPP shall not admit new students.” Further, Paragraph (c) of this Rule provides an EPP the ability to recommend students 
for licensure for two years once it is placed on revoked status; however, G.S. 115C-269.45(a)(3) states that “an EPP shall 
be assigned revoked status and its approval to recommend students for educator licensure revoked...” when specific 
requirements are met.   
 
Commissioner LiVecchi voted against the objections. 
 
Eric Snider, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Real Estate Commission 
21 NCAC 58A .0305 was unanimously approved. 
 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Real Estate Commission, Commissioner Dunklin recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rule because he practices before the Commission. 
 
EXISTING RULES REVIEW 
Department of Revenue  
17 NCAC 07 – As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
December 31, 2023 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The Commission reviewed the 2020 RRC meeting dates. 
 
The meeting adjourned at 10:37 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, December 19, 2019 at 9:00 a.m. 
 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeff Hyde, Chair 
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

November 21, 2019 Meeting 

ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Debarment 01 NCAC 05B .1520 

 
NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Permissible Activities 07 NCAC 15 .0104 

Permission for Use 07 NCAC 15 .0105 

Lethal Instruments 07 NCAC 15 .0401 

Pets 07 NCAC 15 .0504 

Photographs 07 NCAC 15 .0603 

 
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Nondiscrimination Procedures 10A NCAC 01E .0101 

Complaints 10A NCAC 01E .0102 

Investigation 10A NCAC 01E .0103 

Written Determination 10A NCAC 01E .0104 

Reconsideration 10A NCAC 01E .0105 

Records 10A NCAC 01E .0106 

Other Remedies 10A NCAC 01E .0107 

Construction 10A NCAC 01E .0108 

Applicability and Scope 10A NCAC 01E .0201 

Complaints 10A NCAC 01E .0202 

Investigation 10A NCAC 01E .0203 

Written Determination 10A NCAC 01E .0204 

Reconsideration 10A NCAC 01E .0205 

Records 10A NCAC 01E .0206 

Other Remedies 10A NCAC 01E .0207 

Construction 10A NCAC 01E .0208 

Applicability and Scope 10A NCAC 01E .0301 

Complaints 10A NCAC 01E .0302 

Investigation 10A NCAC 01E .0303 

Resolution of Matters 10A NCAC 01E .0304 

Reconsideration 10A NCAC 01E .0305 

 
SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Certification and Training for School Resources Officers 12 NCAC 10B .0510 

Minimum Training Requirements 12 NCAC 10B .2005 

 
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

Maintenance of Working Capital 14B NCAC 15A .0902 

Deposits 14B NCAC 15A .0903 

Daily Deposits 14B NCAC 15A .0905 

Annual Independent Financial Audit 14B NCAC 15A .0907 

Employment Age Requirement 14B NCAC 15A .1003 

Personnel Manual 14B NCAC 15A .1006 

Local Rules 14B NCAC 15A .1102 

Cost of Audit 14B NCAC 15A .1103 
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Approval of New Stores 14B NCAC 15A .1203 

New Stores Prohibited in Certain Areas 14B NCAC 15A .1204 

Storage: Deliveries: Security 14B NCAC 15A .1301 

Commercial Transportation: Permit and Bond Required 14B NCAC 15A .1302 

Direct Shipments 14B NCAC 15A .1304 

Commemorative Bottles 14B NCAC 15A .1404 

Record Required 14B NCAC 15A .1405 

 
PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Investigation/Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration P... 14B NCAC 16 .0804 

 
DIETETICS/NUTRITION, BOARD OF 

Definitions and Acronyms 21 NCAC 17 .0101 

Supervision 21 NCAC 17 .0303 

 
FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

Fees and Other Payments 21 NCAC 34A .0201 

 
OPTICIANS, STATE BOARD OF 

Information and Application 21 NCAC 40 .0104 

Election of Members 21 NCAC 40 .0109 

Display of Registration and License 21 NCAC 40 .0209 

Apprenticeship and Internship Requirements: Registration 21 NCAC 40 .0314 

Applicants from Other States 21 NCAC 40 .0319 

Affidavit of Applicant 21 NCAC 40 .0323 

Licensure for Military-Trained Applicant; Licensure for M... 21 NCAC 40 .0325 

 
REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Attendance and Participation Requirements 21 NCAC 58A .1705 

Broker-in-Charge Course 21 NCAC 58A .1712 

 
BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Building code Table 602 

2018 NC Building Code/Membrane Penetrations 714.4.2 

2018 NC Residential Code/Group R 903.2.8 

2018 NC Residential Code/Foundation Anchorage R403.1.6 

2018 NC Residential Code/Support by Steel Angle R703.8.2.1 

2018 NC Residential Code/Freezing P2603.5 

2018 NC Residential Code/Tracer Wire P2604.1.4 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Freezing 305.4 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Tracer Wire 306.2.4 

2018 NC Fire Prevention Code/Suite/Room Identification 505.1.1 

2018 NC Fire Prevention Code/Group R 903.2.8 

2017 NC Electrical Code/Other than Dwelling Units 210.8(B) 

2017 NC Electrical Code/Arc-Fault Interrupters 406.4(D)(4) 

2017 NC Electrical Code/Definitions 695.2 

2017 NC Electrical Code/Power Source(s) for Electric Moto... 695.3 
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LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

November 21, 2019 Meeting 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

License Fees 15A NCAC 10A .1601 

Wildlife Reserve 15A NCAC 10L .0101 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .2508 

Water Recreation Attractions 15A NCAC 18A .2543 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Petition for Predetermination 21 NCAC 58A .0305 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Don Overby 

Selina Malherbe    J. Randall May 

J. Randolph Ward   David Sutton 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 DHR 02708 10/9/2019 Deborah 

Washington 

v. North Carolina Division of Health 

Benefits Glana Surles 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 03473 10/15/2019 Karla Collard v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 04712 10/17/2019 Ali Alsaras owner 

Saras Inc D/B/A 

University Market 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Ward 

        

19 DOJ 01687 10/16/2019 Derrick Demond 

Lee 

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

19 DOJ 02981 10/30/2019 Shawn Brian Morris v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 03749 10/15/2019 Shelly Lashawn 

Morales 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 04702 10/15/2019 Douglas Earl Martin v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

18 DST 07704 10/28/2019 Ritchie Darnell 

Longworth 

v. State Treasurer of North Carolina 

Retirement Systems Division 

May 

        

    Unpublished    

19 ABC 04313 10/22/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Jensen Restaurant Ventures LLC T/A 

Edenton Oyster Bar 

Overby 

19 ABC 04553 10/16/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Wachdi R Khamis Awad T/A Brothers 

in the Hood 

Overby 

        

19 CSE 02932 10/22/2019 Jeremiah Hightower v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 
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19 CSE 04087 10/1/2019 Joe Roswech v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

        

19 DHR 02931 10/15/2019 The Moses H Cone 

Memorial Hospital 

and MC 

Kernersville LLC 

d/b/a Triad Surgery 

Center  

v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of Health 

Service Regulation, Health Care 

Planning & Certificate of Need  

May 

19 DHR 02954 10/18/2019 Marie Blamoh Teah v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 04140 10/9/2019 Ilene Knox v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 04634 10/28/2019 Kasey Ross v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation Adult Care Licensure 

Section 

May 

19 DHR 04665 10/28/2019 Valerie A 

Hernandez 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 04718 10/24/2019 NOA Human 

Service(Nena 

Ikwechegh) 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Mental Health Licensure 

and Certification 

May 

19 DHR 05155 10/16/2019 Cindy Locklear v. Health Care Registry Overby 

19 DHR 05427 10/25/2019 Antoinette H 

Rochelle 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Lassiter 

        

17 DOJ 04844 10/8/2019 S&M Brands, Inc v. North Carolina Department of Justice Overby 

19 DOJ 04336 10/8/2019 Anthony Clyde 

Fleener 

v. North Carolina Alarm Systems 

Licensing Board 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 04337 10/7/2019; 

10/8/2019 

Peggy Sue Dove v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 04700 10/7/2019; 

10/8/2019 

Dwight Denorris 

Cox 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

19 DOJ 04701 10/8/2020 Michael Gray 

Parsons 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Bawtinhimer 

        

19 EDC 03665 10/28/2019 Robert Marshall 

Hooks 

v. NC Departmetn of Public Instruction May 

        

19 EHR 04370 10/28/2019 DSF of NC Inc 

Javed Warriach 

v. NCDEQ May 

        

19 INS 04662 10/22/2019 Phyllis Charlene 

Dority 

v. NC Health Plan for Teachers and State 

Employees 

Bawtinhimer 

19 INS 04908 10/25/2019 Carolyn Lasater v. State Health Plan of NC Retirement 

Division 

Malherbe 

        

19 OSP 03050 10/4/2019 Andre Tyron 

Caldwell 

v. North Carolina Cental University Jacobs 
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19 OSP 03990 10/3/2019; 

10/4/2019 

Kelly Butler Inman v. County of Alamance Alamance County 

Dept of Social Services 

Ward 

19 OSP 04217 10/9/2019 Susan Bunch v. Mount Airy School Board of Education May 

 


