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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 
a month and contains the following information 
submitted for publication by a state agency: 
(1) temporary rules; 
(2) text of proposed rules; 
(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 
(4) emergency rules 
(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 
(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 
G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 
determines to be helpful to the public. 

 
COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 
is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 
holiday, in which event the period runs until the 
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 
State holiday. 

 
FILING DEADLINES 

 
ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 
employees mandated by the State Personnel 
Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 
State employees. 
 
LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 
NOTICE OF TEXT 

 
EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 
the hearing is published. 
 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 
published or until the date of any public hearings held 
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 
 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 
by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 d ays. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 02 – DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Pesticide Board intends to readopt with 

substantive changes the rules cited as 02 NCAC 09L .0402, .0516 
and readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 02 
NCAC 09L .0101-.0103, .0308, .0310, .0317, .0318, .0502-.0505, 
.0509, .0515, .0519, .0520, .0522-.0527, .0529, .0602, .0603, 
.0701-.0703, .0705-.0707, .0810, .1001-.1003, .1005, .1006, 
.1009, .1102-.1105, .1107-.1109, .1111, .1201, .1202, .1302, 

.1303, .1305, .1306, .1401, .1402, .1404, .1805, .1806, .1901, 

.1902, .1905-.1909, .1913, .1914, .2001-.2004, and .2201-.2203. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 
for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 
published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index
.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any person may 
request a public hearing on the proposed rules by submitting a 
request in writing no later than December 17, 2019 to James W. 

Burnette, Jr., Secretary, NC Pesticide Board, 1090 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1090. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  These rules have gone through the 
periodic review and expiration of existing rules review process 
and were classified as necessary with substantive public interest.  

The rules are being adopted without substantive changes from 
how they are currently in the Administrative Code. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  James Burnette, Jr., 1090 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1090; email 
james.burnette@ncagr.gov 

 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2020 

 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - FOOD AND DRUG PROTECTION 

 
SUBCHAPTER 09L - PESTICIDE SECTION 

 
SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATIONAL RULES 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0101 DUTIES OF THE PESTICIDE 

SECTION (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0102 DUTIES (CONTINUED) 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0103 ASSIGNMENT OF DUTIES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0300 - REGISTRATION 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0308 REGISTRATION FOR THE 

FOLLOWING YEAR (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0310 REREGISTRATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0317 REGISTRATION OF 

PESTICIDES TO MEET SPECIAL LOCAL NEEDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0318 EXEMPTION OF AGENCIES 

FOR USE OF PESTICIDES IN EMERGENCIES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0400 - SAMPLES AND SUBMISSIONS 
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02 NCAC 09L .0402 TOLERANCES 

In regards to establishing tolerances providing for reasonable deviations from the guaranteed analysis statement, the following guidelines 
are adopted: 

(1) that, in general, a "passed" judgment on a pesticide formulation be made if the analytical results are within the 
following guidelines: 
Pesticide Active Ingredient  Allowable Deviation 
Guarantee, Percent   Below Guarantee 

 
<1.00     15 percent of Guarantee 

1.00 - 19.99   0.1 plus   5 percent of Guarantee 
20.00 - 49.99   0.5 plus   3 percent of Guarantee 
50.00 - 100.00   1.0 plus   2 percent of Guarantee 

 

Additional considerations: 
(a) If a sufficient number of samples as 

determined by the food and drug 
protection division of a given product 
indicate that the manufacturer is not 
formulating the product to achieve the 

level of the guarantee, an 
administrative judgment may be made 
to warn the formulator against the 
practice of formulating products in a 
manner only to stay within the 
allowable deviation from the 

guarantee. 
(b)(2) A sample result falling outside of the guidelines 

may not necessarily shall not be "deficient" if 
one of the following factors could reasonably 
be expected to have contributed significantly to 
the off-limits analysis: 

(i)(a) special sampling problems, such as 
fertilizer-pesticide mixtures and 
certain granular products; or 

(ii)(b) accuracy, specificity, reproducibility, 
etc., and reproducibility of the 
methods used when applied to the 

particular formulation; 
(3) that, allowable deviations, similar to those for 

"deficiencies," are not shall not be applicable to 
"overages." Each sample analysis will shall be 
judged individually as to whether or not the 
overage is excessive by using the following 

criteria: 
(a) no illegal residues resulting from use 

according to directions; 
(b) no significant additional hazard to 

applicator or user; 
(c) no significant damage to non-target 

organisms or the environment; 
(d) stability of ingredients and the need 

for "over-formulating"; or 
(e) accuracy, specificity, reproducibility, 

etc., of the methods used when applied 
to the particular formulation. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-437(1); 143-446. 
 

SECTION .0500 - PESTICIDE LICENSES 

02 NCAC 09L .0502 LIST OF RESTRICTED USE 

PESTICIDES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0503 PESTICIDE APPLICATORS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0504 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0505 CLASSIFICATIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0509 CONSULTANT EDUCATION 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0515 RE-EXAMINATIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0516 CONTINUANCES 

Any firm, corporation, or government unit which that is deprived 
of the services of the sole individual at an outlet who is licensed 
as a pesticide dealer may continue to operate in their usual manner 

for a maximum of two months, provided that a request for an 
examination appointment is directed to the food and drug 
protection division of the North Carolina Department of 
Agriculture for a designated individual within two weeks of that 
date when the services of their licensed pesticide dealer was 
terminated, and an individual is available who has worked in 

pesticide sales under the supervision of a licensed pesticide dealer 
for at least three months and which person will supervise pesticide 
sales during the interim period. provided: 

(1) Its designated individual directs a request for an 
examination appointment to the Structural Pest 
Control and Pesticides Division of the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services within two weeks of the 
date it terminates or loses the services of its 
licensed pesticide dealer; 

(2) It has available an individual (the "qualified 
person") who has worked in pesticide sales 
under a licensed pesticide dealers supervision 

for at least three months; and 
(3) The qualified person will supervise pesticide 

sales during the interim period. 
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Authority G.S. 143-449(b). 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0519 CERTIFICATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0520 RECERTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0522 RECERTIFICATION OPTIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0523 RECERTIFICATION IN 

ADDITIONAL CATEGORIES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0524 EXPIRATION OF 

CERTIFICATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0525 RECERTIFICATION OF 

PESTICIDE DEALERS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0526 PESTICIDE DEALER 

RECERTIFICATION OPTIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0527 EXPIRATION OF PESTICIDE 

DEALER CERTIFICATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0529 SOIL AND GROWING MEDIA 

FUMIGATION EXAMINATION WAIVER 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .0600 - PESTICIDE AND PESTICIDE 

CONTAINER DISPOSAL 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0602 DISPOSAL OF PESTICIDES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0603 DISPOSAL OF PESTICIDE 

CONTAINERS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .0700 - DECLARATION OF PESTS AND 

RESTRICTIONS ON THEIR CONTROL 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0701 ORCHARD RATS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0702 RESTRICTIONS CONCERNING 

CONTROL OF ORCHARD RATS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0703 GULLS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0705 RESTRICTIONS CONCERNING 

CONTROL OF PIGEONS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .0706 RED-WINGED BLACKBIRD 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0707 EASTERN AND HAIRY-TAILED 

MOLES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .0800 - BULK DISTRIBUTION OF 

PESTICIDES 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0810 ADOPTION BY REFERENCE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .1000 - AERIAL APPLICATION OF 

PESTICIDES 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1001 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1002 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1003 DRIFT CONTROL 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1005 RESTRICTED AREAS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1006 EXEMPTIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1009 NOTIFICATION OF APIARIES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .1100 - PRIVATE PESTICIDE APPLICATOR 

CERTIFICATION 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1102 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1103 CERTIFICATION 

EXAMINATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1104 SINGLE PURCHASE 

EMERGENCY CERTIFICATION PERMIT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1105 APPLICATIONS UNDER 

SUPERVISION OF CERTIFIED APPLICATOR 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1107 AGE LIMITATIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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02 NCAC 09L .1108 TERM OF CERTIFICATION; 

RECERTIFICATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1109 CERTIFICATION OF PRIVATE 

APPLICATORS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1111 CERTIFICATION/ 

RECERTIFICATION FEE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .1200 - ARSENIC TRIOXIDE 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1201 RESTRICTIONS ON USE AND 

STORAGE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1202 PESTICIDE DEALER AND 

PURCHASER RESPONSIBILITY (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .1300 - AVAILABILITY OF RESTRICTED USE 

PESTICIDES 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1302 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1303 EXEMPTIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1305 RECORD KEEPING 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1306 RECIPIENT IDENTIFICATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .1400 - GROUND APPLICATION OF 

PESTICIDES 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1401 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1402 RECORD KEEPING 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1404 DRIFT CONTROL 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .1800 - WORKER PROTECTION STANDARDS 

FOR AGRICULTURAL PESTICIDES 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1805 ADOPTION BY REFERENCE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 09L .1806 CROP ADVISOR EXEMPTION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .1900 - PESTICIDE STORAGE 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1901 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1902 STORAGE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ALL PESTICIDES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1905 STORAGE FACILITY 

REQUIREMENTS: RUP (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1906 LARGE STORAGE FACILITY 

REQUIREMENTS: RUP (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1907 PURPOSE AND 

IMPLEMENTATION OF CONTINGENCY PLAN 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1908 CONTENT OF CONTINGENCY 

PLAN (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1909 COPIES OF CONTINGENCY 

PLAN (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1913 EFFECTIVE DATE OF 

STORAGE REGULATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .1914 BULK STORAGE 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .2000 - CHEMIGATION 

 

02 NCAC 09L .2001 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .2002 APPLICATION OF PESTICIDES 

THROUGH IRRIGATION SYSTEMS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 09L .2003 PROHIBITION OF 

CONNECTION TO A PUBLIC WATER SYSTEM 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .2004 INSPECTION: INSTALLATION: 

MAINTENANCE AND MODIFICATIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .2200 - INTERIM PROTECTION MEASURES 

FOR THE CAROLINA HEELSPLITTER MUSSEL 
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02 NCAC 09L .2201 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 09L .2202 PESTICIDE USE LIMITATION 

AREAS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 09L .2203 PESTICIDES WITH 

ADDITIONAL USE LIMITATIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Structural Pest Control Committee intends 
to readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 02 
NCAC 34 .0302, .0309, .0328, .0331, .0501-.0506, .0602, .0703, 
and .1206. 
 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 
for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 
published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index
.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any person may 
request a public hearing on the proposed rules by submitting a 
request in writing no later than 12/17/19 to James W. Burnette, 
Jr., Secretary, NC Structural Pest Control Committee, 1090 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1090. 
 

Reason for Proposed Action:  These rules have been through the 
periodic review and expiration of existing rules review process 
and were classified as necessary with substantive public interest.  
These rules are being readopted without changes to the way they 
are currently in the Administrative Code. 
 

Comments may be submitted to:  James Burnette, Jr., 1090 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1090; email 
james.burnette@ncagr.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 
 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 34 - STRUCTURAL PEST CONTROL 

 
SECTION .0300 - LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0302 APPLICATION FOR LICENSES 

AND CARDS: EXAMINATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 34 .0309 RECERTIFICATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 34 .0328 RECORDS: PESTICIDES AND 

APPLICATION EQUIPMENT USED (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 34. 0331 ANCILLARY ACTIVITIES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0500 - WOOD-DESTROYING ORGANISMS 

 
02 NCAC 34 .0501 WOOD-DESTROYING INSECTS: 

EXCLUDING SUBTERRANEAN TERMITES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 34 .0502 PESTICIDES FOR 

SUBTERRANEAN TERMITE PREVENTION AND/OR 

CONTROL (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0503 SUBTERRANEAN TERMITE 

CONTROL: BUILDINGS AFTER CONSTRUCTION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 34 .0504 REPORTING DAMAGE: 

INFESTATION: UNINSPECTED AREAS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
02 NCAC 34 .0505 SUBTERRANEAN TERMITE 

PREVENTION/RES BLDGS UNDER CONST 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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02 NCAC 34 .0506 MIN 

REQUIRE/SUBTERRANEAN TERMITE 

PREV/COMMERCIAL BLDGS UNDER CONST 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .0600 - WOOD-DESTROYING ORGANISMS 

AGREEMENTS 

 
02 NCAC 34 .0602 WOOD-DESTROYING INSECT 

AND OTHER ORGANISM REPORTS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .0700 - HOUSEHOLD PESTICIDES 

 
02 NCAC 34 .0703 WRITTEN RECORDS OF 

HOUSEHOLD PEST CONTROL (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .1200 - ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS: 

CONTESTED CASES 

 
02 NCAC 34 .1206 DECISION OF COMMITTEE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 
TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Commission for Public Health and Department of Health and 
Human Services intend to amend the rules cited as 10A NCAC 
41B .0322, .0323, and .0503. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 
 
Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 20, 2019 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Cardinal Conference Room, located at 5605 Six Forks 
Road, Raleigh, NC 27609 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rules amend the 
breath alcohol test and alcohol screening test rules to add one 
additional breath testing instrument and five additional alcohol 

screening test devices. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 
Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 
27699-1931; phone (919) 707-5006; email 
cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2020 

 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 

 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 41 - EPIDEMIOLOGY HEALTH 

 
SUBCHAPTER 41B – INJURY CONTROL 

 
SECTION .0300 - BREATH ALCOHOL TEST 

REGULATIONS 

 
10A NCAC 41B .0322 INTOXIMETERS: MODEL 

INTOX EC/IR II AND MODEL INTOX EC/IR II 

(ENHANCED WITH SERIAL NUMBER 10,000 OR 

HIGHER) 

The operational procedures to be followed in using the 
Intoximeters, Model Intox EC/IR II and Model Intox EC/IR II 
(Enhanced with serial number 10,000 or higher) are: 

(1) Insure Ensure instrument displays time and 

date; 
(2) Insure Ensure observation period requirements 

have been met; 
(3) Initiate breath test sequence; 
(4) Enter information as prompted by the 

instrument; prompted; 

(5) Verify instrument accuracy; 
(6) When "PLEASE BLOW" appears, collect 

breath sample; 
(7) When "PLEASE BLOW" appears, collect 

breath sample; and 
(8) Print test record. 

If the alcohol concentrations differ by more than 0.02, a third or 
fourth breath sample shall be collected when "PLEASE BLOW" 
appears. Subsequent tests shall be administered as soon as feasible 
by repeating steps (1) through (8), as applicable. 
 
Authority G.S. 20-139.1(b). 
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10A NCAC 41B .0323 PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE: 

INTOXIMETERS: MODEL INTOX EC/IR II AND 

MODEL INTOX EC/IR II (ENHANCED WITH SERIAL 

NUMBER 10,000 OR HIGHER) 

The preventive maintenance procedures for the Intoximeters, 
Model Intox EC/IR II and Model Intox EC/IR II (Enhanced with 
serial number 10,000 or higher) to be followed at least once every 

four months are: 
(1) Verify the ethanol gas canister displays at least 

51 pounds per square inch (psi) of pressure, or 
the alcoholic breath simulator thermometer 
shows 34 degrees, plus or minus .2 degree 
centigrade; 

(2) Verify instrument displays time and date; 
(3) Initiate breath test sequence; 
(4) Enter information as prompted; 
(5) Verify instrument accuracy; 
(6) When "PLEASE BLOW" appears, collect 

breath sample; 

(7) When "PLEASE BLOW" appears, collect 
breath sample; 

(8) Print test record; 
(9) Run diagnostic program and confirm 

preventive maintenance status of "Pass"; Verify 
Diagnostic Program; and 

(10) Verify that the ethanol gas canister is being 
changed before expiration date, or the alcoholic 
breath simulator solution is being changed 
every four months or after 125 Alcoholic 
Breath Simulator tests, whichever occurs first. 

A signed original of the preventive maintenance record record, or 

an electronic copy of the signed original of the preventive 
maintenance record, shall be kept on file at the North Carolina 
Department of Health and Human Services for at least three years. 
 
Authority G.S. 20-139.1(b2). 
 

SECTION .0500 - ALCOHOL SCREENING TEST 

DEVICES 

 
10A NCAC 41B .0503 APPROVED ALCOHOL 

SCREENING TEST DEVICES: CALIBRATION 

(a)  The following breath alcohol screening test devices are 

approved as to type and make: 
(1) ALCO-SENSOR (with two-digit display), 

manufactured made by Intoximeters, Inc. 
(2) ALCO-SENSOR III (with three-digit display), 

manufactured made by Intoximeters, Inc. 
(3) ALCO-SENSOR IV, manufactured by 

Intoximeters, Inc. 
(4) ALCO-SENSOR FST, manufactured by 

Intoximeters, Inc. 
(5) S-D2, manufactured by CMI, Inc. 
(6) S-D5, manufactured by CMI, Inc.  
(7) ALCO-SENSOR III (Enhanced with Serial 

Numbers above 1,200,000), manufactured by 

Intoximeters, Inc. 

(8) ALCO-SENSOR FST (Enhanced with Serial 

Numbers 200,000 and higher), manufactured 
by Intoximeters, Inc. 

(9) LIFELOC FC10, manufactured by Lifeloc 
Technologies, Inc. 

(10) INTOXILYZER 500, manufactured by CMI, 
Inc. 

(11) ALCOVISOR MERCURY, manufactured by 
PAS International. 

(b)  The agency or operator shall verify instrument calibration of 
each alcohol screening test device at least once during each 30 day 
period of use. The verification shall be performed using by 
employment of an alcoholic breath simulator with a using 

simulator solution in accordance with Paragraph (c) of this Rule 
the rules in this Section or an ethanol gas canister in accordance 
with Paragraph (d) of this Rule. canister. 
(c)  Alcoholic breath simulators used exclusively to verify 
instrument calibration of alcohol screening test devices shall have 
the solution changed every 30 days or after 25 calibration tests, 

whichever occurs first. 
(d)  Ethanol gas canisters used exclusively to verify instrument 
calibration of alcohol screening test devices shall not be utilized 
beyond the expiration date on the canister. 
(e)  Requirements of Paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule shall 
be recorded on an alcoholic breath simulator log or an ethanol gas 

canister log designed by the Forensic Tests for Alcohol Branch 
within the North Carolina Department of Health and Human 
Services and maintained by the user agency in accordance with 
the user agency's retention policy. agency. 
 
Authority G.S. 20-16.3. 

 

 
TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the 
rule cited as 15A NCAC 02B .0304. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/news/events/public-notices-hearings 
 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 
 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 21, 2020 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 
Location:  HIG225 Beaucatcher Mountain Room, Highsmith 
Student Union, One University Heights, Asheville, NC 28804 
 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The N.C. Environmental 
Management Commission (EMC) intends to amend 15A NCAC 

02B .0304. The EMC will conduct a public hearing to consider a 
proposed permanent amendment to 15A NCAC 02B .0304 to 
assign the North Carolina’s Division of Water Resources’ Unique 
Wetland supplemental classification to wetlands at Sandy Bottom 
in Buncombe County (French Broad River Basin), North 
Carolina. The proposed amendment comprises the state’s 
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Triennial Review of Surface Water Quality Standards mandated 

by the federal Clean Water Act. The agency obtained G.S. §150B-
19.1 certification of the Regulatory Impact Analysis from Office 
of State Budget Management (OSBM) on June 6, 2019. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Adriene Weaver, DEQ-
Division of Water Resources/Water Planning Section, 1611 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1611; phone (919) 707-3692; 
email adriene.weaver@ncdenr.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2020 

 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 
SUBCHAPTER 02B - SURFACE WATER AND 

WETLAND STANDARDS 

 
SECTION .0300 - ASSIGNMENT OF STREAM 

CLASSIFICATIONS 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0304 FRENCH BROAD RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the French Broad 
River Basin are set forth in the French Broad River Basin 
Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 

places: 
(1) the Internet at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 
Department of Environmental Quality: 

(A) Asheville Regional Office 
2090 US Highway 70 
Swannanoa, North Carolina; and 

(B) Division of Water Resources 

Central Office 
512 North Salisbury Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  Unnamed streams entering Tennessee are classified "B." 
(c)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective: 

(1) September 22, 1976; 
(2) March 1, 1977; 
(3) August 12, 1979; 
(4) April 1, 1983; 
(5) August 1, 1984; 
(6) August 1, 1985; 

(7) February 1, 1986; 
(8) May 1, 1987; 
(9) August 1, 1990. 

(d)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective March 1, 1989 as follows: 

(1) Cataloochee Creek (Index No. 5-41) and all 

tributary waters were reclassified from Class C-
trout and Class C to Class C-trout ORW and 
Class C ORW. 

(2) South Fork Mills River (Index No. 6-54-3) 
down to Queen Creek and all tributaries were 
reclassified from Class WS-I and Class WS-III-

trout to Class WS-I ORW and Class WS-III-
trout ORW. 

(e)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective October 1, 1989 as follows: Cane River (Index 
No. 7-3) from source to Bowlens Creek and all tributaries were 
reclassified from Class C trout and Class C to Class WS-III trout 

and Class WS-III. 
(f)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: North Toe River 
(Index No. 7-2) from source to Cathis Creek (Christ Branch) and 
all tributaries were reclassified from Class C trout and Class C to 
Class WS-III trout and Class WS-III. 

(g)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 
water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-
I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-
II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 

became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 
waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 

identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(h)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective October 1, 1993 as follows: Reasonover Creek 
[Index No. 6-38-14-(1)] from source to Reasonover Lake Dam 
and all tributaries were reclassified from Class B Trout to Class 
WS-V and B Trout, and Reasonover Creek [Index No. 6-38-14-
(4)] from Reasonover Lake Dam to Lake Julia Dam and all 

tributaries were reclassified from Class C Trout to Class WS-V 
Trout. 
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(i)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective July 1, 1995 with the reclassification of Cane 
Creek [Index Nos. 6-57-(1) and 6-57-(9)] from its source to the 
French Broad River from Classes WS-IV and WS-IV Tr to 
Classes WS-V, WS-V Tr and WS-IV. 
(j)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective November 1, 1995 as follows: North Toe River 

[Index Numbers 7-2-(0.5) and 7-2-(37.5)] from source to a point 
0.2 miles downstream of Banjo Branch, including tributaries, has 
been reclassified from Class WS-III, WS-III Trout and WS-III 
Trout CA (critical area) to Class WS-IV Trout, WS-IV, WS-IV 
Trout CA, and C Trout. 
(k)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 1996 as follows: Stokely Hollow 
[Index Numbers 6-121.5-(1) and 6-121.5-(2)] from source to 
mouth of French Broad River has been reclassified from Class 
WS-II and Class WS-II CA to Class C. 
(l)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended April 1, 1996 with the reclassification of the French 

Broad River [Index No. 6-(1)] from a point 0.5 miles downstream 
of Little River to Mill Pond Creek to Class WS-IV; French Broad 
River [Index No. 6-(51.5)] from a point 0.6 miles upstream of 
Mills River to Mills River to Class WS-IV CA (Critical Area), 
from Mills River to a point 0.1 miles upstream of Boring Mill 
Branch to Class C; and the Mills River [Index No. 6-54-(5)] was 

reclassified from City of Hendersonville water supply intake to a 
point 0.7 miles upstream of mouth of Mills River to Class WS-III, 
and from a point 0.7 miles upstream of mouth of Mills River to 
French Broad River to Class WS-III CA (Critical Area). 
(m)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended August 1, 1998 with the revision to the primary 

classification for portions of the French Broad River [Index No. 
6-(38.5)] and the North Toe River 7-2-(10.5) from Class IV to 
Class C. 
(n)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended August 1, 1998 with the reclassification of Clear Creek 
[Index No. 6-55-(1)] from its source to Lewis Creek from Class C 

Tr to Class B Tr. 
(o)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended August 1, 2000 with the reclassification of Rough Creek 
[Index No. 5-8-4-(1)], including all tributaries, from its source to 
the Canton Reservoir from Class WS-I to Class WS-I Tr ORW. 
(p)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended August 1, 2002 with the revision to the primary 
classification for the French Broad River [Index No. 6-(1), 6-(27), 
6-(47.5), 6-(52.5), and 6-(54.5)] including its four headwater 
forks' mainstems, watershed of tributary Davidson River, and 
watershed of tributary Bent Creek below Powhatan Dam, and the 
Nolichucky River [Index No. 7] including a lower portion of the 

North Toe River from Class C and Class WS-IV to Class B. 
(q)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended August 1, 2002 with the reclassification of the North 
Toe River [Index No. 7-2-(0.5)], including all tributaries, from 
source to a point 0.2 mile upstream of Pyatt Creek, from Class C 
Tr to Class WS-V Tr. 
(r)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended September 1, 2004 with the reclassification of a portion 
of Richland Creek [Index No. 5-16(1)], from source to a point 
approximately 11.2 miles from source (Boyd Avenue), from Class 

B to Class B Tr, and all tributaries to the portion of the creek 

referenced in this Paragraph from C, C HQW, and WS-I HQW, 
and WS-I HQW to C Tr, C HQW Tr, and WS-I HQW Tr, 
respectively, except Hyatt Creek [Index No. 5-16-6], Farmer 
Branch [Index No. 5-16-11], and tributaries already classified as 
Tr. 
(s)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassification of 
McClure's Bog near Gash Creek [Index No. 6-47] to Class WL 
UWL. The North Carolina Division of Water Resources maintains 
a Geographic Information Systems data layer of the UWL. 
(t)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective September 1, 2009 with the reclassification of 

the entire watershed of Big Laurel Creek (Index No. 6-112) from 
source to the French Broad River from Class C Tr to Class C 
ORW Tr. 
(u)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective September 1, 2009 with the reclassification of 
the entire watershed of Spring Creek [Index No. 6-118-(1) and 6-

118-(27)] from source to the French Broad River from Class C Tr 
and Class C to Class C ORW Tr and Class C ORW. 
(v)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended December 1, 2011 with the reclassification of a portion 
of the French Broad River [Index No. 6-(54.5)] from the 
confluence of the Mills River to a point 0.2 miles downstream of 

the confluence of the Mills River from Class B to Class WS-
IV&B CA. 
(w)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 
for the French Broad River Basin was amended January 1, 2019 
with the reclassification of Enka Lake, which is a portion of the 
Bill Moore Creek (Index No. 6-76-7) from Class C to Class B. 

(x)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective July 1, 2020 with the reclassification of the 
Sandy Bottom Wetlands adjacent to the French Broad River 
[Index No. 6-(54.75)] and Orton Branch [Index No. 6-(66)] from 
Class WL to Class WL UWL as defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0101. 
The North Carolina Division of Water Resources maintains a 

Geographic Information Systems data layer of the UWL. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1). 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Coastal Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited 
as 15A NCAC 07H .0304, .0306, .0309, and .0310. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-rules 
 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 
 
Public Hearing: 

 

Brunswick County 

Date:  December 17, 2019 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
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Location:  Brunswick County Government Complex, 30 

Government Center Drive, NE Bolivia, NC 28422 

 

New Hanover County 

Date:  December 17, 2019 
Time:  3:00 p.m. 
Location:  New Hanover County Government Center, 230 

Government Center Drive, Wilmington, NC 28403 

 

Onslow County 

Date:  December 18, 2019 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  Sneads Ferry Library, 1330 Highway 210, Sneads 

Ferry, NC 28460 

 

Pender County 

Date:  December 18, 2019 
Time:  3:00 p.m. 
Location:  Assembly Building, 720 Channel Blvd., Topsail Beach, 

NC 28445 

 

Carteret County 

Date:  January 7, 2020 
Time:  3:00 p.m. 
Location:  NCDCM, 400 Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, NC 

28557 

 

Hyde County 

Date:  January 8, 2020 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  Community Center - Multipurpose Room, 30 Oyster 

Creek Road, Swan Quarter, NC 27885 **broadcast 
simultaneously to Ocracoke Island:  Ocracoke Community 
Center, 999 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC 27960 

 

Dare County 

Date:  January 14, 2020 

Time:  11:00 a.m. 
Location:  Town of Nags Head, Board of Commissioners Room, 
5401 S. Croatan Highway, Nags Head, NC 27959 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The Coastal Resources 
Commission is proposing amendments to reference the update of 

the Inlet Hazard Area boundaries and associated development 
setback factors.  The proposed amendments are in the public 
interest as they are intended to minimize the loss of property and 
human life by establishing development setbacks between 
structures and the Atlantic shoreline. 
 

Comments may be submitted to:  Braxton Davis, 400 
Commerce Ave, Morehead City, NC 28557; phone (252) 808-2808 
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2020 

 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT 

 
SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS 

OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN 

 

SECTION .0300 - OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

 
Text in italics was previously published in 34:01 NCR 10-11 and 
34:06 NCR 491-493 and is pending CRC final approval and RRC 
review. 
 

15A NCAC 07H .0304 AECS WITHIN OCEAN 

HAZARD AREAS 

The ocean hazard AECs contain all of the following areas: 
(1) Ocean Erodible Area. This is the area where 

there exists a substantial possibility of 
excessive erosion and significant shoreline 

fluctuation. The oceanward boundary of this 
area is the mean low water line. The landward 
extent of this area is the distance landward from 
the first line of stable and natural vegetation as 
defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5) to the 
recession line established by multiplying the 

long-term annual erosion rate times 90; 
provided that, where there has been no 
long-term erosion or the rate is less than two 
feet per year, this distance shall be set at 120 
180 feet landward from the first line of stable 
and natural vegetation. For the purposes of this 

Rule, the erosion rates are the long-term 
average based on available historical data. The 
current long-term average erosion rate data for 
each segment of the North Carolina coast is 
depicted on maps entitled "2011 Long-Term 
Average Annual Shoreline Rate Update" 
"North Carolina 2019 Oceanfront Setback 

Factors & Long-Term Average Annual Erosion 
Rate Update Study" and approved by the 
Coastal Resources Commission on May 5, 2011 
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February 28, 2019 (except as such rates may be 

varied in individual contested cases or in 
declaratory or interpretive rulings). In all cases, 
the rate of shoreline change shall be no less than 
two feet of erosion per year. The maps are 
available without cost from any Local Permit 
Officer or the Division of Coastal Management 

on the internet at 
http://www.nccoastalmanagement.net. 

(2) Inlet Hazard Area. The inlet hazard areas are 
natural-hazard areas that are especially 
vulnerable to erosion, flooding, and other 
adverse effects of sand, wind, and water 

because of their proximity to dynamic ocean 
inlets. This area extends landward from the 
mean low water line a distance sufficient to 
encompass that area within which the inlet 
migrates, based on statistical analysis, and shall 
consider such factors as previous inlet territory, 

structurally weak areas near the inlet, and 
external influences such as jetties jetties, 
terminal groins, and channelization. The areas 
on the maps identified as suggested Inlet 
Hazard Areas included in the report entitled 
INLET HAZARD AREAS, The Final Report 

and Recommendations to the Coastal 
Resources Commission, 1978, as amended in 
1981, by Loie J. Priddy and Rick Carraway 
"Inlet Hazard Area Boundary, 2019 Update: 
Science Panel Recommendations to the North 
Carolina Coastal Resources Commission" are 

incorporated by reference and are hereby 
designated as Inlet Hazard Areas, except for: 
(a) the Cape Fear Inlet Hazard Area as 

shown on the map does not extend 
northeast of the Bald Head Island 
marina entrance channel; and 

(b) the former location of Mad Inlet, 
which closed in 1997. 

(a) the location of a former inlet which 
has been closed for at least 15 years; 

(b) inlets that due to shoreline migration, 
no longer include the current location 

of the inlet; and 
(c) inlets providing access to a State Port 

via a channel maintained by the 
United States Army Corps of 
Engineers. 
In all cases, the Inlet Hazard Area shall 

be an extension of the adjacent ocean 
erodible areas and in no case shall the 
width of the inlet hazard area be less 
than the width of the adjacent ocean 
erodible area. This report is available 
for inspection at the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Division of 

Coastal Management, 400 Commerce 
Avenue, Morehead City, North 
Carolina or at the website referenced 

in Item (1) of this Rule. Photocopies 

are available at no charge. 
For the purposes of this Rule, Inlet 
Hazard Area setback factors are based 
on the long-term average annual 
shoreline change rates calculated 
using methods detailed in the report 

entitled "Inlet Hazard Area Boundary, 
2019 Update: Science Panel 
Recommendations to the North 
Carolina Coastal Resources 
Commission". Inlet Hazard Area 
setback factors are depicted on maps 

entitled "2019 Inlet Setback Factors" 
and approved by the Coastal 
Resources Commission on February 
28, 2019 (except as such rates may be 
varied in individual contested cases or 
in a declaratory or interpretive 

rulings). In all cases, the Inlet Hazard 
Area construction setback factors shall 
be no less than two where accretion 
rates are measured, or erosion rates are 
less than two feet per year. The maps 
are available without cost from any 

Local Permit Officer or the Division of 
Coastal Management or at the website 
referenced in Item (1) of this Rule. 

(3) Unvegetated Beach Area. Beach areas within 
the Ocean Hazard Area where no stable and 
natural vegetation is present may be designated 

as an Unvegetated Beach Area Areas on either 
a permanent or temporary basis as follows: 
(a) An area appropriate for permanent 

designation as an Unvegetated Beach 
Area is a dynamic area that is subject 
to rapid unpredictable landform 

change due to wind and wave action. 
The areas in this category shall be 
designated following studies by the 
Division of Coastal Management. 
These areas shall be designated on 
maps approved by the Coastal 

Resources Commission and available 
without cost from any Local Permit 
Officer or the Division of Coastal 
Management on the internet at the 
website referenced in Item (1) of this 
Rule. 

(b) An area that is suddenly unvegetated 
as a result of a hurricane or other major 
storm event may be designated by the 
Coastal Resources Commission as an 
Unvegetated Beach Area for a specific 
period of time, or until the vegetation 
has re-established in accordance with 

15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5). At the 
expiration of the time specified or the 
re-establishment of the vegetation, the 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 2, 2019 

914 

area shall return to its pre-storm 

designation. 
The Commission designates as temporary 
unvegetated beach areas those oceanfront 
areas of Surf City and North Topsail Beach in 
which the vegetation line as shown on the 
United States National Oceanic and 

Atmospheric Administration imagery dated 
September 17, 2018 was destroyed as a result 
of Hurricane Florence in September 2018. The 
designation AEC boundaries can be found on 
the Division's website referenced in Item (1) of 
this Rule. The designation shall continue until 

such time as the stable and natural vegetation 
has reestablished, or until the area is 
permanently designated as an unvegetated 
beach area pursuant to Sub-Item (3)(a) of this 
Rule. 

(4) State Ports Inlet Management Area. These are 

areas adjacent to and within Beaufort Inlet and 
the mouth of the Cape Fear River, providing 
access to a State Port via a channel maintained 
by the United States Army Corps of Engineers. 
These areas are unique due to the influence of 
federally-maintained channels, and the critical 

nature of maintaining shipping access to North 
Carolina's State Ports. These areas may 
require specific management strategies not 
warranted at other inlets to address erosion 
and shoreline stabilization. State Ports Inlet 
Management Areas shall extend from the mean 

low water line landward as designated on maps 
approved by the Coastal resources Commission 
and available without cost fron the Division of 
Coastal Management, and on the internet at the 
website referenced in Sub-item (1)(a) of this 
Rule. 

 
Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-107.1; 113A-113; 113A-124. 
 
15A NCAC 07H .0306 GENERAL USE STANDARDS 

FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  In order to protect life and property, all development not 

otherwise specifically exempted or allowed by law or elsewhere 
in the Coastal Resources Commission's rules shall be located 
according to whichever of the following is applicable: 

(1) The ocean hazard setback for development shall 
be measured in a landward direction from the 
vegetation line, the static vegetation line, or the 

measurement line, whichever is applicable. 
(2) In areas with a development line, the ocean 

hazard setback shall be set in accordance with 
Subparagraphs (a)(3) through (9) of this Rule. 
In no case shall new development be sited 
seaward of the development line. 

(3) In no case shall a development line be created 

or established on state owned lands or 
oceanward of the mean high water line or 

perpetual property easement line, whichever is 

more restrictive. 
(4) The ocean hazard setback shall be determined 

by both the size of development and the 
shoreline long term erosion rate as defined in 
Rule .0304 of this Section. 15A NCAC 07H 
.0304. "Development size" is defined by total 

floor area for structures and buildings or total 
area of footprint for development other than 
structures and buildings. Total floor area 
includes the following: 
(A) The total square footage of heated or 

air-conditioned living space; 

(B) The total square footage of parking 
elevated above ground level; and 

(C) The total square footage of non-heated 
or non-air-conditioned areas elevated 
above ground level, excluding attic 
space that is not designed to be load-

bearing. 
Decks, roof-covered porches, and walkways shall not be included 
in the total floor area unless they are enclosed with material other 
than screen mesh or are being converted into an enclosed space 
with material other than screen mesh. 

(5) With the exception of those types of 

development defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0309, 
no development, including any portion of a 
building or structure, shall extend oceanward of 
the ocean hazard setback. This includes roof 
overhangs and elevated structural components 
that are cantilevered, knee braced, or otherwise 

extended beyond the support of pilings or 
footings. The ocean hazard setback shall be 
established based on the following criteria: 
(A) A building or other structure less than 

5,000 square feet requires a minimum 
setback of 60 feet or 30 times the 

shoreline erosion rate, whichever is 
greater; 

(B) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 5,000 square feet but 
less than 10,000 square feet requires a 
minimum setback of 120 feet or 60 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(C) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 10,000 square feet but 
less than 20,000 square feet requires a 
minimum setback of 130 feet or 65 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(D) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 20,000 square feet but 
less than 40,000 square feet requires a 
minimum setback of 140 feet or 70 
times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 
(E) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 40,000 square feet but 
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less than 60,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 150 feet or 75 
times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(F) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 60,000 square feet but 
less than 80,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 160 feet or 80 
times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(G) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 80,000 square feet but 
less than 100,000 square feet requires 

a minimum setback of 170 feet or 85 
times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(H) A building or other structure greater 
than or equal to 100,000 square feet 
requires a minimum setback of 180 

feet or 90 times the shoreline erosion 
rate, whichever is greater; 

(I) Infrastructure that is linear in nature, 
such as roads, bridges, pedestrian 
access such as boardwalks and 
sidewalks, and utilities providing for 

the transmission of electricity, water, 
telephone, cable television, data, 
storm water, and sewer requires a 
minimum setback of 60 feet or 30 
times the shoreline erosion rate, 
whichever is greater; 

(J) Parking lots greater than or equal to 
5,000 square feet require a setback of 
120 feet or 60 times the shoreline 
erosion rate, whichever is greater; 

(K) Notwithstanding any other setback 
requirement of this Subparagraph, a 

building or other structure greater than 
or equal to 5,000 square feet in a 
community with a static line exception 
in accordance with 15A NCAC 07J 
.1200 requires a minimum setback of 
120 feet or 60 times the shoreline 

erosion rate in place at the time of 
permit issuance, whichever is greater. 
The setback shall be measured 
landward from either the static 
vegetation line, the vegetation line, or 
measurement line, whichever is 

farthest landward; and 
(L) Notwithstanding any other setback 

requirement of this Subparagraph, 
replacement of single-family or 
duplex residential structures with a 
total floor area greater than 5,000 
square feet, and commercial and 

multi-family residential structures 
with a total floor area no greater than 
10,000 square feet, shall be allowed 

provided that the structure meets the 

following criteria: 
(i) the structure was originally 

constructed prior to August 
11, 2009; 

(ii) the structure as replaced does 
not exceed the original 

footprint or square footage; 
(iii) it is not possible for the 

structure to be rebuilt in a 
location that meets the ocean 
hazard setback criteria 
required under Subparagraph 

(a)(5) of this Rule; 
(iv) the structure as replaced 

meets the minimum setback 
required under Part (a)(5)(A) 
of this Rule; and 

(v) the structure is rebuilt as far 

landward on the lot as 
feasible. 

(6) If a primary dune exists in the AEC on or 
landward of the lot where the development is 
proposed, the development shall be landward of 
the crest of the primary dune, the ocean hazard 

setback, or development line, whichever is 
farthest from vegetation line, static vegetation 
line, or measurement line, whichever is 
applicable. For existing lots, however, where 
setting the development landward of the crest 
of the primary dune would preclude any 

practical use of the lot, development may be 
located oceanward of the primary dune. In such 
cases, the development may be located 
landward of the ocean hazard setback, but shall 
not be located on or oceanward of a frontal dune 
or the development line. The words "existing 

lots" in this Rule shall mean a lot or tract of land 
that, as of June 1, 1979, is specifically described 
in a recorded plat and cannot be enlarged by 
combining the lot or tract of land with a 
contiguous lot or tract of land under the same 
ownership. 

(7) If no primary dune exists, but a frontal dune 
does exist in the AEC on or landward of the lot 
where the development is proposed, the 
development shall be set landward of the frontal 
dune, ocean hazard setback, or development 
line, whichever is farthest from the vegetation 

line, static vegetation line, or measurement line, 
whichever is applicable. 

(8) If neither a primary nor frontal dune exists in 
the AEC on or landward of the lot where 
development is proposed, the structure shall be 
landward of the ocean hazard setback or 
development line, whichever is more 

restrictive. 
(9) Structural additions or increases in the footprint 

or total floor area of a building or structure 
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represent expansions to the total floor area and 

shall meet the setback requirements established 
in this Rule and 15A NCAC 07H .0309(a). New 
development landward of the applicable 
setback may be cosmetically, but shall not be 
structurally, attached to an existing structure 
that does not conform with current setback 

requirements. 
(10) Established common law and statutory public 

rights of access to and use of public trust lands 
and waters in ocean hazard areas shall not be 
eliminated or restricted. Development shall not 
encroach upon public accessways, nor shall it 

limit the intended use of the accessways. 
(11) Development setbacks in areas that have 

received large-scale beach fill as defined in 15A 
NCAC 07H .0305 shall be measured landward 
from the static vegetation line as defined in this 
Section, unless a development line has been 

approved by the Coastal Resources 
Commission in accordance with 15A NCAC 
07J .1300. 

(12) In order to allow for development landward of 
the large-scale beach fill project that cannot 
meet the setback requirements from the static 

vegetation line, but can or has the potential to 
meet the setback requirements from the 
vegetation line set forth in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 
and (a)(5) of this Rule, a local government, 
group of local governments involved in a 
regional beach fill project, or qualified "owners' 

association" as defined in G.S. 47F-1-103(3) 
that has the authority to approve the locations 
of structures on lots within the territorial 
jurisdiction of the association and has 
jurisdiction over at least one mile of ocean 
shoreline, may petition the Coastal Resources 

Commission for a "static line exception" in 
accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1200. The 
static line exception shall apply to development 
of property that lies both within the 
jurisdictional boundary of the petitioner and the 
boundaries of the large-scale beach fill project. 

This static line exception shall also allow 
development greater than 5,000 square feet to 
use the setback provisions defined in Part 
(a)(5)(K) of this Rule in areas that lie within the 
jurisdictional boundary of the petitioner, and 
the boundaries of the large-scale beach fill 

project. If the request is approved, the Coastal 
Resources Commission shall allow 
development setbacks to be measured from a 
vegetation line that is oceanward of the static 
vegetation line under the following conditions: 
(A) Development meets all setback 

requirements from the vegetation line 

defined in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and 
(a)(5) of this Rule; 

(B) Development setbacks shall be 

calculated from the shoreline erosion 
rate in place at the time of permit 
issuance; 

(C) No portion of a building or structure, 
including roof overhangs and elevated 
portions that are cantilevered, knee 

braced, or otherwise extended beyond 
the support of pilings or footings, 
extends oceanward of the landward-
most adjacent building or structure. 
When the configuration of a lot 
precludes the placement of a building 

or structure in line with the landward-
most adjacent building or structure, an 
average line of construction shall be 
determined by the Division of Coastal 
Management on a case-by-case basis 
in order to determine an ocean hazard 

setback that is landward of the 
vegetation line, a distance no less than 
30 times the shoreline erosion rate or 
60 feet, whichever is greater; 

(D) With the exception of swimming 
pools, the development defined in 

Rule .0309(a) of this Section shall be 
allowed oceanward of the static 
vegetation line; and 

(E) Development shall not be eligible for 
the exception defined in Rule .0309(b) 
of this Section. 

(b)  No development shall be permitted that involves the removal 
or relocation of primary or frontal dune sand or vegetation thereon 
that would adversely affect the integrity of the dune. Other dunes 
within the ocean hazard area shall not be disturbed unless the 
development of the property is otherwise impracticable. Any 
disturbance of these other dunes shall be allowed only to the 

extent permitted by 15A NCAC 07H .0308(b). 
(c)  Development shall not cause irreversible damage to historic 
architectural or archaeological resources as documented by the 
local historic commission, the North Carolina Department of 
Natural and Cultural Resources, or the National Historical 
Registry. 

(d)  Development shall comply with minimum lot size and set 
back requirements established by local regulations. 
(e)  Mobile homes shall not be placed within the high hazard flood 
area unless they are within mobile home parks existing as of June 
1, 1979. 
(f)  Development shall comply with the general management 

objective for ocean hazard areas set forth in 15A NCAC 07H 
.0303. 
(g)  Development shall not interfere with legal access to, or use 
of, public resources, nor shall such development increase the risk 
of damage to public trust areas. 
(h)  Development proposals shall incorporate measures to avoid 
or minimize adverse impacts of the project. These measures shall 

be implemented at the applicant's expense and may include 
actions that: 
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(1) minimize or avoid adverse impacts by limiting 

the magnitude or degree of the action; 
(2) restore the affected environment; or 
(3) compensate for the adverse impacts by 

replacing or providing substitute resources. 
(i)  Prior to the issuance of any permit for development in the 
ocean hazard AECs, there shall be a written acknowledgment 

from the applicant to the Division of Coastal Management that the 
applicant is aware of the risks associated with development in this 
hazardous area and the limited suitability of this area for 
permanent structures. The acknowledgement shall state that the 
Coastal Resources Commission does not guarantee the safety of 
the development and assumes no liability for future damage to the 

development. 
(j)  All relocation of structures shall require permit approval. 
Structures relocated with public funds shall comply with the 
applicable setback line and other applicable AEC rules. 
Structures, including septic tanks and other essential accessories, 
relocated entirely with non-public funds shall be relocated the 

maximum feasible distance landward of the present location. 
Septic tanks shall not be located oceanward of the primary 
structure. All relocation of structures shall meet all other 
applicable local and state rules. 
(k)  Permits shall include the condition that any structure shall be 
relocated or dismantled when it becomes imminently threatened 

by changes in shoreline configuration as defined in 15A NCAC 
07H .0308(a)(2)(B). Any such structure shall be relocated or 
dismantled within two years of the time when it becomes 
imminently threatened, and in any case upon its collapse or 
subsidence. However, if natural shoreline recovery or beach fill 
takes place within two years of the time the structure becomes 

imminently threatened, so that the structure is no longer 
imminently threatened, then it need not be relocated or dismantled 
at that time. This permit condition shall not affect the permit 
holder's right to seek authorization of temporary protective 
measures allowed pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0308(a)(2). 
 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 
 
Text in italics was previously published in 34:01 NCR 11-13 and 
is pending CRC final approval and RRC review. 
 
15A NCAC 07H .0309 USE STANDARDS FOR OCEAN 

HAZARD AREAS: EXCEPTIONS 

(a)  The following types of development shall be permitted 
seaward of the oceanfront setback requirements of Rule .0306(a) 
of the Subchapter this Section if all other provisions of this 
Subchapter and other state and local regulations are met: 

(1) campsites; 

(2) driveways and parking areas with clay, packed 
sand or gravel; 

(3) elevated decks not exceeding a footprint of 500 
square feet; 

(4) beach accessways consistent with Rule 
.0308(c) of this Subchapter; Section; 

(5) unenclosed, uninhabitable gazebos with a 

footprint of 200 square feet or less; 
(6) uninhabitable, single-story storage sheds with a 

foundation or floor consisting of wood, clay, 

packed sand or gravel, and a footprint of 200 

square feet or less; 
(7) temporary amusement stands; 
(8) sand fences; and 
(9) swimming pools. 

In all cases, this development shall be permitted only if it is 
landward of the vegetation line or static vegetation line, 

whichever is applicable; involves no alteration or removal of 
primary or frontal dunes which would compromise the integrity 
of the dune as a protective landform or the dune vegetation; has 
overwalks to protect any existing dunes; is not essential to the 
continued existence or use of an associated principal 
development; is not required to satisfy minimum requirements of 

local zoning, subdivision or health regulations; and meets all other 
non-setback requirements of this Subchapter. 
(b)  Where application of the oceanfront setback requirements of 
Rule .0306(a) of this Subchapter Section would preclude 
placement of permanent substantial structures on lots existing as 
of June 1, 1979, buildings shall be permitted seaward of the 

applicable setback line in ocean erodible areas, areas and State 
Ports Inlet Management Areas, but not inlet hazard areas or 
unvegetated beach areas, if each of the following conditions are 
met: 

(1) The development is set back from the ocean the 
maximum feasible distance possible on the 

existing lot and the development is designed to 
minimize encroachment into the setback area; 

(2) The development is at least 60 feet landward of 
the vegetation line or static vegetation line, 
whichever is applicable; 

(3) The development is not located on or in front of 

a frontal dune, but is entirely behind the 
landward toe of the frontal dune; 

(4) The development incorporates each of the 
following design standards, which are in 
addition to those required by Rule .0308(d) of 
this Subchapter. Section. 

(A) All pilings shall have a tip penetration 
that extends to at least four feet below 
mean sea level; 

(B) The footprint of the structure shall be 
no more than 1,000 square feet, and 
the total floor area of the structure 

shall be no more than 2,000 square 
feet. For the purpose of this Section, 
roof-covered decks and porches that 
are structurally attached shall be 
included in the calculation of 
footprint; 

(C) Driveways and parking areas shall be 
constructed of clay, packed sand or 
gravel except in those cases where the 
development does not abut the ocean 
and is located landward of a paved 
public street or highway currently in 
use. In those cases concrete, asphalt or 

turfstone may also be used; 
(D) No portion of a building's total floor 

area, including elevated portions that 
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are cantilevered, knee braced or 

otherwise extended beyond the 
support of pilings or footings, may 
extend oceanward of the total floor 
area of the landward-most adjacent 
building. When the geometry or 
orientation of a lot precludes the 

placement of a building in line with 
the landward most adjacent structure 
of similar use, an average line of 
construction shall be determined by 
the Division of Coastal Management 
on a case-by-case basis in order to 

determine an ocean hazard setback 
that is landward of the vegetation line, 
static vegetation line or measurement 
line, whichever is applicable, a 
distance no less than 60 feet. 

(5) All other provisions of this Subchapter and 

other state and local regulations are met. If the 
development is to be serviced by an on-site 
waste disposal system, a copy of a valid permit 
for such a system shall be submitted as part of 
the CAMA permit application. 

(c)  Reconfiguration and development of lots and projects that 

have a grandfather status under Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be 
allowed provided that the following conditions are met: 

(1) Development is setback from the first line of 
stable natural vegetation a distance no less than 
that required by the applicable exception; 

(2) Reconfiguration shall not result in an increase 

in the number of buildable lots within the Ocean 
Hazard AEC or have other adverse 
environmental consequences. 

For the purposes of this Rule, an existing lot is a lot or tract of 
land which, as of June 1, 1979, is specifically described in a 
recorded plat and which cannot be enlarged by combining the lot 

or tract of land with a contiguous lot(s) or tract(s) of land under 
the same ownership. The footprint is defined as the greatest 
exterior dimensions of the structure, including covered decks, 
porches, and stairways, when extended to ground level. 
(d)(c)  The following types of water dependent development shall 
be permitted seaward of the oceanfront setback requirements of 

Rule .0306(a) of this Section if all other provisions of this 
Subchapter and other state and local regulations are met: 

(1) piers providing public access; and 
(2) maintenance and replacement of existing state-

owned bridges and causeways and accessways 
to such bridges. 

(e)(d)  Replacement or construction of a pier house associated 
with an ocean pier shall be permitted if each of the following 
conditions is met: 

(1) The ocean pier provides public access for 
fishing and other recreational purposes whether 
on a commercial, public, or nonprofit basis; 

(2) Commercial, non-water dependent uses of the 

ocean pier and associated pier house shall be 
limited to restaurants and retail services. 

Residential uses, lodging, and parking areas 

shall be prohibited; 
(3) The pier house shall be limited to a maximum 

of two stories; 
(4) A new pier house shall not exceed a footprint of 

5,000 square feet and shall be located landward 
of mean high water; 

(5) A replacement pier house may be rebuilt not to 
exceed its most recent footprint or a footprint of 
5,000 square feet, whichever is larger; 

(6) The pier house shall be rebuilt to comply with 
all other provisions of this Subchapter; and 

(7) If the pier has been destroyed or rendered 

unusable, replacement or expansion of the 
associated pier house shall be permitted only if 
the pier is being replaced and returned to its 
original function. 

(f)(e)  In addition to the development authorized under Paragraph 
(d) of this Rule, small scale, non-essential development that does 

not induce further growth in the Ocean Hazard Area, such as the 
construction of single family piers and small scale erosion control 
measures that do not interfere with natural oceanfront processes, 
shall be permitted on those non-oceanfront portions of shoreline 
that exhibit features characteristic of an Estuarine Shoreline. Such 
features include the presence of wetland vegetation, and lower 

wave energy and erosion rates than in the adjoining Ocean 
Erodible Area. Such development shall be permitted under the 
standards set out in Rule .0208 of this Subchapter. For the purpose 
of this Rule, small scale is defined as those projects which are 
eligible for authorization under 15A NCAC 07H .1100, .1200 and 
15A NCAC 07K .0203. 

(g)(f)  Transmission lines necessary to transmit electricity from an 
offshore energy-producing facility may be permitted provided 
that each of the following conditions is met: 

(1) The transmission lines are buried under the 
ocean beach, nearshore area, and primary and 
frontal dunes, all as defined in Rule 07H .0305, 

.0305 of this Section, in such a manner so as to 
ensure that the placement of the transmission 
lines involves no alteration or removal of the 
primary or frontal dunes; and 

(2) The design and placement of the transmission 
lines shall be performed in a manner so as not 

to endanger the public or the public's use of the 
beach. 

(g)  Existing stormwater outfalls within the Ocean Hazard AEC 
that are owned or maintained by a State agency or local 
government, may be extended oceanward subject to the provisions 
contained within 15A NCAC 07J .0200. Outfalls may be extended 

below mean low water and may be maintained in accordance with 
15A NCAC 07K .0103. Shortening or lengthening of outfall 
structures within the authorized dimensions, in response to 
changes in beach width, is considered maintenance under 15A 
NCAC 07K .0103. Outfall extensions may be marked with signage 
and shall not prevent pedestrian or vehicular access along the 
beach. This Paragraph does not apply to existing stormwater 

outfalls that are not allowed or maintained by a State agency or 
local government. 
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Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 113A-113(b)(6)a; 

113A-113(b)(6)b; 113A-113(b)(6)d; 113A-124. 
 
15A NCAC 07H .0310 USE STANDARDS FOR INLET 

HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  Inlet areas Inlet Hazard Areas as defined by Rule .0304 of this 
Section in 15A NCAC 07H .0304 are subject to inlet migration, 

rapid and severe changes in watercourses, flooding and strong 
tides. Due to this extremely hazardous nature of the Inlet Hazard 
Areas, all development within these areas shall be permitted in 
accordance with the following standards: 

(1) All development in the inlet hazard area shall 
be set back from the first line of stable natural 

vegetation a distance equal to the setback 
required in the adjacent ocean hazard area; The 
Inlet Hazard Area setback for development 
shall be measured in a landward direction from 
the first line of stable and natural vegetation, the 
static vegetation line, or the measurement line, 

whichever is applicable; 
(2) In order to protect life and property, all 

development not otherwise specifically 
exempted or allowed by law or elsewhere in the 
Coastal Resources Commission's rules shall be 
located in accordance with 15A NCAC 07H 

.0306(5); 
(2)(3) Permanent structures shall be permitted at a 

density of no more than one commercial or 
residential unit per 15,000 square feet of land 
area on lots subdivided or created after July 23, 
1981; 

(3)(4) Only residential structures of four units or less 
or non-residential structures of less than 5,000 
square feet total floor area shall be allowed 
within the inlet hazard area, Inlet Hazard Area, 
except that access roads to those areas and 
maintenance and replacement of existing 

bridges shall be allowed; 
(4)(5) Established common-law and statutory public 

rights of access to the public trust lands and 
waters in Inlet Hazard Areas shall not be 
eliminated or restricted. Development shall not 
encroach upon public accessways nor shall it 

limit the intended use of the accessways; 
(5)(6) All other rules in this Subchapter pertaining to 

development in the ocean hazard areas Ocean 
Hazard Areas shall be applied to development 
within the Inlet Hazard Areas. 

(b)  The inlet hazard area Inlet Hazard Area setback requirements 

shall not apply to the types of development exempted from the 
ocean setback rules in 15A NCAC 7H .0309(a), nor, to the types 
of development listed in 15A NCAC 7H .0309(c). 
(c)  In addition to the types of development excepted under Rule 
.0309 of this Section, small scale, non-essential development that 
does not induce further growth in the Inlet Hazard Area, such as 
the construction of single-family piers and small scale small-scale 

erosion control measures that do not interfere with natural inlet 
movement, may be permitted on those portions of shoreline within 
a designated Inlet Hazard Area that exhibit features characteristic 

of Estuarine Shoreline. Such features include the presence of 

wetland vegetation, lower wave energy, and lower erosion rates 
than in the adjoining Ocean Erodible Area. Such development 
shall be permitted under the standards set out in Rule .0208 of this 
Subchapter. For the purpose of this Rule, small scale is defined as 
those projects which are eligible for authorization under 15A 
NCAC 7H .1100, .1200 and 7K .0203. 

 
Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b); 113A-124. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission 
intends to adopt the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10B .0226; 10C 
.0321-.0324, amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10B .0201, 
.0203, .0224; 10C .0205, .0209, .0211, .0305, .0306, .0314, .0316, 
.0401; 10D .0102, .0103, .0105, and readopt with substantive 
changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10B .0113; 10C .0301, and 

.0308. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 
 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2020 

 
Date:  January 7, 2020 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  Bladen Community College (Auditorium) 7418 NC 
HWY 41W, Dublin, NC 28332 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 8, 2020 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  Old Alamance County CTHS 1 SE Court Square, 
Graham, NC 27253 

 

Date:  January 9, 2020 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  Stanly County Agri-Civic Center 26032 Newt Rd, 
Albemarle, NC 28001 

 

Date:  January 14, 2020 

Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  Southwestern Community College Myers Auditorium 
447 College Drive, Sylva, NC 28779 

 

Date:  January 15, 2020 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 

Location:  Western Piedmont CC Moore Hall Leviton Auditorium 
101 Burkemont Avenue, Morganton, NC 28655 

 

Date:  January 16, 2020 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  Elkin High School 334 Elk Spur Street, Elkin, NC 
28621 

 

Date:  January 21, 2020 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
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Location:  John A. Holmes High School 600 Woodard Street, 

Edenton, NC 27932 

 

Date:  January 22, 2020 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  Duplin County Ag. Center 165 Agriculture Drive, 
Kenansville, NC 28349 

 

Date:  January 23, 2020 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  Nash Community College 522 N Old Carriage Road, 
Rocky Mount, NC 27804 
 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Every year the NC Wildlife 
Resources Commission reviews the need to adjust seasons, bag 
limits, and the management of land in order to achieve 
conservation management goals, comply with statutory changes, 
and respond to constituent requests. 
 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 
regulations@ncwildlife.org 
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 
SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING 

 
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0113 BIG GAME KILL HARVEST 

REPORTS 

(a)  Upon killing a bear, deer, or wild turkey and before moving 
the animal from the site of kill, the successful hunter shall validate 
the Big Game Harvest Report Card furnished with the big game 
hunting license by cutting or punching out the validation box that 
correctly identifies the big game animal harvested. In lieu of the 

Big Game Harvest Report Card, antlerless deer may be recorded 
as outlined on the Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Card 
acquired from the Wildlife Resources Commission or a Wildlife 
Service Agent. Deer harvested under the Deer Management 
Assistance Program (DMAP) program, not validated with either 
a Big Game Harvest Report Card or Bonus Antlerless Deer 

Harvest Report Card, shall be validated by affixing a 
Commission-issued DMAP tag to the deer as required by G.S. 
113-291.2(e). 
(b)  Before any harvested bear, deer, or wild turkey is skinned, 
dressed, or dismembered for consumption and within 24 hours of 
the kill, the animal shall be registered through the Electronic Big 

Game Reporting System. The hunter may field dress the animal 
at the site of kill or before registering it by bleeding and removing 
the digestive, respiratory, and circulatory organs. However, the 
hunter may not further process the carcass in a manner that 
obscures its species identity, age, or sex before registering the 
animal. When the kill occurs in a remote area that prevents the 

animal from being transported as an entire carcass, the animal 
may be skinned and quartered before being registered. When a 
hunter harvests a big game animal in a remote area and plans to 
remain in the remote area for longer than a day, the 24-hour time 
limit to register the kill is extended until the hunter leaves the area. 
Upon leaving the remote area, the hunter shall register the kill 

within 24 hours. 
(c)  When a hunter registers a kill, the Electronic Big Game 
Reporting System shall issue an authorization number to the big 
game hunter. The hunter shall record the authorization number 
obtained through the Electronic Big Game Reporting System in 
the space provided immediately adjacent to the validation box that 

has been cut or punched out on the Big Game Harvest Report Card 
or the Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Card. Any hunter 
validating a deer harvest with a Commission-issued DMAP tag 
shall record and maintain the issued authorization number to serve 
as proof of registration. The authorization number shall thereafter 
constitute authorization for the continued possession of the 

carcass. Possession of a harvested bear, deer, or wild turkey 
without the validated Big Game Harvest Report Card or Bonus 
Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Card where applicable, including 
the authorization number obtained through the Electronic Big 
Game Reporting System, is unlawful. 
(d)  Persons who kill a big game animal and leave it unattended 

shall identify the carcass with their name, their hunting license 
number, and the date of kill. Once an unattended animal is 
registered, the animal need only be identified with the 
authorization number received by registering the kill. It is 
unlawful for a person to possess a Big Game Harvest Report Card 
or Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Card on which the 
species validation box has been cut or punched out, but on which 

the authorization number received by registering the kill has not 
been recorded, or to possess a used or affixed Commission-issued 
DMAP tag without a valid authorization number, unless the 
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animal is in the person's possession or is identified as described in 

this Paragraph and not more than 24 hours have passed since the 
harvest. 
(e)  Persons who are by law exempt from the big game hunting 
license by G.S. 113-276 shall obtain a Big Game Harvest Report 
Card or Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Card for License 
Exempt Hunters from a Wildlife Service Agent or possess a valid 

Commission-issued DMAP tag. Upon harvesting a bear, deer, or 
wild turkey, the exempt person shall validate and register the kill 
as provided by this Rule. 
(f)  Persons who use special tags issued pursuant to G.S. 113-
291.2(e) to validate the harvest of a deer shall follow the tagging 
and reporting requirements set forth by statute and shall not take 

any action under this Rule. 
(a)  Definitions. The following definitions shall apply in this Rule: 

(1) "Authorization number" means the number or 
code issued by the Electronic Big Game 
Reporting System upon completion of big game 
harvest registration, that shall serve as proof of 

registration and allow continued possession of 
the carcass. 

(2) "Big Game" means bear, wild turkey, and 
white-tailed deer, as defined in G.S. 113-129. 

(3) "Big Game Harvest Report Card" means the 
reporting card supplied to the hunter by the 

Commission as part of the big game license, 
upon which the successful hunter validates and 
records the authorization number for a big game 
harvest. 

(4) "Field Dress" means the bleeding or removal of 
the digestive, respiratory, and circulatory 

organs. 
(5) "Validate" or "validation" means cutting or 

punching-out the day and month the harvest 
occurred on the appropriate line of the Big 
Game Harvest Report Card or Bonus Antlerless 
Deer Harvest Report Card or by affixing a 

Commission-issued Deer Management 
Assistance Program (DMAP) tag, as required 
by G.S. 113-291.2(e). 

(6) "Register" or "Registration" means the process 
by which the harvest of big game is reported 
through the Electronic Big Game Reporting 

System and an authorization number is issued. 
(7) "Remote Area" means an area where access to 

the big game harvest reporting system is 
unavailable. 

(8) "Site of kill" or "site of harvest" means the 
location that a person takes possession of 

harvested big game. 
(9) "Successful hunter" means a person that has 

lawfully taken and reduced to possession a big 
game animal. 

(b)  Validation. The successful hunter shall validate the Big Game 
Harvest Report Card or the Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report 
Card before moving any big game from the site of kill. Deer 

harvested pursuant to the Deer Management Assistance Program 
(DMAP), that are not validated by the Big Game Harvest Report 

Card or the Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Card, shall be 

validated by affixing a Commission-issued DMAP tag. 
(c)  Field Dressing. Harvested big game may be field dressed at 
the site of kill or before registration. Further processing that 
obscures the identification of the harvested animal's species, age, 
or sex shall be prohibited without a valid authorization number. 
(d)  Registration. Harvested big game shall be registered via the 

Electronic Big Game Reporting System at www.ncwildlife.org or 
by calling 1-800-446-8663. Harvested big game shall be 
registered before the animal is: 

(1) skinned; or 
(2) dismembered; or 
(3) left unattended by the successful hunter; or 

(4) placed in the possession of another person. 
Harvested big game animals that are not skinned, dismembered, 
left unattended by the successful hunter, or placed in the 
possession of another person, shall be registered by 12pm noon 
the day following the harvest. 
(e)  Registration in Remote Areas. Big game harvested in remote 

areas shall be registered by 12pm noon, the day after leaving the 
remote area. Notwithstanding the registration requirements in 
Paragraph (d) of this Rule, big game harvested in remote areas 
that cannot be transported as an intact carcass may be skinned and 
dismembered before registration. 
(f)  Authorization number. The authorization number shall be 

recorded in the space provided for the appropriate harvested big 
game animal on the Big Game Harvest Report Card or on the 
Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Card. Successful hunters 
validating a deer harvest by affixing a Commission-issued DMAP 
tag shall record and maintain the authorization number upon 
registration. 

(g)  Unattended Harvests. Successful hunters that leave a 
harvested big game animal unattended or in the possession of a 
person shall identify the carcass by attaching the authorization 
number issued at the time of registration. 
(h)  Exceptions. Requirements of this Rule shall not be applicable 
to special deer tags issued pursuant to G.S. 113-291.2(e). 

(i)  Any person hunting big game animals, including license 
exempt individuals, shall have a valid Big Game Harvest Report 
Card, valid Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Card, or special 
tag pursuant to G.S. 113-291.2 in their possession. The Big Game 
Harvest Report Card or Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report 
Card is part of the big game license and shall not be transferrable. 

(j)  Any persons who has requested a Big Game Harvest Report 
Card by phone or internet but has not yet received the Big Game 
Harvest Report Card by mail, shall validate the kill by affixing the 
harvest id number provided by the Commission to the carcass and 
shall register in accordance with Paragraphs (d) or (e) of this Rule. 
The hunter shall retain all authorization numbers from reported 

harvests and shall transcribe those authorization numbers to the 
Big Game Harvest Report Card upon receipt of the card. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.3; 113-276.1; 113-291. 
 

SECTION .0200 - HUNTING 
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15A NCAC 10B .0201 PROHIBITED TAKING AND 

MANNER OF TAKE 

(a)  It is unlawful for any person to take, or have in possession, 
any wild animal or wild bird listed in this Section except during 
the open seasons and in accordance with the limits herein 
prescribed, or as prescribed by 15A NCAC 10B .0300 pertaining 
to trapping or 15A NCAC 10D applicable to game lands managed 

by the Wildlife Resources Commission, unless otherwise 
permitted by law. Lawful seasons and bag limits for each species 
apply beginning with the first day of the listed season and 
continue through the last day of the listed season, with all dates 
being included. When any hunting season ends on a January 1 that 
falls on a Sunday, that season shall be extended to Monday, 

January 2. 
(b)  On Sundays, hunting on private lands shall be allowed under 
the following conditions: 

(1) archery equipment as described in 15A NCAC 
10B .0116, falconry, and dogs where and when 
allowed the other days of the week are lawful 

methods of take, except as prohibited in G.S. 
103-2: 

(2) firearms are lawful methods of take when used 
as described in G.S. 103-2; and 

(3) migratory game birds may not be taken. 
(c)  On Sundays, hunting on public lands is allowed with the 

following restrictions: 
(1) only falconry and dogs used in conjunction with 

falconry are lawful methods of take; and 
(2) migratory game birds may not be taken. 

These restrictions do not apply to military installations under the 
exclusive jurisdiction of the federal government. 

(d)  Those animals not classified as game animals in G.S. 113-
129(7c), and for which a season is set under this Section, may be 
taken during the hours and methods authorized for taking game 
animals. 
(e)  Where local laws govern hunting, or are in conflict with this 
Subchapter, the local law shall prevail. 

(f)  No person shall possess or use any substance or material that 
contains or purports to contain any excretion collected from a 
cervid, including feces, urine, blood, gland oil, or other bodily 
fluid for the purposes of taking or attempting to take, attracting, 
or scouting wildlife, 
 

Authority G.S. 103-2; 113-291.1(a); 113-134; 113-291.2; 113-
291.3. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0203 DEER (WHITE-TAILED) 

(a)  Open Seasons (All Lawful Weapons) for hunting deer: 
(1) Deer With Visible Antlers. Deer with antlers or 

spikes protruding through the skin, as 
distinguished from knobs or buttons covered by 
skin or velvet, may be taken on all game lands 
except Buffalo Cove, Nicholson Creek, 
Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and South 
Mountains Game Lands (Refer to 15A NCAC 
10D .0103 for Deer With Visible Antlers 

seasons on these Game Lands), during the 
following seasons: 

(A) Saturday on or nearest October 15 

through January 1 in all of Beaufort, 
Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, 
Columbus*, Cumberland, Craven, 
Dare, Duplin, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, 
Jones, Lenoir, Moore, New Hanover, 
Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Richmond, 

Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, 
and Washington counties. 
*Unlawful to hunt or kill deer in Lake 
Waccamaw or within 50 yards of its 
shoreline. 

(B) Saturday on or nearest October 15 

through January 1 in all of Bertie, 
Camden, Chowan, Currituck, 
Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Greene, 
Halifax, Hertford, Johnston, Martin, 
Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, 
Perquimans, Pitt, Vance, Wake, 

Warren, Wayne, and Wilson counties. 
(C) Saturday before Thanksgiving Day 

through January 1 in all of Alexander, 
Alleghany, Ashe, Catawba, 
Cleveland, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, 
Iredell, Lincoln, Polk, Rutherford, 

Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and 
Yadkin counties. 

(D) Monday of Thanksgiving week 
through the third Saturday after 
Thanksgiving Day in all of Avery, 
Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, 

Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, 
Henderson, Jackson, Macon, 
Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Swain, 
Transylvania, and Yancey counties. 

(E) Two Saturdays before Thanksgiving 
Day through January 1 in all of 

Alamance, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, 
Chatham, Davidson, Durham, 
Granville, Guilford, Lee, 
Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Orange, 
Person, Randolph, Rockingham, 
Rowan, Stanly, and Union counties. 

(F) Saturday on or nearest September 10 
through January 1 in those parts of 
Camden, Gates, and Pasquotank 
counties known as the Dismal Swamp 
National Wildlife Refuge; in those 
parts of Hyde, Tyrrell, and 

Washington counties known as the 
Pocosin Lakes National Wildlife 
Refuge; in that part of Hyde county 
known as Lake Mattamuskeet 
National Wildlife Refuge; in those 
parts of Dare and Hyde counties 
known as Alligator River National 

Wildlife Refuge; in those parts of 
Anson and Richmond counties known 
as the Pee Dee National Wildlife 
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Refuge; and in that part of Currituck 

County known as the Mackay Island 
National Wildlife Refuge. 

(2) Deer of Either Sex. Except on Game Lands, 
deer of either sex may be taken during the open 
seasons and in the counties and portions of 
counties listed in Parts (A), (B), (C), (D), (E), 

(F), and (G) of this Subparagraph (Refer to 15A 
NCAC 10D .0103 for either-sex deer seasons 
on Game Lands). Deer of either sex may be 
taken during the open season identified in Part 
(H) of this Subparagraph. 
(A) The open either-sex deer hunting dates 

established by the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service during the period 
from the Saturday on or nearest 
September 10 through January 1 in 
those parts of Camden, Gates, and 
Pasquotank counties known as the 

Dismal Swamp National Wildlife 
Refuge; in those parts of Hyde, 
Tyrrell, and Washington counties 
known as the Pocosin Lakes National 
Wildlife Refuge; in those parts of 
Anson and Richmond counties known 

as the Pee Dee National Wildlife 
Refuge; and in those parts of Currituck 
County known as the Currituck 
National Wildlife Refuge and the 
Mackay Island National Wildlife 
Refuge. 

(B) The open either-sex deer hunting dates 
established by the appropriate military 
commands at each of the military 
installations listed in this Paragraph, 
during the period from Saturday on or 
nearest October 15 through January 1 

in that part of Brunswick County 
known as the Sunny Point Military 
Ocean Terminal, in that part of Craven 
County known and marked as Cherry 
Point Marine Base, in that part of 
Onslow County known and marked as 

the Camp Lejeune Marine Base, on 
Fort Bragg Military Reservation, and 
on Camp Mackall Military 
Reservation. 

(C) Youth either-sex deer hunts. First 
Saturday in October for youth either-

sex deer hunting by permit only on a 
portion of Belews Creek Steam 
Station in Stokes County designated 
by agents of the Commission; the third 
Saturday in October for youth either-
sex deer hunting by permit only on 
Mountain Island State Forest in 

Lincoln and Gaston counties; and the 
second Saturday in November for 
youth either-sex deer hunting by 

permit only on apportion of Warrior 

Creek located on W. Kerr Scott 
Reservoir, Wilkes County designated 
by agents of the Commission. A youth 
is defined as a person under 18 years 
of age. 

(D) The first open Saturday of the Deer 

with Visible Antlers season described 
in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in 
all of Buncombe*, Haywood, 
Henderson, Madison, and 
Transylvania counties. 
*Except for that part east of NC 191, 

south of the French Broad and 
Swannanoa Rivers, west of US 25, and  
north of NC 280 

(E) The first open day of the Deer With 
Visible Antlers season described in 
Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 

through the first Saturday thereafter in 
all of Avery, Burke, Caldwell, 
McDowell, Mitchell, and Yancey 
counties. 

(F) The first open day of the Deer with 
Visible Antlers season described in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 
through the second Friday thereafter in 
all of Cleveland, Polk, and Rutherford 
counties. 

(G) All the open days of the Deer With 
Visible Antlers season described in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in 
and east of Ashe, Watauga, Wilkes, 
Alexander, Catawba, Lincoln, and 
Gaston counties and in the following 
parts of counties: Buncombe: That 
part east of NC 191, south of the 

French Broad and Swannanoa Rivers, 
west of US 25, and north of NC 280; 
and Henderson; That part east of NC 
191 and north and west of NC 280. 

(H) The fourth Saturday in September in 
all counties, subject to the following 

restriction: only persons under the age 
of 18 years may hunt. 

(b)  Open Seasons (Archery) for hunting deer: 
(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph and the 
bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

deer may be taken with archery equipment 
during the following seasons: 
(A) Saturday on or nearest September 10 

through the day immediately 
preceding the first open day of the 
Blackpowder Firearms and Archery 
Seasons described in Subparagraph 

(c)(1) of this Rule; and the Sunday 
immediately following the closing of 
blackpowder firearms and archery 
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season identified in Part (c)(1)(B) of 

this Rule to the Sunday before 
Thanksgiving in the counties and parts 
of counties having the open seasons 
for Deer With Visible Antlers 
specified by Part (a)(1)(D) of this Rule 
except on Buffalo Cove, Nicholson 

Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and 
South Mountains Game Lands (Refer 
to 15A NCAC 10D .0103 for Archery 
seasons on these Game Lands). 

(B) Sunday immediately following the 
closing of the open season for Deer 

With Visible Antlers through January 
1 in the counties and parts of counties 
having the open season for Deer With 
Visible Antlers specified by Part 
(a)(1)(D) of this Rule. 

(2) Restrictions. 

(A) In the areas of the State where the 
Commission is authorized to regulate 
the use of dogs as provided in G.S. 
113-291.5, dogs may not be used for 
hunting deer during the archery 
season, except a single dog on a leash 

may be used to retrieve a dead or 
wounded deer in accordance with G.S. 
113-291.1(k). 

(B) Only archery equipment of the types 
authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 
for taking deer may be used during the 

archery deer hunting season. 
(C) Deer of either sex may be taken during 

archery seasons specified by Part 
(b)(1)(A) of this Rule. 
Only deer with antlers or spikes 
protruding through the skin, as 

distinguished from knobs or buttons 
covered by skin or velvet, shall be 
taken during the archery season 
specified by Part (b)(1)(B) of this 
Rule. 

(c)  Open Seasons (Blackpowder Firearms and Archery) for 

hunting deer: 
(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, deer may 
be taken only with blackpowder firearms and 
archery equipment during the following 
seasons: 

(A) Two Saturdays preceding the first day 
of the Deer with Visible Antlers 
seasons described in Parts (a)(1)(A), 
(B), (C), (E), and (F) of this Rule 
through the second Friday thereafter 
except on Buffalo Cove, Nicholson 
Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and 

South Mountains Game Lands (Refer 
to 15A NCAC 10D .0103 for 

Blackpowder Firearms and Archery 

seasons on these Game Lands): 
(B) Monday on or nearest October 1 

through the second Saturday thereafter 
in the counties and parts of counties 
having the open seasons for Deer With 
Visible Antlers specified by Part 

(a)(1)(D) of this Rule. 
(2) Restrictions 

(A) Deer of either sex may be taken during 
blackpowder firearms and archery 
season in any county or county part set 
forth in Part (a)(2)(G) of this Rule that 

has either-sex days for all lawful 
weapons and in and east of the 
following counties: Polk, Rutherford, 
McDowell, Burke, Caldwell, 
Watauga, and Ashe. and Cleveland. 
Deer of either sex may be taken on the 

first Saturday day of this season only 
in all other counties. 

(B) In the areas of the State where the 
Commission is authorized to regulate 
the use of dogs as provided in G.S. 
113-291.5, dogs shall not be used for 

hunting deer during the blackpowder 
firearms and archery seasons, except a 
single dog on a leash may be used to 
retrieve a dead or wounded deer in 
accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k). 

(3) As used in this Rule, blackpowder firearms 

means "Any firearm - including any firearm 
with a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or 
similar type of ignition system - manufactured 
in or before 1898, that cannot use fixed 
ammunition; any replica of this type of firearm 
if such replica is not designed or redesigned for 

using rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed 
ammunition; and any muzzle-loading rifle, 
muzzle-loading shotgun, or muzzle-loading or 
cylinder-loading handgun that is designed to 
use blackpowder, blackpowder substitute, or 
any other propellant loaded through the muzzle 

or cylinder and that cannot use fixed 
ammunition." 

(d)  Open Season (Urban Season) for hunting deer: 
(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph and the 
bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

deer of either sex may be taken with bow and 
arrow in participating cities in the State, as 
defined in G.S. 160A-1(2), from the second 
Saturday following January 1 through the sixth 
Sunday thereafter. Deer shall not be taken on 
any game land or part thereof that occurs within 
a city boundary. 

(2) Participation. Cities that intend to participate in 
the urban season shall send a letter to that effect 
no later than April 1 of the year prior to the start 
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of the urban season to the Executive Director or 

his designee at 1722 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1700. Cities shall also 
submit a map of the city's boundaries within 
which the urban season shall apply. 

(3) Restrictions: 
(A) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission is authorized to regulate 
the use of dogs as provided in G.S. 
113-291.5, dogs shall not be used for 
hunting deer during the urban season, 
except a single dog on a leash may be 
used to retrieve a dead or wounded 

deer in accordance with G.S. 113-
291.1(k). 

(B) Only archery equipment of the types 
authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 
for taking deer shall be used during the 
urban season. 

(e)  Bag limits. The possession and season limit is six deer, two of 
which may be deer with visible antlers and four of which may be 
antlerless deer. Antlerless deer include males with knobs or 
buttons covered by skin or velvet as distinguished from spikes 
protruding through the skin. In addition to the bag limits described 
above, a hunter may obtain multiple bonus antlerless deer harvest 

report cards from the Wildlife Resources Commission or any 
Wildlife Service Agent to allow the harvest of two additional 
antlerless deer per card for deer harvested during the season 
described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule within the boundaries of 
participating municipalities, except on State-owned game lands. 
Antlerless deer harvested and reported on the bonus antlerless 

harvest report card shall not count as part of the possession and 
season limit. The bag limits described above do not apply to deer 
harvested in areas covered in the Deer Management Assistance 
Program (DMAP) as described in G.S. 113-291.2(e) for those 
individuals using Commission-issued DMAP tags and reporting 
harvest as described on the DMAP license. Season bag limits shall 

be set by the number of DMAP tags issued and in the hunters' 
possession. All deer harvested under this program, regardless of 
the date of harvest, shall be tagged with these DMAP tags and 
reported as instructed on the DMAP license. The hunter does not 
have to validate the Big Game Harvest Report Card provided with 
the hunting license for deer tagged with the DMAP tags. Any deer 

harvested on lands enrolled in the DMAP and not tagged with 
DMAP tags may only be harvested during the regularly 
established deer seasons subject to all the restrictions of those 
seasons, including bag limits, and reported using the big game 
harvest report card or the bonus antlerless harvest report card. 
 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.3; 113-276.1; 113-291.1; 113-
291.2; 113-291.5. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0224 AMERICAN ALLIGATOR 

(a)  The season for taking American alligators shall be September 
1 to October 1. 
(b)  Take shall be by permit only. 

(c)  The bag limit shall be one per permit and the season limit is 
one. 

(d)  American alligators shall be restrained before being killed. 

American alligators shall may only be restrained using one of the 
following methods in accordance with the provisions of the 
permit: 

(1) a hand-held restraining line or catch pole; 
(2) a snatch hook attached to a hand-held 

restraining line or rod and reel; 

(3) a harpoon or gig attached to a hand-held 
restraining line; 

(4) a baited wooden peg less than two inches in 
length attached to a hand-held restraining line; 
or 

(5) archery equipment with an arrow-attached 

restraining line. 
(e)  If a minimum size limit is applicable to the county or 
municipality for which the permit is issued, the size limit and 
method(s) of restraint shall be specified on the permit. 
(e)(f)  American alligators restrained by any method specified in 
Paragraph (d) of this Rule shall be killed immediately upon 

capture. capture except when a minimum size limit is specified on 
the permit. When a minimum size limit is specified on the permit, 
animals not meeting the minimum size limit shall be released 
immediately at the site of capture. 
(f)(g)  American alligators may be taken day or night and with the 
use of artificial lights. 

(g)(h)  The use of baited hooks is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0226 BULLFROGS 

(a)  The open seasons for taking of bullfrog, Rana catesbeiana, 

shall be as follows: 
(1) Except as provided in Subparagraph (a)(2) of 

this Rule, there shall be no closed season for 
taking bullfrogs. 

(2) On Wildlife Resources Commission Property, 
as defined in G.S. 113-129, bullfrogs may be 

taken from April 1 to August 31 with a valid 
license that entitles the licensee to access and 
use Wildlife Resources Commission Property. 

(b)  Bag Limit: It shall be unlawful to take more than 24 bullfrogs 
in a 24-hour period that runs from 12 noon to 12 noon. 
(c)  Artificial lights may be used to take bullfrogs. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1. 
 
SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS 

 
SECTION .0200 - GENERAL REGULATIONS 

 
15A NCAC 10C .0205 PUBLIC MOUNTAIN TROUT 

WATERS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 
(1) "Natural bait" means any living or dead 

organism (plant or animal), or parts thereof, or 
prepared substances designed to attract fish by 

the sense of taste or smell.  
(2) "Single hook" means a fish hook with only one 

point. 
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(2)(3) "Artificial lure" means a fishing lure that 

neither contains nor has been treated by any 
substance that attracts fish by the sense of taste 
or smell. 

(4) "Artificial fly" means one single hook dressed 
with feathers, hair, thread, tinsel, rubber, or any 
similar material to which no additional hook, 

spinner, spoon or similar device is added. 
(3)(5) "Youth anglers" are individuals under 18 years 

of age. 
(b)  For purposes of this Rule, 15A NCAC 10C .0316, and 15A 
NCAC 10D .0104, the following classifications apply: 

(1) "Public Mountain Trout Waters" are all waters 

included in this Rule and so designated in 15A 
NCAC 10D .0104. 

(2) "Catch and Release/Artificial Flies Only Trout 
Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters 
where only artificial flies having one single 
hook may be used. No trout may be possessed 

or harvested while fishing these streams. 
Waters designated as such include tributaries 
unless otherwise noted. 

(3) "Catch and Release/Artificial Lures Only Trout 
Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters 
where only artificial lures having one single 

hook may be used. No trout may be possessed 
or harvested while fishing these streams. 
Waters designated as such include tributaries 
unless otherwise noted. 

(4) "Delayed Harvest Trout Waters" are Public 
Mountain Trout Waters where between October 

1 and one-half hour after sunset on the Friday 
before the first Saturday of the following June, 
it is unlawful to possess natural bait, use more 
than one single hook on an artificial lure, or 
harvest or possess trout while fishing. From 
6:00 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 

noon that same day, only youth anglers may 
fish and these waters have no bait or lure 
restrictions. From noon on the first Saturday in 
June until October 1, anglers of all ages may 
fish and these waters have no bait or lure 
restrictions. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 
(5) "Hatchery Supported Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters that have no bait or lure 
restrictions. Waters designated as such do not 
include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(6) "Special Regulation Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where watercourse-
specific regulations apply. Waters designated 
as such do not include tributaries unless 
otherwise noted. 

(7) "Wild Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 
Waters which are identified as such in this Rule 
or 15A NCAC 10D .0104. Only artificial lures 

having only one single hook may be used. No 
person shall possess natural bait while fishing 

these waters. Waters designated as such do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 
(8) "Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where all artificial lures 
and natural baits, except live fish, may be used 
provided they are fished using only one single 
hook. Waters designated as such include 

tributaries unless otherwise noted. 
(9) "Undesignated Waters" are all other waters in 

the State. These waters have no bait or lure 
restrictions. Trout may not be possessed while 
fishing these waters from March 1 until 7:00 
a.m. on the first Saturday in April. 

(c)  Seasons, creel, and size limits. Seasons, creel, and size limits 
for trout in all waters are listed in Rule .0316 of this Subchapter. 
(d)  Classifications. This Paragraph designates waters in each 
county that have a specific classification. Waters on game lands 
are so designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104, unless otherwise 
indicated in this Paragraph. All other waters are classified as 

Undesignated Waters. 
(1) Alleghany 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Little River (S.R. 1133 bridge to 275 
yards downstream of the intersection 

of S.R. 1128 and S.R. 1129 [marked 
by a sign on each bank]) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Big Pine Creek 
Bledsoe Creek 

Brush Creek (N.C. 21 bridge to 
confluence with Little River, except 
where posted against trespassing) 
Cranberry Creek 
(Big) Glade Creek 
Little River (275 yards downstream 

from the intersection of S.R. 1128 and 
S.R. 1129 [marked by a sign on  
each bank] to McCann Dam) 
Meadow Fork 
Pine Swamp Creek 
Piney Fork 

Prathers Creek 
(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on Stone Mountain 
State Park 

(2) Ashe County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 
Big Horse Creek (Virginia state line to 
Mud Creek at S.R. 1363, excluding 
tributaries) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Big Horse Creek (S.R. 1324 bridge to 

North Fork New River) 
Helton Creek (SR 1372 bridge to 
North Fork New River) 
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South Fork New River (upstream end 

of Todd Island to the SR 1351 bridge) 
Trout Lake 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Beaver Creek (N.C. 221 to confluence 
of Beaver Creek and South Beaver 

Creek) 
Big Horse Creek (Mud Creek at S.R. 
1363 to S.R. 1324 bridge) 
Big Laurel Creek (S.R. 1315 bridge to 
confluence with North Fork New 
River) 

Buffalo Creek (S.R. 1133 bridge to 
N.C. 194-88 bridge) 
Cranberry Creek (Alleghany Co. line 
to South Fork New River) 
Nathans Creek 
North Fork New River (Watauga Co. 

line to Sharp Dam) 
Old Fields Creek (N.C. 221 to South 
Fork New River) 
Peak Creek (headwaters to Trout 
Lake, except Blue Ridge Parkway 
waters) 

Roan Creek 
Three Top Creek 

(3) Avery County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 
Elk River (portion on Lees-McRae 

College property, excluding the 
millpond) 
Lost Cove Creek (game land portion, 
excluding Gragg Prong and 
Rockhouse Creek) 

(B) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 
Wilson Creek (game land portion) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Boyde Coffey Lake 
Elk River (S.R. 1305 crossing 

immediately upstream of Big Falls to 
the Tennessee state line) 
Linville River (Land Harbor line 
[below dam] to the Blue Ridge 
Parkway boundary line, except where 
posted against trespassing) 

Milltimber Creek 
North Toe River — upper (Watauga 
St. to Roby Shoemaker Wetlands and 
Family Recreational Park, except 
where posted against trespassing) 
North Toe River — lower (S.R. 1164 
to Mitchell Co. line, except where 

posted against trespassing) 
Squirrel Creek 
Wildcat Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Birchfield Creek 
Cow Camp Creek 
Cranberry Creek (headwaters to U.S. 
19E/N.C. 194 bridge) 
Gragg Prong 
Horse Creek 

Kentucky Creek 
North Harper Creek 
Plumtree Creek 
Roaring Creek 
Rockhouse Creek 
Shawneehaw Creek (portion adjacent 

to Banner Elk Greenway) 
South Harper Creek 
Webb Prong 

(4) Buncombe County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Carter Creek (game land portion) 
(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Bent Creek (headwaters to N.C. 
Arboretum boundary line) 
Cane Creek (headwaters to S.R. 3138 

bridge) 
Corner Rock Creek (Little Andy 
Creek to confluence with Walker 
Branch) 
Dillingham Creek (Corner Rock 
Creek to Ivy Creek) 

Ivy Creek (Ivy River)(Dillingham 
Creek to U.S. 19-23 bridge) 
Lake Powhatan 
Reems Creek (Sugar Camp Fork to 
U.S. 19-23 bridge, except where 
posted against trespassing) 

Rich Branch (downstream from the 
confluence with Rocky Branch) 
Stony Creek 
Swannanoa (S.R. 2702 bridge near 
Ridgecrest to Wood Avenue bridge 
[intersection of N.C. 81 and U.S. 74A 

in Asheville], except where posted 
against trespassing) 

(5) Burke County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 
Henry Fork (portion on South 

Mountains State Park) 
(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Jacob Fork (Shinny Creek to lower 
South Mountains State Park 
boundary) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Carroll Creek (game land portion 
above S.R. 1405) 
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Henry Fork (lower South Mountain 

State Park line downstream to S.R. 
1919 at Ivy Creek) 
Linville River portion within Linville 
Gorge Wilderness area and portion 
below Lake James powerhouse from 
upstream bridge on S.R. 1223 to 

Muddy Creek) 
(D) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Catawba River (Muddy Creek to City 
of Morganton water intake dam) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on South 
Mountains State Park, except those 
waters identified in Parts A and B of 
this Subparagraph 

(6) Caldwell County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Wilson Creek (game land portion 
below Lost Cove Creek to Philips 
Branch) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 

Boone Fork Pond 
Buffalo Creek (mouth of Joes Creek to 
McCloud Branch) 
Joes Creek (first falls upstream of S.R. 
1574 to confluence with Buffalo 
Creek) 

Wilson Creek (Phillips Branch to 
Brown Mountain Beach Dam, except 
where posted against trespassing) 
Yadkin River (Happy Valley Ruritan 
Community Park to S.R. 1515) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Buffalo Creek (Watauga Co. line to 
Long Ridge Branch including game 
land tributaries) 
Joes Creek (Watauga Co. line to first 
falls upstream of the end of S.R. 1574) 
Rockhouse Creek 

(7) Cherokee County 
(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Davis Creek (confluence of Bald and 
Dockery creeks to Hanging Dog 
Creek) 

Hyatt Creek (Big Dam Branch to 
Valley River) 
Junaluska Creek (Ashturn Creek to 
Valley River) 
Shuler Creek (Joe Brown Hwy [S.R. 
1325] bridge to Tennessee state line) 
Valley River (S.R. 1359 to U.S. 19 

Business bridge in Murphy) 
(B) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Apalachia Reservoir 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 
follows: 
Bald Creek (game land portion) 
Dockery Creek (game land portion) 
North Shoal Creek (game land 
portion) 

(8) Clay County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Fires Creek (USFS Rd. 340A 
(Rockhouse Creek to the foot bridge in 
the USFS Fires Creek Picnic Area) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Buck Creek (game land portion 
downstream of U.S. 64 bridge) 
Fires Creek (foot bridge in the USFS 
Fires Creek Picnic Area to S.R. 1300) 

Tusquitee Creek (Compass Creek to 
lower S.R. 1300 bridge) 

(9) Graham County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
(Big) Snowbird Creek (USFS 

footbridge at the old railroad junction 
to USFS Rd. 2579) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Calderwood Reservoir (Cheoah Dam 
to Tennessee state line) 

Cheoah Reservoir 
Panther Creek (confluence of Stand 
Creek and Rock Creek to Lake 
Fontana) 
Santeetlah Creek (Johns Branch to 
Lake Santeetlah) 

(Big) Snowbird Creek (USFS Road 
2579 to S.R. 1127 bridge) 
Stecoah Creek (upper game land 
boundary to Lake Fontana) 
Tulula Creek (S.R. 1201 to lower 
bridge on S.R. 1275) 

West Buffalo Creek 
Yellow Creek (Lake Santeetlah 
hydropower pipeline to Cheoah River) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Little Buffalo Creek 
South Fork Squally Creek 

Squally Creek 
(D) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 
Deep Creek 
Franks Creek 
Long Creek (game land portion) 

(10) Haywood County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
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West Fork Pigeon River (Queen Creek 

to the first game land boundary 
upstream of Lake Logan) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Cold Springs Creek (Fall Branch to 
Pigeon River) 

Jonathan Creek (upstream S.R. 1302 
bridge to Pigeon River, except where 
posted against trespassing) 
Pigeon River (Stamey Cove Branch to 
upstream U.S. 19-23 bridge) 
Richland Creek (Russ Avenue [U.S. 

276] bridge to U.S. 19 bridge) 
West Fork Pigeon River (Tom Creek 
to Queen Creek, including portions on 
game lands, except Middle  
Prong) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 
Hemphill Creek 
Hurricane Creek 

(11) Henderson County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

North Fork Mills River (game land 
portion below the Hendersonville 
watershed dam) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
(Rocky) Broad River (end of S.R. 

1611 to Rutherford County line) 
Cane Creek (railroad bridge upstream 
of S.R. 1551 bridge to U.S. 25 bridge) 
Clear Creek (Laurel Fork to S.R. 
1582) 
Green River (Lake Summit 

powerhouse to game land boundary) 
(Big) Hungry River (S.R. 1885 to 
Green River) 

(12) Jackson County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 

Flat Creek 
Tuckasegee River (upstream from the 
Clark property) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Tuckasegee River (downstream N.C. 

107 bridge to the falls located 275 
yards upstream of the U.S. 23-441 
bridge [marked by a sign on each 
bank]) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Balsam Lake 

Bear Creek Lake 
Cedar Cliff Lake 

Cullowhee Creek (Tilley Creek to 

Tuckasegee River) 
Dark Ridge Creek (Jones Creek to 
Scott Creek) 
Greens Creek (Greens Creek Baptist 
Church on S.R. 1370 to Savannah 
Creek) 

Savannah Creek (Shell Branch to 
Cagle Branch) 
Scott Creek (Dark Ridge Creek to 
Tuckasegee River, except where 
posted against trespassing) 
Tanasee Creek Lake 

Tuckasegee River — upper (John 
Brown Branch to the downstream 
N.C. 107 bridge) 
Tuckasegee River — lower (falls 
located 275 yards upstream of U.S. 23-
441 bridge [marked by a sign on  

each bank] to S.R. 1534 bridge at 
Wilmot) 
Wolf Creek Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Gage Creek 
North Fork Scott Creek 

Tanasee Creek 
Whitewater River (downstream from 
Silver Run Creek to South Carolina 
state line) 
Wolf Creek (except Balsam Lake and 
Wolf Creek Lake) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 
follows: 
Buff Creek 
Chattooga River (S.R. 1100 bridge to 
the South Carolina state line) 
Lower Fowler Creek (game land 

portion) 
Scotsman Creek (game land portion) 

(13) Macon County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Nantahala River (Whiteoak Creek to 

Nantahala hydropower discharge 
canal) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Burningtown Creek (Left Prong to 
Little Tennessee River) 

Cartoogechaye Creek (downstream 
U.S. 64 bridge to Little Tennessee 
River) 
Cliffside Lake 
Cullasaja River (Sequoyah Dam to 
U.S. 64 bridge near junction of S.R. 
1672) 

Nantahala River — upper (Dicks 
Creek to Whiteoak Creek) 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 2, 2019 

930 

Nantahala River — lower (Nantahala 

hydropower discharge canal to Swain 
Co. line) 
Queens Creek Lake 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 
follows: 
Chattooga River (S.R. 1100 bridge to 

South Carolina state line) 
Jarrett Creek (game land portion) 
Kimsey Creek 
Overflow Creek (game land portion) 
Park Creek 
Tellico Creek (game land portion) 

Turtle Pond Creek (game land portion) 
(14) Madison County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Big Laurel Creek (N.C. 208 bridge to 
the U.S. 25-70 bridge) 

Shelton Laurel Creek (N.C. 208 bridge 
at Belva to the confluence with Big 
Laurel Creek) 
Spring Creek (N.C. 209 bridge at Hot 
Springs city limits to iron bridge at end 
of Andrews Ave.) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Big Laurel Creek (Puncheon Fork to 
the S.R. 1318 [Big Laurel Rd.] bridge 
downstream of Bearpen Branch) 
Big Pine Creek (S.R. 1151 bridge to 

French Broad River) 
Little Ivy Creek (confluence of Middle 
Fork and Paint Fork at Beech Glen to 
confluence with Ivy Creek at Forks of 
Ivy) 
Max Patch Pond 

Meadow Fork Creek (Meadow Fork 
Campground to Spring Creek) 
Puncheon Fork (Hampton Creek 
(Wolf Laurel Branch to Big Laurel 
Creek) 
Roaring Fork (Fall Branch to Meadow 

Fork) 
Shelton Laurel Creek (confluence of 
Big Creek and Mill Creek to N.C. 208 
bridge at Belva) 
Shut-in Creek 
Spillcorn Creek 

Spring Creek (junction of N.C. 209 
and N.C. 63 to USFS Rd. 223) 
West Fork Shut-in Creek (lower game 
land boundary to confluence with East 
Fork Shut-in Creek) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 
follows: 

Big Creek (headwaters to the lower 
game land boundary) 

(15) McDowell County 

(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 
Newberry Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Catawba River (portion adjacent to 
Marion Greenway) 

Curtis Creek (game land portion 
downstream of the USFS boundary at 
Deep Branch) 
Mill Creek (U.S. 70 bridge to I-40 
bridge) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Armstrong Creek (Cato Holler line 
downstream to upper Greenlee line) 
Catawba River (Catawba Falls 
Campground to Old Fort Recreation 
Park) 

Little Buck Creek (game land portion) 
Mill Creek (upper railroad bridge to 
U.S. 70 bridge, except where posted 
against trespassing) 
North Fork Catawba River 
(headwaters to North Cove School at 

S.R. 1569 bridge) 
(16) Mitchell County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Cane Creek (N.C. 226 bridge to S.R. 
1189 bridge) 

North Toe River (U.S. 19E bridge to 
N.C. 226 bridge) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Big Rock Creek (headwaters to N.C. 
226 bridge at S.R. 1307 intersection) 

Cane Creek (S.R. 1219 to N.C. 226 
bridge) 
East Fork Grassy Creek 
Grassy Creek (East Fork Grassy Creek 
to mouth) 
Little Rock Creek (Green Creek 

bridge to Big Rock Creek, except 
where posted against trespassing) 
North Toe River (Avery Co. line to 
S.R. 1121 bridge) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Green Creek (headwaters to Green 

Creek bridge, except where posted 
against trespassing) 
Little Rock Creek (above Green Creek 
bridge, including all tributaries, except 
where posted against trespassing) 
Wiles Creek (game land boundary to 
mouth) 

(17) Polk County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
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Green River (Fishtop Falls Access 

Area to the confluence with Cove 
Creek) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Green River (Mouth of Cove Creek to 
the natural gas pipeline crossing) 

North Pacolet River (Joels Creek to 
N.C. 108 bridge) 

(18) Rutherford County 
(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
(Rocky) Broad River (Henderson Co. 

line to U.S. 64/74 bridge, except 
where posted against trespassing) 

(19) Stokes County 
(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Dan River (Virginia state line 

downstream to a point 200 yards 
below the end of S.R. 1421) 

(20) Surry County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Ararat River (portion adjacent to the 

Ararat River Greenway) 
Mitchell River (.6 mile (0.6 miles 
upstream of the end of S.R. 1333 to the 
lowermost bridge on S.R. 1330  
bridge below Kapps Mill Dam) 
lowermost bridge on S.R. 1330) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Ararat River (S.R. 1727 bridge 
downstream to the N.C. 103 bridge) 
Big Elkin Creek (dam 440 yards 
upstream of N.C. 268 bridge to a point 

265 yards downstream of N.C. 268  
[marked by a sign on each bank]) 
Fisher River (Cooper Creek)(Virginia 
state line to I-77 bridge) 
Little Fisher River (Virginia state line 
to N.C. 89 bridge) 

Lovills Creek (U.S. 52 Business 
bridge to Ararat River) 
Pauls Creek (Virginia state line to .3 
miles below S.R. 1625 bridge) 

(21) Swain County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Waters Trout Waters 

are as follows: 
Tuckasegee River (U.S. 19 bridge to 
Slope Street bridge) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Alarka Creek (game land boundary to 
Fontana Reservoir) 

Calderwood Reservoir (Cheoah Dam 
to Tennessee state line) 
Cheoah Reservoir 

Connelly Creek (Camp Branch to 

Tuckasegee River) 
Deep Creek (Great Smoky Mountains 
National Park Boundary line to 
Tuckasegee River) 
Nantahala River (Macon Co. line to 
existing Fontana Lake water level) 

(22) Transylvania County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 
Davidson River (headwaters to Avery 
Creek, excluding Avery Creek, 
Looking Glass Creek and Grogan  

Creek) 
(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
East Fork French Broad River (East 
Fork Baptist Church to the 
downstream S.R. 1107 bridge) 

Little River (confluence of Lake 
Dense to 100 yards downstream of 
Hooker Falls) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Davidson River (Avery Creek to lower 

USFS boundary) 
French Broad River (confluence of 
North Fork French Broad River and 
West Fork) French Broad River to  
the Island Ford Rd. [S.R. 1110] 
Access Area 

Middle Fork French Broad River 
(upstream U.S. 178 bridge to French 
Broad River) 
West Fork French Broad River (Camp 
Cove Branch (S.R. 1312 to confluence 
with North Fork French  

Broad River) 
(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

All waters located on Gorges State 
Park 
Whitewater River (downstream from 
Silver Run Creek to South Carolina 

state line) 
(E) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 

follows: 
North Fork French Broad River (game 
land portion downstream of S.R. 
1326) 

Thompson River (S.R. 1152 to South 
Carolina state line, except where 
posted against trespassing) 

(23) Watauga County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Lures 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 
Laurel Creek (confluence of North and 

South Fork Laurel creeks to Elk 
Creek, excluding tributaries) 
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Pond Creek (headwaters to Locust 

Ridge Rd. bridge, excluding the pond 
adjacent to Coffee Lake) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Lake Coffey 
Watauga River (adjacent to 

intersection of S.R. 1557 and S.R. 
1558 to N.C. 105 bridge and S.R. 1114  
bridge to the Valle Crucis Community 
Park lower boundary) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 

Beaverdam Creek (confluence of 
Beaverdam Creek and Little 
Beaverdam Creek to an unnamed 
tributary  
adjacent to the intersection of S.R. 
1201 and S.R. 1203) 

Beech Creek 
Buckeye Creek (Buckeye Creek 
Reservoir dam to Grassy Gap Creek) 
Buckeye Creek Reservoir 
Cove Creek (S.R. 1233 bridge at 
Zionville to S.R. 1214 bridge at 

Sherwood) 
Dutch Creek (second bridge on S.R. 
1134 to mouth) 
Elk Creek (S.R. 1510 bridge at Triplett 
to Wilkes Co. line, except where 
posted against trespassing) 

Laurel Creek (S.R. 1123 bridge at S.R. 
1157 intersection to Watauga River) 
Meat Camp Creek (S.R. 1340 bridge at 
S.R. 1384 intersection to N.C. 194) 
Middle Fork New River (adjacent to 
intersection of S.R. 1539 and U.S. 321 

to South Fork New River) 
Norris Fork Creek 
South Fork New River (canoe launch 
70 yards upstream of U.S. 421 bridge 
to lower boundary of Brookshire Park) 
Stony Fork (S.R. 1500 bridge at S.R. 

1505 intersection to Wilkes Co. line) 
(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Dutch Creek (headwaters to second 
bridge on S.R. 1134) 
Howard Creek 
Maine Branch (headwaters to North 

Fork New River) 
North Fork New River (from 
confluence with Maine and Mine 
branches to Ashe Co. line) 
Watauga River (Avery Co. line to S.R. 
1580 bridge) 
Winkler Creek (lower bridge on S.R. 

1549 to confluence with South Fork 
New River) 

(24) Wilkes County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
East Prong Roaring River (Bullhead 
Creek downstream to Stone Mountain 
State Park lower boundary) 
Elk Creek — upper (Watauga Co. line 
to lower boundary of the Blue Ridge 

Mountain Club) 
Elk Creek — lower (portion on 
Leatherwood Mountains 
development) 
Reddies River (Town of North 
Wilkesboro water intake dam to 

confluence with the Yadkin River) 
Stone Mountain Creek (from falls at 
Alleghany Co. line to confluence with 
East Prong Roaring River and  
Bullhead Creek) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Basin Creek (S.R. 1730 bridge to 
confluence with Lovelace Creek) 
Bell Branch Pond 
Cub Creek (.5 mile upstream of S.R. 
2460 bridge to S.R. 1001 bridge) 

Darnell Creek (North Prong Reddies 
River)(downstream ford on S.R. 1569 
to confluence with North Fork 
Reddies River) 
East Prong Roaring River (Stone 
Mountain State Park lower boundary 

to S.R. 1002 bridge) 
Fall Creek (S.R. 1300 bridge to 
confluence with South Prong Lewis 
Fork, except where posted against 
trespassing) 
Middle Fork Reddies River (Clear 

Prong)(headwaters to bridge on S.R. 
1580) 
Middle Prong Roaring River 
(headwaters to bridge on S.R. 1736) 
North Fork Reddies River (Vannoy 
Creek)(headwaters to Union School 

bridge on S.R. 1559) 
Pike Creek 
Pike Creek Pond 
South Fork Reddies River (S.R. 1355 
bridge to confluence with Middle Fork 
Reddies River) 

South Prong Lewis Fork (Fall Creek to 
U.S. 421 bridge adjacent to the S.R. 
1155 bridge) intersection) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
All waters located on Stone Mountain 
State Park, except East Prong Roaring 
River from Bullhead Creek 

downstream to the Stone Mountain 
State Park lower boundary where 
Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 
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regulations apply, and Stone Mountain 

Creek from falls at Alleghany County 
line to confluence with East Prong 
Roaring River and Bullhead Creek in 
Stone Mountain State Park where 
Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 
regulations apply 

(25) Yancey County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 

Only Trout Waters are as follows: 
South Toe River (headwaters to Upper 
Creek) 
Upper Creek 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Cane River (Blackberry Ridge Rd. to 
downstream boundary of Cane River 
County Park) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Bald Mountain Creek (except where 
posted against trespassing) 
Cane River (Bee Branch [S.R. 1110] 
to Bowlens Creek) 
Price Creek (junction of S.R. 1120 and 

S.R. 1121 to Indian Creek) 
South Toe River (Clear Creek to lower 
boundary line of Yancey Co. 
Recreation Park, except where posted 
against trespassing) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Cattail Creek (bridge at Mountain 
Farm Community Rd. to N.C. 197 
bridge) 
Lickskillet Creek 
Middle Creek (game land boundary to 
mouth) 

 
Authority G.S. 113-272; 113-292. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0209 TRANSPORTATION OF LIVE 

FISH 

(a)  Fish Transport: It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or 

corporation to transport live freshwater nongame fishes, or live 
game fishes in excess of the possession limit, or fish eggs without 
having in possession a permit obtained from the North Carolina 
Wildlife Resources Commission. 
(b)  Fish Stocking: It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or 
corporation to stock any life stage of any species of fish in the 

inland fishing waters of this State without having first procured a 
stocking permit from the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 
Commission. 

(c)  Permits for stocking fish shall be issued as follows: 

(1) Application for a stocking permit shall be made 
on a form provided by the Commission. The 
applicant shall specify the purpose for the 
stocking, species to be stocked, the source of 
the stock, the number of individual specimens 
to be released, and the location where release is 

desired. 
(2) Before issuing a stocking permit, the Executive 

Director shall review the application and 
determine, based on principles of wildlife 
management and biological science, that the 
proposed stocking will not: 

(A) threaten the introduction of epizootic 
disease or 

(B) create a danger to or an imbalance in 
the environment inimical to the 
conservation of wildlife resources. 

(3) Based on the determination made in 

Subparagraph (2): 
(A) If the Executive Director determines 

that either or both conditions cannot be 
met under any circumstances, the 
application shall be denied. 

(B) If the Executive Director determines 

that both conditions may be met only 
by the introduction of fewer than the 
number requested, a permit only for 
the number that may be safely released 
shall be issued. 

(C) If the Executive Director determines 

that the number requested may be 
safely released, he shall issue the 
permit. 

(4) Any stocking permit issued by the Commission 
may impose the following conditions or 
restrictions: 

(A) Location where the permitted number 
of fish may be stocked. 

(B) Certification that fish are free of 
certifiable diseases by the vendor or a 
laboratory qualified to make such 
determination. 

(C) Documentation of the date, time and 
location of the release. 

(D) Access by the Commission to the 
property where fish introductions 
occur to assess impacts of the 
introduction. 

(E) All conditions required shall be 
included in writing on the permit. 

 
(5) Based on the criteria in Subparagraph (2), no permit shall be issued to stock any of the following species in the areas 

indicated: 
SPECIES       LOCATION 

Salmonids except brown, brook, and rainbow trout  Statewide 
Flathead catfish      Statewide  
Blue Catfish       Statewide 
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(d)  For purposes of this Rule, stocking is the introduction or 

attempted introduction of one or more individuals of a particular 
species of live fish into public waters for any purpose other than: 

(1) As bait affixed to a hook and line, or 
(2) A release incidental to "catch and release" 

fishing in an area within the same body of water 
where the fish was caught, or within an adjacent 

body of water not separated from that body by 
any natural or manmade obstruction to the 
passage of that species. 

(e)  The release of more than the daily creel limit, or if there is no 
established creel limit for the species, more than five individuals 
of the species, shall constitute prima facie evidence of an 

intentional release. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-135; 113-274; 113-292. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0211 POSSESSION OF CERTAIN 

FISHES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to transport, purchase, possess, sell, or 
stock in the public or private waters of North Carolina any live 
individuals of: 

(1) piranha; 
(2) "walking catfish" (Clarias batrachus); 
(3) snakehead fish (from the Family Channidae, 

formerly Ophiocephalidae); 
(4) black carp (Mylopharyngodon piceus); 
(5) bighead carp (Hypophthalmichthys nobilis); 
(6) silver carp (Hypophthalmichthys molitrix); 
(7) rudd (Scardinius erythropthalomus); 
(8) round goby (Neogobius melanostomus); 

(9) tubenose goby (Proterorhinus marmoratus); 
(10) ruffe (Gymnocephalus cernuus); 
(11) Japanese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina 

japonica); 
(12) Chinese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina 

chinensis malleata); 

(13) red-rim melania (Melanoides tuberculatus); 
(14) virile crayfish (Orconectes (Gremicambarus) 

virilis); 
(15) rusty crayfish (Orconectes (Procericambarus) 

rusticus); 
(16) Australian red claw crayfish or "red claw" 

(Cherax quadricarinatus, or other species of 
"giant" crayfish species in the genus Cherax); 

(17) white amur or "grass carp" (Ctenopharyngodon 
idella); 

(18) swamp or "rice" eel (Monopterus albus); 
(19) red shiner (Cyprinella lutrensis); 

(20) zebra mussel (Dreissena polymorpha); or 
(21) quagga mussel (Dreissena rostriformis 

bugensis) or any mussel in the family 
Dreissenidae. Dreissenidae; or 

(22) redtail catfish (Phractocephalus 
hemioliopterus). 

(b)  A person may buy, possess, or stock grass carp that have been 

certified to be triploid or sterile, only for the purpose of 
controlling aquatic vegetation under a permit issued by the 
Executive Director or his or her designee based on an evaluation 

of the potential for escapement and threat to sensitive aquatic 

habitats. 
(c)  It shall be unlawful to transport, possess, or release live river 
herring, also known as alewife or blueback herring, in the waters 
of the Little Tennessee River in and upstream of Lake Santeetlah 
and Cedar Cliff Lake, including all the tributaries and 
impoundments thereof, and on adjacent shorelines, docks, access 

ramps, and bridge crossings. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274(c)(1c); 113-292. 
 

SECTION .0300 - GAME FISH 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0301 INLAND GAME FISHES 

DESIGNATED 

The following fishes are classified and designated as inland game 
fishes: 

(1) mountain trout, all species including but not 
limited to rainbow, brown and brook trout; 

(2) muskellunge, chain (jack) and redfin pickerel; 
(3) yellow perch, when found in inland waters, 

walleye and sauger; 
(4) black bass, including Alabama, largemouth, 

smallmouth, spotted and redeye bass; 
(5) black and white crappie; 

(6) sunfish, including bluegill (bream), redbreast 
(robin), redear (shellcracker), pumpkinseed, 
warmouth, rock bass, (redeye), flier, Roanoke 
bass, and all other species of the sunfish family 
(Centrarchidae) not specifically listed in this 
Rule; 

(7) spotted sea trout (speckled trout), when found 
in inland fishing waters; 

(8) flounder, when found in inland fishing waters; 
(9) red drum (channel bass, red fish, puppy drum), 

when found in inland fishing waters; 
(10) striped bass, white bass, white perch and 

Morone hybrids (striped bass-white bass), 
when found in inland fishing waters; 

(11) American and hickory shad, when found in 
inland fishing waters; 

(12) kokanee salmon. salmon; and 
(13) black bullhead, brown bullhead, flat bullhead, 

snail bullhead, white catfish, and yellow 
bullhead, when found in inland fishing waters. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-129. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0305 BLACK LARGEMOUTH BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Largemouth, Smallmouth, and 
Spotted Bass collectively known as Black Bass - – Largemouth 
Bass is five fish, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), 
(d), and (m)(l) of this Rule. There is no minimum size limit for 
these fish, Largemouth Bass, but only two of them may be less 
than 14 inches except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), 
(d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), and (m)(l) of this Rule. There 

is no closed season, except for waters identified in Paragraph 
(m)(l) of this Rule. 
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(b)  In Lake Cammack in Alamance County, and Lake Holt in 

Granville County the daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is 10 
fish and no more than two fish greater than 14 inches may be 
possessed. 
(c)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 
limit for Black Bass Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass less 
than 14 inches. The daily creel limit for Black Bass Largemouth 

Bass and Smallmouth Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish. fish 
in aggregate. 
(d)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 
Black Bass Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, 
and Spotted Bass is 10 fish, the fish in aggregate. The minimum 
size limit for Largemouth Bass is 12 inches, and there is no 

minimum size limit for Smallmouth Bass and Spotted Bass. 
inches. 
(e)  The minimum size limit for Black Bass Largemouth Bass is 
14 inches in the following: 

(1) Lake Raleigh in Wake County; 
(2) Lake Sutton in New Hanover County; 

(3) Pungo Lake in Washington and Hyde counties; 
(4) New Lake in Hyde County; and 
(5) Currituck, Roanoke, Croatan, Albemarle 

sounds, and all their tributaries including 
Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 
Dam, Chowan River, Meherrin River, Yeopim 

River, Pasquotank River, Perquimans River, 
Little River, Big Flatty Creek, North River, 
Northwest River, Scuppernong River, Alligator 
River (including the Alligator/Pungo Canal east 
of the NC Hwy 264/45 bridge, and all other 
associated tributaries and canals in these river 

systems. 
(f)  In Cane Creek Lake in Union County, and Buckhorn Reservoir 
in Wilson and Nash counties, the minimum size limit for 
Largemouth Bass is 16 inches. 
(g)  In Lake Phelps in Tyrrell and Washington counties, the 
minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches, and no fish 

between 16 and 20 inches may be possessed. 
(h)  In Shearon Harris Reservoir and Lake Hampton in Yadkin 
County, there is no minimum size limit for Black Bass, 
Largemouth Bass, but only two Black Bass Largemouth Bass less 
than 14 inches and no Black Bass Largemouth Bass between 16 
and 20 inches may be possessed. 

(i)  In Randleman Reservoir, there is no minimum size limit for 
Largemouth Bass, but only two Largemouth Bass less than 14 
inches and only one Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may 
be possessed. 
(j)(i)  In Lake Thom-A-Lex in Davidson County, the minimum 
size limit for Black Bass Largemouth Bass is 18 inches. 

(k)(j)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 
of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia) there is no minimum 
size limit for Black Bass, Largemouth Bass and Spotted Bass, but 
no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length may be possessed and 
only one Black Bass Largemouth Bass or Smallmouth Bass 
greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 
(l)(k)  In Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in Hyde 

County, the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches 
and only one Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may be 
possessed. 

(m)(l)  In Jean Guite Creek and associated canals within the Town 

of Southern Shores, Dare County, no Black Bass Largemouth 
Bass may be possessed. 
(n)  For purposes of this Rule, creel limits apply to Largemouth, 
Smallmouth, and Spotted Bass in aggregate unless otherwise 
specified. 
 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0306 CRAPPIE 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Crappie, except for waters 
identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), and (f) of this Rule. There 
is no minimum size limit for these fish, except for waters 

identified in Paragraphs (d), (e), and (f). There is no closed season. 
(b)  In Buckhorn Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the daily 
creel limit is 20 fish. 
(c)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 30 
fish. 
(d)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 

minimum size limit is 10 inches: 
(1) B. Everett Jordan Reservoir; 
(2) Roanoke River and its tributaries downstream 

of Roanoke Rapids dam; 
(3) Cashie River and its tributaries; 
(4) Middle River and its tributaries; 

(5) Eastmost River and its tributaries; and 
(6) Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in 

Hyde County. 
(e)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 
minimum size limit is eight inches: 

(1) Pee Dee River from Blewett Falls Dam to the 

South Carolina state line; 
(2) Badin Lake; 
(3) Falls Lake (Stanly and Montgomery counties); 
(4) Lake Tillery; 
(5) Blewett Falls Lake; 
(6)(1) Lake Norman; 

(7)(2) Lake Hyco; 
(8)(3) Lake Ramseur; 
(9)(4) Cane Creek Lake; Lake (Union County); 
(10)(5) Lake Hampton (Yadkin County); 
(11)(6) Tar River downstream of Tar River Reservoir 

Dam and all tributaries; 

(12)(7) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam 
and all tributaries; 

(13)(8) Haw River downstream of Jordan Lake Dam 
and all tributaries; 

(14)(9) Deep River downstream of Lockville Dam and 
all tributaries; 

(15)(10) Cape Fear River and all tributaries; 
(16)(11) Waccamaw River downstream of Lake 

Waccamaw Dam and all tributaries; 
(17)(12) Lumber River including Drowning Creek and 

all tributaries; 
(18)(13) all other public fishing waters east of Interstate 

95, except Tar River Reservoir in Nash County, 

Sutton Lake in New Hanover County, and 
waters listed in Paragraph (d) of this Rule; and 
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(19)(14) all public waters west of Interstate 77, except 

Lake Chatuge. 
(f)  In John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit is 25 fish and 
the minimum size limit is nine inches. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 

15A NCAC 10C .0308 KOKANEE SALMON 

The daily creel limit for Kokanee Salmon is seven four fish. There 
is no minimum size limit for these fish. Kokanee Salmon. There 
is no closed season for Kokanee Salmon. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 
15A NCAC 10C .0314 STRIPED BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is four 
fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), 
(e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. The minimum size limit 
for these fish is 20 inches, except in waters identified in 

Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. 
There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 
Paragraphs (g), (h), (i), (j), and (k) of this Rule. 
(b)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister 
River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H. 
Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its 

hybrids is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit is 20 
inches from October 1 through May 31. From June 1 through 
September 30, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its hybrids 
is four in the aggregate with no minimum size limit. 
(c)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum 
size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from 

October 1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for 
these fish from June 1 through September 30. 
(d)  In Lake Norman, Arrowhead Lake (Anson Co.), High Rock 
Pond (Caswell Co.), Hyco Lake, Moss Lake, Mountain Island 
Reservoir, Oak Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake 
Townsend, and Salem Lake the minimum size limit for Striped 

Bass and its hybrids is 16 inches. 
(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in 
the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two may 
be greater than 22 inches. 
(f)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its 
tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its 
hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size limit 
is 18 inches. 
(g)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico 
rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first 
impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and 

in all other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 95 not specified 
in Paragraphs (f), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule, the daily creel limit 
for Striped Bass and its hybrids is two fish in the aggregate. The 
minimum size limit is 26 inches. In these waters, the season for 
taking and possessing Striped Bass is closed from May 1 through 
September 30. 
(h)  In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its 

tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam, the season for taking 
and possessing Striped Bass is closed year-round. 

(i)  In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River 

Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 
03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110, which 
includes the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and 
their tributaries, the open season for taking and possessing Striped 
Bass and its hybrids is March 1 through April 30 from the joint-
coastal fishing waters boundary at Albemarle Sound upstream to 

Roanoke Rapids Lake dam. During the open season, the daily 
creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is two fish in the 
aggregate, and the minimum size limit is 18 inches. No fish 
between 22 inches and 27 inches in length shall be possessed in 
the daily creel limit. Only one fish larger than 27 inches may be 
possessed in the daily creel limit. 

(j)  In designated inland fishing waters of Roanoke Sound, 
Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, Currituck 
Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their tributaries 
(excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and their 
tributaries), the Striped Bass fishing season, size limits, and creel 
limits are the same as those established by rules or proclamations 

of the Marine Fisheries Commission in adjacent joint or coastal 
fishing waters. 
(k)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director may, 
by proclamation, suspend, or extend the hook-and-line season for 
Striped Bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal rivers and 
their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provisions of any 

proclamation issued under this authority. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0316 TROUT 

(a)  The daily creel limit for trout in Hatchery-Supported Trout 

Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these 
fish. The open season is from 7 a.m. on the first Saturday in April 
until March 1, except for waters designated in Paragraph (g) of 
this Rule. 
(b)  The daily creel limit for trout in Wild Trout Waters and Wild 
Trout/Natural Bait Trout Waters is four fish. The minimum size 

limit for these fish is seven inches. There is no closed season. 
(c)  No trout may be harvested from Catch and Release/Artificial 
Lures Only Trout Waters or Catch and Release/Artificial Flies 
Only Trout Waters. Trout may not be possessed while fishing 
these waters. 
(d)  The daily creel limit for trout in Delayed Harvest Trout 

Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these 
fish. The Youth-only Delayed Harvest Trout Water Season is 
from 6 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 12 p.m. that same 
day. During this season only individuals under the age of 18 may 
fish. From 12 p.m. on the first Saturday in June until September 
30, the Delayed Harvest Trout Waters Season is open for all 

anglers. From October 1 to one-half hour after sunset on the 
Friday before the first Saturday in June, trout may not be 
harvested or possessed while fishing these waters. Delayed 
Harvest Trout Waters are closed to all fishing from one-half hour 
after sunset on the Friday before the first Saturday in June to 6 
a.m. on the first Saturday in June. 
(e)  The daily creel limits, size limits, and seasons for trout in 

Special Regulation Trout Waters are as follows: 
(1) Apalachia Reservoir (Cherokee County) the 

daily creel limit is three trout. There is no 
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minimum size limit, but only one may be 

greater than 14 inches. There is no closed 
season. 

(2) Catawba River (Burke County) from Muddy 
Creek to the City of Morganton water intake 
dam the daily creel limit is two fish. The 
minimum size limit is 14 inches. There is no 

closed season. 
(f)  The daily creel limit for trout in undesignated trout waters is 
seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these fish. 
(g)  There is no closed season on taking trout from Linville River 
within Linville Gorge Wilderness Area and the impounded waters 
of the following power reservoirs and municipally-owned water 

supply reservoirs open to the public for fishing. 
(1) Bear Creek Lake; 
(2) Buckeye Creek Reservoir; 
(3) Calderwood Reservoir; 
(4) Cedar Cliff Lake; 
(5) Cheoah Reservoir; 

(6) Cliffside Lake; 
(7) Tanassee Creek Lake; 
(8) Queens Creek Lake; and 
(9) Wolf Lake. 

(h)  In designated Public Mountain Trout Waters the season for 
taking all species of fish is the same as the trout fishing season. 

(i)  All trout water designations and manners of take are set forth 
in 15A NCAC 10C .0205. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0321 SMALLMOUTH BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Smallmouth Bass is five fish, except 
in waters identified in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule. There 
is no minimum size limit for Smallmouth Bass, but only two of 
them may be less than 14 inches, except in waters identified in 
Paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule. There is no closed season. 
(b)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 

limit for Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass less than 14 
inches. The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass and 
Smallmouth Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate. 
(c)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 
Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 
Bass is 10 fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for 

Smallmouth Bass. 
(d)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 
of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia) there is no minimum 
size limit for Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass, but no fish 
between 14 and 22 inches in length may be possessed and only 
one Largemouth Bass or Smallmouth Bass greater than 22 inches 

may be possessed. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0322 ALABAMA BASS AND SPOTTED 

BASS 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Alabama Bass or Spotted Bass, 

except for waters identified in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. There is 
no minimum size limit or closed season. 

(b)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 
Bass is 10 fish in aggregate. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0323 REDEYE BASS 

The daily creel limit for Redeye Bass is five fish. There is no 
minimum size limit for Redeye Bass, but only two of them may 
be less than 14 inches. There is no closed season. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 

15A NCAC 10C .0324 CATFISH 

The daily creel limit for Black Bullhead, Brown Bullhead, Flat 
Bullhead, Snail Bullhead, White Catfish, and Yellow Bullhead is 
10 fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit or closed 
season for Black Bullhead, Brown Bullhead, Flat Bullhead, Snail 
Bullhead, White Catfish, and Yellow Bullhead. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 

SECTION .0400 – JURISDICTION OF AGENCIES: 

CLASSIFICATION OF WATERS 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0401 MANNER OF TAKING 

NONGAME FISHES 

(a)  Except as permitted by the rules in this Section, it is unlawful 
to take nongame fishes from the inland fishing waters of North 
Carolina in any manner other than with hook and line, grabbling, 
or special device with a special device fishing license. 

(b)  Nongame fishes may be taken by hook and line, grabbling, or 
special device with a special device fishing license at any time 
without restriction as to size limits or creel limits, except as 
designated in this Rule. 
(c)  Special devices may only be used to take nongame fishes with 
a special device fishing license in those counties and waters with 

open season designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0407. 
(d)  Archery equipment may only be used for the take of catfish 
on Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South 
Carolina state line and all tributaries. 
(e)  Set hooks, jug hooks, and trotlines may be used to take 
nongame fishes as designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0206. 

(f)  The season for taking nongame fishes by hook and line in 
designated public mountain trout waters is the same as the trout 
fishing season. Trout seasons are designated in 15A NCAC 10C 
.0316. 
(g)  Freshwater mussels, including the Asiatic clam (Corbicula 
fluminea), may be taken only from impounded waters, except 

mussels shall not be taken in: 
(1) Lake Waccamaw in Columbus County; and 
(2) University Lake in Orange County. 

The daily possession limit for freshwater mussels is 200 in the 
aggregate, except there is no daily possession limit for the Asiatic 
clam (Corbicula fluminea). 
(h)  Blue crabs shall have a minimum carapace width of five 

inches (point to point) and it is unlawful to possess more than 50 
crabs per person per day or to exceed 100 crabs per vessel per day. 
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(i)  While boating on or fishing in the following inland fishing 

waters, no person shall take river herring (alewife and blueback 
herring) that are greater than six inches in length, or possess such 
herring regardless of origin in: 

(1) Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 
Dam; 

(2) Tar River downstream of Rocky Mount Mill 

Dam; 
(3) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam; 
(4) Cape Fear River downstream of Buckhorn 

Dam; 
(5) Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(6) Lumber River, including Drowning Creek; 
(7) all the tributaries to the rivers listed above; and 
(8) all other inland fishing waters east of I-95. 

(j)  In waters that are stocked and managed for catfish and located 
on game lands, on Commission-owned property, or on the 
property of a cooperator, including waters within the Community 

Fishing Program, it is unlawful to take channel, white, or blue 
catfish by means other than hook and line; the daily creel limit is 
six seven catfish in aggregate. Waters where this creel limit 
applies shall be posted on-site with signs indicating the creel limit. 
(k)  The daily creel limit for blue catfish greater than 32 inches is 
one fish in the following reservoirs: 

(1) Lake Norman; 
(2) Mountain Island Lake; 
(3) Lake Wylie; 
(4) Badin Lake; 
(5) Lake Tillery; 
(6) John H. Kerr Reservoir (North Carolina 

portion); 
(7) Lake Gaston (North Carolina portion); and 
(8) Roanoke Rapids Reservoir. 

(l)  The daily creel limit is five catfish in aggregate on the Pee Dee 
River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South Carolina 
state line and all tributaries. 

(m)  The daily creel limit for American eels taken from or 
possessed, regardless or origin, while boating on or fishing in 
inland fishing waters is 25, and the minimum size limit is 9 inches. 
(n)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on Lake James, 
Lookout Shoals Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, and Lake 
Wylie, except that one fish per day may be taken with archery 

equipment. 
(o)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on Lake Norman 
and the North Carolina portion of John H. Kerr Reservoir, except 
for scientific study by permit issued by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. 
(p)  In inland fishing waters, gray trout (weakfish) recreational 

seasons, size limits, and creel limits are the same as those 
established by Marine Fisheries Commission rule or 
proclamations issued by the Fisheries Director in adjacent joint or 
coastal fishing waters. 
(q)  No person while fishing shall remove the head or tail or 
otherwise change the appearance of any nongame fish specified 
in Paragraphs (h), (i), (k), (m), and (p) of this Rule having a size 

limit so as to render it impractical to measure its total original 
length. No person while fishing shall change the appearance of 
any nongame fish specified in Paragraphs (g), (h), (j), (k), (l), (m), 

(n), (o), and (p) of this Rule having a daily creel limit so as to 

obscure its identification or render it impractical to count the 
number of fish in possession. 
(r)  Nongame fishes taken by hook and line, grabbling, or by 
special device with a special device fishing license may be sold, 
with the following exceptions: 

(1) alewife and blueback herring, excluding those 

less than six inches in length collected from 
Kerr Reservoir (Granville, Vance, and Warren 
counties); 

(2) blue crab; and 
(3) bowfin.  

(s)  Margined madtom and tadpole madtom shall not be taken or 

possessed from inland fishing waters. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-292. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 

 
15A NCAC 10D .0102 GENERAL REGULATIONS 

REGARDING USE 

(a)  For purposes of this Subchapter, the following definitions 
apply: 

(1) "Permanent Hunting Blind" means any 
structure that is used for hunter concealment, 
constructed from manmade or natural 
materials, and that is not disassembled and 
removed at the end of each day's hunt. 

(2) "Target shooting" means the discharge of a 

firearm for purposes other than hunting, 
trapping, or self-defense. 

(3) "Youth" means individuals under 18 years of 
age. 

(b)  Trespass. Entry on game lands for purposes other than 
hunting, trapping, or fishing shall be as authorized by the 

landowner. The Wildlife Resources Commission has identified 
the following areas on game lands that have additional restrictions 
on entry or usage: 

(1) Archery Zone. On portions of game lands 
posted as "Archery Zones" hunting is limited to 
bow and arrow hunting and falconry only. On 

these areas, deer of either sex may be taken on 
all open days of any applicable deer season. 

(2) Safety Zone. On portions of game lands posted 
as "Safety Zones" hunting is prohibited. No 
person shall hunt or discharge a firearm or bow 
and arrow within, into, or across a posted safety 

zone on any game land. Falconry is exempt 
from this provision. 

(3) Restricted Firearms Zone. On portions of game 
lands posted as "Restricted Firearms Zones" the 
use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 

(4) Restricted Zone. Portions of game lands posted 
as "Restricted Zones" are closed to all use by 

the general public, and entry upon such an area 
for any purpose is prohibited without first 
having obtained written approval of such entry 
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or use from an authorized agent of the Wildlife 

Resources Commission. Entry shall be 
authorized only when such entry will not 
compromise the primary purpose for 
establishing the Restricted Zone and the person 
or persons requesting entry are able to 
demonstrate a valid need or such person is a 

contractor or agent of the Commission 
conducting official business. "Valid need" 
includes issues of access to private property, 
scientific investigations, surveys, or other 
access to conduct activities in the public 
interest. 

(5) Temporary Restricted Zone. Portions of game 
lands posted as "Temporary Restricted Zones" 
are closed to all use by the general public, and 
entry upon such an area for any purpose is 
prohibited without first having obtained written 
approval of such entry or use from an 

authorized agent of the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. An area of a game land shall be 
declared a Temporary Restricted Zone when 
there is a danger to the health or welfare of the 
public due to topographical features or 
activities occurring on the area. 

(6) Scouting-only Zone. On portions of the game 
lands posted as "Scouting-only Zones" the 
discharge of firearms or bow and arrow is 
prohibited. 

(7) Restricted Deer Hunting Zone. On portions of 
game lands posted as "Restricted Deer Hunting 

Zones" the use of dogs for taking deer is 
prohibited, except as allowed by permit as 
provided in G.S. 113-264(d). 

(8) Day Use Only Zone. On portions of game lands 
posted as "Day Use Only Zones" the use by the 
general public shall be prohibited from sunset 

to sunrise. 
(9) Sensitive Habitat Zone. Portions of game lands 

posted as "Sensitive Habitat Zones" are closed 
to all use by the general public during the dates 
specified on the sign, and entry upon such an 
area for any purpose is prohibited without first 

having obtained written approval of such entry 
or use from an authorized agent of the Wildlife 
Resources Commission. 

The Commission shall conduct a public input meeting in the area 
where the game land is located before establishing the following 
zones: archery, restricted firearms, restricted zone, restricted deer 

hunting, or day use only. only, or sensitive habitat. After the input 
meeting, the public comments shall be presented at an official 
Commission meeting for final determination. 
(c)  Littering. No person shall deposit any litter, trash, garbage, or 
other refuse at any place on any game land except in receptacles 
provided for disposal of such refuse at designated camping and 
target-shooting areas. No garbage dumps or sanitary landfills shall 

be established on any game land by any person, firm, corporation, 
county, or municipality, except as permitted by the landowner. 
(d)  Use of weapons. No person shall discharge: 

(1) any weapon within 150 yards of any game land 

building or designated game land camping area, 
except where posted otherwise; 

(2) any weapon within 150 yards of any residence 
located on or adjacent to game lands, except on 
Butner-Falls of Neuse and Jordan game lands; 
and 

(3) any firearm within 150 yards of any residence 
located on or adjacent to Butner-Falls of Neuse 
and Jordan Game Lands. 

No person shall hunt with or have in possession any shotgun shell 
containing lead or toxic shot while hunting on any posted 
waterfowl impoundment on any game land, except shotgun shells 

containing lead buckshot may be used while deer hunting. Every 
individual carrying a concealed handgun shall adhere to the 
requirements set forth in G.S. 14-415.11, even if the state issuing 
the concealed handgun permit is not North Carolina. On Butner-
Falls of Neuse, Jordan, Kerr Scott, and Vance game lands, no 
person shall possess loaded firearms, ammunition, bows and 

arrows, crossbows, or other weapons except as provided in the 
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 36, Chapter III, Part 327.13, 
which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent 
amendments and editions, free of charge, at: 
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-
idx?SID=75b0c14fb2c26906cf64a267eb69b052&mc=true&nod

e=se36.3.327_113&rgn=div8. On Buckhorn, Chatham, Harris, 
Hyco, Lee, Mayo, and Sutton Lake game lands; Pee Dee River 
Game Land north of U.S. 74; and that portion of R. Wayne Bailey- 
Caswell Game Land that is located north of U.S. 158 and east of 
N.C. 119, no person shall possess a firearm during closed hunting 
seasons or closed hunting days for game birds or game animals, 

except under the following conditions: 
(1) the firearm is a .22 caliber pistol with a barrel 

not greater than seven and one-half inches in 
length and shooting only short, long, or long 
rifle ammunition carried as a side arm; 

(2) the firearm is cased or not immediately 

available for use; 
(3) the firearm is used by persons participating in 

field trials on field trial areas; or 
(4) the firearm is possessed in designated camping 

areas for defense of persons and property. 
(e)  Game Lands License: Hunting and Trapping 

(1) Requirement. Except as provided in 
Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph, any person 
entering upon any game land for the purpose of 
hunting, trapping, running dogs, or training 
dogs using wildlife shall have in his or her 
possession a game lands license in addition to 

the appropriate hunting or trapping license, or a 
license that conveys the game land use 
privilege. 

(2) For commission-sanctioned field trials, active 
participants (as defined in 15A NCAC 10B 
.0114) in a field trial using wildlife shall 
possess a game lands license in addition to the 

appropriate North Carolina hunting license, or 
a license that conveys the game land use 
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privilege, except non-residents may substitute 

hunting licenses from their state(s) of residence. 
(3) For any other field trial using wildlife occurring 

on game lands, judges and active participants 
shall possess a game lands license in addition to 
the appropriate North Carolina hunting license, 
or a license that conveys the game land use 

privilege. 
(4) Exceptions: 

(A) a person under 16 years of age may 
hunt on game lands on the license of 
his parent or legal guardian; 

(B) on the game lands described in Rule 

.0103(e)(1) of this Section, the game 
lands license is required only for 
hunting doves; all other activities are 
subject to the control of the 
landowners. 

(f)  Field Trials and Training Dogs. Any individual or 

organization sponsoring a field trial on the Sandhills Field Trial 
area or the Laurinburg Fox Trial facility, shall file with the 
Commission an application to use the area and facility 
accompanied by the facility use fee computed at the rate of two 
hundred dollars ($200.00) for each scheduled day of the trial. The 
total facility use fee shall cover the period from 12:00 noon of the 

day preceding the first scheduled day of the trial to 10:00 a.m. of 
the day following the last scheduled day of the trial. The facility 
use fee shall be paid for all intermediate days on which for any 
reason trials are not run but the building or facilities are used or 
occupied. A fee of seventy-five dollars ($75.00) per day shall be 
charged to sporting, educational, or scouting groups for scheduled 

events utilizing the club house only. No person or group of 
persons or any other entity shall enter or use in any manner any of 
the physical facilities located on the Sandhills Field Trial area or 
the Laurinburg Fox Trial facility without first having obtained 
written approval of such entry or use from an authorized agent of 
the Wildlife Resources Commission, and no such entry or use of 

any such facility shall exceed the scope of or continue beyond the 
approved use. The Sandhills Field Trial facilities shall be used 
only for field trials scheduled with the approval of the Wildlife 
Resources Commission. No more than 16 days of field trials may 
be scheduled for occurrence on the Sandhills facilities during any 
calendar month, and no more than four days may be scheduled 

during any calendar week; provided, that a field trial requiring 
more than four days may be scheduled during one week upon 
reduction of the maximum number of days allowable during some 
other week so that the monthly maximum of 16 days is not 
exceeded. Before October 1 of each year, the North Carolina Field 
Trial Association or other organization desiring use of the 

Sandhills facilities between October 22 and November 18 and 
between December 3 and March 31 shall submit its proposed 
schedule of such use to the Wildlife Resources Commission for 
its consideration and approval. The use of the Sandhills Field Trial 
facilities at any time by individuals for training dogs is prohibited; 
elsewhere on the Sandhills Game Lands dogs may be trained only 
on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays from October 1 through 

April 1. Dogs may not be trained or permitted to run unleashed 
from April 1 through August 15 on any game land located west of 
I-95, except when participating in field trials sanctioned by the 

Wildlife Resources Commission. Dogs may not be trained or 

permitted to run unleashed from March 15 through June 15 on any 
game land located east of I-95, except when participating in field 
trials sanctioned by the Wildlife Resources Commission. 
Additionally, on game lands located west of I-95 where special 
hunts are scheduled for sportsmen participating in the Disabled 
Sportsman Program, dogs may not be trained or allowed to run 

unleashed during legal big game hunting hours on the dates of the 
special hunts. A field trial shall be authorized when such field trial 
does not conflict with other planned activities on the Game Land 
or field trial facilities, and the applying organization can 
demonstrate their experience and expertise in conducting genuine 
field trial activities. Entry to physical facilities, other than by field 

trial organizations under permit, shall be granted when they do not 
conflict with other planned activities previously approved by the 
Commission and they do not conflict with the mission of the 
agency. 
(g)  Trapping. Subject to the restrictions contained in 15A NCAC 
10B .0110, .0302, and .0303, trapping of furbearing animals is 

permitted on game lands during the applicable open seasons, 
except that trapping is prohibited: 

(1) on the field trial course of the Sandhills Game 
Land; 

(2) in posted "safety zones" located on any game 
land; 

(3) by the use of bait on the National Forest Lands 
bounded by the Blue Ridge Parkway on the 
south, US 276 on the north and east, and NC 
215 on the west; 

(4) on the John's River Waterfowl Refuge in Burke 
County; and 

(5) on the DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 
On those areas of state-owned land known collectively as the 
Roanoke River Wetlands, controlled trapping is allowed under a 
permit system. 
(h)  Vehicular Traffic. No person shall drive a motorized vehicle 
on any game land except on those roads constructed, maintained, 

and opened for vehicular travel and those trails posted for 
vehicular travel, unless such person: 

(1) is driving in the vehicle gallery of a scheduled 
bird dog field trial held on the Sandhills Game 
Land; or 

(2) is a disabled sportsman as defined in Paragraph 

(k) of this Rule or holds a Disabled Access 
Program Permit as described in Paragraph (m) 
of this Rule and is abiding by the rules 
described in Paragraph (m). 

(i)  Camping. 
(1) No person shall camp on any game land except 

on an area designated by the landowner for 
camping. 

(2) On game lands owned by the State of North 
Carolina, where the North Carolina Wildlife 
Resources Commission is the primary 
custodian, the maximum period of consecutive 
overnight camping at any designated camping 

area is 14 days within any 30-day period from 
May 1 through August 31. After 14 consecutive 
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days of camping, all personal belongings shall 

be removed from the game land. 
(j)  Swimming. Swimming is prohibited in the lakes located on 
the Sandhills Game Land. 
(k)  Disabled Sportsman Program. In order to qualify for permit 
hunts for disabled sportsmen offered by the Commission and use 
of designated blinds during those hunts, an individual shall 

possess a Disabled Veteran Sportsman license, a Totally Disabled 
Sportsman license, or a disabled sportsman hunt certification 
issued by the Commission. In order to qualify for the certification, 
the applicant shall provide medical certification of one or more of 
the following disabilities: 

(1) missing 50 percent or more of one or more 

limbs, whether by amputation or natural causes; 
(2) paralysis of one or more limbs; 
(3) dysfunction of one or more limbs rendering the 

person unable to perform the task of grasping 
and lifting with the hands and arms or unable to 
walk without mechanical assistance, other than 

a cane; 
(4) disease, injury, or defect confining the person 

to a wheelchair, walker, or crutches; or 
(5) deafness. 

On game lands where the privileges described in Paragraph (m) 
of this Rule apply, participants in the program may operate 

electric wheel chairs, all terrain vehicles, or other passenger 
vehicles: 

(1) on ungated or open-gated roads normally closed 
to vehicular traffic; and 

(2) on any Commission-maintained road open for 
vehicular travel and those trails posted for 

vehicular travel. 
Each program participant may be accompanied by one companion 
provided such companion has in his possession the companion 
card issued by the Commission. Hunters who qualify under the 
Disabled Sportsman Program and their companions may access 
special hunting blinds for people with disabilities during regularly 

scheduled, non-permit hunting days on a first come basis, except 
for those blinds located on the Restricted Area of Caswell Game 
Land. 
(l)  Release of Animals and Fish. It is unlawful to release pen-
raised animals or birds, wild animals or birds, domesticated 
animals, except hunting dogs and raptors where otherwise 

permitted for hunting or training purposes, or feral animals, or 
hatchery-raised fish on game lands without prior written 
authorization. It is unlawful to move wild fish from one stream to 
another on game lands without prior written authorization. 
Written authorization shall be given when release of such animals 
is determined by a Wildlife Resources Commission biologist not 

to be harmful to native wildlife in the area and such releases are 
in the public interest or advance the programs and goals of the 
Wildlife Resources Commission. 
(m)  Non-Highway Licensed Vehicles. It is unlawful to operate 
motorized land vehicles not licensed for highway use on Game 
Lands except for designated areas on National Forests. Disabled 
persons as defined in Paragraph (k) of this Rule and people who 

have obtained a Disabled Access Program permit are exempt from 
the previous sentence but shall comply with the terms of their 
permit. Furthermore, disabled persons, as defined under the 

federal Americans with Disabilities Act (42 U.S.C. 126) may use 

wheelchairs or other mobility devices designed for indoor 
pedestrian use on any area where foot travel is allowed. 
(n)  Disabled Access Program. Permits issued under this program 
shall be based upon medical evidence submitted by the person 
verifying that a handicap exists that limits physical mobility to the 
extent that normal utilization of the game lands is not possible 

without vehicular assistance. Persons meeting this requirement 
may operate electric wheel chairs, all terrain vehicles, and other 
passenger vehicles on any Commission-maintained road open for 
vehicular travel and those trails posted for vehicular travel and 
ungated or open-gated roads otherwise closed to vehicular traffic 
on game lands owned by the Wildlife Resources Commission and 

on game lands whose owners have agreed to such use. Those 
game lands, or parts thereof, where this Paragraph applies are 
designated in the game land rules and map book. This Paragraph 
does not permit vehicular access on fields, openings, roads, paths, 
or trails planted for wildlife food or cover. One companion, who 
is identified by a companion card issued to each qualified disabled 

person, may accompany a disabled person to provide assistance, 
provided the companion is at all times in visual or verbal contact 
with the disabled person. The companion may participate in all 
lawful activities while assisting a disabled person, provided 
license requirements are met. Any vehicle used by a qualified 
disabled person for access to game lands under this provision shall 

display the vehicular access permit issued by the Wildlife 
Resources Commission in the passenger area of the vehicle where 
it can easily be seen by Commission staff outside the vehicle. It is 
unlawful for anyone other than disabled persons as defined in 
Paragraph (k) of this Rule and those holding a Disabled Access 
Permit to hunt, during waterfowl season, within 100 yards of a 

waterfowl blind designated by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission as a Disabled Sportsman's hunting blind. 
(o)  Public nudity. Public nudity, including nude sunbathing, is 
prohibited on any Game Land, including land or water. For the 
purposes of this Section, "public nudity" means a person's 
intentional failure to cover with a fully opaque covering the 

person's genitals, pubic area, anal area, or female breasts below a 
point from the top of the areola while in a public place. 
(p)  Shooting Ranges. On public shooting ranges managed by the 
Commission, no person shall use designated shooting ranges for 
any purpose other than for firearm or bow and arrow 
marksmanship, development of shooting skills, or for other safe 

uses of firearms and archery equipment. All other uses, including 
camping, building fires, operating concessions or other activities 
not directly involved with recreational or competitive shooting are 
prohibited, except for activities that have been approved by the 
Commission and for which a permit has been issued may be 
conducted, provided that the permit authorizing such activity is 

available for inspection by wildlife enforcement officers at the 
time the activity is taking place. No person, when using any 
shooting range, shall deposit any debris or refuse on the grounds 
of the range. This includes any items used as targets, except that 
clay targets broken on the range, by the shooter, may be left on 
the grounds where they fall. No person shall shoot any items made 
of glass on the grounds of the range. No person may leave any 

vehicle or other obstruction in such a location or position that it 
will prevent, impede, or inconvenience the use by other persons 
of any shooting range. No person shall leave parked any vehicle 
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or other object at any place on the shooting range other than such 

a place or zone as is designated as an authorized parking zone and 
posted or marked as such. No person shall handle any firearms or 
bow and arrow on a shooting range in a careless or reckless 
manner. No person shall intentionally shoot into any target holder, 
post, or other permanent fixture or structure while using a 
shooting range. No person shall shoot a firearm in a manner that 

would cause any rifled or smoothbore projectiles to travel off of 
the range, except that shotgun shot, size No. 4 or smaller may be 
allowed to travel from the range if it presents no risk of harm or 
injury to any person(s). Persons using a shooting range shall obey 
posted range safety rules and those persons who violate range 
safety rules or create a public safety hazard shall leave the 

shooting range if directed to by law enforcement officers or to 
leave by Commission employees. No person shall handle any 
firearms on a shooting range while under the influence of an 
impairing substance. The consumption of alcohol or alcoholic 
beverages on a shooting range is prohibited. Open days and hours 
of operation shall be designated on signs and at least one such sign 

shall be posted at the entrance to each shooting range. No person, 
when using any shooting range, shall do any act that is prohibited 
or neglect to do any act that is required by signs or markings 
placed on such area under authority of this Rule for the purpose 
of regulating the use of the area. 
(q)  Limited-access Roads. During the months of June, July, and 

August, roads posted as "Limited-access Roads" are open to 
motorized vehicles from 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. only. These roads 
shall be posted with the opening and closing times. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-129; 113-134; 113-264; 113-270.3; 113-
291.2; 113-291.5; 113-305; 113-306; 143-318.10. 

 
15A NCAC 10D .0103 HUNTING ON GAME LANDS 

(a)  Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on any 
designated game land shall be under the influence of alcohol or 
any narcotic drug, or fail to comply with restrictions enacted by 
the National Park Service regarding the use of the Blue Ridge 

Parkway where it adjoins game lands listed in this Rule. 
(b)  Traffic Requirements. No person shall park a vehicle on game 
lands in such a manner as to block traffic or gates, or otherwise 
prevent vehicles from using any roadway. 
(c)  Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for the 
purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached by nails, 

screws, bolts, or wire to a tree on any game land designated 
herein. This prohibition does not apply to lag-screw steps or 
portable stands that are removed after use with no metal remaining 
in or attached to the tree. 
(d)  Time and Manner of Taking. Hunting is allowed on game 
lands only during the open season for game animals and game 

birds, unless hunting is allowed by permit. Individual game lands 
or parts thereof may be closed to hunting or limited to specific 
dates by this Chapter. Persons shall hunt only with weapons 
lawful for the open game animal or game bird seasons. On 
managed waterfowl impoundments, persons shall: 

(1) not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier 
than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates; 

(2) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on such hunting dates; 
(3) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 
(4) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. each day; and 

(5) not operate any vessel or vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine. 
On designated youth waterfowl days occurring after the end of the 
regular waterfowl seasons only, youths may hunt on managed 
waterfowl impoundments from ½ hour before sunrise to sunset. 
On designated veterans/military waterfowl days, veterans, active 
duty members of the armed forces, active duty national 

guardsmen, and active duty reservists with valid credentials may 
hunt on game lands and impoundments not designated as permit-
only areas from ½ hour before sunrise to sunset. Restrictions (1), 
(3), and (5) in this Paragraph shall apply. On waterfowl 
impoundments that have a posted "Scouting-only Zone," trapping 
during the trapping season and waterfowl hunting on designated 

waterfowl hunting days are the only activities allowed on the 
portion of the impoundment outside of the posted "Scouting-only 
Zone." No person shall attempt to obscure the sex or age of any 
bird or animal taken by severing the head or any other part thereof, 
or possess any bird or animal that has been so mutilated. No 
person shall place, or cause to be placed on any game land, salt, 

grain, fruit, or other foods without prior written authorization of 
the Commission or its agent. A decision to grant or deny 
authorization shall be made based on the best management 
practices for the wildlife species in question. No person shall take 
or attempt to take any game birds or game animals attracted to 
such foods. 

(e)  Definitions: 
(1) For purposes of this Section, "Dove Only Area" 

refers to a Game Land on which doves may be 
taken and dove hunting is limited to Mondays, 
Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 
Christmas Day, and New Year's Days within 

the federally-announced season. 
(2) For purposes of this Section, "Three Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 
any game may be taken during the open seasons 
and hunting is limited to Mondays, 
Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, and New Year's Days, except 
for game lands in this Rule that specifically 
allow hunting on Tuesdays, Thursday, and 
Fridays. Falconry may also be practiced on 
Sundays. These "open days" also apply to 
either-sex deer hunting seasons listed under 

each game land. Raccoon and opossum hunting 
may continue until 7:00 a.m. on Tuesdays, until 
7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and until midnight on 
Saturdays. 

(3) For purposes of this Section, "Six Days per 
Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

any game may be taken on the open days of 
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 
Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. 

(f)  Hunting with Dogs on Game Lands. Deer shall not be taken 
with the use of dogs on game lands in counties or parts of counties 
where taking deer with dogs is prohibited as described in 15A 
NCAC 10B .0109. 

(g)  The listed seasons and restrictions apply in the following 
game lands: 
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(1) Alcoa Game Land in Davidson, Davie, 

Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter in that 

portion in Montgomery county, and 
deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season in those 
portions in Davidson, Davie, Rowan, 
and Stanly counties. 

(C) On the Lick Creek Tract, deer and bear 
hunting is archery only. 

(2) Alligator River Game Land in Tyrrell County 
(A) Six Day per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 
(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 
Bear Season and the first three hunting 
days during the second week of the 
December Bear Season. 

(3) Angola Bay Game Land in Duplin and Pender 
counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(4) Bachelor Bay Game Land in Bertie, Martin, and 

Washington counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 
(5) Bertie County Game Land in Bertie County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
(6) Bladen Lakes State Forest Game Land in 

Bladen County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 
(C) Except for blackpowder firearms, 

rifles larger than .22 caliber rimfire 
shall not be used. 

(D) On the Singletary Lake Tract, the use 
of dogs for hunting deer and bear is 
prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting on the Singletary 
Lake Tract is by permit only. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 
March 31through May 14 in areas both 
designated and posted as camping 
areas. 

(G) The use of dogs for pursuing or taking 
foxes is shall be prohibited from 

March February 15 through July 15. 
August 1. 

(7) Brinkleyville Game Land in Halifax County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(8) Brunswick County Game Land in Brunswick 
County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 
(9) Buckhorn Game Land in Orange County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(10) Buckridge Game Land in Tyrrell County. 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 
Bear Season and the first three hunting 
days of the second week of the 
December Bear Season. If any of these 
days falls on a Tuesday, Friday or 
Saturday, bear hunting is allowed on 

those days. 
(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(11) Buffalo Cove Game Land in Caldwell and 
Wilkes Counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 
days from the Monday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the third 
Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 
either sex may be taken with archery 
equipment on open days beginning the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 
to the third Saturday thereafter, and 
Monday on or nearest October 15 to 
the Saturday before Thanksgiving 
Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 
taken with archery equipment the 
Monday immediately following the 

closing of the Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season, as described in this 
Part, through January 1. Deer of either 
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sex may be taken with blackpowder 

firearms on open days beginning the 
Monday on or nearest October 1 
through the Saturday of the second 
week thereafter, and during the Deer 
With Visible Antlers season. 
thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open Saturday day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers 
Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(12) Bullard and Branch Hunting Preserve Game 
Lands in Robeson County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(13) Butner - Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, 
Granville, and Wake counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons. 

On the posted waterfowl 
impoundments a special permit is 
required for all waterfowl hunting 
after November 1. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 
archery zone. 

(G) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited on that portion west of NC 
50 and south of Falls Lake. 

(H) The use of bicycles is restricted to 
designated areas, except that this 
restriction does not apply to hunters 
engaged in the act of hunting during 
the open days of the applicable 

seasons for game birds and game 
animals. On designated bicycle riding 
areas, the use of bicycles is allowed 

from May 15 through August 31, and 

on Sundays only from September 1 
through May 14. 

(I) Camping and the presence of campers 
and tents in designated Hunter 
Camping Areas are limited to 
September 1 through the last day of 

February and March 31 through May 
14. 

(J) Camping is allowed at any time in the 
designated Mountains-to-Sea Trail 
Camping Area and shall not exceed a 
maximum stay of two consecutive 

nights. Campfires are prohibited in 
this camping area. 

(14) Buxton Woods Game Land in Dare County: 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(15) Cape Fear River Wetlands Game Land in 

Pender County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Turkey Hunting is by permit only on 
that portion known as the Roan Island 
Tract. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited on the portion of the game 
land that is west of the Black River, 
north of Roan Island, east of Lyon 
Swamp Canal to Canetuck Road, and 
south of NC 210 to the Black River. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(16) Carteret County Game Land in Carteret County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 
(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 
(D) Bear hunting on the Salters Creek 

Tract is by permit only. 
(17) R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in 

Caswell County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is allowed only 

during June, July, and August, and on 
Sundays during the remainder of the 
year except during open turkey and 
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deer seasons. Horseback riding is 

allowed only on roads opened to 
vehicular traffic and on those gated 
roads and trails that are posted for 
equestrian use. People age 16 or older 
horseback riding on this game land 
shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The area encompassed by the 
following roads is permit-only for all 
quail and woodcock hunting, and all 
bird dog training: From Yanceyville 
south on NC 62 to the intersection of 
SR 1746, west on SR 1746 to the 

intersection of SR 1156, south on SR 
1156 to the intersection of SR 1783, 
east on SR 1783 to the intersection of 
NC 62, north on NC 62 to the 
intersection of SR 1736, east on SR 
1736 to the intersection of SR 1730, 

east on SR 1730 to NC 86, north on 
NC 86 to NC 62. 

(E) On the posted waterfowl 
impoundment, waterfowl hunting is 
by permit only after November 1. 

(F) Camping and the presence of campers 

and tents in designated Hunter 
Camping Areas are limited to 
September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 
14. 

(G) Target shooting is prohibited, except 

at the R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell 
Shooting Range. 

(18) Chatham Game Land in Chatham County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(D) Horseback riding is allowed only 

during June, July, and August; and on 
Sundays during the remainder of the 

year except during open turkey and 
deer seasons. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(19) Chowan Game Land in Chowan County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(20) Chowan Swamp Game Land in Bertie, Gates, 
and Hertford counties. 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 
(C) Bear hunting is restricted to the first 

three hunting days during the 

November bear season and the first 

three hunting days during the second 
week of the December bear season 
except that portion of Chowan Swamp 
Game Land in Gates County that is 
east of Highway 158/13, south of 
Highway 158, west of Highway 32, 

and north of Catherine Creek and the 
Chowan River where the bear season 
is the same as the season dates for the 
Gates County bear season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 

March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(E) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
during May 16 through August 31 and 
on Sundays only September 1 through 

May 15 on those roads that are open to 
vehicular traffic and on those gated 
roads and trails posted for equestrian 
use. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(21) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood 

County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31 and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 
(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(22) Columbus County Game Land in Columbus 
County. 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Deer hunting on the Campbell Tract 
shall be by permit only. 

(23) Croatan Game Land in Carteret, Craven, and 
Jones counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 
following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 
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(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 
day in October through the end of the 
all waterfowl season, seasons, 
waterfowl hunting from designated 

Disabled Sportsmen blinds on the 
Catfish Lake Waterfowl 
Impoundment is by permit only. 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only for the 
first two open days of dove season on 
posted areas. During the rest of dove 

season, no permit is required to hunt 
doves. 

(24) Currituck Banks Game Land in Currituck 
County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Permanent waterfowl blinds in 

Currituck Sound on these game lands 
shall be hunted by permit only from 
November 1 through the end of the all 
waterfowl season. seasons. 

(C) Licensed hunting guides may 
accompany the permitted individual or 

party provided the guides do not use a 
firearm. 

(D) The boundary of the game land shall 
extend 5 yards from the edge of the 
marsh or shoreline. 

(E) Dogs are allowed only for waterfowl 

hunting by permitted waterfowl 
hunters on the day of their hunt. 

(F) No screws, nails, or other objects 
penetrating the bark shall be used to 
attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(G) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers season. 

(25) Dan River Game Land in Rockingham County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer hunting is by permit only. 
(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on those areas posted for equestrian 
use. People age 16 or older horseback 
riding on this game land must possess 
a Game Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(26) Dare Game Land in Dare and Hyde counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) No hunting is allowed on posted parts 

of bombing range. 

(D) The use and training of dogs is 

prohibited from March 1 through June 
30. 

(27) Dover Bay Game Land in Craven County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers season. 
(28) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson 

and Transylvania counties 
(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) The training and use of dogs for 

hunting is prohibited except by special 

hunt permit holders during scheduled 
permit hunts. 

(29) Elk Knob Game Land in Watauga County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(30) Embro Game Land in Halifax and Warren 
counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(31) Goose Creek Game Land in Beaufort and 

Pamlico counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 

Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 
waterfowl impoundments shall be 
taken only on the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 
season day in October and through the 
end of the all waterfowl season, 
seasons, waterfowl hunting is by 
permit only on the following 
waterfowl impoundments: Pamlico 
Point, Campbell Creek, Hunting 

Creek, Spring Creek, Smith Creek, 
and Hobucken. 
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(E) On Pamlico Point and Campbell Creek 

Waterfowl Impoundments all 
activities, except waterfowl hunting 
on designated waterfowl hunting days 
and trapping during the trapping 
season, are restricted to the posted 
Scouting-only Zone during the period 

November 1 through March 15. 
(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 
Parker Farm Tract is restricted from 
September 1 through January 1 and 
April 1 through May 15 to individuals 
that possess a valid hunting 
opportunity permit. 

(32) Green River Game Land in Henderson, and 
Polk counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(33) Green Swamp Game Land in Brunswick 

County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 
(C) On that portion north of Big 

Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 
Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 
and west of Green Swamp Road, 
hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(D) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 
dogs for the purposes of training or 
hunting is prohibited on that portion of 
the game land that is north of Big 
Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 
Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 

and west of Green Swamp Road. 
(34) Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 
impoundments shall be taken only on 
the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; and 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 
season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
designated and posted as camping 

areas. 
(E) Bear may only be taken the first three 

hunting days during the November 
Bear Season and the first three hunting 
days during the second week of the 
December Bear Season, except for that 

portion designated as bear sanctuary. 
(35) Harris Game Land in Chatham, Harnett, and 

Wake counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 
following days: 
(i) Tuesdays, Fridays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 
(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

and New Year's Days; and 
(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 
hunting blinds shall be prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 
except on those areas posted as an 
archery zone. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(G) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(36) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in 

Transylvania County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season 
(37) Hill Farm Game Land in Stokes County- 

hunting and trapping is by permit only. 
(38) Holly Shelter Game Land in Pender County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on the 
following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 
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(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
designated and posted as camping 

areas. 
(E) On that portion north of the Bear 

Garden Road, west of Shaw Road to 
Baby Branch, east of the Northeast 
Cape Fear River, south of NC 53 and 
west of NC 50, deer hunting and bear 

hunting are permit only. 
(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer and 

bear is prohibited: 
(i) all open days on that portion 

of the game land that is south 
of Baby Branch extending 

west to Stag Park Road, west 
of Shaw Road, north of 
Meeks Road extending west 
to Stag Park Road and east of 
Stag Park Road; and 

(ii) on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Fridays, with the exception 
of Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
and New Year's days, and 
except for the area north of 
Bear Garden Road, west of 
Shaw Road to Baby Branch, 

east of the Northeast Cape 
Fear River, south of NC 53 
and west of NC 50, where the 
use of dogs for deer and bear 
hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 

Pender 4 Tract is restricted from 
September 1 to the last day of 
February and April 1 to May 15 to 
individuals that possess valid hunting 
opportunity permits, unless otherwise 
authorized by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 
(H) Hunters who possess a Disabled 

Access Permit may operate an All 
Terrain Vehicle on and within 100 
yards of trails designated for Disabled 
Sportsman Access. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited, except 
on the Holly Shelter Shooting Range. 

(J) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 
for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 
waterfowl. 

(39) Hyco Game land in Person County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 
(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(40) J. Morgan Futch Game Land in Tyrrell County 
- Permit Only Area. hunting and trapping is by 
permit only. 

(41) Johns River Game Land in Burke County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) During permitted deer hunts, deer of 

either sex may be taken by permit 
holders. 

(C) Entry on posted waterfowl 
impoundments is prohibited October 1 

through March 31, except by lawful 
waterfowl hunting permit holders and 
only on those days written on the 
permits. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 
hunting blinds is prohibited. 

(E) Camping and the presence of campers 
and tents in designated Hunter 
Camping Areas is limited to August 31 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14. 

(42) Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, 

Orange, and Wake counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on: 

(i) Mondays, Wednesdays, and 
Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on those areas posted as American 
Tobacco Trail and other areas posted 
for equestrian use. Unless otherwise 

posted, horseback riding is permitted 
on posted portions of the American 
Tobacco Trail anytime the trail is open 
for use. On all other trails posted for 
equestrian use, horseback riding is 
allowed only during June, July, and 

August, and on Sundays the remainder 
of the year except during open turkey 
and deer seasons. People age 16 or 
older who ride horseback on trails 
occurring entirely within the game 
land boundaries shall possess a Game 
Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
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(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 
Archery Zone. 

(G) The use of bicycles is restricted to 
designated areas, except that this 
restriction does not apply to hunters 
engaged in the act of hunting during 

the open days of the applicable 
seasons for game birds and game 
animals. 

(43) Juniper Creek Game Land in Brunswick and 
Columbus counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(44) Kerr Scott Game Land in Wilkes County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 
(C) Use of blackpowder firearms, 

shotguns, or rifles for hunting deer 
during the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season is prohibited. 

(D) Tree stands shall not be left overnight; 
and no screws, nails, or other objects 
penetrating the bark shall be used to 

attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 
(E) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers season. 

(F) Hunting on posted waterfowl 
impoundments is by permit only. 

(G) The use of firearms for hunting wild 
turkey is prohibited. 

(45) Lantern Acres Game Land in Tyrrell and 
Washington counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer on the 

Godley Tract is prohibited. 
(E) Waterfowl hunting on posted 

waterfowl impoundments is by permit 
only. 

(46) Lee Game Land in Lee County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 
(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(47) Light Ground Pocosin Game Land in Pamlico 

County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer with 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(48) Linwood Game Land in Davidson County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

of the open days of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season. 

(49) Lower Fishing Creek Game Land in 
Edgecombe and Halifax counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited. 

(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
(50) Mayo Game Land in Person County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 
(i) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays applicable 

waterfowl seasons; 
(ii) Christmas and New Year's 

Days; and 
(iii) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(51) Mitchell River Game Land in Surry County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 
(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31, and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(52) Nantahala Game Land in Cherokee, Clay, 
Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and 
Transylvania counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season in 

that portion located in Transylvania 
County. 
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(53) Needmore Game Land in Macon and Swain 

counties. 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31, and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. 
(C) On posted dove fields, dove hunting 

on the opening day of dove season is 
by permit only. 

(54) Neuse River Game Land in Craven County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is allowed any time within 
100 yards of the Neuse River on that 
portion of the game land that lies west 

of NC-43. 
(55) New Lake Game Land in Hyde and Tyrrell 

counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 

Visible Antlers Season. 
(56) Nicholson Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 
days from the Saturday on or nearest 

September 10 through the Friday 
before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 
blackpowder firearms on open hunting 
days beginning the Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the 

Wednesday thereafter. 
(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 
the second Saturday before 
Thanksgiving through the third 
Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) On Lake Upchurch, the following 
activities are prohibited: 
(i) Operating any vessel or 

vehicle powered by an 
internal combustion engine; 
and 

(ii) Swimming. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(57) North River Game Land in Camden and 

Currituck counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 
extend five yards from the edge of the 
marsh or shoreline. 

(D) Hunting on the posted waterfowl 
impoundment is by permit only. 

(58) Northwest River Marsh Game Land in 
Currituck County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 
extend five yards from the edge of the 
marsh or shoreline. 

(59) Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, 

Montgomery, Richmond, and Stanly counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited in 
that portion in Anson and Richmond 
counties North of US-74. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(E) Horseback riding is allowed only on 

roads opened to vehicular traffic and 

only during the following times: 
(i) during June, July, and 

August; and 
(ii) on Sundays during the other 

months or parts of months 
when deer and turkey seasons 

are closed. 
(F) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 

dogs for the purposes of training or 
hunting shall be prohibited. 

(60) Perkins Game Land in Davie County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited from 
November 1 through January 1. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(61) Pisgah Game Land in Avery, Buncombe, 
Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, 
Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, 
Watauga, and Yancey counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(C) Horseback riding is prohibited on the 

Black Bear (McDowell County), 
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Linville River (Burke County), and 

Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery, 
McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 

(D) The use of bicycles shall be restricted 
to designated trails on the Linville 
River Tract (Burke County). Persons 
engaged in the act of hunting on the 

Linville River Tract during any open 
day of an applicable season for game 
birds or game animals shall be exempt 
from this restriction. 

(62) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails from May 16 

through August 31 and Sundays from 
September 1 through October 31. All 
horseback riding is prohibited from 
November 1 through May 15. 

(63) Pungo River Game Land in Hyde County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(64) Rendezvous Mountain State Forest Game Land 
in Wilkes County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Bear hunting is prohibited. 
(65) Rhodes Pond Game Land in Cumberland and 

Harnett counties 
(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) Swimming is prohibited on the area. 

(66) Roanoke River Wetlands in Bertie, Halifax, 
Martin, and Northampton counties 
(A) Hunting and trapping is by Permit 

only. 
(B) Vehicles are prohibited on roads or 

trails except those operated on 
Commission business or by permit 
holders. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas, provided, however, 
that camping is allowed at any time 
within 100 yards of the Roanoke River 
on the state-owned portion of the game 

land. 
(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(67) Roanoke Island Marshes Game Land in Dare 

County-Hunting is by permit only. 
(68) Robeson Game Land in Robeson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(69) Rockfish Creek Game Land in Hoke County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 
days from the Saturday on or nearest 
September 10 to the fourth Friday 

before Thanksgiving Day. 
(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

blackpowder firearms on open hunting 
days beginning the fourth Saturday 
before Thanksgiving Day through the 
Wednesday of the second week 

thereafter. 
(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

consists of the open hunting days from 
the second Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the third 
Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(H) Taking fox squirrels is prohibited. 
(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(70) Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County - 
Hunting is by permit only. 

(71) Sampson Game Land in Sampson County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(72) Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, 

Richmond, and Scotland counties 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds from 
October 22 through March 31 except 
as follows: 
(i) deer of either-sex may be 

taken with archery 
equipment on all the open 
days of the archery season 
through the fourth Friday 
before Thanksgiving Day; 
with blackpowder firearms 
and archery equipment all the 

open days of the 
blackpowder firearms season 
through the third Wednesday 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 2, 2019 

952 

before Thanksgiving Day; 

and only deer with visible 
antlers may be taken with all 
legal weapons from the 
second Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through 
the Saturday following 

Thanksgiving Day; 
(ii) dove may be taken all open 

days from the opening day of 
the dove season through the 
third Saturday thereafter; 

(iii) squirrel (gray and fox) may 

be taken all the open days 
from the second Monday 
Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through 
the Saturday following 
Thanksgiving Day; 

(iv) rabbit may be taken all open 
days from the second 
Saturday preceding 
Thanksgiving Day through 
the Saturday following 
Thanksgiving Day; 

(v) waterfowl may be taken on 
open days during any 
waterfowl season; 

(vi) wild animals and wild birds 
may be taken as part of a 
Disabled Sportsmen Program 

Permit Hunt; and 
(vii) raccoon and opossum may be 

taken on open days from 
sunrise Monday on or nearest 
October 15 through the last 
day of February. 

(C) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 
is the open hunting days from the 
second Saturday before Thanksgiving 
Day through the third Saturday after 
Thanksgiving Day except on the J. 
Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds. 

(D) The archery season is all open days 
from the Saturday on or nearest to 
Sept. 10 to the fourth Friday before 
Thanksgiving Day and, except on the 
J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, 
the third Monday after Thanksgiving 

Day through January 1. Deer of either 
sex may be taken with archery 
equipment on all open hunting days 
during the archery season, by permit 
during the Deer with Visible antlers 
season, and the blackpowder firearms 
season as stated in this Subparagraph. 

Only deer with visible antlers may be 
taken from the third Monday after 
Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(E) Blackpowder firearms season is all the 

open days from the fourth Saturday 
preceding Thanksgiving Day through 
the Wednesday of the second week 
thereafter and, except on the J. Robert 
Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third 
Monday after Thanksgiving Day 

through January 1. Deer of either sex 
may be taken with blackpowder 
firearms on all open hunting days 
during the blackpowder firearms 
season and by permit during the Deer 
With Visible Antlers season. Only 

deer with visible antlers may be taken 
from the third Monday after 
Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(F) Either-sex deer hunting during the 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season is 
by permit only. 

(G) In addition to the regular hunting days, 
waterfowl may be taken on the 
opening and closing days of the 
applicable waterfowl seasons. 

(H) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(I) Horseback riding on field trial grounds 

from October 22 through March 31 is 
prohibited unless participating in 
authorized field trials. 

(J) Camping and the presence of campers 
and tents in designated Hunter 
Camping Areas are limited to 

September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 
14. 

(K) Target shooting is prohibited, except 
at the John F. Lentz Hunter Education 
Complex. 

(73) Sandy Creek Game Land in Nash and Franklin 
Counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 

the second Friday thereafter. 
(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 
(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(74) Sandy Mush Game Land in Buncombe and 

Madison counties. 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer with Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 2, 2019 

953 

(D) Dogs shall only be trained on 

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays 
and only as allowed in 15A NCAC 
10D .0102(f). 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only from 
the opening day through the second 
Saturday of dove season. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(75) Second Creek Game Land in Rowan County- 

hunting is by permit only. 
(76) Shocco Creek Game Land in Franklin, Halifax, 

Nash, and Warren counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
(77) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, 

Cleveland, McDowell, and Rutherford counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 
days from the Monday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the third 

Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 
either sex may be taken with archery 
equipment on open days beginning the 
Saturday on or nearest September 10 
to the third Saturday thereafter, and 
Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 
Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 
taken with archery equipment the 
Monday immediately following the 
closing of the Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season, as described in this 

Part, through January 1. Deer of either 
sex may be taken with blackpowder 
firearms on open days beginning the 
Monday on or nearest October 1 
through the Saturday of the second 
week thereafter, and during the Deer 

With Visible Antlers season. 
thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open Saturday day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers 
Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31 and all horseback riding is 

prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. during the following dates: 
(i) January 2 through March 31; 
(ii) May 16 through August 31; 
(iii) Sundays only - April 1 

through May 15; and 
(iv) Sundays only – September 1 

through January 1. 
(78) Stones Creek Game Land in Onslow County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited on Mondays, Wednesdays, 
and Fridays. 

(D) Swimming in all lakes is prohibited. 
(E) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments may be taken only on 

the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 
(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 

the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(G) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 
waterfowl. 

(79) Suggs Mill Pond Game Land in Bladen and 
Cumberland counties 
(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(C) Entry is prohibited on scheduled hunt 

or trapping days except for: 
(i) hunters or trappers holding 

special hunt or trapping 
permits; and 

(ii) persons using Campground 
Road to access Suggs Mill 

Pond Lake at the dam. 
(D) During the period of November 1 

through January 31, except on 
Sundays, the use of vessels on Suggs 
Mill Pond Lake and Little Singletary 
Lake is limited to waterfowl hunting 
only by waterfowl hunters possessing 

a valid and current Hunting 
Opportunity Permit issued by the 
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Wildlife Resources Commission 

pursuant to G.S. 113-264(d). 
(E) During the period of November 1 

through March 15, the use of vessels 
on managed waterfowl impoundments 
is limited to waterfowl hunting only by 
waterfowl hunters possessing a valid 

and current Hunting Opportunity 
Permit issued by the Wildlife 
Resources Commission pursuant to 
G.S. 113-264(d). 

(80) Sutton Lake Game Land in New Hanover and 
Brunswick counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(81) Tar River Game Land in Edgecombe County 
(A) Hunting is by permit only 
(B) Target Shooting is prohibited 

(82) Texas Plantation Game Land in Tyrrell County 
- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(83) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe 

County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(84) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Alleghany 

and Wilkes counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 

With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31, and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 

May 15. People age 16 or older 
horseback riding on this game land 
shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The maximum period of consecutive 
overnight camping at any designated 
campground is 14 days within any 30 

day period from May 1 through 
August 31. After 14 consecutive days 
of camping all personal belongings 
must be removed from the game land. 

(85) Tillery game Land in Halifax County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(86) Toxaway Game Land in Jackson and 
Transylvania counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 

August 31 and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(87) Uwharrie Game Land in Davidson, 
Montgomery, and Randolph counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) On the posted waterfowl 
impoundment, waterfowl may be 

taken only on the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 

Luther King, Jr. Days; and 
(iii) Mondays, Wednesdays and 

Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited, except 
at the Flintlock Valley Shooting 

Range. 
(88) Vance Game Land in Vance County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs, centerfire rifles, and 
handguns for hunting deer is 
prohibited on the Nutbush Peninsula 
tract. 

(89) Van Swamp Game Land in Beaufort and 
Washington counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 
hunting days during the November 
Bear Season and the first three hunting 

days during the second week of the 
December Bear Season. 
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(90) Voice of America Game Land in Beaufort 

County 
(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 
(B) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(91) White Oak River Game Land in Onslow 
County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 
Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 

waterfowl impoundments shall be 
taken only on the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 

New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 

season day in October and through the 
end of the all waterfowl season, 
seasons, a permit is required for 
hunting posted waterfowl 
impoundments. 

(E) The Huggins Tract and Morton Tracts 

have the following restrictions: 
(i) access on Hargett Avenue 

and Sloan Farm Road 
requires a valid Hunting 
Opportunity Permit issued by 
the Wildlife Resources 

Commission pursuant to G.S. 
113-264(d); 

(ii) hunting is by permit only; 
and 

(iii) the use of dogs for hunting 
deer is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(G) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(92) Whitehall Plantation Game Land in Bladen and 
Pender counties 
(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 

(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(C) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 
dogs for the purposes of training or 

hunting is prohibited on the Long 
Ridge Tract. 

(93) William H. Silver Game Land in Haywood 

County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(h)  On permitted type hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on 

the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications 
shall be received by the Commission not later than the first day of 
September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits shall be 
issued by random computer selection, shall be mailed to the 
permittees prior to the hunt, and are nontransferable. A hunter 
making a kill shall validate the kill and report the kill to a wildlife 

cooperator agent or by phone. 
(i)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to all hunting 
except to those individuals who have obtained a valid and current 
permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission: 

(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke 
River Wetlands; 

(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National 
Wildlife Refuge; 

(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game 
Lands; 

(4) Burke County—John's River Waterfowl 
Refuge; 

(5) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts 
of bombing range posted against hunting); 

(6) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game 
Lands; and 

(7) Henderson and Transylvania counties—
DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 

(j)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie 
County requires written permission from the Commission. 
Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the 
Waterfowl Refuge will not compromise the primary purpose for 
establishing the Waterfowl Refuge and the person requesting 
entry can demonstrate a valid need or the person is a contractor or 

agent of the Commission conducting official business. "Valid 
need" includes issues of access to private property, scientific 
investigations, surveys, or other access to conduct activities in the 
public interest. 
(k)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open 
season for any game animal or game bird using any legal manner 

of take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to 
hunt feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of dogs 
for hunting deer or bear, and during the applicable deer or bear 
season. 
(l)  Youth Waterfowl Day. On the day declared by the 
Commission to be Youth Waterfowl Day, youths may hunt on any 

game land and on any impoundment without a special hunt 
permit, including permit-only areas, except where prohibited in 
Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 
(m)  Veterans/Military Waterfowl Days. On the day declared by 
the Commission to be Veterans/Military Waterfowl Days, 
veterans, active duty members of the armed forces, active duty 
national guardsmen, and active duty reservists with valid 

credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 
designated as permit-only areas. 
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(m)(n)  Permit Hunt Opportunities for Disabled Sportsmen. The 

Commission may designate special hunts for participants of the 
disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission may 
schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt dates 
and species to be taken shall be identified on each permit. If the 
hunt has a limited weapon choice, the allowed weapons shall be 
stated on each permit. 

(n)(o)  As used in this Rule, horseback riding includes all equine 
species. 
(o)(p)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized in this Rule on 
Christmas and New Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, 
the open waterfowl hunting day shall be the following day. 
 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0105 POSSESSION AND REMOVAL 

OF ANIMALS, PLANTS AND MATERIALS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Other materials" includes: all metals, minerals, 
rocks, soil, organic debris, buildings, fences, 
historic artifacts and water. 

(2) "Commission lands" includes all state-owned 
game lands, hatcheries, depots, refuges, boating 
access areas and public fishing access areas, or 

parts thereof, allocated to the Wildlife 
Resources Commission. 

(3) "Written permission" includes permits, sales 
agreements, agricultural agreements, and letters 
written by authorized Commission personnel. 
Written permissions shall specify the type of 

activity allowed, the Commission land(s) where 
the activity may occur and the persons 
authorized. 

(b)  On Commission lands: 
(1) No wildlife resources, fungi, invertebrates, 

eggs, nests, animal parts, plants, plant 

materials, or other materials may be possessed 
on or removed from Commission lands except: 
(A) as allowed in this Rule; or 
(B) bullfrogs, as specified in 15A NCAC 

10B .0226; or 
(B)(C) if written permission has been granted 

by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. 

This restriction applies to both dead and living wildlife resources, 
fungi, invertebrates, eggs, animal parts, plants and plant materials. 

(2) All game, fur-bearing animals, wildlife 
resources, fisheries resources, and nongame 

animals or birds birds, for which the 
Commission has established an open season, 
legally taken under a valid hunting, trapping, 
fishing or falconry fishing, falconry, or other 
license that entitles the licensee to access and 
use Wildlife Resources Commission Property 
may be possessed on and removed from 

Commission lands. 
(3) Berries, fruit, nuts, mushrooms, ramps and 

other plants or plant products suitable for 

human consumption may be possessed on and 

removed from Commission lands without 
written permission for personal consumption 
only, except any fungi, plant or part thereof on 
a state or federal protected list may not be 
possessed on or removed from Commission 
lands without written permission. All other 

fungi, plants and plant products which are not 
suitable for human consumption may not be 
possessed on or removed from Commission 
lands except with written permission. Crops or 
products thereof planted for the benefit of 
wildlife may not be removed without written 

permission. 
(4) Insects, worms or other invertebrates collected 

as fish bait may be possessed on and removed 
from Commission lands without written 
permission for personal use only, except any 
species on a state or federal protected list may 

not be collected and may not be removed from 
Commission lands. Sale of these resources is 
prohibited. 

(5) Minimal amounts of animal parts, plant parts 
not removed from live plants, and other 
materials collected by hand and removed from 

Commission lands without written permission, 
except in violation of rules, general statutes or 
federal law. Collection of animal parts, plant 
parts not removed from live plants, and other 
materials for commercial use or sale is 
prohibited. For purposes of this Subparagraph, 

"minimal amounts," are quantities that fit 
within a cubic foot of space, except for 
firewood to be used at designated game land 
campgrounds. Minimal amounts of firewood 
are quantities sufficient to build and maintain a 
fire for the duration of the game land user's stay 

at the campground. 
(6) Litter and road kill animals may be removed 

without written permission, except in violation 
of 15A NCAC 10B .0106. 

(7) A collection license as described in 15A NCAC 
10B .0119 does not qualify as written 

permission to collect or remove any wildlife 
resources from Commission lands. Written 
permission must be specific to the Commission 
land. 

(c)  On all other lands enrolled in the game land program; 
(1) All game, fur-bearing animals, fisheries 

resources, and nongame animals or birds for 
which the Commission has established an open 
season, legally taken under a valid hunting, 
trapping, fishing or falconry license may be 
possessed on and removed from game lands. 

(2) Possession and removal of all other wildlife 
resources, fungi, invertebrates, eggs, nests, 

animals parts, plants, plant materials, or other 
materials is subject to the rules of the 
Commission and is at the discretion of the 
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landowner, except where the landowner has 

ceded authority to the Commission. When the 
landowner has ceded authority to the 
Commission, the permissions and restrictions 
in Paragraph (b) of this Rule apply. 

(d)  Any individual who has written permission, or a hunting, 
trapping, fishing or falconry license required in order to possess 

or remove wildlife resources, fungi, invertebrates, eggs, nests, 
animals parts, plants, plant materials, or other materials from 
Commission lands and all other lands enrolled in the game land 
program must have that written permission or license on his 
person. This requirement extends to any individual operating in 
conjunction with another's written permission. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291; 113-291.2; 113-305; 
113-333. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 
15A NCAC 10F .0327. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2020 
Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 8, 2020 
Time:  10am 
Location:  WRC Headquarters, 5th Floor, 1751 Varsity Drive, 

Raleigh, NC 27606 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The WRC received a formal 
application and resolution from the Montgomery County Board 
of Commissioners on June 17, 2019, requesting consideration of 
rulemaking for a marked swimming area, where vessel entry is 

prohibited, on Badin Lake at Pinehaven Village public beach and 
swim area in New London.  Pursuant to G.S. 75A-15, the WRC is 
empowered to adopt rules for water safety. 
 
Paragraph (f) of 15A NCAC 10F .0327 has been italicized to 
denote that this text was a temporary amendment effective 

October 1, 2019.  It is the intent of the NC WRC to retain this 
language as a temporary amendment at this time. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Rule-making Coordinator, 
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 
regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2020 

 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 
SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 
SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY 

REGULATIONS 

 
15A NCAC 10F .0327 MONTGOMERY COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters and 
portions of waters described as follows: 

(1) Badin Lake. 

(A) the cove west of Lakeshore Drive and 
east of Strand Drive, southeast of a 
line at the mouth of the cove from a 
point on the east shore at 35.49242 N, 
80.09241 W to a point on the west 
shore at 35.49242 N, 80.09241 W; 

(B) Lake Forest Drive Cove shore to 
shore, west of a point 50 yards east of 
the fueling site at the marina at 
35.48739 N, 80.10918 W; 

(C) Garr Creek shore to shore, north of a 
line beginning at a point on the east 

shore at 35.47952 N, 80.13633 W to a 
point on the west shore at 35.47946 N, 
80.13932 W; and 

(D) the channel between Beyer's Island 
and the mainland, shore to shore 
beginning at a line from a point on 

Beyer's Island at 35.49102 N, 
80.10221 W to a point on the mainland 
at 35.49230 N, 80.10241 W, ending at 
a line westward, from a point on 
Beyer's Island at 35.48988 N, 
80.10573 W to a point on the mainland 
at 35.49077 N, 80.10702 W. 

(2) Lake Tillery. 
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(A) the waters within 50 yards of the boat 

ramp in the south end of Woodrun 
Cove at 35.33113 N, 80.06277 W; 

(B) Carolina Forest Cove shore to shore 
and the waters within 50 yards of the 
boat ramps and boat slips at the end of 
Arroyo Drive in Carolina Forest 

Community, from a point on the south 
shore at 35.36276 N, 80.05386 W, 
northeast to a point on the north shore 
at 35.36405 N, 80.05304 W; and 

(C) Lilly's Bridge Boating Access Area 
shore to shore, from line 25 feet north 

of the SR 1110 bridge otherwise 
known as Lillys Bridge Road at a point 
on the east shore at 35.23223 N, 
80.06166 W, to a point on the west 
shore at 35.23289 N, 80.06318 W, to a 
line 200 feet southwest of the Lilly's 

Bridge Boating Access Area, from a 
point on the east shore at 35.23067 N; 
80.06262 W, to a point on the west 
shore at 35.23156 N; 80.06437 W; and 
80.06437 W. 

(3) Tuckertown Reservoir. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Shore Facilities. No person shall operate a 
vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any 
marked boat launching area, dock, pier, bridge, marina, boat 
storage structure, or boat service area on the waters of the 
regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
(c)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any regulated area described in Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule. 
(d)  Swimming Areas. Badin Lake Swimming Area. No person 
operating or responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit 
it to enter any marked public swimming area on the waters of the 
regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. the marked 

swimming area on Badin Lake at the Pinehaven Village beach 
area at 370 Pinehaven Drive in New London, within 50 feet of the 
shoreline between points at 35.49927 N, 80.11428 W; and 
35.49934 N, 80.11437 W. 
(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 
Montgomery County shall be the designated agency for 

placement of the markers implementing Parts (a)(1)(A), (B), (C), 
(2)(A) and (B), and Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. The North 
Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission is the designated 
agency for placement and maintenance of the markers 
implementing Part (a)(2)(C) of this Rule. The Board of 
Commissioners of Montgomery County shall be the designated 

agency for placement and maintenance of the ropes and markers 
implementing Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 
(f)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) through (e) of this Rule, no 
person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed in the 
waters of Lake Tillery shore to shore, within 85 yards north and 
85 yards south of the NC Hwy 24/27/73 bridge eastbound and 
westbound spans, otherwise known as the James B. Garrison 

Bridge. The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission shall 
be the designated agency for placement and maintenance of 
markers for this regulated area. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Commission for Public Health intends to amend the rule cited as 

15A NCAC 18C .1305. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-
regulations/proposed-rules 
 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 
 
Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 7, 2020 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  Ground Floor Hearing Room, Archdale Building, 512 

N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The American Water 
Infrastructure Act (AWIA), which amended the federal Safe 
Drinking Water Act, was passed in late 2018.  AWIA outlined 
requirements for some community water systems to complete a 

Risk and Resilience Assessment and also to develop an 
Emergency Response Plan.  In August 2019, EPA released details 
of the federal compliance requirements in its “Emergency 
Response Plan Template and Instructions.”  Evaluation of the 
EPA template and instructions, revealed significant overlap with 
the state’s .1305 rule for source water protection planning. 

To reduce regulatory burden and allow public water systems to 
create and maintain one plan, rather than two separate plans 
addressing essentially the same, but not identical, state and 
federal requirements, the Commission for Public Health is 
proposing to revise the requirements for source water protection 
planning for systems that: (i) comply with AWIA requirements, 

and (ii) assess risk from potential contaminant sources within the 
state-specified areas currently codified in this rule. These 
revisions will eliminate unnecessary duplication for many of the 
state’s public water systems. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Frick, 1634 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email jay.frick@ncdenr.gov  
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2020 

 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
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service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 
SUBCHAPTER 18C - WATER SUPPLIES 

 
SECTION .1300 - OPERATION OF PUBLIC WATER 

SUPPLIES 

 
15A NCAC 18C .1305 SOURCE WATER PROTECTION 

PLANNING 

(a)  In compliance with G.S. 130A-320, every supplier of water 
operating a public water system treating and furnishing water 
from a surface water source shall create and implement a Source 

Water Protection Plan (SWPP) based upon the following 
schedule: 

(1) Water systems that have a single source of 
supply and a source susceptibility rating of 
higher or moderate, as determined by the 
Department, shall create and implement a 

SWPP by January 1, 2021. 
(2) Water systems that have multiple sources of 

supply and any source susceptibility rating of 
higher, as determined by the Department, shall 
create and implement a SWPP by January 1, 
2022. 

(3) All other water systems treating and furnishing 
water from surface water sources shall create 
and implement an SWPP by January 1, 2023. 

(4) Any public water system that begins treating 
and furnishing water from a surface water 
source on or after January 1, 2021 shall create 

and implement a SWPP that satisfies the 
requirements of this Rule prior to the 
commencement of its operations. 

(b)  Any public water system required to create and implement a 
SWPP in accordance with this Rule shall review and update their 
SWPP at three year intervals from the creation deadline specified 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Updated information in the SWPP 
must address the plan elements listed in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 
(c)  Each SWPP shall contain the following elements: 

(1) A list of potential contaminant sources (PCSs), 
both provided by the Department and identified 
by the water system, located in the following 
areas as defined in Classifications and Water 

Quality Standards Applicable to Surface 
Waters and Wetlands of North Carolina, 15A 
NCAC 02B .0200, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions and can 
be found at no charge at 
http://portal.ncdenr.org/c/document_library/get
_file?uuid=f12e8078-b128-44cc-b55b-
fc5e7d876f3c&groupId=38364; 
(A) within the entire watershed for waters 

classified as WS-I; 
(B) within the critical area and 1,000 feet 

from perennial streambanks within the 
protected area for waters classified as 
WS-II and WS-III; 

(C) within the critical area and 1,000 feet 

from perennial streambanks, within 
the protected area for waters classified 
as WS-IV; 

(D) within ½ mile from the normal pool 
elevation in which the intake is 
located, or to the ridge line of the 

watershed, whichever comes first, for 
a reservoir within waters classified as 
WS-V; and 

(E) within ½ mile, measured as a straight 
line, upstream from and draining to the 
intake located directly in the stream or 

river, or to the ridge line of the 
watershed, whichever comes first, for 
a direct-stream intake within waters 
classified as WS-V. 

(2) For community water systems, a contingency 
strategy that documents the system's planned 

response to an emergency event or 
contamination of its water source(s) that 
includes the following: 
(A) identification and contact information 

of personnel responsible for 
emergency management, including 

water system, local, State, and federal 
emergency response personnel; 

(B) identification of foreseeable natural 
and human-caused emergency events 
including water shortages and 
outages; 

(C) description of the emergency response 
strategies for each identified shortage 
or outage event and each potential 
contamination event associated with 
PCSs identified and listed in 
Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule; 

(D) standard operating procedures to close 
intakes and switch to an alternate 
intake during a contamination event, 
including procedures that outline 
exercises designed to practice closure 
and switching of the intake(s); 

(E) description of public notification 

procedures; and 
(F) identification and evaluation of all 

facilities and equipment that upon 
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failure would result in a water outage 

or violations of the Rules Governing 
Public Water Systems, 15A NCAC 
18C. 

(3) For non-transient, non-community water 
systems, the contingency strategy shall contain 
the positions and phone numbers of responsible 

persons to contact in the event of an emergency, 
including water system, local, State, and federal 
emergency contacts. 

(4) An evaluation of a water system's ability to take 
the following actions: 
(A) close its water intake(s) in the event of 

contamination, including a 
determination of the duration of time 
the water intake(s) can remain closed 
while maintaining positive water 
pressure within the distribution 
system; 

(B) isolate or divert contaminated water 
from its surface water intake(s); 

(C) reduce demand by implementing 
conservation measures during a 
contamination event. Water Shortage 
Response Plans can be referenced to 

fulfill this requirement for water 
systems required to prepare a Water 
Shortage Response Plan under 15A 
NCAC 02E .0607, which is hereby 
incorporated by reference, including 
subsequent amendments and editions 

and can be found at no charge at 
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title

%2015a%20−%20environmental%20

quality/chapter%2002%20−%20envir
onmental%20management/subchapter
%20e/15a%20ncac%2002e%20.0607.
pdf; and 

(D) meet demand via alternate sources of 
supply in the event of contamination 

or loss of its primary water source. 
(5) Verification of outreach efforts provided to the 

owners of the PCSs identified in Subparagraph 
(c)(1) of this Rule to raise awareness of the 
proximity of the drinking water intake(s) and 
provide emergency contact information for use 

during a contamination event. 
(6) A description of proactive activities and 

management strategies designed to protect the 
source(s) from contamination, including 
documentation of any voluntary source water 
protection activities that have been 

implemented by the water system. 
(7) Description of public awareness 

communication efforts that include the 
following: 
(A) publication of the emergency and 

source water protection planning 
status, the next revision date, and a 

reference to this Rule in the 

community water system's annual 
Consumer Confidence Report, as 
required by 15A NCAC 18C .1538; 
and 

(B) notification to any other public water 
system to which the system is directly 

interconnected of the contingency 
strategy set forth in Subparagraph 
(c)(2) of this Rule. A description of 
this communication shall be 
maintained in the SWPP. 

(d)  The supplier of water shall maintain a copy of the current 

SWPP onsite at each water treatment facility and make the SWPP 
available to personnel responsible for emergency management 
and operator(s) on duty at all times. The SWPP and any associated 
documentation used in its creation and implementation shall be 
available for review by Section staff upon request. 
(e)  The supplier of water shall certify that a SWPP has been 

created and implemented, and that the water system's governing 
body has been advised of the SWPP creation and implementation. 
The certification shall be submitted to the Department by the 
deadline specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
(f)  The supplier of water shall certify that a SWPP has been 
revised and that the water system's governing body has been 

advised of the revision. The certification shall be submitted to the 
Department by the revision deadline specified in Paragraph (b) of 
this Rule. 
(a)  In compliance with G.S. 130A-320, every supplier of water 
operating a public water system treating and furnishing water 
from a surface water source shall create and implement a Source 

Water Protection Plan. For purposes of this Rule, the Source 
Water Protection Plan required by G.S. 130A-320 shall be 
referred to as a Source Water Resiliency and Response Plan 
(SWRRP). 
(b)  The SWRRP shall include a list of potential contaminant 
sources (PCSs), with the potential to reach surface waters upon 

release, both provided by the Department and supplemented by 
the water system if additional PCSs are known to exist by the 
water system. The listed PCSs will be located in the following 
areas as defined in Classifications and Water Quality Standards 
Applicable to Surface Waters and Wetlands of North Carolina, 
15A NCAC 02B .0200, which is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions and can 
be found at no charge at 
http://portal.ncdenr.org/c/document_library/get_file?uuid=f12e8
078-b128-44cc-b55b-fc5e7d876f3c&groupId=38364; 

(1) within the entire watershed for waters classified 
as WS-I; 

(2) within the critical area and 1,000 feet from 
perennial streambanks within the protected area 
for waters classified as WS-II and WS-III; 

(3) within the critical area and 1,000 feet from 
perennial streambanks, within the protected 
area for waters classified as WS-IV; 

(4) within ½ mile from the normal pool elevation 

in which the intake is located, or to the ridge 
line of the watershed, whichever comes first, 
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for a reservoir within waters classified as WS-

V; and 
(5) within ½ mile, measured as a straight line, 

upstream from and draining to the intake 
located directly in the stream or river, or to the 
ridge line of the watershed, whichever comes 
first, for a direct-stream intake within waters 

classified as WS-V. 
(c)  Any community water system subject to this Rule shall certify 
completion and implementation of a SWRRP by December 31, 
2022. The SWRRP shall contain the following elements: 

(1) identification and contact information of 
personnel responsible for emergency 

management, including water system, local, 
State, and federal emergency response 
personnel; 

(2) an evaluation of a water system's ability to take 
the following actions: 
(A) close its water intake(s) in the event of 

contamination, including a 
determination of the duration of time 
the water intake(s) can remain closed 
while maintaining positive water 
pressure within the distribution 
system; 

(B) isolate or divert contaminated water 
from its surface water intake(s); 

(C) reduce demand by implementing 
conservation measures during a 
contamination event. Water Shortage 
Response Plans can be referenced to 

fulfill this requirement for water 
systems required to prepare a Water 
Shortage Response Plan under 15A 
NCAC 02E .0607, which is hereby 
incorporated by reference, including 
subsequent amendments and editions 

and can be found at no charge at 
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title

%2015a%20−%20environmental%20

quality/chapter%2002%20−%20envir
onmental%20management/subchapter
%20e/15a%20ncac%2002e%20.0607.
pdf; and 

(D) meet demand via alternate sources of 
supply in the event of contamination 

or loss of its primary water source. 
(3) identification of foreseeable natural and 

human-caused emergency events including 
water shortages and outages; 

(4) a description of the emergency response 
strategies for each identified shortage or outage 

event and each potential contamination event 
associated with PCSs identified and listed in 
Paragraph (b) of this Rule; 

(5) standard operating procedures to close intakes 
and switch to an alternate intake during a 
contamination event, including procedures that 

outline exercises designed to practice closure 

and switching of the intake(s); 
(6) a description of public notification procedures; 

and 
(7) identification and evaluation of all facilities and 

equipment that upon failure would result in a 
water outage or violations of the Rules 

Governing Public Water Systems, 15A NCAC 
18C. 

(d)  For community water systems that are subject to this rule and 
also required to complete a Risk and Resilience Assessment and 
an Emergency Response Plan under Section 2013 of America's 
Water Infrastructure Act (AWIA), which amends Section 1433 of 

TITLE XIV of the Public Health Service Act (The Safe Drinking 
Water Act); the system's Risk and Resilience Assessment and 
Emergency Response Plan created to comply with AWIA may be 
referred to as a SWRRP and used to satisfy the requirements of 
this Rule, if the PCS list was compiled in accordance with areas 
specified in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The schedule for certifying 

completion and implementation of the SWRRP is as follows: 
(1) by September 30, 2020 for community water 

systems serving more than 100,000 people; 
(2) by June 30, 2021 for community water systems 

serving 50,000 to 99,999 people; 
(3) by December 30, 2021 for community water 

systems serving 3,301 to 49,999 people. 
(e)  Non-transient, non-community water systems subject to this 
Rule shall certify completion and implementation of a SWRRP by 
December 31, 2022. The SWRRP shall contain the following 
elements: 

(1) identification and contact information of 

personnel responsible for emergency 
management, including water system, local, 
State, and federal emergency response 
personnel; 

(2) an evaluation of a water system's ability to take 
the following actions: 

(A) close its water intake(s) in the event of 
contamination, including a 
determination of the duration of time 
the water intake(s) can remain closed 
while maintaining positive water 
pressure within the distribution 

system; 
(B) isolate or divert contaminated water 

from its surface water intake(s); 
(C) reduce demand by implementing 

conservation measures during a 
contamination event, and 

(D) meet demand via alternate sources of 
supply in the event of contamination 
or loss of its primary water source. 

(f)  Any public water system that begins treating and furnishing 
water from a surface water source on or after December 31, 2022 
shall create and implement a SWRRP that satisfies the 
requirements of this Rule prior to the commencement of its 

operations. 
(g)  Any public water system required to create and implement a 
SWRRP in accordance with this Rule shall review and update its 
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SWRRP at five-year intervals from its creation deadline, as 

specified in Paragraph (c), (d) or (e) of this Rule. 
(h)  The supplier of water shall certify that a SWRRP has been 
created and implemented, and that the water system's governing 
body has been advised of the SWRRP creation and 
implementation. The certification shall be submitted to the 
Department by the deadline specified in Paragraphs (c), (d) or (e) 

of this Rule. 
(i)  The supplier of water shall certify that a SWRRP has been 
revised and that the water system's governing body has been 
advised of the revision. The certification shall be submitted to the 
Department by the revision deadline specified in Paragraph (g) of 
this Rule. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-320(c); 
Eff. January 1, 2019. 
Rev. 
 

 
TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Board of Barber Examiners intends to amend the rules cited as 21 
NCAC 06O .0122 and 06S .0101. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncbarbers.com/news.html 
 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 
 
Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 18, 2019 

Time:  10:00 AM 
Location:  5809 Departure Dr Ste 102, Raleigh, NC 27616  
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
21 NCAC 06O .0122 - The amendment corrects an erroneous 
double negative that undermines the intended purpose of the rule. 

21 NCAC 06S .0101 - The amendment establishes dress 
requirements for practical exams and reorganizes the rule for 
ease of reading. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Dennis Seavers, 7001 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-7000; phone (919) 814-0641; 

fax (919) 981-5068; email dennis.seavers@nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2020 

 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 
SUBCHAPTER 06O – CIVIL PENALTY 

 

21 NCAC 06O .0122 FAILURE TO NOTIFY BOARD 

OF CHANGE OF BARBER SHOP OR SCHOOL 

MANAGER 

(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for the failure of a barber shop 
or barber school to fail to notify the Board as to of a change of 
barber shop manager: 

(1) 1st offense $50.00 
(2) 2nd offense $100.00 
(3) 3rd offense $200.00 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for an individual manager for 
the failure to notify the Board of a change of manager of a barber 
shop or barber school: 

(1) 1st offense $50.00 
(2) 2nd offense $100.00 
(3) 3rd offense $200.00 

 
Authority G.S. 86A-1; 86A-5(a)(6); 86A-22; 86A-27. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 06S - EXAMINATIONS 

 
21 NCAC 06S .0101 GENERAL EXAMINATION 

INSTRUCTIONS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, "test center" means those rooms 
where the Board administers written and practical examinations 

while the examinations are being conducted. 
(b)  All candidates scheduled for an examination conducted by the 
Board shall bring: shall: 

(1) provide two forms of identification, one of 
which shall have a photo of the candidate; 

(2) submit a signed copy of the exam instructions 

that the Board sent to the candidate; 
(3) wear closed-toed shoes and barber smocks or 

jackets, if they are taking a practical exam; 
(3)(4) bring tools and supplies as required by the 

Board in its exam instructions; and 
(4)(5) bring a hygienically clean model with natural 

hair and beard of sufficient length to 

demonstrate practical barbering proficiency as 
determined by the Board in its qualifying model 
policy. 
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(c)  The following shall be prohibited in the test center during 

examinations: 
(1) briefcases, bags, books, papers, or study 

materials; 
(2) cell phones, calculators, or other electronic 

devices; 
(3) eating, drinking, smoking, or chewing gum; 

(4) visitors, children, or pets; 
(5) talking by candidates; or 
(6) wearing or carrying any school identification on 

uniforms or equipment. 
(c)(d)  No briefcases, bags, books, papers, or study materials shall 
be allowed in the test center. The Board shall not be responsible 

for lost or misplaced items. 
(d)  No cell phones, calculators, or other electronic devices are 
permitted for use during the examination. 
(e)  No eating, drinking, smoking, or chewing gum shall be 
permitted during the examination. 
(f)  No visitors, children, pets or guests shall be allowed in the test 

center. 
(g)(e)  No extra time for the examination shall be permitted unless 
mandated by State or federal law, such as the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 
(h)(f)  No candidate may shall leave the test center during the 
examination. Candidates may visit the restroom with the Board 

staff's permission, permission but will shall not receive any 
additional time for the examination. 
(i)(g)  No candidate may give or receive assistance during the 
examination. If a candidate gives or receives assistance during the 
examination, the Board staff shall stop the candidate's 
examination and the candidate will shall be dismissed from the 

test center. The Board staff shall not score the examination and 
will shall report the candidate to the Board, which shall make any 
decisions regarding discipline. 
(j)  Candidates must be silent during the examination. Candidates 
shall not wear or carry any school identification on uniforms or 
equipment. 

 
Authority G.S. 86A-5(a)(4); 86A-8; 86A-9; 86A-24. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Board of Dental Examiners intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 
NCAC 16A .0106. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncdentalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 
 
Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 16, 2020 
Time:  6:30 p.m. 

Location:  2000 Perimeter Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, 
NC 27560 
 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed adoption of 21 

NCAC 16A .0106 is in response to Section 4 of S.L. 2019-91, 
which was effective October 1, 2019, and would establish a 
process for individuals who wish to file a petition for a 
predetermination of whether the individual's criminal history will 
likely disqualify them from obtaining a dental license or dental 
hygiene license. 

 
Comments may be submitted to:  Bobby White, 2000 Perimeter 
Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 27560 
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 
SUBCHAPTER 16A – ORGANIZATION 

 
21 NCAC 16A .0106 PETITION FOR 

PREDETERMINATION 

An individual who wishes to file a petition for a predetermination 

of whether the individual's criminal history will likely disqualify 
the individual from obtaining a dental license or dental hygiene 
license shall submit a petition on the forms furnished by the Board 
at www.ncdentalboard.org that shall include the petitioner's: 

(1) legal name; 
(2) mailing, physical, and email addresses; 

(3) social security number; 
(4) date of birth; 
(5) telephone number; 
(6) places of residence for the past seven years; 
(7) employment history since the commission of 

the crime(s); 
(8) criminal record report prepared no more than 60 

days prior to the date of petition by Castle 
Branch, Inc., or another reporting service 
designated by the Board in accordance with 
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G.S. 93B-8.1(b6), the cost of which shall be 

borne by the petitioner; 
(9) copies of all documents in the court file related 

to any conviction reported on the petition or 
noted on the criminal record report, which 
copies shall be certified by the clerk of court or 
other judicial official; 

(10) written statement describing the circumstances 
surrounding the commission of the crimes; 

(11) written statement of any rehabilitation efforts, 
if applicable; 

(12) rehabilitative drug or alcohol treatments, if 
applicable; 

(13) Certificate of Relief granted pursuant to G.S. 
15A-173.2, if applicable; 

(14) affidavits or other written documents, including 
character references, that the petitioner wishes 
the Board to consider in responding to the 
petition; 

(15) written statement certifying that the 
information and documentation submitted with 
the petition is complete and accurate to the best 
of the petitioner's knowledge; 

(16) fee of forty-five dollars ($45.00) for a petition 
for predetermination; and 

(17) notarized signature. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-29; 90-30; 90-41; 90-48; 90-223; 90-224; 90-
229; 93B-8.1. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 
CHAPTER 50 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 

PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER 

CONTRACTORS 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler 
Contractors intends to adopt the rules cited as 21 NCAC 50 .0314-
.0317, .0519, .1106 and amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 50 
.0301, .0306, .0313, .0405, .0407, .0408, .0505, .1101, and .1102. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.nclicensing.org/ 
 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2020 
 
Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 11, 2020 

Time:  8:30 a.m. 
Location:  1109 Dresser Court, Raleigh, NC 27609 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  In House Bill 675 (Session Law 
2019-174), The General Assembly mandated creation of a 
Residential Fire Sprinkler Design license, and such program is 
included in these proposed rules.  The General Assembly also 

mandated recognition of apprenticeship training by Boards 
generally and a proposed rule in this group makes clear 
experience has always been recognized by this Board.  In 

response to a petition for Rulemaking filed by the Association of 

Independent Colleges and Universities, the Board proposes 
creation of a Technician License similar to that available to State 
and Local Government Technicians.  Fees are proposed to be 
increased to address costs of living increases and to provide for 
capital projects. 
 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dale Dawson, 1109 Dresser 
Court, Raleigh, NC 27609; email DDawson@nclicensing.org 
 
Comment period ends:  February 11, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATIONS 

 
21 NCAC 50 .0301 QUALIFICATIONS 

DETERMINED BY EXAMINATION 

(a)  In order to determine the qualifications of an applicant, the 
Board shall provide a written or computer-based examination in 

the following categories: 
(1) Plumbing Contracting, Class I 
(2) Plumbing Contracting, Class II 
(3) Heating, Group No. l - Contracting, Class I 
(4) Heating, Group No. 1 - Contracting, Class II 
(5) Heating, Group No. 2 - Contracting, Class I 

(6) Heating, Group No. 3 - Contracting, Class I 
(7) Heating, Group No. 3 - Contracting, Class II 
(8) Fuel Piping Contractor 
(9) Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractor 
(10) Fire Sprinkler Inspection Contractor 
(11) Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation 

Contractor 

(12) Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor 
(13) Fire Sprinkler Maintenance Inspection 

Technician 
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(14) Limited Fire Sprinkler Maintenance Technician 

(15) Plumbing Technician 
(16) Heating Group No. 1 Technician 
(17) Heating Group No. 2 Technician 
(18) Heating Group No. 3 Technician 
(19) Fuel Piping Technician 
(20) Private Educational Institution Plumbing 

Technician 
(21) Private Educational Institution Heating Group 

1 Technician 
(22) Private Educational Institution Heating Group 

2 Technician 
(23) Private Educational Institution Heating Group 

3 Technician 
(24) Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor 

(b)  Each person being examined by the Board for a contractor 
license other than a Fire Sprinkler Installation or Fire Sprinkler 
Inspection Contractor license shall be required to pass both the 
business and law part and the technical part of the examination 

required by G.S. 87-21(b). 
(c)  Applicants for licensure as a Fire Sprinkler Installation 
Contractor must submit evidence of current certification by the 
National Institute for Certification of Engineering Technologies 
(NICET) for Automated Sprinkler System Layout as the 
prerequisite for licensure. Applicants for licensure as a Fire 

Sprinkler Installation Contractor must pass the business and law 
part of the exam administered by the Board. Persons licensed 
based upon NICET certification must maintain such certification 
as a condition of license renewal. 
(d)  Applicants for licensure in the Fire Sprinkler Inspection 
Technician classification must pass the technical examination 

offered by the Board. The Board shall accept the results of NICET 
examination resulting in Level II Certification in "Inspection and 
Testing of Water-based Systems" by NICET. Persons who obtain 
license as a Fire Sprinkler Inspection Technician based on NICET 
certification must maintain such certification as a condition of 
license renewal. 

(e)  Applicants for licensure as a Fire Sprinkler Inspection 
Contractor must submit evidence of Level III certification in 
"Inspection and Testing of Water-based Fire Systems" by NICET 
in lieu of the technical part of the Board-administered 
examination. Applicants for licensure as a Fire Sprinkler 
Inspection Contractor must also pass the business and law part of 

the examination administered by the Board. Contractors who 
obtain license by NICET certification must maintain such 
certification thereafter as a condition of license renewal. 
(f)  Applicants for a license in the Limited Fire Sprinkler 
Maintenance Technician classification shall obtain a license based 
on maintenance experience, education and job classification set 

forth in Rule .0306 and pass a test administered by the Board. 
(g)  Applicants for a license as a Residential Fire Sprinkler 
Installation Contractor must obtain a license based on experience 
set forth in Rule .0306 and must pass the technical part of the 
Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractor examination. 
(h)  Applicants for a license as a Plumbing, Heating or Fuel Piping 
Technician must obtain a license based on experience set forth in 

Rule .0306 and must pass the Class I technical and Board laws 
and rules parts of the Board-administered examination related to 
the category for which a technician license is sought. 

(i)  Applicants who hold an active Plumbing, Heating or Fuel 

Piping Technician license obtained by examination may obtain 
the Plumbing, Heating or Fuel Piping Contractor license in the 
same category by meeting the experience requirement listed in 
Rule .0306 of this Section for the specific contractor license 
sought and passage of only the business portion of the 
examination. 

(j)  Applicants for a license as a Restricted Limited Plumbing 
Contractor shall obtain a license based on experience set forth in 
Rule .0306 and shall be required to pass both the business and law 
part and the technical part of the Restricted Limited Plumbing 
Contractor examination. 
(k)  If application is made on or before 120 days from the effective 

date of this Rule, applicants for Restricted Limited Plumbing 
Contractor license who present a current active License from the 
North Carolina Irrigation Contractor Licensing Board are not 
required to take the Board administered examination, provided the 
applicant: 

(1) Presents evidence of passage of a locally 

administered examination covering the same 
topics as the Board examination, resulting in 
certification as a Backflow Inspector by one of 
the municipalities in North Carolina, or 
evidence to establish 1000 hours of experience 
in the maintenance, service or repair of 

components of plumbing systems, and 
(2) Completes a plumbing code course offered by 

the Board and passes the Laws and Rules part 
of the examination administered by the board. 

 
Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(a); 87-21(b). 

 
21 NCAC 50 .0306 APPLICATIONS: ISSUANCE OF 

LICENSE 

(a)  All applicants for licensure or examination shall file an 
application setting forth the information required in G.S. 87-21 or 
these Rules on a form available on the Board website or at the 

Board office. 
(b)  Applicants for a plumbing or heating examination shall 
present evidence at the time of application to establish two years 
of full-time experience in the installation, maintenance, service, 
or repair of plumbing or heating systems related to the category 
for which a license is sought, whether or not a license was 

required for the work performed. Applicants for a fuel piping 
examination shall present evidence at the time of application to 
establish one year of experience in the installation, maintenance, 
service, or repair of fuel piping, whether or not a license was 
required for the work performed. Up to one-half of the experience 
may be in academic or technical training related to the field of 

endeavor for which examination is requested. The Board shall 
prorate part-time work of less than 40 hours per week or part-time 
academic work of less than 15 semester or quarter hours. 
(c)  The Board shall issue a license certificate bearing the license 
number assigned to the qualifying individual. 
(d)  Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractors shall meet experience 
requirements in accordance with NICET examination criteria. 

(e)  Applicants for examination or licensure in the Fire Sprinkler 
Inspection Technician classification shall submit evidence 
adequate to establish that the applicant has either: 
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(1) 4000 hours of experience involved in inspection 

and testing of previously installed fire sprinkler 
systems, consistent with NFPA-25, Standard 
for the Inspection Testing as Maintenance of 
Water-Based Fire Protection Systems of the 
National Fire Protection Association, adopted 
by the North Carolina Building Code, which is 

hereby incorporated by reference including all 
subsequent editions and amendments to the 
document as a full-time employee of a Fire 
Sprinkler Inspection Contractor or fire 
insurance underwriting organization; 

(2) 4000 hours of experience as a full-time 

employee of a hospital, manufacturing, 
government, or university facility under direct 
supervision of Fire Sprinkler Inspection 
Contractor or a Fire Sprinkler Inspection 
Technician involved in inspection and testing of 
previously installed fire sprinkler systems, 

consistent with NFPA 25: Standard for the 
Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance of Water-
Based Fire Protection Systems, which is hereby 
incorporated by reference including all 
subsequent editions and amendments. The 
document may be accessed free of charge at 

http://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-standards/; 
(3) 4000 hours of experience involved in 

installation of fire sprinkler systems as a full-
time employee of a Fire Sprinkler Installation 
Contractor; or 

(4) a combination of 4000 hours of experience in 

any of the categories listed in this Paragraph. 
(f)  Applicants for licensure in the Fire Sprinkler Inspection 
Contractor classification shall meet experience requirements in 
accordance with NICET certification criteria. 
(g)  Applicants for initial licensure in the Limited Fire Sprinkler 
Maintenance Technician classification shall submit evidence of 

2000 hours experience at the place for which license is sought as 
a full-time maintenance employee in facility maintenance with 
exposure to periodic maintenance of fire protection systems as 
described in Rule .0515 of this Chapter. Applicants who have held 
Limited Fire Sprinkler Maintenance Technician license 
previously are not required to demonstrate experience in addition 

to the experience at the time of initial licensure, but shall submit 
a new application if relocating to a new location. 
(h)  Applicants for licensure in the Residential Fire Sprinkler 
Installation Contractor classification shall hold an active 
Plumbing Class I or Class II Contractor license issued by this 
Board for a minimum of two years and shall document attendance 

at a 16 hour course approved by the Board pursuant to the Rules 
in this Chapter covering NFPA 13D: Standard for the Installation 
of Sprinkler Systems in One-and Two-Family Dwellings and 
Manufactured Homes, which is hereby incorporated by reference 
including all subsequent editions and amendments. The document 
may be accessed free of charge at http://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-
standards/. Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractors 

must maintain a Plumbing Contractor license as a condition of 
renewal of the Residential Fire sprinkler Installation Contractor 
license. 

(i)  Applicants for a license as a plumbing or heating technician 

shall present evidence adequate to establish 3000 hours of full-
time experience in the installation, maintenance, service, or repair 
of plumbing or heating systems related to the category for which 
a technician license is sought, whether or not a license was 
required for the work performed. Applicants for a license as a fuel 
piping technician shall present evidence adequate to establish 

1500 hours of experience in the installation, maintenance, service, 
or repair of fuel piping, whether or not a license was required for 
the work performed. Up to one-half of the experience may be in 
academic or technical training related to the field of endeavor for 
which the examination is requested. 
(j)  Applicants for a Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor 

license shall present evidence at the time of application to 
establish 1500 hours of full-time experience in the installation, 
maintenance, service, or repair of plumbing systems, whether or 
not a license was required for the work performed. Up to one-half 
of the experience may be in academic or technical training related 
to the field of endeavor for which examination is requested. The 

Board shall prorate part-time work of fewer than 40 hours per 
week or part-time academic work of less than 15 semester or 
quarter hours. 
(k)  In lieu of the requirements of Paragraph (j) of this Rule, 
applicants for a Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor License 
who present a current active License from the North Carolina 

Irrigation Contractor Licensing Board may take the examination, 
provided the applicant demonstrates that he or she holds 
certification as a Backflow Inspector from one of the 
municipalities in North Carolina, or demonstrates 500 hours of 
experience in the maintenance, service, or repair of components 
of plumbing systems. 

(l)  Applicants for license based on apprenticeship program as 
described in G.S. 93B-8.6(b) shall meet the same experience and 
training requirements for the category of license that is sought as 
set forth in this Rule. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b). 

 
21 NCAC 50 .0313 RESPONSIBILITIES OF STATE 

AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT TECHNICIAN 

LICENSEES 

(a)  A licensed State and local government technician licensee 
shall be required to list their license with the Board in the name of 

the State and local government agency by whom the licensee is 
employed, 
(b)  The holder of license as a State and local government Heating 
Group 1 Technician, Heating Group 2 Technician, Heating Group 
3 Technician, or Plumbing Technician shall be a full-time 
employee of a State or local government agency. 

(c)  A licensed State and local government technician licensee 
shall ensure that a permit is obtained from the appropriate State or 
local Code Enforcement official before commencing any work for 
which a license is required by the Board. The licensee shall also 
ensure that a request for final inspection of the work for which a 
license is required is made within 10 days of the earlier of the 
system being made operational or placed in service, absent 

agreement with the appropriate State or local Code Enforcement 
official. Absent agreement with the local Code Enforcement 
official the licensee shall not be relieved of responsibility to the 
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Board to arrange inspection until a certificate of compliance or the 

equivalent is obtained from the appropriate State or local code 
enforcement official or the licensee has documentary evidence of 
his effort to obtain the same. 
(d)  The failure of a licensee to comply with the permit and 
inspection obligations outlined in this Rule shall be considered by 
the Board as evidence of incompetence or misconduct in the use 

of license from the Board. 
(e)  A licensed State and local government technician licensee 
shall be responsible for general supervision to the extent of his 
qualifications, compliance with all applicable codes and 
standards, and assurance that permits and inspections are 
obtained. 

(f)  The "general supervision" required by G.S. 87-26 is the degree 
of supervision necessary and sufficient to ensure that the work is 
performed in a workmanlike manner and with the requisite skill 
and that the installation is made in accordance with applicable 
codes, rules and manufacturer installation instructions and 
industry practice. General supervision requires that review of the 

work done pursuant to the State and local government technician 
license be performed by the State and local government technician 
licensee while the work is in progress. 
(g)  In each State or local government agency location, branch, or 
facility of any kind from which work requiring a license pursuant 
to G.S. 87, Article 2 is carried out there shall be on duty the lesser 

of 1500 hours annually, or all hours during which the activities 
described herein are carried out, at least one licensee who holds 
the appropriate State and local government technician license in 
the classification required for the work being proposed or 
performed, whose license is listed in the name of the particular 
State or local government agency at that location, and who is 

engaged in the work of the State or local government at the agency 
location or at an agency job site and who has the responsibility to 
exercise general supervision over the work and who has been 
empowered to act for the State or local government agency, as 
defined in Rule .0505 of this Chapter, of all work falling within 
his or her license qualification. Evidence of compliance shall be 

required as a condition of renewal or retention of license and 
falsification shall constitute fraud in obtaining license. The 
standards set forth in Rule .0512 of this Chapter shall be applied. 
(h)  An unlicensed person employed by a State and local 
government agency licensed and supervised pursuant to G.S. 87, 
Article 2 shall not be required to have a license and shall not be 

subject to an action for injunctive relief brought by the Board if 
the unlicensed person is a bona-fide employee of the State and 
local government. 
(i)  The annual license fee for a State and local government 
Technician license is one hundred thirty dollars ($130.00), one 
hundred fifty dollars ($150.00), except as provided in Paragraph 

(j) of this Rule. 
(j)  The annual license fee for a State & Local Government 
Technician Plumbing or Heating Technician license that is listed 
as the second or subsequent licensee at the same agency location 
is sixty-five seventy-five dollars ($65.00). ($75.00). 
 
Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(a)(5); 87-21(a)(6); 87-21(a)(10); 

87-21(b)(2)c; 87-22; 87-22.1; 87-26. 
 

21 NCAC 50 .0314 PRIVATE EDUCATIONAL 

INSTITUTION PLUMBING OR HEATING TECHNICIAN 

(a)  Applicants for a license as a Private Educational Institution 
Plumbing or Heating Technician shall obtain a license based on 
experience set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule and shall pass 
the Class I technical and Board laws and rules part of the Board–
administered examination described in 21 NCAC 50 .0301 related 

to the category for which a technician license is sought. The 
applicant need not pass the business part of the examination. 
(b)  Applicants for a license as a Private Educational Institution 
Plumbing or Heating Technician shall present evidence to 
establish 3000 hours of full-time experience in the installation, 
maintenance service or repair of plumbing or heating system 

related to the category for which a technician license is sought, 
whether or not a license was required for the work performed. 
(c)  Applicants for a license as a Private Educational Institution 
Technician who currently hold an active plumbing or heating 
contractor license issued by this Board may qualify for the 
corresponding State and local government technician license 

without examination. 
(d)  Applicants for a license as Private Educational Institution 
Technician who currently hold an active plumbing or heating 
technician license obtained by examination and issued by the 
Board may qualify for the Corresponding Private Educational 
Institution technician license without examination. 

 
Authority G.S. 87-18. 
 
21 NCAC 50 .0315 RESPONSIBILITIES OF 

PRIVATE EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION TECHNICIAN 

LICENSEES 

A licensed Private Educational Institution technician licensee 
shall meet the same requirements as State and Local Government 
Technician licensees, as set forth in 21 NCAC 50 .0313. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-18. 
 

21 NCAC 50 .0316 RESIDENTIAL FIRE 

SPRINKLER DESIGN CONTRACTOR LICENSE 

(a)  Applicants for a Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor 
license shall obtain a license based on experience set forth in 
Paragraph (b) of this Rule and shall be required to pass the 
Residential Fire Sprinkler Design technical examination. 

(b)  Applicants for a residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor 
license shall present evidence at the time of application to 
establish that the applicant currently holds an active Residential 
Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractor license issued by the Board, 
shall document completion of the 32 hour fire sprinkler system 
design course set forth in 21 NCAC 50 .0505 approved by the 

Board pursuant to the rules in this Chapter covering NFPA-13D 
fire sprinkler system design and shall pass the Residential Fire 
Sprinkler Design Contractor license examination conducted by 
the Board. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-18. 
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21 NCAC 50 .0317 RESIDENTIAL FIRE 

SPRINKLER DESIGN CONTRACTOR LICENSEES 

(a)  Applicants for a Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor 
licensee shall design NFPA 13D residential multipurpose fire 
sprinkler systems consistent with NFPA 13D design requirements 
and the water design conditions present at the system installation 
location. 

(b)  Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor licensee shall 
personally sign and date each specific NFPA 13D residential 
design performed. 
(c)  Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor must maintain a 
Plumbing Contractor and a Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation 
Contractor license as a condition of renewal of the Residential 

Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor license. 
(d)  The annual license fee for a Residential Fire Sprinkler Design 
Contractor license is one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 
 
Authority G.S. 87-18. 
 

SECTION .0400 - GENERAL PROCEDURES 

 
21 NCAC 50 .0405 MULTIPLE LICENSES 

(a)  In order to maintain the identity of firms and allow effective 
supervision, each licensed contractor or technician shall qualify 
only the business location where he is primarily located. 

(b)  A licensee may be listed on only one contractor license at any 
given time, whether the license is issued in the name of the 
individual or in the name of a firm; provided, however, that the 
Fire Sprinkler Maintenance Technician qualification 
qualification, the Private Educational Institution Technician, and 
the State and local government technician qualification may be 

listed separately in the name of the employer to which restricted. 
(c)  The holder of qualification as a contractor may, upon deletion 
of his name and qualifications from a firm license, reinstate his 
personal license, either as an individual or in the name of some 
other corporation, partnership, or business that has a trade name, 
upon compliance with G.S. 87-26. 

(d)  A technician licensee, other than the holder of a Fire Sprinkler 
Maintenance Technician license, may, upon deletion of his name 
and qualification from a firm license, move his qualification to 
another licensed corporation, partnership, state or local 
governmental agency, private educational institution, or business 
that has a trade name, upon compliance with G.S. 87-26. 

 
Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(a)(5); 87-21(a)(6); 87-21(b)(2)c; 87-
26. 
 
21 NCAC 50 .0407 CORPORATIONS, 

PARTNERSHIPS AND TRADE NAMES 

(a)  Licensees are required to list their license with the Board in 
the name in which they conduct business. 
(b)  A contractor license may be issued or renewed in the name of 
a corporation, partnership partnership, state or local governmental 
agency, private educational institution, or business with a trade 
name upon compliance with the provisions of G.S. 87-26, verified 
by the execution of forms furnished by the Board. 

(c)  Additional licensees may be added to licenses issued in the 
above manner upon verifications of compliance with the 
provisions of G.S. 87-26. If a licensee terminates his association 

with a corporation, partnership partnership, state or local 

governmental agency, private educational institution, or business 
with a trade name, both the firm and the licensee shall notify the 
Board within 30 days. 
(d)  A person who has a license which has been expired less than 
three years may be added to an active license issued in the name 
of a corporation, partnership partnership, state or local 

governmental agency, private educational institution, or business 
with a trade name, upon written request, completion of forms 
provided by the Board and payment of the fee set forth in Rule 
.1102 of this Chapter. 
(e)  The license number assigned to a corporation, partnership, 
state or local governmental agency, private educational 

institution, or business with a trade name shall be that of the first 
licensee listed on the license. 
(f)  A corporation, partnership partnership, state or local 
governmental agency, private educational institution, or business 
with a trade name which is issued a license is subject to the 
provisions of G.S. 87, Article 2 and to the rules in this Chapter. 

 
Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-22; 87-26. 
 
21 NCAC 50 .0408 CHANGE OF TRADE NAME 

(a)  The trade name under which a license is issued may be 
changed upon request to and approval by the Board pursuant to 

these Rules. If the Board approves the name change, the last 
license issued to the licensee must be returned to the Board before 
the new license will be sent to the licensee. 
(b)  A contractor license shall be issued or renewed using any 
corporate name, partnership name, state or local governmental 
agency, private educational institution, or trade name which is not 

substantially similar to a name already in use according to the 
records of the Board. 
(c)  The licensee shall notify the Board of any change in location, 
telephone number, physical address or mailing address from that 
shown on the last license renewal invoice within 30 days after the 
change takes place. 

 
Authority G.S. 55B-5; 87-18; 87-26. 
 

SECTION .0500 - POLICY STATEMENTS AND 

INTERPRETATIVE RULES 

 

21 NCAC 50 .0505 GENERAL SUPERVISION AND 

STANDARD OF COMPETENCE 

(a)  The general supervision required by G.S. 87-26 is that degree 
of supervision which is necessary and sufficient to ensure that the 
contract is performed in a workmanlike manner and with the 
requisite skill and that the installation is made properly, safely and 

in accordance with applicable codes and rules. General 
supervision requires that a review of the work done pursuant to 
the license be performed by a licensee of the firm while the work 
is in progress. If a Plumbing, Heating or Fuel Piping Contractor 
licensed by this Board employs a properly licensed Plumbing, 
Heating or Fuel Piping Technician, whose Technician license is 
listed under the name of that licensed contractor, then the licensed 

technician may review and supervise work in lieu of the licensed 
contractor as a means to assure that the contract is performed in a 
workmanlike manner and with the requisite skill and that the 
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installation is made properly, safely and in accordance with 

applicable codes and rules. 
(b)  The provisions of the North Carolina Building Code, 
including the provisions of codes and standards incorporated by 
reference, and adopted by the Building Code Council of North 
Carolina are the minimum standard of competence applicable to 
contractors licensed by the Board. Licensees shall design and 

install systems which meet or exceed the minimum standards of 
the North Carolina State Building Code, manufacturer's 
specifications and installation instructions and standards 
prevailing in the industry. 
(c)  Work performed under Rule .0513, Rule .0514, and Rule 
.0515 shall be performed by the licensed technician pursuant to 

the license held by that person. 
(d)  Every newly installed residential heating system, air 
conditioning system or both shall be designed and installed to 
maintain a maximum temperature differential of four degrees 
Fahrenheit room-to-room and floor-to-floor. On multilevel 
structures, contractors shall either provide a separate HVAC 

system for each floor or to install automatically controlled zoning 
equipment for each level with individual thermostats on each level 
to control the temperature for that level. The seasonal adjustment 
needed to maintain the four degrees Fahrenheit room-to-room and 
floor-to-floor maximum temperature differential shall not be 
accomplished through the use of manual dampers. 

(e)  All licensed HVAC contractors or licensed technicians shall 
perform a room-by-room load calculation for all newly installed 
residential structures systems prior to installing heating systems, 
air conditioning systems, or both, which calculations shall be 
specific to the location and orientation where the HVAC system 
or equipment is to be installed. A written record of the system and 

equipment sizing information shall be provided to the 
homeowner, owner or general contractor upon request and a copy 
shall be maintained in the job file of the licensee for a minimum 
of six years. Load calculations shall be performed by a licensee 
who holds the appropriate license from this Board, or a licensee 
may utilize a load calculation carried out for this particular 

structure and location by a North Carolina Licensed Professional 
Engineer. 
(f)  When either a furnace, condenser, package unit or air handler 
in an existing residential heating or air conditioning system is 
replaced, the licensed HVAC contractor or licensed technician is 
required to perform a minimum of a whole house block load 

calculation. When a furnace, condenser, package unit or air 
handler in a residential heating or air conditioning system is 
replaced, the licensee shall ensure that all systems and equipment 
are properly sized. The licensee may utilize industry standards, 
reference materials, evaluation of the structure, and load 
calculations. A written record of the system and equipment sizing 

information shall be provided to the homeowner, owner or general 
contractor upon request and a copy shall be maintained in the job 
file of the licensee for a minimum of six years. If a load 
calculation was not performed or if a load calculation was 
performed and it is later determined by the Board that the unit 
installed was undersized or oversized, the installation will be 
considered as evidence of incompetence. Load calculations shall 

be performed by a licensee who holds the appropriate license from 
this Board, or a licensee may utilize load calculations carried out 

for this particular structure and location by a North Carolina 

Licensed Professional Engineer. 
(g)  A licensed plumbing contractor involved in installation or 
replacement of a well pump or pumping equipment which 
includes installation or reinstallation of a well seal shall be present 
on site until the well is disinfected and sealed. 
(h)  At the time of completion of initial installation and upon any 

subsequent alteration, licensees who install multipurpose 
residential fire sprinkler systems shall assure that the two most 
remote fire sprinkler heads, as identified by the design 
professional who designed the system, undergo a water flow test 
using at the designed water supply delivery volume and delivery 
pressure and assure that the system flows the required functions 

to deliver the amount of water through each of the tested fire 
sprinkler heads. heads specified by the design professional. 
Failure to carry out the flow test or failure of a system to provide 
the required volume or water when placed in operation due to fire 
or otherwise shall be considered evidence of misconduct and 
incompetence on the part of the installing licensee. 

 
Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-23; 87-26. 
 
21 NCAC 50 .0519 RESIDENTIAL FIRE 

SPRINKLER DESIGN CONTRACTOR LICENSE 

License as a Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor is 

required of persons who desire to design residential fire sprinkler 
Systems consistent with NFPA 13D Residential Multipurpose 
Fire Sprinkler System, who hold an active license as a Plumbing 
Contractor and as a Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation 
Contractor, but who do not hold a license as a Fire Sprinkler 
Installation Contractor. 

 
Authority G.S. 87-18. 
 

SECTION .1100 - FEES 

 
21 NCAC 50 .1101 EXAMINATION FEES 

(a)  An application to reissue or transfer a license to a different 
corporation, partnership or individual name requires a fee of 
twenty-five dollars ($25.00). thirty dollars ($30.00). 
(b)  An application to issue or transfer a license to the license of 
an existing licensee requires a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). 
thirty dollars ($30.00). 

(c)  An application for a license by examination requires a fee of 
one hundred dollars ($100.00), consisting of an application fee of 
twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and an examination fee of seventy-
five dollars ($75.00), which is nonrefundable. Upon passage of 
the examination, the license fee set forth in 21 NCAC 50.1102 or 
this Rule must be paid to obtain the license within 45 days of 

notification of the result of the examination, except that anyone 
passing the examination after November 1 of any year may elect 
to obtain a license for the following year rather than the year in 
which the exam was passed. 
 
Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-22.1; 87-22; 87-26. 
 

21 NCAC 50 .1102 LICENSE FEES 

(a)  Except as set out in this Rule, the annual license fee for 
plumbing, heating and fuel piping contractor licenses issued or 
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renewed by the Board is one hundred thirty dollars ($130.00). one 

hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 
(b)  The annual license fee for a licensed individual who holds 
qualifications from the Code Officials Qualification Board and is 
employed full-time as a local government plumbing, heating or 
mechanical inspector is twenty-five dollars ($25.00). 
(c)  The initial application fee for a license without examination 

conducted by the Board is thirty dollars ($30.00). 
(d)  The annual license fee for a contractor or fire sprinkler 
inspection technician whose qualifications are listed as the second 
or subsequent individual on the license of a corporation, 
partnership, or business with a trade name under Paragraphs (a) 
or (c) of this Rule is thirty dollars ($30.00). seventy-five dollars 

($75.00). 
(e)  The annual license fee for a Fire Sprinkler Installation 
Contractor and a Fire Sprinkler Inspection Contractor license by 
this Board is one hundred thirty dollars ($130.00). one hundred 
fifty dollars ($150.00). 
(f)  The annual license fee for a Limited Fire Sprinkler 

Maintenance Technician is one hundred thirty dollars ($130.00). 
one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 
(g)  The annual license fee for a Residential Fire Sprinkler 
Installation Contractor is one hundred thirty dollars ($130.00). 
one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 
(h)  The annual license fee for a Fire Sprinkler Inspection 

Technician is one hundred thirty dollars ($130.00). one hundred 
fifty dollars ($150.00). 
(i)  The annual license fee for all Fuel Piping Technician licenses 
listed with a Class A Gas Dealer is one hundred thirty dollars 
($130.00). one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 
(j)  The annual license fee for Plumbing, Heating or Fuel Piping 

Technician licensees listed under a licensed Plumbing, Heating or 
Fuel Piping Contractor is sixty-five dollars ($65.00). seventy-five 
dollars ($75.00) 
(k)  The annual license fee for a Restricted Limited Plumbing 
Contractor is one hundred thirty dollars ($130.00). one hundred 
fifty dollars ($150.00). 

Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21; 87-22. 

 
SECTION .1100 – FEES 

 
21 NCAC 50 .1106 PETITION FOR 

PREDETERMINATION 

(a)  An individual who wishes to file a petition for a 

predetermination of whether the individual's criminal history will 
likely disqualify the individual from obtaining a license from the 
Board shall submit a petition at the office of the Board. 
(b)  The petition shall include the petitioner's: 

(1) legal name; 
(2) mailing, physical, and email addresses; 

(3) social security number; 
(4) date of birth; 
(5) telephone number; 
(6) places of residence for the past seven years; 
(7) employment history since the date the crime 

was committed; 

(8) criminal record report prepared no more than 60 
days prior to the date of petition; 

(9) written statement describing the circumstances 
surrounding the commission of the crime(s); 

(10) written statement of any rehabilitation efforts; 
(11) rehabilitative drug or alcohol treatments; 

(12) Certificate of Relief granted pursuant to G.S. 
15A-173.2; 

(13) affidavits or other written documents, including 
character references, that the petitioner intends 
to submit for review; 

(14) certification; and 

(15) signature. 
(c)  The fee for a petition for predetermination shall be forty-five 
dollars ($45.00). 
 
Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93B-8.1. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 2, 2019 

971 
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that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 
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TITLE 01 - DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

 

01 NCAC 38 .0103 MILEAGE RATES 

Agencies shall reimburse the Department of Administration 
("Department") for the use of Motor Fleet Management Division 
("Division") vehicles at the end of each month at the rate set by 
the Department. This rate shall be set out in the assignment 
documents and based upon the total cost of ownership of the 

vehicle. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i; 
Eff. October 1, 1992; 
Readoption Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

01 NCAC 38 .0201 GENERAL REPAIRS AND 

MAINTENANCE 

(a)  The individual and Agency to whom the vehicle is assigned 
shall maintain and make any necessary repairs to Division 
vehicles. Maintenance shall include oil changes, tire rotations, 
transmission or engine service. 

(b)  Prior to any maintenance and repairs, the individual or the 
Agency shall have prior authorization by contacting the dedicated 
repair authorization line provided in the assignment document 
with the details of the maintenance and an estimate of the cost. 
(c)  Authorized charges for maintenance or repairs shall be billed 
to the Division for payment. The Division may invoice agencies 

for any unauthorized repair expenses when the repairs are 
conducted off the assigned maintenance schedule or are in 
addition to what is recommended by the Division for the vehicle. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i; 
Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readoption Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
01 NCAC 38 .0205 ACCIDENT REPORTING 

(a) A police report shall be obtained at the time of the accident by 
the local law enforcement on all accidents involving Division 
vehicles. 

(b) All accidents involving Division vehicles or other property 
damage, regardless of amount of damage, shall be reported by 

contacting the dedicated accident reporting agencies provided in 
the assignment documents. 

(c) All accidents involving personal injury to a third party or 
damage to a third party's property shall be reported to Traveler's 
Insurance Company at the contact information provided in the 
assignment documents. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i; 

Eff. November 2, 1992; 
Readoption Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
01 NCAC 38 .0302 REQUESTS FOR ASSIGNMENT 

OF VEHICLES 

(a)  Permanent Assignments. Requests for Division vehicles to be 

assigned to individuals or agencies shall be on the Division form 
and shall include: 

(1) contact information on the requesting 
individual and the Agency; 

(2) copy of a valid North Carolina driver's license; 
(3) description of the requesting individual or 

Agency's vehicle needs and planned usage; and 
(4) signature by the Agency's Director or his or her 

designee. 
(b)  "Special Use" Assignments. In addition to the requirements 
set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, written justification, 
verified by historical data shall be included on the official 

Division form for each "special use" vehicle assigned. All 
assignments of "special use" vehicles shall be reviewed and 
approved by the Secretary in accordance with G.S. 143-
341(8)(i)(5). 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
01 NCAC 38 .0305 REMOVAL OF VEHICLES 

FROM INDIVIDUAL AND AGENCY ASSIGNMENT 

Permanent vehicle assignment to individuals or agencies may be 

revoked if any of the following occur: 
(1) a conviction of G.S. 20 or other state motor 

vehicle laws in which the vehicle is traveling; 
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(2) any violation of G.S. 143-341(8)(i)(7a) is 

committed; 
(3) any vehicle abuse which may include not 

providing maintenance in accordance with the 
assigned maintenance schedule set for the 
vehicle, not providing repairs when needed, or 
destruction of the interior or exterior not due to 

the natural aging of the vehicle; and 
(4) any other violation of the rules of this Section. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i; 
Eff. October 1, 1992; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
01 NCAC 38 .0308 RETURN OF ASSIGNED 

VEHICLES 

(a)  Replacement vehicles shall be assigned by the Division as 
necessary based on mileage, time in service, economy and nature 
of use of each vehicle. 

(b)  If turn-in or replacement is required, all permanently assigned 
vehicles, including all keys, credit cards assigned to that vehicle, 
vehicle registration, travel log book, and any other materials 
issued by the Division, shall be returned to the Division Office. 
The Agency shall continue to be charged for the assigned vehicle 
until the vehicle has been received by the Division's Vehicle 

Assignment staff and all of the requirements of this Paragraph are 
met. 
(c)  The driver's Agency shall pay for all damages due to vehicle 
neglect, misuse or abuse. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
01 NCAC 38 .0401 OFFICIAL USE ONLY 

(a)  State-owned vehicles shall be driven only by state employees 
and used for official state business except in accordance with this 

Rule.  
(b)  An employee may drive the vehicle to and from his or her 
home when one or more of the following conditions exist: 

(1) by virtue of his or her position, the employee is 
entitled to use the vehicle and is so approved 
and authorized by the Secretary of 

Administration in accordance with IRS 
Publication 15-B herein incorporated by 
reference including subsequent amendments 
and additions. This document may be accessed 
at https://www.irs.gov/publications/p15b at no 
cost. 

(2) the employee is entitled to use the vehicle for 
commuting purposes in accordance with G.S. 
143-341(8)(i)(7a); 

(3) the employee's home is his or her official work 
station and the vehicle is parked at home when 
not being used for official business; or 

(4) the state-owned vehicle is required for a trip the 

following workday and employee's home is 
closer to the destination than the official work 
station, and the employee does not have to 

report to his or her work station before 

beginning the trip.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i; 
Eff. October 1, 1992; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
01 NCAC 38 .0407 RELATIVES 

No spouses and children of state employees may accompany them 
in state-owned vehicles. No family pets are permitted in 
state-owned vehicles. Service animals are excluded from this 

restriction. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i; 
Eff. October 1, 1992; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
01 NCAC 43A .0307 PUBLIC SALE 

Unless otherwise disposed of in accordance with G.S. 143-64.03 
or Rule .0305 of this Section, State Surplus Property shall be 
offered for public sale. Public sale is through sealed competitive 

bids, competitive bids, electronic bids, negative bids, auction, and 
retail sales.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 
Eff. June 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
01 NCAC 43A .0308 FIRST-COME FIRST-SERVED 

State surplus property shall be sold on a first-come, first served 
basis when: 

(1) the property is sold at a retail store to the 
general public; or 

(2) the property is transferred to state agencies, 
political subdivisions, or non-tax exempt 
organizations. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 
Eff. June 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
01 NCAC 43A .0309 REJECTION OF BIDS 

(a)  Any and all bids may be rejected if in the best interest of the 
state. 
(b)  Bids may also be rejected in whole or in part if: 

(1) The winning bidder has failed to pay for or pick 
up surplus property awarded; 

(2) The bid is submitted by an ineligible bidder 
pursuant to Rule .0315 of this Section; 

(3) The bid does not comply with the terms and 
conditions of the State Surplus Property 
Agency; 

(4) The bid is not legible or the information 
provided is inaccurate, incomplete or needs 
clarification; 
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(5) The bid does not comply with the requirements 

of the request and solicitation as set forth in the 
bid; or 

(6) Bid rejection is recommended by the State 
Capitol Police, State Bureau of Investigation, 
Federal Bureau of Investigation, or other 
Homeland Security entity. In such cases, the 

security entity must provide a written statement 
requesting rejection and that the 
recommendation is based on homeland security 
concerns. In the event of receipt of a security 
based bid rejection recommendation, the State 
Surplus Property Agency shall reject the bid 

without further supporting documentation. 
(c)  If a bid is rejected in whole or in part, State Surplus Property 
may: 

(1) re-advertise the property; 
(2) award the property to the next highest bidder 

from the initial bid; or 

(3) negotiate the sale of the property in the best 
interest of the State. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 
Eff. July 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
01 NCAC 43A .0310 RECEIPT OF BIDS 

The bidder shall ensure that the bid is received in the State Surplus 
Property Agency by the time and date set forth in the bid.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 

Eff. June 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
01 NCAC 43A .0311 INSPECTION OF PROPERTY 

(a) All property is sold "as is" and "where is." Bidders may inspect 
property prior to submitting bids. Opportunity shall be afforded 

for inspection up to the time a bid is awarded, but no labor or 
materials shall be furnished to a bidder for such purpose. 
(b) Photographs and descriptions are provided for the purpose of 
aiding the bidder to identify the property and shall not be used to 
determine quality or condition of the property. Descriptions by the 
custodian of the property shall not be considered by the State 

Surplus Property Agency nor shall they be grounds for disputing 
an award. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 
Eff. June 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
01 NCAC 43A .0312 STATE DOES NOT 

GUARANTEE 

(a)  The description of the property offered for sale is compiled 
from information available to the State Surplus Property Agency 
at the time the bid is prepared. All property is sold "as is" and 
"where is." 

(b)  State Surplus Property Agency may withdrawal the offer to 
sell prior to the award when in the best interest of the State. 

(c)  The winning bidder shall be responsible for any cost of 

weighing, packaging, crating, loading or hauling of property. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 
Eff. June 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

01 NCAC 43A .0313 REFUNDS 

(a)  No refund shall be made upon the following: 
(1) property not meeting the bidder's expectation; 
(2) bidder's failure to inspect prior to sale; or 
(3) change of condition of property from the time 

of award to the time of pickup. 

(b)  No refund shall be given unless a change in value has occurred 
from the initial inspection of the property until the time of the 
award as determined by the State Surplus Property Officer based 
on condition of the property. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 

Eff. June 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
01 NCAC 43A .0314 EXTENSION TO PAY OR 

REMOVE PROPERTY 

(a)  Extensions to pay or remove property shall be granted under 

the following conditions: 
(1) the purchaser's inability to pay or remove 

property is due to the actions or inactions of the 
State Surplus Property Agency or the custodian 
of the property; and 

(2) the State Surplus Property Officer determines 

that space is available to allow a delay in the 
removal of property. 

(b)  The purchaser shall not be eligible for refund for the change 
in the condition of the property as a condition of the extension. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 

Eff. June 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
01 NCAC 43A .0315 FAILURE TO PAY OR REMOVE 

PROPERTY 

(a)  Unless extended in accordance with Rule .0314 of this 

Chapter, if the bidder fails to pay in full for the property by the 
time and date indicated on the notice of award, the award shall be 
rescinded, and the defaulting bidder shall be charged with loss to 
the State, if any, together with all expenses of the sale. 
(b)  If the bidder does not remove the property purchased by the 
time and date indicated on the notice of award, the State Surplus 

Property Agency shall retain the purchase price, and resell the 
property a second time and retain all proceeds therefrom. 
(c)  Bidders who fail to pay shall be ineligible for award of future 
bids. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 143-
64.05; 

Eff. June 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 2, 2019 

978 

01 NCAC 43A .0316 BOND 

(a)  The selling entity or the State Surplus Property Agency may 
require performance bonds for the purchase of commodities when 
hazards to the environment may occur on property and require 
additional costs. 
(b)  The selling entity or the State Surplus Property Agency shall 
set the amount and terms of the bond based on an assessment of 

the property and estimated value. 
(c)  Selling agencies shall document the need for performance 
bonds. 
(d)  Selling agencies shall request a bond release from the State 
Surplus Property Agency once the requirements of the bond have 
been met by the bidder. 

(e)  Selling agencies shall submit a a letter verifying compliance 
with the terms of the bond to the State Surplus Property Agency 
for any refund in whole or in part of the performance bond. 
(f)  The State Surplus Property Agency shall make a determination 
on releasing the performance bond based on the bidder's level of 
compliance with the terms of the bond. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-53(a); 143-64.01; 143-
64.04; 143-64.05; 
Eff. June 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

01 NCAC 43A .0317 DEMOLITION OF STATE 

BUILDINGS 

(a)  The State Surplus Property Agency may, if in the best interest 
of the State, be responsible for bids and awards of contracts for 
the demolition of state buildings, including those of universities, 
hospitals, and other state entities. 

(b)  The State Surplus Property Office shall send a request for bid 
to any interested party upon request as well as to entities on a list 
maintained by the State Surplus Property Office. Request for bids 
may be sent to the State Surplus Office via mail, email, or through 
the online listserv request at https://ncadmin.nc.gov/citizens/state-
surplus-property/email-notifications. 

(c)  The owning entity shall submit a letter of approval pursuant 
to G.S. 143-341(4) from the Council of State regarding the 
demolition of a state building to the State Surplus Property 
Agency. 
(d)  The bidder shall obtain all necessary permits, insurances, 
licenses, performance bonds and other requirements to complete 

the demolition. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 143-
64.05; 
Eff. June 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
01 NCAC 43A .0318 TIMBER SALES, PINESTRAW, 

AND FOREST COMMODITIES SALES 

The State Surplus Property Agency shall dispose of timber, pine 
straw, and other forest commodities owned by state agencies 
through a public sale. A request for bid shall be sent to any 
interested party upon request as well as to entities on a list 

maintained by the State Surplus Property Office.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 

Eff. June 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
01 NCAC 43A .0319 SURPLUS WEAPONS AND 

FIREARMS 

(a)  With the exception of service side arms within the scope of 
G.S. 20-187.2, surplus weapons and firearms possessed by the 

North Carolina State Highway Patrol, North Carolina Division of 
Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice of the Department of Public 
Safety and the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation, may 
be sold through the State Surplus Property Agency to a federally 
licensed firearm dealer upon written request pursuant to G.S. 143-
63.1(d) to sell weapons on their behalf. 

(b)  The written request shall include the following information 
for each weapon: 

(1) description by make and model number; 
(2) serial number; and 
(3) any federal or state restrictions on the sale of 

non-firearm weapons. 

(c)  Surplus weapons and firearms sales shall be made by public 
sale in accordance with paragraph (b) or (d) of G.S. 143-63.1. 
(d)  The State Surplus Property Agency shall authorize the release 
of the weapons to the winning bidder upon receipt of the 
following information: 

(1) payment in full; 

(2) proof of identification; and 
(3) proof of eligibility which shall include: 

(A) a valid federal firearms license, if 
purchased pursuant to G.S. 143-
63.1(d); or 

(B) a notarized statement by the agency 

certifying the law enforcement need 
for the weapon, if purchased pursuant 
to G.S. 143-63.1(b). 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-63.1; 143-64.01; 143-
64.04; 

Eff. June 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
01 NCAC 43A .0320 PAYMENT 

(a)  All payments shall be in the form of cash, credit, debit, 
cashier's or certified check, postal money order, or other methods 

as approved by the Department of Administration Fiscal Officer 
which may include electronic payments. 
(b)  Payment for retail sales items shall be made at the time of 
purchase and shall be made at the retail site where the property is 
located. 
(c)  Payment in full for all purchases other than those made at a 

retail site shall be made by the time and date indicated on the 
notice of award and shall be made directly to the State Surplus 
Property Agency. 
(d)  Entities shall not accept payments on behalf of the State 
Surplus Property Agency. 
(e)  Extensions to pay or remove property shall be in accordance 
with 01 NCAC 43A .0314. 

(f)  No property may be removed by the bidder prior to full 
payment of the purchase price.  
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(g)  Entities shall not release property prior to verifying that 

payment in full has been made to the State Surplus Property 
Agency. Entities shall assume all responsibility related to the  
release. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 
Eff. June 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

 
TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 
10A NCAC 06S .0101 INTRODUCTORY STATEMENT 

Subchapter 06S contains standards for certification of adult day 
health programs, which are a type of adult day care, set forth in 
42 USC 3032c, and referenced in G.S. 131D-6.1(a). The standards 

relate to all aspects of operation of an adult day health program 
including administration, facility, and program operation. In order 
for payment to be made for adult day health services provided to 
individuals who are eligible for this service under Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act, the provider must be certified as meeting 
these standards. Certification shall be the responsibility of the 

adult day health program, the county departments of health and 
social services in accordance with G.S. 108A-14(a)(5), and the 
Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Aging 
and Adult Services. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153(2a); 

143B-153(6); 42 USC 3032c; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
10A NCAC 06S .0102 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  "Adult day health services" means the provision of an 
organized program of services during the day in a community 
group setting for the purpose of supporting an adult's personal 
independence, and promoting his or her social, physical, and 
emotional well-being. Services shall include health care services 
as defined in Rule .0403(a) of this Subchapter, different types of 

program activities designed to meet the individual needs and 
interests of the participants, and referral to and assistance in using 
community resources to meet the needs of the participant. This 
definition includes the provision of food and food services to 
provide a nutritional meal and snacks as appropriate to the 
program in accordance with 10A NCAC 06R .0502. 

Transportation to and from the service facility may be provided 
by the adult day health program. 
(b)  "Community group setting" means: 

(1) a day health center, which is a program 
operated in a structure other than a single family 
dwelling;  

(2) a day health home, which is a program operated 
in a single family dwelling limited to 16 adults;  

(3) a day health program in a multi-use facility, 
which is a day health center established in a 
building that is used at the same time for other 
activities, such as school or church; or 

(4) a combination program, which is a program 

offering both adult day care and adult day 
health services. 

(c)  In addition to Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, the 
definitions in 10A NCAC 06R .0201 shall apply. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153(2a); 

143B-153(6); 42 USC 3032c; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; August 1, 2002; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

10A NCAC 06S .0203 STAFFING PATTERN 

(a)  The staffing pattern in adult day health centers and homes 
shall be dependent upon the number of enrolled participants and 
the needs of the participants, in accordance with 10A NCAC 06R 
.0501. 
(b)  There shall be a minimum of one full-time equivalent staff 

position with responsibility for direct participant care for each five 
participants. In combination programs, there shall be a minimum 
of one full-time equivalent staff position with responsibility for 
direct participant care for each six participants. 
(c)  Substitute staff in accordance with 10A NCAC 06R .0305 
shall be used to maintain the staff-participant ratio and to assure 

supervision of the delivery of adult health care services whenever 
regularly scheduled staff are absent. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153(2a); 
143B-153(6); 42 USC 3032c; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
10A NCAC 06S .0204 STAFF REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Standards set forth in 10A NCAC 06R .0305(a), (b), and (d) 
shall be met by adult day health programs. 

(b)  The program director for adult day health programs with a 
capacity of 10 or fewer participants may also serve as the health 
care coordinator provided that the individual meets all the 
requirements set forth in 10A NCAC 06R .0305(d), Paragraph (c) 
of this Rule, and requirements in Rule .0203 of this Section. If 
requirements of 10A NCAC 06R .0305(d) and Paragraph (c) of 

this Rule are met, and the capacity is greater than 10 participants, 
the program director may serve as the substitute health care 
coordinator for no more than three consecutive weeks. 
(c)  Health Care Coordinator of Adult Day Health Programs: 

(1) Adult day health programs shall have a health 
care coordinator to coordinate the delivery of 

health care services and participate in direct 
care as specified in Subparagraph (c)(2) of this 
Rule. The health care coordinator shall be 
on-site a minimum of four hours per day and 
any additional hours necessary to meet the 
requirements for the provision of health care 
services to satisfy the participants' service plans 

as set forth in this Subchapter. 
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(2) The nursing responsibilities of the health care 

coordinator, consistent with the Nursing 
Practice Act, G.S. 90-171.19, shall include: 
(A) completing preadmission health 

assessment for initial acceptance into 
the adult day health program, 
including problem-identification and 

care planning; 
(B) implementing the health care 

components of the established service 
plan that include medication 
administration, wound care, enteral or 
parenteral feedings, bowel or bladder 

training and maintenance programs, 
tracheotomy care and suctioning, and 
delegating nursing care tasks to 
unlicensed personnel; 

(C) monitoring a participant's response to 
a medical treatment plan and nursing 

interventions and revising a 
participant's service plan as necessary; 

(D) reporting and recording results of the 
nursing assessment, care rendered, and 
the participant's response to care; 

(E) collaborating with other health care 

professionals and caregivers regarding 
provision of the participant's health 
care; 

(F) educating other staff members about 
emergency procedures and providing 
information to staff and caregivers 

about health concerns and conditions 
of the participants; 

(G) providing first aid treatment as 
needed; and 

(H) ensuring health and personal care 
services as outlined in 10A NCAC 06S 

.0403 are provided to participants 
consistent with the participant's 
service plans. 

(3) The health care coordinator: 
(A) shall be either a registered nurse or a 

licensed practical nurse licensed to 

practice in North Carolina; 
(B) if the health care coordinator is a 

licensed practical nurse, supervision 
shall be provided by a registered nurse 
consistent with the Nursing Practice 
Act and 21 NCAC 36 .0224 and .0225. 

These Rules are hereby incorporated 
by reference, including subsequent 
amendments. The licensed practical 
nurse shall also receive on-site 
supervision by a registered nurse as 
determined by the supervising 
registered nurse or at minimum every 

two weeks; 
(C) shall have knowledge and 

understanding of the physical and 

emotional aspects of aging, the 

resultant diseases and infirmities, and 
related medications and rehabilitative 
measures; 

(D) shall be at least 18 years of age; 
(E) shall present, prior to beginning 

employment, a written medical 

statement completed within the prior 
12 months by a physician, nurse 
practitioner, or physician's assistant, 
certifying that the employee has no 
illness or health condition that would 
pose a risk to others and ability to 

perform the duties assigned on the job; 
and 

(F) shall provide at least three reference 
letters or the names of individuals who 
can be contacted, one of which shall 
include previous employment 

verification. The individuals 
providing reference information shall 
have knowledge of the applicant 
health care coordinator's background 
and qualifications.  

(d)  Staff Responsible for Personal Care in Adult Day Health 

Programs. All adult day health program staff providing personal 
care shall present evidence of meeting the following 
qualifications prior to assuming such responsibilities: 

(1) completion of nurse's aide, home health aide, or 
equivalent training course; or 

(2) a minimum of one year of experience in caring 

for impaired adults. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153(2a); 
143B-153(6); 42 USC 3032c; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. September 1, 2007; July 1, 2007; May 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
10A NCAC 06S .0301 REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  General requirements governing facilities, construction, 
equipment, and furnishings for adult day care as set forth in 10A 
NCAC 06R .0400 shall apply to adult day health. 

(b)  Additional facility requirements are as follows: 
(1) Facility space shall be of sufficient dimension 

and size to allow for required program group 
activities. Notwithstanding the space 
requirements of 10A NCAC 06R .0401: 
(A) adult day health centers and adult day 

health homes shall provide at least 60 
square feet of indoor space excluding 
hallways, offices, and restrooms for 
each participant; 

(B) combination programs shall provide at 
least 50 square feet of indoor space 
excluding hallways, offices, and 

restrooms for each participant; and 
(C) adult day health programs or 

combination programs that share 
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space with other programs or activities 

in a multi-use facility shall have a 
nucleus area separate from other 
activities in the rest of the building and 
shall have a fire-resistant rated 
separation according to the North 
Carolina Building Code. The nucleus 

area must provide at least 40 square 
feet of indoor space per participant 
excluding hallways, offices, and 
restrooms, and a minimum of 20 
square feet per participant must be 
provided in other space in the facility 

designated for use by the adult day 
health program. When the other space 
is being used at the same time by 
individuals participating in other 
services provided in the multi-use 
facility, the 20 square feet per 

participant is in addition to any 
minimum square footage requirement 
for other use of such space. Shared 
facility space outside the nucleus area 
that may be used by the adult day 
health program and counted in 

meeting the 20 square feet per 
participant requirement includes craft, 
therapy, and other activity areas. 
Dining space may be included if also 
used for activities. Offices, restrooms, 
hallways, kitchens, and shared 

treatment rooms shall not be counted 
in meeting the 20 square feet per 
participant requirement. Participation 
shall be open only to persons enrolled 
in the program and to visitors on a 
planned basis, as referenced in 10A 

NCAC 06R .0510. Involvement of 
adult day health participants in other 
activities in the building shall be on 
planned basis, as part of the adult day 
health program plan, and supervised 
by an adult day health staff member. 

(2) Facilities shall have a minimum of one male 
and one female accessible toilet in accordance 
with the North Carolina Building Code. One 
toilet shall be available for each 12 adults, 
including staff and participants who utilize the 
facility. One hand lavatory shall be provided for 

each two toilets. 
(3) The facility shall have a minimum of one 

private office for staff use with equipment and 
furnishings for administrative purposes and for 
conferences with individual participants and 
families. 

(4) The facility shall include a treatment room that 

is enclosed and private from the rest of the 
facility. The treatment room shall meet the 
North Carolina State Building Code. The 

treatment room shall have a sink or have a 

doorway that connects it to a room containing a 
sink. The room shall contain a treatment table 
or bed with a waterproof mattress cover that 
will serve as a treatment table, storage cabinet 
for first aid and medical supplies and 
equipment, table or desk, and two chairs. The 

storage cabinet shall be kept locked. 
(5) The treatment room shall provide a means of 

ensuring the privacy of the person on the 
treatment table. 

(6) The treatment room shall have the following 
medical supplies and equipment: 

(A) first aid supplies consisting of 
absorbent compress, adhesive 
bandages, adhesive tape, antiseptic, 
burn treatment, medical exam gloves, 
sterile pads, and triangular bandage; 

(B) fever thermometer; 

(C) blood pressure cuff; 
(D) stethoscope; 
(E) medical scales, or scales that can be 

calibrated; 
(F) emesis pail or bag; 
(G) bed pan; 

(H) urinal; and 
(I) wash basin. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153(2a); 
143B-153(6); 42 USC 3032c; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2007. 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
10A NCAC 06S .0302 CONSTRUCTION 

REQUIREMENTS FOR DAY HEALTH HOMES 

The adult day health facility shall meet the standards set forth in 

10A NCAC 06R .0700. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153(2a); 
143B-153(6); 42 USC 3032c; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
10A NCAC 06S .0402 ADDITIONAL ENROLLMENT 

AND PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Adult day health programs shall serve persons 18 years of age 
or older who need adult day health services in order to support 
their independence and who require one or more of the following 

during the hours of the adult day health program: 
(1) Monitoring of a medical condition;  
(2) Provision of assistance with or supervision of 

activities of daily living; or 
(3) Administration of medication, special feedings, 

or provision of other treatment or services 
related to health care needs. For the purpose of 

this Rule, "special feedings" shall mean the 
enteral or parenteral nutrition provided through 
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a tube in the nose or stomach or through the 

veins intravenously. 
(b)  Adult day health programs shall not enroll or continue to serve 
persons whose needs exceed the capability of the program in 
accordance with 10A NCAC 06R .0501. 
(c)  Each participant's written service plan, in addition to the 
requirements set forth in 10A NCAC 06R .0501, shall include the 

health needs and the goals for meeting the health needs of the 
participant. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153(2a); 
143B-153(6); 42 USC 3032c; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; March 1, 1992; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
10A NCAC 06S .0403 HEALTH AND PERSONAL 

CARE SERVICES 

(a)  In adult day health programs, the following health care and 

personal care services shall be provided: 
(1) assistance with activities of daily living 

including feeding, ambulation, or toileting as 
needed by individual participants; 

(2) health care monitoring of each participant's 
general health and medical regimen. This shall 

include documenting the assessment of the vital 
signs, weight, dental health, general nutrition, 
and hygiene of each participant in accordance 
with 10A NCAC 06R .0501. When positive or 
negative health changes occur, the adult day 
care program staff shall notify the family, 

caretaker, or responsible party of the changes. 
The change in health status and notification 
shall be recorded in the participant's file; 

(3) assistance to participants and caregivers with 
medical treatment plans, diets, and referrals as 
needed; 

(4) health education programs for all participants 
on a monthly basis, and health care counseling 
tailored to meet the needs of participants and 
caregivers; and 

(5) first aid treatment as needed. 
(b)  Specialized services, such as speech therapy, physical 

therapy, and counseling, shall be facilitated by the adult day health 
program as ordered by a physician and as available through 
community services. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153(2a); 
143B-153(6); 42 USC 3032c; 

Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; March 1, 1992; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
10A NCAC 06S .0404 TRANSPORTATION 

For adult day health programs providing or arranging 
transportation, the standards of 10A NCAC 06R .0503 shall 

apply. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153(2a); 

143B-153(6); 42 USC 3032c; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; August 1, 2002; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

10A NCAC 06S .0405 EMERGENCIES AND FIRST AID 

Adult day health programs shall meet the standards set forth in 
10A NCAC 06R .0504. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153(2a); 
143B-153(6); 42 USC 3032c; 

Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
10A NCAC 06S .0501 PROCEDURE 

(a)  All individuals, groups or organizations operating or wishing 

to operate an adult day health program as defined by G.S. 131D-6 
shall apply for a certificate to the county department of social 
services in the county where the program is to be operated. 
(b)  A social worker shall provide technical assistance and shall 
conduct a study of the program using the Division of Aging and 
Adult Services form DAAS-6205, as set forth in 10A NCAC 06R 

.0601(b). 
(c)  The county department of social services shall submit the 
initial certification package to the Division of Aging and Adult 
Services. The materials and forms to be included in the package 
are: 

(1) program policies; 

(2) organizational diagram; 
(3) job descriptions; 
(4) Form 732a-ADS (Daily Rate Sheet) or the 

equivalent, as set forth in 10A NCAC 06R 
.0601(c)(4), showing planned expenditures and 
resources available to carry out the program of 

service for a 12 month period; 
(5) a floor plan of the facility showing 

measurements, restrooms and planned use of 
space; 

(6) Form DOA-1498 (Fire Inspection Report) or 
the equivalent, as determined by the local fire 

inspector, completed and signed by the local 
fire inspector, indicating approval of the 
facility, no more than 30 days prior to 
submission with the certification package; 

(7) Form DOA-1499 (Building Inspection Report 
for Adult Day Care Centers), DOA-1499a 

(Building Inspection Form for Adult Day Care 
Homes), or the equivalent, as determined by the 
local building inspector, completed and signed 
by the local building inspector, or fire inspector 
or fire marshal, if a building inspector is not 
available, indicating approval of the facility, no 
more than 30 days prior to submission with the 

certification package; 
(8) Form DENR-4054 (Inspection of Adult Day 

Service Facility), or the equivalent, as 
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determined by a local registered environmental 

health specialist, completed and signed by a 
local registered environmental health specialist, 
indicating approval of the facility, no more than 
30 days prior to the submission with the 
certification package; 

(9) written notice and the effective date if a 

variance of local zoning ordinances has been 
made in order for property to be utilized for an 
adult day health program; 

(10) a copy of the articles of incorporation, bylaws 
and names and addresses of board members for 
adult day health programs sponsored by a 

non-profit corporation; 
(11) the name and mailing address of the owner of 

an adult day health program; 
(12) a written medical statement from a physician, 

nurse practitioner, or a physician's assistant, 
completed within the 12 months prior to 

submission of the certification package, for 
each proposed staff member certifying absence 
of a health condition that would pose a risk to 
others and that the employee can perform the 
duties assigned to him or her on the job; 

(13) verification of standard first aid and cardio-

pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification for 
each proposed staff member who is physically 
able and who will provide direct participant 
care as defined in 10A NCAC 06R .0201. The 
requirements of 10A NCAC 06R .0504(d) shall 
be applicable to this Rule. 

(14) evidence of the completion of a Statewide 
criminal history records search for the past five 
years for the adult day health program owner 
and each proposed staff member who provides 
direct participant care, conducted by an agency 
approved by the North Carolina Administrative 

Office of the Courts; and 
(15) DAAS-6205 (Adult Day Health Certification 

Report). This form must be submitted by the 
county department of social services with a 
copy to the program. 

(d)  No more than 90 days prior to the end of the current period of 

certification, the county department of social services shall submit 
to the Division of Aging and Adult Service the following forms 
and materials that make up a certification package for the renewal 
of a certification. 

(1) Form DOA-1498 (Fire Inspection Report) or 
the equivalent, as determined by the local fire 

inspector, completed and signed by the local 
fire inspector, indicating approval of the 
facility, no more than 12 months prior to 
submission with the certification package; 

(2) Form DOA-1499 (Building Inspection Report 
for Adult Day Care Centers), DOA-1499a 
(Building Inspection Form for Adult Day Care 

Homes), or the equivalent, as determined by the 
local building inspector, when structural 
building modifications have been made during 

the previous 12 months, completed and signed 

by the local building inspector, or fire inspector 
or fire marshal, if a building inspector is not 
available, indicating approval of the facility, 
within 30 days following completion of the 
structural building modifications; 

(3) Form DENR-4054 (Sanitation Evaluation 

Report) or the equivalent, as determined by a 
local registered environmental health specialist, 
completed and signed by a local registered 
environmental health specialist, indicating 
approval of the facility, no more than 12 months 
prior to submission with the certification 

package; 
(4) a written medical statement from a physician, 

nurse practitioner, or physician's assistant for 
each staff member hired subsequent to the 
previous certification or recertification 
expiration date, certifying absence of a health 

condition that would pose a risk to others and 
that the employee can perform the duties 
normally assigned on the job; 

(5) an updated copy of the program polices, 
organizational diagram, job descriptions, 
names and addresses of board members if 

applicable, and a floor plan showing 
measurements, restrooms, and planned use of 
space, if any changes have been made since the 
previous certification package was submitted; 

(6) Form 732a-ADS (Daily Rate Sheet) or the 
equivalent showing planned expenditures and 

resources available to carry out the program of 
service for a 12 month period; 

(7) verification of standard first aid and cardio-
pulmonary resuscitation certification (CPR) for 
each proposed staff member who is physically 
able and who will provide direct participant 

care; 
(8) evidence of the completion of a Statewide 

criminal history record that complies with 
Subparagraph (c)(14) of this Rule; and 

(9) DAAS-6205 (Adult Day Health Certification 
Report). This form must be submitted with the 

certification package by the county department 
of social services to the Division of Aging and 
Adult Services at least 30 days in advance of the 
expiration date of the certificate, with a copy to 
the program. 

(e)  If during the study of the program it does not appear that all 

standards can be met, the county department shall send written 
notice to the applicant, stating the reasons the standards are not 
met, and shall give the applicant an opportunity to withdraw the 
application or remedy the defect by the deadline provided by the 
local department of social services.  
(f)  Following review of the certification package, a 
pre-certification visit for certification shall be made by staff of 

Division of Aging and Adult Services. 
(g)  Within 14 business days, the Division of Aging and Adult 
Services shall provide written notification to the applicant and the 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 2, 2019 

984 

county department of social services and local departments of 

health of the action taken after a review of the certification 
package and visit. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153(2a); 
143B-153(6); 42 USC 3032c; 
Eff. May 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; March 1, 1993; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
10A NCAC 06S .0508 PROCEDURE FOR APPEAL 

The requirements in 10A NCAC 06R .0806 shall apply to this 
Subchapter. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153(2a); 
143B-153(6); 42 USC 3032c; 
Eff. March 1, 1992; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

10A NCAC 06T .0201 NATURE AND PURPOSE OF 

STATE ADULT DAY CARE FUND 

(a)  The State adult day care fund shall be used for adult day care 
and adult day health services provided through county 
departments of social services for the purpose of enabling people 
to remain in or return to their own homes. 

(b)  The fund shall be used to increase state financial participation 
in the costs of this service. 
(c)  The maximum rate for the purchase of adult day care services 
under contract shall not exceed thirty-three dollars and seven 
cents ($33.07) per day, per client. The maximum rate for the 
purchase of adult day health services under contract shall not 

exceed forty dollars ($40.00) per day, per client. Adult day health 
services may only be purchased for an individual following a 
preadmission health assessment as specified in 10A NCAC 06S 
.0204(c)(2)(A) and a determination that the individual needs one 
or more services set forth in 10A NCAC 06S .0402(a). 
(d)  The maximum reimbursement rate for transporting an adult 

day care client to an adult day care program shall not exceed one 
dollar and fifty cents ($1.50) for a one-way trip. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); 143B-153(6); 
S.L. 1981, c. 1048; 
Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 27, 1994 for a period of 180 days 
or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 
sooner; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 1994; July 1, 1990; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 8, 1997; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
10A NCAC 14G .0101 DEFINITIONS 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-408; 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

10A NCAC 14G .0102 APPLICATION 

(a)  The terms defined in G.S. 90-405 shall have the same meaning 
in this Rule. 
(b)  "Applicant" means a health care provider that submits an 
application to the Director of the Division of Health Service 
Regulation requesting an exemption from G.S. 90-406. 
(c)  The application shall include the following information: 

(1) the name, mailing address, email address, and 
telephone number of the applicant; 

(2) a list of the designated health care services 
provided or to be provided by the applicant; 

(3) the name, mailing address, email address, and 
telephone number of the manager of the entity 

to which the applicant wants to make referrals; 
(4) a list of the owners of the entity to which the 

applicant wants to make referrals; 
(5) a list of the types of designated health care 

services provided or to be provided by the entity 
to which the applicant wants to make referrals; 

(6) evidence that there is a need for the proposed 
designated health care services in the county 
where the entity is or will be located; 

(7) evidence that alternative financing is not 
available from other sources to develop the 
entity to which the applicant wants to make 

referrals; and 
(8) a statement affirming that all health care 

providers located in the county where the entity 
is or will be located shall be offered access to 
the entity. 

(d)  Applications shall be: 

(1) mailed to the Office of the Director, Division of 
Health Service Regulation, Department of 
Health and Human Services, 2701 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; or 

(2) delivered in person to the Office of the Director, 
Division of Health Service Regulation, 

Department of Health and Human Services, 809 
Ruggles Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-408; 
Eff. April 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
10A NCAC 14G .0103 CRITERIA FOR AN 

UNDERSERVED AREA EXEMPTION - NEW ENTITY 

10A NCAC 14G .0104 CRITERIA FOR AN 

UNDERSERVED AREA EXEMPTION - EXISTING 

ENTITY 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-408; 
Eff. April 1, 1995; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

 
TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
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14B NCAC 16 .0110 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS  

(a)  If any registrant is charged with any criminal offense that 
would constitute grounds to deny, suspend, or revoke a license, 
registration, or certificate under this Chapter, the licensee, 
registrant, or certificate holder shall self-report the criminal 
charge to the Board either in person or by telephone no later than 
the first business day following knowledge of the charge. The 

licensee, registrant, or certificate holder shall provide a copy of 
the charging document and a written explanation to the Board 
within five business days. 
(b)  If any certificate holder is charged with any criminal offense 
that would constitute grounds to deny, suspend, or revoke a 
license or certificate under this Chapter, the certificate holder shall 

self-report the criminal charge to the Board either in person or by 
telephone no later than the first business day following the charge. 
The certificate holder shall provide a copy of the charging 
document and a written explanation to the Board within five  
business days. 
(c)  If a licensee, registrant, or certificate holder discharges a 

firearm while engaged in the private protective services business, 
the licensee shall notify the Board either in person or by telephone 
no later than the first business day following the incident. The 
licensee shall also file a written report to the Board within five 
business days of the incident. In the report, the licensee shall state 
the name of the individual who discharged the firearm, the type 

of weapon discharged, the location of the incident, the law 
enforcement agency investigating the incident, the events leading 
to the discharge of the firearm, and any bodily injuries occurring 
from the incident. This Rule shall not apply to a weapon that is 
discharged during a training course that has been approved by the 
Board. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 
Eff. February 1, 1995; 
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0112 Eff. July 1, 
2015; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
14B NCAC 16 .0805 ARMED SECURITY GUARD 

FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT IDENTIFICATION 

CARDS 

(a)  The provisions of 14B NCAC 16 .0705 shall apply to armed 
security guards. 

(b)  Upon termination of employment of an armed security guard, 
the employer shall return the employee's registration card to the 
Director of the Board within 15 business days of the employee's 
termination. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13; 74C-15; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1987; 
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0805 Eff. July 1, 
2015; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

14B NCAC 16 .0806 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an armed security guard firearm 
registration permit identification card or his or her employer shall 
complete a form provided by the Board. This form shall be 
submitted not more than 90 days nor fewer than 30 days prior to 

expiration of the applicant's current armed registration and shall 
be accompanied by: 

(1) two head and shoulders color digital 
photographs of the applicant in JPG format of 
sufficient quality for identification, taken 
within six months prior to submission and 

submitted by e-mail to PPASL-
Photos@ncdps.gov or by compact disc; 

(2) statements of any criminal record obtained from 
the reporting service designated by the Board 
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 
where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 
(3) the applicant's renewal fee; and 
(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 
Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 
record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected by the Private 
Protective Services Board. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal 
shall give the applicant a copy of the application that shall serve 
as a record of application for renewal and shall retain a copy of 
the application in the individual's personnel file in the employer's 

office. 
(c)  Applications for renewal shall be accompanied by a statement 
signed by a certified trainer that the applicant has successfully 
completed the training requirements of Rule .0807 of this Section. 
(d)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 
standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 
the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 
education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 
military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 
Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 
furnished to the Board. 

(e)  A registered armed security guard may utilize a dedicated 
light system or gun-mounted light for requalification. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13; 
Eff. June 1, 1984; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; October 1, 2010; December 1, 1995; 

February 1, 1990; December 1, 1985; 
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0806 Eff. July 1, 
2015; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; November 1, 2017; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
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14B NCAC 16 .0807 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ARMED SECURITY GUARDS 

(a)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 
permit shall first complete the basic unarmed security guard 
training course set forth in Rule .0707 of this Chapter. 
(b)  Private investigator licensees applying for an armed security 
guard firearm registration permit shall first complete a four-hour 

training course consisting of the courses set forth in Rule 
.0707(a)(1) and (2) of this Chapter and all additional training 
requirements set forth in that Rule. 
(c)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 
permit shall complete a basic training course for armed security 
guards which consists of at least 20 hours of classroom instruction 

including: 
(1) legal limitations on the use of handguns and on 

the powers and authority of an armed security 
guard, including familiarity with rules and 
regulations relating to armed security guards 
(minimum of four hours); 

(2) handgun safety, including range firing 
procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) handgun operation and maintenance (minimum 
of three hours); 

(4) handgun fundamentals (minimum of eight 
hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum of four hours). 
Subparagraph (c)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (c)(3), and 
Subparagraph (c)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 
applicant's participation in range firing. 
(d)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 
permit shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 

firearms range qualification course adopted by the Board and the 
Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 
Director's office. For rifle qualification all shots shall be located 
on the target. Should a student fail to attain a score of 80 percent 
accuracy, the student may be given three additional attempts to 
qualify on the course of fire the student did not pass. Failure to 

meet the qualification after three attempts shall require the student 
to repeat the entire basic training course for armed security 
guards. All additional attempts must take place within 20 days of 
the completion of the initial 20 hour course. 
(e)  All armed security guard training required by this Chapter 
shall be administered by a certified trainer and shall be completed 

no more than 90 days prior to the date of issuance of the armed 
security guard firearm registration permit. 
(f)  All applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 
permit shall obtain training under the provisions of this Section 
using their duty weapon and their duty ammunition or ballistic 
equivalent ammunition, to include lead-free ammunition that 

meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil of the 
duty ammunition, for all weapons. 
(g)  No more than six new or renewal armed security guard 
applicants per one instructor shall be placed on the firing line at 
any one time during firearms range training for armed security 
guards. 
(h)  Applicants for re-certification of an armed security guard 

firearm registration permit shall complete a basic recertification 
training course for armed security guards that consists of at least 
four hours of classroom instruction and is a review of the 

requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (c)(5) of 

this Rule. The recertification course is valid for 180 days after 
completion of the course. Applicants for recertification of an 
armed security guard firearm registration permit shall also 
complete the requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 
(i)  An armed guard registered with one company may be 
registered with a second company. The registration shall be 

considered "dual." The registration with the second company shall 
expire at the same time that the registration expires with the first 
company. An updated application shall be required to be 
submitted by the applicant, along with the digital photograph, 
updated criminal records checks, and a forty dollar ($40.00) 
registration fee. If the guard will be carrying a firearm of the same 

make, model, and caliber, then no additional firearms training 
shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the 
guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the 
guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 
the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 
make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 
both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 
score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 
(j)  To be authorized to carry a standard 12 gauge shotgun in the 
performance of his or her duties as an armed security guard, an 
applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements of 

Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of this Rule, six hours of classroom 
training that shall include the following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of shotgun 
(minimum of one hour); 

(2) shotgun safety, including range firing 
procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) shotgun operation and maintenance (minimum 
of one hour); 

(4) shotgun fundamentals (minimum of two hours); 
and 

(5) night firing (minimum of one hour). 
Subparagraph (j)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (j)(3), and 

Subparagraph (j)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 
applicant's participation in range firing. 
(k)  An applicant may take the additional shotgun training at a 
time after the initial training in this Rule. If the shotgun training 
is completed at a later time, the shotgun certification shall run 
concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Paragraph (j) of this Rule, applicants 
shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a shotgun 
range qualification course adopted by the Board and the Secretary 
of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the Director's office. 
(l)  Applicants for shotgun recertification shall complete one hour 
of classroom training covering the topics set forth in Paragraph (j) 

of this Rule and shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph 
(d) of this Rule. 
(m)  To be authorized to carry a rifle in the performance of his or 
her duties as an armed security guard, an applicant shall complete, 
in addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of 
this Rule, 16 hours of classroom training which shall include the 
following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of rifles (minimum 
of one hour); 
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(2) rifle safety, including range firing procedures 

(minimum of one hour); 
(3) rifle operation and maintenance (minimum of 

two hours); 
(4) rifle fundamentals (minimum of ten hours); and 
(5) night firing (minimum two hours). 

Subparagraph (m)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (m)(3), 

and Subparagraph (m)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to 
the applicant's participation in range firing. 
(n)  The applicant shall pass a skills course that tests each basic 
rifle skill and the test of each skill shall be completed within three 
attempts. 
(o)  An applicant may take the additional rifle training at a time 

after the initial training in this Rule. If the rifle training is 
completed at a later time, the rifle certification shall run 
concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 
requirements set forth in Paragraphs (m) and (n) of this Rule, 
applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 
rifle range qualification course adopted by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 
Director's office. 
(p)  Applicants for rifle recertification shall complete an 
additional one hour of classroom training covering the topics set 
forth in Paragraph (m) of this Rule and shall also complete the 
requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(q)  Upon written request, an applicant for an armed security guard 
firearm registration permit who possesses a current firearms 
trainer certificate shall be given a firearms registration permit that 
will run concurrent with the trainer certificate upon completion of 
an annual qualification with the applicant's duty firearms as set 
forth in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(r)  An armed security guard is required to qualify annually both 
for day and night firing with his or her duty handgun, shotgun, 
and rifle, if applicable. If the security guard fails to qualify on any 
course of fire, the security guard shall not carry the firearm until 
such time as he or she meets the qualification requirements. Upon 
failure to qualify, the firearm instructor shall notify the security 

guard that he or she is no longer authorized to carry the firearm 
and the firearm instructor shall notify the employer and the Private 
Protective Services Board staff on the next business day. 
(s)  A firearm training certificate of an armed security guard 
remains valid even if the guard leaves the employment of one 
company for the employment of another. The range qualifications 

shall remain valid if the guard will be carrying a firearm of the 
same make, model, and caliber and no additional firearms training 
shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the 
guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the 
guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 
the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 

make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 
and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 
both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 
score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 
However, nothing herein shall extend the period of time the 
qualification is valid. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13; 
Eff. June 1, 1984; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; February 1, 1990; July 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 14, 2002; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; October 1, 2010; June 1, 2009; 
February 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; 
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0807 Eff. July 1, 
2015; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; February 1, 2016; October 1, 
2015; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
14B NCAC 16 .0808 CONCEALED WEAPONS 

(a)  The Board does not have the authority to issue a Concealed 
Carry Permit. However, a licensee, trainer, or registrant who has 
complied with all provisions of G.S. 14, Article 54B and 

applicable rules adopted by the N.C. Criminal Justice Education 
and Training Standards Commission pursuant thereto and has 
been issued a current concealed handgun permit by a Sheriff may 
carry a concealed handgun after complying with the concealed 
handgun provisions for training and qualifications set forth in 
Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  A licensee, trainee, registrant, or firearms trainer shall comply 
with each of the following requirements to carry a concealed 
handgun while engaged in a private protective services business: 

(1) Hold a current Armed Security Guard 
Registration Permit by complying with all 
requirements for armed registration as 

prescribed in this Section. 
(2) Complete standards set forth by the N.C. 

Criminal Justice Education and Training 
Standards Commission to include knowledge of 
North Carolina firearms laws including the 
limitation on concealed handgun possession on 

specified property and within certain buildings. 
(c)  Upon application to the Board, a licensee, trainee, registrant, 
or firearms trainer meeting the requirements of this Section shall 
be issued a concealed handgun endorsement to the current Armed 
Security Guard Registration Permit for the term of the Armed 
Security Guard Registration Permit without additional permit 

fees, but any additional training costs necessary to comply with 
this Section shall be borne directly by the applicant. The 
endorsement shall be renewed at the time of the Armed Security 
Guard Registration Permit renewal pursuant to this Rule on 
payment of the armed security guard registration renewal fee and 
proof of possession of a current Concealed Handgun Permit. 

There shall be no additional fee for the concealed handgun 
endorsement renewal. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13; 
Eff. June 1, 1984; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1995 for a period of 180 

days or until the 
permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is sooner; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 1996; 
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0808 Eff. July 1, 
2015; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

14B NCAC 16 .0809 AUTHORIZED FIREARMS 

Armed licensees or registrants are authorized, while in the 
performance of official duties or traveling directly to and from 
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work, to carry a standard revolver from .32 caliber to .357 caliber, 

a standard semi-automatic pistol from .354 caliber to .45 caliber, 
any standard 12 gauge shotgun, or any standard semi-automatic 
or bolt action .223, .308, 5.56 X 45 mm NATO caliber, or any 
above handgun caliber rifle as long as the licensee or registrant 
has been trained pursuant to Rule .0807 of this Section. For 
purposes of this Section, a "standard" firearm means a firearm that 

has not been modified or altered from its original manufactured 
design. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13; 
Eff. June 1, 1984; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; June 1, 1993; November 1, 1991; 

July 1, 1987; 
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0809 Eff. July 1, 
2015; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 2016; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

14B NCAC 16 .0901 REQUIREMENTS FOR A 

FIREARMS TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Firearms trainer applicants shall: 
(1) meet the minimum standards established by 

Rule .0703 of this Chapter; 
(2) have a minimum of one year of experience in 

security with a contract security company or 
proprietary security organization, or one year of 
experience with any federal, state, county or 
municipal law enforcement agency; 

(3) attain a 90 percent score on a firearm's 
prequalification course approved by the Board 

and the Secretary of Public Safety, with a copy 
of the firearm's course certificate to be kept on 
file in the administrator's office; 

(4) to teach handgun qualification, complete a 
training course approved by the Board and the 
Secretary of Public Safety that shall consist of 

a minimum of 32 hours of classroom and 
practical range training in safety and 
maintenance, range operations, night firearm 
training, control and safety procedures, and 
methods of handgun firing; 

(5) to teach shotgun qualification, complete a 

training course approved by the Board and the 
Secretary of Public Safety that shall consist of 
a minimum of 12 hours of classroom and 
practical range training in shotgun safety and 
maintenance, range operations, night firearm 
training, control and safety procedures, and 

methods of shotgun firing; 
(6) to teach rifle qualification, complete a training 

course approved by the Board and the Secretary 
of Public Safety that shall consist of a minimum 
of 16 hours of classroom and practical range 
training in rifle safety and maintenance, range 
operations, night firearm training, control and 

safety procedures, and methods of rifle firing; 

(7) pay the certified trainer application fee 

established in Rule .0903(a)(1) of this Section; 
and 

(8) successfully complete the requirements of the 
Unarmed Trainer Certificate set forth in Rule 
.0909 of this Section. 

(b)  The applicant's score on the prequalification course set forth 

in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule is valid for 180 days after 
completion of the course. 
(c)  In lieu of completing the training course set forth in 
Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule, an applicant may submit to the 
Board a current Criminal Justice Specialized Law Enforcement 
Firearms Instructor Certificate from the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. 
(d)  In lieu of Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (4) of this Rule, an 
applicant may establish that the applicant satisfies the conditions 
set forth in G.S. 93B-15.1(a) for firearm instruction and two years 
of verifiable experience within the past five years in the U.S. 
Armed Forces as a firearms instructor. 

(e)  All applicants subject to Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall 
comply with the provisions of Subparagraph (a)(3), pay the 
application fee amount as set forth in Rule .0903 of this Section, 
and complete the eight-hour course given by the Board on rules 
and regulations. 
(f)  All applicants subject to Paragraph (d) of this Rule shall 

comply with the provisions of Subparagraph (a)(3) and complete 
the eight-hour course given by the Board on rules and regulations. 
No application fee shall be required. 
(g)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 
Chapter, an applicant for a firearms trainer certificate who is the 
spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall 

establish that the application satisfies the conditions set forth in 
G.S. 93B-15.1(b). No application fee shall be required. 
(h)  A Firearms Trainer Certificate expires two years after the date 
of issuance. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13; 93B-

15.1; 
Eff. June 1, 1984; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; October 1, 2013; December 1, 2008; 
January 1, 2008; August 1, 2004; November 1, 1991; 
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0901 Eff. July 1, 
2015; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2016; October 1, 2015; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
14B NCAC 16 .0904 RENEWAL OF A FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a firearms trainer certificate 

shall complete a renewal form provided by the Board and 
available on its website at www.ncdps.gov/PPS. This form shall 
be submitted not less than 30 days prior to the expiration of the 
applicant's current certificate and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) certification of the successful completion of a 
firearms trainer refresher course approved by 
the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety by 

shooting a score of 90 percent on the firing 
range and by completing classroom training 
consisting of a minimum of eight hours of 
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classroom and practical range training in safety 

and maintenance of the applicable firearm (i.e. 
handgun, shotgun, or rifle), range operations, 
control and safety procedures, methods of 
firing, and night firing. This training shall be 
completed within 180 days of the submission of 
the renewal application; 

(2) a certified statement of the result of a criminal 
records search from the reporting service 
designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74C-
8.1(a) for each state where the applicant has 
resided within the preceding 48 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee; and 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 
Services Board by the State Bureau of 
Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 
record checks performed by the State Bureau of 
Investigation, collected by the Private 
Protective Services Board. 

(b)  Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good 
standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 
to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 
the certification renewal fee and to complete any continuing 
education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 
military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 
furnished to the Board. 
(c)  Any firearms trainer who fails to qualify with the minimum 
score during the refresher course shall not continue to instruct 
during the period between the failure to qualify and the expiration 
of his or her permit. 

(d)  The holder of a firearms trainer certificate may utilize a 
dedicated light system or gun mounted light for personal 
requalification. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13; 
Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; October 1, 2010; June 1, 2009; 
December 1, 1995; December 1, 1985; 
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0904 Eff. July 1, 
2015; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; October 1, 
2015; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
14B NCAC 16 .0906 RECORDS RETENTION 

(a)  A Certified Firearms Trainer shall retain the following in each 
applicant's armed certification file: 

(1) a copy of the post delivery report listing the 

name(s) of individual(s) who qualified or 
attempted to qualify for armed security guard 
registration, and hour(s) of training, firearms 
qualification scores and any other information 
thereon; 

(2) a copy of the individual's Firearm Training 
Certificate; and 

(3) the individual's B-27 target and the Certified 
Firearms Trainer's Documentation Record. 

(b)  The individual's B-27 qualification attempt target shall be 

retained for a minimum of 18 calendar months from the date of 
each qualification attempt. Each B-27 target shall contain the full 
name of the individual that fired the qualification course of fire, 
the date that qualification attempt took place, and the printed 
name and signature of the private protective service Certified 
Firearms Trainer who scored the target and the score. The 

qualification target shall also show letter "N" or "D" to indicate if 
the qualification attempt was a day time ("D") or night time ("N") 
qualification attempt. The information required by this Paragraph 
shall be placed on the B-27 target in ink or permanent marker. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13; 

Eff. May 3, 1993; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 2008; 
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0906 Eff. July 1, 
2015; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

14B NCAC 16 .0909 UNARMED TRAINER 

CERTIFICATE 

(a)  To receive an unarmed trainer certificate, an applicant shall 
meet the following requirements: 

(1) comply with the requirements of Rule .0703 of 
this Chapter; 

(2) have a minimum of one year of experience in 
security with a contract security company or 
proprietary security organization, or one year of 
experience with any federal, state, county or 
municipal law enforcement agency; 

(3) complete a training course approved by the 

Board and the Secretary of Public Safety that 
shall consist of classroom instruction to include 
the following topic areas: 
(A) civil liability for the security trainer -- 

(minimum of two hours); 
(B) interpersonal communications in 

instruction -- (minimum of three 
hours); 

(C) teaching adults -- (minimum of four 
hours); 

(D) principles of instruction -- (minimum 
of one hour); 

(E) methods and strategies of instruction -
- (minimum of one hour); 

(F) principles of instruction: audio-visual 
aids -- (minimum of three hours); and 

(G) student performance -- (minimum 45 
minute presentation); 

(4) receive a favorable recommendation from the 
employing or contracting licensee or other 
individual with knowledge of the applicant's 
experience and teaching skills; and 

(5) submit the application required by Rule .0910 
of this Section, which is available on the 
Board's website at www.ncdps.gov/PPS. 

(b)  In lieu of completing the training course set forth in 
Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule, an applicant may submit to the 
Board: 
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(1) a Criminal Justice General Instructor 

Certificate from the North Carolina Criminal 
Justice Education and Training Standards 
Commission; or 

(2) any training certification that meets or exceeds 
the requirements of Subparagraph (a)(3) of this 
Rule and is approved by the Director of PPS. 

(c)  In lieu of the experience requirement of Subparagraph (a)(2) 
of this Rule and completing the training course set forth in 
Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule, an applicant may establish that 
the applicant satisfies the conditions set forth in G.S. 93B-15.1(a) 
for an unarmed trainer and two years of verifiable experience 
within the past five years in the U.S. Armed forces as an unarmed 

guard trainer. No application fee shall be required. 
(d)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 
Chapter, an applicant for an unarmed guard trainer certificate that 
is the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces 
shall establish that the applicant satisfies the conditions set forth 
in G.S. 93B-15.1(b). No application fee shall be required. 

(e)  The holder of an unarmed trainer certificate may teach as: 
(1) an employee of a licensed security guard and 

patrol business; 
(2) as a contractor of a licensed security guard and 

patrol business; and 
(3) in a program sponsored by a public high school 

defined by G.S. 115C-75(a)(2) or a community 
college defined by G.S. 115D-2(2). 

(f)  An Unarmed Trainer Certificate expires two years after the 
date of issuance. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-8; 74C-9; 74C-11; 93B-

15.1; 
Eff. October 1, 2004; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; January 1, 2013; January 1, 2008; 
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0909 Eff. July 1, 
2015; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

 
TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0101 GENERAL PROCEDURES 

(a)  The rules contained in Sections .0100, .0200 and .0300 of this 
Subchapter, which pertain to the series of classifications and water 
quality standards, shall be known as the "Classifications and 

Water Quality Standards Applicable to the Surface Waters and 
Wetlands of North Carolina." 
(b)  The Environmental Management Commission (hereinafter 
referred to as the Commission), prior to classifying and assigning 
standards of water quality to any waters of the State, shall proceed 
as follows: 

(1) The Commission, or its designee, shall 
determine waters to be studied for the purpose 
of classification and assignment of water 
quality standards on the basis of user requests, 
petitions, or the identification of existing or 
attainable water uses, as defined by Rule .0202 

of this Subchapter, not presently included in the 

water classification. 
(2) In determining the best usage of waters and 

assigning classifications of such waters, the 
Commission shall consider the criteria 
specified in G.S. 143-214.1(d). In determining 
whether to revise a designated best usage for 

waters through a revision to the classifications, 
the Commission shall follow the requirements 
of 40 CFR 131.10 which is incorporated by 
reference including subsequent amendments 
and editions. A copy of the most current version 
of the requirements is available free of charge 

at https://www.govinfo.gov. 
(3) When revising the classification of waters, the 

Division shall collect water quality data within 
the watershed for those substances that require 
more stringent control than required by the 
existing classification. However, such sampling 

may be limited to only those parameters that are 
of concern. If the revision to classifications 
involves the removal of a designated use, the 
Division shall conduct a use attainability 
analysis as required by the provisions of 40 
CFR 131.10.  

(4) After studies of the identified waters to obtain 
the data and information required for 
determining the revised classification of the 
waters or segments of water are completed, the 
Commission, or its designee, shall make a 
decision on whether to initiate proceedings to 

modify the classifications and water quality 
standards of identified waters.  

(5) In the case of a petition for classification and 
assignment of water quality standards 
according to the requirements of G.S. 150B-20 
and 15A NCAC 02I .0500, the Director shall 

make a preliminary recommendation on the 
appropriate classifications and water quality 
standards of the identified waters on the basis 
of the study findings or information included in 
the petition supporting the classification and 
standards changes. 

(6) The Commission shall make a decision on 
whether to grant or deny a petition in 
accordance with the provisions of G.S. 150B-20 
and 15A NCAC 02I .0500 based on the 
information included in the petition and the 
recommendation of the Director.  

(7) The chairman of the Commission shall give due 
notice of public hearings regarding water 
quality classifications or standards in 
accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 
131.20, 40 CFR 25.5, G.S. 143-214.1 and G.S. 
150B-21.2 and shall appoint a hearing officer(s) 
in consultation with the Director. 

(8) After completion of a public hearing regarding 
water quality classifications or standards, the 
hearing officer(s) shall submit a report of the 
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proceedings of the hearing to the Commission. 

The hearing officer(s) shall include in the report 
a transcript or summary of testimony presented 
at such public hearing, exhibits, a summary of 
information from the stream studies conducted 
by the technical staff of the Commission, and 
final recommendations as to classification of 

the designated waters and the standards of 
water quality and best management practices to 
be applied to the classifications recommended. 

(9) The Commission shall consider the provisions 
of G.S. 143-214.1, the hearing record(s), and 
final recommendation(s) of the hearing 

officer(s) before taking final action with respect 
to the assignment of classifications and any 
applicable standards or best management 
practices applicable as rule(s) to the waters 
under consideration. 

(10) The final action of the Commission with respect 

to the assignment of classification with its 
accompanying standards and best management 
practices shall contain the Commission's 
conclusions relative to the various factors in 
G.S. 143-214.1(d) and shall include the class or 
classes to which such designated waters in the 

watershed or watersheds shall be assigned on 
the basis of best usage in the interest of the 
public. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; February 1, 1993; August 3, 1992; 
August 1, 1990; 
RRC Objection Eff. July 18, 1996 due to lack of statutory 
authority and ambiguity; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0103 ANALYTICAL PROCEDURES 

(a)  Chemical/Physical Procedures. Tests or analytical procedures 
to determine conformity with standards shall, insofar as 
practicable and applicable, conform to the guidelines by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) codified as 40 CFR, Part 

136, which are hereby incorporated by reference including 
subsequent amendments and editions. A copy of the most current 
version of 40 CFR Part 136 is available free of charge at 
https://www.govinfo.gov. Methods not codified by 40 CFR, Part 
136 shall, insofar as practicable and applicable, conform to the 
American Public Health Association (APHA), American Water 

Works Association (AWWA), and Water Environment 
Federation (WEF) publication "Standard Methods for the 
Examination of Water and Wastewater" (20th edition), which is 
incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 
editions. The 20th edition is available for inspection at the 
Department of Environmental Quality, Division of Water 
Resources, 512 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 

27604-1170. A print copy of the most current edition of "Standard 
Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater" is 
available for purchase at a cost of three hundred and ninety-five 

dollars ($395.00) from the following places: APHA, 8001 Street, 

NW Washington, DC 20001; AWWA, 6666 W. Quincy Avenue, 
Denver, CO 80235; or WEF, 601 Wythe Street, Alexandria, VA 
22314. 
(b)  Biological Procedures. Biological tests to determine 
conformity with standards shall be based on methods published 
by the EPA as codified as 40 CFR, Part 136, which are 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 
editions. A copy of the most current version of 40 CFR Part 136 
is available free of charge at https://www.govinfo.gov.  
(c)  Wetland Evaluation Procedures. Evaluations of wetlands for 
the presence of existing uses shall be based on procedures 
approved by the Director. The Director shall approve wetland 

evaluation procedures that have been demonstrated to produce 
verifiable and repeatable results and that have widespread 
acceptance in the scientific community. Copies of approved 
methods or guidance may be obtained at no cost by submitting a 
written request NCDWR, Wetlands Branch, 1617 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1617. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1993; October 1, 1989; January 1, 
1985; September 9, 1979; 
RRC Objection Eff. July 18, 1996 due to lack of statutory 

authority and ambiguity; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0104 CONSIDERATIONS/ASSIGNING/ 

IMPLEMENTING WATER SUPPLY CLASSIFICATIONS 

(a)  In determining the suitability of waters for use as a source of 
water supply for drinking, culinary, or food processing purposes 
after approved treatment, the Commission shall consider the 
physical, chemical, and bacteriological maximum contaminant 
levels specified by U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
regulations adopted pursuant to the Public Health Service Act, 42 

U.S.C. 201 et seq., as amended by the Safe Drinking Water Act, 
42 U.S.C. 300(f) et seq. In addition, the Commission shall be 
guided by the requirements for unfiltered and filtered water 
supplies and the maximum contaminant levels specified in 15A 
NCAC 18C .1100, .1200 and .1500, which are incorporated by 
reference including subsequent amendments and editions.  

(b)  All waters used for water supply purposes or intended for 
future water supply use shall be classified to the most appropriate 
water supply classification as determined by the Commission in 
accordance with Sections .0100 and .0200 of this Subchapter. A 
more protective water supply classification may be applied to 
existing water supply watersheds after receipt of a resolution from 

all local governments having land use jurisdiction within the 
designated water supply watershed requesting a more protective 
water supply classification. Requests for reclassification of non-
water supply segments and watersheds to a water supply 
classification shall include submittal to the Commission of 
resolutions from all local governments having land use 
jurisdiction within the proposed water supply watershed for which 

a water supply classification is being requested, provided that the 
Commission may reclassify waters without the consent of local 
governments if the Commission deems such reclassifications 
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appropriate and necessary in accordance with Rule .0101 of this 

Section. Local governments requesting water supply 
reclassifications shall provide a topographic map (such as a 
1:24,000 scale USGS map) indicating the normal pool elevation 
for backwaters of water supply reservoirs, longitude and latitude 
coordinates of intended water supply intakes, and critical areas 
and other watershed boundaries as appropriate.  

(c)  In considering the reclassification of waters for water supply 
purposes, the Commission shall take into consideration the risks 
posed by pollutants and the relative proximity, quantity, 
composition, natural dilution, and diminution of potential sources 
of pollution. 
(d)  The water supply watershed protection requirements of Rules 

.0620 through .0624 of this Subchapter and G.S. 143-214.5 that 
are applicable to State agencies and units of local government 
with land use authority in water supply watersheds that were 
classified as such on or before August 3, 1992, shall be effective 
no later than: 

(1) August 3, 1992 - Activities administered by the 

State of North Carolina, such as the issuance of 
permits for landfills, NPDES wastewater 
discharges, and land application of 
sludge/residuals, and road construction 
activities; 

(2) July 1, 1993 - Municipalities with a population 

greater than 5,000; 
(3) October 1, 1993 - Municipalities with a 

population less than 5,000; and 
(4) January 1, 1994 - County governments and 

other units of local government, as applicable. 
(e)  The water supply watershed protection requirements of Rules 

.0620 through .0624 of this Subchapter and G.S. 143-214.5 that 
are applicable to State agencies and units of local government 
with land use authority in water supply watersheds that were 
classified as such after August 3, 1992, shall be effective no later 
than: 

(1) for activities administered by the State of North 

Carolina, such as the issuance of permits for 
landfills, NPDES wastewater dischargers, and 
land application of sludge or residuals, and road 
construction activities, the date the 
reclassification became effective; and 

(2) for local governments, the date the local 

watershed ordinance was adopted or revised to 
reflect the reclassification, but no later than 270 
days after receiving notice of a reclassification 
from the Commission. 

(f)  Discharge from groundwater remediation projects addressing 
water quality problems shall be allowed if an engineering 

alternatives analysis submitted for approval in accordance with 
15A NCAC 02H .0105(c) demonstrates that no practicable 
alternative exists to such a discharge. Such discharges shall meet 
applicable requirements of Rules .0212 through .0218 of this 
Subchapter. 
(g)  For previously unknown existing unpermitted wastewater 
discharges to surface water, an engineering alternatives analysis 

shall be submitted for approval in accordance with 15A NCAC 
02H .0105(c). If the analysis finds that no practicable alternative 
exists to surface water discharges, such discharges shall meet the 

"Minimum treatment requirements" as defined in Rule .0403 of 

this Subchapter. 
(h)  A more protective classification may be allowed by the 
Commission although minor occurrences of nonconforming 
activities are present prior to reclassification. When the 
Commission allows a more protective classification, expansions 
of existing wastewater discharges that otherwise would have been 

prohibited may be allowed if there is no increase in permitted 
pollutant loading. Other discharges of treated wastewater existing 
at the time of reclassification may be required to meet more 
stringent effluent limitations in accordance with Section .0400 of 
this Subchapter. Consideration of all practicable alternatives to 
surface water discharge shall be documented. 

(i)  Animal operations deemed permitted, as defined in 15A 
NCAC 02T .0103, and permitted under 15A NCAC 02T .1300 are 
allowed in all classified water supply watersheds. 
(j)  Local government water supply watershed ordinances for 
water supply classified watersheds shall be implemented in 
accordance with Rules .0620 through .0624 of this Subchapter. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 3, 1992; March 1, 1991; 
October 1, 1989; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0106 CONSIDERATIONS/ASSIGNING 

CLASSIFICATIONS FOR PRIMARY RECREATION 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1989; January 1, 1985; September 9, 
1979; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0108 CONSIDERATIONS IN 

ASSIGNING THE SHELLFISHING AREA 

CLASSIFICATION 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 
Eff. January 1, 1985; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1989; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0110 CONSIDERATIONS FOR 

FEDERALLY-LISTED THREATENED OR 

ENDANGERED AQUATIC SPECIES 

Certain waters provide habitat for federally-listed aquatic animal 
species that are listed as threatened or endangered by the U.S. Fish 

and Wildlife Service or National Marine Fisheries Service under 
the provisions of the Endangered Species Act, 16 U.S.C. 1531-
1544 and subsequent modifications. Maintenance and recovery of 
the water quality conditions required to sustain and recover 
federally-listed threatened and endangered aquatic animal species 
contributes to the support and maintenance of a balanced and 
indigenous community of aquatic organisms and thereby protects 

the biological integrity of the waters. Rules .0225 and .0227 of 
this Subchapter shall apply to the development of site-specific 
strategies to maintain or recover the water quality conditions 
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required to sustain and recover federally-listed threatened or 

endangered aquatic animal species. Nothing in this Rule shall 
prevent the Division or Commission from taking other actions 
within its authority to maintain and restore the quality of these 
waters. 
 
History Note: Authority G. S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.8A; 
Eff. August 1, 2000; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0201 ANTIDEGRADATION POLICY 

(a)  The requirements for the antidegradation policy and 

implementation methods in 40 CFR 131.12 are incorporated by 
reference including subsequent amendments and editions. This 
material is available for inspection at the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Division of Water Resources, 512 North 
Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27604-1170. A copy of 
the most current version of 40 CFR 131.12 is available free of 

charge at https://www.govinfo.gov. These requirements shall be 
implemented in North Carolina as set forth in this Rule. 
(b)  The Commission shall protect existing uses, as defined by 
Rule .0202 of this Section, and the water quality to protect such 
uses by classifying surface waters and having standards sufficient 
to protect these uses. In cases where the Commission or its 

designee determines that an existing use is not included in the 
classification of waters in accordance with Rule .0101(b)(1) of 
this Subchapter, a project that affects these waters shall not be 
permitted unless the existing uses are protected. 
(c)  The Commission shall consider the present and anticipated 
usage of waters with quality higher than the standards, including 

any uses not specified by the assigned classification (such as 
outstanding national resource waters or waters of exceptional 
water quality), and shall not allow degradation of the quality of 
waters with quality higher than the standards below the water 
quality necessary to maintain existing and anticipated uses of 
those waters. Waters with quality higher than the standards are 

defined by Rule .0202 of this Section. The following procedures 
shall be implemented in order to meet the requirements of this 
Rule: 

(1) Each applicant for an National Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) 
permit or NPDES permit expansion to 

discharge treated waste shall document 
non-discharge alternatives considered pursuant 
to 15A NCAC 02H .0105(c)(2). 

(2) Public Notices for NPDES permits shall list 
parameters that would be water quality limited 
and state whether the discharge will use the 

entire available load capacity of the receiving 
waters and may, as a result, cause more 
stringent water quality based effluent 
limitations to be established for dischargers 
downstream. 

(3) The Division may require supplemental 
documentation from an affected local 

government to show that a proposed project or 
parts of the project are necessary for important 

economic and social development under 40 

CFR 131.12. 
(4) Local governments shall have the option to 

work with the Commission and Division to 
identify and develop management strategies or 
classifications for waters with unused pollutant 
loading capacity to accommodate future 

economic growth. 
Waters with quality higher than the standards shall be identified 
by the Division on a case-by-case basis through the NPDES 
permitting and waste load allocation processes, pursuant to the 
provisions of 15A NCAC 02H .0100. Dischargers affected by the 
requirements of this Paragraph and the public at large shall be 

notified according to the provisions described herein and all other 
appropriate provisions pursuant to 15A NCAC 02H .0109. If an 
applicant objects to the requirements to protect waters with 
quality higher than the standards and believes degradation is 
necessary to accommodate important social and economic 
development, the applicant may contest these requirements 

according to the provisions of G.S. 143-215.1(e) and 150B-23. 
(d)  The Commission shall consider the present and anticipated 
uses of High Quality Waters (HQW), including any uses not 
specified by the assigned classification (such as outstanding 
national resource waters or waters of exceptional water quality) 
and shall not allow degradation of the quality of High Quality  

Waters below the water quality necessary to maintain existing and 
anticipated uses of those waters pursuant to Rule .0224 of this 
Section.  
(e)  The water quality of waters classified as Outstanding 
Resource Waters (ORW), as described in Rule .0225 of this 
Section, shall be maintained such that existing uses, including the 

outstanding resource values of said Outstanding Resource Waters, 
are maintained and protected. 
(f)  Activities regulated under Section 404 of the federal Clean 
Water Act 33 U.S.C. 1344 that require a water quality certification 
as described in Section 401 of the federal Clean Water Act 33 
U.S.C. 1341 shall be evaluated according to the procedures 

outlined in 15A NCAC 02H .0500. Activities that receive a water 
quality certification pursuant to the procedures in 15A NCAC 
02H .0500 shall not be considered to remove existing uses. The 
evaluation of permits issued pursuant to G.S. 143-215.1 that 
involve the assimilation of wastewater or stormwater by wetlands 
shall incorporate the criteria found in 15A NCAC 02H .0506(c)(1) 

through (5) in determining the potential impact of the proposed 
activity on the existing uses of the wetland as described in Rule  
.0231(a) of this Section. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 
143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; August 1, 1995; February 1, 1993; 
April 1, 1991; August 1, 1990; 
RRC Objection Eff. July 18, 1996 due to lack of statutory 
authority and ambiguity; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019.  
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15A NCAC 02B .0202 DEFINITIONS 

The definition of any word or phrase used in this Section shall be 
the same as given in G.S. 143, Article 21. The following words 
and phrases, which are not defined in this article, shall be 
interpreted as follows: 

(1) "Acute toxicity to aquatic life" means lethality 
or other harmful effects sustained by either 

resident aquatic populations or indicator 
species used as test organisms in a controlled 
toxicity test due to a short-term exposure 
(relative to the life cycle of the organism) of 96 
hours or less to a specific chemical or mixture 
of chemicals (as in an effluent). Acute toxicity 

shall be determined using the following 
procedures: 
(a) for specific chemical constituents or 

compounds, acceptable levels shall be 
equivalent to a concentration of 
one-half or less of the Final Acute 

Value (FAV) as determined according 
to "Guidelines for Deriving Numerical 
Water Quality Criteria for the 
Protection of Aquatic Life and its 
Uses" published by the Environmental 
Protection Agency and referenced in 

the Federal Register (50 FR 30784, 
July 29, 1985) which is incorporated 
by reference including subsequent 
amendments and editions. 

(b) for specific chemical constituents or 
compounds for which values 

described under Sub-Item (a) of this 
Item cannot be determined, acceptable 
levels shall be equivalent to a 
concentration of one-third or less of 
the lowest available LC50 value. 

(c) for effluents, acceptable levels shall be 

defined as no statistically measurable 
lethality (99 percent confidence level 
using Student's t-test) during a 
specified exposure period. 
Concentrations of exposure shall be 
based on permit requirements and 

procedures in accordance with 15A 
NCAC 02H .1110. 

(d) in instances where detailed dose 
response data indicate that levels of 
acute toxicity are different from those 
defined in this Rule, the Director may 

determine on a case-by-case basis an 
alternate acceptable level through 
statistical analyses of the dose 
response in accordance with 15A 
NCAC 02H .1110. 

(2) "Acute to Chronic Ratio" or "ACR" means the 
ratio of acute toxicity expressed as an LC50 for 

a specific toxicant or an effluent to the chronic 
value for the same toxicant or effluent. 

(3) "Agricultural uses" means the use of waters for 

stock watering, irrigation, and other farm 
purposes. 

(4) "Applicator" means any person, firm, 
corporation, wholesaler, retailer, or distributor; 
any local, State, or federal governmental 
agency; or any other person who applies 

fertilizer to the land of a consumer or client or 
to land that they own, lease, or otherwise hold 
rights. 

(5) "Approved treatment," as applied to water 
supplies, means treatment approved by the 
Division in accordance with 15A NCAC 18C 

.0301 through .0309, as authorized by G.S. 
130A-315 and G.S. 130A-317. 

(6) "Attainable water uses" means uses that can be 
achieved by the imposition of effluent limits 
and cost effective and reasonable best 
management practices (BMP) for nonpoint 

source control. 
(7) "Average" means the arithmetical average of 

the analytical results of all representative 
samples taken under prevailing environmental 
conditions during a specified period (for 
example: daily, weekly, or monthly).  

(8) "Best Management Practice" or "BMP" means 
a structural or nonstructural management-based 
practice used singularly or in combination to 
reduce point source or nonpoint source inputs 
to receiving waters in order to achieve water 
quality protection goals. 

(9) "Best usage" or "Best use" of waters, as 
specified for each class, means those uses as 
determined by the Environmental Management 
Commission in accordance with the provisions 
of G.S. 143-214.1. 

(10) "Bioaccumulation factor" or "BAF" means a 

unitless value that describes the degree to which 
substances are taken up or accumulated into 
tissues of aquatic organisms from water directly 
and from food or other ingested materials 
containing the accumulated substances, and is 
measured as a ratio of a substance's 

concentration in tissue versus its concentration 
in water in situations where exposure to the 
substance occurs from both water and the food 
chain. 

(11) "Bioconcentration factor" or "BCF" means a 
unitless value that describes the degree to which 

substances are absorbed or concentrated into 
tissues of aquatic organisms from water directly 
and is measured as a ratio of substance's 
concentration in tissue versus its concentration 
in water in situations where exposure to the 
substance occurs from water only. 

(12) "Biological integrity" means the ability of an 

aquatic ecosystem to support and maintain a 
balanced and indigenous community of 
organisms having species composition, 
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diversity, population densities, and functional 

organization similar to that of reference 
conditions. 

(13) "Buffer" means a natural or vegetated area 
through which stormwater runoff flows in a 
diffuse manner so that the runoff does not 
become channelized and which provides for 

infiltration of the runoff and filtering of 
pollutants.  

(14) "Chronic toxicity to aquatic life" means any 
harmful effect sustained by either resident 
aquatic populations or indicator species used as 
test organisms in a controlled toxicity test due 

to long-term exposure (relative to the life cycle 
of the organism) or exposure during a 
substantial portion of the duration of a sensitive 
period of the life cycle to a specific chemical 
substance or mixture of chemicals (as in an 
effluent). In absence of extended periods of 

exposure, early life stage or reproductive 
toxicity tests may be used to define chronic 
impacts. 

(15) "Chronic value for aquatic life" means the 
geometric mean of two concentrations 
identified in a controlled toxicity test as the No 

Observable Effect Concentration (NOEC) and 
the Lowest Observable Effect Concentration 
(LOEC). 

(16) "Commercial applicator" means any person, 
firm, corporation, wholesaler, retailer, 
distributor, or any other person who for hire or 

compensation applies fertilizer to the land of a 
consumer or client. 

(17) "Concentration" means the mass of a substance 
per volume of water and, for the purposes of 
this Section, shall be expressed as milligrams 
per liter (mg/l), micrograms per liter (ug/l), or 

nanograms per liter (ng/l). 
(18) "Contiguous" means those wetlands landward 

of the mean high water line or normal water 
level and within 575 feet of classified surface 
waters that appear as solid blue lines on the 
most recently published versions of U.S.G.S. 

1:24,000 (7.5 minute) scale topographic maps, 
which are available at no cost at 
http://www.usgs.gov/pubprod/. 

(19) "Critical area" means the area adjacent to a 
water supply intake or reservoir where risk 
associated with pollution is greater than risk 

associated with pollution from the remaining 
portions of the watershed. The boundary of a 
critical area is defined as: 
(a) extending either 1/2 mile in a straight 

line fashion upstream from and 
draining to the normal pool elevation 
of the reservoir in which the intake is 

located or to the ridge line of the 
watershed, whichever is nearest the 
normal pool elevation of the reservoir;  

(b) extending either 1/2 mile in a straight 

line fashion upstream from and 
draining to the intake (or other 
appropriate downstream location 
associated with the water supply) 
located directly in the stream or river 
(run-of-the-river) or to the ridge line of 

the watershed, whichever is nearest 
the intake; or  

(c) extending a different distance from the 
reservoir or intake as adopted by the 
Commission during the 
reclassification process pursuant to 

Rule .0104 of this Subchapter. 
Since WS-I watersheds are essentially 

undeveloped, establishment of a 
critical area is not required. 

(20) "Cropland" means agricultural land that is not 
covered by a certified animal waste 

management plan and is used for growing corn, 
grains, oilseed crops, cotton, forages, tobacco, 
beans, or other vegetables or fruits. 

(21) "Designated Nonpoint Source Agency" means 
an agency specified by the Governor in the 
North Carolina Nonpoint Source Management 

Program, as approved by the Environmental 
Protection Agency pursuant to the 1987 
amendments to the federal Clean Water Act 33 
U.S.C. 1329 that established Section 319 
Nonpoint source management programs. 

(22) "Director" means the Director of the Division. 

(23) "Discharge" means the addition of any 
man-induced waste effluent either directly or 
indirectly to State surface waters. 

(24) "Division" means the Division of Water 
Resources or its successors. 

(25) "Domestic wastewater discharge" means the 

discharge of sewage, non-process industrial 
wastewater, other domestic wastewater, or any 
combination of these items. Domestic 
wastewater includes, but is not limited to, liquid 
waste generated by domestic water using 
fixtures and appliances from any residence, 

place of business, or place of public assembly, 
even if it contains no sewage. Examples of 
domestic wastewater include once-through 
non-contact cooling water, seafood packing 
facility discharges, and wastewater from 
restaurants. 

(26) "Effluent channel" means a discernable 
confined and discrete conveyance that is used 
for transporting treated wastewater to a 
receiving stream or other body of water, as 
provided in Rule .0228 of this Section. 

(27) "Existing uses" mean uses actually attained in 
the water body on or after November 28, 1975, 

whether or not they are included in the water 
quality standards. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 2, 2019 

996 

(28) "Fertilizer" means any substance containing 

nitrogen or phosphorus that is used primarily as 
plant food. 

(29) "Fishing" means the taking of fish by 
recreational or commercial methods, the 
consumption of fish or shellfish, the 
propagation of fish, or the propagation of other 

aquatic life as is necessary to protect the 
biological integrity of the environment for fish. 

(30) "Forest vegetation" means the plants of an area 
that grow in disturbed or undisturbed 
conditions in wooded plant communities in any 
combination of trees, saplings, shrubs, vines, 

and herbaceous plants, including mature and 
successional forests and cutover stands. 

(31) "Freshwater" means all waters that under 
natural conditions have a chloride ion content 
of 500 mg/l or less. 

(32) "Industrial discharge" means the discharge of 

industrial process treated wastewater or 
wastewater other than sewage. Stormwater 
shall not be considered to be an industrial 
wastewater unless it is contaminated with 
industrial wastewater. Industrial discharge 
includes: 

(a) wastewater resulting from any process 
of industry or manufacture or from the 
development of any natural resource; 

(b) wastewater resulting from processes 
of trade or business, including 
wastewater from laundromats and car 

washes, but not wastewater from 
restaurants; and 

(c) wastewater discharged from a 
municipal wastewater treatment plant 
requiring a pretreatment program. 

(33) "Land-disturbing activity" means any use of the 

land that results in a change in the natural cover 
or topography that may cause or contribute to 
sedimentation. 

(34) "LC50" means that concentration of a toxic 
substance that is lethal or immobilizing to 50 
percent of the sensitive aquatic toxicity testing 

species tested during a specified exposure 
period, as required by NPDES permit, under 
aquatic conditions characteristic of the 
receiving waters. Sensitive species for aquatic 
toxicity testing is defined by Subparagraph (50) 
of this Rule. 

(35) "Local government" means a city or county in 
singular or plural as defined in G.S. 160A-1(2) 
and G.S. 158A-10. 

(36) "Lower piedmont and coastal plain waters" 
means those waters of the Catawba River Basin 
below Lookout Shoals Dam; the Yadkin River 
Basin below the junction of the Forsyth, 

Yadkin, and Davie County lines; and all of the 
waters of Cape Fear, Lumber, Roanoke, Neuse, 
Tar-Pamlico, Chowan, Pasquotank, and White 

Oak River Basins; except tidal salt waters 

which are assigned S classifications. 
(37) "MF" means the membrane filter procedure for 

bacteriological analysis. 
(38) "Mixing zone" means a region of the receiving 

water in the vicinity of a discharge within which 
dispersion and dilution of constituents in the 

discharge occurs. Zones shall be subject to 
conditions established in accordance with Rule 
.0204(b) of this Section. 

(39) "Mountain and upper piedmont waters" means 
all of the waters of the Hiwassee; Little 
Tennessee, including the Savannah River 

drainage area; French Broad; Broad; New; and 
Watauga River Basins; and those portions of 
the Catawba River Basin above Lookout Shoals 
Dam and the Yadkin River Basin above the 
junction of the Forsyth, Yadkin, and Davie 
County lines. 

(40) "Nonpoint source pollution" means pollution 
that enters waters mainly as a result of 
precipitation and subsequent runoff from lands 
that have been disturbed by man's activities and 
includes all sources of water pollution that are 
not required to have a permit in accordance with 

G.S. 143-215.1(c). 
(41) "Non-process discharge" means industrial 

effluent not directly resulting from the 
manufacturing process. An example is 
non-contact cooling water from a compressor. 

(42) "Offensive condition" means any condition or 

conditions resulting from the presence of 
sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes 
within the waters of the State or along the 
shorelines thereof that shall either directly or 
indirectly cause foul or noxious odors, 
unsightly conditions, or breeding of abnormally 

large quantities of mosquitoes or other insect 
pests; damage private or public water supplies 
or other structures; result in the development of 
gases which destroy or damage surrounding 
property, herbage or grasses; cause the 
impairment of taste such as from fish flesh 

tainting; or affect the health of any person 
residing or working in the area. 

(43) "Primary contact recreation" means swimming, 
diving, skiing, and similar uses involving 
human body contact with water where such 
activities take place in an organized or on a 

frequent basis. 
(44) "Primary nursery area" or "PNA" means tidal 

saltwaters that provide essential habitat for the 
early development of commercially important 
fish and shellfish and are so designated by the 
Marine Fisheries Commission. 

(45) "Protected area" means the area adjoining and 

upstream of the critical area in a WS-IV water 
supply in which protection measures are 
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required. The boundary of a protected area is 

defined as: 
(a) extending either five miles in an as-

the-river-runs manner upstream from 
and draining to the normal pool 
elevation of the reservoir in which the 
intake is located or to the ridge line of 

the watershed, whichever is nearest 
the normal pool elevation of the 
reservoir;  

(b) extending either 10 miles in an as-the-
river-runs manner upstream from and 
draining to the intake located directly 

in the stream or river run-of-the-river 
or to the ridge line of the watershed, 
whichever is nearest the intake. In 
some cases the protected area shall 
encompass the entire watershed; or 

(c) extending a different distance from the 

reservoir or intake as adopted by the 
Commission during the 
reclassification process pursuant to 
Rule .0104 of this Subchapter. 

(46) "Residential development" means buildings for 
residence such as attached and detached single 

family dwellings, apartment complexes, 
condominiums, townhouses, cottages, and their 
associated outbuildings such as garages, 
storage buildings, and gazebos. 

(47) "Residuals" has the same meaning as in 15A 
NCAC 02T .0103. 

(48) "Riparian area" means an area that is adjacent 
to a body of water. 

(49) "Secondary contact recreation" means wading, 
boating, other uses not involving human body 
contact with water, and activities involving 
human body contact with water where such 

activities take place on an infrequent, 
unorganized, or incidental basis. 

(50) "Sensitive species for aquatic toxicity testing" 
means any species utilized in procedures 
accepted by the Commission or its designee in 
accordance with Rule .0103 of this Subchapter, 

and the following genera: 
(a) Daphnia; 
(b) Ceriodaphnia; 
(c) Salmo; 
(d) Pimephales; 
(e) Mysidopsis; 

(f) Champia; 
(g) Cyprinodon; 
(h) Arbacia; 
(i) Penaeus; 
(j) Menidia; 
(k) Notropis; 
(l) Salvelinus; 

(m) Oncorhynchus; 
(n) Selenastrum; 
(o) Chironomus; 

(p) Hyalella; 

(q) Lumbriculus. 
(51) "Shellfish culture" means the use of waters for 

the propagation, storage, and gathering of 
oysters, clams, and other shellfish for market 
purposes. 

(52) "Swamp waters" means those waters that are 

classified as such by the Environmental 
Management Commission, pursuant to Rule 
.0101 of this Subchapter, and that have natural 
characteristics due to topography, such as low 
velocity, dissolved oxygen, or pH, that are 
different from streams draining steeper 

topography. 
(53) "Tidal salt waters" means all waters that have a 

natural chloride ion content in excess of 500 
parts per million. 

(54) "Toxic substance" or "Toxicant" means any 
substance or combination of substances 

(including disease-causing agents) that, after 
discharge and upon exposure, ingestion, 
inhalation, or assimilation into any organism, 
either directly from the environment or 
indirectly by ingestion through food chains, has 
the potential to cause death, disease, behavioral 

abnormalities, cancer, genetic mutations, 
physiological malfunctions (including 
malfunctions or suppression in reproduction or 
growth), or physical deformities in such 
organisms or their offspring. 

(55) "Trout waters" means those waters that are 

classified as such by the Environmental 
Management Commission, pursuant to Rule 
.0101 of this Subchapter, and have conditions 
that sustain and allow for natural trout 
propagation and survival and for year-round 
maintenance of stocked trout. 

(56) "Water dependent structures" means those 
structures that require access or proximity to or 
siting within surface waters to fulfill its 
purpose, such as boat ramps, boat houses, 
docks, and bulkheads. Ancillary facilities such 
as restaurants, outlets for boat supplies, parking 

lots, and commercial boat storage areas are not 
water dependent structures. 

(57) "Water quality based effluent limits (or 
limitations) and management practices" mean 
limits and practices developed by the Division 
to protect water quality standards and best uses 

of surface waters, consistent with the 
requirements of G.S. 143-214.1 and the federal 
Water Pollution Control Act, as amended. 

(58) "Waters with quality higher than the standards" 
means waters that the Director determines 
(pursuant to Rule .0206 of this Section) have 
the capacity to receive additional pollutant 

loading and continue to meet applicable water 
quality standards. 
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(59) "Watershed" means a natural area of drainage, 

including all tributaries contributing to the 
supply of at least one major waterway within 
the State, the specific limits of each separate 
watershed to be designated by the Commission 
as defined by G.S. 143-213(21).  

(60) "WER" or "Water effect ratio" expresses the 

difference between the measures of the toxicity 
of a substance in laboratory waters and the 
toxicity in site water. 

(61) "Wetlands" are "waters" as defined by G.S. 
143-212(6) that are inundated or saturated by an 
accumulation of surface or ground water at a 

frequency and duration sufficient to support, 
and that under normal circumstances do 
support, a prevalence of vegetation typically 
adapted for life in saturated soil conditions. 
Wetlands do not include prior converted 
cropland as defined in the National Food 

Security Act Manual, Fifth Edition, which is 
hereby incorporated by reference, not including 
subsequent amendments and editions, and is 
available free of charge at 
https://directives.sc.egov.usda.gov/RollupVie
wer.aspx?hid=29340.  

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-213; 143-214.1; 
143-215.3(a)(1);  
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; February 1, 1993; August 3, 1992; 
August 1, 1990; 

RRC Objection Eff. July 18, 1996 due to lack of authority and 
ambiguity; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; October 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0203 PROTECTION OF WATERS 

DOWNSTREAM OF RECEIVING WATERS 

Water quality based effluent limitations and management 
practices for direct or indirect discharges of waste or for other 
sources of water pollution shall be developed by the Division such 
that the water quality standards and best usage of receiving waters 
and all downstream waters will not be impaired. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1989; January 1, 1985; September 9, 
1979; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0204 LOCATION OF SAMPLING 

SITES AND MIXING ZONES 

(a)  In conducting tests or making analytical determinations of 
classified waters to determine whether they conform with the 
water quality standards established in accordance with this 
Subchapter, samples shall be collected outside of mixing zones. 

However, if required by NPDES permit, samples shall be 
collected within the mixing zone in order to ensure compliance 

with in-zone water quality requirements as outlined in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule. 
(b)  A mixing zone may be established in the area of a discharge 
in order to provide opportunity for the mixture of the wastewater 
with the receiving waters. Water quality standards shall not apply 
within regions designated as mixing zones, except that such zones 
shall be subject to the conditions established in accordance with 

this Rule. The need for and limits of such mixing zones shall be 
determined by the Division on a case-by-case basis after 
consideration of the magnitude and character of the waste 
discharge and the size and character of the receiving waters. 
Mixing zones shall be designated such that discharges will not: 

(1) result in acute toxicity to aquatic life, defined in 

Rule .0202(1) of this Section, or prevent free 
passage of aquatic organisms around the mixing 
zone; 

(2) result in offensive conditions; 
(3) produce undesirable aquatic life or result in a 

dominance of nuisance species outside of the 

assigned mixing zone; or 
(4) endanger the public health or welfare. 

In addition, a mixing zone shall not be designated for point source 
discharges of fecal coliform organisms in waters classified 
"WS-II," "WS-III," "B," or "SA," as defined in Rule .0301 of this 
Subchapter. Mixing zones shall not be designated for point source 

discharges of enterococci in waters classified "SB" or "SA," as 
defined in Rule .0301 of this Subchapter. For the discharge of 
heated wastewater, compliance with federal rules and regulations 
pursuant to Section 316(a) of the Clean Water Act, as amended, 
shall constitute compliance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 2007; October 1, 1989; February 1, 1986; 
September 9, 1979; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 02B .0205 NATURAL CHARACTERISTICS 

OUTSIDE STANDARDS LIMITS 

Natural waters may on occasion, or temporarily, have 
characteristics outside of the normal range established by the 
water quality standards in this Subchapter. The adopted water 
quality standards relate to the condition of waters as affected by 

the discharge of sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes 
including those from nonpoint sources and other sources of water 
pollution. Water quality standards shall not be considered violated 
if values outside the normal range are caused by natural 
conditions. If wastes are discharged to such waters, the discharger 
shall not be deemed a contributor to substandard conditions if 

maximum treatment in compliance with permit requirements is 
maintained and, therefore, meeting the established limits is 
beyond the discharger's control. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1989; January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 02B .0206 FLOW DESIGN CRITERIA FOR 

EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS 

(a)  Water quality based effluent limitations shall be developed to 
allow appropriate frequency and duration of deviations from 
water quality standards so that the designated uses of receiving 
waters are protected. There are water quality standards for a 
number of categories of pollutants and to protect a range of water 

uses. For this reason, the appropriate frequency and duration of 
deviations from water quality standards shall not be the same for 
all pollutants. A flow design criterion shall be used in the 
development of water quality based effluent limitations as a 
simplified means of estimating the acceptable frequency and 
duration of deviations. Effluent limitations shall be developed 

using the following flow design criteria: 
(1) All standards except toxic substances and 

aesthetics shall be protected using the minimum 
average flow for a period of seven consecutive 
days that has an average recurrence of once in 
ten years (7Q10 flow). Other governing flow 

strategies, such as varying discharges with the 
receiving waters ability to assimilate wastes, 
may be designated by the Commission or its 
designee on a case-by-case basis if the 
discharger or permit applicant provides 
evidence that establishes that the alternative 

flow strategies will give equal or better 
protection for the water quality standards. 
"Better protection for the water quality 
standards" means that deviations from the 
standard would be expected less frequently than 
provided by using the 7Q10 flow. 

(2) Toxic substance standards to protect aquatic life 
from chronic toxicity shall be protected using 
the 7Q10 flow. 

(3) Toxic substance standards to protect aquatic life 
from acute toxicity shall be protected using the 
1Q10 flow. 

(4) Toxic substance standards to protect human 
health shall be the following: 
(A) The 7Q10 flow for standards to protect 

human health through the 
consumption of water, fish, and 
shellfish from noncarcinogens; and 

(B) The mean annual flow to protect 
human health from carcinogens 
through the consumption of water, 
fish, and shellfish unless site specific 
fish contamination concerns 
necessitate the use of an alternative 

design flow; 
(5) Aesthetic quality shall be protected using the 

minimum average flow for a period of 30 
consecutive days that has an average recurrence 
of once in two years (30Q2 flow). 

More complex modeling techniques may also be used to set 
effluent limitations directly based on frequency and duration 

criteria published by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
available free of charge at 
http://water.epa.gov/scitech/swguidance/standards/criteria/curren

t/index.cfm and incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and the Commission or its designee has 
determined, on a case-by-case basis, that the techniques will 
protect the designated uses of receiving waters. 
(b)  If the stream flow is regulated, a minimum daily low flow 
may be used as a substitute for the 7Q10 flow, except in cases 
where there are acute toxicity concerns for aquatic life. In the 

cases where there are acute toxicity concerns, an alternative low 
flow, such as the instantaneous minimum release, shall be 
approved if the Director determines, on a case-by-case basis, that 
the designated uses of receiving waters are protected. 
(c)  Flow design criteria shall be used to develop water quality 
based effluent limitations and in the design of wastewater 

treatment facilities. Deviations from a specific water quality 
standard resulting from discharges that are demonstrated to be in 
compliance with water quality based effluent limitations for that 
standard shall not be a violation pursuant to G.S. 143-215.6 when 
the actual stream flow is less than the design flow. 
(d)  If the 7Q10 flow of the receiving stream is estimated to be 

zero, water quality based effluent limitations shall be assigned as 
follows: 

(1) If the 30Q2 flow is estimated to be greater than 
zero, effluent limitations for new or expanded 
(additional) discharges of oxygen consuming 
waste shall be set at BOD5= 5 mg/l, NH3-N = 2 

mg/l and DO = 6 mg/l, unless it is determined 
by the Director through modeling or other 
analysis that these limitations will not protect 
water quality standards. Requirements for 
existing discharges shall be determined on a 
case-by-case basis by the Director. More 

stringent limits shall be applied if violations of 
water quality standards are predicted to occur 
for a new or expanded discharge with the limits 
set pursuant to this Rule or if existing limits are 
determined to be inadequate to protect water 
quality standards. 

(2) If the 30Q2 and 7Q10 flows are both estimated 
to be zero, no new or expanded discharge of 
oxygen consuming waste shall be allowed. 
Requirements for existing discharges to streams 
where the 30Q2 and 7Q10 flows are both 
estimated to be zero shall be determined on a 

case-by-case basis. 
(3) Other water quality standards shall be protected 

by requiring the discharge to meet the standards 
set forth in this Subchapter, unless the Director 
determines that alternative limitations protect 
the classified water uses. 

(e)  Receiving water flow statistics shall be estimated through 
consultation with the U.S. Geological Survey. Estimates for any 
given location may be based on actual flow data, modeling 
analyses, or other methods determined to be appropriate by the 
Commission or its designee. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; February 1, 1993; October 1, 
1989; August 1, 1985; January 1, 1985; 
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Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0208 STANDARDS FOR TOXIC 

SUBSTANCES AND TEMPERATURE 

(a)  Toxic Substances: the concentration of toxic substances, 
either alone or in combination with other wastes, in surface waters 
shall not render waters injurious to aquatic life or wildlife, 

recreational activities, or public health, nor shall it impair the 
waters for any designated uses. Specific standards for toxic 
substances to protect freshwater and tidal saltwater uses are listed 
in Rules .0211 and .0220 of this Section, respectively. The 
narrative standard for toxic substances and numerical standards 
applicable to all waters shall be interpreted as follows: 

(1) The concentration of toxic substances shall not 
result in chronic toxicity to aquatic life. Any 
levels in excess of the chronic value for aquatic 
life shall be considered to result in chronic 
toxicity. In the absence of direct measurements 
of chronic toxicity, the concentration of toxic 

substances shall not exceed the concentration 
specified by the fraction of the lowest LC50 
value that predicts a no effect chronic level as 

determined by the use of an acceptable Acute to 

Chronic Ratio (ACR) in accordance with U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
"Guidelines for Deriving Numerical Water 
Quality Criteria for the Protection of Aquatic 
Life and its Uses." In the absence of an ACR, 
that toxic substance shall not exceed one-one 

hundredth (0.01) of the lowest LC50 or, if it is 
demonstrated that a toxic substance has a 
half-life of less than 96 hours, the maximum 
concentration shall not exceed one-twentieth 
(0.05) of the lowest LC50. 

(2) The concentration of toxic substances shall not 

exceed the level necessary to protect human 
health through exposure routes of fish tissue 
consumption, water consumption, recreation, or 
other route identified for the water body. Fish 
tissue consumption shall include the 
consumption of shellfish. These concentrations 

of toxic substances shall be determined as 
follows: 

 
(A) For non-carcinogens, these concentrations shall be determined using a Reference Dose (RfD) as published 

by the EPA pursuant to Section 304(a) of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act as amended, a RfD issued 

by the EPA as listed in the Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS) file, or a  RfD approved by the Director 
after consultation with the State Health director. Water quality standards or criteria used to calculate water 
quality based effluent limitations to protect human health through the different exposure routes shall be 
determined as follows: 
(i) Fish tissue consumption: 

WQS = (RfD x RSC) x Body Weight / (FCR x BCF) 

where: 
 WQS = water quality standard or criteria; 
 RfD = reference dose; 
 RSC = Relative Source Contribution; 
 FCR = fish consumption rate (based upon 17.5 gm/person-day); 
 BCF = bioconcentration factor or bioaccumulation factor (BAF), as appropriate. 

 Pursuant to Section 304(a) of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act as amended, BCF or BAF values, 
literature values, or site specific bioconcentration data shall be based on EPA publications; FCR values shall 
be average consumption rates for a 70 Kg adult for the lifetime of the population; alternative FCR values 
may be used when it is considered necessary to protect localized populations that may be consuming fish at 
a higher rate; RSC values, when made available through EPA publications pursuant to Section 304(a) of the 
Federal Clean Water Pollution Control Act to account for non-water sources of exposure may be either a 

percentage (multiplied) or amount subtracted, depending on whether multiple criteria are relevant to the 
chemical; 
(ii) Water consumption (including a correction for fish consumption): 

WQS = (RfD x RSC) x Body Weight / [WCR+(FCRxBCF)] 
where: 
 WQS = water quality standard or criteria; 

 RfD = reference dose; 
 RSC = Relative Source Contribution; 
 FCR = fish consumption rate (based upon 17.5 gm/person-day); 
 BCF = bioconcentration factor or bioaccumulation factor (BAF), as appropriate; 
 WCR = water consumption rate (assumed to be two liters per day for adults). 

 To protect sensitive groups, exposure shall be based on a 10 Kg child drinking one liter of water per day. 
Standards may also be based on drinking water standards based on the requirements of the Federal Safe 

Drinking Water Act, 42 U.S.C. 300(f)(g)-1. For non-carcinogens, specific numerical water quality standards 
have not been included in this Rule because water quality standards to protect aquatic life for all toxic 
substances for which standards have been considered are more stringent than numerical standards to protect 
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human health from non-carcinogens through consumption of fish. Standards to protect human health from 

non-carcinogens through water consumption are listed under the water supply classification standards in Rule 
.0211 of this Section. The equations listed in this Subparagraph shall be used to develop water quality based 
effluent limitations on a case-by-case basis for toxic substances that are not presently included in the water 
quality standards. Alternative FCR values may be used when it is necessary to protect localized populations 
that may be consuming fish at a higher rate; 

 

(B) For carcinogens, the concentrations of 
toxic substances shall not result in 
unacceptable health risks and shall be 
based on a Carcinogenic Potency 
Factor (CPF). An unacceptable health 
risk for cancer shall be more than one 

case of cancer per one million people 
exposed (10-6 risk level). The CPF is a 
measure of the cancer-causing potency 
of a substance estimated by the upper 
95 percent confidence limit of the 
slope of a straight line calculated by 

the Linearized Multistage Model or 
other appropriate model according to 
U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency Guidelines, FR 51 (185): 
33992-34003; and FR 45 (231 Part V): 
79318-79379. Water quality standards 

or criteria for water quality based 
effluent limitations shall be calculated 
using the procedures given in this Part 
and in Part (A) of this Subparagraph. 
Standards to protect human health 
from carcinogens through water 

consumption are listed under the water 
supply classification standards in 
Rules .0212, .0214, .0215, .0216, and 
.0218 of this Section. Standards to 
protect human health from 
carcinogens through the consumption 

of fish (and shellfish) only shall be 
applicable to all waters as follows: 
(i) Aldrin: 0.05 ng/l; 
(ii) Arsenic: 10 ug/l; 
(iii) Benzene: 51 ug/l; 
(iv) Carbon tetrachloride: 1.6 

ug/l; 
(v) Chlordane: 0.8 ng/l; 
(vi) DDT: 0.2 ng/l; 
(vii) Dieldrin: 0.05 ng/l; 
(viii) Dioxin: 0.000005 ng/l; 
(ix) Heptachlor: 0.08 ng/l; 

(x) Hexachlorobutadiene: 18 
ug/l; 

(xi) Polychlorinated biphenyls 
(total of all identified PCBs 
and congeners): 0.064 ng/l; 

(xii) Polynuclear aromatic 
hydrocarbons (total of all 

PAHs): 31.1 ng/l; 
(xiii) Tetrachloroethane (1,1,2,2): 

4 ug/l; 

(xiv) Tetrachloroethylene: 3.3 
ug/L; 

(xvi) Trichloroethylene: 30 ug/l; 
(xvii) Vinyl chloride: 2.4 ug/l. 

 The values listed in Subparts (i) 
through (xvii) of this Part may be 

adjusted by the Commission or its 
designee on a case-by-case basis to 
account for site-specific or 
chemical-specific information 
pertaining to the assumed BCF, FCR, 
or CPF values or other data. 

(b)  Temperature: the Commission may establish a water quality 
standard for temperature for specific water bodies other than the 
standards specified in Rules .0211 and .0220 of this Section upon 
a case-by-case determination that thermal discharges to these 
waters that serve or may serve as a source or receptor of industrial 
cooling water provide for the maintenance of the designated best 

use throughout a portion of the water body. Such revisions of the 
temperature standard shall be consistent with the provisions of 
Section 316(a) of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act, as 
amended. A list of such revisions shall be maintained and made 
available to the public by the Division. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; February 1, 1993; 
October 1, 1989; January 1, 1985; September 9, 1979; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 02B .0211 FRESH SURFACE WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS FOR CLASS C WATERS 

In addition to the standards set forth in Rule .0208 of this Section, 
the following water quality standards shall apply to all Class C 
waters. Additional standards applicable to other freshwater 
classifications are specified in Rules .0212, .0214, .0215, .0216, 

.0218, .0219, .0223, .0224, .0225, and .0231 of this Section.  
(1) The best usage of waters shall be aquatic life 

propagation, survival, and maintenance of 
biological integrity (including fishing and fish); 
wildlife; secondary contact recreation as 
defined in Rule .0202 of this Section; 

agriculture; and any other usage except for 
primary contact recreation or as a source of 
water supply for drinking, culinary, and food 
processing purposes. All freshwaters shall be 
classified to protect these uses at a minimum. 

(2) The conditions of waters shall be such that 
waters are suitable for all best uses specified in 

this Rule. Sources of water pollution that 
preclude any of these uses on either a short-term 
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or long-term basis shall be deemed to violate a 

water quality standard; 
(3) Chlorine, total residual: 17 ug/l; 
(4) Chlorophyll a (corrected): not greater than 40 

ug/l for lakes, reservoirs, and other waters 
subject to growths of macroscopic or 
microscopic vegetation not designated as trout 

waters, and not greater than 15 ug/l for lakes, 
reservoirs, and other waters subject to growths 
of macroscopic or microscopic vegetation 
designated as trout waters (not applicable to 
lakes or reservoirs less than 10 acres in surface 
area). The Commission or its designee may 

prohibit or limit any discharge of waste into 
surface waters if the surface waters experience 
or the discharge would result in growths of 
microscopic or macroscopic vegetation such 
that the standards established pursuant to this 
Rule would be violated or the intended best 

usage of the waters would be impaired; 
(5) Cyanide, total: 5.0 ug/l; 
(6) Dissolved oxygen: not less than 6.0 mg/l for 

trout waters; for non-trout waters, not less than 
a daily average of 5.0 mg/l with an 
instantaneous value of not less than 4.0 mg/l; 

swamp waters, lake coves, or backwaters, and 
lake bottom waters may have lower values if 
caused by natural conditions; 

(7) Fecal coliform: shall not exceed a geometric 
mean of 200/100ml (MF count) based upon at 
least five samples taken over a 30-day period, 

nor exceed 400/100ml in more than 20 percent 
of the samples examined during such period. 
Violations of this Item are expected during 
rainfall events and may be caused by 
uncontrollable nonpoint source pollution. All 
coliform concentrations shall be analyzed using 

the membrane filter technique. If high turbidity 
or other conditions would cause the membrane 
filter technique to produce inaccurate data, the 
most probable number (MPN) 5-tube multiple 
dilution method shall be used.  

(8) Floating solids, settleable solids, or sludge 

deposits: only such amounts attributable to 
sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes as 
shall not make the water unsafe or unsuitable 
for aquatic life and wildlife or impair the waters 
for any designated uses; 

(9) Fluoride: 1.8 mg/l; 

(10) Gases, total dissolved: not greater than 110 
percent of saturation; 

(11) Metals: 
(a) With the exception of mercury and 

selenium, acute and chronic 
freshwater aquatic life standards for 
metals shall be based upon 

measurement of the dissolved fraction 
of the metal. Mercury and selenium 
water quality standards shall be based 

upon measurement of the total 

recoverable metal; 
(b) With the exception of mercury and 

selenium, aquatic life standards for 
metals listed in this Sub-Item shall 
apply as a function of the pollutant's 
water effect ratio (WER). The WER 

shall be assigned a value equal to one 
unless any person demonstrates to the 
Division's satisfaction in a permit 
proceeding that another value is 
developed in accordance with the 
"Water Quality Standards Handbook: 

Second Edition" published by the US 
Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA-823-B-12-002), which is hereby 
incorporated by reference, including 
subsequent amendments and editions, 
and can be obtained free of charge at 

http://water.epa.gov/scitech/swguidan
ce/standards/handbook/. Alternative 
site-specific standards may also be 
developed when any person submits 
values that demonstrate to the 
Commission that they were derived in 

accordance with the "Water Quality 
Standards Handbook: Second Edition, 
Recalculation Procedure or the 
Resident Species Procedure", which is 
hereby incorporated by reference 
including subsequent amendments and 

can be obtained free of charge at 
http://water.epa.gov/scitech/swguidan
ce/standards/handbook/. 

(c) Freshwater metals standards that are 
not hardness-dependent shall be as 
follows: 

(i) Arsenic, dissolved, acute: 
WER∙ 340 ug/l; 

(ii) Arsenic, dissolved, chronic: 
WER∙ 150 ug/l; 

(iii) Beryllium, dissolved, acute: 
WER∙ 65 ug/l; 

(iv) Beryllium, dissolved, 
chronic: WER∙ 6.5 ug/l; 

(v) Chromium VI, dissolved, 
acute: WER∙ 16 ug/l; 

(vi) Chromium VI, dissolved, 
chronic: WER∙ 11 ug/l; 

(vii) Mercury, total recoverable, 
chronic: 0.012 ug/l; 

(viii) Selenium, total recoverable, 
chronic: 5 ug/l; 

(ix) Silver, dissolved, chronic: 
WER∙ 0.06 ug/l; 

(d) Hardness-dependent freshwater 

metals standards shall be derived 
using the equations specified in Table 
A: Dissolved Freshwater Standards 
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for Hardness-Dependent Metals. If the 

actual instream hardness (expressed as 
CaCO3 or Ca+Mg) is less than 400 
mg/l, standards shall be calculated 

based upon the actual instream 

hardness. If the instream hardness is 
greater than 400 mg/l, the maximum 
applicable hardness shall be 400 mg/l. 

 
Table A: Dissolved Freshwater Standards for Hardness-Dependent Metals 

 Numeric standards calculated at 25 mg/l hardness are listed below for illustrative purposes. The Water Effects 

Ratio (WER) is equal to one unless determined otherwise under Sub-Item (11)(b) of this Rule. 
 

Metal Equations for Hardness-Dependent Freshwater Metals (ug/l) Standard at 
25 mg/l 
hardness 
(ug/l) 

Cadmium, 
Acute 

WER∙ [{1.136672-[ln hardness](0.041838)} ∙ e^{0.9151 [ln 
hardness]-3.1485}] 

0.82 

Cadmium, 

Acute, 
Trout waters 

WER∙ [{1.136672-[ln hardness](0.041838)} ∙ e^{0.9151[ln 

hardness]-3.6236}] 

0.51 

Cadmium, 
Chronic  

WER∙ [{1.101672-[ln hardness](0.041838)} ∙ e^{0.7998[ln 
hardness]-4.4451}] 

0.15 

Chromium 
III, Acute 

WER∙ [0.316 ∙ e^{0.8190[ln hardness]+3.7256}] 180 

Chromium 
III, Chronic 

WER∙ [0.860 ∙ e^{0.8190[ln hardness]+0.6848}] 
 

24 
 

Copper, Acute WER∙ [0.960 ∙ e^{0.9422[ln hardness]-1.700}] 
Or, 

Aquatic Life Ambient Freshwater Quality Criteria-Copper 2007 
Revision 
(EPA-822-R-07-001) 
 

3.6 
 

 
NA 

Copper, 
Chronic 

WER∙ [0.960 ∙ e^{0.8545[ln hardness]-1.702}] 
Or, 
Aquatic Life Ambient Freshwater Quality Criteria-Copper 2007 

Revision 
(EPA-822-R-07-001) 

2.7 
 
NA 

Lead, 
Acute 

WER∙ [{1.46203-[ln hardness](0.145712)} ∙ e^{1.273[ln hardness]-
1.460}]  

14 

Lead, Chronic WER∙ [{1.46203-[ln hardness](0.145712)} ∙ e^{1.273[ln hardness]-
4.705}]  

0.54 

Nickel, Acute WER∙ [0.998 ∙ e^{0.8460[ln hardness]+2.255}] 140 

Nickel, 
Chronic 

WER∙ 0.997 ∙ e^{0.8460[ln hardness]+0.0584}] 16 

Silver, Acute WER∙ 0.85 ∙ e^{1.72[ln hardness]-6.59}] 0.30 

Zinc, Acute WER∙ [0.978 ∙ e^{0.8473[ln hardness]+0.884}] 36 

Zinc, Chronic WER∙ 0.986 ∙ e^{0.8473[ln hardness]+0.884}]  36 

 
(e) Compliance with acute instream 

metals standards shall only be 
evaluated using an average of two or 
more samples collected within one 

hour. Compliance with chronic 
instream metals standards shall only 
be evaluated using an average of a 
minimum of four samples taken on 
consecutive days or as a 96-hour 
average; 

(12) Oils, deleterious substances, or colored or other 

wastes: only such amounts as shall not render 

the waters injurious to public health, secondary 
recreation, or to aquatic life and wildlife, or 
adversely affect the palatability of fish, 
aesthetic quality, or impair the waters for any 

designated uses. For the purpose of 
implementing this Rule, oils, deleterious 
substances, or colored or other wastes shall 
include substances that cause a film or sheen 
upon or discoloration of the surface of the water 
or adjoining shorelines, as described in 40 CFR 
110.3(a)-(b), incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 
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This material is available, free of charge, at: 

http://www.ecfr.gov/; 
(13) Pesticides: 

(a) Aldrin: 0.002 ug/l; 
(b) Chlordane: 0.004 ug/l; 
(c) DDT: 0.001 ug/l; 
(d) Demeton: 0.1 ug/l; 

(e) Dieldrin: 0.002 ug/l; 
(f) Endosulfan: 0.05 ug/l; 
(g) Endrin: 0.002 ug/l; 
(h) Guthion: 0.01 ug/l; 
(i) Heptachlor: 0.004 ug/l; 
(j) Lindane: 0.01 ug/l; 

(k) Methoxychlor: 0.03 ug/l; 
(l) Mirex: 0.001 ug/l; 
(m) Parathion: 0.013 ug/l; and 
(n) Toxaphene: 0.0002 ug/l; 

(14) pH: shall be between 6.0 and 9.0 except that 
swamp waters may have a pH as low as 4.3 if it 

is the result of natural conditions; 
(15) Phenolic compounds: only such levels as shall 

not result in fish-flesh tainting or impairment of 
other best usage; 

(16) Polychlorinated biphenyls (total of all PCBs 
and congeners identified): 0.001 ug/l; 

(17) Radioactive substances, based on at least one 
sample collected per quarter: 
(a) Combined radium-226 and 

radium-228: the average annual 
activity level for combined 
radium-226 and radium-228 shall not 

exceed five picoCuries per liter; 
(b) Alpha Emitters: the average annual 

gross alpha particle activity (including 
radium-226, but excluding radon and 
uranium) shall not exceed 15 
picoCuries per liter; 

(c) Beta Emitters: the average annual 
activity level for strontium-90 shall 
not exceed eight picoCuries per liter, 
nor shall the average annual gross beta 
particle activity (excluding 
potassium-40 and other naturally 

occurring radionuclides) exceed 50 
picoCuries per liter, nor shall the 
average annual activity level for 
tritium exceed 20,000 picoCuries per 
liter; 

(18) Temperature: not to exceed 2.8 degrees C (5.04 

degrees F) above the natural water temperature, 
and in no case to exceed 29 degrees C (84.2 
degrees F) for mountain and upper piedmont 
waters and 32 degrees C (89.6 degrees F) for 
lower piedmont and coastal plain Waters; the 
temperature for trout waters shall not be 
increased by more than 0.5 degrees C (0.9 

degrees F) due to the discharge of heated 
liquids, but in no case to exceed 20 degrees C 
(68 degrees F); 

(19) Toluene: 0.36 ug/l in trout classified waters or 

11 ug/l in all other waters; 
(20) Trialkyltin compounds: 0.07 ug/l expressed as 

tributyltin; 
(21) Turbidity: the turbidity in the receiving water 

shall not exceed 50 Nephelometric Turbidity 
Units (NTU) in streams not designated as trout 

waters and 10 NTU in streams, lakes, or 
reservoirs designated as trout waters; for lakes 
and reservoirs not designated as trout waters, 
the turbidity shall not exceed 25 NTU; if 
turbidity exceeds these levels due to natural 
background conditions, the existing turbidity 

level shall not be increased. Compliance with 
this turbidity standard shall be deemed met 
when land management activities employ Best 
Management Practices (BMPs), as defined by 
Rule .0202 of this Section, recommended by the 
Designated Nonpoint Source Agency, as 

defined by Rule .0202 of this Section.  
(22) Toxic Substance Level Applicable to NPDES 

Permits: Chloride: 230 mg/l. If chloride is 
determined by the waste load allocation to be 
exceeded in a receiving water by a discharge 
under the specified 7Q10 criterion for toxic 

substances, the discharger shall monitor the 
chemical or biological effects of the discharge. 
Efforts shall be made by all dischargers to 
reduce or eliminate chloride from their 
effluents. Chloride shall be limited as 
appropriate in the NPDES permit if sufficient 

information exists to indicate that it may be a 
causative factor resulting in toxicity of the 
effluent. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; 
August 1, 2000; October 1, 1995; August 1, 1995; April 1, 1994; 
February 1, 1993; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0212 FRESH SURFACE WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS FOR CLASS WS-I WATERS 

The following water quality standards shall apply to surface 
waters within water supply watersheds classified as WS-I. Water 
quality standards applicable to Class C waters as described in Rule 
.0211 of this Section shall also apply to Class WS-I waters. 

(1) The best usage of waters classified as WS-I 

shall be as a source of water supply for 
drinking, culinary, or food processing purposes 
for those users desiring maximum protection of 
their water supplies in the form of the most 
stringent WS classification, and any best usage 
specified for Class C waters. Class WS-I waters 
are waters located on land in public ownership 

and waters located in undeveloped watersheds. 
(2) The best usage of waters classified as WS-I 

shall be maintained as follows: 
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(a) Water quality standards in a WS-I 

watershed shall meet the requirements 
as specified in Item (3) of this Rule. 

(b) Wastewater and stormwater point 
source discharges in a WS-I watershed 
shall meet the requirements as 
specified in Item (4) of this Rule. 

(c) Nonpoint source pollution in a WS-I 
watershed shall meet the requirements 
as specified in Item (5) of this Rule. 

(d) Following approved treatment, as 
defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 
the waters shall meet the Maximum 

Contaminant Level concentrations 
considered safe for drinking, culinary, 
and food-processing purposes that are 
specified in 40 CFR Part 141 National 
Primary Drinking Water Regulations 
and in the North Carolina Rules 

Governing Public Water Supplies, 
15A NCAC 18C .1500, incorporated 
by reference including subsequent 
amendments and editions. 

(e) Sources of water pollution that 
preclude any of the best uses on either 

a short-term or long-term basis shall 
be deemed to violate a water quality 
standard. 

(f) The Class WS-I classification may be 
used to protect portions of Class 
WS-II, WS-III, and WS-IV water 

supplies. For reclassifications 
occurring after the July 1, 1992 
statewide reclassification, a WS-I 
classification that is requested by local 
governments shall be considered by 
the Commission if all local 

governments having jurisdiction in the 
affected areas have adopted a 
resolution and the appropriate 
ordinances as required by G.S. 143-
214.5(d) to protect the watershed or if 
the Commission acts to protect a 

watershed when one or more local 
governments has failed to adopt 
protective measures as required by this 
Sub-Item. 

(3) Water quality standards applicable to Class 
WS-I Waters shall be as follows:  

(a) MBAS (Methylene-Blue Active 
Substances): not greater than 0.5 mg/l 
to protect the aesthetic qualities of 
water supplies and to prevent foaming; 

(b) Total coliforms shall not exceed 
50/100 ml (MF count) as a monthly 
geometric mean value in watersheds 

serving as unfiltered water supplies; 
(c) Chlorinated phenolic compounds: not 

greater than 1.0 ug/l to protect water 

supplies from taste and odor problems 

from chlorinated phenols; 
(d) Solids, total dissolved: not greater than 

exceed 500 mg/l; 
(e) Total hardness: not greater than 100 

mg/l as calcium carbonate (CaCO3 or 
Ca + Mg); 

(f) Toxic and other deleterious substances 
that are non-carcinogens: 
(i) Barium: 1.0 mg/l; 
(ii) Chloride: 250 mg/l; 
(iii) Nickel: 25 ug/l; 
(iv) Nitrate nitrogen: 10.0 mg/l; 

(v) 2,4-D: 70 ug/l; 
(vi) 2,4,5-TP (Silvex): 10 ug/l; 

and 
(vii) Sulfates: 250 mg/l; 

(g) Toxic and other deleterious substances 
that are carcinogens: 

(i) Aldrin: 0.05 ng/1; 
(ii) Arsenic: 10 ug/l; 
(iii) Benzene: 1.19 ug/1; 
(iv) Carbon tetrachloride: 0.254 

ug/l; 
(v) Chlordane: 0.8 ng/1; 

(vi) Chlorinated benzenes: 488 
ug/l; 

(vii) DDT: 0.2 ng/1; 
(viii) Dieldrin: 0.05 ng/1; 
(ix) Dioxin: 0.000005 ng/l; 
(x) Heptachlor: 0.08 ng/1; 

(xi) Hexachlorobutadiene: 0.44 
ug/l; 

(xii) Polynuclear aromatic 
hydrocarbons (total of all 
PAHs): 2.8 ng/l; 

(xiii) Tetrachloroethane (1,1,2,2): 

0.17 ug/l; 
(xiv) Tetrachloroethylene: 0.7 

ug/l; 
(xv) Trichloroethylene: 2.5 ug/l; 

and 
(xvi) Vinyl Chloride: 0.025 ug/l. 

(4) Wastewater and stormwater point source 
discharges in a WS-I watershed shall be 
permitted pursuant to 15A NCAC 02B .0104. 

(5) Nonpoint source pollution in a WS-I watershed 
shall not have an adverse impact, as defined in 
15A NCAC 02H .1002, on use as a water 

supply or any other designated use. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; 
October 1, 1995; February 1, 1993; March 1, 1991; October 1, 
1989; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 02B .0214 FRESH SURFACE WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS FOR CLASS WS-II WATERS 

The following water quality standards shall apply to surface 
waters within water supply watersheds classified as WS-II. Water 
quality standards applicable to Class C waters as described in Rule 
.0211of this Section shall also apply to Class WS-II waters. 

(1) The best usage of waters classified as WS-II 

shall be as a source of water supply for 
drinking, culinary, or food-processing purposes 
for those users desiring maximum protection 
for their water supplies where a WS-I 
classification is not feasible as determined by 
the Commission in accordance with Rule .0212 

of this Section and any best usage specified for 
Class C waters. 

(2) The best usage of waters classified as WS-II 
shall be maintained as follows: 
(a) Water quality standards in a WS-II 

watershed shall meet the requirements 

as specified in Item (3) of this Rule. 
(b) Wastewater and stormwater point 

source discharges in a WS-II 
watershed shall meet the requirements 
as specified in Item (4) of this Rule. 

(c) Nonpoint source pollution in a WS-II 

watershed shall meet the requirements 
as specified in Item (5) of this Rule. 

(d) Following approved treatment, as 
defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 
the waters shall meet the Maximum 
Contaminant Level concentrations 

considered safe for drinking, culinary, 
and food-processing purposes that are 
specified in 40 CFR Part 141 National 
Primary Drinking Water Regulations 
and in the North Carolina Rules 
Governing Public Water Supplies, 

15A NCAC 18C .1500.  
(e) Sources of water pollution that 

preclude any of the best uses on either 
a short-term or long-term basis shall 
be deemed to violate a water quality 
standard. 

(f) The Class WS-II classification may be 
used to protect portions of Class 
WS-III and WS-IV water supplies. For 
reclassifications of these portions of 
Class WS-III and WS-IV water 
supplies occurring after the July 1, 

1992 statewide reclassification, a WS-
II classification that is requested by 
local governments shall be considered 
by the Commission if all local 
governments having jurisdiction in the 
affected areas have adopted a 
resolution and the appropriate 

ordinances as required by G.S. 143-
214.5(d) to protect the watershed or if 
the Commission acts to protect a 

watershed when one or more local 

governments has failed to adopt 
protective measures as required by this 
Sub-Item. 

(3) Water quality standards applicable to Class 
WS-II Waters shall be as follows:  
(a) MBAS (Methylene-Blue Active 

Substances): not greater than 0.5 mg/l 
to protect the aesthetic qualities of 
water supplies and to prevent foaming; 

(b) Odor producing substances contained 
in sewage or other wastes: only such 
amounts, whether alone or in 

combination with other substances or 
wastes, as shall not cause organoleptic 
effects in water supplies that cannot be 
corrected by treatment, impair the 
palatability of fish, or have an adverse 
impact, as defined in 15A NCAC 02H 

.1002, on any best usage established 
for waters of this class; 

(c) Chlorinated phenolic compounds: not 
greater than 1.0 ug/l to protect water 
supplies from taste and odor problems 
from chlorinated phenols; 

(d) Total hardness: not greater than 100 
mg/l as calcium carbonate (CaCO3 or 
Ca + Mg); 

(e) Solids, total dissolved: not greater than 
500 mg/l; 

(f) Toxic and other deleterious substances 

that are non-carcinogens: 
(i) Barium: 1.0 mg/l; 
(ii) Chloride: 250 mg/l; 
(iii) Nickel: 25 ug/l; 
(iv) Nitrate nitrogen: 10.0 mg/l; 
(v) 2,4-D: 70 ug/l; 

(vi) 2,4,5-TP (Silvex): 10 ug/l; 
and 

(vii) Sulfates: 250 mg/l; 
(g) Toxic and other deleterious substances 

that are carcinogens: 
(i) Aldrin: 0.05 ng/1; 

(ii) Arsenic: 10 ug/l; 
(iii) Benzene: 1.19 ug/1; 
(iv) Carbon tetrachloride: 0.254 

ug/l; 
(v) Chlordane: 0.8 ng/1; 
(vi) Chlorinated benzenes: 488 

ug/l; 
(vii) DDT: 0.2 ng/1; 
(viii) Dieldrin: 0.05 ng/1; 
(ix) Dioxin: 0.000005 ng/l; 
(x) Heptachlor: 0.08 ng/1; 
(xi) Hexachlorobutadiene: 0.44 

ug/l; 

(xii) Polynuclear aromatic 
hydrocarbons (total of all 
PAHs): 2.8 ng/l; 
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(xiii) Tetrachloroethane (1,1,2,2): 

0.17 ug/l; 
(xiv) Tetrachloroethylene: 0.7 

ug/l; 
(xv) Trichloroethylene: 2.5 ug/l; 

and 
(xvi) Vinyl Chloride: 0.025 ug/l. 

(4) Wastewater and stormwater point source 
discharges in a WS-II watershed shall meet the 
following requirements: 
(a) Discharges that qualify for a General 

NPDES Permit pursuant to 15A 
NCAC 02H .0127 shall be allowed in 

the entire watershed. 
(b) Discharges from trout farms that are 

subject to Individual NPDES Permits 
shall be allowed in the entire 
watershed. 

(c) Stormwater discharges that qualify for 

an Individual NPDES Permit pursuant 
to 15A NCAC 02H .0126 shall be 
allowed in the entire watershed. 

(d) No discharge of sewage, industrial, or 
other wastes shall be allowed in the 
entire watershed except for those 

allowed by Sub-Items (a) through (c) 
of this Item or Rule .0104 of this 
Subchapter, and none shall be allowed 
that have an adverse effect on human 
health or that are not treated in 
accordance with the permit or other 

requirements established by the 
Division pursuant to G.S. 143-215.1. 
Upon request by the Commission, a 
discharger shall disclose all chemical 
constituents present or potentially 
present in their wastes and chemicals 

that could be spilled or be present in 
runoff from their facility that may 
have an adverse impact on 
downstream water quality. These 
facilities may be required to have spill 
and treatment failure control plans as 

well as perform special monitoring for 
toxic substances. 

(e) New domestic and industrial 
discharges of treated wastewater that 
are subject to Individual NPDES 
Permits shall not be allowed in the 

entire watershed. 
(f) No new landfills shall be allowed in 

the Critical Area, and no NPDES 
permits shall be issued for landfills 
that discharge treated leachate in the 
remainder of the watershed. 

(g) No new permitted sites for land 

application of residuals or petroleum 
contaminated soils shall be allowed in 
the Critical Area. 

(5) Nonpoint source pollution in a WS-II watershed 

shall meet the following requirements: 
(a) Nonpoint source pollution shall not 

have an adverse impact on waters for 
use as a water supply or any other 
designated use. 

(b) Class WS-II waters shall be protected 

as water supplies that are located in 
watersheds that meet average 
watershed development density levels 
specified for Class WS-II waters in 
Rule .0624 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. May 10, 1979; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; 
January 1, 1996; October 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 02B .0215 FRESH SURFACE WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS FOR CLASS WS-III WATERS 

The following water quality standards shall apply to surface 
waters within water supply watersheds classified as WS-III. 
Water quality standards applicable to Class C waters as described 
in Rule .0211 of this Section shall also apply to Class WS-III 

waters. 
(1) The best usage of waters classified as WS-III 

shall be as a source of water supply for 
drinking, culinary, or food-processing purposes 
for those users where a more protective WS-I or 
WS-II classification is not feasible as 

determined by the Commission in accordance 
with Rules .0212 and .0214 of this Section and 
any other best usage specified for Class C 
waters. 

(2) The best usage of waters classified as WS-III 
shall be maintained as follows: 

(a) Water quality standards in a WS-III 
watershed shall meet the requirements 
as specified in Item (3) of this Rule. 

(b) Wastewater and stormwater point 
source discharges in a WS-III 
watershed shall meet the requirements 

as specified in Item (4) of this Rule. 
(c) Nonpoint source pollution in a WS-III 

watershed shall meet the requirements 
as specified in Item (5) of this Rule. 

(d) Following approved treatment, as 
defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 

the waters shall meet the Maximum 
Contaminant Level concentrations 
considered safe for drinking, culinary, 
or food-processing purposes that are 
specified in 40 CFR Part 141 National 
Primary Drinking Water Regulations 
and in the North Carolina Rules 

Governing Public Water Supplies, 
15A NCAC 18C .1500.  
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(e) Sources of water pollution that 

preclude any of the best uses on either 
a short-term or long-term basis shall 
be deemed to violate a water quality 
standard. 

(f) The Class WS-III classification may 
be used to protect portions of Class 

WS-IV water supplies. For 
reclassifications of these portions of 
WS-IV water supplies occurring after 
the July 1, 1992 statewide 
reclassification, a WS-II classification 
that is requested by local governments 

shall be considered by the 
Commission if all local governments 
having jurisdiction in the affected 
areas have adopted a resolution and 
the appropriate ordinances as required 
by G.S. 143-214.5(d) to protect the 

watershed or if the Commission acts to 
protect a watershed when one or more 
local governments has failed to adopt 
protective measures as required by this 
Sub-Item. 

(3) Water quality standards applicable to Class 

WS-III Waters shall be as follows:  
(a) MBAS (Methylene-Blue Active 

Substances): not greater than 0.5 mg/l 
to protect the aesthetic qualities of 
water supplies and to prevent foaming; 

(b) Odor producing substances contained 

in sewage, industrial wastes, or other 
wastes: only such amounts, whether 
alone or in combination with other 
substances or wastes, as shall not 
cause organoleptic effects in water 
supplies that cannot be corrected by 

treatment, impair the palatability of 
fish, or have an adverse impact, as 
defined in 15A NCAC 02H .1002, on 
any best usage established for waters 
of this class; 

(c) Chlorinated phenolic compounds: not 

greater than 1.0 ug/l to protect water 
supplies from taste and odor problems 
from chlorinated phenols; 

(d) Total hardness: not greater than 100 
mg/l as calcium carbonate (CaCO3 or 
Ca + Mg); 

(e) Solids, total dissolved: not greater than 
500 mg/l; 

(f) Toxic and other deleterious substances 
that are non-carcinogens: 
(i) Barium: 1.0 mg/l; 
(ii) Chloride: 250 mg/l; 
(iii) Nickel: 25 ug/l; 

(iv) Nitrate nitrogen: 10.0 mg/l; 
(v) 2,4-D: 70 ug/l; 

(vi) 2,4,5-TP (Silvex): 10 ug/l; 

and 
(vii) Sulfates: 250 mg/l; 

(g) Toxic and other deleterious substances 
that are carcinogens: 
(i) Aldrin: 0.05 ng/1; 
(ii) Arsenic: 10 ug/l; 

(iii) Benzene: 1.19 ug/1; 
(iv) Carbon tetrachloride: 0.254 

ug/l; 
(v) Chlordane: 0.8 ng/1; 
(vi) Chlorinated benzenes: 488 

ug/l; 

(vii) DDT: 0.2 ng/1; 
(viii) Dieldrin: 0.05 ng/1; 
(ix) Dioxin: 0.000005 ng/l; 
(x) Heptachlor: 0.08 ng/1; 
(xi) Hexachlorobutadiene: 0.44 

ug/l; 

(xii) Polynuclear aromatic 
hydrocarbons (total of all 
PAHs): 2.8 ng/l; 

(xiii) Tetrachloroethane (1,1,2,2): 
0.17 ug/l; 

(xiv) Tetrachloroethylene: 0.7 

ug/l; 
(xv) Trichloroethylene: 2.5 ug/l; 

and 
(xvi) Vinyl Chloride: 0.025 ug/l. 

(4) Wastewater and stormwater point source 
discharges in a WS-III watershed shall meet the 

following requirements: 
(a) Discharges that qualify for a General 

NPDES Permit pursuant to 15A 
NCAC 02H .0127 shall be allowed in 
the entire watershed. 

(b) Discharges from trout farms that are 

subject to Individual NPDES Permits 
shall be allowed in the entire 
watershed. 

(c) Stormwater discharges that qualify for 
an Individual NPDES Permit pursuant 
to 15A NCAC 02H .0126 shall be 

allowed in the entire watershed. 
(d) New domestic wastewater discharges 

that are subject to Individual NPDES 
Permits shall not be allowed in the 
Critical Area and are allowed in the 
remainder of the watershed. 

(e) New industrial wastewater discharges 
that are subject to Individual NPDES 
Permits except non-process industrial 
discharges shall not be allowed in the 
entire watershed. 

(f) No discharge of sewage, industrial, or 
other wastes shall be allowed in the 

entire watershed except for those 
allowed by Sub-Items (a) through (e) 
of this Item or Rule .0104 of this 
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Subchapter, and none shall be allowed 

that have an adverse effect on human 
health or that are not treated in 
accordance with the permit or other 
requirements established by the 
Division pursuant to G.S. 143-215.1. 
Upon request by the Commission, a 

discharger shall disclose all chemical 
constituents present or potentially 
present in their wastes and chemicals 
that could be spilled or be present in 
runoff from their facility that may 
have an adverse impact on 

downstream water quality. These 
facilities may be required to have spill 
and treatment failure control plans as 
well as perform special monitoring for 
toxic substances. 

(g) No new landfills shall be allowed in 

the Critical Area, and no NPDES 
permits shall be issued for landfills to 
discharge treated leachate in the 
remainder of the watershed. 

(h) No new permitted sites for land 
application of residuals or petroleum 

contaminated soils shall be allowed in 
the Critical Area. 

(5) Nonpoint source pollution in a WS-III 
watershed shall meet the following 
requirements: 
(a) Nonpoint source pollution shall not 

have an adverse impact on waters for 
use as a water supply or any other 
designated use. 

(b) Class WS-III waters shall be protected 
as water supplies that are located in 
watersheds that meet average 

watershed development density levels 
specified Class WS-III waters in Rule 
.0624 of this Subchapter. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. September 9, 1979; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; 
January 1, 1996; October 1, 1995; October 1, 1989; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0216 FRESH SURFACE WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS FOR CLASS WS-IV WATERS 

The following water quality standards shall apply to surface 
waters within water supply watersheds classified as WS-IV. 
Water quality standards applicable to Class C waters as described 
in Rule .0211 of this Section shall also apply to Class WS-IV 
waters. 

(1) The best usage of waters classified as WS-IV 
shall be as a source of water supply for 

drinking, culinary, or food-processing purposes 
for those users where a more protective WS-I, 
WS-II or WS-III classification is not feasible as 

determined by the Commission in accordance 

with Rules .0212 through .0215 of this Section 
and any other best usage specified for Class C 
waters. 

(2) The best usage of waters classified as WS-IV 
shall be maintained as follows: 
(a) Water quality standards in a WS-IV 

watershed shall meet the requirements 
as specified in Item (3) of this Rule. 

(b) Wastewater and stormwater point 
source discharges in a WS-IV 
watershed shall meet the requirements 
as specified in Item (4) of this Rule. 

(c) Nonpoint source pollution in a WS-IV 
watershed shall meet the requirements 
as specified in Item (5) of this Rule. 

(d) Following approved treatment, as 
defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 
the waters shall meet the Maximum 

Contaminant Level concentrations 
considered safe for drinking, culinary, 
or food-processing purposes that are 
specified in 40 CFR Part 141 National 
Primary Drinking Water Regulations 
and in the North Carolina Rules 

Governing Public Water Supplies, 
15A NCAC 18C .1500.  

(e) Sources of water pollution that 
preclude any of the best uses on either 
a short-term or long-term basis shall 
be deemed to violate a water quality 

standard. 
(f) The Class WS-II or WS-III 

classifications may be used to protect 
portions of Class WS-IV water 
supplies. For reclassifications of these 
portions of WS-IV water supplies 

occurring after the July 1, 1992 
statewide reclassification, a WS-IV 
classification that is requested by local 
governments shall be considered by 
the Commission if all local 
governments having jurisdiction in the 

affected areas have adopted a 
resolution and the appropriate 
ordinances as required by G.S. 143-
214.5(d) to protect the watershed or if 
the Commission acts to protect a 
watershed when one or more local 

governments has failed to adopt 
protective measures as required by this 
Sub-Item. 

(3) Water quality standards applicable to Class 
WS-IV Waters shall be as follows:  
(a) MBAS (Methylene-Blue Active 

Substances): not greater than 0.5 mg/l 

to protect the aesthetic qualities of 
water supplies and to prevent foaming; 
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(b) Odor producing substances contained 

in sewage, industrial wastes, or other 
wastes: only such amounts, whether 
alone or in combination with other 
substances or waste, as will not cause 
organoleptic effects in water supplies 
that cannot be corrected by treatment, 

impair the palatability of fish, or have 
an adverse impact, as defined in 15A 
NCAC 02H .1002, on any best usage 
established for waters of this class; 

(c) Chlorinated phenolic compounds: not 
greater than 1.0 ug/l to protect water 

supplies from taste and odor problems 
due to chlorinated phenols shall be 
allowed. Specific phenolic 
compounds may be given a different 
limit if it is demonstrated not to cause 
taste and odor problems and not to be 

detrimental to other best usage; 
(d) Total hardness: not greater than 100 

mg/l as calcium carbonate (CaCO3 or 
Ca + Mg); 

(e) Solids, total dissolved: not greater than 
500 mg/l; 

(f) Toxic and other deleterious substances 
that are non-carcinogens: 
(i) Barium: 1.0 mg/l; 
(ii) Chloride: 250 mg/l; 
(iii) Nickel: 25 ug/l; 
(iv) Nitrate nitrogen: 10.0 mg/l; 

(v) 2,4-D: 70 ug/l; 
(vi) 2,4,5-TP (Silvex): 10 ug/l; 

and 
(vii) Sulfates: 250 mg/l; 

(g) Toxic and other deleterious substances 
that are carcinogens: 

(i) Aldrin: 0.05 ng/1; 
(ii) Arsenic: 10 ug/l; 
(iii) Benzene: 1.19 ug/1; 
(iv) Carbon tetrachloride: 0.254 

ug/l; 
(v) Chlordane: 0.8 ng/1; 

(vi) Chlorinated benzenes: 488 
ug/l; 

(vii) DDT: 0.2 ng/1; 
(viii) Dieldrin: 0.05 ng/1; 
(ix) Dioxin: 0.000005 ng/l; 
(x) Heptachlor: 0.08 ng/1; 

(xi) Hexachlorobutadiene: 0.44 
ug/l; 

(xii) Polynuclear aromatic 
hydrocarbons (total of all 
PAHs): 2.8 ng/l; 

(xiii) Tetrachloroethane (1,1,2,2): 
0.17 ug/l; 

(xiv) Tetrachloroethylene: 0.7 
ug/l; 

(xv) Trichloroethylene: 2.5 ug/l; 

and 
(xvi) Vinyl Chloride: 0.025 ug/l. 

(4) Wastewater and stormwater point source 
discharges in a WS-IV watershed shall meet the 
following requirements: 
(a) Discharges that qualify for a General 

NPDES Permit pursuant to 15A 
NCAC 02H .0127 shall be allowed in 
the entire watershed. 

(b) Discharges from domestic facilities, 
industrial facilities and trout farms that 
are subject to Individual NPDES 

Permits shall be allowed in the entire 
watershed. 

(c) Stormwater discharges that qualify for 
an Individual NPDES Permit pursuant 
to 15A NCAC 02H .0126 shall be 
allowed in the entire watershed. 

(d) No discharge of sewage, industrial 
wastes, or other wastes shall be 
allowed in the entire watershed except 
for those allowed by Sub-Items (a) 
through (c) of this Item or Rule .0104 
of this Subchapter, and none shall be 

allowed that have an adverse effect on 
human health or that are not treated in 
accordance with the permit or other 
requirements established by the 
Division pursuant to G.S. 143-215.1. 
Upon request by the Commission, 

dischargers or industrial users subject 
to pretreatment standards shall 
disclose all chemical constituents 
present or potentially present in their 
wastes and chemicals that could be 
spilled or be present in runoff from 

their facility which may have an 
adverse impact on downstream water 
supplies. These facilities may be 
required to have spill and treatment 
failure control plans as well as perform 
special monitoring for toxic 

substances. 
(e) New industrial discharges of treated 

wastewater in the critical area shall 
meet the provisions of Rule 
.0224(c)(2)(D), (E), and (G) of this 
Section and Rule .0203 of this Section. 

(f) New industrial connections and 
expansions to existing municipal 
discharges with a pretreatment 
program pursuant to 15A NCAC 02H 
.0904 shall be allowed in the entire 
watershed. 

(g) No new landfills shall be allowed in 

the Critical Area. 
(h) No new permitted sites for land 

application residuals or petroleum 
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contaminated soils shall be allowed in 

the Critical Area. 
(5) Nonpoint source pollution in a WS-IV 

watershed shall meet the following 
requirements: 
(a) Nonpoint source pollution shall not 

have an adverse impact on waters for 

use as a water supply or any other 
designated use. 

(b) Class WS-IV waters shall be protected 
as water supplies that are located in 
watersheds that meet average 
watershed development density levels 

specified for Class WS-IV waters in 
Rule .0624 of this Subchapter. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1986; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; June 

1, 1996; October 1, 1995; August 1, 1995; June 1, 1994; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0218 FRESH SURFACE WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS FOR CLASS WS-V WATERS 

The following water quality standards shall apply to surface 

waters within water supply watersheds classified as WS-V. Water 
quality standards applicable to Class C waters as described in Rule 
.0211 of this Section shall also apply to Class WS-V waters. 

(1) The best usage of waters classified as WS-V 
shall be as waters that are protected as water 
supplies which are generally upstream and 

draining to Class WS-IV waters; waters 
previously used for drinking water supply 
purposes; or waters used by industry to supply 
their employees, but not municipalities or 
counties, with a raw drinking water supply 
source, although this type of use is not restricted 

to WS-V classification; and all Class C uses. 
(2) The best usage of waters classified as WS-V 

shall be maintained as follows: 
(a) Water quality standards in a WS-V 

water shall meet the requirements as 
specified in Item (3) of this Rule. 

(b) Wastewater and stormwater point 
source discharges in a WS-V water 
shall meet the requirements as 
specified in Item (4) of this Rule. 

(c) Nonpoint source pollution in a WS-V 
water shall meet the requirements as 

specified in Item (5) of this Rule. 
(d) Following approved treatment, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 
the waters shall meet the Maximum 
Contaminant Level concentrations 
considered safe for drinking, culinary, 
or food-processing purposes that are 

specified in 40 CFR Part 141 National 
Primary Drinking Water Regulations 
and in the North Carolina Rules 

Governing Public Water Supplies, 

15A NCAC 18C .1500.  
(e) The Commission or its designee may 

apply management requirements for 
the protection of waters downstream 
of receiving waters provided in Rule 
.0203 of this Section. 

(f) The Commission shall consider a 
more protective classification for the 
water supply if a resolution requesting 
a more protective classification is 
submitted from all local governments 
having land use jurisdiction within the 

affected watershed. 
(g) Sources of water pollution that 

preclude any of the best uses on either 
a short-term or long-term basis shall 
be deemed to violate a water quality 
standard; 

(3) Water quality standards applicable to Class 
WS-V Waters shall be as follows:  
(a) MBAS (Methylene-Blue Active 

Substances): not greater than 0.5 mg/l 
to protect the aesthetic qualities of 
water supplies and to prevent foaming; 

(b) Odor producing substances contained 
in sewage, industrial wastes, or other 
wastes: only such amounts, whether 
alone or in combination with other 
substances or waste, as will not cause 
organoleptic effects in water supplies 

that can not be corrected by treatment, 
impair the palatability of fish, or have 
an adverse impact, as defined in 15A 
NCAC 02H .1002, on any best usage 
established for waters of this class; 

(c) Chlorinated phenolic compounds: not 

greater than 1.0 ug/l to protect water 
supplies from taste and odor problems 
due to chlorinated phenols. Specific 
phenolic compounds may be given a 
different limit if it is demonstrated not 
to cause taste and odor problems and 

not to be detrimental to other best 
usage; 

(d) Total hardness: not greater than 100 
mg/l as calcium carbonate (CaCO3 or 
Ca + Mg); 

(e) Solids, total dissolved: not greater than 

500 mg/l; 
(f) Toxic and other deleterious substances 

that are non-carcinogens: 
(i) Barium: 1.0 mg/l; 
(ii) Chloride: 250 mg/l; 
(iii) Nickel: 25 ug/l; 
(iv) Nitrate nitrogen: 10.0 mg/l; 

(v) 2,4-D: 70 ug/l; 
(vi) 2,4,5-TP (Silvex): 10 ug/l; 

and 
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(vii) Sulfates: 250 mg/l; 

(g) Toxic and other deleterious substances 
that are carcinogens: 
(i) Aldrin: 0.05 ng/1; 
(ii) Arsenic: 10 ug/l; 
(iii) Benzene: 1.19 ug/1; 
(iv) Carbon tetrachloride: 0.254 

ug/l; 
(v) Chlordane: 0.8 ng/1; 
(vi) Chlorinated benzenes: 488 

ug/l; 
(vii) DDT: 0.2 ng/1; 
(viii) Dieldrin: 0.05 ng/1; 

(ix) Dioxin: 0.000005 ng/l; 
(x) Heptachlor: 0.08 ng/1; 
(xi) Hexachlorobutadiene: 0.44 

ug/l; 
(xii) Polynuclear aromatic 

hydrocarbons (total of all 

PAHs): 2.8 ng/l; 
(xiii) Tetrachloroethane (1,1,2,2): 

0.17 ug/l; 
(xiv) Tetrachloroethylene: 0.7 

ug/l; 
(xv) Trichloroethylene: 2.5 ug/l; 

and 
(xvi) Vinyl Chloride: 0.025 ug/l. 

(4) No discharge of sewage, industrial wastes, or 
other wastes shall be allowed that have an 
adverse effect on human health or that are not 
treated in accordance with the permit or other 

requirements established by the Division 
pursuant to G.S. 143-215.1. Upon request by 
the Commission, dischargers or industrial users 
subject to pretreatment standards shall disclose 
all chemical constituents present or potentially 
present in their wastes and chemicals that could 

be spilled or be present in runoff from their 
facility which may have an adverse impact on 
downstream water quality. These facilities may 
be required to have spill and treatment failure 
control plans as well as perform special 
monitoring for toxic substances. 

(5) Nonpoint Source pollution in a WS-V water 
shall not have an adverse impact on waters for 
use as water supply or any other designated use. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. October 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; 
October 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0219 FRESH SURFACE WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS FOR CLASS B WATERS 

The following water quality standards shall apply to surface 

waters that are for primary contact recreation as defined in Rule 
.0202 of this Section, and are classified as Class B waters. Water 

quality standards applicable to Class C waters as described in Rule 

.0211 of this Section also apply to Class B waters. 
(1) The best usage of Class B waters shall be 

primary contact recreation and any other best 
usage specified for Class C waters. 

(2) Class B waters shall meet the standards of water 
quality for outdoor bathing places as specified 

in Item (3) of this Rule and shall be of sufficient 
size and depth for primary contact recreation. In 
assigning the B classification to waters intended 
for primary contact recreation, the Commission 
shall consider the relative proximity of sources 
of water pollution and the potential hazards 

involved in locating swimming areas close to 
sources of water pollution and shall not assign 
this classification to waters in which such water 
pollution could result in a hazard to public 
health. Sources of water pollution that preclude 
any of these uses on either a short-term or 

long-term basis shall be deemed to violate a 
water quality standard. 

(3) Quality standards applicable to Class B waters: 
(a) Sewage, industrial wastes, or other 

wastes: none shall be allowed that are 
not treated to the satisfaction of the 

Commission. In determining the 
degree of treatment required for such 
waste when discharged into waters to 
be used for bathing, the Commission 
shall consider the quality and quantity 
of the sewage and wastes involved and 

the proximity of such discharges to 
waters in this class. Discharges in the 
immediate vicinity of bathing areas 
shall not be allowed if the Director 
determines that the waste cannot be 
treated to ensure the protection of 

primary contact recreation; 
(b) Fecal coliforms shall not exceed a 

geometric mean of 200/100 ml (MF 
count) based on at least five samples 
taken over a 30-day period, nor exceed 
400/100 ml in more than 20 percent of 

the samples examined during such 
period. 

(4) Wastewater discharges to waters classified as B 
shall meet the reliability requirements specified 
in 15A NCAC 02H .0124. Discharges to waters 
where a primary contact recreational use is 

determined by the Director to be attainable shall 
be required to meet water quality standards and 
reliability requirements to protect this use 
concurrently with reclassification efforts. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 02B .0220 TIDAL SALT WATER QUALITY 

STANDARDS FOR CLASS SC WATERS 

In addition to the standards set forth in Rule .0208 of this Section, 
the following water quality standards shall apply to all Class SC 
waters. Additional standards applicable to other tidal salt water 
classifications are specified in Rules .0221 and .0222 of this 
Section.  

(1) The best usage of waters classified as SC shall 
be aquatic life propagation, survival, and 
maintenance of biological integrity (including 
fishing, fish, and Primary Nursery Areas 
(PNAs)); wildlife; secondary contact recreation 
as defined in Rule .0202 in this Section; and any 

usage except primary contact recreation or 
shellfishing for market purposes. All saltwaters 
shall be classified to protect these uses at a 
minimum. 

(2) The best usage of waters classified as SC shall 
be maintained as specified in this Rule. Any 

source of water pollution that precludes any of 
these uses on either a short-term or a long-term 
basis shall be deemed to violate a water quality 
standard; 

(3) Chlorophyll a (corrected): not greater than 40 
ug/l in sounds, estuaries, and other waters 

subject to growths of macroscopic or 
microscopic vegetation. The Commission or its 
designee may prohibit or limit any discharge of 
waste into surface waters if the Director 
determines that the surface waters experience or 
the discharge would result in growths of 

microscopic or macroscopic vegetation such 
that the standards established pursuant to this 
Rule would be violated or the intended best 
usage of the waters would be impaired; 

(4) Cyanide: 1 ug/l; 
(5) Dissolved oxygen: not less than 5.0 mg/l, 

except that swamp waters, poorly flushed 
tidally influenced streams or embayments, or 
estuarine bottom waters may have lower values 
if caused by natural conditions; 

(6) Enterococcus, including Enterococcus faecalis, 
Enterococcus faecium, Enterococcus avium 

and Enterococcus gallinarium: not exceed a 
geometric mean of 35 enterococci per 100 ml 
based upon a minimum of five samples taken 
over a 30-day period. For the purposes of beach 
monitoring and notification, "Coastal 
Recreational Waters Monitoring, Evaluation 

and Notification" regulations (15A NCAC 18A 
.3400), available free of charge at: 
http://www.ncoah.com/, are incorporated by 
reference including subsequent amendments 
and editions; 

(7) Floating solids, settleable solids, or sludge 
deposits: only such amounts attributable to 

sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes as 
shall not make the waters unsafe or unsuitable 

for aquatic life and wildlife, or impair the 

waters for any designated uses; 
(8) Gases, total dissolved: not greater than 110 

percent of saturation; 
(9) Metals: 

(a) With the exception of mercury and 
selenium, acute and chronic tidal salt 

water quality standards for metals 
shall be based upon measurement of 
the dissolved fraction of the metals. 
Mercury and selenium shall be based 
upon measurement of the total 
recoverable metal; 

(b) With the exception of mercury and 
selenium, acute and chronic tidal 
saltwater quality aquatic life standards 
for metals listed in this Sub-Item shall 
apply as a function of the pollutant's 
water effect ratio (WER). The WER 

shall be assigned a value equal to one 
unless any person demonstrates to the 
Division in a permit proceeding that 
another value is developed in 
accordance with the "Water Quality 
Standards Handbook: Second Edition" 

published by the US Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA-823-B-12-
002). Alternative site-specific 
standards may also be developed when 
any person submits values that 
demonstrate to the Commission that 

they were derived in accordance with 
the "Water Quality Standards 
Handbook: Second Edition, 
Recalculation Procedure or the 
Resident Species Procedure." 

(c) Acute and chronic tidal salt water 

quality metals standards shall be as 
follows: 
(i) Arsenic, acute: WER∙ 69 

ug/l; 
(ii) Arsenic, chronic: WER∙ 36 

ug/l; 

(iii) Cadmium, acute: WER∙ 40 
ug/l; 

(iv) Cadmium, chronic: WER∙ 
8.8 ug/l; 

(v) Chromium VI, acute: WER∙ 
1100 ug/l; 

(vi) Chromium VI, chronic: 
WER∙ 50 ug/l; 

(vii) Copper, acute: WER∙ 4.8 
ug/l; 

(viii) Copper, chronic: WER∙ 3.1 
ug/l; 

(ix) Lead, acute: WER∙ 210 ug/l; 

(x) Lead, chronic: WER∙ 8.1 
ug/l; 
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(xi) Mercury, total recoverable, 

chronic: 0.025 ug/l; 
(xii) Nickel, acute: WER∙ 74 ug/l; 
(xiii) Nickel, chronic: WER∙ 8.2 

ug/l; 
(xiv) Selenium, total recoverable, 

chronic: 71 ug/l; 

(xv) Silver, acute: WER∙ 1.9 ug/l; 
(xvi) Silver, chronic: WER∙ 0.1 

ug/l; 
(xvii) Zinc, acute: WER∙ 90 ug/l; 

and 
(xviii) Zinc, chronic: WER∙ 81 ug/l; 

(d) Compliance with acute instream 
metals standards shall only be 
evaluated using an average of two or 
more samples collected within one 
hour. Compliance with chronic 
instream metals standards shall only 

be evaluated using averages of a 
minimum of four samples taken on 
consecutive days, or as a 96-hour 
average; 

(10) Oils, deleterious substances, or colored or other 
wastes: only such amounts as shall not render 

the waters injurious to public health, secondary 
recreation, aquatic life, and wildlife or 
adversely affect the palatability of fish, 
aesthetic quality, or impair the waters for any 
designated uses. For the purpose of 
implementing this Rule, oils, deleterious 

substances, or colored or other wastes shall 
include substances that cause a film or sheen 
upon or discoloration of the surface of the water 
or adjoining shorelines, as described in 40 CFR 
110.3, incorporated by reference including any 
subsequent amendments and editions. This 

material is available free of charge at 
https://www.govinfo.gov. 

(11) Pesticides: 
(a) Aldrin: 0.003 ug/l; 
(b) Chlordane: 0.004 ug/l; 
(c) DDT: 0.001 ug/l; 

(d) Demeton: 0.1 ug/l; 
(e) Dieldrin: 0.002 ug/l; 
(f) Endosulfan: 0.009 ug/l; 
(g) Endrin: 0.002 ug/l; 
(h) Guthion: 0.01 ug/l; 
(i) Heptachlor: 0.004 ug/l; 

(j) Lindane: 0.004 ug/l; 
(k) Methoxychlor: 0.03 ug/l; 
(l) Mirex: 0.001 ug/l; 
(m) Parathion: 0.178 ug/l; and 
(n) Toxaphene: 0.0002 ug/l; 

(12) pH: shall be between 6.8 and 8.5, except that 
swamp waters may have a pH as low as 4.3 if it 

is the result of natural conditions; 

(13) Phenolic compounds: only such levels as shall 

not result in fish-flesh tainting or impairment of 
other best usage; 

(14) Polychlorinated biphenyls: (total of all PCBs 
and congeners identified) 0.001 ug/l; 

(15) Radioactive substances, based on at least one 
sample collected per quarter: 

(a) Combined radium-226 and 
radium-228: the average annual 
activity level for combined 
radium-226, and radium-228 shall not 
exceed five picoCuries per liter; 

(b) Alpha Emitters: the average annual 

gross alpha particle activity (including 
radium-226, but excluding radon and 
uranium) shall not exceed 15 
picoCuries per liter; 

(c) Beta Emitters: the average annual 
activity level for strontium-90 shall 

not exceed eight picoCuries per liter, 
nor shall the average annual gross beta 
particle activity (excluding 
potassium-40 and other naturally 
occurring radionuclides exceed 50 
picoCuries per liter, nor shall the 

average annual activity level for 
tritium exceed 20,000 picoCuries per 
liter; 

(16) Salinity: changes in salinity due to hydrological 
modifications shall not result in removal of the 
functions of a PNA. Projects that are 

determined by the Director to result in 
modifications of salinity such that functions of 
a PNA are impaired shall employ water 
management practices to mitigate salinity 
impacts; 

(17) Temperature: shall not be increased above the 

natural water temperature by more than 0.8 
degrees C (1.44 degrees F) during the months 
of June, July, and August, shall not be increased 
by more than 2.2 degrees C (3.96 degrees F) 
during other months, and shall in no case 
exceed 32 degrees C (89.6 degrees F) due to the 

discharge of heated liquids; 
(18) Trialkyltin compounds: 0.007 ug/l expressed as 

tributyltin; 
(19) Turbidity: the turbidity in the receiving water 

shall not exceed 25 Nephelometric Turbidity 
Units (NTU); if turbidity exceeds this level due 

to natural background conditions, the existing 
turbidity level shall not be increased. 
Compliance with this turbidity standard shall be 
deemed met when land management activities 
employ Best Management Practices (BMPs), 
defined by Rule .0202 of this Section, 
recommended by the Designated Nonpoint 

Source Agency, as defined by Rule .0202 of this 
Section.  
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. October 1, 1995; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; August 1, 2000; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0221 TIDAL SALT WATER QUALITY 

STANDARDS FOR CLASS SA WATERS 

In addition to the standards set forth in Rules .0220 and .0222 of 
this Section, the following water quality standards shall apply to 
tidal surface waters that are used for shellfishing for market 
purposes and that are classified SA.  

(1) The best usage of waters classified as SA shall 
be shellfishing for market purposes and any 

other usage specified by the "SB" or "SC" 
classification; 

(2) The best usage of waters classified as SA shall 
be maintained as specified in this Rule. In 
determining the safety or suitability of Class SA 
waters to be used for shellfishing for market 

purposes, the Commission shall consider the 
existing water quality of the area in relation to 
the standards to protect shellfishing uses, the 
potential contamination of the area from both 
point and nonpoint sources of pollution, and the 
presence of harvestable quantities of shellfish 

or the potential for the area to have harvestable 
quantities through management efforts of the 
Division of Marine Fisheries. Waters shall meet 
the current sanitary and bacteriological 
standards in 15A NCAC 18A .0400, which is 
hereby incorporated by reference, as adopted by 

the Commission for Public Health and shall be 
suitable for shellfish culture. Any source of 
water pollution that precludes any of these uses, 
on either a short-term or a long-term basis shall 
be deemed to violate a water quality standard. 
Waters shall not be classified SA without the 

written concurrence of the Division of Marine 
Fisheries. 

(3) The following water quality standards shall 
apply to Class SA Waters: 
(a) Floating solids, settleable solids, or 

sludge deposits: none attributable to 

sewage, industrial wastes, or other 
wastes; 

(b) Sewage: none; 
(c) Industrial wastes or other wastes shall 

not be allowed unless they are treated 
in accordance with the permit or other 

requirements established by the 
Division pursuant to G.S. 143-215.1; 
and 

(d) Organisms of the fecal coliform group 
shall meet the bacteriological 
standards in 15A NCAC 18A 
.0431(4). 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. October 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0222 TIDAL SALT WATER QUALITY 

STANDARDS FOR CLASS SB WATERS 

In addition to the standards set forth in Rule .0220 of this Section, 
the following water quality standards shall apply to tidal surface 

waters that are used for primary contact recreation as defined in 
Rule .0202 of this Section and that are classified SB.  

(1) The best usage of waters classified as SB shall 
be primary contact recreation and any other 
usage specified by the "SC" classification; 

(2) The best usage of waters classified as SB shall 

be maintained as specified in this Rule. In 
assigning the SB classification to waters 
intended for primary contact recreation, the 
Commission shall consider the relative 
proximity of sources of water pollution and the 
potential hazards involved in locating 

swimming areas close to sources of water 
pollution, and shall not assign this classification 
to waters in which such water pollution could 
result in a hazard to public health. The waters 
shall meet accepted sanitary standards of water 
quality for outdoor bathing places as specified 

in Item (3) of this Rule and shall be of sufficient 
size and depth for primary contact recreation 
purposes. Any source of water pollution that 
precludes any of these uses, on either a 
short-term or a long-term basis, shall be deemed 
to violate a water quality standard. 

(3) The following water quality standards shall 
apply to Class SB waters: 
(a) Floating solids, settleable solids, or 

sludge deposits: none attributable to 
sewage, industrial wastes, or other 
wastes; 

(b) Sewage, industrial wastes, or other 
wastes: none shall be allowed that are 
not treated to the satisfaction of the 
Commission. In determining the 
degree of treatment required for such 
waters discharged into waters that are 

to be used for bathing, the 
Commission shall consider the 
quantity and quality of the sewage and 
other wastes involved and the 
proximity of such discharges to the 
waters in this class. Discharges in the 

immediate vicinity of bathing areas 
shall not be allowed if the Director 
determines that the waste cannot be 
treated to ensure the protection of 
primary contact recreation; 

(c) Enterococcus, including Enterococcus 
faecalis, Enterococcus faecium, 

Enterococcus avium and Enterococcus 
gallinarium: not exceed a geometric 
mean of 35 enterococci per 100 ml 
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based upon a minimum of five 

samples taken over a 30-day period. In 
accordance with Clean Water Act, 33 
U.S.C. 1313 for the purposes of beach 
monitoring and notification, "Coastal 
Recreation Waters Monitoring, 
Evaluation and Notification" 

regulations (15A NCAC 18A .3400) 
are incorporated by reference 
including subsequent amendments and 
editions. 

(4) Wastewater discharges to waters classified as 
SB shall meet the reliability requirements 

specified in 15A NCAC 02H .0124. Discharges 
to waters where a primary contact recreational 
use is determined by the Director to be 
attainable shall be required to meet water 
quality standards and reliability requirements to 
protect this use concurrently with 

reclassification efforts. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. October 1, 1995; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0223 WATER QUALITY STANDARDS 

FOR NUTRIENT SENSITIVE WATERS 

(a)  In addition to existing classifications, the Commission may 
classify any surface waters of the State as Nutrient Sensitive 
Waters (NSW) upon a finding that such waters are experiencing 

or are subject to excessive growths of microscopic or macroscopic 
vegetation. Excessive growths are growths that the Commission 
determines impair the best usage of the water as determined by 
the classification applied to such waters. In classifying waters as 
NSW, the Commission shall consider the criteria specified in G.S. 
143-214.1. 

(b)  NSW may include any or all waters within a particular river 
basin as the Commission deems necessary to control excessive 
growths of microscopic or macroscopic vegetation. 
(c)  For the purpose of this Rule, the term "nutrients" shall mean 
phosphorous or nitrogen or any other chemical parameter or 
combination of parameters that the Commission determines to be 

contributing to excessive growths of microscopic or macroscopic 
vegetation. In determining whether such parameters are 
contributing to excessive growths of microscopic or macroscopic 
vegetation, the Commission shall consider information such as 
chemical, physical, and biological data and reports. 
(d)  Those waters of the State that are classified as NSW shall be 

identified in the appropriate river basin classification schedule. 
The schedules are available online at 
http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/wq/ps/csu/classifications. 
(e)  Nutrient strategies applicable to NSW shall be developed by 
the Commission to limit nutrients so as to control the magnitude, 
duration, or frequencies of excessive growths of microscopic or 
macroscopic vegetation so that the existing and designated uses 

of the waterbody are protected or restored. Nutrient strategies 
applicable to NSW are set forth in this Subchapter. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.8B; 

Eff. October 1, 1995; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0224 WATER QUALITY STANDARDS 

FOR HIGH QUALITY WATERS 

(a)  High Quality Waters (HQW) are a subset of "waters with 
quality higher than the standards" as defined in Rule .0202(58) of 
this Section. This Rule shall be implemented in order to meet the 
requirements of Rule .0201(d) of this Section. 
(b)  High Quality Waters (HQW) shall include: 

(1) water supply watersheds that are classified as 

Class WS-I or WS-II; 
(2) waters classified as Class SA; and 
(3) surface waters of the State that the Commission 

classifies as HQW upon finding that such 
waters are: 
(A) rated excellent based on biological and 

physical/chemical characteristics 
through monitoring or special studies; 
or 

(B) primary nursery areas (PNA) and 
other functional nursery areas 
designated by the Marine Fisheries 

Commission or the Wildlife 
Resources Commission. 

(c)  New or expanded wastewater discharges in High Quality 
Waters shall comply with the following: 

(1) Discharges from new single family residences 
shall be prohibited. Existing subsurface 

systems for single family residences that fail 
and must discharge shall install a septic tank, 
dual or recirculating sand filters, disinfection, 
and step aeration. 

(2) All new National Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (NPDES) wastewater 

discharges, except those for single family 
residences, shall comply with the following: 
(A) Oxygen Consuming Wastes: Effluent 

limitations for oxygen consuming 
wastes shall be BOD5= 5 mg/l, NH3-N 
= 2 mg/l, and DO = 6 mg/l. More 

stringent limitations shall be set, if 
necessary, to ensure that the 
cumulative pollutant discharge of 
oxygen-consuming wastes does not 
cause the DO of the receiving water to 
drop more than 0.5 mg/l below 

background levels, and in no case 
below the standard. Where 
background information is not 
available, evaluations shall assume a 
percent saturation determined by staff 
to be applicable to that 
hydroenvironment. 

(B) Total Suspended Solids: Discharges of 
total suspended solids (TSS) shall be 
limited to effluent concentrations of 
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10 mg/l for trout waters and HQW-

classified PNAs and 20 mg/l for all 
other High Quality Waters. 

(C) Disinfection: Alternative methods to 
chlorination shall be required for 
discharges to trout streams, except that 
single family residences may use 

chlorination if other options are not 
economically feasible, as determined 
on a case-by-case basis. Domestic 
discharges to SA waters shall be 
prohibited. 

(D) Emergency Requirements: Reliable 

treatment designs shall be employed, 
such as stand-by power capability for 
entire treatment works, dual train 
design for all treatment components, 
or other reliable treatment designs in 
accordance with 15A NCAC 02H 

.0124. 
(E) Volume: The total volume of treated 

wastewater for all discharges 
combined shall not exceed 50 percent 
of the total instream flow under 7Q10 
conditions. 

(F) Nutrients: Where nutrient 
overenrichment is projected to be a 
concern, effluent limitations shall be 
set for phosphorus or nitrogen, or both. 

(G) Toxic substances: In cases where 
complex wastes (those containing or 

potentially containing toxicants) may 
be present in a discharge, a safety 
factor shall be applied to any chemical 
or whole effluent toxicity allocation. 
The limit for a specific chemical 
constituent shall be allocated at 

one-half of the normal standard at 
design conditions. Whole effluent 
toxicity shall be allocated to protect 
for chronic toxicity at an effluent 
concentration equal to twice that 
which is acceptable under design 

conditions. In all instances there may 
be no acute toxicity in an effluent 
concentration of 90 percent. Ammonia 
toxicity shall be evaluated according 
to EPA guidelines promulgated in 
"Ambient Water Quality Criteria for 

Ammonia - 1984"; EPA document 
number 440/5-85-001; NITS number 
PB85-227114; July 29, 1985 (50 FR 
30784) or "Ambient Water Quality 
Criteria for Ammonia 
(Saltwater) - 1989"; EPA document 
number 440/5-88-004; NTIS number 

PB89-169825. This material related to 
ammonia toxicity is available at no 
cost at 

https://www.epa.gov/wqc/aquatic-

life-criteria-ammonia and 
https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/
files/2019-02/documents/ambient-
wqc-ammonia-saltwater-1989.pdf, 
and is hereby incorporated by 
reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions.  
(3) All expanded NPDES wastewater discharges in 

High Quality Waters shall comply with 
Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, except for 
those existing discharges that expand with no 
increase in permitted pollutant loading. 

(d)  Development activities that require an Erosion and 
Sedimentation Control Plan in accordance with rules established 
by the NC Sedimentation Control Commission and which drain 
to and are within one mile of High Quality Waters (HQW) shall 
comply with the stormwater management rules as specified in 
15A NCAC 02H .1019 (coastal county waters) or .1021 (non-

coastal county waters).  
(e)  Waters Classified HQW with Specific Actions: Thorpe 
Reservoir [Little Tennessee River Basin, Index No. 2-79-23-(1)], 
including its tributaries, shall be managed with respect to 
wastewater discharges as required by Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 
Paragraph (d) of this Rule shall not apply to Thorpe Reservoir and 

its tributaries.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 
143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. October 1, 1995; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; April 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0225 WATER QUALITY STANDARDS 

FOR OUTSTANDING RESOURCE WATERS 

(a)  The Commission shall classify surface waters of the State as 
outstanding resource waters (ORW) upon finding, on a case-by-

case basis, that such waters are of exceptional State or national 
recreational or ecological significance that require additional 
protection to maintain existing uses, as described in this Rule, and 
that the waters meet the following conditions: 

(1) the water quality is rated as excellent based on 
physical, chemical or biological information; 

and 
(2) the characteristics that make these waters of 

exceptional State or national recreational or 
ecological significance may not be protected by 
the assigned narrative and numerical water 
quality standards. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, a water body shall be deemed to be 
of exceptional State or national recreational or ecological 
significance if it exhibits one or more of the following ORW uses: 

(1) there are outstanding fish or commercially-
important aquatic species habitat and fisheries; 

(2) there is a high level of water-based recreation 
or the potential for such recreation; 

(3) the waters have received a designation such as 
a North Carolina or National Wild and Scenic 
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River or a National Wildlife Refuge, which do 

not provide any water quality protection; 
(4) the waters represent an important component of 

a State or national park or forest; or 
(5) the waters are of ecological or scientific 

significance, such as habitat for rare or 
endangered species or as areas for research and 

education. 
(c)  Quality Standards for ORW. 

(1) Freshwater: Water quality conditions shall be 
maintained to protect the outstanding resource 
values of waters classified ORW. Management 
strategies to protect resource values shall be 

developed on a site-specific basis during the 
proceedings to classify waters as ORW in 
accordance with Rule .0101 of the Subchapter. 
No new discharges or expansions of existing 
discharges shall be permitted, and stormwater 
controls for all new development activities 

requiring an Erosion and Sedimentation 
Control Plan in accordance with rules 
established by the NC Sedimentation Control 
Commission shall comply with the stormwater 
provisions set forth in 15A NCAC 02H .1000, 
including the specific stormwater management 

requirements for freshwater ORW areas set 
forth in 15A NCAC 02H .1019 and .1021. 

(2) Saltwater: Water quality conditions shall be 
maintained to protect the outstanding resource 
values of waters classified ORW. Management 
strategies to protect resource values shall be 

developed on a site-specific basis during the 
proceedings to classify waters as ORW in 
accordance with Rule .0101 of this Subchapter. 
New development shall comply with the 
stormwater provisions set forth in 15A NCAC 
02H .1000, including the specific stormwater 

management requirements for saltwater ORW 
areas set forth in 15A NCAC 02H .1019 and 
.1021. No dredge or fill activities shall be 
allowed if those activities would result in a 
reduction of the beds of "submerged aquatic 
vegetation habitat" or "shellfish producing 

habitat," defined in 15A NCAC 03I .0101, and 
incorporated by reference including subsequent 
amendments and editions, except for 
maintenance dredging, such as that required to 
maintain access to existing channels and 
facilities located within the designated areas, or 

maintenance dredging for activities such as 
agriculture. The Commission shall hold a 
public hearing before granting a permit to 
discharge to waters classified as ORW. 

Additional, site-specific actions to protect resource values shall be 
considered during the proceedings to classify waters as ORW and 
shall be specified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. These actions may 

include anything within the powers of the Commission, as set 
forth in G.S. 143-21 and G.S. 143B-282. The Commission shall 

also consider local actions that have been taken to protect a water 

body in determining the additional, site-specific actions.  
(d)  Listing of Waters Classified ORW with Specific Actions.  

(1) Roosevelt Natural Area [White Oak River 
Basin, Index Nos. 20-36-9.5-(1) and 
20-36-9.5-(2)], including all fresh and saline 
waters within the property boundaries of the 

natural area: New development on a site within 
575 feet of and naturally draining to the 
Roosevelt Natural Area shall comply with the 
low density option in the stormwater rules set 
forth in 15A NCAC 02H .1019. 

(2) Chattooga River ORW Area (Little Tennessee 

River Basin and Savannah River Drainage 
Area): the following undesignated waterbodies 
that are tributary to ORW designated segments 
shall comply with Subparagraph (c)(1) of this 
Rule in order to protect the designated waters as 
per Rule .0203 of this Section. However, 

expansions of existing discharges to the 
following segments shall be allowed if there is 
no increase in pollutant loading: 
(A) North and South Fowler Creeks and 

associated tributaries; 
(B) Green and Norton Mill Creeks and 

associated tributaries; 
(C) Cane Creek and associated tributaries; 
(D) Ammons Branch and associated 

tributaries; and 
(E) Glade Creek and associated 

tributaries. 

(3) Henry Fork ORW Area (Catawba River Basin): 
the following undesignated waterbodies that are 
tributary to ORW designated segments shall 
comply with Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule 
in order to protect the designated waters as per 
Rule .0203 of this Section: 

(A) Ivy Creek and associated tributaries; 
and 

(B) Rock Creek and associated tributaries. 
(4) South Fork New and New Rivers ORW Area 

[New River Basin (Index Nos. 10-1-33.5 and 
10)]: the following management strategies, in 

addition to the discharge requirements set forth 
in Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule, shall apply 
to the designated ORW areas: 
(A) Stormwater controls described in 

Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule shall 
apply to land within one mile of and 

that drains to the designated ORW 
areas; 

(B) New or expanded National Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System 
(NPDES) permitted wastewater 
discharges located upstream of the 
designated ORW (for the North Fork 

New River ORW area, see 
Subparagraph (14) of this Paragraph) 
shall be permitted such that the 
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following water quality standards are 

maintained in the ORW segment: 
(i) the total volume of treated 

wastewater for all upstream 
discharges combined shall 
not exceed 50 percent of the 
total instream flow in the 

designated ORW under 7Q10 
conditions, which are defined 
in Rule .0206(a)(1) of this 
Section; 

(ii) a safety factor shall be 
applied to any chemical 

allocation such that the 
effluent limitation for a 
specific chemical constituent 
shall be the more stringent of 
either the limitation allocated 
under design conditions 

pursuant to Rule .0206 of this 
Section for the normal 
standard at the point of 
discharge, or the limitation 
allocated under design 
conditions for one-half the 

normal standard at the 
upstream border of the ORW 
segment; 

(iii) a safety factor shall be 
applied to any discharge of 
complex wastewater (those 

containing or potentially 
containing toxicants) to 
protect for chronic toxicity in 
the ORW segment by setting 
the whole effluent toxicity 
limitation at the higher 

effluent concentration 
determined under design 
conditions pursuant to Rule 
.0206 of this Section for 
either the instream effluent 
concentration at the point of 

discharge or twice the 
effluent concentration 
calculated as if the discharge 
were at the upstream border 
of the ORW segment; 

(C) New or expanded NPDES permitted 

wastewater discharges located 
upstream of the designated ORW (for 
the North Fork New River ORW area, 
see Subparagraph (14) of this 
Paragraph) shall comply with the 
following: 
(i) Oxygen Consuming Wastes: 

Effluent limitations for 
oxygen consuming wastes 

shall be BOD = 5 mg/1, and 

NH3-N = 2 mg/1; 
(ii) Total Suspended Solids: 

Discharges of total 
suspended solids (TSS) shall 
be limited to effluent 
concentrations of 10 mg/1 for 

trout waters and to 20 mg/1 
for all other waters; 

(iii) Emergency Requirements: 
Reliable treatment designs 
shall be employed, such as 
stand-by power capability for 

entire treatment works, dual 
train design for all treatment 
components, or other reliable 
treatment designs in 
accordance with 15A NCAC 
02H .0124; 

(iv) Nutrients: If nutrient 
overenrichment is projected 
to be a concern, effluent 
limitations shall be set for 
phosphorus, nitrogen, or 
both; 

(5) Old Field Creek (New River Basin): the 
undesignated portion of Old Field Creek from 
its source to Call Creek shall comply with 
Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule in order to 
protect the designated waters as per Rule .0203 
of this Section; 

(6) In the following designated waterbodies, no 
additional restrictions shall be placed on new or 
expanded marinas. The only new or expanded 
NPDES permitted discharges that shall be 
allowed shall be non-domestic, non-process 
industrial discharges. The Alligator River Area 

(Pasquotank River Basin), extending from the 
source of the Alligator River to the U.S. 
Highway 64 bridge, including New Lake Fork, 
North West Fork Alligator River, Juniper 
Creek, Southwest Fork Alligator River, Scouts 
Bay, Gum Neck Creek, Georgia Bay, Winn 

Bay, Stumpy Creek Bay, Stumpy Creek, Swann 
Creek (Swann Creek Lake), Whipping Creek 
(Whipping Creek Lake), Grapevine Bay, 
Rattlesnake Bay, The Straits, The Frying Pan, 
Coopers Creek, Babbitt Bay, Goose Creek, 
Milltail Creek, Boat Bay, Sandy Ridge Gut 

(Sawyer Lake) and Second Creek, but 
excluding the Intracoastal Waterway (Pungo 
River-Alligator River Canal) and all other 
tributary streams and canals; 

(7) In the following designated waterbodies, the 
only type of new or expanded marina that shall 
be allowed shall be those marinas located in 

upland basin areas, or those with fewer than 10 
slips having no boats over 24 feet in length and 
no boats with heads. The only new or expanded 
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NPDES permitted discharges that shall be 

allowed shall be non-domestic, non-process 
industrial discharges: 
(A) the Northeast Swanquarter Bay Area 

including all waters northeast of a line 
from a point at Lat. 35E 23N 51O and 
Long. 76E 21N 02O thence southeast 

along the Swanquarter National 
Wildlife Refuge hunting closure 
boundary (as defined by the 1935 
Presidential Proclamation and 
depicted on the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service Swanquarter National 

Wildlife Refuge map at 
https://www.fws.gov/southeast/pdf/m
ap/swanquarter-national-wildlife-
refuge.pdf, incorporated by reference) 
to Drum Point; 

(B) the Neuse-Southeast Pamlico Sound 

Area (Southeast Pamlico Sound 
Section of the Southeast Pamlico, 
Core and Back Sound Area); (Neuse 
River Basin) including all waters 
within an area defined by a line 
extending from the southern shore of 

Ocracoke Inlet northwest to the 
Tar-Pamlico River and Neuse River 
basin boundary, then southwest to 
Ship Point; 

(C) the Core Sound Section of the 
Southeast Pamlico, Core and Back 

Sound Area (White Oak River Basin), 
including all waters of Core Sound and 
its tributaries, but excluding Nelson 
Bay, Little Port Branch and Atlantic 
Harbor at its mouth, and those 
tributaries of Jarrett Bay that are 

closed to shellfishing; 
(D) the Western Bogue Sound Section of 

the Western Bogue Sound and Bear 
Island Area (White Oak River Basin), 
including all waters within an area 
defined by a line from Bogue Inlet to 

the mainland at SR 1117 to a line 
across Bogue Sound from the 
southwest side of Gales Creek to Rock 
Point and including Taylor Bay and 
the Intracoastal Waterway; 

(E) the Stump Sound Area (Cape Fear 

River Basin), including all waters of 
Stump Sound and Alligator Bay from 
marker Number 17 to the western end 
of Permuda Island, but excluding 
Rogers Bay, the Kings Creek 
Restricted Area, and Mill Creek; and 

(F) the Topsail Sound and Middle Sound 

Area (Cape Fear River Basin), 
including all estuarine waters from 
New Topsail Inlet to Mason Inlet and 

including the Intracoastal Waterway 

and Howe Creek, but excluding Pages 
Creek and Futch Creek. 

(8) In the following designated waterbodies, no 
new or expanded NPDES permitted discharges 
and only new or expanded marinas with fewer 
than 10 slips having no boats over 24 feet in 

length and no boats with heads shall be allowed: 
(A) the Swanquarter Bay and Juniper Bay 

Area (Tar-Pamlico River Basin), 
including all waters within a line 
beginning at Juniper Bay Point and 
running south and then west below 

Great Island, then northwest to Shell 
Point and including Shell, 
Swanquarter, and Juniper Bays and 
their tributaries, but excluding all 
waters northeast of a line from a point 
at Lat. 35E 23N 51O and Long. 76E 

21N 02O thence southeast along the 
Swanquarter National Wildlife Refuge 
hunting closure boundary (as defined 
by the 1935 Presidential Proclamation 
and depicted on the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service Swanquarter 

National Wildlife Refuge map at 
https://www.fws.gov/southeast/pdf/m
ap/swanquarter-national-wildlife-
refuge.pdf, incorporated by reference) 
to Drum Point and also excluding the 
Blowout, Hydeland, Juniper, and 

Quarter Canals; 
(B) the Back Sound Section of the 

Southeast Pamlico, Core and Back 
Sound Area (White Oak River Basin), 
including that area of Back Sound 
extending from Core Sound west 

along Shackleford Banks, then north 
to the westernmost point of Middle 
Marshes and along the northwest 
shore of Middle Marshes (to include 
all of Middle Marshes), then west to 
Rush Point on Harker's Island, and 

along the southern shore of Harker's 
Island back to Core Sound; 

(C) the Bear Island Section of the Western 
Bogue Sound and Bear Island Area 
(White Oak River Basin), including all 
waters within an area defined by a line 

from the western most point on Bear 
Island to the northeast mouth of Goose 
Creek on the mainland, east to the 
southwest mouth of Queen Creek, then 
south to green marker No. 49, then 
northeast to the northern most point on 
Huggins Island, then southeast along 

the shoreline of Huggins Island to the 
southeastern most point of Huggins 
Island, then south to the northeastern 
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most point on Dudley Island, then 

southwest along the shoreline of 
Dudley Island to the eastern tip of 
Bear Island; and 

(D) the Masonboro Sound Area (Cape 
Fear River Basin), including all waters 
between the Barrier Islands and the 

mainland from Carolina Beach Inlet to 
Masonboro Inlet. 

(9) Black and South Rivers ORW Area (Cape Fear 
River Basin) [Index Nos. 18-68-(0.5), 
18-68-(3.5), 18-68-(11.5), 18-68-12-(0.5), 
18-68-12-(11.5), and 18-68-2]: the following 

management strategies shall be required in 
addition to the discharge requirements specified 
in Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule: 
(A) Stormwater controls described in 

Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule shall 
apply to land within one mile of and 

that drains to the designated ORW 
areas; 

(B) New or expanded NPDES permitted 
wastewater discharges located one 
mile upstream of the stream segments 
designated ORW (upstream on the 

designated mainstem and upstream 
into direct tributaries to the designated 
mainstem) shall comply with the 
following discharge restrictions: 
(i) Oxygen Consuming Wastes: 

Effluent limitations shall be 

as follows: BOD shall not 
exceed 5 mg/l and NH3-N 
shall not exceed 2 mg/l; 

(ii) Total Suspended Solids: 
Discharges of total 
suspended solids (TSS) shall 

be limited to effluent 
concentrations of 20 mg/l; 

(iii) Emergency Requirements: 
Reliable treatment designs 
shall be employed, such as 
stand-by power capability for 

entire treatment works, dual 
train design for all treatment 
components, or other reliable 
treatment designs in 
accordance with 15A NCAC 
02H .0124; 

(iv) Nutrients: If nutrient 
overenrichment is projected 
to be a concern, effluent 
limitations shall be set for 
phosphorus, nitrogen, or 
both. 

(v) Toxic substances: If complex 

discharges (those containing 
or potentially containing 
toxicants) may be currently 

present in the discharge, a 

safety factor shall be applied 
to any chemical or whole 
effluent toxicity allocation. 
The limit for a specific 
chemical constituent shall be 
allocated at one-half of the 

normal standard at design 
conditions. Whole effluent 
toxicity shall be allocated to 
protect for chronic toxicity at 
an effluent concentration 
equal to twice that which is 

acceptable under flow design 
criteria pursuant to Rule 
.0206 of the Section. 

(10) Lake Waccamaw ORW Area (Lumber River 
Basin) [Index No. 15-2]: all undesignated 
waterbodies that are tributary to Lake 

Waccamaw shall comply with Paragraph (c) of 
this Rule in order to protect the designated 
waters as per Rule .0203 of this Section; 

(11) Swift Creek and Sandy Creek ORW Area (Tar-
Pamlico River Basin) [portion of Index No. 28-
78-(0.5) and Index No. 28-78-1-(19)]: all 

undesignated waterbodies that drain to the 
designated waters shall comply with Paragraph 
(c) of this Rule in order to protect the 
designated waters as per Rule .0203 of this 
Section and to protect outstanding resource 
values found in the designated waters as well as 

in the undesignated waters that drain to the 
designated waters; 

(12) Fontana Lake North Shore ORW Area (Little 
Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area) [Index Nos. 2-96 through 2-
164] (excluding all waterbodies that drain to the 

south shore of Fontana Lake) consists of the 
entire watersheds of all creeks that drain to the 
north shore of Fontana Lake between Eagle and 
Forney Creeks, including Eagle and Forney 
Creeks. In addition to the requirements set forth 
in Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule, any person 

conducting development activity disturbing 
greater than or equal to 5,000 square feet of land 
area in the designated ORW area shall 
undertake the following actions to protect the 
outstanding resource values of the designated 
ORW and downstream waters: 

(A) investigate for the presence of and 
identify the composition of acid-
producing rocks by exploratory 
drilling or other means and 
characterize the net neutralization 
potential of the acid-producing rocks 
prior to commencing the land-

disturbing activity; 
(B) to the maximum extent practicable, 

taking into account site-specific 
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factors including technical and cost 

considerations as well as protection of 
water quality, avoid areas where acid-
producing rocks are found with net 
neutralization potential of –5 or less; 

(C) establish background levels of acidity 
and mineralization prior to 

commencing land-disturbing activity 
and monitor and maintain baseline 
water quality conditions for the 
duration of the land-disturbing activity 
and thereafter for a period of at least 
two years as determined by the 

Division as part of a certification 
issued in accordance with 15A NCAC 
02H .0500 or stormwater permit 
issued pursuant to this Rule; 

(D) obtain a NPDES permit for 
construction pursuant to Rule 15A 

NCAC 02H .0126 prior to initiating 
land-disturbing activity; 

(E) design stormwater control systems to 
control and treat stormwater runoff 
from all surfaces generated by one 
inch of rainfall, in accordance with 

15A NCAC 02H .1003(3), .1003(5), 
and .1050; and 

(F) post development, replicate pre-
development runoff characteristics 
and mimic the natural hydrology of the 
site. 

(13) Horsepasture River ORW Area (Savannah 
Drainage Area) [Index No. 4-13-(0.5) and 
Index No. 4-13-(12.5)]: all undesignated 
waterbodies that are located within the 
Horsepasture River watershed shall comply 
with Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule in order 

to protect the designated waters as per Rule 
.0203 of this Section and to protect outstanding 
resource values throughout the watershed. 
However, new domestic wastewater discharges 
and expansions of existing wastewater 
discharges shall be allowed provided that: 

(A) Oxygen Consuming Wastes: Effluent 
limitations shall be as follows: BOD 
shall not exceed 5 mg/l and NH3-N 
shall not exceed 2 mg/l; 

(B) Total Suspended Solids: Discharges of 
total suspended solids (TSS) shall be 

limited to effluent concentrations of 
10 mg/1 for trout waters and to 20 mg/l 
for all other waters except for mining 
operations, which shall be held to their 
respective NPDES TSS permit limits; 

(C) Nutrients: If nutrient overenrichment 
is projected to be a concern, effluent 

limitations shall be set for phosphorus, 
nitrogen, or both; and 

(D) Volume: The total volume of treated 

wastewater for all discharges 
combined shall not exceed 25 percent 
of the total instream flow in the 
designated ORW under 7Q10 
conditions, as defined in Rule 
.0206(a)(1) of this Section; 

(14) North Fork New River ORW Area (New River 
Basin) [Index Nos. 10-2-(1), 10-2-(11) and 10-
2-(12)]: all non-ORW waterbodies, including 
Little Buffalo Creek and Claybank Creek 
[Index Nos. 10-2-20-1 and 10-2-20-1-1], that 
are located within the North Fork New River 

watershed shall comply with Rule .0224 of this 
Section in order to protect the ORW designated 
waters. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; S.L. 2005-97; 
Eff. October 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2003 (see S.L. 2003-433, s.2); August 1, 
2000; April 1, 1996; January 1, 1996; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 7, 2003; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 2010; July 1, 2009; January 1, 2007; 
June 1, 2004; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0226 EXEMPTIONS FROM SURFACE 

WATER QUALITY STANDARDS 

Variances from applicable standards, revisions to water quality 
standards or site-specific water quality standards may be granted 
by the Commission on a case-by-case basis pursuant to G.S. 

143-215.3(e), 143-214.3 or 143-214.1. A listing of existing 
variances shall be maintained and made available to the public by 
the Division. Exemptions established pursuant to this Rule shall 
be reviewed as part of the Triennial Review of Water Quality 
Standards conducted pursuant to 40 CFR 131.10(g). 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.3; 
143-215.3(e); 
Eff. October 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0227 WATER QUALITY 

MANAGEMENT PLANS 

(a)  In implementing the water quality standards to protect the 
"existing uses" [as defined by Rule .0202 of this Section] of the 
waters of the State or the water quality that supports those uses, 
the Commission shall develop water quality management plans on 
a priority basis to attain, maintain or enhance water quality 

throughout the State. Additional specific actions deemed 
necessary by the Commission to protect the water quality or the 
existing uses of the waters of the State shall be specified in 
Paragraph (b) of this Rule. These actions may include anything 
within the powers of the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 143-21 
and G.S. 143B-282. The Commission may also consider local 
actions that have been taken to protect a waterbody in determining 

the appropriate protection options to be incorporated into the 
water quality management plan. 
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(b)  All waters determined by the Commission to be protected by 

a water quality management plan are listed with specific actions 
either in Rules .0601 - .0608 of this Subchapter that address the 
Goose Creek watershed (Yadkin Pee-Dee River Basin) or as 
follows: 

(1) The Lockwoods Folly River Area (Lumber 
River Basin), which includes all waters of the 

lower Lockwoods Folly River in an area 
extending north from the Intracoastal 
Waterway to a line extending from Genoes 
Point to Mullet Creek, shall be protected by the 
specific actions described in Parts (A) through 
(D) of this Subparagraph. 

(A) New development activities within 
575' of the mean high water line that 
require a Sedimentation Erosion 
Control Plan or a CAMA major 
development permit shall comply with 
the low density option of the coastal 

stormwater requirements as specified 
in 15A NCAC 02H .1005(3)(a). 

(B) New or expanded NPDES permits 
shall be issued only for non-domestic, 
non-industrial process type 
discharges, such as non-industrial 

process cooling or seafood processing 
discharges. Pursuant to 15A NCAC 
02H .0111, a public hearing shall be 
mandatory for any proposed (new or 
expanded) NPDES permit to this 
protected area. 

(C) New or expanded marinas shall be 
located in upland basin areas. 

(D) No dredge or fill activities shall be 
allowed if those activities would result 
in a reduction of the beds of 
"submerged aquatic vegetation 

habitat" or "shellfish producing 
habitat" that are defined in 15A NCAC 
03I .0101, except for maintenance 
dredging, such as that required to 
maintain access to existing channels 
and facilities located within the 

protected area or maintenance 
dredging for activities such as 
agriculture. 

(2) A part of the Cape Fear River (Cape Fear River 
Basin) comprised of a section of Index No.18-
(71) from upstream mouth of Toomers Creek to 

a line across the river between Lilliput Creek 
and Snows Cut shall be protected by the Class 
SC Sw standards as well as the following site-
specific action: All new individual NPDES 
wastewater discharges and expansions of 
existing individual NPDES wastewater 
discharges shall be required to provide 

treatment for oxygen consuming wastes as 
described in Parts (A) through (C) of this 
Subparagraph. 

(A) Effluent limitations shall be as 

follows: BOD5 = 5 mg/l, NH3-N = 1 
mg/l and DO = 6 mg/l, or utilize site-
specific best available technology on a 
case-by-case basis for industrial 
discharges in accordance with Rule 
.0406 (e) of this Subchapter. 

(B) Seasonal effluent limits for oxygen 
consuming wastes shall be considered 
in accordance with Rule .0404 of this 
Subchapter. 

(C) Any new or expanded permitted 
pollutant discharge of oxygen 

consuming waste shall not cause the 
dissolved oxygen of the receiving 
water to drop more than 0.1 mg/l 
below the modeled in-stream 
dissolved oxygen at total permitted 
capacity for all discharges. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.8A; 
Eff. October 1, 1995; 
Amended Eff. June 30, 2017; January 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 02B .0228 EFFLUENT CHANNELS 

The standards of water quality contained in this Section shall not 
apply to waters within effluent channels, as defined in Rule .0202 
of this Section, except that said waters shall be maintained at a 
quality that shall prevent the occurrence of offensive conditions, 
protect public health, and allow maintenance of the standards 

applicable to all downstream waters. Effluent channels shall be 
designated by the Director on a case-by-case basis prior to permit 
issuance. To be designated as such, effluent channels shall: 

(1) be contained entirely on property owned (or 
otherwise controlled) by the discharger, as 
demonstrated by land records, deeds, contracts, 

written agreements, or other legal instruments; 
(2) not contain natural waters except when such 

waters occur in direct response to rainfall 
events by overland runoff; and 

(3) be so constructed or modified as to minimize 
the migration of fish into said channel. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 
Eff. October 1, 1995; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 02B .0230 ACTIVITIES DEEMED TO 

COMPLY WITH WETLANDS STANDARDS 

(a)  The following activities for which Section 404 permits are not 
required pursuant to Section 404(f)(1) of the Clean Water Act and 
which are not recaptured into the permitting process pursuant to 
Section 404(f)(2) are deemed to be in compliance with wetland 
standards in 15A NCAC 02B .0231 provided that they comply 

with the most current versions of the federal regulations to 
implement Section 404 (f)(US Environmental Protection Agency 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 2, 2019 

1024 

and US Army Corps of Engineers including 40 C.F.R. 232.3) and 

the Sedimentation Pollution Control Act, G.S. 113A, Article 4: 
(1) normal, on-going silviculture, farming, and 

ranching activities, such as plowing, seeding, 
cultivating, minor drainage, and harvesting for 
the production of food, fiber, and forest 
products, or upland soil and water conservation 

practices, provided that relevant silvicultural 
activities comply with U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency and U.S. Army Corps of 
Engineers Memorandum to the Field entitled 
"Application of Best Management Practices to 
Mechanical Silvicultural Site Preparation 

Activities for the Establishment of Pine 
Plantations in the Southeast", November 28, 
1995 which is available at no cost at 
https://www.epa.gov/cwa-404/memorandum-
application-best-management-practices-
mechanical-silvicultural-site-preparation and is 

hereby incorporated by reference including any 
subsequent amendments and editions; 

(2) maintenance, including emergency 
reconstruction of recently damaged parts, of 
currently serviceable structures such as dikes, 
dams, levees, groins, riprap, breakwaters, 

causeways, and bridge abutments or 
approaches, and transportation structures, and 
other maintenance, repairs or modification to 
existing structures as required by the NC Dam 
Safety Program. Information about the NC 
Dam Safety Program can be found at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/energy-
mineral-land-resources/energy-mineral-land-
permits/dam-safety; 

(3) construction and maintenance of farm or stock 
ponds or irrigation ditches. In addition, new 
pond construction in designated river basins 

with riparian buffer protection programs as set 
forth in this Subchapter shall comply with the 
applicable requirements of the riparian buffer 
protection rules as set forth in this Subchapter. 

(4) maintenance of drainage ditches, provided that 
spoil is removed to high ground, placed on top 

of previous spoil, or placed parallel to one side 
or the other of the ditch within a distance of 20 
feet and spoils are placed in a manner that 
minimizes damages to existing wetlands; and 
ditch maintenance is no greater than the original 
depth, length and width of the ditch; 

(5) construction of temporary sediment control 
measures or best management practices as 
required by the NC Erosion and Sediment 
Control Program on a construction site, 
provided that the temporary sediment control 
measures or best management practices are 
restored to natural grade and stabilized within 

two months of completion of the project and 
native woody vegetation is reestablished during 
the next appropriate planting season and 

maintained. Information about the NC Erosion 

and Sediment Control Program can be found at 
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/energy-
mineral-land-resources/energy-mineral-land-
permits/dam-safety; and 

(6) construction or maintenance of farm roads, 
forest roads, and temporary roads for moving 

mining equipment where such roads are 
constructed and maintained in accordance with 
best management practices, as defined in 40 
C.F.R. 232.3 (c)(6)(i-xv), to assure that flow 
and circulation patterns and chemical and 
biological characteristics of the navigable 

waters are not impaired, that the reach of 
navigable waters is not reduced, and that any 
adverse effects on the aquatic environment will 
be otherwise minimized. 

(b)  Where the Director determines, in consultation with the US 
Army Corps of Engineers or the US Environmental Protection 

Agency, and considering existing or projected environmental 
impact, that an activity is not exempt from permitting under 
Section 404(f), or where the appropriate Best Management 
Practices are not implemented and maintained in accordance with 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the Director may require restoration of 
the wetlands as well as imposition of enforcement measures as 

authorized by G.S. 143-215.6A (civil penalties), G.S. 143-215.6B 
(criminal penalties) and G.S. 143-215.6C (injunctive relief). 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-215; 
143-215.3; 143-215.6A; 143-215.6B; 143-215.6C; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. November 24, 1999; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0231 WETLAND STANDARDS 

(a)  Wetlands shall be assigned to one of the following 
classifications: 

(1) Class WL: waters that meet the definition of 
wetlands as defined in Rule .0202 of this 
Section except those designated as SWL; or 

(2) Class SWL: waters that meet the definition of 
coastal wetlands as defined by 15A NCAC 07H 
.0205, which are landward of the mean high 

water line, and wetlands contiguous to estuarine 
waters as defined by 15A NCAC 07H .0206. 

In addition, the EMC may classify wetlands as unique wetlands 
(Class UWL) that are of exceptional State or national ecological 
significance which require special protection to maintain existing 
uses. Class UWL wetlands may include wetlands that have been 

documented as habitat essential for the conservation of State or 
federally listed threatened or endangered species. 
(b)  The water quality standards for all wetlands are designed to 
protect, preserve, restore, and enhance the quality and uses of 
wetlands and other waters of the State influenced by wetlands. 
The following are wetland uses: 

(1) Storm and flood water storage and retention; 

(2) Moderation of water level fluctuations; 
(3) Hydrologic functions, including groundwater 

discharge that contributes to maintain dry 
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weather streamflow and, at other locations or 

times, groundwater recharge that replenishes 
the groundwater system; 

(4) Filtration or storage of sediments, nutrients, 
toxic substances, or other pollutants that would 
otherwise have an adverse impact, as defined in 
15A NCAC 02H .1002, on the quality of other 

waters of the State; 
(5) Shoreline protection against erosion through 

the dissipation of wave energy and water 
velocity and stabilization of sediments; 

(6) Habitat for the propagation of resident wetland-
dependent aquatic organisms, including fish, 

crustaceans, mollusks, insects, annelids, 
planktonic organisms, and the plants and 
animals upon which these aquatic organisms 
feed and depend upon for their needs in all life 
stages; and 

(7) Habitat for the propagation of resident wetland-

dependent wildlife species, including 
mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians for 
breeding, nesting, cover, travel corridors, and 
food. 

(c)  The following standards shall be used to assure the 
maintenance or enhancement of the existing uses of wetlands 

identified in Paragraph (b) of this Rule: 
(1) Liquids, fill or other solids, or dissolved gases 

shall not be present in amounts that may cause 
adverse impacts on existing wetland uses; 

(2) Floating or submerged debris, oil, deleterious 
substances, or other material shall not be 

present in amounts that may cause adverse 
impacts on existing wetland uses; 

(3) Materials producing color or odor shall not be 
present in amounts that may cause adverse 
impacts on existing wetland uses; 

(4) Materials that adversely affect the palatability 

of fish or aesthetic quality of the wetland shall 
not be present in amounts that may cause 
adverse impacts on existing wetland uses; 

(5) Concentrations or combinations of substances 
that are toxic or harmful to human, animal, or 
plant life shall not be present in amounts which 

individually or cumulatively may cause adverse 
impacts on existing wetland uses; 

(6) Hydrological conditions necessary to support 
the biological and physical characteristics 
naturally present in wetlands shall be protected 
to prevent detrimental impacts on: 

(A) Water currents, erosion or 
sedimentation patterns; 

(B) Natural water temperature variations; 
(C) The chemical, nutrient, and dissolved 

oxygen regime of the wetland; 
(D) The movement of aquatic fauna; 
(E) The pH of the wetland; and 

(F) Water levels or elevations. 
(7) The populations of wetland flora and fauna 

shall be maintained to protect biological 

integrity as defined in Rule .0202 of this 

Section. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
RRC Objection Eff. July 18, 1996 due to lack of statutory 
authority and ambiguity; 
Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0301 CLASSIFICATIONS: GENERAL 

(a)  The classifications assigned to the waters of the State of North 
Carolina are set forth in river basin classification schedules 
provided at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-planning/classification-standards/river-basin-
classification and in Rules .0302 to .0317 of this Section. These 
classifications are based upon procedures described in Rule .0101 
of this Subchapter. 
(b)  Classifications. The classifications assigned to the waters of 
North Carolina are denoted by the letters C, B, WS-I, WS-II, WS-

III, WS-IV, WS-V, WL, SC, SB, SA, SWL, Tr, Sw, NSW, ORW, 
HQW, and UWL. The "best usage", as defined in Rule .0202 of 
this Subchapter, for each classification is defined in the rules as 
follows: 

(1) Fresh Waters Classifications: 
(A) Class C: Rule .0211 of this 

Subchapter; 
(B) Class B: Rule .0219 of this 

Subchapter; 
(C) Class WS-I (Water Supply): Rule 

.0212 of this Subchapter; 
(D) Class WS-II (Water Supply): Rule 

.0214 of this Subchapter; 
(E) Class WS-III (Water Supply): Rule 

.0215 of this Subchapter; 
(F) Class WS-IV (Water Supply): Rule 

.0216 of this Subchapter; 
(G) Class WS-V (Water Supply): Rule 

.0218 of this Subchapter; and 
(H) Class WL (Wetlands): Rule .0231 of 

this Subchapter. 
(2) Tidal Salt Waters Classifications: 

(A) Class SC: Rule .0220 of this 
Subchapter;  

(B) Class SB: Rule .0222 of this 
Subchapter; 

(C) Class SA: Rule .0221 of this 
Subchapter; and 

(D) Class SWL: Rule .0231 of this 
Subchapter. 

(3) Supplemental Classifications: 
(A) Class Tr (Trout Waters): Rule .0202 of 

this Subchapter; 
(B) Class Sw (Swamp): Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter; 
(C) Class NSW (Nutrient Sensitive 

Waters): Rule .0223 of this 

Subchapter; 
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(D) Class ORW (Outstanding Resource 

Waters): Rule .0225 of this 
Subchapter; 

(E) Class HQW (High Quality Waters): 
Rule .0224 of this Subchapter; and 

(F) Class UWL (Unique Wetlands): Rule 
.0231 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Water Quality Standards. The water quality standards 
applicable to each classification assigned are those established in 
the rules of Section .0200 of this Subchapter. 
(d)  Index Number. The index number is an identification number 
assigned to each stream or segment of a stream, indicating the 
specific tributary progression between the main stem stream and 

tributary stream. The index number can be referenced to the 
Division's river basin classification schedules (hydrologic and 
alphabetic) for each river basin.  
(e)  Classification Date. The classification date indicates the date 
on which enforcement of the provisions of General Statutes 143-
215.1 became effective with reference to the classification 

assigned to the various streams in North Carolina. 
(f)  Unnamed Streams. 

(1) Any stream that is not listed in a river basin 
classification schedule carries the same 
classification as that assigned to the stream 
segment to which it is tributary except: 

(A) unnamed freshwaters tributary to tidal 
saltwaters will be classified "C"; or 

(B) after November 1, 1986, any areas of 
tidal saltwater created by dredging 
projects approved in accordance with 
15A NCAC 07H .0208 and connected 

to Class SA waters shall be classified 
"SC" unless case-by-case 
reclassification proceedings are 
conducted per Rule .0101 of this 
Subchapter. 

(2) In addition to Subparagraph (f)(1) of this Rule, 

for unnamed streams entering other states or for 
specific areas of a river basin, the following 
Rules shall apply: 
(A) Hiwassee River Basin (Rule .0302 of 

this Section); 
(B) Little Tennessee River Basin and 

Savannah River Drainage Area (Rule 
.0303 of this Section); 

(C) French Broad River Basin (Rule .0304 
of this Section); 

(D) Watauga River Basin (Rule .0305 of 
this Section); 

(E) Broad River Basin (Rule .0306 of this 
Section); 

(F) New River Basin (Rule .0307 of this 
Section); 

(G) Catawba River Basin (Rule .0308 of 
this Section); 

(H) Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin (Rule 

.0309 of this Section); 
(I) Lumber River Basin (Rule .0310 of 

this Section); 

(J) Roanoke River Basin (Rule .0313 of 

this Section); 
(K) Tar-Pamlico River Basin (Rule .0316 

of this Section); and 
(L) Pasquotank River Basin (Rule .0317 

of this Section). 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 
143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 3, 1992; August 1, 1990; 
October 1, 1989; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0302 HIWASSEE RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Hiwassee 
River Basin are set forth in the Hiwassee River Basin 
Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 
places: 

(1) the Internet at 
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 
Department of Environmental Quality: 

(A) Asheville Regional Office  
2090 US 70 
Swannanoa, North Carolina; and 

(B) Division of Water Resources 
Central Office 
512 North Salisbury Street 

Raleigh, North Carolina. 
(b)  Unnamed streams entering Georgia or Tennessee shall be 
classified "C Tr." 
(c)  The Hiwassee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective: 

(1) August 9, 1981; 

(2) February 1, 1986; 
(3) March 1, 1989; 
(4) August 1, 1990; 
(5) August 3, 1992; 
(6) July 1, 1995; 
(7) August 1, 2002. 

(d)  The Hiwassee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective March 1, 1989 as follows: 

(1) Fires Creek (Index No. 1-27) and all tributary 
waters were reclassified from Class C-trout and 
Class C to Class C-trout ORW and Class C 
ORW. 

(2) Gipp Creek (Index No. 1-52-23) and all 
tributary waters were reclassified from Class 
C-trout and Class C to Class C-trout ORW and 
Class C ORW. 

(e)  The Hiwassee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 
water supply waters (with a primary classification of WS-I, WS-

II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-II, WS-
III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 
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became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 

primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 
waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 
identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 

(f)  The Hiwassee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective July 1, 1995 with the reclassification of the 
Hiwassee River [Index Nos. 1-(42.7) and 1-(48.5)] from McComb 
Branch to the Town of Murphy water supply intake including 
tributaries from Classes WS-IV and WS-IV CA to Classes WS-
IV, WS-IV CA, WS-V and C. 

(g)  The Hiwassee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 2002 with the reclassification of the 
Hiwassee River [portion of Index No. 1-(16.5)] from a point 1.2 
mile upstream of mouth of McComb Branch to a point 0.6 mile 
upstream of McComb Branch (Town of Murphy proposed water 
supply intake) from Class WS-IV to Class WS-IV CA. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 
143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; July 1, 1995; August 3, 1992; 
August 1, 1990; March 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0303 LITTLE TENNESSEE RIVER 

BASIN AND SAVANNAH RIVER DRAINAGE AREA 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Little 
Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River Drainage Area are set 

forth in the Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule, which may be inspected 
at the following places: 

(1) the Internet at 
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-

standards/river-basin-classification; and 
(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Asheville Regional Office 

2090 US Highway 70 
Swannanoa, North Carolina; and 

(B) Division of Water Resources 
Central Office 
512 North Salisbury Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  Unnamed streams entering Georgia or Tennessee shall be 
classified "C Tr." Such streams in the Savannah River drainage 

area entering South Carolina shall be classified "B Tr." 
(c)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended effective: 

(1) February 16, 1977; 
(2) March 1, 1977; 
(3) July 13, 1980; 
(4) February 1, 1986; 

(5) October 1, 1987; 
(6) March 1, 1989; 
(7) January 1, 1990; 

(8) July 1, 1990; 

(9) August 1, 1990; 
(10) March 1, 1991; 
(11) August 3, 1992; 
(12) February 1, 1993; 
(13) August 1, 1994; 
(14) September 1, 1996; 

(15) August 1, 1998; 
(16) August 1, 2000; 
(17) April 1, 2003; 
(18) January 1, 2007; 
(19) November 1, 2007; 
(20) July 1, 2009. 

(d)  The Little Tennessee Basin and Savannah River Drainage 
Area Classification Schedule was amended effective March 1, 
1989 as follows: 

(1) Nantahala River (Index No. 2-57) from source 
to the backwaters of Nantahala Lake and all 
tributary waters were reclassified from Class B-

trout, Class C-trout and Class C to Class B-trout 
ORW, Class C-trout ORW and Class C ORW. 

(2) Chattooga River (Index No. 3) including 
Scotsman Creek, Overflow Creek, Big Creek, 
Talley Mill Creek and all tributary waters were 
reclassified from Class B-trout, Class C-trout 

and Class C to Class B-trout ORW, Class C-
trout ORW and Class C ORW and Clear Creek 
and all tributary waters were reclassified from 
Class C-trout and Class C to Class B-trout and 
Class B. 

(e)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 

Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended effective 
January 1, 1990 as follows: 

(1) North Fork Coweeta Creek (Index No. 2-10-4) 
and Falls Branch (Index No. 2-10-4-1) were 
reclassified from Class C to Class B. 

(2) Burningtown Creek (Index No. 2-38) was 

reclassified from C-trout to B-trout. 
(f)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended effective 
July 1, 1990 by the reclassification of Alarka Creek (Index No. 2-
69) from source to Upper Long Creek (Index No. 2-69-2) 
including all tributaries from Classes C and C Tr to Classes C 

HQW and C Tr HQW. 
(g)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended effective 
March 1, 1991 as follows: 

(1) Cartoogechaye Creek [Index Nos. 2-19-(1) and 
2-19-(16)] from Gibson Cove Branch to bridge 

at U.S. Hwy. 23 and 441 and from the bridge at 
U.S. Hwy. 23 and 441 to the Little Tennessee 
River was reclassified from Classes WS-III Tr 
and C Tr to Classes WS-III and B Tr and B Tr 
respectively. 

(2) Coweeta Creek (Index Nos. 2-10) from its 
source to the Little Tennessee River including 

all tributaries except Dryman Fork (Index No. 
2-10-3) and North Fork Coweeta Creek (Index 
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No. 2-10-4) was reclassified from Classes C 

and C Tr to Classes B and B Tr. 
(h)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended effective 
August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all water supply waters 
(waters with a primary classification of WS-I, WS-II or WS-III). 
These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-II, WS-III, WS-IV or 

WS-V as defined in the revised water supply protection rules (15A 
NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which became effective on 
August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with primary 
classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 
waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 

classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 
identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(i)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended effective 
February 1, 1993 as follows: 

(1) Bearwallow Creek from its source to 2.3 miles 
upstream of the Toxaway River [Index No. 4-7-
(1)] was revised to indicate the application of an 
additional management strategy (Rule .0201(d) 
of this Subchapter) to protect downstream 
waters; and 

(2) the Tuckaseegee River from its source to 
Tennessee Creek [Index No. 2-79-(0.5)] 
including all tributaries was reclassified from 
Classes WS-III&B Tr HQW, WS-III HQW and 
WS-III to Classes WS-III Tr ORW and WS-III 
ORW. 

(j)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended effective 
August 1, 1994 with the reclassification of Deep Creek [Index 
Nos. 2-79-63-(1) and 2-79-63-(16)] from its source to the Great 
Smokey Mountains National Park Boundary including tributaries 
from Classes C Tr, B Tr and C Tr HQW to Classes WS-II Tr and 

WS-II Tr CA. 
(k)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended effective 
September 1, 1996 as follows: 

(1) Deep Creek from the Great Smoky Mountains 
National Park Boundary to the Tuckasegee 

River [Index no. 2-79-63-(21)] was reclassified 
from Class C Tr to Class B Tr; and 

(2) the Tuckasegee River from the West Fork 
Tuckasegee River to Savannah Creek and from 
Macks Town Branch to Cochran Branch [Index 
Nos. 2-79-(24), 2-79(29.5) and 2-79-(38)] was 

reclassified from Classes WS-III Tr, WS-III Tr 
CA and C to Classes WS-III&B Tr, WS-III&B 
Tr CA and B. 

(l)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended effective 
August 1, 1998 with the reclassifications of Thorpe Reservoir 
(Lake Glenville), Hurricane Creek, and Laurel Branch [Index 

Nos. 2-79-23-(1), 2 -79-23-2, and 2-79-23-2-1 respectively] from 
classes WS-III&B, WS-III Tr and WS-III to classes WS-III&B 
HQW, WS-III Tr HQW, and WS-III HQW. 

(m)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 

Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended August 1, 
2000 with the reclassification of Wesser Creek [Index No. 2-79-
52-5-1] from its source to Williams Branch from Class C to Class 
C Tr. 
(n)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended April 1, 

2003 with the reclassification of a portion of the Little Tennessee 
River [Index No. 2-(1)] from a point 0.4 mile upstream of N.C. 
Highway 28 to Nantahala River Arm of Fontana Lake from Class 
C to Class B. 
(o)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended January 1, 

2007 with the reclassification of the entire watersheds of all creeks 
that drain to the north shore of Fontana Lake between Eagle and 
Forney Creeks, including Eagle and Forney Creeks, [Index Nos. 
2-96 through 2-164 (excluding all waterbodies that drain to the 
south shore of Fontana Lake)] from Class B, C Tr, WS-IV Tr CA, 
WS-IV Tr, and WS-IV & B CA to Class B ORW, C Tr ORW, 

WS-IV Tr ORW CA, WS-IV Tr ORW, and WS-IV & B ORW 
CA, respectively. Additional site-specific management strategies 
are outlined in Rule .0225(e)(12) of this Subchapter. 
(p)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended effective 
November 1, 2007 with the reclassification of Richland Balsam 

Seep near Beechflat Creek [Index No. 2-79-28-3-2] to Class WL 
UWL. The Division of Water Resources maintains a Geographic 
Information Systems data layer of the UWL. 
(q)  The Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River 
Drainage Area Classification Schedule was amended July 1, 2009 
with the reclassification of the watershed of the lower portion of 

the Horsepasture River [portion of Index Number 4-13-(12.5)] 
from a point approximately 0.60 miles downstream of N.C. 281 
(Bohaynee Road) to the NC-SC state line from Class B Tr to Class 
B Tr ORW, and the watershed of the upper portion of the 
Horsepasture River [Index Number 4-13-(0.5) and a portion of 
Index Number 4-13-(12.5)] from source to a point approximately 

0.60 miles downstream of N.C. 281 (Bohaynee Road) to include 
only the ORW management strategy as represented by "+". The 
"+" symbol means that all undesignated waterbodies that are 
located within the watershed of the upper portion of Horsepasture 
River shall comply with Rule .0225(c) of this Subchapter in order 
to protect the designated waters as per Rule .0203 of this 

Subchapter and to protect outstanding resource values found 
throughout the entire Horsepasture River watershed. Site-specific 
management strategies are outlined in Rule .0225(e)(13) of this 
Subchapter. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-

215.3(a)(1); S.L. 2005-97; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2009; November 1, 2007; January 1, 2007; 
April 1, 2003; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; September 1, 
1996; August 1, 1994; February 1, 1993; August 3, 1992; March 
1, 1991; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 02B .0304 FRENCH BROAD RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the French Broad 
River Basin are set forth in the French Broad River Basin 
Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 
places: 

(1) the Internet at 
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 
Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Asheville Regional Office 

2090 US Highway 70 

Swannanoa, North Carolina; and 
(B) Division of Water Resources 

Central Office 
512 North Salisbury Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  Unnamed streams entering Tennessee are classified "B." 

(c)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective: 

(1) September 22, 1976; 
(2) March 1, 1977; 
(3) August 12, 1979; 
(4) April 1, 1983; 

(5) August 1, 1984; 
(6) August 1, 1985; 
(7) February 1, 1986; 
(8) May 1, 1987; 
(9) August 1, 1990. 

(d)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective March 1, 1989 as follows: 
(1) Cataloochee Creek (Index No. 5-41) and all 

tributary waters were reclassified from Class C-
trout and Class C to Class C-trout ORW and 
Class C ORW. 

(2) South Fork Mills River (Index No. 6-54-3) 

down to Queen Creek and all tributaries were 
reclassified from Class WS-I and Class WS-III-
trout to Class WS-I ORW and Class WS-III-
trout ORW. 

(e)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective October 1, 1989 as follows: Cane River (Index 

No. 7-3) from source to Bowlens Creek and all tributaries were 
reclassified from Class C trout and Class C to Class WS-III trout 
and Class WS-III. 
(f)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: North Toe River 
(Index No. 7-2) from source to Cathis Creek (Christ Branch) and 

all tributaries were reclassified from Class C trout and Class C to 
Class WS-III trout and Class WS-III. 
(g)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 
water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-
I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-
II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 

protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 
became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 

classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 

waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 
identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(h)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective October 1, 1993 as follows: Reasonover Creek 

[Index No. 6-38-14-(1)] from source to Reasonover Lake Dam 
and all tributaries were reclassified from Class B Trout to Class 
WS-V and B Trout, and Reasonover Creek [Index No. 6-38-14-
(4)] from Reasonover Lake Dam to Lake Julia Dam and all 
tributaries were reclassified from Class C Trout to Class WS-V 
Trout. 

(i)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective July 1, 1995 with the reclassification of Cane 
Creek [Index Nos. 6-57-(1) and 6-57-(9)] from its source to the 
French Broad River from Classes WS-IV and WS-IV Tr to 
Classes WS-V, WS-V Tr and WS-IV. 
(j)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective November 1, 1995 as follows: North Toe River 
[Index Numbers 7-2-(0.5) and 7-2-(37.5)] from source to a point 
0.2 miles downstream of Banjo Branch, including tributaries, has 
been reclassified from Class WS-III, WS-III Trout and WS-III 
Trout CA (critical area) to Class WS-IV Trout, WS-IV, WS-IV 
Trout CA, and C Trout. 

(k)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 1996 as follows: Stokely Hollow 
[Index Numbers 6-121.5-(1) and 6-121.5-(2)] from source to 
mouth of French Broad River has been reclassified from Class 
WS-II and Class WS-II CA to Class C. 
(l)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended April 1, 1996 with the reclassification of the French 
Broad River [Index No. 6-(1)] from a point 0.5 miles downstream 
of Little River to Mill Pond Creek to Class WS-IV; French Broad 
River [Index No. 6-(51.5)] from a point 0.6 miles upstream of 
Mills River to Mills River to Class WS-IV CA (Critical Area), 
from Mills River to a point 0.1 miles upstream of Boring Mill 

Branch to Class C; and the Mills River [Index No. 6-54-(5)] was 
reclassified from City of Hendersonville water supply intake to a 
point 0.7 miles upstream of mouth of Mills River to Class WS-III, 
and from a point 0.7 miles upstream of mouth of Mills River to 
French Broad River to Class WS-III CA (Critical Area). 
(m)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended August 1, 1998 with the revision to the primary 
classification for portions of the French Broad River [Index No. 
6-(38.5)] and the North Toe River 7-2-(10.5) from Class IV to 
Class C. 
(n)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended August 1, 1998 with the reclassification of Clear Creek 

[Index No. 6-55-(1)] from its source to Lewis Creek from Class C 
Tr to Class B Tr. 
(o)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended August 1, 2000 with the reclassification of Rough Creek 
[Index No. 5-8-4-(1)], including all tributaries, from its source to 
the Canton Reservoir from Class WS-I to Class WS-I Tr ORW. 
(p)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended August 1, 2002 with the revision to the primary 
classification for the French Broad River [Index No. 6-(1), 6-(27), 
6-(47.5), 6-(52.5), and 6-(54.5)] including its four headwater 
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forks' mainstems, watershed of tributary Davidson River, and 

watershed of tributary Bent Creek below Powhatan Dam, and the 
Nolichucky River [Index No. 7] including a lower portion of the 
North Toe River from Class C and Class WS-IV to Class B. 
(q)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended August 1, 2002 with the reclassification of the North 
Toe River [Index No. 7-2-(0.5)], including all tributaries, from 

source to a point 0.2 mile upstream of Pyatt Creek, from Class C 
Tr to Class WS-V Tr. 
(r)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended September 1, 2004 with the reclassification of a portion 
of Richland Creek [Index No. 5-16(1)], from source to a point 
approximately 11.2 miles from source (Boyd Avenue), from Class 

B to Class B Tr, and all tributaries to the portion of the creek 
referenced in this Paragraph from C, C HQW, and WS-I HQW, 
and WS-I HQW to C Tr, C HQW Tr, and WS-I HQW Tr, 
respectively, except Hyatt Creek [Index No. 5-16-6], Farmer 
Branch [Index No. 5-16-11], and tributaries already classified as 
Tr. 

(s)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassification of 
McClure's Bog near Gash Creek [Index No. 6-47] to Class WL 
UWL. The North Carolina Division of Water Resources maintains 
a Geographic Information Systems data layer of the UWL. 
(t)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 2009 with the reclassification of 
the entire watershed of Big Laurel Creek (Index No. 6-112) from 
source to the French Broad River from Class C Tr to Class C 
ORW Tr. 
(u)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective September 1, 2009 with the reclassification of 

the entire watershed of Spring Creek [Index No. 6-118-(1) and 6-
118-(27)] from source to the French Broad River from Class C Tr 
and Class C to Class C ORW Tr and Class C ORW. 
(v)  The French Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended December 1, 2011 with the reclassification of a portion 
of the French Broad River [Index No. 6-(54.5)] from the 

confluence of the Mills River to a point 0.2 miles downstream of 
the confluence of the Mills River from Class B to Class WS-
IV&B CA. 
(w)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 
for the French Broad River Basin was amended January 1, 2019 
with the reclassification of Enka Lake, which is a portion of the 

Bill Moore Creek (Index No. 6-76-7) from Class C to Class B. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-
215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; December 1, 2011; September 1, 

2009; November 1, 2007; September 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; 
August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; April 1, 1996; January 1, 1996; 
November 1, 1995; July 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0305 WATAUGA RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Watauga 

River Basin are set forth in the Watauga River Basin 
Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 
places: 

(1) the Internet at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 
Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Asheville Regional Office 

2090 US Highway 70 
Swannanoa, Carolina; 

(B) Winston-Salem Regional Office 
450 West Hanes Mill Road 
Winston-Salem, North Carolina; and 

(C) Division of Water Resources 

Central Office 
512 North Salisbury Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  Unnamed streams entering the State of Tennessee are 
classified "C." 
(c)  The Watauga River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective: 
(1) August 12, 1979; 
(2) February 1, 1986; 
(3) October 1, 1987; 
(4) August 1, 1989; 
(5) August 1, 1990; 

(6) December 1, 1990; 
(7) April 1, 1992; 
(8) August 3, 1992; 
(9) February 1, 1993; 
(10) April 1, 1994; 
(11) August 1, 1998; 

(12) November 1, 2007. 
(d)  The Watauga River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective July 1, 1989 as follows: 

(1) Dutch Creek (Index No. 8-11) was reclassified 
from Class C-trout to Class B-trout. 

(2) Pond Creek (Index No. 8-20-2) from water 

supply intake (located just above Tamarack 
Road) to Beech Creek and all tributary waters 
were reclassified from Class WS-III to C. 

(e)  The Watauga River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective December 1, 1990 with the reclassification of 
the Watauga River from the US Highway 321 bridge to the North 

Carolina/Tennessee state line from Class C to Class B. 
(f)  The Watauga River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective April 1, 1992 with the reclassification of Pond 
Creek from Classes WS-III and C to Classes WS-III Trout and C 
Trout. 
(g)  The Watauga River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 
water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-
I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-
II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
protection rules (15A NCAC 2B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 
became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 

classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 
waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
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after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 

identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(h)  The Watauga River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective February 1, 1993 with the reclassification of 
Boone Fork (Index No. 8-7) and all tributary waters from Classes 
C Tr HQW and C HQW to Classes C Tr ORW and C ORW. 
(i)  The Watauga River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective April 1, 1994 with the reclassification of the 
Elk River from Peavine Branch to the North Carolina/Tennessee 
state line [Index No. 8-22-(3)] from Class C Tr to Class B Tr. 
(j)  The Watauga River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 1998 with the reclassification of East 
Fork Pond Creek from its source to the backwater of Santis Lake, 

[Index No. 8-20-2-1.5] from Class WS-II Tr to Class WS-III Tr; 
the reclassification of West Fork Pond Creek (Santis Lake) [Index 
No. 8-20-2-1-(2)] from the backwaters of Santis Lake to Pond 
Creek from WS-II Tr CA to WS-III Tr CA; and the 
reclassification of the connecting stream of Lake Coffey [Index 
No. 8-20-2-2] from the dam at Lake Coffey to Pond Creek from 

WS-II Tr CA to C Tr. 
(k)  The Watauga River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassification of 
the Beech Creek Bog near Beech Creek [Index No. 8-20] to Class 
WL UWL. The North Carolina Division of Water Resources 
maintains a Geographic Information Systems data layer of the 

UWL. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 
143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; August 1, 1998; April 1, 1994; 

February 1, 1993; August 3, 1992; April 1, 1992; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0306 BROAD RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Broad River 
Basin are set forth in the Broad River Basin Classification 

Schedule, which may be inspected at the following places: 
(1) the Internet at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Mooresville Regional Office 

610 East Center Avenue 
Suite 301 
Mooresville, North Carolina; 

(B) Asheville Regional Office 

2090 US Highway 70 
Swannanoa, North Carolina; and 

(C) Division of Water Resources 
Central Office 
512 North Salisbury Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  Unnamed streams entering South Carolina are classified "C." 

(c)  The Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective: 

(1) March 1, 1977; 

(2) February 12, 1979; 

(3) August 12, 1979; 
(4) April 1, 1983; 
(5) February 1, 1986. 

(d)  The Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all water 
supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-I, WS-

II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-II, WS-
III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and 0300), which 
became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 

waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 
identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(e)  The Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective September 1, 1994 with the reclassification of the 

Second Broad River [Index No. 9-41-(0.5)] from its source to 
Roberson Creek including associated tributaries was reclassified 
from Class WS-V to Classes WS-V, WS-IV and WS-IV CA. 
(f)  The Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective August 1, 1998 with the revision to the primary 
classification for portions of the Broad River [Index No. 9-(23.5)] 

from Class WS-IV to Class C and Second Broad River [Index 
Nos. 9-41-(10.5) and 9-41-(14.5)] and First Broad River [Index 
No. 9-50-(11)] from Class WS-IV to Class WS-V. 
(g)  The Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
August 1, 2000 with the reclassification of the Green River [Index 
No. 9-29-(1)], including all tributaries, from its source to its 

mouth in Lake Summit at elevation 2011 from Class C Tr to Class 
B Tr. 
(h)  The Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective August 1, 2000 with the reclassification of Lake 
Montonia [Index No. 9-54-1-(1)], and all tributaries, from Class 
B to Class B HQW. 

(i)  The Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective April 1, 2001 with the reclassification of the Green River 
[Index No. 9-29-(1)], including all tributaries, from its source to 
the downstream side of the mouth of Rock Creek from Class B Tr 
to Class B Tr HQW. 
(j)  The Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 

effective March 1, 2007 with the reclassification of the North Fork 
First Broad River (Index No. 9-50-4), including all tributaries, 
from its source to the First Broad River from Class C Tr to Class 
C Tr ORW. 
(k)  The Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective March 1, 2007 with the reclassification of a segment of 

the Broad River [Index No. 9-(25.5)] from a point 0.5 mile 
upstream of the City of Shelby proposed water supply intake to 
the City of Shelby proposed water supply intake from Class C to 
Class WS-IV CA, and from a point 0.5 mile upstream of the City 
of Shelby proposed water supply intake to a point approximately 
0.3 mile downstream of its confluence with Cane Creek from 
Class C to Class WS-IV. The City of Shelby proposed water 

supply intake is to be placed on the Broad River at a point 
approximately one mile upstream of its confluence with the First 
Broad River. 
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(l)  The Broad River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 

effective March 1, 2007 with the reclassification of a segment of 
the Broad River [Index No. 9-(25.5)] from a point 0.5 mile 
upstream of the Town of Forest City proposed water supply intake 
to the Town of Forest City proposed water supply intake from 
Class C to Class WS-IV CA, and from a point 0.5 mile upstream 
of the Town of Forest City proposed water supply intake to a point 

approximately 0.2 mile downstream of Rutherford County SR 
1145 (Town of Rutherfordton water supply intake) from Class C 
to Class WS-IV. The Town of Forest City proposed water supply 
intake is to be placed on the Broad River at a point approximately 
0.4 mile downstream of McKinney Creek. 
(m)  The Broad River Basin was Classification Schedule amended 

effective September 1, 2014, in order to allow a water supply 
intake to be placed in Lake Adger by Polk County, as follows: 

(1) a portion of the Green River [Index No. 9-29-
(33)], including tributaries, from the dam at 
Lake Adger to a point 0.35 mile downstream of 
Rash Creek from Class C to Class WS-IV CA. 

The CA extends 0.5 mile from and draining to 
the normal pool elevation of Lake Adger. 

(2) a portion of the Green River from a point 0.35 
mile [Index No. 9-29-(33)], including 
tributaries, downstream of Rash Creek to a 
point 300 feet downstream of Laurel Branch 

from Class C to Class WS-IV. The PA extends 
5.0 miles from and draining to the normal pool 
elevation of Lake Adger. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-
215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. September 1, 2014; March 1, 2007; April 1, 2001; 
August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; September 1, 1994; August 3, 
1992; February 1, 1986; January 1, 1985; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 02B .0307 NEW RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the New River 
Basin are set forth in the New River Basin Classification 
Schedule, which may be inspected at the following places: 

(1) the Internet at 
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 
Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Asheville Regional Office 

2090 US Highway 70 

Swannanoa, North Carolina; 
(B) Winston-Salem Regional Office 

450 West Hanes Mill Road 
Winston-Salem, North Carolina; and 

(C) Division of Water Resources 
Central Office 
512 North Salisbury Street 

Raleigh, North Carolina. 
(b)  Unnamed streams entering the State of Tennessee are 
classified "C." 

(c)  The New River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 

effective: 
(1) August 10, 1980 (see Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule); 
(2) April 1, 1983 (see Paragraph (e) of this Rule); 
(3) February 1, 1986 (see Paragraph (f) of this 

Rule); 

(4) August 1, 1989 (see Paragraph (g) of this Rule); 
(5) August 1, 1990 (see Paragraph (h) of this Rule); 
(6) August 3, 1992 (see Paragraph (i) of this Rule); 
(7) February 1, 1993 (see Paragraph (j) of this 

Rule); 
(8) August 1, 1998 (see Paragraph (k) of this Rule); 

(9) November 1, 2007 (see Paragraph (l) of this 
Rule); 

(10) December 1, 2010 (see Paragraph (m) of this 
Rule); and 

(11) July 3, 2012 (see Paragraph (n) of this Rule). 
(d)  The New River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 

effective August 10, 1980 as follows: 
(1) South Fork New River [Index No. 10-1-(1)] 

from the confluence of the Middle Fork South 
Fork New River and the East Fork South Fork 
New River to Winkler Creek was reclassified 
from Class C to Class A-II; 

(2) Middle Fork South Fork New River [Index Nos. 
10-1-2-(6) and 10-1-2-(14)] from Brown 
Branch to the South Fork New River was 
reclassified from Class C and C Trout to Class 
A-II and A-II Trout; 

(3) East Fork South Fork New River [Index Nos. 

10-1-3-(1) and 10-1-3-(7)] was reclassified 
from Class C and C Trout to Class A-II and A-
II Trout; and 

(4) Winkler Creek [Index No. 10-1-4-(2) from 
Boone water supply intake dam to Watauga 
County SR 1549 and Flannery Fork [Index No. 

10-1-4-3-(2)] from the dam at Camp Sky Ranch 
Bathing Lake to Winkler Creek were 
reclassified from Class C Trout to Class A-II 
Trout. 

(e)  The New River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective April 1, 1983 as follows: Naked Creek [Index No. 10-1-

32] was reclassified from Class C Trout to Class C. 
(f)  The New River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective February 1, 1986 with the reclassification of all Class A-
I and A-II streams to Class WS-I and WS-III in the New River 
Basin. 
(g)  The New River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 

effective August 1, 1989 as follows: South Fork New River [Index 
No. 10-1-(30)] from Dog Creek to New River and all tributary 
waters were reclassified from Class C-trout and Class C to Class 
B-trout and B. 
(h)  The New River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective August 1, 1990 as follows: 

(1) New River [Index No. 10] from the confluence 

of the North and South Forks New River to the 
last point at which the New River crosses the 
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North Carolina/Virginia State line was 

reclassified from Class C to Class C HQW; 
(2) South Fork New River [Index Nos. 10-1-(14.5), 

10-1-(26), 10-1-(30), and 10-1-(33.5)] from Elk 
Creek to the confluence of the New River and 
North Fork New River was reclassified from 
Class C, B and WS-III to Class C HQW, B 

HQW and WS-III HQW; 
(3) Howard Creek [Index Nos. 10-1-9-(1) and 10-

1-9-(6)] from source to the South Fork New 
River was reclassified from Class WS-III Trout 
and C Trout to Class WS-III Trout HQW and C 
Trout HQW; 

(4) Big Horse Creek [Index No. 10-2-21-(5.5)] 
from North Carolina/Virginia State line to 
lower Ashe County SR 1361 bridge was 
reclassified from Class C Trout to Class C Trout 
HQW; and 

(5) Little River [Index No. 10-9-(11.5)] from N.C. 

Hwy. 18 bridge to the North Carolina/Virginia 
State line was reclassified from Class C to Class 
C HQW. 

(i)  The New River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all water 
supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-I, WS-

II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-II, WS-
III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 
became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 

waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 
identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(j)  The New River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective February 1, 1993 as follows: 

(1) the South Fork New River (Index No. 10-1-
33.5) from Dog Creek to the New River was 
reclassified from Class B HQW to Class B 
ORW; 

(2) the New River (Index No. 10) from the 
confluence of the North and South Fork New 

Rivers to the last point at which it crosses the 
North Carolina/Virginia State line was 
reclassified from Class C HQW to Class C 
ORW; and 

(3) Old Field Creek (Index No. 10-1-22) from Call 
Creek to the South Fork New River, and Call 

Creek (Index No. 10-1-22-1) from its source to 
Old Field Creek were reclassified from Class 
WS-IV Trout to Class WS-IV Trout ORW. 

(k)  The New River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective August 1, 1998 with the revision to the primary 
classification for a portion of the South Fork New River [Index 
No. 10-1 (20.5)] from Class WS-IV to Class WS-V. 

(l)  The New River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassification of Bluff 
Mountain Fen near Buffalo Creek [Index No. 10-2-20] to Class 

WL UWL. The North Carolina Division of Water Resources 

maintains a Geographic Information Systems data layer of the 
UWL. 
(m)  The New River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective December 1, 2010 with the reclassification of the North 
Fork New River [Index Nos. 10-2-(1), 10-2-(12)] and its 
tributaries from C+, C+ Trout and C Trout HQW to C ORW and 

C Trout ORW with the exception of the following: 
(1) Index Nos. 10-2-21-9, 10-2-21-(8), 10-2-(11) 

and 10-2-20 were reclassified from C+ and C 
Trout + to C HQW and C Trout HQW; and 

(2) Little Buffalo Creek and Claybank Creek 
(Index Nos. 10-2-20-1 and 10-2-20-1-1) did not 

qualify for the ORW or HQW designation; 
however, these waters shall be managed in the 
same way as the downstream designated HQW 
areas. 

(n)  The New River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective July 3, 2012 as follows: 

(1) the portion of the South Fork New River [Index 
No. 10-1-(14.5)] from the Town of Boone's 
intake, located nearly 0.5 miles upstream of SR 
1100, to 875 feet downstream of SR 1351 from 
C HQW to WS-IV CA HQW; 

(2) the portion of the South Fork New River [Index 

No. 10-1-(14.5)] from 875 feet downstream of 
SR 1351 to Elk Creek from C HQW to WS-IV 
HQW; and 

(3) the portion of the South Fork New River [Index 
No. 10-1-(3.5)] from Elk Creek to 1.75 miles 
upstream of SR 1351 from C+ to WS-IV +. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 
143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 3, 2012; December 1, 2010; November 1, 
2007; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1993; August 3, 1992; August 

1, 1990; August 1, 1989; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0308 CATAWBA RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Catawba 
River Basin are set forth in the Catawba River Basin 

Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 
places: 

(1) the Internet at 
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 
Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Mooresville Regional Office 

610 East Center Avenue, Suite 301 
Mooresville, North Carolina; 

(B) Asheville Regional Office 
2090 US Highway 70 

Swannanoa, North Carolina; and 
(C) Division of Water Resources 

Central Office 
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512 North Salisbury Street 

Raleigh, North Carolina. 
(b)  Unnamed streams entering South Carolina are classified "C." 
(c)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective: 

(1) March 1, 1977 (see Paragraph (d) of this Rule); 
(2) August 12, 1979 (see Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule); 
(3) April 1, 1982 (see Paragraph (f) of this Rule; 

Rule); 
(4) January 1, 1985 (see Paragraph (g) of this 

Rule); 
(5) August 1, 1985 (see Paragraph (h) of this Rule); 

(6) February 1, 1986 (see Paragraph (i) of this 
Rule); 

(7) March 1, 1989 (see Paragraph (j) of this Rule); 
(8) May 1, 1989 (see Paragraph (k) of this Rule); 
(9) March 1, 1990 (see Paragraph (l) of this Rule); 
(10) August 1, 1990 (see Paragraph (m) of this 

Rule); 
(11) August 3, 1992 (see Paragraph (n) of this Rule); 
(12) April 1, 1994 (see Paragraph (o) of this Rule); 
(13) July 1, 1995 (see Paragraph (p) of this Rule); 
(14) September 1, 1996 (see Paragraph (q) of this 

Rule); 

(15) August 1, 1998 (see Paragraph (r) of this Rule); 
(16) April 1, 1999 (see Paragraph (s) of this Rule); 
(17) August 1, 2000 (see Paragraph (t) of this Rule); 
(18) August 1, 2004 (see Paragraph (u) of this Rule); 
(19) May 1, 2007 (see Paragraph (v) of this Rule); 
(20) September 1, 2010 (see Paragraph (w) of this 

Rule); 
(21) March 1, 2013 (see Paragraph (x) of this Rule); 

and 
(22) July 1, 2017 (see Paragraph (y) of this Rule). 

(d)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective March 1, 1977 as follows: 

(1) Torrence Branch (Index No. 11-136) from 
source to North Carolina-South Carolina State 
Line was reclassified from Class D to Class B; 
and 

(2) Edwards Branch (Index No. 11-137-8-2-1) 
from source to Brier Creek was reclassified 

from Class D to Class C. 
(e)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 12, 1979 as follows: Unnamed 
Tributary to Lower Little River (Robinette Creek)(Index No. 11-
69-1.5) from source to Lower Little River was reclassified from 
Class C to Class B. 

(f)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective April 1, 1982 as follows: 

(1) Spainhour Creek (Index No. 11-39-3) from 
source to Lower Creek was reclassified from 
Class C (1) to Class C; and 

(2) Allen Creek (Index No. 11-129-5-7-2-4) from 
source to Maiden Creek was reclassified from 

Class C to Class A-II. 
(g)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 1985 as follows: Catawba Creek 

from source to N.C. Highway 275 was reclassified from Class 

C(1) to Class C. 
(h)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 1985 as follows: 

(1) Brier Creek (Index No. 11-137-8-2) from 
source to Little Sugar Creek was reclassified 
from Class C (1) to Class C; 

(2) Little Hope Creek (Index No. 11-137-8-3) from 
source to Little Sugar Creek was reclassified 
from Class C (1) to Class C; and 

(3) McMullen Creek (Index No. 11-137-9-5) from 
source to N.C. Highway 16 was reclassified 
from Class C (1) to Class C. 

(i)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective February 1, 1986 with the reclassification of 
all A-I and A-II streams to WS-I and WS-III in the Catawba River 
Basin. 
(j)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective March 1, 1989 as follows: 

Wilson Creek (Index No. 11-38-34) and all tributary waters were 
reclassified from Class B-trout and Class C-trout to Class B-trout 
ORW and Class C-trout ORW. 
(k)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective May 1, 1989 as follows: 

(1) Henry Fork [Index Nos. 11-129-1-(1) and 11-

129-1-(2)] from source to Laurel Creek, 
including all tributaries, were reclassified from 
Class WS-I, C and C trout to Class WS-I ORW, 
C ORW and C trout ORW, except Ivy Creek 
and Rock Creek which will remain Class C 
trout and Class C; and 

(2) Jacob Fork [Index Nos. 11-129-2-(1) and 11-
129-2-(4)] from source to Camp Creek, 
including all tributaries, were reclassified from 
Class WS-III trout and WS-III to WS-III trout 
ORW and WS-III ORW. 

(l)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective March 1, 1990 as follows: 
(1) Upper Creek [Index No. 11-35-2-(1)] from 

source to Timbered Branch including all 
tributaries except Timbered Branch (Index No. 
11-35-2-9) was reclassified from Class C Trout 
to Class C Trout ORW; and 

(2) Steels Creek [Index No. 11-35-2-12(1)] from 
source to Little Fork and all tributaries was 
reclassified from Class C Trout to Class C Trout 
ORW. 

(m)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 1990 as follows: 

(1) The classification for the portion of Mackey 
Creek [Index No. 11-15-(2)] from Marion 
Water Supply Intake to Laurel Fork was 
reclassified from Class C to Class C HQW; 

(2) Laurel Fork Creek [Index No. 11-15-3] from 
source to Mackey Creek was reclassified from 
Class C Tr to Class C Tr HQW; 

(3) Armstrong Creek [Index No. 11-24-14-(1)] 
from source to Bee Rock Creek was reclassified 
from Class WS-III Tr to Class WS-III Tr HQW; 
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(4) Two segments of Linville River [Index Nos. 11-

29-(16) and 11-29-(19)] were reclassified from 
Class B Tr and Class B to Class B Tr HQW and 
Class B HQW, respectively; 

(5) Upper Creek [Index No. 11-35-2-(8.5)] and its 
named tributaries were reclassified from Class 
C Tr to Class C Tr HQW; 

(6) Upper Creek (Clear Water Beach Lake) [Index 
No. 11-35-2-(10)] from Holly Spring Branch to 
Dam Clear Water Beach Lake was reclassified 
from Class B Tr to Class B Tr HQW; 

(7) Holly Spring Branch [Index No. 11-35-2-11] 
from source to Upper Creek was reclassified 

from Class C Tr to Class Tr HQW; 
(8) Steels Creek [Index No. 11-35-2-12-(5)] from 

Little Fork to a point 1.7 miles upstream from 
N.C. Highway 181 Bridge was reclassified 
from Class B Tr to Class B Tr HQW and Steels 
Creek [Index No. 11-35-2-12-(7)] from a point 

1.7 miles upstream from N.C. Highway 181 
bridge to Clear Water Beach Lake, Upper Creek 
was reclassified from Class B to Class B HQW; 

(9) Upper Creek [Index No. 11-35-2-(13)] from 
Dam at Clear Water Beach Lake to Warrior 
Fork was reclassified from Class WS-III Tr to 

Class WS-III Tr HQW; 
(10) The portion of Johns River [Index No. 11-38-

(28)] from Wilson Creek to Rhodhiss Lake, 
Catawba River was reclassified from Class C to 
Class C HQW; 

(11) Mulberry Creek [Index No. 11-38-32-(1)] from 

source to Boone Fork and its tributaries Left 
Fork Mulberry Creek [Index No. 11-38-32-2], 
Right Fork Mulberry Creek [Index No. 11-38-
32-3], Roaring Creek [Index No. 11-38-32-8] 
and Clark Branch [Index No. 11-38-32-10] 
were reclassified from Class C Tr to Class C Tr 

HQW; 
(12) Amos Creek [Index No. 11-38-32-4] and Mills 

Creek [Index No. 11-38-32-5] and their named 
tributaries were reclassified from Class C to 
Class C HQW; 

(13) Cane Branch [Index No. 11-38-32-6], Rush 

Branch [11-38-32-7] and Frankum Creek [11-
38-32-9] and its named tributaries were 
reclassified from Class C to Class C HQW; 

(14) Mulberry Creek [Index No. 11-38-32-(11)] 
from Boone Branch to Dam at Mulberry Beach 
was reclassified from Class B to Class B HQW; 

(15) Boone Branch (Fork) [Index No. 11-38-32-12] 
and its named tributaries from source to 
Mulberry Creek were reclassified from Class B 
to Class B HQW; 

(16) Brown Branch [Index No. 11-38-32-13] and 
Moore Branch [Index No. 11-38-32-14] were 
reclassified from Class B to Class B HQW; and 

(17) Anderson Creek [Index No. 11-38-32-16] was 
reclassified from Class C to Class C HQW. 

(n)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 
water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-
I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-
II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 
became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 

primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 
waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 
identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 

(o)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective April 1, 1994 as follows: 

(1) Friday Lake (Index No. 11-125.5) from its 
source to Little Paw Creek was reclassified 
from Class C to Class B; and 

(2) The Linville River [Index No. 12-29-(1)] from 

Grandmother Creek to Linville Falls was 
reclassified from Class C Tr to Class B Tr. 

(p)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective July 1, 1995 with the reclassification of Clark 
Creek from a point 0.6 mile downstream of Catawba County SR 
2014 to 0.4 mile upstream of Larkard Creek [Index No. 11-129-

5-(4.5)], and Howards Creek from its source to 0.7 mile upstream 
of Lincoln County State Road 1200 [Index No. 11-129-4], 
including associated tributaries from Class WS-IV to Classes C 
and WS-IV. 
(q)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective September 1, 1996 as follows: 

(1) North Fork Catawba River [Index No. 11-24-
(1)] from Laurel Branch to Armstrong Creek 
from Class C Tr to Class B Tr; and 

(2) Catawba River (Lake Hickory) from Rhodhiss 
dam to highway 321 [Index No. 11-(51)] from 
Class WS-IV CA to Class WS-IV B CA. 

(r)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 1998 as follows: 

(1) The primary classification for portions of South 
Fork Catawba River [Index No. 11-129-(0.5)] 
and Hoyle Creek [Index No. 11-129-15-(1)] 
was reclassified from Class WS-IV to Class 

WS-V; 
(2) Mill Creek [Index No. 11-7] from its source to 

Swannanoa Creek, including all tributaries, 
from Class C Tr to Class Tr HQW; 

(3) Toms Creek [Index Nos. 11-21-(1) and 11-21-
(2)] from its source to Harris Creek, including 

all tributaries were reclassified from Class C Tr 
to Class Tr HQW; and 

(4) Harris Creek to McDowell County SR 1434, 
including all tributaries were reclassified from 
Class C to Class HQW. 

(s)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective April 1, 1999 as follows: 

(1) Portion of the Catawba River [Index Nos. 11-
(27.5) and 11-(31)] from Class WS-IV B and 
WS-IV to Class WS-V B and WS-V; 
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(2) Armstrong Creek [Index Nos. 11-24-14-(1), 11-

24-14-(13.5) and 11-24-14-(14)], and all 
tributaries from Classes WS-II Tr, WS-II, WS-
II CA and C Tr to Classes C Tr HQW and C 
HQW; 

(3) Lookout Shoals Lake from Oxford Dam to 
Island Creek [Index No. 11-(67)] from Class 

WS-V to Class WS-IV CA, from Island Creek 
to Elk Shoal Creek [Index No. 11-(70.5)] from 
Class WS-IV to Class WS-IV CA and from Elk 
Shoal Creek to a point one half mile upstream 
of Lookout Shoals Dam [Index No. 11-(72)] 
from Class WS-IV B to Class WS-IV B CA; 

(4) The classifications of tributary streams that are 
within five miles and draining to the normal 
pool elevation of Lookout Shoals Lake 
(Protected Area) have been revised to Class 
WS-IV; and 

(5) The classifications of tributary streams that are 

within one half mile and draining to the normal 
pool elevation of Lookout Shoals Lake (Critical 
Area) have been revised to Class WS-IV CA. 

(t)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended August 1, 2000 with the reclassification of Little Grassy 
Creek (Index No. 11-29-2), including all tributaries, from its 

source to the Linville River from Class C Tr to Class C Tr ORW. 
(u)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended August 1, 2004 with the reclassification of a segment of 
three surface waters, more specifically Henry Fork [11-129-1-
(1)], Jerry Branch [11-129-1-3-(1)], and He Creek [11-129-1-4-
(1)], from source to a formerly used City of Morganton Water 

Intake from Class WS-I ORW to Class WS-V ORW. 
(v)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended May 1, 2007 with the reclassification of the Catawba 
River [Index No. 11-(31.5)] from a point 0.6 mile upstream of 
Muddy Creek to a point 1.2 miles upstream of Canoe Creek from 
WS-IV to WS-IV Tr and Catawba River [Index No. 11-(32.3)] 

from a point 1.2 miles upstream of Canoe Creek to a point 0.7 
mile upstream of Canoe Creek (Morganton water supply intake) 
from WS-IV CA to WS-IV Tr CA. Named and unnamed 
tributaries to this portion of the Catawba River are not classified 
as Trout. Between the last day of May and the first day of 
November the water quality standard for dissolved oxygen shall 

not be less than a daily average of 5.0 mg/l with a minimum 
instantaneous value of not less than 4.0 mg/l. 
(w)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended September 1, 2010 with the reclassification of the 
portion of the Catawba River [Index No. 11-(1)], from its source 
to the Left Prong Catawba River confluence, and its named 

tributaries, Chestnut Branch (Fork) [Index No. 11-2], Clover 
Patch Branch [Index No. 11-3], Youngs Fork Creek [Index No. 
11-4], Spring Branch [Index No. 11-5], and Left Prong Catawba 
River [Index No. 11-6] from Class C Tr to Class C Tr HQW. 
(x)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended March 1, 2013 as follows: 

(1) the portion of Maiden Creek [Index No. 11-

129-5-7-2-(1)] from source to a point 0.7 mile 
upstream from backwaters of Maiden 
Reservoir, and its named tributary, Bee Branch 

[Index No. 11-129-5-7-2-2], from Class WS-II 

HQW to WS-V; 
(2) the portion of Maiden Creek [Index No. 11-

129-5-7-2-(2.5)] from a point 0.7 mile upstream 
from backwaters of Maiden Reservoir to dam at 
Maiden Reservoir from Class WS-II HQW CA 
to WS-V; 

(3) the portion of Allen Creek [Index No. 11-129-
5-7-2-4-(1)] from source to a point 0.7 mile 
upstream of Maiden water supply intake from 
Class WS-II HQW to WS-V; and 

(4) the portion of Allen Creek [Index No. 11-129-
5-7-2-4-(2)] from a point 0.7 mile upstream of 

Maiden water supply intake to Maiden water 
supply intake from Class WS-II HQW CA to 
WS-V. 

(y)  The Catawba River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended July 1, 2017 as follows: 

(1) a portion of the Catawba River [Index No. 11-

(23)], including tributaries, from Bridgewater 
Dam to North Fork Catawba River from Class 
WS-V & B to Class WS-IV CA & B, and a 
portion of the Catawba River [part of Index No. 
11-(8)], including tributaries, from North Fork 
Catawba River to a point 0.7 mile downstream 

of SR 1501 from Class C to Class WS-IV CA. 
The CA extends 0.5 mile from and draining to 
the normal pool elevation of Lake James. 

(2) a portion of the Catawba River [part of Index 
No. 11-(8)], including tributaries, from a point 
0.7 mile downstream of SR 1501 to a point 0.2 

mile upstream of SR 1221 from Class C to 
Class WS-IV. The PA extends 5.0 miles from 
and draining to the normal pool elevation of 
Lake James. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; March 1, 2013; December 1, 2010; 
September 1, 2010; May 1, 2007; August 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; 
April 1, 1999; August 1, 1998; September 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; 
April 1, 1994; August 3, 1992; August 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0309 YADKIN-PEE DEE RIVER 

BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Yadkin-Pee 
Dee River Basin are set forth in the Yadkin River Basin 

Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 
places: 

(1) the Internet at 
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Mooresville Regional Office 

610 East Center Avenue, Suite 301 
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Mooresville, North Carolina; 

(B) Winston-Salem Regional Office 
450 West Hanes Mill Road 
Winston-Salem, North Carolina; 

(C) Fayetteville Regional Office 
225 Green Street 
Systel Building Suite 714 

Fayetteville, North Carolina; 
(D) Asheville Regional Office 

2090 US Highway 70 
Swannanoa, North Carolina; and 

(E) Division of Water Resources 
Central Office 

512 North Salisbury Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  Unnamed streams entering Virginia are classified "C," and 
such streams entering South Carolina are classified "C". 
(c)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective: 

(1) February 12, 1979; 
(2) March 1, 1983; 
(3) August 1, 1985; 
(4) February 1, 1986; 
(5) October 1, 1988; 
(6) March 1, 1989; 

(7) January 1, 1990; 
(8) August 1, 1990; 
(9) January 1, 1992; 
(10) April 1, 1992; 
(11) August 3, 1992; 
(12) December 1, 1992; 

(13) April 1, 1993; 
(14) September 1, 1994; 
(15) August 1, 1995; 
(16) August 1, 1998; 
(17) April 1, 1999; 
(18) July 1, 2006; 

(19) September 1, 2006; 
(20) November 1, 2007. 

(d)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective October 1, 1988 as follows: 

(1) Mitchell River [Index No. 12-62-(1)] from 
source to mouth of Christian Creek (North Fork 

Mitchell River) including all tributaries has 
been reclassified from Class B Tr to Class B Tr 
ORW. 

(2) Mitchell River [Index No. 12-62-(7)] from 
mouth of Christian Creek (North Fork Mitchell 
River) to Surry County SR 1315 including all 

tributaries has been classified from Class C Tr 
to C Tr ORW, except Christian Creek and 
Robertson Creek which will be reclassified 
from Class B Tr to Class B Tr ORW. 

(3) Mitchell River [Index No. 12-62-(12)] from 
Surry County SR 1315 to mouth of South Fork 
Mitchell River including all tributaries from 

Class C to Class C ORW. 
(e)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective March 1, 1989 as follows: Elk Creek [Index 

Nos. 12-24-(1) and 12-24-(10)] and all tributary waters were 

reclassified from Class B-trout, Class C-trout and Class B to Class 
B-trout ORW, Class C-trout ORW and Class B ORW. 
(f)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: Barnes Creek 
(Index No. 13-2-18) was reclassified from Class C to Class C 
ORW. 

(g)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 1992 as follows: 

(1) Little River [Index Nos. 13-25-(10) and 
13-25-(19)] from Suggs Creek to Densons 
Creek has been reclassified from Classes 
WS-III and C to Classes WS-III HQW and C 

HQW. 
(2) Densons Creek [Index No. 13-25-20-(1)] from 

its source to Troy's Water Supply Intake 
including all tributaries has been reclassified 
from Class WS-III to Class WS-III HQW. 

(3) Bridgers Creek (Index No. 13-25-24) from its 

source to the Little River has been reclassified 
from Class C to Class C HQW. 

(h)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective April 1, 1992 with the reclassification of the 
North Prong South Fork Mitchell River from Class C to Class C 
Trout. 

(i)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 
water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-
I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-
II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 

became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 
waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 

identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(j)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective December 1, 1992 as follows: 

(1) Pike Creek (Index No. 12-46-1-2) was 
reclassified from Class C Tr to Class C Tr 
HQW; 

(2) Basin Creek (Index No. 12-46-2-2) was 
reclassified from Class C Tr to Class C Tr 
ORW; 

(3) Bullhead Creek (Index No. 12-46-4-2) was 
reclassified from Class C Tr to Class C Tr 
ORW; 

(4) Rich Mountain Creek (Index No. 12-46-4-2-2) 
was reclassified from Class Tr to Class C Tr 
ORW; and 

(5) Widows Creek (Index No. 12-46-4-4) was 
reclassified from Class C Tr HQW to Class C 
Tr ORW. 

(k)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 1994 as follows: 
(1) Lanes Creek [Index Nos. 13-17-40-(1) and 13-

17-40-(10.5)] from its source to the Marshville 
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water supply dam including tributaries was 

reclassified from Classes WS-II and WS-II CA 
to Class WS-V. 

(2) The South Yadkin River [Index Nos. 12-108-
(9.7) and 12-108-(15.5)] from Iredell County 
SR 1892 to a point 0.7 mile upstream of the 
mouth of Hunting Creek including associated 

tributaries was reclassified from Classes WS-V, 
C and WS-IV to Classes WS-V, WS-IV, C and 
WS-IV CA. 

(3) The Yadkin River [Index Nos. 12-(53) and 12-
(71)] from a point 0.3 mile upstream of the 
mouth of Elkin Creek (River) to the Town of 

King water supply intake including associated 
tributaries was reclassified from Classes C and 
WS-IV to Classes WS-IV and WS-IV CA. 

(4) The Yadkin River [Index Nos. 12-(80.5), 12-
(81.5) and 12-(84.5)] from the Town of King 
water supply intake to the Davie County water 

supply intake reclassified from Classes C, B, 
WS-IV and WS-V to Classes WS-IV, WS-IV B 
and WS-IV CA. 

(l)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 1995 as follows: Bear Creek [Index 
Nos. 12-108-18-(3), 12-108-18-(3.3)], Little Bear Creek (Index 

No. 12-108-18-2), and Blue Branch (Index No. 12-108-18-2-1) 
were reclassified from WS-II and WS-II CA (Critical Area) to C 
and WS-IV. 
(m)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule 
was amended effective August 1, 1998 with the revision to the 
primary classification for portions of the Yadkin River [Index No. 

12-(45)] from Class WS-IV to WS-V, Yadkin River [Index No. 
12-(67.5)] from Class WS-IV to Class C, Yadkin River [Index 
Nos. 12-(93.5) and 12-(98.5)] from Class WS-IV to Class WS-V, 
South Yadkin River [Index No. 12-108-(12.5)] from Class WS-
IV to Class WS-V, and South Yadkin River [Index Nos. 12-108-
(19.5) and 12-108-(22)] from Class WS-IV to Class C. 

(n)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective April 1, 1999 with the reclassification of a 
portion of the Yadkin River [Index No. 12-(80.5)] from WS-IV 
CA to WS-IV. A portion of the Yadkin River 0.5 mile upstream 
of Bashavia Creek was reclassified from WS-IV to WS-IV CA. 
Bashavia Creek [Index Nos. 12-81-(0.5) and 12-81-(2)] was 

reclassified from WS-IV and WS-IV CA to Class C. Tributaries 
to Bashavia Creek were also reclassified to Class C. Portions of 
the Yadkin River [Index Nos. 12-(25.5) and 12-(27)] were 
reclassified from WS-IV to Class C and from WS-IV & B to Class 
B. Tributaries were reclassed from Class WS-IV to Class C. 
Supplemental classifications were not changed. 

(o)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective July 1, 2006 with the reclassification of a 
portion of the Uwharrie River. More specifically, Index No. 13-
2-(25), Index No. 13-2-(17.5), and a portion of Index No. 13-2-
(1.5) was reclassified from Class WS-IV CA, WS-IV, and C, to 
Class WS-IV B CA, WS-IV B, and B, respectively. 
(p)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 2006 with the reclassification of 
a segment of the Yadkin River [portion of Index No. 12-(53)] 
from a point 0.3 mile upstream of the Town of Elkin proposed 

water supply intake to the Town of Elkin proposed water supply 

intake from C to WS-IV CA. The Town of Elkin proposed water 
supply intake is to be placed on the Yadkin River at a point 
directly above the mouth of Elkin Creek. 
(q)  The Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassifications as 
listed below, and the North Carolina Division of Water Resources 

maintains a Geographic Information Systems data layer of these 
UWLs. 

(1) Black Ankle Bog near Suggs Creek [Index No. 
13-25-12] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(2) Pilot Mountain Floodplain Pool near Horne 
Creek [Index No. 12-75] was reclassified to 

Class WL UWL. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 
143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; September 1, 2006; July 1, 

2006; April 1, 1999; August 1, 1998; August 1, 1995; September 
1, 1994; April 1, 1993; December 1, 1992; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0310 LUMBER RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Lumber River 

Basin are set forth in the Lumber River Basin Classification 
Schedule, which may be inspected at the following places: 

(1) the Internet at 
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 
Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Fayetteville Regional Office 

225 Green Street 
Systel Building Suite 714 
Fayetteville, North Carolina; 

(B) Wilmington Regional Office 
127 Cardinal Drive Extension 
Wilmington, North Carolina; and 

(C) Division of Water Resources 
Central Office 
512 North Salisbury Street 

Raleigh, North Carolina. 
(b)  Unnamed streams entering South Carolina are classified "C 
Sw". 
(c)  The Lumber River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective: 

(1) March 1, 1977; 

(2) December 13, 1979; 
(3) September 14, 1980; 
(4) April 12, 1981; 
(5) April 1, 1982; 
(6) February 1, 1986; 
(7) July 1, 1990; 
(8) August 1, 1990; 

(9) August 3, 1992; 
(10) September 1, 1996; 
(11) August 1, 2000; 
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(12) November 1, 2007. 

(d)  The Lumber River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective July 1, 1990 by the reclassification of Naked 
Creek (Index No. 14-2-6) from source to Drowning Creek 
including all tributaries from Class WS-III to Class WS-III ORW. 
(e)  The Lumber River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 

water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-
I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-
II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 
became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 

classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 
waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 
identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(f)  The Lumber River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 1996 by the reclassification of 
the Lumber River from 2.0 miles upstream of highway 401 to a 
point 0.5 mile upstream of Powell Branch [Index Nos. 14-(3), 14-
(4), 14-(4.5), 14-(7) and 14-(10.3)] from Classes WS-IV Sw 
HQW, WS-IV Sw HQW CA and C Sw HQW to Classes WS-IV 
B Sw HQW, WS-IV B Sw HQW CA and B Sw HQW. 

(g)  The Lumber River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 2000 with the reclassification of 
Lake Waccamaw [Index No. 15-2] from Class B Sw to Class B 
Sw ORW. 
(h)  The Lumber River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassifications 

listed below, and the North Carolina Division of Water Resources 
maintains a Geographic Information Systems data layer of these 
UWLs: 

(1) Waccamaw Natural Lake Shoreline near Lake 
Waccamaw [Index No. 15-2] was reclassified 
to Class WL UWL. 

(2) Green Swamp Small Depression Pond near 
Royal Oak Swamp [Index No. 15-25-1-12] was 
reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(3) Old Dock Savanna near Gum Swamp Run 
[Index No. 15-6] was reclassified to Class WL 
UWL. 

(4) Myrtle Head Savanna near Mill Branch [Index 
No. 15-7-7] was reclassified to Class WL 
UWL. 

(5) Goosepond Bay near Big Marsh Swamp [Index 
No. 14-22-2] was reclassified to Class WL 
UWL. 

(6) Antioch Bay near Raft Swamp [Index No. 14-
10-(1)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(7) Pretty Pond Bay near Big Marsh Swamp [Index 
No. 14-22-2] was reclassified to Class WL 
UWL. 

(8) Dunahoe Bay near Big Marsh Swamp [Index 
No. 14-22-2] was reclassified to Class WL 

UWL. 
(9) Hamby's Bay near Raft Swamp [Index No. 14-

10-(1)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(10) Oak Savanna Bay near Smith Branch [Index 

No. 14-10-3] was reclassified to Class WL 
UWL. 

(11) Big Island Savanna near Driving Creek [Index 
No. 15-7-1] was reclassified to Class WL 
UWL. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 
143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; August 1, 2000; September 1, 
1996; August 3, 1992; August 1, 1990; July 1, 1990; February 1, 
1986; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0311 CAPE FEAR RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Cape Fear 
River Basin are set forth in the Cape Fear River Basin 
Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 

places: 
(1) the Internet at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Winston-Salem Regional Office 

450 West Hanes Mill Road 
Winston-Salem, North Carolina; 

(B) Fayetteville Regional Office 
225 Green Street 

Systel Building Suite 714 
Fayetteville, North Carolina; 

(C) Raleigh Regional Office 
3800 Barrett Drive 
Raleigh, North Carolina; 

(D) Washington Regional Office 

943 Washington Square Mall 
Washington, North Carolina; 

(E) Wilmington Regional Office 
127 Cardinal Drive Extension 
Wilmington, North Carolina; and 

(F) Division of Water Resources 

Central Office 
512 North Salisbury Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective: 

(1) March 1, 1977; 

(2) December 13, 1979; 
(3) December 14, 1980; 
(4) August 9, 1981; 
(5) April 1, 1982; 
(6) December 1, 1983; 
(7) January 1, 1985; 
(8) August 1, 1985; 

(9) December 1, 1985; 
(10) February 1, 1986; 
(11) July 1, 1987; 
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(12) October 1, 1987; 

(13) March 1, 1988; 
(14) August 1, 1990. 

(c)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective June 1, 1988 as follows: 

(1) Cane Creek [Index No. 16-21-(1)] from source 
to a point 0.5 mile north of N.C. Hwy. 54 (Cane 

Reservoir Dam) including the Cane Creek 
Reservoir and all tributaries has been 
reclassified from Class WS-III to WS-I. 

(2) Morgan Creek [Index No. 16-41-1-(1)] to the 
University Lake dam including University Lake 
and all tributaries has been reclassified from 

Class WS-III to WS-I. 
(d)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective July 1, 1988 by the reclassification of Crane 
Creek (Crains Creek) [Index No. 18-23-16-(1)] from source to 
mouth of Beaver Creek including all tributaries from C to WS-III. 
(e)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: 
(1) Intracoastal Waterway (Index No. 18-87) from 

southern edge of White Oak River Basin to 
western end of Permuda Island (a line from 
Morris Landing to Atlantic Ocean), from the 
eastern mouth of Old Topsail Creek to the 

southwestern shore of Howe Creek and from 
the southwest mouth of Shinn Creek to channel 
marker No. 153 including all tributaries except 
the King Creek Restricted Area, Hardison 
Creek, Old Topsail Creek, Mill Creek, Futch 
Creek and Pages Creek were reclassified from 

Class SA to Class SA ORW. 
(2) Topsail Sound and Middle Sound ORW Area 

which includes all waters between the Barrier 
Islands and the Intracoastal Waterway located 
between a line running from the western most 
shore of Mason Inlet to the southwestern shore 

of Howe Creek and a line running from the 
western shore of New Topsail Inlet to the 
eastern mouth of Old Topsail Creek was 
reclassified from Class SA to Class SA ORW. 

(3) Masonboro Sound ORW Area which includes 
all waters between the Barrier Islands and the 

mainland from a line running from the 
southwest mouth of Shinn Creek at the 
Intracoastal Waterway to the southern shore of 
Masonboro Inlet and a line running from the 
Intracoastal Waterway Channel marker No. 153 
to the southside of the Carolina Beach Inlet was 

reclassified from Class SA to Class SA ORW. 
(f)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: Big Alamance 
Creek [Index No. 16-19-(1)] from source to Lake Mackintosh 
Dam including all tributaries has been reclassified from Class 
WS-III NSW to Class WS-II NSW. 
(g)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 
water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-
I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-

II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 

protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 
became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 
waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 

after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 
identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(h)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective June 1, 1994 as follows: 

(1) The Black River from its source to the Cape 
Fear River [Index Nos. 18-68-(0.5), 18-68-(3.5) 

and 18-65-(11.5)] was reclassified from Classes 
C Sw and C Sw HQW to Class C Sw ORW. 

(2) The South River from Big Swamp to the Black 
River [Index Nos. 18-68-12-(0.5) and 18-68-
12(11.5)] was reclassified from Classes C Sw 
and C Sw HQW to Class C Sw ORW. 

(3) Six Runs Creek from Quewhiffle Swamp to the 
Black River [Index No. 18-68-2] was 
reclassified from Class C Sw to Class C Sw 
ORW. 

(i)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective September 1, 1994 with the reclassification of 

the Deep River [Index No. 17-(36.5)] from the Town of Gulf-
Goldston water supply intake to US highway 421 including 
associated tributaries from Class C to Classes C, WS-IV and WS-
IV CA. 
(j)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 1998 with the revision to the primary 

classification for portions of the Deep River [Index No. 17-(28.5)] 
from Class WS-IV to Class WS-V, Deep River [Index No. 17-
(41.5)] from Class WS-IV to Class C, and the Cape Fear River 
[Index 18-(10.5)] from Class WS-IV to Class WS-V. 
(k)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective April 1, 1999 with the reclassification of 

Buckhorn Creek (Harris Lake)[Index No. 18-7-(3)] from the 
backwaters of Harris Lake to the Dam at Harris Lake from Class 
C to Class WS-V. 
(l)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective April 1, 1999 with the reclassification of the 
Deep River [Index No. 17-(4)] from the dam at Oakdale-Cotton 

Mills, Inc. to the dam at Randleman Reservoir (located 1.6 mile 
upstream of U.S. Hwy 220 Business), and including tributaries 
from Class C and Class B to Class WS-IV and Class WS-IV & B. 
Streams within the Randleman Reservoir Critical Area have been 
reclassified to WS-IV CA. The Critical Area for a WS-IV 
reservoir is defined as 0.5 mile and draining to the normal pool 

elevation of the reservoir. All waters within the Randleman 
Reservoir Water Supply Watershed are within a designated 
Critical Water Supply Watershed and are subject to a special 
management strategy specified in Rule .0248 of this Subchapter. 
(m)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 2002 as follows: 

(1) Mill Creek [Index Nos. 18-23-11-(1), 18-23-

11-(2), 18-23-11-3, 18-23-11-(5)] from its 
source to the Little River, including all 
tributaries was reclassified from Class WS-III 
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NSW and Class WS-III B NSW to Class WS-

III NSW HQW@ and Class WS-III B NSW 
HQW@. 

(2) McDeed's Creek [Index Nos. 18-23-11-4, 18-
23-11-4-1] from its source to Mill Creek, 
including all tributaries was reclassified from 
Class WS III NSW and Class WS-III B NSW to 

Class WS-III NSW HQW@ and Class WS-III 
B NSW HQW@. 

The "@" symbol as used in this Paragraph means that if the 
governing municipality has deemed that a development is covered 
under a "5/70 provision" as described in Rule .0215(3)(b)(i)(E) of 
this Subchapter, then that development is not subject to the 

stormwater requirements as described in 15A NCAC 02H .1006. 
(n)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective November 1, 2004 as follows: 

(1) the portion of Rocky River [Index Number 17-
43-(1)] from a point 0.3 mile upstream of Town 
of Siler City upper reservoir dam to a point 0.3 

mile downstream of Lacy Creek from WS-III to 
WS-III CA. 

(2) the portion of Rocky River [Index Number 17-
43-(8)] from dam at lower water supply 
reservoir for Town of Siler City to a point 65 
feet below dam (site of proposed dam) from C 

to WS-III CA. 
(3) the portion of Mud Lick Creek (Index No. 17-

43-6) from a point 0.4 mile upstream of 
Chatham County SR 1355 to Town of Siler City 
lower water supply reservoir from WS-III to 
WS-III CA. 

(4) the portion of Lacy Creek (17-43-7) from a 
point 0.6 mile downstream of Chatham County 
SR 1362 to Town of Siler City lower water 
supply reservoir from WS-III to WS-III CA. 

(o)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassifications 

listed below, and the North Carolina Division of Water Resources 
maintains a Geographic Information Systems data layer of these 
UWLs. 

(1) Military Ocean Terminal Sunny Point Pools, all 
on the eastern shore of the Cape Fear River 
[Index No. 18-(71)] were reclassified to Class 

WL UWL. 
(2) Salters Lake Bay near Salters Lake [Index No. 

18-44-4] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 
(3) Jones Lake Bay near Jones Lake [Index No. 18-

46-7-1] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 
(4) Weymouth Woods Sandhill Seep near Mill 

Creek [18-23-11-(1)] was reclassified to Class 
UWL. 

(5) Fly Trap Savanna near Cape Fear River [Index 
No. 18-(71)] was reclassified to Class WL 
UWL. 

(6) Lily Pond near Cape Fear River [Index No. 18-
(71)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(7) Grassy Pond near Cape Fear River [Index No. 
18-(71)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(8) The Neck Savanna near Sandy Run Swamp 

[Index No. 18-74-33-2] was reclassified to 
Class WL UWL. 

(9) Bower's Bog near Mill Creek [Index No. 18-23-
11-(1)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(10) Bushy Lake near Turnbull Creek [Index No. 18-
46] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(p)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 2009 as follows: 

(1) the portion of Cape Fear River [Index No. 18-
(26)] (including tributaries) from Smithfield 
Packing Company's intake, located 
approximately 2 miles upstream of County 

Road 1316, to a point 0.5 miles upstream of 
Smithfield Packing Company's intake from 
Class C to Class WS-IV CA. 

(2) the portion of Cape Fear River [Index No.18-
(26)] (including tributaries) from a point 0.5 
miles upstream of Smithfield Packing 

Company's intake to a point 1 mile upstream of 
Grays Creek from Class C to Class WS-IV. 

(q)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 11, 2009 with the reclassification of all 
Class C NSW waters and all Class B NSW waters upstream of the 
dam at B. Everett Jordan Reservoir from Class C NSW and Class 

B NSW to Class WS-V NSW and Class WS-V & B NSW, 
respectively. All waters within the B. Everett Jordan Reservoir 
Watershed are within a designated Critical Water Supply 
Watershed and are subject to a special management strategy 
specified in Rules .0262 through .0273 of this Subchapter. 
(r)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 2009 with the reclassification of 
a portion of the Haw River [Index No. 16-(28.5)] from the Town 
of Pittsboro water supply intake, which is located approximately 
0.15 mile west of U.S. 15/501, to a point 0.5 mile upstream of the 
Town of Pittsboro water supply intake from Class WS-IV to Class 
WS-IV CA. 

(s)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective March 1, 2012 with the reclassification of the 
portion of the Haw River [Index No. 16-(1)] from the City of 
Greensboro's intake, located approximately 650 feet upstream of 
Guilford County 2712, to a point 0.5 miles upstream of the intake 
from Class WS-V NSW to Class WS-IV CA NSW, and the 

portion of the Haw River [Index No. 16-(1)] from a point 0.5 miles 
upstream of the intake to a point 0.6 miles downstream of U.S. 
Route 29 from Class WS-V NSW to Class WS-IV NSW. 
(t)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective June 30, 2017 with the reclassification of a 
section of 18-(71) from upstream mouth of Toomers Creek to a 

line across the river between Lilliput Creek and Snows Cut from 
Class SC to Class SC Sw. A site-specific management strategy is 
outlined in 15A NCAC 02B .0227. 
(u)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective September 1, 2019 with the reclassification of 
a portion of Sandy Creek [Index No. 17-16-(1)] (including 
tributaries) from a point 0.4 mile upstream of SR-2481 to a point 

0.6 mile upstream of N.C. Hwy 22 from WS-III to WS-III CA. 
The reclassification resulted in an updated representation of the 
water supply watershed for the Sandy Creek reservoir. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 

143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. June 30, 2017; March 1, 2012; September 1, 2009; 
August 11, 2009; January 1, 2009; November 1, 2007; November 
1, 2004; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999; August 1, 1998; 
September 1, 1994; June 1, 1994; August 3, 1992; August 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0312 WHITE OAK RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the White Oak 
River Basin are set forth in the White Oak River Basin 
Classification Schedule, which may be inspected in the following 

places: 
(1) the Internet at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Washington Regional Office 

943 Washington Square Mall 
Washington, North Carolina; 

(B) Wilmington Regional Office 
127 Cardinal Drive Extension 

Wilmington, North Carolina; and 
(C) Division of Water Resources 

Central Office 
512 North Salisbury Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  The White Oak River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective: 
(1) December 13, 1979 see Paragraph (c); 
(2) June 1, 1988 see Paragraph (d); 
(3) January 1, 1990 see Paragraph (e); 
(4) August 1, 1990 see Paragraph (f); 
(5) August 1, 1991 see Paragraph (g); 

(6) June 1, 1992 see Paragraph (h); 
(7) December 1, 1992 see Paragraph (i); 
(8) November 1, 2007 see Paragraph (j); 
(9) July 1, 2011 see Paragraph (k). 

(c)  The White Oak River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective December 13, 1979 with the reclassification of 

a portion of the White Oak River Restricted Area (Index No. 20-
32) and a portion of the Newport River (Morehead City and 
Beaufort Harbors Restricted Area) [Index No. 21-(31)] from Class 
SC to Class SA. 
(d)  The White Oak River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective June 1, 1988 with the reclassification of 

unnamed waters as follows: 
(1) a portion of the Roosevelt Natural Area Swamp, 

which drains to Bogue Sound (20-36), from 
Class SA to Class C Sw ORW. 

(2) another portion of the Roosevelt Natural Area 
Swamp, which drains to Bogue Sound (20-36), 
from Class SA to Class SA Sw ORW. 

(e)  The White Oak River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: 

(1) Intracoastal Waterway (Index No. 19-39) from 

northeastern boundary of Cape Fear River 
Basin to Daybeacon No. 17 including all 
unnamed bays, guts, and channels, except 
Rogers Bay and Mill Creek and Intracoastal 
Waterway (Index No. 19-41) from the northeast 
mouth of Goose Creek to the southwest mouth 

of Queen Creek were reclassified from Class 
SA to Class SA ORW. 

(2) Bear Island ORW Area, which includes all 
waters within an area north of Bear Island 
defined by a line from the western most point 
on Bear Island to the northeast mouth of Goose 

Creek on the mainland, east to the southwest 
mouth of Queen Creek, then south to green 
marker No. 49, then northeast to the northern 
most point on Huggins Island, then southeast 
along the shoreline of Huggins Island to the 
southeastern most point of Huggins Island, then 

south to the northeastern most point on Dudley 
Island, then southwest along the shoreline of 
Dudley Island to the eastern tip of Bear Island 
to the western mouth of Foster Creek including 
Cow Channel were reclassified from Class SA 
to Class SA ORW. 

(3) Bogue Sound (including Intracoastal Waterway 
from White Oak River Basin to Beaufort 
Inlet)(Index No. 20-36) from Bogue Inlet to a 
line across Bogue Sound from the southwest 
side of mouth of Gales Creek to Rock Point and 
all tributaries except Hunting Island Creek, 

Goose Creek, and Broad Creek were 
reclassified from Class SA to Class SA ORW. 

(4) Core Sound (Index No. 21-35-7) from northern 
boundary of White Oak River Basin (a line 
from Hall Point to Drum Inlet) to Back Sound 
and all tributaries except Atlantic Harbor 

Restricted Area, Nelson Bay, Jarrett Bay, 
Williston Creek, Wade Creek and Middens 
Creek were reclassified from Class SA to Class 
SA ORW. 

(5) Back Sound (Index No. 21-35) from a point on 
Shackleford Banks at lat. 34 degrees 40' 57" and 

long 76 degrees 37' 30" north to the western 
most point of Middle Marshes and along the 
northwest shoreline of Middle Marshes (to 
include all of Middle Marshes) to Rush Point on 
Harkers Island and along the southern shore of 
Harkers Island back to Core Sound and all 

tributaries were reclassified from Class SA to 
Class SA ORW. 

(f)  The White Oak River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 1990 with the reclassification of a 
portion of the White Oak River [Index No. 20-(1)] from Spring 
Branch to Hunters Creek from Class C to Class C HQW. 
(g)  The White Oak River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 1, 1991 by adding the supplemental 
classification NSW (Nutrient Sensitive Waters) to all waters in 
the New River Drainage Area above a line running across the New 
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River from Grey Point to a point of land approximately 2,200 

yards downstream of the mouth of Duck Creek. 
(h)  The White Oak River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective June 1, 1992 with the reclassification of 
Peletier Creek (Index No. 20-36-11) from its source to Bogue 
Sound from Class SA to Class SB with the requirement that no 
discharges be allowed. 

(i)  The White Oak River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective December 1, 1992 with the reclassification of 
the Atlantic Harbor Restricted Area (Index No. 21-35-7-2) from 
Class SC to Class SA ORW. 
(j)  The White Oak River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassifications 

listed below, and the North Carolina Division of Water Resources 
maintains a Geographic Information Systems data layer of these 
UWLs: 

(1) Theodore Roosevelt Maritime Swamp Forest 
near Roosevelt Natural Area Swamp [Index No. 
20-36-9.5-(1)] was reclassified to Class WL 

UWL. 
(2) Bear Island Maritime Wet Grassland near the 

Atlantic Ocean [Index No. 99-(4)] was 
reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(k)  The White Oak River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective July 1, 2011 with the reclassification of a 

portion of Southwest Creek [Index No. 19-17-(0.5)] from a point 
approximately 0.5 mile upstream of Mill Run to Mill Run from 
Class C NSW to Class SC NSW, and another portion of Southwest 
Creek [Index No. 19-17-(6.5)] from Mill Run to New River from 
Class C HQW NSW to Class SC HQW NSW. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 
143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; November 1, 2007; December 1, 
1992; June 1, 1992; August 1, 1991; August 1, 1990; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02B .0313 ROANOKE RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Roanoke 
River Basin are set forth in the Roanoke River Basin 
Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 
places: 

(1) the Internet at 
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 
Department of Environmental Quality: 

(A) Raleigh Regional Office 
3800 Barrett Drive 
Raleigh, Carolina; 

(B) Washington Regional Office 
943 Washington Square Mall 
Washington, Carolina; 

(C) Winston-Salem Regional Office 

450 West Hanes Mill Road 
North Carolina; and 

(D) Division of Water Resources 

Regional Office 

512 North Salisbury Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  Unnamed streams entering Virginia are classified "C", except 
that all backwaters of John H. Kerr Reservoir and the North 
Carolina portion of streams tributary thereto not otherwise named 
or described shall carry the classification "B," and all backwaters 

of Lake Gaston and the North Carolina portion of streams 
tributary thereto not otherwise named or described shall carry the 
classification "C and B". 
(c)  The Roanoke River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective: 

(1) May 18, 1977; 

(2) July 9, 1978; 
(3) July 18, 1979; 
(4) July 13, 1980; 
(5) March 1, 1983; 
(6) August 1, 1985; 
(7) February 1, 1986. 

(d)  The Roanoke River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective July 1, 1991 with the reclassification of Hyco 
Lake (Index No. 22-58) from Class C to Class B. 
(e)  The Roanoke River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 
water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-

I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-
II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 
became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 

waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 
identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(f)  The Roanoke River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 1998 with the reclassification of 

Cascade Creek (Camp Creek) [Index No. 22-12] and its tributaries 
from its source to the backwaters at the swimming lake from Class 
B to Class B ORW, and reclassification of Indian Creek [index 
No. 22-13] and its tributaries from its source to Window Falls 
from Class C to Class C ORW. 
(g)  The Roanoke River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 1, 1998 with the reclassification of Dan 
River and Mayo River WS-IV Protected Areas. The Protected 
Areas were reduced in size. 
(h)  The Roanoke River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective April 1, 1999 as follows: 

(1) Hyco River, including Hyco Lake below 

elevation 410 [Index No. 22-58-(0.5)] was 
reclassified from Class B to Class WS-V B. 

(2) Mayo Creek (Maho Creek)(Mayo Reservoir) 
[Index No. 22-58-15] was reclassified from its 
source to the dam of Mayo Reservoir from 
Class C to Class WS-V. 

(i)  The Roanoke River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective April 1, 2001 as follows: 
(1) Fullers Creek from source to a point 0.8 mile 

upstream of Yanceyville water supply dam 
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[Index No. 22-56-4-(1)] was reclassified from 

Class WS-II to Class WS-III. 
(2) Fullers Creek from a point 0.8 mile upstream of 

Yanceyville water supply dam to Yanceyville 
water supply dam [Index No. 22-56-4-(2)] was 
reclassified from Class WS-II CA to Class WS-
III CA. 

(j)  The Roanoke River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassification of 
Hanging Rock Hillside Seepage Bog near Cascade Creek [Index 
No. 22-12-(2)] to Class WL UWL. The Division of Water 
Resources maintains a Geographic Information Systems data 
layer of the UWL. 

(k)  The Roanoke River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective July 3, 2012 as follows: 

(1) a portion of the Dan River [Index No. 22-(39)] 
(including tributaries) from the City of 
Roxboro's intake, located approximately 0.7 
mile upstream of NC Highway 62, to a point 

approximately 0.5 mile upstream of the City of 
Roxboro's intake from Class C to Class WS-IV 
CA. 

(2) a portion of the Dan River [Index No. 22-(39)] 
(including tributaries) from a point 
approximately 0.5 mile upstream of the City of 

Roxboro's intake to the North Carolina-Virginia 
state line from Class C to Class WS-IV. 

(l)  The Roanoke River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 2013 as follows: 

(1) a portion of the Roanoke River [Index No. 23-
(26)] (including tributaries) from the Martin 

County Regional Water And Sewer Authority's 
intake, located approximately 0.3 mile 
upstream of US 13/US 17, to a point 
approximately 0.5 mile upstream of the Martin 
County Regional Water And Sewer Authority's 
intake from Class C to Class WS-IV CA. 

(2) a portion of the Roanoke River [Index No. 23-
(26)] (including tributaries) from a point 
approximately 0.5 mile upstream of the Martin 
County Regional Water And Sewer Authority's 
intake to a point approximately 1 mile 
downstream of Coniott Creek (Town Swamp) 

from Class C to Class WS-IV. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-
215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 3, 2012; November 1, 2007; 

April 1, 2001; April 1, 1999; August 1, 1998; August 3, 1992; July 
1, 1991; February 1, 1986; August 1, 1985; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0314 CHOWAN RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Chowan 
River Basin are set forth in the Chowan River Basin Classification 

Schedule, which may be inspected in the following places: 
(1) the Internet at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-planning/classification-

standards/river-basin-classification; and 
(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Raleigh Regional Office 

3800 Barrett Drive 
Raleigh, North Carolina; 

(B) Washington Regional Office 
943 Washington Square Mall 
Washington, North Carolina: and 

(C) Division of Water Resources 
Central Office 
512 North Salisbury Street 

Raleigh, North Carolina. 
(b)  Unnamed streams entering Virginia are classified "C." 
(c)  All classifications assigned to the waters of the Chowan River 
Basin are additionally classified as Nutrient Sensitive Waters 
(NSW) in accordance with the provisions of Rule .0214 of this 
Subchapter. 

(d)  The Chowan River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 1985. 
 
History Note:  
Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1978; March 1, 1977; 
Emergency Amendment [(f)] Eff. March 10, 1979, for a period of 
120 days to expire on September 7, 1979; 
Emergency Amendment [(f)] Made Permanent Eff. September 6, 
1979; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1985; January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0315 NEUSE RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Neuse River 
Basin are set forth in the Neuse River Basin Classification 
Schedule, which may be inspected at the following places: 

(1) the Internet at 
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 
Department of Environmental Quality: 

(A) Raleigh Regional Office 
3800 Barrett Drive 
Raleigh, North Carolina; 

(B) Washington Regional Office 
943 Washington Square Mall 
Washington, North Carolina; 

(C) Wilmington Regional Office 
127 Cardinal Drive Extension 
Wilmington, North Carolina; and 

(D) Division of Water Resources 
Central Office 
512 North Salisbury Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective: 

(1) March 1, 1977 see Paragraph (c) of this Rule; 
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(2) December 13, 1979 see Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule; 
(3) September 14, 1980 see Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule; 
(4) August 9, 1981 see Paragraph (f) of this Rule; 
(5) January 1, 1982 see Paragraph (g) of this Rule; 
(6) April 1, 1982 see Paragraph (h) of this Rule; 

(7) December 1, 1983 see Paragraph (i) of this 
Rule; 

(8) January 1, 1985 see Paragraph (j) of this Rule; 
(9) August 1, 1985 see Paragraph (k) of this Rule; 
(10) February 1, 1986 see Paragraph (l) of this Rule; 
(11) May 1, 1988 see Paragraph (m) of this Rule; 

(12) July 1, 1988 see Paragraph (n) of this Rule; 
(13) October 1, 1988 see Paragraph (o) of this Rule; 
(14) January 1, 1990 see Paragraph (p) of this Rule; 
(15) August 1, 1990; 
(16) December 1, 1990 see Paragraph (q) of this 

Rule; 

(17) July 1, 1991 see Paragraph (r) of this Rule; 
(18) August 3, 1992; 
(19) April 1, 1994 see Paragraph (t) of this Rule; 
(20) July 1, 1996 see Paragraph (u) of this Rule; 
(21) September 1, 1996 see Paragraph (v) of this 

Rule; 

(22) April 1, 1997 see Paragraph (w) of this Rule; 
(23) August 1, 1998 see Paragraph (x) of this Rule; 
(24) August 1, 2002 see Paragraph (y) of this Rule; 
(25) July 1, 2004 see Paragraph (z) of this Rule; 
(26) November 1, 2007see Paragraph (aa) of this 

Rule; 

(27) January 15, 2011 see Paragraph (bb) of this 
Rule; and 

(28) July 1, 2012 see Paragraph (cc) of this Rule. 
(c)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective March 1, 1977 with the a total of 179 streams in the 
Neuse River Basin reclassified from Class D to Class C. 

(d)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective December 13, 1979 as follows: Little River [Index No. 
27-57-(21.5)] from source to the dam at Wake Forest Reservoir 
has been reclassified from Class A-II to Class A-II and B. 
(e)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective September 14, 1980 as follows: The Eno River from 

Durham County State Road 1003 to U.S Highway 501 [Index No. 
27-2-(16)] was reclassified from Class C and B to Class A-II and 
B. 
(f)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective August 9, 1981 to remove the swamp water designation 
from all waters designated SA in the Neuse River Basin. 

(g)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective January 1, 1982 as follows: The Trent River from the 
mouth of Brice Creek to the Neuse River [Index No. 27-101-(39)] 
was reclassified from Class SC Sw to Class SB Sw. 
(h)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective April 1, 1982 as follows: 

(1) Longview Branch from source to Crabtree 

Creek [Index No. 27-33-(21)] was reclassified 
from Class C1 to Class C. 

(2) Watson Branch from source to Walnut Creek 

[Index No. 27-34-(8)] was reclassified from 
Class C1 to Class C. 

(i)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective December 1, 1983 to add the Nutrient Sensitive Waters 
classification to the entire river basin above Falls dam. 
(j)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 

effective January 1, 1985 as follows: Nobel Canal from source to 
Swift Creek [Index No. 27-97-(2)] was reclassified from Class C1 
to Class C. 
(k)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective August 1, 1985 as follows: 

(1) Southeast Prong Beaverdam Creek from source 

to Beaverdam Creek [Index No. 27-33-15(2)] 
was reclassified from Class C1 to Class C. 

(2) Pigeon House branch from source to Crabtree 
Creek [Index No. 27-33-(18)] was reclassified 
from Class C1 to Class C. 

(3) Rocky Branch from source to Pullen Road 

[Index No. 27-34-6-(1)] was reclassified from 
Class C1 to Class C. 

(4) Chavis Branch from source to Watson Branch 
[Index No. 27-37-8-1] was reclassified from 
Class C1 to Class C. 

(l)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 

effective February 1, 1986 to reclassify all Class A-I and Class A-
II streams in the Neuse River Basin to WS-I and WS-III. 
(m)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective May 1, 1988 to add the Nutrient Sensitive Waters 
classification to the waters of the Neuse River Basin below the 
Falls Lake dam. 

(n)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective July 1, 1988 as follows: 

(1) Smith Creek [Index No. 27-23-(1)] from source 
to the dam at Wake Forest Reservoir has been 
reclassified from Class WS-III to WS-I. 

(2) Little River [Index No. 27-57-(1)] from source 

to the N.C. Hwy. 97 Bridge near Zebulon 
including all tributaries has been reclassified 
from Class WS-III to WS-I. 

(3) An unnamed tributary to Buffalo Creek just 
upstream of Robertson's Pond in Wake County 
from source to Buffalo Creek including Leo's 

Pond has been reclassified from Class C to B. 
(o)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective October 1, 1988 as follows: 

(1) Walnut Creek (Lake Johnson, Lake Raleigh) 
[Index No. 27-34-(1)]. Lake Johnson and Lake 
Raleigh have been reclassified from Class WS-

III to Class WS-III B. 
(2) Haw Creek (Camp Charles Lake)(Index No. 

27-86-3-7) from the backwaters of Camp 
Charles Lake to dam at Camp Charles Lake has 
been reclassified from Class C to Class B. 

(p)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective January 1, 1990 as follows: 

(1) Neuse-Southeast Pamlico Sound ORW Area 
which includes all waters within a line 
beginning at the southwest tip of Ocracoke 
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Island, and extending north west along the Tar-

Pamlico River Basin and Neuse River Basin 
boundary line to Lat. 35 degrees 06' 30", thence 
in a southwest direction to Ship Point and all 
tributaries, were reclassified from Class SA 
NSW to Class SA NSW ORW. 

(2) Core Sound (Index No. 27-149) from 

northeastern limit of White Oak River Basin (a 
line from Hall Point to Drum Inlet) to Pamlico 
Sound and all tributaries, except Thorofare, 
John Day Ditch were reclassified from Class 
SA NSW to Class SA NSW ORW. 

(q)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 

effective December 1, 1990 with the reclassification of the 
following waters as described in (1) through (3) of this Paragraph. 

(1) Northwest Creek from its source to the Neuse 
River (Index No. 27-105) from Class SC Sw 
NSW to Class SB Sw NSW; 

(2) Upper Broad Creek [Index No. 27-106-(7)] 

from Pamlico County SR 1103 at Lees Landing 
to the Neuse River from Class SC Sw NSW to 
Class SB Sw NSW; and 

(3) Goose Creek [Index No. 27-107-(11)] from 
Wood Landing to the Neuse River from Class 
SC Sw NSW to Class SB Sw NSW. 

(r)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective July 1, 1991 with the reclassification of the Bay River 
[Index No. 27-150-(1)] within a line running from Flea Point to 
the Hammock, east to a line running from Bell Point to Darby 
Point, including Harper Creek, Tempe Gut, Moore Creek and 
Newton Creek, and excluding that portion of the Bay River 

landward of a line running from Poorhouse Point to Darby Point 
from Classes SC Sw NSW and SC Sw NSW HQW to Class SA 
NSW. 
(s)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all water 
supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-I, WS-

II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-II, WS-
III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 
became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 

waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 
identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(t)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective April 1, 1994 as follows: 

(1) Lake Crabtree [Index No. 27-33-(1)] was 
reclassified from Class C NSW to Class B 
NSW. 

(2) The Eno River from Orange County State Road 
1561 to Durham County State Road 1003 
[Index No. 27-10-(16)] was reclassified from 
Class WS-IV NSW to Class WS-IV B NSW. 

(3) Silver Lake (Index No. 27-43-5) was 
reclassified from Class WS-III NSW to Class 
WS-III B NSW. 

(u)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 

effective July 1, 1996 with the reclassification of Austin Creek 
[Index Nos. 27-23-3-(1) and 27-23-3-(2)] from its source to Smith 
Creek from classes WS-III NSW and WS-III NSW CA to class C 
NSW. 
(v)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective September 1, 1996 with the reclassification of an 

unnamed tributary to Hannah Creek (Tuckers Lake) [Index No. 
27-52-6-0.5] from Class C NSW to Class B NSW. 
(w)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective April 1, 1997 with the reclassification of the Neuse River 
(including tributaries) from mouth of Marks Creek to a point 1.3 
miles downstream of Johnston County State Road 1908 to class 

WS-IV NSW and from a point 1.3 miles downstream of Johnston 
County State Road 1908 to the Johnston County Water Supply 
intake (located 1.8 miles downstream of Johnston County State 
Road 1908) to class WS-IV CA NSW [Index Nos. 27-(36) and 
27-(38.5)]. 
(x)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 

effective August 1, 1998 with the revision of the Critical Area and 
Protected Area boundaries surrounding the Falls Lake water 
supply reservoir. The revisions to these boundaries are the result 
of the US Army Corps of Engineers raising the lake's normal pool 
elevation. The result of these revisions is the Critical and 
Protected Area boundaries (classifications) may extend further 

upstream than the current designations. The Critical Area for a 
WS-IV reservoir is defined as 0.5 miles and draining to the normal 
pool elevation. The Protected Area for a WS-IV reservoir is 
defined as 5 miles and draining to the normal pool elevation. The 
normal pool elevation of the Falls Lake reservoir has changed 
from 250.1 feet mean sea level (msl) to 251.5 feet msl. 

(y)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective August 1, 2002 with the reclassification of the Neuse 
River [portions of Index No. 27-(56)], including portions of its 
tributaries, from a point 0.7 mile downstream of the mouth of 
Coxes Creek to a point 0.6 mile upstream of Lenoir County 
proposed water supply intake from Class C NSW to Class WS-IV 

NSW and from a point 0.6 mile upstream of Lenoir County 
proposed water supply intake to Lenoir proposed water supply 
intake from Class C NSW to Class WS-IV CA NSW. 
(z)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was amended 
effective July 1, 2004 with the reclassification of the Neuse River 
(including tributaries in Wake County) [Index Nos. 27-(20.7), 27-

21, 27-21-1] from the dam at Falls Lake to a point 0.5 mile 
upstream of the Town of Wake Forest Water Supply Intake 
(former water supply intake for Burlington Mills Wake Finishing 
Plant) from Class C NSW to Class WS-IV NSW and from a point 
0.5 mile upstream of the Town of Wake Forest proposed water 
supply intake to Town of Wake Forest proposed water supply 

intake [Index No. 27-(20.1)] from Class C NSW to Class WS-IV 
NSW CA. Fantasy Lake [Index No. 27 -57-3-1-1], a former rock 
quarry within a WS-II NSW water supply watershed, was 
reclassified from Class WS-II NSW to Class WS-II NSW CA. 
(aa)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassification of 
the entire watershed of Deep Creek (Index No. 27-3-4) from 

source to Flat River from Class WS-III NSW to Class WS-III 
ORW NSW. 
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(bb)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 15, 2011 with the reclassification of 
all Class C NSW waters and all Class B NSW waters upstream of 
the dam at Falls Reservoir from Class C NSW and Class B NSW 
to Class WS-V NSW and Class WS-V & B NSW, respectively. 
All waters within the Falls Watershed are within a designated 
Critical Water Supply Watershed and are subject to a special 

management strategy specified in Rules .0275 through .0283 of 
this Subchapter. 
(cc)  The Neuse River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective July 1, 2012 as follows: 

(1) Johnston County owned quarry near Little 
River [Index No. 27-57-(20.2)] from Class C 

NSW to Class WS-IV NSW CA. The Division 
of Water Resources maintains a Geographic 
Information Systems data layer of this quarry; 

(2) a portion of the Neuse River [Index Number 27-
(41.7)] from a point approximately 1.4 miles 
downstream of Gar Gut to a point 

approximately 1.7 miles upstream of Bawdy 
Creek from Class WS-V NSW to Class WS-IV 
NSW; and 

(3) a portion of the Neuse River [Index No. 27-
(49.5)] from a point approximately 0.5 mile 
upstream of S.R. 1201 (Johnston County 

intake) to S.R. 1201 (Johnston County intake) 
from Class WS-IV NSW to Class WS-IV NSW 
CA. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-
215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; July 1, 2004 (see SL 2001-361); 
August 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; April 1, 1997; September 1, 
1996; July 1, 1996; April 1, 1994; August 3, 1992; July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. January 15, 2011 (this permanent rule replaces the 
temporary rule approved by the RRC on December 16, 2010); 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2012; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0316 TAR-PAMLICO RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Tar-Pamlico 
River Basin are set forth in the Tar-Pamlico River Basin 

Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 
places: 

(1) the Internet at 
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 
Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Raleigh Regional Office 

3800 Barrett Drive 
Raleigh, North Carolina; 

(B) Washington Regional Office 
943 Washington Square Mall 

Washington, North Carolina; and 
(C) Division of Water Resources 

Central Office 

512 North Salisbury Street 

Raleigh, North Carolina. 
(b)  All drainage canals not noted in the schedule are classified "C 
Sw," except the main drainage canals to Pamlico Sound and its 
bays which are classified "SC." 
(c)  The Tar-Pamlico River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective: 

(1) March 1, 1977; 
(2) November 1, 1978; 
(3) June 8, 1980; 
(4) October 1, 1983; 
(5) June 1, 1984; 
(6) August 1, 1985; 

(7) February 1, 1986; 
(8) August 1, 1988; 
(9) January 1, 1990; 
(10) August 1, 1990; 
(11) August 3, 1992; 
(12) April 1, 1994; 

(13) January 1, 1996; 
(14) September 1, 1996; 
(15) October 7, 2003; 
(16) June 1, 2004; 
(17) November 1, 2007. 

(d)  The Tar-Pamlico River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 1, 1988 as follows: Tar River (Index 
No. 28-94) from a point 1.2 miles downstream of Broad Run to 
the upstream side of Tranters Creek from Class C to Class B. 
(e)  The Tar-Pamlico River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 1990 by the reclassification of 
Pamlico River and Pamlico Sound [Index No. 29-(27)] which 

includes all waters within a line beginning at Juniper Bay Point 

and running due south to Lat. 35 18' 00", long. 76 13' 20", thence 

due west to lat. 35 18' 00", long 76 20' 00", thence northwest to 
Shell Point and including Shell Bay, Swanquarter and Juniper 
Bays and their tributaries, but excluding the Blowout, Hydeland 
Canal, Juniper Canal and Quarter Canal were reclassified from 
Class SA and SC to SA ORW and SC ORW. 
(f)  The Tar-Pamlico River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 1990 by adding the supplemental 

classification NSW (Nutrient Sensitive Waters) to all waters in 
the basin from source to a line across Pamlico River from Roos 
Point to Persimmon Tree Point. 
(g)  The Tar-Pamlico River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 
water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-

I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-
II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 
became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 

waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 
identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(h)  The Tar-Pamlico River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective April 1, 1994 with the reclassification of 
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Blounts Creek from Herring Run to Blounts Bay [Index No. 29-

9-1-(3)] from Class SC NSW to Class SB NSW. 
(i)  The Tar-Pamlico River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective January 1, 1996 with the reclassification of 
Tranters Creek [Index Numbers 28-103- (4.5), 28-103- (13.5), 
28-103- (14.5) and 28-103- (16.5)] from a point 1.5 miles 
upstream of Turkey Swamp to the City of Washington's former 

auxiliary water supply intake, including tributaries, from Class 
WS-IV Sw NSW and Class WS-IV CA Sw NSW to Class C Sw 
NSW. 
(j)  The Tar-Pamlico River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective September 1, 1996 with the addition of 
Huddles Cut (previously unnamed in the schedule) classified as 

SC NSW with an Index No. of 29-25.5. 
(k)  The Tar-Pamlico River Basin Classification Schedule was 
temporarily amended effective October 7, 2003 and permanently 
amended June 1, 2004 with the reclassification of a portion of 
Swift Creek [Index Number 28-78-(0.5)] and a portion of Sandy 
Creek [Index Number 28-78-1-(19)] from Nash County SR 1004 

to Nash County SR 1003 from Class C NSW to Class C ORW 
NSW, and the waters that drain to these two creek portions to 
include only the ORW management strategy as represented by 
"+". The "+" symbol means that all undesignated waterbodies that 
drain to the portions of the two creeks referenced in this Paragraph 
shall comply with Rule .0225(c) of this Subchapter in order to 

protect the designated waters as per Rule .0203 of this Subchapter 
and to protect outstanding resource values found in the designated 
waters as well as in the undesignated waters that drain to the 
designated waters. 
(l)  The Tar-Pamlico River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassifications 

listed below, and the North Carolina Division of Water Resources 
maintains a Geographic Information Systems data layer of these 
UWLs. 

(1) Goose Creek Tidal Freshwater Marsh along the 
confluence of Goose Creek [Index No. 29-33] 
and the Pamlico River [Index No. 29-(27)], 

along Flatty Creek [Index No. 29-11-4] a length 
of the Pamlico River shoreline [Index No. 29-
(27)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(2) Mallard Creek Tidal Freshwater Marsh along 
Mallard Creek [Index No. 29-13-(1)] 0.2 miles 
above its confluence with the Pamlico River to 

Class WL UWL. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 
143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2003 (see S.L. 2003-433, s.1); September 

1, 1996; January 1, 1996; April 1, 1994; August 3, 1992; August 
1, 1990; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 7, 2003; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; June 1, 2004; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0317 PASQUOTANK RIVER BASIN 

(a)  lassifications assigned to the waters within the Pasquotank 
River Basin are set forth in the Pasquotank River Basin 

Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 

places: 
(1) the Internet at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-
resources/water-planning/classification-
standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality: 
(A) Washington Regional Office 

943 Washington Square Mall 
Washington, North Carolina; and 

(B) Division of Water Resources 
Central Office 

512 North Salisbury Street 
Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  All drainage canals not noted in the schedule are classified 
"C." 
(c)  The Pasquotank River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective: 

(1) March 1, 1977; 
(2) May 18, 1977; 
(3) December 13, 1979; 
(4) January 1, 1985; 
(5) February 1, 1986; 
(6) January 1, 1990; 

(7) August 1, 1990; 
(8) August 3, 1992; 
(9) August 1, 1998; 
(10) August 1, 2000; 
(11) November 1, 2007. 

(d)  The Pasquotank River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 1990 by the reclassification of 
Alligator River [Index Nos. 30-16-(1) and 30-16-(7)] from source 
to U.S. Hwy. 64 and all tributaries except Swindells Canal, 
Florida Canal, New Lake, Fairfield Canal, Carters Canal, Dunbar 
Canal and Intracoastal Waterway (Pungo River - Alligator River 
Canal) were reclassified from C Sw and SC Sw to C Sw ORW 

and SC Sw ORW. 
(e)  The Pasquotank River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 1990 as follows: 

(1) Croatan Sound [Index No. 30-20-(1)] from a 
point of land on the southern side of mouth of 
Peter Mashoes Creek on Dare County mainland 

following a line eastward to Northwest Point on 
Roanoke Island and then from Northwest Point 
following a line west to Reeds Point on Dare 
County mainland was reclassified from Class 
SC to Class SB. 

(2) Croatan Sound [Index No. 30-20-(1.5)] from 

Northwest Point on Roanoke Island following a 
line west to Reeds Point on Dare County 
mainland to William B. Umstead Memorial 
Bridge was reclassified from Class SC to Class 
SA. 

(f)  The Pasquotank River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 

water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-
I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-
II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 
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protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 

became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 
primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 
classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 
waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 
classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 
after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 

identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 
(g)  The Pasquotank River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective August 1, 1998 with the revision to the primary 
classification for a portion of the Pasquotank River [Index No. 30-
3-(1.7)] from Class WS-IV to Class WS-V. 
(h)  The Pasquotank River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 1, 2000 with the reclassification of 
Lake Phelps [Index No. 30-14-4-6-1] from Class C Sw to Class B 
Sw ORW. 
(i)  The Pasquotank River Basin Classification Schedule was 
amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassifications 
listed below, and the North Carolina Division of Water Resources 

maintains a Geographic Information Systems data layer of these 
UWLs. 

(1) Phelps Lake Natural Lake Shoreline near 
Phelps Lake [Index No. 30-14-4-6-1] was 
reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(2) Nags Head Woods near Buzzard Bay [Index 

No. 30-21-1] was reclassified to Class WL 
UWL. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 
143-215.3(a)(1); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; 
August 3, 1992; August 1, 1990; January 1, 1990; February 1, 
1986; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0601 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

(a)  The purpose of this Section is to set forth the requirements of 
the Commission for monitoring air pollution emissions and filing 
reports covering their discharge into the outdoor atmosphere of 
the state. 
(b)  This Section shall apply to all persons subject to the 
provisions of Subchapters 02D or 02Q of this Chapter. 

(c)  Monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting may also be 
required by other rules including 15A NCAC 02D .0524, .0536, 
.1110, or .1111. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1984; June 18, 1976; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. March 8, 1994 for a period of 180 
days or until the permanent rule is effective, whichever is sooner; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1994;  
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 02D .0602 DEFINITIONS 

For the purpose of this Section, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Applicable requirement" means any rule, 

standard, or requirement established in 
Subchapters 02D or 02Q of this Chapter or 
Article 21 of the North Carolina General 
Statutes. 

(2) "Calendar quarter" means: 
(a) the time period from January 1 

through March 31; 
(b) the time period from April 1 through 

June 30; 
(c) the time period from July 1 through 

September 30; or 
(d) the time period from October 1 

through December 31. 
(3) "Capacity factor" means the ratio of the average 

load on a machine or equipment for a defined 
time period considered to the capacity rating of 
the machine or equipment. 

(4) "Distillate oils" means fuel oil, including 

recycled oil, that complies with the 
specifications for fuel oil numbers 1 or 2, as 
defined by the American Society for Testing 
and Materials in ASTM D-396, "Standard 
Specification for Fuel Oils." 

(5) "Emission standard" means a State rule or 

federal regulation setting forth: 
(a) an allowable rate of emissions, level of 

opacity, or prescribing equipment; 
(b) fuel specifications; 
(c) workplace standards; or 
(d) material usage that result in control of 

air pollution emissions. 
(6) "Excess emissions" means emissions of an air 

pollutant in excess of an emission standard. 
(7) "Fossil fuel-fired steam generator" means a 

furnace or boiler used in the process of burning 
fossil fuel for the primary purpose of producing 

steam by heat transfer. 
(8) "Good operation and maintenance" means 

minimizing air pollutant emissions from air 
pollution control equipment, reducing 
equipment malfunctions, and ensuring 
continued compliance with State rules, federal 

regulations, and permit requirements. 
(9) "Nitric acid plant" means any facility producing 

nitric acid 30 to 70 percent in strength by either 
the pressure or atmospheric pressure process. 

(10) "Permit condition" means: 
(a) a condition set to comply with or to 

avoid any applicable requirement; or 
(b) a condition set to maintain compliance 

with toxic air pollutant acceptable 
ambient levels or ambient air quality 
standards. 

(11) "Petroleum refinery" means any facility 
engaged in producing gasoline, kerosene, 

distillate oils, residual oils, lubricants, or other 
products through the distillation of petroleum or 
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through the redistillation, cracking, or 

reforming of unfinished petroleum derivatives. 
(12) "Residual oils" means crude oil, fuel oil that 

does not comply with the specifications 
according to the definition of distillate oil, or all 
fuel oil numbers 4, 5, and 6, as defined by the 
American Society for Testing and Materials in 

ASTM D-396, "Standard Specification for Fuel 
Oils." 

(13) "Sulfuric acid plant" means any facility 
producing sulfuric acid by the contact process 
by burning elemental sulfur, alkylation acid, 
hydrogen sulfide, or acid sludge, but does not 

include facilities where conversion to sulfuric 
acid is used primarily as a means of preventing 
emissions to the atmosphere of sulfur dioxide 
or other sulfur compounds. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; July 1, 1984; June 18, 1976; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0604 EXCEPTIONS TO 

MONITORING AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Unless a rule specifies otherwise, during a period of 
monitoring system malfunction the owner or operator of a source 
shall not be required to monitor or report emissions if the owner 
or operator of the source shows that the malfunction was 
unavoidable, is being repaired as expeditiously as practicable, and 

no applicable requirements are violated. The owner or operator of 
the source shall, upon request of the Director, provide 
documentation of continuous monitoring system performance 
when system repairs or adjustments have been made. 
Malfunctions of the monitoring system that result from 
inadequate or poor operation and maintenance practices shall not 

be exempted from monitoring and reporting requirements. 
Operation and maintenance practices may be specified by the 
manufacturer, federal regulation, Rule, or a permit condition. 
(b)  The owner or operator of a source that operates less than 30 
days per 12-month period shall not be required to monitor 
emissions from that source unless Subchapters 02D and 02Q of 

this Chapter specifies otherwise. However, the owner or operator 
shall maintain records to document that the source was operated 
less than 30 days per 12-month period. 
(c)  The owner or operator of a source exempted from needing a 
permit by 15A NCAC 02Q .0102 shall not be required to monitor 
emissions from that source unless; 

(1) required by a specific rule in Subchapters 02D 
and 02Q of this Chapter, or 

(2) required as a part of an enforcement settlement. 
However, the owner or operator shall maintain records to 
document that the source qualifies for the permit exemption. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66;143-215.107(a)(4); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1988; July 1, 

1984; June 18, 1976; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0605 GENERAL RECORDKEEPING 

AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The owner or operator of a source subject to a requirement of 

this Subchapters 02D or 02Q of this Chapter shall maintain: 
(1) records detailing all malfunctions pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02D .0535; 
(2) records of all testing conducted pursuant to 

rules in Subchapter 02D; 
(3) records of all monitoring conducted pursuant to 

Subchapters 02D or 02Q of this Chapter, 
(4) records detailing activities relating to any 

compliance schedule in this Subchapter; and 
(5) for unpermitted sources, records necessary to 

determine compliance with rules in 
Subchapters 02D or .02Q of this Chapter. 

(b)  The permit shall specify: 
(1) the type of monitoring required and the 

frequency of the monitoring; 
(2) the type of records to be maintained; and 
(3) the type of reports to be submitted and the 

frequency of submitting these reports, as 

necessary to determine compliance with rules in 
Subchapters 02D or 02Q of this Chapter or with 
an emission standard or permit condition. 

(c)  If the Director has evidence that a source is violating an 
emission standard or permit condition, the Director may require 
the owner or operator of any source subject to the requirements in 

Subchapters 02D or 02Q of this Chapter to submit to the Director 
any information necessary to determine the compliance status of 
the source. 
(d)  The owner or operator of a source of excess emissions that 
last for more than four hours and that results from a malfunction, 
a breakdown of process or control equipment, or any other 

abnormal conditions shall report excess emissions in accordance 
with the requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .0535. 
(e)  Copies of all records and reports generated in response to the 
requirements pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .0600 shall be retained 
by the owner or operator for a period of two years after the date 
that the record was made or the report submitted, except that the 

retention period shall be extended if necessary to comply with 
other State or federal requirements. 
(f)  All records and reports generated in response to the 
requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .0600 shall be made available to 
personnel of the Division for inspection. 
(g)  The owner or operator of a source subject to the requirements 

of 15A NCAC 02D .0600 shall comply with the requirements of 
15A NCAC 02D .0600 at his or her own cost. 
(h)  No person shall falsify any information required by a rule in 
Subchapter 02D or a permit issued pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q. 
No person shall knowingly submit any falsified information 
required by a rule in Subchapter 02D or a permit issued pursuant 
to Subchapter 02Q of this Chapter. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215-65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.1078(a)(4); 
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Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2007; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1984; June 
18, 1976; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0606 SOURCES COVERED BY 

APPENDIX P OF 40 CFR PART 51 

(a)  The following sources shall be monitored as described in 40 
CFR Part 51, Appendix P: 

(1) fossil fuel-fired steam generators; 
(2) nitric acid plants; 
(3) sulfuric acid plants; and 
(4) petroleum refineries. 

Sources covered by 15A NCAC 02D .0524 shall be exempt from 
this Rule. 
(b)  The monitoring systems required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule 
shall meet the minimum specifications described in Paragraphs 
3.3 through 3.8 of Appendix P of 40 CFR Part 51. 
(c)  The excess emissions recorded by the monitoring systems 

required to be installed by this Rule shall be reported no later than 
30 days after the end of the quarter to the Division in the manner 
described in Paragraphs 4 and 5.1 through 5.3.3 of Appendix P of 
40 CFR Part 51 except that a six-minute time period shall be an 
appropriate alternative opacity averaging period as described in 
Paragraph 4.2 of Appendix P of 40 CFR Part 51. The owner or 

operator of any source subject to this Rule that is required to 
monitor emissions of sulfur dioxide or nitrogen oxides pursuant 
to any other State rule or federal regulation with continuous 
emission monitoring systems, shall monitor compliance with the 
sulfur dioxide emission standard in 15A NCAC 02D .0516, shall 
monitor the nitrogen oxide emission standard in 15A NCAC 02D 

.0519 or 15A NCAC 02D .1400 with a continuous emission 
monitoring system. Compliance with sulfur dioxide and nitrogen 
oxide emission standards shall be determined by averaging hourly 
continuous emission monitoring system values over a 24-hour 
block period beginning at midnight. To compute the 24-hour 
block average, the average hourly values shall be added and the 

sum shall be divided by 24. With the exception of opacity 
monitoring, a minimum of four data points containing one data 
point in each of the 15-minute quadrants of the hour shall be 
required to determine a valid hour value unless the continuous 
emission monitoring system is installed to meet the provisions of 
40 CFR Part 75. If a continuous emission monitoring system is 

installed that meets the requirements of 40 CFR Part 75, the 
minimum number of data points shall be determined by 40 CFR 
Part 75. 
(d)  For emissions of sulfur dioxide, fuel analysis may be used in 
place of a continuous emissions monitoring system if the source 
is not required to monitor emissions of sulfur dioxide using a 

continuous emissions monitoring system pursuant to another State 
rule or federal regulation. If fuel analysis is used as an alternative 
method to determine emissions of sulfur dioxide, the test methods 
described in 15A NCAC 02D .2600 shall be used except that gross 
or composite samples, gross caloric value, moisture content, and 
sulfur content shall be determined per shipment. Alternatively, 
gross or composite samples, gross caloric value, moisture content, 

and sulfur content may be determined by sampling the fuel as 
fired if the owner or operator demonstrates that sampling as fired 
provides a more accurate estimate of sulfur dioxide emissions 

than sampling each shipment. If sulfur dioxide emissions are 

determined by sampling fuel as fired, then a fuel sample shall be 
taken every four hours. These four-hour samples shall be 
composited into a daily sample, and the daily sample shall be 
composited into a weekly sample. This weekly sample shall be 
analyzed using the procedures in 15A NCAC 02D .2600. The 
sulfur dioxide emission rate shall also be determined using fuel 

analysis data. Sulfur retention credit shall be granted and used for 
computing sulfur dioxide emission rates if a source, on a case-by-
case basis, quantitatively and empirically demonstrates the sulfur 
retention. 
(e)  If a referenced portion of Appendix P of 40 CFR Part 51 
speaks of the "state" or "state plan," the requirements described in 

Appendix P of 40 CFR Part 51 shall apply to those sources to 
which the requirements pertain. 
(f)  The owner or operator of the source shall conduct a daily zero 
and span check of the continuous opacity monitoring system and 
continuous emission monitoring system following the 
manufacturer's recommendations and shall comply with the 

requirements 15A NCAC 02D .0613. 
(g)  The owner or operator of the source may request to use a 
different procedure or methodology than that required by this 
Rule if one of the conditions identified in 40 CFR Part 51, 
Appendix P, Section 3.9 exists. The person requesting to use a 
different procedure or methodology shall submit the request to the 

Director along with a description of the different procedure or 
methodology proposed to be used, an explanation of why the 
procedure or methodology required by this Rule will not work, 
and a showing that the proposed procedure or methodology is 
equivalent to the procedure or methodology being replaced. The 
Director shall approve the use of this procedure or methodology 

if one of the conditions identified in 40 CFR Part 51, Appendix P, 
Section 3.9 exists, the procedure or methodology required by this 
Rule will not work, and that the proposed procedure or 
methodology is equivalent to the procedure or methodology that 
it will replace. 
(h)  The owner or operator of the source shall report to the Director 

no later than 30 days following the end of the quarter the 
following information: 

(1) for fuel analysis per shipment: 
(A) the quantity and type of fuels burned; 
(B) the BTU value; 
(C) the sulfur content in percent by 

weight; and 
(D) the calculated sulfur dioxide emission 

rates expressed in the same units as the 
applicable standard. 

(2) for continuous monitoring of emissions: 
(A) the daily calculated sulfur dioxide and 

nitrogen oxide emission rates 
expressed in the same units as the 
applicable standard for each day; and 

(B) other information required by 
Appendix P of 40 CFR Part 51. 

(i)  If emission testing for compliance with the sulfur dioxide 
emission standard is required, the testing shall be done according 

to 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, Method 6, 6C, or other approved 
methods in 15A NCAC 02D .2600. 
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(j)  If emission testing for compliance with the nitrogen oxide 

emission standard is required, the testing shall be done according 
to 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, Method 7, 7E, or other approved 
methods in 15A NCAC 02D .2600. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; January 1, 2005; April 1, 2003; April 
1, 1999; May 1, 1985; July 1, 1983; December 1, 1976; June 18, 
1976; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 02D .0607 LARGE WOOD AND WOOD-

FOSSIL FUEL COMBINATION UNITS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to wood-fired steam generator units with 
a heat input from wood fuels, or the sum of the heat inputs from 
wood fuels and liquid or solid fossil fuels for generators not 
covered by 15A NCAC 02D .0524 or .0606, that exceeds 250 

million Btu per hour and with an annual average capacity factor 
greater than 30 percent as demonstrated to the Director by the 
owner or operator of the source. 
(b)  The owner or operator of a wood-fired steam generator unit 
governed by this Rule shall install, calibrate, maintain, and 
operate, as specified in 40 CFR Part 60 Appendix B Performance 

Specification 1, opacity continuous emission monitoring systems 
on all stacks discharging the flue gases from one or more steam 
generator units governed by this Rule. 
(c)  The owner or operator of the source shall conduct a daily zero 
and span check of the opacity continuous emission monitoring 
system following the manufacturer's recommendations and shall 

comply with the requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .0613. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1999; July 1, 1984; June 18, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0608 OTHER LARGE COAL OR 

RESIDUAL OIL BURNERS 

(a)  The owner or operator of a fuel burning unit shall determine 
sulfur dioxide emissions into the ambient air if the unit: 

(1) burns coal or residual oil; 
(2) is not required to monitor sulfur dioxide 

emissions by 15A NCAC 02D .0524 or 02D 
.0606; 

(3) has a total heat input of more than 250 million 
Btu per hour from coal and residual oil; and 

(4) has an annual average capacity factor greater 
than 30 percent as determined from the three 
most recent calendar year reports to the Federal 
Power Commission or as otherwise 
demonstrated by the owner or operator. If the 
unit has not been in existence for three calendar 
years, its three-calendar-year average capacity 

factor shall be determined by estimating its 
annual capacity factors for enough future years 
to allow a three-calendar-year average capacity 

factor to be computed. If this three-calendar-

year average capacity factor exceeds 30 
percent, the unit shall be monitored. If this 
three-calendar-year average capacity factor 
does not exceed 30 percent, the unit is not 
required to be monitored. 

(b)  Once the unit is being monitored in accordance with 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, it shall continue to be monitored until 
its most recent three-calendar-year average capacity factor does 
not exceed 25 percent. If the unit is not being monitored in 
accordance with Subparagraph (a) of this Rule, it need not be 
monitored until its most recent three-calendar-year average 
capacity factor exceeds 35 percent. 

(c)  If units required to be monitored have a common exhaust or 
if units required to be monitored have a common exhaust with 
units not required to be monitored, then the common exhaust may 
be monitored and the sulfur dioxide emissions is not required to 
be apportioned among the units with the common exhaust. 
(d)  The owner or operator of the source shall determine sulfur 

dioxide emissions by: 
(1) an instrument for continuous monitoring and 

recording of sulfur dioxide emissions; or 
(2) analyses of representative samples of fuels to 

determine Btu value and percent sulfur content. 
(e)  The owner or operator of a source subject to this Rule that is 

required to monitor emissions of sulfur dioxide pursuant to any 
State rule or federal regulation with continuous emission 
monitoring systems shall monitor compliance with the sulfur 
dioxide emission standard in 15A NCAC 02D .0516 with a 
continuous emission monitoring system. Compliance with sulfur 
dioxide emission standards shall be determined by averaging 

hourly continuous emission monitoring system values over a 24-
hour block period beginning at midnight. To compute the 24-hour 
block average, the average hourly values are added and the sum 
shall be divided by 24. With the exception of opacity monitoring, 
a minimum of four data points, containing one data point in each 
of the 15-minute quadrants of the hour is required to determine a 

valid hour value unless the continuous emission monitoring 
system is installed that meets the requirements of 40 CFR Part 75. 
If a continuous emission monitoring system is installed that meets 
the requirements of 40 CFR Part 75, the minimum number of data 
points shall be determined by 40 CFR Part 75. 
(f)  For emissions of sulfur dioxide, fuel analysis may be used in 

place of a continuous emissions monitoring system if the source 
is not required to monitor emissions of sulfur dioxide using a 
continuous emissions monitoring system pursuant to a State rule 
or federal regulation. If fuel analysis is used as an alternative 
method to determine emissions of sulfur dioxide, then: 

(1) for coal, the test methods described in 15A 

NCAC 02D .2600 shall be used except that 
gross or composite samples, gross caloric value, 
moisture content, and sulfur content shall be 
determined per shipment. Alternatively, gross 
or composite samples, gross caloric value, 
moisture content, and sulfur content may be 
determined by sampling the fuel as fired if the 

owner or operator demonstrates that sampling 
as fired provides a more accurate estimate of 
sulfur dioxide emissions than sampling each 
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shipment. If sulfur dioxide emissions are 

determined by sampling fuel as fired, then a 
fuel sample shall be taken every four hours. 
These four-hour samples shall be composited 
into a daily sample and the daily sample shall 
be composited into a weekly sample. This 
weekly sample shall be analyzed using the 

procedures in 15A NCAC 02D .2600. The 
sulfur dioxide emission rate shall also be 
determined using fuel analysis data. Sulfur 
retention credit shall be granted and used for 
computing sulfur dioxide emission rates if a 
source, on a case-by-case basis, quantitatively 

and empirically demonstrates the sulfur 
retention. 

(2) for residual oil, the test methods described in 
15A NCAC 02D .2600 shall be used except that 
sulfur content shall be determined per 
shipment. Alternatively, gross or composite 

samples, gross caloric value, moisture content, 
and sulfur content may be determined sampling 
the fuel as fired if the owner or operator 
demonstrates that by sampling as fired provides 
a more accurate estimate of sulfur dioxide 
emissions than sampling each shipment. If 

sulfur dioxide emissions are determined by 
sampling fuel as fired, then a fuel sample shall 
be taken every four hours. These four-hour 
samples shall be composited into a daily sample 
and the daily sample shall be composited into a 
weekly sample. This weekly sample shall be 

analyzed using the procedures in Section .2600 
of this Subchapter. Residual oil shall be 
collected in accordance with ASTM D4177 or 
D4057. 

(g)  The owner or operator of the source may request to use a 
different procedure or methodology than that required by this 

Rule if one of the conditions identified in 40 CFR Part 51, 
Appendix P, Section 3.9 exists. The person requesting to use a 
different procedure or methodology shall submit the request to the 
Director along with a description of the different procedure or 
methodology proposed to be used, an explanation of why the 
procedure or methodology required by this Rule will not work, 

and a showing that the proposed procedure or methodology is 
equivalent to the procedure or methodology being replaced. The 
Director shall approve the use of this procedure or methodology 
if he or she finds that one of the conditions identified in 40 CFR 
Part 51, Appendix P, Section 3.9 exists, that the procedure or 
methodology required by this Rule will not work, and that the 

proposed procedure or methodology is equivalent to the 
procedure or methodology that it will replace. 
(h)  The owner or operator of the source shall report to the Director 
no later than 30 days following the end of the quarter the 
following information: 

(1) for fuel analysis per shipment: 
(A) the quantity and type of fuels burned; 

(B) the Btu value; 
(C) the sulfur content in percent by 

weight; and 

(D) the calculated sulfur dioxide emission 

rates expressed in the same units as the 
applicable standard. 

(2) for continuous monitoring of emissions: 
(A) the daily calculated sulfur dioxide 

emission rates expressed in the same 
units as the applicable standard for 

each day; and 
(B) other information required by 

Appendix P of 40 CFR Part 51. 
(i)  The owner or operator of the source shall conduct a daily zero 
and span check of the continuous emission monitoring system, 
following the manufacturer's recommendations, and shall comply 

with the requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .0613. 
(j)  If emission testing for compliance with the sulfur dioxide 
emission standard is required, the testing shall be done according 
to 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, Method 6, 6C, or other approved 
methods in 15A NCAC 02D .2600. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4); 
Eff. June 18, 1976; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; January 1, 2005; April 1, 2003; April 
1, 1999; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1988; July 1, 1984; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02D .0610 FEDERAL MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to sources subject to monitoring, 
recordkeeping, or reporting requirements contained in: 

(1) 40 CFR Part 60, New Source Performance 

Standards (NSPS); 
(2) 40 CFR Part 61, National Emission Standards 

for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP); 
(3) 40 CFR Part 63, Maximum Achievable Control 

Technology (MACT) or Generally Available 
Control Technology (GACT); 

(4) 40 CFR Part 75, Acid Rain; or 
(5) 40 CFR Part 97, Cross State Air Pollution Rule 

CSAPR. 
(b)  An air pollutant from sources governed pursuant to Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule for which monitoring is not required by Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule shall comply with the requirements set forth in 

15A NCAC 02D .0611 if the pollutant from this source is subject 
to an emission standard. 
(c)  Sources that are not subject to any monitoring, recordkeeping, 
or reporting requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule 
shall comply with the requirements in 15A NCAC 02D .0611. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4); 
Eff. June 18, 1976; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; July 1, 1984; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 02D .0611 MONITORING EMISSIONS 

FROM OTHER SOURCES 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to sources of air pollutants, including 
toxic air pollutants, from sources that are not covered by 15A 
NCAC 02D .0606, .0607, .0608, or .0610(a). 
(b)  The owner or operator of a source shall maintain records of 
production rates, throughputs, material usage, and other process 

operational information necessary to determine compliance with 
the facility's permit and all applicable requirements. The Director 
shall specify in the facility's permit, pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D 
.0605, the types of records that the owner or operator shall 
maintain. 
(c)  If the records maintained under Paragraph (b) of this Rule are 

inadequate to determine compliance with the facility's permit and 
all applicable requirements, the Director may require the owner or 
operator to use monitoring instruments, and if monitoring 
instruments are necessary to demonstrate compliance with rules 
in Subchapters 02D or 02Q of this Chapter or with an emission 
standard or permit condition, the owner or operator of a source 

shall: 
(1) install, calibrate, operate, and maintain, in 

accordance with applicable performance 
specifications in 40 CFR Part 60 Appendix B, 
process and control equipment monitoring 
instruments or procedures necessary to 

demonstrate compliance with the emission 
standards in Subchapters 02D and 02Q of this 
Chapter; 

(2) comply with the requirements of 15A NCAC 
02D .0613; and 

(3) maintain, in writing, data and reports of any 

monitoring instruments or procedures 
necessary to comply with Subparagraph (1) of 
this Paragraph that will document the 
compliance status of the sources or control 
equipment. 

(d)  If monitoring instruments are necessary to demonstrate good 

operation and maintenance, the owner or operator of a source 
shall: 

(1) install, calibrate, operate, and maintain, in 
accordance with applicable performance 
specifications in 40 CFR Part 60 Appendix B, 
process and control equipment monitoring 

instruments or procedures necessary to 
demonstrate good operation and maintenance; 

(2) comply with the requirements of 15A NCAC 
02D .0613 unless otherwise specified in any 
other applicable State rule or federal regulation, 
including 40 CFR Part 75 and 40 CFR 60.13. 

The Director shall determine that compliance 
with the quality assurance provisions of 40 CFR 
Part 51, Appendix P, is adequate if the data 
demonstrates that good operation and 
maintenance is being achieved; and 

(3) maintain, in writing, data and reports of any 
monitoring instruments or procedures 

necessary to comply with Subparagraph (1) of 
this Paragraph that will document that good 
operation and maintenance is being achieved. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4); 
Eff. April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0612 ALTERNATIVE MONITORING 

AND REPORTING PROCEDURES 

(a)  Except as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the owner or 
operator of a source may petition the Director to allow monitoring 
or data reporting procedures varying from those prescribed by 
Subchapters 02D or 02Q of this Chapter. 
(b)  This Rule shall not apply to monitoring or reporting 
requirements of 40 CFR Part 60, 61, 62, 63, 75, or 97. 

(c)  To petition to use alternative monitoring or data reporting 
procedures in place of those procedures in Rules 15A NCAC 02D 
.0606, .0607, or .0608 or Sections 15A NCAC 02D .0900, .1200, 
or .1400, the owner or operator of the source shall submit a written 
petition to the Director containing the following: 

(1) the name and address of the company and the 

name and telephone number of a responsible 
official, as defined by 15A NCAC 02Q .0303: 

(2) a description of the sources at the facility to 
which the petition applies; 

(3) identification of the rule or rules for which the 
alternative is sought; 

(4) the basis or reason that alternative monitoring 
and reporting procedure is more desirable than 
those prescribed by the rule; 

(5) a proposal of alternative monitoring and 
reporting procedure; 

(6) a demonstration that the alternative procedure 

is at least as accurate as that prescribed by the 
rule; 

(7) a showing that one or more of the following 
conditions exist: 
(A) a continuous monitoring system or 

other device prescribed by the rule 

would not provide accurate 
determinations of emissions; 

(B) the emissions from two or more 
sources of different design and 
operating characteristics are combined 
before release to the atmosphere or the 

emissions are released to the 
atmosphere, through more than one 
point; 

(C) the requirements prescribed by the 
rule would impose an extreme 
economic burden on the source owner 

or operator. The determination of an 
extreme economic burden shall be 
made on the basis of whether meeting 
the requirements prescribed by the 
rule would produce serious hardship 
without equal or greater benefit to the 
public; 

(D) the monitoring systems prescribed by 
the rule cannot be installed because of 
physical limitations at the facility. The 
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determination of such limitations shall 

be made on the basis of whether 
meeting the requirements prescribed 
by this Rule would necessitate 
reconstruction of the facility; or 

(E) the alternative monitoring or reporting 
procedure is more accurate and precise 

than that prescribed by the rule; 
(8) any other information that the petitioner 

believes would be helpful to the Director in 
evaluating the application. 

(d)  The Director may require the petitioner to submit other 
information that is necessary to evaluate the proposed monitoring 

or reporting procedures. 
(e)  The Director may approve the petition for alternative 
monitoring and reporting procedures if: 

(1) the petition is submitted in accordance with this 
Rule and contains all the information required 
by Paragraph (c) of this Rule; 

(2) the petition satisfies the showing required by 
Subparagraph (c)(7) of this Rule; 

(3) the proposed alternative monitoring or data 
reporting procedures provide information of 
sufficient quality to determine the amount of 
emissions or the adequacy of the emission 

control device or practice, such that the 
compliance status of the source can be 
determined by reviewing this information; and 

(4) the facility is in compliance with, or under a 
schedule for compliance with, all applicable air 
quality rules. 

(f)  If monitoring or reporting requirements that differ from those 
specified in the appropriate rule in Subchapters 02D or 02Q of this 
Chapter are approved by the Director, the permit shall contain a 
condition stating such monitoring or reporting requirements. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4); 
Eff. April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0613 QUALITY ASSURANCE 

PROGRAM 

(a)  Any owner or operator of a facility required to operate a 
monitoring device by this Subchapters 02D or 02Q of this Chapter 
shall develop and implement a quality assurance program for the 
monitoring device. 
(b)  The Director shall require the owner or operator of a facility 
required to operate a monitoring device by Subchapters 02D or 

02Q of this Chapter to submit a description of the quality 
assurance program if: 

(1) the maximum actual emission rate is more than 
75 percent of the applicable emission standard; 

(2) the facility has violated an emission standard or 
a permit condition; or 

(3) the facility has failed to obtain quality assured 

data. 
A description of the quality assurance program shall be submitted 
to the Director within 60 days upon receipt of request. 

(c)  Except for gaseous continuous emission monitoring systems, 

the quality assurance program required by Paragraph (a) or (b) of 
this Rule shall include, if applicable: 

(1) procedures and frequencies for calibration; 
(2) standards traceability; 
(3) operational checks; 
(4) maintenance; 

(5) auditing; 
(6) data validation; and 
(7) a schedule for implementing the quality 

assurance program. 
Continuous opacity monitoring systems may satisfy the 
requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule by complying with 40 

CFR Part 51, Appendix M, Method 203, as proposed in 57 FR 
46114, or 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix F, Procedure 3. Except for 
opacity monitors and gaseous continuous emission monitoring 
systems, a manufacturer's recommended quality assurance 
procedure may be used as a quality assurance program if it 
includes the applicable requirements in Subparagraphs (c)(1) 

through (c)(7) of this Paragraph. 
(d)  Owners or operators that operate continuous emission 
monitoring systems for a gaseous pollutant may satisfy the 
requirements of Paragraphs (a) or (b) of this Rule by developing 
and implementing a written quality assurance program containing 
information required by 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix F, Section 3, 

Quality Assurance Procedures. 
(e)  The owner or operator of a facility shall certify all opacity and 
gaseous continuous emission monitoring systems following 
applicable performance specifications in 40 CFR Part 60, 
Appendix B, within 60 days of monitor installation unless 
otherwise specified in permit or any other applicable rules. The 

owner or operator of a facility required to install an opacity or 
gaseous continuous emission monitoring systems shall notify the 
Director at least 60 days before installation unless otherwise 
specified in permit or in 40 CFR Part 60, 61, 63, or 75. The 
notification shall include plans or schematic diagrams of the 
proposed monitor location. 

(f)  Quality assurance programs for ambient monitors shall 
comply with the requirements in 40 CFR Part 58. 
(g)  A description of the quality assurance program shall be 
available on-site for inspection within 30 days of monitor 
certification. 
(h)  The Director shall approve the quality assurance program 

within 30 days of submittal if he or she finds that the quality 
assurance program will assure that the precision and accuracy of 
the data for the pollutants being measured are within the design 
limits of the instruments being used. If the Director finds that the 
proposed quality assurance program does not meet the 
requirements of this Paragraph, he or she shall notify the owner 

or operator of the facility of any deficiencies in the proposed 
quality assurance program. The owner or operator shall have 30 
days after receiving written notification from the Director to 
correct the deficiencies. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4); 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 02D .0614 COMPLIANCE ASSURANCE 

MONITORING 

(a)  General Applicability. Except as set forth in Paragraph (b) of 
this Rule, the requirements of this Paragraph shall apply to a 
pollutant-specific emissions unit at a facility required to obtain a 
permit pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500 if the unit: 

(1) is subject to an emission limitation or standard 

for the applicable regulated air pollutant, or a 
surrogate thereof, other than an emission 
limitation or standard that is exempt pursuant to 
Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule; 

(2) uses a control device to achieve compliance 
with any such emission limitation or standard; 

and 
(3) has potential pre-control device emissions of 

the applicable regulated air pollutant that are 
equal to or greater than 100 percent of the 
amount, in tons per year, required for a source 
to be classified as a major source. For purposes 

of this Subparagraph, "potential pre-control 
device emissions" means the same as "potential 
to emit" as defined in 15A NCAC 02Q .0103, 
except that emission reductions achieved by the 
applicable control device shall not be taken into 
account. 

(b)  The following exemptions to this Rule shall apply. 
(1) Exempt emission limitations or standards. The 

requirements of this Rule shall not apply to any 
of the following emission limitations or 
standards: 
(A) emission limitations or standards 

proposed by the Administrator of the 
Environmental Protection Agency 
after November 15, 1990, pursuant to 
section 111 or 112 of the federal Clean 
Air Act; 

(B) stratospheric ozone protection 

requirements pursuant to Title VI of 
the federal Clean Air Act; 

(C) Acid Rain Program requirements 
pursuant to sections 404, 405, 406, 
407(a), 407(b), or 410 of the federal 
Clean Air Act; 

(D) emission limitations or standards or 
other applicable requirements that 
apply solely under an emissions 
trading program approved under the 
rules of Subchapters 02D and 02Q of 
this Chapter and that are incorporated 

in a permit issued pursuant to 15A 
NCAC 02Q .0500; 

(E) an emissions cap that is approved 
pursuant to the rules of Subchapters 
02D and 02Q of this Chapter and 
incorporated in a permit issued 
pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500; or 

(F) emission limitations or standards for 
which a permit issued pursuant to 15A 
NCAC 02Q .0500 specifies a 

continuous compliance determination 

method, as defined in 40 CFR 64.1. 
This exemption shall not apply if the 
applicable compliance method 
includes an assumed control device 
emission reduction factor that could be 
affected by the actual operation and 

maintenance of the control device, 
such as a surface coating line 
controlled by an incinerator for which 
continuous compliance is determined 
by calculating emissions on the basis 
of coating records and an assumed 

control device efficiency factor based 
on an initial performance test. In this 
example, 15A NCAC 02D .0614 
would apply to the control device and 
capture system, but not to the 
remaining elements of the coating line, 

such as raw material usage. 
(2) Exemption for backup utility power emissions 

units. The requirements of this Rule shall not 
apply to a utility unit, as defined in 40 CFR 
72.2, that is municipally-owned if the owner or 
operator provides documentation in a permit 

application submitted pursuant to 15A NCAC 
02Q .0500 that: 
(A) the utility unit is exempt from all 

monitoring requirements in 40 CFR 
Part 75, including the appendices 
thereto; 

(B) the utility unit is operated for the sole 
purpose of providing electricity during 
periods of peak electrical demand or 
emergency situations and will be 
operated consistent with that purpose 
throughout the permit term. The owner 

or operator shall provide historical 
operating data and relevant contractual 
obligations to document that this 
criterion is satisfied; and 

(C) the actual emissions from the utility 
unit, based on the average annual 

emissions over the last three calendar 
years of operation, or such shorter 
time period that is available for units 
with fewer than three years of 
operation, are less than 50 tons per 
year and are expected to remain so. 

(c)  For the purposes of this Rule, the definitions in 40 CFR 64.1 
shall apply with the following exceptions: 

(1) "Applicable requirement" and "regulated air 
pollutant" shall have the same definition as in 
15A NCAC 02Q .0103. 

(2) "Part 70 or 71 permit application" means an 
application, or any supplement to a previously 

submitted application, submitted by the owner 
or operator to obtain a permit under 15A NCAC 
02Q .0500. 
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(3) "Part 70 or 71 permit" means a permit issued 

under 15A NCAC 02Q .0500. 
(4) "Permitting authority" means the Division of 

Air Quality. 
(d)  The owner or operator subject to the requirements of this rule 
shall comply with these requirements: 

(1) 40 CFR 64.3, Monitoring Design Criteria; 

(2) 40 CFR 64.4, Submittal Requirements; 
(3) 40 CFR 64.5, Deadlines for Submittals; 
(4) 40 CFR 64.7, Operation of Approved 

Monitoring; and 
(5) 40 CFR 64.9, Reporting and Recordkeeping 

Requirements. 

(e)  The Division shall follow the procedures and requirements in 
40 CFR Part 64.6, Approval of Monitoring, in reviewing and 
approving or disapproving monitoring plans and programs 
submitted under this Rule. 
(f)  Based on the result of a determination made pursuant to 40 
CFR 64.7(d)(2), the Director may require the owner or operator 

to develop and implement a quality improvement plan. If a quality 
improvement plan is required, the quality improvement plan shall 
be developed and implemented according to the procedures and 
requirements of 40 CFR 64.8, Quality Improvement Plan (QIP) 
Requirements. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(3); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4); 
Eff. April 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 02D .2101 APPLICABILITY 

(a)  This Section shall apply to an owner or operator of a stationary 
source with more than a threshold quantity of a regulated 
substance in a process as determined by 40 CFR 68.115, except 
as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. An owner or operator of 
a stationary source shall comply with this Section no later than the 

latest of the following dates: 
(1) June 21, 1999; 
(2) three years after the date on which a regulated 

substance is first listed according to 40 CFR 
68.130; or 

(3) the date on which a regulated substance is first 

present above a threshold quantity in a process. 
(b)  The following substances shall be exempt from the provisions 
of this Section: 

(1) ammonia used as an agricultural nutrient, when 
held by farmers, pursuant to 40 CFR 68.125; 
and 

(2) a flammable substance listed in Tables 3 and 4 
of 40 CFR 68.130 that is used as a fuel or held 
for sale as a fuel at a retail facility pursuant to 
40 CFR 68.126. 

(c)  A covered process that meets the requirements of 40 CFR 
68.10(b) is eligible for Program 1 requirements. 
(d)  A covered process that meets the requirements of 40 CFR 

68.10(c) is subject to Program 2 requirements. 
(e)  A covered process that meets the requirements of 40 CFR 
68.10(d) is subject to Program 3 requirements. 

(f)  If at any time a covered process no longer meets the eligibility 

criteria of its Program level, the owner or operator of the 
stationary source shall comply with the requirements of the new 
Program level as set forth in Paragraphs (c), (d), and (e) of this 
Rule as it applies to the process and shall update the risk 
management plan as required by 40 CFR 68.190. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-
215.107(a)(10); 
Eff. July 1, 2000; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2102 DEFINITIONS 

For the purpose of this Section the definitions set forth in 40 CFR 
68.3 shall apply with the following exception: "Implementing 
agency" means the Division of Air Quality. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-
215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. July 1, 2000; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2103 REQUIREMENTS 

Except as provided in 40 CFR 68.2 and 15A NCAC 02D .2101(b), 
the owner or operator of a stationary source governed by this 

Section shall comply with all the applicable requirements in: 
(1) 40 CFR 68.12, General Requirements; 
(2) 40 CFR 68.15, Management; 
(3) 40 CFR Part 68, Subpart B, Hazard 

Assessment, including 40 CFR Part 68, 
Appendix A, Table of Toxic Endpoints; 

(4) 40 CFR Part 68, Subpart C, Program 2 
Prevention Program; 

(5) 40 CFR Part 68, Subpart D, Program 3 
Prevention Program; 

(6) 40 CFR Part 68, Subpart E, Emergency 
Response; 

(7) 40 CFR Part 68, Subpart G, Risk Management 
Plan; 

(8) 40 CFR 68.200, Recordkeeping; and 
(9) 40 CFR 68.220(f). 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(10); 
Eff. July 1, 2000; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2104 IMPLEMENTATION 

(a)  The owner or operator of a stationary source governed by this 

Section shall: 
(1) submit a risk management plan, or a revised 

plan as required by 40 CFR 68.150, to the 
Environmental Protection Agency; and 

(2) submit a source certification or, in its absence, 
submit a compliance schedule to meet the 
requirements of 15A NCAC 02Q .0508(h)(2). 

(b)  The Division shall use one or more mechanisms such as 
completeness checks, source audits, record reviews, or facility 
inspections to ensure that facilities covered under this Rule are in 
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compliance with the requirements of this Section. The Division 

shall conduct periodic audits in accordance with the audit 
procedures in 40 CFR 68.220.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-
215.107(a)(10); 
Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2301 PURPOSE 

This Section provides for the creation, banking, transfer, and use 
of emission reduction credits for: 

(1) nitrogen oxides (NOx); 

(2) volatile organic compounds (VOC); 
(3) sulfur dioxide (SO2); 
(4) fine particulate (PM2.5); and 
(5) ammonia (NH3); 

for offsets pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .0531, Sources in 
Nonattainment Area. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-
215.107(a)(12); 
Eff. December 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 02D .2302 DEFINITIONS 

For the purposes of this Section, the following definitions shall 
apply: 

(1) "Air permit" means a construction and 
operation permit issued pursuant to 15A NCAC 
02Q .0300, Construction and Operation 

Permits, or 15A NCAC 02Q .0500, Title V 
Procedures. 

(2) "Banking" means a system for recording 
emission reduction credits so that they may be 
used or transferred in the future. 

(3) "Enforceable" means enforceable by the 

Division. Methods for ensuring that emission 
reduction credits are enforceable include 
conditions in air permits issued by the Division. 

(4) "Federally designated ozone nonattainment 
area in North Carolina" means an area 
designated as nonattainment for ozone and 

described in 40 CFR 81.334. 
(5) "Federally designated fine particulate (PM2.5) 

nonattainment area in North Carolina" means 
an area designated as nonattainment for fine 
particulate (PM2.5) and described in 40 CFR 
81.334. 

(6) "Netting Demonstration" means the act of 
calculating a "net emissions increase" pursuant 
to the preconstruction review requirements of 
Title I, Part D of the federal Clean Air Act and 
15A NCAC 02D .0530, Prevention of 
Significant Deterioration, or 15A NCAC 02D 
.0531, Sources in Nonattainment Area. 

(7) "Permanent" means assured for the life of the 
corresponding emission reduction credit 

through an enforceable mechanism such as a 

permit condition or revocation. 
(8) "Quantifiable" means that the amount, rate, and 

characteristics of the emission reduction credit 
can be estimated through a reliable, 
reproducible method. 

(9) "Real" means a reduction in actual emissions 

emitted into the air. 
(10) "Surplus" means not required by any local, 

State, or federal law, rule, order, or requirement 
and in excess of reductions used by the Division 
in issuing any air permit, in excess of any 
conditions in an air permit to avoid an otherwise 

applicable requirement, or to demonstrate 
attainment of ambient air quality standards in 
15A NCAC 02D .0400 or reasonable further 
progress towards achieving attainment of 
ambient air quality standards. For determining 
the amount of surplus emission reductions, a 

seasonal emission limitation or standard shall 
be assumed to apply throughout the year. The 
following shall not be considered surplus: 
(a) emission reductions that have 

previously been used to avoid 15A 
NCAC 02D .0530 or .0531 (new 

source review) through a netting 
demonstration; 

(b) emission reductions in hazardous air 
pollutants listed pursuant to Section 
112(b) of the federal Clean Air Act to 
the extent needed to comply with 15A 

NCAC 02D .1109, .1111, or .1112. 
However, emission reductions in 
hazardous air pollutants that are also 
volatile organic compounds beyond 
that necessary to comply with 15A 
NCAC 02D .1109, .1111, or .1112 

shall be surplus; or 
(c) emission reductions used to offset 

excess emissions from another source 
as part of an alternative mix of 
controls ("bubble") demonstration 
pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .0501. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-
215.107(a)(12); 
Eff. December 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 02D .2303 APPLICABILITY AND 

ELIGIBILITY 

(a)  Applicability. Any facility that has the potential to emit 
nitrogen oxides, volatile organic compounds, sulfur dioxide, 
ammonia, or fine particulate (PM2.5) in amounts greater than 25 
tons per year and that is in a federally designated ozone or fine 
particulate (PM2.5) nonattainment area in North Carolina is 

eligible to create and bank nitrogen oxides, volatile organic 
compounds, sulfur dioxide, ammonia, or fine particulate (PM2.5) 
emission reduction credits. 
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(b)  Eligibility of emission reductions. 

(1) To be approved by the Director as an emission 
reduction credit, a reduction in emissions shall 
be real, permanent, quantifiable, enforceable, 
and surplus and shall have occurred: 
(A) for ozone after December 31, 2002 for 

areas previously designated 

nonattainment according to the 1997 
8-hour ozone standard, including the 
Charlotte-Gastonia-Rock Hill, NC-SC 
nonattainment area, the Raleigh-
Durham-Chapel Hill nonattainment 
area, the Rocky Mount nonattainment 

area, and the Haywood and Swain 
Counties (Great Smoky Mountains 
National Park) nonattainment area, 
and after December 31, 2000 for all 
other nonattainment areas. 

(B) for fine particulate (PM2.5) after 

December 31, 2002 for the areas 
previously designated nonattainment 
according to the 1997 PM2.5 standard, 
including the former Greensboro-
Winston-Salem-High Point, NC and 
Hickory-Morganton-Lenoir, NC 

nonattainment areas. 
(2) To be eligible for consideration as emission 

reduction credits, emission reductions may be 
created by any of the following methods: 
(A) installation of control equipment 

beyond what is necessary to comply 

with existing rules; 
(B) a change in process inputs, 

formulations, products or product mix, 
fuels, or raw materials; 

(C) a reduction in the actual emission rate; 
(D) a reduction in operating hours; 

(E) production curtailment or reduction in 
throughput; 

(F) shutdown of emitting sources or 
facilities; or 

(G) any other enforceable method 
resulting in real, permanent, 

quantifiable, enforceable, and surplus 
reduction of emissions. 

(c)  Ineligible for emission reduction credit. Emission reductions 
from the following shall not be eligible to be banked as emission 
reduction credits: 

(1) sources covered by a special order or variance 

until compliance with the emission standards 
that are the subject of the special order or 
variance is achieved; 

(2) sources that have operated less than 24 months; 
(3) emission allocations and allowances used in a 

federal emissions budget trading program; 
(4) emission reductions outside North Carolina; or 

(5) mobile sources. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(12); 
Eff. December 1, 2005; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2304 QUALIFICATION OF EMISSION 

REDUCTION CREDITS 

For purposes of calculating the amount of emission reduction that 
can be quantified as an emission reduction credit, the following 
procedures shall be followed: 

(1) The source's average actual annual emissions 
before the emission reduction shall be 

calculated in tons per year. In calculating 
average actual annual emissions before the 
emission reduction, data from the 24-month 
period immediately preceding the reduction in 
emissions shall be used. The Director may 
allow the use of a different time period, not to 

exceed seven years immediately preceding the 
reduction in emissions, if the owner or operator 
of the source documents that such period is 
more representative of normal source 
operation. 

(2) The emission reduction credit generated by the 

emission reduction shall be calculated by 
subtracting the allowable annual emissions rate 
following the reduction from the average actual 
annual emissions prior to the reduction. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(12); 
Eff. December 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2305 CREATING AND BANKING 

EMISSION REDUCTION CREDITS 

(a)  The owner or operator of a source seeking to create and bank 
emission reduction credits shall submit, under signature of the 
responsible official as defined in 15A NCAC 02Q .0303, the 
following information, which shall be on an application form 
provided by the Division: 

(1) the company name, contact person and 

telephone number, and street address of the 
source seeking the emission reduction credit; 

(2) a description of the type of source where the 
proposed emission reduction occurred or will 
occur; 

(3) a detailed description of the method or methods 

to be employed to create the emission 
reduction; 

(4) the date that the emission reduction occurred or 
will occur; 

(5) quantification of the emission reduction credit 
as described in 15A NCAC 02D .2304; 

(6) a demonstration that the proposed method for 

ensuring the reductions are permanent and 
enforceable, including any necessary 
application to amend the facility's air permit or, 
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for a shutdown of an entire facility, a request for 

permit rescission; 
(7) whether any portion of the reduction in 

emissions to be used to create the emission 
reduction credit has previously been used to 
avoid the requirements of 15A NCAC 02D 
.0530 Prevention of Significant Deterioration 

or .0531 Nonattainment Major New Source 
Review through a netting demonstration; 

(8) other information necessary to demonstrate that 
the reduction in emissions is real, permanent, 
quantifiable, enforceable, and surplus; and 

(9) a complete permit application if the permit 

needs to be modified to create or enforce the 
emission reduction credit. 

(b)  The Director shall issue the source a certificate of emission 
reduction credit after the facility's permit is modified, if necessary, 
to reflect the permanent reduction of emissions, if: 

(1) all the information required to be submitted by 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule has been submitted; 
(2) the source is eligible pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02D .2303; and 
(3) the reduction in emissions is real, permanent, 

quantifiable, enforceable, and surplus. 
The Director shall register the emission reduction credit for use 

only after the reduction has occurred. 
(c)  Processing schedule. 

(1) The Division shall send written 
acknowledgement of receipt of the request to 
create and bank emission credits within 10 days 
of receipt of the request. 

(2) The Division shall review requests to create and 
bank emission credits within 30 days of receipt 
to determine whether the application is 
complete. If the application is incomplete the 
Division shall notify the applicant of the 
deficiency. The applicant shall have 90 days to 

submit the requested information. If the 
applicant fails to provide the requested 
information within 90 days, the Division shall 
deny the application. 

(3) The Director shall either approve or disapprove 
the request within 90 days after receipt of a 

complete application requesting the banking of 
emission reduction credits. Upon approval the 
Director shall issue a certificate of emission 
reduction credit. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(12); 
Eff. December 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2306 DURATION OF EMISSION 

REDUCTION CREDITS 

Banked emission reduction credits shall be permanent until 

withdrawn by the owner or operator, or by the Director pursuant 
to 15A NCAC 02D .2310. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(12); 
Eff. December 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2307 USE OF EMISSION REDUCTION 

CREDITS 

(a)  The owner or operator holding emission reduction credits may 
withdraw the emission reduction credits and may use them in any 
manner consistent with this Section. 
(b)  An emission reduction credit may be withdrawn only by the 
owner of record or the Director pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .2310 
and may be withdrawn in whole or in part. In the case of a partial 

withdrawal, the Director shall issue a revised certificate of 
emission reduction credit to the owner of record reflecting the new 
amount of the credit and shall revoke the original certificate. 
(c)  Emission reduction credits may be used for the following 
purposes: 

(1) as offsets or netting demonstrations required by 

15A NCAC 02D .0531 for a major new source 
or a major modification to an existing major 
source of: 
(A) nitrogen oxides or volatile organic 

compounds in a federally designated 
ozone nonattainment area, or 

(B) fine particulate (PM2.5) in a federally 
designated PM2.5 nonattainment area; 
or 

(2) to remove a permit condition that created an 
emission reduction credit. 

(d)  Emission reduction credits generated through reducing 

emissions of one pollutant shall not be used for trading with or 
offsetting another pollutant. For example, emission reduction 
credits for volatile organic compounds in an ozone nonattainment 
area shall not be used to offset nitrogen oxide emissions. 
(e)  Limitations on use of emission reduction credits. 

(1) Emission reduction credits shall not be used to 

exempt a source from: 
(A) nonattainment major new source 

review (15A NCAC 02D .0531), 
unless the emission reduction credits 
have been banked by the facility at 
which the new or modified source is 

located and have been banked during 
the period specified in 15A NCAC 
02D .0531. This Subparagraph shall 
not preclude the use of emission 
reductions not banked as emission 
credits to complete netting 

demonstrations; 
(B) new source performance standards 

(15A NCAC 02D .0524), national 
emission standards for hazardous air 
pollutants (15A NCAC 02D .1110), or 
maximum achievable control 
technology (15A NCAC 02D .1109, 

.1111, or .1112); or 
(C) any other requirement of 15A NCAC 

02D unless the emission reduction 
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credits have been banked by the 

facility at which the new or modified 
source is located. 

(2) Emission reduction credits shall not be used to 
allow a source to emit above the limit 
established by a rule in 15A NCAC 02D. If the 
owner or operator seeks to permit a source to 

emit above the limit established by a rule in 
15A NCAC 02D, he or she shall follow the 
procedures in 15A NCAC 02D .0501 for an 
alternative mix of controls ("bubble"). 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(12); 
Eff. December 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2308 CERTIFICATES AND 

REGISTRY 

(a)  Certificates of emission reduction credit issued by the Director 
shall contain the following information: 

(1) the pollutant reduced (nitrogen oxides, volatile 
organic compounds, sulfur dioxide, ammonia, 
fine particulate); 

(2) the amount of the credit in tons per year; 

(3) the date the reduction occurred; 
(4) company name, the street address, and county 

of the source where the reduction occurred; and 
(5) the date of issuance of the certificate. 

(b)  The Division shall maintain an emission reduction credit 
registry that constitutes the official record of all certificates of 

emission reduction credit issued and all withdrawals made. The 
registry shall be available for public review. For each certificate 
issued, the registry shall show the amount of the emission 
reduction credit, the pollutant reduced, the name and location of 
the facility generating the emission reduction credit, and the 
facility contact person. The Division shall maintain records of all 

deposits, deposit applications, withdrawals, and transactions. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-
215.107(a)(12); 
Eff. December 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02D .2309 TRANSFERRING EMISSION 

REDUCTION CREDITS 

(a)  If the owner of a certificate of emission reduction credit 
transfers the certificate to a new owner, the Director shall issue a 
certificate of emission reduction credit to the new owner and shall 

revoke the certificate held by the current owner of record. 
(b)  If the owner of a certificate of emission reduction credit 
transfers part of the emission reduction credits represented by the 
certificate to a new owner, the Director shall issue a certificate of 
emission reduction credit to the new owner reflecting the 
transferred amount and shall issue a certificate of emission 
reduction credit to the current owner of record reflecting the 

amount of emission reduction credit remaining after the transfer. 
The Director shall revoke the original certificate of emission 
reduction credit. 

(c)  For any transferred emission reduction credits, the creator of 

the emission reduction credit shall comply with the conditions in 
the appropriate permit that assure permanency of the emission 
reduction. The user of any transferred emission reduction credits 
shall not be held liable for any failure of the creator to comply 
with its permit. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-
215.107(a)(12); 
Eff. December 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2310 REVOCATION AND CHANGES 

OF EMISSION REDUCTION CREDITS 

(a)  The Director may withdraw emission reduction credits if the 
emission reduction credits: 

(1) have already been used; 
(2) are incorrectly calculated; or 
(3) achieved emission reductions that are less than 

those claimed in the certificate of emission 
reduction credit. 

(b)  If a banked emission reduction credit was calculated using an 
emission factor and the emission factor changes, the Director shall 
revise the banked emission reduction credit to reflect the change 
in the emission factor. If a banked emission reduction credit had 

been used, then no change shall be made in the used credit. 
(c)  If a rule is adopted or amended in Subchapters 02D or 02Q of 
this Chapter, the Director shall adjust the banked emission 
reduction credits to account for changes in emissions that would 
be allowed by the new emission limitation with which the source 
must currently comply. If a source has permanently ceased 

operations, then the Director shall make no adjustments in its 
banked emissions reduction credits. If a banked emission 
reduction credit has been used, no change shall be made in the 
used credit. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(12); 
Eff. December 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2311 MONITORING 

The owner or operator of a source whose emissions are being 

reduced to create an emission reduction credit shall verify the 
reduction in emissions with a source test, continuous emission 
monitoring, or other methods that measure the actual emissions as 
defined in 15A NCAC 02Q .0202, or may require the use of 
parametric monitoring to show that the source or its control device 
is being operated in the manner that it is designed or is permitted. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66; 
143-215.107(a)(12); 
Eff. December 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2601 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

(a)  The purpose of this Section is to assure consistent application 
of testing methods and methodologies to demonstrate compliance 
with emission standards. 
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(b)  This Section shall apply to all air pollution sources. 

(c)  Emission compliance testing shall comply with the procedures 
of this Section, except as otherwise required by: 

(1) 40 CFR Part 60, New Source Performance 
Standards in 15A NCAC 02D .0524; 

(2) 40 CFR Part 61, National Emission Standards 
for Hazardous Air Pollutants in 15A NCAC 

02D .1110; or 
(3) 40 CFR Part 63, Maximum Achievable Control 

Technology requirements in 15A NCAC 02D 
.1111. 

(d)  Applicable source test audit requirements shall comply with 
the procedures specified in 40 CFR 60.8, 40 CFR 61.13, or 40 

CFR 63.7. 
(e)  Test methods other than those specified in this Section may 
be used pursuant to15A NCAC 02D .2602(h)(3). Requests for the 
use of alternative test methods shall be submitted to the Director 
at least 45 days prior to testing. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. June 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2602 GENERAL PROVISIONS ON 

TEST METHODS AND PROCEDURES 

(a)  The owner or operator of a source shall perform all required 
tests at his or her own expense. 
(b)  The owner or operator of an air pollution source shall arrange 
for air emission testing protocols to be provided to the Director 
prior to air pollution testing. The testing protocol, using the 

requirements in 15A NCAC 02D .2603, shall not be required to 
be pre-approved by the Director prior to air pollution testing. If 
requested by the owner or operator at least 45 days before 
conducting the test, the Director shall review air emission testing 
protocols for pre-approval prior to testing. 
(c)  Any person proposing to conduct an emissions test to 

demonstrate compliance with an applicable standard shall notify 
the Director at least 15 days before beginning the test. 
(d)  The owner and operator of the source shall provide: 

(1) sampling ports, pipes, lines, or appurtenances 
for the collection of samples and data required 
by the test procedure; 

(2) scaffolding and safe access to the sample and 
data collection locations in compliance with 
Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
regulations; and 

(3) light, electricity, and other utilities required for 
sample and data collection. 

(e)  The owner or operator of the source shall arrange for 
controlling and measuring the production rates during the period 
of air testing. The owner or operator of the source shall ensure that 
the equipment or process being tested is operated at a production 
rate that meets the purpose of the test. The individual conducting 
the emission test shall describe the procedures used to obtain 
accurate process data and include in the test report the average 

production rates determined during each testing period. 
(f)  The final air emission test report shall be submitted to the 
Director no later than 30 days following sample collection.  

(1) The final test report shall include a signed 

statement by the responsible official, as defined 
in 15A NCAC 02Q .0303, indicating the 
compliance or noncompliance of the stack test 
results with the applicable emission standards. 

(2) The results of the tests shall be expressed in the 
same units as the emission limits given in the 

corresponding compliance rule, unless 
otherwise specified in the applicable permit or 
pre-approved air emissions testing protocol. 

(3) The final test report shall describe the training 
and air testing experience of the person 
directing the test. 

(4) The owner or operator may request an 
extension of time in which to submit the final 
test report. The Director shall approve an 
extension request if he or she finds the cause of 
the delay was unforeseeable and beyond the 
control of the owner or operator. 

(g)  Within 15 days of submission of a test report signifying 
noncompliance, the owner, operator, or responsible official shall 
submit to the Director a written plan that includes: 

(1) interim actions to minimize emissions pending 
demonstration of compliance; 

(2) corrective actions in place or proposed to return 

the source to compliance; 
(3) a proposed date for the compliance retest; and 
(4) changes necessary to update the site-specific 

test plan prior to a retest. 
(h)  The Director shall make the final determination regarding a 
testing procedure deviation and the validity of the compliance test. 

The Director shall: 
(1) allow deviations from a method specified in a 

rule in this Section if the owner or operator of 
the tested source demonstrates that the 
deviation is appropriate. 

(2) prescribe alternate test procedures on an 

individual basis if the alternative method is 
necessary to secure more reliable test data. 

(3) prescribe or approve methods on an individual 
basis for sources or pollutants for which no test 
method is specified in this Section if the 
methods can be demonstrated to determine 

compliance of permitted emission sources or 
pollutants. 

(i)  The Director shall authorize the Division of Air Quality to 
conduct independent tests of any source subject to a rule in this 
Subchapter if necessary to determine the compliance status of that 
source or to verify test data submitted relating to that source. Test 

results obtained by the Division of Air Quality using the 
appropriate testing procedures described in this Section shall be 
presumed accurate despite differing results from any other test. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 02D .2603 TESTING PROTOCOL 

(a)  Testing protocols shall include: 
(1) the facility and testing company contact 

information, including a mailing address, 
email, and phone number; 

(2) the air permit number and revision including 
permitted source name and ID number; 

(3) an introduction explaining the purpose of the 
proposed test, including identifying the 
regulations and permit requirements for which 
compliance is being demonstrated and the 
allowable emission limits; 

(4) a description of the facility and the source to be 

tested; 
(5) a description of the test procedures, including 

sampling equipment, analytical procedures, 
sampling locations, reporting and data 
reduction requirements, and internal quality 
assurance and quality control activities; 

(6) source test audit requirements applicable to the 
proposed test methods; 

(7) all modifications made to the test methods 
referenced in the protocol; 

(8) the permitted maximum process rate, maximum 
normal operation process rate, and the proposed 

target process rate during testing; 
(9) a description of how production or process data 

will be documented during testing; and 
(10) the proposed test schedule. 

(b)  The tester shall not deviate from the protocol or test plan 
unless the owner or operator documents the deviation in the test 

report. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. July 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02D .2604 NUMBER OF TEST POINTS 

(a)  Method 1 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be used to 
select a suitable site and the appropriate number of test points for 
the following situations: 

(1) particulate testing; 

(2) volatile organic compounds testing; 
(3) velocity and volume flow rate measurements; 
(4) testing for acid mist or other pollutants 

occurring in liquid droplet form; 
(5) sampling for which velocity and volume flow 

rate measurements are necessary for computing 

final test results; or 
(6) isokinetic sampling. 

(b)  Method 1 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be used as 
written with the following clarifications: 

(1) Testing installations with multiple ducts may be 
accomplished by testing the discharge stacks to 
which the ducts exhaust. If the multiple ducts 

are individually tested, then Method 1 shall be 
applied to each duct individually. 

(2) If test ports in a duct are less than two diameters 

downstream or less than one-half diameter 
upstream from any disturbance, such as a fan, 
elbow, change in diameter, or other physical 
feature disturbing the gas flow, the 
acceptability of the test location shall be 
determined by the Director before the test and 

after a review of technical and economic 
factors. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. June 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2605 VELOCITY AND VOLUME 

FLOW RATE 

Method 2 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be applied as 
written and used concurrently with any test method requiring 

velocity and volume flow rate measurements. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. June 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 02D .2606 MOLECULAR WEIGHT 

(a)  Except as allowed by Paragraph (b) of this Rule, Method 3 of 
Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be applied as written and 
used concurrently with any test method if necessary to determine 
the molecular weight of the gas being sampled by determining the 

fraction of carbon dioxide, oxygen, carbon monoxide, and 
nitrogen. 
(b)  The grab sample technique may be substituted using 
instruments such as Bacharach Fyrite™, with the following 
restrictions: 

(1) Instruments such as the Bacharach Fyrite™ 

shall only be used for the measurement of 
carbon dioxide. 

(2) Gas samples shall be taken during the emission 
test run to account for variations in the carbon 
dioxide concentration. At least four samples 
shall be taken during a one-hour test run. 

(3) The total concentration of gases other than 
carbon dioxide, oxygen, and nitrogen shall be 
less than one percent. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. June 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2607 DETERMINATION OF 

MOISTURE CONTENT 

Method 4 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be applied as 
written and used concurrently with any test method requiring 

determination of gas moisture content. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. June 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2608 NUMBER OF RUNS AND 

COMPLIANCE DETERMINATION 

Each test, excluding fuel sample tests, shall consist of three 
consecutive runs of the applicable test method at the same 
operating condition. If other operating conditions or scenarios are 
to be tested, then three consecutive runs shall be performed for 
each of these operating conditions or scenarios. For determining 
compliance with an applicable emission standard, the average of 

the results of all repetitions shall apply. On a case-by-case basis, 
compliance may be determined using the arithmetic average of 
two run results if the Director determines that an unavoidable and 
unforeseeable event happened beyond the owner's, operator's, or 
tester's control and that a third run could be not be completed. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. June 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2609 PARTICULATE TESTING 

METHODS 

(a)  Except as allowed by Paragraph (b) of this Rule, Method 5 of 
Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 and Method 202 of Appendix M 
to 40 CFR Part 51 shall be used to demonstrate compliance with 
particulate emission standards. The owner or operator may 
request an exemption from using Method 202 and the Director 

shall approve the exemption if the Director determines the 
demonstration of compliance with an applicable emission 
standard is unlikely to change with or without the Method 202 
results included. 
(b)  Method 17 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 may be used 
instead of Method 5 if: 

(1) the stack gas temperature does not exceed 320º 
F; 

(2) particulate matter concentrations are known to 
be independent of temperature over the normal 
range of temperatures characteristic of 
emissions from a specified source category; and 

(3) the stack does not contain liquid droplets or is 
not saturated with water vapor. 

(c)  Particulate testing on steam generators that use soot blowing 
as a routine means for cleaning heat transfer surfaces shall be 
conducted so the contribution of the soot blowing is represented 
as follows: 

(1) If the soot blowing periods are expected to 
represent less than 50 percent of the total 
particulate emissions, only one of the test runs 
shall include a soot blowing cycle. 

(2) If the soot blowing periods are expected to 
represent more than 50 percent of the total 
particulate emissions, two of the test runs shall 

each include a soot blowing cycle. No more 
than two of the three test runs shall include soot 
blowing.  

(3) The average emission rate of particulate matter 

for steam generators that use soot blowing shall 
be calculated by the equation: 
EAVG = (S * ES)[(A + B)/(A * R)] + EN[((R – 
S)/R) – (B * S)/(A * R)] 
where: 
EAVG = the average emission rate in pounds per 

million Btu for daily operating time; 
ES = the average emission rate in pounds per 
million Btu during soot blowing runs; 
EN = the average emission rate in pounds per 
million Btu during non-soot blowing runs; 
A = number of hours of soot blowing during 

soot blowing runs; 
B = number of hours without soot blowing 
during soot blowing runs; 
R = average number of hours of operation per 
24 hours; and 
S = average number of hours of soot blowing 

per 24 hours. 
(4) The Director may approve an alternate method 

of prorating the emission rate during soot 
blowing if the owner or operator of the source 
demonstrates that changes in boiler load or 
stack flow occurred during soot blowing that 

are not representative of normal soot blowing 
operations. 

(d)  Unless otherwise specified by an applicable rule or federal 
subpart, the minimum time per test point for particulate testing 
shall be two minutes and the minimum time per test run shall be 
one hour. 

(e)  Unless otherwise specified by an applicable rule or federal 
subpart, the sample gas drawn during each test run shall be at least 
30 dry standard cubic feet. 
(f)  Method 201 in combination with Method 202 of Appendix M 
to 40 CFR Part 51 or Method 201A in combination with Method 
202 of Appendix M to 40 CFR Part 51 shall be used to determine 

compliance with PM2.5 or PM10 emission standards. If the 
exhaust gas contains entrained moisture droplets, Method 5 of 
Appendix A of 40 CFR Part 60 in combination with Method 202 
of Appendix M to 40 CFR Part 51 shall be used to determine 
PM2.5 or PM10 emission compliance. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. June 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2610 OPACITY 

(a)  Method 9 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be used to 
show compliance with opacity standards if opacity is determined 
by visual observation. 
(b)  Method 22 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be used to 
determine compliance with opacity standards if these standards 
are based upon the frequency of fugitive emissions that are visible 
during the observation period specified in the applicable rule or 

by permit condition. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. June 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2611 SULFUR DIOXIDE TESTING 

METHODS 

(a)  If compliance with a sulfur dioxide emission standard is to be 
demonstrated for a combustion source through stack sampling, the 
procedures described in Method 6 or Method 6C to Appendix A 
of 40 CFR Part 60 shall be used as follows: 

(1) If Method 6 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 
is used to determine compliance, compliance 

shall be determined by averaging six 20-minute 
runs without more than 20 minutes elapsing 
between any two consecutive runs. 

(2) If Method 6C of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 
is used to determine compliance, the sampling 
shall be performed continuously during each 

run. 
(b)  Method 8 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be used to 
determine compliance with emission standards for sulfuric acid 
manufacturing plants governed by 15A NCAC 02D .0517 and 
spodumene ore roasting plants governed by 15A NCAC 02D 
.0527. Compliance shall be determined by averaging emissions 

measured from three one-hour test runs, unless otherwise 
specified in the applicable rule or federal subpart. 
(c)  For stationary gas turbines, Method 20 of Appendix A to 40 
CFR Part 60 shall be used to demonstrate compliance with 
applicable sulfur dioxide emissions standards. 
(d)  Fuel burning sources not required to use continuous emissions 

monitoring to demonstrate compliance with sulfur dioxide 
emission standards may determine compliance with sulfur dioxide 
emission standards by stack sampling or by analyzing sulfur 
content of the fuel. 
(e)  For a combustion source demonstrating compliance with the 
sulfur dioxide emission standards by analysis of sulfur in fuel, the 

sampling, preparation, and analysis of fuels shall be according to 
the following American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM) 
methods. The Director shall approve ASTM methods different 
from those described in this Paragraph if they will provide 
equivalent results. The Director shall prescribe alternate ASTM 
methods on an individual basis if that action is necessary to secure 

reliable test data. 
(1) For coal sampling, the following methods shall 

be used: 
(A) Sampling Location. Coal shall be 

collected from a location in the 
handling or processing system that 

provides a sample representative of 
the fuel bunkered or burned during a 
boiler-operating day. For the purpose 
of this method, a "fuel lot size" is 
defined as the weight of coal bunkered 
or consumed during each boiler-
operating day. For reporting and 

calculation purposes, the gross sample 
shall be identified with the calendar 
day on which sampling began. The 

Director shall approve alternate 

definitions of fuel lot sizes if the 
alternative will provide a more 
representative sample. 

(B) Sample Increment Collection. A coal 
sampling procedure shall be used that 
meets the requirements of ASTM 

D2234 Type I, condition A, B, and C, 
and systematic spacing for collection 
of sample increments. All 
requirements and restrictions 
regarding increment distribution and 
sampling device constraints shall be 

observed. 
(C) Gross Samples. ASTM D2234 8.1.1.2 

Table 2 shall be used except as 
provided in 8.1.1.5 to determine the 
number and weight of increments 
from a composite or gross sample. 

(D) Preparation. ASTM D2013 shall be 
used for sample preparation from a 
composite or gross sample. 

(E) Gross Caloric Value (GCV). ASTM 
D5865 shall be used to determine 
GCV on a dry basis from a composite 

or gross sample. 
(F) Moisture Content. ASTM D3173 shall 

be used to determine moisture from a 
composite or gross sample. 

(G) Sulfur Content. ASTM D4239 shall be 
used to determine the percent sulfur on 

a dry basis from a composite or gross 
sample. 

(2) For fuel oil sampling, the following methods 
shall be used: 
(A) Sample Collection. A sample shall be 

collected at the pipeline inlet to the 

fuel-burning unit after sufficient fuel 
has been drained from the line to 
remove all fuel that may have been 
standing in the line. 

(B) Heat of Combustion. ASTM Method 
D240 or D4809 shall be used to 

determine the heat of combustion. The 
BTU content of the fuel shall be 
reported on a dry basis. 

(C) Sulfur Content. ASTM Method D129 
or D1552 shall be used to determine 
the sulfur content. The sulfur content 

of the fuel shall be reported on a dry 
basis. 

(f)  If the test methods described in Subparagraph (e)(1) or (e)(2) 
of this Rule are used to demonstrate that the ambient air quality 
standards for sulfur dioxide set forth in 15A NCAC 02D .0402 are 
not exceeded, the sulfur content shall be determined at least once 
per year from a composite of: 

(1) at least three samples over a three-hour period 
for sources that are most likely to exceed the 
maximum three-hour ambient standard; or 
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(2) at least 24 samples over a 24-hour period for 

sources that are most likely to exceed the 
maximum 24-hour ambient standard. 

This Paragraph shall not apply to sources that are only using fuel 
analysis in place of continuous monitoring to meet the 
requirements of 15A NCAC 02D .0600. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. June 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2612 NITROGEN OXIDE TESTING 

METHODS 

(a)  Combustion sources not required to use continuous emissions 
monitoring to demonstrate compliance with nitrogen oxide 
emission standards shall demonstrate compliance with nitrogen 
oxide emission standards using Method 7 or Method 7E of 
Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60. 

(b)  Method 20 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be used to 
demonstrate compliance with nitrogen oxide emissions standards 
for stationary gas turbines. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. June 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2613 VOLATILE ORGANIC 

COMPOUND TESTING METHODS 

(a)  For surface coating material, such as paint, varnish, stain, and 

lacquer, the volatile matter content, water content, density, 
volume of solids, and weight of solids shall be determined by 
Method 24 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60. 
(b)  For printing inks and related coatings, the volatile matter and 
density shall be determined by Method 24A of Appendix A to 40 
CFR Part 60. 

(c)  For solvent metal cleaning equipment as defined in 15A 
NCAC 02D .0930, the following procedure shall be followed to 
perform a material balance test: 

(1) clean the degreaser sump before testing; 
(2) record the amount of solvent added to the tank 

with a flow meter; 

(3) record the weight and type of workload 
degreased each day; 

(4) at the end of the test run, pump out the used 
solvent and measure the amount with a flow 
meter. In addition, estimate the volume of metal 
chips and other material remaining in the 

emptied sump; 
(5) bottle a sample of the used solvent and analyze 

it to find the percent that is oil and other 
contaminants. The oil and solvent proportions 
may be estimated by weighing samples of used 
solvent before and after boiling off the solvent; 
and 

(6) compute the volume of oils in the used solvent. 
The volume of solvent displaced by this oil plus 

the volume of makeup solvent added during 

operations equals the solvent emissions. 
(d)  For bulk gasoline terminals as defined in 15A NCAC 02D 
.0927, emissions of volatile organic compounds shall be 
determined by the procedures in 40 CFR 60.503. 
(e)  For organic process equipment, leaks of volatile organic 
compounds shall be determined by Method 21 of Appendix A to 

40 CFR Part 60. Organic process equipment shall include valves, 
flanges and other connections, pumps and compressors, pressure 
relief devices, process drains, open-ended valves, pump and 
compressor seal system degassing vents, accumulator vessel 
vents, access door seals, and agitator seals. 
(f)  For determination of solvent in filter waste, such as muck and 

distillation waste, in accordance with 15A NCAC 02D .0912, the 
tester shall derive the quantity of volatile organic compounds per 
quantity of discarded filter muck. The procedure to be used in 
making this determination shall be the test method "Standard 
Method of Test for Dilution of Gasoline-Engine Crankcase Oils," 
ASTM D322 except the filter muck is to be used instead of 

crankcase oil. 
(g)  For sources of volatile organic compounds not covered by the 
methods specified in Paragraphs (b) through (e) of this Rule, one 
of the applicable test methods in Appendix M to 40 CFR Part 51 
or Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be used to determine 
compliance with volatile organic compound emission standards. 

(h)  Compounds excluded from the definition of volatile organic 
compound in 15A NCAC 02D .0901 shall be treated as water. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. June 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2614 DETERMINATION OF VOC 

EMISSION CONTROL SYSTEM EFFICIENCY 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to any test method used to determine the 
capture or control efficiency of any device or system designed, 

installed, and operated for the purpose of reducing volatile organic 
compound emissions. 
(b)  The control efficiency of volatile organic compound emission 
control systems shall be determined using the following 
procedures: 

(1) The volatile organic compound containing 

material shall be sampled and analyzed using 
the procedures set forth in this Section. 

(2) Samples of the gas stream containing volatile 
organic compounds shall be taken 
simultaneously at the inlet and outlet of the 
emissions control device. 

(3) The efficiency of the control device shall be 
expressed as a percent of the total combustible 
carbon content reduction achieved. 

(c)  The volatile organic compound mass emission rate shall be 
the sum of emissions from the control device and the emissions 
not collected by the capture system. 
(d)  Capture efficiency shall be determined using the EPA 

recommended capture efficiency protocols and test methods 
described in the EPA document, EMTIC GD-035, "Guidelines for 
Determining Capture Efficiency." This document is hereby 
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incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments or 

editions. A copy of the referenced materials may be obtained free 
of charge via the Internet from the EPA TTN website at 
http://www3.epa.gov/ttn/emc/guidlnd/gd-036.pdf. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.68; 
143-215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. June 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2616 FLUORIDES 

The procedures for determining compliance with fluoride 
emissions standards shall be completed using: 

(1) Method 13A or 13B of Appendix A to 40 CFR 
Part 60 for determining total fluoride emissions 
from stacks; 

(2) Method 14 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 
for determining total fluoride emissions from 
roof monitors not employing stacks or pollutant 

collection systems; or 
(3) Method 26 or Method 26A of Appendix A to 40 

CFR Part 60 for determining hydrogen halide 
and halogen emissions. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. June 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2617 TOTAL REDUCED SULFUR 

(a)  Method 16 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 or Method 16A 

of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be used to determine 
emission rates and compliance with total reduced sulfur emission 
standards. 
(b)  Method 15 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 may be used as 
an alternative method to determine total reduced sulfur emissions 
from tail gas control units of sulfur recovery plants, hydrogen 

sulfide in fuel gas for fuel gas combustion devices, and if specified 
in other applicable federal subparts. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. June 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2618 MERCURY 

The procedures for determining compliance with mercury 
emission standards shall be performed using one of the following 
methods: 

(1) Method 29 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60; 
(2) Method 30A of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60; 
(3) Method 30B of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60; 
(4) Method 101 of Appendix B to 40 CFR Part 61; 
(5) Method 101A of Appendix B to 40 CFR Part 

61; or 
(6) Method 102 of Appendix B to 40 CFR Part 61. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. June 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2619 ARSENIC, BERYLLIUM, 

CADMIUM, HEXAVALENT CHROMIUM 

(a)  Method 29 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be used to 
show compliance for arsenic, beryllium, cadmium, and 

hexavalent chromium metals emission standards. 
(b)  SW-846 Test Method 3060 shall be used to differentiate 
hexavalent chromium from total chromium. EPA publication SW-
846, "Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, 
Physical/Chemical Methods," is incorporated by reference 
including subsequent amendments or editions. A copy of 

chapters, methods, and supporting documents for SW-846 may be 
obtained free of charge via the Internet from the EPA website at 
http://www.epa.gov/hw-sw846/sw-846-compendium. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. June 1, 2008; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2620 DIOXINS AND FURANS 

Method 23 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 shall be used to 
determine emission rates and compliance with polychlorinated 

dibenzo-p-dioxins and polychlorinated dibenzofurans emission 
standards. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. June 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 02D .2621 DETERMINATION OF 

POLLUTANT EMISSIONS USING THE F FACTOR 

(a)  Emissions for wood or fuel burning sources expressed in units 
of pounds per million Btu shall be determined by the "Oxygen-

Based F Factor Procedure" described in Section 12.2.1 of Method 
19 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60. Other procedures described 
in Method 19 may be used if appropriate.  
(b)  A continuous oxygen (O2) or carbon dioxide (CO2) analyzer 
meeting the requirements of Method 3A of Appendix A to 40 CFR 
Part 60 may be used if the average of all values during the run are 

used to determine the average O2 or CO2 concentrations. 
(c)  If the continuous monitor method in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 
is not used, an integrated bag sample shall be taken for the 
duration of each test run. For simultaneous testing of multiple 
ducts, there shall be a separate bag sample for each sampling train. 
Each bag sample shall be analyzed with an Orsat analyzer by 

Method 3 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60. The specifications 
stated in Method 3 for the construction and operation of the bag 
sampling apparatus shall be followed. 
(d)  The Director shall review the use of alternative methods 
according to 15A NCAC 02D .2601(e) and shall approve them if 
they meet the requirements of Method 3 of Appendix A to 40 CFR 
Part 60. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 
143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 
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Eff. June 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
15A NCAC 10H .0901 GAME BIRD PROPAGATION 

LICENSE 

(a)  The game bird propagation license shall authorize the 
purchase, possession, propagation, sale, transportation, transfer, 
and release of propagated upland game birds, except wild turkey, 
and migratory game birds and their eggs, subject to the following 
limitations and conditions: 

(1) The sale of dead pen-raised quail for food is 

governed by the regulations of the North 
Carolina Department of Agriculture; and 

(2) The purchase, possession, sale, transportation, 
and transfer of migratory game birds and their 
eggs is subject to additional requirements in 50 
CFR 21, which is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments 
and editions. 50 CFR 21 may be found free of 
charge at: www.ecfr.gov. 

(b)  Application for a game bird propagation license shall be made 
on a form available from the Commission at www.ncwildlife.org 
or at the Commission headquarters located at 1751 Varsity Drive, 

Raleigh, NC 27606-2576. Information required from the applicant 
shall include the applicant's: 

(1) name; 
(2) mailing address; 
(3) residence address; 
(4) telephone number; and 

(5) date of birth. 
(c)  The game bird propagation license shall be posted and 
displayed at the propagation facility so that it is visible to visitors 
or patrons at all times. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 106-549.94; 113-134; 113-273; 

50 C.F.R., Part 21; 
Eff. January 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1988; July 1, 1987; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2005; July 18, 2002; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 10H .0903 ACQUISITION OF GAME BIRDS 

OR GAME BIRD EGGS 

(a)  A game bird propagation license holder shall not take game 
birds or game bird eggs from the wild for the purpose of 
propagation or sale.  

(b)  License holders may purchase or acquire live game birds or 
game bird eggs from other licensed game bird propagators.  
(c)  The license holder shall obtain a receipt of the transaction 
showing the date, names, and license numbers of both parties, as 
well as the species and quantity of the game birds or game bird 
eggs acquired. This receipt shall be retained by the license holder 
as provided by Rule .0906 of this Section. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 
Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 10H .0904 DISPOSITION OF GAME BIRDS 

OR GAME BIRD EGGS 

(a)  Diseased Birds. It shall be unlawful for a game bird 
propagation license holder to knowingly sell or otherwise transfer 
possession of any live game bird that shows evidence of a 

communicable disease, except for transfers to a veterinarian or 
pathologist for examination and diagnostic purposes. Disposition 
of any game bird with a communicable disease not likely to infect 
wild game bird populations shall be the responsibility of the 
license holder. 
(b)  Sale of Live Birds or Eggs. Subject to the limitations set forth 

in Rule .0901 of this Section, any game birds that are authorized 
to be propagated under this Section, or the eggs thereof, may be 
sold or transferred alive by a licensed game bird propagator to 
another licensed game bird propagator or licensed controlled 
shooting preserve operator or to any person that holds a valid 
license or permit that authorizes possession. 

(c)  Receipt Required. Upon sale or transfer, a written receipt of 
the transaction shall be prepared in duplicate showing the date, 
the names and license or permit numbers of both parties, and the 
species and quantity of the game birds or game bird eggs 
transferred. A copy of the receipt shall be retained by each of the 
parties as provided by Rule .0906 of this Section. 

(d)  Bird Marking. Any live migratory waterfowl sold or 
transferred to any person for use in training retrievers or 
conducting retriever trials shall be marked by one of the methods 
provided by 50 CFR 21.13, which is hereby incorporated by 
reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. 50 
CFR 21.13 may be found free of charge at: www.ecfr.gov. All 

other domestically raised game birds sold or transferred for the 
same purposes shall be individually marked on one leg with a 
band imprinted with the propagator's license number. 
(e)  Sale of Dead Game Birds as Food. Subject to Rule .0901 of 
this Section and to any applicable laws and regulations relating to 
pure foods, public health, and advertising, game birds produced 

by licensed game bird propagators may be killed at any time in 
any manner, except by shooting during the closed season. Dead 
game birds, except for dead pen-raised quail, and game bird eggs 
may be sold for food purposes as follows: 

(1) Sale Direct to Consumer. Unprocessed dead 
game birds may be sold directly to a consumer 

when accompanied by a receipt showing the 
name of the consumer, the name and license 
number of the propagator, and the quantity and 
species of the game birds sold. A copy of the 
receipt shall be retained by the propagator for 
one year after the transaction. It shall be 

unlawful for the consumer to resell unprocessed 
dead game birds. 

(2) Sale to or Through a Processor. 
(A) Unprocessed dead game birds may be 

sold to a commercial food processor 
that holds a permit to possess them or 
transferred to a commercial food 

processor for processing and 
packaging prior to sale. Sale or 
transfer shall be evidenced by written 
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receipt retained by each party for a 

year after the sale or transfer, that 
includes the following information: 
(i) the processor's name and 

permit number; 
(ii) the propagator's name and 

license number; and 

(iii) the number and species of 
game birds sold or 
transferred.  

(B) Game bird carcasses processed by a 
commercial food processor for 
wholesale or retail sale shall be 

enclosed in a wrapper or container 
marked with the following: 
(i) the number and species of 

game birds contained; 
(ii) the license number of the 

propagator; and 

(iii) the words "domestically 
raised." 

(3) Propagated game bird eggs shall not be sold for 
food. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 50 C.F.R., 

Part 21.13; 
Eff. January 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2010; May 1, 2008; June 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 10H .0905 TRANSPORTATION 

(a)  Live Game Birds or Game Bird Eggs 
(1) Private Carriers. Live propagated game birds or 

game bird eggs may be transported by private 
carrier when accompanied by a copy of the 
receipt specified in Rules .0903 or .0904 of this 
Section. 

(2) Common Carriers. When live propagated game 
birds or game bird eggs are transported by 
common carrier, each separate container shall 
be tagged or labeled with the name, address, 
and license number of the shipping propagator; 
the name, address, and license or permit 

number of the consignee; and the number and 
species of game birds or game bird eggs 
contained therein. 

(b)  Dead Game Birds 
(1) Private Consumers. Unprocessed dead game 

birds may be transported by consumers or 

hunters when accompanied by a receipt from a 
licensed game bird propagator required by Rule 
.0904(e)(1) of this Section or by a copy of the 
receipt from a controlled shooting preserve 
operator as required by 15A NCAC 10H .0105. 

(2) Processed Game Birds. The carcasses of 
processed propagated game birds other than 

quail may be transported in any manner when 
packaged in a wrapper or container marked as 
required by Rule .0904(e)(2) of this Section. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 10H .0906 RECORDS 

(a)  Licensed game bird propagators shall maintain a file of 
receipts by calendar year with the following information: 

(1) The dates and sources of acquisition of game 
birds and game bird eggs; 

(2) The species and quantities of the game birds 
and game bird eggs, as required by Rule .0903 

of this Section; and 
(3) Receipts showing all transfers of propagated 

game birds, except dead quail sold for food 
purposes, and game bird eggs as required by 
Rule .0904 of this Section. 

(b)  Records shall be made available for inspection at the request 

of the Commission. 
(c)  Records shall be retained for at least one year following the 
license year to which they pertain. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 
Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 10H .0907 QUAIL CALL-PEN TRAPS 

Licensed game bird propagators that raise and release pen-raised 

quail on his or her property for dog training shall be authorized to 
use quail call-pen traps to recover released quail, subject to the 
following requirements: 

(1) All traps shall be marked with an attached, 
weather-resistant permanent tag that includes 
the propagator's name and address written 

legibly on it; 
(2) No trap shall be located within 100 yards of any 

boundary of the property; and 
(3) No trapped, unbanded quail shall be retained. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-291.1; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 2009; July 1, 1987; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 10H .1101 FURBEARER PROPAGATION 

LICENSE 

(a)  The furbearer propagation license shall authorize the 
propagation of furbearing animals and red foxes, including all 
color phases, for use as fur. Furbearer propagation license holders 
shall be authorized to do the following: 

(1) Breed the species of animal designated on the 

license; 
(2) Raise live specimens for the production of 

marketable fur; 
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(3) Sell domestically produced fur to a licensed fur 

dealer; and 
(4) Buy and sell live specimens from or to a 

furbearer propagation license holder, a 
captivity license holder, or a licensed non-
resident producer of ranch-raised breeding 
stock. 

(b)  Application for a furbearer propagation license shall be made 
on a form available from the Commission at www.ncwildlife.org 
or at the Commission headquarters located at 1751 Varsity Drive, 
Raleigh, NC 27606-2576. Information required from the applicant 
shall include: 

(1) The applicant's name; 

(2) The applicant's residence or mailing address; 
(3) The physical address of the propagation 

facility; 
(4) The applicant's telephone number; and 
(5) The species of animal to be propagated. 

(c)  The furbearer propagation license shall be posted and 

displayed at the propagation facility so that it is visible to visitors 
or patrons at all times. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 
Eff. April 1, 1986; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 10H .1102 LICENSE AUTHORIZATION 

15A NCAC 10H .1103 POSTING AND DISPLAY OF 

LICENSE 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 
Eff. April 1, 1986; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 10H .1104 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CAGING AND CARE 

(a)  Breeder cages shall be used to hold a pair of animals for breeding and to hold the female and her litter from the time the li tter is born 
until weaning. 
(b)  Pelter cages shall only be used to hold single animals. 
(c)  The minimum dimensions of cages in depth (d), width (w), and height (h) measured in feet shall be as follows depending o n the 

species of animals being held: 
 
 SPECIES  BREEDER CAGE PELTER CAGE 

 (d x w x h)  (d x w x h) 
 
 Beaver   3 x 6 x 2.5  3 x 4 x 2.5 

 Bobcat   3 x 6 x 2.5  3 x 4 x 2.5 
 Fox   5.0 x 3.0 x 3.0  2.5 x 3.0 x 3.0 
 Mink   2.0 x 0.8 x 1.0  2.0 x 0.5 x 1.0 
 Nutria   3 x 3 x 2.0  3 x 2 x 2.0 
 Opossum  3 x 3 x 2.0  3 x 2 x 2.0 
 Otter   3 x 5 x 1.5  3 x 3 x 1.5 

 Raccoon  3 x 4 x 2.0  3 x 2 x 2.0 
 Skunk   3 x 3 x 1.5  3 x 2 x 1.5 
 Weasel   2 x 2 x 1.5  1 x 2 x 1.5 
 
(d)  Each license holder shall comply with the following general 
cage requirements: 

(1) cages shall be constructed of non-toxic, 
corrosion-resistant materials sufficient to retain 
animals without tethers or chains; 

(2) cages shall have a den area large enough for all 
the animals in that cage to turn around and lie 
down; 

(3) cages shall be housed in an area that provides 
protection from direct sunlight, precipitation, 
wind, and other weather conditions; 

(4) cages shall be designed to minimize heat build-
up and provide sufficient light to maintain the 
animal's circadian rhythms; 

(5) caging shall be ventilated; 

(6) cages shall be solidly based at least two feet 
above ground or floor level to facilitate 
cleaning; 

(7) cages shall be arranged in rows to allow visual 
and physical inspection of all areas and all 

species and to allow space for operations and 
cleaning; and 

(8) a perimeter fence shall be maintained around 
the housing area and shall include a dig barrier 
designed to prevent escape and access by 
domestic and wild animals. 

(e)  Each license holder shall comply with the following general 
care requirements: 

(1) water: clean drinking water shall be provided. 
All pools, tanks, water areas, and water 
containers provided for swimming, wading, or 
drinking shall be clean. Enclosures shall 
provide drainage for surface water and runoff; 

(2) sanitation: water disposal and waste disposal 
shall be in accordance with all applicable local, 
State, and federal laws; 
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(3) food: food shall be of a type and quantity that is 

appropriate for the particular species and shall 
be provided in an unspoiled and 
uncontaminated condition; 

(4) waste: fecal and food waste shall be removed 
from inside, under, and around enclosures and 
disposed of in a manner that prevents noxious 

odors or pests; 
(5) ectoparasites: a program for the control of 

ectoparasites and vermin shall be established 
and maintained. Methods to control insects 
shall be employed and only EPA-approved 
insecticides shall be used. Biological pest 

control methods may be used where 
appropriate. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 
Eff. April 1, 1986; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 10H .1105 SANITATION AND CARE 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 

Eff. April 1, 1986; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 10H .1106 HUMANE TREATMENT 

Animals shall be observed daily for signs of poor health or injury. 
Animals that are visibly sick, injured, in pain, or suffering shall 
be provided medical care or euthanized as soon as possible. The 
euthanization of the animal shall be by a method designed to cause 
minimal distress and pain as well as rapid, irreversible loss of 
consciousness and cardiac arrest. The license holder shall confirm 

death by ensuring respiration has ceased. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 
Eff. April 1, 1986; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 10H .1107 RECORDS AND INSPECTIONS 

(a)  Furbearer propagation license holders shall maintain records 
containing the following information: 

(1) the numbers and species of furbearing animals 
or foxes acquired; 

(2) the dates and sources of acquisition; 

(3) the numbers of animals produced by breeding 
and the numbers raised for market; and 

(4) the numbers of animals or pelts sold or 
otherwise disposed of, the dates of disposition, 
and the identities of the recipients, if the 
animals were sold alive. 

(b)  The records required by this Rule shall be maintained by 

calendar year and shall be retained for one year following the end 
of the calendar year to which they pertain. The records required 

pursuant to this Rule shall be available for inspection at the 

request of the Commission. 
(c)  Representatives of the Commission shall be permitted to enter 
the premises of a license holder's furbearer propagation facility 
upon request or during the facility's business hours for inspection, 
enforcement, or scientific purposes. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 
Eff. April 1, 1986; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 10H .1108 INSPECTIONS 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 
Eff. April 1, 1986; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 10H .1301 COMMERCIAL TAKE OF 

CERTAIN TURTLES PROHIBITED 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, "commercial taking" means the 
taking, possession, collection, transportation, purchase, or sale of 

five or more individual turtles or any turtle part, per person in a 
calendar year.  
(b)  It shall be unlawful to engage in the commercial taking of any 
native turtle species in the families Emydidae or Trionychidae. 
(c)  The prohibition on commercial taking in this Rule shall not 
apply to the following: 

(1) A licensed veterinarian when holding for 
purposes of medical treatment; 

(2) A holder of a valid captivity permit for the 
purposes of rehabilitation; 

(3) A publicly-financed zoo, scientific research 
facility or institution of higher education, or any 

State or federal agency; 
(4) Any person who accidentally collects five or 

more turtles incidental to any lawful activity, 
and who immediately returns them to the wild; 
or 

(5) Property owners who legally apply for and 

receive depredation permits from the Wildlife 
Resources Commission, or one of its Wildlife 
Damage Control Agents. 

(d)  No native turtle shall be sold, except: 
(1) as authorized by 10A NCAC 41A .0302; and 
(2) snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) with a 

curved carapace length of 11 inches or greater. 
(e)  Violators shall be subject to a replacement cost per individual 
turtle that shall equal the replacement cost for "species with no 
open season" as set forth in 15A NCAC 10B .0117(c).  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-333(a)(6); 
Eff. May 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 10H .1302 POSSESSION OF REPTILES 

AND AMPHIBIANS 

(a)  Possession permits are required for the possession, 
importation, transportation, purchase, and sale of: 

(1) 25 or more individuals of any combination of 
native amphibian species; or 

(2) five or more individuals of native reptile 

species. 
(b)  Possession permits shall not be required for the possession, 
importation, transportation, purchase, and sale of: 

(1) 24 or fewer individuals of any combination of 
native amphibian species; or 

(2) four or fewer individuals of native reptile 

species. 
(c)  Nothing in this Rule shall be construed to authorize the 
collection of any wildlife resources from the wild or the taking, 
possession, transportation, sale, purchase, or release to the wild of 
any wildlife resources or their parts in violation of State or federal 
laws or regulations. 

(d)  At no time shall permitted animals be released to the wild, 
except under situations of research or rehabilitation with written 
permission from the Wildlife Resources Commission. 
(e)  The sale of native turtles shall be unlawful, except as 
authorized by 10A NCAC 41A .0302 and snapping turtles 
(Chelydra serpentina) with a curved carapace length of 11 inches 

or greater. 
(f)  A possession permit shall not be issued for: 

(1) holding reptiles and amphibians that were 
acquired unlawfully; 

(2) holding reptiles and amphibians for unlawful 
sale or trade; 

(3) selling snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) 
less than 11 inches (curved carapace length);  

(4) collecting five or more individual native turtles 
from the families Emydidae or Trionychidae 
from the wild in a given year, except those 
entities exempted from collection in Rule 

.1301(c) of this Section; 
(5) collecting five or more individuals in aggregate 

from other native reptile families or 25 or more 
individual amphibians from the wild in a given 
year without first having secured a valid 
Collection License; 

(6) individuals in violation of the requirements of a 
collection license, as set forth in 15A NCAC 
10B .0119, endangered species permit, as set 
forth in 15A NCAC 10I .0100, or possession 
permit as set forth in this Section; or  

(7) individuals who do not first obtain possession 

permits prior to acquiring the following wildlife 
resources in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(g)  The permit shall be valid from January 1 through December 
31 of the applicable year. 
(h)  Individuals permitted under this Rule shall submit a report to 
the Wildlife Resources Commission within 15 days following the 
date of permit expiration. The report shall contain the numbers of 

each species held under the permit and the use or disposition 
thereof.  
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-274(c)(1c); 

Eff. May 1, 2007; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 2009; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2019; August 1, 2017. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
15A NCAC 13B .1201 DEFINITIONS 

For the purpose of this Section, the following definitions apply: 
(1) "Blood and body fluids" means liquid blood, 

serum, plasma, other blood products, 

emulsified human tissue, spinal fluids, and 
pleural and peritoneal fluids. Blood and body 
fluids does not include dialysates, feces, or 
urine if not removed during surgeries and 
autopsies.  

(2) "Generator" and "Generating facility" mean any 

business, integrated medical facility, and 
volunteer or non-profit healthcare services 
where medical waste is produced, including any 
medical or dental facility, mortuary, laboratory, 
veterinary hospital, and blood bank; but does 
not include households. 

(3) "Integrated medical facility" means one or more 
health service facilities as defined in G.S. 
131E-176(9b) that are: 
(a) located in a single county or two 

contiguous counties; 
(b) affiliated with a university medical 

school or that are under common 
ownership and control; and 

(c) serve a single service area. 
(4) "Medical waste" means the term defined in G.S. 

130A-290(17a).  
(5) "Microbiological waste" means the term 

defined in Rule .0101(26) of this Subchapter.  
(6) "Non-hazardous pharmaceutical waste" is a 

medical waste and means a medical drug that is 
expired, unused, contaminated, damaged, or no 
longer needed or used for its prescribed purpose 
and that is not a hazardous waste as defined in 

G.S. 130A-290(a)(8). 
(7) "Nuisance" means odorous outside of the 

property boundary or transport vehicle; or 
attracting vermin or disease vectors. 

(8) "Package" means the total contents of a box, 
drum, or vessel containing medical waste, 

including labeling and markings. 
(9) "Pathological waste" means the term defined in 

Rule .0101(31) of this Subchapter.  
(10) "Record" means any data required to be kept on 

file by the operator or responsible party, or 
submitted to the Division in accordance with 
the rules of this Section. A record may be a 

paper copy or electronic format that is legible 
and in English. 
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(11) "Regulated Medical Waste" means the term 

defined in Rule .0101(34) of this Subchapter.  
(12) "Responsible party" means the entity that is in 

possession of and has accepted the regulated 
medical waste. 

(13) "Sharps" means the term defined in G.S. 130A-
309.26(a)(1).  

(14) "Trace chemotherapy waste" means medical 
waste containing no more than three percent by 
weight of a medical drug used for 
chemotherapy, but is not a radioactive waste. 
Trace chemotherapy waste includes gowns, 
gloves, wipes, and other handling, preparation, 

administration, cleaning, and decontamination 
items used in association with chemotherapy. 

(15) "Transfer or storage operations" means the act 
of, and process by which, regulated medical 
waste is removed from a transport vehicle and 
placed in another transport vehicle or in storage 

awaiting transport. 
(16) "Transport vehicle" means a vehicle or other 

conveyance type used to transport regulated 
medical waste to and from transfer or storage 
operations or to and from a treatment facility. 

(17) "Treatment" means the term as defined in G.S. 

130A-309.26(a)(2). 
(18) "Treatment facility" means a regulated medical 

waste treatment facility permitted by the 
Division in accordance with the rules of this 
Section. 

(19) "Solid waste" means the term defined in G.S. 

130A-290(a)(35). 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-309.26; 
Eff. October 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1202 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR MEDICAL WASTE 

(a)  Medical waste is subject to the rules in 15A NCAC 13B, 
"Solid Waste Management." 
(b)  Sharps and other sharp objects such as syringes with attached 

needles, capillary tubes, slides and cover slips, lancets, auto 
injectors, connection needles and sets, exposed ends of dental 
wires, and objects that can penetrate the skin shall be placed in a 
rigid, leak-proof when in an upright position, and puncture-
resistant container, and shall not be compacted prior to off-site 
transportation unless placed in a sealed compactor unit that is 

hauled off for disposal by the transporter.  
(c)  Blood and body fluids in individual containers in volumes of 
20 milliliters or less shall be stored in an area accessible only to 
the responsible party or their designated representative, and shall 
not be compacted prior to off-site transportation. 
(d)  Regulated medical waste shall not be compacted prior to 
treatment. 

(e)  Only the responsible party or their designated representative 
shall have access to regulated medical waste. 

(f)  Medical waste shall not become putrescent. Medical waste 

shall be disposed of or treated within three calendar days of 
becoming putrescent. 
(g)  Medical waste shall not become a nuisance. 
(h)  Medical waste accepted at transfer or storage operations or a 
treatment facility shall not be subject to the requirements of Rule 
.1203(a) and (b)(2) of this Section. 

(i)  Medical waste treatment and disposal methods: 
(1) Blood and body fluids in individual containers 

in volumes greater than 20 milliliters shall be 
disposed of by sanitary sewer if the local 
sewage treatment authority has been notified; or 
treated by incineration or steam sterilization. 

(2) Microbiological waste shall be treated by 
incineration, steam sterilization, ozonation, 
microwave, or chemical treatment. 

(3) Non-hazardous pharmaceutical waste shall be 
treated by incineration or disposed of at a 
municipal solid waste landfill. The 

requirements of this Subparagraph shall not 
prevent non-hazardous pharmaceuticals from 
being returned to the vendor. 

(4) Pathological waste shall be treated by 
incineration or ozonation. 

(5) Trace chemotherapy waste shall be treated by 

incineration or ozonation. 
(6) Noninfectious medical waste and blood and 

body fluids in individual containers in volumes 
of 20 milliliters or less may be disposed of in a 
municipal solid waste landfill, or treated by the 
treatment methods as described in this 

Paragraph. Blood and body fluids in individual 
containers in volumes of 20 milliliters or less 
may also be disposed of in a sanitary sewer. The 
requirements of this Subparagraph shall not 
prevent noninfectious medical waste such as 
textiles, plastic, glass, or metal from being 

recycled. 
(j)  Medical waste treated at the generating facility is not subject 
to the requirements of Paragraphs (o), (p), and (q) of this Rule, 
and Rule .1204(b)(1), (b)(3), and (b)(8) of this Section. 
(k)  Crematoriums are not subject to the requirements of this  
Section. 

(l)  Transport vehicles, transfer or storage operations, and 
treatment facilities shall: 

(1) be kept free of leaked, spilled, and unpackaged 
medical waste; 

(2) not contain porous floor coverings; 
(3) be ventilated; 

(4) not create a nuisance; and 
(5) have a method of leak control or spill cleanup, 

including decontamination. 
(m)  A responsible party shall be present when regulated medical 
waste is being transferred by means of transfer or storage 
operations. 
(n)  Regulated medical waste shall be transported and stored in a 

manner that prevents exposure to the environment and inclement 
weather. 
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(o)  Unrefrigerated regulated medical waste shall be treated within 

21 calendar days of shipment from the generator. 
(p)  Refrigeration at an ambient temperature of a maximum of 45 
degrees Fahrenheit (7.22 degrees Celsius) shall be maintained for 
regulated medical waste not treated within 21 calendar days of 
shipment from the generator. 
(q)  All regulated medical waste shall be treated within 60 

calendar days of shipment from the generator. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-309.26; 
Eff. October 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. January 4, 1993; March 1, 1991; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 

 
15A NCAC 13B .1203 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE GENERATORS, 

TRANSPORTERS, AND TRANSFER AND STORAGE 

OPERATIONS 

(a)  Regulated medical waste packaging requirements: 

(1) All Sections of the Code of Federal Regulations 
(CFR) cited in this Paragraph are hereby 
incorporated by reference, including 
subsequent amendments and editions and can 
be accessed at no cost at https://www.gpo.gov/. 

(2) Regulated medical waste may be packaged in 

accordance with 49 CFR 173.134, 49 CFR 
173.196, 49 CFR 173.197, or 49 CFR 173.199. 

(3) A plastic film bag shall be used as inner 
packaging, unless it is not required per the 
regulated medical waste type when used in 
conjunction with one of the package designs 

pursuant to Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph. 
(4) The plastic film bag used as inner packaging 

shall be sealed to prevent leaks. 
(5) A rigid box, drum, or vessel constructed to 

prevent leakage shall be used as outer 
packaging. 

(6) Outer package labeling shall be legible and 
written in English. 

(7) Outer packaging shall contain the universal 
biohazard symbol as described in 29 CFR 
1910.1030(g). 

(8) Each package shall be handled to prevent leaks, 

damage, and changes to the package, labeling, 
and markings. 

(9) Labels and markings on the outside of each 
package shall contain the following 
information: 
(A) state that the content is an "infectious 

substance" or a "biohazard;" 
(B) the generator name, physical address, 

and phone number; 
(C) the transporter name, physical 

address, and phone number; 
(D) the treatment facility name, physical 

address, and phone number, unless the 

label contains a tracking number that 
corresponds to a record that includes 
the treatment facility name, physical 

address, and phone number, and the 

record is provided to the Division at 
the time of inspection and upon 
request; and 

(E) the date of shipment from the 
generating facility, unless the label 
contains a tracking number that 

corresponds to a record that includes 
the date of shipment, and the record is 
provided to the Division at the time of 
inspection and upon request. 

(b)  Generator requirements: 
(1) The generating facility shall package medical 

waste by treatment method type in accordance 
with Rule .1202(i) of this Section. 

(2) The generating facility shall maintain a record 
of each shipment of regulated medical waste 
transported off-site for a period of three years 
that includes the following information: 

(A) the number of packages; 
(B) the transporter name, physical 

address, and phone number; 
(C) the treatment facility name, physical 

address, and phone number; and 
(D) the date of shipment from the 

generating facility. 
The requirements of this Subparagraph do not 
apply to generating facilities that generate less 
than 50 pounds of regulated medical waste per 
month. 

(c)  Transporter requirements: 

(1) The transporter shall not accept regulated 
medical waste that does not meet the 
requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(2) The universal biohazard symbol shall be 
displayed on the outside of a transport vehicle 
on both sides and rear of the vehicle's cargo 

area, shall be legible, and shall not be 
obstructed from view. 

(3) Transport vehicles shall only transport medical 
waste for treatment, other solid wastes, and 
supplies related to the handling of solid wastes. 
If a medical waste package leaks or spills, all of 

the solid waste, except for hazardous waste, 
within the same storage area of the transport 
vehicle as the leaking or spilled package shall 
be treated at a medical waste treatment facility. 
If the solid waste that leaked or spilled is a 
hazardous waste, all of the solid waste within 

the same storage area of the transport vehicle as 
the leaking or spilled package shall be brought 
to a hazardous waste treatment facility. 

(4) Transport vehicles shall be free of medical 
waste and disinfected with a mycobactericidal 
disinfectant before being reused if any packages 
spilled or leaked while in the vehicle, and prior 

to discontinuing use of the transport vehicles to 
haul medical waste. 
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(5) The vehicle operator shall keep a contingency 

plan as described in Rule .1204(b)(4)(H) of this 
Section in the transport vehicle and shall be 
trained to implement the contingency plan prior 
to transporting medical waste. 

(6) The transporter shall be in compliance with 
Rule .1202(o), (p), and (q) of this Section. 

(d)  Transfer or storage operations requirements: 
(1) The responsible party for transfer or storage 

operations occurring at a treatment facility shall 
include a description of the transfer or storage 
operations in the facility operations plan 
submitted to the Division in accordance with 

Rule .1204(b)(4) of this Section. 
(2) The responsible party for transfer or storage 

operations occurring at a location other than a 
treatment facility shall submit a record to the 
Division within 14 calendar days of 
commencing transfer or storage operations, and 

once every two years thereafter, while the 
responsible party is managing the transfer or 
storage operations. The record shall include the 
following information: 
(A) the name, mailing address, physical 

address, office and mobile phone 

numbers, and email address for the 
responsible party(s) and operator(s); 

(B) county GIS property data for the 
location where transfer or storage 
operations occur; 

(C) procedures for how the medical waste 

will be received, handled, stored, and 
transferred; 

(D) the frequency that transfer or storage 
operations occur; 

(E) the amount of medical waste that is 
expected to be on site at the transfer or 

storage operations; and 
(F) additional information that the 

Division may request pertaining to the 
transfer or storage operations if it is 
necessary to determine compliance 
with the rules of this Subchapter. 

The responsible party shall submit an updated 
record to the Division within 14 calendar days 
if any of the information required to be 
submitted by this Subparagraph changes. 

(3) If the transfer or storage operations cease, the 
responsible party shall submit to the Division a 

record within 14 calendar days. The record shall 
include the following information: 
(A) a signed statement by the responsible 

party(s) that transfer or storage 
operations have ceased and all medical 
waste has been removed; 

(B) digital pictures of the area that was 

utilized for transfer or storage 
operations taken after operations have 

ceased and all medical waste has been 

removed; and 
(C) additional information that the 

Division may request pertaining to the 
transfer or storage operations if it is 
necessary to determine compliance 
with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(4) Within 90 days of the readopted effective date 
of this Rule, existing transfer or storage 
operations shall comply with Subparagraph (2) 
of this Paragraph. 

(5) The transfer or storage operations shall comply 
with Rule .1202(o), (p), and (q) of this Section. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-309.26; 
Eff. October 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 13B .1204 REQUIREMENTS FOR THE 

TREATMENT OF REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE 

(a)  General requirements for treated regulated medical waste: 
(1) Treated regulated medical waste shall be 

covered to prevent exposure to the environment 
and inclement weather. 

(2) Treated regulated medical waste may be placed 
uncovered in or under a weather resistant 
structure while dewatering or while in the 
process of being covered. 

(3) Treated regulated medical waste shall be stored 
no longer than 14 calendar days after treatment 

unless the facility's operations plan states that 
the storage unit is a necessary part of the 
operation of the treatment process and is 
enclosed, sealed, and watertight. 

(4) Treated regulated medical waste storage and 
transport containers, compactors, trailers, and 

cargo bays shall be maintained in accordance 
with the manufacturer's specifications. 

(5) Treated regulated medical waste shall not be 
transported off site uncovered. 

(6) The exterior of treated regulated medical waste 
storage and transport containers, compactors, 

trailers, and cargo bays shall be free of solid 
waste and solid waste residue. 

(7) Treated regulated medical waste shall not 
become putrescent. Putrescent treated regulated 
medical waste shall be disposed of within three 
calendar days. 

(8) Treated regulated medical waste shall not 
become a nuisance. 

(9) Treated regulated medical waste shall be 
noninfectious. 

(b)  General requirements for treatment facilities: 
(1) The treatment facility shall be compliant with 

Rule .1202(o), (p), and (q) of this Section. 

(2) The treatment facility shall issue a written 
record notifying the generating facility if it 
becomes aware of a package of medical waste 
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received that is not in compliance with Rule 

.1202(i) of this Section for the treatment 
method utilized. A copy of the record shall be 
maintained at the treatment facility. 

(3) The treatment facility shall maintain a record of 
each shipment of regulated medical waste 
received for treatment for a period of three 

years to include the following information: 
(A) the number of packages; 
(B) the generator name, physical address, 

and phone number; 
(C) the transporter name, physical 

address, and phone number; 

(D) the date each package was picked up 
from the generator; 

(E) the date each package was received at 
the treatment facility; 

(F) the weight of each package in pounds; 
and 

(G) the date each package was treated. 
(4) The treatment facility shall submit a facility 

operations plan to the Division with the permit 
application required in accordance with the 
rules of this Subchapter that shall include the 
following information: 

(A) the name, mailing address, physical 
address, office and mobile phone 
numbers, and email address for the 
responsible party(s), owner(s), and 
operator(s); 

(B) the physical address and the county 

GIS property data for the facility 
location; 

(C) types and estimated amounts of 
medical waste to be accepted at and 
shipped out from the facility; 

(D) a description of the treatment process 

or processes, and treatment unit 
specifications; 

(E) procedures for how the medical waste 
will be received, handled, stored, 
transferred, or treated at the facility; 

(F) procedures for sampling or testing 

required by the rules of this Section; 
(G) procedures that the facility shall use to 

prevent medical waste from becoming 
a nuisance or putrescent, and 
procedures for abatement if medical 
waste becomes a nuisance or 

putrescent; 
(H) contingency plan identifying risks and 

describing how the facility or 
transporter will respond to incidents or 
emergencies, including a phone 
number for a facility or transporter 
representative that is available to 

respond 24 hours a day and seven days 
a week, and how regulated medical 
waste will be handled or redirected 

when facilities or transport vehicles 

are unavailable due to maintenance, 
adverse weather, or other 
emergencies; and 

(I) additional information that the 
Division may request pertaining to the 
facility operations if it is necessary to 

determine compliance with the rules 
of this Section. 

A copy of the operations plan shall be kept at 
the facility and shall be available for review by 
the Division during facility inspections or upon 
request by the Division. If the information 

required by this Paragraph changes, the facility 
shall submit a revised facility operations plan to 
the Division and update the copies of the plan 
kept by the facility. 

(5) The treatment facility shall maintain a record of 
the disposal facility's contact information 

including the facility name, permit number, 
physical location and mailing address, and 
contact name and phone number. 

(6) The treatment facility shall maintain a record of 
the dates and tonnages of treated regulated 
medical waste sent for disposal. 

(7) The treatment facility shall maintain operating 
records and monitoring, testing, and 
maintenance records required in accordance 
with the rules of this Section for a period of 
three years. 

(8) The facility shall submit an annual report to the 

Division in accordance with G.S. 130A-
309.09D(b). 

(c)  Steam sterilization treatment requirements: 
(1) Steam under pressure shall be provided to 

maintain a temperature of not less than 250 
degrees Fahrenheit for 45 minutes at 15 pounds 

per square inch of gauge pressure during each 
cycle. 

(2) The steam sterilization unit shall have a device 
that records the start and end time of each cycle. 

(3) The steam sterilization unit shall have a device 
that records the pressure and a device that 

records the temperature throughout each cycle. 
(4) Testing of treatment under conditions of full 

loading to confirm compliance with 
Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule shall be 
performed no less than once per week using a 
biological indicator of Geobacillus 

stearothermophilus spores having a population 
of not less than 1.0 x 104 placed within the 
waste load. 

(5) A record of each test performed shall be 
maintained and shall include the type of 
indicator used, the test date, the start and end 
times, and the test result. 

(d)  Incineration treatment requirements: 
(1) The Division shall not issue a solid waste 

management permit in accordance with the 
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rules of this Subchapter to the treatment facility 

unless the Division of Air Quality (DAQ) has 
issued a permit for operation of the incinerator. 

(2) The treatment facility shall maintain the DAQ 
permit for the operation of the incinerator. 

(3) Regulated medical waste shall be subjected to a 
burn temperature in the primary chamber of not 

less than 1200 degrees Fahrenheit. 
(4) The incinerator shall have a monitoring device 

that records the primary chamber temperature. 
A record of the continuous monitoring of the 
primary chamber temperature while in use shall 
be maintained. 

(5) Interlocks or other process control devices shall 
be provided to prevent the introduction of 
regulated medical waste into the primary 
chamber until the secondary chamber achieves 
operating temperature as defined in the permit 
for incinerator operation issued by DAQ. 

(6) Procedures for obtaining uniform 
representative composite ash samples shall be 
submitted to the Division for approval in the 
facility operations plan in accordance with Rule 
.1204(b)(4) of this Section. Ash sampling 
procedures shall be approved if the procedures 

are compliant with the requirements of this 
Subchapter, are protective of human health and 
the environment, and if the samples collected 
using the procedures are representative of the 
incinerator ash shipped from the facility for 
disposal. 

(7) The ash samples shall be collected from the 
dewatered ash collection container or 
containers. 

(8) For the first three months of incinerator 
operation, the ash sampling procedures 
required by Subparagraph (6) of this Paragraph 

shall include the collection of a representative 
ash sample of one kilogram (2.2 pounds): 
(A) once for every eight hours of operation 

for an incinerator that is operated on a 
continuous schedule; 

(B) once for every 24 hours of operation 

for an incinerator that is operated on 
an intermittent schedule; or 

(C) once for every batch for an incinerator 
that is batch-loaded. 

The ash samples shall be composited in a closed 
container weekly and shall be mixed and 

reduced to a uniform ash sample. The weekly 
ash samples shall be composited into a monthly 
ash sample, and the monthly ash sample shall 
be analyzed. 

(9) For the remainder of the first year of incinerator 
operation, a representative ash sample shall be 
collected once per month using the procedures 

described in the facility operations plan. The 
monthly ash samples shall be composited and 

reduced to a uniform quarterly ash sample, and 

the quarterly ash samples shall be analyzed. 
(10) After the first year of incinerator operation, 

representative composite ash samples shall be 
collected using the procedures described in the 
facility operations plan twice per calendar year, 
with no less than four months between sample 

collection, and the samples shall be analyzed. 
(11) Ash samples required to be analyzed in 

accordance with Subparagraphs (8) through 
(10) of this Paragraph shall be analyzed in 
accordance with 40 CFR 261.24 for the eight 
metals listed in Table 1 (arsenic, barium, 

cadmium, chromium, lead, mercury, selenium, 
and silver). 40 CFR 261 is incorporated by 
reference including subsequent amendments 
and editions; and can be accessed at no cost at 
https://www.gpo.gov/. 

(12) A record of the testing and analysis results shall 

be submitted to the Division for the first year of 
incinerator operation, and upon request from 
the Division thereafter. The record shall be 
maintained at the facility and available for 
inspection by the Division. The record shall 
include: 

(A) the composite ash sample date and 
time; 

(B) the ash sample date and time; 
(C) the ash sample identification number; 
(D) the ash sample analysis results; and 
(E) the testing laboratory name and 

contact information and certification 
number. 

(13) The Division may require the treatment facility 
to collect additional composite ash samples or 
analyze the samples for the full contaminant list 
in accordance with 40 CFR 261.24 Table 1 if 

the results of the analysis required in 
Subparagraphs (8) through (11) of this 
Paragraph indicate an exceedance of the 
regulatory level provided in 40 CFR 261.24 
Table 1; or during a permitting action, a facility 
inspection, or when a complaint is received if it 

is necessary to determine compliance with the 
rules of this Subchapter. The requirements of 
this Paragraph shall not prevent a municipal 
solid waste landfill that is accepting incinerator 
ash from a treatment facility from requiring that 
additional ash samples be taken and analyzed to 

determine compliance with the rules of this 
Subchapter before the ash is accepted for 
disposal. 

(e)  Chemical treatment requirements: 
(1) Microbiological waste shall be treated with 10 

percent chlorine solution for no less than one 
hour. 

(2) Testing of treatment under conditions of full 
loading to confirm compliance with 
Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule shall be 
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performed no less than once per week using a 

biological indicator of Bacillus atrophaeus 
spores having a population of not less than 1.0 
x 106. 

(3) A record of each test performed shall be 
maintained and shall include the type of 
indicator used, the test date, the start and end 

times, and the test result. 
(f)  Microwave treatment requirements: 

(1) Microwave energy of appropriate output 
frequency shall be provided at a temperature of 
not less than 203 degrees Fahrenheit (95 
degrees Celsius) for no less than 30 minutes 

each cycle. 
(2) The microwave treatment system shall be 

provided with a monitoring device that records 
time and temperature of each cycle. A record of 
the monitoring of the time and temperature of 
each cycle shall be maintained. 

(3) Testing of treatment under conditions of full 
loading to confirm compliance with 
Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule shall be 
performed no less than once per week using a 
biological indicator of Bacillus atrophaeus 
spores having a population of not less than 1.0 

x 106 and in accordance with the equipment 
manufacturer's instructions. 

(4) A record of each test performed shall be 
maintained and shall include the type of 
indicator used, the test date, the start and end 
times, and the test result. 

(g)  Ozonation treatment requirements: 
(1) Testing of treatment under conditions of full 

loading to confirm compliance with 
Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule shall be 
performed no less than once per week using a 
biological indicator of Bacillus atrophaeus 

spores having a population of not less than 1.0 
x 106 and in accordance with the equipment 
manufacturer's instructions. 

(2) Once every six months samples collected under 
conditions of full loading shall be submitted to 
an independent laboratory to confirm 

compliance with Subparagraph (a)(9) of this 
Rule. 

(3) A record of each test performed shall be 
maintained and shall include the type of 
indicator used, the test date, the start and end 
times, and the test result. 

(h)  Alternative treatment methods. 
(1) A treatment facility owner or operator may 

request to use a method of, or procedures for, 
regulated medical waste treatment not listed or 
described in this Rule by submitting a request 
to the Division for approval. The request shall 
include documentation that describes the 

alternative treatment method, explains the 
procedures and provides analysis results to 
demonstrate that the treatment method will 

render the regulated medical waste 

noninfectious, and describes how the treatment 
method meets the requirements of the rules of 
this Section. 

(2) A request for an alternate method of chemical 
treatment shall also describe the chemical used 
to treat the specific microbiological agent(s) of 

concern for the regulated medical waste type, 
and shall consider factors such as temperature, 
contact time, pH, concentration, and the 
presence and state of dispersion, penetrability, 
and reactivity of organic material at the site of 
application. 

(3) The Division shall approve the alternative 
treatment method by issuing the permit or an 
approval letter if the alternative treatment 
method renders the regulated medical waste 
noninfectious, and the alternative treatment 
method is compliant with the rules of this 

Section and protective of human health and the 
environment. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-309.26; 
Eff. October 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1992; December 1, 1991; March 1, 

1991; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 13B .1205 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

TRANSPORTERS OF REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE 

15A NCAC 13B .1206 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

STORAGE OF REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE 

15A NCAC 13B .1207 OPERATIONAL 

REQ/REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE TREATMENT 

FACILITIES 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-309.26; 

Eff. October 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; January 4, 1993; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 13B .1401 REQUIREMENT FOR PERMIT 

(a)  No person shall construct, operate, expand, or modify a 

facility that produces compost from solid waste or solid waste co-
composted with other wastes unless it has a currently valid permit 
issued by the Division for a solid waste compost facility, except 
as provided in Rule .1402(f) and (g) of this Section. General 
provisions, siting, design, application, operational, distribution, 
reporting, and closure requirements shall be in accordance with 

Rules .1402 through .1410 of this Section. 
(b)  Plans for a Large Type 3 or Type 4 Solid Waste Compost 
Facility, as defined in Rule .1402(e) of this Section, or plans for 
any facility located over a closed-out disposal area, shall be 
submitted with the permit application in accordance with Rule 
.0202(a)(3) of this Subchapter.  
(c)  Compost permits shall be issued for a period of 10 years. An 

application for renewal of a permit shall be submitted to the 
Division in accordance with Rule .1405 of this Section no less 
than four months prior to expiration of the existing permit. 
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(d)  Permit modifications. 

(1) The owner or operator shall submit to the 
Division a permit application in accordance 
with Rule .1405 of this Section for a major 
modification to the existing permit issued by 
the Division, For the purpose of this Section, a 
major modification means any of the following: 

a change in the property or facility operator or 
ownership, a change in facility type as defined 
in Rule .1402 of this Section, an expansion or 
relocation of the operations area in the existing 
permit, or a change to the operations or design 
plan such as changes in the compost method, 

waste receipt and handling, feedstock storage, 
or processing layout. A permit issued by the 
Division as a result of a permit modification 
shall be in compliance with Paragraph (c) of 
this Rule. 

(2) The owner or operator shall not be required to 

submit a permit application to the Division in 
accordance with Rule .1405 of this Section for 
a change to a plan that was submitted in 
accordance with Rule .1405 of this Section if 
the Division determines that the change does 
not meet the definition of a major modification 

provided in Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph, 
the change complies with the requirements of 
this Section, and the owner or operator submits 
to the Division written notice of the change, 
including documentation of the updated 
information such as revised pages or 

addendums to the plan. The Division shall 
acknowledge receipt of the change by sending 
written notice to the owner or operator.  

(e)  For purposes of this Section, "operations area" means the total 
area used for mixing, grinding, processing, composting, curing, 
and wood waste and feedstock unloading and storage. Operations 

area shall not include buffer areas. 
(f)  For purposes of the Section, "material onsite" means wood 
wastes, feedstocks, mixtures, and active and curing compost, but 
shall not include finished product. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-309.03; 

130A-309.11; 130A-309.29; 
Eff. December 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 13B .1402 GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR 

SOLID WASTE COMPOST FACILITIES 

(a)  The provisions of this Rule shall apply to the following 
facilities: 

(1) facilities that produce compost or mulch from 
yard waste or from residues from agricultural 
products and processing; 

(2) vermicomposting facilities; 

(3) anaerobic digestion facilities; and 
(4) compost facilities that compost solid waste or 

co-compost solid waste with sludges that are 

not classified as a solid waste functioning as a 

nutrient source. 
(b)  Facilities that co-compost with sewage sludge shall comply 
with all applicable federal regulations regarding sludge 
management in 40 CFR 503, which is incorporated by reference 
including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of the 
Code of Federal Regulations may be obtained from the U.S. 

Government Publishing Office website at www.gpo.gov at no 
cost. 
(c)  The provisions of this Section shall not apply to compost 
facilities that compost only wastewater treatment sludge with 
solid waste functioning only as a bulking agent. 
(d)  Solid waste compost produced outside the State of North 

Carolina and imported into the state shall comply with the 
requirements specified in Rule .1407 of this Section. 
(e)  Solid waste compost facilities shall be classified based on the 
types and amounts of materials to be composted as follows: 

(1) Type 1 facilities may receive yard and garden 
waste, silvicultural waste, and untreated and 

unpainted wood waste.  
(2) Type 2 facilities may receive pre-consumer 

meat-free food processing waste, vegetative 
agricultural waste, source separated paper, and 
other source separated specialty wastes that are 
low in pathogens and physical contaminants. 

Waste acceptable for a Type 1 facility may be 
composted at a Type 2 facility. 

(3) Type 3 facilities may receive manures and other 
agricultural waste, meat, post-consumer 
source-separated food wastes, and other source-
separated specialty wastes that are low in 

physical contaminants but may have high levels 
of pathogens. Waste acceptable for a Type 1 or 
2 facility may be composted at a Type 3 facility. 

(4) Type 4 facilities may receive industrial solid 
waste, non-solid waste sludges functioning as a 
nutrient source or other similar compostable 

organic wastes, or any combination thereof. 
Waste acceptable for a Type 1, 2, or 3 facility 
may be composted at a Type 4 facility. 

(5) In determining whether a specific waste stream 
listed in Subparagraphs (1) through (4) of this 
Paragraph is acceptable for composting, the 

Division shall consider the method of handling 
the waste prior to delivery to the facility as well 
as the physical characteristics of the waste. 
Testing for pathogens and physical 
contaminants shall be required if a 
determination cannot be made based upon prior 

knowledge of the waste. Test methods and 
constituents tested shall comply with Rule 
.1407(b)(2), (b)(3), (b)(5), and (b)(6) of this 
Section.  

(6) Small facilities. 
(A) Small Type 1 facilities shall have an 

operations area less than two acres in 

size and shall be limited to no more 
than 6,000 cubic yards material onsite 
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at any given time, including finished 

product. 
(B) Small Type 2, 3, and 4 facilities shall 

have an operations area less than two 
acres in size and shall be limited to no 
more than 1,000 cubic yards material 
onsite at any given time. 

(7) Large facilities. 
(A) Large Type 1 facilities shall have an 

operations area of two or more acres in 
size or have more than 6,000 cubic 
yards material onsite at any given 
time. 

(B) Large Type 2, 3, and 4 facilities shall 
have an operations area of two or more 
acres in size or have more than 1,000 
cubic yards material onsite at any 
given time. 

(f)  The following operations shall be exempt from the 

requirements of this Section: 
(1) backyard composting; 
(2) farming operations and silvicultural operations 

if the compost is produced from materials 
grown on the owner's land and re-used on the 
owner's land or associated farming operations 

and not offered to the public; and 
(3) persons receiving no more than 30 cubic yards 

of leaves from an offsite source on an annual 
basis. 

(g)  The following operations shall be exempt from the permitting 
requirements in Rule .1401 of this Section: 

(1) Small Type 1 Facilities meeting the following 
conditions: 
(A) notification to the Division prior to 

operation and on an annual basis as to: 
(i) the facility location; 
(ii) the name(s) and contact 

information of the owner and 
operator; 

(iii) type and amount of wastes 
received; 

(iv) the composting process to be 
used; 

(v) the intended distribution of 
the finished product; and 

(vi) for new facilities only, a 
letter from the unit of 
government having zoning 
jurisdiction over the site that 

states that the proposed use is 
allowed within the existing 
zoning, if any, and that any 
necessary zoning approval or 
permit has been obtained; 

(B) the facility operates in accordance 
with the operational requirements as 

set forth in Rule .1406(1) through (11) 
and (16) of this Section and the 

setbacks in Rule .1404(a)(1) through 

(a)(10) of this Section; 
(C) the facility operates in accordance 

with all other state or local laws, 
ordinances, rules, regulations or 
orders; 

(D) the facility shall not be located over a 

closed-out disposal site; and 
(E) safety measures shall be taken to 

prevent fires and access to fire 
equipment or fire-fighting services 
shall be provided. 

(2) Compost facilities meeting the following 

conditions: 
(A) the site receives for composting pre- 

and post-consumer food waste, 
manure, vegetative agricultural waste, 
yard and garden waste, land-clearing 
debris, untreated and unpainted wood 

waste, or source separated paper; 
(B) material onsite, not including finished 

compost, shall not exceed 100 cubic 
yards at any time; 

(C) the operations area shall be less than 
1.0 acres total; 

(D) the site operates in accordance with 
operational requirements as set forth 
in Rule .1406 of this Section and the 
setbacks in Rule .1404(a)(1) through 
(a)(10) of this Section, except that the 
buffer between property line and 

operations area shall be at least 50 feet 
and the buffer between the operations 
area and residences or dwellings not 
owned and occupied by the operator 
shall be at least 200 feet; 

(E) the site is operated to prevent the 

release of particulates and odors 
outside of the property boundary, and 
the site does not attract vectors such as 
insects and rodents; 

(F) for facilities producing compost that is 
distributed to the public or used in 

public areas, compost produced from 
the facility shall meet the pathogen 
testing and record keeping 
requirements per Rule .1407(b) and 
Rule .1408(a) of this Section; and 

(G) the site operates in accordance with all 

applicable State or local laws, 
ordinances, rules, regulations, or 
orders. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-309.03; 
130A-309.11; 130A-309.29; 
Eff. December 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 13B .1403 GENERAL PROHIBITIONS FOR 

SOLID WASTE COMPOST FACILITIES 

(a)  Neither hazardous waste nor asbestos-containing waste shall 
be accepted at a facility or processed into compost. 
(b)  Household hazardous waste shall not be accepted by a facility, 
except in an area designated by facility site plans for storage, and 
shall not be processed into compost. 

(c)  Compost made from solid waste that cannot be used pursuant 
to the requirements of this Rule shall be reprocessed or disposed 
of pursuant to the requirements of this Subchapter. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-309.03; 
130A-309.11; 130A-309.29; 

Eff. December 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 13B .1404 SITING/DESIGN 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SOLID WASTE COMPOST 

FACILITIES 

(a)  A site shall meet the requirements of this Rule at the time of 
initial permitting and shall continue to meet these requirements 
throughout the life of the permit only on the site property owned 
or controlled by the applicant or by the landowner(s) at the time 
of permitting. 

(1) A site located in a floodplain shall not restrict 
the flow of the 100-year flood, reduce the 
temporary storage capacity of the floodplain, or 
result in washout of solid waste, so as to pose a 
hazard to human life, wildlife, land, or water 
resources. 

(2) A 100-foot buffer shall be maintained between 
all property lines and compost areas for Type 3 
and 4 facilities, 50-foot for Type 1 or 2 
facilities. 

(3) A 500-foot buffer shall be maintained between 
compost areas and residences or dwellings not 

owned and occupied by the permittee, except 
that Type 1 and Small Type 2 and 3 facilities 
shall maintain a 200-foot buffer. 

(4) A 100-foot buffer shall be maintained between 
all wells and compost areas, except monitoring 
wells. 

(5) A 50-foot buffer shall be maintained between 
perennial streams and rivers and compost areas. 

(6) A compost facility shall be located in 
accordance with 15A NCAC 02B .0200, 
Classification and Water Quality Standards 
Applicable to Surface Waters in North 

Carolina. 
(7) All portions of a compost facility located over 

a closed-out disposal area shall be designed 
with a pad adequate to protect the disposal area 
cap from being disturbed, as defined in Part 
(a)(10)(C) of this Rule, and there shall be no 
runoff from the pad onto the cap or side slopes 

of the closed out area. 

(8) A 25-foot minimum distance shall be 

maintained between compost areas and swales 
or berms;  

(9) A site shall meet the following surface water 
requirements: 
(A) a site shall not cause a discharge of 

materials or fill materials into waters 

or wetlands of the State that is in 
violation of Section 404 of the Clean 
Water Act; 

(B) a site shall not cause a discharge of 
pollutants into waters of the State that 
is in violation of the requirements of 

the National Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (NPDES), 
pursuant to Section 402 of the Clean 
Water Act; and 

(C) a site shall not cause non-point source 
pollution of waters of the State that 

violates the water quality standards as 
set forth in 15A NCAC 02B. 

(10) A site shall meet the following groundwater and 
operations area pad requirements: 
(A) a site shall not contravene 

groundwater standards as set forth in 

15A NCAC 02L;  
(B) the operations area of Type 1, 2, and 3 

facilities shall have one of the 
following: 
(i) a soil pad with a soil texture 

finer than loamy sand. For a 

Type 1 or 2 facility, the depth 
to the seasonal high water 
table shall be maintained at 
least 12 inches. For a Type 3 
facility, the depth to the 
seasonal high water table 

shall be maintained at least 
24 inches; or 

(ii) a pad in accordance with Part 
(C) of this Subparagraph; 

(C) the operations area of a Type 4 facility 
shall have a pad with a linear 

coefficient of permeability no greater 
than 1 x 10-7 cm/sec. The pad shall 
consist of one of the following: 
(i) a non-soil pad, such as 

concrete and asphalt, 
designed and constructed to 

meet the weight requirements 
of the compost operation and 
to prevent infiltration of 
liquids to groundwater; or 

(ii) a soil pad of at least 18 inches 
constructed in accordance 
with Rule .1624(b)(8) and 

Rule .1621 of this 
Subchapter. A 12-inch soil 
layer shall be maintained 
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over the pad to protect it from 

damage and desiccation: and 
(D) finished product shall be stored where 

the depth to the seasonal high water 
table is at least 12 inches below 
ground surface.  

(b)  For Subparagraphs (a)(2) through (a)(4) and Part (a)(10)(B) 

of this Rule, alternative minimum buffers or requirements may be 
modified by the Division, based on the waste type, facility design, 
and regional topography, if necessary to protect public health and 
the environment or to prevent the creation of a nuisance. 
(c)  A site shall meet the following design requirements: 

(1) a site shall not allow unauthorized public 

access; 
(2) a site shall meet the requirements of 

Sedimentation Control (15A NCAC 04);  
(3) a site shall meet the requirements of the Air 

Pollution Control Requirements (15A NCAC 
02D) to minimize fugitive emissions and odors; 

and 
(4) a site shall be designed to minimize odors at the 

property boundary by means such as expanded 
buffers, consideration of topography and wind 
patterns, or process layout design. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-309.03; 
130A-309.11; 130A-309.29; 
Eff. December 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 13B .1405 APPLICATION 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SOLID WASTE COMPOST 

FACILITIES 

One paper copy and one electronic copy of a solid waste compost 
facility permit application shall be submitted to the Division. The 
following information shall be required for an application for a 

permit to construct and operate a Large Type 1, Small or Large 
Type 2 or 3 or all Type 4 solid waste compost facilities:  

(1) the name and contact information of the facility 
owner and operator; 

(2) documentation of property ownership, 
including: 

(a) the property owners; 
(b) a current property deed; and 
(c) a notarized acknowledgement letter 

from the landowner of use of the 
property as a solid waste facility if the 
landowner is not the facility owner or 

operator. 
(3) an aerial photograph or scaled drawing, at a 

scale of one inch to less than or equal to 400 
feet, showing the area within one-fourth mile of 
the proposed site's boundaries with the 
following identified: 
(a) the entire property owned or leased by 

the person proposing the facility; 
(b) the location of all homes, wells, 

industrial buildings, public or private 

utilities, roads, watercourses, and the 

topography within 500 feet of the 
proposed facility; and 

(c) the land use zoning of the proposed 
site. 

(4) a letter from the unit of government having 
zoning jurisdiction over the site that states that 

the proposed use is allowed within the existing 
zoning, if any, and that necessary zoning 
approvals or permits have been obtained; 

(5) an explanation of how the site complies with 
siting and design standards required by Rule 
.1404 of this Section; 

(6) a report indicating the following: 
(a) the waste types, the source and 

estimated quantity of the solid waste to 
be composted including the source and 
expected quantity of any bulking agent 
or amendment (if applicable), 

expected recycling of bulking agent or 
compost, and seasonal variations in 
the solid waste type or quantity; and 

(b) for facilities that use natural soils as a 
pad, a soil evaluation of the site 
conducted by a licensed soil scientist 

down to a depth of four feet or to 
bedrock or evidence of a seasonal high 
water table, evaluating all physical soil 
properties and depth of the seasonal 
high water table; 

(7) a site plan at a scale of one inch to less than or 

equal to 100 feet that delineates the following: 
(a) the existing and proposed contours, at 

intervals appropriate to the 
topography; 

(b) the location and elevations of dikes, 
trenches, and other water control 

devices and structures for the 
diversion and controlled removal of 
surface water; 

(c) the designated setbacks and property 
lines; 

(d) the proposed utilities and structures;  

(e) the areas for unloading, processing, 
active composting, curing, and storing 
of material; 

(f) the access roads and details on traffic 
patterns; 

(g) the wetlands, streams, and 100-year 

floodplains; and 
(h) the proposed surface and groundwater 

monitoring locations, if required. 
(8) an operations plan that includes the following: 

(a) the name and contact information for 
the person responsible for the 
operation of the facility; 

(b) a list of personnel and the 
responsibilities of each position; 
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(c) a schedule for operations, including 

days and hours that the facility will be 
open, preparations before opening, 
and procedures to be followed after 
closing for the day; 

(d) special precautions or procedures for 
operating during wind, heavy rain, 

snow, freezing or other adverse 
conditions; 

(e) a description of actions to be taken to 
minimize noise, vectors, and air borne 
particulates;  

(f) a description of the use for the finished 

compost, the method for removal from 
the site, and a contingency plan for 
disposal or alternative use of residues 
or finished compost that cannot be 
used in the expected manner due to 
poor quality or change in market 

conditions; 
(g) contingency plan describing actions to 

be taken for equipment breakdown, 
unauthorized waste arriving at the 
facility, spills, and fires; 

(h) a discussion of compliance with the 

operational requirements listed in 
Rule .1406 of this Section; and 

(i) for Large Type 1, Large Type 2, Large 
Type 3, and all Type 4 facilities, 
include the following: 
(i) a description of procedures 

for incoming material 
inspections; 

(ii) a description of procedures to 
meet the final product 
sampling and analyses 
requirements specified in in 

Rule .1407 of this Section; 
(iii) a description of procedures to 

meet the record keeping 
requirements specified in 
Rule .1408 of this Section; 
and 

(iv) a copy of all applicable local, 
state, and federal permits and 
approvals necessary for the 
operation of the facility. 

(9) a report on the design of the facility, including: 
(a) the design capacity of the facility; 

(b) a process flow diagram of the entire 
facility, including the type, size, and 
location of all equipment used in the 
compost process, and feedstock flow 
streams. The flow streams shall 
indicate the quantity of materials by 
weight and volume;  

(c) a description and sizing of the storage 
facilities for feedstocks, amendments, 
and finished compost; 

(d) the means for measuring, shredding, 

mixing, and proportioning input 
materials; 

(e) the anticipated process duration, 
including receiving, preparation, 
composting, curing, and distribution; 

(f) a description of the location of all 

temperature and any other type of 
monitoring points within the compost 
windrow, and the frequency of 
monitoring; 

(g) a description of how the temperature 
control and monitoring equipment will 

demonstrate that the facility meets the 
requirements in Rule .1406(11), (12), 
or (13) of this Section, as appropriate 
for the feedstock; 

(h) the method of aeration provided and 
the capacity of aeration equipment;  

(i) a description of the method to control 
surface water run-on and run-off and 
the method to control, collect, treat, 
and dispose of leachate generated; 

(j) the separation, processing, storage, 
and ultimate disposal of 

non-compostable materials, if 
applicable; 

(k) a description of dust control and other 
air emission control measures; and 

(l) a description of recycling or other 
material handling processes used at 

the facility. 
(10) Odor Control Plan. Operators of Large Type 2, 

Large Type 3, and all Type 4 facilities shall 
prepare, submit to the Division, and implement 
an odor control plan that details site specific 
conditions to meet the design requirement in 

Rule .1404(c)(4) of this Section. Existing 
facilities permitted prior to the readopted 
effective date of this Rule shall meet these 
requirements at the time of permit renewal. The 
plan shall contain the following: 
(a) an identification of all onsite potential 

odor sources; 
(b) a description of onsite weather 

conditions that may affect odor 
migration, such as prevailing wind 
direction, topography, and seasonal 
variations; 

(c) a plan to monitor onsite odor and 
record odor data for the odor sources 
with the potential to migrate offsite. 
Data shall include date, time, site 
specific conditions, weather 
conditions, wind direction, and 
characteristics and intensity of odor; 

(d) a description of the facility's odor 
complaint protocol, including forms 
used, odor verification by operator 
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both onsite and offsite, what the 

response will be, and who will be 
contacted; 

(e) a description of complaint record 
keeping; and 

(f) a description of odor control design 
and operating best management 

practices to be used onsite, including: 
(i) personnel training; 
(ii) feedstock characteristics; 
(iii) the initial mixing of 

feedstocks to reach targeted 
carbon to nitrogen (C:N) 

ratios and moisture levels; 
(iv) maintenance of compost 

piles for moisture; 
(v) aeration methods, frequency, 

and protocol; 
(vi) leachate and liquids 

management; 
(vii) weather monitoring and 

protocol; 
(viii) management of airborne 

emissions; and 
(ix) windrow covering; 

(11) engineering plans and specifications for the 
facility, including manufacturer's performance 
data for all equipment selected; and 

(12) documentation that the local fire protection 
authority has been notified of the site use. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-309.03; 
130A-309.11; 130A-309.29; 
Eff. December 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

15A NCAC 13B .1406 OPERATIONAL 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SOLID WASTE COMPOST 

FACILITIES 

A person who maintains or operates a solid waste compost facility 
shall maintain and operate the site to conform with the practices 
and operational requirements of this Rule. 

(1) Plan and Permit Requirements. 
(a) Approved plans and conditions of the 

permit shall be followed.  
(b) A copy of the permit, plans, and 

operational reports shall be 
maintained on site at all times. 

(2) Erosion control measures shall be practiced to 
prevent on-site erosion and to control the 
movement of silt or contaminants from the site. 

(3) Stormwater shall be diverted from the 
operations area.  

(4) Leachate shall be contained on site or treated 
prior to discharge. A National Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) 
permit may be required in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02B prior to the discharge of leachate to 

surface waters. 
(5) Access and Security Requirements. 

(a) Large facilities as defined in Rule 
.1402(e)(7) of this Section shall be 
secured to prevent unauthorized entry 
by means such as gates, chains, berms, 

or fences.  
(b) An operator shall be on duty at the site 

at all times while the facility is open 
for public use, and shall prevent 
unauthorized access to the facility 
operations area. 

(c) The access road to the site shall be of 
all-weather construction and 
maintained.  

(6) A site shall only accept those solid wastes that 
it is permitted to receive. 

(7) Safety Requirements. 

(a) Open burning of solid waste shall be 
prohibited. 

(b) Equipment shall be provided to 
control accidental fires and 
arrangements made with the local fire 
protection agency to provide 

fire-fighting services when needed. 
(c) Personnel training shall be provided to 

ensure that all employees are trained in 
site specific safety, remedial, and 
corrective action procedures. 

(8) Reporting Fires. Fires shall be reported to the 

Division orally within 24 hours of the incident 
and in writing within 15 days of the incident. 

(9) Sign Requirements. 
(a) Signs providing information on waste 

that may be received, dumping 
procedures, the hours during which the 

site is open for public use, and the 
permit number shall be posted at the 
site entrance. 

(b) Traffic signs and markers shall be 
provided to direct traffic to and from 
the discharge area.  

(c) Signs shall be posted stating that no 
hazardous waste, asbestos containing 
waste, or medical waste may be 
received at the site. 

(10) Monitoring Requirements. 
(a) Temperature monitoring shall meet 

the record-keeping requirements in 
Rule .1408 of this Section. 

(b) The temperature of all compost 
produced shall be monitored 
sufficiently to ensure that the pathogen 
reduction criteria are met. Onsite 
thermometers shall be calibrated 

annually and records of calibration 
shall be maintained. 
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(11) Compost process at Type 1 and Type 2 facilities 

shall be maintained at or above 55 degrees 
Celsius (131 degrees F) for three days and 
aerated to maintain elevated temperatures. 

(12) Vector Attraction Reduction (VAR). Types 2, 3 
and 4 facilities shall maintain the compost 
process at a temperature above 40 degrees 

Celsius (104 degrees F) for 14 days or longer 
and the average temperature for that time shall 
be higher than 45 degrees Celsius (113 degrees 
F).  

(13) Process to Further Reduce Pathogens (PFRP). 
The composting process shall qualify as a 

process to further reduce pathogens for all Type 
3 and Type 4 facilities. The following shall be 
acceptable methods: 
(a) the windrow composting method, in 

which the following requirements 
apply:  

(i) aerobic conditions shall be 
maintained during the 
composting process; 

(ii) a temperature of 131 degrees 
F (55 degrees Celsius) or 
greater shall be maintained in 

the windrow for at least 15 
days; and 

(iii) during the high temperature 
period, the windrow shall be 
turned at least five times. 

(b) the static aerated pile composting 

method, in which the following 
requirements apply:  
(i) aerobic conditions shall be 

maintained during the 
composting process; and 

(ii) the temperature of the 

compost pile shall be 
maintained at 131 degrees F 
(55 degrees Celsius) or 
greater for at least three days. 

(c) the within-vessel composting method, 
in which the temperature in the 

compost piles shall be maintained at a 
minimal temperature of 131 degrees F 
(55 degrees Celsius) for three days. 

(14) Putrescible feedstocks added to the compost 
process shall be incorporated using methods to 
minimize odor such as reducing mixing time or 

the addition of organic material. 
(15) The finished compost shall meet the 

classification, testing, and distribution 
requirements in Rule .1407 of this Section. 

(16) The amount of compost stored at the facility 
shall not exceed the designed storage capacity. 

(17) The site shall be operated to minimize odors at 

the property boundary by means such as 
windrow covers, maintaining design process 

indicator parameters, and maintaining carbon to 

nitrogen design ratios. 
(18) Odor Corrective Action. 

(a) If the Odor Control Plan prepared in 
accordance with Rule .1405(10) of this 
Section has been followed and the 
Division determines during a site visit 

that offsite odors are not being 
minimized, the owner or operator shall 
submit to the Division an Odor 
Corrective Action Report. The report 
shall contain the following: 
(i) a summary of the actions 

taken in the Odor Control 
Plan; 

(ii) an identification of onsite 
odor sources, in order of 
severity; 

(iii) an evaluation and 

identification of odorous 
feedstocks as they relate to 
odor complaints; 

(iv) an evaluation of current 
operation process indicators 
including carbon to nitrogen 

(C:N) ratio, pH, moisture 
content, oxygen levels, 
temperature, porosity, and 
particle size; 

(v) an evaluation of the compost 
recipe calculation with C:N 

ratio testing that is performed 
by an independent laboratory 
for each feedstock; 

(vi) an identification of potential 
offsite odor receptors based 
on their proximity to the odor 

sources and on weather 
patterns; 

(vii) a description of new odor 
reduction methods, if 
proposed, and an evaluation 
of their feasibility, in terms of 

effectiveness, cost, and 
equipment needs; 

(ix) an evaluation of the 
elimination of specific 
odorous feedstocks; and 

(x) recommendations for 

implementing new corrective 
action measures for odor 
minimization, including a 
schedule. 

(b) The owner or operator shall 
implement the new corrective action 
measures for odor minimization 

recommended in the Odor Corrective 
Action Report if the Division 
determines that the new corrective 
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measures will reduce odors outside of 

the property boundary and will 
comply with the requirements of this 
Section. The Division may require the 
elimination of specific odorous 
feedstocks if a facility fails to meet the 
odor minimization required by Item 

(17) of this Rule. The Division shall 
provide written notice to the owner or 
operator of the determination. 

(c) The owner or operator shall develop 
and implement additional corrective 
action measures if necessary to meet 

the requirements of Item (17) of this 
Rule to minimize odors at the property 
boundary. 

(19) Compost Facility Training Requirements. 
(a) Facilities permitted as Large Type 1, 

Large Type 2, all Type 3, and all Type 

4 shall have an operator, supervisor, or 
manager trained in accordance with 
the requirements in G.S. 130A-
309.25. No less than one trained 
operator, supervisor, or manager 
meeting the requirements of this Sub-

item shall be onsite during the 
facility's operating hours or available 
at a phone number provided in the 
facility permit. 
(i) Training in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-309.25(c) shall be 

required every five years.  
(ii) Persons who have achieved 

and maintain compost 
operator certification by the 
US Composting Council 
Certification Commission or 

equivalent shall be 
considered as having met the 
training requirements in G.S. 
130A-309.25 for the 
permitted facility. 

(b) Owners or operators shall provide 

annual training for facility staff, 
including a review of the operations 
plan and permit documents. 

(c) Documentation of training required in 
Sub-items (a) and (b) of this Item shall 
be maintained at the facility and made 

available to the Division upon request. 
(d) Facilities permitted before the 

readopted effective date of this Rule 
shall meet the requirements of Sub-
item (a) of this Item within three years 
of the readopted effective date of this 
Rule. Facilities permitted after the 

readopted effective date of this Rule 
shall meet the requirements of Sub-

item (a) of this Item within 18 months 

of permit issuance. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-309.03; 130A-
309.11; 130A-309.29; 
Eff. December 1, 1991; 
RRC objection Eff. April 18, 1996 due to lack of statutory 

authority; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 13B .1407 CLASSIFICATION, TESTING, 

AND DISTRIBUTION OF SOLID WASTE COMPOST 

PRODUCTS 

(a)  Compost or mulch that is produced at a Type 1 facility, is free 
from offensive odor, contains no sharp particles, and, for compost, 
has met the temperature requirements in Rule .1406(11) of this 
Section shall be classified Grade A and have unrestricted 
application and distribution. Compost analytical testing shall not 

be required for Type 1 compost if temperature requirements in 
Rule .1406(11) of this Section have been met and documented. 
(b)  Compost produced from Type 2, 3, and 4 facilities shall be 
sampled and analyzed as follows: 

(1) a composite sample of the compost produced at 
each compost facility shall be analyzed at 

intervals of every 20,000 tons of compost 
produced or every six months, whichever 
comes first, for metals and pathogens; 

(2) compost samples shall be analyzed for the 
metals listed in 40 CFR 503.13(b)(3), except 
that analysis for mercury shall not be required 

for Type 2 and 3 facilities, and analysis for 
arsenic and selenium shall not be required for 
Type 2 facilities. The concentration of metals in 
compost offered for sale or distribution to the 
public shall not exceed the pollutant 
concentration limits listed in 40 CFR 

503.13(b)(3). 40 CFR 503.13 and 40 CFR 
503.32 are incorporated by reference including 
subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 
of the Code of Federal Regulations may be 
obtained from the U.S. Government Publishing 
Office website at www.gpo.gov at no cost; 

(3) compost samples shall be analyzed for 
pathogens, either for fecal coliform or 
salmonella bacteria. The concentration of 
pathogens in compost offered for sale or 
distribution to the public shall not exceed the 
concentration limits listed in 40 CFR 

503.32(a)(3); 
(4) sample collection, preservation, and analysis 

shall assure valid and representative results. At 
least three individual samples of equal volume 
shall be taken from each batch produced in 
separate areas along the side of the batch. Each 
sampling point shall be sampled from a depth 

of two to six feet into the pile from the outside 
surface of the pile as follows: 
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(A) metals samples shall be composited 

and accumulated over a six-month 
period or at intervals of every 20,000 
tons of product produced, whichever 
comes first; and 

(B) pathogens samples shall be a 
representative composite sample of 

the compost and shall be processed 
within a period of time required by the 
testing procedure; 

(5) analytical testing methods shall be in 
accordance with the procedures of one of the 
following: 

(A) EPA publication SW-846, "Test 
Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste: 
Physical/Chemical Methods." This 
document is incorporated by 
reference, including subsequent 
amendments and editions, and may be 

obtained free of charge at 
https://www.epa.gov/hw-sw846; 

(B) the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture/U.S. Compost Council 
publication "Test Methods for the 
Examination of Composting and 

Compost" (TMECC). This document 
is incorporated by reference including 
subsequent amendments and editions, 
and may be obtained for a fee of three 
hundred fifty dollars ($350.00) at 
https://compostingcouncil.org/tmecc/ 

or a copy may be reviewed free of 
charge at the Division of Waste 
Management, Solid Waste Section 
office at 217 West Jones Street, 
Raleigh, N.C. 27603; or 

(C) other methods that are approved by the 

Division as providing equivalent 
standards of analysis; and 

(6) the Division may decrease or increase the 
parameters to be analyzed or the frequency of 
analysis based upon monitoring data, changes 
in the waste stream or processing, or 

information regarding the potential for the 
presence of contaminants that are not required 
to be analyzed in this Paragraph. 

(c)  Compost produced from Types 2, 3, and 4 facilities that meet 
the requirements of Subparagraphs (b)(2) and (b)(3) of this Rule 
shall be classified Grade A compost and shall have unlimited, 

unrestricted distribution, except as otherwise determined by the 
Division based on analyses of parameters pursuant to 
Subparagraph (b)(6) of this Rule. 
(d)  The facility operator shall be responsible for meeting the 
requirements of the North Carolina Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services Plant Industry Division Seed and 
Fertilizer Section concerning the distribution of this product. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-309.11; 
Eff. December 1, 1991; 

RRC objection Eff. April 18, 1996 due to lack of statutory 

authority; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 13B .1408 RECORDKEEPING AND 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Record Keeping: Facility owners or operators shall maintain 
records for no less than five years. The following records shall be 
available for inspection by Division personnel during the facility's 
normal business hours and shall be sent to the Division upon 
request: 

(1) daily operational records that include 

temperature data (length of the composting 
period) and quantity of material processed; 

(2) analytical results of compost testing; 
(3) the quantity, type, and source of waste received; 
(4) the quantity of waste processed into compost; 
(5) the odor management records required by Rule 

.1405(10) of this Section; and 
(6) the quantity of compost removed for use or 

disposal and the market or permitted disposal 
facility. 

(b)  Annual Reporting: An annual report for the period July 1 to 
June 30 shall be submitted by all facility owners or operators to 

the Division by August 1 of each year and shall contain: 
(1) the facility name, address, and permit number; 
(2) the total quantity in tons, with sludge values 

expressed in dry weight, and the type of waste 
received at the facility during the year covered 
by the report, including tons of waste received 

from local governments of origin; 
(3) the total quantity in tons of compost produced 

at the facility during the year covered by the 
report; 

(4) the total quantity in tons of compost removed 
for use or disposal from the facility during the 

year covered by the report; 
(5) monthly temperature monitoring to support 

Rule .1406 of this Section; and 
(6) the results of analytical testing required by Rule 

.1407 of this Section. 
(c)  Yearly totals of solid waste received and composted shall be 

reported back to the local government of origin for annual 
recycling reporting. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-309.03; 
130A-309.11; 130A-309.29; 
Eff. December 1, 1991; 

RRC objection Eff. April 18, 1996 due to lack of statutory 
authority; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 13B .1409 ALTERNATIVE PROCEDURES, 

VERMICOMPOSTING, AND ANAEROBIC DIGESTION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  An owner or operator of a composting facility subject to the 
provisions of this Section may request in writing the approval of 
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an alternative procedure for the facility or the compost that is 

produced. The following information shall be submitted to the 
Solid Waste Section: 

(1) the specific facility for which the exception is 
requested; 

(2) the specific provisions of this Section for which 
the exception is requested; 

(3) the basis for the exception; 
(4) the alternate procedure or requirement for 

which the approval is sought and a 
demonstration that the alternate procedure or 
requirement provides equivalent protection of 
the public health and the environment; and 

(5) a demonstration of the effectiveness of the 
proposed alternate procedure. 

The Division shall approve the request if the alternative procedure 
is equivalent to procedures provided in the rules of this Section 
and is protective of the public health and the environment. 
(b)  Vermicompost Facilities. This Paragraph shall be applicable 

to vermicompost facilities that receive solid waste as defined in 
G.S. 130A-290. Facilities that receive only animal manure or only 
municipal wastewater treatment sludge, or both, shall not be 
subject to this Paragraph. 

(1) The following operations shall be exempt from 
the requirements of this Section: 

(A) backyard vermicomposting; and 
(B) farming operations where the 

vermicompost is produced from 
materials grown on the owner's land 
and re-used on the owner's land. 

(2) Vermicompost facilities meeting the following 

conditions shall be exempt from the permitting 
requirements in Rule .1405 of this Section; 
(A) the site receives pre- and post-

consumer food waste, manure, 
vegetative agricultural waste, yard and 
garden waste, untreated, unpainted, 

and uncontaminated wood material, 
source separated paper, or any 
combination thereof; 

(B) no more than 100 cubic yards of 
material shall be onsite at any time. 
This volume shall include feedstock 

storage, processing, pre-composting, 
and active vermicomposting, but shall 
not include finished vermicompost; 

(C) outdoor areas of the site used for 
feedstock storage, processing, pre-
composting, or vermicomposting in 

open areas or open containers or bins 
shall meet the siting criteria and 
setback requirements of Rule 
.1404(a)(1) through (a)(10) of this 
Section, except that the minimum 
setback to the property line shall be at 
least 50 feet and the minimum setback 

to residences or dwellings not owned 
and occupied by the owner or operator 
shall be at least 200 feet; 

(D) outdoor feedstock storage, processing, 

pre-composting, and 
vermicomposting operations areas, 
that are enclosed on all sides in 
containers or bins shall maintain a 
minimum setback to the property line 
of at least 25 feet; 

(E) the site is operated to prevent the 
release of particulates and odors 
outside of the property boundary, and 
the site does not attract vectors such as 
insects and rodents;  

(F) surface water shall be diverted from 

the operational and storage areas. 
Leachate shall be contained onsite and 
treated to meet the standards of the 
applicable off-site disposal method; 

(G) for facilities producing vermicompost 
that is distributed to the public or used 

in public areas, the owner meets the 
pathogen testing and record keeping 
requirements of Rule .1407(b) and 
.1408(a) of this Section for a Type 3 
facility; and 

(H) the site operates in accordance with all 

applicable State or local laws, 
ordinances, rules, regulations, or 
orders. 

(3) A permit shall be required for vermicompost 
facilities that do not meet the conditions of 
Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this Paragraph. A 

permit application for a vermicomposting 
facility shall include the information required 
by Rules .1404 and .1405 of this Section, except 
that Rules .1405(9)(f) through (9)(h) of this 
Section do not apply. Operations or parts of 
operations that are indoors shall be exempt 

from the siting requirements of Rule .1404 of 
this Section. Permitted vermicomposting 
facilities shall be subject to: 
(A) Rule .1406(1) through (9), (14), and 

(16) of this Section; 
(B) Rule .1407 of this Section; 

(C) Rule .1408 of this Section; and 
(D) Rule .1410 of this Section. 

(c)  Anaerobic Digestion Facilities. This Paragraph shall be 
applicable to anaerobic digestion facilities that receive solid waste 
as defined in G.S. 130A-290. Facilities that receive only animal 
manure or only municipal wastewater treatment sludge, or both, 

shall not be subject to this Paragraph. 
(1) A solid waste management permit shall be 

required for the areas of the facility that manage 
solid waste. These areas shall include the 
incoming waste receiving area, the digestate 
handling area, and the digestate final 
disposition and any other areas of the operation 

where solid waste is exposed to the 
environment. 

(2) A permit application shall contain: 
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(A) the information required by Rules 

.1404 and .1405 of this Section, with 
the exception of Rule .1405(9)(f) 
through (9)(h). Operations or parts of 
operations that are in buildings 
enclosed on all sides shall be exempt 
from the siting requirements of Rule 

.1404 of this Section; and 
(B) drawings of the following within the 

waste management areas: 
(i) hoppers, bays, or vessels, and 

all other site-specific features 
related to solid waste 

management activities; and 
(ii) for indoor operations, plan 

and profile drawings of the 
buildings with areas and 
features labeled. 

(3) Permitted anaerobic digestion facilities shall be 

subject to: 
(A) Rule .1406(1) through (9), (14), and 

(16) of this Section; 
(B) Rule .1407 of this Section for the 

digestate; 
(C) Rule .1408 of this Section; and 

(D) Rule .1410 of this Section. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-309.03; 
130A-309.11; 130A-309.29; 
Eff. December 1, 1991; 
RRC objection due to lack of statutory authority Eff. April 18, 

1996; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 13B .1410 CLOSURE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  When the permitted compost facility ceases operations, the 

owner or operator shall meet the following conditions: 
(1) all feedstock and unfinished compost materials 

shall be removed from the site and taken to a 
permitted solid waste facility within 180 days;  

(2) finished compost materials left onsite shall 
comply with G.S. 130A-309.05; and 

(3) the owner or operator shall notify the Division 
in writing upon completion of the requirements 
of Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph. 

(b)  When a permitted compost facility has been closed in 
accordance with the requirements of Subparagraph (a) of this 
Rule, the permit shall be terminated. Future compost operations 

at the site shall require submittal of a new permit application in 
accordance with Rule .1405 of this Section. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-294; 130A-309.03; 
130A-309.11; 130A-309.29; 
Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 

 
TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 
21 NCAC 16V .0101 DEFINITION: 

UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT BY A DENTIST 

Unprofessional conduct by a dentist shall include the following: 
(1) having professional discipline imposed, 

including the denial of licensure, by the dental 

licensing authority of another state, territory, or 
country. For purposes of this Rule, the 
surrender of a license under threat of 
disciplinary action shall be considered the same 
as if the licensee had been disciplined; 

(2) presenting false or misleading testimony, 

statements, or records to the Board or the 
Board's investigator or employees during the 
scope of any investigation, or at any hearing of 
the Board; 

(3) being convicted of or entering a plea of guilty 
or nolo contendere to any charge for a crime 

that is violent or sexual in nature;  
(4) violating any order of the Board previously 

entered in a disciplinary hearing, or failing to 
comply with a subpoena of the Board; 

(5) conspiring with any person to commit an act, or 
committing an act that would coerce, 

intimidate, or preclude any patient or witness 
from testifying against a licensee in any 
disciplinary hearing, or retaliating in any 
manner against any patient or other person who 
testifies or cooperates with the Board during 
any investigation under the Dental Practice or 

Dental Hygiene Acts; 
(6) failing to identify to a patient, patient's 

guardian, or the Board the name of an 
employee, employer, contractor, or agent who 
renders dental treatment or services upon 
request; 

(7) prescribing, procuring, dispensing, or 
administering any controlled substance for 
personal use, which does not include those 
prescribed, dispensed, or administered by a 
practitioner authorized to prescribe them; 

(8) pre-signing blank prescription forms or using 

pre-printed or rubber stamped prescription 
forms containing the dentist's signature or the 
name of any controlled substance; 

(9) forgiving the co-payment provisions of any 
insurance policy, insurance contract, health 
prepayment contract, health care plan, or 

nonprofit health service plan contract by 
accepting the payment received from a third 
party as full payment, unless the dentist 
discloses to the third party that the patient's 
payment portion will not be collected; 

(10) failing to provide radiation safeguards required 
by the State Department of Health and Human 

Services, the federal Occupational and Safety 
Health Administration, the Food and Drug 
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Administration, or the Environmental 

Protection Agency; 
(11) having professional connection with or lending 

one's name to the unlawful practice of dentistry, 
including as set forth in G.S. 90-41(a)(9); 

(12) using the name of any deceased or retired 
dentist on any office door, directory, stationery, 

bill heading, or any other means of 
communication any time after one year 
following the death or retirement from practice 
of said dentist; 

(13) failing to comply with any provision of any 
contract or agreement with the Caring Dental 

Professionals Program; 
(14) failing to file a truthful response to a notice of 

complaint filed with the Board within the time 
allowed in the notice; 

(15) failing to notify the Board of a change in current 
primary physical address, which shall be either 

a personal address or a business address at the 
licensee's election, within 10 business days; 

(16) permitting more than two dental hygienists for 
each licensed dentist in the office to perform 
clinical hygiene tasks, as set forth in G.S. 90-
233(b); 

(17) failing to produce diagnostic radiographs or 
other treatment records on request of the Board 
or its investigator; 

(18) soliciting employment of potential patients in 
person or by telephone or permitting or 
directing another to do so; 

(19) giving or accepting anything of value in 
exchange for a promise to refer or referral of 
potential patients; 

(20) failing to offer 30 days of emergency care upon 
dismissing a patient from a dental practice; 

(21) withholding or refusing to complete a treatment 

procedure for an existing patient conditioned 
upon payment of an outstanding balance; 

(22) using protected patient health information, as 
defined by 45 CFR 160.103, to solicit potential 
patients; 

(23) making misleading or untruthful statements for 

the purpose of procuring potential patients, or 
directing or allowing an employee or agent to 
do so; 

(24) making false statements or omissions in any 
communication with the Board or its agents 
regarding the subject of any disciplinary matter 

under investigations by the Board; 
(25) refusing to permit a Board agent or employee to 

conduct a sterilization inspection; 
(26) acquiring any controlled substance from any 

source by fraud, deceit or misrepresentation;  
(27) practicing outside the scope of dentistry, as set 

forth in G.S. 90-29; and 

(28) committing any act that would constitute civil 
assault or civil battery in connection with the 
provision of dental services. The North 

Carolina Pattern Jury Instructions for Civil 

800.50, Assault, and for Civil 800.51, Battery, 
are hereby incorporated by reference, including 
subsequent amendments and editions. These 
documents may be accessed at no cost at 
https://www.sog.unc.edu/resources/microsites/
north-carolina-pattern-jury-instructions/north-

carolina-pattern-jury-instructions-civil-cases. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-29;90-41; 90-48; 90-
223(b); 
Eff. August 1, 1998; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2016; July 1, 2015; October 1, 2001; 

August 1, 2000; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2019. 
 
21 NCAC 16V .0102 DEFINITION: 

UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT BY A DENTAL 

HYGIENIST 

Unprofessional conduct by a dental hygienist shall include the 
following: 

(1) having professional discipline imposed, 
including the denial of licensure, by the dental 

hygiene licensing authority of another state, 
territory, or country. For purposes of this Rule, 
the surrender of a license under threat of 
disciplinary action shall be considered the same 
as if the licensee had been disciplined; 

(2) presenting false or misleading testimony, 

statements, or records to the Board or the 
Board's investigator or employees during the 
scope of any investigation or at any hearing of 
the Board; 

(3) being convicted of or entering a plea of guilty 
or nolo contendere to any charge for a crime 

that is violent or sexual in nature;  
(4) violating an order of the Board previously 

entered in a disciplinary hearing or failing to 
comply with a subpoena of the Board; 

(5) conspiring with any person to commit an act, or 
committing an act that would coerce, 

intimidate, or preclude any patient or witness 
from testifying against a licensee in any 
disciplinary hearing, or retaliating in any 
manner against any patient or other person who 
testifies or cooperates with the Board during 
any investigation under the Dental Practice or 

Dental Hygiene Acts; 
(6) failing to identify to a patient, patient's 

guardian, an employer, or the Board the name 
of any person or agent who renders dental 
treatment or services upon request; 

(7) procuring, dispensing, or administering any 
controlled substance for personal use except 

those prescribed, dispensed, or administered by 
a practitioner authorized to prescribe them; 
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(8) acquiring any controlled substance from any 

pharmacy or other source by misrepresentation, 
fraud or deception; 

(9) having professional connection with or lending 
one's name to the illegal practice of dental 
hygiene, including as set forth in G.S. 90-
229(11); 

(10) failing to comply with any provision of any 
contract or agreement with the Caring Dental 
Professionals Program; 

(11) failing to file a truthful response to a notice of 
complaint filed with the Board within the time 
allowed in the notice; 

(12) failing to notify the Board of a change in current 
primary physical address, which shall be either 
a personal address or a business address at the 
licensee's election, within 10 business days; 

(13) working in a clinical hygiene position if the 
ratio of hygienists to licensed dentists present in 

the office is greater than 2:1, as set forth in G.S. 
90-233(b); 

(14) soliciting employment of potential patients in 
person or by telephone or permitting or 
directing another to do so; 

(15) giving or accepting anything of value in 

exchange for a promise to refer or referral of 
potential patients; 

(16) using protected patient health information, as 
defined by 45 CFR 160.103, to solicit potential 
patients; 

(17) making misleading or untruthful statements for 

the purpose of procuring potential patients or 
assisting another to do so; 

(18) making false statements or omissions in any 
communication with the Board or its agents 
regarding the subject of any disciplinary matter 
under investigation by the Board;  

(19) practicing outside the scope of dental hygiene, 
as defined in G.S. 90-221(a); and 

(20) committing any act that would constitute civil 
assault or civil battery in connection with the 
provision of dental hygiene services. The North 
Carolina Pattern Jury Instructions for Civil 

800.50, Assault, and for Civil 800.51, Battery, 
are hereby incorporated by reference, including 
subsequent amendments and editions. These 
documents may be accessed at no cost at 
https://www.sog.unc.edu/resources/microsites/
north-carolina-pattern-jury-instructions/north-

carolina-pattern-jury-instructions-civil-cases. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-29; 90-221; 90-223; 90-229; 
Eff. August 1, 1998; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2016; July 1, 2015; October 1, 2001; 
August 1, 2000; September 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2019. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission December 19, 2019 at 1711 New Hope 
Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 
Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address 
the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2 nd business day before the meeting.  
Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079 
Ashley Snyder  (919) 431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 December 19, 2019          January 16, 2019 
  February 20, 2019 March 19, 2019 

 

 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 19, 2019 9:00 A.M. 
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Board of Elections - 08 NCAC 10B .0103 (May) 
B. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder) 
C. Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission - 14B NCAC 15A .1406 (Snyder) 

D. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0229, .0232, .0234, .0235, .0236, .0237, .0238, 
.0239, .0240, .0255, .0256, .0257, .0258, .0701, .0730 (Reeder) 

E. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, 
.0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, 
.0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, .0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, 
.0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206 

(May) 
F. State Board of Opticians – 21 NCAC 40 .0321 (Snyder) 
G. Building Code Council - Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202;  

Energy Conservation Code R406.2 (Reeder) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between October 22, 2019 through November 20, 2019 

• Medical Care Commission (May) 

• Commission for Public Health (Snyder) 

• Private Protective Services Board (Reeder) 

• Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners (Snyder) 

• Board of Chiropractic Examiners (May) 

• Board of Occupational Therapy (May) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review 
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• Review of Reports 

1. 04 NCAC 19N,O,P,Q – DHHS/Division of Aging & Adult Services (Reeder) 

• Readoptions 

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, January 16, 2020 

 

 

Commission Review 

Log of Permanent Rule Filings 
October 22, 2019 through November 20, 2019 

 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 13C concern licensing of ambulatory surgical facilities including general provisions (.0100); 
licensing procedures (.0200); governing authority and management (.0300); medical and surgical services (.0400); 
anesthesia services (.0500); pathology services (.0600); radiology services (.0700); pharmaceutical servi ces (.0800); 
nursing services (.0900); medical records services (.1000); surgical facilities and equipment (.1100); functional safety 
(.1200); control and sanitation (.1300); and physical plant construction (.1400).  

Definitions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13C .1401 

List of Referenced Guidelines, Codes, Standards, and Regu... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13C .1402 

General and Emergency 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13C .1403 

Equivalency and Conflicts with Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13C .1404 

Mechanical Requirements 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 13C .1405 

Plumbing and Other Piping Systems 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 13C .1406 

Electrical Requirements 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 13C .1407 

General 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 13C .1408 

List of Referenced Codes and Standards 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 13C .1409 

Application of Physical Plant Requirements 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 13C .1410 

The rules in Subchapter 13F concern licensing of homes for the aged and infirm and include definitions (.0100); licensing 
(.0200); physical plant (.0300); staff qualification (.0400); staff orientation training, competency and continuing education 

(.0500); staffing (.0600); admission and discharge (.0700); resident assessment and care plan (.0800); resident care 
and services (.0900); medication (.1000); Resident's funds and refunds (.1100); policies; records and reports (.1200); 
special care units for alzheimer and related disorders (.1300); special care units for mental health disorders (.1400); use 
of physical restraints and alternatives (.1500); and rated certificates (.1600). 

Persons not Eligible for New Adult Care Home Licenses 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 13F .0203 

Change of License 

Readopt with Changes* 
 10A NCAC 13F .0207 

Suspension of Admissions 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 13F .0214 
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Marketing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13F .1206 

The rules in Subchapter 13G concern licensing of family care homes including definitions (.0100); licensing (.0200); the 
building (.0300); staff qualifications (.0400); staffing orientation, training, competency and continuing education (.0500); 
staffing of the home (.0600); admission and discharge (.0700); resident assessment and care plan (.0800); resident 
care and services (.0900); medications (.1000); management and resident's funds and refunds (.1100); policies, records 

and reports (.1200); use of physical restraints and alternatives (.1300); and rated certificates (.1600).  

Change of Licensee 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13G .0207 

Suspension of Admissions 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 13G .0214 

Marketing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13G .1207 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 41 concern epidemiology health.  

 
The rules in Subchapter 41C concern occupational health including general provisions (.0100); dusty trades program 
(.0200); industrial hygiene consultation program (.0300); occupational health nursing consultation program (.0400); 
asbestos hazard management program (.0600); occupational health surveillance (.0700); lead-based paint hazard 
management program (.0800); and lead-based paint hazard management program for renovation, repair and painting 
(.0900). 

Definitions 

Readopt with Changes* 
 10A NCAC 41C .0701 

Reportable Diseases, Illnesses, and Injuries 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 41C .0702 

Method of Reporting 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 41C .0703 

The rules in Chapter 43 concern personal health.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 43D concern WIC/Nutrition including definitions (.0100); WIC program general information 

(.0200); selection of local WIC agencies (.0300); eligibility for WIC program participation (.0400); WIC program food 
package (.0500); WIC program nutrition education (.0600); WIC program food delivery system (.0700); WIC program 
administrative appeals (.0800); WIC program participant fair hearings (.0900); consultation services (.1000); and 
maternal and child health block grant nutrition program (.1200). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0202 

Waiting List 

Amend* 
 10A NCAC 43D .0408 

Supplemental Foods 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0501 

The North Carolina Automated WIC System 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0701 

Issuance of Food Benefits 

Amend* 
 10A NCAC 43D .0702 

Use of Food Benefits 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0703 

Validity of Food Instruments and Cash-Value Vouchers 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0704 

Payment of WIC Food Benefits  10A NCAC 43D .0705 
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Amend* 

Vendor Peer Groups 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0706 

Vendor Applicants 

Amend* 
 10A NCAC 43D .0707 

Authorized Vendors 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0708 

Vendor Violations and Sanctions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0710 

Notice of Hearing 

Amend* 
 10A NCAC 43D .0908 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 16 are from the Private Protective Services Board and cover organization and general provisions 
(.0100); licenses and trainee permits (.0200); security guard patrol and guard dog service (.0300); private investigator: 
electronic countermeasures (.0400); polygraph (.0500); psychological stress evaluator (PSE) (.0600); unarmed security 
guard registration (.0700); armed security guard firearm registration permit (.0800); trainer certificate (.0900); recovery 
fund (.1000); training and supervision for private investigator associates (.1100); continuing education (.1300) ; and 
armed armored car service guards firearm registration permit (.1400). 

Application Completion Deadline 

Readopt/Amend* 
 14B NCAC 16 .0114 

Application for Licenses and Trainee Permits 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0201 

Fees for Licenses and Trainee Permits 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0202 

Renewal or Re-issue of Licenses and Trainee Permits 

Readopt/Amend* 
 14B NCAC 16 .0203 

Company Business License 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0205 

Polygraph Trainee Permit Requirements 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0502 

Application for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 

Readopt/Amend* 
 14B NCAC 16 .0701 

Fees for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0702 

Unarmed Security Guard Registration Identification Cards 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0705 

Renewal of Unarmed Security Guard Registration 

Readopt/Amend* 
 14B NCAC 16 .0706 

Application/Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0801 

Fees for Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0802 

Renewal of Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 

Amend* 
 14B NCAC 16 .0806 

Application for Firearms Trainer Certificate 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0902 

Fees for Trainer Certificate 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0903 

Renewal of a Firearms Trainer Certificate 

Amend* 
 14B NCAC 16 .0904 
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Unarmed Trainer Certificate 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0909 

Application for an Unarmed Trainer 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0910 

Renewal of an Unarmed Trainer Certificate 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0911 

Rosters of Unarmed Trainer Classes 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0912 

Application for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registration... 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .1301 

Fees for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registration 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .1302 

Renewal or Reissue of Unarmed Car Service Guard Registration 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .1306 

Application/Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Registration... 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .1401 

Fees for Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Registration... 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .1402 

Renewal of Armed Armored Car Service Guard Firearm Registration... 
Readopt/Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .1406 

 CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 8G are the continuing professional education requirements including general provisions (.0100); 
responsibilities to clients and colleagues (.0200); and other responsibilities and requirements (.0300 and .0400). 

CPE Requirements for CPAS 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 08G .0401 

Qualification of CPE Sponsors 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 08G .0403 

Requirements for CPE Credit 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 08G .0404 

Administration of Requirement 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 08G .0405 

Compliance with CPE Requirements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 08G .0406 

Computation of CPE Credits 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 08G .0409 

Professional Ethics and Conduct CPE 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 08G .0410 

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 10 include organization of the Board (.0100); the practice of chiropractic (.0200); rules of unethical 

conduct (.0300); rule-making procedures (.0400); investigation of complaints (.0500); contested cases and hearings in 
contested cases (.0600-.0700); and miscellaneous provisions (.0800). 

Structure of Board 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0103 

Licensure 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0204 

Certification of Radiologic Technologists 

Amend* 
 21 NCAC 10 .0206 
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Continuing Education Seminars 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0207 

Certification of Clinical Assistants 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0213 

Petition for Predetermination 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0215 

Advertising and Publicity 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0302 

Petitions for Adoptions of Rules 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0401 

Procedure for Adoption of Rules 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0403 

Declaratory Rulings 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0406 

Filing Complaints 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0501 

Determination of Probable Cause 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0503 

Conduct of Board Hearing 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0706 

Continuances for Board Hearings 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0708 

Subpoenas 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0709 

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 38 cover organization and general provisions (.0100); application for license (.0200); licensing 
(.0300); business conduct (.0400); provisions concerning rulemaking (.0500); administrative hearing procedures 
(.0600); professional corporations (.0700); continuing competence activity (.0800); supervision, supervisory roles, and 
clinical responsibilities of occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants (.0900); supervision of limited 
permittees (.1000); and supervision of unlicensed personnel (.1100). 

Continuing Competence Definitions 

Amend* 
 21 NCAC 38 .0801 

Scope of Qualified Activities for Maintaining Continuing ... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 38 .0804 

Qualified Activities for Maintaining Continuing Competence 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 38 .0805 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 
Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 
If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questio ns regarding contested cases or case 
decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 
Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 
 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 
 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 
Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 
David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 
Tenisha Jacobs 

 

 
Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

        

19 DHR 00787 9/27/2019 FRAN Inc v. NC Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Sutton 

19 DHR 02190 9/12/2019 David Simmons v. Division of Health Benefits Elkins 

19 DHR 02737 9/5/2019 William Edward 
Mills 

v. DHHS Ward 

             

19 DOA 02825 9/5/2019 The Wheel of Hope 
Wayne L Lofton 

v. SECC Ward 

             

19 INS 01845 9/11/2019 Karen Vick Bates v. North Carolina State Health Plan Elkins 

             

19 OSP 01862 9/17/2019 Shenita Roberts v. Regina Garden Gaston County 

Department of Health & Human 
Services 

Malherbe 

        

      Unpublished      

19 ABC 03557 9/6/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 
Commission 

v. Eusleydi Paulino T/A 3Y Smoke Shop May 

19 ABC 04248 9/25/2019 NC Alcoholic 
Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Mohamed Musa Ahmed T/A Discount 
Tobacco 

Jacobs 

             

19 BPP 02387 9/4/2019 Timothy David 
Spahr 

v. North Carolina Psychology Board Dr 
April Harris-Britt Keshawna Solomon 

Jacobs 

             



 CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS 

 

 

34:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 2, 2019 

1099 

19 CPS 00281 9/20/2019 Wheeler E Lloyd v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 
Commission 

Jacobs 

19 CPS 03051 9/23/2019 Tiffany Ann 

Robinson Kyle 
Storm Lee 

(deceased victim) 

v. Liddie Shropshire Crime Victims 

Compensation Commission 

Sutton 

             

19 CRA 01434 9/3/2019 Takoby C Cofield v. NC Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

             

19 DCS 03887 9/3/2019 Sherry Massey v. NC Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Overby 

19 DCS 04172 9/20/2019 Daisy Castillo v. NC Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

             

19 DHR 00820 9/3/2019 Vintage Inn 

Retirement 
Community LLC 
Licensee Facility 

Vintage Inn 
Retirement Village 

License Number 

HAL-058-010 

v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of 
Health Service Regulation 

Overby 

19 DHR 02824 9/30/2019 New Beginnings 
Youth Facility 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Health Service 
Regulation, Mental Health Licensure 

and Certification 

May 

19 DHR 03156 9/9/2019 Kristie L Sluder 
Foster Mother 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Social Services 

Child Wefare Child Protective Services 

Mann 

19 DHR 03206 9/11/2019 Care Health 

Services 1 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 
Regulation, Mental Health Licensure 

and Certification 

Mann 

19 DHR 03355 9/4/2019 Brandon M 
Hudspeth 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 
Services, Food and Nutrition Services 

May 

19 DHR 03447 9/27/2019 Robin Grant Lee v. NC Dept of Health and Human Service Lassiter 

19 DHR 03448 9/6/2019 Tity Hayes v. NC Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 03553 9/16/2019 Keara Starkes v. NC Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 03579 9/3/2019 Life Stages Assisted 
Living LLC Torey 

Morris 

v. Division of Health Service Regulation 
Adult Care Licensure Section 

May 

19 DHR 03668 9/23/2019 Fortress F Saah v. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 03778 9/16/2019 Geneva Andreal 
Davis 

v. NC Dept of Health and Human Svcs, 
Division of Child Development 

Lassiter 

19 DHR 04372 9/24/2019 New Hope Home 
III MHL# 036-303 

Desareta Jones 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 
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19 DHR 04500 9/13/2019 Inreach Myisha 
Hayes 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 04501 9/11/2019 Skyline Superette 
Aimee Kennedy 

v. NC Dept Health & Human Services Malherbe 

19 DHR 04508 9/5/2019 Niquia D Hart v. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

             

18 DOJ 07522 9/20/2019 Soomo Karnath v. NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs 

19 DOJ 00715 9/5/2019 Donald Wayne 
Clanton 

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 
Training Standards Commission 

Elkins 

19 DOJ 01473 9/20/2019 Jeremy Derell 
Herring 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs 

19 DOJ 01474 9/23/2019 Donnell Thomas v. NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs 

19 DOJ 03747 9/20/2019 Devon Quinn 
Covert 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs 

19 DOJ 04082 9/23/2019 Robert Crowe v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 
Training Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 04084 9/17/2019 Joseph M Stewart v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 
Training Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

             

19 INS 04274 9/27/2019 John M McHugh v. Blue Cross Blue Shield of North 
Carolina 

Malherbe 

             

19 UNC 03247 9/9/2019 Christopher 
Wellington 

v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Lassiter 

 

 


