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Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 

 

 

 

GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 04 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Credit Union Division intends to amend the rule cited as 04 

NCAC 06C .1302. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.nccud.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2020 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing 

may be demanded by written request to Tony Knox, Deputy 

Administrator of the North Carolina Department of 

Commerce/Credit Union Division within 15 days of the 

publication of the Notice of Text. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  04 NCAC 06C .1302 OTHER 

RESERVES - proposed for amendment to be consistent with 

Federal Regulations. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Tony Knox, Deputy 

Administrator, 205 W. Millbrook Road, Ste 105, Raleigh, NC 

27609; phone (919) 571-4888; fax (919) 420-7919; email 

tknox@nccud.org 

 

Comment period ends:  January 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 06 - CREDIT UNION DIVISION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06C - CREDIT UNIONS 

 

SECTION .1300 - RESERVES 

 

04 NCAC 06C .1302 OTHER RESERVES 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 54-109.86(b), transfers to regular Regular 

reserves shall be set at zero percent. maintained as set forth in G.S. 

54-109.86. 

(b)  Special reserves for delinquent loans and reserves for line of 

credit shall be maintained as required in Rules .0401 and .0404(b) 

of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 54-109.12; 54-109.86. 

 

 

TITLE 08 – STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Elections intends to adopt the rule cited as 08 

NCAC 17 .0107. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncsbe.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 12, 2019 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  NC State Board of Elections, Dobbs Building, Third 

Floor, 430 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Section 1.1 of Session Law 2018-

144 implements the constitutional requirement requiring voters to 

present photo ID at the polls.  It requires county boards of 

elections to issue voter photo identification cards, upon request 

and free of charge, to registered voters.  The law also requires the 

State Board to adopt rules to ensure, at a minimum, the following:  

(1) A registered voter seeking to obtain a voter ID card must 

provide the voter's name, date of birth, and last four digits of the 

social security number; (2) voter ID cards must be issued at any 

time, except during the end of one-stop voting and the end of 

Election Day; (3) if a registered voter loses or defaces the voter's 

photo identification card, or changes his or her name, the voter 

can obtain a duplicate card free of charge; and (4) voter photo 

identification cards issued must contain the following disclaimer:  

"Expiration of this voter photo identification card does not 

automatically result in the voter's voter registration becoming 
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inactive."  The session law also required the State Board to adopt 

temporary rules to implement the voter photo ID requirement no 

later than April 15, 2019. 

The temporary rule detailing the process for requesting and 

issuing a voter photo identification card was adopted by the 

Board on April 4, 2019, and became effective on April 29, 2019.  

Per G.S. 150B-21.1(d)(5), a temporary rule expires 270 days from 

the date the temporary rule was published in the North Carolina 

Register, unless the permanent rule adopted to replace the 

temporary rule has been submitted to the Rules Review 

Commission.  The State Board is submitting this notice to replace 

the temporary rule with the permanent rule. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Katelyn Love, PO Box 27255, 

Raleigh, NC 27611; phone (919) 814-0700; fax (919) 715-0135; 

email rules@ncsbe.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  January 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 17 - PHOTO IDENTIFICATION 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0107 VOTER PHOTO 

IDENTIFICATION CARD 

(a)  Request. A voter may request a voter photo identification card 

free of charge in person at the county board of elections office, or 

at other locations in the county if approved by a majority of the 

county board of elections, in the county where the voter is 

registered to vote. If the board approves another location for the 

request and issuance of voter photo identification cards, the 

county board of elections must ensure that any connection to the 

statewide computerized voter registration system is secure and 

cannot be accessed by anyone other than the county board of 

elections staff. The county board of elections shall consult with 

the State Board Office if they have any concerns about whether a 

proposed connection method is secure. The request shall be made 

on a form prescribed by the State Board of Elections Office and 

available on the State Board website and in the county board of 

elections office or another location designated by the county 

board of elections. The form shall include prompts for the voter's 

full name, voter's date of birth, the last four digits of the voter's 

Social Security number, the voter's signature or mark, and the date 

of request. If the required information provided by the voter 

matches the information on the voter registration on file with the 

county board of elections, the county board of elections shall issue 

the card. The county board of elections shall not refuse to issue a 

card because the voter registration does not contain the last four 

digits of the voter's Social Security number or complete date of 

birth. If the voter registration does not contain the last four digits 

of the voter's Social Security number or complete date of birth, 

the form shall serve as an update to the voter's voter registration 

record. 

(b)  Issuance. Once the county board of elections determines it 

shall issue the voter photo identification card, it shall take a 

photograph of the voter. If the face of the voter is covered, the 

county board of elections shall give the voter the opportunity to 

remove the covering but shall not require removal. If the voter 

declines to remove the covering, the county board of elections 

shall inform the voter that a voter photo identification card cannot 

be produced while the voter's face is covered and shall inform the 

voter of the ability to vote provisionally due to religious objection 

to being photographed pursuant to G.S. 163-166.16(d)(1). 

(c)  Simultaneous registration and request. A voter may register to 

vote and request a voter photo identification card simultaneously 

in person at the county board of elections office or at other 

locations in the county, including one-stop sites under G.S. 163-

227.2 and 163-227.5, if approved pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. The county board of elections shall process the voter 

registration form as soon as it is received and, if the voter appears 

eligible to vote based on the voter registration form, the county 

board of elections shall process the voter registration, assign a 

voter registration number to the voter, and issue a voter photo 

identification card to the voter If the county board of elections 

cannot process a voter registration form for a voter who registers 

to vote and requests a voter photo identification card 

simultaneously in person at a location other than the county board 

of elections office, the registration shall be processed at the county 

board of elections office, which shall mail the voter photo 

identification card to the voter if it makes a tentative 

determination that the applicant is qualified to vote pursuant to 

G.S. 163-82.7. If the registration deadline under G.S. 163-82.6(d) 

has passed, the county board of elections shall mail the photo 

identification card to the voter once the county board of elections 

is able to process the voter registration form and makes a tentative 

determination that the applicant is qualified to vote pursuant to 

G.S. 163-82.7. 

(d)  Timing of issuance. Voter photo identification cards shall be 

issued at any time, except during the time period between the end 

of one-stop voting for a primary or election as provided in G.S. 

163-227.2 and the end of Election Day for each primary and 

election. A county board of elections shall process a request for 

voter photo identification at the time it is received and shall issue 

the card to the voter. If, due to equipment, software, or other 

issues, the county board of elections cannot produce the photo 
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identification card at the time the request is received, the county 

board of elections shall mail the photo identification card to the 

voter as soon as the issue is resolved. 

(e)  Replacement card. If a registered voter loses or defaces the 

voter's photo identification card, the registered voter may obtain a 

duplicate card without charge from his or her county board of 

elections upon request in person, by telephone, or by mail. Cards 

may not be requested by any other method, including e-mail. A 

request in person or by mail shall be made on a form required in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. In making the request, the voter shall 

provide the voter's name and the voter's date of birth or last four 

digits of the voter's Social Security number. If the information 

provided by the voter matches the information on file with the 

county board of elections, the county board of elections shall issue 

the replacement card. If the request is by telephone or mail, the 

county board of elections shall mail the card to the mailing 

address in the voter's voter registration file. A voter may request 

a new photo identification card in accordance with Paragraph (a) 

if the voter believes the photo does not reflect a change in the 

voter's appearance. 

(f)  Name change. If a registered voter has a change of name and 

has updated his or her voter registration to reflect the new name, 

the registered voter may request and obtain a replacement card 

from the registered voter's county board of elections by providing 

the registered voter's current name, date of birth, and the last four 

digits of the registered voter's Social Security number in person, 

by telephone, or by mail. Cards may not be requested by any other 

method, including e-mail. A request in person or by mail shall be 

made on a form required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. If the 

information provided by the voter matches the information on file 

with the county board of elections, the county board of elections 

shall issue the replacement card. If the request is by telephone or 

mail, the county board of elections shall mail the card to the 

mailing address on the voter's voter registration file. The voter 

may use the form required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule to update 

the name on his or her voter registration record and shall include 

the voter's former name and current name, date of birth, the last 

four digits of the voter's Social Security number, and the voter's 

signature or mark. 

(g)  Content and design of card. The Executive Director of the 

State Board shall design the card. A voter photo identification 

card shall contain only the following information unique to the 

voter: 

(1) A photograph of the voter; 

(2) The voter's full name; 

(3) The voter's voter registration number; and 

(4) Expiration date. 

The card may also contain a barcode including any of the 

information listed in this Paragraph. Voter photo identification 

cards shall contain the following disclaimer: "Expiration of this 

voter photo identification card does not automatically result in the 

voter's voter registration becoming inactive." 

(h)  Validity. A voter photo identification card shall be valid 

statewide for voting purposes. The photo identification card shall 

serve as proof of the voter's identity, not proof that the person is a 

registered voter. 

(i)  Assistance. A voter may receive assistance in completing the 

form required in this Rule but the voter shall sign or place his or 

her mark on the request form. 

(j)  Form retention. The county board of elections shall upload the 

form required by this Rule into the statewide computerized voter 

registration system, and the uploaded document shall serve as the 

official record of the form for records retention purposes. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-82.8A; S.L. 2018-144, s. 1.1.(b). 

 

 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Insurance intends to readopt 

without substantive changes the rules cited as 11 NCAC 12 .0321, 

.0514, .1501-.1509, and .1803. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdoi.gov/insurance-industry/rules-and-rules-

review 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 9, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  NCDOI, Albemarle Building, 325 North Salisbury 

Street, Raleigh, NC, 1st Floor Hearing Room, Room 131 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  These rules are being proposed 

for readoption in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Loretta Peace-Bunch, 325 

North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603; phone (919) 807-

6004; email Loretta.Peace-Bunch@ncdoi.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  January 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 
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Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 12 - LIFE AND HEALTH DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0300 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

11 NCAC 12 .0321 RATE FILING: HMO 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0500 - ACCIDENT AND HEALTH: GENERAL 

NATURE 

 

11 NCAC 12 .0514 COORDINATION: GROUP A/H 

CONTRACT BENEFITS: GROUP COVERAGES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1500 - UNIFORM CLAIM FORMS 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1501 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1502 REQUIREMENTS FOR USE OF 

HCFA FORM 1450 (UB92) (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1503 REQUIREMENTS FOR USE OF 

HCFA FORM 1500 (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1504 REQUIREMENTS FOR USE OF 

THE CURRENT ADA DENTAL CLAIM FORM 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1505 MANAGED CARE FORMS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1506 ELECTRONIC FORMAT 

STANDARDS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1507 ATTACHMENT FORM OR 

FORMAT (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1508 MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT 

PAYORS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1509 PATIENT SUBMITTED CLAIM 

FORMS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1800 - PPO BENEFIT PLAN PRODUCT 

LIMITATIONS 

 

11 NCAC 12 .1803 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 04 – AUCTIONEER LICENSING BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Auctioneer Licensing Board 

intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 04B .0203, readopt 

with substantive changes the rules cited as 21 NCAC 04B .0101-

.0104, .0201, .0202, .0301-.0303, .0401-.0405, .0501-.0506, 

.0601-.0607, .0801-.0810, .0812-.0819, readopt without 

substantive changes the rule cited as 21 NCAC 04B .0701, and 

repeal through readoption the rule cited as 21 NCAC 04B .0811. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncalb.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 9, 2019 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  Board Room, North Carolina Auctioneer Licensing 

Board Office, 108 Ber Creek Drive, Fuquay-Varina, NC 27526 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire.  As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapter 21 NCAC 04B these 

proposed rules were determined as "Necessary With Substantive 

Public Interest" thus necessitating readoption. 

Upon review for the readoption process, the agency deemed the 

following rules to be necessary with substantive changes and are 

recommended for readoption:  21 NCAC 04B .0101-.0104; .0201; 

.0202; .0301-.0303; .0401-.0405; .0501-.0506; .0601-.0607; 

.0801-.0810; .0812-.0819. 

Upon review for the readoption process, the agency deemed the 

following rule to be necessary without substantive changes and it 

is recommended for readoption: 21 NCAC 04B .0701. 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Upon review for the readoption process, the agency deemed the 

following rule to be unnecessary and it is recommended for repeal 

through readoption:  21 NCAC 04B .0811. 

21 NCAC 04B .0203 is being proposed for adoption to implement 

G.S. 93B-15. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Charles Diehl, 108 Ber Creek 

Drive, Fuquay-Varina, NC 27526; phone (919) 567-2844; fax 

(919) 567-2865; email Comments2019@ncalb.org 

 

Comment period ends:  January 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 04B - AUCTIONEER LICENSING BOARD 

 

SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATION AND GENERAL 

PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0101 PURPOSE 

(a)  It is the responsibility of the Board to license auctioneers, 

apprentice auctioneers, and auction firms and to see ensure that 

the qualifications and activities of those engaged in auctioneering 

activities are in accord with law and in the best interests of the 

public. G.S. 85B. 

(b)  The Board is not a board of arbitration and has no jurisdiction 

to settle disputes between parties concerning such matters of 

contract as the rate of commissions, the division of commissions, 

or pay of assistants, and similar matters. assistants. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-1 through 85B-9. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0102 BOARD OFFICE 

(a)  The administrative offices of the Board are located at: 

602 Stellata Drive 108 Ber Creek Drive 

Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina 27526 

Telephone: (919) 567-2844 

Website: www.ncalb.org. 

(b)  Office hours are 8:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m., Monday through 

Friday, except holidays. excluding State holidays as set forth in 

25 NCAC 01E .0901, which is hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0103 DEFINITIONS 

Whenever used in this Chapter: 

(7)(1) "Auction house," "auction barn," or "auction 

gallery" shall mean an auction business that 

conducts auctions at a single location and where 

consignments are brought to the location by 

either the auctioneer/auction firm or the public 

to be sold at auction. 

(1)(2) "Auctioneers Law" or "licensing law" shall 

refer to G.S. 85B; G.S. 85B. 

(3) "Board" shall mean the North Carolina 

Auctioneers Commission; Commission. 

(2)(4) "Buyer's Premium" shall mean any additional 

charge owed by a buyer to the auctioneer, 

auction firm, or directly to the seller above and 

beyond the highest accepted bid amount; 

amount. 

(5) "Course" shall mean the curriculum, 

instruction, and activities of schools of 

auctioneering subject to the rules of this 

Subchapter. 

(4)(6) "Minimum Bid" as used in auctions shall mean 

minimum opening bids; bids. 

(5)(7) "Principal(s)" as it pertains to auction firms 

shall mean director(s), officer(s) officer(s), 

owner(s), and partner(s); partner(s). 

(6)(8) "Non-Auction Firm Business" "Sole Proprietor 

Auction Business" shall mean a sole licensed 

auctioneer whose business is not defined as an 

"Auction Firm" as set forth in G.S. 85B-1(6); 

G.S. 85B-1(6). 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-1; 85B-3.1; 85B-4. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0104 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

PROCEDURES 

(a)  Contested Cases. Administrative hearings in contested cases 

conducted by the Board or an administrative law judge (as as 

authorized in G.S. 150B-40) G.S. 150B-40(e) shall be governed 

by: 

(1) procedures set out in Article 3A of G.S. 150B; 

(2) insofar as relevant, the Rules of Civil Procedure 

as contained in G.S. 1A-1; and 

(3) insofar as relevant, the General Rules of 

Practice for the Superior and District Courts as 

authorized by G.S. 7A-34 and found in the 

Rules Volume of the North Carolina General 

Statutes. 

The rules of Civil Procedure and the General Rules of 

Practice for the Superior and District Courts are hereby 
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incorporated by reference for contested cases for which 

that the Board has authority to adopt rules under G.S. 

150B-38(h). Such incorporations by reference shall 

automatically include any later amendments and editions 

of the incorporated matter. 

(b)  Declaratory Rulings. In addition to the procedures set out in 

G.S. 150B-4, petitions for declaratory rulings shall be submitted 

to the Board and shall contain: 

(1) the petitioner's name, address address, and 

telephone number; 

(2) the statute, rule, or both order to which the 

request relates; 

(3) all facts and information which are that the 

petitioner considers relevant to the request; 

(4) a concise statement of the manner in which 

petitioner has been aggrieved; 

(5) a draft of the declaratory ruling sought by 

petitioner, if a specified outcome is sought by 

petitioner; 

(6)(5) practices likely presumed to be affected by the 

declaratory ruling; and 

(7) a list or description of persons likely to be 

affected by the declaratory ruling; and 

(8)(6) a statement as to whether the petitioner desires 

to present oral argument, not to exceed 30 

minutes, to the Board prior to its decision. 

The Board shall ordinarily refuse to issue a declaratory 

ruling when: 

(A) the petition does not comply with this 

subdivision; Rule; 

(B) the Board has previously issued a 

declaratory ruling on substantially 

similar the same facts; 

(C) the Board has previously issued a final 

agency decision in a contested case on 

substantially similar the same facts; 

(D) the facts underlying the request for a 

declaratory ruling were specifically 

considered at the time of the adoption 

of the a rule or order in question; or 

(E) the subject matter of the request is 

involved in pending litigation. 

(c)  Petitions For Rule-Making. In addition to the procedures set 

out in G.S. 150B-20, petitions for rule-making shall be submitted 

to the Board and shall contain: 

(1) the petitioner's name, address address, and 

telephone number; 

(2) a draft of the proposed rule or rule change; 

adoption or amendment, unless the petition is 

for a proposed rule repeal; and 

(3) the reason for its proposal; 

(4)(3) the effect of the proposal on existing rules or 

decisions; rules. 

(5) data supporting the proposal; 

(6) practices likely to be affected by the proposal; 

and 

(7) a list or description of persons likely to be 

affected by the proposal. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3(f); 85B-8; G.S. 85B-3.1; 150B-4; 

150B-14(a)(1),(c); 150B-18; 150B-20; 150B-38(h). 

 

SECTION .0200 - APPLICATION FOR LICENSE  

 

21 NCAC 04B .0201 APPLICATION FORMS 

(a)  Auctioneer. Each applicant for an auctioneer license shall 

complete an application form provided by the Board. make 

application on a form prescribed by the Board and may obtain the 

required form upon request to the Board. The application form 

calls for the applicant's name and address, the applicant's social 

security number, proof of the applicant's identity, places of 

residence, education, prior auctioneering licenses, and other 

information necessary to identify the applicant and determine the 

applicant's qualifications and fitness for licensure. This form shall 

be submitted to the Executive Director Board and shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) one passport-type clear, forward facing, 2" x 2" 

color photograph of the applicant's head and 

shoulders taken within the previous six months 

for identification; 

(2) statements of the results of a local criminal 

history records search by the clerk of superior 

court (or equivalent official in other states) in 

each county where the applicant has resided and 

maintained a business within the immediate 

preceding 60 months (five years); 

(3)(2) the completed fingerprint cards provided by the 

Board and the form signed by the applicant 

consenting to the check of the criminal history 

and to the use of fingerprints and other 

identifying information; 

(4)(3) a copy of the applicant's high school diploma or 

proof of equivalency; 

(5)(4) the proper applicable fees, as required by set 

forth in 21 NCAC 04B .0202; and 

(6)(5) documentation of required auctioneer 

schooling or auctioneer experience, as follows: 

(A) Applicants who base their application 

upon their successful completion of an 

approved a school of auctioneering 

with its curriculum and instructors 

approved by the Board as set forth in 

21 NCAC 04B .0500 shall submit a 

photostatic copy of their diploma or 

certificate of successful completion. 

final transcript. An applicant shall 

have successfully completed this 

school within the five years preceding 

the date of application or if If the 

applicant has successfully completed 

this school more than the five years 

preceding the date of his or her 

application, the applicant shall submit 

documentation verifying of the 

applicant's active lawful participation 

in auctions within the two years 

preceding the date of application. The 

above referenced participation in 
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auctions is defined as "Auctioneering" 

as set forth in G.S. 85B-1(8). G.S. 

85B-1(8); 

(B) Applicants who base their application 

upon their successful completion of an 

apprenticeship shall submit a log 

which was maintained and completed 

during the apprenticeship period 

which details the exact that lists the 

hours and dates on which when they 

obtained apprenticeship experience, 

with each entry being verified and 

signed by their supervising auctioneer. 

auctioneer(s). A minimum of At least 

100 hours of experience during the 

apprenticeship two-year period shall 

be obtained. Not less than 25 of the 

total hours accumulated must shall be 

attributable to bid calling calling. and 

not Not less than 50 hours shall be 

attributable to working as a ring 

person, drafting and negotiating 

contracts, appraising evaluating 

merchandise, advertising, clerking 

clerking, and cashiering, with not less 

than five hours of accumulated 

experience documented for each 

category. activity. An apprentice who 

applies for an auctioneer license under 

this Part shall submit his or her 

application and supporting 

documentation and obtain a passing 

score on the auctioneer exam prior to 

the expiration of his or her apprentice 

auctioneer license; and license. 

(7) Non-resident applicants shall also submit a 

properly completed "Designation of Agent for 

Service of Process Form" with notarized 

signature and notarial seal affixed. 

(b)  Non-Resident Reciprocal Auctioneer. Each non-resident 

applicant for an auctioneer license, license who applies for a 

North Carolina license pursuant to G.S. 85B-5 shall complete an 

application form provided by the Board. make application on a 

form prescribed by the Board and may obtain the required form 

upon request to the Board. The application form calls for the 

applicant's name and address, the applicant's social security 

number, proof of the applicant's identity, places of residence, 

education, prior auctioneering licenses, and other information 

necessary to identify the applicant and determine the applicant's 

qualifications and fitness for licensure. This form shall be 

submitted to the Executive Director Board and shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) one passport-type clear, forward facing, 2" x 2" 

color photograph of the applicant's head and 

shoulders taken within the previous six months 

for identification; 

(2) statements of the results of a local criminal 

history records search by the clerk of superior 

court (or equivalent official) in each county 

where the applicant has resided and maintained 

a business within the immediate preceding 60 

months (five years); 

(3)(2) the completed fingerprint cards provided by the 

Board and the form signed by the applicant 

consenting to the check of the criminal history 

and to the use of fingerprints and other 

identifying information; 

(4)(3) a copy of the applicant's high school diploma or 

proof of equivalency; 

(5)(4) the proper applicable fees, as required by set 

forth in 21 NCAC 04B .0202; 

(6)(5) a statement of good standing from the licensing 

board or Commission of each jurisdiction 

where the applicant holds an auctioneer, 

apprentice auctioneer auctioneer, or auction 

firm license; and 

(7)(6) a properly completed "Designation of Agent for 

Service of Process Form" Irrevocable consent 

of the applicant that service to the Board shall 

be sufficient service of process for actions 

against the applicant by a resident of this State 

arising out of his or her auctioneering activities 

with notarized signature and notarial seal 

affixed. 

(c)  Apprentice Auctioneer. Each applicant for an apprentice 

auctioneer license shall complete an application form provided by 

the Board. make application on a form prescribed by the Board 

and may obtain the required form upon request to the Board. The 

application form calls for the applicant's name and address, the 

applicant's social security number, proof of the applicant's 

identity, places of residence, education, prior auctioneering 

licenses, and other information necessary to identify the applicant 

and determine the applicant's qualifications and fitness for 

licensure. This form shall be submitted to the Executive Director 

Board and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one passport-type clear, forward facing, 2" x 2" 

color photograph of the applicant's head and 

shoulders taken within the previous six months 

for identification; 

(2) statements of the results of a local criminal 

history records search by the clerk of superior 

court (or equivalent official) in each county 

where the applicant has resided and maintained 

a business within the immediate preceding 60 

months (five years); 

(3)(2) the completed fingerprint cards provided by the 

Board and the form signed by the applicant 

consenting to the check of the criminal history 

and to the use of fingerprints and other 

identifying information; 

(4)(3) a copy of the applicant's high school diploma or 

proof of equivalency; 

(5)(4) the proper applicable fees, as required by set 

forth in 21 NCAC 04B .0202; 

(6)(5) the signature, as designated on the apprentice 

applicant form, of the licensed auctioneer who 

will be supervising the apprentice auctioneer; 

and 
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(7)(6) a written statement of the proposed supervisor's 

background and experience in the auction 

profession to include including the number and 

types of auctions conducted or participated in 

annually; and annually, as set forth in 21 NCAC 

04B .0403. 

(8) if applicant is a non-resident, a properly 

completed "Designation of Agent for Service of 

Process Form" with notarized signature and 

notarial seal affixed. 

(d)  Auction Firms. An applicant for an auction firm shall be a 

principal within the firm. Each applicant for an auction firm 

license shall complete an application form provided by the Board. 

make application on a form prescribed by the Board and may 

obtain the required form upon request to the Board. The 

application form calls for the applicant's names and addresses, 

social security numbers, proof of identity, places of residence, 

education, prior auctioneering licenses, and other information 

necessary to identify the applicant, all principals of the firm, 

proposed designated persons for the firm, and to determine the 

firm's qualifications and fitness for licensure. This form shall be 

submitted to the Executive Director Board and shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) statements of the results of a local criminal 

history records search by the clerk of superior 

court (or equivalent official) in each county 

where any principal and designated person of 

the auction firm has resided and maintained a 

business within the immediate preceding 60 

months (five years); 

(2)(1) each of the principal's and proposed designated 

person's of the auction firm completed 

fingerprint cards provided by the Board and the 

form signed by each consenting to the check of 

the criminal history and to the use of 

fingerprints and other identifying information; 

(3)(2) a copy of each principal's and proposed 

designated person's high school diploma or 

proof of equivalency; 

(4)(3) the proper applicable fees, as required by set 

forth in 21 NCAC 04B .0202; 

(5)(4) a certified copy of any applicable Articles of 

Incorporation or Partnership Agreement; and 

(6)(5) a statement of good standing from the licensing 

board or Commission of each jurisdiction 

where the applicant firm and any principal and 

proposed designated person of such firm holds 

an auctioneer license of any type; and type. 

(7) if applicant firm is a non-resident, a properly 

completed "Designation of Agent for Service of 

Process Form" (one each for the auction firm 

and for each principal and designated person of 

the firm) with notarized signature and notarial 

seal affixed and, if a corporation, the corporate 

seal and corporate secretary's signature affixed. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-1; 85B-3.1; 85B-4(d); 85B-5; 85B-3.2; 85B-

4; 85B-5. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0202 FILING AND FEES 

(a)  Properly completed Completed applications must shall be 

filed (received, not postmarked) received in the Board office at 

least seven days prior to an established a published Board meeting 

date, or in the case of an application for auctioneer examination, 

at least 10 days prior to a scheduled examination as published on 

the Board's website, and must shall be accompanied by all 

required documents. 

(b)  License fees are as follows: 

(1) New auctioneer license for an applicant who 

did not serve an apprenticeship $250.00 

This includes a $150.00 annual license fee; 

$50.00 application fee; and 

$50.00 examination fee. 

(2) New auctioneer license for an apprentice 

auctioneer   $200.00 

This includes a $150.00 annual license fee; and 

$50.00 examination fee. 

(3) Renewal of auctioneer license $150.00 

(4) New apprentice auctioneer license $150.00 

This includes a $100.00 license fee and a 

$50.00 application fee. 

(5) Renewal of apprentice auctioneer license 

    $100.00 

(6) New auction firm license (no examination) 

    $200.00 

This includes a $150.00 annual license fee; and 

$50.00 application fee. 

(7) New auction firm license (examination) 

    $250.00 

This includes a $150.00 annual license fee; 

$50.00 application fee; 

and $50.00 examination fee. 

(8) Renewal of an auction firm license  

    $150.00 

(9) Application and processing fee for conversion 

of non-resident reciprocal license to  

in-state license   $ 50.00 

(10) Reinstatement of lapsed license or late fee 

    $ 50.00 

(11) Resident fingerprint card background check fee

    $ 14.00 

Applicants who have been continuous residents 

of North Carolina for the five 

years preceding the date of application shall be 

required to have only a State 

background check. 

(12)(11) Non-resident fingerprint Fingerprint card 

background check fee  $ 38.00 

Applicants who have not been continuous 

residents of North Carolina for the five 

years preceding the date of application shall be 

required to have both a State and 

Federal background check. 

(c)  The renewal fee for a non-resident reciprocal licensee under 

G.S. 85B-5 shall be calculated in the same manner as the initial 

application fee pursuant to G.S. 85B-6. 

(d)  Fees may be paid in the form of a cash or a check, cashier's 

check, certified check check, or money order made payable to the 
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North Carolina Auctioneer Licensing Board. Checks drawn on 

escrow or trust accounts shall not be accepted. Personal checks 

may be accepted for payment of renewal fees. License renewal 

fees and reinstatement of license fees shall be paid by credit card 

or debit card only when a license renewal fee (and when 

applicable, a reinstatement of license fee) is submitted by the 

licensee through the Board's website. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3.2; G.S. 85B-3.2(g); 85B-4.1; 85B-5(i); 85B-

6. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0203 EXTENSIONS FOR MEMBERS 

OF THE ARMED FORCES 

The Board shall waive the license renewal fee and shall grant an 

extension of time for up to one year for completing and reporting 

continuing education credits for those licensees currently licensed 

and in good standing with the Board who are serving in the Armed 

Services of the United States, and to whom G.S. 105-249-2 grants 

an extension of time to file a tax return. 

 

Authority G.S. 93B-15. 

 

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATIONS 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0301 SUBJECT MATTER 

(a)  The auctioneer license examination shall test the applicant's 

knowledge of the following required subjects: 

(1) a practical and working knowledge of the 

auction business including fundamentals of 

auctioneering, conduct of auctions, 

auctioneering ethics, contract drafting, bid 

calling, basic mathematical computations and 

percentages, advertising, settlement statements, 

and laws, regulations, laws and rules that relate 

to the auctioneering profession; 

(2) the provisions of the licensing law; and 

(3) the Rules of the Board. rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The auction firm license examinations shall test the applicants 

knowledge of the following; 

(1) the provisions of the licensing law; and 

(2) the Rules of the Board. rules of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(d)(g); G.S. 85B-4(d)); 85B-4(g). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0302 RE-EXAMINATION/REFUND OF 

FEES 

If the applicant does not appear at the initial examination for 

which he or she has been scheduled or fails to pass such 

examination, he will be re-scheduled for the next scheduled 

examination. If the applicant again does not appear or fails to pass 

this examination, a refund of the annual auctioneer or apprentice 

license fee will be made. No refund of the application or 

examination fee is allowed. The Board shall refund the licensure 

fee, but not the application or examination fee. A complete new 

application and proper appropriate fees are shall be required if the 

person wishes to reapply. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4; 85B-6. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0303 EXAM: REVIEW: PAPERS AND 

CONTENTS 

(a)  Any applicant who fails to obtain a passing score (75 percent 

or better) of 75 percent or higher on an examination may request 

and receive an appointment with the Executive Director Board 

staff to review their his or her examination. 

(b)  All examination papers shall remain the property of the Board. 

The contents thereof shall not be divulged, except by express 

written authorization of the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4; 93B-8. 

 

SECTION .0400 – LICENSING 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0401 LICENSE NUMBER: DISPLAY 

OF LICENSE AND POCKET CARD 

(a)  When being licensed each individual or firm shall be issued a 

license number which remains solely his. The Board shall issue to 

each individual or firm a non-transferable license number. Should 

that If the number be is retired for any reason (such such as death, 

failure to continue in the auction business, or failure to renew his 

or her license, or any other reason) that number shall not be 

reissued back to the individual or the firm or to any other 

individual or firm. the Board shall not reissue the number. 

(b)  A pocket card shall be issued by the Executive Director giving 

Board with the auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer auctioneer, or 

auction firm's name, license number number, and date of 

expiration. The pocket card must shall be carried by the licensee, 

and in the case of auction firms each of the designated person(s), 

at all times when auctioneering activities are being conducted and 

shall be available for inspection by the Executive Director or 

designated agent of the Board. An auction firm shall display its 

license in a prominent place upon its premises, so as to be visible 

for inspection by patrons of the firm. 

(c)  An auction firm shall display its license in its premises, so as 

to be visible for inspection by patrons of the firm. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-4. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0402 LICENSE RENEWAL 

(a)  Any licensee desiring seeking the renewal of a license which 

that is in good standing shall apply for same and shall submit the 

required fees and such records or documentation requested by the 

Executive Director fees, records, and documentation required to 

verify the licensee's compliance with G.S. 85B and the rules 

promulgated in this Chapter. All licenses expire on June 30 each 

year. 

(b)  Applications for renewal of licenses will shall only be 

processed by the Board upon receipt of the required fee and any 

records, documents, or information, requested pursuant to 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Any person or entity who engages in any auctioneering 

activities governed by the auctioneers law while the license is 

lapsed will shall be subject to the penalties pursuant to G.S. 85B-

9. 

(d)  Licenses lapsed or suspended in excess of 24 months shall not 

be renewable. Persons or firms whose license has been lapsed or 

suspended in excess of 24 months and who desire to be licensed 

shall apply for a new license and shall meet all the requirements 
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then existing. Persons or firms whose license has been lapsed or 

suspended in excess of 24 months and who desire to be licensed 

are shall be exempt from the auctioneer school or the 

apprenticeship requirements should if the continuing education 

requirements be have been met for all lapsed, suspended 

suspended, and inactive years. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-4. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0403 APPRENTICE AUCTIONEER 

LICENSE 

(a)  An apprentice auctioneer's license is shall be valid only while 

he or she is associated with and supervised by a licensed 

auctioneer assigned approved by the Board. In order to be 

assigned approved by the Board as a supervisor, the Board must 

shall receive a written notice, signed by the prospective supervisor 

and the apprentice, requesting that the licensed auctioneer be 

assigned approved as a supervisor for the apprentice. Upon receipt 

of such a request, the Board shall evaluate review the requested 

assignment approval. and such The requested assignment may 

approval shall be denied by the Board if the prospective 

supervisor fails to possess a minimum of five years of active 

experience in the auctioneering profession or an equivalent 

combination of training and experience or has committed any act 

which constitutes grounds for that resulted in license suspension 

or revocation under the rules of this Subchapter or under G.S. 

85B. Upon termination of the association between the supervisor 

and the apprentice, the supervisor shall immediately notify the 

Board in writing, showing the date and cause of termination. 

(b)  The supervising auctioneer shall be on the premises of the sale 

location and supervise the apprentice auctioneer at any and all 

times that an apprentice auctioneer is engaged in bid calling. 

Additionally, the supervising auctioneer shall supervise the 

apprentice on a regular basis and ensure that the apprentice 

auctioneer conforms with the auctioneer law and Rules adopted 

by the Board. the rules of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Any licensed auctioneer who undertakes the sponsorship 

supervision of an apprentice auctioneer shall ensure that provide 

the apprentice receives with training, supervision, and guidance 

in the following: 

(1) A a practical and working knowledge of the 

auction business including fundamentals of 

auctioneering, conduct of auctions, 

auctioneering ethics, contract drafting, bid 

calling, basic mathematical computations, 

advertising, and settlement statements; 

(2) The the provisions of the licensing law; 

(3) The the Rules of the Board; rules of this 

Subchapter; and 

(4) The the preparation and maintenance of written 

agreements, record books, and other sales 

records as required by law. G.S. 85B-7. 

(d)  Apprentices are prohibited from conducting or contracting 

shall not conduct or contract to conduct any auction without the 

prior express written consent of the sponsor. supervisor(s). No 

sponsor supervisor shall authorize an apprentice to conduct or 

contract to conduct an auction, to act as principal auctioneer 

auctioneer, or handle any funds related to an auction unless the 

sponsor supervisor has determined that the apprentice has 

received adequate the training to do so. An apprentice auctioneer 

may work under more than one Board approved Board-approved 

licensed auctioneer at any given time. 

(e)  The sponsor supervisor(s) shall ensure that the apprentice 

complies with all of the laws and Rules as they apply to any 

auction related auction-related transaction approved by the 

sponsor. supervisor. 

(f)  An apprentice auctioneer shall notify the Board, in writing, 

immediately upon within 10 days of termination of his or her 

association with his or her supervising auctioneer, at which time 

his or her license shall be immediately held placed in an invalid 

status. If an apprentice auctioneer's supervising auctioneer's 

license has been suspended, suspended or revoked, or placed on 

probation the apprentice auctioneer's license shall be immediately 

held placed in an invalid status. Once in an invalid status, an 

apprentice auctioneer shall not conduct or contract to conduct any 

auction. If an apprentice's license is invalid greater than 90 days 

due to a lack of an approved sponsor, the apprentice upon securing 

an approved sponsor shall be required to submit a late 

reinstatement fee as set forth in 21 NCAC 04B .0202(b)(10). 

Upon termination of the association between the supervisor and 

the apprentice, both licensees shall notify the Board in writing 

within 10 days, showing the date and cause of termination. At this 

time the apprentice auctioneer's license shall be placed in an 

invalid status, unless at least one Board-approved supervisor 

remains in place for the apprentice. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-4; 85B-7. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0404 GROUNDS FOR LICENSE 

DENIAL OR DISCIPLINE 

(a)  The Board may assess a civil penalty in accordance with G.S. 

85B-3.1(b) or deny, suspend, or revoke a license, or issue a letter 

of reprimand to a licensee, upon any of the following grounds: 

(1) violation of any provision of G.S. 85B; 

(2) violation of any provision of the rules under 21 

NCAC, 04B; rule in this Subchapter; 

(3) a check given to the Board in payment of 

required fees which that is returned unpaid; 

(4) allowing an unlicensed person (auctioneer) to 

call a bid at a sale; sale, except as authorized in 

21 NCAC 04B .0506. 

(5) auctioneering at an unlicensed auction firm 

sale; 

(6) failure to properly, completely and fully 

complete an application or making any false 

statement or giving any false information in 

connection with an application for a license, 

renewal renewal, or reinstatement of a license 

including: 

(A) failure to completely cooperate with 

any investigation; or 

(B) making any false statement or giving 

any false information in connection 

with any investigation by the Board or 

the Board's designee; staff; 

(7) being adjudicated mentally incompetent by a 

court; 
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(8) committing being convicted of a crime the 

circumstances of which substantially relate to 

the auctioneering profession; 

(9) violating violation of any federal or state statute 

or rule which statute, rule, or regulation that 

relates to the auctioneering profession; 

(10) practicing the profession for which the holder 

has a license individual is licensed while the 

holder's his or her ability to practice was 

impaired by alcohol or other drugs or physical 

or mental disability or disease; 

(11) being incompetent in practice. A licensee has 

been In this Subparagraph, "being incompetent 

in practice practice" means if the licensee has 

engaged in conduct which that evidences a lack 

of ability, fitness or knowledge to apply 

principles or skills of the auctioneering 

profession; 

(12) engaging in unprofessional conduct. In this 

Paragraph Subparagraph, "unprofessional 

conduct" means the violation of licensee has 

violated any standard of professional behavior 

which that through professional experience has 

become established in the auctioneering 

profession; 

(13) obtaining or attempting to obtain compensation 

by fraud or deceit; 

(14) violating violation of any order of the 

Auctioneer Licensing Board requiring a 

licensee to comply with any provision of the 

Board's law or administrative rules; 

(15) failure to possess truth, honesty and integrity 

sufficient to be entitled to the high regard and 

confidence of the public. In this paragraph Rule 

a lack of truth, honesty and integrity "truth, 

honesty, and integrity" shall be evidenced by 

proof that the applicant or licensee is in 

violation of other provisions of the Board's law 

and administrative rules which that demonstrate 

that the applicant or licensee fails to meet this 

standard; or 

(16) failure to properly make the disclosures 

required by 21 NCAC 04B .0405. 

(b)  When applying the requirements of Rule .0404(a) Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule to auction firms or their applications, the 

requirements shall apply to the firm, all the principals, and all of 

the designated persons of the firm. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-8(a)(1); 85B-8. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0405 INVOLVEMENT IN COURT 

ACTION OR ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING 

(a)  All auctioneers, apprentice auctioneers auctioneers, and 

auction firms, including their principals and designated person(s), 

shall report to the Board any and all criminal arrests for, charges 

of of, or convictions of a misdemeanor that has as an essential 

element dishonesty, deceit, fraud fraud, or misrepresentations, 

misrepresentation, or any arrests, charges charges, or convictions 

of any felony. Convictions include findings of guilt, guilty pleas, 

and pleas of nolo contendere. The Board must shall receive 

written notice of any such arrest, charge or criminal conviction 

within 30 days of the occurrence of any or all of these events. 

(b)  All auctioneers, apprentice auctioneers auctioneers, and 

auction firms, including their principals and designated person(s), 

shall report to the Board any and all civil suits involving them that 

are based upon any allegation of gross negligence, dishonesty, 

fraud, misrepresentation misrepresentation, or incompetency, or 

that in any way involve an auction sale or a transaction related to 

an auction matter or auctioneering. The Board must shall receive 

written notice of any such civil suit within 30 days of the date the 

complaint in the suit is served on the defendant in the action, or 

the date a pleading containing one or more of these allegations is 

served on a party. 

(c)  All auctioneers, apprentice auctioneers auctioneers, and 

auction firms, including their principals and designated person(s), 

shall report to the Board any and all administrative proceedings 

which are commenced against them which that involve any 

potential revocation or suspension of, or other disciplinary action 

against, any auction license or auctioneer license that they hold in 

another state. The Board must shall receive written notice of any 

such administrative proceeding within 30 days of the date the 

auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer or auction firm, including its 

principals and designated person(s), is notified of the 

administrative proceeding. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-4. 

 

SECTION .0500 - SCHOOLS OF AUCTIONEERING 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0501 APPLICATION FOR COURSE 

APPROVAL 

(a)  Schools of auctioneering seeking accreditation approval of its 

curriculum and instructors by the Board shall complete a Board 

approved application form. make application on a form prescribed 

by the Board and may obtain the required form upon request to 

the Board. The application form calls for the name, address, and 

other contact information for the school, curriculum description, 

a list of instructors, a description of each instructor's education 

and experience, and other information necessary to determine the 

fitness of the school's curriculum and instructors for approval. 

This form shall be submitted to the Board. 

(b)  The school shall notify the Board within 30 days of any 

change in the information required by the above application form. 

This requirement shall continue as long as the school school's 

curriculum and instructors remains remain approved by the 

Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-4(d). 
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21 NCAC 04B .0502 REQUIREMENTS FOR APPROVAL/MINIMUM STANDARDS 

(a)  In order to be accepted as an approved school, and in order to remain approved, the The course curriculum must shall contain 

classroom instruction in the following subjects for the minimum number of hours shown: 

(1) Essential Core Curriculum (minimum 50 hours); 

16 15 Hours - Bid Calling, Voice Control, Proper Breathing Techniques, 

and Use and Sequence of Numbers; 

4 Hours - Advertising; Advertising and Marketing; 

8 Hours - Auctioneers Law and Rules and Regulations; 

2 Hours - Uniform Commercial Code and Bulk Transfers; 

2 Hours - Drafting and Negotiating Contracts; 

2 Hours - Closing Statements and Settlements; 

8 Hours - Accounting and Mathematics; 

1 2 Hour Hours - Auctioneering Ethics; 

2 Hours - Handling Sale Proceeds and Escrow Accounts; 

2 Hours - Auction Preparation and Setup; 

3 Hours - Review and Testing (End of Course). 

(2) Supplemental Instruction Areas (minimum 30 hours): 

Antiques    Heavy Equipment 

Real Estate    Automobiles 

Technology    Cattle and Livestock 

Environmental Issues   Public Speaking 

Computers    Estate Sales 

Firearms     Appraising 

Foreclosure and Bankruptcy Sales  Sales Tax Requirements 

Art, Rugs, Jewelry   Hygiene and Personal Appearance  

Body Language    Ring Work  

Farm Machinery    Consignment Auctions 

Cyber Security and Client Property Protection 

Minimum hours are not required in individual supplemental subjects, however, all topics must Each Supplemental 

Instruction Area shall be addressed in the school. 

(3) Courses Schools that include students that will have expressed to the school an interest to become North Carolina 

applicants must shall provide a minimum of 2 hours of instruction on the North Carolina Auctioneers Law and Rules, 

G.S. 85B and 21 NCAC 04B. This instruction shall be included within the minimum required 8 hours instruction of 

Auctioneers Law and Rules and Regulations. 

 

(b)  Students attending an approved course must shall attend and 

successfully complete a minimum of 80 hours of classroom 

instruction according to the list of subjects and minimum hours of 

instruction in each subject specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

An hour of creditable instruction is defined as 50 minutes of 

classroom instruction or practical exercise accompanied by a 10 

minute break. 

(c)  Each course offered must school's curriculum shall include 

instruction by a minimum of five different instructors, at least two 

of whom must shall be professional auctioneers. Regardless of the 

total number of hours taught by any given instructor, no more than 

20 hours of an individual's instruction may be counted to satisfy 

the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  The school shall establish standards for all persons who 

instruct in an approved school with minimum training or 

experience, or a combination thereof, in the particular field in 

which they are instructing. 

(e)  The instructors shall be truthful, honest, and of high integrity 

as defined in 21 NCAC 04B .0404(a)(15). 

(e)(f)  The school shall provide or make available suitable 

facilities, equipment, materials materials, and supplies necessary 

for the course, specifically including: 

(1) a comfortable, well-lighted and ventilated 

climate-controlled classroom with a seating 

capacity sufficient to accommodate all 

students; and 

(2) audio-visual equipment and other instructional 

devices and aids necessary and beneficial to the 

delivery of effective training. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3.1; 85B-4(d). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0503 CERTIFICATION OF COURSE 

COMPLETION 

Schools shall furnish each student who successfully completes 

their his or her course an official certification of graduation or 

diploma a transcript containing the student's name, the date the 

course was completed completed, and the total number of hours 

attended and successfully completed by that student. For 

successful completion of a course, students must successfully 

complete a written final examination administered by the school. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3(f); 85B-4(d). 
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21 NCAC 04B .0504 RECORDS MUST BE 

MAINTAINED 

Each school shall maintain, maintain for five years, and make 

available upon request of the Board, Board or its designee, staff, 

records containing the following information: 

(1) the dates, times of instruction, and location of 

every course offered; 

(2) the names names, and addresses, and the 

number of hours attended and successfully 

completed, and grade on the final written 

examination completed of each student; 

(3) a list of all instructors used by the school, the 

qualifications of each, and their addresses; and 

(4) for each course offered, the names of all 

instructors used, the subject(s) taught, the 

number of hours that each instructor devoted to 

each subject, and the dates and times of such the 

instruction. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3(f); 85B-4(d). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0505 GROUNDS FOR APPROVAL: 

APPROVAL, DENIAL, SUSPENSION SUSPENSION, OR 

REVOCATION 

(a)  The approval of a school school's curriculum and intstructors 

by the Board shall be valid for a period of two years. Each 

approved school approval shall be evaluated for reapproval by the 

Board prior to the expiration of the two year period. 

(b)  The Board may deny, suspend suspend, or revoke the 

approval of any school school's curriculum and instructors when 

it finds that the school has failed to meet or to continuously 

maintain any requirement, standard or procedure requirement of 

this Section. Additionally, the The Board may deny, suspend 

suspend, or revoke the approval of any school school's curriculum 

and instructors upon a finding that any information required under 

this Section was knowingly falsified or misrepresented. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3(f); 85B-4(d). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0506 ALLOWING UNLICENSED BID 

CALLERS: EXCEPTION 

The only exception to allowing an unlicensed bid caller in the 

State of North Carolina will be in the case of a person enrolled in 

a class at an approved school of auctioneering who, for the 

purpose of training and receiving instruction, may do so A person 

enrolled in a class at a school of auctioneering with Board-

approved curriculum and instructors may call bids without a 

license if it is done for the purpose of training and receiving 

instruction. The bid calling by an unlicensed individual shall be 

done under the direct supervision of a licensed auctioneer who is 

also an instructor in the school and who further assumes full and 

complete responsibility for the activities of the student in the 

matter involving bid calling. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3(f); 85B-4(d). 

 

SECTION .0600 - GENERAL AUCTIONEERING 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0601 CHANGE OF ADDRESS OR 

BUSINESS NAME OR OWNERSHIP 

(a)  All licensees shall notify the Board in writing of each change 

or addition of residence or business address address, (including 

including mailing address) address, and change of trade name, 

assumed name, or combination of names under which the licensee 

conducts business related to auctions. 

(b)  In the case of a corporate license, said the licensee shall 

immediately notify the Executive Director Board of any change 

in the directors or officers of the corporation corporation. and such 

The new director(s) or officer(s) shall comply with the provisions 

of 21 NCAC 04B .0201(d)(1), (2), (3), (5), (6)(6), and (7). If the 

new directors or officers have a 51% or greater controlling interest 

in the corporation, the firm license shall be retired and the firm 

shall apply for a new license. 

(c)  In the case of a partnership license, said the licensee shall 

immediately notify the Executive Director Board of any change 

in partners and such new partners shall comply with the provisions 

of 21 NCAC 04B .0201(d)(1), (2), (3), (5), (6)(6), and (7). 

(d)  In the case of an auction firm license, the licensee shall 

immediately notify the Executive Director Board of any change 

in a designated person(s). If the designated person is a currently 

licensed auctioneer under G.S 85B, the designated person shall be 

required to comply with the provisions of 21 NCAC 04B 

.0201(d)(1), (6)(6), and (7). If the designated person is not a 

currently licensed auctioneer under G.S. 85B, the designated 

person shall be required to comply with the provisions of 21 

NCAC 04B .0201(d)(1), (2), (3), (6)(6), and (7). 

(e)  Any change in address, business name or ownership required 

by these Rules changes of reported information required by this 

Rule shall be reported within 10 days of the occurrence of such 

change. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0602 ADVERTISING 

(a)  In all advertisements relating to an auction, the auctioneer's, 

apprentice auctioneer's auctioneer's or auction firm's name and 

license number shall be conspicuously given. If an auctioneer is 

working for or in conjunction with an auction firm, such the 

relationships relationship shall be disclosed and both license 

numbers shall be conspicuously given. A general advertisement 

which that does not concern a specific sale(s) sale or specific sales 

and which that does not list sale dates, times times, or locations, 

generally referred to as trolling or holding advertisements, shall 

not be subject to any identification requirement. A licensee may 

advertise under a name, assumed name, trade name, or 

combination of names, only if written notice has been previously 

filed with the Board. 

(b)  Any licensee who advertises an "Estate Sale" shall 

specifically disclose, in all advertisement materials, whether it is 

the estate of a living or deceased person. Before conducting an 

auction as an "estate sale," the majority of items in the sale shall 

come from the estate of the living or deceased person(s). Other 

items not related to or in an estate may be sold with an estate if 

specifically disclosed at or before the time of the auction. 

(c)  It shall be a violation of these Rules to advertise a "Bankruptcy 

Sale" unless the item(s) offered for sale, whether real or personal, 

are from an active bankruptcy action. Before conducting an 
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auction as a "bankruptcy sale," the majority of the items in the sale 

shall come from the bankruptcy of one or more parties. Other 

items not related to or from a bankruptcy action may be sold with 

items from a bankruptcy action if specifically disclosed at or 

before the time of the auction. 

(d)  It shall be a violation of these Rules this Rule to advertise an 

item, either real or personal, as "Absolute" or "Without Reserve" 

if the item is subject to confirmation, minimum bid, or any other 

condition of sale. Before advertising an auction as absolute or 

without reserve, the majority of items in the sale shall be offered 

for sale absolute or without reserve. Items that are not absolute 

may be included in the auction provided they are specifically 

designated as such in all announcements or and advertisements. 

(e)  It shall be a violation of these Rules this Rule to advertise any 

auction using such descriptive words as "Urgent," "Emergency," 

"Distress" or any other word which that connotates connotes 

liquidation of assets or that the buyers will, for some extraordinary 

reason, will be in a position to reap some unusual bargain without 

specifically disclosing, in the written advertisement in a print size 

equal to the descriptive word, the reason that the sale is "urgent," 

the nature of the "emergency" "emergency," or the cause of the 

"distress," "distress." etc. 

(f)  It shall be a violation of these Rules this Rule to advertise any 

auction using such descriptive words as "Seized," "Confiscated," 

"Forfeited" "Forfeited," or any other word which that connotes a 

governmental action whereby items are seized or taken by a 

government department, agency or commission and released or 

sold or that the buyers will, for some governmental reason, be in 

a position to reap some unusual bargain without specifically 

disclosing, in the written advertisement in a print size equal to the 

descriptive word, the exact nature of the government action. 

(g)  It shall be a violation of these Rules this Rule to advertise any 

items as being from an "estate" or a "bankruptcy," or from an 

"urgent," "emergency," "distress," "seized," "confiscated," 

"forfeited" "forfeited," or similar sale, unless the consignor of the 

item(s) to be sold is the original owner of the item(s), the 

designated representative of the owner, or a federal, state or local 

department, agency agency, or commission charged with 

disposing of the item(s), and consigned the item(s) directly to the 

advertised sale. 

(h)  It shall be a violation of these Rules this Rule to: 

(1) Reference the U.C.C. or any other uniform act 

or federal or state law in any advertisement 

unless such the act or law is required, by law, to 

be referenced; 

(2) Reference or mention any federal, state or local 

department, agency or commission in any 

advertisement unless specifically required by 

law to do so or unless prior written approval is 

received from such department, agency or 

commission; or 

(3) Otherwise connote in any advertisement that 

the auction is under the auspices of, at the 

direction of of, or required by federal or state 

law or act or a federal, state or local agency or 

commission and that the buyers will, for some 

legal or governmental reason, be in a position 

to reap some unusual bargain. 

(i)  It shall be a violation of these Rules this Rule to advertise for 

sale items which that the auctioneer/firm does not intend to offer 

for sale at the advertised auction. 

(j)  It shall be a violation of these Rules this Rule for an auctioneer 

or auction firm to permit its name or license number to appear on 

any advertisement for an auction without reviewing the contents 

of the advertisement prior to its publication to ascertain its 

compliance with applicable law and Rules. G.S. 85B and this 

Subchapter. 

(k)  It shall be a violation of these Rules this Rule to advertise any 

auction using such descriptive words as "Contents," "Stock," 

"Inventory," "Liquidation" "Liquidation," or any other word 

which connotes that the items to be auctioned are present on the 

premises of a residence, business, building building, or 

establishment unless the items were physically present 

continuously without interruption for 30 days prior to the signing 

of the contract or written agreement. Before conducting an auction 

using any of the descriptive words, the majority of the items in the 

sale shall be from the premises. Other items not related to or from 

the contents of the residence or business may be included in the 

auction provided they are specifically designated as such in all 

advertisements previous to the sale. The 30 day requirement shall 

not apply to items used in direct conjunction with the residence or 

business and brought to the site solely for the purpose of sale at 

auction. 

(l)  At all auctions that include a buyer's premium, the amount of 

the buyer's premium shall be announced at the beginning of the 

auction and a written notice of this information shall be 

conspicuously displayed or distributed to the public at the auction 

site. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-1; 85B-3.1; 85B-8(a)(4). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0603 SALE PROCEEDS, 

ACCOUNTING AND ESCROW ACCOUNTS 

(a)  Each payment made payable to the auctioneer/firm in of 

which any portion belongs to others, and which are not disbursed 

to the seller on auction day, must shall be deposited in an escrow 

account for the benefit of the owner or seller of such property 

within three business days after receipt of same. 

(b)  Any licensee who disburses any funds on auction day shall 

prepare a receipt or settlement statement in compliance with G.S. 

85B-7.1(a) and maintain records in compliance with G.S. 85B-

7.1(b). 

(c)  Every auctioneer/firm that does not disburse all funds to the 

seller on auction day shall establish and maintain a separate bank 

account designated as "Custodial Account for Sellers Proceeds" 

or some similar identifying designation, to disclose that the 

depositor is acting as a fiduciary and that the funds in the account 

are trust funds. 

(d)  Such custodial Custodial accounts for sellers proceeds must 

shall be established and maintained in banks banks, credit unions, 

or savings and loan associations located in the State of North 

Carolina whose deposits are insured by the Federal Deposit 

Insurance Corporation, or comparable state or federal recognized 

insurance agency or program. 

(e)  The Custodial Account for Sellers shall be drawn on only for 

payment of: 
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(1) the net proceeds to the seller, or to any person 

that the auctioneer/firm knows is entitled to 

payment; 

(2) to pay lawful charges against the property 

which that the auctioneer/firm shall in its 

agency capacity as agent, be is required to pay; 

and 

(3) to obtain any sums due the auctioneer/firm as 

compensation for its services. 

(f)  In the event of a dispute between the seller and buyer of goods 

or property or between the licensee and any person in whose name 

trust or escrow funds are held, the licensee shall retain said monies 

in his or her trust or escrow account until he or she has obtained a 

written release from the parties consenting to its disposition or 

until disbursement is ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

(g)  Each auctioneer/firm shall keep such accounts and records as 

will disclose at all times that document the handling of funds in 

such a Custodial Accounts Account for Sellers Proceeds. 

Accounts and records must shall at all times disclose the names of 

buyers and the amount of purchase and payment from each, also, 

the names of the sellers and the amount due and payable to each 

from funds in the Custodial Account for Sellers Proceeds. The 

names of the buyers and amount of purchase and payment from 

each buyer related to an individual seller shall be delivered to the 

seller within 14 days of a written request made within 90 days of 

settlement of a specific auction. 

(h)  All trust or escrow account records and records of 

disbursement shall be available for inspection by the Commission 

or its designated agent, Board staff without advance notice, and 

copies shall be provided to the Commission Board upon request. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-3(f); 85B-7.1; G.S. 85B-7.1; 85B-8(a). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0604 CONTRACTS, CONSIGNMENT 

RECORDS, SALES RECORDS, AND BIDDER 

REGISTRATION RECORDS 

(a)  All written agreements for auctions and registration, sales and 

accounting records shall be maintained at the site during the 

conduct of the auction and, upon request, shall be made available 

to the Commission or its designated agent. 

(b)  An auction house, auction barn, or auction gallery business 

may enter into a written agreement with regular dealers or sellers 

for an extended period of time, not to exceed one year. 

(c)  The consignment records shall be kept by the licensee for a 

period of two years from the date of the auction. 

(d)  At an auction house, auction barn, or auction gallery, when 

consignments are brought to the location by the public during that 

specific auction sale, the sales records and the consignment 

records may be the same. 

(e)  The sales records shall be kept by the licensee for a period of 

two years from the date of the auction. 

(f)  The bidder registration records shall contain the bidders' 

names, addresses, telephone numbers, and when possible e-mail 

email addresses. The bidder registration records shall be kept by 

the licensee for a period of two years from the date of the auction. 

(g)  All required records shall be open for inspection by the 

Commission or its designated agent at reasonable times, or copies 

of the same shall be provided to the Commission or its designated 

agent upon written request. 

(h)  In auctions of consigned property, any buyer's premium shall 

be calculated, collected, and distributed according to terms 

authorized by the consignor in a written auction contract. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-1; 85B-7; G.S. 85B-7; 85B-7.1; 85B-8. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0605 BIDDING 

(a)  No auctioneer/auction firm shall bid on items in a sale he or 

she is conducting or procure such a the bid without the intent to 

purchase the item. However, in a sale with reserve, the 

auctioneer/auction firm may bid on the reserve item up to, and 

including, the amount of the reserve price without the intent to 

purchase the item. In any auction where the auctioneer/auction 

firm bids or such auctioneer/auction firm procures such a bid, the 

auctioneer shall announce such bidding in advance of the auction. 

(b)  A minimum opening bid shall not be required in an absolute 

auction. Following an opening bid, the auctioneer may set 

reasonable minimum bid increments. Such a policy shall be stated 

disclosed and, if possible, posted or included in the 

auctioneer's/auction firm's spoken, posted, and written terms and 

conditions of the sale. In this Paragraph "reasonable minimum bid 

increments" are shall be determined by the type and value of the 

property being offered at an auction. 

 

Authority G.S. 25-2-328(4); 85B-1; 85B-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0606 AUCTION FIRMS 

(a)  All licensed auction firms shall have at least one Board 

approved Board-approved designated person. If a licensed auction 

firm does not have at least one Board-approved designated person 

person, in good standing, the status of the auction firm license 

shall be changed to invalid. it shall not engage in auctioneering 

activity. 

(b)  Only Board-approved designated person(s) for an auction 

firm shall have the authority to transact business under the firm 

license. This includes arranging, managing, soliciting, and 

contracting auctions; the supervision of the auction staff; the 

supervision of the acceptance of consignments of items for sale at 

auction; the supervision of the advertising of an auction; and the 

supervision of the acceptance of payment and disbursement of 

monies for items sold at auction. 

(c)  At least one designated person shall be on the premises of an 

auction firm's auction sale location while the auction sale is 

conducted. 

(d)  Any auctioneer licensed under G.S. 85B may call bids for a 

licensed auction firm without being a designated person. 

(e)  Any apprentice auctioneer licensed under G.S. 85B and 

supervised by the sponsor his or her supervising auctioneer may 

call bids for a licensed auction firm without being a designated 

person. 

(f)  Individuals that hold a currently valid real estate broker license 

are shall be exempt from the auction firm examination 

examination. if their Their authority to transact business as a 

designated person under the auction firm license is only related 

limited to real estate sales at auction. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-1; 85B-3.1; 85B-4. 
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21 NCAC 04B .0607 NON-AUCTION FIRM SOLE 

PROPRIETOR AUCTION BUSINESSES 

(a)  A licensed auctioneer who owns and operates a non-auction 

firm sole proprietor auction business has the sole responsibility 

for arranging, managing, soliciting, and contracting auctions; the 

supervision of the auction staff; the supervision of the acceptance 

of consignments of items for sale at auction; the supervision of 

the advertising of an auction; and the supervision of the 

acceptance of payment and disbursement of monies for items sold 

at auction. 

(b)  A licensed auctioneer or an apprentice auctioneer who is 

employed or contracted by another licensed auctioneer who owns 

and operates a non-auction firm sole proprietor auction business 

shall only be responsible for calling bids and performing duties 

that a non-auctioneer is allowed to perform. 

(c)  A licensed auctioneer who owns and operates a non-auction 

firm sole proprietor auction business shall be on the premises of 

his or her businesses' auction sale location while the auction sale 

is conducted. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-1; 85B-3.1. 

 

SECTION .0700 - RECOVERY FUND 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0701 APPLICATIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0800 - CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0801 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

COURSE 

(a)  To renew a license on in active status, an auctioneer, 

apprentice auctioneer, or designated person(s) in an auction firm 

shall complete a Board approved Board-approved course(s) 

consisting of the hours of instruction as established as in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule and shall provide documentation of 

completion of the above Board approved Board-approved 

course(s) to the Board. within one year preceding license 

expiration. 

(1) "Within one year preceding license expiration 

time period" shall be defined as from May 16 to 

the following May 15 in the year that the license 

expires. 

(2)(1) An auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer, or 

designated person(s) in an auction firm shall 

provide documentation on required continuing 

education courses to the Board by the May 15 

deadline of the current renewal period. 

(3) If the required documentation is not received by 

the Board by the deadline as set forth in 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule, the licensee 

shall be assessed a late fee as set forth in Rule 

.0202(b)(10) of this Subchapter. 

(4)(2) The renewal shall not be processed until 

compliance is achieved and the required fees 

are received as set forth in Rule .0402(b) of this 

Subchapter. The Board shall not process a 

license renewal until the licensee has complied 

with this Rule. 

(b)  The Board shall approve courses that shall be conducted by 

sponsors approved by the Board under this Section. The subject 

matter of this course shall be determined by the course sponsor 

subject to Paragraph (h) of this Rule. The course sponsor shall 

produce or acquire provide instructor and student materials. The 

course must shall be conducted as prescribed by the rules in this 

Section. At the beginning of the course, sponsors must provide 

licensees participating in their classes a copy of the student 

materials developed or acquired by the sponsor. 

(c)  The sponsor may conduct the course at any location as 

frequently often as is desired during the approval period. 

Approval of a sponsor to conduct a course authorizes the sponsor 

to conduct the course using an instructor who has been approved 

by the Board as a course instructor under Rule .0804 of this 

Section. 

(d)  The minimum classroom hours of instruction for each year 

shall be six four. unless the Board establishes at its April monthly 

Board meeting fewer hours for the upcoming year pursuant to 

G.S. 85B-4(e1). In determining whether fewer hours may be 

established, the Board shall analyze the disciplinary actions and 

complaints against its licensees and base its decision on whether 

the analysis shows that a reduction in hours is justified. 

(e)  An auctioneer, an apprentice auctioneer, or a designated 

person(s) in an auction firm shall complete the continuing 

education requirements for each renewal period that their license 

was lapsed or suspended. 

(f)  Credit hours applied to the current renewal of a license shall 

not be used for future renewals. 

(g)  Excess continuing education hours may be carried forward as 

credits for a maximum of one renewal year. 

(h)  The Board may mandate the topic(s) for all or part of an 

approved course as a continuing education requirement pursuant 

to G.S. 85B-4(e1). In determining whether to mandate the topic 

for all or part of an approved course as a continuing education 

requirement, the Board shall analyze the disciplinary actions and 

complaints against its licensees and base its decision on whether 

the analysis shows that mandating the topic for all or part of a 

course is justified. 

(i)(h)  No part of any prelicensing course curriculum shall count 

as continuing education credit hours. 

(j)(i)  Continuing education shall not be required until the second 

renewal after initial licensing pursuant to G.S. 85B-4(e). 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4.(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0802 APPLICATION FOR ORIGINAL 

APPROVAL 

(a)  An entity seeking original approval to sponsor a course must 

shall make application on a form prescribed by the Board. Board 

and may obtain the required form upon request to the Board. The 

application form calls for the name, address, and other contact 

information for the sponsor, a list of instructors, a description of 

each instructor's education and experience, and other information 

necessary to determine the fitness of the sponsor and instructors 

for approval. An applying entity that is not a resident of based in 

North Carolina shall also file with the application a consent to 

service of process and pleadings. 

(b)  Approval to sponsor a course shall be granted to an applicant 

upon showing to the satisfaction of the Board that: 
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(1) The applicant has submitted all information 

required by the Board; Board in the application. 

(2) The applicant satisfies all of the requirements of 

Rule .0805 of this Section relating to 

qualifications or eligibility of course sponsors; 

(3) The applicant continuing education coordinator 

required by Rule .0805(e) must shall be 

truthful, honest honest, and of high integrity as 

referenced defined in 21 NCAC 04B 

.0404(a)(15). In this regard, the The Board may 

shall consider the reputation and character of 

any owner, officer or director of any 

corporation, association or organization 

applying for sponsor approval; and 

(4) The applicant has at least one proposed 

instructor who has been approved by the Board 

as a course instructor under Rule .0804 of this 

Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0803 STUDENT FEE FOR COURSES 

Sponsors of a course may establish the amount of the fee to be 

charged to students taking this the course; provided, however, 

course. However, that the established fee must shall be an all-

inclusive fee and no separate or additional fee may be charged to 

students for providing course materials, providing course 

completion certificates, reporting course completion to the Board, 

or for recouping similar routine other administrative expenses. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0804 APPROVAL OF CONTINUING 

EDUCATION INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  Approval of course instructors shall be accomplished at the 

time of the approval of the course sponsor. Approval of a course 

instructor authorizes the instructor to teach the course only for the 

approved course sponsor. An approved course instructor may not 

independently conduct a course unless the instructor has also 

obtained approval as a course sponsor. is conducting the course 

under the supervision of an approved course sponsor. 

(b)  An entity seeking original approval as a course sponsor must 

shall provide the name, address, and qualifications of the 

instructors for the course as set forth in this Rule on the 

application form prescribed by the Board. Board and may obtain 

the required form upon request to the Board. The application form 

calls for the name, address, and other contact information for the 

sponsor, a list of instructors, a description of each instructor's 

education and experience, and other information necessary to 

determine the fitness of the sponsor and instructors for approval. 

No additional application fee is required. All required information 

regarding the instructor's qualifications must be submitted. 

(c)  The instructor(s) must shall be truthful, honest honest, and of 

high integrity as referenced defined in 21 NCAC 04B 

.0404(a)(15). 

(d)  The instructor(s) must shall be qualified under one or more of 

the following standards: 

(1) Possession of a baccalaureate or higher degree 

with a major in the field of marketing, finance, 

or business administration; 

(2) Possession of a current North Carolina 

auctioneer or auction firm license, three years 

active full-time experience in auctioneering 

within the previous 10 years, and 30 classroom 

hours of auction education, excluding 

prelicensing education, within the past three 

years, such education covering topics which 

that are acceptable under Board rules for 

continuing education credit; in compliance with 

these Rules; 

(3) Possession of a current North Carolina real 

estate broker license, three years active full-

time experience in the real estate business 

within the previous 10 years, and experience 

teaching real estate prelicensing and continuing 

education courses; 

(4) Possession of a license to practice law in North 

Carolina and three years experience in law 

practice within the previous 10 years; or 

(5) Possession of qualifications found by the Board 

to be equivalent to one or more of the standards 

set forth in this Rule. 

(e)  The Board may shall deny or withdraw approval of any course 

instructor upon finding that: 

(1) The course sponsor or the instructor has made 

any false statements or presented false 

information in connection with an application 

for approval; 

(2) The instructor has failed to meet the criteria for 

approval described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule 

or has refused or failed to comply with any 

other provisions of this Subchapter; 

(3) The instructor has failed to demonstrate, during 

the teaching of courses, those effective teaching 

skills described in Rule .0815 of this Section; or 

(4) The instructor has provided false or incorrect 

information in connection with any reports a 

course sponsor is required to submit submitted 

to the Board. 

(f)  If a licensee who is an approved course instructor engages in 

any dishonest, fraudulent or improper conduct in connection with 

the licensee's activities as an instructor, the licensee shall be 

subject to disciplinary action pursuant to G.S. 85B-8 and G.S. 

85B-9. 

(g)  Upon the written request of the Board, an approved course 

instructor must shall submit to the Board a videotape video 

recording depicting the instructor teaching the course. The 

videotape video recording must shall have been made within 12 

months of the date of submission, must shall be in VHS electronic 

format, and must shall include a label which clearly identifies 

identify the instructor and the date of the videotaped presentation. 

(h)  An approved instructor who is a licensee of the Board shall 

receive continuing education credit hours for instruction at a rate 

of one hour for every one-half hour of approved course taught. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 
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21 NCAC 04B .0805 SPONSOR REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Any legal An entity is eligible to seek approval as a sponsor 

of continuing education courses, provided that the entity seeking 

approval is either the owner of the proprietary rights to the course 

or has lawfully acquired from the course owner the right to seek 

course approval from the Board and to conduct such the course. 

(b)  The official name to be used by any course sponsor in 

connection with the offering of an approved continuing education 

course must shall clearly distinguish the sponsor from any other 

previously approved continuing education course sponsor. Unless 

the sponsor is an auction school with approved curriculum and 

instructors pursuant to G.S. 85B-4(d) that is proposing to operate 

continuing education courses in its own name, the official name 

also must shall clearly distinguish the sponsor from any approved 

auction school. school with approved curriculum and instructors. 

Sponsor applicants proposing to use a sponsor name which that 

does not comply with this standard may Paragraph shall be 

required to adopt a different name as a condition of approval. 

(c)  Any advertisement or promotional material utilized by an 

approved course sponsor must shall include the course sponsor's 

official name and shall not include any other name for the sponsor. 

(d)  Prospective All sponsors of a course must shall obtain written 

approval from the Board to conduct such course prior to 

advertising a course or conducting the a course and shall not 

advertise prior to advertising or otherwise representing that the a 

course is or may be approved for continuing education credit in 

North Carolina. Carolina prior to Board approval. No retroactive 

approval to conduct a course shall be granted for any reason. 

(e)  A sponsor of a course must shall designate one person to serve 

as the continuing education coordinator for all Board-approved 

continuing education courses offered by the sponsor. The 

designated coordinator shall serve as the official contact person 

for the sponsor and shall be responsible for the following: 

(1) Supervising the conduct of all the sponsor's 

Board-approved continuing education courses; 

(2) Signing the course completion certificates 

provided by the sponsor to licensees completing 

courses; and 

(3) Submitting to the Board all required rosters, 

reports and other information. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0806 COURSE COMPLETION 

REPORTING 

(a)  Course sponsors must shall prepare and submit to the Board 

reports verifying student's completion of each continuing 

education course conducted. Sponsors must shall submit these 

reports to the Board in a manner that will assure receipt by the 

Board within thirty 30 calendar days following the course, but in 

no case later than May 15 for courses conducted prior to that date. 

Reports shall include the following: 

(1) the Official official course name; 

(2) the Sponsor or sponsor and coordinator name, 

mailing address, and telephone number; 

(3) the Coordinator coordinator signature 

certifying that the information is correct; 

(4) the Name, name, address, and North Carolina 

license number of each licensee who 

satisfactorily completes completed the course 

and who desires continuing education credit for 

the course; 

(5) the Physical physical location where the course 

was conducted; 

(6) the Date(s), date(s), and starting and ending 

times of each course; and 

(7) the Number number of credit hours. 

(b)  At the request of the Board, course sponsors must provide 

licensees enrolled in each continuing education course an 

opportunity to complete an evaluation of the course upon 

completion of the course. 

(c)(b)  Course sponsors shall provide each licensee who 

satisfactorily completes an approved continuing education course 

a course completion certificate. Sponsors must shall provide the 

certificates to licensees within thirty 30 calendar days following 

the course, but in no case later than May 15 for any course 

completed prior to that date. The certificate shall be retained by 

the licensee as secondary proof of having completed the course. 

Course completion certificates shall include the following: 

(1) the Official official course name; 

(2) the Name name of licensee who satisfactorily 

completes the course; 

(3) the Date(s) date(s) of attendance; 

(4) the Number number of credit hours; and 

(5) the Coordinator coordinator signature 

certifying that the information is correct. 

(d)  When a licensee in attendance at a continuing education 

course does not comply with the student participation standards, 

standards of Rule .0817 of this Section, the course sponsor shall 

advise inform the Board of this matter in writing at the time 

reports verifying completion of continuing education for the 

course are submitted. A sponsor who determines that a licensee 

failed to comply with either the Board's attendance standards of 

Rule .0816(a) of this Section or the student participation standards 

of Rule .0817 of this Section shall not provide the licensee with a 

course completion certificate nor shall the sponsor include the 

licensee's name on the reports verifying completion of continuing 

education. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0807 CHANGE IN SPONSOR 

OWNERSHIP AND OTHER INFORMATION 

(a)  The approval granted to a course sponsor may be transferred 

to a new or different entity only with the advance approval of the 

Board. 

(b)  Course sponsors must shall notify the Board in writing prior 

to any change in business name, continuing education 

coordinator, address address, or business telephone number. 

(c)  Course sponsors must shall obtain advance approval from the 

Board for any changes to be made in the content or number of 

hours for courses; courses. provided that However, changes in 

course content which are solely made for the purpose of assuring 

that information provided in a course is current and accurate do 

not require approval during the approval period, but shall be 

reported at the time the sponsor requests renewal of course 

approval. Requests for approval of changes shall be in writing. 
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Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0808 COURSE RECORDS 

All course sponsors must shall retain on file for two years records 

of student registration and attendance for each session of a 

continuing education course that is conducted and shall make such 

records available to the Board, or its designee, staff upon request. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0809 RENEWAL OF COURSE AND 

SPONSOR APPROVAL 

Board approval of all continuing education course sponsors 

expires shall expire on the next June 30 following the date of 

issuance. In order to assure continuous approval, a A completed 

renewal application prescribed by the Board, Board must shall be 

submitted to the Board annually on or before April 30. Applicants 

for renewal as a continuing education course sponsor may obtain 

the required form upon request to the Board. The application form 

calls for the name, address, and other contact information for the 

sponsor, a list of any new instructors, a description of each new 

instructor's education and experience, and other information 

necessary to determine the fitness of the sponsor and instructors 

for approval. Any continuing education course sponsor's renewal 

applications that are not received or that are not complete on or 

before April 30 shall not have met the guidelines requirements for 

renewal and must meet the criteria for original approval as set 

forth in Rule .0802. in order to conduct continuing education shall 

seek approval pursuant to Rule .0802 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0810 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

APPROVAL 

(a)  The Board may deny or withdraw approval of any course or 

course sponsor upon finding that: 

(1) The course sponsor has made any false 

statements or presented any false information in 

connection with an application for course or 

sponsor approval or renewal of such approval; 

(2) The course sponsor or any official or instructor 

in the employ of the course sponsor has refused 

or failed to comply with any of the provisions 

of this Rule; Section .0800 or these Rules; 

(3) The course sponsor or any official or instructor 

in the employ of the course sponsor has 

provided false or incorrect information in 

connection with any reports the course sponsor 

is required to submit to the Board; 

(4) An instructor in the employ of the course 

sponsor fails to conduct approved courses in a 

manner that demonstrates possession of 

accordance with the teaching skills described in 

Rule .0815 of this Section; or 

(5) Any court of competent jurisdiction has found 

the course sponsor sponsor, or any official or 

instructor instructor, or any person in the 

employ of the course sponsor to have violated, 

in connection with the offering of continuing 

education courses, any applicable federal or 

state law or regulation prohibiting 

discrimination on the basis of disability, 

requiring places of public accommodation to be 

in compliance with prescribed accessibility 

standards, or requiring that courses related to 

licensing or certification for professional or 

trade purposes be offered in a place and manner 

accessible to persons with disabilities. 

(b)  If a licensee who is an approved course sponsor or an 

instructor in the employ of an approved course sponsor engages 

in any dishonest, fraudulent fraudulent, or unlawful conduct in 

connection with the licensee's activities as a course sponsor or 

instructor, the licensee shall be subject to disciplinary action 

pursuant to G.S. 85B-8 and G.S. 85B-9. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0811 MINIMUM CLASS SIZE 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0812 SCHEDULING AND NOTICE OF 

SCHEDULED COURSES 

(a)  An hour of creditable instruction is defined as 50 minutes of 

instruction or practical exercise accompanied by a 10 minute 

break. break of up to 10 minutes. 

(b)  Sponsors must shall provide the Board written notice of all 

scheduled course offerings not later than 10 days prior to a 

scheduled course date. The notice shall include the name of the 

sponsor and, for each scheduled course, the name of the course, 

the scheduled date and time, specific location, and name of the 

instructor(s). 

(c)  Sponsors must shall notify the Board of any schedule changes 

or course cancellations at least five days prior to the original 

scheduled course date. If a last minute change or cancellation is 

necessary five or less days before the course date due to some 

weather, staffing, or other unforeseen circumstance, then notice 

shall be provided to the Board as soon as possible. possible, and 

in no event more than 10 days later. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0813 ADVERTISING; PROVIDING 

COURSE INFORMATION 

(a)  Course sponsors must shall not utilize advertising of any type 

that is false or misleading misleading. in any respect. If the 

number of continuing education credit hours awarded by the 

Board for an approved course is less than the number of scheduled 

hours for the course, any course advertisement or promotional 

materials which indicate that the course is approved for 

mandatory auctioneer continuing education credit in North 

Carolina must specify the number of continuing education credit 

hours awarded by the Board for the course. In any advertisement 

for a course, the sponsor shall state the total number of hours of 

the course and the number of those hours that are Board-approved 

for continuing education credit. 

(b)  Any flyers, brochures brochures, or similar materials utilized 

to promote a continuing education course must shall clearly 
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describe state the fee to be charged and the sponsor's cancellation 

and fee refund policies. 

(c)  Upon course approval, course sponsors may shall include in 

course descriptions and promotional materials the information 

contained in the following illustration: This course [seminar or 

program] has been approved by the Auctioneer Licensing Board 

for continuing education credit in the amount of __ hours. This 

course is not sponsored by the Board. 

(d)  Course sponsors of any course must, shall provide to any 

prospective student, upon request, provide any prospective 

student a description of the course content content. sufficient to 

give the prospective student a general understanding of the 

instruction to be provided in the course. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0814 CONDUCT OF CLASSES 

(a)  All class sessions of approved continuing education courses 

must shall be open to all licensees on a first-come/first-served 

basis; basis. provided that the The sponsor of a course which has 

a bona fide an education or experience prerequisite, such as an 

advanced course leading to a special auctioneer designation, may 

refuse admission to a licensee not satisfying such prerequisite. 

(b)  Courses not conducted electronically by electronic means 

must shall be conducted in a facility that provides an appropriate 

learning environment as set forth in 21 NCAC 04B .0502(e). 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0815 INSTRUCTOR CONDUCT AND 

PERFORMANCE 

(a)  Instructors All instructors must shall assure ensure that class 

sessions are commenced in a timely manner and are conducted at 

the scheduled time and for the full amount of time that is 

scheduled. Instructors must also assure that each student is 

furnished student materials that directly support the topic matter 

being taught. 

(b)  Instructors must shall conduct themselves in a professional 

and courteous manner when performing their instructional duties 

and must shall conduct classes in a manner that demonstrates 

demonstrate a mastery of the following basic teaching skills: the 

ability to: 

(1) The ability to communicate effectively through 

speech, including the ability to speak clearly 

using generally accepted grammar and 

vocabulary. and present accurate and relevant 

information; 

(2) The ability to present an effective visual image 

images to a class by appearance and physical 

mannerisms. mannerisms; 

(3) The ability to present instruction in a thorough, 

accurate, logical, orderly organized and 

understandable manner, to utilize illustrative 

examples examples, and to respond to questions 

from students. students; 

(4) The ability to effectively utilize varied 

instructional techniques in addition to straight 

lecture, such as class discussion, role playing or 

other techniques. utilize a variety of 

instructional techniques that require students to 

analyze and apply course content, including 

teacher-centered approaches, such as lecture 

discussion, reading, group problem solving, 

case studies, and scenarios; 

(5) The ability to effectively utilize instructional 

aids to enhance learning. aids; 

(6) The ability to maintain a conducive learning 

environment conducive to learning and 

effective control of a class. class; and 

(7) The ability to interact with adult students in a 

positive manner that encourages students to 

learn, that demonstrates an understanding of 

varied student backgrounds, that avoids 

offending the sensibilities of students, and that 

avoids personal criticism of any other person, 

agency agency, or organization. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0816 MONITORING ATTENDANCE 

(a)  Sponsors and instructors must shall strictly monitor 

attendance for the duration of each class session to assure that all 

students reported as satisfactorily completing a course according 

to these Rules have attended at least 90 percent of the scheduled 

classroom hours. Students Sponsors shall not be admitted admit 

students to a class session after 10 percent of the scheduled 

classroom hours have been conducted. Students shall not be 

allowed to sign a course completion card, shall not be issued a 

course completion certificate, and shall not be reported to the 

Board as having completed a course unless the student fully 

satisfies the attendance requirement. Unless a student satisfies the 

attendance requirement in this Paragraph, the sponsor shall not 

allow the student to sign a course completion card, issue a course 

completion certificate to a student, or report to the Board that the 

student completed the course. Sponsors and instructors may shall 

not make any exceptions to the attendance requirement for any 

reason. 

(b)  Sponsors must shall assure that provide adequate personnel, 

in addition to the instructor, are present during all class sessions 

to assist the instructor in monitoring attendance and performing 

the necessary administrative tasks associated with conducting a 

course. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0817 STUDENT PARTICIPATION 

STANDARDS 

(a)  In addition to requiring student compliance with the 

attendance requirement, sponsors and instructors shall require that 

students Students shall comply with the following student 

participation standards: 

(1) A student shall direct his or her attention to the 

instruction being provided and refrain from 

engaging in activities unrelated to the 

instruction. 

(2) A student shall refrain from engaging in any 

activities which that are distracting disruptive to 
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other students or the instructor, or which that 

otherwise disrupt the orderly conduct of a class. 

(3) A student shall comply with all instructions 

provided by the sponsor or instructor related to 

providing information needed to properly 

report completion of a course by the student. 

(b)  Instructors and sponsors may dismiss from a class session any 

student who fails to comply with the student participation 

standards prescribed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Sponsors shall not issue a course completion certificate to any 

student who fails to comply with the student participation 

standards set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, nor shall sponsors 

include the name of such student on their reports verifying 

completion of a continuing education course. Sponsors shall 

submit to the Board with their reports for the class session a 

written statement which that includes the name and license 

number of the student for whom the sponsor does not report 

course credit, details concerning the student's failure to comply 

with the student participation standards, and names of other 

persons in attendance at the class who witnessed the student's 

conduct. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0818 ADDITIONAL SPONSOR 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Sponsors and instructors may make available for purchase by 

continuing education students materials that belong to the 

sponsor, sponsor instructor, or some other party; however, 

instructor. class Class time may not be used to promote or sell any 

materials or to solicit affiliation or membership in any business, 

organization, or association. 

(b)  Course sponsors must shall administer course cancellation 

and fee refund policies in a consistent and non-discriminatory 

manner. In the event a scheduled course is canceled, reasonable 

efforts must be made the course sponsor shall attempt to notify 

preregistered students of the cancellation and all prepaid fees 

received from such preregistered students must shall be refunded 

within 30 days of the date of cancellation or, with the student's 

permission, applied toward the fees for another course. 

(c)  Course sponsors shall admit the Board's authorized 

representative to monitor any continuing education class without 

prior notice. Such The representative shall not be required to 

register or pay any fee and shall not be reported as having 

completed the course. 

(d)  Course sponsors may deviate from these Rules the rules of 

this Section concerning the conduct of continuing education 

courses, such as rules addressing classroom facilities, minimum 

class size and instructional methods, as may be necessary in order 

for the sponsor to comply with the Americans with Disabilities 

Act or other laws requiring such sponsors to accommodate 

persons with disabilities. A sponsor providing a special 

accommodation for a licensee with a disability that requires the 

sponsor to deviate from these Rules shall notify the Board in 

writing of the accommodation at the time reports are submitted 

for the class session attended by the licensee. 

 

Authority G.S. 85-4(e1). 

 

21 NCAC 04B .0819 ALTERNATIVE COMPLIANCE 

(a)  An auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer, or designated person of 

an auction firm who is unable to attend a Board-approved course 

and obtain the requisite hours of instruction established by the 

Board may apply to the Board for submit evidence of alternative 

compliance. 

(b)  A written request for submission of alternative compliance 

shall be received by the Board by May 15 of the year in which 

when the requisite hours of instruction are to be completed. 

(c)  If approved, the The course of instruction submitted as 

alternative compliance shall be completed prior to license renewal 

renewal. and shall be exempt from the late fee. 

(d)  Alternative compliance shall include: 

(1) Academic courses at a community college, 

junior college, or college college, or university 

located in this State and accredited by the 

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools 

accredited by an agency recognized by the 

United States Department of Education in any 

of the following topics: 

(A) Accounting; 

(B) Finance; 

(C) Business Management; 

(D) Business Law; 

(E) Economics; 

(F) Marketing; 

(G) Computer Science;  

(H) Sales; or  

(I) Enhancing Personal or Professional 

Skills. 

(2) Completion of any non-real real estate appraisal 

course with evidence of successful completion; 

and accredited by a state real estate licensing 

body. 

(3) Publication of an article in professional journal 

of general circulation among the membership of 

the profession. 

 

Authority G.S. 85B-4(e1). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Dental Examiners intends to amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 16B .0301, .0501, .0601, .0701, .0801, .1001, .1002; 16C 

.0301, .0501; 16D .0104; 16E .0102, .0103; 16G .0107, .0108; 

and 16Y .0102. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncdentalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 12, 2019 

Time:  6:30 p.m. 
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Location:  2000 Perimeter Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, 

NC 27560 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The following rules are proposed 

for amendment:   

21 NCAC 16B .0301; 21 NCAC 16B .0501; 21 NCAC 16B .0601; 

21 NCAC 16B .0701; 21 NCAC 16B .0801; 21 NCAC 16B .1001; 

21 NCAC 16B .1002; 21 NCAC 16C .0301; 21 NCAC 16C .0501; 

21 NCAC 16D .0104; 21 NCAC 16E .0102; 21 NCAC 16E .0103; 

21 NCAC 16G .0107; 21 NCAC 16G .0108; and 21 NCAC 16Y 

.0102.  

The above rules are proposed for amendment to ensure that all 

items requested on an application for licensure or permit are 

specifically contained in the respective rules, to eliminate 

redundancy and consolidate common requirements across the 

application rules, and to ensure that the application rules are 

consistent internally and with applicable statutory authority. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Bobby White, 2000 Perimeter 

Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 27560 

 

Comment period ends:  January 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16B - LICENSURE DENTISTS 

 

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

 

21 NCAC 16B .0301 APPLICATION FOR 

LICENSURE 

(a)  All applications for licensure as a dentist shall be made on the 

forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and no 

application shall be deemed complete that does not set forth all 

the required information. Incomplete applications will be returned 

to the applicant. Any applicant who changes his or her address 

shall notify the Board office within 10 business days. Applicants 

shall ensure that official transcripts of undergraduate college and 

dental school are sent in a sealed envelope to the Board office. 

shall include the following information: 

(1) full name; 

(2) street address as of the date of the application; 

(3) permanent street address; 

(4) preferred mailing address for all information; 

(5) telephone number; 

(6) email address; 

(7) age; 

(8) date of birth; 

(9) place of birth; 

(10) citizenship or immigration status, with 

verifying documentation; 

(11) social security number; 

(12) marital status; 

(13) any other name by which the applicant was 

known in the past, accompanied by a certified 

copy of a court order of name change, if 

applicable; 

(14) all resident addresses for the 10 years preceding 

the date of application; 

(15) the names, addresses, and phone numbers for 

two individuals to whom the applicant always 

provides the applicant's current address; 

(16) disclosure and explanation of any bankruptcy 

proceedings in which the applicant was a 

named party; 

(17) the license number, issuing state, and expiration 

date for all current drivers' licenses held by the 

applicant, and the issuing state for all drivers' 

licenses held in the past by the applicant; 

(18) the date of the applicant's previous application 

for examination by the Board, if applicable; 

(19) the date and type of any dental permit or 

provisional license for which the applicant 

applied in the past, if applicable; 

(20) if the applicant failed an examination 

administered by a dental board, the date of the 

examination and jurisdiction of the dental board 

that administered the examination; 

(21) if any dental board has refused to administer an 

examination to applicant, the jurisdiction of the 

dental board that refused to administer the 

examination and the date of the refusal; 

(22) the dates upon which the applicant has taken the 

Dental National Board Examination, the 

location of the examination, and authorization 

for the Board to access the examination scores; 

(23) if the applicant failed the Dental National Board 

Examination, the date of the failed 

examination; 

(24) if the applicant has applied for a dental license 

in any other state or foreign country, the date of 

the application and whether the license was 

issued to the applicant; 

(25) all employment held by the applicant for the 

past 10 years other than dentistry; 
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(26) if the applicant was terminated from 

employment within the past 10 years, an 

explanation regarding the termination; 

(27) all dental licenses from other jurisdictions ever 

held by the applicant, including type of 

licensure, license number, and dates of 

licensure; 

(28) if the applicant has ever been suspended or 

otherwise disqualified, or reprimanded, 

censured, or otherwise disciplined by any 

licensing board, professional organization, or 

while the applicant was holding public office, a 

written statement disclosing: 

(A) the facts that formed the basis for the 

discipline; 

(B) the date of the discipline; 

(C) whether the applicant appealed the 

discipline and the outcome of any 

appeal; and 

(D) the name and address of the authority 

in possession of records related to 

discipline; 

(29) if the applicant has ever been the subject of a 

complaint with any licensing board, 

professional organization, or while the 

applicant was holding public office, a written 

statement disclosing: 

(A) the facts that gave rise to the 

complaint; 

(B) the date of the complaint; 

(C) whether the organization that received 

the complaint instituted proceedings 

against the applicant; and 

(D) the name and address of the authority 

in possession of records related to the 

complaint; 

(30) if the applicant has ever been reported to the 

National Practitioner Data Bank or the 

Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, 

a written statement disclosing: 

(A) the facts that formed the basis for the 

report; 

(B) the date of the report; and 

(C) the name and address of the authority 

in possession of records related to the 

report; 

(31) if the applicant is a diplomate, board-eligible, 

or a declared specialist in any branch of 

dentistry, a statement of specialty and how he 

or she is qualified; 

(32) if the applicant has taken any post-graduate 

training or refresher courses, other than 

continuing education courses, since receiving 

his or her dental degree, a written statement of 

the dates, locations, and names of the training 

or refresher courses; 

(33) if the applicant has ever been dropped, 

suspended, expelled, or disciplined by any post-

secondary school or college, a written statement 

disclosing: 

(A) the facts leading to the discipline; 

(B) the date of the discipline; and 

(C) the school or college issuing the 

discipline; 

(34) if the applicant has ever been denied admission 

to any college or post-secondary school for a 

reason other than academic qualifications, a 

written statement explaining the reason for the 

admission denial; 

(35) if the applicant has ever served in the armed 

forces of the United States or any other country, 

a written statement explaining: 

(A) whether the applicant has been 

separated from service; 

(B) the nature of the separation; 

(C) if other than honorable, the 

circumstances surrounding his or her 

release from service; 

(D) dates of service; 

(E) the facts leading to any charges or 

complaints made or filed against the 

applicant while the applicant was 

serving in the armed forces, and the 

outcome of the charges or complaints; 

(F) the facts leading to any disciplinary 

proceedings instituted against the 

applicant while serving in the armed 

forces, and the outcome of the 

proceedings; and 

(G) if the applicant was ever a defendant 

in any court martial, the facts giving 

rise to those proceedings and the 

outcome of the proceedings; 

(36) a statement of whether the applicant has 

registered under the Military Selective Service 

Act; 

(37) a statement of whether the applicant has ever: 

(A) been summoned to court or before a 

magistrate for the violation of any law 

or ordinance or for the commission of 

any felony or misdemeanor; 

(B) been arrested for the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(C) been taken into custody for the 

violation of any law or ordinance or 

for the commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(D) been indicted for the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(E) been convicted or tried for the 

violation of any law or ordinance or 

for the commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 
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(F) been charged with the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; or 

(G) pleaded guilty to the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(38) if the applicant has been admitted to practice 

dentistry in any jurisdiction, a certified 

statement disclosing all the dental practices at 

which the applicant has worked from dental 

school graduation to the date of the application, 

including: 

(A) the dates during which the applicant 

was employed as a dentist or engaged 

in practice; 

(B) the addresses of offices of places at 

which the applicant was employed or 

practicing, and the names and 

addresses of all employers, partners, 

associates, or other dentists sharing 

office space; 

(C) whether the applicant was practicing 

general dentistry or a specialty; and 

(D) the reason for the termination of each 

employment or period of private 

practice; 

(39) if the applicant has ever held any other health 

care license, a written statement disclosing: 

(A) the type of license held by the 

applicant; 

(B) the dates the applicant held the license; 

and 

(C) the licensing board that issued the 

license; 

(40) if the applicant has ever held hospital privileges 

and those privileges were suspended or 

revoked, a written statement disclosing the date, 

location, and reason the privileges were 

suspended or revoked; 

(41) if the applicant has ever held a federal Drug 

Enforcement Administration license or 

registration number and, if that license or 

registration number has ever been revoked, 

suspended, or surrendered, a written statement 

disclosing the date, location, and reason for the 

revocation, suspension, or decision to surrender 

the license or registration number; 

(42) the applicant's post-high school, pre-dental 

education, including the name and location of 

the schools the applicant attended and the 

period of attendance; 

(43) each degree conferred upon the applicant, 

including the date of the degree and institution; 

(44) copies of the applicant's transcripts of 

undergraduate college; 

(45) the name and location of each dental school that 

the applicant attended, the period of attendance, 

the degree conferred upon applicant, and the 

institution that conferred the degree; 

(46) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

current condition or impairment, including 

substance abuse, alcohol abuse, or a mental, 

emotional, or nervous disorder or condition, 

that in any way affects the ability to practice 

dentistry. For purposes of this Rule, "current" 

means recently enough that the condition or 

impairment may affect the applicant's ability to 

function as a dentist as set out in G.S. 90-

41(a)(2) and (7). If the applicant contends that 

the condition or impairment is reduced or 

ameliorated because the applicant is receiving 

ongoing treatment or participating in a 

monitoring or support program, the applicant 

may provide information regarding the 

treatment or program, and may include any 

verification demonstrating that the applicant 

has complied with all provisions and terms of 

any drug treatment program, or impaired 

dentists or other impaired professionals 

program; 

(47) a photograph of the applicant, taken within six 

months prior to the date of the application; 

(48) a completed fingerprint record card and signed 

release of information form authorizing the 

Board to request a fingerprint-based criminal 

history record check from the North Carolina 

State Bureau of Investigation (SBI); 

(49) a copy of an unexpired CPR certificate; and 

(50) if the applicant holds, or has held in the past, a 

dental license in any other state or jurisdiction, 

a copy of a National Practitioner Data Bank 

Report concerning the applicant that was 

obtained within six months prior to the date the 

Report is submitted to the Board. 

(b)  The applicant shall submit to the Board the notarized 

application form with all the information and materials listed in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, accompanied by the The nonrefundable 

application fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101. shall accompany 

the application. 

(c)  Applicants who are licensed in other states shall ensure that 

the Board receives verification of licensure from the board of each 

state in which they are licensed. In addition to the requirements of 

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, the applicant shall request the 

applicable entity to send the following required information or 

documents to the Board office, with each document in an 

unopened envelope sealed by the entity involved: 

(1) the applicant's official transcripts from a dental 

school accredited by the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation of the American Dental 

Association; 

(2) if the applicant is licensed in other states, a 

certificate of the applicant's licensure status 

from the dental regulatory authority or other 

occupational or professional regulatory 

authority, accompanied by a disclosure of any 

disciplinary action taken or investigation 
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pending, from all licensing jurisdictions where 

the applicant holds or has ever held a dental 

license or other occupational or professional 

license; and 

(3) examination scores required by Rule .0303(b) 

of this Subchapter that shall include the 

American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX) 

dental licensure examinations. 

(d)  A photograph of the applicant, taken within six months prior 

to the date of the application, shall be affixed to the application. 

The Board shall receive all information and documentation set 

forth in Paragraphs (a) through (c) of this Rule and the applicant's 

passing scores on all examinations required by Rule .0303 of this 

Subchapter for the application to be complete. Applications that 

are not completed within one year of being submitted to the Board 

shall be disregarded as expired without a refund of the application 

fee. 

(e)  All applicants shall submit to the Board a signed release form, 

completed Fingerprint Record Card, and such other form(s) 

required to perform a criminal history check at the time of the 

application. The form and card are available from the Board 

office. Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify 

the Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(f)  All applicants shall arrange for and ensure the submission to 

the Board office the examination scores as required by Rule 

.0303(b) of this Subchapter, if applicable. The examination 

requirement does not apply to individuals who do not hold a North 

Carolina dental license and who are seeking volunteer licenses 

pursuant to G.S. 90-21.107 or licensure by endorsement pursuant 

to Rules .1001 or .1002 of this Subchapter. Any license obtained 

through fraud or by any false representation shall be revoked. 

(g)  All applicants shall include a statement disclosing and 

explaining periods within the last 10 years, of any voluntary or 

involuntary commitment to any hospital or treatment facility, 

observation, assessment, or treatment for substance abuse, with 

verification demonstrating that the applicant has complied with all 

provisions and terms of any drug treatment program, or impaired 

dentists or other impaired professionals program. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30; 90-39; 90-41; 90-48. 

 

SECTION .0500 – LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS 

 

21 NCAC 16B .0501 DENTAL LICENSURE BY 

CREDENTIALS 

(a)  An applicant for a dental license by credentials shall submit 

to the Board: 

(1) a completed, notarized application form 

provided by the Board; Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the 

information and materials required by Rule 

.0301(a) of this Subchapter; 

(2) the non-refundable licensure by credentials fee; 

fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101; 

(3) an affidavit from the applicant stating for the 

five years immediately preceding the 

application: year period set out in G.S. 90-

36(c)(1): 

(A) the dates that and locations where the 

applicant has practiced dentistry; 

(B) that the applicant has provided at least 

5,000 hours of clinical care directly to 

patients, not including post graduate 

training, residency programs or an 

internship; and 

(C) that the applicant has continuously 

held an active, unrestricted dental 

license issued by another U.S. state or 

U.S. territory; territory, without any 

period of interruption; and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

investigations, malpractice claims, or state or 

federal agency complaints, judgments, 

settlements, or criminal charges; or settlements 

that are related to licensure and are not 

disclosed elsewhere in the application. 

(5) a statement disclosing and explaining periods 

within the last 10 years of any voluntary or 

involuntary commitment to any hospital or 

treatment facility, observation, assessment, or 

treatment for substance abuse, with verification 

demonstrating that the applicant has complied 

with all provisions and terms of any county or 

state drug treatment program, or impaired 

dentists or other impaired professionals 

program; 

(6) a copy of a current CPR certificate; and 

(7) a statement disclosing whether or not the 

applicant holds or has ever held a registration 

with the federal Drug Enforcement 

Administration (DEA) and whether such 

registration has ever been surrendered or 

revoked. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

an applicant for a dental license by credentials shall arrange for 

and ensure the submission to the Board office request the 

applicable entity to send the following required information or 

documents as a package, to the Board office, with each document 

in an unopened envelope sealed by the entity involved: 

(1) the applicant's official transcripts verifying that 

the applicant graduated from a dental school 

accredited by the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation of the American Dental 

Association; 

(2) if the applicant is or has ever been employed as 

a dentist by or under contract with a federal 

agency, a letter certifying the applicant's current 

status and disciplinary history from each federal 

agency where the applicant is or has been 

employed or under contract; 

(3)(2) a certificate of the applicant's licensure status 

from the dental regulatory authority or other 

occupational or professional regulatory 

authority and a full, fair and accurate disclosure 

of any disciplinary action taken or investigation 

pending, from all licensing jurisdictions where 

the applicant holds or has ever held a dental 
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license or other occupational or professional 

license; 

(3) examination scores required by Rule .0303(b) 

of this Subchapter; 

(4) a report from the National Practitioner 

Databank; 

(5)(4) a report of any pending or final malpractice 

actions against the applicant verified by the 

malpractice insurance carrier covering the 

applicant. The applicant shall submit a letter of 

coverage history from all current and all 

previous malpractice insurance carriers 

covering the applicant; and 

(5) a letter of coverage history from all current and 

all previous malpractice insurance carriers 

covering the applicant. 

(6) a score certification letter from a dental 

professional regulatory board or regional 

testing agency of a passing score on a clinical 

licensure examination substantially equivalent 

to the clinical licensure examination required in 

North Carolina by Rule .0303 of this 

Subchapter. The examination shall be 

administered by the dental professional 

regulatory board or a regional testing agency. 

The score certification letter shall: 

(A) state that the examination included 

procedures performed on human 

subjects as part of the assessment of 

restorative clinical competencies and 

included evaluations in periodontics 

and at least three of the following 

subject areas: 

(i) endodontics, clinical abilities 

testing; 

(ii) amalgam preparation and 

restoration; 

(iii) anterior composite 

preparation and restoration; 

(iv) posterior ceramic or 

composite preparation and 

restoration; 

(v) prosthetics, written or 

clinical abilities testing; 

(vi) oral diagnosis, written or 

clinical abilities testing; or 

(vii) oral surgery, written or 

clinical abilities. testing; and 

(B) state that licensure examinations after 

January 1, 1998 included: 

(i) anonymity between 

candidates and examination 

graders; 

(ii) standardization and 

calibration of graders; and 

(iii) a mechanism for post exam 

analysis; 

(7) the applicant's passing score on the Dental 

National Board Part I and Part II written 

examination administered by the Joint 

Commission on National Dental Examinations; 

and 

(8) the applicant's passing score on the licensure 

examination in general dentistry conducted by 

a regional testing agency or independent state 

licensure examination substantially equivalent 

to the clinical licensure examination required in 

North Carolina as set out in Subparagraph 

(b)(6) of this Rule. 

(c)  All information required shall be completed and received by 

the Board office as a complete package with the initial application 

and application fee. Incomplete applications shall be returned to 

the applicant. The Board must receive all information and 

documentation set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule and 

the applicant's passing scores on all examinations required by 

Rule .0303 of this Subchapter for the application to be complete. 

Applications that are not completed within one year of being 

submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired without a 

refund of the application fee. 

(d)  All applicants shall submit to the Board a signed release form, 

completed Fingerprint Record Card, and other form(s) required to 

perform a criminal history check at the time of the application. 

The forms are available at the Board office. 

(e)(d)  An applicant for dental licensure by credentials must shall 

pass written examinations as set out in G.S. 90-36 Rule .0303(a) 

of this Subchapter. and, if deemed necessary based on the 

applicant's history, a clinical simulation examination 

administered by the Board. An applicant who fails the written 

examination may retake it two additional times during a one year 

period. The applicant shall wait at least 72 hours before 

attempting to retake a written examination. Individuals who fail 

the clinical examination or do not pass the written examination 

after three attempts within one year may not reapply for licensure 

by credentials. 

(e)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(f)  Should the applicant reapply for licensure by credentials, an 

additional licensure by credentials fee shall be required at the time 

of each reapplication. 

(g)(f)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be void ab initio and of no effect. revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-36. 

 

SECTION .0600 – LIMITED VOLUNTEER DENTAL 

LICENSE 

 

21 NCAC 16B .0601 LIMITED VOLUNTEER 

DENTAL LICENSE 

(a)  An applicant for a limited volunteer dental license shall 

submit to the Board: 

(1) a completed, notarized application form 

provided by the Board; Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the 

information and materials required by Rule 

.0301(a) of this Subchapter; 
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(2) the non-refundable limited volunteer dental 

licensure fee; fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M 

.0101; 

(3) an affidavit from the applicant stating: 

(A) for the five consecutive years 

immediately preceding the date of the 

application, the dates that and 

locations where the applicant has 

practiced dentistry; 

(B) that the applicant has provided at least 

1,000 hours per year of clinical care 

directly to patients for at least five 

years, not including post graduate 

training, residency programs or an 

internship; and 

(C) that the applicant has provided at least 

500 hours of clinical care directly to 

patients within the last five years, 

years preceding the date of the 

application, not including post 

graduate training, residency programs 

or an internship; and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining periods 

within the last 10 years of any voluntary or 

involuntary commitment to a hospital or 

treatment facility, of observation, assessment, 

or treatment for substance abuse, with 

verification from the applicable program 

demonstrating that the applicant has complied 

with all provisions and terms of any county or 

state drug treatment program, or impaired 

dentists or other impaired professionals 

program; and a statement disclosing and 

explaining any investigations, malpractice 

claims, or state or federal agency complaints, 

judgments, or settlements that are related to 

licensure and are not disclosed elsewhere in the 

application. 

(5) a copy of a current CPR certification card. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

an applicant for a limited volunteer dental license shall arrange for 

and ensure the submission to the Board office the following 

documents as a package, with each document in an unopened 

envelope sealed by the entity involved: satisfy the requirements in 

Rule .0501(b) of this Subchapter. 

(1) official transcripts verifying that the applicant 

graduated from a dental school accredited by 

the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the 

American Dental Association; 

(2) a certificate of the applicant's licensure status 

from the dental regulatory authority or other 

occupational or professional regulatory 

authority and, if applicable, of the applicant's 

authorization to treat veterans or personnel 

enlisted in the United States armed services, 

and information regarding all disciplinary 

actions taken or investigations pending, from 

all licensing jurisdictions where the applicant 

holds or has ever held a dental license or other 

occupational or professional license; 

(3) a report from the National Practitioner 

Databank; 

(4) a report of any pending or final malpractice 

actions against the applicant verified by the 

malpractice insurance carrier covering the 

applicant. The applicant shall submit a letter of 

coverage history from all current and all 

previous malpractice insurance carriers 

covering the applicant; 

(5) the applicant's passing score on the Dental 

National Board Part I and Part II written 

examination administered by the Joint 

Commission on National Dental Examinations; 

and 

(6) the applicant's passing score on a licensure 

examination in general dentistry substantially 

equivalent to the clinical licensure examination 

required in North Carolina as set out in Rule 

.0303 of this Subchapter, conducted by a 

regional testing agency or a state licensing 

board. 

(c)  All information required shall be completed and received by 

the Board office as a complete package with the initial application 

and application fee. Incomplete applications shall be returned to 

the applicant. The Board shall receive all information and 

documentation required under Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule 

and the applicant's passing scores on all examinations required by 

Rule .0303 of this Subchapter for the application to be complete. 

Applications that are not completed within one year of being 

submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired without a 

refund of the application fee. 

(d)  All applicants shall submit to the Board a signed release form, 

completed Fingerprint Record Card, and such other form(s) 

required to perform a criminal history check at the time of the 

application. The forms are available at the Board. 

(e)(d)  An applicant for limited volunteer dental license must shall 

pass written examinations as set out in G.S. 90-37.1 Rule .0303(a) 

of this Subchapter. and, if deemed necessary by the Board based 

on the applicant's history, a clinical simulation examination 

administered by the Board. An applicant who fails the written 

exam may retake it two additional times during a one year period. 

The applicant shall wait a minimum of 72 hours before attempting 

to retake a written examination. Applicants who fail the clinical 

examination or who do not pass the written examination after 

three attempts in one year may not reapply for a limited volunteer 

dental license. 

(f)  Should the applicant reapply for a limited volunteer dental 

license, an additional limited volunteer dental license fee shall be 

required. 

(e)  A North Carolina licensee who holds an active dental license 

may request his or her active dental license be converted to a 

limited volunteer dental license by submitting a written request to 

the Board office. A North Carolina active licensee making this 

request is not subject to Paragraphs (a) through (d) of this Rule. 

(f)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 
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(g)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be void ab initio and of no effect. revoked. 

(h)  The license may be renewed on an annual basis provided that 

the licensee provides documentation that he or she has practiced 

a minimum of 100 hours, completed continuing education 

requirements as required in Subchapter 16R of these Rules and 

has current CPR certification. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-37.1. 

 

SECTION .0700 – INSTRUCTOR'S LICENSE 

 

21 NCAC 16B .0701 INSTRUCTOR'S LICENSE 

(a)  An applicant for an instructor's license shall submit to the 

Board: 

(1) a completed, notarized application form 

provided by the Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org. 

www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the 

information and materials required by Rule 

.0301(a) of this Subchapter; 

(2) the non-refundable instructor's licensure fee; 

fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101; and 

(3) a photograph of the applicant, taken within six 

months prior to the date of the application, 

affixed to the application; 

(4) a signed release form and completed 

Fingerprint Record Card, and other form(s) 

required to perform a criminal history check at 

the time of the application. The form and card 

are available from the Board office; 

(5)(3) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

disciplinary actions, investigations, malpractice 

claims, or state or federal agency complaints, 

judgments, settlements, or criminal charges; or 

settlements that are related to licensure and are 

not disclosed elsewhere in the application. 

(6) a statement disclosing and explaining periods 

within the last ten years of any voluntary or 

involuntary commitment to any hospital or 

treatment facility, observation, assessment, or 

treatment for substance abuse, with verification 

demonstrating that the applicant has complied 

with all provisions and terms of any county or 

state drug treatment program, or impaired 

dentists or other impaired professionals 

program; and 

(7) a current CPR card. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

an applicant for an instructor's license shall ensure the submission 

to the Board office of request the applicable entity to send the 

following required information or documents as a package, to the 

Board office, with each document in an unopened envelope sealed 

by the entity involved: 

(1) if the applicant is or has ever been employed as 

a dentist by or under contract with an a 

government agency or a nonprofit or for-profit 

organization, a certification letter of the 

applicant's current status and disciplinary 

history from each agency or organization where 

the applicant is or has been employed or under 

contract; 

(2) a certificate of the applicant's licensure status 

from the dental regulatory authority or other 

occupational or professional regulatory 

authority and information regarding all 

disciplinary actions taken or investigations 

pending, from all licensing jurisdictions where 

the applicant holds or has ever held a dental 

license or other occupational or professional 

license; 

(3) a report from the National Practitioner 

Databank or its international equivalent, if 

applicable; 

(4)(3) a report of any pending or final malpractice 

actions against the applicant, verified by the 

malpractice insurance carrier covering the 

applicant. The applicant shall submit a letter of 

coverage history from all current and all 

previous malpractice insurance carriers 

covering the applicant; and applicant; 

(4) a letter of coverage history from all current and 

all previous malpractice insurance carriers 

covering the applicant; and 

(5) a certification letter from the dean or director 

that the applicant has met or been approved 

under the credentialing standards of a dental 

school or an academic medical center with 

which the person is to be affiliated, and 

certification that such the school or medical 

center is accredited by the American Dental 

Association's Commission on Accreditation or 

the Joint Commission on Accreditation of 

Health Care Organizations. 

(c)  All information required shall be completed and received by 

the Board office as a complete package with the initial application 

and application fee. Incomplete applications shall be returned to 

the applicant. The Board shall receive all information and 

documentation set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule for 

the application to be complete. Applications that are not 

completed within one year of being submitted to the Board shall 

be disregarded as expired without a refund of the application fee. 

(d)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(e)  Should the applicant reapply for an instructor's license, an 

additional instructor's license fee shall be required. 

(f)(e)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be void ab initio and of no effect. revoked. 

(g)  The license shall be renewed on an annual basis, as set out in 

21 NCAC 16R .0102. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-29.5. 

 

SECTION .0800 – SPECIAL RESTRICTED LICENSES 
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21 NCAC 16B .0801 TEMPORARY VOLUNTEER 

DENTAL PERMIT 

(a)  An applicant for a Temporary Volunteer Dental License 

temporary volunteer dental permit shall submit to the Board: 

Board an application form provided by the Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the following information: 

(1) A completed, notarized application form 

provided by the Board, with a photograph of the 

applicant taken within six months of the 

application date attached; 

(2) A statement from all jurisdictions in which the 

applicant is now or has ever been licensed, 

disclosing the applicant's disciplinary history 

and current status of the applicant's license; 

(3) A statement signed by a N.C. licensed dentist 

agreeing to provide supervision or direction to 

the temporary volunteer dentist, stating where, 

during the effective period of the permit such 

supervision or direction will occur, and 

affirming that no fee or monetary compensation 

of any kind will be paid to the applicant for 

dental services performed; and 

(4) A statement signed by the applicant stating 

where the applicant will practice, the type of 

facility where the practice will occur, the 

duration of the practice, the name of the 

supervising dentist, and affirming that no fee 

will be charged or accepted. The applicant shall 

update the information within five days of any 

changes in the practice location or facility. 

(1) full name; 

(2) street address; 

(3) employer name and address, and the applicant's 

position title; 

(4) work, home, and cellular telephone numbers; 

(5) fax number; 

(6) email address; 

(7) any other name by which the applicant was 

known in the past; 

(8) social security number; 

(9) citizenship or immigration status, with 

verifying documentation; 

(10) authorization to work in the United States; 

(11) dental education, including dental school name, 

address, and the applicant's graduation date, 

and any other dental post-graduate education; 

(12) all dental licenses from other states ever held by 

the applicant, including state, license number, 

date issued, and licensure status as of the 

application date; 

(13) if the applicant has ever been denied a license 

or the privilege of taking a dental licensure or 

competency examination by any dental 

licensing authority or examining body, a 

written statement disclosing the details, 

jurisdiction, and date; 

(14) if the applicant is not engaged in the practice of 

dentistry as of the application date, the last 

month and year when the applicant practiced; 

(15) if the applicant has been charged with or 

convicted of any crime within the 10 years 

preceding the application date, excluding traffic 

violations but including driving while impaired 

offenses, a written statement disclosing the 

details and copies of the charges and judgment; 

(16) if the applicant has any contagious or infectious 

disease, a written statement disclosing the 

details; 

(17) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

current condition or impairment, including 

substance abuse, alcohol abuse, or a mental, 

emotional, or nervous disorder or condition, 

that in any way affects the ability to practice 

dentistry. For purposes of this rule, "current" 

means recently enough that the condition may 

affect the applicant's ability to function as a 

dentist as set out in G.S. 90-41(a)(2) and (7). If 

the applicant contends that the condition or 

impairment is reduced or ameliorated because 

the applicant is receiving ongoing treatment or 

participating in a monitoring or support 

program, the applicant may provide 

information regarding the treatment or 

program, and may include any verification 

demonstrating that the applicant has complied 

with all provisions and terms of any drug 

treatment program, or impaired dentists or other 

impaired professionals program; 

(18) the type of facility and addresses of all facilities 

where the applicant will provide temporary 

volunteer dental services in North Carolina; 

(19) the dates on which the applicant intends to 

provide temporary volunteer dental services in 

North Carolina; 

(20) the names of all North Carolina licensed 

dentists who will direct or supervise the 

applicant at each location where the applicant 

will provide temporary volunteer dental 

services; 

(21) a copy of an unexpired CPR certificate; 

(22) a photograph of the applicant taken within six 

months preceding the application date; 

(23) a completed fingerprint record card and signed 

release of information form authorizing the 

Board to request a fingerprint-based criminal 

history record check from the North Carolina 

State Bureau of Investigation (SBI); and 

(24) a signed, notarized statement by the applicant 

affirming the applicant has not been disciplined 

by any dental board or agency, the information 

in the application is accurate, and no fee will be 

charged or accepted for any dental services 

provided. 

(b)  All information required must be completed and received in 

the Board office as a complete package at least two weeks prior 

to the issuance of the license. Incomplete applications shall be 

returned to the applicant. In addition to the requirements of 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the applicant shall request the 
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applicable entity or person to send the following required 

information or documents to the Board office, with each 

document in an unopened envelope sealed by the entity involved: 

(1) a statement from all jurisdictions in which the 

applicant is now or has ever been licensed, 

disclosing the applicant's disciplinary history 

and current status of the applicant's license; and 

(2) a statement signed by a North Carolina licensed 

dentist agreeing to provide supervision or 

direction to the temporary volunteer dentist, 

stating when and where the supervision or 

direction will occur and affirming that no fee or 

monetary compensation of any kind will be 

paid to the applicant for dental services 

performed. 

(c)  The Board must receive all items set forth in Paragraphs (a) 

and (b) of this Rule for the application to be complete. 

Applications that are not completed within one year of being 

submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired. 

(d)  The holder of a temporary volunteer dental permit shall notify 

the Board within five days of any changes in the practice location 

or facility disclosed under Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)(e)  To renew the Temporary Volunteer Dental License 

temporary volunteer dental permit, the licensee shall submit the 

information required in Subparagraphs (a)(2) – (4) of this Rule, 

along with an affidavit stating that the information on the original 

application is correct and requires no update or correction. to the 

Board: 

(1) an affidavit or notarized statement verifying the 

location and type of facility where the applicant 

will practice, the duration of the practice, the 

name of the supervising dentist, that no fee will 

be charged or accepted, and that the information 

in the original application submitted under 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule is correct and 

requires no update or correction; and 

(2) the information required in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. 

The Board must receive all items set forth in this Paragraph for 

the renewal application to be complete before the deadline for 

renewing applications. The applicant shall report any changes to 

submitted information within five days of when the licensee knew 

or should have known of the changes. 

(d)  All required information shall be completed and received in 

the Board office as a complete package at least two weeks prior 

to the renewal of the license. Incomplete applications shall be 

returned to the applicant. The applicant shall report any changes 

to submitted information within five days of when the licensee 

knew or should have known of the changes. 

(f)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(g)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-29; 90-37.2; 90-41. 

 

SECTION .1000 - LICENSURE BY MILITARY 

ENDORSEMENT 

 

21 NCAC 16B .1001 DENTAL LICENSURE BY 

ENDORSEMENT BASED ON MILITARY SERVICE 

(a)  An applicant for a dental license by endorsement based on 

military service shall submit to the Board: 

(1) a completed, signed and notarized application 

form provided by the Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org; 

www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the 

information and materials required by Rule 

.0301(a) of this Subchapter; and 

(2) the application fee required by Rule 16M 

.0101(a)(14) of this Chapter; 

(3)(2) written evidence demonstrating that the 

applicant has been awarded a military 

occupational specialty in dentistry and that the 

applicant: satisfied the conditions set forth in 

G.S. 93B-15.1(a), including engaging in the 

active practice of dentistry for at least 1,000 

hours per year for at least two of the five years 

preceding the date of the application. 

(A) has completed a military program of 

training substantially equivalent to or 

greater than that required for licensure 

as a dentist in North Carolina; 

(B) has completed testing or equivalent 

training and experience substantially 

equivalent to or greater than that 

required for licensure as a dentist in 

North Carolina, as set forth in G.S. 90-

30; and 

(C) has engaged in the active practice of 

dentistry as defined by G.S. 90-

29(b)(1) for at least 1,500 hours per 

year during at least two of the five 

years preceding the date of 

application; and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining the 

commission of any act set out in G.S. 90-41(a) 

or (b), any disciplinary actions, investigations, 

malpractice claims, state or federal agency 

complaints, judgments, settlements, or criminal 

charges. 

(b)  All information required must be completed and received by 

the Board office as a complete package with the initial application 

and application fee. Incomplete application packages shall be 

returned to the applicant. In addition to the requirements of 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, an applicant for licensure by 

endorsement based on military service shall satisfy the 

requirements in Rule .0501(b) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  All applicants shall submit to the Board a signed release form 

and completed Fingerprint Record Card, obtained from the Board. 

The Board shall receive all information and documentation 

required under Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule for the 

application to be complete. Applications that are not completed 

within one year of being submitted to the Board shall be 

disregarded as expired. 

(d)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 
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(e)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-30(b); 90-41; 93B-15.1. 

 

21 NCAC 16B .1002 DENTAL LICENSURE BY 

ENDORSEMENT BASED ON STATUS AS MILITARY 

SPOUSE 

(a)  An applicant for a dental license by endorsement based on the 

applicant's status as a military spouse shall submit to the Board: 

(1) a completed, signed and notarized application 

form provided by the Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org; 

www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the 

information and materials required by Rule 

.0301(a) of this Subchapter; and 

(2) the non-refundable application fee required by 

Rule 16M .0101(a)(14) of this Chapter; 

(3)(2) written evidence demonstrating that the 

applicant is married to an active member of the 

U.S. military and that such applicant: the 

applicant satisfies the conditions set forth in 

G.S. 93B-15.1(b), including engaging in the 

active practice of dentistry for at least 1,000 

hours per year for at least two of the five years 

preceding the date of the application. 

(A) holds a current dental license from 

another jurisdiction whose standards 

for licensure are substantially 

equivalent to or greater than those 

required for licensure as a dentist in 

North Carolina as set forth in these 

Rules; and 

(B) has engaged in the active practice of 

dentistry as defined by G.S. 90-

29(b)(1) for at least 1,500 hours per 

year during at least two of the five 

years preceding the date of 

application; and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining the 

commission of an act set out in G.S. 90-41(a) or 

(b), any disciplinary actions, investigations, 

malpractice claims, state or federal agency 

complaints, judgments, settlements, or criminal 

charges. 

(5) a statement disclosing and explaining periods 

within the last 10 years of any voluntary or 

involuntary commitment to any hospital or 

treatment facility, observation, assessment, or 

treatment for substance abuse, with verification 

demonstrating that the applicant has complied 

with all provisions and terms of any county or 

state drug treatment program, or impaired 

dentists or other impaired professionals 

program; 

(6) a copy of a current CPR certification; 

(7) a report from the National Practitioner Data 

Bank; and 

(8) the applicant's passing score on the Dental 

National Board Part I and Part II written 

examination administered by the Joint 

Commission on National Dental Examinations. 

(b)  All information required shall be completed and received by 

the Board office as a complete package with the initial application 

and application fee. Incomplete application packages shall be 

returned to the applicant. In addition to the requirements of 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, an applicant for licensure by 

endorsement based on status as a military spouse shall satisfy the 

requirements in Rule .0501(b) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  All applicants shall submit to the Board a signed release form, 

completed Fingerprint Record Card and other forms required to 

perform a criminal history check. The form and cards may be 

obtained from the Board. The Board shall receive all information 

and documentation required under Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 

Rule for the application to be complete. Applications that are not 

completed within one year of being submitted to the Board shall 

be disregarded as expired. 

(d)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(e)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-30(b); 90-41; 90-36; 93B-15.1. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16C - LICENSURE DENTAL 

HYGIENISTS 

 

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION 

 

21 NCAC 16C .0301 APPLICATION FOR 

LICENSURE 

(a)  All applications for licensure as a dental hygienist shall be 

made on the forms furnished by the Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org and no application shall be deemed 

complete that does set forth all the information required relative 

to the applicant. Incomplete applications shall be returned to the 

applicant. Any applicant who changes his or her address shall 

notify the Board office within 10 business days. Applicants shall 

ensure that proof of graduation from high school or its equivalent 

is sent to the Board office in a sealed envelope. Applicants shall 

also ensure that an official final transcript from a dental hygiene 

program as set forth in G.S. 90-224 is sent in a sealed envelope to 

the Board office. shall include the following information: 

(1) full name; 

(2) street address as of the date of the application; 

(3) permanent street address: 

(4) preferred mailing address for all information; 

(5) telephone number; 

(6) email address; 

(7) age; 

(8) date of birth; 

(9) place of birth; 

(10) citizenship or immigration status, with 

verifying documentation; 

(11) social security number; 

(12) marital status; 
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(13) any other name by which the applicant was 

known in the past, accompanied by a certified 

copy of a court order of name change, if 

applicable; 

(14) all resident addresses for the past 10 years 

preceding the date of application; 

(15) the names, addresses, and phone numbers for 

two individuals to whom the applicant always 

provides the applicant's current address; 

(16) disclosure and explanation of any bankruptcy 

proceedings in which the applicant was a 

named party; 

(17) the license number, issuing state, and expiration 

date for all current drivers' licenses held by the 

applicant, and the issuing state for all drivers' 

licenses held in the past by the applicant; 

(18) the date of the applicant's previous application 

for examination by the Board, if applicable; 

(19) the date and type of any dental hygiene license 

for which the applicant applied in the past, if 

applicable; 

(20) if the applicant failed an examination 

administered by a dental board, the date of the 

examination and jurisdiction of the dental board 

that administered the examination; 

(21) if any dental board has refused to administer an 

examination to applicant, the jurisdiction of the 

dental board that refused to administer the 

examination and the date of the refusal; 

(22) the dates upon which the applicant has taken the 

Dental Hygiene National Board Examination, 

the location of each examination, and 

authorization for the Board to access the 

examination scores; 

(23) if the applicant failed the Dental Hygiene 

National Board Examination, the date of the 

examination that he or she failed; 

(24) if the applicant has applied for a dental hygiene 

license in any other state or foreign country, the 

date of the application and whether the license 

was issued to the applicant; 

(25) all employment held by the applicant for the 

past 10 years; 

(26) if the applicant was terminated from 

employment within the past 10 years, an 

explanation regarding the termination; 

(27) all dental hygiene licenses from other 

jurisdictions ever held by the applicant, 

including type of licensure, license number, and 

dates of licensure; 

(28) places of employment at which the applicant 

has practiced dental hygiene, including the 

name of the employer, the address of the 

employer, dates of employment, and the reason 

for leaving the employment; 

(29) if the applicant has ever been suspended or 

otherwise disqualified, or reprimanded, 

censured, or otherwise disciplined by any 

licensing board, professional organization, or 

while the applicant was holding public office, a 

written statement disclosing: 

(A) the facts that formed the basis for the 

discipline; 

(B) the date of the discipline; 

(C) whether the applicant appealed the 

discipline and the outcome of any 

appeal; and 

(D) the name and address of the authority 

in possession of records related to 

discipline; 

(30) if the applicant has ever been the subject of a 

complaint with any licensing board, 

professional organization, or while the 

applicant was holding public office, a written 

statement disclosing: 

(A) the facts that gave rise to the 

complaint; 

(B) the date of the complaint; 

(C) whether the organization that received 

the complaint instituted proceedings 

against the applicant; and 

(D) the name and address of the authority 

in possession of records related to the 

complaint; 

(31) if the applicant has ever been reported to the 

National Practitioner Data Bank or the 

Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, 

a written statement disclosing: 

(A) the facts that formed the basis for the 

report; 

(B) the date of the report; and 

(C) the name and address of the authority 

in possession of records related to the 

report; 

(32) if the applicant has ever been dropped, 

suspended, expelled, or disciplined by any post-

secondary school or college for any cause, a 

written statement disclosing: 

(A) the facts leading to the discipline; 

(B) the date of the discipline; and 

(C) the school or college issuing the 

discipline; 

(33) if the applicant has ever been denied admission 

to any college or post-secondary school for a 

reason other than academic qualifications, a 

written statement explaining the reason for the 

admission denial; 

(34) if the applicant has ever served in the armed 

forces of the United States or any other country, 

a written statement explaining: 

(A) whether the applicant has been 

separated from service; 

(B) the nature of the separation; 

(C) if other than honorable, the 

circumstances surrounding his or her 

release from service; 

(D) dates of service; 
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(E) the facts leading up to any charges or 

complaints made or filed against the 

applicant while the applicant was 

serving in the armed forces, and the 

outcome of the charges or complaints; 

(F) the facts leading to any disciplinary 

proceedings instituted against the 

applicant while the applicant was 

serving in the armed forces, and the 

outcome of the proceedings; and 

(G) if the applicant was ever a defendant 

in any court martial, the facts giving 

rise to those proceedings and the 

outcome of the proceedings; 

(35) a statement of whether the applicant has 

registered under the Military Selective Service 

Act; 

(36) a statement of whether the applicant has ever: 

(A) been summoned to court or before a 

magistrate for the violation of any law 

or ordinance or for the commission of 

any felony or misdemeanor; 

(B) been arrested for the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(C) been taken into custody for the 

violation of any law or ordinance or 

for the commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(D) been indicted for the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(E) been convicted or tried for the 

violation of any law or ordinance or 

for the commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(F) been charged with the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; or 

(G) pleaded guilty to the violation of any 

law or ordinance or for the 

commission of any felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(37) the applicant's high school education including 

the name, location, and period of attendance for 

each school, and the date of graduation; 

(38) any college or university education other than 

dental hygiene, including the name, location, 

and period of attendance for each school, and 

the date of graduation; 

(39) the applicant's dental hygiene education 

including the name, location, and period of 

attendance for each school, and date of 

graduation; 

(40) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

current condition or impairment, including 

substance abuse, alcohol abuse, or a mental, 

emotional, or nervous disorder or condition, 

that in any way affects the ability to practice 

dental hygiene. For purposes of this Rule, 

"current" means recently enough that the 

condition or impairment may affect the 

applicant's ability to function as a dental 

hygienist as set out in G.S. 90-229(a)(4) and 

(13). If the applicant contends that the condition 

or impairment is reduced or ameliorated 

because the applicant is receiving ongoing 

treatment or participating in a monitoring or 

support program, the applicant may provide 

information regarding the treatment or 

program, and may include any verification 

demonstrating that the applicant has complied 

with all provisions and terms of any drug 

treatment program, or impaired dental 

hygienists or other impaired professionals 

program; 

(41) a photograph of the applicant, taken within six 

months prior to the date of the application; 

(42) a completed fingerprint record card and signed 

release of information form authorizing the 

Board to request a fingerprint-based criminal 

history record check from the North Carolina 

State Bureau of Investigation (SBI); 

(43) a copy of an unexpired CPR certificate; and 

(44) if the applicant holds, or has held in the past, a 

dental hygiene license in any other state or 

jurisdiction, a copy of a National Practitioner 

Data Bank Report concerning the applicant that 

was obtained within six months prior to the date 

the report is submitted to the Board. 

(b)  The applicant shall submit to the Board the notarized 

application form with all the information and materials listed in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, accompanied by The the nonrefundable 

application fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0102. shall accompany 

the application. 

(c)  Applicants who are licensed in other states shall ensure that 

the Board receives verification of licensure from the board of each 

state in which they are licensed. A photograph of the applicant, 

taken within six months prior to the date of the application, shall 

be affixed to the application. In addition to the requirements of 

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, the applicant shall request the 

applicable entity to send the following required information or 

documents to the Board office, with each document in an 

unopened envelope sealed by the entity involved: 

(1) proof of graduation from high school or its 

equivalent; 

(2) the applicant's official transcripts from a dental 

hygiene program accredited by the Commission 

on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 

Association; 

(3) if the applicant is licensed in other states, a 

certificate of the applicant's licensure status 

from the dental regulatory authority or other 

occupational or professional regulatory 

authority, accompanied by a full disclosure of 
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any disciplinary action taken or investigation 

pending, from all licensing jurisdictions where 

the applicant holds or has ever held a dental 

hygiene license or other occupational or 

professional license; and 

(4) examination scores required by Rule .0303(b) 

of this Subchapter which shall include the 

American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX) 

dental hygiene licensure examinations. 

(d)  All applicants shall submit to the Board a signed release form 

and completed Fingerprint Record Card and other form(s) 

required to perform a criminal history check at the time of the 

application. The form and card are available from the Board 

office. The Board shall receive all information and documentation 

set forth in Paragraphs (a) through (c) of this Rule and the 

applicant's passing scores on all examinations required by Rule 

.0303 of this Subchapter for the application to be complete. 

Applications that are not completed within one year of being 

submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired without a 

refund of the application fee. 

(e)  All applicants shall arrange for and ensure the submission to 

the Board office the examination scores required by Rule .0303 of 

this Subchapter. The examination requirement does not apply to 

individuals who do not hold a North Carolina dental hygiene 

license who are seeking volunteer licenses pursuant to G.S. 90-

21.107 or licensure by endorsement pursuant to Rules 16G .0107 

or 16G .0108 of this Chapter. Any applicant who changes his or 

her address shall notify the Board office in writing within 10 

business days. 

(f)  All applicants must include a statement disclosing and 

explaining periods within the last 10 years of any voluntary or 

involuntary commitment to any hospital or treatment facility, 

observation, assessment, or treatment for substance abuse, with 

verification demonstrating that the applicant has complied with all 

provisions and terms of any drug treatment program, or impaired 

dental hygienists or other impaired professionals program. Any 

license obtained through fraud or by any false representation shall 

be revoked. 

(g)  All applicants for dental hygiene licensure shall achieve a 

passing score on the Dental Hygiene National Board examination 

administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental 

Examinations. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224; 90-229(a)(4); 90-229(a)(4) and 

(13). 

 

SECTION .0500 – LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS 

 

21 NCAC 16C .0501 DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE 

BY CREDENTIALS 

(a)  An applicant for a dental hygiene license by credentials shall 

submit to the Board: 

(1) a completed, notarized application form 

provided by the Board; Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the 

information and materials required by Rule 

.0301(a) of this Subchapter; 

(2) the nonrefundable licensure by credentials fee; 

fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0102; 

(3) an affidavit from the applicant stating for the 

two years immediately preceding the 

application: year period set out in G.S. 90-

224.1(c)(1): 

(A) the dates that and locations where the 

applicant has practiced dental hygiene; 

(B) that the applicant has provided at least 

2000 2,000 hours of clinical care 

directly to patients; and 

(C) that the applicant has continuously 

held holds an active, unrestricted 

dental hygiene license issued by 

another U.S. state or any U.S. 

territory. territory, and has done so 

without any period of interruption; and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

disciplinary actions, investigations, malpractice 

claims, or state or federal agency complaints, 

judgments, settlements, or criminal charges; or 

settlements that are related to licensure and are 

not disclosed elsewhere in the application. 

(5) a statement disclosing and explaining periods 

within the last 10 years of any voluntary or 

involuntary commitment to a hospital or 

treatment facility, observation, assessment, or 

treatment for substance abuse, with verification 

demonstrating that the applicant has complied 

with all provisions and terms of any county or 

state drug treatment program, or impaired 

dental hygiene or other impaired professionals 

program; and 

(6) a copy of a current CPR certificate. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

an applicant for a dental hygiene license by credentials shall 

request the applicable entity arrange for and ensure the 

submission to the Board office to send the following required 

information or documents as a package, documents to the Board 

office, with each document in an unopened envelope sealed by the 

entity involved: 

(1) the applicant's official transcripts certifying that 

the applicant graduated from a dental hygiene 

program accredited by the Commission on 

Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 

Association; 

(2) if the applicant is or has ever been employed as 

a dental hygienist by or under contract with a 

federal agency, a letter certifying the applicant's 

current status and disciplinary history from 

each federal agency where the applicant is or 

has been employed or under contract; 

(3)(2) a certificate of the applicant's licensure status 

from the regulatory authority or other 

occupational or professional regulatory 

authority and a full, fair and accurate disclosure 

of all disciplinary actions taken or 

investigations pending, from all licensing 

jurisdictions where the applicant holds or has 

ever held a dental hygiene license or other 

occupational or professional license; 
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(4) a report from the National Practitioner 

Databank; 

(3) examination scores required by Rule .0303(b) 

of this Subchapter; 

(5)(4) a report of any pending or final malpractice 

actions against the applicant verified by the 

malpractice insurance carrier covering the 

applicant. The applicant shall submit a letter of 

coverage history from all current and all 

previous malpractice insurance carriers 

covering the applicant; and 

(5) a letter of coverage history from all current and 

all previous malpractice insurance carriers 

covering the applicant. 

(6) the applicant's passing score on the National 

Board Dental Hygiene Examination 

administered by the Joint Commission on 

National Dental Examinations; and 

(7) the applicant's passing score on the licensure 

examination conducted by a regional testing 

agency or independent state licensure 

examination that is substantially equivalent to 

the clinical licensure examination required in 

North Carolina as set out in Rule .0303 of this 

Subchapter. 

(c)  All information required shall be completed and received by 

the Board office as a complete package with the initial application 

and application fee. Incomplete applications shall be returned to 

the applicant. The Board shall receive all information and 

documentation set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule and 

the applicant's passing scores on all examinations required by 

Rule .0303 of this Subchapter for the application to be complete. 

Applications that are not completed within one year of being 

submitted to the Board shall be disregarded as expired without a 

refund of the application fee. 

(d)  All applicants shall submit to the Board a signed release form, 

completed Fingerprint Record Card, and other form(s) required to 

perform a criminal history check at the time of the application. 

The forms are available from the Board office. 

(e)(d)  An applicant for dental hygiene licensure by credentials 

shall pass written examinations as set out in Rule .0303(a) of this 

Subchapter. and, if deemed necessary based on the applicant's 

history, a clinical simulation examination administered by the 

Board. If the applicant fails the written examinations, the 

applicant may retake the examination two additional times during 

a one year period, as required by Rule .0311 of this Subchapter. 

Applicants who fail the clinical examination or who do not pass 

the written examination after three attempts within one year may 

not reapply for licensure by credentials. 

(f)  Should the applicant reapply for licensure by credentials, an 

additional licensure by credentials fee shall be required at the time 

of reapplication. 

(e)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(g)(f)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be void ab initio and of no effect. revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224.1; 90-229. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16D - PROVISIONAL LICENSURE: 

DENTISTS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 16D .0104 APPLICATION FOR 

PROVISIONAL LICENSE 

(a)  All applications An applicant for a provisional dental 

licensure license shall submit to the Board: be made on the forms 

furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org. No application 

shall be deemed complete that does not set forth all the 

information required relative to the applicant. Incomplete 

applications shall be returned to the applicant. Any applicant who 

changes his or her address shall notify the Board within 10 

business days. Applicants shall ensure that official transcripts of 

undergraduate college and dental school credits are sent in a 

sealed envelope to the Board office. 

(1) a notarized application form provided by the 

Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes 

the information and materials required by 21 

NCAC 16B .0301(a); 

(2) the nonrefundable provisional licensure fee set 

forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101; 

(3) a letter from a North Carolina licensed dentist 

stating he or she will supervise the applicant; 

and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

investigations, malpractice claims, or state or 

federal agency complaints, judgments, or 

settlements that are related to licensure and are 

not disclosed elsewhere in the application. 

(b)  The nonrefundable application fee shall accompany the 

application, along with a photograph of the applicant taken within 

six months of the date of the application. In addition to the 

requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, an applicant for a 

provisional license shall satisfy the requirements in 21 NCAC 

16B .0501(b). 

(c)  Applicants who are licensed in other states shall ensure that 

the Board receives verification of licensure from the board of each 

state in which they are licensed. The Board shall receive all items 

set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule and the applicant's 

passing scores on all examinations required by 21 NCAC 16B 

.0303 for the application to be complete. Applications that are not 

completed within one year of being submitted to the Board shall 

be disregarded as expired without a refund of the application fee. 

(d)  All applicants shall submit to the Board a signed release form 

and completed Fingerprint Record Card and other form(s) 

required to perform a criminal history check at the time of the 

application. The form and card are available from the Board 

office. An applicant for a provisional license shall pass written 

examinations as set out in 21 NCAC 16B .0303(a). Applicants 

who do not pass the written examination after three attempts 

within one year may not reapply for provisional licensure. 

(e)  All applicants shall include a statement disclosing and 

explaining periods, within the last 10 years, of any voluntary or 

involuntary commitment to any hospital or treatment facility, for 

observation, assessment or treatment for substance abuse, with 

verification demonstrating that the applicant has complied with all 

provisions and terms of any drug treatment program, or impaired 
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dentists or other impaired professionals program. Any applicant 

who changes his or her address shall notify the Board office in 

writing within 10 business days. 

(f)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-29.3; 90-41(a). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16E - PROVISIONAL LICENSURE: 

DENTAL HYGIENIST 

 

21 NCAC 16E .0102 RESTRICTIONS ON PRACTICE 

(a)  Any provisional license issued to a member of the faculty of 

an educational institution shall limit the practice of such 

provisional licensee to the confines of facilities provided by the 

educational institution of which he is a faculty member. 

(b)  In those instances in which the Board deems such restriction 

appropriate, the The dental hygiene practice of a provisional 

licensee may shall be restricted to a geographical location. the 

dental practice location designated in the application for 

provisional licensure. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-226. 

 

21 NCAC 16E .0103 APPLICATION FOR 

PROVISIONAL LICENSE 

(a)  All applications An applicant for a provisional dental hygiene 

licensure license shall submit to the Board: be made on the forms 

furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org. No application 

shall be deemed complete that does not set forth all the 

information required relative to the applicant. Incomplete 

applications shall be returned to the applicant. Any applicant who 

changes his or her address shall notify the Board office within 10 

business days Applicants shall ensure that proof of a high school 

equivalency certificate issued by a government agency or unit or 

a final transcript from his or her high school is sent to the Board 

office in a sealed envelope. Applicants shall also ensure that 

official final transcripts from a dental hygiene program as set forth 

in G.S. 90-244 are sent in a sealed envelope to the Board office. 

(1) a notarized application form provided by the 

Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes 

the information and materials required by 21 

NCAC 16C .0301(a); 

(2) the nonrefundable provisional licensure 

application fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M 

.0102; 

(3) a letter from a North Carolina licensed dentist 

stating he or she will supervise the applicant; 

and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

investigations, malpractice claims, or state or 

federal agency complaints, judgments, or 

settlements that are related to licensure and are 

not disclosed elsewhere in the application. 

(b)  The one hundred fifty dollar ($150.00) nonrefundable 

application fee shall accompany the application, along with a 

photograph of the applicant, taken within six months of the date 

of application. In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, an applicant for a provisional license shall satisfy the 

requirements in 21 NCAC 16C .0501(b). 

(c)  Applicants who are licensed in other states shall ensure that 

the Board receives verification of licensure from the board of each 

state in which they are licensed. The Board shall receive all items 

set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule and the applicant's 

passing scores on all examinations required by 21 NCAC 16C 

.0303 for the application to be complete. Applications that are not 

completed within one year of being submitted to the Board shall 

be disregarded as expired without a refund of the application fee. 

(d)  All applicants shall submit to the Board a signed release form, 

completed Fingerprint Record Card and other form(s) required to 

perform a criminal history check at the time of the application. 

The form and card are available from the Board office. An 

applicant for a provisional license shall pass written examinations 

as set out in 21 NCAC 16C .0303(a). Applicants who do not pass 

the written examination after three attempts within one year may 

not reapply for provisional licensure. 

(e)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(f)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-226; 90-229(a); 90-232. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16G - DENTAL HYGIENISTS 

 

SECTION .0100 - FUNCTIONS THAT MAY BE 

DELEGATED 

 

21 NCAC 16G .0107 DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE 

BY ENDORSEMENT BASED ON MILITARY SERVICE 

(a)  An applicant for a dental hygiene license by endorsement 

based on his or her status as a member of the U.S. military service 

shall submit to the Board: 

(1) a completed, signed and notarized application 

form provided by the Board; Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the 

information and materials required by 21 

NCAC 16C .0301(a); and 

(2) an application fee in the amount of two hundred 

sixty-five dollars ($265.00); 

(3)(2) written evidence demonstrating that the 

applicant has been awarded a military 

occupational specialty in dental hygiene and 

that the applicant: satisfied the conditions set 

forth in G.S. 93B-15.1(a), including engaging 

in the active practice of dental hygiene for at 

least 1,000 hours per year for at least two of the 

five years preceding the date of application. 

(A) completed a military program of 

training substantially equivalent to or 

greater than the requirements for 

licensure as a dental hygienist in North 

Carolina; 

(B) completed testing or equivalent 

training and experience substantially 

equivalent to or greater than that 

required for licensure as a dental 
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hygienist in North Carolina, as set 

forth in G.S. 90-224; and 

(C) engaged in the active practice of dental 

hygiene as defined by G.S. 90-221 for 

at least 1,500 hours per year during at 

least two of the five years preceding 

the date of application; and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining the 

commission of any acts set out in G.S. 90-229, 

any disciplinary actions, investigations, 

malpractice claims, state or federal agency 

complaints, judgments, settlements, or criminal 

charges. 

(b)  All information required must be completed and received by 

the Board office as a complete package with the initial application 

and application fee. Incomplete application packages shall be 

returned to the applicant. In addition to the requirements of 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, an applicant for licensure by 

endorsement based on military service shall satisfy the 

requirements in 21 NCAC 16C .0501(b). 

(c)  All applicants shall submit to the Board a signed release form 

and completed Fingerprint Record Card. The form and card may 

be obtained from the Board office. The Board shall receive all 

information and documentation required under Paragraphs (a) and 

(b) of this Rule for the application to be complete. Applications 

that are not completed within one year of being submitted to the 

Board shall be disregarded as expired. 

(d)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(e)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224(c); 90-229; 93B-15.1. 

 

21 NCAC 16G .0108 DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE 

BY ENDORSEMENT BASED ON STATUS AS MILITARY 

SPOUSE 

(a)  An applicant for a dental hygiene license by endorsement 

based on the applicant's status as a current military spouse of an 

active member of the U.S. military shall submit to the Board: 

(1) a completed, signed and notarized application 

form provided by the Board; Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org that includes the 

information and materials required by 21 

NCAC 16C .0301(a) and 

(2) a two hundred sixty-five dollar ($265.00) 

application fee; 

(3)(2) written evidence demonstrating that the 

applicant is a military spouse and that such 

applicant: married to an active member of the 

U.S. military and the applicant satisfies the 

conditions set forth in G.S. 93B-15.1(b), 

including engaging in the active practice of 

dental hygiene for at least 1,000 hours per year 

for at least two of the five years preceding the 

date of application. 

(A) holds a current dental hygiene license 

from another jurisdiction whose 

standards for licensure are 

substantially equivalent to or greater 

than those required for licensure as a 

dental hygienist in North Carolina; 

and 

(B) has engaged in the active practice of 

dental hygiene as defined by G.S. 90-

221 for at least 1,500 hours per year 

during at least two of the five years 

preceding the date of application; and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining the 

commission of any act described in G.S. 90-

229, any disciplinary actions, investigations, 

malpractice claims, state or federal agency 

complaints, judgments, settlements, or criminal 

charges. 

(b)  All information required must be completed and received by 

the Board office as a complete package with the initial application 

and application fee. Incomplete application packages shall be 

returned to the applicant. In addition to the requirements of 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, an applicant for licensure by 

endorsement based on status as a military spouse shall satisfy the 

requirements in 21 NCAC 16C .0501(b). 

(c)  All applicants shall submit to the Board a signed release form 

and completed Fingerprint Record Card. The Board shall receive 

all information and documentation set forth in Paragraphs (a) and 

(b) of this Rule for the application to be complete. Applications 

that are not completed within one year of being submitted to the 

Board shall be disregarded as expired. 

(d)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(e)  Any license obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224(c); 90-229; 90-232; 93B-15.1. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16Y - INTERN PERMITTING: DENTISTS 

 

21 NCAC 16Y .0102 APPLICATION FOR INTERN 

PERMIT 

(a)  Applicants An applicant who is eligible for an intern permit 

who are graduates of dental schools or programs as set out in Rule 

.0101(1) pursuant to Rule .0101(a) of this Subchapter shall: 

(1) complete the Application for Intern Permit 

available on the Board's website: 

www.ncdentalboard.org. submit to the Board a 

notarized application form provided by the 

Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes 

the information and materials required by 21 

NCAC 16B .0301(a); 

(2) submit an official copy of dental school 

transcripts; submit the nonrefundable intern 

permit fee set forth in 21 NCAC 16M .0101. 

(3) forward submit a letter from a prospective 

employer; supervising dentist confirming he or 

she will supervise the intern; and 

(4) submit a signed release form, completed 

Fingerprint Record Card, and such other 

form(s) required to perform a criminal history 

check at the time of the application; satisfy the 
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examination requirements in 21 NCAC 16B 

.0303(a). 

(5) pass written examination(s) approved by the 

Board, as set out on its website: 

www.ncdentalboard.org. and 

(6) pay the nonrefundable intern permit fee referred 

to in 21 NCAC 16M .0101(a)(5). 

(b)  Applicants for intern permit who are graduates of a dental 

program as set out in Rule .0101(2) of this Subchapter shall: In 

addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, an 

applicant for an intern permit pursuant to Rule .0101(a)(1) of this 

Subchapter shall request the information or documents as set out 

in 21 NCAC 16B .0301(c)(1) and (2). 

(c)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

an applicant for an intern permit pursuant to Rule .0101(a)(2) of 

this Subchapter shall submit written confirmation to the Board: 

(1) that the applicant has graduated from a dental 

program other than one accredited by the 

Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) 

of the American Dental Association; 

(1)(2) submit written confirmation that the applicant 

has qualified for and is currently enrolled as of 

the date of the application in a graduate, intern, 

fellowship, or residency program in the at a 

North Carolina Dental School dental school or 

teaching hospital offering programs in 

dentistry; 

(2)(3) submit written confirmation that an ad hoc 

committee from the training facility in which 

the applicant is enrolled under Subparagraph 

(c)(2) of this Rule, (consisting consisting of 

three associate or full professors, only one of 

whom represents the department in question) 

question, has evaluated the applicant's didactic 

and clinical performance with the point of 

observation being not less than three months 

from after the applicant's start of the program, 

and has determined that the applicant is 

functioning at a professional standard 

consistent with a dental graduate from an ADA-

accredited dental school; a dental school or 

program accredited by CODA; 

(3) complete a simulated clinical offered by a 

Board-approved provider set out on its website: 

www.ncdentalboard.org. 

(4) submit written confirmation that the applicant 

has completed a program of study at the training 

facility in: in which the applicant is enrolled 

under Subparagraph (c)(2) of this Rule in: 

(A) clinical pharmacology; 

(B) prescription writing in compliance 

with Federal federal and State laws; 

and 

(C) relevant laws and administrative 

procedures federal regulations 

pertaining to the DEA; United States 

Drug Enforcement Administration; 

and 

(5) submit a written statement of the total time 

required to complete the graduate, intern, 

fellowship, or residency program, and the date 

that the applicant is scheduled to complete said 

program; the program. 

(6) submit a signed release form, completed 

Fingerprint Record Card, and such other 

form(s) required to perform a criminal history 

check at the time of the application; 

(7) complete written examination(s) administered 

by the Board; and 

(8) pay the non-refundable intern permit fee 

referred to in 21 NCAC 16M .0101(a)(5). 

(c)  In making application, the applicant shall authorize the Board 

to verify the information contained in the application or 

documents submitted or to seek such further information pertinent 

to the applicant's qualifications or character as the Board may 

deem necessary pursuant to G.S. 90-41.  

(d)  Intern permits shall expire on an annual basis and are subject 

to renewal by the Board upon application and payment of the 

renewal fee. The Board shall receive all information and 

documentation required under Paragraphs (a) through (c) of this 

Rule for the application to be complete. Applications that are not 

completed within one year of being submitted to the Board shall 

be disregarded as expired without a refund of the application fee. 

(e)  Any applicant who changes his or her address shall notify the 

Board office in writing within 10 business days. 

(f)  Any permit obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-29.4. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 48 – BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Physical Therapy Examiners intends to adopt the rule 

cited as 21 NCAC 48E .0510 and amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 48B .0102, .0103; 48D .0102; 48E .0101, .0110-.0112; 

48G .0109, .0202, and .0504. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncptboard.org/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 11, 2019 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Offices of NC Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 

8300 Health Park, Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The NC Board of Physical 

Therapy Examiners proposes to amend rules in 21 NCAC 48B, 

48D, 48E and 48G, and adopt a rule in 48E.  The changes to the 

aforementioned rules are being requested to make the rules 

consistent with current practice and policy by the NCBPTE. 
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Comments may be submitted to:  Deborah J. Ragan, PT, DPT, 

North Carolina Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 8300 

Health Park, Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615; phone (919) 490-

6393; fax (919) 490-5106; email dragan@ncptboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  January 14, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48B - TYPES OF LICENSES 

 

21 NCAC 48B .0102 LICENSES BY ENDORSEMENT 

(a)  Endorsement. Each application for endorsement shall be 

considered on an individual basis. 

(b)  Examination Required. Only those persons initially licensed 

in another state by virtue of examination shall be considered for 

endorsement. Only the following examinations shall be 

considered: 

(1) For Physical Therapists: 

(A) Therapists licensed on the basis of a 

PT exam shall present total scores that 

meet the North Carolina passing level. 

If adequate scores and information are 

not available from the other state, the 

Board may ask the applicant to have 

the scores issued through the 

appropriate testing service. If the total 

score on the examination is 

unsatisfactory, the exam shall be 

repeated. The cost of the examination 

shall be paid by the applicant. 

(B) If licensed in another state by an 

examination compiled by that Board, 

the applicant shall supply information 

for the Board to attempt to obtain the 

examination in order to determine if it 

was substantially equal to the 

examination required by North 

Carolina at that time. If it cannot be 

determined that the examination was 

equal to the North Carolina 

examination or if the scores received 

on an acceptable examination did not 

meet the North Carolina passing 

requirement, the applicant shall take 

the PT exam. The cost of the 

examination shall be paid by the 

applicant. 

(C) A physical therapist currently licensed 

in another state whose license in that 

state was granted on the basis of the 

American Registry of Physical 

Therapists Examination shall be 

considered for endorsement. 

(2) For Physical Therapist Assistants. Only those 

physical therapist assistants licensed in another 

state by a PTA exam shall be considered for 

endorsement. The examination score shall meet 

the North Carolina passing level. If not, the 

applicant shall be required to take the PTA 

exam and pay the cost of the examination. 

(c)  Active License. Evidence shall be presented by the licensing 

Board in the other state that the applicant's license in that state was 

in effect on the date the application for North Carolina licensure 

was filed with the executive director or that it has been activated 

since that date, if it was not in effect on the date the application 

was submitted. This shall be done in accordance with Rule .0105 

of Subchapter E of this Chapter. 

(d)  Furnish proof of completion of Jurisprudence Exercise 1. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.98(b); 90-270.100. 

 

21 NCAC 48B .0103 LICENSES BY EXAMINATION 

(a)  Applicants. An applicant seeking an initial license or who fails 

to meet the requirements in Rule .0102 of this Section for 

endorsement must pass a computer-based examination set forth in 

Subchapter 48D of this Chapter to practice in North Carolina 

following the acceptance of the applicant's credentials. 

(b)  Timing of Examination. The applicant shall take the 

examination within one year following the Board's approval of his 

or her application. If the applicant does not do so, the applicant 

must submit his or her credentials to the Board for review before 

he or she can take the exam. 

(c)  Examination Taken in Another State. Applicants not 

previously licensed who take a PT exam or a PTA exam in another 

state may be licensed in North Carolina if they provide scores that 

meet the North Carolina passing level set forth in Rule 48D .0105 

of this Chapter and meet all other requirements for North Carolina 

licensure in effect at the time of application. 

(d)  Furnish proof of completion of Jurisprudence Exercise 1. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-270.97. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48D - EXAMINATIONS 
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21 NCAC 48D .0102 SCHEDULE AND LOCATION OF 

EXAMINATION 

Examinations may be scheduled by the applicant throughout the 

year at sites designated by the testing agency recognized by the 

Federation. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48E - APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

 

SECTION .0100 - REQUIREMENTS 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0101 FILING APPLICATION 

(a)  An applicant for licensure shall ascertain that his or her 

credentials are filed with the executive director in accordance with 

the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  To be certain an applicant will be considered for the desired 

examination date, the application shall be submitted the applicant 

shall submit all application requirements to the executive director 

at least 30 60 days prior to the examination. 

(c)  The Board shall not approve an application until the applicant 

has graduated as defined by 21 NCAC 48A .0105(6). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-270.98(b). 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0110 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL 

THERAPIST APPLICANT BY EXAMINATION 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a physical therapist who has 

graduated from a program located outside the United States that 

has not been accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of 

Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) or its successor, in 

accordance with G.S. 90-270.95(2), and does not hold an active 

license in another state or territory of the United States. 

(b)  All application forms and supporting documents shall be 

completed in English or accompanied by an English translation. 

(c)  For the applicant's educational credentials background to be 

determined substantially equivalent to that obtained by an 

applicant for licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-270.95(2), the 

applicant shall meet the standards of the Federation's most recent 

Coursework Tool (CWT) for Physical Therapists at 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/RegulatoryResources/Cour

seworkTools(CWT).aspx 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/RegulatoryResources/Cour

seworkTools(CWT).aspx. and for Physical Therapist Assistants at 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/RegulatoryResources/Cour

seworkTools(CWT).aspx. These coursework tools are 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions. Individuals wishing to obtain a copy may call the 

Federation at 703-299-3100 or download a copy from the 

Federation's website at no cost. Copies of the coursework tools 

are on file at the Division located at 8300 Health Park Suite 233, 

Raleigh, NC 27615 and are available for public inspection during 

regular business hours. 

(d)  The applicant shall make arrangements to have the credentials 

evaluated by the Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical 

Therapy or a service that has a physical therapist consultant on 

staff and that is authorized to use the Federation's CWTs for 

physical therapists referred to in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The 

Board shall review an applicant's educational program and shall 

consider the findings of the credentialing service. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the following information to the 

Board: 

(1) proof that the applicant has demonstrated 

English language proficiency by meeting the 

most recent Test of English as a Foreign 

Language (TOEFL) score requirement as 

defined by the Federation. This test is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to register for the TOEFL 

shall contact Examination Testing Service 

(http://www.ets.org/toefl/). The cost of this 

examination is posted on the ETS website. The 

TOEFL is an examination that is owned by ETS 

and is not available for public review; or 

(2) proof that coursework was taught in the English 

language; or 

(3)(2) documentation for exemption pursuant to 8 

CFR 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/). 8 CFR 

212.15 is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy at no cost 

may call the United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Service National Customer 

Service Center at 1-800-375-5283 or 1-800-

767-1833 (TDD) toll free. A copy of 8 CFR 

212.15 is on file at the Division located at 8300 

Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and 

is available for public inspection during regular 

business hours. 

(3) An applicant for licensure shall consent to an 

FBI criminal history record check by furnishing 

a complete set of fingerprints at the applicant's 

expense. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-270.97; 90-270.98; 

143B-964; 150B-21.6(2); . 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0111 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL 

THERAPIST APPLICANT BY ENDORSEMENT 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a physical therapist who has 

graduated from a program located outside the United States that 

has not been accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of 

Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) or its successor, in 

accordance with G.S. 90-270.92(2), 90-270.95(2), and holds an 

active physical therapist license in another state or territory of the 

United States. 

(b)  All application forms and supporting documents shall be 

completed in English or accompanied by an English translation. 

(c)  For the applicant's educational credentials background to be 

determined substantially equivalent to an educational program 

accredited pursuant to G.S. 90-270.95(2), the applicant shall meet 

the standards of the Federation's Coursework Tool (CWT) 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/Regulatory 

Resources/CourseworkTools(CWT).aspx for the applicant's year 

of graduation. This coursework tool is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Individuals 
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wishing to obtain a copy may call the Federation at 703-299-3100 

or download a copy from the Federation's website at no cost. A 

copy of the coursework tool is on file at the Division located at 

8300 Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and is available 

for public inspection during regular business hours. 

(d)  The applicant shall make arrangements to have the credentials 

evaluated by the Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical 

Therapy or a service that has a physical therapist consultant on 

staff and that is authorized to use the Federation's CWTs for 

physical therapists referred to in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The 

Board shall review an applicant's educational program and shall 

consider the findings of the credentialing service. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the following information to the 

Board: 

(1) for examinations administered prior to August 

1, 1998, proof that a score of 210 on the TSE 

(Test of Spoken English) or the SPEAK 

(Speaking Proficiency English Assessment Kit) 

examination was obtained 

(www.ets.org/toefl/ibt/); 

(2) for examinations administered on or after 

August 1, 1998, and prior to January 1, 2007, 

the following proof shall be provided: 

(A) minimum score of 50 on the TSE 

examination or the SPEAK 

examination; 

(B) minimum score on the Test of Written 

English (TWE) of 4.5; and 

(C) minimum score of 560 on the Test of 

English as a Foreign Language 

(TOEFL); 

(3) for examinations administered on or after 

January 1, 2007, proof shall be provided that the 

applicant obtained the following minimum 

standard scale scores in each of the four scoring 

domains (Listening, Reading, Writing, and 

Speaking), and the total score of the iBT/Next 

Generation TOEFL: 

(A) Writing: 24; 

(B) Speaking: 26; 

(C) Reading Comprehension: 21; 

(D) Listening Comprehension: 18; and 

(E) Total Score: 89; 

(4) proof that coursework was taught in the English 

language; or 

(1) proof that the applicant has demonstrated 

English language proficiency by meeting the 

most recent Test of English as a Foreign 

Language (TOEFL) score requirement as 

defined by the Federation. This test is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to register for the TOEFL 

shall contact Examination Testing Service 

(http://www.ets.org/toefl/). The cost of this 

examination is posted on the ETS website. The 

TOEFL is an examination that is owned by ETS 

and is not available for public review; or 

(5)(2) documentation for exemption pursuant to 8 

CFR 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/). 8 CFR 

212.15 is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy at no cost 

may call the United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Service National Customer 

Service Center at 1-800-375-5283 or 1-800-

767-1833 (TDD) toll free. A copy of 8 CFR 

212.15 is on file at the Division located at 8300 

Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and 

is available for public inspection during regular 

business hours. 

(3) An applicant for licensure shall consent to an 

FBI criminal history record check by furnishing 

a complete set of fingerprints at the applicant's 

expense. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-270.95(2); 90-270-97; 

90-270.98; 143B-964; 150B-21.6(2). 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0112 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL 

THERAPIST ASSISTANT ENDORSEMENT APPLICANT 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a physical therapist assistant who has 

graduated from a program located outside the United States that 

has not been accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of 

Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) or its successor, in 

accordance with G.S. 90-270.95(3). 90-270.95(3), and holds an 

active physical therapist assistant license in another state or 

territory of the United States. 

(b)  All application forms and supporting documents shall be 

completed in English or accompanied by an English translation. 

(c)  For the applicant's educational credentials to be determined 

substantially equivalent to that obtained by an applicant for 

licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-270.95(3), the applicant shall meet 

the standards of the Federation's Coursework Tool (CWT) for 

Physical Therapist Assistants 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/Regulatory 

Resources/CourseworkTools(CWT).aspx for the applicant's year 

of graduation. This coursework tool is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Individuals 

wishing to obtain a copy may call the Federation at 703-299-3100 

or download a copy from the Federation's website at no cost. A 

copy of the coursework tool is on file at the Division located at 

8300 Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and is available 

for public inspection during regular business hours. If the 

applicant does not meet the requirements of G.S. 90-270.95(3), 

the Board shall examine the applicant's educational background 

to determine if the general and professional education is 

substantially equivalent to an educational program accredited 

pursuant to G.S. 90-270.95(2) and meets the requirements of the 

Federation's most recent Coursework Tool (CWT) for Physical 

Therapist Assistants at 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/RegulatoryResources/Cour

seworkTools(CWT).aspx. This coursework tool is incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy may call the Federation at 

703-299-3100 or download a copy from the Federation's website 

at no cost. A copy of this instrument is on file at the Division 
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located at 8300 Health Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and is 

available for public inspection during regular business hours. 

(d)  The applicant shall make arrangements to have the credentials 

evaluated by the Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical 

Therapy or a service that has a physical therapist consultant on 

staff and that is authorized to use the Federation's CWTs for 

physical therapist assistants referred to in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. The Board shall review an applicant's educational program 

and shall consider the findings of the credentialing service. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the following information to the 

Board: 

(1) proof that the applicant has demonstrated 

English language proficiency by meeting the 

most recent Test of English as a Foreign 

Language TOEFL score requirement as defined 

by the Federation. This test is incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions. Individuals wishing to register for 

the TOEFL shall contact Examination Testing 

Service (http://www.ets.org/toefl/). The cost of 

this examination is posted on the ETS website. 

The TOEFL is an examination that is owned by 

ETS and is not available for public review; or 

(2) proof that coursework was taught in the English 

language; or 

(3)(2) documentation for exemption pursuant to 8 

CFR 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/). 8 CFR 

212.15 is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy at no cost 

may call the United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Service National Customer 

Service Center at 1-800-375-5283 or 1-800-

767-1833 (TDD) toll free. A copy of 8 CFR 

212.15 is on file at the 8300 Health Park Suite 

233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and is available for 

public inspection during regular business hours. 

(3) An applicant for licensure shall consent to an 

FBI criminal history record check by furnishing 

a complete set of fingerprints at the applicant's 

expense. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.92(2); 90-270.95; 90-270.97; 

90-270.98; 143B-964; 150B-21.6(2). 

 

SECTION .0500 - PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT 

LICENSURE BY EQUIVALENCY 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0510 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL 

THERAPIST ASSISTANT EXAM APPLICANT 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to a physical therapist assistant who has 

graduated from a program located outside the United States that 

has not been accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of 

Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) or its successor, in 

accordance with G.S. 90-270.95(3). 

(b)  All application forms and supporting documents shall be 

completed in English or accompanied by an English translation. 

(c)  For the applicant's educational credentials to be determined 

substantially equivalent to that obtained by an applicant for 

licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-270.95(3), the applicant shall meet 

the standards of the most recent Federation's Coursework Tool 

(CWT) for Physical Therapist Assistants 

https://www.fsbpt.org/FreeResources/Regulatory 

Resources/CourseworkTools(CWT).aspx. This coursework tool 

is incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions. Individuals wishing to obtain a copy may call the 

Federation at 703-299-3100 or download a copy from the 

Federation's website at no cost. A copy of the coursework tool is 

on file at the Division located at 8300 Health Park Suite 233, 

Raleigh, NC 27615 and is available for public inspection during 

regular business hours. 

(d)  The applicant shall make arrangements to have the credentials 

evaluated by the Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical 

Therapy or a service that has a physical therapist consultant on 

staff and that is authorized to use the Federation's CWTs for 

physical therapist assistants referred to in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. The Board shall review an applicant's educational program 

and shall consider the findings of the credentialing service. 

(e)  The applicant shall provide the following information to the 

Board: 

(1) proof that the applicant has demonstrated 

English language proficiency by meeting the 

most recent Test of English as a Foreign 

Language TOEFL score requirement as defined 

by the Federation. This test is incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions. Individuals wishing to register for 

the TOEFL shall contact Examination Testing 

Service (http://www.ets.org/toefl/). The cost of 

this examination is posted on the ETS website. 

The TOEFL is an examination that is owned by 

ETS and is not available for public review; or 

(2) documentation for exemption pursuant to 8 

CFR 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/). 8 CFR 

212.15 is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

Individuals wishing to obtain a copy at no cost 

may call the United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Service National Customer 

Service Center at 1-800-375-5283 or 1-800-

767-1833 (TDD) toll free. A copy of 8 CFR 

212.15 is on file at the 8300 Health Park Suite 

233, Raleigh, NC 27615 and is available for 

public inspection during regular business hours. 

(3) An applicant for licensure shall consent to an 

FBI criminal history record check by furnishing 

a complete set of fingerprints at the applicant's 

expense. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-270.97; 90-270.98; 

143B-964; 150B-21.6(2). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48G - RETENTION OF LICENSE 

 

SECTION .0100 - LICENSURE RENEWAL 
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21 NCAC 48G .0109 CONTINUING COMPETENCE 

ACTIVITIES 

(a)  Continuing Education activities are eligible for points as 

follows: 

(1) A registered attendee at courses or conferences 

offered live in real time by approved providers 

earns one point for each contact hour. The 

maximum number of points allowed during any 

reporting period shall be 29. The maximum 

number of points allowed during any reporting 

period for an interactive course offered through 

electronic media shall be 15. Credit shall not be 

given for the same course or conference more 

than once during any reporting period. The 

licensee shall retain submit the Certificate of 

Attendance issued by the approved provider. 

(2) For registered participation in an academic 

course related to physical therapy offered for 

credit in a post-baccalaureate program unless 

the course is required for licensure, one 

semester hour earns 15 points, and the 

maximum number of points allowed during any 

reporting period shall be 29. The licensee shall 

obtain a letter grade of "C" or better, or "P" if 

offered on a pass/fail basis. Credit shall not be 

given for the same course more than one time. 

The licensee shall retain submit a transcript 

published by the approved provider or 

furnished by the academic institution. 

(3) For attendance or participation in an activity 

related to physical therapy for which no 

assessment is received, two contact hours earns 

one point. The maximum number of points 

allowed during any reporting period shall be 

five. Credit shall not be given for the same 

activity more than one time. The licensee shall 

retain submit a certificate of completion, or if 

that is not available, a summary of the 

objectives of the activity and the time spent in 

the activity. 

(4) For registered participation in a non-interactive 

course offered by an approved provider by 

videotape, satellite transmission, webcast, 

DVD, or other electronic media, one hour of 

participation earns one point. The maximum 

number of points allowed during any reporting 

period shall be 10. Credit shall not be given for 

the same course more than once during a 

reporting period. The licensee shall retain 

submit a certificate of completion provided by 

the course provider. 

(5) For participation in a study group consisting of 

at least three licensees conducted either live or 

in real time through electronic media, whose 

purpose is to advance the knowledge and skills 

of the participants related to the practice of 

physical therapy, two hours of participation in 

the study group earns one point. The maximum 

number of points allowed during any reporting 

period shall be 10. The licensee shall retain 

submit a biography of each participant, a 

statement of the goals of the study group, 

attendance records for each participant, 

assignments for each participant and an analysis 

by each participant specifying the knowledge 

and skills enhanced by participating in the study 

group. 

(6) For participation in a self-designed home study 

program for the purpose of advancing the 

knowledge and skill of the participant related to 

the practice of physical therapy, three hours of 

home study earns one point. The maximum 

number of points allowed for home study 

during any reporting period shall be five. The 

licensee shall retain submit a description of the 

plans and objectives of the me study, an 

analysis of the manner in which the plans and 

objectives were met, and a certification of the 

time spent on the project. 

(7) For participation in continuing education 

required by credentialed residencies and 

fellowships, one point shall be granted for each 

contact hour. The maximum number of points 

for each reporting period shall be 29. The 

licensee shall retain submit the certificate of 

attendance issued by the American Physical 

Therapy Association ("APTA") credentialed 

residency or fellowship. 

(8) For completion of a home study physical 

therapy program furnished by an approved 

provider, one hour of home study earns one 

point. The maximum number of points during 

any one reporting period allowed shall be 10. 

The licensee shall retain submit a certificate of 

completion issued by the approved provider. 

(b)  Points are awarded for advanced training as follows: 

(1) For fellowships conferred by organizations 

credentialed by the APTA in a specialty area of 

the practice of physical therapy, 10 points shall 

be awarded for each full year of clinical 

participation, up to a maximum of 20 points per 

reporting period for this activity. The licensee 

shall retain submit the certificate conferred on 

the licensee or evidence that all requirements of 

the fellowship program have been met. 

(2) For completion of a residency program in 

physical therapy offered by an APTA 

credentialed organization, 10 points shall be 

awarded for each full year of clinical 

participation, up to a maximum of 20 points per 

reporting period for this activity. The licensee 

shall retain submit the certificate conferred on 

the licensee or evidence that all requirements of 

the residency program have been met. 

(3) For specialty certification or specialty 

recertification by the American Board of 

Physical Therapy Specialization ("ABPTS"), 

20 points shall be awarded upon receipt of such 
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certification or recertification during any 

reporting period. The licensee shall retain 

submit evidence from ABPTS that the 

certification or recertification has been granted. 

(4) For a physical therapist assistant, Advanced 

Proficiency designation by the APTA for the 

PTA earns 19 points per reporting period. The 

licensee shall retain submit evidence from 

APTA that the designation has been awarded. 

(c)  Achieving a passing score on the Federation's Practice Review 

Tool ("PRT") earns 10 points. Taking the PRT without achieving 

a passing score earns five points. The licensee shall retain submit 

the certificate of completion and performance report. Points shall 

be awarded only one time for any specific practice area. 

(d)  Clinical Education activities are eligible for points as follows: 

(1) For completion of a course offered by an 

approved provider for a licensee to become a 

Credentialed Clinical Instructor recognized by 

APTA, one course hour earns one point, and the 

maximum number of points awarded during 

any reporting period shall be 29. The licensee 

shall retain submit a credential certificate issued 

by the approved provider. Credit for completing 

the same course shall be given only once. 

(2) For enrollment in a course offered by APTA for 

a licensee to become a Credentialed Clinical 

Instructor Trainer, one course hour earns one 

point, and the maximum number of points 

awarded during any reporting period shall be 

29. The licensee shall retain submit a Trainer 

certificate issued by APTA. Credit for 

completing the same course shall be given only 

once. 

(3) For serving as a Clinical Instructor for a 

physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 

student, resident, or fellow for a period of at 

least 80 hours, 40 hours of direct on-site 

supervision earns one point, and the maximum 

number of points awarded during any reporting 

period shall be eight. The licensee shall retain 

submit verification of the clinical affiliation 

agreement with the accredited educational 

program for the student supervised and a log 

showing the number of hours spent supervising 

the student. 

(e)  Presenting or teaching for an accredited physical therapy 

educational program; a transitional Doctor of Physical Therapy 

("DPT") program; an accredited program for health care 

practitioners licensed under the provisions of Chapter 90 of the 

North Carolina General Statutes; or a state, national, or 

international workshop, seminar or professional health care 

conference earns two points for each hour of presentation or 

teaching. The licensee shall retain submit written materials 

advertising the presentation or teaching, or other evidence of the 

date, subject, goals and objectives of the presentation, and any 

written materials prepared by the licensee. A maximum of six 

points shall be allowed during any reporting period, and credit 

shall not be given for teaching or presenting the same subject 

matter more than one time during any reporting period. 

(f)  Research and published books or articles shall be eligible to 

accumulate up to a maximum of 15 points as follows: 

(1) Submission of a request to a funding agency for 

a research grant as a Principal or Co-Principal 

Investigator earns 10 points. The licensee shall 

retain submit a copy of the research grant that 

shall include the title, an abstract, the funding 

agency, and the grant period. Points shall be 

awarded only one time during any reporting 

period. 

(2) Having a research grant funded as a Principal 

Investigator or Co-Principal Investigator earns 

10 points. The licensee shall retain submit a 

copy of the research grant that shall include the 

title, an abstract, the funding agency, the grant 

period and documentation of the funding 

received in a given period. Points shall be 

awarded only one time during a reporting 

period. 

(3) Service as a Grants Reviewer earns one point 

for each two hours of grant review and a 

maximum of five points shall be allowed. The 

licensee shall retain submit a description of all 

grants reviewed and any reports generated in 

connection with the reviews, including the 

dates of service, the agency for whom the 

review was performed, and the hours spent on 

the grant review. Points shall be awarded only 

once for each grant reviewed during the 

reporting period. 

(4) The author or editor of a book published by a 

third party entity dealing with a subject related 

to the practice of physical therapy earns 10 

points. The licensee shall retain submit a copy 

of the published book and a list of consulted 

resources. Points shall be awarded only one 

time during any reporting period. 

(5) The author or editor of a chapter in a book 

published by a third party entity dealing with a 

subject related to the practice of physical 

therapy earns five points. The licensee shall 

retain submit a copy of the published book and 

a list of consulted resources. Points shall be 

awarded only one time during any reporting 

period. 

(6) The author of a published peer-reviewed article 

relating to the practice of physical therapy earns 

10 points. The licensee shall retain submit the 

article, names and employers of the reviewers, 

and a list of consulted resources. Points shall be 

awarded only one time during any reporting 

period.  

(7) The author of a published non peer-reviewed 

article or book-review or abstract relating to the 

practice of physical therapy earns four points. 

The licensee shall retain submit the article and 

a list of consulted resources. Each article, book-

review, or abstract shall count one time only. A 
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maximum of four points shall be awarded 

during any reporting period. 

(8) The author of a published peer-reviewed 

abstract, book review, or peer-reviewed 

abstract for a poster or presentation related to 

the practice of physical therapy to a 

professional health care group earns five points 

for a presentation, up to a maximum of 15 

points during any reporting period, and credit 

for the same poster or presentation shall not be 

awarded more than one time. The licensee shall 

retain submit a copy of the poster or 

presentation and a list of consulted resources. 

(g)  Clinical practice shall be eligible for points as follows: 

(1) For each year during the reporting period that a 

licensee is engaged in clinical practice for 1,750 

hours or more, three points shall be awarded. 

The licensee shall retain submit certification 

from the employer(s) for whom the services 

were performed including year and hours 

worked or document practice hours as the 

owner of a practice. 

(2) For each year during the reporting period that a 

licensee is engaged in clinical practice for at 

least 1,000 hours but less than 1,750 hours, two 

points shall be awarded. The licensee shall 

retain submit a certification from the 

employer(s) for whom the services were 

performed including year and hours worked or 

document practice hours as the owner of a 

practice. 

(3) For each year during the reporting period that a 

licensee is engaged in clinical practice for at 

least 200 hours but less than 1,000 hours, one 

point shall be awarded. The licensee shall retain 

submit a certification from the employer(s) for 

whom the services were performed including 

year and hours worked or document practice 

hours as the owner of a practice. 

(h)  Professional Self-Assessment earns five points for completion 

of an approved Reflective Practice Exercise. This exercise shall 

be approved if it is a process for a licensee to evaluate current 

professional practice abilities, to establish goals to improve those 

abilities, to develop a plan to meet those goals, and to document 

that the objectives are being accomplished. The licensee shall 

retain submit evidence of completion of all elements of the 

Reflective Practice Exercise. Points shall be awarded only one 

time during any reporting period. 

(i)  Workplace Education shall be eligible for points as follows: 

(1) Presentation or attendance at an in-service 

session related to the practice of physical 

therapy, including health care issues related to 

the practice of physical therapy, shall be 

allowed. The licensee shall retain submit a 

roster or certificate of attendance signed by a 

representative of the employer. Two hours of 

attendance earns one point. One hour of 

presentation earns one point. A maximum of 

five points may be earned during any one 

reporting period. Credit for the same in-service 

shall not be granted more than one time. 

(2) Presentation or attendance at an in-service 

session devoted to general patient safety, 

emergency procedures, or governmental 

regulatory requirements shall be allowed. The 

licensee shall retain submit a roster or 

certificate of attendance signed by a 

representative of the employer. Two contact 

hours of in-service are equivalent to one point, 

which shall be the maximum credit granted 

during any reporting period. Credit for the same 

in-service shall not be granted more than one 

time during any reporting period. 

(j)  Professional Service shall be eligible for points as follows: 

(1) Participation in a national physical therapy or 

interdisciplinary (including physical therapy) 

organization as an officer or chair of a physical 

therapy services committee, physical therapy 

services task force member, or delegate to a 

national assembly earns five points for each full 

year of participation, up to a maximum of 10 

points during any reporting period. The licensee 

shall retain submit organizational materials 

listing the licensee's participation, a statement 

of the responsibilities of the position, and a 

summary of the activities of the licensee. 

(2) Participation in a state physical therapy or 

interdisciplinary (including physical therapy) 

organization as an officer or chair of a physical 

therapy services committee earns four points 

for each full year of participation, up to a 

maximum of eight points during any reporting 

period. The licensee shall retain submit 

organizational materials listing the licensee's 

participation, a statement of the responsibilities 

of the position, and a summary of the activities 

of the licensee. 

(3) Participation in a local or regional physical 

therapy or interdisciplinary (including physical 

therapy) organization as an officer or chair of a 

physical therapy service committee earns two 

points for each full year of participation, up to 

a maximum of four points during any reporting 

period. The licensee shall retain submit 

organizational materials listing the licensee's 

participation, a statement of the responsibilities 

of the position, and a summary of the activities 

of the licensee. 

(4) Participation as a member of a physical therapy 

professional organization committee involved 

with physical therapy services earns one point 

for each full year of participation, up to a 

maximum of two points during any reporting 

period. The licensee shall retain submit 

organizational materials listing the licensee's 

participation, a statement of the responsibilities 

of the committee, and a summary of the work 

of the committee. 
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(5) Participation in unpaid volunteer service to the 

general public and healthcare professionals 

related to physical therapy earns one point for 

at least 20 hours spent on service activities 

during each year, up to a maximum of two 

points during any reporting period. The licensee 

shall retain submit published materials 

describing the service activity. 

(6) Membership in the APTA for one year earns 

one point. A point may be earned for each year 

of membership during the reporting period. The 

licensee shall retain submit proof of 

membership in the APTA. 

(7) Membership in an APTA Section for one year 

earns one-half point. The licensee shall retain 

submit proof of membership in the APTA 

Section. Points shall not be awarded for 

membership in more than one Section. 

(8) Selection by the Federation for participation as 

an item writer of exam questions for the 

National Physical Therapy Examination 

(NPTE) or by the American Board of Physical 

Therapy Specialties (ABPTS) earns five points 

for each year of participation. The licensee shall 

retain submit documentation of participation by 

the Federation or ABPTS. 

(9) Participation in clinical research, clinical trials, 

or research projects related to the practice of 

physical therapy earns 1 point for each hour of 

participation, up to a maximum of 10 hours per 

reporting period. The licensee shall retain 

submit a log of hours of participation including 

date, activity performed, location of the 

research, and primary investigator. 

(k)  During each reporting period, every licensee shall complete a 

jurisprudence exercise provided by the Board. The jurisprudence 

exercise shall be available online at the Board's website, at 

http://www.ncptboard.org and a certificate of completion shall be 

issued to a licensee at the conclusion of the exercise, at which time 

one point shall be awarded to the licensee. The maximum number 

of points allowed during a reporting period is three. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92. 

 

SECTION .0200 - LAPSED LICENSES 

 

21 NCAC 48G .0202 NOTIFICATION 

A person who has not renewed the license by February 1 shall be 

advised that the license has lapsed by written communication to 

the last known mailing address or email address on record with 

the Board. Unless the person has advised the Board that he or she 

does not intend to renew the license, then a similar notification 

shall be sent to the person's last known employer in North 

Carolina. If the person continues to work in North Carolina, his or 

her employer shall be notified of the lapsed license. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.99. 

 

SECTION .0500 - CONTESTED CASE HEARINGS 

21 NCAC 48G .0504 COMPLAINTS AND 

INVESTIGATIONS 

(a)  In order to file a complaint with the Board, the following 

information shall be submitted to the Board in writing: writing, or 

by filing a complaint online at the Board's website 

www.ncptboard.org: 

(1) the name and address of person alleged to have 

violated the Physical Therapy Practice Act; 

(2) a statement of conduct that is the basis of the 

complaint; and 

(3) the name, address, and telephone number of 

complainant. 

(b)  Upon receipt of a written complaint alleging misconduct that 

may subject a licensee to disciplinary action, or upon the receipt 

of the information that a violation of the Physical Therapy 

Practice Act may have occurred, the Board shall investigate the 

matter to determine whether probable cause exists to institute 

disciplinary proceedings. 

(c)  The Executive Director of the Board and a member appointed 

by the Chair shall serve as an investigative committee. This 

investigative committee may be assisted by: 

(1) the Board's attorney; 

(2) an investigator; or 

(3) a former member of the Board; or 

(4)(3) a consultant consultant, who is not a NC 

PT/PTA licensee, retained by the investigative 

committee who possesses expertise that will 

assist the investigative committee in its 

investigation. 

(d)  The investigative committee shall investigate the complaint 

or information set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. In 

conducting its investigation, the Board Chair (or Executive 

Director, if designated by the Chair) may issue subpoenas in the 

investigative committee's name for the production of documents 

pursuant to the provisions of Rule .0512 of this Section. The 

investigative committee shall determine whether there is probable 

cause to believe that the licensee has violated any statute or Board 

rule that justifies a disciplinary hearing. If the investigative 

committee determines probable cause does not exist, the 

complaint shall be dismissed, and the complainant shall be 

notified of the investigative committee's action and its reasons. If 

the investigative committee determines that probable cause exists, 

the investigative committee shall offer to confer with the licensee 

in an attempt to settle the matter through informal means. If the 

investigative committee and the licensee reach an agreement on 

the disposition of the matter under investigation, the investigative 

committee shall cause to be drafted a proposed settlement 

agreement that shall include findings of fact, conclusions of law, 

and a consent order for presentation to and consideration by the 

Board. The settlement agreement shall be presented to and 

approved by the licensee before it is presented to the Board for 

consideration and approval. 

(e)  Prior to a decision rendered by the Board, any materials 

generated or obtained by the Board in conducting an investigation 

shall be considered confidential investigation records not subject 

to the Public Records Act, G.S. 132. However, copies of the 

materials may be provided to a licensee subject to disciplinary 

action, or to the licensee's attorney, so long as identifying 

information concerning the treatment or delivery of professional 
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services to a patient who has not consented to its public disclosure 

shall be redacted. 

(f)  If the investigative committee and the licensee are not able to 

settle the matter under investigation by informal means, the 

licensee may request a contested case hearing pursuant to Rule 

.0502 of this Section or the Board shall give notice of a 

disciplinary or contested case hearing. 

(g)  If probable cause is found, but it is determined that license 

suspension or revocation is not warranted, the investigative 

committee shall recommend that the Board place the licensee on 

probation, or issue a warning to the licensee. In making this 

determination, the investigative committee shall consider such 

factors as harm to the public; nature of the conduct; and prior 

record of discipline. The investigative committee shall mail or 

email a copy of its recommendation to the licensee. licensee or the 

licensee's attorney. 

(h)  Within 20 days after receipt of the recommendation, the 

licensee may refuse the probation or warning and request a 

contested case hearing pursuant to this Rule. The refusal and 

request shall be filed with the Board. The legal counsel for the 

Board shall thereafter prepare, file, and serve a Notice of Hearing. 

(i)  In the alternative, within 20 days after receipt of the 

recommendation, the licensee may request an informal meeting 

with the Board to discuss the basis of the investigative 

committee's recommendation and present reasons why the Board 

should not follow the investigative committee's recommendation. 

There shall be no sworn testimony presented, nor shall there be a 

formal record of the proceedings. 

(j)  If the licensee does not request a contested case hearing or an 

informal meeting with the Board, the Board shall still determine 

whether to accept the investigative committee's recommendation. 

(k)  Participation by a current Board member in the investigation 

of a complaint shall disqualify that Board member from 

participating in the decision making process of a contested case 

hearing. 

(l)  Subsequent to the issuance of a notice of hearing, the attorney 

prosecuting the contested case for the Board may not 

communicate, directly or indirectly, in connection with any issue 

of fact or question of law, with any party, including the members 

of the Board assigned to make a decision or to make findings of 

fact and conclusions of law in the contested case, except on notice 

and opportunity for all parties to participate. However, the 

attorney prosecuting the matter for the Board may continue to 

communicate concerning the contested case with the members of 

the investigative committee who investigated the matter, with 

persons not parties to the contested case who may be called as 

witnesses including the person who filed the complaint, and with 

the Board members about other matters. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 150B-38; 150B-39; 150B-40. 



 TEMPORARY RULES 

 

 

34:10 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 15, 2019 

883 

Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 16 – STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Board of Education 

 

Rule Citation:  16 NCAC 06C .0314 and .0315 

 

Effective Date:  October 25, 2019 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  October 17, 

2019 

 

Reason for Action:  The effective date of a recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress, S.L 2019-71, Effective 

date July 1, 2019. 

Session Law 2019-71 explicitly directs the State Board to adopt 

emergency rules for the implementation of the act in accordance 

with G.S. 150B-21.1A.  These rules were adopted as emergency 

rules on July 11, 2019 by the State Board of Education and were 

submitted to OAH on July 15, 2019 as proposed temporary rules. 

In order to prevent these emergency rules from expiring under 

G.S. 150B-21.1A(d), they must be adopted as temporary rules and 

submitted to the Rules Review Commission on or prior to October 

14, 2019. 

 

CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY 

EDUCATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06C - PERSONNEL 

 

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0314 INITIAL PROFESSIONAL 

LICENSE: NOTIFICATION OF NON-COMPLIANCE 

AND SUBMISSION OF EXAMINATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  When the holder of an initial professional license is not in 

compliance with the requirements of G.S. 115C-270.15, the 

Department of Public Instruction satisfies its statutory duty to 

shall notify the teacher of such deficiencies by transmitting at least 

one communication to the teacher through either: 

(1) electronic mail to the applicant's last known 

email address as reported to the Department's 

Licensure Office; or 

(2) regular mail to the applicant's last known 

physical address as reported to the 

Department's Licensure Office. 

(b)  The Department shall provide notification to the teacher of 

noncompliance with first-year licensure examination 

requirements by July 31 each year. A teacher's failure to receive 

actual notice of noncompliance shall not constitute grounds for an 

extension of time to complete licensure examination 

requirements. 

(b)(c)  Teachers seeking to convert an initial professional license 

to a continuing professional license shall submit to the 

Department all documentation required to show compliance with 

the examination requirements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-270.15(d); 115C-

270.15(e); N.C. Constitution, Article IX, Sec. 5; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. July 23, 2019, pursuant to S.L. 2019-

71; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 25, 2019. 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0315 EVIDENCE OF TEACHER 

EFFECTIVENESS TO BE SUBMITTED BY LICENSED 

OUT-OF-STATE TEACHERS SEEKING A CONTINUING 

PROFESSIONAL LICENSE 

(a)  A teacher who possesses three or more years of teaching 

experience and currently holds an initial professional license or its 

equivalent in a state other than North Carolina shall be eligible for 

a continuing professional license, provided that he or she submits 

to the Department of Public Instruction evidence of his or her 

effectiveness, which shall include at least the following: 

(1) a copy of a current, valid out-of-state teaching 

license in good standing; 

(2) information identifying all of the schools and 

school systems in which the educator is 

teaching or has taught; 

(3) documentation of effective instructional 

practice in the form of a written classroom 

observation evaluation; and 

(4) the following: documentation of teacher 

effectiveness: 

(a) documentation of teacher 

effectiveness as measured by the 

evaluation system used in that 

applicant's state of current licensure at 

the time of application, including any 

growth measures included in that state 

or school district's evaluation system 

system, along with relevant 

documentation, documentation 

corresponding to each submitted item 

of evidence indicating the scale by 

which effectiveness is measured; or 

(b) an official letter from the State 

Education Agency (SEA) affirming 

that the teacher was deemed effective 

according to that state's educator 

effectiveness model. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-270.25; N.C. Constitution, 

Article IX, Sec. 5; 
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Emergency Adoption Eff. July 23, 2019, pursuant to S.L. 2019-

71; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 25, 2019. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission October 17, 2019 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079 
Ashley Snyder  (919) 431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 November 21, 2019 December 19, 2019 
 January 16, 2020 February 20, 2020 

 

 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 
MINUTES 

October 17, 2019 
 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, October 17, 2019, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina. Commissioners present were Andrew Atkins, Anna Baird Choi, Jeanette Doran, Garth 
Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Paul Powell, and Tommy Tucker. 
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsel Amber Cronk May, Ashley Snyder, and Amanda Reeder; and Julie 
Brincefield, Alex Burgos, and Dana McGhee.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chairman Hyde presiding. 
 
Chairman Hyde read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty 
to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
Chairman Hyde asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the September 19, 2019 
meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Department of Administration 
The agency is addressing the objection for 01 NCAC 05B .1520. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Board of Elections 
The agency is addressing the objection for 08 NCAC 10B .0103. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Social Services Commission 
10A NCAC 06S .0101, .0102, .0203, .0204, .0301, .0302, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0501, .0508; and 06T .0201 – All 
rules were unanimously approved. 
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Commission for the Blind 
The agency is addressing the objections for 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, and .0601. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
Department of Justice 
At the June meeting, the RRC voted pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9 to ask the Office of State Budget and Management to 
determine if the adoption of 12 NCAC 02I .0306 has a substantial economic impact and therefore requires a fiscal note. The 
RRC is awaiting a response from the Office of State Budget and Management. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Private Protective Services Board 
14B NCAC 16 .0110, .0805, .0806, .0807, .0808, .0809, .0901, .0904, .0906, and .0909 - All rules were unanimously 
approved. 
 
The agency is addressing the objection to 14B NCAC 16 .0804.  No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Commissioner Tucker joined the meeting during the discussion of the rules from the Private Protective Services Board. 
 
Environmental Management Commission  
15A NCAC 02B .0101, .0103, .0104, .0106, .0108, .0110, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0208, .0211, .0212, 
.0214, .0215, .0216, .0218, .0219, .0220, .0221, .0222, .0223, .0224, .0225, .0226, .0227, .0228, .0230, .0231, .0301, .0302, 
.0303, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311, .0312, .0313, .0314, .0315, .0316, and .0317 - All rules were 
unanimously approved. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, 
.0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, 
.0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, .0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, 
.1204, .1205, .1206 - The agency is addressing the objections from the July meeting. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners 
21 NCAC 14H .0101 and .0102 - The agency responded in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 150B-21.12(a)(2) 
indicating that it decided not to change the rules in response to the September objections and requested that the rules be 
returned to them in accordance with 150B-21.12(d).  Because the objections were to language currently existing in the 
NCAC, these Rules will be removed from the Code.  No further action was required by the Commission. 
 
Board of Dental Examiners  
21 NCAC 16V .0101 and .0102 – All rules were unanimously approved.  
 
Board of Dietetics/Nutrition 
The agency is addressing the objections for 21 NCAC 17 .0101 and .0303. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
State Board of Opticians  
21 NCAC 40 .0104, .0109, .0209, .0314, .0319, .0321, .0323, and .0325 - The agency is addressing the objections and 
requests for technical changes from the September meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the State Board of Opticians, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate 
in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm represents the Board and assists the Board with 
rulemaking. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Department of Administration 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
DHHS – Division of Health Service Regulation  
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards  
All rules were withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
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Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02B  
The Commission extended the period of review for these Rules in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. They did so in 
response to a request from the agency to extend the period in order to allow the agency to address technical changes and 
submit the rewritten rules at a later meeting. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02D  
All rules were unanimously approved, with the exception that Rule 15A NCAC 02D .0615 was withdrawn at the request of 
the agency.  
 
Wildlife Resources Commission  
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 13B 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Funeral Service 
The Commission objected to 21 NCAC 34A .0201 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10 for failure to comply with the 
Administrative Procedure Act and ambiguity. Specifically, the Commission found that the agency erroneously published in 
the NC Register an incorrect version of the rule that would increase fees without giving adequate notice of the change.  
Further, as the agency filed two different versions of the rule for review, it is unclear what changes were intended within this 
Rule. 
 
The Commission extended the period of review for 21 NCAC 34B .0310; 34C .0305; and 34D .0105, .0203, and .0303 in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. They did so in response to a request from the agency to extend the period in order to 
allow the agency to address the Requests for Technical Changes and submit the rewritten rules at a later meeting.   
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Funeral Service, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate 
in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm formerly represented the Board and assisted with 
rulemaking during the representation. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
State Board of Education  
16 NCAC 06C .0314 and .0315 were unanimously approved.   
 
EXISTING RULES REVIEW 
Commission for Public Health 
15A NCAC 18A – As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
March 1, 2024 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The meeting adjourned at 9:20 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, November 21, 2019 at 9:00 a.m. 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeff Hyde, Chair 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

34:10 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 15, 2019 

888 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

34:10 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 15, 2019 

889 

 
 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

34:10 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 15, 2019 

890 

 
 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

34:10 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 15, 2019 

891 

 
 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

34:10 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 15, 2019 

892 

 
 

 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

34:10 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 15, 2019 

893 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

34:10 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 15, 2019 

894 

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

October 17, 2019 Meeting 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Initial Professional License: Notification of Non-Complia... 16 NCAC 06C .0314 

Evidence of Teacher Effectiveness to be Submitted by Lice... 16 NCAC 06C .0315 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

October 17, 2019 Meeting 

ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Mileage Rates 01 NCAC 38 .0103 

General Repairs And Maintenance 01 NCAC 38 .0201 

Accident Reporting 01 NCAC 38 .0205 

Requests for Assignment of Vehicles 01 NCAC 38 .0302 

Removal of Vehicles From Individual and Agency Assignment 01 NCAC 38 .0305 

Return of Assigned Vehicles 01 NCAC 38 .0308 

Official Use Only 01 NCAC 38 .0401 

Relatives 01 NCAC 38 .0407 

Public Sale 01 NCAC 43A .0307 

First-Come First-Served 01 NCAC 43A .0308 

Rejection of Bids 01 NCAC 43A .0309 

Receipt of Bids 01 NCAC 43A .0310 

Inspection of Property 01 NCAC 43A .0311 

State Does Note Guarantee 01 NCAC 43A .0312 

Refunds 01 NCAC 43A .0313 

Extension to Pay or Remove Property 01 NCAC 43A .0314 

Failure to Pay or Remove Property 01 NCAC 43A .0315 

Bond 01 NCAC 43A .0316 

Demolition of State Buildings 01 NCAC 43A .0317 

Timber Sales, Pinestraw, and Forest Commodities Sales 01 NCAC 43A .0318 

Surplus Weapons and Firearms 01 NCAC 43A .0319 

Payment 01 NCAC 43A .0320 

 
SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 

Introductory Statement 10A NCAC 06S .0101 

Definitions 10A NCAC 06S .0102 

Staffing Pattern 10A NCAC 06S .0203 

Staff Requirements 10A NCAC 06S .0204 

Requirements 10A NCAC 06S .0301 

Construction Requirements for Day Health Homes 10A NCAC 06S .0302 

Additional Enrollment and Participation Requirements 10A NCAC 06S .0402 

Health and Personal Care Services 10A NCAC 06S .0403 

Transportation 10A NCAC 06S .0404 

Emergencies and First Aid 10A NCAC 06S .0405 

Procedure 10A NCAC 06S .0501 

Procedure for Appeal 10A NCAC 06S .0508 

Nature and Purpose of State Adult Day Care Fund 10A NCAC 06T .0201 
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HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14G .0101 

Application 10A NCAC 14G .0102 

Criteria for an Undeserved Area Exemption - New Entity 10A NCAC 14G .0103 

Criteria for an Underserved Area Exemption - Existing Entity 10A NCAC 14G .0104 

 
PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Reporting Requirements for the Discharge of Firearms 14B NCAC 16 .0110 

Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit Ident Cards 14B NCAC 16 .0805 

Renewal of Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 14B NCAC 16 .0806 

Training Requirements for Armed Security Guards 14B NCAC 16 .0807 

Concealed Weapons 14B NCAC 16 .0808 

Authorized Firearms 14B NCAC 16 .0809 

Requirements for Firearms Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0901 

Renewal of a Firearms Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0904 

Records Retention 14B NCAC 16 .0906 

Unarmed Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0909 

 
ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

General Procedures 15A NCAC 02B .0101 

Analytical Procedures 15A NCAC 02B .0103 

Considerations/Assigning/Implementing Water Supply Classi... 15A NCAC 02B .0104 

Considerations/Assigning Classifications for Primary Recr... 15A NCAC 02B .0106 

Considerations in Assigning the Shellfishing Area Classif... 15A NCAC 02B .0108 

Considerations for Federally-Listed Threatened or Endange... 15A NCAC 02B .0110 

Antidegradation Policy 15A NCAC 02B .0201 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02B .0202 

Protection of Waters Downstream of Receiving Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0203 

Location of Sampling Sites and Mixing Zones 15A NCAC 02B .0204 

Natural Characteristics Outside Standards Limits 15A NCAC 02B .0205 

Flow Design Criteria for Effluent Limitations 15A NCAC 02B .0206 

Standards for Toxic Substances and Temperature 15A NCAC 02B .0208 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class C Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0211 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class WS-I Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0212 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class WS-II Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0214 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class WS-III Wa... 15A NCAC 02B .0215 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class WS-IV Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0216 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class WS-V Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0218 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class B Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0219 

Tidal Salt Water Quality Standards for Class SC Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0220 

Tidal Salt Water Quality Standards for Class SA Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0221 

Tidal Salt Water Quality Standards for Class SB Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0222 

Water Quality Standards for Nutrient Sensitive Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0223 

Water Quality Standards for High Quality Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0224 

Water Quality Standards for Outstanding Resource Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0225 

Exemptions From Surface Water Quality Standards 15A NCAC 02B .0226 

Water Quality Management Plans 15A NCAC 02B .0227 

Effluent Channels 15A NCAC 02B .0228 
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Activities Deemed to Comply with Wetlands Standards 15A NCAC 02B .0230 

Wetland Standards 15A NCAC 02B .0231 

Classifications: General 15A NCAC 02B .0301 

Hiwassee River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0302 

Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River Drainage ... 15A NCAC 02B .0303 

French Broad River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0304 

Watauga River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0305 

Broad River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0306 

New River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0307 

Catawba River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0308 

Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0309 

Lumber River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0310 

Cape Fear River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0311 

White Oak River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0312 

Roanoke River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0313 

Chowan River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0314 

Neuse River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0315 

Tar-Pamlico River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0316 

Pasquotank River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0317 

Purpose and Scope 15A NCAC 02D .0601 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .0602 

Exceptions to Monitoring and Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .0604 

General Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .0605 

Sources Covered by Appendix P of 40 CFR Part 51 15A NCAC 02D .0606 

Large Wood and Wood-Fossil Fuel Combination Units 15A NCAC 02D .0607 

Other Large Coal or Residual Oil Boilers 15A NCAC 02D .0608 

Federal Monitoring Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .0610 

Monitoring Emissions from Other Sources 15A NCAC 02D .0611 

Alternative Monitoring and Reporting Procedures 15A NCAC 02D .0612 

Quality Assurance Program 15A NCAC 02D .0613 

Compliance Assurance Monitoring 15A NCAC 02D .0614 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02D .2101 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .2102 

Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .2103 

Implementation 15A NCAC 02D .2104 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02D .2301 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .2302 

Applicability and Eligibility 15A NCAC 02D .2303 

Qualification of Emission Reduction Credits 15A NCAC 02D .2304 

Creating and Banking Emission Reduction Credits 15A NCAC 02D .2305 

Duration of Emission Reduction Credits 15A NCAC 02D .2306 

Use of Emission Reduction Credits 15A NCAC 02D .2307 

Certificates and Registry 15A NCAC 02D .2308 

Transferring Emission Reduction Credits 15A NCAC 02D .2309 

Revocation and Changes of Emission Reduction Credits 15A NCAC 02D .2310 

Monitoring 15A NCAC 02D .2311 

Purpose and Scope 15A NCAC 02D .2601 
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General Provisions on Test Methods and Procedures 15A NCAC 02D .2602 

Testing Protocol 15A NCAC 02D .2603 

Number of Test Points 15A NCAC 02D .2604 

Velocity and Volume Flow Rate 15A NCAC 02D .2605 

Molecular Weight 15A NCAC 02D .2606 

Determination of Moisture Content 15A NCAC 02D .2607 

Number of Runs and Compliance Determination 15A NCAC 02D .2608 

Particulate Testing Methods 15A NCAC 02D .2609 

Opacity 15A NCAC 02D .2610 

Sulfur Dioxide Testing Methods 15A NCAC 02D .2611 

Nitrogen Oxide Testing Methods 15A NCAC 02D .2612 

Volatile Organic Compound Testing Methods 15A NCAC 02D .2613 

Determination of Voc Emission Control System Efficiency 15A NCAC 02D .2614 

Fluorides 15A NCAC 02D .2616 

Total Reduced Sulfur 15A NCAC 02D .2617 

Mercury 15A NCAC 02D .2618 

Arsenic, Beryllium, Cadmium, Hexavalent Chromium 15A NCAC 02D .2619 

Dioxins and Furans 15A NCAC 02D .2620 

Determination of Pollutant Emissions Using the F Factor 15A NCAC 02D .2621 

 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Game Bird Propagation License 15A NCAC 10H .0901 

Acquisition of Birds or Eggs 15A NCAC 10H .0903 

Disposition of Birds or Eggs 15A NCAC 10H .0904 

Transportation 15A NCAC 10H .0905 

Records 15A NCAC 10H .0906 

Quail Call-Pen Traps 15A NCAC 10H .0907 

Application for Licensure 15A NCAC 10H .1101 

License Authorization 15A NCAC 10H .1102 

Posting and Display of License 15A NCAC 10H .1103 

Cages 15A NCAC 10H .1104 

Sanitation and Care 15A NCAC 10H .1105 

Humane Treatment 15A NCAC 10H .1106 

Records 15A NCAC 10H .1107 

Inspections 15A NCAC 10H .1108 

Commercial Take of Certain Turtles Prohibited 15A NCAC 10H .1301 

Possession of Reptiles and Amphibians 15A NCAC 10H .1302 

 
ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Definitions 15A NCAC 13B .1201 

General Requirements for Medical Waste 15A NCAC 13B .1202 

Requirements for Regulated Medical Waste Generators, Tran... 15A NCAC 13B .1203 

Requirements for the Treatment of Regulated Medical Waste 15A NCAC 13B .1204 

Requirements for Transporters of Regulated Medical Waste 15A NCAC 13B .1205 

Requirements for Storage of Regulated Medical Waste 15A NCAC 13B .1206 

Operational Req/Regulated Medical Waste Treatment Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .1207 

Requirement for Permit 15A NCAC 13B .1401 

General Provisions for Solid Waste Compost Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .1402 
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General Prohibitions for Solid Waste Compost Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .1403 

Siting/Design Requirements for Solid Waste Compost Facili... 15A NCAC 13B .1404 

Application Requirements for Solid Waste Compost Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .1405 

Operational Requirements for Solid Waste Compost Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .1406 

Classification, Testing, and Distribution of Solid Waste ... 15A NCAC 13B .1407 

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1408 

Alternative Procedures, Vermicomposting, and Anaerobic Di... 15A NCAC 13B .1409 

Closure Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1410 

 
DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Definition: Unprofessional Conduct by a Dentist 21 NCAC 16V .0101 

Definition: Unprofessional Conduct by a Dental Hygienist 21 NCAC 16V .0102 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

        

19 DHR 00787 9/27/2019 FRAN Inc v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Sutton 

19 DHR 02190 9/12/2019 David Simmons v. Division of Health Benefits Elkins 

19 DHR 02737 9/5/2019 William Edward 

Mills 

v. DHHS Ward 

             

19 DOA 02825 9/5/2019 The Wheel of Hope 

Wayne L Lofton 

v. SECC Ward 

             

19 INS 01845 9/11/2019 Karen Vick Bates v. North Carolina State Health Plan Elkins 

             

19 OSP 01862 9/17/2019 Shenita Roberts v. Regina Garden Gaston County 

Department of Health & Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

        

      Unpublished      

19 ABC 03557 9/6/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Eusleydi Paulino T/A 3Y Smoke Shop May 

19 ABC 04248 9/25/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Mohamed Musa Ahmed T/A Discount 

Tobacco 

Jacobs 

             

19 BPP 02387 9/4/2019 Timothy David 

Spahr 

v. North Carolina Psychology Board Dr 

April Harris-Britt Keshawna Solomon 

Jacobs 
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19 CPS 00281 9/20/2019 Wheeler E Lloyd v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Jacobs 

19 CPS 03051 9/23/2019 Tiffany Ann 

Robinson Kyle 

Storm Lee 

(deceased victim) 

v. Liddie Shropshire Crime Victims 

Compensation Commission 

Sutton 

             

19 CRA 01434 9/3/2019 Takoby C Cofield v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

             

19 DCS 03887 9/3/2019 Sherry Massey v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Overby 

19 DCS 04172 9/20/2019 Daisy Castillo v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

             

19 DHR 00820 9/3/2019 Vintage Inn 

Retirement 

Community LLC 

Licensee Facility 

Vintage Inn 

Retirement Village 

License Number 

HAL-058-010 

v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of 

Health Service Regulation 

Overby 

19 DHR 02824 9/30/2019 New Beginnings 

Youth Facility 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Mental Health Licensure 

and Certification 

May 

19 DHR 03156 9/9/2019 Kristie L Sluder 

Foster Mother 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services 

Child Wefare Child Protective Services 

Mann 

19 DHR 03206 9/11/2019 Care Health 

Services 1 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Mental Health Licensure 

and Certification 

Mann 

19 DHR 03355 9/4/2019 Brandon M 

Hudspeth 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Food and Nutrition Services 

May 

19 DHR 03447 9/27/2019 Robin Grant Lee v. NC Dept of Health and Human Service Lassiter 

19 DHR 03448 9/6/2019 Tity Hayes v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 03553 9/16/2019 Keara Starkes v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 03579 9/3/2019 Life Stages Assisted 

Living LLC Torey 

Morris 

v. Division of Health Service Regulation 

Adult Care Licensure Section 

May 

19 DHR 03668 9/23/2019 Fortress F Saah v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 03778 9/16/2019 Geneva Andreal 

Davis 

v. NC Dept of Health and Human Svcs, 

Division of Child Development 

Lassiter 

19 DHR 04372 9/24/2019 New Hope Home 

III MHL# 036-303 

Desareta Jones 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 
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19 DHR 04500 9/13/2019 Inreach Myisha 

Hayes 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 04501 9/11/2019 Skyline Superette 

Aimee Kennedy 

v. NC Dept Health & Human Services Malherbe 

19 DHR 04508 9/5/2019 Niquia D Hart v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

             

18 DOJ 07522 9/20/2019 Soomo Karnath v. NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs 

19 DOJ 00715 9/5/2019 Donald Wayne 

Clanton 

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Elkins 

19 DOJ 01473 9/20/2019 Jeremy Derell 

Herring 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs 

19 DOJ 01474 9/23/2019 Donnell Thomas v. NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs 

19 DOJ 03747 9/20/2019 Devon Quinn 

Covert 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs 

19 DOJ 04082 9/23/2019 Robert Crowe v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 04084 9/17/2019 Joseph M Stewart v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

             

19 INS 04274 9/27/2019 John M McHugh v. Blue Cross Blue Shield of North 

Carolina 

Malherbe 

             

19 UNC 03247 9/9/2019 Christopher 

Wellington 

v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Lassiter 

 

 




