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This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3)  text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the schedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
is not included. The last day of the period so computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.
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State of Northh Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

September 8, 2019

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 106
RESCISSION OF MANDATORY EVACUATION ORDER FOR ALL NORTH CAROLINA ISLANDS

WHEREAS, Hurricane Dorian (“Hurricane™) made landfall over Cape Hatteras. North Carolina on
September 6. 2019: and

WHEREAS, impacts from the Hurricane constitute a State of Emergency, as defined in N.C. Gen. Stat.
§ 166A-19.3(19): and

WHEREAS, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 101 on August 31, 2019, declaring a State of
Emergency: and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 101 further invokes the North Carolina Emergency Management Act
which authorizes the undersigned to exercise the powers and duties set forth thercin to direct and aid in the
response to, recovery from, and mitigation against emergencies: and

WHEREAS, the President of the United States issued an emergency declaration for the State of North
Carolina, FEMA-3423-EM, on September 3, 2019. that provides. in part. for Public Assistance — Category B,
including direct Federal Assistance to the State: and

WHEREAS, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 104 (“Executive Order 1047), ordering a
mandatory evacuation of all North Carolina islands: and

WHEREAS, after making the determination that conditions permitted the return of residents and visitors
to a few North Carolina islands. certain county, municipal, and other local governments with jurisdiction lifted
the applicable, local mandatory evacuation orders that were issued prior to the Hurricane’s landfall; and

WIEREAS, the state-ordered evacuation issued pursuant to Executive Order 104 is no longer necessary
to ensure the safety of residents and visitors on the North Carolina islands.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and the laws of the
State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1.
Executive Order 104 is hereby rescinded.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hercunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of the State of
North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 8" day of September in the year of our Lord two thousand
and nineteen.

& IRoy Coopdf
Governor
ATTEST: _

Elaine F. Marshall
Secretary of State
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State of Northh Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

September 9, 2019

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 107

RESCISSION OF TEMPORARY WAIVER FOR LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS TO FACILITATE
OUT-OF-STATE HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS TO TREAT VICTIMS OF
HURRICANE DORIAN

WHEREAS, Hurricane Dorian (“Hurricane™) made landfall over Cape Hatteras. North Carolina on
September 6, 2019; and

WHEREAS, impacts from the Hurricane constitute a State of Emergency, as defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. §
166A-19.3(19): and

WHEREAS, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 101 on August 31, 2019, declaring a State of
Emergency: and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 101 further invokes the North Carolina Emergency Management Act.
which authorizes the undersigned to exercise the powers and duties set forth therein to direct and aid in the response
to, recovery from, and mitigation against emergencies: and

WHEREAS, the President of the United States issued an emergency declaration for the State of North
Carolina, FEMA-3423-EM. on September 3, 2019, that provides. in part, for Public Assistance — Category B,
including direct Federal Assistance to the State: and

WHEREAS, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 105 (“Executive Order 1057), temporarily
suspending North Carolina state licensure rules and regulations for out-of-state health care professionals and
personnel addressing the health care needs of Hurricane victims: and

WHEREAS, the temporary waiver of licensure requirements for out-of-state health care professionals and
personnel issued pursuant to Executive Order 105 is no longer necessary to address the health care needs of
Hurricane victims.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and the laws of the
State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1.
Executive Order 105 is hereby rescinded.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of the State of
North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh. this 9" day of September in the year of our Lord two thousand
and nineteen.

4 I Roy Coaffer
Governor

ATTEST:

Elaine F. Marsill
Secretary of State
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State of North Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

September 23, 2019
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 108

DIRECTING HURRICANE-RELATED DEBRIS REMOVAL FROM PUBLIC RIGHT-OF-
WAYS BY THE NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

WHEREAS. Hurricane Dorian (“Hurricane™) made landfall over Cape Hatteras. North
Carolina on September 6, 2019: and

WHEREAS. the Hurricane has inflicted significant damage on public and private property and
disrupted the supply of goods. materials. equipment. and essentials necessary for recovery and response
operations: and

WHEREAS, impacts from the Hurricane constitute a State of Emergency. as defined in N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.3(19): and

WHEREAS, N.C. Const. art. III. § 5(4) vests the undersigned with the duty to take care that
the laws be faithfully executed: and

WHEREAS, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 101 on August 31. 2019, declaring
a State of Emergency: and

WHEREAS. Executive Order No. 101 further invokes the North Carolina Emergency
Management Act (“Emergency Management Act™), which authorizes the undersigned to exercise the
powers and duties set forth therein to direct and aid in the response to, recovery from, and mitigation
against emergencies: and

WHEREAS, the President of the United States issued an emergency declaration for the State
of North Carolina, FEMA-3423-EM. on September 3. 2019, providing. in part. for Public Assistance-
Category B, including direct Federal Assistance to the State: and

WHEREAS, the undersigned requested a Major Disaster Declaration for the State of North
Carolina on September 13, 2019: and

WHEREAS. pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b)(2). the undersigned is
authorized and empowered to make. amend, or rescind the necessary orders, rules. and regulations
within the limits of the authority conferred through the Emergency Management Act, with due
consideration of federal government policies: and

WHEREAS. the undersigned. in consultation with the Secretary of the North Carolina
Department of Transportation. has identified conditions on North Carolina roadways that will require
emergency measures to maintain public health and safety. ensure the structural integrity of public
infrastructure, and expedite response and recovery: and

WHEREAS, conditions currently exist in some areas of North Carolina where Hurricane-
related debris on both private property and public right-of-ways is present in such volumes that it has

34:09 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 1, 2019
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the potential to threaten public health and safety or inhibit the economic recovery of these communities:
and

WHEREAS, property owners, by direction or of their own volition. may place Hurricane-
related debris currently located on private property along the public right-of-ways during Hurricane
recovery operations: and

WHEREAS. the North Carolina Department of Transportation (“DOT™) has the requisite
assets and experience to both execute and oversee contracting for Hurricane-related debris removal
from public right-of-ways.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and the
laws of the State of North Carolina. IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1.

In counties designated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (“FEMA™) for public
assistance, DOT is hereby authorized to both conduct and arrange for Hurricane-related debris
removal, including, but not limited to. vegetative debris. structural components, sand. mud. silt. gravel,
rocks. boulders. vehicles. and vessels. from public right-of-ways. including state-maintained routes
within the limits of a local governmental authority when the resources of the local governmental
authority are insufficient to conduct debris-removal operations.

DOT is further authorized to arrange for the disposal of said Hurricane-related debris and enter
into agreements with units of local government to undertake debris removal on behalf of DOT along
state-maintained routes.

Section 2.

In counties designated by FEMA for public assistance and where Hurricane-related debris
along the public right-of-ways and on private property is so widespread that it threatens public health
and safety or the economic recovery of a community. it is ordered that state and local authorities.
consistent with FEMA rules and regulations. seek expedited review and approval by FEMA to provide
Public Assistance funding for debris removal from private property.

Section 3.

This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect for the duration of the
emergency unless rescinded or superseded by a separate Executive Order.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF. | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of

the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 23" day of September in the year
of our Lord two thousand and nineteen.

IZ e

s I Roy Codfer
Governor

ATTEST:

Elaine F. Marshall
Secretary of State

34:09 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 1, 2019
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NOTICE OF RULE MAKING PROCEEDINGS AND PUBLIC HEARING

NORTH CAROLINA BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

Notice of Rule-making Proceedings is hereby given by NC Building Code Council in accordance with

G.S. 150B-21.5(d).

Citation to Existing Rule Affected by this Rule-Making: North Carolina Residential, Building, Existing
Building, Fire, Administrative, and Plumbing Code amendments.

Authority for Rule-making: G.S. 143-136; 143-138.

Reason for Proposed Action: To incorporate changes in the NC State Building Codes as a result of
rulemaking petitions filed with the NC Building Code Council and to incorporate changes proposed by the

Council.

Public Hearing: Tuesday, December 10, 2019, 9:004AM, Albemarle Building, 325 North Salisbury Street,
Raleigh, NC 27603, 2 Floor Training Room 240. Comments on both the proposed rule and any fiscal

impact will be accepted.

Comment Procedures: Written comments may be sent to Carl Martin, Secretary, NC Building Code
Council, NC Department of Insurance, 1202 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1202. Comments on
both the proposed rule and any fiscal impact will be accepted. Comment period expires on January 14,

2020.

Statement of Subject Matter:

1. Request by Jackie Flemming and Doug Allen representing Simpson Strong-Tie to amend the 2018
NC Residential Code, Appendix M, Section AM109.1.4.

2x6 diagonal vertical cross bracing is permitted to be provided in two perpendicular directions for free
standing decks or parallel to the structure at the exterior column line for attached decks. The 2x6 bracing
shall be attached to the posts with one_of the methods in Table AM109.1.4 3/3-neh-(16-nmmi-hot-dip
calavinzed-boltwith-nut-and-washer at each end of each bracing member in accordance with Figure
AM109.1(4).

TABLE AM109.1.4

34:09
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FASTENING OF BRACE (CHOOSE ONE)

Fastener Type | Diameter (inches) | QTY Length

Bolt 5

®
=

As required

Long enough to achieve a 1 %"

g
i
™

Screws
thread penetration

a. Bolts shall be hot dip galvanized through bolts with nut and washer

b. Screws shall be hot dip galvanized (ASTM A 153, Class C, minimum) self drilling screw fastener having

aminimum diameter of 0.27°, and installed in the center of the post with a minimum of 1™ space between

SCrews.

One 5/8” bolttopand
bottom-end-with-a-nut
If span between é and-washer.
posts is greater Fastener per Table
than 7/, center AM109.1.4
blocking and-one
5/8” bolt witl
and-washer—with FIGURE AM109.1(4)
fastener(s) per CROSS BRACING

Table AM109.1.4

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to reduce fastener size to reduce damage to structures
while providing equal capacity of through bolts.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. Thisrule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

2. Request by Charles Watts, AIA representing The Apartment Association of North Carolina to amend the
2018 NC Building Code, Section 1107.6.2.2.1.

34:09
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1107.6.2.2.1. Type A Units. In Group R-2 occupancies containing more than 45 20 dwelling units or
sleeping units, at least 5 percent but not less than one of the units shall be a Type A unit. All Group R-2
units on a site shall be considered to determine the total number of units and the required number of type
A units. Type A units shall be dispersed among the various classes of units. Bedrooms in monasteries and
convents shall be counted as sleeping units for the purpose of determining the number of units. Where the
sleeping units are grouped into suites, only one sleeping unit in each suite shall count towards the number

of required Type A units.

Exceptions:
1. The number of type A units is permitted to be reduced in accordance with Section 1107.7.
2. Existing structures on a site shall not contribute to the total number of units on a site.

3. For a site with more than 100 units. at least 2 percent of the number of units exceeding 100 shall be

Type A units.

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to reduce the quantity of required Type A dwelling units
in Group R-2 occupancy classifications.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with a net decrease in cost.
This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state funds. A

fiscal note has not been prepared.

3. Request by Colin Triming representing North Carolina Fire Code Revision Committee to amend
the 2018 NC Building Code and Fire Prevention Code, Section 905.3.1.

41 .ﬁn’l'lll rnﬂ’k’)!’?

34:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

NOVEMBER 1, 2019

737



IN ADDITION

—

O 0 N O U & W D

20

51R d-oading docksfor four vehicles-or less.

52 Conditions-where-t

. .

905.3.1 Height. Class III standpipe systems shall be installed throughout buildings where any of the

following exist:
1. Four or more stories are above or below grade plane.

2. The floor level of the highest story is located more than 30 feet (9144 mm) above the lowest level of the

fire department vehicle access

3. The floor level of the lowest story is located more than 30 feet (9144 mm) below the highest level of fire

department vehicle access.

Exceptions:
1. Class I standpipes are allowed in buildings equipped throughout with an automatic sprinkler system in
accordance with Section 903.3.1.1 or 903.3.1.2.

2. Class I standpipes are allowed in Group B and E occupancies.

3. Class I manual standpipes are allowed in open parking garages where the highest floor is located not
more than 150 feet (45720 mm) above the lowest level of fire department vehicle access.
4. Class I manual dry standpipes are allowed in open parking garages that are subject to freezing

temperatures. provided that the hose connections are located as required for class II standpipes in

accordance with Section 905.5.

5. Class I standpipes are allowed in basements equipped throughout with an automatic sprinkler svstem.

6. Class I standpipes are allowed in buildings where occupant-use hose lines will not be utilized by trained

personnel or the fire department.

7. In determining the lowest level of fire department vehicle access. it shall not be required to consider

either of the following:
7.1 Recessed loading docks for four vehicles or less.

7.2 Conditions where topography makes access from the fire department vehicle to the building impractical

or impossible

34:09
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Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to provide more clear intent and direction.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
incost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

4. Request by Tim Henshaw representing the N.C. Fire Code Revision Committee to amend the
2018 NC Fire Code, Section 1031.

Section 1031.10 Fire Escape Stairs and Ladders
All fire escape stairs and ladders shall be kept clear and unobstructed at all times and shall be maintained

in good working order. Rust. loose bolts. fraved cables. insufficient weights. welds or anv other condition

that renders the equipment unusable shall be immediately repaired or replaced. All fire escapes that need

to be replaced or repaired shall comply with Section 405 of the North Carolina Existing Building Code

(NCEBC).

Section 1031.10.1 Examination

Fire escape stairways. balconies. and ladders shall be examined for structural adequacy and safety in

accordance with Section 1031.10 by a registered design professional or others acceptable to the fire code

official every 5 vears. or as required by the fire code official.

Section 1031.10.2 Examination Report
Records of inspections. testing and maintenance shall be maintained.

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to provide provisions for maintenance of fire escapes.
Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
incost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

5. Request by Tim Henshaw representing the N.C. Fire Code Revision Committee to amend the

2018 Existing Building Code, Section 405.
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405.6 Marking
The ground under the fire escape stair or ladder shall be identified and marked. Approved signs. other

approved notices or markings that include the words NO PARKING — FIRE ESCAPE shall be provided to

identify or prohibit the obstruction thereof.

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to provide provisions for maintenance of fire escapes.
Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
incost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

6. Request by CIiff Isaac representing the N.C. Department of Insurance to amend the 2018 N.C.

Administrative Code and Policies

107.6 Inspections of component or element. Acceptance of inspection of a component or element by a

NC registered architect or engineer will require completion of the “Design Professional Inspection Form™
found in Appendix G.

APPENDIX G
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bESIGN PROFESSIONAL INSPECTION FORM

RECCRD ©F THE INSPECTION OF A COMPONENT OR ELEMENT Y A NC LICENSED ARCHITECT OR ENGINEER

Project Information:

Residential Single-Fomily Project: Y N | Commercial Project: Y N
Code Enforcement Project No: Pemit No:

Project Name: Owrner:

Project Address: Suite No:

Dote Inspected: Contrcctor Noame:

Component iIncoectad:

Responsible Licensed NC Architect or NC Engineer
Nome:
Fim Name:
Phone Numbers: Office: Mobile:
Emcil Address:

Mailing Address:

Arrucasie Cope:
2018 NCBC = 2018 NC Building Code; 2018 NCRC = 2018 NC Residenficl Code

Describe Element/Component/Type of Inspection: *

*{subgrade form/letter may also be required)

Atftestation/Signature:
By signing below, | certify that the component and/or element of the building os idenfified on this form
nas beeninspected by me or someone under my direct supervision per subsection (b2) of NC G.8. 153A-
352 ond sin.compianes with the cpproved plans & specifications for the project. This inspection js.in.
somrligosse wiih oll of the requirements of the above referenced
code. Attach any additional documents if needed.

Licensed Architect or Engineer

Inspection Department disclaimer:

Upon the receipt of a signed written document as required under subsection (2] of Article 1504-413.5., Code
Enforcement shall be discharged and releasad from any lizbilitiss, duties and responsibilities imposed by this articls
or in common law from any claim arising out of or attributed to the companent or element in the construction of the
building for which the signed written documsant was submitted. Be aware that this inspection will be notad in all
inspection records including the Certificate of Occupancy or Certificate of Compliance. This inspaction does not
address any local ordinances or zoning requiremsants.

42019
1

2 Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule isJune 1,
3 2020 (eatliest through RRC), unless the BCC assgns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).
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Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to provide a form as required by SL 2019-174 (House
Bill 675).

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
incost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

7. Request by Jerry Fraker and Leon Skinner representing the City of Raleigh to amend the 2018
N.C. Plumbing Code, Section 702.1 Exception.

702.1 Above-ground sanitary drainage and vent pipe. Above-ground soil, waste and vent pipe shall
conform to one of the standards listed in Table 702.1. Pipe fittings shall not be solvent-cemented inside of

plastic pipe.

Exception: Stacks in buildings in which the top occupied floor exceeds 75 feet (23 m) in height shall not be

plastic.

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to remove plastic pipe from the list of materials allowed
for plumbing stacks.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with a net decrease in cost.
This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state funds. A

fiscal note has not been prepared.

8. Request by Jerry Fraker and Leon Skinner representing the City of Raleigh to amend the 2018
N.C. Plumbing Code, Section 702.4 Fittings.

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,

2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).
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Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to allow plastic fittings and appurtenances to be used
with plastic plumbing piping for horizontal branch drains, wastes, and vents.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with a net decrease in cost.
This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state funds. A

fiscal note has not been prepared.

9. Request by Jerry Fraker and Leon Skinner representing the City of Raleigh to amend the 2018
N.C. Plumbing Code, Section 1102.2.

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to remove plastic pipe from the list of materials allowed
for plumbing stacks.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with a net decrease in cost.
This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state funds. A

fiscal note has not been prepared.
10. Request by Jerry Fraker and Leon Skinner representing the City of Raleigh to amend the N.C.
Plumbing Code, Section 917 and 917.1.

SECTION 917 SINGLE STACK VENT SYSTEM SOVENT)
917 1=Pesten—nnd—mstaHaten—shal-beinecorduree—with-—the

917.1 Single-stack vent system permitted.

A drainage stack shall serve as a single-stack vent svstem where sized and installed in accordance with

Sections 917.2 through 917.9. The drainage stack and branch piping shall be the vents for the drainage
svstem. The drainage stack shall have a stack vent.

917.2 Stack size.

34:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

NOVEMBER 1, 2019

743



IN ADDITION

B B Y

10
11
12
13

15
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13
19
20
21
22
23
24

Drainage stacks shall be sized in accordance with Table 817 2. Stocks chall beuni fortoly sized based on the
total connected draimege Hroure unitload The stackvent shall be the satne size asthe drainage stack & 3-

inch 78 o) stack shall serve not more than two closets.

TABLE 817.3
SINGLE STACK SIFF

MAXIMUM CONNECTED DRAINAGE FIXTURE UNITS
STACK SIZE Stacks 75 feet to Stacks 180 feet
2 Stacks less than ]
(inches) ) , less than 160 feet and greater in
75 feet in height ; : ;
in height height
3 24 NP NP
4 225 24 NP
2 480 225 24
6 1,015 480 225
8 2,320 1,015 480
10 4,500 2,320 1,015
12 8,100 4 500 2,320
15 13,600 8,100 | 4 500

For SI: 1 inch = 25.4 mm, 1 foot = 304 8 mm

9173 Branch size.
Horzontal bramches cotmecting to a single-stack went systern shall be sized in accordance with Table
F10.100 Mot more than one water dloset shall dizcharge intoa 3-inch (76 o horizontal brameh at 3 point

within a developed length of 18 inches (457 ) measured horzontally frorm the stack

Where a water cloget iz within 18 inches (457 ram) measured horizontally from the steck and not more than

one fxture with a disin sze of not more than 13 inches (38 form) connects to a 3-inch (76 mom horizontal
brameh the branch drain connection to the stack shall be made wath a sanitary tee.

174 L of horizontal branches.
Thelength of horizontal branches shall conform to the requirernents of Sections 9174 1 through 0174 3

0174.1 Water clbset connhection.
Water closet connections shall benot oreater than 4 feet (1219 mim) in deweloped lensth measured
horizontally from the stack.
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Exception: Where the connection is made with a sanitary tee. the maximum developed length shall be 8

feet (2438 mm).

917.4.2 Fixture connections.

Fixtures other than water closets shall be located not greater than 12 feet (3657 mm) in developed length

measured horizontally from the stack.

917.4.3 Vertical piping in branch.
The length of vertical piping in a fixture drain connecting to a horizontal branch shall not be considered in

computing the fixture’s distance in developed length measured horizontally from the stack.

917.5 Minimum vertical piping size from fixture.

The vertical portion of piping in a fixture drain to a horizontal branch shall be 2 inches (51 mm). The

minimum size of the vertical portion of piping for a water-supplied urinal or standpipe shall be 3 inches (76

mm). The maximum vertical drop shall be 4 feet (1219 mm). Fixture drains that are not increased in size

or have a vertical drop in excess of 4 feet (1219 mm). shall be individually vented.

917.6 Additional venting required.
Additional venting shall be provided where more than one water closet discharges to a horizontal branch

where the distance from a fixture trap to the stack exceeds the limits in Section 917.4. Where additional

venting is required. the fixture(s) shall be vented by individual vents, common vents. wet vents. circuit

vents, or a combination waste and vent pipe. The dry vent

extensions for the additional venting shall connect to a branch vent. vent stack. stack vent, air admittance

valve. or shall terminate outdoors.

917.7 Stack offsets.

Where fixture drains are not connected below a horizontal offset in a stack. a horizontal offset shall not be

required to be vented. Where horizontal branches or fixture drains are connected below a horizontal offset

in a stack. the offset shall be vented in accordance with Section 907. Fixture connections shall not be made

to a stack within 2 feet (610 mm) above or below a horizontal offset.

917.8 Prohibited lower connections.

Stacks greater than 2 branch intervals in height shall not receive the discharge of horizontal branches on
the lower two floors. There shall not be connections to the stack between the lower two floors and a

distance of not less than 10 pipe diameters downstream from the base of the single stack vented system.

917.9 Sizing building drains and sewers.
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The building drain and building sewer receiving the discharge of a single stack vent system shall be sized
in accordance with Table 710.1(1).

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to allow single stack plumbing systems.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

11. Request by Jerry Fraker and Leon Skinner representing the City of Raleigh to amend the 2018
N.C. Plumbing Code, Section 917.1.1.

917.1.1 Engineered Single Stack Systems. Engineered single stack systems shall be listed in accordance

to the standards of the specific material utilized in the system. designed by a design professional and

installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s installation instructions.

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to allow single stack plumbing systems.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with a net decrease in cost.
This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state funds. A

fiscal note has not been prepared.

11A. Request by Jerry Fraker and Leon Skinner representing the City of Raleigh to amend the 2018
N.C. Plumbing Code, Section 1102.7.
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fiscal note has not been prepared.

10 amend the 2018 N.C. Building Code, Table 504.4.

12 TABLE 504.4*"

13 ALLOWABLE NUMBER OF STORIES ABOVE GRADE PLANE

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,

2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to allow plastic fitting where plastic piping is allowed.
Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with a net decrease in cost.

This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state funds. A

12. Request by Cothran Harris representing the North Carolina Self Storage Association (NCSSA) to

14
OCCUPANCY TYPE OF CONSTRUCTION
CLASSIFICATION | SEE TYPEI TYPEIIL TYPEIII TYPE TYPEV
FOOTNOTES v
A B A B A B A B
S-1 NS UL 11 |4 2 3 2 4 3 1
S UL 12 |5 34 |4 5 4 2

15 (the remainder of the table and footnotes remain unchanged)

17 Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,

18 2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

19 Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to allow fire sprinklered Group S-1 storage buildings of

20 Type IIB construction to be constructed to the same number of stories as was allowed in a previous NC code

21 edition and is being proposed by the International Code Council for the next edition of the International

22 Codes.

23 Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with a net decrease in cost.

24 This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state funds. A

25  fiscal note has not been prepared.

28 13. Request by Robert Schwachenwald representing Bizzy Bee Plumbing, Inc. to amend the 2018
29 N.C. Plumbing Code, Section 718.

31 (substitute language submitted to replace language submitted for the agenda package)
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SECTION 718 CURED IN PLACE

718.1 General. This section shall govern the replacement, rehabilitation or repair of existing building

sewer piping by cured in place piping methods.

718.2 Scope. Cured in Place Piping (CIPP) installations shall conform to the requirements of ASTM F

1216 and be installed per the manufacturer’s installation instructions.

ASTM STANDARDS
F1216-09 Standard for Cured in Place Piping (CIPP)... ... 718.1,718.2

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule 1s June 1,
2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to address newer cost saving technology for repair of
sewer piping.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with a net decrease in cost.
This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state funds. A

fiscal note has not been prepared.

14. Request by Colin Triming representing the N.C. Fire Code Revision Committee to amend the

2018 Fire Code, Sections 321, 105.6.49, 903.2.8.

SECTION 321 TEMPORARY SLEEPING UNITS FOR DISASTER RELIEF WORKERS

321.1 General.

This section shall apply to temporary use of existing buildings for purposes of providing sleeping units for
volunteer disaster relief workers supporting a disaster declaration issued by the Governor of North

Carolina. Existing buildings shall be permitted to provide temporary sleeping facilities for disaster relief

workers provided that all the provisions of this section are met and approved by the local code officials.

Facilities complving with 321 shall not require compliance with other provisions of this code or the
Building Code

Exception: Buildings containing the following occupancies or uses shall not be used for temporary
sleeping units for disaster relief workers:
1. Group F

34:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

NOVEMBER 1, 2019

748



IN ADDITION

—

W 0 N O U & W D

20

2. Group H
3. Group S-1 vehicle repair garage

4. Group S-1 bulk tire storage

5. Woodworking operations

321.2 Permit required.
An operational permit as designated in 105.6.49 shall be required.

321.3 Short Term Occupancy.
Short term occupancies meeting the requirements of this section shall be permitted in existing buildings

that have a current certificate of occupancy and connected electrical service. Use of a building or portion

thereof for a short-term occupancy shall not exceed two days within 30 consecutive days.

321.3.1 Fire alarm and detection systems.

Functioning smoke detection as required for the existing building or single station battery operated smoke

alarms where no system exists shall be provided throughout the sleeping room. exit access corridors. and

stairs serving the sleeping units per 907.2.11.

Carbon monoxide detection devices shall be provided as required by 915.1.4 when fuel fired appliances are

present.

321.3.2 Ventilation and temperature control.
Heating, cooling, and ventilation must be provided by equipment installed and approved for such use. Use

of portable space heaters shall be prohibited.

321.3.3 Plumbing fixtures.
Plumbing fixtures shall be provided as required for Group R-2 by the NC Plumbing Code. Section 403 for

the number of disaster relief workers occupving the building. Temporary facilities are permitted as
approved by the local code official.

321.3.4 Accessibility.

Sleeping units for temporary disaster relief workers complying with the NC Building Code. Chapter 11 and

Section 1009 are not required provided that the building owner or supporting organization has other
sleeping facilities that are accessible by the disabled within the same jurisdiction as the temporary sleeping

units.
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321.4 Long Term Occupancy.
Long term occupancies meeting the requirements of this section and 321.3 shall be permitted in existing

buildings that have a current certificate of occupancy and connected electrical service. Long term

occupancies are for periods exceeding short term occupancy as designated in Section 321.3 with a

maximum of 180 consecutive calendar days. The local fire official may extend the initial time period up to

an additional 180-dav period as often as needed if the building owner or his designee provides

documentation satisfactory to the local fire official that an extension of time is necessary to support local

disaster relief efforts and the fire official verifies that the building remains in compliance with this section.

321.4.1 Occupant load and age.
The maximum number of disaster relief workers is 20 ambulatory individuals. The disaster relief workers

must be 18 vears of age or older.

Exception: Occupants may be less than 18 years of age if the sleeping unit meets all of the following

conditions:

1. Is intended to serve disaster relief worker families with children and their parents or other legal guardian;
and

2. Equipped with smoke alarms meeting applicable code provisions for such devices in all sleeping areas.

321.4.2 Staff.

The sleeping units must be staffed by a minimum of two individuals of 21 years of age or older trained in

accordance with Chapter 4 of the NC Fire Code and at least one trained individual shall be awake to

monitor the sleeping room and restrooms throughout the time the facility is occupied by the disaster relief

workers.

321.4.3 Fire alarm and detection systems.

Functioning smoke detection as required for the existing building or single station smoke alarms where no
system exists shall be provided throughout the sleeping room, exit access corridors, and stairs serving the
sleeping units per 907.2.11.

Carbon monoxide detection devices shall be provided as required by 915.1.4 when fuel fired appliances are
present.

Building Owner or his designee shall submit documentation illustrating that the smoke alarm is approved
and that all emergency batteries have been tested and are operational.

321.4.4 Fire extinguishers.
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There must be an adequate number of fire extinguishers to serve the sleeping units as determined by the

local fire code official. Travel distance to an approved fire extinguisher shall not exceed 50 feet. Minimum

rating of extinguishers shall be 3A-40BC.

321.4.5 Automatic sprinkler svstem.
No fire protection sprinkler system is required per 903.2.8, Exception #6. Any existing fire sprinkler

system shall be operational.

Exception: Sprinkler system required by 321.4.7.

321.4.6 Means of egress.
There shall be a minimum of two separate code compliant means of egress serving the sleeping units. An

evacuation route approved by the local fire code officials shall be posted and be in compliance with

Sections 401, 403. 404, and 406 of the NC Fire Code.

321.4.6.1 Illumination.

The disaster relief workers sleeping rooms and exit access corridors and stairs shall have unswitched

illumination and emergency powered illumination with a duration of not less than 90-minutes.

321.4.7 Location of sleeping units.
Sleeping units above or below the level of exit discharge are required to have a fire sprinkler system

complying with 903.3 or an automatic smoke detection system complying with 907.2.8.2.

321.4.8 Occupant restrictions.

1. No smoking shall be permitted in the facility.

2. Candles, incense and similar open-flame-producing items shall not be allowed within the sleeping units

or areas immediately adjacent to the sleeping units.

3. No temporary cooking equipment shall be permitted in the facility.

105.6.49 Temporary sleeping units for disaster relief workers (mandatory permit). An operational
permit is required for operation of long-term temporary sleeping units for disaster relief workers.

903.2.8 Group R. An automatic sprinkler system installed in accordance with Section 903.3 shall be
provided throughout all buildings with a Group R fire area.

Exceptions:

6. Temporary sleeping units for disaster relief workers as allowed by Section 321.4.5.
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(other exceptions remain unchanged)

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to provide safe temporary housing for disaster relief
workers.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
incost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared

15. Request by David Smith representing the N.C. Residential Code Ad-Hoc Committee to amend the
2018 N.C. Residential Code, Section R311.7.8.1.

R311.7.8.1 Height. Handrail height, measured vertically
from the sloped plane adjoining the tread nosing, or finish surface of ramp slope, shall be not less than 34

inches (864 mm) and not more than 38 inches (965 mm).

Exceptions:

1. The use of a volute, turnout, e¢ starting easing or starting newel shall be allowed over the lowest tread
2. When handrail fittings or bendings are used to provide continuous transition between flights, the
transition from handrail to guardrail, or used at the start of a flight, the handrail height at the fittings or
bendings shall be permitted to exceed the maximum height.

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is June 1,
2020 (earliest through RRC), unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date (January 1, 2021).

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment 1s to clarify the use of newel posts at the top and bottom or
residential stairs.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
incost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state
funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

endings shall be permitted to exceed the maximum height.

NOTICE:
Appeals and Interpretations of the North Carolina State Building Codes are published online at the
following link.
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1 http://www.ncdoi.com/OSFM/Engineering_and_Codes/Default.aspx?field1=Code_Interpretations&user=C

2 ode Enforcement Resources
3
4
5 NOTICE:
6  Objections and Legislative Review requests may be made to the NC Office of Administrative Hearings in
7 accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) after Rules are adopted by the Building Code Council.
8 http://www.ncoah.com/rules/
9

10
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North Carolina Department of Labor
Division of Occupational Safety and Health
1101 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1101

(919) 707-7806

NOTICE OF VERBATIM ADOPTION OF FEDERAL STANDARDS

In consideration of G.S. 150B-21.5(¢) the Occupational Safety and Health Division of the Department of Labor hereby
gives notice that:

- Rule changes have been submitted to update the Noith Carolina Administrative Code at 13 NCAC
07F .0101, 13 NCAC 07F .0501, and 13 NCAC 07F .0201 to incorporate by reference the
occupational safety and health related provisions of Title 29 of the Code of Federal Regulations
Parts 1910, 1915, and 1926 promulgated as of May 14, 2019, except as specifically described, and

- The North Carolina Administrative Code at 13 NCAC 07A .0301 automatically includes
amendments to certain parts of the Code of Federal Regulations, including Title 29, Part 1904—
Recording and Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses.

This update encompasses the following recent verbatim adoption:

- Occupational Safety and Health Standards, Standards Improvement Project — Phase IV, 29 CFR §
1910 (General Industry), 1915 (Shipyard Employment), 1926 (Construction) (84 FR 21416, May
14, 2019)

The final rule is published in the Federal Register on May 14, 2019 (84 FR 21416). Pursuant to Presidential Executive
Orders 13563 (Improving Regulations and Regulatory Review) and 13777 (Enforcing the Regulatory Reform
Agenda), OSHA is removing or revising certain standards. This action reduces regulatory burden while maintaining
or enhancing worker safety and health and improving privacy protections. OSHA’s final rule on technical
amendments was effective July 15, 2019.

For additional information, please contact:

Bureau of Education, Training and Technical Assistance
Occupational Safety and Health Division

North Carolina Department of Labor

1101 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1101

For additional information regarding North Carolina’s process of adopting federal OSHA Standards verbatim, please
contact:

Jill F. Cramer, Agency Rulemaking Coordinator
North Carolina Department of Labor

Legal Affairs Division

1101 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1101
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NORTH CAROLINA RATE BUREAU
PUBLIC NOTICE

Notice is hereby given pursuant to North Carolina General Statute 58-36-120 that
on September 16, 2019, the North Carolina Rate Bureau filed a stand-alone
Residential Flood Insurance Program with the North Carolina Commissioner of
Insurance. Public notice of the Filing has been given in two newspapers with
statewide distribution, and information is being posted on the websites of the North
Carolina Rate Bureau and the North Carolina Department of Insurance. The
Commissioner of Insurance may or may not schedule and conduct a hearing with
respect to the Filing.
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Coastal Resources Commission intends to
readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC
07H .0104-.0106, .0201, .0203, .0205-.0209, .0301-.0306, .0308-
.0311, .0401, .0404-.0406, .0501-.0510, .0601-.0604, .1101-

1105, .1201-.1205, .1301-.1305, .1401-.1405, .1501-.1505,
.1601-.1605, .1701-.1705, .1801-.1805, .1901-.1905, .2001-
.2005, .2101-.2105, .2201-.2205, .2301-.2305, .2401-.2405,

.2501-.2505, .2601-.2605, .2701-.2705; 071 .0204, .0302, .0305,
.0306, .0401, .0402, .0406, .0504-.0511, .0601, .0602, .0701,
.0702; 07J .0102, .0201, .0203, .0204, .0206-.0211, .0301, .0302,
.0312, .0405-.0407, .0409, .0410, .0602-.0605, .0701-.0703,
.1105-.1107, .1201-.1206, .1301-.1303; 07K .0101, .0103, .0202,
.0204-.0212, .0401, .0402; 07L .0503; 07M .0201, .0202, .0301-
.0303, .0306-.0308, .0401-.0403, .0503, .0601-.0603, .0701-
.0705, .0801, .0802, .0902, .1001, .1002, .1101, .1102, .1201, and
.1202.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed
for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be
published. The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-
regulations/proposed-rules

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2020

Public Hearing:

Date: November 20, 2019

Time: 1:15 p.m.

Location: Islander Hotel, 102 Islander Drive, Emerald Isle, NC
28594

Reason for Proposed Action:

Readoptions - G.S. 150B-21.3A requires state agencies to review
existing rules every 10 years, determine which rules are still
necessary, and either re-adopt or repeal each rule as appropriate.

Braxton Davis, 400
NC 28557; email

Comments may be submitted to:
Commerce Avenue, Morehead City,
Braxton.Davis@ncdenr.gov

Comment period ends: December 31, 2019
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XIXOXX

CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS
OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN

SECTION .0100 - INTRODUCTION AND GENERAL
COMMENTS

15A NCAC 07H .0104 APPLICATION OF EROSION
RATE SETBACK FACTORS (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC07H .0105 EFFECTIVE DATE OF RULE
AMENDMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .0106 = GENERAL DEFINITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0200 - THE ESTUARINE AND OCEAN
SYSTEMS
15A NCAC 07H .0201 ESTUARINE AND OCEAN
SYSTEM CATEGORIES (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0203 MANAGEMENT OBJECTIVE OF
THE ESTUARINE AND OCEAN SYSTEM
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)
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15ANCACO07H .0205 COASTAL WETLANDS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC07H.0206 ESTUARINE WATERS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .0207 PUBLIC TRUST AREAS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0208 USE STANDARDS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .0209 COASTAL SHORELINES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0300 - OCEAN HAZARD AREAS

15ANCACO07H.0301 OCEAN HAZARD CATEGORIES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0302  SIGNIFICANCE OF THE OCEAN
HAZARD CATEGORY (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0303 MANAGEMENT OBJECTIVE OF
OCEAN HAZARD AREAS (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0304 AECS WITHIN OCEAN
HAZARD AREAS (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .0305 GENERAL IDENTIFICATION
AND DESCRIPTION OF LANDFORMS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .0306 = GENERAL USE STANDARDS
FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0308 SPECIFIC USE STANDARDS
FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0309 USE STANDARDS FOR OCEAN
HAZARD AREAS: EXCEPTIONS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .0310 USE STANDARDS FOR INLET
HAZARD AREAS (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .0311 INSTALLATION AND
MAINTENANCE OF SAND FENCING (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0400 - PUBLIC WATER SUPPLIES

15A NCAC 07H .0401 PUBLIC WATER SUPPLY
CATEGORIES (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0404 AECS WITHIN PUBLIC WATER
SUPPLIES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0405 SMALL SURFACE WATER
SUPPLY WATERSHEDS (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0406  PUBLIC WATER SUPPLY WELL
FIELDS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

SECTION .0500 - NATURAL AND CULTURAL
RESOURCE AREAS

15ANCAC 07H .0501 GENERAL (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0502  SIGNIFICANCE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0503 NOMINATION AND
DESIGNATION PROCEDURES (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0504 AECS WITHIN CATEGORY
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .0505 COASTAL AREAS THAT
SUSTAIN REMNANT SPECIES (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0506 COASTAL COMPLEX
NATURAL AREAS (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0507 UNIQUE COASTAL GEOLOGIC
FORMATIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0508 USE STANDARDS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0509  SIGNIFICANT COASTAL
ARCHAEOLOGICAL RESOURCES (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0510 SIGNIFICANT COASTAL
HISTORIC ARCHITECTURAL RESOURCES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0600 - DEVELOPMENT STANDARDS
APPLICABLE TO ALL AECS
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15A NCACO07H .0601 NO VIOLATION OF ANY RULE
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCACO07H .0602 POLLUTION OF WATERS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC07H.0603 MINIMUM ALTITUDES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .0604 NOISE POLLUTION
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1100 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR
CONSTRUCTION OF BULKHEADS AND RIPRAP
REVETMENTS FOR SHORELINE PROTECTION IN
ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND
OCEAN HAZARD AREAS

15ANCAC 07H .1101 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .1102 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1103 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .1104 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC07H .1105 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1200 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR
CONSTRUCTION OF PIERS AND DOCKING
FACILITIES: IN ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST
WATERS AND OCEAN HAZARD AREAS

15A NCAC 07H .1201 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC07H .1202 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1203 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .1204 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1205 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1300 - GENERAL PERMIT TO CONSTRUCT
BOAT RAMPS ALONG ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC
TRUST SHORELINES AND INTO ESTUARINE AND
PUBLIC TRUST WATERS

15ANCAC 07H .1301 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1302 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .1303 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1304 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1305 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1400 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR
CONSTRUCTION OF GROINS IN ESTUARINE AND
PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND OCEAN HAZARD
AREAS

15A NCAC 07H .1401 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .1402 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1403 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1404 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1405 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1500 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR
EXCAVATION WITHIN OR CONNECTING TO
EXISTING CANALS, CHANNELS, BASINS, OR

DITCHES IN ESTUARINE WATERS, PUBLIC TRUST
WATERS, AND COASTAL SHORELINE AECS

15A NCAC 07H .1501 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1502 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1503  APPLICATION FEE
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1504 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1505 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)
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SECTION .1600 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR THE
INSTALLATION OF AERIAL AND SUBAQUEOQOUS
UTILITY LINES WITH ATTENDANT STRUCTURES IN
COASTAL WETLANDS: ESTUARINE WATERS:
PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND ESTUARINE
SHORELINES

15ANCAC 07H .1601 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .1602 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .1603 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC07H .1604 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1605 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1700 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR
EMERGENCY WORK REQUIRING A CAMA AND/OR A
DREDGE AND FILL PERMIT

15A NCAC 07H .1701 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC07H .1702 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1703 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .1704 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1705 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1800 - GENERAL PERMIT TO ALLOW
BEACH BULLDOZING IN THE OCEAN HAZARD AEC

15A NCAC 07H .1801 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .1802 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1803 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC07H .1804 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .1805 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1900 - GENERAL PERMIT TO ALLOW FOR
TEMPORARY STRUCTURES WITHIN COASTAL
SHORELINES AND OCEAN HAZARD AECS

15ANCAC 07H .1901 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC07H .1902 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .1903 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1904 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .1905 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .2000 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR
AUTHORIZING MINOR MODIFICATIONS AND
REPAIR TO EXISTING PIER/MOORING FACILITIES IN
ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND
OCEAN HAZARD AREAS

15A NCAC 07H .2001 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2002 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2003 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2004 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2005 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .2100 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR
CONSTRUCTION OF SHEETPILE SILL FOR
SHORELINE PROTECTION IN ESTUARINE AND
PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND OCEAN HAZARD
AREAS

15A NCAC 07H .2101 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2102 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2103 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2104 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)
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15A NCAC07H .2105 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .2200 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR
CONSTRUCTION OF FREESTANDING MOORINGS
AND BIRD NESTING POLES IN ESTUARINE WATERS
AND PUBLIC TRUST AREAS AND OCEAN HAZARD
AREAS

15ANCAC 07H .2201 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .2202 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .2203 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .2204 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2205 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .2300 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR
REPLACEMENT OF EXISTING BRIDGES AND
CULVERTS IN ESTUARINE WATERS, ESTUARINE
AND PUBLIC TRUST SHORELINES, PUBLIC TRUST
AREAS, AND COASTAL WETLANDS

15ANCAC 07H .2301 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .2302 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2303 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2304 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC07H .2305 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .2400 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR PLACEMENT
OF RIPRAP REVETMENTS FOR WETLAND
PROTECTION IN ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST
WATERS

15A NCAC 07H .2401 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2402 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2403 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2404 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2405 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .2500 - EMERGENCY GENERAL PERMIT, TO
BE INITIATED AT THE DISCRETION OF THE
SECRETARY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF
ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES FOR
REPLACEMENT OF STRUCTURES, THE
RECONSTRUCTION OF PRIMARY OR FRONTAL
DUNE SYSTEMS, AND THE MAINTENANCE
EXCAVATION OF EXISTING CANALS, BASINS,
CHANNELS, OR DITCHES, DAMAGED, DESTROYED,
OR FILLED IN BY HURRICANES OR TROPICAL
STORMS, PROVIDED ALL REPLACEMENT,
RECONSTRUCTION AND MAINTENANCE
EXCAVATION ACTIVITIES CONFORM TO ALL
CURRENT STANDARDS

15A NCAC 07H .2501 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .2502 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2503 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2504 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2505 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .2600 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR
CONSTRUCTION OF MITIGATION BANKS AND IN-
LIEU FEE MITIGATION PROJECTS

15A NCAC 07H .2601 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .2602 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2603 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2604 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2605 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .2700 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR THE
CONSTRUCTION OF MARSH SILLS
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15ANCAC 07H .2701 PURPOSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC07H .2702 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .2703 PERMIT FEE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07H .2704 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07H .2705 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SUBCHAPTER 071 -SECRETARY'S GRANT CRITERIA
AND PROCEDURES FOR LOCAL IMPLEMENTATION
AND ENFORCEMENT PROGRAMS UNDER THE
COASTAL AREA MANAGEMENT ACT

SECTION .0200 - POLICY AND STANDARDS
15A NCAC 071 .0204 LOCAL ORDINANCE
REQUIRED (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION PROCEDURES

15A NCAC 071 .0302 APPLICATION PROCESS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 071 .0305 GRANT ADMINISTRATION
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 071 .0306 GRANT CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0400 - GENERALLY APPLICABLE
STANDARDS

15A NCAC 071 .0401 PROGRAM COSTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 071 .0402 INELIGIBLE ACTIVITIES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 071 .0406  APPLICATION FEES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0500 - LOCAL IMPLEMENTATION AND
ENFORCEMENT PLANS

15A NCAC 071 .0504 RECORD OF HEARINGS AND
COMMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15A NCAC 071 .0505 CONTENT OF PLAN
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC071.0506  ALLOCATION OF AUTHORITY
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 071 .0507 LOCAL PERMIT OFFICER
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 071 .0508 CONSIDERATION OF
APPLICATION BY PERMIT OFFICER (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 071 .0509 NOTICE OF CIVIL ACTION
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 071 .0510 COMMISSION REVIEW AND
ACCEPTANCE OF THE LOCAL PLAN (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 071 .0511 COMMITMENT TO ADOPT
LOCAL MANAGEMENT PLAN AS ORDINANCE
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0600 -AMENDMENT OF LOCAL
MANAGEMENT PLAN

15A NCAC 071 .0601 NOTICE AND PUBLIC
HEARING REQUIREMENT (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 071 .0602 COASTAL RESOURCES
COMMISSION APPROVAL (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0700 - FAILURE TO ENFORCE AND
ADMINISTER PLAN
15ANCAC 071 .0701  SANCTION FOR VIOLATIONS
BY THE LOCAL PERMIT-LETTING AGENCY
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 071 .0702 WHEN AN ACTION EXCEEDS
THE LOCAL AUTHORITY (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SUBCHAPTER 07J - PROCEDURES FOR PROCESSING
AND ENFORCEMENT OF MAJOR AND MINOR
DEVELOPMENT PERMITS, VARIANCE REQUESTS,
APPEALS FROM PERMIT DECISIONS,
DECLARATORY RULINGS, AND STATIC LINE
EXCEPTIONS

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS

15ANCAC 07J .0102 GENERAL DEFINITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0200 - APPLICATION PROCESS

15ANCAC 07J.0201 PERMIT REQUIRED
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)
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15A NCAC 07J .0203 PREPARATION OF WORK
PLATS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15ANCAC07J.0204 PROCESSING THE
APPLICATION (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07J.0206  PUBLIC NOTICE OF THE
PROPOSED DEVELOPMENT (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 073 .0207 AGENCY
REVIEW/COMMENTS: MAJOR
DEVELOPMENT/DREDGE AND FILL (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC07J.0208 PERMIT CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07J.0209  ISSUANCE OF PERMITS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 073 .0210 REPLACEMENT OF EXISTING
STRUCTURES (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07J.0211 NON-CONFORMING
DEVELOPMENT (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0300 - HEARING PROCEDURE

15SANCAC07J.0301 WHO ISENTITLED TO A
CONTESTED CASE HEARING (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07J.0302 PETITION FOR CONTESTED
CASE HEARING (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC07J.0312 SETTLEMENT (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0400 - FINAL APPROVAL AND
ENFORCEMENT

15ANCAC 073 .0405 PERMIT MODIFICATION
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07J .0406  PERMIT ISSUANCE AND
TRANSFER (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07J .0407 PROJECT MAINTENANCE:
MAJOR DEVELOPMENT/DREDGE AND FILL
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07J.0409  CIVIL PENALTIES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 073 .0410 RESTORATION/MITIGATION
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0600 - DECLARATORY RULINGS AND
PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING

15A NCAC 07J .0602 PROCEDURE FOR
REQUESTING DECLARATORY RULINGS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07J .0603 PROCEDURES: CONSIDERING
REQUESTS FOR DECLARATORY RULINGS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07J.0604 FEDERAL ACTIVITIES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07J.0605 PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0700 - PROCEDURES FOR CONSIDERING
VARIANCE PETITIONS

15ANCAC07J.0701  VARIANCE PETITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 073 .0702  STAFF REVIEW OF VARIANCE
PETITIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15A NCAC 073 .0703  PROCEDURES FOR DECIDING
VARIANCE PETITIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1100 - GENERAL PERMIT PROCEDURE

15A NCAC07J .1105  APPLICATION PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC07J.1106 = PERMIT CONDITIONS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07J .1107 PERMIT COMPLIANCE
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1200 — STATIC AND VEGETATION LINE
EXCEPTION PROCEDURES

15ANCAC07J .1201 REQUESTING THE STATIC
LINE EXCEPTION (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC07J .1202 REVIEW OF THE STATIC LINE
EXCEPTION REQUEST (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)
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15A NCAC07J.1203 PROCEDURES FOR
APPROVING THE STATIC LINE EXCEPTION
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC07J.1204 REVIEW OF THE LARGE-
SCALE BEACH-FILL PROJECT AND APPROVED
STATIC LINE EXCEPTIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 073 .1205 REVOCATION AND
EXPIRATION OF THE STATIC LINE EXCEPTION
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 073 .1206 LOCAL GOVERNMENTS AND
COMMUNITIES WITH STATIC VEGETATION LINES
AND STATIC LINE EXCEPTIONS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1300 - DEVELOPMENT LINE PROCEDURES

15ANCAC 07J.1301 REQUESTING THE
DEVELOPMENT LINE (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07J .1302 PROCEDURES FOR
APPROVING THE DEVELOPMENT LINE
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07J .1303 LOCAL GOVERNMENTS AND
COMMUNITIES WITH DEVELOPMENT LINES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SUBCHAPTER 07K - ACTIVITIES IN AREAS OF
ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN WHICH DO NOT
REQUIRE A COASTAL AREA MANAGEMENT ACT
PERMIT

SECTION .0100 - ACTIVITIES NOT CONSIDERED
DEVELOPMENT

15ANCAC 07K .0101 STATUTORY EXCEPTIONS
FROM THE DEFINITION OF DEVELOPMENT
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07K .0103 MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0200 - CLASSES OF MINOR MAINTENANCE
AND IMPROVEMENTS WHICH SHALL BE EXEMPTED
FROM THE CAMA MAJOR DEVELOPMENT PERMIT
REQUIREMENT

15A NCAC 07K .0202 EXEMPTION: PROJECTS
REQUIRING DREDGE: FILL: STATE EASEMENT
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07K .0204 EXEMPTIONS FOR PROJECTS
REQUIRING AIR QUALITY PERMIT (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07K .0205 EXEMPTIONS FOR PROJECTS
REQUIRING THE NPDES (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07K .0206 SMALL DITCHES EXEMPTED
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07K .0207 STRUCTURAL ACCESSWAYS
OVER FRONTAL DUNES EXEMPTED (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07K .0208  SINGLE FAMILY RESIDENCES
EXEMPTED (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07K .0209 EXEMPTION / ACCESSORY
USES / MAINTENANCE REPAIR / REPLACEMENT
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07K .0210 NOMINATION CATEGORIES
EXCLUDED: MINOR PERMIT EXEMPTION
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07K .0211 JOCKEY'S RIDGE AEC
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07K .0212 INSTALLATION AND
MAINTENANCE OF SAND FENCING (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0400 - CLASSES OF FEDERAL AGENCY
ACTIVITIES EXEMPTED FROM THE PERMIT
REQUIREMENT

15ANCAC 07K .0401 MAINTENANCE OF FEDERAL
NAVIGATION CHANNELS (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07K .0402 FEDERAL AGENCY
ACTIVITIES EXEMPTED (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SUBCHAPTER 07L - LOCAL PLANNING AND
MANAGEMENT GRANTS

SECTION .0500 - GENERAL STANDARDS
15A NCAC 07L .0503  PRIORITIES FOR FUNDING
PLANNING AND MANAGEMENT PROJECTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SUBCHAPTER 07M - GENERAL POLICY GUIDELINES
FOR THE COASTAL AREA

SECTION .0200 - SHORELINE EROSION POLICIES
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15A NCAC 07M .0201 DECLARATION OF GENERAL
POLICY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15ANCACO07M .0202 POLICY STATEMENTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0300 - SHOREFRONT ACCESS POLICIES

15ANCAC 07M .0301 DECLARATION OF GENERAL
POLICY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07M .0302 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07M .0303 STANDARDS FOR PUBLIC
ACCESS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07M .0306 LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND
STATE INVOLVEMENT IN ACCESS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07M .0307 ELIGIBILITY, SELECTION
CRITERIA AND MATCHING REQUIREMENTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07M .0308 PUBLIC
INVOLVEMENT/NOTICE (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0400 - COASTAL ENERGY POLICIES
15A NCAC 07M .0401 DECLARATION OF GENERAL
POLICY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07M .0402 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07M .0403 POLICY STATEMENTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0500 - POST-DISASTER POLICIES

15ANCAC 07M .0503 POLICY STATEMENTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0600 - FLOATING STRUCTURE POLICIES
15ANCAC 07M .0601 DECLARATION OF GENERAL
POLICY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07M .0602 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07M .0603 POLICY STATEMENTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0700 - MITIGATION POLICY

15A NCAC 07M .0701 DECLARATION OF GENERAL
POLICY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07M .0702 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07M .0703 MITIGATION CANDIDACY
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07M .0704 POLICY STATEMENTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07M .0705 REVIEW PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0800 - COASTAL WATER QUALITY
POLICIES

15A NCAC 07M .0801 DECLARATION OF GENERAL
POLICIES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15A NCAC 07M .0802 POLICY STATEMENTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0900 - POLICIES ON USE OF COASTAL
AIRSPACE

15ANCAC 07M .0902 POLICY STATEMENTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1000 - POLICIES ON WATER AND
WETLAND BASED TARGET AREAS FOR MILITARY
TRAINING ACTIVITIES

15ANCAC 07M .1001 DECLARATION OF GENERAL
POLICY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07M .1002 POLICY STATEMENTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1100 - POLICIES ON BENEFICIAL USE AND
AVAILABILITY OF MATERIALS RESULTING FROM
THE EXCAVATION OR MAINTENANCE OF
NAVIGATIONAL CHANNELS

15A NCAC07M .1101 DECLARATION OF GENERAL
POLICY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)
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15ANCAC07M .1102 POLICY STATEMENTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1200 - POLICIES ON OCEAN MINING
15A NCAC 07M .1201 DECLARATION OF GENERAL
POLICY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15ANCAC 07M .1202 POLICY STATEMENTS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Medical Board intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 32R
.0101; and 32S .0216.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2020

Public Hearing:

Date: December 3, 2019

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: North Carolina Medical Board, 1203 Front St.,
Raleigh, NC 27609

Reason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 32R .0101 CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION
(CME) REQUIREMENTS is being amended to give physicians
more options regarding the mandatory controlled substances
CME

requirement.

21 NCAC 32S .0216 CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION is
being amended to give physician assistants more options
regarding the mandatory controlled substances CME
requirement.

Comments may be submitted to: Lynne Taylor, North Carolina
Medical Board, PO Box 20007, Raleigh, NC 27615; email
rules@ncmedboard.org

Comment period ends: December 31, 2019

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SUBCHAPTER 32R — CONTINUING MEDICAL
EDUCATION (CME) REQUIREMENTS

SECTION .0100 - CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION
(CME) REQUIREMENTS
21 NCAC 32R .0101 CONTINUING MEDICAL
EDUCATION (CME) REQUIRED
(a) Continuing Medical Education (CME) is defined as education,
training, and activities to increase knowledge and skills generally
recognized and accepted by the profession as within the basic
medical sciences, the discipline of clinical medicine, and the
provision of healthcare to the public. The purpose of CME is to
maintain, develop, or improve the physician's knowledge, skills,
professional performance, and relationships that a physicians-use
physician uses to provide services for their patients; patients their
and practice, the public, or the profession.
(b) Each-persen A physician licensed to practice medicine in the
State of North Carolina, except those physicians holding a
residency training license, shall complete at least 60 hours of
Category 1 CME relevant to the physician's current or intended

specialty or area of practice every three 3 years. Beginning-onJuly
12017 —every Every physician who prescribes controlled
substances, except those physicians holding a residency training

license, shall complete at least three 3 hours of SME; CME from
the required 60 hours of Category 1 SMEthatis CME designed
specifically to address controlled substance prescribing practices.
The controlled substance prescribing CME shall include
instruction on controlled substance prescribing practices;
practices and controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain
management. CME that includes recognizing signs of the abuse
or_misuse of controlled substances, or non-opioid treatment
options shall qualify for the purposes of this Rule.

(c) The threeyear three-year period described in Paragraph (b) of
this Rule begins on the physician's fitst birthday following the
initial-licensure: issuance of his or her license.

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-5.1(a)(10); 90-14(a)(15); S.L.
2015-241, s. 12F.16(b) and 12F.16(c).

SUBCHAPTER 32S - PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS
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SECTION .0200 — PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT
REGISTRATION

21 NCAC 32S .0216
EDUCATION

(@ A physician assistant shall complete at least 50 hours of
continbing—medical—education Continuing Medical Education
(CME) every two years. The CME shall be recognized by the
National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants
(NCCPA) as Category | CME. A The physician assistant shall
provide CME documentation for inspection by the beard Board or
its agent upon request. The two-year two-year period shall begin
on the physician assistant's first birthday following initial
Hieensure: the issuance of his or her license.

(b) Beginning—enJduby1-2017a A physician assistant who
prescribes controlled substances shall complete at least two hours
of CME, from the required 50 hours, designed specifically to
address controlled substance prescribing practices. The controlled
substance prescribing CME shall include instruction on controlled
substance prescribing practices,recognizing-sighs-of-the-abuse-of
misuse—of—controlled—substances; practices and controlled
substance prescribing for chronic pain management. CME that
includes recognizing signs of the abuse or misuse of controlled
substances, or non-opioid treatment options shall qualify for
purposes of this Rule.

(c) A physician assistant who possesses a current certification
with the NCCPA shall be deemed in compliance with the
requirement of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. The physician assistant
shall attest on his or her annual renewal that-he-er-she-is they are
currently certified by the NCCPA. Physician assistants who attest
that they possess a current certificate with the NCCPA shall not
be exempt from the controlled substance prescribing CME
requirement of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. A Physician-Assistants
physician assistant shall complete the required two hours of
controlled substance CME unless such the CME is a component
part of their certification activity.

CONTINUING MEDICAL

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-5.1(a)(10); 90-18.1; S.L. 2015-
241, 12F.16(b) and 12F.16(c).

EE R R S S S S I S I S I

CHAPTER 36 — BOARD OF NURSING

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Nursing intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 36
.0405.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.nhcbon.com

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2020

Public Hearing:

Date: December 5, 2019

Time: 9:00 am

Location: NC Board of Nursing, 4516 Lake Boone Trail,
Raleigh, NC 27607

Reason for Proposed Action: The Community College System
and the North Carolina Board of Nursing have collaboratively
allowed the nurse aide Il course to be offered in the Career and
College Promise track in high schools. In order to do this,
exceptions to the admission requirements for the NAII course
were necessary, but there is no provision in the administrative
code for these exceptions to be made. In order to continue the
nurse aide Il course in the career and college promise track, and
thus allow high school students to avail themselves of this
opportunity, the Board of Nursing is amending 21 NCAC 36 .0405
to provide authority to make the necessary exceptions.

Comments may be submitted to: Angela Ellis, PO Box 2129,
Raleigh, No 27602-2129; fax (919) 882-8582; email
public.comment@ncbon.com

Comment period ends: December 31, 2019

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SECTION .0400 - UNLICENSED PERSONNEL: NURSE
AIDES

21 NCAC 36 .0405 APPROVAL OF NURSE AIDE

EDUCATION COURSES

(a) The Board shall accept nurse aide | courses that are approved

by DHSR.

(b) The Board shall approve nurse aide 1l courses. Nurse aide 11

courses may be offered by a State-licensed individual, agency, or

educational institution after the course is approved by the Board.

1) Each entity desiring to offer a nurse aide Il

course shall submit a course approval
application 60 days prior to offering the course.
It shall include documentation of the following
standards:
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()

(A) the students shall be taught and
supervised by qualified faculty as
defined in Subparagraph (b)(3) of this
Rule;

(B) the clinical-experience faculty to
student ratio shall not exceed 1:10;

© the selection and utilization of clinical
facilities shall support the course
curriculum as outlined in

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule;

(D) a written contract shall exist between
the course provider and clinical
facility prior to student clinical
experience in the facility;

(E) admission  requirements for _ all
programs except those offered as
career and college promise tract
programs shall include:

(i) successful completion  of
nurse aide | training course or
DHSR-established
equivalent and eurrent active
nurse aide I listing on DHSR
Registry;

(i) High School or High School
Equivalency diploma; and

(iii) other admission
requirements as identified by
the course provider; and

(F) Admission requirements for all career
and college promise tract programs
shall include:

(i) successful completion of a
nurse aide | course or DHSR-
established equivalent;

(ii) active nurse aide 1 listing on
DHSR Reqgistry after the first
attempt to pass nurse aide |
test and within no more than
five calendar days from
enrollment in the nurse aide
Il course;

iii expected  High  School
diploma or High School
Equivalency diploma not
more than three months from
completion of the nurse aide
Il course;

(iv) other admission
requirements as identified by
the course provider; and

{B)(G) a procedure for timely processing and
disposition of course and student
complaints shall be established.

Nurse aide Il courses shall include a minimum

of 80 hours of theory and 80 hours of clinical

instruction, supervised by a Board-approved
registered nurse faculty, consistent with the
nurse aide 11 curriculum as defined by the Board

in Rule .0403(b) of this Section. Changes made
by the Board in the nurse aide 11 course shall be
published in the Bulletin and posted on the
Board's website at www.ncbon.com. A nurse
aide Il education course shall not use simulation
as a substitute for the required 80 hours of
clinical experience. Competency validation of
up to three required nurse aide I1 skills shall be
permitted in the simulated laboratory
environment if validation of such skills is not
available in the clinical experience site.

?3) Minimum competency and qualifications for
faculty for the nurse aide Il courses shall
include:

(A) an active unencumbered license to
practice as a registered nurse in North

Carolina;
(B) at least two years of direct patient care
experiences as a registered nurse; and
© experience teaching adult learners.
4) Each nurse aide Il course shall furnish the

Board with records, data, and reports requested
by the Board that provide information
concerning the operation of the course and all
individuals who attended the course within the
past five years.

(5) When an approved nurse aide 11 course closes,
the Board shall be notified in writing by the
course. The Board shall be informed as to the
permanent storage of student records.

(6) A Board-approved nurse aide Il course that will
provide nurse aide Il competency evaluation
shall obtain Board approval prior to offering
competency evaluation.

(A) Board-approved nurse aide Il course
shall be in full approval status for at
least one year prior to submitting an
application to provide nurse aide 1l
competency evaluation; and

(B) full approval course status shall be
maintained to provide nurse aide Il
competency evaluation.

(¢) An annual course report shall be submitted by the course
director to the Board in a Board-approved format by March 31 of
each year. Failure to submit an annual report shall result in
administrative action affecting approval status as described in
Paragraphs (e) and (f) of this Rule.

(d) Complaints regarding nurse aide Il courses shall result in an
on-site survey by the Board if necessary to resolve the complaint.
(e) Approval status shall be determined by the Board using the
annual course report, survey report, and other data submitted by
the program, agencies, or students. The determination shall result
in full approval or approval with stipulations.

(f) If stipulations have not been met as specified by the Board, a
hearing shall be held by the Board regarding course approval
status. A course may continue to operate while awaiting the
hearing before the Board; however, in the case of summary
suspension of approval as authorized by G.S. 150B-3(c), the
course shall immediately cease operation.
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(1)

@)

)

When a hearing is scheduled, the Board shall
cause notice to be served on the course and shall
specify a date for the hearing, to be held not less
than 20 days from the date on which notice is
given.

If evidence presented at hearing shows that the
course is complying with all federal and State
law, including the rules in this Section, the
Board shall assign the course full approval
status.

If evidence presented at hearing shows that the
course is not complying with all federal and
State law, including the rules in this Section, the
Board shall withdraw approval.

(A) This  action  shall  constitute

discontinuance of the course.

(B)

©

The parent institution shall present a
plan to the Board for transfer of
students to approved courses or shall
fully refund tuition paid by the
student. Closure shall take place after
the transfer of students to approved
courses within a time frame
established by the Board.

The parent institution shall notify the
Board of the arrangements for storage
of permanent records.

Authority G.S. 90-171.20(2)(4)(7)d,e,g; 90-171.39; 90-171.40;
90-171.43(4); 90-171.55; 90-171.83; 42 U.S.C.S. 1395i-3 (1987).
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules. The rules
that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required
to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules. Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17.

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on September 19, 2019 Meeting.

REGISTER CITATION TO THE

NOTICE OF TEXT
ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF
Definitions 01 NCAC 05A .0112* 33:23 NCR
Confidentiality 01 NCAC 05B .0103* 33:23 NCR
Copies of Specifications 01 NCAC 05B .0207 33:23 NCR
Qualified Products List 01 NCAC 05B .0208 33:23 NCR
Confidentiality 01 NCAC 05B .0210 33:23 NCR
Electronic, Facsimile, and Telephone Offers 01 NCAC 05B .0303* 33:22 NCR
Recall of Offers 01 NCAC 05B .0304 33:23 NCR
Public Opening 01 NCAC 05B .0305* 33:23 NCR
Late Offers, Modifications, or Withdrawals 01 NCAC 05B .0306* 33:22 NCR
Extension of Acceptance Time 01 NCAC 05B .0308* 33:23 NCR
Evaluation 01 NCAC 05B .0309* 33:23 NCR
Notification of Award 01 NCAC 05B .0310* 33:23 NCR
Tabulations and Abstracts 01 NCAC 05B .0313 33:23 NCR
Advertisement Requirements 01 NCAC 05B .0316* 33:23 NCR
Mandatory Conferences/Site Vists 01 NCAC 05B .0317* 33:23 NCR
Rejection or Cancellation of Offers 01 NCAC 05B .0501 33:23 NCR
Public Record 01 NCAC 05B .0502 33:23 NCR
Negotiation 01 NCAC 05B .0503* 33:23 NCR
Extenstion of Contract Termination Dates 01 NCAC 05B .1108 33:23 NCR
Use 01 NCAC 05B .1201 33:23 NCR
Confidentiality 01 NCAC 05B .1501 33:23 NCR
Change in Corporate Structure 01 NCAC 05B .1507 33:23 NCR
Use of Purchasing Power for Private Gain 01 NCAC 05B .1510 33:23 NCR
Anticompetitive, Deceptive, and Fraudulent Practices 01 NCAC 05B .1511 33:23 NCR
Advertising 01 NCAC 05B .1516 33:23 NCR
Protest Procedures 01 NCAC 05B .1519* 33:23 NCR
Faithful Performance 01 NCAC 05B .1521* 33:23 NCR
Reciprocal Preference 01 NCAC 05B .1522* 33:23 NCR
Relationship of Consultant to State 01 NCAC 05D .0209 33:23 NCR
AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF
Admission Rules 02 NCAC 20B .0104* 33:24 NCR
HHS - HEALTH BENEFITS, DIVISION OF
Change In Situation 10A NCAC 23G .0304* 33:13 NCR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION
Certification Training for School Resource Officers 12 NCAC 09B .0313* 33:24 NCR
Topical Areas 12 NCAC 09F .0102* 33:24 NCR
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Instructor Responsibilities

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION
Refund Offers

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

Wildlife Taken for Depredations

Catawba, Iredell, Lincoln, and Mecklenburg Counties

Onslow County

McDowell County

City of Rocky Mount - Rocky Mount Millpond Dam Safety Zone

Definitions and General Requirements for Captivity License
Captivity License for Rehabilitation

Captivity License for Holding

Minimum Standards Captivity License for Holding

Captivity License Revocation and Enforcement

Form an Captivity Licenses

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR
Lead Poisoning Hazards in Child Care Centers

CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

Conditioning Requirements

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF
Ventilation and Light

Licensees and Students

Disinfection Procedures

Operations of Schools of Cosmetic Art
Continuing Education

New School Applications

All Cosmetic Art Schools

Permanent Records, Forms and Documentation
Cosmetic Art Curricula

Cosmetology Curriculum

Apprentice Cosmetology Curriculum
Esthetics Curriculum

Manicuring Curriculum

Natural Hair Care Curriculum
Cosmetology Teacher Trainee Curriculum
Esthetic Teacher Trainee Curriculum
Manicurist Teacher Trainee Curriculum
Natural Hair Care Teacher Curriculum
Online Instruction

Instruction Guidelines

School Operations/Licensure Maintenance
Expiration of Student Credit

12 NCAC

14B NCAC

15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC

15A NCAC

21 NCAC

21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC

09F

15B

10B
10F
10F
10F
10F
10H
10H
10H
10H
10H
10H

18A

08F

14H
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TITLE 01 - DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION

01 NCAC 05A .0112

DEFINITIONS

For the purpose of this Chapter:

(1)

)

©)
(4)

Q)

"Agency" means all departments, institutions,
boards, commissions, universities, community
colleges or other units of the State, unless
specifically exempted by statute.

"Best and Final Offer" ("BAFO") is a document
that memorializes the details of Negotiations
between the State and a Vendor and mutually
modifies the Vendor's Offer.

"Best Value Procurement™ shall have the same
meaning as in G.S. 143-135.9.

"Bid Value Benchmark" or "General
Delegation" means the maximum authorized
expenditure set pursuant to G.S. 143-52(a) and
143-53.1 for which an agency may contract to
purchase Goods or Services without obtaining
prior approval for the purchase from the
Division.

"Consultant Services" means contracted work
or tasks performed by a Vendor or independent
contractor possessing specialized knowledge,
experience, expertise and  professional
qualifications to investigate assigned problems
or projects and to provide counsel, review,
analysis or advice in formulating or
implementing improvements in programs or
Services. This includes improvements related

(6)

U]

®)

©)

(10)

to the organization, planning, directing, control,
evaluation and operation of a program, Agency
or department.

"Clarification" means communications
between the State and a VVendor that may occur
after receipt of Vendor's Offer made for the
purpose  of  eliminating  irregularities,
informalities, or apparent clerical mistakes in
an Offer. A Clarification may also be used in
order for the State to interpret an Offer or Offers
or to facilitate the State's evaluation of all
Offers. A Clarification shall not be used to cure
material deficiencies in an Offer, alter the scope
of an Offer, or to negotiate.

"Competition" in purchasing exists when the
available market for the Goods or Services to be
acquired consists of more than one Responsible
Vendor that is qualified and willing to submit
an Offer.

"Competitive Range" means a rational
grouping of the most competitive Offers as
determined by the Purchasing Agency.
"Contract" means any type of agreement
entered into by State Agencies, regardless of
what it may be titled or called, setting out the
obligations of the parties concerning a
Procurement of Goods or Services.
"Deficiency” means either a failure to meet a
stated requirement or a combination of
weaknesses in an Offer that increases the risk
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(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

(17)

(18)

(19)

(20)

that a Vendor will be unable to meet its
contractual obligations.

"Division" means the Division of Purchase and
Contract.

"Electronic" means electrical, digital, magnetic,
optical, electromagnetic or any other similar
technology.

"Electronic Bid System" means the Division's
Electronic system used variously to advertise
Solicitations, notify Vendors, conduct Reverse
Auctions, and post contract awards.
"Emergency Situations” means unforeseen
circumstances that endanger lives, property, or
the continuation of a vital program, as
determined by the purchasing Agency Director,
and that can be rectified only by immediate
purchases or rental of Goods or Services.
"Goods" means any tangible property,
including all equipment, materials, supplies and
commodities. Unless the context requires
otherwise, acquisition of printing shall be
considered the purchase of Goods under these
Rules.

"Goods Contract” means any agreement
involving the Procurement of Goods from a
Vendor, but which may also have ancillary
Services aspects.

"Negotiation” means oral or written
communications in a waived or open
competitive Procurement between the State and
Vendor undertaken with the intent of allowing
Vendor to revise their Offers. Revisions may
apply to price, schedule, technical
requirements, or other terms of the proposed
contract. Negotiations are specific to each Offer
and shall be conducted to maximize the State's
ability to obtain best value based on the
evaluation factors set forth in the Solicitation.
Negotiations shall be memorialized in any
resulting Contract.

"Offer" means a bid, proposal, BAFO or other
proposition submitted in response to any
Solicitation, Negotiation, or other approved
acquisition process, as well as responses to
solution-based Solicitations and government-
Vendor partnerships.

"Personal Service Contract” has the same
definition as in G.S. 143-48.6(b). Personal
Service Contracts may include Contracts with a
doctor, dentist, attorney, architect, professional
engineer, scientist or performer of the fine arts
or similar professions. Personal Services
Contracts are a type of Service Contract.
"Pressing Need" means a need arising from
unforeseen causes outside the State's control,
including delay by contractors, delay in
transportation, breakdown in machinery, or
unanticipated volume of work, which can be

1)
(22)

(23)

(24)

(25)

(26)

(@7)

(28)

(29)

(30)

(1)

(32)

(33)

satisfied only by immediate purchase or rental
of Goods or Services.

"Price" means the amount paid by the State to a
Vendor for Goods or Services.

"Procurement” means the process of acquiring
Goods or Services.

"Progressive  Award" means an award of
portions of a definite quantity requirement to
more than one Vendor. Each portion is for a
definite quantity and the sum of the portions is
the total quantity procured. A Progressive
Award may be in the Purchasing Agency's best
interest when awards to more than one Vendor
for different amounts of the same item are
needed to obtain the total quantity or the time
or times of delivery required.

"Public Funds" means any amount received,
held, disbursed or otherwise subject to or
accounted for in accordance with the State
Budget Act and amounts used to acquire Goods
and Services that are required to be purchased
in accordance with Article 3 of Chapter 143 of
the General Statutes.

"Purchasing Agency" or "Purchaser” means the
Agency that issues a purchase order or
otherwise acquires Goods or Services through a
purchasing process.

"Recalled Bid" means a Bid that is rescinded by
the Vendor after the bid opening but prior to a
contract being awarded.

"Responsible Vendor" means a Vendor who
demonstrates in its Offer that it has the
capability to perform the requirements of the
Solicitation.

"Responsive Offer" means an Offer that
conforms to the Requirements of the
Solicitation in all respects to be considered by
the State for award.

"Requirement" is a provision of a Solicitation
and any resulting Contract which prescribes the
nature or details of a standard, process or
procedure that must be complied with by the
Vendor before any further evaluation of the
Offer is conducted by the State.

"Sealed Offer" means an Offer that remains
unopened until the public opening time stated
in the Solicitation.

"Secretary” means the Secretary of the NC
Department of Administration.

"Service Contract" means any agreement for
compensation involving Services and requiring
a particular or specialized knowledge,
experience, expertise or similar capabilities in
the Vendor. Contracts for Consultant Services
and Personal Services are also types of a
Service Contract. A Service Contract may also
involve the ancillary purchase of Goods.
"Services" means the tasks and duties
undertaken by a Vendor in a Service Contract
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(34)

(35)

(36)

(37)

(38)

(39)

(40)

(41)

(42)

(43)

(44)

(45)

(46)

(47)

to fulfill the requirements and Specifications of
the Contract.

"Signature” means a manual autograph, an
Electronic identifier or an Electronic
authentication technique, that is intended by the
person using it to have the same force and effect
as a manual signature.

"Small Purchase" means the purchase of Goods
and Services not covered by a Term Contract
where the expenditure of Public Funds is less
than a Small Purchase Benchmark amount.
"Solicitation" means a Written or Electronic
Invitation for Bids (IFB), Request for
Quotations (RFQ), Request for Proposals
(RFP), Best and Final Offer (BAFO), Request
for Information (RFI) or other such documents
used to solicit or invite Vendor Offers, or to
request information regarding the acquisition of
Goods and Services, including all mutually
agreed attachments and items incorporated by
reference.

"Specification” means any description of the
physical or functional characteristics of, or the
nature of, the Goods or Services to be procured.
"SPO" means the State Procurement Officer.
"Tabulation” means a list of Vendors
submitting Offers in response to a particular
Solicitation and, if applicable, the prices
Offered as allowed under G.S. 143-52(a).
"Technical Offer" means a proposal by a
Vendor in response to the Solicitation, absent
the price content.

"Term Contract” is a binding agreement
between purchaser and seller to buy and sell
certain commodities, printing, or services at
certain prices and under stipulated terms and
conditions.

"Total Cost of Ownership" means a summation
of all purchase, operating, and related costs to
be expended during the projected lifetime of a
Good or Service or both.

"Vendor" means a contractor, supplier, bidder,
company, independent contractor, firm,
corporation, partnership, individual or other
entity submitting a response to a Solicitation.
"Voided Bid" means an Electronic bid that was
submitted by a Vendor in connection with an
Electronic Solicitation that has been cancelled,
the bids voided and not opened electronically.
"Weakness" means a flaw in the Offer that
increases the risk of unsuccessful contract
performance.

"Withdrawal" or "Withdrawn Bid" means a Bid
that is rescinded by the Vendor prior to the bid
opening.

"Written" or "Writing" means a communication
recorded in a medium of expression that can be
preserved, read, retrieved, and reproduced for
an indefinite period of time, including

information in a form that is electronically
transmitted and stored.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-48.3; 143-48.6; 143-49;
143-52; 143-53; 143-53.1; 143-57; 143-135.9;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .0103 CONFIDENTIALITY
(@ All information and documentation whether Electronic,
Written, or verbal relative to the development of a Solicitation for
a proposed or pending Procurement shall be confidential, except
as deemed necessary by the Purchaser to develop a complete
contractual document. Such material shall remain confidential
until the award of contract or action has been taken by the
Purchasing Agency to cancel the Procurement.
(b)  All information and documentation relative to the
development of a Specification shall be confidential until a
contract is entered into by the Purchasing Agency and the Vendor
in accordance with G.S. 143-52(a).
(c) Trade secrets, test data and similar proprietary information
that the Vendor does not wish disclosed shall be identified as
follows:
1) each page shall be identified in boldface at the
top and bottom as "CONFIDENTIAL"; and
2) if only a portion of a page marked
"CONFIDENTIAL" contains trade secret
information, the trade secret information shall
be designated with a contrasting color or by a
box around such information.
(d) Cost information shall not be confidential.

History Note:
143-53; 143-60;
Eff. February 1, 1996;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 132-1.1; 133-33; 143-52;

01 NCAC 05B .0207
01 NCAC 05B .0208

COPIES OF SPECIFICATIONS
QUALIFIED PRODUCTS LIST

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-49(2); 143-53;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996;
Repealed Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .0210 CONFIDENTIALITY

History Note:  Authority G.S. 133-33; 143-53; 143-60;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2019.
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01 NCAC 05B .0303 ELECTRONIC, FACSIMILE,
AND TELEPHONE OFFERS

E-mail, facsimile, and telephone Offers shall not be accepted in
response to a Solicitation that is required to be sealed pursuant to
Rule .0301 of this Section. The use of digital or Electronic
Signatures on Electronic Offers must be consistent with G.S. 66-
312(9).

History Note:
53;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 66-312; 143-49; 143-52; 143-

01 NCAC 05B .0304 RECALL OF OFFERS

Offers may be recalled prior to opening upon Written and signed
request from an authorized agent of the Vendor to the Purchasing
Agency. A record of the recall shall be maintained in the bid file.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .0305 PUBLIC OPENING

(@ Pursuant to G.S. 143-52(a) the Purchasing Agency shall
publicly open and tabulate all Offers (except those that have been
previously withdrawn, or Voided Bids) at the time, date, and place
identified in the Solicitation. The Tabulation shall be made public
at the time it is created. There shall be at least two Purchasing
Agency employees present at the opening when a Sealed Offer is
required.

(b) When Negotiation after receipt of Offers is authorized
pursuant to G.S. 143-49 and Rule .0503 of this Subchapter, only
the names of offerors and the Goods and Services offered shall be
tabulated at the time of opening. The cost and price Offer shall
become available for public inspection at the time of the award.
(c) Under the two-step process outlined in Paragraph (b) of this
Rule, the Technical Offers shall be reviewed for compliance with
Rule .0301 of this Subchapter. Only the cost and price Offers for
Offers found to be in compliance with Rule .0301 of this
Subchapter will then be publicly opened. At least two days prior
notification will be given to Vendors of the time and place of the
opening.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52; 143-53;
Eff. February 1, 1976:

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .0306 LATE OFFERS,
MODIFICATIONS, OR WITHDRAWALS

All Offers or modifications must be received by the due date, time
and location as specified in the Solicitation document. Any Offer
or modification received after the specified time shall not be

considered. Withdrawal of an Offer must be requested in writing
prior to the contract award.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .0308
TIME

When in the public interest, Vendors may be requested by the
Purchasing Agency to extend the time within which an Offer is to
be accepted.

EXTENSION OF ACCEPTANCE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .0309 EVALUATION

(a) Indetermining the award of Contract, Responsive Offers shall
be considered and evaluated as provided by statute and applicable
rules. The evaluation criteria to be used in determining the award
of Contract shall be identified in the Solicitation document.

(b)  Possession of Offers, including any accompanying
information submitted with the Offers, shall be limited to persons
in the Purchasing Agency who are responsible for handling the
Offers and accompanying information, and to others determined
necessary by the Purchasing Agency for the purpose of evaluation
and award of Contracts. No Vendor shall participate in the
evaluation process nor submit any additional information or
materials during the period of evaluation, unless requested by the
Purchasing Agency.

(c) Evaluation of Offers shall be conducted by the Purchasing
Agency. Following evaluation of the Offers by the Purchasing
Agency, a recommendation shall be submitted to the Division to
review for compliance with Rule .0301 of this Subchapter.
Evaluation scoring sheets, and other materials utilized to
determine the ranking or assessment of the Responsive Offers
shall be retained in the Agency Procurement file.

(d) Ifa Vendor has not met the evaluation criteria provided in the
Solicitation document, a written determination of such status shall
be made, including the reason(s) therefore with any supporting
documentation in the Procurement file.

(e) The failure of a Vendor to provide requested information to
the Purchasing Agency in connection to a Clarification or
mandatory addendum shall be sufficient justification for a
determination of not having met the criteria.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52; 143-53;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.
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01 NCAC 05B .0310 NOTIFICATION OF AWARD

(@) Following the award of a Contract in accordance with Rule
.0301 of this Section, the Purchasing Agency shall notify the
winning Vendor in writing. Written notifications may include
letter or Electronic means, such as posting on the Electronic Bid
System or e-mail.

(b) Purchasing Agencies shall post Contract awards in the same
manner described in Rule .0316 of this Section.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52; 143-53;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; May 1, 1988; July 1, 1987;
Temporary Amendment Eff. February 15, 1998;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .0313
ABSTRACTS

TABULATIONS AND

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-49; 143-52; 143-53;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .0316
REQUIREMENTS
(@) Unless otherwise directed by statute or excepted pursuant to
Paragraph (d) of this Rule, all advertisements required by Rule
.0301 of this Section shall be posted through the Division's
Electronic Bid System for at least 10 calendar days, unless a
memo requesting a waiver is received by the Division and
approved by the SPO in accordance with the Rule .1401 of the
Section. The Purchasing Agency may also solicit bids via direct
mailings or additional advertisement so long as the requirements
of this Paragraph are met.

(b) The required data to be advertised shall include the complete
Solicitation document with agency name, buyer name, phone
number and address for accessing hard copies of the Solicitation,
solicitation identification number, title, description of the
commodity, service or printing requirement, and the opening date,
time and place.

(c) Within three working days from the award of a contract that
has been advertised through the Division's Electronic Bid System,
Purchasing Agencies shall transmit an award notice to the
Division's Electronic Bid System. The award notice shall be
posted for at least 30 consecutive calendar days. This award notice
shall identify the contract and award information.

(d) Exceptions to this Rule are as follows:

1) If the Purchasing Agency is unable to transmit
the  advertisement or award notice
electronically, that agency may submit the data
to the Division to transmit electronically, or the
agency may place the advertisement (excluding
the complete Solicitation document) via
newspaper. If advertised via newspaper, the
agency shall be responsible for placing the

ADVERTISEMENT

advertisement and no award notice shall be
required.

2 If a Purchasing Agency is unable to
electronically transmit an attachment to the
Solicitation, the Purchasing Agency shall
include instructions to obtain the attachment in
the advertisement.

3 If a Purchasing Agency is unable to
electronically transmit a Solicitation, the
Purchasing Agency shall electronically
transmit a summary notice that provides
interested Vendors with instructions to obtain a
copy of the Solicitation.

4 Reasons a Purchasing Agency may be unable to
electronically transmit the documents listed in
this Paragraph include computer equipment
failure, networking difficulties, or insufficient
copies of samples for a printing job.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53;
Temporary Adoption Eff. February 15, 1998;
Eff. April 1, 1999;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .0317 MANDATORY
CONFERENCES/SITE VISITS

(&) When a Solicitation requires potential Vendors to attend a
mandatory conference or mandatory site visit, the date, time,
location, and other details of the conference or site visit shall be
given in the Solicitation, and in the advertisement when required
by Rule .0316 of this Section.

(b) If only one Vendor attends the mandatory conference or
mandatory site visit, the Purchasing Agency may conduct or
postpone the conference or site visit. The Purchasing Agency shall
review the Solicitation and factors set out in Rule .1401 of this
Section to determine whether any Competition is available and
why only one potential Vendor attended. The Purchasing Agency
may schedule another conference or site visit if it determines that
Competition is available, and it would be in the best interest of the
State. If it is determined that there is no Competition available,
then the Procurement may be subject to approval for a waiver of
Competition pursuant to Rules .1401 and .1402 of this
Subchapter.

(c) The Purchasing Agency shall document details of the
conference or site visit as part of the official Procurement records.
(d) Any and all questions or Clarifications by a potential Vendor
regarding a Solicitation shall be addressed to the Purchasing
Agency named on the Solicitation. Any and all revisions to the
Solicitation shall be made only by written addendum from the
Purchasing Agency.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53;
Eff. April 1, 1999;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .0501 REJECTION OR
CANCELLATION OF OFFERS

(&) Any Offers received in response to a Solicitation may be
rejected. The basis for rejection may include the following:
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1) the Offer does not address the requirements in
the Solicitation for bid regarding quantity,
quality, delivery, price or service;

(2) the Offer does not comply with the conditions
set forth in the Solicitation for bid,;

3) the Purchasing Agency determines there is a
lack of Competition;

4) the Solicitation contains errors;

(5) cancellation of or changes to the project
reference in the Solicitation;

(6) dual or similar Offers which prevent a Best
Value Procurement to be determined; or

@) limitation or lack of available funds of the

Purchasing Agency.
(b) Negotiation may be utilized if permitted by Rule .0503 of this
Section.
(c) If all Offers are rejected, a Solicitation may be cancelled in its
entirety or otherwise handled in accordance with the provisions of
this Chapter.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .0502 PUBLIC RECORD
History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .0503 NEGOTIATION

(a) If the Purchasing Agency does not receive a Responsive Offer
to a Solicitation and determines that soliciting Offers again would
not yield a different result, the Purchasing Agency may negotiate
with Vendors in the Competitive Range or reject all Offers and
negotiate with one or more sources of supply that may be capable
of satisfying the requirement. Negotiations may also be conducted
under conditions that merit a waiver of Competition pursuant to
Rule .1401 of this Section.

(b) Negotiations shall be conducted by the Purchasing Agency if
the Solicitation is under its Bid Value Benchmark or General
Delegation. A Purchasing Agency may request the participation
of the Division in any Negotiation.

(c) Negotiations shall be memorialized by a written agreement
executed by the parties and issued by the Division.

(d) All Negotiation results shall be documented in writing for
public record.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53; 143-60;
Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .1108 EXTENSION OF CONTRACT
TERMINATION DATES

When in the best interest of the State, Vendors may be requested
to extend the scheduled termination dates of contracts. Extensions
shall not result in a change in the prices stated in the original
contract unless agreed to by the Purchasing Agency in writing.
Extensions that result in an annual contract value exceeding a
Purchasing Agency's delegation must be submitted to the Division
for approval based on the determining factors set forth in Rule
.1102 of this Section.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-49;
Eff. February 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .1201 USE
(@) The Purchasing Agency may make a partial, multiple or
Progressive award for the following reasons:

1) there are insufficient funds to make a full
award;

2 a legislative mandate;

©) if the Purchasing Agency determines that it isin

the best interests of the State to award
separately by items; or
4) if more than one supplier is needed to meet the
Specifications as to quantity, quality, delivery,
services, or geographical areas as set forth in
the Solicitation.
(b) Multiple awards shall be made consistent with the applicable
provisions of G.S. 143-52.3(5).

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-52.3; 143-53(6);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .1501 CONFIDENTIALITY
History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996;
Repealed Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .1507
STRUCTURE

Contracts following an award to a Vendor are not instruments for
sale and shall not be assigned. If a Vendor is involved in corporate
consolidations, acquisitions or mergers, the Purchasing Agency
may negotiate agreements for the transfer of contractual
obligations and the continuance of Contracts if the Purchasing
Agency determines that it is in the best interest of the State.

CHANGE IN CORPORATE

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 143-53;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.
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01 NCAC 05B .1510
FOR PRIVATE GAIN

USE OF PURCHASING POWER

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-53; 143-58.1;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996; July 1, 1987;
Repealed Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .1511 ANTICOMPETITIVE,
DECEPTIVE, AND FRAUDULENT PRACTICES

(@) A Purchasing Agency shall act to prevent the continuance of
anticompetitive,  deceptive, or  fraudulent  practices.
Anticompetitive practices include actions involving Vendors that
restrain trade or commerce or eliminate Competition.

(b) Anticompetitive, deceptive, or fraudulent practices may be
evidenced by one or more of the following:

(1) conspiracy in restraint of trade or commerce;

(2) combination bidding in restraint of trade or
commerce;

3 price fixing which may include reliance upon
an industry price list;

(@) collusion;

(5) identical bidding; or

(6) agreements to:

(A) rotate Offers;

(B) share the profits with a VVendor who is
not the low Vendor;

© sublet work in advance of bidding as a
means of preventing Competition;

(D) refrain from bidding;

(E) submit prearranged Offers;

(F) submit complementary Offers;

(G) set up territories to  restrict
Competition;

(H) alternate bidding; or

()] any other unlawful act in restraint of

trade or commerce.
(c) Agency actions to discourage or prevent the continuance of
anticompetitive, deceptive, or fraudulent practices may include

the following:
1) rejecting the Vendor's Offer;
(2) awarding a bid to a Vendor with a cost or

technical proposal that is evaluated lower than
the offending Vendor's proposal; and
3 recommending that the SPO debar a Vendor
from doing business with the State in
accordance with Rule .1520 of this Section.
(d) The Purchasing Agency shall report evidence of
anticompetitive, deceptive or fraudulent practices to the Attorney
General's office and any other appropriate law enforcement
authority.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-53; 143-54;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .1516 ADVERTISING

No Vendor shall advertise or otherwise use any Contract for
marketing purposes. A Vendor may only include the State on a
listing of existing customers.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-53; 143-60;
Eff. February 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .1519 PROTEST PROCEDURES

() When a Vendor wants to protest a Contract awarded by a
Purchasing Agency valued at less than the amount set forth in G.S.
143-53, the Purchasing Agency and Vendor shall comply with the
following:

1) The Vendor shall submit a written request for a
protest meeting to the Agency's executive
officer or his or her designee within 30 calendar
days from the date of the Contract award. The
executive officer shall furnish a copy of this
letter to the SPO within five calendar days of
receipt. The Vendor's request shall contain
reasons why it has a concern with the award and
any supporting documentation. If the request
does not contain this information, or if the
executive officer determines that the protest is
meritless so that a meeting would serve no
purpose, then the executive officer may, within
10 calendar days from the date of receipt of the
request, respond in writing to the Vendor and
refuse the protest meeting request. A copy of
the executive officer's decision letter shall be
forwarded to the SPO.

2 If the protest meeting is granted, the executive
officer shall schedule the meeting within 30
calendar days after receipt of the request, unless
mutually agreed. Within 10 calendar days from
the date of the protest meeting, the executive
officer shall respond to the Vendor in writing
with the executive officer's decision and appeal
rights under Article 3 of G.S. 150B. A copy of
the executive officer's decision letter shall be
forwarded to the SPO.

3 The Purchasing Agency shall notify the SPO in
writing of any further administrative or judicial
review of the Contract award.

(b) When a Vendor wants to protest a Contract awarded by the
Secretary valued over the amount set forth in G.S. 143-53, the
SPO and Vendor shall comply with the following:

(8] The Vendor shall submit a written request for a
protest meeting to the SPO within 30 calendar
days from the date of the Contract award. The
Vendor's request shall contain reasons why it
has a concern with the award and any
supporting documentation. If the request does
not contain this information, or if the SPO
determines that the protest is meritless so that a
meeting would serve no purpose, then the SPO
may, within 10 calendar days from the date of
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receipt of the request, respond in writing to the
Vendor and refuse the protest meeting request.

(2) If the protest meeting is granted, the SPO shall
schedule the meeting within 30 calendar days
after receipt of the request, unless mutually
agreed. Within 10 calendar days from the date
of the protest meeting, the SPO shall respond to
the Vendor in writing with the SPO's decision
and appeal rights under Article 3 of G.S. 150B.

3) The SPO shall notify the Secretary of any
further administrative or judicial review of the
Contract award.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-53;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 15, 1998;
Amended Eff. April 1, 1999;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .1521 FAITHFUL PERFORMANCE
A Solicitation and Contract may include terms ensuring a
Vendor's performance such as:

@ a bond, or similar assurance;

)] liquidated damages;

3 a percentage of the Contract value held as a
retainage;

4) withholding final payment contingent on
acceptance of the final deliverable; and

(5) any other provision that assures performance of
the Vendor.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-52; 143-53;
Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05B .1522 RECIPROCAL PREFERENCE

(@) Each Solicitation used to obtain contracts for Goods and
Services that exceed thresholds mandated in G.S. 143-59(b) shall
include space for a bidder to give their principal place of business
address if it is different than the address given in the execution
section of the Solicitation. This shall not prevent the Purchasing
Agency that issued the Solicitation from investigating this
information and concluding that the principal place of business is
different, as defined by G.S. 143-59(c).

(b) A reciprocal preference shall not be used when Procurements
are exempted under G.S. 143-59(d).

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-59;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 14, 2002;
Eff. April 1, 2003;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

01 NCAC 05D .0209 RELATIONSHIP OF
CONSULTANT TO STATE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-64.21;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996;
Repealed Eff. October 1, 2019.

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND
CONSUMER SERVICES

02 NCAC 20B .0104 ADMISSION RULES

(a) All persons entering the North Carolina State Fairgrounds
shall pay the established admission fee listed on
www.ncstatefair.org.

(b) The State Fair Manager may operate a pass-out system at one
or more of the outside gates. Persons exiting through these gates
may, upon request, have their hand stamped for readmittance
through the same gate without additional charge. Readmittance
must occur before 10:00 p.m. on the same day as pass-out or the
hand stamp shall not be honored.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 106-503;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. July 13, 2014; August 16, 2010; February 1, 2007;
July 1, 2000; October 1, 1993; June 1, 1989; July 1, 1985; April
1,1984;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. September 19, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

10A NCAC 23G .0304 CHANGE IN SITUATION
(a) Forthe purposes of this Rule, a "change in situation™ includes:
(8] Change of address;

2 Change in living arrangement;

3) Adding or deleting a budget unit member;

4) Increase or decrease in income;

5) Change in reserve;

(6) Cessation of disability or blindness;

@) Parent or parents are no longer incapacitated or
unemployed;

8) Change in responsible relative; or

(C)] Change in Medicaid program category.

(b) The Medicaid client or his or her representative shall report
any change in situation in the budget unit or household as defined
by 42 C.F.R. 435.603 that affects eligibility to the county
department of social services within 10 calendar days of
knowledge of the change. 42 C.F.R. 435.603 is incorporated by
reference, including subsequent amendments and editions,
available and free of charge at https://www.ecfr.gov.

(c) Once the county department of social services learns from any
source that there has been a change in situation that affects
eligibility, it shall verify that information by reviewing its files or
electronically as defined by 42 C.F.R. 435.949, which is
incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and
editions, and available free of charge at https://www.ecfr.gov.
When the change in situation cannot be verified from its files or
electronically, it shall send a notice of the need to obtain
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verification, as defined by 10A NCAC 23A .0102, of the change.
No notice shall be sent if the change in situation can be verified
in the county department of social services' files or electronically.
(d) For Medicaid applications, the application processing
standards set forth in 10A NCAC 23C .0201 shall apply.

(e) For an active case with an ongoing certification period, once
the county department of social services learns from any source
that there has been a change in situation, it shall review the case
and determine eligibility. Processing shall be completed within 30
calendar days after the agency learns of the change.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 42
C.F.R. 435.603; 42 C.F.R. 435.916; 42 C.F.R. 435.949;

Eff. September 1, 1984;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 22, 1996;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998;

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0409 Eff. May 1, 2012;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2019.

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

12 NCAC 09B .0313 CERTIFICATION AND
TRAINING FOR SCHOOL RESOURCE OFFICERS
(@ A "School Resource Officer (SRO)" is defined as any law
enforcement officer assigned to one or more public schools within
a local school administrative unit, as defined in G.S. 115C-5(6),
who works in a school at least 20 hours per week for more than
12 weeks per calendar year to assist with all of the following:

@ School safety;

)] School security;

3) Emergency preparedness;
4) Emergency response; and
(5) Any additional responsibilities related to school

safety or security assigned by the officer's
employer while the officer is acting as a School
Resource Officer.

Any written memorandum of understanding between the local

school administrative unit and the law enforcement agency

governing the School Resource Officer shall be consistent with

this Paragraph.

(b) Law enforcement officers assigned by their agency to perform

duties as a School Resource Officer shall:

(1) have been issued general certification by the
North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and
Training Standards Commission as a law
enforcement officer; and
(2) have until December 31, 2020, to complete the

Basic School Resource Officer Training course,
if they are acting in the capacity of a School
Resource Officer between October 1, 2018 and
December 31, 2019. Any officer assigned as a
School Resource Officer effective January 1,
2020 or later shall complete the School
Resource Officer Training course pursuant to
Paragraph (f) of this Rule, within one year after
being assigned as a School Resource Officer.
Law enforcement officers who previously

completed the training pursuant to Paragraph (f)
of this Rule and who have been continually
assigned as an SRO pursuant to Paragraph (a)
of this Rule shall be credited with completion
of the Basic School Resource Officer Training.
(c) A law enforcement officer assigned to one or more public
schools within a local school administrative unit, who works in a
school at least 20 hours per week for more than 12 weeks per
calendar year and who has not completed the initial training as
established by Paragraph (f) of this Rule shall not work in a school
as a School Resource Officer until the officer has completed the
initial training as established by Paragraph (f) of this Section.
(d) The agency head shall submit to the Criminal Justice
Standards Division a Form F-20 Commission School Resource
Officer Assignment Form for the person(s) selected to act as a
School Resource Officer for the agency. The Form F-20 is located
on the agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/getdoc/576¢353c-
0dcb-4c84-8cc4-c9d17985541f/SRO-form.aspx and must be
completed in its entirety. The Commission School Resource
Officer Assignment Form consists of the following:

(8] applicants name;

2 date of birth;

©) social security number;

4) name of agency and address;

5) date awarded general certification;

(6) completion date of School Resource Officer
training; and

@) date assigned as a School Resource Officer.

(e) The term of certification as a School Resource Officer shall
be indefinite, provided the School Resource Officer completes
during each calendar year a one hour Basic School Resource
Officer refresher training authored by North Carolina Justice
Academy. For School Resource Officers who complete the basic
SRO training requirement in 2020 or earlier, this requirement
shall be effective January 1, 2021. For SROs, this requirement
shall be effective the year following the officer's successful
completion of the Basic School Resource Officer Training course.
A certified School Resource Officer who has not completed the
refresher training during a calendar year as established by this
Rule shall not work in a school as a School Resource Officer until
the officer has completed the required refresher training as
established by this Rule.
(f) The Basic School Resource Officer Training course for law
enforcement officers shall provide the trainee with the skills and
knowledge to perform in the capacity of a School Resource
Officer. The Basic School Resource Officer Training course
authored by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be used as
the curriculum for this training course. Copies of this publication
may be inspected at the office of the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the
North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
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History Note:

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

Eff. October 1, 2018;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

12 NCAC 09F .0102

TOPICAL AREAS

The course entitled "Concealed Carry Handgun Training™ shall
consist of eight hours of instruction and shall include the
following identified topical areas:

(1)

Legal Issues (two hours): The student shall be
able to explain the following:

@ the types of situations when the use of
deadly physical force would be
justified;

(b) list the areas where the carrying of a
concealed handgun is prohibited,;

(c) the requirements for handgun storage
under G.S. 14-315.1; and

(d) the laws governing the carrying of a

concealed handgun.

The instructor shall determine the student's level of

understanding of

the relevant legal issues by

administering a written examination.

)

®3)

(4)

()

(6)

Handgun Nomenclature: The instructor shall
identify to the students the primary parts of the
revolver and semiautomatic handgun.

Handgun Safety: The students shall be able to:
€)] list at least four rules of safe gun
handling and demonstrate all of these
procedures during range exercises;

list four methods of safely storing a
handgun and choose the method most
appropriate for their personal use;
describe safety issues relating to the
safe carry of a handgun; and
determine the proper storage of their
handguns when there are minors in the
home.

Handgun Fundamentals: The instructor shall
demonstrate to the students:

(b)

(©
(d)

€)] how to load both a revolver and a
semiautomatic handgun;

(b) how to unload both a revolver and a
semiautomatic handgun; and

(© the operational characteristics of the

revolver and the semiautomatic
handgun.
Marksmanship Fundamentals:

shall be able to:

The student

@ demonstrate a proper handgun grip;

(b) demonstrate either the Weaver or
Isosceles Stance;

(© describe the elements of sight
alignment and sight picture; and

(d) demonstrate trigger control in a dry

fire exercise.
Presentation Techniques: The instructor shall
demonstrate to the students the draw or
presentation of the revolver and semiautomatic
handgun with a variety of holster types.

U]

®)

History Note:

Cleaning and Maintenance: The instructor shall
demonstrate to the student:

(a) how to "field strip" the handguns if the
handgun can be field stripped,;

(b) how to perform a "Function Check";
and

(c) based on the  manufacturer's

recommendations, list the lubrication
points of the specific handguns being
demonstrated.
Ammunition: The instructor shall list and
explain the four components of ammunition.

Authority G.S. 14-415.12;

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1995;

Eff. May 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; February 1, 2013; May 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A,

rule is necessary without

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

12 NCAC 09F .0105

INSTRUCTOR

RESPONSIBILITIES
In delivering the "Concealed Carry Handgun Training™ course the

instructor shall:

)

@

®)
(4)

®)

have a valid Concealed Carry Handgun
instructor certification issued by the Criminal
Justice Standards Division;

file a copy of the proposed firearms course
description, outline, and proof of instructor
certification along with a written request to
conduct the "Concealed Carry Handgun
Training” course for approval by the
Commission prior to delivery of any instruction
required by G.S. 14-415.12;

file a copy of all modifications;

be issued by Commission staff a quantity of
certificates as requested by the instructor for
course participants that shall bear the
instructor's name, the instructor's assigned
number, be sequentially numbered, and bear the
raised seal of the Commission;

if a Concealed Carry Handgun Instructor
relinquishes his or her certification and wants to
transfer his or her assigned participants'
certificates to another Concealed Carry
Handgun instructor, a written request shall be
submitted to the Criminal Justice Standards
Division Director for approval. The written
request shall include the following:

@) instructor name and identification
number;

(b) name of business;

(c) business phone number and email
address;

(d) recipient  instructor name and
identification number;

(e) recipient business name;
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(j)] recipient business phone number,
email address; and
(9) list of the assigned certificate numbers
for participants to be transferred;
(6) affix the student's name to one certificate and

issue that certificate to the student who
successfully completes the "Concealed Carry
Handgun Training" course;

@) conduct the training consistent with the
guidelines established in Rule .0102 of this
Section;

(8) administer a written examination, that includes

at a minimum questions provided by the

Commission, which the student shall pass with

a minimum score of 70 percent on the questions

provided by the Commission; and

(9) administer a proficiency examination that
demonstrates the student is competent in the
firing and safe handling of a handgun. Such
examination shall include, at a minimum, the
following:

@ The student fires 30 rounds of
ammunition at a bulls-eye or
silhouette target from three, five, and
seven yard distances;

(b) At each yard distance the student shall
fire a minimum ten rounds; and

(© 21 of the 30 rounds fired by the student
hit the target.

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-415.12; 14-415.13;
Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1995;

Eff. May 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; May 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020; August 1, 2019.

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

14B NCAC 15B .1013 REFUND OFFERS

(@) General. Refund offers may be used to advertise spirituous
liquor. Refund offers may be advertised by newspaper, magazine,
direct mail, the Internet, or other electronic means.

(b) Conditions. A refund offer is an offer to a purchaser for a
rebate of money or merchandise from a liquor industry member,
obtained by submitting a form. A refund offer is allowed under
the following conditions:

1) A refund may be offered only by a
manufacturer, importer, distiller, recifier, or
bottler of spirituous liquor.

2 A refund may be offered only to purchasers of
the manufacturer's original unopened container
of liquor that is purchased from an ABC store.

3) A refund may be offered in any of the following
ways:

(A) When the redemption form is a part of
or attached to the package or

container, or when the forms are
available on tear-off pads displayed in
the store. Any offer that is a part of or
attached to the package or container
shall be placed there by the industry
member who offers the refund.

(B) When the redemption form is part of
an electronic refund procedure or
software application made available
by the industry member or its
designated redemption agent.

4 The redemption form shall include a statement
that the person redeeming the refund must be at
least 21 years of age.

(5) A refund offer shall apply throughout the State.

(6) A refund offer shall include an expiration date.

@) A refund offer shall include a statement
explaining the redemption procedure, including
the expiration date and length of time before the
refund is sent to the purchaser. Refund offers
shall be redeemed by submitting the redemption
form to the industry member who offers the
refund or its designated redemption agent in the
manner required by the industry member, either
by mail or electronically. The designated
redemption agent shall not be a retail or
wholesale permittee in the State.

8) An industry member shall notify the
Commission at least 10 days before it provides
a refund offer on liquor. The notice shall state
the proposed amount of the refund, its
expiration date, to whom redemption forms
shall be submitted, and the name, address, and
phone number of the redemption agent. The
notice shall also include a sample of the
redemption form or the redemption procedure.

9 A local board member or board employee shall
not submit a redemption form for a refund
under this Rule except for purchases of
spirituous liquor the local board member or
board employee has made.

() Commercial Bribery; Cooperative Advertising. No local
board member, board employee, retailer, or retailer employee
shall accept and no industry member shall pay any fee for the
display or use of refund offers. The name of a retail business or
retail permittee shall not appear on any refund offer.

(d) Advertising Limits. No refund offer for liquor may be
advertised on the premises of any retail permittee.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1987;
Amended Eff. July 1, 1992;

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02S .1020 Eff. August
1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 20, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-105(b); 18B-207;
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TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

15A NCAC 10B .0106
DEPREDATIONS
(a) Depredation permits allow the taking of undesirable or excess
wildlife resources as described in Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2)
of this Paragraph. Only employees of the Wildlife Resources
Commission (Commission) and Wildlife Damage Control Agents
(WDCA) may issue depredation permits. Only depredation
permits written on a form supplied by the Commission shall be
valid. No permit is needed for the owner or lessee of a property to
take wildlife while committing depredations on that property;
however the manner of taking, disposition of dead wildlife, and
reporting requirements as described in this Rule still apply.

(b) No permit shall be issued to take any endangered or threatened
species of wildlife listed under 15A NCAC 101, except alligators,
by reason of depredations to property. Only the Executive
Director or his or her designee may issue depredation permits for
Special Concern species listed in 15A NCAC 101 .0105 and for
alligators. An individual may take an endangered or threatened
species in immediate defense of his or her own life or of the lives
of others without a permit. Any endangered or threatened species
that may constitute a demonstrable but non-immediate threat to
human safety shall be reported to a federal or State wildlife
enforcement officer, who, upon verification of the report, may
take or remove the specimen as provided by 15A NCAC 10l
.0102. Depredation permits for other species may be issued under
the following conditions:

(1) for taking wildlife that is or has been damaging
or destroying property, provided there is
evidence of property damage. No permit may
be issued for the taking of migratory birds and
other federally-protected animals unless a
corresponding, valid U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service depredation permit(s), if required, has
been issued. A permit issued pursuant to this
Rule shall name the species allowed to be taken
and may include limitations as to age, sex, type
of depredation, location of animal or damage,
and local laws. The permit shall be issued to a
landholder or an authorized representative of a
unit of local government for depredations on
public property. The permit shall be used only
by individuals named on the permit.

2 for taking of wildlife resources in
circumstances of overabundance or when the
wildlife resources present a danger to human
safety. Cities, as defined in G.S. 160A-1(2),
seeking a depredation permit pursuant to these
circumstance shall apply to the Commission
using an application available from the
Commission. The application shall include the
following information:

(A) the name and location of the city;

(B) the acreage of the affected property;

(© a map of the affected property;

(D) the signature of an authorized city
representative;

WILDLIFE TAKEN FOR

(E) the nature of the overabundance or the
threat to public safety; and
() a description of previous actions taken

by the city to ameliorate the problem.
(c) Wildlife Damage Control Agents. Individuals meeting the
following eligibility requirements may apply to become a
Wildlife Damage Control Agent (WDCA):

1) Successful completion of a training course that
is designed to:
(A) review wildlife laws;
(B) review safe, humane wildlife handling
techniques.
2 No wildlife misdemeanor conviction, as

specified in G.S. 113-294 that resulted in a
license suspension or revocation, within the last
five hears prior to application to become a
WDCA.
Those individuals who demonstrate knowledge of wildlife laws
and safe, humane wildlife handling techniques by a passing score
of 80 percent or better on a written examination provided by a
representative of the Commission, in cooperation with the training
course provider, shall be approved. Those individuals failing to
obtain a passing score shall be given one chance for re-testing
without re-taking the course. Those individuals approved as
agents by the Commission may then issue depredation permits for
depredation as defined in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule to
landholders and be listed as a second party to provide the control
service. WDCAs may not issue depredation permits for coyotes
in the counties of Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, Washington; big
game animals; bats; or any species listed as endangered,
threatened, or special concern under 15A NCAC 101.0103, .0104,
and .0105 of this Chapter. WDCAs shall annually report to the
Commission the number and disposition of animals by county.
Records shall be available for inspection by a wildlife
enforcement officer at any time during the posted business hours
of the Commission at ncwildlife.org. The Executive Director shall
revoke WDCA status when there is evidence of violations of
wildlife laws, failure to report, or inhumane treatment of animals
by the WDCA. A WDCA may not charge for the permit, but may
charge for his or her investigations and control services. Each
WDCA shall renew his or her agent status every three years by
showing proof of having attended at least one training course
provided for the purpose of reviewing and updating information
on wildlife laws and safe, humane wildlife handling techniques
within the previous 12 months or agency approved continuing
education credits.
(d) Each depredation permit shall have an expiration date or time
after which the depredation permit is no longer valid. The
depredation permit authorizes possession of any wildlife
resources taken under the permit and shall be retained as long as
the wildlife resource is in the permittee's possession. All
individuals taking wildlife resources under the authority of a
depredation permit shall comply with the conditions written on
the permit and the requirements specified in this Rule.
(e) Manner of Taking:

@ Taking Without a Permit. Wildlife taken
without a permit while committing
depredations to property may, during the open
season on the species, be taken by the
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@)

©)

landholder by any lawful method. During the
closed season, such depredating wildlife may
be taken without a permit only by the use of
firearms or archery equipment as defined in
15A NCAC 10B .0116.

Taking With a Permit. Wildlife taken under a
depredation permit may be taken only by the
method or methods authorized by the permit.
When trapping is authorized, in order to limit
the taking to the intended purpose, the permit
may specify a reasonable distance from the
property sought to be protected, within which
the traps shall be set. The Executive Director,
Commission employee, or agent may also state,
in a permit authorizing trapping, whether or not
bait may be used and the type of bait that is
authorized based upon factors such as type of
depredation, locations of animal or damage, and
local laws. In addition to any trapping
restrictions that may be contained in the permit,
the method of trapping shall be in accordance
with the requirements and restrictions imposed
by G.S. 113-291.6 and other local laws passed
by the General Assembly. No depredation
permit shall authorize the use of poisons or
pesticides in taking wildlife except in
accordance with the provisions of the North
Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971, G.S. 143,
Article 52, the Structural Pest Control Act of
1955, G.S. 106, Article 4C, and G.S. 113,
Article 22A. No depredation permit shall
authorize the taking of wildlife by any method
by any landholder upon the lands of another
except when the individual is listed as a second
party on a depredation permit.

Intentional Wounding. It is unlawful for any
landholder, with or without a depredation
permit, to intentionally wound a wild animal in
a manner so as not to cause its immediate death
as suddenly and humanely as the circumstances
permit.

(f) Disposition of Wildlife Taken:

(1)

Generally.  Except as  provided by
Subparagraphs (2) through (5) of this
Paragraph, any wildlife killed without a permit
while committing depredations shall be buried
or otherwise disposed of in a safe and sanitary
manner on the property. Wildlife killed under a
depredation permit may be transported to an
alternate disposal site if desired. Anyone in
possession of carcasses of animals being
transported under a depredation permit shall
have the depredation permit in his or her
possession.  Except as provided by
Subparagraphs (€)(2) through (5) of this Rule,
all wildlife killed under a depredation permit
shall be buried or otherwise disposed of as
stated on the permit.

2 Deer and feral swine. The edible portions of
feral swine and deer may be retained by the
landholder for consumption but shall not be
transported from the property where the
depredations took place without a valid
depredation permit. The landholder may give a
second party the edible portions of the feral
swine and deer taken under the depredation
permit. The receiver of the edible portions shall
hold a copy of the depredation permit. The
nonedible portions of any deer -carcass,
including head, hide, feet, and antlers, shall be
disposed of as specified in Subparagraph (1) of
this Paragraph or turned over to a wildlife
enforcement officer for disposition.

3 Fox. Any fox killed under a depredation permit
may be disposed of as described in
Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph or, upon
compliance with the fur tagging requirements
of 15A NCAC 10B .0400, the carcass or pelt
thereof may be sold to a licensed fur dealer.

4) Furbearing Animals. The carcass or pelt of any
furbearing animal killed during the open season
for taking such furbearing animal for control of
depredations to property, whether with or
without a permit, may be sold to a licensed fur
dealer provided that the person offering such
carcass or pelt for sale has a valid hunting or
trapping license; provided further that bobcats
and otters may only be sold upon compliance
with any required fur tagging requirement set
forth in 15A NCAC 10B .0400.

5) Animals Taken Alive. Wild animals in the order
Carnivora, armadillos, groundhogs, nutria, and
beaver shall be humanely euthanized either at
the site of capture or at a facility designed to
humanely handle the euthanasia or released on
the property where captured. Feral swine shall
be euthanized while still in the trap in
accordance with G.S. 113-291.12. For all other
animals taken alive, the animal shall be
euthanized or released on property with
permission of the landowner. When the
relocation site is public property, written
permission shall be obtained from the local,
State, or federal official authorized to manage
the property before any animal may be released.
Animals transported or held for euthanasia shall
be euthanized within 12 hours of capture.
Anyone in possession of live animals being
transported for relocation or euthanasia under a
depredation permit shall have the depredation
permit in his or her possession.

(9) Reporting Requirements. Any landholder who Kills an
alligator; coyote, in the counties of Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell,
or Washington; deer; Canada goose; bear; elk; or wild turkey
under a valid depredation permit shall report the kill on the form
provided with the permit, including the number and species of
animal(s) killed, and submit the form upon the expiration date of

34:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 1, 2019

783



APPROVED RULES

the depredation permit to the Wildlife Resources Commission.
Any landowner who Kills a coyote in the counties of Beaufort,
Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington shall report the Kkill,
including the number of coyotes killed, on the form provided with
the depredation permit. The killing and method of disposition of
every alligator; coyote in the counties of Beaufort, Dare, Hyde,
Tyrrell, and Washington; bear; or elk taken without a permit shall
be reported to the Wildlife Resources Commission within 24
hours following the time of such killing.
(h) Exemption for Animal Control Officers. Animal Control
Officers, as defined by G.S. 130A-184(1) when in the
performance of official duties, shall be exempt from obtaining a
depredation permit when taking wild animals that;
1) Exhibit visible signs of rabies;
(2) Exhibit unprovoked aggression that may be
associated with rabies;
3) Avre suspected to be rabid; or
4) Have or may have exposed humans, pets, or
livestock to rabies.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274;
113-291.4; 113-291.6; 113-300.1; 113-300.2; 113-307; 113-331;
113-333; 113-334(a); 113-337;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2013; January 1, 2012; August 1, 2010;
July 1, 2010; May 1, 2008; August 1, 2002; July 1, 1997; July 1,
1995; January 1, 1995; January 1, 1992; August 1, 1990;
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2014 and shall remain in
effect until amendments expire as specified in G.S. 150B-21.1(d)
or the United States District Court for the Eastern District of
North Carolina's court order number 2:13-CV-60-BOs signed on
May 13, 2014 is rescinded, whichever date is earlier. The court
order is available at www.ncwildlife.org;

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 27, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; December 1, 2016; July 1, 2016;
May 1, 2016.

15A NCAC 10F .0307 CATAWBA, IREDELL,
LINCOLN, AND MECKLENBURG COUNTIES
(a) Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to Lake Norman in
Catawba, Iredell, Lincoln, and Mecklenburg counties:
(1) within 50 yards of the shoreline at Jetton Park
in Mecklenburg County, from a point on the
west side of the park at 35.47082 N, 80.90427
W, south and around the point at 35.46703 N,
80.90360 W, then northeast to a point at
35.47262 N, 80.89727 W;
2 Bluff Point Cove in Cornelius shore to shore,
east of a line from a point 50 yards west of the
south shore of the cove mouth at 35.45327 N,
80.89520 W to a point 50 yards west of the
north shore of the cove mouth at 35.45487 N,
80.89440 W; and
3) the cove immediately north of the inlet of Hager
Creek in Iredell County, north of a line from a
point on the north shore at 35.55760 N,
80.94730 W southwest to a point on the island
at the inlet of Hager Creek at 35.55695 N,
80.94971 W, and east of a line from the same

point on the island northwest to a point on the
north shore at 35.55754 N, 80.95029 W.
(b) Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than
no wake speed within the regulated areas described in Paragraph
(a) of this Rule and as set forth in G.S. 75A-14.1.
(c) Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the
operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked swimming
area on the waters of Lake Norman.
(d) Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Lake Norman
Marine Commission shall be the designated agency for placement
and maintenance of navigational aids and regulatory markers on
the waters of Lake Norman.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; October 1, 1992; May 1, 1989; March
25, 1978;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; October 1, 2018.

15A NCAC 10F .0320 ONSLOW COUNTY
(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters
in Onslow County:
(8] the canals in Old Settlers Beach subdivision in
the Town of Surf City, east of the Onslow-
Pender County line, and the waters of the
approach canal from the Intracoastal Waterway
between markers 53 and 57, extending south-
southwest to the Onslow-Pender County line;
2) New River in the City of Jacksonville shore to
shore, north from a line at a point on the east
shore at 34.74356 N, 77.43775 W to a point on
the west shore at 34.74358 N, 77.43924 W; and
south from a line at a point on the east shore at
34.74695 N, 77.43719 W, to a point on the west
shore at 34.74562 N, 77.44114 W, and the
waters shore to shore north of the SR 1402
bridge otherwise known as the Old Bridge
Street bridge and south of the U.S. Highway 17
Business bridge otherwise known as Marine
Boulevard bridge; and within 50 yards of the
shoreline at the Marina Café and Marina, from
the U.S. Highway 17 Business bridge otherwise
known as Marine Boulevard bridge to a point
on the west shore at 34.75461 N, 77.43819 W;
3) Queens Creek near the boating access area at
the north end of SR 1688, otherwise known as
Sussex Lane in Hubert, shore to shore west of a
line from a point on the south shore at 34.69881
N, 77.18884 W to a point on the north shore at
34.69949 N, 77.18880 W and south-southeast
of a line from a point on the west shore at
34.70103 N, 77.19287 W to a point on the east
shore at 34.70101 N, 77.19216 W; and
(@) Intracoastal Waterway at Hammocks Beach
State Park in Swansboro, from a line at a point
on the north shore west of the passenger ferry
dock at 34.66967 N, 77.14454 W, south to a
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point on an unnamed island at 34.66823 N,
77.14459 W, eastward 520 yards to a line from
a point on the north shore east of the public boat
ramp and maintenance area at 34.67023 N,
77.13934 W, south to a point on an unnamed
island at 34.66916 N, 77.13962 W.
(b) Speed Limit. No person shall operate a motorboat at greater
than no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(c) Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of
Onslow County shall be the designated agency for placement of
the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the
United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of
Engineers.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. July 1, 1993; June 1, 1989; October 1, 1984; May
1,1982;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15;

15A NCAC 10F .0339 MCDOWELL COUNTY
(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters
on Lake James in McDowell County:

@ the cove east of Old Wildlife Club Road,
beginning at a line from a point on the
northwest shore at 35.73649 N, 81.92296 W to
a point on the southeast shore at 35.73595 N,
81.92194 W,

(2) the waters including coves, shore to shore in the
vicinity of the Marion Moose Club property,
east of a line from a point on the north shore at
35.72026 N, 81.97292 W, to a point on the
south shore at 35.71908 N, 81.97257 W, and
south of a line from a point on the west shore at
35.72214 N, 81.96807 W to a point on the east
shore at 35.72305 N, 81.96642 W;

3) Morgan Cove, west and south of a line at the
mouth from a point on the north shore at
35.74220 N, 81.94189 W to a point on the south
shore at 35.74142 N, 81.94155 W;

4) within 50 yards of the shoreline at the New
Manna Baptist Youth Camp at 880 Marina
Drive in Nebo;

(5) within 50 yards of the shoreline at Burnette's
Landing at 3385 Hankins Road in Marion;

(6) the coves adjacent to Lake James State Park
swimming area southeast of a line from a point
on the northeast shore at 35.73402 N, 81.90450
W to a point on the southwest shore at 35.73268
N, 81.90614 W;

@) within 50 yards of camping areas in the Lake
James State Park;

(8) the cove between Waterglyn Subdivision and
Lakeview Shores Subdivision, contiguous with
the waters within 50 yards of the shoreline of
Lakeview Point Subdivision, and within 50

yards of the boat launching ramp at the Marion
Lake Club at the end of Lake Club Lane;

9 Plantation Point Cove southwest of a line from
a point on the north shore at 35.71672 N,
81.98065 W to a point on the south shore at
35.71616 N, 81.98010 W;

(10) Waterglyn Subdivision Cove, west of Lentz
Landing Lane;

(11) within 50 yards of the boat ramp at Lake James
Landing on Lake James Landing Drive, near the
mouth of the North Fork of the Catawba River;

(12) within 50 yards of the Bear Creek Marina at 608
Marina Drive in Nebo;

(13) within 50 yards of the peninsula at Waterglyn
Subdivision at the end of Waterglyn Way, from
the point on land east of the cove east of Old
Wildlife Club Road at 35.73600 N, 81.92185 W
to a point on land west of Waterglyn
Subdivision Cove at 35.73549 N, 81.91900 W;

(14) within 50 yards of the Hidden Cove Public Boat
Access at 3657 NC-126 in Nebo; and

(15) within 50 yards of the peninsula at Old Wildlife
Club Subdivision at the end of Hunt Camp
Drive and Screech Owl Drive, from a point on
land at 35.75171 N, 81.92186 W, southeast to a
point on land at 35.74914 N, 81.91782 W.

(b) Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than
no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(¢) Restricted Swimming Areas. No person operating or
responsible for the operation of any vessel shall permit it to enter
any marked swimming area located on the waters of Lake James
in McDowell County.

(d) Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of
McDowell County is the designated agency for placement of the
markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the
United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of
Engineers.

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15;

Eff. August 23, 1981;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; December 1, 1993; March 1,
1992; April 1, 1991,

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998;

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 4, 2000; April 1, 1999;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2000;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2010; July 1, 2008; July 18, 2002;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; November 1, 2017.

15A NCAC 10F .0370  CITY OF ROCKY MOUNT -
ROCKY MOUNT MILLPOND DAM SAFETY ZONE
(a) Regulated Area. The waters of the Tar River shore to shore,
beginning west of the Falls Road bridge on N.C. Highway 48/43
Business at a point at 35.96016 N, 77.80447 W, extending
eastward and ending at the Rocky Mount Millpond Dam and
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associated abutments and structures, shall be a designated safety
zone. Access by swimming or entry of a person in or upon a vessel
or any floating object shall be prohibited within the safety zone.
(b) Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall not apply to persons who, with
consent of the City of Rocky Mount, require access for
maintaining or repairing facilities associated with the Rocky
Mount Millpond Dam, abutments and structures or the Rocky
Mount Mills.

(c) Placement of Markers. The City of Rocky Mount shall be the
designated entity for placement and maintenance of buoys and
other signs implementing this Rule.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 2004;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15;

15A NCAC 10H .1401 DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL
REQUIREMENTS FOR CAPTIVITY LICENSES

(@) The rules in this Section apply to all captivity licenses issued
by the Wildlife Resources Commission, including those
applicable to non-farmed cervids in accordance with G.S. 106-
549.97.

(b) The possession of any species of native wild animal or wild
bird and any member of the family Cervidae is unlawful, unless
the individual in possession obtains a captivity license from the
Commission as provided by this Rule. This Rule shall not apply
to any endangered, threatened, or special concern species as
defined by 15A NCAC 101 .0100 or farmed cervids as defined by
G.S. 106-549.97.

(c) Captivity licenses may be issued by the Commission to
qualified individuals meeting the requirements for rehabilitation
and captivity licenses detailed in this Section for holding of wild
animals or wild birds alive in captivity for scientific, educational,
exhibition, or other purposes, as specified in G.S. 113-272.5.

(d) The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this
Section:

(1) "Animal" means a wild animal and wild bird, as
defined in this Rule.
(2) "Category" means a designation on a captivity

license for rehabilitation that defines a species
or subset of species.

3 "Educational institution™ or "scientific research
institution" means any public or private school,
facility, organization, or institution of
vocational, professional, or higher education
that uses live animals as part of a course of
training, or for research, or other experiments,
and is at least 50 percent funded by grants,
awards, loans, or contracts from a department,
agency, or instrumentality of federal, State, or
local government. These terms do not include
elementary or secondary schools.

4) "Education” means providing instruction or
information to the public about wild animals or
wild birds.

(5) "Enclosure” means a structure housing captive

wild animals or wild birds that prevents escape,

(6)

Y]

®)
)

(10)

11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

(17

(18)

(19)

(20)

1)

(22)

protects the animal from injury, and is equipped
with structural barriers to prevent any physical
contact between the animal and the public.
"Exhibition" means any display of wild animals
or wild birds for the public, whether for-profit
or not-for-profit.

"Facility" means a designated location in North
Carolina where wild animals or wild birds are
held for rehabilitation or holding purposes. This
includes enclosures, rooms, and buildings.
"Farmed cervid" means the term as defined in
G.S. 106-549.97.

"Foster" or "surrogate" means a bird held under
a U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service federal
migratory bird rehabilitation permit used to rear
wild birds being held under a captivity license
for rehabilitation.

"Habituation" means causing a wild animal or
wild bird to temporarily lose fear of humans,
pets, or objects that impacts its ability to survive
in the wild unassisted.

"Imprinting” means causing a wild animal or
wild bird to permanently lose fear of humans,
pets, or objects that impacts its ability to survive
in the wild unassisted, and is a non-reversible
condition.

"Migratory birds" means the term as defined in
G.S. 113-129.

"Native" means a wild animal or wild bird that
occurs or historically occurred in the wild in
North Carolina.

"Nest box™ or "den™ means a structure that
provides a retreat area that is within, attached
to, or adjacent to an enclosure.

"Non-farmed cervid" means the term as defined
in G.S. 106-549.97.

"Non-native" means a wild animal or wild bird
that has not historically occurred in the wild in
North Carolina.

"Pet" means any animal kept or used for
amusement or companionship.

"Publicly operated zoo" means a park or facility
where living animals are kept and exhibited to
the public, and that is operated by a federal,
State, or local government agency.

"Rabies species” are raccoon, skunk, fox, bat,
bobcat, or coyote.

"Residence” means a private home, dwelling
unit in a multiple family structure, hotel, motel,
camp, manufactured home, or any other place
where people reside.

"Shelter" means a structure or feature that
protects captive wild animals or wild birds from
direct sunlight and precipitation.

"Scientific use" and "scientific purpose” means
the use of wild animals or wild birds for
application of the scientific method to
investigate any relationships amongst natural
phenomena or to solve a biological or medical
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problem. This definition applies only to
educational or scientific research institutions
unless otherwise approved by the Commission.

(23) "Unfit" means wild animals or wild birds that
are:
(A) incapacitated by injury or other means

to the extent that they cannot feed or
care for themselves without human
assistance;

(B) rendered imprinted by proximity to
humans, pets, or objects; or

© a non-native species.

(24) "Wild animal" means game animals, fur-
bearing animals, and all other wild mammals
except feral swine or marine mammals found in
coastal fishing waters.

(25) "Wild bird" means the term as defined in 15A
NCAC 10B .0121.

(e) Individuals interested in obtaining a captivity license for
rehabilitation or a captivity license for holding shall apply for the
license by completing and submitting the appropriate forms set
forth in Rule .1406 of this Section.

(f)  Applicants for either license shall meet the following
requirements:

@ Be 18 years of age or older at the time of
application;

(2) Have no criminal convictions under G.S. 14,
Article 47 of the North Carolina General
Statutes within 10 years of the date of
application; and

3) Have no criminal convictions under the federal
Animal Welfare Act within 10 years of the date
of application.

() No captivity license shall be transferable either by license
holder or by site of a holding facility.

(h) Captivity licenses are annual licenses and shall terminate no
later than December 31 of the year the license is issued.

(i) Except as otherwise provided in this Section, no transportation
permit shall be required to move wild animals or wild birds held
under a captivity license within the State. Any person transporting
an animal that is held under a captivity license shall have the
captivity license in his or her possession. An exportation or
importation permit as defined in G.S. 113-274(c)(3) is required to
transport wild animals or wild birds into or out of the State.

(i) Individuals holding a captivity license shall comply with North
Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
requirements for disclosing reportable diseases. A list of current
reportable diseases as determined by the North Carolina
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is available at
no cost at www.ncagr.gov, and is incorporated by reference,
including subsequent amendments and editions.

History Note:
272.5; 113-274;
Eff. January 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(b); 113-134; 113-

15A NCAC 10H .1402

REHABILITATION

(@) A captivity license for rehabilitation shall be required for

lawful possession of injured, crippled, or orphaned native wild

animals or wild birds for the purpose of providing short term care

and eventual release into the animal's natural habitat. A captivity
license for rehabilitation shall not be issued for:

1) Endangered, threatened, or special concern

species as defined by 15A NCAC 101 .0100.

Rehabilitation of these species requires an

CAPTIVITY LICENSE FOR

endangered  species permit from the
Commission;

2 Domestic animals;

?3) Feral swine;

(@) Nutria;

(5) Coyote;

(6) Adult black bear; or

@) Adult white-tailed deer or elk.

(b) A captivity license for rehabilitation shall not be issued for
the purpose of holding wild animals or wild birds:

(8] As pets;

2 For education, exhibition, or scientific
purposes, except as provided in Rule .1403 of
this Section;

©) For dog training;

4) For hunting; or

(5) Acquired unlawfully.

(¢) Individuals who do not possess a captivity license for
rehabilitation may take temporary possession of injured, crippled,
or orphaned wild animals or wild birds, provided they are
surrendered to a North Carolina licensed veterinarian or an
individual licensed under this Rule within 24 hours of taking
possession of such animals.

(d) North Carolina licensed veterinarians providing medical care
to sick, injured, or crippled wild animals or wild birds are not
required to have a license for rehabilitation from the Commission.
North Carolina licensed veterinarians without a captivity license
for rehabilitation may hold wild animals or wild birds until the
animal is medically stable. Once medically stable, the wild animal
or wild bird shall be transferred to an individual possessing a
captivity license for rehabilitation with the appropriate category
for the given species. Licensed veterinarians rehabilitating wild
animals or wild birds shall have a valid captivity license for
rehabilitation.

(e) Individuals applying for a captivity license for rehabilitation
that have never held this license in North Carolina or a similar
license in another state shall be designated as an apprentice. The
following requirements shall apply to an apprentice license:

(8] On the application, the apprentice shall
designate a mentor with a valid captivity license
for rehabilitation in NC, who has held that
license for two or more years;

2) An apprentice shall complete at least 12 months
of supervised rehabilitation activities under a
licensed rehabilitator; and

3 An apprentice license shall only authorize the
possession of squirrels, rabbits, and opossums.

(f) Individuals applying for a captivity license for rehabilitation
shall meet statutory and regulatory requirements, including those
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in G.S. 113-272.5 and all applicable rules of this Section.
Individuals seeking to rehabilitate migratory birds shall provide
proof of a valid and concurrent U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Federal Migratory Bird Rehabilitation permit for each category of
migratory birds to be rehabilitated. The Commission shall state on
the captivity license for rehabilitation the categories of wild
animals and wild birds that the individual is licensed to possess.
(9) Required facilities.

(1)

)

3)
(4)

()

Individuals holding a captivity license for
rehabilitation shall conduct their rehabilitation
activities at the facility designated on their
license that meets the minimum standards set
forth in the "Miller, E.A., edition. 2000.
Minimum Standards for Wildlife
Rehabilitation, 3rd edition. National Wildlife
Rehabilitators Association, St. Cloud, MN. 116
pages. ISBN 1-931439-00-1." This publication
is hereby incorporated by reference, excluding
subsequent amendments and editions, and is
available at no cost at
http://lwww.nwrawildlife.org/page/Minimum_
Standards.

All wild animals and wild birds undergoing
rehabilitation shall be separated from pets,
domestic animals, livestock, and non-native
animals.

All wild animals shall be kept in separate
enclosures by species.

Rehabilitation in a residence shall have
designated, separate rooms used only for
housing, treatment, and rehabilitation.
Handling of animals shall be for treatment only.

(h) Wild animals or wild birds showing symptoms of or believed
to be infected with a zoonotic disease shall be euthanized or
treated prior to release, based upon advice from a North Carolina
licensed veterinarian.

(i) Release of rehabilitated wild animals and wild birds.

(1)

)

3)

(4)

All rehabilitated wild animals and wild birds
shall be released as soon as the animal can be
expected to survive in the wild or has attained
full recovery from illness or injury, as
determined by the rehabilitator or a North
Carolina licensed veterinarian.

Wild animals and wild birds may remain in a
rehabilitation facility for no longer than 180
days. If a longer rehabilitation period is needed,
the license holder shall notify the Commission
in writing. The Commission shall consider
extended rehabilitation on a case-by-case basis
by evaluation, which may include the nature of
the animal's condition and recommended
treatment plan.

Wild animals and wild birds shall not be
released on property owned by another unless
the rehabilitator has written permission dated
within the last 12 months from the landowner.

Wild animals or wild birds that are unfit shall
be non-releasable and humanely euthanized.

However, the Commission shall consider
transfer of wild animals and wild birds on a
case-by-case basis when written authorization
is requested from the Commission. The wild
animal or wild bird shall only be transferred to
an individual or facility with a captivity license
for holding as set forth in Rule .1403 of this
Section when written authorization is obtained
from the Commission.

(i) Transfer of Animals.

M

@

@)

(4)

Wild animals originating outside the State shall
not be accepted for the purpose of rehabilitation
unless written authorization is obtained from
the Commission.

Wild animals received for rehabilitation may
not be exported outside the State for the purpose
of rehabilitation or release after rehabilitation
unless written authorization is obtained from
both the Commission and the state where the
wild animal will be exported to or released
from.

It shall be unlawful for a license holder to sell
any wild animal or wild bird being held under a
license for rehabilitation.

It shall be lawful for a license holder to transfer
a wild animal or wild bird to another individual
who possesses a valid captivity license for
rehabilitation with the appropriate category for
the given species or a wild bird to another
individual with a valid permit for the given
species.

(k) White-tailed Deer Fawn.

)

O]

®)

(4)

Only individuals holding a captivity license for
rehabilitation with the white-tailed deer fawn
category may possess, rehabilitate, and release
white-tailed deer fawns. To become licensed to
rehabilitate white-tailed deer fawns, an
individual shall meet all the requirements of the
captivity license for rehabilitation.

No white-tailed deer fawn shall be possessed
until the applicant has constructed or acquired
an enclosure for keeping fawn that complies
with the standards set forth in Paragraph (g) of
this Rule, and the facility has been verified by a
representative of the Commission.

Any white-tailed deer fawn held for more than
48 hours shall be permanently tagged using
only Commission-provided tags.

Orphaned white-tailed deer fawns shall be held
for no longer than 90 days. Injured white-tailed
deer fawns shall be held for no longer than 180
days or until December 31, whichever occurs
first. If a longer rehabilitation period is needed,
the license holder shall notify the Commission
in writing. The Commission shall consider
extended rehabilitation on a case-by-case basis.
A fawn shall be considered an adult on
December 31 of the birth year.
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() Elk Calves.

(5)

(6)

(1)

@)

®3)

(4)

Q)

(6)

Records of all white-tail deer fawn
rehabilitation shall be maintained on a form, as
set forth in Rule .1406 of this Section, and
submitted to the Commission within 15 days of
expiration of the license or prior to the request
for reissuance of the license.

Any individual or facility with the white-tailed
deer category may not rehabilitate white-tailed
fawn on properties licensed for farmed cervids.

Only individuals under a signed cooperative
agreement with the Commission to meet
conservation objectives shall be authorized to
rehabilitate elk calves.

Individuals in a cooperative agreement with the
Commission shall obtain a captivity license for
rehabilitation with the elk calf category. To
become licensed to rehabilitate elk calves, an
individual shall meet all the requirements of the
captivity license for rehabilitation.

Any elk calves held for more than 48 hours
shall be permanently tagged using only
Commission-provided tags.

Any individual or facility with the elk calf
category may not rehabilitate elk calves on
properties licensed for farmed cervids.

No elk calf shall be possessed until the
applicant has constructed or acquired an
enclosure for keeping elk calves that complies
with the standards set forth in Paragraph (g) of
this Rule, and the facility has been verified by a
representative of the Commission.

Records of all elk calf rehabilitation shall be
maintained on a form, as set forth in Rule .1406
of this Section, and submitted to the
Commission within 15 days of expiration of the
license or prior to the request for reissuance of
the license

(m) Black Bear Cubs.

(1)

)

)

Only individuals under a signed cooperative
agreement with the Commission to meet
conservation objectives shall be authorized to
rehabilitate black bear cubs.

Individuals in a cooperative agreement with the
Commission shall obtain a captivity license for
rehabilitation with the black bear category. To
become licensed to rehabilitate black bear cubs,
an individual shall meet all the requirements of
the captivity license for rehabilitation.

No black bear shall be possessed until the
applicant has constructed or acquired an
enclosure for keeping black bear that complies
with the standards set forth in Paragraph (g) of
this Rule, and the facility has been verified by a
representative of the Commission.

(n) Rabies Species.

(1)

Only individuals holding a captivity license for
rehabilitation with the rabies species category
may possess, rehabilitate, or release rabies

species. To become licensed to rehabilitate

rabies species, an individual shall meet all

requirements of the general captivity license for
rehabilitation and shall:

(A) have held an active rehabilitation
license within or outside of the State
for at least the previous three years and
have rehabilitated during that time;

(B) certify 12 hours of rabies or rabies
species-specific  training or a
combination thereof;

© certify up-to-date rabies immunization
in accordance with current Advisory
Committee on Immunization Practices
of the Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention at www.CDC.gov for any
rehabilitator, staff member or
volunteer, who may come in contact
with  rabies species. Proof of
immunization to demonstrate that the
vaccine was administered shall be
provided upon the request of the
Commission or authorized
representative and shall be kept at the
license holder's facility;

(D) provide the name and contact
information of a North Carolina
licensed veterinarian with whom the
rehabilitator has consulted and who
agrees to provide necessary medical
treatment to the rabies species.
Contact  information  for  the
veterinarian shall be posted at the
facility where the rabies species are
being rehabilitated,;

(B) certify notification to the appropriate
animal control authority and local
health department prior to making
application to the Commission, to
inform them of their anticipated
activities and location. Contact
information for these agencies shall be
posted at the facility where the rabies
species are being rehabilitated.

(3] have separate facilities from non-
rabies species adequate for the species
to be rehabilitated. Enclosures within
the facility shall prevent escape of the
animal and exposure to people, pets,
livestock, and other captive or free-
ranging wildlife. Exterior caging shall
be locked and surrounded by double
fencing or a solid wall barrier; and

(G) coordinate with appropriate local
health department regarding
euthanasia and testing of rabies
species. A written protocol for testing
shall be posted at the facility and made
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available for inspection
Commission upon request.

(2) Except for bats, rehabilitation and release of
rabies species is not authorized in counties
where the United States Department of
Agriculture-Animal  and  Plant  Health
Inspection Service Oral Rabies Vaccination
(ORV) program is conducted, as specified by
the United States Department of Agriculture-
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service at
www.aphis.usda.gov.

3) Except as otherwise specified in this Section,
rabies species shall not be removed from their
containment except for treatment, release,
maintenance of the enclosure, or euthanasia.

4) Rehabilitated rabies species must be released in
either the county where they were rehabilitated
or the county where they were found.

(5) All rabies species shall be considered
potentially infected with the rabies virus. If any
human or domestic animal has been scratched,
bitten, or exposed to saliva, the fluid that
surrounds the brain and spinal cord, or brain
and spinal cord material from any rabies
species, the license holder shall contact the
local Health Department immediately to report
the incident. The local Health Department may
require euthanasia of the animal and submission
of the brain for rabies testing. Rehabilitators
shall abide by all requests made by authorized
public health department personnel, animal
control, or Commission personnel regarding
disposition of the animal. No rabies species that
has scratched or bitten a human or domestic
animal or dies in captivity can be released or
disposed of until the local Health Department
investigates the situation to determine if testing
iS necessary.

(6) Records of all rabies species rehabilitation shall
be maintained on a form, as described in Rule
.1406 of this Section, and submitted to the
Commission within 15 days of expiration of the
license or prior to the request for reissuance of
the license.

by the

History Note:
272.5; 113-274;
Eff. January 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(b); 113-134; 113-

15A NCAC 10H .1403
HOLDING

(@) The purpose of a captivity license for holding is to authorize
the possession of lawfully taken or acquired native wild animals
or wild birds for education, exhibition, or scientific purposes. A
captivity license for holding shall not be issued for endangered,
threatened, or special concern species as defined in 15A NCAC
101 .0100. Possession of these species requires an endangered
species permit from the Commission.

CAPTIVITY LICENSE FOR

(b) A captivity license for holding shall not be issued for holding
wild animals or wild birds:

(D) As pets;
2 For breeding unless approved by the
Commission;

3) For dog training;

(@) For hunting; or

(5) Acquired unlawfully.

(c) Individuals seeking to obtain a captivity license for holding
migratory birds shall possess and provide proof of a valid,
concurrent, and applicable federal permit from U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service, if required.

(d) Individuals seeking to hold wild animals for education,
exhibition, or scientific purposes that require a license from the
U.S. Department of Agriculture shall obtain a captivity permit as
defined by G.S. 113-274 prior to obtaining the animal.

(e) No captivity license for holding shall be issued and no wild
animals or wild birds shall be possessed until the applicant has
constructed or acquired an enclosure for keeping a wild animal or
wild bird in captivity that complies with the standards set forth in
Rule .1404 of this Section, and the facility has been verified by a
representative of the Commission or the individual has shown
proof of a valid, concurrent, and applicable U.S. Department of
Agriculture license or exemption from USDA licensing
requirements. Any changes to an animal’s enclosure after
verification shall be reported to the Commission in writing within
10 business days.

(f) The following conditions shall apply to captivity licenses for
holding wild animals or wild birds:

1) Wild animals and wild birds shall not comingle
with pets, non-native animals, livestock, or wild
animals or wild birds held under a captivity
license for rehabilitation. This provision shall
not apply to surrogate animals or wild animals
or wild birds used to foster other wild animals
and wild birds;

2 Rabies species outside of their enclosure shall
be kept restrained at all times so that the license
holder or their designee is in control of the
animal and it does not have physical contact
with the public, domestic animals, non-native
animals, livestock, or other wild animals or
wild birds;

3) Wild animals outside their enclosure shall be
kept restrained at all times so that the license
holder or their designee is in control of the
animal and it presents no danger to the public;
and

4) Wild animals shall not roam free unrestrained
outside of an enclosure.

(9) License holders with wild animals or wild birds used for
education or exhibition outside of their facility, shall maintain
records of all education and exhibition activities on a form, as
described in Rule .1406 of this Section, and shall retain records
for a period of 12 months following expiration of the license.

(h) 1t is unlawful for a license holder to sell, transfer, or release
the wild animal or wild bird held under the license, except that
such wild animal or wild bird may be surrendered to an agent of
the Commission, or transferred to another individual who has

34:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

NOVEMBER 1, 2019




APPROVED RULES

obtained a license to hold the wild animal or wild bird in captivity.
Upon transfer, the transferor shall create a record for the wild
animal or wild bird showing the transferors name, address, tag
number if available, license number, date of transfer, and
transferor's signature, verifying that the information contained in
the record is true and correct. A copy of the record shall be
retained by the transferee for three years from the date of transfer.
(i) Non-releasable animals lawfully held under a captivity license
for rehabilitation pursuant to Rule .1402 of this Section, except
for white-tailed deer fawns and elk calves, may be transferred to
a captivity license for holding under the following conditions:

(1)

()

®3)

A North Carolina licensed veterinarian submits
a written recommendation stating the reason or
reasons why the wild animal or wild bird cannot
be released into the wild. The explanation shall
include a description of the incapacitation of the
animal and a detailed explanation of why the
animal will not experience chronic pain from its
condition or injuries;

The Commission authorizes the transfer and
continued possession of the wild animal or wild
bird; and

For imprinted animals, the individual with the
captivity license for holding shall not be the
same individual that rehabilitated that specific
animal.

(j) Rabies Species

(1)

License holders with rabies species shall:

(A) certify up-to-date rabies immunization
in accordance with current Advisory
Committee on Immunization Practices
of the Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention at www.CDC.gov for any
staff member or volunteer who may
come in contact with rabies species.
Proof of immunization to demonstrate
that the vaccine was administered
shall be provided upon request of the
Commission and shall be kept at the
license holder's facility;

provide the name and contact
information of a North Carolina
licensed veterinarian with whom the
license holder has consulted and who
agrees to provide necessary medical
treatment to the rabies species.
Contact  information  for  the
veterinarian shall be posted at the
facility where the rabies species are
being held;

certify notification to the appropriate
animal control authority and their
local health department prior to
making application to the
Commission, to inform them of their
anticipated activities and location.
Contact information for these agencies
shall be posted at the facility where the
rabies species are being held;

(B)

(©)

@

(k) Black Bear:

@)

)

() Cougar:
1)

(D) have separate enclosures from non-
rabies species. Enclosures shall
prevent escape of the animal and
exposure to people, pets, livestock and
other captive or free-ranging wildlife.
Enclosures shall be locked and
surrounded by a secondary barrier to
prevent unauthorized contact with the
public; and

coordinate with appropriate local
health department regarding
euthanasia and testing of rabies
species. Written protocols for testing
shall be posted at the facility and made
available for inspection by the
Commission upon request.

All rabies species shall be considered
potentially infected with the rabies virus. If any
human or domestic animal has been scratched,
bitten, or exposed to saliva, the fluid that
surrounds the brain and spinal cord, or brain
and spinal cord material from any rabies
species, he or she shall contact the local health
department immediately to report the incident.
The local health department may require
euthanasia of the animal and submission of the
brain for rabies testing. License holders shall
abide by all requests made by authorized public
health department personnel, animal control, or
Commission personnel regarding disposition of
the animal. No rabies species that has scratched
or bitten a human or domestic animal or dies in
captivity can be disposed of until the local
Health Department investigates the situation to
determine if testing is necessary.

B

In accordance with G.S. 19A-10 and G.S. 19A-
11, no captivity license may be issued for a
black bear, except to:

(A) a publicly operated zoo;
(B) an educational institution; or
© a facility holding a black bear under

conditions simulating natural habitat
pursuant to Rule .1404(e) of this
Section.
Except for emergency transport to a North
Carolina licensed veterinarian, no individual
shall transport black bear for any purpose
without first obtaining a transportation permit
from the Commission.

In accordance with G.S. 113-272.5, no captivity
license may be issued for a cougar, except to:

(A) a publicly operated zoo;

(B) an educational or scientific institution;
or

© a facility holding a cougar under

conditions simulating a natural habitat
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pursuant to Rule .1404(f) of this
Section.

(2) Except for emergency transport to a North
Carolina licensed veterinarian, no individual
shall transport cougar for any purpose without
first obtaining a transportation permit from the
Commission.

(m) Non-Farmed Cervids:

1) It is unlawful to hold any non-farmed cervids
under a captivity licenses for holding, except
for animals being held under a valid captive
cervid license issued prior to September 30,
2015 that are not farmed cervids, as specified
by G.S. 106-549.97.

(2) The following conditions shall apply to non-
farmed cervid licenses issued prior to
September 30, 2015:

(A)

(B)

(©)

(D)

(E)

no reproduction within the existing
herd,;

no new non-farmed cervids shall be
added to the existing herd from the
wild or from farmed cervids held
under the North Carolina Department
of Agriculture and Consumer Services
farmed cervid program;

the escape of any non-farmed cervid
from the facility shall be reported to
the Commission within one hour of
discovery. The license holder shall
request a permit to take the escaped
non-farmed cervid pursuant to the
terms of the permit. The dead cervid
shall be submitted by the license
holder to a North Carolina Department
of Agriculture (NCDA) approved
laboratory for Chronic Wasting
Disease (CWD) testing, unless the
Commission determines that the risk
of CWD transmission as a result of
this escape is negligible;

the Commission shall be notified
within 24 hours if any non-farmed
cervid within the facility exhibits
clinical symptoms of CWD, as
described on the CWD Alliance
website at www.cwd-info.org, or if a
quarantine is placed on the facility by
the State Veterinarian. All non-farmed
cervids that exhibit symptoms of
CWD shall be tested for CWD;

the carcass of any non-farmed cervid
that was six months or older at time of
death shall be submitted by the license
holder to a NCDA approved
laboratory and tested for CWD within
48 hours of knowledge of the cervid's
death, or by the end of the next
business day, whichever is later. The
Commission-issued ear tag shall not

(F)

(G)

(H)

be removed from the cervid's head
prior to submitting the head for CWD
testing;
the license holder shall make all
records pertaining to tags, licenses, or
permits issued by the Commission
available for inspection by the
Commission upon request, during the
facility's business hours, or at any time
an outbreak of CWD is suspected or
confirmed within five miles of the
facility or within the facility itself;
the license holder shall make all
licensed facilities, enclosures, and the
record-book(s) documenting required
monitoring of the outer fence of the
enclosure(s) at each licensed facility
available for inspection by the
Commission upon request, during the
facility's business hours, or at any time
an outbreak of CWD is suspected or
confirmed within five miles of the
facility or within the facility itself;
the fence surrounding the enclosure
shall be inspected by the license holder
once a week to verify its stability and
to detect the existence of any
conditions or activities that threaten its
stability. In the event of severe
weather or any other condition that
presents potential for damage to the
fence, inspection shall occur every
three hours until cessation of the
threatening condition, except that no
inspection  is  required  under
circumstances that threaten the safety
of the person conducting the
inspection and inspections shall
resume as soon as possible.

Q) a record-book shall be
maintained to record the time
and date of each inspection of
the fence, the name of the
person who performed the
inspection of the fence, and
the condition of the fence at
time of inspection. The
person who performs the
inspection shall enter the date
and time of detection and the
location of any damage
threatening the stability of
the fence. If the fence is
damaged, the license holder
shall record a description of
measures taken to prevent
ingress or egress by non-
farmed cervids. Each record-
book entry shall bear the
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)

()

signature or initials of the
license holder attesting to the
veracity of the entry. The
record-book shall be made
available for inspection by a
representative of the
Commission upon request, or
during the facility's business
hours; and

(i) any opening or passage
through the enclosure fence
shall, within one hour of
detection, be sealed or
otherwise secured to prevent
a non-farmed cervid from
entry or escape. Any damage
to the enclosure fence that
threatens its stability shall be
repaired within one week of
detection;

each non-farmed cervid held under

this license shall be tagged as follows:

0] a single button ear tag
provided by the Commission
shall be permanently affixed
by the license holder onto
either the right or left ear of
each non-farmed cervid,
provided that the ear chosen
to bear the button tag shall
not also bear a bangle tag, so
that each ear of the cervid
bears only one tag;

(i) a single bangle ear tag
provided by the Commission
shall be permanently affixed
by the license holder onto the
right or left ear of each non-
farmed cervid, provided that
the ear bearing the bangle tag
does not also bear the button
tag; and

(iii) once a tag is affixed in the
manner required by this Rule,
it shall not be removed,;

a permit to transport non-farmed

cervids may be issued by the

Commission to an applicant for the

purpose of transporting the animal(s)

for export out of State, to a

slaughterhouse for slaughter, between

non-farmed cervid facilities covered
by this Rule, or to a veterinary medical
facility for treatment provided that the
animal for which the permit is issued
does not exhibit clinical symptoms of

CWD. Application for a transportation

permit shall be made to the

Commission by completing and

History Note:
272.5; 113-274;

submitting the non-farmed cervid
transportation form detailed in Rule
.1406 of this Section. Any person
transporting a non-farmed cervid shall
present the transportation permit to
any law enforcement officer or
representative of the Commission
upon request, except that a person
transporting a non-farmed cervid by
verbal authorization for veterinary
treatment shall provide the name of the
person who issued the approval to any
law  enforcement  officer  or
representative of the Commission
upon request.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(b); 113-134; 113-

Eff. January 1, 2020.

15A NCAC 10H .1404

MINIMUM STANDARDS

CAPTIVITY LICENSE FOR HOLDING

(a) The following minimum standards shall apply to wild animals
and wild birds held under a captivity license for holding:

General Sanitation and Food Requirements.
Each license holder shall comply with the
following general requirements in addition to
any requirements specified by species:

)

@

(A)

(B)

©

(D)

water: clean drinking water shall be
provided. All pools, tanks, water
areas, and water containers provided
for swimming, wading, or drinking
shall be clean. Enclosures shall
provide drainage for surface water and
runoff;

sanitation: water disposal and waste
disposal shall be in accordance with all
applicable local, State, and federal
laws;

food: food shall be of a type and
quantity that is appropriate for the
particular species and shall be
provided in an unspoiled and
uncontaminated condition; and

waste: fecal and food waste shall be
removed from inside, under, and
around enclosures and disposed of in a
manner that prevents noxious odors or
pests.

General Enclosure Requirements. Each license
holder shall comply with the following general
requirements in addition to any requirements
specified by species:

(A)

(B)

all enclosures constructed of chain
link or other approved materials shall
be braced and securely anchored;
enclosures shall be ventilated;
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times the nose-rump length of the animal. No
cages shall be less than four feet by two feet by
two feet, or eight square feet.

The minimum square footage for multiple
animal enclosures shall be determined by
multiplying the required square footage for a
single animal enclosure by a factor of 1.5 for
one additional animal and that result by the
same factor, successively, for each additional
animal. Vertical dimensions may remain the
same as for single animal enclosures.

(b) Non-farmed Cervids.

© enclosures with a natural substrate
shall have a dig barrier that prevents
escape;
(D) the young of any animal may be kept 4
with the parent or foster animal of the
same species in a single-animal
enclosure until weaning. After
weaning, if the animals are kept
together, the requirements for
multiple-animal  enclosures  shall
apply;
(E) chains or tethers shall not be used as a
method of confinement for wild (D)
animals inside the enclosure;
(F) each enclosure shall be equipped with
at least one shelter, nest box, or den
large enough to accommodate all
animals in the enclosure at the same 2
time; and
(G) each enclosure shall have at least one
elevated area large enough to
accommodate all animals in the ©)
enclosure at the same time.
3 Single animal enclosures shall have the
following minimum dimensions and horizontal 4)
areas, or dimensional equivalents:
Animal Length | Width | Height | Total
(ft.) (ft.) (ft.) Square
Footage
(c) Alligators.
1)
Wild 6 4 8 24
Turkey
Coyote 8 8 6 64
Fox (Red 8 4 4 32
and Gray)
Raccoon 8 4 4 32 2
Bobcat 10 5 5 50
Otter 10 5 5 50
Squirrel 4 2 2 8
Groundhog 8 4 4 32 ®)
Rabbit 6 3 3 18
Opossum 6 3 3 18
Skunk 6 3 3 18
Armadillo 8 6 4 48 4)
. . N (®)
For animals not mentioned elsewhere in this
Rule, single animal enclosures shall be a cage
with one horizontal dimension being at least (6)

four times the nose-rump length of the animal
and the other horizontal dimension being at
least two times nose-rump length of the animal.
The vertical dimensions shall be at least two

the minimum size of the enclosure shall not be
less than one-half acre for the first three animals
and an additional one-fourth acre for each
additional animal. No more than 25 percent of
the enclosure shall be covered with water;

the enclosure shall be surrounded by a fence at
least eight feet high, of sufficient strength and
design to contain cervids and prevent contact
with wild cervids;

each enclosure shall be equipped with a shelter
or shelters large enough to accommodate all the
animals in the enclosure at the same time; and
cervids shall not be contained within or allowed
to enter a place of residence or any enclosure
that has not been approved to hold cervids by
the Commission, except as specifically
authorized by law or rule of the Wildlife
Resources Commission.

the minimum size of the enclosure shall be
based upon the length of the longest animal.
Land area with both horizontal dimensions at
least as long as the longest animal shall be
provided. In case of more than one animal, the
combined area covered by all their bodies while
aligned parallel without overlap shall not
exceed 50 percent of the land area;

the enclosure shall have a structural barrier of
sufficient strength to contain the animals, and
shall prevent contact between the observer and
alligator(s);

in addition to the land area, the enclosure shall
contain a pool of water large enough for all the
animals in the enclosure to completely
submerge themselves at the same time. Steps
shall be taken to prevent the surface of the water
from freezing solid;

steps shall be taken to provide opportunities for
the alligator to regulate its body temperature;
each enclosure shall be equipped with a shelter
or shelters large enough to accommodate all
animals in the enclosure at the same time; and
the facility shall have a perimeter boundary to
prevent unauthorized entry and confine the
animals. This boundary should be located at
least 3 feet from the primary enclosure, be no
less than 8 feet in height, and be constructed of
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not less than 11.5 gauge chain link or
equivalent.
(d) Wild Birds. Enclosures for wild birds may house more than
one animal, provided that the enclosure is built to the standards
specified below and permitted by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service.
(1) enclosures for raptors shall be built to standards
detailed in the University of Minnesota's
"Raptors in Captivity: Guidelines for Care and
Management,” which is hereby incorporated by
reference, excluding subsequent amendments
and editions, and is available for order at
https://bookstores.umn.edu/product/gift/raptors
-captivity-0.
(2) enclosure for all other wild birds shall be
designed using the standards established by the
National Wildlife Rehabilitators Association's
"Wildlife in Education: A Guide for the Care
and Use of Program Animals," which is hereby
incorporated by  reference, excluding
subsequent amendments and editions, and is
available for order at
https://www.nwrawildlife.org/store/default.asp
X.
(e) Black Bear. Black bears held in captivity at facilities other
than publicly operated zoos or educational institutions shall be
held in enclosures simulating a natural habitat, developed in
accordance with the requirements of G.S. 19A-11.
(f) Cougar. Cougars held in captivity by facilities other than
publicly operated zoos, educational, or scientific research
institutions shall be held in enclosures simulating a natural habitat,
developed in accordance with the requirements of G.S. 113-
272.5(e)(4).

History Note:
272.5; 113-274;
Eff. January 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(b); 113-134; 113-

15A NCAC 10H .1405 CAPTIVITY LICENSE
REVOCATION AND ENFORCEMENT

(a) Representatives of the Commission shall be permitted to enter
the premises of any license holder's facility upon request or during
the facility's business hours for inspection or scientific purposes.
(b) The Executive Director of the Commission or his or her
designee may warn, cite, or revoke a license holder's captivity
license, if the license holder violates any provision of G.S. 14,
Avrticle 47, or G.S. 113, Subchapter 1V, or any rules promulgated
by the Commission in this Chapter or any conditions of the
license. The determination whether to warn, cite, or revoke a
captivity license for rehabilitation or holding shall be based upon
the seriousness of the violation, and may include:

1) Failing to provide required facilities for the
housing of wild animals and wild birds as
specified in Rule .1402(g) and Rule .1404 of
this Section;

2 Providing false or inaccurate information on
license applications or reports submitted to the
Commission;

?3) Possessing wild animals or wild birds not
permitted by the captivity license for
rehabilitation, or the captivity license for
holding;

(@) Using animals undergoing rehabilitation for
education, exhibition, profit, or science
involving contact with or proximity to the
public;

(5) Failing to comply with monitoring or record-
keeping requirements as provided by the rules
of this Section;

(6) Taming, imprinting, or otherwise improperly
handling animals held for rehabilitation;

@) Failing to treat conditions that warrant medical
attention;

(8) Failing to notify the appropriate agencies after
a rabies exposure as described in this Section;
©)] Allowing a wild animal held under a captivity
license for holding to roam free unrestrained
outside of its enclosure; or
(10) The license holder of a facility holding captive
cervid(s) failing to:
(A) comply with tagging requirements as
provided by rules of this Section; or
(B) comply  with  requirements  for
maintaining the enclosure fence as
provided by rules of this Section.
(¢) An individual holding a captivity license for rehabilitation
with the apprentice designation shall notify the Commission
within 10 business days if he or she no longer has a mentor. The
apprentice shall obtain another mentor within 30 days and notify
the Commission with that individual's information. If the
apprentice fails to obtain another mentor within 60 days, the
Commission shall revoke his or her license and he or she shall be
required to reapply for an apprentice license.
(d) If a wild animal or wild bird is unlawfully possessed or the
Commission revokes a captivity license for rehabilitation or
holding, then the Commission may seize and determine future
treatment of the wild animal or wild bird, to include release,
relocation, or euthanasia.
(e) The Commission shall revoke a non-farmed cervid license,
and the holder of that license shall forfeit the right to keep non-
farmed cervids and be required to turn the animals over to a
representative of the Commission upon request of the
Commission, under any of the following circumstances or
conditions:
(8] The license holder fails to submit a cervid
carcass to a NCDA approved laboratory for
testing for Chronic Wasting Disease within 48
hours of knowledge of that cervid's death or
close of the next business day, whichever is
later, as provided by Rule .1403(m) in this

Section;

2) A cervid has been transported without a permit;
or

3 Chronic Wasting Disease has been confirmed in

a cervid at that facility.
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History Note:
272.5; 113-274;
Eff. January 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(b); 113-134; 113-

15A NCAC 10H .1406
LICENSES

(@) Individuals interested in obtaining a captivity license for
rehabilitation shall apply to the Commission using the Captivity
License for Rehabilitation Form available at www.ncwildlife.org.
Information required by the applicant shall include:

FORMS FOR CAPTIVITY

1) The applicant's name, mailing address,
residence address, telephone number, and date
of birth;

2 The facility site address;
(3) Any organizational affiliation, if applicable;
4) The categories of wild animals and wild birds
to be rehabilitated;
(5) A copy of a valid Federal Migratory Bird
Permit, if applicable;
(6) The name and signature of mentor, if
applicable; and
@) Certification of at least 12 hours of
rehabilitation related training, if applicable.
(b) Individuals interested in obtaining a captivity license for
holding shall apply to the Commission using the Captivity
License for Holding Form available at www.ncwildlife.org.
Information supplied by the applicant shall include:
(1) The Applicant's name, mailing address,
residence address, telephone number, and date

of birth;
(2) The facility site address;
3 Any organizational affiliation, if applicable;
(@) The species information including quantity and
source for all animals to be held; and
(5) The purpose for holding animals in captivity.

(c) Individuals requesting a transportation permit for non-farmed
cervids shall apply to the Commission using the Non-farmed
Cervid Transportation Form available at www.ncwildlife.org.
Information supplied by the applicant shall include:
(1) The applicant's name, mailing address,
residence address, and telephone number;
(2) The facility site address;

3) The captivity license number;

(@) The species and sex of each non-farmed cervid
transported;

(5) The tag number(s) for each non-farmed cervid
transported;

(6) The date of transportation;

@) The vehicle or trailer license plate number and

state of issuance of the vehicle or trailer used to
transport the non-farmed cervid;

(8) The name, address, county and phone number
of the destination facility to which the non-
farmed cervid will be transported,;

9) The symptoms for which the non-farmed cervid
requires veterinary treatment, if applicable;

(10) The date of slaughter, if applicable;

(11) The name and location of the North Carolina
Department of Agriculture Diagnostic lab

where the head of the non-farmed cervid is to

be submitted for CWD testing, if applicable.
(d) Individuals rehabilitating white-tailed deer fawns or elk
calves shall record the following information on the White-tailed
Deer Fawn / Elk Calf Rehabilitation Activity Form available at
www.ncwildlife.org:

1) The captivity license number;
2 The date of acceptance;
?3) The species and sex;

4 The tag number;

(5) The disposition; and

(6) The date and location of release, if applicable.
(e) Individuals rehabilitating rabies species shall record the
following information on the Rabies Species Rehabilitation
Activity Form available at www.ncwildlife.org:

1) The captivity license number;
2 The date of acceptance;

3) The species and sex;

(4) The location of origin, if known;

(5) The disposition; and
(6) The date of transfer to other appropriately
licensed captivity license holder, if applicable;
or
) The date and location of release, if applicable.
(f) Individuals holding species under a Captivity License for
Holding, for educational and exhibition purposes shall record the
following information on the Captivity License for Holding
Education and Exhibition Form available at www.ncwildlife.org:

1) The captivity license number;

2 The date of educational or exhibition activity;

3 The species and numbers of wild animals or
wild birds used in the educational or exhibition
activity;

4) The organization or group involved in the
educational or exhibition activity; and

5) The description of educational or exhibition

activity, if applicable;
(9) All forms shall be signed, dated, and submitted to the Wildlife
Resources Commission with applicable fees mandated by G.S.
113-272.5and G.S. 113-270.1B.

History Note:
272.5; 113-274;
Eff. January 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(b); 113-134; 113-

BRI Gk

15A NCAC 18A .2816 LEAD POISONING HAZARDS IN
CHILD CARE CENTERS
() In child care centers, areas accessible to children shall be free
of identified lead poisoning hazards as defined under G.S. 130A-
131.7(7).
(b) The following actions shall be taken to ensure that drinking
water in child care centers is free of identified lead poisoning
hazards as defined under G.S. 130A-131.7(7)(g).
@ Child care operators, as defined under G.S. 110-
86(7), shall test, once every three years, all
water outlets used for drinking or food
preparation. Samples shall also be collected and
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)

®3)

(4)

()

(6)

tested within 30 calendar days of completion of
any renovations or repairs that may impact the
facility's drinking water infrastructure, such as
repair or replacement of all or part of drinking
water service lines or faucets. The operator
shall provide documentation of testing results
for review by the Department during each
unannounced routine sanitation inspection
under Rule .2834(b) of this Section.

Notwithstanding Rule .2801(5) of this Section,

"Department”  means  North  Carolina

Department of Health and Human Services for

purposes of this Rule.

For centers that submit an application for

licensure in accordance with 10A NCAC 09

.0302 after the effective date of this Rule, initial

samples shall be collected by the child care

operator and tested in accordance with

Subparagraph (b)(4) of this Rule during the

license application process.

For all other centers, initial samples shall be

collected by the child care operator and tested

in accordance with Subparagraph (b)(4) of this

Rule within one year of the effective date of this

Rule.

The child care operator shall collect samples

and submit them for testing in accordance with

guidance specified by the United States

Environmental Protection Agency in its

publication, 3Ts for Reducing Lead in Drinking

Water in Schools and Child Care Facilities,

which is incorporated by reference with

subsequent changes or amendments and
available free of charge at
https://www.epa.gov/dwreginfo/3ts-reducing-
lead-drinking-water-schools-and-child-care-
facilities. Notwithstanding the guidance,
samples may be collected with a stagnation
period of up to 72 hours. Samples shall be
analyzed by a laboratory certified by the North

Carolina State Laboratory of Public Health to

analyze for lead in drinking water.

When a water sample is analyzed for lead

content by a laboratory under this Rule, the

laboratory shall notify the Department of the
test results by electronic submission in
accordance with G.S. 130A-131.8.

When a child care center receives test results

from a laboratory indicating that a water sample

collected by the child care operator contains a

lead concentration at or above the lead

poisoning hazard level defined in G.S. 130A-
131.7(7)(g), the child care operator shall:

(A) restrict access to any water outlet(s)
used for drinking or food preparation
that have lead concentrations at or
above the lead poisoning hazard level;
and

(B) ensure that all children and staff have
access to water free of cost that does
not contain lead concentrations at or
above the lead poisoning hazard level
for drinking and food preparation.

@) When notified of a water lead level at or above
the lead poisoning hazard level, the Department
shall conduct sampling at the water outlet
identified to have a water lead level at or above
the lead poisoning hazard level within 10
business days of notification.

(8) If a water sample collected by the Department
reveals a water lead level at or above the lead
poisoning hazard level, the child care operator
shall continue to follow Subparagraph (b)(6) of
this Rule until the Department determines the
water outlet(s) are not producing water lead
levels at or above the lead poisoning hazard
level and notifies the child care operator and the
Division of Child Development and Early
Education in writing of this determination.

9 Failure to comply with Paragraph (a) of this
Rule or any Subparagraph of this Paragraph,
shall be deemed a violation of this Rule subject
to demerits under Rule .2834(c)(20) of this
Section.

(10) Within five business days of receiving the test
results of the Department's water analysis that
shows a water lead level at or above the lead
poisoning hazard level, the child care operator
shall provide written notification of the test
results to the parents or legal guardians of the
children attending the child care center and the
staff of the child care center, in accordance with
the United States Environmental Protection
Agency guidance specified in Subparagraph
(b)(4) of this Rule.

(11) Within five business days of receiving the test
results of the Department's water analysis that
shows a water lead level at or above the lead
poisoning hazard level, the child care operator
shall make the test results available to the
public, free of charge. The child care operator
may post test results to the child care center's
website to satisfy the requirement to make the
test results available to the public.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 110-91; 130A-131.5; 130A-
131.7(7); 130A-131.8;

Eff. July 1, 1991;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; January 1, 2006; February 1,
1995.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 08 - BOARD OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC
ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS
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21 NCAC 08F .0105
REQUIREMENTS
(@) Passing Grades. A candidate shall pass all sections of the
examination with a grade of 75 or higher on each section.

(b) Military Service. A candidate who is on active military service
shall not have the time on active military service counted against
Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule unless the candidate applies to
take the examination during the active military service, in which
case each month a candidate sits shall be counted toward
Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule.

() A candidate is subject to the following conditioning
requirements:

CONDITIONING

1) a candidate shall obtain a passing grade on all
sections of the examination within an 18-month
period,;

(2) a candidate may sit for any section of the
examination individually;

3) a candidate may retake the same section of the

examination as many times during a one-year
period as determined by the examination
vendor(s); and

(@) credit awarded by the Board for passage of a
section of the examination is valid for an 18-
month period beginning on the date the section
is taken.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(5);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2011; January 1, 2006; January 1,
2004; August 1, 1998; April 1, 1994; April 1, 1991; March 1,
1990;

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020.

R I I i S S e S G I i S S S

CHAPTER 14 - BOARD OF COSMETIC ART
EXAMINERS

21 NCAC 14H .0302 VENTILATION AND LIGHT

(@) Ventilation shall be provided at all times in the clinic areas
when patrons are serviced in all cosmetic art shops and there must
be a continuous exchange of air.

(b) Light shall be provided in the service area of a cosmetic art
shop.

(c) All cosmetic art shops must adhere to any federal, State and
local government regulation or ordinance regarding fire safety
codes, plumbing and electrical work.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14;

Eff. April 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; March 1, 2018.

21 NCAC 14H .0401 LICENSEES AND STUDENTS
(a) For purposes of this Section, sanitation, as described in G.S.
88B, is defined as "infection control.”

(b) Notwithstanding Rule .0201 in this Subchapter, this Rule
applies to licensees and students in practice in cosmetic art
schools and shops. Each licensee and student shall wash his or her
hands with soap and water or use of a 70 percent or greater
alcohol-based hand sanitizer immediately before and after serving
each client.

(c) Each licensee and student shall wear clean garments and shoes
while serving patrons.

(d) Licensees or students shall not use or possess in a cosmetic
art school or shop any of the following:

(D) Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomer, a.k.a.
MMA;

2 razor-type callus shavers designed and intended
to cut growths of skin including skin tags,
corns, and calluses;

3) FDA rated Class 111 devices;

(@) carbolic acid (phenol) over two percent
strength;
(5) animals including insects, fish, amphibians,

reptiles, birds, or non-human mammals to

perform any service; or

(6) a variable speed electrical nail file unless it has
been designed for use on a natural nail.

(e) A licensee or student shall not:

(8] use any product, implement, or piece of
equipment in any manner other than the
product's, implement's, or equipment's intended
use as described or detailed by the
manufacturer;

2) treat any medical condition unless referred by a
physician;

©) provide any service unless trained prior to
performing the service;

4) perform services on a client if the licensee has
reason to believe the client has any of the
following:

(A) fungus, lice, or nits;

(B) an inflamed, infected, broken, raised,
or swollen skin or nail tissue in the
area to be worked on; or

© an open wound or sore in the area to
be worked on;

5) alter or duplicate a license issued by the Board;

(6) advertise or solicit clients in any form of
communication in a manner that is false or
misleading;

@) use any FDA rated Class Il device without the

documented supervision of a licensed
physician;
8) use any product that will penetrate the dermis;
9 make any statement to a member of the public,

either verbally or in writing, stating or implying
any action is required or forbidden by Board
rules when such action is not required or
forbidden by Board rules. A violation of this
prohibition is considered practicing or
attempting to practice by fraudulent
misrepresentation is set forth in 21 NCAC 14P
.0108;
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(10) use or possess any product banned by the FDA.
A list of banned products is available at
www.fda.gov; or

(112) use or possess any machine for a cosmetic art

service that is not classified by the FDA.
(f) In using a disinfectant, the user shall wear any personal
protective equipment, such as gloves, recommended by the
manufacturer in the Safety Data Sheet.
(9) Licensees may only perform services specifically designated
within their licensure field as defined by G.S. 88B-2.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-24;
Eff. April 1, 2012;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; March 1, 2013;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; March 1, 2019; March 1, 2018.

21 NCAC 14H .0403 DISINFECTION PROCEDURES
(@) Infection Control rules that apply to towels and cloths are as
follows:

1)
)

Clean protective capes, drapes, linens, and
towels shall be used for each patron;

After a protective cape has been in contact with
a patron's neck it shall be placed in a clean,
closed container until laundered with soap and
hot water and dried in a heated dryer. Capes that
cannot be laundered and dried in a heater dryer
may be disinfected with a disinfectant that is
bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal and
approved by the EPA for use in beauty salons,
or salon wused in accordance with the
manufacturer directions; and

After a drape, linen, or towel has been in
contact with a patron's skin it shall be placed in
a clean, covered container until laundered with
soap and hot water and dried in a heated dryer.
A covered container may have an opening so
soiled items may be dropped into the container.
(b) Any paper or nonwoven protective drape or covering shall be
discarded after one use.

(c) There shall be a supply of clean protective drapes, linens and
towels at all times. Wet towels used in services must be prepared
fresh each day. Unused, prepared wet towels must be laundered
daily.

(d) Clean drapes, capes, linens, towels and all other supplies shall
be stored in a clean area.

(e) Bathroom facilities must be kept clean.

(f) All implements shall be cleaned and disinfected after each use
in the following manner:

©)

1) They shall be washed with warm water and a
cleaning solution and scrubbed to remove
debris and dried.

(2) They shall be disinfected with either:

disinfectant that is bactericidal,
virucidal and fungicidal and approved
by the EPA for use in beauty salons, or
salon settings that is mixed and used
according to the manufacturer's

(A)

directions. They shall be rinsed with
hot tap water and dried with a clean
towel before their next use. They shall
be stored in a clean, closed cabinet or
container until they are needed; or

by UV-C, ultraviolet germicidal
irradiation used in accordance with the
manufacturer's directions.

If the implement is not immersible or is not
disinfected by UV-C irradiation, it shall be
cleaned by wiping it with a clean cloth
moistened or sprayed with a disinfectant that is
bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal and
approved by the EPA for use in beauty salons,
or salon settings used in accordance with the
manufacturer's directions.

(9) All disinfected non-electrical implements shall be stored in a
clean, closed cabinet or clean, closed container.

(h) All disinfected electrical implements shall be stored in a clean
area separate from other clean implements.

(i) Disposable and porous implements and supplies must be
discarded after use or upon completion of the service.

(J) Product that comes into contact with the patron must be
discarded upon completion of the service.

(k) Containers with open faces may be covered or closed with
plastic wrapping. Disinfected implements must not be stored with
any implement or item that has not been disinfected.

(I) Lancets, disposable razors, and other sharp objects shall be
disposed in puncture-resistant containers.

(m) All creams, lotions, wax, cosmetics, and other products
dispensed to come in contact with patron's skin must be kept in
clean, closed containers, and must conform in all respects to the
requirements of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act as set
forth in PL 75-717.52 accessible at www.fda.gov. Any product
apportioned for use and removed from original containers must be
distributed in a sanitary manner that prevents contamination of
product or container. Any product dispensed in portions into
another container must be dispensed into a clean container and
applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or disposable
implement or other clean methods. Any product dispensed in
portions not dispensed into another container must be used
immediately and applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or
disposable implement or other clean methods. No product
dispensed in portions may be returned to the original container.
(n) As used in this Rule whirlpool or footspa means any basin
using circulating water.

(o) After use by each patron each whirlpool or footspa must be
cleaned and disinfected as follows:

(B)

@)

(8] All water must be drained and all debris
removed from the basin;
2) The basin must be disinfected by filling the

basin with water and circulating:

(A) Two tablespoons of automatic
dishwashing powder and 1/4 cup of
5.25 percent household bleach to one
gallon of water through the unit for 10
minutes; or

Surfactant or enzymatic soap with an
EPA registered disinfectant with

(B)
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bactericidal, fungicidal and virucidal
activity used according to
manufacturer's instructions through
the unit for 10 minutes;

3) The basin must be drained and rinsed with clean
water; and
4) The basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel.

(p) At the end of the day each whirlpool or footspa must be
cleaned and disinfected as follows:

1) The screen must be removed and all debris
trapped behind the screen removed,;
2 The screen and the inlet must be washed with

surfactant or enzymatic soap or detergent and
rinsed with clean water;

3) Before replacing the screen one of the
following procedures must be performed:

(A) The screen must be totally immersed
in a household bleach solution of 1/4
cup of 5.25 percent household bleach
to one gallon of water for 10 minutes;
or

(B) The screen must be totally immersed
in an EPA registered disinfectant with
bactericidal, fungicidal and virucidal
activity in accordance to the
manufacturer's instructions for 10
minutes;

4) The inlet and area behind the screen must be
cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap and
water to remove all visible debris and residue;
and

(5) The spa system must be flushed with low
sudsing surfactant or enzymatic soap and warm
water for at least 10 minutes and then rinsed and
drained.

(a) A record must be made of the date and time of each cleaning
and disinfecting as required by this Rule including the date, time,
reason, and name of the staff member who performed the
cleaning. This record must be made for each whirlpool or footspa
and must be kept and made available for at least 90 days upon
request by either a patron or inspector.

(r) The water in a vaporizer machine must be emptied daily and
the unit disinfected daily after emptying.

(s) The area where services are performed that come in contact
with the patron’s skin including treatment chairs, treatment tables,
and beds shall be disinfected between patrons.

(t) A manufacturers label for all disinfectant concentrate must be
available at all times. If a concentrate bottle is emptied, it must
remain available until a new bottle is available.

(u) When mixed disinfectant concentrate is placed in a secondary
container such as a spray bottle, tub or jar, that container must be
labeled to indicate what chemical is in the container. SDS sheets
must be available for all disinfectants in use at all times.

(v) Disinfectants must be stored and disposed of in accordance
with all local, State and federal requirements.

(w) The cabinet and supplies of a towel warmer machine must be
emptied daily and the unit dried daily after emptying.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14;

Eff. April 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; March 1, 2018.

21 NCAC 14P .0113
COSMETIC ART
(&) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to record student's
hours of daily attendance per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is:
1) 1%t offense warning ($100.00)
) 2" offense $200.00
3) 31 offense $300.00
(b) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to report withdrawal
or graduation of a student per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is:
1) 1st offense warning ($50.00)
(2) 2nd offense $100.00
3) 3rd offense $200.00
(c) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to submit student
enrollments per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is:
1) 1st offense
(2) 2nd offense $100.00
(3) 3rd offense $200.00
(d) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to display a copy of
the Infection Control rules is:
) 1%t offense
) 2" offense $100.00
3) 31 offense $200.00
(e) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to post consumer
sign "Cosmetic Art School - Work Done Exclusively by Students"
per 21 NCAC 14T .0201 is:
1) 1% offense
) 2" offense $100.00
3) 3" offense $200.00
(f) The presumptive civil penalty for allowing a cosmetic art shop
to operate within a cosmetic art school per 21 NCAC 14T .0201
is:

OPERATIONS OF SCHOOLS OF

warning ($50.00)

warning ($50.00)

warning ($50.00)

(1) 1%t offense $200.00
) 2" offense $400.00
3) 31 offense $600.00

(9) The presumptive civil penalty for a cosmetic art school that is
not separated from a cosmetic art shop or other business by a solid
wall, floor to ceiling, with a separate entrance and a door that stays
closed at all times per 21 NCAC 14T .0201 is:

(1) 1%t offense $200.00
) 2" offense $400.00
3 3" offense $600.00

(h) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to have any student
wear the required school uniform or identification per 21 NCAC
14T .0613 is:
1) 1st offense
2 2nd offense $100.00
?3) 3rd offense $200.00
(i) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to renew or file
school bond or bond alternative per G.S. 88B-17 is:

warning ($50.00)

@ 1% offense $200.00
) 2" offense $400.00
3) 31 offense $600.00
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(i) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to maintain the
student permanent file with required documents per 21 NCAC
14T .0502 is:

Q) 1st offense

2 2nd offense $100.00

(3) 3rd offense $200.00
(k) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to maintain records
of daily hours of attendance documents per 21 NCAC 14T .0502
is:

warning ($50.00)

1) 1st offense
2 2nd offense $100.00
(3) 3rd offense $200.00
() The presumptive civil penalty for failure to maintain records
of performances documents per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is:
Q) 1st offense warning ($50.00)
(2) 2nd offense $100.00
(3) 3rd offense $200.00
(m) The presumptive civil penalty for allowing an unlicensed
individual to instruct cosmetic art per 21 NCAC 14T .0701 is:

warning ($50.00)

D) 1% offense $500.00
2) 2" offense $750.00
(3) 31 offense $1000.00

(n) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to track and record
the student progression in an online education course per 21
NCAC 14T .0502 is:
@ 1st offense
2 2nd offense $100.00
(3) 3rd offense $200.00
(0) The presumptive civil penalty for allowing more than 50
percent for teachers and 30 percent of all other courses to be done
through online education per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is:
(1) 1st offense warning ($50.00)
) 2nd offense $100.00
(3) 3rd offense $200.00
(p) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to administer a test
at the end of each online education course in person at the school
per 21 NCAC 14T .0611 is:
(1) 1st offense
(2) 2nd offense $100.00
3) 3rd offense $200.00
() The presumptive civil penalty altering the format, school
name or school code on a Board form per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is:
1) 1st offense warning ($50.00)
2) 2nd offense $100.00
(3) 3rd offense $200.00

warning ($50.00)

warning ($50.00)

History Note:
29;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999;

Eff. August 1, 2000;

Amended Eff August 1, 2014; September 1, 2012; July 1, 2010;
December 1, 2008; April 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; December 1, 2016.

Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 88B-

21 NCAC 14R .0105 CONTINUING EDUCATION
(8) This Rule pertains to all cosmetic art licensees. Each licensee
wishing to maintain his or her license shall obtain continuing

education during each licensing period. The licensee shall
maintain records of attendance at a continuing education course
including the following information:

@ course title and description;

2 date conducted;

3 address of location where the course was
conducted; and

(@) continuing education hours earned.

(b) At least one-half of the required continuing education hours
for each licensee shall be in the cosmetic arts profession in which
he or she is licensed.
(c) Each cosmetic art teacher must ensure at least 50 percent of
the subject matter in a course taken for the purpose of license
renewal relates to teacher training techniques such as the the
ability to communicate.
(d) Continuing education courses shall be approved by the Board
providing the courses meet the requirements in Paragraphs (b) and
(c) of this Rule.
(e) The Board or an agent of the Board may conduct audits of the
licensee's continuing education at any time. Upon the Board's
request, each licensee shall provide records to the Board to
support the last affirmation of records of attendance at a
continuing education course given pursuant to Paragraph (a) of
this Rule. Records must be maintained until the end of the next
renewal cycle after the affirmation for audit purposes.
(f)  Continuing education courses completed prior to an
individual's being licensed by the Board shall not qualify for
continuing education credit.
(9) Apprentices do not need to earn continuing education for
license renewal.
(h) Licensees are exempt from the eight hours of continuing
education requirement until the licensing period commencing
after their initial licensure.
(i) After completion of the continuing education requirements for
any licensing cycle, the licensee shall forward to the Board the
following:
D the license renewal application including name,
address, and license number;
2) the license renewal fees per G.S. 88B-20 and 21
NCAC 14B .0603; and
3) affirmation of the following pledge: "I hereby
certify that | have obtained all continuing
education hours required in accordance with the
G.S. 88B-21 and Board rules. | am aware that
1) false or dishonest misleading information
may be grounds for disciplinary action against
my license; and further that 2) false statements
are punishable by law."
(j) Failure to produce documents or file a response to a request
for audit from the Board within 30 days of the request shall result
in a civil penalty to the licensee in the amount of one hundred
dollars ($100.00).
(k)  The presentation of fraudulent continuing education
documentation to the Board by a licensee shall result in a civil
penalty of five hundred dollars ($500.00).
(I) Licensees in inactive status may reactivate licensure by taking
no fewer than eight hours of continuing education per year of
inactivity up to 24 total hours.
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History Note:
88B-29;

Eff. April 1, 2012;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; March 1, 2013;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-21; 88B-24;

21 NCAC 14T .0102 NEW SCHOOL APPLICATIONS
(@) Persons desiring to operate a cosmetic art school in the state
of North Carolina shall make application for licensure by
submitting to the Board the Board's School Application. The
Board's School Application shall include:

1) School name;

(2) Cosmetic Art discipline(s) to be taught;
3) Physical address and mailing address;
4) Phone number;

(5) Email address;
(6) Ownership type;

(7 Reason for application;
(8) Owner name;
9 School contact person with phone number and

email address; and
(10) List of teachers with cosmetic art license
number.
(b) School application forms must be submitted along with
supporting documents as follows:
1) Proof of bond as required by G.S. 88B-17;

(2) Diagram with location of equipment placement
and marking square footage of all areas
including classrooms, dispensary, water

supplies, stations, locker room/dressing room,
office areas, reception areas and restroom
facilities;

3 Course curriculum for each cosmetic art
discipline and teacher trainee program to be
taught in the school;

4) Plans for record keeping of student hours,
minimum course requirement qualifications,
and student performances;

(5) The qualifications for passing a performance
requirement and techniques for grading of
performances;

(6) Handbook for students containing student

policies on attendance, leave of absence policy,
performance assignment, and a plan to assist
students to achieve the required minimum hours
and performances per 21 NCAC 14T .0602-
.0610;

(7 A raised seal identifying the school name and
physical location to be used on all Board forms,
reports, and other official papers;

(8) Documentation of local municipality fire,
occupancy, electrical and plumbing approval;
9) School operation schedule including days,

hours and observed holidays; and

(10) Signed and notarized statement that the school
owner has read and understands the Board's
rules in this Subchapter.

(c) The Board shall not approve an application for a license until
all plans, furniture, supplies and equipment as prescribed by the
rules in this Subchapter have been installed.

(d) The Board shall issue a license to any cosmetic art school that
meets the requirements of this Subchapter.

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;

Eff. January 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; December 1, 2016.

21 NCAC 14T .0201 ALL COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS
(@) Cosmetology schools must have the following physical
departments:

1) Practice Department — a minimum of 200
square feet with a table or tables and or stands
to accommodate at least 10 students and have at
least 40 inches between each mannequin.
Cosmetic art schools must provide an additional
5 square feet in the practice department for each
student over the maximum of 10. This area shall
have at least one mirror of a minimum of two
square feet.

2 Clinic Department — the clinic floor for
performance of all cosmetic art services. Within
the clinic area each school shall have:

(A) 48 inches of space from the center to
the center of each styling chair,
esthetics table or manicuring table;

(B) 24 inches from the center of the chair
forward,;

© 48 inches from the backrest behind the
chair to any other styling chair,
esthetics table or manicuring table;
and

(D) at least 30 inches of space from the
back of each styling chair, esthetics
table to the wall of the school.

3 Dispensary — a room or area to organize and
maintain supplies, equipment for disinfection
of all implements and a sink with hot and cold
running water. All cosmetic art schools must
have the required equipment to carry out
disinfection procedures per 21 NCAC 14H
.0403 and .0404;

4) Theory classroom — classroom with a minimum
of 300 square feet to accommodate a maximum
of 25 students. Cosmetic art schools must
provide an additional 8 square feet in the theory
classroom for each student over the maximum
of 25;

(5) Office — administrative office for the secure and
locked facilitation of student records and files.
This office shall be outfitted with a minimum of
one desk and one chair;

(6) Reception area — a reception area for clients to
wait prior to receiving services;
@) Break room for student use;
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(8) Restrooms for student and public use;

9) Locker or dressing room — a locker or room for
students to secure and lock personal belongings
throughout the day; and

(10) All stations as defined in Rule .0302 of this
Subchapter must be numbered numerically.

(b) Manicuring, esthetics and natural hair care schools must have
the following physical departments:

1) Clinic Department — the clinic floor for
performance of all cosmetic art services. Within
the clinic area each school shall have:

(A) 48 inches of space from the center to
the center of each styling chair,
esthetics table or manicuring table;

(B) 24 inches from the center of the chair
forward;

© 48 inches from the backrest behind the
chair to any other styling chair,
esthetics table or manicuring table;
and

(D) at least 30 inches of space from the
back of each styling chair or esthetics
table to the wall of the school.

)] Dispensary — a room or area to organize and
maintain supplies, equipment for disinfection
of all implements and a sink with hot and cold
running water. All cosmetic art schools shall
have the required equipment to carry out
disinfection procedures per 21 NCAC 14H
.0403 and .0404;

3) Theory classroom — a room or area with
equipment for theory training appropriate to
both practical and theory learning including
desks and chairs.

(@) Office —administrative office for the secure and
locked facilitation of student records and files.
This office shall be outfitted with a minimum of
one desk and one chair;

(5) Reception area — a reception area for clients to
wait prior to receiving services;

(6) Break room for student use;

(7 Restrooms for student and public use;

(8) Locker or dressing room — a locker or room for

students to secure and lock personal belongings
throughout the day; and
9 All stations as defined in Rule .0304 of this

Subchapter must be numbered numerically.
(c) Each cosmetic art school must display a sign in the reception
area. The sign cannot be smaller than 12 inches by 18 inches, with
lettering at least one and one half inches in size and must read as
follows: "Cosmetic Art School Work Done Exclusively by
Students."
(d) Each of the requirements listed within this Rule must be
located within the same building with the exception of the theory
classroom which may be located in an adjacent building or
another building within 500 feet of the main cosmetic art building
and a proctored examination center, which may be located on the
school campus.

(e) All Cosmetic Art schools must post hours of operation per
cosmetic art discipline and submit this information to the Board.
Any changes to the hours of operation must be posted and
submitted to the Board. A school shall be considered open by the
Board when cosmetic art instruction, services or performances are
provided.

(f) Cosmetic art schools may not offer student hours or
performances unless they are in compliance with Paragraph (a) of
this Rule.

(g) All cosmetic art schools must adhere to any federal, state and
local government regulation or ordinance regarding fire safety
codes, plumbing and electrical work.

(h) All cosmetic art schools must maintain a ventilation system
with temperature control. During school operating hours the
temperature must be maintained between 60 and 85 degrees
Fahrenheit.

(i) All equipment in cosmetic art schools shall be in working
order; kept in repair; and installed in such a manner as to facilitate
usage.

(i) All cosmetic art school buildings shall be maintained.
Maintenance includes the safe and working condition of the
physical building, furniture, equipment and supplies.

(k) All cosmetic art schools must maintain a bulletin board in
sight of the clinic floor. The bulletin board shall be used to display
at all times the Board Infection Control rules in 21 NCAC 14H
.0200, .0300, .0400, and .0500 and the sanitation grade card issued
to the school.

(I) All cosmetic art schools must post together the school letter of
approval, the school license and all cosmetic art licenses issued to
the teachers on staff.

(m) Each room in a cosmetic art school must be labeled according
to its assigned purpose.

(n) Each theory classroom shall be equipped with desks or chairs
suitable for classroom work and one chair suitable for
demonstrating cosmetic art practices.

(0) When a school and a shop are under the same ownership:

D separate operation of the shop and school shall
be maintained,;
2) if the school and shop are located in the same

building, they must be separated by a solid wall
of at least seven feet in height;, separate
entrances and visitor reception areas shall be
maintained; and
3) the school and shop shall have separate public

information releases, advertisements, names
and advertising signs.

(p) A cosmetic art school must maintain space and equipment

appropriate to both practical and theory learning including desks

and chairs, and station requirements so that each student in

attendance has a location within which to complete assigned tasks.

Each station or desk space shall be designated for only one student

at a time.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;
Eff. January 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; January 1, 2016.
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21 NCAC 14T .0502 PERMANENT RECORDS,
FORMS AND DOCUMENTATION
(@) Cosmetic art schools must maintain locked storage for the
permanent files of all enrolled students and students who have
withdrawn or graduated together in one room within the approved
square footage of the cosmetic art school. Withdrawal and
graduation forms reviewed by the Board or an agent of the Board
may be removed from this room. The permanent file shall include
a copy of:
1) Board Enrollment Form;
2 Documentation of student receipt of school
policies, school and student contract; the Board
Infection Control rules as set forth in 21 NCAC
14H .0200, .0300, .0400, and .0500 and 21
NCAC 141 0401,
(3) All Board Withdrawal Forms;
4) Social security card for any individual who has
a social security number or tax ID card or
student visa information;

(5) Government issued ID and proof of date of
birth;

(6) Grades for all examinations and evaluation
plans along with documentation for pass
performances;

@) Documentation for any leave of absence over
30 days;

(8) Transfer of hours form documenting hours

earned in other schools and hours accepted by
current school; and

9) Graduation Form.

(b) The school shall keep onsite, records of hours earned daily
including field trip hours and documentation of field trip hours
updated with a running grand total, as well as a total of the
following through the prior week:

(D) A daily record shall be kept of the performances
for each student, showing the actual date of the
performance and the teacher who approved the
performance;

(2) A daily record shall be kept of the actual
number of hours of attendance;

3) A daily record shall be kept of the actual
number of hours and educational achievements
completed via online; and

(@) An updated Performance Record.

(c) When a student enrolled in a cosmetic art school withdraws
from the school, the cosmetic art school shall report the
withdrawal to the Board.

(d) If a student withdraws from a cosmetic art discipline within
the first five days, the school need not submit the enrollment to
the Board. The unsubmitted enrollment must be maintained in the
student file until reviewed by the Board or an agent of the Board
after which, it may be removed.

(e) The graduation form documentation must be signed by on site
school staff or on site school administrators and must have the
seal of the school affixed. The original graduation form
documentation must be prepared on the Board form and shall
indicate that the applicable requirement of this Chapter have been
met. The cosmetic art school shall mail the graduation form to the
Board at the Board's address set forth in Rule 14A .0104 or submit

the graduation form via the Board's school documents portal at
www.nccosmeticarts.com within 30 days of the student's
graduation date.

(f) All forms submitted to the Board must be sealed originals or
a digital scan of sealed originals and a copy shall be maintained
in the school permanent file storage. Except for student
signatures, all forms submitted to the Board must be completed,
by on site school staff or on site school administrators. Board
forms shall be used for the sole purpose of documenting to the
Board student records and shall not be used to notify students of
enrollment, transfer of hours, withdrawal or graduation.

(g) Changes or corrections made by the school to any Board form
must be submitted to the Board with supporting documentation.
(h) All cosmetic art schools must maintain on file at the school
an original daily record of enrolled students' hours and
performances. This record must be kept in a secured location
under lock and key but made available for review by the Board or
its agent at any time.

(i) All records kept by a cosmetic art school on a student who has
withdrawn or graduated must be kept in the school's locked files
for future reference until the date the student is accepted for the
Board examination or five years after the date the student first
enrolled in the school, whichever occurs earlier. Forms reviewed
by the Board or an agent of the Board may be removed from this
room.

(i) The record of all hours and performances must be documented
in writing. Credit issued to students that cannot be verified may
be eliminated from the student record by an agent of the Board.
(k) Access to student records must be limited to agents of the
Board, teachers and administrators of the school. Records cannot
be altered offsite. Records that are altered must be altered onsite
and must have documentation supporting the change attached.
The format, school name and school code on Board forms cannot
be altered.

() All individuals in a cosmetic art school receiving cosmetic art
education, earning hours, performing or practicing cosmetic art
services must be enrolled in the school.

(m) Only teachers reported to the Board as employees of a
cosmetic art school may grade practical student examinations and
evaluate pass or fail of student performances. Only on site
teachers, on site school administrators or on site school staff shall
record student hours and performances, grade examinations and
determine completion and record credit of live model and
mannequin performances.

(n) Minimum scores required for examinations and the successful
completion of live model and mannequin performances as
determined through the school's evaluation plan that is approved
by the Board at the time of application shall be disclosed to
students at the time of enrollment. Passing grades and
performances cannot be credited to students who fail to meet the
requirements of the evaluation plan.

(o) Cosmetic art schools must provide to each student a copy of
school policies and 21 NCAC 141 .0401. The school shall retain
for the permanent file a copy of the student's acknowledgement of
receipt of these documents.

(p) The names of students with unsatisfied academic obligations
shall not be submitted to the Board as graduates but may be
submitted as withdrawn.
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(@) Cosmetic art schools shall not report to the Board the
unsatisfied financial obligations of any cosmetic art student.
Cosmetic art schools shall not prevent the graduation of students
who have met the Board minimum requirements and passed all
school academic requirements.

(r) Records of hours must be rounded to no more than the nearest
quarter hour. Cosmetic art schools shall not give or deduct hours
or performances as rewards or penalties.

(s) An applicant may receive credit for instruction taken in
another state if the applicant's record is certified by the state
agency or department that issues licenses to practice in the
cosmetic arts. If this agency or department does not maintain any
student records or if the state does not give license to practice in
the cosmetic arts, then the records may be certified by any state
department or state agency that does maintain such records and is
willing to certify their accuracy. If no state department or board
will certify the accuracy of the student's records, then the Board
shall review the student's records for validity on a case-by-case
basis using the documentation provided by the student.

(t) Hours transferred between open North Carolina schools must
be obtained by the submission of the Board transfer form mailed
directly from the school in which the hours are earned with the
school seal affixed, with grades for examinations and
performances to the new school in which a student enrolls. Such
original documentation shall be submitted to the Board with
enrollment. Transfer forms shall include the following:

1) Student name and social security number;

(2) School code;

3) Course type and total number of live model and
mannequin service performances;

4) Enrollment date and last date of attendance;

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed;

(6) School owner name and signature; and

@) School seal.
(u) A student must pass an entrance examination given by the
school to which the student is transferring for the hours to be
transferred from one cosmetic art school to another.

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16;

Eff. January 1, 2012;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; June 1, 2013;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; December 1, 2016.

21 NCAC 14T .0601 COSMETIC ART CURRICULA
(@) Cosmetic art schools shall develop and submit to the Board a
curriculum of each discipline to be taught at the school. The
curriculum, once approved by the Board's standards listed in
Rules .0602-.0610, of this Section shall be adhered to and lessons
developed from the approved curriculum.

(b) Blood exposure and infection control evaluations must be
passed with a score of 100 percent before a student may perform
a mannequin or live model performance. Before a student may
perform a live model performance the student shall pass the
respective mannequin performance evaluation plan.

(c) Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion
of the steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client.

(d) All cosmetic art students shall receive training on Safety Data
Sheets prepared by the manufacturer on all products used by the
school's students in performances.

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;
Eff. January 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; January 1, 2016.

21 NCAC 14T .0602
CURRICULUM
(a) To meet the approval of the Board, a cosmetologist training
course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure
procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and
consist of 1500 hours of instruction in theory and practical
application as set forth in this Rule.
(b) Theory and practical application subjects shall include:

@ Professional image;

2) Infection control;

©) Bacteriology;

4) Disinfection;

COSMETOLOGY

5) First aid;

(6) Anatomy;

) Electricity as it relates to cosmetic art;
(8) Chemistry as it relates to cosmetic art;
©)] Professional ethics;

(10) Draping;
(11) Shampooing;
(12) Roller sets;
(13) Pin curls;
(14) Ridge curls with C shaping;
(15) Fingerwaves;
(16) Braids;
a7 Acrtificial hair;
(18) Up-styles;
(19) Blowdrying;
(20) Brush control,
(21) Blowdrying with curling iron;
(22) Pressing or thermal;
(23) Hair cutting;
(24) Partings;
(25) Perm types and wraps;
(26) Relaxer types and sectioning;
(27) Color types and application sectioning;
(28) Scalp treatments;
(29) Manicures;
(30) Pedicures;
(31) Acrtificial nails;
(32) Styles and techniques of cosmetology services
including:
(A) Arranging;
(B) Dressing;

© Curling;
(D) Waving;
(BE) Cutting techniques and implements

including razors, clippers, thinning
shears, and shears;
(P Cleansing;
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(©)] Cutting;
(H) Singeing;
()] Bleaching, or coloring hair;

) Esthetics;

(K) Manicuring;

(L) Business management; and

(M) Salon business; and;

(33) Board laws, rules and website.

(c) Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion
of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client.
Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plans
for each of the Board required performances listed in this
Paragraph and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans
must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping,
and safe application. In addition to the requirements set forth in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule all students shall be trained on the
following performance requirements:

(1) Infection Control;

(2) Blood exposure procedure;

(3) Blow drying;

(@) Hot iron;

(5) Styles that apply tension (twists, braiding, locs,
or knots);

(6) Solid form cut;

@) Elevated cut;

(8) Cut with tapered or thinning shears;

9) Razor cut;

(10) Clipper cut;

(112) Shears over comb cut;

(12) Clippers over comb cut;

(13) Virgin darker;

(14) Virgin lightener;

(15) Retouch;

(16) Foil;

an Freehand painting;

(18) Relaxer virgin;

(19) Relaxer retouch;

(20) Curl reforming virgin;

(21) Curl reforming retouch;

(22) Permanent waving rod placement rectangle;

(23) Permanent waving rod placement contour;

(24) Permanent waving rod placement bricklay-

overlap;

(25) Permanent waving rod placement — spiral;

(26) Basic manicure;

(27) Acrtificial nails

(28) Basic facial,

(29) Waxing including face and body;

(30) Hair removal with depilatory and tweezers;

(31) Hair removal with razor; and

(32) Makeup application.
(d) Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed.
(e) Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student.
(f) Certification of performance completions shall be required on
the graduation form and application for the Board examination.
Graduation forms shall include the following:

(1) Student name and social security number;

(2) School code;

3) Course type completed;

4 Date of course completion;
(5) Number of hours and minutes completed;
(6) School owner name and signature; and

@) School seal.
(g) Before a student may perform services on a live model the
student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure
procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both
theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance
to be completed.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16;

Eff. January 1, 2012;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; October 1, 2012;
Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 14T .0603
CURRICULUM
(@ To meet the approval of the Board, an apprentice
cosmetologist training course shall begin with infection control
and blood exposure procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403
and .0404 and consist of 1200 hours of instruction in theory and
practical application as set forth in this Rule.
(b) Theory and practical application subjects shall include:

(8] Professional image;

2 Infection control;

(3) Bacteriology;

4) Disinfection;

APPRENTICE COSMETOLOGY

(5) First aid;

(6) Anatomy;

@) Electricity as it relates to cosmetic art;
(8) Chemistry as it relates to cosmetic art;
9 Professional ethics;

(10) Draping;
(11) Shampooing;
(12) Roller sets;
(13) Pin curls;
(14) Ridge curls with C shaping;
(15) Fingerwaves;
(16) Braids;
a7 Artificial hair;
(18) Up-styles;
(19) Blowdrying;
(20) Brush control;
(21) Blowdrying with curling iron;
(22) Pressing or thermal;
(23) Hair cutting;
(24) Partings;
(25) Perm wraps;
(26) Relaxer sectioning;
(27) Color application sectioning;
(28) Scalp treatments;
(29) Manicures;
(30) Pedicures;
(31) Artificial nails;
(32) Styles and techniques of cosmetology services
including:
(A) Arranging;
(B) Dressing;
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© Curling;
(D) Waving;
(E) Cutting techniques and implements

including razors, clippers, thinning
shears, and shears;
(F) Cleansing;

(©)] Cutting;
(H) Singeing;
()] Bleaching, or coloring hair;

@) Esthetics;
(K) Manicuring;
(L) Business management; and
(M) Salon business; and;
(33) Board laws, rules and website.
(c) Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion
of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client.
Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plans
for each of the Board required performances listed in this
Paragraph and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans
must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping,
and safe application. In addition to the requirements set forth in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule all students shall be trained on the
following performance requirements:
@ Infection Control;
)] Blood exposure procedure;
3 Blow drying;
4) Hot iron;
(5) Styles that apply tension (twists, braiding, locs,
or knots);
(6) Solid form cut;
(7 Elevated cut;
(8) Cut with tapered or thinning shears;
9 Razor cut;
(10) Clipper cut;
(1) Shears over comb cut;
(12) Clippers over comb cut;
(13) Virgin darker;
(14) Virgin lightener;
(15) Retouch;
(16) Foil;
17) Freehand painting;
(18) Relaxer virgin;
(19) Relaxer retouch;
(20) Curl reforming virgin;
(21) Curl reforming retouch;
(22) Permanent waving rod placement rectangle;
(23) Permanent waving rod placement contour;
(24) Permanent waving rod placement bricklay-
overlap;
(25) Permanent waving rod placement — spiral;
(26) Basic manicure;
(27) Artificial nails;
(28) Basic facial;
(29) Waxing including face and body;
(30) Hair removal with depilatory and tweezers;
(31) Hair removal with razor; and
(32) Makeup application.
(d) Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed.
(e) Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student.

(f) Certification of performance completions shall be required on
the graduation form and application for the Board examination.
Graduation forms shall include the following:

1) Student name and social security number;

2 School code;

3 Course type completed,;

4 Date of course completion;
(5) Number of hours and minutes completed;
(6) School owner name and signature; and

@) School seal.
(g) Before a student may perform services on a live model the
student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure
procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both
theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance
to be completed.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16;

Eff. January 1, 2012;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; September 1, 2012;
Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 14T .0604 ESTHETICS CURRICULUM

(a) To meet the approval of the Board, an esthetician training
course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure
procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and
consist of at least 600 hours of instruction in theory and practical
application as set forth in this Rule.

(b) Theory and practical application subjects shall include:

@ Anatomy or physiology;

2) Infection control;

©) Disinfection;

4) First aid;

5) Chemistry as it relates to esthetics;

(6) Draping;

@) Facial or body treatment (cleansing,
manipulations, masks, and chemical peels);

(8) Hair removal;

9) Basic dermatology;

(10 Skin care machines, electricity, and apparatus;

(11) Aromatherapy;

(12) Nutrition;

(13) Make-up or color theory;

(14) Styles and techniques of esthetics services

including:

(A) Facials;

(B) Makeup application;

© Performing skin care;

(D) Hair removal;

(E) Eyelash extensions;

P Applying brow and lash color;
(G) Business management; and
(H) Professional ethics; and

(15) Board laws, rules and website.
(c) Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion
of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client.
Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plans
for each of the Board required performances listed in this
Paragraph and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans
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must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping,
and safe application. In addition to the requirements set forth in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule all students shall be trained on the
following performance requirements:

(1) Infection Control;

(2) Blood exposure procedure;

3) Basic facial;

4) Waxing including underarm, lip, eyebrow, leg
and bikini;

(5) Hair removal with depilatory and tweezers;

(6) Makeup application;

@) Facials with machines;

(8) Exfoliation;

9) Facials with LED light;

(10) Facials with high frequency (direct and
indirect); and

(112) Lash application.

(d) Certification of performance completions shall be required on
the graduation form and Board's application for the examination.
(e) Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed.

(f) Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student.
(g) Before a student may perform services on a live model the
student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure
procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both
theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance
to be completed.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;
Eff. January 1, 2012;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2014;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 14T .0605 MANICURING CURRICULUM
(@) To meet the approval of the Board, a manicurist training
course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure
procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and
consist of at least 300 hours of instruction in theory and practical
application as set forth in this Rule.

(b) Theory and practical application subjects shall include:

(1) Manicuring theory;

(2) Infection control;

3) First aid,;

(@) Trimming;

(5) Filing;

(6) Shaping;

@) Decorating;

(8) Arm and hand manipulation;

9 Sculptured and artificial nails (application,
repair, fill, and removal);

(10) Pedicuring; and

(112) Styles and techniques for the care, treatment,
and decoration of the following:
(A) Fingernails;
(B) Toenails;
© Cuticles;
(D) Nail extensions and artificial nails;
(E) Electric file;
(G) Business management;

(H) Professional ethics; and

)] Board laws, regulations and website.
(c) Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion
of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client.
Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plans
for each of the Board required performances listed in this
Paragraph and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans
must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping,
and safe application. In addition to the requirements set forth in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule all students shall be trained on the
following performance requirements:

(D) Infection Control;

2 Blood exposure procedure;

?3) Basic manicure;

(4) Basic pedicure;

(5) Nail tips;

(6) Acrylic overlay (application, repair, fill, and
removal);

@) Sculptured nails (application, repair, fill, and
removal); and

(8) Gel overlay (application, repair, fill, and

removal).
(d) Certification of performance completions shall be required on
the graduation form and Board's application for the examination.
(e) Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed.
(f) Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student.
(9) Before a student may perform services on a live model the
student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure
procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both
theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance
to be completed.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;
Eff. January 1, 2012;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2014;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 14T .0606
CURRICULUM

(&) To meet the approval of the Board, a natural hair care styling
training course shall begin with infection control and blood
exposure procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404
and consist of 300 hours of instruction in theory and practical
application as set forth in this Rule.

(b) Theory and practical application subjects shall include:

NATURAL HAIR CARE

(8] Infection control;

2 Bacteriology;

3) Board laws, regulations, website, and licensure
scope of practice.

4) First aid;

(5) Shampooing;

(6) Draping;

@) Anatomy;

8) Disorders of the hair and scalp;

©)] Client consultation;

(10) Twisting;

(11) Wrapping;

(12) Extending;
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(13) Locking;

(14) Blowdry and thermal iron;

(15) Business management; and

(16) Professional ethics.
(c) Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion
of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client.
Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plans
for each of the Board required performances listed in this
Paragraph and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans
must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping,
and safe application. In addition to the requirements set forth in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule all students shall be trained on the
following performance requirements:

1) Infection Control;

(2) Blood exposure procedure;
3) Twists;

4) Knots;

(5) Locs;

(6) 2 strand overlap;

@) 3 strand overbraid,;

(8) 3 strand underbraid;

9 On the scalp 3 strand braid;
(10) Track and sew weft; and

21 NCAC 14T .0607

(11) Adding hair extensions.
(d) Certification of performance completions shall be required on
the graduation form and Board's application for the Board
examination.
(e) Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed
unless the live model service consists of 20 or more lengths of
hair.
(f) Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student
unless the performance meets the requirements of Paragraph (d)
in this Rule.
(g) A performance shall consist of 10 or more lengths of hair.
(h) Before a student may perform services on a live model the
student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure
procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both
theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance
to be completed.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16;

Eff. January 1, 2012;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; June 1, 2013;
Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016;

Amended Eff October 1, 2019.

COSMETOLOGY TEACHER TRAINEE CURRICULUM

(a) To meet the approval of the Board, a cosmetologist teacher training course shall consist of at least 800 hours of instruction in theory

and practical application, divided as follows:

Requirement Description

Hours

Theory: observation theory, motivation, business management, student
relations, teaching techniques, preparing lesson plans, facilitating
student shop internship, preparing class lectures and presentations,
preparing examinations, grading, and G.S. 88B and the rules of the
Board

400

Practical Application: Conducting theory classes from prepared
lessons, preparing and giving examinations, and giving practical

400

demonstrations

(b) Trainees shall receive a minimum of 150 hours of theory prior to any providing instruction in a cosmetic art classroom.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;
Eff. January 1, 2012;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October, 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 14T .0608

ESTHETIC TEACHER TRAINEE CURRICULUM

(@) To meet the approval of the Board under the standards set out in these Rules, an esthetician teacher training course shall consist of
at least 650 hours of instruction in theory and practical application, divided as follows:

Requirement Description

Hours

Theory: observation theory, motivation, business management, student
relations, teaching techniques, preparing lesson plans, preparing class
lectures and presentations, preparing examinations, grading, and G.S.
88B and the rules of the Board

325

Practical Application: Conducting theory classes from prepared
lessons, preparing and giving examinations, and giving practical
demonstrations

325
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(b) Trainees shall receive a minimum of 120 hours of theory prior to any providing instruction in a cosmetic art classroom.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;
Eff. January 1, 2012;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 14T .0609

MANICURIST TEACHER TRAINEE CURRICULUM

(@) To meet the approval of the Board under the standards set out in these Rules, a manicurist teacher training course shall consist of at
least 320 hours of instruction in theory and practical application, divided as follows:

Requirement Description

Hours

Theory: observation theory, motivation, business management, student
relations, teaching techniques, preparing lesson plans, grading,
preparing class lectures and presentations, preparing examinations, and
G.S. 88B and the rules of the Board

160

Practical Application: Conducting theory classes from prepared
lessons, preparing and giving examinations and giving practical

160

demonstrations

(b) Trainees shall receive a minimum of 115 hours of theory prior to any providing instruction in a cosmetic art classroom.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;
Eff. January 1, 2012;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 14T .0610

NATURAL HAIR CARE TEACHER CURRICULUM

(a) To meet the approval of the Board under the standards set out in these Rules, natural hair care teacher training course shall consist
of at least 320 hours of instruction in theory and practical application, divided as follows:

Requirement Description

Hours

GS 88B and the rules of the Board

Theory: observation theory, motivation, business management, student
relations, teaching techniques, preparing lesson plans, grading,
preparing class lectures and presentations, preparing examinations, and

160

demonstrations

Practical Application: Conducting theory classes from prepared
lessons, preparing and giving examinations, and giving practical 160

(b) . Trainees shall receive a minimum of 115 hours of theory prior to any providing instruction in a cosmetic art classroom.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;
Eff. January 1, 2012;

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 14T .0611 ONLINE INSTRUCTION

(@) Online instruction and course hours are accepted by the Board
for any cosmetic art curriculum.

(b) Online resources, course supplements and internet research
may be used during the course of study with the supervision of a
cosmetic art teacher within a cosmetic art school.

(c) The school shall determine if a student possesses the skills
and comprehension necessary to succeed in an online education
environment and maintain in each student's record documentation
of the method used to determine the student's skill and
comprehension.

(d) The school shall track and record the student's hours by
minute and educational achievements in the online education
course(s) and shall provide electronic reports generated by the
tracking system to an agent of the Board or its inspector upon
request.

(e) The school shall document the student demonstrates
participation in the online education course(s).

(f) The school shall administer a test at the end of each online
education course. The testing shall be done in person at the school.
(9) Online instruction shall be limited to the theory portion only
and no more than 50 percent for teacher trainees and 30 percent
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of the total required hours for the respective cosmetic art
discipline.

(h) No practical instruction shall be permitted through online
education.

(i) The school shall provide access to technical support for the
online educational course or program to students and instructors.
(i) The school shall provide students and teachers with access to
current reference materials that may include, but are not limited
to, such formats as books, periodicals and other written matter,
audio-visual equipment and materials, digital media, and online
education platforms to support the educational course. Equipment
for producing digital and paper copies of supplementary
instructional materials shall be available.

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;
Eff. January 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 14T .0612 INSTRUCTION GUIDELINES

(&) The hours earned in the clinic department must be devoted to
study and performance completions.

(b) Work in the clinic department may be done on the public.

(c) All work done by students on the public shall be checked by
the cosmetic art teacher as the work is being performed and after
the service has been completed so that the teacher may point out
errors to the student in order that the errors may be corrected.

(d) Cosmetic art students shall receive training on theory of any
cosmetic art service prior to performing that service.

(e) Theory work shall include lectures on theory subjects as well
as demonstrations, questions and answers on textbooks, written
examinations, and in-class practice of procedures and methods.
(f) Cosmetic art teacher trainees must be enrolled in school to
earn hours.

(g) Cosmetic art schools shall supply each student with a copy of
the North Carolina Cosmetic Art Act, Board rules, and the student
handbook.

(h) All of the work outlined in the practice department and the
clinic department shall be given to the students through practical
demonstrations and lectures, questions and answers on textbooks,
and written exam.

(i) A minimum of 10 percent of scheduled attendance time each
week shall be spent on theory work as defined in Paragraph (e) of
this Rule.

(i) All papers shall be graded and returned to the students.

(K) Cosmetic art students shall receive training and practice only
in the discipline in which they are enrolled.

(D All live model performances on the public shall be done in the
clinic department. Mannequin performances and live model
performances on other students may be performed in the clinic
department or in a room within the school with a station.

(m) Textbooks shall not be used more than five years if a newer
version is available.

(n)  Schools shall provide textbooks and supplementary
educational materials and equipment to students.

(0) A cosmetic art teacher shall not perform clinical services on
a client at the cosmetic art school.

(p) Exams administered in a proctored exam site need not be
attended by a cosmetic art teacher.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16;

Eff. January 1, 2012;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2013; October 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; January 1, 2016.

21 NCAC 14T .0701 SCHOOL
OPERATIONS/LICENSURE MAINTENANCE

(a) No individual shall be given credit for any hours earned in a
cosmetic art school before the date the school is granted a license,
before the student is enrolled, or after graduation or withdrawal of
the student without a new enrollment.

(b) All Cosmetic Art schools shall submit hours of operation per
cosmetic art discipline to the Board. Any changes to the hours of
operation shall be submitted to the Board. A school shall be
considered open by the Board when cosmetic art instruction,
services, or performances are provided.

(c) Students may be required to clean and disinfect work areas,
reception areas, implements, and the dispensary. Students shall
not be required to perform maintenance.

(d) All cosmetic art schools shall adhere to all Board Infection
Control Rules located in 21 NCAC 14H Infection Control.

(e) Cosmetic art schools may permit students to leave the
cosmetic art school during instructional time to visit on campus
libraries and other educational resource rooms such as computer
labs for research and study under the supervision of a cosmetic art
instructor.

(f) Cosmetic art schools shall use the following grading scale as
a for passing grades:

Grade A 100-90
Grade B 80-89
Grade C 70-79
Grade F (Fail) 0-69

(9) In order to graduate, all students shall meet the minimum
school and Board requirements as set forth in Rules .0602-.0610
of this Subchapter.

(h) Examinations shall be administered in all subjects of the
cosmetic art curriculum.

(i) Students present at school shall be supervised by a cosmetic
art teacher at all times. If a guest lecturer is leading a class, at least
one cosmetic art teacher must be present in the lecture.

(i) All cosmetic art schools shall provide:

@ One teacher for every 25 students enrolled in
the practice department;
2 One teacher for every 20 students during

practical work on live models in the clinic
department; and
3 Each Cosmetic art teacher may have up to five
teacher trainees, in addition to the ratios set
forth in Subparagraph (j)(1) and (2).
(k) In theory classes, the teacher student ratio may exceed the
ratios established in this Rule.
(I) A teacher may administer instruction to up to 10 students
enrolled in practice and clinic departments at the same time. A
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teacher shall not administer instruction to more than 10 students
enrolled in practice and clinic departments at the same time.

(m) At no time can any one teacher be simultaneously responsible
for students in a theory class and students in practice on the clinic
floor.

(n) In cases of change in teaching staff, the school shall notify the
Board of the change in writing prior to beginning instruction. A
change in teaching staff includes any substitution for the regularly
scheduled teacher and any change, scheduled or otherwise, in the
list of teachers last given to the Board.

1) All courses in a cosmetic art school shall be
taught by a licensed cosmetology teacher,
except as follows:

(A) manicuring courses shall be taught by
either a licensed cosmetology teacher
or a licensed manicurist teacher;

(B) natural hair care courses shall be
taught by either a licensed
cosmetology teacher or a licensed
natural hair care teacher;

© esthetics courses shall be taught by
either a licensed cosmetology teacher
or a licensed esthetician teacher.

)] A licensed cosmetologist not licensed as a
cosmetology teacher may substitute for a
cosmetology, esthetician, natural hair care or
manicurist teacher; a licensed manicurist not
licensed as a manicurist teacher may substitute
for a manicurist teacher; a licensed natural hair
care specialist not licensed as a natural hair care
teacher may substitute for a natural hair care
teacher; and a licensed esthetician not licensed
as an esthetician teacher may substitute for an
esthetician teacher.

(o) Inno event may any cosmetic art licensee substitution last for
more than 15 consecutive working days per year per teacher. If
any teacher substitution is 16 consecutive days or longer, the
school shall provide a new cosmetic art teacher.

(p) Enrolled students may earn a maximum of 10 hours per day
per discipline of cosmetic art and a maximum of 48 hours per
week per discipline. Online education can be earned in addition to
the maximum daily and weekly hours. A student enrolled in more
than one cosmetic art discipline may not earn hours or complete
performances concurrently.

(a) The Board shall certify student hours for any North Carolina
cosmetic art school that is closed. The Board shall not certify
student hours between any North Carolina open cosmetic art
schools. The Board shall certify student hours earned at North
Carolina cosmetic art schools to other state boards and schools
open outside of the state of North Carolina as set forth in Rule
.0502 of this Subchapter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16;

Eff. February 1, 2012;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; June 1, 2013; October 1, 2012;
Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; December 1, 2016.

21 NCAC 14T .0703
CREDIT

Students and graduates who fail to file an application for the
examination after graduation and within five years of the initial
enrollment shall not be credited any hours or performances
previously earned.

EXPIRATION OF STUDENT

History Note:
88B-19;

Eff. January 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;

EE R S i R

CHAPTER 16 — BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

21 NCAC 16A .0101 DEFINITIONS
As used in this Chapter:
(8] "Applicant™ means a person applying for any
license or permit issued by the Board;
2 "Board" means the North Carolina State Board
of Dental Examiners;
©) "Candidate™ means a person who has applied

and been accepted for examination to practice
dentistry or dental hygiene in North Carolina;

(@) "Current license" means a license that is
renewed by the licensing board,;
(5) "CPR certification" means that the licensee has

completed a CPR course that meets American
Red Cross or American Heart Association
standards for certification and that provides
manikin testing on the subjects of cardio-
pulmonary resuscitation. The course must also
cover the use of an automatic external
defibrillator, unconscious and conscious
choking and rescue breathing, provided that the
foregoing requirements shall not be interpreted
in any way that violates the Americans with
Disabilities Act. The manikin testing shall be
provided by an instructor who is present with
the students;

(6) "Internship” means practice in an educational
training program. Internship does not mean
practice under an intern permit while holding an
unrestricted general dental or dental specialty
license issued by a state, U.S. territory or the
District of Columbia;

@) "Unrestricted license” means a license that is
not under suspension or inactivation, or subject
to the terms of a consent order or other
disciplinary action imposed by the jurisdiction
that issued the license, or limited by supervision
or location requirements;

8) Except where otherwise defined by these Rules
or by statute, “supervision,”  "direct
supervision,” and "supervision and direction”
means that the dentist overseeing treatment is
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present in the same facility or location and
available during the performance of the acts
that are being performed pursuant to that
dentist's order, control, and approval and that
the dentist must examine and evaluate the
results of such acts; and

(9) Except where otherwise defined by these Rules
or by statute, "direction” or "under direction"
means that the dentist ordering treatment does
not have to be present in the same facility or
location during the performance of the acts that
are being performed pursuant to that dentist's
order, control, and approval, but that dentist
shall be responsible for all consequences or
results arising from such acts.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-29(a); 90-29.3; 90-
29.4; 90-29.5; 90-30; 90-48; 90-224; 90-224.1; 90-226;

Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; September 1, 1988;
October 1, 1986;

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2011; January 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 16A .0105
TO EXPEND FUNDS
If the Board's authority to expend funds is suspended pursuant to
G.S. 93B-2(d), the Board shall continue to issue and renew
licenses, registrations, and permits and to collect all fees pursuant
to G.S. 90-39 and the rules of this Chapter, but all fees tendered
shall be placed in an escrow account maintained by the Board for
this purpose. Once the Board's authority is restored, the funds
shall be moved from the escrow account into the general operating
account.

SUSPENSION OF AUTHORITY

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-39; 93B-2(d);
Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 16B .0101
EXEMPTIONS

(@) All persons desiring to practice dentistry in North Carolina
shall pass Board approved written and clinical examinations, as
set forth in Rule .0303 of this Subchapter before receiving a
license.

(b) The examination requirement shall not apply to persons who
do not hold a North Carolina dental license and who are seeking
volunteer licenses pursuant to G.S. 90-21.107, licensure by
endorsement pursuant to Rules .1001 and .1002 of this
Subchapter, or licensure by credentials pursuant to Rule .0501 of
this Subchapter.

(c) All persons practicing dentistry in North Carolina shall
maintain unexpired CPR certification at all times.

EXAMINATION REQUIRED;

History Note:
90-48;

Authority G.S. 90-21.107; 90-28; 90-30; 90-36;

Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2014; September 1, 2013; March 1,
2006; May 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; January 1, 1983;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 16B .0303
EXAMINATIONS
(@) All applicants for dental licensure shall achieve a passing
score of at least 80 percent on the Board's sterilization and
jurisprudence examinations. Applicants may take reexamination
in accordance with Rule .0317 of this Section.
(b) All applicants for dental licensure shall achieve passing scores
on the examination administered by the Joint Commission on
National Dental Examinations and clinical examinations
administered by Board approved testing agencies. The Board shall
determine which testing agencies are approved based on the
requirements set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule.
(¢) To qualify as an approved testing agency, the test-
development agencies shall allow a representative of the Board to
serve on the Board of Directors and the Examination Review
Committee of the agency.
(d) To qualify as an approved testing agency, the clinical
examination administered by a testing agency shall:

1) include procedures performed on human

subjects as part of the assessment of restorative
clinical competencies;

BOARD APPROVED

2) include evaluations in clinical periodontics and
at least three of the following subject matter
areas:

(A) endodontics, clinical abilities testing;

(B) amalgam preparation and restoration;

© anterior composite preparation and
restoration;

(D) posterior ceramic or composite
preparation and restoration;

(E) prosthetics, written or clinical abilities
testing;

(P oral diagnosis, written or clinical
abilities testing; or

(G) oral surgery, written or clinical

abilities testing; and
3) provide the following:
(A) anonymity between applicants and
examination graders;

(B) standardization and calibration of
graders;
© a mechanism for post exam analysis;

(D) conjunctive scoring, which is scoring
that requires applicants to earn a
passing grade on all sections or areas
tested and that does not allow
weighted, averaged, or overall scoring
to compensate for failures in
individual subject areas;
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(E) a minimum passing score set by the
testing agency for each subject area
tested;

(F) an annual review of the examination;

(©)] a task analysis performed at least once
every seven years, that surveys
dentists nationwide to determine the
content of the examination;

(H) a system of quality assurance to ensure
uniform, consistent administration of
the examination at each testing site;
and

()] does not permit a dental instructor to
grade candidates at any institution at
which the instructor is employed.

(e) The Board shall accept examination scores for five years
following the date of the examinations. Each applicant shall
arrange for and ensure the submission to the Board office the
applicant's scores. Individuals who apply more than five years
after the examination date to seek licensure shall re-take the
examination.

(f) The applicant shall comply with all requirements of the testing
agency in applying for and taking the examination.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-30; 90-48;

Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2014; June 1, 2009; March 1, 2006;
August 1, 1998; March 1, 1988;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 16C .0101 LICENSURE

(@) All dental hygienists shall be licensed by the North Carolina
State Board of Dental Examiners before practicing dental hygiene
in this State.

(b) The examination requirement shall not apply to persons who
do not hold a North Carolina dental hygiene license who are
seeking volunteer licenses pursuant to G.S. 90-21.107, licensure
by endorsement pursuant to Rules 16G .0107 or .0108 of this
Chapter or licensure by credentials pursuant to Rule .0501 of this
Subchapter.

(c) All dental hygienists shall maintain an unexpired CPR
certification at all times.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224;

Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2014; September 1, 2013; June 1,
2006; May 1, 1989; January 1, 1983;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 16H .0201 GENERAL PERMITTED
FUNCTIONS OF DENTAL ASSISTANT I

(@ A Dental Assistant | may assist a dentist as a chairside
assistant provided that the acts and functions of the Dental

Assistant |1 do not constitute the practice of dentistry or dental
hygiene as set out in G.S. 90-29(b) and G.S. 90-221(a).

(b) A Dental Assistant | may perform only routine dental assisting
procedures such as oral hygiene instruction, chairside assisting,
application of topical fluorides or topical anesthetics, and
exposure of radiographs, provided that the assistant can show
compliance with radiography training consistent with G.S. 90-
29(c)(12).

(c) Functions of a Dental Assistant Il also may be delegated to a
Dental Assistant I in accordance with 21 NCAC 16H .0104(b).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-29(c)(9); 90-48;

Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; May 1, 1989;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 16H .0208 LIMITED EXCEPTION FOR
ASSISTING HYGIENISTS
A Dental Assistant Il may assist a Limited Supervision Hygienist,
who is qualified and practicing pursuant to 21 NCAC 16Z .0101-
.0103, in providing oral hygiene instruction, applying sealants,
applying topical fluorides, applying fluoride varnishes, and while
the Hygienist is performing prophylaxis, provided:
1) The treatment is provided to children in school-
based oral health programs under the "ECU
School-based  Oral  Health  Expansion
Readiness" grant, proposal number 19-0786
and related project number A19-0231,
developed by the East Carolina University
School of Dental Medicine and funded by The
Duke Endowment; and
2 Prior to any treatment being provided, a
licensed North Carolina dentist has:
(@) examined the patient;
(b) ordered in writing the treatment
provided to the patient; and
(c) agreed to provide the patient with any
necessary  additional treatment
resulting from the treatment rendered
in accordance with this Rule.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-29(c)(9); 90-48; 90-233;
Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 161 .0106 FEE FOR LATE FILING

If the application for a renewal certificate, accompanied by the
renewal fee of eighty-one dollars ($81.00) and annual fee to assist
in funding for programs for impaired dentists of twenty-five
dollars ($25.00), is not received in the Board's office before the
close of business on January 31 of each year, an additional fee of
fifty dollars ($50.00) shall be charged for the renewal certificate.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-227; 90-232;
Eff. September 3, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989;
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Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 161 .0002 Eff. May 1,
1994;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008; April 1, 2003; August 1, 1998;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 16N .0501 RIGHT TO HEARING

When the Board acts, or proposes to act, other than in rulemaking
or declaratory ruling proceedings, in a manner that will affect the
rights, duties, or privileges of a licensee or applicant for a license
or permit, such person has a right to an administrative hearing.
When the Board proposes to act in such a manner, it shall give
such person notice of his right to a hearing by mailing by certified
mail to him at his last known address a notice of the proposed
action and a notice of a right to a hearing. Notice of hearing may
also be given by any method of service permitted in G.S. 150B-
38(c), by a signed acceptance of service from such person, or by
delivery to the person’s attorney of record who accepts service on
behalf of the person.

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-38(h);

Eff. August 25, 1977;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; November 20, 1980;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 16N .0603 SUBPOENAS
(@) A request for subpoenas for the attendance and testimony of
witnesses or for the production of documents, either at a hearing
or for the purposes of discovery, shall:

@ be made in writing to the Board;

)] identify any documents sought with specificity;

3 include the name and home or business address
of all persons to be subpoenaed; and

(@) if known, the date, time, and place for

responding to the subpoena.
(b) The Board shall issue the requested subpoenas within three
days of the receipt of the request.
(c) Subpoenas shall contain:

(1) the caption of the case;

(2) the name and address of the person subpoenaed,;

3 the date, hour and location of the hearing in
which the witness is commanded to appear;

(@) a description of the books, papers, records, or

objects the witness is directed to bring with him
to the hearing, if any;
(5) the identity of the party on whose application
the subpoena was issued; and
(6) a return of service form.
(d) The "return of service" form, as filled out, shall show the name
and capacity of the person serving the subpoena, the date the
subpoena was delivered to the person directed to make service,
the date service was made, the person on whom service was made,
the manner in which service was made, and the signature of the
person making service.

(e) Subpoenas shall be served as permitted by Rule 45 of the
North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure, as set forth in G.S. 1A-
1.

(f) Any person receiving a subpoena from the Board may object
thereto by filing a written objection to the subpoena with the
Board's office. Such objection shall include a statement of all
reasons why the subpoena should be revoked or modified. These
reasons may include any basis sufficient in law for holding the
subpoena invalid, such as that the evidence is privileged, that the
burden of appearance or production outweighs the relevance of
the evidence sought, or other undue hardship.

(g) Any objection to a subpoena shall be served on the party who
requested the subpoena simultaneously with the filing of the
objection with the Board.

(h) The party who requested the subpoena may file a written
response to the objection within 10 days of receipt or 7 days prior
to the contested case hearing, whichever is sooner. The written
response shall be served by the requesting party on the objecting
witness simultaneously with the filing of the response with the
Board.

(i) After receipt of the objection and response thereto, if any, the
Board shall issue a notice to the party who requested the subpoena
and the party challenging the subpoena, and shall notify any other
party or parties of a hearing.

() The Presiding Officer of the Board members hearing the
contested case shall conduct the hearing and rule on the objection
unless the interests of justice and judicial economy allow the
Presiding Officer to involve the other Board members. On the
basis of the content of the written objection and the response, the
Presiding Officer shall either permit the parties to submit
affidavits in advance of the hearing or permit the parties to present
evidence and testimony at the hearing, limited to the narrow
questions raised by the objection and response.

History Note:
39; 150B-40;
Eff. August 25, 1977;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. November 20, 1980;
Legislative Objection Removed Eff. March 19, 1981;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2015; May 1, 1989; March 1, 1988;
October 1, 1986; March 1, 1985;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-48; 90-223(b); 150B-

21 NCAC 16N .0607 DISCIPLINARY FACTORS
If the Board concludes that a dentist or dental hygienist (the
"Respondent™) has violated the Dental Practice Act, the Dental
Hygiene Practice Act, or the Board's Rules, it shall consider the
following factors relevant to the discipline to be imposed:

1) The Board shall consider revocation of a license
or permit if it concludes that lesser discipline is
insufficient to protect the public and that one or
more of the following factors applies:

(@) Respondent caused or contributed to a
patient's death, permanent organic
brain dysfunction, physical injury, or
severe medical emergency requiring
hospitalization;
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)

)

(b)

(©)

Respondent has been convicted of or
entered a plea of guilty or nolo
contendere to a felony charge; or

Respondent engaged in  fraud,
dishonesty, misrepresentation, deceit,
or fabrication related to the practice of
dentistry or dental hygiene, including
attempts to obtain or collect any fees.

The Board shall consider revocation or
suspension of a license or permit if it concludes
that lesser discipline is insufficient to protect
the public and that one or more of the following
factors applies:

(@)

(b)

(©)

(d)

()

(f)

()]

(h)

(i)

)

(k)

(N

Respondent's  ability to practice
dentistry or dental hygiene is
impaired;

Respondent is mentally, emotionally,
or physically unfit to practice dentistry
or dental hygiene;

Respondent is incompetent in the
practice of dentistry or dental hygiene;
Respondent's violations resulted in
harm or potential harm to a patient, the
public, or the dental or dental hygiene
profession;

Respondent failed to comply with a
prior Board decision or consent order;
Respondent's violations demonstrate a
lack of honesty, trustworthiness, or
integrity;

Respondent has been convicted of or
entered a plea of guilty or nolo
contendere to charges involving or
found liable for acts of fraud,
misrepresentation, deceit, or
fabrication that are not related to the
practice of dentistry or dental hygiene;
Respondent  committed  multiple
instances of negligence or malpractice
in treating patients, including failure to
complete treatment for patients;
Respondent distributed or caused to be
distributed any intoxicant, drug, or
narcotic for an unlawful purpose;
Respondent failed to participate in the
Board's investigation and disciplinary
process;

Respondent aided a person or entity
not licensed in this State to perform
acts or services that can only be
performed by a dentist or dental
hygienist licensed in this State; or
Respondent committed any acts set
forth in Sub-items (1)(a)-(c) of this
Rule.

In all cases, the Board shall consider the
following factors in imposing disciplinary
measures:

@
(b)

(©

(d)

(©)
®

(9)

(h)

0]

0)

(k)

U]

(m)

(n)

(0)

(p)

(a)
(n

effect of Respondent's violation on a
patient or other individuals;
Respondent's elevation of his or her
interest above that of the patient or the
public;

prior disciplinary violation in this
State or any other jurisdiction, or the
absence thereof;

dishonest or selfish motive for the
violation found, or the absence
thereof;

a pattern of violations;

Respondent's intent either to commit
acts where the harm or potential harm
is foreseeable or to cause the harm or
potential harm resulting from the acts;
vulnerability of patient or victim,
including violations involving an
individual with a physical or mental
disability or impairment;
Respondent's failure to respond, or
provide responsive documents or
information, to requests or subpoenas
from the Board during an investigation
or disciplinary proceedings;
Respondent's  obstruction of the
disciplinary proceedings by
intentionally failing to comply with
rules or orders of the Board;
Respondent's submission of false
evidence, false statements, or other
deceptive practices during the Board's
investigation or disciplinary process;
Respondent's refusal to acknowledge
the wrongful nature of the violation;
impact of Respondent's actions on the
patient's or public's perception of the
dental or dental hygiene profession;
Respondent's  efforts to  make
restitution or to rectify consequences
of misconduct, or the failure to do so;
Respondent's physical or mental
disability or impairment diagnosed by
a treating medical professional, which
condition caused or contributed to
Respondent's conduct in the opinion of
the treating medical professional;

the degree  of Respondent's
rehabilitation, if any, prior to any
disciplinary action;

Respondent's voluntary disclosure to
the Board or cooperative attitude
toward the proceedings;

Respondent's remorse for the violation
or effect of the violation;
Respondent's character or reputation
in the community;
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(s) remoteness in time of any prior
violation by or discipline of
Respondent;

® Respondent's degree of experience in
the practice of dentistry or dental
hygiene;

(u) imposition of other penalties or

sanctions on Respondent for the
conduct constituting the violation; and

(v) any other factors found to be pertinent
to the consideration of the discipline to
be imposed on Respondent.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-41; 90-229;
Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 16W .0102
HEALTH HYGIENISTS
(@) Prior to performing clinical procedures pursuant to G.S. 90-
233(a) under the direction of a licensed dentist, a public health
hygienist shall have:

TRAINING FOR PUBLIC

@ five years of experience in clinical dental
hygiene;

)] unexpired CPR certification, taken in a live
hands-on course;

3 six hours of continuing education in medical

emergencies each year in addition to the

minimum continuing education required for

license renewal; and

4) other training as may be required by the Oral

Health Section of the Department of Health and

Human Services.
(b) For purposes of this Rule, a minimum of 4,000 hours, the
majority of which must be spent performing prophylaxis or
periodontal debridement under the supervision of a licensed
dentist, shall be equivalent to five years experience in clinical
dental hygiene.
(c) Notwithstanding Subparagraph (a)(1) and Paragraph (b) of
this Rule, a public health hygienist may place sealants under the
direction of a licensed dentist if the hygienist has a minimum of
2,000 hours of clinical experience assisting in the placement of
sealants with the Oral Health Section of the Department of Health
and Human Services.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-233(a);

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 1, 1999;

Eff. April 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

ESE I S S S S S S S
CHAPTER 40 - BOARD OF OPTICIANS
21 NCAC 40 .0101 LOCATION AND FUNCTION

The NC State Board of Opticians (Board) is physically located at
3809 Computer Drive, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. Its mailing

address is Post Office Box 6758, Raleigh, North Carolina 27628-
6758.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-239;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977;

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; February 1, 1989; November 1,
1981;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 40 .0108 FEES

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-246; 90-249(a)(9);

Eff. November 1, 1981;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1997;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2004; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1989;
February 1, 1988; August 1, 1985;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 40 .0212
SUPERVISION
(@) The failure of a licensed optician who owns or has a
controlling interest in an optical place of business, or under whose
name an optical place of business or branch thereof is registered,
to provide direct supervision as set forth in G.S. 90-253 of an
unlicensed person working at such business or branch and
performing acts constituting the practice of opticianry shall
constitute a violation of G.S. 90-249.1(a)(2).

(b) The failure of an optical place of business to schedule a
licensed optician to provide direct supervision as set forth in G.S.
90-253 of an unlicensed person working at the business shall
constitute a violation of G.S. 90-249.1(a)(2).

(c) Optometrists and ophthalmologists, and individuals employed
by them, are exempt from the provision of direct supervision as
set forth in G.S. 90-253, except for those employees registered as
trainees with the Board when the optometry or ophthalmology
practice is registered with the Board as a training establishment.

DUTY TO PROVIDE DIRECT

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-239; 90-249.1(a)(2); 90-253;
Eff. February 1, 1988;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 40 .0302
FEES

(a) The fee for licensure examination participation as set forth in
G.S. 90-246 shall be remitted to the Board by cash, certified
check, or money order. There shall be no prorating of the fee.

(b) Licensure examination fees shall not be returned due to the
withdrawal of the applicant or failure to take the examination after
the fee has been accepted by the Board. If, during its review of an
application, the Board determines that information submitted is

LICENSURE EXAMINATION
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false, misleading, or deceptive, the Board shall deny the
application but retain any fees paid.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-245; 90-246;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; February 1, 1989; November 1,
1981;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 40 .0303 LICENSURE EXAMINATION
AND RE-EXAMINATION

(@ The licensure exam shall consist of Basic and Practical
components. An optician's license shall not be issued until a
passing score has been achieved on all components within three
years from the date of a passing score having been achieved on
one component.

(b) A candidate who has met the qualifications as defined in G.S.
90-237, and either 90-240 or 90-241(b) shall be admitted to a
Practical component of the licensure examination upon the
Board's receipt of an executed application and the examination fee
as set out in G.S. 90-246.

(c) The examination shall be administered at least twice yearly,
at a time and location specified by the Board or any of its
examination administration agents.

(d) Exam applications obtained by procedures outlined in Rule
.0104 of this Chapter must be executed and received by the Board
no later than 60 days prior to the opening of the exam registration
period specified by the Board or any of its examination
administration agents.

(e) If, during its review of an application, the Board determines
that a candidate has participated in a Practical exam without first
having their qualifications examined by the Board, the Board shall
deny any passing score obtained by the candidate and require
subsequent re-examination in the Practical.

(f) A participant who is unsuccessful in passing an exam
component may retake the failed components upon registration
and remittance of the examination fee being submitted to the
administration agent within the deadline specified by the agent.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-240; 90-249; 93B-8;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; February 1, 1989; February 1,
1988; August 1, 1985; July 1, 1983;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 40 .0320
INFORMATION
(@) The Board shall send each registrant an application to renew
licensure yearly. The application, credits for required education as
set forth in 21 NCAC 40 .0206, and the fee as set forth in G.S. 90-
246(3) shall be received in the Board office prior to renewal.

LICENSE RENEWAL

QD The application form shall provide the
registrant's current address, contact and
employment information, and an attestation to
the Board regarding the registrant's histories
concerning arrest and conviction, licensure
disciplinary actions, and civil or administrative
court proceedings related to occupational
licensure or the practice of opticianry.

(b) A registrant in current renewal status may apply to the Board
for a change to inactive status. Application for any status change
shall be made on the form provided by the Board.

(D) The application form shall provide the
registrant's current address and contact
information, and an attestation to the Board that
the registrant is working in a field other than
opticianry, or is not engaged in active
opticianry practice at the time of the status
change application.

) A registrant approved for inactive status shall
not practice as a licensed optician.

(A) A registrant in inactive practice status
shall not remain in inactive status if
found in practice. The registrant shall
apply for a change to active status as
set forth in this Rule, and is subject to
disciplinary action set forth in G.S. 90-
249.1(1).

(B) Registrants in inactive status shall
complete a renewal form for status
renewal and pay the yearly renewal fee
as set forth in G.S. 90-246(3) but are
not required to obtain annual
continuing education hours as set forth
in 21 NCAC 40. 0206.

(c) A registrant in inactive status may apply to the Board to
change to active status. Application for a status change shall be
made on a form provided by the Board.

1) The application form shall provide the

registrant's current address and contact
information.
2) Credits for having attended required education,

as set forth in 21 NCAC 40 .0206, the fee as set
forth in G.S. 90-246(3), and the application
form shall be received in the Board office and
approved prior to the registrant's resumption of
opticianry practice.
(d) The Board shall notify registrants of receipt of yearly
licensure renewal and of approval of status changes.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-239; 90-244(b);

Eff. November 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1989; February 1, 1988; August 1,
1985; July 1, 1983;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2019.
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission November 21, 2019 at 1711 New Hope
Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the
Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific
instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000. Anyone wishing to address
the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting.
Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1%t Vice Chair)
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins
Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2" Vice Chair)
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell
W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin

COMMISSION COUNSEL
Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079
Ashley Snyder (919) 431-3081

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
November 21, 2019 December 19, 2019
January 16, 2020 February 20, 2020

AGENDA
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION
THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 21, 2019 9:00 A.M.
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609

l. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 163A-159(e)
Il. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting

M. Follow-up matters

Department of Administration — 01 NCAC 05B .1520 (May)

Board of Elections - 08 NCAC 10B .0103 (May)

Commission for the Blind - T0A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder)

Department of Justice - 12 NCAC 02! .0306 (Reeder)

Private Protective Services Board — 14B NCAC 16 .0804 (Reeder)

Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0229, .0232, .0234, .0235, .0236, .0237, .0238,
.0239, .0240, .0255, .0256, .0257, .0258, .0701, .0730 (Reeder)

Environmental Management Commission - 15ANCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501,
.0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109,
.0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, .0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140,
.0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206
(May)

H. Board of Dietetics/Nutrition — 21 NCAC 17 .0101, .0303 (Reeder)

I.  Board of Funeral Service — 21 NCAC 34A .0201; 34B .0310; 34C .0305; 34D .0105, .0203, .0303 (Reeder)
J. State Board of Opticians — 21 NCAC 40 .0104, .0109, .0209, .0314, .0319, .0321, .0323, .0325 (Snyder)

V. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between September 23, 2019 through October 21, 2019
o Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (May)

Department of Health and Human Services (May)

Sheriff's Education and Training Standards Commission (Reeder)

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (Snyder)

Real Estate Commission (May)

Building Code Council (Reeder)

mmoow»

®
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VI

VILI.

Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting

Existing Rules Review
o Readoptions

Commission Business

o Next meeting: Thursday, December 19, 2019

Commission Review
Log of Permanent Rule Filings

September 23, 2019 through October 21, 2019

NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF

The rules in Chapter 15 concern the North Carolina aquariums including use of North Carolina aquariums (.0100);
scheduling of activities for group use (.0200); unauthorized use of facilities, fees (.0300); firearms, fires, smoking (.0400);
conduct, alcoholic beverages, pets, proper dress (.0500); commercial activities, solicitations, etc. (.0600); and
preservation of aquarium property (.0700).

Permissible Activities
Readopt with Changes*

Permission for Use
Readopt with Changes*
Lethal Instruments
Readopt with Changes*
Pets

Readopt with Changes*

Photographs
Readopt with Changes*

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF

The rules in Chapter 1 are from the Office of the Secretary.

07

07

07

07

07

NCAC 15 .0104

NCAC 15 .0105

NCAC 15 .0401

NCAC 15 .0504

NCAC 15 .0603

The rules in Subchapter 01E concern nondiscrimination procedures (.0100); section 504 grievance procedures (.0200);
and title VI of the civil rights act of 1964 grievance procedures (.0300).

Nondiscrimination Procedures

Readopt with Changes*

Complaints
Readopt/Repeal*

Investigation
Readopt/Repeal*

Written Determination
Readopt/Repeal*

Reconsideration
Readopt/Repeal*

Records
Readopt/Repeal*

Other Remedies
Readopt/Repeal*

Construction
Readopt/Repeal*

Applicability and Scope

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

NCAC 01E .0101

NCAC 01E .0102

NCAC 01E .0103

NCAC 01E .0104

NCAC 01E .0105

NCAC 01E .0106

NCAC 01E .0107

NCAC 01E .0108

NCAC 01E .0201
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Readopt/Repeal*

Complaints
Readopt/Repeal*

Investigation
Readopt/Repeal*

Written Determination
Readopt/Repeal*

Reconsideration
Readopt/Repeal*

Records
Readopt/Repeal*

Other Remedies
Readopt/Repeal*

Construction
Readopt/Repeal*

Applicability and Scope

Readopt/Repeal*

Complaints
Readopt/Repeal*

Investigation
Readopt/Repeal*
Resolution of Matters
Readopt/Repeal*
Reconsideration
Readopt/Repeal*

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

10A

NCAC 01E .0202

NCAC 01E .0203

NCAC 01E .0204

NCAC 01E .0205

NCAC 01E .0206

NCAC 01E .0207

NCAC 01E .0208

NCAC 01E .0301

NCAC 01E .0302

NCAC 01E .0303

NCAC 01E .0304

NCAC 01E .0305

Rules in Subchapter 10B are from the N. C. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission. These rules govern
the commission organization and procedure (.0100); enforcement rules (.0200); minimum standards for employment as
a justice officer (deputy or jailer) (.0300); certification of justice officers (.0400); standards and accreditation for justice
officers schools, training programs, and the instructors (.0500-.0900); certificate and awards programs for sheriffs,
deputies, justice officers, jailers, reserve officers, and telecommunicators (.1000-.1700); in-service training (.2000); and
firearms in-service training and re-qualification (.2100).

Certification and Training for School Resources Officers 12 NCAC 10B .0510

Amend*

Minimum Training Requirements

Amend*

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

12

NCAC 10B .2005

The rules in Subchapter 15A concern organization rules: policies and procedures including general provisions (.0100);
structure (.0200); publications, records, copies (.0300); rule-making (.0400); emergency rules (.0500); declaratory
rulings (.0600); personnel policies: commission (.0700); adjudication: contested cases (.0800); fiscal rules for local
boards (.0900); local abc board: personnel policies (.1000); local abc boards: relationship with state commission (.1100);
openings and discontinuance of stores (.1200); storage and distribution of spirituous liquors: commercial transportation
(-1300); purchase of alcoholic beverages by local boards (.1400); pricing of spirituous liquor (.1500); warehouse storage
of spirituous liquors (.1600); retail sales of alcoholic beverages (.1700); purchase transportation permits for individuals
and mixed beverages permittees (.1800); sales of liquor to mixed beverages permittees (.1900); local board training
(-2000); distillery permit holders' sale of spirituous liquor distilled on premises to visitors of the distillery for consumption
off the premises (.2100); special one-time permits (.2200); and homemade wine and malt beverage events (.2300).

Maintenance of Working Capital 14B NCAC 15A .0902
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Amend*

Deposits 14B NCAC 15A .0903
Amend*

Daily Deposits 14B NCAC 15A .0905
Amend*

Annual Independent Financial Audit 14B NCAC 15A .0907
Amend*

Employment Age Requirement 14B NCAC 15A .1003
Amend*

Personnel Manual 14B NCAC 15A .1006
Amend*

Common Interest 14B NCAC 15A .1101
Amend*

Local Rules 14B NCAC 15A .1102
Amend*

Cost of Audit 14B NCAC 15A .1103
Amend*

Approval of New Stores 14B NCAC 15A .1203
Amend*

New Stores Prohibited in Certain Areas 14B NCAC 15A .1204
Repeal*
Storage: Deliveries: Security 14B NCAC 15A .1301
Amend*

Commercial Transportation: Permit and Bond Required 14B NCAC 15A .1302
Amend*

Direct Shipments 14B NCAC 15A .1304
Amend*

Commemorative Bottles 14B NCAC 15A .1404
Amend*

Record Required 14B NCAC 15A .1405
Amend*

Payment 14B NCAC 15A .1406
Amend*

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 58 are from the North Carolina Real Estate Commission.

The rules in Subchapter 58A are rules relating to real estate brokers and salesmen including rules dealing with general
brokerage (.0100); application for license (.0300); examinations (.0400); licensing (.0500); real estate commission
hearings (.0600); petitions for rules (.0700); rulemaking (.0800); declaratory rulings (.0900); real estate education and
recovery fund (.1400); discriminatory practices prohibited (.1600); mandatory continuing education (.1700); limited
nonresident commercial licensing (.1800); post-licensure education (.1900); annual reports (.2000); brokers in military
service (.2100); and broker price opinions and comparative market analyses (.2200).

Attendance and Participation Requirements 21 NCAC 58A .1705
Amend*

Broker-in-Charge Course 21 NCAC 58A .1712
Adopt*
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BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

2018 NC Building code

Amend*

2018 NC Building Code/Membrane Penetrations
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Group R
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Foundation Anchorage
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Support by Steel Angle
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Mandatory Requirements
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Referenced Standards
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Freezing
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Tracer Wire
Amend*

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Freezing
Amend*

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Tracer Wire
Amend*

2018 NC Energy Conservation Code/Definitions
Amend*

2018 NC Energy Conservation Code/Mandatory Requirements
Amend*

2018 NC Energy Conservation Code/Referenced Standards
Amend*

2018 NC Fire Prevention Code/Suite/Room Identification
Amend*

2018 NC Fire Prevention Code/Group R
Amend*

2017 NC Electrical Code/Other than Dwelling Units
Amend*

2017 NC Electrical Code/Arc-Fault Interrupters
Amend*

2017 NC Electrical Code/Definitions
Amend*

2017 NC Electrical Code/Power Source(s) for Electric Moto...
Amend*

Table 602
714.4.2
903.2.8
R403.1.6
R703.8.2.1
N1106.2 (R406.2)
Chapter 44
P2603.5
P2604.1.4
305.4

306.2.4

R202

R406.2
Chapter 6[RE]
505.1.1
903.2.8
210.8(B)
406.4(D)(4)
695.2

695.3
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential.
Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/
If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case
decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000.

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Chief Administrative Law Judge

JULIAN MANN, I

Senior Administrative Law Judge
FRED G. MORRISON JR.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Melissa Owens Lassiter

Don Overby

J. Randall May

David Sutton

Tenisha Jacobs

A. B. Elkins 1l
Selina Malherbe

J. Randolph Ward
Stacey Bawtinhimer

Year | Code | Number Date Petitioner Respondent ALJ
Decision
Filed
Published
19 | DHR 00787 9/27/2019 FRAN Inc NC Department of Health and Human Sutton
Services, Division of Child
Development and Early Education
19 | DHR 02190 9/12/2019 David Simmons Division of Health Benefits Elkins
19 | DHR 02737 9/5/2019 William Edward DHHS Ward
Mills
19 | DOA 02825 9/5/2019 | The Wheel of Hope SECC Ward
Wayne L Lofton
19 | INS 01845 9/11/2019 Karen Vick Bates North Carolina State Health Plan Elkins
19 | OSP 01862 9/17/2019 Shenita Roberts Regina Garden Gaston County Malherbe
Department of Health & Human
Services
Unpublished
19 | ABC 03557 9/6/2019 NC Alcoholic Eusleydi Paulino T/A 3Y Smoke Shop May
Beverage Control
Commission
19 | ABC 04248 9/25/2019 NC Alcoholic Mohamed Musa Ahmed T/A Discount Jacobs
Beverage Control Tobacco
Commission
19 | BPP 02387 9/4/2019 Timothy David North Carolina Psychology Board Dr Jacobs
Spahr April Harris-Britt Keshawna Solomon
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19 | CPS 00281 9/20/2019 Wheeler E Lloyd NC Crime Victims Compensation Jacobs
Commission
19 | CPS 03051 9/23/2019 Tiffany Ann Liddie Shropshire Crime Victims Sutton
Robinson Kyle Compensation Commission
Storm Lee
(deceased victim)
19 | CRA 01434 9/3/2019 Takoby C Cofield NC Department of Health and Human Lassiter
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 | DCS 03887 9/3/2019 Sherry Massey NC Department of Health and Human Overby
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
19 | DCS 04172 9/20/2019 Daisy Castillo NC Department of Health and Human May
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
19 | DHR 00820 9/3/2019 Vintage Inn North Carolina Department of Health Overby
Retirement and Human Services, Division of
Community LLC Health Service Regulation
Licensee Facility
Vintage Inn
Retirement Village
License Number
HAL-058-010
19 | DHR 02824 9/30/2019 New Beginnings NC Department of Health and Human May
Youth Facility Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation, Mental Health Licensure
and Certification
19 | DHR 03156 9/9/2019 Kristie L Sluder NC Department of Health and Human Mann
Foster Mother Services, Division of Social Services
Child Wefare Child Protective Services
19 | DHR 03206 9/11/2019 Care Health NC Department of Health and Human Mann
Services 1 Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation, Mental Health Licensure
and Certification
19 | DHR 03355 9/4/2019 Brandon M NC Department of Health and Human May
Hudspeth Services, Food and Nutrition Services
19 | DHR 03447 9/27/2019 Robin Grant Lee NC Dept of Health and Human Service Lassiter
19 | DHR 03448 9/6/2019 Tity Hayes NC Department of Health and Human May
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
19 | DHR 03553 9/16/2019 Keara Starkes NC Department of Health and Human May
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
19 | DHR 03579 9/3/2019 | Life Stages Assisted Division of Health Service Regulation May
Living LLC Torey Adult Care Licensure Section
Morris
19 | DHR 03668 9/23/2019 Fortress F Saah Department of Health and Human Malherbe
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
19 | DHR 03778 9/16/2019 Geneva Andreal NC Dept of Health and Human Svcs, Lassiter
Davis Division of Child Development
19 | DHR 04372 9/24/2019 New Hope Home NC Department of Health and Human Malherbe
IIT MHL# 036-303 Services, Division of Health Service
Desareta Jones Regulation
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19 | DHR 04500 9/13/2019 Inreach Myisha NC Department of Health and Human Malherbe
Hayes Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
19 | DHR 04501 9/11/2019 Skyline Superette NC Dept Health & Human Services Malherbe
Aimee Kennedy
19 | DHR 04508 9/5/2019 Niquia D Hart Department of Health and Human Malherbe
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
18 | DOJ 07522 9/20/2019 Soomo Karnath NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs
19 | DOJ 00715 9/5/2019 Donald Wayne NC Criminal Justice Education and Elkins
Clanton Training Standards Commission
19 | DOJ 01473 9/20/2019 Jeremy Derell NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs
Herring
19 | DOJ 01474 9/23/2019 Donnell Thomas NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs
19 | DOJ 03747 9/20/2019 Devon Quinn NC Private Protective Services Board Jacobs
Covert
19 | DOJ 04082 9/23/2019 Robert Crowe NC Criminal Justice Education and Sutton
Training Standards Commission
19 | DOJ 04084 9/17/2019 Joseph M Stewart NC Criminal Justice Education and Lassiter
Training Standards Commission
19 | INS 04274 9/27/2019 John M McHugh Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Malherbe
Carolina
19 | UNC 03247 9/9/2019 Christopher University of North Carolina Hospitals Lassiter
Wellington
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