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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 



 IN ADDITION 
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NORTH CAROLINA RATE BUREAU PUBLIC NOTICE 

Notice is hereby given pursuant to North Carolina General Statute 58-36-120 that on August 14, 2019, the North Carolina Rate 

Bureau filed for an increase in rates as to Dwelling insurance policies under its jurisdiction.  Public notice of the Filing is being 

given in two newspapers with statewide distribution, and information is being posted on the websites of the North Carolina Rate 

Bureau and the North Carolina Department of Insurance.  The Commissioner of Insurance may or may not schedule and conduct 

a hearing with respect to the Filing. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 01 – DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Administration 

intends to adopt the rules cited as 01 NCAC 35B .0101-.0108, 

.0201-.0204, .0301-.0305, repeal the rules cited as 01 NCAC 35A 

.0101, .0305, .0309, and repeal through readoption the rules cited 

as 01 NCAC 35A .0102, .0103, .0201-.0205, .0301, .0302, .0304, 

.0306, and .0307. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncadmin.nc.gov/about-doa/administrative-rules-

review/proposed-rules-and-public-comment 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 15, 2019 

Time:  9:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. 

Location:  Conference room, Capehart-Crocker House, 424 

North Blount Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Rules scheduled for readoption 

pursuant to the periodic review set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3. 

Due to substantial reorganization, the Department is 

redesignating 01 NCAC 35 as 01 NCAC 35A and adopting new 

rules under Chapter 35B. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Shanon M. Gerger, NC 

Department of Administration, 1301 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1301; phone (984) 236-0008; fax (919) 733-

9571; email adminrules@doa.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 35 - STATE EMPLOYEES COMBINED 

CAMPAIGN 

 

SUBCHAPTER 35A – STATE EMPLOYEES COMBINED 

CAMPAIGN 

 

SECTION .0100 - PURPOSE AND ORGANIZATION 

 

01 NCAC 35A .0101 DEFINITIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 143-3.3; 143-340(26); 143B-10. 

 

01 NCAC 35A .0102 PURPOSE 

01 NCAC 35A .0103 ORGANIZATION OF THE 

CAMPAIGN 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 143B-10. 

 

SECTION .0200 - APPLICATION PROCESS AND 

SCHEDULE 

 

01 NCAC 35A .0201 APPLICATIONS 

01 NCAC 35A .0202 CONTENT OF APPLICATIONS 

01 NCAC 35A .0203 REVIEW AND SCHEDULE 

01 NCAC 35A .0204 RESPONSE 

01 NCAC 35A .0205 AGREEMENTS 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 143-3.3; 143B-10. 

 

SECTION .0300 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

01 NCAC 35A .0301 OTHER SOLICITATION 

PROHIBITED 

01 NCAC 35A .0302 COERCIVE ACTIVITIES 

PROHIBITED 

 

Authority G.S. 143-3.3; 143-340(26); 143B-10. 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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01 NCAC 35A .0304 METHODS OF GIVING AND 

TERMS OF CONTRIBUTION 

 

Authority G.S. 143-3.3; 143-340(26); 143B-10. 

 

01 NCAC 35A .0305 CAMPAIGN LITERATURE 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26); 143B-10. 

 

01 NCAC 35A .0306 DESIGNATION CAMPAIGN 

01 NCAC 35A .0307 DISTRIBUTION OF 

UNDESIGNATED FUNDS 

 

Authority G.S. 143-3.3; 143-340(26); 143B-10. 

 

01 NCAC 35A .0309 CAMPAIGN OPERATION 

 

Authority G.S. 143-3.3; 143-340(26); 143B-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 35B – STATE EMPLOYEES COMBINED 

CAMPAIGN 

 

SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATION 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply: 

(1) "Administrative Expenses" means expenses for 

reporting and informational activities related to 

business management and administrative 

activities which are neither educational, nor 

direct conduct of program services, nor fund-

raising services. 

(2) "Audit" or "Audited Financial Statement" shall 

mean an examination of financial statements of 

an organization by a Certified Public 

Accountant ("CPA"), conducted in accordance 

with generally accepted auditing standards, to 

determine whether, in the CPA's opinion, the 

statements conform with generally accepted 

accounting principles or, if applicable, another 

comprehensive basis of accounting. 

(3) "Campaign Contribution" means the amount of 

funds received by a contributor. 

(4) "Campaign Fiscal Year" shall be January 1 

through December 31 of each year. 

(5) "Campaign Solicitation Organization" or 

"Solicitation Organization" means the regional 

contacts for fund-raising. 

(6) "Campaign Solicitation Period" means the 

period between August 1 and December 31 of 

each year in which solicitations will be 

conducted. 

(7) "Charitable Organizations" means any 

Independent Organization or Federation 

approved to solicit contributions. 

(8) "Federation" or "Federated Group" means a 

group of voluntary charitable human health and 

welfare agencies organized for purposes of 

supplying common fund-raising, 

administrative, and management services to its 

constituent members. 

(9) "Fund-raising" or "Solicitation Activities" 

means the act of soliciting contributions, gifts, 

grants, etc., participating in federated 

campaigns; maintaining donor mailing lists; 

preparing and distributing fund-raising 

manuals, instructions and other materials; and 

conducting other activities involved with 

soliciting contributions. 

(10) "Fund-raising Consultant" means a consultant 

as defined in G.S. 131F-2(10). 

(11) "Fund-raising Expenses" means the total 

expense incurred from all activities that 

constitute, or are an integral and inseparable 

part of, an appeal for financial support. 

(12) "Fund-raising Solicitor" means a solicitor as 

defined in G.S. 131F-2(19). 

(13) "Independent Organization" or "Independent 

Charitable Organization" means a singular 

voluntary charitable agency. 

(14) "Member Charitable Organization" means a 

voluntary charitable agency that is organized 

under a Federation or Federated Group. 

(15) "Program Services Expenses" means expenses 

for those activities that the reporting 

organization was created to conduct which 

fulfill the purpose or mission for which the 

organization exists, exclusive of fund-raising 

and administrative expenses, and which, along 

with any activities commenced subsequently, 

form the basis of the organization's current 

exemption from tax. 

(16) "SECC Advisory Committee" or "Advisory 

Committee" means an appointed committee 

that serves as an application point for all 

Charitable Organizations applying to 

participate in the SECC. 

(17) "State Employee Combined Campaign" or 

"SECC" shall be the official name of the state 

employee charitable fund-raising drive. 

(18) "Statewide Campaign Organization" means the 

organization contracted to manage the SECC's 

administrative operations. 

(19) "Undesignated Funds" means solicitated funds 

received in which the designee is not stated or 

that has not been approved through the SECC 

application process. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0102 PURPOSE AND 

ORGANIZATION 

(a)  The purpose of the State Employee Combined Campaign 

("SECC") is to provide a single charitable campaign for all state 

employees to voluntarily contribute to approved Independent 

Organizations or Federations in accordance with the Rules of this 

Chapter. 

(b)  The SECC shall be comprised as follows: 
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(1) a Statewide Campaign Chair; 

(2) an Advisory Committee; 

(3) a Statewide Campaign Organization; and 

(4) a Campaign Solicitation Organization. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0103 STATEWIDE CAMPAIGN 

CHAIR 

(a)  The Statewide Campaign Chair shall be appointed each year 

by the Governor from one of the Executive Cabinet, Council of 

State, System of Community Colleges, or University 

Administration agencies. 

(b)  The Statewide Campaign Chair shall: 

(1) serve as director of the campaign; 

(2) enlist the support and cooperation of the head 

of each State department and university to 

promote the SECC's purpose; 

(3) set the dates of and approve the published 

materials for the SECC in accordance with Rule 

.0108 of this Chapter; 

(4) contract for the designation of the Statewide 

Campaign Organization; 

(5) appoint members the Advisory Committee; and 

(6) serve as Chair over Advisory Committee 

meetings. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0104 SECC ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

(a)  The SECC Advisory Committee members shall serve four-

year staggered terms and shall serve no more than two consecutive 

terms. In the event of a vacancy, the Statewide Campaign Chair 

shall appoint a replacement to fill an unexpired term. 

(b)  The SECC Advisory Committee shall meet at the discretion 

of the Statewide Campaign Chair and no fewer than four meetings 

per year shall be held. The Advisory Committee shall conduct 

business only when a quorum of one-third of the Committee 

membership, including the Statewide Campaign Chair, is present. 

(c)  The SECC Advisory Committee shall review the 

recommendations made by the Statewide Campaign Organization 

and shall accept or reject its recommendations. 

(d)  The SECC Advisory Committee shall review the Statewide 

Campaign Organization's annual work plan and a budget to cover 

all of the costs related to the SECC. 

(e)  An SECC Advisory Committee member shall not participate 

in any decision where that Committee member may have a 

conflict of interest or the appearance of a conflict of interest, either 

of a personal nature or with regard to the agency in which 

members is employed. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0105 STATEWIDE CAMPAIGN 

ORGANIZATION 

(a)  To be eligible for consideration as a potential Statewide 

Campaign Organization, the applicant shall: 

(1) have the ability to manage a state-wide fund-

raising campaign; 

(2) have an Audit to demonstrate financial 

accountability; 

(3) be a tax-exempt organization under the Internal 

Revenue Code; 

(4) verify a bond or have proof of insurance in an 

amount that covers the total amount of funds to 

be allocated to each of the respective Charitable 

Organizations; and 

(5) agree to comply with the terms of the Statewide 

Campaign Organization contract. 

(b)  The Statewide Campaign Organization shall conduct its own 

organization operations separately from their duties performed as 

the Statewide Campaign Organization for the SECC. 

(c)  The Statewide Campaign Organization shall: 

(1) serve as the financial administrator of the 

SECC; 

(2) provide staff to administer, maintain records, 

and provide central management functions for 

the SECC in consultation with the SECC 

Advisory Committee; 

(3) review Independent Organization and 

Federation applications for compliance with 

Rules .0201 and .0201 of this Chapter; 

(4) provide a centralized pledge processing service 

in order to process all pledge forms of state 

employees; 

(5) compile reports for the SECC Advisory 

Committee including; 

(A) a list of all accepted Independent 

Organizations and Federations; 

(B) a budget of anticipated Fund-raising, 

Administrative, and Program Services 

expenses; and 

(C) an annual work plan of goals and 

objectives. 

(6) print and distribute pledge forms, campaign 

report forms and collection envelopes to each 

Campaign Solicitation Organization; 

(7) collect pledge reports and envelopes from each 

Campaign Solicitation Organization; 

(8) notify the Independent Organization and 

Federation of contributions they are to receive 

no later than March 1 following the Campaign 

Solicitation Period; 

(9) transmit quarterly to the Independent 

Organization and Federation its portion of the 

charitable contributions; 

(10) maintain an accounting of all Campaign 

Contributions and submit an audited end of 

campaign report of the following: 

(A) amounts contributed and pledged; 

(B) number of contributions; and 

(C) amounts distributed to the 

participating Independent 

Organization or Federation.  

(11) coordinate annual statewide or regional training 

sessions for all Campaign Solicitation 

Organizations; 
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(12) serve as liaison to all participating Independent 

Organizations and Federations; 

(13) educate state employees in the services 

provided through their support; 

(14) deduct, before disbursements are made, direct 

costs of operating the SECC from the gross 

contributions and charge each Independent 

Organization or Federation its proportionate 

share of the operational costs as determined in 

Rule .0107 of this Chapter; and 

(15) document the total actual costs of the SECC, 

which shall not exceed 20 percent of gross 

contributions. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0106 CAMPAIGN SOLICITATION 

ORGANIZATION 

(a)  Each State department or university and shall have a 

Campaign Solicitation Organization within their agency. The 

Campaign Solicitation Organization shall ensure that solicitation 

activities are organized and conducted in accordance with Rule 

.0302 of this Chapter and shall: 

(1) assist in planning solicitation activities for their 

department or university; 

(2) act as liaison between state employees and the 

Statewide Campaign Organization by soliciting 

employees in their assigned area; 

(3) report all pledges and contributions to their 

campaign coordinators or department leaders; 

and 

(4) distribute and collect pledge forms. 

(b)  The Campaign Solicitation Organization shall insure that all 

donations are made on a voluntary basis, allow free choice, and 

prevent an impression of required giving. The Campaign 

Solicitation Organization may solicit contributions at employee 

meetings, events, through written or email communication and 

individual contact. Solicitation Activities may be conducted 

during working hours using methods that promote true voluntary 

giving. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0107 CONTRACT 

(a)  The SECC and Statewide Campaign Organization shall 

execute a three-year contract for services. The contract shall allow 

a charge for fund-raising, administrative, and program services 

expenses for the Statewide Campaign Organization. The contract 

shall be subject to approval by the Statewide Campaign Chair. 

(b)  The Statewide Campaign Organization shall recover from 

gross receipts of the SECC its expenses that shall reflect the actual 

costs of administering the campaign. Total actual costs of the 

campaign to be recovered pursuant to the contract shall be 

documented and shall not exceed 20 percent of budgeted gross 

receipts. The campaign expenses shall be shared proportionately 

by all the recipient organizations reflecting their percentage share 

of gross campaign receipts. No costs associated with the campaign 

shall be borne by the State. All costs shall be borne by the 

proceeds from the campaign. 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0108 CAMPAIGN LITERATURE 

(a)  The SECC shall provide a campaign resource guide designed 

by the SECC Advisory Committee and all publicity shall be 

subject to approval by the Statewide Campaign Chair. Publicity 

shall not favor one Independent Organization or Federation over 

another. 

(b)  The Statewide Campaign Chair shall approve, prior to 

distribution, the content of any campaign pledge or distribution 

card to ensure compliance with the State Controller's 

requirements for format and substance. 

(c)  The Independent Organization or Federation approved for 

inclusion in the SECC shall be listed in the campaign literature no 

more than one time unless: 

(1) it is in the Independent Organization or 

Federation's interest to more specifically direct 

their gifts to separate geographic locations; and 

(2) the Independent Organization or Federation 

maintains records that determine that 

contributions are designated to that geographic 

area accrue only to the benefit and purposes of 

the designated area. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

SECTION .0200 - APPLICATION PROCESS AND 

SCHEDULE 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0201 APPLICATIONS 

The Independent Organization or Federation shall apply annually 

to the Statewide Campaign Organization. Applications may be 

obtained via the SECC website at www.ncsecc.org. A Federation 

may submit an application on behalf of a Member Charitable 

Organization. Applications for inclusion into the SECC current 

Campaign Solicitation Period shall be received or postmarked by 

the Statewide Campaign Organization no later than March 1st to 

be included in the following fall campaign. If March 1st falls on 

a Sunday or federal holiday, the application shall be postmarked 

or received by the Statewide Campaign Organization by the end 

of the next day not a Sunday or federal holiday. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0202 CONTENT OF APPLICATION 

(a)  The Independent Organization or Federation seeking 

inclusion in the SECC shall submit an application to the Statewide 

Campaign Organization. The application shall include: 

(1) the name of the Independent Organization or 

Federation; 

(2) name and title of a contact person; 

(3) contact person's telephone number and email 

address; 

(4) calculation of fund-raising and administrative 

costs; and 

(5) a signed certification of compliance certifying 

compliance with the eligibility standards listed 

in Paragraph .0203 of this Rule. 
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(b)  The Independent Organization or Federation seeking 

inclusion in the SECC shall submit with the application the 

attached documentation: 

(1) a letter from the Independent Organization or 

Federation signed by a voting member of the 

Board of Directors requesting inclusion in the 

SECC; 

(2) a certification of compliance from the 

Independent Organization or Federation signed 

by Board of Director or agent authorized to sign 

documents on behalf of the organization. A 

Federation shall submit certifications for each 

of a Member Charitable Organization; 

(2) a description of services provided and service 

area of the organization; 

(3) documentation showing the percentage of the 

organization's total support and revenue that is 

allocated to administration and fund-raising, to 

include; 

(A) copies of the organization's annual 

report; 

(B) newsletters; 

(C) brochures; or 

(D) fact sheets. 

(4) a signed copy of the Independent Organization 

or Federation's IRS 990 form. If the 

Independent Organization or Federation is not 

required to file the form with the IRS, they shall 

submit pages 1 and 2 of the completed form 

with an annotation on the document that it is for 

SECC purposes only. The IRS 990 form shall 

cover the same fiscal year and, if revenue and 

expenses on the two documents differ, these 

amounts shall be reconciled on an 

accompanying statement by the CPA who 

completed the financial audit or review. The 

SECC shall reject any application from the 

Independent Organization or Federation with 

fund-raising and administrative expenses in 

excess of 25 percent of the total revenue, unless 

the organization demonstrates to the SECC 

Advisory Committee that its actual expenses for 

those purposes are reasonable under all the 

circumstances of the case and specifies steps 

the organization shall take to accomplish a 

reduction within the next fiscal year. The 

percentage shall be computed from the 

information on the IRS 990 form by adding the 

amount spent on management and general 

expenses to the amount spent on fund-raising 

and dividing the resulting total by total revenue; 

(5) a current copy of the Independent Organization 

or Federation's Charitable License issued by the 

NC Secretary of State; 

(6) a current copy of the certificate of existence, for 

domestic corporations, or certificate of 

authorization, for foreign corporations, issued 

by the NC Secretary of State; 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0203 CRITERIA FOR APPLICANTS 

The SECC Advisory Committee may approve an Independent 

Organization or Federation for inclusion if the following criteria 

is met: 

(1) be licensed through the North Carolina 

Secretary of State to solicit funds if required; 

(2) be able to maintain the confidentiality of the 

contributor list; 

(3) not permit payments of commissions, 

kickbacks, finders fees, percentages, bonuses, 

or overrides for fund-raising, and permit no 

paid solicitation by a fund-raising consultant or 

solicitor in the SECC; 

(4) have a written board policy that assures 

compliance with all State and Federal laws. 

Nothing herein denies eligibility to any 

organization that is otherwise eligible because 

it is organized by, on behalf of, or to serve 

persons of a particular race, color, religion, sex, 

age, national origin or physical or mental 

disability; 

(5) have contact information available to respond 

to inquiries from state employees, via email, 

telephone, or messaging; 

(6) not use SECC contributions for lobbying 

activities; and 

(7) have a board of directors that contains no less 

than three persons who meet at least three times 

a year. The board of directors shall maintain 

records of all decisions made and make those 

decisions available to the SECC for inspections 

if requested.  

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0204 APPLICATION REVIEW 

PROCESS 

(a)  The Statewide Campaign Organization shall review the 

application materials for compliance with Rule .0202 of this 

Chapter and report to the SECC Advisory Committee the status 

of this review within four weeks of the submission deadline 

provided in Rule .0201 of this Chapter. 

(b)  The SECC Advisory Committee shall reject an application for 

failing to comply with Rule .0202 of this Chapter or request 

additional information if necessary to make an eligibility 

determination under Rule .0203 of this Chapter. 

(c)  The Independent Organization or Federation shall submit the 

requested additional information within 10 days of the 

notification date. Failure to do so may result in the denial of 

eligibility. 

(d)  The Statewide Campaign Organization shall notify all 

Independent Organizations and Federations of the SECC 

Advisory Committee's decision within 60 days of the submission 

deadline. 

(e)  The Independent Organization or Federation may submit a 

written appeal to the Statewide Campaign Organization within 10 
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business days of receipt of notification of rejection by the SECC 

Advisory Committee. 

(f)  If after reconsideration, the SECC Advisory Committee 

upholds its rejection, the Independent Organization or Federation 

may commence a contested case by filing a petition under G.S. 

150B-23. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

SECTION .0300 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0301 OPERATING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The Independent Organization or Federation that receives the 

names and addresses of state employees shall segregate this 

information from all other lists of contributors and use the lists 

only for acknowledgement purposes. This segregated list shall not 

be sold or released to anyone outside of the recipient organization. 

(b)  The Independent Organization or Federation shall disburse 

contribution amounts on the basis of actual funds received rather 

than the amount pledged. 

(c)  The Federation shall be responsible for disbursing 

contributions to their Member Charitable Organizations on the 

basis of actual funds received rather than amounts pledged and 

shall disburse quarterly to Member Charitable Organizations. 

(d)  In the event the Independent Organization or Federation or 

any of its directors, officers, or employees are the subject of any 

investigation or legal proceeding by any federal, state or local law 

enforcement authority based upon its charitable solicitation 

activities, delivery program services, or use of funds, the 

organization shall inform the SECC within 10 days of its learning 

or being notified of the investigation or proceeding. The 

Independent Organization or Federation shall also inform the 

SECC of any investigation or proceeding with 10 day of the 

outcome. 

(f)  Any Independent Organization or Federation that fails to 

comply with this Rule or Rule .0203 of this Chapter may be 

declared ineligible by the SECC Advisory Committee and the 

remainder of the contributions shall be classified as Undesignated 

Funds and distributed pursuant to Rule .0305 of this Chapter. Any 

Member Charitable Organization that fails to comply with this 

Rule or Rule .0203 of this Chapter may be declared ineligible by 

the SECC Advisory Committee and the remainder of the 

contributions shall be redistributed in accordance with the 

Federation's policies. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0302 AUTHORIZED SOLICITATION 

METHODS 

(a)  All activities of the campaign shall be conducted in a manner 

that promotes a unified solicitation on behalf of all participants. 

While it is permissible to individually identify, describe or explain 

the Independent Organization or Federation in the campaign for 

informational purposes, no person affiliated with the campaign 

shall engage in any campaign activity that is construed to either 

advocate or criticize specific Charitable Organizations. The 

Independent Organization or Federation shall not engage in any 

solicitation activities at any state employee work site. 

Bloodmobiles or employee member associations shall be 

excluded from this restriction. 

(b)  No Campaign Solicitation Organization representative shall 

engage in the following: 

(1) provide nor use contributor lists for purposes 

other than then collection, forwarding, and 

acknowledgment of contributions. 

(2) set mandatory employee participation goals; 

(3) establish personal dollar goals or quotas; and 

(4) develop nor use lists of non-contributors. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0303 REVOCATION OF ELIGIBILITY 

Violations of Rules .0301 and .0302 of this Chapter by the 

Individual Organization or Federation may result in the 

revocation of eligibility of the organization. The Independent 

Organization or Federation shall be given notice of the violation 

and an opportunity to respond prior to any action being taken by 

the SECC Advisory Committee. The Independent Organization or 

Federation that is dissatisfied with the revocation of its eligibility 

may file an appeal to the SECC Advisory Committee within 10 

days of the notification postmark date. The Independent 

Organization or Federation that is dissatisfied with the appeal 

determination of the SECC Advisory Committee may commence 

a contested case by filing a petition under G.S. 150B-23. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0304 TERMS OF 

CONTRIBUTIONS/DESIGNATED CAMPAIGN 

(a)  If an employee chooses to contribute to an Independent 

Organization or Federation through the SECC, he or she shall 

designate an Independent Organization or Federation to receive 

the contribution that has been approved in accordance with Rule 

.0204 of this Chapter. A list of approved Charitable Organizations 

shall be provided to each employee by the SECC. Any funds 

designated to an organization that has not been approved shall be 

treated as Undesignated Funds and be distributed in accordance 

with Rule .0305 of this Chapter. 

(b)  Campaign Contributions may be made by payroll deduction, 

personal check or credit card. If an employee chooses to use the 

payroll deduction method of contribution, he or she shall agree to 

have the deduction continued for one year with equal amounts 

deducted from each pay period. If the employee authorized 

payroll deduction or credit card, the minimum amount of the 

deduction is five dollars per month. Payroll deductions shall be 

processed pursuant to G.S. 143B-426.40A. 

(c)  All contributions shall be a minimum of ten dollars annually 

per Independent Organization or Federation. If a designation does 

not comply with the minimum contribution it shall be treated as 

Undesignated Funds and be distributed in accordance with Rule 

.0305 of this Chapter. 

(d)  An employee shall not change the Independent Organization 

or Federation designated contribution outside of the Campaign 

Solicitation Period. 

(e)  When the total contribution for the Independent Organization 

or Federation is two hundred fifty dollars or less, the SECC 

Advisory Committee may direct the contribution be made in a 
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lump sum the first quarter to the recipient Independent 

Organization or Federation. Interest earnings shall be disbursed to 

the Independent Organization or Federation based on its 

proportionate share of the total gross contributions if an interest-

bearing account is established. Undesignated Funds shall be 

distributed in accordance with Rule .0305 of this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

01 NCAC 35B .0305 DISTRIBUTION OF 

UNDESIGNATED FUNDS 

Any monies not designated to an Independent Organization or 

Federation that has been approved to received contributions 

through the SECC shall be deemed Undesignated Funds. 

Undesignated Funds shall be distributed to an Independent 

Organization or Federation based on its percentage of total 

designated funds during the current Campaign Solicitation Period 

after total actual costs of the campaign are recovered pursuant to 

Rule .0105 of this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-340(26). 

 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Medical Care Commission intends to 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 

13B .1902, .1918, .1925, .3001, .3101, .3302, .5412, .5413 and 

readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 

13B .1915, .3110, .3204, .3205, and .3303. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 1, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Brown Building, Room 104, 801 

Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapter 10A NCAC 13B, Licensing 

of Hospitals, these 13 proposed readoption rules were part of the 

40 rules determined as “Necessary With Substantive Public 

Interest,” requiring readoption. With input from stakeholders, 

eight rules are proposed for readoption with substantive changes 

to update standard of practice, clarify language, address Rules 

Review Commission objections, and reference General Statutes. 

Five rules are proposed for readoption without substantial 

changes to address technical changes in the rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13B – LICENSING OF HOSPITALS 

 

SECTION .1900 - SUPPLEMENTAL RULES FOR THE 

LICENSURE OF THE SKILLED: INTERMEDIATE: 

ADULT CARE HOME BEDS IN A HOSPITAL 

 

10A NCAC 13B .1902 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout this Section, 

unless text otherwise clearly indicates to the contrary: 

(1) "Accident" means something occurring by 

chance or without intention which that has 

caused physical or mental harm to a patient, 

resident resident, or employee. 

(2) "Administer" means the direct application of a 

drug to the body of a patient by injection, 

inhalation, ingestion or other means. as defined 

in G.S. 90-87. 

(3) "Administrator" means the person who has 

authority for and is responsible to the governing 

board for the overall operation of a facility. 

(4) "Brain injury long-term care" is defined as an 

interdisciplinary, intensive maintenance 

program for patients who have incurred brain 
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damage caused by external physical trauma and 

who have completed a primary course of 

rehabilitative treatment and have reached a 

point of no gain or progress for more than three 

consecutive months. Services are provided 

through a medically supervised 

interdisciplinary process and are directed 

toward maintaining the individual at the 

optimal level of physical, cognitive cognitive, 

and behavioral functioning. 

(5) "Capacity" means the maximum number of 

patient or resident beds which the facility is 

licensed to maintain at any given time. This 

number shall be determined as follows: 

(a) Bedrooms shall have minimum square 

footage of 100 square feet for a single 

bedroom and 80 square feet per patient 

or resident in multi-bedded rooms. 

This minimum square footage shall 

not include space in toilet rooms, 

washrooms, closets, vestibules, 

corridors, and built-in furniture. 

(b) Dining, recreation and common use 

areas available shall total no less than 

25 square feet per bed for skilled 

nursing and intermediate care beds 

and no less than 30 square feet per bed 

for adult care home beds. Such space 

must be contiguous to patient and 

resident bedrooms. 

(6)(5) "Combination Facility" means any hospital 

with nursing home beds which that is licensed 

to provide more than one level of care such as a 

combination of intermediate care and/or and 

skilled nursing care and adult care home care. 

(7) "Convalescent Care" means care given for the 

purpose of assisting the patient or resident to 

regain health or strength. 

(8)(6) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(9)(7) "Director of Nursing" means the nurse who has 

authority and direct responsibility for all 

nursing services and nursing care. 

(10)(8) "Dispense" means preparing and packaging a 

prescription drug or device in a container and 

labeling the container with information 

required by state and federal law. Filling or 

refilling drug containers with prescription drugs 

for subsequent use by a patient is "dispensing". 

Providing quantities of unit dose prescription 

drugs for subsequent administration is 

"dispensing". as defined in G.S. 90-87. 

(11)(9) "Drug" means substances: 

(a) recognized in the official United 

States Pharmacopoeia, official 

National Formulary, or any 

supplement to any of them; 

(b) intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, 

mitigation, treatment, or prevention of 

disease in man or other animals; 

(c) intended to affect the structure or any 

function of the body of man or other 

animals, i.e., substances other than 

food; and 

(d) intended for use as a component of any 

article specified in (a), (b), or (c) of 

this Subparagraph; but does not 

include devices or their components, 

parts, or accessories. as defined in G.S. 

90-87. 

(12)(10) "Duly Licensed" means holding a current and 

valid license as required under the General 

Statues of North Carolina. 

(13) "Existing Facility" means a licensed facility; or 

a proposed facility, proposed addition to a 

licensed facility or proposed remodeled 

licensed facility that will be built according to 

plans and specifications which have been 

approved by the department through the 

preliminary working drawings stage prior to the 

effective date of this Rule. 

(14) "Exit Conference" means the conference held at 

the end of a survey, inspection or investigation, 

but prior to finalizing the same, between the 

department's representatives who conducted the 

survey, inspection or investigation and the 

facility administration representative(s). 

(15)(11) "Incident" means an intentional or 

unintentional action, occurrence or happening 

which that is likely to cause or lead to physical 

or mental harm to a patient, resident resident, or 

employee. 

(16)(12) "Licensed Practical Nurse" means a nurse who 

is duly licensed as a practical nurse under G.S. 

90, Article 9A. as defined in G.S. 90-171.30 or 

G.S. 90-171.32. 

(17) "Licensee" means the person, firm, partnership, 

association, corporation or organization to 

whom a license has been issued. 

(18)(13) "Medication" means drug as defined in (12) 

Item (9) of this Rule. 

(19) "New Facility" means a proposed facility, a 

proposed addition to an existing facility or a 

proposed remodeled portion of an existing 

facility that is constructed according to plans 

and specifications approved by the department 

subsequent to the effective date of this Rule. If 

determined by the department that more than 

one half of an existing facility is remodeled, the 

entire existing facility shall be considered a new 

facility. 

(20)(14) "Nurse Aide" means any individual providing 

nursing or nursing-related services to patients in 

a facility, and is not a licensed health 

professional, a qualified dietitian or someone 

who volunteers to provide such services 
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without pay, and who is listed in a nurse aide 

registry approved by the Department. 

(21)(15) "Nurse Aide Trainee" means an individual who 

has not completed an approved nurse aide 

training course and competency evaluation and 

is demonstrating knowledge, while performing 

tasks for which that they have been found 

proficient in by an instructor. These tasks shall 

be performed under the direct supervision of a 

registered nurse. The term does not apply to 

volunteers. 

(22)(16) "Nursing Facility" means that portion of a 

nursing home certified under Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act (Medicaid) as in 

compliance with federal program standards for 

nursing facilities. It is often used as 

synonymous with the term "nursing home" 

home," which is the usual prerequisite level for 

state licensure for nursing facility (NF) 

certification and Medicare skilled nursing 

facility (SNF) certification. 

(23)(17) "Nurse in Charge" means the nurse to whom 

duties for a specified number of patients and 

staff for a specified period of time have been 

delegated, such as for Unit A on the 7-3 or 3-11 

shift. 

(24)(18) "On Duty" means personnel who are awake, 

dressed, and responsive to patient needs and 

physically present in the facility performing 

assigned duties. 

(25)(19) "Patient" means any person admitted for care to 

a skilled nursing or intermediate care facility. 

(26)(20) "Physician" means a person licensed under G.S. 

Chapter 90, Article 1 to practice medicine in 

North Carolina. as defined in G.S. 90-9.1 or 

G.S. 90-9.2. 

(27)(21) "Qualified Dietitian" means a person who 

meets the standards and qualifications 

established by the Committee on Professional 

Registration of the American Dietetic 

Association included in "Standards of Practice" 

seven dollars and twenty-five cents ($7.25) or 

"Code of Ethics for the Profession of Dietetics" 

two dollars and fifteen cents ($2.15), American 

Dietetic Association, 216 W. Jackson Blvd., 

Chicago, IL 60606-6995. as defined in 42 CFR 

483.60(a)(1), herein incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

Electronic copies of 42 CFR 483.60 can be 

obtained free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=1260800a39929487f0ca55b0ab5e71

0b&mc=true&tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title42/42cfrv5

_02.tpl#0. 

(28)(22) "Registered Nurse" means a nurse who is duly 

licensed as a registered nurse under as defined 

in G.S. 90, Article 9A. 

(29)(23) "Resident" means any person admitted for care 

to an adult care home. as defined in G.S.131D-

2.1. 

(30) "Sitter" means an individual employed to 

provide companionship and social interaction 

to a particular resident or patient, usually on a 

private duty basis. 

(31)(24) "Supervisor-in-Charge" means a duly licensed 

nurse to whom supervisory duties have been 

delegated by the Director of Nursing. 

(32)(25) "Ventilator dependence" means physiological 

dependency by a patient on the use of a 

ventilator for more than eight hours a day. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .1915 ADULT CARE HOME 

PERSONNEL REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 13B .1918 TRAINING 

(a)  A licensed facility shall provide for all patient or resident care 

employees a planned orientation and continuing education 

program emphasizing patient or resident assessment and 

planning, activities of daily living, personal grooming, 

rehabilitative nursing or restorative care, other patient or resident 

care policies and procedures, patients' rights, and staff 

performance expectations. Attendance and subject matter covered 

shall be documented for each session session, retained in 

accordance with policy established by the facility, and available 

for licensure inspections. 

(b)  The administrator shall assure that each employee is 

employees are oriented within the first week of employment to the 

facility's philosophy and goals. 

(c)  Each employee Employees shall have specific on-the-job 

training as necessary for the employee to properly perform his 

their individual job assignment. 

(d)  Unless otherwise prohibited, a nurse aide trainee may be 

employed to perform the duties of a nurse aide for a period of time 

not to exceed four months. During this period of time the nurse 

aide trainee shall be permitted to perform only those tasks for 

which minimum acceptable that competence has been 

demonstrated and documented on a skills check-off record. Job 

applicants for nurse aide positions who were formerly qualified 

nurse aides but have not been gainfully employed as such for a 

period of 24 consecutive months or more shall be employed only 

as nurse aide trainees and must re-qualify as nurse aides within 

four months of hire by successfully passing an approved 

competency evaluation. Any individual, nursing home, or 

education facility may offer Department approved vocational 

education for nursing home nurse aides. An accurate record Nurse 

aide I shall meet the training and competency evaluation standards 

in 10A NCAC 13O .0301, incorporated herein by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. A record of nurse 

aide qualifications shall be maintained for each nurse aide used by 

a facility and shall be retained in the general personnel files of the 

facility. facility in accordance with policy established by the 

facility. 
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(e)  The curriculum content required for nurse aide education 

programs shall be subject to approval by the Division of Health 

Service Regulation and shall include, as a minimum, basic nursing 

skills, personal care skills, cognitive, behavioral and social care, 

basic restorative services, and patients' rights. Successful course 

completion shall be determined by passing a competency 

evaluation test. The minimum number of course hours shall be 75 

of which at least 20 hours shall be classroom and at least 40 hours 

of supervised practical experience. The initial orientation to the 

facility shall be exclusive of the 75 hour training program. 

Competency evaluation shall be conducted in each of the 

following areas: 

(1) Observation and documentation, 

(2) Basic nursing skills, 

(3) Personal care skills, 

(4) Mental health and social service needs, 

(5) Basic restorative services, and 

(6) Residents' Rights. 

(f)  Successful course completion and skill competency shall be 

determined by competency evaluation approved by the 

Department. Commencing July 1, 1989, nurse aides who had 

formerly been fully qualified under nurse aide training 

requirements may re-establish their qualifications by successfully 

passing a competency evaluation test. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79; 42 U.S.C. 1396 r (b)(5). 

 

10A NCAC 13B .1925 REQUIRED SPACES 

The total space requirements shall be those set forth in Rule 

.1902(5) of this Section. Physical therapy and occupational 

therapy space shall not be included in these totals.  

(a)  A combination or nursing facility shall meet the following 

requirements for bedrooms, dining, recreation, and common use 

areas: 

(1) single bedrooms shall be provided with not less 

than 100 square feet of floor area; 

(2) bedrooms with more than one bed shall be 

provided with not less than 80 square feet of 

floor area per bed; 

(3) dining, recreation, and common use areas shall: 

(A) total not less than 25 square feet of 

floor area per bed for skilled nursing 

and intermediate care beds; 

(B) total not less than 30 square feet of 

floor area per bed for adult care home 

beds; and 

(C) be contiguous to patient and resident 

bedrooms. 

(b)  Floor space for the following rooms, areas, and furniture shall 

not be included in the floor areas required by Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule: 

(1) toilet rooms; 

(2) vestibules; 

(3) bath areas; 

(4) closets; 

(5) lockers; 

(6) built-in furniture; 

(7) movable wardrobes; 

(6) corridors; and 

(7) areas for physical and occupational therapy. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79. 

 

SECTION .3000 - GENERAL INFORMATION 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3001 DEFINITIONS 

Notwithstanding Section .1900 of this Subchapter, The the 

following definitions shall apply throughout this Section 

Subchapter unless the context clearly indicates to the contrary: 

(1) "Appropriate" means suitable or fitting, or 

conforming to standards of care as established 

by professional organizations. 

(2) "Authority having jurisdiction" means the 

Division of Health Service Regulation. 

(3) "Certified Dietary Manager" or "CDM" means 

an individual who is certified by the Certifying 

Board of the Dietary Managers and meets the 

standards and qualification as referenced in the 

"Dietary Manager Training Program 

Requirements." These standards include any 

subsequent amendments and editions of the 

referenced manual. Copies of the "Dietary 

Manager Training Program Requirements" may 

be purchased for fifteen dollars ($15.00) from 

the Dietary Managers Association, 406 Surry 

Woods Dr., St. Charles, IL 60174. obtained free 

of charge at https://www.cbdmonline.org/. 

(4) "Competence" means the state or quality of 

being able to perform specific functions well; 

skill; ability. 

(5) "Comprehensive" means covering completely, 

inclusive; large in scope or content. 

(6) "Construction documents" means final building 

plans and specifications for the construction of 

a facility that a governing body submits to the 

Construction Section for approval as specified 

in Rule .3102 of this Subchapter. 

(7) "Construction Section" means the Construction 

Section of the Division of Health Service 

Regulation. 

(6)(8) "Continuous" means ongoing or uninterrupted, 

24 hours per day. 

(7)(9) "CRNA" means a Certified Registered Nurse 

Anesthetist as credentialed by the Council on 

Certification of Nurse Anesthetists and 

recognized by the Board of Nursing in 21 

NCAC 36 .0226. defined in G.S. 90-

171.21(d)(4). 

(8)(10) "Credentialed" means that the individual 

having a given title or position has been 

credited with the right to exercise official 

responsibilities to provide specific patient care 

and treatment services, within defined limits, 

based primarily upon the individual's license, 

education, training, experience, competence, 

and judgment. 

(9)(11) "Department" means the Department of Health 

and Human Services. 
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(10)(12) "Dietetics" means the integration and 

application of principles derived from the 

science of nutrition, biochemistry, physiology, 

food and management and from behavioral and 

social sciences to achieve and maintain optimal 

nutritional status. as defined in G.S. 90-352. 

(11)(13) "Dietitian" means an individual who is licensed 

according to as defined in G.S. 90, Article 25, 

or is registered by the Commission on Dietetic 

Registration (CDR) of the American Dietetic 

Association (ADA) according to the standards 

and qualifications as referenced in the second 

edition of the "Accreditation/Approval Manual 

for Dietetic Education Programs", "The 

Registration Eligibility Application for 

Dietitians" and the "Continuing Professional 

Education" and subsequent amendments or 

editions of the reference material. Copies of the 

"Accreditation/Approval Manual for Dietetic 

Education Programs" may be purchased for 

twenty-one dollars and ninety-five cents 

($21.95) plus three dollars ($3.00) minimum 

shipping and handling from ADA 216 W. 

Jackson Blvd., Chicago, IL 60606-9-6995. 

Article 25. 

(12)(14) "Dietetic Technician Registered" or "DTR" 

means an individual who is registered by the 

Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) of 

the American Dietetic Association (ADA) 

according to the standards and qualifications as 

referenced in the second edition of the 

"Accreditation/Approval Manual for Dietetic 

Education Programs" which is incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies of the 

"Accreditation/Approval Manual for Dietetic 

Education Programs" may be purchased for 

twenty-one dollars and ninety-five cents 

($21.95) plus three dollars ($3.00) minimum for 

shipping and handling from the ADA 216 W. 

Jackson Blvd., Chicago, IL 60606-9-6995. as 

defined in G.S. 90-352. 

(13)(15) "Direct Supervision" means the state of being 

under the immediate control of a supervisor, 

manager, or other person of authority. 

(14)(16) "Division" means the Division of Health 

Service Regulation. 

(15)(17) "Facility" means a hospital as defined in G.S. 

131E-76. 

(16)(18) "Free standing facility" means a facility that is 

physically separated from the primary hospital 

building or separated by a three hour fire 

containment wall. 

(17)(19) "Full-time equivalent" means a unit of measure 

of employee work time that is equal to the 

number of hours that one full-time employee 

would work during one calendar year if the 

employee worked eight hours a day, five days a 

week, and 52 weeks a year; i.e. 2,080 hours per 

year. 

(18)(20) "Governing body" means the authority as 

defined in G.S. 131E-76. 

(19)(21) "Imaging" means a reproduction or 

representation of a body or body part for 

diagnostic purposes by radiologic intervention 

that may include conventional fluoroscopic 

exam, magnetic resonance, nuclear or radio-

isotope scan. 

(20)(22) "Invasive procedure" means a procedure 

involving puncture or incision of the skin, 

insertion of an instrument or foreign material 

into the body (excluding venipuncture and 

intravenous therapy). 

(21)(23) "LDRP" (labor, delivery, recovery, post-

partum) means a specific single occupancy 

obstetrical use room counted as a licensed bed. 

(22)(24) "License" means formal permission to provide 

services as granted by the State. 

(23)(25) "Medical staff" means the formal organization 

that is comprised of all of those individuals who 

have sought and obtained clinical privileges in 

a facility. Those members of the medical staff 

who regularly and routinely admit patients to a 

facility constitute the active medical staff. 

(24)(26) "Mission statement" means a written statement 

of the philosophy and beliefs of the 

organization or hospital as approved by the 

governing body. 

(25)(27) "Neonate" means the newborn from birth to one 

month. 

(26)(28) "NP" means a Nurse Practitioner as defined in 

G.S. 90-6; G.S. 90-8.2, 90-18(14) 90-18(14), 

and 90-18.2. 

(27)(29) "Nurse executive" means a registered nurse 

who is the director of nursing services or a 

representative of decentralized nursing 

management staff. as defined in 21 NCAC 36 

.0109. 

(28)(30) "Nurse midwife" means a Certified Nurse 

Midwife as defined in G.S. 90, Article 10. G.S. 

90-171.21(4). 

(29)(31) "Nursing facility" means that portion of a 

hospital that is approved to provide skilled 

nursing care. as defined in G.S. 131E-116(2). 

(30)(32) "Nursing staff" means the registered nurses, 

licensed practical nurses, nurse aides, and 

others under nurse supervision, who provide 

direct patient care. The term also includes 

clerical personnel who work in clinical areas 

under nurse supervision. 

(33) "Nutrition and Dietetic Technician Registered" 

means as defined by the Academy of Nutrition 

and Dietetics. A copy of the requirements can 

be obtained at 

https://www.eatrightpro.org/about-us/what-is-

an-rdn-and-dtr/what-is-a-nutrition-and-

dietetics-technician-registered at no cost. 
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(31)(34) "Nutrition therapy" ranges from intervention 

and counseling on diet modification to 

administration of specialized nutrition therapies 

as determined necessary to manage a condition 

or treat illness or injury. Specialized nutrition 

therapies include supplementation with medical 

foods, enteral and parenteral nutrition. 

Nutrition therapy integrates information from 

the nutrition assessment with information on 

food and other sources of nutrients and meal 

preparation consistent with cultural background 

and socioeconomic status. 

(32)(35) "Observation bed" means a bed used for no 

more than 24-hours, to evaluate and determine 

the condition and disposition of a patient and is 

not considered a part of the hospital's licensed 

bed capacity. 

(33)(36) "Patient" means any person receiving 

diagnostic or medical services at a hospital. 

(34)(37) "Pharmacist" means a person licensed 

according to G.S. 90, Article 4A, by the N.C. 

Board of Pharmacy to practice pharmacy. as 

defined in G.S. 90-85.3. 

(35)(38) "Physical Rehabilitation Services" means any 

combination of physical therapy, occupational 

therapy, speech therapy therapy, or vocational 

rehabilitation. 

(36)(39) "Physician" means a person licensed according 

to G.S. 90, Article 1, by the N.C. Board of 

Medical Examiners to practice medicine. as 

defined in G.S.90-9.1 or G.S. 90-9.2. 

(37)(40) "Provisional license" means a hospital license 

recognizing significantly less than full 

compliance with the licensure rules. 

(38)(41) "Qualified" means having complied with the 

specific conditions for employment or the 

performance of a function. 

(39)(42) "Reference" means to use in consultation to 

obtain information. 

(40)(43) "Special Care Unit" means a designated unit or 

area of a hospital with a concentration of 

qualified professional staff and support services 

that provide intensive or extra ordinary care on 

a 24-hour basis to critically ill patients; these 

units may include but are not limited to Cardiac 

Care, Medical or Surgical Intensive Care Unit, 

Cardiothoracic Intensive Care Unit, Burn 

Intensive Care Unit, Neurologic Intensive Care 

Unit or Pediatric Intensive Care Unit. that 

includes a critical care unit, an intermediate 

care unit, or a pediatric care unit. 

(41)(44) "Unit" means a designated area of the hospital 

for the delivery of patient care services. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79. 

 

SECTION .3100 - PROCEDURE 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3101 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  An application for licensure shall be submitted to the Division 

prior to a license being issued or patients admitted. 

(b)  An existing facility shall not sell, lease lease, or subdivide a 

portion of its bed capacity without the approval of the Division. 

(c)  Application forms may be obtained by contacting the 

Division. 

(d)  The Division shall be notified in writing 30 days prior to the 

occurrence of any of the following: 

(1) addition or deletion of a licensable service; 

(2) increase or decrease in bed capacity; 

(3) change of chief executive officer; 

(4) change of mailing address; 

(5) ownership change; or 

(6) name change. 

(e)  Each application shall contain the following information: 

(1) legal identity of applicant; 

(2) name or names under which used to present the 

hospital or services are presented to the public; 

(3) name of the chief executive officer; 

(4) ownership disclosure; 

(5) bed complement; 

(6) bed utilization data; 

(7) accreditation data; 

(8) physical plant inspection data; and 

(9) service data. 

(f)  A license shall include only facilities or premises within a 

single county. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3110 ITEMIZED CHARGES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .3200 - GENERAL HOSPITAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3204 TRANSFER AGREEMENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3205 DISCHARGE OF MINOR OR 

INCOMPETENT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .3300 - PATIENT'S BILL OF RIGHTS 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3302 MINIMUM PROVISIONS OF 

PATIENT'S BILL OF RIGHTS 

This Rule does not apply to patients in licensed nursing facility 

beds since these individuals are granted rights pursuant to G.S. 

131E-117. A patient in a facility subject to this Rule has the 

following rights: 

(1) A patient has the right to respectful care given 

by competent personnel. 

(2) A patient has the right, upon request, to be 

given the name of his attending physician, the 

names of all other physicians directly 

participating in his or her care, and the names 
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and functions of other health care persons 

having direct contact with the patient. 

(3) A patient has the right to privacy concerning his 

or her own medical care program. Case 

discussion, consultation, examination, and 

treatment are considered confidential and shall 

be conducted discreetly. 

(4) A patient has the right to have all records 

pertaining to his medical care treated as 

confidential except as otherwise provided by 

law or third party contractual arrangements. 

(5)(4) A patient has the right to know what facility 

rules and regulations apply to his or her conduct 

as a patient. 

(6)(5) A patient has the right to expect emergency 

procedures to be implemented without 

unnecessary delay. 

(7)(6) A patient has the right to good quality care and 

high professional standards that are continually 

maintained and reviewed. 

(8)(7) A patient has the right to full information in 

laymen's terms, concerning his diagnosis, 

treatment and prognosis, including information 

about alternative treatments and possible 

complications. When it is not possible or 

medically advisable to give such information to 

the patient, the information shall be given on his 

or her behalf to the patient's designee. 

(9)(8) Except for emergencies, a physician must 

obtain necessary informed consent prior to the 

start of any procedure or treatment, or both. 

treatment. 

(10)(9) A patient has the right to be advised when a 

physician is considering the patient as a part of 

a medical care research program or donor 

program. Informed consent must shall be 

obtained prior to actual participation in such a 

program and the program. The patient or legally 

responsible party, may, at any time, party may 

refuse to continue in any such program to which 

that he or she has previously given informed 

consent. An Institutional Review Board (IRB) 

may waive or alter the informed consent 

requirement if it reviews and approves a 

research study in accord accordance with 

federal regulations for the protection of human 

research subjects including U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services (HHS) regulations 

under 45 CFR Part 46 and U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration (FDA) regulations under 21 

CFR Parts 50 and 56. For any research study 

proposed for conduct under an FDA "Exception 

from Informed Consent Requirements for 

Emergency Research" or an HHS "Emergency 

Research Consent Waiver" in which that 

waives informed consent is waived but 

community consultation and public disclosure 

about the research are required, any facility 

proposing to be engaged in the research study 

shall also must verify that the proposed research 

study has been registered with the North 

Carolina Medical Care Commission. When the 

IRB reviewing the research study has 

authorized the start of the community 

consultation process required by the federal 

regulations for emergency research, but before 

the beginning of that process, notice of the 

proposed research study by the facility shall be 

provided to the North Carolina Medical Care 

Commission. The notice shall include: 

(a) the title of the research study; 

(b) a description of the research study, 

including a description of the 

population to be enrolled; 

(c) a description of the planned 

community consultation process, 

including currently proposed meeting 

dates and times; 

(d) an explanation of the way that people 

choosing not to participate in 

instructions for opting out of the 

research study may opt out; study; and 

(e) contact information including mailing 

address and phone number for the IRB 

and the principal investigator. 

The Medical Care Commission may publish all 

or part of the above information in the North 

Carolina Register, and may require the 

institution proposing to conduct the research 

study to attend a public meeting convened by a 

Medical Care Commission member in the 

community where the proposed research study 

is to take place to present and discuss the study 

or the community consultation process 

proposed. 

(11)(10) A patient has the right to refuse any drugs, 

treatment or procedure offered by the facility, 

to the extent permitted by law, and a physician 

shall inform the patient of his or her right to 

refuse any drugs, treatment or procedures and 

of the medical consequences of the patient's 

refusal of any drugs, treatment or procedure. 

(12)(11) A patient has the right to assistance in obtaining 

consultation with another physician at the 

patient's request and expense. 

(13)(12) A patient has the right to medical and nursing 

services without discrimination based upon 

race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, 

gender identity, national origin or source of 

payment. 

(14)(13) A patient who does not speak English shall have 

access, when possible, access to an interpreter. 

(15)(14) A facility shall provide a patient, or patient 

designee, upon request, access to all 

information contained in the patient's medical 

records. A patient or his or her designee has the 

right to have all records pertaining to his or her 

medical care treated as confidential except as 
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otherwise provided by law or third party 

contractual arrangements. A patient's access to 

medical records may be restricted by the 

patient's attending physician. If the physician 

restricts the patient's access to information in 

the patient's medical record, the physician shall 

record the reasons on the patient's medical 

record. Access shall be restricted only for sound 

medical reason. A patient's designee may have 

access to the information in the patient's 

medical records even if the attending physician 

restricts the patient's access to those records. 

(16)(15) A patient has the right not to be awakened by 

hospital staff unless it is medically necessary. 

(17)(16) The patient has the right to be free from 

duplication of medical and nursing procedures 

as determined by the attending physician. 

(18)(17) The patient has the right to medical and nursing 

treatment that avoids unnecessary physical and 

mental discomfort. 

(19)(18) When medically permissible, a patient may be 

transferred to another facility only after he or 

his next of kin or other legally responsible 

representative has received complete 

information and an explanation concerning the 

needs for and alternatives to such a transfer. 

The facility to which that the patient is to be 

transferred must first have accepted the patient 

for transfer. 

(20)(19) The patient has the right to examine and receive 

a detailed explanation of his bill. 

(21)(20) The patient has a right to full information and 

counseling on the availability of known 

financial resources for his health care. 

(22)(21) A patient has the right to be informed upon 

discharge of his or her continuing health care 

requirements following discharge and the 

means for meeting them. 

(23)(22) A patient shall not be denied the right of access 

to an individual or agency who is authorized to 

act on his or her behalf to assert or protect the 

rights set out in this Section. 

(24)(23) A patient has the right to be informed of his 

rights at the earliest possible time in the course 

of his or her hospitalization. 

(25)(24) A patient has the right to designate visitors who 

shall receive the same visitation privileges as 

the patient's immediate family members, 

regardless of whether the visitors are legally 

related to the patient. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-75; 131E-79; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13B .3303 PROCEDURE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .5400 - COMPREHENSIVE INPATIENT 

REHABILITATION 

 

10A NCAC 13B .5412 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY PATIENTS 

Inpatient rehabilitation facilities providing services to persons 

patients with traumatic brain injuries shall meet the requirements 

in this Rule in addition to those identified in this Section. provide 

staff to meet the needs of patients in accordance with the patient 

assessment, treatment plan, and physician orders. 

(1) Direct-care nursing personnel staffing ratios 

established in Rule .5408 of this Section shall 

not be applied to nursing services for traumatic 

brain injury patients in the inpatient, 

rehabilitation facility or unit. The minimum 

nursing hours per traumatic brain injury patient 

in the unit shall be 6.5 nursing hours per patient 

day. At no time shall direct care nursing staff be 

less than two full-time equivalents, one of 

which shall be a registered nurse. 

(2) The inpatient rehabilitation facility or unit shall 

employ or provide by contractual agreements 

physical, occupational or speech therapists in 

order to provide a minimum of 4.5 hours of 

specific or combined rehabilitation therapy 

services per traumatic brain injury patient day. 

(3)(1) The facility shall provide special facility or 

have access to special equipment to meet the 

needs for patients of patients with traumatic 

brain injury, including specially designed 

wheelchairs, tilt tables and standing tables. 

injury. 

(4) The medical director of an inpatient traumatic 

brain injury program shall have two years 

management in a brain injury program, one of 

which may be in a clinical fellowship program 

and board eligibility or certification in the 

medical specialty of the physician's training. 

(5)(2) The facility shall provide the consulting 

services of a neuropsychologist. 

(6)(3) The facility shall provide continuing education 

in the care and treatment of brain injury patients 

for all staff. 

(7)(4) The size of the brain injury program shall be 

adequate to support a comprehensive, dedicated 

ongoing brain injury program. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79. 

10A NCAC 13B .5413 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR SPINAL CORD INJURY PATIENTS 

Inpatient rehabilitation facilities providing services to persons 

patients with spinal cord injuries shall meet the requirements in 

this Rule in addition to those identified in this Section. provide 

staff to meet the needs of patients in accordance with the patient 

assessment, treatment plan, and physician orders. 

(1) Direct-care nursing personnel staffing ratios 

established in Rule .5408 of this Section shall 

not be applied to nursing services for spinal 

cord injury patients in the inpatient 

rehabilitation facility or unit. The minimum 

nursing hours per spinal cord injury patient in 

the unit shall be 6.0 nursing hours per patient 
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day. At no time shall direct care nursing staff be 

less than two full-time equivalents, one of 

which shall be a registered nurse. 

(2) The inpatient rehabilitation facility or unit shall 

employ or provide by contractual agreements 

physical, occupational or speech therapists in 

order to provide a minimum of 4.0 hours of 

specific or combined rehabilitation therapy 

services per spinal cord injury patient day. 

(3)(1) The facility shall provide special facility or 

have access to special equipment to meet the 

needs of patients with spinal cord injury, 

including specially designed wheelchairs, tilt 

tables and standing tables. injury. 

(4) The medical director of an inpatient spinal cord 

injury program shall have either two years 

experience in the medical care of persons with 

spinal cord injuries or six months minimum in 

a spinal cord injury fellowship. 

(5)(2) The facility shall provide continuing education 

in the care and treatment of spinal cord injury 

patients for all staff. 

(6)(3) The facility shall provide specific staff training 

and education in the care and treatment of 

spinal cord injury. 

(7)(4) The size of the spinal cord injury program shall 

be adequate to support a comprehensive, 

dedicated ongoing spinal cord injury program. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-79. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Medical Care Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 10A NCAC 13F .0202, .0204, 

.0208, .0212, repeal the rule cited as 10A NCAC 13F .0209, 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 

13G .0202, .0204, .0208, .0212, and repeal through readoption 

the rules cited as 10A NCAC 13G .0209 and .0213. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 30, 2019 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Brown Building, Room 104, 801 

Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapters 10A NCAC 13F, Licensing 

of Adult Care Homes of Seven or More Beds, and 10A NCAC 13G, 

Licensing of Family Care Homes, six proposed readoption rules 

were part of the 97 total rules determined as “Necessary With 

Substantive Public Interest,” requiring readoption. With input 

from stakeholders, substantive changes have been proposed to 

four rules for readoption and four rules proposed for amendment 

to update the process that has been followed in the regulation of 

licensed Adult Care Homes and Family Care Homes in N.C. Most 

of the rules for both types of assisted living residences, adult care 

homes of seven beds or more and family care homes, are the same 

with the primary exception of staffing and physical plant 

requirements since they serve the same population based on need 

for care and services. Therefore, the 10A NCAC 13F rules are 

being proposed for amendment concurrently that correspond to 

the 10A NCAC 13G rules being proposed for readoption with 

substantive changes to assure this traditional consistency. Rules 

10A NCAC 13F .0209 and 10A NCAC 13G .0209 are not 

necessary because the requirements of the rules have been 

incorporated into other rules proposed for amendment in the 

Subchapter, therefore they are proposed for readoption as a 

repeal. Rule 10A NCAC 13G .0213 is not necessary and is 

proposed for readoption as a repeal because G.S. 150B-22 and 

G.S. 150B-23 govern the criteria for requirements in the Rule. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13F – LICENSING OF ADULT CARE 

HOMES OF SEVEN OR MORE BEDS 

 

SECTION .0200 – LICENSING 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0202 THE LICENSE 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in Rule .0203 of this Section, 

G.S. 131D-2.4, the Department shall issue an adult care home 

license to any person who submits the application material 

according to Rule .0204 of this Section and the Department 

determines that the applicant complies with the provisions of all 

applicable State adult care home licensure statutes and rules. rules 

of this Subchapter. All applications for a new license shall 

disclose the names of individuals who are co-owners, partners, or 

shareholders holding an ownership or controlling interest of five 

percent or more of the applicant entity. 

(b)  The license shall be conspicuously posted in a public place in 

the home. 

(c)  When a provisional license is issued, issued according to G.S. 

131D-2.7, the administrator shall post the provisional license and 

a copy of the notice from the Division of Health Service 

Regulation identifying the reasons for it, conspicuously in a public 

place in the home and in place of the full license. 

(d)  The license is not transferable or assignable. 

(e)  An adult care home shall be licensed only as an adult care 

home and not for any other level of care or licensable entity or 

service. The license shall be terminated when the home is licensed 

to provide a higher level of care or a combination of a higher level 

of care and adult care home level of care. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.7; 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 

143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0204 APPLYING FOR A LICENSE TO 

OPERATE A FACILITY NOT CURRENTLY LICENSED 

(a)  Prior to submission of a license application, all Certificate of 

Need requirements shall be met according to G.S. 131E, Article 

9. 

(b)  In applying for a license to operate an adult care home to be 

constructed or renovated renovated, or in an existing building that 

is not currently licensed, the applicant shall submit the following 

to the Division of Health Service Regulation: 

(1) the Initial License Application which that is 

available on the internet website, online at 

http://facility-services.state.nc.us/gcpage.htm 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/fcchgapp.

pdf at no cost and includes the following: or the 

Division of Health Service Regulation, Adult 

Care Licensure Section, 2708 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2708; 

(A) contact person, facility site and 

mailing addresses, and administrator; 

(B) operation disclosure including names 

and contact information of the 

licensee, management company, and 

building owner; 

(C) ownership disclosure including names 

and contact information of owners, 

principals, affiliates, shareholders, and 

members; and 

(D) bed capacity including that of any 

special care unit for Alzheimer's and 

Related Disorders; 

(2) plans and specifications as required in Section 

.0300 of this Subchapter and a construction 

review fee according to G.S. 131E-267; G.S. 

131E-267 to be calculated and invoiced by the 

DHSR Construction Section; 

(3) an approved fire and building safety inspection 

report from the local fire marshal to be 

submitted upon completion of construction or 

renovation; 

(4) an approved sanitation report or a copy of the 

permit to begin operation from the sanitation 

division of the county health department to be 

submitted upon completion of construction or 

renovation; 

(5) a nonrefundable license fee as required by G.S. 

131D-2(b)(1); G.S. 131D-2.5; and 

(6) a certificate of occupancy or certification of 

compliance from the local building official to 

be submitted upon completion of construction 

or renovation. 

Note: Rule .0207 of this Section applies to obtaining a license to 

operate a currently licensed facility. 

(c)  A pre-licensing survey shall be made by program consultants 

of the Division of Health Service Regulation and an adult home 

specialist of the county department of social services. Issuance of 

an adult care home license shall be based on the following: 

(1) successful completion and approval of 

Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(6) of this 

Rule; 

(2) the Division of Health Service Regulation's 

Construction Section's recommendation of 

licensure based on compliance with rules in 

Section .0300 of this Subchapter; 

(3) a compliance history review of the facility and 

its principals and affiliates according to G.S. 

131D-2.4; 

(4) approval by the Adult Care Licensure Section 

of the facility's operational policies and 

procedures based on compliance with the rules 

of this Subchapter; and 

(5) the facility's demonstration of compliance with 

Adult Care Home statutes and rules of this 

Subchapter as determined by a pre-licensing 

survey of the facility by the Adult Care 

Licensure Section. 

(d)  The Division of Health Service Regulation shall provide to 

the applicant written notification of the decision to license or not 

to license the adult care home. The Adult Care Licensure Section 

shall notify in writing the applicant licensee and the county 

department of social services of the decision to license or not to 

license the adult care home based on compliance with adult care 
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home statutes and the rules of this Subchapter within 14 days from 

the decision to license or not to license the facility. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.5; 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0208 RENEWAL OF LICENSE 

(a)  The license shall be renewed annually, licensee shall file a 

license renewal application annually on a calendar year basis 

except as otherwise provided in Rule .0209 of this Subchapter, if 

the licensee submits an application for renewal on the forms 

provided by the Department at no cost with a nonrefundable 

annual license fee according to G.S. 131D-2(b)(1) and the 

Department determines that the licensee complies with the 

provisions of all applicable State adult care home licensure 

statutes and rules. When violations of licensure rules or statutes 

are documented and have not been corrected prior to expiration of 

license, the Department shall either approve a continuation or 

extension of a plan of correction, issue a provisional license, or 

revoke the license. G.S. 131D-2.5. The renewal application form 

includes the following: 

(1) contact person, facility site and mailing address, 

and administrator; 

(2) operation disclosure including names and 

contact information of the licensee, 

management company, and building owner; 

(3) ownership disclosure including names and 

contact information of owners, principals, 

affiliates, shareholders, and members holding 

an ownership or controlling interest of five 

percent or more of the applicant entity; 

(4) bed capacity including that of any special care 

unit for Alzheimer's and Related Disorders; and 

(5) population and census data. 

(b)  All applications for license renewal shall disclose the names 

of individuals who are co-owners, partners or shareholders 

holding an ownership or controlling interest of five percent or 

more of the applicant entity.  

(b)  In determining whether to renew a license under G.S. 131D-

2.4, the Department shall take into consideration at least the 

following: 

(1) the compliance history of the applicant facility 

with the provisions of all State adult care home 

licensure statutes and rules of this Subchapter; 

(2) the compliance history of the owners, 

principals, and affiliates of the applicant facility 

in operating other adult care homes in the State; 

(3) the extent to which the conduct of a related 

facility, its owners, principals, and affiliates is 

likely to affect the quality of care at the 

applicant facility; and 

(4) the hardship on residents of the applicant 

facility if the license is not renewed. 

(c)  When violations of licensure rules or statutes are documented 

by the Department and have not been corrected by the facility 

prior to license expiration, the Department shall either approve a 

continuation or extension of a plan of correction, issue a 

provisional license, or deny the license. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.5; 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

10A NCAC 13F .0209 CONDITIONS FOR LICENSE 

RENEWAL 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0212 DENIAL OR REVOCATION OF 

LICENSE 

(a)  A license may be denied by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation for failure to comply with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Denial of a license by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation shall be effected by mailing to the applicant, applicant 

licensee, by registered mail, a notice setting forth the particular 

reasons for such action. 

(c)  A license may be revoked by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation in accordance with G.S. 131D-2(b) G.S. 131D-2.7(b) 

and G.S. 131D-29. 

(d)  When a facility receives a notice of revocation, the 

administrator shall inform each resident and the resident's 

responsible person in writing of the notice and the basis on which 

it was issued. issued within five calendar days of the notice of 

revocation being received by the licensee of the facility. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.7; 131D-2.16; 131D-4.3; 131D-29; 143B-

165. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13G – LICENSING OF FAMILY CARE 

HOMES 

 

SECTION .0200 - LICENSING 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0202 THE LICENSE 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in Rule .0203 of this 

Subchapter, G.S. 131D-2.4, the Department of Health and Human 

Services shall issue a family care home license to any person who 

submits an application on the forms provided by the Department 

with a non-refundable license fee as required by G.S. 131D-

2(b)(1) the application material according to Rule .0204 of this 

Section and the Department determines that the applicant 

complies with the provisions of all applicable State family care 

adult care home licensure statutes and rules. rules of this 

Subchapter. All applications for a new license shall disclose the 

names of individuals who are co-owners, partners, or shareholders 

holding an ownership or controlling interest of five percent or 

more of the applicant entity. 

(b)  The license shall be conspicuously posted in a public place in 

the home. 

(c)  The license shall be in effect for 12 months from the date of 

issuance unless revoked for cause, voluntarily or involuntarily 

terminated, or changed to provisional licensure status. 

(d)  A provisional license may be issued in accordance with G.S. 

131D-2(b). 

(e)(c)  When a provisional license is issued, issued according to 

G.S. 131D-2.7, the administrator shall post the provisional license 

and a copy of the notice from the Division of Health Service 

Regulation identifying the reasons for it, conspicuously in a public 

place in the home in place of the full license. 

(f)(d)  The license is not transferable or assignable. 

(g)(e)  A family care home shall be licensed only as a family care 

home and not for any other level of care or licensable entity or 
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service. The license shall be terminated when the home is licensed 

to provide a higher level of care or a combination of a higher level 

of care and family care home level of care. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.7; 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 

143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0204 APPLYING FOR A LICENSE TO 

OPERATE A HOME NOT CURRENTLY LICENSED 

(a)  An application for a license to operate a family care home for 

adults in an existing building where no alterations are necessary 

as determined by the Construction Section of the Division of 

Health Service Regulation or a family care home which that is to 

be constructed, added to to, or renovated shall be made at the 

county department of social services. services in the county where 

the licensed family care home will be located. 

(b)  If during the study of the administrator and the home, it does 

not appear that the qualifications of the administrator or 

requirements for the home can be met, the county department of 

social services shall so inform the applicant, indicating in writing 

the reason and give the applicant an opportunity to withdraw the 

application. Upon the applicant's request, the application shall be 

completed and submitted to the Division of Health Service 

Regulation for consideration. 

(c)(b)  The applicant shall submit the following forms and reports 

through material to the county department of social services for 

submission to the Division of Health Service Regulation: 

Regulation within ten business days of receipt by the county 

department of social services: 

(1) the Initial Licensure Application; Application 

that is available online at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/acchgapp

.pdf at no cost and includes the following: 

(A) contact person, facility site and 

mailing addresses, and administrator; 

(B) operation disclosure including names 

and contact information of licensee, 

management company, and building 

owner; 

(C) ownership disclosure including names 

and contact information of owners, 

principals, affiliates, shareholders, and 

members; and 

(D) bed capacity; 

(2) an approval letter from the local zoning 

jurisdiction for the proposed location; 

(3) a photograph of each side of the existing 

structure and at least one of each of the interior 

spaces if an existing structure; 

(4) a set of blueprints or a floor plan of each level 

indicating the following: 

(A) the layout of all rooms, rooms; 

(B) the room dimensions (including 

closets), closets); 

(C) the door widths (exterior, bedroom, 

bathroom bathroom, and kitchen 

doors), doors); 

(D) the window sizes and window sill 

heights, heights; 

(E) the type of construction, construction; 

(F) the use of the basement and attic, attic; 

and 

(G) the proposed resident bedroom 

locations including the number of 

occupants and the bedroom and 

number (including the ages) of any 

non-resident who will be residing 

within the home; 

(5) a cover letter or transmittal form prepared by 

the adult home specialist of the county 

department of social services identifying stating 

the following: 

(A) the prospective home site address, 

address; 

(B) the name of the contact person 

(including address, telephone 

numbers, fax numbers), email 

address); and 

(C) the name and address of the applicant 

(if different from the contact person) 

and the total number and the expected 

evacuation capability of the residents; 

person); and 

(6) a construction review fee according to G.S. 

131E-267. a non-refundable license fee as 

required by G.S. 131D-2.5. 

(d)  The Construction Section of the Division of Health Service 

Regulation shall review the information and notify the applicant 

and the county department of social services of any required 

changes that must be made to the building to meet the rules in 

Section .0300 of this Subchapter along with the North Carolina 

State Building Code. At the end of the letter there shall be a list of 

final documentation required from the local jurisdiction that must 

be submitted upon completion of any required changes to the 

building or completion of construction. 

(e)  Any changes to be made during construction that were not 

proposed during the initial review shall require the approval of the 

Construction Section to assure that licensing requirements are 

maintained. 

(f)  Upon receipt of the required final documentation from the 

local jurisdiction, the Construction Section shall review the 

information and may either make an on-site visit or approve the 

home for construction by documentation. If all items are met, the 

Construction Section shall notify the Adult Care Licensure 

Section of the Division of Health Service Regulation of its 

recommendation for licensure. 

(g)  Following review of the application, references, all forms and 

the Construction Section's recommendation for licensure, a pre-

licensing visit shall be made by a consultant of the Adult Care 

Licensure Section. The consultant shall report findings to the 

Division of Health Service Regulation which shall notify, in 

writing, the applicant and the county department of social services 

of the decision to license or not to license the family care home. 

(c)  Issuance of a family care home license shall be based on the 

following: 

(1) successful completion and approval of 

Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(6) of this 

Rule; 
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(2) the Division of Health Service Regulation's 

Construction Section's recommendation of 

licensure based on compliance with rules in 

Section .0300 of this Subchapter; 

(3) a compliance history review of the facility and 

its principals and affiliates according to G.S. 

131D-2.4; 

(4) approval by the Adult Care Licensure Section 

of the facility's operational policies and 

procedures based on compliance with the rules 

of this Subchapter; and 

(5) the facility's demonstration of compliance with 

Adult Care Home statutes and rules of this 

Subchapter as determined by a pre-licensing 

survey of the facility by the Adult Care 

Licensure Section. 

(d)  The Adult Care Licensure Section shall notify in writing the 

applicant licensee and the county department of social services of 

the decision to license or not to license the adult care home based 

on compliance with adult care home statutes and the rules of this 

Subchapter within 14 days from the decision to license or not to 

license the facility. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.5; 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0208 RENEWAL OF LICENSE 

(a)  The license shall be renewed annually, licensee shall file a 

license renewal application annually on a calendar year basis 

except as otherwise provided in Rule .0209 of this Subchapter, if 

the licensee submits an application for renewal on the forms 

provided by the Department at no cost and the Department 

determines that the licensee complies with the provisions of all 

applicable State adult care home licensure statutes and rules. 

When violations of licensure rules or statutes are documented and 

have not been corrected prior to expiration of license, the 

Department shall either approve a continuation or extension of a 

plan of correction, issue a provisional license, or revoke the 

license for cause. with a nonrefundable annual license fee 

according to G.S. 131D-2.5. The renewal application includes the 

following: 

(1) contact person, facility site and mailing address, 

and administrator; 

(2) operation disclosure including names and 

contact information of the licensee, 

management company, and building owner; 

(3) ownership disclosure including names and 

contact information of owners, principals, 

affiliates, shareholders, and members holding 

an ownership or controlling interest of five 

percent or more of the applicant entity; 

(4) bed capacity; and 

(5) population and census data. 

(b)  All applications for license renewal shall disclose the names 

of individuals who are co-owners, partners or shareholders 

holding an ownership or controlling interest of 5% or more of the 

applicant entity. 

(b)  In determining whether to renew a license under G.S. 131D-

2.4, the Department shall take into consideration at least the 

following: 

(1) the compliance history of the applicant facility 

with the provisions of all State adult care home 

licensure statutes and rules of this Subchapter; 

(2) the compliance history of the owners. principals 

and affiliates of the applicant facility in 

operating other adult care homes in the State; 

(3) the extent to which the conduct of a related 

facility, its owners, principals, and affiliates is 

likely to affect the quality of care at the 

applicant facility; and 

(4) the hardship on residents of the applicant 

facility if the license is not renewed. 

(c)  When violations of licensure rules or statutes are documented 

by the Department and have not been corrected by the facility 

prior to license expiration, the Department shall either approve a 

continuation or extension of a plan of correction, issue a 

provisional license, or deny the license. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0209 CONDITIONS FOR LICENSE 

RENEWAL 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0212 DENIAL AND REVOCATION OF 

LICENSE 

(a)  A license may be denied by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation for failure to comply with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Denial of a license by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation shall be effected by mailing to the applicant, applicant 

licensee, by registered mail, a notice setting forth the particular 

reasons for such action. 

(c)  A license may be revoked by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation in accordance with G.S. 131D-2(b) G.S. 131D-2.7(b) 

and G.S. 131D-29. 

(d)  When a facility receives a notice of revocation, the 

administrator shall inform each resident and his the resident's 

responsible person in writing of the notice and the basis on which 

it was issued. issued within five calendar days of the notice of 

revocation being received by the licensee of the facility. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.7; 131D-2.16; 131D-4.3; 131D-29; 143B-

165. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0213 APPEAL OF LICENSURE 

ACTION 

 

Authority 131D-2.4; 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 150B-23. 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to adopt the rule cited as 12 NCAC 09B .0314 and amend 

the rule cited as 12 NCAC 09B .0302. 
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Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/getdoc/1d3d0430-a32c-4878-8757-

39fffedc474a/Public-Hearing-November-2019.aspx 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 20, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Wake Technical Community College Public Safety 

Training Center, 321 Chapanoke Rd., Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Specify the requirements for out-

of-state applicants for General Instructor Certification. Specify 

the certification requirements for Diversion Investigators and 

Supervisors. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Charminique D. Williams, PO 

Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602; phone (919) 779-8206; email 

cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 20, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 

TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTORS 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0302 GENERAL INSTRUCTOR 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  A General Instructor Certification issued after December 31, 

1984, shall be limited to those topics that are not expressly 

incorporated under the Specialized Instructor Certification 

category. Individuals certified under the general instructor 

category shall not teach any of the subjects specified in Rule .0304 

of this Subchapter, entitled "Specialized Instructor Certification." 

To qualify for issuance of General Probationary Instructor 

Certification, an applicant shall demonstrate a combination of 

education and experience in criminal justice and proficiency in the 

instructional process by meeting the following requirements: 

(1) Present documentary evidence showing that the 

applicant: 

(A) is a high school, college, or university 

graduate or has received a high school 

equivalency credential as recognized 

by the issuing state; and 

(B) has acquired four years of practical 

experience as a Criminal Justice 

Officer, an administrator or specialist 

in a field directly related to the 

criminal justice system, or as an 

employee of a Criminal Justice 

Agency; 

(2) Present evidence showing completion of a 

Commission-accredited instructor training 

program or an equivalent instructor training 

course. course utilizing the Instructional 

Systems Design model, an international model 

with applications in education, military 

training, and private enterprise; and 

(3) Achieve a passing score on the comprehensive 

written examination administered by the 

Commission, as required by Rule .0413(d) of 

this Subchapter. 

(b)  Applications for General Probationary Instructor Certification 

shall be submitted to the Standards Division within 60 sixty days 

of the date the applicant passed the state comprehensive 

examination administered at the conclusion of the Commission-

accredited instructor training program. program or an equivalent 

instructor training course use the Instructional Systems Design 

model, an international model with applications in education, 

military training, and private enterprise. 

(c)  Persons having completed a Commission-accredited 

instructor training course or an equivalent instructor training 

course using the Instructional Systems Design model, an 

international model with applications in education, military 

training, and private enterprise, and not having made application 

within 60 days of completion of the course shall complete a 

subsequent Commission-accredited instructor training course or 

an equivalent instructor training course utilizing the Instructional 

Systems Design model, an international model with applications 

in education, military training, and private enterprise, in its 

entirety. 

(d)  Applicants for Speed Measuring Instrument Instructor 

courses shall possess probationary or General Instructor 

Certification. 
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(c)  Persons having completed a Commission-accredited training 

course and not having submitted the application within 60 days of 

the date the applicant passed the state comprehensive examination 

shall complete a subsequent Commission-accredited instructor 

training course in its entirety. 

(d)  Out-of-State applicants having completed an equivalent 

instructor training course and who are certified or have been 

certified within two years prior to the submission of application 

to the Standards Division as an instructor in a Criminal Justice 

Program, as verified by the respective State Police Officer 

Standards and Training (POST) or Federal Law Enforcement 

Training Center (FLEC) or military POST organization, are 

eligible to apply for Probationary Instructor Certification upon 

achieving a passing score of 75 percent on the comprehensive 

written examination administered by the Commission, as required 

by Rule .0413(d) of this Subchapter. The application shall be 

submitted to the Standards Division within sixty days of the date 

the applicant passed the state comprehensive examination. 

(e)  The Standards Division staff shall evaluate the out-of-state 

applicant's combined training and experience to determine if the 

combined training and experience is substantially equivalent to or 

exceeds the requirements for Probationary Instructor certification 

as prescribed in Subparagraphs (a)(1)-(2) of this Rule and 

includes course topics in instructional leadership, liability, 

teaching adults, presentation styles and written lesson plan 

preparation. 

(f)  Applicants for Speed Measuring Instrument Instructor courses 

shall possess probationary or General Instructor Certification. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0314 CERTIFICATION OF 

DIVERSION INVESTIGATORS AND SUPERVISORS 

(a)  The diversion training courses for investigators and 

supervisors shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills 

and knowledge to proficiently perform the duties of a law 

enforcement Diversion Investigator or Supervisor. The diversion 

training course for investigators shall be 24 classroom hours. The 

diversion training course for supervisors shall be administered in 

a four hour online training course. To be certified as a Diversion 

Investigator or Diversion Supervisor he or she shall complete the 

respective diversion training course and achieve a minimum score 

of 70 percent on the comprehensive written (Investigator) or 

online (Supervisor) examination. 

(b)  Only a Sheriff, deputy sheriff, or law enforcement officer 

certified or appointed through the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards or North Carolina Sheriff 

Education and Training Standards Commissions and employed by 

a law enforcement agency shall be enrolled in a diversion training 

course. Such a trainee shall not be certified as a Diversion 

Investigator or Diversion Supervisor until the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training course, pursuant to Rule .0205 of this 

Subchapter, has been completed with passing scores and 

probationary or general law enforcement certification has been 

granted. Sheriffs and appointed deputy sheriffs shall be allowed 

to participate in the diversion training courses on a space available 

basis at the discretion of the Diversion Training Course School 

Director without having enrolled in, or having completed with 

passing scores, the Basic Law Enforcement Training course, 

pursuant to Rules .0205 and .0206 of this Subchapter and without 

being currently certified in a probationary status or holding justice 

officer certification. 

(c)  Those Special Agents with the North Carolina State Bureau 

of Investigation previously deemed Diversion Investigators as of 

July 1, 2019, shall be automatically granted certification under 

this Rule for a period of three years. 

(d)  The "Diversion Training Courses" required for certification, 

authored by the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation and 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy, shall include 

the topic areas as outlined in G.S. 17C-6(a)(19) and is to be 

applied as the basic curriculum for the Diversion Training 

Courses for Diversion Investigator and Diversion Supervisors as 

administered by the Commission. Copies of this publication may 

be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tyron Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17E-4, 90-113.74E. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 09E .0105. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/getdoc/1d3d0430-a32c-4878-8757-

39fffedc474a/Public-Hearing-November-2019.aspx 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 20, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Wake Technical Community College Public Safety 

Training Center, 321 Chapanoke Rd., Raleigh, NC 27603 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To provide the in-service training 

topics in an In-Service Training Manual. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Charminique D. Williams, PO 

Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602; phone (919) 779-8206; email 

cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 20, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
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from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09E - IN-SERVICE TRAINING 

PROGRAMS 

 

SECTION .0100 - LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER'S 

IN-SERVICE TRAINING PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09E .0105 MINIMUM TRAINING 

SPECIFICATIONS: ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING  

(a)  The following topics, specifications, and hours shall be 

included in each law enforcement officer's annual in-service 

training courses. For the purposes of this Subchapter, a credit shall 

be equal to one hour of traditional classroom instruction. All 

sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a minimum of 24 

in-service training credits. Specific topics identified in the Annual 

In-Service Manual and approved by the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards Commission shall be as 

published by the North Carolina Department of Justice, 

Incorporated herein by reference, and shall include any later 

amendments and editions of the incorporated materials as 

provided by G.S. 150B-21.6. The publication shall be available 

from the Commission's website at https://ncdoj.gov/About-

DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-Standards/Criminal-

Justice-Education-and-Training-Standards/Forms-and-

Publications.aspx. The following topics, totaling 18 credits, shall 

be specifically required: 

(1) 2020 Firearms Training and Qualification (4 

credits); 

(2) 2020 Legal Update (4 credits); 

(3) 2020 Long-Term Effects of Childhood 

Adversity (2 credits); 

(4) 2020 The Signs Within: Suicide Prevention 

Education and Awareness (2 credits); 

(5) 2020 Career Survival: Training and Standards 

Issues (2 credits); 

(6) 2020 Communication Strategies When 

Encountering Persons Who are Deaf or Hard of 

Hearing (2 credits); 

(7) 2020 Armed/Unarmed Security/Company 

Police: Understanding Their Roles and 

Authority (2 credits); 

(8) Topics of Choice (12 credits); 

(A) Hazardous Materials (2 credits); 

(B) Bloodborne Pathogens (2 credits); 

(C) Situational Awareness/Subject 

Control (4 credits); and 

(D) Law enforcement Threat Assessment 

(4 credits). 

(b)  All sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a 

minimum of 6 in-service credits, in topics identified by their 

respective agency heads. It is possible for a training topic other 

than the specific topics identified in the Annual In-Service 

Training Manual to qualify for credit towards officers' Annual In-

Service Training requirement. A Department Head The agency 

head may choose any topic, provided the lesson plan is written in 

Instructional Systems Design format and is taught by an instructor 

who is certified by the Commission. Topics delivered pursuant to 

Rule .0104(1) of this Section and National Certification Programs 

administered by the International Association of Directors of Law 

Enforcement Standards and Training (IADLEST) completed 

during the mandated in-service year, shall satisfy in part or in 

whole the topic requirements set forth by the agency department 

head. To satisfy this requirement these topics shall not be required 

to be written in Instructional Systems Design format or delivered 

by an instructor certified by the Commission. 

(c)  The "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Manual" 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied 

as a guide for conducting the annual in-service firearms training 

program. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office 

of the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(d)  The "In-Service Lesson Plans" published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as a minimum 

curriculum for conducting the annual in-service training program. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(e)  Lesson plans are designed to be delivered in hourly 

increments. A student who completes an online in-service training 

topic shall receive the number of credits that correspond to the 

number of hours of traditional classroom training, regardless of 

the amount of time the student spends completing the course. 
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(f)  Completion of training shall be demonstrated by passing a 

written test for each in-service training topic, as follows: 

(1) A written test comprised of at least five 

questions per credit shall be developed by the 

agency or the North Carolina Justice Academy 

for each in-service training topic requiring 

testing. Written courses that are more than four 

credits in length shall include a written test 

comprising of a minimum of 20 questions. The 

Firearms Training and Qualifications in-service 

course and topics delivered pursuant to Rule 

.0104(1) of this Section shall be exempt from 

this written test requirement; 

(2) A student shall pass each test by achieving at 

least 70 percent correct answers; and 

(3) A student who completes a topic of in-service 

training in a traditional classroom setting or 

online and fails the end of topic exam shall be 

given one attempt to re-test. If the student fails 

the exam a second time, the student shall 

complete the in-service training topic in a 

traditional classroom setting before taking the 

exam a third time. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to amend the 

rule cited as 14B NCAC 15B .1004. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://abc.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 13, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27610 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To adopt a permanent rule to 

increase the maximum allowable rebate an ABC retail permittee 

may offer on malt beverages or wine through the use of a coupon, 

rebate, loyalty card, discount card, or membership card from 

25% to 35%, as directed by the General Assembly in S.L. 2019-

182, Sec. 11. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Walker Reagan, 400 East 

Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8367; email 

walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 15B - RETAIL BEER: WINE: MIXED 

BEVERAGES: BROWNBAGGING: ADVERTISING: 

SPECIAL PERMITS 

 

SECTION .1000 - ADVERTISING 

 

14B NCAC 15B .1004 GENERAL PROHIBITIONS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Coupon" means a part of a retail permittee's 

advertisement that is redeemed by a purchaser 

to the retail permittee to obtain a discount at the 

time of sale; 

(2) "Loyalty card, discount card, or membership 

card" means a card that is issued by a retail 

permittee to customers that, upon presentation 

to the retail permittee, provides for the 

purchaser to receive a loyalty card, discount 

card, membership card, or coupon discount on 

a portion of the amount paid by the purchaser 

for off-premises beer or wine consumption 

sales at the time of sale; and 

(3) "Rebate" for a retail permitee, means a promise 

by the retail permittee to return a portion of the 

amount paid by the purchaser upon the 

condition the purchaser completes a rebate form 

and the purchaser meets the terms and 

conditions of the rebate form's requirements. 

(b)  Advertising for an alcoholic beverage shall not include a 

coupon or an offer for a free alcoholic beverage. No person shall 

advertise by means of a coupon, a rebate or a permittee's loyalty 

card, discount card or membership card offering a discount off the 

purchase of a malt beverage or wine, except as provided in this 

section. A combination of the use of a coupon, a rebate or a 
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permittee's loyalty card, discount card or membership card shall 

not exceed a total of 25 35 percent of the advertised retail price of 

the item. Permittees may advertise by means of a coupon, a rebate 

or a permittee's loyalty card, discount card or membership card 

under the following conditions: 

(1) A permittee who holds an on-premises or off-

premises malt beverage or wine permit under 

G.S. 18B-1001(1) through (6) or a wine shop 

permit under G.S. 18B-1001(16) may advertise 

by means of a coupon or a rebate in the 

following circumstances: 

(A) The permittee may provide a coupon 

or a rebate for use by a customer when 

purchasing a malt beverage or wine 

sold at the permittee's retail location 

for off-premises consumption; 

(B) The permittee may require a customer 

to use the permittee's loyalty card, 

discount card or membership card 

with the use of a coupon or rebate 

when purchasing a malt beverage or 

wine sold at the permittee's retail 

location for off-premises 

consumption; 

(C) No coupons or rebates shall be 

honored for the purchase of alcohol for 

any individual below the legal age for 

purchase of alcohol; 

(D) A coupon or rebate shall not provide a 

discount exceeding 25 35 percent of 

the advertised retail price of the item; 

(E) A permittee shall not advertise or 

distribute coupons or rebates in a 

publication produced for or by a 

higher education institution; and 

(F) In any advertisement displaying a 

discount coupon or rebate, the 

permittee shall include the following 

statement on or about the discount 

coupon or rebate in a similar font to 

the discount coupon or rebate, "Drink 

Responsibly – Be 21;" and 

(2) A permittee who holds an on-premises or off-

premises malt beverage or wine permit under 

G.S. 18B-1001(1) through (6) or a wine shop 

permit under G.S. 18B-1001(16) may advertise 

discounts, coupons and rebates with the 

requirement of the use of the permittee's loyalty 

card, discount card or membership card in the 

following circumstances; 

(A) The permittee shall require customers 

to present a loyalty card, discount card 

or membership card to receive the 

advertised loyalty card, discount card 

or membership card discount when 

purchasing a malt beverage or wine 

sold at the permittee's retail location 

for off-premises consumption; 

(B) No loyalty card, discount card or 

membership card shall be honored for 

the purchase of alcohol for any 

individual below the legal age for 

purchase of alcohol; 

(C) A loyalty card, discount card or 

membership card shall not provide a 

discount exceeding 25 35 percent of 

the advertised retail price of the item; 

(D) A permittee shall not advertise 

permittee loyalty card, discount card 

or membership card discounts in a 

publication produced for or by a 

higher education institution; and 

(E) In any advertisement displaying a 

permittee loyalty card, discount card 

or membership card discount, the 

permittee shall include the following 

statement on or about the discount 

coupon or rebate in a similar font to 

the discount, "Drink Responsibly – Be 

21." 

Direct or indirect cooperation shall not occur between a retailer 

and an industry member in either marketing, redemption or 

funding of coupons, rebates or loyalty card, discount card or 

membership card discounts under this Rule. Participation of an 

industry member in the use of coupons, rebates or loyalty card, 

discount card or membership card discounts is a violation of G.S. 

18B-1116(a)(3). 

(c)  No industry member or retailer shall advertise alcoholic 

beverages in any programs for events or activities in connection 

with any elementary or secondary schools; nor shall any alcoholic 

beverages advertising be connected with these events when 

broadcast over radio or television. 

(d)  No industry member or retailer is permitted to advertise 

alcoholic beverages by use of sound trucks. 

(e)  No industry member or retailer shall advertise spirituous 

liquor upon the picture screen of any theater. 

(f)  Except as otherwise provided in these Rules, no industry 

member or retailer shall promote an alcoholic beverage product 

by giving prizes, premiums or merchandise to individuals for 

which any purchase of alcoholic beverages is required or based on 

the return of empty containers unless all containers of like 

products are accepted and considered on an equal basis with the 

product sold by the promoter. 

(g)  No on-premise permittee or his agent shall advertise any drink 

promotion prohibited by 14B NCAC 15B .0223. This Paragraph 

includes a ban on all advertisements of "2 for 1," "buy 1 get 1 

free," "buy 1 get another for a_______(nickel, penny, etc.)," and 

any other similar statement indicating that a patron must buy more 

than one drink. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-105(b); 18B-207; 18B-1116(a)(3); 

S.L. 2019-182, s. 11. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Coastal Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited 

as 15A NCAC 07H .0304 and .0305. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 3, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Northeast Library, 1241 Military Cutoff Road, 

Wilmington, NC 28405 

 

Date:  October 3, 2019 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Southport Community Building, 223 E. Bay Street, 

Southport, NC 28461 

 

Date:  October 8, 2019 

Time:  1:30 p.m. 

Location:  Ocracoke Volunteer Fire Department, 822 Irvin 

Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC 27960 

 

Date:  October 9, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Nags Head Board of Commissioners Room, 5401 S. 

Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959 

 

Date:  October 9, 2019 

Time:  2:30 p.m. 

Location:  Outer Bank Center for Wildlife Education 1160 

Village Lane, Corolla, NC 27927 

 

Date:  October 15, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Surf City Welcome Center, 102 North Shore Drive, 

Surf City, NC 28445 

 

Date:  October 15, 2019 

Time:  3:00 p.m. 

Location:  Sneads Ferry Library, 1330 Highway 210, Sneads 

Ferry, NC 28460 

 

Date:  October 17, 2019 

Time:  3:00 p.m. 

Location:  NC Division of Coastal Management, 400 Commerce 

Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  15A NCAC 07H .0304 defines and 

establishes Areas of Environmental Concern (AECs) within the 

Ocean 

Hazard Areas along the State’s Atlantic Ocean shoreline.   Ocean 

Hazard Area AECs include the Ocean  

Erodible Area, Inlet Hazard Area and the Unvegetated Beach 

Area.  7H .0305 defines physical features of Ocean Hazard Areas. 

 

The Coastal Resources Commission’s proposed amendments to 

15A NCAC 7H .0304 reflect the five-year update of the state’s 

oceanfront erosion rates.  Erosion rates are used to establish 

construction setbacks for development within the Ocean Erodible 

Area  

– Areas of Environmental Concern (OEA-AEC). 

 

Due to Hurricane Florence’s impacts to the beaches of the Towns 

of Surf City and North Topsail Beach; the Coastal Resources 

Commission is proposing to amend its administrative rules in 

order to reflect physical changes in the ocean shoreline that 

influence the permitted citing of oceanfront development. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Braxton Davis, 400 

Commerce Ave, Morehead City, NC 28557; phone (252) 808-

2808 

 

Comment period ends:  November 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS 

OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN 

 

SECTION .0300 - OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0304 AECS WITHIN OCEAN 

HAZARD AREAS 

The ocean hazard AECs contain all of the following areas: 

(1) Ocean Erodible Area. This is the area where 

there exists a substantial possibility of 

excessive erosion and significant shoreline 

fluctuation. The oceanward boundary of this 

area is the mean low water line. The landward 

extent of this area is the distance landward from 
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the first line of stable and natural vegetation as 

defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5) to the 

recession line established by multiplying the 

long-term annual erosion rate times 90; 

provided that, where there has been no 

long-term erosion or the rate is less than two 

feet per year, this distance shall be set at 120 

180 feet landward from the first line of stable 

and natural vegetation. For the purposes of this 

Rule, the erosion rates are the long-term 

average based on available historical data. The 

current long-term average erosion rate data for 

each segment of the North Carolina coast is 

depicted on maps entitled "2011 Long-Term 

Average Annual Shoreline Rate Update" 

"North Carolina 2019 Oceanfront Setback 

Factors & Long-Term Average Annual Erosion 

Rate Update Study" and approved by the 

Coastal Resources Commission on May 5, 2011 

February 28, 2019 (except as such rates may be 

varied in individual contested cases or in 

declaratory or interpretive rulings). In all cases, 

the rate of shoreline change shall be no less than 

two feet of erosion per year. The maps are 

available without cost from any Local Permit 

Officer or the Division of Coastal Management 

on the internet at 

http://www.nccoastalmanagement.net. 

(2) Inlet Hazard Area. The inlet hazard areas are 

natural-hazard areas that are especially 

vulnerable to erosion, flooding, and other 

adverse effects of sand, wind, and water 

because of their proximity to dynamic ocean 

inlets. This area extends landward from the 

mean low water line a distance sufficient to 

encompass that area within which the inlet 

migrates, based on statistical analysis, and shall 

consider such factors as previous inlet territory, 

structurally weak areas near the inlet, and 

external influences such as jetties jetties, 

terminal groins, and channelization. The areas 

on the maps identified as suggested Inlet 

Hazard Areas included in the report entitled 

INLET HAZARD AREAS, The Final Report 

and Recommendations to the Coastal 

Resources Commission, 1978, as amended in 

1981, by Loie J. Priddy and Rick Carraway are 

incorporated by reference and are hereby 

designated as Inlet Hazard Areas, except for: 

(a) the Cape Fear Inlet Hazard Area as 

shown on the map does not extend 

northeast of the Bald Head Island 

marina entrance channel; and 

(b) the former location of Mad Inlet, 

which closed in 1997. 

In all cases, the Inlet Hazard Area shall be an 

extension of the adjacent ocean erodible areas 

and in 

no case shall the width of the inlet hazard area 

be less than the width of the adjacent ocean 

erodible 

area. This report is available for inspection at 

the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Division 

of Coastal Management, 400 Commerce 

Avenue, Morehead City, North Carolina or at 

the website 

referenced in Item (1) of this Rule. Photocopies 

are available at no charge. 

(3) Unvegetated Beach Area. Beach areas within 

the Ocean Hazard Area where no stable natural 

vegetation is present may be designated as an 

Unvegetated Beach Area on either a permanent 

or temporary basis as follows: 

(a) An area appropriate for permanent 

designation as an Unvegetated Beach 

Area is a dynamic area that is subject 

to rapid unpredictable landform 

change due to wind and wave action. 

The areas in this category shall be 

designated following studies by the 

Division of Coastal Management. 

These areas shall be designated on 

maps approved by the Coastal 

Resources Commission and available 

without cost from any Local Permit 

Officer or the Division of Coastal 

Management on the internet at the 

website referenced in Item (1) of this 

Rule. 

(b) An area that is suddenly unvegetated 

as a result of a hurricane or other major 

storm event may be designated by the 

Coastal Resources Commission as an 

Unvegetated Beach Area for a specific 

period of time, or until the vegetation 

has re-established in accordance with 

15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5). At the 

expiration of the time specified or the 

re-establishment of the vegetation, the 

area shall return to its pre-storm 

designation. 

The Commission designates as temporary 

unvegetated beach areas those oceanfront areas 

of Surf City and North Topsail Beach in which 

the vegetation line as shown on the United 

States National Oceanic and Atmospheric 

Administration imagery dated September 17, 

2018 was destroyed as a result of Hurricane 

Florence in September 2018. The designation 

AEC boundaries can be found on the Division's 

website referenced in Item (1) of this Rule. This 

designation shall continue until such time as the 

stable and natural vegetation has reestablished, 

or until the area is permanently designated as an 

unvegetated beach area pursuant to Sub-Item 

3(a) of this Rule. 
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Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-107.1; 113A-113; 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0305 GENERAL IDENTIFICATION 

AND DESCRIPTION OF LANDFORMS 

(a)  This Paragraph describes natural and man-made features that 

are found within the ocean hazard area of environmental concern. 

(1) Ocean Beaches. Ocean beaches are lands 

consisting of unconsolidated soil materials that 

extend from the mean low water line landward 

to a point where either: 

(A) the growth of vegetation occurs; or 

(B) a distinct change in slope or elevation 

alters the configuration of the 

landform, whichever is farther 

landward. 

(2) Nearshore. The nearshore is the portion of the 

beach seaward of mean low water that is 

characterized by dynamic changes both in space 

and time as a result of storms. 

(3) Primary Dunes. Primary dunes are the first 

mounds of sand located landward of the ocean 

beaches having an elevation equal to the mean 

flood level (in a storm having a one percent 

chance of being equaled or exceeded in any 

given year) for the area plus six feet. Primary 

dunes extend landward to the lowest elevation 

in the depression behind that same mound of 

sand (commonly referred to as the "dune 

trough.") 

(4) Frontal Dunes. The frontal dune is the first 

mound of sand located landward of the ocean 

beach that has stable and natural vegetation 

present. 

(5) Vegetation Line. The vegetation line refers to 

the first line of stable and natural vegetation, 

which shall be used as the reference point for 

measuring oceanfront setbacks. This line 

represents the boundary between the normal 

dry-sand beach, which is subject to constant 

flux due to waves, tides, storms and wind, and 

the more stable upland areas. The vegetation 

line is generally located at or immediately 

oceanward of the seaward toe of the frontal 

dune or erosion escarpment. The Division of 

Coastal Management or Local Permit Officer 

shall determine the location of the stable and 

natural vegetation line based on visual 

observations of plant composition and density. 

If the vegetation has been planted, it may be 

considered stable when the majority of the plant 

stems are from continuous rhizomes rather than 

planted individual rooted sets. Planted 

vegetation may be considered natural when the 

majority of the plants are mature and additional 

species native to the region have been recruited, 

providing stem and rhizome densities that are 

similar to adjacent areas that are naturally 

occurring. In areas where there is no stable and 

natural vegetation present, this line may be 

established by interpolation between the nearest 

adjacent stable natural vegetation by on-ground 

observations or by aerial photographic 

interpretation. 

(6) Static Vegetation Line. In areas within the 

boundaries of a large-scale beach fill project, 

the vegetation line that existed within one year 

prior to the onset of project construction shall 

be defined as the "static vegetation line". The 

"onset of project construction" shall be defined 

as the date sediment placement begins, with the 

exception of projects completed prior to the 

effective date of this Rule, in which case the 

award of the contract date will be considered 

the onset of construction. A static vegetation 

line shall be established in coordination with 

the Division of Coastal Management using on-

ground observation and survey or aerial 

imagery for all areas of oceanfront that undergo 

a large-scale beach fill project. Once a static 

vegetation line is established, and after the 

onset of project construction, this line shall be 

used as the reference point for measuring 

oceanfront setbacks in all locations where it is 

landward of the vegetation line. In all locations 

where the vegetation line as defined in this Rule 

is landward of the static vegetation line, the 

vegetation line shall be used as the reference 

point for measuring oceanfront setbacks. A 

static vegetation line shall not be established 

where a static vegetation line is already in 

place, including those established by the 

Division of Coastal Management prior to the 

effective date of this Rule. A record of all static 

vegetation lines, including those established by 

the Division of Coastal Management prior to 

the effective date of this Rule, shall be 

maintained by the Division of Coastal 

Management for determining development 

standards as set forth in Rule .0306 of this 

Section. Because the impact of Hurricane Floyd 

(September 1999) caused significant portions 

of the vegetation line in the Town of Oak Island 

and the Town of Ocean Isle Beach to be 

relocated landward of its pre-storm position, the 

static line for areas landward of the beach fill 

construction in the Town of Oak Island and the 

Town of Ocean Isle Beach, the onset of which 

occurred in 2000, shall be defined by the 

general trend of the vegetation line established 

by the Division of Coastal Management from 

June 1998 aerial orthophotography. 

(7) Beach Fill. Beach fill refers to the placement of 

sediment along the oceanfront shoreline. 

Sediment used solely to establish or strengthen 

dunes shall not be considered a beach fill 

project under this Rule. A "large-scale beach 

fill project" shall be defined as any volume of 

sediment greater than 300,000 cubic yards or 
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any storm protection project constructed by the 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. 

(8) Erosion Escarpment. The normal vertical drop 

in the beach profile caused from high tide or 

storm tide erosion. 

(9) Measurement Line. The line from which the 

ocean hazard setback as described in Rule 

.0306(a) of this Section is measured in the 

unvegetated beach area of environmental 

concern as described in Rule .0304(3) of this 

Section. Procedures for determining the 

measurement line in areas designated pursuant 

to Rule .0304(3) of this Section shall be adopted 

by the Commission for each area where such a 

line is designated pursuant to the provisions of 

G.S. 150B. These procedures shall be available 

from any local permit officer or the Division of 

Coastal Management. In areas designated 

pursuant to Rule .0304(3)(b) of this Section, the 

Division of Coastal Management shall establish 

a measurement line that approximates the 

location at which the vegetation line is expected 

to reestablish by: 

(A) determining the average distance the 

pre-strom vegetation line receded at 

the closest vegetated site to the 

proposed development site; adjacent 

to the area designated by the 

Commission as the unvegetated beach 

AEC; and 

(B) locating the line of stable and natural 

vegetation on the most current pre-

storm aerial photography of the 

proposed development site and 

moving this line landward the distance 

determined in Subparagraph (a)(1 )of 

this Rule. mapping a line equal to the 

average recession determination in 

(A), measured in a landward direction 

from the first line of stable and natural 

vegetation line on the most recent pre-

storm aerial photography in the area 

designated as an unvegetated beach 

AEC. 

The measurement line established pursuant to 

this process shall in every case be located 

landward of the average width of the beach as 

determined from the most current pre-storm 

aerial photography. 

(10) Development Line. The line established in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1300 by local 

governments representing the seaward-most 

allowable location of oceanfront development. 

In areas that have development lines approved 

by the CRC, the vegetation line or measurement 

line shall be used as the reference point for 

measuring oceanfront setbacks instead of the 

static vegetation line, subject to the provisions 

of Rule .0306(a)(2) of this Section. 

(b)  For the purpose of public and administrative notice and 

convenience, each designated minor development permit-letting 

agency with ocean hazard areas may designate, subject to CRC 

approval in accordance with the local implementation and 

enforcement plan as defined in 15A NCAC 07I .0500, an 

identifiable land area within which the ocean hazard areas occur. 

This designated notice area must include all of the land areas 

defined in Rule .0304 of this Section. Natural or man-made 

landmarks may be considered in delineating this area. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 10 – BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC 

EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Chiropractic Examiners intends to adopt the rules cited 

as 21 NCAC 10 .0215, .0706, .0708, .0709 and amend the rules 

cited as 21 NCAC 10 .0103, .0204, .0206, .0207, .0213, .0302, 

.0401, .0403, .0406, .0501, and .0503. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncchiroboard.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 3, 2019 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  6070 Six Forks Road, Suite L, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 10 .0103 - Updates how the Board’s Practice Act may 

be obtained, when nominee elections are held for appointments to 

the Board, and when elections for Board officers are held. 

21 NCAC 10 .0204 - Updates how changes to contact information 

must be sent to the Board. 

21 NCAC 10 .0206 - Updates the eligibility requirements for 

certification as a radiologic technologist and the associated 

education program requirements. 

21 NCAC 10 .0207 - Updates how continuing education course 

applications must be submitted; updates duration of approval for 

said courses and adds the acceptance of PACE approved courses 

for CE credit. 

21 NCAC 10 .0213 - Updates the Board’s website URL and the 

manner in which certificates of clinical assistants must be 

displayed. 

21 NCAC 10. 0215 - Implements procedure by which applicants 

can obtain a predetermination of whether the individual’s 

criminal history will likely disqualify the individual from 

obtaining licensure. 

21 NCAC 10 .0302 - Clarifies the types of prohibited advertising. 

21 NCAC 10 .0401 - Updates the presiding officer over rule-

making petitions. 
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21 NCAC 10 .0403 - Updates the manner in which rule-making 

notices may be shared with licensees. 

21 NCAC 10 .0406 - Updates the officer to whom declaratory 

rulings must be submitted. 

21 NCAC 10 .0501 - Updates the manner in which complaints are 

filed and eliminates different classification of complaints. 

21 NCAC 10 .0503 - Updates the composition of the Chiropractic 

Review Committee and the actions available to the Committee at 

a probable cause hearing. 

21 NCAC 10 .0706 - Implements procedure by which Board 

hearings shall be conducted. 

21 NCAC 10 .0708 - Implements procedure by which 

continuances of Board hearings shall be handled. 

21 NCAC 10 .0709 - Implements procedure by which subpoenas 

in Board hearings shall be handled. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Thomas R. Sullivan, NC State 

Board of Chiropractic Examiners, 6070 Six Forks Road, Suite L, 

Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (704) 793-1342 ext. 1004; fax (704) 

793-1385; email tom@ncchiroboard.com 

 

Comment period ends:  November 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0100 – ORGANIZATION OF BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0103 STRUCTURE OF BOARD 

(a)  Creation and Membership of Board of Examiners. The 

creation and membership of the Board of Chiropractic Examiners 

are governed by G.S. 90-139, which statute is herewith 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments. A 

copy of the statute may be obtained from the Board at no charge. 

on the Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com. 

(b)  Selection of Chiropractic Members of Board of Examiners. 

The selection of chiropractic members of the Board of Examiners 

is governed by G.S. 90-140, which statute is herewith 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments. A 

copy of the statute may be obtained from the Board at no charge. 

on the Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com. 

(c)  Election of Candidates for Appointment to the Board. 

Annually, As necessary to meet the requirements of G.S. 90-140, 

the Board shall select a time, date and place for the election of 

chiropractic candidates for appointment to the Board. At least 

three candidates shall be elected for each vacancy. The candidate 

receiving the most votes in each election shall be given a special 

recommendation. 

(1) The election shall be conducted by the Board of 

Chiropractic Examiners. Any member of the 

Board who is nominated to succeed himself 

shall be disqualified from conducting the vote 

in which he is a nominee. 

(2) Nomination shall be made from the floor and 

shall require two seconds. Any prospective 

nominee may withdraw his or her name from 

consideration by an oral statement to that effect. 

(d)  Officers of the Board. Annually, and as soon as practicable 

after appointments have been made, the members of the Board 

shall When determined by a majority vote of the Board, officer 

elections will be held to elect a president, a vice-president, a 

secretary, and a treasurer. treasurer or any officer position that 

comes open due to termination of an appointment or resignation. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-139; 90-140; 150B-14. 

 

SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF CHIROPRACTIC 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0204 LICENSURE 

(a)  Initial Licensure. The initial license awarded to an applicant 

who passed the examination shall be mailed to the address 

appearing on the application form. 

(b)  Change of Address. Contact Information. It shall be the 

responsibility of the licentiate to inform the Board of any change 

in his or her mailing address. contact information. Updated 

address contact information shall be forwarded to the secretary in 

writing Board office email ncboce@ncchiroboard.com, by regular 

mail or fax within 30 days after any such change. 

(c)  Email and Facsimile. A licentiate who maintains an office 

email address or office facsimile machine shall inform the Board 

of his or her current email address or facsimile machine telephone 

number. This contact information shall not be made available to 

the public and shall be used only for expediting the dissemination 

of official messages the Board deems high priority or urgent. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-145; 90-148. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0206 CERTIFICATION OF 

RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS 

(a)  Application Procedure. After successful completion of the 

Certification of Clinical Assistants described in 12 NCAC 10 

.0213 and completing the education program described in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule, a person desiring certification as a 

radiologic technologist shall pass a competency examination 

administered by or under the authority of the Board. The applicant 

shall complete an application form available on the Board's 
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website, www.ncchiroboard.com, website at 

https://ncchiroboard.com/x-ray-technician/, and confirm and 

submit that the applicant is at least 18 years of age, a high school 

graduate or the equivalent, and possessed of good moral character. 

A photocopy of the applicant's birth certificate, driver's license, or 

government-issued identification card shall constitute prima facie 

evidence of the applicant's age. A photocopy of the applicant's 

high school diploma, transcript, or general equivalency diploma 

(G.E.D.) shall constitute prima facie evidence of the applicant's 

graduation from high school. An affidavit attesting to good moral 

character and signed by a chiropractic physician or other 

responsible party who knows the applicant and is not related to 

the applicant shall constitute prima facie evidence of the 

applicant's good moral character. 

(b)  Approved Education Programs. In order to be approved by 

the Board, a radiological technologist education program shall be 

at least 50 hours in length, of which at least six hours shall be in-

person didactic training with an instructor or instructors who, 

based on education and experience, are competent to teach the 

portion of the curriculum they have been assigned. assigned, and 

completion of the practical requirement as outlined on the Board's 

website at https://ncchiroboard.com/x-ray-technician/. The 

education program shall provide sufficient instruction in the five 

subjects set forth in G.S. 90-143.2 to enable its graduates to satisfy 

all applicable standards of care governing the production of X-

rays. To obtain approval of an education program, the program 

sponsor shall submit to the Board, at least 60 days prior to the 

proposed starting date, all instructional materials to be used in the 

program, including a syllabus of the didactic training and a 

curriculum vitae for each instructor. 

(c)  A.C.R.R.T. Exemption. Any person registered as "active" 

with the American Chiropractic Registry of Radiologic 

Technologists shall be deemed to have satisfied the educational 

requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  Competency Examination. The competency examination 

shall be administered in person at least three times per year. The 

Board shall publish on its website, www.ncchiroboard.com, 

https://ncchiroboard.com/master-exam-calendar/, the date, time, 

and location of the examination at least 90 days in advance. The 

Board may authorize additional testing sessions based on the 

number of applications received. The minimum passing score is 

70 percent. 

(e)  Certificate Expiration and Renewal. A certificate of 

competency issued pursuant to G.S. 90-143.2 shall expire at the 

end of the calendar year in which it was issued but may be 

renewed upon a showing that the certificate holder completed six 

hours of Board-approved continuing education in radiologic 

technology during the year. A radiologic technologist whose 

initial certificate expires less than 12 months after issuance shall 

not be required to obtain continuing education until the second 

calendar year of certification but shall be required to pay the 

renewal fee at the end of the initial year of certification. A 

radiologic technologist seeking to renew a certificate of 

competency shall submit evidence that the applicant has 

completed six hours of Board-approved continuing education. A 

certificate of attendance or completion issued by the course 

sponsor and filed with the Board shall constitute prima facie 

evidence that the applicant has completed the number of hours 

recited in the certificate. The applicant shall pay a renewal fee in 

the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). The renewal fee shall 

not be paid in cash and may be paid by credit card through the 

Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com, 

https://ncchiroboard.com, or by a check made payable to the 

North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners. 

(f)  Displaying Certificate. The holder of a certificate issued 

pursuant to this Rule shall display the certificate in the x-ray room 

of the chiropractic clinic in which the holder is employed in a 

location where the certificate may be easily viewed by patients. 

(g)  Compliance. Other than licensed doctors of chiropractic, only 

those persons maintaining current certifications of competency in 

conformity with this Rule may produce x-rays or other diagnostic 

images in chiropractic offices. A chiropractor who permits the 

production of x-rays or other diagnostic images by a non-certified 

employee or an employee whose certification has expired shall be 

deemed in violation of G.S. 90-154.3. 

(h)  Lapsed Certificates. If a certificate of competency has lapsed 

due to non-renewal and the lapse does not exceed 60 days, the 

certificate holder may obtain reinstatement by demonstrating 

completion of six hours of Board-approved continuing education 

and paying the renewal fee set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

If the lapse is greater than 60 days, no make-up continuing 

education shall be required but the certificate holder shall re-take 

and pass the competency examination described in Paragraph (d) 

of this Rule. Rule and pay the initial certification fee set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Regardless of the length of lapse, any 

person seeking reinstatement of a lapsed certificate shall comply 

with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-143.2; 90-154.3. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0207 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

SEMINARS 

(a)  Approval of Seminars. Only continuing education seminars 

approved in advance by the Board shall count towards satisfying 

the requirements for license renewal. The sponsor and co-

sponsors of any proposed seminar shall be responsible for 

submitting to the Board all the information outlined on the Board 

deems necessary Board's Course Application to enable the Board 

to evaluate the seminar in accordance with this Rule. The Board's 

Course Application can be found on, and must be submitted via, 

the Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com. An application 

for approval shall be in writing and The Board's Course 

Application shall be submitted at least 30 days prior to the date of 

the proposed seminar. Incomplete applications will not be 

processed. 

(b)  Duration of Approval. A seminar approval issued by the 

Board shall expire one year after the date of issuance. at the end 

of the calendar year for which approved. If the sponsor or co-

sponsors of an approved seminar wish to repeat the seminar on a 

date beyond the approval period, a new application shall be 

submitted to the Board. 

(c)  Criteria for Approval. The Board's criteria for approving 

continuing education seminars is as follows: 

(1) No practice-building or motivational seminars 

shall be approved; 

(2) No seminar shall be approved that requires 

attendees, in order to be able to utilize the 

information presented at the seminar, to 
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purchase equipment or clinical supplies 

available only through the seminar's instructors, 

sponsors or co-sponsors; 

(3) Each seminar subject shall fall within the extent 

and limitation of chiropractic licensure in this 

State; and 

(4) Each instructor shall submit a curriculum vitae 

and satisfy the Board that he is competent to 

teach the subject or subjects he is scheduled to 

teach. 

(d)  Duties of Seminar Sponsor. A proposed seminar having been 

approved by the Board, its sponsor and co-sponsors shall: 

(1) Disclose on all brochures and advertising 

materials the name and address of each sponsor 

and co-sponsor and whether each sponsor and 

co-sponsor is a for-profit or not-for-profit 

entity; 

(2) Be liable for all expenses incurred in holding 

the seminar; 

(3) Give timely notice to the Board of any material 

changes in the seminar, including date, 

location, subject matter or instructors; and 

(4) Provide an agent at the seminar site who shall: 

(A) Monitor and report the attendance of 

each person attending the seminar, 

using a method approved by the 

Board; 

(B) Provide for the safety and comfort of 

attendees; 

(C) Supervise the agenda and disallow 

prohibit the presentation of any 

subject matter not approved by the 

Board; and 

(D) Complete and submit to the Board a 

post-seminar review summarizing any 

problems experienced and any 

variance between the application for 

approval and the seminar as actually 

presented. 

(e)  Sanction for Non-Compliance. By applying for seminar 

approval, each sponsor and co-sponsor agrees to admit to the 

seminar at no charge a representative of the Board for the purpose 

of observing compliance with this Rule. If the Board determines 

that a sponsor or co-sponsor has willfully or negligently falsified 

the application for approval, or has failed to keep attendance 

accurately, or has allowed the seminar as actually presented to 

vary materially from the agenda as set forth in the application, or 

has willfully failed to adhere to any other provision of this Rule, 

the Board, in its discretion, may refuse to approve future seminar 

applications from the offending sponsor or co-sponsor or from 

any principal who is a partner or shareholder in the offending 

sponsor or co-sponsor. 

(f)  PACE Approved State. The Board accepts all doctor of 

chiropractic courses that have been approved by the Providers of 

Approved Continuing Education (PACE) program administered 

by the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards (FCLB). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-155. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0213 CERTIFICATION OF CLINICAL 

ASSISTANTS 

(a)  Classification of Applicants. Applicants for clinical assistant 

competency certification shall be classified as follows. Different 

certification requirements shall apply to each category. 

(1) Reciprocity applicants. A "reciprocity 

applicant" means an applicant who is currently 

certified or registered as a clinical assistant in 

another state whose requirements for 

certification or registration are substantially 

similar to or more stringent than the 

requirements for certification in North 

Carolina. 

(2) New applicants. A "new applicant" means any 

applicant who is not a reciprocity applicant. 

(b)  Requirements for Certification. Every applicant, regardless of 

classification, shall complete an application form available on the 

Board's website (www.ncchiroboard.com) at 

https://ncchiroboard.com and requiring the applicant to confirm 

and submit documentary evidence satisfactory to the Board that 

the applicant is at least 18 years of age, a high school graduate or 

the equivalent, and possessed of good moral character. A 

photocopy of the applicant's birth certificate, driver's license, or 

government-issued identification card shall constitute prima facie 

evidence of the applicant's age. A photocopy of the applicant's 

high school diploma, transcript, or general equivalency diploma 

(G.E.D.) shall constitute prima facie evidence of the applicant's 

graduation from high school. An affidavit attesting to good moral 

character and signed by a chiropractic physician or other 

responsible party who knows the applicant and is not related to 

the applicant shall constitute prima facie evidence of the 

applicant's good moral character. Every applicant, regardless of 

classification, shall pay to the Board an initial certification fee in 

the amount of twenty dollars ($20.00). The initial certification fee 

shall not be paid in cash and may be paid by credit card through 

the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com, website at 

https://ncchiroboard.com or by a check made payable to the North 

Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners. In addition to the 

general certification requirements, an applicant shall satisfy the 

requirements for the appropriate category of certification, as 

follows: 

(1) Reciprocity Applicants. A reciprocity applicant 

shall submit a copy of the applicant's current 

certification or registration as a clinical 

assistant in a state with which North Carolina 

reciprocates and shall also submit written 

confirmation from the state's certifying 

authority or registrar that the applicant is in 

good standing in that state. 

(2) New Applicants. A new applicant shall submit 

evidence that the applicant has completed an 

approved clinical assistant education program 

as described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. A 

certificate of completion filed with the Board 

by the program sponsor shall constitute prima 

facie evidence that the applicant has obtained 

the required education. A new applicant shall 

also take and pass the standard proficiency 

examination administered by or under the 
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authority of the Board, as described in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  Education Programs. In order to be approved by the Board, a 

clinical assistant education program for new applicants shall be at 

least 24 hours in length, of which at least six hours shall be in-

person didactic training with an instructor or instructors who, 

based on education and experience, are competent to teach the 

portion of the curriculum they have been assigned. Credit for 

online coursework shall not exceed 18 hours, and all online 

coursework shall precede didactic training. The education 

program shall provide sufficient instruction in the five subjects set 

forth in G.S. 90-143.4(c) to enable its graduates to satisfy all 

applicable standards of care. To obtain approval of an education 

program, the program sponsor shall submit to the Board, at least 

60 days prior to the proposed starting date, all instructional 

materials to be used in the program, including a syllabus of the 

didactic training, and a curriculum vitae for each instructor. 

(d)  Examinations. The proficiency examination for new 

applicants shall assess both academic knowledge and practical 

skills acquired through education programs and shall be 

administered in person at least four times per year on dates and at 

locations to be announced by the Board at least 90 days in advance 

and published on the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com. 

website at https://ncchiroboard.com. In its discretion, the Board 

may authorize additional testing sessions based on the number of 

applications received. The minimum passing score on the 

examination is 75 percent. 

(e)  Certificate Expiration and Renewal. Unless renewed, a 

certificate of competency shall expire on June 30th of the third 

year following the year in which it was issued. A certificate holder 

seeking to renew shall submit evidence that the applicant has 

completed six hours of Board-approved continuing education. A 

certificate of attendance or completion issued by the course 

sponsor and filed with the Board shall constitute prima facie 

evidence that the applicant has completed the number of hours 

recited in the certificate. The applicant shall pay to the Board a 

renewal fee in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). The 

renewal fee shall not be paid in cash and may be paid by credit 

card through the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com, 

website at https://ncchiroboard.com or by a check made payable 

to the North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners. 

(f)  Lapsed Certificates. If a certificate of competency has lapsed 

due to non-renewal and the lapse does not exceed 60 days, the 

certificate holder may obtain reinstatement by making up the 

accrued deficiency in continuing education. If the lapse is greater 

than 60 days, no make-up continuing education shall be required, 

but the certificate holder shall re-take and pass the proficiency 

examination for new applicants. Regardless of the length of lapse, 

a certificate holder seeking reinstatement shall pay the renewal fee 

set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(g)  Exemptions. Graduates of accredited chiropractic colleges 

and students enrolled in accredited chiropractic colleges who are 

serving college-sponsored preceptorships in North Carolina are 

deemed by the Board to have satisfied all requirements imposed 

by this Rule and shall be deemed competent to perform the duties 

of a clinical assistant. Any person who qualifies for exemption 

and who works as a clinical assistant in this state for more than 

180 days shall submit the application form described in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule and note the claim of exempt status. Exempt 

persons shall not be required to pay a certification fee. 

(h)  Displaying Certificate. The holder of a certificate issued 

pursuant to this Rule shall display the certificate in the 

chiropractic clinic in which the holder is employed in a location 

where the certificate may be easily viewed by patients. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143.4. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0215 PETITION FOR 

PREDETERMINATION 

(a)  General. Pursuant to G.S. 93B-8.1(b6), any person with a 

criminal history may petition the Board at any time for a 

predetermination of whether the individual's criminal history will 

likely disqualify the individual from obtaining a license, in 

accordance with this Rule. Petition forms and instructions may be 

found on the Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com. 

(b)  Petition Procedure. To petition the Board under this Rule, a 

person must submit to the Board's office a petition for 

predetermination that contains all of the following information: 

(1) The person's full name; 

(2) The last four digits of the person's social 

security number; 

(3) The person's current residential address; 

(4) The person's current mailing address; 

(5) A complete and accurate nationwide criminal 

history record report from the criminal records 

reporting service currently under contract with 

the Board; 

(6) For each crime identified in the criminal history 

record report, the following information: 

(A) Whether the crime was a felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(B) The date that the crime occurred; 

(C) The date the person was convicted of, 

or plead guilty or nolo contendere to, 

the crime; 

(D) The age of the person at the time of the 

crime; 

(E) The circumstances surrounding the 

commission of the crime; 

(F) The sentence imposed for the crime; 

(G) The period of time during which the 

person was incarcerated for the crime; 

(H) The period of time during which the 

person was on probation or parole for 

the crime; 

(I) Any documentation related to the 

person's rehabilitation or employment 

since the date of the crime; 

(J) Whether the person has undergone any 

rehabilitative drug or alcohol 

treatment since the date of the crime; 

(K) Whether a Certificate of Relief has 

been granted regarding the crime, 

pursuant to G.S. 15A 173.2; and 

(L) Any affidavits or other written 

documents, including character 

references, for the person. 
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(7) An affirmation under oath that the person has 

read the Instructions for Submitting a Petition 

for Predetermination and the statutes and rules 

governing the practice of chiropractic and that 

the information contained in the petition is true 

and accurate. 

Incomplete petitions will not be considered by the Board. If 

incomplete petitions received by the Board are not made complete 

within 30 days of receipt, the incomplete petitions will be returned 

to the person from whom the request was made. 

(c)  Petition Fee. A non-refundable petition fee of forty-five 

dollars ($45.00) shall accompany each petition. This fee may be 

paid by credit card through the Board's website at 

https://ncchiroboard.com or by check made payable to the North 

Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners. Cash shall not be 

accepted. 

(d)  Delegation of Authority for Predetermination. The Board 

delegates authority for rendering predeterminations under this 

Rule to the Chiropractic Review Committee. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-143.3; 90-154; 93B-8.1. 

 

SECTION .0300 - RULES OF UNETHICAL CONDUCT 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0302 ADVERTISING AND PUBLICITY 

(a)  General. Doctors of Chiropractic shall exercise restraint in 

matters of advertising and publicity so as to maintain the dignity 

of chiropractic as a recognized profession. 

(b)  Identification. The terms by which a licentiate may identify 

himself professionally are listed in G.S. 90-154.2(4). Terms 

which do not indicate that the licentiate is a chiropractor, such as 

"drugless physician" or "naturopath", shall not be used. Methods 

of professional identification may include: 

(1) Signs. Signs may be placed on exterior doors, 

windows or walls of the licentiate's office or at 

entrances to the building in which his office is 

located. 

(2) Stationery. A licentiate may identify himself on 

his stationery and mailing literature using the 

terms permitted by this Rule. 

(c)  Prohibited Advertising. The Board of Examiners deems the 

following to be false or misleading advertising in violation of G.S. 

90-154(b)(1): 

(1) Advertising which purports to guarantee a 

beneficial result from chiropractic treatment. 

(2) Advertising which promotes a treatment, 

therapy or service which the Board of 

Examiners has found to be unacceptable care. 

care or outside the scope of practice. 

(3) Advertising in which the licentiate is identified 

as a specialist, unless the licentiate has 

complied with the requirements of 21 NCAC 10 

.0304 and any reference to the specialty is 

immediately preceded by the term 

"chiropractic." Illustrations: "pediatrics" 

standing alone is deemed false or misleading; 

"chiropractic pediatrics" conforms to this Rule. 

"Neurologist" standing alone is deemed false or 

misleading; "chiropractic neurologist" 

conforms to this Rule. 

(4) Advertising which implies the licensee holds an 

additional license(s) in North Carolina 

including but not limited to a medical 

physician, physical therapist, massage 

therapist, or acupuncturist. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-154. 

 

SECTION .0400 - RULE-MAKING PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0401 PETITIONS FOR ADOPTION OF 

RULES 

(a)  General. The procedure for petitioning the Board of 

Examiners to adopt, amend or appeal a rule is governed by G.S. 

150B-16. 

(b)  Submission. Rule-making petitions shall be sent to the 

secretary president of the Board. No special form is required, but 

the petitioner shall state his name and address. There are no 

minimum mandatory contents of a petition, but the Board 

considers the following information to be pertinent: 

(1) a draft of the proposed rule; 

(2) the reason for its proposal; 

(3) the effect of the proposed rule on existing rules 

or decisions; 

(4) data supporting the proposed rule; 

(5) practices likely to be affected by the proposed 

rule; 

(6) persons likely to be affected by the proposed 

rule. 

(c)  Disposition. The secretary president shall review the petition 

and develop a recommendation as to whether the petitioner's 

proposed rule should be rejected or implemented. The secretary 

president shall present the petition and his recommendation to the 

Board at its next regular meeting following receipt of the petition, 

and the Board shall render its decision to either deny the petition 

or initiate rule-making. The Board shall notify the petitioner of its 

decision in writing within the 120-day period set by G.S. 

150B-16. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-142; 150B-16. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0403 PROCEDURE FOR ADOPTION 

OF RULES 

(a)  General. The procedure for the adoption, amendment or repeal 

of a rule is governed by G.S. 150B-12. 

(b)  Notice of Rule-Making. In addition to the mandatory 

publication of notice in the North Carolina Register, the Board, in 

its discretion, may also publish notice through its newsletter to 

licentiates on the Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com, or 

by separate mailing. Any person who wishes to receive individual 

notice shall file a written request with the secretary and shall be 

responsible for the cost of mailing said notice. Board office. 

(c)  Public Hearing. Any public rule-making hearing required by 

G.S. 150B-12 shall be conducted by the President of the Board or 

by any person he or she may delegate. The presiding officer shall 

have complete control of the hearing and shall conduct the hearing 
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so as to provide a reasonable opportunity for any interested person 

to present views, data and comments. 

(1) Oral presentations shall not exceed 15 minutes 

unless the presiding officer, in his or her 

discretion, prescribes a greater time limit. 

(2) Written presentations shall be acknowledged by 

the presiding officer and shall be given the same 

consideration as oral presentations. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-12. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0406 DECLARATORY RULINGS 

(a)  General. The issuance of declaratory rulings by the Board of 

Examiners is governed by G.S. 150B-17. 

(b)  Request for Declaratory Ruling: Contents. A request for a 

declaratory ruling shall be in writing and addressed to the 

secretary. president. The request shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) The name and address of the person making the 

request; 

(2) The statute or rule to which the request relates; 

(3) A concise statement of the manner in which the 

person has been aggrieved by the statute or rule; 

(4) A statement as to whether a hearing is desired, 

and if desired, the reason therefor. 

(c)  Refusal to Issue Ruling. The Board shall ordinarily refuse to 

issue a declaratory ruling under the following circumstances: 

(1) When the Board has already made a controlling 

decision on substantially similar facts in a 

contested case; 

(2) When the facts underlying the request for a 

ruling were specifically considered at the time 

of the adoption of the rule in question; 

(3) When the subject matter of the request is 

involved in pending litigation in North 

Carolina. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-17. 

 

SECTION .0500 - INVESTIGATION OF COMPLAINTS 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0501 FILING COMPLAINTS 

(a)  General. Any person who has reason to believe that a Doctor 

of Chiropractic has violated the laws governing chiropractic may 

file a complaint with the Board of Examiners. Board. Directions 

on filing a complaint and the complaint form can be found on the 

Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com/complaint-filing-

process. Complaints should shall be filed directly with the 

secretary of the Board of Examiners. office. 

(b)  Form of Complaint. Complaints may be formal or informal, 

but must be in writing: 

(1) Informal Complaints. Any written 

communication, construed most favorably to 

the complainant, which appears to allege a 

violation of the laws governing chiropractic 

shall be considered an informal complaint. 

(2) Formal Complaint. A formal complaint shall be 

executed in writing under oath upon a form 

provided by the secretary. It shall specify the 

statute or rule allegedly violated and shall 

contain a short statement of the acts or 

omissions constituting the alleged violation 

including the dates of said acts or omissions. 

(c)  Secretary's Response to Complaints. The secretary shall 

review any complaint to determine whether a major or minor 

violation has been alleged. If the secretary determines that the 

alleged violation is minor, he shall attempt to resolve the 

complaint by informal communication with the complainant and 

the chiropractor complained of. If the secretary determines that 

the alleged violation is major, he shall assist the complainant in 

filing a formal complaint. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-154. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0503 DETERMINATION OF 

PROBABLE CAUSE 

(a)  General. Formal complaints Complaints deemed likely to 

have occurred, based on the findings of the Investigative Report, 

shall be investigated by referred to the Chiropractic Review 

Committee. The committee shall hold a hearing to determine 

whether there is probable cause to believe a violation of the laws 

governing Chiropractic has occurred. 

(b)  Composition of Chiropractic Review Committee. The 

committee shall be composed of: 

(1) the secretary of the Board of Examiners. If the 

secretary is unable to attend a particular specific 

probable cause hearing, he or she may designate 

another physician member of the Board to serve 

and assume his or her duties at said hearing; 

(2) the attorney for the Board of, Examiners; and 

(3)(2) an alternate Board member. "Alternate Board 

member" means: 

(A) a former Board member selected by 

the secretary; or 

(B) a current Board member selected by 

the secretary; or 

(B)(C) a licensee selected by the secretary 

from among those who, at any election 

held pursuant to Rule .0103(c) of this 

Chapter, have been elected nominees 

for Board membership but not 

appointed to the Board. 

(c)  Notice of hearing. The secretary shall provide notice of the 

probable cause hearing in accordance with G.S. 150B-38(b). 

(d)  Conduct of Probable Cause Hearing. The probable cause 

hearing shall be informal, and the secretary secretary, or designee 

per Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule, shall preside. The 

Chiropractic Review Committee may consider evidence at the 

probable cause hearing that would not be admissible if offered at 

the hearing in a contested case. 

(e)  Action by the Chiropractic Review Committee. After 

examining the evidence presented at the probable cause hearing, 

the Chiropractic Review Committee may dispose of each charge 

in the formal a complaint as follows: 

(1) If no probable cause exists to believe that a 

violation of G.S. 90-154 has occurred, the 

charge may be dismissed; 
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(2) If probable cause exists to believe that a 

violation of G.S. 90-154 has occurred, and if the 

Committee and licensee at issue fail to resolve 

the matter through settlement, the case will be 

considered a "contested case" and set for 

hearing before either the Board, or an 

Administrative Law Judge at the NC Office of 

Administrative Hearings, at the discretion of 

the Board. 

(2) If the respondent admits the charge, he may be 

directed to cease and desist from commission of 

those acts which violate the provisions of G.S. 

90-154; or 

(3) If a charge is denied and probable cause is 

found, or if a charge, while admitted, is of such 

gravity as to make the imposition of punitive 

sanctions appropriate, the complaint shall be 

presented to the Board of Examiners for its 

decision on the merits. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-141; 90-143; 90-154. 

 

SECTION .0700 - HEARINGS IN CONTESTED CASES 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0706 CONDUCT OF BOARD 

HEARING 

(a)  General. Hearings in contested cases shall be conducted by a 

majority of the Board, unless a majority of the Board votes to 

designate an administrative law judge to preside at the hearing in 

the Office of Administrative Hearings instead. The president shall 

serve as presiding officer at Board Hearings unless he or she is 

absent or disqualified, in which case the vice-president shall 

preside. Board Hearings shall be conducted as prescribed by G.S. 

150B-40. 

(b)  Disqualification. An affidavit seeking disqualification of any 

Board member, if filed in good faith and in a timely manner, will 

be ruled on by the remaining members of the Board. An affidavit 

is considered timely if it is filed: 

(1) Prior to the hearing; or 

(2) As soon after the commencement of the hearing 

as the affiant becomes aware of facts which 

give rise to his belief that a Board member 

should be disqualified. 

(c)  Evidence. The admission of evidence in a Board Hearing on 

a contested case shall be as prescribed in G.S. 150B-41. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-40; 150B-41. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0708 CONTINUANCES FOR BOARD 

HEARINGS 

(a)  Consistent with G.S. 150B-40(b), all motions for continuance 

shall be addressed to the secretary, or the designated presiding 

officer of the contested case hearing. 

(b)  Motions for a continuance of a hearing may be granted upon 

a showing of compelling cause. Under no circumstances is the 

Board required to grant continuances. 

(c)  Motions for a continuance shall be in writing and shall be 

received in the office of the Board no less than seven calendar 

days before the hearing date. 

(d)  In determining whether good cause exists, the presiding 

officer may consider the ability of the party requesting a 

continuance to proceed effectively without a continuance. 

(e)  Usually, a motion for a continuance filed less than seven 

calendar days from the date of the hearing shall be denied unless 

the reason for the motion could not have been ascertained earlier. 

(f)  Motions for continuance filed on the date of the hearing shall 

be granted to a party only under compelling circumstances, 

especially if a continuance has been previously requested. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-156; 150B-38(h). 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0709 SUBPOENAS 

(a)  Requests for subpoenas for the attendance and testimony of 

witnesses or for the production of documents, either at a Board 

Hearing or for the purposes of discovery, shall: 

(1) be made in writing to the Board; 

(2) identify any document sought; 

(3) include the full name and home or business 

address of all persons to be subpoenaed; and 

(4) if known, the date, time, and place for 

responding to the subpoena. 

The Board shall issue the requested subpoenas within three days 

of receipt of the request. 

(b)  Subpoenas shall contain the following: 

(1) the caption of the case; 

(2) the name and address of the person subpoenaed; 

(3) the date, hour, and location of the hearing in 

which the witness is commanded to appear; 

(4) a particularized description of the books, 

papers, records, or objects the witness is 

directed to bring with him to the hearing, if any; 

(5) the identity of the party on whose application 

the subpoena was issued; 

(6) the date of issue; 

(7) the signature of the presiding officer or his 

designee; and 

(8) a "return of service." The "return of service" 

form as filled out, shall show: 

(A) the name and capacity of the person 

serving the subpoena; 

(B) the date on which the subpoena was 

delivered to the person directed to 

make service; 

(C) the date on which service was made; 

(D) the person on whom service was 

made; 

(E) the manner in which service was 

made; and 

(F) the signature of the person making 

service. 

(c)  Subpoenas shall be served in a manner set forth in Rule 45 of 

the N.C. Rules of Civil Procedure. 

(d)  Any person receiving a subpoena from the Board may object 

thereto by filing a written objection to the subpoena with the 

Board's office. Written objections shall comply with Rule 45 of 

the N.C. Rules of Civil Procedure. 

(e)  The party who requested the subpoena may file a written 

response to the objection. The written response shall be served by 
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the requesting party on the objecting witness with filing the 

response with the Board. 

(f)  After receipt of the objection and response thereto, if any, the 

Board shall issue a notice to the party who requested the subpoena 

and the party challenging the subpoena to be scheduled as soon as 

practicable, at which time evidence and testimony may be 

presented, limited to the narrow questions raised by the objection 

and response. 

(g)  Promptly after the close of such Board Hearing, a majority of 

the Board members with voting authority will rule on the 

challenge and issue a written decision. A copy of the decision will 

be issued to all parties and made a part of the record. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-38; 150B-39; 150B-40. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Dental Examiners intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 16W .0104 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 16W 

.0101. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncdentalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 10, 2019 

Time:  6:30 p.m. 

Location:  2000 Perimeter Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, 

NC 27560 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  21 NCAC 16W .0101 is proposed 

for amendment and 21 NCAC 16W .0104 is proposed based on a 

request received by the NC Dental Society and the NC Oral 

Health Coalition to permit increased access to care in 

underserved areas. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Bobby White, 2000 Perimeter 

Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 27560 

 

Comment period ends:  November 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16W - PUBLIC HEALTH HYGIENISTS 

 

SECTION .0100 - PUBLIC HEALTH HYGIENISTS 

 

21 NCAC 16W .0101 DIRECTION DEFINED 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 90-233(a), a A public health hygienist may 

perform clinical hygiene procedures in accordance with G.S. 90-

233(a). "under the direction of a licensed dentist," as defined by 

21 NCAC 16Y .0104(c) of this Chapter, who is employed by a 

State government dental public health program or a local health 

department as a public health dentist. 

(b)  The specific clinical procedures delegated to the hygienist 

shall be completed, in accordance with a written order from the 

dentist, within 120 270 days of the dentist's in-person evaluation 

of the patient. 

(c)  The dentist's evaluation of the patient shall include a 

comprehensive oral examination, medical and dental health 

history, and diagnosis of the patient's condition. 

(d)  A public health hygienist may provide educational 

information, such as instruction in brushing and flossing, without 

the Direction direction of a licensed dentist is not required for 

public health hygienists who provide only educational 

information, such as instruction in brushing and flossing. dentist. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-233(a). 

 

21 NCAC 16W .0104 DENTAL ACCESS SHORTAGE 

AREAS 

(a)  Public health hygienists who are practicing under Rule 

.0101(a) of this Section and who perform procedures in public 

schools, nursing homes, rest homes, long-term care facilities, and 

rural and community clinics operated by federal, State, county, or 

local governments in areas identified by the Office of Rural 

Health in the Department of Health and Human Services as dental 

access shortage areas may: 

(1) perform clinical hygiene procedures as 

described in G.S. 90-221 under the direction of 

a dentist based on a written standing order, 

rather than an in-person evaluation by the 

dentist as set forth in Rule .0101(c) of this 

Section; and 

(2) supervise a Dental Assistant who assists the 

public health hygienists in the procedures 

described in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

(b)  Public health hygienists working under supervision of a 

dentist in accordance with G.S. 90-233(a) and providing services 

at facilities identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule who are 
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performing services pursuant to a written order from the dentist 

must complete the procedures ordered within 270 days. 

(c)  Dentists providing services at facilities pursuant to Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule are providing public health services and may 

supervise more than two public health hygienists at the same time 

who are performing dental hygiene functions. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-233(a); 90-233(b). 

 

 

TITLE 25 – OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Human Resources Commission intends to amend the rule 

cited as 25 NCAC 01E .0210. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://oshr.nc.gov/about-oshr/state-hr-commission/proposed-

rulemaking 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 1, 2019 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Office of State Human Resources, Department of 

Administration, 116 Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  25 NCAC 01E .0210 Separation:  

Payment of Vacation Leave is amended to align with 25 NCAC 

01E .2005 regarding vacation and sick leave accumulated during 

the first twelve months of workers' compensation leave and bonus 

leave granted at any time during leave when employee is 

separated and excess vacation leave over 240 hours maximum if 

employee returns to permanent duty after workers' compensation 

leave.  The language of the Rule has also been clarified for easier 

administration of rule by State agency human resources staff 

when employees on workers' compensation leave are separated. 

Comments may be submitted to:  Christine Ryan, 1331 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1331; phone (919) 807-4838; 

email Christine.Ryan@nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 01 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN 

RESOURCES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01E - EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

 

SECTION .0200 - VACATION LEAVE 

 

25 NCAC 01E .0210 SEPARATION: PAYMENT OF 

VACATION LEAVE 

(a)  The agency shall pay an employee in a lump sum for vacation 

leave only at the time of separation. separation, except as set forth 

in Paragraph (h) or (i) of this Rule. 

(b)  When separated from state State service due to resignation, 

dismissal, or death, an employee shall be paid in a lump sum for 

accumulated vacation leave not to exceed a maximum of 240 

hours. The employee is not entitled to any scheduled holiday 

occurring after the last day of work. The employee shall ceases 

cease to accumulate leave and ceases to or be entitled to take sick 

leave. The last day of work is shall be the date of separation. 

(c)  When separated from state State service due to service 

retirement, early retirement, or reduction in force, an employee 

may, at the discretion of the employee's supervisor, elect to 

exhaust vacation leave after the last day of work but prior to the 

effective date of the separation. All benefits shall accrue while 

leave is being exhausted exhausted, including holidays that occur 

during the period. Unused vacation leave not exhausted shall be 

paid in a lump sum not to exceed 240 hours. An employee who 

was reduced in force and who had over 240 hours of vacation 

leave at the time of separation shall have the excess leave 

reinstated when reemployed within one year. The date of 

separation is shall be determined as follows: 

(1) If leave is exhausted, the last day of leave is the 

date of separation. 

(2) If no leave is exhausted, the last day of work is 

the date of separation. 

(d)  If an employee separates and is overdrawn on leave, the 

employing agency shall deduct the value of the overdrawn leave 

from the final salary check. 

(e)  The employing agency shall make a retirement deduction 

from all leave payments. 

(f)  Receipt of lump sum leave payment and retirement benefit is 

shall not be considered as dual compensation. 

(g)  In the case of a deceased employee, the employing agency 

shall make a payment for unpaid salary, vacation leave, and travel, 

upon establishment of a valid claim, to the deceased employee's 

administrator or executor. In the absence of an administrator or 

executor, the employing agency must make a payment in 

accordance with the provisions of G.S. 28A-25-6. 28A-25-6(a). 
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(h)  In the case of an employee separated due to a workers' 

compensation injury pursuant to 25 NCAC 01C .1007(a)(3), leave 

shall be paid in a lump sum as follows: 

(1) Payment of unused vacation and bonus leave 

eligible for payout already earned as of the date 

of injury. 

(2) Payment of unused vacation and sick leave 

accumulated only during the first 12 months of 

workers' compensation leave. 

(3) Payment of any unused bonus leave eligible for 

payout granted on or after the date of injury. 

(i)  If the employee returns to permanent duty after workers' 

compensation leave, vacation leave remains available for use after 

returning to work until the end of the calendar year, at which time 

any excess vacation leave over the 240-hour maximum shall be 

converted to sick leave. If the employee separates for any reason 

during the calendar year in which they returned to work after 

workers' compensation leave, the employee shall be paid a lump 

sum for unused leave as follows: 

(1) Payment of unused vacation and bonus leave 

eligible for payout already earned as of the date 

of injury. 

(2) Payment for unused vacation leave 

accumulated during the first 12 months of 

workers' compensation leave. 

(3) Payment of any unused bonus leave eligible for 

payout granted on or after the date of injury. 

 

Authority G.S. 28A 25-6(a),(c); 126-4. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 08 – STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Board of Elections 

 

Rule Citation:  08 NCAC 10B .0103; 17 .0101-.0106, and .0109 

 

Effective Date:  August 23, 2019 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  August 15, 

2019 

 

Reason for Action:  G.S. 150B-21.1(a)(11)b. authorizes the State 

Board to adopt temporary rules "after prior notice or hearing or 

upon any abbreviated notice or hearing the agency finds practical 

"to" implement the provisions of state or federal law for which the 

State Board of Elections has been authorized to adopt rules."   As 

such, it is the agency's belief, in consultation with Rules Review 

Commission staff, that temporary rules adopted under this 

authority are subject to notice and hearing requirements but are 

not subject to the 210-day timeline in G.S. 150B-21.1(a2) nor the 

timeline set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3(a3). 

 

CHAPTER 10 - BALLOT ROTATION RULES FOR 

PRIMARY ELECTION BALLOTS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B – VOTING, VOTING PLACES AND 

PRECINCT OFFICIALS' DUTIES AND TASKS 

 

08 NCAC 10B .0103 VOTING PROCEDURES 

(a)  From the time the polls are opened on Election Day until the 

precinct count has been completed, the returns signed, and the 

results declared, and from the time the voting place opens for one-

stop voting until the voting place closes at the end of the one-stop 

period, no person shall take or remove from the voting enclosure 

election supplies and materials, including official ballots, 

containers of official ballots, provisional official ballots, spoiled 

ballots, the pollbook or voter authorization slip(s), the registration 

record(s) or any voting units or devices that are part of the voting 

system, except as authorized by law G.S. 163-166.9 or 08 NCAC 

10B .0108 to accommodate curbside voters. Provisions for secure 

removal of election supplies and materials at any time would be 

are permissible under the emergency management plan of a 

county board of elections in the cases of natural or man-made 

emergencies. emergencies, pursuant to 08 NCAC 10B .0106. 

(b)  A person seeking to vote shall enter the voting enclosure at 

the voting place through the designated entrance and shall clearly 

communicate the person's name and place of residence and 

present photo identification in accordance with G.S. 163A-

1145.1(a) to one of the judges of election. election officials. In 

some cases, the The election official precinct judge may prompt 

the voter to provide this information. In a primary election, the 

voter shall also state the political party with which the voter 

affiliates and in whose primary the voter desires to vote, or if the 

voter is an unaffiliated voter permitted to vote in the primary of a 

particular party, the voter shall state the name of the authorizing 

political party in whose primary the voter wishes to vote. This 

information, including the political party's primary in which the 

voter elected to participate, provided by the voter shall be 

recorded in the precinct pollbook or on the voter authorization 

slip. The judge or assistant election official to whom the voter 

gives this information shall announce the name and residence of 

the voter so that the information may be heard by other the 

necessary officials and observers. After examining the precinct 

registration records, the judge or assistant election official shall 

state whether the person seeking to vote is registered. The precinct 

judge or assistant election official shall not presume the 

identity/name, address, or party affiliation of any person seeking 

to vote. vote, and shall follow the procedures set forth in 08 

NCAC 17 .0101. Each precinct shall be required to have an 

electronic device, including device (such as a smart phone, tablet, 

or laptop computer, computer) which that can be used for viewing 

the list of approved student and employee photo identification 

cards under G.S. 163A-1145.2(a) and G.S. 163A-1145.3(a) and 

examples of those approved cards.cards; or, in the alternative, 

cards. Alternatively, each precinct shall have a printed list of 

approved student and employee photo identification cards and 

examples of those approved cards. 

(c)  If the person is found to be registered and is not challenged, 

or if the challenge is overruled, the responsible judge of election 

election official shall provide the voter with each official ballot 

the voter is entitled to vote. In a primary election the voter shall 

be allowed to vote the political party ballot(s) the voter is entitled 

to vote and no others, except non-partisan ballots. Unaffiliated 

voters may choose to participate in only one party's primary and 

no others on the same day. In the case of a second primary, 

unaffiliated voters who participated in a party's primary in the first 

primary may only vote that party's ballot in the second primary. 

However, if an unaffiliated voter did not participate in the first 

primary, the voter may choose which party's primary to 

participate in during the second primary. Note that unaffiliate 

Unaffiliated voter participation in party primaries is subject to 

authorization by the respective state State party executive 

committees. Unaffiliated voters who are otherwise qualified may 

always participate in non-partisan primaries. 

(d)  If the person is found to not be registered to vote in the 

precinct, the responsible judge of election shall inform the person 

of the fail-safe voting process. First, based Based on information 

provided by the person the responsible judge shall determine 

whether or not the person may be eligible to vote an official 

provisional ballot. The person is eligible to vote an official 

provisional ballot if the person resides in the precinct and 

either:person: No person shall be denied the option to vote a 

provisional ballot. Reasons a person may vote a provisional ballot 

include, but are not limited to, include that the person: 
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(1) is a registered voter in the county and has 

moved into the precinct 30 days or more prior 

to the election and has not reported the change 

to the board of elections; or 

(2) claims to have applied for voter registration in 

the county but there is no record of the person's 

name on the registration records; or 

(3) was removed from the list, but the person 

maintains continuous eligibility to vote within 

the county; or 

(4) disputes the voting districts (and ballots) ballot 

style to which the person has been assigned. 

assigned; or 

(5) cannot produce the identification as required in 

G.S. 163A-1145.1(a) of this section. G.S. 

163A-1145.1(a). 

No person shall be denied an option to vote a provisional ballot. 

(e)  If on Election Day the person is found to not be registered to 

vote in the precinct and the responsible judge of election election 

official learns from the person that the person resides in a different 

precinct, the responsible judge election official shall provide the 

person with adequate information in order to direct the person 

inform the person that the person may vote a provisional ballot at 

the precinct or may go to the proper voting place. precinct under 

G.S. 163-55 and G.S. 163-57. 

(f)  It is the duty of the election official chief judge and judges to 

gather any voter information regarding changes of name and 

address in order to assist the county board of elections in updating 

voter records. If the county board of elections has identified a 

voter's record pursuant to law to gather additional information, the 

responsible judge election official shall require the voter to update 

the information. 

(g)  It is the duty of the chief judge and judges election officials 

to give any voter any technical information the voter desires in 

regard to ballot items. In response to questions asked by the voter, 

the chief judge and judges election official shall communicate to 

the voter only technical information necessary to enable the voter 

to vote the ballot. Technical information may include the number 

of pages the ballot contains or confirmation that the voter received 

the correct ballot style. 

(h)  The On Election Day the Chief Judge shall assign two precinct 

officials, one from each political party if possible, to keep the 

pollbook or other voting record and to keep the registration list. 

The names of all persons voting shall be checked on the 

registration record and entered on the pollbook or other voting 

record. In an election where observers may be appointed 

appointed, each voter's party affiliation shall be entered in the 

proper column of the pollbook or other approved record opposite 

the voter's name. The designated official shall make each entry at 

the time the ballots are handed to the voter. The information about 

the voter's political party registration shall be obtained from the 

registration record and not from the voter. 

(i)  The chief judge, judges, and assistants Election officials must 

ensure that registration records are kept secure and do not leave 

the voting enclosure for any purpose. Properly designated 

observers Observers appointed pursuant to G.S. 163-45 are 

entitled to obtain a list of the persons who have voted in the 

precinct so far in that election day at least at the following times: 

10 a.m., 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. Counties using authorization to vote 

documents as opposed to traditional pollbooks may comply with 

the requirement by permitting each observer to inspect election 

records so that the observer may create a list of persons who have 

voted in the precinct. A party may designate more than two 

observers for each precinct, but only two may serve in the voting 

place at the same time. Observers may serve in shifts, as long as 

the shifts are at least four hours long and the persons serving in 

the shifts have been properly appointed as observers. long. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-166.7; 163-119; 

NAACP v. McCrory, 831 F.3d 204 (4th Cir. 2016); 163A-1145.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 23, 2019. 

 

CHAPTER 17 - PHOTO IDENTIFICATION 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0101 DETERMINATION OF 

REASONABLE RESEMBLANCE VERIFICATION OF 

PHOTO IDENTIFICATION AT CHECK-IN 

(a)  An election official shall check the registration status of all 

persons presenting to vote in-person on election day or during 

one-stop early voting pursuant to G.S. 163-166.7, and shall 

require that all persons presenting to vote provide one of the forms 

of photo identification listed in G.S. 163-166.13(e), 163A-

1145.1(a), subject to the exceptions outlined in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. If a person not satisfying the exceptions described in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule does not provide any photo 

identification, the election official shall inform the person 

presenting to vote of applicable options specified in G.S. 163-

166.13(c). 163A-1145.1(c). If the person presenting to vote 

wishes to choose the option of voting a provisional ballot, the 

election official shall provide the person presenting to vote with 

information on the provisional voting process and the address of 

the county board of elections office. 

(b)  The election official shall not require photo identification of 

a person who who: 

(1) has a sincerely held religious objection to being 

photographed and meets the requirements of 

G.S. 163-166.13(a)(2), 163A-1145.1(d)(1), 

G.S. 163A-1145.1(d)(1); 

(2) who suffers from a reasonable impediment that 

prevents the registered voter from presenting 

photograph identification and meets the 

requirements of G.S. 163A-1145.1(d)(2), G.S. 

163A-1145.1(d)(2); or 

(3) or who is the victim of a natural disaster and 

meets the requirements of G.S. 163-

166.13(a)(3). 163A-1145.1(d)(3). 

Persons falling within any exception listed in this Paragraph who 

complete the required affidavit required by G.S. 163A-1145.1(d) 

shall be allowed to proceed pursuant to G.S. 163-166.7. G.S. 163-

166.7 and shall cast a provisional ballot. The county board of 

elections shall find that a provisional ballot cast by a person who 

meets the qualifications of this Paragraph is valid unless the 

county board has grounds to believe the affidavit is false. 

unanimously decides that the affidavit is false, pursuant to 08 

NCAC 17 .0109(f). 
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(c)  The election official shall inspect any photo identification 

provided by the person presenting to vote and shall determine the 

following: 

(1) That the photo identification is of the type 

acceptable for voting purposes pursuant to G.S. 

163-166.13(e). 163A-1145.1(a). A valid United 

States passport book or a valid United States 

passport card is acceptable pursuant to G.S. 

163-166.13(e)(3); 163A-1145.1(a)(1)c.; 

(2) That the photo identification is unexpired or is 

otherwise acceptable pursuant to G.S. 

163-166.13(e); 163A-1145.1(a); 

(3) That the photograph appearing on the photo 

identification depicts bears any reasonable 

resemblance to the person presenting to vote. 

The election official shall make this 

determination based on the totality of the 

circumstances, construing all evidence, along 

with any explanation or documentation 

voluntarily proffered by the person presenting 

to vote, in the light most favorable to that 

person. Perceived differences of the following 

features shall not be grounds for the election 

official to find that the photograph appearing on 

the photo identification fails to depict does not 

bear any reasonable resemblance to the person 

presenting to vote: 

(A) weight; 

(B) hair features and styling, including 

changes in length, color, hairline, or 

use of a wig or other hairpiece; 

(C) facial hair; 

(D) complexion or skin tone; 

(E) cosmetics or tattooing; 

(F) apparel, including the presence or 

absence of eyeglasses or contact 

lenses; 

(G) characteristics arising from a 

perceptible medical condition, 

disability, gender transition, or aging; 

(H) photographic lighting conditions or 

printing quality; and 

(4) That the name appearing on the photo 

identification is the same or substantially 

equivalent to the name contained in the 

registration record. The election official shall 

make this determination based on the totality of 

the circumstances, construing all evidence, 

along with any explanation or documentation 

voluntarily proffered by the person presenting 

to vote, in the light most favorable to that 

person. The name appearing on the photo 

identification shall be considered substantially 

equivalent to the name contained in the 

registration record if differences are attributable 

to a reasonable explanation or one or more of 

the following reasons: 

(A) Omission of one or more parts of the 

name (such as, for illustrative 

purposes only, Mary Beth Smith 

versus Beth Smith, or Patrick Todd 

Jackson, Jr. versus Patrick Todd 

Jackson, or Maria Guzman-Santana 

versus Maria Guzman); 

(B) Use of a variation or nickname rather 

than a formal name (such as, for 

illustrative purposes only, Bill versus 

William, or Sue versus Susanne); 

(C) Use of an initial in place of one or 

more parts of a given name (such as, 

for illustrative purposes only, A.B. 

Sanchez versus Aaron B. Sanchez); 

(D) Use of a former name, including 

maiden names (such as, for illustrative 

purposes only, Emily Jones versus 

Emily Gibson), names changed during 

the gender transition process (such as, 

for illustrative purposes only, 

Catherine Smith versus Dan Smith), or 

a variation that includes or omits a 

hyphenation (such as, for illustrative 

purposes only, Chantell D. Jacobson-

Smith versus Chantell D. Jacobson); 

(E) Ordering of names (such as, for 

illustrative purposes only, Maria Eva 

Garcia Lopez versus Maria E. Lopez-

Garcia); 

(F) Variation in spelling or typographical 

errors (such as, for illustrative 

purposes only, Dennis McCarthy 

versus Denis McCarthy, or Aarav 

Robertson versus Aarav Robertsson). 

(d)  The election official shall not require any additional evidence 

outside the four corners of the photo identification. The election 

official shall not require that any person remove apparel for the 

purposes of rendering a determination under Paragraph (c). If the 

face of the person presenting to vote is covered such that the 

election official cannot render a determination under 

Subparagraph (c)(3), then the election official shall give the 

person the opportunity to remove the covering but shall not 

require that removal. If the person declines to remove the 

covering, the election official shall inform the person presenting 

to vote that he or she may cast a provisional ballot, which shall be 

counted in accordance with G.S. 163-182.1A, or, if applicable, 

may complete a written request for an absentee ballot as set out in 

G.S. 163-166.13(c)(3), and shall inform the voting site's judges of 

election that the election official cannot affirmatively determine 

that the person bears any reasonable resemblance to the photo 

identification. G.S. 163A-1145.1. 

(e)  Differences between the address appearing on the photo 

identification meeting the requirements of Subparagraph (c)(1) 

and the address contained in the registration record shall not be 

construed as evidence that the photographic identification does 

not bear any reasonable resemblance pursuant to Subparagraphs 

(c)(3) and (c)(4) of this Rule, nor shall it be construed as evidence 

that the photographic identification does not otherwise meet the 

requirements of any other provision of Paragraph (C).(c). 
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(f)  The election official shall construe all evidence, along with 

any explanation or documentation voluntarily proffered by the 

person presenting to vote, in the light most favorable to that 

person. After an examination performed in the manner set out in 

Paragraphs (a) through (d) of this Rule, the election official shall 

proceed as follows: 

(1) If the election official determines that the photo 

identification meets all the requirements of 

Paragraph (c), then the person presenting to 

vote shall be allowed to proceed pursuant to 

G.S. 163-166.7 and 163-166.13(b); 163A-

1145.1; or 

(2) If the election official determines that the photo 

identification does not meet all of the 

requirements of Subparagraphs (c)(1) and 

(c)(2), the election official shall inform the 

person presenting to vote of the reasons for such 

determination (such as, for illustrative purposes 

only, that the photo identification is expired) 

and shall invite the person to provide any other 

acceptable photo identification that he or she 

may have. If the person presenting to vote does 

not produce photo identification that meets all 

the requirements of Subparagraph (c)(1) and 

(c)(2), then the election official shall inform the 

person presenting to vote of applicable options 

specified in G.S. 163-166.13(c). 163A-

1145.1(c) and (d). If the person presenting to 

vote wishes to choose the option of voting a 

provisional ballot, the election official shall 

provide the person presenting to vote with 

information on the provisional voting process 

and the address of the county board of elections 

office. 

(3) If the election official determines that the photo 

identification does not meet all the 

requirements of Subparagraphs (c)(3) and 

(c)(4), the election official shall notify the 

voting site's judges of election that the person 

presenting to vote does not bear any reasonable 

resemblance to the photo identification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-82.6A; 163-82.15; 163-

166.7; 163-166.13; 163-166.14; 163-182.1A; NAACP v. 

McCrory, 831 F.3d 204 (4th Cir. 2016); 163A-1145.1; S.L. 2018-

144, s. 3.1(e); 

Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 23, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0102 DETERMINATION OF 

REASONABLE RESEMBLANCE BY JUDGES OF 

ELECTION 

(a)  The judges of election shall make a determination as to 

reasonable resemblance pursuant to G.S. 163-166.14 163A-

1145.1(b) only if the person presenting to vote is referred to them 

by an election official as set out in 08 NCAC 17 .0101(f)(3). 

(b)  The judges of election shall inspect the photo identification 

provided by the person presenting to vote and shall make a 

determination as to all requirements set out in 08 NCAC 17 

.0101(c)(3) and (4). The judges of election shall make their 

determinations based on the totality of the circumstances, 

construing all evidence in the light most favorable to the person 

presenting to vote. The judges of election shall consider the 

following, if presented: 

(1) Any information contained in the photo 

identification meeting the requirements of 08 

NCAC 17 .0101(c)(1) and the registration 

record (such as, for illustrative purposes only, 

date of birth, sex, or race); 

(2) Any explanation proffered by the person 

presenting to vote or by other persons; and 

(3) Any additional documentation provided by the 

person presenting to vote or by other persons. 

(c)  The judges of election shall follow 08 NCAC 17 .0101(e) with 

regard to addresses appearing on the photo identification. 

(d)  After considering the evidence, the judges of election shall 

vote to determine whether the photo identification bears any 

reasonable resemblance to the person presenting to vote. All 

judges of election must vote either yea or nay, and the result shall 

be governed by the following: 

(1) Unless the judges of election unanimously find 

that the photo identification does not bear any 

reasonable resemblance to the person appearing 

before them as set out in Subparagraph (e)(2), 

the person presenting to vote shall be allowed 

to proceed pursuant to G.S. 163-166.7 and 163-

166.13(b). 163A-1145.1. 

(2) If the judges of election unanimously find that 

the photo identification does not meet all the 

requirements of 08 NCAC 17 .0101(c)(3) and 

(4), the judges of election shall enter a 

determination that the photo identification does 

not bear any reasonable resemblance to the 

person presenting to vote, and shall record their 

determinations in the manner set out in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule. The judges of 

election shall inform the person presenting to 

vote that he or she may cast a provisional ballot, 

which shall be counted in accordance with G.S. 

163-88.1. 163A-1145.1(c). 

(e)  The judges of election shall record their determination as to 

reasonable resemblance on a form provided by the State Board of 

Elections that provides the date and time, the voting site, the 

names of the judges of election, the name of the person presenting 

to vote, and the determination of each individual judge of election. 

election, and if the judges of election unanimously determine that 

the photo identification does not bear any reasonable resemblance 

to the person presenting to vote, a brief explanation as to why that 

determination was made. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-166.7; 163-82.6A; 163-

82.15; 163-88.1; 163-166.7; 163-166.13; 163-166.14; NAACP v. 

McCrory, 831 F.3d 204 (4th Cir. 2016); 163A-1145.1; S.L. 2018-

144, s. 3.1(e); 

Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 23, 2019. 
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08 NCAC 17 .0103 IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED 

OF CURBSIDE VOTERS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-166.9; 163-166.13; NAACP 

v. McCrory, 831 F.3d 204 (4th Cir. 2016); S.L. 2018-144, s. 

3.1(d); 

Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Temporary Repeal Eff. August 23, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0104 OPPORTUNITY TO UPDATE 

NAME OR ADDRESS AFTER REASONABLE 

RESEMBLANCE IS DETERMINED 

A person able to vote a regular ballot but whose name or address 

does not match the name or address appearing in the registration 

record shall be provided the opportunity to update his or her name 

or address in the registration record pursuant to G.S. 163-82.15(d) 

and 163-82.16(d) to reflect the person's true and current name and 

address. If the person updates his or her name or address, the 

person shall be permitted to vote as set out in G.S. 163-166.7 and 

163-166.13(b), 163A-1145.1, so long as the person remains 

eligible to vote based on residence within the county of the voting 

place. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-82.15(d); 163-82.16(d); 

163-166.7; 163-166.13(b); NAACP v. McCrory, 831 F.3d 204 (4th 

Cir. 2016); 163A-1145.1; S.L. 2018-144, s. 3.1(e); 

Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 23, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0105 DECLARATION OF RELIGIOUS 

OBJECTION TO PHOTOGRAPH 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-82.7A; 163-166.12(a)(2); 

163-166.13(a)(2); 163-182.1A(b)(2); 163-275; NAACP v. 

McCrory, 831 F.3d 204 (4th Cir. 2016); S.L. 2018-144, s. 

3.1.(a),(e), (h); 

Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Temporary Repeal Eff. August 23, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0106 SIGNAGE NOTIFYING ONE-

STOP VOTERS OF THE OPTION TO REQUEST AN 

ABSENTEE BALLOT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-166.12(b),(b2); 163-

227.2(b1),(j); 163-230.1; NAACP v. McCrory, 831 F.3d 204 (4th 

Cir. 2016); S.L. 2018-144, s. 3.1.(j); 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Temporary Repeal Eff. August 23, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0109 PHOTO IDENTIFICATION FOR 

ABSENTEE BALLOTS 

(a)  Definitions. The following definitions apply to this Rule: 

(1) "Readable" means that the name on the 

identification can be read and that the 

photograph is not blurry and depicts a person 

who is distinct and distinguishable from another 

person. 

(2) "Copy" means a duplicate of an original 

document, including a photostatic or other 

photographic copy of the original document. It 

does not include displaying an image on an 

electronic device. 

(b)  Identification Requirement for Absentee Ballot Request 

Form. A completed written request form for an absentee ballot 

shall include a readable electronic or physical copy of the 

identification required by G.S. 163A-1145.1(a) displaying a name 

that is the same or substantially equivalent to the name contained 

in the registration record as provided in 08 NCAC 17 .0101(c)(4). 

The election official shall make this determination based on the 

totality of the circumstances, construing all evidence, along with 

any explanation or documentation voluntarily proffered by the 

person presenting to vote, in the light most favorable to that 

person. The election official shall not require any additional 

evidence outside the four corners of the photo identification. If the 

name on the identification is substantially similar to the name 

listed on the registration record and the identification is readable, 

the county board of elections shall presume that the person 

depicted in the photograph on the identification provided is the 

voter. It is not required that the address on the identification match 

the residential address provided on request form or the address on 

the registration record. 

(c)  Exceptions. The exceptions provided in G.S. 163A-1145.1(d) 

for voters voting in person shall apply to absentee by mail voters. 

The reasonable impediment exception under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d)(2) shall include lack of access to a method to attach an 

electronic or physical copy of the identification card to the 

request. The following additional exceptions shall apply to 

absentee by mail voters: 

(1) Religious Objection Exception. After the 

voter's ballot is counted, if a voter claims the 

religious objection exception under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d)(1) and completes the prescribed 

affidavit, the religious objection exception shall 

be noted on the voter's registration record. In 

future elections that voter shall not be required 

to show photo identification under G.S. 163A-

1145.1 or this Rule, or claim an exception under 

G.S. 163A-1145.1(d), until the voter either 

either: 

(A)(i) notifies the county board of elections 

in writing that the voter no longer 

holds a religious objection to being 

photographed, photographed; 

(B)(ii) provides photo identification in a 

future election, election; or 

(C)(iii) claims an exception under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d)(2) or (d)(3) in a future 

election. 

(2) Annual Requests by Persons with Sickness or 

Physical Disability. If an applicant for an 

absentee request form reports in the application 

that the voter has a sickness or physical 

disability that is expected to last the remainder 

of the calendar year pursuant to G.S. 163A-

1298(b) G.S. 163A-1295(b) and satisfies the 

photo identification requirement under 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule or the voter 

completes an alternative affidavit pursuant to 



 TEMPORARY RULES 

 

 

34:06 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 16, 2019 

510 

G.S. 163A-1145.1(d), the photo identification 

requirement shall be met for all of the primaries 

and elections held during the calendar year 

when the application is received. 

(3) Applications for Absentee Ballots for Voting in 

Second Primary or Runoff Election. A voter 

who is automatically issued an application and 

absentee ballot for a second primary pursuant to 

G.S. 163A-1299 or a runoff election shall not 

be required to submit a copy of acceptable 

photo identification under Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule or claim an exception under G.S. 163A-

1145(d) with the absentee ballot and container-

return envelope for the second primary or 

runoff election. 

(4) Covered Voters Under the Uniform Military 

and Overseas Voter Act. A covered voter who 

is casting a ballot pursuant to Part 2 of Article 

21 of Chapter 163A of the General Statutes 

shall not be required to submit a copy of 

acceptable photo identification under 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule or claim an exception 

under G.S. 163A-1145(d). 

(d)  Delivery of Absentee Ballots and Certification Form. If a 

voter is confirmed as a registered voter of the county, the absentee 

ballots and certification form shall be mailed to the voter, unless 

personally delivered in accordance with G.S. 163A-1308(b), even 

if the voter does not provide the identification required by G.S. 

163A-1309(a)(4) and this Rule with the request. However, the 

voter shall provide identification or claim an exception under G.S. 

163A-1145.1(d) prior to the counting of the voter's absentee 

ballot. If the voter provides the identification required by this Rule 

or claims an exception under G.S. 163A-1145.1(d) with the 

absentee ballot request form, the voter is not required to attach 

additional documentation to the container-return envelope. 

(e)  Valid Absentee Ballot Request Forms Requiring Further 

Action. 

(1) The county board of elections shall include with 

the absentee ballots and certification form a 

letter notifying the voter that the voter's request 

is valid under G.S. 163A-1309(a) but that 

further action is needed by the voter to comply 

with the identification requirements, if any of 

the following apply: 

(A) The voter does not submit the 

identification required by G.S. 163A-

1309(a)(4). 

(B) The voter does not claim an exception 

under G.S. 163A-1145.1(d). 

(C) The voter includes an unreadable copy 

of the identification required by G.S. 

163A-1309(a)(4). 

(D) The identification does not meet the 

expiration date requirements under 

G.S. 163A-1145.1(a). 

(E) The voter provides a type of 

identification not listed under G.S. 

163A-1145.1(a). 

(F) The voter provides identification 

displaying a name that is not the same 

as or substantially similar to the name 

on the voter record as required 

pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(G) The exception affidavit is incomplete, 

either because there is no signature or, 

in the case of a reasonable impediment 

exception under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d)(2), the voter did not 

complete the reasonable impediment 

declaration form under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d1). 

(H) The voter indicates she or he will 

provide identification at a later time. 

(2) The letter required in Subparagraph (1) of this 

Paragraph shall provide the voter with the 

following options: 

(A) At any point between the submission 

of the absentee ballot request form and 

the transmission of the executed 

absentee ballot to the county board of 

elections, 5:00 P.M. on the day before 

the county canvass, provide the 

documentation necessary to comply 

with the identification requirements 

via email, mail, or in person. 

(B) Attach to the absentee ballot 

container-return envelope the 

documentation necessary to comply 

with the identification requirements 

pursuant to G.S. 163A-1307(b)(8). 

(f)  Counting of Absentee Ballots. Prior to the transmission of 

absentee ballots pursuant to G.S. 163A-1308(c), the county board 

of elections shall notate the voter's ID status on the container-

return envelope for a voter who requires further action pursuant 

to Subparagraph (1) of Paragraph (e). Subparagraph (e)(1) of this 

Rule. The county board of elections shall, at the first meeting held 

pursuant to G.S. 163A-1308(f) to pass upon applications for 

absentee ballots after the absentee ballot is received, consider 

whether the voter has complied with the photo identification 

requirements in G.S. 163A-1145.1(a) and this Rule or whether an 

exception applies under G.S. 163A-1145.1(d). In its 

determination, the county board shall construe all evidence in the 

light most favorable to the voter. If an exception applies, the 

county board of elections shall review the affidavit provided. 

Absent any other reason provided by law for disapproving 

absentee ballots, if the county board of elections determines that 

the registered voter is unable to provide proof of identification and 

the voter has completed the required affidavit in G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d), the county board of elections shall find that the 

absentee ballot is valid unless the county board has grounds to 

believe the affidavit is false. A decision that the absentee ballot is 

not approved because the affidavit provided under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d) is false shall require a unanimous vote by the county 

board of elections. If the voter fails to submit acceptable photo 

identification pursuant to G.S. 163A-1145.1(a) and this Rule or 

fails to submit a completed alternative affidavit pursuant to G.S. 

163A-1145.1(d) with the container-return envelope, the mailed 
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ballot shall be treated in the same manner as mail-in absentee 

ballot under G.S. 163A-1144(e). 

(g)  Photocopy Requirement. The county board of elections shall 

allow any person seeking to vote by absentee ballot the use a 

photocopying device to make one photocopy of the voter's form 

of photo identification. 

(h)  Return of original form of identification. If a voter sends his 

or her original form of photo identification with either the 

absentee request form or in the container-return envelope, the 

county board of elections shall make a photocopy of the 

identification and mail the identification back to the voter. 

(i)  Reasonable Impediment Informational Letter. If on the 

absentee request form a voter completes a valid reasonable 

impediment affidavit in accordance with G.S. 163A-1145.1(d)(2), 

the county board of elections shall send that voter a letter, for 

information purposes only, explaining the way to obtain a free 

voter photo identification card pursuant to G.S. 163A-869.1, 

notifying the voter of his or her ability to make one free photocopy 

of the photo identification at the county board of elections office 

pursuant to this Rule, and giving the voter the opportunity to 

provide acceptable photo identification by exercising the options 

provided in Subparagraph (e)(2).] 

(i)(j)  Retention of Copies of Photo Identification and Exception 

Affidavits. Copies of photo identification and alternative 

affidavits shall be retained according to the same schedule for 

absentee ballot applications under G.S. 163A-1313, except that 

copies of religious objection affidavits shall be retained in the 

statewide Statewide computerized voter registration system 

maintained under G.S. 163A-874 until the voter either  

(i) notifies the county board of elections in writing 

that the voter no longer holds a religious 

objection to being photographed, 

(ii) provides photo identification in a future 

election, or  

(iii) claims an exception under G.S. 163A-

1145.1(d)(2) or (d)(3) in a future election. ends 

this exemption pursuant to the methods listed in 

Parts (c)(1)(A) through (C). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163A-1145.1; 163A-1307; 

163A-1309(f); 163A-1319; S.L. 2018-144, s. 1.2.(e), (i); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. August 23, 2019.
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission August 15, 2019 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (1st Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell  

Jeanette Doran (2nd Vice Chair) 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079 
Ashley Snyder  (919) 431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 September 19, 2019 October 17, 2019 
 November 21, 2019 December 19, 2019 
 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
August 15, 2019 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, August 15, 2019, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina. Commissioners present were: Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeanette 
Doran, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, and Paul Powell. 
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsel Amber Cronk May, Ashley Snyder, and Amanda Reeder; and Julie 
Brincefield, Alex Burgos, and Dana McGhee.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:01 a.m. with Chairman Dunklin presiding. 
 
Chairman Dunklin read the notice required by G.S. 163A-159 and reminded the Commission members that they have a 
duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
Chairman Dunklin asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the July 18, 2019 meeting. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
The Chairman notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end 
of the agenda: Temporary Rules for the State Board of Elections and Permanent Rules for the Board of Electrolysis 
Examiners. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Board of Elections 
08 NCAC 10B .0101, .0102, .0104, .0105, .0106, and .0107 were unanimously approved. 
 
The agency is addressing the objection for 08 NCAC 10B .0103. No action was required by the Commission. 
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Social Services Commission 
10A NCAC 06R .0101, .0102, .0201, .0302, .0304, .0305, .0401, .0403, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0506, .0508, .0509, 
.0601, .0801, .0802, .0804, .0806, .0902, and .0904 were unanimously approved. 
 
10A NCAC 06S .0101, .0102, .0203, .0204, .0301, .0302, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0501, .0508; and 06T .0201 - The 
Commission objected due to lack of statutory authority. 
 
DHHS/ Division of Health Benefits  
10A NCAC 23G .0304 - The agency is addressing the objections from the July meeting. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Commission for the Blind 
The agency is addressing the objections for 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, and .0601. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Social Services Commission 
10A NCAC 67A .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206; 68 .0101, .0102, .0107, .0108, .0303; 69 
.0101, .0102, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0301, .0302, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, 
.0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0601, .0603; 72 .0102, .0201, .0202, .0203, and .0301 were 
unanimously approved. 
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 67A .0101, .0201, .0202; 68 .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, 
.0206, .0208, .0301, and .0303; 69 .0602, .0604, .0605; and 72 .0101 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10.   
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 67A .0101 and .0201 as being unnecessary as these Rules only provide cross-
references to other rules or provide information otherwise set forth in Statute.   
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 67A .0202 as being unnecessary as 45 CFR 205.10(a)(4) provides notice 
requirements for cases of “intended action to discontinue, terminate, suspend, or reduce assistance…”   
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 68 .0103 as being unnecessary given G.S. 150B-21.1(a3) and 21.2(e), which 
provide requirements regarding rulemaking hearings. This Rule also appears to pertain exclusively to internal management, 
which does not meet the definition of a rule pursuant to G.S. 150B-2(8a)(a).    
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 68 .0104 as being unnecessary given G.S. 150B-21.2(e) and (f), which provides 
requirements regarding rulemaking hearings and public comments.  Further, the Commission found this Rule to be unclear 
with the use of “promptly”, “brief”, “clearly”, “full and effective”, and “fair” without providing additional clarifying information.  
Finally, the Commission found this Rule to be beyond the statutory authority of the agency as it conflicts with G.S. 150B-
21.2(f).   
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 68 .0105 as being unnecessary as G.S. 150B-21.2(c) sets forth notice requirements 
regarding the grant or denial of a rule-making petition.   
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 68 .0106 as being unnecessary as G.S. 150B-21.2(i) requires that an agency 
maintain a rulemaking record and provides the information to be included in that record. 
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 68 .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, and .0208 as being unnecessary as these 
Rules are repetitive of Section .0100 of Chapter 68. 
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 68 .0301 for lack of statutory authority as none of the cited authority provides 
rulemaking authority regarding employment of county departments of social services to the Social Services Commission.   
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 68 .0303 as being unnecessary as this Rule appears to be addressed by G.S. 
108A-14(b). Further, the Commission objected to this Rule for lack of statutory authority as none of the cited authority 
provides rulemaking authority regarding delegation between a county board and the director of a county department to the 
Social Services Commission.   
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 69 .0602, .0604, and .0605 as being unnecessary as these Rules reference 
contract terms. 
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The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 72 .0101 as being unnecessary as this Rule does not provide any directives to the 
regulated public nor provide any information not otherwise available in rule or statute.   
 
Department of Justice 
12 NCAC 02I .0213 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. 
 
At the June meeting, the RRC voted pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9 to ask the Office of State Budget to determine if the 
adoption of 12 NCAC 02I .0306 has a substantial economic impact and therefore requires a fiscal note. The RRC is awaiting 
a response from the Office of State Budget. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02B, 02H 
The agency is addressing the objections for 15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, .0502, .0503, 
.0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, 
.0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, .0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, .0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, 
.0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, and .1206. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02C 
15A NCAC 02C .0101, .0102, .0105, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0110, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0119, 
.0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0209, .0210, .0211, .0217, .0218, .0219, .0220, .0221, .0222, .0223, .0224, 
.0225, .0226, .0227, .0228, .0229, .0230, .0240, .0241, and .0242 – All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02T 
15A NCAC 02T .1601, .1602, .1604, .1605, .1606, .1607, and .1608 - All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
15A NCAC 07J .0409 was unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Dietetics/Nutrition 
The agency is addressing the objections for 21 NCAC 17 .0101 and .0303. No action was required by the Commission. 
  
State Human Resources Commission 
25 NCAC 01E .0210 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. 
25 NCAC 01I .1702, .1805, .1902, .1903, .1905, .2003, .2105, .2302, .2303, .2304, .2305, .2306, .2307, and .2310 were 
unanimously approved. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Department of Insurance 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission  
All rules were unanimously approved with the following exceptions: 
 
14B NCAC 15A .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0601, and .0602 were withdrawn at the request of the agency. 
 
Alarm Systems Licensing Board 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02B 
15A NCAC 02B .0621 and .0624 were unanimously approved.  
 
The Commission extended the period of review for 15A NCAC 02B .0101, .0103, .0104, .0106, .0108, .0110, .0201, .0202, 
.0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0208, .0211, .0212, .0214, .0215, .0216, .0218, .0219, .0220, .0221, .0222, .0223, .0224, .0225, 
.0226, .0227, .0228, .0230, .0231, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311, .0312, .0314, 
.0315, .0316, and .0317 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10.  It did so in response to a request from the agency to extend 
the period in order to allow the agency additional time to address technical change requests. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02D 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
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Board of Architecture 
21 NCAC 02 .0211 was unanimously approved. 
 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Board of Architecture, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate in 
any discussion or vote concerning the rule because her law firm represents the Board.  
 
Commissioner Choi left the meeting during the discussion concerning the rule. 
 
Licensing Board for General Contractors 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Licensing Board for General Contractors, Commissioner Choi recused herself and 
did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm represents the Board and she is the 
rulemaking coordinator for the Board. 
 
Board of Electrolysis Examiners 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
21 NCAC 19 .0501 was approved contingent upon a technical change to Paragraph (a) to state that the supervising 
physician shall be readily available during services in accordance with G.S. 88A-11.1(c). The technical change was 
subsequently received. 
 
The Commission received over 10 letters of objection in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2), requesting a delayed effective 
date and legislative review of 21 NCAC 19 .0501. 
 
Dorenda Stilwell, with Hairaway Electrolysis & Laser, Inc., addressed the Commission.  
 
Trudy Brown, with Advance Laser and Skin Rejuvenation, addressed the Commission. 
 
Ashley McCullough, a member of the Board, addressed the Commission.  
 
Susan Magas, Administrative Assistant with the Board, addressed the Commission. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
State Board of Elections  
08 NCAC 10B .0103; 17 .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, and .0109 were unanimously approved.   
 
EXISTING RULES REVIEW 
Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS  
10A NCAC 27G - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
December 31, 2022 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The Chair gave a brief update on the enactment of SL 2019-140 - Amend Administrative Procedure Laws.  
 
The Chair announced that the Style Guide will be added to the September agenda for a vote on adoption by the RRC. 
Additionally, the RRC will be holding its Elections of Officers at the September meeting. 
 
The meeting adjourned at 10:29 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, September 19, 2019 at 9:00 a.m. 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Garth Dunklin, Chair 
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

August 15, 2019 Meeting 

 
ELECTIONS AND ETHICS ENFORCEMENT, BOARD OF 

Tasks and Duties of Precinct Officials at Voting Places 08 NCAC 10B .0101 

Setting up Polling Place Prior to Voting 08 NCAC 10B .0102 

Leaving the Voting Enclosure, Spoiled or Incomplete Ballots 08 NCAC 10B .0104 

Procedures at the Close of Voting 08 NCAC 10B .0105 

Election Supplies Return 08 NCAC 10B .0106 

Assistance to Voters in Primaries and General Elections 08 NCAC 10B .0107 

 
SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 

Certification Requirement 10A NCAC 06R .0101 

Corrective Action 10A NCAC 06R .0102 

Definitions 10A NCAC 06R .0201 

Program Goals 10A NCAC 06R .0302 

Insurance 10A NCAC 06R .0304 

Personnel: Centers: Home with Operator and Staff 10A NCAC 06R .0305 

General Requirements 10A NCAC 06R .0401 

Equipment and Furnishings 10A NCAC 06R .0403 

Planning Program Activities 10A NCAC 06R .0501 

Nutrition 10A NCAC 06R .0502 

Transportation 10A NCAC 06R .0503 

Emergencies and First Aid 10A NCAC 06R .0504 

Hours and Days of Operation 10A NCAC 06R .0506 

Records 10A NCAC 06R .0508 

Program Evaluation 10A NCAC 06R .0509 

Procedure 10A NCAC 06R .0601 

The Certificate 10A NCAC 06R .0801 

Provisional Certificate 10A NCAC 06R .0802 

Denial or Revocation of Certificate 10A NCAC 06R .0804 

Procedure for Appeal 10A NCAC 06R .0806 

Policies and Procedures 10A NCAC 06R .0902 

Enrollment - Special Care Services 10A NCAC 06R .0904 

Standards for Office Space and Facilities 10A NCAC 67A .0103 

Administration and Agency Compliance 10A NCAC 67A .0105 

Civil Rights 10A NCAC 67A .0106 

Forms 10A NCAC 67A .0107 

Advisory to Counties Regarding Petition of Garnishment 10A NCAC 67A .0108 

Good Cause for Delayed Hearings 10A NCAC 67A .0203 

Attendance at the Hearing 10A NCAC 67A .0204 

Appeal of Decision 10A NCAC 67A .0205 

Good Cause for Not Requesting Hearing and Required Time F... 10A NCAC 67A .0206 

Petitions 10A NCAC 68 .0101 

Notice 10A NCAC 68 .0102 

Fees 10A NCAC 68 .0107 

Declaratory Rulings 10A NCAC 68 .0108 
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Selection of County Board Members by Social Services Comm 10A NCAC 68 .0302 

Definitions 10A NCAC 69 .0101 

Information from Other Agencies 10A NCAC 69 .0102 

Conflict of Laws 10A NCAC 69 .0201 

Ownership of Records 10A NCAC 69 .0202 

Security of Records 10A NCAC 69 .0203 

Assurance of Confidentiality 10A NCAC 69 .0204 

Liability of Persons with Access to Client Information 10A NCAC 69 .0205 

Right of Access 10A NCAC 69 .0301 

Prompt Response to Request 10A NCAC 69 .0302 

Withholding Information from the Client 10A NCAC 69 .0303 

Procedures for Review of Records 10A NCAC 69 .0304 

Contested Information 10A NCAC 69 .0305 

Review of Record by Personal Representatives 10A NCAC 69 .0306 

Procedures for Obtaining Consent for Release of Information 10A NCAC 69 .0401 

Consent for Release of Information 10A NCAC 69 .0402 

Persons Who May Consent to the Release of Information 10A NCAC 69 .0403 

Informed Consent 10A NCAC 69 .0404 

Persons Designated to Release Client Information 10A NCAC 69 .0405 

Documentation of Release 10A NCAC 69 .0406 

Disclosure within the Agency 10A NCAC 69 .0501 

Disclosure for the Purpose of Research 10A NCAC 69 .0502 

Disclosure for Purposes of Accountability 10A NCAC 69 .0503 

Disclosure Pursuant to Other Laws 10A NCAC 69 .0504 

Disclosure Pursuant to a Court Order 10A NCAC 69 .0505 

Notice to Client 10A NCAC 69 .0506 

Documentation of Disclosure 10A NCAC 69 .0507 

Persons Designated to Disclose Information 10A NCAC 69 .0508 

Information Needs of Service Providers 10A NCAC 69 .0601 

Assurance of Confidentiality 10A NCAC 69 .0603 

Definitions 10A NCAC 72 .0102 

General Rule 10A NCAC 72 .0201 

Satisfactory Progress Requirement 10A NCAC 72 .0202 

Limitations of Award 10A NCAC 72 .0203 

Scholarship Application Procedures 10A NCAC 72 .0301 

 
INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Definitions 11 NCAC 08 .1601 

Request for an Alternative Inspection 11 NCAC 08 .1602 

Qualified Marketplace Inspections 11 NCAC 08 .1603 

 
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

Purpose 14B NCAC 15A .0101 

Location, Addresses and Business Hours 14B NCAC 15A .0102 

Definitions 14B NCAC 15A .0103 

Distribution, Inspection and Copies of ABC Laws 14B NCAC 15A .0301 

Fee for Computer Service 14B NCAC 15A .0302 

Petition for Adoption of Rules 14B NCAC 15A .0401 
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Administrative Action 14B NCAC 15A .0402 

Notice of Rule-making Hearings; Mailing List 14B NCAC 15A .0403 

Rule-making Hearing 14B NCAC 15A .0404 

Revocation or Suspension of Permit 14B NCAC 15A .0501 

Withdrawal of Request for Declaratory Ruling 14B NCAC 15A .0605 

Disciplinary Action of Employee 14B NCAC 15A .0701 

Notice of Alleged Violation 14B NCAC 15A .0801 

Article 12 Hearings; Final Administrative Decision; Order 14B NCAC 15A .0805 

Definitions 14B NCAC 15C .0101 

 
ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

Application for License 14B NCAC 17 .0201 

Fees for Licenses 14B NCAC 17 .0203 

Fees for Licenses 14B NCAC 17 .0203 

Renewal of License 14B NCAC 17 .0204 

Company Business License 14B NCAC 17 .0209 

Application for Registration 14B NCAC 17 .0301 

Fees for Registration 14B NCAC 17 .0302 

Renewal or ReRegistration of Registration 14B NCAC 17 .0306 

Required Continuing Education Hours 14B NCAC 17 .0502 

Recording and Reporting Continuing Education Credits 14B NCAC 17 .0505 

 
ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: Definitions 15A NCAC 02B .0621 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: NonPoint Sourc... 15A NCAC 02B .0624 

General Provisions 15A NCAC 02C .0101 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02C .0102 

Permits 15A NCAC 02C .0105 

Standards of Construction: Water Supply Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0107 

Standards of Construction: Wells other than Water Supply 15A NCAC 02C .0108 

Pumps and Pumping Equipment 15A NCAC 02C .0109 

Well Tests for Yield 15A NCAC 02C .0110 

Disinfection of Water Supply Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0111 

Well Maintenance: Repair: Groundwater Resources 15A NCAC 02C .0112 

Abandonment of Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0113 

Data and Records Required 15A NCAC 02C .0114 

Designated Areas: Wells Cased to Less than 20 Feet 15A NCAC 02C .0116 

Designated Areas: Water Supply Wells Cased to Minimum Dep... 15A NCAC 02C .0117 

Variance 15A NCAC 02C .0118 

Delegation 15A NCAC 02C .0119 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02C .0201 

Scope 15A NCAC 02C .0202 

Conflict with other Laws, Rules, and Regulations 15A NCAC 02C .0203 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02C .0204 

Corrective Action 15A NCAC 02C .0206 

Mechanical Integrity 15A NCAC 02C .0207 

Financial Responsibility 15A NCAC 02C .0208 

Classification of Injection Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0209 
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Requirements: Wells Used to Inject Waste or Contaminants 15A NCAC 02C .0210 

General Permitting Requirements Applicable to all Injecti... 15A NCAC 02C .0211 

Permitting by Rule 15A NCAC 02C .0217 

Aquifer Recharge Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0218 

Aquifer Storage and Recovery Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0219 

Aquifer Test Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0220 

Experimental Technology Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0221 

Geothermal Aqueous Closed-Loop Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0222 

Geothermal Direct Expansion Closed-Loop Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0223 

Geothermal Heating/Cooling Water Return Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0224 

Groundwater Remediation Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0225 

Salinity Barrier Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0226 

Stormwater Drainage Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0227 

Subsidence Control Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0228 

Tracer Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0229 

Other Wells 15A NCAC 02C .0230 

Abandonment and Change-of-Status of Injection Wells and S... 15A NCAC 02C .0240 

Variance 15A NCAC 02C .0241 

Delegation 15A NCAC 02C .0242 

Particulates from Fugitive Dust Emission Sources 15A NCAC 02D .0540 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .1801 

Control of Odors from Animal Operations Using Liquid Anim... 15A NCAC 02D .1802 

Best Management Plans for Animal Operations 15A NCAC 02D .1803 

Reporting Requirements for Animal Operations 15A NCAC 02D .1804 

Control and Prohibition of Odorous Emissions 15A NCAC 02D .1806 

Determination of Maximum Feasible Controls for Odorous Em... 15A NCAC 02D .1807 

Evaluation of New or Modified Swine Farms 15A NCAC 02D .1808 

Open Burning: Purpose: Scope 15A NCAC 02D .1901 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .1902 

Open Burning Without an Air Quality Permit 15A NCAC 02D .1903 

Air Curtain Incinerators 15A NCAC 02D .1904 

Regional Office Locations 15A NCAC 02D .1905 

Delegation to County Governments 15A NCAC 02D .1906 

Multiple Violations Arising from a Single Episode 15A NCAC 02D .1907 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .1601 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02T .1602 

Application Submittal 15A NCAC 02T .1604 

Design Criteria 15A NCAC 02T .1605 

Setbacks 15A NCAC 02T .1606 

Monitoring and Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02T .1607 

Requirements for Closure 15A NCAC 02T .1608 

 
COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Civil Penalties 15A NCAC 07J .0409 

 
ARCHITECTURE, BOARD OF 

Unauthorized Practice 21 NCAC 02 .0211 
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GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

Definitions 21 NCAC 12 .0201 

Classification 21 NCAC 12 .0202 

License Limitations: Eligibility 21 NCAC 12 .0204 

Qualifier 21 NCAC 12 .0205 

Application for Licensure 21 NCAC 12 .0303 

Character References 21 NCAC 12 .0308 

Subject Matter 21 NCAC 12 .0402 

License Granted 21 NCAC 12 .0501 

Renewal of License 21 NCAC 12 .0503 

Application for Payment 21 NCAC 12 .0903 

 
ELECTROLYSIS EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Fees 21 NCAC 19 .0201 

Application for Licensure 21 NCAC 19 .0202 

Application for Renewal, Reinstatement, or Reactivation o... 21 NCAC 19 .0203 

Application for Renewal, Reinstatement, or Reactivation o... 21 NCAC 19 .0204 

Offices 21 NCAC 19 .0403 

Environmental Control and Housekeeping 21 NCAC 19 .0408 

Client Evaluation 21 NCAC 19 .0409 

Hepatitis B Virus (HBV) Vaccination 21 NCAC 19 .0410 

Standard Precautions for Disease Control and Prevention 21 NCAC 19 .0412 

Supervising Physician 21 NCAC 19 .0501 

Curriculum 21 NCAC 19 .0601 

Application for and Renewal of School Certification 21 NCAC 19 .0602 

School Equipment 21 NCAC 19 .0608 

Equipment/Student and Teacher Ratio 21 NCAC 19 .0613 

Equipment Endorsements and Sales Prohibited 21 NCAC 19 .0619 

Continuing Education Requirements, License Renewal, Reins... 21 NCAC 19 .0701 

Board Approval of Courses 21 NCAC 19 .0702 

Computation of Continuing Education Units 21 NCAC 19 .0703 

 
STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Employment of Relatives 25 NCAC 01I .1702 

Provisions for Tentative Temporary Classifications 25 NCAC 01I .1805 

Posting and Announcement of Vacancies 25 NCAC 01I .1902 

Applicant Information and Application 25 NCAC 01I .1903 

Selection 25 NCAC 01I .1905 

Promotion 25 NCAC 01I .2003 

Other Pay 25 NCAC 01I .2105 

Dismissal for Unsatisfactory Performance of Duties 25 NCAC 01I .2302 

Dismissal for Grossly Inefficient Job Performance 25 NCAC 01I .2303 

Dismissal for Unacceptable Personal Conduct 25 NCAC 01I .2304 

Written Warning 25 NCAC 01I .2305 

Disciplinary Suspension Without Pay 25 NCAC 01I .2306 

Demotion 25 NCAC 01I .2307 

Appeals 25 NCAC 01I .2310 
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LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

August 15, 2019 Meeting 

 
ELECTIONS AND ETHICS ENFORCEMENT, BOARD OF 

Voting Procedures 08 NCAC 10B .0103 

 
ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

Determination of Reasonable Resemblance at Check-In 08 NCAC 17 .0101 

Determination of Reasonable Resemblance by Judges of Elec... 08 NCAC 17 .0102 

Identification Required of Curbside Voters 08 NCAC 17 .0103 

Opportunity to Update Name or Address After Reasonable Re... 08 NCAC 17 .0104 

Declaration of Religious Objection to Photograph 08 NCAC 17 .0105 

Signage Notifying One-Stop Voters of the Option to Reques... 08 NCAC 17 .0106 

Photo Identification for Absentee Ballots 08 NCAC 17 .0109 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

        

18 CPS 06339 7/17/2019 Brenda Rene 

Branch 

v. North Carolina Crime Victims 

Compensation Commission 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

18 DHR 05219 7/2/2019 Nicole Baines Sauls v. NC Department of Health & Human 

Services Divison of Health Service 

Regulations 

Jacobs 

18 DHR 07276 7/29/2019 Audiasha Walker v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

19 DHR 00851 7/25/2019 Debra P Dennis v. DHHS DHSR Sutton 

19 DHR 02667 7/12/2019 E C Canada & 

Associates Inc 

Timothy DeVane 

Daniel Canada 

Ethelean Canada 

and Dwight Canada 

v. Special Nutrition Programs Nutrition 

Services Branch Division of Public 

Health Womens and Childrens Health 

Section 

Overby 

19 DHR 03052; 

03053; 

03054 

7/12/2019 Sherry Gentry/ 

HOPE;  

Sandra Kirkman/ 

HOPE; 

Douglas 

Jackson/HOPE 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Nutrition Services, Child & 

Adult Care Food Program 

Overby 

  
          

 

19 DOJ 01620 7/29/2019 Randy Camacho v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

  
          

 

18 EDC 07001 7/3/2019 Kristyn Daney v. State Board of Education May 
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    Unpublished    

        

19 ABC 00212 7/29/2019 Mr and Mrs Nunez 

Enterprise LLC 

Tabu Bar and 

Lounge 

v. Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Commission 

Mann 

19 ABC 02353 7/26/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Tipsy Crow LLC T/A Tipsy Crow Mann 

19 ABC 03293 7/9/2019 Town of 

Wrightsville Beach 

North Carolina 

v. North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Commission 

Culpepper 

  
          

 

19 CPS 02112 7/8/2019 Alex C Williams v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Mann 

19 CPS 02113 7/8/2019 Ray Darnell Smith 

Jr 

v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Mann 

  
          

 

18 CSE 06941 7/8/2019 Michael T 

Holloway 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Jacobs 

18 CSE 06986 7/12/2019 Thomas N Baker III v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 07083 7/2/2019 Sharon F 

Springfield 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 00009 7/24/2019 Kory Lee Helm v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Mann 

19 CSE 00147 7/11/2019 Larri Hillian v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Mann 

19 CSE 00833 7/25/2019 Ollie L Shamburger 

Jr 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Mann 

19 CSE 01321 7/8/2019 Rodney K Kirby v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Jacobs 

19 CSE 01504 7/22/2019 Ronald L Roberts v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 01872 7/26/2019 Derrick Nicholson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 02532 7/24/2019 Cory T Wilkerson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 03357 7/1/2019 Luigi Alessandro 

Jac Lorfils 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 03937 7/29/2019 Jorge A Salaverria v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Bawtinhimer 
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18 DCS 05919 7/16/2019 Alexis McNeil v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 DCS 02534 7/5/2019 Willie J Moss v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

19 DHR 00925 7/9/2019 Mamie Covington v. Health Care Registry Jacobs 

19 DHR 01589 7/19/2019 Marilene Comai 

Gilewala 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 01873 7/8/2019 Iryna Martynyuk 

Vals Place Inc 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 01927 7/2/2019 Adline Evans 

Patterson 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 01930 7/8/2019 Sharpe and 

Williams Kesha 

Spaulding 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Mann 

19 DHR 02055 7/8/2019 Iryna Martynyuk 

Vals Place Inc 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 02214 7/19/2019 Janice Mabe v. Rockingham County Department of 

Social Services 

May 

19 DHR 02457 7/8/2019 Natasia Nicole 

Knight 

v. North Carolina Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 02793 7/18/2019 Samantha Davis v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 02905 7/24/2019 Voca dba 

Community 

Alternative NC 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Mental Health Licensure 

and Certification Section 2718 Mail 

Service Center Raleigh NC 27699-

2718 

Sutton 

19 DHR 03064 7/24/2019 Litoya Mikel v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Sutton 

  
          

 

19 DOJ 02114 7/9/2019 Lydia Waddell v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Jacobs 

19 DOJ 02496 7/29/2019 Enricque Boyd v. North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

May 

19 DOJ 02982 7/15/2019 Justin Ryan Thomas v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Elkins 

  
          

 

19 INS 01906 7/8/2019 Dr Daniel N Adams v. North Carolina State Health Plan Jacobs 
  

          
 

19 SOS 01866 7/22/2019 Stanley Bernard 

Anderson 

v. Secretary of State May 

  
          

 

19 UNC 01645 7/19/2019; 

7/29/2019 

Janet Davis v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Mann 

 


