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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 



 EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

336 



 EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

337 



 EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

338 

 



 EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

339 



 EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

340 



 EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

341 

 



 EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

342 



 EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

343 

 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

344 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

345 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

346 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

347 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

348 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

349 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

350 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

351 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

352 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

353 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

354 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

355 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

356 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

357 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

358 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

359 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

360 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

361 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

362 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

363 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

364 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

365 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

366 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

367 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

368 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

369 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

370 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

371 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

372 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

373 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

374 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

375 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

376 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

377 



 IN ADDITION 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

378 

 
 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

379 

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Commission for Public Health 

intends to amend the rule cited as 10A NCAC 41C .0702 and 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 

41C .0701 and .0703. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  September 23, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Cardinal Conference Room, located at 5605 Six Forks 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rules update 

surveillance reporting requirements for occupational diseases, 

illnesses, and injuries to be more protective of public health. In 

particular, the proposed rules expand reporting of adult blood 

lead levels to NC DHHS, Division of Public Health because 

current science indicates that adverse health effects may occur 

with blood lead levels less than 5 ug/dL. In addition, 10A NCAC 

41C .0701 and .0703 are being readopted pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3A, Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, Rulemaking 

Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-

1931; phone (919) 707-5006; email 

cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  November 4, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 41 - EPIDEMIOLOGY HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 41C - OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH 

 

SECTION .0700 - OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH 

SURVEILLANCE 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0701 DEFINITION 

"Adult" for the purposes of this section means a person age 16 or 

older. 

"Elevated blood lead level" means a blood lead of 40 ug/dL or 

greater. > 0 µg/dL. 

"Non-elevated blood lead level" means all blood lead levels that 

are not elevated regardless of threshold. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-455. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0702 REPORTABLE DISEASES, 

ILLNESSES, AND INJURIES 

(a)  The following named diseases, illnesses, and injuries are 

declared to be dangerous to the public health and shall be reported 

by a physician within the time period specified after the disease, 

illness, and injury is diagnosed: 

(1) asbestosis - 15 working business days; 

(2) silicosis - 15 working business days; 

(3) elevated blood lead levels for adults aged 18 

years of age and above - 15 working business 

days; 

(4) injuries caused by tractors, farm equipment, or 

farm machinery that occur while working on a 

farm and require medical care – 15 working 

business days; 

(5) carbon monoxide poisoning - 15 working 

business days. 

(b)  All laboratories providing diagnostic service in North 

Carolina shall report to the Occupational and Environmental 

Epidemiology Branch within the Division of Public Health 

elevated blood lead levels for adults. adults aged 18 years of age 

and above. 

(c)  Physicians shall not be required to report elevated blood lead 

levels for adults aged 18 years of age and above when a laboratory 
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providing diagnostic service in North Carolina reports elevated 

blood lead levels. 

(d)  Non-elevated blood lead levels shall be reported in same 

manner for surveillance purposes. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-455; 130A-456; 130A-457; 130A-458. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .0703 METHOD OF REPORTING 

(a)  When a physician makes a report of a disease, illness, injury, 

or elevated blood lead level for adults aged 18 years of age and 

above pursuant to G.S. 130A-456 or a medical facility makes such 

a report pursuant to G.S. 130A-457, the report shall be made to 

the Occupational Health Section as follows: 

(1) The report shall be made on the surveillance 

forms provided by or approved by the 

Occupational Health Section and shall include 

the following information: 

(A) The name, address, telephone number, 

date of birth, social security number, 

race, ethnicity, gender, and job title of 

the person; 

(B) The name, address, telephone number, 

and type of business of the person's 

employer; 

(C) The name of the disease, illness, or 

injury being reported; and 

(D) The name, address, and telephone 

number of the physician, laboratory, 

or medical facility. 

(2) Surveillance forms are available from the 

SENSOR Program, Division of Public Health, 

1915 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27699-1915. Occupational and 

Environmental Epidemiology Branch, 

Epidemiology Section, Division of Public 

Health, N.C. Department of Health and Human 

Services, 1912 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 

NC 27699-1912. The form can also be 

downloaded from the following website: 

https:epi.publichealth.nc.gov/oee/pest/reportin

g.html. 

(b)  When a laboratory providing diagnostic service in North 

Carolina reports laboratory findings related to occupational 

disease or illness pursuant to G.S. 130A-458, the report shall 

include: 

(1) the specimen collection date; 

(2) the person's name, age, date of birth, gender, 

race, and ethnicity; and social security number; 

(3) the submitting physician/employer name, 

address, and telephone number; and 

(4) the name, address, and telephone number of the 

laboratory. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-455; 130A-456; 130A-458. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Commission for Public Health intends to amend the rules cited as 

10A NCAC 43D .0202, .0408, .0501, .0701-.0703, .0705-.0708, 

.0710, .0908 and repeal the rule cited as 10A NCAC 43D .0704. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 14, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Cardinal Conference Room, located at 5605 Six Forks 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rule amendments 

pertain to the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for 

Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) and will: (1) remove 

language associated with paper food instrument/cash-value 

voucher issuance and redemption, (2) expand the number of 

supplemental foods approved for issuance to WIC participants, 

(3) align the peer group structure with Federal requirements; and 

(4) update the fair hearing procedures. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, Rulemaking 

Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-

1931; phone (919) 707-5006; email 

cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  November 4, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 43 - PERSONAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 43D – WIC/NUTRITION 

 

SECTION .0200 - WIC PROGRAM GENERAL 

INFORMATION 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0202 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Subchapter, all definitions set forth in 

7 C.F.R. Part 246.2 are hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions, with the 

following additions and modifications: 

(1) An "administrative appeal" is an appeal in 

accordance with Section .0800 of this 

Subchapter through which a local WIC agency, 

potential local WIC agency, authorized WIC 

vendor, or WIC vendor applicant may appeal 

the adverse actions listed in 7 C.F.R. 

246.18(a)(1)(i), (a)(1)(ii), and (a)(3)(i). 

(2) An "authorized store representative" includes 

an owner, manager, assistant manager, head 

cashier, or chief fiscal officer. 

(3) An "authorized WIC vendor" is a food retailer 

or free-standing pharmacy that has executed a 

currently effective North Carolina WIC Vendor 

Agreement, as set forth in 7 C.F.R 246.12(h)(3). 

(4) A "chain store" is a store that is owned or 

operated by a corporation, partnership, 

cooperative association, or other business entity 

that has 20 or more stores owned or operated by 

the business entity. 

(5) An "Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) 

Processor" is an entity contracted by a 

government agency for the implementation, 

maintenance, and operation of the State WIC 

agency's WIC EBT system that acts as the agent 

of the State WIC agency to process and settle 

EBT transactions. 

(6) A "fair hearing" is the informal dispute 

resolution process in Section .0900 of this 

Subchapter through which any individual may 

appeal a State or local agency action that results 

in a claim against the individual for repayment 

of the cash value of issued benefits by which the 

individual is not eligible or results in the 

individual's denial of participation or 

disqualification from the WIC Program, as set 

forth in Rule .0410 of this Subchapter. This 

process must be complied with prior to 

requesting a contested case hearing in 

accordance with G.S. 150B, as set forth in 7 

CFR 246.9. 

(7) "FNS" means the Food and Nutrition Service of 

the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

(8) "Food benefits" are the prescribed amounts of 

WIC authorized foods and formulas or a fixed 

dollar amount prescribed to WIC customers to 

receive fruits and vegetables. 

(9) "Food benefit balance" means the unspent food 

benefits for the current month that are available 

to use by the cardholder. 

(8)(10) "Free-standing pharmacy" means a pharmacy 

that does not operate within another retail store. 

Free-standing pharmacy includes free-standing 

pharmacies that are chain stores and free-

standing pharmacies participating under a WIC 

corporate agreement. 

(9)(11) The "local WIC agency" is the local agency that 

enters into an agreement with the Division of 

Public Health to operate the Special 

Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, 

Infants and Children. 

(10)(12) A "local WIC program plan" is a written 

compilation of information on the local WIC 

agency policies concerning program operation, 

including administration, nutrition education, 

personnel functions, costs and other 

information prepared by the local WIC agency 

and submitted to the Nutrition Services Branch. 

(11)(13) A "personal identification number" (PIN) is a 

numeric password selected and used by a WIC 

participant to authenticate the participant to the 

EBT system. 

(12)(14) A "point of sale terminal" (POS) is an electronic 

device used to process EBT card payments at 

authorized vendor locations. 

(13)(15) A "predominantly WIC vendor" is an "above-

50-percent vendor" as defined in 7 C.F.R. 

246.2. 

(14)(16) A "product look-up (PLU) code" is an 

identification number placed on produce sold at 

authorized vendor locations. 

(17) "Redeemed food benefits" means the benefits 

that have been used by the WIC customer. 

(15)(18) "Redemption" is the process by which a vendor 

deposits for receives payment from the State 

agency (or its financial agent) for food benefits 

a food instrument or cash-value voucher 

transacted at that vendor location. and the State 

agency (or its financial agent) makes payment 

to the vendor for the food instrument or cash-

value voucher. 

(16)(19) "Shelf price" is the price a vendor charges a 

non-WIC customer for a WIC supplemental 

food. 

(17)(20) "SNAP-eligible food sales" means "food sales" 

as defined in 7 C.F.R. 246.2, which are those 

foods that can be purchased with Supplemental 

Nutrition Assistance Program ("SNAP") 

benefits. 

(18)(21) The "State agency" is the Nutrition Services 

Branch, Women's and Children's Health 

Section, Division of Public Health, North 

Carolina Department of Health and Human 

Services. 
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(19)(22) "Store" means a food retailer or free-standing 

pharmacy operating at a single, fixed location. 

(20)(23) "Supplemental food" or "WIC supplemental 

food" is a food that satisfies the requirements of 

10A NCAC 43D .0501. 

(21)(24) " Support costs" are clinic costs, administrative 

costs, and nutrition education costs. 

(22)(25) "Transaction" is the process by which a WIC 

customer tenders a food instrument or a cash-

value voucher to a food benefits at an 

authorized vendor in exchange for authorized 

supplemental foods. 

(23)(26) "Universal Product Code (UPC)" means an 

identification code printed on the packaging of 

WIC approved foods sold at WIC authorized 

vendor locations. 

(24)(27) "Vendor applicant" is a store that has submitted 

an application to become an authorized WIC 

vendor but is not yet authorized. 

(25)(28) A "vendor overcharge" is intentionally or 

unintentionally charging more for supplemental 

food provided to a WIC customer than to a non-

WIC customer or charging more than the 

current shelf price for supplemental food 

provided to a WIC customer. 

(26)(29) A "WIC corporate agreement" is a single WIC 

Vendor Agreement with a corporate entity that 

has 20 or more stores authorized as WIC 

vendors under the Agreement. 

(27)(30) "WIC customer" means a WIC participant, 

parent, or caretaker of an infant or child 

participant, proxy for the eligible participant, or 

compliance investigator who tenders a food 

instrument or a cash-value voucher to transacts 

food benefits at a vendor in exchange for WIC 

supplemental food. 

(28)(31) "WIC program" means the Special 

Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, 

Infants, and Children authorized by 42 U.S.C. 

1786 of the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 as 

amended. 

(b)  A copy of 7 C.F.R. Part 246 is available for inspection at the 

Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public 

Health, Women's and Children's Health Section, Nutrition 

Services Branch, 5601 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 

27609. Copies are available at no cost from the Supplemental 

Nutrition Programs Division, Food and Nutrition Service, USDA, 

3101 Park Center Drive, Room 540, Alexandria, Virginia 22302, 

by calling (703) 305-2730 or online at https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-

bin/text-

idx?SID=a42889f84f99d56ec18d77c9b463c613&node=7:4.1.1.1

.10&rgn=div5. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246; U.S.C. 1786. 

 

SECTION .0400 - ELIGIBILITY FOR WIC PROGRAM 

PARTICIPATION 

10A NCAC 43D .0408 WAITING LIST 

(a)  If a local WIC agency is serving its maximum caseload or 

spending its maximum food money and additional participants 

cannot be issued food instruments, benefits, a waiting list must be 

established in accordance with 7 C.F.R. 246.7. 

(b)  Local WIC agencies maintaining a waiting list shall continue 

to provide WIC program benefits to all individuals enrolled in the 

program until the expiration of their certification period. 

(c)  Local WIC agencies shall enroll individuals in a manner 

which ensures that applicants in a higher priority group are first 

given an opportunity to receive food instruments benefits in 

accordance with 7 C.F.R. 246.7(e)(4) which is incorporated by 

reference with all subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361. 

 

SECTION .0500 – WIC PROGRAM FOOD PACKAGE 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0501 SUPPLEMENTAL FOODS 

(a)  The foods which may be provided to WIC program 

participants are specified in 7 C.F.R. 246.10, which is 

incorporated by reference including any subsequent amendments 

and editions. This material is available for inspection at the 

Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public 

Health, 5601 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609 and 

may be obtained from Nutrition Services at no cost. 

(b)  The following exclusions from the food package have been 

adopted by the North Carolina WIC program Program and 

approved by the United States Department of Agriculture, Food 

and Nutrition Service: 

(1) shredded, diced, grated and organic cheese; 

(2) eggs other than white, fresh, grade A large; 

(3)(1) mackerel and sardines; 

(4) organic foods other than fruits and vegetables 

obtained with cash-value vouchers; 

(5)(2) goat milk; and 

(6)(3) dried fruits and vegetables. 

(c)  The state agency may exclude foods other than those 

described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule if it determines such foods 

to be inappropriate for provision as supplemental foods through 

the WIC program Program as a result of their cost, nutritional 

composition, packaging, statewide availability, participant 

acceptance, or promotion in a manner which is contrary to the 

purpose of the program as contained in 7 C.F.R. 246.1. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246; 42 U.S.C. 1786. 

 

SECTION .0700 - WIC PROGRAM FOOD DELIVERY 

SYSTEM 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0701 THE NORTH CAROLINA 

AUTOMATED WIC SYSTEM 

The WIC program shall provide supplemental foods through a 

uniform retail distribution system in accordance with 7 C.F.R. 

246.12. An automated data processing system shall be utilized to 

promote the provision of and accounting for food instruments and 

cash-value vouchers benefits issued to participants. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361; 42 U.S.C. 1786; 7 C.F.R. 246. 
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10A NCAC 43D .0702 ISSUANCE OF FOOD 

INSTRUMENTS AND CASH-VALUE VOUCHERS 

BENEFITS 

(a)  Local WIC agencies shall issue WIC program food 

instruments and cash-value vouchers benefits to program 

participants in a manner which ensures that participants can 

receive the appropriate supplemental foods that have been 

prescribed for them. 

(b)  Local WIC agencies shall issue food instruments and cash-

value vouchers benefits in a manner which prevents theft and shall 

retain documentation of the disposition of the food instruments 

and cash-value vouchers issuance. The documentation of issuance 

shall include the dated signature of the authorized individual 

receiving the food instruments or cash-value vouchers benefits. 

unless the food instruments or cash-value vouchers are mailed. 

(c)  Participants shall be given appointments to receive food 

instruments or cash-value vouchers benefits in a manner which 

promotes coordination with WIC program certification, nutrition 

education, other health services and the services being received 

by other family members. 

(d)  Food instruments and cash-value vouchers benefits shall be 

issued only to the participant, the participant's parent, the 

participant's caretaker, a proxy, or a compliance investigator. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246; 42 U.S.C. 1786. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0703 USE OF FOOD INSTRUMENTS 

AND CASH-VALUE VOUCHERS BENEFITS 

(a)  Participants may transact food instruments and cash-value 

vouchers benefits on any day on or between the "First Date to 

Spend" and "Last Date to Spend" printed on the food instrument 

or cash-value voucher for their certification period. 

(b)  Food instruments and cash-value vouchers benefits shall be 

transacted only at authorized WIC vendors in accordance with the 

terms of the signed WIC Vendor Agreement and WIC program 

rules, regulations, and statutes. Authorized WIC vendors shall not 

be reimbursed for food instruments and cash-value vouchers 

benefits that are not properly transacted as set forth in Rule .0708 

of this Section. Stores that are not authorized WIC vendors shall 

not be reimbursed for food instruments and cash-value vouchers 

transacted at their store. 

(c)  Printed food instruments and cash-value vouchers shall be 

deposited at the vendor's bank Authorized WIC Vendors vendors 

that use EBT shall have their bank account credited with payments 

for completed EBT transactions. Food instruments and cash-value 

vouchers benefits shall not be assigned, transferred, sold, or 

otherwise negotiated. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246; 42 U.S.C. 1786. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0704 VALIDITY OF WIC FOOD 

INSTRUMENTS AND CASH-VALUE VOUCHERS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246; 42 U.S.C. 1786. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0705 PAYMENT OF WIC FOOD 

INSTRUMENTS AND CASH-VALUE VOUCHERS 

BENEFITS 

The State of North Carolina shall: 

(1) accept EBT transactions for North Carolina 

WIC food instruments and cash-value vouchers 

benefits through the Federal Reserve and 

commercial banking systems; 

(2) ensure that WIC food instruments and cash-

value vouchers are valid in accordance with 

Rule .0704 of this Subchapter; 

(3)(2) provide payment for all valid WIC food 

instruments and cash-value vouchers. benefits. 

To the extent that sufficient funds are available 

in the WIC disbursing account, payment shall 

be provided according to established 

Department of Health and Human Services 

procedures for payment of WIC food 

instruments and cash-value vouchers. benefits. 

(4) ensure that every invalid WIC food instrument 

or cash-value voucher is stamped to indicate the 

reason for invalidity; 

(5) ensure that invalid WIC food instruments and 

cash-value vouchers are returned to the banks 

from which they were received, according to 

established banking procedures. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361; 42 U.S.C. 1786; 7 C.F.R. 246. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0706 VENDOR PEER GROUPS 

Vendor applicants and authorized vendors shall be placed into 

peer groups in accordance with as follows: 

(1) When annual WIC supplemental food sales are 

not yet available, vendor applicants and 

authorized vendors, excluding chain stores, 

stores under a WIC corporate agreement, 

military commissaries, and free-standing 

pharmacies, shall be placed into peer groups 

based on the number of cash registers in the 

store and the geographic location of the store 

until annual WIC supplemental food sales 

become available. The following are the peer 

groups based on the number of cash registers in 

the store: 

Peer Group I - - zero to two cash 

registers; 

Peer Group II - - three to five cash 

registers; and 

Peer Group III - - six or more cash 

registers. 

 WIC sales figures of new vendors shall be 

reviewed six months from authorization. A 

vendor whose first six months of WIC sales 

exceed twenty five thousand dollars ($25,000) 

shall be placed in a peer group in accordance 

with the dollar thresholds of Item (2) of this 

Rule. based on redemption. 

(2) Authorized vendors for which annual WIC 

supplemental food sales are available, 

excluding including chain stores, stores under a 

WIC corporate agreement, military 

commissaries, and free-standing pharmacies, 

shall be placed into peer groups groups, as 
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follows, except as provided in Item (9) of this 

Rule: 

 Peer Group I - - two thousand dollars 

($2,000) to twenty five thousand 

dollars ($25,000) annually in WIC 

supplemental food sales at the store; 

 Peer Group II - - greater than twenty 

five thousand dollars ($25,000) but not 

exceeding seventy five thousand 

dollars ($75,000) annually in WIC 

supplemental food sales at the store; 

 Peer Group III - - greater than seventy 

five thousand dollars ($75,000) but not 

exceeding three hundred thousand 

dollars ($300,000) annually in WIC 

supplemental food sales at the store; 

and 

 Peer Group IV - - greater than three 

hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) 

annually in WIC supplemental food 

sales at the store. 

 as set forth in 7 CFR 246.12(g)(4) and 7 CFR 

246.12(h)(3), which is adopted and 

incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments and available free of 

charge at https://www.ecfr.gov/. 

(3) Chain stores, stores under a WIC corporate 

agreement (20 or more authorized vendors 

under one agreement), military commissaries, 

and free-standing pharmacies, including free-

standing pharmacy chain stores and free-

standing pharmacies participating under a WIC 

corporate agreement, shall be placed into peer 

groups as follows: 

 Peer Group IV - - chain stores, stores 

under a WIC corporate agreement (20 

or more authorized vendors under one 

agreement), and military 

commissaries; and 

 Peer Group V - - free-standing 

pharmacies, including free-standing 

pharmacy chain stores and free-

standing pharmacies participating 

under a WIC corporate agreement. 

(4)(3) "Annual WIC supplemental food sales" is the 

dollar amount an authorized vendor redeems in 

WIC food instruments and cash-value vouchers 

food benefits within a 12-month period. 

(5)(4) In determining a vendor's peer group 

designation based on annual WIC supplemental 

food sales sales, under Item (2) of this Rule, the 

state agency shall look at the most recent 12-

month period of redemption data. 

(6)(5) The state agency may reassess an authorized 

vendor's peer group designation at any time 

during the vendor's agreement period and place 

the vendor in a different peer group if upon 

reassessment the state agency determines that 

the vendor is no longer in the appropriate peer 

group. 

(7)(6) If the state agency determines that a vendor 

applicant is expected to be a predominantly 

WIC vendor as defined in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter, the vendor application shall be 

denied. The store must wait 90 days to reapply 

for vendor authorization. The state agency shall 

apply the methodology set forth in 7 CFR 

246.12(g)(4)(i)(E) for determining whether a 

vendor applicant is expected to be a 

predominantly WIC vendor. 

(8)(7) If at any time during a vendor's authorization 

the state agency determines that the vendor has 

become a predominantly WIC vendor as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter, the 

vendor's WIC Vendor Agreement shall be 

terminated. The store must wait 90 days to 

reapply for vendor authorization. The state 

agency shall apply the methodology set forth in 

7 CFR 246.12(g)(4)(i)(F) for determining 

whether an authorized vendor has become a 

predominantly WIC vendor. 

(9)(8) A vendor applicant previously authorized in a 

peer group under Item (2) of this Rule based on 

annual WIC supplemental food sales that is 

being reauthorized following the nonrenewal or 

termination of its agreement or disqualification 

or withdrawal from the WIC Program shall be 

placed into the same peer group the vendor 

applicant was previously in in, under Item (2) 

of this Rule, provided that no more than one 

year has passed since the nonrenewal, 

termination, disqualification or withdrawal. If 

more than one year has passed, the vendor 

applicant shall be placed into a peer group in 

accordance with Item (1) of this Rule using 

criteria for new vendor applicants as set forth in 

Item (1) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246; 42 U.S.C. 1786. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0707 VENDOR APPLICANTS 

To become authorized as a WIC vendor, a vendor applicant shall 

comply with the following vendor selection criteria: 

(1) A vendor applicant shall complete a WIC 

Vendor Application, a WIC Price List, as set 

forth in Item (4) of this Rule, and a WIC Vendor 

Agreement, as set forth in 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(h)(3). A vendor applicant shall submit 

its current highest shelf price for each WIC 

supplemental food listed on the WIC Price List, 

as set forth in Item (4) of this Rule. 

(2) A vendor applicant, at the time of application 

and throughout the term of authorization, shall 

submit all completed forms to the local WIC 

agency, except that a corporate entity operating 

under a WIC corporate agreement shall submit 

one completed WIC corporate agreement and 
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the WIC Price Lists to the State agency and a 

separate WIC Vendor Application for each 

store to the local WIC agency. A corporate 

entity operating under a WIC corporate 

agreement may submit a single WIC Price List 

for those stores that have the same prices for 

WIC supplemental foods in each store, rather 

than submitting a separate WIC Price List for 

each store. 

(3) A vendor applicant shall purchase all infant 

formula, exempt infant formula, and WIC-

eligible nutritionals directly from: 

(a) The sources specified in 42 U.S.C 

1786(h)(8)(A)(ix), which is 

incorporated by reference with all 

subsequent amendments and editions; 

(b) Retail food stores that purchase 

directly from the sources referenced in 

Sub-item (3)(a) of this Item; or 

(c) A source on another state's list of 

approved infant formula sources as 

verified by that state's agency. 

A vendor applicant shall make available to the 

State or local WIC agency invoices or receipts 

documenting purchases of all infant formula, 

exempt infant formula, and WIC-eligible 

nutritionals. Receipts and invoices shall satisfy 

the requirements of Sub-items (32)(a)(24)(a) 

through (32)(c)(24)(c) of Rule .0708 of this 

Section. A vendor applicant shall not be 

authorized if within the last year the vendor 

applicant had a previous WIC Vendor 

Agreement terminated for failure to purchase 

infant formula, exempt infant formula, or WIC-

eligible nutritionals from the sources specified 

in this Item. A vendor applicant shall not be 

authorized if within the last year the vendor 

applicant had a previous WIC Vendor 

Agreement terminated for providing infant 

formula, exempt infant formula, or WIC-

eligible nutritionals to WIC customers that was 

not purchased from the sources specified in this 

Item. 

(4) A vendor applicant's current highest shelf price 

for each WIC supplemental food listed on the 

WIC Price List shall not exceed the maximum 

price set by the State agency for each 

supplemental food within that vendor 

applicant's peer group, except as provided in 

Sub-item (4)(b) of this Item. The maximum 

price for each supplemental food shall be 

established as follows: 

(a) The most recent WIC Price Lists 

prices submitted through the EBT 

system by authorized vendors within 

the same peer group shall be used to 

determine the maximum price for each 

supplemental food. The maximum 

price shall be the 97th percentile of 

two standard deviations above the 

average current highest shelf prices for 

price of each supplemental food 

within a vendor peer group. The State 

agency shall reassess the maximum 

price set for each supplemental food at 

least four times a year. For two of its 

price assessments, the State agency 

shall use the WIC Price Lists which 

shall be submitted by all vendors by 

April 1 and October 1 each year in 

accordance with Item (34) of Rule 

.0708 of this Section. The other two 

price assessments shall be based on 

WIC Price Lists requested from a 

sample of vendors within each peer 

group in January and July of each year. 

(b) If any of the vendor applicant's 

price(s) on its WIC Price List exceed 

the maximum price(s) set by the State 

agency for that applicant's peer group, 

the agency shall send the applicant 

written notice. Within 30 days of the 

date of the written notice, the vendor 

applicant may resubmit price(s) that it 

will charge the State WIC Program for 

those foods that exceeded the 

maximum price(s). If none of the 

vendor applicant's resubmitted prices 

exceed the maximum prices set by the 

State agency, the vendor applicant 

shall be deemed to have met the 

requirements of Item (4) of this Rule. 

If any of the vendor applicant's 

resubmitted prices still exceed the 

maximum prices set by the State 

agency, or the vendor applicant does 

not resubmit prices within 30 days of 

the date of written notice, the agency 

shall send the applicant a written 

notice of denial. The vendor applicant 

shall wait 90 days from the date of 

receipt of the written denial to reapply 

for authorization. 

(5) A vendor applicant shall pass an announced 

monitoring review by the local WIC agency to 

determine whether the store has minimum 

inventory of supplemental foods as specified in 

Item (25)(17) of Rule .0708 of this Section. A 

vendor applicant that fails this review shall be 

allowed a second opportunity for an 

unannounced monitoring review within 14 

days. If the applicant fails both reviews, the 

application shall be denied in writing and the 

applicant shall wait 90 days from the date of the 

second monitoring review before submitting a 

new application. 

(6) A vendor applicant shall either attend, or cause 

a manager or another authorized store 
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representative to attend, WIC Vendor Training 

provided by the local WIC agency prior to 

vendor authorization and ensure that the vendor 

applicant's employees receive instruction in 

WIC program procedures and requirements. 

(7) An applicant shall mark the current shelf prices 

of all WIC supplemental foods on the foods or 

have the prices posted on the shelf or display 

case at all times. 

(8) The store shall be at a single, fixed location 

within North Carolina. The store shall be 

located at the address indicated on the WIC 

vendor application and shall be the site where 

WIC supplemental foods are selected by the 

WIC customer. 

(9) A vendor applicant shall use point of sale (POS) 

terminals to support the WIC Program that are 

deployed in accordance with the minimum lane 

coverage provisions of 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(z)(2)(ii). 

(10) The store shall be open throughout the year for 

business with the public at least six days a week 

for at least 40 hours per week between 8:00 a.m. 

and 11:00 p.m. 

(11) The store shall not use the acronym "WIC" or 

the WIC logo, including facsimiles, in total or 

in part, in the official name under which the 

business is registered or in the name under 

which it does business. 

(12) A vendor applicant shall not submit false, 

erroneous, or misleading information in an 

application to become an authorized WIC 

vendor or in subsequent documents submitted 

to the state or local WIC agency. A vendor 

applicant shall not be authorized if within the 

last year the vendor applicant had a previous 

WIC Vendor Agreement terminated for 

submitting false, erroneous, or misleading 

information. 

(13) The owner(s), officer(s), or manager(s) of a 

vendor applicant shall not be employed, or have 

a spouse, child, or parent who is employed by 

the State WIC program, or the local WIC 

program serving the county where the vendor 

applicant conducts business. A vendor 

applicant shall not have an employee who 

handles, transacts, deposits, or stores WIC food 

instruments or cash-value vouchers handles or 

transacts WIC food benefits who is employed, 

or has a spouse, child, or parent who is 

employed by the State WIC program or the 

local WIC program serving the county where 

the vendor applicant conducts business. Such 

situations present a conflict of interest. 

(14) WIC vendor authorization shall be denied if in 

the last six years any of the vendor applicant's 

current owners, officers, or managers have been 

convicted of or had a civil judgment entered 

against them for any activity indicating a lack 

of business integrity, including fraud, antitrust 

violations, embezzlement, theft, forgery, 

bribery, falsification or destruction of records, 

making false statements, receiving stolen 

property, making false claims, and obstruction 

of justice, as set out in 7 C.F.R 246.12(g)(3)(ii). 

For purposes of this Item, "convicted" or 

"conviction" includes: 

(a) a plea of guilty; 

(b) a verdict or finding of guilt by a jury, 

judge, magistrate, or adjudicating 

body, tribunal, or official, either 

civilian or military; 

(c) a plea of no contest, nolo contendere, 

or the equivalent; or 

(d) entry of a prayer for judgment 

continued following a conviction as 

defined in this Item is the same as a 

conviction for purposes of this Item. 

(15) A vendor applicant shall not be authorized if it 

is currently disqualified from the Supplemental 

Nutrition Assistance Program ("SNAP") or it 

has been assessed a SNAP civil money penalty 

for hardship and the disqualification period that 

otherwise would have been imposed has not 

expired. 

(16) A vendor applicant, excluding chain stores and 

stores under a WIC corporate agreement that 

have a separate manager on site for each store, 

shall not have an owner who holds a financial 

interest in any of the following: 

(a) a SNAP vendor that is disqualified 

from participation in the SNAP or has 

been assessed a civil money penalty 

for hardship in lieu of disqualification 

and the time period during which the 

disqualification would have run, had a 

penalty not been paid, is continuing; or 

(b) another WIC vendor that is 

disqualified from participation in the 

WIC Program or has been assessed a 

monetary or civil money penalty 

pursuant to G.S. 130A-22(c1), 

Paragraph (e) or Paragraph (f) of Rule 

.0710 of this Section as the result of 

violation of Paragraphs (a) or (b) of 

Rule .0710 of this Section and if 

assessed a penalty, the time during 

which the disqualification would have 

run, had a penalty not been assessed, is 

continuing. 

The requirements of this Item shall not be met 

by the transfer or conveyance of financial 

interest during the period of disqualification. 

Additionally, the requirements of this Item shall 

not be met even if such transfer or conveyance 

of financial interest in a SNAP vendor under 

Sub-item (16)(a) of this Item prematurely ends 

the disqualification period applicable to that 
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SNAP vendor. The requirements of this Item 

shall apply until the time the SNAP vendor 

disqualification otherwise would have expired. 

(17) A vendor applicant, excluding free-standing 

pharmacies, shall have SNAP authorization for 

the store as a prerequisite for WIC vendor 

authorization and shall provide its SNAP 

authorization number to the State agency. 

(18) A vendor applicant shall not become authorized 

as a WIC vendor if the store has been 

disqualified from participation in the WIC 

Program and the disqualification period has not 

expired. A vendor applicant shall not be 

authorized as a WIC vendor if any of the vendor 

applicant's owner(s), officer(s) or manager(s) 

currently has or previously had a financial 

interest in a WIC vendor that was assessed a 

claim by the WIC Program and the claim has 

not been paid in full. 

(19) A vendor applicant shall enter into contract 

with the State WIC Program's EBT processor or 

a third party processor certified according to 

criteria established by the State WIC Program's 

EBT processor prior to WIC authorization and 

comply with all requirements detailed in the 

EBT or third party processor's Vendor 

Agreement. 

For a food retailer or free-standing pharmacy to participate in the 

WIC Program, a current WIC Vendor Agreement must be signed 

by the vendor, the local WIC agency, and the State agency. If an 

application for status as an authorized WIC vendor is denied, the 

applicant is entitled to an administrative appeal as described in 

Section .0800 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246; 7 C.F.R. 246.12(g)(3); 7 

C.F.R. 246.12(g)(3)(ii); 7 C.F.R. 246.12(h)(3)(xix); 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(t); 42 U.S.C. 1786. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0708 AUTHORIZED VENDORS 

By signing the WIC Vendor Agreement, the vendor agrees to: 

(1) Process WIC Program food instruments and 

cash-value vouchers benefits in accordance 

with the terms of the WIC Vendor Agreement 

and 42 U.S.C. 1786, 7 C.F.R. 246.1-246.28, and 

the rules of this Subchapter; 

(2) Accept WIC Program food instruments and 

cash-value vouchers benefits in exchange for 

WIC supplemental foods. Supplemental foods 

are those foods that satisfy the requirements of 

10A NCAC 43D .0501; 

(3) Provide only the authorized supplemental foods 

listed on the printed food instrument, or 

authorized fruits and vegetables with a printed 

cash-value voucher. Determine the charges to 

the WIC Program and complete the "Pay 

Exactly" box on the printed food instrument, or 

printed cash-value voucher, as set forth in Item 

(4) of this Rule, prior to obtaining the signature 

of the WIC customer. When transacting EBT, 

the vendor shall provide Provide to the WIC 

customer only the approved supplemental 

foods, fruits, and vegetables contained in the 

authorized product list (APL) after it has been 

determined that the WIC customer has an 

available balance on the date of the transaction. 

The WIC customer is not required to get all of 

the supplemental foods listed on the printed 

food instrument or the full dollar value of the 

printed cash-value voucher. his or her food 

benefit balance. However, a WIC customer may 

obtain more fruits and vegetables than the full 

dollar value of a cash-value voucher his or her 

cash-value benefit if the WIC customer pays the 

difference, as set forth in 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(h)(3)(xi); 

(4) Enter in the "Pay Exactly" box on the printed 

food instrument or printed cash-value voucher 

only the total amount of the current shelf prices, 

or less than the current shelf prices, for the 

supplemental food provided and shall not 

charge or collect sales taxes for the 

supplemental food provided. Vendors that 

utilize EBT shall only transmit Transmit only 

the current shelf price of all WIC-approved 

supplemental foods purchased in the correct 

sizes, quantities, and the total dollar amount of 

all WIC-approved supplemental foods 

purchased in the EBT systems; system and shall 

not charge or collect sales taxes for the 

supplemental food provided; 

(5) Charge no more for supplemental food 

provided to a WIC customer than to a non-WIC 

customer or no more than the current shelf 

price, whichever is less; 

(6) Accept payment from the State WIC Program 

only up to the maximum price set by the State 

agency for each supplemental food within that 

vendor's peer group. The maximum price for 

each supplemental food shall be based on the 

maximum prices set by the State agency for 

each supplemental food, as described in Sub-

item (4)(a) of Rule .0707 of this Section, listed 

on the food instrument. Section. A request for 

payment submitted over the maximum price 

allowed by the State agency will only be paid 

up to the maximum price for that supplemental 

food; 

(7) Accept payment from the State WIC Program 

only up to the full dollar value of the cash-value 

voucher; benefit; 

(8) Not charge the State WIC Program more than 

the maximum price set by the State agency 

under Item (4)(a) of Rule .0707 of this Section 

for each supplemental food within the vendor's 

peer group; 

(9) Provide to WIC customers infant formula, 

exempt infant formula, and WIC eligible 

nutritionals purchased only from the sources 
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specified in Item (3) of Rule .0707 of this 

Section. Providing infant formula, exempt 

infant formula, or WIC eligible nutritionals that 

has not been purchased from the sources 

specified in Item (3) of Rule .0707 of this 

Section shall result in termination of the WIC 

Vendor Agreement; 

(10) For free-standing pharmacies, provide only 

exempt infant formula and WIC-eligible 

nutritionals; 

(11) Excluding free-standing pharmacies, redeem at 

least two thousand dollars ($2,000) annually in 

WIC supplemental food sales. Failure to 

redeem at least two thousand dollars ($2,000) 

annually in WIC supplemental food sales shall 

result in termination of the WIC Vendor 

Agreement. The store must wait 180 days to 

reapply for authorization; 

(12) Accept WIC Program food instruments and 

cash-value vouchers only on or between the 

"First Date to Spend" and the "Last Date to 

Spend" dates; 

(13) Prior to obtaining the WIC customer's signature 

on the printed food instrument and cash-value 

voucher, enter in the "Date Transacted" box the 

month, day, and year the WIC food instrument 

or cash-value voucher is exchanged for 

supplemental food; 

(14)(12) Ensure that the WIC customer signs the food 

instrument or cash-value voucher in the 

presence of the cashier. Vendors that utilize 

EBT shall ensure Ensure that a personal 

identification number (PIN) is used by the WIC 

customer to complete the EBT transaction in 

lieu of a signature; 

(15)(13) Ensure that the WIC customer enters the PIN to 

initiate the EBT transaction. The vendor shall 

not enter the PIN for the WIC customer; 

(16) Refuse to transact any food instrument or cash-

value voucher that has been altered; 

(17)(14) Not transact food instruments or cash-value 

vouchers benefits in whole or in part for cash, 

credit, unauthorized foods, or non-food items; 

(18)(15) Not provide refunds or permit exchanges for 

authorized supplemental foods obtained with 

food instruments or cash-value vouchers, 

benefits, except for exchanges of an identical 

authorized supplemental food when the original 

authorized supplemental food is defective, 

spoiled, or has exceeded its "sell by," "best if 

used by," or other date limiting the sale or use 

of the food. An "identical authorized 

supplemental food" means the exact brand, type 

and size as the original authorized supplemental 

food obtained and returned by the WIC 

customer; 

(19) Imprint the authorized WIC vendor stamp in the 

"Pay the Authorized WIC Vendor Stamped 

Here" box on the face of the printed food 

instrument or cash-value voucher to enable the 

vendor number to be read during the WIC 

Program's editing process; 

(20) Imprint the vendor's bank deposit stamp or the 

vendor's name, address, and bank account 

number in the "Authorized WIC Vendor 

Stamp" box in the endorsement on the printed 

food instrument or cash-value voucher; 

(21) Deposit WIC program printed food instruments 

and cash-value vouchers in the vendor's bank. 

All North Carolina WIC program printed food 

instruments and cash-value vouchers must be 

deposited in the vendor's bank within 60 days 

of the "First Date to Spend" on the printed food 

instrument or cash-value voucher; 

(22) Ensure that the authorized WIC vendor stamp 

is used only for the purpose and in the manner 

authorized by the Agreement and be 

responsible for the unauthorized use of the 

authorized WIC vendor stamp; 

(23) Maintain storage of the authorized WIC vendor 

stamp so only the staff designated by the vendor 

owner or manager have access to the stamp and 

report loss of this stamp within two business 

days to the local WIC agency; 

(24)(16) Notify the local WIC agency of misuse 

(attempted or actual) of WIC Program food 

instruments or cash-value vouchers; benefits; 

(25)(17) Maintain a minimum inventory of supplemental 

foods in the store for purchase. Supplemental 

foods that are outside of the manufacturer's 

expiration date do not count towards meeting 

the minimum inventory requirement. Free-

standing pharmacies are not required to 

maintain a minimum inventory of supplemental 

foods. The following items and sizes constitute 

the minimum inventory of supplemental foods 

for vendors in Peer Groups I through III of Item 

(1), vendors in Vendor Peer Groups I through 

IV of Item (2), and vendors in Vendor Peer 

Group IV of Item (3) of Rule .0706 of this 

Section: vendors: 

 

Food Item Type of Inventory Quantities Required 

Milk 

Whole fluid: gallon 

-and- 

Skim/lowfat fluid: gallon 

2 gallons 

 

6 gallons  
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Cheese 1 pound package 2 packages 

Cereals 
2 types: whole grain 

(minimum package size 12 ounce) 
6 packages total 

Eggs 
Grade A, large, white: 

1 dozen size carton 
2 dozen 

Juices 

Single strength: 

48 ounce container 

64 ounce container 

 

4 containers 

4 containers 

Dried Peas and Beans 1 pound package 2 packages 

Peanut Butter 16 to 18 ounce container 2 containers 

Tuna 5 to 6 ounce can 6 cans 

Bread/Tortillas 16 ounce loaf of bread or package of tortillas 
2 loaves or 2 packages OR 1 

loaf and 1 package 

Rice 14 to 16 ounce package 2 packages 

Infant Cereal 8 ounce box 6 boxes 

Infant Fruits and 

Vegetables 

3.5 to 4 ounce container 

1 type of fruit and 1 type of vegetable 
64 ounces 

Infant Formula 

milk-based powder; 11.0 to 14.0 ounce 

-and- 

soy-based powder; 11.0 to 14.0 ounce 

Brands must be the primary contract infant formulas 

 

8 cans 

 

4 cans 

 

 

Fruits 14 to 16 ounce can: 2 varieties 10 cans total 

Vegetables 

(Excludes foods in 

Dried Peas and Beans 

category) 

14 to 16 ounce can: 2 varieties 10 cans total 

All vendors vendors, except free-standing pharmacies, in Vendor 

Peer Groups I through III of Item (1), Peer Groups I through IV 

of Item (2), and Vendor Peer Groups IV and V of Item (3) of Rule 

.0706 of this Section shall supply milk, soy-based or lactose-free 

infant formula in 32 ounce ready-to-feed or lactose-free powder 

within 48 hours of request by the State or local WIC agency; 

agency. Free-standing pharmacies shall only supply exempt infant 

formula or WIC-eligible nutritionals within 48 hours of request; 

(26)(18) Ensure that all supplemental foods in the store 

for purchase are within the manufacturer's 

expiration date; 

(27)(19) Permit the purchase of supplemental food 

without requiring other purchases; 

(28)(20) Comply with the following EBT provisions: 

(a) Sign the WIC Vendor Agreement of 

the EBT Processor selected by the 

State WIC Program or a third-party 

processor that has been certified 

according to criteria established by the 

EBT Processor selected by the State 

WIC Program. Failure by a vendor to 

sign and retain a WIC Vendor 

Agreement with the State WIC 

Program's EBT Processor or a third-

party processor that has been certified 

by the State WIC Program's EBT 

Processor shall result in termination of 

the WIC Vendor Agreement. Vendors 

shall notify the WIC Program within 

24 hours of any periods of time during 

which they do not maintain an 

Agreement with the State WIC 

Program's EBT Processor or a third-

party processor that has been certified 

by the State WIC Program's EBT 

Processor; 

(b) Process EBT transactions in 

accordance with the terms of the North 

Carolina WIC Vendor Agreement, 
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WIC Program State Rules, federal 

regulations, and statutes; 

(c) Maintain Point of Sale (POS) 

terminals used to support the WIC 

Program in accordance with the 

minimum lane provisions of 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(z)(2); 

(d) Maintain a North Carolina EBT 

Processor certified in-store EBT 

system that is available for WIC 

redemption processing during all 

hours the store is open; 

(e) Request the North Carolina EBT 

Processor re-certify its in-store system 

if the vendor alters or revises the 

system in any manner that impacts the 

EBT redemption or claims processing 

system after initial certification is 

completed; 

(f) For vendors with integrated systems, 

obtain EBT card readers to support 

EBT transactions within their store(s). 

The vendor shall ensure that the EBT 

card readers they obtain meets all EBT 

and North Carolina EBT Processor 

requirements; 

(g) Require an owner, manager or other 

authorized store representative to 

complete training on WIC EBT 

procedures. The vendor shall ensure 

that all cashiers and staff are fully 

trained on WIC EBT requirements, 

including training in the acceptance 

and processing of WIC EBT 

transactions; 

(h) Require the WIC customer to approve 

the WIC transaction. Vendors shall 

ensure that the vendor's staff does not 

approve the WIC transactions for WIC 

customers under any circumstances; 

(i) Release supplemental food to WIC 

customers when the transaction has 

been completed to include receipt of 

transaction approval by the EBT 

processing system, printing of the 

receipt, and updated balance of the 

WIC customer's account; 

(j) Scan or manually enter Universal 

Product Codes (UPC) only from 

approved supplemental foods being 

purchased by the WIC customer in the 

types, sizes and quantities available on 

the WIC customer's EBT account. The 

vendor shall not scan codes from UPC 

codebooks or reference sheets; 

(k) Return any EBT card found on the 

vendor's property and unclaimed for 

24 hours to the WIC Program. The 

vendor shall not hold or use a WIC 

customer's EBT card and PIN for any 

purpose whatsoever; 

(l) Connect the vendor's in-store system 

for each outlet covered by the WIC 

Vendor agreement to the State's WIC 

EBT system at least once each 24-hour 

period to download reconciliation files 

and the WIC Authorized Product 

UPC/Product Look-Up (PLU) list. 

(29)(21) Attend, or cause a manager or other authorized 

store representative to attend, annual vendor 

training upon notification by the local WIC 

agency. Failure to attend annual vendor training 

by September 30 of each year shall result in 

termination of the WIC Vendor Agreement; 

(30)(22) Inform and train vendor's cashiers and other 

staff on WIC Program requirements; 

(31)(23) Be accountable for the actions of its owners, 

officers, managers, agents, and employees who 

commit vendor violations; 

(32)(24) Allow monitoring and inspection by State and 

local WIC Program staff of the store premises 

and procedures to ensure compliance with the 

agreement and State, and federal WIC Program 

rules, regulations, and applicable law. This 

includes providing access to all program-

related records, including access to all WIC 

food instruments and cash-value vouchers at the 

store; vendor records pertinent to the purchase 

and sale of WIC supplemental foods, including 

invoices, receipts, copies of purchase orders, 

and any other proofs of purchase; federal and 

state corporate and individual income tax and 

sales and use tax returns and all records 

pertinent to these returns; and books and 

records of all financial and business 

transactions. These records must be retained by 

the vendor for a period of three years or until 

any audit pertaining to these records is resolved, 

whichever is later. Notwithstanding any other 

provision of this Rule and Rules .0707 and 

.0710 of this Section, failure or inability to 

provide these records for an inventory audit or 

providing false records for an inventory audit 

shall be deemed a violation of 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(l)(1)(iii)(B) and Subparagraph (a)(1) of 

Rule .0710 of this Section. Invoices, receipts, 

purchase orders, and any other proofs of 

purchase for WIC supplemental foods shall 

include: 

(a) the name of the seller and be prepared 

entirely by the seller without alteration 

by the vendor or on the seller's 

business letterhead; 

(b) the date of purchase and the date the 

authorized vendor received the WIC 

supplemental food at the store if 

different from the date of purchase; 

and 
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(c) a description of each WIC 

supplemental food item purchased, 

including brand name, unit size, type 

or form, and quantity; 

(33)(25) Maintain a record of all SNAP-eligible food 

sales and provide to the State agency upon 

request a statement of the total amount of 

revenue derived from SNAP-eligible food sales 

and written documentation to support the 

amount of sales claimed by the vendor, such as 

sales records, financial statements, reports, tax 

documents or other verifiable documentation; 

(34)(26) Submit a current completed WIC Price List 

when signing this agreement, and by April 1 

and October 1 of each year. The vendor also 

agrees to submit a WIC Price List within two 

weeks of any written request by the State or 

local WIC agency; 

(35)(27) Reimburse the State agency in full or agree to a 

repayment schedule with the State agency 

within 30 days of written notification of a claim 

assessed due to a vendor violation that affects 

payment to the vendor or a claim assessed due 

to the unauthorized use of the WIC vendor 

stamp. vendor. Failure to reimburse the State 

agency in full or agree to a repayment schedule 

within 30 days of written notification of a claim 

shall result in termination of the WIC Vendor 

Agreement. The State agency shall deny 

payment or assess a claim in the amount of the 

full purchase price of each food instrument or 

cash-value voucher invalid under 

Subparagraphs (a)(2), (a)(5), (a)(6) or (a)(7) of 

Rule .0704 of this Section. Denial of payment 

by the State agency or payment Payment of a 

claim by the vendor for a vendor violation(s) 

shall not absolve the vendor of the violation(s). 

The vendor shall also be subject to any vendor 

sanctions authorized under Rule .0710 of this 

Section for the vendor violation(s); 

(36)(28) Not seek restitution from the WIC customer for 

reimbursement paid by the vendor to the State 

agency or for WIC food instruments or cash-

value vouchers benefits not paid or partially 

paid by the State agency. Additionally, the 

vendor shall not charge the WIC customer for 

authorized supplemental foods obtained with 

food instruments or cash-value vouchers; 

benefits; 

(37)(29) Not contact a WIC customer outside the store 

regarding the transaction or redemption of WIC 

food instruments or cash-value vouchers; 

benefits; 

(38)(30) Notify the local WIC agency in writing at least 

30 days prior to a change of ownership, change 

in store location, cessation of operations, or 

withdrawal from the WIC Program. Change of 

ownership, change in store location of more 

than three miles from the store's previous 

location, cessation of operations, withdrawal 

from the WIC Program, or disqualification 

from the WIC Program shall result in 

termination of the WIC Vendor Agreement by 

the State agency. Change of ownership, change 

in store location, ceasing operations, 

withdrawal from the WIC Program, or 

nonrenewal of the WIC Vendor Agreement 

shall not stop a disqualification period 

applicable to the store; 

(39) Return the authorized WIC vendor stamp to the 

local WIC agency upon termination of the WIC 

Vendor Agreement or disqualification from the 

WIC Program; 

(40)(31) Not discriminate on the basis of WIC 

participation, such as failing to offer WIC 

customers the same courtesies, as set forth in 7 

C.F.R. 246.12(g)(3)(iii), offered to other 

customers or requiring separate WIC lines; 

(41)(32) Reapply to continue to be authorized beyond 

the period of its current WIC Vendor 

Agreement. Additionally, a store shall reapply 

to become authorized following the expiration 

of a disqualification period or termination of the 

Agreement. In all cases, the vendor applicant is 

subject to the vendor peer group criteria of Rule 

.0706 of this Section set forth in 7 CFR 

246.12(g)(4), 7 CFR 246.12(h)(3), and the 

vendor selection criteria of Rule .0707 of this 

Section; and 

(42)(33) Comply with all the requirements for vendor 

applicants of Items (3), (4), and (7) through 

(17), and (19) of Rule .0707 of this Section 

throughout the term of authorization. The State 

agency may reassess a vendor at any time 

during the vendor's period of authorization to 

determine compliance with these requirements. 

The State agency shall terminate the WIC 

Vendor Agreement of any vendor that fails to 

comply with Items (3), (4), (8), (9), (10), (11), 

(12), (13), (14), (16), (17), or (19) of Rule .0707 

of this Section during the vendor's period of 

authorization, and terminate the agreement of 

or sanction or both any vendor that fails to 

comply with Items (7), (15), (17),or (19) of 

Rule .0707 of this Section during the vendor's 

period of authorization. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246; 42 U.S.C. 1786. 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0710 VENDOR VIOLATIONS AND 

SANCTIONS 

(a)  Title 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(i) through (vi) and (xii) are 

incorporated by reference with all subsequent amendments and 

editions. In accordance with 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(i), the State 

agency shall not allow imposition of a civil money penalty in lieu 

of disqualification for a vendor permanently disqualified. A 

pattern, as referenced in 7 CFR 246.12 (l)(1)(iii)(B) through (F) 

and 246.12(l)(1)(iv)(A), shall be established as follows: 
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(1) claiming reimbursement for the sale of an 

amount of a specific supplemental food item 

that exceeds the store's documented inventory 

of that supplemental food item for six or more 

days within a 60-day period. The six or more 

days do not have to be consecutive days within 

the 60-day period. Failure or inability to 

provide records or providing false records 

required under Item (32)(24) of Rule .0708 for 

an inventory audit shall be deemed a violation 

of 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(iii)(B) and this 

Subparagraph; 

(2) two occurrences of vendor overcharging within 

a 12-month period; 

(3) two occurrences of receiving, transacting or 

redeeming food instruments or cash-value 

vouchers benefits outside of authorized 

channels, including the use of an unauthorized 

vendor or an unauthorized person within a 12-

month period; 

(4) two occurrences of charging for supplemental 

food not received by the WIC customer within 

a 12-month period; 

(5) two occurrences of providing credit or non-food 

items, other than alcohol, alcoholic beverages, 

tobacco products, cash, firearms, ammunition, 

explosives, or controlled substances as defined 

in 21 U.S.C. 802, in exchange for food 

instruments or cash-value vouchers benefits 

within a 12-month period; or 

(6) three occurrences of providing unauthorized 

food items in exchange for food instruments or 

cash-value vouchers, benefits, including 

charging for supplemental food provided in 

excess of those listed on the food instrument 

benefit balance within a 12-month period. 

(b)  Title 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(2)(i) is incorporated by reference with 

all subsequent amendments and editions. Except as provided in 7 

C.F.R. 246.12 (l)(1)(xii), a vendor shall be disqualified from the 

WIC Program for the following state-established violations in 

accordance with the number of occurrences and sanctions set forth 

below: 

(1) One year for two occurrences within a 12-

month period of discrimination on the basis of 

WIC participation as referenced in Item 

(40)(31) of Rule .0708. Each date this violation 

is detected is a separate occurrence; 

(2) One year for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to properly transact a 

WIC food instrument or cash-value voucher by 

not completing the date and purchase price on 

the WIC food instrument or cash-value voucher 

before obtaining the WIC customer's signature, 

by not obtaining the WIC customer's signature 

in the presence of the cashier, or by accepting a 

WIC food instrument or cash-value voucher 

prior to the "Issue Date" or after the "Participant 

Must Use By" dates on the food instrument or 

cash-value voucher. benefits by manually 

entering the EBT card number or entering the 

PIN into the POS instead of the WIC 

participant, scanning the UPC or PLU codes 

from UPC codebooks or reference sheets when 

completing a WIC participant's EBT 

transaction, not entering the correct quantity 

and item price, or not providing the WIC 

participant with a receipt that shows the items 

purchased and the participant's remaining food 

benefit balance. Except as provided in 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(l)(3)(iv), each improperly transacted 

food instrument or cash-value voucher 

improper transaction is a separate occurrence; 

(3) One year for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of requiring a cash purchase to 

transact a WIC food instrument or cash-value 

voucher. benefits. Except as provided in 7 

C.F.R. 246.12(l)(3)(iv), each transacted food 

instrument or cash-value voucher transaction 

requiring a cash purchase is a separate 

occurrence; 

(4) 270 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of contacting a WIC customer in 

an attempt to recoup funds for a food instrument 

or cash-value voucher benefits or contacting a 

WIC customer outside the store regarding the 

transaction or redemption of a WIC food 

instrument or cash-value voucher. benefits. 

Each contact with any WIC customer is a 

separate occurrence, whether each contact is 

with the same or different WIC customers; 

(5) 180 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to provide program-

related records referenced in Item (32)(24) of 

Rule .0708 when requested by WIC staff, 

except as provided in Item (32)(24) of Rule 

.0708 and Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule for 

failure or inability to provide records for an 

inventory audit. Each request for records is a 

separate occurrence, whether each request is for 

the same or different records; 

(6) 180 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to provide the 

information referenced in Item (33)(25) of Rule 

.0708 when requested by WIC staff. Each 

request for information is a separate 

occurrence, whether each request is for the 

same or different information; 

(7) 180 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to stock the minimum 

inventory specified in Item (25)(17) of Rule 

.0708. Each date this violation is detected is a 

separate occurrence; 

(8) 90 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of stocking WIC supplemental 

foods outside of the manufacturer's expiration 

date. Each date this violation is detected is a 

separate occurrence; 
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(9) 90 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to allow monitoring of 

a store by WIC staff. Each attempt to monitor 

the store is a separate occurrence; 

(10) 90 days for five occurrences within a 12-month 

period of failure to submit a WIC Price List as 

required by Item (34)(26) of Rule .0708. Each 

written request by the state or local WIC agency 

for submission of a WIC Price List is a separate 

occurrence, whether each request is for the 

same or different WIC Price Lists; 

(11) 60 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to mark the current shelf 

prices of all WIC supplemental foods on the 

foods or have the prices posted on the shelf or 

display case. Each date this violation is detected 

is a separate occurrence; and 

(12) 60 days for five occurrences within a 12-month 

period of requiring the purchase of a specific 

brand when more than one WIC supplemental 

food brand is available. Except as provided in 7 

C.F.R. 246.12(l)(3)(iv), each transacted food 

instrument or cash-value voucher transaction 

requiring the purchase of a specific brand when 

more than one WIC supplemental food brand is 

available is a separate occurrence. occurrence; 

(13) 180 days for three occurrences of failure to 

make EBT point of sale equipment accessible 

to WIC customers to ensure that EBT 

transactions are completed in accordance with 

Rule .0708; and 

(14) 90 days for three occurrences within a 12-

month period of failure to comply with 

minimum lane coverage criteria required by 7 

CFR 246.12(z)(2) and Rule .0708(20)(c) of this 

Section; 

If during the course of a single investigation the state agency 

determines that a vendor has committed multiple state-established 

violations, the disqualification periods shall be cumulative, 

provided that the total period of disqualification shall not exceed 

one year for state-established violations investigated as part of a 

single investigation, as defined in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(c)  For investigations pursuant to this Section, a single 

investigation is: 

(1) Compliance buy(s) conducted by undercover 

investigators within a 12-month period to detect 

the following violations: 

(A) buying or selling food instruments or 

cash-value vouchers benefits for cash 

(trafficking); 

(B) selling firearms, ammunition, 

explosives, or controlled substances as 

defined in 21 U.S.C. 802, in exchange 

for food instruments or cash-value 

vouchers; benefits; 

(C) selling alcohol or alcoholic beverages 

or tobacco products in exchange for 

food instruments or cash-value 

vouchers; benefits; 

(D) vendor overcharging; 

(E) receiving, transacting, or redeeming 

food instruments or cash-value 

vouchers benefits outside of 

authorized channels, including the use 

of an unauthorized vendor or an 

unauthorized person; 

(F) charging for supplemental food not 

received by the WIC customer; 

(G) providing credit or non-food items, 

other than alcohol, alcoholic 

beverages, tobacco products, cash, 

firearms, ammunition, explosives, or 

controlled substances as defined in 21 

U.S.C. 802, in exchange for food 

instruments or cash-value vouchers; 

benefits; 

(H) providing unauthorized food items in 

exchange for food instruments or 

cash-value vouchers, benefits, 

including charging for supplemental 

food provided in excess of those listed 

on the food instrument; benefit 

balance; 

(I) failure to properly transact a WIC food 

instrument or cash-value voucher; 

benefits; 

(J) requiring a cash purchase to transact a 

WIC food instrument or cash-value 

voucher benefits; or 

(K) requiring the purchase of a specific 

brand when more than one WIC 

supplemental food brand is available. 

(2) Monitoring reviews of a vendor conducted by 

WIC staff within a 12-month period which 

detect the following violations: 

(A) failure to stock the minimum 

inventory specified in Item (25)(17) of 

Rule .0708; 

(B) stocking WIC supplemental food 

outside of the manufacturer's 

expiration date; 

(C) failure to allow monitoring of a store 

by WIC staff; 

(D) failure to provide program-related 

records referenced in Item (32)(24) of 

Rule .0708 when requested by WIC 

staff; 

(E) failure to mark the current shelf prices 

of all WIC supplemental foods on the 

foods or have the prices posted on the 

shelf or display case; or 

(F) unauthorized use of the "WIC" 

acronym or the logo. logo; 

(G) failure to ensure that EBT point of sale 

equipment is accessible to the WIC 

customer; or 

(H) failure to comply with minimum lane 

coverage criteria required by 7 CFR 
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246.12(z)(2) and Rule .0708(20)(c) of 

this Section 

(3) Any other method used by the state or local 

agency to detect the following violations by a 

vendor within a 12-month period: 

(A) failure to attend annual vendor 

training; 

(B) failure to submit a WIC Price List as 

required by Item (34)(26) of Rule 

.0708; 

(C) discrimination on the basis of WIC 

participation as referenced in Item 

(40)(31) of Rule .0708. 

(D) contacting a WIC customer in an 

attempt to recoup funds for food 

instruments or cash-value vouchers 

benefits or contacting a WIC customer 

outside the store regarding the 

transaction or redemption of WIC 

food instruments or cash-value 

vouchers benefits; 

(E) nonpayment of a claim assessed by the 

state agency; 

(F) providing false, erroneous, or 

misleading information to the state or 

local WIC agency; 

(G) claiming reimbursement for the sale of 

an amount of a specific supplemental 

food item which exceeds the store's 

documented inventory of that 

supplemental food item for a specific 

period of time, or failure or inability to 

provide records or providing false 

records required under Item (32)(24) 

of Rule .0708 for an inventory audit; 

(H) failure to purchase infant formula, 

exempt infant formula or WIC-

eligible medical foods from the 

sources specified in Item (3) of Rule 

.0707; or 

(I) providing WIC customers infant 

formula, exempt infant formula, or 

WIC eligible medical food that was 

not purchased from the sources 

specified in Item (3) of Rule .0707. 

(d)  The SNAP disqualification provisions in 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(l)(1)(vii) are incorporated by reference with all 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

(e)  The participant access provisions of 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(ix) 

and 246.12(l)(8) are incorporated by reference with all subsequent 

amendments and editions. The existence of any of the factors 

listed in Parts (f)(3)(A), (f)(3)(B) or (f)(3)(C) of this Rule shall 

show adequate participant access provided there is no geographic 

barrier, such as an impassable mountain or river, to using the other 

authorized WIC vendors referenced in these Parts. The agency 

shall not consider other indicators of inadequate participant access 

when any of these factors exist. 

(f)  The following provisions apply to monetary and civil money 

penalties assessed in lieu of disqualification of a vendor: 

(1) The civil money penalty formula in 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(l)(l)(x) is incorporated by reference 

with all subsequent amendments and editions, 

provided that the vendor's average monthly 

redemptions shall be calculated by using the 

six-month period ending with the month 

immediately preceding the month during which 

the notice of administrative action is dated. 

(2) The state agency may also impose monetary 

penalties in accordance with G.S. 130A-22(c1) 

in lieu of disqualification of a vendor for the 

state-established violations listed in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule when the state agency 

determines that disqualification of a vendor 

would result in participant hardship in 

accordance with Subparagraph (f)(3) of this 

Paragraph. 

(3) In determining whether to disqualify a WIC 

vendor for the state-established violations listed 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the agency shall 

not consider other indicators of hardship if any 

of the following factors, which show lack of 

hardship, are found to exist: 

(A) the noncomplying vendor is located 

outside of the limits of a city, as 

defined in G.S. 160A-2, and another 

WIC vendor is located within seven 

miles of the noncomplying vendor; 

(B) the noncomplying vendor is located 

within the limits of a city, as defined 

in G.S. 160A-2, and another WIC 

vendor is located within three miles of 

the noncomplying vendor; or 

(C) a WIC vendor, other than the 

noncomplying vendor, is located 

within one mile of the local agency at 

which WIC participants pick up their 

food instruments or cash-value 

vouchers. are certified to receive WIC 

food benefits. 

(4) The provisions for failure to pay a civil money 

penalty in 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(6) are 

incorporated by reference with all subsequent 

amendments and editions. These provisions 

also apply to a vendor that fails to pay a 

monetary penalty imposed under G.S. 130A-

22(c1). 

(g)  The provisions of 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(1)(viii) prohibiting 

voluntary withdrawal from the WIC Program or nonrenewal of 

the WIC Vendor Agreement as an alternative to disqualification 

are incorporated by reference with all subsequent amendments 

and editions. 

(h)  The provisions of 42 USC 1786 (f)(26) and 7 CFR 

246.12(l)(3) regarding vendor notification of violations are 

incorporated by reference with all subsequent amendments and 

editions. 

(i)  The state agency may offset payments to an authorized vendor 

if the vendor fails to reimburse the state agency in accordance 

with Item (35)(27) of Rule .0708. 
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(j)  In accordance with 7 C.F.R. 246.12(l)(7) or 246.12(u)(5) or 

both, North Carolina's procedures for dealing with abuse of the 

WIC program by authorized WIC vendors do not exclude or 

replace any criminal or civil sanctions or other remedies that may 

be applicable under any federal or state law. 

(k)  Notwithstanding other provisions of this Rule and Rules .0707 

and .0708, for the purpose of providing a one-time payment to a 

non-authorized store for WIC food instruments or cash-value 

vouchers accepted by the store, an agreement for a one-time 

payment need only be signed by the store manager and the state 

agency. The store may request such one-time payment directly 

from the state agency. The store manager shall sign an agreement 

indicating that the store has provided foods as prescribed on the 

food instrument or as allowed with the cash-value voucher, 

charged current shelf prices or less than current shelf prices, not 

charged sales tax, and verified the identity of the WIC customer. 

Any agreement entered into in this manner shall automatically 

terminate upon payment of the food instruments or cash-value 

vouchers. After entering into an agreement for a one-time 

payment, a non-authorized store shall not be allowed to enter into 

any further one-time payment agreements for WIC food 

instruments or cash-value vouchers accepted thereafter. 

(l)(k)  Except as provided in 7 C.F.R. 246.18(a)(2), an authorized 

WIC vendor shall be given at least 15 days advance written notice 

of any adverse action which affects the vendor's participation in 

the WIC Program. The vendor appeal procedures shall be in 

accordance with 10A NCAC 43D .0800. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246; 42 U.S.C. 1786. 

 

SECTION .0900 - WIC PROGRAM PARTICIPANT FAIR 

HEARINGS 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0908 NOTICE OF HEARING 

(a)  The agency official shall notify the aggrieved party, appellant, 

or his or her representative, the local WIC agency and the 

Nutrition Services Branch in writing that a request for a hearing 

has been received. received and shall appoint a time, date, and 

place for the hearing within 10 days of receipt of the request. 

(b)  Notice of the date, time, and place of the hearing shall be 

given to all parties at least 10 days in advance of the hearing. 

(c)  The notice to the aggrieved party shall include a stamped 

envelope with the return address of the agency official with a 

request that it be returned indicating whether the date, time time, 

and place for the hearing is satisfactory. If a response is not 

received at least 24 72 hours prior to the time proposed for the 

hearing, it shall be assumed that the date, time time, and place are 

satisfactory. 

(d)  The notice shall contain: 

(1) a simplified explanation of the procedure for 

the hearing; 

(2) a statement of the date, hour, place and nature 

of the hearing; 

(3) a reference to the particular sections of the 

statutes and rules involved; and 

(4) a short and plain statement of the factual 

allegations. 

(e)  If the aggrieved party appellant, or his or her representative, 

indicates that he-she he or she desires another time and date, the 

agency official shall set a new time and date for the hearing. The 

hearing shall be accessible to the appellant. appellant, or his or her 

representative. 

(f)  The hearing shall be held within three weeks 21 days from the 

date of the receipt of the agency official receives the request. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-361; 150B-22; 7 C.F.R. 246.9; 42 U.S.C. 

1786. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Coastal Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited 

as 15A NCAC 07H .1901, .1902, .1904, and .1905. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  September 18, 2019 

Time:  1:15 p.m. 

Location:  New Hanover County Government Center, 230 

Government Center Drive, Wilmington, NC 28403 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Section 07H .1900 defines specific 

development requirements for the construction of temporary 

structures in the Estuarine and Ocean System Area of 

Environmental Concern (AEC). The proposed rule change 

amends language in Rules 07H .1901, 07H .1902, 07H .1904 and 

07H .1905 to make the General Permit consistent with other rules 

related to General Permits for structures as well as incorporates 

language for the permitting of research structures as temporary 

structures within the Estuarine and Ocean System. The proposed 

amendments will expand the General Permit to include temporary 

research structures within the Estuarine and Public Trust Waters. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Braxton Davis, 400 

Commerce Ave, Morehead City, NC 28557 

 

Comment period ends:  November 4, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
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further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS 

OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN 

 

SECTION .1900 – GENERAL PERMIT TO ALLOW FOR 

TEMPORARY STRUCTURES WITHIN COASTAL 

SHORELINES THE ESTUARINE AND OCEAN HAZARD 

SYSTEMS AECS 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1901 PURPOSE 

A permit under this Section shall allow for the placement of 

temporary structures within estuarine and public trust shorelines, 

and ocean hazard the estuarine and ocean systems AECs 

according to the provisions provided in Subchapter 7J .1100 15A 

NCAC 07J .1100 and according to the rules in this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-229(c1); 113A-107(a)(b); 113A-113(b); 

113A-118.1. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1902 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 

(a)  The applicant must shall contact the Division of Coastal 

Management and complete a general permit application form at 

the address provided in 15A NCAC 07A .0101 and complete an 

application requesting approval for development. Applicants shall 

provide information on site location, dimensions of the project 

area, proposed activity, name, address, and telephone number. For 

temporary structures associated with scientific research, permit 

applicants shall be lead investigators on behalf of accredited 

educational institutions, or state or federal agencies. 

(b)  The applicant must provide: If a temporary structure is to be 

located less than 400 feet waterward of normal high water or 

normal water level, or within the established pier head line as 

determined by the Division of Coastal Management, the applicant 

shall provide: 

(1) confirmation that a written statement has been 

obtained signed by the adjacent riparian 

property owners indicating that they have no 

objections to the proposed work; or 

(2) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 

owners have been notified by certified mail of 

the proposed work. Such notice should instruct 

adjacent property owners to provide any 

comments on the proposed development in 

writing for consideration by permitting officials 

to the Division of Coastal Management within 

ten days of receipt of the notice, and, notice, and 

indicate that no response will be interpreted as 

no objection. DCM staff will review all 

comments and determine, based on their 

relevance to the potential impacts of the 

proposed project, if the proposed project can be 

approved by a General Permit. If DCM staff 

finds that the comments are worthy of more 

in-depth review, the applicant will be notified 

that he must submit an application for a major 

development permit. If DCM determines that 

the project exceeds the conditions established 

by this General Permit, DCM shall notify the 

applicant that a Major Permit application shall 

be required. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an onsite meeting is held with the 

applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 

inspect and mark the site of construction of the proposed 

development. Written authorization to proceed with the proposed 

development may be issued by the Division during this visit. All 

work must be completed and the structure removed within 180 

days following the day written authorization is issued. Temporary 

structures authorized by this General Permit may remain in place 

for a maximum of one year from the date of issuance. The project 

site shall be restored to pre-development conditions and all 

structures shall be removed within one year of permit issuance, or 

by the date specified with the General Permit. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-229(cl); 113A-107(a)(b); 113A-113(b); 

113A-118.1. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1904 GENERAL CONDITIONS 

(a)  Temporary structures for the purpose of this general permit 

are those which are constructed or installed within the ocean 

hazard or estuarine and ocean system AECs and because of 

dimensions or functions do not meet the criteria of the existing 

general permits (i.e. are not a bulkhead, pier, rip-rap, groin, etc.). 

cannot be authorized by another General Permit within this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  There shall be no encroachment oceanward of the first line of 

stable vegetation within the ocean hazard AEC except for the 

placement of auxiliary structures such as signs, fences, posts, 

pilings, etc. or pilings. 

(c)  There shall be no fill or excavation activity below the plane 

of mean normal high water associated with the structure. or 

normal water level. 

(d)  This permit will shall not be applicable to proposed 

construction development where the Department Division of 

Coastal Management has determined, based on an initial a review 

of the application, that notice and review pursuant to G.S. 113A-

119 is necessary because there are unresolved questions 

concerning the proposed activity's impact on adjoining properties 

or on water quality; air quality; coastal wetlands; cultural or 

historic sites; wildlife; fisheries resources; or public trust rights. 

(e)  Individuals shall allow authorized representatives of the 

Department of Environment and Natural Resources 

Environmental Quality to make periodic inspections at any time 

necessary to ensure that the activity being performed under 

authority of this general permit is in accordance with the terms 

and conditions prescribed herein. 
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(f)  This permit does not eliminate the need to obtain any other 

state, local or federal authorization, nor, to abide by regulations 

adopted by any federal, state, or local agency. 

(g)  Development carried out under this permit must shall be 

consistent with all local requirements, and local land use plans 

current at the time of authorization. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-229(c1); 113A-107(a)(b); 113A-113(b); 

113A-118.1. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1905 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS 

Proposed temporary structures must shall meet each of the 

following specific conditions to be eligible for authorization by 

the general permit: 

(1) All aspects of the structure shall be removed 

and the site returned to pre-project conditions at 

the termination expiration of this general 

permit. 

(2) There shall be no work within any productive 

shellfish beds. beds without authorization from 

the Division of Marine Fisheries. 

(3) The proposed project structure shall not involve 

the disturbance of any marsh, submerged 

aquatic vegetation, or other wetlands including 

excavation and/or or filling of these areas. 

(4) The proposed activity shall not involve the 

disruption of normal disrupt navigation and 

transportation channels and shall be properly 

marked to prevent being a hazard to navigation. 

(5) The proposed structure shall not impede public 

access or other public trust uses. 

(5)(6) The proposed project structure shall not serve 

as a habitable place of residence. be habitable. 

(6)(7) There shall be no adverse disturbance of 

existing dune structures. dunes. 

(7)(8) Development carried out under Temporary 

structures authorized by this permit shall not 

individually or cumulatively exceed one acre in 

size in accordance with 15A NCAC 2H 

.1002(1) and 15A NCAC 2H .1003(a)(1). 100 

square meters in size. 

(8)(9) No sewage disposal system will be allowed 

without a permit authorized by either the 

Division of Environmental Health or the 

Division of Environmental Management. 

Structures shall not be constructed in a 

designated Primary Nursery Area without 

approval from the Division of Marine Fisheries 

or the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-229(c1); 113A-107(a)(b); 113A-113(b); 

113A-118.1. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 54 – PSYCHOLOGY BOARD 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Psychology Board intends to readopt with 

substantive changes the rules cited as 21 NCAC 54 .1602, .1605, 

.1610-.1612, .1701-.1703, .1705-.1707, .1802, .1803, .1901, 

.1903, .1904, .2001, .2002, .2005, .2006, .2008, .2009, .2101, 

.2103, .2104, .2202, .2304, .2701, .2703-.2706, readopt without 

substantive changes the rules cited as 21 NCAC 54 .1606-.1609, 

.2007, .2102, .2203, .2305, .2308, .2309, .2311, .2314, .2401, 

.2402, .2601, .2801-.2806, and repeal through readoption the 

rules cited as 21 NCAC 54 .2301-.2303. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.ncpsychologyboard.org/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  September 27, 2019 

Time:  9:30 a.m.- 12:00 p.m. 

Location:  LaQuinta Hotel, 1201 Lanada Road, Greensboro, NC 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Rules scheduled for readoption 

pursuant to periodic review set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Daniel Collins, 895 State 

Farm Rd., Boone, NC 28607; phone (828) 262-2258; email 

dcollins@ncpsychologyboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  November 4, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .1600 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1602 BOARD ADDRESS AND FORMS 

(a)  The mailing address for the North Carolina Psychology Board 

is 895 State Farm Road, Suite 102, 101, Boone, North Carolina 

28607. 

(b)  The Board's website address is www.ncpsychologyboard.org. 

(c)  All forms required by the rules may be found on the Board's 

website. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1605 FEES 

In addition to fees specified in G.S. 90, Article 18A, the following 

charges shall be assessed for the indicated services: assessed: 

(1) Register of licensed psychologists - $8.00; eight 

dollars ($8.00) - register of licensed 

psychologists; 

(2) Renewal of license - $250.00; two hundred fifty 

dollars ($250.00) - renewal of license; 

(3) National written examination - $50.00 plus the 

cost of the examination set by the vendor 

vendor; plus fifty dollars ($50.00) - national 

written examination; 

(4) State examination - $200.00; two hundred 

dollars ($200.00) - state examination; 

(5) Ethics renewal examination - $150.00; 

(5)(6) costs for copies of public records as follows: 

(a) "actual costs" as defined in G.S. 132-

6.2(b) and provided on the Board's 

website; 

(b) mailing costs if applicable; and 

(c) 10 pages or less - no charge charge; if 

10 pages or less; 

(6)(7) Application fee - $100.00; one hundred dollars 

($100.00) - application fee; 

(7)(8) Reinstatement fee - $100.00; one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) - reinstatement fee; 

(8)(9) Returned check - $20.00; twenty dollars 

($20.00) - returned check; 

(9)(10) ten dollars ($10.00) - each written license 

verification, whether submitted individually or 

on a list; 

(10)(11) costs of disciplinary action as follows: 

(a) three hundred dollars ($300.00) - 

consent order; and 

(b) three hundred dollars ($300.00) per 

hour for a hearing which that results in 

disciplinary action, with a minimum 

charge of three hundred dollars 

($300.00) for the first hour or portion 

thereof, and then prorated thereafter 

for each half-hour; 

(11)(12) fifty dollars ($50.00) - registration fee for 

certificate of registration for professional 

corporation or professional limited liability 

company; and 

(12)(13) twenty-five dollars ($25.00) - renewal fee for 

certification of registration for professional 

corporation or professional limited liability 

company. 

 

Authority G.S. 12-3.1(c); 55B-10; 55B-11; 90-270.9; 90-

270.15(c); 90-270.18(b)(c); 132-6.2(b). 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1606 WAIVER OF COMPLIANCE 

WITH RULES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1607 DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1608 ETHICAL VIOLATIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1609 TERMINATION OF PRACTICE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1610 PRACTICE BY NONRESIDENT 

PSYCHOLOGISTS WHO ARE NOT RESIDENTS OF 

NORTH CAROLINA 

(a)  To practice psychology in North Carolina for up to five days 

in a calendar year, a nonresident psychologist who is not a resident 

of North Carolina shall submit the following information to the 

Board at least five working business days prior to the psychologist 

engaging in the practice of psychology in North Carolina: 

(1) a written statement from a jurisdiction which 

that is a member of the Association of State and 

Provincial Psychology Boards verifying that 

the psychologist's license is in good standing, 

that there is no pending disciplinary action 

against the license, and describing any 

supervision requirements under which the 

individual shall practice practices in that 

jurisdiction; 

(2) notarized a signed or digitally signed 

supervision statement from non-resident 

psychologist showing compliance with 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and 

(3) a written report from the nonresident 

psychologist who is not a resident of North 

Carolina describing his or her intended practice 

in North Carolina and, if applicable, the name 

of the North Carolina psychologist(s) with 

whom he or she will be associating. 

(b)  Supervision shall be provided at the same level as that which 

is required for the nonresident psychologist's practice 

psychologist who is not a resident of North Carolina in the 

jurisdiction verifying licensure in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this 

Rule by a North Carolina permanently Licensed Psychologist 

licensed psychologist or Licensed Psychological Associate 
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licensed psychological associate who meets the requirements of 

21 NCAC 54 .2001. 

(c)  The Board shall waive the five day notice period specified in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule for nonresident licensed psychologists 

who licensed psychologists or licensed psychological associates 

who are not residents of North Carolina and are placed in North 

Carolina by the American Red Cross due to a national, area, or 

local disaster. 

(d)  This Rule applies only to the practice of psychology when the 

psychologist or client/patient are physically located in North 

Carolina. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.4(f); 90-270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1611 PRACTICE BY 

POSTDOCTORAL TRAINEES 

An individual pursuing postdoctoral training or experience in 

psychology shall be exempt from licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-

270.4(d) if the following criteria are met: 

(1) the postdoctoral training or experience in 

psychology meets all the criteria set forth in 21 

NCAC 54 .2009(i); and 

(2) the individual has completed all doctoral degree 

requirements for a program in psychology from 

an institution of higher education as defined in 

G.S. 90-270.2(5). of a program that was 

accredited by the American Psychological 

Association or Canadian Psychological 

Association at the time the individual graduated 

from the program. Evidence of completion of 

all degree requirements shall be in the form of 

either an official transcript showing the date on 

which the degree was conferred; conferred or a 

letter from the registrar, dean of graduate 

school, or director of graduate studies verifying 

that all substantive and administrative 

requirements for the doctoral degree have been 

met without exception, exception and stating 

the date on which the doctoral degree will be 

awarded. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.4(d); 90-270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1612 CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 

CHECK 

A licensee who is under investigation by the Board shall submit 

to the Board the following within 30 days of receipt of written 

communication from the Board or its agent that a criminal history 

record check is required: 

(1) signed consent form; form, which may be found 

on the Board's website; 

(2) completed Fingerprint Record Card; Card, 

which may be requested from the Board or a 

local sheffif's department; 

(3) payment of fee required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to conduct a criminal 

history record check; and 

(4) other such form(s) or information as required 

by the North Carolina Department of Justice to 

perform a criminal history record check. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.22(a). 

 

SECTION .1700 - APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1701 INFORMATION REQUIRED 

(a)  Except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this Rule and Rule 

.1707 of this Section, the information required for each applicant 

for licensure shall consist of: 

(1) a typed or legibly printed, notarized signed or 

digitally signed application form; form. The 

form shall include the following information: 

(A) legal name; 

(B) home mailing address and telephone 

number; 

(C) business name, mailing address and 

telephone number; 

(D) preferred mailing address; 

(E) Social Security number; 

(F) e-mail address; 

(G) date and place of birth; 

(H) licensure or applicant for licensure by 

another psychology board; 

(I) if taken, the score on the Examination 

for Professional Practice in 

Psychology; 

(J) if previously applicant for a license to 

practice psychology in North 

Carolina; 

(K) if denied a professional license or 

permit, or privilege of taking an 

examination, or had a professional 

license or permit ever disciplined by 

any licensing authority in North 

Carolina or elsewhere, or aware of any 

pending charges against a professional 

license or permit which are held; 

(L) if ever withdrawn an application for 

licensure, or an application to take a 

professional licensing examination, in 

North Carolina or elsewhere; 

(M) if ever been convicted of, or entered a 

plea of guilty or nolo contendere to 

any felony or misdemeanor other than 

a minor traffic violation; 

(N) other fields of work for which licensed 

or certified; or made application for 

licensure or certification; 

(O) if hold a diploma from the American 

Board of Professional Psychology; 

(P) whether doctoral program was APA 

accredited at the time of your 

graduation; 

(Q) names of graduate programs attended 

and dates degrees awarded; 
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(R) names and mailing addresses of three 

professional references, other than 

supervisors; 

(S) list all work experience to cover the 

complete time frame, and including, 

any graduate internship, practicum, or 

other supervised training experience 

that serves as the basis for current 

application for licensure; 

(T) brief describe for applying for 

licensure in North Carolina; 

(U) any disability which may require some 

special accommodation in taking 

licensing examinations; 

(V) if applying for Health Services 

Provider Certification; 

(W) if applying for senior psychologist as 

specified in Rule .1707 of this Section; 

and 

(X) employee misclassification 

certification. 

(2) the application fee; 

(3) a typed or legibly printed, notarized signed or 

digitally signed supervision contract form; 

form. The form shall include the following 

information: 

(A) supervisee's name, North Carolina 

psychology license number and level, 

mailing address, e-mail address and 

telephone number; 

(B) supervisee's current work setting; 

(C) if supervision contract form is for an 

applicant or replaces previous 

supervision contract form(s); 

(D) supervisor's name and psychology 

license number, business telephone 

number, business name and address; 

(E) if the supervisor or the supervisee have 

ever been denied a professional 

license or permit or had any 

disciplinary, remedial, rehabilitative, 

or other action taken against a 

professional license, certificate, or 

permit by any licensing or certification 

authority in North Carolina or 

elsewhere; if aware of any pending 

charges against a professional license, 

certificate, or permit; 

(F) number of hours per week engaged in 

the practice of psychology; 

(G) number of hours allotted for individual 

supervision per week; 

(H) number of individual supervision 

sessions per week; and 

(I) if supervision is not required. 

(4) a signed consent form, which may be 

downloaded from the Board's website; a 

completed Fingerprint Record Card, which can 

be obtained from the Board office or a local 

Sheriff's office; and other such form(s) or 

information as required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to perform a criminal 

history record check; 

(5) payment of fee required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to conduct a criminal 

history record check; 

(6) an official transcript(s) sent directly to the 

Board by any institution of higher education 

from which the applicant received a graduate 

degree or otherwise completed graduate course 

work in psychology; 

(7) the completed supervisor forms from present 

and past supervisors; supervisor. The form shall 

include the following information: 

(A) names of applicant and supervisor; 

(B) institution or setting where applicant 

was supervised; 

(C) supervisor's position at the time 

supervision occurred; 

(D) applicant's position or title; 

(E) dates of applicant's employment or 

training; 

(F) dates of supervision of applicant; 

(G) number of hours per week applicant 

practiced psychology under 

supervisor's direction 

(H) number of weeks during which 

applicant practiced psychology under 

supervisor's direction; 

(I) number of practice of psychology 

hours accumulated; 

(J) number of health services hours 

accumulated; 

(K) number of hours per week of 

individual face-to-face supervision; 

(L) duties performed by applicant; 

(M) if supervisor is licensed as a 

psychologist in North Carolina or in 

any other state or jurisdiction in the 

U.S. or Canada; and 

(N) if the applicant is competent to 

practice psychology. 

(8) three completed reference forms from 

professionals who are familiar with the 

applicant's current work, one of which is from a 

doctoral level psychologist; psychologist and 

the reference form shall include names of 

reference and applicant, time period reference 

has known applicant, nature of professional 

relationship, judgment regarding the applicant's 

training, experience, professional skills, 

adherence to legal and ethical standards and 

areas of concern, further comments, and 

recommendations to the Board; 

(9) a written verification and report on the status of 

any occupational licensure, including dates of 

licensure and any disciplinary action which that 

is pending or has been taken, sent directly to the 
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Board from any other regulatory agency in 

North Carolina and any other jurisdiction in 

which the applicant has applied for a license, is 

currently licensed, or previously was licensed, 

if applicable; 

(10) an official report of any previous score obtained 

on the Examination for Professional Practice in 

Psychology sent directly to the Board from the 

Association of State and Provincial Psychology 

Boards, if applicable; and 

(11) any additional documentation regarding 

educational credentials described in 21 NCAC 

54 Rules .1802 and 21 NCAC 54 .1803, .1803 

of this Chapter, if applicable. requested by the 

Board. 

(b)  The information required for each applicant applying for 

licensure on the basis of holding a current credential for 

psychology licensure mobility shall consist of: 

(1) typed or legibly printed, notarized signed or 

digitally signed application form; form. The 

form shall include the following information: 

(A) applicant's legal name; 

(B) mailing address and telephone 

number; 

(C) business name, mailing address and 

telephone number; 

(D) Social Security number; 

(E) e-mail address; 

(F) date and place of birth; 

(G) if ever been licensed or certified by a 

psychology regulatory board, or made 

application to such a board; 

(H) if ever been denied a professional 

license or permit, or privilege of 

taking an examination, or had a 

professional license or permit ever 

disciplined in any way or if aware of 

any pending charges against a 

professional license or permit; 

(I) if ever have withdrawn an application 

for licensure, or an application to take 

a professional licensing examination; 

(J) if ever have been convicted of, or 

entered a plea of guilty or nolo 

contendere to any felony or 

misdemeanor other than a minor 

traffic violation; 

(K) other fields of work for which licensed 

or certified; or made application for 

licensure or certification; 

(L) if holds a CPQ issued by the 

Association of State and Provincial 

Psychology Boards; 

(M) if registrant in the National Register of 

Health Service Providers in 

Psychology; 

(N) if holds a diploma from the American 

Board of Professional Psychology; 

(O) names of graduate programs attended 

and dates degrees awarded; 

(P) names and mailing addresses of three 

professional references, other than 

supervisors; 

(Q) list all work experience to cover the 

complete time frame, and including, 

any graduate internship, practicum, or 

other supervised training experience 

that serves as the basis for current 

application for licensure; 

(R) brief description for applying or 

reapplying for licensure in North 

Carolina; 

(S) any disability which may require some 

special accommodation in taking 

licensing examinations; 

(T) if applying for Health Services 

Provider Certification; and 

(U) employee misclassification 

certification. 

(2) affidavit which that attests to having no 

unresolved complaint in any jurisdiction at the 

time of application in North Carolina; 

(3) application fee; 

(4) typed or legibly printed, notarized signed or 

digitally signed supervision contract form; form 

as described in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this 

Rule; 

(5) signed consent form, which can be downloaded 

from the Board's website, completed 

Fingerprint Record Card, which can be 

obtained from the Board office or a local 

Sheriff's office, and other such form(s) or 

information as required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to perform a criminal 

history record check; 

(6) payment of fee required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to conduct a criminal 

history record check; 

(7) official transcript sent directly to the Board by 

the institution of higher education from which 

the applicant received his or her doctoral degree 

in psychology; or if applicable, a copy of the 

transcript sent directly to the Board by either the 

Association of State and Provincial Psychology 

Boards, National Register of Health Service 

Providers in Psychology, or American Board of 

Professional Psychology; 

(8) three completed reference forms forms, as 

described in Subparagraph (a)(8) of this Rule, 

from professionals who are familiar with the 

applicant's current work, one of which is from a 

doctoral level psychologist; 

(9) written verification and report on the status of 

any occupational licensure, including dates of 

licensure and any disciplinary action which is 

pending or has been taken, sent directly to the 

Board from any other regulatory agency in 
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North Carolina and any other jurisdiction in 

which the applicant has applied for a license, is 

currently licensed, or previously was licensed; 

(10) written verification sent directly to the Board 

from the applicable organization(s) that the 

applicant holds a current credential in good 

standing for psychology licensure mobility, as 

follows: 

(A) Certificate of Professional 

Qualification (CPQ) from the 

Association of State and Provincial 

Psychology Boards; 

(B) registrant in the National Register of 

Health Service Providers in 

Psychology; or 

(C) diplomate of the American Board of 

Professional Psychology; and 

(11) documentation of meeting requirements for 

health services provider certification as 

specified in Section .2700 of this Chapter, if 

applicable. 

(c)  An application shall contain all required materials required 

under Paragraph (a) or (b) of this Rule or as requested by the 

Board to be complete. The application forms may be found on the 

Board website. An incomplete application shall be active for three 

months from the date on which the application is received in the 

Board office. At the end of such time, if still incomplete, the 

application shall be void, and the applicant shall be deemed to 

have discontinued the application process. If the individual 

chooses to pursue licensure at a later date, the individual shall 

totally reapply. 

(d)  To be considered to have made application pursuant to G.S. 

90-270.5(a), the information specified in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 

through (a)(5) of this Rule, or Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(6) 

of this Rule if applying on the basis of a mobility credential, shall 

be filed in the Board office within 30 days of offering to practice 

or undertaking the practice of psychology in North Carolina. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.4(h); 90-270.5(a); 90-270.9; 90-

270.11(a),(b); 90-270.11(a); 90-270.11(b); 90-270.13(a)(b); 90-

270.13(a); 90-270(a1)(6); 90-270.13(b); 90-270.15; 90-

270.22(a). 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1702 FOREIGN DEGREE 

APPLICATION POLICY 

(a)  Applicants applying for licensure on the basis of a foreign 

degree shall provide documentation, in addition to the information 

required in 21 NCAC 54 .1701, .1701 which that establishes the 

following: 

(1) the existence of the degree granting degree-

granting institution; 

(2) the authenticity validity of the degree, 

transcripts, and any supporting documents; 

(3) the equivalence of the degree in terms of level 

of training, content of curriculum, and course 

credits; and 

(4) the equivalence of any supervised experience 

obtained in the foreign country. outside the 

United States. 

Documentation shall be in the form of a course-by-course 

evaluation of credentials submitted directly to the Board from an 

evaluation service that is a member of the National Association of 

Credentials Evaluation Services, Inc. A listing of members can be 

found on the National Association of Credentials Evaluation 

Services, Inc. website, www.naces.org. 

(b)  Except as described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, only official 

original documents shall be submitted in support of the 

application and shall be received directly from the institution(s) 

or individual(s) involved. 

(c)  When an official original document cannot be provided 

directly by the institution or individual involved, an original 

document possessed by the applicant may shall be reviewed and 

copied by a Board member or designee. 

(d)  Any document which that is in a language other than English 

shall be accompanied by a translation with notarized a written 

verification of the translation's accuracy and completeness. that 

the translation into English is accurate and complete. This 

translation shall be completed by an individual, other than the 

applicant, who upon written request is approved by the Board 

Board, or a Board designee, and demonstrates no conflict of 

interest. who does not have a close personal relationship with the 

applicant. Such individuals include college or university language 

faculty, a translation service, or an American consul. 

(e)  An applicant's references shall include individuals from 

member jurisdictions of the Association of State and Provincial 

Psychology Boards, including a doctoral level psychologist 

familiar with the applicant's professional practice of psychology. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.11(c). 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1703 TEMPORARY LICENSES 

(a)  To be issued a temporary license to practice psychology in 

North Carolina, a nonresident psychologist who is not a resident 

of North Carolina shall submit the following information to the 

Board at least 10 working business days prior to the psychologist 

engaging in the practice of psychology in North Carolina: 

(1) a typed, or legibly printed, notarized signed or 

digitally signed temporary license application 

form, including an affidavit that the standards 

under which the nonresident psychologist who 

is not a resident of North Carolina is licensed in 

another jurisdiction are substantially equivalent 

to or higher than the requirements of G.S. 90-

270.1 et seq.; seq., as determined by the Board; 

(2) For a five day temporary license, the temporary 

license application form shall include the 

following information: name of application; 

degree awarded; mailing address; telephone 

number; Social Security number; name of 

jurisdiction in which you licensed, including 

date of licensure, and license number; dates of 

intended practice in North Carolina, name of 

North Carolina psychologist(s) with whom you 

will be associating, if applicable; description of 

intended practice in North Carolina; and 

whether required to be supervised for practice 

in the jurisdiction in which applicant is 

licensed. An applicant for a 30 day temporary 
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license shall also include the following 

information: whether ever disciplined by any 

licensing authority in North Carolina or 

elsewhere, or aware of any pending charges 

against a professional license or permit which 

is held; brief description for applying for 

temporary licensure in North Carolina; and if 

applicant wants to be considered for temporary 

health services provider certification. 

(2)(3) a written statement from a any jurisdiction 

which is a member of the Association of State 

and Provincial Psychology Boards where the 

psychologist is licensed that the psychologist's 

license is in good standing, that there is no 

pending disciplinary action against the license, 

and describing any supervision requirements 

under which the individual shall practice 

practices in that jurisdiction; 

(3)(4) notarized a signed or digitally signed statement 

showing compliance with supervision 

requirements specified in this Paragraph; 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule; and 

(4)(5) the temporary license fee. fee set forth in G.S. 

90-270.18(b)(8). 

Only one 30-day temporary license shall be issued to an individual 

in any calendar year. Supervision shall be provided at the same 

level as that which is required for the psychologist's psychologist 

who is not a resident of North Carolina in the jurisdiction 

verifying licensure in Subparagraph (a)(2)(a)(3) of this Rule by a 

North Carolina permanently Licensed Psychologist licensed 

psychologist or Licensed Psychological Associate licensed 

psychological associate who meets the requirements of 21 NCAC 

54 Rule .2001. .2001 of this Chapter. 

(b)  To be issued a temporary license to practice psychology in 

North Carolina, a psychologist requesting reinstatement of 

licensure shall submit A psychologist requesting reinstatement of 

licensure may apply for a temporary license to practice 

psychology in North Carolina by submitting the information listed 

in 21 NCAC 54 .2103. A temporary license issued under this 

Paragraph is shall be valid until the applicant takes the first 

examination to which he or she is admitted by the Board, if 

applicable, and is notified of the results, and until the 

reinstatement fee set forth in Rule .1605(8) of this Chapter is paid. 

This license shall not be issued, reissued, or extended if the 

applicant fails the examination, fails to appear for the 

examination, or fails to remit the required fees within the time 

period stipulated in 21 NCAC 54 Rule .2103. .2103 of this 

Chapter. A temporary licensee shall comply with supervision 

requirements specified in Section .2000 of this Chapter for the 

same level of licensure for which application for reinstatement is 

approved. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.5(f),(g); 90-270.5(f); 90-270.5(g); 90-

270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1705 ISSUANCE OF LICENSE 

An applicant who has met all of the requirements for licensure as 

either a licensed psychologist or licensed psychological associate 

is shall be issued a certificate of licensure. This license shows the 

date, license number, licensee's name and name, academic degree 

upon which licensure is based, level of licensure, and the 

signatures of all current Board members. The official seal is 

affixed to each. the certificate of licensure. A The licensee shall 

display the licensure certificate in his or her principal place of 

employment. or have the Board-issued wallet licensure card 

available for view upon request by the licensee's patients or 

clients, at any time when the licensee is practicing psychology. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1706 REAPPLICATION 

To reapply, reapply for licensure, an applicant must again submit 

all information listed in 21 NCAC 54 Rule .1701 of this Section 

Information Required and, if applicable, Rule .1702 Foreign 

Degree Application Policy. of this Section. A reapplication will 

be reviewed under the statutes and rules in effect on the date of 

reapplication. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-11(1). 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1707 SENIOR PSYCHOLOGIST 

(a)  A senior psychologist is someone who has achieved longevity 

in the practice of psychology as set forth in Subparagraphs (b)(1) 

and (d)(1) of this Rule and has demonstrated exemplary 

professional behavior over the course of his/her his or her career, 

career as defined in this Rule. as set forth in Subparagraphs (b)(2) 

and (d)(2) of this Rule. 

(b)  Except as provided in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, to be 

approved for licensure at the Licensed Psychologist level on the 

basis of senior psychologist status, an applicant shall hold a 

doctoral degree in psychology from an institution of higher 

education and shall meet all of the following requirements: 

(1) is licensed and has been licensed for 12 

continuous years at the doctoral level by one or 

more other state or provincial psychology 

boards which are members of the Association 

of State and Provincial Psychology Boards, 

during which time, and in which jurisdiction(s), 

he/she he or she has practiced psychology for a 

minimum of 10 years for at least on at least a 

half-time (i.e., 20 hours per week; week) basis; 

(2) has had no disciplinary sanction during his/her 

his or her period of licensure in any jurisdiction; 

(3) has no unresolved disciplinary complaint with 

a licensing board in any jurisdiction at the time 

of application or during the pendency of 

application in North Carolina; and 

(4) passes the North Carolina State State 

Examination. examination. 

(c)  An applicant who received the doctoral degree prior to 

January 1, 1978, upon which his or her psychology licensure in 

another jurisdiction is based, shall hold a doctoral degree from an 

institution of higher education and meet all of the requirements 

specified in Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(4) of this Rule. 

(d)  Except as provided in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, to be 

approved for licensure at the Licensed Psychological Associate 

level on the basis of senior psychologist status, an applicant shall 

hold a master's, specialist, or doctoral degree in psychology from 
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an institution of higher education and shall meet all of the 

following requirements: 

(1) is licensed and has been licensed for 12 

continuous years at the master's level by one or 

more other state or provincial psychology 

boards which are members of the Association 

of State and Provincial Psychology Boards, 

during which time, and in which jurisdiction(s), 

he/she he or she has practiced psychology for a 

minimum of 10 years for at least on at least a 

half-time (i.e., 20 hours per week; week) basis; 

(2) has had no disciplinary sanction during his/her 

his or her entire period of licensure in any 

jurisdiction; 

(3) has no unresolved disciplinary complaint with 

a licensing board in any jurisdiction at the time 

of application or during the pendency of 

application in North Carolina; and 

(4) passes the North Carolina State State 

Examination. examination. 

(e)  An applicant who received the degree prior to January 1, 1978, 

upon which his or her psychology licensure in another jurisdiction 

is based, shall hold a master's, specialist, or doctoral degree from 

an institution of higher education and meet all of the requirements 

specified in Subparagraphs (d)(1) through (d)(4) of this Rule.  

(f)  The information required for each applicant shall consist of: 

(1) a typed or legibly printed notarized signed or 

digitally signed application form, form, as 

described in Rule .1701(a)(1) of this Section, 

including and an affidavit which that attests to 

meeting the requirements specified in 

Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(3) or 

Subparagraphs (d)(1) through (d)(3) of this 

Rule, as applicable; 

(2) a typed or legibly printed, notarized signed or 

digitally signed supervision contract form; form 

as described in Rule .1701(a)(3) of this Section; 

(3) the application fee; 

(4) a signed consent form, completed Fingerprint 

Record Card, and other such form(s) or 

information as required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to perform a criminal 

history record check; 

(5) payment of fee required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to conduct a criminal 

history record check; 

(6) an official college transcript(s) sent directly to 

the Board by any training institution(s) from 

which the applicant received a graduate degree; 

(7) three completed reference forms forms, as 

described in Rule .1701(a)(8) of this Section, 

from professionals who are familiar with the 

applicant's current work, one of which is from a 

doctoral level psychologist; and 

(8) a written verification and report on the status of 

any occupational licensure, including dates of 

licensure and any disciplinary action which is 

pending or has been taken, sent directly to the 

Board from any other regulatory agency in 

North Carolina and any other jurisdiction in 

which where the applicant has applied for a 

license, is currently licensed, or previously was 

licensed. 

(g)  An application shall contain all required materials required 

under Paragraph (f) of this Rule or as requested by the Board to 

be complete. An incomplete application shall be active for three 

months from the date on which the application is received in the 

Board office. At the end of such time, if still incomplete, the 

application shall be void, and the applicant shall be deemed to 

have discontinued the application process. If the individual 

chooses to pursue licensure at a later date, the individual shall 

totally reapply. 

(h)  To be considered to have made application pursuant to G.S. 

90-270.5(a), the information specified in Subparagraphs (f)(1) 

through (f)(5) of this Rule shall be filed in the Board office within 

30 days of offering to practice or undertaking the practice of 

psychology in North Carolina. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.4(h); 90-270.5(a); 90-270.9; 90-

270.13(a),(e); 90-270.13(a); 90-270.13(e); 90-270.22(a). 

 

SECTION .1800 - EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1802 PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATE 

(a)  Licensure for the level of psychological associate shall 

requires require a master's degree or specialist degree in 

psychology from an institution of higher education. The degree 

program shall meet all of the following requirements: 

(1) The program shall be identified and labeled as 

a psychology program; program. such a The 

program shall specify in institutional catalogues 

its intent to educate and train students to engage 

in the activities which that constitute the 

practice of psychology as defined in G.S. 90-

270.2(8). 

(2) The program shall maintain authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty 

areas even if the program crosses administrative 

lines. areas. 

(3) The program shall have an identifiable body of 

students in residence at the physical campus of 

the institution who are matriculated in that 

program for a degree. 

(4) There shall be an identifiable full-time 

psychology faculty in residence at the physical 

campus of the institution, sufficient in size and 

breadth to carry out its responsibilities, 

employed by and providing instruction at the 

home campus of physical campus of the 

institution. 

(5) There shall be a psychologist responsible for 

the student's program program, either as the 

administrative head of the program, or as the 

advisor, major professor, or committee chair for 

the individual student's program. 

(6) The program shall be an integrated, organized 

sequence of study in psychology as 

demonstrated by an identifiable a curriculum 
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track or tracks wherein course sequences and 

course content are described in institutional 

catalogues, departmental handbooks, or other 

institutional publications. 

(7) The program shall encompass the equivalent of 

a minimum of one academic year of full-time 

graduate study in student residence at the 

institution from which the degree is granted. 

Residence requires in person interaction with 

psychology faculty and other matriculated 

psychology students at the physical campus of 

the institution. One year's residency is defined 

as 30 semester (45 quarter or 40 trimester) 

hours taken on a full-time or part-time basis in 

person at the physical campus of the institution. 

institution over the course of one year. 

(8) The program shall include, include supervised 

training experience as listed on the transcript, 

transcript. For purposes of this Rule, 

"supervised trained experience" shall include 

an internship, externship, practicum, or other 

supervised field experience appropriate related 

to the area of specialty and the practice of 

psychology, as defined in G.S. 90-270.2(8). 

G.S. 90-270.2(8), which shall be referred to 

hereinafter as supervised training experience. 

This supervised training experience shall meet 

all of the following criteria: 

(A) It shall be a planned and directed 

program of training for the practice of 

psychology, in contrast to on-the-job 

training, and shall provide the trainee 

with a planned and directed sequence 

of training that is integrated with the 

educational program in which the 

student is enrolled. This supervised 

training experience shall be planned 

by the educational program faculty 

and training site staff, rather than by 

the student. 

(B) The supervised training experience 

shall have a written description 

detailing of the program of training, or 

a written agreement, developed prior 

to the time of the training, between the 

student's educational program and the 

training site, detailing the 

responsibilities of the student and the 

supervised training experience site. 

Such an The agreement shall be 

approved by the student's educational 

program prior to the beginning of the 

supervised training experience. 

(C) The supervised training experience 

site shall have a designated and 

appropriately licensed or certified 

psychologist or psychological 

associate responsible for the integrity 

and quality of the supervised training 

experience. 

(D) A student enrolled in a supervised 

training experience shall be designated 

as any of the following: an "intern," 

"extern," or "practicum student," or 

shall hold a title which that indicates 

provides training status for the 

practice of psychology. 

(E) The supervised training experience 

shall be a minimum of 12 weeks 

consisting of at least 500 hours of 

supervised training. At least 400 hours 

of the training shall be in the practice 

in psychology of psychology. as 

defined by G.S. 90-270.2(8). 

Supervision for this supervised 

training experience shall be provided 

as required by Parts (a)(8)(G) (G) or 

(a)(8)(H) (H) of this Subparagraph. 

Rule. 

(F) The supervised training experience 

shall be completed within a period of 

12 consecutive months at not more 

than two training sites. 

(G) Except as provided in Part (a)(8)(H) 

(H) of this Subparagraph, Rule, 

regularly scheduled individual face-

to-face in person supervision with the 

specific intent of that overseeing 

oversees the practice of psychology 

shall be provided by a North Carolina 

licensed or certified psychologist or 

psychological associate or by a 

psychologist who is exempt from 

licensure, pursuant to G.S. 90-

270.4(b), at a rate of not less than one 

hour per week during at least 12 

separate weeks of the supervised 

training experience. The supervisor 

shall establish and maintain a level of 

supervisory contact consistent with 

professional standards and shall be 

accessible to the student. 

(H) If completing a supervised training 

experience outside of North Carolina, 

the student shall be provided regularly 

scheduled individual face-to-face in 

person supervision with the specific 

intent of that overseeing oversees the 

practice of psychology by a licensed or 

certified psychologist or 

psychological associate or by an 

individual holding a master's, 

specialist, or doctoral degree in 

psychology, at a rate of not less than 

one hour per week during at least 12 

separate weeks of the supervised 

training experience. The supervisor 
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shall establish and maintain a level of 

supervisory contact consistent with 

professional standards and shall be 

accessible to the student. Proof of the 

supervisor's license or degree 

program, as applicable, may program 

shall be required by the Board to 

establish the supervisor's training in 

psychology. 

(9) Except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule, the program of study shall include a 

minimum of 45 semester (68 quarter or 60 

trimester) hours of graduate study in standard 

psychology courses, including courses drawn 

from academic psychology (e.g., social, 

experimental, physiological, and 

developmental, developmental psychology, and 

history and systems), of psychology), statistics 

and research design, scientific and professional 

ethics and standards, and a specialty area. Of 

the required 45 semester (68 quarter or 60 

trimester) program hours, not more than 6 

semester (9 quarter or 8 trimester) hours shall 

be credited for internship/practicum supervised 

training experience and not more than 6 

semester (9 quarter or 8 trimester) hours shall 

be credited for thesis/dissertation. No credit 

shall be allowed for audited courses or courses 

taken at an institution which does not meet the 

definition of an "institution of higher 

education" as defined by G.S. 90-270.2(5). 

(b)  If an individual's degree program did not include a minimum 

of 45 semester (68 quarter or 60 trimester) hours of course 

content, as defined in Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule, but 

included a minimum of 39 semester (59 quarter or 52 trimester) 

hours of graduate study in standard psychology courses, as 

specified in Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule, allowing not more 

than 6 semester (9 quarter or 8 trimester) hours for 

practicum/internship supervised training experience and 6 

semester (9 quarter or 8 trimester) hours for thesis/dissertation, 

the individual shall be allowed to take, and must pass with a grade 

of "B" or above, additional graduate level course work to meet the 

hourly requirement specified in Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule. 

The individual shall complete specified course content, as defined 

by Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule, to meet the minimum 

educational requirements to apply for licensure. The 

aforementioned course work shall be completed at an institution 

of higher education, as defined by G.S. 90-270.2(5), in a graduate 

psychology program in the same specialty area as the degree 

program completed by the individual and shall be reported on an 

official transcript. The institution of higher education which 

permits a student to take additional course work shall be construed 

as being responsible only for the specific course work taken at that 

institution and not for the student's entire course of study, unless 

the student's entire program was completed at that institution. No 

credit shall be accepted by the Board for audited courses. This 

additional graduate level course work shall not duplicate course 

work taken by the individual in his or her degree program or prior 

to admittance to his or her degree program and shall be completed 

in one or more of the following areas: 

(1) academic psychology (e.g., social, 

experimental, physiological, and/or 

developmental, developmental psychology, and 

history and systems); of psychology); 

(2) statistics and research design; 

(3) scientific and professional ethics and standards; 

or 

(4) electives offered in the course of study for the 

individual's specialty area (e.g., clinical 

psychology, counseling psychology, school 

psychology, or other specialty area in 

psychology). 

(c)  If an individual's degree program did not include a minimum 

of 39 semester (59 quarter or 52 trimester) hours in standard 

psychology courses, as specified in Subparagraph (a)(9) of this 

Rule, allowing not more than 6 semester (9 quarter or 8 trimester) 

hours for practicum/internship supervised training experience and 

not more than 6 semester (9 quarter or 8 trimester) hours for 

thesis/dissertation, the individual shall not be allowed to obtain 

additional hours at a post-graduate level to meet the hourly 

requirements in Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule. 

(d)  An individual shall not, under any circumstance following the 

completion of the individual's master's or specialist degree in 

psychology, be allowed to complete a practicum, internship, or 

other supervised training experience requiring the individual to 

practice psychology in order to meet the minimum educational 

requirement. 

(e)  An applicant whose credentials have been approved by the 

Board for examination at the licensed psychologist level may be 

issued a license as a psychological associate if the applicant fails 

an examination at the licensed psychologist level but passes such 

at the psychological associate level. To receive this license, the 

applicant shall make a written request to the Board for licensure 

at the psychological associate level within 30 days from the date 

on which when the applicant is notified of his or her examination 

score. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.11(b). 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1803 LICENSED PSYCHOLOGIST 

(a)  Licensure for the level of licensed psychologist requires a 

doctoral degree based on a planned and directed program of 

studies in psychology from an institution of higher education. The 

applicant's doctoral program, hereinafter referred to as "program," 

shall be one which was have been accredited by the American 

Psychological Association or the Canadian Psychological 

Association at the time of the individual's graduation from the 

program, or one which meets all of the following requirements: 

(1) The program shall be publicly identified and 

clearly labeled as a psychology program; such 

a program shall specify in pertinent institutional 

catalogues its intent purpose to educate and 

train psychologists to engage in the activities 

which that constitute the practice of psychology 

as defined in G.S. 90-270.2(8). 

(2) The program shall maintain authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty 
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areas areas. whether or not the program crosses 

administrative lines. 

(3) The program shall have an identifiable body of 

students in residence at the physical campus of 

the institution who are matriculated in that 

program for a degree. 

(4) There shall be an identifiable full-time 

psychology faculty in residence at the physical 

campus of the institution, sufficient in size and 

breadth to carry out its responsibilities, 

employed by and providing instruction at the 

home physical campus of the institution. 

(5) There shall be a psychologist responsible for 

the applicant's program either as the 

administrative head of the program, or as the 

advisor, major professor, or committee chair for 

the individual applicant's program. 

(6) The program shall be an integrated, organized 

sequence of study in psychology as 

demonstrated by an identifiable curriculum 

track or tracks wherein course sequences are 

outlined. 

(7) The program shall encompass the equivalent of 

a minimum of three academic years of full-time 

graduate study, two years of which are at the 

institution from which the degree is granted, 

and one year of which is in residence at the 

institution from which the degree is granted. 

Residence requires in person interaction with 

psychology faculty and other matriculated 

psychology students. One year's residence is 

defined as 30 semester (45 quarter or 40 

trimester) hours taken on a full-time or part-

time basis in person at the physical campus of 

the institution. institution over the course of one 

year. 

(8) The program shall include practicum, 

internship, field experiences, or laboratory 

training appropriate to the area of specialty and 

the practice of psychology. psychology; this 

This experience shall be supervised by a 

licensed psychologist. 

(9) Except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule, the program of study shall include a 

minimum of 60 semester (90 quarter or 80 

trimester) hours of graduate study in standard 

psychology courses, exclusive of credits for 

internship/practicum and thesis/dissertation, 

including instruction in scientific and 

professional ethics and standards, research 

design and methodology, statistics and 

psychometrics, and the specialty area. No credit 

shall be allowed for audited courses or courses 

taken at an institution which does not meet the 

definition of an "institution of higher 

education" as defined by G.S. 90-270.2(5). 

(10) The program shall include coursework 

demonstrated competency in the four 

substantive content areas identified in this 

Subparagraph; this shall be met through a 

minimum of three semester (five quarter or four 

trimester) hours in each of these content areas: 

(A) biological bases of behavior behavior, 

such as, (e.g., physiological 

psychology, comparative psychology, 

neuropsychology, sensation and 

perception, psychopharmacology; 

psychopharmacology); 

(B) cognitive-affective bases of behavior 

behavior, such as, (e.g.; cognition, 

memory, learning, thinking, 

motivation, emotion; emotion); 

(C) social bases of behavior behavior, 

such as, (e.g., social psychology, 

group processes, organizational and 

systems theory, cultural and ethnic 

bases, sex roles; roles); and 

(D) individual differences differences, 

such as, (e.g., personality theory, 

human development, abnormal 

psychology, individual differences. 

differences). 

(b)  If an individual's degree program did not include a minimum 

of 60 semester (90 quarter or 80 trimester) hours in standard 

psychology courses, as specified in Subparagraphs (a)(9) and 

(a)(10) of this Rule, but included a minimum of 54 semester (81 

quarter or 72 trimester) hours of graduate study in standard 

psychology courses, as specified in Subparagraphs (a)(9) and 

(a)(10) of this Rule, exclusive of credits for internship/practicum 

and thesis/dissertation, the individual shall be allowed to take, and 

must pass with a grade of "B" or above, additional graduate level 

course work to meet the hourly requirement specified in 

Subparagraphs (a)(9) and (a)(10) of this Rule. The individual shall 

complete specified course content, as defined by Subparagraphs 

(a)(9) and (a)(10) of this Rule, to meet the minimum educational 

requirements to apply for licensure. The aforementioned course 

work shall be completed at an institution of higher education 

education, as defined by G.S. 90-270.2(5), in a graduate 

psychology program in the same specialty area as the degree 

program completed by the individual and shall be reported on an 

official transcript. Alternately, the aforementioned course work 

may be completed in a formal re-specialization program in 

psychology, which shall be reported on an official transcript. A 

formal re-specialization program in psychology means a program 

in which individuals already holding a doctoral degree in 

psychology complete additional education and training in order to 

change their specialist area of study. Re-specialization programs 

involve coursework in a health service psychology field, 

including clinical, counseling, school or combinations of these 

areas. Respecialization programs also include education in 

profession-wide competencies, such as, ethics, assessment, 

intervention; experiential education such as practicum; and a one-

year internship. The individual shall provide a certificate of 

completion of a respecialization program, issued by the program. 

The institution of higher education which permits a student to take 

additional course work shall be construed as being responsible 

only for the specific course work taken at that institution and not 

for the student's entire course of study, unless the student's entire 
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graduate program was completed at that institution. No credit 

shall be accepted by the Board for audited courses. This additional 

graduate level course work shall not duplicate course work taken 

by the individual in his or her degree program or prior to 

admittance to his or her degree program. 

(c)  If an individual's degree program did not include a minimum 

of 54 semester (81 quarter or 72 trimester) hours of graduate study 

in standard psychology courses, as specified in Subparagraphs 

(a)(9) and (a)(10) of this Rule, exclusive of credits for 

internship/practicum and thesis/dissertation, the individual shall 

not be allowed to obtain additional hours at a post-graduate level 

to meet the hourly requirements in Subparagraphs (a)(9) and 

(a)(10). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.11(a). 

 

SECTION .1900 – EXAMINATION 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1901 TYPES EXAMINATIONS 

(a)  Qualifying Examinations. National and state National, State, 

and ethics renewal examinations shall be administered. The 

examinations shall be taken only for licensure purposes. The 

applicant shall comply with deadlines and procedures established 

by the Board, the examination contractor contractor, and the 

testing vendor. vendor when approved to take a computer 

administered examination. 

(1) National Examination. The national 

examination is the Examination for 

Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) 

which that is developed by the Association of 

State and Provincial Psychology Boards 

(ASPPB). The EPPP assesses the applicant's 

knowledge of the subject matter of psychology 

and his or her understanding of professional and 

ethical problems in the practice of psychology. 

The passing point for licensed psychologist 

shall be a scaled score of 500, and the passing 

point for licensed psychological associate shall 

be a scaled score of 440 440, unless a licensed 

psychological associate applies to practice 

under Rule .2008(h)(3) of this Chapter. Then in 

order to be approved under Rule .2008(h)(3) of 

this Chapter, he or she must meet the passing 

point of a scaled score of 500. If a licensed 

psychological associate does not meet the 

passing point of a scaled score of 500, he or she 

must have been practicing for 5 years, as set 

forth in Rule .2008(h)(2) of this Chapter in 

order to apply to practice under Rule 

.2008(h)(3) of this Chapter. This examination 

shall not be required for an applicant who has 

previously taken the EPPP and whose score met 

the North Carolina passing point which was 

established for that particular administration 

date of the examination examination, unless the 

Board determines pursuant to G.S. 90-270.15 

that an individual shall be required to take and 

pass a current form of the EPPP. Further, this 

examination The EPPP shall not be required for 

an applicant who documents meeting 

requirements for licensure specified in Rule 

.1707 of this Chapter. 

(2) State Examination. The Board-developed State 

state examination shall assess assesses the 

applicant's knowledge of the North Carolina 

Psychology Practice Act, selected rules of the 

Board Board, covering such topics as education 

and supervision, and other ethical and legal 

requirements. The passing point for all 

licensees shall be set at 78% of the total scored 

items on the examination. This is an educational 

examination that shall be completed for 

licensure. 

(3) Ethics Renewal Examination. The Board-

developed ethics renewal examination shall be 

taken every two years in order to renew a 

license and completion of this examination 

shall count for three Category A continuing 

education credits in ethics. This is an 

educational examination that shall be 

completed for license renewal. 

(b)  Oral Examination. Upon proof that an applicant or licensee 

has engaged in any of the prohibited actions specified in G.S. 90-

270.15(a), the Board may administer a state oral examination 

which assesses knowledge of the North Carolina Psychology 

Practice Act, selected rules of the Board covering such topics as 

education and supervision, and other legal requirements. 

(c)(b)  Special Administrations. Applicants with disabilities as 

defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), 

which is hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, available at no cost at www.ada.gov, 

and documented by a licensed medical professional shall be 

administered the EPPP and State examination under conditions 

that shall minimize the effect of the disabilities on their 

performance. Special test administrations shall be as comparable 

as possible to a standard administration and shall be granted upon 

request of the applicant and Board approval. Candidates with 

documented impairments or disabilities which meet compliance 

requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 

(ADA) shall be administered the EPPP and State Examination 

under conditions that shall minimize the effect of the impairments 

or disabilities on their performance. In general, those lifestyle 

accommodations which an individual uses to compensate for 

impairments or disabilities, and which have become accepted 

practice for the individual in his or her graduate program or since 

the onset of the applicant's impairment of disability, shall be 

considered as the most appropriate accommodation for testing. 

Special test administrations shall be as comparable as possible to 

a standard administration. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.11; 90-270.14(a)(2); 90-

270.15(b). 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1903 RETAKING THE NATIONAL 

EXAMINATION 

An applicant may take the national examination no more than 4 

times in a 12-month period and no more frequently than every 60 

days upon payment of the required fee. The 12-month period 
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begins on the date of the letter which notifies notifying the 

applicant that his or her credentials have been approved for 

national examination by the Board. After failing the national 

examination for the fourth time or after the passage of 12 months, 

whichever occurs first, an applicant must totally reapply for 

licensure. Except as exempt under G.S. 90-270.4, after failing the 

examination for the second time, an applicant shall not practice or 

offer to practice psychology without first becoming licensed. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-250.5(b); 90-270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .1904 FAILURE TO APPEAR FOR THE 

NATIONAL EXAMINATION 

If an applicant does not appear for an the national examination 

within four months after being approved for examination by the 

Board, he or she shall be deemed to have failed the examination. 

The four-month period begins on the date of the letter sent by the 

Board which notifies notifying the applicant that his or her 

credentials have been approved for national examination by the 

Board. The applicant shall be permitted to take the examination 

within the next consecutive four months without reapplying for 

licensure. If the applicant does not appear for an examination 

within the second four-month period, he or she shall be deemed 

to have failed the examination a second time and must reapply for 

licensure. Except as exempt under G.S. 90-270.4, after failing to 

appear for the examination for the second time, an applicant shall 

not practice or offer to practice psychology without first becoming 

licensed by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.5(b); 90-270.9. 

 

SECTION .2000 - SUPERVISION 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2001 SUPERVISOR 

(a)  Except as provided in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the following 

individuals shall be recognized as appropriate contract qualified 

supervisors for individuals requiring supervision to practice 

psychology: 

(1) a licensed psychologist, permanent; a licensed 

psychologist who has been issued a permanent 

license by the Board; 

(2) any person who was in a psychology position 

with the State of North Carolina on December 

31, 1979, and who is still so employed, 

provided that such supervision is, and was on 

December 31, 1979, within the psychologist's 

regular job description and is only for activities 

which are part of the regular duties and 

responsibilities of the supervisee within his or 

her regular position at a State agency or 

department; 

(3) a doctoral level licensed psychologist who is 

licensed in the jurisdiction where the supervisee 

is practicing psychology; or 

(4) a licensed psychological associate as provided 

for in Rule .2005 in this Section. who is 

approved to practice under Rule .2008(h)(3) of 

this Chapter and is certified as a health services 

provider psychological associate (HSP-PA) 

under Rule .2706 of this Chapter. 

(b)  The Board may disapprove an otherwise qualified supervisor 

for the following reasons: 

(1) evidence documentation that the supervisor is 

not competent or qualified to supervise the 

supervisee; 

(2) evidence documentation the supervisor has 

failed to adhere to legal or ethical standards; 

(3) evidence documentation that there is a lack of 

congruence between the supervisor's training, 

experience, and area of practice and the 

supervisee's proposed area(s) of practice; or 

(4) evidence documentation that the supervisor has 

a license against which disciplinary or remedial 

action has been taken. taken by the Board or any 

other occupational licensing Board; or 

(5) documentation that the supervisor has not 

completed the training described, and within 

the time frame set forth, in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. 

(c)  A licensee who engages in the supervision of an applicant for 

licensure, a licensed psychological associate, or a provisionally 

licensed psychologist in North Carolina must complete a three-

hour training session, the content of which shall be determined 

and approved by the Board, which meets the following 

requirements: 

(1) is sponsored or co-sponsored by an entity 

designated by the Board; 

(2) is presented by an individual or individuals 

designated by the Board; and 

(3) addresses how to legally and ethically supervise 

in accordance with Board rules regarding 

supervision requirements. 

If the training session is taken on-line, there shall be an 

examination at the completion of the session, and the licensee 

must pass and provide documentation to the Board that he or she 

has passed such examination. The sponsor or co-sponsor of a 

training session shall submit a list of attendees who complete the 

three-hour training session to the Board no later than 30 days 

following the training session. The training shall be completed, 

and documentation of completion received in the Board's office, 

no later than September 1, 2022. If the training is not completed 

by September 1, 2022, a licensee shall not enter into a supervision 

contract with an applicant, a licensed psychological associate, or 

a licensed psychologist-provisional until he or she completes the 

training and the Board receives documentation of such. A licensee 

who completes the training and passes the examination shall be 

permitted to count the three hours toward the minimum 

continuing education hours required in Rule .2104 of this Chapter 

for the renewal period it was when completed. 

(d)  The training described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule is required 

to be completed only one time, except when the Board requires 

that a licensee repeat it based on evidence that the licensee is 

failing to competently supervise or adhere to supervision 

requirements. 

(c)(e)  Each supervisor shall: 
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(1) carefully assess his or her own ability to meet 

the supervisory needs of supervisees and 

potential supervisees; 

(2) offer and provide supervision only within the 

supervisor's own area(s) of competence and 

assure that the professional expertise and 

experience of the supervisor shall be congruent 

consistent with the practice of the supervisee; 

(3) enter into a written agreement with the 

supervisee on a Board adopted supervision 

contract form form, which details sets forth the 

supervisee's obligations as well as the 

supervisor's responsibilities to the supervisee; 

(4) direct the supervisee to practice psychology 

only within areas for which he or she the 

supervisee shall be is qualified by education, 

training, or supervised experience; 

(5) establish and maintain a level of supervisory 

contact consistent with established professional 

standards that described in the supervision 

contract form on file with the Board and be 

accessible to the supervisee; 

(6) direct the supervisee to keep the supervisor 

informed of services performed by the 

supervisee; 

(7) advise the Board if the supervisor has reason to 

believe that the supervisee is practicing in a 

manner which that indicates that ethical or legal 

violations have been committed; 

(8) maintain a clear and accurate record of 

supervision with a supervisee which that 

documents the following: 

(A) dates and appointment times of each 

supervision session, including the 

length of time of each session; 

(B) summary content of each session 

including treatment or assessment 

issues addressed, concerns identified 

by the supervisor and supervisee, 

recommendations of the supervisor, 

and intended outcome for 

recommendations of the supervisor; 

and 

(C) fees charged, if any, to the supervisee 

for supervision; 

(9) except when prevented from doing so by 

circumstances beyond the supervisor's control, 

retain securely and confidentially the records 

reflecting supervision with a supervisee for at 

least seven years from the date of the last 

session of supervision with a supervisee. If 

there are pending legal or ethical matters or if 

there is any other compelling circumstance, the 

supervisor shall retain the complete record of 

supervision securely and confidentially for a 

period of seven years from the final resolution 

of such legal or ethical matter; 

(9)(10) report on the required supervision report form 

to the Board that agreed upon supervision has 

occurred; and 

(10)(11) file a final supervision report within two weeks 

of termination of supervision. 

(d)(f)  To maintain the professional nature of the supervision, a 

familial or strongly personal relationship shall not exist between 

the supervisor and supervisee, except in extraordinary 

circumstances, such as the lack of availability of any other 

qualified supervisor. In such cases, the Board shall require 

documentation from the supervisor or supervisee that no other 

supervision is available and three reference letters from 

colleagues commenting on the appropriateness of the proposed 

supervisory relationship. other mental health professionals. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.5; 90-270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2002 NATURE OF SUPERVISION 

(a)  The nature of mandated supervision shall depend on the 

specific areas of practice, experience, and training germane 

related to the area of specialty of the supervisee. This supervision 

shall be the process to assure that an appropriate professional 

standard is being applied to the solution of a client's problem, and 

that the laws that govern the practice of psychology and the ethics 

that guide that practice are understood and followed. The purpose 

of such Board mandated required supervision shall not be 

exclusively for introductory training of the supervisee in 

additional skills, methods, or interventions, but may and include 

includes enhancement and refinement of previously learned skills. 

Supervision shall include consideration of the following areas: 

(1) ethical, legal, and professional standards; 

(2) technical skills and competency; 

(3) supervisee's utilization of supervision; and 

(4) supervisee's ability to function independently or 

with reduced supervision. supervision, as set 

forth in Rule .2008 of this Section. 

(b)  Each supervisee shall: 

(1) attend scheduled supervision sessions; 

(2) provide the supervisor with a disclosure of 

psychological services being offered or 

rendered by the supervisee; 

(3) cooperate with the supervisor to assure that all 

conditions in Paragraph (c) of Rule .2001 

.2001(c) of this Section are met; 

(4) provide the supervisor with information 

necessary for the supervisor to advise the 

supervisee on cases giving rise to professional, 

ethical, and legal concerns; 

(5) notify the Board if he or she has reason to 

believe that the supervisor has behaved in a 

manner which shall indicate indicates that the 

supervisor has committed an ethical or legal 

violation; and 

(6) file a revised supervision contract form within 

30 days of a change in the conditions specified 

in the supervision contract form on file with the 

Board. Board, as set forth in Rule .2008 of this 

Section. 
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(c)  The supervisee and supervisor shall determine jointly the 

nature and extent of notification to clients or patients of the 

supervisory process (e.g., such as clinical information may be 

discussed with the supervisor or the means by which the 

supervisor may be contacted, contacted) and which cases, issues, 

and techniques are appropriate and necessary for supervision. 

Specific supervision shall not be mandated by the Board for each 

person evaluated or treated, or for every treatment, evaluative 

technique, or professional activity undertaken. Contract 

supervisors Supervisors shall not be required to sign or co-sign 

reports, treatment plans, letters, or other clinical documents for 

which the supervisee shall be responsible. responsible; neither 

shall it be necessary that such clinical Clinical documents are not 

required to reflect the supervisory process. Agencies shall not be 

precluded from requiring supervisor signatures or co-signatures. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.5; 90-270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2005 ALTERNATE SUPERVISION 

REQUIREMENTS DEFINITION OF FACE TO FACE 

SUPERVISION 

A licensed psychological associate may submit another licensed 

psychological associate be recognized as an appropriate contract 

supervisor. Approval by the Board shall be obtained by a licensee 

prior to receiving supervision under the provisions of this Rule. 

To be approved by the Board, the alternate supervision plan shall 

include the following: 

(1) documentation that the plan shall provide for 

superior supervision; 

(2) confirmation that the plan shall be reviewed, 

approved, and monitored by athe plan has been 

reviewed, approved and monitored by a 

licensed psychologist permanent, who agrees to 

assume responsibility for the quality, 

suitability, and implementation of the plan 

throughout its duration; 

(3) confirmation that the supervising psychological 

associate shall not engage in reciprocal 

supervisory arrangements with other licensed 

psychological associates; and 

(4) documentation that the supervising 

psychological associate shall have practiced 

psychology on at least a half-time basis (i.e., 20 

hours per week) for a minimum of 10 years; and 

shall have had no disciplinary action sanction 

during his or her entire period of licensure in 

any jurisdiction. 

(a)  As used in these rules the term "face-to-face supervision" shall 

mean both in-person supervision, where the supervisor and 

supervisee meet in person at the same physical location, and 

electronic means of face‐to‐face interaction without meeting in 

person. 

(b)  The face‐to‐face supervision shall be live, interactive, and 

visual. Video or other technology may be used so long as it is real 

time and involves verbal and visual interaction for the entire 

session. The face‐to‐face supervision shall maintain the 

confidentiality of the communication as it relates to the 

identifying information regarding patients/clients. 

(c)  When a supervisor and supervisee are deciding whether to 

meet in person or through electronic medium, they shall consider 

factors such as: 

(1) whether reports or evaluations will be reviewed 

and whether that can be done through use of 

electronic medium; 

(2) whether the supervisory relationship is recently 

established; or 

(3) whether there are concerns that are better 

addressed in person. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.2(f); 90-270.5; 90-270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2006 PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATE 

ACTIVITIES 

(a)  The assessment of overall personality functioning by a 

psychological associate requires supervision supervision. 

supervision, if practicing under Level 1 or Level 2 supervision, as 

set forth in Rule .2008(h)(1) or (h)(2) of this Section. The 

assessment of personality functioning involves any assessment or 

evaluative technique which leads to conclusions, inferences, and 

hypotheses regarding personality functioning. This includes: 

(1) all statements regarding personality attributes, 

features, traits, structure, dynamics, and 

pathology or assets; 

(2) the use of personality assessment techniques 

which include, but are not limited to, 

observation, interviewing and, and mental 

status examinations; examinations word 

association tests, diagnostic play therapy, and 

autobiographical techniques; and 

(3) the use of standardized personality techniques 

or tests. Examples of techniques or tests 

include, but are not limited to, the following: 

Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, 

sentence completion tests, the House Tree 

Person, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality 

Inventory, the California Personality Inventory, 

The Millon tests, the 16PF, and all other self-

report inventories and questionnaires, as well as 

scales and check lists completed by others. The 

tests identified in this Rule as requiring 

supervision do not constitute an exhaustive list, 

only the most commonly utilized measures. the 

use of current assessment techniques that have 

adequate evidence of reliability and validity. 

Not requiring supervision are screening techniques which lead to 

simple descriptors of persons which may be completed by a 

variety of professional and non-professional observers and are 

interpreted by other parties. 

(b)  The conduct administration of neuropsychological 

evaluations by psychological associates requires supervision. 

supervision, if practicing under Level 1 or Level 2 supervision, as 

set forth in Rule .2008(h)(1) or (h)(2) of this Section. Not 

requiring supervision are neuropsychological screenings which 

lead to simple behavioral descriptions rather than clinical 

interpretations, or the administration of rating devices which may 

be completed by a variety of professional and non-professional 

observers and are subsequently interpreted by other parties. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

412 

(c)  Psychotherapy, counseling, and any other interventions with 

a clinical population for the purpose of preventing or eliminating 

symptomatic, maladaptive, or undesired behavior provided by a 

psychological associate require supervision. supervision, if 

practicing under Level 1 or Level 2 supervision, as set forth in 

Rule .2008(h)(1) or (h)(2) of this Section. Clinical populations 

include persons with discernible mental, behavioral, emotional, 

psychological, or psychiatric disorders as evidenced by an 

established Axis 1 or Axis II diagnosis or V Code condition 

diagnostic classification system in the then current DSM 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders or 

International Classification of Diseases and all persons meeting 

the criteria for such diagnoses. Interventions other than 

psychotherapy and counseling that are encompassed by this 

definition include, but are not limited to, psychological 

assessment, psychoanalysis, behavior analysis/therapy, 

biofeedback, and hypnosis. Supervision is required if practicing 

under Level 1 or Level 2 supervision, as set forth in Rule 

.2008(h)(1) or (h)(2) of this Section, when the psychological 

associate is providing an intervention to persons within a clinical 

population, directly with the person(s) or in consultation with a 

third party, for the purpose of preventing or eliminating 

symptomatic, maladaptive, or undesired behavior. Supervision is 

required if practicing under Level 1 or Level 2 supervision, as set 

forth in Rule .2008(h)(1) or (h)(2) of this Section, for the design 

or clinical oversight of interventions for persons within a clinical 

population, such as biofeedback techniques and behavior 

intervention programs; however, supervision is not required for 

the actual implementation of such interventions that were 

designed for others to implement, which may or may not 

constitute ancillary services. 

(d)  The use, including authorization, of intrusive, punitive, or 

experimental procedures, techniques, or measures by a 

psychological associate requires supervision. supervision, if 

practicing under Level 1 or Level 2 supervision, as set forth in 

Rule .2008(h)(1) or (h)(2) of this Section. These procedures, 

techniques, or measures include, but are not limited to, seclusion, 

physical restraint, the use of protective devices for behavioral 

control, isolation time-out, and any utilization of punishment 

techniques involving aversive stimulation. Also included in this 

definition are any other techniques which are physically intrusive, 

are restrictive of human rights or freedom of movement, place the 

client at risk for injury, or are experimental in nature (i.e., in which 

the efficacy and degree of risk have not previously been clinically 

established). 

(e)  Supervision is required for a psychological associate who 

provides clinical supervision to other service providers who are 

engaged in activities which would require supervision if directly 

provided by the psychological associate. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.5(e); 90-270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2007 APPLICANTS AND OTHER 

NONLICENSED INDIVIDUALS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2008 PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATE 

(a)  Except as provided in this Rule, a Psychological Associate 

practicing psychology in North Carolina shall receive supervision 

for activities specified in G.S. 90-270.5(e) and 21 NCAC 54 

.2006. Rule .2006 of this Section. 

(b)  A Psychological Associate whose professional practice is 

limited to those activities other than those specified in G.S. 90-

270.5(e) and 21 NCAC 54 .2006. Rule .2006 of this Section as 

requiring supervision shall not be required to receive supervision. 

(c)  A Psychological Associate who is a regular salaried employee 

of the State Department of Public Instruction or a local board of 

education, and whose professional activities are limited only to 

those for which he or she is employed by that agency, shall not be 

required to receive supervision. This exemption shall not apply to 

individuals who contract with the Department of Public 

Instruction or local boards of education for the delivery of 

psychological services which otherwise require supervision in the 

schools. 

(d)  A Psychological Associate who engages in the practice of 

psychology in a jurisdiction other than North Carolina shall not 

be required to receive supervision as set forth in this Rule for those 

services rendered in another jurisdiction so long as said services 

in another jurisdiction are rendered in a manner consistent with 

the that jurisdiction's legal requirements. 

(e)  A written, notarized supervision contract form shall be filed 

within 30 days of a change in the conditions specified in the 

supervision contract form on file with the Board and within 30 

days after receiving written notification from the Board that the 

filing of a new form is necessary to provide for the protection of 

the public or the regulation of the practice of psychology. A 

supervision contract form shall document either that supervision 

is required and shall be received, or that supervision is not 

required. A separate supervision contract form shall be filed for 

each separate work setting. A work setting is considered as self-

employment, employment under an umbrella agency, or 

employment at a stand-alone business entity. If receiving 

supervision from more than one supervisor to meet the minimum 

requirements, a separate supervision contract form shall be filed 

with each individual supervisor. 

(f)  A supervisor shall report to the Board that agreed upon 

supervision has occurred and shall file a final report upon 

termination of supervision. If not receiving supervision, it shall be 

the responsibility of the Psychological Associate to report such to 

the Board. A report shall be submitted to the Board by the 

following time periods:  

(1) within 30 days after receiving written 

notification from the Board that such is due, 

due;  

(2) within 2 weeks of termination of supervision, 

supervision; and 

(3) within 2 weeks of a change in the conditions 

specified in the supervision contract form on 

file with the Board.  

If not receiving supervision, it shall be the responsibility of the 

Psychological Associate to report such to the Board. 

(g)  Additional supervision and reporting to the Board may be 

required in cases where previous evaluations or other information 

(e.g. reference letters, ethical complaints, etc.) suggests possible 

problems in the supervisee's competence or adherence to ethical 

standards. Additional documentation or an interview with the 

Board or its designated representative(s) may be required when 

questions arise regarding the supervisee's practice due to 
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information supplied or omitted on supervision contract forms 

and reports or when required forms are not filed with the Board. 

(h)  Supervision shall be provided in individual, face-to-face, 

face-to-face supervision, as defined by Rule .2003 of this Section, 

sessions which shall last no longer than 2 hours or less than 30 

minutes by an individual who shall be recognized as an 

appropriate supervisor as defined in Rule .2001 of this Section. A 

Psychological Associate shall receive a minimum of one hour per 

month of individual supervision in any month during which he or 

she engages in activities requiring supervision. The rates of 

supervision specified in this Paragraph shall be provided for each 

separate work setting in which the Psychological Associate 

engages in the activities requiring supervision. A work setting is 

considered as self-employment, employment under an umbrella 

agency, or employment at a stand-alone business entity. 

Minimum hours of supervision required for each work setting 

shall not be split between more than two supervisors. The term 

"post-licensure" in this Paragraph shall refer to the period 

following issuance of a Psychological Associate license by the 

North Carolina Psychology Board. The term "supervised practice" 

in this Paragraph shall refer to activities requiring supervision as 

specified in G.S. 90-270.5(e) and 21 NCAC 54 .2006. Rule .2006 

of this Section. Except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, 

minimum supervision requirements shall be as follows: 

 

(1) Level 1. For a Psychological Associate with less than 3 calendar years consisting of at least 4500 hours of post-

licensure supervised practice, minimum supervision shall be provided as follows: 

 

No. of hours per month   No. of hours of required 

engaging in activities   individual supervision 

that require supervision   per month 

1 - 10     1 

11 - 20     2 

21 - 30     3 

31 plus     4 

 

(2) Level 2. If a Psychological Associate does not meet the pass point set in Rule .1901(a)(1) of this Chapter, of a scaled 

score of 500, then after a minimum of 3 calendar years consisting of at least 4500 hours of post-licensure supervised 

practice a minimum of one hour per month individual supervision may be provided to a Psychological Associate who 

engages in activities requiring supervision. After a minimum of 3 calendar years consisting of at least 4500 hours of 

post-licensure supervised practice, minimum supervision may be provided as follows: 

 

No. of hours per month   No. of hours of required 

engaging in activities   individual supervision 

that require supervision   per month 

1 - 20     1 

21 plus     2 

 

To be approved by the Board for this level of 

supervision, a Psychological Associate shall: 

(A) make application on an application 

form provided by the Board; 

(B) document that all performance ratings 

for the preceding 3 years and 4500 

hours of post-licensure supervised 

practice have been average or above 

average; 

(C) have received at least one calendar 

year of supervision from the most 

recent supervisor; and 

(D) have the recommendation of the most 

recent supervisor for this level of 

supervision. 

(3) Level 3. After a minimum of 5 calendar years 

consisting of at least 7500 hours of post-

licensure supervised practice, a minimum of 1 

hour per month individual supervision may be 

provided to a Psychological Associate who 

engages in activities requiring supervision. To 

be approved by the Board for this level of 

supervision, a Psychological Associate shall: 

(3) Level 3. After a minimum of 3 calendar years 

consisting of at least 4500 hours of post-

licensure supervised practice, as set forth in 

Subparagraph (h)(1) of this Rule, or 5 calendar 

years of post licensure supervised experience, 

as set forth in Subparagraph (h)(2) of this Rule 

if a psychological associate does not meet the 

scale score of 500, no further supervision shall 

be required, provided that a Psychological 

Associate shall: 

(A) make application on an application 

form provided by the Board; 

(B) document that all performance ratings 

for the preceding 3 years and 4500 

hours of post-licensure supervised 

practice have been average or above 

average for those applying under 

Subparagraph (h)(1) of this Rule; or 5 

years of post-licensure supervised 

practice for those required to apply 

under Subparagraph (h)(2) of this 

Rule; 
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(C) have received at least one calendar 

year of supervision from the most 

recent supervisor; and 

(D) have the recommendation of the most 

recent supervisor for independent 

practice. 

(A) make application on an application 

form provided by the Board 

(B) document that all performance ratings 

for the preceding 5 years and 7500 

hours of post-licensure supervised 

practice have been average or above 

average; 

(C) have received at least one calendar 

year of supervision from the most 

recent supervisor; and 

(D) have the recommendation of the most 

recent supervisor for this level of 

supervision. 

(i)  The frequency and scope of supervision may, at the discretion 

of the supervising psychologist, be modified provided that the 

minimum rate of supervision as defined in Paragraph (h) 

Subparagraph (h)(1) or (h)(2) of this Rule is provided. The 

supervising psychologist of record may review, approve, and 

monitor additional individual or group supervision to be provided 

to the supervisee by a Licensed Psychological Associate, licensed 

psychological associate, Licensed Psychologist licensed 

psychologist holding a permanent or provisional license, or a 

professional from a related discipline. Such supervision shall not 

substitute for the minimum requirements specified in Paragraph 

(h) Subparagraph (h)(1) or (h)(2) of this Rule. 

(j)  Contract and report forms shall be provided by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.4(c); 90-270.5(e); 90-270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2009 LICENSED PSYCHOLOGIST 

(a)  Except as provided in 21 NCAC 54 .1707, Rule .1707 of this 

Chapter, to be issued a permanent license at the Psychologist 

level, an applicant shall document a minimum of 2 years 

consisting of at least 3000 hours of supervised practice which 

shall meet the requirements specified in Paragraphs (i) and (j) of 

this Rule. A minimum of 1 calendar year consisting of at least 

1500 hours of this supervised practice shall be accrued at the 

postdoctoral level. 

(b)  A psychologist who shall meet all other requirements for a 

permanent license except the two years of supervised experience 

shall be issued a provisional license at the Psychologist level and 

shall comply with supervision requirements specified in this Rule. 

(c)  If practicing psychology in North Carolina, a provisional 

licensee shall receive at least one hour per week of face-to-face 

individual supervision by an appropriate supervisor as defined in 

Rule .2001 of this Section until permanent status shall be 

approved by the Board. 

(d)  A provisional licensee who is not practicing psychology shall 

not be required to receive supervision. 

(e)  A provisional licensee who engages in the practice of 

psychology in a jurisdiction other than North Carolina shall not 

be required to receive supervision specified in this Rule for those 

services rendered in another jurisdiction so long as said services 

in another jurisdiction shall be rendered in a manner consistent 

with the that jurisdiction's legal requirements. 

(f)  A written, notarized supervision contract form shall be filed 

within 30 days of a change in the conditions specified in the 

supervision contract form on file with the Board and within 30 

days after receiving written notification from the Board that the 

filing of a new form is necessary to provide for the protection of 

the public or the regulation of the practice of psychology. A 

supervision contract form shall document either that supervision 

is required and shall be received, or that supervision is not 

required. A separate supervision contract form shall be filed for 

each separate work setting. A work setting is considered as self-

employment, employment under an umbrella agency, or 

employment at a stand-alone business entity. If receiving 

supervision from more than one supervisor, a separate supervision 

contract form shall be filed with each individual supervisor. 

(g)  A supervisor shall report to the Board that agreed upon 

supervision has occurred and shall file a final report upon 

termination of supervision. If not receiving supervision, it shall be 

the responsibility of the provisional licensee to report such to the 

Board. A report shall be submitted to the Board within 30 days 

after receiving written notification from the Board that such is 

due, within 2 weeks of termination of supervision, and within 2 

weeks of a change in the conditions specified in the supervision 

contract form on file with the Board. 

(h)  Additional supervision and reporting to the Board may be 

required in cases where previous evaluations or other information 

(e.g. reference letters, ethical complaints, etc.) suggests possible 

problems in the supervisee's competence or adherence to ethical 

standards. Additional documentation or an interview with the 

Board or its designated representative(s) may be required when 

questions arise regarding the supervisee's practice due to 

information supplied or omitted on supervision contract forms 

and reports or when required forms are not filed with the Board. 

(i)  One year of supervised experience shall meet all of the 

following criteria for a training program in psychology: 

(1) The training shall be a planned and directed 

program in the practice of psychology, in 

contrast to "on the job" training, and shall 

provide the trainee with a planned, programmed 

sequence of training experience. 

(2) The training site shall have a written statement 

or brochure which describes its training 

program and is made available to prospective 

trainees. 

(3) Trainees shall be designated as "interns," 

fellows," or "residents," or shall hold other 

designation which clearly indicates training 

status. 

(4) The training shall be completed within a 

consecutive period of 24 months. 

(5) The training shall consist of at least 1500 hours 

of practice in psychology as defined by G.S. 90-

270.2(8). 

(6) The training site shall have a minimum of two 

doctorally trained licensed, certified, or license 

eligible psychologists at the training site as 

supervisors who shall have ongoing contact 

with the trainee. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 3, 2019 

415 

(7) The training shall be under the direction of a 

licensed, certified, or license eligible doctorally 

trained psychologist who shall be on the staff of 

the training site, who shall approve and monitor 

the training, who shall be familiar with the 

training site's purposes and functions, who shall 

have ongoing contact with the trainee, and who 

shall agree to assume responsibility for the 

quality, suitability, and implementation of the 

training experience. 

(8) The training shall provide a minimum of two 

hours per week of individual face-to-face 

discussion of the trainee's practice, with the 

specific intent of overseeing the psychological 

services rendered by the trainee. Supervision 

may be provided in part by psychiatrists, social 

workers, or other related professionals qualified 

by the training site, but at least 50% of 

supervision shall be provided by licensed, 

certified, or license-eligible doctorally trained 

psychologists. 

(9) In addition to individual supervision, the 

training site shall provide a minimum of two 

hours per week of instruction which may be met 

by group supervision, assigned reading, 

seminars, and similarly constituted organized 

training experiences. Internships accredited by 

the American Psychological Association and 

other internships which meet all of the specified 

criteria in this Paragraph shall be deemed to 

meet the requirements in this Paragraph. 

(j)  One year of supervised experience shall meet all of the 

following criteria: 

(1) A minimum of one hour per week of face-to-

face, individual supervision shall be provided. 

(2) The experience shall consist of a minimum of 1 

calendar year, shall include 1500 hours of 

practice, and shall be completed within a 

consecutive 4-year period. 

(3) Supervision shall be provided for the practice 

of psychology as defined by G.S. 90-270.2(8). 

(4) Supervision shall be provided by an individual 

who shall be recognized as an appropriate 

supervisor of licensees as defined in Rule .2001 

of this Section. 

(k)  Contract and report forms shall be provided by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.5(d); 90-270.9. 

 

SECTION .2100 - RENEWAL 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2101 LICENSE RENEWAL FORM 

(a)  The license renewal application form shall be mailed sent 

either by mail or electronically to each licensee in the fall of each 

even numbered year. It shall be a licensee's responsibility to renew 

his/her his or her license in a timely manner, and to notify the 

Board if a renewal application form is not received. 

(b)  The form may shall require the licensee to supply information 

including, but not limited to, the following: name, license number, 

current addresses; telephone number; area of specialty; principal 

setting of practice; if malpractice lawsuit has been filed against 

licensee; if licensee has been denied a professional license or 

permit, or privilege of taking an examination, or had a 

professional license or permit ever disciplined in any way or if 

aware of any pending charges against a professional license or 

permit; if licensee has been convicted of, or entered a plea of 

guilty or nolo contendere to any felony or any misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude, misrepresentation or fraud in dealing 

with the public, or conduct otherwise relevant to fitness to practice 

psychology, or a misdemeanor charge reflecting the inability to 

practice psychology with due regard to the health and safety of 

clients or patients; whether or not the licensee received any formal 

continuing education during the past year; and report on all 

supervision contract forms on file with the Board. 

(c)  Failure of a postal service or an internet provider to deliver 

the renewal application properly, or failure of a licensee to submit 

all required information on the appropriate form by any 

established statutory deadline, shall not excuse the late fee or 

prevent license suspension. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.14. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2103 REINSTATEMENT 

(a)  The information required for each applicant requesting 

reinstatement of licensure within 30 days after a license has been 

suspended due to non-renewal shall consist of: 

(1) completed renewal reinstatement application 

form; form. The form shall include the 

following information: 

(A) applicant's legal name; 

(B) mailing address and telephone 

number; 

(C) business name, mailing address and 

telephone number; 

(D) Social Security number; 

(E) e-mail address; 

(F) date and place of birth; 

(G) licensure or applicant for licensure by 

another psychology board; 

(H) if taken, the score on the Examination 

for Professional Practice in 

Psychology; 

(I) whether previously applied for a 

license to practice psychology in 

North Carolina; 

(J) if denied a professional license or 

permit, or privilege of taking an 

examination, or had a professional 

license or permit ever disciplined by 

any licensing authority in North 

Carolina or elsewhere, or aware of any 

pending charges against a professional 

license or permit which is held; 

(K) if ever withdrawn an application for 

licensure, or an application to take a 

professional licensing examination, in 

North Carolina or elsewhere; 
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(L) if ever been convicted of, or entered a 

plea of guilty or nolo contendere to 

any felony or misdemeanor other than 

a minor traffic violation; 

(M) other fields of work for which licensed 

or certified; or made application for 

licensure or certification; 

(N) if hold a diploma from the American 

Board of Professional Psychology; 

(O) whether doctoral program was APA 

accredited at the time of graduation; 

(P) names of graduate programs attended 

and dates degrees awarded; 

(Q) names and mailing addresses of three 

professional references, other than 

supervisors; 

(R) list all work experience to cover the 

complete time frame, and including, 

any graduate internship, practicum, or 

other supervised training experience 

that serves as the basis for current 

application for licensure; brief 

describe for reapplying for licensure in 

North Carolina; 

(S) any disability which may require some 

special accommodation in taking 

licensing examinations; 

(T) if applying for Health Services 

Provider Certification; and 

(U) employee misclassification 

certification. 

(2) documentation of having completed a 

minimum of 18 24 continuing education hours 

as specified in Rule .2104 of this Section during 

the two years preceding the date of application 

for reinstatement of licensure; 

(3) completed supervision report form, if 

applicable; and 

(4) payment of the renewal and reinstatement fees. 

The information listed in this Paragraph shall be filed in the Board 

office within 30 days after a license has been suspended due to 

non-renewal. 

(b)  The information required for each applicant requesting 

reinstatement of licensure after a license has been suspended for 

more than 30 days due to non-renewal or after a license has been 

voluntarily relinquished with the Board's consent shall consist of: 

(1) typed or legibly printed, notarized signed or 

digitally signed application form and 

supervision contract form; 

(2) signed consent form, completed Fingerprint 

Record Card, and other such form(s) or 

information as required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to perform a criminal 

history record check; 

(3) payment of fee required by the North Carolina 

Department of Justice to perform a criminal 

history record check; 

(4) documentation of having completed a 

minimum of 18 24 continuing education hours 

as specified in Rule .2104 of this Section during 

the two years preceding the date of application 

for reinstatement of licensure; 

(5) completed information forms from present and 

past supervisors; 

(6) three completed reference forms from 

professionals who are familiar with the 

applicant's current work, one of which shall be 

from a doctoral level psychologist; 

(7) written verification and report on the status of 

any occupational licensure, including dates of 

licensure and any disciplinary action which is 

pending or has been taken, sent directly to the 

Board or to the Board's authorized agent from 

any other regulatory agency in North Carolina 

and any other jurisdiction in which the 

applicant has applied for a license, is currently 

licensed, or previously was licensed, if 

applicable; 

(8) official graduate college transcripts, not on file 

in the Board's office, sent directly to the Board 

or to the Board's authorized agent by the 

training institution(s); and 

(9) payment of the renewal and reinstatement fees 

within 30 days after receiving notification from 

the Board that reinstatement of licensure has 

been approved. 

(c)  An application shall contain all requested materials as set forth 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule to be complete. An incomplete 

application shall be active for three months from the date of 

application. At the end of such time, if still incomplete, the 

application shall be void, and the applicant shall be deemed to 

have discontinued the application process. If the individual 

chooses to pursue licensure at a later date, the individual shall 

totally reapply. 

(d)  To be considered to have made application for reinstatement 

of licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-270.5(a), the information 

specified in Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(4) of this Rule shall 

be filed in the Board office within 30 days of offering to practice 

or undertaking the practice of psychology in North Carolina. 

(e)  Reexamination may be required for reinstatement. The Board 

may require applicants for reinstatement to take the national 

examination, state examination, state renewal examination and/or 

other examination in effect at the time of application for 

reinstatement. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.14(a)(2); 90-270.15(f),(h); 90-

270.22(a). 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2104 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(a)  The purpose of continuing education is to provide for the 

continuing professional education of all psychologists licensed by 

the North Carolina Psychology Board consistent with the purpose 

of the Board which is to protect the public from the practice of 

psychology by unqualified persons and from unprofessional 

conduct by persons licensed to practice psychology. 

(b)  This Rule applies to all individuals licensed by the Board who 

renew their licenses and compliance Compliance with this Rule 

shall be is a condition for license renewal. A license shall be 
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suspended automatically by operation of law in accordance with 

G.S. 90-270.15(f) if a licensee fails to meet continuing education 

requirements specified in this Rule. This Rule shall apply to all 

individuals licensed by the North Carolina Psychology Board who 

choose to renew their licenses in North Carolina. No exceptions 

to the continuing education requirements specified in this Rule 

shall be granted. Licensees who would otherwise not be exempt 

from licensure, required to be licensed e.g., because they are not 

practicing psychology in North Carolina, may relinquish their 

licenses if they do not wish to comply with the requirements 

specified in this Rule. 

(c)  A continuing education hour is defined as one hour of 

instructional or contact time. 

(d)  Category A requirements shall be met through attendance at 

formally organized courses, seminars, workshops, symposiums, 

and postdoctoral institutes; or through completion of on-line or 

correspondence courses. Programs shall relate to topics listed in 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule; be identified as offering continuing 

education for psychologists; and be sponsored or co-sponsored by 

the North Carolina Psychology Board, by the American 

Psychological Association, by American Psychological 

Association approved sponsors, or by North Carolina Area Health 

Education Centers. Contact hours shall be specified by the 

sponsor. 

(e)  Category B requirements shall be met through attendance at 

colloquia, presentations of invited speakers, grand rounds, and in-

house seminars; attendance at programs offered at meetings of 

professional or scientific organizations which are not approved 

for Category A credit; participation in formally organized study 

groups or journal clubs; and self study (e.g., reading articles or 

books for professional growth or in preparation for publishing, 

teaching, or making a presentation). One continuing education 

hour shall be credited for each hour of participation in Category 

B activities. 

(f)  A licensee shall complete a minimum of 18 continuing 

education hours in each biennial renewal period which begins on 

the first day of October in each even numbered year. Continuing 

education hours shall not carry over from one renewal period to 

the next. At least nine continuing education hours shall be in 

Category A activities which shall include a minimum of three 

continuing education hours in the area of ethical and legal issues 

in the professional practice of psychology. 

(g)  Topics for Category A and Category B requirements shall fall 

within the following areas: 

(1) ethical and legal issues in the professional 

practice of psychology, and 

(2) the maintenance and upgrading of professional 

skills and competencies within the 

psychologist's scope of practice. This includes, 

but is not limited to, training in empirically 

supported treatments, the application of 

research to practice, and training in best 

practice standards and guidelines. 

(h)  Continuing education hours shall not be allowed for the 

following activities: 

(1) business meetings or presentations, 

professional committee meetings, and meetings 

or presentations concerned with the 

management of a professional practice; 

(2) membership, office in, or participation on 

boards and committees of professional 

organizations; 

(3) research; 

(4) teaching, presentations, and publication, except 

as allowed as self study in preparation for these 

activities as provided under Paragraph (e) of 

this Rule; and 

(5) personal psychotherapy or personal growth 

experience. 

(i)  An individual licensed on or before October 1, 2002, shall 

attest on the license renewal application for the 2004-2006 

biennial renewal period, and on each subsequent biennial renewal 

application, to having met the mandatory continuing education 

requirements specified in this Rule during the two years preceding 

the October 1st renewal date. An individual licensed after October 

1, 2002, shall attest on the second license renewal application 

following licensure, and on each subsequent biennial renewal 

application, to having met the mandatory continuing education 

requirements specified in this Rule during the two years preceding 

the October 1st renewal date. 

(j)  An applicant for reinstatement of licensure shall document that 

he or she has completed a minimum of 18 continuing education 

hours as specified in this Rule within the two years preceding the 

date of application for reinstatement of licensure and shall attest 

on each subsequent biennial renewal application to having met the 

mandatory continuing education requirements specified in this 

Rule. 

(k)  For Category A, a licensee shall maintain certificates from 

Category A programs and written documentation of the following 

for a minimum of seven years: 

(1) date of program; 

(2) number of contact hours; 

(3) name of sponsor of program; 

(4) title of program; and 

(5) location of program. 

(l)  For Category B, a licensee shall maintain applicable written 

documentation of the following for Category B activities 

consistent with this Rule for a minimum of seven years: 

(1) date of program or activity; 

(2) number of instructional or contact hours as 

defined in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Rule; 

(3) description of activity; 

(4) name of presenter, facilitator, or leader; 

(5) name of sponsor; 

(6) location; 

(7) full citation of article; and 

(8) summary of content. 

The nature of the Category B activity determines the applicable 

documentation. For example, name of presenter, facilitator, or 

leader; name of sponsor; and location are not required when a 

licensee documents reading a journal article. 

(m)  A licensee shall provide certificates, documentation, and a 

signed attestation form designed by the Board within 30 days after 

receiving written notification from the Board that proof of 

completion of continuing education hours is required. The Board 

may randomly verify the documentation of required continuing 

education hours for a percentage of licensees and may do so 

during the investigation of any complaints. A licensee shall not 
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submit documentation of continuing education obtained unless 

directed to do so by the Board. The Board shall not serve as a 

depository for continuing education materials prior to its directing 

that documentation must be submitted. 

(c)  Definitions. 

(1) Continuing education hour – one hour of 

instructional or contact time. 

(2) Biennial renewal period – the period of time 

from the first day of October in each even 

numbered year, continuing for the following 

two years and sixty days, which is until the last 

day in November in the next even numbered 

year. 

(3) Category A program sponsor – 

(A) North Carolina Psychology Board; 

(B) American Psychological Association 

(APA); 

(C) American Psychological Association 

approved sponsors; 

(D) National Association of School 

Psychologists (NASP); 

(E) National Association of School 

Psychologists approved sponsors; 

(F) North Carolina Area Health Education 

Centers (NCAHEC); or 

(G) North Carolina Psychological 

Association (NCPA). 

(4) Category B program sponsor – any program 

sponsor not listed in Subparagraph (3) of this 

Paragraph. 

(d)  During each biennial renewal period, a licensee must 

complete a minimum of 24 continuing education hours, a 

minimum of 15 of which must be completed under a Category A 

program sponsor as defined in Subparagraph (c)(3) of this Rule. 

Included in the 15 hours under a Category A program sponsor, a 

minimum of 3 continuing education hours in the area of ethics in 

the professional practice of psychology must be completed. To be 

credited as fulfillment of this requirement, the word "ethics" or a 

derivative of the word "ethics" must be in the title of the program, 

and the program must include such content. After completing a 

minimum of 15 hours of Category A continuing education, the 

remaining hours may be completed in either Category A or 

Category B. 

(e)  Except as specified in Paragraphs (g) and (h) of this Rule, the 

24 continuing education hours, whether Category A or B, must 

meet all of the following requirements: 

(1) The continuing education hours must be 

obtained through: 

(A) in-person attendance at programs; 

(B) presentations at programs; or 

(C) completion of on-line or 

correspondence courses. 

(2) The program sponsor shall award a certificate 

of completion which documents the following 

information: 

(A) name of sponsor and any cosponsor of 

program; 

(B) number of contact hours credited 

explicitly for psychologists; 

(C) title of program; 

(D) date of program; and 

(E) in the case of an APA or NASP 

approved sponsor, a statement that the 

entity is APA or NASP approved to 

provide the program as continuing 

education to psychologists. 

(3) All continuing education hours, whether 

Category A or B, must be in the maintenance 

and enrichment of professional skills and 

competencies within the licensee's scope of 

practice in psychology, including, but not 

limited to: 

(A) training in empirically supported 

assessment and/or treatment; 

(B) the application of research to the 

practice of psychology; 

(C) legal issues in psychology; 

(D) ethics in the professional practice of 

psychology; 

(E) training in how to properly supervise 

in accordance with Board rules 

regarding supervision requirements, 

as described in Rule .2001(c) of this 

Chapter; and 

(F) training in best practice standards and 

guidelines. 

(f)  To renew a licensee, a licensee shall submit the following to 

document that he or she has met the continuing education 

requirements specified in this Rule: 

(1) a signed attestation form created by the Board; 

and 

(2) except as specified in Paragraphs (g) and (h) of 

this Rule, copies of certificates of completion 

that include the information specified in 

Subparagraph (e)(2) of this Rule. 

(g)  A maximum of three continuing education hours may be 

credited in each biennial renewal period for any licensee who has 

received Board-required supervision, except when specified 

otherwise under a Consent Order or Final Decision executed by 

the Board. These three hours must be documented by the 

supervisor and will be credited toward the maximum nine hours 

allowed under Category B program sponsors. 

(h)  A maximum of nine continuing education hours may be 

credited in each biennial renewal period for graduate course work 

completed on a pass/fail or graded basis in a doctoral psychology 

program that is approved by the American Psychological 

Association. These hours must be documented on an official 

transcript sent to the Board by the institution of higher education 

at which the applicant completed the courses and will be credited 

toward the maximum nine hours allowed under Category B 

program sponsors. 

(i)  A maximum of three continuing education hours may be 

credited in each biennial renewal period for completion in each 

renewal cycle of the Board developed ethics renewal examination 

described in Rule .1901(a)(3) of this Chapter. 

(j)  Continuing education hours credited for license renewal in one 

biennium renewal period shall not be credited for license renewal 

in another biennium renewal period. 
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(k)  An individual licensed on or before October 1, 2020, shall 

attest on the license renewal application for the 2020-2022 

biennial renewal period, and on each subsequent biennial renewal 

application, to having met the mandatory continuing education 

requirements specified in this Rule. An individual licensed after 

October 1, 2020, shall attest on the second license renewal 

application following licensure, and on each subsequent biennial 

renewal application, to having met the mandatory continuing 

education requirements specified in this Rule. 

(l)  An applicant for reinstatement of licensure must document that 

he or she has completed a minimum of 24 continuing education 

hours as specified in this Rule within the two years preceding the 

date of application for reinstatement of licensure and must attest 

on each subsequent biennial renewal application to having met the 

mandatory continuing education requirements specified in this 

Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.14(a)(2). 

 

SECTION .2200 - PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2202 CERTIFICATE OF 

REGISTRATION 

The information required for an applicant to obtain a certificate of 

registration for a professional corporation or professional limited 

liability company organized to render professional psychological 

services shall consist of: 

(1) typed, or legibly printed, notarized signed or 

digitally signed application form; form. The 

form shall include the following information: 

(A) name of corporation; 

(B) purpose for which corporation is 

organized; 

(C) mailing address; 

(D) email address; 

(E) telephone number; 

(F) name, address, and license number (if 

applicable) of incorporator(s); 

(G) name and license number of 

stockholder(s); 

(H) name and occupation of members of 

board of directors; 

(I) name and occupation of officers; 

(J) name and license number of 

psychologists to be employed by the 

corporation; and 

(K) name and duties of persons other than 

psychologists employed, or to be 

employed, by the corporation. 

(2) registration fee; a completed Articles of 

Incorporation for a professional corporation or 

the Articles of Organization for a professional 

limited liability company to be reviewed and 

approved by the Board, Board Chair or the 

Chair's designee; and 

(3) following submission of the Board-approved 

Articles of Incorporation or Articles of 

Organization to the Secretary of State by the 

applicant, the applicant must submit to the 

Board a final certified copy by from the 

Secretary of State of the Articles of 

Incorporation or Articles of Organization. 

Organization issued by the Secretary of State. 

The certificate of registration shall remain 

effective until January 1 following the date of 

such registration. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-10; 57C-2-01(c); 90-270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2203 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATE 

OF REGISTRATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .2300 - ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING 

PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2301 RIGHT TO HEARING 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-3(b); 150B-38. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2302 REQUEST FOR HEARING 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-38. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2303 GRANTING OR DENYING 

HEARING REQUESTS 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-38. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2304 NOTICE OF HEARING 

In addition to the items specified in G.S. 150B-38(b) to be 

included in the notice, notices of administrative hearings of the 

North Carolina Psychology Board: Board of Examiners of 

Practicing Psychologists: 

(1) shall give the name, position, address, and 

telephone number of a member, employee, or 

agent of the Board to contact for further 

information or discussion; 

(2) may give notice of the date and place for a 

prehearing conference, if any; 

(3)(2) shall inform the party or parties, other than the 

Board, of the right to file a written response to 

the allegations in the notice of hearing no later 

than ten days prior to any scheduled hearing 

date or within such other time as may be set out 

in the notice; and 

(4)(3) may include any other information deemed 

relevant to informing the party or parties as to 

the procedure of the hearing. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 150B-38. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2305 WHO SHALL HEAR 

CONTESTED CASES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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21 NCAC 54 .2308 DISQUALIFICATION OF 

BOARD MEMBER (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2309 FAILURE TO APPEAR 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2311 SUBPOENAS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2314 PRESIDING OFFICER 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .2400 - RULEMAKING PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2401 PETITION FOR RULEMAKING 

HEARINGS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2402 DISPOSITION OF PETITION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .2600 - DECLARATORY RULINGS 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2601 REQUEST FOR DECLARATORY 

RULING (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .2700 - HEALTH SERVICES PROVIDER 

CERTIFICATION 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2701 HEALTH SERVICES 

ACTIVITIES 

(a)  Health services in psychology include services provided 

directly to clients/patients or groups of clients/patients. Such 

services include the following: 

(1) the diagnosis, evaluation, treatment, 

remediation, and prevention of: 

(A) mental, emotional, and behavioral 

disorder; 

(B) substance abuse and dependency; and 

(C) psychological aspects of physical 

illness, accident, injury, and disability. 

(2) psychotherapy, counseling, psychoeducational, 

and neuropsychological services related to 

services described in Subparagraph (a)(1) of 

this Rule; 

(3) psychological assessment and report writing, 

including scoring of test protocols; 

(4) documentation of services provided to 

clients/patients (e.g., progress or process notes, 

clinical entries in records); 

(5) collateral contacts by a psychologist with 

family members, caretakers, and other 

individuals for the purpose of benefiting a 

client/patient of that psychologist; and 

(6) consultation with other professionals in service 

to the psychologist's clients/patients. 

(b)  Health services in psychology do not include the following: 

(1) clinical supervision of other professionals who 

provide health services to clients/patients; 

(2) psychoeducational instruction to individuals 

who are not identified clients/patients of the 

psychologist providing such instruction; 

(3) career counseling, to include assessment of 

interests and aptitudes; 

(4) vocational and educational guidance; 

(5) the teaching of psychology; 

(6) the conduct of psychological research and the 

provision of psychological services or 

consultations to organizations or institutions, 

except when such activities involve the delivery 

of direct health services to individuals or groups 

of individuals who are themselves the intended 

beneficiaries of such services; or 

(7) administrative tasks associated with the 

delivery of health services, (e.g., billing and 

insurance communications). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.2(4); 90-270.2(8); 90-270.9. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2703 DISPLAY OF CERTIFICATE 

A health services provider certificate shall be displayed in close 

proximity to a licensee's licensure certificate certificate, in his/her 

principal place of employment and in a place that is visible to the 

licensee's served clientele. or be available for view upon request 

by the licensee's patients/clients, at any time that licensee is 

practicing psychology. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.20. 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2704 HSP-P REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  To be certified as a health services provider psychologist 

(HSP-P), a licensed psychologist holding permanent North 

Carolina licensure shall be qualified by education as defined in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule and shall have completed two years of 

supervised experience, of which at least one year shall be post-

doctoral. These two years of experience shall meet the criteria 

specified in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule, or in Paragraph 

(e) of this Rule. An applicant shall submit a completed, notarized 

application form and and, if requested by the Board, provide 

documentation of meeting health services provider requirements. 

The application form shall include the following information: 

applicant's name; mailing address; email address; telephone 

number; license number; and health services provider certification 

level applying for. 

(b)  An applicant shall demonstrate that he/she he or she is 

qualified by education to provide health services by meeting one 

of the following criteria: 

(1) is currently approved for listing, or is currently 

listed, in the National Register of Health 

Service Providers in Psychology; 

(2) is a diplomat in good standing of the American 

Board of Professional Psychology in a health 

services specialty area; 

(3) is a graduate from a doctoral program which 

was accredited at the time of the applicant's 

graduation by the American Psychological 
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Association or the Canadian Psychological 

Association in Clinical Psychology, Counseling 

Psychology, School Psychology, or Combined 

Professional-Scientific Psychology; or 

(4) has an academic foundation in the provision of 

health services as defined in Rule .2701(a) of 

this Section which meets the following 

requirements: 

(A) The applicant's doctoral program, or 

formal postdoctoral program of re-

specialization, in psychology shall be 

an organized training program which 

has established a clear intent, through 

the structure of the program and in 

institutional publications, to train 

individuals to provide health services 

in psychology as defined in G.S. 90-

270.2(4) and Rule .2701(a) of this 

Section. 

(B) Within the applicant's doctoral 

training program, or formal 

postdoctoral program of 

respecialization, in health services in 

psychology, course work shall have 

been completed in the areas of 

assessment, diagnosis, intervention, 

and psychopathology. The applicant 

shall further establish that he or she 

has completed relevant course work 

that has provided training in diagnosis, 

evaluation, treatment, remediation, or 

prevention of one or more of the 

following areas: (i) mental, emotional, 

and behavioral disorder, disability, 

and illness; (ii) substance abuse; (iii) 

habit and conduct disorder; or (iv) 

psychological aspects of physical 

illness, accident, injury, and disability. 

(C) Pursuant to final Board approval, an 

applicant shall be considered to have 

been trained in the provision of health 

services in psychology if the applicant 

establishes that requirements set forth 

in Parts (b)(4)(A) and (b)(4)(B) of this 

Rule have been met through a doctoral 

program, or formal postdoctoral 

program of re-specialization, in any 

one of the following areas of 

specialization in psychology: applied 

behavior analysis in psychology, 

applied developmental psychology, 

clinical psychology, counseling 

psychology, rehabilitation 

psychology, or school psychology. 

(D) An applicant who holds a doctoral 

degree in psychology, who applies for 

licensure as a Licensed Psychologist, 

and who holds a master's or specialist 

degree in psychology that provides 

training in the provision of health 

services shall not be eligible for HSP-

P certification if the applicant's 

doctoral program, or formal 

postdoctoral re-specialization 

program, in psychology does not also 

provide training in the provision of 

health services as set forth in Parts 

(b)(4)(A) and (b)(4)(B) of this Rule. If 

the applicant has a doctoral degree in 

an area of psychology that does not 

provide training in the provision of 

health services, that applicant shall not 

be eligible for HSP-P certification 

even if the applicant establishes that 

course work in the areas listed in Part 

(b)(4)(B) was completed or if the 

applicant has completed an applied 

training experience (i.e., practicum, 

internship, residency, postdoctoral 

fellowship, etc.) in the provision of 

health services without having 

completed a planned and directed 

doctoral or formal postdoctoral 

training program in health services in 

psychology. 

(E) An applicant who has completed a 

doctoral program that establishes in 

institutional publications an intent to 

train individuals for careers in 

administration, research, teaching, 

academia, and other areas not 

involving training in the provision of 

health services in psychology shall not 

be considered to have been provided 

an academic foundation in the 

provision of health services and shall 

not be approved for HSP-P 

certification. 

(F) Only that course work taken at an 

institution of higher education as 

defined in G.S. 90-270.2(5) shall be 

considered by the Board to establish 

that an applicant has an academic 

foundation in the provision of health 

services. 

(c)  Except as provided in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, an applicant 

shall demonstrate one year of supervised experience which meets 

the following requirements for an organized health services 

training program: 

(1) The training shall be a planned and directed 

program in the provision of health services, in 

contrast to "on the job" training, and shall 

provide the trainee with a planned, programmed 

sequence of training experience. 

(2) The training site shall have a written statement 

or brochure which describes its training 

program and is made available to prospective 

trainees. 
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(3) Trainees shall be designated as "interns," 

fellows," or "residents," or hold other 

designation which clearly indicates training 

status. 

(4) The training shall be completed within 24 months. 

(5) The training shall consist of at least 1500 hours 

of practice. 

(6) At least 25% of the training shall be spent in the 

provision of direct health services, as defined in 

Rule .2701(a) of this Section, to patients or 

clients seeking assessment or treatment. 

(7) Up to 25% of the training may be comprised of 

research activities. 

(8) There shall be a minimum of two doctorally 

trained licensed, certified, or license eligible 

psychologists at the training site as supervisors 

who have ongoing contact with the trainee. 

(9) The training shall be under the direction of a 

licensed, certified, or license eligible doctorally 

trained psychologist who is on the staff of the 

training site, who approves and monitors the 

training, who is familiar with the training site's 

purposes and functions, who has ongoing 

contact with the trainee, and who agrees to 

assume responsibility for the quality, 

suitability, and implementation of the training 

experience. 

(10) The training shall provide a minimum of two 

hours per week of individual face-to-face 

discussion of the trainee's practice, with the 

specific intent of overseeing the health services 

rendered by the trainee. Supervision may be 

provided in part by psychiatrists, social 

workers, or other mental health professionals 

qualified by the training site, but at least 50 

percent of supervision shall be provided by 

licensed, certified, or license-eligible doctorally 

trained psychologists. 

(11) In additional to individual supervision, the 

training site shall provide a minimum of two 

hours per week of instruction which may be met 

by group supervision, assigned reading, 

seminars, and similarly constituted organized 

training experiences. This specified year of 

supervised experience may be obtained at a 

predoctoral level, provided that an additional 

year of supervised experience as defined in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule is obtained at a post-

doctoral level. Internships accepted for listing 

in the National Register of Health Service 

Providers in Psychology and internships 

accredited by the American Psychological 

Association in Clinical Psychology, Counseling 

Psychology, or School Psychology shall be 

deemed to meet the requirements in this 

Paragraph. 

(d)  An applicant shall demonstrate one year of supervised 

experience which meets the following requirements: 

(1) The experience shall consist of a minimum of 

one calendar year and include 1500 hours of 

supervised experience. 

(2) The experience shall be completed within a 

consecutive four-year period. 

(3) The supervision shall be for the direct provision 

of health services in psychology, as defined in 

Rule .2701(a) of this Section, by the applicant 

to individuals or groups of clients/patients. 

(4) At least one hour per week of formal, face-to-

face, individual supervision shall have been 

provided, except that individual supervision 

provided up until January 1, 1996, may have 

been provided in two, two-hour sessions per 

month. 

(5) The supervisor shall have been an appropriately 

licensed or certified psychologist, whose 

license or certificate was in good standing, in 

the state where the practice occurred. 

(6) The supervisor, at the time of supervision, shall 

not have been in a dual relationship with the 

supervisee, e.g., such as spouse, other close 

relative, close personal friend, or therapist. This 

specified year of supervised experience may be 

obtained at a predoctoral level, provided that an 

additional year of supervised experience as 

defined in Paragraph (c) of this Rule is obtained 

at a post-doctoral level. 

(e)  An applicant who holds a provisional license as a Licensed 

Psychologist in North Carolina on the effective date of this Rule 

shall not be required to have had one year of supervised 

experience which meets the requirements of an organized health 

services training program as specified in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule, but shall have completed two years of supervised 

experience, of which at least one year shall be post-doctoral, as 

defined in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(f)  An applicant who documents that he/she he or she meets any 

one of the following criteria shall be deemed to meet all 

requirements of this Rule for certification as a health services 

provider psychologist (HSP-P): 

(1) is currently approved for listing, or is currently 

listed, in the National Register of Health 

Service Providers in Psychology; 

(2) is a diplomate in good standing of the American 

Board of Professional Psychology in Clinical 

Psychology, Counseling Psychology, or School 

Psychology; 

(3) is a graduate from a doctoral program which 

was accredited at the time of the applicant's 

graduation by the American Psychological 

Association in Clinical Psychology, Counseling 

Psychology, School Psychology, or Combined 

Professional-Scientific Psychology and which 

included an internship accredited by the 

American Psychological Association, and who 

completes a postdoctoral year of supervised 

experience as defined in either Paragraph (c) or 

(d) of this Rule; 
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(4) is a graduate from a doctoral program which 

was fully accredited at the time of the 

applicant's graduation by the American 

Psychological Association in School 

Psychology and which included an internship 

meeting the guidelines of the Council of 

Directors of School Psychology Programs as 

documented by the program chair, and who 

completes a postdoctoral year of supervised 

experience as defined in either Paragraph (c) or 

(d) of this Rule; 

(5) is a graduate who received a doctoral degree 

prior to 1979 from a program which included 

course work which demonstrates an academic 

foundation in the provision of health services as 

defined in Rule .2701(a) of this Section, and 

which included the equivalent of a one year 

supervised internship in an American 

Psychological Association accredited program 

providing health services, in a Veterans 

Administration setting providing health 

services, or at a site providing health services 

which was specifically acceptable to the 

applicant's doctoral training program, and who 

completes a postdoctoral year of supervised 

experience as defined in either Paragraph (c) or 

(d) of this Rule; or 

(6) is approved for licensure under senior 

psychologist requirements specified in 21 

NCAC 54 .1707 and demonstrates that at least 

25 percent of his/her his or her qualifying 

practice has been in the provision of direct 

health services, as defined in Rule .2701(a) of 

this Section. 

(g)  An applicant applying under Subparagraph (f)(1) of this Rule, 

and who has not yet been approved for listing in the National 

Register of Health Service Providers in Psychology, shall be 

permitted to file an affidavit verifying that he/she he or she 

qualifies for listing in the Register. Upon receipt of this affidavit, 

the Board may issue a health services provider certificate, 

conditioned upon receipt of a letter from the Register within 60 

days of receipt of the affidavit which confirms approval for, or 

listing in, the Register. An extension of the 60 days may be 

granted upon showing that additional time is needed for 

application review by the National Register of Health Service 

Providers. (h) An applicant for health services provider 

certification who knowingly provides false or fraudulent 

information to the Board with respect to his/her his or her 

application, or who fails to provide the notification from the 

National Register of Health Service Providers in Psychology 

where required, shall be subject to disciplinary action by the 

Board, including revocation of licensure and the health services 

provider certificate. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.15(a)(3); 90-270.15(a)(22); 90-

270.20(b). 

 

 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2705 HSP-PP REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  To be certified as a health services provider psychologist 

(HSP-PP), a licensed psychologist holding provisional North 

Carolina licensure shall be qualified by education. An applicant 

shall submit a completed, notarized application form and and, if 

requested by the Board, provide documentation of meeting health 

services provider requirements. The application form shall 

include the following information: applicant's name; mailing 

address; email address; telephone number; license number; and 

health services provider certification level applying for. 

(b)  An applicant shall demonstrate that he/she he or she is 

qualified by education to provide health services by meeting one 

of the criteria defined in Rule .2704(b) of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.20(d). 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2706 HSP-PA REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  To be certified as a health services provider psychological 

associate (HSP-PA), a North Carolina licensed psychological 

associate shall be qualified by education. An applicant shall 

submit a completed, notarized application form and and, if 

requested by the Board, provide documentation of meeting health 

services provider requirements. The application form shall 

include the following information: applicant's name; mailing 

address; email address; telephone number; license number; and 

health services provider certification level applying for. 

(b)  An applicant shall demonstrate that he/she he or she holds a 

master's, specialist, or doctoral degree which provides an 

academic foundation in the provision of health services as defined 

in Rule .2701(a) of this Section and which meets the following 

requirements: 

(1) The master's, specialist, or doctoral program in 

psychology shall be an organized training 

program which has established a clear intent, 

through the structure of the program and in 

institutional publications, to train individuals to 

provide health services in psychology as 

defined in G.S. 90-270.2(4) and Rule .2701(a) 

of this Section. 

(2) Within the applicant's training program in 

health services in psychology, course work 

shall have been completed in the areas of 

assessment, diagnosis, intervention, and 

psychopathology. The applicant shall further 

establish that he or she has completed relevant 

course work that has provided training in 

diagnosis, evaluation, treatment, remediation, 

or prevention of one or more of the following 

areas: 

(A) mental, emotional, and behavioral 

disorder, disability, and illness; 

(B) substance abuse; 

(C) habit and conduct disorder; or 

(D) psychological aspects of physical 

illness, accident, injury, and disability. 

(3) Pursuant to final Board approval, an applicant 

shall be considered to have been trained in the 

provision of health services in psychology if the 

applicant establishes that requirements set forth 
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in Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2) of this Rule 

have been met through a master's, specialist, or 

doctoral degree program in psychology in any 

one of the following areas of specialization in 

psychology: applied behavior analysis in 

psychology, applied developmental 

psychology, clinical psychology, counseling 

psychology, rehabilitation psychology, school 

psychology, health psychology, or substance 

abuse treatment psychology. 

(4) If the applicant is unable to establish that he or 

she has a master's, specialist, or doctoral degree 

from a program in psychology that provides 

training in the provision of health services, the 

applicant shall not be eligible for HSP-PA 

certification. This shall apply even if the 

applicant establishes that course work in the 

areas listed in Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule 

was completed or if the applicant has completed 

an applied training experience (i.e., practicum, 

internship, residency, postdoctoral fellowship, 

etc.) in the provision of health services without 

having completed a planned and directed 

training program in health services in 

psychology. 

(5) An applicant who has completed a program in 

psychology that establishes in institutional 

publications an intent to train individuals for 

careers in administration, research, teaching, 

academia, and other areas not involving 

training in the provision of health services in 

psychology shall not be considered to have 

been provided an academic foundation in the 

provision of health services and shall not be 

approved for HSP-PA certification. 

(6) Only course work taken at an institution of 

higher education as defined in G.S. 90-270.2(5) 

shall be considered by the Board to establish 

that an applicant has an academic foundation in 

the provision of health services. 

(7) Applicants for HSP-PA who received their 

degrees during or after 1997 shall document 

that their degree program included an 

internship, externship, practicum, or supervised 

field experience at a site providing health 

services. This supervised training experience 

shall meet all of the following criteria: 

(A) It shall be a planned and directed 

program of training in health services, 

in contrast to on-the-job training, and 

shall provide the trainee with a 

planned and directed sequence of 

training integrated with the 

educational program in which the 

student is enrolled. This supervised 

training experience shall be planned 

by the educational program faculty 

and training site staff rather than by 

the student. 

(B) The supervised training experience 

shall have a written description 

detailing the program of training, or a 

written agreement, developed prior to 

the time of the training, between the 

student's educational program and the 

training site. Such an agreement shall 

be approved by the student's 

educational program prior to the 

beginning of the supervised training 

experience. 

(C) The supervised training experience 

site shall have a designated and 

appropriately licensed or certified 

psychologist or psychological 

associate responsible for the integrity 

and quality of the supervised training 

experience. 

(D) A student enrolled in a supervised 

training experience shall be designated 

as any of the following: an "intern," 

"extern," or "practicum student," or 

shall hold a title which indicates 

training status for the practice of 

psychology and provision of health 

services. 

(E) The supervised training experience 

shall be a minimum of 12 weeks 

consisting of at least 500 hours of 

supervised training. At least 400 hours 

of the training shall be in the provision 

of health services as defined by G.S. 

90-270.2(4) and Rule .2701(a) of this 

Section. 

(F) The supervised training experience 

shall be completed within a period of 

12 consecutive months at not more 

than two training sites. 

(G) Except as provided in Part (b)(7)(H) of 

this Rule, regularly scheduled 

individual face-to-face supervision 

with the specific intent of overseeing 

the provision of health services shall 

be provided by a North Carolina 

licensed or certified psychologist or 

psychological associate or by a 

psychologist who is exempt from 

licensure, pursuant to G.S. 90-

270.4(b), at a rate of not less than one 

hour per week during at least 12 

separate weeks of the supervised 

training experience. The supervisor 

shall establish and maintain a level of 

supervisory contact consistent with 

professional standards and shall be 

accessible to the student. 

(H) If completing a supervised training 

experience outside of North Carolina, 

the student shall be provided regularly 
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scheduled individual face-to-face 

supervision with the specific intent of 

overseeing the provision of health 

services by a licensed or certified 

psychologist or psychological 

associate or by an individual holding a 

master's, specialist, or doctoral degree 

in psychology, at a rate of not less than 

one hour per week during at least 12 

separate weeks of the supervised 

training experience. The supervisor 

shall establish and maintain a level of 

supervisory contact consistent with 

professional standards and shall be 

accessible to the student. Proof of the 

supervisor's license or degree 

program, as applicable, may be 

required by the Board to establish the 

supervisor's training in psychology. 

(c)  An applicant who is approved for licensure as a Psychological 

Associate under senior psychologist requirements specified in 21 

NCAC 54 .1707 and demonstrates that at least 25 percent of 

his/her his or her qualifying practice has been in the provision of 

direct health services, as defined in Rule .2701(a) of this Section, 

shall be deemed to meet all requirements of this Rule for 

certification as a health services provider psychological associate 

(HSP-PA). 

Authority G.S. 90-270.9; 90-270.13(c); 90-270.20(c). 

 

SECTION .2800 - ANCILLARY SERVICES 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2801 SCOPE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2802 TITLES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2803 EMPLOYMENT AND 

SUPERVISION OF UNLICENSED INDIVIDUALS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2804 QUALIFICATIONS AND 

TRAINING (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2805 SERVICES APPROPRIATE FOR 

ANCILLARY SERVICES PERSONNEL (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

21 NCAC 54 .2806 SERVICES NOT APPROPRIATE 

FOR UNLICENSED INDIVIDUALS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

 

TITLE 16 – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Board of Education 

 

Rule Citation:  16 NCAC 06A .0104; 06B .0109-.0114; 06C 

.0316-.0333, .0701; 06D .0107, .0211, .0212, .0307-.0313; 06E 

.0106, .0107, .0204-.0206; 06G .0314-.0316, .0503-.0524; 06H 

.0113-.0117; and 06K .0101-.0105 

 

Effective Date:  August 20, 2019 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  August 12, 

2019 

 

Reason for Action:  On July 22, 2019, HB 362 (SL 2019-154)-

An Act to Adopt a Fifteen-Point Scale in the Determination of 

School Performance Grades, To Require the State Board of 

Education to Adopt Emergency Rules in Preparation for 

Permanent Rule Making and To Direct the State Board of 

Education to Study the Reporting Methods used for School 

Accountability Purposes on the North Carolina Annual Report 

Cards became law.  Section 27.(b) of SL 2019-154 states that, 

"The General Assembly finds that the North Carolina Supreme 

Court, in North Carolina State Board of Education v. State of 

North Carolina and the North Carolina Rules Review 

Commission, No. 110PA16-2 (June 8, 2018), affirmed the 

authority of the General Assembly to delegate authority to the 

Rules Review Commission to review and approve the 

administrative rules that are proposed by the State Board of 

Education for codification.  To ensure that administration of the 

free public schools shall continue without interruption, the 

existing policies of the State Board of Education subject to rule 

making as provided in Chapter 150B of the General Statutes shall 

be deemed interim rules so long as they do not conflict with any 

provisions of the General Statutes." 

Section 27.(b)(1) of SL 2019-154 states that, "The State Board of 

Education shall adopt all interim rules as emergency rules and 

submit those rules to the Codifier of Rules no later than August 9, 

2019."  Accordingly, in open session of its August 8, 2019 

meeting, the State Board of Education adopted as "emergency 

rules" those interim rules in its existing policy manual.  Presently, 

it is the Board's intention to adopt these emergency rules as 

permanent rules by May 30, 2020, in a manner consistent with SL 

2019-154 and the Administrative Procedure Act.  The Board 

expects to submit a notice for publication of text to adopt the 

emergency rules as permanent rule by December 6, 2019. 

 

Citation for 

Proposed Rule 

 

Title of Proposed Rule 

 

Existing  

SBE Interim 

Code* 

16 NCAC 06A .0104 Waivers for school calendar start and end dates CALN 000 

16 NCAC 06B .0109 Contract Transportation of Exceptional Children TRAN-000 

16 NCAC 06B .0110 Establishment of School Bus Routes TRAN-002 

16 NCAC 06B .0111 School Bus Passengers TRAN-006 

16 NCAC 06B .0112 Purchase of School Bus Equipment TRAN-008 

16 NCAC 06B .0113 Activity Bus Drivers TRAN-010 

16 NCAC 06B .0114 School Bus and Activity Bus Inspections TRAN-011 

16 NCAC 06C .0333 Clinical Practice in Education Preparation Programs (EPPs) EVAL-024 

16 NCAC 06C .0316 General Licensure Requirements  LICN 001 

16 NCAC 06C .0317 Routes to Licensure LICN 002 

16 NCAC 06C .0318 Licensing Testing Requirements LICN 003 

16 NCAC 06C .0319 Licensure Renewal Requirements LICN 005 

16 NCAC 06C .0320 Experience/Degree Credit for Salary Purposes LICN 006 

16 NCAC 06C .0321 License Suspension/Revocation LICN 007 

16 NCAC 06C .0322 Fees LICN 008 

16 NCAC 06C .0323 Procedure for Seeking Exception from Licensure Requirements LICN 021 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0324 

Conversion of Initial Professional License to Continuing Professional 

License 

 

LICN 022 

16 NCAC 06C .0325 Educator Preparation Program (EPP) Recognition and Approval TCED 004 

16 NCAC 06C .0326 Sanctions for Educator Preparation Programs (EPPs) TCED 008 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0327 

Minimum Admissions Requirements and Exceptions for Educator 

Preparation Program (EPP) Leading to Initial Licensure 

 

TCED 009 
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16 NCAC 06C .0328 

Reports of Alleged Violations Regarding Educator Preparation Programs 

(EPPs) 

 

TCED 012 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0329 

Educator Preparation Programs (EPP) Accountability Requirements and 

Risk Factors 

 

TCED 013 

16 NCAC 06C .0330 Teacher Assistants and Internships TCED 014 

16 NCAC 06C .0331 School Administrator Preparation Programs TCED 015 

16 NCAC 06C .0332 Beginning Teacher Support Programs TCED 016 

16 NCAC 06C .0701 Model Teacher Contracts for Teachers BENF-009 

16 NCAC 06D .0107 State Graduation Requirements GRAD 004 

16 NCAC 06D .0211 Textbook Evaluation Criteria and Invitation to Submit TEXT 002 

16 NCAC 06D .0212 Textbook Publishers Registry TEXT 006 

16 NCAC 06D .0307 Test Administration in Public Schools TEST-001 

16 NCAC 06D .0308 Role of the Testing Coordinator TEST-002 

16 NCAC 06D .0309 Requirements of End-of-Course Assessments TEST-003 

16 NCAC 06D .0310 Appropriate Use of State Tests TEST-004 

16 NCAC 06D .0311 Testing Code of Ethics  TEST-010 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0312 

English Learners:  Identification, Participation in the Statewide Testing 

Program, Eligibility for Testing Accommodations and Exit Criteria 

 

TEST-011 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0313 

Use of State-Designated Assessments for the NC Teacher Evaluation Process  

TEST-016 

16 NCAC 06E .0107 School Violence Acts Defined & Annual Report of these Crimes SSCH-000 

16 NCAC 06E .0106 Definition of Student Chronic Absenteeism Rate ATND-004 

16 NCAC 06E .0204 Interscholastic Athletics ATHL-001 

16 NCAC 06E .0205 Concussion Safety Requirements for Interscholastic Competition ATHL-003 

16 NCAC 06E .0206 Athletic Trainers ATHL 000 

16 NCAC 06G .0314 Alternative Schools’ Accountability Models ACCT-038 

16 NCAC 06G .0315 Accountability Annual Performance Standards ACCT-021 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0316 

Purpose and Composition of SBE’s Compliance Commission for 

Accountability 

 

ADVS-000 

16 NCAC 06G .0503 Charter School Accountability Requirements CHTR-001 

16 NCAC 06G .0504 Charter Schools Student Admissions CHTR-003 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0505 

Charter Schools Financial Noncompliance – Impact of Financial 

Noncompliance 

 

CHTR-006 

16 NCAC 06G .0506 Charter Schools Governance Noncompliance CHTR-006 

16 NCAC 06G .0507 Charter School Renewal Process CHTR-007 

16 NCAC 06G .0508 Charter School Application and Review Process CHTR-012 

16 NCAC 06G .0509 Planning Year for New Preliminary Charter Schools CHTR-013 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0510 

Charter Amendments for Existing Public Charter Schools – Approval 

Process 

 

CHTR-014 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0511 

Charter Amendments for Existing Public Charter Schools – Required 

Documentation 

 

CHTR-014 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0512 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools – Purpose and 

Definitions  

 

CHTR-016 

16 NCAC 06G .0513 Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - Eligibility CHTR-016 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0514 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools – General 

Requirements 

 

CHTR-016 

16 NCAC 06G .0515 Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - Accountability CHTR-016 

16 NCAC 06G .0516 Virtual Charter Schools Attendance and Membership – Applicability CHTR-018 

16 NCAC 06G .0517 Alternative Charter School Designation Policy – Purpose and Applicability CHTR-020 

16 NCAC 06G .0518 Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Eligibility CHTR-020 

16 NCAC 06G .0519 Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Application CHTR-020 

16 NCAC 06G .0520 Alternative Charter School Designation Policy – Application Approval CHTR-020 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0521 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy – Review and Renewal of 

Designation 

 

CHTR-020 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0522 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy – Termination of Designation  

CHTR-020 

16 NCAC 06G .0523 Management Organizations and Support Organizations CHTR-021 
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16 NCAC 06G .0524 

Charter Schools Process for Assumption of Inadequately Performing Charter 

Schools 

 

CHTR-017 

16 NCAC 06H .0113 Nutrition Standards for Elementary Schools CHNU-002 

16 NCAC 06H .0114 Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students – Definitions SBOP-020 

 

16 NCAC 06H .0115 

Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students – LEA Dispute 

Resolution Process 

 

SBOP-020 

16 NCAC 06H .0116 Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students – State Appeal Process SBOP-020 

16 NCAC 06H .0117 Operations of Federal Programs FEDL-000 

16 NCAC 06K .0101 School Security ESDB 001 

16 NCAC 06K .0102 Due Process Manual ESDB 002 

16 NCAC 06K .0103 SCOS ESDB 010 

16 NCAC 06K .0104 Placement procedures ESDB 014 

16 NCAC 06K .0105 Weapons Prohibited on School Property ESDB 021 
 

*Provided for Reference Purposes Only 

 

Full text of the Emergency Rules are posted on the OAH website:  https://files.nc.gov/ncoah/documents/Rules/16-NCAC-06-Emergency-

Rules.pdf 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on July 18, 2019 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Definitions 01 NCAC 06F .0101 33:19 NCR 

Application 01 NCAC 06F .0102 33:19 NCR 

Procedures 01 NCAC 06F .0103 33:19 NCR 

Terms and Conditions 01 NCAC 06F .0104 33:19 NCR 

Termination 01 NCAC 06F .0105 33:19 NCR 

Function 01 NCAC 09 .0501 33:20 NCR 

Applicant Review 01 NCAC 09 .0502 33:20 NCR 

HHS - HEALTH BENEFITS, DIVISION OF 

Disability 10A NCAC 23E .0105* 33:13 NCR 

What Resources are Counted 10A NCAC 23E .0202* 33:13 NCR 

Time Limits for Corrections 10A NCAC 23G .0203* 33:13 NCR 

Procedure for Review of Records 10A NCAC 23H .0109* 33:13 NCR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Rule-Making and Administrative Hearing Procedures 12 NCAC 09A .0107* 33:13 NCR 

Administrative Hearing Procedures 12 NCAC 09A .0207* 33:13 NCR 

Certification of Instructors 12 NCAC 09B .0301* 33:13 NCR 

Terms and Conditions of General Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09B .0303* 33:13 NCR 

Terms and Conditions of Specialized Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09B .0305* 33:18 NCR 

Terms and Conditions of Specialized Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09B .0305* 33:18 NCR 

Suspension: Revocation: Denial/School Dir. Certification 12 NCAC 09B .0503* 33:13 NCR 

Certification of Qualified Assistant 12 NCAC 09B .0504* 33:18 NCR 

Terms and Conditions of Qualified Assistant 12 NCAC 09B .0505* 33:18 NCR 

Agency Retention of Records of Certification 12 NCAC 09C .0307 33:13 NCR 

Minimum Training Specifications: Annual In-Service Training 12 NCAC 09E .0105* 33:13 NCR 

Instructor Responsibilities 12 NCAC 09F .0105* 33:13 NCR 

Retention of Records of Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0306* 33:13 NCR 

Certification of Instructors 12 NCAC 09G .0307* 33:13 NCR 

Terms and Conditions of Specialized Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0311* 33:18 NCR 

Suspension: Revocation: Denial/School Dir. Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0407* 33:13 NCR 

Certification of Qualified Assistant 12 NCAC 09G .0417* 33:18 NCR 

Terms and Conditions of Qualified Assistant Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0418* 33:18 NCR 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Documentation of Educational Requirements 12 NCAC 10B .0302* 33:17 NCR 

Basic Law Enforcement Certificate 12 NCAC 10B .1003 33:17 NCR 

Basic Detention Officer Professional Certificate 12 NCAC 10B .1203 33:17 NCR 

Basic Reserve Deputy Sheriff Professional Certificate 12 NCAC 10B .1403 33:17 NCR 
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Basic Telecommunicator Certificate 12 NCAC 10B .1603 33:17 NCR 

Minimum Training Requirements 12 NCAC 10B .2005* 33:17 NCR 

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Fees 19A NCAC 02E .0221* 33:18 NCR 

Location Of TODS 19A NCAC 02E .1103* 33:18 NCR 

Composition of Signs 19A NCAC 02E .1105* 33:18 NCR 

Fees 19A NCAC 02E .1106* 33:18 NCR 

DIETETICS/NUTRITION, BOARD OF 

Applications 21 NCAC 17 .0104* 33:20 NCR 

Examination for Licensure 21 NCAC 17 .0105 33:20 NCR 

Provisional License 21 NCAC 17 .0107* 33:20 NCR 

Issuance and Renewal of License 21 NCAC 17 .0109* 33:20 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 01 - DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

 

01 NCAC 06F .0101 DEFINITIONS 

For the purposes of this Chapter, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Agency" means the body to which State 

owned or leased property is allocated. 

(2) "DIT" means the NC Department of 

Information Technology. 

(3) "WISP" means Wireless Internet Service 

Provider. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 146-29.1; 146-29.2; 146-30; 

S.L. 2018-5, s. 37.1(a)-(i); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 28, 2019; 

Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

01 NCAC 06F .0102 APPLICATION 

Upon referral from the DIT, an Agency requesting the 

construction and placement of broadband equipment on state 

property shall submit to the Division of State Property a 

completed PO-2, Disposition of Real Property form, as set forth 

in 01 NCAC 06B .0300, and BB-2, WISP Application form, that 

shall include the following information: 

(1) description of the state property; 

(2) information pertaining to the lessee; and 

(3) equipment to be used and scope of work. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 146-29.1; 146-29.2; 146-30; 

S.L. 2018-5, s. 37.1(a)-(i); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 28, 2019; 

Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

01 NCAC 06F .0103 PROCEDURES 

(a)  The Division of State Property shall evaluate the information 

provided on the application and determine fair market value of the 

lease pursuant to G.S. 146-29.1. 

(b)  The Division of State Property shall generate the lease, 

license, or easement and provide it to the Agency for review and 

distribution to the broadband provider. 

(c)  Prior to the construction or placement of broadband 

equipment, the broadband provider and the Division of State 

Property shall execute duplicate original agreements. 

(d)  The Agency shall ensure all equipment is installed in 

accordance with the terms set out in the lease, license or easement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 146-29.1; 146-29.2; 146-30; 

S.L. 2018-5, s. 37.1(a)-(i); 

Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

01 NCAC 06F .0104 TERMS AND CONDITIONS 

The following terms and conditions shall apply to the location and 

installation of equipment by a broadband provider on state owned 

or leased property: 

(1) All lease and license agreements shall be a five 

year term with two optional five year renewal 

periods. 

(2) All lease and license agreements shall include 

an access agreement and a non-exclusive utility 

easement. 

(3) The fair market value of the state-owned or 

leased property is subject to an annual rate 

adjustment as set forth in the lease. 

(4) Rent shall be paid annually on the anniversary 

of the executed lease. 

(5) An Agency may require an escrow fund as part 

of the broadband provider's lease or license 

agreement. 

(6) Site specific protocols as set out in the lease and 

license agreement for construction and 

maintenance procedures shall be adhered to by 

the Applicant during installation and during any 

maintenance. 

(7) Upgrades or changes to equipment shall be 

reviewed by the Division of State Property for 

compliance with the existing lease prior to any 

changes to equipment. 

(8) The Agency shall not supply space in any 

existing equipment buildings, nor electricity. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 146-29.1; 146-29.2; 146-30; 

S.L. 2018-5, s. 37.1(a)-(i); 

Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

01 NCAC 06F .0105 TERMINATION 

Upon termination of the agreement, at the Agency's request, the 

broadband provider shall remove equipment and cabling from the 

tower, ice-bridge, and within fenced property. The Agency shall 

then inspect the property to ensure compliance with this 

Paragraph. Upon a finding by the Agency that all equipment and 

cabling is removed, and the property has been returned to pre-

leased conditions, the escrow funds shall be returned to the 

broadband provider within 60 days. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 146-29.1; 146-29.2; 146-30; 

S.L. 2018-5, s. 37.1(a)-(i); 

Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

01 NCAC 09 .0501 FUNCTION 

01 NCAC 09 .0502 APPLICANT REVIEW 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A; 143-341; Federal 

Executive Order 12372; 

Eff. December 1, 1983; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0105 DISABILITY 

(a)  As set out in the Medicaid State Plan, individuals eligible for 

Medicaid in December 1973 as disabled individuals and who meet 

conditions required by 42 CFR 435.133 shall be permanently and 

totally disabled based on a physical or mental impairment that 

precludes him or her from engaging in substantial gainful activity, 

as defined at 20 CFR 416.910, which is incorporated by reference 

with subsequent amendments and editions and available free of 

charge at https://www.ecfr.gov/, and such impairment can be 

expected to result in death, or has lasted or can be expected to last 

12 months or longer.  

(b)  Any client who has applied for Medicaid since January 1, 

1974 on the basis of disability shall be found disabled under the 

definition of disability and procedures established for evaluation 

of vocational and medical factors under the supplemental security 

income program. 

(c)  A social history shall be completed by the caseworker and 

submitted to the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Services, 

Disability Determination Services Section with the request for 

disability determination. The social history shall provide 

information to identify and contact the claimant; contact 

information of anyone assisting the claimant in providing the 

social history; nature and onset of the impairment with the date it 

became disabling; date claimant stopped work or if still working, 

provide name of employer with contact information, how many 

hours worked and earnings; claimant's description of impairment; 

work history and educational background; contact information for 

all medical sources during the last 12 months with condition 

treated, dates seen, and whether treatment is still ongoing; 

Vocational Rehabilitation office, counselor's contact information, 

and last seen date; in cases where mental impairment is alleged or 

there is evidence of drug or alcohol abuse or homelessness, 

provide name, address, and phone number of a third party contact; 

signature, title, and phone number of caseworker. 

(d)  The Disability Determination Services Section shall 

determine disability for all individuals, except for those receiving 

social security or supplemental security income on the basis of a 

disability.  

(e)  Social Security Administration (SSA) decisions made for 

social security disability or supplemental security income shall be 

binding for persons applying for Medicaid. 

(f)  Disability determination shall be verified from the client's 

award letter, SDX, BENDEX, Disability Determination Services 

Section approval, Administrative Law Judge decision, or other 

documentary evidence. SDX and BENDEX are defined in 10A 

NCAC 23A .0102. 

(g)  Disability for purposes of Medicaid eligibility shall cease 

when the client is determined by the Social Security 

Administration or the Disability Determination Services Section 

to be capable of engaging in substantial gainful activity. The client 

may appeal the termination of Medicaid, pursuant to G.S. 108A-

70.9A.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 20 

C.F.R. 404.1505; 42 C.F.R. 435.540; 42 C.F.R. 435.541; 

Alexander v. Flaherty Consent Order filed February 14, 1992; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0305 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0202 WHAT RESOURCES ARE 

COUNTED  

(a)  North Carolina has contracted with the Social Security 

Administration under Section 1634 of the Social Security Act to 

provide Medicaid to all SSI recipients. Except as specified in 

Paragraphs (j) and (k) of this Rule, the resources that are counted 

for Medicaid eligibility for individuals under any aged, blind, and 

disabled coverage group shall be determined based on standards 

and methodologies in Title XVI of the Social Security Act, which 

is incorporated by reference including all subsequent amendments 

and editions. This CFR may be accessed at 

http://uscode.house.gov/ at no cost. Applicants for and recipients 

of Medicaid shall use their own resources to meet their needs for 

living costs and medical care to the extent that such resources can 

be made available. 

(b)  The value of resources currently available to any member of 

a budget unit, as defined in 10A NCAC 23A .0102, shall be 

considered in determining financial eligibility. A resource shall be 

considered available when it is actually available and when the 

budget unit member has a legal interest in the resource and he or 

she, or someone acting in his or her behalf, can take any necessary 

action to make it available. 

(c)  Resources shall be excluded in determining financial 

eligibility when the budget unit member with a legal interest in 

the resources is declared incompetent, unless: 
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(1) A guardian of the estate, a general guardian, or 

an interim guardian has been appointed in 

accordance with the law and is able to act on 

behalf of his or her ward in North Carolina and 

in any state where such resources are located; 

or 

(2) A durable power of attorney, valid in North 

Carolina and in any state where such resource 

is located, has been granted to a person who is 

authorized and able to exercise such power. 

(d)  When there is a guardian, an interim guardian, or a person 

holding a valid, durable power of attorney for a budget unit 

member, but such person is unable, fails, or refuses to act within 

application processing time standards to make the resources 

available to meet the needs of the budget unit member, a referral 

shall be made to the services unit of the county department of 

social services for a determination of whether the guardian or 

attorney in fact is acting in the best interests of the member and if 

not, the county department of social services shall contact the 

clerk of court for intervention. The resources shall be excluded in 

determining financial eligibility pending action by the clerk of 

court. 

(e)  When a Medicaid application is filed on behalf of an 

individual who: 

(1) is alleged to be mentally incompetent;  

(2) has or may have a legal interest in a resource 

that affects the individual's eligibility; and  

(3) does not have a representative with legal 

authority to use or dispose of the individual's 

resources 

the individual's representative or family member shall be 

instructed by the county department of social services to file 

within 30 calendar days a judicial proceeding under G.S. 35A to 

declare the individual incompetent and appoint a guardian. If the 

representative or family member either fails to file such a 

proceeding within 30 calendar days or fails to obtain a ruling on 

the filed proceeding within the deadlines set by the Clerk of Court 

in the county where the proceeding will be heard or causes it to be 

dismissed, a referral shall be made to the protective services unit 

of the county department of social services for guardianship 

services. If an allegation of incompetence is supported by 

competent evidence as defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule, and 

the incompetence has lasted, or is expected to last, at least 30 

consecutive days or until the individual's death, the resources shall 

be excluded beginning with the date that the evidence shows that 

he or she became incompetent, except as provided in Paragraphs 

(f) or (g) of this Rule. 

(f)  The budget unit member's resources shall be counted in 

determining his or her eligibility for Medicaid beginning the first 

day of the month following the month a guardian of the estate, 

general guardian, or interim guardian is appointed, provided that 

after the appointment, property that cannot be disposed of or used 

except by order of the court shall continue to be excluded until 

completion of the applicable procedures for disposition specified 

in G.S. 1 or G.S. 35A. 

(g)  When the court rules that the budget unit member is 

competent or no ruling is made because of the death or recovery 

from incompetence of the member, his or her resources shall be 

counted except for periods of time for which it can be established 

by competent evidence as defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule, 

that the member was in fact incompetent for at least 30 

consecutive days, or until his or her death. Any showing of 

incompetence is subject to rebuttal by competent evidence as 

defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 

(h)  For purposes of this Rule, "competent evidence" is defined as 

the written statement or testimony at a competency hearing of a 

physician, psychologist, nurse, or social worker with knowledge 

of the physical and mental condition of the individual, that 

contains information on the individual's condition, the basis of 

that information, the beginning date of incompetence, the reason 

the individual is incompetent, and, if no longer incompetent, when 

the individual recovered competence. 

(i)  If the value of countable resources of the budget unit exceeds 

the reserve allowance for the unit as set out in the Medicaid State 

Plan, the case shall be ineligible unless one of the following is 

met: 

(1) For Family and Children's medically needy 

cases and aged, blind, or disabled cases 

protected by grandfathered provisions, and 

medically needy cases not protected by 

grandfathered provision, eligibility shall begin 

on the day countable resources are reduced to 

allowable limits or excess income is spent 

down, whichever occurs later; 

(2) For categorically needy aged, blind, or disabled 

cases not protected by grandfathered 

provisions, eligibility shall begin no earlier than 

the month countable resources are reduced to 

allowable limits as of 11:59 pm on the last day 

of the previous month. 

(j)  Resources counted in the determination of financial eligibility 

for categorically needy aged, blind, and disabled cases, and 

Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries, Specified Low-Income 

Medicare Beneficiaries, Qualifying Individual and Qualified 

Disabled Working Individual cases shall be based on resource 

standards and methodologies in Title XVI of the Social Security 

Act except for the following methodologies: 

(1) The value of personal effects and household 

goods shall be not counted. 

(2) The value of tenancy in common interest in real 

property shall be not counted. 

(3) The value of life estate interest in real property 

shall be not counted. 

(4) The value of burial plots shall be not counted. 

(5) The cash value of life insurance when the total 

face value of all cash value bearing life 

insurance policies does not exceed ten thousand 

dollars ($10,000.00) shall be not counted. 

(k)  Resources counted in the determination of financial eligibility 

for medically needy aged, blind, and disabled cases shall be based 

on resource standards and methodologies in Title XVI of the 

Social Security Act except for the following methodologies: 

(1) The value of personal effects and household 

goods shall be not counted. 

(2) The value of tenancy in common interest in real 

property shall be not counted. 

(3) The value of life estate interest in real property 

shall not be counted. 
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(4) Individuals with resources in excess of the 

resource limit at 11:59 pm on the last day of the 

previous month, the first moment of the month 

may become eligible during the current month 

at the point that resources are reduced to the 

allowable limit. 

(5) The value of burial plots shall be not counted. 

(6) The cash value of life insurance when the total 

face value of all cash value bearing life 

insurance polities does not exceed ten thousand 

dollars ($10,000.00) shall be not counted. 

(l)  Resources counted in the determination of financial eligibility 

for Family and Children's medically needy cases are: 

(1) Cash on hand; 

(2) The balance of savings accounts, including 

savings of a student saving his or her earnings 

for school expenses; 

(3) The balance of checking accounts, less the 

current monthly income , deposited to meet the 

budget unit's monthly needs when reserve was 

verified by the county department of social 

services or lump sum income from 

self-employment deposited to pay annual 

expenses; 

(4) The cash value of life insurance policies when 

the total face value of all policies that accrue 

cash value exceeds one thousand five hundred 

dollars ($1,500.00); 

(5) Stocks, bonds, mutual fund shares, certificates 

of deposit, and other liquid assets; 

(6) Assets held in patient accounts in long term care 

facilities; and 

(7) Equity in non-income producing personal 

property limited to: 

(A) Mobile home not used as home; 

(B) Boats, boat trailers, and boat motors; 

(C) Campers; 

(D) Farm and business equipment; and 

(E) Equity in motor vehicles in excess of 

one vehicle per adult if not income-

producing. 

(m)  Real property shall be excluded from countable resources for 

Family and Children's medically needy cases. 

(n)  One motor vehicle per adult shall be excluded for Family and 

Children's medically needy cases. 

(o)  For Family and Children's medically needy cases, income-

producing vehicles and personal property shall be excluded from 

countable resources. 

(p)  For Family and Children's medically needy cases, the value 

of non-excluded motor vehicles is the Current Market Value as 

determined by the assessed county tax value, less encumbrances. 

If the client disagrees with the assigned value, he or she has the 

right to rebut the value by producing independent evidence of 

value. 

(q)  There is no resource test for Family and Children's 

categorically needy cases pursuant to 42 C.F.R. 435.603. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

55; 42 U.S.C. 703; 42 U.S.C. 704; 42 U.S.C. 1396; 42 C.F.R. 

435.121; 42 C.F.R. 435.210; 42 C.F.R. 435.603; 4 42 C.F.R. 

435.840; 42 C.F.R. 435.843; 42 C.F.R. 435.845; 45 C.F.R. 

233.20;  

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 1985, for a period of 92 

days to expire on December 1, 1985; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1995; November 1, 1994; September 1, 

1993; March 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 13, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Expired June 27, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 12, 2000; 

Amended Eff. March 19, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 16, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0310 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23G .0203 TIME LIMITS FOR 

CORRECTIONS 

(a)  The county department of social services and Division shall 

make corrections required by Rule .0202 of this Section within 30 

days after discovery of the need for action unless good cause 

exists to extend the time limit.  

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule, "good cause" is limited to: 

(1) The need of the county department of social 

services to obtain verification, as defined at 

10A NCAC 23A .0102, of other conditions of 

eligibility before authorizing eligibility;  

(2) The county department of social services is 

unable to locate the applicant or recipient; or 

(3) The county department of social services 

disagrees with a decision requiring corrective 

action and requests administrative review by 

the Division. In the case of disagreement under 

Rule .0202(a)(2) of this Section, administrative 

review by the Division shall be limited to 

decisions issued pursuant to G.S. 108A-79(j). 

(c)  To receive State and federal financial participation in any 

benefits authorized retroactively by corrective actions, the 

effective date of the correction must correspond with the date 

assistance would have been effective but may be no earlier than 

the following dates: 

(1) Retroactive to the date ordered by the appeal or 

court decision if all eligibility conditions are 

met, including any legal retroactive coverage 

period associated with the adverse action;  

(2) Retroactive to the date that all requirements of 

eligibility are met but no earlier than the 12th 

month immediately preceding the month the 

change is reported or the administrative error 

was discovered; or 

(3) Retroactive to the date required for corrective 

action due to errors cited from monitoring 

under application processing standards in 10A 

NCAC 23C .0202. 
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(d)  If the change is adverse to the recipient, it shall be effective 

the first calendar month following expiration of the 10 business 

day advance notice period, as defined in 10A NCAC 23A .0102.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 42 

C.F.R. 431.246; 42 C.F.R. 431.250; 42 C.F.R. 435.903;  

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0603 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23H .0109 PROCEDURE FOR REVIEW OF 

RECORDS 

(a)  The director or his or her delegated representative shall be 

present when the client reviews the record. The director or his or 

her delegated representative shall document in the client record 

the review of the record by the client. 

(b)  A client may contest the accuracy, completeness, or relevancy 

of the information in his or her record. If the Division or county 

department of social services determines correction is required by 

federal statute or regulation to support receipt of State or federal 

participation, the correction of the contested information shall be 

accomplished by inserting it in the record when the director or his 

or her delegated representative concurs that such correction is 

justified. When the director or his or her delegated representative 

does not concur, the client shall be allowed to enter a statement in 

the record. Deletion of the contested information is not permitted. 

If a delegated representative decides not to correct contested 

information, the decision not to correct shall be reviewed by the 

supervisor of the person making the initial decision. All 

corrections and statements shall be made a permanent part of the 

record and shall be disclosed to any recipient of the disputed 

information. 

(c)  Upon written request from the client, his or her personal 

representative, including an attorney, may have access to review 

or obtain without charge, a copy of the information in his or her 

record. The client may permit the personal representative to have 

access to his or her entire record or may restrict access to certain 

portions of the record. Rules .0107 and .0108 of this Section shall 

apply. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

80; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0409 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0107 PROCEDURES FOR PETITONS 

FOR RULE-MAKING  

(a)  Petitions for Rule-Making shall be submitted to the 

Commission and shall contain: 

(1) petitioner's name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(2) a draft of the proposed rule or rule change for 

adoptions or amendments; and 

(3) the reason for its proposal. 

(b)  Petitioners may also submit the following in the petition: 

(1) the effect of the proposal on existing rules or 

decisions; 

(2) data supporting the proposal; 

(3) practices likely to be affected by the proposal; 

and 

(4) a list or description of persons likely to be 

affected by the proposed rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-20; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; November 1, 1993; July 1, 1988; 

April 1, 1984; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-33(b)(9), Administrative Law Judge 

Donald W. Overby declared Paragraph (d) of this rule void as 

applied in Curtis Canty v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission (14 DOJ 01202); 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0207 ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING 

PROCEDURES 

(a)  Administrative hearings in contested cases conducted by the 

Commission or an Administrative Law Judge as authorized in 

G.S. 150B-40(e) shall be governed by: 

(1) procedures set out in Article 3A of G.S. 150B; 

(2) the Rules of Civil Procedure as contained in 

G.S. 1A-1; 

(3) the General Rules of Practice for the Superior 

and District Courts as authorized by G.S. 7A-

34 and found in the Rules Volume of the North 

Carolina General Statutes. 

(b)  The rules establishing procedures for contested cases adopted 

by the Office of Administrative Hearings as contained in 26 

NCAC 03 are hereby incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, for contested cases for 

which this agency has authority to adopt rules pursuant to G.S. 

150B-38(h). 

(c)  If the case is conducted under G.S. 150B-40(b), the presiding 

officer shall have the powers and duties of the Chief 

Administrative Law Judge or the presiding Administrative Law 

Judge in 26 NCAC 03. 

(d)  Pursuant to G.S. 17C-11(b), an applicant for certification, or 

a certified officer shall have 30 days from the date of receipt of a 

notice of proposed action by the Commission to request a 

contested case hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-11(b); 150B-38(h); 

150B-40; 

Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0301 CERTIFICATION OF 

INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  A person participating in a Commission-certified criminal 

justice training course or program as an instructor, teacher, 

professor, lecturer, or other participant making presentations to 
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the class shall first be certified by the Commission as an 

instructor. 

(b)  The Commission shall certify instructors under the following 

categories: General Instructor Certification, Specialized 

Instructor Certification, or Professional Lecturer Certification as 

outlined in Rules .0302, .0304 and 0306 of this Section. Instructor 

certification shall be granted on the basis of documented 

qualifications of experience, education, and training in 

accordance with the requirements of this Section and as stated on 

the applicant's Request for Instructor Certification Form. 

(c)  In addition to all other requirements of this Section, each 

instructor certified by the Commission to teach in a Commission-

certified course shall remain competent in his or her specialized 

areas. Such competence shall include remaining current in the 

instructor's area of expertise, which shall be demonstrated by 

attending and completing all updated instructor training courses 

required by the Commission. 

(d)  If a person certified as an instructor by the Commission is 

found to have knowingly and willfully violated any provision or 

requirement of the rules in this Subchapter, the Commission shall 

take action to correct the violation and to ensure that the violation 

does not recur, including: 

(1) issuing an oral warning and request for 

compliance; 

(2) issuing a written warning and request for 

compliance; 

(3) issuing an official written reprimand; 

(4) suspending the individual's certification for a 

specified period of time or until acceptable 

corrective action is taken by the individual; and 

(5) revoking the individual's certification. 

(e)  The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke an instructor's 

certification when the Commission finds that the person: 

(1) has failed to meet and maintain any of the 

requirements for qualification; 

(2) has failed to remain competent in the person's 

areas of expertise; 

(3) has failed to deliver training in a manner 

consistent with the instructor lesson plans 

outlined in the "Instructor Training Manual" as 

found in Rule .0209 of this Subchapter; 

(4) has failed to follow specific guidelines outlined 

in the "Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Course Management Guide" as found in Rule 

.0205 of this Subchapter; 

(5) has demonstrated unprofessional personal 

conduct in the delivery of Commission-

mandated training. For the purposes of this 

Subparagraph, unprofessional personal conduct 

means an act that is: job-related conduct that 

constitutes a violation of State or federal law; 

conviction or commission of a criminal offense, 

as set out in 12 NCAC 09A .0204; the willful 

violation of Rules of this Chapter; conduct that 

is detrimental to instruction in the 

Commission's mandated courses; the abuse of a 

client or student whom the instructor is teaching 

or supervising or falsification of an instructor 

application or in other employment 

documentation. For purposes of this Chapter, 

conduct is "detrimental to instruction" if the 

conduct is demeaning or disruptive to the 

learning environment, thus impeding the 

students' ability to learn; 

(6) has demonstrated instructional incompetence; 

(7) has knowingly and willfully obtained or 

attempted to obtain instructor certification by 

deceit, fraud, or misrepresentation; 

(8) has failed to meet or involve moral turpitude as 

defined in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 

771, appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); 

State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 

(1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 

174 (1989); In re Applicants for License, 143 

N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 

188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. 

Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 (1983); 

and later court decisions that cite these cases as 

authority, and as required to discharge the 

duties of a criminal justice instructor; 

(9) has failed to deliver training in a manner 

consistent with the Qualified Retired Law 

Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification 

Certification Program as found in 12 NCAC 

09H .0102; 

(10) has knowingly and willfully aided or attempted 

to aid any person in obtaining qualification or 

certification under the Qualified Retired Law 

Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification 

Certification Program by deceit, fraud, or 

misrepresentation; 

(11) has committed or been convicted of an offense 

which could result in the denial, suspension, or 

revocation of an officer's law enforcement 

certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504; 

or 

(12) has knowingly made a material 

misrepresentation of any information required 

for certification or accreditation. 

(f)  When a person certified as a law enforcement officer by the 

North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission (Commission), the North Carolina 

Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission (Sheriffs' 

Commission), the North Carolina Department of Insurance, 

Office of State Fire Marshal, Fire Rescue Commission (Fire 

Commission), Office of Emergency Medical Services North 

Carolina Company/Campus Police Program; or a North Carolina, 

out of state or federal approving, certifying or licensing agency; 

has been denied certification or had his or her certification 

suspended or revoked by their respective Commission, or agency 

the State or local law enforcement officer shall report the 

suspension or revocation to the Criminal Justice Standards within 

. five days. He or she shall also have his or her General Instructor 

Certification (if applicable) automatically suspended or revoked 

for the same time period as his or her respective Commission 

certification. 

(1) This suspension or revocation of the General 

Instructor certification shall also include 
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suspension or revocation to any Commission 

recognized Specialized or additional instructor 

certification, as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0304. 

(2) If the term of suspension or revocation exceeds 

the expiration date of the instructor's initial 

certification expiration date, he or she shall 

forfeit their certifications as a General 

Instructor and Specialized Instructor and shall 

be required to obtain certification pursuant to 

the requirements of Rule .0302 of this Section 

before any instruction may be delivered in any 

Commission-approved or mandated training, 

including the completion of a subsequent 

General Instructor's training course in its 

entirety. 

(3) If the term of suspension or revocation does not 

exceed the expiration date of the instructor's 

initial certification expiration date, the 

instructor shall be reinstated as a General 

Instructor only upon reinstatement of his or her 

law enforcement officer certification by the 

Commission. The terms of renewal for the 

existing General Instructor and Specialized 

Instructor certifications shall remain subject to 

all renewal requirements pursuant to 12 NCAC 

09B .0303(d) by the next immediate expiration 

date. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; October 1, 

2009; August 1, 2004; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1991; January 1, 

1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0303 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

GENERAL INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for certification as a 

general instructor shall, for the first 12 months of certification, be 

in a probationary status. The General Instructor Certification, 

Probationary Status, shall automatically expire 12 months from 

the date of issuance. 

(b)  The probationary instructor shall be eligible for general 

instructor status if the instructor, through application at the end of 

the probationary period, submits to the Commission a favorable 

recommendation from a School Director or In-Service Training 

Coordinator accompanied by a certification on a Commission 

Instructor Evaluation Form F-16 that the instructor taught a 

minimum of eight hours of Commission-accredited basic training 

course, Commission-recognized in-service training course, or 

training course pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, 10B .1302, or 

10B .2005 during the probationary period. The instructor shall 

achieve a minimum of 64 points on all instruction evaluations 

submitted to the Commission. The Commission Instructor 

Evaluation Form F-16 is located on the agency's website: 

http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/c2eba6aa-12bc-4303-bf4b-

5fa0431ef5a1/F-16-6-11.aspx. 

(c)  Probationary Instructors for just cause, may be granted an 

extension of the one-year period to teach the eight hour minimum 

requirement. The Director may grant such extensions on a one-

time basis only not to exceed 12 months. For purposes of this 

Rule, "just cause" includes an accident, illness, emergency, or 

course cancellation that precluded the instructor from fulfilling 

the teaching requirement. 

(d)  The term of certification as a general instructor is indefinite, 

provided the instructor completes during each calendar year a 

minimum of one hour of instructor refresher training provided by 

North Carolina Justice Academy. The Standards Division shall 

post on its website on January 1 of the current year the list of 

instructors who have met this requirement during the previous 

calendar year. 

(e)  If the instructor fails to meet the instructor refresher training 

specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, he or she shall deliver eight 

hours of evaluated instruction in a Commission-accredited basic 

training, Commission-recognized in-service training course, or 

training course pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, or .2005, 

and complete the instructor refresher training specified in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule within 60 days from the last day of the 

previous calendar year. 

(f)  If an instructor fails to meet the requirements of Paragraph (d) 

or (e) of this Rule, the certification period for the instructor shall 

cease, and the instructor shall be required to complete the 

requirements of Rule 09B .0302 of this Section in order to obtain 

probationary instructor status. 

(g)  The use of guest participants in a delivery of the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course is permissible. However, such 

guest participants shall be supervised on-site by a Commission-

certified instructor and must be authorized by the School Director. 

A guest participant shall only be used to complement the primary 

certified instructor of the block of instruction and shall not replace 

the primary instructor. 

(h)  "Commission-recognized in-service training" shall mean 

training meeting the following requirements: 

(1) training is taught by an instructor certified by 

the Commission; 

(2) training utilizes a lesson plan in the 

Instructional Systems Design format; and 

(3) completion of training shall be demonstrated by 

a passing score on a written test as follows: 

(A) a written test comprised of at least five 

questions per credit shall be developed 

by the agency or the North Carolina 

Justice Academy for each in-service 

training topic requiring testing. 

Written courses that are more than 

four credits in length are required to 

have a written test comprising of a 

minimum of 20 questions. The 

Firearms Training and Qualifications 

in-service course is exempt from this 

written test requirement; 

(B) a student shall pass each test by 

achieving at least 70 percent correct 

answers; and 
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(C) a student who completes a topic of in-

service training in a traditional 

classroom setting or online and fails 

the end of topic exam shall be given 

one attempt to re-test. If the student 

fails the exam a second time, the 

student shall complete the in-service 

training topic in a traditional 

classroom setting before taking the 

exam a third time. 

(D) Topics delivered pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09E .0104(1) and 12 NCAC 

09E .0105(a)(1) shall not require 

written testing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; December 1, 2007; November 1, 

2007; August 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; August 1, 2000; July 1, 

1991; October 1, 1985; January 1, 1985; January 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0305 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(EFFECTIVE UNTIL DECEMBER 31, 2019) 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for Specialized 

Instructor Certification as set forth in Rule .0304 of this Section 

shall be issued a certification to expire three years from the date 

of issuance. The applicant shall apply for certification as a 

Specialized Instructor within 60 days after the date the applicant 

achieved a passing score on the state comprehensive exam for the 

respective Specialized Instructor training course. 

(b)  Where certification for both General Probationary Instructor 

as set forth in Rule .0303 of this Section and Specialized Instructor 

Certification are issued on the same date, the instructor is required 

to instruct, within three years after certification, a minimum of 12 

hours in each of the topics for which Specialized Instructor 

Certification was granted, and that instruction was provided in a 

Commission-accredited basic training, Specialized Instructor 

Training, Commission-recognized in-service training course, or 

training course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, 

or .2005. The instructor may satisfy the teaching requirement for 

the General Probationary Instructor certification by teaching any 

specialized topic for which certification has been issued. 

(c)  When Specialized Instructor Certification is issued during an 

existing period of General Probationary Instructor Certification, 

the specialized instructor may satisfy the teaching requirement for 

the General Probationary Certification by teaching the specialized 

subject for which certification has been issued. 

(d)  The term of certification as a specialized instructor shall not 

exceed three years. An application for renewal shall contain, in 

addition to the requirements listed in Rule .0304 of this Section, 

documentary evidence that the applicant has remained active in 

the instructional process during the previous three-year period. 

Such documentary evidence shall include the following: 

(1) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

instructed at least 12 hours in each of the topics 

for which Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted, and that instruction was provided 

in a Commission-accredited basic training, 

Specialized Instructor Training, Commission-

recognized in-service training course, or 

training course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 

10B .0601, .1302, or .2005. Acceptable 

documentary evidence shall include official 

Commission records submitted by School 

Directors or In-Service Training Coordinators 

and written certification from a School Director 

or In-Service Training Coordinator; 

(2) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

attended and completed all instructor updates 

that have been issued by the Commission. 

Acceptable documentary evidence shall include 

official Commission records submitted by 

School Directors or In-Service Training 

Coordinators, or copies of certificates of 

completion issued by the institution which 

provided the instructor updates; and 

(A) a favorable written recommendation 

from a School Director or In-Service 

Training Coordinator completed on a 

Commission Renewal of Instructor 

and Professional Lecturer 

Certification Form (Form F-12A) 

stating the instructor taught at least 12 

hours in each of the topics for which 

Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted. The teaching shall have 

been provided in a Commission-

accredited basic training, Specialized 

Instructor Training course, pursuant to 

Rule 12 NCAC 09C .0401, 

Commission-recognized in-service 

training course, or training course 

delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 09F 

.0101, 12 NCAC 09H, 12 NCAC 10B 

.0601, .1302, or .2005; 

(B) a favorable written evaluation by a 

School Director, In-Service Training 

Coordinator, or another Specialized 

Instructor certified in the same 

specialized subject, based on an on-

site classroom evaluation of a 

presentation by the instructor in a 

Commission-accredited basic training, 

Specialized Instructor Training, 

Commission-recognized in-service 

training course, or in-service training 

course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 

10B .0601, .1302, or .2005 during the 

three-year period of Specialized 

Instructor Certification. Such 

evaluation shall be certified on a 

Criminal Justice Instructor Evaluation 
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Form F-16, located on the agency's 

website: 

http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/c2eba6a

a-12bc-4303-bf4b-5fa0431ef5a1/F-

16-6-11.aspx; 

(C) proof that the applicant has met the 

requirement set forth in Rule .0303(d) 

of this Section; 

(D) proof that the individual applying for 

renewal as a Specialized Firearms 

Instructor has achieved a minimum 

score of 92 on the day and night Basic 

Law Enforcement Training firearms 

qualification courses, administered by 

a certified Specialized Firearms 

Instructor, within the three-year period 

preceding the application for renewal; 

and 

(E) proof that the individual applying for 

renewal as a Specialized Physical 

Fitness Instructor has passed the Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Police 

Officer Physical Abilities Test, 

administered by a certified Specialized 

Physical Fitness Instructor, within the 

three-year period preceding the 

application for renewal. 

(e)  Certification as a Specialized Instructor in the First 

Responder, Physical Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, 

and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topic areas as outlined 

in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this Section shall 

remain in effect for 36 months from the date of issuance. During 

the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates required in 

Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for Specialized 

Instructor certification in the First Responder, Physical Fitness, 

Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical 

Emergencies topical areas shall be maintained. 

(f)  The use of guest participants in a delivery of the "Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course" shall be permissible. However, 

such guest participants are subject to the on-site supervision of a 

Commission-certified instructor and shall be authorized by the 

School Director. A guest participant shall be used only to 

complement the primary certified instructor of the block of 

instruction and shall not replace the primary instructor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; 

May 1, 2014; June 1, 2012; November 1, 2007; January 1, 2006; 

December 1, 2004; August 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; July 1, 1991; 

July 1, 1989; December 1, 1987; February 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0305 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2020) 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for Specialized 

Instructor Certification as set forth in Rule .0304 of this Section 

shall be issued a certification to expire three years from the date 

of issuance. The applicant shall apply for certification as a 

Specialized Instructor within 60 days after the date the applicant 

achieved a passing score on the state comprehensive exam for the 

respective Specialized Instructor training course. 

(b)  Where certification for both General Probationary Instructor 

as set forth in Rule .0303 of this Section and Specialized Instructor 

Certification are issued on the same date, the instructor is required 

to instruct, within three years after certification, a minimum of 12 

hours in each of the topics for which Specialized Instructor 

Certification was granted, and that instruction was provided in a 

Commission-accredited basic training, Specialized Instructor 

Training, Commission-recognized in-service training course, or 

training course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, 

or .2005. The instructor may satisfy the teaching requirement for 

the General Probationary Instructor certification by teaching any 

specialized topic for which certification has been issued. 

(c)  When Specialized Instructor Certification is issued during an 

existing period of General Probationary Instructor Certification, 

the specialized instructor may satisfy the teaching requirement for 

the General Probationary Certification by teaching the specialized 

subject for which certification has been issued. 

(d)  The term of certification as a specialized instructor shall not 

exceed three years. An application for renewal shall contain, in 

addition to the requirements listed in Rule .0304 of this Section, 

documentary evidence that the applicant has remained active in 

the instructional process during the previous three-year period. 

Such documentary evidence shall include the following: 

(1) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

instructed at least 12 hours in each of the topics 

for which Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted, and that instruction was provided 

in a Commission-accredited basic training, 

Specialized Instructor Training, Commission-

recognized in-service training course, or 

training course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 

10B .0601, .1302, or .2005. Acceptable 

documentary evidence shall include official 

Commission records submitted by School 

Directors or In-Service Training Coordinators 

and written certification from a School Director 

or In-Service Training Coordinator; 

(2) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

attended and completed all instructor updates 

that have been issued by the Commission. 

Acceptable documentary evidence shall include 

official Commission records submitted by 

School Directors or In-Service Training 

Coordinators, or copies of certificates of 

completion issued by the institution which 

provided the instructor updates; and 
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(A) a favorable written recommendation 

from a School Director or In-Service 

Training Coordinator completed on a 

Commission Renewal of Instructor 

and Professional Lecturer 

Certification Form (Form F-12A) 

stating the instructor taught at least 12 

hours in each of the topics for which 

Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted. The teaching shall have 

been provided in a Commission-

accredited basic training, Specialized 

Instructor Training course, pursuant to 

Rule 12 NCAC 09C .0401, 

Commission-recognized in-service 

training course, or training course 

delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 09F 

.0101, 12 NCAC 09H, 12 NCAC 10B 

.0601, .1302, or .2005; 

(B) a favorable written evaluation by a 

School Director, Qualified Assistant, 

In-Service Training Coordinator, or 

another Specialized Instructor 

certified in the same specialized 

subject, based on an on-site classroom 

evaluation of a presentation by the 

instructor in a Commission-accredited 

basic training, Specialized Instructor 

Training, Commission-recognized in-

service training course, or in-service 

training course delivered pursuant to 

12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, or .2005 

during the three-year period of 

Specialized Instructor Certification. 

Such evaluation shall be certified on a 

Criminal Justice Instructor Evaluation 

Form F-16, located on the agency's 

website: 

http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/c2eba6a

a-12bc-4303-bf4b-5fa0431ef5a1/F-

16-6-11.aspx; 

(C) proof that the applicant has met the 

requirement set forth in Rule .0303(d) 

of this Section; 

(D) proof that the individual applying for 

renewal as a Specialized Firearms 

Instructor has achieved a minimum 

score of 92 on the day and night Basic 

Law Enforcement Training firearms 

qualification courses, administered by 

a certified Specialized Firearms 

Instructor, within the three-year period 

preceding the application for renewal; 

and 

(E) proof that the individual applying for 

renewal as a Specialized Physical 

Fitness Instructor has passed the Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Police 

Officer Physical Abilities Test, 

administered by a certified Specialized 

Physical Fitness Instructor, within the 

three-year period preceding the 

application for renewal. 

(e)  Certification as a Specialized Instructor in the First 

Responder, Physical Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, 

and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topic areas as outlined 

in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this Section shall 

remain in effect for 36 months from the date of issuance. During 

the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates required in 

Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for Specialized 

Instructor certification in the First Responder, Physical Fitness, 

Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical 

Emergencies topical areas shall be maintained. 

(f)  The use of guest participants in a delivery of the "Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course" shall be permissible. However, 

such guest participants are subject to the on-site supervision of a 

Commission-certified instructor and shall be authorized by the 

School Director. A guest participant shall be used only to 

complement the primary certified instructor of the block of 

instruction and shall not replace the primary instructor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; 

May 1, 2014; June 1, 2012; November 1, 2007; January 1, 2006; 

December 1, 2004; August 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; July 1, 1991; 

July 1, 1989; December 1, 1987; February 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020; August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0503 SUSPENSION: REVOCATION: 

DENIAL/SCHOOL DIR. CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission may deny, suspend, or revoke certification 

of a school director when the Commission finds that the person 

has failed to meet or continuously maintain any of the 

requirements for qualification or through performance fails to 

comply with the rules of this Chapter.  

(b)  Prior to the Commission's action denying, suspending, or 

revoking a school director's certification, the Standards Division 

may notify the person that a deficiency appears to exist and may 

attempt, in an advisory capacity, to assist the person in correcting 

the deficiency. 

(c)  The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke the 

certification of a School Director when they have found the person 

has engaged in any conduct outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0301(e) 

and (f). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0504 CERTIFICATION OF 

QUALIFIED ASSISTANT 

(a)  If the accredited institution or agency assigns additional 

responsibilities to the certified School Director during the 
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planning, development, and implementation of an accredited 

basic recruit training course, a qualified assistant shall be 

designated to assist the School Director in the administration of 

the course. To be eligible to serve as a Qualified Assistant, an 

applicant shall: 

(1) be selected by the School Director; 

(2) have four years of experience as a criminal 

justice officer or as an administrator or 

specialist in a field directly related to the 

criminal justice system; 

(3) be certified as a General Instructor, pursuant to 

12 NCAC 09B .0302, if certified as a Qualified 

Assistant for a Instructor Training Course; 

(4) if serving as a Qualified Assistant for an 

Instructor Training Course, must complete an 

Instructor Orientation Course as offered by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy; 

(5) have completed an orientation course 

conducted by Standards Division staff; and 

(6) participate in the annual training conducted by 

Commission staff. 

(b)  Any person designated by a School Director as a Qualified 

Assistant in the delivery or presentation of a Commission-

mandated training course shall have on file confirmation from the 

Commission acknowledging designation as Qualified Assistant 

prior to acting in an official capacity as a Qualified Assistant. 

(c)  The School Director shall submit to the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division the Qualified Assistant Application form. The 

Qualified Assistant Application Form is located on the agency's 

website at no cost http://ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Law-

Enforcement-Training-and-Standards/Criminal-Justice-

Education-and-Training-Standards/Forms-and-

Publications.aspx. Applicants shall provide the following 

information on the Qualified Assistant Application Form: 

(1) accredited school name and contact 

information; 

(2) applicant's name and contact information; 

(3) applicant's instructor certification number; and 

(4) School Director name and signature. 

(d)  The School Director shall ensure that the person selected 

meets the requirements set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 

Rule. 

(e)  When directed by the School Director, the Qualified Assistant 

shall assist in the planning, developing, coordinating, and 

delivering of Commission-mandated training courses as outlined 

in 12 NCAC 09B .0202. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0505 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

QUALIFIED ASSISTANT CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The term of certification as a Qualified Assistant is three years 

from the date the Commission issues the certification, unless 

earlier terminated by action of the Commission. The application 

for renewal shall include documentation meeting the requirements 

of Rule .0504(a) and (b) of this Section. 

(b)  The Commission may deny, suspend, or revoke certification 

as a Qualified Assistant when the Commission finds that the 

person failed to meet or maintain any of the requirements for 

qualification or failed to comply with the Rules of this Chapter.  

(c)  Prior to the Commission's action denying, suspending, or 

revoking a Qualified Assistant's certification, the Standards 

Division may notify the person that a deficiency appears to exist 

and may attempt, in an advisory capacity, to assist the person in 

correcting the deficiency. 

(d)  The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke the 

certification of a Qualified Assistant when it have found the 

person has engaged in any conduct outlined in Rule .0301(e) or 

(f) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09C .0307 AGENCY RETENTION OF 

RECORDS OF CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Each criminal justice agency shall place information with 

respect to employment, education, retention, and training of its 

criminal justice officers in the criminal justice officer's personnel 

file as listed in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (a)(2) of this Rule. The 

files shall be available for examination in five days by 

representatives of the Commission for verifying compliance with 

these Rules.  

(1) Criminal Justice Officer with probationary 

certification: 

(A) the officer's Personal History 

Statement; 

(B) the officer's Medical History 

Statement and Medical Examination 

Report; 

(C) documentation of the officer's drug 

screening results; 

(D) the Commission's Mandated 

Background Investigation Form as 

completed by the agency's 

investigator;  

(E) a written summary of the officer's 

Qualifications Appraisal Interview; 

(F) documentation of the officer's degrees 

obtained; 

(G) documentation of all criminal justice 

training completed by the officer; 

(H) the results of the officer's fingerprint 

record check; 

(I) a written summary of the officer's 

psychological examination results;  

(J) for the law enforcement officer, 

documentation on a 

commission-approved form as set 

forth in 12 NCAC 09E .0103(3) and 

.0110(5) that the officer has completed 

the minimum in-service training as 

required; 

(K) certified copy of proof of age, 

citizenship, and educational 

requirements required in 12 NCAC 

09B .0101; 
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(L) copy of Report of 

Appointment/Application for 

Certification Form F-5A; 

(M) oath of office; 

(N) copy of firearms qualification; and 

(O) once separated, a copy of the Affidavit 

of Separation. 

(2) Criminal Justice Officer with general 

certification: 

(A) the officer's Medical History 

Statement and Medical Examination 

Report; 

(B) documentation of the officer's drug 

screening results; 

(C) documentation of the officer's degrees 

obtained; 

(D) documentation of all criminal justice 

training completed by the officer; 

(E) the results of the officer's fingerprint 

record check; 

(F) for the law enforcement officer, 

documentation on a 

commission-approved form as set 

forth in 12 NCAC 09E .0103(3) and 

.0110(5) that the officer has completed 

the minimum in-service training as 

required; 

(G) certified copy of proof of age, 

citizenship, and educational 

requirements required in 12 NCAC 

09B .0101; 

(H) a copy of the Report of 

Appointment/Application for 

Certification Form F-5A; 

(I) oath of office; 

(J) copy of firearms qualification; and 

(K) once separated, a copy of the Affidavit 

of Separation. 

(b)  These records shall be maintained in compliance with the 

North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Retention and 

Disposition Schedule established pursuant to G.S. 121 and G.S. 

132.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; January 1, 1995; July 1, 1990; July 

1, 1989; June 1, 1986; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09E .0105 MINIMUM TRAINING 

SPECIFICATIONS: ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING 

(EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2020) 

(a)  The following topics, specifications, and hours shall be 

included in each law enforcement officer's annual in-service 

training courses. For the purposes of this Subchapter, a credit shall 

be equal to one hour of traditional classroom instruction. All 

sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a minimum of 24 

in-service training credits. The following topics, totaling 18 

credits, shall be specifically required: 

(1) 2020 Firearms Training and Qualification (4 

credits); 

(2) 2020 Legal Update (4 credits); 

(3) 2020 Long-Term Effects of Childhood 

Adversity (2 credits); 

(4) 2020 The Signs Within: Suicide Prevention 

Education and Awareness (2 credits); 

(5) 2020 Career Survival: Training and Standards 

Issues (2 credits); 

(6) 2020 Communication Strategies When 

Encountering Persons Who are Deaf or Hard of 

Hearing (2 credits); 

(7) 2020 Armed/Unarmed Security/Company 

Police: Understanding Their Roles and 

Authority (2 credits); 

(8) Topics of Choice (12 credits); 

(A) Hazardous Materials (2 credits); 

(B) Bloodborne Pathogens (2 credits); 

(C) Situational Awareness/Subject 

Control (4 credits); and 

(D) Law enforcement Threat Assessment 

(4 credits). 

(b)  All sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a 

minimum of 6 in-service credits, in topics identified by their 

respective agency heads. The agency head may choose any topic, 

provided the lesson plan is written in Instructional Systems 

Design format and is taught by an instructor who is certified by 

the Commission. Topics delivered pursuant to Rule .0104(1) of 

this Section and National Certification Programs administered by 

the International Association of Directors of Law Enforcement 

Standards and Training (IADLEST) completed during the 

mandated in-service year, shall satisfy in part or in whole the topic 

requirements set forth by the agency head. To satisfy this 

requirement these topics shall not be required to be written in 

Instructional Systems Design format or delivered by an instructor 

certified by the Commission. 

(c)  The "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Manual" 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied 

as a guide for conducting the annual in-service firearms training 

program. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office 

of the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(d)  The "In-Service Lesson Plans" published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as a minimum 

curriculum for conducting the annual in-service training program. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 
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Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(e)  Lesson plans are designed to be delivered in hourly 

increments. A student who completes an online in-service training 

topic shall receive the number of credits that correspond to the 

number of hours of traditional classroom training, regardless of 

the amount of time the student spends completing the course. 

(f)  Completion of training shall be demonstrated by passing a 

written test for each in-service training topic, as follows: 

(1) A written test comprised of at least five 

questions per credit shall be developed by the 

agency or the North Carolina Justice Academy 

for each in-service training topic requiring 

testing. The Firearms Training and 

Qualifications in-service course and topics 

delivered pursuant to Rule .0104(1) of this 

Section shall be exempt from this written test 

requirement; 

(2) A student shall pass each test by achieving at 

least 70 percent correct answers; and 

(3) A student who completes a topic of in-service 

training in a traditional classroom setting or 

online and fails the end of topic exam shall be 

given one attempt to re-test. If the student fails 

the exam a second time, the student shall 

complete the in-service training topic in a 

traditional classroom setting before taking the 

exam a third time. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; November 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; 

July 1, 2016; January 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; February 1, 

2014; June 1 ,2012; February 1, 2011; January 1, 2010; April 1, 

2009; April 1, 2008; February 1, 2007; January 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09F .0105 INSTRUCTOR 

RESPONSIBILITIES 

In delivering the "Concealed Carry Handgun Training" course the 

instructor shall: 

(1) have a valid Concealed Carry Handgun 

instructor certification issued by the Criminal 

Justice Standards Division; 

(2) file a copy of the proposed firearms course 

description, outline, and proof of instructor 

certification along with a written request to 

conduct the "Concealed Carry Handgun 

Training" course for approval by the 

Commission prior to delivery of any instruction 

required by G.S. 14-415.12; 

(3) file a copy of all modifications; 

(4) be issued by Commission staff a quantity of 

certificates as requested by the instructor for 

course participants which shall bear the 

instructor's name, the instructor's assigned 

number, be sequentially numbered, and bear the 

raised seal of the Commission; 

(5) if a Concealed Carry Handgun Instructor 

relinquishes his or her certification and wants to 

transfer his or her assigned participants' 

certificates, to another Concealed Carry 

Handgun instructor a written request shall be 

submitted to the Criminal Justice Standards 

Division Director for approval. The written 

request shall include the following: 

(a) instructor name and identification 

number; 

(b) name of business; 

(c) phone number and email address; 

(d) recipient instructor name and 

identification number; 

(e) business name; 

(f) phone number, email address; and 

(g) list of the assigned certificate numbers 

for participants to be transferred; 

(6) affix the student's name to one certificate and 

issue that certificate to the student who 

successfully completes the "Concealed Carry 

Handgun Training" course; 

(7) conduct the training consistent with the 

guidelines established in Rule .0102 of this 

Section; 

(8) administer a written examination to the student 

on the legal issues block of instruction to 

demonstrate that the student is knowledgeable 

in the laws of this State governing the carrying 

of a concealed handgun and the use of deadly 

force; and 

(9) administer a proficiency examination that 

demonstrates the student is competent in the 

firing and safe handling of a handgun. Such 

examination shall include the following: 

(a) The student fires 30 rounds of 

ammunition at a bulls-eye or 

silhouette target from three, five and 

seven yard distances; 

(b) At each yard distance the student shall 

fire ten rounds; and 

(c) 21 of the 30 rounds fired by the student 

hit the target. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-415.12; 14-415.13; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1995; 

Eff. May 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; May 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 
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12 NCAC 09G .0306 RETENTION OF RECORDS OF 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall place in the officer's 

certification file the official notification from the Commission of 

either Probationary or General Certification for each correctional 

officer, probation/parole officer employed or appointed by the 

North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice. The certification file shall also 

contain: 

(1) the officer's Report of 

Appointment/Application for Certification, 

including the Department of Public Safety 

Personnel Action Form; 

(2) the officer's Medical History Statement and 

Medical Examination Report; 

(3) documentation of the officer's drug screening 

results; 

(4) documentation of the officer's educational 

achievements; 

(5) documentation of all corrections training 

completed by the officer; 

(6) documentation of the officer's psychological 

examination results; 

(7) documentation and verification of the officer's 

age; 

(8) documentation and verification of the officer's 

citizenship; 

(9) documentation of any prior criminal record; and 

(10) miscellaneous documents including letters, 

investigative reports, and subsequent charges 

and convictions; 

(11) oath of office; and 

(12) if separated, a copy of the Report of Separation 

or Department of Public Safety Action Form. 

(b)  All files and documents relating to an officer's certification 

shall be available for examination and utilization at any 

reasonable time by representatives of the Commission for the 

purpose of verifying compliance with the Rules in this 

Subchapter. These records shall be maintained in compliance with 

the North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources 

Records Retention and Disposition Schedule established pursuant 

to G.S. 121 and G.S. 132. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0307 CERTIFICATION OF 

INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  A person participating in a Commission-accredited 

corrections training course or program as an instructor, teacher, 

professor, lecturer, or other participant making presentations to 

the class shall first be certified by the Commission as an 

instructor. 

(b)  The Commission shall certify instructors under the following 

categories: General Instructor Certification or Specialized 

Instructor Certification or Professional Lecturer Certification as 

outlined in Rules .0308, .0310, and .0311 of this Section. 

Instructor certification shall be granted on the basis of 

documented qualifications of experience, education, and training 

in accord with the requirements of this Section and as stated on 

the applicant's Request for Instructor Certification Form. 

(c)  In addition to all other requirements of this Section, each 

instructor certified by the Commission to teach in a Commission-

certified course shall remain competent in his/her specific or 

specialty areas. Such competence includes remaining current in 

the instructor's area of expertise, which may be demonstrated by 

attending and completing any instructor all updated instructor 

training courses required by the Commission. 

(d)  If a person certified as an instructor by the Commission is 

found to have knowingly and willfully violated any provision or 

requirement of the Rules in this Subchapter, the Commission shall 

take action to correct the violation and to ensure that the violation 

does not recur, including: 

(1) issuing an oral warning and request for 

compliance; 

(2) issuing a written warning and request for 

compliance; 

(3) issuing an official written reprimand; 

(4) suspending the individual's certification for a 

specified period of time or until acceptable 

corrective action is taken by the individual; or 

(5) revoking the individual's certification. 

(e)  The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke an instructor's 

certification when the Commission finds that the person: 

(1) has failed to meet and maintain any of the 

requirements for qualification;  

(2) has failed to remain currently knowledgeable in 

the person's areas of expertise by failing to 

attend trainings as required by the rules in this 

Chapter. 

(3) has failed to deliver training in a manner 

consistent with the instructor lesson plans 

outlined in the "Basic Instructor Training 

Manual" as found in 12 NCAC 09G .0414;  

(4) has failed to follow specific guidelines outlined 

in the basic corrections officers' training 

manual set out in Rules .0411 through .0416 of 

this Subchapter; 

(5) has demonstrated unprofessional personal 

conduct in the delivery of commission-

mandated training. For the purposes of this 

Subparagraph, unprofessional personal conduct 

means an act that is: job-related conduct which 

constitutes a violation of State or federal law; 

conviction or commission of a criminal offense, 

as set out in 12 NCAC 09G .0504; the willful 

violation of Rules of this Chapter; conduct that 

is detrimental to instruction in the 

Commission's mandated courses; the abuse of a 

client or student whom the instructor is teaching 

or supervising; falsification of an instructor 
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application or in other employment 

documentation;  

(6) has demonstrated instructional incompetence;  

(7) has knowingly and willfully obtained, or 

attempted to obtain instructor certification by 

deceit, fraud, or misrepresentation;  

(8) has failed to meet or maintain good moral 

character as defined in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 

215 S.E.2d 771, appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 

(1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 

854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 

2d 174 (1989); In re Applicants for License, 

143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re 

Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); 

State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 

(1983); and later court decisions that cite these 

cases as authority, and as required to discharge 

the duties of a criminal justice instructor; 

(9) has committed or been convicted of an offense 

which could result in the denial, suspension, or 

revocation of an officers certification pursuant 

to Rules .0204 or .0504 of this Subchapter; 

(10) has knowingly made a material 

misrepresentation of any information required 

for certification or accreditation. 

(f)  When a person certified as an officer by the North Carolina 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

(Commission), the North Carolina Sheriffs Education and 

Training Standards Commission (Sheriffs' Commission), the 

North Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of State Fire 

Marshal, Fire Rescue Commission (Fire Commission), Office of 

Emergency Medical Services and the North Carolina 

Company/Campus Police Program; or a similar North Carolina, 

out of state or federal approving, certifying or licensing agency; 

has been denied certification or had his or her certification 

suspended or revoked by their respective Commission or agency 

the officer shall report the suspension or revocation to the 

Criminal Justice Standards within five days. They shall also have 

their General Instructor certification (if applicable) automatically 

suspended or revoked for the same time period as their respective 

Commission certification. 

(1) This suspension or revocation of the General 

Instructor certification shall also include 

suspension or revocation to any Commission 

recognized Specialized or additional instructor 

certification, as outlined in Rule .0310 of this 

Section. 

(2) If the term of suspension or revocation exceeds 

the expiration date of the instructor's initial 

certification expiration date, they shall forfeit 

their certifications as a General Instructor and 

Specialized Instructor and shall be required to 

obtain certification pursuant to the 

requirements of Rule .0304 of this Section 

before any instruction may be delivered in any 

Commission-approved or mandated training, 

including the completion of a subsequent 

General Instructor's training course in its 

entirety. 

(3) If the term of suspension or revocation does not 

exceed the expiration date of the instructor's 

initial certification expiration date, the 

instructor shall be reinstated as a General 

Instructor only upon reinstatement of his or her 

law enforcement officer certification by the 

Commission. The terms of renewal for the 

existing General Instructor and Specialized 

Instructor certifications shall remain subject to 

all renewal requirements pursuant to Rule 

.0309(c) of this Section by the next expiration 

date. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0311 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2020) 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for Specialized 

Instructor Certification shall be issued a certification to expire 

three years from the date of issuance. The applicant shall apply 

for certification as a specialized instructor within 60 days from the 

date of completion of a specialized instructor course. 

(b)  Where certifications for both General Probationary Instructor 

and Specialized Instructor are issued on the same date, the 

instructor shall be required to instruct within three years after 

certification, a minimum of 12 hours in each of the topics for 

which Specialized Instructor Certification was granted in a 

Commission-accredited basic training, Specialized Instructor 

Training, Commission-recognized in-service training course, or 

training course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, 

or .2005. The instructor may satisfy the teaching requirement for 

the General Probationary Instructor certification by teaching any 

specialized topic for which certification has been issued. 

(c)  When Specialized Instructor Certification is issued during an 

existing period of General Probationary Instructor Certification 

the specialized instructor may satisfy the teaching requirement for 

the General Probationary Certification by teaching the specialized 

subject for which certification has been issued. 

(d)  The term of certification as a specialized instructor shall not 

exceed three years. An application for renewal shall contain, in 

addition to the requirements listed in Rule .0310 of this Section, 

documentary evidence that the applicant has remained active in 

the instructional process during the previous three-year period. 

Such documentary evidence shall include the following: 

(1) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

instructed at least 12 hours in each of the topics 

for which Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted, and that instruction was provided 

in a Commission-accredited basic training, 

Specialized Instructor Training, or 

Commission-recognized in-service training 

course. Acceptable documentary evidence shall 
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include official Commission records submitted 

by School Directors or In-Service Training 

Coordinators, and written certification from a 

School Director or In-Service Training 

Coordinator; 

(2) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

attended and completed all instructor updates 

that have been issued by the Commission. 

Acceptable documentary evidence shall include 

official Commission records submitted by 

School Directors or In-Service Training 

Coordinators, or copies of certificates of 

completion issued by the institution which 

provided the instructor updates; and 

(A) a favorable written recommendation 

from a School Director or In-Service 

Training Coordinator completed on a 

Commission Renewal of Instructor 

and Professional Lecturer 

Certification Form stating the 

instructor taught at least 12 hours in 

each of the topics for which 

Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted. The teaching shall have 

been provided in a Commission-

accredited basic training, Specialized 

Instructor Training course, pursuant to 

Rule .0310 of this Section, or 

Commission-recognized in-service 

training course; 

(B) a favorable written evaluation by a 

School Director, Qualified Assistant, 

In-Service Training Coordinator, or 

another instructor certified in the same 

specialized subject, based on an on-

site classroom evaluation of a 

presentation by the instructor in a 

Commission-accredited basic training, 

Specialized Instructor Training, or 

Commission-recognized in-service 

training course, during the three-year 

period of Specialized Instructor 

Certification. Such evaluation shall be 

certified on a Criminal Justice 

Instructor Evaluation Form F-16, 

located on the agency's website: 

http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/c2eba6a

a-12bc-4303-bf4b-5fa0431ef5a1/F-

16-6-11.aspx. 

(C) has met the requirement set forth in 

Rule .0309(c) of this Section. 

(e)  The use of guest participants in a delivery of a Commission-

mandated training course pursuant to this Section shall be 

permissible. However, such guest participants are subject to the 

on-site supervision of a Commission-certified instructor and shall 

be authorized by the School Director. A guest participant shall be 

used only to complement the primary certified instructor of the 

block of instruction and shall not replace the primary instructor. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; May 1, 2014; June 1, 2012; 

January 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0407 SUSPENSION: REVOCATION: 

DENIAL/SCHOOL DIRECTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission may deny, suspend, or revoke certification 

of a School Director when the Commission finds that the person 

has failed to meet or maintain any of the requirements for 

qualification or through performance fails to comply with the 

rules of this Chapter.  

(b)  Prior to the Commission's action denying, suspending, or 

revoking a School Director's certification, the Standards Division 

may notify the person that a deficiency appears to exist and may 

attempt, in an advisory capacity, to assist the person in correcting 

the deficiency. 

(c)  The Commission shall deny, suspend or revoke the 

certification of a School Director when they have found the person 

has engaged in any conduct outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0301(e) 

and (f). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Temporary Adoption Expired December 20, 2001; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2003; 

Eff. April 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0417 CERTIFICATION OF 

QUALIFIED ASSISTANT 

(a)  If the accredited institution or agency assigns additional 

responsibilities to the certified School Director during the 

planning, development, and implementation of an accredited 

basic recruit training course, a qualified assistant shall be 

designated to assist the School Director in the administration of 

the course. To be eligible to serve as a Qualified Assistant, an 

applicant shall: 

(1) be selected by the School Director; 

(2) have four years of experience as a criminal 

justice officer or as an administrator or 

specialist in a field directly related to the 

criminal justice system; 

(3) be certified as a General Instructor, pursuant to 

Rule .0308 of this Subchapter, if certified as a 

Qualified Assistant for an Instructor Training 

Course; 

(4) if serving as a Qualified Assistant for an 

Instructor Training Course, must complete an 

Instructor Training Orientation Course as 

offered by the North Carolina Justice Academy; 

(5) have completed an orientation course 

conducted by Standards Division staff; and 
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(6) participate in the annual training conducted by 

Commission staff. 

(b)  Any person designated by a School Director as a Qualified 

Assistant or who performs the duties of, a Qualified Assistant in 

the delivery or presentation of a Commission-mandated training 

course shall have on file confirmation from the Commission 

acknowledging designation as Qualified Assistant prior to acting 

in an official capacity as a Qualified Assistant. 

(c)  The School Director shall submit to the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division the Qualified Assistant Application Form F-

10(QA). The Qualified Assistant Application Form F-10(QA) is 

located on the agency's website at no cost http://ncdoj.gov/About-

DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-Standards/Criminal-

Justice-Education-and-Training-Standards/Forms-and-

Publications.aspx. Applicants shall provide the following 

information on the Qualified Assistant Application Form: 

(1) accredited school name and contact 

information; 

(2) applicant's name and contact information; 

(3) applicant's instructor certification number; and 

(4) School Director name and signature. 

(d)  The School Director shall ensure that the person selected 

meets the requirements set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 

Rule. 

(e)  When directed by the School Director, the Qualified Assistant 

shall assist in the planning, developing, coordinating, and 

delivering of Commission-mandated training courses as outlined 

in Rule .0408 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0418 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

QUALIFIED ASSISTANT CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The term of certification as a Qualified Assistant is three years 

from the date the Commission issues the certification, unless 

earlier terminated by action of the Commission. The application 

for renewal shall include documentation meeting the requirements 

of Rule .0417(a) and (b) of this Section. 

(b)  The Commission may deny, suspend, or revoke certification 

as a Qualified Assistant when the Commission finds that the 

person failed to meet or maintain any of the requirements for 

qualification or failed to comply with the rules of this Chapter.  

(c)  Prior to the Commission's action denying, suspending, or 

revoking a Qualified Assistant's certification, the Standards 

Division may notify the person that a deficiency appears to exist 

and may attempt, in an advisory capacity, to assist the person in 

correcting the deficiency. 

(d)  The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke the 

certification of a Qualified Assistant when it have found the 

person has engaged in any conduct outlined in Rule .0307 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0302 DOCUMENTATION OF 

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENT 

(a)  Each applicant for Justice Officer certification shall furnish 

documentary evidence of high school, college or university 

graduation to the employing agency. Documentary evidence of 

high school graduation consists of diplomas or transcripts from 

public schools or private schools which meet standards adopted 

by either the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, the 

Division of Non-Public Instruction, or a comparable out of state 

agency. Documentary evidence of college or university 

graduation consists of diplomas or transcripts from colleges or 

universities accredited as such by the Department of Education of 

the state in which the institution is located, an accredited body 

recognized by either the U.S. Department of Education or Council 

for Higher Education Accreditation, or the state university of the 

state in which the institution is located. 

(b)  High School Diplomas earned through home school programs 

must be accompanied by a true and accurate or certified transcript 

and must meet the requirements of Part 3 of Article 39 of Chapter 

115C of the North Carolina General Statutes, or a comparable out-

of-state statute. 

(c)  Diplomas earned from High Schools outside of the United 

States must be translated into English and be accompanied by an 

authentic transcript. Transcripts shall be evaluated to ensure they 

are scholastically comparable to United States curriculum 

requirements. 

(d)  High School diplomas earned through on-line or 

correspondence courses shall be evaluated on a case by case basis. 

(e)  Documentary evidence of having earned a High School 

Equivalency (HSE) Diploma shall be satisfied by a certified copy 

of a high school equivalency credential recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education or the Department of Education in the 

issuing state. 

(f)  Documentary evidence of the attainment of satisfactory scores 

on any military high school equivalency examination is 

acceptable as evidence of high school graduation if verified by a 

true copy of the veteran's DD214. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; January 1, 2008; August 1, 2000; 

January 1, 1992; January 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .1003 BASIC LAW ENFORCEMENT 

CERTIFICATE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; January 1, 1992; January 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .1203 BASIC DETENTION OFFICER 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 

Eff. January 1, 1990; 
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Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; January 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .1403 BASIC RESERVE DEPUTY 

SHERIFF PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .1603 BASIC TELECOMMUNICATOR 

CERTIFICATE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .2005 MINIMUM TRAINING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A Sheriff or Department Head may use a lesson plan 

developed by the North Carolina Justice Academy or a lesson plan 

for any of the topic areas developed by another entity such as a 

different law enforcement agency or training provider. The 

Sheriff or Department Head may also use a lesson plan developed 

by a certified instructor, provided that the instructor develops the 

lesson plan in accordance with the Instructional Systems 

Development model as taught in Criminal Justice Instructor 

Training and as described in 12 NCAC 09B .0209. Lesson plans 

shall be designed to be delivered in hourly increments. A student 

who completes the training shall receive the number of credits that 

correspond to the number of hours assigned to the course, 

regardless of the amount of time the student spends completing 

the course, where each hour of instruction shall be worth one 

credit (e.g., "Legal Update" is designed to be delivered in four 

hours and will yield four credits). With the exception of Firearms 

Training and Requalification, successful completion of training 

shall be demonstrated by passing tests as developed by the 

delivering agency or as written by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy. A written test comprised of at least five questions per 

hour of training shall be developed by the delivering agency, or 

the agency may use the written test developed by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy, for each in-service training topic. A 

student shall pass each test by achieving 70 percent correct 

answers. Firearms Training and Requalification shall be 

demonstrated qualification with a firearm as set out in Section 

.2100 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The in-service training for topic areas of the Sheriff's or 

Department Head's choosing required by this Rule shall either: 

(1) meet the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule; or 

(2) be delivered pursuant to National Certification 

Programs administered by the International 

Association of Directors of Law Enforcement 

Standards and Training (IADLEST) completed 

during the mandated in-service year to satisfy 

these topics in part or in whole. It is not required 

that this IADLEST training be written in the 

Instructional Systems Design (ISD) format or 

delivered by a Commission certified instructor. 

(c)  The 2018 Law Enforcement In-Service Training Program 

requires 24 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) Legal Update; 

(2) Strategies to Improve Law Enforcement 

Interactions and Relationships with Minority 

Youth; 

(3) Equality in Policing; 

(4) Communications Skills With Persons In Crisis 

– De-escalation Techniques; 

(5) Firearms Training and Requalification for 

deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(6) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing. 

(d)  The 2018 Detention Officer In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) Recognizing Warning Signs and Strategies 

Associated with Mental Illness; 

(2) Equality in Detention Practices; 

(3) Communications Skills With Persons In Crisis 

– De-escalation Techniques; 

(4) Career Survival; and 

(5) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(e)  The 2018 Telecommunicator In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) Communications Center Trainer; 

(2) Equality in Policing; 

(3) Communications Skills With Persons In Crisis 

– De-escalation Techniques; and 

(4) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(f)  The 2019 Law Enforcement In-Service Training Program 

requires 24 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) Legal Update; 

(2) Juvenile Law Update; 

(3) Individual Wellness: Coping with Stress and 

PTSD; 

(4) Best Practices for Officers During Community 

Dissent; 

(5) Law Enforcement Intelligence Update: Gangs 

and Divisive Groups;  

(6) Domestic Violence: Law and Procedure 

Update;  

(7) Opioid Awareness and Response; 

(8) Firearms Training and Requalification for 

deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(9) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing. 
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(g)  The 2019 Detention Officer In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) Detention Officer Legal Update; 

(2) Detention Intelligence Update: Gangs and 

Divisive Groups; 

(3) Individual Wellness: Coping with Stress and 

PTSD; 

(4) Inmate Suicide Prevention;  

(5) Opioid Awareness and Response; and 

(6) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(h)  The 2019 Telecommunicator In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topic areas: 

(1) Individual Wellness: Coping with Stress and 

PTSD; 

(2) Civil Liability for Telecommunicators; 

(3) Human Fatigue in Shift Work; Strategies for 

Improving Performance; 

(4) Handling Difficult Callers; and 

(5) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; January 1, 2016; 

January 1, 2015; February 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; February 

1, 2012; January 1, 2011; January 1, 2010; January 1, 2009; 

January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; January 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0221 LOGO PROGRAM FEES 

(a)  All logo signs, to which individual Logo Signing Program 

business panels are attached, shall be constructed, owned, and 

maintained by the Department. The participating logo business 

shall pay an annual fee as set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  The annual fee for participation in the Logo program shall be 

three hundred dollars ($300.00) for each mainline, ramp, and 

trailblazer panel. Every participating business shall have a 

contract that automatically renews annually.  

(c)  The participating logo business shall provide a new or 

renovated business panel when necessary due to damages caused 

by acts of vandalism, accidents, or natural causes including 

natural deterioration. If the Department replaces a business panel 

on a logo sign or removes or masks a business panel because of 

seasonal operation, there shall be no additional charge to the 

business. 

(d)  The fee shall be paid by check or money order and shall be 

due in advance of the period of service covered by the fee. Failure 

to pay a fee when due shall be grounds for removal of the business 

panels and termination of the contract. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-89.56; 136-137; 136-139; 

143B-346; 143B-348; 23 C.F.R. 750, Subpart A; 23 U.S.C. 

131(f); 

Eff. April 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; April 1, 1994; 

October 1, 1993; December 1, 1992; September 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 13, 2003; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .1103 LOCATION OF TODS 

The Department shall administer the erection and maintenance of 

official signs giving specific information of interest to the 

traveling public in accordance with this Rule.  

(1) The Department shall only erect panels at at-

grade intersections. An at-grade intersection is 

an intersection that is controlled by stop signs 

or traffic signals. A TODS Trailblazer shall be 

installed if further direction is needed to guide 

the tourist from the intersection to the 

attraction. 

(2) Panel placement shall be determined by the 

Department according to the natural terrain and 

shall not block scenic vistas. 

(3) A separate sign panel shall be provided on the 

intersection approach for each eligible 

attraction in accordance with G.S. 136-140.16. 

Panels shall be allowed in each direction only 

when lateral spacing is available.  

(4) TODS panels shall be located at least 200 feet 

in advance of the main intersection. Signs shall 

be spaced at least 200 feet apart and at least 200 

feet from other traffic control devices. TODS 

panels shall not be located more than one-half 

(0.5) mile from the center of the main 

intersection and shall not be placed in the 

signing sequence for any other prior 

intersections. 

(5) Warning, regulatory, guide, or other official 

highway signs shall take precedence over 

TODS. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-89.56; 136-140.15; 136-

140.16; 136-140.17; 136-140.18; 136-140.19; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2003; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .1105 COMPOSITION OF SIGNS 

(a)  No TODS panel shall be displayed in a manner that would 

mislead or misinform the traveling public. 

(b)  No message shall interfere with, imitate, or resemble any 

official warning or regulatory traffic sign, signal, or similar 

device. 

(c)  Each TODS panel shall include only information related to 

that attraction. 

(d)  TODS panel and trailblazer designs shall be in conformance 

with the standards as specified in the MUTCD, as defined in G.S. 
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136-130, and approved by the Department, prior to fabrication 

and shipment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-130; 136-140.15; 136-

140.16; 136-140.17; 136-140.18; 136-140.19; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2003; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .1106 TODS PROGRAM FEES 

(a)  The annual fee for each TODS panel or TODS Trailblazer 

shall be two hundred dollars ($200.00). 

(b)  All participating businesses shall pay the annual fee prior to 

installation of the TODS panel(s). 

(c)  The annual fee shall be paid by check or money order and due 

in advance of the period of service requested. Failure to pay a fee 

when due shall be grounds for removal of the TODS panel. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-140.15; 136-140.16; 136-

140.17; 136-140.18; 136-140.19; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2003; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 17 – BOARD OF DIETETICS, NUTRITION 

 

21 NCAC 17 .0104 APPLICATIONS 

(a)  Each applicant for initial licensure shall file a completed 

application with the Board. Application forms are available at 

www.ncbdn.org. 

(b)  A complete application shall be: 

(1) typed; 

(2) signed by the applicant affirming that the 

information on the application is true and 

releasing to the Board information pertaining to 

the application;  

(3) accompanied by the application, issuance, and 

criminal history record check fees; and 

(4) accompanied by evidence, statements, or 

documents demonstrating the applicant meets 

the applicable requirements specified in G.S. 

90-357.5, and the applicant is not in violation of 

G.S. 90-363. 

(c)  Applicants shall submit a completed application to the North 

Carolina Board of Dietetics/Nutrition via its website at 

www.ncbdn.org. 

(d)  The Board shall not review an application until the applicant 

pays the application fee. The fee may be paid online via credit 

card, or by check mailed to: North Carolina Board of 

Dietetics/Nutrition, 140 Preston Executive Drive, Suite 205-C, 

Cary, NC 27513. 

(e)  Examination information for each of the examinations the 

Board recognizes may be found on the following websites: 

(1) Information regarding the Registered Dietitian 

Nutritionist examination offered by the 

Commission on Dietetic Registration may be 

found at: https://www.cdrnet.org/program-

director/student-instructions. 

(2) Information regarding the Certified Nutrition 

Specialist examination offered by the Board for 

Certification of Nutrition Specialists may be 

found at: 

www.nutritionspecialists.org/CNSExam. 

(3) Information regarding the Diplomate of the 

American Clinical Board of Nutrition 

examination offered by the American Clinical 

Board of Nutrition may be found at: 

https://www.acbn.org/handbook.pdf. 

(f)  Before cancelling an application, the Executive Director shall 

send notice to an applicant who does not complete the application 

that lists the additional materials required. An incomplete 

application shall be valid for a period of six months from the date 

the application is filed with the Board. After six months, if an 

application has not been completed by the applicant and ready for 

Board review, the application shall be considered cancelled due 

to failure to complete. Complete applications that the Board 

determines require additional evidence under Paragraph (m) of 

this Rule shall be eligible for consideration for the timeline set 

forth in that Paragraph. 

(g)  Applicants providing evidence of current registration as a 

Registered Dietitian Nutritionist by the CDR in G.S. 90-

357.5(a)(2) shall submit a photocopy of the applicant's 

registration identification card, or a copy of a CDR Credential 

Verification certificate certifying that the applicant is a Registered 

Dietitian Nutritionist. 

(h)  Applicants providing evidence of completing academic 

requirements in G.S. 90-357.5(a)(1) shall either: 

(1) Submit transcripts and a verification statement 

that includes the original signature of the 

Program Director of a college or university 

where the course of study was accredited by the 

ACEND as meeting the competency 

requirements of the most current edition of the 

Accreditation Standards for Nutrition and 

Dietetic Didactic Programs; or 

(2) Submit documentation, including official 

transcripts, demonstrating the course of study 

met the competency requirements of the most 

current edition of the ACEND Accreditation 

Standards for Nutrition and Dietetic Didactic 

Programs. 

(i)  Applicants providing evidence of completing academic 

requirements in G.S. 90-357.5(c) shall submit documentation, 

including official transcripts, demonstrating completion of the 

requirements stated in G.S. 90-357.5(c)(1). 

(j)  Applicants providing evidence of completing a supervised 

practice experience in G.S. 90-357.5(a)(1)(b) shall either: 

(1) Submit a verification statement that includes 

the original signature of the Program Director 

of a documented, supervised practice 

experience that has been accredited by the 

ACEND as meeting the competency 

requirements of the most current edition of the 
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Accreditation Standards for Nutrition and 

Dietetics Internship Programs; or 

(2) Submit documentation demonstrating at least 

1000 hours of documented, supervised practice 

experience, meeting the competency 

requirements of the most current edition of the 

Accreditation Standards for Nutrition and 

Dietetics Internship Programs issued by 

ACEND. The scope of activities may include 

alternate supervised experiential learning such 

as simulation, case studies, and role playing, but 

must also include at least 750 hours in a 

professional work setting. The 1000 hours must 

be concurrent with or following completion of 

the academic requirements for licensure and 

need not be a paid experience. The following 

shall be necessary to determine and verify 

supervised practice experience: 

(A) The supervisor shall have access to all 

relevant patient/client records kept 

during the supervised practice 

experience. The supervisor shall 

review performance by periodic 

observation, either in real-time, or by 

some recording of the nutrition 

service. 

(B) If there shall be more than one 

supervisor or facility for different 

parts of the supervised practice 

experience, information and 

verification of each part is required. 

(C) The applicant shall provide to the 

Board for each supervisor/facility: 

(i) the name and address of the 

facility providing the 

supervised practice 

experience; 

(ii) the name, address, phone, 

and title of the supervisor 

who supervised the 

supervised practice 

experience; 

(iii) a summary of nutrition 

services performed, along 

with dates and hours spent 

performing them; 

(iv) evidence that the supervisor 

met the requirements stated 

in G.S. 90-357.5(a)(1)(b) at 

the time of supervision; and 

(v) an attestation that the 

supervisor is not related to, 

married to, or domestic 

partners with the supervisee. 

(D) Each supervisor shall review the 

evidence provided by the applicant 

and verify that the information is true, 

including: 

(i) that the applicant participated 

in nutrition services under his 

or her supervision, stating the 

total number of hours; 

(ii) providing a summary of the 

nutrition services provided 

under his or her supervision; 

and 

(iii) providing an evaluation of 

the applicant for the Board to 

be able to assess the 

applicant's performance in 

completion of the 

competencies required by 

ACEND. 

(k)  Applicants providing evidence of completing a supervised 

practice experience in G.S. 90-357.5(c)(2) shall submit 

documentation demonstrating at least 1000 hours of documented, 

supervised practice experience, meeting the requirements as 

stated in G.S. 90-357.5(c)(2). The scope of activities may include 

alternate supervised experiential learning such as simulation, case 

studies, and role playing, but must also include at least 750 hours 

in a professional work setting. The 1000 hours must be concurrent 

with or following completion of the academic requirements for 

licensure and need not be a paid experience. The following shall 

be necessary to determine and verify the supervised practice 

experience: 

(1) The supervisor shall have access to all relevant 

patient/client records kept during the 

supervised practice experience. The supervisor 

shall review performance by periodic 

observation, either in real-time or by some 

recording of the nutrition service. 

(2) If there shall be more than one supervisor or 

facility for different parts of the supervised 

practice experience, information and 

verification of each part is required. 

(3) The applicant shall provide to the Board for 

each supervisor/facility: 

(A) the name and address of the facility 

providing the supervised practice 

experience; 

(B) the name, address, phone, and title of 

the supervisor who supervised the 

supervised practice experience; 

(C) a summary of nutrition services 

performed, along with dates, and 

hours spent performing them; 

(D) evidence that the supervisor met the 

requirements as stated in G.S. 90-

357.5(c)(2) at the time of supervision; 

and 

(E) an attestation that the supervisor is not 

related to, married to, or domestic 

partners with the supervisee. 

(4) Each supervisor shall review the evidence 

provided by the applicant and verify that the 

information is true, including: 
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(A) that the applicant participated in 

nutrition services under his or her 

supervision, stating the total number 

of hours; 

(B) providing a summary of the nutrition 

services provided under his or her 

supervision; and 

(C) providing an evaluation of the 

applicant for the Board to be able to 

assess the applicant's performance in 

the areas of nutrition assessment; 

nutrition intervention, education, 

counseling, or management; and 

nutrition monitoring or evaulation. 

(l)  Applicants who have obtained their education outside of the 

United States and its territories shall: 

(1) Have their academic degree(s) evaluated by a 

Board-approved foreign credential evaluating 

service as equivalent to a baccalaureate or 

higher degree conferred by a U.S. college or 

university accredited by the regional 

accrediting agencies recognized by the Council 

on Higher Education Accreditation and the U.S. 

Department of Education; and 

(2) All documents submitted in a language other 

than English shall be accompanied by a 

certified translation thereof in English from a 

Board-approved translation service. 

(3) The following foreign credential evaluating and 

translation services are Board-approved: 

(A) Academic and Professional 

International Evaluation, Inc., which 

may be found at: www.apie.org; 

(B) Academic Credentials Evaluation 

Institute, Inc., which may be found at: 

https://www.acei-global.org/; 

(C) American Education Research 

Corporation, Inc., which may be found 

at: http://www.aerc-eval.com/; 

(D) Association of International 

Credential Evaluators, Inc., which 

may be found at: www.aice-eval.org; 

(E) Bruscan Educational Information 

Services, which may be found at: 

http://www.bruscan.com/; 

(F) Center for Educational 

Documentation, Inc., which may be 

found at: 

http://www.cedevaluations.com/; 

(G) Education Credential Evaluators, Inc., 

which may be found at: www.ece.org; 

(H) Educational Perspectives, which may 

be found at: 

https://www.edperspective.org/; 

(I) Foundation for International Services, 

Inc., which may be found at: 

https://www.fis-web.com/; 

(J) International Education Research 

Foundation, which may be found at: 

www.ierf.org; 

(K) Josef Silny & Associates, which may 

be found at: http://www.jsilny.org/; 

(L) SpanTran: The Evaluation Company, 

which may be found at: 

https://www.spantran.com/; or 

(M) World Education Services, Inc., which 

may be found at: 

https://www.wes.org/. 

(m)  If the Board determines that the application does not 

demonstrate satisfaction of the requirements specified in G.S. 90-

357.5, the Board shall notify the applicant in writing. The 

notification shall include what is required to demonstrate the 

applicant meets the statutory requirements, and the applicant shall 

be: 

(1) offered the ability to place the application on 

hold for a time period of up to one year from the 

date of the letter providing the Board's 

determination, so long as such a request is made 

in writing within 30 days of the date of the 

letter. During this hold time, the applicant may 

provide other evidence demonstrating the 

applicant satisfied the requirements the Board 

determined were not met; 

(2) offered the opportunity to appear for an 

interview before the Board. At any time during 

that interview, the applicant may stop the 

interview, and request to have all or any part of 

requested information provided in writing; and 

(3) offered the ability to withdraw the application 

so long as such a request is made in writing 

within 30 days of the date of the letter. The 

applicant will be allowed to apply for licensure 

at a later time. 

(n)  If an applicant who received the notice specified in Paragraph 

(m) of this Rule does not provide a written response to the Board 

within 30 days of the date of the notification requesting that he or 

she be granted an interview or his or her application be placed on 

hold or withdrawn, the Board shall issue the applicant an official 

rejection as provided in G.S. 90-358. 

(o)  A rejected applicant shall have 60 days from the date of 

official rejection to request an administrative hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-356; 90-357.5; 90-357.6; 90-

358; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 19, 1992 for a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on September 13, 1992; 

Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 17 .0004 Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2011; July 18, 2002; March 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 17 .0105 EXAMINATION FOR 

LICENSURE 

The Board shall recognize the passing scores set by the testing 

agencies for the exams in G.S. 90-359 as "successful completion." 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 90-356; 90-359; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 19, 1992 for a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on September 13, 1992; 

Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 17 .0005 Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 17 .0107 PROVISIONAL LICENSE 

(a)  Applicants for a provisional license under G.S. 90-357.5(a) 

shall provide evidence of completing the educational and 

supervised practice experience requirements by submitting the 

information required by Rule 21 NCAC 17 .0104(h) and (j), and 

providing evidence of making application to take the Registered 

Dietitian Nutritionist examination. Applicants granted provisional 

licensure under G.S. 90-357.5(a) shall be given the credential 

"PLDN." 

(b)  Applicants for a provisional license under G.S. 90-357.5(c) 

shall provide evidence of completing the educational and 

supervised practice experience requirements by submitting the 

information required by Rule 21 NCAC 17.0104(i) and (k), and 

providing evidence of making application to take the Certified 

Nutrition Specialist examination or the Diplomate of the 

American Clinical Board of Nutrition examination. Applicants 

granted a provisional license under G.S. 90-357.5(c) shall be 

given the credential "PLN." 

(c)  Applications for a provisional license are available at 

www.ncbdn.org. 

(d)  A provisional license shall be issued for a period of 12 months 

upon the applicant completing the following: 

(1) payment of application, issuance, and criminal 

history record check fees; 

(2) submission of a completed, approved 

application as provided by the Board; and 

(3) provision of evidence of being under the 

supervision of North Carolina licensed 

dietitian(s)/nutritionist(s) or licensed 

nutritionist(s). 

(e)  Following the successful completion, as defined in 21 NCAC 

17 .0105, of one of the licensing examinations, the provisionally 

licensed dietitian/nutritionist or provisionally licensed nutritionist 

shall submit a completed application for licensure pursuant to 

G.S. 90-357.5, payment of fees, and evidence of passing one of 

the examinations referenced in G.S. 90-359. If the provisionally 

licensed dietitian/nutritionist or provisionally licensed nutritionist 

successfully completes one of the licensing examinations and 

submits an application for licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-357.5 

within 12 months of the date that the provisional license became 

effective, the provisionally licensed dietitian/nutritionist or 

provisionally licensed nutritionist shall only be required to pay the 

balance of the issuance fee. 

(f)  If the provisionally licensed dietitian/nutritionist or 

provisionally licensed nutritionist does not successfully complete 

the licensing examination and apply for a license pursuant to G.S. 

90-357.5 within 12 months of the date that the provisional license 

became effective, the provisionally licensed dietitian/nutritionist 

or provisionally licensed nutritionist must reapply and pay all 

applicable fees in order to obtain licensure under G.S. 90-357.5. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-356; 90-357.5; 90-361; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 19, 1992 for a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on September 13, 1992; 

Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Recodifed from 21 NCAC 17 .0007 Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2011; July 18, 2002; March 1, 1996; 

February 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 17 .0109 ISSUANCE AND RENEWAL OF 

LICENSE 

(a)  An applicant shall be issued a license based on compliance 

with requirements stated in G.S. 90-357.5 and the rules in this 

Chapter. 

(b)  A licensee shall notify the Board of any change in the 

licensee's personal or professional mailing address within 30 days 

of that change. 

(c)  Licenses shall expire on March 31 of every year. A license for 

an LDN or LN shall be issued for a period of one year beginning 

April 1 and ending March 31. If an LDN or LN license is initially 

granted, reinstated, or reactivated between January 1 and March 

31, the license shall be granted from the time of issuance through 

March 31 of the following year. 

(d)  At least 30 days prior to the expiration date of the license, the 

Board shall send the licensee written notice via USPS or 

electronic mail of the amount of renewal fee due, and instructions 

on how the licensee may renew online at www.ncbdn.org. Each 

applicant for renewal shall file a completed application with the 

Board. 

(e)  A licensee's renewal application must be submitted online 

prior to the expiration date. The licensee's renewal fee must also 

be received or postmarked prior to the expiration date in order to 

avoid the late renewal fee. If the fee is mailed, it must be sent to 

the mailing address provided in 21 NCAC 17 .0104(d). The 

licensee shall be responsible for filing any change of email or 

physical address where renewal notices are to be sent. Failure to 

receive renewal notice due to the licensee's failure to file change 

of addresses with the Board shall not be justification for late 

renewal. 

(f)  Renewal applications shall require licensees attest that the 

information on the application is true and complete. The applicant 

shall provide a written explanation and all available court 

documents evidencing the circumstances of any pending charge 

or conviction, not previously made known to the Board, if 

requested by the Board. The Board shall use these documents 

when determining if a license should be renewed under G.S. 90-

363. 

(g)  Applicants for renewal of licenses shall provide 

documentation of having met continuing education requirements 

by submitting: 

(1) Verification of current certification as a 

Registered Dietitian Nutritionist by the CDR, 

and verification of compliance with CDR's 

continuing education requirements. The 

continuing education standards required to 

maintain certification are contained in the 

"Professional Development Portfolio Guide," 

which is hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions 
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of reference material. Copies of this standard 

may be obtained at no charge from CDR's 

website at: 

https://www.cdrnet.org/pdp/professional-

development-portfolio-guide;  

(2) A summary of continuing education on the 

form provided by the Board documenting 

completion of 75 hours of continuing education 

for a five year period. The continuing education 

hours must meet the standards contained in the 

"Professional Development Portfolio Guide." 

Documentary evidence for continuing 

education activities shall include the following 

for each activity: 

(A) the name of provider/sponsor; 

(B) the name of accrediting organization; 

(C) the title of the activity; 

(D) the date attended; 

(E) the continuing education hours 

earned; and 

(F) a record of attendance or participation; 

(3) Verification of current certification as a 

Certified Nutrition Specialist by the BCNS, and 

verification of compliance with BCNS's 

continuing education requirements. The 

continuing education standards required to 

maintain certification are listed on the Board for 

Certification of Nutrition Specialists' website, 

which is hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments or editions 

of reference material. Copies of this standard 

may be obtained at no charge from the BCNS's 

website at: https://nutritionspecialists.org/cns-

tools/recertification; or 

(4) Verification of current certification as a 

Diplomate, American Clinical Board of 

Nutrition by the ACBN, and verification of 

compliance with ACBN's continuing education 

requirements. The continuing education 

standards required to maintain certification are 

listed on the American Clinical Board of 

Nutrition's website, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments or editions of reference material. 

Copies of this standard may be obtained at no 

charge from the ACBN's website at: 

https://www.acbn.org/policiesprocedures.pdf. 

(h)  The Board shall furnish a renewal license to each licensee 

who meets all renewal requirements by the expiration date. 

(i)  The Board shall renew a license upon the payment of a late fee 

within 60 days of the expiration date. If the license has been 

expired for 60 days or less, the license may be renewed by 

submitting the online license renewal form, the renewal and late 

fee, and verification of current certification as a Registered 

Dietitian Nutritionist, Certified Nutrition Specialist, Diplomate, 

American Clinical Board of Nutrition, or, if following the 

requirements of Subparagraph (g)(2) of this Rule, continuing 

education documentation to the Board, postmarked on or before 

the end of the 60-day grace period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-356; 90-362; 90-363; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 19, 1992 for a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on September 13, 1992; 

Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 17 .0009 Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2011; July 18, 2002; February 1, 

1995; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission September 19, 2019 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (1st Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell  

Jeanette Doran (2nd Vice Chair) 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079 
Ashley Snyder  (919) 431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 September 19, 2019 October 17, 2019 
 November 21, 2019 December 19, 2019 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 19, 2019 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Recognition and Swearing in of New Member of the Rules Review Commission 
II. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 163A-159(e) 
III. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 
IV. Follow-up matters 

A. Board of Elections - 08 NCAC 10B .0103 (May) 
B. Social Services Commission - 10A NCAC 06S .0101, .0102, .0203, .0204, .0301, .0302, .0402, .0403, .0404, 

.0405, .0501, .0508; 06T .0201 (Reeder) 
C. DHHS/ Division of Health Benefits - 10A NCAC 23G .0304 (Reeder) 
D. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder) 
E. Social Services Commission -10A NCAC 67A .0101, .0201, .0202; 68 .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0202, 

.0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0208, .0301, .0303; 69 .0602, .0604, .0605; 72 .0101 (May) 
F. Department of Justice - 12 NCAC 02I .0306 (Reeder) 
G. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0101, .0103, .0104, .0106, .0108, .0110, .0201, 

.0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0208, .0211, .0212, .0214, .0215, .0216, .0218, .0219, .0220, .0221, .0222, 

.0223, .0224, .0225, .0226, .0227, .0228, .0230, .0231, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307, 

.0308, .0309, .0310, .0311, .0312, .0313, .0314, .0315, .0316, .0317 (May) 
H. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, 

.0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, 

.0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, .0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, 

.0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206 
(May) 

I. Board of Dietetics/Nutrition – 21 NCAC 17 .0101, .0303 (Reeder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between July 23, 2019 through August 20, 2019 

• Department of Administration (May) 

• Board of Agriculture (Reeder) 

• Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (Reeder) 

• Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (Snyder) 
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• Private Protective Services Board (Reeder) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission 10B, 10F (Snyder) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission 10H (Reeder)  

• Commission for Public Health (Reeder) 

• Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners (Reeder) 

• Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners (May) 

• Board of Dental Examiners (Snyder) 

• State Board of Opticians (Snyder) 

VI. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VII. Existing Rules Review 

• Readoptions 

VIII. Commission Business 

• Commission vote on adoption of the Administrative Rule Style Guide   

• Election of Commission Officers 

• Next meeting: Thursday, October 17, 2019 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

July 23, 2019 through August 20, 2019 

ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 5 concern purchase and contract.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 5A concern the division of purchase and contract. 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 01 NCAC 05A .0112 

The rules in Subchapter 5B concern purchase procedures including requisitioning (.0100); specifications (.0200); 
procurement authorization and procedures (.0300); rejection of offers (.0500); purchase of used items (.0600); removal 
of certain items from general construction (.0700); inspection and testing (.0900); guarantees and warranties (.1000); 
term contracts (.1100); partial and multiple awards (.1200); waiver of competition (.1400); miscellaneous provisions 
(.1500) exemptions, emergencies and special delegations (.1600); inventories and stores (.1800); and records of the 
division of purchase and contract (.1900). 

Confidentiality 
Amend* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0103 

Copies of Specifications 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0207 

Qualified Products List 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0208 

Confidentiality 
Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0210 

Electronic, Facsimile, and Telephone Offers 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0303 

Recall of Offers 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0304 

Public Opening 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0305 

Late Offers, Modifications, or Withdrawals 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0306 

Extension of Acceptance Time  01 NCAC 05B .0308 
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Readopt with Changes* 

Evaluation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0309 

Notification of Award 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0310 

Tabulations and Abstracts 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0313 

Advertisement Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0316 

Mandatory Conferences/Site Visits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0317 

Rejection or Cancellation of Offers 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0501 

Public Record 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0502 

Negotiation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0503 

Extension of Contract Termination Dates 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .1108 

Use 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .1201 

Confidentiality 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 05B .1501 

Change in Corporate Structure 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .1507 

Use of Purchasing Power for Private Gain 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 05B .1510 

Anticompetitive, Deceptive, and Fraudulent Practices 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .1511 

Advertising 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .1516 

Protest Procedures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .1519 

Debarment 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .1520 

Faithful Performance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .1521 

Reciprocal Preference 
Readopt with Changes* 

 01 NCAC 05B .1522 

The rules in Subchapter 5D concern consultant contracts including contracting procedures. 

Relationship of Consultant to State 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 05D .0209 

AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 20 concern the North Carolina State Fair.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 20B concern regulations of the state fair including general provisions (.0100); space rental: 
commercial exhibit and concession regulations (.0200); competitive exhibit regulations (.0300); and operation of state 
fair facilities (.0400).  

Admission Rules  02 NCAC 20B .0104 
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Amend* 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This Commission 
has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention standards for criminal 
justice personnel (not including sheriffs).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards for: employment (.0100); schools and training programs (.0200); 
criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of training (.0400); school directors (.0500); and certification of post-
secondary criminal justice education programs (.0600). 

Certification Training for School Resource Officers 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0313 

The rules in Subchapter 9F cover concealed handgun training. 

Topical Areas 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09F .0102 

Instructor Responsibilities 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09F .0105 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 15 are from the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission. The rules in Subchapter 15B concern 
retail beer, wine, mixed beverages, brownbagging, advertising, and special permits. The rules include definitions and 
permit application procedures (.0100); general rules affecting retailers and brownbagging permittees (.0200); malt 
beverages and the wine retailer/wholesaler relationship (.0300); additional requirements for brownbagging permittees 
(.0400); additional requirements for mixed beverages permittees (.0500); special requirements for convention centers, 
community theatres, sports clubs, and nonprofit and political organizations (.0600); special occasions permits (.0700); 
culinary permits (.0800); wine and beer tastings (.0900); advertising (.1000); and effect of administrative action, fines, 
and offers in compromise (.1100). 

Refund Offers 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15B .1013 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 16 are from the Private Protective Services Board and cover organization and general provisions 
(.0100); licenses and trainee permits (.0200); security guard patrol and guard dog service (.0300); private investigator: 
electronic countermeasures (.0400); polygraph (.0500); psychological stress evaluator (PSE) (.0600); unarmed security 
guard registration (.0700); armed security guard firearm registration permit (.0800); trainer certificate (.0900); recovery 
fund (.1000); training and supervision for private investigator associates (.1100); continuing education (.1300); and 
armed armored car service guards firearm registration permit (.1400). 

Reporting Requirements for the Discharge of Firearms 
Readopt with Changes* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0110 

Investigation/Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration P... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0804 

Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit Ident Cards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0805 

Renewal of Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 
Readopt with Changes* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0806 

Training Requirements for Armed Security Guards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0807 

Concealed Weapons  14B NCAC 16 .0808 
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Readopt with Changes* 

Authorized Firearms 
Readopt with Changes* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0809 

Requirements for Firearms Trainer Certificate 
Readopt with Changes* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0901 

Renewal of a Firearms Trainer Certificate 
Readopt with Changes* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0904 

Records Retention 
Readopt with Changes* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0906 

Unarmed Trainer Certificate 
Readopt with Changes* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0909 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 10 are promulgated by the Wildlife Resources Commission and concern wildlife resources and 
water safety.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 10B are hunting and trapping rules and cover general hunting and wildlife provisions (.0100), 
hunting specific animals (.0200), trapping (.0300), and tagging furs (.0400). 

Wildlife Taken for Depredations 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0106 

The rules in Subchapter 10F cover motorboats and water safety including boat registration (.0100); safety equipment 
and accident reports (.0200); and local water safety regulations covering speed limits, no-wake restrictions, restrictions 
on swimming and other activities, and placement of markers for designated counties or municipalities (.0300). 

Catawba, Iredell, Lincoln, and Mecklenburg Counties 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0307 

Onslow County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0320 

McDowell County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0339 

City of Rocky Mount - Rocky Mount Millpond Dam Safety Zone 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0370 

The rules in Subchapter 10H concern activities regulated by the Commission including controlled hunting preserves for 
domestically raised game birds (.0100), holding wildlife in captivity (.0300), commercial trout ponds (.0400), fish 
propagation (.0700), falconry (.0800), game bird propagators (.0900), taxidermy (.1000), furbearer propagation (.1100), 
controlled fox hunting preserves (.1200), and reptiles and amphibians (.1300). 

Definitions and General Requirements for Captivity License 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1401 

Captivity License for Rehabilitation 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1402 

Captivity License for Holding 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1403 

Minimum Standards Captivity License for Holding 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1404 

Captivity License Revocation and Enforcement 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1405 

Form for Captivity Licenses 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1406 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 
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The rules in Chapter 18 cover environmental aspects of health such as sanitation (18A), mosquito control (18B), water 
supplies (18C), and water treatment facility operators (18D). The rules in Subchapter 18A deal with sanitation and 
include handling, packing and shipping of crustacean meat (.0100) and shellfish (.0300 and .0400); operation of 
shellstock plants and reshippers (.0500); shucking and packing plants (.0600); depuration mechanical purification 
facilities (.0700); wet storage of shellstock (.0800); shellfish growing waters (.0900); summer camps (.1000); grade A 
milk (.1200); hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes, etc. (.1300); mass gatherings (.1400); local confinement facilities 
(.1500); residential care facilities (.1600); protection of water supplies (.1700); lodging places (.1800); sewage treatment 
and disposal systems (.1900); migrant housing (.2100); bed and breakfast homes (.2200); delegation of authority to 
enforce rules (.2300); public, private and religious schools (.2400); public swimming pools (.2500); restaurants, meat 
markets, and other food handling establishments (.2600); child day care facilities (.2800); restaurant and lodging fee 
collection program (.2900); bed and breakfast inns (.3000); lead poisoning prevention (.3100); tattooing (.3200); adult 
day service facilities (.3300); primitive camps (.3500); rules governing the sanitation of resident camps (.3600); and 
private drinking water well sampling (.3800).  

Lead Poisoning Hazards in Child Care Centers 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18A .2816 

CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 8F are the requirements for CPA examination and certificate applicants including general 
provisions (.0100), fees and refunds (.0200), educational requirements (.0300), experience (.0400), and applications 
(.0500). 

Conditioning Requirements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 08F .0105 

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 14H are sanitation rules for both operators and facilities including sanitation (.0100); shop 
licensing and physical dimensions (.0200); cosmetic art shop and equipment (.0300); sanitation procedures and 
practices (.0400); and enforcement, maintenance of licensure (.0500). 

Copy of Rules to Cosmetology Students 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14H .0101 

Copy of Rules to Beauty Establishments 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14H .0102 

Ventilation and Light 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14H .0302 

Licensees and Students 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14H .0401 

Disinfection Procedures 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14H .0403 

The rules in Subchapter 14P are civil penalty rules. 

Operations of Schools of Cosmetic Art 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14P .0113 

The rules in Subchapter 14R are continuing education rules. 

Continuing Education 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14R .0105 

The rules in Subchapter 14T concern cosmetic art schools including the scope of the rules and school applications 
(.0100); physical requirements for cosmetic art schools (.0200); school equipment and supplies (.0300); student 
equipment (.0400); record keeping (.0500); curricula for all cosmetic art disciplines (.0600); school licensure, operations, 
closing and relocating schools (.0700); school inspections (.0800); and disciplinary actions (.0900). 
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New School Applications 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0102 

All Cosmetic Art Schools 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0201 

Permanent Records, Forms and Documentation 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0502 

Cosmetic Art Curricula 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0601 

Cosmetology Curriculum 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0602 

Apprentice Cosmetology Curriculum 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0603 

Esthetics Curriculum 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0604 

Manicuring Curriculum 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0605 

Natural Hair Care Curriculum 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0606 

Cosmetology Teacher Trainee Curriculum 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0607 

Esthetic Teacher Trainee Curriculum 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0608 

Manicurist Teacher Trainee Curriculum 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0609 

Natural Hair Care Teacher Curriculum 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0610 

Online Instruction 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0611 

Instruction Guidelines 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0612 

School Operations/Licensure Maintenance 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0701 

Expiration of Student Credit 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0703 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 16A concern the organization of the board of dental examiners. 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16A .0101 

Suspension of Authority to Expend Funds 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 16A .0105 

The rules in Chapter 16 cover the licensing of dentists and dental hygienists. The rules in Subchapter 16B concern 
licensure examination for dentists including examination required (.0100); qualifications (.0200); application (.0300); 
Board conducted examinations (.0400); licensure by credentials (.0500); limited volunteer dental license (.0600); 
instructor's license (.0700); temporary volunteer dental license (.0800); and exemptions for active military (.0900). 

Examination Required; Exemptions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16B .0101 

Board Approved Examinations 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16B .0303 
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The rules in Chapter 16 cover the licensing of dentists and dental hygienists. The rules in Subchapter 16C are dental 
hygienist licensure rules including general provisions (.0100); qualifications (.0200); application (.0300); Board 
conducted examinations (.0400); and licensure by credentials (.0500). 

Licensure 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16C .0101 

The rules in Subchapter 16H concern dental assistants including classification and training (.0100); and permitted 
functions of dental assistant (.0200). 

General Permitted Functions of Dental Assistant I 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16H .0201 

Limited Exception for Assisting Hygienists 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 16H .0208 

The rules in Subchapter 16I concern the annual renewal of the dental hygienist license.  

Fee for Late Filing and Duplicate License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16I .0106 

The rules in Subchapter 16N concern rule-making and administrative hearing procedures including petitions for 
rulemaking (.0100); notice of rule-making hearings (.0200); rule-making hearings (.0300); declaratory rulings (.0400); 
administrative hearing procedures (.0500); and administrative hearings, decisions, related rights and procedures 
(.0600). 

Right to Hearing 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16N .0501 

Subpoenas 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16N .0603 

Disciplinary Factors 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 16N .0607 

The rules in Subchapter 16V concern unprofessional conduct. 

Definition: Unprofessional Conduct by a Dentist 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16V .0101 

Definition: Unprofessional Conduct by a Dental Hygienist 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16V .0102 

The rules in Subchapter 16W concern public health hygienists. 

Training for Public Health Hygienists 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16W .0102 

OPTICIANS, STATE BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 40 are from the Board of Opticians and concern location (.0100); conduct of registrants (.0200); 
qualifications, applications and licensing (.0300); and administrative hearings (.0400). 

Location and Function 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0101 

Information and Application 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0104 

Fees 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0108 

Election of Members 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0109 

Display of Registration and License  21 NCAC 40 .0209 
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Amend* 

Duty to Provide Direct Supervision 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0212 

Licensure Examination Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0302 

Licensure Examination and Re-Examination 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0303 

Apprenticeship and Internship Requirements: Registration 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0314 

Applicants from Other States 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0319 

License Renewal Information 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0320 

Training Establishment Requirements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0321 

Affidavit of Applicant 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0323 

Licensure for Military-Trained Applicant; Licensure for M... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 40 .0325 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

        

18 CPS 06339 7/17/2019 Brenda Rene 

Branch 

v. North Carolina Crime Victims 

Compensation Commission 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

18 DHR 05219 7/2/2019 Nicole Baines Sauls v. NC Department of Health & Human 

Services Divison of Health Service 

Regulations 

Jacobs 

18 DHR 07276 7/29/2019 Audiasha Walker v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

19 DHR 00851 7/25/2019 Debra P Dennis v. DHHS DHSR Sutton 

19 DHR 02667 7/12/2019 E C Canada & 

Associates Inc 

Timothy DeVane 

Daniel Canada 

Ethelean Canada 

and Dwight Canada 

v. Special Nutrition Programs Nutrition 

Services Branch Division of Public 

Health Womens and Childrens Health 

Section 

Overby 

19 DHR 03052; 

03053; 

03054 

7/12/2019 Sherry Gentry/ 

HOPE;  

Sandra Kirkman/ 

HOPE; 

Douglas 

Jackson/HOPE 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Nutrition Services, Child & 

Adult Care Food Program 

Overby 

  
          

 

19 DOJ 01620 7/29/2019 Randy Camacho v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

  
          

 

18 EDC 07001 7/3/2019 Kristyn Daney v. State Board of Education May 
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    Unpublished    

        

19 ABC 00212 7/29/2019 Mr and Mrs Nunez 

Enterprise LLC 

Tabu Bar and 

Lounge 

v. Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Commission 

Mann 

19 ABC 02353 7/26/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Tipsy Crow LLC T/A Tipsy Crow Mann 

19 ABC 03293 7/9/2019 Town of 

Wrightsville Beach 

North Carolina 

v. North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Commission 

Culpepper 

  
          

 

19 CPS 02112 7/8/2019 Alex C Williams v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Mann 

19 CPS 02113 7/8/2019 Ray Darnell Smith 

Jr 

v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Mann 

  
          

 

18 CSE 06941 7/8/2019 Michael T 

Holloway 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Jacobs 

18 CSE 06986 7/12/2019 Thomas N Baker III v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 07083 7/2/2019 Sharon F 

Springfield 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

19 CSE 00009 7/24/2019 Kory Lee Helm v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Mann 

19 CSE 00147 7/11/2019 Larri Hillian v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Mann 

19 CSE 00833 7/25/2019 Ollie L Shamburger 

Jr 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Mann 

19 CSE 01321 7/8/2019 Rodney K Kirby v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Jacobs 

19 CSE 01504 7/22/2019 Ronald L Roberts v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 01872 7/26/2019 Derrick Nicholson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 02532 7/24/2019 Cory T Wilkerson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 03357 7/1/2019 Luigi Alessandro 

Jac Lorfils 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 03937 7/29/2019 Jorge A Salaverria v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Bawtinhimer 
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18 DCS 05919 7/16/2019 Alexis McNeil v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 DCS 02534 7/5/2019 Willie J Moss v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

19 DHR 00925 7/9/2019 Mamie Covington v. Health Care Registry Jacobs 

19 DHR 01589 7/19/2019 Marilene Comai 

Gilewala 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 01873 7/8/2019 Iryna Martynyuk 

Vals Place Inc 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 01927 7/2/2019 Adline Evans 

Patterson 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 01930 7/8/2019 Sharpe and 

Williams Kesha 

Spaulding 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Mann 

19 DHR 02055 7/8/2019 Iryna Martynyuk 

Vals Place Inc 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 02214 7/19/2019 Janice Mabe v. Rockingham County Department of 

Social Services 

May 

19 DHR 02457 7/8/2019 Natasia Nicole 

Knight 

v. North Carolina Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 02793 7/18/2019 Samantha Davis v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child 

Development and Early Education 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 02905 7/24/2019 Voca dba 

Community 

Alternative NC 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Mental Health Licensure 

and Certification Section 2718 Mail 

Service Center Raleigh NC 27699-

2718 

Sutton 

19 DHR 03064 7/24/2019 Litoya Mikel v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Sutton 

  
          

 

19 DOJ 02114 7/9/2019 Lydia Waddell v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Jacobs 

19 DOJ 02496 7/29/2019 Enricque Boyd v. North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission 

May 

19 DOJ 02982 7/15/2019 Justin Ryan Thomas v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Elkins 

  
          

 

19 INS 01906 7/8/2019 Dr Daniel N Adams v. North Carolina State Health Plan Jacobs 
  

          
 

19 SOS 01866 7/22/2019 Stanley Bernard 

Anderson 

v. Secretary of State May 

  
          

 

19 UNC 01645 7/19/2019; 

7/29/2019 

Janet Davis v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Mann 

 


