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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Natural and Cultural 

Resources intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules 

cited as 07 NCAC 15 .0104, .0105, .0401, .0504, and .0603. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.ncdcr.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 20, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  3125 Poplarwood Ct., Suite 160, Raleigh, NC 27604 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rules are proposed 

for readoption as part of the existing rules review process. The 

proposed rules are necessary to carry out the functions of the 

Aquariums division of the Department of Natural and Cultural 

Resources. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Maylon White, 3125 

Poplarwood Ct., Raleigh, NC 27604; phone (919) 623-5106; 

email maylon.white@ncaquariums.com 

 

Comment period ends:  September 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 15 - NORTH CAROLINA AQUARIUMS 

 

SECTION .0100 - USE OF NORTH CAROLINA 

AQUARIUMS 

 

07 NCAC 15 .0104 PERMISSIBLE ACTIVITIES 

Approved private activities may include sales or solicitations if 

approved by the Aquarium or Pier Director at least 10 days before 

the date of the activity. No other sales or solicitations by private 

groups and individuals are allowed on Aquarium or Pier property. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.182(a)(1b)b.; 143B-135.182(b). 

 

07 NCAC 15 .0105 PERMISSION FOR USE 

All potential users shall obtain prior written permission from the 

Aquarium or Pier Director for use of the building or grounds. 

Approved users of the facilities shall sign a written contract. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.182(a)(1b)b.; 143B-135.182(b). 

 

SECTION .0400 - FIREARMS:  FIRES:  SMOKING 

 

07 NCAC 15 .0401 LETHAL INSTRUMENTS 

Carrying or possessing firearms, airguns, bows and arrows, 

slingshots or lethal instruments of any kind in the Aquarium or 

Pier or on Aquarium or Pier property, except by law enforcement 

officials with jurisdictional authority, is prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.182(a)(1b); 143B-135.182(b). 

 

SECTION .0500 - CONDUCT: ALCOHOLIC 

BEVERAGES: PETS: PROPER DRESS 

 

07 NCAC 15 .0504 PETS 

Pets are not allowed in the Aquarium buildings. buildings or Pier. 

Service animals whose handlers attest to the animal's status are 

allowed inside the buildings. Pets are allowed on the grounds 

provided they remain at all times under the owners' control and 

are restrained by a leash. Any animal causing a nuisance or left 

unattended on Aquarium or Pier property shall be removed by the 

owner upon the request of the Aquarium or Pier Director. Pet 

owners shall pick up their animal's waste from Aquarium and Pier 

grounds and dispose of it. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.182(a)(1b); 143B-135.182(b). 

 

SECTION .0600 - COMMERCIAL ACTIVITIES: 

SOLICITATIONS: ETC. 
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07 NCAC 15 .0603 PHOTOGRAPHS 

No person shall take photographs, video tapes or movies of the 

Aquarium or Pier facilities or on Aquarium or Pier property for 

commercial purposes without the permission of the Aquarium or 

Pier Director. Permission shall be granted when the activity is 

conducted at a time and in a manner that does not expose the 

Aquarium's or Pier's visitors, employees or captive animals to 

harm. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.182(a)(1b); 143B-135.182(b). 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 08 – BOARD OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC 

ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners intends to 

amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 08G .0401, .0403, .0404, 

.0406, .0409 and repeal the rules cited as 21 NCAC 08G .0405 

and .0410. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.nccpaboard.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  September 23, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  NC State Board of CPA Examiners, 1101 Oberlin 

Road, Ste 104, Raleigh, NC 27605 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  All the rules in Subchapter 08G 

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) were reviewed, 

clarified, and amended to comply with current professional 

standards by a Joint Task Force of the NC State Board of CPA 

Examiners (Board and the North Carolina Association of CPAs 

and reviewed and approved by the Board for rule-making. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Robert N. Brooks, NC State 

Board of CPA Examiners, 1101 Oberlin Road, Ste 104, Raleigh, 

NC 27605; phone (919) 733-1425; fax (919) 733-4209; email 

rbrooks@nccpaboard.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  September 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 08G - CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL 

EDUCATION (CPE) 

 

SECTION .0400 - CPE REQUIREMENTS 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0401 CPE REQUIREMENTS FOR 

CPAS 

(a)  In order for a CPA to receive CPE credit for a course: credit 

for CPE activities: 

(1) the CPA shall attend or complete the course 

activity and receive a certificate of completion 

as set forth in Rule .0403(c)(13) of this Section; 

in the Standards for CPE Program Sponsors in 

the NASBA/AICPA Statement on Standards 

for Continuing Professional Education (CPE) 

Programs, including subsequent amendments 

and editions, which are hereby incorporated by 

reference. Copies of the Standards for CPE 

Program Sponsors can be found at no cost on 

the NASBA website at 

www.nasbaregistry.org/the-standards; 

(2) the course activity shall meet the requirements 

set out in Rule .0404(a) and (c) Rule .0404 of 

this Section; and 

(3) the course activity shall increase the 

professional competency of the CPA. 

(b)  A course An activity that increases the professional 

competency of a CPA shall be a course an activity in an area of 

accounting of the profession in which the CPA practices or is 

planning to practice in the future, practice, or in the area of 

professional ethics, or an area of the profession. ethics. 

(c)  Because of differences in the education and experience of 

CPAs, a course an activity may contribute to the professional 

competence of one CPA but not another. Each CPA shall 

therefore exercise judgment in selecting courses activities for 

which CPE credit is claimed and choose only those that contribute 

to that CPA's professional competence. 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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(d)  Active CPAs shall complete 40 CPE hours, 2,000 CPE 

minutes computed in accordance with Rule .0409 of this Section 

by December 31 of each year, except as follows: 

(1) CPAs having certificate applications approved 

by the Board in April-June April to June shall 

complete 30 CPE hours 1,500 CPE minutes 

during the same calendar year; 

(2) CPAs having certificate applications approved 

by the Board in July-September July to 

September shall complete 20 CPE hours 1,000 

CPE minutes during the same calendar year; or 

(3) CPAs having certificate applications approved 

by the Board in October-December October to 

December shall complete 10 CPE hours 500 

CPE minutes during the same calendar year. 

year; and 

Any CPE minutes completed during the calendar year in which 

the certificate application is approved may be used for that year's 

requirement even if the minutes were completed before the 

certificate was granted. 

(e)  There shall be no CPE requirements for inactive CPAs. A 

CPA shall complete a minimum of 50 CPE minutes annually in 

activities on regulatory or behavioral professional ethics and 

conduct. Ethics CPE shall be offered by a CPE sponsor registered 

with NASBA pursuant to Rule .0403(c) of this Section. 

(f)  There shall be no CPE requirements for inactive CPAs. 

(f)(g)  Any CPE hours completed during the calendar year in 

which the certificate is approved may be used for that year's 

requirement even if the hours were completed before the 

certificate was granted. When a CPA has completed more than the 

required number of hours minutes of CPE in any one calendar 

year, the extra hours, not in excess of 20 hours, up to 1,000 

minutes shall be carried forward and treated as hours minutes 

earned in the following year. Ethics CPE hours minutes may shall 

not be included in any carry forward hours. minutes to meet the 

requirement of Paragraph (e) of this Rule. A CPA shall not claim 

CPE credit for courses activities taken in any year prior to the year 

of certification. 

(g)(h)  Any CPE hours minutes used to satisfy the requirements 

for change of status as set forth in 21 NCAC 08J .0105, for 

reissuance as set forth in 21 NCAC 08J .0106 21 NCAC 08J 

.0106, or for application for a new certificate as set forth in Rule 

08I .0104 of this Chapter may be used to satisfy the annual CPE 

requirement set forth in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(h)(i)  It shall be the CPA's responsibility to maintain records 

substantiating the CPE credits claimed for the current year and for 

each of the four calendar years prior to the current year. 

(i)(j)  A non-resident licensee may satisfy the annual CPE 

requirements including this Rule in the jurisdiction in which he or 

she where the CPA is licensed and currently works or resides. If 

there is no annual CPE requirement in the jurisdiction in which he 

or she where the CPA is licensed and currently works or resides, 

he or she the CPA shall comply with Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

A non-resident licensee whose office is in North Carolina shall 

comply with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. All other non-resident 

licensees may satisfy Paragraph (e) of this Rule by completing the 

ethics requirements in the jurisdiction in which the non-resident 

licensee is licensed as a CPA and works or resides. If there is no 

ethics CPE requirement in the jurisdiction where the non-resident 

licensee is licensed and currently works or resides, the non-

resident licensee shall comply with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(8b). 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0403 QUALIFICATION OF CPE 

SPONSORS 

(a)  The Board shall not register either CPE activities nor sponsors 

or providers of CPE courses or CPE courses. activities. 

(b)  CPE providers not in good standing on the NASBA National 

Registry of CPE Sponsors shall comply with the Standards for 

CPE Program Sponsors in the NASBA/AICPA Statement on 

Standards for Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Programs 

found on the NASBA website at www.nasbaregistry.org. 

(b)(c)  Sponsors of continuing education programs activities that 

are listed in good standing on the NASBA National Registry of 

CPE Sponsors shall be considered by the Board as compliant with 

the CPE requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Standards for 

CPE Program Sponsors in the NASBA/AICPA Statement on 

Standards for Continuing Profession Education (CPE) Programs 

found on the NASBA website at www.nasbaregistry.org. 

(c)  CPE providers not in good standing on the NASBA National 

Registry of CPE Sponsors shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) have an individual who did not prepare the 

course review each course to be sure it meets 

the standards for CPE; 

(2) state the following in every brochure or other 

publication or announcement concerning a 

course: 

(A) the general content of the course and 

the specific knowledge or skill taught 

in the course; 

(B) any prerequisites for the course and 

any advance preparation required for 

the course and if none, that shall be 

stated; 

(C) the level of the course, such as basic, 

intermediate, or advanced; 

(D) the teaching methods to be used in the 

course; 

(E) the amount of sponsor recommended 

CPE credit a CPA who takes the 

course may claim; and 

(F) the date the course is offered, if the 

course is offered only on a certain 

date, and, if applicable, the location; 

(3) ensure that the instructors or presenters of the 

course are qualified to teach the subject matter 

of the course and to apply the instructional 

techniques used in the course; 

(4) evaluate the performance of an instructor or 

presenter of a course to determine whether the 

instructor or presenter is suited to serve as an 

instructor or presenter in the future as follows: 

(A) before the course's conclusion, 

provide for the attendees an 

opportunity to evaluate the quality of 

the course by questionnaires, oral 

feedback, or other means, in order to 
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determine whether the course's 

objectives have been met, its 

prerequisites were necessary, the 

facilities used were satisfactory, and 

the course content was appropriate for 

the level of the course; and 

(B) systematically review the evaluation 

process to ensure its effectiveness; 

(5) encourage participation in a course only by 

those who have the education and experience 

for the level of the course; 

(6) distribute course materials to participants; 

(7) use physical facilities for conducting the course 

that are consistent with the instructional 

techniques used; 

(8) assign the number of CPE credits each 

participant may be eligible to receive by either: 

(A) monitoring attendance at a group 

course; or 

(B) testing in order to determine if the 

participant has learned the material 

presented; 

(9) inform instructors and presenters of the results 

of the evaluation of their performances; 

(10) retain for five years from the date of the course 

presentation or completion: 

(A) a record of participants completing 

course credit requirements; 

(B) an outline of the course; 

(C) the date and location of presentation; 

(D) the participant evaluations or 

summaries of evaluations; 

(E) the documentation of the instructor's 

qualifications; and 

(F) the number of contact hours 

recommended for each participant; 

(11) have a visible, continuous, and identifiable 

contact person who is charged with the 

administration of the sponsor's CPE programs 

that has the responsibility and shall be 

accountable for assuring and demonstrating 

compliance with this Rule by the sponsor or by 

any other organization working with the 

sponsor for the development, distribution, or 

presentation of CPE courses; 

(12) develop and promulgate policies and 

procedures for the management of grievances 

including tuition and fee refunds; and 

(13) provide persons completing course 

requirements with written proof of completion 

indicating the participant's name, the name of 

the course, the date the course was held or 

completed, the sponsor's name and address, and 

the number of CPE hours calculated and 

recommended in accordance with Rule .0409 of 

this Section. 

(d)  Failure of a National Registry of CPE Sponsor to comply with 

the terms of this Rule shall be grounds for the Board to disqualify 

the sponsor as a CPE sponsor with this Board and to notify 

NASBA and the public of this action. 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(8b). 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0404 REQUIREMENTS FOR CPE 

CREDIT 

(a)  A CPA shall not be granted CPE credit for a course an activity 

unless the course: activity is in one of the fields of study listed in 

the NASBA Fields of Study, including subsequent amendments 

and editions, which are hereby incorporated by reference. Copies 

of the NASBA Fields of Study can be found at no cost on the 

NASBA website at www.nasbaregistry.org/the-standards. 

(1) is in one of the seven fields of study recognized 

by the Board and set forth in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule; 

(2) is developed by an individual who has 

education and work experience in the subject 

matter of the course; and 

(3) uses instructional techniques and materials that 

are current and accurate as set forth by Rule 

.0403 of this Section. 

(b)  The seven fields of study recognized by the Board are: 

(1) Accounting and Auditing 

(A) Accountancy 

(B) Accounting – Governmental 

(C) Auditing 

(D) Auditing – Governmental 

(2) Consulting Services 

(A) Administrative Practice 

(B) Social Environment of Business 

(3) Ethics 

(A) Behavioral Ethics 

(B) Regulatory Ethics 

(4) Management 

(A) Business Law 

(B) Business Management and 

Organization 

(C) Finance 

(D) Management Advisory Services 

(E) Marketing 

(5) Personal Development 

(A) Communications 

(B) Personal Development 

(C) Personnel/HR 

(6) Special Knowledge and Applications 

(A) Computer Science 

(B) Economics 

(C) Mathematics 

(D) Production 

(E) Specialized Knowledge and 

Applications 

(F) Statistics 

(7) Tax 

(c)(b)  The following may shall qualify as acceptable types of 

continuing education programs, CPE activities, provided the 

programs activities comply with the requirements set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule: Rule .0403(b) or (c) of this Section: 
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(1) professional development programs activities 

of national and state accounting organizations; 

(2) technical sessions at meetings of national and 

state accounting organizations and their 

chapters; 

(3) courses taken at regionally accredited colleges 

and universities; 

(4) educational programs activities that are 

designed and intended for continuing 

professional education activity conducted 

within a business, accounting firm, or an 

association of accounting firms; or 

(5) correspondence courses activities that are 

designed and intended for continuing 

professional education activity. education. 

(d)(c)  CPE credit may shall be granted for teaching a CPE course 

instructing or authoring a publication CPE activity as long as the 

preparation to teach or write increased the CPA's professional 

competency was increased and was in one of the seven fields of 

study recognized by the Board and Board, as set forth in 

Paragraph (b)(a) of this Rule. 

(e)(d)  CPE credit shall not be granted for a self-study course 

activity if the material that the CPA must study to take the 

examination is not designed for CPE purposes. This includes 

periodicals, guides, magazines, subscription services, books, 

reference manuals manuals, and supplements that contain an 

examination to test the comprehension of the material read. 

(f)(e)  A CPA may claim credit for a course an activity offered by 

a non–registered sponsor provided that provider if the course 

activity meets the requirements of this Rule and Rules .0403(c), 

and .0409 Rule .0409 of this Section. The CPA shall maintain 

documentation proving that the course activity met these 

standards. 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(8b). 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0405 ADMINISTRATION OF 

REQUIREMENT 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(8b). 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0406 COMPLIANCE WITH CPE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All active CPAs shall file with the Board a completed a 

reporting of CPE reporting form minutes by the July 1 renewal 

date of each year. The Board may audit information submitted by 

licensees who apply for a renewal license. 

(b)  If a CPA fails to complete the CPE requirements prior to the 

end of the previous calendar year but the CPA has completed them 

by June 30, the Board may: 

(1) issue a letter of warning for the first such failure 

within a five calendar five-calendar year period; 

and 

(2) deny the renewal of the CPA's certificate for a 

period of not less than 30 days and until the 

CPA meets the reinstatement requirements set 

forth in 21 NCAC 08J .0106 for the second such 

failure within a five calendar five-calendar year 

period. 

Authority G.S. 93-12(8b); 93-12(9)(e). 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0409 COMPUTATION OF CPE 

CREDITS 

(a)  Group Courses: Non-College. Activity. CPE credit for a group 

course activity that is not part of a college curriculum shall be 

given based on contact hours. minutes. A contact hour shall be 50 

minutes of instruction and one-half contact hour shall be equal to 

25 minutes of instruction. For example, a group course lasting 100 

minutes shall be two contact hours equaling two CPE credits. A 

group course lasting 75 minutes shall be one and one-half contact 

hours equaling one and one-half CPE credits. A group course 

lasting 25 minutes shall be one-half contact hour and equal to one-

half CPE credit. When individual segments of a group course are 

less than 50 minutes, the sum of the individual segments shall be 

added to determine the number of contact hours. For example, five 

30-minute presentations shall be 150 minutes, which shall be three 

contact hours and three CPE credits. No credit shall be allowed 

for a segment unless the participant completes the entire segment. 

Internet based programs shall employ a monitoring mechanism to 

verify that participants are participating during the duration of the 

course. No credit shall be allowed for a group course having fewer 

than 25 minutes of course instruction. 

(b)  Completing a College Course. CPE credit for completing a 

college course in the college curriculum shall be granted based on 

converting the number of credit hours the college gives the CPA 

for completing the course. course into minutes. One semester hour 

of college credit shall be 15 750 CPE credits; minutes. one quarter 

hour of college credit shall be 10 CPE credits; and one continuing 

education unit shall be 10 CPE credits. No CPE credit shall be 

given to a CPA who audits a college course. No more than 50 

percent of the CPE credits required for a year shall be credits for 

completing a college course. 

(c)  Self Study. Study Activity. CPE credit for a self-study course 

activity shall be given based on the average number of contact 

hours needed to complete the course. minutes needed to complete 

the activity as determined by the sponsor. The average completion 

time shall be allowed for CPE credit. A sponsor shall determine 

on the basis of pre-tests or NASBA word count formula the 

average number of contact hours of course material it takes to 

complete a course. A contact hour shall be 50 minutes and one-

half contact hour shall be 25 minutes of course material. No self-

study course may contain less than 25 minutes of course material. 

(d)  Instructing Preparing or Presenting a CPE Course. Activity. 

CPE credit for teaching preparing or presenting a CPE course 

activity for CPAs shall be given based on the number of contact 

hours minutes spent in preparing and or presenting the course. 

activity. Preparing includes activities such as authoring or 

conducting a technical review. No more than 50 percent of the 

CPE credits required for a year shall be credits for preparing for 

and or presenting CPE courses. activities. CPE credit for 

preparing or presenting a course an activity shall be allowed only 

once a year for a course an activity prepared or presented more 

than once in the same year by the same CPA. 

(e)  Authoring a Publication. CPE credit for published articles and 

books shall be given based on the number of contact hours 

minutes the CPA spent writing the article or book. No more than 

25 percent of a CPA's required CPE credits for a year shall be 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2019 

162 

credits for published articles or books. An article written for a 

CPA's client or business newsletter shall not receive CPE credit. 

(f)  Instructing a Graduate Level College Course. CPE credit for 

instructing a graduate level college course above the level of 

accounting principles shall be given based on the number of credit 

hours the college gives a student for completing the course, using 

the calculation set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. Credit shall 

not be given for instructing a course in which there is credit given 

towards an undergraduate degree. No more than 50 percent of the 

CPE credits required for a year shall be credits for instructing a 

college course. 

(g)  Nano Learning Activity. CPE credit for Nano Learning, a 

tutorial activity without interaction with a real-time instructor that 

is designed to permit a participant to learn a given subject through 

electronic media including technology applications/processes, 

computer-based or web-based technology, shall be based on the 

number of contact minutes. Nano Learning is not a group 

program. This CPE activity shall be offered by a CPE sponsor 

registered with NASBA pursuant to Rule .0403(c) of this Section. 

(h)  Blended Learning Activity. A Blended Learning program 

offers participants learning in multiple formats or delivery 

methods. Activities can include lectures, discussion, guided 

practice, games, case studies, and simulation. The varied delivery 

methods include Group Live, Group Internet Based, Self Study, 

or Nano Learning. The primary component of the program may 

be concurrent (a group program) or nonconcurrent, allowing the 

participant to control a portion of the time and place of the 

learning. CPE credit for Blended Learning shall be based on the 

number of contact minutes incorporated in all the learning formats 

in the Blended Learning activity. This CPE activity shall be 

offered by a CPE sponsor registered with NASBA pursuant to 

Rule .0403(c) of this Section. 

(g)(i)  No more than 50 percent of the CPE credits required for a 

year shall be credits claimed under Paragraph (d) and (f) 

Paragraphs (b), (d), and (f) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(8b). 

 

21 NCAC 08G .0410 PROFESSIONAL ETHICS AND 

CONDUCT CPE 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(8b); 93-12(9). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 32S 

.0206. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  September 30, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  North Carolina Medical Board, 1203 Front Street, 

Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  21 NCAC 32S .0206 is being 

amended to increase the physician assistant reactivation 

application fee to be consistent with the Board’s fee increases 

effective April 1, 2019. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Lynne Taylor, North Carolina 

Medical Board, PO Box 20007, Raleigh, NC 27615-0007; email 

rules@ncmedboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  September 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32S - PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 

 

SECTION .0200 – PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 

REGISTRATION 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0206 LICENSE REACTIVATION 

(a)  A physician assistant may apply to reactivate his/her his or 

her license if: 

(1) his/her he or she had a license in North 

Carolina; 

(2) the license was placed on inactive status within 

the past calendar year; and 

(3) the licensee did not become inactive as a result 

of disciplinary action or to avoid disciplinary 

action. 

(b)  A physician assistant requesting reactivation shall: 

(1) complete the board's Board's reactivation 

application; 

(2) pay to the board Board a nonrefundable the fee 

of one hundred twenty dollars ($120), specified 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2019 

163 

in Rule .0204 of this Section, plus the cost of a 

criminal background check; 

(3) submit to the board Board two completed 

original fingerprint record cards, provided on 

fingerprint record cards provided by the Board; 

(4) submit to the board Board a completed signed 

and dated original Authority for Release of 

Information Form allowing a search of local, 

state, and national files to disclose any criminal 

record; 

(5) submit a National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB) and Healthcare Integrity and 

Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) reports, report, 

dated within 60 days of their submission to the 

board; Board; 

(6) submit a board action data bank inquiry from 

the Federation of State Medical Boards 

(FSMB), dated within 60 days of its submission 

to the board; Board; 

(7) provide documentation to the board Board 

verifying completion of 100 hours of 

continuing medical education during the 

preceding two years; and 

(8) supply any other information the board Board 

deems necessary to evaluate the applicant's 

qualifications. 

(c)  An applicant may be required to appear in person for an 

interview. 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); G.S. 90-9.3; 90-18(c)(13); 90-18.1. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board/Perfusion Advisory Committee intends to amend 

the rules cited as 21 NCAC 32V .0103 and .0111. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  September 30, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  North Carolina Medical Board, 1203 Front Street, 

Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 32V .0103 is being amended to clarify the reactivation 

and reinstatement of perfusion licenses. 

21 NCAC 32V .0111 is being amended to reflect the Board’s new 

policy of allowing easier ability for perfusionists to practice 

perfusion in the state in the event of a disaster. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Lynne Taylor, North Carolina 

Medical Board, PO Box 20007, Raleigh, NC 27615; email 

rules@ncmedboard.org 

Comment period ends:  September 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32V – PERFUSIONIST REGULATIONS 

 

21 NCAC 32V .0103 QUALIFICATIONS 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in this Subchapter, an individual 

shall obtain a license from the Committee before the individual 

may practice as a licensed perfusionist. The Committee may grant 

a license or provisional license, reactivate a license or provisional 

license, or reinstate a license or a provisional license to an 

applicant who has met the following criteria: 

(1) satisfies the requirements of G.S. 90-686; 

(2) is not disqualified for any reason set out in G.S. 

90-691; and 

(3) submits to the Committee any information the 

Committee deems necessary to evaluate the 

application; and completes the appropriate 

application; 

(4) pays the fee as specified in 21 NCAC 32V 

.0115, plus the cost of a criminal background 

check; 

(5) submits to the Committee two completed 

original fingerprint record cards, on fingerprint 

record cards provided by the Board; 

(6) submits to the Committee a completed signed 

and dated original Authority for Release of 

Information Form allowing a search of local, 

state, and national files to disclose any criminal 

record; 

(7) except for applications for a provisional license, 

submits proof of current certification with the 

ABCP; and 

(8) supplies any other information the Committee 

deems necessary to evaluate the applicant's 

qualifications. 
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(b)  An applicant may be required to appear, in person, for an 

interview with the Committee. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, an application for reactivation is for 

those applicants whose license was placed on inactive status 

within the past calendar year. 

(d)  For purposes of this Rule, an application for reinstatement is 

for those applicants whose license has been inactive for more than 

one calendar year, or if the inactive status resulted from 

disciplinary action or was taken to avoid disciplinary action. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-685(1)(3)(4a)(5)(6) and (7); G.S. 90-

685(3)(4a)(5)(6) and (7); 90-686. 

 

21 NCAC 32V .0111 PRACTICE DURING A 

DISASTER 

(a)  In the event of a declared disaster or state of emergency that 

authorizes the Board to exercise its authority under G.S. 90-12.2, 

90-12.5, and if the board Board does exercise its authority 

pursuant to G.S. 90-12.2, 90-12.5, the Board may allow a 

perfusionist licensed in any other state, or a current, active 

certified clinical perfusionist who practices in a state where 

licensure is not required, to perform perfusion during a disaster 

within a county in which a disaster or state of emergency has been 

declared or counties contiguous to a county in which a disaster or 

state of emergency has been declared (in accordance with G.S. 

166A-6). The perfusionist who enters the State for purposes of 

this Rule shall notify the Board within three business days of his 

or her work site and provide proof of identification and current 

licensure or certification.   

(b)  A perfusionist licensed in any other state, or a current, active 

certified clinical perfusionist who practices in a state where 

licensure is not required may practice in North Carolina if he or 

she either:  

(1) holds a full, unlimited, and unrestricted license 

to practice perfusion in another U.S. state, 

territory or district;  

(2) is a current active certified clinical perfusionist 

who practices in a state where licensure is not 

required who practices perfusion at a North 

Carolina hospital that is licensed by the North 

Carolina Department of Health and Human 

Services and the hospital meets the following 

requirements:  

(A) verifies all perfusionist's credentials 

and privileges;  

(B) maintains a list of all perfusionists 

coming to practice and provides this 

list to the Board within 10 days of each 

perfusionist practicing at the licensed 

North Carolina hospital. The licensed 

North Carolina hospital shall also 

provide the Board a list of when each 

perfusionist has stopped practicing 

perfusion in North Carolina under this 

Rule within 10 days after each 

perfusionist has stopped practicing 

perfusion under this Rule.  

(c)  A perfusionist may practice under this Rule for the shorter of 

either:  

(1) 30 days from the date the perfusionist has 

started practicing under this Rule; or 

(2) a statement by an appropriate authority is made 

that the emergency or disaster declaration has 

been withdrawn or ended and, at such time, the 

license deemed to be issued shall become 

inactive. 

(c)(d)  All perfusionists practicing under this Rule shall be 

authorized to practice perfusion in North Carolina and deemed to 

be licensed to practice perfusion in the State of North Carolina 

and the Board shall have jurisdiction over all perfusionists 

practicing under this Rule for all purposes set forth in or related 

to G.S. 90, Articles 1 and 40, and such jurisdiction shall continue 

in effect even after all perfusionists have stopped practicing 

perfusion under this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-12.5; 90-685(3) 90-685(3)(4a)(5)(6) and (7). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Real Estate Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 58A .1712 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 58A 

.1705. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncrec.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  September 11, 2019 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  NC Real Estate Commission, 1313 Navaho Drive, 

Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 58A .1705 - ATTENDANCE AND PARTICIPATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

Amend this Rule to remove the 12-hour Broker-In-Charge Course 

requirements from Paragraph (c) and move those requirements to 

the proposed rule adoption of 21 NCAC 58A .1712. 

21 NCAC 58A .1712 - BROKER-IN-CHARGE COURSE 

Adopt this Rule to include the requirements of the Commission's 

12-hour Broker-In-Charge Course from 21 NCAC 58A .1705(c) 

and to allow the course to be split into 2 modules. The Broker-In-

Charge Course shall be completed no later than 120 days after 

course registration and continuing education credit shall be 

applied to the license year in which the broker completes the 

course. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Melissa Vuotto, PO Box 

17100, Raleigh, NC 27619-7100; email 

public.comment@ncrec.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  October 4, 2019 
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Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 58A – REAL ESTATE BROKERS 

 

SECTION .1700 – MANDATORY CONTINUING 

EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1705 ATTENDANCE AND 

PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  In order to receive credit for completing an approved 

continuing education course, a broker shall: 

(1) attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled 

instructional hours for the course; 

(2) provide his or her legal name and license 

number to the course sponsor; 

(3) present his or her pocket card or photo 

identification card, if necessary; and 

(4) personally perform all work required to 

complete the course. 

(b)  With the instructor or the sponsor's permission, a 10 percent 

absence allowance shall be permitted at any time during the 

course, except that it may not be used to skip the last 10 percent 

of the course unless the absence is: 

(1) approved by the instructor; and 

(2) for circumstances beyond the broker's control 

that could not have been reasonably foreseen by 

the broker, such as: 

(A) an illness; 

(B) a family emergency; or 

(C) acts of God. 

(c)  With regard to the Commission's 12-hour Broker-In-Charge 

Course that is taught over two days, a broker shall attend at least 

90 percent of the scheduled instructional hours on each day of the 

course and the 10 percent absence allowance referred to in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall apply to each day of the course.  

 

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; . 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1712 BROKER-IN-CHARGE COURSE 

(a)  The Broker-in-Charge Course is a 12-hour educational course 

that is required for all brokers designating as broker-in-charge 

under Rule .0110 of this Subchapter. The 12-hour course is 

divided into an 8-hour module and a 4-hour module. A broker 

shall complete the 8-hour module before beginning the 4-hour 

module. 

(b)  In order to receive credit for completing the Broker-in-Charge 

Course, a broker shall: 

(1) attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled 

instructional hours for the course; 

(2) provide his or her legal name and license 

number to the course provider; 

(3) present his or her pocket card or photo 

identification card, if necessary; 

(4) personally perform all work required to 

complete the course; and 

(5) complete the 12-hour Broker-in Charge Course 

no later than 120 days after the broker registers 

for the course. 

(c)  Upon completion of the 12-hour Broker-in-Charge Course, a 

broker shall receive four credit hours of elective continuing 

education. The four credit hours will be awarded in the license 

year in which the broker completes the 12-hour Broker-in-Charge 

Course. 

 

Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 93A-4.2. 
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Protection of Confidential Information 02 NCAC 52G .0303* 33:17 NCR 

HHS - AGING AND ADULT SERVICES, DIVISION OF 

Adult Day Care Standards 10A NCAC 06Q .0101* 33:17 NCR 

Maximum Reimbursement Rates 10A NCAC 06Q .0201* 33:17 NCR 

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Petitions 10A NCAC 14A .0101* 33:15 NCR 

Rulemaking Procedures 10A NCAC 14A .0102 33:15 NCR 

Declaratory Rulings 10A NCAC 14A .0103* 33:15 NCR 

CODE OFFICIALS QUALIFICATION BOARD 

Nature of Probationary Certificate 11 NCAC 08 .0602* 33:16 NCR 

Special Circumstances 11 NCAC 08 .0707* 33:16 NCR 

Certificate 11 NCAC 08 .0708* 33:16 NCR 

Inactive Code Enforcement Officials 11 NCAC 08 .0714 33:16 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Scope and Purpose 15A NCAC 02C .0301* 33:10 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02C .0302* 33:10 NCR 

Application for Permit 15A NCAC 02C .0303* 33:10 NCR 

Permitting 15A NCAC 02C .0304* 33:10 NCR 

Grout Inspection and Certification 15A NCAC 02C .0305* 33:10 NCR 

Well Completion and Certification 15A NCAC 02C .0306* 33:10 NCR 

Well Data and Records 15A NCAC 02C .0307* 33:10 NCR 

Appeal Procedure 15A NCAC 02C .0308 33:10 NCR 

Well Abandonment and Certification 15A NCAC 02C .0309* 33:10 NCR 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02H .0801 33:12 NCR 

Scope 15A NCAC 02H .0802 33:12 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02H .0803* 33:12 NCR 

Parameters for Which Certification May be Requested 15A NCAC 02H .0804* 33:12 NCR 

Certification and Renewal of Certification 15A NCAC 02H .0805* 33:12 NCR 

Fees Associated with Certification Program 15A NCAC 02H .0806* 33:12 NCR 
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Decertification and Civil Penalties 15A NCAC 02H .0807* 33:12 NCR 

Recertification 15A NCAC 02H .0808* 33:12 NCR 

Reciprocity 15A NCAC 02H .0809* 33:12 NCR 

Administration 15A NCAC 02H .0810 33:12 NCR 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02H .0901* 32:21 NCR 

Scope 15A NCAC 02H .0902* 32:21 NCR 

Definition of Terms 15A NCAC 02H .0903* 32:21 NCR 

Required Pretreatment Programs 15A NCAC 02H .0904* 32:21 NCR 

POTW Pretreatment Program Implementation Requirements 15A NCAC 02H .0905* 32:21 NCR 

Submission for Pretreatment Program Approval 15A NCAC 02H .0906* 32:21 NCR 

Procedures for Pretreatment Program Approval, Revision an... 15A NCAC 02H .0907* 32:21 NCR 

Reporting/Record Keeping Requirements for POTWS/Industria... 15A NCAC 02H .0908* 32:21 NCR 

National Pretreatment Standards: Prohibited Discharges 15A NCAC 02H .0909* 32:21 NCR 

National Pretreatment Standards: Categorical Standards 15A NCAC 02H .0910* 32:21 NCR 

Adjustments for Fundamentally Different Factors 15A NCAC 02H .0912* 32:21 NCR 

Public Access to Information 15A NCAC 02H .0913* 32:21 NCR 

Upset Provision 15A NCAC 02H .0914* 32:21 NCR 

Net/Gross Calculation 15A NCAC 02H .0915* 32:21 NCR 

Pretreatment Permits 15A NCAC 02H .0916* 32:21 NCR 

Pretreatment Permit Submission and Review 15A NCAC 02H .0917* 32:21 NCR 

Local Law 15A NCAC 02H .0918 32:21 NCR 

Bypass 15A NCAC 02H .0919* 32:21 NCR 

Pretreatment Facility Operation and Maintenance 15A NCAC 02H .0920 32:21 NCR 

Revision to Reflect POTW Removal of Pollutant 15A NCAC 02H .0921* 32:21 NCR 

Hearings 15A NCAC 02H .0922* 32:21 NCR 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02H .1101* 33:12 NCR 

Scope 15A NCAC 02H .1102 33:12 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02H .1103* 33:12 NCR 

Fees Associated with Certification Program 15A NCAC 02H .1104* 33:12 NCR 

Certification 15A NCAC 02H .1105* 33:12 NCR 

Decertification 15A NCAC 02H .1106* 33:12 NCR 

Recertification 15A NCAC 02H .1107* 33:12 NCR 

Reciprocity 15A NCAC 02H .1108* 33:12 NCR 

Administration 15A NCAC 02H .1109* 33:12 NCR 

Implementation 15A NCAC 02H .1110* 33:12 NCR 

Biological Laboratory Certification and Quality Assurance 15A NCAC 02H .1111* 33:12 NCR 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Purpose 15A NCAC 07H .2701* 33:14 NCR 

General Conditions 15A NCAC 07H .2704* 33:14 NCR 

Specific Conditions 15A NCAC 07H .2705* 33:14 NCR 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 18C .0102* 33:11 NCR 

Removal of Dissolved Matter and Suspended Matter 15A NCAC 18C .0202* 33:11 NCR 

Public Well Water Supplies 15A NCAC 18C .0203* 33:11 NCR 

Approvals Necessary Before Contracting or Constructing 15A NCAC 18C .0305* 33:11 NCR 

Engineer's Report, Water System Management Plan and Other... 15A NCAC 18C .0307* 33:11 NCR 
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Water Supply Wells 15A NCAC 18C .0402* 33:11 NCR 

Surface Water Facilities 15A NCAC 18C .0403* 33:11 NCR 

Water Treatment Facilities 15A NCAC 18C .0404* 33:11 NCR 

Storage of Finished Water 15A NCAC 18C .0405* 33:11 NCR 

Distribution Systems 15A NCAC 18C .0406* 33:11 NCR 

Lead Free Construction 15A NCAC 18C .0408* 33:11 NCR 

Service Connections 15A NCAC 18C .0409* 33:11 NCR 

Other Design Standards 15A NCAC 18C .0503* 33:11 NCR 

Impoundments: Pre-Setting Reservoirs 15A NCAC 18C .0601* 33:11 NCR 

Mechanical Flocculation 15A NCAC 18C .0703 33:11 NCR 

Sedimentation Basin 15A NCAC 18C .0706* 33:11 NCR 

Solids Contact or Up-Flow Units 15A NCAC 18C .0707* 33:11 NCR 

Gravity Filters 15A NCAC 18C .0708* 33:11 NCR 

Alternative Filtration Treatment Technologies 15A NCAC 18C .0711* 33:11 NCR 

Pressure Filters 15A NCAC 18C .0713* 33:11 NCR 

Pilot Plant Studies 15A NCAC 18C .0714* 33:11 NCR 

Other Design Standards 15A NCAC 18C .0715 33:11 NCR 

Capacities: Determining Total Volume 15A NCAC 18C .0803* 33:11 NCR 

Pipe Laying 15A NCAC 18C .0904* 33:11 NCR 

Relation of Water Mains to Sewers 15A NCAC 18C .0906* 33:11 NCR 

Disinfection of Wells 15A NCAC 18C .1002* 33:11 NCR 

Disinfection of Storage Tanks and Distribution Systems 15A NCAC 18C .1003* 33:11 NCR 

Disinfection of Filters 15A NCAC 18C .1004* 33:11 NCR 

Control of Treatment Process 15A NCAC 18C .1406* 33:11 NCR 

Corrosion Control and Lead and Copper Monitoring 15A NCAC 18C .1507* 33:11 NCR 

Inorganic Chemical Sampling and Analysis 15A NCAC 18C .1508* 33:11 NCR 

Special Monitoring for Sodium 15A NCAC 18C .1509* 33:11 NCR 

Concentration of Iron 15A NCAC 18C .1511* 33:11 NCR 

Concentration of Manganese 15A NCAC 18C .1512* 33:11 NCR 

Organic Chemicals Other than TTHM, Sampling and Analysis 15A NCAC 18C .1515* 33:11 NCR 

Special Monitoring for Inorganic and Organic Chemicals 15A NCAC 18C .1516* 33:11 NCR 

Monitoring Frequency for Radioactivity 15A NCAC 18C .1519* 33:11 NCR 

Public Notification Requirements 15A NCAC 18C .1523* 33:11 NCR 

Reporting for Organic Chemicals 15A NCAC 18C .1524* 33:11 NCR 

Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 18C .1525* 33:11 NCR 

Certified Laboratories 15A NCAC 18C .1527* 33:11 NCR 

Alternate Analyitcal Techniques 15A NCAC 18C .1528* 33:11 NCR 

Point-of-Entry, Bottled Water, and Other Treatment Devices 15A NCAC 18C .1529* 33:11 NCR 

Variances and Exemptions 15A NCAC 18C .1532* 33:11 NCR 

Maximum Containment Levels for Coliform Bacteria 15A NCAC 18C .1535* 33:11 NCR 

Drinking Water Additives 15A NCAC 18C .1537* 33:11 NCR 

Consumer Confidence Report 15A NCAC 18C .1538* 33:11 NCR 

Notice 15A NCAC 18C .1804* 33:11 NCR 

General Requirements 15A NCAC 18C .2001* 33:11 NCR 

Disinfection 15A NCAC 18C .2002* 33:11 NCR 

Criteria for Avoiding Filtration 15A NCAC 18C .2005* 33:11 NCR 

Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts 15A NCAC 18C .2008* 33:11 NCR 
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TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Maintenance within Municipalities 19A NCAC 02D .0404* 33:16 NCR 

Construction and Maintenance of Sidewalks 19A NCAC 02D .0406* 33:16 NCR 

Permits-Authority, Application and Enforcement 19A NCAC 02D .0601* 33:18 NCR 

Permits-Issuance and Fees 19A NCAC 02D .0602* 33:18 NCR 

Permits-Weight, Dimensions and Limitations 19A NCAC 02D .0607* 33:18 NCR 

Permits - House Moves 19A NCAC 02D .0612 33:18 NCR 

Denial: Revocation: Refusal to Review: Appeal: Invalidation 19A NCAC 02D .0633* 33:18 NCR 

Escort Vehicle Driver Certification 19A NCAC 02D .0643* 33:18 NCR 

Oversize-Overweight Load Escort Vehicle Operator Certific... 19A NCAC 02D .0644* 33:18 NCR 

Piling Obstructions on Highway or Within Right of Way 19A NCAC 02E .0402* 33:18 NCR 

Depositing Mud on State Highways 19A NCAC 02E .0403* 33:18 NCR 

Highway Obstructions Interfering with Traffic/Maintenance 19A NCAC 02E .0404* 33:18 NCR 

Damage to State Highway System Surface or Shoulder 19A NCAC 02E .0405* 33:18 NCR 

Vehicles Served by Service Station 19A NCAC 02E .0406 33:18 NCR 

Control and Regulation of Roadside Parks and Rest Areas 19A NCAC 02E .0407* 33:18 NCR 

Fishing from Bridges 19A NCAC 02E .0408* 33:18 NCR 

Operating Nonmotorized Vehicles 19A NCAC 02E .0409* 33:18 NCR 

Hitchhiking on Interstate or Controlled Access Highways 19A NCAC 02E .0410* 33:18 NCR 

Jumping from Bridges 19A NCAC 02E .0411 33:18 NCR 

Regulation of Airport Construction 19A NCAC 02E .0423* 33:18 NCR 

Access Routes for STAA Dimensioned Vehicles 19A NCAC 02E .0426* 33:18 NCR 

Bicycle Trails 19A NCAC 02E .0427* 33:18 NCR 

MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY LICENSURE BOARD 

Credentials Required 21 NCAC 31 .0201* 32:17 NCR 

Review Procedure 21 NCAC 31 .0202* 32:17 NCR 

Issuance of License 21 NCAC 31 .0203* 31:17 NCR 

Written Examination 21 NCAC 31 .0301* 31:17 NCR 

Licensure Renewal Form 21 NCAC 31 .0401 32:17 NCR 

Reinstatement after Expiration 21 NCAC 31 .0403* 31:17 NCR 

Return from Inactive Status 21 NCAC 31 .0404 32:17 NCR 

Appropriate Course of Study 21 NCAC 31 .0501* 32:17 NCR 

Ongoing Supervision 21 NCAC 31 .0502* 32:17 NCR 

Equivalency 21 NCAC 31 .0503* 32:17 NCR 

Alternative to Clinical Practicum 21 NCAC 31 .0504* 32:17 NCR 

Non-Degree Granting Post Graduate Training Programs 21 NCAC 31 .0505* 32:17 NCR 

Direct Client Contact 21 NCAC 31 .0506* 32:17 NCR 

Ethical Principles 21 NCAC 31 .0609* 32:17 NCR 

Requirements for Continuing Education 21 NCAC 31 .0701* 32:17 NCR 

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapy Associate Credential... 21 NCAC 31 .0801* 32:17 NCR 

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapy Associate 21 NCAC 31 .0802* 32:17 NCR 

Fees 21 NCAC 31 .1001 32:17 NCR 

Fund Suspension 21 NCAC 31 .1002* 32:17 NCR 

MEDICAL BOARD 

Application for Physician License 21 NCAC 32B .1303* 33:17 NCR 
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Reinstatement of Physician License 21 NCAC 32B .1350* 33:17 NCR 

Application for Medical School Faculty License 21 NCAC 32B .1502* 33:17 NCR 

Physician Practice and Limited License for Disasters and ... 21 NCAC 32B .1706* 33:17 NCR 

Expedited Application for Physician License 21 NCAC 32B .2001* 33:17 NCR 

Initiation of Disciplinary Hearings 21 NCAC 32N .0110* 33:17 NCR 

Summary Suspension 21 NCAC 32N .0114 33:17 NCR 

Limited Physician Assistant Practice and Limited License ... 21 NCAC 32S .0219* 33:17 NCR 

Anesthesiologist Assistant Practice and Limited License f... 21 NCAC 32W .0116* 33:17 NCR 

ONSITE WASTEWATER CONTRACTORS AND INSPECTORS CERTIFICATION BOARD 

Annual Reports 21 NCAC 39 .0103 33:14 NCR 

Cooperation with Board Inquiry 21 NCAC 39 .0802 33:14 NCR 

Delegating to Third-Party Service Providers 21 NCAC 39 .0803* 33:14 NCR 

Petition for Rule-Making 21 NCAC 39 .0901* 33:14 NCR 

Request for Declaratory Ruling 21 NCAC 39 .0902 33:14 NCR 

Refusal to Issue Declaratory Ruling 21 NCAC 39 .0903 33:14 NCR 

On-Site Wastewater System Components 21 NCAC 39 .1005* 33:14 NCR 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Coverage 25 NCAC 01E .0704* 33:12 NCR 

Administration 25 NCAC 01E .0705* 33:12 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

02 NCAC 38 .0401 ADOPTION BY REFERENCE 

The Board hereby adopts by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions the NIST Handbook 130, "Method of 

Sale of Commodities Regulation" with the following additions 

and exceptions: 

(1) The preferred method for measuring fireplace 

and stove wood is by the cord or fractional parts 

of a cord. However, nothing in Section 2.4, 

"Fireplace and Stove Wood," shall be construed 

as preventing the purchaser and seller of 

fireplace or stove wood from agreeing on a 

quantity other than a cord or fractional parts of 

a cord. 

(2) Section 2.20, "Gasoline-Oxygenate Blends" is 

deleted. 

(3) Section 2.19. shall apply only to kerosene sold 

in a container or kerosene sold through a retail 

device. In addition, a container or a device shall 

indicate for 1-K kerosene "SUITABLE FOR 

USE IN UNVENTED HEATERS" and for 2-K 

kerosene "MAY NOT BE SUITABLE FOR 

USE IN UNVENTED HEATERS". 

(4) In Section 2.21., the temperature compensation 

requirements shall not be mandatory. However, 

if a company elects to sell liquefied petroleum 

gas on a temperature compensated basis, then 

all meters in the truck fleet shall be equipped 

with an activated automatic temperature 

compensator that shall remain in continuous 

operation for a period of not less than one year. 

(5) The price for propane dispensed into containers 

of less than 240 pounds water capacity may be 

on a minimum price basis provided that the 

seller displays the minimum price at the point 

of container fill and the point of sale. This Rule 

shall not apply to propane container exchange 

sales where an empty or partially empty 

container is exchanged for a full one. 

(6) Any variety of potatoes, defined as edible 

tubers in Section 2.3.2 of the NCWM Policy 

Interpretations and Guidelines section may also 

be sold by count providing they meet 

corresponding standard of "US Grade No. 1" as 

found in the most current version of the United 

States Department of Agriculture (USDA) 

"United States Standards for Sweet Potatoes" or 

the USDA "United States Standards for 

Potatoes," as appropriate. Any commercial 

shipping boxes or other containers, shipping 

documents and invoices shall be marked as "US 

Grade No. 1" potatoes. 

Copies of NIST Handbook 130, "Method of Sale of Commodities 

Regulation" are available for inspection in the Office of the 

Director of the Standards Division and may be obtained for free 

at http://www.nist.gov/pml/wmd/pubs/index.cfm. Copies of the 

"United States Standards for Sweet Potatoes" and "United States 

Standards for Potatoes" are available for free at 

http://www.ams.usda.gov/grades-standards/vegetables. 

 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2019 

171 

History Note: Authority G.S. 81A-4;  

Eff. May 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1994; January 1, 1990; December 1, 1988; 

June 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

02 NCAC 52B .0204 IMPORTATION 

REQUIREMENTS: CATTLE 

(a)  All cattle imported into North Carolina shall comply with 9 

CFR Part 86, which is hereby incorporated by reference, including 

any amendments or subsequent editions. Copies of the Code of 

Federal Regulations may be obtained at no cost by accessing the 

website of the U.S. Government Printing Office at 

http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html. 

(b)  Brucellosis requirements for cattle imported into North 

Carolina: 

(1) Cattle originating from any validated 

brucellosis-free state, as defined in 9 CFR 78.1, 

which is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including any amendments or subsequent 

editions, may enter North Carolina provided the 

following is recorded on the official interstate 

certificate of veterinary inspection or owner 

shipper statement: 

(A) Individual identification of each 

animal as required by 9 CFR Part 86; 

and 

(B) Brucellosis status of the state of origin. 

(2) No cattle shall be accepted, other than those 

consigned to immediate slaughter, which have 

been adult vaccinated, in accordance with the 

current edition of the Uniform Methods and 

Rules for Brucellosis Eradication of the United 

States Department of Agriculture-Animal and 

Plant Health Inspection Service (USDA-

APHIS), against brucellosis or originate from 

infected, exposed or quarantined herds. A copy 

of the Uniform Methods and Rules for 

Brucellosis Eradication may be obtained at no 

cost by accessing the website of USDA-APHIS 

at 

https://www.aphis.usda.gov/animal_health/ani

mal_diseases/brucellosis/downloads/umr_bovi

ne_bruc.pdf. 

(3) In addition, cattle imported from brucellosis 

class A states, as defined in 9 CFR 78.1, shall 

comply with the following: 

(A) All females and bulls eight months of 

age and older must test negative for 

brucellosis within 30 days prior to 

entry into North Carolina, except: 

(i) Dairy heifers under 20 

months of age that are 

vaccinated against 

brucellosis; 

(ii) Heifers of the beef breeds 

less than 24 months of age 

that are vaccinated against 

brucellosis; or 

(iii) Cattle originating from any 

certified brucellosis-free 

herd, as defined in 9 CFR 

78.1, provided the following 

is recorded on the official 

interstate certificate of 

veterinary inspection: 

(I) individual 

identification of 

each animal; 

(II) herd certification 

number; and 

(III) date of last herd test; 

and 

(B) Cattle from class A states that 

originate from the farm of origin and 

move directly to a state or federally 

licensed stockyard or to a farm in 

North Carolina in compliance with 

this Rule are not required to be tested 

between 45 and 120 days after entry. 

However, retests may be performed by 

a representative of the State 

Veterinarian at no expense to the 

owner. Eligible cattle that have been 

commingled in a stockyard prior to 

importation must, in addition to the 

requirements of this Rule, test 

negative for brucellosis between 45 

and 120 days after arrival in North 

Carolina. 

(4) In addition, cattle imported from class B states, 

as defined in 9 CFR 78.1, shall comply with the 

following: 

(A) A permit must be issued to the person 

importing the cattle by the State 

Veterinarian of North Carolina prior to 

entry; 

(B) All females and bulls eight months of 

age or older must test negative for 

brucellosis within 30 days prior to 

entry into North Carolina except: 

(i) Dairy heifers under 20 

months of age that are 

vaccinated against 

brucellosis; 

(ii) Heifers of the beef breeds 

less than 24 months of age 

that are vaccinated against 

brucellosis; or 

(iii) Cattle originating from any 

certified brucellosis-free 

herd, as defined in 9 CFR 

78.1, provided that the 

following is recorded on the 
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official interstate certificate 

of veterinary inspection: 

(I) Individual 

identification of 

each animal; 

(II) Herd certification 

number; and 

(III) Date of last herd 

test; and 

(C) All cattle shall be quarantined upon 

arrival and must test negative between 

45 and 120 days after arrival in order 

to be released from quarantine. 

(c)  Cattle fever tick and scabies importation requirements: 

(1) No cattle infested with ticks, Boophilus 

annulatus, B. microplus, or Rhipicephalus 

evertsi evertsi, or exposed to such infestation 

shall be shipped, trailed, driven, or otherwise 

imported into the State for any purpose. 

(2) No cattle affected with scabies shall be shipped, 

trailed, driven or otherwise imported into the 

State for any purpose. No cattle recently 

exposed to scabies or from an area quarantined 

on account of scabies shall be imported into the 

State except in accordance with 9 CFR Part 73, 

which is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including any amendments or subsequent 

editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-307.5; 106-361; 106-400; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; May 1, 1992; June 1, 1988; 

December 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

02 NCAC 52B .0205 IMPORTATION 

REQUIREMENTS: CATTLE FEVER TICK AND 

SCABIES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-307.5; 106-361; 106-400; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 26, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

02 NCAC 52B .0207 IMPORTATION 

REQUIREMENTS: SWINE 

(a)  All swine imported into the State, except by an interstate 

commercial swine movement agreement or for immediate 

slaughter, shall be accompanied by an interstate certificate of 

veterinary inspection issued by a state, federal, or accredited 

veterinarian stating that they are free from any signs of an 

infectious or communicable disease and are not known to have 

been exposed to same. The interstate certificate of veterinary 

inspection shall contain the ear tag or tattoo number of each 

animal. The interstate certificate of veterinary inspection must 

show the pseudorabies status of both the herd and state or area of 

origin. Swine imported for feeding or breeding purposes shall be 

moved in clean and disinfected trucks or other conveyances to 

prevent the spread of infection to other swine. "Accredited 

veterinarian" means a veterinarian accredited pursuant to 9 CFR 

Part 161, which is hereby incorporated by reference, including 

any amendments or subsequent editions. 

(b)  Breeding swine and all other swine being shipped to a 

breeding swine premise shall originate from a "Validated 

Brucellosis-Free" herd or a "Validated Brucellosis-Free" state and 

shall originate from a "Qualified Pseudorabies-Negative" herd, 

Qualified-Negative Gene-Altered Vaccinated Herd (QNV), or 

Pseudorabies Stage IV or V (Free) state. Breeding swine and all 

other swine being shipped to a breeding swine premise originating 

from Stage II, II/III or III areas or states must also be isolated and 

test negative to a statistical 95/5 sample test using a pseudorabies 

serological test approved pursuant to 9 CFR Part 85.1, which is 

hereby incorporated by reference, including any amendments or 

subsequent editions, between 30 and 60 days after arrival and 

before being added to the herd. 

(c)  All feeder swine imported into the State from a Pseudorabies 

Stage II, II/III, or III state or area, as set forth under the USDA 

Pseudorabies Eradication State–Federal–Industry Program 

Standards, the definitions of which are incorporated by reference, 

including amendments and subsequent editions, and can be 

accessed at no cost at 

https://www.aphis.usda.gov/animal_health/animal_dis_spec/swi

ne/downloads/prv_program_standards.pdf, shall be accompanied 

by a permit for entry issued by the State Veterinarian within 30 

days prior to entry. The permit number and the date of issuance 

shall be shown on the interstate certificate of veterinary 

inspection. The feeder swine in the shipment must have been 

vaccinated for pseudorabies using a USDA-licensed pseudorabies 

vaccine with gI deletion and must have tested negative on a 

statistical (95/2) test within 30 days prior to shipment, and they 

shall be isolated and quarantined until slaughtered. In addition, 

the swine must be tested on statistical (95/2) test between 30 and 

45 days after arrival. The swine must originate from a qualified 

negative pseudorabies or a pseudorabies monitored herd that has 

tested negative on a statistical (95/10) test within 30 days prior to 

shipment. Feeder swine from a pseudorabies-free state or area 

may be imported in accordance with Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Healthy swine for feeding purposes may move directly from 

a farm of origin in a contiguous state where they have been located 

for not less than 30 days to a livestock market or stockyard in 

North Carolina that has been state-federal approved for handling 

feeder swine, without the interstate certificate of veterinary 

inspection required herein, provided such swine are accompanied 

by proof of the pseudorabies status of the herd of origin. The 

swine shall be inspected by a state or federal inspector or 

approved accredited veterinarian prior to sale at the market. 

(e)  Healthy swine may be shipped into the State for immediate 

slaughter without an interstate certificate of veterinary inspection 

provided they go directly to a slaughtering establishment under 

State or federal inspection, or to a state-federal approved livestock 

market or stockyard for sale to a slaughtering establishment under 

State or federal inspection for immediate slaughter only. 

(f)  Swine from a pseudorabies-quarantined herd or swine that 

have been in contact with pseudorabies-quarantined swine may be 

imported into the State for immediate slaughter only under the 

following conditions: 
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(1) the swine must be accompanied by a shipping 

permit (Veterinary Services Form 1-27) issued 

by an accredited veterinarian or a state or 

federal animal health employee, consigning the 

swine only to a slaughtering establishment 

under State or federal inspection; 

(2) the vehicle transporting the swine must be 

sealed after loading with an official USDA or 

state of origin seal. The seal number must be 

recorded on the Veterinary Services Form 1-27. 

The seal can be broken or removed only by an 

NCDA&CS or a USDA employee or other 

individual authorized by the State Veterinarian; 

and 

(3) the vehicle used to transport the swine must be 

cleaned, including any animal waste, and 

disinfected to prevent the spread of disease 

immediately after unloading the swine and prior 

to using the vehicle to transport other livestock. 

(g)  Feral Swine: 

(1) As used in this Section, "feral swine" means any 

untamed or undomesticated hog, boar, or pig; 

swine whose reversion from the domesticated 

state to the wild state is evident; or an otherwise 

freely roaming swine having no visible tags, 

marking, or characteristics indicating that such 

swine is from a domestic herd. Feral swine 

includes members of the species Sus scrofa 

Linnaeus, including swine commonly known as 

old world swine, Russian wild boar, European 

wild boar, Eurasian wild boar, and razorbacks.  

(2) No person shall import or transport live feral 

swine in this State. 

(3) No person shall release any hog, boar, pig, or 

swine to live as a feral swine in North Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-307.5; 106-316.1; 106-317; 

106-318; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; May 1, 1992; June 1, 1989; 

January 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 3, 2000; February 21, 2000; 

April 30, 1999; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

02 NCAC 52B .0213 IMPORTATION 

REQUIREMENTS: CERVIDS 

(a)  No farmed cervids shall be imported into North Carolina 

from: 

(1) a herd located in a county or its equivalent, if 

not within the United States or in a territory 

without counties, where Chronic Wasting 

Disease ("CWD") has been diagnosed; 

(2) a herd located in a county or its equivalent, if 

not within the United States or in a territory 

without counties, that is contiguous to a county 

or its equivalent, if not within the United States 

or in a territory without counties, where CWD 

has been diagnosed; or 

(3) a CWD-positive, exposed, or suspect farmed 

cervid facility. 

(b)  Any imported farmed cervid that fails to comply with G.S. 

106-549.97, 02 NCAC 52L, or this Rule, shall be deemed a CWD-

suspect animal until further investigation by the North Carolina 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' Veterinary 

Division. 

(c)  No CWD-susceptible cervids, as identified by the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' 

Veterinary Division or the USDA, shall be imported into North 

Carolina without first being tested negative for CWD using an 

antemortem test approved by the USDA. 

(d)  All cervids entering North Carolina shall be accompanied by 

all of the following: 

(1) an interstate certificate of veterinary inspection 

("ICVI") issued within 30 days prior to arrival; 

(2) the following statement shall also appear on the 

ICVI: "All cervidae on this certificate originate 

from a Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) 

monitored or certified herd in which these 

animals have been kept for at least one year or 

were natural additions. There has been no 

diagnosis, signs, or epidemiological evidence 

of CWD in this herd or any herd contributing to 

this herd for the previous five years."; and 

(3) proof of a negative USDA-approved 

tuberculosis test for animals six months of age 

or older conducted within 60 days prior to 

arrival if the animal originates from a 

tuberculosis accredited herd. If the animal is six 

months of age or older and originates from a 

herd of unknown status, two negative USDA 

approved tests for tuberculosis shall be required 

with the second being greater than 90 days from 

the initial test and within 60 days prior to 

arrival. If the animal is less than six months of 

age and from a herd of unknown status, one 

negative USDA approved tuberculosis test shall 

be required. The herd of origin and commingled 

susceptible species shall have had no diagnosis 

of tuberculosis in the 36 months preceding 

shipment. 

(e)  All farmed cervids entering North Carolina shall be 

accompanied by all of the following: 

(1) individual animal identification required by 02 

NCAC 52L .0112 and noted on the ICVI; and 

(2) a valid transportation permit issued by the 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services' Veterinary Division. 

(f)  The State Veterinarian of North Carolina may issue orders 

prohibiting the importation of certain farmed cervids or issue 

moratoriums pending the investigation of any threat of disease 

based on his or her expertise and experience that will pose a risk 

of spreading disease that will damage or harm the North Carolina 

farmed cervid industry, including the control or spread of CWD. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 106-307.5; 106-317; 106-399.4; 

106-400; 106-549.97(a2); 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

02 NCAC 52E .0402 STYLE AND LOCATION OF 

BRAND 

(a)  No brand shall be accepted for registration that: 

(1) contains any numbers; 

(2) because of shape would be difficult to read 

when affixed to the animal; or 

(3) is a close likeness to another registered brand, 

in accordance with G.S. 80-60. 

(b)  If practical, a brand shall be located on either the right or left 

hip to the rear of the hip bone. In any event, the brand shall be 

readable from a side or top view of the animal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 80-61; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

02 NCAC 52G .0303 PROTECTION OF 

CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION 

Information submitted by users of biologics shall be treated as 

confidential information to the extent that the release thereof will 

divulge the contents or formulation of such product. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-24.1; 106-709; 106-712; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 06Q .0101 ADULT DAY CARE 

STANDARDS 

Agencies providing Adult Day Care services with funds 

administered by the North Carolina Division of Aging and Adult 

Services shall comply with the North Carolina Division of Aging 

and Adult Services Certification Standards for Adult Day Care, as 

established by the North Carolina Social Services Commission in 

10A NCAC 06R, which is hereby adopted by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-181.1(a)(11); 

143B-181.1(c);  

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 06Q .0201 MAXIMUM REIMBURSEMENT 

RATES 

(a)  The maximum reimbursement rate for adult day care services 

shall not exceed thirty-three dollars and seven cents ($33.07) per 

day, per client. The maximum rate for adult day health services 

shall not exceed forty dollars ($40.00) per day, per client. 

(b)  The maximum reimbursement rate for transporting an adult 

day care client to an adult day care center shall not exceed one 

dollar and fifty cents ($1.50) for a one-way trip. The maximum 

reimbursement rate for round-trip transportation of an adult day 

care client to an adult day care center shall not exceed three dollars 

($3.00) per day, per client. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-181.1(a)(11); 

143B-181.1(c);  

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 14A .0101 PETITIONS 

(a)  Any person wishing to submit a written petition requesting 

the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule by the Director of the 

Division of Health Service Regulation shall submit the petition 

addressed to the Director, Division of Health Service Regulation, 

809 Ruggles Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North 

Carolina, 27699-2701. 

(b)  The petition shall contain the following information: 

(1) the text of the proposed rule(s) for adoption or 

amendment and the statutory authority for the 

agency to promulgate the rule(s); 

(2) a statement of the effect on existing rules or 

orders; 

(3) a statement of the effect of the proposed rule(s) 

on existing practices in the area involved, if 

known; and 

(4) the name(s) and address(es) of the petitioner(s). 

(c)  The petitioner may include the following information within 

the request: 

(1) documents and any data supporting the petition; 

(2) a statement of the reasons for adoption of the 

proposed rule(s), amendment or the repeal of an 

existing rule(s); 

(3) a statement explaining the costs and 

computation of the cost factors, if known; and 

(4) a description, including the names and 

addresses, if known, of those most likely to be 

affected by the proposed rule(s). 

(d)  The Director, based on a review of the facts stated in the 

petition, shall consider the following in his or her determination 

to grant the petition: 

(1) whether he or she has authority to adopt the 

rule(s); 

(2) the effect of the proposed rule(s) on existing 

rules, programs and practices; 

(3) probable costs and cost factors of the proposed 

rule(s); 

(4) the impact of the rule on the public and the 

regulated entities; and 

(5) whether the public interest will be served by 

granting the petition. 

(e)  Petitions that do not contain the information required by 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be returned to the petitioner by the 

Director of Division of Health Service Regulation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-20; 

Eff. June 10, 1977; 
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Readopted Eff. December 1, 1977; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 14A .0102 RULEMAKING PROCEDURES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-20; 

Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 14A .0103 DECLARATORY RULINGS 

(a)  The Director of the Division of Health Service Regulation 

may issue declaratory rulings. All requests for declaratory rulings 

shall be written and submitted to: the Director, Division of Health 

Service Regulation, 809 Ruggles Drive, 2701 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27699-2701. 

(b)  All requests for a declaratory ruling shall include the 

following information: 

(1) the name and address of the petitioner; 

(2) a statement of all relevant facts if the person 

aggrieved requests a declaratory ruling as to the 

applicability to a statute, rule, or order of the 

Division; 

(3) the statute or rule to which the petition relates; 

(4) a statement regarding the petitioner's opinion as 

to any conflict or inconsistencies, if any, within 

the Division regarding an interpretation of the 

law or a rule adopted by the Division to which 

the petition relates; 

(5) a statement of the manner in which the 

petitioner is aggrieved by the rule or statute, or 

its potential application to him or her;  

(6) the consequences of a failure to issue a 

declaratory ruling; and 

(7) the petitioner's opinion as to the potential 

impact of the declaratory ruling on the public. 

(c)  Whenever the Director finds good cause exists to deny the 

request for declaratory ruling, he or she may deny the request to 

issue a declaratory ruling. In such a case, the Director shall notify 

the petitioner in writing of the decision to deny the request for 

declaratory ruling and shall state the reason for the denial. 

(d)  Good cause for the denial of a declaratory ruling request may 

include one of the following: 

(1) the person submitting the request is not a person 

aggrieved;  

(2) there is no conflict or inconsistency within the 

Division regarding an interpretation of the law 

or a rule adopted by the Division;  

(3) a situation where there has been similar 

controlling factual determination in a contested 

case;  

(4) if the request for declaratory ruling involves a 

factual context that was considered upon 

adoption of the rule being questioned as 

evidenced by the rulemaking record;  

(5) the factual representations are not specific to 

the statute or rule being questioned;  

(6) issuing the declaratory ruling will not serve the 

public interest; or 

(7) if circumstances stated in the request or 

otherwise known to the agency show that a 

contested case hearing would be appropriate. 

(e)  A declaratory ruling procedure may consist of written 

submissions, oral hearings, or such other procedure as the 

Director may select in a particular case if additional information 

may assist in determining whether to grant or deny the petition. 

(f)  The Director may issue notice to persons who might be 

affected by the ruling that written comments may be submitted or 

oral presentations received at a scheduled hearing if the Director 

finds such comments or presentations may provide additional 

information that will assist in determining whether to grant or 

deny the petition. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-4; 

Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0602 NATURE OF PROBATIONARY 

CERTIFICATE 

A probationary certificate may be issued without examination to 

any newly employed or newly promoted code enforcement 

official who lacks a standard certificate that covers the new 

position. A probationary certificate shall be issued for three years 

only and shall not be renewed. During the three-year period, the 

official shall complete the requirements set forth in 11 NCAC 08 

.0706 to qualify for the appropriate standard certificate. A 

probationary certificate shall authorize the official, during the 

effective period of the certificate, to hold the position of the type, 

level, and location specified. The certificate shall be conditioned 

on the applicant's completion of a high school diploma or a high 

school equivalency certificate and meeting one of the following: 

(1) working under supervision sufficient, as 

determined by a supporting letter provided for 

in 11 NCAC 08 .0706(b), to protect the public 

health and safety; 

(2) possessing a minimum of two years of design, 

construction, or inspection experience working 

under a certified inspector or under a licensed 

professional engineer, registered architect, or 

licensed contractor; 

(3) possessing one of the experience qualifications 

listed in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 in each area of code 

enforcement for which the probationary 

certificate is issued; or 

(4) achieving a minimum score of 70 percent on the 

probationary prequalification exam 

administered by the Board in each area of code 

enforcement for which the probationary 

certificate is issued. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.12(2); 143-151.13(d); 

Eff. June 28, 1979; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1982; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1983; For a Period of 120 

Days to Expire on April 30, 1983; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2017; July 18, 2002; October 1, 1992; 

February 1, 1991; May 1, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0707 SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES 

(a)  Licensed County Electrical Inspector. Certificates issued 

pursuant to G.S. 143-151.13(e) shall be for the electrical inspector 

level corresponding to the level at which the applicant is currently 

certified. 

(b)  Registered Architect, Licensed General Contractor, Licensed 

Plumbing or Heating Contractor, Licensed Electrical Contractor, 

Registered Professional Engineer. Applicants for certification 

under G.S. 143-151.13(f) shall successfully complete the Board's 

prescribed short course, as set out in 11 NCAC 08 .0706(g)(3), 

concerning State Building Code rules and code enforcement 

administration prior to being certified. Applicants under this 

Paragraph shall be currently registered or licensed (as of June 13, 

1977) by the State of North Carolina as an architect, a general 

contractor, a plumbing or heating contractor, an electrical 

contractor, or a professional engineer to receive certification. The 

standard certificate shall authorize the person to practice as a 

qualified code enforcement official of the type and at the 

performance level determined by the Board to be appropriate, in 

accordance with 11 NCAC 08 .0706, in light of the applicant's 

education, training, and experience. 

(c)  Certified Code Enforcement Official From Another State. 

Pursuant to G.S. 143.151.14(a), the Board may, without requiring 

an examination, issue a standard certificate to any person who 

successfully completes the Board's prescribed short course 

concerning State Building Code rules and code enforcement 

administration and who holds a currently valid certificate as a 

qualified code enforcement official from another state or territory 

whose standards are acceptable to the Board and not lower than 

those required of North Carolina applicants, under Article 9C of 

the North Carolina General Statutes and all applicable 

administrative rules governing Code Enforcement Officials. 

(d)  Certified Code Enforcement Official with International Code 

Council Certification. Applicants for certification pursuant to 

G.S. 143-151.14(b) shall successfully complete the short course 

required by G.S. 143-151.14(c) as set out in 11 NCAC 08 

.0706(g)(3).  

(e)  Comity Applicants. Comity applicants as set out in in 

Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule shall meet the experience 

requirements specified in 11 NCAC 08 .0706 to be eligible for 

comity consideration. The successful completion of a law and 

administration course and a standard technical course, as set out 

in 11 NCAC 08 .0706(g)(3), in the area and level of the standard 

certificate must be completed within three years to maintain any 

standard certificate issued due to comity. Standard certificates 

issued under comity shall expire if required courses are not 

completed within the three-year period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.13; 143-151.14; 

Eff. January 15, 1980; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0708 CERTIFICATE 

(a)  If an application meets the requirements of Rules .0704 and 

.0706 of this Section, the application fee has been paid, and the 

applicant qualified for a particular type and level of certificate, the 

Board's staff shall mail a standard certificate of that type and level 

to the applicant at the address specified on the application. The 

certificate shall be effective until the renewal date specified in 

G.S. 143-151.16(b). 

(b)  If the applicant does not meet the criteria for the certificate 

for which he or she applied, the applicant shall be given written 

notice of the criterion that the applicant fails to meet and offered 

a choice of: 

(1) accepting a certificate for a lower level for 

which the applicant is qualified; 

(2) submitting additional evidence in support of the 

application; 

(3) withdrawing the application; or 

(4) appealing the decision to the Board. 

If an appeal is filed, the Board shall conduct a hearing and render 

a decision in accordance with Article 3A of G.S. 150B. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.12; 143-151.13; 

143-151.14; 143-151.17; 143-151.19; 

Eff. January 15, 1980; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2017; July 18, 2002; January 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0714 INACTIVE CODE 

ENFORCEMENT OFFICIALS 

(a)  A CEO either who is no longer employed by a local inspection 

department or who remains employed by a local inspection 

department but no longer has Code enforcement responsibility 

shall be inactive. Inactive CEOs shall not be subject to certificate 

renewal requirements nor continuing education requirements. 

(b)  When an inactive CEO wishes to become reemployed as an 

active CEO, the CEO shall complete continuing education courses 

within one year after reemployment to re-activate certificates in 

addition to completing the courses required for renewal of 

certificates as follows: 

(1) A CEO who has been on inactive status for 

more than two years and who has not been 

continuously employed by a localinspection 

department during the period of inactive status 

shall complete continuing education courses of 

six hours for each technical area in which the 

CEO is certified. 

(2) A CEO who has been on inactive status for 

more than two years and who has been 

continuously employed by a local inspection 

department during the period of inactive status 

shall complete continuing education courses of 

three hours for each technical area in which the 

CEO is certified. 

(3) A CEO who has been on inactive status for two 

years or less shall complete CE courses of two 

hours for each technical area in which the CEO 

is certified. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.13A(b); 143-

151.13A(d); 143-151.15; 

Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02C .0301 SCOPE AND PURPOSE 

(a)  The purpose of the rules of this Section is to set out standards 

for permitting and inspection of private drinking water wells as 

defined in G.S 87-85 by local health departments pursuant to G.S. 

87-97. 

(b)  The rules of 15A NCAC 02C .0100 apply to private drinking 

water wells, as well as the following:  

(1) Potential sources of groundwater 

contamination shall not be located closer to the 

well than the separation distances specified in 

15A NCAC 02C .0107(a)(2) or .0107(a)(3), as 

applicable; 

(2) In addition to the provisions in 15A NCAC 02C 

.0109, the builder, well contractor, pump 

installer, or homeowner, as applicable, shall 

provide assistance when necessary to gain 

access for inspection of the well, pumps, and 

pumping equipment; and 

(3) In addition to the requirements of 15A NCAC 

02C .0113, any well that acts as a source or 

channel of contamination shall be repaired or 

permanently abandoned within 30 days of 

receipt of notice from the local health 

department.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-97; 

Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02C .0302 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions in G.S. 87-85 and 15A NCAC 02C .0102 apply 

throughout this Section. In addition, the following definitions 

apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Abandonment Permit" means a well 

abandonment permit issued by the local health 

department authorizing or allowing the 

permanent abandonment of any private 

drinking water well as defined in the rules of 

this Section. 

(2) "Certificate of Completion" means a 

certification by the local health department that 

a private drinking water well has been 

constructed or repaired in compliance with the 

construction permit or repair permit. 

(3) "Construction of wells" means the term as 

defined in G.S. 87-85. 

(4) "Construction permit" means a well 

construction permit issued by the local health 

department authorizing or allowing the 

construction of any private drinking water well 

as defined in the rules of this Section. 

(5) "Known source of release of contamination" 

means a location where any of the following 

activities, facilities, or conditions have been 

documented by the Department of 

Environmental Quality or a local health 

department: 

(a) Groundwater contamination incidents 

arising from agricultural operations, 

including application of agricultural 

chemicals pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02L; 

(b) Groundwater contamination 

associated with the construction or 

operation of injection, monitoring, and 

other wells subject to permitting under 

the Well Construction Act and this 

Subchapter; 

(c) Groundwater contamination 

associated with the operation of non- 

discharge, discharge (NPDES) 

facilities, land application of animal 

waste, and other activities subject to 

permitting under G.S. 143-215.1; 

(d) Releases of hazardous waste or 

constituents that currently exceed the 

Groundwater Quality Standards listed 

in 15A NCAC 02L at facilities 

governed under G.S. 130A-294; 

(e) Dry-Cleaning Solvent Cleanup sites 

regulated under G.S. 143-215.104(A); 

(f) Pre-regulatory landfills and Inactive 

hazardous substance or waste disposal 

sites governed under the Inactive 

Hazardous Sites Act of 1987, G.S. 

130A-310; 

(g) Solid waste facilities subject to 15A 

NCAC 13B that have monitoring 

wells with exceedances of the 

Groundwater Protection Standards as 

defined in 15A NCAC 13B .1634(g) 

and (h); 

(h) Releases of petroleum and hazardous 

substances subject to G.S. 143-215.75 

through 215.98; 

(i) Sites that fall within the authority of 

the Brownfields Property Reuse Act as 

defined by G.S. 130A, Article 9 Part 5; 

(j) Contamination associated with 

pollution sources in soils or other sites 

known or suspected to have exceeded 

the Groundwater Quality Standards 

listed in 15A NCAC 02L; or 

(k) Contamination known to the local 

health department through experience 

with the property, surrounding 

properties, or information provided by 

the applicant. 
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(7) "Local Health Department" means the 

authorized agent of the county or district health 

department or its successor. 

(8) "Person" means the term as defined in G.S. 87-

85.  

(9) "Plat" means a property survey prepared by a 

registered land surveyor, drawn to a scale of 

one inch equals no more than 60 feet, that 

includes: the specific location of all structures 

and proposed structures and appurtenances, 

including decks, porches, pools, driveways, out 

buildings, existing and proposed wastewater 

systems, existing and proposed wells, springs, 

water lines, surface waters or designated 

wetlands, easements, including utility 

easements, and existing or proposed chemical 

or petroleum storage tanks above or below 

ground. "Plat" also means, for subdivision lots 

approved by the local planning authority and 

recorded with the county register of deeds, a 

copy of the recorded subdivisions plat that is 

accompanied by a site plan that is drawn to 

scale. 

(10) "Pumps" and "pumping equipment" means the 

terms as defined in G.S. 87-85.  

(11) "Repair" means the term as defined in G.S. 87-

85.  

(12) "Repair permit" means a well repair permit 

issued by the local health department 

authorizing or allowing the repair of any private 

drinking water well as defined in the rules of 

this Section. 

(13) "Site plan" means a drawing not necessarily 

drawn to scale that shows the existing and 

proposed property lines with dimensions, and 

the specific location of all structures and 

proposed structures and appurtenances, 

including decks, porches, pools, driveways, out 

buildings, existing and proposed wastewater 

systems, existing and proposed wells, springs, 

water lines, surface waters or designated 

wetlands, easements, including utility 

easements, and existing or proposed chemical 

or petroleum storage tanks above or below 

ground. 

(14) "Water supply system" means pump and pipe 

used in connection with or pertaining to the 

operation of a private drinking water well 

including pumps, distribution service piping, 

pressure tanks, and fittings. 

(15) "Well contractor activity" has the same 

meaning as in G.S. 87-98.2(6).  

(16) "Well seal" means the term as defined in G.S. 

87-85.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-97; 

Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

15A NCAC 02C .0303 APPLICATION FOR PERMIT 

A property owner or the property owner's agent shall submit an 

application for a permit to construct, repair, or abandon a private 

drinking water well to the local health department for the county 

where the well is located or will be located. The application shall 

include: 

(1) The name, the address, and the phone number 

of the proposed well property owner or agent; 

(2) The signature of owner or agent; 

(3) The address and the parcel identification 

number of the property where the proposed well 

is to be located; 

(4) A plat or site plan; 

(5) The intended use(s) of the property; 

(6) Other information deemed necessary by the 

local health department to determine the 

location of the property and any site 

characteristics, such as existing or permitted 

sewage disposal systems, easements or rights of 

way, existing wells or springs, surface water or 

designated wetlands, chemical or petroleum 

storage tanks, landfills, waste storage, known 

source of release of contamination, and any 

other characteristics or activities on the 

property or adjacent properties that could 

impact groundwater quality or suitability of the 

site for well construction; 

(7) Any current or pending restrictions regarding 

groundwater use as specified in G.S. 87-88(a); 

and 

(8) Any variances regarding well construction or 

location issued under 15A NCAC 02C .0118. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-97; 

Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02C .0304 PERMITTING 

(a)  No person shall construct a private drinking water well 

without first obtaining a well construction permit from the local 

health department. No person shall repair a private drinking water 

well without first obtaining a well repair permit, except a well 

repair permit is not required for maintenance or pump repair or 

replacement. Disinfection in accordance with 15A NCAC 02C 

.0111 is a maintenance activity that does not require a repair 

permit. No person shall permanently abandon a private drinking 

water well without first obtaining a well abandonment permit 

from the local health department. 

(b)  Before issuing a well construction permit, the local health 

department shall conduct a field investigation to evaluate the 

topography, landscape position, available space, and potential 

sources of groundwater contamination on or around the site where 

a private drinking water well is to be located. Furthermore, the 

Department shall conduct a search of DEQ's published inventories 

to determine whether the proposed well site is located within 

1,000 feet of a known source of release of contamination. The 

local health department shall issue a private water well 

construction permit after determining the site can be permitted for 

a well meeting the rules of this Section. The local health 
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department shall not issue a construction permit for a well in 

violation of restrictions regarding groundwater use established 

pursuant to G.S. 87-88(a). The construction permit shall include a 

site plan showing the location of potential sources of 

contamination and area(s) suitable for well construction. The 

construction permit shall reference documentation from DEQ's 

published inventories of known releases of contamination within 

1,000 feet of the proposed well site, and any known risk of 

constructing the well related to those findings. The local health 

department shall issue a written notice of denial of a construction 

permit if it determines a private drinking water well cannot be 

constructed in compliance with the rules of this Section. The 

notice of denial shall include reference to specific laws or rules 

that cannot be met and shall be provided to the applicant. 

(c)  Any well permit shall be valid for a period of five years; 

however, the local health department may revoke a permit at any 

time if it determines that there has been a material change in any 

fact or circumstance upon which the permit shall not be issued. 

The validity of a well construction permit or a well repair permit 

is not affected by a change in ownership of the site where a private 

drinking water well is proposed to be located if the proposed well 

can still be constructed or repaired in the permitted area and in 

accordance with this Section and 15A NCAC 02C .0100. The 

local health department may suspend or revoke any permits issued 

upon a determination that the rules of this Section have been 

violated. 

(d)  If there is an improperly abandoned well(s) on the site, the 

construction permit shall be conditioned upon repair or 

abandonment of those improperly abandoned well(s) in 

accordance with the rules of 15A NCAC 02C .0100. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-97; 

Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02C .0305 GROUT INSPECTION AND 

CERTIFICATION  

(a)  The well contractor shall contact the local health department 

to schedule a grout inspection before grouting a private drinking 

water well and include the location, permit number, and 

anticipated time for grouting each private drinking water well. 

The local health department shall schedule the appointment by the 

end of the business day before the grouting is to occur except 

where the local health department has made provisions for 

scheduling inspections at night or on the same day of the 

inspection. 

(b)  Upon completion of a grout inspection, the local health 

department shall provide a written certification on the well permit 

that a grout inspection was completed and that the grouting is in 

compliance with the rules of 15A NCAC 02C .0100. When a local 

health department is unable to conduct a grout inspection within 

one hour of the scheduled time, the well contractor may grout a 

well without a grout inspection by the local health department. 

The well contractor shall provide a written certification to the 

local health department that the well has been grouted in 

compliance with the rules of 15A NCAC 02C .0100. A completed 

Well Construction Record form GW-1 stating the well was 

grouted in compliance with the rules of this Section shall serve as 

the well contractor's grout certification. For purposes of issuing a 

Certificate of Completion, the well contractor's grout certification 

shall be accepted by the local health department as evidence the 

grout complies with the rules of this Section if the local health 

department: 

(1) was contacted by the well contractor to 

schedule a grout inspection; 

(2) was unable to inspect the grouting of the well 

within one hour following the scheduled time; 

and 

(3) upon final inspection, finds no evidence to 

indicate the well grout does not comply with the 

rules of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-97; 

Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02C .0306 WELL COMPLETION AND 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  After receiving a permit to construct a private drinking water 

well, the property owner or agent shall notify the health 

department prior to well construction if any of the following 

occur: 

(1) The separation criteria specified in 15A NCAC 

02C .0107 cannot be met; 

(2) The residence or other structure is located other 

than indicated on the permit; 

(3) The use of the structure is changed from the use 

specified on the permit; 

(4) The septic system needs to be changed from the 

location indicated on the permit; 

(5) Landscaping changes have been made that may 

affect the integrity of the well; 

(6) There are current or pending restrictions 

regarding groundwater use as specified in G.S. 

87-88(a); 

(7) The water source for any well intended for 

domestic use is adjacent to any water-bearing 

zone suspected or known to be contaminated; 

or 

(8) Any other changes occur in the information 

provided in the application for the well permit. 

(b)  The well contractor shall maintain a copy of the well 

construction permit, repair permit, or abandonment permit on the 

job site at all times during the construction, repair, or 

abandonment of the well. The well contractor shall meet all the 

conditions of the permit. 

(c)  The well contractor shall submit a copy of Well Construction 

Record (GW-1) to the local health department. Upon completion 

of construction or repair of a private drinking water well for which 

a permit is required, the local health department shall inspect the 

well and issue a Certificate of Completion that includes an "as 

built" drawing. Prior to the issuance of a Certificate of 

Completion, the local health department shall verify that the well 

was constructed in the designated area and according to the well 

construction permit and the rules of this Subchapter. The local 

health department shall inspect the grout around the casing for any 

settling, inspect the well head after the well seal is in place, and 

verify that a Well Construction Record has been received from the 
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certified well contractor. No person shall place a private drinking 

water well into service without first having obtained a Certificate 

of Completion. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-97; 

Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02C .0307 WELL DATA AND RECORDS 

(a)  Any person completing, abandoning, or repairing any well 

shall submit a record of the construction, abandonment, or repair 

to the local health department and the Division of Water 

Resources within 30 days of completion of construction, 

abandonment, or repair. The record shall be on a form provided 

by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

(b)  The local health department shall maintain a registry of all 

permitted private drinking water wells, specifying the well 

location and the water quality test results until the well is 

permanently abandoned in accordance with this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 87-97; 

Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02C .0308 APPEAL PROCEDURE 

Appeals concerning permit decisions or actions by the local health 

department to enforce the rules of this Section shall be conducted 

according to the procedures established in G.S. 150B, the 

Administrative Procedure Act. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 

Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02C .0309 WELL ABANDONMENT AND 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The applicant or well contractor shall contact the local health 

department to provide notification of intent to permanently 

abandon a private drinking water well, and include the location, 

permit number, and anticipated time for abandonment of each 

private drinking water well. If it is conducting an inspection, the 

local health department shall schedule the appointment by the end 

of the business day before the abandonment is to occur except 

where the local health department has made provisions for 

scheduling inspections at night or on the same day as the 

inspection. 

(b)  Upon notification from the well contractor, the local health 

department may opt to inspect the well abandonment process. The 

local health department shall inform the well contractor of its 

availability and intention to inspect the well abandonment after 

notification pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule. When a local 

health department is unable to conduct the abandonment 

inspection within one hour of the scheduled time, the well 

contractor may abandon the well without an inspection by the 

local health department. 

(c)  Upon completion of a permanent well abandonment, the local 

health department shall provide a written certification on the well 

abandonment permit, or other local health department form, that 

a well abandonment inspection was completed and that the 

abandonment is in compliance with the rules of 15A NCAC 02C 

.0100. When the local health department opts to not inspect the 

permanent abandonment process, the well contractor shall 

provide written certification to the local health department that the 

well has been abandoned in compliance with the rules of 15A 

NCAC 02C .0100. A completed Well Abandonment Record form 

GW-30 stating the well was abandoned in compliance with the 

rules of this Section shall serve as the well contractor's 

abandonment certification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 

Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0801 PURPOSE 

15A NCAC 02H .0802 SCOPE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 2, 1992; July 1, 1988; December 1, 

1984; November 1, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0803 DEFINITIONS 

The following terms as used in this Section shall have the assigned 

meaning: 

(1) "Acceptable Proficiency Testing Results" 

means those results on Proficiency Testing 

Samples that are within the Vendor-specified 

acceptable range as indicated by a Vendor or 

Split Samples that are within the specified 

acceptance range as provided by the State 

Laboratory. 

(2) "Analytical Chemistry Experience" means 

experience analyzing samples in a chemistry 

laboratory or supervising a chemistry 

laboratory that analyzes samples. 

(3) "Approved Procedure" means an analytical 

procedure based upon reference methods found 

in Rule .0805(a)(1)(A) through (E) of this 

Section, and approved for use for monitoring 

subject to G.S. 143-215.1 and 143-215.63 and 

the rules of this Section. State Laboratory 

Approved Procedures for Field Parameters may 

be obtained by request from the State 

Laboratory or on the State Laboratory 

Certification website at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-resources-data/water-sciences-

home-page/laboratory-certification-branch. 

(4) "Certification" means a declaration by the State 

Laboratory that the personnel, equipment, 

records, quality control procedures, and 

methodology cited by the applicant comply 

with these Rules and that the applicant's 

proficiency with analytical chemistry has been 
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considered and found to be acceptable by the 

State Laboratory pursuant to these Rules. 

(5) "Certified Data" means any analytical result, 

including the Supporting Records, obtained 

using a method or procedure pursuant to Rule 

.0805(a)(1)(A) through (F) of this Section.  

(6) "CFR" means the Code of Federal Regulations. 

(7) "Commercial Laboratory" means any 

laboratory, including its agents or employees, 

which is seeking to analyze or is analyzing 

samples in a chemistry laboratory or in a field 

setting, including Field Parameters, for others 

for a fee. 

(8) "Decertification" means loss of Certification. 

(9) "Director" means the Director of the Division 

of Water Resources. 

(10) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources. 

(11) "Falsified Data or Information" means data or 

information that, whether by intent or disregard 

for accuracy, has been altered, fabricated, or 

otherwise mischaracterized by omission or 

substitution, such that the value or information 

reported is incorrect, incomplete, or inaccurate. 

(12) "Field Laboratory" means a laboratory, 

including its agents or employees, that is 

seeking Certification to analyze or is analyzing 

samples in a chemistry laboratory or a field 

setting for Field Parameters only. 

(13) "Field Parameters" shall include Total Residual 

Chlorine, Free Available Chlorine, 

Conductivity, Dissolved Oxygen, pH, 

Settleable Residue, Salinity, Sulfite, Turbidity, 

Temperature, Vector Attraction Reduction 

Option 5, Vector Attraction Reduction Option 

6, and Vector Attraction Reduction Option 12. 

(14) "Inaccurate Data or Other Information" means 

data or information that is in any way incorrect 

or mistaken. 

(15) "Industrial Laboratory" means a laboratory, 

including its agents or employees, operated by 

an industry to analyze samples in a chemistry 

laboratory or in a field setting under the scope 

of these Rules. 

(16) "In-situ" means in the original or natural place 

or site. 

(17) "Matrix Spike" means an additional aliquot of 

an environmental sample to which a known 

concentration of the analytes of interest is 

added before sample preparation, cleanup, and 

determinative procedures have been 

implemented. It is used to assess the 

performance of the method by measuring the 

effects of interferences caused by the sample 

matrix and reflects the bias of the method for 

the particular matrix in question. 

(18) "Mobile Laboratory" means a collection of 

analytical equipment and instruments contained 

in an environmentally controlled vehicle that 

can be deployed to a project site for other than 

Field Laboratory Certification purposes. 

(19) "Municipal Laboratory" means a laboratory, 

including its agents or employees, operated by 

a municipality or other local government to 

analyze samples in a chemistry laboratory or in 

a field setting under the scope of these Rules. 

Municipal Laboratories may cost-share among 

Municipal Laboratories or charge a cost 

recovery fee or surcharge to operate their 

Pretreatment Program. 

(20) "Other Laboratory" means a facility that is not 

required to obtain State Laboratory 

Certification as part of its routine operation and 

does not analyze samples in a chemistry 

laboratory or in a field setting for a fee, or is 

doing business as a non-profit facility. 

(21) "Parameter" means the analyte, element, 

compound, or property being measured. 

(22) "Parameter Method" means a type of analytical 

technique, including materials and tools, used 

to measure a Parameter. 

(23) "Pretreatment Program" means a program of 

waste pretreatment requirements set up in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02H .0900, and 

approved by the Division. 

(24) "Proficiency Testing (PT) Sample" means a 

performance evaluation sample whose true 

value is unknown to the laboratory and 

provided by a State Laboratory-approved 

Vendor to test whether the laboratory can 

produce analytical results within the specified 

acceptance criteria. 

(25) "Recertification" means re-instating 

Certification at the end of the Decertification 

period imposed by the Division pursuant to 

Rule .0807 of this Section. 

(26) "Reference Temperature-Measuring Device" 

means a National Institute of Standards and 

Technology (NIST) traceable temperature-

measuring device used only to verify the 

calibration of other temperature-measuring 

devices. 

(27) "Root Cause" means the originating factor that 

caused a nonconformance. 

(28) "Second Source" means reference solutions 

from a different manufacturer or from the same 

manufacturer and identified by a different lot 

number. 

(29) "Split Sample" means two or more 

representative portions taken from a sample or 

subsample and analyzed by two or more 

laboratories approved by the State Laboratory. 

(30) "Standard Operating Procedure (SOP)" means 

a laboratory's analytical or operational 

procedures, described with sufficient detail to 

allow someone similarly qualified to reproduce 

the procedures used to generate the test or 

desired result. 
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(31) "State" means the North Carolina Department 

of Environmental Quality. 

(32) "State Laboratory" means the Water Sciences 

Section, including the Laboratory Certification 

Branch of the North Carolina Division of Water 

Resources. 

(33) "Supporting Record" means any document or 

other source of information compiled, recorded, 

or stored in written form, by electronic process, 

or in any other manner that provides any 

information necessary to reconstruct or 

characterize a reported value. 

(34) "Unacceptable Proficiency Testing Results" 

means those results on Proficiency Testing 

Samples that do not fall within the Vendor-

specified acceptable range as stated by a State 

Laboratory-approved Vendor, or Split Samples 

that do not fall within the specified acceptable 

range as indicated by the State Laboratory, or a 

failure to meet a reporting deadline imposed by 

the Vendor or State Laboratory. 

(35) "Uncertified Data" means any analytical result, 

including the Supporting Records, obtained 

using a method or procedure that is not 

acceptable to the State Laboratory pursuant to 

these Rules; analytical results produced by a 

laboratory for an analysis not within the scope 

of the rules of this Section; or analytical results 

produced by a laboratory without proper 

Certification. 

(36) "US EPA" means the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency. 

(37) "Vector Attraction Reduction Option" refers to 

an option for demonstrating a reduction in 

vector attraction of sewage sludge listed in 40 

CFR 503.33(b)(1) through (b)(12). 

(38) "Vendor" means an accredited Proficiency 

Testing Sample provider recognized by The 

NELAC Institute (TNI). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 2, 1992; December 1, 1984; November 

1, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0804 PARAMETERS FOR WHICH 

CERTIFICATION MAY BE REQUESTED 

(a)  Commercial Laboratories shall obtain Certification for 

Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be reported by 

the client to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section. 

Municipal and Industrial Laboratories shall obtain Certification 

for Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be reported 

to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section. 

Commercial Laboratories shall obtain Certification for Field 

Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be reported by 

the client to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section. 

Municipal and Industrial laboratories shall obtain Certification for 

Field Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be 

reported to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section. 

(b)  Inorganics: Each of the inorganic, physical characteristic, and 

microbiological analytes listed in this Paragraph shall be 

considered a certifiable parameter. Analytical methods shall be 

determined from the sources listed in Rule .0805(a)(1) of this 

Section. One or more analytical methods or Parameter Methods 

may be listed with a laboratory's certified Parameters. Certifiable 

inorganic, physical characteristic, and microbiological Parameters 

are as follows: 

(1) Acidity; 

(2) Alkalinity; 

(3) Biochemical Oxygen Demand; 

(4) Bromide; 

(5) Carbonaceous Biochemical Oxygen Demand; 

(6) Chemical Oxygen Demand; 

(7) Chloride; 

(8) Chlorine, Free Available; 

(9) Chlorine, Total Residual; 

(10) Chlorophyll; 

(11) Coliform, Fecal; 

(12) Coliform, Total; 

(13) Color; 

(14) Conductivity/Specific Conductance; 

(15) Cyanide; 

(16) Dissolved Organic Carbon; 

(17) Dissolved Oxygen; 

(18) Enterococci; 

(19) Escherichia Coliform (E. coli); 

(20) Flash Point; 

(21) Fluoride; 

(22) Hardness, Total; 

(23) Ignitability; 

(24) Surfactants as Methylene Blue Active 

Surfactants; 

(25) Nitrogen, Ammonia; 

(26) Nitrogen, Nitrite plus Nitrate; 

(27) Nitrogen, Nitrate; 

(28) Nitrogen, Nitrite; 

(29) Nitrogen, Total Kjeldahl; 

(30) Oil and Grease; 

(31) Orthophosphate; 

(32) Paint Filter Liquids; 

(33) pH; 

(34) Phenols; 

(35) Phosphorus, Total; 

(36) Residue, Settleable; 

(37) Residue, Total; 

(38) Residue, Total Dissolved; 

(39) Residue, Total Suspended; 

(40) Residue, Volatile; 

(41) Salinity; 

(42) Salmonella; 

(43) Silica; 

(44) Sulfate; 

(45) Sulfide; 

(46) Sulfite; 
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(47) Temperature; 

(48) Total Organic Carbon; 

(49) Turbidity; 

(50) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 1; 

(51) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 2; 

(52) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 3; 

(53) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 4; 

(54) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 5; 

(55) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 6; 

(56) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 7; 

(57) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 8; and 

(58) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 12. 

(c)  Metals: Each of the metals listed in this Paragraph shall be 

considered a certifiable Parameter. One or more Parameter 

Methods shall be listed with a laboratory's certified Parameters. 

Analytical methods shall be determined from the sources listed in 

Rule .0805(a)(1) of this Section. Certifiable metals are as follows: 

(1) Aluminum; 

(2) Antimony; 

(3) Arsenic; 

(4) Barium; 

(5) Beryllium; 

(6) Boron; 

(7) Cadmium; 

(8) Calcium; 

(9) Chromium, Hexavalent (Chromium VI); 

(10) Chromium, Total; 

(11) Chromium, Trivalent (Chromium III); 

(12) Cobalt; 

(13) Copper; 

(14) Hardness, Total (Calcium + Magnesium); 

(15) Iron; 

(16) Lead; 

(17) Lithium; 

(18) Magnesium; 

(19) Manganese; 

(20) Mercury; 

(21) Molybdenum; 

(22) Nickel; 

(23) Potassium; 

(24) Phosphorus; 

(25) Selenium; 

(26) Silica; 

(27) Silver; 

(28) Sodium; 

(29) Strontium; 

(30) Thallium; 

(31) Tin; 

(32) Titanium; 

(33) Vanadium; and 

(34) Zinc. 

(d)  Organics: Each of the organic Parameters listed in this 

Paragraph shall be considered a certifiable Parameter. One or 

more Parameter Methods shall be listed with a laboratory's 

certified Parameters. Analytical methods shall be determined 

from the sources listed in Rule .0805(a)(1) of this Section. 

Certifiable organic Parameters are as follows: 

(1) 1,2-Dibromoethane (EDB); 1,2-Dibromo-3-

chloro-propane (DBCP); 1,2,3-

Trichloropropane (TCP); 

(2) Acetonitrile; 

(3) Acrolein, Acrylonitrile; 

(4) Adsorbable Organic Halides; 

(5) Base/Neutral and Acid Organics; 

(6) Benzidines; 

(7) Chlorinated Acid Herbicides; 

(8) Chlorinated Hydrocarbons; 

(9) Chlorinated Phenolics; 

(10) Explosives; 

(11) Extractable Petroleum Hydrocarbons; 

(12) Haloethers; 

(13) N-Methylcarbamates; 

(14) Nitroaromatics and Isophorone; 

(15) Nitrosamines; 

(16) Nonhalogenated Volatile Organics; 

(17) Organochlorine Pesticides; 

(18) Organophosphorus Pesticides; 

(19) Phenols; 

(20) Phthalate Esters; 

(21) Polychlorinated Biphenyls; 

(22) Polynuclear Aromatic Hydrocarbons; 

(23) Purgeable Aromatics; 

(24) Purgeable Halocarbons; 

(25) Purgeable Organics; 

(26) Total Organic Halides; 

(27) Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons – Diesel Range 

Organics; 

(28) Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons – Gasoline 

Range Organics; and 

(29) Volatile Petroleum Hydrocarbons. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 2, 1992; December 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0805 CERTIFICATION AND 

RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Prerequisites and requirements for Certification. The 

following requirements shall be met by all laboratories, excluding 

Field Laboratories, prior to Certification. Once certified, failure to 

comply with any of the following items shall be a violation of 

Certification requirements. 

(1) Laboratory Procedures. Analytical methods, 

sample preservation, sample containers, and 

sample holding times shall conform to the 

requirements found in: 

(A) 40 CFR Part 136 and 40 CFR Part 503; 

(B) Standard Methods for the 

Examination of Water and 

Wastewater; 

(C) Test Methods for Evaluating Solid 

Waste, SW-846, Third Edition; 
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(D) Control of Pathogens and Vector 

Attraction in Sewage Sludge; 

EPA/625/R-92/013; 

(E) Massachusetts Department of 

Environmental Protection, Method for 

the Determination of Volatile 

Petroleum Hydrocarbons (VPH), 

February 2018, Revision 2.1, and 

Method for the Determination of 

Extractable Petroleum Hydrocarbons 

(EPH), May 2004, Revision 1.1, and 

(F) The State Laboratory may develop 

Approved Procedures for Field 

Parameters based upon the methods in 

any of the sources referenced in 

Parts(a)(1)(A) through (E) of this 

Rule. 

(G) The procedures and methods listed in 

this Subparagraph are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

(H) The materials in this Subparagraph are 

available for inspection at the State 

Laboratory, 4405 Reedy Creek Road, 

Raleigh, North Carolina, 27607 or 

may be obtained from: 

(i) The Code of Federal 

Regulations, 40 CFR Part 

136 and 40 CFR Part 503, 

may be obtained from the 

Superintendent of 

Documents, U.S. 

Government Printing Office 

(GPO), Superintendent of 

Public Documents, 

Washington, D.C., 20402 

and free of charge at 

http://www.ecfr.gov. 

(ii) Standard Methods for the 

Examination of Water and 

Wastewater, is available for 

purchase from American 

Water Works Association 

(AWWA), 6666 West 

Quincy Avenue, Denver, CO 

80235; American Public 

Health Association (APHA), 

8001 Street, NW, 

Washington, D.C. 20001; or 

Water Environment 

Federation (WEF), 601 

Wythe Street, Alexandria, 

VA 22314; and 

http://www.standardmethods

.org/. 

(iii) Test Methods for Evaluating 

Solid Waste, SW-846, Third 

Edition may be obtained 

from the Superintendent of 

Documents, U.S. 

Government Printing Office 

(GPO), Washington, D.C. 

20402 and free of charge at 

http://www.epa.gov/osw/haz

ard/testmethods/sw846/onlin

e/. 

(iv) Control of Pathogens and 

Vector Attraction in Sewage 

Sludge; EPA/625/R-92/013 

is available from US EPA; 

Office of Research and 

Development, Washington, 

D.C. 20460 and free of 

charge at 

http://www.water.epa.gov/sc

itech/wastetech/biosolids/. 

(v) Massachusetts Department 

of Environmental Protection, 

Method for the 

Determination of Volatile 

Petroleum Hydrocarbons 

(VPH), February 2018, 

Revision 2.1, et seq. and 

Method for the 

Determination of Extractable 

Petroleum Hydrocarbons 

(EPH), May 2004, Revision 

1.1, et seq may be obtained 

from the Massachusetts 

Department of 

Environmental Protection, 

Senator William X. Wall 

Experiment Station, 37 

Shattuck Street, Lawrence, 

MA, 01843-1398 and free of 

charge at 

https://www.mass.gov/files/

documents/2018/02/23/VPH

%20GC%20PIDFID_Revisi

on%202_1_February%2020

18.pdf and 

http://www.mass.gov/eea/do

cs/dep/cleanup/laws/eph050

4.pdf, respectively. 

(vi) State Laboratory Approved 

Procedures for Field 

Parameters may be obtained 

by request from the State 

Laboratory or on the State 

Laboratory website at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divi

sions/water-resources/water-

resources-data/water-

sciences-home-

page/laboratory-

certification-branch. 

(J) The Commission or assigned delegate 

may approve other analytical 
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procedures, parameters, or Parameter 

Methods that produce verifiable and 

repeatable results. 

(2) Proficiency Testing. Annually, each certified 

laboratory shall achieve Acceptable 

Proficiency Testing Results on a minimum of 

one evaluation sample for each Parameter 

Method listed on their Certified Parameters 

Listing for which Proficiency Testing Samples 

are available from more than one Vendor, as 

required by these Rules. When two Proficiency 

Testing Samples for the same Parameter 

Method are analyzed and submitted at the same 

time, an unacceptable result on one or both 

samples shall be considered the first 

unacceptable result for Certification purposes. 

A laboratory that submits Unacceptable 

Proficiency Testing Results for two Proficiency 

Testing Samples for the same Parameter 

Method submitted at the same time shall 

analyze a remedial Proficiency Testing Sample 

to show a return to control and send a 

description of corrective actions to the State 

Laboratory that includes the Root Cause of the 

failure and the corrective actions taken to 

prevent recurrence. Proficiency Testing 

samples shall be analyzed in the same manner 

that routine samples are analyzed using the 

same staff, sample tracking, sample preparation 

procedures, analytical methods, standard 

operating procedures, calibration techniques, 

quality control procedures, and acceptance 

criteria. 

(A) All laboratories shall participate 

annually in an evaluation study by 

analyzing Proficiency Testing 

Samples obtained from a State 

Laboratory-approved Vendor as 

unknowns, and arranging with the 

Vendor to send the graded results 

directly to the State Laboratory by the 

date due. A laboratory that submits 

Unacceptable Proficiency Testing 

Results shall analyze a remedial 

Proficiency Testing Sample using the 

same Parameter Method to show a 

return to control and send a description 

of corrective actions to the State 

Laboratory that includes the Root 

Cause of the failure and the corrective 

actions taken to prevent recurrence. 

(B) Laboratories requesting initial 

Certification or additional Parameter 

Method Certification shall submit an 

acceptable Proficiency Testing sample 

result from the most recent attempt 

analyzed within the last six months for 

each Parameter Method for which 

Proficiency Testing samples are 

available. Laboratories shall analyze 

Proficiency Testing samples obtained 

from a State Laboratory-approved 

Vendor as unknowns and arrange with 

the Vendor to send the graded results 

directly to the State Laboratory. 

Laboratories that submit two 

consecutive Unacceptable Proficiency 

Testing Results for a particular 

Parameter Method shall then submit 

two consecutive Acceptable 

Proficiency Testing results from the 

most recent attempt analyzed within 

the six months prior to initial 

Certification for that Parameter 

Method. 

(C) If Proficiency Testing Samples are not 

available, Certification for that 

Parameter shall be based on the on-site 

inspection, adherence to the approved 

procedures, and the other 

requirements in this Section. Analysis 

of Split Samples may also be required 

if Proficiency Testing Samples are not 

available or if analysis of Proficiency 

Testing Samples is not representative 

of the entire analytical process. 

(3) Supervisory Requirements. 

(A) The supervisor of a Commercial 

Laboratory shall have a Bachelor's 

degree in chemistry or other science 

curricula from a college or university 

recognized as accredited by the U.S. 

Department of Education, plus two 

years of laboratory experience in 

analytical chemistry, or a two-year 

associate degree in chemistry 

technology, environmental sciences, 

or other science curricula from a 

college, university, or technical 

institute, recognized as accredited by 

the U.S. Department of Education, 

plus four years of experience in 

analytical chemistry. 

(B) The supervisor of a non-Commercial 

Municipal, Industrial, Mobile, or 

Other Laboratory shall have a 

Bachelor's degree in chemistry or 

other science curricula from a college 

or university recognized as accredited 

by the U.S. Department of Education, 

plus six months of laboratory 

experience in analytical chemistry or 

an equivalent combination of 

education and work experience, or a 

two-year associate degree in chemistry 

technology, environmental sciences, 

or other science curricula from a 

college or university recognized as 
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accredited by the U.S. Department of 

Education, plus two years of 

experience in analytical chemistry or 

an equivalent combination of 

education and work experience. Non-

degree supervisors shall have six years 

of laboratory experience in analytical 

chemistry or an equivalent 

combination of education and work 

experience. 

(C) All laboratory supervisors shall be 

subject to review by the State 

Laboratory. One person may serve as 

supervisor of no more than two 

certified laboratories. The supervisor 

shall provide personal and direct 

supervision of the technical personnel 

and shall be responsible for adherence 

to all requirements in this Section. The 

supervisor shall work in the laboratory 

or contact the laboratory once each 

day tests, analyses, measurements, or 

monitoring required under G.S. 143 

Article 21 are performed and 

Supporting Records shall be 

maintained as evidence of this 

supervision. If the supervisor will be 

absent, the supervisor shall arrange for 

a substitute capable of insuring 

adherence to all requirements in this 

Rule. The substitute supervisor shall 

not be in charge for more than 12 

consecutive weeks. Previous 

laboratory-related performance shall 

be considered when reviewing the 

qualifications of a potential laboratory 

supervisor. 

(4) Laboratory Manager. Each laboratory shall 

designate a laboratory manager and include his 

or her name and title on the application for 

Certification. The laboratory manager shall be 

administratively above the laboratory 

supervisor and will be in responsible charge in 

the event the laboratory supervisor ceases to be 

employed by the laboratory and will be 

responsible for filling the laboratory supervisor 

position with a replacement qualified pursuant 

to these Rules. At Commercial Laboratories, 

where the owner is the laboratory supervisor, 

the laboratory manager and laboratory 

supervisor may be the same person if there is no 

one administratively above the laboratory 

supervisor. 

(5) Application. Each laboratory requesting initial 

Certification shall submit an application to the 

State Laboratory that includes the laboratory 

name, contact information, EPA laboratory 

code number, applicable permit number(s), 

laboratory supervisor information, analytical 

methods, and equipment. The application may 

be obtained by request from the State 

Laboratory or on the State Laboratory website 

at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-resources-data/water-sciences-

home-page/laboratory-certification-

branch/application-forms. The application fee 

and the laboratory's quality assurance manual, 

including Standard Operating Procedures for all 

requested Parameter Methods, must also be 

submitted. Separate application and 

Certification shall be required for each Mobile 

Laboratory and the applicant shall supply the 

vehicle make, vehicle identification number, 

and license number. Separate application and 

Certification shall be required for all stationary 

laboratories maintained on properties that do 

not share a common boundary line, even though 

operated under the same management; 

however, separate Certification shall not be 

required for separate buildings on the same or 

adjoining grounds. Analysis of Field 

Parameters away from the physical location of 

the laboratory shall be permitted without 

separate Certification. After receiving a 

completed application and prior to issuing 

Certification, a representative of the State 

Laboratory may visit each laboratory to verify 

the information in the application and the 

adequacy of the laboratory. 

(6) Facilities, Supplies, and Equipment. Each 

laboratory requesting Certification shall be 

maintained so as to ensure the security and 

integrity of samples. Samples shall be analyzed 

in such a manner that contamination or error 

will not be introduced. Each facility shall 

contain or be equipped with the following: 

(A) A source of water that will meet the 

minimum criteria of the approved 

methodologies; and 

(B) Glassware, chemicals, supplies, and 

equipment required to perform all 

tests, analyses, measurements, or 

monitoring included in its 

Certification. 

(7) Analytical quality assurance and quality control 

program. Each laboratory shall have a 

documented analytical quality assurance and 

quality control program. Each laboratory shall 

have a copy of each approved test, analysis, 

measurement, or monitoring procedure being 

used in the laboratory. Each laboratory shall 

develop documentation outlining the analytical 

quality control practices used for the Parameter 

Methods included in its Certification, including 

Standard Operating Procedures for each 

certified Parameter Method. Quality assurance, 

quality control, and Standard Operating 

Procedure documentation shall indicate the 
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effective date of the document and be reviewed 

every two years and updated if changes in 

procedures are made. Each laboratory shall 

have a formal process to track and document 

review dates and any revisions made in all 

quality assurance, quality control, and Standard 

Operating Procedure documents. Supporting 

Records shall be maintained as evidence that 

these practices are implemented. The quality 

assurance, quality control, and Standard 

Operating Procedure documents shall be 

available for inspection by the State 

Laboratory. The following shall be included in 

each certified laboratory's quality assurance and 

quality control program. For analysis of Field 

Parameters, a certified laboratory shall follow 

the quality assurance and quality control 

requirements in Subparagraphs (g)(1) through 

(9) of this Rule. 

(A) Unless specified by the method or this 

Rule, each laboratory shall establish 

performance acceptance criteria for all 

quality control analyses. Each 

laboratory shall calculate and 

document the precision and accuracy 

of all quality control analyses with 

each sample set. When the method of 

choice specifies performance 

acceptance criteria for precision and 

accuracy, and the laboratory chooses 

to develop laboratory-specific limits, 

the laboratory-specific limits shall not 

be less stringent than the criteria stated 

in the approved method. 

(B) If quality control results fall outside 

established limits or show an 

analytical problem, the laboratory 

shall identify the Root Cause of the 

failure. The problem shall be resolved 

through corrective action, the 

corrective action process documented, 

and any samples involved shall be 

reanalyzed, if possible. If the sample 

cannot be reanalyzed, or if the quality 

control results continue to fall outside 

established limits or show an 

analytical problem, the results shall be 

qualified as such. 

(C) Except where otherwise specified in 

an analytical method, laboratories 

shall analyze five percent of all 

samples in duplicate to document 

precision. Laboratories analyzing 

fewer than 20 samples per month shall 

analyze one duplicate during each 

month that samples are analyzed. 

(D) Unless the referenced method states a 

greater frequency or the parameter is 

not amenable to spiking, laboratories 

shall spike five percent of samples 

monthly. Laboratories analyzing 

fewer than 20 samples per month shall 

analyze one Matrix Spike during each 

month that samples are analyzed. 

(E) All analytical records, including 

original observations and information 

necessary to facilitate historical 

reconstruction of the calculated 

results, shall be maintained for five 

years. All analytical data and records 

pertinent to each certified analysis 

shall be available for inspection upon 

request. All analytical records shall be 

legible to all parties and safeguarded 

against unauthorized amendment, 

obliteration, erasures, overwriting, 

and corruption. Records that are stored 

only on electronic media shall be 

maintained throughout the five-year 

retention period and supported in the 

laboratory by all hardware and 

software necessary for data retrieval 

and review. All documentation errors 

shall be corrected by drawing a single 

line through the error so that the 

original entry remains legible. Entries 

shall not be obliterated by erasures or 

markings. Wite-Out®, correction tape, 

or similar products designed to 

obliterate documentation shall not to 

be used; instead, the correction shall 

be written adjacent to the error. The 

correction shall be initialed by the 

responsible individual and the date of 

change documented. All manual data 

and log entries shall be written in 

indelible ink. 

(F) All laboratories shall use printable 

laboratory benchsheets. Certified Data 

shall be traceable to the associated 

sample analyses and shall consist of: 

(i) the method or Standard 

Operating Procedure; 

(ii) the laboratory identification; 

(iii) the instrument identification; 

(iv) the sample collector; 

(v) the signature or initials of the 

analyst; 

(vi) the date and time of sample 

collection; 

(vii) the date of sample analyses; 

(viii) the time of sample analyses 

(when required to document 

a required holding time or 

when time-critical steps are 

imposed by the method, a 

federal regulation, or this 

Rule); 
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(ix) sample identification; 

(x) sample preparation, where 

applicable; 

(xi) the volume of sample 

analyzed, where applicable; 

(xii) the proper units of measure; 

(xiii) the dilution factor, where 

applicable; 

(xiv) all manual calculations; 

(xv) all quality control 

assessments; 

(xvi) the value from the 

measurement system; 

(xvii) the final value to be reported; 

and 

(xviii) any other data needed to 

reconstruct the final 

calculated result. 

Each item shall be recorded each time 

that samples are analyzed. The date 

and time that samples are placed into 

and removed from ovens, water baths, 

incubators and other equipment shall 

be documented if a time limit is 

required by the method. 

(G) If certified for total suspended residue, 

total dissolved residue, or total 

residue, laboratories shall analyze one 

standard monthly during each month 

samples are analyzed. 

(H) For analytical procedures requiring 

analysis of a series of standards, the 

concentrations of these standards shall 

bracket the range of the sample 

concentrations measured. One of the 

standards shall have a concentration 

equal to or less than the laboratory's 

lowest reporting concentration for the 

parameter involved. All data sets shall 

reference the corresponding 

calibration. Laboratories shall analyze 

or back-calculate a standard at the 

same concentration as the lowest 

reporting concentration each day 

samples are analyzed. A calibration 

blank and calibration verification 

standard shall be analyzed prior to 

sample analysis, after every tenth 

sample, and at the end of each sample 

group, unless otherwise specified by 

the method, to check for carryover and 

calibration drift. 

(i) The concentration of reagent, 

method, and calibration 

blanks shall not exceed 50 

percent of the lowest 

reporting concentration or as 

otherwise specified by the 

reference method. 

(ii) Laboratories shall analyze 

one known second source 

standard to verify the 

accuracy of standard 

preparation if an initial 

calibration is performed and 

in accordance with the 

referenced method 

requirements thereafter. 

(iii) For electrode analyses, a 

series of two or more non-

zero standards shall be used. 

(iv) For metals analyses, a series 

of three or more non-zero 

standards or standards as set 

forth in the analytical 

procedure shall be analyzed 

with each sample set. 

(v) For colorimetric analyses, a 

series of five or more non-

zero standards for a curve 

prepared every 12 months or 

three or more non-zero 

standards for curves 

established each day, or 

standards as set forth in the 

analytical procedure, shall be 

analyzed to establish a 

calibration curve. A 

manufacturer's factory-set 

calibration (internal curve) 

shall be verified with the 

same number of standards 

and frequency as a prepared 

curve. 

(vi) For ion chromatographic 

analyses, a series of five or 

more non-zero standards for 

a curve prepared every 12 

months or three or more non-

zero standards for curves 

established each day, or 

standards as set forth in the 

analytical procedure, shall be 

analyzed to establish a 

calibration curve. 

(I) Each day samples are placed into or 

removed from an incubator, oven, 

water bath, refrigerator, or other 

temperature-controlled device, the 

temperature shall be checked, 

recorded, dated, and initialed. If a 

method requires more frequent 

monitoring, the method shall be 

followed. During each use of an 

autoclave, the temperature, pressure, 

cycle time, and items autoclaved shall 

be checked, recorded, dated, and 

initialed. 
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(J) The analytical balance shall be 

checked with one ASTM Type 1, 

Class 1 or 2, or equivalent standard 

weight each day used. These weights 

shall be verified every five years. The 

analytical balance shall be verified 

monthly with three ASTM Type 1, 

Class 1 or 2, or equivalent standard 

weights across the range of use. The 

values obtained shall be recorded, 

dated, and initialed. Laboratory 

analytical balances shall be serviced 

by a metrology vendor or technician 

every 12 months to verify that the 

balance is functioning within 

manufacturer's specifications. 

(K) Chemical containers shall be dated 

when received and when opened. 

Reagent containers shall be dated, 

identified, and initialed when 

prepared. Chemicals and reagents 

exceeding the expiration date shall not 

be used. The laboratory shall have a 

documented system of traceability for 

the purchase, preparation, and use of 

all chemicals, reagents, standards, and 

consumables. 

(L) A record of sample collection date, 

sample collection time, sample 

collector, and the use of proper 

preservatives and preservation 

techniques shall be maintained. Each 

North Carolina sample shall indicate 

the collection site on all record 

transcriptions. 

(M) Sample preservation shall be verified 

and documented. If a laboratory 

receives a sample subject to G.S. 143-

215.1 and 143-215.63 that does not 

meet sample collection, holding time, 

or preservation requirements, the 

laboratory shall document the 

incident, notify the sample collector or 

client, and secure another sample that 

meets the regulatory requirements, if 

possible. If another viable sample 

cannot be secured, the original sample 

may be analyzed but the results 

reported shall be qualified with the 

nature of the sample collection, 

holding time, or preservation 

infractions and the laboratory shall 

notify the State Laboratory of the 

infractions. The notification shall 

include a statement indicating 

corrective action taken to prevent 

future infractions. 

(N) All temperature-measuring devices 

shall have accuracy that meets or 

exceeds one-half the tolerance 

required for its intended use. All 

temperature-measuring devices shall 

be used, stored, and maintained 

according to the manufacturer's 

instructions. 

(i) Reference Temperature-

Measuring Devices shall 

meet National Institute of 

Standards and Technology 

(NIST) specifications for 

accuracy and shall be 

recalibrated in accordance 

with the manufacturer's 

recalibration date not to 

exceed five years. If no 

recalibration date is given, 

the Reference Temperature-

Measuring Device shall be 

recalibrated every five years. 

(ii) Excluding digital, incubator, 

and infrared temperature-

measuring devices, all non-

Reference Temperature-

Measuring Devices shall be 

verified at the temperature of 

use every 12 months against 

a Reference Temperature-

Measuring Device and their 

accuracy shall be corrected. 

(iii) Digital temperature-

measuring devices and 

temperature-measuring 

devices used in incubators 

shall be verified at the 

temperature of use every 

three months against a 

Reference Temperature-

Measuring Device and their 

accuracy shall be corrected. 

(iv) Infrared temperature-

measuring devices shall be 

verified every three months 

at three different 

temperatures over the 

temperature range of use 

against a Reference 

Temperature-Measuring 

Device and their accuracy 

shall be corrected. Each day 

of use, infrared temperature-

measuring devices shall be 

verified against a non-

Reference Temperature-

Measuring Device that meets 

NIST specifications for 

accuracy. If the infrared 

temperature-measuring 

device does not agree within 
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0.5 degrees Celsius during 

the daily verification, the 

laboratory shall take 

corrective action. 

(O) Mechanical volumetric liquid-

dispensing devices (e.g., fixed and 

adjustable auto-pipettors and bottle-

top dispensers) used for critical 

volume measurements shall be 

calibrated once every six months. 

(P) Each laboratory shall develop and 

implement a documented training 

program that includes documentation 

that: 

(i) staff have the education, 

training, experience, or 

demonstrated skills needed to 

generate quality control 

results within method-

specified limits and meet the 

requirements of these Rules; 

(ii) staff have read the laboratory 

quality assurance manual and 

applicable Standard 

Operating Procedures; and 

(iii) staff have obtained 

acceptable results on 

Proficiency Testing Samples 

pursuant to Rule .0803(1) of 

this Section or other 

demonstrations of 

proficiency (e.g., side-by-

side comparison with a 

trained analyst, acceptable 

results on a single-blind 

performance evaluation 

sample, an initial 

demonstration of capability 

study prescribed by the 

reference method). 

(b)  Issuance of Certification. 

(1) Upon compliance with these Rules, 

Certification shall be issued by the Director or 

assigned delegate, for each of the applicable 

Parameter Methods requested within 30 

calendar days of payment of the initial invoice. 

(2) Initial Certifications shall be valid for the 

remainder of the applicable Certification cycle 

that begins on January 1 and ends December 31 

of the same year.  

(c)  Maintenance of Certification. 

(1) To maintain Certification for each Parameter 

Method, a certified laboratory shall analyze one 

Proficiency Testing Sample per Parameter 

Method per year. A laboratory may be asked to 

analyze additional Proficiency Testing Samples 

for a Parameter Method if a question about the 

accuracy of data produced arises, if there are 

changes in equipment or personnel, if 

inaccurate information is reported with 

Proficiency Testing results, or if Unacceptable 

Proficiency Testing Results are submitted. 

(2) In addition, if a Proficiency Testing Sample is 

not available, the State Laboratory may request 

the analysis of Split Samples. Acceptable Split 

Sample results shall be determined by the State 

Laboratory using scientifically valid statistical 

methodology. 

(3) The State Laboratory may require certified 

laboratories to analyze blind Proficiency 

Testing Samples or Split Samples under 

direction of State Laboratory personnel if there 

is a question about the accuracy of data 

produced, if Proficiency Testing Samples are 

not available, or if analysis of Proficiency 

Testing Samples does not represent the entire 

analytical process. 

(4) A certified laboratory shall be subject to 

periodic announced or unannounced 

inspections during the Certification period and 

shall make time and all records pursuant to Part 

(a)(7)(E) of this Rule available for inspection.  

(5) A certified laboratory shall supply copies of all 

records pursuant to Part (a)(7)(E) of this Rule 

for any investigation upon written request by 

the State Laboratory. 

(6) A certified laboratory shall provide the State 

Laboratory with written notice of laboratory 

supervisor or laboratory manager changes 

within 30 calendar days of such changes. 

(7) A certified laboratory shall submit written 

notice of any changes of location, ownership, 

address, name, or telephone number within 30 

calendar days of such changes. 

(d)  Certification Renewals. Certification renewals shall be issued 

for one year. 

(e)  Data Reporting. 

(1) Certified Commercial Laboratories shall 

provide data reports to their clients that are 

signed by the laboratory supervisor. This 

signatory authority may be delegated in writing. 

(2) If a certified laboratory refers or subcontracts 

analysis of samples to another laboratory 

certified for the Parameter, the referring 

laboratory shall supply the date and time that 

samples were collected to insure holding times 

are met. All record transcriptions of 

subcontracted samples shall state that the 

collection site is in North Carolina. 

Laboratories may subcontract sample fractions, 

extracts, leachates, and other sample 

preparation products provided that adherence to 

15A NCAC 02H .0800 is documented. The 

initial client requesting the analyses shall 

receive the original or a copy of the report made 

by the laboratory that performs the analyses. 

Each reported result shall be traceable to the 
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laboratory that performed the analysis on the 

final report. 

(3) All Uncertified Data shall be documented as 

such on the benchsheet and on the final report. 

(4) Sample results reported below the lowest 

reporting concentration, if required by the data 

receiver, shall be qualified as an estimated 

value. 

(5) Reported data associated with quality control 

failures, improper sample collection, holding 

time exceedances, or improper preservation 

shall be qualified as such. 

(f)  Voluntary Discontinuation of Certification. 

(1) A laboratory may discontinue Certification for 

any or all Parameter Methods by making a 

written request to the State Laboratory. 

(2) After discontinuation of Certification, a 

laboratory shall only be recertified by meeting 

the requirements for initial Certification; 

however, laboratories that discontinue 

Certification during any investigation shall be 

subject to Rule .0808 of this Section. 

(g)  Prerequisites and Requirements for Field Laboratory 

Certification. Laboratories that meet the requirements of this 

Paragraph shall be certified as Field Laboratories. Once certified, 

failure to comply with any of the following items shall be a 

violation of Certification requirements. 

(1) All analytical records, including original 

observations and information necessary to 

facilitate historical reconstruction of the 

calculated results, shall be maintained for five 

years. All analytical data and records pertinent 

to each certified analysis shall be available for 

inspection upon request. All analytical records 

shall be legible to all parties and safeguarded 

against unauthorized amendment, obliteration, 

erasures, overwriting and corruption. Records 

that are stored only on electronic media shall be 

maintained throughout the five-year retention 

period and supported in the laboratory by all 

hardware and software necessary for data 

retrieval and review. All documentation errors 

shall be corrected by drawing a single line 

through the error so that the original entry 

remains legible. Entries shall not be obliterated 

by erasures or markings. Wite-Out®, correction 

tape, or similar products designed to obliterate 

documentation are not to be used; instead the 

correction shall be written adjacent to the error. 

The correction shall be initialed by the 

responsible individual and the date of change 

documented. All manual data and log entries 

shall be written in indelible ink. 

(2) All laboratories shall use printable laboratory 

benchsheets. Certified Data shall be traceable to 

the associated sample analyses and shall consist 

of: 

(A) the method or Standard Operating 

Procedure; 

(B) the laboratory identification; 

(C) the instrument identification; 

(D) the sample collector; 

(E) the signature or initials of the analyst; 

(F) the date and time of sample collection; 

(G) the date of sample analyses; 

(H) the time of sample analyses (when 

required to document a required 

holding time or when time-critical 

steps are imposed by the method, a 

federal regulation, or this Rule); 

(I) sample identification; 

(J) sample preparation, where applicable; 

(K) the volume of sample analyzed, where 

applicable; 

(L) the proper units of measure; 

(M) the dilution factor, where applicable; 

(N) all manual calculations; 

(O) the quality control assessments; 

(P) the value from the measurement 

system; 

(Q) the final value to be reported; and 

(R) any other data needed to reconstruct 

the final calculated result. 

Each item shall be recorded each time samples 

are analyzed. Analyses shall conform to 

methodologies found in Subparagraph (a)(1) of 

this Rule. 

(3) A record of instrument calibration or calibration 

verification shall be documented and available 

for inspection upon request. 

(4) Laboratory Procedures. Laboratory procedures 

shall comply with Subparagraph (a)(1) of this 

Rule. A copy of each analytical method or 

Approved Procedure and Standard Operating 

Procedure shall be available to each analyst and 

available for review upon request by the State 

Laboratory. Standard Operating Procedure 

documentation shall state the effective date of 

the document and shall be reviewed every two 

years and updated if changes in procedures are 

made. Each laboratory shall have a formal 

process to track and document review dates and 

any revisions made in all Standard Operating 

Procedure documents. Supporting Records 

shall be maintained as evidence that these 

practices are implemented. 

(5) Each laboratory shall develop and implement a 

documented training program that includes the 

following: 

(A) that staff have the education, training, 

experience, or demonstrated skills 

needed to generate quality control 

results within method-specified limits 

and that meet the requirements of 

these Rules; 

(B) that staff have read the laboratory 

quality assurance manual or applicable 

Standard Operating Procedures; 
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(C) that staff have obtained acceptable 

results on Proficiency Testing samples 

pursuant to Rule .0803(1) of this 

Section or other demonstrations of 

proficiency (e.g., side-by-side 

comparison with a trained analyst, 

acceptable results on a single-blind 

performance evaluation sample, an 

initial demonstration of capability 

study prescribed by the reference 

method). 

(6) Each facility shall have glassware, chemicals, 

supplies, equipment, and a source of water that 

meets the criteria of the approved 

methodologies. Samples shall be analyzed in 

such a manner that contamination or error will 

not be introduced. 

(7) Chemical containers shall be dated when 

received and when opened. Reagent containers 

shall be dated, identified, and initialed when 

prepared. Chemicals and reagents exceeding 

the expiration date shall not be used. Chemicals 

and reagents shall be assigned expiration dates 

by the laboratory if not given by the 

manufacturer. If the laboratory is unable to 

determine an expiration date for a chemical or 

reagent, a one-year time period from the date of 

receipt shall be the expiration date unless 

degradation is observed prior to this date. The 

laboratory shall have a documented system of 

traceability for all chemicals, reagents, 

standards, and consumables. 

(8) If quality control results fall outside established 

limits or indicate an analytical problem, the 

laboratory shall identify the Root Cause of the 

failure. The problem shall be resolved through 

corrective action, the corrective action process 

documented, and any samples involved shall be 

reanalyzed, if possible. If the sample cannot be 

reanalyzed, or if the quality control results 

continue to fall outside established limits or 

indicate an analytical problem, the results shall 

be qualified as such. 

(9) All temperature-measuring devices shall have 

accuracy that meets or exceeds one-half the 

tolerance required for its intended use. All 

temperature-measuring devices shall be used, 

stored, and maintained in accordance with the 

manufacturer's instructions. 

(A) Reference Temperature-Measuring 

Devices shall meet National Institute 

of Standards and Technology (NIST) 

specifications for accuracy and shall 

be recalibrated in accordance with the 

manufacturer's recalibration date. If no 

recalibration date is given, the 

Reference Temperature-Measuring 

Device shall be recalibrated every five 

years. 

(B) Excluding digital, incubator, and 

infrared temperature-measuring 

devices, all non-Reference 

Temperature-Measuring Devices shall 

be verified every twelve months 

against a Reference Temperature-

Measuring Device and their accuracy 

shall be corrected. 

(C) Digital temperature-measuring 

devices and temperature-measuring 

devices used in incubators shall be 

verified every three months against a 

Reference Temperature-Measuring 

Device and their accuracy shall be 

corrected. 

(D) Infrared temperature-measuring 

devices shall be verified every three 

months at three different temperatures 

over the temperature range of use 

against a Reference Temperature-

Measuring Device and their accuracy 

shall be corrected. Each day of use, 

infrared temperature-measuring 

devices shall be verified against a non-

Reference Temperature-Measuring 

Device that meets NIST specifications 

for accuracy. If the infrared 

temperature-measuring device does 

not agree within 0.5 degrees Celsius 

during the daily verification, 

corrective action must be taken. 

(10) Mechanical volumetric liquid-dispensing 

devices (e.g., fixed and adjustable auto-

pipettors and bottle-top dispensers) shall be 

calibrated at least once every twelve months. 

(11) Supervisors of laboratories certified only for 

Field Parameters shall: 

(A) meet the requirements of Part 

(a)(3)(A) or (a)(3)(B) of this Rule; 

(B) possess a chemistry or related degree 

with two years of related 

environmental experience or an 

equivalent combination of education 

and work experience; or 

(C) hold any Water Pollution Control 

System Operator's Certification as 

defined by 15A NCAC 08G. 

Supervisors shall provide personal and direct 

supervision of the technical personnel and shall 

be responsible for adherence to all requirements 

in this Rule. If the supervisor will be absent, the 

supervisor shall arrange for a substitute capable 

of insuring adherence to all requirements in this 

Rule. The substitute supervisor shall not be in 

charge for more than 12 consecutive weeks. 

(12) A certified Field Laboratory shall be subject to 

inspections during the Certification period and 

shall make all records pursuant to this Section 

available for inspection. 
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(13) A certified Field Laboratory shall supply copies 

of all records pursuant to this Section for any 

investigation upon written request by the State 

Laboratory. 

(14) A certified Field Laboratory shall pay all 

applicable fees in accordance with Rule .0806 

of this Section. 

(15) Application. Each Field Laboratory requesting 

initial Certification shall submit an application 

to the State Laboratory that includes the 

laboratory name, contact information, EPA 

laboratory code number, permit number(s), 

laboratory supervisor information, analytical 

methods, and equipment. The application may 

be obtained by request from the State 

Laboratory or on the State Laboratory website 

at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-resources-data/water-sciences-

home-page/laboratory-certification-

branch/application-forms-0. 

(16) Proficiency Testing. Each certified Field 

Laboratory shall be in accordance with 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule. 

(17) Data Reporting. Each certified Field 

Laboratory shall be in accordance with 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(18) Issuance of Certification. A Field Laboratory 

shall be issued Certification in accordance with 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(19) Maintenance of Certification. A certified Field 

Laboratory shall submit written notice of any 

changes in the laboratory supervisor, location, 

ownership, address, name, and telephone 

number within 30 days of such changes. 

(20) Certification Renewals. Certification renewals 

of certified Field Laboratories shall be issued in 

accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(21) Discontinuation of Certification. A certified 

Field Laboratory may discontinue Certification 

in accordance with Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(22) Decertification. A certified Field Laboratory 

may be decertified and must meet all 

Decertification requirements for infractions in 

accordance with Rule .0807 of this Section. 

(23) Civil Penalties. Civil Penalties may be assessed 

against a certified Field Laboratory that violates 

or fails to act in accordance with any of the 

terms, conditions, or requirements of the Rule 

.0807 of this Section. 

(24) Recertification. A decertified Field Laboratory 

may be recertified in accordance with Rule 

.0808 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.6A; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1988; July 1, 1985; December 1, 1984; 

November 1, 1978; 

RRC Objection Eff. October 15, 1992 due to lack of statutory 

authority; 

Amended Eff. December 21, 1992; 

RRC Objection Removed Eff. December 16, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0806 FEES ASSOCIATED WITH 

CERTIFICATION PROGRAM 

(a)  An applicant for laboratory Certification, excluding those 

laboratories seeking only Field Parameter Certification, shall 

submit to the Department of Environmental Quality, Division of 

Water Resources, Water Sciences Section, a non-refundable fee 

of three hundred dollars ($300.00) with each application. 

(b)  Municipal, Industrial, and Other Laboratories shall pay an 

annual fee of eighty-five dollars ($85.00) for each Parameter as 

instructed on the invoice; however, the minimum fee shall be one 

thousand seven hundred fifty dollars ($1,750) per year. Municipal 

Laboratories may cost-share among Municipal Laboratories or 

charge a cost recovery fee or surcharge to operate their 

Pretreatment Program. 

(c)  Commercial Laboratories shall pay an annual fee of eighty-

five dollars ($85.00) for each Parameter as instructed on the 

invoice; however, the minimum fee will be three thousand five 

hundred dollars ($3,500) per year. 

(d)  Prior to receiving initial Certification, a Field Laboratory shall 

pay the required fee as specified in Paragraph (k) or (l) of this Rule 

and all other laboratories shall pay the required fee as specified in 

Paragraph (b) or (c) of this Rule. Excluding Field Laboratories, 

the Certification fee shall be prorated on a quarterly basis. All 

Certification renewals shall be due on the first day of January. 

(e)  Once certified, Field Laboratories shall pay a fifty dollar 

($50.00) administrative fee for each Parameter Method added to 

their Certified Parameters Listing, and all other laboratories shall 

pay the full annual Parameter fee for each Parameter Method 

added to their Certified Parameters Listing. 

(f)  A laboratory decertified for all Parameters shall pay initial 

Certification fees prior to Recertification. 

(g)  A laboratory decertified for one or more Parameter Methods 

shall pay a fee of two hundred dollars ($200.00) for each 

Parameter Method for which it was decertified prior to 

Recertification. 

(h)  Out-of-state laboratories shall reimburse the State for actual 

travel and subsistence costs incurred by laboratory certification 

staff to perform inspections, provide technical assistance or 

investigate complaints. Out-of-state laboratories shall also be 

assessed for expenses for an on-site inspection based on the hourly 

rate of the laboratory certification staff, rounded to the nearest 

hour and inclusive of preparation time, travel time, and inspection 

time. 

(i)  Annual Certification fees shall be due 60 days after receipt of 

invoice. 

(j)  A fifty dollar ($50.00) late payment fee shall be paid by Field 

Laboratories when annual Certification fees have not been paid 

by the date due. For all other laboratories, a two hundred fifty 

dollar ($250.00) late payment fee shall be paid when annual 

Certification fees are not paid by the date due. 
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(k)  Commercial Laboratories analyzing only samples for Field 

Parameters shall pay an annual fee of three hundred dollars 

($300.00) per year. 

(l)  Municipal, Industrial, and Other Laboratories analyzing only 

samples for Field Parameters shall pay an annual fee of one 

hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) per year. 

(m)  A laboratory that voluntarily discontinues Certification shall 

pay all applicable Certification fees as specified in Paragraphs (a), 

(b), (c), (d), (k), and (l) of this Rule prior to regaining 

Certification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 2, 1992; December 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0807 DECERTIFICATION AND CIVIL 

PENALTIES 

(a)  Laboratory Decertification. The following infractions may 

result in a laboratory being decertified pursuant to Paragraph (d) 

of this Rule for any or all Parameters for up to one year: 

(1) Failing to maintain the facilities, records, 

personnel, equipment, or a quality control 

program as set forth in these Rules; 

(2) Submitting inaccurate data or other information 

subject to these Rules; 

(3) Failing to pay required fees by the date due; 

(4) Failing to discontinue supplying data to clients 

or programs that require monitoring under G.S. 

143, Article 21 during periods when a 

Decertification is in effect; 

(5) Failing to submit a Split Sample to the State 

Laboratory as requested; 

(6) Failing to use approved methods of analysis; 

(7) Failing to report a change of laboratory 

supervisor within 30 calendar days; 

(8) Failing to report an analysis of required annual 

Proficiency Testing Samples submitted by a 

State Laboratory-approved Vendor within the 

specified time limit; 

(9) Failing to allow an inspection by an authorized 

representative of the State Laboratory; 

(10) Failing to supply all records and analytical data 

requested by the State Laboratory; 

(11) Failing to submit a written notification within 

30 days of applicable changes pursuant to Rule 

.0805(a)(6), (a)(7), and (g)(19) of this Section; 

(12) Failing to meet requirements for sample 

holding times and preservation; 

(13) Failing to respond to requests for information 

by the date due; 

(14) Failing to comply with any other terms, 

conditions, or requirements of this Section or of 

laboratory Certification; 

(15) Altering or modifying the laboratory's 

certificate or Certified Parameters Listing; 

(16) Sharing or comparing Proficiency Testing 

Sample results with other laboratories prior to 

the study reporting deadline; 

(17) Splitting, sending, or subcontracting a 

Proficiency Testing Sample or a portion of a 

Proficiency Testing Sample to another 

laboratory unless the practice represents the 

routine analysis and reporting scheme utilized 

by the laboratories; 

(18) Knowingly receiving and analyzing any 

Proficiency Testing Sample or portion of a 

Proficiency Testing Sample from another 

laboratory for which the results of the 

Proficiency Testing Sample are intended for use 

by that laboratory for initial or continued 

Certification; 

(19) Obtaining or attempting to obtain the assigned 

value of any Proficiency Testing Sample used 

to satisfy initial or continued Certification 

requirements prior to the closing date of the 

study; and 

(20) Failing to correct findings in an inspection 

report. 

(b)  Parameter Method Decertification. The laboratory may be 

decertified pursuant to Paragraph (d) of this Rule for a Parameter 

Method for: 

(1) obtaining two consecutive Unacceptable 

Proficiency Testing Sample results; or 

(2) obtaining two consecutive unacceptable Split 

Sample results. 

(c)  Falsified Data. A laboratory that submits Falsified Data or 

Information may be decertified pursuant to Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule for all Parameters for up to two years and may be recertified 

per Rule .0808 of this Section. 

(d)  Decertification Factors. Decertification for periods up to the 

maximum, as determined by the Commission or assigned 

delegate, shall be based on any one or a combination of the factors 

set forth at G.S. 143B-282.1(b). 

(e)  Conditions of Decertification. 

(1) A laboratory shall not analyze, test, measure, or 

monitor any samples regulated under G.S. 143, 

Article 21 by the decertified Parameter Method.  

(2) A decertified Commercial Laboratory shall 

supply written notification of its Decertification 

to clients that are required to report to the 

Department of Environmental Quality under 

G.S. 143, Article 21. Within 30 days of 

Decertification, the decertified laboratory shall 

provide the State Laboratory with a list of those 

clients and copies of the notices sent to each. 

(3) A Commercial Laboratory that has received a 

Parameter Method Decertification shall supply 

written notification of the Parameter Method 

Decertification to clients that are required to 

report to the Department of Environmental 

Quality under G.S. 143, Article 21. The 

laboratory may also make arrangements to 

supply analysis through another laboratory 

certified by the State Laboratory for the same 
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Parameter(s) during any Decertification period. 

Within 30 days of Decertification, the 

laboratory shall supply the State Laboratory 

with a list of clients involved, copies of the 

notices sent to each, and the name and 

Certification number of the certified laboratory 

to be used during the Decertification period. 

(4) A Commercial Laboratory decertified for all 

Parameters shall not subcontract samples for 

analyses to other certified laboratories during 

the Decertification period. 

(5) A Municipal or Industrial Laboratory that has 

received a Parameter Method Decertification 

shall have samples requiring that Parameter 

Method analyzed by another laboratory 

certified by the State Laboratory for the 

contracted Parameter Method during any 

Decertification period. Within 30 days of 

Decertification, the decertified laboratory shall 

supply the State Laboratory with the name and 

Certification number of the certified laboratory 

to be used during the Decertification period. 

(f)  Civil Penalties. Civil penalties may be assessed against a 

laboratory that violates or fails to act in accordance with any of 

the terms, conditions, or requirements of the rules in this Section. 

Civil penalties up to the maximum may be based on any one or a 

combination of the factors in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.6A; 143B-282.1(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 2, 1992; December 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0808 RECERTIFICATION 

(a)  A laboratory decertified in accordance with Rule .0807(a) of 

this Section shall be recertified at the end of the Decertification 

period imposed by the Division pursuant to Rule .0807(a) and (d) 

of this Section by showing that it has corrected the deficiencies 

for which it was decertified. 

(b)  A laboratory decertified for a Parameter Method due to two 

consecutive Unacceptable Proficiency Testing Results or on two 

consecutive Split Samples shall be recertified at the end of the 30-

day period by completing all of the following: 

(1) Report acceptable results on two consecutive 

Proficiency Testing Samples submitted by a 

State Laboratory-approved Vendor or report 

acceptable results on two consecutive Split 

Samples to the State Laboratory. 

Recertification samples may be requested from 

a State Laboratory-approved Vendor at any 

time within two years from the decertification 

effective date; 

(2) Submit a written request for Recertification; 

(3) Supply the State Laboratory with a description 

of corrective actions that includes the Root 

Cause of the failure and the corrective action 

taken to prevent recurrence; 

(4) Pay the required fee as specified in Rule 

.0806(f) or (g) of this Section; and 

(5) Meet all the Decertification requirements in 

accordance with Rule .0807(e) of this Section. 

(c)  The Division shall treat any laboratory decertified for two 

years or longer for a Parameter Method as an initial Certification, 

as set forth in Rule .0805 of this Section. 

(d)  A laboratory decertified pursuant to Rule .0807(c) of this 

Section shall be recertified following the Decertification period 

set by Rule .0807(d) of this Section by demonstrating compliance 

with all requirements of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 2, 1992; December 1,1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0809 RECIPROCITY 

(a)  Laboratories certified under certification programs of other 

states or other certification or accreditation bodies shall be given 

reciprocal Certification if such programs or certification or 

accreditation bodies meet the requirements of this Section. In 

requesting reciprocity Certification, laboratories shall include 

with the application required by Rule .0805(a) of this Section a 

copy of their certification, a copy of the last audit report from the 

certifying body, the laboratory's response to the audit report, the 

laboratory's scope of accreditation, and applicable regulations 

from the certifying agency. 

(b)  Laboratories certified by reciprocity shall pay the applicable 

fees required by Rule .0806 of this Section. 

(c)  If a laboratory's certification by another state's program or 

another certification or accreditation body is discontinued, the 

State Laboratory shall be notified and Certification under this 

Section shall be terminated at the same time. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 2, 1992; December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0810 ADMINISTRATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 150B-23; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 2, 1992; July 1, 1988; December 1, 

1984; November 1, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 02H .0901 PURPOSE 

(a)  The rules in this Section are designed to implement North 

Carolina General Statutes 143-215.3(a)(14) and 143-215.1 and 

provisions of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act (also 

known as the "Clean Water Act" or "CWA") regarding the 

discharge of non-domestic wastewater into publicly owned 

treatment works (POTWs). They establish responsibilities of state 

and local government, industry, and the public to implement 

pretreatment standards to control pollutants that pass through or 

interfere with treatment processes in POTWs, may contaminate 

sewage sludge, or otherwise have an adverse impact on the 

POTW, its workers, or the environment. 

(b)  Copies of rules and regulations referenced in this Section may 

be obtained from the Division of Water Resources, Water Quality 

Permitting Section, free of charge, at the following locations: 

(1) http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-resources-

permits/percs/pretreatment-permits; and 

(2) the North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality, Division of Water 

Resources Offices of the Pretreatment¸ 

Emergency Response, and Collection Systems 

(PERCS) Unit 

Physical Address: Archdale Building, 512 N. 

Salisbury St. 

Raleigh, N.C. 27604 

Mailing Address: 1617 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1617. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(14); 

Eff. March 28, 1980; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 1987; 

December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0902 SCOPE 

The rules of this Section apply to: 

(1) Pollutants from non-domestic sources covered 

by pretreatment standards that are indirectly 

discharged into or transported by truck or rail or 

otherwise introduced into POTWs as defined in 

40 CFR 403.3 and Rule .0903 of this Section; 

(2) POTWs and control authorities that receive 

wastewater from sources subject to 

pretreatment standards; and 

(3) Any new or existing source subject to 

pretreatment standards.  

The rules of this Section do not apply to sources that discharge to 

a sewer that is not connected to a POTW treatment plant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(14); 

Eff. March 28, 1980; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0903 DEFINITION OF TERMS 

(a)  Unless otherwise stated in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the 

definitions promulgated by the Environmental Protection Agency 

and codified as 40 CFR 403.3 are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent amendments and editions. A 

copy of the reference material can be found at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40cfr403_main_02.tpl, free of 

charge.  

(b)  For this Section, the following additional definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Approval Authority" means the Director of the 

Division of Water Resources of the North 

Carolina Department of Environmental 

Quality, or his or her designee; 

(2) "Average" means the value calculated by 

dividing the sum of the data values collected 

over a time period by the number of data points 

that comprise the sum; 

(3) "Bypass" is the intentional diversion of waste 

streams from any portion of a pretreatment 

facility. Also see Rule .0919 of this Section and 

40 CFR 403.17 for additional requirements; 

(4) "Commission" means the Environmental 

Management Commission of the North 

Carolina Department of Environmental 

Quality; 

(5) "Control Authority" refers to the POTW if the 

POTW'S pretreatment program has been 

approved in accordance with Rules .0905, 

.0906, and .0907 of this Section, and that 

approval has not been subsequently withdrawn. 

Otherwise, the approval authority is the control 

authority; 

(6) "Division" refers to the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality, 

Division of Water Resources; 

(7) "Enforcement Response Plan" or "ERP" means 

the control authority pretreatment program 

document describing the guidelines for 

identifying violations of and enforcing specific 

local limits and other pretreatment standards 

and requirements; 

(8) "EPA" means the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency; 

(9) "Fundamentally Different Factors" are factors 

upon which a variance from a categorical 

standard may be granted under Rule .0912 of 

this Section and 40 CFR 403.13; 

(10) "Headworks Analysis" or "HWA" is the 

analysis used to calculate the maximum 

allowable POTW influent loadings for flow and 

pollutants of concern based on design capacity, 

NPDES or non-discharge permit limits, pass 

through, interference, sludge, or worker safety 

and health considerations, as applicable. The 

headworks analysis is the technical basis for 

deriving local limits applied to industrial users; 

(11) "Indirect Discharge" or "Discharge" refers to 

the introduction of pollutants into a POTW 

from any non-domestic source regulated under 

Sections 307(b), (c), or (d) of the Clean Water 

Act; 
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(12) "Industrial User" or "User" means a source of 

indirect discharge; 

(13) "Industrial Waste Survey" or "IWS" refers to 

the survey of the users of the POTW collection 

system or treatment plant performed by the 

control authority as required by 40 CFR 403.8 

(f)(2)(i-iii) and Rule .0905 of this Section, 

including identification of all industrial users 

and the character and amount of pollutants 

contributed to the POTW by these industrial 

users and identification of those industrial users 

meeting the definition of significant industrial 

user. Where the control authority accepts 

wastewater from one or more satellite POTWs, 

the IWS for that control authority shall address 

all satellite POTW services areas, unless the 

pretreatment program in those satellite service 

areas is administered by a separate control 

authority; 

(14) "Interference" refers to inhibition or disruption 

of the: POTW collection system; treatment 

processes; operations; or its sludge process, use, 

or disposal that causes or contributes to a 

violation of any requirement of the control 

authority's (or the POTW's if different from the 

control authority) NPDES, collection system, 

or non-discharge permit, including an increase 

in the magnitude or duration of a violation, or 

prevents sewage sludge use or disposal in 

compliance with specified applicable State and 

Federal statutes, regulations, or permits; 

(15) "Medical Waste" refers to isolation wastes, 

infectious agents, human blood and blood 

products, pathological wastes, sharps, body 

parts, contaminated bedding, surgical wastes, 

potentially contaminated laboratory wastes, and 

dialysis wastes; 

(16) "Monitoring Plan" refers to the monitoring plan 

designed to collect POTW site-specific data for 

use in the headworks analysis. Monitoring 

plans may be designated as Long Term (LTMP) 

or Short Term (STMP) as the Division Director 

determines to be necessary; 

(17) "National Pretreatment "Standard," 

"Pretreatment Standard," or "Standard" means 

any regulation containing pollutant discharge 

limits promulgated by the EPA in accordance 

with Sections 307(b) and (c) of the Clean Water 

Act that applies to industrial users. This term 

also includes any prohibitive discharge limits 

established pursuant to 40 CFR 403.5, 

categorical standards established under the 

appropriate subpart of 40 CFR Chapter I, 

Subpart N or local limit that applies to an 

industrial user. 40 CFR 403.5, Chapters I and N 

of Part 405 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent 

amendments and editions available free of 

charge (https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40cfr403_main_0

2.tpl); 

(18) "Net/Gross Calculation" is an adjustment of a 

categorical standard to reflect the presence of 

pollutants in the industrial user's intake water 

that may be granted under Rule .0915 of this 

Section and 40 CFR 403.15; 

(19) "Noncontact Cooling Water" is water used for 

cooling that does not come into direct contact 

with any raw material, intermediate product, 

waste product, or finished product; 

(20) "Non-discharge Permit" is a permit issued by 

the State pursuant to G.S. 143-215.1(d) for a 

waste that is not discharged directly to surface 

waters of the State or for a wastewater treatment 

works that does not discharge directly to 

surface waters of the State; 

(21) "Pass Through" means a discharge that exits the 

POTW into waters of the State in quantities or 

concentrations which, alone or with discharges 

from other sources, causes a violation, 

including an increase in the magnitude or 

duration of a violation, of the control authority's 

(or the POTW's, if different from the control 

authority) NPDES, collection system, or non-

discharge permit; 

(22) "Pollutant" includes any waste defined in G.S. 

143-213(18); dredged spoil; solid waste; 

incinerator residue; garbage; sewage sludge; 

munitions; medical wastes; chemical waste; 

biological materials; radioactive materials; 

heat; wrecked or discarded equipment; rock; 

sand; cellar dirt; municipal and agricultural 

waste; and certain characteristics of 

wastewater, such as pH, temperature, TSS, 

turbidity, color, metals, BOD, COD, toxicity, 

and odor; 

(23) "Pollutant of Concern" or "POC" is a pollutant 

identified as being of concern to the control 

authority for purposes of the pretreatment 

program. A pollutant of concern may include a 

conventional wastewater pollutant, such as 

BOD, TSS, or ammonia; any of the priority 

pollutants; pH; and any pollutant that may be 

identified as a source of interference, pass 

through, whole effluent toxicity, or sludge 

contamination; 

(24) "POTW," or "Publicly Owned Treatment 

Works," means a treatment works as defined by 

Section 212 of the Clean Water Act, which is 

owned by a state or municipality. This 

definition includes any devices and systems 

used in the storage, treatment, recycling, and 

reclamation of municipal sewage or industrial 

wastes of a liquid nature. It also includes the 

collection system, as defined in 15A NCAC 

02T .0402, only if it conveys wastewater to a 

POTW treatment plant. The term also means 
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the municipality, as defined in Section 502(4) 

of the CWA, that has jurisdiction over indirect 

discharges to and the discharges from such a 

treatment works. The municipality may be the 

owner of the POTW treatment plant or the 

owner of the collection system into which an 

indirect discharger discharges. This second 

type of municipality may be referred to as a 

"satellite municipality," a "satellite POTW," or 

a "satellite POTW organization";  

(25) "POTW Director" means the chief 

administrative officer of the control authority or 

his or her delegate; 

(26) "Pretreatment" refers to the reduction of the 

amount of pollutants, the elimination of 

pollutants, or the alteration of the nature of 

pollutant properties in wastewater prior to or in 

lieu of discharging or otherwise introducing 

such pollutants into a POTW collection system 

or treatment plant. The reduction or alteration 

may be obtained by physical, chemical, or 

biological processes, or process changes or 

other means, except as prohibited by 40 CFR 

403.6(d). Where wastewater from a regulated 

process is mixed with unregulated wastewater 

or with wastewater from another regulated 

process, the pretreatment limit must be 

calculated in accordance with 40 CFR 403.6(e); 

(27) "Process Wastewater" means any water which, 

during manufacturing or processing, comes into 

direct contact with or results from the 

production or use of any raw material, 

intermediate product, finished product, by-

product, or waste product; 

(28) "Removal Credits" are credits that may be 

granted under Rule .0921 of this Section and 40 

CFR Parts 403.7 and 403.11 to adjust 

categorical standards in such a way as to reflect 

POTW consistent removal of a particular 

pollutant; 

(29) "Sewer Use Ordinance" or "SUO" means the 

POTW or control authority organization 

ordinance providing the legal authority for 

administering the pretreatment program; 

(30) "Significant Industrial User" or "SIU" means an 

industrial user that discharges wastewater into 

a POTW and that: 

(A) Discharges an average of 25,000 

gallons per day or more of process 

wastewater to the POTW excluding 

sanitary, noncontact cooling, and 

boiler blowdown wastewater; 

(B) Contributes process wastewater that 

makes up five percent or more of the 

NPDES or non-discharge permitted 

flow limit or organic capacity of the 

POTW treatment plant. In this context, 

organic capacity refers to BOD, TSS, 

and ammonia; 

(C) Is subject to categorical standards 

under 40 CFR 403.6 and 40 CFR 

Chapter I, Subpart N;  

(D) is designated as such by the control 

authority on the basis that the 

industrial user has a reasonable 

potential for adversely affecting the 

POTW's operation (including 

contributing to violations of the 

limitation and requirements of the 

NPDES or non-discharge permit or 

limiting the POTW's sludge disposal 

options) or for violating any 

pretreatment standard or requirement 

(in accordance with 40 CFR 403.3 

(l)and (t);  

(E) Subject to approval under Rule 

.0907(b) of this Section, the control 

authority may determine that an 

industrial user meeting the criteria in 

Parts (A) or (B) of this Subparagraph 

has no reasonable potential for 

adversely affecting the POTW's 

operation or for violating any 

pretreatment standard or requirement, 

the POTW's effluent limitations and 

conditions in its NPDES or non-

discharge permit, or to limit the 

POTW's sludge disposal options, and 

thus is not a significant industrial user; 

or 

(F) Subject to approval under Rule 

.0907(b) of this Section, the control 

authority may determine that an 

industrial user meeting the criteria in 

Part (C) of this Subparagraph meets 

the requirements of 40 CFR 

403.3(v)(2) and thus is a non-

significant categorical industrial user; 

(31) "Significant Noncompliance" or "SNC" is the 

status of noncompliance of a significant 

industrial user when one or more of the 

following criteria are met, or any industrial user 

that meets the criteria in Parts (C), (D), or (H) 

of this Subparagraph: 

(A) "Chronic violations" of wastewater 

discharge limits, defined here as those 

in which 66 percent or more of all the 

measurements taken for the same 

pollutant parameter (not including 

flow) during a six month period 

exceed (by any magnitude) a numeric 

pretreatment standard or requirement 

including instantaneous limits, as 

defined by 40 CFR 403.3(l); 

(B) "Technical Review Criteria" (TRC) 

violations, defined here as those in 

which 33 percent or more of all the 

measurements taken for the same 
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pollutant parameter during a six-

month period equal or exceed the 

product of the numeric pretreatment 

standard or requirement including 

instantaneous limits, as defined by 40 

CFR 403.3(l) multiplied by the 

applicable TRC; (TRC = 1.4 for BOD, 

TSS, fats, oil, and grease, 1.2 for all 

other pollutants (except flow and 

pH)); 

(C) Any other violation of a pretreatment 

standard or requirement as defined by 

40 CFR 403.3(l)(daily maximum, 

long-term average, instantaneous 

limit, or narrative standard) that the 

control authority (or POTW, if 

different from the control authority), 

determines has caused, alone or in 

combination with other discharges, 

interference or pass through 

(including endangering the health of 

POTW personnel or the general 

public); 

(D) Any discharge of a pollutant or 

wastewater that has caused imminent 

endangerment to human health or 

welfare or to the environment or has 

resulted in either the control 

authority's or the POTW's, if different 

from the control authority, exercise of 

its emergency authority under 40 CFR 

403.8(f)(1)(vi)(B) to halt or prevent 

the discharge; 

(E) Failure to meet, within 90 days after 

the schedule date, a compliance 

schedule milestone contained in a 

pretreatment permit or enforcement 

order for starting construction, 

completing construction, or attaining 

final compliance; 

(F) Failure to provide, within 45 days after 

the due date, required reports such as 

baseline monitoring reports, 90-day 

compliance reports, self-monitoring 

reports, and reports on compliance 

with compliance schedules; 

(G) Failure to report noncompliance; or 

(H) Any other violation or group of 

violations that the control authority or 

POTW determines will adversely 

affect the operation or implementation 

of the local pretreatment program; 

(32) "Staff" means the staff of the Division of Water 

Resources, Department of Environmental 

Quality; 

(33) "Upset" means the same as set out in Rule .0914 

of this Section and 40 Part 403.16; 

(34) "Wastewater" means the liquid and water-

carried industrial or domestic wastes from 

dwellings, commercial buildings, industrial 

facilities, mobile sources, treatment facilities, 

and institutions, together with any groundwater, 

surface water, and storm water that may be 

present, whether treated or untreated, which are 

contributed to or permitted to enter the POTW; 

and 

(35) "Waters of the State" shall have the same 

meaning as the terms "waters" as defined in 

G.S. 143-212.  

 

History Note: Authority 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(14); 

Eff. March 28, 1980; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 1987; 

December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0904 REQUIRED PRETREATMENT 

PROGRAMS 

(a)  The regulations regarding pretreatment program development 

by the control authority promulgated by the EPA and codified as 

40 CFR 403.8(a) through 403.8(e) are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent amendments and editions. A 

copy of the reference material can be found at 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=002b8fe78be0d299d7289c36ef66652d&mc=true&tpl=

/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40CIsubchapN.tpl, free of charge. 

(b)  The Division may allow a control authority having a 

combined permitted flow less than or equal to two million gallons 

per day and less than four significant industrial users to develop 

and implement a modified pretreatment program that 

encompasses a portion of the requirements in Rules .0905 and 

.0906 of this Section, as designated by the Division Director. In 

making the decision to allow modified pretreatment program 

development and implementation, the Division Director shall 

consider factors including percent industrial flow, industrial waste 

characteristics, compliance status of the facility, and the potential 

for industrial growth. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a); 143-215.1(b); 

143-215.3(a)(14);  

Eff. March 28, 1980; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 1987; 

December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0905 POTW PRETREATMENT 

PROGRAM IMPLEMENTATION REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Except where specified differently in this Section, the POTW 

pretreatment program requirements promulgated by the EPA and 

codified as 40 CFR 403.8(f) and (g) are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent amendments and editions. A 

copy of the reference material can be found at 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=002b8fe78be0d299d7289c36ef66652d&mc=true&tpl=

/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40CIsubchapN.tpl, free of charge. 

(b)  The implementation of a pretreatment program involves:  

(1) updating the SUO; 

(2) implementing IWS activities; 
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(3) updating the HWA; 

(4) implementation of the LTMP or STMP; 

(5) implementation of compliance activities, 

including sampling and inspection of 

significant industrial users; 

(6) maintenance of control authority organization 

description, including staffing and funding 

information; 

(7) implementation or the ERP; and 

(8) reporting to the Division on pretreatment 

program activities. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a); 143-215.1(b); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(14);  

Eff. March 28, 1980; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 1987; 

December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0906 SUBMISSION FOR 

PRETREATMENT PROGRAM APPROVAL 

(a)  Except where specified differently in any part of this Section, 

the regulations regarding the contents of pretreatment programs 

submitted for approval and the contents of a request to revise 

national categorical pretreatment standards, promulgated by the 

EPA and codified as 40 CFR 403.9 are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent amendments and editions. A 

copy of the reference material can be found at 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=002b8fe78be0d299d7289c36ef66652d&mc=true&tpl=

/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40CIsubchapN.tpl, free of charge. 

(b)  In addition to the contents of a control authority pretreatment 

program submission described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the 

program submission shall contain: 

(1) a sewer use ordinance (SUO) providing the 

legal authority for implementing the 

pretreatment program, as required by 40 CFR 

403.8 (f)(1) and Rule .0905 of this Section, 

along with the attorney's statement. Where the 

control authority accepts wastewater from one 

or more satellite POTWs and is the control 

authority within the satellite POTW's service 

area, the attorney's statement for that control 

authority shall document the interlocal 

agreements (ILAs) authorized by G.S. 153A-

278 and 160A-460 and SUO sections that 

establish the control authority's authority for 

regulation within all satellite POTW services 

areas that are tributary to the control authority's 

POTW. Where a satellite POTW serves as the 

control authority within its service area, the 

attorney's statement for that control authority 

shall document the ILAs and SUO sections that 

establish the satellite POTW's authority for 

regulation within its service area and the 

requirements for the satellite POTW to 

implement its pretreatment program in 

accordance with the downstream POTW's SUO 

and the ILA. In either case, where the POTW 

organizations have other written procedures to 

outline responsibilities not covered by the ILA 

or SUO, the applicable attorney's statements 

shall also include documentation of these 

procedures and the source of their 

enforceability; 

(2) an industrial waste survey (IWS) as defined in 

Rule .0903 of this Section; 

(3) a monitoring plan to provide POTW site-

specific data for the HWA and subsequent 

technical evaluations of local limits to satisfy 

the requirements of 40 CFR 122.21(j). 

Modified pretreatment programs developed 

under Rule .0904(b) of this Section shall be 

allowed to implement a short term monitoring 

plan (STMP); 

(4) a headworks analysis (HWA) and supporting 

documentation, including POTW site-specific 

and relevant literature data, upon which to base 

industrial user-specific effluent limits and other 

local limits for prohibited pollutants as defined 

in 40 CFR 403.5(a) and (b) and Rule .0909 of 

this Section; 

(5) a compliance monitoring program, including 

inspection, sampling, equipment, and other 

compliance procedures, which will implement 

the requirements of 40 CFR 403.8(f) and 

403.12, and Rules .0905 and .0908 of this 

Section; 

(6) draft industrial user pretreatment permits for 

significant industrial users as required by 40 

CFR 403.8(f)(1)(iii) and 403.9(b)(1)(ii) and 

Rule .0916 of this Section, and supporting 

documentation outlined in Rules .0916 and 

.0917 of this Section; 

(7) procedures for approving the construction of 

pretreatment facilities by industrial users and 

for permitting industrial users for construction, 

operation, and discharge as required by G.S. 

143-215.1; procedures for approving 

construction shall include issuance of 

authorization to construct, as appropriate; 

(8) an enforcement response plan (ERP) as 

required by 40 CFR 403.8(f)(5) and 

403.9(b)(1)(ii) for identifying violations of and 

enforcing specific local limits and other 

pretreatment requirements as required by and 

specified in 40 CFR 403.5 and 403.6 and Rules 

.0909 and .0910 of this Section; 

(9) a description (including organization charts) of 

the control authority that will administer the 

pretreatment program. Where more than one 

POTW organization is involved in the POTW 

wastewater collections or treatment system, the 

description shall address all the agencies, 

including identification of which party will 

receive industrial user applications for new and 

changed discharges and how the parties will 
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communicate on significant industrial user 

determinations; 

(10) a description of funding levels and full- and 

part-time manpower available to implement the 

program; 

(11) a description of data management procedures 

for compiling and managing compliance, 

LTMP/STMP, and any other pretreatment-

related monitoring data, including 

documentation of approval of electronic 

reporting procedures as required under 40 CFR 

Part 3 if applicable; and 

(12) a request for pretreatment program approval as 

required by 40 CFR 403.9 and this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a); 143-215.1(b); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(14);  

Eff. March 28, 1980; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 1987; 

December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0907 PROCEDURES FOR 

PRETREATMENT PROGRAM APPROVAL, REVISION 

AND WITHDRAWAL 

(a)  Procedures for approval of a control authority pretreatment 

program and for removal credit authorization are as follows: 

(1) Except where specified differently in part of 

this Section, the approval procedures for 

control authority pretreatment programs and 

applications for removal credit authorization 

promulgated by the EPA and codified as 40 

CFR 403.11 are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy of the 

reference material can be found at 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=002b8fe78be0d299d7289c36ef66652

d&mc=true&tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40CIsub

chapN.tpl, free of charge; and 

(2) Upon program approval, a control authority is 

delegated, subject to the provisions of Rules 

.0916 and .0917 of this Section, the authority to 

issue the construction, operation, and discharge 

permits required by G.S. 143-215.1(a) for those 

significant industrial users discharging or 

proposing to discharge to the POTW. 

(b)  Either the Division or the control authority may initiate 

program revisions. The control authority shall submit a request to 

the Division for approval of modifications to its approved 

pretreatment program, including its legal authority (SUO or ILA), 

HWA, LTMP or STMP, ERP, summary of IWS activities, and 

revisions to the list of SIUs. Revisions to an approved 

pretreatment program shall be accomplished as follows: 

(1) the control authority shall submit a modified 

program description, an attorney's statement if 

the legal authority of the program is being 

modified, and other documents as the Division 

Director determines to be necessary under the 

circumstances. The attorney's statement may 

consist of verification that the North Carolina 

model pretreatment sewer use ordinance is 

proposed for adoption by the control authority, 

if that is the case; 

(2) whenever the Division Director determines that 

the proposed program modifications are 

substantial as defined in 40 CFR 403.18(b), the 

Division shall issue public notice and provide 

an opportunity for public comment as described 

in Rules .0109 and .0110 of this Subchapter. 

Public notices issued by the control authority 

are deemed sufficient notice; 

(3) the Division Director or his or her delegate shall 

approve or disapprove program revisions based 

on the requirements of this Section, G.S. 143-

215.1, G.S. 143-215.3 and the National 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

Memorandum of Agreement between the State 

of North Carolina and the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency Region 4; 

and 

(4) A pretreatment program revision shall become 

effective upon written approval of the Division 

Director, except as follows: 

(A) Pretreatment permits shall become 

effective as set forth in in Rule 

.0917(d)of this Section; and 

(B) The Division shall have 30 days from 

the receipt of a request for deletion of 

SIUs from the SIU list to make 

comments upon, objections to, or 

recommendations with respect to the 

request. Unless such an objection or 

request for more information is made, 

the request shall be final and binding. 

(c)  The Division Director may withdraw pretreatment program 

approval when a control authority no longer complies with 

requirements of this Section and the control authority fails to take 

corrective action. The following procedures apply when the 

Division Director determines that program withdrawal may be 

needed: 

(1) The Division Director shall give the control 

authority 180 days notice of the program 

withdrawal; 

(2) the control authority shall submit within 60 

days of the notice a plan for the transfer of all 

relevant program information not in the 

possession of the Division (such as permit files, 

compliance files, reports, and permit 

applications) necessary for the Division to 

administer the pretreatment program; 

(3) within 60 days of the receipt of the control 

authority transfer plan, the Division Director 

shall evaluate the control authority plan and 

shall identify any additional information 

needed by the Division for program 

administration or identify any other 

deficiencies in the plan; and 
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(4) at least 30 days before the program withdrawal, 

the Division Director shall publish public notice 

of the program transfer and shall mail notice to 

all pretreatment permit holders of the control 

authority. 

(d)  Applications for removal credit authorization shall be made 

in accordance with procedures established by this Rule. Approval 

shall become effective upon written approval of the Division 

Director. 

(e)  A pretreatment program shall be considered inactive by the 

Division when significant industrial users no longer discharge to 

the POTW, based on modifications of the control authority 

pretreatment program approved by the Division. Inactive 

approved pretreatment programs shall notify the Division when a 

significant industrial user proposes to discharge to the POTW. 

When required by the Division to return to active status, a control 

authority shall be required to update any or all of the requirements 

listed in Rule .0906 of this Section that no longer meet the 

standards of these Rules. The control authority shall obtain 

Division approval of the reactivation under this Rule prior to 

commencement of discharge of the significant industrial user. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215(a); 143-215.1(a); 143-

215.1(c); 143-215.3(a)(3) ; 143-215.3(a)(14); 143-215.3(e);  

Eff. March 28, 1980; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 1987; 

December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0908 REPORTING/RECORD 

KEEPING REQUIREMENTS FOR POTWS/INDUSTRIAL 

USERS 

(a)  Except where specified differently with any part of this 

Section, the regulations regarding the reporting requirements for 

control authorities and industrial users promulgated by the EPA 

and codified as 40 CFR 403.8(g) and 403.12 are hereby 

incorporated by reference, including any subsequent amendments 

and editions. A copy of the reference material can be found at 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=002b8fe78be0d299d7289c36ef66652d&mc=true&tpl=

/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40CIsubchapN.tpl, free of charge. 

(b)  Control authorities with active approved pretreatment 

programs shall submit once per year a pretreatment report 

describing its pretreatment activities over the previous 12 months. 

Two copies of each pretreatment report shall be submitted to the 

Division by March 1 of each year for activities conducted for two 

six-month periods, January 1 through June 30 and July 1 through 

December 31 of the previous year. This annual report shall 

contain the following information in accordance with forms 

provided by the Division: 

(1) a written summary of actions taken by the 

control authority to ensure compliance with 

pretreatment requirements; 

(2) a pretreatment program summary on forms or 

in a format provided by the Division; 

(3) a list of industrial users in significant 

noncompliance with pretreatment 

requirements, the nature of the violations, and 

actions taken or proposed to correct the 

violations on forms or in a format provided by 

the Division; 

(4) an allocation table as described in Rule 

.0916(c)(4) of this Section; and 

(5) other information the Division Director 

determines is needed to determine compliance 

with the implementation of the pretreatment 

program, including significant industrial user 

compliance schedules, public notice of 

industrial users in significant noncompliance, a 

summary of significant industrial user effluent 

monitoring data as described in Paragraphs (a) 

and (e) of this Rule, a summary of information 

related to significant non-compliance 

determination for industrial users that are not 

considered significant industrial users, and 

Long or Short Term Monitoring Plan data on 

forms or in a format provided by the Division. 

(c)  In lieu of submitting annual reports as described in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule, the Division Director may allow modified 

pretreatment programs developed under Rule .0904(b) of this 

Section to submit only a partial annual report, or to meet with 

Division personnel as required to discuss enforcement of 

pretreatment requirements and other pretreatment implementation 

issues. 

(d)  Inactive pretreatment programs are not required to submit the 

report described in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule. Inactive 

approved pretreatment programs shall notify the Division when a 

significant industrial user proposes to discharge to the POTW and 

shall comply with Rule .0907 of this Section. 

(e)  Samples shall be collected and analyzed by the control 

authority independent of the industrial users for each significant 

industrial user as follows: 

(1) A minimum of once each year for all permit-

limited parameters including flow, except as 

follows: 

(A) Independent monitoring of the 

industrial user by the control authority 

is not required for pollutants that are 

limited by a categorical standard for 

which specific certification or other 

alternative procedures apply where the 

industrial user submits the required 

documentation for that certification or 

procedure, even if the industrial user 

chooses to monitor in addition to using 

certification or other alternative 

procedures; 

(B) The minimum frequencies in this 

Subparagraph shall be reduced by half, 

as set forth in 403.8(f)(2)(v)(C), for all 

permit-limited parameters for a 

significant industrial user determined 

by the control authority, subject to 

approval under Rule .0907 of this 

Section, to fit the criteria of a middle 

tier categorical industrial user under 

40 CFR 403.12(e)(3); and 
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(C) For categorical parameters with 

monitoring waived under 40 CFR 

403.12(e)(2), a minimum of once 

during the term of the applicable 

significant industrial user pretreatment 

permit as set forth in 40 CFR 

403.8(f)(2)(v)(A); and 

(2) If the control authority elects to sample and 

analyze in lieu of the industrial user, the control 

authority shall collect and analyze for the 

required parameters and, if applicable, in 

accordance with categorical standards. 

(f)  Records Retention: 

(1) Control authorities and industrial users shall 

retain for three years records of monitoring 

activities and results, along with supporting 

information including annual pretreatment 

reports, general records, water quality records, 

and records of industrial user impact on the 

POTW; 

(2) Other documents required by any rule of this 

Section (including supporting information) for 

other pretreatment program elements, such as 

pretreatment permits (IUPs), HWAs, SUOs, 

ERPs, etc., shall be retained for three years after 

the document has expired, been updated, or 

replaced; 

(3) A summary of all significant industrial user 

effluent monitoring data reported to the control 

authority by the industrial user or obtained by 

the control authority shall be maintained on 

forms or in a format provided by the Division 

for review by the Division; and 

(4) Laboratory records shall be maintained as set 

forth in Rule .0805 of this Subchapter. 

(g)  In the case where the receiving POTW treatment plant is not 

owned by the same local governmental organization as the control 

authority, all information required to be reported to the industrial 

user's control authority by this Section shall also be submitted to 

the POTW treatment plant governmental organization. 

(h)  In the case where the control authority accepts electronic 

reporting, the reporting shall comply with 40 CFR Part 3, and the 

control authority shall maintain documentation of approval as 

required under 40 CFR Part 3. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a); 143-215.1(b); 

143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(2); 143-215.3(a)(14); 143-215.6(a)(1);  

Eff. March 28, 1980; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 1987; 

December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0909 NATIONAL PRETREATMENT 

STANDARDS: PROHIBITED DISCHARGES 

The regulations regarding national prohibited pretreatment 

standards and local limits development and enforcement 

promulgated by the EPA and codified as 40 CFR 403.5 are hereby 

incorporated by reference, including any subsequent amendments 

and editions. A copy of the reference material can be found at 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=002b8fe78be0d299d7289c36ef66652d&mc=true&tpl=

/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40CIsubchapN.tpl, free of charge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a)(7); 143-215.1(b); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(14);  

Eff. March 28, 1980; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 

1987; December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0910 NATIONAL PRETREATMENT 

STANDARDS: CATEGORICAL STANDARDS 

The regulations regarding national categorical pretreatment 

standards promulgated by the EPA and codified pursuant to 40 

CFR 403.6 are hereby incorporated by reference, including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. A copy of the reference 

material can be found at http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=002b8fe78be0d299d7289c36ef66652d&mc=true&tpl=

/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40CIsubchapN.tpl, free of charge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a)(7); 143-215.1(b); 

143-215.3(a)(14);  

Eff. March 28, 1980; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 

1987; December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0912 ADJUSTMENTS FOR 

FUNDAMENTALLY DIFFERENT FACTORS 

The regulations regarding variances from national categorical 

pretreatment standards for fundamentally different factors 

promulgated by the EPA and codified as 40 CFR 403.13 are 

hereby incorporated by reference, including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy of the reference material can be 

found at http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=002b8fe78be0d299d7289c36ef66652d&mc=true&tpl=

/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40CIsubchapN.tpl, free of charge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215(a); 143-215.1(a); 

143-215.1(b); 143-215.3(a)(14); 143-215.3(e);  

Eff. March 28, 1980; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 

1987; December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0913 PUBLIC ACCESS TO 

INFORMATION 

(a)  Information and data provided by an industrial user to the 

POTW Director pursuant to this Section, identifying the nature 

and frequency of a discharge, shall be available to the public 

without restriction. All other information submitted by an 

industrial user to the POTW Director in connection with any 

required reports shall also be available to the public, unless the 

industrial user specifically identifies the information as 

confidential upon submission and is able to demonstrate that the 

disclosure of such information or a particular part thereof to the 

general public would divulge methods or processes entitled to 

protection as trade secrets. 
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(b)  Information and data provided by an industrial user to the 

Division Director shall be subject to the processes set forth in G.S. 

143-215.3C. 

(c)  Information provided by an industrial user to a control 

authority that is determined to be entitled to confidential treatment 

shall be made available upon written request to the Division or 

any State agency for uses related to the pretreatment program, the 

NPDES permit, collection system permit, stormwater permit, or 

non-discharge permit, and for uses related to judicial review or 

enforcement proceedings involving the person furnishing the 

report. 

(d)  Information and data received by the Division or other State 

agency under Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be subject to the 

processes set forth in G.S. 143-215.3C. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 132-1.2; 132-6; 132-9; 143-

215.1; 143-215.3; 143-215.3C; 

Eff. March 28, 1980; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; October 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0914 UPSET PROVISION 

The upset provision promulgated by the EPA and codified as 40 

CFR 403.16 is hereby incorporated by reference, including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. A copy of the reference 

material can be found at http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=002b8fe78be0d299d7289c36ef66652d&mc=true&tpl=

/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40CIsubchapN.tpl, free of charge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(14);  

Eff. December 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 

1987; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0915 NET/GROSS CALCULATION 

The net/gross calculation provisions promulgated by the EPA and 

codified as 40 CFR 403.15 are hereby incorporated by reference, 

including any subsequent amendments and editions. A copy of the 

reference material can be found at http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-

bin/text-

idx?SID=002b8fe78be0d299d7289c36ef66652d&mc=true&tpl=

/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40CIsubchapN.tpl, free of charge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(14);  

Eff. December 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; October 1, 

1987; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0916 PRETREATMENT PERMITS 

(a)  All significant industrial users who discharge waste into a 

POTW shall obtain a permit from the control authority. 

(b)  Where the Division is the control authority, permits shall be 

issued in accordance with Section .0100 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Where the control authority is a POTW, significant industrial 

user permits shall be issued as follows: 

(1) Application: any significant industrial user 

required to obtain a permit in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule shall be required to complete, sign, 

and submit to the control authority a permit 

application. Application fees and procedures 

may be prescribed by the control authority. All 

pretreatment permit applications shall include 

as a minimum: 

(A) the name of industrial user; 

(B) the address of industrial user; 

(C) the standard industrial classification 

(SIC) code(s) or expected 

classification and industrial user 

category; 

(D) the wastewater flow; 

(E) the types and concentrations (or mass) 

of pollutants contained in the 

discharge; 

(F) the products manufactured or services 

supplied; 

(G) a description of existing on-site 

pretreatment facilities and practices; 

(H) the locations of discharge points; 

(I) the raw materials used or stored at the 

site; 

(J) a flow diagram or sewer map for the 

industrial user; 

(K) the number of employees; and 

(L) the operation and production 

schedules. 

The application shall include a written description of 

current and projected waste reduction activities in 

accordance with G.S. 143-215.1(g). The written 

description shall not be considered part of the permit 

application and shall not serve as a basis for denial of a 

permit. 

(2) Renewals: Applications for pretreatment permit 

renewals shall be accomplished by filing an 

application form as listed in Subparagraph 

(c)(1) of this Rule prior to permit expiration. 

The number of days prior to expiration by 

which the application shall be filed shall be 

established by the control authority. 

(3) Review and Evaluation: 

(A) The POTW Director is authorized to 

accept applications for the 

Commission and shall refer all 

applications to the control authority 

staff for review and evaluation; 

(B) The POTW Director shall 

acknowledge receipt of a complete 

application, or if not complete, shall 

return the application to the applicant 

with a statement of what additional 

information is required; 

(C) The control authority staff shall 

include documentation of the most 

recent on-site inspection of the 

industrial user and any existing 
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wastewater pretreatment system as 

part of the permit record for new and 

renewed permits; and 

(D) The control authority staff shall 

conduct an evaluation and make a 

tentative determination to issue or 

deny the permit. If the control 

authority staff's tentative 

determination is to issue the permit, it 

shall make the following additional 

determinations in writing and transmit 

them to the industrial user: 

(i) proposed effluent limitations 

for those pollutants proposed 

to be limited; 

(ii) a proposed schedule of 

compliance, including 

interim dates and 

requirements, for meeting the 

proposed effluent 

limitations; and 

(iii) a description of any other 

proposed special conditions; 

The control authority staff shall organize the 

determinations made into a pretreatment permit. 

(4) Permit supporting documentation. The control 

authority staff shall prepare the following 

documents for all significant industrial user 

permits: 

(A) An allocation table (AT) listing permit 

information for all significant 

industrial users, including permit 

limits, permit effective and expiration 

dates, and a comparison of total 

permitted flows and loads with 

Division approved maximum 

allowable loadings of the POTW, 

including flow, on forms or in a format 

provided by the Division. The AT 

shall be updated as permits are issued 

or renewed, and as permits are 

modified where the permitted limits or 

other AT information is revised; 

(B) The basis, or rationale, for the 

pretreatment limitations, including 

documentation of categorical 

determination, including 

documentation of any calculations 

used in applying categorical 

standards; and 

(C) Documentation of the rationale of any 

parameters for which monitoring has 

been waived under 40 CFR Part 

403.1(e)(2). 

(5) Final Action on Permit Applications: 

(A) The POTW Director shall take final 

action on all applications by either 

issuing a pretreatment permit or by 

denying the discharge not later than 90 

days following the receipt of a 

complete application. If, following the 

30-day period required by Rules 

.0917(d) and .0922 of this Section, no 

written demand for hearing, objection, 

or request for more information under 

Rule .0917(g)(2) of this Section has 

been made, the permit shall become 

final and binding; 

(B) The POTW Director is authorized to: 

(i) issue a permit containing 

such conditions as are 

necessary to effectuate the 

purposes of G.S. 143-215.1; 

(ii) issue a permit containing 

time schedules for achieving 

compliance with applicable 

pretreatment standards and 

limitations and other legally 

applicable requirements; 

(iii) modify or revoke any permit 

pursuant to Subparagraph 

(c)(6) of this Rule; 

(iv) deny a permit application; 

and 

(v) issue permits to industrial 

users not identified as 

significant industrial users 

using procedures prescribed 

by the control authority;  

(C) Permits shall be issued or renewed for 

a period of time deemed reasonable by 

the POTW Director but in no case 

shall the period exceed five years; and 

(D) The POTW Director shall notify an 

applicant by certified or registered 

mail of the denial of his or her permit 

application. Notifications of denial 

shall specify the reasons for the denial 

and the proposed changes that in the 

opinion of the POTW Director will be 

required to obtain the permit. 

(6) Modification and Revocation of Permits: 

(A) Any permit issued pursuant to this 

Rule is subject to revocation or 

modification in whole or part as 

outlined in the control authority's 

sewer use ordinance; and 

(B) Modifications of permits may be 

initiated by the control authority or the 

significant industrial user and shall be 

subject to the same procedural 

requirements as the issuance of 

permits. Permit modification requests 

made by the significant industrial user 

must be made in writing and can be by 

letter or by application form as 

determined by the control authority. 
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(7) Permit effective dates and modification 

effective dates shall not be retroactive. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215(a); 143-215.1(a); 

143-215.1(c); 143-215.1(g); 143-215.3(a)(3); 143-215.3(a)(14); 

143-215.3(e); 

Eff. October 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0917 PRETREATMENT PERMIT 

SUBMISSION AND REVIEW 

(a)  Each control authority shall transmit to the Division copies of 

all significant industrial user pretreatment permits 30 days prior 

to the effective date. 

(b)  Permits and permit renewal submissions to the Division for 

significant industrial users shall include the supporting 

information listed in this Paragraph. Permit modification 

submissions for significant industrial users shall include updated 

versions of this supporting information listed in this Paragraph, as 

applicable to that modification: 

(1) the rationale for limits and allocation table 

required by Rule .0916(c)(4) of this Section; 

(2) a copy of the completed application required in 

Rule .0916(c)(1) of this Section; and 

(3) a copy of the record of the inspection required 

in Rule .0916(c)(3)(C) of this Section. 

(c)  The Division Director may waive some or all of the 

requirements in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. In making the 

decision to waive these requirements, the Division Director shall 

consider factors, including training levels of control authority 

staff, quality of previous pretreatment permit submissions, 

percent maximum allowable headworks loading capacity 

remaining, percent industrial user flow, industrial user waste 

characteristics, and compliance status of the POTW and its 

respective environmental permits. 

(d)  The Division shall have 30 days from the receipt of 

pretreatment permits to make comments upon, objections to, or 

recommendations with respect to the permit. Unless such an 

objection or request for more information in accordance with 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule is made, the permit shall be final and 

binding. 

(e)  Within 30 days of the receipt of a pretreatment permit the 

Division Director objected to, the Division staff shall set forth in 

writing and transmit to the control authority: 

(1) a statement of the reasons for the objection, 

including the rules or regulations that support 

the objection; and 

(2) the actions that shall be taken by the control 

authority to eliminate the objection, including 

the effluent limitations and conditions the 

permit would include if it were issued by the 

Division. 

(f)  The Division Director's objection to the issuance of a 

pretreatment permit shall be based upon one or more of the 

following grounds: 

(1) the permit fails to apply or to ensure compliance 

with any applicable requirement of this Section; 

(2) the procedures followed in connection with 

formulation of the pretreatment permit failed to 

comply with the procedures required by State 

statute or by the control authority's approved 

pretreatment program; 

(3) a finding made by the control authority in 

connection with the pretreatment permit 

misinterprets any categorical standard or 

pretreatment regulation or misapplies it to the 

facts; and 

(4) the provisions of the pretreatment permit 

relating to the maintenance of records, 

monitoring or sampling by the control authority 

and the industrial user are, in the judgment of 

the Division Director, inadequate to assure 

compliance with permit conditions or 

applicable pretreatment standards; 

(g)  Prior to notifying the control authority of an objection, the 

Division Director: 

(1) shall consider all data transmitted pursuant to 

Rule .0916 of this Section and this Rule; 

(2) if more information is needed to determine 

whether the permit is adequate, may request the 

control authority to make available to the 

Division staff the complete record of permit 

proceedings, or any portions of the record that 

the Division Director determines are necessary 

for review. Requests shall be made within 30 

days of the Division's receipt of the permit 

under Rule .0916 of this Section, and shall 

suspend the 30-day review period in Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. When the Division staff has 

obtained the requested records or portions of 

the record, the Division staff shall have an 

additional 30 days for review; and 

(3) to the extent feasible within the period of time 

available, may afford interested persons the 

opportunity to comment on the basis for the 

objection. 

(h)  If within 60 days of the receipt of the Division Director's 

objection, the control authority does not resubmit a permit revised 

to meet the Division Director's objection, the Division Director 

may issue the permit in accordance with Section .0100 of this 

Subchapter. Exclusive authority to issue the permit required by 

G.S. 143-215.1(a) passes to the Division when this time expires. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215(a); 143-215.1(a); 

143-215.1(c); 143-215.3(a)(3); 143-215.3(a)(14);  

Eff. October 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; November 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0918 LOCAL LAW 

Nothing in the rules of this Section is intended to affect any 

pretreatment requirements, including any standards or 

prohibitions, established by local law as long as the local 

requirements are not less stringent than any set forth in National 

Pretreatment Standards, or any other requirements or prohibitions 
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established under the Clean Water Act, the North Carolina 

General Statutes, or the rules of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a); 143-215.1(b); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(14); 153A-274; 153A-275; 

160A-311; 160A-312; 

Eff. November 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0919 BYPASS 

The regulations regarding the bypass provisions promulgated by 

the EPA and codified as 40 CFR 403.17 are hereby incorporated 

by reference. A copy of the reference material can be found at 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=002b8fe78be0d299d7289c36ef66652d&mc=true&tpl=

/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40CIsubchapN.tpl, free of charge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a)(1); 143-

215.3(a)(14);  

Eff. November 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0920 PRETREATMENT FACILITY 

OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3; 

Eff. November 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0921 REVISION TO REFLECT POTW 

REMOVAL OF POLLUTANT 

The regulations regarding removal credits promulgated by the 

EPA and codified as 40 CFR 403.7 are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent amendments and editions. A 

copy of the reference material can be found at 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=002b8fe78be0d299d7289c36ef66652d&mc=true&tpl=

/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40CIsubchapN.tpl, free of charge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a); 143-215.1(b); 

143-215.3(a)(14);  

Eff. November 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0922 HEARINGS 

(a)  The control authority sewer use ordinance (SUO) and 

attorney's statement required under Rule .0906(b)(1) shall provide 

for the enforcement and compliance with its pretreatment 

program in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 160A-175 for 

municipalities, G.S. 153A-123 for counties, G.S. 162A-9.1 for 

water and sewer authorities, and G.S. 162A-81 for metropolitan 

sewerage districts. This shall include: 

(1) providing industrial users assessed civil 

penalties by the control authority for violations 

of its pretreatment program with the 

opportunity to request review of the penalty in 

accordance with the provisions of G.S. 143-

215.6A(k); and 

(2) providing industrial users the opportunity to 

request review of other actions taken by the 

control authority to administer and enforce its 

pretreatment program. Such control authority 

actions may include denial or termination of a 

pretreatment permit or other permission to 

discharge, issuance of a permit or other 

permission to discharge subject to conditions 

the industrial users deems unacceptable, and the 

issuance of an administrative order subject to 

conditions the industrial users deems 

unacceptable. The opportunity to request 

review may include the right to request a review 

of a control authority action with the local 

government as established in that local 

government's SUO, or to request a review by 

the superior court having local jurisdiction. 

(b)  If the control authority elects to provide industrial users with 

the opportunity for local government reviews under 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (a)(2) of this Rule, the control authority 

may establish procedures and requirements for the review 

process. These procedures may include the number of days after 

receipt of an action by which the industrial user must request the 

review, the contents or form of the request, and which party or 

parties will conduct local government hearings. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215(a); 143-215.1(a); 143-

215.1(c); 143-215.2(b); 143-215.3(a)(3); 143-215.3(a)(14); 143-

215.6A(j); 143-215.6A(k);  

Eff. April 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1101 PURPOSE 

These Rules set forth the requirements for certification of 

commercial, industrial, and public laboratories to perform 

biological toxicity testing and aquatic population surveys of water 

and wastewater as required by G.S. 143-215.3(a) and 15A NCAC 

02B .0200 and .0500. These Rules establish an EPA-designated 

program for the State to implement the Clean Water Act, as set 

forth in 33 U.S.C. 1318 and 1319. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215(c); 143-215.66; 

Eff. October 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1102 SCOPE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66; 

Eff. October 1, 1988; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1103 DEFINITIONS 

The following terms as used in this Section shall have the assigned 

meaning: 
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(1) "Approved Procedure" means an analytical 

procedure developed by the State Laboratory 

based upon 40 CFR 136.3 and subject to G.S. 

143, Article 21, Part 1. A link to the approved 

procedures can be found at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-resources-data/water-sciences-

home-page/aquatic-toxicology-

branch/downloads. 

(2) "Aquatic population survey and analysis" 

means field sampling, laboratory identification, 

analysis, and metric derivation for determining 

biological integrity, as defined in 15A NCAC 

02B .0202 for fish, aquatic macroinvertebrates, 

phytoplankton, and aquatic macrophytes using 

methods developed in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02B .0103(b). 

(3) "Certification" means a declaration by the 

Division that personnel, equipment, records, 

quality control procedures, and methodology 

cited by the applicant complies with the rules in 

this Section. 

(4) "Commercial Laboratory" means any 

laboratory, including its employees and agents, 

that analyzes, for others, wastewater samples 

for toxicity measurements or for their impacts 

on the receiving waters. 

(5) "Decertification" means the loss of 

certification. 

(6) "Director" means the Director of the North 

Carolina Division of Water Resources. 

(7) "Division" means the North Carolina Division 

of Water Resources. 

(8) "Falsified data or information" means data or 

information that, whether by intent, or disregard 

for accuracy, has been altered, fabricated, 

recorded falsely or mischaracterized by 

omission or substitution.  

(9) "Industrial Laboratory" means a laboratory, 

including its employees and agents, operated by 

an industrial facility to analyze samples from its 

wastewater treatment plants for toxicity 

measurements or impacts to receiving waters or 

to conduct aquatic population surveys and 

analysis. 

(10) "Proficiency Testing sample" means a 

performance evaluation sample provided by the 

State Laboratory or a State Laboratory-

approved vendor as defined in 15A NCAC 02H 

.0803(38), located at https://nelac-

institute.org/content/NEPTP/ptproviders.php 

to a commercial, industrial, or public laboratory 

as an unknown toxicant for measurement of 

toxicity, as an unknown analyte for 

measurement by laboratory equipment or wet 

chemistry methods, or as an unknown set of 

preserved organisms for identification to 

specified levels of taxonomic classification. 

(11) "Public Laboratory" means a laboratory, 

including its employees and agents, operated by 

a municipality, county, water and sewer 

authority, sanitary district, metropolitan 

sewerage district, or State or federal installation 

to analyze samples from its wastewater 

treatment plant(s) for toxicity measurements or 

resultant impacts to receiving waters. 

(12) "Split samples" for surface water effluent 

discharge, surface water, or phytoplankton 

means two or more representative portions 

taken from a single sampling device. For 

aquatic macrophytes or macroinvertebrates, 

split sample means a single sample that is 

analyzed by both the State Laboratory and by 

the commercial, public, or industrial laboratory. 

(13) "State laboratory" means the Water Sciences 

Section of the North Carolina Division of Water 

Resources.  

(14) "Toxicant" means any specific chemical, 

compound, or mixture of chemicals or 

compounds regulated by an NPDES permit or 

defined as a toxic substance in 15A NCAC 02B 

.0202. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66; 

Eff. October 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1104 FEES ASSOCIATED WITH 

CERTIFICATION PROGRAM 

(a)  Certification Fees: 

(1) The first category, as set forth in Rule .1105 of 

this Section, shall be certified at a cost of five 

hundred dollars ($500.00) per year. Additional 

categories, shall be certified at a cost of four 

hundred dollars ($400.00) per year per 

category. The addition of parameters not 

included in the original certification shall be 

certified at a cost of one hundred dollars 

($100.00) per year per parameter. 

(2) Certification fees are due upon application and 

no later than 45 days prior to the requested 

certification date. 

(b)  Renewal Fees: 

(1) The certified laboratory shall pay the State a 

four hundred dollar ($400.00) per year renewal 

fee for each category of certification or the 

minimum fee of five hundred dollars ($500.00) 

per year if only one category is certified. 

Renewal certification fees are due by 

November 1 annually. 

(2) Out-of-state laboratories shall reimburse the 

State for actual travel and subsistence costs 

incurred in certification, recertification, and 

maintenance of certification.  
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66; 

Eff. October 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1105 CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Commercial, public, and industrial laboratories shall obtain 

certification from the Division for biological parameters that are 

required to be reported pursuant to G.S. 143, Article 21, Part 1. 

(b)  For the purposes of certification and setting fees, parameters 

shall be grouped in the following categories: 

(1) Acute Toxicity Testing/Invertebrate; 

(2) Acute Toxicity Testing/Vertebrate; 

(3) Chronic Toxicity Testing/Invertebrate; 

(4) Chronic Toxicity Testing/Vertebrate; 

(5) Algal and Aquatic Plant Toxicity Testing; and 

(6) Aquatic Population Survey and Analysis. 

(c)  All certifications shall be in effect for one year and may be 

renewed for additional one-year periods as set forth in Rule .1104 

of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(1)(10); 143-215.66; 

Eff. October 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1106 DECERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Director or the Director's designee may revoke the entire 

laboratory certification for: 

(1) failing to maintain the facilities, records, 

personnel, equipment, or a quality assurance 

program as required by these Rules;  

(2) submitting inaccurate or falsified data reports or 

other information; or 

(3) failing to pay required fees by the date due. 

(b)  A laboratory certification may be revoked for a category for 

failure to: 

(1) obtain acceptable results on two consecutive 

proficiency testing samples. Acceptable results 

on proficiency testing samples are those that 

fall within the specified acceptable range as 

indicated by the State Laboratory or State 

Laboratory-approved vendor. The State 

Laboratory may apply specific variance or 

statistical limits or performance criteria on 

performance evaluation samples or split 

samples for a particular testing procedure, 

including control population effects and 

taxonomic identification, as published in these 

Rules; 

(2) obtain acceptable results as set out in 

Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Paragraph on two 

consecutive split samples that have also been 

analyzed by the Division;  

(3) submit a split sample to the Division as 

requested;  

(4) use approved procedures as defined in Rule 

.1103 of this Section; 

(5) report equipment changes that would affect the 

laboratory's ability to perform a test category to 

the State Laboratory within 30 days of the 

change;  

(6) report results of proficiency testing to the State 

Laboratory within the requirements that are set 

forth by the proficiency study;  

(7) maintain records and perform quality controls 

as set forth by these Rules; 

(8) maintain equipment required for any certified 

parameter;  

(9) implement and maintain quality control 

programs approved in conjunction with 

certification; or 

(10) maintain a qualified staff, as specified in Rule 

.1110(f)(1) and (2) of this Section. 

(c)  Requirements for Laboratories following Decertification: 

(1) A laboratory shall not analyze samples for 

parameters in decertified categories for 

programs governed by rules of this Section. 

(2) A decertified commercial laboratory shall 

notify any clients affected by the laboratory's 

decertification and supply the State Laboratory 

with a list of those clients affected and a written 

certification that those clients have been 

notified. If the decertified laboratory arranges 

for a certified laboratory to perform analyses 

during the period of decertification, the 

decertified laboratory shall supply the Division 

with the name of the replacement laboratory 

and the clients involved. The name of the 

certified laboratory that performs analyses shall 

appear on all data submitted to the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.3(a)(4); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66; 

Eff. October 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1107 RECERTIFICATION 

(a)  A laboratory decertified for any reason other than the 

submittal of falsified data reports or other information shall be 

recertified after 30 days upon demonstrating to the State 

Laboratory that all deficiencies have been corrected. 

(b)  In the case of a laboratory decertified for submitting falsified 

data reports or other information, recertification shall not occur 

prior to 12 months after the decertification and then only at such 

time as the laboratory has demonstrated to the Director, or their 

delegate, that the standards for initial certification have been met. 

(c)  If a laboratory that was decertified due to either failure of 

proficiency testing samples or split samples seeks recertification, 

the laboratory shall submit a written request to the State 

Laboratory requesting evaluations for the category pursuant to 

Rule .1106(b) of this Section for which the laboratory was 

decertified. Two consecutive samples shall have acceptable 

results as set forth in Rule .1106 of this Section to achieve 

recertification. The first of these samples for recertification shall 

be submitted or arranged by the Division no later than 30 days 
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after receipt of the written request. The second shall be submitted 

or arranged no later than 30 days after the first. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66; 

Eff. October 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1108 RECIPROCITY 

(a)  Laboratories certified by other states or federal programs shall 

be given reciprocal certification if the programs meet the 

requirements of these Rules. In requesting certification through 

reciprocity, laboratories shall include with the application a copy 

of their certification and the rules of the original certifying 

agency. 

(b)  Laboratories certified pursuant to this Rule shall pay all 

applicable fees set forth in Rule .1104 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66; 

Eff. October 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1109 ADMINISTRATION 

(a)  Appeals. If the Director or the Director's delegate denies 

certification, or decertifies a laboratory, the laboratory may appeal 

pursuant to G.S. 150B, Article 3. 

(b)  The State Laboratory shall maintain a current list of certified 

commercial, industrial, or public laboratories. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215(a)(4); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66; 

Eff. October 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1110 IMPLEMENTATION 

(a)  Each laboratory requesting State certification, certification 

renewal, or recertification shall apply to the Division. Each 

application shall be reviewed to determine if personnel, 

equipment, records, quality control procedures, and methodology 

meet the requirements pursuant to 40 CFR 136.3 and these Rules. 

After receiving a completed application and prior to issuing 

certification, a representative of the Division shall inspect each 

laboratory to verify the information in the application and if the 

laboratory meets requirements pursuant to these Rules. 

(b)  Analytical methods, sample preservation, sample containers, 

and sample holding times shall conform to the methodologies 

specified in: 

(1) 40 CFR Part 136, hereby incorporated by 

reference and including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies of the Code 

of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 136, may 

be obtained from the Superintendent of 

Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office 

(GPO), Superintendent of Public Documents, 

Washington, D.C. 20402 and free of charge on 

the Internet at http://www.ecfr.gov; and 

(2) Rule .1111 of this Section. 

(c)  Pursuant to G.S. 143B-282, the Environmental Management 

Commission or designated delegate, shall approve the State 

Laboratory to develop Approved Procedures for Biological 

Procedures based upon the methods contained in 40 CFR Part 136 

and Rule .1111 of this Section. Approved Procedures for 

Biological Procedures document shall be available for inspection 

at the State Laboratory, 4401 Reedy Creek Road, Raleigh, North 

Carolina, 27607 or may be obtained free of charge on the State 

Laboratory Certification website at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-

resources-data/water-sciences-home-page/aquatic-toxicology-

branch. 

(d)  Pursuant to G.S. 143B-282, the Environmental Management 

Commission or designated delegate, may approve other analytical 

procedures, parameters, or parameter methods that have been 

demonstrated to produce verifiable and repeatable results. 

(e)  In order to maintain certification, each laboratory shall meet 

the requirements of this Section for proficiency testing samples 

submitted to the Division. Proficiency testing by certified 

laboratories shall be required no more than three times annually 

for each category certified. 

(f)  In order to receive and maintain certification, the following 

criteria shall be met: 

(1) The supervisor of an aquatic toxicology or 

biological survey laboratory shall have a 

Bachelor's degree from an accredited college as 

defined in 34 CFR 602 or university in a 

biological science or related science curriculum 

and three years of cumulative laboratory 

experience in aquatic toxicity testing or aquatic 

population surveying, or a Master's degree in a 

biological or related science and one year of 

cumulative laboratory experience in aquatic 

toxicity testing or aquatic population surveying.  

(2) All laboratory supervisors shall be subject to 

review by the Division. One person shall not 

serve as supervisor of more than two 

laboratories. The supervisor shall provide direct 

supervision and evaluation of all technical 

personnel and shall be responsible for the 

performance and reporting of all analyses. 

Upon absence, the supervisor shall arrange for 

a suitable substitute who meets the 

requirements of Subparagraph (f)(1) of this 

Rule and is capable of insuring the performance 

as set forth by these Rules of all laboratory 

procedures. Existing laboratory supervisors 

who do not meet the minimum requirements 

shall be accepted after review by the Division if 

they meet all other certification requirements 

and previous performance has met the 

requirements of these Rules.  

(3) All applications and fees shall be due pursuant 

to Rule .1104 of this Section. Upon the Division 

establishing compliance with the requirements 

of this Section, certification shall be issued by 
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the Director or Director's delegate within 45 

days of receipt of the fees for certification.  

(4) Each laboratory shall develop and maintain a 

document outlining quality control procedures 

for testing of all approved procedures in their 

certification and dissolved oxygen, 

temperature, conductivity, and pH. All aquatic 

toxicology laboratories shall also develop and 

maintain a document outlining quality control 

procedures for testing of total hardness and total 

residual chlorine. These documents shall be 

included with submittal of the application. 

(5) Each laboratory certified for the category of 

Aquatic Population Survey and Analysis shall 

develop and maintain a document outlining 

quality control procedures for taxonomic 

identifications and life-stage determinations. 

(6) Supporting records shall be maintained for five 

years as evidence that these practices have met 

the requirements of these Rules and are being 

carried out and shall be available to the State 

Laboratory upon request. 

(7) The quality control program shall be approved 

in conjunction with certification by the Director 

or the Director's delegate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.3(a)(4); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66; 

Eff. October 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1111 BIOLOGICAL LABORATORY 

CERTIFICATION AND QUALITY ASSURANCE 

(a)  Aquatic Toxicology Laboratories shall have the following 

laboratory resources: 

(1) 200 square feet of laboratory space; 

(2) 20 linear feet of laboratory bench space; 

(3) one drained sink with hot and cold running 

water; 

(4) control of culture environment including 

lighting, cooling, and heating to maintain 

organism as set forth in the approved 

procedures and these Rules; 

(5) one refrigerator that will maintain sample 

temperatures between 0.0 degrees Celsius and 

6.0 degrees Celsius; 

(6) current copies of the approved procedures for 

which the laboratory is requesting certification; 

(7) glassware, chemicals, supplies, and equipment 

to perform any procedures included in the 

requested certification; 

(8) instrumentation capable of measuring dissolved 

oxygen, pH, temperature, conductivity, and 

salinity (for saltwater tests) directly from test 

vessels of any procedure included in 

certification application. Equivalent surrogate 

vessels may be utilized for physical 

measurements if injury to test organisms may 

result; 

(9) instrumentation or analytical capabilities to 

perform measurements of total residual 

chlorine to a level at least as low as 0.1 mg/l and 

total hardness to a level at least as low as 1 mg/l; 

(10) a dissecting microscope and a compound 

microscope for those laboratories requesting or 

maintaining either of the categories of Acute 

Toxicity Testing/Invertebrate or Chronic 

Toxicity Testing/Invertebrate. The compound 

microscope shall have a minimum 

magnification of 400x and a maximum 

magnification of greater than or equal to 

1,000x; 

(11) a balance capable of weighting 0.0001g and 

Class "S" or equivalent reference weights. A 

balance capable of weighing fish larvae to 

0.00001g for those laboratories requesting or 

maintaining certification for the category 

Chronic Toxicity Testing/Vertebrate; 

(12) Cladocerans shall be cultured in-house. All 

other organisms may be purchased from a 

supplier; 

(13) dilution water for use in whole effluent toxicity 

testing with chemical characteristics such that 

the pH is between 6.5 S.U. and 8.5 S.U. and 

total hardness as calcium carbonate is between 

30 ppm and 50 ppm for surface water and 80 

ppm and 100 ppm for synthetic lab water. If 

receiving waters have characteristics outside of 

these stated pH and hardness ranges, then 

alternate pH and hardness ranges shall be 

accepted upon demonstration to the State 

Laboratory that the alternate ranges are better 

suited to testing objectives, and that quality 

assurance standards have been met; and 

(14) chain-of-custody documentation. 

(b)  Aquatic Population Survey and Analysis Laboratories shall 

have the following laboratory resources: 

(1) 150 square feet of laboratory space; 

(2) eight linear feet of laboratory bench space; 

(3) binocular dissecting microscopes and 

compound microscopes suitable for survey 

type; 

(4) vials, preservatives, and space to maintain 

representative sample collections for at least 

one year after collection; 

(5) current taxonomic guides and reference 

materials to support identification; 

(6) chain-of-custody documentation forms, 

laboratory records, and seals; 

(7) sampling equipment to support collection of 

appropriate biological organisms; and 

(8) settling tubes and one inverted microscope with 

a minimum magnification of 300x for those 

laboratories requesting or maintaining 

certification for algae. 
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(c)  All laboratories shall adhere to the following quality assurance 

requirements: 

(1) instruments used in or associated with toxicity 

testing, including automatic sampling 

equipment, pH meter, dissolved oxygen meter, 

and conductivity meter, shall be calibrated each 

day before the instrument is used. Calibrations 

performed shall be recorded; 

(2) a minimum of five valid reference toxicant tests 

shall be performed and entered on a control 

chart for each toxicity test organism and 

toxicity test type for which a lab is certified. A 

maximum of 20 data points shall be entered on 

a control chart; 

(3) a reference toxicant test shall be performed: 

(A) every two weeks for each organism 

used in acute whole effluent toxicity 

testing; or such that North Carolina 

National Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (NPDES) acute 

tests are performed within one week of 

an acute reference toxicant test for the 

organism in question. To maintain 

acute certification for an organism, 

acute reference toxicant tests shall be 

performed at least quarterly; and 

(B) once per month for each organism 

used in chronic whole effluent toxicity 

testing; or such that North Carolina 

NPDES chronic tests are performed 

within two weeks of a chronic 

reference toxicant test for the 

organism in question. To maintain 

chronic certification for an organism, 

chronic reference toxicant tests shall 

be performed at least quarterly. 

(4) a reference test shall be performed with each 

batch of organisms received from an outside 

supplier; 

(5) the endpoint for chronic reference toxicant tests 

shall be the IC25 as determined by the linear 

interpolation method described in EPA-821-R-

02-013 and EPA-821-R-02-014, herein 

incorporated by reference, including any 

subsequent amendments or editions. These 

methods are available free of charge at: 

https://www.epa.gov/cwa-methods/whole-

effluent-toxicity-methods; 

(6) acceptable alternative culture media utilized to 

culture the algae Selenastrum capricornutum 

for use as Ceriodaphnia food are as follows: 

(A) the Marine Biology Laboratory 

(MBL) medium as described in the 

Handbook of Phycological Methods 

Handbook of Phycological Methods: 

Culture Methods and Growth 

Measurements. 1973. J. Stein, ed. 

University Press, Cambridge, MA, 

available at a cost of sixty eight dollars 

and eighty five cents ($68.85), herein 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions; 

and 

(B) additional nutrients for the preparation 

of algae medium described in Section 

13.6.15 of EPA-821-R-02-013 and 

Appendix A1, Section 3.10.3 of EPA-

821-R-02-012. These methods are 

available free of charge at: 

https://www.epa.gov/cwa-

methods/whole-effluent-toxicity-

methods, herein incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. The volume 

of nutrient stock solutions found in 

Table 1 on Page 147 of EPA-821-R-

02-013 or Page 133 of EPA-821-R-02-

012 may be adjusted so that solutions 

1.A, 1.D, and 2 are added at a rate of 2 

ml/l, and solutions 1.B and 1.C are 

added at a rate of 6 ml/l; 

(7) a representative of each test organism cultured, 

including those obtained from an outside 

supplier, shall be taxonomically identified to 

the species level at least annually. Specimens 

shall be preserved and held for one additional 

year; 

(8) when closed incubators are used for toxicity 

testing or test organism culturing purposes, 

culturing and testing activities shall not be 

contained within the same incubator; 

(9) effluent samples collected for chronic 

Ceriodaphnia dubia tests shall be used within 

36 hours of collection and not more than 72 

hours after first use of the sample for test 

renewal. The beginning of this period is defined 

as the time of the collection of a grab sample or 

the time of collection of the last subsample of a 

composite sample to the time that the organisms 

are introduced to the test solution; and 

(10) a record shall be maintained for all samples 

entering the laboratory that documents the 

sample identity and includes the following 

information: 

(A) the sample number; 

(B) the sample temperature at receipt; 

(C) the time and date of sample collection 

and receipt; 

(D) the name of person from whom the 

sample was received; and 

(E) the name of person who received the 

sample. 

(d)  The following procedure modifications have been approved 

by the EPA and shall be followed by certified laboratories: 

(1) acute and chronic toxicity tests shall be 

conducted at 25.0 degrees Celsius plus or minus 

1.0 degree Celsius, except that chronic tests for 

Mysidopsis bahia shall be conducted at 26.0 
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degrees Celsius plus or minus 1.0 degree 

Celsius. Certified laboratories may request in 

writing variances from the State Laboratory for 

species which require alternate temperatures in 

accordance with EPA procedures; 

(2) organisms used in acute toxicity tests shall have 

food made available for a minimum of two 

hours prior to initiation of testing; 

(3) for cladoceran species, the feeding amount 

prior to the acute test shall be at least 0.05 ml of 

YCT and 0.05 ml of a solution of the algae 

Selenastrum capricornutum with a cell 

concentration of 1.71 X 107 cells/ ml per 15 ml 

of culture solution; 

(4) for each sample used in a toxicity test, the 

following parameters shall be measured and 

recorded from an undiluted aliquot: 

(A) pH; 

(B) specific conductance;  

(C) total residual chlorine; 

(D) dissolved oxygen; and 

(E) salinity (for salt water test); 

(5) for each sample used in a toxicity test, the 

following parameters shall be measured in the 

control and the highest toxicant concentration 

tested at the beginning of the test, prior to 

renewal, following each renewal, and at the 

termination of the test: 

(A) temperature; 

(B) dissolved oxygen;  

(C) pH; and 

(D) salinity (for salt water test); 

(6) Ceriodaphnia dubia used in toxicity tests shall 

meet the following requirements: 

(A) be obtained from individual cultures; 

(B) be obtained from third or subsequent 

broods of adults not being more than 

14 days in age and containing eight or 

more neonates with an average adult 

mortality not exceeding 20 percent per 

culture board; 

(C) chronic Ceriodaphnia dubia analyses 

shall have an additional test 

acceptability criterion of complete 

third brood neonate production by at 

least 80 percent of the surviving 

control organisms; 

(D) Ceriodaphnia dubia neonate 

reproduction totals from chronic tests 

shall include only organisms produced 

in the first through third broods; 

(E) the percentage of male Ceriodaphnia 

dubia control organisms shall not 

exceed 20 percent in chronic 

Ceriodaphnia dubia tests; and 

(F) the Ceriodaphnia dubia control 

organism reproduction coefficient of 

variation (CV) shall be less than 40 

percent for a chronic Ceriodaphnia 

dubia test; 

(7) "Observed-effect" in a chronic Ceriodaphnia 

dubia test shall be defined as: 

(A) statistical significant decrease in 

survival of the treatment organism as 

compared to the control organisms; or 

(B) 20 percent or greater decrease in 

treatment organisms as compared to 

the control organism reproduction that 

is also determined to be statistically 

different from the control organism 

reproduction; 

(8) acute tests shall be terminated within one hour 

of their stated length; 

(9) the North Carolina Pass/Fail chronic tests and 

Phase II Ceriodaphnia dubia chronic tests shall

 meet the following requirements: 

(A) follow a schedule where the test is 

started on day zero, renewed on day 

two and five, and terminated no later 

than seven days and two hours after 

the initiation of the test; 

(B) follow a schedule where each daily 

feeding shall consist of addition of 

0.05 ml of yeast-Cerophyll® -trout 

chow (YCT) food and 0.05 ml of a 

solution of the algae Selenastrum 

capricornutum with a cell 

concentration of 1.71 X 10 7 cells/ml 

per 15 ml of test solution; and 

(C) the percent reduction for chronic 

Ceriodaphnia dubia analysis for each 

treatment shall be calculated by 

subtracting the mean number of 

neonates produced by the treatment 

organisms from the mean number of 

neonates produced by the control 

organisms, dividing that number by 

the mean number of neonates 

produced by the control organisms, 

and multiplying by 100 percent; 

(10) the North Carolina Pass/Fail Ceriodaphnia 

dubia chronic test shall be performed as two 

treatments exposing 12 test organisms to each 

treatment. The first treatment shall be 

considered the control population and shall be 

exposed at 0 percent effluent and 100 percent 

dilution water; 

(11) the North Carolina Pass/Fail acute test shall be 

performed as two treatments with the control 

population specified as Treatment 1, and the 

effluent treatment specified as Treatment 2. 

Each treatment shall be tested using four 

identical test vessels. Each treatment shall 

contain 10 test organisms, for a total of 80 test 

organisms; and 
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(12) there shall be no removal of chlorine or any 

other effluent constituent by either chemical or 

physical methods prior to testing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66; 

Eff. October 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 07H .2701 PURPOSE 

A general permit under this Section shall allow for the 

construction of marsh sills for wetland enhancement and shoreline 

stabilization in estuarine and public trust waters as set out in 15A 

NCAC 07J .1100 and according to the rules in this Section. Marsh 

sills are defined as sills that are shore-parallel structures built in 

conjunction with existing, created, or restored wetlands. This 

general permit shall not apply within the Ocean Hazard System 

AECs or waters adjacent to these AECs with the exception of 

those portions of shoreline within the Inlet Hazard Area AEC that 

feature characteristics of Estuarine Shorelines. Such features 

include the presence of wetland vegetation, lower wave energy, 

and lower erosion rates than in the adjoining Ocean Erodible 

Area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 15, 2004; 

Eff. April 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .2704 GENERAL CONDITIONS 

(a)  Structures authorized by a permit issued pursuant to this 

Section shall be marsh sills conforming to these Rules. 

(b)  Individuals shall allow authorized representatives of the 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) to make periodic 

inspections at any time deemed necessary in order to ensure that 

the activity being performed under authority of this general permit 

is in accordance with the terms and conditions prescribed in these 

Rules. 

(c)  The placement of marsh sills authorized in these Rules shall 

not interfere with the established or traditional rights of navigation 

of the waters by the public. 

(d)  This permit shall not be applicable to proposed construction 

where the Department has determined, based on an initial review 

of the application, that notice and review pursuant to G.S. 113A-

119 is necessary because there are unresolved questions 

concerning the proposed activity's impact on adjoining properties 

or on water quality, air quality, coastal wetlands, cultural or 

historic sites, wildlife, fisheries resources, or public trust rights. 

(e)  This permit does not eliminate the need to obtain any other 

required state, local, or federal authorization. 

(f)  Development carried out under this permit shall be consistent 

with all local requirements, AEC Guidelines as set out in 15A 

NCAC 07H .0200, and local land use plans current at the time of 

authorization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 15, 2004; 

Eff. April 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .2705 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS 

(a)  A general permit issued pursuant to this Section shall be 

applicable only for the construction of marsh sill structures built 

in conjunction with existing, created, or restored wetlands. 

Planted wetland vegetation shall consist only of native species. 

(b)  The landward edge of the sill shall be positioned no greater 

than 30 feet waterward of the normal high water or normal water 

level or five feet waterward of the existing wetlands, whichever 

distance is greater.  

(c)  The permittee shall maintain the authorized sill, including 

wetlands and tidal inundation, in conformance with the terms and 

conditions of this permit, or the remaining sill structures shall be 

removed within 90 days of notification of noncompliance from 

the Division of Coastal Management. 

(d)  The height of sills shall not exceed 12 inches above normal 

high water, normal water level, or the height of the adjacent 

wetland substrate, whichever is higher. 

(e)  Sill construction authorized by this permit shall be limited to 

a maximum length of 500 feet. 

(f)  The sills shall have at least one five-foot opening every 100 

feet and may be staggered, overlapped or left open as long as the 

five-foot separation between sections is maintained. Overlapping 

sections shall not overlap more than 10 feet. Deviation from these 

opening requirements shall be allowable following coordination 

with the N.C. Division of Coastal Management. 

(g)  The sill structure shall not exceed a slope of a one and a half 

foot horizontal distance over a one foot vertical rise. The width of 

the structure on the bottom shall not exceed 12 feet. 

(h)  For water bodies narrower than 150 feet, no portion of the 

structures shall be positioned offshore more than one sixth (1/6) 

the width of the waterbody. 

(i)  The sill shall not be within a navigation channel or associated 

setbacks marked or maintained by a state or federal agency. 

(j)  The sill shall not interfere with leases or franchises for 

shellfish culture. 

(k)  All structures shall have a minimum setback distance of 15 

feet between any parts of the structure and the adjacent property 

owner's riparian access corridor, unless either a signed waiver 

statement is obtained from the adjacent property owner or the 

portion of the structure within 15 feet of the adjacent riparian 

access corridor is located no more than 25 feet from the normal 

high or normal water level. The riparian access corridor line is 

determined by drawing a line parallel to the channel, then drawing 

a line perpendicular to the channel line that intersects with the 

shore at the point where the upland property line meets the water's 

edge, as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .1205(t). Additionally, the 

sill shall not interfere with the exercise of riparian rights by 

adjacent property owners, including access to navigation channels 

from piers, or other means of access. 

(l)  Sills shall be marked at 50-foot intervals with yellow reflectors 

extending at least three feet above normal high water or normal 

water level and must be maintained for the life of the structure. 

(m)  If the crossing of wetlands with mechanized construction 

equipment is necessary, temporary construction mats shall be 
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utilized for the areas to be crossed. The temporary mats shall be 

removed upon completion of the construction of the sill structure. 

Material used to construct the sill shall not be stockpiled on 

existing wetlands or in open water unless contained in a 

containment structure supported by construction mats. 

(n)  Sedimentation and erosion control measures shall be 

implemented to ensure that eroded materials do not enter adjacent 

wetlands or waters. 

(o)  No excavation or filling, other than that necessary for the 

construction and bedding of the sill structure, is authorized by this 

general permit. 

(p)  Sills shall not be constructed within any native submerged 

aquatic vegetation. If submerged aquatic vegetation is present 

within a project area, a submerged aquatic vegetation survey shall 

be completed during the growing season of April 1 through 

September 30. All sills shall have a minimum setback of 10 feet 

from any native submerged aquatic vegetation. 

(q)  Sills shall not be constructed within any habitat that includes 

oyster reefs or shell banks. All sills shall have a minimum setback 

of 10 feet from any oysters, oyster beds, or shell banks. 

(r)  No excavation of the shallow water bottom or any wetland is 

authorized by this general permit. 

(s)  The sill material shall consist of clean rock, marl, oyster shell, 

or masonry materials such as granite or broken concrete, or other 

similar materials that are approved by the N.C. Division of 

Coastal Management. Sill material shall be free of loose sediment 

or any pollutant, including exposed rebar. The sill material shall 

be of sufficient size and slope to prevent its movement from the 

approved alignment by wave or current action. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 15, 2004; 

Eff. April 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012 (see S.L. 2012-143, s.1.(f)); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0102 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  The definitions contained in G.S. 130A-2, G.S. 130A-290, 

and G.S. 130A-313 shall apply to this Subchapter.  

(b)  The definitions contained in 40 C.F.R. 141.2 are hereby 

incorporated by reference including any subsequent amendments 

and editions except the following definitions are not adopted: 

(1) "Contaminant;" 

(2) "Maximum contaminant level;" 

(3) "Person;" 

(4) "Public Water System;" and 

(5) "Supplier of water." 

Copies of governing federal regulations may be obtained at no 

cost from the United States Environmental Protection Agency's 

(USEPA) homepage at 

http://water.epa.gov/lawsregs/rulesregs/sdwa/index.cfm or from 

the USEPA's Drinking Water Hotline at 1-800-426-4791. 

(c)  In addition to the definitions referred to in Paragraph (a) and 

(b) of this Rule, the following definitions shall apply to this 

Subchapter: 

(1) "Act" means the North Carolina Drinking 

Water Act. 

(2) "Air gap" means the unobstructed vertical 

distance through free atmosphere between the 

lowest effective opening from any pipe or 

faucet conveying a water or waste to a tank, 

plumbing fixture, receptor, or other assembly 

and the flood level rim of the receptacle. These 

vertical, physical separations shall be at least 

twice the effective opening of the water supply 

outlet, never less than one inch (25 mm) above 

the receiving vessel flood rim. 

(3) "Backflow" means the undesirable reversal of 

flow of a liquid, gas, or other substance in a 

potable water distribution piping system as a 

result of a cross-connection. 

(4) "Backflow preventer" means an assembly, 

device, or method that prohibits the backflow of 

water into potable water supply systems.  

(5) "Class I reservoir" means a reservoir from 

which water flows by gravity or is pumped 

directly to a treatment plant or to a small 

intervening storage basin and thence to a 

treatment plant. 

(6) "Class II reservoir" means a reservoir from 

which the water flows by gravity or is pumped 

to a Class I reservoir prior to final entrance to a 

water treatment plant. 

(7) "Class III reservoir" means an impoundment 

used for electric power generation, flood 

control and similar purposes, and that serves as 

a source of raw water for a community water 

system. 

(8) "Cross-connection" means: 

(A) any physical connection between a 

potable water supply system and any 

other piping system, sewer fixture, 

container, or device, whereby water or 

other liquids, mixtures, or substances 

may flow into or enter the potable 

water supply system; 

(B) any potable water supply outlet that is 

submerged or is designed or intended 

to be submerged in non-potable water 

or in any source of contamination; or 

(C) an air gap, that does not meet the 

requirements set forth in 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph. 

(9) "Community Water System intake" means the 

structure at the head of a conduit into which 

water is diverted from a stream or reservoir for 

transmission to a water treatment facility. 

(10) "Division" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Division of Water 

Resources. 

(11) "Fecal Coliform" means bacteria that serve as 

indicators of recent fecal contamination. Fecal 

Coliforms include the Family 
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Enterobacteriaceae, Genus Escherichia, 

Species coli. 

(12) High-Health Hazard: A cross-connection or 

potential cross-connection involving any 

substance that could, if introduced into the 

potable water supply, cause illness or death, 

spread disease, or have a high probability of 

causing such effects. 

(13) Low-Health Hazard: A cross-connection or 

potential cross-connection involving any 

substance that generally would not be a health 

hazard but would constitute a nuisance or be 

aesthetically objectionable if introduced into 

the potable water supply. 

(14) "Mobile Home Park" means a site or tract of 

land where spaces are provided for lease or 

rental only for the placement of mobile homes. 

(15) "Mobile home subdivision" means a subdivided 

site or tract of land in which lots are sold for the 

placement of mobile homes. 

(16) "Non-potable water supply" means waters not 

approved for drinking or other household uses. 

(17) "Non-regulated public water system" means a 

public water system that meets the exclusion 

conditions set forth in G.S. 130A-314. 

(18) "Potable water supply" means water approved 

for drinking and other household uses. 

(19) "Raw water" means surface water or 

groundwater that because of bacteriological 

quality, chemical quality, turbidity, color, or 

mineral content makes it unsatisfactory as a 

source for a community water system without 

treatment. 

(20) "Raw water reservoir" means a natural or 

artificial impoundment used for the primary 

purpose of storing raw water to be subsequently 

treated for use as a source of water for a 

community water system. 

(21) "Service connection" means a piped connection 

from a water main for the purpose of conveying 

water to a building or onto premises for human 

use. A service connection begins: 

(A) at the point downstream of a service 

meter; or 

(B) for unmetered service, at the point of 

connection to the potable water supply 

system. 

(22) "Water supply product" means any chemical or 

substance added to a public water system in 

conjunction with a treatment technique or 

material used in construction of a public water 

system. The term includes any material used in 

the manufacture of public water system 

components, appurtenances, pipe, storage tank, 

or valve that comes in contact with water 

intended for use in a public water system. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-311 through 130A-327; 

P.L. 93-523; 40 C.F.R. 141.2; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; July 1, 1994; August 1, 1991; 

January 1, 1991; September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0202 SURFACE SUPPLIES FROM 

CLASSIFIED WATERSHEDS 

Any surface water that is to receive treatment for removal of 

dissolved matter or suspended matter in order to be used for a 

public water system shall be obtained from a source that meets the 

WS-I, WS-II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V stream classification 

standards established by the Environmental Management 

Commission codified in 15A NCAC 02B. Copies are available for 

public inspection as set forth in Rule .0102(a) of this Subchapter.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-318; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; July 1, 1994; September 1, 1990; 

February 1, 1987; September 1, 1979; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0203 PUBLIC WELL WATER 

SUPPLIES 

(a)  A site or sites for a water supply well to be used as a 

community or non-transient, non-community water system shall 

be investigated by an authorized representative of the Department 

prior to approval. Approval by the Department is required in 

addition to any approval or permit issued by any other state 

agency. The site shall meet the following requirements at the time 

of approval: 

(1) The well shall be located on a lot so that the area 

within 100 feet of the well is owned or 

controlled by the person supplying the water. 

The supplier of water shall be able to protect the 

well lot from potential sources of pollution and 

to construct landscape features for drainage and 

diversion of pollution. 

(2) The minimum horizontal separation between 

the well and known potential sources of 

pollution shall be as follows: 

(A) 100 feet from any sanitary sewage 

disposal system, sewer, or a sewer 

pipe unless the sewer is constructed of 

water main materials and joints, in 

which case the sewer pipe shall be at 

least 50 feet from the well; 

(B) 200 feet from a subsurface sanitary 

sewage treatment and disposal system 

designed for 3000 or more gallons of 

wastewater a day flows, unless the 

well water source is from a confined 

aquifer; 

(C) 500 feet from a septage disposal site; 

(D) 100 feet from buildings, mobile 

homes, permanent structures, animal 
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houses or lots, or cultivated areas to 

which chemicals are applied; 

(E) 100 feet from surface water; 

(F) 100 feet from a chemical or petroleum 

fuel underground storage tank with 

secondary containment; 

(G) 500 feet from a chemical or petroleum 

fuel underground storage tank without 

secondary containment; 

(H) 500 feet from the boundary of a 

ground water contamination area; 

(I) 500 feet from a sanitary landfill or 

non-permitted non-hazardous solid 

waste disposal site; 

(J) 1000 feet from a hazardous waste 

disposal site or in any location that 

conflicts with the North Carolina 

Hazardous Waste Management Rules 

cited as 15A NCAC 13A; 

(K) 300 feet from a cemetery or burial 

ground; and 

(L) 100 feet from any other potential 

source of pollution.  

(3) The Department may require greater separation 

distances or impose other protective measures 

if necessary to protect the well from pollution, 

taking into consideration factors such as: 

(A) the hazard or health risk associated 

with the source of pollution; 

(B) the proximity of the potential source to 

the well; 

(C) the type of material, facility, or 

circumstance that poses the source or 

potential source of pollution; 

(D) the volume or size of the source or 

potential source of pollution; 

(E) hydrogeological features of the site 

that could affect the movement of 

contaminants to the source water; 

(F) the effect that well operation might 

have on the movement of 

contamination; and 

(G) the feasibility of providing additional 

separation distances or protective 

measures. 

(4) The lot shall be graded or sloped so that surface 

water is diverted away from the wellhead. The 

well shall not have greater than a one percent 

annual chance of flooding.  

(5) If a supplier of water demonstrates that it is 

impracticable, taking into consideration 

feasibility and cost, to locate water from any 

other approved source and an existing well can 

no longer provide water that meets the 

requirements of this Subchapter, a 

representative of the Division may approve a 

variance for a smaller well lot and reduced 

separation distances to meet existing demands. 

Additional monitoring under this Part or other 

conditions shall be imposed if necessary to 

mitigate the increased risk from the variance. 

(b)  The Division of Water Resources may grant a variance from 

the minimum horizontal separation distances for public water 

supply wells set out in Parts (a)(2)(D) and (E) of this Rule. 

(1) Such variance shall require the following 

findings: 

(A) the well supplies water to a non-

community water system as defined in 

G.S. 130A-313(10)(b) or supplies 

water to a business or institution, such 

as a school, that has become a non-

community water system through an 

increase in the number of people 

served by the well; 

(B) it is impracticable, taking into 

consideration feasibility and cost, for 

the public water system to comply 

with the minimum horizontal 

separation distance set out in Parts 

(a)(2)(D) and (E) of this Rule; 

(C) there is no reasonable alternative 

source of drinking water available to 

the public water supply system and; 

(D) the granting of the variance will not 

result in an unreasonable risk to public 

health. 

(2) Such variance shall require that the non-

community public water supply well meet the 

following requirements: 

(A) the well shall comply with the 

minimum horizontal separation 

distances set out in Parts (a)(2)(D) and 

(E) of this Rule to the maximum extent 

practicable; 

(B) the well shall meet a minimum 

horizontal separation distance of 25 

feet from a building, mobile home, or 

other permanent structure that is not 

used primarily to house animals; 

(C) the well shall meet a minimum 

horizontal separation distance of 100 

feet from any animal house or feedlot 

and from cultivated areas to which 

chemicals are applied; 

(D) the well shall meet a minimum 

horizontal separation distance of 50 

feet from surface water; and 

(E) the well shall comply with all other 

requirements for public well water 

supplies set out in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-318; P.L. 93-

523; S.L. 2011-394; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 7, 2014; July 1, 1994; September 1, 1990; 

September 1, 1979; 
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Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0305 APPROVALS NECESSARY 

BEFORE CONTRACTING OR CONSTRUCTING 

(a)  No construction shall be undertaken, and no contract for 

construction, alteration, or installation shall be entered into, unless 

the Department determines the system complies with G.S. 130A-

317(c) and the Department issues the authorization to construct 

letter. This authorization shall be issued following completion and 

submittal of the Engineer's Report and Water System 

Management Plan, as specified in Rule .0307(b) and (c) of this 

Section, and approval of the engineering plans and specifications 

by the Department. Authorization to construct from the 

Department shall be valid for 36 months from the date of the 

letter. Authorization to construct may only be extended if the rules 

governing a public water supply and site conditions have not 

changed since the letter was issued. The authorization to construct 

and the approval for engineering plans and specifications letters 

from the Department shall be posted at the primary entrance of 

the job site during construction. 

(b)  Upon request, permission to drill test wells at approved sites 

in order to establish the quality and quantity of the ground water 

shall be granted by the Department prior to completion and 

submittal of the Engineer's Report and Water System 

Management Plan and approval of engineering plans and 

specifications. All wells abandoned, either temporarily or 

permanently, shall be abandoned in accordance with 15A NCAC 

02C .0113 (Well Construction Standards) and all local 

ordinances. 

(c)  Units of local government that have an adopted water system 

extension program pursuant to Section .1800 of this Subchapter, 

upon submission to and approval of their program by the 

Department, shall be excluded from the requirements of 

submitting engineering plans and specifications for water main 

extensions that would not have adverse effect upon the existing 

system supply or pressure, provided the following requirements 

are met: 

(1) Engineering plans and specifications for all 

such extensions shall be prepared by or under 

the direct supervision of an engineer licensed to 

practice in the State of North Carolina. 

(2) All engineering plans shall be approved by the 

unit of local government's engineering 

department or its consulting engineers prior to 

the commencement of construction. 

(3) The Department shall have approved the 

extension program submitted by the unit of 

local government prior to construction 

commencing. 

(4) The extension program submitted for review 

and approval by the Department shall provide 

for establishing ownership, operation, and 

maintenance of water system extensions and 

shall constitute prior notice of proposed 

construction. 

(5) Where design is to be based on a local 

government's standard specifications in lieu of 

written separate specifications for each 

extension project, the standard specifications 

shall have been previously approved by the 

Department. 

(6) The local government shall have obtained from 

the Department a letter stating they have met 

the requirements set forth in Section .1800 of 

this Subchapter. 

(7) An annual up-to-date plan of the entire public 

water system shall be maintained by the 

supplier of water and made available on request 

by the Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; September 1, 1990; September 1, 

1979; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0307 ENGINEER'S REPORT, WATER 

SYSTEM MANAGEMENT PLAN AND OTHER PLANS 

(a)  The applicant shall submit to the Department an Engineer's 

Report and Water System Management Plan. 

(b)  Engineer's Report. The Engineer's Report shall contain a 

system description for the entire project, including scheduled 

phase development and the following information, where 

applicable: 

(1) description of all existing water systems related 

to this project; 

(2) identification of the municipality, community, 

area, or facility to be served by the proposed 

water system; 

(3) the name and address of the applicant; 

(4) a description of the nature of the establishments 

and of the area to be served by the proposed 

water system; 

(5) a description of the future service areas of the 

public water system for 5, 10, 15 and 20 years; 

(6) consideration of alternative plans for meeting 

the water supply requirements of the area, 

including, for new systems, obtaining water 

service from an existing system; 

(7) for applicants seeking State loan or grant 

support for the project, financial considerations, 

including: 

(A) technical alternatives; 

(B) the costs of integral units; and 

(C) the total costs. 

(8) population records and trends, present and 

anticipated future water demands, and present 

and future yield of source or sources of water 

supply, including provisions to supply water to 

other systems; 

(9) character of source or sources of water supply, 

including: 

(A) hydrological or hydrogeological data; 

(B) stream flow rates or well yields; 
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(C) for surface sources, analytical results 

for chemical, mineral, bacteriological, 

and physical qualities; and 

(D) the location and nature of sources of 

pollution. 

(10) proposed water treatment processes, including: 

(A) the criteria and basis of design of 

units; 

(B) the methods or procedures used in 

arriving at recommendations; and 

(C) the reasons or justifications for any 

deviations from conventional or 

indicated process or method. 

(11) for purchased water, a copy of the agreement 

with the supplier and the hydraulic analysis 

showing the supplier's capabilities for 

supplying the purchased water; 

(12) a description of the design basis of the source, 

treatment, and distribution system, and the 

useful life of all sources, treatment, and 

transmission facilities including pipes, 

pumping stations, and storage facilities; 

(13) for existing system projects intending to alter or 

expand a distribution system, a statement of 

maximum daily treated water supply and 

maximum daily demand, including supporting 

documentation and calculations; and 

(14) for existing systems, a prioritized list of 

infrastructure improvements. 

(c)  Water System Management Plan. The Water System 

Management Plan shall document the ability to finance, operate, 

and manage the system in accordance with this Subchapter for the 

current owner and for any entity that assumes ownership of the 

water system within the first 24 months of operation. The Water 

System Management Plan shall include the following 

information, where applicable: 

(1) Organization: 

(A) a description of organizational 

structure or a chart showing all aspects 

of water system management and 

operation; 

(B) an identification of positions 

responsible for policy decisions 

ensuring compliance with State rules 

and the day-to-day operation of the 

system; and 

(C) a copy of all contracts for management 

or operation of the water system by 

persons or agencies other than the 

system's owner. 

(2) Ownership: 

(A) identify the ownership structure, such 

as sole proprietor, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, 

homeowner association, nonprofit 

organization, local government unit, 

state or federal agency, or other legal 

entity, and disclose if the ownership of 

the system is expected to change once 

the system is constructed and, if 

known, identify the future owners; 

(B) provide the mailing address and street 

address of the owner and the physical 

location of the water system; 

(C) disclose any encumbrances, trust 

indentures, bankruptcy decrees, legal 

orders or proceedings, or other items 

that may affect or limit the owner's 

control over the system and describe 

how compliance with the 

requirements of this Subchapter will 

be maintained; and 

(D) describe the legal authority, such as 

ownership, leases or recorded 

easements, allowing inspection, 

repair, and maintenance of system 

components. 

(3) Management qualifications: 

(A) describe the qualifications of the 

owners and managers of the water 

system, including training and 

experience in owning or managing a 

water system; and 

(B) provide the name and Public Water 

Supply Identification Number of all 

public water systems owned within the 

last five years as well as all systems 

operated under contract for another 

owner within the last five years. If any 

system has been assessed a penalty for 

violating a requirement set forth in this 

Subchapter, describe how the owner 

will prevent similar violations at this 

system. 

(4) Management training. Describe plans to keep 

management current with regulatory 

requirements for managing and operating a 

public water system. 

(5) Policies. The system shall have policies 

regarding the following procedures: 

(A) cross-connection control; 

(B) customer information, complaints, and 

public education; 

(C) budget development and rate 

structure; 

(D) response and notification if water 

quality violations occur; 

(E) customer connection, disconnection, 

billing, and collection; and 

(F) safety procedures. 

(6) System monitoring, reporting and record 

keeping. The applicant shall provide: 

(A) a summary of the applicable system 

monitoring and reporting 

requirements; and 

(B) a description of procedures for 

keeping and compiling records and 
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reports in accordance with this 

Subchapter. 

(7) Financial Plans. The plan shall contain the 

following financial information, where 

applicable: 

(A) Units of Local Government: 

(i) For projects that require the 

unit of local government to 

incur debt, the unit of local 

government shall submit a 

statement from the Local 

Government Commission 

stating that debt issue has 

been approved. 

(ii) For projects that do not 

require the unit of local 

government to incur debt, the 

unit of local government 

shall submit the following: 

(I) a statement from the 

unit of local 

government 

documenting that 

they are in 

compliance with G. 

S. 159, Article 3, 

The Local 

Government Budget 

and Fiscal Control 

Act; and 

(II) estimated revenues, 

expenditures, and 

rate structure for the 

construction, 

operation and 

maintenance, 

administration, and 

reasonable 

expansion of the 

project. This 

information shall be 

provided on a form 

designated by the 

Department and 

shall demonstrate 

that revenues are 

greater than 

expenses. 

(B) The North Carolina Utilities 

Commission's financial determination 

may be used as the financial plan for 

systems subject to its regulations: 

(i) submit a copy of the Order 

Granting Franchise and 

Approving Rates from the 

North Carolina Utility 

Commission; or 

(ii) submit a copy of the Order 

Recognizing Continuous 

Extension and Approving 

Rates from the North 

Carolina Utilities 

Commission. 

(C) Non-transient non-community water 

systems. Owners of existing non-

transient non-community water 

system(s) which receive no violation 

of this Subchapter during the 

preceding three years shall provide a 

description of negative impacts the 

project would have on the financial 

ability to comply with this Subchapter. 

The owner of either a proposed new or 

existing non-transient non-community 

water system that was in violation of 

this Subchapter within the prior three 

years shall follow the requirements in 

Part (D) of this Subparagraph. 

(D) All other community and non-

transient non-community water 

systems shall document the following: 

(i) analysis that compares 

anticipated revenues with 

planned expenditures for a 

five-year period that 

demonstrates a positive cash 

flow in each year, and a 20-

year equipment replacement 

cost plan documenting the 

methods to finance 

equipment replacement; 

(ii) the creation and funding of a 

continuous operating cash 

reserve greater than or equal 

to one-eighth of the annual 

operating, maintenance, and 

administrative expenses for 

the water system. The 

operating cash reserve shall 

be fully funded by the end of 

the first year of operation; 

(iii) the creation and funding of 

an emergency cash reserve 

greater than or equal the cost 

of replacing the largest 

capacity pump. The 

emergency cash reserve shall 

be fully funded by the end of 

the fifth year of operation; 

and 

(iv) a description of the budget 

and expenditure control 

procedures that assure budget 

control for the applicant, 

including procedures or 

policies to prevent misuse of 

funds and a demonstration 

that the system has adopted 
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generally accepted 

accounting procedures. 

(v) In lieu of Sub-Items (ii) and 

(iii) of this Paragraph, 

substitute documentation 

shall be accepted in the 

following instances: 

(I) an applicant with 

multiple water 

systems showing 

reserves affording 

greater or equal 

capabilities; or 

(II) an applicant 

showing equivalent 

financial capacity to 

comply with 

requirements of this 

Section. 

(8) One Water System Management Plan may be 

submitted on behalf of an applicant owning and 

operating multiple water systems or an 

applicant pursuing multiple alterations or 

expansions and may include future projected 

construction or system acquisitions. The 

applicant shall submit a new Water System 

Management Plan for a project not covered 

under the existing Water System Management 

Plan or if violations of this Subchapter occur or 

continue at a system under an applicant's 

ownership or control. 

(d)  Operation and Maintenance Plan. The plan shall be completed 

prior to submitting the applicant's certification in accordance with 

Rule .0303(c) of this Section. This plan shall be accessible to the 

operator on duty at all times and available to the Department upon 

request. The Operation and Maintenance Plan shall include, at a 

minimum, a description of the location and routine operation and 

maintenance procedures for: 

(1) components of the treatment facility; 

(2) pumps, meters, valves, blowoffs, and hydrants; 

(3) backflow devices; 

(4) storage tanks; and 

(5) all other appurtenances requiring routine 

operation and maintenance. 

(e)  Emergency Management Plan. The Emergency Management 

Plan shall be completed prior to submitting the applicant 

certification required in Rule .0303(c) of this Section. The 

Emergency Management Plan shall be available to personnel 

responsible for emergency management and operator on duty at 

all times and available to the Department upon request. The 

supplier of water shall consider using the principles, practices, 

forms, nomenclature, structure, and definitions found in the 

National Incident Management System and shall contain the 

following information where applicable: 

(1) For community water systems, a plan with the 

following elements shall be required: 

(A) an identification and phone numbers 

of personnel responsible for 

emergency management, including 

public water system, local, State, and 

federal emergency contacts; 

(B) an identification of foreseeable natural 

and human-caused emergency events, 

including water shortages and 

outages; 

(C) a description of the emergency 

response plan for each identified 

event; 

(D) a description of the notification 

procedures; and 

(E) an identification and evaluation of all 

facilities and equipment whose failure 

would result in a water outage or water 

quality violations. 

(2) For a supplier of water that treats and furnishes 

water from a surface water source, completion 

of the Source Water Protection Plan in 

accordance with Rule .1305 of this Subchapter 

shall fulfill the Emergency Management Plan 

requirement. 

(3) For non-transient, non-community water 

systems, the plan shall contain the positions and 

phone numbers of responsible persons to 

contact in the event of an emergency, including 

public water system, local, State and federal 

emergency contacts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; September 1, 1990; June 30, 1980; 

September 1, 1979; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0402 WATER SUPPLY WELLS 

(a)  Well Construction. The construction of water supply wells 

shall conform to well construction regulations and standards of 

the Department, codified in 15A NCAC 02C.  

(b)  Upper Terminal of Well. A well casing shall terminate neither 

below ground nor in a pit. The pump pedestal for above ground 

pumps of every water supply well shall project not less than six 

inches above the concrete floor of the well house or the concrete 

slab surrounding the well. A well casing shall project at least one 

inch above the pump pedestal. For submersible pumps, the casing 

shall project at least six inches above the concrete floor or slab 

surrounding the well head. 

(c)  Sanitary Seal. The upper terminal of a well casing shall be 

sealed watertight, with the exception of a vent pipe or vent tube 

having a downward-directed, screened opening. 

(d)  Concrete Slab or Well House Floor. A water supply well shall 

have a continuous bond concrete slab or well house concrete floor 

extending at least three feet horizontally around the outside of the 

well casing. Minimum thickness for the concrete slab or floor 

shall be four inches. 
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(e)  Sample Tap and Waste Discharge Pipe. Faucets or spigots 

shall be provided for sampling both raw water prior to treatment 

and treated water prior to delivery to the first customer. Sample 

spigots shall not be threaded for hose connection. Threaded hose 

bibs shall be equipped with anti-siphon devices. A water sample 

tap and piping arrangement for discharge of water to waste shall 

be provided. 

(f)  Physical Security and Well Protection. A water supply well 

shall be secured against unauthorized access and protected from 

the weather. One of the following structures shall be provided: 

(1) Well house. A well house shall be constructed 

as follows: 

(A) Structures shall comply with 

applicable provisions of state and local 

building codes. 

(B) Drainage shall be provided by floor 

drain, wall drain, or slope to door. 

(C) Access into the structure shall be a 

doorway with minimum dimensions 

of 36 inches wide and 80 inches high. 

(D) The structure shall have adequate 

space for the use and maintenance of 

the piping and appurtenances. If 

treatment is provided at the well, the 

provisions of Rule .0404(a) of this 

Section shall apply. 

(E) The structure shall be secured with 

lock and key. 

(2) Prefabricated structures. A prefabricated 

structure shall be constructed as follows: 

(A) A well-head cover shall be hinged and 

constructed so that it can be lifted by 

one person. 

(B) A locking mechanism shall be 

provided. 

(C) The structure shall not be permanently 

fastened to the slab.  

(3) Fencing and temperature protection. Fencing 

and temperature protection shall be constructed 

as follows: 

(A) The fence height shall be a minimum 

of six feet. 

(B) The fence shall be constructed of chain 

link with locked access. 

(C) The fence shall enclose the well, 

hydropneumatic tank, and associated 

equipment. 

(D) Access shall be provided for 

maintenance and operation. 

(E) The well, piping, treatment 

equipment, and electrical controls 

shall be protected against freezing. 

Wrapping with insulation shall be 

acceptable for appurtenances such as 

the air vent, meter, valves, and sample 

taps, provided they are visible and 

accessible. Insulation shall be 

jacketed. 

(g)  Yield: 

(1) Wells shall be tested for yield and drawdown. 

A report or log of at least a 24-hour drawdown 

test to determine yield shall be submitted to the 

Department for each well. 

(2) Wells shall be located so that the drawdown of 

any well shall not interfere with the required 

yield of another well. 

(3) The combined yield of all wells of a public 

water system shall provide in 12-hours 

pumping time the daily flow requirements as 

determined in Rule .0409 of this Section. 

(4) The capacity of the permanent pump to be 

installed in each well shall not exceed the yield 

of the well as determined by the drawdown test. 

(5) A residential community water system using 

well water as its source of supply and designed 

to serve 50 or more connections shall provide at 

least two wells. A travel trailer park or 

campground designed to serve 100 or more 

connections shall provide at least two wells. In 

lieu of a second well, another approved water 

supply source may be accepted. 

(6) A totalizing meter shall be installed in the 

piping system from each well. 

(h)  Initial Chemical Analyses. A representative sample of water 

from every new water supply well shall be collected and 

submitted for chemical analyses to the State Laboratory of Public 

Health or to a certified laboratory. The results of the analysis shall 

demonstrate that the water is treatable to meet the water quality 

standards in Section .1500 of this Subchapter, and this treatment 

shall be provided before the well is placed into service. 

(i)  Continuous Disinfection. Continuous application of chlorine, 

hypochlorite solution, or another approved and equally efficient 

disinfectant shall be provided for all well water supplies 

introduced on or after January 1, 1972. Equipment for 

determining residual chlorine concentration in the water shall be 

included in the plans and specifications. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; July 1, 1994; September 1, 1990; 

January 1, 1986; March 31, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0403 SURFACE WATER FACILITIES 

(a)  Unimpounded Stream. Both the minimum daily flow of record 

of the stream and the estimated minimum flow calculated from 

rainfall and run-off shall exceed the maximum daily draft for 

which the water treatment plant is designed, with due 

consideration given to requirements for future expansion of the 

treatment plant. The Department shall approve a water plant 

capacity greater than the minimum daily flow of record of the 

stream if rules or regulations of other government agencies will 

not be violated.  

(b)  Impoundments. Raw water storage capacity shall be sufficient 

to reasonably satisfy the designed water supply demand during 

periods of drought. 
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(c)  Clearing of Land for Impoundment. The area in and around 

the proposed impoundment of class I and class II reservoirs shall 

be cleared as follows: 

(1) The area from normal full level to five feet 

below the normal pool elevation of the 

impoundment shall be cleared and grubbed of 

all vegetation and shall be kept cleared until the 

reservoir is filled. Secondary growth shall be 

removed prior to flooding. 

(2) The entire area below the five-foot water depth 

shall be cleared and shall be kept cleared of all 

growth of less than six inches in diameter until 

the reservoir is filled. Stumps greater than six 

inches in diameter shall be cut off at ground 

level. 

(3) All brush, trees, and stumps shall be burned or 

removed from the proposed reservoir. 

(d)  Existing Impoundments. Existing impoundments shall be 

approved as raw water sources if the following conditions are met. 

(1) The requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule 

and Section .0200 of this Subchapter shall be 

met. 

(2) A class I or class II reservoir shall meet the 

requirements of Section .1200 of this 

Subchapter. 

(3) The supplier of water shall have an engineer, 

along with other consultants as needed, conduct 

a study of the impoundment and provide the 

Department with information to determine 

whether the requirements of this Subchapter are 

met. The study shall include:  

(A) plans and specifications of the 

impounding structure; 

(B) information concerning clearing of the 

land for the impoundment, as provided 

in Paragraph (d) of this Rule; 

(C) information concerning sources of 

pollution on the watershed; 

(D) documentation of control by the 

supplier of water of the impoundment 

and 50-foot margin around the 

impoundment measured from the 

normal pool elevation; 

(E) information concerning the quality of 

the water and sediments which could 

cause water quality fluctuations, such 

as lake stratification, turnover, and 

algae bloom; and 

(F) other information necessary to show 

that the proposed source will meet the 

requirements of this Subchapter. 

(e)  A margin of at least 50 feet around a class I and class II 

reservoir, measured from the normal pool elevation, shall be 

owned or controlled by the supplier of water. 

(f)  Intakes, Pumps, Treatment Units, and Equipment. Raw water 

intakes, pumps, treatment units, and equipment shall be designed 

to provide water of potable quality that meets the water quality 

requirements stated in Section .1500 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; July 1, 1992; September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0404 WATER TREATMENT 

FACILITIES 

(a)  Physical Security and Facility Protection. Treatment 

equipment and chemicals shall be secured against unauthorized 

access and shall be protected against the weather as follows: 

(1) Structures shall comply with provisions of state 

and local building codes. 

(2) Drainage shall be provided by floor drain, wall 

drain, or slope to door. 

(3) Access to the structure shall be a doorway with 

minimum dimensions of 36 inches wide and 80 

inches high. The doorway shall be large enough 

to accommodate installation or removal of 

equipment. 

(4) The structure shall have space to facilitate 

operation and maintenance of treatment 

equipment, storage of chemicals, required 

piping and appurtenances, electrical controls, 

and laboratory testing. 

(b)  Mixing and Dispersion of Chemicals. Provisions shall be 

made for mixing and dispersion of chlorine and other chemicals 

applied to the water. Facilities treating surface water or ground 

water influenced by surface water shall comply with the 

disinfection requirements in Rule .2002 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Chemical Feed Machines: 

(1) Durable chemical feed machines designed for 

adjustable accurate control of feed rates shall be 

installed for application of all chemicals 

necessary for treatment of the water. Sufficient 

stand-by units to assure uninterrupted operation 

of the treatment processes shall be provided. 

Continuous chemical application shall be 

protected from electrical circuit interruption 

that could result in overfeed or underfeed or 

otherwise interrupt the feed of chemicals. 

(2) Chemical feed lines from the feeders to the 

points of application shall be of material sized 

for the design flow rate and corrosion resistant 

and shall be accessible for cleaning and 

protected against freezing. The length and the 

number of bends shall be reduced to a 

minimum. 

(3) Piping and appurtenances shall be constructed 

of suitable material for the chemical being 

added and the specific application. 

(4) A separate feeder shall be used for each 

chemical applied. 

(d)  Disinfection Equipment: 

(1) Equipment designed for application of chlorine 

or some other approved, equally efficient 

disinfectant shall be provided. Spare units shall 
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be available. The plans and specifications shall 

describe the equipment. 

(2) Chlorinators shall be installed in tightly 

constructed, above ground rooms with 

mechanical ventilation to the outside air. The 

capacity of exhaust fans shall be sufficient to 

discharge all air in the rooms every 60 seconds. 

The fans or their suction ducts shall be located 

not more than eight inches above floor level. 

Provisions for entrance of fresh air shall be 

made. The point of discharge shall be so located 

as not to contaminate the air in any building or 

inhabited areas. Electrical switches for 

operation of fans shall be located outside the 

chlorinator rooms. Rooms used for storage of 

chlorine cylinders shall be designed as 

described in this Subparagraph.  

(e)  Meters and Gauges. Meters and gauges, including raw and 

finished water meters, shall be installed to indicate and record 

water flow entering the treatment facility and water pumped or 

conducted to the distribution system. 

(f)  Prevention of Backflow and Backsiphonage. Water treatment 

facilities shall not have submerged inlets and interconnections 

whereby non-potable water, water of questionable quality, or 

other liquids may be siphoned or forced into or otherwise allowed 

to enter the finished water supply. 

(g)  Chemical Storage. Separate space for storing at least a 30-day 

supply of chemicals shall be provided. A separate room or 

partitioned space shall be provided for storage of dry fluoride 

chemicals or liquid fluoride chemicals in portable containers. 

(h)  Laboratory. Space, equipment, and supplies shall be provided 

for daily chemical and bacteriological tests. A layout of laboratory 

furniture and equipment shall be included in the plans. 

(i)  Waste Handling and Disposal: 

(1) Provisions shall be made for disposal of water 

treatment plant wastes, such as clarification 

sludge, softening sludge, iron-manganese 

sludge, filter backwash water, and brines. 

Untreated waste shall not be returned to the 

head of the water treatment plant. 

(2) Recycling of supernatant or filtrate from waste 

treatment facilities treating filter wash water, 

sedimentation basin sludge, or clarifier basin 

sludge to the head of the water treatment plant 

may be allowed if the following conditions are 

met: 

(A) The water recycled shall be less than 

10 percent by volume of the raw water 

entering the water treatment plant. 

(B) A permit has been issued by the 

appropriate regulatory authority for 

discharge of wastes to sanitary sewer, 

stream, lagoon or spray irrigation. 

(C) The raw water does not contain 

excessive algae, finished water taste 

and odor problems are not 

encountered, and contaminant levels 

do not exceed allowable levels as set 

forth in this Subchapter. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0405 STORAGE OF FINISHED 

WATER 

(a)  Ground Level Storage: 

(1) Finished Water Ground Storage Tank. Finished 

water ground storage tanks shall be provided 

with a light-proof and insect-proof cover of 

concrete, steel, or equivalent material approved 

by the Department. The construction joints 

between side walls and the covers of concrete 

tanks or reservoirs shall be above ground level 

and above flood level, except that clearwells 

constructed below filters may be excepted from 

this requirement if total design, including 

waterproof joints, gives equal protection from 

flooding. 

(2) Access Manholes. The access manholes for 

finished water ground storage tanks or 

reservoirs shall be framed at least four inches 

above the tank or reservoir covers at the 

opening and shall be fitted with solid covers of 

materials that overlap the framed openings and 

extend down around the frames at least two 

inches. The covers for the openings shall be 

hinged at one side and fitted with a locking 

device. 

(3) Venting. Finished water ground storage tanks 

or reservoirs shall have vents with screened, 

downward directed openings. The vent and 

screen shall be of corrosion resistant material. 

(4) Overflow. The overflow pipes for finished 

water ground storage tanks or reservoirs shall 

not be connected directly to sewers or storm 

drains. Screens or other devices to prevent 

access by vermin, such as rodents and insects, 

shall be provided in the overflow pipe. 

(5) Inlets and Outlets. Water supply inlets and 

outlets of finished water ground storage tanks 

and reservoirs shall be located and designed to 

provide circulation of the water and to meet the 

CT requirements in Section .2000 of this 

Subchapter. Baffles shall be constructed where 

necessary to provide thorough circulation of the 

water. 

(6) Drain Valves. All finished water ground storage 

tanks and reservoirs shall be equipped with 

drain valves that allow for unobstructed 

emptying of the tank. 

(b)  Elevated Storage Tanks: 

(1) Standards. The specifications for elevated 

tanks, stand-pipes, towers, paints, coatings, and 

other appurtenances shall meet the appropriate 

ANSI/AWWA Standards D100 11, D102 17, 
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and D103 09 of the American Water Works 

Association, Inc., incorporated by reference 

including any subsequent amendments and 

editions. Copies may be obtained for public 

inspection as set forth in Rule .0503 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) Elevation of Storage Tanks. The elevation of 

storage tanks shall be sufficient to produce a 

designed minimum distribution system 

pressure of 20 pounds per square inch at peak 

demand (fire flow) and 30 pounds per square 

inch during peak flow. 

(3) Elevated storage tanks shall be designed to 

minimize water age by avoiding short-

circuiting of flows and dead-zones. 

(4) Drain. Elevated storage tanks shall be equipped 

with drain valves that allow for unobstructed 

emptying of the tank. 

(c)  Hydropneumatic Storage Tanks, referred to in this Rule as 

Pressure Tanks: 

(1) Use of Pressure Tanks. Where well yields and 

pumping capacities are sufficient, pressure 

tanks may be used to control pumps, stabilize 

pressures, and provide a minimum of storage. 

Pressure tanks shall have the capacity to 

maintain a minimum pressure of 30 pounds per 

square inch throughout periods of peak flow. 

Pressure tanks shall not be considered 

acceptable for meeting total storage 

requirements for public water systems of over 

300 connections, except as provided in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(2) Corrosion Control. Pressure tanks shall be 

galvanized after fabrication and provided with 

an ANSI/NSF approved liner or coating in 

accordance with Rule .1537 of this Subchapter. 

(3) Required Parts. Pressure tanks shall have access 

manholes, bottom drains, pressure gauges, and 

properly sized safety and vacuum relief valves. 

(4) Controls. Automatic pressure and start-stop 

controls for the operation of pumps shall be 

provided. 

(5) Hydropneumatic Storage Tanks. 

Hydropneumatic storage tanks shall conform to 

the construction and inspection requirements 

for pressure vessels adopted by the North 

Carolina Department of Labor and codified in 

13 NCAC 13, incorporated by reference 

including any subsequent amendments and 

editions.  

(6) Appurtenances to pressure tanks, such as 

valves, drains, gauges, sight tubes, safety 

devices, air-water volume controls, and 

chemical feed lines, shall be protected against 

freezing. 

(d)  High Yield Aquifers: 

(1) Equipment. In lieu of providing elevated 

storage for public water systems over 300 

connections in areas where aquifers are known 

to produce high yields, such as 400-500 gpm 

from an eight-inch well, a system of extra well 

pumping capacity, auxiliary power generating 

equipment, pressure tanks, controls, alarms, 

and monitoring systems may be provided. The 

design and installation of such system shall 

assure that reliable, continuous service is 

provided. 

(2) Auxiliary Power. A system relying on high-

yield aquifers under Paragraph (d) of this Rule 

shall have an adequate number of wells 

equipped with sufficient pumping capacity so 

that the required flow rate will be maintained if 

the single largest capacity well and pump are 

out of operation. Auxiliary power generating 

equipment shall be provided for each well 

sufficient to operate the pump, lights, controls, 

chemical feeders, alarms, and other electrical 

equipment.  

(3) Pump Control. Pressure tanks designed in 

accordance with Paragraph (c) of this Rule and 

Section .0800 of this Subchapter shall be 

provided to maintain pressure and control the 

pump operation. 

(4) Alarm System. An alarm system shall be 

provided that will send a visual or audible 

signal to a constantly monitored location so that 

the water system operator will be advised of a 

primary power failure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; July 1, 1994; September 1, 1990; 

October 1, 1986; June 30, 1980;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0406 DISTRIBUTION SYSTEMS 

(a)  Water Pipe Materials. Water pipes shall be cast iron, ductile 

iron, reinforced concrete, plastic, or other material designed for 

potable water system service and shall meet AWWA standards, 

section C, or be certified as meeting the specifications of 

ANSI/NSF Standard 61 Drinking Water System Components – 

Health Effects, which is incorporated by reference including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of AWWA 

standards may be obtained for public inspection as set forth in 

Rule .0503 of this Subchapter. Copies of ANSI/NSF Standard 61 

may be obtained for public inspection as set forth in Rule .1537 

of this Subchapter. The pressure rating class of the pipe shall be 

in excess of the maximum design pressure within that section of 

the water distribution system. The quality of pipe to be used shall 

be stated in the project specifications. 

(b)  Cross-Connections. No person shall construct, maintain, or 

operate a physical arrangement whereby a public water system 

has a cross-connection without the use of proper backflow 

protection. 

(1) No person shall introduce any water into the 

distribution system of a public water supply 
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through any means other than from a source of 

supply duly approved by the Department or its 

representatives or make any physical 

connection between an approved supply and 

unapproved supply unless authorized in an 

emergency by the Department or its 

representative. 

(2) Service Connection Relation to Plumbing 

Code. No supplier of water shall provide a 

service connection to any plumbing system that 

does not comply with the North Carolina State 

Building Code, Volume II, and all applicable 

local plumbing codes. Where required, the 

supplier of water shall install or require to be 

installed an appropriate testable backflow 

prevention assembly prior to making the service 

connection. Design of backflow prevention 

assemblies for service connections shall not 

require Department review. 

(3) Connections Requiring Departmental Review. 

Connections between a public water system and 

the connection types in Parts (A) through (D) of 

this Subparagraph shall require review and 

approval by the Department prior to making the 

connection. Installation of a testable backflow 

prevention assembly or air gap shall be required 

if the connection is non-potable or unapproved. 

Engineering plans and specifications shall be 

submitted in accordance with Section .0300 of 

this Subchapter. 

(A) Any regulated public water system; 

(B) any community non-regulated public 

water system. Before providing a 

connection, a supplier of water shall 

ensure that the construction of the non-

regulated public water system either 

was approved in accordance with Rule 

.0301(a) of this Subchapter or that 

backflow prevention is provided in 

accordance with this Rule;  

(C) non-potable water treatment processes 

within a potable water treatment plant; 

and 

(D) all cross-connections between potable 

water supplies and non-potable or 

unprotected supplies that are not 

specifically addressed in this Rule or 

AWWA M-14 Backflow Prevention 

and Cross Connection Control.  

(4) Backflow Prevention Not Addressed by the 

Plumbing Code. The following requirements 

shall apply to backflow prevention not 

addressed by the plumbing code. 

(A) Testable backflow prevention 

assemblies shall meet American 

Society of Sanitary Engineering 

(ASSE) standards and carry an ASSE 

seal, be on the University of Southern 

California approval list for testable 

backflow prevention assemblies, or be 

on the North Carolina State Plumbing 

Code approval list for approved 

testable backflow prevention 

assemblies. 

(B) For each identified water treatment 

process-related hazard, the supplier of 

water shall provide the appropriate 

backflow prevention assembly or 

method to protect the water supply and 

water treatment employees, in 

accordance with AWWA M-14 

Backflow Prevention and Cross 

Connection Control. 

(C) No person shall fill special use tanks 

or tankers containing pesticides, 

fertilizers, other toxic chemicals, or 

their residues from a public water 

system except at a location equipped 

with an over-the-rim free discharge of 

water or a reduced pressure backflow 

preventer properly installed on the 

public water supply. No supplier of 

water shall permit the filling of such 

special use tanks or tankers except at 

locations so equipped. 

(D) A supplier of water shall not authorize 

for construction or other temporary, 

non-emergency use connections to 

hydrants that are not equipped with an 

approved air gap or an installed 

reduced pressure principle backflow 

prevention assembly. 

(E) If storage capacity is used only for 

non-potable purposes and there is 

installed either an elevated or ground 

tank or a ground reservoir, the 

following precautions shall be taken: 

(i) If the reservoir or tank is 

filled from a supply other 

than a public water supply 

and the public water supply is 

used as a supplemental 

supply, the pipeline from the 

public water supply shall be 

installed with an air gap. 

(ii) If the reservoir or tank is 

filled entirely by water from 

a public water supply and: 

(I) a covered ground 

reservoir or covered 

elevated tank is 

used, an approved 

reduced pressure 

back-flow preventer 

or an approved 

double check valve 

assembly shall be 

used; or 
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(II) an uncovered 

ground reservoir or 

uncovered elevated 

tank is used, an air 

gap shall be 

required. 

(F) Installation. The following installation 

requirements shall be met, where 

applicable. 

(i) Backflow prevention 

assemblies shall be installed 

in accordance with 

manufacturers' 

recommendations and 

specifications and shall not 

be modified in the field. 

(ii) Back-flow prevention 

assemblies shall be located 

and installed in such a 

manner as to function as 

designed; be accessible for 

testing, maintenance, and 

inspection; and include all 

necessary test cocks and 

drains for testing. Valves 

shall be installed in the line at 

both ends of the back-flow 

prevention device to provide 

for replacement and 

maintenance. 

(iii) Bypass lines parallel to a 

backflow prevention 

assembly shall have an 

approved backflow 

prevention assembly 

installed that is equal to that 

on the main line. 

(iv) Reduced pressure principle 

assemblies shall be installed 

above ground or below 

ground in a vault with 

positive gravity drainage to 

atmosphere employing a 

drain of sufficient size to 

handle the full flow of 

discharge from a discharging 

assembly, 12-inch minimum 

clearance from vault walls 

and floor, and in accordance 

with manufacturer's 

recommendations. A reduced 

pressure principle assembly 

may be installed as protection 

for either a high-health or 

low-health hazard. 

(v) Double check valve 

assemblies shall be installed 

either vertically or horizontal 

and above ground or below 

ground in a vault with 

positive gravity drainage to 

the atmosphere. A double 

check valve assembly shall 

be installed as protection for 

a low-health hazard only. 

(vi) Pressure vacuum breaker 

assemblies shall be installed 

only where there is no 

possibility of a pressure 

higher than the supply 

pressure caused by a pump, 

elevated tank, boiler, air or 

steam pressure, or any other 

means which may cause 

backflow, and in accordance 

with manufacturer's 

recommendations. A 

pressure vacuum breaker 

shall be installed as 

protection for a high-health 

or low-health hazard that is 

subject to backsiphonage 

only and with no 

backpressure. 

(5) Interconnection to a public water system shall 

be subject to the approval of the supplier of 

water and shall not be made until authorized by 

the supplier of water. 

(6) A community or non-transient non-community 

public water system with five or more testable 

backflow prevention assemblies protecting the 

distribution system, as required pursuant to this 

Rule, shall maintain the following records 

beginning on January 1, 2020: 

(A) records of the location, type, 

installation date, size, and the 

associated degree of hazard of 

backflow prevention devices whose 

failure would create a high-health 

hazard;  

(B) a description of specific ongoing 

plans, actions, or schedules to 

inventory existing backflow 

prevention devices under Part 

(b)(5)(A) of this Rule and to identify 

and address all uncontrolled cross-

connection hazards; 

(C) final results of all backflow prevention 

assembly field testing and air gap 

inspections; and 

(D) review of new service connections and 

existing service connections during a 

change of the account owner to ensure 

all required backflow prevention 

devices are properly installed and 

tested. 

(E) a supplier of water which contracts 

with a third-party to implement any 
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part of their cross-connection program 

may allow records required by this 

Paragraph to be maintained on the 

premises of the third-party, as long as 

the records are available on demand by 

the supplier of water. 

(F) program records under Part (C) of this 

Subparagraph shall be maintained for 

a minimum of four years. Remaining 

records referred to in this Paragraph 

shall be maintained while still current 

or in use. 

(7) Each supplier of water shall notify the 

Department of any known incident of backflow 

into the public water system that creates a risk 

of contamination as soon as practical upon 

discovery of the incident but no later than the 

end of the next business day. If requested by the 

Department, the supplier of water shall submit 

a written report of the incident describing the 

nature and severity of the backflow, the actions 

taken by the supplier of water in response to the 

incident, and the action plan intended to prevent 

such incidents in the future. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; September 1, 1990; December 1, 

1988; June 30, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0408 LEAD FREE CONSTRUCTION 

(a)  All pipe, pipe fitting, solder or flux used in the installation or 

repair of a public water system shall be lead free. 

(b)  "Lead free" means: 

(1) not containing more than 0.2 percent lead when 

used with respect to solder and flux; and 

(2) not more than a weighted average of 0.25 

percent lead when used with respect to the 

wetted surfaces of pipes, pipe fittings, plumbing 

fittings, and fixtures. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. June 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0409 SERVICE CONNECTIONS 

(a)  Local Water Supply Plan. Units of local government that are 

operating under a local water supply plan in accordance with G.S. 

143-355(l) shall not be limited in the number of service 

connections. 

(b)  No local water supply plan. A public water system that does 

not have a local water supply plan as stated in Paragraph (a) shall 

limit its number of service connections as follows: 

(1) A public water system shall meet the daily flow 

requirements specified in Table 1: 

 

Table 1: Daily Flow Requirements 

 

              Type of Service Connection  Daily Flow for Design 

 Residential 400 gallon/connection 

 Mobile Home Parks 250 gallon/connection 

 Campgrounds and Travel Trailer Parks 100 gallon/space 

 Marina 10 gallon/boat slip 

 Marina with bathhouse 30 gallon/boat slip 

 Rest Homes and Nursing Homes  

          with laundry 120 gallon/bed 

          without laundry 60 gallon/bed 

 Schools 15 gallon/student 

 Day Care Facilities 15 gallon/student 

 Construction, work, or summer camps 60 gallon/person 

 Business, office, factory (exclusive of industrial use) 

         without showers 25 gallon/person/shift 

         with showers 35 gallon/person/shift 

 Hospitals 300 gallon/bed 

or; 

 

(2) A public water system shall meet the daily flow 

requirements calculated as follows: 

(A) If records of the previous year are 

available that reflect daily usage, the 

average of the two highest consecutive 

days of record of the water treated 

shall be the value used to determine if 

there is capacity to serve additional 

service connections. Unusual events, 

such as massive line breaks or line 

flushings, shall not be considered. 

(B) If complete daily records of water 

treated are not available, the public 

water system shall multiply the daily 
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average use based on the amount of 

water treated during the previous year 

of record by the appropriate factor to 

determine maximum daily demand, as 

follows: 

(i) A system serving a 

population of 10,000 or less 

shall multiply the daily 

average use by 2.5; or 

(ii) A system serving a 

population greater than 

10,000 shall multiply the 

daily average use by 2.0. 

(c)  A supplier of water shall include the impact that demands 

from anticipated in-ground irrigation systems, multi-family units, 

or vacation rental homes will have on the daily flow needs 

determined in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  If two years of metered usage data exists, a supplier of water 

may recalculate the daily flow requirements based on the actual 

usage. If actual demands are lower than the projected demand, 

recovered supply may be used to support additional connections 

in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(e)  A supplier of water shall be exempt from using Table 1 in 

Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule and any other design flow 

standards established by the Department or the Commission to 

determine the daily flow requirements, provided that a 

professional engineer licensed pursuant to G.S. 89C prepares, 

seals, and signs documentation supporting alternative daily flow 

requirements that are sufficient to sustain the water usage required 

in the engineering design by using low-flow fixtures or flow 

reduction technologies. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0503 OTHER DESIGN STANDARDS 

In evaluating public water systems or water system design 

features, in addition to the rules in this Subchapter, the 

Department shall consider standards from the American Water 

Works Association or Recommended Standards for Water Works 

– Policies for the Review and Approval of Plans and 

Specifications for Public Water Supplies by the Great Lakes – 

Upper Mississippi River Board of State and Provincial Public 

Health and Environmental Managers which are incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies of the American Water Works Association standards may 

be obtained from the American Water Works Association, 6666 

W. Quincy Avenue, Denver, Colorado 80235 with costs 

determined by the American Water Works Association and 

available at www.awwa.org/Publications/Standards. Copies of 

the Recommended Standards for Water Works may be obtained 

from the Minnesota Department of Administration available at 

https://www.mnbookstore.com/other/miscellaneous-state-

agency-products/miscellaneous/recommended-standards-water-

14349.html and for a cost of nineteen dollars and ninety-five cents 

($19.95). An electronic copy can be obtained at no cost from the 

Minnesota Department of Health website, located at 

https://www.health.state.mn.us/communities/environment/water/

tenstates/standards.html. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. July 1, 2019 (this Rule was previously codified in 15A NCAC 

18C .0715). 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0601 IMPOUNDMENTS: PRE-

SETTLING RESERVOIRS 

(a)  Construction of a pre-settling reservoir shall be required if 

wide and rapid variations in turbidity, bacterial concentrations, or 

chemical qualities occur, or where the following raw water quality 

standards are not met: turbidity - 150 NTU, coliform bacteria - 

3000/100 ml, fecal coliform bacteria - 300/100 ml, or color - 75 

CU. If impoundment of the water supply stream does not or will 

not provide raw water of acceptable quality, a pre-settling 

reservoir located outside the watershed or catchment area shall be 

required. 

(b)  The Department shall approve alternatives to pre-settling 

reservoirs if a supplier of water demonstrates that engineered 

pretreatment providing an additional treatment barrier to low raw 

water quality will be installed and that the overall designed 

treatment process will comply with all other applicable 

requirements of this Subchapter. Pilot plant studies under Rule 

.0714 of this Subchapter shall be required to demonstrate 

treatment effectiveness unless operational data demonstrating 

treatment effectiveness for the variety of water quality that is 

experienced at the treatment facility are already available. 

(c)  The Department shall approve capacity increases at existing 

surface water treatment facilities without addition or up-sizing of 

pre-settling reservoirs if: 

(1) historical data or full-scale pilot studies 

demonstrate that the plant will provide 

treatment in accordance with this Subchapter 

without additional pre-settling; or 

(2) the use of alternative technology alleviates the 

need for additional pre-settling. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0703 MECHANICAL 

FLOCCULATION 

(a)  Basin Inlet and Outlet. The design of inlets and outlets of 

flocculation basins shall prevent short circuiting of the water and 

destruction or deterioration of the floc. 

(b)  Detention Period. The flocculation basins shall have a 

theoretical detention period of not less than 30 minutes. 

(c)  Agitator Control. The agitators of flocculation basins shall be 

equipped with variable speed controls. 

(d)  Paddles. Peripheral speed and paddle configuration shall be 

designed to obtain optimum velocity gradient. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 
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Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0706 SEDIMENTATION BASINS 

(a)  Inlets. Inlets to sedimentation basins shall be designed to 

dissipate inlet velocities before the diffusion walls or before other 

entrance arrangements designed to provide uniform flow across 

the basins. 

(b)  Detention Period. A theoretical detention period of four hours 

shall be the minimum standard unless case specific engineering 

evidence is presented to demonstrate equivalent treatment 

efficiency at a shorter period of detention. 

(c)  Bottom of Basin. The bottom of the basin shall be sloped and 

provided with a drain valve or valves for removal of sludge. 

(d)  Outlet. Sedimentation basin outlets shall consist of submerged 

weirs or orifices. The equivalent rate of flow over or through the 

outlet device shall not exceed 20,000 gallons per day per foot of 

equivalent weir length. 

(e)  Overflow. Sedimentation basins shall be equipped with an 

overflow pipe or pipes to limit the maximum water level over the 

filters and to prevent flooding above the walls of filters and basins. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0707 SOLIDS CONTACT OR UP-

FLOW UNITS 

(a)  Approval of Solids Contact or Up-Flow Units. Solids contact 

or up-flow clarification units shall be approved only if raw water 

characteristics are constant and shall not be approved for raw 

waters that have wide and rapid variations in turbidity or other 

qualities that adversely affect the treatment process. 

(b)  Water Rise Rate. The rise rate shall not exceed 1.0 gallon per 

minute per square foot of clarification area.  

(c)  Weir Loading. Weir loading shall not exceed 10 gallons per 

minute per foot of weir length. Horizontal flow to the collection 

trough shall not exceed 10 feet. 

(d)  Speed Agitator Equipment. Mixing and flocculation shall be 

accomplished by means of adjustable, variable speed agitator 

equipment. 

(e)  Sludge Withdrawal. Sludge withdrawal equipment shall 

include an intermittent sludge removal mechanism controlled by 

an adjustable automatic timer. 

(f)  Basin Drain. The basin shall be provided with a bottom drain 

that is of sufficient size to empty the basin in two hours or less. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0708 GRAVITY FILTERS 

(a)  Filtration Rates. The standard rate of filtration for a single 

media filter shall be two gallons per minute per square foot. 

Higher filtration rates up to four gallons per minute per square 

foot may be approved for dual media or multi-media filters. 

Filtration rates in excess of four gallons per minute per square foot 

may be approved subject to pilot plant or plant scale 

demonstrations conducted in accordance with Rule .0714 of this 

Section, and demonstrated equivalent treatment efficiency based 

on case-specific engineering evidence. 

(b)  Wash Water Rate. The backwash rate of flow shall be 

designed to theoretically expand the filter media 50 percent. 

(c)  Rate Control Devices. Rate control equipment shall be 

provided to control or regulate the filtration rate and the backwash 

rate. If declining rate filtration is to be used, orifice plates shall be 

installed on each filter effluent pipe to control maximum filtration 

rates. 

(d)  Surface Washers. Filter beds shall be equipped with a 

revolving or fixed system of nozzles designed for agitation of the 

entire beds. 

(e)  Gauges and Flow Indicators. Gauges or meters shall be 

installed to indicate the rate of filtration, the loss of head, and the 

backwash rate for every filter. 

(f)  Filter Media: 

(1) Filter Sand. Filter sand shall be clean silica sand 

having: 

(A) an effective size of 0.35 mm to 0.55 

mm; 

(B) a uniformity coefficient of not more 

than 1.70; 

(C) a dust content passing 150 mesh tyler 

of less than 0.5 percent; and 

(D) a minimum depth of at least 24 inches. 

(2) Anthracite Filter Media. If anthracite coal is 

used as a single filter media, it shall have an 

effective size of 0.35 mm to 0.55 mm and a 

uniformity coefficient of 1.70 or less. Minimum 

depth of the media shall be 24 inches. 

(3) Dual Media or Multi-media Filters. Particle 

sizes in dual media and mixed media filter beds 

shall be within 0.15 mm to 1.2 mm. Influent 

water quality shall be considered in specifying 

particle sizes of mixed media beds. The 

minimum depth of the filter media shall be 24 

inches. 

(g)  Supporting Media and Underdrain System. The underdrain 

system and layers of gravel or other media supporting the filter 

media shall be designed to provide uniform filtration and uniform 

backwash throughout the filter media. 

(h)  Wash Water Troughs Elevation. The elevation of the bottom 

of the wash water troughs for new installations shall be above the 

maximum level of the expanded media during washing at the 

normal design wash water rate. The elevation of the top of the 

wash water troughs shall provide a two-inch freeboard above the 

expanded media at the maximum rate of wash. 

(i)  Turbidity Monitoring. Turbidimeters employing the 

nephelometric method, which measures the intensity of scattered 
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light, shall be provided for the continuous determination of the 

turbidities of filtered water from each filter unit. 

(j)  Sampling Tap. A tap shall be installed for sampling of the 

effluent from each filter. 

(k)  Multiple Filter Units. Two or more filter units shall be 

provided such that the annual average daily demand can be 

satisfied at the approved filtration rate with one filter removed 

from service. 

(l)  Structural Design. Filters shall have vertical walls with no 

protrusions or curvature. Floors of filter rooms shall be designed 

to prevent flooding or spillage into filters through overflow 

drainage and a minimum of four-inch curbs around the filters. 

(m)  Filter to Waste. All filters shall have provisions for filtering 

to waste with backflow prevention. 

(n)  Filter Backwash. Backwash capacity to ensure cleaning of the 

filters shall be provided. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; January 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0711 ALTERNATIVE FILTRATION 

TREATMENT TECHNOLOGIES 

A public water system may propose an alternative filtration 

treatment technology as provided in Rule .2003 of this 

Subchapter. The Department shall approve alternative filtration 

treatment technologies when the following conditions have been 

met and equivalent treatment efficiency, based on case-specific 

engineering evidence, has been demonstrated.  

(1) The source waters shall be derived from WS-I, 

WS-II, or WS-III watersheds.  

(2) The raw water quality standards and 

fluctuations shall be as specified in Rule 

.0710(6) of this Section, except that the 

following maximum concentrations shall be 

allowed in the influent water to the water 

treatment plant: Turbidity - 20 NTU, coliform - 

500/100 ml, fecal coliform - 50/100 ml, and 

color - 20 CU. 

(3) Off-stream pre-treatment or storage shall be 

provided as specified in Rule .0710 of this 

Section, except that the raw water quality 

standards of Item (2) of this Rule shall be 

maintained in the water treatment plant influent 

water. 

(4) If the proposed water treatment plant employs 

treatment techniques that are consistent with 

this Subchapter, a pilot study shall be conducted 

in accordance with Rule .0714 of this Section. 

(5) If the pilot study demonstrates that the proposed 

water treatment plant can produce water that 

complies with all requirements of this 

Subchapter, engineering plans and 

specifications for the proposed plant and 

appurtenances shall be presented to the 

Department for review and approval prior to 

construction or letting a construction contract. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0713 PRESSURE FILTERS 

(a)  Pressure filters shall not be used in treatment of surface waters 

without prior coagulation and flocculation. 

(b)  Pressure filters shall be approved for treatment of existing 

groundwater sources under the influence of surface water under 

the following conditions: 

(1) design standards for gravity filters shall meet 

the requirements set forth in Rule .0708 of this 

Section;  

(2) overall plant design shall comply with Rule 

.0404 of this Subchapter; 

(3) special design or operational features or 

modifications shall be provided when needed 

due to the water quality or the design of the 

proposed filter; 

(4) if the proposed water treatment plant employs 

treatment techniques that are consistent with 

this Subchapter, a pilot plant study shall be 

conducted in accordance with Rule .0714 of this 

Section; and 

(5) if the pilot study demonstrates that the proposed 

plant can produce water that complies with all 

requirements of this Subchapter, engineering 

plans and specifications for the proposed plant 

and appurtenances shall be presented to the 

Department for review and approval prior to 

construction or letting a construction contract. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0714 PILOT PLANT STUDIES 

(a)  A pilot plant study proposal shall be submitted to the 

Department for approval before the study is conducted. 

The proposal shall be approved if it meets all of the following 

conditions and includes all of the following information: 

(1) An engineering report shall describe the 

proposed study and shall include the 

information and data to justify the use of the 

particular plant to treat the source water. 

(2) The proposed plant shall employ treatment 

techniques that are consistent with this 

Subchapter. 

(3) The pilot plant shall be of the same design and 

operation as the proposed plant. 

(4) A protocol for conducting the study shall be 

submitted that includes the duration, testing 

procedures, reporting procedures, plant scale, 
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and other factors that affect the proposed plant 

operation. 

(5) The study shall be conducted over a time 

sufficient to treat all worst-case source water 

conditions expected through the year. 

(b)  Pilot plant finished water shall not be approved by the 

Department for introduction into a public water system unless 

case specific engineering evidence is presented to demonstrate 

that it will not adversely impact compliance with water quality 

requirements specified in this Subchapter.  

(c)  A model plant may be proposed without on-site testing if the 

proposed plant or pilot plant has met the following conditions: 

(1) been tested under worst case conditions on 

similar water; 

(2) achieved the required log inactivation and 

removal under Section .2000 of this Subchapter 

for Giardia, Cryptosporidium, and viruses; and 

(3) achieved a maximum of 0.3 NTU turbidity 

levels 95 percent of the time in filtered effluent.  

(d)  The pilot plant shall comply with the provisions of Section 

.2000 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  If the proposal includes a change of treatment as defined in 

Rule .1507 Corrosion Control and Lead and Copper Monitoring 

of this Subchapter, the pilot study shall consider the effect of the 

proposed changes in compliance with lead, copper, and water 

quality parameters. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0715 OTHER DESIGN STANDARDS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2019 (this rule was recodified to 15A NCAC 

18C .0503). 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0803 CAPACITIES: DETERMINING 

TOTAL VOLUME 

The total volume of a pressure tank shall be calculated by 

applying the principle of Boyle's Law as set forth in this Rule.  

(1) For a mobile home park, the total volume 

measured in gallons shall be not less than 25 

times the number of connections or 500 gallons, 

whichever is greater.  

(2) For a residential community water system the 

total volume shall not be less than 40 times the 

number of connections or 500 gallons, 

whichever is greater.  

(3) For a campground, the total volume shall not be 

less than 10 times the number of connections or 

500 gallons, whichever is greater. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; March 31, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0904 PIPE LAYING 

(a)  Trenching, pipe laying, and backfilling shall be accomplished 

in a manner to prevent damage to and misalignment of the pipe. 

Water mains shall be buried to a depth below the frost line or to a 

depth sufficient to provide a minimum of 30 inches cover, 

whichever is greater. In cases where it is impracticable to provide 

30 inches of cover taking into consideration feasibility and cost, a 

deviation may be approved on a case-by-case basis, if supported 

by data from the design engineer including consideration of pipe 

material, cover material, land cover, land use, land slope, the 

depth of the frost line, and the location of other utilities. 

(b)  To allow for construction and repair, a minimum distance of 

12 inches shall be maintained between the outside of the water 

main and the outside of other utilities. 

(c)  If an engineer demonstrates it is impractical to maintain the 

separation distances required by this Rule, taking into 

consideration feasibility, cost, and the factors set forth in this 

Paragraph, a deviation may be approved on a case-by-case basis 

if supported by data and alterative construction criteria submitted 

by the design engineer. Data and alterative construction criteria 

submitted by the design engineer to justify the deviation shall 

describe: 

(1) the rationale for determining that separation 

criteria described in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of 

this Rule are impracticable; 

(2) the extent of the deviation from separation 

criteria in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule; 

(3) a consideration of pipe materials, pressure 

ratings, type of joints for water main and non-

potable water line, and soil conditions; 

(4) the ability to provide adequate work space to 

repair or replace pipe segments or other utility 

infrastructure without causing damage to or 

otherwise compromising the integrity of pipes; 

and 

(5) the rationale for determining that the deviation 

will not result in unreasonable risk to public 

health. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .0906 RELATION OF WATER MAINS 

TO NON-POTABLE WATER LINES 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, sewer shall mean any existing 

or proposed gravity or force main used to convey sanitary or 

industrial process waste. 
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(b)  Lateral Separation of Sewers and Water Mains. Water mains 

shall be laid at least 10 feet laterally from existing or proposed 

sewers, unless local conditions or barriers prevent a 10-foot lateral 

separation, in which case: 

(1) the water main shall be laid in a separate trench, 

with the elevation of the bottom of the water 

main at least 18 inches above the top of the 

sewer; or 

(2) the water main shall be laid in the same trench 

as the sewer, with the water main located at one 

side on a bench of undisturbed earth and with 

the elevation of the bottom of the water main at 

least 18 inches above the top of the sewer. 

(c)  Crossings. A water main that crosses a sewer shall be laid a 

minimum vertical distance of 18 inches from the outside of the 

water main and the outside of the sewer, either above or below the 

sewer, with preference to the water main located above the sewer. 

One full length of water pipe shall be located so that both joints 

will be as far from the sewer as possible. 

(d)  Water Mains and Storm Sewer Pipes. Pipes carrying storm 

drainage shall be separated from water lines in accordance with 

Rule .0904 of this Section. 

(e)  Water Mains and Reclaimed Water Distribution Lines. Water 

lines shall be located at least 10 feet horizontally from or at least 

18 inches above water pipes carrying treated and disinfected 

wastewater in reclaimed water distribution lines. Crossings shall 

be made in accordance with Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(f)  Special Conditions. If an engineer demonstrates it is 

impracticable to maintain the separation distances required by this 

Rule, taking into consideration feasibility, cost, and the factors set 

forth in this Paragraph, the deviation may be approved on a case-

by-case basis, if supported by data and alternative construction 

criteria provided by the design engineer. Data and alternative 

construction criteria submitted by the design engineer to justify 

the deviation must describe: 

(1) the rationale for determining that separation 

criteria described in this Rule are impracticable; 

(2) the extent of the deviation from separation 

criteria in this Rule; 

(3) a consideration of pipe materials, pressure 

ratings, type of joints for water main and non-

potable water line, and soil conditions; 

(4) the ability to provide adequate work space to 

repair or replace pipe segments or other utility 

infrastructure without causing damage to or 

otherwise compromising the integrity of pipes; 

and 

(5) the rationale for determining that the deviation 

will not result in unreasonable risk to public 

health. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1002 DISINFECTION OF WELLS 

(a)  After construction, servicing, maintenance, or any other 

activity or event that might lead to contamination of the water, 

wells shall be disinfected in accordance with ANSI/AWWA 

C654-13, "Disinfection of Wells." Copies may be obtained for 

public inspection as set forth in Rule .0503 of this Subchapter.  

(b)  After disinfection, wells shall not be placed into service until 

bacteriological test results of representative water samples 

analyzed by a certified laboratory are found to be satisfactory. 

(c)  Records demonstrating compliance with ANSI/AWWA 

Standard C654-13 shall be available for three years for inspection 

by the Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1003 DISINFECTION OF STORAGE 

TANKS AND DISTRIBUTION SYSTEMS 

(a)  Water distribution systems, including storage tanks and water 

mains, after flushing to remove sediment and other foreign matter, 

and after testing for leaks, shall be disinfected in accordance with 

ANSI/AWWA Standard C652-11; "Disinfection of Water Storage 

Facilities" or in accordance with ANSI/AWWA C651-14; 

"Disinfection of Water Mains." Copies may be obtained for public 

inspection as set forth in Rule .0503 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  After disinfection, water storage or distribution facilities shall 

not be placed into service until bacteriological test results of 

representative water samples analyzed by a certified laboratory 

are found to be satisfactory. 

(c)  Records demonstrating compliance with ANSI/AWWA 

Standards C652-11 or ANSI/AWWA Standard 651-14 shall be 

available for three years for inspection by the Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1004 DISINFECTION OF WATER 

TREATMENT FACILITIES 

(a)  New water treatment facilities and existing water treatment 

facilities taken out of service for cleaning, inspection, 

maintenance, painting, repair, or other activities or events that 

might lead to contamination of water shall be disinfected in 

accordance with ANSI/AWWA Standard C653-13, "Disinfection 

of Water Treatment Facilities." Copies may be obtained for public 

inspection as set forth in Rule .0503 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  After disinfection the water treatment facilities shall not be 

placed into service until bacteriological test results of 

representative water samples analyzed by a certified laboratory 

are found to be satisfactory. 
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(c)  Records demonstrating compliance with ANSI/AWWA 

Standard C653-13 shall be available for three years for inspection 

by the Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-317; P.L. 93-

523; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1406 CONTROL OF FLUORIDE 

PROCESS 

(a)  Fluoride Levels. Fluoride levels shall not exceed the MCL set 

forth in Rule .1510 of this Subchapter. A supplier of water that is 

adding fluoride to the treated water shall maintain the following 

fluoride levels: 

(1) an operational control range for fluoride of 0.6 

mg/l to 1.0 mg/l shall be established; 

(2) the monthly average of the daily measurements 

at the entry point to the distribution system shall 

be within the operational control range; and 

(3) 80 percent of the daily measurements at the 

entry point to the distribution system shall be 

within the operational control range. 

(b)  A water treatment plant operator certified pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 18D shall conduct the necessary chemical analyses and 

supervise application of the fluoride. 

(c)  Sample Location and Frequency. 

(1) Daily Monitoring. A supplier of water shall 

measure the fluoride concentration at least once 

per day at each entry point to the distribution 

system with fluoridated water. 

(2) Split Samples. One entry point sample collected 

pursuant to Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule 

shall be split equally on a monthly basis. One 

portion shall be analyzed by water system 

personnel and the other portion analyzed by the 

North Carolina State Laboratory for Public 

Health or another laboratory certified to analyze 

drinking water samples for fluoride by the 

North Carolina State Laboratory of Public 

Health. A supplier of water that has all fluoride 

samples under this Rule analyzed by a 

laboratory certified to analyze drinking water 

samples for fluoride by the North Carolina State 

Laboratory for Public Health shall not be 

required to conduct split sampling. 

(3) Distribution System Monitoring. The supplier 

of water of a public water system that has 

multiple entry points that are either not all 

fluoridated or the fluoride level at an entry point 

to the distribution system is not within the range 

set forth in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 

shall conduct sampling as follows: 

(A) measure the fluoride concentration in 

the distribution system at least two 

times per month; 

(B) one sample per month shall be a split 

sample and analyzed in accordance 

with Subparagraph (c)(2) of this Rule; 

(C) sample sites shall be rotated 

throughout the distribution system at 

monitoring locations approved for 

coliform compliance sampling; and 

(D) sample results shall be available for 

review by the Department upon 

request. 

(4) Annual Raw Water Sample. A supplier of water 

shall measure the fluoride concentration of the 

raw water at least annually by a laboratory 

certified to analyze fluoride in drinking water 

by the North Carolina State Laboratory of 

Public Health. 

(5) Discrepancies. A supplier of water shall 

compare the results of the split samples and 

shall consult with the North Carolina State 

Laboratory of Public Health to investigate and 

resolve all discrepancies greater than 15 percent 

within 30 days of receipt. 

(d)  Analysis Methods. The fluoride content of water shall be 

determined in accordance with methods set forth in Rule .1508 of 

this Subchapter. 

(e)  Monthly Reporting. Records of all fluoride analyses 

performed in accordance with Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule, 

shall be recorded on forms approved by the Department and 

submitted to the Department monthly. The forms shall specify the 

sample dates, times, locations, and results. Fluoride results 

performed by certified laboratories in accordance with 

Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule, shall be reported by the certified 

laboratory electronically in a format prescribed by the 

Department. 

(f)  Reporting Exceedances. Any fluoride result above the MCL 

set forth in Rule .1510 of this Subchapter shall be reported to the 

Department as soon as possible, but in all cases within 24 hours 

after receipt of the analysis. 

(g)  Fluoride Products. All fluoridation products used by a public 

water system shall meet the requirements of Rule .1537 of this 

Subchapter. 

(h)  Discontinuation of Fluoridation. Prior to the discontinuation 

of fluoride addition, a supplier of water shall provide to the 

Department and the Department of Health and Human Services, 

Oral Health Section, copies of documentation by the unit of local 

government or the governing body operating the community 

water system that: 

(1) the resolution provided in the formal 

application to add fluoride has been rescinded 

or replaced; and 

(2) the local board of health has been notified. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-29; 130A-316; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; July 1, 1994; September 1, 1990; 

December 17, 1979; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 18C .1507 CORROSION CONTROL AND 

LEAD AND COPPER MONITORING 

(a)  Control and adjustment of pH shall be provided for 

community water systems having water with a pH below 6.5. This 

control and adjustment shall be approved by the Department 

pursuant to the rules in Section .0300 of this Subchapter. If the 

community water system is also required to install corrosion 

control treatment to comply with (c) of this Rule, it shall meet the 

minimum pH level required pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(b)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.42 are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart I - Control of Lead 

and Copper are incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies may be obtained as set forth in 

Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. September 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1982; February 27, 1982; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1621 Eff. April 

4, 1990; Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; July 1, 1994; October 1, 

1992; December 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1508 INORGANIC CHEMICAL 

SAMPLING AND ANALYSIS 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.23 are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies may be 

obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. In 

addition, two or more water systems that are adjacent, that are 

owned or operated by the same supplier of water, and that together 

serve 15 or more service connections or 25 or more persons shall 

submit samples every three years from each section of the water 

system that is supplied from a separate source. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. September 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1989; February 1, 1987; October 1, 1986; 

April 1, 1983; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1625 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; July 1, 1994; April 1, 1992; 

December 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1509 SPECIAL MONITORING FOR 

SODIUM 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.41 are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies may be 

obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(a) and (b) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. February 27, 1982; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1636 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; July 1, 1994; September 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1511 CONCENTRATION OF IRON 

The requirements of this Rule shall apply only to community 

water systems. A community water system that has an iron 

concentration in excess of 0.30 mg/l shall provide treatment to 

control the water quality. Analysis of samples shall be made on 

an as needed basis determined by the Department and shall 

include the addition of a new well or other raw water source, an 

approval of a new community water system, an approval of an 

existing system not previously approved, or problems and 

complaints of water quality normally associated with iron 

concentration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. September 1, 1979; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1619 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1512 CONCENTRATION OF 

MANGANESE 

The requirements of this Rule shall apply only to community 

water systems. A community water system that has a manganese 

concentration in excess of 0.05 mg/l shall provide treatment to 

control the water quality. Analysis of samples shall be made on 

an as needed basis determined by the Department. Such as needed 

basis shall include an addition of a new well or other raw water 

source, an approval of a new community water system, an 

approval of an existing system not previously approved, or 

problems and complaints of water quality normally associated 

with manganese concentration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. September 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. September 9, 1980; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1620 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1515 ORGANIC CHEMICALS OTHER 

THAN TTHM, SAMPLING AND ANALYSIS 

(a)  The requirements of this Rule shall apply to community and 

non-transient non-community water systems. The provisions of 

40 C.F.R. 141.24 are incorporated by reference, including 
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subsequent amendments and editions. Copies may be obtained as 

set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter.  

(b)  If the result of an analysis made pursuant to Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule indicates that the level of any contaminant regulated 

under this Subchapter exceeds the maximum contaminant level, 

the supplier of water shall report to the Department within 48 

hours of receipt of the analytical result. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. September 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; December 1, 1988; June 1, 

1988; October 1, 1982; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1624 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1992; 

December 1, 1991; September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1516 SPECIAL MONITORING FOR 

UNREGULATED CONTAMINANTS 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.40 are incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies are 

available for public inspection as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-313; 130A-315; P.L. 93-

523; 40 C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. June 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1638 Eff. April 

4, 1990; Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; July 1, 1994; April 1, 1992; 

December 1, 1991; August 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1519 MONITORING FREQUENCY 

FOR RADIOACTIVITY 

The requirements of this Rule shall apply to community water 

systems and community adjacent water systems, as defined in 

G.S. 130A-315(b2). The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.26 are 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions. Copies may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of 

this Subchapter.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-313; 130A-315; P.L. 93-

523; 40 C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. September 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1989; September 9, 1980; December 19, 

1979; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1627 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; August 1, 2002; July 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1523 PUBLIC NOTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart Q – Public 

Notification of Drinking Water Violations are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. As 

authorized by 40 C.F.R. 141.205(c)(2), the Department has 

determined that multi-lingual notice shall be given if 30 percent 

or more of the consumers served by the system are non-English 

speaking. Copies may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of 

this Subchapter. 

(b)  Special notification for distribution system samples. The 

requirements of this Paragraph shall be in addition to the public 

notice requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule and to 

the reporting requirements contained in Rule .1525 of this 

Subchapter. If a distribution sample that is required to be reported 

to the Division is taken from the plumbing of a school or daycare, 

place of residence, or location supplying permanent or temporary 

housing, the supplier of water shall notify the billing customer at 

the sampled address if any individual water sample exceeds an 

action level, maximum contaminant level, or maximum residual 

disinfectant level established in this Subchapter or if any 

individual sample is positive for E. coli or any other fecal 

indicator, as follows: 

(1) For a contaminant listed as Tier 1 in Appendix 

A to 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart Q, notice shall be 

provided within 24 hours of receipt of 

analytical results. If the initial contact is by 

telephone, written notice by mail or direct 

delivery shall also be provided within 48 hours 

of analytical results. The written notice shall 

include the analytical results and appropriate 

health effects language as required by 

Appendix B to 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart Q. 

(2) For a contaminant listed as Tier 2 or Tier 3 in 

Appendix A to 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart Q, notice 

shall be provided within 48 hours of receipt of 

analytical results. Written notice shall be 

provided by mail or direct delivery and shall 

include the analytical results and appropriate 

health effects language as required by 

Appendix B to 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart Q. 

(3) The supplier of water shall submit a copy of the 

written notice and certification of delivery to 

the Department within 10 days of completing 

notification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1642 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; October 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; 

April 1, 1992; December 1, 1991; January 1, 1991; October 1, 

1990; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 18C .1524 REPORTING FOR 

UNREGULATED CONTAMINANT MONITORING 

RESULTS 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.35 are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies may be 

obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. June 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1640 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1525 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all public water 

systems. The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.31 are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

Any dates set forth in the federal rule shall be applicable. 

(b)  If a certified laboratory analyzes a compliance sample for a 

supplier of water, the certified laboratory shall report the results 

to both the Department and to the supplier of water or his or her 

designated representative within the periods set forth in 40 C.F.R. 

141.31, except that electronic reporting conducted in accordance 

with 40 C.F.R. 141.31(a) shall be completed within seven days of 

completion of the analysis. The laboratory reporting to the 

Department shall include analytical results for any maximum 

contaminant level exceedance within the timeframes applicable to 

the system owner. Reporting shall be in a format, including 

electronic reporting, established by the Department and shall be 

filled out completely. If a certified laboratory fails to report 

compliance sample results in accordance with this Paragraph, the 

supplier of water shall report results to the Department as required 

by this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-324; 130A-

329; 40 C.F.R 141; 

Eff. September 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1987; October 1, 1984; March 31, 

1981; March 31, 1980; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1631 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; August 1, 2002; January 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1527 CERTIFIED LABORATORIES 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.28 are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, with 

the following exceptions: 

(1) laboratories analyzing samples pursuant to this 

Subchapter shall be certified for that analytical 

method by the State Laboratory of Public 

Health in the Department of Health and Human 

Services; and 

(2) measurements for alkalinity; bromide; fluoride 

calcium; daily chlorite samples at the entrance 

to the distribution system; conductivity; 

orthophosphate; pH; residual disinfectant 

concentrations for chlorine, chloramines, and 

chlorine dioxide; magnesium; silica; Specific 

Ultraviolet Absorbance (SUVA); temperature; 

Total Organic Carbon (TOC); and turbidity 

may be performed by any person who holds a 

valid certificate issued by the North Carolina 

Water Treatment Facility Operators Board of 

Certification (NCWTFOBOC). Measurements 

may also be performed by a person who has 

been instructed in the measurement procedure 

by a person who holds a valid certificate issued 

by the NCWTFOBOC or by a certified 

laboratory. 

(b)  Copies may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. September 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. March 31, 1981; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1629 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1992; September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1528 ALTERNATE ANALYTICAL 

TECHNIQUES 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.27 are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies may be 

obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. September 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. March 31, 1981; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1630 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1529 POINT-OF-ENTRY, BOTTLED 

WATER, AND OTHER TREATMENT DEVICES 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141 Subpart J – Use of Non-

Centralized Treatment Devices are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies may be 

obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Public water systems shall not use bottled water or point-of-

use devices to achieve compliance with a maximum contaminant 

level. Bottled water or point-of-use devices may be used on a 

temporary basis until compliance with the maximum contaminant 

level is achieved. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. June 1, 1988; 
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Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1641 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1532 VARIANCES AND 

EXEMPTIONS 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.4 are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies may be 

obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. September 1, 1979; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 10D .1634 Eff. April 

4, 1990; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1535 MAXIMUM CONTAMINANT 

LEVELS FOR COLIFORM BACTERIA 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.63 are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.52 are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141.52; 40 C.F.R. 141.63; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1537 DRINKING WATER 

TREATMENT CHEMICALS AND SYSTEM 

COMPONENTS 

(a)  The standards established by the American National 

Standards Institute/NSF International, codified as ANSI/NSF 

Standard 60 and ANSI/NSF Standard 61, are incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments and editions. 

ANSI/NSF Standard 60 applies to drinking water treatment 

chemicals. ANSI/NSF Standard 61 applies to drinking water 

system components. Copies may be obtained for public inspection 

as set forth in Rule .0503 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  A water supply product used in a public water system shall 

meet the standards incorporated by reference in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. A product certified by an organization having a third-

party certification program accredited by the American National 

Standards Institute to test and certify such products may be used 

in a public water system. 

(c)  A supplier of water shall maintain a list of all water supply 

products used in a public water system for inspection by the 

Department. Prior to using a product not previously listed, a 

supplier of water shall either determine the product is certified as 

required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule or notify the Department of 

the type, name, and manufacturer of a product. 

(d)  A supplier of water shall not introduce or permit the 

introduction of a water supply product into a public water system 

that does not meet the requirements of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1538 CONSUMER CONFIDENCE 

REPORT 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart O - Consumer 

Confidence Reports are incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. Copies may be obtained as 

set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-313; 130A-315; P.L. 93-

523; 40 C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1804 NOTICE 

(a)  A local approval program shall submit an annual notice to the 

Department, identifying each approval of construction or 

alteration of the distribution system of a community water system. 

The local approval program shall retain a copy of the application 

and approved engineering plans and shall provide a copy to the 

Department upon request.  

(b)  The local approval program shall provide notice to the 

department within 10 days of any change in staff, budget, or other 

resources that may affect the program's ability to carry out the 

plan review program. 

(c)  Upon completion of the construction or alteration of the 

distribution system, the applicant shall submit a statement to the 

local approval program, signed by a registered professional 

engineer, stating that construction was completed in accordance 

with approved plans and specifications and revised only in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 18C .0306. The statement shall be 

based upon observations during and upon completion of 

construction by the engineer or a representative of the engineer's 

office who is supervised by the engineer. The local approval 

program shall provide a copy of the statement to the Department 

upon request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-317; 1985 S.L., c. 697, s. 

3; 

Eff. January 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 18C .2001 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.70 are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies may be 

obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141.70; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .2002 DISINFECTION 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.72 are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

These provisions are adopted with the following exceptions: 

(1) Water entering the distribution system. In 40 

C.F.R. 141.72 (a)(2), (a)(3), and (b)(2), "0.2 

mg/l" of residual disinfectant concentration 

shall be replaced with "0.2 mg/l measured as 

free chlorine when chlorine is the only applied 

disinfectant and 1.0 mg/l measured as total 

chlorine when ammonia and chlorine are 

applied disinfectants." 

(2) Water in the distribution system at coliform 

sampling sites. In 40 C.F.R. 141.72(a)(4) and 

(b)(3), "undetectable" shall be replaced with 

"less than 0.2 mg/1 measured as free chlorine 

when chlorine is the only applied disinfectant 

and less than 1.0 mg/l measured as total 

chlorine when ammonia and chlorine are 

applied disinfectants." 

(b) Water in the distribution system at maximum residence time 

sites. For samples collected at maximum residence time sites or at 

other locations with high water age as required by Rule 

.1302(a)(2) of this Subchapter, residual disinfectant 

concentrations shall be at detectable levels as set forth and 

calculated in 40 C.F.R. 141.72(a)(4) and (b)(3). 

(c)  All surface water treatment facilities shall include chemical 

disinfection for a minimum 0.5 log Giardia inactivation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141.72; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; October 1, 2009; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .2005 CRITERIA FOR AVOIDING 

FILTRATION 

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.71 are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies may be 

obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; P.L. 93-523; 40 

C.F.R. 141.71; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 18C .2008 DISINFECTANTS AND 

DISINFECTION BYPRODUCTS 

(a)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.53 are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.54 are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.64 are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

(d)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141.65 are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

(e)  The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart L- Disinfectant 

Residuals, Disinfection Byproducts, and Disinfection Byproduct 

Precursors, and the provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141, Subparts U-

Initial Distribution System Evaluations and Subpart V - Stage 2 

Disinfection Byproducts Requirements are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

may be obtained as set forth in Rule .0102(b) of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-313; 130A-315; P.L. 93-

525; 40 C.F.R. 141; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; October 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0404 MAINTENANCE WITHIN 

MUNICIPALITIES 

(a)  The definitions set forth in this Paragraph shall apply to this 

Rule. 

(1) "Board" means the Board of Transportation. 

(2) "Cross pipe lines" means pipe lines under the 

roadway surface, designed to convey water 

from one side of a street or highway to the other.

  

(3) "Maintenance" means routine care or upkeep to 

keep roads, streets, or highways in the existing 

condition and with the existing traffic carrying 

capacity. 

(4) "Municipality" means an incorporated city or 

town within the State of North Carolina. 

(5) "Non-State municipal street" or "Non-State 

system municipal highway" (municipal system) 

mean any street or highway accepted by the 

municipality that is not a part of the State 

highway system. 

(6) "Open drainage" means drainage systems 

utilizing open side ditches, tail, lateral and 
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outfall ditches to convey surface water to 

outfall streams. 

(7) "Pavement" means the paved portion of streets, 

including paved shoulders and on-street 

parking areas, but not including sidewalks and 

driveways. 

(8) "Rural highway" or "Rural street" means a 

highway or street on the State highway system 

outside the limits of a municipality. 

(9) "Shoulder" means earthen, soil, clay, gravel or 

turf section of pavement support extending 

from outer pavement edge to the bottom of side 

ditch, including shoulder sections which are 

paved. 

(10) "Sidewalk" means paved walkway, parallel to 

streets or highways. 

(11) The State highway system includes those streets 

and highways as described in G.S. 136-45. 

(12) "State municipal system street" or "State 

municipal street highway" mean any street or 

highway on the State highway system within a 

municipality. 

(13) "Storm drainage" or "Storm sewers" mean a 

system of underground pipes, culverts, 

conduits, or tunnels, including drop inlets and 

catch basins, designed to convey water from 

surface areas to eventual disposal into outfall 

streams. 

(b)  Responsibilities. 

(1) The Department shall patch and resurface 

pavement. 

(2) The municipality shall repair pavement cuts 

made for utility repair or other purposes under 

the control of the municipality. The Division of 

Highways District Engineer, or the District 

Engineer's designated representative shall be 

notified in writing 48 hours in advance of any 

pavement cut and approval must be obtained 

prior to making the cut. Pavement cuts due to 

emergencies may proceed as necessary with the 

Division of Highways District Engineer, or the 

District Engineer's designated representative 

being notified as soon as possible after the 

emergency is discovered and the pavement cut 

is made or anticipated. 

(3) If the maintenance of any State highway system 

street is performed by the municipality, then it 

shall be the responsibility of the municipality, 

subject to the approval and direction of the 

Department, to install and maintain signs, 

barricades, and other safety devices of like 

nature, and to furnish flagmen when necessary; 

all shall be performed in accordance with G.S. 

136-130. 

(4) An encroachment agreement is required for the 

initial installation of any utility on the State 

highway system right-of-way by the 

municipality as well as by utility companies and 

individuals. 

(5) Drainage. 

(A) The maintenance of roadway ditches 

including median drainage, where 

applicable, and cross drainage pipes, 

outfalls, and structures shall be the 

responsibility of Department within 

the highway right-of-way or within a 

drainage easement area. 

(B) The maintenance of storm drainage 

and storm sewer systems draining 

State highway system streets within 

the highway right-of-way or within a 

drainage easement area shall be the 

responsibility of the Department. 

Where systems draining State 

highway system streets are enlarged 

and expanded to accommodate 

drainage from municipal streets, the 

initial cost and the maintenance cost 

shall be borne jointly by agreement. 

(C) Attachments to drainage structures 

shall require the written approval of 

the Department prior to any utility or 

other attachment being made to any 

bridge or structure on the State 

highway system. Approval shall be 

required before turning any utility 

under or through a bridge or drainage 

structure on the State highway system. 

Approval is obtained through an 

encroachment agreement and 

dependent upon the complexity of the 

attachment. 

(6) The maintenance of sidewalks is a municipal 

responsibility. 

(7) Roadside Maintenance. 

(A) All planting, plant maintenance, 

mowing, erosion control, and litter 

pickup on freeways, interstate, and 

other controlled access highways shall 

be the responsibility of the 

Department, except as otherwise 

provided by this Rule. 

(B) Non-controlled Access Surface Streets 

(i) Erosion control, machine 

mowing, litter pickup, and 

the maintenance of trees over 

the entire width of right-of-

way without sidewalk or 

pedestrian space, paved or 

unpaved, shall be the 

responsibility of the 

Department. Maintenance of 

shrubs or other planting over 

the entire width of right-of-

way without sidewalk or 

pedestrian space, paved or 

unpaved, shall be the 

responsibility of the 
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Department subject to the 

provision providing for 

specific planting projects as 

outlined in Part (7)(C) of this 

Paragraph. 

(ii) The Department shall be 

responsible for the 

maintenance of the area 

outside of the curbs or within 

and beyond the sidewalk or 

pedestrian space, paved or 

unpaved. These areas are 

used almost exclusively for 

pedestrians, and the 

maintenance of such areas 

shall be the responsibility of 

the municipality. 

(C) Should the municipality desire more 

extensive planting than is provided by 

the Department, a plan for such 

proposed planting shall be submitted 

to the Department and considered a 

construction or improvement item. An 

individual permit and agreement on 

Department and municipal 

responsibilities for planting and plant 

maintenance shall be required in each 

instance, covering not only financial 

responsibility but also the furnishing 

of personnel, equipment and materials 

for performing plant maintenance and 

associated hand mowing operations. 

(D) Civic organizations desiring to 

provide more extensive planting of 

trees and shrubs in the municipality on 

Department right-of-way than is 

provided by the Department shall 

handle negotiations through the 

municipality as outlined in Part (7)(C) 

of this Paragraph. 

(8) Snow and Ice Control. 

(A) The responsibility for clearing State 

highway system streets shall be the 

responsibility of the Department; 

however, municipalities may, with the 

concurrence of the Division Engineer, 

execute an agreement with the 

Department providing for 

reimbursement by the Department to 

the municipality for the assumption of 

this responsibility. 

(B) The removal of snow from sidewalk 

areas shall not be the responsibility of 

the Department. 

(9) The Department shall maintain, repair, and 

replace guard rail on the State highway system 

streets and highways. 

(10) Street Lighting. 

(A) The Department shall maintain street 

lighting on freeways, interstate 

systems, and other controlled access 

highways if determined to be for 

public safety.  

(B) The maintenance and the electric 

current for lighting systems on streets 

or highways other than as referred to 

in Part (10)(A) of this Paragraph shall 

be the responsibility of the 

municipality, unless otherwise 

provided for by specific agreement. 

(C) The installation of street lighting 

systems by the municipality on State 

highway system streets within the 

right-of-way may be allowed by the 

Department by encroachment 

agreement only. 

(11) The Department and the municipality shall 

ensure that traffic lanes are kept open. In the 

event that any traffic lanes are blocked for any 

reason, the Department and the municipality 

shall ensure that the blockage is signed or 

flagged. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-66.1; 136-93; 143B-346;  

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0406 CONSTRUCTION AND 

MAINTENANCE OF SIDEWALKS 

(a)  The Department shall replace any sidewalk torn up as a result 

of a highway construction project having to do with the widening 

of an existing street. 

(b)  The Department shall evaluate the need for proposed 

sidewalks in the planning stage of a project. The Department shall 

assess information provided by the local government, 

Transportation Advisory Committee, and Departmental 

engineering studies. 

(c)  The execution of a pedestrian facilities maintenance 

agreement specifying responsibility for long term maintenance 

shall be required prior to construction for a proposed sidewalk. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-66.1; 143B-346; 23 U.S.C. 

133; 23 U.S.C. 217; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1999; December 29, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0601 PERMIT APPLICATION AND 

ADMINISTRATION 

(a)  The Chief Engineer's office shall be responsible for issuing 

oversize/overweight permits as provided by this Section.  

(b)  House move permit applications shall be submitted to the 

Department division and district offices. The Department's 

division and district offices shall approve or deny house move 

permit applications based on safety considerations after reviewing 

the route of travel and dimensions of the structure to be moved. 

House move permit applications shall be submitted at least two 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2019 

242 

working days prior to the anticipated date of movement. House 

move permit applications shall contain the following information: 

(1) applicant's name and contact information; 

(2) housemover license and truck license numbers; 

(3) registered weight, serial number, and number of 

axles; 

(4) description of the load dimensions 

(5) exteme axle measurements, axle weights, and 

spacings; 

(6) house construction descriptions 

(7) requested route of travel descriptions; and 

(8) travel plan and anticipated use of escort vehicle. 

(c)  Superload permits shall be required for the movement of a 

vehicle and vehicle combination with a gross weight of 132,000 

pounds or more; width of 15 feet or more; a mobile or modular 

unit with a width of 16 feet and a gutter edge of 3 inches; and a 

width of 16 feet and 11 inches, unless the permit is for house 

moves in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule. Applicants 

for Superload permits shall submit a written application, the fee 

specified in G.S. 20-119(b), and documentation of any variance 

to the Central Permit Office at least 10 business days prior to the 

anticipated date of movement. Superload permits applications 

shall contain the following information: 

(1) applicant's name and contact information; 

(2) truck and trailer license information and VIN 

number; 

(3) gross weight, registered weight, extreme 

wheelbase measurements, and number of axles; 

(4) description of the load dimensions; and 

(5) description of axle spacings and weight. 

(d)  Applicants shall submit a written application, the fee specified 

in G.S. 20-119(b), and documentation of variances to the Central 

Permit Office at least two business days prior to the anticipated 

date of movement of a vehicle or vehicle combination of a height 

greater than 14 feet, but not equal to or greater than 15 feet.  

(e)  The issuance of any permit shall not imply nor guarantee the 

vertical clearance of the permitted load and the permittee shall be 

responsible for ensuring all vertical clearances prior to movement. 

(f)  The Department shall accept certified check, money order, 

company check, or credit card in consideration for the fees 

specified in G.S. 20-119(b). No personal checks shall be accepted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-119; 20-360; 20-361; 20-

367; 20-369; 20-371; 136-18(5); 143B-346;  

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 10, 2002; October 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; April 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. September 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0602 PERMITS – ISSUANCE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The following are general issuance requirements for 

oversize/overweight permits. 

(1) Permits shall be issued by the Department. The 

maximum weight permitted on a designated 

route shall be determined by the bridge capacity 

of the bridges to be crossed during movement. 

Movements exceeding weight limits for 

highways or bridge structures shall be denied if 

considered by the Department to be unsafe or if 

the movement may cause damage to the 

highway or bridge structures. If the Department 

determines that the permitted movement may 

cause damage to the highway, bridge structures, 

or any other State property, the permittee shall 

be required to obtain a surety bond to cover the 

estimated cost of damages. A permit issued by 

the Department shall not be valid for travel over 

municipal streets, defined as streets or 

highways not maintained by the State of North 

Carolina. 

(2) Prior to applying for an oversize/overweight 

permit, the applicant shall be responsible for 

reducing and loading the item, commodity, or 

combinations thereof to the least possible 

dimensions and weight. Permits may be issued 

in accordance with this Section for movements 

of items or commodities that cannot be loaded, 

divided, dismantled, or disassembled to meet 

legal requirements. 

(3) One item or commodity shall qualify for 

overweight considerations. Multiple items or 

commodities shall not qualify for an overweight 

permit. 

(4) One item or commodity or multiple items or 

commodities loaded in-line shall qualify for 

overwidth considerations. If loaded side-by-

side, multiple items or commodities shall not 

exceed eight feet, six inches in width. 

(5) One item or commodity of continuous length 

shall qualify for overlength considerations. The 

maximum length for a vehicle or vehicle 

combination shall be 105 feet. Approval may be 

given by the Central Permit Office for 

permitted loads in excess of 105 feet after 

review of the geographic route of travel, 

consideration of local construction projects, 

and evaluation of the other dimensions of the 

load. 

(6) One item or commodity shall qualify for 

overheight considerations. If piled or stacked, 

multiple items or commodities shall not exceed 

13 feet, 6 inches. 

(b)  Annual Trip Permits 

(1) Annual permits shall be valid for 12 months 

from the effective date of the permit. Annual 

trip permits shall require an escort for vehicle 

and vehicle combinations that exceed 12 feet in 

width. 

(2) Annual permits may be issued for unlimited 

movement on all North Carolina highways, as 

permitted by the posted road and bridge limits, 

and without the requirement of an escort for the 

following: 
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(A) vehicle and vehicle combinations 

transporting non-divisible 

commodities; 

(B) vehicle and vehicle combinations 

transporting a non-divisible 

commodity with a minimum extreme 

wheelbase of 51 feet; 

(C) self-propelled equipment with four or 

five axles; and 

(D) non-property hauling vehicles with 

permanently attached equipment, a 

minimum wheel base of 30 feet, the 

capability of traveling at highway 

speeds of 45 miles per hour, the 

operational purpose of traveling to and 

from a non-highway job, and a special 

mobile equipment license issued by 

the Division of Motor Vehicles. 

(3) Dimensions for vehicle and vehicle 

combination permits issued pursuant to 

Subparagraph 2 of this Paragraph shall not 

exceed: 

(A) a width of 12 feet; 

(B) a height of 13 feet, 6 inches; and 

(C) a length of 105 feet. 

(D) Part (2)(A) within this Paragraph shall 

not exceed the length as set forth in 

G.S. 20-115.1(b) and G.S. 20-116(e), 

and gross weights and axle weights as 

set forth in G.S. 20-118(b)(1)(2)(3). 

(E) Parts (2)(B), (C), and (D) within this 

Paragraph shall not exceed a gross 

weight of 90,000 pounds, and axle 

weights of 20,000 pounds for steer 

axle, 25,000 pounds for single axle, 

50,000 pounds for tandem axle, 

60,000 pounds for tridem axle, and 

68,000 pounds for axle groupings of 

four or more. 

(4) Annual permits may be issued for unlimited 

movement on all North Carolina highways, as 

permitted by the posted road and bridge limits, 

and with the requirement of an escort for 

vehicles and vehicle combinations transporting 

farm equipment. Dimensions for vehicle and 

vehicle combination permits issued pursuant to 

this Subparagraph shall not exceed: 

(A) a width of 14 feet; 

(B) a height of 13 feet, 6 inches; and 

(C) a weight as set forth in G.S. 20-

118(b)(3). 

(5) Annual permits may be issued with the 

requirement of an escort for mobile or modular 

homes if transported from a manufacturer to a 

North Carolina mobile or modular home 

dealership, or if transported from a North 

Carolina licensed mobile or modular home 

retail dealer to the transporter for the delivery 

of mobile or modular homes. Permitted mobile 

or modular homes shall be authorized to travel 

on designated routes approved by the 

Department considering construction work 

zones, highway lane widths, origin and 

destination, and other factors to ensure safe 

movement. Dimensions for vehicle and vehicle 

combination permits issued under this 

subparagraph shall not exceed: 

(A) a width of 14 feet; 

(B) a roof overhang of 12 inches, unless 

the unit width shall be 16 feet, in 

which case the gutter edge shall not 

exceed 3 inches; 

(C) a height of 13 feet, 6 inches; and 

(D) a weight as set forth in G.S. 20-

118(b)(3). 

(c)  Single Trip Permits 

(1) Single trip permits shall be issued to the 

registered owner of the vehicle and valid for 10 

calendar days for a single, one-way trip. Single 

trip permit applications shall include the exact 

origin, route, and exact destination, including 

applicable county and state road numbers and 

routes. A return trip shall only be considered for 

a single trip permit if the return trip is requested 

within the original permit application. No 

single trip permit shall be issued for a time 

period that exceeds 30 days. 

(2) Single trip permits for vehicle and vehicle 

combinations with non-divisible overwidth 

loads are limited to a maximum width of 15 feet 

and the conditions specified in this Rule. 

(3) Single trip permits shall not be restricted by 

overall length limitations, except the total 

combination length of mobile homes shall not 

exceed 105 feet. 

(4) Single trip permits shall not authorize a vehicle 

or vehicle combination height in excess of the 

vertical clearances on the authorized route. 

(d)  Non-divisible Loads 

(1) The maximum single trip and annual permit 

weight allowed for a vehicle or vehicle 

combination, not including off-highway 

construction equipment, shall be: 

(A) 20,000 pounds for steer axles; 

(B) 25,000 pounds for single axles; 

(C) 50,000 pounds for tandem axles; 

(D) 60,000 pounds for tridem axles; 

(E) 68,000 pounds for axle groupings of 

four or more; and 

(F) an engineering study is required for 

axle groupings of five or more that 

exceed 68,000 pounds. 

(2) The maximum single trip and annual permit 

gross weight allowed for a vehicle or vehicle 

combination, not including off-highway 

construction equipment, shall be: 

(A) 70,000 pounds for a three-axle single 

vehicle; 
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(B) 90,000 pounds for a four-axle single 

vehicle; 

(C) 94,500 pounds for a five-axle single 

vehicle; 

(D) 112,000 pounds for a five-axle vehicle 

combination; 

(E) 108,000 pounds for a six-axle single 

vehicle; 

(F) 120,000 pounds for a six-axle vehicle 

combination; 

(G) 122,000 pounds for a seven-axle 

single vehicle; 

(H) 132,000 pounds for a seven-axle 

vehicle combination; and 

(I) determined upon the completion of an 

engineering study for axle-vehicle 

combinations of 7 or more if their 

gross weight exceeds 132,000 pounds. 

(3) The maximum permit weight allowed for self-

propelled off-highway construction equipment 

with low pressure or low flotation tires shall be: 

(A) 37,000 pounds for a single-axle 

vehicle; and 

(B) 50,000 pounds for a tandem-axle 

vehicle; 

(4) The maximum permit gross weight allowed for 

self-propelled off-highway construction 

equipment with low pressure or low flotation 

tires shall be: 

(A) 70,000 pounds for a two-axle single 

vehicle; 

(B) 80,000 pounds for a three-axle single 

vehicle; and 

(C) 90,000 pounds for a four-axle single 

vehicle. 

(5) An overweight permit with a specified route 

shall be available for a vehicle combination 

consisting of a power unit and trailer hauling a 

sealed ship container. No permit shall be issued 

in accordance with this Subparagraph unless the 

vehicle combination shall be: 

(A) traveling to or from a designated 

seaport, whether in-state or out-of-

state; 

(B) transported by marine shipment; 

(C) licensed for the maximum allowable 

weight for the 51-foot extreme 

wheelbase measurement as specified 

in G.S. 20-118; 

(D) equal to or less than the maximum 

width, height, and length dimensions 

as specified in G.S. 20-116; 

(E) a vehicle combination with at least 

five axles; and 

(F) in possession of and able to furnish for 

inspection the documentation of the 

sealed commodity being transported. 

(e)  Superload Permits 

(1) Superload permits shall be available for vehicle 

or vehicle combinations with axles or axle 

groupings that exceed the weight limitations 

provided by this Rule, a gross weight that 

exceeds 132,000 pounds, or a maximum width 

in excess of 15 feet. The Chief Engineer or the 

Chief Engineer's designee may authorize the 

issuance of a superload permit after analysis of 

the proposed load and evaluation of the 

proposed route of travel. 

(2) Superload permits shall be issued to the 

registered owner of the vehicle and valid for 10 

calendar days for a single, one-way trip. 

Superload permit applications shall include the 

exact origin, route, and exact destination, 

including applicable county and state road 

numbers or routes. A separate permit 

application shall be required for return trips. 

(f)  Houses 

(1) Applications for permits to move buildings or 

structures in excess of 15 feet in width shall be 

made by a licensed housemover. Housemover 

license applications and supporting 

documentation are issued and renewed by the 

Central Permit Office. Please see 19A NCAC 

02D .0601 for information on Housemover 

permits. 

(2) An individual shall not be required to acquire a 

housemover license prior to applying for a 

permit if the power unit and building is owned 

by the permittee and the movement is from 

property individually owned by the permittee. 

(g)  Mobile or Modular Homes 

(1) Mobile or modular home units shall not exceed 

a length of 76 feet and the total vehicle 

combination length shall not exceed 105 feet. 

(2) A 14-foot-wide mobile or modular home unit 

may be transported with a bay window, room 

extension, or porch if the protrusion does not 

extend beyond the maximum roof overhang of 

12 inches or the total width of overhang on the 

applicable side of the home. An extender shall 

be placed on the front and rear of the mobile or 

modular home with a length to extend 

horizontally equal to but not beyond the 

outermost edge of the mobile or modular 

home's extension. The extenders shall have 

retro-reflective sheeting, sized at a minimum of 

4 inches, that shall be Type III high intensity, 

encapsulated lens, or Type IV-high 

performance, prismatic, with alternating 

fluorescent yellow and black diagonal stripes 

that slope towards the outside of the home with 

a minimum area of 288 square inches. The 

bottom of the extenders shall be 6 feet to 8 feet 

above the road surface. The top of each 

extender shall have mounted a 5-inch, amber-

colored, flashing beacon. 
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(3) The North Carolina licensed mobile or modular 

home retail dealer shall maintain records of all 

mobile or modular units moved by authority of 

an annual permit for a minimum of four years 

from the date of movement. The records shall 

be available for inspection and audit by any 

officer, employee, or contractor of the North 

Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles. Failure to 

comply with any requirement shall be grounds 

for denying, suspending, or revoking 

Manufacturer's License, Dealer's License, and 

any North Carolina oversize/overweight permit 

privileges. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-119; 20-360; 20-361; 20-

367; 20-369; 20-371; 136-18(5); 143B-346;  

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 29, 1993; October 1, 1991; April 1, 

1984; April 11, 1980; 

Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff. October 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0607 PERMITS – MOVEMENT AND 

TRAVEL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All vehicles and vehicle combinations described in 19A 

NCAC 02D .0601 and .0602 shall adhere to the following 

movement requirements. 

(1) Unless otherwise authorized or restricted by 

this Rule, movement shall be made between 

sunrise and sunset. Movement of 16-foot wide 

mobile or modular home units with a maximum 

of 3-inch gutter edge shall be permitted 

Monday through Saturday from 9:00 am to 2:30 

pm. Movement of 16-foot wide mobile or 

modular home unit with a maximum 3-inch 

gutter edge may occur after 2:30 pm, but not 

beyond sunset, if the unit is traveling on an 

approved route as determined by an engineering 

study, and exported out-of-state. Sunday travel 

may be authorized from sunrise to sunset after 

consideration of the vehicle or vehicle 

combination dimensions. Considerations of 

safety and traffic flow may require the issuing 

office to impose additional time restrictions or 

allowances. 

(2) No movement shall be permitted for a vehicle 

or vehicle combination after 12:00 p.m. on the 

weekday preceding and until 12:00 p.m. on the 

weekday following Independence Day, 

Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. If 

Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, or 

Christmas Day fall on a Saturday or Sunday, 

travel is restricted from 12:00 p.m. on the 

preceding Friday until 12:00 p.m. on the 

following Monday. 

(3) Continuous travel occurring 24 hours a day, 

each day per year, shall not be authorized for 

vehicle or vehicle combinations with a gross 

weight in excess of 112,000 pounds. Self-

propelled equipment shall be authorized for 

continuous travel if the overhang is less than 10 

feet in length and meets all other requirements 

of this Subparagraph. The overhang shall be 

marked on both sides and end with high-

intensity, glass-bead, retro-reflective sheeting 

tape. Each side of the self-propelled equipment 

shall be marked 24 inches from the road surface 

at the nearest feasible center point, between the 

steer and drive axles. The sheeting tape shall be 

2 inches by 12 inches. Any rear overhang shall 

display a mounted brake light and flashing 

amber light, 8 inches in diameter with a 

minimum candlepower of 800 watts. 

(4) Permitted vehicles owned or leased by the same 

company or permitted vehicles originating at 

the same location shall travel no less than two 

miles apart. Convoy travel shall not be 

authorized except as directed by law 

enforcement escort or permit office. 

(5) Blades of construction equipment and front-end 

loader buckets shall not extend more than 14 

feet across the roadway. A blade, bucket, or 

other attachment that is an original part of the 

manufactured equipment may be removed and 

hauled with the equipment without being 

considered a divisible load. 

(6) Permitted vehicle or vehicle combination 

movements shall not travel at a speed in excess 

of the posted speed limit. The issuing office 

shall be permitted to impose speed restrictions 

below the posted speed limit considering safety 

and load. A towing unit and mobile or modular 

home combination shall not exceed a maximum 

speed of 60 miles per hour. The driver of the 

permitted vehicle shall avoid creating traffic 

congestion by relinquishing the traffic way 

when a buildup of traffic occurs. 

(7) The object to be transported shall not be loaded 

or parked on the highway right of way without 

permission from the office that originally issued 

the permit and after confirmation of an 

emergency condition, such as mechanical 

problems or weather events. 

(8) No movements shall be made when visibility is 

less than 500 feet. Moves shall not be made 

when travel conditions are considered unsafe by 

the Division of Highways, State Highway 

Patrol, or other law enforcement officers having 

jurisdiction. Movement of a mobile or modular 

unit that exceed a width of 10 feet shall be 

prohibited if wind speed gusts are in excess of 

25 miles per hour. 

(9) The mover shall be responsible for any 

expenses, arrangements, or approvals 

associated with removing or replacing any 

obstructions, including traffic signals, signs, 

and utility lines. Trees, shrubs, or State signs 
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shall not be cut, trimmed, or removed without 

approval from the Division of Highways 

District Engineer having jurisdiction over the 

area involved. In determining whether to grant 

approval for cutting or trimming trees or shrubs, 

the District Engineer shall consider the species, 

age, and appearance of the tree or shrub in 

question and its contribution to the aesthetics of 

the area. 

(b)  Movement of all vehicles and vehicle combinations subject to 

this Section shall adhere to the following safety requirements. 

(1) A yellow banner measuring a total length of 7 

feet x 18 inches high bearing the legend 

"Oversize Load" in 10-inch black letters 1.5-

inch-wide brush stroke shall be displayed in one 

or two pieces totaling the required length on the 

front and rear bumpers of a permitted vehicle 

and vehicle combination with a width greater 

than 10 feet. A towing unit mobile or modular 

home combination shall display banners of the 

size specified bearing the legend "Oversize ----

- feet Load" identifying the actual width of the 

unit in transport. Escort vehicles shall display 

banners as specified in this Subparagraph with 

the exception of length to extend the entire 

width of the bumpers. 

(2) Red or orange flags measuring 18 inches square 

shall be displayed on all sides at the widest 

point of load for all loads in excess of 8 feet 6 

inches wide, but the flags shall be mounted so 

as not to increase the overall width of the load. 

(3) All permitted vehicles and vehicle 

combinations shall be equipped with tires, axels 

and brakes in accordance with North Carolina 

Statutes and Motor Carrier and Housing and 

Urban Development (HUD) regulations. 

(4) Rear view mirrors and other safety devices on 

towing units attached for movement of 

overwidth loads shall be removed or retracted 

to conform with legal width when unit is not 

towing or hauling such vehicle or load. 

(5) Flashing amber lights shall be used as 

determined by the issuing permit office. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-116; 20-118; 20-119; 136-

18(5);  

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; December 29, 1993; October 1, 

1991; October 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 10, 2002; December 31, 

2000; October 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012; June 1, 2010; April 1, 2009; August 

1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0612 PERMITS - HOUSE MOVES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-119; 20-360; 136-18(5); 

150B-21.3A; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; April 1, 1984; 

January 1, 1979; 

Filed as a Temporary Rule Eff. October 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0633 PERMITS – DECISIONS, 

APPEALS, AND ENFORCEMENT 

(a)  A permit that is revoked or voided by the Chief Engineer's 

office shall be surrendered without any refund of fees. An 

oversize or overweight permit application may be denied for a 

period of up to six months upon written documentation that the 

applicant operated in violation of any of the rules contained in this 

Section, or any state or local law or any rule or ordinance 

regulating the operation of oversize or overweight vehicles. 

Repeated violations may result in a permanent denial of the right 

to use State highway system for transportation of 

oversize/overweight loads or vehicles. An oversize/overweight 

permit may be revoked and considered void by the Chief 

Engineer's office upon inspection and written documentation that 

the permittee: 

(1) violated either the terms and conditions of the 

permit, state or local laws, or ordinances 

regulating the operation of oversize and 

overweight vehicles; 

(2) misrepresented, fraudulently obtained, altered, 

or used in an unauthorized manner any 

information on the permit application; and 

(3) operated or is currently operating a vehicle or 

vehicle combination in violation of the General 

Statutes of North Carolina, these rules, the 

authorized route of travel, time of movement, 

escort requirements, axle weights, number of 

axles, or any other conditions of the permit. 

(b)  No permit application shall be denied, renewal refused, permit 

revoked, or considered void unless the Chief Engineer's office 

provides verbal or written notice to the permittee. The permittee 

may appeal in writing to the Chief Engineer's office within 10 

business days of the permittee receiving notice. If a hearing is 

requested, the Chief Engineer's office shall provide the permittee 

with written notice, sent by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, no fewer than 10 business days prior to the scheduled 

date of the hearing. The Chief Engineer's office shall provide to 

the permittee a written decision, sent by certified mail, return 

receipt requested, within 10 business days from the date of the 

hearing. 

(c)  A permittee who has permit privileges suspended or revoked 

by the Chief Engineer's office may make a written appeal to the 

Secretary of Transportation within 15 days following the date 

listed on the return receipt. The Secretary of Transportation or the 

Secretary's designee may affirm or set aside the suspension or 

revocation based on a review of the written appeal, the suspension 

or revocation decision, as well as any available documents, 

exhibits or other evidence bearing on the appeal. The individual 

appealing shall be advised of the final disposition of the action 

within 21 days following receipt of the appeal. 

(d)  The following pertains to enforcement, inspections, and 

alternate routes as set out in this Rule. 
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(1) Law enforcement officers may perform on-site 

inspections at the point of manufacture or 

dealer lot for mobile or modular homes ready 

for shipment. Notification of violations shall be 

submitted by enforcement personnel to the 

Central Permit Office. 

(2) Irrespective of the route shown on the permit, a 

permitted vehicle shall travel an alternate route 

if: 

(A) directed by a law enforcement officer 

with jurisdiction; 

(B) directed to follow a specific route, for 

weighing purposes, by an official 

traffic control device; or 

(C) the specified route on the permit is 

detoured by an officially erected 

highway sign, traffic control devices, 

or law enforcement officer. If the 

specified route on the permit is 

detoured by an officially erected 

highway sign, traffic control device, or 

law enforcement officer, the driver of 

the permitted vehicle shall contact the 

Central Permit Office or the issuing 

field office for house move permits for 

clearance of route or revision of the 

permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-119; 20-360; 20-361; 20-

367; 20-369; 20-371; 136-18(5); 143B-346;  

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; April 1, 1984; 

April 11, 1980; 

Temporary Rule Eff. October 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; April 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0643 ESCORT VEHICLE DRIVER 

CERTIFICATION 

When an escort vehicle is required, escort vehicle drivers shall be 

certified in accordance with 19A NCAC 02D .0644. Certification 

credentials shall be carried in the vehicle and shall be available 

for inspection by law enforcement officials with jurisdiction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-119; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 11, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0644 OVERSIZE/OVERWEIGHT 

LOAD ESCORT VEHICLE OPERATOR 

CERTIFICATION PROGRAM 

(a)  Prior to obtaining certification as an oversize/overweight load 

escort vehicle operator, a person shall complete a program that 

provides instruction on escort skills and shall pass an examination. 

The escort vehicle operator certification program shall provide for 

reciprocity with other states having similar escort certification 

programs. 

(b)  Any person seeking to be certified as an oversize/overweight 

load escort vehicle operator in North Carolina shall submit an 

application to the Department and attach a State certified copy of 

their driving record. The application shall contain the applicant's 

name and contact information; driver's license number and state; 

physical and demographic identification information; school 

name, location, and date of class; and Social Security number if 

the applicant is applying with an out-of-state driver's license. Any 

person seeking to be certified as an oversize/overweight load 

escort vehicle operator shall be qualified as follows: 

(1) an escort certified by another state's approved 

program; 

(2) a North Carolina law enforcement officer; or 

(3) a person who: 

(A) is at least 21 years of age or 18 years 

of age with a Class A commercial 

driver's license;  

(B) possesses a valid driver's license 

without restrictions other than for the 

use of corrective lenses and shall not 

have received a citation in the previous 

12 months for operating a vehicle in a 

reckless manner or driving while 

impaired; 

(C) possesses and provides with their 

application documentation of their 

completion of a defensive driving 

course that has been approved by the 

National Safety Council; and 

(D) has received a certification 

examination score of at least 75 

percent after completing all eight 

classroom-hours of the North Carolina 

Department of Transportation 

Oversize/Overweight Load Escort 

Vehicle Operator Certification 

Program. The program is offered by 

the North Carolina Community 

College System. 

(c)  Upon completion of the requirements set forth in this Rule, 

the Department shall issue a certificate that provides recognition 

of completion of the escort vehicle operator certification program. 

The certificate shall be effective for four years from the issue date 

and reissued upon completion of a current escort certification 

program examination administered by Department training 

providers. 

(d)  An authorized operator's certification shall be revoked during 

its effective period upon any of the following occurrences: 

(1) failure to maintain a valid driver's license 

without restrictions other than for corrective 

lenses; or 

(2) failure to operate a motor vehicle safely as 

evidenced by receiving a conviction for 

operating a vehicle in a reckless manner, 

driving while impaired, or other evidence that 

the operator performed their escort duties in a 

manner likely to cause an accident, personal 

injury, or damage to property. 
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(e)  If certification is revoked pursuant to this Rule, subsequent 

certification as an Escort Vehicle Operator shall require 

reapplication, satisfaction of program prerequisites, and 

requalification through the certification program. 

(f)  An individual who has had his or her certificate revoked may 

make written appeal within 15 days following notification of the 

adverse action to the Secretary of Transportation for review of the 

revocation. The Secretary may affirm or set aside the revocation 

based on a review of the written appeal, the revocation decision, 

as well as any available documents, exhibits, or other evidence 

bearing on the appeal. The individual appealing shall be advised 

of the final disposition within 21 days following receipt of the 

appeal. 

(g)  The Secretary of Transportation or the Secretary's designee 

shall only recognize certificates of other states if those programs 

meet State objectives as outlined in this Rule and G.S. 20-119. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-119; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 11, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0402 PILING OBSTRUCTIONS ON 

HIGHWAYS OR WITHIN RIGHT OF WAY 

It shall be unlawful to pile, place, or leave, any trash, refuse, 

garbage, lumber, logs, cordwood, tree-laps, scrapped automobile, 

scrapped truck or part thereof, or any other material upon any 

road, highway, or shoulders thereof, within the right-of-way, or 

over the ditches or drainways of any road or highway of the State 

highway system. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-90; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0403 DEPOSITING MUD ON STATE 

HIGHWAYS 

No person operating a vehicle with "dual wheels" or a vehicle 

equipped with four-wheel drive shall track mud onto any paved 

portion of any State highway so as to create a safety hazard to the 

traveling public.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-90; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0404 HIGHWAY OBSTRUCTIONS 

INTERFERING WITH TRAFFIC/MAINTENANCE 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to place any highway obstruction, 

including, but not limited to, a driveway headwall, fence, rural 

mailbox, newspaper delivery box, or other roadside obstruction, 

so as to interfere with the traffic or maintenance of the roads and 

highways of the State highway system. 

(b)  If the Department determines that any highway obstruction, 

constitutes a roadside collision hazard, the highway obstruction 

shall be removed by the person or entity responsible for placing 

the obstruction within the right-of-way within 30 days of receipt 

of written notice from the Department. Only mailboxes or 

newspaper delivery boxes with 4" x 4" wooden or small diameter 

metal posts shall be permitted on road additions made to the State 

highway system after May 3, 1990. If determined to be a roadside 

collision hazard, the location of any brick column, mailboxes, or 

newspaper delivery boxes, on rigid stands such as block, stone, or 

any other type of material, shall be prohibited within the State 

highway system right-of-way. 

(c)  If a person fails to remove the highway obstruction in 

accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the Division Engineer 

may take action to remove the obstruction and bill the responsible 

party for the expense. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-90;  

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0405 DAMAGE TO STATE HIGHWAY 

SYSTEM SURFACE OR SHOULDER 

It shall be unlawful to move on, over, or across the surface or 

shoulder of any State highway system bridge, road, or highway, 

any object, tractor, engine, farm equipment, or vehicle of any kind 

that has wheels or objects attached that could cut, mutilate, or 

damage the surface or shoulder of any State highway system 

bridge, road, or highway without the written permission of the 

Chief Engineer's office. The Chief Engineer or the Chief 

Engineer's designee shall consider factors such as the ability of 

the road or bridge to handle the equipment without damage, 

planned protection of the roadway or bridge to prevent damage, 

planned traffic control and law enforcement assistance to safely 

move the equipment, and day and time of the planned move to 

evaluate potential disruptions to the traveling public. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-115; 20-119; 136-18(5); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0406 VEHICLES SERVED BY 

SERVICE STATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-90; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0407 CONTROL AND REGULATION 

OF ROADSIDE PARKS AND REST AREAS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful, within any scenic service overlook, rest 

area, or other designated parking area on the primary and 

secondary roads and highways of the State, for any person, firm, 

or corporation to erect tents, booths, or structures of any kind for 

camping or any other activity; to create, cause, or allow any 

unreasonably loud or disturbing noise; to solicit contributions, 

names, support, or for any other purpose, except as permitted 

pursuant to Section .0800 of this Subchapter to conduct or 

participate in public or private auctions and other ceremonies; to 

distribute tracts, pamphlets, favors or any material, product or 

literature; to erect displays, signs, or carry on any commercial 
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activity; to use public address such as loud speakers; to distribute 

or use alcoholic beverages; endanger the life, property, and 

welfare of the traveling public. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply. 

(l) "Unreasonably loud noise" means a noise 

which is incompatible with the time and 

location where created to the extent that it 

creates an actual or imminent interference with 

peace, order, or calm of the area, or which is 

obnoxious to, or unreasonably disturbing to, a 

person whose residence, work, or commercial 

enterprise is within a reasonable proximity to 

the point, place, or person from whom the noise 

is emanating, or emanated, and the noise is of 

such a kind, nature, duration, or extent that a 

reasonable person would consider the noise to 

be unreasonably loud or disturbing. 

(2) "Disturbing noise" means a noise which is 

perceived by a person of reasonable and 

ordinary firmness and sensibilities as 

interrupting the normal peace, order, and calm 

of such person, or persons, or tending to annoy, 

disturb, or frighten such persons in such 

proximity to the point, place, or person from 

whom the noise is emanating, or emanated. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(9); 136-125; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1991; August 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0408 FISHING FROM BRIDGES 

It shall be unlawful to fish from any bridge on any interstate or 

other controlled access highway. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-89.50; 153A-

242; 160A-302.1; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0409 OPERATING NONMOTORIZED 

VEHICLES 

Unless otherwise authorized by the Board of Transportation, it 

shall be unlawful for any person to ride any animal, or to operate 

a bicycle, horse drawn wagon, or any nonmotorized vehicle or 

moped on any interstate or controlled access highway. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. June 15, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0410 HITCHHIKING ON 

INTERSTATE OR CONTROLLED ACCESS HIGHWAYS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to hitchhike or to solicit 

rides, or for the driver of any vehicle to stop for the purpose of 

picking up one who is hitchhiking or soliciting a ride, on any 

interstate or controlled access highway. 

(b)  This Rule shall not shall prohibit an operator or passengers in 

a vehicle stopped on a controlled access facility by reason of any 

emergency, mechanical failure, or other failure of the vehicle to 

operate, from requesting aid or soliciting a ride, nor does it 

prohibit the operator of any other vehicle from stopping to render 

aid or assistance and giving rides in such situations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-89.50; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0411 JUMPING FROM BRIDGES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 150B-21.3A; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0423 REGULATION OF AIRPORT 

CONSTRUCTION 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided by this Rule, all construction or 

alteration of airports or aircraft landing areas on any part of land 

adjoining any public highway or in close proximity, shall be in 

conformity with the Federal Air Regulations, Title 14, Chapter I, 

Part 77, Subpart C, Code of Federal Regulations, which is 

incorporated by reference including any subsequent editions or 

amendments. Copies of these regulations are available at no cost 

to the public by visiting https://www.govinfo.gov. Close 

proximity, as referenced in this Paragraph, shall be assessed on a 

case-by-case basis according to the orientation of the landing area, 

and its respective alignment to the public highway. 

(b)  No construction or alteration as referenced in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule shall be undertaken without having first obtained an 

Aircraft Landing Area Permit from the Department. An Aircraft 

Landing Area Permit shall be approved upon confirmation of 

satisfaction, by written documentation, of the clearance 

requirements detailed in Paragraph (a), all applicable 

requirements by the county or municipality, and Federal 

regulations. All construction or alteration shall be in accordance 

with the Aircraft Landing Area Permit. Except for highways on 

the Federal-aid highway system, the Board of Transportation shall 

authorize a permit at variance with the foregoing Federal Aviation 

Administration standards if it determines that the construction or 

alteration of the aircraft landing area will not result in a public 

road being a hazard to air navigation. The Department's 

determination of whether a public road is a hazard to air 

navigation shall be dependent on the type of aircraft, orientation 

of the landing area, and its respective alignment to the public 

highway, traffic, and utilities. 

(c)  Applicants seeking an Aircraft Landing Area Permit shall 

provide the Department with all plans, designs, estimates, and 

supporting data at the time the application is made. The estimates 

and data required may include, topographical surveys of the 

airport or aircraft landing area site and surrounding areas, 

including the proposed construction or alteration, with particular 

references to highways in the vicinity; hydrographic surveys, with 

particular reference to the effect that the proposed construction or 

alteration will have upon drainage patterns; and area maps, airport 

traffic patterns, and approach surfaces. 
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(d)  This Rule shall not apply to publicly owned and operated 

airports and aircraft landing areas receiving Federal funds and 

subject to regulation by the Federal Aviation Administration, nor 

shall this Rule be construed to prohibit necessary repairs from 

being made to or on any airport facilities regardless of their 

present location. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(22); 

Eff. November 1, 1985; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0426 ACCESS ROUTES FOR STAA 

DIMENSIONED VEHICLES 

The definitions and requirements set forth in this Rule shall apply 

to access routes for Surface Transportation Assistance Act 

(STAA) dimensioned vehicles. 

(1) Definitions. 

(a) "Twin trailer truck" means a vehicle 

combination consisting of a truck-

tractor and two trailing units, with a 

width not to exceed 102 inches, as 

authorized by G.S. 20-115.1. 

(b) "The National Truck Network" means 

a network of interstate, federal-aid 

primary, and other highway routes 

within the State that have been 

designated by the Department for 

motor vehicle combination use 

pursuant to G.S. 20-115.1(g) or the 

United States Secretary of 

Transportation for STAA 

dimensioned vehicle use. State 

highway system roads designated by 

the Department pursuant to G.S. 20-

115.1(g) shall herein be referred to as 

the "North Carolina Truck Network." 

(c) "Terminal" means any location where: 

(i) freight either originates, 

terminates, or is handled in 

the transportation process; or 

(ii) commercial motor carriers 

maintain operating facilities. 

(d) "Vehicle Template" means a drawing 

of the radius of a twin trailer turn used 

to determine the route design 

necessary to accommodate the 

vehicle. 

(e) "Short-cut" means a route used for the 

purpose of connecting two National or 

North Carolina Truck Network routes. 

(2) Reasonable Access Requirements. 

(a) No filing or authorization by the 

Department shall be required for 

access to terminals and service 

facilities located within three road 

miles of the National or North 

Carolina Truck Network. 

(b) The following requirements shall 

apply for access to terminals located 

beyond three road miles from the 

National or North Carolina Truck 

Network. 

(i) Access routes approved prior 

to June 1, 1991, for any one 

particular type of STAA 

dimensioned vehicle are 

approved for all STAA 

dimensioned vehicles for 

access purposes only. 

(ii) Terminal officials and truck 

operators shall submit an 

application for a proposed 

new access route to the State 

Traffic Engineer of the 

Department for approval. 

The application shall be 

provided by the State Traffic 

Engineer. The contents of the 

application shall include the 

type of route designation 

requested, and name and 

contact information of the 

requesting party. The 

submittal shall also include a 

map, or photocopy of a 

portion of a map, showing the 

proposed access route(s) or 

changes to an existing 

approved access route(s) and 

the terminal location. The 

State Traffic Engineer may 

be reached at 919-814-5100 

or 750 N. Greenfield 

Parkway, Garner, North 

Carolina 27529. 

(iii) The State Traffic Engineer 

may seek advice from the 

State Highway Patrol, the 

Division of Motor Vehicles, 

or other law enforcement 

officials concerning the 

application. 

(iv) Public notice of all 

applications for "reasonable 

access" pursuant to Sub-Item 

(2)(c) of this Rule shall be 

published by the Department 

of Transportation in a 

newspaper circulated in the 

area of the State where access 

is requested. The notice shall 

be published at least once a 

week on the same day of the 

week for two consecutive 

weeks. Governing bodies of 

incorporated municipalities 
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shall be notified by the 

Department of all 

applications within their 

jurisdictions. 

(v) The State Traffic Engineer 

shall approve or deny all 

applications for proposed 

new accessed routes based 

upon the application of 

vehicle templates, roadway 

plans, and photographs. If 

plans or photographs are not 

available or the use of vehicle 

templates is not practical, the 

terminal official or truck 

operator shall provide a 

STAA dimensioned test 

vehicle and driver for the 

purpose of observing the text 

vehicle traverse the requested 

access route. 

(vi) Safety factors that shall be 

taken into consideration 

when reviewing and 

evaluating requested access 

route shall include, traffic 

congestion, traffic volume, 

route length, vehicle mix, 

geometric design of the 

highway, intersection 

geometrics, width of the 

shoulders, width of the 

pavement, super-elevation of 

the pavement, pavement 

conditions, at-grade railroad 

crossings, stopping sight 

distance, percentage passing 

sight distance, speed limits, 

vertical and horizontal 

alignments, ability of other 

vehicles to pass trucks, width 

of bridges, previous accident 

statistics, and location of 

schools. 

(vii) Short-cut routes shall not be 

authorized by this Rule. Such 

a route shall be considered 

for designation as an addition 

to the National or North 

Carolina Truck Network by 

the Department pursuant to 

G.S. 20-115.1(g). 

(viii) The State Traffic Engineer 

shall approve or reject any 

application submitted 

pursuant to this Sub-item 

within 90 days of receipt. The 

State Traffic Engineer shall 

provide notification and 

justification for any approval 

or rejection to the applicant 

and law enforcement 

officials. Automatic approval 

of a requested access route 

shall be provided if such 

notification is not received 

within the 90-day period. 

(c) The Department shall notify State and 

local law enforcement officers of an 

approved "reasonable access" route 

that serves each terminal within the 

jurisdiction of the enforcement 

agency. The State Traffic Engineer 

shall also make available to terminal 

officials and commercial motor 

vehicle operators information 

regarding reasonable access to and 

from the National or North Carolina 

Truck Network. 

(d) The Department may, at any time 

subsequent to approval, revoke any 

routes designated as a "reasonable 

access" route based on safety 

considerations. Terminal officials, 

truck operators, and law enforcement 

officials shall be notified in writing 30 

days prior to any revocation. 

(e) Any STAA dimensioned vehicle 

traveling an access route shall have on 

board an cargo manifest. 

(f) A terminal official, truck operator, or 

an state and local law enforcement 

officer may appeal the rulings 

concerning an access route made by 

the State Traffic Engineer to the 

Secretary of Transportation. In giving 

notice of appeal, the documentation to 

support reasons for believing that the 

determination of the State Traffic 

Engineer was erroneous shall be 

provided. The decision of the 

Secretary of Transportation shall be 

the final agency decision. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-115.1; 136-18; 143B-350; 

Board of Transportation Minutes for November 18, 1988; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0427 MULTI-USE PATHS 

(a)  Authorization for a municipality to construct and maintain 

multi-use paths on State highway system rights-of-way shall be 

provided through an encroachment agreement between the 

municipality and Department. The encroachment agreement shall 

specify the conditions of approval. 

(b)  The municipality shall submit multi-use path plans with a 

standardized encroachment agreement to the local highway 
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Division Engineer for review and approval. Encroachment 

agreements shall include provisions indicating that the 

municipality is responsible for the following: 

(1) design, construction, signage, and maintenance 

of the proposed multi-use paths; 

(2) submitting design and construction plans to the 

local highway Division Engineer for review and 

approval prior to bidding for construction; and 

(3) relocating the proposed multi-use trail if the 

highway right-of-way is required for the 

purpose of road widening by the Department. 

(c)  A proposed encroachment agreement shall be approved by the 

Division Engineer upon a determination that the proposed multi-

use path is safe and does not conflict with planned highway 

improvements that have been recommended in an adopted 

transportation plan. 

(d)  If a proposed multi-use path utilizes State highway system 

rights-of-way acquired through the use of federal aid highway 

funds, then approval shall be obtained from the Federal Highway 

Administration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-71.9; 136-71.10; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Transferred and Recodified from 19A NCAC 2B .0161 Eff. 

October 1, 1993. 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 31 - MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY 

LICENSURE BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0201 CREDENTIALS REQUIRED 

An applicant for licensure as a marriage and family therapist or 

marriage and family therapist associate shall submit the following 

to the Board: 

(1) Notarized application form and application fee; 

(2) Official graduate college transcripts sent to the 

Board by the training institution(s) 

demonstrating: 

(a) completion of a master's or doctoral 

degree in marriage and family therapy 

from a recognized educational 

institution, as defined in G.S. 90-

270.47(5), encompassing an 

appropriate course of study as listed in 

Rule .0501 of this Chapter; or 

(b) completion of a related degree, as 

defined in G.S. 90-270.47(6), from a 

recognized educational institution, 

encompassing an appropriate course 

of study as defined in Rule .0501 of 

this Chapter; 

(3) Copies of course catalog and syllabi reflective 

of the semester the course was passed as listed 

on the transcript to show marriage and family 

therapy course content; 

(4) Supervision Reports, using forms available on 

the Board website, www.nclmft.org, submitted 

from American Association of Marriage and 

Family Therapy (AAMFT) approved 

supervisors. Forms shall verify the number of 

hours of clinical experience with individuals, 

groups, relational units, assessments, and 

psychoeducation, in addition to verifying the 

number of supervision hours acquired 

individually and in group settings as defined by 

the AAMFT Approved Supervision 

Designation: Standards Handbook; 

(5) Evidence of good moral character, which shall 

include three endorsements for licensure, using 

Board forms, from persons familiar with the 

applicant; and 

(6) Evidence of a passing score on the National 

Marriage and Family Therapy Examination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 90-270.52; 90-

270.54(a); 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2011; March 1, 1996; April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0202 REVIEW PROCEDURE 

(a)  The applicants shall submit copies of all materials required by 

Rule .0201 of this Section to the Board office one month prior to 

the scheduled meeting when the application will be reviewed.  

(b)  If the application is approved by the Board, the Board shall 

inform the applicant of the approval. Applicants shall be notified 

using the contact information listed on the application. A physical 

copy of the license will be issued to the new licensee. 

(c)  If the application is not approved by the Board, the Board shall 

inform the applicant of the denial, with an explanation of the areas 

that are deficient. Applicants may remedy deficiencies within two 

years from the date of the notification without having to reapply. 

After two years of application inactivity, the file shall be closed 

and a new application and fee shall be required. 

(d)  If during the review process, questions arise that may affect 

the applicant's qualifications for licensing, the Board shall seek to 

resolve the questions by communication with the person who 

made the comments or any other person(s), or may refer the matter 

to counsel or to an employee of the Board for investigation. 

(e)  If the Board denies an application, it shall send the applicant 

written notice, stating the grounds for denial. An applicant who 

has been denied licensure may file a request for hearing pursuant 

to G.S. 150B-38 within 15 days of notice of the denial. In lieu of 

a hearing, the applicant may present additional written material in 

support of the application, which shall be reviewed at the next 

scheduled Board meeting. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51; 90-270.52; 90-

270.60; 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; March 1, 1996; April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 
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21 NCAC 31 .0203 ISSUANCE OF LICENSE 

An applicant shall be granted a license when all requirements for 

licensing are met. The license shall display the licensee's name, 

licensing date, license number, the signatures of the Chairperson 

and Vice-Chairperson and the official seal of the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51; 90-270.54; 90-

270.54A; 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0301 WRITTEN EXAMINATION 

(a)  All applicants for licensure as a Marriage and Family 

Therapist or Marriage and Family Therapy Associate shall be 

required to pass the National Marriage and Family Therapy 

Examination. 

(b)  The examination dates shall be determined by the American 

Marriage and Family Therapy Regulatory Board, (AMFTRB) and 

their contracted testing service. Dates for the examination shall be 

posted on the websites for the Board and the AMFTRB. 

(c)  The examination application requirements shall be set forth 

by the AMFTRB and adopted by the Board. 

(d)  Special Administrations. Applicants with disabilities that 

meet compliance requirements of the Americans with Disabilities 

Act of 1990 (ADA) may request accommodations for testing.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 90-270.55; 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; March 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0401 LICENSURE RENEWAL FORM 

(a)  Licensees shall provide documentation of compliance with 

Rule .0701 of this Chapter to the Board on the forms provided by 

the Board. 

(b)  The Board shall waive the license application renewal fee for 

any individual who is currently licensed by and in good standing 

with the Board if the individual is serving in the armed forces of 

the United States and if G.S. 105-249.2 grants the individual an 

extension of time to file a tax return. The waiver shall be in effect 

for any period that is disregarded under Section 7508 of the 

Internal Revenue Code in determining the taxpayer's liability for 

a federal tax. 

(c)  The Board shall extend the deadline for filing a license 

renewal application for any individual who currently holds a 

license and is in good standing with the Board if the individual is 

serving in the armed forces of the United States and if G.S. 105-

249.2 grants the individual an extension of time to file a tax return. 

The extension shall be in effect for any period that is disregarded 

under Section 7508 of the Internal Revenue Code in determining 

the taxpayer's liability for a federal tax. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 90-270.58; 93B-

15; 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; March 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0403 REINSTATEMENT AFTER 

EXPIRATION 

(a)  A license that expired for nonpayment of renewal fees or 

failure to comply with continuing education requirements may be 

reinstated, if within two years of expiration, the reinstatement fee 

is paid and evidence of completing continuing education 

requirements is submitted. The continuing education 

requirements documented at the time of reinstatement must equal 

the hours required had the license not expired. 

(b)  A license that has expired for nonpayment of renewal fees or 

failure to comply with continuing education requirements for a 

period of more than two years shall not be reinstated. A new 

license may be granted pursuant to paying the applicable license 

application fees and meeting the licensing requirements under 

Sections .0200 and .0300 of this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 90-270.57; 90-

270.58A; 

Eff. March 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0404 RETURN FROM INACTIVE 

STATUS 

The Board shall consider requests for a return to active status on 

an individual basis. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 90-270.58B; 

Eff. March 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0501 APPROPRIATE COURSE OF 

STUDY 

(a)  Training required for an applicant with a marriage and family 

therapy degree or related degree in G.S. 90-270.54(a)(1)(a) is a 

graduate degree that includes marriage and family therapy 

content, including coursework in:  

(1) Theoretical Foundation of Marriage and Family 

Therapy; 

(2) Assessment and Diagnosis; 

(3) Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy; 

(4) Human Development and Family Relations; 

(5) Professional Identity and Ethics; 

(6) Clinical Research; and 

(7) Supervised Clinical Practicum or Internship. 

(b)  Applicants who were enrolled in a master's degree program 

on or before October 1, 2011 shall also be considered for licensure 

with coursework that includes specific marriage and family 

therapy content, including coursework in:  

(1) General Family Studies; 

(2) Marriage and Family Therapy Theory; 

(3) Psychopathology/Abnormal Behavior; 

(4) Theories of Personality; and 

(5) Supervised Clinical Practicum or Internship. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.47; 90-270.51(b); 90-

270.54(a)(1)(a); 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2011; March 1, 1996; April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 
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21 NCAC 31 .0502 ONGOING SUPERVISION 

(a)  Ongoing supervision as contained in G.S. 90-270.51(a)(1)(b) 

means face-to-face conversation with someone who holds the 

designation as an AAMFT Approved Supervisor, or a person who 

otherwise meets the standards set forth by AAMFT as outlined in 

the current edition of the AAMFT Approved Supervision 

Designation: Standards Handbook, which is incorporated by the 

Board by reference. These incorporated standards include 

subsequent amendments and additions. A copy of these standards 

may be obtained at no charge at their website, www.aamft.org. 

(b)  Ongoing supervision shall focus on the raw data, defined as 

quantitative information about the client, from the supervisee's 

continuing clinical practice, which shall be available to the 

supervisor through a combination of direct observation where the 

supervisor witnesses the supervisee providing therapy during a 

live session, co-therapy, written clinical notes, and audio and 

video recordings. 

(c)  None of the following constitutes ongoing supervision: 

(1) Peer supervision - the supervision by a person 

of equivalent qualifications, status, and 

experience, as opposed to supervision provided 

by someone who holds a higher level of 

licensure than the supervisee; 

(2) Supervision by current or former family 

members of the individual's immediate or 

extended family, including a current or past 

significant other, lineal ascendants or 

descendants of the individual or his or her 

significant other, or any other persons where the 

nature of the personal relationship prevents or 

makes difficult the establishment of a 

professional relationship due to dual roles or 

conflicts of interest; 

(3) Administrative supervision - clinical practice 

performed under administrative, rather than 

clinical, supervision by an institutional director 

or executive; 

(4) A didactic process wherein techniques or 

procedures are taught in a classroom, 

workshop, or seminar; or 

(5) Consultation, staff development, or orientation 

to a field or program or role-playing of family 

interrelationships as a substitute for clinical 

practice in a clinical situation. 

(d)  Applicants for licensure must have accumulated a minimum 

of 200 hours of ongoing supervision from a supervisor who meets 

the standards as set forth in the AAMFT Approved Supervision 

Designation: Standards Handbook, concurrent with the 

completion of the 1,500 hours of clinical experience required by 

G.S. 90-270.51(a)(1)(b). Licensed Marriage and Family Therapy 

Associates must remain under on-going supervision for at least 

one hour monthly until licensed as a Licensed Marriage and 

Family Therapist as required by Rule .0802 of this Chapter. 

(e)  Graduates of marriage and family therapy programs who have 

completed 200 hours of ongoing supervision from a supervisor 

who meets the standards as set forth in the AAMFT Approved 

Supervision Designation: Standards Handbook, within their 

degree program shall complete a minimum of 25 hours of 

approved ongoing supervision concurrently with the completion 

of the remaining hours of post-degree clinical experience required 

by . G.S. 90-270.51(a)(1)(b). Graduates of marriage and family 

therapy programs may apply up to 500 hours of direct client 

contact, as defined by Rule .0506, obtained during their program 

toward the 1,500 required as long as those hours were obtained 

under the supervision of an AAMFT Approved Supervisor or 

AAMFT Supervisor Candidate who held a supervision contract 

with the applicant and who was personally responsible for 

overseeing the applicant's treatment plans, therapy notes, progress 

notes, practice of therapy, and client interaction. Applicants for 

the Marriage and Family Therapy license must have documented 

a minimum of 500 relational hours toward their required 1,500 

hours. For the purposes of this Rule, "relational hours" shall mean 

hours spent providing therapy with more than one client in the 

room who are all part of the same treatment plan. Relational hours 

may also include face-to-face communication with members of 

the larger system, as defined in G.S. 90-270.47(2b), who are also 

working with the same client(s). This contact may only be counted 

if it is authorized via written release by the client(s) or required 

by law for the purpose of developing and carrying out a treatment 

plan. 

(f)  Supervision Reports, as outlined in Rule .0201(4) of this 

Chapter, shall be submitted on supervision report forms provided 

by the Board. Supervision report forms are contained within the 

licensure application packet that may be obtained from the 

Board's website. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 90-270.54; 90-

270.54A; 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; May 1, 1996; April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0503 RELATED DEGREE 

(a)  An appropriate course of study for a "related" degree under 

G.S. 90-270.47(6)(e) is defined as a minimum of or quarter hour 

equivalent to a 45-semester hour graduate program. Thirty-three 

semester hours or their quarter hour equivalent shall consist of the 

following content and clinical training: 

(1) Theoretical Foundation of Marriage and Family 

Therapy (six semester hours); 

(2) Assessment and Diagnosis (three semester 

hours); 

(3) Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy (six 

semester hours); 

(4) Human Development and Family Relations 

(three semester hours); 

(5) Professional Identity and Ethics (three semester 

hours); 

(6) Research in Marriage and Family Therapy 

(three semester hours); and 

(7) Supervised Clinical Practicum or Internship 

(nine semester hours). 

The remaining 18 semester hours shall consist of course work 

appropriate to the disciplinary specialty in which the degree is 

granted. 

(b)  Applicants who were enrolled in a related degree program on 

or before July 1, 2011 shall be considered for licensure in 

accordance with this Paragraph. An appropriate course of study 
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for an "related" degree under G.S.90-270.47(6)(e) is defined by 

the Board to consist of a 45-semester hour graduate program. 

Twenty-seven semester hours consist of the following content and 

clinical training: 

(1) General Family Studies (six semester hours). 

This category may include courses in marriage, 

family relations, child development, family 

sociology, or other related topics in which the 

marriage and family content is evident. 

(2) Marriage and Family Therapy Theory (six 

semester hours). This category includes 

specific and extensive content in marriage and 

family therapy content and systems theory 

theory, not just general counseling course 

content, as well as other theoretical approaches 

to marriage and family therapy. In addition, the 

Board shall consider course work in this 

category that exceeds six semester hours to be 

applicable toward meeting the requirements for 

General Family Studies. 

(3) Individual Studies. Theories of Personality 

(three semester hours), and Psychopathology or 

Abnormal Behavior (three semester hours). 

(4) Clinical Practicum in Marriage and Family 

Therapy, nine semester hours or 20 hours per 

week for 12 months. 

The remaining 18 semester hours shall consist of course work 

appropriate to the disciplinary specialty in which the degree is 

granted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.47(1)e; 90-270.51(b); 

90-270.54(a)(1)a; 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; March 1, 1996; April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0504 ALTERNATIVE TO CLINICAL 

PRACTICUM 

In lieu of the clinical practicum requirements under Rule .0501 or 

Rule .0503 of this Section, the Board shall accept evidence of a 

supervised clinical practicum, which is defined as at least 120 

clinical contact hours with at least 24 hours of supervision 

obtained after the granting of a related degree in an equivalent 

course of study. The supervision must meet the requirements of 

"approved supervision" under Rule .0502 of this Section. The 

hours of supervision must be reported to the Board on the Board 

forms, available at nclmft.org. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; March 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0505 NONDEGREE GRANTING 

POSTGRADUATE TRAINING PROGRAMS 

(a)  In assessing the applicant's fulfillment of the educational 

requirements for licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-270.54(a)(1)(a), 

the Board shall accept a transcript as evidence of the applicant's 

completion of postgraduate training in marriage and family 

therapy from nondegree granting institutions or programs 

providing that: 

(1) The program has a specified curriculum in 

marriage and family therapy; 

(2) The program is ongoing and additive, which 

means offered at the same place over a specific 

period of time and is available on an ongoing 

basis; 

(3) The program is attached to an identifiable 

institution, training facility, or agency; and 

(4) Documentation is maintained by the institution, 

training facility, or agency regarding a person's 

involvement in and completion of the program. 

Such documentation must include approved 

clinical supervision and performance 

evaluation. 

(b)  Workshops, seminars and general continuing education 

events do not qualify as postgraduate training under this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 90-

270.54(a)(1)(a); 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1996; April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0506 DIRECT CLIENT CONTACT 

(a)  As used in this Chapter, "direct client contact" means face-to-

face therapy between the therapist and client, therapy within 

individuals, couples, families, or groups from a systemic 

perspective and includes relational hours. Direct client contact 

must: 

(1) Relate to client treatment plans; 

(2) Be goal-directed; and 

(3) Assist the client to effect change in cognition, 

affect, and behavior. 

(b)  Assessments (intake and otherwise) may be counted up to 250 

hours of direct client contact. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"assessment" shall mean a clinical encounter that involves 

gathering of current and historical data from a client that is then 

used to determine what type of therapeutic service is most 

appropriate. If the individual who conducted the assessment does 

not provide the therapeutic service, the Board shall consider it as 

an assessment hour only. 

(c)  Client psychoeducation may be counted up to 250 hours direct 

client contact. For the purposes of this Rule, "Psychoeducation" 

means a treatment approach that provides education for 

individuals and families in assistance with emotional, mental, 

social, and relational disturbances. 

(d)  The following are not direct client contact and may not be 

counted: 

(1) Observing therapy without actively 

participating in follow-up therapy at some point 

during or immediately following the session, 

while the client is still available;  

(2) Record keeping; 

(3) Administrative activities; 

(4) Supervision; and 

(5) Client contact while not receiving supervision. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 90-270.54(a)(1)b; 

Eff. March 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0609 ETHICAL PRINCIPLES 

(a)  The Board adopts the the American Association for Marriage 

and Family Therapy (AAMFT) Code of Ethics by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of the 

Code may be viewed for free at www.aamft.org. 

(b)  Each applicant or licensee shall follow this code of ethics. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 90-270.60(9); 

Eff. March 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0701 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(a)  Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists and Licensed 

Marriage and Family Therapy Associates shall submit each year 

with the license renewal forms proof of 20 hours of continuing 

education credits in marriage and family therapy continuing 

education obtained subsequent to the prior license renewal. Proof 

of completion shall consist of a certificate of attendance and 

completion signed by the continuing education provider and shall 

include date(s) of attendance, number of hours, name of attendee, 

and name of course. 

(b)  Continuing education units that by title and content deal with 

marriage and family therapy practice and therapeutic issues, 

ethics and supervision of marriage and family therapy shall be 

approved by the Board. 

(c)  Ongoing supervision by an AAMFT approved supervisor or 

AAMFT supervisor candidate may be utilized by the supervisee 

for up to 12 hours of continuing education. Written documentation 

of the supervisor's status shall be provided to the Board via a copy 

of the AAMFT supervisor or supervisor candidate verification 

form. 

(d)  Three hours of the required 20 hours of continuing education 

shall consist of ethics training in the provision of professional 

mental health services for each renewal period. 

(e)  The maximum number of hours of continuing education 

credits for presenting a continuing education course in marriage 

and family therapy or teaching a course in marriage and family 

therapy at a recognized educational institution is five. 

(f)  Continuing education credit shall not be accepted for the 

following: 

(1) Regular work activities, administrative staff 

meetings, case staffing, or reporting; 

(2) Membership in, holding office in, or 

participation on boards or committees, business 

meetings of professional organizations, or 

banquet speeches; 

(3) Independent learning undertaken by the 

licensee without peer or other guidance, review, 

input, supervision, or monitoring; 

(4) Training related to policies and procedures of 

an agency; or 

(5) Non-therapy content programs, such as finance 

or business management. 

(g)  If a person submits documentation for continuing education 

that is not identifiable as dealing with marriage and family therapy 

practice and therapeutic issues, ethics, or the supervision of 

marriage and family therapy, the Board shall request a written 

description of the continuing education and how it applies to 

professional practice in marriage and family therapy.  

(h)  If the Board determines that the training cannot be considered, 

the individual shall be given 90 days from the date of notification 

to replace the hours not allowed. Those hours shall be considered 

replacement hours and shall not be counted during the next 

renewal period. If evidence of completion of marriage and family 

continuing education is not presented to the Board within 90 days 

from the date of notification, the license shall expire 

automatically. 

(i)  The Board shall waive the continuing education requirements 

in this Rule for any individual who is currently licensed by and in 

good standing with the Board if the individual is serving in the 

armed forces of the United States and if G.S. 105-249.2 grants the 

individual an extension of time to file a tax return. The waiver 

shall be in effect for any period that is disregarded under Section 

7508 of the Internal Revenue Code in determining the taxpayer's 

liability for a federal tax. 

(j)  If the proof of completion is not postmarked by July 1, the 

proof of completion shall not be accepted by the Board, and the 

license will expire effective July 1. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 90-270-58C; 

93B-15; 

Eff. March 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0801 LICENSED MARRIAGE AND 

FAMILY THERAPY ASSOCIATE CREDENTIALS 

REQUIRED 

(a)  An applicant for licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapy 

Associate shall ensure the submission of the following to the 

Board: 

(1) Notarized application form and application fee; 

(2) Official graduate college transcripts sent 

directly to the Board by the training 

institution(s) showing completion of a master's 

or doctoral degree in marriage and family 

therapy from a recognized educational 

institution, or completion of a related degree 

from a recognized educational institution with 

course of study encompassing coursework as 

defined by the Board in Rule .0501 of this 

Chapter. Additional documentation, such as 

copies of the course catalog and syllabi of 

qualifying coursework shall be required if the 

Board has questions about course content; 

(3) Evidence of good moral character, as shown by 

three endorsements for licensure, using Board 

forms, from persons familiar with the applicant; 
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(4) Evidence of a passing score on the examination 

required by the Board pursuant to G.S. 90-

270.54(a)(2); and 

(5) A supervision agreement with a supervisor who 

meets the requirements of Rule .0502 for 

ongoing supervision. 

(b)  All application materials shall be received within two years 

from the date of the application or the file shall be closed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.51(b); 90-270.54A; 

Eff. March 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .0802 LICENSED MARRIAGE AND 

FAMILY THERAPY ASSOCIATE 

(a)  For purposes of G.S. 90-270.52A(c) "special circumstances" 

shall mean events beyond the control or fault of the Licensed 

Marriage and Family Therapy Associate, including illness of self, 

life partner, spouse, or child, or death of life partner, spouse, or 

child.  

(b)  Persons who are licensed as Licensed Marriage and Family 

Therapy Associates must disclose to their clients that they are 

required to practice under on-going supervision, and the name of 

their supervisor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.54A; 

Eff. July 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .1001 FEES 

The Board sets the following fees: 

(1) Each license examination  $ 50.00 

(2) Each license application as a marriage and 

family therapist   $200.00 

(3) Each license application as a marriage and 

family therapist associate  $200.00 

(4) Each reciprocal license application $200.00 

(5) Each renewal of license  $100.00 

(6) Each reinstatement of an expired license 

    $200.00 

(7) Each application to return to active status 

    $200.00 

(8) Each duplicate license  $ 25.00 

(9) Each annual maintenance of inactive status 

    $ 50.00 

(10) Each application to extend associate license 

    $ 50.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.57; 

Eff. July 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 31 .1002 FUND SUSPENSION 

In the event the Board's authority to expend funds is suspended 

pursuant to G.S. 93B-2, the Board shall continue to issue and 

renew licenses and all fees tendered shall be placed in an escrow 

account maintained by the Board for this purpose.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93B-2(d); 

Eff. July 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1303 APPLICATION FOR PHYSICIAN 

LICENSE 

(a)  In order to obtain a physician license, an applicant shall: 

(1) submit a completed application, attesting under 

oath or affirmation that the information on the 

application is true and complete and authorizing 

the release to the Board of all information 

pertaining to the application; 

(2) submit a photograph, two inches by two inches, 

affixed to the oath or affirmation that has been 

attested to by a notary public; 

(3) submit documentation of a legal name change, 

if applicable; 

(4) supply a certified copy of applicant's birth 

certificate if the applicant was born in the U.S. 

or a certified copy of a valid and unexpired U.S. 

passport. If the applicant does not possess proof 

of U.S. citizenship, the applicant must provide 

information about applicant's immigration and 

work status that the Board will use to verify 

applicant's ability to work lawfully in the U.S.; 

(5) submit proof on the Board's Medical Education 

Certification form that the applicant has 

completed at least 130 weeks of medical 

education and received a medical degree. 

However, the Board shall waive the 130-week 

requirement if the applicant has been certified 

or recertified by an ABMS, CCFP, FRCP, 

FRCS, or AOA approved specialty board 

within the past 10 years; 

(6) for an applicant who has graduated from a 

medical or osteopathic school approved by the 

LCME, the CACMS, or COCA, meet the 

requirements set forth in G.S. 90-9.1; 

(7) for an applicant graduating from a medical 

school not approved by the LCME, meet the 

requirements set forth in G.S. 90-9.2; 

(8) provide proof of passage of an examination 

testing general medical knowledge. In addition 

to the examinations set forth in G.S. 90-10.1 (a 

state board licensing examination, NBME, 

USMLE, FLEX, or their successors), the Board 

accepts the following examinations (or their 

successors) for licensure: 

(A) COMLEX; 

(B) NBOME; and 

(C) MCCQE; 

(9) submit proof that the applicant has completed 

graduate medical education as required by G.S. 

90-9.1 or 90-9.2, as follows: 
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(A) A graduate of a medical school 

approved by LCME, CACMS, or 

COCA shall have completed at least 

one year of graduate medical 

education approved by ACGME, 

CFPC, RCPSC, or AOA; 

(B) A graduate of a medical school not 

approved by LCME shall have 

completed three years of graduate 

medical education approved by 

ACGME, CFPC, RCPSC, or AOA; 

(C) An applicant may satisfy the graduate 

medical education requirements of 

Parts (A) or (B) of this Subparagraph 

by showing proof of current 

certification by a specialty board 

recognized by the ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, or AOA; 

(10) submit a FCVS profile: 

(A) If the applicant is a graduate of a 

medical school approved by LCME, 

CACMS, or COCA, and the applicant 

previously has completed a FCVS 

profile; or 

(B) If the applicant is a graduate of a 

medical school other than those 

approved by LCME, COCA, or 

CACMS; 

(11) if a graduate of a medical school other than 

those approved by LCME, AOA, COCA, or 

CACMS, furnish an original ECFMG 

certification status report of a currently valid 

certification of the ECFMG. The ECFMG 

certification status report requirement shall be 

waived if: the applicant has passed the ECFMG 

examination and successfully completed an 

approved Fifth Pathway program (original 

ECFMG score transcript from the ECFMG 

required); 

(12) submit an AMA Physician Profile and, if the 

applicant is an osteopathic physician, also 

submit an AOA Physician Profile; 

(13) if applying on the basis of the USMLE, submit: 

(A) a transcript from the FSMB showing a 

score on USMLE Step 1, both portions 

of Step 2 (clinical knowledge and 

clinical skills) and Step 3; and 

(B) proof that the applicant has passed 

each step within three attempts. 

However, the Board shall waive the 

three-attempt requirement if the 

applicant has been certified or 

recertified by an ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, AOA, American Board 

of Oral Maxillofacial Surgery 

("ABOMS") approved specialty board 

within the past 10 years; 

(14) if applying on the basis of COMLEX, submit: 

(A) a transcript from the NBOME 

showing a score on COMLEX Level 

1, both portions of Level 2 (cognitive 

evaluation and performance 

evaluation) and Level 3; and 

(B) proof that the applicant has passed 

COMLEX within three attempts. 

However, the Board shall waive the 

three-attempt requirement if the 

applicant has been certified or 

recertified by an ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, AOA, or ABOMS 

approved specialty board within the 

past 10 years; 

(15) if applying on the basis of any other board-

approved examination, submit a transcript 

showing a passing score; 

(16) submit two completed fingerprint record cards 

supplied by the Board; 

(17) submit a signed consent allowing a search of 

local, state, and national files for any criminal 

record; 

(18) provide two original references from persons 

with no family or marital relationship to the 

applicant. These references shall be: 

(A) from physicians who have observed 

the applicant's work in a clinical 

environment within the past three 

years; 

(B) on forms supplied by the Board; 

(C) dated within six months of the 

submission of the application; and 

(D) bearing the original signature of the 

writer; 

(19) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee pursuant 

to G.S. 90-13.1(a), plus the cost of a criminal 

background check; and 

(20) upon request, supply any additional 

information the Board deems necessary to 

evaluate the applicant's competence and 

character. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

the applicant shall submit proof that the applicant has: 

(1) within the past 10 years taken and passed either: 

(A) an exam listed in G.S. 90-10.1 (a state 

board licensing examination, 

NBOME, USMLE, COMLEX, or 

MCCQE or their successors); 

(B) SPEX (with a score of 75 or higher); 

or 

(C) COMVEX (with a score of 75 or 

higher); 

(2) within the past 10 years: 

(A) obtained certification or recertification 

or CAQ by a specialty board 

recognized by the ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, AOA or American 

Board of Maxillofacial Surgery; 
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(B) met requirements for ABMS MOC 

(maintenance of certification) or AOA 

OCC (Osteopathic continuous 

certification); 

(3) within the past 10 years completed GME 

approved by ACGME, CFPC, RCPSC, or 

AOA; or 

(4) within the past three years completed CME as 

required by 21 NCAC 32R .0101(a), .0101(b), 

and .0102. 

(c)  All reports must be submitted directly to the Board from the 

primary source.  

(d)  An applicant shall appear in person for an interview with the 

Board or its agent, if the Board determines it needs more 

information to evaluate the applicant based on the information 

provided by the applicant and the Board's concerns. 

(e)  An application must be completed within one year of 

submission. If not, the applicant shall be charged another 

application fee, plus the cost of another criminal background 

check. 

 

History note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.1; 90-9.1; 90-

9.2; 90-13.1; 

Eff. August 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2013; January 1, 2012; November 1, 

2011; October 1, 2011; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1350 REINSTATEMENT OF 

PHYSICIAN LICENSE 

(a)  "Reinstatement" is for a physician who has held a North 

Carolina license, but whose license either has been inactive for 

more than one year, or whose license became inactive as a result 

of disciplinary action (revocation or suspension) taken by the 

Board. It also applies to a physician who has surrendered a license 

prior to charges being filed by the Board. 

(b)  All applicants for reinstatement shall: 

(1) submit a completed application, that can be 

found on the Board's website in the application 

section at 

http://www.ncmedboard.org/licensing, 

attesting under oath or affirmation that 

information on the application is true and 

complete, and authorizing the release to the 

Board of all information pertaining to the 

application; 

(2) submit documentation of a legal name change, 

if applicable; 

(3) supply a certified copy of the applicant's birth 

certificate if the applicant was born in the U.S. 

or a certified copy of a valid and unexpired U.S. 

passport. If the applicant does not possess proof 

of U.S. citizenship, the applicant shall provide 

information about the applicant's immigration 

status that the Board shall use to verify the 

applicant's legal presence in the U.S. 

Applicants who are not physically present in the 

U.S. and who do not plan to practice by being 

physically present in the U.S. shall submit a 

written statement to that effect; 

(4) furnish an original ECFMG certification status 

report of a currently valid certification of the 

ECFMG if the applicant is a graduate of a 

medical school other than those approved by 

LCME, AOA, COCA, or CACMS. The 

ECFMG certification status report requirement 

shall be waived if: the applicant has passed the 

ECFMG examination and completed an 

approved Fifth Pathway program (original 

ECFMG score transcript from the ECFMG 

required);  

(5) submit the AMA Physician Profile; and, if the 

applicant is an osteopathic physician, also 

submit the AOA Physician Profile; 

(6) submit documentation of CME obtained in the 

last three years;  

(7) submit two completed fingerprint cards 

supplied by the Board; 

(8) submit a signed consent allowing a search of 

local, state, and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(9) provide two original references from persons 

with no family or marital relationship to the 

applicant. These references shall be: 

(A) from physicians who have observed 

the applicant's work in a clinical 

environment within the past three 

years; 

(B) on forms supplied by the Board; 

(C) dated within six months of submission 

of the application; and 

(D) bearing the original signature of the 

author; 

(10) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee pursuant 

to G.S. 90-13.1(a), plus the cost of a criminal 

background check; and 

(11) upon request, provide any additional 

information the Board deems necessary to 

evaluate the applicant's qualifications. 

(c)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

the applicant shall submit proof that the applicant has: 

(1) within the past 10 years taken and passed either: 

(A) an exam listed in G.S. 90-10.1 (a state 

board licensing examination, 

NBOME, USMLE, COMLEX, or 

MCCQE or their successors); 

(B) SPEX (with a score of 75 or higher); 

or 

(C) COMLEX (with a score of 75 or 

higher); 

(2) within the past ten years: 

(A) obtained certification or recertification 

of CAQ by a specialty board 

recognized by the ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, AOA, or American 

Board of Oral Maxillofacial Surgery; 
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(B) met requirements for ABMS MOC 

(maintenance of certification) or AOA 

OCC (Osteopathic continuous 

certification); 

(3) within the past 10 years completed GME 

approved by ACGME, CFPC, RCPSC or AOA; 

or 

(4) within the past three years completed CME as 

required by 21 NCAC 32R .0101(a), .0101(b), 

and .0102. 

(d)  All reports shall be submitted directly to the Board from the 

primary source.  

(e)  An applicant shall be required to appear in person for an 

interview with the Board or its agent to evaluate the applicant's 

competence and character if the Board determines it needs more 

information to evaluate the applicant based on the information 

provided by the applicant and the Board's concerns. 

(f)  An application must be complete within one year of 

submission. If not, the applicant shall be charged another 

application fee plus the cost of another criminal background 

check. 

(g)  Notwithstanding the provisions of this Rule, the licensure 

requirements established by rule at the time the applicant first 

received his or her equivalent North Carolina license shall apply. 

Information about these Rules is available from the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.1; 90-9.1; 90-

10.1; 90-13.1; 

Eff. August 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2014; November 1, 2013; November 

1, 2011; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1502 APPLICATION FOR MEDICAL 

SCHOOL FACULTY LICENSE 

(a)  The Medical School Faculty License is limited to physicians 

who have expertise that can be used to help educate North 

Carolina medical students, post-graduate residents, and fellows 

but who do not meet the requirements for physician licensure. 

(b)  In order to obtain a Medical School Faculty License, an 

applicant shall: 

(1) submit a completed application, attesting under 

oath or affirmation that the information on the 

application is true and complete, and 

authorizing the release to the Board of all 

information pertaining to the application; 

(2) submit the Board's form, signed by the Dean or 

the Dean's appointed representative, stating that 

the applicant has received a full-time paid 

appointment as either an instructor, lecturer, 

assistant professor, associate professor, or full 

professor at a medical school in the state of 

North Carolina; 

(3) submit documentation of a legal name change, 

if applicable; 

(4) submit a photograph, two inches by two inches, 

affixed to the oath or affirmation that has been 

attested to by a notary public; 

(5) submit proof on the Board's Medical Education 

Certification form that the applicant has 

completed at least 130 weeks of medical 

education. However, the Board shall waive the 

130-week requirement if the applicant has been 

certified or recertified by an ABMS, FRCP, or 

FRCS approved specialty board within the past 

10 years; 

(6) supply a certified copy of applicant's birth 

certificate or a certified copy of a valid and 

unexpired U.S. passport if the applicant was 

born in the U.S. If the applicant does not 

possess proof of U.S. citizenship, the applicant 

must provide information about applicant's 

immigration and work status which the Board 

will use to verify applicant's lawful presence in 

the U.S.; 

(7) submit proof of satisfactory completion of at 

least one year of GME approved by ACGME, 

CFPC, RCPSC, or AOA; or evidence of other 

education, training or experience, determined 

by the Board to be equivalent; 

(8) submit reports from all medical or osteopathic 

boards from which the applicant has ever held 

a medical or osteopathic license, stating the 

status of the applicant's license and whether or 

not any action has been taken against the 

license; 

(9) submit an AMA Physician Profile; and, if 

applicant is an osteopathic physician, also 

submit an AOA Physician Profile; 

(10) submit a NPDB report dated within 60 days of 

applicant's oath; 

(11) submit a FSMB Board Action Data Bank 

report; 

(12) submit two completed fingerprint record cards 

supplied by the Board; 

(13) submit a signed consent form allowing a search 

of local, state, and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(14) provide two original reference letters from 

persons with no family or marital relationship 

to the applicant. These letters must be: 

(A) from physicians who have observed 

the applicant's work in a clinical 

environment within the past three 

years; 

(B) on forms supplied by the Board; 

(C) dated within six months of the 

applicant's oath; and 

(D) bearing the original signature of the 

writer; 

(15) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee pursuant 

to G.S. 90-13.1(a), plus the cost of a criminal 

background check; and 
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(16) upon request, supply any additional 

information the Board deems necessary to 

evaluate the applicant's competence and 

character. 

(c)  All reports must be submitted directly to the Board from the 

primary source.  

(d)  An applicant may be required to appear in person for an 

interview with the Board or its agent if the Board determines it 

needs more information to evaluate the applicant based on the 

information provided and the Board's concerns. 

(e)  An application must be completed within one year of the date 

of the applicant's oath. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-12.3; 90-13.2; 

Eff. June 28, 2011; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1706 PHYSICIAN PRACTICE AND 

LIMITED LICENSE FOR DISASTERS AND 

EMERGENCIES 

(a)  The Board shall waive requirements for licensure in the 

circumstances set forth in G.S. 90-12.5. 

(b)  There are two ways for physicians to practice under this Rule: 

(1) Hospital to Hospital Credentialing: A physician 

who holds a full, unlimited, and unrestricted 

license to practice medicine in another U.S. 

state, territory, or district and has unrestricted 

hospital credentials and privileges in any U.S. 

state, territory, or district may come to North 

Carolina and practice medicine at a hospital that 

is licensed by the North Carolina Department of 

Health and Human Services upon the following 

terms and conditions: 

(A) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall verify all physician credentials 

and privileges; 

(B) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall keep a list of all physicians 

coming to practice and shall provide 

this list to the Board within 10 days of 

each physician practicing at the 

licensed North Carolina hospital. The 

licensed North Carolina hospital shall 

also provide the Board a list of when 

each physician has stopped practicing 

medicine in North Carolina under this 

Rule within 10 days after each 

physician has stopped practicing 

medicine under this Rule; 

(C) all physicians practicing under this 

Rule shall be authorized to practice 

medicine in North Carolina and shall 

be deemed to be licensed to practice 

medicine in the State and the Board 

shall have jurisdiction over all 

physicians practicing under this Rule 

for all purposes set forth in or related 

to G.S. 90, Article 1, and such 

jurisdiction shall continue in effect 

even after any and all physicians have 

stopped practicing medicine under this 

Rule; 

(D) a physician may practice under this 

Rule for the shorter of : 

(i) 30 days from the date the 

physician has started 

practicing under this Rule; or 

(ii) a statement by an appropriate 

authority is made that the 

emergency or disaster 

declaration has been 

withdrawn or ended and, at 

such time, the license 

deemed to be issued shall 

become inactive; and 

(E) physicians practicing under this Rule 

shall not receive any compensation 

outside of their customary 

compensation for the provision of 

medical services during a disaster or 

emergency. 

(2) Limited Emergency License: A physician who 

holds a full, unlimited, and unrestricted license 

to practice medicine in another U.S. state, 

territory, or district may apply for a limited 

emergency license on the following conditions: 

(A) the applicant must complete a limited 

emergency license application; 

(B) the Board shall verify that the 

physician holds a full, unlimited, and 

unrestricted license to practice 

medicine in another U.S. state, 

territory, or district; 

(C) in response to a declared disaster or 

state of emergency and in order to best 

serve the public interest, the Board 

may limit the physician's scope of 

practice; 

(D) the Board shall have jurisdiction over 

all physicians practicing under this 

Rule for all purposes set forth in or 

related to Article 1 of Chapter 90 of 

the North Carolina General Statutes, 

and such jurisdiction shall continue in 

effect even after such physician has 

stopped practicing medicine under this 

Rule or the Limited Emergency 

License has expired; 

(E) this license shall be in effect for the 

shorter of: 

(i) 30 days from the date it is 

issued; or 

(ii) a statement by an appropriate 

authority is made that the 

emergency or disaster 
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declaration has been 

withdrawn or ended and, at 

such time, the license issued 

shall become inactive; and 

(F) physicians holding limited emergency 

licenses shall not receive any 

compensation outside of their 

customary compensation for the 

provision of medical services during a 

disaster or emergency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90.5.1(a)(1)(3); 90-12.5; 90-

14(a); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. October 2, 2018; 

Emergency Adoption Expired Eff. December 14, 2018; 

Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 32B .2001 EXPEDITED APPLICATION 

FOR PHYSICIAN LICENSE 

(a)  A physician who meets the qualifications listed in this Rule 

may apply for a license on an expedited basis. 

(b)  An applicant for an expedited physician license shall: 

(1) complete the Board's application attesting 

under oath or affirmation that the information 

on the application is true and complete, and 

authorizing the release to the Board of all 

information pertaining to the application; 

(2) submit documentation of a legal name change, 

if applicable; 

(3) submit a photograph, two inches by two inches, 

affixed to the oath or affirmation that has been 

attested to by a notary public; 

(4) supply a certified copy of applicant's birth 

certificate if the applicant was born in the U.S. 

or a certified copy of a valid and unexpired U.S. 

passport. If the applicant does not possess proof 

of U.S. citizenship, the applicant must provide 

information about applicant's immigration and 

work status that the Board will use to verify 

applicant's ability to work lawfully in the U.S. 

Applicants who are not present in the U.S. and 

who do not plan to practice physically in the 

U.S. shall submit a statement to that effect; 

(5) provide proof that applicant has held an active 

unrestricted license to practice medicine in at 

least one other state, the District of Columbia, 

U.S. Territory or Canadian province 

continuously for a minimum of five years 

immediately preceding this application; 

(6) provide proof of clinical practice providing 

patient care for an average of 20 hours or more 

per week, for at least the last two years; 

(7) provide proof of: 

(A) current certification or current 

recertification by an ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, AOA, or American 

Board of Maxillofacial Surgery 

approved specialty board obtained 

within the past 10 years; or 

(B) obtained certification or recertification 

of CAQ by a specialty board 

recognized by the ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, or AOA;  

(C) met requirements for ABMS MOC 

(maintenance of certification) or AOA 

OCC (Osteopathic continuous 

certification); 

(8) if the applicant is a graduate of a medical school 

other than those approved by LCME, AOA, 

COCA, or CACMS, the applicant shall furnish 

an original ECFMG certification status report 

of a currently valid certification of the ECFMG. 

The ECFMG certification status report 

requirement shall be waived if the applicant has 

passed the ECFMG examination and 

successfully completed an approved Fifth 

Pathway program (original ECFMG score 

transcript from the ECFMG required); 

(9) submit an AMA Physician Profile and, if the 

applicant is an osteopathic physician, also 

submit an AOA Physician Profile; 

(10) submit two completed fingerprint record cards 

supplied by the Board; 

(11) submit a signed consent allowing a search of 

local, state and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(12) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee pursuant 

to G.S. 90-13.1(a) plus the cost of a criminal 

background check; and 

(13) upon request, supply any additional 

information the Board deems necessary to 

evaluate the applicant's qualifications. 

(c)  A physician applying for an expedited license must: 

(1) not have any professional liability insurance 

claim(s) or payments(s) within the past 10 

years; 

(2) not have any criminal conviction; 

(3) not have any medical conditions that could 

affect the physician's ability to practice safely; 

(4) not have any regulatory board complaints, 

investigations, or actions (including applicant's 

withdrawal of a license application) within the 

past 10 years; 

(5) not have any adverse actions taken by a health 

care institution within the past 10 years; 

(6) not have any adverse actions taken by a federal 

agency, the U.S. military, or medical societies 

within the past 10 years; 

. 

(7) have passed an examination testing general 

medical knowledge. In addition to the 

examinations set forth in G.S. 90-10.1 (a state 

board licensing examination: NBME, USMLE, 

FLEX, or their successors), the Board accepts 

the following examinations (or their 

successors) for licensure: 

(A) COMLEX; 

(B) NBOME; and 
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(C) MCCQE. 

(d)  All reports must be submitted directly to the Board from the 

primary source.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-9.1; 90-9.2; 90-

11; 90-13.1; 

Eff. August 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 32N .0110 INITIATION OF DISCIPLINARY 

HEARINGS 

(a)  The Board shall issue a notice of charges and allegations only 

upon completion of an investigation, a finding by the Board or a 

committee of the Board that there exists a factual and legal basis 

for an action pursuant to any subsection of G.S. 90-14(a), and a 

pre-charge conference, if one was requested by the licensee. 

(b)  Disciplinary proceedings shall be initiated and conducted 

pursuant to G.S. 90-14 through G.S. 90-14.7 and G.S. 150B-38 

through G.S. 150B-42. 

(c)  A pre-hearing conference shall be held not less than seven 

days before the hearing date unless waived by the Board President 

or designated presiding officer upon written request by either 

party. The purpose of the conference will be to simplify the issues 

to be determined, obtain stipulations in regards to testimony or 

exhibits, obtain stipulations of agreement on undisputed facts or 

the application of particular laws, consider the proposed witnesses 

for each party, identify and exchange documentary evidence 

intended to be introduced at the hearing, and consider such other 

matters that may be necessary or advisable for the efficient and 

expeditious conduct of the hearing. 

(d)  The pre-hearing conference shall be conducted in the offices 

of the Board, unless another site is designated by mutual 

agreement of all parties. When a face-to-face conference is 

impractical, the Board President or designated presiding officer 

may order the pre-hearing conference be conducted by telephone 

conference. 

(e)  The pre-hearing conference shall be an informal proceeding 

and shall be conducted by the Board President or designated 

presiding officer. 

(f)  All agreements, stipulations, amendments, or other matters 

resulting from the pre-hearing conference shall be in writing, 

signed by the presiding officer, Respondent, or Respondent's 

counsel, and Board counsel, and introduced into the record at the 

beginning of the disciplinary hearing. 

(g)  Motions for a continuance of a hearing shall be granted upon 

a showing of good cause. In determining whether to grant such 

motions, the Board shall consider the Guidelines for Resolving 

Scheduling Conflicts adopted by the State-Federal Judicial 

Council of North Carolina. Motions for a continuance must be in 

writing and received in the office of the Board no less than 14 

calendar days before the hearing date. A motion for a continuance 

filed less than 14 calendar days from the date of the hearing shall 

be denied unless the reason for the motion could not have been 

ascertained earlier. Motions for continuance shall be ruled on by 

the Board President or designated presiding officer. 

(h)  The Respondent may challenge on the basis of personal bias 

or other reason for disqualification the fitness and competency of 

any Board member to hear and weigh evidence concerning the 

Respondent. Challenges must be in writing accompanied by 

affidavit setting forth with specificity the grounds for such 

challenge and must be filed with the Board President or 

designated presiding officer at least 14 days before the hearing 

except for good cause shown. Nothing contained in this Rule shall 

prevent a Respondent appearing before the Board at a formal 

hearing from making inquiry of Board members as to their 

knowledge of and personal bias concerning that person's case and 

making a motion based upon the responses to those inquiries that 

a Board member recuse himself or herself or be removed by the 

Board President or presiding officer. 

(i)  In any formal proceeding pursuant to G.S. 90-14.1 and G.S. 

90-14.2, discovery may be obtained as provided in G.S. 90-8 and 

150B-39 by either the Board or the Respondent. Any discovery 

request by a Respondent to the Board shall be filed with the Chief 

Executive Officer of the Board. Nothing herein is intended to 

prohibit a Respondent or Respondent's counsel from issuing 

subpoenas to the extent that such subpoenas are otherwise 

permitted by law or rule. The Board may issue subpoenas for the 

Board or a Respondent in preparation for or in the conduct of a 

contested case as follows: 

(1) Subpoenas may be issued for the appearance of 

witnesses or the production of documents or 

information, either at the hearing or for the 

purposes of discovery; 

(2) Requests by a Respondent for subpoenas shall 

be made in writing to the Chief Executive 

Officer and shall include the following: 

(A) the full name and home or business 

address of all persons to be 

subpoenaed; and 

(B) the identification, with specificity, of 

any documents or information being 

sought; 

(3) Where Respondent makes a request for 

subpoenas and complies with the requirements 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, the 

Board shall provide subpoenas promptly; 

(4) Subpoenas shall include the date, time, and 

place of the hearing and the name and address 

of the party requesting the subpoena. In the case 

of subpoenas for the purpose of discovery, the 

subpoena shall include the date, time, and place 

for responding to the subpoena; and 

(5) Subpoenas shall be served as provided by the 

Rules of Civil Procedure, G.S. 1A-1. The cost 

of service, fees, and expenses of any witnesses 

or documents subpoenaed shall be paid by the 

party requesting the witnesses. 

(j)  All motions, other than motions pursuant to Rules 12(b) and 

56 of the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure related to a 

contested case shall be in writing and submitted to the Board at 

least 14 calendar days before the hearing. Pre-hearing motions 

shall be heard at the pre-hearing conference described in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Motions filed fewer than 14 days 

before the hearing shall be considered untimely and shall not be 
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considered unless the reason for the motion could not have been 

ascertained earlier. In such case, the motion shall be considered at 

the hearing prior to the commencement of testimony. The Board 

President or designated presiding officer shall hear the motions 

and any response from the non-moving party and rule on such 

motions. If the pre-hearing motions are heard by an 

Administrative Law Judge from the Office of Administrative 

Hearings the provisions of G.S. 150B-40(e) shall govern the 

proceedings. 

(k)  Dispositive motions made pursuant to Rules 12(b) and 56 of 

the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure shall be filed no later 

than 14 calendar days before the hearing. Dispositive motions 

shall be heard, and decided upon, by a quorum of the Board. The 

Board shall receive the assistance of independent counsel when 

deciding a dispositive motion. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8; 90-14.1; 90-

14.2; 90-14.3; 150B-38; 150B-39(c); 

Eff. February 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 32N .0114 SUMMARY SUSPENSION 

(a)  If the Board finds that the public health, safety, or welfare 

requires emergency action, it may, pursuant to G.S. 150B-3(c), 

summarily suspend a license without a hearing or opportunity for 

the licensee to be heard. 

(b)  A motion to summarily suspend a license pursuant to this Rule 

shall be supported by competent evidence of the facts alleged 

requiring emergency action. 

(c)  The Board shall consult with independent counsel prior to 

issuing an order of summary suspension. The role of independent 

counsel shall be to advise the Board on the reliability and 

competency of the evidence presented in support of the motion for 

summary suspension. 

(d)  An order of summary suspension shall make preliminary 

findings of facts indicating why the public health, safety, or 

welfare requires emergency action. An order of summary 

suspension shall be accompanied by a notice of charges setting 

out the licensee's alleged violations of G.S. 90-14(a). Upon 

service of the order of summary suspension, the licensee to whom 

the order is directed shall immediately cease practicing in North 

Carolina. 

(e)  The Board shall, when it summarily suspends a license, 

schedule a hearing to occur at the earliest practicable date, but no 

later than 30 days from the date of service of the order of summary 

suspension. The purpose of the hearing will be to determine 

whether there is a preponderance of competent evidence 

supporting the order of summary suspension. A hearing on the 

order of summary suspension may be combined with a hearing on 

the merits of the notice of charges on a date mutually agreed upon 

by the parties. 

(f)  The order of summary suspension shall remain in effect until 

the Board vacates it. 

(g)  Neither an order of summary suspension nor a decision 

upholding an order of summary suspension is a final agency 

decision. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 150B-3(c); 

Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0219 PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 

PRACTICE AND LIMITED LICENSE FOR DISASTERS 

AND EMERGENCIES 

(a)  The Board shall waive requirements for licensure in the 

circumstances set forth in G.S. 90-12.5. 

(b)  There are two ways for physician assistants to practice under 

this Rule: 

(1) Hospital to Hospital Credentialing: A physician 

assistant who holds a full, unlimited, and 

unrestricted license to practice medicine in 

another U.S. state, territory, or district and has 

unrestricted hospital credentials and privileges 

in any U.S. state, territory, or district may come 

to North Carolina and practice medicine at a 

North Carolina hospital that is licensed by the 

North Carolina Department of Health and 

Human Services upon the following terms and 

conditions: 

(A) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall verify all physician assistant 

credentials and privileges; 

(B) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall keep a list of all physician 

assistants coming to practice and their 

respective supervising physicians and 

shall provide this list to the Board 

within 10 days of each physician 

assistant practicing at the licensed 

North Carolina hospital. The licensed 

North Carolina hospital shall also 

provide the Board a list of when each 

physician assistant has stopped 

practicing medicine in North Carolina 

under this Rule within 10 days after 

each physician assistant has stopped 

practicing medicine under this Rule; 

(C) all physician assistants practicing 

under this Rule shall be authorized to 

practice medicine in North Carolina 

and deemed to be licensed to practice 

medicine in the State and the Board 

shall have jurisdiction over all 

physician assistants practicing under 

this Rule for all purposes set forth in 

or related to Article 1 of Chapter 90 of 

the North Carolina General Statutes, 

and such jurisdiction shall continue in 

effect even after any and all physician 

assistants have stopped practicing 

medicine under this Rule; 

(D) the physician assistant must practice 

under the direct supervision of an on-

site physician and the supervising 

physician must be licensed in this 

State or approved to practice in this 
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State during a disaster or state of 

emergency pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5; 

(E) a physician assistant may practice 

under this Rule for the shorter of: 

(i) 30 days from the date the 

physician assistant has 

started practicing under this 

Rule; or 

(ii) a statement by an appropriate 

authority is made that the 

emergency or disaster 

declaration has been 

withdrawn or ended and, at 

such time, the license 

deemed to be issued shall 

become inactive; and 

(F) physician assistants practicing under 

this Rule shall not receive any 

compensation outside of their 

customary compensation for the 

provision of medical services during a 

disaster or emergency. 

(2) Limited Emergency License: A physician 

assistant who holds a full, unlimited, and 

unrestricted license to practice medicine in 

another U.S. state, territory, or district may 

apply for a limited emergency license on the 

following conditions: 

(A) the applicant must complete a limited 

emergency license application; 

(B) the Board shall verify that the 

physician assistant holds a full, 

unlimited, and unrestricted license to 

practice medicine in another U.S. 

state, territory, or district; 

(C) in response to a declared disaster or 

state of emergency and in order to best 

serve the public interest, the Board 

may limit the physician assistant's 

scope of practice; 

(D) the physician assistant must practice 

under the direct supervision of an on-

site physician and the supervising 

physician must be licensed in this 

State or approved to practice in this 

State during a disaster or state of 

emergency pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5; 

(E) the Board shall have jurisdiction under 

G.S. 90-14(a) over all physician 

assistants practicing under this Rule 

for all purposes set forth in or related 

to G.S. 90, Article 1, and such 

jurisdiction shall continue in effect 

even after such physician assistant has 

stopped practicing medicine under this 

Rule or the Limited Emergency 

License has expired; 

(F) this license shall be in effect for the 

shorter of: 

(i) 30 days from the date it is 

issued; or 

(ii) a statement by an appropriate 

authority is made that the 

emergency or disaster 

declaration has been 

withdrawn or ended and, at 

such time, the license issued 

shall become inactive; and 

(G) physician assistants holding limited 

emergency licenses shall not receive 

any compensation outside of their 

customary compensation for the 

provision of medical services during a 

disaster or emergency. 

(3) physician assistants and physicians practicing 

pursuant to this Rule are not required to 

maintain onsite documentation describing 

supervisory arrangements and instructions for 

prescriptive authority as otherwise required by 

21 NCAC 32S .0213. 

(4) National Guard supervision waiver. The rules 

of this Subchapter are waived during a declared 

state of emergency by the Governor of the State 

of North Carolina or by a resolution of the 

North Carolina General Assembly for members 

of the North Carolina National Guard who are 

actively licensed as physician assistants in the 

State of North Carolina and are serving in a 

State Active Duty status. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-12.5; 90-

13.2(e); 90-14(a);  

Eff. September 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. October 2, 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Expired Eff. December 14, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 32W .0116 ANESTHESIOLOGIST 

ASSISTANT PRACTICE AND LIMITED LICENSE FOR 

DISASTERS AND EMERGENCIES 

(a)  The Board shall waive requirements for licensure in the 

circumstances set forth in G.S. 90-12.5.  

(b)  There are two ways for anesthesiologist assistants to practice 

under this Rule: 

(1) Hospital to Hospital Credentialing: An 

anesthesiologist assistant who holds an 

unrestricted license in good standing to practice 

as an anesthesiologist assistant in another U.S. 

state, territory, or district and has unrestricted 

hospital credentials and privileges in any U.S. 

state, territory, or district may practice at a 

licensed North Carolina hospital upon the 

following terms and conditions: 
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(A) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall verify all anesthesiologist 

assistant credentials and privileges; 

(B) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall keep a list of all anesthesiologist 

assistants coming to practice and shall 

provide this list to the Board within 10 

days of each anesthesiologist assistant 

practicing at the licensed North 

Carolina hospital. The licensed North 

Carolina hospital shall also provide 

the Board a list of when each 

anesthesiologist assistant has stopped 

practicing at the hospital under this 

Rule within 10 days after each 

anesthesiologist assistant has ceased 

practicing under this Rule; 

(C) all anesthesiologist assistants 

practicing under this Rule shall be 

authorized to practice in North 

Carolina and deemed to be licensed in 

North Carolina and the Board shall 

have jurisdiction under G.S. 90-14(a) 

over all anesthesiologist assistants 

practicing under this Rule for all 

purposes set forth in or related to 

Article 1 of Chapter 90 of the North 

Carolina General Statutes, and the 

Board shall retain jurisdiction over 

any and all anesthesiologist assistants 

after they have stopped practicing 

under this Rule; 

(D) anesthesiologist assistants may 

practice under this section for the 

shorter of: 

(i) 30 days from the date the 

anesthesiologist assistant has 

started practicing under this 

Rule; or 

(ii) a statement is made by an 

appropriate authority that the 

emergency or disaster 

declaration has been 

withdrawn or ended and, at 

such time, the license issued 

shall become inactive; and 

(E) anesthesiologist assistants practicing 

under this Rule shall not receive any 

compensation outside of their 

customary compensation for the 

provision of medical services during a 

disaster or emergency. 

(2) Limited Emergency License: An 

anesthesiologist assistant who holds an 

unrestricted license in good standing to practice 

as an anesthesiologist assistant in another U.S. 

state, territory, or district may apply for a 

limited emergency license on the following 

conditions: 

(A) the applicant must complete an 

application; 

(B) the Board shall verify that the 

anesthesiologist assistant holds an 

unrestricted license in good standing 

to practice in another U.S. state, 

territory, or district; 

(C) in response to a declared disaster or 

state of emergency and in order to best 

serve the public interest, the Board 

may limit the anesthesiologist 

assistant's scope of practice; 

(D) the Board shall have jurisdiction under 

G.S. 90-14(a) over all anesthesiologist 

assistants practicing under this Rule 

for all purposes set forth in or related 

to Article 1 of Chapter 90 of the North 

Carolina General Statutes, and the 

Board shall retain jurisdiction over 

any and all anesthesiologist assistants 

after they have stopped practicing 

under this Rule; 

(E) this license shall be in effect for the 

shorter of: 

(i) 30 days from the date the 

anesthesiologist assistant has 

started practicing under this 

Rule; or 

(ii) a statement is made by an 

appropriate authority that the 

emergency or disaster 

declaration has been 

withdrawn or ended and, at 

such time the license issued 

shall become inactive; and 

(F) anesthesiologist assistants holding 

limited emergency licenses shall not 

receive any compensation outside of 

their customary compensation for the 

provision of [medical services during 

a disaster or emergency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-12.5; 90-14(a);  

Emergency Adoption Eff. October 2, 2018; 

Emergency Adoption Expired Eff. December 14, 2018; 

Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 39 - ON-SITE WASTEWATER 

CONTRACTORS AND INSPECTORS CERTIFICATION 

BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 39 .0103 ANNUAL REPORTS 

(a)  On or before October 31 of each year, the Board shall prepare 

and file reports required pursuant to G.S. 93B-2. The Board shall 

file reports in the manner requested by receiving agency or 

committee. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2019 

267 

(b)  The Board shall maintain an escrow account at the financial 

institution used regularly for deposits and checks. Fees tendered 

during a period of suspension under G.S. 93B-2(d) shall be 

deposited into this escrow account. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-74; 93B-2;  

Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 39 .0802 COOPERATION WITH BOARD 

INQUIRY 

A certificate holder shall respond to any inquiry made by the 

Board within 21 days from the date the inquiry was received by 

the certificate holder. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-74(6); 

Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 39 .0803 DELEGATING TO THIRD-

PARTY SERVICE PROVIDERS 

(a)  If a certificate holder delegates service requested by a client 

to another certificate holder, he or she must give notice to the 

client on or before the date of service. 

(b)  The certificate holder who delegates service as set forth in this 

Rule shall continue to be responsible for the delegated service 

provided to the client. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-74(6); 

Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 39 .0901 PETITION FOR RULE-MAKING 

(a)  Any person submitting a petition to adopt, amend, or repeal a 

rule by the Board shall address a petition to the Chairman at the 

Board office as follows: Post Office Box 132, Lawsonville, North 

Carolina 27022. 

(b)  The petition shall contain the following: 

(1) for petitions to adopt or amend a rule, a draft of 

the proposed rule or amendment; 

(2) a statement of the effect of the requested rule 

change; and 

(3) the name and address of the petitioner. 

(c)  The petition may contain the following: 

(1) the reason for the proposal; 

(2) the effect of the new rule on existing rules; or 

(3) any data supporting the rule proposal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-74; 150B-20;  

Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 39 .0902 REQUEST FOR DECLARATORY 

RULING 

All requests for a declaratory ruling shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) the name, address, and telephone number of the 

person making the request; 

(2) the statute or rule to which the request relates; 

and 

(3) a statement describing the manner in which the 

person has been or may be aggrieved by the 

statute or rule. 

If a hearing is desired, the request shall so state and shall include 

the reason a hearing is desired. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-74; 150B-4(a);  

Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 39 .0903 REFUSAL TO ISSUE 

DECLARATORY RULING 

The Board shall refuse to issue a declaratory ruling under the 

following circumstances: 

(1) when the Board has issued a decision in a 

contested case with substantially similar facts; 

(2) when the facts underlying the request for a 

ruling on a rule were considered at the time of 

the adoption of the rule in question; or 

(3) when the subject matter of the request is 

involved in pending litigation in North 

Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-74; 150B-4;  

Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 39 .1005 ON-SITE WASTEWATER 

SYSTEM COMPONENTS 

(a)  When inspecting an on-site wastewater system the inspector 

shall inspect and describe the following in a report as set forth in 

Rule .1002 of this Chapter: 

(1) any part of the system located more than five 

feet from the primary structure that is part of the 

operations permit; 

(2) septic tanks; 

(3) pump tanks; 

(4) distribution devices; 

(5) dispersal fields; 

(6) treatment units; 

(7) control panels; 

(8) any other components required as part of on-

site wastewater system permit, including 

drainage; and 

(9) any vegetation and grading with respect only to 

their effect on the condition of the system or 

system components. 

(b)  The inspector shall: 

(1) uncover tank lids and distribution devices so as 

to gain access, unless blocked as described in 

Rule .1004(b)(5) of this Section. The 

distribution box may remain covered if the 

inspector has an alternate method of observing 

its condition; 

(2) probe system components where deterioration 

is suspected; 

(3) report the methods used to inspect the on-site 

wastewater system; 

(4) open readily accessible and readily openable 

components as defined in Rule .1001 of this 

Chapter;  

(5) report signs of abnormal or harmful water entry 

into or out of the system or components; and 
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(6) conduct the inspection using the rules 

promulgated under Article 11 of Chapter 130A 

in effect at the time of the initial construction or 

renovation of the system, whichever occurs 

later, and any subsequent installation or 

replacement of any system or component of the 

system. 

(c)  The inspector shall not be required to: 

(1) conduct dosing volume calculations; 

(2) evaluate soil conditions beyond saturation or 

ponding; 

(3) evaluate for the presence or condition of buried 

fuel storage tanks; 

(4) evaluate the system for proper sizing, design, or 

use of approved materials pursuant to Article 11 

of Chapter 130A and the rules promulgated 

therefrom; or 

(5) perform a hydraulic load test on the system. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-72; 90A-74; 

Eff. October 1, 2011; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 25 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES 

 

25 NCAC 01E .0704 COVERAGE 

All North Carolina State Government employees and officers of 

the State, including elected officials, members of the General 

Assembly, and persons appointed to serve on a per diem, part-

time or fee basis are covered under the State's self-insured 

workers' compensation program administered by the Office of 

State Human Resources.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 126-4; 126-4(10); 143-583; 

Eff. November 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 4, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .0705 ADMINISTRATION 

(a)  The Office of State Human Resources shall administer a self-

insured workers' compensation program for workers' 

compensation claims arising in State agencies.  

(b)  The Office of State Human Resources self-insured workers' 

compensation program for State agencies shall:  

(1) Contract with vendor(s) for services for 

workers' compensation claims arising in State 

agencies; 

(2) Act as intermediary between vendor(s) and 

State agencies; and 

(3) Monitor contracted vendor(s) performance. 

(c)  Each State agency shall pay for workers' compensation 

expenditures for injuries arising out of and in the course of 

employment with that State agency. 

(d)  The Office of State Human Resources shall: 

(1) Monitor status of workers' compensation claims 

arising in State agencies; 

(2) Issue claim handling guidelines for workers' 

compensation claims arising in State agencies; 

and 

(3) Issue workers' compensation related 

educational materials for use in State agencies. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 126-4(10); 143-581; 143-583; 

Eff. November 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2004; April 1, 2001; August 1, 1998; 

September 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 4, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission August 15, 2019 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 
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COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079 
Ashley Snyder  (919) 431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 August 15, 2019 September 19, 2019 
 October 17, 2019 November 21, 2019 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, AUGUST 15, 2019 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 163A-159(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Board of Elections - 08 NCAC 10B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107 (May) 
B. Social Services Commission -10A NCAC 06R .0101, .0102, .0201, .0302, .0304, .0305, .0401, .0403, .0501, .0502, 

.0503, .0504, .0506, .0508, .0509, .0601, .0801, .0802, .0804, .0806, .0902, .0904; 06S .0101, .0102, .0203, .0204, 

.0301, .0302, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0501, .0508; 06T .0201 (Reeder) 
C. DHHS/ Division of Health Benefits - 10A NCAC 23G .0304 (Reeder) 
D. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder) 
E. Social Services Commission -10A NCAC 67A .0101, .0103 .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, 

.0205, .0206; 68 .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0208, 

.0301, .0302, .0303; 69 .0101, .0102, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0306, 

.0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0601, .0602, 

.0603, .0604, .0605; 72 .0101, .0102, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0301 (May) 
F. Department of Justice - 12 NCAC 02I .0213, .0306 (Reeder) 
G. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, .0502, 

.0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0111, .0112, 

.0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, .0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, .0141, .0142, 

.0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206 (May) 
H. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02C .0101, .0102, .0105, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0110, .0111, 

.0112, .0113, .0114, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0119, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0209, .0210, .0211, 

.0217, .0218, .0219, .0220, .0221, .0222, .0223, .0224, .0225, .0226, .0227, .0228, .0229, .0230, .0240, .0241, 

.0242 (Reeder) 
I. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02T .1601, .1602, .1604, .1605, .1606, .1607, .1608 

(Reeder) 
J. Coastal Resources Commission – 15A NCAC 07J .0409 (May) 
K. Board of Dietetics/Nutrition – 21 NCAC 17 .0104, .0303 (Reeder) 
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L. State Human Resources Commission - 25 NCAC 01E .0210, 01I .1702, .1805, .1902, .1903, .1905, .2003, .2105, 
.2302, .2303, .2304, .2305, .2306, .2307, .2310 (Reeder) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between June 21, 2019 through July 22, 2019 

• Department of Insurance (Reeder) 

• Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (Snyder)  

• Alarm Systems Licensing Board (Reeder) 

• Environmental Management Commission 02B (May) 

• Environmental Management Commission 02D (Snyder) 

• Board of Architecture (Reeder) 

• Licensing Board for General Contractors (May) 

• Board of Electrolysis Examiners (Reeder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review 

VII. Commission Business 

M.  Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules Readoption Schedule 

• Next meeting: Thursday, September 19, 2019 

 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

June 21, 2019 through July 22, 2019 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 8 are the engineering and building codes including the approval of school maintenance electricians 
(.0400); qualification board-limited certificate (.0500); qualification board-probationary certificate (.0600); qualification 
board-standard certificate (.0700); disciplinary actions and other contested matters (.0800); manufactured housing 
board (.0900); NC Home Inspector Licensure Board (.1000); home inspector standards of practice and code of ethics 
(.1100); disciplinary actions (.1200); home inspector continuing education (.1300); Manufactured Housing Board 
continuing education (.1400); and alternate designs and construction appeals (.1500). 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 08 .1601 

Request for an Alternative Inspection 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 08 .1602 

Qualified Marketplace Inspections 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 08 .1603 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 15A concern organization rules: policies and procedures including general provisions (.0100); 
structure (.0200); publications, records, copies (.0300); rule-making (.0400); emergency rules (.0500); declaratory 
rulings (.0600); personnel policies: commission (.0700); adjudication: contested cases (.0800); fiscal rules for local 
boards (.0900); local abc board: personnel policies (.1000); local abc boards: relationship with state commission (.1100); 
openings and discontinuance of stores (.1200); storage and distribution of spirituous liquors: commercial transportation 
(.1300); purchase of alcoholic beverages by local boards (.1400); pricing of spirituous liquor (.1500); warehouse storage 
of spirituous liquors (.1600); retail sales of alcoholic beverages (.1700); purchase transportation permits for individuals 
and mixed beverages permittees (.1800); sales of liquor to mixed beverages permittees (.1900); local board training 
(.2000); distillery permit holders' sale of spirituous liquor distilled on premises to visitors of the distillery for consumption 
off the premises (.2100); special one-time permits (.2200); and homemade wine and malt beverage events (.2300). 

Purpose 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0101 

Location, Addresses and Business Hours  14B NCAC 15A .0102 
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Amend* 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0103 

Commission Chairman 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0201 

Commission Meetings 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0202 

Administrative Functions 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0203 

Legal Functions 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0204 

Distribution, Inspection and Copies of ABC Laws 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0301 

Fee for Computer Service 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0302 

Petition for Adoption of Rules 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0401 

Administrative Action 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0402 

Notice of Rule-making Hearings; Mailing List 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0403 

Rule-making Hearing 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0404 

Revocation or Suspension of Permit 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0501 

Issuance: Grounds 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0601 

Request for Declaratory Ruling 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0602 

Withdrawal of Request for Declaratory Ruling 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0605 

Disciplinary Action of Employee 
Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0701 

Notice of Alleged Violation 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0801 

Article 12 Hearings; Final Administrative Decision; Order 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .0805 

The rules in Subchapter 15C concern industry members, retail/industry member relationships, ship chandlers, air 
carriers, and fuel alcohol including definitions and application procedures (.0100); product approvals, listing procedures 
and product lists (.0200); packaging and labeling of malt beverages and wine (.0300); standards of identity for wine 
containers (.0400); general provisions for industry members (.0500); sales and deliveries of malt beverages and wine 
(.0600); alcoholic beverages, retailer/industry member relationship and trade practices (.0700); ships chandler's permit 
(.0800); distillers and representatives (.0900); air carriers (.1000); fuel alcohol permits (.1100); administrative action by 
commission (.1200); and special event permits (.1300).  

Definitions 
Repeal* 

 14B NCAC 15C .0101 

 
 
 
 
ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 
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The rules in Chapter 17 are from the N.C. Alarm Systems Licensing Board and cover the organization and general 
provisions (.0100); provisions for licensees (.0200); provisions for registrants (.0300); the recovery fund (.0400); and 
continuing education for licensees (.0500). 

Application for License 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0201 

Fees for Licenses 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0203 

Fees for Licenses 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0203 

Renewal of License 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0204 

Company Business License 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0209 

Application for Registration 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0301 

Fees for Registration 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0302 

Renewal or ReRegistration of Registration 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0306 

Required Continuing Education Hours 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0502 

Recording and Reporting Continuing Education Credits 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0505 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 2B pertain to surface water standards and monitoring including procedures for assignment of 
water quality standards (.0100); the standards used to classify the waters of the state (.0200); stream classifications 
(.0300); effluent limitations (.0400); monitoring and reporting requirements (.0500); and water quality management plans 
(.0600). 

General Procedures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0101 

Analytical Procedures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0103 

Considerations/Assigning/Implementing Water Supply Classi... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0104 

Considerations/Assigning Classifications for Primary Recr... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0106 

Considerations in Assigning the Shellfishing Area Classif... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0108 

Considerations for Federally-Listed Threatened or Endange... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0110 

Antidegradation Policy 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0201 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0202 

Protection of Waters Downstream of Receiving Waters 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0203 

Location of Sampling Sites and Mixing Zones 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0204 

Natural Characteristics Outside Standards Limits  15A NCAC 02B .0205 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Flow Design Criteria for Effluent Limitations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0206 

Standards for Toxic Substances and Temperature 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0208 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class C Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0211 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class WS-I Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0212 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class WS-II Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0214 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class WS-III Wa... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0215 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class WS-IV Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0216 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class WS-V Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0218 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class B Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0219 

Tidal Salt Water Quality Standards for Class SC Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0220 

Tidal Salt Water Quality Standards for Class SA Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0221 

Tidal Salt Water Quality Standards for Class SB Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0222 

Water Quality Standards for Nutrient Sensitive Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0223 

Water Quality Standards for High Quality Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0224 

Water Quality Standards for Outstanding Resource Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0225 

Exemptions From Surface Water Quality Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0226 

Water Quality Management Plans 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0227 

Effluent Channels 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0228 

Activities Deemed to Comply with Wetlands Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0230 

Wetland Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0231 

Classifications: General 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0301 

Hiwassee River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0302 

Little Tennessee River Basin and Savannah River Drainage ... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0303 

French Broad River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0304 

Watauga River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0305 

Broad River Basin  15A NCAC 02B .0306 
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Readopt with Changes* 

New River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0307 

Catawba River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0308 

Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0309 

Lumber River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0310 

Cape Fear River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0311 

White Oak River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0312 

Roanoke River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0313 

Chowan River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0314 

Neuse River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0315 

Tar-Pamlico River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0316 

Pasquotank River Basin 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0317 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: Definitions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0621 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: NonPoint Sourc... 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0624 

The rules in Subchapter 2D are air pollution control requirements including definitions and references (.0100); air 
pollution sources (.0200); air pollution emergencies (.0300); ambient air quality standards (.0400); emission control 
standards (.0500); air pollutants monitoring and reporting (.0600); complex sources (.0800); volatile organic compounds 
(.0900); motor vehicle emission control standards (.1000); control of toxic air pollutants (.1100); control of emissions 
from incinerators (.1200); oxygenated gasoline standard (.1300); nitrogen oxide standards (.1400); general conformity 
for federal actions (.1600); emissions at existing municipal solid waste landfills (.1700); control of odors (.1800); open 
burning (.1900); transportation conformity (.2000); risk management program (.2100); special orders (.2200); emission 
reduction credits (.2300); clean air interstate rules (.2400); mercury rules for electric generators (.2500); and source 
testing (.2600). 

Particulates from Fugitive Dust Emission Sources 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .0540 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1801 

Control of Odors from Animal Operations Using Liquid Anim... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1802 

Best Management Plans for Animal Operations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1803 

Reporting Requirements for Animal Operations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1804 

Control and Prohibition of Odorous Emissions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1806 

Determination of Maximum Feasible Controls for Odorous Em... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1807 

Evaluation of New or Modified Swine Farms 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1808 
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Open Burning: Purpose: Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1901 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1902 

Open Burning Without an Air Quality Permit 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1903 

Air Curtain Incinerators 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1904 

Regional Office Locations 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1905 

Delegation to County Governments 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1906 

Multiple Violations Arising from a Single Episode 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02D .1907 

ARCHITECTURE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 2 are from the Board of Architecture and include general provisions (.0100); practice of architecture 
(.0200); examination procedures (.0300); rules, petitions, and hearings (.0400); declaratory rulings (.0500); 
administrative hearings: procedures (.0600); administrative hearings: decisions and related rights (.0700); judicial review 
(.0800); and continuing education (.0900). 

Unauthorized Practice 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0211 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

The rules of the Licensing Board for General Contractors include the board's organization (.0100); licensing 
requirements (.0200); application procedures (.0300); examinations (.0400); licenses (.0500); disciplinary procedures 
(.0700); contested cases (.0800); and home-owners recovery fund (.0900). 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 12 .0201 

Classification 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12 .0202 

License Limitations: Eligibility 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12 .0204 

Qualifier 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12 .0205 

Application for Licensure 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12 .0303 

Character References 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12 .0308 

Subject Matter 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 12 .0402 

License Granted 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12 .0501 

Renewal of License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12 .0503 

Application for Payment 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12 .0903 

ELECTROLYSIS EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 
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The rules in Chapter 19 are from the Board of Electrolysis Examiners and include general provisions (.0100); application 
procedures (.0200); administrative law procedures (.0300); sanitation, equipment and supplies (.0400); schools (.0600); 
and continuing education (.0700). 

Fees 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0201 

Application for Licensure 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0202 

Application for Renewal, Reinstatement, or Reactivation o... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0203 

Application for Renewal, Reinstatement, or Reactivation o... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0204 

Offices 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0403 

Environmental Control and Housekeeping 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0408 

Client Evaluation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0409 

Hepatitis B Virus (HBV) Vaccination 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0410 

Standard Precautions for Disease Control and Prevention 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0412 

Supervising Physician 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0501 

Curriculum 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0601 

Application for and Renewal of School Certification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0602 

School Equipment 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0608 

Equipment/Student and Teacher Ratio 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0613 

Equipment Endorsements and Sales Prohibited 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0619 

Continuing Education Requirements, License Renewal, Reins... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0701 

Board Approval of Courses 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0702 

Computation of Continuing Education Units 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 19 .0703 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

18 CPS 01781 6/19/2019 Danielle Carter v. Department of Public Safety Victim 
Services 

Elkins 

18 CPS 04205 6/10/2019 Tamer Sorial v. NC Department of Public Safety Elkins 

18 CPS 06487 6/18/2019 Jim H Roberts v. NC DPS NC Crime Victims 
Compensation Commission 

Overby 

19 CPS 00658 6/19/2019 James Douglas 
Kirby 

v. NDPS NC Crime Victims 
Compensation Commission 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

19 DHR 01710 6/27/2019 Agustin Del Real 
(Owner) Luz Del 

Real (Owner) 
Vicente Del Real 

(Owner) 

v. Nutrition Services Branch WIC 
Vender Unit 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 DOJ 04462 6/4/2019 Douglas Eugene 
Harwell 

v. NC Department of Justice, 
Company Police Program 

Ward 

18 DOJ 04479 6/3/2019 David Price v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 
Standards Commission 

Ward 

18 DOJ 07493 6/14/2019 Matthew Jason 
Lee 

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 
Standards Commission 

Overby 

19 DOJ 01471 6/20/2019 Janet Davidson 
Barringer 

v. NC Private Protective Services 
Board 

Jacobs 

19 DOJ 01635 6/21/2019 Semper Fidelis 
Security Services 
LLC and Dakota 

Jermaine Covil 
Qualifying Agency 

  NC Private Protective Services 
Board 

Jacobs 
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18 OSP 04611 12/14/2018; 
6/7/2019 

Natalynn P 
Tollison 

v. North Carolina State University and 
North Carolina State University 
College of Veterinary Medicine 

Ward 

19 OSP 00461 6/24/2019 Marvin Franklin v. NC Department of Public Safety Lassiter 
  

          
 

18 SOS 05952 6/7/2019 Tyrell Elliott v. State of North Carolina Department 
of the Secretary of State 

Elkins 

19 SOS 01708 6/27/2019 Kurtis Lee 
Vanscoy 

v. Secretary of State Notary Division Lassiter 

        

    Unpublished    

19 ABC 00356 6/4/2019 NC Alcoholic 
Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Lorette Dempsey Maiori T/A Rens 
Js Lounge 

Overby 

  
          

 

18 CPS 06549 6/27/2019 Kyla E Millar v. Crime Victims Compensation 
Commission 

Lassiter 

19 CPS 01745 6/4/2019 Aaron M Little v. NC Department of Public Safety 
Victim Services Liddie Shrophire 

Jacobs 

  
          

 

18 CSE 06236 6/12/2019 George L Bullock 
Jr 

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06419 6/25/2019 Rodney D Gooch v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06546 6/12/2019 Frederick Dixon v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06674 6/4/2019 Jon Lofthouse v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

18 CSE 06766 6/18/2019 Rodrick Barnwell v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 06864 6/4/2019 Curtis Joe Davis v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Sutton 

18 CSE 06964 6/19/2019 Brooklyn Cabbil v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement Section 

Overby 

18 CSE 07216 6/19/2019 Mour Mamadou 
Diop 

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement Section 

Overby 

18 CSE 07326 6/4/2019 Jeremy Jerod 
Collins 

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Overby 
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18 CSE 07339 6/4/2019 Derrick A Gee v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

18 CSE 07340 6/5/2019 Chauncey 
Anderson 

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

18 CSE 07357 6/4/2019 June Pressley v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Overby 

18 CSE 07381 6/18/2019 Kelvin Jamison v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Sutton 

18 CSE 07386 6/19/2019 Paul Ghiraldi v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Sutton 

18 CSE 07387 6/3/2019 Kirk F Foster v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Lassiter 

18 CSE 07421 6/10/2019 Anthony L 
Hargrove 

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Overby 

19 CSE 00466 6/11/2019 Gwendolyn B 
Jenness 

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 00834 6/18/2019 Sean J Harstine v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement Section 

Overby 

19 CSE 01098 6/10/2019 Micheal T 
Holloway 

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement Section 

Ward 

19 CSE 01107 6/11/2019 Bobby Collis v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement Section 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 01529 6/26/2019 Daniel L Brannon v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement Section 

Ward 

19 CSE 01864 6/5/2019 Kenya N 
Halterman 

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 

Services, Child Support 
Enforcement 

Ward 

  
          

 

18 DHR 07286 6/10/2019 Jennifer Yvonne 
Powell 

v. North Carolina Health Care 
Registry 

Elkins 

19 DHR 00829 6/7/2019 Shannon Marie 
Marchi 

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services Lisa G Corbett 

Lassiter 
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19 DHR 01080 6/18/2019 Robert Simmons v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Health 

Service Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 01111 6/13/2019 Rebecca Parks 
Health Care 

Registry 

v. Lisa G Corbett Department of 
Health & Human Services 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 01310 6/13/2019 Ray Felton 
Executive Officer 

The Blacknall 
Felton Group LLC 

v. Megan Lamphere MSW Chief 
Adultcare Licensure Section NC 

Department of Health and Human 
Services and Division of Health 

Service Regulation NC Department 
of Health and Human Services 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 01311 6/3/2019 Ray Felton 
Executive Officer 

Ther Blacknall 
Felton Group LLC 

v. Megan Lamphere MSW Chief 
Adultcare Licensure Section NC 

Department of Health and Human 
Services and Division of Health 

Service Regulation NC Department 
of Health and Human Services 

Overby 

19 DHR 01324; 
01327 

6/4/2019 Thomas L Ollis Jr v. Burke County DSS Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 01596 6/11/2019 Kristen Howard v. Healthcare Personal Registry Lassiter 

19 DHR 01638 6/13/2019 Leicester Heights 
Family Care Inc 

Martha A 
Plemmons 

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Health 

Service Regulation 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 01643 6/13/2019 Kimberly Jenkins v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Health 

Service Regulation Health Care 
Personnel Registry 

Overby 

19 DHR 01980 6/5/2019 Sayed H Hosseini 
Custom Paint & 
Remodeling Inc 

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 02179 6/5/2019 Eugenie Caroline 
Aurelie Vedrine 

v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services 

Jacobs 

19 DHR 02191 6/10/2019 Timeka Mebane 
Lucas 

v. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 02232 6/10/2019 Delilah A Cucci v. The Department of Health and 
Human Services 

May 

19 DHR 02234 6/13/2019 Tracey Deputy v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Health 

Service Regulation 

Malherbe 

19 DHR 02280 6/24/2019 Jamie Hudson v. Health Care Personnel Registry May 

19 DHR 02376 6/11/2019 Amy Lloyd v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services 

May 

19 DHR 02484 6/24/2019 Keisa Faye 
Corado 

v. Department of Health and Human 
Services Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

19 DHR 02589 6/4/2019 Basem K Sara 
DBA Tommys Mini 

Mart 

v. NC Dept of Health & Human 
Services 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 02753 6/13/2019 Kandice T Stigger v. NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Health 

Service Regulation 

Elkins 

  
          

 

18 DOJ 07361 6/4/2019 Albert Lee Davis v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 
Training Standards Commission 

Jacobs 
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18 DOJ 07362 6/21/2019 Jatobia L Jordan v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 
Training Standards Commission 

Ward 

  
          

 

19 DSC 02193 6/7/2019 Barbra Stanley v. Brunswick County DSS Health and 
Human Services Medicaid 

Elkins 

  
          

 

19 INS 01876 6/4/2019 Larry S 
Offenhauser 

v. State Health Plan of North Carolina Jacobs 

19 INS 01983 6/4/2019 Wayman Anthony 
Bunch Jr 

v. North Carolina State Health Plan 
Department of State Treasurer 

Jacobs 

  
          

 

19 MIS 01981 6/4/2019 Kristie L Sluder 
Foster parent 

v. NC Administrative Offices of the 
Courts Division of the Guardian Ad 

Litem 

Sutton 

  
          

 

19 OSP 01616 6/12/2019 Sabrina 
Murchinson 

v. Bladen County Department of 
Social Services 

Lassiter 

19 OSP 02562 6/18/2019 Mary Simmons v. Cumberland County Department of 
Social Services 

Sutton 

        

 

 


