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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 02 – DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Board of Agriculture intends to readopt 

with substantive changes the rule cited as 02 NCAC 52B .0207 

and readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 02 

NCAC 52B .0213; 52E .0402 and 52G .0303. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of rules to be readopted 

without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The 

text of the rules is available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index

.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2019 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any person may 

request a public hearing on the proposed rules by submitting a 

request in writing no later than 3/16/19 to Tina Hlabse, Secretary, 

NC Board of Agriculture, 1001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1001. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rules are being 

readopted after being classified as "necessary with substantive 

public interest" during the rules review process. Three of the rules 

are being readopted without any substantive changes to what is 

currently in the code. The rules being adopted without changes 

deal with the importation requirements of cervids, which was just 

amended in 2018, the style and location of brands and the 

protection of confidential information. Rule 52B .0207 is being 

amended to update the definition of feral swine, to reduce 

confusion and to clarify regulations that restricts transporting of 

feral swine, and to prohibit the importation of sporting swine in 

order to prevent infectious disease. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Tina Hlabse, 1001 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1001, email 

tina.hlabse@ncagr.gov 

 

Comment period ends: April 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 52 – VETERINARY DIVISION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 52B – ANIMAL DISEASE 

 

SECTION .0200 - ADMISSION OF LIVESTOCK TO 

NORTH CAROLINA 

 

02 NCAC 52B .0207 IMPORTATION 

REQUIREMENTS: SWINE 

(a)  All swine imported into the state, except by special permit an 

interstate commercial swine movement agreement or for 

immediate slaughter, shall be accompanied by a health certificate 

an interstate certificate of veterinary inspection issued by a state, 

federal, or accredited veterinarian stating that they are free from 

any signs of an infectious or communicable disease and are not 

known to have been exposed to same. The health certificate shall 

contain the ear tag or tattoo number of each animal. The health 

certificate must show the pseudorabies status of both the herd and 

state or area of origin. Swine imported for feeding or breeding 

purposes shall be moved in clean and disinfected trucks or other 

conveyances. "Accredited veterinarian" means a veterinarian 

accredited pursuant to Title 9, Part 161 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations. 

(b)  Breeding swine and all other swine being shipped to a 

breeding swine premise shall originate from a "Validated 

Brucellosis-Free" herd or a "Validated Brucellosis-Free" State 

and shall originate from a "Qualified Pseudorabies-Negative" 

herd, Qualified-Negative Gene-Altered Vaccinated Herd (QNV) 

or Pseudorabies Stage IV or V (Free) State. Breeding swine and 

all other swine being shipped to a breeding swine premise 

originating from Stage II, II/III or III areas or states must also be 
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isolated and test negative to a statistical 95/5 sample test using a 

pseudorabies serological test approved pursuant to Title 9, Part 

85.1 of the Code of Federal Regulations between 30 and 60 days 

after arrival and before being added to the herd. 

(c)  All feeder swine imported into the state from a Pseudorabies 

Stage II, II/III, or III state or area shall be accompanied by a permit 

for entry issued by the State Veterinarian within 30 days prior to 

entry. The permit number and the date of issuance shall be shown 

on the health certificate. The feeder swine in the shipment must 

have been vaccinated for pseudorabies using a USDA-licensed 

pseudorabies vaccine with gI deletion and must have tested 

negative on a statistical (95/2) test within 30 days prior to 

shipment, and they shall be isolated and quarantined until 

slaughtered. In addition, the swine must be tested on statistical 

(95/2) test between 30 and 45 days after arrival. The swine must 

originate from a Qualified Negative herd or a pseudorabies 

monitored herd that has tested negative on a statistical (95/10) test 

within 30 days prior to shipment. Feeder swine from a 

pseudorabies-free state or area may be imported in accordance 

with Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Healthy swine for feeding purposes may move directly from 

a farm of origin in a contiguous state on which they have been 

located for not less than 30 days to a livestock market or stockyard 

in North Carolina that has been state-federal approved for 

handling feeder swine, without the health certificate required 

herein, provided such swine are accompanied by proof of the 

pseudorabies status of the herd of origin. Such swine shall be 

inspected by a state or federal inspector or approved accredited 

veterinarian prior to sale at the market. 

(e)  Healthy swine may be shipped into the state for immediate 

slaughter without a health certificate provided they go directly to 

a slaughtering establishment under State or Federal inspection, or 

to a state-federal approved livestock market or stockyard for sale 

to a slaughtering establishment under State or Federal inspection 

for immediate slaughter only. 

(f)  Swine from a pseudorabies-quarantined herd or swine which 

have been in contact with pseudorabies-quarantined swine may be 

imported into the state for immediate slaughter only under the 

following conditions: 

(1) the swine must be accompanied by a shipping 

permit (Veterinary Services Form 1-27) issued 

by a veterinarian accredited pursuant to 9 CFR 

161, or a state or federal animal health 

employee, consigning the swine only to a 

slaughtering establishment under state or 

federal inspection; 

(2) the vehicle transporting the swine must be 

sealed after loading with an official USDA or 

state of origin seal. The seal number must be 

recorded on the VS Form 1-27. The seal can be 

broken or removed only by an NCDA&CS or a 

USDA employee or other individual authorized 

by the State Veterinarian; and 

(3) the vehicle used to transport the swine must be 

cleaned and disinfected immediately after 

unloading the swine and prior to using the 

vehicle to transport other livestock. 

(g)  Sporting swine: Feral Swine: 

(1) For purposes of this Rule: 

(A) "Sporting swine" means any domestic 

or feral swine intended for hunting 

purposes and includes the progeny of 

these swine whether or not the 

progeny are intended for hunting 

purposes; and 

(B) "Feral swine" means any swine that 

have lived any part of its life free 

roaming. 

(2) No person shall import sporting swine into 

North Carolina unless: 

(A) The swine have not been fed garbage 

within their lifetime; and the herd of 

origin is validated brucellosis free and 

qualified pseudorabies negative; and 

(B) The swine have not been members of 

a herd of swine known to be infected 

with brucellosis or pseudorabies 

within the previous 12 months; and 

(C) The individual animals six months of 

age or over have a negative brucellosis 

and pseudorabies test within 30 days 

of movement; and 

(D) The swine have not been a part of a 

feral swine population or been 

exposed to swine captured from a feral 

swine population within the previous 

12 months; and 

(E) The swine are accompanied by a 

health certificate or certificate of 

veterinary inspection identifying each 

animal by ear tag, breed, age, sex, the 

state of origin, and certifying that the 

swine meet the import requirements of 

North Carolina. 

(1) As used in this Section, "feral swine" means any 

untamed or undomesticated hog, boar, or pig; 

swine whose reversion from the domesticated 

state to the wild state is apparent; or an 

otherwise freely roaming swine having no 

visible tags, marking, or characteristics 

indicating that such swine is from a domestic 

herd. Feral swine includes members of the 

species Sus scrofa Linnaeus, including, but not 

limited to, swine commonly known as old 

world swine, Russian wild boar, European wild 

boar, Eurasian wild boar, and razorbacks. Feral 

swine does not include members of the species 

Sus domestica which are involved in domestic 

hog production. 

(2) No person shall import or transport live feral 

swine in this state. 

(3) To prevent the spread of contagious animal 

disease, no person shall release any hog, boar, 

pig, or swine to live as a feral swine in North 

Carolina. 

Note: Violation of this Rule is a Class 2 misdemeanor under G.S. 

106-307.6. 
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Authority G.S. 106-307.5; 106-316.1; 106-317; 106-318. 

 

02 NCAC 52B .0213 IMPORTATION 

REQUIREMENTS: CERVIDS (NECESSARY WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SUBCHAPTER 52E - MARKETING OF LIVESTOCK 

 

SECTION .0400 - LIVESTOCK BRANDING 

 

02 NCAC 52E .0402 STYLE AND LOCATION OF 

BRAND (NECESSARY WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 52G - BIOLOGICS 

 

SECTION .0300 - INSPECTION AND RECORD KEEPING 

 

02 NCAC 52G .0303 PROTECTION OF 

CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION (NECESSARY 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the DHHS - Division of Aging and Adult 

Services intends to readopt with substantive changes the rule cited 

as 10A NCAC 06Q .0201 and readopt without substantive 

changes the rule cited as 10A NCAC 06Q .0101. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of rules to be readopted 

without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The 

text of the rules is available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/daas 

 

Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: March 26, 2019 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: N.C. Division of Aging and Adult Services, 693 Palmer 

Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603, Room 301 

 

Reason for Proposed Action: 10A NCAC 06Q .0201 specifies 

the maximum reimbursement rates for Adult Day Care and Adult 

Day Health which has not been updated since 1992 and does not 

reference rate increases in 1997 (S.L 1997-443), 2004 (S.L. 2004-

124), and (S.L. 2006-52) which included $5.00 increase in the 

rates in the last two Appropriation Budget Acts. By updating this 

rule, the rates cited in the appropriation statutes will be equal to 

the cumulative rates allocated by the General Assembly and equal 

to those cited in 10A NCAC 06T .0201. In addition, the 

transportation rate needs to be updated to reflect the rate as cited 

in 10A NCAC 06T .0201.  

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Misty Piekaar-McWilliams, 

2101 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2101, 693 Palmer 

Drive, Raleigh, NC 27609, phone (919) 855-4980, fax (919) 715-

0364, email Misty.Piekaar@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends: April 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 06 - AGING - PROGRAMS OPERATIONS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06Q - ADULT DAY CARE 

 

SECTION .0100 - SCOPE OF ADULT DAY CARE  

 

10A NCAC 06Q .0101 ADULT DAY CARE 

STANDARDS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0200 - REQUIREMENTS 

 

10A NCAC 06Q .0201 MAXIMUM REIMBURSEMENT 

RATES 

(a)  The maximum reimbursement rate for adult day care services 

shall not exceed twenty-one dollars thirty-three dollars and seven 

cents ($21.00)($33.07) per day and shall not exceed four hundred 

and fifty-five dollars ($455.00) per month, per client. The 

maximum rate for adult day health services shall not exceed forty 

dollars ($40.00) per day, per client. 

(b)  The maximum reimbursement rate for transporting an adult 

day care client to an adult day care center shall not exceed one 

dollar and four fifty cents ($1.04)($1.50) for a one-way trip. The 

maximum reimbursement rate for round-trip transportation of an 
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adult day care client to an adult day care center shall not exceed 

two three dollars and eight cents ($2.08)($3.00) per day, per 

client, not to exceed forty five dollars ($45.00) per month. client. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-181.1(c). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission intends to 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 

06R .0201, .0305, .0401, .0403, .0503, .0504, .0506, .0601, .0904; 

06S .0301 and readopt without substantive changes the rules cited 

as 10A NCAC 06R .0101, .0102, .0302, .0304, .0501, .0502, .0508, 

.0509, .0801, .0802, .0804, .0806, .0902; 06S .0101, .0102, .0203, 

.0204, .0302, .0402-.0405, .0501, .0508; and 06T .0201. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of rules to be readopted 

without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The 

text of the rules is available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/daas 

 

Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: March 26, 2019 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: N.C. Division of Aging and Adult Services, 693 Palmer 

Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603, Room 301 

 

Reason for Proposed Action: These rules are being modified in 

response to comments received during the periodic expiration of 

rules period process.  10A NCAC 06R .0305, 10A NCAC 06R 

.0401, 10A NCAC 06R .0403, 10A NCAC 06R .0504, 10A NCAC 

06R .0601 and 10A NCAC 06R .0904 provide clarity to adult day 

care certification standards. 10A NCAC 06R .0201 defines direct 

participant care, first aid kit and governing body for adult day 

care programs. 10A NCAC 06S .0503 removes a rule reference 

that had described what should be contained in a first aid kit. 10A 

NCAC 06R .0506 requires adult day care programs to notify their 

local departments of social services whether their program will 

be closing or have a delayed opening due to hazardous weather 

conditions. 10A NCAC 06S .0301 gives the adult day health 

programs' treatment rooms the flexibility to have emesis pails or 

bags. Toilet hats were added to assist the care of the participants. 

The Social Services Commission met on February 7, 2019 and 

voted to publish for public comment on the readoption of Aging 

and Adult Services rules relating to adult day care standards for 

certification, adult day health standards for certification and state 

adult day care funding. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Misty Piekaar-McWilliams, 

2101 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2101, 693 Palmer 

Drive, Raleigh, NC 27609, phone (919) 855-4980, fax (919) 715-

0364, email Misty.Piekaar@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends: April 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

 

CHAPTER 06 - AGING - PROGRAMS OPERATIONS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06R - ADULT DAY CARE STANDARDS 

FOR CERTIFICATION 

 

SECTION .0100 - INTRODUCTION  

 

10A NCAC 06R .0101 CERTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0102 CORRECTIVE ACTION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)  

 

SECTION .0200 - DEFINITION OF TERMS 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0201 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Subchapter, unless the context requires otherwise, 

the following definitions shall apply: 

(1) "Activities of Daily Living (ADL)" means 

eating; dressing; bathing; toileting; bowel and 

bladder control; transfers; and ambulation. 

(2) "Adaptable space" means space in a facility that 

can be used for several purposes with little 

effort and without sacrificing safety and health 

standards; for example, an activities room that 

is used for crafts in the morning, used to serve 

lunch and used for exercise activities in the 

afternoon. 
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(3) "Adaptable activity" means an activity where 

participation can be varied from individual, 

small group, or large group, and can occur 

seated, standing or lying down. 

(4) "Adult" means an individual 18 years of age or 

older. 

(5) "Adult Day Care Center" means a day care 

program operated in a structure other than a 

single family dwelling. 

(6) "Adult Day Care Home" means a day care 

program for up to 16 people operated in a single 

family dwelling where the owner resides. 

(7) "Adult Day Care Program" means the provision 

of group care and supervision in a place other 

than their usual place of abode on a less than 

24-hour basis to adults who may be physically 

or mentally disabled. This term is used to refer 

to adult day care programs, adult day health 

programs, and adult day care and combined 

adult day health programs (i.e., combination 

programs). 

(8) "Alzheimer's Disease" means a progressive, 

degenerative disease of the brain resulting in 

impaired memory, thinking and behavior. 

Characteristic symptoms of the disease include 

gradual memory loss, impaired judgement, 

disorientation, personality change, difficulty in 

learning and loss of language skills. 

(9) "Ambulatory" means a person who is mobile 

and does not need the continuing help of a 

person or object for support (except a walking 

cane). 

(10) "Capacity" means the number of participants 

for which a day care program is certified. 

(11) "Caretaker" (or "Caregiver") means an adult 

who regularly provides an impaired adult with 

continuous supervision, assistance with 

preparation of meals, assistance with 

housework and assistance with personal 

grooming. 

(l2) "Certification" means the process whereby an 

adult day care program is approved as meeting 

the North Carolina Adult Day Care Rules in 

10A NCAC 06. 

(13) "Certifying agency" means the Department of 

Health and Human Services, Division of Aging 

and Adult Services. 

(14) "Dementia" means the loss of intellectual 

functions (such as thinking, remembering, and 

reasoning) of sufficient severity to interfere 

with a person's daily functioning. Dementia is 

not a disease itself but rather a group of 

symptoms that may accompany certain diseases 

or conditions. Symptoms may also include 

changes in personality, mood and behavior. 

(15) "Direct Participant Care" means the 

opportunity for employees, volunteer(s) and/or 

substitute(s) of the facility or individuals with 

whom the facility contracts either directly or 

through an agency to physically interact, with, 

be in the presence of, and/or supervise 

participants. 

(16) "First Aid Kit" means a collection of first aid 

supplies (such as bandages, tweezers, scissors, 

disposable nonporous gloves, adhesive tape, 

antiseptic, micro shield or face mask, liquid 

soap, cold pack) for treatment of minor injuries 

or stabilization of major injuries. 

(17) "Governing Body" means the individual(s), 

organization, agency, corporation, or other 

entity that has full legal responsibility for 

policy, management, administration, operation, 

and financial liability for the adult day care or 

adult day health program. 

(15)(18)"Group process" means at least three persons 

engaged in a common activity. 

(16)(19)"Institution" means a facility that is established 

to serve a particular purpose and is required by 

state law to be provided and maintained by the 

state and any facility defined in federal 

regulations as an institution. In North Carolina, 

the list of institutions includes: general 

hospitals, state psychiatric hospitals, state 

centers for the mentally ill, skilled nursing 

facilities, and intermediate care facilities. 

(17)(20) "Instrumental Activities of Daily Living 

(IADL)" means meal preparation, medication 

intake, housekeeping, money management, 

phone use, laundering, reading, shopping, 

communication such as speaking, writing, 

signing, gestures, using communication devices 

and going to necessary activities. 

(18)(21) "Medication schedule" means a listing of all 

medications taken by participants with dosages, 

route of administration, and times medications 

are to be taken. 

(19)(22)"Mental health disability" means disorders with 

psychological or behavioral symptoms or 

impairment in functioning due to a social, 

psychological, genetic, physical, chemical or 

biological disturbance. 

(20)(23) "Modifiable activity" means an activity that can 

be simplified and adapted as a participant's 

abilities decline or improve. 

(21)(24) "Non-ambulatory" means a person who is 

bedfast. 

(22)(25) "Nucleus area" means adult day care programs 

located in a multi-use building and refers to the 

area not shared by any other programs located 

in the building but used only by the adult day 

care program. 

(23)(26) "Nursing care" means skilled nursing care or 

intermediate care. 

(24)(27) "On-site" means the area certified for the day 

care program. 

(25)(28) "Owner" means the person who is responsible 

for management, operation, and financial 

liability of a day care home or day health home. 
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(26)(29) "Other special needs disease or condition" 

means a diagnosis, disease or disability, such as 

AIDS/HIV, that benefits from monitoring or 

oversight in a supervised setting. 

(27)(30) "Participant" means a person enrolled in an 

adult day care program. 

(28)(31) "Personal care" means tasks that range from 

assistance with basic personal hygiene and 

grooming, feeding, and ambulation, to medical 

monitoring and other health care related tasks. 

(29)(32) "Physical therapy program" means a series of 

activities prescribed by a licensed physical 

therapist or activities administered under the 

supervision of a physical therapist. 

(30)(33) "Program director" means the person 

responsible for program planning, development 

and implementation in a day care program. 

(31)(34) "Progress notes" means written reports in the 

participant's file of staff discussions, 

conferences, or consultation with family or 

other interested parties, for the purpose of 

evaluation of a participant's progress and any 

other information regarding the participant's 

situation. 

(32)(35) "Related disorders" means dementia or 

impaired memory characterized by irreversible 

memory dysfunction. 

(33)(36) "Respite care," as a component of adult day care 

programs, means a service provided to give 

temporary relief to the family or caregiver. 

Primarily, respite is provided to families caring 

for children or adults with disabilities or 

families caring for frail or disabled older adults. 

(34)(37) "Responsible party" means the caretaker with 

primary day-to-day responsibility for an 

impaired adult. 

(35)(38) "Semi-ambulatory" means a person who needs 

and uses the assistance of objects such as a 

wheelchair, crutches, walker, or other appliance 

or the support of another person on a regular 

and continuing basis to move about. 

(36)(39) "Senior center" means a community or 

neighborhood facility for the organization and 

provision of services including health, social, 

nutritional and educational services and a 

facility for recreational and group activities for 

older persons. 

(37)(40) "Special care services" means services by a 

certified adult day care program that promotes 

itself as providing programming, activities or 

care specifically designed for persons with 

Alzheimer's or other dementias, or related 

disorders, mental health disabilities, or other 

special needs diseases or conditions. 

(38)(41) "Supervising agency" means the county 

department of social services in the county in 

which the day care program is located. The 

county department is responsible for seeing that 

certification standards are met on an on-going 

basis and for making a recommendation to the 

Division of Aging and Adult Services regarding 

certification. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153; S.L. 1999-334. 

 

SECTION .0300 – ADMINISTRATION 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0302 PROGRAM GOALS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0304 INSURANCE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0305 PERSONNEL: CENTERS: 

HOMES WITH OPERATOR AND STAFF 

(a)  General Requirements 

(1) The owner of adult day care homes initially 

certified after January 1, 2003, or homes that 

make structural building modifications after 

this date, shall reside in the home. 

(2) Staff positions shall be planned and filled 

according to the goals of the program and the 

manpower needed to develop and direct the 

activities which meet these goals. 

(3) There shall be a statewide criminal history 

records search of all newly-hired employees of 

adult day programs for the past five years 

conducted by an agency approved by the North 

Carolina Administrative Offices of the Courts. 

(4) There shall be a written job description for each 

position, full-time or part-time. The job 

description shall specify qualifications of 

education and experience; to whom employee 

is responsible; duties and responsibilities; and 

salary range. responsibilities. 

(5) References, including former employers, 

employment verification of former employers, 

shall be required in recruitment of staff. 

(6) There shall be an established review process for 

each employee at least annually and following 

any probationary period. 

(7) There shall be a written plan for orientation and 

staff development of new employees and 

volunteers and ongoing development and 

training of all staff. Documentation of such 

orientation, staff development and training 

shall be recorded. 

(8) There shall be a written plan for staff 

substitutions in case of absences. The plan shall 

include the coverage of usual responsibilities as 

well as maintenance of staff/participant ratio. 

Substitute staff shall have the same 

qualifications and training as those required by 

the position and in this Subchapter. Substitutes 

are not required to have current certified CPR 

and First Aid training as long as other staff are 

present with this training at all times. Trained 
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volunteers may be used instead of paid 

substitutes. 

(9) Prior to beginning employment, each new 

employee shall present a written medical 

statement, completed within the prior 12 

months by a physician, nurse practitioner or 

physician's assistant, certifying that the 

employee has no illness or health condition that 

would pose a health risk to others and that the 

employee can perform the duties assigned in the 

job. 

(b)  Personnel Policies 

(1) Personnel policies and their content are the 

responsibility of each adult day care program. 

Each program shall state its policies in writing. 

A copy of this statement of personnel practice 

shall be given to each employee and shall state 

the program's policy on the following: 

(A) annual leave, 

(B) educational opportunities, 

(C) pay practices, 

(D) employee benefits, 

(E) grievance procedures, 

(F) performance and evaluation 

procedures, 

(G) criteria for advancement, 

(H) discharge procedures, 

(I) hiring and firing responsibility, 

(J) use of any probationary period, 

(K) staff participation in reviews of 

personnel practices, 

(L) maternity leave, 

(M) military leave, 

(N) civil leave (jury duty and court 

attendance), and 

(O) protection of confidential information. 

(2) All policies developed shall conform to the 

United States Department of Labor wage and 

hour regulations. 

(c)  Staffing Pattern. The staffing pattern shall be dependent upon 

the enrollment criteria and the particular needs of the participants 

who are to be served. The ratio of staff to participants shall be 

adequate to meet the goals and objectives of the program. 

Whenever regularly scheduled staff are absent, substitutes shall 

be used to maintain the staff-participant ratio. The minimum ratios 

shall be as follows: 

(1) Adult Day Care Homes 

 One full-time equivalent staff person with 

responsibility for direct participant care for 

each six participants, up to 16 participants total. 

(2) Adult Day Care Centers 

One full-time equivalent staff person with 

responsibility for direct participant care for 

each eight participants. 

(d)  Program Director 

(1) The program director shall have the authority 

and responsibility for the management of 

activities and direction of staff to ensure that 

activities and services are provided in 

accordance with established program policies. 

(2) The program director shall: 

(A) be at least 18 years of age; 

(B) have completed a minimum of two 

years of post secondary education 

from an institution accredited by an 

accrediting agency recognized by the 

United States Department of 

Education (including colleges, 

universities, technical institutes, and 

correspondence schools) or have a 

high school diploma or the equivalent 

and a combination minimum of five 

years experience and training in 

services to elderly or adults with 

disabilities; 

(C) have at least two years of work 

experience in supervision and 

administration; 

(D) present prior to employment, a written 

medical statement, completed within 

the prior 12 months by a physician, 

nurse practitioner, or physician's 

assistant, certifying that the employee 

has no illness or health condition that 

would pose a risk to others and that the 

employee can perform the duties 

assigned on the job; and 

(E) provide at least three reference letters 

or the names of individuals who can be 

contacted, with whom a reference 

interview can be conducted, including 

at least one former employer. one of 

which shall include previous 

employment verification. The 

individuals providing reference 

information shall have knowledge of 

the applicant program director's 

background and qualifications. 

(3) In employing a program director, the governing 

body, agency or owner shall consider whether 

or not applicants exhibit these characteristics: 

(A) ability to make decisions and set goals; 

(B) knowledge and understanding of the 

needs of the aging and disabled; 

(C) ability to design and implement a 

varied, structured program of group 

and individual activities; and 

(D) managerial and administrative 

skills - ability to supervise staff and to 

plan and coordinate staff training. 

(4) The adult day care program shall have a 

full-time program director or a full-time 

substitute meeting the requirements as specified 

in this Paragraph. The program director shall 

assign authority and responsibility for the 

management of activities and direction of staff 

when the program director is not on site. 
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Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153. 

 

SECTION .0400 - THE FACILITY 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0401 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The facility and grounds of an adult day care program shall be 

approved by the local environmental health specialist, the local 

fire safety inspector, the county department of social services, and 

the North Carolina Division of Aging and Adult Services. 

(b)  The facility shall comply with all applicable zoning laws. 

(c)  There shall be adaptable spaces, as defined in Rule .0201(2) 

of this Subchapter, suitable for activities for participants. Spaces 

shall provide opportunities for participants to get together as a 

group as well as privacy for quiet times. 

(d)  The facility shall provide at least 40 square feet of indoor 

space for each participant in the portion of the buildings utilized 

for adult day care programs. This minimum square footage 

excludes hallways, offices, and restrooms. 

(e)  If meals are prepared within the facility, the kitchen shall meet 

environmental health rules, as defined in 15A NCAC 18A .3300. 

(f)  Storage areas must be adequate in size and number for storage 

of clean linens, dirty linens, cleaning materials, household 

supplies, food, equipment, and program supplies. A separate 

locked area for storing poisons, chemicals or other potentially 

harmful products (cleaning fluids, disinfectants, etc.) shall be 

provided. 

(g)  A minimum of one male and one female toilet shall be located 

in each facility and accessible in accordance with the North 

Carolina Accessibility Code, which is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent amendments or additions and 

can be obtained through the North Carolina Department of 

Insurance, 1202 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1202 at 

a cost of sixty-two dollars and 00/100 ($62.00). One toilet shall 

be available for each 12 adults, including staff and participants 

who utilize the facility. One hand lavatory shall be provided for 

each two toilets. 

(h)  All rugs and floor coverings must be fastened down. Loose 

throw rugs are not allowed. Floors shall not be slippery. 

(i)  A telephone shall be available for participants to make and 

receive calls. A pay station telephone is not acceptable for local 

calls. 

(j)  Unless identified by the Division of Aging and Adult Services 

as shared space, the area certified for adult day care shall be used 

for the sole purpose of the adult day care program and its activities 

during hours of program operation. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0403 EQUIPMENT AND 

FURNISHINGS 

(a)  Adult Day Care facility equipment and furnishings shall meet 

the needs of participants and staff and enable efficient operation 

of the program. The facility shall have: 

(1) at least one sturdy straight back chair or sturdy 

folding chair for each participant and each staff 

person, excluding those in wheelchairs or other 

specialized seating equipment; 

(2) table space adequate for all participants to be 

served a meal at a table at the same time and for 

program activities; 

(3) chairs or sofas that allow for position changes, 

are upholstered or of soft material, and water 

and stain resistant, so that at least half of the 

participants can relax and rest at the same time. 

If all participants take a daily rest period at the 

same time, the facility shall have enough of 

such seating for all participants. The seating 

requirement does not apply if the participant 

utilizes a wheelchair or other specialized 

seating equipment; and 

(4) a quiet space or room with a minimum of one 

bed or cot so that participants can lie down as 

needed separate from other program activities. 

(b)  All equipment and furnishings shall be in good condition and 

safe for use by all participants and staff of the facility. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153. 

 

SECTION .0500 - PROGRAM OPERATION 

 
10A NCAC 06R .0501 PLANNING PROGRAM 

ACTIVITIES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 
10A NCAC 06R .0502 NUTRITION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0503 TRANSPORTATION 

(a)  For programs providing or arranging for public transportation, 

the adult day care program shall have a transportation policy that 

includes routine and emergency procedures. Accidents, medical 

emergencies, weather emergencies and escort issues shall be 

addressed. 

(b)  When the adult day care program provides transportation, the 

following requirements shall be met to ensure the health and 

safety of the participants: 

(1) Each person transported shall have a seat in the 

vehicle. 

(2) Participants shall be transported no more than 

30 minutes without being offered the 

opportunity to have a rest stop. 

(3) Vehicles used to transport participants shall be 

equipped with seatbelts. Participants shall be 

instructed to use seatbelts while being 

transported. 

(4) Vehicles shall be equipped with a first aid kit, 

consisting of the items listed in 10A NCAC 06S 

.0301 (a), kit and a fire extinguisher. 

(5) A copy of the transportation policy shall be 

located in the vehicle used for transport. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0504 EMERGENCIES AND FIRST AID 

(a)  A fire safety and evacuation plan, approved by the office of 

the fire marshal or its designee, shall be prepared and maintained 
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by each adult day care program in compliance with the North 

Carolina State Building Code and Fire Prevention Code. 

(b)  Plan for Emergencies. A written plan for handling 

emergencies shall be established and displayed prominently in the 

facility. All staff shall be knowledgeable about the plan. The plan 

shall: 

(1) relate to medical and non-medical emergencies; 

and 

(2) specifiy specify responsibilities of each staff 

member in an emergency; 

Quarterly drills in handling emergencies, such as medical 

emergencies, natural disasters, fires, and facility security shall be 

conducted. These drills shall be documented including the date 

and kind of emergency. 

(c)  Evacuation Plan. An evacuation plan shall be posted in each 

room and fire drills shall be conducted quarterly by programs with 

a fire safety sprinkler system and monthly by programs without a 

fire safety sprinkler system. A record shall be kept of dates and 

time required to evacuate the facility. 

(d)  All physically able staff who have will provide direct 

participant care contact with participants shall complete certified 

training in standard first aid and cardio-pulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR). If a staff member is determined to be physically unable to 

complete this training, a signature by a licensed physician, 

physician's assistant or nurse practitioner attesting to such shall be 

provided indicating the time limit of such physical inability. The 

first aid and CPR training shall be: 

(1) taught by an instructor certified through the 

American Heart Association, American Red 

Cross, National Safety Council, or American 

Safety and Health Institute, or Emergency 

Medical Services; Institute; 

(2) current, as determined by the organization 

conducting the training and issuing the 

certification; and 

(3) documented on an official attendance card 

issued by the organization certifying the 

training, or documented by the attendance 

course roster, in which case the roster shall be 

signed by the instructor, indicate pass or fail for 

each student, indicate the length of time the 

training is valid, and be accompanied by a copy 

of the instructor's certification. 

(e)  The program shall arrange for medical assistance to be 

available in the event of an emergency. 

(f)  The program shall have a portable basic emergency 

information file which includes electronic files available on each 

client that includes: 

(1) hospital preference, physician of record and 

telephone number; 

(2) emergency contact (family or caregiver); 

(3) insurance information; 

(4) medications and allergies; 

(5) current diagnosis and history; and 

(6) advance directives, if any. 

(g)  Adult day care staff shall report actions taken in case of 

sickness and all incidents resulting in physical injury or suspected 

physical injury, including incidents involving missing participants 

to the program director. The adult day care staff shall make sure 

that all persons needing medical attention receive such attention 

as soon as possible. The person taking emergency action shall 

notify the family or responsible party of the participant involved 

and other program staff shall be notified of emergency action 

taken as soon as possible. The program director shall compile and 

keep on record a report of all emergency actions taken. A copy of 

the report shall be sent to the county department of social services 

within 72 hours of the incident. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0506 HOURS AND DAYS OF 

OPERATION 

(a)  Supervision of adult day program participants and adult day 

care program services shall be provided throughout all hours 

participants are present at the program. 

(b)  The program shall operate for a minimum of six hours. 

(c)  Day care programs shall provide supervision of participants 

and program activities at least five days per week, except that a 

facility may be closed for designated holidays, for hazardous 

weather conditions, emergency situations, and for vacations and 

for other reasons as agreed by the director and the county 

department of social services. vacations. The county department 

of social services shall be notified of Late late openings or early 

closures may be scheduled on days when hazardous weather 

conditions exist or when emergency situations arise. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0508 RECORDS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0509 PROGRAM EVALUATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0600 – CERTIFICATION PROCEDURE 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0601 PROCEDURE 

(a)  All individuals, groups or organizations operating or wishing 

to operate an adult day care program as defined by G.S. 131D-6 

shall apply for a certificate to the county department of social 

services in the county where the program is to be operated. 

(b)  A social worker shall provide technical assistance and shall 

conduct a study of the program using the State Division of Aging 

and Adult Services Form DAAS-1500 or DAASS-6205. DAAS-

6205. 

(c)  The county of social services shall submit the initial 

certification package to the state State Division of Aging and 

Adult Services. The materials and forms to be included in the 

package are: 

(1) program policies; 

(2) organizational diagram; 

(3) job descriptions; 

(4) Form 732a-ADS (Daily Rate Sheet) or the 

equivalent showing planned expenditures and 

resources available to carry out the program of 

service for a 12 month period; 
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(5) a floor plan of the facility showing 

measurements, restrooms and planned use of 

space; 

(6) Form DOA-1498 (Fire Inspection Report) or 

the equivalent completed and signed by the 

local fire inspector, indicating approval of the 

facility, no more than 30 days prior to 

submission with the certification package; 

(7) Form DOA-1499 (Building Inspection Report 

for Adult Day Care Centers), DOA-1499a 

(Building Inspection Form for Adult Day Care 

Homes), or the equivalent completed and 

signed by the local building inspector indicating 

approval of the facility, no more than 30 days 

prior to submission with the certification 

package; 

(8) Form DENR-4054 (Sanitation Evaluation 

Report) or the equivalent completed and signed 

by a local sanitarian, indicating approval of the 

facility, no more than 30 days prior to the 

submission with the certification package; 

(9) written notice and the effective date if a 

variance of local zoning ordinances has been 

made in order for property to be utilized for an 

adult day care program; 

(10) a copy of the articles of incorporation, bylaws 

and names and addresses of board members for 

adult day care programs sponsored by a 

non-profit corporation; 

(11) the name and mailing address of the owner if a 

proprietary program; 

(12) a written medical statement from a physician, 

nurse practitioner or a physician's assistant, 

completed within the 12 months prior to 

submission of the certification package, for 

each proposed staff member certifying absence 

of a health condition that would pose a risk to 

others and that the employee can perform the 

duties normally assigned on the job; 

(13) verification of standard first aid and cardio-

pulmonary resuscitation certification (CPR) for 

each proposed staff member who is physically 

able and who will have provide direct 

participant care. contact with participants. If a 

staff member is determined to be physically 

unable to complete this training, a signature by 

a licensed physician, physician's assistant or 

nurse practitioner attesting to such shall be 

provided indicating the time limit of such 

physical inability. The first aid and CPR 

training shall be: 

(A) taught by an instructor certified 

through the American Heart 

Association, American Red Cross, 

National Safety Council, or American 

Safety and Health Institute, or 

Emergency Medical Services; 

Institute;  

(B) current, as determined by the 

organization conducting the training 

and issuing the certification; and 

(C) documented on an official attendance 

card issued by the organization 

certifying the training, or documented 

by the attendance course roster, in 

which case the roster shall be signed 

by the instructor, indicate pass or fail 

for each student, indicate the length of 

time the training is valid and be 

accompanied by a copy of the 

instructor's certification; 

(14) evidence of the completion of a statewide 

criminal history records search for the past five 

years for the program owner and each proposed 

staff member having direct contact with 

participants, conducted by an agency approved 

by the North Carolina Administrative Offices of 

the Courts; and 

(15) DAAS-1500 (Adult Day Care Certification 

Report). This form must be submitted by the 

county department of social services with a 

copy to the program. 

(d)  No more than 60 days prior to the end of the current period of 

certification, the county department of social services shall submit 

to the State Division of Aging and Adult Services the following 

forms and materials which make up a certification package for the 

renewal of a certification. 

(1) Form DOA-1498 (Fire Inspection Report) or 

the equivalent completed and signed by the 

local fire inspector, indicating approval of the 

facility, dated no more than 12 months prior to 

submission with the certification package; 

(2) Form DOA-1499 (Building Inspection Report 

for Adult Day Care Centers), DOA-1499a 

(Building Inspection Form for Adult Day Care 

Homes), or the equivalent when structural 

building modifications have been made during 

the previous 12 months, completed and signed 

by the local building inspector indicating 

approval of the facility, within 30 days 

following completion of the structural building 

modifications; 

(3) Form DENR-4054 (Sanitation Evaluation 

Report) or the equivalent completed and signed 

by a local environmental health specialist, 

indicating approval of the facility, no more than 

12 months prior to submission with the 

certification package; 

(4) a written medical statement from a physician, 

nurse practitioner or physician's assistant for 

each staff member hired subsequent to the 

previous certification or recertification 

expiration date, certifying absence of a health 

condition that would pose a risk to others and 

that the employee can perform the duties 

normally assigned on the job; 
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(5) an updated copy of the program policies, 

organizational diagram, job descriptions, 

names and addresses of board members if 

applicable, and a floor plan showing 

measurements, restrooms, and planned use of 

space, if any changes have been made since the 

previous certification package was submitted; 

(6) Form 732a-ADS (Daily Rate Sheet) or the 

equivalent showing planned expenditures and 

resources available to carry out the program of 

service for a 12 month period; 

(7) verification of standard first aid and cardio-

pulmonary resuscitation certification (CPR) for 

each proposed staff member who is physically 

able and who will have provide direct 

participant care. direct contact with 

participants. If a staff member is determined to 

be physically unable to complete this training, 

a signature by a licensed physician, physician's 

assistant or nurse practitioner attesting to such 

shall be provided indicating the time limit of 

such physical inability. The first aid and CPR 

training shall be: 

(A) taught by an instructor certified 

through the American Heart 

Association, American Red Cross, 

National Safety Council, or American 

Safety and Health Institute or 

Emergency Medical Services; 

Institute;  

(B) current, as determined by the 

organization conducting the training 

and issuing the certification; and 

(C) documented by an official attendance 

card issued by the organization 

certifying the training, or documented 

by the attendance course roster, in 

which case the roster shall be signed 

by the instructor, indicate pass or fail 

for each student, indicate the length of 

time the training is valid and be 

accompanied by the instructor's 

certification. 

(8) Evidence of the completion of a statewide 

criminal history records search for the past five 

years for each staff member hired subsequent to 

the previous certification or recertification 

expiration date having direct contact with 

participants, conducted by an agency approved 

by the North Carolina Administrative Offices of 

the Courts; and 

(9) DAAS-1500 (Adult Day Care Certification 

Report). This form must be submitted with the 

certification package by the county department 

of social services to the Division of Aging and 

Adult Services at least 30 days in advance of the 

expiration date of the certificate, with a copy to 

the program. 

(e)  Following review of the certification package, a 

pre-certification visit may be made by staff of the State Division 

of Aging and Adult Services. 

(f)  Within 14 business days, the State Division of Aging and 

Adult Services shall provide written notification to the applicant 

and the county department of social services of the action taken 

after a review of the certification package and visit, if made. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153. 

 
SECTION .0800 - CERTIFICATION INFORMATION  

 

10A NCAC 06R .0801 THE CERTIFICATE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0802 PROVISIONAL CERTIFICATE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0804 DENIAL OR REVOCATION OF 

CERTIFICATE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0806 PROCEDURE FOR APPEAL 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 
SECTION .0900 - SPECIAL CARE FOR PERSONS WITH 

ALZHEIMER’S DISEASE OR OTHER DEMENTIAS, 

MENTAL HEALTH DISABILITIES OR OTHER 

SPECIAL NEEDS DISEASES OR CONDITIONS IN 

ADULT DAY CARE CENTERS 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0902 POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06R .0904 ENROLLMENT – SPECIAL 

CARE SERVICES 

In addition to meeting enrollment policies and procedures 

requirements in Rule .0501(a) of this Subchapter, an adult day 

care center or home shall assure the following requirements are 

met for participants who are enrolled for special care services: 

(1) Disclosure information shall be provided to an 

individual or the responsible party of an 

individual seeking enrollment in a center or 

home providing special care services. The 

disclosure information shall be written and 

address policies and procedures listed in Rule 

.0902 of this Subchapter. 

(2) The participant's medical examination report 

shall specify a diagnosis, disability or condition 

consistent with the special care service offered 

by the program. 

(3) Any individual with a developmental disability 

being considered for adult day services 

programming enrollment or discharge must 

proceed through the Developmental 

Disabilities Single Portal of Entry and Exit 

process pursuant to G.S. 122C-132.1 and 10A 

NCAC 29D .0200. 
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(4)(3) A participant transferring from standard day 

care services to special care services must meet 

the criteria for that special care service. Family 

or responsible persons shall agree to the transfer 

decision. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153; S.L. 1999-334. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06S – ADULT DAY HEALTH 

STANDARDS FOR CERTIFICATION 

 

SECTION .0100 - INTRODUCTION AND DEFINITIONS  

 

10A NCAC 06S .0101 INTRODUCTORY STATEMENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06S .0102 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0200 - ADMINISTRATION 

 

10A NCAC 06S .0203 STAFFING PATTERN 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06S .0204 STAFF REQUIREMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0300 - FACILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR 

CENTERS AND HOMES 

 

10A NCAC 06S .0301 REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  General requirements governing facilities, construction, 

equipment and furnishings for adult day care as set forth in 10A 

NCAC 06R .0400 shall apply to adult day health. 

(b)  Additional facility requirements are as follows: 

(1) Facility space shall be of sufficient dimension 

and size to allow for required program group 

activities. Notwithstanding the space 

requirements of 10A NCAC 06R .0401: 

(A) day health centers and day health 

homes shall provide at least 60 square 

feet of indoor space excluding 

hallways, offices and restrooms for 

each participant; 

(B) combination programs shall provide at 

least 50 square feet of indoor space 

excluding hallways, offices and 

restrooms for each participant; and 

(C) day health programs or combination 

programs which share space with 

other programs or activities in a 

multi-use facility shall have a nucleus 

area separate from other activities in 

the rest of the building and shall have 

a fire-resistant rated separation 

according to the North Carolina 

Building Code. The nucleus area must 

provide at least 40 square feet of 

indoor space per participant excluding 

hallways, offices and restrooms, and a 

minimum of 20 square feet per 

participant must be provided in other 

space in the facility designated for use 

by the day health program. When the 

other space is being used at the same 

time by individuals participating in 

other services provided in the 

multi-use facility, the 20 square feet 

per participant is in addition to any 

minimum square footage requirement 

for other use of such space. Shared 

facility space outside the nucleus area 

which may be used by the day health 

program and counted in meeting the 

20 square feet per participant 

requirement includes craft, therapy 

and other activity areas. Dining space 

may be included if also used for 

activities. Offices, restrooms, 

hallways, kitchens and shared 

treatment rooms shall not be counted 

in meeting the 20 square feet per 

participant requirement. Participation 

shall be open only to persons enrolled 

in the program and to visitors on a 

planned basis. Involvement of day 

health participants in other activities in 

the building shall be on planned basis, 

as a part of the day health program 

plan, and supervised by a day health 

staff member. 

(2) Facilities shall have a minimum of one male 

and one female accessible toilet in accordance 

with the North Carolina Accessibility Code. 

One toilet shall be available for each 12 adults, 

including staff and participants who utilize the 

facility. One hand lavatory shall be provided for 

each two toilets. 

(3) The facility shall have a minimum of one 

private office for staff use with equipment and 

furnishings for administrative purposes and for 

conferences with individual participants and 

families. 

(4) The facility shall include a treatment room 

which is enclosed and private from the rest of 

the facility. The treatment room shall meet the 

requirements of the North Carolina State 

Building Code. The treatment room shall have 

a sink or have a door-way that connects it to a 

room containing a sink. The room shall contain 

a treatment table or bed with a waterproof 

mattress cover that will serve as a treatment 

table, storage cabinet for first aid and medical 

supplies and equipment, table or desk and two 

chairs. The storage cabinet shall be kept locked. 

(5) The treatment room shall provide a means of 

insuring the privacy of the person on the 

treatment table. 
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(6) The treatment room shall have the following 

medical supplies and equipment: 

(A) first aid supplies consisting of 

absorbent compress, adhesive 

bandages, adhesive tape, antiseptic, 

burn treatment, medical exam gloves, 

sterile pads and triangular bandage; 

(B) fever thermometer; 

(C) blood pressure cuff; 

(D) stethoscope; 

(E) medical scales, or scales that can be 

calibrated; 

(F) emesis basin; pail or bag; 

(G) toilet hat; 

(G)(H) bed pan; 

(H)(I) urinal; and 

(I)(J) wash basin. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-6; 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 06S .0302 CONSTRUCTION 

REQUIREMENTS FOR DAY HEALTH HOMES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0400 - PROGRAM OPERATION 

 

10A NCAC 06S .0402 ADDITIONAL ENROLLMENT 

AND PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06S .0403 HEALTH AND PERSONAL 

CARE SERVICES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06S .0404 TRANSPORTATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06S .0405 EMERGENCIES AND FIRST AID 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0500 - CERTIFICATION INFORMATION  

 

10A NCAC 06S .0501 PROCEDURE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 06S .0508 PROCEDURE FOR APPEAL 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06T – STATE ADULT DAY CARE 

FUNDING 

 

SECTION .0200 - STATE ADULT DAY CARE FUND  

 

10A NCAC 06T .0201 NATURE AND PURPOSE OF 

STATE ADULT DAY CARE FUND (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Social Services Commission 

intends to amend the rule cited as 10A NCAC 69 .0304, readopt 

without substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 67A 

.0101, .0103, .0105-.0108, .0201-.0206; 68 .0101-.0108, .0202-

.0206, .0208, .0301-.0303; 69 .0101, .0102, .0201-.0205, .0301-

.0303, .0305, .0306, .0401-.0406, .0501-.0508, .0601-.0605; 72 

.0101, .0102, .0201-.0203, and .0301. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/dss/sscommission/index.htm and 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-services/social-

services-commission 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 26, 2019 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Division of Social Services 820 S. Boylan Ave, 

McBryde Building, Raleigh, NC 27603 Room 151 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):        

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire.  The Social 

Services Commission met on February 7, 2019 and voted to 

publish for public comment on the readoption of Social Services 

rules relating to general administration, rulemaking, 

confidentiality and access to client records and education 

assistance.  Rules in the chapters have either no changes or minor 

technical changes.  In addition, Rule 10A NCAC 69 .0304 is 

proposed for amendment to update to include both pronouns in 

the sentence to him or her. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paris Penny, 101 Blair Drive, 

2001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001; phone (919) 

855-4805; fax (919) 733-7447; email paris.penny@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  April 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
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The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 67 - SOCIAL SERVICES - PROCEDURES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 67A – GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

 

SECTION .0100 - ADMINISTRATION 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0101 CONTENTS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0103 STANDARDS FOR OFFICE 

SPACE AND FACILITIES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0105 ADMINISTRATION AND 

AGENCY COMPLIANCE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0106 CIVIL RIGHTS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0107 FORMS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0108 ADVISORY TO COUNTIES 

REGARDING PETITION OF GARNISHMENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0200 - HEARING POLICY 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0201 GENERAL (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0202 EXCEPTIONS FOR 

NOTIFICATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0203 GOOD CAUSE FOR DELAYED 

HEARINGS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0204 ATTENDANCE AT THE 

HEARING (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0205 APPEAL DECISION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0206 GOOD CAUSE FOR NOT 

REQUESTING HEARING AND REQUIRED TIME 

FRAMES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

CHAPTER 68 - SOCIAL SERVICES: RULEMAKING 

 

SECTION .0100 – RULEMAKING: SOCIAL SERVICES 

COMMISSION 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0101 PETITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0102 NOTICE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0103 HEARING OFFICER 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0104 HEARINGS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0105 STATEMENT OF REASONS FOR 

AND AGAINST RULEMAKING DECISION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0106 RECORD OF RULEMAKING 

PROCEEDINGS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0107 FEES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0108 DECLARATORY RULINGS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0200 - RULEMAKING: DIVISION DIRECTOR 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0202 NOTICE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0203 HEARING OFFICER 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0204 HEARINGS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0205 JUSTIFICATION OF 

RULEMAKING DECISION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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10A NCAC 68 .0206 RECORD OF RULEMAKING 

PROCEEDINGS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0208 DECLARATORY RULINGS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0300 – BOARDS OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0301 EMPLOYMENT OF RELATIVES 

OF COUNTY BOARD MEMBERS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0302 SELECTION OF COUNTY 

BOARD MEMBERS BY SOCIAL SERVICES COMM 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 68 .0303 DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY 

BY COUNTY BOARDS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

CHAPTER 69 – CONFIDENTIALITY AND ACCESS TO 

CLIENT RECORDS 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0101 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0102 INFORMATION FROM OTHER 

AGENCIES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0200 – SAFEGUARDING CLIENT 

INFORMATION 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0201 CONFLICT OF LAWS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0202 OWNERSHIP OF RECORDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0203 SECURITY OF RECORDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0204 ASSURANCE OF 

CONFIDENTIALITY (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0205 LIABILITY OF PERSONS WITH 

ACCESS TO CLIENT INFORMATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0300 - CLIENT ACCESS TO RECORDS 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0301 RIGHT OF ACCESS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0302 PROMPT RESPONSE TO 

REQUEST (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0303 WITHHOLDING 

INFORMATION FROM THE CLIENT (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0304 PROCEDURES FOR REVIEW 

OF RECORDS 

The director or his or her delegated representative shall be present 

when the client reviews the record.  The director or his or her 

delegated representative must document in the client record the 

review of the record by the client. 

 

Authority G.S. 108A-80; 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0305 CONTESTED INFORMATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0306 REVIEW OF RECORD BY 

PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0400 - RELEASE OF CLIENT INFORMATION 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0401 PROCEDURE FOR OBTAINING 

CONSENT FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0402 CONSENT FOR RELEASE OF 

INFORMATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0403 PERSONS WHO MAY CONSENT 

TO THE RELEASE OF INFORMATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0404 INFORMED CONSENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0405 PERSONS DESIGNATED TO 

RELEASE CLIENT INFORMATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0406 DOCUMENTATION OF 

RELEASE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0500 - DISCLOSURE OF CLIENT 

INFORMATION WITHOUT CLIENT CONSENT 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0501 DISCLOSURE WITHIN THE 

AGENCY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 
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10A NCAC 69 .0502 DISCLOSURE FOR THE 

PURPOSE OF RESEARCH (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0503 DISCLOSURE FOR PURPOSES 

OF ACCOUNTABILITY (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0504 DISCLOSURE PURSUANT TO 

OTHER LAWS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0505 DISCLOSURE PURSUANT TO A 

COURT ORDER (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0506 NOTICE TO CLIENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0507 DOCUMENTATION OF 

DISCLOSURE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0508 PERSONS DESIGNATED TO 

DISCLOSE INFORMATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0600 - SERVICE PROVIDERS 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0601 INFORMATION NEEDS OF 

SERVICE PROVIDERS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0602 CONTRACT RESTRICTION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0603 ASSURANCE OF 

CONFIDENTIALITY (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0604 OWNERSHIP OF RECORDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 69 .0605 LIABILITY OF SERVICE 

PROVIDERS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

CHAPTER 72 – EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL 

 

10A NCAC 72 .0101 SCOPE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 72 .0102 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0200 - STUDENT ELIGIBILITY FOR 

SCHOLARSHIPS, SATISFACTORY PROGRESS 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

10A NCAC 72 .0201 GENERAL RULE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 72 .0202 SATISFACTORY PROGRESS 

REQUIREMENT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 72 .0203 LIMITATION OF AWARD 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION 

 

10A NCAC 72 .0301 SCHOLARSHIP APPLICATION 

PROCEDURES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Justice intends to adopt the rule cited as 12 NCAC 

02I .0306 and amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 02I .0213. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

http://ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Legal-Services 

 

Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: April 30, 2019 

Time: 9:00 a.m. 

Location: Criminal Justice Education Training and Standards 

Division, Conference Room, 1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 

27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

12 NCAC 02I .0306 - This is an adoption of a rule to govern the 

identification company police officers must show on their 

vehicles, badges, uniforms, and other identification so that the 

public may clearly identify them as company police officers and 

so that all officers and agencies are held to the same standard 

with regards to identification. 

 

12 NCAC 02I .0213 - This is an amendment to fix a portion of the 

rule that is no longer applicable. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Randy Munn, 1700 Tryon 

Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27610, email rmunn@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends: April 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
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Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 02 - OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02I - COMPANY AND RAILROAD 

POLICE 

 

SECTION .0200 - COMMISSIONING 

 

12 NCAC 02I .0213 PERIOD OF SUSPENSION, 

REVOCATION OR DENIAL 

(a)  When the Attorney General, or his or her designee, suspends 

revokes or denies the commission of a company police officer, the 

period of sanction shall be permanent when the cause of the 

sanction is: 

(1) commission or conviction of a felony offense, 

or; 

(2) commission or conviction of a criminal offense 

for which the authorized punishment includes 

imprisonment for up to two years. 

(b)  When the Attorney General, or his or her designee, suspends, 

revokes, or denies the commission of a company police officer, 

the period of sanction shall not be less than three years. However, 

the Attorney General, or his designee, may either reduce or 

suspend the period of sanction under 12 NCAC 02I .0212(b) or 

substitute a period of probation in lieu of suspension of a 

commission following an administrative hearing, where the cause 

of sanction is: 

(1) commission or conviction of a crime other than 

those listed in Paragraph (a) of Rule .0212; 

(2) refusal to submit to the applicant or lateral 

transferee drug screen required by 12 NCAC 

02I .0202(7); 

(3) production of a positive result on a drug screen 

reported to the Company Police Administrator 

where 

 the positive result cannot be explained to the 

Company Police Administrator's satisfaction; 

(4) material misrepresentation of any information 

required for company police commissioning; 

(5) obtaining, attempting to obtain, aiding another 

person to obtain, or aiding another person 

attempting to 

obtain credit, training or commissioning as a 

company police officer by any means of false 

pretense, 

deception, defraudation, misrepresentation or 

cheating; or 

(6) failure to make either of the notifications as 

required by 12 NCAC 02I .0202(8). .0202(8); 

or 

(7) commission of any act prohibited by 12 NCAC 

02I .0304; or 

(8) termination from the company police agency 

for which the officer is commissioned; or 

(9) termination of the certification of the company 

police agency for with the officer is 

commissioned. 

(c)  When the Attorney General, or his designee, suspends or 

denies the commission of a company police officer, the period of 

sanction shall be continued so long as the stated deficiency, 

infraction, or impairment continues to exist, where the cause of 

sanction is: 

(1) failure to meet or satisfy all basic training 

requirements; 

(2) failure to meet or maintain the minimum 

standards of employment specified in 12 NCAC 

02I .0202(4); 

(3) discharge from a criminal justice agency for 

impairment of physical or mental capabilities; 

or 

(4) failure to meet the in-service training 

requirements as prescribed by the North 

Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 74E-4. 

 

SECTION .0300 - CONDUCT OF COMMISSIONED 

POLICEMEN 

 

12 NCAC 02I .0306 BADGES, UNIFORMS, 

VEHICLES AND OFFICER IDENTIFICATION 

(a)  Badges: 

(1) All company police officers shall, when on 

duty, wear a badge bearing the name of the 

certified company police agency and the 

general title of Company Police Officer or the 

specific title of: 

(A) Railroad Police officer; 

(B) Campus Police Officer; or 

(C) Special Police Officer. 

(2) The badge shall be carried at all times by the 

company police officer. The badge shall be 

worn in plain view, except in situations where 

the officer's weapon is concealed under the 
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provisions set forth in Rule .0304 of this 

Section. 

(3) No identification card indicating the person is a 

company police officer shall be issued to or 

possessed by any company police officer except 

in the form of identification issued to the officer 

by the Attorney General. 

(4) The Department Head shall ensure that 

employees who have not been commissioned as 

company police officers do not wear a badge 

used by the company police agency. 

(b)  Uniforms: 

(1) All company police officers shall, when on 

duty, wear the uniform of the company police 

agency unless directed to wear other attire by 

the Department Head. 

(2) Those company police agencies which employ 

both company police commissioned and non-

commissioned security personnel shall provide 

the commissioned company police officers with 

a uniform of a different color that would 

distinguish the company police officer from 

other employees of the agency. Furthermore, 

the Department Head shall ensure that 

employees who have not been commissioned as 

company police officers do not wear a uniform 

identifying them as company police officers. 

(3) The uniform of the company police officer shall 

bear a shoulder patch or some equivalent item 

containing the following information: 

(A) the terms "Railroad Police Officer," 

"Campus Police Officer," "Special 

Police Officer," or "Company Police 

Officer"; and 

(B) the name of the company police 

agency. 

(c)  Vehicles: 

(1) Each marked vehicle used by a company police 

agency subject to this Rule shall display the 

agency name and one of the following agency 

classifications: "Railroad Police," "Campus 

Police," "Special Police," or "Company Police". 

(2) The agency classifications required by 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule shall be of 

uniform size with any other writing on the 

company police vehicle. 

(3) The Department Head shall ensure that 

employees who have not been commissioned as 

company police officers do not operate any 

marked vehicle used by the company police 

agency. 

(4) The Department Head shall ensure that 

employees who are not commissioned as a 

company police officer do not operate any 

company police vehicle with a blue light 

contained therein. 

(5) The Department Head shall ensure that any 

marked company police agency vehicle is not 

operated outside of those property jurisdiction 

limitations set forth in G.S. 74E-6, unless such 

operation is performed by an on-duty 

commissioned company police officer in the 

performance of his official duties and 

authorized by the Department Head. 

(d)  The requirements contained in this Rule shall not apply to 

those agencies and commissioned officers who are regulated by 

the Tennessee Valley Authority, United States Nuclear 

Regulatory Commission, or the Railroad Police Certification Act 

of 1990. 

 

Authority G.S. 74E-4; 74E-7. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Sheriffs' Education and Training 

Standards Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 12 

NCAC 10B .2005, repeal the rules cited as 12 NCAC 10B .1003, 

.1203, .1403, and .1603, and readopt without substantive changes 

the rule cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0302. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-

Standards/Sheriffs-Education-and-Training-Standards/All-

Commission-Forms-and-Publications.aspx 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 16, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

12 NCAC 10B .0302 - Proposal to readopt without substantive 

changes. 

12 NCAC 10B .2005 – Provides for acceptance of IADLEST 

approved training for choice in-service topics. 

12 NCAC 10B .1003, .1203, .1403, and .1603 – Proposal to 

repeal these rules relating to the Basic Certificate Program for 

Law Enforcement, Detention Officers, Reserve Deputy Sheriffs 

and Telecommunicators.  This is a voluntary program which 

provides no benefit that cannot be realized through an officer's 

achievement of General Certification. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Diane N. Konopka, PO Box 

629, Raleigh, NC 27602; email dkonopka@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  April 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
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Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

EMPLOYMENT AND CERTIFICATION AS A 

JUSTICE OFFICER 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0302 DOCUMENTATION OF 

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENT (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1000 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

PROGRAM FOR SHERIFFS AND DEPUTY SHERIFFS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .1003 BASIC LAW ENFORCEMENT 

CERTIFICATE 

In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .1002, an 

applicant for the Basic Law Enforcement Certificate shall: 

(1) have no less than one year of service; and either 

(2) have successfully completed a 

commission-accredited basic law enforcement 

training course and any remedial training as 

required by the Commission; or 

(3) have completed a minimum of 160 hours of 

training in the field of law enforcement. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4. 

 

SECTION .1200 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

PROGRAM FOR DETENTION OFFICERS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .1203 BASIC DETENTION OFFICER 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .1202 of this 

Section, an applicant for the Basic Detention Officer Professional 

Certificate shall: 

(1) have no less than one year of service; and 

(2) have completed an accredited Detention Officer 

Certification Course; or 

(3) have completed a minimum of 80 hours of 

training in the field of jails or corrections. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4. 

 

SECTION .1400 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE FOR 

RESERVE DEPUTY SHERIFFS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .1403 BASIC RESERVE DEPUTY 

SHERIFF PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .1402, an 

applicant for the Basic Reserve Deputy Sheriff Certificate shall 

have no less than one year of reserve service and have either: 

(1) successfully completed a 

commission-accredited basic law enforcement 

training course and any remedial training as 

required by the Commission for general 

certification; or 

(2) completed a minimum of 160 hours of training 

in the field of law enforcement. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E. 

 

SECTION .1600 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

PROGRAM FOR TELECOMMUNICATORS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .1603 BASIC TELECOMMUNICATOR 

CERTIFICATE 

In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .1602, an 

applicant for the Basic Telecommunicator Certificate shall have 

no less than one year of service; and, either: 

(1) successfully completed the 

commission-accredited Telecommunicator 

Certification Course and any remedial training 

as required by the Commission; or 

(2) completed a minimum of 40 hours of training 

in the field of telecommunications. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4. 

 

SECTION .2000 - IN-SERVICE TRAINING FOR JUSTICE 

OFFICERS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .2005 MINIMUM TRAINING 

REQUIREMENTS  

(a)  A Sheriff or Department Head may use a lesson plan 

developed by the North Carolina Justice Academy or a lesson plan 

for any of the topic areas developed by another entity. The Sheriff 

or Department Head may also use a lesson plan developed by a 

certified instructor, provided that the instructor develops the 

lesson plan in accordance with the Instructional Systems 
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Development model as taught in Criminal Justice Instructor 

Training and as described in 12 NCAC 09B .0209. Lesson plans 

shall be designed to be delivered in hourly increments. A student 

who completes the training shall receive the number of credits that 

correspond to the number of hours assigned to the course, 

regardless of the amount of time the student spends completing 

the course, where each hour of instruction shall be worth one 

credit (e.g., "Legal Update" is designed to be delivered in four 

hours and will yield four credits). With the exception of Firearms 

Training and Requalification, successful completion of training 

shall be demonstrated by passing tests as developed by the 

delivering agency or as written by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy. A written test comprised of at least five questions per 

hour of training shall be developed by the delivering agency, or 

the agency may use the written test developed by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy, for each in-service training topic. A 

student shall pass each test by achieving 70 percent correct 

answers. Firearms Training and Requalification shall be 

demonstrated qualification with a firearm as set out in Section 

.2100 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Training described in 12 NCAC 10B .2005(a) shall satisfy the 

in-service training requirement for topic areas of the Sheriffs' or 

Department Head's choosing; or the Sheriff or Department Head 

may chose training delivered pursuant to National Certification 

Programs administered by the International Association of 

Directors of Law Enforcement Standards and Training 

(IADLEST) completed during the mandated in-service year to 

satisfy these topics in part or in whole. It is not required that this 

IADLEST training be written in the Instructional Systems Design 

(ISD) format or delivered by a Commission certified instructor. 

(b)(c) The 2018 Law Enforcement In-Service Training 

Program requires 24 credits of training and successful completion 

in the following topic areas: 

(1) Legal Update; 

(2) Strategies to Improve Law Enforcement 

Interactions and Relationships with Minority 

Youth; 

(3) Equality in Policing; 

(4) Communications Skills With Persons In Crisis 

– De-escalation Techniques; 

(5) Firearms Training and Requalification for 

deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(6) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing. 

(c)(d) The 2018 Detention Officer In-Service Training 

Program requires 16 credits of training and successful completion 

in the following topic areas: 

(1) Recognizing Warning Signs and Strategies 

Associated with Mental Illness; 

(2) Equality in Detention Practices; 

(3) Communications Skills With Persons In Crisis 

– De-escalation Techniques; 

(4) Career Survival; and 

(5) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(d)(e) The 2018 Telecommunicator In-Service Training 

Program requires 16 credits of training and successful completion 

in the following topic areas: 

(1) Communications Center Trainer; 

(2) Equality in Policing; 

(3) Communications Skills With Persons In Crisis 

– De-escalation Techniques; and 

(4) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(e)(f) The 2019 Law Enforcement In-Service Training 

Program requires 24 credits of training and successful completion 

in the following topic areas: 

(1) Legal Update; 

(2) Juvenile Law Update; 

(3) Individual Wellness: Coping with Stress and 

PTSD; 

(4) Best Practices for Officers During Community 

Dissent; 

(5) Law Enforcement Intelligence Update: Gangs 

and Divisive Groups; 

(6) Domestic Violence: Law and Procedure 

Update; 

(7) Opioid Awareness and Response; 

(8) Firearms Training and Requalification for 

deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(9) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing. 

(f)(g) The 2019 Detention Officer In-Service Training 

Program requires 16 credits of training and successful completion 

in the following topic areas: 

(1) Detention Officer Legal Update; 

(2) Detention Intelligence Update: Gangs and 

Divisive Groups; 

(3) Individual Wellness: Coping with Stress and 

PTSD; 

(4) Inmate Suicide Prevention; 

(5) Opioid Awareness and Response; and 

(6) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(g)(h) The 2019 Telecommunicator In-Service Training 

Program requires 16 credits of training and successful completion 

in the following topic areas: 

(1) Individual Wellness: Coping with Stress and 

PTSD; 

(2) Civil Liability for Telecommunicators; 

(3) Human Fatigue in Shift Work; Strategies for 

Improving Performance; 

(4) Handling Difficult Callers; and 

(5) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 32 – MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to adopt the rules cited as 21 NCAC 32B 

.1706; 32N .0114; 32W .0116, and amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 32B .1303, .1350, .1502, .2001; 32N .0110; and 32S .0219. 
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Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2019 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 26, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  North Carolina Medical Board, 1203 Front Street, 

Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 32B .1303 and .1350 – These amendments add the 

American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (ABOMS) as 

a physician certification to satisfy the 3-attempt limit for passing 

USMLE and removed the requirements that are no longer 

applicable. 

21 NCAC 32B .2001 – This amendment adds the American Board 

of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (ABOMS) as a physician 

certification to satisfy the 3-attempt limit for passing USMLE; 

removed the requirements that are no longer applicable; and 

amendments to clarify the rule. 

21 NCAC 32B .1502 – This amendment updates and clarifies who 

is entitled to a Medical School Faculty license 

21 NCAC 32B .1706; 32S .0219; and 32W .0116 – These 

adoptions and amendment will allow for an expeditious influx of 

needed physicians, physician assistants and Anesthesiologist 

Assistants to the state in the event of a disaster. 

21 NCAC 32N .0114 - The proposed rule is to outline the process 

for the summary suspension of a license. 

21 NCAC 32N .0110 – This amendment allows that dispositive 

motions shall be heard by a quorum of the Board and shall be 

made at least 14 days prior to the hearing of the matter. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Wanda Long, NC Medical 

Board, P.O. Box 20007, Raleigh, NC 27619; email 

rules@ncmedboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  April 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 32 - NORTH CAROLINA MEDICAL BOARD 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32B – LICENSE TO PRACTICE 

MEDICINE 

 

SECTION .1300 - GENERAL 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1303 APPLICATION FOR PHYSICIAN 

LICENSE 

(a)  In order to obtain a Physician License, physician license, an 

applicant shall: 

(1) submit a completed application, attesting under 

oath or affirmation that the information on the 

application is true and complete and authorizing 

the release to the Board of all information 

pertaining to the application; 

(2) submit a photograph, two inches by two inches, 

affixed to the oath or affirmation which has 

been attested to by a notary public; 

(3) submit documentation of a legal name change, 

if applicable; 

(4) supply a certified copy of applicant's birth 

certificate if the applicant was born in the 

United States or a certified copy of a valid and 

unexpired US passport. If the applicant does not 

possess proof of U.S. citizenship, the applicant 

must provide information about applicant's 

immigration and work status which the Board 

will use to verify applicant's ability to work 

lawfully in the United States; 

(5) submit proof on the Board's Medical Education 

Certification form that the applicant has 

completed at least 130 weeks of medical 

education and received a medical degree. 

However, the Board shall waive the 130 week 

requirement if the applicant has been certified 

or recertified by an ABMS, CCFP, FRCP, 

FRCS or AOA approved specialty board within 

the past 10 years; 

(6) for an applicant who has graduated from a 

medical or osteopathic school approved by the 

LCME, the CACMS or COCA, meet the 

requirements set forth in G.S. 90-9.1; 

(7) for an applicant graduating from a medical 

school not approved by the LCME, meet the 

requirements set forth in G.S. 90-9.2; 

(8) provide proof of passage of an examination 

testing general medical knowledge. In addition 

to the examinations set forth in G.S. 90-10.1 (a 

state board licensing examination; NBME; 

USMLE; FLEX, or their successors), the Board 
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accepts the following examinations (or their 

successors) for licensure: 

(A) COMLEX, 

(B) NBOME, and 

(C) MCCQE; 

(9) submit proof that the applicant has completed 

graduate medical education as required by G.S. 

90-9.1 or 90-9.2, as follows: 

(A) A graduate of a medical school 

approved by LCME, CACMS or 

COCA shall have satisfactorily 

completed at least one year of graduate 

medical education approved by 

ACGME, CFPC, RCPSC or AOA. 

(B) A graduate of a medical school not 

approved by LCME shall have 

satisfactorily completed three years of 

graduate medical education approved 

by ACGME, CFPC, RCPSC or AOA. 

(C) An applicant may satisfy the graduate 

medical education requirements of 

Parts (A) or (B) of this Subparagraph 

by showing proof of current 

certification by a specialty board 

recognized by the ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS or AOA; 

(10) submit a FCVS profile: 

(A) If the applicant is a graduate of a 

medical school approved by LCME, 

CACMS or COCA, and the applicant 

previously has completed a FCVS 

profile; or 

(B) If the applicant is a graduate of a 

medical school other than those 

approved by LCME, COCA or 

CACMS; 

(11) if a graduate of a medical school other than 

those approved by LCME, AOA, COCA or 

CACMS, furnish an original ECFMG 

certification status report of a currently valid 

certification of the ECFMG. The ECFMG 

certification status report requirement shall be 

waived if: 

(A) the applicant has passed the ECFMG 

examination and successfully 

completed an approved Fifth Pathway 

program (original ECFMG score 

transcript from the ECFMG required); 

or 

(B) the applicant has been licensed in 

another state on the basis of a written 

examination before the establishment 

of the ECFMG in 1958; 

(12) submit an AMA Physician Profile and, if 

applicant is an osteopathic physician, also 

submit an AOA Physician Profile; 

(13) if applying on the basis of the USMLE, submit: 

(A) a transcript from the FSMB showing a 

score on USMLE Step 1, both portions 

of Step 2 (clinical knowledge and 

clinical skills) and Step 3; and 

(B) proof that the applicant has passed 

each step within three attempts. 

However, the Board shall waive the 

three attempt requirement if the 

applicant has been certified or 

recertified by an ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS or FRCS, AOA or 

ABOMS approved specialty board 

within the past 10 years; 

(14) if applying on the basis of COMLEX, submit: 

(A) a transcript from the NBOME 

showing a score on COMLEX Level 

1, both portions of Level 2 (cognitive 

evaluation and performance 

evaluation) and Level 3; and 

(B) proof that the applicant has passed 

COMLEX within three attempts. 

However, the Board shall waive the 

three attempt requirement if the 

applicant has been certified or 

recertified by an ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS or FRCS, AOA or 

ABOMS approved specialty board 

within the past 10 years; 

(15) if applying on the basis of any other board-

approved examination, submit a transcript 

showing a passing score; 

(16) submit a NPDB / HIPDB report, dated within 

60 days of submission of the application; 

(17) submit a FSMB Board Action Data Report; 

(18)(16) submit two completed fingerprint record cards 

supplied by the Board; 

(19)(17) submit a signed consent form allowing a search 

of local, state, and national files for any 

criminal record; 

(20)(18) provide two original references from persons 

with no family or marital relationship to the 

applicant. These references must be: 

(A) from physicians who have observed 

the applicant's work in a clinical 

environment within the past three 

years; 

(B) on forms supplied by the Board; 

(C) dated within six months of the 

submission of the application; and 

(D) bearing the original signature of the 

writer; 

(21)(19) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee pursuant 

to G.S. 90-13.1(a), plus the cost of a criminal 

background check; and 

(22)(20) upon request, supply any additional 

information the Board deems necessary to 

evaluate the applicant's competence and 

character. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

the applicant shall submit proof that the applicant has: 

(1) within the past 10 years taken and passed either: 
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(A) an exam listed in G.S. 90-10.1 (a state 

board licensing examination; 

NBOME; USMLE; COMLEX; or 

MCCQE or their successors); 

(B) SPEX (with a score of 75 or higher); 

or 

(C) COMVEX (with a score of 75 or 

higher); 

(2) within the past 10 years: 

(A) obtained certification or recertification 

or CAQ by a specialty board 

recognized by the ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS or AOA; FRCS, AOA or 

ABOMS; or 

(B) met requirements for ABMS MOC 

(maintenance of certification) or AOA 

OCC (Osteopathic continuous 

certification); 

(3) within the past 10 years completed GME 

approved by ACGME, CFPC, RCPSC or AOA; 

or 

(4) within the past three years completed CME as 

required by 21 NCAC 32R .0101(a), .0101(b), 

and .0102. 

(c)  All reports must be submitted directly to the Board from the 

primary source, when possible. 

(d)  An applicant shall appear in person for an interview with the 

Board or its agent, if the Board needs more information to 

complete the application. 

(e)  An application must be completed within one year of 

submission. If not, the applicant shall be charged another 

application fee, plus the cost of another criminal background 

check. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-9.1; 90-9.2; 90-13.1. 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1350 REINSTATEMENT OF 

PHYSICIAN LICENSE 

(a)  "Reinstatement" is for a physician who has held a North 

Carolina License, but whose license either has been inactive for 

more than one year, or whose license became inactive as a result 

of disciplinary action (revocation or suspension) taken by the 

Board. It also applies to a physician who has surrendered a license 

prior to charges being filed by the Board. 

(b)  All applicants for reinstatement shall: 

(1) submit a completed application which can be 

found on the Board's website in the application 

section at 

http://www.ncmedboard.org/licensing, 

attesting under oath or affirmation that 

information on the application is true and 

complete, and authorizing the release to the 

Board of all information pertaining to the 

application; 

(2) submit documentation of a legal name change, 

if applicable; 

(3) supply a certified copy of the applicant's birth 

certificate if the applicant was born in the 

United States or a certified copy of a valid and 

unexpired U.S. passport. If the applicant does 

not possess proof of U.S. citizenship, the 

applicant shall provide information about the 

applicant's immigration and work status which 

the Board shall use to verify the applicant's 

ability to work lawfully in the United States. 

Applicants who are not present in the U.S. and 

who do not plan to practice physically in the US 

shall submit a written statement to that effect. 

(4) furnish an original ECFMG certification status 

report of a currently valid certification of the 

ECFMG if the applicant is a graduate of a 

medical school other than those approved by 

LCME, AOA, COCA, or CACMS. The 

ECFMG certification status report requirement 

shall be waived if: 

(A) the applicant has passed the ECFMG 

examination and successfully 

completed an approved Fifth Pathway 

program (original ECFMG score 

transcript from the ECFMG required); 

or 

(B) the applicant has been licensed in 

another state on the basis of a written 

examination before the establishment 

of the ECFMG in 1958; 

(5) submit the AMA Physician Profile; and, if the 

applicant is an osteopathic physician, also 

submit the AOA Physician Profile; 

(6) submit a NPDB/HIPDB report dated within 60 

days of the application's submission; 

(7) submit a FSMB Board Action Data Bank 

report; 

(8)(6) submit documentation of CME obtained in the 

last three years, upon request; 

(9)(7) submit two completed fingerprint cards 

supplied by the Board; 

(10)(8) submit a signed consent form allowing a search 

of local, state, and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(11)(9) provide two original references from persons 

with no family or material relationship to the 

applicant. These references shall be: 

(A) from physicians who have observed 

the applicant's work in a clinical 

environment within the past three 

years; 

(B) on forms supplied by the Board; 

(C) dated within six months of submission 

of the application; and 

(D) bearing the original signature of the 

author; 

(12)(10) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee pursuant 

to G.S. 90-13.1(a), plus the cost of a criminal 

background check; and 

(13)(11) upon request, supply any additional 

information the Board deems necessary to 

evaluate the applicant's qualifications. 
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(c)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

the applicant shall submit proof that the applicant has: 

(1) within the past 10 years taken and passed either: 

(A) an exam listed in G.S. 90-10.1 (a state 

board licensing examination; NBME; 

NBOME; USMLE; FLEX; 

COMLEX; or MCCQE or their 

successors); 

(B) SPEX (with a score of 75 or higher); 

or 

(C) COMVEX (with a score of 75 or 

higher); 

(2) within the past ten years: 

(A) obtained certification or recertification 

of CAQ by a specialty board 

recognized by the ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS or AOA; FRCS, AOA or 

ABOMS; or 

(B) met requirements for ABMS MOC 

(maintenance or certification) or AOA 

OCC (Osteopathic continuous 

Certification); 

(3) within the past 10 years completed GME 

approved by ACGME, CFPC, RCPSC or AOA; 

or 

(4) within the past three years completed CME as 

required by 21 NCAC 32R .0101(a), .0101(b), 

and .0102. 

(d)  All reports shall be submitted directly to the Board from the 

primary source, when possible. If a primary source verification is 

not possible, then a third party verification shall be submitted. 

(e)  An applicant shall be required to appear in person for an 

interview with the Board or its agent to evaluate the applicant's 

competence and character if the Board needs more information to 

complete the application. 

(f)  An application must be complete within one year of 

submission. If not, the applicant shall be charged another 

application fee plus the cost of another criminal background 

check. 

(g)  Notwithstanding the above provisions of this Rule, the 

licensure requirements established by rule at the time the 

applicant first received his or her equivalent North Carolina 

license shall apply. Information about these Rules is available 

from the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-9.1; 90-10.1; 90-13.1. 

 

SECTION .1500 – FACULTY LICENSE 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1502 APPLICATION FOR MEDICAL 

SCHOOL FACULTY LICENSE 

(a)  The Medical School Faculty License is limited to physicians 

who have expertise which can be used to help educate North 

Carolina medical students, post-graduate residents and fellows 

but who do not meet the requirements for Physician licensure. 

(b)  In order to obtain a Medical School Faculty License, an 

applicant shall: 

(1) submit a completed application, attesting under 

oath or affirmation that the information on the 

application is true and complete, and 

authorizing the release to the Board of all 

information pertaining to the application; 

(2) submit the Board's form, signed by the Dean or 

his the Dean's appointed representative, 

indicating that the applicant has received a full-

time paid appointment as either a an instructor, 

lecturer, assistant professor, associate 

professor, or full professor at a medical school 

in the state of North Carolina; 

(3) submit documentation of a legal name change, 

if applicable; 

(4) submit a photograph, two inches by two inches, 

affixed to the oath or affirmation which has 

been attested to by a notary public; 

(5) submit proof on the Board's Medical Education 

Certification form that the applicant has 

completed at least 130 weeks of medical 

education. However, the Board shall waive the 

130 week requirement if the applicant has been 

certified or recertified by an ABMS, DDFP, 

AOA, FRCP, FRCS or AOA approved 

specialty board within the past 10 years; 

(6) supply a certified copy of applicant's birth 

certificate or a certified copy of a valid and 

unexpired US passport if the applicant was born 

in the United States. If the applicant does not 

possess proof of US citizenship, the applicant 

must provide information about applicant's 

immigration and work status which the Board 

will use to verify applicant's ability to work 

lawfully lawful presence in the United States; 

(7) submit proof of satisfactory completion of at 

least one year of GME approved by ACGME, 

CFPC, RCPSC, or AOA; or evidence of other 

education, training or experience, determined 

by the Board to be equivalent; 

(8) submit reports from all medical or osteopathic 

boards from which the applicant has ever held 

a medical or osteopathic license, indicating the 

status of the applicant's license and whether or 

not any action has been taken against the 

license; 

(9) submit an AMA Physician Profile; and, if 

applicant is an osteopathic physician, submit an 

AOA Physician Profile; 

(10) submit a NPDB report, HIPDB report, report 

dated within 60 days of applicant's oath; 

(11) submit a FSMB Board Action Data Bank 

report; 

(12) submit two completed fingerprint record cards 

supplied by the Board; 

(13) submit a signed consent form allowing a search 

of local, state, and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(14) provide two original references reference letters 

from persons with no family or marital 

relationship to the applicant. These letters must 

be: 
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(A) from physicians who have observed 

the applicant's work in a clinical 

environment within the past three 

years; 

(B) on forms supplied by the Board; 

(C) dated within six months of the 

applicant's oath; and 

(D) bearing the original signature of the 

writer. 

(15) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee pursuant 

to G.S. 90-13.1(a), plus the cost of a criminal 

background check; and 

(16) upon request, supply any additional 

information the Board deems necessary to 

evaluate the applicant's competence and 

character. 

(c)  All reports must be submitted directly to the Board from the 

primary source, when possible. 

(d)  An applicant may be required to appear in person for an 

interview with the Board or its agent to evaluate the applicant's 

competence and character. 

(e)  An application must be completed within one year of the date 

of the applicant's oath. 

(f)  This Rule applies to licenses granted after the effective date 

of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-12.3; 90-13.2. 

 

SECTION .1700 – OTHER LICENSES 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1706 PHYSICIAN PRACTICE AND 

LIMITED LICENSE FOR DISASTERS AND 

EMERGENCIES 

(a)  The Board shall, pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5, waive requirements 

for licensure except to the extent set forth in this Rule and after 

the Governor of the State of North Carolina has declared a disaster 

or state of emergency, or in the event of an occurrence for which 

a county or municipality has declared a state of emergency, or to 

protect the public health, safety or welfare of its citizens under 

G.S. 130A, Article 22. There are two ways for physicians to 

practice under this Rule: 

(1) Hospital to Hospital Credentialing: A physician 

who holds a full, unlimited and unrestricted 

license to practice medicine in another U.S. 

state, territory or district and has unrestricted 

hospital credentials and privileges in any U.S. 

state, territory or district may come to North 

Carolina and practice medicine at a hospital that 

is licensed by the North Carolina Department of 

Health and Human Services upon the following 

terms and conditions: 

(A) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall verify all physician credentials 

and privileges; 

(B) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall keep a list of all physicians 

coming to practice and shall provide 

this list to the Board within 10 days of 

each physician practicing at the 

licensed North Carolina hospital. The 

licensed North Carolina hospital shall 

also provide the Board a list of when 

each physician has stopped practicing 

medicine in North Carolina under this 

Rule within 10 days after each 

physician has stopped practicing 

medicine under this Rule; 

(C) all physicians practicing under this 

Rule shall be authorized to practice 

medicine in North Carolina and shall 

be deemed to be licensed to practice 

medicine in the State of North 

Carolina and the Board shall have 

jurisdiction over all physicians 

practicing under this Rule for all 

purposes set forth in or related to G.S. 

90, Article 1, and such jurisdiction 

shall continue in effect even after any 

and all physicians have stopped 

practicing medicine under this Rule; 

(D) a physician may practice under this 

Rule for the shorter of: 

(i) 30 days from the date the 

physician has started 

practicing under this Rule; or 

(ii) a statement by an appropriate 

authority is made that the 

emergency or disaster 

declaration has been 

withdrawn or ended and, at 

such time, the license 

deemed to be issued shall 

become inactive; and 

(E) physicians practicing under this Rule 

shall not receive any compensation 

outside of their usual compensation 

for the provision of medical services 

during a disaster or emergency. 

(2) Limited Emergency License: A physician who 

holds a full, unlimited and unrestricted license 

to practice medicine in another U.S. state, 

territory or district may apply for a limited 

emergency license on the following 

conditions: 

(A) the applicant must complete a limited 

emergency license application; 

(B) the Board shall verify that the 

physician holds a full, unlimited and 

unrestricted license to practice 

medicine in another U.S. state, 

territory or district; 

(C) in response to the specific 

circumstances presented by a declared 

disaster or state of emergency and in 

order to best serve the public interest, 

the Board may limit the physician's 

scope of practice; 
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(D) the Board shall have jurisdiction over 

all physicians practicing under this 

Rule for all purposes set forth in or 

related to G.S. 90, Article 1, and such 

jurisdiction shall continue in effect 

even after such physician has stopped 

practicing medicine under this Rule or 

the Limited Emergency License has 

expired; 

(E) this license shall be in effect for the 

shorter of: 

(i) 30 days from the date it is 

issued; or  

(ii) a statement by an appropriate 

authority is made that the 

emergency or disaster 

declaration has been 

withdrawn or ended and, at 

such time, the license issued 

shall become inactive; and 

(F) physicians holding limited emergency 

licenses shall not receive any 

compensation outside of their usual 

compensation for the provision of 

medical services during a disaster or 

emergency. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-12.5; 90-13.2(e); 90-14(a); 166A-45. 

 

SECTION .2000 – EXPEDITED APPLICATION FOR 

PHYSICIAN LICENSE 

 

21 NCAC 32B .2001 EXPEDITED APPLICATION 

FOR PHYSICIAN LICENSE 

(a)  A specialty board-certified physician who has been licensed 

in at least one other state, the District of Columbia, U.S. territory 

or Canadian province for at least five years, has been in active 

clinical practice the past two years; and who has a clean license 

application, as defined in Paragraph (c) of this Rule may apply for 

a license on an expedited basis. A physician who meets the 

qualifications listed in this Rule may apply for a license on an 

expedited basis. 

(b)  An applicant for an expedited Physician License shall: 

(1) complete the Board's application form, attesting 

under oath or affirmation that the information 

on the application is true and complete, and 

authorizing the release to the Board of all 

information pertaining to the application; 

(2) submit documentation of a legal name change, 

if applicable; 

(3) on the Board's form, submit a photograph taken 

within the past year, two inches by two inches, 

attested to or affirmed by the applicant as a true 

likeness of the applicant before a notary public; 

(4) supply a certified copy of applicant's birth 

certificate if the applicant was born in the 

United States or a certified copy of a valid and 

unexpired US passport. If the applicant does not 

possess proof of U.S. citizenship, the applicant 

must provide information about applicant's 

immigration and work status which the Board 

will use to verify applicant's ability to work 

lawfully in the United States; States. Applicants 

who are not present in the U.S. and who do not 

plan to practice physically in the U.S. shall 

submit a statement to that effect; 

(Note: there may be some applicants who are 

not present in the U.S. and who do not plan to 

practice physically in the U.S. Those applicants 

shall submit a statement to that effect); 

(5) provide proof that applicant has held an active 

unrestricted license to practice medicine in at 

least one other state, the District of Columbia, 

U.S. Territory or Canadian province 

continuously for at least a minimum of five 

years immediately preceding this application; 

(6) provide proof of clinical practice providing 

patient care for an average of 20 hours or more 

per week, for at least the last two years; 

(7) provide proof of: 

(A) current certification or current 

recertification by an ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, or AOA AOA, or 

ABOMS approved specialty board 

obtained within the past 10 years; or 

(B) obtained certification or recertification 

of CAQ by a specialty board 

recognized by the ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS or AOA; or 

(C) met requirements for ABMS MOC 

(maintenance of certification) or AOA 

OCC (Osteopathic continuous 

Certification); certification); 

(8) if the applicant is a graduate of a medical school 

other than those approved by LCME, AOA, 

COCA or CACMS, the applicant shall furnish 

an original ECFMG certification status report 

of a currently valid certification of the ECFMG. 

The ECFMG certification status report 

requirement shall be waived if the applicant has 

passed the ECH+FMG examination and 

successfully completed an approved Fifth 

Pathway program (original ECFMG score 

transcript from the ECFMG required). 

(8)(9) submit an AMA Physician Profile; and, if 

applicant is an osteopathic physician submit an 

AOA Physician Profile; 

(9) submit a NPDB/HIPDB report dated within 60 

days of the applicant's oath; 

(10) submit a FSMB Board Action Data Bank 

report; 

(11)(10) submit two completed fingerprint record cards 

supplied by the Board; 

(12)(11) submit a signed consent form allowing a search 

of local, state and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(13)(12) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee pursuant 

to G.S. 90-13.1(a) of three hundred fifty dollars 
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($350.00), plus the cost of a criminal 

background check; and 

(14)(13) upon request, supply any additional 

information the Board deems necessary to 

evaluate the applicant's qualifications. 

(c)  A clean physician applying for an expedited license 

application means that the physician has none of the following: 

must: 

(1) not have any professional liability insurance 

claim(s) or payment(s); payments(s) within the 

past 10 years; 

(2) not have any criminal record; conviction; 

(3) not have any medical condition(s) which could 

affect the physician's ability to practice safely; 

(4) not have any regulatory board complaint(s), 

investigation(s), or action(s)(including 

applicant's withdrawal of a license application); 

application) within the past 10 years; 

(5) not have any adverse action action(s) taken by 

a health care institution; institution within the 

past 10 years; 

(6) not have any adverse investigation(s) or 

action(s) taken by a federal agency, the U.S. 

military, medical societies or associations; 

within the past 10 years; 

(7) suspension or expulsion from any school, 

including medical school. 

(8) graduation from any United States or Canadian 

medical school that is not LCME or CACMS 

approved; or 

(9) has passed no licensing examination other than 

Puerto Rico Written Examination/Revalida. 

(7) have passed an examination testing general 

medical knowledge. In addition to the 

examinations set forth in G.S. 90-10.1 (a state 

board licensing examination: NBME; USMLE; 

FLEX or their successors). The Board accepts 

the following examinations (or their 

successors) for licensure: 

(A) COMLEX; 

(B) NBOME; and 

(C) MCCQE. 

(d)  All reports must be submitted directly to the Board from the 

primary source, when possible. 

(e)  The application process must be completed within one year of 

the date on which the application fee is paid. If not, the applicant 

shall be charged a new applicant fee. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-9.1; 90-5; 90-11; 90-13.1. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32N - FORMAL AND INFORMAL 

PROCEEDINGS 

 

21 NCAC 32N .0110 INITIATION OF DISCIPLINARY 

HEARINGS 

(a)  The Board shall issue a Notice of Charges and Allegations 

only upon completion of an investigation, a finding by the Board 

or a committee of the Board that there exists a factual and legal 

basis for an action pursuant to any subsection of G.S. 90-14(a), 

and a pre-charge conference, if one was requested by the licensee. 

(b)  Disciplinary proceedings shall be initiated and conducted 

pursuant to G.S. 90-14 through G.S. 90-14.7 and G.S. 150B-38 

through G.S. 150B-42. 

(c)  A pre-hearing conference shall be held not less than seven 

days before the hearing date unless waived by the Board President 

or designated presiding officer upon written request by either 

party. The purpose of the conference will be to simplify the issues 

to be determined, obtain stipulations in regards to testimony or 

exhibits, obtain stipulations of agreement on undisputed facts or 

the application of particular laws, consider the proposed witnesses 

for each party, identify and exchange documentary evidence 

intended to be introduced at the hearing, and consider such other 

matters that may be necessary or advisable for the efficient and 

expeditious conduct of the hearing. 

(d)  The pre-hearing conference shall be conducted in the offices 

of the Medical Board, unless another site is designated by mutual 

agreement of all parties; however, when a face-to-face conference 

is impractical, the Board President or designated presiding officer 

may order the pre-hearing conference be conducted by telephone 

conference. 

(e)  The pre-hearing conference shall be an informal proceeding 

and shall be conducted by the Board President or designated 

presiding officer. 

(f)  All agreements, stipulations, amendments, or other matters 

resulting from the pre-hearing conference shall be in writing, 

signed by the presiding officer, respondent or respondent's 

counsel and Board counsel, and introduced into the record at the 

beginning of the disciplinary hearing. 

(g)  Motions for a continuance of a hearing shall be granted upon 

a showing of good cause. In determining whether to grant such 

motions, the Board shall consider the Guidelines for Resolving 

Scheduling Conflicts adopted by the State-Federal Judicial 

Council of North Carolina. Motions for a continuance must be in 

writing and received in the office of the Medical Board no less 

than 14 calendar days before the hearing date. A motion for a 

continuance filed less than 14 calendar days from the date of the 

hearing shall be denied unless the reason for the motion could not 

have been ascertained earlier. Motions for continuance shall be 

ruled on by the President of the Board or designated presiding 

officer. 

(h)  The Respondent may challenge on the basis of personal bias 

or other reason for disqualification the fitness and competency of 

any Board member to hear and weigh evidence concerning the 

Respondent. Challenges must be in writing accompanied by 

affidavit setting forth with specificity the grounds for such 

challenge and must be filed with the President of the Board or 

designated presiding officer at least 14 days before the hearing 

except for good cause shown. Nothing contained in this Rule shall 

prevent a Respondent appearing before the Board at a formal 

hearing from making inquiry of Board members as to their 

knowledge of and personal bias concerning that person's case and 

making a motion based upon the responses to those inquiries that 

a Board member recuse himself or herself of be removed by the 

Board President or presiding officer. 

(i)  In any formal proceeding pursuant to G.S. 90-14.1 and G.S. 

90-14.2, discovery may be obtained as provided in G.S. 90-8 and 

150B-39 by either the Board or the Respondent. Any discovery 
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request by a Respondent to the Board shall be filed with the 

Executive Director of the Board. Nothing herein is intended to 

prohibit a Respondent or counsel for Respondent from issuing 

subpoenas to the extent that such subpoenas are otherwise 

permitted by law or rule. The Medical Board may issue subpoenas 

for the Board or a Respondent in preparation for or in the conduct 

of a contested case as follows: 

(1) Subpoenas may be issued for the appearance of 

witnesses or the production of documents or 

information, either at the hearing or for the 

purposes of discovery; 

(2) Requests by a Respondent for subpoenas shall 

be made in writing to the Executive Director 

and shall include the following: 

(A) the full name and home or business 

address of all persons to be 

subpoenaed; and 

(B) the identification, with specificity, of 

any documents or information being 

sought; 

(3) Where Respondent makes a request for 

subpoenas and complies with the requirements 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, the 

Board shall provide subpoenas promptly; 

(4) Subpoenas shall include the date, time, and 

place of the hearing and the name and address 

of the party requesting the subpoena. In the case 

of subpoenas for the purpose of discovery, the 

subpoena shall include the date, time, and place 

for responding to the subpoena; and 

(5) Subpoenas shall be served as provided by the 

Rules of Civil Procedure, G.S. 1A-1. The cost 

of service, fees, and expenses of any witnesses 

or documents subpoenaed shall be paid by the 

party requesting the witnesses. 

(j)  All motions motions, other than motions pursuant to Rules 

12(b) and 56 of the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedures, 

related to a contested case shall be in writing and submitted to the 

Medical Board at least 14 calendar days before the hearing. Pre-

hearing motions shall be heard at the pre-hearing conference 

described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Motions filed fewer than 

14 days before the hearing shall be considered untimely and shall 

not be considered unless the reason for the motion could not have 

been ascertained earlier. In such case, the motion shall be 

considered at the hearing prior to the commencement of 

testimony. The Board President or designated presiding officer 

shall hear the motions and any response from the non-moving 

party and rule on such motions. If the pre-hearing motions are 

heard by an Administrative Law Judge from Office of 

Administrative Hearings the provisions of G.S. 150B-40(e) shall 

govern the proceedings. 

(k)  Dispositive motions made pursuant to Rules 12(b) and 56 of 

the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure shall be filed no later 

than 14 calendar days before the hearing. Dispositive motions 

shall be heard, and decided upon, by a quorum of the Board. The 

Board shall receive the assistance of independent counsel when 

deciding a dispositive motion. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8; 90-14.1; 90-14.2; 90-14.3; 

150B-38; 150B-39(c). 

 

21 NCAC 32N .0114 SUMMARY SUSPENSION 

(a)  If the Board finds that the public health, safety, or welfare 

requires emergency action, it may, pursuant to G.S. 150B-3(c), 

summarily suspend a license without a hearing or opportunity for 

the licensee to be heard. 

(b)  A motion to summarily suspend a license pursuant to this Rule 

shall be supported by competent evidence of the facts alleged 

requiring emergency action. 

(c)  The Board shall consult with independent counsel prior to 

issuing an order of summary suspension. The role of independent 

counsel shall be to advise the Board on the reliability and 

competency of the evidence presented in support of the motion for 

summary suspension. 

(d)  An order of summary suspension shall make preliminary 

findings of facts indicating why the public health, safety, or 

welfare requires emergency action. An order of summary 

suspension shall be accompanied by a notice of charges setting 

out the licensee's alleged violations of G.S. 90-14(a). Upon 

service of the order of summary suspension, the licensee to whom 

the order is directed shall immediately cease practicing in North 

Carolina. 

(e)  The Board shall, when it summarily suspends a license, 

schedule a hearing to occur at the earliest practicable date, but no 

later than 30 days from the date of service of the order of summary 

suspension. The purpose of the hearing will be to determine 

whether there is a preponderance of competent evidence 

supporting the order of summary suspension. A hearing on the 

order of summary suspension may be combined with a hearing on 

the merits of the notice of charges on a date mutually agreed upon 

by the parties. 

(f)  The order of summary suspension shall remain in effect until 

the Board vacates it. 

(g)  Neither an order of summary suspension nor a decision 

upholding an order of summary suspension is a final agency 

decision. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 150B-3(c). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32S - PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 

 

SECTION .0200 – PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 

REGISTRATION 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0219 PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 

PRACTICE AND LIMITED LICENSE FOR DISASTERS 

AND EMERGENCIES 

(a)  The Board shall, pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5, issue a limited 

physician assistant license under the following conditions: 

(1) the Governor of the State of North Carolina has 

declared a disaster or state of emergency, or in 

the event of an occurrence for which a county 

or municipality has enacted an ordinance to 

deal with states of emergency under G.S. 14-

288.12, 14-288.13, or 14-288.14, or to protect 

the public health, safety or welfare of its 

citizens under Article 22 of Chapter 130A of the 
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General Statutes, G.S. 160A-174(a) or G.S. 

153A-121(a); 

(2) the applicant provides government-issued 

photo identification; 

(3) the applicant provides proof of licensure, 

certification or authorization to practice as a 

physician assistant in another state, the District 

of Columbia, US Territory or Canadian 

province; 

(4) applicant affirms under oath that such license is 

in good standing; and 

(5) no grounds exist pursuant to G.S. 90-14(a) for 

the Board to deny a license. 

(b)  In response to the specific circumstances presented by a 

declared disaster or state of emergency and in order to best serve 

the public interest, the Board may limit the physician assistant's 

scope of practice including, but not limited to, the following: 

geography; term; type of practice; prescribing, administering and 

dispensing therapeutic measures, tests, procedures and drugs; 

supervision; and practice setting. 

(c)  The physician assistant must practice under the direct 

supervision of an on-site physician. The supervising physician 

must be licensed in this State or approved to practice in this State 

during a disaster or state of emergency pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5 

and 21 NCAC 32B .1705. The physician assistant may perform 

only those medical acts, tasks, and functions delegated by the 

supervising physician and not limited by the physician assistant's 

scope of practice as set out in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  A team of physician(s) and physician assistant(s) practicing 

pursuant to this Rule is not required to maintain on-site 

documentation describing supervisory arrangements and 

instructions for prescriptive authority as otherwise required by 21 

NCAC 32S .0213. 

(e)  A physician assistant holding a Limited Physician Assistant 

License for Disasters and Emergencies shall not receive any other 

or additional compensation outside his or her usual compensation, 

either direct or indirect, monetary, in-kind, or otherwise for the 

provision of medical services during a disaster or emergency. 

(a)  The Board shall, pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5, waive requirements 

for licensure except to the extent set forth in this Rule and after 

the Governor of the State of North Carolina has declared a disaster 

or state of emergency, or in the event of an occurrence for which 

a county or municipality has declared a state of emergency, or to 

protect the public health, safety or welfare of its citizens under 

G.S. 130A Article 22. There are two ways for physician assistant 

assistants to practice under this Rule: 

(1) Hospital to Hospital Credentialing: A physician 

assistant who holds a full, unlimited and 

unrestricted license to practice medicine in 

another U.S. state, territory or district and has 

unrestricted hospital credentials and privileges 

in any U.S. state, territory or district may come 

to North Carolina and practice medicine at a 

North Carolina hospital that is licensed by the 

North Carolina Department of Health and 

Human Services upon the following terms and 

conditions: 

(A) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall verify all physician assistant 

credentials and privileges; 

(B) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall keep a list of all physician 

assistants coming to practice and their 

respective supervising physicians and 

shall provide this list to the Board 

within 10 days of each physician 

assistant practicing at the licensed 

North Carolina hospital. The licensed 

North Carolina hospital shall also 

provide the Board a list of when each 

physician assistant has stopped 

practicing medicine in North Carolina 

under this Rule within 10 days after 

each physician assistant has stopped 

practicing medicine under this Rule; 

(C) all physician assistants practicing 

under this Rule shall be authorized to 

practice medicine in North Carolina 

and deemed to be licensed to practice 

medicine in the State of North 

Carolina and the Board shall have 

jurisdiction over all physician 

assistants practicing under this Rule 

for all purposes set forth in or related 

to G.S. 90, Article 1, and such 

jurisdiction shall continue in effect 

even after any and all physician 

assistants have stopped practicing 

medicine under this Rule; 

(D) the physician assistant must practice 

under the direct supervision of an on-

site physician and the supervising 

physician must be licensed in this 

State or approved to practice in this 

State during a disaster or state of 

emergency pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5; 

(E) a physician assistant may practice 

under this Rule for the shorter of: 

(i) 30 days from the date the 

physician assistant has 

started practicing under this 

Rule; or  

(ii) a statement by an appropriate 

authority is made that the 

emergency or disaster 

declaration has been 

withdrawn or ended and, at 

such time, the license 

deemed to be issued shall 

become inactive; and 

(F) physician assistants practicing under 

this Rule shall not receive any 

compensation outside of their usual 

compensation for the provision of 

medical services during a disaster or 

emergency. 
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(2) Limited Emergency License: A physician 

assistant who holds a full, unlimited and 

unrestricted license to practice medicine in 

another U.S. state, territory or district may 

apply for a limited emergency license on the 

following conditions: 

(A) the applicant must complete a limited 

emergency license application; 

(B) the Board shall verify that the 

physician assistant holds a full, 

unlimited and unrestricted license to 

practice medicine in another U.S. 

state, territory or district; 

(C) in response to the specific 

circumstances presented by a declared 

disaster or state of emergency and in 

order to best serve the public interest, 

the Board may limit the physician 

assistant assistant's scope of practice; 

(D) the physician assistant must practice 

under the direct supervision of an on-

site physician and the supervising 

physician must be licensed in this 

State or approved to practice in this 

State during a disaster or state of 

emergency pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5; 

(E) physician assistants and physicians 

practicing pursuant to this Rule are not 

required to maintain onsite 

documentation describing supervisory 

arrangements and instructions for 

prescriptive authority as otherwise 

required by 21 NCAC 32S .0213; 

(F) the Board shall have jurisdiction over 

all physician assistants practicing 

under this Rule for all purposes set 

forth in or related to G.S. 90, Article 1, 

and such jurisdiction shall continue in 

effect even after such physician 

assistant has stopped practicing 

medicine under this Rule or the 

Limited Emergency License has 

expired; 

(G) this license shall be in effect for the 

shorter of:  

(i) 30 days from the date it is 

issued; or  

(ii) a statement by an appropriate 

authority is made that the 

emergency or disaster 

declaration has been 

withdrawn or ended and, at 

such time, the license issued 

shall become inactive; and 

(H) physician assistants holding limited 

emergency licenses shall not receive 

any compensation outside of their 

usual compensation for the provision 

of medical services during a disaster or 

emergency. 

(3) National Guard supervision waiver. The rules 

of this Subchapter are waived during a declared 

state of emergency by the Governor of the State 

of North Carolina or by a resolution of the 

North Carolina General Assembly for members 

of the North Carolina National Guard who are 

actively licensed as physician assistants in the 

State of North Carolina and are serving in a 

State Active Duty status. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-12.5; 90-18(c)(13); 90-13.2(e); 90-14(a); G.S. 

166A-45. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32W - ANESTHESIOLOGIST ASSISTANT 

REGULATIONS 

 

21 NCAC 32W .0116 ANESTHESIOLOGIST 

ASSISTANT PRACTICE AND LIMITED LICENSE FOR 

DISASTERS AND EMERGENCIES 

(a)  The Board shall, pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5, waive requirements 

for licensure except to the extent set for in this Rule and after the 

Governor of the State of North Carolina has declared a disaster or 

state of emergency, or in the event of an occurrence for which a 

county or municipality has declared a state of emergency, or to 

protect the public health, safety or welfare of its citizens under 

G.S. 130A, Article 22. There are two ways for anesthesiologist 

assistants to practice under this Rule: 

(1) Hospital to Hospital Credentialing: A 

anesthesiologist assistant who holds an 

unrestricted license in good standing to practice 

as an anesthesiologist assistant in another U.S. 

state, territory or district and has unrestricted 

hospital credentials and privileges in any U.S. 

state, territory or district may practice at a 

licensed North Carolina hospital upon the 

following terms and conditions: 

(A) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall verify all anesthesiologist 

assistant credentials and privileges; 

(B) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall keep a list of all anesthesiologist 

assistants coming to practice and shall 

provide this list to the Board within 10 

days of each anesthesiologist assistant 

practicing at the licensed North 

Carolina hospital. The licensed North 

Carolina hospital shall also provide 

the Board a list of when each 

anesthesiologist assistant has stopped 

practicing at the hospital under this 

Rule within 10 days after each 

anesthesiologist assistant has ceased 

practicing under this Rule; 

(C) all anesthesiologist assistants 

practicing under this Rule shall be 

authorized to practice in North 

Carolina and deemed to be licensed in 
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North Carolina and the Board shall 

have jurisdiction over all 

anesthesiologist assistants practicing 

under this Rule for all purposes set 

forth in or related to G.S. 90, Article 1, 

and the Board shall retain jurisdiction 

over any and all anesthesiologist 

assistants after they have stopped 

practicing under this Rule; 

(D) anesthesiologist assistants may 

practice under this Rule for the shorter 

of: 

(i) 30 days from the date the 

anesthesiologist assistant has 

started practicing under this 

Rule; or  

(ii) a statement is made by the 

Governor or the Governor's 

designee that the emergency 

or disaster declaration has 

been withdrawn or ended 

and, at such time, the license 

deemed to be issued shall 

become inactive; and 

(E) anesthesiologist assistants practicing 

under this Rule shall not receive any 

compensation outside of their usual 

compensation for the provision of 

medical services during a disaster or 

emergency. 

(2) Limited Emergency License: An 

anesthesiologist assistant who holds an 

unrestricted license in good standing to practice 

as an anesthesiologist assistant in another U.S. 

state, territory or district may apply for a limited 

emergency license on the following conditions: 

(A) the applicant must complete an 

application; 

(B) the Board shall verify that the 

anesthesiologist assistant holds an 

unrestricted license in good standing 

to practice in another U.S. state, 

territory or district; 

(C) in response to the specific 

circumstances presented by a declared 

disaster or state of emergency and in 

order to best serve the public interest, 

the Board may limit the 

anesthesiologist assistant's scope of 

practice; 

(D) the Board shall have jurisdiction over 

all anesthesiologist assistants 

practicing under this Rule for all 

purposes set forth in or related to G.S. 

90, Article 1, and the Board shall 

retain jurisdiction over any and all 

anesthesiologist assistants after they 

have stopped practicing under this 

Rule; 

(E) this license shall be in effect for the 

shorter of:  

(i) 30 days from the date the 

anesthesiologist assistant has 

started practicing under this 

Rule; or  

(ii) a statement is made by the 

Governor or the Governor's 

designee that the emergency 

or disaster declaration has 

been withdrawn or ended 

and, at such time the license 

issued shall become inactive; 

and 

(F) anesthesiologist assistants holding 

limited emergency licenses shall not 

receive any compensation outside of 

their usual compensation for the 

provision of medical services during a 

disaster or emergency. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-12.5; 90-13.2(e); 90-14(a); 166A-45. 
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TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

02 NCAC 09B .0116 ADOPTIONS BY REFERENCE 

(a)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Official Methods of Analysis of 

AOAC," published by the Association of Official Analytical 
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Chemists. Copies of this document may be obtained from the 

Association of Official Analytical Chemists International, 

Department 0742, 1970 Chain Bridge Road, McLean, VA 22109-

0742, at a cost of seven hundred thirty dollars ($730.00). 

(b)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "U.S. Pharmacopeia National 

Formulary USP XXXIII-NFXXVIII" and supplements, published 

by the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention, Inc. Copies of this 

document may be obtained from The United States 

Pharmacopeial Convention, Inc., Attention: Customer Service, 

12601 Twinbrook Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, at a cost of 

eight-hundred fifty dollars ($850.00). 

(c)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "ASTM Volume 15.05 Engine 

Coolants and Related Fluids; Halogenated Organic Solvents and 

Fire Extinguishing Agents," published by ASTM International. 

Copies of this document may be obtained from ASTM 

International, 100 Bar Harbor Drive, West Conshohocken, PA 

19428-2959, or by visiting 

https://www.astm.org/BOOKSTORE/BOS/1505.htm at a cost of 

one hundred ninety dollars ($190.00). 

(d)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "EPA Manual of Chemical Methods for 

Pesticides and Devices" and supplements, published by AOAC. 

Copies of this document may be obtained online at no cost from 

the Environmental Protection Agency National Service Center for 

Environmental Publications at 

http://nepis.epa.gov/EXE/ZyPURL.cgi?Dockey=2000YS3Y.txt. 

(e)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Pesticide Analytical Manual," 

Volumes I and II, published by the United States Department of 

Health and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration. 

Copies of this document may be obtained online at no cost at 

http://www.fda.gov/Food/Science 

Research/LaboratoryMethods/PesticideAnalysisManualPAM/def

ault.htm. 

(f)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "FDA Compliance Policy Guides," 

published by the United States Department of Health and Human 

Services, Food and Drug Administration. Copies of this document 

may be obtained online at no cost at 

http://www.fda.gov/iceci/compliancemanuals/compliancepolicy 

guidancemanual/default.htm or from the State Information 

Branch (HFC-151), Division of Federal-State Relations, US Food 

and Drug Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Room 12-07, 

Rockville, MD 20857. 

(g)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Bergey's Manual of Determinative 

Bacteriology," Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins Company, 

Baltimore. Copies of this document may be obtained from the 

Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins Company, P.O. Box 1620, 

Hagerstown, MD 21741 at a cost one hundred forty five dollars 

and ninety nine cents ($145.99). 

(h)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Microbiology Laboratory 

Guidebook," published by the United States Department of 

Agriculture, Food Safety and Inspection Service, Washington, 

DC. Copies of this document may be obtained online at no cost 

from http://www.fsis.usda.gov. 

(i)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "FDA Bacteriological Analytical 

Manual," published by the United States Department of Health 

and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration. Copies of 

this document may be obtained online at 

http://www.fda.gov/Food/FoodScience 

Research/LaboratoryMethods/ucm114664.htm at no charge. 

(j)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Standard Methods for the 

Examination of Dairy Products," published by the American 

Public Health Association. Copies of this document may be 

obtained from the American Public Health Association 

Publication Sales, P.O. Box 933019, Atlanta, GA at a cost of 

eighty-five dollars and fifty cents ($87.50) for members and one 

hundred twenty-five dollars ($125.00) for non-members. 

(k)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Compendium of Methods for the 

Microbiological Examination of Foods," published by the 

American Public Health Association. Copies of this document 

may be obtained from the American Public Health Association 

Publication Sales, P.O. Box 933019, Atlanta, GA at a cost of one 

hundred forty seven dollars and fifty cents ($147.50). 

(l)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Bergey's Manual of Systematic 

Bacteriology," Springer Publishing, New York, NY. Copies of 

this document may be obtained from Springer Publishing, 233 

Spring Street, New York, NY, 10013 at a cost of one hundred 

fifty-nine dollars ($159.00). 

(m)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Manual of Clinical Microbiology," 

published by the American Society for Microbiology. Copies of 

this document may be obtained from the American Society for 

Microbiology Press, PO Box 605, Herndon, VA 22070, at a cost 

of two hundred sixty-nine dollars and ninety-five cents ($269.95). 

(n)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Standard Methods for the 

Examination of Water and Waste Water," published by American 

Public Health Association, American Water Works Association, 

and Water Pollution Control Federation. Copies of this document 

may be obtained from the American Public Health Association 

Publication Sales, P.O. Box 933019, Atlanta, GA at a cost of two 

hundred ninety-five dollars ($295.00). 

 

(o)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, the following parts or sections of the Code of 

Federal Regulations, Title 21, Chapter I, as promulgated by the Commissioner of the Food and Drug Administration under the authority 

of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act: 

Part or 

Section Description of Part or Section 

(1) 1.1  General 

(2) 1.3  Definitions 
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(3) 1.20  Presence of Mandatory Label Information 

(4) 1.21  Failure to Reveal Material Facts 

(5) 1.24  Exemptions from Required Label Statements 

(6) 1.326 Who is Subject to this Subpart? 

(7) 1.327 Who is Excluded from All or Part of the Regulations in this Subpart? 

(8) 1.328 What Definitions Apply to this Subpart? 

(9) 1.329 Do Other Statutory Provisions and Regulations Apply? 

(10) 1.330 Can Existing Records Satisfy the Requirements of this Subpart? 

(11) 1.337 What Information Must Nontransporters Establish and Maintain to I dentify the  

Nontransporter and Transporter Immediate Previous Sources of Food? 

(12) 1.345 What Information Must Nontransporter Establish and Maintain to Identify 

the Nontransporter and Transporter Immediate Subsequent Recipients of Food? 

(13) 1.352 What Information Must Transporters Establish and Maintain? 

(14) 1.360 What are the Record Retention Requirements? 

(15) 1.361 What are the Record Availability Requirements? 

(16) 1.362 What Records are Excluded from this Subpart? 

(17) 1.363 What are the Consequences of Failing to Establish, or Maintain Records or Make Them 

Available to FDA as Required by this Subpart? 

(18) 1.368 What are the Compliance Dates for this Subpart? 

(19) 2.25  Grain Seed Treated with Poisonous Substances; Color Identification to Prevent 

Adulteration of Human and Animal Food 

(20) 2.35  Use of Secondhand Containers for the Shipment or Storage of Food and Animal Feed 

(21) 7.1  Scope 

(22) 7.3  Definitions 

(23) 7.12  Guaranty 

(24) 7.13  Suggested Forms of Guaranty 

(25) 7.40  Recall Policy 

(26) 7.41  Health Hazard Evaluation and Recall Classification 

(27) 7.42  Recall Strategy 

(28) 7.45  Food and Drug Administration - Requested Recall 

(29) 7.46  Firm-initiated Recall 

(30) 7.49  Recall Communications 

(31) 7.50  Public Notification of Recall 

(32) 7.53  Recall Status Reports 

(33) 7.55  Termination of a Recall 

(34) 7.59  General Industry Guidance 

(35) 70  Color Additives 

(36) 73  Listing of Color Additives Exempt from Certification 

(37) 74  Listing of Color Additives Subject to Certification 

(38) 81  General Specifications and General Restrictions for Provisional Color 

Additives for Use in Foods, Drugs, and Cosmetics 

(39) 82  Listing of Certified Provisionally Listed Colors and Specifications 

(40) 100  General 

(41) 101  Food Labeling 

(42) 102  Common or Usual Name for Nonstandardized Foods 

(43) 104  Nutritional Quality Guidelines for Foods 

(44) 105  Foods for Special Dietary Use 

(45) 106  Infant Formula Requirements Pertaining to Current Good 

Manufacturing Practice, Quality Control Procedures, Quality Factors, Records and  

Reports, and Notifications 

(46) 107  Infant Formula 

(47) 108  Emergency Permit Control 

(48) 109  Unavoidable Contaminants in Food for Human Consumption and Food-Packaging 

Material 

(49) 110  Current Good Manufacturing Practice in Manufacturing, Packing, or Holding Human Food 

(50) 111  Current Good Manufacturing Practice in Manufacturing, Packaging, Labeling, or Holding 

Operations for Dietary Supplements 

(51) 112  Standards for the Growing, Harvesting, Packing, and Holding of Produce for Human 

Consumption 
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(52) 113  Thermally Processed Low-Acid Foods Packaged in Hermetically Sealed Containers 

(53) 114  Acidified Foods 

(54) 115  Shell Eggs 

(55) 117  Current Good Manufacturing Practice, Hazard Analysis, and Risk-Based Preventive 

Controls for Human Food 

(56) 118  Production, Storage, and Transportation of Shell Eggs 

(57) 120  Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) Systems 

(58) 123  Fish and Fishery Products 

(59) 129  Processing and Bottling of Bottled Drinking Water (Except as amended by 02 NCAC  

09C.0700 - Bottled Water) 

(60) 130 Food Standards: General 

(61) 131 Milk and Cream 

(62) 133 Cheeses and Related Cheese Products 

(63) 135 Frozen Desserts 

(64) 136 Bakery Products 

(65) 137 Cereal Flours and Related Products 

(66) 139 Macaroni and Noodle Products 

(67) 145 Canned Fruits 

(68) 146 Canned Fruit Juices 

(69) 150 Fruit Butters, Jellies, Preserves, and Related Products 

(70) 152 Fruit Pies 

(71) 155 Canned Vegetables 

(72) 156 Vegetable Juices 

(73) 158 Frozen Vegetables 

(74) 160 Eggs and Egg Products 

(75) 161 Fish and Shellfish (Except Section 161.30 and 161.130 through 161.145) 

(76) 163 Cacao Products 

(77) 164 Tree Nut and Peanut Products 

(78) 165 Beverages 

(79) 166 Margarine 

(80) 168 Sweeteners and Table Syrups 

(81) 169 Food Dressings and Flavorings 

(82) 170 Food Additives 

(83) 172 Food Additives Permitted for Direct Addition to Food for Human Consumption 

(84) 173 Secondary Direct Food Additives Permitted in Food for Human Consumption 

(85) 174 Indirect Food Additives: General 

(86) 175 Indirect Food Additives: Adhesives and Components of Coatings 

(87) 176 Indirect Food Additives: Paper and Paperboard Components 

(88) 177 Indirect Food Additives: Polymers 

(89) 178 Indirect Food Additives: Adjuvants, Production Aids, and Sanitizers 

(90) 179 Irradiation in the Production, Processing and Handling of Food 

(91) 180 Food Additives Permitted in Food or in Contact with Food on an Interim Basis  

Pending Additional Study 

(92) 181 Prior-Sanctioned Food Ingredients 

(93) 182 Substances Generally Recognized as Safe 

(94) 184 Direct Food Substances Affirmed as Generally Recognized as Safe 

(95) 186 Indirect Food Substances Affirmed as Generally Recognized as Safe 

(96) 189 Substances Prohibited from Use in Human Food 

(97) 190 Dietary Supplements 

(98) 200 General 

(99) 201 Labeling 

(100) 202 Prescription Drug Advertising 

(101) 210 Current Good Manufacturing Practice in Manufacturing, Processing, Packing or  

Holding of Drugs; General 

(102) 211 Current Good Manufacturing Practice for Finished Pharmaceuticals 

(103) 225 Current Good Manufacturing Practice for Medicated Feeds 

(104) 226 Current Good Manufacturing Practice for Type A Medicated Articles 

(105) 250 Special Requirements for Specific Human Drugs 

(106) 290 Controlled Drugs 
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(107) 299 Drugs; Official Names and Established Names 

(108) 300 General 

(109) 310 New Drugs 

(110) 312 Investigational New Drug Application 

(111) 314 Applications for FDA Approval to Market New Drug 

(112) 320 Bioavailability and Bioequivalence Requirements 

(113) 330 Over-the-Counter (OTC) Human Drugs Which Are Generally Recognized as Safe  

and Effective and Not Misbranded 

(114) 331 Antacid Products for Over-the-Counter (OTC) Human Use 

(115) 332 Antiflatulent Products for Over-the-Counter Human Use 

(116) 361 Prescription Drugs for Human Use Generally Recognized as Safe and Effective  

and NotMisbranded: Drugs Used in Research 

(117) 369 Interpretive Statements Re: Warnings on Drugs and Devices for Over-the-Counter  

Sale 

(118) 809 In Vitro Diagnostic Products for Human Use 

(119) 812 Investigational Device Exemptions 

(120) 820 Quality System Regulation 

(121) 860 Medical Device Classification Procedures 

(122) 861 Procedures for Performance Standards Development 

(123) 870 Cardiovascular Devices 

(124) 882 Neurological Devices 

(125) 884 Obstetrical and Gynecological Devices 

(126) 895 Banned Devices 

(127) 500 General 

(128) 501 Animal Food Labeling 

(129) 502 Common or Usual Names for Nonstandardized Animal Foods 

(130) 507 Current Good Manufacturing Practice, Hazard Analysis, and Risk-Based  

Preventive Controls for Food for Animals 

(131) 509 Unavoidable Contaminants in Animal Food and Food-Packaging Material 

(132) 510 New Animal Drugs 

(133) 511 New Animal Drugs for Investigational Use 

(134) 514 New Animal Drug Applications 

(135) 520 Oral Dosage Form New Animal Drugs 

(136) 522 Implantation or Injectable Dosage Form New Animal Drugs 

(137) 524 Ophthalmic and Topical Dosage Form New Animal Drugs 

(138) 526 Intramammary Dosage Form New Animal Drugs 

(139) 529 Certain Other Dosage Form New Animal Drugs 

(140) 556 Tolerances for Residues of New Animal Drugs in Food 

(141) 558 New Animal Drugs for Use in Animal Feeds 

(142) 570 Food Additives 

(143) 573 Food Additives Permitted in Feed and Drinking Water of Animals 

(144) 582 Substances Generally Recognized as Safe 

(145) 584 Food Substances Affirmed as Generally Recognized as Safe in Feed and Drinking 

Water of Animals 

(146) 589 Substances Prohibited from Use in Animal Food or Feed 

(147) 700 General 

(148) 701 Cosmetic Labeling 

(149) 720 Voluntary Filing of Cosmetic Product Ingredient Composition Statements 

(150) 740 Cosmetic Product Warning Statements 

Copies of the Code of Federal Regulations may be obtained at no cost by accessing the website of the U.S. Government Printing Office 

at http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html. 

 

(p)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Tolerances and Exemptions for 

Pesticide Chemical Residues in Food," 40 C.F.R. Part 180. Copies 

of the Code of Federal Regulations may be obtained at no cost by 

accessing the website of the U.S. Government Printing Office at 

http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html. 

(q)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Definitions and Standards of Identity 

or Composition," 9 C.F.R. Part 319. Copies of the Code of Federal 

Regulations may be obtained at no cost by accessing the website 

of the U.S. Government Printing Office at 

http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html. 
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(r)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Definitions and Standards of Identity 

or Composition," 9 C.F.R. Sections 381.155 through 381.170. 

Copies of the Code of Federal Regulations may be obtained at no 

cost by accessing the website of the U.S. Government Printing 

Office at http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html. 

(s)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Labels: Definitions; Required 

Features," 9 C.F.R. Section 317.2 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations. Copies of Title 9 of the Code of Federal Regulations 

may be obtained at no cost by accessing the website of the U.S. 

Government Printing Office at 

http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html. 

(t)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, "Special Handling Label 

Requirements," 9 C.F.R. Section 381.125 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations. Copies of the Code of Federal Regulations may be 

obtained at no cost by accessing the website of the U.S. 

Government Printing Office at 

http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html. 

(u)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, a document entitled, "Fresh Air '2000' 

- A Look At FDA's Medical Gas Requirements," published by the 

United States Department of Health and Human Services, Food 

and Drug Administration. A copy of this material may be obtained 

at no cost from the Food and Drug Protection Division of the 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services. 

(v)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, the definition of "dietary supplement" 

found at 21 USC 321(ff). 

(w)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, the definition of "processed food" 

found at 21 USC 321(gg). 

(x)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, the definition of "major food allergen" 

found at 21 USC 321(qq). 

(y)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, the definition of "knowingly" or 

"knew" found at 21 USC 321(bb). 

(z)  The Board incorporates by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, the definition of "animal feed" found at 

21 USC 321(w). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-139; 106-245.16; 106-

245.22; 106-245.32; 106-267; 106-284.41; 

Eff. December 14, 1981; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2013; January 1, 2011; June 1, 2004; April 

1, 2003; June 1, 1995; April 1, 1992; June 1, 1988; October 1, 

1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; May 1, 2018. 

 

02 NCAC 09B .0135 CURRENT GOOD 

MANUFACTURING PRACTICES FOR RETAIL FOOD 

ESTABLISHMENTS 

Subpart B of 21 C.F.R. Part 117, as incorporated by reference 

pursuant to Rule .0116(o)(55) of this Subchapter, shall apply to 

"retail food establishments" as defined by 21 C.F.R. 1.227, and 

shall include bakeries, retail food outlets, and seafood markets. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-139; 

Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

02 NCAC 37 .0203 NEMATODE ADVISORY 

SERVICE 

(a)  Individuals desiring nematode analysis may obtain sample 

containers and instructions from the Agronomic Services 

Division, county extension office, farm supply dealers, 

Agronomic Division Regional Agronomists, or other local 

agricultural advisors. If plant-destructive nematodes are found, 

the best method of control will be recommended. 

(b)  Per sample fees for those services, to be paid at the time of 

submission, are as follows: 

(1) Routine nematode assay - $3.00. 

(2) Research nematode assay - $10.00. 

(3) Pinewood nematode assay - $10.00. 

(4) Nematode species identification by molecular 

diagnosis - $20.00. 

(5) Out-of-state surcharge - $10.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-22(17); 

Eff. July 17, 1981; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 7, 1989 for a Period of 180 Days 

to Expire on January 2, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1990; January 2, 1990; 

Agency did not readopt rule pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A by RRC 

established deadline of March 31, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. December 19, 2017; 

Amended Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

02 NCAC 58 .0105 EVALUATION OF 

APPLICATIONS 

(a)  Applicants for funding from the ADFPTF shall submit a 

completed application. 

(b)  Applications and instructions shall be available online at 

http://www.ncadfp.org. 

(c)  To be eligible for consideration for funding for agricultural 

conservation easements or agricultural agreements, applicants 

shall complete the Agricultural Development and Farmland 

Preservation Application Form for Conservation Easements and 

Agricultural Agreements, which contain the following 

information: 

(1) identifying information such as location, 

business name, and contact information; 

(2) a description of the type of organization of the 

applicant; 

(3) project affiliations, matching funds, and 

partnerships; 

(4) whether funds are for an agricultural 

conservation easement or an agricultural 

agreement and the term years; 
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(5) current land value assessment, requested 

amount of funds, estimated easement value, 

project completion date; 

(6) operation management plans; 

(7) values relevant to the easement; 

(8) agricultural, horticultural, or forestry property 

inventory; 

(9) what transition plans are in place to continue 

operations for the future; 

(10) threats of conversion; 

(11) conservation and environmental concerns; and 

(12) listed attachments. 

(d)  To be eligible for consideration for funding for agricultural 

development programs, applicants shall complete the Agricultural 

Development and Farmland Preservation Application Form for 

Public and Private Enterprise Programs, which contain the 

following information: 

(1) identifying information; 

(2) a description of the type of organization of the 

applicant; 

(3) project affiliations, matching funds, and 

partnerships; 

(4) a description of goals, target audience, and 

success measurements; and 

(5) listed attachments. 

(e)  Each completed application shall be evaluated by the Division 

staff based on the information provided in the application and in 

accordance with the ADFPTF criteria described in this Rule. 

(f)  The staff shall review all applications for completeness. If an 

application is incomplete after the application deadline, the 

applicant shall be asked to reapply for the next grant cycle, which 

will be publicly announced by the Commissioner on an annual 

basis at the quarterly Agricultural Development and Farmland 

Preservation Trust Fund Advisory Committee prior to the grant 

cycle RFP and by press release from the North Carolina 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

(g)  During the review and evaluation of proposals, the staff shall 

report to the Commissioner on any site visits that may be required 

for full consideration of the grant proposal. 

(h)  The Advisory Committee shall review the project evaluations 

and other data prepared by the applicant and by ADFPTF staff. 

The Advisory Committee shall make recommendations to the 

Commissioner on projects for funding. 

(i)  The Commissioner and Advisory Committee shall consider 

the relative needs of the farmland preservation project and 

determine the proportion of available funds to be allocated for 

each eligible project. 

(j)  Grants shall be awarded contingent on the availability of 

sufficient funds to do so. Funds shall be conveyed to grantees 

through contracts with the Trust Fund. If the Commissioner 

determines that grant funds are not being used for the purpose for 

which they were awarded, the Trust Fund shall cease making 

payments under the grant schedule until the problem has been 

resolved or shall demand return of any unspent money and interest 

from the grant. Grantees must reimburse the Trust Fund any funds 

that the Division staff determines to have not been spent for the 

purpose for which they were granted. Grantees must return any 

grant money that remains unspent at the conclusion of the grant 

project, with any interest earned on grant money. 

(k)  The following general criteria shall be used to evaluate 

conservation easement or agricultural agreement projects only: 

(1) parcel information; 

(2) planning for the future; and 

(3) site visits. 

(l)  The following general criteria shall be used to evaluate 

agricultural development programs only: 

(1) project description; 

(2) project implementation; and 

(3) applicant interview. 

(m)  The Commissioner and Advisory Committee shall also 

consider the following factors when evaluating projects: 

(1) the geographic distribution of projects; 

(2) the presence or absence of other funding 

sources; 

(3) the level of compliance with prior grant 

agreements; 

(4) the amount of funds available; 

(5) the amount of funds requested; 

(6) priority funding map found at 

http://ncadfp.org/FarmlandPreservation; and 

(7) other relevant information requested in the 

application. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-744; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

02 NCAC 58 .0106 GRANT AGREEMENT 

(a)  Upon approval, a written agreement shall be executed 

between the grant recipient(s) and the Commissioner. 

(b)  The agreement shall define the Commissioner's and grant 

recipient's responsibilities and obligations, the project period, 

project scope, and the amount of grant assistance. 

(c)  The approved application and any support documentation 

submitted by the applicant shall become a part of the grant 

agreement. 

(d)  The grant agreement may be amended upon mutual consent 

and approval by the Commissioner and the grant recipient(s). The 

grant recipient(s) shall submit a written request for amendment to 

the Commissioner. 

(e)  Grant payments shall be made only for activities within the 

grant contract period and projects may not begin until the 

Commissioner and grant recipient(s) sign the agreement. 

(f)  The agreement shall include a requirement that, in any 

agricultural conservation easement funded by the ADFPTF, the 

State of North Carolina shall have the right to enforce the 

easement if the grantee of the easement fails to do so. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-744; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

02 NCAC 58 .0107 REPORTING 

(a)  Grant recipients shall submit written progress reports 

biannually for grants less than five hundred thousand dollars 

($500,000) and quarterly for grants more than five hundred 

thousand dollars ($500,000) until completion of the project. 

Written reports shall describe the status of the project, progress 
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toward achieving program objectives, notable occurrences, and 

any problems encountered and steps taken to overcome the 

problems. Upon completion of the project, the grant recipient 

must make a final written report to the Commissioner that shall 

include project accomplishments and benefits, all expenditures by 

line item as established in the project budget, and verification of 

the number of hours or money in matching funds. 

(b)  The Division staff shall review the progress reports for 

completeness, which shall include a showing of how the project 

is meeting its stated goals and performance standards. If the 

Division staff finds that the report is deficient in showing how the 

project is meeting its stated goals and performance standards, the 

grantee shall be notified of the deficiency and must provide a 

changed and corrected report within 30 business days. If a 

corrected or changed report is not received within 30 business 

days, the Commissioner shall withhold the next grant payment. 

(c)  Grantees shall submit monitoring reports in accordance with 

the ADFPTF Monitoring Policies and Guidelines found at 

http://ncadfp.org/downloads.htm. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-744; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

02 NCAC 58 .0108 RECORDS 

Grant Recipients must keep financial and other records of the 

project for a period of five years, following completion of the 

project, or until audited. The records shall be made available to 

the Commissioner upon request. Recipients shall contact Division 

staff at the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services before destroying records or in the event that 

records are destroyed. The Commissioner shall maintain and 

dispose of paper and electronic records in accordance with the 

approved Functional Schedule for North Carolina State Agencies, 

Program Record Retention and Disposition Schedule and 

Electronic Records and Imaging Policy, incorporated by reference 

with subsequent editions and amendments. The policy can be 

accessed free of charge at 

https://archives.ncdcr.gov/documents/functional-schedule-state-

agencies. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-744; 

Eff. December 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

02 NCAC 60B .0701 ADMINISTRATION OF 

PROGRAM 

(a)  The manner and requirements of making application for cost-

sharing funds pursuant to the Forest Development Act are as 

follows: 

(1) Any eligible landowner may apply for program 

cost-sharing funds. 

(2) Application may be made by completing the 

application forms. t A management plan 

relating to the application shall be on file with 

the North Carolina Forest Service before the 

application may be accepted. Applications shall 

include identifying information from the 

landowner and consultant, a description of the 

practices needed, acres needed, practice rate, 

and applicant signature. 

(b)  The Commissioner or his or her designee shall review 

submitted applications requesting program funding. Applicants 

who start or complete their project without prior Division 

approval shall not be eligible to receive funding. 

(c)  The Commissioner may designate a portion of funds for 

practices designed to encourage reforestation at reduced costs or 

for other purposes in designated areas. This designation by the 

Commissioner shall be made in writing prior to the beginning of 

the fiscal year. 

(d)  G.S. 106-1016 limits a landowner to 100 acres of cost-share 

funding approval per fiscal year. Cost-share paid out in any one 

fiscal year may include funds approved in previous fiscal years. 

(e)  Cost-sharing payments shall be made upon certification by the 

Division following completion of the practice(s) as prescribed in 

the management plan. Determination of completion shall include 

an assessment of installed practices in relation to the requirements 

outlined in the management plan, installation of appropriate best 

management practices to ensure soil protection and water quality, 

and assurance that the installed practice is in compliance with any 

environmental regulations found in Article 4, G.S. 113A. 

(f)  Allocated funding for approved applications shall be 

withdrawn as follows: 

(1) Funds may be withdrawn at the end of the first 

fiscal year in which the funds were allotted if 

no work has been started. The landowner shall 

provide documentation to the Division for 

funds availability to continue into a second 

year. 

(2) Funds allocated may be withdrawn at the end of 

the second fiscal year if the practices have not 

been completed. 

(3) A 12-month extension may be granted by the 

Division when a project cannot be completed 

due to circumstances beyond the control of the 

landowner, including adverse weather 

conditions or unavailability of contractors. 

(g)  Eligible landowners may appeal disagreements, disapproval 

of applications, or decisions on unsatisfactory completion of 

silvicultural or environmental practices. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-22; 106-1010; 106-1011; 

106-1015; 106-1018; 

Eff. August 8, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; July 1, 1986; October 1, 1984; 

August 1, 1982; January 15, 1981; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 09C .0902 Eff. May 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 20 .0101 SCOPE AND DEFINITIONS 

(a)  Scope. 
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(1) Sections .0200, .0300, and .0400 of this Chapter 

shall apply to HMOs, licensed insurers offering 

PPO benefit plans, and any other entity that is a 

network plan carrier as defined in this Rule. 

(2) Sections .0500 and .0600 of this Chapter shall 

apply only to HMOs. 

(3) Nothing in this Chapter shall apply to service 

corporations offering benefit plans pursuant to 

G.S. 58-65-25 or G.S. 58-65-30 that do not have 

any differences in copayments, coinsurance, or 

deductibles based on the use of network versus 

non-network providers. 

(b)  Definitions. As used in this Chapter: 

(1) "Carrier" means a network plan carrier. 

(2) "Health care provider" means any person who 

is licensed, registered, or certified pursuant to 

Chapter 90 of the General Statutes; a health care 

facility as defined in G.S. 131E-176(9b); or a 

pharmacy. 

(3) "Health maintenance organization" or "HMO" 

has the same meaning as in G.S. 58-67-5(f). 

(4) "Intermediary" or "intermediary organization" 

means any entity that employs or contracts with 

health care providers for the provision of health 

care services and that also contracts with a 

network plan carrier or its intermediary. 

(5) "Member" means an individual who is insured 

by a network plan carrier. 

(6) "Network plan carrier" means an insurer, health 

maintenance organization, or any other entity 

acting as an insurer as defined in G.S. 58-1-5(3) 

that provides reimbursement or provides or 

arranges to provide health care services and 

uses increased copayments, deductibles, or 

other benefit reductions for services rendered 

by non-network providers to encourage 

members to use network providers. 

(7) "Network provider" means any health care 

provider participating in a network utilized by a 

network plan carrier. 

(8) "PPO benefit plan" means a benefit plan that is 

offered by a hospital or medical service 

corporation or network plan carrier, pursuant to 

G.S. 58-50-56, in which plan: 

(A) either or both of the following features 

are present: 

(i) utilization review or quality 

management programs are 

used to manage the provision 

of covered services; or 

(ii) enrollees are given incentives 

via benefit differentials to 

limit the receipt of covered 

services to those furnished by 

participating providers; and 

(B) health care services are provided by 

participating providers who are paid 

on negotiated or discounted fee-for-

service bases or have agreed to accept 

special reimbursement or other terms 

for health care services under a 

contract with the hospital or medical 

service corporation or network plan 

carrier. 

(9) "Provider" means a health care provider. 

(10) "Quality management" means a program of 

reviews, studies, evaluations, and other 

activities used to monitor and enhance the 

quality of health care and services provided to 

members. 

(11) "Service area" means the geographic area in 

North Carolina as described by the HMO 

pursuant to G.S. 58-67-10(c)(11) where an 

HMO enrolls persons who either work in the 

service area, reside in the service area, or work 

and reside in the service area, as approved by 

the Commissioner pursuant to G.S. 58-67-20. 

(12) "Service corporation" means a medical or 

hospital service corporation operating pursuant 

to Article 65 of Chapter 58 of the General 

Statutes. 

(13) "Single service HMO" means an HMO that 

undertakes to provide or arrange for the 

delivery of a single type or single group of 

health care services to a defined population on 

a prepaid or capitated basis, except for a 

member's responsibility for non-covered 

services, coinsurance, copayments, or 

deductibles. 

(14) "Utilization review" has the same meaning as in 

G.S. 58-50-61(17). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40(1); 58-50-61; 58-65-1; 

58-67-150; 

Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is 

necessary without substantive public interest Eff. December 16, 

2014; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 24, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 15A .0102 LOCATION AND ADDRESS 

The principal office of the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Commission is located at 400 East Tryon Road, Raleigh, 

North Carolina 27610. The mailing address is 4307 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4307. The telephone 

number is (919) 779-0700. The Commission's email address is 

contact@abc.nc.gov. The Commission's website address is 

https://abc.nc.gov. This office is open to the public during regular 

business hours, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through 

Friday. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 
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Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; January 1, 2011; August 1, 

2010; May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .0102 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; April 1, 2018. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 03I .0120 POSSESSION OR 

TRANSPORTATION LIMITS THROUGH STATE 

WATERS; SALE OF NATIVE SPECIES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess or transport through State 

coastal fishing waters any species of fish that is subject to State 

season, size, or harvest restrictions, regardless whether the species 

was taken in State or federal waters, unless all fish taken are in 

compliance with the restrictions for the waterbody or area being 

fished. If State season, size, or harvest restrictions differ from 

comparable restrictions pursuant to a fishery management plan 

adopted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission or 

pursuant to the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and 

Management Act, or if there are no corresponding federal 

regulations, the State restrictions shall apply during such periods 

of possession or transportation.  

(b)  It shall be unlawful to import native species of fish for sale in 

the State that do not meet size limits, except as provided in 15A 

NCAC 03K .0202, .0207, .0305, and 03M .0503. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-170; 113-170.4; 

113-170.5; 113-182; 113-182.1; 113-252; 143B-289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2005; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0102 NETS OR NET STAKES 

It shall be unlawful to use nets, or net stakes of metallic material, 

in any of the following Internal Coastal Waters: 

(1) within 150 yards of any railroad or highway 

bridge crossing the Northeast Cape Fear River, 

New River, White Oak River, Trent River, 

Neuse River, Pamlico River, Roanoke River, 

and Alligator River; and 

(2) within 300 yards of any highway bridge 

crossing Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, 

Croatan Sound, Currituck Sound, and Roanoke 

Sound. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0108 NETS PULLED BY MORE THAN 

ONE VESSEL 

It shall be unlawful to pull or tow a net with more than one vessel, 

except in long haul operations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0203 CHOWAN RIVER AND 

MEHERRIN RIVER 

(a)  In the Chowan River and the Meherrin River, it shall be 

unlawful to do any of the following: 

(1) set a pound net within 150 yards of the mouth 

of any tributary; and 

(2) set a trotline within 100 yards of a pound net 

from February 1 through May 31. 

(b)  In the Chowan River, it shall be unlawful to do any of the 

following: 

(1) anchor the lead line of any net closer than 50 

feet from shore; 

(2) set a pound net within 200 yards parallel to any 

other pound net in the Chowan River, in 

accordance with Rule .0502 of this Subchapter; 

and 

(3) use a seine within 1,000 yards of the mouth of 

any tributary. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0204 CURRITUCK SOUND AND ITS 

TRIBUTARIES 

In the Internal Coastal Waters of Currituck Sound and its 

tributaries, it shall be unlawful to do any of the following: 

(1) conduct long haul operations, as defined in 15A 

NCAC 03I .0101; and 

(2) use a seine that is more than 900 yards in length 

or that has a mesh length of less than three 

inches. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0206 SOUTHPORT BOAT HARBOR 

It shall be unlawful to use commercial fishing gear in the 

Southport Boat Harbor, Brunswick County, north of a line 

beginning at a point on the west side of the mouth of the harbor 

33° 54.9656' N – 78° 01.4477' W, running easterly to a point on 

the east side of the mouth of the harbor 33° 54.9656' N – 78° 

01.3797' W. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0207 NUCLEAR PLANT INTAKE 

CANAL 

It shall be unlawful to use any commercial fishing equipment in a 

nuclear plant intake canal between the fish diversion screen and 

the nuclear plant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0209 ALBEMARLE SOUND AND 

CHOWAN RIVER RIVER HERRING MANAGEMENT 

AREAS 

It shall be unlawful to use drift gill nets with a mesh length less 

than three inches from January 1 through May 15 in the Albemarle 

Sound and Chowan River river herring management areas defined 

in 15A NCAC 03R .0202. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; December 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0303 DREDGES AND MECHANICAL 

METHODS PROHIBITED 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to use any dredge weighing more than 100 

pounds, except in the Atlantic Ocean. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to use more than one dredge per vessel to 

take oysters or crabs or to use any dredges or mechanical methods 

between sunset and sunrise. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to possess oysters aboard a vessel with a 

dredge weighing more than 100 pounds on board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1994; January 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0304 ELECTRICAL FISHING DEVICE 

IN CAPE FEAR RIVER 

It shall be unlawful to take catfish by the use of a hand-operated 

device generating pulsating electrical current in the Internal 

Coastal Fishing Waters of the Cape Fear River except: 

(1) from 800 feet downstream of Lock and Dam 

No. 1 in Bladen County to where the Black 

River joins the Cape Fear River; and 

(2) from July 1 through March 1. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0306 HOOK AND LINE 

It shall be unlawful to use any hook larger than 4/0 from July 1 

through September 30 in the Internal Coastal Waters of Pamlico 

Sound and its tributaries south of the Albemarle Sound 

Management Area as defined in 15A NCAC 03R .0201 and north 

of a line beginning at a point 34° 59.7942' N  76° 14.6514' W on 

Camp Point, running easterly to a point 34° 58.7853' N  76° 

09.8922' W on Core Banks, while using natural bait from 7:00 

p.m. to 7:00 a.m. unless the terminal tackle consists of: 

(1) a "circle hook", which for the purpose of this 

Rule shall mean a hook with the point of the 

hook directed perpendicularly back toward the 

shank and with the barb either compressed or 

removed; and 

(2) a fixed sinker not less than two ounces in 

weight, secured not more than six inches from 

the fixed weight to the circle hook. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0402 SIZE AND HARVEST LIMITS 

Size and harvest limits applicable to hard clams in Rule .0301 of 

this Subchapter shall not apply to Rangia clams. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-202; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0403 DISPOSITION OF MEATS 

It shall be unlawful to dispose of meats from Rangia clams taken 

from prohibited (polluted) waters by a method that will result in 

human consumption or create risk of human consumption. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-202; 143B-298.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0404 DREDGES AND MECHANICAL 

METHODS PROHIBITED AND OPEN SEASON 

It shall be unlawful to use mechanical methods for oystering or 

clamming to take Rangia clams or their shells: 

(1) within 100 feet of any pier; 

(2) within any established bed of submerged 

aquatic vegetation as defined in 15A NCAC 03I 

.0101 or salt water cordgrass (Spartina 
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alterniflora) that may exist together or 

separately; 

(3) in areas designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0108, 

except on shellfish leases and franchises with a 

Permit to Use Mechanical Methods for 

Shellfish on Shellfish Leases and Franchises; 

and 

(4) in areas designated in Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter and 15A NCAC 03R .0103. 

Mechanical methods prohibited by this Rule shall be permitted in 

areas and at times specified by proclamation as authorized by 

Rules .0201 and .0302 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0405 OYSTERS, HARD CLAMS, OR 

MUSSELS PROHIBITED 

It shall be unlawful to possess oysters, hard clams, or mussels 

while taking Rangia clams or their shells from a prohibited 

(polluted) area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0501 BAY SCALLOP HARVEST 

MANAGEMENT 

The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation and pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 03H .0103, impose any of the following restrictions on the 

taking of bay scallops from public bottom: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify open seasons for the taking of bay 

scallops during the period beginning the last 

Monday in January and ending the last Friday 

in May; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity, but shall not exceed 

possession of more than 15 standard U.S. 

bushels per person per day or a total of 30 

standard U.S. bushels in any combined 

commercial fishing operation per day. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; February 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0502 TAKING BAY SCALLOPS AT 

NIGHT AND ON WEEKENDS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take bay scallops between sunset and 

sunrise or on Saturdays or Sundays, except as provided in Rule 

.0105 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Bay scallops taken on Saturdays or Sundays from shellfish 

leases or franchises in accordance with G.S. 113-208 shall be 

exempt from this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0503 BAY SCALLOP DREDGE 

PROHIBITED 

It shall be unlawful to take bay scallops with any of the following: 

(1) dredges weighing more than 50 pounds or 

equipped with teeth; and 

(2) any other instrument or device designed to drag 

the bottom to aid in the taking of bay scallops. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0504 CALICO SCALLOP HARVEST 

MANAGEMENT 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to land or possess aboard a vessel calico 

scallops except at such times as designated by the Fisheries 

Director by proclamation. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation and pursuant to 

15A NCAC 03H .0103, impose any of the following restrictions 

on the taking of calico scallops: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0507 MARKETING SCALLOPS 

TAKEN FROM SHELLFISH LEASES OR FRANCHISES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to sell, purchase, or possess scallops 

during the closed season without the lease or franchise holder 

delivering to the purchaser or other recipient a certification, on a 

form provided by the Division of Marine Fisheries, that the 

scallops were taken from a valid shellfish lease or franchise. 

Certification forms shall be furnished by the Division to lease and 

franchise holders upon request. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful for lease or franchise holders or their 

designees to take or possess scallops from public bottom while 

possessing aboard a vessel scallops taken from shellfish leases or 

franchises. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. May 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0508 SCALLOP AQUACULTURE 

HARVEST EXEMPTIONS 

The following exemptions and restrictions shall apply to the 

possession, sale, purchase, or transport of scallops produced in an 

aquaculture operation: 

(1) Possession and sale of scallops by a scallop 

aquaculture operation shall be exempt from 

restrictions set forth in Rules .0501, .0504, and 

.0505 of this Section. 

(2) Purchase and possession of scallops from a 

scallop aquaculture operation shall be exempt 

from restrictions set forth in Rules .0501, .0504, 

and .0505 of this Section. 

(3) It shall be unlawful for a person to possess, sell, 

purchase, or transport scallops described in 

Sub-Items (1) and (2) of this Rule unless in 

compliance with all conditions of the 

Aquaculture Operation Permit issued pursuant 

to 15A NCAC 03O .0500. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. May 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0208 STONE CRABS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess stone crab bodies or fail to 

immediately return stone crab bodies to the waters from which 

they are taken. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to remove, take, or possess any stone crab 

claws from June 15 through August 15. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to remove, take, or possess any claws from 

egg-bearing stone crabs. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful to use any device to take stone crabs that 

can puncture, crush, or injure the crab body, such as gigs, spears, 

grabs, hooks, or similar devices. 

(e)  It shall be unlawful to remove, take, or possess any stone crab 

claws that have a propodus (forearm) less than 2 ¾ inches in 

length, measured by a straight line from the elbow to the tip of the 

lower immovable finger. For the purpose of this Rule, "propodus" 

shall mean the largest section of the claw assembly that has both 

a movable and immovable finger and is located farthest from the 

body of the crab. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. December 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0101 MUTILATED FINFISH 

It shall be unlawful to possess aboard a vessel or while engaged 

in fishing any species of finfish that is subject to a size or harvest 

restriction without having head and tail attached, except: 

(1) mullet when used for bait; 

(2) hickory shad when used for bait, provided that 

not more than two hickory shad per vessel or 

fishing operation may be cut for bait at any one 

time; and 

(3) tuna possessed in a commercial fishing 

operation as provided in Rule .0520 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; April 1, 2011; July 1, 2006; August 1, 

2002; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0102 UNMARKETABLE FINFISH 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to land finfish, taken in connection with a 

commercial fishing operation, that are unmarketable as individual 

finfish by reason of size, except a quantity not exceeding 5,000 

pounds per vessel per day may be sold to a dealer that is licensed 

under G.S. 113-169.3(f)(6), (7), or (8). 

(b)  Atlantic menhaden, Atlantic thread herring, gizzard shad, and 

pinfish are exempt from this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-185; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; 

Readopted April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0103 MINIMUM SIZE LIMITS 

It shall be unlawful to possess, sell, or purchase finfish under four 

inches in length except: 

(1) as bait in the crab pot fishery in North Carolina, 

if such crab pot bait is not transported west of 

U.S. Interstate 95 and, when transported, is 

accompanied by documentation showing the 

name and address of the shipper, the name and 

address of the consignee, and the total weight 

of the shipment; 

(2) bait in the finfish fishery with the following 

provisions: 

(a) it shall be unlawful to possess more 

than 200 pounds of live finfish or 100 

pounds of dead finfish; and 

(b) such finfish bait is not transported 

outside of North Carolina; 

(3) live finfish in aquaria, provided that the finfish 

are not subject to other minimum size limits 

under the authority of Marine Fisheries 

Commission rules; and 

(4) Atlantic menhaden, Atlantic thread herring, 

gizzard shad, and pinfish. 

Bait dealers who possess a valid finfish dealer license from the 

Division of Marine Fisheries shall be exempt from Sub-Items 

(2)(a) and (b) of this Rule. Tolerance of not more than five percent 

by number of species shall be allowed. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-185; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. July 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0501 RED DRUM 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to remove red drum from any type of net 

with the aid of any boat hook, gaff, spear, gig, or similar device. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to take or possess red drum taken by any 

boat hook, gaff, spear, gig, or similar device. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to possess red drum less than 18 inches 

total length or greater than 27 inches total length. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful to possess more than one red drum per 

person per day taken by hook and line or for recreational purposes. 

(e)  Annual commercial harvest limit for red drum:  

(1) The annual commercial harvest limit for red 

drum shall be 250,000 pounds. 

(2) The annual commercial harvest limit for red 

drum shall be calculated from September 1 

through August 31 and is allotted in two 

periods: 

(A) September 1 through April 30 at 

150,000 pounds; and 

(B) May 1 through August 31 at 100,000 

pounds plus any remainder from the 

first period allotment. 

(3) If the harvest limit is projected to be taken in 

any period, the Fisheries Director shall, by 

proclamation, prohibit possession of red drum 

taken in a commercial fishing operation for the 

remainder of that period. 

(4) Any commercial harvest limit that is exceeded 

during one year shall result in the poundage 

overage being deducted from the subsequent 

year's commercial harvest limit, and the 

Fisheries Director shall, by proclamation, 

adjust the period allotments as described in this 

Paragraph. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1996; October 1, 1992; September 1, 

1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2000; July 1, 1999; October 

22, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; October 1, 2008; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0502 MULLET 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess more than 200 mullet per person 

per day for recreational purposes. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation and pursuant to 

15A NCAC 03H .0103, impose any of the following restrictions 

on the taking of mullet: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity, except as provided in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0506 SNAPPER GROUPER COMPLEX 

(a)  In the Atlantic Ocean, it shall be unlawful for an individual 

fishing under a Recreational Commercial Gear License with 

seines, shrimp trawls, pots, trotlines, or gill nets to take any 

species of the snapper grouper complex. 

(b)  The list of species of the snapper grouper complex in the 

South Atlantic Fishery Management Council Fishery 

Management Plan for the Snapper Grouper Fishery of the South 

Atlantic Region is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of the plan are 

available at www.safmc.net and at the Division of Marine 

Fisheries, 3441 Arendell Street, P.O. Box 769, Morehead City, 

North Carolina 28557, at no cost. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; March 1, 1996; September 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 23, 1996; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; April 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; August 29, 2000; 

January 1, 2000; May 24, 1999; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; May 1, 2004; July 1, 2003; April 

1, 2003; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0507 BILLFISH 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take blue marlin, white marlin, 

roundscale spearfish, or sailfish, except by hook and line or for 

recreational purposes. 

(b)  For blue marlin, white marlin, and roundscale spearfish, it 

shall be unlawful to do any of the following: 

(1) possess blue marlin less than 99 inches in length 

from the lower jaw to the fork in the tail; 

(2) possess white marlin or roundscale spearfish 

less than 66 inches in length from the lower jaw 

to the fork in the tail; 

(3) possess more than one blue marlin, white 

marlin, or roundscale spearfish in the aggregate 

per vessel per trip; and 

(4) sell or offer for sale blue marlin, white marlin, 

or roundscale spearfish. 

(c)  For sailfish, it shall be unlawful to do any of the following: 

(1) possess sailfish less than 63 inches in length 

from the lower jaw to the fork in the tail; 
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(2) possess more than one sailfish per person per 

day; and 

(3) sell or offer for sale sailfish. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1996; March 1, 1994; February 1, 1992; 

September 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 7, 1998; September 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0510 AMERICAN EEL 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess, sell, or take American eels less 

than nine inches in length. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to possess more than 25 American eels 

per person per day for recreational purposes, except the master 

and each mate of for-hire vessels that hold a valid for-hire license 

may possess 50 eels each per day. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to possess American eels from September 

1 through December 31, except when taken by baited pots. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. July 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0513 RIVER HERRING 

It shall be unlawful to take or possess river herring from North 

Carolina Coastal Fishing Waters. Possession of river herring from 

sources other than North Carolina Coastal Fishing Waters shall be 

limited to fish less than or equal to six inches total length when 

aboard a vessel or while engaged in fishing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. March 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2000; August 1, 1999; July 1, 

1999; March 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. June 13, 2016; October 1, 2008; December 1, 2007; 

April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0515 DOLPHIN 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess for recreational purposes any 

of the following: 

(1) more than 10 dolphin per person per day taken 

by hook and line; and 

(2) more than 60 dolphin per vessel per day 

regardless of the number of individuals on 

board, except headboat vessels with a valid U.S. 

Coast Guard Certificate of Inspection may 

possess 10 dolphin per paying customer. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful for a commercial fishing operation 

without a valid federal Atlantic Dolphin/Wahoo Commercial 

vessel permit to do any of the following: 

(1) take or possess more than 10 dolphin per person 

per day; and 

(2) sell dolphin. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0517 WAHOO 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess for recreational purposes more 

than two wahoo per person per day taken by hook and line. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful for a commercial fishing operation to do 

any of the following: 

(1) without a valid federal Atlantic Dolphin/Wahoo 

Commercial vessel permit: 

(A) to take or possess more than two 

wahoo per person per day; and 

(B) to sell wahoo; and 

(2) to possess aboard a vessel or land more than 

500 pounds of wahoo per trip. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. September 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0518 KINGFISHES (SEA MULLET) 

The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation and pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 03H .0103, impose any of the following restrictions on the 

taking of kingfishes: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0520 TUNA 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess for recreational purposes any 

of the following: 

(1) yellowfin tuna less than 27 inches curved fork 

length; 

(2) bigeye tuna less than 27 inches curved fork 

length; and 

(3) more than three yellowfin tuna per person per 

day. 
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(b)  It shall be unlawful to possess in a commercial fishing 

operation any of the following: 

(1) yellowfin tuna less than 27 inches curved fork 

length or 27 inches from the fork of the tail to 

the forward edge of the cut of beheaded tuna; 

(2) bigeye tuna less than 27 inches curved fork 

length or 27 inches from the fork of the tail to 

the forward edge of the cut of beheaded tuna; 

(3) Atlantic bluefin tuna less than 73 inches curved 

fork length or 54 inches pectoral fin curved fork 

length; and 

(4) tuna subject to a size or harvest restriction 

without having the tail attached. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 2008; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0521 SHEEPSHEAD 

The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation and pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 03H .0103, impose any of the following restrictions on the 

taking of sheepshead: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0106 DISPLAY OF LICENSES AND 

REGISTRATIONS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful: 

(1) for any person to use a vessel required to be 

registered under the provisions of G.S. 113-

168.6 in a commercial fishing operation 

without a current Commercial Fishing Vessel 

Registration decal mounted on an exterior 

surface so as to be plainly visible when viewed 

from the port side; and 

(2) to display any Commercial Fishing Vessel 

Registration decal not issued for the vessel 

displaying it. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to fail to display a Fish Dealer License 

required by G.S. 113-169.3 or Ocean Fishing Pier License 

required by G.S. 113-169.4 in prominent public view in each 

location subject to licensing. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful for any person licensed under G.S. 113-

174.3 to fail to display a current for-hire vessel decal on the 

exterior surface of the vessel so as to be visible when viewed from 

the port side while engaged in for-hire recreational fishing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.6; 113-169.3; 

113-169.4; 113-174.1; 113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; December 1, 2006; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0112 FOR-HIRE LICENSE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The license requirements for an operator of a vessel engaged 

in a for-hire operation are set forth in G.S. 113-174.3. Either the 

vessel owner or the for-hire vessel operator may seek to obtain the 

applicable for-hire vessel license. Only the vessel owner shall 

seek to obtain the applicable registration and endorsement 

required by G.S. 113-168.6. For the purpose of this Rule, "for-hire 

vessel operator" shall include the holder of a Blanket For-Hire 

Captain's Coastal Recreational Fishing License, Blanket For-Hire 

Vessel Coastal Recreational Fishing License, or Non-Blanket 

For-Hire Vessel License, as set forth in G.S. 113-174.3. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful for a for-hire vessel operator to operate 

without: 

(1) holding the United States Coast Guard 

certification required in Rule .0101(a) of this 

Section; 

(2) having a copy of the for-hire license in 

possession and ready at hand for inspection; 

and 

(3) having current picture identification in 

possession and ready at hand for inspection. 

(c)  If requested by the Division of Marine Fisheries, it shall be 

unlawful for a for-hire vessel operator to fail to participate in and 

provide accurate information for biological sampling in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 03I .0113 and for survey programs 

administered by the Division. 

(d)  Requirements for display of licenses and registrations for a 

vessel engaged in for-hire recreational fishing are set forth in Rule 

.0106 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.6; 113-174.1; 

113-174.3; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0501 PROCEDURES AND 

REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN PERMITS 

(a)  To obtain a Division of Marine Fisheries permit, an applicant, 

responsible party, or person holding a power of attorney shall 

provide the following information: 

(1) the full name, physical address, mailing 

address, date of birth, and signature of the 

applicant on the application and, if the applicant 

is not appearing before a license agent or the 

designated Division of Marine Fisheries 

contact, the applicant's signature on the 

application shall be notarized; 

(2) a current picture identification of the applicant, 

responsible party, or person holding a power of 

attorney, acceptable forms of which shall 
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include driver's license, North Carolina 

Identification card issued by the North Carolina 

Division of Motor Vehicles, military 

identification card, resident alien card (green 

card), or passport or, if applying by mail, a copy 

thereof; 

(3) for permits that require a list of designees, the 

full names and dates of birth of the designees of 

the applicant who will be acting pursuant to the 

requested permit; 

(4) certification that the applicant and his or her 

designees do not have four or more marine or 

estuarine resource convictions during the 

previous three years; 

(5) for permit applications from business entities: 

(A) the business name; 

(B) the type of business entity: 

corporation, "educational institution" 

as defined in 15A NCAC 03I .0101, 

limited liability company (LLC), 

partnership, or sole proprietorship; 

(C) the name, address, and phone number 

of responsible party and other 

identifying information required by 

this Subchapter or rules related to a 

specific permit; 

(D) for a corporation applying for a permit 

in a corporate name, the current 

articles of incorporation and a current 

list of corporate officers; 

(E) for a partnership that is established by 

a written partnership agreement, a 

current copy of such agreement shall 

be provided when applying for a 

permit; and 

(F) for business entities other than 

corporations, copies of current 

assumed name statements if filed with 

the Register of Deeds office for the 

corresponding county and copies of 

current business privilege tax 

certificates, if applicable; and 

(6) additional information as required for specific 

permits. 

(b)  A permittee shall hold a valid: 

(1) Standard or Retired Standard Commercial 

Fishing License in order to hold: 

(A) an Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass 

Commercial Gear Permit; 

(B) a Permit for Weekend Trawling for 

Live Shrimp; or 

(C) a Pound Net Set Permit. 

 The master designated on the single vessel 

corporation Standard Commercial Fishing 

License is the individual required to hold the 

Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp. 

(2) Fish Dealer License in the proper category in 

order to hold dealer permits for monitoring 

fisheries under a quota or allocation for that 

category. 

(c)  An individual who is assigned a valid Standard Commercial 

Fishing License with applicable endorsements shall be eligible to 

hold any permit that requires a Standard Commercial Fishing 

License except a Pound Net Set Permit. 

(d)  If mechanical methods to take shellfish are used, a permittee 

and his designees shall hold a valid Standard or Retired Standard 

Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfish Endorsement in 

order for a permittee to hold a: 

(1) Depuration Permit; 

(2) Permit to Harvest Rangia Clams from 

Prohibited (Polluted) Areas; 

(3) Permit to Transplant Oysters from Seed Oyster 

Management Areas; 

(4) Permit to Transplant Prohibited (Polluted) 

Shellfish; or 

(5) Permit to Use Mechanical Methods for 

Shellfish on Shellfish Leases or Franchises, 

except as provided in G.S. 113-169.2. 

(e)  If mechanical methods to take shellfish are not used, a 

permittee and his designees shall hold a valid Standard or Retired 

Standard Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfish 

Endorsement or a Shellfish License in order for a permittee to 

hold a: 

(1) Depuration Permit; 

(2) Permit to Harvest Rangia Clams from 

Prohibited (Polluted) Areas; 

(3) Permit to Transplant Oysters from Seed Oyster 

Management Areas; or 

(4) Permit to Transplant Prohibited (Polluted) 

Shellfish. 

(f)  Aquaculture Operation Permit and Aquaculture Collection 

Permit: 

(1) A permittee shall hold a valid Aquaculture 

Operation Permit issued by the Fisheries 

Director to hold an Aquaculture Collection 

Permit. 

(2) The permittee or designees shall hold 

appropriate licenses from the Division of 

Marine Fisheries for the species harvested and 

the gear used under the Aquaculture Collection 

Permit. 

(g)  Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit: 

(1) An applicant for an Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass 

Commercial Gear Permit shall declare one of 

the following types of gear for an initial permit 

and at intervals of three consecutive license 

years thereafter: 

(A) a gill net; 

(B) a trawl net; or 

(C) a beach seine. 

 For the purpose of this Rule, a "beach seine" 

shall mean a swipe net constructed of multi-

filament or multi-fiber webbing fished from the 

ocean beach that is deployed from a vessel 

launched from the ocean beach where the 

fishing operation takes place. Gear declarations 

shall be binding on the permittee for three 
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consecutive license years without regard to 

subsequent annual permit issuance. 

(2) A person is not eligible for more than one 

Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear 

Permit regardless of the number of Standard 

Commercial Fishing Licenses, Retired 

Standard Commercial Fishing Licenses, or 

assignments held by that person. 

(h)  Applications submitted without complete and required 

information shall not be processed until all required information 

has been submitted. Incomplete applications shall be returned to 

the applicant with the deficiency in the application noted. 

(i)  A permit shall be issued only after the application is deemed 

complete and the applicant certifies his or her agreement to abide 

by the permit general and specific conditions established under 

15A NCAC 03J .0501, .0505, 03K .0103, .0104, .0107, .0111, 

.0401, and Rules .0502 and .0503 of this Section, as applicable to 

the requested permit. 

(j)  In determining whether to issue, modify, or renew a permit, 

the Fisheries Director or his or her agent shall evaluate factors 

such as the following: 

(1) potential threats to public health or marine and 

estuarine resources regulated by the Marine 

Fisheries Commission; 

(2) the applicant's demonstration of a valid 

justification for the permit; and 

(3) whether the applicant has a history of eight or 

more fisheries violations within 10 years. 

(k)  The Division of Marine Fisheries shall notify the applicant in 

writing of the denial or modification of any permit request and the 

reasons therefor. The applicant may submit further information or 

reasons why the permit should not be denied or modified. 

(l)  Permits are valid from the date of issuance through the 

expiration date printed on the permit. Unless otherwise 

established by rule, the Fisheries Director may establish the 

issuance timeframe for specific types and categories of permits 

based on season, calendar year, or other period based upon the 

nature of the activity permitted, the duration of the activity, 

compliance with federal or State fishery management plans or 

implementing rules, conflicts with other fisheries or gear usage, 

or seasons for the species involved. The expiration date shall be 

specified on the permit. 

(m)  For permit renewals, the permittee's signature on the 

application shall certify all information is true and accurate. 

Notarized signatures on renewal applications shall not be 

required. 

(n)  It shall be unlawful for a permit holder to fail to notify the 

Division of Marine Fisheries within 30 days of a change of name 

or address, in accordance with G.S. 113-169.2. 

(o)  It shall be unlawful for a permit holder to fail to notify the 

Division of Marine Fisheries of a change of designee prior to use 

of the permit by that designee. 

(p)  Permit applications shall be available at all Division of Marine 

Fisheries offices. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-169.2; 

113-169.3; 113-182; 113-210; 143B-289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 2000; May 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2017; May 1, 2015; April 1, 2011; April 1, 

2009; July 1, 2008; December 1, 2007; September 1, 2005; April 

1, 2003; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0503 PERMIT CONDITIONS; 

SPECIFIC 

(a)  Aquaculture Operation Permit and Aquaculture Collection 

Permit: 

(1) It shall be unlawful to conduct aquaculture 

operations using marine and estuarine resources 

without first securing an Aquaculture Operation 

Permit from the Fisheries Director. 

(2) It shall be unlawful: 

(A) to take marine and estuarine resources 

from Coastal Fishing Waters for 

aquaculture purposes without first 

obtaining an Aquaculture Collection 

Permit from the Fisheries Director; 

(B) to sell or use for any purpose not 

related to North Carolina aquaculture 

marine and estuarine resources taken 

pursuant to an Aquaculture Collection 

Permit; or 

(C) to fail to submit to the Fisheries 

Director an annual report, due on 

December 1 of each year on the form 

provided by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries, stating the amount and 

disposition of marine and estuarine 

resources collected under authority of 

an Aquaculture Collection Permit. 

(3) Lawfully permitted shellfish relaying activities 

authorized by 15A NCAC 03K .0103 and .0104 

shall be exempt from requirements to have an 

Aquaculture Operation Permit or Aquaculture 

Collection Permit issued by the Fisheries 

Director. 

(4) Aquaculture Operation Permits and 

Aquaculture Collection Permits shall be issued 

or renewed on a calendar year basis. 

(5) It shall be unlawful to fail to provide the 

Division with a listing of all designees acting 

pursuant to an Aquaculture Collection Permit at 

the time of application. 

(b)  Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit: 

(1) It shall be unlawful to take striped bass from the 

Atlantic Ocean in a commercial fishing 

operation without first obtaining an Atlantic 

Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit. 

(2) It shall be unlawful to obtain more than one 

Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear 

Permit during a license year, regardless of the 

number of Standard Commercial Fishing 

licenses, Retired Standard Commercial Fishing 

licenses, or assignments. 

(c)  Blue Crab Shedding Permit: It shall be unlawful to possess 

more than 50 blue crabs in a shedding operation without first 
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obtaining a Blue Crab Shedding Permit from the Division of 

Marine Fisheries. 

(d)  Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit: 

(1) It shall be unlawful for the responsible party 

seeking exemption from recreational fishing 

license requirements for eligible individuals to 

conduct an organized fishing event held in Joint 

or Coastal Fishing Waters without first 

obtaining a Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License Exemption Permit. 

(2) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License 

Exemption Permit shall only be issued for 

recreational fishing activity conducted solely 

for the participation and benefit of one of the 

following groups of eligible individuals: 

(A) individuals with physical or mental 

impairment; 

(B) members of the United States Armed 

Forces and their dependents, upon 

presentation of a valid military 

identification card; 

(C) individuals receiving instruction on 

recreational fishing techniques and 

conservation practices from 

employees of state or federal marine or 

estuarine resource management 

agencies or instructors affiliated with 

educational institutions; and 

(D) disadvantaged youths as set forth in 42 

U.S. Code 12511. 

 For the purpose of this Paragraph, educational 

institutions include high schools and other 

secondary educational institutions. 

(3) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License 

Exemption Permit shall be valid for the date, 

time, and physical location of the organized 

fishing event for which the exemption is 

granted and the duration of the permit shall not 

exceed one year from the date of issuance. 

(4) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License 

Exemption Permit shall only be issued if all of 

the following, in addition to the information 

required in Rule .0501 of this Section, is 

submitted to the Fisheries Director, in writing, 

at least 30 days prior to the event: 

(A) the name, date, time, and physical 

location of the event; 

(B) documentation that substantiates 

local, state, or federal involvement in 

the organized fishing event, if 

applicable; 

(C) the cost or requirements, if any, for an 

individual to participate in the event; 

and 

(D) an estimate of the number of 

participants. 

(e)  Dealer permits for monitoring fisheries under a quota or 

allocation: 

(1) During the commercial season opened by 

proclamation or rule for the fishery for which a 

dealer permit for monitoring fisheries under a 

quota or allocation shall be issued, it shall be 

unlawful for a fish dealer issued such permit to 

fail to: 

(A) fax or send via electronic mail by noon 

daily, on forms provided by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries, the 

previous day's landings for the 

permitted fishery to the Division. 

Landings for Fridays or Saturdays 

shall be submitted on the following 

Monday. If the dealer is unable to fax 

or electronically mail the required 

information, the permittee shall call in 

the previous day's landings to the 

Division; 

(B) submit the required form set forth in 

Part (e)(1)(A) of this Rule to the 

Division upon request or no later than 

five days after the close of the season 

for the fishery permitted; 

(C) maintain faxes and other related 

documentation in accordance with 

15A NCAC 03I .0114; 

(D) contact the Division daily, regardless 

of whether a transaction for the fishery 

for which a dealer is permitted 

occurred; and 

(E) record the permanent dealer 

identification number on the bill of 

lading or receipt for each transaction 

or shipment from the permitted 

fishery. 

(2) Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer Permit: 

(A) It shall be unlawful for a fish dealer to 

allow vessels holding a valid License 

to Land Flounder from the Atlantic 

Ocean to land more than 100 pounds 

of flounder from a single transaction at 

their licensed location during the open 

season without first obtaining an 

Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer 

Permit. The licensed location shall be 

specified on the Atlantic Ocean 

Flounder Dealer Permit and only one 

location per permit shall be allowed. 

(B) It shall be unlawful for a fish dealer to 

possess, buy, sell, or offer for sale 

more than 100 pounds of flounder 

from a single transaction from the 

Atlantic Ocean without first obtaining 

an Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer 

Permit. 

(3) Black Sea Bass North of Cape Hatteras Dealer 

Permit: It shall be unlawful for a fish dealer to 

purchase or possess more than 100 pounds of 

black sea bass taken from the Atlantic Ocean 
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north of Cape Hatteras (35° 15.0321' N) per day 

per commercial fishing operation during the 

open season unless the dealer has a Black Sea 

Bass North of Cape Hatteras Dealer Permit. 

(4) Spiny Dogfish Dealer Permit: It shall be 

unlawful for a fish dealer to purchase or possess 

more than 100 pounds of spiny dogfish per day 

per commercial fishing operation unless the 

dealer has a Spiny Dogfish Dealer Permit. 

(5) Striped Bass Dealer Permit: 

(A) It shall be unlawful for a fish dealer to 

possess, buy, sell, or offer for sale 

striped bass taken from the following 

areas without first obtaining a Striped 

Bass Dealer Permit validated for the 

applicable harvest area: 

(i) the Atlantic Ocean; 

(ii) the Albemarle Sound 

Management Area as 

designated in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201; or 

(iii) the Joint and Coastal Fishing 

Waters of the 

Central/Southern 

Management Area as 

designated in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201. 

(B) No permittee shall possess, buy, sell, 

or offer for sale striped bass taken 

from the harvest areas opened by 

proclamation without having a valid 

Division of Marine Fisheries-issued 

tag for the applicable area affixed 

through the mouth and gill cover or, in 

the case of striped bass imported from 

other states, a similar tag that is issued 

for striped bass in the state of origin. 

Division striped bass tags shall not be 

bought, sold, offered for sale, or 

transferred. Tags shall be obtained at 

the Division offices. The Division 

shall specify the quantity of tags to be 

issued based on historical striped bass 

landings. It shall be unlawful for the 

permittee to fail to surrender unused 

tags to the Division upon request. 

(f)  Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use Permit: 

(1) It shall be unlawful to use horseshoe crabs for 

biomedical purposes without first obtaining a 

permit. 

(2) It shall be unlawful for persons who have been 

issued a Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use 

Permit to fail to submit an annual report on the 

use of horseshoe crabs to the Division of 

Marine Fisheries, due on February 1 of each 

year. Such reports shall be filed on forms 

provided by the Division and shall include a 

monthly account of the number of crabs 

harvested, a statement of percent mortality up 

to the point of release, the harvest method, the 

number or percent of males and females, and 

the disposition of bled crabs prior to release. 

(3) It shall be unlawful for persons who have been 

issued a Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use 

Permit to fail to comply with the Atlantic States 

Marine Fisheries Commission Interstate 

Fishery Management Plan for Horseshoe Crab. 

The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission Interstate Fishery Management 

Plan for Horseshoe Crab is incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments 

and editions. Copies of this plan are available 

via the Internet from the Atlantic States Marine 

Fisheries Commission at 

http://www.asmfc.org/fisheries-

management/program-overview and at the 

Division of Marine Fisheries, 3441 Arendell 

Street, P.O. Box 769, Morehead City, NC 

28557, at no cost. 

(g)  Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp: 

(1) It shall be unlawful to take shrimp with trawls 

from 9:00 p.m. on Friday through 12 noon on 

Saturday without first obtaining a Permit for 

Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp. 

(2) It shall be unlawful for a holder of a Permit for 

Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp to use 

trawls from 12:01 p.m. on Saturday through 

4:59 p.m. on Sunday. 

(3) It shall be unlawful for a permit holder during 

the timeframe specified in Subparagraph (k)(1) 

of this Rule to: 

(A) use trawl nets to take live shrimp 

except from areas open to the harvest 

of shrimp with trawls; 

(B) take shrimp with trawls that have a 

combined headrope length of greater 

than 40 feet in Internal Coastal 

Waters; 

(C) possess more than one gallon of dead 

shrimp (heads on) per trip; 

(D) fail to have a functioning live bait tank 

or a combination of multiple 

functioning live bait tanks, with 

aerators or circulating water, with a 

minimum combined tank capacity of 

50 gallons; or 

(E) fail to call the Division of Marine 

Fisheries Communications Center at 

800-682-2632 or 252-726-7021 prior 

to each weekend use of the permit, 

specifying activities and location. 

(h)  Pound Net Set Permit: The holder of a Pound Net Set Permit 

shall follow the Pound Net Set Permit conditions as set forth in 

15A NCAC 03J .0505. 

(i)  Scientific or Educational Activity Permit: 

(1) It shall be unlawful for institutions or agencies 

seeking exemptions from license, rule, 

proclamation, or statutory requirements to 
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collect, hold, culture, or exhibit for scientific or 

educational purposes any marine or estuarine 

species without first obtaining a Scientific or 

Educational Activity Permit. 

(2) The Scientific or Educational Activity Permit 

shall only be issued for collection methods and 

possession allowances approved by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries. 

(3) The Scientific or Educational Activity Permit 

shall only be issued for approved activities 

conducted by or under the direction of 

Scientific or Educational institutions as defined 

in 15A NCAC 03I .0101. 

(4) It shall be unlawful for the responsible party 

issued a Scientific or Educational Activity 

Permit to fail to submit an annual report on 

collections and, if authorized, sales to the 

Division, due on December 1 of each year, 

unless otherwise specified on the permit. The 

reports shall be filed on forms provided by the 

Division. Scientific or Educational Activity 

permits shall be issued on a calendar year basis. 

(5) It shall be unlawful to sell marine or estuarine 

species taken under a Scientific or Educational 

Activity Permit without: 

(A) the required license for such sale; 

(B) an authorization stated on the permit 

for such sale; and 

(C) providing the information required by 

15A NCAC 03I .0114 if the sale is to 

a licensed fish dealer. 

(6) It shall be unlawful to fail to provide the 

Division with a list of all designees acting under 

a Scientific or Educational Activity Permit at 

the time of application. 

(7) The permittee or designees utilizing the permit 

shall call the Division of Marine Fisheries 

Communications Center at 800-682-2632 or 

252-726-7021 not later than 24 hours prior to 

use of the permit, specifying activities and 

location. 

(j)  Under Dock Oyster Culture Permit: 

(1) It shall be unlawful to cultivate oysters in 

containers under docks for personal 

consumption without first obtaining an Under 

Dock Oyster Culture Permit. 

(2) An Under Dock Oyster Culture Permit shall be 

issued only in accordance with provisions set 

forth in G.S. 113-210(c). 

(3) The applicant shall complete and submit an 

examination, with a minimum of 70 percent 

correct answers, based on an educational 

package provided by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries pursuant to G.S. 113-210(j), 

demonstrating the applicant's knowledge of: 

(A) the application process; 

(B) permit criteria; 

(C) basic oyster biology and culture 

techniques; 

(D) shellfish harvest area closures due to 

pollution; 

(E) safe handling practices; 

(F) permit conditions; and 

(G) permit revocation criteria. 

(4) Action by an Under Dock Oyster Culture 

Permit holder to encroach on or usurp the legal 

rights of the public to access public trust 

resources in Coastal Fishing Waters shall result 

in permit revocation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-169.2; 

113-169.3; 113-182; 113-210; 143B-289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 2000; August 1, 2000; 

May 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2017; May 1, 2015; April 1, 2014; April 1, 

2009; July 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; September 1, 2005; October 

1, 2004; August 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 03R .0112 ATTENDED GILL NET AREAS 

(a)  The attended gill net areas referenced in 15A NCAC 03J 

.0103(g) are delineated in the following areas: 

(1) Pamlico River, west of a line beginning at a 

point 35° 27.5768' N  76° 54.3612' W on 

Ragged Point; running southwesterly to a point 

35° 26.9176' N  76° 55.5253' W on Mauls 

Point; 

(2) within 200 yards of the shoreline in Pamlico 

River and its tributaries east of a line beginning 

at a point 35° 27.5768' N  76° 54.3612' W on 

Ragged Point; running southwesterly to a point 

35° 26.9176' N  76° 55.5253' W on Mauls 

Point; and west of a line beginning at a point 

35° 22.3622' N  76° 28.2032' W on Roos 

Point; running southerly to a point at 35° 

18.5906' N  76° 28.9530' W on Pamlico Point; 

(3) Pungo River, east of the northern portion of the 

Pantego Creek breakwater and a line beginning 

at a point 35° 31.7198' N  76° 36.9195' W on 

the northern side of the breakwater near 

Tooleys Point; running southeasterly to a point 

35° 30.5312' N  76° 35.1594' W on Durants 

Point; 

(4) within 200 yards of the shoreline in Pungo 

River and its tributaries west of the northern 

portion of the Pantego Creek breakwater and a 

line beginning at a point 35° 31.7198' N  76° 

36.9195' W on the northern side of the 

breakwater near Tooleys Point; running 

southeasterly to a point 35° 30.5312' N  76° 

35.1594' W on Durants Point; and west of a line 

beginning at a point 35° 22.3622' N  76° 

28.2032' W on Roos Point; running southerly to 

a point at 35° 18.5906' N  76° 28.9530' W on 

Pamlico Point; 
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(5) Neuse River and its tributaries northwest of the 

Highway 17 highrise bridge; 

(6) Trent River and its tributaries; and 

(7) within 200 yards of the shoreline in Neuse 

River and its tributaries east of the Highway 17 

highrise bridge and south and west of a line 

beginning on Maw Point at a point 35° 09.0407' 

N  76° 32.2348' W; running southeasterly near 

the Maw Point Shoal Marker "2" to a point 35° 

08.1250' N  76° 30.8532' W; running 

southeasterly near the Neuse River Entrance 

Marker "NR" to a point 35° 06.6212' N  76° 

28.5383' W; running southerly to a point 35° 

04.4833' N  76° 28.0000' W near Point of 

Marsh in Neuse River. In Core and Clubfoot 

creeks, the Highway 101 Bridge shall constitute 

the attendance boundary. 

(b)  The attended gill net areas referenced in 15A NCAC 03J 

.0103(h) are delineated in the following Internal Coastal Waters 

and Joint Fishing Waters of the State south of a line beginning on 

Roanoke Marshes Point at a point 35 48.3693' N  75 43.7232' 

W; running southeasterly to a point 35 44.1710' N  75 31.0520' 

W on Eagles Nest Bay to the South Carolina state line: 

(1) all primary nursery areas described in 15A 

NCAC 03R .0103, all permanent secondary 

nursery areas described in 15A NCAC 03R 

.0104, and no-trawl areas described in 15A 

NCAC 03R .0106(2), (4), (5), (8), (10), (11), 

and (12); 

(2) in the area along the Outer Banks, beginning at 

a point 35 44.1710' N  75 31.0520' W on 

Eagles Nest Bay; running northwesterly to a 

point 35 45.1833' N  75 34.1000' W west of 

Pea Island; running southerly to a point 35 

40.0000' N  75 32.8666' W west of Beach 

Slough; running southeasterly and passing near 

Beacon "2" in Chicamicomico Channel to a 

point 35 35.0000' N  75 29.8833' W west of 

the Rodanthe Pier; running southwesterly to a 

point 35 28.4500' N  75 31.3500' W on Gull 

Island; running southerly to a point 35 

22.3000' N  75 33.2000' W near Beacon "2" 

in Avon Channel ; running southwesterly to a 

point 35 19.0333' N  75 36.3166' W near 

Beacon "2" in Cape Channel; running 

southwesterly to a point 35 15.5000' N  75 

43.4000' W near Beacon "36" in Rollinson 

Channel; running southeasterly to a point 35 

14.9386' N  75 42.9968' W near Beacon "35" 

in Rollinson Channel; running southwesterly to 

a point 35 14.0377' N  75 45.9644' W near a 

"Danger" Beacon northwest of Austin Reef; 

running southwesterly to a point 35 11.4833' N 

 75 51.0833' W on Legged Lump; running 

southeasterly to a point 35 10.9666' N  75 

49.7166' W south of Legged Lump; running 

southwesterly to a point 35 09.3000' N  75 

54.8166' W near the west end of Clarks Reef; 

running westerly to a point 35 08.4333' N  

76 02.5000' W near Nine Foot Shoal Channel; 

running southerly to a point 35 06.4000' N  

76 04.3333' W near North Rock; running 

southwesterly to a point 35 01.5833' N  76 

11.4500' W near Beacon "HL"; running 

southerly to a point 35 00.2666' N  76 

12.2000' W; running southerly to a point 34 

59.4664' N  76 12.4859' W on Wainwright 

Island; running easterly to a point 34 58.7853' 

N  76 09.8922' W on Core Banks; running 

northerly along the shoreline and across the 

inlets following the COLREGS Demarcation 

Line to the point of beginning; 

(3) in Core and Back sounds, beginning at a point 

34 58.7853' N  76 09.8922' W on Core 

Banks; running northwesterly to a point 34 

59.4664' N  76 12.4859' W on Wainwright 

Island; running southerly to a point 34 

58.8000' N  76 12.5166' W; running 

southeasterly to a point 34 58.1833' N  76 

12.3000' W; running southwesterly to a point 

34 56.4833' N  76 13.2833' W; running 

westerly to a point 34 56.5500' N  76 

13.6166' W; running southwesterly to a point 

34 53.5500' N  76 16.4166' W; running 

northwesterly to a point 34 53.9166' N  76 

17.1166' W; running southerly to a point 34 

53.4166' N  76 17.3500' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 34° 51.0617' N  76° 

21.0449' W; running southwesterly to a point 

34° 48.3137' N  76° 24.3717' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 34° 46.3739' N  76° 

26.1526' W; running southwesterly to a point 

34° 44.5795' N  76° 27.5136' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 34° 43.4895' N  76° 

28.9411' W near Beacon "37A"; running 

southwesterly to a point 34° 40.4500' N  76° 

30.6833' W; running westerly to a point 34° 

40.7061' N  76° 31.5893' W near Beacon "35" 

in Back Sound; running westerly to a point 34° 

41.3178' N  76° 33.8092' W near Buoy "3"; 

running southwesterly to a point 34° 39.6601' N 

 76° 34.4078' W on Shackleford Banks; 

running easterly and northeasterly along the 

shoreline and across the inlets following the 

COLREGS Demarcation lines to the point of 

beginning; 

(4) within 200 yards of the shoreline in the area 

upstream of the 76° 28.0000' W longitude line 

beginning at a point 35° 22.3752' N   76° 

28.0000' W near Roos Point in Pamlico River; 

running southeasterly to a point 35° 04.4833' N 

 76° 28.0000' W near Point of Marsh in Neuse 

River; and 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2019 

1805 

(5) within 50 yards of the shoreline east of the 76° 

28.0000' W longitude line beginning at a point 

35° 22.3752' N  76° 28.0000' W near Roos 

Point in Pamlico River; running southeasterly 

to a point 35° 04.4833' N  76° 28.0000' W near 

Point of Marsh in Neuse River, except from 

October 1 through November 30, south and east 

of Highway 12 in Carteret County and south of 

a line from a point 34° 59.7942' N  76° 

14.6514' W on Camp Point; running easterly to 

a point at 34° 58.7853' N  76° 09.8922' W on 

Core Banks; to the South Carolina state Line. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-173; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2016; June 1, 2013; April 1, 2011; April 1, 

2009; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 07B .0802 PUBLIC HEARING AND LOCAL 

ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Notice of Public Hearing. The local government shall provide 

the Secretary or his or her designee written notice of the public 

hearing for local adoption and a copy of the proposed land use 

plan or comprehensive plan, hereinafter referred to as "the plan", 

or amendment no less than five business days prior to publication 

of a public hearing notice. The public hearing notice shall include, 

as set forth in Rule .0803(a)(2) of this Section, disclosure of the 

public's opportunity to provide written comment to the Secretary 

following local adoption of the plan. 

(b)  Final Plan Content. The final plan or amendment shall be 

adopted by the elected body of each participating local 

government. 

(c)  Transmittal to the Division for Certification. The local 

government shall provide the Executive Secretary of the CRC or 

his or her designee the locally adopted plan, a certified statement 

of the local government adoption action, and documentation that 

it has followed the public hearing process required in G.S. 113A-

110.  

(d)  For joint plans originally adopted by each participating 

jurisdiction, each government retains its sole and independent 

authority to make amendments to the plan as it affects its 

jurisdiction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-110; 113A-

124; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2007; February 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 07B .0803 CERTIFICATION AND USE OF 

THE PLAN 

(a)  Certification of Plans and Amendments: This Rule outlines 

the certification procedures and conditions for locally adopted 

land use plans or comprehensive plans, hereinafter referred to as 

"the plan," or plan amendments. The procedures shall be as 

follows: 

(1) The Division District Planner shall submit a 

written report to the CRC, or qualified 

employee of the Department pursuant to G.S. 

113A-124(c)(9), on the locally adopted plan or 

amendment and either recommend certification 

or identify how the plan or amendment does not 

meet the procedures and conditions for 

certification as set forth in Subparagraph (a)(3) 

of this Rule. 

(2) The public shall have an opportunity to submit 

written objections or comments on the locally 

adopted plan or amendment prior to 

certification pursuant to G.S. 113A-110(e). 

Written objections or comments shall be 

received by the Division no more than 30 

calendar days after local adoption of the plan or 

amendment. Written objections shall be limited 

to the criteria for certification as defined in 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule, and shall 

identify the specific plan elements that are 

opposed. Written objections or comments shall 

be sent by the Division to the local government 

submitting the plan or amendment. Written 

objections or comments shall be considered in 

the certification of the local plan or amendment. 

(3) The CRC or qualified employee of the 

Department, pursuant to G.S. 113A-124(c)(9), 

shall certify plans and amendments following 

the procedures and conditions specified in this 

Rule, and that the plans and amendments meet 

the following conditions: 

(A) are consistent with the Coastal Area 

Management Act G.S. 113A-110; 

(B) are consistent with the rules of the 

CRC; 

(C) do not violate State or federal law; and 

(D) contain policies that address each 

management topic as set forth in Rule 

.0702(d)(2) of this Subchapter. 

(4) If the plan or amendment does not meet 

certification requirements, the applicant shall 

be informed by the Division of Coastal 

Management within 45 calendar days regarding 

how the plan or amendment does not meet the 

procedures and conditions for certification. 

(b)  Copies of the Plan. Within 90 calendar days of certification 

of the plan or an amendment, the local government shall provide 

one printed and one digital copy of the plan to the Division. 

Amendments shall be incorporated in all copies of the plan. The 

dates of local adoption, certification, and amendments shall be 

published on the cover. 

(c)  Use of the Plan. Once certified, the plan shall be utilized in 

the review of the CAMA permits in accordance with G.S. 113A-

111. Local governments shall have the option to exercise their 

enforcement responsibility by choosing from the following: 
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(1) Local administration: The local government 

reviews the CAMA permits for consistency 

with the plan; 

(2) Joint administration: The local government 

identifies policies, including the future land use 

map and implementation actions that will be 

used by the Division for the CAMA permit 

consistency reviews or; 

(3) Division administration: The Division reviews 

the CAMA permits for consistency with the 

plan policies, including the future land use map 

and implementation actions. 

(d)  Plan updates and Amendments. Local governments shall 

determine the scope, timing, and frequency of plan updates and 

amendments. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-110; 113-

111; 113A-124; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2008; September 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 07K .0103 MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR 

(a)  "Maintenance and "repairs" are specifically excluded from the 

definition of "development" under the conditions and in the 

circumstances set out in G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(5). Individuals 

required to take such measures within an AEC shall contact the 

local CAMA representative for consultation before beginning 

work. 

(b)  Beach bulldozing, defined as the process of moving natural 

beach material from any point seaward of the first line of stable 

vegetation, for the purpose of preventing damage to imminently 

threatened structures as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0308(a), by 

the creation of protective sand dunes shall qualify for an exclusion 

under G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(5) subject to the following 

limitations: 

(1) The area on which this activity is being 

performed must maintain a slope that follows 

the pre-emergency slope as closely as possible 

so as not to endanger the public or hinder the 

public's use of the beach. All mechanically 

disturbed areas shall be graded smooth of ruts 

and spoil berms that are perpendicular to the 

shoreline. The movement of material utilizing a 

bulldozer, front-end loader, back hoe, scraper 

or any type of earth moving or construction 

equipment shall not exceed one foot in depth 

measured from the surface elevation; 

(2) The activity shall not exceed the lateral bounds 

of the applicant's property without written 

permission of adjoining landowners; 

(3) Movement of material from seaward of the 

mean low water line shall not be permitted 

under this exemption; 

(4) The activity shall not significantly increase 

erosion on neighboring properties and shall not 

have a significant adverse effect on natural or 

cultural resources; and 

(5) The activity may be undertaken to protect 

threatened on-site waste disposal systems as 

well as the threatened structure's foundations. 

(c)  Redistribution of sand that results from storm overwash or 

aeolian transport around buildings, pools, roads, parking areas and 

associated structures is considered maintenance so long as the 

sand remains within the Ocean Hazard AEC. Individuals 

proposing such activities shall consult with the Division of 

Coastal Management or the local permit officer to determine 

whether the proposed activity qualifies for the exclusion under 

G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(5). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(5); 

113A-118(a); 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1985; 

RRC Objection Eff. January 18, 1996 due to ambiguity; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; March 1, 1996. 

 

15A NCAC 07K .0208 SINGLE FAMILY RESIDENCES 

EXEMPTED 

(a)  All single family residences constructed within the Coastal 

Shorelines Area of Environmental Concern that are more than 40 

feet landward of normal high water or normal water level, and 

involve no land disturbing activity within the 40 feet buffer area 

are exempted from the CAMA permit requirement as long as this 

exemption is consistent with all other applicable CAMA permit 

standards and local land use plans and rules in effect at the time 

the exemption is granted. 

(b)  This exemption allows for the construction of a generally 

shore perpendicular access to the water, provided that the access 

shall be no wider than six feet. The access may be constructed out 

of materials such as wood, composite material, gravel, paver 

stones, concrete, brick, or similar materials. Any access 

constructed over wetlands shall be elevated at least three feet 

above any wetland substrate as measured from the bottom of the 

decking. 

(c)  Within the AEC for estuarine shorelines contiguous to waters 

classified as Outstanding Resource Waters (ORW), no CAMA 

permit shall be required if the proposed development is a 

single-family residence that has a built upon area of 25 percent or 

less and is at least 40 feet from waters classified as ORW. 

(d)  Before beginning any work under this exemption, the CAMA 

local permit officer or the Department of Environmental Quality 

representative shall be notified of the proposed activity to allow 

on-site review. Notification may be by telephone at (252) 808-

2808, in person, or in writing to the North Carolina Division of 

Coastal Management, 400 Commerce Ave., Morehead City, NC 

28557. Notification shall include: 

(1) the name, address, and telephone number of the 

landowner and the location of the work, 

including the county, nearest community, and 

water body; and 

(2) the dimensions of the proposed project, 

including proposed landscaping and the 

location of normal high water or normal water 

level. 

(e)  In eroding areas, this exemption shall apply only when the 

local permit officer has determined that the house has been located 
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the maximum feasible distance back on the lot but not less than 

forty feet. 

(f)  Construction of the structure authorized by this exemption 

shall be completed by December 31 of the third year of the 

issuance date of this exemption. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)c; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; May 1, 2015; December 1, 2006; 

December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990; October 1, 1989. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0830 INCORPORATION BY 

REFERENCE 

(a)  All Sections of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) cited 

in this Section are hereby incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments or additions, and may be obtained free of 

charge at https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/. 

(b)  US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and American 

Society for Testing Materials (ASTM) test methods and 

procedures, and other published standards referenced in this 

Section are hereby incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments or additions. 

(c)  Copies of all material incorporated by reference in this Section 

are available for inspection free of charge at the Department of 

Environmental Quality Division of Waste Management, Solid 

Waste Section, 217 West Jones Street, Raleigh, N.C. 27603 or the 

Division's website at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-

management.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. June 24, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0831 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the terms defined in G.S. 130A-290, as used in this 

Section the following terms are defined as follows:  

(1) "Agronomic rates" means those rates that 

provide the nitrogen and other nutrient needs of 

the crop based on available realistic yield 

expectations (RYE) established for a soil series 

through published Cooperative Extension 

Service bulletins, Natural Resources 

Conservation Service publications, or county 

soil surveys, but do not overload the soil with 

nutrients or other constituents that may 

eventually leach to groundwater, limit crop 

growth, or degrade soil quality. 

(2) "Annual septage application rate" means the 

maximum amount, in gallons, of septage that 

may be applied to a unit area of land during a 

365-day period. 

(3) "Land application" means the spraying or 

spreading of septage onto the land surface; the 

injection of septage below the land surface; or 

the incorporation of septage into the soil so that 

the septage conditions the soil or fertilizes crops 

or vegetation grown in the soil. 

(4) "Licensed Geologist" means licensed geologist 

as defined in G.S. 89E-3.  

(5) "Licensed Soil Scientist" means licensed soil 

scientist as defined in G.S. 89F-3. 

(6) "Nutrient Management Plan" means a plan to 

define the management requirements and 

nutrient needs of crops to be grown on a septage 

land application site, including the amount, 

sources, placement, and timing of nutrient 

applications to maximize the nutrient uptake of 

the crop. Plan implementation shall protect the 

environment and maintain crop productivity. 

(7) "Place of business" means place of business as 

defined in G.S. 130A-334.  

(8) "Place of public assembly" means place of 

public assembly as defined in G.S. 130A-334.  

(9) "Professional Engineer" means professional 

engineer as defined in G.S. 89C-3.  

(10) "Residence" means residence as defined in G.S. 

130A-334.  

(11) "Rock" means the consolidated or partially 

consolidated mineral matter or aggregate, 

including bedrock or weathered rock, not 

exhibiting the properties of soil. 

(12) "Seasonal High Water Table" or "SHWT" 

means the highest level of the saturated zone in 

the soil during a year with normal rainfall. 

SHWT may be determined in the field through 

identification of redoximorphic features in the 

soil profile, monitoring of the water table 

elevation, or modeling of predicted 

groundwater elevations.  

(13) "Septage Management Facility" means land, 

personnel, and equipment used in the 

management of septage, including septage 

management firms as defined in G.S. 130A-

290(a)(33), septage detention and treatment 

facilities, and septage land application sites. 

(14) "Soil" means the unconsolidated mineral and 

organic material of the land surface. It consists 

of sand, silt, and clay minerals and variable 

amounts of organic materials. 

(15) "Soil textural classes" means soil classification 

based upon size distribution of mineral particles 

in the fine-earth fraction less than two 

millimeters in diameter. The fine-earth fraction 

includes sand (2.0 – 0.05 mm in size), silt (0.05 

mm – 0.002 mm), and clay (less than 0.002 mm 

in size) particles. The specific textural classes 

shall be defined as follows: 

(a) "Sand" means soil material that 

contains 85 percent or more of sand; 

the percentage of silt plus 1.5 times the 

percentage of clay less than 15; 

(b) "Loamy sand" means soil material that 

contains 70 to 91 percent sand, and the 

percentage silt plus 1.5 times the 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2019 

1808 

percentage of clay is not less than 15, 

and the percentage of silt plus twice 

the percentage of clay is less than 30; 

(c) "Sandy loam" means soil material that 

contains either: 

(i) 7 to 20 percent clay, 52 

percent or more sand, and the 

percentage of silt plus twice 

the percentage of clay 

exceeds 30; or 

(ii) less than 7 percent clay, less 

than 50 percent silt, and more 

than 43 percent sand; 

(d) "Loam" means soil material that 

contains 7 to 27 percent clay, 28 to 50 

percent silt, and 52 percent or less 

sand; 

(e) "Silt loam" means soil material that 

contains either: 

(i) 50 percent or more silt and 12 

to 27 percent clay; or 

(ii) 50 to 80 percent silt and less 

than 12 percent clay; 

(f) "Silt" means soil material that contains 

80 percent or more silt and less than 12 

percent clay; 

(g) "Sandy clay loam" means soil material 

that contains 20 to 35 percent clay, less 

than 28 percent silt, and more than 45 

percent sand; 

(h) "Clay loam" means soil material that 

contains 27 to 40 percent clay and 20 

to 46 percent sand; 

(i) "Silty clay loam" means solid material 

that contains 27 to 40 percent clay and 

20 percent or less sand; 

(j) "Sandy clay" means soil material that 

contains 35 percent or more clay and 

45 percent or more sand; 

(k) "Silty clay" means soil material that 

contains 40 percent or more clay and 

40 percent or more silt; and 

(l) "Clay" means soil material that 

contains 45 percent or less sand and 

less than 40 percent silt. 

(16) "Treatment of septage" means the preparation 

of septage for final use or disposal. Treatment 

may include thickening, stabilization, and 

dewatering of septage. Treatment shall not 

include storage of septage. 

Definitions in 40 CFR 503.9(d), (g), (h), (j), (k), (l), (r), (t), (u), 

(v), (w), (bb), and in 40 CFR 503.11(a), (c), (d), (f), (g), (i), (k), 

(l), (m), (n) are incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

15A NCAC 13B .0832 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  General permitting requirements. 

(1) No person shall manage septage, or any part of 

septage, or operate a Septage Management 

Firm without first obtaining a permit from the 

Division as required under G.S. 130A-291.1(c); 

(2) The permit requirement of G.S. 130A-291.1(c) 

applies to persons who remove septage, and 

other waste materials or spent media from 

wastewater systems permitted by the 

Department of Health and Human Services, 

under the authority of Article 11, Chapter 130A 

of the North Carolina General Statutes; 

(3) The permit requirement of G.S. 130A-291.1(c) 

applies to persons who manage septage 

generated from properties that they own, lease, 

or manage as part of a business, such as mobile 

homes, mobile home parks, restaurants, and 

other residential and commercial property; 

(4) The Division may deny a permit application in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-295.3(c); 

(5) The Division may require an applicant to 

demonstrate substantial compliance in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-294(b2)(2); 

(6) Permits issued in accordance with this Section 

shall be followed; 

(7) Where specified in this Section, permit 

applications or specific portions of applications 

shall be prepared in accordance with Rule 

.0202(a)(3) of this Subchapter; and 

(8) Initial septage land application site and 

detention and treatment facility permits shall be 

valid for one year. Subsequent permits shall be 

valid for five years. The Division may issue a 

subsequent permit for less than five years based 

on any of the following factors:  

(A) the duration of the landowner 

authorization or wastewater treatment 

plant authorization; 

(B) the compliance history of the operator; 

(C) if any of the information for the permit 

application was received after the due 

date; or 

(D) to allow the due date for a subsequent 

permit application to be the same date 

as the septage firm permit application 

due date. 

(b)  Portable sanitation permitting provisions. 

(1) A mobile or modular office that meets the 

criteria of G.S. 130A-291.2 shall be considered 

a chemical or portable toilet as defined in G.S. 

130A-290(a)(1c). A storage tank at a mobile or 

modular office shall not release septage onto 

the ground. The owner and the lessee of the 

mobile or modular office shall be considered to 

be the responsible parties and shall be subject to 

the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(2) No person shall rent or lease portable toilet(s) 

or contract or subcontract to rent or lease 
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portable toilet(s) to another person or manage 

or dispose of waste from portable toilet(s), 

regardless of ownership of the toilet(s), unless 

that person is permitted to operate a septage 

management firm. 

(3) Placement of a chemical or portable toilet as 

defined in G.S. 130A-290(a)(1c) for potential 

use in North Carolina shall be considered 

operation of a septage management firm that 

requires a permit. 

(c)  Recreational vehicle waste provisions. 

(1) Domestic septage from a recreational vehicle 

shall be managed in accordance with this 

Section or shall flow directly into a wastewater 

treatment system permitted by the Department 

of Environmental Quality.  

(2) Wastewater from recreational vehicles that are 

tied down, blocked up, or that are not relocated, 

and that are not connected to an approved 

wastewater system shall be managed in 

accordance with Article 11, Chapter 130A of 

the NC General Statutes. 

(3) Recreational vehicle dump stations that do not 

discharge directly to a wastewater treatment 

system permitted by the Department of 

Environmental Quality shall be permitted as a 

septage detention and treatment facility in 

accordance with Rule .0837 of this Section. 

(d)  Alternate septage management method limitations. 

(1) Grease septage, or any part of grease septage, 

shall not be introduced or reintroduced into a 

grease trap, interceptor, separator, or other 

appurtenance used for the purpose of removing 

cooking oils, fats, grease, and food debris from 

the waste flow generated from food handling, 

preparation, and cleanup unless the Division 

has received written approval from the 

wastewater treatment plant operator or the 

onsite wastewater system permitting authority 

that reintroduction is acceptable. 

(2) Septage, or any part of septage, shall not be 

reintroduced into an onsite wastewater system 

unless approved pursuant to G.S. 130A-343(c). 

(3) Septage, or any part of septage, shall not be 

placed in containers at restaurants designated 

for yellow grease. 

(4) Septage, or any part of septage, shall not be 

disposed of in a municipal solid waste landfill 

unless the waste passes the Paint Filter Liquids 

Test as defined by EPA S.W. 846 Test Method 

9095B which can be accessed at no cost at 

https://www.epa.gov/hw-sw846, and the 

landfill receiving the waste has provided the 

Division written documentation that the 

specific material will be accepted. 

(5) Septage, or any part of septage, shall not be 

disposed of in a dumpster unless the waste 

passes the Paint Filter Liquids Test and the 

landfill receiving the waste is a permitted 

municipal solid waste landfill, in accordance 

with Section .1600 of this Subchapter.  

(6) Septage, or any part of septage, managed 

through subsurface disposal shall be considered 

a treatment facility and shall require a permit in 

accordance with this Section and G.S. 130A-

343. 

(7) Facilities receiving septage, or any part of 

septage, for composting shall be permitted in 

accordance with Section .1400 of this 

Subchapter. 

(e)  All training to meet the requirements of G.S. 130A-291.3(a) 

and (b) shall be pre-approved by the Division. Approval by the 

Division shall be based on whether the training is in accordance 

with the rules in this Section. 

(f)  Waste from holding tanks not otherwise addressed in this 

Section, and from wastewater systems pumped more often than 

every 30 days, shall not be considered domestic septage and shall 

not be land applied at a permitted septage land application site. 

(g)  Inspection and entry. The permit holder of a septage 

management firm or facility shall allow a representative of the 

Division to: 

(1) enter the permit holder's premises where a 

regulated facility or activity is located or 

conducted; 

(2) access and copy any records required in 

accordance with this Section or conditions of 

the permit; 

(3) inspect any facilities, equipment (including 

monitoring and control equipment), practices, 

or operations regulated by the Division; 

(4) sample or monitor for the purposes of assuring 

permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 

by the Federal Clean Water Act or the North 

Carolina Solid Waste Management Act, any 

substances, parameters, or soils at any location; 

and 

(5) photograph for the purpose of documenting 

times of compliance or noncompliance at 

septage management facilities or to require the 

permit holder to make such photos for the 

Division. 

(h)  Washings from the interior of septage handling containers 

such as pump trucks shall be managed as septage.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 130A-291.2; 130A-

295.3(c); 130A-335; 

Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0833 PERMIT FEES 

(a)  Every septage management firm shall pay an annual permit 

fee by January 1 of each year in accordance with G.S. 130A-

291.1(e) or (e1), unless the firm notifies the Division prior to 

January 1 that the firm will not operate during the next year. Fees 

shall be paid to the Division of Waste Management, Solid Waste 

Section, 1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1646.  
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(b)  Annual fees are not pro-rated and shall not be refunded or 

credited to a subsequent year. 

(c)  Failure to apply for permit renewal or failure to pay the permit 

fee by January 1 shall result in assessment of a late fee in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-291.1(e2). Failure to pay the 

appropriate fees within 45 days after January 1 shall result in an 

additional administrative penalty pursuant to G.S. 130A-22(a) of 

ten dollars ($10.00) per day for each day thereafter that the fees 

are not paid. 

(d)  Annual permit renewal, including fee payment, shall be the 

responsibility of the operator of the septage management firm. If 

the operator did not receive annual permit renewal forms, it shall 

not be a defense to assessment of late fees. 

(e)  A food service facility that is permitted to operate a septage 

detention facility in accordance with Rules .0834 and .0837 of this 

Section and that has paid the fee specified in G.S. 130A-291.1(e1) 

shall be allowed to empty their own grease interceptors, 

separators, traps, or other appurtenances used for the purpose of 

removing cooking oils, fats, grease, and food debris from the 

waste flow generated from food handling, preparation, and 

cleanup, that have a volume of 25 gallons or less, into the 

permitted detention facility. The permitted facility shall be 

constructed and located in accordance with the requirements of 

Rule .0838 of this Section and emptied at least quarterly by a 

permitted septage management firm. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Recodified from 15A NCAC 

13B .0834). 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0834 SEPTAGE MANAGEMENT 

FIRM PERMITS 

(a)  Septage management firm names shall be distinguishable 

upon the records of the Division from the name of other septage 

management firms, limited liability companies, non-profit 

corporations, business corporations, limited partnerships, sole 

proprietors, general partners, and limited liability partnerships 

operating in North Carolina. Naming preference shall be given to 

companies that are listed as incorporated with the NC Secretary 

of State's office. 

(b)  A person who has not operated a septage management firm 

during the previous calendar year shall obtain four hours of new 

operator training from the Division prior to receiving a permit to 

operate a septage management firm. 

(c)  To apply for a permit, a person proposing to operate a septage 

management firm shall submit the following information to the 

Division by January 1 of each year: 

(1) owner's name, address, and phone number; 

(2) business name, address, and phone number; 

(3) operator name, address, and phone number, if 

different from owner; 

(4) permit number, if existing firm; 

(5) type(s) of septage handled, and the quantity 

pumped the previous 12 months, if in operation; 

(6) number of pumper trucks; 

(7) capacity and type of septage handled by each 

pumper truck; 

(8) vehicle license and serial numbers of each 

pumper truck; 

(9) counties in which the firm operates; 

(10) disposal method(s) for septage; 

(11) permit number for each septage land 

application site to be used; 

(12) permit number for each septage detention and 

treatment facility to be used; 

(13) any other information that the Division may 

request that is pertinent to the operation of a 

septage management firm if it is necessary to 

determine compliance with the rules of this 

Section; 

(14) written authorization on official letterhead or a 

notarized wastewater treatment plant 

authorization form shall be submitted from an 

individual responsible for the operation of each 

wastewater treatment plant used for disposal 

indicating: 

(A) type(s) of septage that may be 

discharged at the plant; 

(B) where septage, including grease 

septage, may be discharged at the 

plant or in the collection system; 

(C) geographic area from which septage 

will be accepted; and 

(D) duration of authorization; 

(15) the appropriate annual permit fee in accordance 

with G.S. 130A-291.1(e); and 

(16) the date, location, number of hours, and 

provider of annual septage management firm 

training required in accordance with G.S. 

130A-291.3(a). 

(d)  Persons that operate a septage land application site or a 

septage treatment and detention facility, but do not pump septage, 

shall submit the following information to the Division by January 

1 of each year to apply for a permit: 

(1) facility name, address, phone number, and 

county; 

(2) owner's name, address, and phone number; 

(3) operator name, address, and phone number, if 

different from owner; 

(4) permit number, if existing firm; 

(5) type(s) of septage managed; 

(6) facility types and their permit numbers; 

(7) the name and permit number of all permitted 

septage management firms using the facility; 

(8) the date, location, number of hours, and 

provider of annual training in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-291.3(b); and 

(9) the appropriate annual permit fee in accordance 

with G.S. 130A-291.1(e1). 

(e)  A septage management firm permit shall not be issued unless 

the applicant has submitted to the Division written documentation 

of authorized access to dispose or otherwise manage septage, or 

any part of septage, at a wastewater treatment plant, a permitted 

septage land application site, a permitted septage treatment 

facility, or other permitted solid waste management facility. 
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Documentation from each plant, site, or other facility shall include 

the types and amount of septage that may be discharged. 

(f)  Septage management firm permits shall not be issued until all 

parts of the application have been completed. 

(g)  Prior to the issuance of a septage management firm permit to 

firms that pump septage, all pumper trucks for the firm shall be 

inspected and approved by the Division for compliance with Rule 

.0835 of this Section.  

(h)  Permits shall not be transferable. 

(i)  Septage management firm permits issued on or after January 

1 shall be effective until December 31 of that calendar year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. November 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Recodified from 15A NCAC 

13B .0833). 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0835 TRANSPORTATION OF 

SEPTAGE 

(a)  Vehicles used for the transportation of septage shall be 

operated and maintained to prevent leaks and spills of septage and 

shall comply with the following: 

(1) all tanks shall be constructed of metal and 

affixed to the truck bed with permanent fixtures 

such as bolts;  

(2) all valves shall be in working order and be 

closed during transportation; 

(3) all access ports shall have lids in good repair in 

accordance with manufacturer specifications 

and sealed during transportation; 

(4) portable toilet pump units that slide into pickup 

truck beds shall be bolted to the trucks in 

accordance with manufacturer specifications; 

(5) boats used to pump or transport septage shall be 

United States Coast Guard approved or 

construction plans shall be available indicating 

that the specific craft is stable in the water when 

fully loaded with septage, and if required by 

G.S. 89C, a professional engineer shall prepare 

these documents; and 

(6) tanks that are mounted on trailers for the 

pumping or transportation of septage shall meet 

all applicable State and federal requirements for 

highway use. 

(b)  All permitted septage management firms shall display 

lettering on each side of every pumper vehicle operated by the 

firm. The lettering shall include the firm name, town name, phone 

number, and septage management firm permit number as shown 

on the firm application. All lettering required by this Rule on the 

pumper vehicle shall be no less than three inches in height and 

legible, distinguishable from the background, and not obstructed 

from view. Identification shall not be removable (i.e. no magnetic 

signs).  

(c)  Applicants for septage management firm permits that were 

not permitted in the previous calendar year shall have each pump 

truck inspected prior to the Division's issuance of a permit. 

(d)  Septage to be discharged at a wastewater treatment plant or 

any part of the collection system for that plant shall be handled in 

accordance with the plant rules and policies. 

(e)  All vehicles used in the transportation of septage, including 

spare vehicles and tankers, shall meet the requirements of this 

Section and be included in the permit application. 

(f)  Vehicles used in the transportation of septage, that are listed 

on an approved septage management firm permit application, may 

remain loaded or partially loaded on land owned by the septage 

management firm for up to seven days without obtaining a permit 

for a detention or treatment facility. Such vehicles shall comply 

with this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Recodified from 15A NCAC 

13B .0844). 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0836 RECORD KEEPING FOR 

SEPTAGE MANAGEMENT FIRMS 

(a)  Each permit holder shall maintain a log that includes the 

following information for each septage pumping event: 

(1) the date, type, quantity, and location of septage 

pumped; the location for tanks shall be a street 

address and the location for portable toilets 

shall be a route; and 

(2) location of the discharge of the septage. 

(b)  A septage management firm shall make all records, 

documents, or logs required in accordance with this Section or 

conditions of the permit available for review by the Division at 

the time and place of an inspection of the firm's septage pumper 

truck(s) or upon the Division's request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Recodified 15A NCAC 13B 

.0839). 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0837 SEPTAGE DETENTION AND 

TREATMENT FACILITY PERMITS 

(a)  No person shall establish, or allow to be established upon any 

real property owned, operated, leased, or controlled by that 

person, a septage detention and treatment facility, unless a permit 

has been obtained from the Division or the facility is operating in 

accordance with a NPDES permit issued by the NC Division of 

Water Resources.  

(b)  Septage detention and treatment facilities shall be designed, 

located, constructed, and operated in accordance with the 

standards specified in Rule .0838 of this Section. 

(c)  To apply for a permit to operate a septage detention facility 

the applicant shall submit the following information to the 

Division: 

(1) name, address, and phone number of 

(A) the applicant; 

(B) the landowner or the landowner's legal 

representative in control of the site; 

and 

(C) the proposed operator; 

(2) location of the facility; 

(3) vicinity map or county road map showing the 

site location; 

(4) types of septage to be stored or treated; 
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(5) a description of the facility including the size, 

number, and type of structures to be used at the 

site and construction materials to be used; 

(6) an explanation of the methods for discharge 

into and removal from the detention or 

treatment facility, the methods for treating leaks 

or spills at the site, and methods for odor 

control; 

(7) septage land application site permit number and 

the name of any wastewater treatment plant(s) 

where the septage will be disposed; 

(8) written documentation of approved locations to 

manage any solid or liquid wastes generated at 

a treatment facility; 

(9) an aerial photograph, extending for a distance 

of at least 1,000 feet in all directions from the 

site property lines;  

(10) written authorization to operate a septage 

detention or treatment facility signed by each 

landowner (if other than the permit holder) or 

the landowner's legal representative;  

(11) any other information that the Division may 

request that is pertinent to the suitability of the 

proposed facility if it is necessary to determine 

compliance with this Section; and 

(12) an approval letter from the unit of local 

government having zoning authority over the 

area where the facility is to be located, stating 

that the proposed facility meets all of the 

requirements of the local zoning ordinance, or 

that the site is not zoned. 

(d)  Treatment of septage shall include aerobic or anaerobic 

digestion, dewatering or thickening, pressing, centrifuging, the 

use of organisms or enzymes, and pathogen reduction methods or 

vector attraction reduction methods other than lime stabilization.  

(e)  To apply for a permit to operate a septage treatment facility, 

plans and specifications shall be submitted. If required by G.S. 

89C, a professional engineer shall prepare these documents. The 

plans shall include the information set forth in Paragraph (c) of 

this Rule and the following:  

(1) site plan at a scale appropriate to show the detail 

of the facility, but in no case greater than 100 

feet per inch; 

(2) engineering plans for the entire system, 

including treatment, storage, and disposal 

equipment, and containment structures; 

(3) drawings that shall be at a scale appropriate to 

show pumps, tanks, valves, controls, meters, 

pipes, and other items critical to the operation 

of the facility. As-built drawings shall be 

submitted if the facility construction is not 

consistent with the initial drawings; 

(4) an operation and maintenance manual signed by 

the applicant outlining information and 

instruction on how the facility is to be operated, 

equipment maintenance, minimization of 

odors, required safety and personnel training, 

and an outline of reports to be submitted to the 

Division. Contingency plans shall be included 

to address at least equipment failure, human 

error, inclement weather, and spill and leak 

cleanup;  

(5) a quality assurance plan signed by the applicant 

for the process and final product if treatment 

involves meeting pathogen reduction or vector 

attraction reduction standards. 

(6) compliance history for the facility showing no 

unresolved violations of Federal, State, or local 

laws, rules, regulations, or ordinances; and 

(7) certification that the construction of the 

treatment facility is complete and consistent 

with the plans submitted in accordance with this 

Paragraph; 

[Note: The North Carolina Board of Examiners for Engineers and 

Surveyors has determined, via letter and resolution dated March 

11, 2010, that preparation of engineering design documents 

pursuant to this Paragraph constitutes practicing engineering 

under G.S. 89C.] 

(f)  A permit to operate a new septage detention and treatment 

facility shall not be issued until the proposed site has been 

approved by the Division. Approval by the Division shall be based 

on whether the facility is in accordance with the rules of this 

Section. 

(g)  Operation of a new septage detention or a new septage 

treatment facility shall not commence until the facility has been 

inspected by the Division and found to be consistent with the 

permit application. 

(h)  A permit to operate a treatment facility shall not be issued 

until the facility has been inspected by the Division and found to 

be consistent with the permit application and operation has been 

found to be consistent with the operation and maintenance 

manual. 

(i)  Application packages for permit renewals for septage 

treatment facilities shall include: 

(1) updated drawings, if there are changes to the 

facility;  

(2) updated site plans, if there are changes to the 

initial site plan;  

(3) updated operation and maintenance manual, if 

there are changes to the operation and 

maintenance manual; and 

(4) updated quality assurance plan, if there are 

changes to the quality assurance plan.  

(j)  Engineering plans and specifications for marina detention 

tanks that do not meet the minimum setbacks in Rule .0838(m) of 

this Section or are located below grade shall be submitted. If 

required by G.S. 89C, a professional engineer shall prepare these 

documents. The facilities shall be certified to be constructed in 

substantial compliance with the plans and specifications 

submitted in accordance with this Rule. If required by G.S. 89C, 

a professional engineer shall certify this compliance. [Note: The 

North Carolina Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors 

has determined, via letter and resolution dated March 11, 2010, 

that preparation of engineering design documents pursuant to this 

Paragraph constitutes practicing engineering under G.S. 89C.] 

(k)  Parts of detention and treatment facilities located below grade 

and lagoons shall be certified to be constructed in substantial 

compliance with the plans and specifications submitted in 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2019 

1813 

accordance with this Rule. If required by G.S. 89C, a professional 

engineer shall certify this compliance. [Note: The North Carolina 

Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors has determined, 

via letter and resolution dated March 11, 2010, that preparation of 

engineering design documents pursuant to this Paragraph 

constitutes practicing engineering under G.S. 89C.] 

(l)  Applications shall be submitted to the Division of Waste 

Management, Solid Waste Section, 1646 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh NC 27699-1646. Applications for permits will not be 

reviewed until all parts of the application have been completed 

and submitted to the Division. 

(m)  Applications for renewal permits shall be submitted to the 

Division at least 90 days prior to the expiration of the permit. The 

Division shall notify permit holders of facility permit expiration 

dates 120 days prior to permit expiration. 

(n)  Applications for renewal permits submitted in accordance 

with Paragraphs (i) and (m) of this Rule and applications for 

permit modifications shall not be required to resubmit the 

information required in Subparagraphs (c)(3) and (9), and 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule unless changes are made in those plans. 

(o)  Septage detention and treatment facility permits shall not be 

transferable. 

(p)  Permit duration shall be in accordance with Rule .0832(a)(8) 

of this Section. 

(q)  Applications for permit modifications shall be required for the 

following changes:  

(1) property ownership; 

(2) treatment methods; 

(3) types of septage to be stored or treated; or 

(4) size and number of treatment or storage 

structures. 

(r)  Applications for facilities that do not meet the standards set 

forth in this Section shall be denied. 

(s)  An application requesting reduced setbacks in accordance 

with Rule .0838(m)(7) of this Section shall include a letter from 

the appropriate local zoning office approving proposed reduced 

setbacks. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. April 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Recodified from 15A NCAC 

13B .0836). 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0838 STANDARDS FOR SEPTAGE 

DETENTION AND TREATMENT FACILITIES  

(a)  Septage detention facilities used to meet the requirements of 

Rule .0842(a)(19) of this Section shall have a minimum size equal 

to two percent of the maximum annual application rate. The 

Division shall increase the minimum size requirement for any 

increase in the maximum annual application rate or if it is 

demonstrated during site operation that this volume is inadequate 

or if specific site considerations would warrant such increases. 

The Division shall notify the owner or operator of the facility of 

the increase. This Paragraph does not limit the maximum capacity 

of a septage detention facility.  

(b)  Each site shall have an all weather access road.  

(c)  Septage treatment and detention facility containers shall be 

constructed of steel, concrete, plastic, or fiberglass; and shall be 

free of evidence of damage or weakness such as holes or cracks 

that may allow the escape of septage. 

If required by G.S. 89C, plans and specifications for proposed 

containers constructed of materials not specifically addressed in 

this Rule shall be prepared by a professional engineer. [Note: The 

North Carolina Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors, 

has determined, via letter and resolution dated March 11, 2010, 

that certification of documents pursuant to this Paragraph 

constitutes practicing engineering, under G.S. 89C.] 

(d)  A septage treatment and detention facility permit holder and 

operator shall be responsible for the actions of any septage 

management firm that uses the detention or treatment facility. 

(e)  Each detention and treatment facility shall be designed, 

constructed, and maintained to: 

(1) prevent leaks or the flow of septage out of the 

facility into the seasonally high water table, 

onto the ground surface, or into any surface 

waters; 

(2) minimize the attraction or admittance of 

vectors; and 

(3) prevent unauthorized entry into septage 

containers or lagoons. 

(f)  Septage detention and treatment facilities located below grade 

shall: 

(1) be constructed in substantial compliance with 

the plans and specifications prior to any waste 

being introduced into the system. If required by 

G.S. 89C, a professional engineer shall certify 

this compliance. [Note: The North Carolina 

Board of Examiners for Engineers and 

Surveyors, has determined, via letter and 

resolution dated March 11, 2010, that 

certification of documents pursuant to this 

Paragraph constitutes practicing engineering, 

under G.S. 89C.]; 

(2) be constructed to a traffic rated standard or 

protected from vehicular traffic; and 

(3) not be constructed of used metal tanks. Used 

metal tanks may be located beside a wall or 

embankment for gravity access as long as the 

entirety of the tank is visible. 

(g)  The permit holder of a septage treatment or detention facility 

shall minimize odors from the facility at the property boundary. 

(h)  The Division may require that groundwater monitoring wells 

or a leak detection system be installed around treatment or 

detention systems for protection of public health and the 

environment if there is evidence of a leaking tank. 

(i)  The area around tanks shall be free of debris and vegetation to 

allow for access and inspection for a distance of 5 feet. 

(j)  Septage shall be transferred to and from a detention system in 

a manner that prevents leaks or spills of septage onto the ground 

surface or exterior surface of the detention system, including 

septage in pipes used for transferring waste to and from vehicles. 

(k)  Access roads or paths crossing or leading to the facility shall 

be posted with "NO TRESPASSING" signs. 

(l)  Requirements for lined lagoons: 

(1) Lined lagoons shall be permitted only at sites 

where the construction and use of a lagoon does 

not jeopardize the public health or environment. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2019 

1814 

(2) Portions of lined lagoons located below grade 

shall be in substantial compliance with the 

plans and specifications prior to any waste 

being introduced into the system. If required by 

G.S. 89C, a professional engineer shall certify 

this compliance. [Note: The North Carolina 

Board of Examiners for Engineers and 

Surveyors, has determined, via letter and 

resolution dated March 11, 2010, that 

certification of documents pursuant to this 

Paragraph constitutes practicing engineering, 

under G.S. 89C.]; 

(3) Only lagoons designed, constructed and 

inspected in accordance with accepted 

engineering principles providing for the 

protection of the underlying groundwater will 

be considered for use in a septage treatment or 

detention system. If required by G.S. 89C, a 

professional engineer shall certify that the 

construction was completed in substantial 

compliance with the plans and specifications 

prior to any waste being introduced into the 

system. [Note: The North Carolina Board of 

Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors, has 

determined, via letter and resolution dated 

March 11, 2010, that certification of documents 

pursuant to this Paragraph constitutes 

practicing engineering under G.S. 89C.] 

(4) Liners shall be a minimum of 12 inches of clay 

compacted to a maximum permeability of 10 – 7 

cm/sec or equivalent synthetic liner. 

(5) Synthetic liners shall have a minimum 

thickness of 30 mils. A synthetic liner shall 

have a demonstrated water vapor transmission 

rate of not more than 0.03 gm/m2/day. Liner 

material and any seaming materials shall have 

chemical and physical resistance not adversely 

affected by environmental exposure or waste 

placement. 

(6) Clay liners with a permeability more than 10– 7 

cm/sec may be used in conjunction with a 

synthetic liner to meet the maximum 

permeability of 10– 7 cm/sec or equivalent. 

(7) The surface of the supporting soil on which the 

liner will be installed shall be free of stones, 

organic matter, protrusions, loose soil, and any 

abrupt changes in grade that could affect the 

integrity of the liner. 

(8) Lagoons shall be designed and maintained to 

have adequate storage to handle the additional 

water from a 25-year storm. 

(9) Lagoons shall be protected from entry by 

unauthorized individuals by fencing or other 

means. 

(m)  Septage detention and treatment facilities shall adhere to the 

following minimum setback requirements: 

(1) residence, place of business, except septage 

firm business, or place of public assembly – 100 

feet; 

(2) well or water supply spring – 100 feet; 

(3) surface waters – 100 feet; 

(4) property lines – 50 feet; 

(5) facilities permitted after April 1, 2010 shall not 

be located in the 100-year flood plain hazard 

area; 

(6) soil wetness, as determined in of Rule 

.0841(a)(3)(A) of this Section – 12 inches; 

(7) setbacks in Subparagraphs (1) and (4) of this 

Paragraph may be in accordance with local 

zoning ordinances if located in areas zoned for 

industrial use; 

(8) setbacks in Subparagraphs (1) through (4) of 

this Paragraph shall be increased 100% for 

lagoons; and 

(9) accurate property line location shall be the 

responsibility of the site operator. 

(n)  At the time of initial permitting, septage detention and 

treatment facilities shall observe the minimum setback distances 

specified in this Rule. Minimum setbacks shall be maintained 

throughout the life of the facility only on land owned, operated, 

or controlled by the permittee or by the landowner(s) at the time 

of initial permitting. Any sale, lease, or other conveyance of land 

by the permittee, or by the landowner(s) if different from the 

permittee, subsequent to the initial permitting of the facility shall 

include restrictions to ensure continued maintenance of the 

setbacks. 

(o)  The setbacks in Subparagraph (m)(1) through (4) of this Rule 

shall be increased for storage facilities with a capacity in excess 

of 25,000 gallons permitted after April 1, 2010 to prevent offsite 

contamination from major spills, or 100% containment shall be 

provided. Increased setbacks shall be twice the minimum distance 

as indicated in Subparagraph (m)(1) through (4) of this Rule, 

unless the permitted volume and the proximity to residences, 

wells or water supply springs, surface waters, or property lines 

dictate a reduced setback determined by the Division on a case-

by-case basis.  

(p)  Storage containers for individual restaurants shall be: 

(1) located above grade and protected from 

vehicular traffic; 

(2) kept free of grease on the exterior surface of the 

container and the ground surface, maintained to 

be impervious to flies, and shall not attract 

vectors;  

(3) placed at a location and acceptable to and 

determined by the local health department and 

the NC Department of Health and Human 

Services; and 

(4) no greater than 200 gallons in size. 

(q)  Setbacks for detention tanks at marinas may be reduced for 

storage capacity of 2000 gallons or less when the facility is 

designed to prevent leaks or spills or has containment equaling 

100% of the storage volume plus rainfall from a 25-year storm 

event. Setbacks shall in no case be less than what is approved by 

applicable local government, State, or federal laws or rules. 

(r)  Permit holders of all septage detention and treatment facilities 

shall have all records required in accordance with this Section 

available for review during inspections by the Division or upon 

the Division's request.  
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(s)  Septage shall not be stored or treated at a new septage 

treatment or detention facility until a representative of the 

Division has inspected the facility to determine compliance with 

these Rules and consistency with the permit application and all 

permit conditions. 

(t)  Septage detention and treatment facility closure shall include: 

(1) a written notification of cease of operations 

submitted to the Division that shall include the 

permit number, the date of cease of operations, 

and the signature of the operator;  

(2) all liquids and solids, resulting from septage 

detention or treatment, removed from all 

portions of the facility and managed or disposed 

at an approved facility; and 

(3) all parts of the facility removed from property 

under separate ownership, unless all 

landowners provide the Division with written 

documentation that the facility may remain at 

the site. 

(u)  Record keeping for detention facilities that receive septage 

from more than one septage management firm shall include: 

(1) the date that the septage is received at and 

removed from the facility; 

(2) name of the septage management firm that 

delivered the septage; 

(3) type and amount, in gallons, of septage 

received; and 

(4) where septage is discharged. 

(v)  Record keeping for treatment facilities shall include: 

(1) date septage is received at the facility; 

(2) name of the septage management firm that 

delivered the septage; 

(3) type and amount, in gallons, of septage 

received; 

(4) date processed material(s) is removed from the 

facility; 

(5) type and amount, in tons or gallons, of material 

removed from the facility; and 

(6) management methods for each type of material 

removed by the facility.  

(w)  Alarms shall be required to detect high liquid levels, leaks 

and spills, or system operation parameters at detention or 

treatment facilities when the location, design, capacity, or 

operational complexities of the facility warrant the additional 

safety precautions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. April 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Recodified from 15A NCAC 

13B .0841). 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0839 INNOVATIVE OR 

ALTERNATIVE TREATMENT OR STORAGE 

METHODS 

(a)  Applications for permits for innovative or alternative 

treatment, storage, or land application methods that do not fit the 

criteria outlined in this Section shall be reviewed in accordance 

with G.S. 130A-291.1(i). 

(b)  Applications shall include:  

(1) the information required in Rule .0837(c) of this 

Section; 

(2) an operation and maintenance manual 

consistent with the requirements of Rule 

.0837(e)(4) of this Section;  

(3) means of demonstrating that the proposed 

method of treatment or storage will meet the 

appropriate standards for vector attraction 

reduction and pathogen reduction in this 

Section; and 

(4) testing methods and schedule to document 

Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph. 

If required by G.S. 89C, a professional engineer shall prepare 

these documents. [Note: The North Carolina Board of Examiners 

for Engineers and Surveyors has determined, via letter dated 

March 11, 2010, that preparation of engineering design 

documents for alternative treatment methods that do not fit the 

criteria outlined in this Section constitutes practicing engineering 

under G.S. 89C.] 

(c)  Innovative or alternative design criteria shall be approved in 

cases where the applicant can demonstrate that the alternative 

design criteria will provide the following: 

(1) equal or better treatment of the waste; 

(2) equal or better protection of the waters of the 

state; and 

(3) no increased potential for nuisance conditions 

from noise, odor, or vermin. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. April 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Recodified from 15A NCAC 

13B .0842). 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0840 SEPTAGE LAND APPLICATION 

SITE PERMITS 

(a)  No person shall establish, or allow to be established upon any 

real property owned, operated, leased, or controlled by that 

person, a septage management facility to treat, manage, store, or 

dispose of septage, or any component of septage, unless a permit 

has been obtained from the Division. Septage shall not be 

disposed of by trenching or burial. 

(b)  Any person that has not operated as a septage land application 

site during the previous calendar year shall receive at least three 

hours of new land application site operator training from the 

Division prior to receiving a permit to operate a septage land 

application site. 

(c)  To apply for a permit for a septage land application site, the 

following information shall be submitted to the Division: 

(1) name, address, and phone number of: 

(A) the applicant; 

(B) the landowner or the landowner's legal 

representative in control of the site; 

and 

(C) the proposed operator; 

(2) location of the site; 

(3) written authorization to operate a septage land 

application site signed by each landowner (if 

other than the permit holder) or the landowner's 

legal representative; 
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(4) types of septage and the proposed annual 

volume of each type of septage proposed for 

land application per acre, based on the nutrient 

management plan submitted in accordance with 

Subparagraph (c)(12) of this Rule;  

(5) substances other than septage previously 

disposed of at this location, and the amounts of 

those substances; 

(6) aerial photography extending for a distance of 

at least 2500 feet in all directions from the site, 

with site property boundaries depicted;  

(7) alternative plan for the detention or disposal of 

septage, during conditions that cause the site to 

be unavailable for use, such as adverse weather 

conditions; 

(8) treatment method for each type of septage to be 

discharged and the permit number of any 

treatment facilities; 

(9) vicinity map (county road map) showing the 

site location; 

(10) a written report that documents compliance 

with Rule .0841 of this Section including:  

(A) a representative soils analysis such as 

the Standard Soil Fertility Analysis, 

conducted within the last six months, 

on each proposed field of each 

proposed land application site. The 

representative soils analysis shall 

include acidity, base saturation (by 

calculation), calcium, cation exchange 

capacity, exchangeable sodium 

percentage (by calculation), 

magnesium, manganese, percent 

humic matter, pH, phosphorus, 

potassium, and sodium, and may 

include additional analyses; 

(B) a total metal analysis for each 

proposed field shall be conducted for 

arsenic, cadmium, copper, lead, 

nickel, selenium, and zinc. A North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture & 

Consumer Services (NCDA & CS) 

mehlich-3 extraction shall be an 

acceptable substitute for a total metal 

analysis. Mercury shall be sampled if 

the applicant proposes to land apply 

domestic or industrial or commercial 

treatment plant septage, or if 

warranted by previous site use; 

(C) field description of soil profile(s), 

based on examinations of excavation 

pits and auger borings, within four feet 

of the land surface or to bedrock 

describing the following parameters 

by individual diagnostic horizons: 

thickness of the horizon; texture; color 

and other diagnostic features; 

structure; internal drainage; depth, 

thickness, and type of restrictive 

horizon(s); and presence or absence 

and depth of evidence of any seasonal 

high water table. Applicants may be 

required to dig pits when necessary for 

evaluation of the soils at the site; 

(D) a soil map delineating major soil 

mapping units within each proposed 

land application site and showing all 

physical features, location of pits and 

auger borings, setbacks required in 

accordance with this Section, legends, 

scale, and a north arrow; 

(E) if the annual application rate is 

proposed to exceed 125,000 gallons 

per acre per year, field descriptions to 

a depth of six feet shall be required; 

and 

(F) Global Positioning System (GPS) data 

compatible with the Division's 

datalogger shall be provided for 

proposed sites 30 acres or more in size. 

If required by G.S. 89F, G.S. 89C, and G.S. 

89E, a licensed soil scientist, professional 

engineer, or licensed geologist shall prepare 

these documents. [Note: The North Carolina 

Board of Licensing of Soil Scientists, Board of 

Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors, and 

the Board of Licensing of Geologists has 

determined, via letters dated November 16, 

2009, March 11, 2010, and January 7, 2010, 

that preparation of documents pursuant to this 

Paragraph constitutes soil science, practicing 

engineering, or geology under G.S. 89F, G.S. 

89C, and G.S. 89E.] 

(11) applicants proposing to land apply 200,000 

gallons per acre per year or more shall provide 

a plan for monitoring soil moisture levels and 

the depth to seasonal wetness to determine 

when land application may occur without 

impacting groundwater or hydraulic 

overloading. The plan shall include 

recommendations concerning annual and 

instantaneous loading rates of liquids, solids, 

other wastewater constituents, and amendments 

based on in-situ measurement of saturated 

hydraulic conductivity in the most restrictive 

horizon. If required by G.S. 89C, G.S. 89F, and 

G.S. 89E, a professional engineer, licensed soil 

scientist, or licensed geologist shall prepare 

these documents. [Note: The North Carolina 

Board of Examiners for Engineers and 

Surveyors, Board of Licensing of Soil 

Scientists, and the Board of Licensing of 

Geologists has determined, via letters dated 

March 11, 2010, November 16, 2009, and 

January 7, 2010, that preparation of documents 

pursuant to this Paragraph constitutes 

practicing engineering, soil science, or geology 

under G.S. 89C, G.S. 89F, and G.S. 89E.] 
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(12) a nutrient management plan prepared by an 

environmental professional that shall include 

the following:  

(A) crops that will be planted on the site, 

including cover crops, and where each 

crop will be planted. Crop planting 

locations shall be depicted on an aerial 

photograph or on a plat map;  

(B) nitrogen needs of the crops based on 

the realistic yield expectations for the 

soils on the site, and crop management 

practices proposed; 

(C) crop stand density required to meet the 

realistic yield expectations for the 

proposed crop; 

(D) approximate crop planting times and 

the seeding or sprigging rates for crops 

to be established; 

(E) crop harvest frequency appropriate for 

the proposed realistic yield 

expectations and nitrogen needs, and 

approximate crop harvest times; 

(F) approximate monthly discharge rate to 

match the nitrogen needs and potential 

uptake of the crop; 

(G) sites proposed to receive more than 

50,000 gallons per acre per year of 

domestic or industrial or commercial 

treatment plant septage, or domestic or 

grease septage that has been treated to 

remove solids, fats, oils, and grease 

shall include nitrogen carry over when 

determining annual application rates; 

(H) weed control recommendations; 

(I) crop use or removal; 

(J) results from at least four samples of 

treated septage if the application is 

proposing an increased application 

rate for the land application of septage 

treated to reduce nutrients; and 

(K) the signature of the site operator.  

For the purposes of this Rule, an environmental 

professional means a person who has received 

a post-secondary degree from a college or 

university and has training and experience in or 

related to agronomic principles utilized to 

manage wastewater. Preparation by an 

environmental professional shall not be 

required for nutrient management plans for 

renewal applications that do not contain 

changes that would affect nutrient uptake. 

(13) application rates for sites proposed to receive 

treated septage shall be determined based on the 

most limiting nutrient; 

(14) erosion and runoff management plan showing: 

(A) buffer locations and widths based on 

the direction and amount of slope 

adjacent to the land application site; 

(B) vegetation type and stand density in 

the buffer areas; and 

(C) buffer maintenance fertility 

requirements. 

(15) proposed land application method; 

(16) proposed distribution plan if required in 

Paragraph (e) of Rule .0841 of this Section; 

(17) sites proposing to use spray irrigation as a land 

application method shall include: 

(A) the location of all fixed irrigation 

heads or the location of traveling gun 

irrigation lanes; 

(B) irrigation head spacing and traveling 

gun lane spacing shall be determined 

based on standards in NC Cooperative 

Extension Documents AG-553-6 and 

AG-553-7 which are hereby 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and 

additions;  

(C) the size of all spray nozzles; 

(D) system operating pressure at the 

irrigation head; 

(E) calculation of the wettable acres vs. 

permitted acreage; 

(F) calibration methods and frequency; 

and 

(G) irrigation system operation and 

maintenance plan. 

(18) documentation from the Department of Natural 

and Cultural Resources that the land application 

site complies with Rule .0841(g) of this Section 

if any part of the site specified for land 

application is not agricultural land; 

(19) the date, location, number of hours, and 

provider of annual septage land application site 

operator training required in accordance with 

G.S. 130A-291.3(b); 

(20) any other information that the Division may 

request that is pertinent to the suitability of the 

proposed site if it is necessary to determine 

compliance with this Section; 

(21) an applicant who proposes to land apply 

septage on a public contact site, shall provide 

the Division evidence of public notice and the 

applicant shall have completed the Land 

Application of Residuals Course and maintain 

a Land Application of Residuals Certificate 

issued by the Department of Environmental 

Quality;  

(22) an applicant who proposes to land apply 

industrial or commercial treatment plant 

septage or domestic treatment plant septage 

shall have completed the Land Application of 

Residuals Course and maintain a Land 

Application of Residuals Certificate issued by 

the Department of Environmental Quality;  

(23) an applicant who proposes to land apply 

septage in excess of 50,000 gallons per acre per 
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year shall provide the Division with evidence of 

public notice which shall at a minimum be 

publication with a local news organization, and 

shall have completed the Land Application of 

Residuals Course and maintain a Land 

Application of Residuals Certificate issued by 

the Department of Environmental Quality; and  

(24) an approval letter from the unit of local 

government having zoning authority over the 

area where the facility is to be located stating 

that the proposed facility meets all of the 

requirements of the local zoning ordinance, or 

that the site is not zoned. 

(d)  The Division shall not issue a permit to land apply septage at 

a rate in excess of 50,000 gallons per acre per year or a permit to 

land apply domestic treatment plant septage or industrial or 

commercial treatment plant septage until the applicant has 

operated a septage land application site in accordance with this 

Section for at least a 12 month period. 

(e)  Applications for permits issued in accordance with this Rule 

shall be submitted to the Division of Waste Management, Solid 

Waste Section, 1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-

1646. Applications for permits will not be reviewed until all parts 

of the application have been completed and submitted to the 

Division. 

(f)  Applications for permits that do not meet the standards in 

accordance with this Section shall be denied. 

(g)  Applications for renewal permits issued in accordance with 

this Rule shall be submitted to the Division at least 90 days prior 

to the expiration date of the permit. The Division shall notify 

permit holders of facility permit expiration dates 120 days prior 

to permit expiration. 

(h)  Applications for permit modification shall be required for the 

following changes: 

(1) permitted area or field boundaries; 

(2) property ownership; 

(3) annual application rates; 

(4) receiver crop; or 

(5) types of septage discharged. 

(i)  Applications for renewal permits submitted in accordance with 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule and applications for permit 

modifications shall not be required to resubmit the information 

required in Subparagraphs (c)(6), (8), (9), (10), (16), (17), and 

(18) unless changes are made in those plans. 

(j)  Septage land application site permits shall not be transferable. 

(k)  Permit duration shall be in accordance with Rule .0832(a)(8) 

of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. April 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Recodified from 15A NCAC 

13B .0835). 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0841 LOCATION OF SEPTAGE LAND 

APPLICATION SITES 

(a)  Soil characteristics (Morphology) that shall be evaluated are 

as follows: 

(1) Texture – The relative proportions of the sand, 

silt, and clay sized mineral particles in the fine-

earth fraction of the soil are referred to as soil 

texture. The texture of the different horizons of 

soils shall be classified into three general 

groups and 12 soil textural classes based upon 

the relative proportions of sand, silt, and clay 

sized mineral particles. 

(A) Soil Group I – Sandy Texture Soils: 

The sandy group includes the sand and 

loamy sand textural classes. 

(B) Soil Group II – Coarse Loamy and 

Fine Loamy Texture Soils: The coarse 

loamy and fine loamy group includes 

sandy loam, loam, silt, silt loam, sandy 

clay loam, clay loam, and silty clay 

loam textural classes. 

(C) Soil Group III – Clayey Texture Soils: 

The clayey group includes sandy clay, 

silty clay, and clay textural classes. 

(2) The soil textural class shall be determined in the 

field by hand texturing samples of each soil 

horizon in the soil profile using the following 

criteria: 

(A) Sand: Sand has a gritty feel, does not 

stain the fingers, and does not form a 

ribbon or ball when wet or moist; 

(B) Loamy Sand: Loamy sand has a gritty 

feel, stains the fingers, forms a weak 

ball, and cannot be handled without 

breaking; 

(C) Sandy Loam: Sandy loam has a gritty 

feel and forms a ball that can be picked 

up with the fingers and handled with 

care without breaking; 

(D) Loam: Loam may have a slightly gritty 

feel but does not show a fingerprint 

and forms only short ribbons of from 

0.25 inch to 0.50 inch in length. Loam 

forms a ball that can be handled 

without breaking; 

(E) Silt Loam: Silt loam has a floury feel 

when moist and shows a fingerprint 

but does not form a ribbon and forms 

only a weak ball; 

(F) Silt: Silt has a floury feel when moist 

and sticky when wet but does not form 

a ribbon and forms a ball that tolerates 

some handling; 

(G) Sandy Clay Loam: Sandy clay loam 

has a gritty feel but contains enough 

clay to form a firm ball and may form 

ribbons from 0.75 inch to one-inch 

long pieces; 

(H) Silty Clay Loam: Silty clay loam is 

sticky when moist and forms a ribbon 

from one to two inches. Rubbing silty 

clay loam with the thumbnail produces 

a moderate sheen. Silty clay loam 

produces a distinct fingerprint; 
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(I) Clay Loam: Clay loam is sticky when 

moist. Clay loam forms a thin ribbon 

of one to two inches in length and 

produces a slight sheen when rubbed 

with the thumbnail. Clay loam 

produces a nondistinct fingerprint; 

(J) Sandy Clay: Sandy clay is plastic, 

gritty, and sticky when moist and 

forms a firm ball and produces a thin 

ribbon over two inches in length; 

(K) Silty Clay: Silty clay is both plastic 

and sticky when moist and lacks gritty 

feeling. Silty clay forms a ball and 

ribbons to over two inches in length; 

(L) Clay: Clay is both sticky and plastic 

when moist, produces a thin ribbon 

over two inches in length, produces a 

high sheen when rubbed with the 

thumbnail, and forms a strong ball 

resistant to breaking; 

(M) The Division shall allow laboratory 

determination of the soil textural class 

as defined in this Section by particle-

size analysis of the fine-earth fraction 

(less than 2.0 mm in size) using the 

sand, silt, and clay particle sizes as 

defined in this Section for field testing 

when conducted in accordance with 

ASTM standard test methods D6913 

for sieve analysis or D7928 for 

hydrometer analysis.  

(3) Wetness Condition: 

(A) Soil wetness conditions caused by a 

seasonal high water table, perched 

water table, tidal water, or seasonally 

saturated soils shall be determined by 

observation of common soil mottles of 

colors of chroma 2 or less, using the 

Munsell color chart, in mottle or a 

solid mass. If drainage modifications 

have been made, the soil wetness 

conditions may be determined by 

direct observation of the water surface 

in monitoring wells during periods of 

typically high water elevations. 

However, colors of chroma 2 or less 

that are relic from minerals of the 

parent material shall not be considered 

indicative of a soil wetness condition. 

(B) Soils that do not meet the required 

depths to a soil wetness condition as 

set forth in Subparagraphs (4) – (7) of 

this Paragraph shall be considered 

unsuitable and septage shall not be 

applied, unless the required depths 

may be maintained. Water table 

monitoring wells may be utilized to 

determine the actual depth to a soil 

wetness condition. The Division may 

limit discharges to certain months 

where soil wetness conditions are 

marginal for use. 

(C) The required depth to a soil wetness 

condition is determined by the Soil 

Group Textural Classification, as set 

forth in Subparagraphs (4) – (7) of this 

Paragraph. 

(4) Soil Group I soil shall be considered suitable 

where soil wetness conditions are deeper than 

36 inches below the point of septage application 

or incorporation. 

(5) Soil Group II soils shall be considered suitable 

where soil wetness conditions are deeper than 

24 inches below the point of septage application 

or incorporation. 

(6) Soil Group III soils shall be considered suitable 

where soil wetness conditions are deeper than 

18 inches below the point of septage application 

or incorporation. 

(7) Depth to rock: soil depth shall be considered 

suitable where depth to rock is deeper than 24 

inches below the point of septage application or 

incorporation or deeper than 18 inches if the 

septage is pretreated to accomplish pathogen 

reduction and surface applied over vegetation. 

(8) Mine reclamation sites shall be considered on a 

case-by-case basis, based on compliance with 

the Rules of this Section, the previous use of the 

mine, and the current condition of the mine. 

(b)  Septage land application sites shall not be located in the 

watershed of a Class WS-I stream. New septage land application 

sites shall not be located in the water quality critical area of Class 

WS-II, WS-III, or WS-IV streams or reservoirs. This prohibition 

shall not apply to those portions of a water supply watershed that 

are drained by Class B or Class C streams. 

(c)  At the time of initial permitting, septage land application sites 

shall observe the minimum setback distances specified in this 

Rule. Minimum setbacks shall be maintained throughout the life 

of the site only on land owned, operated, or controlled by the 

permittee or by the landowner(s) at the time of initial permitting. 

Any sale, lease, or other conveyance of land by the permittee, or 

by the landowner(s) if different from the permittee, subsequent to 

the initial permitting of the site shall include restrictions to ensure 

continued maintenance of the setbacks.  

(d)  All septage disposal sites shall be located at least the 

minimum distance specified for the following: 

(1) residence: 

(A) not occupied by the applicant – 500 

feet;  

(B) occupied by the applicant – 100 feet; 

(2) place of business, other than the septage 

management firm's office or related buildings, 

or place of public assembly – 500 feet; 

(3) well or water supply spring – 500 feet; 

(4) surface waters – stream classification shall be 

determined in accordance with 15A NCAC 02B 

.0301 through .0317 Assignment of Stream 

Classifications; 
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(5) fresh waters: 

(A) Class WS-I, Class WS-II, or Class 

WS-III streams – 300 feet; 

(B) Class B stream – 300 feet; 

(C) Class C stream – 200 feet;  

(D) other streams and bodies of water – 

200 feet; 

(6) tidal salt waters: 

(A) Class SA or Class SB – 300 feet from 

mean high water mark;  

(B) Class SC and other coastal waters – 

200 feet from mean high water mark;  

(7) supplemental classifications: 

(A) trout waters and swim waters – 200 

feet;  

(B) nutrient sensitive waters and 

outstanding resource waters – 300 

feet;  

(8) groundwater lowering ditches and devices – 

100 feet; 

(9) adjoining property under separate ownership or 

control – 50 feet; 

(10) public road right of ways – 100 feet; 

(11) food crops – 50 feet; 

(12) wetlands – 50 feet; 

(13) woods line – five feet, unless greater distance is 

required as part of an erosion and runoff control 

plan; 

(14) land application site on the same tract of land, 

permitted to a different operator – 100 feet; and 

(15) setbacks in Subparagraphs (d)(3), (4), (5), (6), 

(7), and (8) of this Rule may be reduced 50 

percent when septage is pretreated to 

accomplish pathogen reduction and when the 

land within the setback area is in permanent, 

established grass with at least 95 percent cover 

or when the setback area is in forest with a 

continuous canopy and a 95 percent forest litter 

cover. Accurate property line locations shall be 

the responsibility of the site operator. 

(e)  Septage land application sites less than five acres in size, 

individual fields of a site less than two acres in size, and sites with 

complex soil patterns or unusual shapes shall be permitted only if 

the applicant demonstrates to the Division that the site will be 

managed for crop production and that septage will be applied with 

uniform distribution over the entire permitted application area.  

(f)  Septage land application sites shall not be located where the 

slope of the land is greater than 12 percent unless all of the 

conditions of this Paragraph are met: 

(1) the site is in permanent, established grass with 

at least 95 percent cover or is in forest with a 

continuous canopy and a 95 percent forest litter 

cover; 

(2) the erosion and runoff management plans 

submitted to the Division in accordance with 

Rule .0840(c)(14) of this Section shall indicate 

the following: 

(A) management practices and discharge 

methods that will be used to reduce the 

potential for run-off from the site and 

allow for the uniform distribution of 

septage over the entire permitted 

application area; and 

(B) location of potential surface water 

monitoring devices upslope and 

downslope from the area proposed to 

be permitted and identification of 

sampling methods. Monitoring may be 

required if there is an indication that 

septage is entering surface waters. 

(3) The Division may increase setbacks or decrease 

application rates for the protection of surface 

waters; and 

(4) no site shall include slopes in excess of 25 

percent. 

(g)  A new septage land application site shall not jeopardize the 

continued existence of threatened or endangered species or result 

in the destruction or adverse modification of a critical habitat 

protected under the Federal Endangered Species Act of 1973. 

Agricultural land shall not be considered potential habitat. 

(h)  Septage, or any part of septage, treated to meet the standard 

for Class A sewage sludge in accordance with the federal 

regulations for pathogen reduction and vector attraction reduction 

in 40 CFR Part 503, Subpart D, may be permitted by the Division 

for application to a public contact site, home lawns and gardens, 

or to be sold or given away in a bag or other container, provided 

it can be demonstrated that pollutant limits in 40 CFR 

503.13(b)(3) Table 3 Pollutant Concentrations are not exceeded. 

Persons who prepare the septage, and persons who derive material 

from the septage, shall comply with the applicable record keeping 

requirements in 40 CFR 503.17(a)(1), (2) or (6). Documentation 

and certification by the operator that the treatment method meets 

the Class A standard shall be available to the Division upon 

request. All treatment methods and facilities shall obtain a permit 

from the Division in accordance with Rule .0837 of this Section.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Recodified from 15A NCAC 

13B .0837). 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0842 MANAGEMENT OF SEPTAGE 

LAND APPLICATION SITES 

(a)  General requirements for septage land application sites shall 

include the following: 

(1) only domestic septage, as defined in G.S. 130A-

290, shall be land applied or otherwise placed 

on a septage land application site, unless 

specified in the permit; 

(2) each site shall be posted with visible and legible 

"NO TRESPASSING" signs. All access roads 

or paths crossing or leading to the disposal area 

shall be posted "NO TRESPASSING" and a 

visible and legible sign stating "SEPTAGE 

LAND APPLICATION SITE" shall be 

maintained at each entrance to the land 

application area; 

(3) each site shall have an all weather access road; 
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(4) no hazardous wastes shall be permitted on the 

site; 

(5) no site shall be permitted for land application of 

industrial or commercial septage unless the 

applicant demonstrates to the Division that the 

strength of the organic and inorganic 

components of the septage is within the normal 

range for domestic septage; 

(6) treatment plant septage generated by the 

operation of a wastewater system permitted 

under Article 11 of Chapter 130A may be land 

applied at a septage land application site 

permitted under this Section; 

(7) septage shall be applied to the surface of the 

land from a moving vehicle to have no standing 

liquid or soil disturbance resulting from the 

waste flow after the discharge is complete; 

(8) septage shall not be applied to a site if any 

liquid is ponded on the site or if the site is 

flooded, frozen, or snow covered; 

(9) septage shall not be applied to a site if the 

application method will result in ruts greater 

than three inches in the soil surface; 

(10) disposal area boundaries shall be marked on the 

ground while a site or any portion of a site is in 

use. Markers shall be of adequate height and 

spacing such that they are visible and 

distinguishable from the surrounding landscape 

for determining the disposal boundaries when 

the site is in use; 

(11) all septage discharges shall be made at a 

location on the site consistent with the nutrient 

management plan; 

(12) all septage discharges, including aerial drift 

from discharges, shall be made within the 

permitted boundaries of the land application 

site; 

(13) land application of septage shall be limited to a 

maximum daily hydraulic application rate of 

one acre inch; 

(14) grease septage shall be diluted at least 1:1 from 

its concentration when pumped with domestic 

septage or water if land applied over perennial 

vegetation. This dilution shall be increased if 

crop damage occurs. This dilution requirement 

shall not apply to the liquid portion of grease 

septage that has been treated to remove solids, 

fats, oils, and grease as long as crop damage 

does not occur; 

(15) solids resulting from septage treatment shall not 

be land applied unless the solids are treated to 

meet pathogen reduction and vector attraction 

reduction requirements in 40 CFR 503, and the 

permittee has demonstrated to the Division that 

the solids will be land applied with uniform 

distribution over the entire permitted 

application area at agronomic rates with 

standard agricultural spreading equipment; 

(16) the site shall be managed to minimize soil 

erosion and surface water runoff. Appropriate 

soil and water management practices shall be 

implemented and maintained in accordance 

with the erosion and run-off management plan 

submitted in accordance with Rule .0840(c)(14) 

of this Section. All water control structures 

shall be designed, installed, and maintained to 

control the run-off resulting from a 10-year 

storm; 

(17) approved nutrient management plans shall be 

followed; 

(18) land application sites or portions of land 

application sites that do not follow the approved 

nutrient management plan shall not be used for 

land application until brought into compliance 

with the nutrient management plan; 

(19) land application sites permitted for the 

management of grease septage, or commercial 

or industrial septage, shall have a septage 

detention facility available, of adequate size to 

meet the requirement of Subparagraph (a)(14) 

of this Rule; and 

(20) a septage land application site permit holder or 

operator is responsible for the actions of any 

septage management firm that the permit holder 

or operator allows to use his or her land 

application site. 

(b)  Maximum land application rates for septage shall be 

determined based upon the following: 

(1) domestic septage land application rates shall be 

in accordance with 40 CFR 503.12(c); 

(2) land application of domestic treatment plant 

septage shall not exceed the rate in 40 CFR 

503.14(d); 

(3) pollutant limits for regulated metals in 40 CFR 

503.13 shall not be exceeded for any type of 

septage; 

(4) grease septage shall be land applied at a rate 

that is equal to or less than the agronomic rate, 

but in no case shall the application of untreated 

grease septage exceed 25,000 gallons per acre 

per year; 

(5) sites permitted for the land application of grease 

septage shall meet the requirements of 40 CFR 

257.3-5; 

(6) land application rates for septage treated to 

reduce solids, nutrients, or pollutants shall be 

determined based on the analysis of the treated 

material; 

(7) at least four analyses of treated liquid shall be 

required prior to receiving an adjusted land 

application rate. Additional samples may be 

required for inconsistent analysis results;  

(8) each analysis shall include nitrogen panel, 

phosphorus, potassium, soluble salts, pH, and 

regulated metals except mercury, calcium, 

manganese, magnesium, iron, sulfur, boron and 

chlorine; 
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(9) after an adjusted land application rate is 

approved, sampling shall be required every 60 

days for the initial 12 months of operation; 

(10) after the initial 12 months, wastes with 

consistent sample results shall be sampled 

quarterly; and 

(11) land application rates for industrial or 

commercial septage, or commercial or 

industrial treatment plant septage shall be 

determined as specified in Subparagraphs 

(b)(1) and (b)(2) of this Rule unless testing 

determines that a lower rate is necessary due to 

other non-domestic pollutants. 

(c)  Septage treatment standards: 

(1) domestic septage shall be treated in accordance 

with the requirements in 40 CFR 503 D 

(including Appendix A and B) except that 

503.33(b)(11) is not incorporated; 

(2) grease septage, treated grease septage, 

industrial or commercial treatment plant 

septage, and industrial or commercial septage 

shall be treated in accordance with 40 CFR 

257.3-6 or treated by an equivalent or more 

stringent process in 40 CFR 503 D; 

(3) grease septage, or any part of grease septage, 

mixed with domestic septage shall be treated as 

grease septage; and 

(4) domestic treatment plant septage shall be 

treated to meet the pathogen reduction and the 

vector attraction reduction requirements in 40 

CFR 503 D. 

(d)  No one other than the permit holder shall land apply septage 

at a permitted site unless approved in writing by the Division. The 

permit holder shall submit a written request and written 

authorization from the landowner(s), if different from the permit 

holder. The request shall include the name of the firm requesting 

approval and the type and amount of septage proposed to be 

discharged. The Division may approve the request if the land 

application activity, the permit holder, and the firm requesting 

approval to land apply are in compliance with rules of this 

Section. 

(e)  Permit holders of septage land application sites shall develop 

and maintain records and reports to demonstrate compliance with 

this Section and the permit requirements of each site. 

(1) permit holders of sites receiving septage shall 

maintain a log which meets the requirements of 

40 CFR 503.17(b); 

(2) permit holders of all septage land application 

sites shall have all records and certifications 

and test results required in accordance with this 

Section available for review during inspections 

by the Division or upon the Division's request; 

and 

(3) the permit holder of a site where more than one 

septage management firm has been authorized 

by the Division to discharge septage shall 

submit a monthly report to the Division that 

shall include the following information for each 

discharge: the date and quantity of each 

discharge, the type of septage discharged, and 

the name of the septage management firm 

discharging. 

(f)  Septage shall not be land applied at a new septage land 

application site until a representative of the Division has inspected 

the site to determine compliance with these rules and consistency 

with the permit application and all permit conditions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Recodified from 15A NCAC 

13B .0838). 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0843 SAMPLING AND ANALYSIS 

(a)  Monitoring or sample collection, handling, and analysis 

required by this Section and all costs involved shall be the 

responsibility of the septage management firm permit holder. 

(b)  The permit holder of a septage land application site shall 

obtain representative soil samples once every two years from each 

field, as designated in permit, during the last quarter of the 

calendar year. 

(c)  Soil samples shall be analyzed for cation exchange capacity, 

pH, phosphorus, potassium, calcium, manganese, magnesium, 

zinc, and copper. If the results for zinc analysis are equal to or 

above 30 pounds per acre or the results for copper analysis are 

equal to or above 35 pounds per acre, analysis for the metals listed 

in Rule .0840(c)(10)(B) of this Section shall be required. Sites 

permitted to receive septage other than domestic septage shall be 

analyzed for cadmium to determine compliance with 40 CFR 

257.3-5. 

(d)  Domestic septage and grease septage shall be monitored in 

accordance with 40 CFR 503.16(b). 

(e)  Domestic treatment plant septage proposed to be land applied 

at a permitted septage land application site shall be sampled 

before the initial application, and annually thereafter, prior to 

being removed from a treatment facility. Samples shall be 

analyzed for: 

(1) Metals listed in 40 CFR 503.13; and 

(2) Total solids, pH, ammonia, nitrates, total 

kjeldahl nitrogen (TKN), biochemical oxygen 

demand (BOD), chemical oxygen demand 

(COD), total phosphorus, potassium, sodium, 

and magnesium. 

(f)  Industrial or commercial septage proposed to be land applied 

at a permitted septage land application site shall be sampled prior 

to being removed from a wastewater system. Analytical results 

shall be submitted to the Division prior to the issuance of a permit 

or approval to land apply the septage. Samples shall be analyzed 

for: 

(1) Metals listed in 40 CFR 503.13; 

(2) Total solids, pH, ammonia, nitrates, TKN, 

BOD, COD, total phosphorus, potassium, 

sodium, and magnesium; and 

(3) Organic chemicals, using a complete EPA Test 

Method 1311 Toxicity Characteristic Leaching 

Procedure or other appropriate analysis, such as 

EPA Test Method 8260 Volatile Organic 

Compounds by Gas Chromatography/Mass 

Spectrometry or 8270 Semivolatile Organic 
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Compounds by Gas Chromatography/Mass 

Spectrometry, unless an examination of the 

industrial process and the material used 

indicates less extensive analysis is acceptable. 

(g)  Sample analysis required by this Section shall be performed 

either by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services laboratory or by a laboratory certified by the 

North Carolina Division of Water Resources for waste analysis. 

Analysis for inorganic constituents shall be conducted in 

accordance with 40 CFR 503.8. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Recodified from 15A NCAC 

13B .0840). 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0844 LAND APPLICATION SITE 

LAND USE AND SITE CLOSURE 

(a)  Upon closure of a land application site permitted in 

accordance with this Section, the site shall meet the site restriction 

requirements set forth in 40 CFR 503.32(c)(1).  

(b)  Nursery and horticultural products, trees and other forest 

products, such as pine straw and pine bark, shall not be harvested 

or gathered for 30 days after septage application. 

(c)  Public access is to be controlled in accordance with 40 CFR 

503.32(c)(1).  

(d)  The permit holder or operator of the site shall submit a written 

notification to the Division at least 30 days prior to final closure 

of a septage land application site in order to schedule a site 

inspection for determination of compliance with this Section. The 

notification shall include the permit number, the date of cease of 

operations, and the signature of the operator. 

(e)  Prior to final closure, the soil pH of the site shall be raised to 

6.5, unless the fertility requirements for crops to be grown in the 

following year dictate less. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Recodified from 15A NCAC 

13B .0843). 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0845 REVOCATION OF PERMITS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 13B .0846 APPEALS 

Appeals shall be made in accordance with G.S. 150B, Article 3. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-291.1; 

Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0143 THE SALE OF SURPLUS LANDS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(2); 136-19; 143B-

350(f),(g); 150B-21.3A; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; February 1, 

1988; November 1, 1982; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0145 COPIES OF FORMS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(2); 136-19; 

143B-350(f),(g); 150B-21.3A; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0202 DEFINITIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18; 136-20; 136-45; 

136-66.1; 150B-21.3A; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0208 UNIFORM TRAFFIC CONTROL 

DEVICES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-158; 20-169; 136-18(5); 

136-30; 150B-21.3A; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; January 1, 1986; 

April 3, 1981; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0240 CHANNELIZATION FOR 

ENTRANCES AND EXITS TO PROPERTY 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0316 PERSONAL PROPERTY NOT 

TO BE ACQUIRED 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(2); 136-19; 

143B-350(f),(g); 150B-21.3A; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Transferred and Recodified from 19A NCAC 2B .0124 Eff. 

October 1, 1993; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0432 RELOCATION ASSISTANCE 

The Department of Transportation incorporates by reference 49 

CFR Subpart 24 and 23 CFR Subpart C, Section 710.313, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies are 

available for inspection at no cost to the public, from the Right of 
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Way Unit of the Department of Transportation. The Code of 

Federal Regulations may be accessed, at no cost to the public, by 

visiting https://www.ecfr.gov. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 133-6; 133-14; 143B-350; 

Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0433 APPLICABILITY 

The rules in this Section shall apply to all federal and State 

Highway projects, except State secondary road projects. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 133-6; 133-14; 143B-350; 

Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0507 EXECUTION OF UTILITY 

AGREEMENT 

(a)  This Rule specifies the attestation requirements for utility 

encroachment agreements between the Department and external 

parties. All applicable rules regarding utility encroachment 

agreements may be found in this Section. 

(b)  If the applicant as defined in Rule .0501 of this Section is a 

corporation or a municipality, the agreement shall have the 

corporate seal and be attested by the corporate secretary, or by the 

empowered city official, unless a waiver of corporate seal and 

attestation by the corporate secretary, or by the empowered city 

official, is on file in the office of the State Utilities Manager, 

located at 1000 Birch Ridge Drive, Raleigh, NC 27610. Within 

each agreement, in the space provided for execution, the name of 

the corporation or municipality shall be typed above the signature, 

and the name and title of all persons signing the agreement shall 

be typed directly below their signature. 

(c)  If the applicant is not a corporation, the signature shall be 

witnessed by one other person. The address of the applicant shall 

be included in the agreement and the names of all witnesses and 

persons signing the agreement shall be typed directly below their 

signature. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(10); 136-93; 

Eff. April 3, 1981; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0102 MINIMUM SIZE OF SURFACE 

DRAINAGE PIPELINE 

All installation of pipe for surface drainage purposes on the State 

Highway System right of way shall be a minimum diameter of 

12". 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(1); 136-92; 136-93; 

156-88; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1984; April 3, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0104 GUIDELINES - CURB RAMPS 

(a)  Guidelines for the design and construction of curb ramps are 

available from the Division of Highways, 1 S. Wilmington Street, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27601, (919) 707-2500. 

(b)  The party or parties cutting an existing curb or constructing a 

new curb shall ensure that all work is in compliance with all 

applicable laws.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-44.14(c); 

Legislative Objection (a) Lodged Eff. August 19, 1980; 

Legislative Objection (a) Removed Eff. April 23, 1981; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; April 3, 1981; April 11, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0415 GENERAL REGULATIONS FOR 

DRAWBRIDGES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 150B-21.3A; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; April 1, 1999; August 1, 1998; 

January 1, 1996; November 1, 1993; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0413 PARADES ON HIGHWAY 

SYSTEM ROADS 

It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, organization, school, or 

other group of persons to conduct or participate in a parade on any 

street or highway of the State Highway System located outside the 

limits of a municipality. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0414 PARKING VEHICLE FOR SALE 

OR DISTRIBUTION OF GOODS 

It shall be unlawful to sell any fruits, vegetables, goods, wares, or 

merchandise of any character from a vehicle, stand, or structure, 

or from any place on the right-of-way of any primary or secondary 

highway, or road of the State Highway System. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0415 ADVERTISING SIGNS WITHIN 

RIGHT-OF-WAY 

It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to erect, 

place, or allow any advertising, or other sign, except regulation 

traffic and warning signs approved by the Department, on any 

highway or the right-of-way thereof, or so as to overhang the 

right-of-way, or to permit the erection or placing of any 

advertising or other sign, as herein prohibited, on any highway 

right-of-way which is situated over any land owned, rented, 

leased, or claimed by such person, firm, or corporation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(10); 136-30; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 
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Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0416 PRIVATE DRIVES OR ROADS 

INTERSECTING HIGHWAYS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to intersect the State highways with any 

private driveway or roadway, unless approved by the Department 

of Transportation, and provided by the party responsible for the 

private driveway or roadway. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to obstruct any drainage ditch within the 

right-of-way of any road or State highway. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(10); 136-93; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0417 COMMERCIAL ENTRANCES 

INTERSECTING WITH RIGHT-OF-WAY 

It shall be unlawful to revise or construct any commercial 

entrances to intersect with the right-of-way of any primary or 

secondary highway, or road of the State Highway System, unless 

a permit has first been obtained from the Department of 

Transportation, or its duly authorized officers and employees, in 

accordance with the rules contained in 19A NCAC 2B, Section 

.0600, titled "Driveway Entrances". 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(10); 136-93; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0422 USE OF RUNAWAY TRUCK 

RAMPS 

It shall be unlawful for any operator of a motor vehicle, 

non-motorized vehicle, moped, bicycle, or any pedestrian or any 

person having custody or control of any animal or animal powered 

vehicle to park on, stand upon, obstruct, or otherwise use any 

runaway truck ramp, as designated by signs, except to bring an 

out-of-control vehicle to a halt.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 

Eff. August 10, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 06N .0101 FEES, ACCESS TO FORMS, AND 

RENEWALS 

(a)  The Board charges the following amounts for the fees 

authorized by G.S. 86A-25: 

(1) Certificate of registration or renewal as a barber

 $50.00 

(2) Certificate of registration or renewal as an 

apprentice barber $50.00 

(3) Barbershop permit or renewal $50.00 

(4) Examination to become a registered barber

 $85.00 

(5) Examination to become a registered apprentice 

barber $85.00 

(6) Late fee for restoration of an expired barber 

certificate within first year after expiration

 $35.00 

(7) Late fee for restoration of an expired barber 

certificate after first year after expiration but 

within five years after expiration $70.00 

(8) Late fee for restoration of an expired apprentice 

certificate within the first year after expiration  

 $35.00 

(9) Late fee for restoration of an expired apprentice 

certificate after first year after expiration but 

within three years of first issuance of the 

certificate $45.00 

(10) Late fee for restoration of an expired barber 

shop certificate $45.00 

(11) Examination to become a barber school 

instructor $165.00 

(12) Student permit $25.00 

(13) Issuance of any duplicate copy of a license, 

certificate, or permit $10.00 

(14) Barber school permit or renewal $130.00 

(15) Late fee for restoration of an expired barber 

school certificate $85.00 

(16) Barber school instructor certificate or renewal

 $85.00 

(17) Late fee for restoration of an expired barber 

school instructor certificate within first year 

after expiration $45.00 

(18) Late fee for restoration of an expired barber 

school instructor certificate after first year after 

expiration but within three years after 

expiration $85.00 

(19) Inspection of newly established barbershop

 $120.00 

(20) Inspection of newly established barber school

 $220.00 

(21) Issuance of a registered barber or apprentice 

certificate by certification $120.00 

(22) Charge for certified copies of public documents 

$10.00 for first page, $0.25 per page thereafter 

(23) Charge for duplication services and material 

shall be as set forth in 26 NCAC 01 .0103(a), 

including any subsequent amendments and 

editions of the Rule 

(24) Certificate of registration or renewal as a barber 

for barbers over 70 years of age $0.00 

(25) Administrative fee under G.S. 86A-27(d) for 

paying any required fee for renewal or 

restoration, or a civil penalty and attorney fee, 

where the apprentice barber or registered barber 

is subject to a pick-up order issued to an 

inspector. $70.00 

(b)  Except as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, if an applicant 

is unable to attend an examination, he or she may request a refund 

of the fee. To request the refund, the applicant shall submit a 
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written request to the address listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102 at 

least 10 days before the scheduled examination. 

(c)  If an applicant submits a request for a refund of examination 

fees later than 10 days before the scheduled examination, the 

Board shall consider the request on a case-by-case basis and only 

grant the request if the applicant demonstrates good cause for not 

complying with Paragraph (b) of this Rule. For the purpose of this 

Rule, "good cause" means that the applicant could not have 

submitted the written request as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule due to circumstances such as illness, injury, or death in the 

family. 

(d)  In the event the Board's authority to expend funds is 

suspended pursuant to G.S. 93B-2, the Board shall continue to 

issue and renew licenses and all fees tendered shall be placed in 

the escrow account maintained by the Board for this purpose. 

(e)  The forms set forth in this Subchapter may be obtained on the 

website or at the address listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102. 

(f)  All timely renewals of licenses, permits, or certificates of 

registration shall be submitted online at the Board's website, along 

with any fees required by this Rule. 

(g)  Barber school permits shall be exempt from the online 

renewal requirement in Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(h)  Registered barbers, apprentice barbers, barber instructors, or 

barber shops that are unable to comply with the online 

requirement of Paragraph (f) of this Rule may submit the renewal 

and payment by mail or in person after receiving a waiver from 

the Board. This waiver shall be effective only for one renewal 

period. The Board shall issue a waiver within five business days 

after receiving the following: 

(1) For registered barbers, apprentice barbers, or 

barber instructors, a statement from the holder 

of the license, permit, or certificate of 

registration that the individual is not able to 

renew online; or 

(2) For barber shops, a statement from the manager 

or owner that neither the manager nor owner are 

able to renew online. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-5; 86A-25; 86A-27(d); 93B-

2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2010; September 1, 2009; June 1, 2008; 

April 1, 2005; May 1, 1989; March 1, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; January 1, 2018; April 1, 2017. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 16P .0105 ADVERTISING AS A 

SPECIALIST 

(a)  A dentist shall not advertise or otherwise hold himself or 

herself out to the public as a specialist, or use any variation of the 

term, in an area of practice if the communication is false or 

misleading under Rule .0101 of this Section. 

(b)  It shall be false or misleading for a dentist to hold himself or 

herself out to the public as a specialist, or any variation of that 

term, in a practice area unless the dentist: 

(1) has completed a qualifying postdoctoral 

educational program in that area as set forth in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule; or 

(2) holds a current certification by a qualifying 

specialty board or organization as set forth in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, a "qualifying postdoctoral 

educational program" is a postdoctoral advanced dental 

educational program accredited by an agency recognized by the 

U.S. Department of Education (U.S. DOE). 

(d)  In determining whether an organization is a qualifying 

specialty board or organization, the Board shall consider the 

following criteria:  

(1) whether the organization requires completion 

of an educational program with didactic, 

clinical, and experiential requirements 

appropriate for the specialty or subspecialty 

field of dentistry in which the dentist seeks 

certification, and the collective didactic, 

clinical and experiential requirements are 

similar in scope and complexity to a qualifying 

postdoctoral educational program. Programs 

that require solely experiential training, 

continuing education classes, on-the-job 

training, or payment to the specialty board shall 

not constitute a qualifying specialty board or 

organization; 

(2) whether the organization requires all dentists 

seeking certification to pass a written or oral 

examination, or both, that tests the applicant's 

knowledge and skill in the specialty or 

subspecialty area of dentistry and includes a 

psychometric evaluation for validation; 

(3) whether the organization has written rules on 

maintenance of certification and requires 

periodic recertification; 

(4) whether the organization has written by-laws 

and a code of ethics to guide the practice of its 

members; 

(5) whether the organization has staff to respond to 

consumer and regulatory inquiries; and 

(6) whether the organization is recognized by 

another entity whose primary purpose is to 

evaluate and assess dental specialty boards and 

organizations. 

(e)  A dentist qualifying under Paragraph (d) of this Rule and 

advertising or otherwise holding himself or herself out to the 

public as a specialist, or any variation of that term, shall disclose 

in the advertisement or communication the specialty board by 

which the dentist was certified and provide information about the 

certification criteria or where the certification criteria may be 

located. 

(f)  A dentist shall maintain documentation of either completion 

of a qualifying postdoctoral educational program or of his or her 

current specialty certification and provide the documentation to 

the Board upon request. Dentists shall maintain documentation 
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demonstrating that the certifying board qualifies under the criteria 

in Subparagraphs (d)(1) through (6) of this Rule and provide the 

documentation to the Board upon request. 

(g)  Nothing in this Section shall be construed to prohibit a dentist 

who does not qualify to hold himself or herself out to the public 

as a specialist under Paragraph (b) of this Rule from restricting his 

or her practice to one or more specific areas of dentistry or from 

advertising the availability of his or her services, provided that 

such advertisements do not include the term "specialist," or any 

variation of that term, and must state that the services advertised 

are to be provided by a general dentist. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-41(a)(16),(17),(18); 90-48; 

Eff. March 1, 1985; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; May 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0202 GENERAL ANESTHESIA 

EQUIPMENT AND CLINICAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A dentist administering general anesthesia shall ensure that 

the facility where the general anesthesia is administered meets the 

following requirements: 

(1) The facility shall be equipped with the 

following: 

(A) an operatory of size and design to 

permit access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to 

permit emergency management; 

(B) a CPR board or dental chair without 

enhancements, suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(C) lighting as necessary for specific 

procedures and back-up lighting;  

(D) suction equipment as necessary for 

specific procedures, including non-

electrical back-up suction; 

(E) positive pressure oxygen delivery 

system, including full face masks for 

small, medium, and large patients, and 

back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen 

tank apart from the central system; 

(F) small, medium, and large oral and 

nasal airways; 

(G) blood pressure monitoring device; 

(H) EKG monitor; 

(I) pulse oximeter; 

(J) automatic external defibrillator 

(AED); 

(K) precordial stethoscope or capnograph; 

(L) thermometer; 

(M) vascular access set-up as necessary for 

specific procedures, including 

hardware and fluids; 

(N) laryngoscope with working batteries; 

(O) intubation forceps and advanced 

airway devices; 

(P) tonsillar suction with back-up suction; 

(Q) syringes as necessary for specific 

procedures; and 

(R) tourniquet and tape. 

(2) The following unexpired drugs shall be 

maintained in the facility and with access from 

the operatory and recovery rooms: 

(A) Epinephrine; 

(B) Atropine; 

(C) antiarrhythmic; 

(D) antihistamine; 

(E) antihypertensive; 

(F) bronchodilator; 

(G) antihypoglycemic agent; 

(H) vasopressor; 

(I) corticosteroid; 

(J) anticonvulsant; 

(K) muscle relaxant; 

(L) appropriate reversal agents; 

(M) nitroglycerine; 

(N) antiemetic; and 

(O) Dextrose. 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols. The 

permit holder shall also provide training to 

familiarize auxiliaries in the treatment of 

clinical emergencies.  

(4) The permit holder shall maintain the following 

records for 10 years: 

(A) Patient's current written medical 

history, including a record of known 

allergies and previous surgeries; 

(B) Consent to general anesthesia, signed 

by the patient or guardian, identifying 

the risks and benefits, level of 

anesthesia, and date signed; 

(C) Consent to the procedure, signed by 

the patient or guardian identifying the 

risks, benefits, and date signed; and 

(D) Patient base line vital signs, including 

temperature, SPO2, blood pressure, 

and pulse. 

(5) The anesthesia record shall include: 

(A) base line vital signs, blood pressure 

(unless patient behavior prevents 

recording), oxygen saturation, ET 

CO2 if capnography is utilized, pulse 

and respiration rates of the patient 

recorded in real time at 15 minute 

intervals; 

(B) procedure start and end times; 

(C) gauge of needle and location of IV on 

the patient, if used; 

(D) status of patient upon discharge; and 

(E) documentation of complications or 

morbidity. 

(6) The facility shall be staffed with at least two 

BLS certified auxiliaries, one of whom shall be 

dedicated to patient monitoring and recording 

general anesthesia or sedation data throughout 

the sedation procedure. This Subparagraph 

shall not apply if the dentist permit holder is 
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dedicated to patient care and monitoring 

regarding general anesthesia or sedation 

throughout the sedation procedure and is not 

performing the surgery or other dental 

procedure. 

(b)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate the administration of anesthesia while 

the evaluator observes, and shall demonstrate competency in the 

following areas: 

(1) monitoring of blood pressure, pulse, ET CO2 if 

capnography is utilized, and respiration; 

(2) drug dosage and administration; 

(3) treatment of untoward reactions including 

respiratory or cardiac depression; 

(4) sterile technique; 

(5) use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(6) monitoring of patient during recovery; and 

(7) sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(c)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate competency in the treatment of the 

following clinical emergencies: 

(1) laryngospasm; 

(2) bronchospasm; 

(3) emesis and aspiration; 

(4) respiratory depression and arrest; 

(5) angina pectoris; 

(6) myocardial infarction; 

(7) hypertension and hypotension; 

(8) syncope; 

(9) allergic reactions; 

(10) convulsions; 

(11) bradycardia; 

(12) hypoglycemia; 

(13) cardiac arrest; and 

(14) airway obstruction. 

(d)  During the evaluation, the permit applicant shall take a written 

examination on the topics set forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 

this Rule. The permit applicant must obtain a passing score on the 

written examination by answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the permit applicant fails to obtain a passing 

score on the written examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be re-examined in accordance with Rule 

.0204(h) of this Section. 

(e)  A general anesthesia permit holder shall evaluate a patient for 

health risks before starting any anesthesia procedure. 

(f)  Post-operative monitoring and discharge shall include the 

following: 

(1) the permit holder or a BLS certified auxiliary 

under his or her direct supervision shall monitor 

the patient's vital signs throughout the sedation 

procedure until the patient is recovered as 

defined by Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule and 

is ready for discharge from the office; and 

(2) recovery from general anesthesia shall include 

documentation of the following: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 

(H) for the special needs patient or a 

patient incapable of the usually 

expected responses, the pre-sedation 

level of responsiveness or the level as 

close as possible for that patient shall 

be achieved; and 

(3) before allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the dentist shall determine that the patient has 

met the recovery criteria set out in 

Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule and the 

following discharge criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color, and level of consciousness are 

stable and have been documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to the patient or a 

person responsible for the patient at 

time of discharge; and 

(C) a person authorized by the patient is 

available to transport the patient after 

discharge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48; 

Eff. February 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; November 1, 2013; August 1, 2002; 

August 1, 2000; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; August 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0204 PROCEDURE FOR GENERAL 

ANESTHESIA EVALUATION OR INSPECTION AND RE-

INSPECTION 

(a)  When both an evaluation and on-site inspection is required, 

the Board shall designate two or more qualified persons to serve 

as evaluators, each of whom has administered general anesthesia 

for at least three years preceding the inspection. Training in 

general anesthesia shall not be counted in the three years. The fee 

for an evaluation and on-site inspection shall be three-hundred 

seventy-five dollars ($375.00). When an on-site inspection 

involves only a facility and equipment check and not an 

evaluation of the dentist, the inspection may be accomplished by 

one evaluator, and the fee for the on-site inspection shall be two-

hundred seventy-five dollars ($275.00). 

(b)  An inspection fee of two-hundred seventy-five dollars 

($275.00) shall be due 10 days after the dentist receives notice of 

the inspection of each additional location at which the dentist 

administers general anesthesia. 

(c)  Any dentist-member of the Board may observe or consult in 

any evaluation or inspection. 
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(d)  The inspection team shall determine compliance with the 

requirements of the rules in this Subchapter, as applicable, by 

assigning a grade of "pass" or "fail." 

(e)  Each evaluator shall report his or her recommendation to the 

Board's Anesthesia and Sedation Committee, setting forth the 

details supporting his or her conclusion. The Committee shall not 

be bound by these recommendations. The Committee shall 

determine whether the applicant has passed the evaluation and 

inspection and shall notify the applicant in writing of its decision. 

(f)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation shall not 

receive a permit to administer general anesthesia. If a permit 

holder's facility fails an inspection, no further general anesthesia 

procedures shall be performed at the facility until it passes a re-

inspection by the Board. 

(g)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation may 

request a re-evaluation or re-inspection within 15 days of 

receiving the notice of failure. The request shall be directed to the 

Board in writing and shall include a statement of the grounds 

supporting the re-evaluation or re-inspection. Except as set forth 

in Paragraph (h) of this Rule, the Board shall require the applicant 

to receive additional training prior to the re-evaluation to address 

the areas of deficiency determined by the evaluation. The Board 

shall notify the applicant in writing of the need for additional 

training. 

(h)  A permit applicant who has failed the written examination 

portion of the evaluation but passed all other aspects of the 

evaluation and inspection may retake the written examination two 

additional times at the Board office. The applicant must wait a 

minimum of 72 hours before attempting to retake a written 

examination. Any applicant who has failed the written portion of 

the examination three times shall complete an additional Board 

approved course of study in the area(s) of deficiency and provide 

the Board evidence of the additional study before written 

reexamination. 

(i)  Re-evaluations and re-inspections shall be conducted by 

Board-appointed evaluators not involved in the failed evaluation 

or inspection. 

(j)  An applicant must complete all the requirements of Rule 

.0202, including passing the written examination, evaluation and 

inspection, within 12 months of submitting the application to the 

Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-39; 

Eff. February 1, 1990; 

Amended April 1, 2016; February 1, 2009; December 4, 2002; 

January 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; August 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0301 CREDENTIALS AND PERMITS 

FOR MODERATE PARENTERAL AND ENTERAL 

CONSCIOUS SEDATION 

(a)  Before a dentist licensed to practice in North Carolina may 

administer or supervise a CRNA employed to administer or RN 

employed to deliver moderate conscious sedation, the dentist shall 

obtain a permit from the Board by completing the application 

requirements in this Rule and paying a fee of three hundred 

seventy-five dollar ($375.00) that includes the one-hundred dollar 

($100.00) application fee and the two-hundred seventy-five dollar 

($275.00) inspection fee. The permit shall be renewed annually 

and shall be displayed with the current renewal at all times in the 

facility of the permit holder where it is visible to patients receiving 

treatment. 

(b)  The permit holder shall provide supervision to any CRNA 

employed to administer or RN employed to deliver sedation, and 

shall ensure that the level of the sedation does not exceed the level 

of the sedation allowed by the permit holder's permit. 

(c)  A dentist applying for a permit to administer moderate 

conscious sedation shall document the following: 

(1) Training that may consist of either: 

(A) Completion of 60 hours of Board 

approved didactic training in 

intravenous conscious sedation, and 

30 hours of clinical training that shall 

include successful management of a 

minimum of 20 live patients, under 

supervision of the course instructor, 

using intravenous sedation. Training 

shall be provided by one or more 

individuals who meet the American 

Dental Association Guidelines for 

Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to 

Dentists that is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. The 

guidelines may be found at 

www.ada.org/coda; or 

(B) Completion of a pre-doctoral dental or 

postgraduate program that included 

intravenous conscious sedation 

training equivalent to that defined in 

Part (c)(1)(A) of this Rule; 

(2) Unexpired ACLS certification; and 

(3) That all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have unexpired BLS certification. 

(d)  All applicants for a moderate conscious sedation permit shall 

be in good standing with the Board. 

(e)  Prior to issuance of a moderate conscious sedation permit, the 

applicant shall pass an evaluation and a facility inspection. The 

applicant shall be responsible for passing the evaluation and 

inspection of his or her facility.  

(f)  A dentist who holds a moderate conscious sedation permit 

shall not intentionally administer deep sedation. 

(g)  A moderate conscious sedation permit holder may provide 

moderate conscious sedation at the office of another licensed 

dentist, regardless of the permit, if any held, by the hosting dentist. 

The permit holder shall ensure that the facility where the moderate 

conscious sedation is administered has been inspected and 

complies with the requirements set out in Rule .0302 of this 

Section. The permit holder shall also obtain an itinerant moderate 

conscious sedation permit and comply with the requirements of 

Rule .0304 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-39; 90-48; 

Eff. February 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; August 1, 2000; January 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 11, 2002; 
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Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; July 1, 2010, July 3, 2008; August 1, 

2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; August 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0302 MODERATE PARENTERAL 

AND ENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION CLINICAL 

REQUIREMENTS AND EQUIPMENT 

(a)  A dentist administering moderate conscious sedation or 

supervising any CRNA employed to administer or RN employed 

to deliver moderate conscious sedation shall ensure that the 

facility where the sedation is administered meets the following 

requirements: 

(1) The facility shall be equipped with the 

following: 

(A) an operatory of size and design to 

permit access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to 

permit emergency management; 

(B) a CPR board or a dental chair without 

enhancements, suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(C) lighting as necessary for specific 

procedures and back-up lighting;  

(D) suction equipment as necessary for 

specific procedures, including non-

electrical back-up suction; 

(E) positive pressure oxygen delivery 

system, including full face masks for 

small, medium, and large patients and 

back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen 

tank apart from the central system; 

(F) small, medium, and large oral and 

nasal airways; 

(G) blood pressure monitoring device; 

(H) EKG monitor; 

(I) pulse oximeter; 

(J) automatic external defibrillator 

(AED); 

(K) precordial stethoscope or capnograph; 

(L) thermometer; 

(M) vascular access set-up as necessary for 

specific procedures, including 

hardware and fluids; 

(N) laryngoscope with working batteries; 

(O) intubation forceps and advanced 

airway devices; 

(P) tonsillar suction with back-up suction; 

(Q) syringes as necessary for specific 

procedures; and 

(R) tourniquet and tape. 

(2) The following unexpired drugs shall be 

maintained in the facility and with access from 

the operatory and recovery rooms: 

(A) Epinephrine; 

(B) Atropine; 

(C) antiarrhythmic; 

(D) antihistamine; 

(E) antihypertensive; 

(F) bronchodilator; 

(G) antihypoglycemic agent; 

(H) vasopressor; 

(I) corticosteroid; 

(J) anticonvulsant; 

(K) muscle relaxant; 

(L) appropriate reversal agents; 

(M) nitroglycerine; 

(N) antiemetic; and 

(O) Dextrose. 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols. The 

permit holder shall also provide training to 

familiarize auxiliaries in the treatment of 

clinical emergencies;  

(4) The dentist shall maintain the following records 

for at least 10 years: 

(A) patient's current written medical 

history and pre-operative assessment; 

(B) drugs administered during the 

procedure, including route of 

administration, dosage, strength, time, 

and sequence of administration; and 

(C) a sedation record; 

(5) The sedation record shall include: 

(A) base line vital signs, blood pressure 

(unless patient behavior prevents 

recording), oxygen saturation, ET 

CO2 if capnography is utilized, pulse 

and respiration rates of the patient 

recorded in real time at 15 minute 

intervals; 

(B) procedure start and end times; 

(C) gauge of needle and location of IV on 

the patient, if used; 

(D) status of patient upon discharge; 

(E) documentation of complications or 

morbidity; and 

(F) consent form, signed by the patient or 

guardian, identifying the procedure, 

risks and benefits, level of sedation, 

and date signed; and 

(6) The following conditions shall be satisfied 

during a sedation procedure: 

(A) The facility shall be staffed with at 

least two BLS certified auxiliaries, one 

of whom shall be dedicated to patient 

monitoring and recording sedation 

data throughout the sedation 

procedure. This Subparagraph shall 

not apply if the dentist permit holder is 

dedicated to patient care and 

monitoring regarding sedation 

throughout the sedation procedure and 

is not performing the surgery or other 

dental procedure; and 

(B) If IV sedation is used, IV infusion 

shall be administered before the start 
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of the procedure and maintained until 

the patient is ready for discharge. 

(b)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate the administration of moderate 

conscious sedation on a patient, including the deployment of an 

intravenous delivery system, while the evaluator observes. During 

the demonstration, the applicant or permit holder shall 

demonstrate competency in the following areas: 

(1) monitoring blood pressure, pulse, ET CO2 if 

capnography is utilized, and respiration; 

(2) drug dosage and administration; 

(3) treatment of untoward reactions including 

respiratory or cardiac depression if applicable; 

(4) sterile technique; 

(5) use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(6) monitoring of patient during recovery; and 

(7) sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(c)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate competency to the evaluator in the 

treatment of the following clinical emergencies: 

(1) laryngospasm; 

(2) bronchospasm; 

(3) emesis and aspiration; 

(4) respiratory depression and arrest; 

(5) angina pectoris; 

(6) myocardial infarction; 

(7) hypertension and hypotension; 

(8) allergic reactions; 

(9) convulsions; 

(10) syncope; 

(11) bradycardia; 

(12) hypoglycemia; 

(13) cardiac arrest; and 

(14) airway obstruction. 

(d)  During the evaluation, the permit applicant shall take a written 

examination on the topics set forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 

this Rule. The permit applicant must obtain a passing score on the 

written examination by answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the permit applicant fails to obtain a passing 

score on the written examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be re-examined in accordance with Rule 

.0306(h) of this Section. 

(e)  A moderate conscious sedation permit holder shall evaluate a 

patient for health risks before starting any sedation procedure as 

follows: 

(1) a patient who is medically stable and who is 

ASA I or II shall be evaluated by reviewing the 

patient's current medical history and medication 

use or; 

(2) a patient who is not medically stable or who is 

ASA III or higher shall be evaluated by a 

consultation with the patient's primary care 

physician or consulting medical specialist 

regarding the potential risks posed by the 

procedure. 

(f)  Post-operative monitoring and discharge: 

(1) the permit holder or a BLS certified auxiliary 

under his or her direct supervision shall monitor 

the patient's vital signs throughout the sedation 

procedure until the patient is recovered as 

defined in Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule and 

is ready for discharge from the office. 

(2) recovery from moderate conscious sedation 

shall include documentation of the following: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 

(H) for the special needs patient or patient 

incapable of the usually expected 

responses, the pre-sedation level of 

responsiveness or the level as close as 

possible for that patient shall be 

achieved. 

(3) before allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the dentist shall determine that the patient has 

met the recovery criteria set out in 

Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule and the 

following discharge criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color, and level of consciousness are 

stable, and have been documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to the patient or a 

person responsible for the patient at 

the time of discharge; and 

(C) a person authorized by the patient is 

available to transport the patient after 

discharge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48; 

Eff. February 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 11, 2002; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; November 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; July 

3, 2008; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; August 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0306 PROCEDURE FOR MODERATE 

CONSCIOUS SEDATION EVALUATION OR 

INSPECTION AND RE-INSPECTION 

(a)  When an evaluation or on-site inspection is required, the 

Board shall designate one or more qualified persons to serve as 

evaluators each of whom has administered moderate conscious 

sedation for at least three years preceding the inspection. Training 

in moderate conscious sedation shall not be counted in the three 

years. 

(b)  An inspection fee of two-hundred seventy-five dollars 

($275.00) shall be due 10 days after the dentist receives notice of 
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the inspection of each additional location at which the dentist 

administers moderate conscious sedation. 

(c)  Any dentist-member of the Board may observe or consult in 

any evaluation or inspection. 

(d)  The inspection team shall determine compliance with the 

requirements of the rules in this Subchapter, as applicable, by 

assigning a grade of "pass" or "fail." 

(e)  Each evaluator shall report his or her recommendation to the 

Board's Anesthesia and Sedation Committee, setting forth the 

details supporting his or her conclusion. The Committee shall not 

be bound by these recommendations. The Committee shall 

determine whether the applicant has passed the evaluation or 

inspection and shall notify the applicant in writing of its decision. 

(f)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation shall not 

receive a permit to administer moderate conscious sedation. If a 

permit holder's facility fails an inspection, no further moderate 

sedation procedures shall be performed at the facility until it 

passes a re-inspection by the Board. 

(g)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation may 

request a re-evaluation or re-inspection within 15 days of 

receiving the notice of failure. The request shall be directed to the 

Board in writing and shall include a statement of the grounds 

supporting the re-evaluation or re-inspection. Except as set forth 

in subsection (h) of this Rule, the Board shall require the applicant 

to receive additional training prior to the re-evaluation to address 

the areas of deficiency determined by the evaluation. The Board 

shall notify the applicant in writing of the need for additional 

training. 

(h)  A permit applicant who has failed the written examination 

portion of the evaluation but passed all other aspects of the 

evaluation and inspection may retake the written examination two 

additional times at the Board office. The applicant must wait a 

minimum of 72 hours before attempting to retake a written 

examination. Any applicant who has failed the written portion of 

the examination three times shall complete an additional Board 

approved course of study in the area(s) of deficiency and provide 

the Board evidence of the additional study before written 

reexamination. 

(i)  Re-evaluations and re-inspections shall be conducted by 

Board-appointed evaluators not involved in the failed evaluation 

or inspection. 

(j)  An applicant must complete all the requirements of Rule 

.0302, including passing the written examination, evaluation and 

inspection, within 12 months of submitting the application to the 

Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-39; 90-48; 

Eff. April 1, 2016; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; August 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0401 MINIMAL CONSCIOUS 

SEDATION CREDENTIALS, EVALUATION AND 

PERMIT 

(a)  Before a dentist licensed to practice in North Carolina may 

administer or supervise a certified registered nurse anesthetist to 

administer minimal conscious sedation, the dentist shall obtain a 

Board-issued permit for minimal conscious sedation, moderate 

pediatric conscious sedation, moderate conscious sedation or 

general anesthesia. A permit is not required for prescription 

administration of DEA controlled drugs prescribed for 

postoperative pain control intended for home use. A dentist may 

obtain a minimal conscious sedation permit from the Board by 

completing the application requirements of this Rule and paying 

a fee of three-hundred seventy-five dollars ($375.00) that includes 

the one-hundred dollar ($100.00) application fee and the two-

hundred seventy-five dollar ($275.00) inspection fee. Such permit 

must be renewed annually and shall be displayed with the current 

renewal at all times in the facility of the permit holder where it is 

visible to patients receiving treatment. 

(b)  Only a dentist who holds a general anesthesia license may 

administer deep sedation or general anesthesia. 

(c)  An applicant for a minimal conscious sedation permit shall be 

licensed and in good standing with the Board in order to be 

approved. For purposes of these Rules "good standing" means that 

the applicant is not subject to a disciplinary investigation and his 

or her licensee has not been revoked or suspended and is not 

subject to a probation or stayed suspension order. 

(d)  Evaluation: 

(1) Prior to issuance of a minimal conscious 

sedation permit the applicant shall pass an 

evaluation and a facility inspection.  

(2) During an inspection or evaluation, the 

applicant shall demonstrate the administration 

of minimal conscious sedation on a patient 

while the evaluator observes. During the 

observation, the applicant shall demonstrate 

competency in the following areas: 

(A) Monitoring of blood pressure, pulse, 

pulse oximetry and respiration; 

(B) Drug dosage and administration;  

(C) Treatment of untoward reactions 

including respiratory or cardiac 

depression (by verbal demonstration); 

(D) Sterile technique; 

(E) Use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(F) Monitoring of patient during recovery; 

and 

(G) Sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(3) During an inspection or evaluation, the 

applicant or permit holder shall demonstrate 

competency to the evaluator in the treatment of 

the following clinical emergencies: 

(A) Laryngospasm; 

(B) Bronchospasm; 

(C) Emesis and aspiration; 

(D) Respiratory depression and arrest; 

(E) Angina pectoris; 

(F) Myocardial infarction; 

(G) Hypertension/Hypotension; 

(H) Syncope; 

(I) Allergic reactions; 

(J) Convulsions; 

(K) Bradycardia; 

(L) Hypoglycemia;  

(M) Cardiac arrest; and 

(N) Airway obstruction. 
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(4) During the evaluation, the permit applicant 

shall take a written examination on the topics 

set forth in Subparagraphs (d)(2) and (d)(3) of 

this Rule. The permit applicant must obtain a 

passing score on the written examination by 

answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the permit applicant fails 

to obtain a passing score on the written 

examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be re-examined in 

accordance with Subparagraph (d)(7) of this 

Rule. 

(5) The evaluator shall assign a recommended 

grade of pass or fail and shall report his or her 

recommendation to the Board, setting out the 

basis for his conclusion. The Board is not bound 

by the evaluator's recommendation and shall 

make a final determination regarding whether 

the applicant has passed the evaluation. The 

applicant shall be notified of the Board's 

decision in writing. 

(6) An applicant who fails an inspection or 

evaluation may request a re-evaluation or re-

inspection within 15 days of receiving the 

notice of failure. The request shall be directed 

to the Board in writing and shall include a 

statement of the grounds supporting the re-

evaluation or re-inspection. Except as set forth 

in Subparagraph (d)(7) of this Rule, the Board 

shall require the applicant to receive additional 

training prior to the re-evaluation to address the 

areas of deficiency determined by the 

evaluation. The Board shall notify the applicant 

in writing of the need for additional training. 

(7) A permit applicant who has failed the written 

examination portion of the evaluation but 

passed all other aspects of the evaluation and 

inspection may retake the written examination 

two additional times at the Board office. The 

applicant must wait a minimum of 72 hours 

before attempting to retake a written 

examination. Any applicant who has failed the 

written portion of the examination three times 

shall complete an additional Board approved 

course of study in the area(s) of deficiency and 

provide the Board evidence of the additional 

study before written reexamination. 

(8) Re-evaluations and re-inspections shall be 

conducted by Board-appointed evaluators not 

involved in the failed evaluation or inspection. 

(9) An applicant must complete all the 

requirements of this Rule, including passing the 

written examination, evaluation and inspection, 

within 12 months of submitting the application 

to the Board. 

(e)  Educational/Professional Requirements: 

(1) The dentist applying for a minimal conscious 

sedation permit shall meet one of the following 

criteria: 

(A) completion of an ADA accredited 

post-doctoral training program which 

affords comprehensive training 

necessary to administer and manage 

minimal conscious sedation; 

(B) completion of an 18-hour minimal 

conscious sedation course which must 

be approved by the Board based on 

whether it affords comprehensive 

training necessary to administer and 

manage minimal conscious sedation; 

or 

(C) completion of an ADA accredited 

postgraduate program in pediatric 

dentistry;  

(2) All applicants for a minimal sedation permit 

must document completion of an ACLS course 

within the 12 months prior to the date of 

application; 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols. The 

permit holder shall also provide training to 

familiarize auxiliaries in the treatment of 

clinical emergencies. 

(f)  Annual Permit Renewal: 

(1) Minimal conscious sedation permits shall be 

renewed by the Board annually at the same time 

as dental licenses by the dentist paying a one-

hundred dollar ($100.00) fee and completing 

the application requirements in this Rule. If the 

completed permit renewal application and 

renewal fee are not received before January 31 

of each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall 

be paid. 

(2) Any dentist who fails to renew a minimal 

conscious sedation permit before March 31 of 

each year shall complete a reinstatement 

application, pay the renewal fee, late fee, and 

comply with all conditions for renewal set out 

in this Rule. Dentists whose sedation permits 

have been lapsed for more than 12 calendar 

months shall pass an inspection and an 

evaluation as part of the reinstatement process. 

(3) As a condition for renewal of the minimal 

conscious sedation permit, the permit holder 

shall meet the requirements of Rule .0402 of 

this Subchapter and shall document unexpired 

ACLS certification and obtain three hours of 

continuing education every year in one or more 

of the following areas, which may be counted 

toward fulfillment of the continuing education 

required each calendar year for license renewal: 

(A) pediatric or adult sedation; 

(B) medical emergencies; 

(C) monitoring sedation and the use of 

monitoring equipment; 

(D) pharmacology of drugs and agents 

used in sedation; 
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(E) physical evaluation, risk assessment, 

or behavioral management; or 

(F) airway management. 

(4) The minimal conscious sedation permit holder 

shall further document that the permit holder 

and all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have read the practice's emergency 

manual in the preceding year and that all 

auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures 

have completed BLS certification and, within 

the past two years, completed three hours of 

continuing education in any of the areas set 

forth in Parts (f)(3)(A)-(F) of this Rule. 

(5) All permit holders applying for renewal of a 

minimal conscious sedation permit shall be in 

good standing and their office shall be subject 

to inspection by the Board. 

(g)  A dentist who administers minimal conscious sedation in 

violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed 

by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-39; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 13, 2003; December 11, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. July 3, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0402 MINIMAL CONSCIOUS 

SEDATION PERMIT REQUIREMENTS, CLINICAL 

PROVISIONS AND EQUIPMENT 

(a)  Minimal conscious sedation is indicated for use only as 

defined in Rule .0101(15) of this Subchapter (relating to 

Definitions). Minimal conscious sedation shall not be used to 

achieve a deeper level of sedation. 

(b)  A minimal conscious sedation permit is not required for 

Schedule IV agents used for anxiolysis prescribed for 

administration outside of the dental office when a dentist 

determines that the patient is capable of following pre-procedure 

instructions. Medication administered for the purpose of minimal 

conscious sedation shall not exceed the maximum doses 

recommended by the drug manufacturer, sedation textbooks, or 

juried sedation journals. Except for nitrous inhalation, drugs in 

combination are not permitted for minimal conscious sedation. 

During longer periods of minimal conscious sedation, in which 

the amount of time of the procedures exceeds the effective 

duration of the sedative effect of the drug used, the incremental 

doses of the sedative shall not exceed total safe dosage levels 

based on the effective half-life of the drug used. 

(c)  Each dentist shall: 

(1) adhere to the clinical requirements as detailed 

in Paragraph (e) of this Rule; 

(2) maintain under continuous direct supervision 

any auxiliary personnel, who shall be capable 

of assisting in procedures, problems, and 

emergencies incident to the use of minimal 

conscious sedation or secondary to an 

unexpected medical complication; 

(3) utilize auxiliary personnel for each procedure 

performed who shall document annual 

completion of basic life support training; and 

(4) not allow a minimal conscious sedation 

procedure to be performed in his or her office 

by a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist 

(CRNA) unless the dentist holds a permit issued 

by the Board for the procedure being 

performed. This provision addresses dentists 

and is not intended to address the scope of 

practice of persons licensed by any other 

agency. 

(d)  Each dentist shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) Patient Evaluation. Patients who are 

administered minimal conscious sedation must 

be evaluated for medical health risks prior to the 

start of any sedative procedure. A patient 

receiving minimal conscious sedation must be 

healthy or medically stable (ASA I, or ASA II 

as defined by the American Society of 

Anesthesiologists). An evaluation is a review of 

the patient's current medical history and 

medication use. However, for individuals who 

are not medically stable or who have a 

significant health disability Physical Status III 

(ASA III, as defined by the American Society 

of Anesthesiologists) a consultation with their 

primary care physician or consulting medical 

specialist regarding potential procedure risk is 

required. 

(2) Pre-procedure preparation, informed consent: 

(A) The patient or guardian must be 

advised of the procedure associated 

with the delivery of the minimal 

conscious sedation. 

(B) Equipment must be evaluated and 

maintained for operation. 

(C) Baseline vital signs shall be obtained 

at the discretion of the operator 

depending on the medical status of the 

patient and the nature of the procedure 

to be performed. 

(D) Dentists administering minimal 

conscious sedation shall use sedative 

agents that he or she is competent to 

administer and shall administer such 

agents in a manner that is within the 

standard of care. 

(e)  Patient monitoring shall be conducted as follows: 

(1) Patients who have been administered minimal 

conscious sedation shall be monitored during 

waiting periods prior to operative procedures. 

An adult who has accepted responsibility for 

the patient and been given written pre-

procedural instruction may provide such 

monitoring. The patient shall be monitored for 

alertness, responsiveness, breathing and skin 

coloration. 
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(2) Dentists administering minimal conscious 

sedation shall maintain direct supervision of the 

patient during the operative procedure and for 

such a period of time necessary to establish 

pharmacologic and physiologic vital sign 

stability. 

(A) Oxygenation. Color of mucosa, skin or 

blood shall be evaluated throughout 

the sedation procedure. Oxygen 

saturation shall be evaluated 

continuously by pulse oximetry, 

except as provided in Paragraph (e)(4) 

of this Rule. 

(B) Ventilation. Observation of chest 

excursions or auscultation of breath 

sounds or both shall be performed. 

(C) Circulation. Blood pressure and pulse 

shall be taken and recorded initially 

and thereafter as appropriate except as 

provided in Paragraph (e)(4) of this 

Rule. 

(D) AED. Dentists administering minimal 

conscious sedation shall maintain a 

functioning automatic external 

defibrillator (AED). 

(3) A time oriented anesthetic record of vital signs 

shall be maintained in the permanent record 

including documentation of individual(s) 

administering the drug and showing the name 

of drug, strength and dosage used. 

(4) If the dentist responsible for administering 

minimal conscious sedation must deviate from 

the requirements set out in this Rule, he or she 

shall document the occurrence of such 

deviation and the reasons for such deviation. 

(f)  Post-operative procedures: 

(1) Following the operative procedure, positive 

pressure oxygen and suction equipment shall be 

available in the recovery area or operatory. 

(2) the permit holder or a BLS certified auxiliary 

under his or her direct supervision shall monitor 

the patient's vital signs throughout the sedation 

procedure until the patient is recovered as 

defined in Subparagraph (f)(4) of this Rule and 

is ready for discharge from the office. 

(3) Patients who have adverse reactions to minimal 

conscious sedation shall be assisted and 

monitored either in an operatory chair or 

recovery area until stable for discharge. 

(4) Recovery from minimal conscious sedation 

shall include: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 

(H) for the patient who is disabled, or 

incapable of the usually expected 

responses, the pre-sedation level of 

responsiveness or the level as close as 

possible for that patient shall be 

achieved. 

(5) Prior to allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the dentist shall determine that the patient has 

met the recovery criteria set out in Paragraph 

(f)(4) of this Rule and the following discharge 

criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color and level of consciousness are 

sufficient and stable and have been 

documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to the patient or a 

person responsible for the patient at 

the time of discharge; 

(C) a person authorized by the patient 

must be available to transport the 

patient and for patients for whom a 

motor vehicle restraint system is 

required, an additional individual must 

be available to attend to the patient. 

(g)  The dentist, personnel and facility shall be prepared to treat 

emergencies that may arise from the administration of minimal 

conscious sedation, and shall have the ability to provide positive 

pressure ventilation with 100% oxygen with an age appropriate 

device. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 11, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. July 3, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0404 CREDENTIALS AND PERMITS 

FOR MODERATE PEDIATRIC CONSCIOUS SEDATION 

(a)  Before a dentist licensed to practice in North Carolina may 

administer moderate pediatric conscious sedation, the dentist shall 

obtain a general anesthesia or moderate pediatric conscious 

sedation permit from the Board by completing the application 

requirements of this Rule and paying a fee of three hundred 

seventy-five dollars ($375.00) that includes the one-hundred 

dollar ($100.00) application fee and the two-hundred seventy-five 

dollar ($275.00) inspection fee. The permit shall be renewed 

annually and shall be displayed with the current renewal at all 

times in the permit holder's facility where it is visible to patients 

receiving treatment. 

(b)  A dentist applying for a permit to administer moderate 

pediatric conscious sedation shall hold an unexpired PALS 

certification and meet at least one of the following criteria: 

(1) completion of a postgraduate program that 

included pediatric intravenous conscious 

sedation training; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2019 

1836 

(2) completion of a Commission On Dental 

Accreditation (CODA) approved pediatric 

residency that included intravenous conscious 

sedation training; or 

(3) completion of a pediatric degree or pediatric 

residency at a CODA approved institution that 

includes training in the use and placement of 

IVs or intraosseous vascular access. A list of 

CODA approved institutions that is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, appears 

at www.ada.org/coda and is available at no cost. 

(c)  All applicants for moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

permits shall have completed the training required by Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule within the last two years or show evidence of 

moderate pediatric conscious sedation practice within the last two 

years in another state or U.S. Territory. 

(d)  All applicants for moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

permits shall be in good standing with the Board. 

(e)  Prior to issuance of a moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

permit, the applicant shall pass an evaluation and a facility 

inspection. The applicant shall be responsible for passing the 

evaluation and inspection of his or her facility.  

(f)  A moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit holder may 

provide moderate pediatric conscious sedation at the office of 

another licensed dentist, regardless of the permit, if any held, by 

the hosting dentist. The permit holder shall ensure that the facility 

where the moderate pediatric conscious sedation is administered 

has been inspected and complies with the requirements set out in 

Rule .0405 of this Section. The permit holder shall also obtain an 

itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit and 

comply with the requirements of Rule .0406 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-39; 90-48; 

Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; August 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0405 MODERATE PEDIATRIC 

CONSCIOUS SEDATION CLINICAL REQUIREMENTS 

AND EQUIPMENT 

(a)  A dentist administering moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

shall ensure that the facility where the sedation is administered 

meets the following requirements: 

(1) The facility shall be equipped with the 

following: 

(A) an operatory of size and design to 

permit access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to 

permit emergency management; 

(B) a CPR board or a dental chair without 

enhancements, suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(C) lighting as necessary for specific 

procedures and back-up lighting; 

(D) suction equipment as necessary for 

specific procedures, including non-

electrical back-up suction; 

(E) positive pressure oxygen delivery 

system, including full face masks for 

small, medium, and large patients and 

back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen 

tank apart from the central system; 

(F) small, medium, and large oral and 

nasal airways; 

(G) blood pressure monitoring device; 

(H) EKG monitor; 

(I) pulse oximeter; 

(J) automatic external defibrillator 

(AED); 

(K) precordial stethoscope or capnograph; 

(L) thermometer; 

(M) vascular access set-up as necessary for 

specific procedures, including 

hardware and fluids; 

(N) laryngoscope with working batteries; 

(O) intubation forceps and advanced 

airway devices; 

(P) tonsillar suction with back-up suction; 

(Q) syringes as necessary for specific 

procedures; and 

(R) tourniquet and tape. 

(2) The following unexpired drugs shall be 

maintained in the facility and with access from 

the operatory and recovery rooms: 

(A) Epinephrine; 

(B) Atropine; 

(C) antiarrhythmic; 

(D) antihistamine; 

(E) antihypertensive; 

(F) bronchodilator; 

(G) antihypoglycemic agent; 

(H) vasopressor; 

(I) corticosteroid; 

(J) anticonvulsant; 

(K) muscle relaxant; 

(L) appropriate reversal agents; 

(M) nitroglycerine; 

(N) antiemetic; and 

(O) Dextrose. 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols. The 

permit holder shall also provide training to 

familiarize auxiliaries in the treatment of 

clinical emergencies;  

(4) The following records are maintained for at 

least 10 years: 

(A) patient's current written medical 

history and pre-operative assessment; 

(B) drugs administered during the 

procedure, including route of 

administration, dosage, strength, time, 

and sequence of administration; 

(C) a sedation record; and 

(D) a consent form, signed by the patient 

or a guardian, identifying the 
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procedure, risks and benefits, level of 

sedation, and date signed; 

(5) The sedation record shall include: 

(A) base line vital signs, blood pressure 

(unless patient behavior prevents 

recording), oxygen saturation, ET 

CO2 if capnography is utilized, pulse 

and respiration rates of the patient 

recorded in real time at 15 minute 

intervals; 

(B) procedure start and end times; 

(C) gauge of needle and location of IV on 

the patient, if used; 

(D) status of patient upon discharge; and 

(E) documentation of complications or 

morbidity; and 

(6) The following conditions shall be satisfied 

during a sedation procedure: 

(A) the facility shall be staffed with at least 

two BLS certified auxiliaries, one of 

whom shall be dedicated to patient 

monitoring and recording sedation 

data throughout the sedation 

procedure. This Subparagraph shall 

not apply if the dentist permit holder is 

dedicated to patient care and 

monitoring regarding sedation 

throughout the sedation procedure and 

is not performing the surgery or other 

dental procedure; and 

(B) when IV sedation is used, IV infusion 

shall be administered before the 

commencement of the procedure and 

maintained until the patient is ready 

for discharge. 

(b)  During an inspection or evaluation, applicants and permit 

holders who use intravenous sedation shall demonstrate the 

administration of moderate pediatric conscious sedation on a live 

patient, including the deployment of an intravenous delivery 

system, while the evaluator observes. Applicants and permit 

holders who do not use IV sedation shall describe the proper 

deployment of an intravascular delivery system to the evaluator 

and shall demonstrate the administration of moderate pediatric 

conscious sedation on a live patient while the evaluator observes. 

(c)  During the demonstration, all applicants and permit holders 

shall demonstrate competency in the following areas: 

(1) monitoring blood pressure, pulse, and 

respiration; 

(2) drug dosage and administration; 

(3) treatment of untoward reactions including 

respiratory or cardiac depression if applicable; 

(4) sterile technique; 

(5) use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(6) monitoring of patient during recovery; and 

(7) sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(d)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate competency in the treatment of the 

following clinical emergencies: 

(1) laryngospasm; 

(2) bronchospasm; 

(3) emesis and aspiration; 

(4) respiratory depression and arrest; 

(5) angina pectoris; 

(6) myocardial infarction; 

(7) hypertension and hypotension; 

(8) allergic reactions; 

(9) convulsions; 

(10) syncope; 

(11) bradycardia; 

(12) hypoglycemia; 

(13) cardiac arrest; and 

(14) airway obstruction. 

(e)  During the evaluation, the permit applicant shall take a written 

examination on the topics set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of 

this Rule. The permit applicant must obtain a passing score on the 

written examination by answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the permit applicant fails to obtain a passing 

score on the written examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be re-examined in accordance with Rule 

.0408(h) of this Section. 

(f)  A moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit holder shall 

evaluate patients for health risks before starting any sedation 

procedure as follows: 

(1) a patient who is medically stable and who is 

ASA I or II shall be evaluated by reviewing the 

patient's current medical history and medication 

use; or 

(2) a patient who is not medically stable or who is 

ASA III or higher shall be evaluated by a 

consultation with the patient's primary care 

physician or consulting medical specialist 

regarding the potential risks posed by the 

procedure. 

(g)  Patient monitoring: 

(1) Patients who have been administered moderate 

pediatric conscious sedation shall be monitored 

for alertness, responsiveness, breathing, and 

skin coloration during waiting periods before 

operative procedures. 

(2) The permit holder or a BLS certified auxiliary 

under his or her direct supervision shall monitor 

the patient's vital signs throughout the sedation 

procedure until the patient is recovered as 

defined in Subparagraph (g)(3) of this Rule and 

is ready for discharge from the office. 

(3) Recovery from moderate pediatric conscious 

sedation shall include documentation of the 

following: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 
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(H) for the special needs patient or a 

patient incapable of the usually 

expected responses, the pre-sedation 

level of responsiveness or the level as 

close as possible for that patient shall 

be achieved. 

(4) Before allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the dentist shall determine that the patient has 

met the recovery criteria set out in 

Subparagraph (g)(3) of this Rule and the 

following discharge criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color, and level of consciousness are 

stable, and have been documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to a person 

responsible for the patient at time of 

discharge; and 

(C) a person responsible for the patient is 

available to transport the patient after 

discharge, and for the patient for 

whom a motor vehicle restraint system 

is required, an additional responsible 

individual is available to attend to the 

patient. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48; 

Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; August 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0408 PROCEDURE FOR MODERATE 

PEDIATRIC SEDATION EVALUATION OR 

INSPECTION AND RE-INSPECTION 

(a)  When an evaluation or on-site inspection is required, the 

Board shall designate one or more qualified persons to serve as 

evaluators, each of whom has administered moderate pediatric 

sedation for at least three years preceding the evaluation or 

inspection. Training in moderate pediatric sedation shall not count 

toward the three years. 

(b)  An inspection fee of two-hundred seventy-five dollars 

($275.00) shall be due 10 days after the dentist receives notice of 

the inspection of each additional location at which the dentist 

administers moderate pediatric sedation. 

(c)  Any dentist-member of the Board may observe or consult in 

any evaluation or inspection. 

(d)  The inspection team shall determine compliance with the 

requirements of the rules in this Subchapter, as applicable, by 

assigning a grade of "pass" or "fail." 

(e)  Each evaluator shall report his or her recommendation to the 

Board's Anesthesia and Sedation Committee, setting forth the 

details supporting his or her conclusion. The Committee shall not 

be bound by these recommendations. The Committee shall 

determine whether the applicant has passed the evaluation or 

inspection and shall notify the applicant in writing of its decision. 

(f)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation shall not 

receive a permit to administer moderate pediatric sedation. If a 

permit holder's facility fails an inspection, no further moderate 

pediatric sedation procedures shall be performed at the facility 

until it passes a re-inspection by the Board. 

(g)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation may 

request a re-evaluation or re-inspection within 15 days of 

receiving the notice of failure. The request shall be directed to the 

Board in writing and include a statement of the grounds 

supporting the re-evaluation or re-inspection. Except as set forth 

in subsection (h) of this Rule, the Board shall require the applicant 

to receive additional training prior to the re-evaluation to address 

the areas of deficiency determined by the evaluation. The Board 

shall notify the applicant in writing of the need for additional 

training. 

(h)  A permit applicant who has failed the written examination 

portion of the evaluation but passed all other aspects of the 

evaluation and inspection may retake the written examination two 

additional times at the Board office. The applicant must wait a 

minimum of 72 hours before attempting to retake a written 

examination. Any applicant who has failed the written portion of 

the examination three times shall complete an additional Board 

approved course of study in the area(s) of deficiency and provide 

the Board evidence of the additional study before written 

reexamination. 

(i)  Re-evaluations and re-inspections shall be conducted by 

Board-appointed evaluators not involved in the failed evaluation 

or inspection. 

(j)  An applicant must complete all the requirements of Rule. 

0405, including passing the written examination, evaluation and 

inspection, within 12 months of submitting the application to the 

Board. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-39; 90-48; 

Eff. April 1, 2016; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; August 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0501 ANNUAL RENEWAL 

REQUIRED 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48; 

Eff. February 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Transferred and Recodified from 16Q .0401 to 16Q .0501; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 11, 2002; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2013; July 3, 2008; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 18 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 

ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS 

 

21 NCAC 18B .0201 REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL 

EXAMINATION APPLICANTS 

(a)  To take an examination in any electrical contracting license 

classification, the applicant shall: 
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(1) be 18 years of age; 

(2) submit the required duly filed application as 

defined in Rule .0210 of this Section; 

(3) submit with the application written statements 

from two persons, attesting to the applicant's 

good character; and 

(4) meet the requirements set out in Paragraph (b) 

of this Rule. 

(b)  Examination applicants shall meet the following requirements 

for the specified license classifications: 

(1) Limited classification. An applicant shall have 

two years of experience, as defined in Rule 

.0202 of this Section, of which one year shall be 

primary experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both. 

(2) Intermediate classification. An applicant shall 

have four years of experience, as defined in 

Rule .0202 of this Section, of which two and 

one half years shall be primary experience. The 

balance of experience may be primary, 

secondary, or both. 

(3) Unlimited classification. An applicant shall: 

(A) have five years of experience, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 

of which four years shall be primary 

experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both; 

and 

(B) submit with the application written 

statements from two persons who are 

knowledgeable of the applicant's 

electrical experience, attesting to the 

applicant's ability to supervise and 

direct all electrical wiring or electrical 

installation work of an electrical 

contracting business in the unlimited 

classification. 

(4) Single family detached residential dwelling 

(SP-SFD) classification. An applicant shall 

have two years of experience, as defined in 

Rule .0202 of this Section, of which one year 

shall be primary experience. The balance of 

experience may be primary, secondary, or both. 

(5) Special restricted fire alarm/low voltage (SP-

FA/LV) classification. An applicant shall have 

two years of experience, as defined in Rule 

.0202 of this Section, of which one year shall be 

primary experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both. An 

applicant in this classification may also receive 

creditable experience for service in any of the 

capacities listed in Rule .0202 that the applicant 

gained in the low voltage field. 

(6) Special restricted elevator (SP-EL) 

classification. An applicant shall: 

(A) have two years of experience, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 

of which one year shall be primary 

experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both. 

An applicant in this classification shall 

also receive creditable experience for 

service in any of the capacities listed 

in Rule .0202 that the applicant gained 

in the elevator field; and 

(B) include on the application information 

to establish that the applicant is 

regularly on active duty in, and will be 

the listed qualified individual for a 

firm that is primarily engaged in, a 

lawful elevator business in this State, 

consistent with G.S. 87-43 and 21 

NCAC 18B .0301. 

(7) Special restricted plumbing and heating (SP-

PH) classification. An applicant shall: 

(A) have two years of experience, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 

of which one year shall be primary 

experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both. 

An applicant in this classification shall 

also receive creditable experience for 

service in any of the capacities listed 

in Rule .0202 that the applicant gained 

in the plumbing, heating, or air 

conditioning field; and 

(B) include on the application information 

verifying that the applicant is regularly 

on active duty in, and will be the listed 

qualified individual for a firm that is 

primarily engaged in, a lawful 

plumbing, heating, or air conditioning 

business in this State consistent with 

G.S. 87-43 and 21 NCAC 18B .0301. 

(8) Special restricted ground water pump (SP-WP) 

classification. An applicant shall: 

(A) have two years of experience, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 

of which one year shall be primary 

experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both. 

An applicant in this classification shall 

also receive creditable experience for 

service in any of the capacities listed 

in Rule .0202 that the applicant gained 

in the ground water pump field; and 

(B) include on the application information 

to establish that the applicant is 

regularly on active duty in, and will be 

the listed qualified individual for a 

firm that is primarily engaged in, a 

lawful ground water pump business in 

this State, consistent with G.S. 87-43 

and 21 NCAC 18B .0301. 

(9) Special restricted electric sign (SP-ES) 

classification. An applicant shall: 

(A) have two years of experience, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 
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of which one year shall be primary 

experience. The balance of experience 

be primary, secondary, or both. An 

applicant in this classification shall 

also receive creditable experience in 

any of the capacities listed in Rule 

.0202 that the applicant gained in the 

electric sign field; and 

(B) include on the application information 

to establish that the applicant is 

regularly on active duty in, and will be 

the listed qualified individual for a 

firm that is primarily engaged in, a 

lawful electric sign business in this 

State. 

(10) Special restricted swimming pool (SP-SP) 

classification. An applicant shall: 

(A) have two years of experience, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 

of which one year shall be primary 

experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both. 

An applicant in this classification shall 

also receive creditable experience for 

service in any of the capacities listed 

in Rule .0202 that the applicant gained 

in the swimming pool field; and 

(B) include on the application information 

verifying that the applicant is regularly 

on active duty in, and will be the listed 

qualified individual for a firm that is 

primarily engaged in, a lawful 

swimming pool business in this State, 

consistent with G.S. 87-43 and 21 

NCAC 18B .0301. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-43.3; 87-43.4; 87-44; 

Eff. October 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; March 1, 1999; February 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; October 1, 2017. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 68 - SUBSTANCE ABUSE PROFESSIONAL 

PRACTICE BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0206 PROCESS FOR PREVENTION 

CONSULTANT CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Board shall certify an applicant as a certified substance 

abuse prevention consultant as set out in Article 5C of Chapter 90 

of the North Carolina General Statutes. A certified substance 

abuse prevention consultant's primary responsibilities are to 

provide substance use disorder information and education, 

environmental approaches, alternative activities, community 

organization, networking, and referral to promote personal health 

and well-being to individuals, families, and communities who 

may not otherwise be clients receiving substance use disorder 

treatment. 

(b)  The requirements for certification are: 

(1) Supervised work experience as set out in G.S. 

90-113.40(a)(8) in prevention consultation. 

(2) 270 hours of academic and didactic training 

divided in the following manner: 

(A) 170 hours primary and secondary 

prevention and in the prevention 

performance domains; and 

(B) 100 hours in substance use disorder 

specific studies, which includes six 

hours of 

HIV/AIDS/STDS/TB/Bloodborne 

pathogens training and education, six 

hours professional ethics education, 

and six hours of education to be 

selected from the following: 

(i) nicotine use disorder; 

(ii) psychopathology; 

(iii) evidence-based treatment; 

(iv) substance use disorder issues 

and older adults; 

(v) substance use disorder issues 

affecting veterans; and 

(vi) substance use disorder and 

domestic violence. 

(3) A minimum of 300 hours of supervised 

practical training practice hours documented by 

a certified clinical supervisor, clinical 

supervisor intern, or certified substance abuse 

prevention consultant who has been certified 

more than three years; 

(4) An attestation or otherwise signed adherence by 

the applicant to the Ethical Standards of the 

Board; 

(5) An application fee of twenty-five dollars 

($25.00), a certification fee of two hundred 

dollars ($200.00) and an examination fee of one 

hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.31B; 90-

113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.41; 

Eff. August 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001; 

August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0207 CERTIFICATION OR 

LICENSURE PERIOD 

Certification or licensure is for a period of two years after which 

renewal is necessary. Failure to renew a credential within 30 

business days following the end of the two-year period shall result 

in a late renewal fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) to be paid by the 

professional in addition to the renewal fee of one hundred and 

fifty dollars ($150.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 09-

113.37A; 90-113.38; 
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Eff. August 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0306 RENEWAL OF LICENSED 

CLINICAL ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST 

(a)  An applicant who is in the deemed status group shall submit 

the following every two years: 

(1) A completed application and a copy of the 

applicant's current substance abuse licensure or 

its equivalent from the deemed status 

professional discipline. 

(2) A non-refundable renewal fee of thirty-five 

dollars ($35.00). 

(b)  All other individual applicants shall: 

(1) Renew licensure as classified by the criteria for 

their original licensing every two years. 

(2) Document completing 40 hours of education 

pursuant to Section .0400 of this Chapter, 

during the current licensing period. A minimum 

of 30 hours shall be substance use disorder 

specific. This education may include a 

combination of hours including attending and 

providing workshops. 

(3) Meet re-licensing educational guidelines as a 

substance use disorder professional as follows: 

(A) No more than 25 percent may be in-

service education, received within the 

applicant's organization by staff of the 

same employment. 

(B) No more than 25 percent receiving 

supervision with two hours of 

supervision translating to one hour of 

education. 

(C) No more than 25 percent of workshop 

presentation with one hour of 

presentation translating to one hour of 

education. Workshop presentation 

shall be pursuant to Rule .0213 of this 

Chapter. 

(D) All applicants shall include three 

hours of 

HIV/AIDS/STDS/TB/Bloodborne 

pathogens training and education, 

three hours of professional ethics 

training and education, and three hours 

of education to be selected from the 

list appearing in Rule.0305(1)(d) of 

this Section. 

(4) Submit a completed application with 

continuing education documented. 

(5) Submit a non-refundable one hundred fifty 

dollar ($150.00) renewal fee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

113.37A; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.41A;  

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 15, 1997; 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff January 1, 2014; April 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1.
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission March 21, 2019 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (1st Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 
Jeffrey A. Poley Paul Powell 
Brian P. LiVecchi Jeanette Doran (2nd Vice Chair) 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May (919)431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919)431-3079 
Jason Thomas  (919)431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 March 21, 2019 April 18, 2019 
   May 16, 2019 June 20, 2019 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, MARCH 21, 2019 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 163A-159(e) 
II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 
III. Follow-up matters 

A. Soil and Water Conservation Commission – 02 NCAC 59D .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, 
.0108, .0109, .0110; 59H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108 (Reeder) 

B. Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement - 08 NCAC 02 .0112, .0113; 03 .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, 
.0106, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0302; 04 .0302, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307; 06B .0103, .0104, .0105; 08 .0104; 
09 .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109; 10B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107 (May) 

C. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder) 
D. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0209, .0308, 1704, .1705 (May) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed January 23, 2019 through February 20, 2019 

• Commerce/Credit Union Division (Reeder) 

• Medical Care Commission (May) 
▪ Department of Health and Human Services (Reeder) 
▪ Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (Reeder) 
▪ Department of Transportation (May) 
▪ Board of Barber Examiners (Reeder) 
▪ Medical Board (May) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review 

• Review of Reports 
1. 12 NCAC 09 - Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (May) 
2. 17 NCAC 07- Department of Revenue (May) 

VII. Commission Business 
E. Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules Readoption Schedule 
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• Next meeting: Thursday, April 18, 2019 
 

 
Commission Review 

Log of Permanent Rule Filings 
January 23, 2019 through February 20, 2019 

COMMERCE - CREDIT UNION DIVISION 

The rules in Chapter 6 are from the Credit Union Division.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 6C concern credit unions and include general information (.0100); organization of credit unions 
(.0200); basic internal controls: accounting procedures and operation standards for state-chartered credit unions 
(.0300); loans (.0400); impairment and insolvency (.0500); dividends deposits and interest rebate (.0600); accounts 
(.0700); reports to administrator (.0800); pension plans (.0900); retention of records (.1000); forms used by credit union 
division (.1100); investments (.1200); reserves (.1300); and signature guarantee services. 

Charitable Contributions and Charitable Donation Accounts 
Adopt* 

 04 NCAC 06C .0708 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 13 are from the NC Medical Care Commission.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 13B set standards for the licensing of hospitals including supplemental rules for the licensure 
of skilled intermediate, adult care home beds in a hospital (.1900); specialized rehabilitative and rehabilitative services 
(.2000); general information (.3000); procedure (.3100); general requirements (.3200); patients’ bill of rights (.3300); 
supplemental rules for the licensure of critical care hospitals (.3400); grievance and management (.3500); management 
and administration of operations (.3600); medical staff (.3700); nursing services (.3800); medical record services 
(.3900); outpatient services (.4000); emergency services (.4100); special care units (.4200); maternal-neonatal services 
(.4300); respiratory care services (.4400); pharmacy services and medication administration (.4500); surgical and 
anesthesia services (.4600); nutrition and dietetic services (.4700); diagnostic imaging (.4800); laboratory services and 
pathology (.4900); physical rehabilitation services (.5000); infection control (.5100); psychiatric services (.5200); nursing 
and adult care beds (.5300); comprehensive inpatient rehabilitation (.5400); supplemental rules for hospitals providing 
living organ donation transplant services (.5500); physical plant (.6000); general requirements (.6100); and construction 
requirements (.6200).  

Plan Approval 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .3102 

List of Referenced Codes, Rules, Regulation, and Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .6101 

General 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .6102 

Equivalency and Conflicts with Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .6103 

Outpatient Surgical Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13B .6207 

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Subchapter 14J concern jails and local confinement facilities including definitions and applicability for jails 
(.0100); operation manual for jails (.0200); classification and housing (.0300); fire safety (.0400); security (.0500); 
supervision (.0600); sanitation and personal hygiene (.0700); commissary or canteen services (.0800); food (.0900); 
health care of inmates and exercise (.1000); reports (.1100); standards for new jail design and construction (.1200); 
inspection and enforcement of minimum standards (.1300); satellite jail/work release units (.1400); construction 
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standards for existing facilities (.1500); construction standards for existing state-funded satellite jail/work release units 
(.1600); and municipal lockups (.1700). 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0101 

Applicability - Operations and Enforcement and Incorporat... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0102 

Applicability - Construction 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0103 

Requirement for Operations Manual 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0201 

Contents of Operations Manual 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0203 

Review of Manual 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0204 

Classification System and Total Design Capacity 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0301 

Separation of Male and Female Inmates 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0302 

Confinement of Inmates Under 18 Years of Age 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0303 

Portable Fire Extinguishers 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0402 

Fire Plan, Fire Evacuation Training, and Disaster Plan 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0403 

Mattresses 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0404 

Keys 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0405 

General Security Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0501 

Supervision 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0601 

Mattresses and Bedding 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0702 

Personal Hygiene Items 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0705 

Menus 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .0904 

Medical Plan 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1001 

Screening of Inmates 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1002 

Applicability - Construction 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1201 

Consultation and Technical Assistance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1202 

Compliance Review and Approval 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1203 

Inmate Processing Area and Padded Cell 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1207 

Other Areas  10A NCAC 14J .1210 
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Readopt with Changes* 

Floors, Ceilings, and Walls 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1212 

Showers and Plumbing Fixtures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1213 

Windows and Glazing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1214 

Doors, Bunks, Locks, and Fasteners 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1215 

Plumbing Systems 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1218 

Electrical Systems 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1219 

Standards for Dayrooms 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1225 

Standards for Dormitories 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14J .1226 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 15A concern organization rules: policies and procedures including general provisions (.0100); 
structure (.0200); publications, records, copies (.0300); rule-making (.0400); emergency rules (.0500); declaratory 
rulings (.0600); personnel policies: commission (.0700); adjudication: contested cases (.0800); fiscal rules for local 
boards (.0900); local abc board: personnel policies (.1000); local abc boards: relationship with state commission (.1100); 
openings and discontinuance of stores (.1200); storage and distribution of spirituous liquors: commercial transportation 
(.1300); purchase of alcoholic beverages by local boards (.1400); pricing of spirituous liquor (.1500); warehouse storage 
of spirituous liquors (.1600); retail sales of alcoholic beverages (.1700); purchase transportation permits for individuals 
and mixed beverages permittees (.1800); sales of liquor to mixed beverages permittees (.1900); local board training 
(.2000); distillery permit holders' sale of spirituous liquor distilled on premises to visitors of the distillery for consumption 
off the premises (.2100); special one-time permits (.2200); and homemade wine and malt beverage events (.2300). 

Requirements for Storage 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .1603 

Prohibited Practices 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .1604 

Removal of Beverages from ABC Stores 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .1701 

Mixed Beverages Tax Stamp 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15A .1901 

Nonprofit Sales at Raffle or Auction 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15A .2206 

The rules in Subchapter 15B concern retail beer, wine, mixed beverages, brownbagging, advertising, and special 
permits. The rules include definitions and permit application procedures (.0100); general rules affecting retailers and 
brownbagging permittees (.0200); malt beverages and the wine retailer/wholesaler relationship (.0300); additional 
requirements for brownbagging permittees (.0400); additional requirements for mixed beverages permittees (.0500); 
special requirements for convention centers, community theatres, sports clubs, and nonprofit and political organizations 
(.0600); special occasions permits (.0700); culinary permits (.0800); wine and beer tastings (.0900); advertising (.1000); 
and effect of administrative action, fines, and offers in compromise (.1100). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15B .0101 

Consumption: Intoxication by Permittee Prohibited 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15B .0209 

Advertising of Malt Beverages, Wine and Beverages by Reta...  14B NCAC 15B .1006 
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Amend* 

The rules in Subchapter 15C concern industry members, retail/industry member relationships, ship chandlers, air 
carriers, and fuel alcohol including definitions and application procedures (.0100); product approvals, listing procedures 
and product lists (.0200); packaging and labeling of malt beverages and wine (.0300); standards of identity for wine 
containers (.0400); general provisions for industry members (.0500); sales and deliveries of malt beverages and wine 
(.0600); alcoholic beverages, retailer/industry member relationship and trade practices (.0700); ships chandler's permit 
(.0800); distillers and representatives (.0900); air carriers (.1000); fuel alcohol permits (.1100); administrative action by 
commission (.1200); and special event permits (.1300).  

Definitions 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15C .0101 

Application Procedures 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15C .0102 

Distiller, Supplier and Brokerage Representatives: Prohib... 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 15C .0901 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15C .1301 

Other Similar Events Approval 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15C .1302 

Tastings Held for Consumers 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15C .1303 

Special Event Compliance Procedure 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15C .1304 

Special Event Sale of Branded Merchandise, Point-of-Sale ... 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15C .1305 

Special Event Participation Limitations 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 15C .1306 

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 2 are from the Division of Highways.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 2D concern highway operations including standards for design and construction (.0100); 
landscape (.0200); field operations-maintenance and equipment (.0400); ferry operations (.0500); oversize-overweight 
permits (.0600); highway design branch (.0700); prequalification advertising and bidding regulations (.0800); regulations 
for informal construction and repair contracts (.0900); adopt-a-highway program (.1000); and disadvantaged business 
enterprise, minority business enterprise and women business enterprise programs for highway and bridge construction 
contracts (.1100). 

Purpose and Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .1101 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .1102 

Certification of Firms 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .1103 

Renewal of Certification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .1104 

Change in Ownership or Control 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .1105 

Decertification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .1106 

Appeals of Denial of Certification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .1107 

Goals  19A NCAC 02D .1108 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Counting Participation Toward Meeting the Goal 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .1109 

Non-Attainment of Goals 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .1110 

Performance Related Replacement of Eligible Firms 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .1111 

Replacement of a Firm Removed by Decertification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02D .1112 

BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 06A are departmental rules including organizational rules (.0100); and rules about the executive 
secretary (.0300). 

Physical and Mailing Address 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 06A .0102 

The rules in Subchapter 06F concern barber schools. 

Student Permit 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 06F .0113 

State Authorization as a Postsecondary Institution 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 06F .0127 

MEDICAL BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 32S regulate physician assistants including physician assistant registration (.0200). 

Qualifications and Requirements for License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32S .0202 

Annual Renewal 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32S .0204 

Expedited Application for Physician Assistant Licensure 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32S .0220 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

  
    PUBLISHED     

 

18 ABC 03865 11/15/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Davidson Ventures LLC T/A Wine and 

Canvas 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 DHR 02700 11/2/2018 Myronette Alspaugh v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services Medicaid/ NC Health Choice 

Program 

May 

18 DHR 03934 11/8/2018 Erica Fennell v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 DOJ 02094 11/5/2018 Erica Nicole Selby v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Ward 

18 DOJ 02763 11/30/2018 Brice K Marshall v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

18 DOJ 02967 11/29/2018 Scott D Helton Sr v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

18 DOJ 03216 11/27/2018 Alfred Wortham v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

18 DOJ 03842 11/27/2018 Joshua M Bunton v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

18 DOJ 04489 11/27/2018 Emily Greer Bell v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 
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18 EDC 02121 11/5/2018 Renita Harvey v. North Carolina State Board of Education Ward 

        

  
    UNPUBLISHED     

 

18 ABC 05383 11/2/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Ambience Special Event Center LLC 

T/A Ambience Special Event Center 

Jacobs 

18 ABC 05594 11/28/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Crazy Iguana Bar and Grill LLC T/A 

Crazy Iguana Bar and Grill 

Jacobs 

             

17 CSE 07635 11/9/2018 John G Currall v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

18 CSE 03833 11/14/2018 Timothy F Bourque v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 05358 11/15/2018 Johnathan Lee 

Antinori 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

             

18 DHR 03955 11/15/2018 Lucia M Gonzalez v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 04726 11/14/2018 Patrice Michelle 

Harris Powell 

v. NC Healthcare Registry Department of 

Health & Human Svcs 

Ward 

18 DHR 04798 11/28/2018 Living Waters Home 

Care LLC 

v. NCDHHS NCDHHS Legal Counsel Sutton 

18 DHR 05158 11/27/2018 Dwayne S Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Lassiter 

18 DHR 05271 11/5/2018 Moyer Ideas LLC 

Brandon Moyer 

v. Buncombe County Health Department Sutton 

18 DHR 05522 11/8/2018 Margaret Newman v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 05716 11/21/2018 LSM Enterprizes Inc 

Marshall Elmore 

v. Cardinal Innovations Healthcare May 

18 DHR 05810 11/16/2018 Love and Learn 

Academy Regina 

Ross 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 05878 11/27/2018 Deborah P Reyes v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

 

 


