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Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 

 

 

 

GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Health and 

Human Services intends to readopt with substantive changes the 

rules cited as 10A NCAC 14A .0101-.0103. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www2.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 27, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Edgerton Building, Room 026, 

809 Ruggles Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire.  As a result 

of the periodic review of subchapter 10A NCAC 14A, Director, 

Division of Health Service Regulation, Rulemaking, three rules 

were determined as "Necessary With Substantive Public Interest," 

in Section .0100 of these Rules, thus requiring readoption.  

Substantive changes have been made to these proposed 

readoption rules through repeal, technical changes, and removal 

of outdated language.  A reorganization of Rule 10A NCAC 14A 

.0101 clarifies the process for submission and criteria for 

determination of rule petitions to the Director, DHSR.  Rule 10A 

NCAC 14A .0102 is not necessary because the statutes govern the 

procedures for rulemaking; therefore, the rule is proposed for 

repeal.  For Rule 10A NCAC 14A .0103, the criteria for 

declaratory ruling submission requests was clarified, the 

petitioner's opinion of the potential impact on the declaratory 

ruling on the public has been added to the criteria for declaratory 

ruling requests, the criteria for good cause denial for declaratory 

rulings was clarified, and the Agency's address was updated. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  April 2, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 10A NCAC 14A .0101, .0103 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2)  10A 

NCAC 14A .0102 

 

CHAPTER 14 - DIRECTOR, DIVISION OF HEALTH 

SERVICE REGULATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14A – RULEMAKING 

 

SECTION .0100 - RULEMAKING 

 

10A NCAC 14A .0101 PETITIONS 

(a)  Any person wishing to submit a written petition requesting 

the adoption, amendment amendment, or repeal of a rule by the 

Director of the Division of Health Service Regulation shall 

address the petition submit the petition addressed to the Director, 

Division of Health Service Regulation, 809 Ruggles Drive, 2701 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27699-2701. 

(b)  The petition shall contain the following information: 

(1) either a draft of the proposed rule or a summary 

of its contents the text of the proposed rule(s) 

for adoption or amendment and the statutory 
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authority for the agency to promulgate the rule; 

rule(s); 

(2) a statement of the reason reasons for proposal; 

adoption of the proposed rule(s), amendment or 

the repeal of an existing rule(s); 

(3) a statement of the effect on existing rules or 

orders; 

(4) any data supporting the proposal; a statement of 

the effect of the proposed rule(s) on existing 

practices in the area involved, if known; 

(5) effect of the proposed rule on existing practices 

in the area involved, including cost factors, if 

known; a statement explaining the costs and 

computation of the cost factors, if known; and 

(6) names of those most likely to be affected by the 

proposed rule, with addresses, if known; 

(7)(6) the name(s) and address(es) of the petitioner(s). 

(c)  The petitioner may include the following information within 

the request: 

(1) documents and any data supporting the petition; 

(2) a description, including the names and 

addresses, if known, of those most likely to be 

affected by the proposed rule(s). 

(c)(d)  The Director, based on a study review of the facts stated in 

the petition, will determine whether the public interest will be 

served by granting the petition. He will shall consider all the 

contents of the submitted petition, plus any additional information 

he deems relevant. the following in his or her determination to 

grant the petition: 

(1) whether he or she has authority to adopt the 

rule(s); 

(2) the effect of the proposed rule(s) on existing 

rules, programs and practices; 

(3) probable costs and cost factors of the proposed 

rule(s); 

(4) the impact of the rule on the public and the 

regulated entities; and 

(5) whether the public interest will be served by 

granting the petition. 

(d)(e)  Within 30 days of submission of the petition, the Director 

will render a final decision. If the decision is to deny the petition, 

the Director will notify the petitioner in writing, stating the 

reasons for the denial. If the decision is to approve the petition, 

the Director will initiate a rulemaking proceeding by issuing a 

rulemaking notice, as provided in these rules. Petitions that do not 

contain the information required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

shall be returned to the petitioner by the Director of Division of 

Health Service Regulation. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-10; 150B-20. 

 

10A NCAC 14A .0102 RULEMAKING PROCEDURES 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-10. 

 

10A NCAC 14A .0103 DECLARATORY RULINGS 

(a)  The Director of the Division of Health Service Regulation 

may make issue declaratory rulings. All requests for declaratory 

rulings shall be written and submitted to: the Director, Division of 

Health Service Regulation, 809 Ruggles Drive, 2701 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27699-2701. 

(b)  All requests for a declaratory ruling must shall include the 

following information: 

(1) the name and address of the petitioner; 

(2) a statement of all relevant facts if the person 

aggrieved requests a declaratory ruling as to the 

applicability to a statute, rule, or order of the 

Division; 

(2)(3) the statute or rule to which the petition relates; 

(4) a statement regarding the petitioner's opinion as 

to any conflict or inconsistencies, if any, within 

the Division regarding an interpretation of the 

law or a rule adopted by the Division to which 

the petition relates; 

(3)(5) a concise statement of the manner in which the 

petitioner is aggrieved by the rule or statute 

statute, or its potential application to him; him 

or her; and 

(4)(6) the consequences of a failure to issue a 

declaratory ruling. ruling; and 

(7) the petitioner's opinion as to the potential 

impact of the declaratory ruling on the public. 

(c)  Whenever the Director believes finds for good cause that the 

issuance of a declaratory ruling will not serve the public interest, 

he or she may refuse deny the request to issue one. a declaratory 

ruling. When good cause is deemed to exist, In such a case, the 

Director shall notify the petitioner in writing of his the decision in 

writing stating reasons to deny the request for declaratory ruling 

and shall state the reason for the denial of a declaratory ruling. 

denial. 

(d)  The Director may refuse to consider the validity of a rule and 

therefore refuse to issue a declaratory ruling: Good cause for the 

denial of a declaratory ruling request includes, but is not limited 

to: 

(1) the person submitting the request is not a person 

aggrieved; or 

(2) there is no conflict or inconsistency within the 

Division regarding an interpretation of the law 

or a rule adopted by the Division; or 

(1)(3) if a situation where there has been similar 

controlling factual determination in a contested 

case, case; or 

(4) if the request for declaratory ruling involves a 

factual context being raised for a declaratory 

ruling was that was specifically considered 

upon adoption of the rule being questioned as 

evidence evidenced by the rulemaking record; 

or 

(5) the factual representations are not specific to 

the statute or rule being questioned; or 

(6) issuing the declaratory ruling will not serve the 

public interest; or 

(2)(7) if circumstances stated in the request or 

otherwise known to the agency show that a 

contested case hearing would presently be 

appropriate. 
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(e)  Where a declaratory ruling is deemed to be in the public 

interest, the Director shall issue the ruling within 60 days of 

receipt of the petition.  

(f)(e)  A declaratory ruling procedure may consist of written 

submissions, oral hearings, or such other procedure as may be 

appropriate the Director may determine in a particular case. 

(g)(f)  The Director may issue notice to persons who might be 

affected by the ruling that written comments may be submitted or 

oral presentations received at a scheduled hearing. 

(h)  A record of all declaratory ruling procedures shall be 

maintained for as long as the ruling has validity. This record will 

contain: 

(1) the original request, 

(2) reasons for refusing to issue a ruling, 

(3) all written memoranda and information 

submitted, 

(4) any written minutes or audio tape or other 

record of the oral hearing, and 

(5) a statement of the ruling. 

This record will be maintained in a file at the Division Office, 

Division of Health Service Regulation, 2701 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, North Carolina, 27699-2701 and will be available for 

public inspection during regular office hours. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-10; 150B-4. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Private Protective Services Board intends 

to readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 14B NCAC 

16 .0110, .0804-.0809, .0901, .0904, .0906, .0909; and readopt 

without substantive changes the rules cited as 14B NCAC 16 

.0101-.0109, .0111-.0114, .0201-.0205, .0301, .0302, .0401-

.0405, .0501-.0504, .0601-.0603, .0701-.0707, .0801-.0803, 

.0902, .0903, .0905, .0907, .0908, .0910-.0912, .1001-.1003, 

1101-.1108, .1201-.1207, .1301-.1308, and .1401-.1408. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of rules to be readopted 

without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The 

text of the rules is available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://www.ncdps.gov/About-DPS/Boards-

Commissions/Private-Protective-Services-Board 

 

Proposed Effective Date: June 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: February 20, 2019 

Time: 2:00 p.m. 

Location: Private Protective Services Board, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This set of rules has completed 

the statutorily required review process and need to be readopted. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Phil Stephenson, Field 

Services Supervisor, 3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, 

NC 27609, phone (919) 788-5320, fax (919) 715-0370, email 

Phillip.Stephenson@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends: April 2, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 16 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

BOARD 

 

SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATION AND GENERAL 

PROVISIONS  

 

14B NCAC 16 .0101 PURPOSE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0102 LOCATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0103 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0104 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0105 PROHIBITED ACTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0106 DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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14B NCAC 16 .0107 LAW ENFORCEMENT 

OFFICERS SPECIAL PROVISIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0108 RECORDS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0109 RULEMAKING AND 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING PROCEDURES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0110 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR THE DISCHARGE OF FIREARMS 

(a)  If any licensee or certificate holder is charged with any 

criminal offense that would constitute grounds to deny, suspend 

or revoke a license or certificate under this Chapter the licensee 

or certificate holder shall self-report the criminal charge to the 

Board either in person or by telephone no later than the first 

business day following the charge. The licensee or certificate 

holder shall provide a copy of the charging document and a 

written explanation to the Board within five working days. 

(b)  If any registrant is charged with any criminal offense that 

would constitute grounds to deny, suspend or revoke a license or 

certificate under this Chapter the licensee or certificate holder 

shall self-report the criminal charge to the Board either in person 

or by telephone no later than the first business day following 

knowledge of the charge. The licensee or certificate holder shall 

provide a copy of the charging document and a written 

explanation to the Board within five working days. 

(c)  If a licensee or registrant licensee, registrant or certificate 

holder discharges a firearm while engaged in the private 

protective services business, the licensee shall notify the Board 

either in person or by telephone no later than the first business day 

following the incident. The licensee shall also file a written report 

to the Board within five working days of the incident. In the 

report, the licensee shall state the name of the individual who 

discharged the firearm, the type of weapon discharged, the 

location of the incident, the law enforcement agency investigating 

the incident, the events leading to the discharge of the firearm, and 

any bodily injuries occurring from the incident. This Rule shall 

not be construed to apply to a weapon that is discharged during a 

training course that has been approved by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0111 CHANGE OF ADDRESS OR 

TELEPHONE NUMBER (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0112 SUSPENSION OF AUTHORITY 

TO EXPEND FUNDS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0113 INVOLVEMENT IN 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0114 APPLICATION COMPLETION 

DEADLINE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0200 - LICENSES: TRAINEE PERMITS  

 

14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSES 

AND TRAINEE PERMITS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0202 FEES FOR LICENSES AND 

TRAINEE PERMITS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0203 RENEWAL OR RE-ISSUE OF 

LICENSES AND TRAINEE PERMITS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0204 DETERMINATION OF 

EXPERIENCE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0205 COMPANY BUSINESS LICENSE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0300 - SECURITY GUARD AND PATROL: 

GUARD DOG SERVICE 

  

14B NCAC 16 .0301 EXPERIENCE 

REQUIREMENTS/SECURITY GUARD AND PATROL 

LICENSE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0302 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR GUARD DOG SERVICE LICENSE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 SECTION .0400 - PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR: 

ELECTRONIC COUNTERMEASURES  

 

14B NCAC 16 .0401 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR LICENSE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0402 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A COUNTERINTELLIGENCE LICENSE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0403 TRAINEE PERMIT 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0404 REPORTS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0405 PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR'S 

USE OF A BADGE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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SECTION .0500 - POLYGRAPH  

 

14B NCAC 16 .0501 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A POLYGRAPH LICENSE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0502 POLYGRAPH TRAINEE 

PERMIT REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0503 POLYGRAPH EXAMINATION 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0504 POLYGRAPH INSTRUMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 SECTION .0600 - PSYCHOLOGICAL STRESS 

EVALUATOR (P.S.E.)  

 

14B NCAC 16 .0601 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A PSYCHOLOGICAL STRESS EVALUATOR 

LICENSE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES)  

 

14B NCAC 16 .0602 P.S.E. EXAMINATION 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0603 P.S.E. INSTRUMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0700 - SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(UNARMED) 

  

14B NCAC 16 .0701 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED 

SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0702 FEES FOR UNARMED 

SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0703 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

UNARMED SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0704 INVESTIGATION FOR 

UNARMED SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0705 UNARMED SECURITY GUARD 

REGISTRATION IDENTIFICATION CARDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0706 RENEWAL OR REISSUE OF 

UNARMED SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0707 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR UNARMED SECURITY GUARDS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0800 - ARMED SECURITY GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0801 APPLICATION/ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0802 FEES FOR ARMED SECURITY 

GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0803 MINIMUM STDS/ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0804 INVESTIGATION/ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a) After the administrator receives a complete application for 

registration, the administrator Director may cause to be made such 

further investigation of the applicant as deemed necessary. 

(b) Any denial of an applicant for registration by the administrator 

Director shall be subject to review by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0805 ARMED SECURITY GUARD 

FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT IDENT CARDS 

(a)  The provisions of 12 NCAC 7D .0705 14B NCAC 16 .0705 

are hereby made to apply to armed security officers guards. 

(b)  Upon termination of employment of an armed security officer 

guard, the employer shall return the employee's registration card 

to the Board within 15 days of the employee's termination. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0806 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an armed security guard firearm 

registration permit identification card or his or her employer shall 

complete a form provided by the Board. This form shall be 

submitted not more than 90 days nor fewer than 30 days prior to 

expiration of the applicant's current armed registration and shall 

be accompanied by: 

(1) two head and shoulders color digital 

photographs of the applicant in JPG format of 

acceptable quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to submission and 

submitted by e-mail to PPASL-

Photos@ncdps.gov or by compact disc; 

(2) statements of any criminal record obtained from 

the reporting service designated by the Board 
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pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee; and 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected by the Private 

Protective Services Board. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal 

shall give the applicant a copy of the application that shall serve 

as a record of application for renewal and shall retain a copy of 

the application in the individual's personnel file in the employer's 

office. 

(c)  Applications for renewal shall be accompanied by a statement 

signed by a certified trainer that the applicant has successfully 

completed the training requirements of Rule .0807 of this Section. 

(d)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(e)  A registered armed security guard may utilize a dedicated 

light system or gun-mounted light for requalification. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0807 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ARMED SECURITY GUARDS 

(a)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall first complete the basic unarmed security guard 

training course set forth in Rule .0707 of this Chapter. 

(b)  Private investigator licensees applying for an armed security 

guard firearm registration permit shall first complete a four hour 

training course consisting of the courses set forth in Rule 

.0707(a)(1) and (2) of this Chapter and all additional training 

requirements set forth in that Rule. 

(c)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall complete a basic training course for armed security 

guards which consists of at least 20 hours of classroom instruction 

including: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of handguns and on 

the powers and authority of an armed security 

guard, including familiarity with rules and 

regulations relating to armed security guards 

(minimum of four hours); 

(2) handgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) handgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of three hours); 

(4) handgun fundamentals (minimum of eight 

hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum of four hours). 

Subparagraph (c)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (c)(3), and 

Subparagraph (c)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 

applicant's participation in range firing. 

(d)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 

firearms range qualification course adopted by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 

Director's office. For rifle qualification all shots shall be located 

on the target. Should a student fail to attain a score of 80 percent 

accuracy, the student may be given three additional attempts to 

qualify on the course of fire the student did not pass. Failure to 

meet the qualification after three attempts shall require the student 

to repeat the entire Basic Training Course for Armed Security 

Guards. All additional attempts must take place within 20 days of 

the completion of the initial 20 hour course. 

(e)  All armed security guard training required by this Chapter 

shall be administered by a certified trainer and shall be completed 

no more than 90 days prior to the date of issuance of the armed 

security guard firearm registration permit. 

(f)  All applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall obtain training under the provisions of this Section 

using their duty weapon and their duty ammunition or ballistic 

equivalent ammunition, to include lead-free ammunition that 

meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil of the 

duty ammunition, for all weapons. 

(g)  No more than six new or renewal armed security guard 

applicants per one instructor shall be placed on the firing line at 

any one time during firearms range training for armed security 

guards. 

(h)  Applicants for re-certification of an armed security guard 

firearm registration permit shall complete a basic recertification 

training course for armed security guards that consists of at least 

four hours of classroom instruction and is a review of the 

requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (c)(5) of 

this Rule. The recertification course is valid for 180 days after 

completion of the course. Applicants for recertification of an 

armed security guard firearm registration permit shall also 

complete the requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(i)  An armed guard registered with one company may be 

registered with a second company. The registration shall be 

considered "dual." The registration with the second company shall 

expire at the same time that the registration expires with the first 

company. An updated application shall be required to be 

submitted by the applicant, along with the digital photograph, 

updated criminal records checks, and a forty dollar ($40.00) 

registration fee. If the guard will be carrying a firearm of the same 

make, model, and caliber, then no additional firearms training 

shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the 

guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the 

guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 

the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 

make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 

both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 

score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 

(j)  To be authorized to carry a standard 12 gauge shotgun in the 

performance of his or her duties as an armed security guard, an 

applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements of 
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Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of this Rule, six hours of classroom 

training that shall include the following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of shotgun 

(minimum of one hour); 

(2) shotgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) shotgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of one hour); 

(4) shotgun fundamentals (minimum of two hours); 

and 

(5) night firing (minimum of one hour). 

Subparagraph (j)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (j)(3), and 

Subparagraph (j)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 

applicant's participation in range firing. 

(k)  An applicant may take the additional shotgun training at a 

time after the initial training in this Rule. If the shotgun training 

is completed at a later time, the shotgun certification shall run 

concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Paragraph (j) of this Rule, applicants 

shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a shotgun 

range qualification course adopted by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the Director's office. 

(l)  Applicants for shotgun recertification shall complete one hour 

of classroom training covering the topics set forth in Paragraph (j) 

of this Rule and shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(m)  To be authorized to carry a rifle in the performance of his or 

her duties as an armed security guard, an applicant shall complete, 

in addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of 

this Rule, 16 hours of classroom training which shall include the 

following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of rifles (minimum 

of one hour); 

(2) rifle safety, including range firing procedures 

(minimum of one hour); 

(3) rifle operation and maintenance (minimum of 

two hours); 

(4) rifle fundamentals (minimum of ten hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum two hours). 

Subparagraph (m)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (m)(3), 

and Subparagraph (m)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to 

the applicant's participation in range firing. 

(n)  The applicant shall pass a skills course that tests each basic 

rifle skill and the test of each skill shall be completed within three 

attempts. 

(o)  An applicant may take the additional rifle training at a time 

after the initial training in this Rule. If the rifle training is 

completed at a later time, the rifle certification shall run 

concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Paragraphs (m) and (n) of this Rule, 

applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 

rifle range qualification course adopted by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 

Director's office. 

(p)  Applicants for rifle recertification shall complete an 

additional one hour of classroom training covering the topics set 

forth in Paragraph (m) of this Rule and shall also complete the 

requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(q)  Upon written request, an applicant for an armed security guard 

firearm registration permit who possess a current firearms trainer 

certificate shall be given a firearms registration permit that will 

run concurrent with the trainer certificate upon completion of an 

annual qualification with the applicant's duty firearms as set forth 

in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(r)  The An armed security guard is required to qualify annually 

both for day and night firing with his or her duty handgun, 

shotgun, and rifle, if applicable. If the security guard fails to 

qualify on any course of fire, the security guard shall not carry the 

firearm until such time as he or she meets the qualification 

requirements. Upon failure to qualify, the firearm instructor shall 

notify the security guard that he or she is no longer authorized to 

carry the firearm and the firearm instructor shall notify the 

employer and the Private Protective Services Board staff on the 

next business day. 

(s)  A firearm training certificate of an armed security guard 

remains valid even if the guard leaves the employment of one 

company for the employment of another. The range qualifications 

shall remain valid if the guard will be carrying a firearm of the 

same make, model, and caliber, then no additional firearms 

training shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating 

the guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If 

the guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 

the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 

make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 

both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 

score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 

However, nothing herein shall extend the period of time the 

qualification is valid. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0808 CONCEALED WEAPONS 

(a)  Nothing in G.S. 74C or this Chapter shall be construed as 

permitting the carrying of concealed weapons by licensees, 

trainees, registrants or firearms trainers while in performance of 

duties regulated by the Private Protective Services Act, unless the 

Act. However, a licensee, trainer, or registrant who has complied 

with all provisions of G.S. 14, Article 54B and applicable rules 

promulgated adopted by the N.C. Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission pursuant thereto and has been 

issued a current concealed handgun permit by a Sheriff. 

Additionally, applicants shall comply Sheriff may carry a 

concealed handgun after complying with the concealed firearm 

handgun provisions for training and qualifications set forth in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  A licensee, trainer, or registrant trainee, registrant or firearms 

trainer shall comply with each of the following requirements to 

carry a Concealed Firearm concealed handgun while engaged in a 

private protective services business. 

(1) An individual shall hold Hold a current Armed 

Security Guard Registration Permit by 

complying with all requirements for armed 

registration as prescribed in this Section. 

(2) An individual shall complete Complete 

standards set forth by the N.C. Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards Commission 
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to include knowledge of North Carolina 

firearms laws including, but not limited to, the 

limitation on concealed weapon handgun 

possession on specified grounds property and 

within certain buildings. 

(3) An individual meeting the requirements of this 

Section shall be issued a concealed firearm 

endorsement to the current Armed Security 

Guard Registration Permit for the term of the 

Armed Security Guard Registration Permit 

without additional permit fees, but any 

additional training costs necessary to comply 

with this Section shall be borne directly by the 

applicant. 

(c)  Upon application to the Board, a licensee, trainee, registrant, 

or firearms trainer meeting the requirements of this Section may 

be issued a concealed handgun endorsement to the current Armed 

Security Guard Registration Permit for the term of the Armed 

Security Guard Registration Permit without additional permit 

fees, but any additional training costs necessary to comply with 

this Section shall be borne directly by the applicant. The 

endorsement shall be renewed at the time of the Armed Security 

Guard Registration Permit renewal pursuant to the applicable 

provisions of this Section on payment of the armed security guard 

registration renewal fee and proof of possession of a current 

Concealed Handgun Permit. There shall be no additional fee for 

the concealed firearms handgun endorsement renewal. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0809 AUTHORIZED FIREARMS 

Armed licensees or registrants are authorized, while in the 

performance of official duties or traveling directly to and from 

work, to carry a standard revolver from .32 caliber to .357 caliber, 

a standard semi-automatic pistol from .354 caliber to .45 caliber, 

any standard 12 gauge shotgun, or any standard semi-automatic 

or bolt action .223 or .223, .308, 5.56 X 45 mm NATO caliber 

caliber, or any above handgun caliber rifle as long as the licensee 

or registrant has been trained pursuant to Rule .0807 of this 

Section. For purposes of this Section, a "standard" firearm means 

a firearm that has not been modified or altered from its original 

manufactured design. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .0900 – TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0901 REQUIREMENTS FOR A 

FIREARMS TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Firearms trainer applicants shall: 

(1) meet the minimum standards established by 

Rule .0703 of this Chapter; 

(2) have a minimum of one year of supervisory 

experience in security with a contract security 

company or proprietary security organization, 

or one year of experience with any federal, 

state, county or municipal law enforcement 

agency; 

(3) attain a 90 percent score on a firearm's 

prequalification course approved by the Board 

and the Secretary of Public Safety, with a copy 

of the firearm's course certificate to be kept on 

file in the administrator's office; 

(4) to teach handgun qualification, complete a 

training course approved by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety that shall consist of 

a minimum of 32 hours of classroom and 

practical range training in safety and 

maintenance, range operations, night firearm 

training, control and safety procedures, and 

methods of handgun firing; 

(5) to teach shotgun or rifle qualification, complete 

a training course approved by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety that shall consist of 

a minimum of 24 12 hours of classroom and 

practical range training in shotgun and rifle 

safety and maintenance, range operations, night 

firearm training, control and safety procedures, 

and methods of shotgun and rifle firing; 

(6) to teach rifle qualification, complete a training 

course approved by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety that shall consist of a minimum 

of 16 hours of classroom and practical range 

training in rifle safety and maintenance, range 

operations, night firearm training, control and 

safety procedures, and methods of rifle firing; 

(6)(7) pay the certified trainer application fee 

established in Rule .0903(a)(1) of this Section; 

and 

(7)(8) successfully complete the requirements of the 

Unarmed Trainer Certificate set forth in Rule 

.0909 of this Section. 

(b)  The applicant's score on the prequalification course set forth 

in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule is valid for 180 days after 

completion of the course. 

(c)  In lieu of completing the training course set forth in 

Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule, an applicant may submit to the 

Board a current Criminal Justice Specialized Law Enforcement 

Firearms Instructor Certificate from the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. 

(d)  In lieu of Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (4) of this Rule, an 

applicant may establish that the applicant satisfies the conditions 

set forth in G.S. 93B-15.1(a) for firearm instruction and two years 

of verifiable experience within the past five years in the U.S. 

Armed Forces as a firearms instructor. 

(e)  All applicants subject to Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule 

shall comply with the provisions of Subparagraph (a)(3), pay the 

application fee amount as set forth in Rule .0903 of this Section, 

and complete the eight-hour course given by the Board on rules 

and regulations. 

(f)  In addition to the requirement of Section .0200 of this Chapter, 

an applicant for a firearms trainer certificate who is the spouse of 

an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall establish 

that the application satisfies the conditions set forth in G.S. 93B-

15.1(b). 

(g)  A Firearms Trainer Certificate expires two years after the date 

of issuance.  
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Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13; 93B-15.1. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0902 APPLICATION FOR FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0903 FEES FOR TRAINER 

CERTIFICATE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

  

14B NCAC 16 .0904 RENEWAL OF A FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a firearms trainer certificate 

shall complete a renewal form provided by the Board and 

available on its website at www.ncdps.gov/PPS. This form shall 

be submitted not less than 30 days prior to the expiration of the 

applicant's current certificate and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) certification of the successful completion of a 

firearms trainer refresher course approved by 

the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety 

consisting of a minimum of eight hours of 

classroom and practical range training in safety 

and maintenance of the applicable firearm (i.e. 

handgun, shotgun or rifle), range operations, 

control and safety procedures, and methods of 

firing. firing, and night firing. This training 

shall be completed within 180 days of the 

submission of the renewal application; 

(2) a certified statement of the result of a criminal 

records search from the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74C-

8.1(a) for each state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 48 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee; and 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected by the Private 

Protective Services Board. 

(b)  Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the certification renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(c)  Any firearms trainer who fails to qualify with the minimum 

score during the refresher course shall not continue to instruct 

during the period between the failure to qualify and the expiration 

of his or her permit. 

(d)  The holder of a firearms trainer certificate may utilize a 

dedicated light system or gun mounted light for personal 

requalification. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0905 DETERMINATION OF 

EXPERIENCE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0906 RECORDS RETENTION 

(a)  A Certified Firearms Trainer shall retain the following in the 

individual's armed certification file: 

(1) a copy of the post delivery report listing the 

name(s) of individual(s) who qualified or 

attempted to qualify for armed security guard 

registration, and hour(s) of training, weapon 

firearms qualification scores and any other 

information thereon; 

(2) a copy of the individual's Firearm Training 

Certificate; and 

(3) the individual's B-27 target and the Certified 

Firearms Trainer's Documentation Record. 

(b)  The individual's B-27 qualification attempt target shall be 

retained for a minimum of 18 calendar months from the date of 

each qualification attempt. Each B-27 target must contain the full 

name of the individual that fired the qualification course of fire, 

the date that qualification attempt took place, the printed name 

and signature of the private protective service certified firearms 

trainer who scored the target and the score. The qualification 

target shall also show letter "N" or "D" to indicate if the 

qualification attempt was a day time ("D") or night time ("N") 

qualification attempt. The information required by this Paragraph 

shall be placed on the B-27 target in ink or permanent marker. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0907 PRE-DELIVERY REPORT FOR 

FIREARMS TRAINING COURSES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0908 POST-DELIVERY REPORT FOR 

FIREARMS TRAINING COURSES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0909 UNARMED TRAINER 

CERTIFICATE 

(a)  To receive an unarmed trainer certificate, an applicant shall 

meet the following requirements: 

(1) comply with the requirements of Rule .0703 of 

this Chapter; 

(2) have a minimum of one year of experience in 

security with a contract security company or 

proprietary security organization, or one year of 

experience with any federal, state, county or 

municipal law enforcement agency; 

(3) successfully complete a training course 

approved by the Board and the Secretary of 

Public Safety which shall consist of a minimum 

of 24 hours classroom instruction to include the 

following topic areas: 

(A) civil liability for the security trainer -- 

(two hours); 

(B) interpersonal communications in 

instruction -- (three hours); 
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(C) teaching adults -- (four hours); 

(D) principles of instruction -- (one hour); 

(E) methods and strategies of instruction -

- (one hour); 

(F) principles of instruction: audio-visual 

aids -- (three hours); and 

(G) student performance -- (45 minute 

presentation); 

(4) receive a favorable recommendation from the 

employing or contracting licensee; licensee or 

other individual knowledgeable of the 

applicant's experience and teaching skills; and 

(5) submit the application required by Rule .0910 

of this Section, which is available on the 

Board's website at www.ncdps.gov/PPS. 

(b)  In lieu of completing the training course set forth in 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule, an applicant may submit to the 

Board: 

(1) a Criminal Justice General Instructor 

Certificate from the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission; or 

(2) any training certification that meets or exceeds 

the requirements of Subparagraph (a)(3) of this 

Rule and is approved by the Director of PPS. 

(c)  In lieu of the experience requirement of Subparagraph (a)(2) 

of this Rule and completing the training course set forth in 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule, an applicant may establish that 

the applicant satisfies the conditions set forth in G.S. 93B-15.1(a) 

for an unarmed trainer and two years of verifiable experience 

within the past five years in the U.S. Armed forces as an unarmed 

guard trainer. 

(d)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for an unarmed guard trainer certificate that 

is the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces 

shall establish that the applicant satisfies the conditions set forth 

in G.S. 93B-15.1(b). 

(e)  An Unarmed Trainer Certificate shall expire two years after 

the date of issuance. 

(e)  The holder of an unarmed trainer certificate may teach as: 

(1) an employee of a licensed security guard and 

patrol business; 

(2) as a contractor of a licensed security guard and 

patrol business; and 

(3) in a program sponsored by a public high school 

defined by G.S. 115C-75(a)(2) or a community 

college established pursuant to G.S. 115D-2(2). 

(f)  An Unarmed Trainer Certificate shall expire two years after 

the date of issuance. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-8; 74C-9; 74C-11; 93B-15.1. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0910 APPLICATION FOR AN 

UNARMED TRAINER CERTIFICATE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0911 RENEWAL OF AN UNARMED 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0912 ROSTERS OF UNARMED 

TRAINER CLASSES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1000 - RECOVERY FUND  

 

14B NCAC 16 .1001 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1002 PETITION FOR 

HEARING/APPLICATION FOR RELIEF (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1003 PROCESSING APPLICATIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1100 - TRAINING AND SUPERVISION FOR 

PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR ASSOCIATES 

  

14B NCAC 16 .1101 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1102 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL ONE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1103 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL TWO (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1104 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL THREE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1105 EDUCATIONAL DEGREES AND 

NON-DEGREED TRAINING (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1106 CONSIDERATION OF 

EXPERIENCE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1107 ENFORCEMENT (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1108 TRANSFERABILITY OF 

TRAINING HOURS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1200 – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

  

14B NCAC 16 .1201 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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14B NCAC 16 .1202 REQUIRED CONTINUING 

EDUCATION HOURS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1203 ACCREDITATION STANDARDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1204 NON-RESIDENT LICENSEE 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1205 RECORDING AND REPORTING 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1206 NON-COMPLIANCE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1207 CREDIT FOR CE COURSES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1300 – ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION (UNARMED)  

 

14B NCAC 16 .1301 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1302 FEES FOR UNARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1303 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1304 INVESTIGATION FOR 

UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1305 UNARMED ARMORED CAR 

SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION IDENTIFICATION 

CARDS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1306 RENEWAL OR REISSUE OF 

UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1307 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1308 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1400 - ARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE 

GUARDS FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT  

 

14B NCAC 16 .1401 APPLICATION/ARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1402 FEES FOR ARMED ARMORED 

CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1403 MINIMUM STDS/ARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1404 INVESTIGATION/ARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1405 ARMED ARMORED CAR 

SERVICE GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT 

IDENTIFICATION CARDS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1406 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1407 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1408 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited 

as 15A NCAC 10F .0307 and .0320. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncwildlife.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 6, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  WRC Headquarters, 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 

27606 
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Reason for Proposed Action:   

15A NCAC 10F .0307 – A technical change is being made to 

correctly identify the coordinates that mark a no-wake zone on 

Lake Norman in Iredell County, in a small cove north of the 

entrance to Hager Creek.  The correct location is substantially 

smaller than what is misidentified as the cove in the creek.  

Therefore, rulemaking is required.  A fiscal note is not required. 

15A NCAC 10F .0320 – Onslow County submitted an application 

for rulemaking in a portion of the Intracoastal Waterway at 

Hammocks Beach State Park in Swansboro, to mitigate hazards 

to boater safety caused by a busy boat ramp, passenger ferry, and 

kayaks at the State Park.  US Army Corps of Engineers has 

concurred with placement of no-wake markers in that portion of 

the ICW, federal channel.  No fiscal note is required as there is 

no expense to a local unit of government. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rules Coordinator, 1701 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1701; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  April 2, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY 

REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0307 CATAWBA, IREDELL, 

LINCOLN, AND MECKLENBURG COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to Lake Norman in 

Catawba, Iredell, Lincoln, and Mecklenburg counties: 

(1) within 50 yards of the shoreline at Jetton Park 

in Mecklenburg County, from a point on the 

west side of the park at 35.47082 N, 80.90427 

W, south and around the point at 35.46703 N, 

80.90360 W, then northeast to a point at 

35.47262 N, 80.89727 W; 

(2) Bluff Point Cove in Cornelius shore to shore, 

east of a line from a point 50 yards west of the 

south shore of the cove mouth at 35.45327 N, 

80.89520 W to a point 50 yards west of the 

north shore of the cove mouth at 35.45487 N, 

80.89440 W; and 

(3) the cove immediately north of the inlet of Hager 

Creek cove in Iredell County, east of a line at 

the cove mouth from a point on the south shore 

at 35.55117 N, 80.95250 W to a point on the 

north shore of the cove mouth at 35.56162 N, 

80.95230 W. north of a line from a point on the 

north shore at 35.55760 N, 80.94730 W 

southwest to a point on the island at the inlet of 

Hager Creek at 35.55695 N, 80.94971 W, and 

east of a line from the same point on the island 

northwest to a point on the north shore at 

35.55754 N, 80.95029 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no wake speed within the regulated areas described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule and as set forth in G.S. 75A-14.1. G.S. 75A–14.1, 

which is specific to the waters of Lake Norman. 

(c)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked swimming 

area on the waters of Lake Norman. 

(d)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Lake Norman 

Marine Commission shall be the designated agency for placement 

and maintenance of navigational aids and regulatory markers on 

the waters of Lake Norman. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0320 ONSLOW COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Onslow County: 

(1) the canals in Old Settlers Beach subdivision in 

the Town of Surf City, east of the Onslow-

Pender County line, and the waters of the 

approach canal from the Intracoastal Waterway 

between markers 53 and 57, extending south-

southwest to the Onslow-Pender County line; 

(2) New River in the City of Jacksonville shore to 

shore, north from a line at a point on the east 

shore at 34.74356 N, 77.43775 W to a point on 

the west shore at 34.74358 N, 77.43924 W; and 

south from a line at a point on the east shore at 

34.74695 N, 77.43719 W, to a point on the west 

shore at 34.74562 N, 77.44114 W; and the 

waters shore to shore north of the SR 1402 
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bridge otherwise known as the Old Bridge 

Street bridge and south of the U.S. Highway 17 

Business bridge otherwise known as Marine 

Boulevard bridge; and within 50 yards of the 

shoreline at the Marina Café and Marina, from 

the U.S. Highway 17 Business bridge otherwise 

known as Marine Boulevard bridge to a point 

on the west shore at 34.75461 N, 77.43819 W; 

and 

(3) Queens Creek near the boating access area at 

the north end of SR 1688, otherwise known as 

Sussex Lane in Hubert, shore to shore west of a 

line from a point on the south shore at 34.69881 

N, 77.18884 W to a point on the north shore at 

34.69949 N, 77.18880 W and south-southeast 

of a line from a point on the west shore at 

34.70103 N, 77.19287 W to a point on the east 

shore at 34.70101 N, 77.19216 W. 77.19216 W; 

and 

(4) Intracoastal Waterway at Hammocks Beach 

State Park in Swansboro, from a line at a point 

on the north shore west of the passenger ferry 

dock at 34.66967 N, 77.14454 W, south to a 

point on an unnamed island at 34.66823 N, 

77.14459 W, eastward 520 yards to a line from 

a point on the north shore east of the public boat 

ramp and maintenance area at 34.67023 N, 

77.13934 W, south to a point on an unnamed 

island at 34.66916 N, 77.13962 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a motorboat at greater 

than no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Onslow County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on December 13, 2018 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

HOUSING FINANCE AGENCY 

Overview and Purpose 04 NCAC 19S .0101 32:23 NCR 

Definitions 04 NCAC 19S .0102 32:23 NCR 

Waiver 04 NCAC 19S .0103 32:23 NCR 

Eligible Applicants 04 NCAC 19S .0104 32:23 NCR 

Amendments Adopted by Reference 04 NCAC 19S .0105 32:23 NCR 

Acts and Regulations Adopted by Reference 04 NCAC 19S .0106 32:23 NCR 

Eligible Activities and Costs 04 NCAC 19S .0201 32:23 NCR 

Prohibited Costs 04 NCAC 19S .0202 32:23 NCR 

Participation Threshold Amount 04 NCAC 19S .0301 32:23 NCR 

Home Program Funding Distribution 04 NCAC 19S .0401 32:23 NCR 

Size and Use of Home Awards Made to Recipients 04 NCAC 19S .0402 32:23 NCR 

Program Category Allocation 04 NCAC 19S .0403 32:23 NCR 

General Application Requirements 04 NCAC 19S .0404 32:23 NCR 

Definitions 04 NCAC 19S .0501 32:23 NCR 

Eligibility Requirements 04 NCAC 19S .0502 32:23 NCR 

Selection Criteria 04 NCAC 19S .0503 32:23 NCR 

Definition 04 NCAC 19S .0601 32:23 NCR 

Eligibility Requirement 04 NCAC 19S .0602 32:23 NCR 

Selection Criteria 04 NCAC 19S .0603 32:23 NCR 

Definition 04 NCAC 19S .0701 32:23 NCR 

Eligibility Requirements 04 NCAC 19S .0702 32:23 NCR 

Selection Criteria 04 NCAC 19S .0703 32:23 NCR 

Preliminary Awards 04 NCAC 19S .0704 32:23 NCR 

Equal Opportunity and Fair Housing 04 NCAC 19S .1001 32:23 NCR 

Affirmative Marketing 04 NCAC 19S .1002 32:23 NCR 

Environmental Review 04 NCAC 19S .1003 32:23 NCR 

Displacement, Relocation, and Acquisition 04 NCAC 19S .1004 32:23 NCR 

Labor Standards 04 NCAC 19S .1005 32:23 NCR 

Lead-Based Paint 04 NCAC 19S .1006 32:23 NCR 

Conflict of Interest 04 NCAC 19S .1007 32:23 NCR 

National Flood Insurance Program 04 NCAC 19S .1008 32:23 NCR 

Clearinghouse Review 04 NCAC 19S .1009 32:23 NCR 

Grant Agreement 04 NCAC 19S .1101 32:23 NCR 

Method of Administration 04 NCAC 19S .1102 32:23 NCR 

Audit 04 NCAC 19S .1103 32:23 NCR 

Closeout 04 NCAC 19S .1104 32:23 NCR 

Recordkeeping 04 NCAC 19S .1105 32:23 NCR 

Performance Reports 04 NCAC 19S .1106 32:23 NCR 
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Performance Reviews 04 NCAC 19S .1107 32:23 NCR 

Corrective and Remedial Actions 04 NCAC 19S .1108 32:23 NCR 

Administrative Hearings and Sanctions 04 NCAC 19S .1109 32:23 NCR 

Program Amendments 04 NCAC 19S .1110 32:23 NCR 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

Administrative Policies 10A NCAC 09 .0513* 32:14 NCR 

Operational and Personnel Policies 10A NCAC 09 .0514* 32:14 NCR 

Parent Participation 10A NCAC 09 .0515* 32:14 NCR 

Night Care 10A NCAC 09 .0516* 32:14 NCR 

New Staff Orientation 10A NCAC 09 .1101* 32:14 NCR 

Operational Policies 10A NCAC 09 .1715* 32:14 NCR 

Additional Caregiver and Substitute Provider Qualifications 10A NCAC 09 .1729* 32:14 NCR 

Scope 10A NCAC 09 .2701* 32:14 NCR 

Definitions 10A NCAC 09 .2702* 32:14 NCR 

Criminal History Record Check Requirements for Child Care... 10A NCAC 09 .2703* 32:14 NCR 

Criminal History Record Check Requirements for Nonlicense... 10A NCAC 09 .2704* 32:14 NCR 

Scope 10A NCAC 09 .2801* 32:14 NCR 

Application for a Two through Five Star Rated License 10A NCAC 09 .2802* 32:14 NCR 

Caregiving Activities for Preschool-Aged Children 10A NCAC 09 .2806* 32:14 NCR 

Enhanced Space Requirements 10A NCAC 09 .2809* 32:14 NCR 

Enhanced Program Standards for Child Care Centers 10A NCAC 09 .2817* 32:14 NCR 

Enhanced Staff/Child Ratios for a Rated License for Child... 10A NCAC 09 .2818* 32:14 NCR 

Enhanced Education Standards for On-site Administrators f... 10A NCAC 09 .2819* 32:14 NCR 

Enhanced Education Standards for Lead Teachers for a Rate... 10A NCAC 09 .2820* 32:14 NCR 

Enhanced Education Standards for Teachers for Rated Licen... 10A NCAC 09 .2821* 32:14 NCR 

Enhanced Education Standards for Program Coordinators for... 10A NCAC 09 .2822* 32:14 NCR 

Enhanced Education Standards for Group Leaders and Assist... 10A NCAC 09 .2823* 32:14 NCR 

Enhanced Education Standards for a Rated License for Admi... 10A NCAC 09 .2824* 32:14 NCR 

Enhanced Education Standards for Program Coordinators for... 10A NCAC 09 .2825* 32:14 NCR 

Education Standards for Group Leaders and Assistant Group... 10A NCAC 09 .2826 32:14 NCR 

Enhanced Education Standards for Operators for a Rated Li... 10A NCAC 09 .2827* 32:14 NCR 

Enhanced Program Standards for a Rated License for Family... 10A NCAC 09 .2828* 32:14 NCR 

Quality Points Options 10A NCAC 09 .2829* 32:14 NCR 

Maintaining the Star Rating 10A NCAC 09 .2830* 32:14 NCR 

How an Operator May Request or Appeal A Change in Rating 10A NCAC 09 .2831* 32:14 NCR 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14A .0301* 32:24 NCR 

General 10A NCAC 14A .0302* 32:24 NCR 

Initiating a Hearing 10A NCAC 14A .0303 32:24 NCR 

MENTAL HEALTH, DD/SAS, COMMISSION FOR 

Schedule V 10A NCAC 26F .0106* G.S. 90-88(d) 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Definitions 11 NCAC 07 .0401 33:04 NCR 

Proof of Insurance Coverage 11 NCAC 07 .0402 33:04 NCR 
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INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

Contact Information 11 NCAC 23A .0109* 33:06 NCR 

Compromise Settlement Agreements 11 NCAC 23A .0502* 33:06 NCR 

Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem 11 NCAC 23A .0604* 33:06 NCR 

Motions Practice 11 NCAC 23A .0609* 33:06 NCR 

Attorneys Retained for Proceedings 11 NCAC 23A .0617* 33:06 NCR 

Foreign Language and Sign Language Interpreters 11 NCAC 23A .0619* 33:06 NCR 

Written Communications with the Commission 11 NCAC 23A .0620* 33:06 NCR 

Review by the Full Commission 11 NCAC 23A .0701* 33:06 NCR 

Review of Administrative Decisions 11 NCAC 23A .0702* 33:06 NCR 

Waiver of Rules 11 NCAC 23A .0801 33:06 NCR 

Determination of Claims by the Commission 11 NCAC 23H .0201* G.S. 150B-21.5(a)(2) and (3) 

Hearings Before the Commission 11 NCAC 23H .0202* G.S. 150B-21.5(a)(2) and (3) 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Rule-making and Administrative Hearing Procedures 12 NCAC 09G .0103* 32: 24 NCR 

PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF 

Agreement to Pay Costs 14B NCAC 01C .0401* 33:01 NCR 

Statement of Costs 14B NCAC 01C .0402* 33:01 NCR 

Notice Of Availability Of Funds 14B NCAC 05 .0201 33:04 NCR 

Consistency with State or Federal Grant Programs 14B NCAC 05 .0202 33:04 NCR 

Request for Preapplication Forms 14B NCAC 05 .0203 33:04 NCR 

Grant Preapplication Form 14B NCAC 05 .0204 33:04 NCR 

Preapplication Submission Procedures 14B NCAC 05 .0205 33:04 NCR 

Incomplete Preapplications 14B NCAC 05 .0206 33:04 NCR 

Review of Preapplications 14B NCAC 05 .0207 33:04 NCR 

Notification to Preapplications 14B NCAC 05 .0208 33:04 NCR 

Application Form and Requirements 14B NCAC 05 .0301 33:04 NCR 

Application Submission Procedures 14B NCAC 05 .0302 33:04 NCR 

Application Due Date 14B NCAC 05 .0303 33:04 NCR 

Grant Application Process 14B NCAC 05 .0304 33:04 NCR 

Grant Period 14B NCAC 05 .0305 33:04 NCR 

Time Limitation on Federal Funding 14B NCAC 05 .0306 33:04 NCR 

Grant Award Contracts 14B NCAC 05 .0307 33:04 NCR 

Continuation Funds 14B NCAC 05 .0310 33:04 NCR 

Adjustments to Grants 14B NCAC 05 .0311 33:04 NCR 

Grant Termination or Suspension 14B NCAC 05 .0401 33:04 NCR 

Loss of Grantee Eligibility 14B NCAC 05 .0402 33:04 NCR 

Appeal 14B NCAC 05 .0501 33:04 NCR 

Vehicle Removal Procedures 14B NCAC 07A .0104* 33:01 NCR 

Securing Vehicles When Operator Is Arrested 14B NCAC 07A .0105* 33:01 NCR 

Vehicle Transported and Stored over Objection of Owner 14B NCAC 07A .0106* 33:01 NCR 

Parking Vehicles off the Roadway 14B NCAC 07A .0107* 33:01 NCR 

Transporting and Storing Vehicles 14B NCAC 07A .0108* 33:01 NCR 

Notification 14B NCAC 07A .0109* 33:01 NCR 

Release of Vehicles 14B NCAC 07A .0110* 33:01 NCR 
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Vehicle Inventory 14B NCAC 07A .0111* 33:01 NCR 

Reimbursement of Wrecker Operators 14B NCAC 07A .0112* 33:01 NCR 

Financial Interest 14B NCAC 07A .0113* 33:01 NCR 

Impartial Use of Services 14B NCAC 07A .0114* 33:01 NCR 

Rotation, Zone, Contract, and Deviation from System 14B NCAC 07A .0115* 33:01 NCR 

Rotation Wrecker Service Regulations 14B NCAC 07A .0116* 33:01 NCR 

Sanctions for Violations 14B NCAC 07A .0118* 33:01 NCR 

Hearing Procedures 14B NCAC 07A .0119* 33:01 NCR 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

Definitions 14B NCAC 15A .2301* 33:05 NCR 

Competitions 14B NCAC 15A .2302* 33:05 NCR 

Exhibitions 14B NCAC 15A .2303 33:05 NCR 

Organized Affairs 14B NCAC 15A .2304* 33:05 NCR 

Home Product Production Education Meeting 14B NCAC 15A .2305* 33:05 NCR 

Possession, Consumption, Transportation, and Disposition ... 14B NCAC 15A .2306* 33:05 NCR 

Allowable Fees 14B NCAC 15A .2307* 33:05 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

French Broad River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0304 32:24 NCR 

Additional Requirements for Dams that Impound Coal Combus... 15A NCAC 02K .0224* 33:04 NCR 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Source Water Protection Planning 15A NCAC 18C .1305* 32:22 NCR 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Record Content 21 NCAC 16T .0101 33:05 NCR 

Informed Consent 21 NCAC 16T .0103 33:05 NCR 

NURSING, BOARD OF 

Selection and Qualifications of Nurse Members 21 NCAC 36 .0109* 33:01 NCR 

Determination of Vacancy 21 NCAC 36 .0112* 33:01 NCR 

Determination of Qualifications 21 NCAC 36 .0113* 33:01 NCR 

Definitions 21 NCAC 36 .0120* 33:01 NCR 

Regular Renewal 21 NCAC 36 .0201* 33:01 NCR 

Inactive and Retired Status 21 NCAC 36 .0202* 33:01 NCR 

Reinstatement of Lapsed License 21 NCAC 36 .0203* 33:01 NCR 

Verification to Another State 21 NCAC 36 .0207* 33:01 NCR 

Change of Name 21 NCAC 36 .0208* 33:01 NCR 

Licensure by Examination 21 NCAC 36 .0211* 33:01 NCR 

Reexamination 21 NCAC 36 .0213* 33:01 NCR 

Investigations; Disciplinary Hearings 21 NCAC 36 .0217* 33:01 NCR 

Licensure Without Examination (By Endorsement) 21 NCAC 36 .0218* 33:01 NCR 

Temporary License 21 NCAC 36 .0219* 33:01 NCR 

Refresher Course 21 NCAC 36 .0220* 33:01 NCR 

License Required 21 NCAC 36 .0221* 33:01 NCR 

Continuing Education Programs 21 NCAC 36 .0223* 33:01 NCR 

Components of Nursing Practice for the Registered Nurse 21 NCAC 36 .0224* 33:01 NCR 
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Components of Nursing Practice for the Licensed Practical... 21 NCAC 36 .0225* 33:01 NCR 

Nurse Anesthesia Practice 21 NCAC 36 .0226* 33:01 NCR 

Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice 21 NCAC 36 .0228* 33:01 NCR 

Continuing Competence 21 NCAC 36 .0232* 33:01 NCR 

Out of State Students 21 NCAC 36 .0233* 33:01 NCR 

Establishment of a Nursing Program - Initial Approval 21 NCAC 36 .0302* 33:01 NCR 

Existing Nursing Program 21 NCAC 36 .0303* 33:01 NCR 

Process for Program Closure 21 NCAC 36 .0309* 33:01 NCR 

Administration 21 NCAC 36 .0317* 33:01 NCR 

Faculty 21 NCAC 36 .0318* 33:01 NCR 

Students 21 NCAC 36 .0320* 33:01 NCR 

Curriculum 21 NCAC 36 .0321* 33:01 NCR 

Facilities 21 NCAC 36 .0322* 33:01 NCR 

Records and Reports 21 NCAC 36 .0323* 33:01 NCR 

Roles of Unlicensed Personnel 21 NCAC 36 .0401* 33:01 NCR 

Coordination with Division of Health Service Regulation (... 21 NCAC 36 .0402* 33:01 NCR 

Qualifications 21 NCAC 36 .0403* 33:01 NCR 

Listing and Renewal 21 NCAC 36 .0404* 33:01 NCR 

Approval of Nurse Aide Education Programs 21 NCAC 36 .0405* 33:01 NCR 

Medication Aide Training Requirements 21 NCAC 36 .0406* 33:01 NCR 

Name of Professional Corporation 21 NCAC 36 .0502* 33:01 NCR 

Prerequisites for Incorporation 21 NCAC 36 .0503* 33:01 NCR 

Certificate of Registration 21 NCAC 36 .0504* 33:01 NCR 

General and Administrative Provisions 21 NCAC 36 .0505* 33:01 NCR 

Forms 21 NCAC 36 .0506* 33:01 NCR 

Fees 21 NCAC 36 .0507* 33:01 NCR 

Name of Limited Liability Company 21 NCAC 36 .0601* 33:01 NCR 

Prerequisites for Organization 21 NCAC 36 .0602* 33:01 NCR 

Certificate of Registration 21 NCAC 36 .0603* 33:01 NCR 

General and Administrative Provisions 21 NCAC 36 .0604* 33:01 NCR 

Fees 21 NCAC 36 .0605* 33:01 NCR 

Definitions 21 NCAC 36 .0801 33:01 NCR 

Scope of Practice 21 NCAC 36 .0802 33:01 NCR 

Nurse Practitioner Registration 21 NCAC 36 .0803 33:01 NCR 

Process for Approval to Practice 21 NCAC 36 .0804 33:01 NCR 

Education and Certification Requirements for Registration... 21 NCAC 36 .0805 33:01 NCR 

Annual Renewal 21 NCAC 36 .0806 33:01 NCR 

Continuing Education (CE) 21 NCAC 36 .0807 33:01 NCR 

Inactive Status 21 NCAC 36 .0808 33:01 NCR 

Prescribing Authority 21 NCAC 36 .0809 33:01 NCR 

Quality Assurance Standards for a Collaborative Practice ... 21 NCAC 36 .0810 33:01 NCR 

Method of Identification 21 NCAC 36 .0811 33:01 NCR 

Disciplinary Action 21 NCAC 36 .0812 33:01 NCR 

Fees 21 NCAC 36 .0813 33:01 NCR 

Practicing During a Disaster 21 NCAC 36 .0814 33:01 NCR 

Reporting Criteria 21 NCAC 36 .0815 33:01 NCR 

HOUSING FINANCE AGENCY 
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Fees 24 NCAC 01N .0204 32:23 NCR 

 

The following rules are subject to Legislative Review. 

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

Hearings 11 NCAC 23B .0206* 33:06 NCR 

Hearings of Claims by Prison Inmates 11 NCAC 23B .0207 33:06 NCR 

Sanctions 11 NCAC 23B .0503* 33:06 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 04 - DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 

04 NCAC 19S .0101 OVERVIEW AND PURPOSE 

04 NCAC 19S .0102 DEFINITIONS 

04 NCAC 19S .0103 WAIVER 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-431; 24 C.F.R. 

Part 92; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 17, 1992 for a period of 180 days 

or until the permanent rule becomes effective, which ever is 

sooner; (Rule .0102); 

Eff. November 30, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

04 NCAC 19S .0104 ELIGIBLE APPLICANTS 

04 NCAC 19S .0105 AMENDMENTS ADOPTED BY 

REFERENCE 

04 NCAC 19S .0106 ACTS AND REGULATIONS 

ADOPTED BY REFERENCE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-431; 24 C.F.R. 

Part 92; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 17, 1992 for a period of 180 days 

or until the permanent rule becomes effective, which ever is 

sooner (Rule .0105); 

Eff. November 2, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

04 NCAC 19S .0201 ELIGIBLE ACTIVITIES AND 

COSTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-431; 24 C.F.R. 

Part 92; 

Eff. November 2, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

04 NCAC 19S .0202 PROHIBITED COSTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-431; 24 C.F.R. 

Part 92; 

Eff. November 30, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

04 NCAC 19S .0301 PARTICIPATION THRESHOLD 

AMOUNT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-431; 24 C.F.R. 

Part 92; 

Eff. November 2, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

04 NCAC 19S .0401 DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-431; 24 C.F.R. 

Part 92; 

Eff. November 30, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

04 NCAC 19S .0402 SIZE AND USE OF HOME 

AWARDS MADE TO RECIPIENTS 

04 NCAC 19S .0403 PROGRAM CATEGORY 

ALLOCATION 

04 NCAC 19S .0404 GENERAL APPLICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-431; 24 C.F.R. 

Part 92; 

Eff. November 2, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

04 NCAC 19S .0501 DEFINITION 

04 NCAC 19S .0502 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

04 NCAC 19S .0503 SELECTION CRITERIA 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-431; 24 C.F.R. 

Part 92; 

Eff. November 2, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

04 NCAC 19S .0601 DEFINITION 

04 NCAC 19S .0602 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENT 

04 NCAC 19S .0603 SELECTION CRITERIA 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-431; 24 C.F.R. 

Part 92; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 17, 1992 for a period of 180 days 

or until the permanent rule becomes effective, which ever is 

sooner; 

Eff. November 2, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

04 NCAC 19S .0701 DEFINITION 

04 NCAC 19S .0702 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

04 NCAC 19S .0703 SELECTION CRITERIA 

04 NCAC 19S .0704 PRELIMINARY AWARDS 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-431; 24 C.F.R. 

Part 92; 

Eff. November 2, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

04 NCAC 19S .1001 EQUAL OPPORTUNITY AND 

FAIR HOUSING 

04 NCAC 19S .1002 AFFIRMATIVE MARKETING 

04 NCAC 19S .1003 ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW 

04 NCAC 19S .1004 DISPLACEMENT, 

RELOCATION, AND ACQUISITION 

04 NCAC 19S .1005 LABOR STANDARDS 

04 NCAC 19S .1006 LEAD-BASED PAINT 

04 NCAC 19S .1007 CONFLICT OF INTEREST 

04 NCAC 19S .1008 NATIONAL FLOOD 

INSURANCE PROGRAM 

04 NCAC 19S .1009 CLEARINGHOUSE REVIEW 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-431; 24 C.F.R. 

Part 92; 

Eff. November 2, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

04 NCAC 19S .1101 GRANT AGREEMENT 

04 NCAC 19S .1102 METHOD OF 

ADMINISTRATION 

04 NCAC 19S .1103 AUDIT 

04 NCAC 19S .1104 CLOSEOUT 

04 NCAC 19S .1105 RECORDKEEPING 

04 NCAC 19S .1106 PERFORMANCE REPORTS 

04 NCAC 19S .1107 PERFORMANCE REVIEWS 

04 NCAC 19S .1108 CORRECTIVE AND REMEDIAL 

ACTIONS 

04 NCAC 19S .1109 ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

AND SANCTIONS 

04 NCAC 19S .1110 PROGRAM AMENDMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-431; 24 C.F.R. 

Part 92; 

Eff. November 2, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0513 ADMINISTRATIVE POLICIES 

Centers shall have administrative policies and practices that 

provide for: 

(1) selection and training of staff;  

(2) communication with and opportunities for 

participation by parents;  

(3) operational and fiscal management; and  

(4) objective evaluation of the program, 

management, and staff in accordance with the 

rules of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Prior to amendment of May 1, 2006 this language was located in 

Rule .1601; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2016; 

Readopted March 1, 2019 (Transferred from 10A NCAC 09 

.2804). 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0514 OPERATIONAL AND 

PERSONNEL POLICIES 

(a)  Each center shall have written policies that describe the 

operation of the center and the services that are available to 

parents and their children. The operational policies shall include 

at least the following information: 

(1) the days and hours the center operates; 

(2) the age range of the children served; 

(3) admission requirements and enrollment 

procedures; 

(4) parent fees and payment plan; 

(5) information about services provided by the 

center, such as number of meals served, before 

and after school care, and transportation; 

(6) items, if any, to be provided by parents; 

(7) a schedule of daily, weekly, and monthly 

cleaning duties; 

(8) written procedures for reporting suspected child 

abuse and neglect; 

(9) the center's discipline policy for behavior 

management; 

(10) a description of opportunities for parent 

participation; and 

(11) nutrition policies. 

(b)  Operational policies shall be discussed with parents on or 

before the child's first day of attendance in the center. A copy of 

the policies shall be given to the parents on or before the child's 

first day of attendance and the parents shall be notified in writing 

of all changes in policy. 

(c)  Copies of operational policies and any subsequent changes to 

those policies shall be distributed to the staff. 

(d)  Each center in which more than two staff are required to meet 

staff/child ratios shall have a written personnel policy that 

includes at least the following information: 

(1) job descriptions for each position; 

(2) minimum qualifications for each position, 

including reference checks; 

(3) health and medical requirements; 

(4) requirements and provisions for in-service 

training; 

(5) provisions for leave time and other absences; 

(6) procedures for on-going supervision and 

regular evaluation of work performance; and 

(7) resignation and termination procedures. 

(e)  Personnel policies shall be discussed with each employee at 

the time of employment and a copy of the policies shall be 

available to all staff. Staff shall be notified in writing of all 

changes in personnel policies. 

(f)  In addition to all records required in Rule .0302(d) of this 

Chapter, each employee's personnel file shall contain an annual 

staff evaluation and staff development plan. 
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(g)  All personnel files of employees hired after April 1, 1999, 

shall also include a signed and dated statement verifying that the 

employee received a copy of his or her job description and has 

reviewed the personnel and operational policies.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Prior to amendment of May 1, 2006 this language was located in 

Rule .1602; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019 (Transferred from 10A NCAC 09 

.2805). 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0515 PARENT PARTICIPATION 

(a)  Each center shall have a plan that will encourage parent 

participation and inform parents about the program and its 

services. The plan shall be discussed with parents on or before the 

child's first day of attendance and shall be posted in the center or 

a copy shall be given to parents on or before the child's first day 

of attendance. 

(b)  The plan shall include the following: 

(1) a procedure for registering a child for child care 

that involves both parents when possible and 

that encourages a visit to the center by the child 

and the child's parents before the child begins 

attending the center; 

(2) opportunities for caregiving staff to meet with 

parents on a regular basis to discuss their child's 

needs and progress and to exchange 

information about the program; 

(3) activities that provide parents opportunities to 

participate in the center's program on an 

individual basis and as a group; 

(4) a procedure for parents who need information 

or have complaints about the child care 

program. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Prior to amendment of May 1, 2006 this language was located in 

Rule .1613; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019 (Transferred from 10A NCAC 09 

.2807). 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0516 NIGHT CARE 

(a)  Developmentally appropriate activities shall be available for 

children during the evening hours. Quiet activities shall be 

planned just before bedtime. Children shall have opportunities to 

develop good personal care and health habits through routines. 

(b)  Schedules for the children receiving nighttime care shall be 

individually planned. 

(c)  When possible, children shall be left for care before, and 

picked up after, their normal sleeping period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Prior to amendment of May 1, 2006 this language was located in 

Rule .1615; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019 (Transferred from 10A NCAC 09 

.2808). 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1101 NEW STAFF ORIENTATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Each center shall ensure that each new employee who is 

expected to have contact with children receives 16 hours of on-

site orientation within the first six weeks of employment. As part 

of this orientation, each new employee shall complete six hours 

of orientation within the first two weeks of employment. 

(b)  New staff orientation shall include an overview of the 

following topics, focusing on the operation of the center: 

 

New staff orientation within first two (2) weeks of 

employment 

New staff orientation within first six (6) weeks of 

employment 

Information regarding recognizing, responding to, 

and reporting child abuse, neglect, or maltreatment 

pursuant to G.S. 110-105.4 and G.S. 7B-301 

Firsthand observation of the center's daily operations 

Review of the center's operational policies, including 

the center's safe sleep policy for infants, 

the center's policy for transportation, the center's 

identification of building and premises safety issues, 

the Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan, and 

the emergency medical care plan 

Instruction in the employee's assigned duties 

Adequate supervision of children in accordance with 

10A NCAC 09 .1801 

Instruction in the maintenance of a safe and healthy 

environment 

Information regarding prevention of shaken baby 

syndrome and abusive head trauma and child 

maltreatment 

Instruction in the administration of medication to children 

in accordance with 10A NCAC 09 .0803 

Prevention and control of infectious diseases, 

including immunization 

Review of the center's purposes and goals 

 Review of the child care licensing law and rules 

 Review of Section .2800 of this Chapter if the center has a 

two- through five- star license at the time of employment  
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New staff orientation within first two (2) weeks of 

employment 

New staff orientation within first six (6) weeks of 

employment 

 An explanation of the role of State and local government 

agencies in the regulation of child care, their impact on the 

operation of the center, and their availability as a resource  

 An explanation of the employee's obligation to cooperate 

with representatives of State and local government agencies 

during visits and investigations 

 Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and 

allergic reactions 

 Review of the center's handling and storage of hazardous 

materials and the appropriate disposal of biocontaminants 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(11); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1715 OPERATIONAL POLICIES 

(a)  Each operator shall have written operational policies that 

include at least the following information: 

(1) the days and hours of operation; 

(2) the age range of the children served; 

(3) admission requirements and enrollment 

procedures; 

(4) parent fees and payment plan; 

(5) information about services provided by the 

operator, such as number of meals served, 

before and after school care, and transportation; 

(6) items, if any, to be provided by parents; 

(7) a schedule of daily, weekly, and monthly 

cleaning duties; 

(8) written procedures for reporting suspected child 

abuse and neglect; 

(9) the operator's discipline policy for behavior 

management; 

(10) a description of opportunities for parent 

participation; and 

(11) nutrition policies. 

(b)  Operational policies shall be discussed with parents on or 

before the child's first day of attendance in the home. A copy of 

the policies shall be given to the parents on or before the child's 

first day of attendance and the parents shall be notified in writing 

of any changes in policy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91; 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1729 ADDITIONAL CAREGIVER AND 

SUBSTITUTE PROVIDER QUALIFICATIONS 

(a)  An individual who provides care for five hours or more in a 

week during planned absences of the family child care home 

operator shall: 

(1) be 21 years old; 

(2) have a high school diploma or GED; 

(3) have completed a First Aid and 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) course 

within 12 months prior to caring for children; 

(4) have completed a health questionnaire; 

(5) have proof of negative results of a tuberculosis 

test completed within 12 months prior to the 

first day of providing care; 

(6) have submitted criminal background check 

forms as required in Rule .2703 of this Chapter; 

(7) have documentation of annual on-going 

training as described in Rule .1703(d) of this 

Section after the first year of employment; 

(8) have completed ITS-SIDS training, if licensed 

to care for infants; 

(9) have completed Recognizing and Responding 

to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment training; 

and 

(10) have documentation that the operator has 

reviewed the requirements found in this 

Chapter, including the Emergency 

Preparedness and Response Plan, and in G.S. 

Chapter 110, Article 7. 

While the individual provides care at a family child care home, 

copies of information required by Subparagraphs (1) through (10) 

of this Paragraph shall be on file in the home and available for 

review by the Division. 

(b)  An individual who provides care for less than five hours in a 

week during planned absences of the operator shall be literate and 

meet all requirements listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule except 

the requirements for annual training and a high school diploma or 

GED. 

(c)  The operator shall conduct 16 hours of orientation with all 

caregivers, prior to the individual caring for children, including 

substitute providers, volunteers, and uncompensated providers, 

who are providing care. The orientation shall include an overview 

of the following topics, specifically focusing on the operation of 

the facility: 

(1) recognizing, responding to, and reporting child 

abuse, neglect, or maltreatment pursuant to G.S. 

110-105.4 and G.S. 7B-301; 

(2) review of the home's operational policies, 

including the written plan of care, safe sleep 

policy, the transportation policy, identification 

of building and premises safety issues, the 

emergency medical care plan, and the 

Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan; 
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(3) adequate supervision of children in accordance 

with Rule .1711(a) of this Section; 

(4) information regarding prevention of shaken 

baby syndrome, abusive head trauma, and child 

maltreatment; 

(5) prevention and control of infectious diseases, 

including immunization; 

(6) firsthand observation of the home's daily 

operations; 

(7) instruction regarding assigned duties; 

(8) instruction in the maintenance of a safe and 

healthy environment; 

(9) instruction in the administration of medication 

to children in accordance with Rule .1720(b) of 

this Section; 

(10) review of the home's purposes and goals; 

(11) review of G.S. 110, Article 7 and 10A NCAC 

09; 

(12) review of Section .2800 of this Chapter if the 

operator has a two- through five- star license at 

the time of employment; 

(13) an explanation of the role of State and local 

government agencies in the regulation of child 

care, their impact on the operation of the center, 

and their availability as a resource; 

(14) an explanation of the individual's obligation to 

cooperate with representatives of State and 

local government agencies during visits and 

investigations;  

(15) prevention of and response to emergencies due 

to food and allergic reactions; and 

(16) review of the home's handling and storage of 

hazardous materials and the appropriate 

disposal of biocontaminants. 

The operator and individual providing care shall sign and date a 

statement that attests that this review was completed. This 

statement shall be kept on file in the home and available for 

review by the Division. 

(d)  An individual who provides care during unplanned absences 

of the operator, such as medical emergencies, shall be 18 years 

old and submit criminal records check forms as required in Rule 

.2703(j) of this Chapter. The children of an emergency caregiver 

shall not be counted in the licensed capacity for the first day of 

the emergency caregiver's service. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91; 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2701 SCOPE 

The rules in this Section shall apply to all child care providers as 

defined in G.S.110-90.2. The Division, in accordance with 

G.S.110-90.2, shall determine if an individual is a qualified child 

care provider. An individual may work or be present in any child 

care facility during the time the individual holds a valid 

qualification letter from the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-90.2; 

Eff. March 1, 2014; 

Readopted January 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2702 DEFINITIONS 

For purposes of this Section: 

(1) a "qualified child care provider" means an 

individual who is fit to have responsibility for 

the safety and well-being of children based on 

their criminal history and all other requirements 

in accordance with G.S. 110-90.2. 

(2) a "disqualified child care provider" means an 

individual who is not fit to have responsibility 

for the safety and well-being of children based 

on their criminal history and all other 

requirements in accordance with G.S. 110.90.2. 

(3) a "provisional child care provider" means an 

individual who: 

(a) resides outside the State of North 

Carolina or has resided outside the 

State of North Carolina at any time 

during the five years prior to 

submitting documents for a criminal 

history record check in accordance 

with 10A NCAC 09 .2703; 

(b) has provided a copy of the county 

criminal history from the county 

where they reside outside the State of 

North Carolina or from the county or 

counties where they have resided 

outside the state of North Carolina in 

the past five years; and 

(c) is fit to have responsibility for the 

safety and well-being of children 

based on their criminal history and all 

other requirements in accordance with 

G.S. 110-90.2(b), but the Division has 

not yet received the results of the state 

sex offender registry check, the state 

abuse and neglect registry, or the state 

criminal history check from the state 

or states in which the individual 

resides or has resided at any time 

during the five years prior to 

submitting documents for a criminal 

history check in accordance with 10A 

NCAC 09 .2703. 

(4) a "qualification letter" or "qualifying letter" 

means the letter issued by the Division 

notifying an individual that he or she is a 

qualified child care provider; 

(5) a "conviction" includes when a plea of guilty or 

no contest is accepted by the trial court or a 

court enters an order granting a prayer for 

judgment continued; and 

(6) a "pending criminal charge" includes, but is not 

limited to, a charge that has been deferred 

pursuant to G.S. 15A-1341(a1). 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-90.2; 110-

90.2(a)(3); 114-19.5; 143B-168.3; S.L. 1995, c. 507, s.23.25; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2014; November 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2703 CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 

CHECK REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE 

PROVIDERS 

(a)  In addition to the requirements in Rules .0302 and .1702 of 

this Chapter, a child care provider shall submit the following to 

the Division prior to the issuance of a license or prior to beginning 

employment: 

(1) a signed and completed Authority for Release 

of Information form; 

(2) fingerprint impressions submitted on the forms 

required by the Division and State Bureau of 

Investigation; and 

(3) if a child care provider is an out-of-state 

resident, he or she shall also submit a certified 

local history from the Clerk of Superior Court 

in his or her county of residence. 

All required forms can be found on the Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.dhhs.state.nc.us/general/dhhscrc_childcare.asp

. 

(b)  If the child care provider has a criminal history of convictions, 

pending indictment of a crime, or pending criminal charges, he or 

she may submit to the Division additional information concerning 

the conviction or charges that the Division shall use in making the 

determination of the child care provider's qualification. The 

Division shall also consider the following in making its decision: 

(1) the length of time since conviction; 

(2) whether the child care provider is currently on 

probation; 

(3) the nature of the offense; 

(4) the circumstances surrounding the commission 

of the offense or offenses; 

(5) the evidence of rehabilitation; 

(6) the number and type of prior offenses; and 

(7) the age of the child care provider at the time of 

occurrence. 

(c)  If the child care provider is a firm, partnership, association, or 

corporation, the chief executive officer or other person serving in 

like capacity or a person designated by the chief executive officer 

as responsible for the operation of the facility, shall complete the 

criminal history record check as specified in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. 

(d)  If a Letter of Intent to Operate pursuant to G.S. 110-106 is 

submitted to the Division, the person signing the Letter of Intent 

shall submit all forms as required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Child care providers shall have a valid qualification letter 

prior to employment or living in the family child care home, and 

the qualification letter shall be kept on file at the facility for 

review by representatives of the Division. 

(f)  Provisional child care providers may be employed at a child 

care facility or reside in a family child care home, nonlicensed 

home, or child care center in a residence and shall be counted in 

staff/child ratio. Provisional child care providers shall be 

supervised at all times by an individual who received a qualifying 

result on a criminal background check within the past three years 

and may not be left alone with children. Owners found to be in 

violation of this Paragraph may be issued an administrative action 

up to and including revocation of their child care license or notice 

of compliance in accordance with Section .2200 of this Chapter. 

(g)  After six months, the Division shall issue a qualification letter 

to a provisional child care provider if the Division does not 

receive a response to its request for the state sex offender registry 

check, the state abuse and neglect registry, or the state criminal 

history check from the state or states in which the provisional 

provider currently resides or has resided at any time during the 

five years prior to submitting documents for a criminal history 

check. However, nothing in this Rule shall prevent the Division 

from disqualifying a provisional child care provider at a later date 

based upon information received from any other state after six 

months have elapsed. 

(h)  Child care providers found to be disqualified shall not be 

eligible for employment in child care until a qualification letter 

has been issued by the Division. 

(i)  Child care providers determined by the Division to be 

disqualified shall be terminated by the center or family child care 

home immediately upon receipt of the disqualification notice. 

(j)  Disqualification of a child care provider living in a family 

child care home or a center located in a residence shall be grounds 

for issuance of a summary suspension of the license in accordance 

with 10A NCAC 09 .2213. 

(k)  Refusal on the part of the employer to dismiss a child care 

provider who has been found to be disqualified shall be grounds 

for suspension, denial, or revocation of the license or any other 

administrative action or civil penalty permitted by law or rule. If 

an applicant appeals the disqualification, the child care provider 

shall not be employed during the appeal process. 

(l)  Operators, as defined by G.S. 110-86(7), shall include the 

criminal history mandatory reporting requirement in all new 

employee orientation information. All child care providers and 

household members who have incurred any pending charges, 

indictments, or convictions (other than minor traffic offenses) 

since the last qualification letter was issued by the Division shall 

notify the operator of such charges within five business days or 

before returning to work, whichever comes first. The operator 

shall notify the Division of any such pending charges, 

indictments, or convictions within one business day of being 

notified. 

(m)  The qualification letter shall be valid for a maximum of three 

years from the date of issuance. 

(n)  Prior to the expiration date of the qualification letter, the child 

care provider shall complete and submit the forms listed in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(o)  After a child care provider has been qualified, the Division 

shall complete a new criminal history record check if the Division 

of Child Development and Early Education conducts an 

investigation involving alleged criminal activity by the child care 

provider. 

(p)  Individuals who live in the household who have had their 16th 

birthday after the initial licensing of a family child care home shall 

complete and submit the forms listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule 

to the Division within five business days of their 16th birthday. 
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(q)  Child care operators shall notify the Division of all new child 

care providers who are hired or have moved into the home or 

center located with a residence within five business days by 

submitting the form provided by the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86(7); 110-90.2; 

110-90.2(a); 110-106; 114-19.5; 143B-168.3; S.L. 2012-160, s.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2014; November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2704 CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 

CHECK REQUIREMENTS FOR NONLICENSED CHILD 

CARE PROVIDERS 

(a)  A nonlicensed child care provider shall submit the following 

to the local purchasing agency prior to caring for children and 

receiving subsidy payments: 

(1) a signed Authority for Release of Information 

using the form provided by the Division; 

(2) fingerprint impressions submitted on the forms 

required by the Division and State Bureau of 

Investigation; and 

(3) if a prospective child care provider is an out-of-

state resident, he or she shall also submit a 

certified local history from the Clerk of 

Superior Court in his or her county of residence. 

This Rule applies to any individual over 15 years old who moves 

into the household, or any individual who lives in the household 

who has had his or her 16th birthday whichever is earlier after the 

initial approval, including family members and non-family 

members who use the home either on a permanent or temporary 

basis as their primary residence. The individual shall submit the 

items in this Paragraph to the local purchasing agency within five 

business days of moving into the home or their 16th birthday. 

(b)  New nonlicensed child care providers shall submit a complete 

and accurate packet no later than five business days after applying 

for enrollment as a nonlicensed child care provider of subsidized 

child care. If more than three years have elapsed since a criminal 

history record check has been completed and subsidy funds were 

not received, a new criminal history record check shall be 

submitted by the nonlicensed child care provider and all 

household member over 15 years old. 

(c)  Any individual over 15 years old, including family members 

and non-family members who use the home either on a permanent 

or temporary basis as their primary residence, shall submit all 

criminal history record check forms as required in Subparagraphs 

(a)(1) and (a)(2) of this Rule within five business days of joining 

the household. 

(d)  If a nonlicensed child care provider has a criminal history of 

convictions, pending indictment of a crime, or pending criminal 

charges, he or she may submit to the Division additional 

information concerning the conviction or charges that the 

Division shall use in making the determination of the child care 

provider's qualification. The Division shall consider the following 

in making a decision: 

(1) the length of time since conviction; 

(2) whether the nonlicensed child care provider is 

currently on probation; 

(3) the nature of the offense; 

(4) the circumstances surrounding the commission 

of the offense or offenses; 

(5) the evidence of rehabilitation; 

(6) the number and type of prior offenses; and 

(7) the age of the nonlicensed child care provider at 

the time of occurrence. 

(e)  The local purchasing agency shall mail the Authority for 

Release of Information, using the form provided by the Division, 

and fingerprint impressions to the Division no later than five 

business days after receipt. A copy of the submitted information 

shall be maintained in the nonlicensed child care provider's file 

until the notice of qualification is received by the nonlicensed 

child care provider. The notice of qualification shall be 

maintained in the nonlicensed child care provider's file. The local 

purchasing agency shall keep the child care provider's file. 

(f)  A nonlicensed child care provider shall not receive payment 

during the period in which the State and federal criminal history 

record check is being completed. 

(g)  Disqualification of a nonlicensed child care provider by the 

Division shall be reasonable cause for the local purchasing agency 

to deny payment. 

(h)  If a nonlicensed child care provider disagrees with the 

decision of disqualification and files a civil action in district court, 

the provider may continue to operate as a nonlicensed child care 

provider, but shall not receive payment during the proceedings. If 

the determination in the civil action is that the nonlicensed child 

care provider is qualified, the nonlicensed provider shall receive 

retroactive payment for the uncompensated care provided during 

the proceedings. 

(i)  After a nonlicensed child care provider is qualified, the 

Division shall complete a new criminal history record check if the 

Division of Child Development and Early Education conducts an 

investigation involving alleged criminal activity by the child care 

provider. If the Division requests a new criminal history record 

check, the child care provider shall complete and submit the forms 

listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule to the Division within five 

business days of the Division's request. 

(j)  The qualification letter shall be valid for a maximum of three 

years from the date of issuance. 

(k)  Prior to the expiration date of the qualification letter, the 

nonlicensed child care provider shall complete and submit the 

forms described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(l)  Nonlicensed child care providers and household members 

shall have a valid qualification letter prior to receiving subsidy 

payments. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-90.2; 114-19.5; 143B-

168.3; S.L. 2012-160, s. 1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2014; December 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2801 SCOPE 

(a)  This Section shall apply to all child care facilities that have 

achieved or wish to achieve a rated license of two stars or higher.  
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(b)  A child care facility shall be eligible for a rated license of two 

through five stars upon application and assessment of compliance 

with the requirements of this Section. 

(c)  A one-star rated license shall be issued to a child care facility 

if it complies with G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter. 

(d)  No requirement in any component of a two-star or higher 

rating shall be less than the requirements for a one-star rating 

described in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter. Prior to issuance of an 

initial two through five-star rating, all requirements in G.S. 110-

91 and this Chapter shall be met at the time the program is 

assessed for a higher rating. The requirements for a rated license 

of two stars or higher shall be in addition to the standards found 

in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter. 

(e)  Nothing in this Section shall preclude or interfere with 

issuance of an administrative action as allowed by G.S. 110, 

Article 7 and this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2802 APPLICATION FOR A TWO 

THROUGH FIVE STAR RATED LICENSE 

(a)  After a licensed child care center or home has been in 

operation for a minimum of six consecutive months, the operator 

may apply for an initial two- through five-star rated license. 

(b)  The operator shall submit a completed application to the 

Division for a two- through five-star rated license on the form 

provided by the Division. 

(c)  An operator may apply for a star rating based on the total 

number of points achieved for each component of the two- 

through five-star rated license. In order to achieve a two- through 

five-star rating, the minimum score achieved shall be a least four 

points as follows: 

 

Total Number of Points Star Rating 

4 through 6 Two Stars 

7 through 9 Three Stars 

10 through 12 Four Stars 

13 through 15 Five Stars 

 

(d)  Facilities with a four or five-star rated license that are licensed 

to serve four-year-old children shall implement a curriculum as 

defined in 10A NCAC 09 .0102(10) with their four year olds.  

(e)  A Division representative shall assess the facility requesting 

a two- through five-star rated license to determine if all applicable 

requirements have been met to achieve the score for the requested 

star rating. The assessment shall include a review of Division 

records and site visits. 

(f)  Operators requesting an initial three or more points for 

program standards shall request an Environment Rating Scale 

assessment from the Division. The Division shall arrange for the 

Infant/Toddler Environment Rating Scale Revised Edition, Early 

Childhood Environment Rating Scale - Revised Edition, School-

Age Care Environment Rating Scale, or Family Child Care 

Environment Rating Scale - Revised Edition assessments to be 

completed, as appropriate for the program, free of charge. Centers 

located in a residence with a licensed capacity of 3 to 12 children 

shall complete a Family Child Care Rating Scale- Revised Edition 

assessment. 

(g)  Upon completion of the Division's assessment: 

(1) If the assessment indicates all the applicable 

requirements to achieve the score for the 

requested rating have been met, the Division 

shall issue the rating. 

(2) If the assessment indicates all the applicable 

requirements to achieve the score for the 

requested rating have not been met, the 

Division shall notify the operator of the 

requirements that were not met and the 

requested two- through five-star rating shall not 

be issued. The operator may: 

(A) accept the rating for which the 

Division has found the operator to be 

eligible; 

(B) withdraw the request and reapply 

when the identified requirements to 

achieve the score for the requested 

rating have been met; or 

(C) appeal the denial of the requested 

rating as provided in G.S. 110-94. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 

143B-168.3; S.L. 2011-145, s.10.7(b); 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; July 1, 2010; May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2806 CAREGIVING ACTIVITIES FOR 

PRESCHOOL-AGED CHILDREN 

(a)  Each center shall comply with the requirements in Rule .0508 

of this Chapter for written activity schedules and plans and in Rule 

.0509 of this Chapter for general activity requirements. 

(b)  Each center providing care to preschool-age children shall 

comply with the requirements for activity areas for preschool-age 

children in Rule .0510 of this Chapter, except that all five of the 

activity areas listed in G.S. 110-91(12) shall be available each day 

and the activities listed in Rule .0510(c) of this Chapter shall be 

offered for each group of children at least once per week. 

(c)  The requirements for activities for infants and toddlers set 

forth in Rule .0511 of this Chapter shall apply for children under 

three years of age. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Prior to amendment of May 1, 2006 this language was located in 

Rule .1612; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2013; May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2809 ENHANCED SPACE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  There shall be at least 30 square feet inside space per child per 

the total licensed capacity and 75 square feet outside space for 

each child using the outdoor learning environment at any one 
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time. In the alternative there shall be at least 35 square feet inside 

space per child per the total licensed capacity and 75 square feet 

outside space per child for at least 50 percent of the total licensed 

capacity. 

(b)  There shall be an area that can be arranged for administrative 

and private conference activities. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 

143B-168.3; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Prior to amendment of May 1, 2006 this language was located in 

Rule .1604; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2817 ENHANCED PROGRAM STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 

(a)  To achieve one point for program standards, the center shall be in compliance with all applicable requirements in Rules .0513-.0516 

of this Chapter. 

(b)  To achieve two through seven points for program standards, the center shall meet all the applicable requirements in Rule .2806 of 

this Section and the criteria listed in the following chart: 

 

Program 

Standards 

(.2817) 

Point Level 

Staff/Child Ratio 

Requirement 

 

Space Requirement 

 

Environment Rating Scale (ERS) 

Requirements 

(as referenced in Rule .2802(f) of this 

Section) 

2 Points Meets Enhanced 

Staff/Child Ratio in 

Rule .2818(b), OR 

Meets Enhanced Space in 

Rule .2809 

N/A 

3 Points Meets Enhanced 

Staff/Child Ratio in 

Rule .2818(b), OR 

Meets Enhanced Space in 

Rule .2809; AND 

Each classroom has at least a score of 4.0 

or higher 

4 Points Meets Enhanced 

Staff/Child Ratio in 

Rule .2818(b), AND 

Meets Enhanced Space in 

Rule .2809; AND 

Have an average combined score of 4.5, 

with no one classroom score lower than 

4.0 in each classroom evaluated  

5 Points Meets Enhanced 

Staff/Child Ratio in 

Rule .2818(b), AND 

Meets Enhanced Space in 

Rule .2809; AND 

Have an average combined score of 4.75, 

with no one classroom score lower than 

4.0 in each classroom evaluated 

     6 Points Meets Enhanced 

Staff/Child Ratio in 

Rule .2818(b), AND 

Meets Enhanced Space in 

Rule .2809; AND 

Have an average combined score of 5.0, 

with no one classroom score lower than 

4.0 in each classroom evaluated 

       7 Points Meets Enhanced 

Staff/Child Ratio in 

Rule .2818(b), and 

(c) AND 

Meets Enhanced Space in 

Rule .2809; AND 

Have a score of 5.0 in each classroom 

evaluated 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2818 ENHANCED STAFF/CHILD RATIOS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating the staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes for a rated license for child care centers. 

(b)  The center shall comply with the following staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes. 

 

Age Ratio Staff/Children Maximum Group Size 

0 to 12 Months 1/5 10 

1 to 2 Years 1/6 12 

2 to 3 Years 1/9 18 

3 to 4 Years 1/10 20 

4 to 5 Years 1/13 25 

5 to 6 Years 1/15 25 

6 Years and Older 1/20 25 

 

(c)  To earn seven points for program standards, the center shall comply with the following staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes. 
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Age Ratio Staff/Children Maximum Group Size 

0 to 12 Months 1/4 8 

1 to 2 Years 1/5 10 

2 to 3 Years 1/8 16 

3 to 4 Years 1/9 18 

4 to 5 Years 1/12 24 

5 to 6 Years 1/14 25 

6 Years and Older 1/19 25 

 

(d)  The provisions of rules 10A NCAC 09 .0713(a) through (e) shall apply in evaluating the staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes 

within this Rule. 

(e)  The staff/child ratio applicable to a classroom shall be posted in that classroom in an area that parents are able to view at all times. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2819 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR ON-SITE ADMINISTRATORS FOR A RATED 

LICENSE FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating the education standards for an on-site administrator for child care centers. The points for education 

standards shall be determined by applying this Rule and Rules .2820, .2821, .2822 and .2823 of this Section. To determine the points 

attained for meeting the education standards, the lowest number of points attained pursuant to each Rule shall be the point used to meet 

Rule .2802 of this Section. 

(b)  To achieve two through seven points for education standards, the on-site administrator shall meet the applicable requirements in the 

following chart: 

 

On-Site 

Administrator 

(.2819) 

Point Level 

NC Early 

Childhood 

Administration 

Credential or its 

equivalent 

Semester Hours and Type of 

Work Experience 

If providing school-age care 

2 Points Level I; and 2 years of full-time, verifiable 

early childhood experience; or 

 

1 year of child care 

administration experience; and 

150 hours of verifiable time in a licensed 

child care program; or 

 

300 hours of verifiable time in an 

unlicensed school-age care or camp 

setting; or 

 

BSAC training. 

3 Points Level I; and 6 hours in early childhood 

education or child 

development; and either 

 

2 years of full-time, verifiable 

early childhood experience; or 

1 year of child care 

administration experience; and 

300 hours of verifiable time in a licensed 

child care program; or 

 

450 hours of verifiable time in an 

unlicensed school-age care or camp 

setting; or 

 

BSAC training. 

4 Points Level I; and 18 hours in early childhood 

education or child 

development; and 1 year of 

child care administration 

experience; or 

 

6 hours in early childhood 

education or child 

development and 10 years of 

child care administration 

experience; and 

450 hours of verifiable time in a licensed 

child care program; or 

 

600 hours of verifiable time in an 

unlicensed school-age care or camp 

setting; or 

 

BSAC training. 
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On-Site 

Administrator 

(.2819) 

Point Level 

NC Early 

Childhood 

Administration 

Credential or its 

equivalent 

Semester Hours and Type of 

Work Experience 

If providing school-age care 

5 Points Level II; and 2 years of full-time, verifiable 

early childhood experience; 

and 

600 hours of verifiable time in a licensed 

child care program; or 

 

900 hours of verifiable time in an 

unlicensed school-age care or camp 

setting; or 

 

BSAC training or its equivalent. 

6 Points Level II; and 18 hours in early childhood 

education or child 

development; and either 

 

3 years of full-time verifiable 

early childhood experience in 

an early childhood center 

teaching young children; or 

 

3 years of child care 

administration experience; or 

 

3 years of a combination of 

both types of experience; and 

750 hours of verifiable time in a licensed 

child care program; or 

 

1150 hours of verifiable time in an 

unlicensed school-age care or camp 

setting; or 

 

BSAC training. 

7 Points Level III; and either 4 years of full-time verifiable 

early childhood experience in 

an early childhood center 

teaching young children; or 

 

4 years of child care 

administration experience; or 

 

4 years of a combination of 

both types of experience; and 

900 hours of verifiable time in a licensed 

child care program; or 

 

1350 hours of verifiable time in an 

unlicensed school-age care or camp 

setting; or 

 

BSAC training. 

 

(c)  Semester hours in early childhood education or child development shall not include the coursework necessary for the North Carolina 

Early Childhood Administration Credential (NCECAC). 

(d)  Completion of school-age experience requirements shall count toward meeting work experience requirements. 

(e)  For centers with a licensed capacity of 3 to 12 children located in a residence, if an individual has responsibility both for 

administering the child care program and for planning and implementing the daily activities of a group of children, the educational 

requirements for lead teacher in Rule .2820 of this Section shall apply. All other teachers shall follow the educational requirements for 

teachers in this Section. 

(f)  For centers with a licensed capacity of 200 or more, there shall be a second administrator on-site for a minimum of 20 hours per 

week who shall have the Level I North Carolina Early Childhood Administration Credential or its equivalent. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2820 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR LEAD TEACHERS FOR A RATED LICENSE 

FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating all lead teachers in child care centers. The points for education standards shall be determined by 

applying this Rule and Rules .2819, .2821, .2822 and .2823 of this Section. To determine the points attained for meeting the education 

standards, the lowest number of points attained pursuant to each Rule shall be the point used to meet Rule .2802 of this Section. 
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(b)  To achieve two through seven points for education standards, the lead teachers shall meet the applicable requirements in the 

following chart: 

 

Lead 

Teacher 

(.2820) 

Point 

Level 

NC Early 

Childhood 

Credential or its 

equivalent 

Certification on the NC Early 

Care and Education 

Professional Scale 

Other Education and Experience 

Requirements 

2 Points 75 percent of 

lead teachers; or 

75 percent of lead teachers at 

Level I or higher; and 

75 percent of lead teachers have completed or 

are enrolled in 3 semester hours in early 

childhood education or child development. 

3 Points All lead teachers; 

or 

All lead teachers at a Level I or 

higher; and either 

75 percent of the lead teachers shall have: 

(1) completed 3 semester hours in early 

childhood education and have 

completed or are enrolled in 3 

additional semester hours in early 

childhood education or child 

development; or 

(2) completed 1 year full-time verifiable 

early childhood work experience; or 

(3) have a Level II or higher certification 

on the ECE scale; or 

(4) Any combination of (1), (2), and (3) of 

this requirement. 

  OR 50 percent of the lead 

teachers at a Level II or higher. 

 

4 Points All lead teachers; 

or 

All lead teachers at a Level I or 

higher; and either 

75 percent of the lead teachers shall have: 

(1) completed 6 semester hours in early 

childhood education or childhood 

development and have completed or 

are enrolled in 3 additional semester 

hours in early childhood education; or 

(2) completed 3 semester hours of early 

childhood education and have 3 years 

of full-time verifiable early childhood 

work experience; or 

(3) completed 5 years of full-time 

verifiable early childhood work 

experience; or 

(4) Any combination of (1), (2), and (3) of 

this requirement. 

  OR 50 percent of the lead 

teachers shall have a Level III or 

higher certification on the ECE 

scale. 

 

5 Points All lead teachers; 

or 

All lead teachers at a Level I or 

higher; and  

75 percent of the lead teachers shall have: 

(1) completed 9 semester hours in early 

childhood education or childhood 

development and have completed or 

are enrolled in 3 additional semester 

hours in early childhood education; 

and have 1 year of full-time verifiable 

early childhood work experience; or 

(2) have a Level IV or higher certification 

on the ECE scale and have 1 year of 

full-time verifiable early childhood 

work experience; or 

(3) Any combination of (1) and (2) of this 

requirement. 
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Lead 

Teacher 

(.2820) 

Point 

Level 

NC Early 

Childhood 

Credential or its 

equivalent 

Certification on the NC Early 

Care and Education 

Professional Scale 

Other Education and Experience 

Requirements 

6 Points All lead teachers; 

or 

All lead teachers at a Level I or 

higher; and  

50 percent of the lead teachers shall have 

either: 

(1) An A.A.S. degree in early childhood 

education or child development or an 

A.A.S. degree in any major with 12 

semester hours in early childhood 

education or child development and 1 

year of full-time verifiable early 

childhood work experience; or 

(2) Completed 60 semester hours towards 

a BA/BS degree program with 12 

semester hours in early childhood 

education and 1 year of full-time 

verifiable early childhood work 

experience; or 

(3) A Level VI certification on the ECE 

scale and 1 year of full-time verifiable 

early childhood work experience; or 

(4) Any combination of (1), (2) and (3) of 

this requirement.  

7 Points All lead teachers; 

or 

All lead teachers at a Level I or 

higher; and  

75 percent of the lead teachers shall have 

either: 

(1) An A.A.S. degree in early childhood 

education or child development or an 

A.A.S. degree in any major with 12 

semester hours in early childhood 

education or child development and 2 

years of full-time verifiable early 

childhood work experience; or 

(2) A Level VI certification on the ECE 

scale and 2 years of full-time 

verifiable early childhood work 

experience; or 

(3) Any combination of (1) and (2) of this 

requirement. 

 

(c)  Semester hours in early childhood education or child development shall not include the coursework necessary for the North Carolina 

Early Childhood Credential. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2821 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR TEACHERS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR 

CHILD CARE CENTERS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating all teachers in child care centers. The points for education standards shall be determined by 

applying this Rule and Rules .2819, .2820, .2822, and .2823 of this Section. To determine the points attained for meeting the education 

standards, the lowest number of points attained pursuant to each Rule shall be the point used to meet Rule .2802 of this Section. 

(b)  To achieve two through seven points for education standards, teachers counted in staff/child ratios shall meet the applicable 

requirements in the following chart. 
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Teacher 

(.2821) 

Point Level 

NC Early Childhood 

Credential or its 

equivalent 

Certification on the 

NC Early Care and 

Education Professional 

Scale 

Other Education and Experience Requirements 

2 Points   50 percent of the teachers shall: 

(1) Have 1 year of full-time verifiable early 

childhood work experience; or 

(2) Be enrolled in 3 semester hours in early 

childhood education or child 

development; or 

(3) Have any combination of (1) and (2) of 

this requirement.  

3 Points   50 percent of the teachers shall have: 

(1) 3 semester hours in early childhood 

education or child development; or 

(2) 2 years of full-time verifiable early 

childhood work experience; or 

(3) Any combination of (1) and (2) of this 

requirement. 

4 Points 50 percent of 

teachers; or 

50 percent of teachers 

at a Level I or higher. 

 

5 Points 50 percent of 

teachers; or 

50 percent of teachers 

at a Level I or higher; 

and 

3 semester hours in early childhood education or 

child development; or 

  50 percent of teachers 

at a Level II or higher; 

or 

 

  Any combination of 

the two options. 

 

6 Points 50 percent of 

teachers; or 

50 percent of teachers 

at a Level I or higher; 

and either 

(1) 3 semester hours in early childhood 

education or child development and 1 

year of full-time verifiable early 

childhood work experience; or 

(2) A Level II or higher certification on the 

ECE scale and 1 year of full-time 

verifiable early childhood work 

experience; or 

(3) Any combination of (1) and (2) of this 

requirement. 

7 Points 50 percent of 

teachers; or 

50 percent of teachers 

at a Level I or higher; 

and either 

(1) 6 semester hours in early childhood 

education or child development and 2 

years of full-time verifiable early 

childhood work experience; or 

(2) A Level III or higher certification on the 

ECE scale and 2 years of full-time 

verifiable early childhood work 

experience; or 

(3) Any combination of (1) and (2) of this 

requirement. 

 

(c)  Semester hours in early childhood education or child development shall not include the coursework necessary for the North Carolina 

Early Childhood Credential. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Readoption Eff. March 1, 2019. 
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10A NCAC 09 .2822 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR PROGRAM COORDINATORS FOR A RATED 

LICENSE FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating program coordinators in child care centers. The points for education standards shall be determined 

by applying this Rule and Rules .2819, .2820, .2821, and .2823 of this Section. To determine the points attained for meeting the education 

standards, the lowest number of points attained pursuant to each Rule shall be the point used to meet Rule .2802 of this Section. 

(b)  To achieve two through seven points for education standards, the program coordinator shall meet the applicable requirements in 

Rule .2510(b) of this Chapter and the following chart: 

 

Program 

Coordinator 

(.2822) 

Point Level 

Type of 

Degree 

Certification 

on the NC 

School Age 

Professional 

Scale 

Semester Hours of 

school-age care 

related coursework 

Hours of verifiable 

experience working 

with school-aged 

children in a licensed 

child care program 

Hours of 

verifiable 

experience 

working with 

school-aged 

children in an 

unlicensed 

school-age care or 

camp setting 

2 Points   Enrolled in 3 

additional hours; or 

200; or 300. 

3 Points  Level I or 

higher; or 

Completed 3 

additional hours; or 

300; or 450. 

4 Points   Completed 3 

additional hours; and 

200; or 300; or 

  Level I or 

higher; and 

 200; or 300; or 

    450; or 600. 

5 Points  Level II or 

higher; or 

Completed 3 

additional semester 

hours and be enrolled 

in 3 additional 

semester hours; or 

600; or 750. 

6 points BA/BS; 

and 

 Completed 3 

additional hours; or 

  

  Level IV or 

higher; or 

   

   Completed 6 

additional hours and  

750; or 900. 

7 Points BA/BS; 

and 

 Completed 6 

additional hours; and 

300; or 450; or 

  Level IV or 

higher; and 

 300; or 450; or 

   Completed 9 

additional hours; and 

600; or 900; or 

   Completed 6 

additional hours; and 

900; or 1350. 

 

(c)  For centers providing school-age care with 200 or more school-aged children enrolled, there shall be two program coordinators on 

site, one of whom shall not have concurrent group leader responsibilities. The additional program coordinator shall have completed all 

the applicable staff requirements in Rule .2510(b) of this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 
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10A NCAC 09 .2823 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR GROUP LEADERS AND ASSISTANT GROUP 

LEADERS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS AND FOR CENTERS THAT PROVIDE CARE 

ONLY TO SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating group leaders and assistant group leaders in child care centers and for centers that provide care 

only to school-age children. The points for education standards shall be determined by applying this Rule and Rules .2819, .2820, 2821, 

.2822, .2824, and .2825 of this Section. To determine the points attained for meeting the education standards, the lowest number of 

points attained pursuant to each Rule shall be the point used to meet Rule .2802 of this Section. 

(b)  To achieve two through seven points for education standards, group leaders and assistant group leaders shall meet the applicable 

requirements in the following chart. 

 

Group 

Leader/Assistant 

Group Leader 

(.2823) 

Point Level 

Age of 

Assistant 

Group 

Leaders 

BSAC Semester hours 

of school-age 

care related 

coursework 

Hours of verifiable 

experience working 

with school-aged 

children in a licensed 

child care program 

Hours of verifiable 

experience working 

with school-aged 

children in an 

unlicensed school-age 

care or camp setting 

2 Points  All group 

leaders. 

   

3 Points  All group 

leaders; 

and 

25 percent of 

group leaders 

enrolled in or 

completed 2 

additional 

hours. 

  

4 Points All at 

least 16 

years of 

age; and 

All group 

leaders; 

and 

25 percent of 

group leaders 

completed 2 

additional 

hours; or 

100; or 150. 

5 Points  All group 

leaders; 

and 

50 percent of 

group leaders 

completed 2 

additional 

hours; or 

300; or 450; and 

 All at 

least 16 

years of 

age; and 

All 

assistant 

group 

leaders; 

or 

 250; or 400. 

6 points  All group 

leaders; 

and 

50 percent of 

group leaders 

completed 2 

hours and 

completed or be 

enrolled in 2 

additional 

hours; or 

600; or 900; and 

 All at 

least 17 

years of 

age; and 

All 

assistant 

group 

leaders; 

or 

 250; or 400. 

7 Points All at 

least 18 

years of 

age; and 

All group 

leaders 

and 

assistant 

group 

leaders; 

and 

75 percent of 

group leaders 

completed 2 

hours and 

completed or be 

enrolled in 2 

600; or 900. 
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Group 

Leader/Assistant 

Group Leader 

(.2823) 

Point Level 

Age of 

Assistant 

Group 

Leaders 

BSAC Semester hours 

of school-age 

care related 

coursework 

Hours of verifiable 

experience working 

with school-aged 

children in a licensed 

child care program 

Hours of verifiable 

experience working 

with school-aged 

children in an 

unlicensed school-age 

care or camp setting 

additional 

hours; or 

 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2824 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR ADMINISTRATORS 

FOR CENTERS THAT PROVIDE CARE ONLY TO SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating the education standards for administrators for centers that provide care only to school-age 

children. The points for education standards shall be determined by applying this Rule and Rules .2825 and .2826 of this Section. To 

determine the points attained for meeting the education standards, the lowest number of points attained pursuant to each rule shall be 

the point used to meet Rule .2802 of this Section. 

(b)  To achieve two through seven points for education standards, the administrator of a school-age only program shall meet the 

applicable requirements in the following chart. 

 

Administrator 

(.2824) 

Point Level 

NC Early Childhood 

Administration Credential, 

its equivalent, 

Hours of verifiable experience 

performing administrative 

duties in a licensed child care 

program 

Hours of verifiable 

experience performing 

administrative duties in an 

unlicensed school-age care or 

camp setting 

2 Points Level I or have enrolled in 

coursework as required in 

G.S. 110-91(8); and 

 

1600.  

3 Points Level I; and either 

 

300; or 450. 

4 Points Level I; and either 

 

450; or 600. 

5 Points Level II; and either 

 

600; or 750. 

6 Points Level II; and either 

 

750; or 1150. 

7 Points Level III; and either 

 

900; or 1350. 

 

(c)  As used in this Rule, the definition of the term "experience working with school-aged children" in Rule .2510(h) of this Chapter 

shall apply. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2825 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR PROGRAM COORDINATORS FOR A RATED 

LICENSE FOR CENTERS THAT PROVIDE CARE ONLY TO SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating the education standards for program coordinators for centers that provide care only to school-

age children. The points for education standards shall be determined by applying this Rule and Rules .2824 and .2826 of this Section. 

To determine the points attained for meeting the education standards, the lowest number of points attained pursuant to each Rule shall 

be the point used to meet Rule .2802 of this Section. 

(b)  To achieve two through seven points for education standards, the program coordinator shall meet the applicable requirements in 

Rule .2510(b) of this Chapter and the following chart. 
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Program 

Coordinator 

(.2825) 

Point Level 

Type of 

Degree 

Certification 

on the NC 

School Age 

Professional 

Certification 

Scale 

Semester Hours of 

school-age care related 

coursework 

Hours of verifiable 

experience working 

with school-age 

children in a 

licensed child care 

program 

Hours of verifiable 

experience working 

with school-age 

children in an 

unlicensed school-

age care or camp 

setting 

2 Points   Enrolled in 3 additional 

hours; or 

200; or 300. 

3 Points  Level I or 

higher; or 

Completed 3 additional 

hours; or 

300; or 450. 

4 Points   Completed 3 additional 

hours; and 

200; or 300; or 

  Level I or 

higher; and 

 200; or 300; or 

    450; or 600. 

5 Points  Level II or 

higher; or 

Completed 3 additional 

semester hours and be 

enrolled in 3 additional 

semester hours; or 

600; or 750. 

6 points    750: or 900; and 

   Completed 6 additional 

hours; or 

  

 BA/BS; 

and 

 Completed 3 additional 

hours; or 

  

  Level III or 

higher. 

   

7 Points   Completed 6 additional 

hours; and 

900; or 1350; or 

   Completed 9 additional 

hours; and 

600; or 900; or 

 BA/BS; 

and 

 Completed 6 additional 

hours; and 

300; or 450; or 

  Level IV or 

higher; and 

 300; or 450; or 

 

(c)  As used in this Rule, the definition of the term "experience working with school-age children" in Rule .2510(h) of this Chapter shall 

apply. 

(d)  For programs with a licensed capacity of 200 or more school-age children, there shall be two program coordinators on site, one of 

whom shall not have concurrent group leader responsibilities. The additional program coordinator shall have completed the applicable 

staff requirements in Rule .2510(b) of this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2826 EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR GROUP LEADERS AND ASSISTANT GROUP LEADERS FOR 

A RATED LICENSE FOR CENTERS THAT PROVIDE CARE ONLY TO SCHOOL-AGED CHILDREN 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2827 ENHANCED EDUCATION STANDARDS FOR OPERATORS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR 

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOMES 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating the operator of family child care homes.  

(b)  To achieve two through seven points for education standards, the operator shall meet the applicable requirements in the following 

chart: 
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FCCH 

Operator 

(.2827) 

Point Level 

Degree NC 

Family 

Child 

Care 

Credential 

or its 

equivalent 

Certification 

on the NC 

Early Care 

and 

Education 

Professional 

Scale 

Semester Hours Verifiable 

Early 

Childhood 

Work 

Experience 

Additional 

Clock Hours of 

On-going 

Training 

2 Points    4 hours in early 

childhood 

education or child 

development; or 

5 years; 

and 

8 annually. 

3 Points  ; 

or 

Level I 

or higher. 

   

4 Points   Level II 

or higher; or 

   

  ; 

or 

Level I or 

higher; and 

6 hours in early 

childhood 

education or  

child 

development. 

  

5 Points   Level IV or 

higher; and 

 1 year; or  

  ; 

or 

Level I or 

higher; and 

12 hours in early 

childhood 

education or child 

development and 

either 2 of the 12 

hours shall 

include child care 

administration; or 

1 year.  

6 Points   Level VI or 

higher; and 

 1 year; or  

  ; 

or 

Level I or 

higher; and 

18 hours in early 

childhood 

education or child 

development and 

either 5 of the 18 

hours shall 

include child care 

administration; or 

2 years.  

7 Points A.A.S. in any 

major; and  

  A minimum of 12 

hours in early 

childhood 

education or child 

development; and 

2 years; or  

 A.A.S. degree 

in early 

childhood 

education or 

child 

development; 

and 

   18 months; 

or 

 

   A Level VI; 

and 

 2 years.  

 

(c)  Semester hours in early childhood education or child development shall not include the coursework necessary for the North Carolina 

Family Child Care Credential. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2828 ENHANCED PROGRAM STANDARDS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE 

HOMES 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating the program standards for a rated license for family child care homes. 

(b)  To achieve two through seven points for program standards, the operator shall meet the criteria listed in the following chart: 

 

FCCH 

Program Standards 

(.2828) 

Point Level 

Criteria 

2 points Operator provides documentation of self-study and self-assessment using the Family Child 

Care Rating Scale over a 3-month time period. Documentation such as an ERS book with 

score sheets, self-assessments and program adjustments shall be reviewed by the Division as 

part of the rated license assessment.  

3 points Have a score of 4.0 or higher on the Family Child Care Rating Scale 

4 points Have a score of 4.25 or higher on the Family Child Care Rating Scale 

5 points Have a score of 4.5 or higher on the Family Child Care Rating Scale 

6 points Have a score of 4.75 or higher on the Family Child Care Rating Scale AND of the five 

preschoolers allowed to be enrolled, no more than four children shall be under one year of 

age 

7 points Have a score of 5.0 or higher on the Family Child Care Rating Scale AND of the five 

preschoolers allowed to be enrolled, no more than three children shall be under one year of 

age 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Recodified from Rule .2821 Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2829 QUALITY POINT OPTIONS 

Operators may choose to earn one additional quality point toward a rated license as described in Rule .2802 of this Section as follows: 

(1) Education options: 

 

Quality Point Education Options (.2829)  

75 percent of infant/toddler teachers have obtained an Infant and Toddler Certificate; OR 

All teachers have the North Carolina Diploma in Early Childhood (1 year) from a regionally 

accredited college or university as defined in Rule .1103 of this Chapter; 

OR 

75 percent of teachers have an AAS or higher in early childhood education or child development; OR 

75 percent of lead teachers have a BA/BS or higher in early childhood education or child 

development; 

OR 

All lead teachers have an AAS or higher in early childhood education or child development; OR 

75 percent of group leaders have a North Carolina School-Age Care Credential or 6 semester 

hours in school-age coursework; 

OR 

A Family Child Care Home operator has an Infant and Toddler Certificate or a BA/BS or higher 

in early childhood education or child development; 

OR 

Completing 20 additional annual on-going training hours for full-time lead teachers and teachers, 

and staff working part-time; 

OR 

Completing 20 additional annual on-going training hours for family child care home operators; OR 

The child care administrator has at least 10 years of documented child care administrative work 

experience in a licensed program that can be verified by the Division; 

OR 

75 percent of lead teachers and teachers have at least 10 years of documented early childhood 

work experience that can be verified by the Division; 

OR 
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Quality Point Education Options (.2829)  

All lead teachers and teachers have at least 5 years of documented early childhood work 

experience that can be verified by the Division and have been employed by no more than 2 

different employers; 

OR 

When the program has earned at least 4 points in education and the program has a combined 

turnover rate of 20 percent or less for the administrator, program coordinator, lead teacher, 

teacher, and group leader positions over the last 12 months; 

OR 

In a stand-alone school age program, 75 percent of group leaders have at least 5 years of 

documented school-age work experience that can be verified by the Division and have been 

employed by no more than 2 different employers. 

 

 

(2) Programmatic options: 

 

Quality Point Programmatic Options (.2829)  

Using a curriculum as defined in Rule .0102(10) of this Chapter. This programmatic option is not 

available to facilities that are required to use an approved curriculum in accordance with Rule 

.2802(d) of this Section; 

OR 

Having reduced group sizes decreased by at least one child per age group from the seven point 

level as described in Rule .2818(c) of this Section; 

OR 

Having staff/child ratios decreased by at least one child per age group from the seven point level 

as described in Rule .2818(c) of this Section; 

OR 

Meeting the following program standards: 

(1) Having a staff benefits package that offers at least four of the following benefits: paid              

leave for professional development, paid planning time, vacation, sick time, retirement, 

or health insurance; and 

(2) Having evidence of an infrastructure of parent involvement that includes at least two of 

the following: parent newsletters offered at least quarterly, parent advisory board, 

periodic conferences for all children, or parent information meetings offered at least 

quarterly 

OR 

A Family Child Care Home operator has completed a 30 hour or longer business training course; OR 

A center administrator has completed a business training course and a wage and hour training 

course that is at least 30 hours of total training time; 

OR 

Restricting enrollment to four preschool children in a Family Child Care Home; OR 

Reducing infant capacity by at least one child from the seven point level for a Family Child Care 

Home as described in Rule .2828(g)(3) of this Section. 

 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2011-145, s. 10.7(b); 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2006; 

Recodified from Rule .2823 Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; September 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2830 MAINTAINING THE STAR 

RATING 

(a)  A representative of the Division may make announced or 

unannounced visits to facilities to assess on-going compliance 

with the requirements of a star rating after it has been issued. 

When the Division representative documents violations with the 

standards that determine a rating, the representative shall take one 

or more of the following actions: 

(1) advise the operator to submit written 

verification that the violations have been 

corrected; 

(2) return to the facility for an unannounced visit at 

a later date to determine if compliance has been 

achieved; 

(3) recommend an Environmental Rating Scale 

assessment be conducted; 

(4) recommend a complete reassessment of 

requirements of the star rating issued to the 

facility; 

(5) recommend that the star rating be reduced; or 

(6) recommend administrative action in 

accordance with G.S. 110, Article 7 and this 

Chapter. 

(b)  If changes unrelated to employment occur at a facility that 

result in the operator not complying with the standards in this 

Section for the star rating issued, the operator shall correct the 

noncompliance within 30 days. If the operator does not correct the 

noncompliance within 30 days, the operator shall notify the 
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Division. Based upon the information obtained, the Division shall 

take any of the actions described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  If employment-related changes occur at a facility that result 

in the operator not complying with the standards in the Section for 

the star rating issued, the operator shall correct the noncompliance 

within 120 days. If the operator does not correct the 

noncompliance within 120 days, the operator shall notify the 

Division. Based upon the information obtained, the Division shall 

take any of the actions described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  A complete assessment of requirements for a rated license of 

two stars or higher shall be conducted at least once every three 

years. The Division shall provide for one evaluation of program 

standards using the environment rating scales referenced in Rule 

.2802(e), free of charge, once every three years when reassessing 

the ratings of operators with three to five points for program 

standards. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-

168.3; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Recodified from Rule .2809 Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Recodified from Rule .2824 Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2831 HOW AN OPERATOR MAY 

REQUEST OR APPEAL A CHANGE IN RATING 

(a)  An operator may request a change in the star rating by 

following the procedures in Rule .2802 of this Section. 

(b)  After an initial three- through five-star rating is issued, the 

Division shall provide one evaluation of program standards using 

the environment rating scales referenced in Rule .2802(e) of this 

Section during each three year period thereafter at no cost to the 

operator. An operator may have extra rating scale assessments, as 

referenced in Rule .2802(e) of this Section, performed at his or 

her own expense in addition to the free one performed by the 

Division. The additional rating scale assessments shall be 

completed by individuals approved by the Division to perform 

them. Approval shall be based upon the individual's successful 

completion of training designated or authorized by the authors of 

the environment rating scales. 

(c)  An operator may appeal the reduction of a star rating as 

provided in G.S. 110-94. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-

168.3; 

Recodified from Rule .2810 Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Recodified from Rule .2825 Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 14A .0301 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Facility" is defined in 42 CFR 483.5, which is 

herein incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. The 

Code of Federal Regulations may be accessed 

free of charge at 

http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_0

8/42cfr483_08. 

(2) "Hearing Officer" means the person at the 

Hearing Unit designated to preside over 

hearings between residents and nursing facility 

providers regarding transfers and discharges. 

(3) "Hearing Unit" means the Chief Hearing 

Officer and his or her staff in the Division of 

Medical Assistance of the Department of 

Health and Human Services. 

(4) "Notice" means a written notification of 

transfer or discharge, as required by 42 CFR 

483.15 (c), by the facility to the resident and the 

resident's representative as defined in 42 CFR 

483.5. 

(5) "Request for a Hearing" means a written 

expression by the resident, family member, or 

legal representative, that he or she wants the 

opportunity to present his or her case to the 

Hearing Officer.  

(6) "Resident" means any person who is receiving 

treatment or long-term care in a facility. 

(7) "Serve" means personal delivery, delivery by 

first class or certified United States Postal 

Service mail, or delivery by licensed overnight 

express mail, postage prepaid and addressed to 

the party at his or her last known address. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-165(10); 42 U.S.C. 1395i-

3(c)(2)(B)(iii); 42 U.S.C. 1396r(e)(3); 42 U.S.C. 1396r(f)(3); 42 

CFR 483.15(c);  

Eff. August 3, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 14A .0302 TRANSFER OR DISCHARGE 

HEARING REQUEST 

Any resident who has been advised of the date of a transfer or 

discharge in writing may request that the Hearing Officer set a 

date for a hearing in accordance with these Rules. Hearing 

procedures shall be in accordance with rules in 10A NCAC 22H 

.0200, which are herein incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. These Rules may be 

accessed free of charge at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-165(10); 42 U.S.C. 1395i-

3(c)(2)(B)(iii); 42 U.S.C. 1396r(e)(3); 42 U.S.C. 1396r(f)(3); 42 

CFR 483.15(c);  

Eff. August 3, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 14A .0303 FILING A REQUEST FOR 

HEARING 

In order to initiate a hearing, a resident must first have been served 

by the facility administrator with a written notice and shall file a 

Request for Hearing in accordance with rules in 10A NCAC 22H 

.0200.  
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-165(10); 42 U.S.C. 1395i-

3(c)(2)(B)(iii); 42 U.S.C. 1396r(e)(3); 42 U.S.C. 1396r(f)(3); 42 

CFR 483.15(c);  

Eff. August 3, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 26F .0106 SCHEDULE V 

(a)  Schedule V shall consist of the drugs and other substances by 

whatever official name, common or usual name, chemical name 

or brand name designated and listed in either G.S. 90-93 or this 

Rule. Each drug or substance is set forth below with its 

corresponding Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 

controlled substances code number set forth in the Code of 

Federal Regulations, Title 21, Section 1308.l5. 

(b)  Narcotic drugs containing non-narcotic active medicinal 

ingredients. Any compound, mixture, or preparation containing 

any of the following narcotic drugs, or their salts calculated as the 

free anhydrous base or alkaloid, in limited quantities as set forth 

below, which shall include one or more non-narcotic active 

medicinal ingredients in sufficient proportion to confer upon the 

compound, mixture, or preparation valuable medicinal qualities 

other than those possessed by narcotic drugs alone: 

(1) not more than 200 milligrams of codeine per 

100 milliliters or per 100 grams, 

(2) not more than 100 milligrams of 

dihydrocodeine per 100 milliliters or per 100 

grams, 

(3) not more than 100 milligrams of ethylmorphine 

per 100 milliliters or per 100 grams, 

(4) not more than 2.5 milligrams of diphenoxylate 

and not less than 25 micrograms of atropine 

sulfate per dosage unit, 

(5) not more than 100 milligrams of opium per 100 

milliliters or per 100 grams, 

(6) not more than 0.5 milligrams of difenoxin and 

not less than 25 micrograms atropine sulfate per 

dosage unit. 

(c)  Stimulants. Unless specifically exempted or excluded or 

unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, 

mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the 

following substances having a stimulant effect on the central 

nervous system, including its salts, isomers and salts of isomers: 

Pyrovalerone - DEA controlled substances code number 1485. 

(d)  Depressants. Unless specifically exempted or excluded or 

unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, 

mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the 

following substances having a depressant effect on the central 

nervous system, including its salts: 

(1) Lacosamide – DEA controlled substances code 

number 2746; and 

(2) Ezogabine – DEA controlled substances 

number 2779. 

(e)  Approved cannabidiol drugs. A drug product in finished 

dosage formulation that has been approved by the U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration that contains cannabidiol (2-[1R-

3-methyl-6R-(1-methylethenyl)-2-cyclohexen-1-yl]-5-pentyl-

1,3-benzenediol) derived from cannabis and no more than 0.1 

percent (w/w) residual tetrahydrocannabinols –DEA controlled 

substances code number 7367. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-88; 90-93; 143B-147; 

Eff. June 30, 1978; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2012; February 1, 2010; April 1, 1992; 

August 1, 1988; December 1, 1987; April 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 07 .0401 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions contained in G.S. 66-455 are incorporated in this 

Section by reference. In addition to those definitions, the 

following definitions apply to this Section: 

(1) "Proof of Insurance" shall mean a Certificate of 

Insurance (COI) from an acceptable insurer. 

(2) "Acceptable Insurer" shall mean any insurance 

company licensed under G.S. 58-6-7. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 66-458; 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 07.0402 PROOF OF INSURANCE 

COVERAGE 

(a)  A person operating a challenge course, zip line, or other 

similar device subject to the provisions of G.S. 66-455 through 

G.S. 66-458 shall file with the Commissioner, on an annual basis, 

proof that it has obtained liability insurance satisfying the 

requirements of G.S. 66-456 from an acceptable insurer. 

(b)  Proof of Insurance shall be filed with the Director of Risk 

Management, North Carolina Department of Insurance, 1201 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699 or may be filed 

electronically by e-mailing challengcoursecoi@ncdoi.gov. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 66-458; 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0109 CONTACT INFORMATION  

(a)  "Contact information" for purposes of this Rule shall include 

telephone number, facsimile number, email address, and mailing 

address. 

(b)  All attorneys of record with matters before the Commission 

shall inform the Commission in writing of any change in the 

attorney's contact information via email to dockets@ic.nc.gov. 

(c)  All unrepresented persons or entities with matters before the 

Commission shall inform the Commission upon any change to 

their contact information in the following manner: 

(1) All employees who are not represented by 

counsel shall inform the Commission of any 

change in contact information by filing a 

written notice via the Commission's Electronic 

Document Filing Portal ("EDFP"), email to 
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forms@ic.nc.gov, facsimile, U.S. Mail, private 

courier service, or hand delivery. 

(2) All non-insured employers that are not 

represented by counsel shall inform the 

Commission of any change in contact 

information by filing a written notice via EDFP, 

email to dockets@ic.nc.gov, facsimile, U.S. 

Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80; 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0502 COMPROMISE SETTLEMENT 

AGREEMENTS 

(a)  The Commission shall not approve a compromise settlement 

agreement unless it contains the following:  

(1) The employee knowingly and intentionally 

waives the right to further benefits under the 

Workers' Compensation Act for the injury that 

is the subject of this agreement. 

(2) The parties' agreement, if any, as to the payment 

of the costs due to the Commission pursuant to 

11 NCAC 23E .0203, and any mediation costs 

pursuant to 11 NCAC 23G .0107. If there is no 

agreement as to the payment of some or all of 

these costs, the compromise settlement 

agreement shall include the credits, including 

the amounts, to be applied by the employer or 

carrier against the settlement proceeds. 

(3) An affirmative statement that no rights other 

than those arising under the provisions of the 

Workers' Compensation Act are compromised 

or released by this agreement. 

(4) Whether the employee has, or has not, returned 

to work.  

(5) If the employee has returned to work, whether 

the employee is earning the same or greater 

average weekly wage. 

(6) If the employee has returned to work at a lower 

average weekly wage, a description of the 

specific job or position, the name of the 

employer, and the average weekly wage earned. 

This Subparagraph does not apply if the 

employee is represented by counsel or if the 

employee certifies that partial wage loss due to 

an injury or occupational disease is not being 

claimed. 

(7) If the employee has not returned to work, a 

summary of the employee's age, educational 

level, past vocational training, past work 

experience, and any emotional, mental, or 

physical impairment that predates the current 

injury or occupational disease. This 

Subparagraph does not apply if: 

(A) it places an unreasonable burden upon 

the parties; 

(B) the employee is represented by 

counsel; or 

(C) the employee certifies that total wage 

loss due to an injury or occupational 

disease is not being claimed. 

(b)  No compromise settlement agreement shall be considered by 

the Commission unless the following requirements are met: 

(1) The relevant medical, vocational, and 

rehabilitation reports known to exist, including 

those pertinent to the employee's future earning 

capacity, are submitted with the agreement to 

the Commission by the employer, carrier, 

administrator, or the attorney for the employer. 

(2) The employee, the employee's attorney of 

record, if any, and an attorney of record or other 

representative who has been given the authority 

to sign for the employer, carrier and 

administrator, have signed the agreement. 

(3) In a claim where liability is admitted or 

otherwise has been established, the employer, 

carrier, or administrator has undertaken to pay 

all medical expenses for the compensable injury 

to the date of the settlement agreement. 

(4) In a claim in which the employer, carrier, or 

administrator has not agreed to pay all medical 

expenses of the employee related to the injury 

up to the date of the settlement agreement, the 

settlement agreement contains a list of all 

known medical expenses of the employee 

related to the injury to the date of the settlement 

agreement. This list of known medical expenses 

shall include: 

(A) All expenses that have been paid by 

the employer, carrier, or administrator; 

(B) All expenses that the employer, 

carrier, or administrator disputes; 

(C) All expenses that have been paid by 

the employee; 

(D) All expenses that have been paid by a 

health benefit plan; 

(E) All unpaid expenses that will be paid 

by the employer, carrier, or 

administrator; and 

(F) All unpaid expenses that will be paid 

by the employee. 

(5) The settlement agreement provides that a party 

who has agreed to pay a disputed unpaid 

medical expense will notify the unpaid health 

care provider in writing of the party's 

responsibility to pay the unpaid medical 

expense. Other unpaid health care providers 

will be notified in writing of the completion of 

the settlement by the party specified in the 

settlement agreement: 

(A) when the employee or the employee's 

attorney has notified the unpaid health 

care provider in writing under G.S. 97-

90(e) not to pursue a private claim 

against the employee for the costs of 

medical treatment; or 
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(B) when the unpaid health care provider 

has notified the employee or the 

employee's attorney in writing of its 

claim for payment for the costs of 

medical treatment and has requested 

notice of a settlement. 

(6) Any obligation of any party to pay an unpaid 

disputed medical expense pursuant to a 

settlement agreement does not require payment 

of any medical expense in excess of the 

maximum allowed under G.S. 97-26. 

(7) The settlement agreement contains a finding 

that the positions of the parties to the agreement 

are reasonable as to the payment of medical 

expenses. 

(c)  When a settlement has been reached, the written agreement 

shall be submitted to the Commission upon execution in 

accordance with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. All compromise 

settlement agreements shall be distributed for review in 

accordance with Paragraphs (a) through (c) of Rule .0609 of this 

Subchapter. Any changes or addenda to the agreement submitted 

to the Commission shall be served upon the opposing party 

contemporaneously with submission to the Commission. 

(d)  The employer, carrier, or administrator shall furnish an 

executed copy of the agreement to the employee's attorney of 

record or the employee, if unrepresented. 

(e)  An employee's attorney who seeks fees in connection with a 

compromise settlement agreement shall submit a copy of the fee 

agreement with the employee. Further, if the employee's attorney 

is aware of a fee being claimed by a prior attorney for the 

employee, the employee's attorney shall advise the Commission 

at the time of the submission of a compromise settlement 

agreement whether an agreement has been reached with the prior 

attorney regarding a division of the fee and, if so, the division 

proposed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-17; 97-80(a); 97-82; 

Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2016; November 1, 2014; August 1, 

2006; June 1, 2000; March 15, 1995; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0502 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0604 APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN 

AD LITEM 

(a)  Minors or incompetent individuals may bring an action only 

through their guardian ad litem. Upon the written application on 

a Form 42 Application for Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem, 

the Commission shall appoint the person as guardian ad litem, if 

the Commission determines it to be in the best interest of the 

minor or incompetent individual. The Commission shall appoint 

the guardian ad litem only after due inquiry as to the fitness of the 

person to be appointed. 

(b)  No compensation due or owed to an incompetent individual 

shall be paid directly to the guardian ad litem, unless the guardian 

ad litem has authority to receive the money pursuant to a federal 

or state court order. No compensation due or owed to a minor shall 

be paid directly to the guardian ad litem, except that a parent, legal 

guardian, or legal custodian may receive compensation on behalf 

of a minor in his or her capacity as parent, legal guardian, or legal 

custodian. 

(c)  The Commission may assess a fee to be paid by the employer 

or the insurance carrier to an attorney who serves as a guardian ad 

litem for services rendered upon receipt of an affidavit of time 

spent in representation of the minor or incompetent individual as 

part of the costs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-50; 97-79(e); 97-80(a); 97-

91; 

Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; June 1, 2000; 

March 15, 1995; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0604 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0609 MOTIONS PRACTICE  

(a)  Motions and responses before a Deputy Commissioner: 

(1) in cases that are currently calendared for 

hearing before a Deputy Commissioner shall be 

filed in accordance with Rule .0108 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) to reconsider or amend an Opinion and Award, 

made prior to giving notice of appeal to the Full 

Commission, shall be addressed to the Deputy 

Commissioner who authored the Opinion and 

Award and filed in accordance with Rule .0108 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Motions and responses shall be filed with the Office of the 

Executive Secretary in accordance with Rule .0108 of this 

Subchapter: 

(1) when a case is not calendared before a Deputy 

Commissioner; 

(2) once a case has been continued or removed 

from a Deputy Commissioner's calendar; or 

(3) after the filing of an Opinion and Award when 

the time for taking appeal has run. 

(c)  Motions and responses before the Full Commission: 

(1) in cases calendared for hearing before the Full 

Commission shall be addressed to the Chair of 

the Full Commission panel and filed in 

accordance with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. 

(2) filed after notice of appeal to the Full 

Commission has been given but prior to the 

calendaring of the case shall be addressed to the 

Chair of the Commission and filed in 

accordance with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. 

(3) in cases continued from the Full Commission 

hearing docket, shall be addressed to the Chair 

of the panel of Commissioners who ordered the 

continuance and filed in accordance with Rule 

.0108 of this Subchapter. 

(4) filed after the filing of an Opinion and Award 

by the Full Commission but prior to giving 

notice of appeal to the Court of Appeals or the 

expiration of the period allowed to give notice 

of appeal to the Court of Appeals shall be 

addressed to the Commissioner who authored 
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the Opinion and Award and filed in accordance 

with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Motions requesting an award of attorney's fees from ongoing 

compensation pursuant to G.S. 97-90 that are not required to be 

filed with a Deputy Commissioner or the Full Commission 

pursuant to Paragraphs (a) and (c) of this Rule shall be filed with 

the Commission's Claims Administration Section in accordance 

with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  All motions and responses thereto, including requests for 

extensions of time and requests to withdraw motions, shall include 

a caption containing the Industrial Commission file number(s), 

party names, and a title identifying the nature of the motion or 

response. Motions and responses set forth in the body of 

electronic mail correspondence or contained in a brief will not be 

accepted for filing by the Commission. This Paragraph does not 

apply to parties without legal representation. 

(f)  A motion shall state with particularity the grounds on which it 

is based, the relief sought, and the opposing party's position, if 

known, and any effort made by the moving party to resolve the 

issue in dispute before filing of the motion. Service shall be made 

on all opposing attorneys of record, or on all opposing parties if 

not represented. 

(g)  Motions to continue or remove a case from the hearing 

calendar on which the case is set shall be made as far in advance 

as possible of the scheduled hearing and may be made in written 

or oral form. In all cases, the moving party shall provide the basis 

for the motion and state that the other parties have been advised 

of the motion and relate the position of the other parties regarding 

the motion, or that there has been a reasonable attempt to contact 

the opposing party and ascertain its position regarding the motion.  

(h)  Oral motions shall be followed with a written motion from the 

moving party, if requested by a hearing officer considering the 

interests of justice. 

(i)  The responding party to a motion shall have 10 days after a 

motion is served during which to file and serve copies of a 

response in opposition to the motion. The Commission may 

shorten or extend the time for responding to any motion in the 

interests of justice or to promote judicial economy. Parties in 

agreement may submit a written stipulation to a single extension 

of time for responding to any motion, except for medical motions 

pursuant to Rule .0609A of this Section. The parties submitting a 

stipulation shall agree to an extension of a reasonable time, not to 

exceed 30 days. 

(j)  Motions shall be ruled upon without oral argument unless the 

Commission determines that oral argument is necessary for a 

complete understanding of the issues. 

(k)  All written motions and responses thereto shall include a 

proposed Order in Microsoft Word format to be considered by the 

Commission. The proposed Order shall include: 

(1) the Industrial Commission file number(s); 

(2) the case caption; 

(3) the subject of the proposed Order; 

(4) the procedural posture; and 

(5) the party appearances or contact information. If 

a party is represented by counsel, then the 

appearance shall include the attorney and firm 

name, email address, telephone number, and 

fax number. If a party is unrepresented, then the 

proposed Order shall include the party's email 

address, telephone number, and fax number, if 

available. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-79(b); 97-80(a); 97-84; 97-

91; 

Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2016; November 1, 2014; June 1, 2000; 

March 15, 1995; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0609 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0617 ATTORNEYS RETAINED FOR 

PROCEEDINGS 

(a)  Any attorney who is retained by a party in a proceeding before 

the Commission shall comply with the applicable rules of the 

North Carolina State Bar. A copy of a notice of representation 

shall be served upon all other counsel and all unrepresented 

parties, and submitted to the Commission in accordance with Rule 

.0108 of this Subchapter. Thereafter, all notices required to be 

served on a party shall be served upon the attorney. No direct 

contact or communication concerning contested matters may be 

made with a represented party by the opposing party or any person 

on his or her behalf, without the attorney's permission except as 

permitted by G.S. 97-32 or other applicable law. 

(b)  Any attorney who wishes to withdraw from representation in 

a proceeding before the Commission shall file with the 

Commission, in writing, a Motion to Withdraw that contains a 

statement of reasons for the request and that the request has been 

served on the client. The attorney shall make reasonable efforts to 

ascertain the last known contact information as defined in Rule 

.0109 of this Subchapter of the client and shall include this 

information in the motion. A Motion to Withdraw before an award 

is made shall state whether the withdrawing attorney requests an 

attorney's fee from the represented party once an award of 

compensation is made or approved. 

(c)  An attorney may withdraw from representation only by 

written order of the Commission. The issuance of an award of the 

Commission does not release an attorney as the attorney of record. 

(d)  An attorney withdrawing from representation whose client 

wishes to appeal an Order, Decision, or Award to the Full 

Commission shall timely file a notice of appeal, as set out by this 

Subchapter, on behalf of his or her client either before or with his 

or her Motion to Withdraw. 

(e)  Motions to Withdraw shall be submitted in accordance with 

Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. The Motion to Withdraw shall 

include a proposed Order in Microsoft Word format that includes, 

in the appearances, the last known address of any pro se party or 

the contact information as defined in Rule .0109 of this 

Subchapter of new counsel if such counsel has been retained. The 

proposed Order shall include fax numbers for all parties, if known. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80(a); 97-90; 97-91; 

Eff. January 1, 2011; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2016; November 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0617 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 
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11 NCAC 23A .0619 FOREIGN LANGUAGE AND 

SIGN LANGUAGE INTERPRETERS 

(a)  When a person who does not speak or understand the English 

language or who is speech or hearing impaired is either called to 

testify in a hearing, other than in an informal hearing conducted 

pursuant to G.S. 97-18.1, or appears unrepresented before the Full 

Commission for an oral argument, the person, whether a party or 

a witness, shall be assisted by a qualified interpreter upon request. 

For purposes of this Rule, "language" means foreign language or 

sign language. 

(b)  To qualify as a foreign language interpreter, a person shall 

possess sufficient experience and education, or a combination of 

experience and education, speaking and understanding English 

and the foreign language to be interpreted, to qualify as an expert 

witness pursuant to G.S. 8C-1, Rule 702. For Spanish language 

interpretation, the interpreter must be "Level A" certified by the 

North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts. A person 

qualified as an interpreter under this Rule shall not be interested 

in the claim and shall make a declaration under oath or affirmation 

to interpret accurately and truthfully, meaning without any 

additions or deletions, all questions propounded to the witness and 

all responses thereto. 

(c)  To qualify as a sign language interpreter, a person shall 

possess a license from the North Carolina Interpreter and 

Transliterator Licensing Board, under Chapter 90D of the North 

Carolina General Statutes.  

(d)  Any party who is unable to speak or understand English, or 

who is speech or hearing impaired, or who intends to call as a 

witness a person who is unable to speak or understand English or 

who is speech or hearing impaired, shall so notify the Commission 

and the opposing party, in writing, not less than 21 days prior to 

the date of the hearing. The notice shall state the language(s) that 

shall be interpreted for the Commission. 

(e)  Upon receiving or giving the notice required in Paragraph (d) 

of this Rule, the employer or insurer shall retain an interpreter who 

possesses the qualifications listed in Paragraph (b) or (c) of this 

Rule to appear at the hearing and interpret the testimony or oral 

argument of all persons for whom the notice in Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule has been given or received. 

(f)  The interpreter's fee shall constitute a cost as set forth in G.S. 

97-80. A qualified interpreter who interprets testimony or oral 

argument for the Commission is entitled to payment of the fee 

agreed upon by the interpreter and employer or insurer that 

retained the interpreter. Except in cases where a claim for 

compensation has been prosecuted without reasonable ground, the 

fee agreed upon by the interpreter and employer or insurer shall 

be paid by the employer or insurer. When the Commission 

ultimately determines that the request for an interpreter was 

unfounded, attendant costs shall be assessed against the movant. 

(g)  Foreign language interpreters shall abide by the Code of 

Conduct and Ethics of Foreign Language Interpreters and 

Translators, contained in Part 4 of Policies and Best Practices for 

the Use of Foreign Language Interpreting and Translating 

Services in the North Carolina Court System and promulgated by 

the North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts, and shall 

interpret, as word for word as is practicable, without editing, 

commenting, or summarizing, testimony or other 

communications. The Code of Conduct and Ethics of Foreign 

Language Interpreters and Translators is hereby incorporated by 

reference and includes subsequent amendments and editions. A 

copy may be obtained at no charge from the North Carolina 

Administrative Office of the Court's website, 

https://www.nccourts.gov/assets/inline-

files/02_2_NC_Standards_for_Language_Access_0.pdf?NhuszC

AEVfS8KkdLetH97b9I4NRBcd.f, or upon request, at the offices 

of the Commission, located in the Dobbs Building, 430 North 

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27603, between the 

hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. 

(h)  Sign language interpreters shall interpret, as word for word as 

is practicable, without editing, commenting, or summarizing, 

testimony or other communications. Sign language interpreters 

shall abide by the ethical standards communicated in the training 

required by G.S. 90D-8. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-79(b); 97-80(a); 

Eff. November 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0619 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0620 WRITTEN COMMUNICATIONS 

WITH THE COMMISSION 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to written communications related to a 

case before the Commission that are not governed by statute or 

another rule in this Subchapter. 

(b)  Written communications sent to the Commission shall be 

contemporaneously sent by the same method of transmission, 

where possible, to the opposing party or, if represented, to 

opposing counsel. 

(c)  Written communications, whether addressed directly to the 

Commission or copied to the Commission, shall not be used as an 

opportunity to introduce new evidence or to argue the merits of 

the case. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80(a); 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0701 REVIEW BY THE FULL 

COMMISSION 

(a)  Notice of Appeal. Application for review shall be made to the 

Commission within 15 days from the date when notice of the 

Deputy Commissioner's Opinion and Award was given. A letter 

requesting review shall be considered an application for review to 

the Full Commission within the meaning of G.S. 97-85, provided 

that the letter specifies the Order or Opinion and Award from 

which appeal is taken. 

(b)  Motions to Reconsider to the Deputy Commissioner. A 

motion to reconsider or to amend the decision of a Deputy 

Commissioner shall be filed with the Deputy Commissioner 

within 15 days of receipt of notice of the award. The time for filing 

a request for review from the decision of a Deputy Commissioner 

under the rules in this Subchapter shall be tolled until a motion to 

reconsider or to amend the decision has been ruled upon by the 

Deputy Commissioner. However, if either party files a letter 

requesting review of the decision as set forth in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule after a motion to reconsider or to amend has been filed 

with the Deputy Commissioner, jurisdiction shall be transferred 

to the Full Commission. Any party who had a pending motion to 

reconsider or amend the decision of the Deputy Commissioner 
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may file a motion with the Chair of the Commission requesting 

remand to the Deputy Commissioner with whom the motion was 

pending. Upon remand, jurisdiction shall be transferred to the 

Deputy Commissioner. Following the Deputy Commissioner's 

ruling on the motion to reconsider or amend the decision, a party 

requesting review of the initial decision of the Deputy 

Commissioner or the ruling on the motion to reconsider or amend 

the decision shall file a letter requesting review as set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule to transfer jurisdiction of the matter 

back to the Full Commission. 

(c)  Acknowledging Receipt; Form 44; Joint Certification. The 

Commission shall acknowledge the request for review by letter. 

The Commission shall prepare the official transcript and exhibits, 

if any, and provide them along with a Form 44 Application for 

Review to the parties involved in the appeal at no charge within 

30 days of the acknowledgement letter.  

(1) The official transcript and exhibits and a Form 

44 Application for Review shall be provided 

electronically to parties represented by counsel. 

In such cases, the Commission shall send an 

email to the parties with directions on how to 

obtain an electronic copy of the official 

transcript and exhibits. The e-mail shall also 

provide instructions for the submission of the 

parties' acknowledgement of receipt of the 

Form 44 Application for Review and the 

official transcript and exhibits to the 

Commission. Parties represented by counsel 

shall sign a joint certification acknowledging 

receipt of the Form 44 Application for Review 

and the official transcript and exhibits and 

submit the certification within 10 days of 

receipt of the Form 44 Application for Review 

and the official transcript and exhibits. The 

certification shall stipulate the date the Form 44 

Application for Review and the official 

transcript and exhibits were received by the 

parties and shall note the date the appellant's 

brief is due. The Commission shall save a copy 

of the parties' acknowledgements in the file for 

the claim to serve as record of the parties' 

electronic receipt of the Form 44 Application 

for Review and the official transcript and 

exhibits. 

(2) In cases where it is not possible to provide a 

party with the official transcript and exhibits 

electronically, the Commission shall serve the 

official transcript and exhibits and a Form 44 

Application for Review via any class of U.S. 

Mail that is fully prepaid. 

(d)  Appellant's Form 44. The appellant shall submit a Form 44 

Application for Review stating with particularity all assignments 

of error and grounds for review, including, where applicable, the 

pages in the transcript or the record on which the alleged errors 

shall be recorded. Grounds for review and assignments of error 

not set forth in the Form 44 Application for Review are deemed 

abandoned, and argument thereon shall not be heard before the 

Full Commission. 

(e)  Timing Requirements. The appellant shall file the Form 44 

Application for Review and brief in support of the grounds for 

review with the Commission with a certificate of service on the 

appellee within 25 days after receipt of the transcript or receipt of 

notice that there will be no transcript. The appellee shall have 25 

days from service of the Form 44 Application for Review and 

appellant's brief to file a responsive brief with the Commission. 

The appellee's brief shall include a certificate of service on the 

appellant. When an appellant fails to file a brief, an appellee shall 

file its brief within 25 days after the appellant's time for filing the 

Form 44 Application for Review and appellant's brief has expired. 

A party who fails to file a brief shall not participate in oral 

argument before the Full Commission. If multiple parties request 

review, each party shall file an appellant's brief and appellee's 

brief on the schedule set forth in this Paragraph. If the matter has 

not been calendared for hearing, a party may obtain a single 

extension of time not to exceed 15 days by filing a written 

stipulation pursuant to Rule .0108 of this Subchapter.  

(f)  Brief Requirements. Briefs to the Full Commission shall not 

exceed 35 pages, excluding attachments. In no event shall 

attachments be used to circumvent the 35-page limit or as a means 

to submit documents into evidence. No page limit applies to the 

length of attachments. Briefs shall be prepared using a 12 point 

proportional font and serif typeface, shall be double spaced, and 

shall be prepared with non-justified right margins. Each page of 

the brief shall be numbered at the bottom of the page. When a 

party quotes or paraphrases testimony or other evidence from the 

appellate record in the party's brief, the party shall include, at the 

end of the sentence in the brief that quotes or paraphrases the 

testimony or other evidence, a parenthetic entry that designates 

the source of the quoted or paraphrased material and the page 

number within the applicable source. The party shall use "T" to 

refer to the transcript of hearing testimony and "Ex" for exhibit. 

For example, if a party quotes or paraphrases material located in 

the hearing transcript on page 11, the party shall use the following 

format "(T 11)," and if a party quotes or paraphrases material 

located in an exhibit on page 12, the party shall use the following 

format "(Ex 12)." When a party quotes or paraphrases testimony 

in the transcript of a deposition in the party's brief, the party shall 

include the last name of the deponent and the page on which such 

testimony is located. For example, if a party quotes or paraphrases 

the testimony of John Smith, located on page 11 of such 

deposition, the party shall use the following format "(Smith 11)." 

Parties shall not discuss matters outside the record, assert personal 

opinions or relate personal experiences, or attribute wrongful acts 

or motives to opposing counsel or members of the Commission. 

(g)  Reply Briefs. Within 10 days of service of the appellee's brief, 

a party may request by motion to file a reply brief. The motion 

shall not contain a reply brief. A reply brief may only be filed if 

ordered by the Full Commission. Reply briefs shall not exceed 15 

pages, excluding attachments. Reply briefs shall be prepared in 

accordance with the requirements of Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

Any reply brief filed shall be limited to a concise rebuttal of 

arguments set out in the appellee's brief, and shall not reiterate 

arguments set forth in the appellant's principal brief. 

(h)  Citations. Case citations shall be to the North Carolina 

Reports, the North Carolina Court of Appeals Reports, or the 

North Carolina Reporter, and when possible, to the South Eastern 

Reporter. An unpublished appellate decision does not constitute 
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controlling legal authority. If a party believes that an unpublished 

opinion has precedential or persuasive value to a material issue in 

the case and that there is no published opinion that would serve as 

well, the party may cite the unpublished opinion. When citing an 

unpublished opinion, a party shall indicate the opinion's 

unpublished status. If no reporter citation is available at the time 

a brief is filed, the party citing to the case shall attach a copy of 

the case to its brief. 

(i)  Motions. After a request for review has been submitted to the 

Full Commission, any motions related to the issues for review 

shall be filed with the Full Commission, with service on the other 

parties. Motions related to the issues for review including motions 

for new trial, to supplement the record, including documents from 

offers of proof, or to take additional evidence, filed during the 

pendency of a request for review to the Full Commission, shall be 

considered by the Full Commission at the time of review of the 

appeal, except motions related to the official transcript and 

exhibits. The Full Commission, for good cause shown, may rule 

on such motions prior to oral argument. 

(j)  Oral Argument. 

(1) Each appellant shall have 20 minutes to present 

oral argument and may reserve any amount of 

the twenty-minute total allotment for rebuttal, 

unless otherwise specified by Order of the 

Commission. Each appellee shall also have 20 

minutes to present oral argument, unless 

otherwise specified by Order of the 

Commission. The appellee(s) may not reserve 

rebuttal time. In the case of cross-appeals, each 

appealing party may reserve rebuttal time. 

(2) Any party may request additional time to 

present oral argument in excess of the 20-

minute allowance. Such requests shall be made 

in writing and submitted to the Full 

Commission no less than 10 days prior to the 

scheduled hearing date. The written request for 

additional time shall state with particularity the 

reason(s) for the request of additional time and 

the amount of additional time requested. 

(3) An employee appealing the amount of a 

disfigurement award shall personally appear 

before the Full Commission to permit the Full 

Commission to view the disfigurement. 

(4) A party may waive oral argument or appearance 

before the Commission at any time with 

approval of the Commission. Upon the request 

of a party or on its own initiative, the 

Commission may review the case and file an 

Order or Award without oral argument or 

appearance before the Commission. 

(5) If any party fails to appear before the Full 

Commission upon the call of the case, the 

Commission may, in the interests of justice or 

judicial economy, disallow the party's right to 

present oral argument. If neither party appears 

upon the call of the case, the Full Commission 

may decide the case upon the record and briefs 

on appeal, unless otherwise ordered. 

(6) Parties shall not discuss matters outside the 

record, assert personal opinions, relate personal 

experiences, or attribute wrongful acts or 

motives to opposing counsel or members of the 

Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80(a); 97-85;  

Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; August 1, 

2006; June 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0701 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0702 REVIEW OF ADMINISTRATIVE 

DECISIONS 

(a)  Administrative decisions include orders, decisions, and 

awards made in a summary manner, without findings of fact, 

including decisions on the following: 

(1) applications to approve agreements to pay 

compensation and medical bills; 

(2) applications to approve the termination or 

suspension or the reinstatement of 

compensation; 

(3) applications to change the interval of payments; 

and 

(4) applications for lump sum payments of 

compensation. 

(b)  Administrative decisions made in cases not set for hearing 

before a Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner or before the 

Full Commission for review shall be reviewed upon the filing of 

a Motion for Reconsideration, upon a request for hearing on the 

administrative decision, or upon request for hearing on the ruling 

on a Motion for Reconsideration. A Motion for Reconsideration 

shall be filed within 15 days of receipt of the administrative 

decision and addressed to the Administrative Officer who made 

the decision. A request for hearing shall be filed within 15 days of 

the administrative decision or a ruling on a Motion for 

Reconsideration. Notwithstanding the provisions above, issues 

addressed by an administrative decision may be raised and 

determined at a subsequent hearing. 

(c)  Motions for Reconsideration shall not stay the effect of the 

order, decision, or award; provided that Administrative Officer 

making the decision or a Commissioner may enter an order 

staying its effect pending the ruling on the Motion for 

Reconsideration or pending a decision by a Commissioner or 

Deputy Commissioner following a formal hearing. In determining 

whether or not to grant a stay, the Commissioner or 

Administrative Officer shall consider whether granting the stay 

will frustrate the purposes of the order, decision, or award. 

Motions to Stay shall not be filed with both the Administrative 

Officer and a Commissioner. 

(d)  Any request for a hearing to review an administrative decision 

pursuant to Paragraph (b) shall be filed with the Office of the 

Clerk. The Commission shall designate a Commissioner or 

Deputy Commissioner to hear the review. The Commissioner or 

Deputy Commissioner hearing the matter shall consider all issues 

de novo, and no issue shall be considered moot solely because the 

order has been fully executed during the pendency of the hearing. 
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(e)  Any request for review by the Full Commission of an 

administrative decision by a Commissioner or Deputy 

Commissioner made during the pendency of a case assigned to 

them pursuant to G.S. 97-84 shall be filed with the Office of the 

Clerk. If the administrative decision made by the authoring 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner is a final judgment as to 

one or more issues or parties and the administrative decision 

contains a certification that there is no just reason for delay, the 

request for review shall be referred directly to a panel of the Full 

Commission. If the administrative decision contains no 

certification, requests for review will be referred to the Chair of 

the Commission for a determination regarding the right to 

immediate review, and the parties shall address the grounds upon 

which immediate review shall be allowed. 

(f)  Orders filed by a single Commissioner in matters before the 

Full Commission for review pursuant to G.S. 97-85, including 

orders dismissing reviews to the Full Commission or denying a 

request for immediate review to the Full Commission, are 

administrative orders and are not final determinations of the 

Commission. As such, an order filed by a single Commissioner is 

not appealable to the North Carolina Court of Appeals. A one-

signature order filed by a single Commissioner may be reviewed 

by: 

(1) filing a Motion for Reconsideration addressed 

to the Commissioner who filed the order; or 

(2) requesting a review to a Full Commission panel 

by requesting a hearing within 15 days of 

receipt of the order or receipt of the ruling on a 

Motion for Reconsideration. 

(g)  This Rule shall not apply to medical motions filed pursuant to 

G.S. 97-25; provided, however, that a party may request 

reconsideration of an administrative ruling on a medical motion, 

or may request a stay, or may request an evidentiary hearing de 

novo, all as set forth in G.S. 97-25. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-79(g); 97-80(a); 97-85; S.L. 

2014-77; 

Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; June 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0702 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0801 WAIVER OF RULES 

In the interests of justice or to promote judicial economy, the 

Commission may, except as otherwise provided by the rules in 

this Subchapter, waive or vary the requirements or provisions of 

any of the rules in this Subchapter in a case pending before the 

Commission upon request of a party or upon its own initiative 

only if the employee is not represented by counsel. 

Notwithstanding oral requests made during a hearing before the 

Commission, all requests shall be submitted in writing and served 

upon all opposing parties contemporaneously. By order of the 

Commission, oral requests shall be submitted in writing within 

five days of the request. Responses to requests considered 

pursuant to this Rule may be submitted in accordance with Rule 

.0609 of this Subchapter within five days of service of the original 

request. Citation to this Rule or use of the term "waiver" is not 

required for requests considered pursuant to this Rule. Factors the 

Commission shall use in determining whether to grant the waiver 

are: 

(1) the necessity of a waiver; 

(2) the party's responsibility for the conditions 

creating the need for a waiver; 

(3) the party's prior requests for a waiver; 

(4) the precedential value of such a waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the opposing 

parties; and 

(6) the harm to the party if the waiver is not 

granted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80(a); 

Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0801 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0206 HEARINGS 

(a)  The Commission may, on its own motion, order a hearing, 

rehearing, or pre-trial conference of any tort claim in dispute. The 

Commission shall set the date, time, and location of the hearing, 

and provide notice of the hearing to the parties. Any pre-trial 

conference, as well as hearings of claims in which the plaintiff is 

incarcerated at the time of the hearing, may be conducted via 

videoconference or telephone conference in lieu of an in-person 

hearing. Where a party has not notified the Commission of the 

attorney representing the party prior to the mailing of calendars 

for hearing, notice to that party constitutes notice to the party's 

attorney. Any scheduled hearings shall proceed to completion 

unless recessed, continued, or removed by Order of the 

Commission, and shall not be limited by the business hours of the 

Commission as set forth in Rule .0101 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  When an attorney is notified to appear for a pre-trial 

conference, motion hearing, hearing, or any other appearance the 

attorney shall, consistent with the North Carolina Rules of 

Professional Conduct, appear or have a partner, associate, or other 

attorney appear. Counsel for each party or any party without legal 

representation shall remain in the hearing room throughout the 

course of the hearing, unless excused by the Commission. 

(c)  A motion for a continuance shall be allowed by the 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner before whom the case is 

set in the interests of justice or to promote judicial economy. 

(d)  In cases involving property damage of less than five hundred 

dollars ($500.00), the Commission may, upon its own motion or 

upon the motion of either party, order a videoconference or 

telephone conference hearing on the matter. 

(e)  Unless otherwise ordered by the Commission, in the event of 

inclement weather or natural disaster, hearings set by the 

Commission shall be cancelled or delayed and rescheduled when 

the proceedings before the General Courts of Justice in that county 

are cancelled or delayed. 

(f)  Unless otherwise ordered or waived by the Commission, 

applications for issuance of a writ of habeas corpus ad 

testificandum requesting the appearance of witnesses incarcerated 

by the North Carolina Division of Adult Corrections, shall be filed 

with the Commission with a copy to the opposing party or 

counsel, for review by the Commission in accordance with G.S. 

143-296. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-296; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0202 Eff. April 17, 2000; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0206 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0207 HEARINGS OF CLAIMS BY 

PRISON INMATES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-101.1; 143-296; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0204 Eff. April 17, 2000; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0207 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0503 SANCTIONS 

The Commission may, on its own initiative or motion of a party, 

impose a sanction against a party, or attorney, or both, when the 

Commission determines that such party, or attorney, or both failed 

to comply with the Rules in this Subchapter, an Order of the 

Commission, the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure, and 

North Carolina Rules of Professional Conduct, or other applicable 

law.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 1A-1, Rule 11 and Rule 37; 143-

291; 143-296; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 2011; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0503 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

11 NCAC 23H .0201 DETERMINATION OF CLAIMS 

BY THE COMMISSION 

(a)  Upon application for an award under the provisions of the 

Public Safety Employees' Death Benefits Act, the Commission 

shall determine whether sufficient evidence is contained in the 

Commission's workers' compensation or other files upon which to 

base an order for the payment of benefits. If the Commission is 

satisfied that such an order should be issued, it shall, without 

conducting a hearing, file an award directing the payment of 

benefits. 

(b)  If the Commission is of the opinion that the Commission's 

workers' compensation or other files have insufficient evidence 

upon which to base an award for the payment of benefits, the 

Commission shall place the case upon the Commission's hearing 

docket. The Commission shall set a contested case for hearing in 

a location deemed convenient to witnesses and the Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-166.4; 

Eff. August 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10H .0201 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23H .0202 HEARINGS BEFORE THE 

COMMISSION 

(a)  The Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner before whom a 

case regarding the Public Safety Employees' Death Benefits Act 

is set for hearing, shall order the parties to participate in a pre-trial 

conference. This conference shall be conducted at such place and 

by such method as the Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner 

deems appropriate in consideration of the interests of justice and 

judicial economy, including conference telephone calls. 

(b)  The Commission shall give notice of hearing in every case. 

Postponement or continuance of a scheduled hearing shall be 

granted in the interests of justice or to promote judicial economy. 

(c)  Notice of the hearing shall be given to the Attorney General 

of the State of North Carolina, who may appear as amicus curiae. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-166.4; 

Eff. August 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10H .0202 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0103 RULE-MAKING AND 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING PROCEDURES 

(a)  Petitions for Rule-Making shall be submitted to the 

Commission and shall contain: 

(1) petitioner's name, address and telephone 

number; 

(2) a draft of the proposed rule or rule change for 

adoptions or amendments; and 

(3) the reason for its proposal. 

(b)  Petitioners may also submit the following in the petition: 

(1) the effect of the proposal on existing rules or 

decisions; 

(2) data supporting the proposal; 

(3) practices likely to be affected by the proposal; 

and 

(4) a list or description of persons likely to be 

affected by the proposed rule. 

(c)  Administrative hearings in contested cases conducted by the 

Commission or an Administrative Law Judge (as authorized in 

G.S. 150B-40) shall be governed by: 

(1) procedures set out in G.S. 150B, Article 3; 

(2) the Rules of Civil Procedure as contained in 

G.S. 1A-1; 

(3) the General Rules of Practice for the Superior 

and District Courts as authorized by G.S. 7A-

34 and found in the Rules Volume of the North 

Carolina General Statutes. 

(d)  The rules establishing procedures for contested cases 

incorporated by the Office of Administrative Hearings as 

contained in 26 NCAC 03 are hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions, for contested 

cases for which this agency has authority to adopt rules under G.S. 

150B-38(h).  

(e)  If the case is conducted under G.S. 150B-40(b), the presiding 

officer shall have the powers and duties given to the Chief 
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Administrative Law Judge or the presiding Administrative Law 

Judge in 26 NCAC 03.  

(f)  An applicant for certification or a certified officer shall have 

30 days from the date of receipt of a notice of proposed action by 

the Commission to request a contested case hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-11(b); 150B-20; 

150B-38(h); 150B-40; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 01C .0401 AGREEMENT TO PAY COSTS 

14B NCAC 01C .0402 STATEMENT OF COSTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 160A-288.1; 153A-212; 

Eff. December 1, 1979; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 01C .0401, .0402 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

14B NCAC 05 .0201 NOTICE OF AVAILABILITY OF 

FUNDS 

14B NCAC 05 .0202 CONSISTENCY WITH STATE 

OR FEDERAL GRANT PROGRAMS 

14B NCAC 05 .0203 REQUEST FOR 

PREAPPLICATION FORMS 

14B NCAC 05 .0204 GRANT PREAPPLICATION 

FORM 

14B NCAC 05 .0205 PREAPPLICATION 

SUBMISSION PROCEDURES 

14B NCAC 05 .0206 INCOMPLETE 

PREAPPLICATIONS 

14B NCAC 05 .0207 REVIEW OF 

PREAPPLICATIONS 

14B NCAC 05 .0208 NOTIFICATION TO 

PREAPPLICANTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-477; 143B-479; 

Eff. April 1, 1988; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 07 .0204 - .0211 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 05 .0301 APPLICATION FORM AND 

REQUIREMENTS 

14B NCAC 05 .0302 APPLICATION SUBMISSION 

PROCEDURES 

14B NCAC 05 .0303 APPLICATION DUE DATE 

14B NCAC 05 .0304 GRANT APPLICATION 

PROCESS 

14B NCAC 05 .0305 GRANT PERIOD 

14B NCAC 05 .0306 TIME LIMITATION ON 

FEDERAL FUNDING 

14B NCAC 05 .0307 GRANT AWARD CONTRACTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-477; 143B-479; 

Eff. April 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; May 10, 1998; July 1, 1989; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 07 .0308 - .0314 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 05 .0310 CONTINUATION FUNDS 

14B NCAC 05 .0311 ADJUSTMENTS TO GRANTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-477; 143B-479; 

Eff. April 1, 1988; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 07 .0317, .0318 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Repealed March 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 05 .0401 GRANT TERMINATION OR 

SUSPENSION 

14B NCAC 05 .0402 LOSS OF GRANTEE 

ELIGIBILITY 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-477; 143B-479; 

Eff. April 1, 1988; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 07 .0406, .0407 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Repealed March 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

14B NCAC 05 .0501 APPEAL 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-2; 150B-23; 

Eff. May 1, 1988; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 07 .0504 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Repealed March 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0104 VEHICLE REMOVAL 

PROCEDURES 

(a)  Vehicles on the paved or main-traveled portion of the 

highway: 

(1) A member who encounters a vehicle parked, 

disabled from a collision, or otherwise left 

standing on the paved or main-traveled portion 

of the highway shall: 

(A) remove the vehicle to a position off the 

roadway;  

(B) with consent from the owner, operator, 

or legal possessor, arrange the 

transportation and storage of the 

vehicle; or 

(C) without consent from the owner, 

operator, or legal possessor, arrange 

the transportation and storage of the 

vehicle if the vehicle presents a 

hazard, a potential hazard or otherwise 

as authorized by State law. 

(2) A member shall permit an objecting owner, 

operator, or legal possessor to remove a vehicle 

to a safe position off the roadway, if the driver 

is competent and licensed to drive the vehicle. 
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A member may arrange to transport and store a 

vehicle that cannot be safely parked off the 

roadway as authorized in this Rule. 

(b)  Vehicles off the paved or main-traveled portion of the 

highway: 

(1) A member investigating an accident or collision 

in which a disabled vehicle is located off the 

paved or main-traveled portion of the highway 

may arrange the transportation and storage of 

the vehicle. If the owner, operator, or legal 

possessor objects, a member shall not transport 

and store a vehicle unless, as standing, the 

vehicle creates a hazard. 

(2) A member who observes a vehicle unlawfully 

parked or disabled on the right-of-way, but not 

on the main-traveled portion of the highway, 

may remove and store the vehicle only if the 

vehicle interferes with the regular flow of 

traffic or otherwise constitutes a hazard. 

(3) A member shall not arrange the transportation 

and storage of a vehicle unlawfully parked on 

the highway right-of-way that does not interfere 

with the regular flow of traffic or otherwise 

constitutes a hazard until the vehicle remains on 

the highway right-of-way for a period of 24 

hours or more, has been vandalized, or is 

otherwise abandoned. 

(c)  Vehicles subject to seizure - Vehicles that are authorized by 

law to be seized or which may be evidence in a criminal 

proceeding may be towed and stored. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0309 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0105 SECURING VEHICLES WHEN 

OPERATOR IS ARRESTED 

Upon arresting or placing a vehicle operator in custody, a member 

shall: 

(1) With consent of owner, operator, or legal 

possessor, allow another licensed, competent 

person to drive or move the vehicle to a position 

off the roadway; or 

(2) If no licensed, competent person is present, or 

if the owner, operator, or legal possessor will 

not consent to such removal, then a member 

may move the vehicle, if necessary, to a 

position off the roadway, lock the vehicle and 

return the key to the owner, operator, or legal 

possessor, except that, in any case where the 

operator of the vehicle is arrested for DWI, a 

member shall either turn the keys over to the 

magistrate or jailer or to a sober, responsible 

person. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2008; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0310 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0106 VEHICLES TRANSPORTED 

AND STORED OVER OBJECTION OF OWNER 

A member may transport and store a vehicle over the objection or 

without consent of the owner, operator, or legal possessor when: 

(1) The vehicle cannot be lawfully parked off the 

roadway;  

(2) The vehicle is lawfully parked off the roadway 

but creates a hazard;  

(3) The owner, operator, or legal possessor refuses 

or is unable to remove the vehicle from the 

roadway; 

(4) The vehicle is subject to seizure pursuant to 

G.S. 20-28.3 or other lawful authority; or 

(5) The vehicle is being detained pursuant to G.S. 

20-96. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2008; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0311 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0107 PARKING VEHICLES OFF THE 

ROADWAY 

(a)  A member who removes or allows a vehicle to be removed to 

a position off the roadway shall, when circumstances permit: 

(1) Lawfully park the vehicle in an apparently safe 

and secure location off the main-traveled 

portion of the highway; or 

(2) Place the vehicle in a position that creates no 

apparent hazard or other interference with the 

regular flow of traffic. 

(b)  A member shall take reasonable precautions to secure the 

vehicle and its contents against theft, vandalism, and other 

damage by locking the vehicle (if possible) and returning the keys 

to the owner, operator, or legal possessor. In any case where the 

operator of the vehicle is arrested for DWI, a member shall either 

turn the keys over to the magistrate or jailer or, when appropriate, 

to a sober, responsible person. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0312 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0108 TRANSPORTING AND 

STORING VEHICLES 

(a)  When necessary for accident reconstruction or a criminal 

investigation when multiple vehicles are involved in an incident, 

a single storage location shall be designated. The storage facility 

of the first wrecker service dispatched shall be used unless 

otherwise designated by a supervisor. 
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(b)  When necessary for an accident reconstruction or a criminal 

investigation, a member shall designate the indoor or other storage 

facility a vehicle shall be stored to ensure preservation of the 

evidence. The storage facility shall be the first wrecker service 

dispatched unless otherwise designated by a supervisor. 

(c)  DWI seized vehicles shall be towed and stored in accordance 

with instructions from the State or regional contractor. 

(d)  Vehicles stored pursuant to G.S. 20-96 shall be held by the 

towing or storage company until all civil assessment(s) have been 

satisfied and release is approved by the investigating member. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2008; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0313 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0109 NOTIFICATION 

(a)  Unless exempted by vehicle seizure law, the Troop 

Communications Center must notify the registered owner when a 

vehicle is towed and stored. In order to accomplish this, the 

authorizing member shall immediately notify the appropriate 

Troop Communications Center of the following: 

(1) a description of the vehicle; 

(2) the place where the vehicle is stored; 

(3) the procedure the owner must follow to have the 

vehicle returned to him or her; and 

(4) the procedure the owner must follow to request 

a probable cause hearing on the towing. 

(b)  Upon notification by the authorizing member, the Troop 

Communications Center shall, as soon as practicable, attempt to 

notify the owner of the towing or storage. The Troop 

Communications Center shall attempt to contact the owner by 

telephone and provide the owner with the location of the vehicle. 

At least three attempts shall be made for vehicles registered in 

North Carolina and one attempt for vehicles registered out-of-

state. The Telecommunicator shall record the person contacted or 

the attempts made. 

(c)  In the absence of an HP-305 (Vehicle Towing Authorization) 

signed by the registered owner, Form Letter HPC-305.2 (Vehicle 

Towing/Notification, which is a form letter computer-generated 

at the Troop Communications Center) shall be mailed to the 

owner within 24 hours. A duplicate copy of the Form Letter HPC-

305.2 is also computer-generated and will print automatically in 

the District office of the member. Whether or not the owner is 

reached by telephone, a copy of the Form Letter HPC-305.2 shall 

be mailed to the last registered owner by the Troop 

Communications Center.  

(d)  Whenever a vehicle with neither a valid registration plate nor 

registration is towed, in the absence of an HP-305 signed by the 

registered owner, the authorizing member shall attempt, including 

checking the vehicle identification number, to determine the last 

known registered owner of the vehicle and to notify him or her of 

the information listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Attempts shall 

include checking the vehicle identification number (VIN). 

(e)  Whenever a vehicle is seized pursuant to G.S. 20-28.3, the 

charging officer shall complete and forward the appropriate DMV 

notification form to DMV and to the statewide contractor within 

24 hours. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-28.3; 20-184; 20-188;  

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2008; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0314 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0110 RELEASE OF VEHICLES 

If no legal justification to hold the vehicle exists, a member shall 

authorize the release of a stored vehicle to the owner upon proof 

of ownership. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-187; 20-188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2008; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0315 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0111 VEHICLE INVENTORY 

(a)  A member who authorizes the transportation and storage of a 

vehicle in the absence of Form Letter HP-305 signed by the 

owner, operator, or legal possessor shall take precautions to 

protect all property in and on the vehicle prior to removal from 

the scene. 

(b)  A Form Letter HP-305 signed by the owner, operator, or legal 

possessor is documentation that the vehicle was not removed from 

the possession of such person; therefore, the completion of a 

vehicle inventory is not required. 

(c)  The storage and security of the vehicle and its contents 

become the responsibility of the wrecker service when the vehicle 

is towed from the scene and stored at the wrecker service storage 

facility. If the vehicle is to be stored at a Patrol facility, the storing 

member shall conduct an inventory, itemizing all property 

contained in the vehicle. 

(d)  All vehicles inventoried pursuant to this Rule shall be 

inventoried at the time of storage unless an emergency situation 

dictates otherwise. The inventory shall list all items that are toxic, 

explosive, flammable, or of monetary value. Unless locked or 

securely wrapped, all containers in the vehicle, whether open or 

closed, shall be opened to determine contents unless evidence is 

discovered to indicate that opening the container may subject the 

member to exposure of toxic, flammable, or explosive substances. 

Locked or securely wrapped luggage, packages, and containers 

shall not be opened except as otherwise authorized by law or by 

owner consent, but shall be indicated on the inventory list as 

locked or securely wrapped items. Locked or securely wrapped 

containers (luggage, attaché cases, etc.) shall be considered as 

units of inventory and shall not be searched without obtaining 

consent or a search warrant unless there is evident danger to the 

member or public. The member shall seek to obtain a search 

warrant when there is probable cause for a search of the vehicle 

or its contents when time and conditions permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-187; 20-188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 
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Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2008; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0316 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0112 REIMBURSEMENT OF 

WRECKER OPERATORS 

If a court orders the release of any vehicle without payment of 

transportation and storage costs, the member shall obtain a 

statement of the transportation and storage fees. The Patrol may 

decide to appeal this court order. If the Patrol does not appeal, 

then the Patrol shall compensate the wrecker operator for 

reasonable transportation and storage fees in cases where no 

appeal is taken. When an appeal is taken, the Patrol shall not 

compensate wrecker operators until all appeals are exhausted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-187; 20-188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2008; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0317 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0113 FINANCIAL INTEREST 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-

188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0318 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0114 IMPARTIAL USE OF SERVICES 

The Patrol shall use wrecker services to tow disabled, seized, 

wrecked, or abandoned vehicles. Members of the Patrol shall 

assure the impartial use of wrecker services through compliance 

with this Subchapter. In no event shall any member recommend 

any wrecker service, motor club, or automobile membership 

service to the owner or driver of a wrecked or disabled vehicle, 

nor shall any member recommend the services of a particular 

wrecker service, motor club, or automobile membership service 

in the performance of his or her duties. Members shall, whenever 

possible and practicable, dispatch the wrecker service requested 

by the motorist requiring such services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-187; 20-188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0319 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0115 ROTATION, ZONE, CONTRACT, 

AND DEVIATION FROM SYSTEM 

(a)  The Troop Commander shall arrange for the 

Telecommunications Center to maintain a rotation wrecker 

system within each District of the Troop that shall include any of 

the following: 

(1) Separate computerized large and small rotation 

wrecker lists and manual rotation lists for the 

entire District, whereby wrecker services are 

called in the order they appear on a list; 

(2) A zone system within the District, with a 

rotation wrecker list being maintained in each 

Rotation Wrecker Zone; 

(3) A zone, contract, or other system operated in 

conjunction with one or more local agencies; or 

(4) A combination of any such system. 

(b)  The Patrol member shall use the wrecker service requested by 

the vehicle owner or person in apparent control of the motor 

vehicle to be towed. Patrol members shall not attempt to influence 

the person's choice of wrecker services, but may answer questions 

and provide factual information. If no such request is made, the 

Patrol system in place in the Rotation Wrecker Zone shall be used, 

absent an emergency. 

(c)  The Troop Commander may deviate from any provisions in 

this Rule in emergency situations if there are insufficient wrecker 

services of the type needed within a District to meet the needs of 

the Patrol. 

(d)  Whenever vehicles are removed pursuant to G.S. 20-161(f), 

the investigating member(s) may request the closest available 

zone rotation wrecker service or available Department of 

Transportation (DOT) resource for the purpose of removing the 

obstruction from the roadway. Members shall ensure that the 

requested wrecker service is capable of responding without delay 

and is staffed and equipped to handle the request for service. All 

requests for assistance from DOT shall be made through the 

appropriate Telecommunications Center, where a list of on-

duty/recall DOT personnel with the authority to concur with the 

decision to implement Quick Clearance shall be maintained. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-187; 20-188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2008; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0320 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0116 ROTATION WRECKER 

SERVICE REGULATIONS 

(a)  The Troop Commander shall include on the rotation wrecker 

list only those wrecker services that agree in writing to adhere to 

the following provisions: 

(1) A wrecker service desiring to be included on the 

rotation wrecker list shall complete a wrecker 

application on a form designated by the Patrol. 

This application and all forms referenced in this 

Rule may be accessed at www.ncdps.gov, State 

Highway Patrol, Wrecker Inspections tab. All 

applications shall be submitted to the 

appropriate District First Sergeant. 

(2) In order to be listed on a rotation wrecker list 

within a rotation wrecker zone, a wrecker 

service shall have a full-time business office 

within that rotation wrecker zone that is staffed 

and open 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday 

through Friday, excluding State holidays, and a 

storage facility. The wrecker service shall have 

someone available to accept telephone calls 
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from the Patrol, to allow access to towed 

vehicles, or to retrieve towed vehicles by the 

registered owner, operator, or legal possessor 

during business hours. The business office may 

not be the same physical address as the owner's 

residence unless zoned for commercial 

purposes and advertised as a business property. 

A representative from the wrecker service shall 

be available on call on a 24-hour basis for 

emergencies. The wrecker service shall allow 

vehicles to be retrieved between the hours of 

8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., seven days a week, 

excluding State holidays. An individual 

(registered owner, legal possessor, or operator) 

shall not be charged a storage fee for days that 

he or she could not retrieve his or her vehicle as 

a result of an action or omission on the part of 

the wrecker service, such as where the wrecker 

service was not open, did not answer the 

telephone, or a representative was not available 

to release the vehicle. 

(3) Wrecker service facilities and equipment, 

including vehicles, office, telephone lines, 

office equipment, and storage facilities shall not 

be shared with or otherwise located on the 

property of another wrecker service and shall be 

independently insured. Vehicles towed at the 

request of the Patrol shall be placed in the 

storage owned and operated by the wrecker 

service on the rotation wrecker list. A storage 

facility for a small wrecker shall be located 

within the assigned zone. For wrecker services 

with large wreckers, the storage facility for 

vehicles towed with the large wrecker may be 

located anywhere within the county. To be 

listed on the large rotation wrecker list, a 

wrecker service shall have at least one large 

wrecker located within the county and 

designated for the sole use in that county. To be 

listed on the small rotation wrecker list, a 

wrecker service shall have at least one small 

wrecker located within the assigned zone and 

designated for the sole use in that assigned 

zone. A wrecker shall not be on more than one 

rotation wrecker list. In any case where husband 

and wife or other family members are engaged 

in the business of towing vehicles and desire to 

list each business separately on the wrecker 

rotation list, the wrecker service shall establish 

that it is a separate legal entity for every 

purpose, including federal and state tax 

purposes. Nothing in this Rule precludes a 

wrecker service from responding to private 

calls outside the assigned zone or county. 

(4) Each wrecker shall be equipped with legally 

required lighting and other safety equipment to 

protect the public and the equipment must be in 

good working order. 

(5) Each wrecker on the rotation wrecker list shall 

be equipped with the equipment required on the 

application list and the equipment shall be 

operating properly at all times. 

(6) The wrecker service operator must remove all 

debris, other than hazardous materials, from the 

highway and the right-of-way prior to leaving 

the incident or collision scene. "Hazardous 

Materials" consist of those materials and 

amounts that are required by law to be handled 

by local Hazardous Materials Teams. This 

service must be completed as part of the 

required rotation service and shall not be 

charged as an extra service provided. 

Hazardous materials or road clean-up other than 

debris may be billed in quarter-hour increments 

after the first hour on scene. 

(7) The wrecker service shall be available to the 

Patrol for rotation service on a 24-hour per day 

basis and accept collect calls (if applicable) 

from the Patrol. Calls for service shall not go 

unanswered for any reason, unless the wrecker 

company has notified the Patrol is unable 

respond as set forth in Subparagraph (a)(16) of 

this Rule. 

(8) The wrecker service shall respond, under 

normal conditions, in a timely manner. Failure 

to respond in a timely manner shall result in a 

second rotation wrecker being requested. If the 

second wrecker is requested before the arrival 

of the first rotation wrecker, the initial 

requested wrecker shall forfeit the call and shall 

leave the collision or incident scene. 

(9) For Patrol-involved incidents, the wrecker 

service shall respond only upon request from 

Patrol authority or at the request of the person 

in apparent control of the vehicle to be towed. 

(10) The wrecker service, when responding to 

rotation wrecker calls, shall charge reasonable 

fees for services rendered. Towing, storage, and 

related fees charged for rotation services may 

not exceed the wrecker service's charges for 

nonrotation service calls that provide the same 

service, labor, and conditions. Wrecker services 

may secure assistance from another rotation 

wrecker service when necessary, but only one 

bill shall be presented to the owner or operator 

of the vehicle for the work performed. A price 

list for recovery, towing, and storage shall be 

established and kept on file at the place of 

business. A price list for all small wreckers and 

rollbacks with a GVWR of less than 26,001 

pounds shall be furnished in writing on a Patrol 

form to the District First Sergeant upon request. 

The District First Sergeant shall approve all 

price lists submitted within his or her respective 

District, if they are determined to be reasonable, 

consistent with fees charged by other Highway 

Patrol rotation wrecker services within the 
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District and do not exceed the wrecker service's 

charges for nonrotation service calls that 

provide the same service, labor, and conditions. 

The District First Sergeant shall retain a copy of 

all approved price lists in the appropriate 

wrecker service file located in the district 

office. Storage fees shall not begin to accrue 

until the next calendar day following the initial 

towing of the vehicle. Wrecker service towing 

fees for recovery and transport of vehicles after 

5:00 p.m. and on weekends shall not exceed the 

towing fees by more than 10 percent for 

recovery and transport of vehicles charged 

during regular business hours. A mileage fee 

shall be charged only if the customer requests 

the vehicle to be towed to a location outside of 

the assigned wrecker zone or county. If a 

mileage fee is warranted, the wrecker driver 

shall inform the owner, operator, or legal 

possessor of the vehicle of any additional 

charge for mileage prior to towing. The 

individual price list for each respective wrecker 

service shall be made available to customers 

upon request. Copies of the approved price list 

shall be maintained within each wrecker and 

shall be given to the owner, operator, or legal 

possessor of a vehicle being towed as a result of 

a Highway Patrol rotation wrecker call by the 

wrecker driver, if the owner, operator, or legal 

possessor of the vehicle being towed is present 

at the scene. Prices indicated on this form shall 

be the maximum amount that will be charged 

for a particular service; however, this does not 

prevent charges of a lesser amount for said 

service. 

(11) All wrecker operators shall have a valid driver's 

license for the type of vehicles driven. A limited 

driving privilege is not allowed. 

(12) Wrecker owners, operators, and employees 

shall not be abusive, disrespectful, or use 

profane language when dealing with the public 

or any member of the Patrol and shall cooperate 

at all times with members of the Patrol. 

(13) The wrecker service shall adhere to all Federal 

and State laws and local ordinances and 

regulations related to registration and operation 

of wrecker service vehicles and have insurance 

as required by G.S. 20-309(a). 

(14) The wrecker service shall employ only wrecker 

operators who demonstrate an ability to 

perform required services in a safe, timely, 

efficient, and courteous manner and who satisfy 

all of the requirements for wrecker drivers 

established or referenced by this Rule. The 

wrecker service shall not take any passengers to 

the service call who have been convicted, pled 

guilty to, or received a prayer for judgment 

continued (PJC) for any of the offenses listed in 

Subparagraph (a)(21) of this Rule, with the 

exception of a Chapter 20 violation.  

(15) The wrecker service shall notify the District 

First Sergeant of any insurance lapse or change. 

Wrecker services shall list the NC Highway 

Patrol as "Certificate Holder" on the Certificate 

of Liability Insurance, in c/o the District First 

Sergeant, complete with the current mailing 

address for the Highway Patrol District Office 

tasked with the responsibility of ensuring 

compliance with Highway Patrol policy 

regarding the respective wrecker service. 

(16) The wrecker service shall notify the Patrol 

whenever the wrecker service is unable to 

respond to calls. 

(17) Notification of rotation wrecker calls shall be 

made to the owner or operator or employee of 

the wrecker service. Notification shall not be 

made to any answering service, pager, or 

answering machine. 

(18) Wrecker service vehicles shall be marked on 

each side by printing the wrecker service name, 

city, and state in at least three inch letters. No 

magnetic or stick-on signs shall be used. Decals 

are permissible. The wrecker service operator 

shall provide a business card to the 

investigating officer or person in apparent 

control of the vehicle before leaving the scene. 

(19) Each wrecker service vehicle shall be registered 

with the Division of Motor Vehicles in the 

name of the wrecker service and insured by the 

wrecker service. Dealer tags shall not be 

displayed on wreckers that respond to rotation 

calls. 

(20) Wrecker services shall secure all personal 

property at the scene of a collision to the extent 

possible, and preserve personal property in a 

vehicle that is about to be towed. 

(21) The owner shall ensure that he or she and each 

wrecker driver has not been convicted of, pled 

guilty to, or received a prayer for judgment 

continued (PJC): 

(A) Within the last five years of: 

(i) A first offense under G.S. 20-

138.1, G.S. 20-138.2, G.S. 

20-138.2A, or G.S. 20-

138.2B; 

(ii) Any misdemeanor involving 

an assault, an affray, 

disorderly conduct, being 

drunk and disruptive, 

larceny, or fraud; 

(iii) Misdemeanor Speeding to 

Elude Arrest; or 

(iv) A violation of G.S. 14-223. 

(B) Within the last ten years of: 

(i) Two or more offenses in 

violation of G.S. 20-138.1, 
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G.S. 20-138.2, G.S. 20-

138.2A or G.S. 20-138.2B; 

(ii) Felony speeding to elude 

arrest; or 

(iii) Any Class F, G, H, or I felony 

involving sexual assault, 

assault, affray, disorderly 

conduct, being drunk and 

disruptive, fraud, larceny, 

misappropriation of property, 

or embezzlement. 

(C) At any time of: 

(i) Class A, B1, B2, C, D, or E 

felonies; 

(ii) Any violation of G.S. 14-

34.2, G.S. 14-34.5, or G.S. 

14-34.7; 

(iii) Any violation of G.S. 20-

138.5; or 

(iv) Three felony offenses in any 

federal or state court or 

combination thereof. The 

commission of a felony is not 

considered to be a second or 

subsequent felony unless it is 

committed after the 

conviction of or guilty plea to 

the previous felony. 

 For convictions occurring in federal 

court, another state or country, or for 

North Carolina convictions for 

felonies that were not assigned a class 

at the time of conviction, the North 

Carolina offense that is substantially 

similar to the federal or out of state 

conviction or the class of felony that is 

substantially similar to the North 

Carolina felony shall be used to 

determine whether the owner or driver 

is eligible. Any question from the 

owner of a wrecker service concerning 

a criminal record shall be discussed 

with the First Sergeant or his or her 

designee. 

(22) Upon employment or upon the request of the 

District First Sergeant, the owner of the wrecker 

service shall supply to the Patrol the full name, 

current address, date of birth, and photocopy of 

drivers license, valid work VISA, or other INS 

documentation for all wrecker drivers and 

owner(s) in order for the Patrol to obtain 

criminal history information. The owner of the 

wrecker service shall also provide a certified 

copy of the driving record for the owner and 

each driver authorized to drive on rotation upon 

initial application, upon the hiring of a driver 

hired after initial application, and at the time of 

periodic wrecker inspections conducted by the 

Patrol to ensure compliance with this Rule and 

applicable statutes. The wrecker service shall 

inform the District First Sergeant if the owner 

or a driver is charged with, convicted of, enters 

a plea of guilty or no contest to, or receives a 

prayer for judgment continued (PJC) for any of 

the crimes listed in Subparagraph (21) of this 

Paragraph. Upon notification that a driver or 

owner was charged with any of the crimes listed 

in Subparagraph (21) of this Paragraph, the 

Patrol shall conduct an independent 

administrative investigation. Willful failure to 

notify the District First Sergeant as required by 

this Subparagraph shall result in removal from 

the rotation wrecker service for 12 months. 

(23) Upon request of the vehicle owner, the rotation 

wrecker shall return personal property stored in 

or with a vehicle, whether or not the towing, 

repair, or storage fee on the vehicle has been or 

will be paid. Personal property, includes any 

goods, wares, freight, or any other property 

having any value other than the functioning 

vehicle itself. 

(24) The wrecker service shall tow disabled vehicles 

to any destination requested by the vehicle 

owner or other person with apparent authority 

after financial obligations have been finalized. 

(25) Unless notified by the Patrol that the vehicle is 

being preserved as evidence, the wrecker 

service shall allow insurance adjusters access to 

and allow inspection of the vehicle at any time 

during the wrecker service's normal working 

hours. 

(26) Being called by the Patrol to tow a vehicle does 

not create a contract with or obligation on the 

part of the Patrol or Patrol personnel to pay any 

fee or towing charge except when towing a 

vehicle: 

(A) owned by the Patrol; 

(B) that is later forfeited to the Patrol; or 

(C) that a court determines that the Patrol 

wrongfully authorized the tow and 

orders the Patrol to pay transportation 

and storage fees. 

(27) Being placed on the rotation wrecker list does 

not guarantee a particular number or quantity of 

calls, does not guarantee an equivalent number 

of calls to every wrecker service on the rotation 

wrecker list, nor does it entitle any wrecker 

service to any compensation as a consequence 

for not being called in accordance with the list 

or when removed from the rotation wrecker list. 

(28) The willful failure to respond to a call by the 

Patrol shall result in the wrecker service being 

placed at the bottom of any rotation wrecker list 

and the wrecker service shall then be 

"automatically by-passed" when that wrecker 

service comes up for its next rotation call. 

(29) The District First Sergeant or his or her 

designee shall subject rotation wreckers and 
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facilities to inspections during normal business 

hours. 

(30) A rotation wrecker service, upon accepting a 

call for service from the Patrol, shall use its 

wrecker. Wrecker services shall not refer a call 

to another wrecker company or substitute for 

each other. 

(31) If a rotation wrecker service plans to move its 

business location, the owner shall send written 

notification of the new address to the District 

First Sergeant not less than 10 days prior to the 

move. The wrecker service shall not receive 

rotation calls prior to inspection of the new 

facility. 

(32) A wrecker service may dispatch either a 

wrecker or a rollback in response to a Patrol 

rotation wrecker call, except where the wrecker 

service is advised that a particular type of 

recovery vehicle is needed due to existing 

circumstances. 

(33) A rotation wrecker driver or employee shall not 

respond to a Patrol related incident with the 

odor of alcohol on his or her breath or while 

under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any 

impairing substance. 

(34) A wrecker service shall have in effect a valid 

hook or cargo insurance policy issued by a 

company authorized to do business in the State 

of North Carolina in the amount of fifty 

thousand dollars ($50,000) for each small 

wrecker and one hundred fifty thousand dollars 

($150,000) for each large wrecker or as 

otherwise required by Federal regulation, 

whichever is greater. In addition, each wrecker 

service shall have a garage keeper's insurance 

policy from an insurance company authorized 

to do business in the State of North Carolina 

covering towed vehicles in the amount of one 

hundred thousand dollars ($100,000). 

(b)  The District First Sergeant shall conduct an investigation of 

each wrecker service that applied to be placed on the rotation 

wrecker list and determine if the wrecker service meets the 

requirements set forth in this Rule. If the District First Sergeant 

determines that a wrecker service fails to satisfy one or more of 

the requirements set forth in this Rule, the First Sergeant shall 

notify the wrecker service owner of the reason(s) for refusing to 

place it on the rotation wrecker list. Any wrecker service that fails 

to comply with the requirements of this Rule shall be removed 

from the rotation wrecker list. 

(c)  The Troop Commander or designee shall ensure that a 

wrecker service shall be included only once on each rotation 

wrecker list. 

(d)  Each Troop Commander shall designate a Troop Lieutenant 

to serve as a Rotation Wrecker Liaison for his or her respective 

Troop. 

(e)  If the Troop Commander or designee chooses to use a 

contract, zone, or other system administered by DOT or a local 

agency, the agency rules govern the system. 

(f)  If a wrecker service responds to a call, it shall be placed at the 

bottom of the rotation wrecker list by the Patrol Communications 

Center unless the wrecker service, through no fault of its own, is 

not used and receives no compensation for the call. In that event, 

it shall be placed back at the top of the rotation wrecker list. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-187; 20-188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2010; July 18, 2008; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0321 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. March 19, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0118 SANCTIONS FOR VIOLATIONS 

(a)  If a District First Sergeant determines that a violation of the 

rules in this Section has occurred, the First Sergeant may: 

(1) Issue a written warning and request for 

compliance to the wrecker service; 

(2) Remove the wrecker service from the rotation 

wrecker list until corrective measures have been 

taken to bring the wrecker service into 

compliance with the rules in this Section and 

verification of such compliance has been 

demonstrated; or 

(3) Remove the wrecker service from the rotation 

wrecker list for a period of time. 

(b)  The severity of the sanction imposed shall be commensurate 

with the nature of the violation and prior record of the wrecker 

service. 

(c)  If a wrecker service owner commits, is convicted of, pleads 

guilty to, or receives a prayer for judgment continued (PJC) for 

any of the offenses specified in 14B NCAC 07A .0116(a)(21), the 

wrecker service shall be removed from the rotation wrecker list 

and shall not be eligible to reapply for inclusion on the list for the 

designated period of time as set out in that Rule. If a wrecker 

service owner is charged with any of the offenses specified in 14B 

NCAC 07A .0116(a)(21), the wrecker service may be removed 

from the rotation wrecker list for the designated period of time 

prior to conviction only if an administrative investigation by the 

Patrol corroborates the commission of the offense. In such cases, 

the period of ineligibility shall commence on the date of removal. 

(d)  A wrecker service shall not employ or continue to employ as 

a driver any person who commits, is convicted of, pleads guilty to 

or receives a prayer for judgment continued for any of the offenses 

specified in 14B NCAC 07A .0116(a)(21). This prohibition is for 

the designated period of time as set out in that Rule. A wrecker 

service that willfully violates this provision shall be removed from 

the rotation wrecker list for a minimum of 12 months. 

(e)  A wrecker service driver or owner who responds to a Patrol 

related incident with an odor of alcohol on his or her breath shall 

immediately be removed from the rotation wrecker list for not less 

than 12 months. If the owner was not the driver and had no 

knowledge that the driver had been drinking, the wrecker service 

shall not be removed if the driver is prohibited from responding 

to Patrol calls for not less than 12 months. This period of removal 

is in addition to any removal that may result as a consequence of 

a conviction, plea of guilty, or prayer for judgment continued 

(PJC) pursuant to 14B NCAC 07A .0116(a)(21). 
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(f)  A wrecker service driver or owner who responds to a Patrol 

related incident with an odor of alcohol on his or her breath, and 

who refuses to submit to any requested chemical analysis, shall 

immediately be removed from the rotation wrecker list for a 

period of five years. If the owner was not the driver and had no 

knowledge that the driver had been drinking, the wrecker service 

shall not be removed if the driver is prohibited from responding 

to Patrol calls for 12 months. This period of removal is in addition 

to any removal that may result as a consequence of a conviction, 

plea of guilty, or prayer for judgment continued (PJC) pursuant to 

14B NCAC 07A .0116(a)(21). 

(g)  A willful misrepresentation of any material fact may result in 

removal from the rotation wrecker list. 

(h)  For any violation of these Rules for which no specific period 

of removal or disqualification is established, a wrecker service 

shall be removed, at a minimum, until the violation is corrected. 

(i)  A wrecker service that is removed from the rotation wrecker 

list remains ineligible for reinstatement even if ownership has 

been transferred to a family member. 

(j)  A wrecker service that is removed from the rotation list must 

demonstrate compliance with all rules in this Section in order to 

be reinstated. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-187; 20-188; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2008; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0323 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 07A .0119 HEARING PROCEDURES 

(a)  If the District First Sergeant refuses to include a wrecker 

service on the rotation wrecker list, the wrecker service may make 

a written appeal to the Troop Commander or designee within 20 

calendar days of receipt of the decision. The Troop Commander 

or designee shall conduct a hearing or review the record and shall 

render a decision, in writing, within 10 calendar days of receipt of 

the appeal. The Troop Commander or designee's decision, if 

unfavorable, may be appealed to the Office of Administrative 

Hearings (OAH) within 60 calendar days of receipt of the 

decision, pursuant to the provisions of Article 3 of G.S. 150B. 

(b)  If a District First Sergeant issues a written warning to a 

wrecker service for a violation of any of the rules in this Section, 

the wrecker service may, within 20 days of receipt of the warning, 

submit a written response to the First Sergeant in mitigation, 

explanation, or rebuttal. After considering the mitigation, 

explanation, or rebuttal, the First Sergeant may reconsider, and 

remove the written warning. 

(c)  If a District First Sergeant determines that a violation of the 

rules in this Section has occurred, and determines that removal 

from the rotation wrecker list may be warranted, the District First 

Sergeant shall send written notice to the wrecker service of this 

determination and afford the wrecker service an opportunity to be 

heard. The hearing shall take place within 10 calendar days of 

actual notice or, if notice is by first class mail, within 13 days of 

the date the notice is placed in the mail. The hearing shall take 

place within 10 calendar days of the request for hearing and not 

less than three days written notice. If a District First Sergeant 

removes a wrecker service from the rotation wrecker list, the 

wrecker service may appeal the removal to the Troop Commander 

or designee in writing, within 20 calendar days of receipt of the 

notice. The Troop Commander or designee, may conduct a 

hearing or review the record. If the Troop Commander or designee 

decides to conduct a hearing, he or she shall give the wrecker 

service not less than 10 calendar days notice. The Troop 

Commander or designee shall issue a written decision within 10 

calendar days of receipt of the appeal or date of the hearing, 

whichever occurs last. The Troop Commander or designee's 

decision, if unfavorable, may be appealed to OAH within 60 

calendar days, pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 150B. 

(d)  Hearings conducted by District First Sergeants or Troop 

Commanders or their designees shall be informal and no party 

shall be represented by legal counsel. 

(e)  A wrecker service that is removed from the rotation wrecker 

list and later placed back on the list, for any reason, shall not be 

entitled to additional calls, priority listing, or any other form of 

compensation. 

(f)  A wrecker service may remain on the rotation wrecker list 

pending a final decision of the Troop Commander or designee. A 

District First Sergeant, with the concurrence of the Troop 

Commander or designee, may, however, summarily remove a 

wrecker service from the rotation wrecker list in those cases where 

there exists reasonable grounds to believe a violation enumerated 

in 14B NCAC 07A .0116(a)(12), (a)(20), or (a)(31) or any other 

violation relating to licensing, registration, insurance 

requirements, or the safe and proper operation of the business or 

that may jeopardize the public health, safety, or welfare. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-187; 20-188; 150B-

22; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 9, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2008; 

Transferred from 14A NCAC 09H .0324 Eff. June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

14B NCAC 15A .2301 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Section: 

(1) "Competition" means, as the term is used in 

G.S. 18B-306, a gathering or activity organized 

by homemakers at which homemade product is 

entered to be judged, that is either: 

(a) sanctioned by a national or 

international beer or wine judging 

program; or 

(b) judged by individuals of whom at least 

50% are currently certified as judges 

by a national or international beer or 

wine judging program. 

 National or international beer or wine judging 

programs include the American Homebrew 

Association/Beer Judge Certification Program, 

the Cicerone Certification Program, the 

International Wine and Spirits Guild 

Certification Program, the American Wine 
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Society Certification Program, and the National 

Wine School Sommelier Certification Program. 

(2) "Contest" means, as the term is used in G.S. 

18B-306, a gathering or activity organized by a 

homemaker club at which homemade product 

of members of the club is entered to be judged. 

(3) "Exhibition" means, as the term is used in G.S. 

18B-306, a gathering or activity at which 

homemade product produced by multiple 

homemakers is displayed or shown but is not 

consumed or judged. 

(4) "Event" includes an organized affair, 

exhibition, or competition. 

(5) "Family" means a spouse, lineal descendant, 

ancestor, sibling, spouse's lineal descendant, 

spouse's ancestor, and spouse's sibling of the 

homemaker, and the spouse of any of these 

individuals. 

(6) "General public" means any individual not a 

homemaker, a homemaker's family, or a guest. 

(7) "Guest" means an individual known to the 

homemaker or the homemaker's family who is 

invited to the event by direct contact, including 

in person or by telephone, mail, or electronic 

mail, between the individual and the 

homemaker or the homemaker's family, and 

that person's guest. 

(8) "Homemade product" means wine or malt 

beverages produced pursuant to G.S. 18B-306. 

(9) "Homemaker" means a person who makes 

homemade product. 

(10) "Homemaker club" means an organization 

devoted to homemade product that: 

(a) has a defined membership with a 

stated common purpose; 

(b) has a written policy for granting 

membership that includes a written 

application submitted by each 

member, both of which may be 

produced or maintained electronically; 

and 

(c) maintains a list of all active members 

and their addresses that is present at all 

organized affairs of the club and is 

open to inspection by alcohol law-

enforcement agents upon request. 

(11) "Organized affair" means, as the term is used in 

G.S. 18B-306, a gathering or activity, other 

than a competition or exhibition, organized in 

whole or part by homemakers that includes as 

one of its purposes tasting or judging of 

homemade product. An organized affair 

includes meetings of a homemaker club, and a 

home product production educational meeting 

that meets the requirements of Rule .2305 of 

this Section, if tasting of homemade product is 

included as part of the meeting. 

(12) "Tasting" means, as the term is used in G.S. 

18B-306, a gathering or activity at which 

samples of one or more home products are 

given for immediate consumption by a 

homemaker to another homemaker, that 

homemaker's family, or that homemaker's guest 

or to registered attendees at a home product 

production education meeting in accordance 

with the requirements of Rule .2305 of this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-306; 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .2302 COMPETITIONS 

(a)  Consumption of homemade products at a competition, other 

than at a private residence, shall be limited to judges and stewards 

of the competition, as defined by a national or international beer 

or wine judging program, who are identified in advance of the 

competition by the competition organizer. Judges may enter their 

homemade product in competitions in which they judge provided 

they do not judge any competition category in which they have 

entries. A competition may be limited to invitees or open to the 

general public, except as prohibited in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(b)  A competition may be held on a premise holding a retail ABC 

permit if the following conditions are met: 

(1) the competition shall be segregated from the 

remainder of the premises in a separate space 

with closable doors, or by a barrier that may 

include curtains, partitions or other structures, 

that separates the competition area and makes 

the competition not visible from the portion of 

the premises where food or beverages are 

served to the general public during the time of 

the event; 

(2) no homemade product shall be consumed 

outside of the homemade product consumption 

area designated pursuant to Subparagraph (1) of 

this Paragraph during the times any portion of 

the retail premises is open to the general public; 

(3) the retail permittee shall only provide or offer 

commercial alcoholic products to participants 

in the competition at the same rate and method 

as offered to the general public at any other 

times of that business day that the permittee is 

authorized to sell; and 

(4) homemade product for the competition shall not 

be stored on permitted premises for more than 

48 hours prior to the competition, provided the 

homemade product is sealed, labeled as 

"homemade product for competition entry," and 

segregated from other alcoholic beverages 

located on the premises. No homemade product 

shall remain on the permitted premises the day 

after the conclusion of the competition. All 

containers of homemade product left on the 

permitted premises contrary to the provisions of 

this Rule shall be disposed of by the permittee 

or the permittee's employee by making the 

homemade product unsuitable for, or incapable 

of, being consumed. 
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(c)  A competition may be held on a premise holding a commercial 

ABC permit if the following conditions are met: 

(1) the area for consumption of homemade product 

during a competition shall only be in the areas 

of the permitted premises without active 

production; 

(2) the competition shall only be held on those 

portions of permitted premises that are not open 

to the public; 

(3) no homemade product shall be consumed on the 

commercial permitted premises, except for 

judges and stewards, during the times any 

portion of the commercial premises is open to 

the general public; and 

(4) homemade product for the competition shall not 

be stored on permitted commercial premises for 

more than 30 days prior to the competition, 

provided the homemade product is sealed, 

labeled as "homemade product for competition 

entry," stored only in post-production areas that 

may also contained sealed alcoholic beverages 

produced by the commercial permittee, and 

segregated from other alcoholic beverages 

located on the premises. No homemade product 

shall remain on the permitted premises the day 

after the conclusion of the competition. All 

containers of homemade product left on the 

permitted premises contrary to the provisions of 

this Rule shall be disposed of by the permittee 

or the permittee's employee by making the 

homemade product unsuitable for, or incapable 

of, being consumed. 

(d)  Cash prizes may be paid to entrants in a competition from the 

registration fees collected so long as not all homemakers 

participating in the event share in the proceeds from the 

registration fees. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-306; 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .2303 EXHIBITIONS 

(a)  An exhibition may be open to the general public. 

(b)  An exhibition shall not be held at a private residence. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-306; 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .2304 ORGANIZED AFFAIRS 

(a)  Homemade product may be consumed at organized affairs 

provided that, if the affair is a contest, it is not sanctioned by a 

national or international beer or wine judging program and no fee 

is charged to attend or participate, except for fees as authorized 

pursuant to Rule .2305 of this Section. Consumption at organized 

affairs shall be limited to homemakers, their families, and their 

guests. 

(b)  All judges of a contest shall be members of the homemaker 

club or their guests. Prizes shall not be awarded as a result of the 

contest, but homemakers may be recognized for their homemade 

products. 

(c)  An organized affair may be held on a premise holding a retail 

ABC permit if the following conditions are met: 

(1) the area for consumption of homemade product 

during an organized affair shall be segregated 

from the portion of the premises open to the 

general public during the time of the event by 

vertical boundaries that separate the private 

event from areas open for public consumption; 

(2) no homemade product shall be consumed 

outside of the homemade product consumption 

area designated pursuant to Subparagraph (1) of 

this Paragraph during the times any portion of 

the retail premises is open to the general public; 

(3) the retail permittee may sell or offer 

commercial alcoholic products the permittee is 

authorized to sell to persons attending the 

organized affair on the retail permittee's 

premises, provided that all alcoholic beverages 

offered to participants in the organized affair 

shall be at the same price and method as offered 

to the general public at any other times of that 

business day; and 

(4) for an organized affair, homemade product may 

be stored on permitted premises for no more 

than 48 hours prior to the organized affair, 

provided that the homemade product shall be 

sealed, labeled as "homemade product for 

contest entry," and segregated from other 

alcoholic beverages located on the premises. 

No homemade product shall remain on the 

permitted premises the day after the conclusion 

of the organized affair. All containers of 

homemade product left on the permitted 

premises contrary to the provisions of this Rule 

shall be disposed of by the permittee or the 

permittee's employee, by making the 

homemade product unsuitable for, or incapable 

of, being consumed. 

(d)  An organized affair may not be held on a premise holding a 

commercial ABC permit. 

(e)  There shall be no admission or entrance fee charged for an 

organized affair occurring at a private residence. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-306; 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .2305 HOME PRODUCT 

PRODUCTION EDUCATION MEETING 

A home product production education meeting shall be an 

organized affair of a state, regional, national, or international 

homemade beer or wine organization that requires payment of 

dues for membership, that includes programs to educate and 

inform homemakers concerning the production of homemade 

products. Registration may be charged to participate in the 

educational portions of the program. In addition to educational 

programs, the home product production education meeting may 

include homemade product tastings by registered attendees of 

homemade product brought to the meeting by registered 

attendees. Commercial alcoholic products may be sold or offered 
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at home product education meetings by a retail permittee, in 

addition to home products, provided that all commercial alcoholic 

products offered by the retail permittee to participants at the 

meeting shall be at the same price and method as offered to the 

general public at any other times of that business day. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-306; 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .2306 POSSESSION, CONSUMPTION, 

TRANSPORTATION, AND DISPOSITION OF 

HOMEMADE PRODUCT 

(a)  Possession and consumption of homemade product shall be 

limited to persons who are 21 years of age or older. Homemade 

product shall not be offered, given to, or consumed by the general 

public. 

(b)  Except as limited by this Section, events may be held at 

locations where possession and consumption of malt beverages 

and unfortified wine are otherwise authorized by law. 

(c)  Homemade product shall remain in possession of the 

homemaker, except: 

(1) at an exhibition;  

(2) when the homemade product is under the 

control of a retail permittee or a commercial 

permittee in accordance with Rules .2302 and 

.2304 of this Section; or 

(3) when transfer of possession is acknowledged 

and custody, control and liability is assumed in 

writing by an individual acting on behalf of the 

organizer or sponsor of a competition held in 

accordance with Rule .2302 of this Section. 

Only a homemaker shall deliver that person's homemade product 

to the location of an event. 

(d)  A homemaker may transport quantities of homemade product 

up to the limits set forth in G.S. 18B-303(a), provided that the 

maximum aggregate amount of all homemade product transported 

by an individual homemaker at any one time for any one event 

shall not exceed 80 liters. 

(e)  All containers of homemade product remaining on non-

permitted premises after the conclusion of an event, other than 

events held at a private residence, shall be removed from the 

premises or the contents of the container shall be disposed of by 

being made unsuitable for, or incapable of, being consumed at the 

conclusion of the event. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-306; 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .2307 ALLOWABLE FEES 

(a)  No admission fee shall be charged to persons consuming 

homemade product. 

(b)  A fee required to enter into the site of a competition may be 

charged for a competition, except that no fees shall be charged for 

a competition occurring at a private residence. 

(c)  An admission or entrance fee may be charged by the organizer 

of an exhibition. 

(d)  A registration or entry fee may be charged to a homemaker 

for entering a homemade product to be judged in a competition, 

or for participating in a home product production education 

meeting. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-306; 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0304 FRENCH BROAD RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Effective February 1, 1976, the adopted classifications 

assigned to the waters within the French Broad River Basin are 

set forth in the French Broad River Basin Schedule of 

Classifications and Water Quality Standards, which may be 

inspected at the following places: 

(1) the Internet at https://deq.nc.gov/river-basin-

classification-schedule; and 

(2) the North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality: 

(A) Asheville Regional Office 

 2090 US Highway 70 

Swannanoa, North Carolina; and 

(B) Division of Water Resources 

Central Office 

512 North Salisbury Street 

Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  Unnamed Streams. Such streams entering Tennessee are 

classified "B." 

(c)  The French Broad River Basin Schedule of Classifications 

and Water Quality Standards was amended effective: 

(1) September 22, 1976; 

(2) March 1, 1977; 

(3) August 12, 1979; 

(4) April 1, 1983; 

(5) August 1, 1984; 

(6) August 1, 1985; 

(7) February 1, 1986; 

(8) May 1, 1987; 

(9) August 1, 1990. 

(d)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended effective March 

1, 1989 as follows: 

(1) Cataloochee Creek (Index No. 5-41) and all 

tributary waters were reclassified from Class C-

trout and Class C to Class C-trout ORW and 

Class C ORW. 

(2) South Fork Mills River (Index No. 6-54-3) 

down to Queen Creek and all tributaries were 

reclassified from Class WS-I and Class WS-III-

trout to Class WS-I ORW and Class WS-III-

trout ORW. 

(e)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended effective October 

1, 1989 as follows: Cane River (Index No. 7-3) from source to 

Bowlens Creek and all tributaries were reclassified from Class C 

trout and Class C to Class WS-III trout and Class WS-III. 

(f)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended effective January 
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1, 1990 as follows: North Toe River (Index No. 7-2) from source 

to Cathis Creek (Christ Branch) and all tributaries were 

reclassified from Class C trout and Class C to Class WS-III trout 

and Class WS-III. 

(g)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended effective August 

3, 1992 with the reclassification of all water supply waters (waters 

with a primary classification of WS-I, WS-II or WS-III). These 

waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-

V as defined in the revised water supply protection rules, (15A 

NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300) which became effective on 

August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with primary 

classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 

classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 

waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 

classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 

after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 

identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 

(h)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended effective October 

1, 1993 as follows: Reasonover Creek Index No. 6-38-14-(1) from 

source to Reasonover Lake Dam and all tributaries were 

reclassified from Class B Trout to Class WS-V and B Trout, and 

Reasonover Creek Index No. 6-38-14-(4) from Reasonover Lake 

Dam to Lake Julia Dam and all tributaries were reclassified from 

Class C Trout to Class WS-V Trout. 

(i)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended effective July 1, 

1995 with the reclassification of Cane Creek [Index Nos. 6-57-(1) 

and 6-57-(9)] from its source to the French Broad River from 

Classes WS-IV and WS-IV Tr to Classes WS-V, WS-V Tr and 

WS-IV. 

(j)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended effective 

November 1, 1995 as follows: North Toe River [Index Numbers 

7-2-(0.5) and 7-2-(37.5)] from source to a point 0.2 miles 

downstream of Banjo Branch, including tributaries, has been 

reclassified from Class WS-III, WS-III Trout and WS-III Trout 

CA (critical area) to Class WS-IV Trout, WS-IV, WS-IV Trout 

CA, and C Trout. 

(k)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended effective January 

1, 1996 as follows: Stokely Hollow Index Numbers 6-121.5-(1) 

and 6-121.5-(2) from source to mouth of French Broad River has 

been reclassified from Class WS-II and Class WS-II CA to Class 

C. 

(l)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended April 1, 1996 with 

the reclassification of the French Broad River Index No. 6-(1) 

from a point 0.5 miles downstream of Little River to Mill Pond 

Creek to Class WS-IV; French Broad River Index No. 6-(51.5) 

from a point 0.6 miles upstream of Mills River to Mills River to 

Class WS-IV CA (Critical Area), from Mills River to a point 0.1 

miles upstream of Boring Mill Branch to Class C; and the Mills 

River Index No. 6-54-(5) was reclassified from City of 

Hendersonville water supply intake to a point 0.7 miles upstream 

of mouth of Mills River to Class WS-III, and from a point 0.7 

miles upstream of mouth of Mills River to French Broad River to 

Class WS-III CA (Critical Area). 

(m)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended August 1, 1998 

with the revision to the primary classification for portions of the 

French Broad River Index No. 6-(38.5) and the North Toe River 

7-2-(10.5) from Class IV to Class C. 

(n)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended August 1, 1998 

with the reclassification of Clear Creek Index No. 6-55-(1) from 

its source to Lewis Creek from Class C Tr to Class B Tr. 

(o)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended August 1, 2000 

with the reclassification of Rough Creek Index No. 5-8-4-(1), 

including all tributaries, from its source to the Canton Reservoir 

from Class WS-I to Class WS-I Tr ORW. 

(p)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended August 1, 2002 

with the revision to the primary classification for the French 

Broad River Index No. 6-(1), 6-(27), 6-(47.5), 6-(52.5), and 6-

(54.5) including its four headwater forks' mainstems, watershed 

of tributary Davidson River, and watershed of tributary Bent 

Creek below Powhatan Dam, and the Nolichucky River Index No. 

7 including a lower portion of the North Toe River from Class C 

and Class WS-IV to Class B. 

(q)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended August 1, 2002 

with the reclassification of the North Toe River Index No. 7-2-

(0.5), including all tributaries, from source to a point 0.2 mile 

upstream of Pyatt Creek, from Class C Tr to Class WS-V Tr. 

(r)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended September 1, 

2004 with the reclassification of a portion of Richland Creek 

Index No. 5-16(1), from source to a point approximately 11.2 

miles from source (Boyd Avenue), from Class B to Class B Tr, 

and all tributaries to the portion of the creek referenced in this 

Paragraph from C, C HQW, and WS-I HQW, and WS-I HQW to 

C Tr, C HQW Tr, and WS-I HQW Tr, respectively, except Hyatt 

Creek Index No. 5-16-6, Farmer Branch Index No. 5-16-11, and 

tributaries already classified as Tr. 

(s)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended effective 

November 1, 2007 with the reclassification of McClure's Bog near 

Gash Creek Index No. 6-47 to Class WL UWL as defined in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0101. The North Carolina Division of Water 

Resources maintains a Geographic Information Systems data 

layer of the UWL. 

(t)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended effective 

September 1, 2009 with the reclassification of the entire 

watershed of Big Laurel Creek (Index No. 6-112) from source to 

the French Broad River from Class C Tr to Class C ORW Tr. 

(u)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended effective 

September 1, 2009 with the reclassification of the entire 

watershed of Spring Creek Index No. 6-118-(1) and 6-118-(27) 

from source to the French Broad River from Class C Tr and Class 

C to Class C ORW Tr and Class C ORW. 

(v)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin is amended December 1, 2011 

with the reclassification of a portion of the French Broad River 
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Index No. 6-(54.5) from the confluence of the Mills River to a 

point 0.2 miles downstream of the confluence of the Mills River 

from Class B to Class WS-IV&B CA. 

(w)  The Schedule of Classifications and Water Quality Standards 

for the French Broad River Basin was amended January 1, 2019 

with the reclassification of Enka Lake, which is a portion of the 

Bill Moore Creek (Index No. 6-76-7), from Class C to Class B. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; December 1, 2011; September 1, 

2009; November 1, 2007; September 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; 

August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; April 1, 1996; January 1, 1996; 

November 1, 1995; July 1, 1995. 

 

15A NCAC 02K .0224 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR DAMS THAT IMPOUND COAL COMBUSTION 

RESIDUALS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule: 

(1) "CCR" means Coal Combustion Residuals. 

(2) "CCR unit" means any CCR landfill, CCR 

surface impoundment, or lateral expansion of a 

CCR unit, or a combination of more than one of 

these units, based on the context of the 

paragraph(s) in which it is used. This term 

includes both new and existing units, unless 

otherwise specified in this Subchapter or the 

Dam Safety Law of 1967. For the purpose of 

this Rule, the term only applies to CCR dams 

and surface impoundments. 

(3) "Dam" means a structure and appurtenant 

works erected to impound or divert water. 

(4) "Design flood" means the flood hydrograph that 

is used during an engineering assessment of the 

CCR unit. 

(5) "Liquefaction" means a phenomenon whereby 

a saturated or partially saturated soil loses 

strength and stiffness in response to an applied 

stress, usually earthquake shaking or other 

sudden change in stress condition, causing it to 

behave like a liquid. 

(6) "Probable Maximum Flood" or "PMF" means 

the theoretically largest flood resulting from the 

most severe combination of meteorological and 

hydrological conditions that could conceivably 

occur in the drainage basin. The PMF is the 

runoff resulting from the Probable Maximum 

Precipitation. 

(7) "Probable Maximum Precipitation" or "PMP" 

means the theoretically greatest depth of 

precipitation for a given duration that is 

physically possible over a given storm area at a 

particular geographical location at a certain 

time of the year. Estimates of rainfall amounts 

and distributions associated with the PMP can 

be found at the following locations: 

http://www.nws.noaa.gov/oh/hdsc/PMP_docu

ments/HMR51.pdf and 

http://www.nws.noaa.gov/oh/hdsc/PMP_docu

ments/HMR52.pdf 

(8) "Toe" means the point of intersection between 

the upstream or downstream face of a dam and 

the natural ground. 

(9) "100-year flood" means a flood that has a 1-

percent chance of recurring in any given year. 

Rainfall amounts for the 100-year flood can be 

found at: 

https://hdsc.nws.noaa.gov/hdsc/pfds/pfds_map

_cont.html.  

(10) "1000-year flood" means a flood that has a 0.1-

percent chance of recurring in any given year. 

Rainfall amounts for the 1000-year flood can be 

found at: 

https://hdsc.nws.noaa.gov/hdsc/pfds/pfds_map

_cont.html. 

(b)  This Rule shall apply to a CCR unit that meets one or more of 

the following: 

(1) has a dam height of 25 feet or more above the 

downstream toe of the structure and has a 

storage volume of 50 acre-feet or more, unless 

the unit is exempt by G.S. 143-215.25A; 

(2) contains residuals to an elevation of five feet or 

more above the downstream toe of the structure 

and that has a storage volume of 20 acre-feet or 

more;  

(3) contains residuals to an elevation of greater 

than or equal to 20 feet above the downstream 

toe of the structure; or 

(4) has been classified as high hazard (Class C) 

according to Rule .0105 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Inspections and Structural Stability Assessments of CCR units 

shall be completed as follows: 

(1) At intervals not exceeding seven days, a 

qualified engineer, or a person under his or her 

responsible charge, shall inspect the discharge 

of all outlets of hydraulic structures that pass 

underneath the base of the CCR unit for 

discoloration of discharge or changes in flow. 

(2) A qualified engineer, or a person under his or 

her responsible charge, shall conduct 

monitoring of all instrumentation supporting 

the operation of the CCR unit no less than once 

per month according to the standards listed 

under 40 CFR 257.83(a), which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and additions. A copy 

of this document may be obtained at no cost at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40cfr257_main_0

2.tpl. 

(3) During the annual inspections of all CCR units, 

a qualified engineer, or a person under his or her 

responsible charge, shall conduct a visual 

inspection of hydraulic structures underlying 

the base of the CCR unit in order to maintain 

structural integrity by being kept free of 
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deterioration, deformation, distortion, bedding 

deficiencies, sedimentation, and debris. 

(4) A qualified engineer, or a person under his or 

her responsible charge, shall conduct structural 

stability assessments and shall document 

whether the design, construction, operation, 

and maintenance of the CCR unit is consistent 

with the provisions of 40 CFR 257.73(d) and 

257.74(d), which is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments 

and additions, the NC Dam Safety Law of 1967, 

and the rules of this Subchapter. The structural 

stability assessment shall be completed by a 

qualified engineer once every five years and 

submitted to the Department for review for 

consistency with this Subchapter and the Dam 

Safety Law of 1967. 

(d)  All CCR dams described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall 

have a spillway system with capacity to pass a flow resulting from 

a design flood as specified in the Minimum Spillway Design 

Flood for CCR Units table provided in this Paragraph, unless the 

applicant provides calculations, designs, and plans, prepared in 

accordance with generally-accepted engineering standards, to 

show that the design flood can be stored, passed through, or 

passed over the CCR unit without failure occurring. The 

requirements in the table below shall apply in place of the 

Minimum Spillway Design Storm table under Rule .0205(e) of 

this Section. 

 

Minimum Spillway Design Flood for 

CCR Units 

Hazard1 Size2 Spillway 

Design Flood3 

Low (Class 

A) 

Small 100 year 

Medium 100 year 

Large 1/3 PMF  

Very 

Large 

½ PMF 

Intermediate 

(Class B) 

Small 1000 year 

Medium 1/3 PMF or 

1000 year, 

whichever is 

larger 

Large ½ PMF  

Very 

Large 

¾ PMF  

High 

(Class C) 

 

Small PMF  

Medium PMF  

Large PMF 

Very 

Large 

PMF 

1 The "Hazard" categories in this table for 

CCR units are based on 15A NCAC 02K 

.0105 Classification of Dams and are the 

same "Hazard" categories shown in the 

"Minimum Spillway Design Storms" table 

for non-CCR dams contained in Rule 

.0205(e) of this Section. 

2 The "Size" categories are the same as 

described in the "Criteria for Spillway 

Design Storm Size Classification" table 

found in Rule .0205(e) of this Section. 
3 The "Spillway Design Flood" 

specifications were derived from the 

combination of the more-stringent criterion 

from the spillway design-flood elements of 

the federal CCR regulations and the 

existing spillway design elements of Rule 

.0205(e) of this Section.  

 

(e)  Structural stability assessments shall be evaluated as follows: 

(1) For purposes of this Rule, the "critical cross 

sections" utilized for the required structural 

stability assessments are the cross sections 

anticipated by the design engineer to be the 

most susceptible to structural failure. 

(2) CCR surface impoundments shall be assessed 

under seismic loading conditions for a seismic 

loading event with a 2 percent probability of 

exceedance in 50 years, equivalent to a return 

period of approximately 2,500 years, based on 

the USGS Seismic Hazard Maps for seismic 

events with this return period for the region 

where the CCR unit is located. This document 

is hereby incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. A copy 

may be obtained at no cost at 

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/hazards/hazmaps.  

(3) CCR units constructed of or founded upon soils 

that are susceptible to liquefaction, as identified 

by a liquefaction potential analysis, shall meet 

liquefaction factors of safety as required in Part 

(5)(E) of this Subparagraph. The liquefaction 

potential analysis shall include: 

(A) soil classifications of the embankment 

and foundation soils; 

(B) fines content; 

(C) plasticity index; 

(D) water content; 

(E) saturation; 

(F) maximum current, past, and 

anticipated phreatic surface levels 

within the embankment, foundation, 

and abutments; 

(G) location beneath or above the natural 

ground surface; and 

(H) penetration resistance through cone 

penetration testing (CPT). 

(4) Stability assessments shall be required for CCR 

units with downstream slopes that may be 

inundated by the pool of an adjacent water 

body. These assessments shall include 

conditions for maximum pool loading, 

minimum pool loading, and rapid drawdown of 

the adjacent waterbody. 
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(5) The safety factor assessments shall be 

supported by the following engineering 

calculations: 

(A) The calculated static factor of safety 

for the end-of-construction loading 

condition shall equal or exceed 1.30. 

The assessment of this loading 

condition is only required for the 

initial safety factor assessment and is 

not required for subsequent 

assessments; 

(B) the calculated static factor of safety for 

the long-term, maximum storage pool 

loading condition shall equal or 

exceed 1.50; 

(C) the calculated static factor of safety 

under the maximum surcharge pool 

loading condition shall equal or 

exceed 1.40; 

(D) the calculated seismic factor of safety 

shall equal or exceed 1.00; and 

(E) for dams constructed of or founded 

upon soils that have susceptibility to 

liquefaction, the 

 calculated liquefaction factor of safety 

shall equal or exceed 1.20. Post-

liquefaction stability analyses shall 

include characterization of the site 

conditions, identification of the 

minimum liquefaction-inducing 

forces based on soil characterization, 

determination of seismic effect on 

liquefied layers of the embankment, 

and calculation of factors of safety 

against liquefaction for each liquefied 

layer of the embankment. 

(f)  CCR units and surrounding areas that are constructed of 

earthen material shall be designed, constructed, operated, and 

maintained so that the vegetation meets the conditions outlined in 

the FEMA 534 guidance document entitled, "Technical Manual 

for Dam Owners: Impacts of Plants on Earthen Dams" issued on 

September 2005. This document is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. A copy 

may be obtained at no cost at https://www.fema.gov/media-

library/assets/documents/1027. However, alternative forms of 

slope protection may be approved by the Director, upon request 

by a qualified engineer through a plan submittal showing that the 

proposed alternative slope protection will provide equal or better 

protection from erosion than would be achieved with vegetation 

as specified in FEMA 534. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.25A; 143-215.26; 143-

215.27; 143-215.31; 143-215.32; 143-215.34; 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 18C .1305 SOURCE WATER PROTECTION 

PLANNING 

(a)  In compliance with G.S. 130A-320, every supplier of water 

operating a public water system treating and furnishing water 

from a surface water source shall create and implement a Source 

Water Protection Plan (SWPP) based upon the following 

schedule: 

(1) Water systems that have a single source of 

supply and a source susceptibility rating of 

higher or moderate, as determined by the 

Department, shall create and implement a 

SWPP by January 1, 2021. 

(2) Water systems that have multiple sources of 

supply and any source susceptibility rating of 

higher, as determined by the Department, shall 

create and implement a SWPP by January 1, 

2022. 

(3) All other water systems treating and furnishing 

water from surface water sources shall create 

and implement an SWPP by January 1, 2023. 

(4) Any public water system that begins treating 

and furnishing water from a surface water 

source on or after January 1, 2021 shall create 

and implement a SWPP that satisfies the 

requirements of this Rule prior to the 

commencement of its operations. 

(b)  Any public water system required to create and implement a 

SWPP in accordance with this Rule shall review and update their 

SWPP at three year intervals from the creation deadline specified 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Updated information in the SWPP 

must address the plan elements listed in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(c)  Each SWPP shall contain the following elements: 

(1) A list of potential contaminant sources (PCSs), 

both provided by the Department and identified 

by the water system, located in the following 

areas as defined in Classifications and Water 

Quality Standards Applicable to Surface 

Waters and Wetlands of North Carolina, 15A 

NCAC 02B .0200, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions and can 

be found at no charge at 

http://portal.ncdenr.org/c/document_library/get

_file?uuid=f12e8078-b128-44cc-b55b-

fc5e7d876f3c&groupId=38364;  

(A) within the entire watershed for waters 

classified as WS-I; 

(B) within the critical area and 1,000 feet 

from perennial streambanks within the 

protected area for waters classified as 

WS-II and WS-III;  

(C) within the critical area and 1,000 feet 

from perennial streambanks, within 

the protected area for waters classified 

as WS-IV; 

(D) within ½ mile from the normal pool 

elevation in which the intake is 

located, or to the ridge line of the 

watershed, whichever comes first, for 
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a reservoir within waters classified as 

WS-V; and 

(E) within ½ mile, measured as a straight 

line, upstream from and draining to the 

intake located directly in the stream or 

river, or to the ridge line of the 

watershed, whichever comes first, for 

a direct-stream intake within waters 

classified as WS-V.  

(2) For community water systems, a contingency 

strategy that documents the system's planned 

response to an emergency event or 

contamination of its water source(s) that 

includes the following: 

(A) identification and contact information 

of personnel responsible for 

emergency management, including 

water system, local, State, and federal 

emergency response personnel; 

(B) identification of foreseeable natural 

and human-caused emergency events 

including water shortages and 

outages; 

(C) description of the emergency response 

strategies for each identified shortage 

or outage event and each potential 

contamination event associated with 

PCSs identified and listed in 

Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule; 

(D) standard operating procedures to close 

intakes and switch to an alternate 

intake during a contamination event, 

including procedures that outline 

exercises designed to practice closure 

and switching of the intake(s); 

(E) description of public notification 

procedures; and 

(F) identification and evaluation of all 

facilities and equipment that upon 

failure would result in a water outage 

or violations of the Rules Governing 

Public Water Systems, 15A NCAC 

18C. 

(3) For non-transient, non-community water 

systems, the contingency strategy shall contain 

the positions and phone numbers of responsible 

persons to contact in the event of an emergency, 

including water system, local, State, and federal 

emergency contacts. 

(4) An evaluation of a water system's ability to take 

the following actions: 

(A) close its water intake(s) in the event of 

contamination, including a 

determination of the duration of time 

the water intake(s) can remain closed 

while maintaining positive water 

pressure within the distribution 

system; 

(B) isolate or divert contaminated water 

from its surface water intake(s); 

(C) reduce demand by implementing 

conservation measures during a 

contamination event. Water Shortage 

Response Plans can be referenced to 

fulfill this requirement for water 

systems required to prepare a Water 

Shortage Response Plan under 15A 

NCAC 02E .0607, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions 

and can be found at no charge at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title

%2015a%20%20environmental%20

quality/chapter%2002%20%20envir

onmental%20management/subchapter

%20e/15a%20ncac%2002e%20.0607.

pdf; and 

(D) meet demand via alternate sources of 

supply in the event of contamination 

or loss of its primary water source. 

(5) Verification of outreach efforts provided to the 

owners of the PCSs identified in Subparagraph 

(c)(1) of this Rule to raise awareness of the 

proximity of the drinking water intake(s) and 

provide emergency contact information for use 

during a contamination event. 

(6) A description of proactive activities and 

management strategies designed to protect the 

source(s) from contamination, including 

documentation of any voluntary source water 

protection activities that have been 

implemented by the water system. 

(7) Description of public awareness 

communication efforts that include the 

following: 

(A) publication of the emergency and 

source water protection planning 

status, the next revision date, and a 

reference to this Rule in the 

community water system's annual 

Consumer Confidence Report, as 

required by 15A NCAC 18C .1538; 

and 

(B) notification to any other public water 

system to which the system is directly 

interconnected of the contingency 

strategy set forth in Subparagraph 

(c)(2) of this Rule. A description of 

this communication shall be 

maintained in the SWPP. 

(d)  The supplier of water shall maintain a copy of the current 

SWPP onsite at each water treatment facility and make the SWPP 

available to personnel responsible for emergency management 

and operator(s) on duty at all times. The SWPP and any associated 

documentation used in its creation and implementation shall be 

available for review by Section staff upon request. 
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(e)  The supplier of water shall certify that a SWPP has been 

created and implemented, and that the water system's governing 

body has been advised of the SWPP creation and implementation. 

The certification shall be submitted to the Department by the 

deadline specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(f)  The supplier of water shall certify that a SWPP has been 

revised and that the water system's governing body has been 

advised of the revision. The certification shall be submitted to the 

Department by the revision deadline specified in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-315; 130A-320(c); 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 16T .0101 RECORD CONTENT 

A dentist shall maintain treatment records on all patients for a 

period of 10 years from the last treatment date, except that work 

orders must only be maintained for a period of two years. 

Treatment records may include such information as the dentist 

deems appropriate but shall include: 

(1) the patient's full name, address, and treatment 

dates; 

(2) the patient's emergency contact or responsible 

party; 

(3) a current health history; 

(4) the diagnosis of condition; 

(5) the treatment rendered and by whom; 

(6) the name and strength of any medications 

prescribed, dispensed, or administered along 

with the quantity and date provided; 

(7) the work orders issued; 

(8) the treatment plans for patients of record, 

except that treatment plans are not required for 

patients seen only on an emergency basis; 

(9) the diagnostic radiographs, orthodontic study 

models, and other diagnostic aids, if taken; 

(10) the patient's financial records and copies of all 

insurance claim forms;  

(11) the rationale for prescribing each narcotic; and 

(12) A written record that the patient gave informed 

consent consistent with Rule .0103 of this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-48; 

Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2016; July 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 16T .0103 INFORMED CONSENT 

(a)  To obtain informed consent to a specific procedure or 

treatment to be provided, the dentist shall discuss with a patient 

or other person authorized by the patient or by law to give 

informed consent on behalf of the patient, prior to any treatment 

or procedure, information sufficient to permit the patient or 

authorized person to understand: 

(1) the condition to be treated; 

(2) the specific procedures and treatments to be 

provided; 

(3) the anticipated results of the procedures and 

treatments to be provided; 

(4) the risks and hazards of the procedures or 

treatments to be provided that are recognized by 

dentists engaged in the same field of practice; 

(5) the risks of foregoing the proposed treatments 

or procedures; and 

(6) alternative procedures or treatment options; 

(b)  A dentist is not required to obtain informed consent if: 

(1) treatment is rendered on an emergency basis; 

and 

(2) the patient is incapacitated. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-48; 

Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0109 SELECTION AND 

QUALIFICATIONS OF NURSE MEMBERS 

(a)  Vacancies in nurse member positions on the Board that are 

scheduled to occur during the next year shall be announced in the 

last issue of the Board's "Bulletin" for the calendar year, which 

shall be posted on the Board's website at www.ncbon.com. The 

"Bulletin" and Board's website at www.ncbon.com shall include 

a petition form for nominating a nurse to the Board and 

information on filing the petition with the Board. 

(b)  Each petition shall be checked with the records of the Board 

to validate that the candidate and each petitioner holds an active 

unencumbered North Carolina license to practice nursing. If the 

candidate does not hold an active unencumbered license, the 

petition shall be declared invalid. If any petitioners do not hold an 

active unencumbered licenses, and this decreases the number of 

petitioners to fewer than 10, the petition shall be declared invalid. 

(c)  In a format provided by the Board, each candidate shall submit 

a packet with the following information: 

(1) indicate the category of Board member position 

for which the candidate is seeking election; 

(2) attest to meeting the qualifications specified in 

G.S. 90-171.21(d); 

(3) provide permission to be listed on the slate; and 

(4) complete the Application for Boards and 

Commissions in accordance with Executive 

Order 55 Enhanced Disclosures from 

Applicants to Boards and Commissions. 

The candidate packet shall be received by the Board on or before 

April 15 by electronic submission, mailed copy with postmarked 

envelope, or in-person received by Board staff during normal 

business hours. 

(d)  Minimum on-going employment requirements for the 

registered nurse or licensed practical nurse member shall include 

continuous employment equal to or greater than 50% of a full-
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time position that meets the criteria for the specified Board 

member position. 

(e)  This Paragraph shall apply in determining qualifications for 

registered nurse categories of membership: 

(1) Nurse Educator includes any nurse who teaches 

in or directs a Board-approved nursing program 

in the specific category as outlined in G.S. 90-

171.21(d). 

(2) Hospital is defined as any facility that has an 

organized medical staff and that is designed, 

used, and primarily operated to provide health 

care, diagnostic and therapeutic services, and 

continuous nursing services to inpatients, but 

excludes nursing homes and adult care homes. 

(3) A hospital system is defined as a multihospital 

system or a single diversified hospital system 

that includes a hospital as defined in 

Subparagraph (e)(2) of this Rule plus non-

hospital pre-acute and post-acute client 

services. 

(4) A nurse accountable for the administration of 

nursing services shall be the chief nurse 

executive of a hospital or hospital system or the 

director of nursing services for a service 

division that includes inpatient care within a 

hospital or hospital system. 

(5) A nurse practitioner, nurse anesthetist, nurse 

midwife, or clinical nurse specialist includes 

any advanced practice registered nurse who 

meets the criteria specified in G.S. 90-

171.21(d)(4). 

(f)  The term "nursing practice," when used in determining 

qualifications for registered or licensed practical nurse categories 

of membership, means any position for which the holder of the 

position is required to hold an active license to practice nursing at 

the appropriate licensure level for each category. 

(g)  A candidate shall be listed in only one category on the slate. 

(h)  Separate slates shall be prepared for election of registered 

nurse candidates and for election of licensed practical nurse 

candidates. Candidates shall be listed in random order on the slate 

for licensed practical nurse candidates and within the categories 

for registered nurse candidates. Slates shall be published in the 

"Bulletin" and posted on the Board's website at www.ncbon.com 

following the Spring Board meeting and shall be accompanied by 

biographical data on candidates and a photograph. 

(i)  The procedure for voting shall be identified in the "Bulletin" 

and posted on the Board's website at www.ncbon.com following 

the Spring Board meeting. 

(j)  The tabulation of results of the votes shall be verified by 

matching the license number of each nurse who voted with the 

database of licensed nurses maintained by the Board. 

(k)  If more than one candidate is to be elected in a category, the 

plurality vote shall be in descending order until the required 

number has been elected. In any election, if there is a tie vote 

between candidates, the tie shall be resolved by a draw from the 

names of candidates who have tied. 

(l)  The results of an election shall be recorded in the minutes of 

the next regular meeting of the Board following the election and 

shall include at least the following: 

(1) the number of nurses eligible to vote; 

(2) the number of votes cast; and 

(3) the number of votes cast for each candidate on 

the slate. 

(m)  The results of the election shall be reported to the Governor 

and in the annual report as directed in G.S. 93B-2 and G.S. 138A. 

(n)  All petitions to nominate a nurse, signed consents to appear 

on the slate, verifications of qualifications, and copies of the 

computerized validation and tabulation shall be retained for a 

period of four years following the close of an election. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.21; 90-171.23(b); 

Eff. May 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; January 1, 1996; June 1, 1992; 

March 1, 1990; April 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 2, 2001; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2010; November 1, 2008; January 1, 

2004; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0112 DETERMINATION OF 

VACANCY 

(a)  A Board member, with the exception of the At-Large 

Registered Nurse, shall notify the Executive Director immediately 

upon change of employment. 

(b)  Licensed nurse members of the Board, with the exception of 

the At-Large Registered Nurse, who cease to meet the 

employment criteria as defined in G.S. 90-171.21(d) and Rule 

.0109 Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Section shall have 60 days to 

resume employment that meets the the criteria. If employment 

criteria for the specified area are not met within 60 days, the seat 

shall be declared vacant; provided, however, that if such a change 

in employment for the specified category of Board member occurs 

within 18 months of the end of the member's term, such member 

may continue to serve until the end of the term. 

(c)  If at any time a registered nurse member, with the exception 

of the At-Large Registered Nurse, no longer meets the eligibility 

requirements listed in G.S. 90-171.21(d)(1)(a) and (a1), such 

member shall no longer continue to serve and the position shall be 

declared vacant. 

(d)  If at any time a licensed practical nurse member no longer 

meets the eligibility requirements listed in G.S. 90-

171.21(d)(2)(a) and (a1), such member shall no longer continue 

to serve and the position shall be declared vacant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.21(c); 90-171.23(b); 

Eff. May 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; January 1, 2004; August 1, 

2002; March 1, 1990; May 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0113 DETERMINATION OF 

QUALIFICATIONS 

(a)  For purposes of G.S. 90-171.21 and Rule .0109(d) and (e) of 

this Section, the Board shall consider the following factors in 

determining whether a candidate is qualified to run for election: 

(1) whether the licensee is presently employed 

equal to or greater than 50% of a full-time 

position in the applicable practice area; 
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(2) whether the licensee has been employed equal 

to or greater than 50% of a full-time position in 

the applicable practice area for the preceding 

three years; 

(3) the duration of any periods of interruption of 

employment in the applicable practice area 

during the preceding three years and the reasons 

for such interruptions; 

(4) job descriptions, contracts, and any other 

relevant evidence concerning the time, effort, 

and education devoted to the applicable practice 

area; and 

(5) whether engagement in the applicable practice 

area is or has been for compensation, and 

whether income derived therefrom meets the 

eligibility requirements for the applicable 

practice area. 

(b)  While serving on the Board, currently seated Board members, 

with the exception of the At-Large Registered Nurse, shall 

maintain employment equal to or greater than 50% of a full-time 

position in the applicable practice area. 

 

History Note Authority G.S. 90-171.21(d); 90-171.23(b)(2); 

Eff. May 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; May 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0120 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply throughout this chapter unless the 

context indicates otherwise: 

(1) "Administrative Law Counsel" means an 

attorney licensed to practice in this State whom 

the Board has retained to serve as procedural 

officer for contested cases. 

(2) "Academic term" means one semester of a 

school year. 

(3) "Accountability/Responsibility" means being 

answerable for action or inaction of self, and of 

others in the context of delegation or 

assignment. 

(4) "Accredited institution" means an institution 

accredited by a United States Department of 

Education-approved institutional accrediting 

body. 

(5) "Active Practice" means activities that are 

performed, either for compensation or without 

compensation, consistent with the scope of 

practice for each level of licensure as defined in 

G.S. 90-171.20(4), (7), and (8). 

(6) "Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN)" 

means a nurse practitioner, nurse anesthetist, 

nurse-midwife, or clinical nurse specialist. 

(7) "Assigning" means designating responsibility 

for implementation of a specific activity or set 

of activities to an individual licensed and 

competent to perform such activities. 

(8) "Bulletin" means the official publication of the 

Board. 

(9) "Clinical experience" means application of 

nursing knowledge demonstrating clinical 

judgment in a current or evolving practice 

setting in which a student provides care to 

clients under the supervision of faculty or a 

preceptor. 

(10) "Clinical judgment" means the application of 

nursing knowledge, skills, abilities, and 

experience in making decisions about client 

care. 

(11) "Competent" means having the knowledge, 

skills, and ability to safely perform an activity 

or role. 

(12) "Continuing Competence" means on-going 

acquisition and application of knowledge and 

the decision-making, psychomotor, and 

interpersonal skills expected of the licensed 

nurse resulting in nursing care that contributes 

to the health and welfare of clients served. 

(13) "Contact Hour" means 60 minutes of an 

organized learning experience. 

(14) "Continuing Education Activity" means a 

planned, organized learning experience that is 

related to the practice of nursing or contributes 

to the competency of a nurse as outlined in 21 

NCAC 36 .0223(a)(2). 

(15) "Controlling institution" means the degree-

granting organization or hospital under which a 

nursing education program is operating. 

(16) "Curriculum" means an organized system of 

teaching and learning activities directed toward 

the achievement of specified learning 

objectives and outcomes. 

(17) "Delegation" means transferring to a competent 

individual the authority to perform a specific 

nursing activity in a selected situation. The 

nurse retains accountability/responsibility for 

the delegation. 

(18) "Debriefing" means an organized learning 

activity that follows a clinical or simulated 

experience and is led by a trained faculty 

facilitator. Students' reflective thinking is 

encouraged and feedback is provided regarding 

the students' performance during discussion of 

various aspects of the completed experiences. 

(19) "DHSR" means Division of Health Service 

Regulation. 

(20) "Dimensions of Practice" means aspects of 

nursing practice, including professional 

responsibility, knowledge-based practice, 

ethical and legal practice, and collaborating 

with others, consistent with G.S. 90-171.20(4), 

(7), and (8). 

(21) "Distance education" means teaching and 

learning strategies used to meet the learning 

needs of students when the students and faculty 

are not in the same location. 

(22) "External standardized examination" means a 

commercially available standardized predictive 
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test that provides individual student scores that 

are linked to a probability of passing the 

NCLEX™ examination. 

(23) "Faculty directed clinical practice" means 

clinical experiences provided under the 

accountability/responsibility and direction of 

nursing program faculty. 

(24) "Focused client care experience" means a 

clinical experience that emulates an entry-level 

work experience in nursing, assisting the 

student in transitioning to an entry-level nursing 

practice. Supervision may be by faculty and 

preceptor dyad or direct faculty supervision. 

(25) "Initial Approval" means the status assigned to 

a newly-established nursing education program 

following submission of a complete application 

and documented evidence of compliance with 

Section .0300 of this Chapter.  

(26) "Interdisciplinary faculty" means faculty from 

professions other than nursing. 

(27) "Interdisciplinary team" means all individuals 

involved in providing a client's care who 

cooperate, collaborate, communicate, and 

integrate care to ensure that care is continuous 

and reliable. 

(28) "Learning resources" means materials that 

faculty use to assist students in meeting the 

expectations for learning defined by the 

curriculum. 

(29) "Level of Licensure" means practice of nursing 

by either a licensed practical nurse or a 

registered nurse, as defined in G.S. 90-

171.20(7) and (8). 

(30) "Level of student" means the point in the 

program to which the student has progressed. 

(31) "Maximum enrollment" means the total number 

of pre-licensure students that can be enrolled in 

the nursing program at any one time. The 

number reflects the capacity of the nursing 

program based on demonstrated resources 

sufficient to implement the curriculum. 

(32) "Methods of Instruction" means the planned 

process through which teacher and student 

interact with selected environment and content 

so that the response of the student gives 

evidence that learning has taken place, based 

upon stated course objectives and outcomes for 

learning experiences in classroom, laboratory, 

simulation, and clinical settings. 

(33) "National Credentialing Body" means a 

credentialing body that offers certification or 

re-certification in the licensed nurse's or 

Advanced Practice Registered Nurse's specialty 

area of practice. 

(34) "NCLEX-PN™" means the National Council 

Licensure Examinations for Practical Nurses. 

(35) "NCLEX-RN™" means the National Council 

Licensure Examinations for Registered Nurses. 

(36) "Nursing Accreditation body" means a national 

nursing accrediting body that is recognized by 

the United States Department of Education. 

(37) "Nursing program faculty" means individuals 

employed full or part-time by an academic 

institution responsible for developing, 

implementing, evaluating, and updating 

nursing curricula. 

(38) "Nursing project" means a project or research 

study of a topic related to nursing practice that 

includes a problem statement, objectives, 

methodology, and summary of findings. 

(39) "Participating in" means to have a part in or 

contribute to the elements of the nursing 

process. 

(40) "Pattern of noncompliance" means episodes of 

recurring non-compliance with one or more 

Rules in Section .0300. 

(41) "Preceptor" means a registered nurse at or 

above the level of licensure that an assigned 

student is seeking who may serve as a teacher, 

mentor, role model, and supervisor for the 

student in a faculty-directed clinical 

experience. 

(42) "Prescribing Authority" means the legal 

permission granted by the Board of Nursing and 

Medical Board for the nurse practitioner and 

nurse midwife to procure and prescribe legend 

and controlled pharmacological agents and 

devices to a client in compliance with Board 

rules and other applicable federal and State law, 

regulations, and rules. 

(43) "Program Closure" means to cease operation of 

a nursing program. 

(44) "Program" means a course of study that 

prepares an individual to function as an entry-

level practitioner of nursing. The three types of 

programs are: 

(a) Bachelor of Science Degree in 

Nursing (BSN) - Curriculum 

components for BSN provide for the 

attainment of knowledge and skill sets 

in the current practice in nursing, 

nursing theory, nursing research, 

community and public health, health 

care policy, health care delivery and 

finance, communications, therapeutic 

interventions, and current trends in 

health care. For this program type, the 

client is the individual, family, group, 

and community. 

(b) Associate Degree in Nursing 

(ADN)/Diploma in Registered 

Nursing - Curriculum components for 

the ADN/Diploma in Registered 

Nursing provide for the attainment of 

knowledge and skill sets in the current 

practice in nursing, community 

concepts, health care delivery, 
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communications, therapeutic 

interventions, and current trends in 

health care. For this program type, 

client is the individual, group of 

individuals, and family. 

(c) Practical Nurse Diploma - Curriculum 

components for the practical nurse 

diploma prepare for providing direct 

nursing care under the supervision of a 

registered nurse or other health care 

provider as defined by the Nursing 

Practice Act. Curriculum components 

provide for the attainment of 

knowledge and skill sets in the current 

practice of practical nursing, 

communications, therapeutic 

interventions, including 

pharmacology, growth and 

development, and current trends in 

health care. For this program type 

client is the individual or group of 

individuals. 

(45) "Review" means collecting and analyzing 

information to assess compliance with Section 

.0300 of this Chapter. Information may be 

collected by multiple methods, including 

review of written reports and materials, on-site 

observations, review of documents, and in-

person or telephone interviews and 

conferences. 

(46) "Self-Assessment" means the process whereby 

an individual reviews their own nursing 

practice and identifies the knowledge and skills 

possessed as well as those skills to be 

strengthened or acquired. 

(47) "Simulation" means a technique, not a 

technology, to replace or amplify clinical 

experiences with guided experiences that evoke 

or replicate substantial aspects of the real world 

of nursing practice in a fully interactive manner. 

(48) "Specialty" means a broad, population-based 

focus of study encompassing the common 

health-related problems of a particular group of 

patients and the likely co-morbidities, 

interventions, and responses to those problems. 

(49) "Supervision" means the provision of guidance 

or direction, evaluation, and follow-up by a 

licensed nurse to accomplish an assigned or 

delegated nursing activity or set of activities. 

(50) "Survey" means an on-site visit for the purpose 

of gathering data in relation to reviewing a 

nursing program's compliance with Section 

.0300 of this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23; 90-171.38; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; December 1, 2016; July 1, 2012; 

November 1, 2008; May 1, 2006; December 1, 2005; August 1, 

2005; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0201 BIENNAL RENEWAL 

(a)  Each registered nurse or licensed practical nurse shall 

biennially renew their license with the Board no later than the last 

day of the applicant's birth month by: 

(1) submitting a completed application for renewal, 

stating that the information on the application is 

true and complete, and authorizing the release 

to the Board of all information pertaining to the 

application. Applications for renewal are 

posted on the Board's website at 

www.ncbon.com; 

(2) attesting to completion of continuing 

competence requirements and submitting 

evidence of completion if requested by the 

Board, as specified in Rule .0232(b) of this 

Section; and 

(3) submitting the fee for licensure renewal, as 

established in G.S. 90-171.27(b). 

(b)  It shall be the duty of each applicant to keep the Board 

informed of a current mailing address, telephone number, and 

email address. 

(c)  A member of the United States Armed Services shall be 

exempt from compliance if on active duty and to whom G.S. 105-

249.2 grants an extension of time to file a tax return. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.29; 90-171.23(b); 

90-171.34; 90-171.37; 93B-15; 105-249.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2011; December 1, 2008; April 1, 1989; 

May 1, 1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0202 INACTIVE AND RETIRED 

STATUS 

(a)  A licensee who submits a request for inactive status shall be 

granted such status by the Board if the licensee: 

(1) holds an active unencumbered license issued by 

the Board; and 

(2) is not currently the subject of an investigation 

by the Board for possible violation of the 

Nursing Practice Act or rules promulgated 

thereunder. 

(b)  An applicant whose licensure status is inactive or retired and 

who desires to resume the practice of nursing in North Carolina 

shall: 

(1) submit a completed application for 

reinstatement, stating that the information on 

the application is true and complete, and 

authorizing the release to the Board of all 

information pertaining to the application. 

Application is posted on the Board's website at 

www.ncbon.com; 
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(2) have no pending court conditions as a result of 

any misdemeanor or felony convictions. The 

applicant shall provide a written explanation 

and all investigative reports or court documents 

evidencing the circumstances of the crimes if 

requested by the Board. The Board shall use 

these documents when determining if a license 

should be denied pursuant to G.S. 90-171.48 

and 90-171.37; 

(3) self-certify that the applicant is of mental and 

physical health necessary to competently 

practice nursing; 

(4) submit the licensure application fee, as 

established in G.S. 90-171.27(b);  

(5) attest to having completed continuing 

competence requirements and submit evidence 

of completion if requested by the Board, as 

specified in Rule .0232(b) of this Section; and, 

(6) complete a criminal background check in 

accordance with G.S. 90-171.48. 

In the event any of the above-required information indicates a 

concern about the applicant's qualifications, an applicant may be 

required to appear in-person for an interview with the Board if 

more information is needed to evaluate the application. 

(c)  An applicant whose license has been inactive or retired for a 

period of five years or more shall also submit: 

(1) self-certification that the applicant is of mental 

and physical health necessary to competently 

practice nursing; and 

(2) evidence of  

(A) satisfactory completion of a 

Board-approved refresher course; or 

(B) proof of an active license in another 

jurisdiction within the last five years 

or an active license in another country 

within the last five years if the 

individual was originally licensed by 

national licensure examination in the 

United States. 

(d)  If a refresher course is required, an applicant shall apply for 

reinstatement of an active license within one year of completing 

the refresher course. The application for reinstatement shall 

include verification from the provider of the refresher course that 

the applicant has satisfactorily met both theory and clinical 

objectives. 

(e)  An applicant who has retired from the practice of nursing may 

request and be granted by the Board retired nurse status if the 

applicant: 

(1) holds an active unencumbered license issued by 

the Board; 

(2) is not currently the subject of an investigation 

by the Board for alleged violation of the 

Nursing Practice Act; and 

(3) pays the application fee, pursuant to G.S. 90-

171.27(b). 

(f)  While remaining on retired status, an applicant shall not 

practice nursing in North Carolina and shall not be subject to 

payment of the license renewal fee. 

(g)  An applicant may use the title "Retired Registered Nurse" or 

"Retired Licensed Practical Nurse" after issued retired status. 

(h)  An applicant whose licensure status is retired shall not be 

eligible to vote in Board elections. 

(i)  Any license issued shall be issued for the remainder of the 

biennial period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.21; 90-171.23(b) 90-

171.27(b);90-171.36; 90-171.36A; 90-171.37; 90-171.43; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Legislative Objection [(g)] Lodged Eff. June 16, 1980; 

Legislative Objection [(g)] Removed Eff. July 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; January 1, 2004; January 1, 

1996; January 1, 1990; May 1, 1982; January 1, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0203 REINSTATEMENT OF EXPIRED 

LICENSE 

(a)  An applicant whose license has expired and who desires 

reinstatement of that license shall: 

(1) submit a completed application for 

reinstatement, stating that the information on 

the application is true and complete and 

authorizing the release to the Board of all 

information pertaining to the application. The 

Application for Reinstatement is posted on the 

Board's website at www.ncbon.com; 

(2) have an unencumbered license in all 

jurisdictions in which a license is or has ever 

been held; 

(3) attest to having completed continuing 

competence requirements and submit evidence 

of completion if requested by the Board, as 

specified in Rule .0232(b) of this Section; 

(4) have no pending court conditions as a result of 

any misdemeanor or felony convictions. An 

Applicant shall provide a written explanation 

and all investigative reports or court documents 

evidencing the circumstances of the crime(s) if 

requested by the Board. The Board shall use 

these documents when determining if a license 

should be denied pursuant to G.S. 90-171.48 

and G.S. 90-171.37; 

(5) submit such other evidence that the Board may 

require according to these rules to determine 

whether the license should be reinstated; 

(6) complete a criminal background check after 

license has been expired for 30 calendar days in 

accordance with G.S. 90-171.48; 

(7) self-certify that the applicant is of mental and 

physical health necessary to competently 

practice nursing; and 

(8) submit the reinstatement fee, as established in 

G.S. 90-171.27(b). 

In the event any of the above-required information indicates a 

concern about the applicant's qualifications, an applicant may be 

required to appear in person for an interview with the Board if 

more information is needed to evaluate the application. 
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(b)  A member of the United States Armed Services shall be 

exempt from payment of reinstatement fee if on active duty and 

to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time to file a tax 

return. 

(c)  An applicant whose license has lapsed for a period of five 

years or more shall also submit: 

(1) self-certification that the applicant is of mental 

and physical health necessary to competently 

practice nursing; and 

(2) evidence of satisfactory completion of a Board-

approved refresher course or proof of active 

licensure within the past five years in another 

jurisdiction. 

(d)  If a refresher course is required, an applicant shall apply for 

reinstatement of an active license within one year of completing 

the refresher course. The application for reinstatement shall 

include verification from the provider of the refresher course that 

the applicant has satisfactorily met both theory and clinical 

objectives and is deemed competent to practice nursing at the 

appropriate level of licensure. 

(e)  Any license issued shall be issued for the remainder of the 

biennial period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b); 90-171.35; 90-

171.37; 93B-15; 105-249.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2010; December 1, 2008; January 1, 

1996; February 1, 1994; August 3, 1992; January 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0207 VERIFICATION TO ANOTHER 

STATE 

The Board shall verify the licensure of a licensee to another state 

or country upon receipt of a request from the licensee or another 

board of nursing that is accompanied by information properly 

identifying the licensee and by the appropriate fee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(3); 90-171.27(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0208 CHANGE OF NAME AND 

CONTACT 

(a)  In the event of a name or address change, the licensee shall 

submit a request in their Gateway account through the Board's 

website at www.ncbon.com and provide evidence of name or 

address change. A licensee may provide evidence such as the 

following: 

(1) marriage certificate; 

(2) voter registration card; 

(3) Social Security card; 

(4) divorce document reflecting name change; 

(5) passport; 

(6) change of name certificate as issued by a court; 

(7) immigration document; and 

(8) driver's license. 

(b)  In the event of an address, email, or telephone change, the 

licensee shall submit the change online on the Board's website at 

www.ncbon.com within 30 calendar days of the change. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(3); 90-171.27(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2006;  

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0211 LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION 

(a)  To be eligible for licensure by examination, an applicant shall: 

(1) submit a completed application for licensure, 

attesting under oath or affirmation that the 

information on the application is true and 

complete and authorizing the release to the 

Board of all information pertaining to the 

application. Application for Examination is 

posted on the Board's website at 

www.ncbon.com; 

(2) submit the licensure application fee as 

established in G.S. 90-171.27(b); 

(3) have an unencumbered license in all 

jurisdictions in which a license is or has ever 

been held; 

(4) have no pending court conditions as a result of 

any misdemeanor or felony convictions. The 

applicant shall provide a written explanation 

and all investigative reports or court documents 

evidencing the circumstances of the crimes if 

requested by the Board. The Board shall use 

these documents when determining if a license 

should be denied pursuant to G.S. 90-171.48 

and G.S. 90-171.37; 

(5) submit a written explanation and all related 

documents if the nurse has ever been listed as a 

nurse aide and if there have ever been any 

substantiated findings pursuant to G.S. 131E-

255. The Board may take these findings into 

consideration when determining if a license 

should be denied pursuant to G.S. 90-171.37. In 

the event findings are pending, the Board may 

withhold taking any action until the 

investigation is completed; and 

(6) complete a criminal background check in 

accordance with G.S. 90-171.48; 

(7) apply to take and pass the National Council 

Licensure Examination (NCLEX™). 

In the event any of the above required information indicates a 

concern about the applicant's qualifications, an applicant may be 

required to appear in person for an interview with the Board if the 

Board determines in its discretion that more information is needed 

to evaluate the application. 

(b)  An applicant shall meet the educational qualifications to take 

the examination for licensure to practice as a registered nurse or 

licensed practical nurse by: 

(1) graduating from a National Council State Board 

of Nursing (NCSBN) member Board-approved 
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nursing program, in accordance with Section 

.0300 of these Rules, designed to prepare a 

person for registered nurse or licensed practical 

nurse licensure;  

(2) graduating from a nursing program outside the 

United States that is designed to provide 

graduates with comparable education as 

required in 21 NCAC 36 .0321(b) through (d) 

for licensure as a registered nurse or licensed 

practical nurse, and submitting evidence from 

an evaluation agency of the required 

educational qualifications and evidence of 

English proficiency. The evaluation agencies 

for educational qualifications shall be selected 

from a list of evaluation agencies published by 

NCSBN, incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions and 

available at no cost at www.ncsbn.org. The 

evidence of English proficiency shall be a test 

as listed by NCSBN, incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions 

and available at no cost at www.ncsbn.org; or 

(3) being eligible for licensure as a registered nurse 

or licensed practical nurse in the country of 

nursing education program completion. 

(c)  An application shall be submitted to the Board and a 

registration form to Pearson VUE. The applicant shall meet all 

requirements of NCSBN. Applicants for a North Carolina license 

may take the examination for licensure developed by NCSBN at 

any NCSBN-approved testing site. 

(d)  An application for licensure shall be valid for a period of one 

year from the date the application is filed with the Board or until 

the Board receives notice that the applicant has either passed or 

failed the examination. 

(e)  The examinations for licensure developed by NCSBN shall 

be the examinations for licensure as a registered nurse or as a 

licensed practical nurse in North Carolina and these examinations 

shall be administered in accordance with the contract between the 

Board and NCSBN. 

(f)  Any license issued shall be issued for the remainder of the 

biennial period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(15); 90-171.29; 

90-171.30; 90-171.37(1); 90-171.48; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2004; April 1, 2003; January 1, 1996; 

July 1, 1994; February 1, 1994; August 3, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0213 REEXAMINATION 

An applicant who fails an examination and is eligible to retake a 

subsequent examination shall submit a completed Board 

application, a completed testing service registration form, and 

related fees. The applicant shall be eligible to retake the 

examination by NCSBN, pursuant to 21 NCAC 36 .0211. NCSBN 

list is incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions and available at no cost at 

www.ncsbn.org. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.31; 90-171.33; 

90-171.38; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 26, 1985, for a period of 120 

days to expire on October 23, 1985; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; July 1, 1994; February 1, 1994; 

October 1, 1989; May 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0217 INVESTIGATIONS; 

DISCIPLINARY HEARINGS 

(a)  Behaviors and activities that may result in disciplinary action 

by the Board shall include the following: 

(1) drug or alcohol abuse or use of any substance 

or other agents while on duty or on call to the 

extent that such use impairs the nurse's ability 

to practice nursing; 

(2) testing positive on a drug screen for a non-

prescribed drug or illicit substance; 

(3) illegally obtaining, possessing, or distributing 

drugs or alcohol for personal or other use or 

other violations of the North Carolina 

Controlled Substances Act, G.S. 90-86 et seq.; 

(4) conviction of any crime that bears on a 

licensee's fitness to practice nursing; 

(5) failure to make client information available to 

another health care professional; 

(6) practicing or offering to practice beyond the 

scope permitted by law; 

(7) accepting and performing professional 

responsibilities that the licensee knows or has 

reason to know that he or she is not competent 

to perform; 

(8) performing, without supervision, professional 

services that the licensee is authorized to 

perform only under the supervision of a 

licensed professional; 

(9) abandoning an assigned client without making 

arrangements for the continuation of equivalent 

nursing care; 

(10) neglecting a client in need of nursing care; 

(11) threatening, harassing, abusing, or intimidating 

a client; 

(12) failing to maintain an accurate record of all 

pertinent health care information as defined in 

Rule .0224(f)(2) or .0225(f)(2) for each client; 

(13) failing to exercise supervision over individuals 

who are authorized to practice only under the 

supervision of the licensed professional; 

(14) exercising influence on the client for the 

financial or personal gain of the licensee; 

(15) directly or indirectly offering, giving, 

soliciting, or receiving or agreeing to receive 

any fee or other consideration to or from a third 

party for the referral of a client, or other 

violations of G.S. 90-401; 

(16) failing to file a report, or filing a false report, 

required by law or by the Board or impeding or 
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obstructing such filing or inducing another 

person to do so; 

(17) obtaining, accessing, or revealing healthcare 

information from a client record or other 

source, except as required by professional 

duties or authorized by law; 

(18) presenting false or fraudulent licensure 

information for any purpose; 

(19) assigning or delegating professional 

responsibilities to a person if the licensee 

assigning or delegating these responsibilities 

knows or has reason to know that such 

individual is not qualified by training, 

experience, or licensure; 

(20) assigning or delegating responsibilities to an 

individual if the licensee assigning or 

delegating knows or has reason to know that the 

competency of that individual is impaired by 

sleep deprivation, physical or psychological 

conditions, or alcohol or other agents, 

prescribed or not; 

(21) accepting responsibility for client care while 

impaired by sleep deprivation, physical or 

psychological conditions, or by alcohol or other 

agents, prescribed or not; 

(22) falsifying a client's record or the controlled 

substance records; 

(23) violating boundaries of a professional 

relationship such as physical, sexual, 

emotional, or financial exploitation of a client 

or a client's family member or caregiver. 

Financial exploitation shall include accepting 

or soliciting money, gifts, or the equivalent 

during the professional relationship; 

(24) misappropriating, in connection with the 

practice of nursing, anything of value or 

benefit, including any real or personal property 

of the client, employer, or any other individual 

or entity, or failing to take precautions to 

prevent such misappropriation. Failure to take 

precautions to prevent misappropriations shall 

include failing to secure anything of value or 

benefit, such as medication or property, of the 

client, employer, or any other individual or 

entity; or 

(25) violating any term of probation, condition, or 

limitation imposed on the licensee by the 

Board. 

(b)  If a summary suspension is issued pursuant to G.S. 150B-3(c), 

the order shall be effective on the date specified in the order or 

upon service of the certified copy of the order at the last known 

address of the licensee, whichever is later, and continues to be 

effective during the suspension proceedings. Failure to receive the 

order because of refusal of service or unknown address shall not 

invalidate the order. 

(c)  All motions related to a contested case, except motions for 

continuance and those made during the hearing, shall be in writing 

and submitted to the Board at least 10 calendar days before the 

hearing. Pre-hearing motions shall be heard at a pre-hearing 

conference or at the contested case hearing prior to the 

commencement of testimony. The designated administrative law 

counsel shall hear the motions and the response from the 

non-moving party pursuant to Rule 6 of the General Rules of 

Practice for the Superior and District Courts and shall rule on the 

motions. 

(d)  Motions for a continuance of a hearing may be granted upon 

a showing of good cause. Motions for a continuance shall be in 

writing and received in the office of the Board no less than seven 

calendar days before the hearing date. In determining whether 

good cause exists, consideration shall be given to the ability of the 

party requesting a continuance to proceed without a continuance. 

A motion for a continuance filed less than seven calendar days 

from the date of the hearing shall be denied unless the reason for 

the motion could not have been ascertained earlier. Motions for 

continuance filed prior to the date of the hearing shall be ruled on 

by the administrative law counsel of the Board. Motions for 

continuance filed on the date of hearing shall be ruled on by the 

Board. 

(e)  The Board shall designate an administrative law counsel who 

shall advise the Board. 

(f)  If a majority of the members of the Board is unable or elects 

not to hear a contested case, the Board shall request the 

designation of an administrative law judge from the Office of 

Administrative Hearings to preside at the hearing. The provisions 

of G.S. 150B, Article 3A and this Rule shall govern a contested 

case in which an administrative law judge is designated as the 

Hearing Officer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(3); 90-

171.23(b)(7); 90-171.37; 90-171.47; 90-401; 150B-3(c); 150B-

38; 150B-39; 150B-40; 150B-41; 150B-42; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1989; November 1, 1988; July 1, 1986; 

July 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 7, 1990 for a period of 180 

days to expire on June 5, 1991; 

ARRC Objection Lodged December 20, 1990; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1991; 

ARRC Objection Removed February 25, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 26, 1991 for a period of 35 

days to expire on April 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; February 1, 1995; April 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 5, 2001; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2017; January 1, 2007; August 2, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0218 LICENSURE BY 

ENDORSEMENT 

(a)  To be eligible for licensure by endorsement, an applicant 

shall: 

(1) submit a completed application for 

endorsement, stating that the information on the 

application is true and complete, and 

authorizing the release to the Board of all 

information pertaining to the application. The 
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Application for Endorsement is posted on the 

Board's website at www.ncbon.com; 

(2) submit the licensure application fee as 

established in G.S. 90-171.27(b); 

(3) have an unencumbered license in all 

jurisdictions in which a license is or has ever 

been held; 

(4) have an active unencumbered license in a 

jurisdiction. If the license has been inactive or 

expired for five or more years, the applicant 

shall meet the requirements for a refresher 

course as indicated in G.S. 90-171.35 and G.S. 

90-171.36; 

(5) have no pending court conditions as a result of 

any misdemeanor or felony convictions. The 

applicant shall provide a written explanation 

and all investigative reports or court documents 

evidencing the circumstances of the crime(s) if 

requested by the Board. The Board shall use 

these documents when determining if a license 

should be denied pursuant to G.S. 90-171.48 

and G.S. 90-171.37; 

(6) submit a written explanation and all related 

documents if the nurse has ever been listed as a 

nurse aide and if there have ever been any 

substantiated findings pursuant to G.S. 131E-

255. The Board may take these findings into 

consideration when determining if a license 

should be denied pursuant to G.S. 90-171.37. In 

the event findings are pending, the Board shall 

withhold taking any action until the 

investigation is completed; 

(7) submit a self-certification that the applicant is 

of mental and physical health necessary to 

competently practice nursing; 

(8) show completion of a nursing education 

program which was approved by the 

jurisdiction of original licensure. If applying for 

licensure by endorsement as a licensed practical 

nurse, applicant may also show evidence that: 

(A) applicant has successfully completed a 

course of study for military corpsman 

that is comparable to that required of 

licensed practical nurse graduates in 

North Carolina; or 

(B) applicant has been licensed in another 

NCSBN-member jurisdiction for five 

or more years immediately prior to 

application submission and has 

practiced in a nursing position at the 

same level of licensure for which 

application is being made for two 

calendar years of full-time 

employment immediately prior to 

application as verified by the 

employer; and 

(9) complete a criminal background check in 

accordance with G.S. 90-171.48. 

In the event any of the above-required information 

indicates a concern about the applicant's qualifications, 

an applicant may be required to appear in person for an 

interview with the Board if more information is needed 

to evaluate the application. 

(b)  Applicants for licensure by endorsement educated in a foreign 

country, including Canada, shall complete all the requirements of 

21 NCAC 36 (a)(1)-(7) and shall be eligible for North Carolina 

licensure by endorsement if the nurse has: 

(1) shown proof of education as required by the 

jurisdiction issuing the original certificate; and 

(2) shown evidence of passing the NCLEX-RN™ 

or NCLEX-PN™. 

(c)  An application for endorsement shall be valid for a period of 

one year from the date the application is filed with the Board or 

until a license is issued. 

(d)  Facts provided by the applicant and the board of original 

licensure shall be compared to confirm the identity and validity of 

the applicant's credentials.  

(e)  Any license issued shall be issued for the remainder of the 

biennial period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b); 90-171.32; 

90-171.33; 90-171.37; 90-171.48; 

Eff. May 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; April 1, 2003; January 1, 1996; 

July 1, 1994; 

February 1, 1994; August 3, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0219 TEMPORARY LICENSE 

(a)  The Board shall issue a non-renewable temporary license to 

individuals who have filed a completed application for licensure 

by endorsement with correct fee and provided validation of an 

active unencumbered license in another jurisdiction. If an 

applicant indicates prior court convictions or disciplinary actions 

in another jurisdiction, eligibility for a temporary license shall be 

determined after review of relevant documents. 

(b)  The temporary license shall be subject to the provisions of 

G.S. 90-171.37. 

(c)  The following shall apply to non-renewable temporary 

licenses: 

(1) A non-renewable temporary license shall expire 

on the lesser of six months or the date a full 

license is issued or if it is determined that the 

applicant is not qualified to practice nursing in 

North Carolina. 

(2) Temporary license shall authorize a holder to 

practice nursing in the same manner as a fully 

licensed registered nurse or licensed practical 

nurse, as applicable. 

(3) A holder of a valid temporary license shall 

identify himself or herself as a Registered 

Nurse Petitioner (R.N.P.) or a Licensed 

Practical Nurse Petitioner (L.P.N.P.), as 

applicable after signatures on records. 

(4) Upon expiration or revocation of the temporary 

license, the individual shall be ineligible to 
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practice nursing as described in Subparagraph 

(b)(2) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.33; 

Eff. May 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 29, 1988 for a period of 180 

days to expire on December 25, 1988; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2006; January 1, 1996; July 1, 1994; 

August 3, 1992; January 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0220 REFRESHER COURSE 

(a)  A refresher course shall be designed for those individuals, 

previously licensed, who are not eligible for re-entry into nursing 

practice because their license has expired for five or more years. 

(b)  Satisfactory completion of a Board-approved refresher course 

shall be required of the individual who has not held an active 

license in any jurisdiction for five or more years and requests: 

(1) reactivation of an inactive license; 

(2) reinstatement of an expired license; or 

(3) endorsement to North Carolina. 

(c)  If satisfactory completion of a Board-approved refresher 

course is required by the Board based upon action as authorized 

in G.S. 90-171.37 or based upon a license being inactive due to 

disciplinary action, the individual may be subject to Board-

stipulated restrictions in the clinical component of the refresher 

course, based upon the terms of the disciplinary actions and the 

contents of the clinical components. All eligibility requirements 

for reinstatement of the license shall have been met prior to 

refresher course enrollment. 

(d)  Application for approval of a refresher course shall be 

completed and submitted by the provider at least 90 days prior to 

the expected date of enrollment and shall include evidence of 

complying with the rules as defined in this Chapter for refresher 

courses. No student shall be enrolled prior to Board approval. 

Board approval shall be granted to a provider for a period of time 

not to exceed five years. All changes in faculty, curriculum, or 

clinical facilities shall be approved by the Board prior to 

implementation, as set out in the Rules of this Chapter. 

(e)  The application for approval of a refresher course shall 

include: 

(1) course objectives, content outline, and time 

allocation; 

(2) didactic and clinical learning experiences, 

including teaching methodologies for 

measuring the registrant's abilities to practice 

nursing; 

(3) a plan for evaluation of student competencies 

and ability to competently practice nursing; 

(4) a faculty list that includes the director and all 

instructors, and identifies their qualifications 

and their functions in teaching roles; and 

(5) the projected clinical schedule. 

(f)  The Board shall make site visits if it is unable to determine 

that all requirements have been met through application document 

review. A decision on an application to offer a refresher course 

shall be given within 30 days following receipt of a complete 

application. 

(g)  A provider of a refresher course shall be approved by the 

Board as set out in these Rules. A provider may be a post-

secondary educational institution, a health care institution, or 

other agency. 

(h)  Administrative responsibility for developing and 

implementing a refresher course shall be vested in a registered 

nurse director. 

(i)  Instructors in the course shall be directly accountable to the 

nurse director. The director shall have had at least one year prior 

teaching experience preparing individuals for registered nurse or 

licensed practical nurse licensure at the post-secondary level or in 

a nursing staff development position. The director and each 

instructor shall: 

(1) hold an active unencumbered license to practice 

as a registered nurse in North Carolina; 

(2) hold a baccalaureate or higher degree in 

nursing; and 

(3) have had at least two years experience in direct 

patient nursing practice as a registered nurse. 

(j)  Proximity of the instructor to students is the major factor in 

determining faculty-student ratio for clinical learning 

experiences. The ratio of instructors to students shall not exceed 

1:10. 

(k)  Clinical preceptors shall have competencies, assessed by the 

registered nurse director of the refresher course or a designated 

instructor, related to the area of assigned clinical precepting 

responsibilities. Clinical preceptors shall hold an active 

unencumbered license to practice as a registered nurse in North 

Carolina. 

(l)  The refresher course shall include both theory and clinical 

instruction. Course objectives shall be stated that: 

(1) show relationships between nursing theory and 

practice; and 

(2) identify behaviors consistent with the ability to 

competently practice nursing. 

(m)  The curriculum for a registered nurse refresher course shall 

include at least 240 hours of instruction, at least 120 of which shall 

consist of clinical learning experiences, and shall incorporate: 

(1) the scope of practice for the registered nurse, as 

defined in G.S. 90-171.20 and 21 NCAC 36 

.0221, .0224, .0225 and .0401; and 

(2) instruction in and opportunities to demonstrate 

knowledge, skills, and abilities to competently 

practice nursing according to components of 

practice for the registered nurse as defined in 21 

NCAC 36 .0224. 

(n)  The curriculum for a licensed practical nurse refresher course 

shall include at least 180 hours of instruction, at least 90 of which 

shall consist of clinical learning experiences, and shall 

incorporate: 

(1) the scope of practice for the licensed practical 

nurse, as defined in G.S. 90-171.20(8) and 21 

NCAC 36 .0221, .0225 and .0401; and 

(2) instruction in and opportunities to demonstrate 

knowledge, skills, and abilities to competently 

practice nursing according to components of 

nursing practice for the licensed practical nurse 

as defined in 21 NCAC 36 .0225. 
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(o)  The refresher course director or the designated refresher 

course instructor shall assess each refresher student and ensure the 

appropriateness of all clinical learning settings and assignments. 

(p)  Registered nurse and licensed practical nurse refresher 

courses shall limit simulation experiences to no more than 50 

percent of clinical learning experiences, pursuant to 21 NCAC 26 

.0321(m). 

(q)  Evaluation processes shall be implemented that effectively 

measure the refresher student's ability to competently practice 

nursing consistent with the level of licensure and scope as set forth 

in 21 NCAC 36 .0221, .0224, .0225, and .0401. 

(r)  Clinical resources shall indicate, in written contract, support 

and availability to provide the necessary clinical experiences. 

(s)  Individuals previously licensed in North Carolina and 

presently residing outside of North Carolina may meet the 

requirements of this Rule by successfully completing a refresher 

course approved by another state board of nursing.  

(t)  Individuals enrolled in refresher courses shall identify 

themselves as RN Refresher Student (R.N.R.S.) or LPN Refresher 

Student (L.P.N.R.S.), consistent with the course level, after 

signatures on records or on name pins. 

(u)  In a format specified by the Board, the course provider shall 

provide the Board with the names and license numbers of those 

individuals who have satisfactorily completed the refresher course 

at the appropriate level of licensure on the Board supplied form.  

(v)  Upon request, the Board shall provide: 

(1) a list of approved providers; 

(2) the format for applications for program 

approval; and 

(3) the format for verification of successful 

completion to all approved programs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(3); 90-171.35; 

90-171.36; 90-171.37; 90-171.38; 90-171.83; 

Eff. May 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2007; July 1, 2000; June 1, 1993; April 

1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0221 LICENSE REQUIRED 

(a)  No cap, pin, uniform, insignia, or title shall be used to 

represent to the public that an unlicensed person is a registered 

nurse or a licensed practical nurse as defined in G.S. 90-171.43. 

(b)  The repetitive performance of a common task or procedure 

that does not require the professional judgment of a registered 

nurse or licensed practical nurse shall not be considered the 

practice of nursing for which a license is required. Tasks that may 

be delegated to a Nurse Aide I and a Nurse Aide II shall be 

established by the Board pursuant to 21 NCAC 36 .0403. Tasks 

may be delegated to an unlicensed person that: 

(1) frequently recur in the daily care of a client or 

group of clients; 

(2) are performed according to an established 

sequence of steps; 

(3) involve little or no modification from one 

client-care situation to another; 

(4) may be performed with a predictable outcome; 

and 

(5) do not inherently involve ongoing assessment, 

interpretation, or decision-making that cannot 

be logically separated from the tasks 

themselves. 

Client-care services that do not meet all of these criteria shall be 

performed by a licensed nurse. 

(c)  A registered nurse or licensed practical nurse shall not 

delegate the professional judgment required to implement a 

treatment or pharmaceutical regimen that is likely to produce side 

effects, toxic effects, allergic reactions, or other unusual effects or 

that may rapidly endanger a client's life or well-being and that is 

prescribed by an individual authorized by State law to prescribe 

such a regimen. A nurse who assumes responsibility directly or 

through delegation for implementing a treatment or 

pharmaceutical regimen shall be accountable for: 

(1) recognizing side effects; 

(2) recognizing toxic effects; 

(3) recognizing allergic reactions; 

(4) recognizing immediate desired effects; 

(5) recognizing unusual and unexpected effects; 

(6) recognizing changes in a client's condition that 

contraindicates continued administration of the 

pharmaceutical or treatment regimen; 

(7) anticipating those effects that may rapidly 

endanger a client's life or well-being; and 

(8) making judgments and decisions concerning 

actions to take in the event such effects occur. 

(d)  If health care needs of a client are incidental to the personal 

care needs of the client, a nurse shall not be accountable for care 

performed by clients themselves, their families or significant 

others, or by caretakers who provide personal care to the 

individual. 

(e)  Pharmacists may administer drugs in accordance with 21 

NCAC 46 .2507. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.3; 90-171.23(b); 90-

171.43; 90-171.83; 

Eff. May 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; April 1, 2002; December 1, 2000; July 

1, 2000; January 1, 1996; February 1, 1994; April 1, 1989; 

January 1, 1984; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. September 10, 2004; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2008; December 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0223 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

PROGRAMS 

(a)  Definitions. 

(1) Continuing education in nursing means a 

planned, organized learning experience, taken 

after completion of a basic nursing program, 

that prepares a nurse to perform advanced 

skills. Types of learning experiences that may 

be considered continuing education as defined 

in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule include: 

(A) a non-degree oriented program; 

(B) courses or components of courses in 

an academic degree-oriented program; 

or 
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(C) an advanced academic 

degree-granting program that prepares 

a registered nurse for advanced 

practice as a clinical nurse specialist, 

nurse anesthetist, nurse midwife, or 

nurse practitioner. 

(2) Programs offering an educational experience 

designed to enhance the practice of nursing 

mean those that include one or more of the 

following: 

(A) enrichment of nursing knowledge; 

(B) development or change of nursing 

practice attitudes; or 

(C) acquisition or improvement of nursing 

skills. 

(3) Programs that teach nurses advanced skills 

mean those that include: 

(A) skills not generally included in the 

basic educational preparation of the 

nurse; and 

(B) a period of instruction sufficient to 

assess or provide necessary 

knowledge from the physical, 

biological, or behavioral and social 

sciences and includes supervised 

clinical practice to ensure that the 

nurse is able to practice the skill safely 

and properly. 

(4) Student status means the status granted to an 

individual who does not hold a North Carolina 

nursing license but who participates in a clinical 

component of a continuing education program 

in North Carolina if: 

(A) the individual possesses an active 

unencumbered license to practice 

nursing in a jurisdiction other than 

North Carolina; 

(B) the course offering meets one of the 

following criteria: 

(i) is part of an academic 

degree-granting nursing 

program that has approval in 

a jurisdiction other than 

North Carolina or national 

accreditation; or 

(ii) is offered through an in-state 

academic institution that has 

Board approval for basic 

nursing education programs 

or national accreditation for 

advanced nursing education 

programs; or 

(iii) is approved by the Board as a 

continuing education 

offering, thereby meeting the 

criteria defined in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule; 

(C) the individual receives supervision by 

a qualified preceptor or member of the 

faculty who has a valid license to 

practice as a registered nurse in North 

Carolina; 

(D) the course of instruction has a 

specified period of time not exceeding 

12 months; 

(E) the individual is not employed in 

nursing practice in North Carolina 

during participation in the program; 

and 

(F) the Board has been given advance 

notice of the name of each student, the 

jurisdiction in which the student is 

licensed, the license number, and the 

license expiration date. 

(b)  Criteria for voluntary approval of continuing education 

programs in nursing. 

(1) Planning an educational program shall include: 

(A) definition of learner population, such 

as registered nurse, licensed practical 

nurse, or both; 

(B) identification of characteristics of the 

learner, such as clinical area of 

practice, place of employment, and 

position; and 

(C) assessment of needs of the learner, 

such as specific requests from 

individuals or employers, pre-tests, or 

audits of patient records. 

(2) Objectives shall: 

(A) be measurable and stated in behavioral 

terms; 

(B) reflect the needs of the learners; 

(C) state desired outcomes; 

(D) serve as criteria for the selection of 

content, learning experiences, and 

evaluation of achievement; 

(E) be achievable within the time allotted; 

and 

(F) be applicable to nursing. 

(3) Content shall: 

(A) relate to required by Subparagraph 

(b)(2) of this Paragraph; 

(B) reflect input by qualified faculty; and 

(C) contain learning experiences 

appropriate to objectives. 

(4) Teaching methodologies shall: 

(A) use pertinent educational principles; 

(B) provide adequate time for each 

learning activity; and 

(C) include informing participants of the 

course objectives required by 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Paragraph. 

(5) Resources shall include: 

(A) faculty who have knowledge and 

experience necessary to assist the 

participants in meeting the program 

objectives and are in sufficient number 

not to exceed a faculty-participant 
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ratio in a clinical practicum of 1:10. If 

higher ratios are desired, sufficient 

justification shall be provided to the 

Board; and 

(B) physical facilities that ensure that 

appropriate clinical resources and 

adequate and appropriate equipment 

and space are available. 

(6) Evaluation shall be conducted: 

(A) by the provider to assess the 

participant's achievement of program 

objectives and content. This 

evaluation shall be documented; and 

(B) by the participant in order to assess the 

program and resources. 

(7) Records shall be maintained by the provider for 

a period of three years and shall include a 

summary of program evaluations, a roster of 

participants, and the course outline. The 

provider shall award a certificate to each 

participant who successfully completes the 

program. 

(c)  Approval process. 

(1) The provider shall: 

(A) make application on forms provided 

by the Board no less than 60 days prior 

to the proposed enrollment date; 

(B) present written documentation as 

specified in (b)(1) through (b)(7) of 

this Rule; and 

(C) notify the Board of any significant 

changes relative to (b)(1) through 

(b)(7) of this Rule, such as changes in 

faculty or total program hours. 

(2) Approval shall be granted for a two-year period. 

A request to offer an approved program by 

anyone other than the original provider shall be 

made to the Board. 

(3) If a course is not approved, the provider may 

appeal in writing for reconsideration within 30 

days after notification of the disapproval. If the 

course is not approved upon reconsideration, 

the provider may request, within 10 days, a 

hearing at the next regularly-scheduled meeting 

of the Board or no later than 90 days from the 

date of request, whichever shall come first. 

(4) Site visits may be made by the Board as 

appropriate to determine compliance with the 

criteria as specified in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. 

(5) The Board shall withdraw approval from a 

provider if the provider does not successfully 

achieve course outcomes or if there is 

misrepresentation of facts within the 

application for approval. 

(6) Approval of continuing education programs 

shall be included in published reports of Board 

actions. A list of approved programs shall be 

posted on the Board's website at 

www.ncbon.com. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b); 90-171.42; 

Eff. January 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1992; October 1, 1991; October 1, 1989; 

January 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0224 COMPONENTS OF NURSING 

PRACTICE FOR THE REGISTERED NURSE 

(a)  The responsibilities that a registered nurse can safely accept 

shall be determined by such practice setting variables as: 

(1) the nurse's qualifications, including: 

(A) basic educational preparation; and 

(B) knowledge and skills subsequently 

acquired through continuing education 

and practice; 

(2) the complexity and frequency of nursing care 

needed by the client population; 

(3) the proximity of clients to personnel in the 

practice setting in which the nurse practices; 

(4) the qualifications and number of personnel in 

the practice setting in which the nurse practices; 

(5) the accessible resources in the practice setting 

in which the nurse practices; and 

(6) established policies, procedures, practices, and 

channels of communication that lend support to 

the types of nursing services offered in the 

practice setting in which the nurse practices. 

(b)  Assessment is an on-going process and shall consist of a 

determination of nursing care needs based upon collection and 

interpretation of data relevant to the health status of a client, 

group, or community. 

(1) Collection of data shall include: 

(A) obtaining data from relevant sources 

regarding the biophysical, 

psychological, social, and cultural 

factors of the client's life and the 

influence these factors have on health 

status, including: 

(i) subjective reporting; 

(ii) observations of appearance 

and behavior; 

(iii) measurements of physical 

structure and physiological 

functions; and 

(iv) information regarding 

resources available to the 

client; and 

(B) verifying the data collected. 

(2) Interpretation of data shall include: 

(A) analyzing the nature and 

inter-relationships of collected data; 

and 

(B) determining the significance of data to 

client's health status, ability to care for 

self, and treatment regimen. 
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(3) Formulation of a nursing diagnosis shall 

include: 

(A) describing actual or potential 

responses to health conditions. Such 

responses are those for which nursing 

care is indicated or for which referral 

to medical or community resources is 

appropriate; and 

(B) developing a statement of a client 

problem identified through 

interpretation of collected data. 

(c)  Planning nursing care activities includes identifying the 

client's needs and selecting or modifying nursing interventions 

related to the findings of the nursing assessment. Components of 

planning shall include: 

(1) prioritizing nursing diagnoses and needs; 

(2) setting realistic, measurable goals and outcome 

criteria; 

(3) initiating or participating in multidisciplinary 

planning; 

(4) developing a plan of care that includes 

determining and prioritizing nursing 

interventions; and 

(5) identifying resources based on necessity and 

availability. 

(d)  Implementation of nursing activities shall be the initiating and 

delivering of nursing care according to an established plan, which 

includes: 

(1) procuring resources; 

(2) implementing nursing interventions and 

medical orders consistent with 21 NCAC 36 

.0221(c) and within an environment conducive 

to client safety; 

(3) prioritizing and performing nursing 

interventions; 

(4) analyzing responses to nursing interventions; 

(5) modifying nursing interventions; and 

(6) assigning, delegating, and supervising the 

nursing activities of other licensed and 

unlicensed personnel consistent with 

Paragraphs (a) and (i) of this Rule, G.S. 90-

171.20(7)(d) and (7)i, and 21 NCAC 36 .0401. 

(e)  Evaluation shall consist of determining the extent to which 

desired outcomes of nursing care are met and planning for 

subsequent care, including: 

(1) collecting evaluative data from relevant 

sources; 

(2) analyzing the effectiveness of nursing 

interventions; and 

(3) modifying the plan of care based upon newly 

collected data, new problem identification, a 

change in the client's status, and expected 

outcomes. 

(f)  Reporting and Recording by the registered nurse shall be those 

communications required in relation to all aspects of nursing care. 

(1) Reporting means the communication of 

information to other individuals responsible 

for, or involved in, the care of the client. The 

registered nurse shall: 

(A) direct the communication to the 

appropriate individuals; 

(B) assure that these communications are 

consistent with established policies, 

procedures, practices, and channels of 

communication which lend support to 

types of nursing services offered; 

(C) communicate within a time period that 

is consistent with the client's need for 

care; 

(D) evaluate the responses to information 

reported; and 

(E) determine whether further 

communication is indicated. 

(2) Recording means the documentation of 

information on the appropriate client record, 

nursing care plan or other documents. This 

documentation shall: 

(A) be pertinent to the client's health care; 

(B) accurately describe all aspects of 

nursing care, including assessment, 

planning, implementation, and 

evaluation; 

(C) be completed within a time period 

consistent with the client's need for 

care; 

(D) reflect the communication of 

information to other individuals; and 

(E) verify the proper administration and 

disposal of controlled substances. 

(g)  Collaborating involves communicating and working 

cooperatively with individuals whose services may have a direct 

or indirect effect upon the client's health care and shall include: 

(1) initiating, coordinating, planning, and 

implementing nursing or multidisciplinary 

approaches for the client's care; 

(2) participating in decision-making and in 

cooperative goal-directed efforts; 

(3) seeking and utilizing appropriate resources in 

the referral process; and 

(4) safeguarding confidentiality. 

(h)  Teaching and counseling clients shall be the responsibility of 

the registered nurse, consistent with 90-171.20(7)g.  

(1) Teaching and counseling shall consist of 

providing accurate and consistent information, 

demonstrations, and guidance to clients, their 

families, or significant others for the purpose 

of: 

(A) increasing knowledge regarding the 

client's health status and health care; 

(B) assisting the client to reach an 

optimum level of health functioning 

and participation in self-care; and 

(C) promoting the client's ability to make 

informed decisions. 

(2) Teaching and counseling shall include: 

(A) assessing the client's needs, abilities, 

and knowledge level; 
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(B) adapting teaching content and 

methods to the identified needs, 

abilities of the clients, and knowledge 

level; 

(C) evaluating effectiveness of teaching 

and counseling; and 

(D) making referrals to appropriate 

resources. 

(i)  Managing the delivery of nursing care through the on-going 

supervision, teaching, and evaluation of nursing personnel shall 

be the responsibility of the registered nurse, as specified in the 

legal definition of the practice of nursing, and includes: 

(1) continuous availability for direct participation 

in nursing care, onsite when necessary, as 

indicated by client's status and by the variables 

cited in Paragraph (a) of this Rule; 

(2) assessing capabilities of personnel in relation to 

client status and the plan of nursing care; 

(3) delegating responsibility or assigning nursing 

care functions to personnel qualified to assume 

such responsibility and to perform such 

functions; 

(4) accountability for nursing care given by all 

personnel to whom that care is assigned and 

delegated; and 

(5) direct observation of clients and evaluation of 

nursing care given. 

(j)  Administering nursing services is the responsibility of the 

registered nurse, as specified in the legal definition of the practice 

of nursing in G.S. 90-171.20(7)i, and includes: 

(1) identification, development, and updating of 

standards, policies, and procedures related to 

the delivery of nursing care; 

(2) implementation of the identified standards, 

policies, and procedures to promote safe and 

effective nursing care for clients; 

(3) planning for and evaluation of the nursing care 

delivery system; and 

(4) management of licensed and unlicensed 

personnel who provide nursing care consistent 

with Paragraphs (a) and (i) of this Rule 

including: 

(A) appropriate allocation of human 

resources to promote safe and 

effective nursing care; 

(B) defined levels of accountability and 

responsibility within the nursing 

organization; 

(C) a mechanism to validate 

qualifications, knowledge, and skills 

of nursing personnel; 

(D) provision of educational opportunities 

related to expected nursing 

performance; and 

(E) implementation of a system for 

periodic performance evaluation. 

(k)  Accepting responsibility for self for individual nursing 

actions, competence, and behavior shall be the responsibility of 

the registered nurse, including: 

(1) having knowledge and understanding of the 

statutes and rules governing nursing; 

(2) functioning within the legal boundaries of 

registered nurse practice; and 

(3) respecting client rights and property and the 

rights and property of others. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.20(7); 90-171.23(b); 

90-171.43(4); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 24, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0225 COMPONENTS OF NURSING 

PRACTICE FOR THE LICENSED PRACTICAL NURSE 

(a)  A licensed practical nurse shall accept only those assigned 

nursing activities and responsibilities, as defined in Paragraphs (b) 

through (i) of this Rule, that the licensee can safely perform, as 

determined by practice setting variables such as: 

(1) the nurse's qualifications in relation to client 

need and plan of nursing care, including: 

(A) basic educational preparation; and 

(B) knowledge and skills subsequently 

acquired through continuing education 

and practice; 

(2) the degree of supervision by the registered 

nurse consistent with Paragraph (d)(3) of this 

Rule; 

(3) the stability of each client's clinical condition; 

(4) the complexity and frequency of nursing care 

needed by each client or client group; 

(5) the accessible resources; and 

(6) established policies, procedures, practices, and 

channels of communication that lend support to 

the types of nursing services offered. 

(b)  Assessment is an on-going process and shall consist of 

participation in the determination of nursing care needs based 

upon collection and interpretation of data relevant to the health 

status of a client. 

(1) Collection of data shall consist of obtaining 

data from relevant sources regarding the 

biophysical, psychological, social, and cultural 

factors of the client's life and the influence these 

factors have on health status, according to 

structured written guidelines, policies, and 

forms, including: 

(A) subjective reporting; 

(B) observations of appearance and 

behavior; 

(C) measurements of physical structure 

and physiologic function; and 

(D) information regarding resources 

available to the client. 

(2) Interpretation of data shall be limited to: 

(A) participation in the analysis of 

collected data by recognizing existing 

relationships between data gathered 
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and a client's health status and 

treatment regimen; and 

(B) determining a client's need for 

immediate nursing interventions based 

upon data gathered regarding the 

client's health status, ability to care for 

self, and treatment regimen, consistent 

with Paragraph (a)(6) of this Rule. 

(c)  Planning nursing care activities shall include participation in 

the identification of client's needs related to the findings of the 

nursing assessment. Components of planning include: 

(1) participation in making decisions regarding 

implementation of nursing intervention, 

medical orders, and plan of care through the 

utilization of assessment data; 

(2) participation in multidisciplinary planning by 

providing resource data; and 

(3) identification of nursing interventions and goals 

for review by the registered nurse. 

(d)  Implementation of nursing activities shall consist of 

delivering nursing care according to an established health care 

plan and as assigned by the registered nurse or other individuals 

authorized by law as specified in 90-171.20(8)c. 

(1) Nursing activities and responsibilities that may 

be assigned to the licensed practical nurse shall 

include: 

(A) procuring resources; 

(B) implementing nursing interventions 

and medical orders consistent with 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule and 21 

NCAC 36 .0221(c) and within an 

environment conducive to client 

safety; 

(C) prioritizing and performing nursing 

interventions; 

(D) recognizing responses to nursing 

interventions; 

(E) modifying immediate nursing 

interventions based on changes in a 

client's status; and 

(F) delegating specific nursing tasks as 

outlined in the plan of care and 

consistent with Paragraph (d)(2) of 

this Rule and 21 NCAC 36 .0401. 

(2) The licensed practical nurse may participate, 

consistent with 21 NCAC 36 .0224(d)(6), in 

implementing the health care plan by assigning 

nursing care activities to other licensed 

practical nurses and delegating nursing care 

activities to unlicensed personnel qualified and 

competent to perform such activities, if all of 

the following criteria are met: 

(A) validation of qualifications of 

personnel to whom nursing activities 

may be assigned or delegated; 

(B) continuous availability of a registered 

nurse for supervision consistent with 

21 NCAC 36 .0224(i) and Paragraph 

(d)(3) of this Rule; 

(C) accountability maintained by the 

licensed practical nurse for 

responsibilities accepted, including 

nursing care given by self and by all 

other personnel to whom such care is 

assigned or delegated; 

(D) participation by the licensed practical 

nurse in on-going observations of 

clients and evaluation of clients' 

responses to nursing actions; and 

(E) provision of supervision limited to the 

validation that tasks have been 

performed as assigned or delegated 

and according to established standards 

of practice. 

(3) The degree of supervision required for the 

performance of any assigned or delegated 

nursing activity by the licensed practical nurse 

when implementing nursing care shall be 

determined by variables that include: 

(A) educational preparation of the licensed 

practical nurse, including both the 

basic educational program and the 

knowledge and skills subsequently 

acquired by the nurse through 

continuing education and practice; 

(B) stability of the client's clinical 

condition, which involves both the 

predictability and rate of change. If a 

client's condition is one in which 

change is highly predictable and 

would be expected to occur over a 

period of days or weeks rather than 

minutes or hours, the licensed 

practical nurse may participate in care 

with minimal supervision. If the 

client's condition is unpredictable or 

unstable, the licensed practical nurse 

may participate in the performance of 

the task under close supervision of the 

registered nurse or other individuals 

authorized by law to provide such 

supervision; 

(C) complexity of the nursing task, which 

is determined by depth of scientific 

body of knowledge upon which the 

action is based and by the task's 

potential threat to the client's 

well-being. If a task is complex, the 

licensed practical nurse shall 

participate in the performance of the 

task under close supervision of the 

registered nurse or other individuals 

authorized by law to provide such 

supervision; 

(D) the complexity and frequency of 

nursing care needed by the client 

population; 
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(E) the proximity of clients to personnel in 

the facility in which the nurse 

practices; 

(F) the qualifications and number of 

personnel in the facility in which the 

nurse practices; 

(G) the accessible resources in the facility 

in which the nurse practices; and 

(H) established policies, procedures, 

practices, and channels of 

communication that lend support to 

the types of nursing services offered. 

(e)  Evaluation, a component of implementing the health care 

plan, shall consist of participation in determining the extent to 

which desired outcomes of nursing care are met and in planning 

for subsequent care, including: 

(1) collecting evaluative data from relevant sources 

according to written guidelines, policies, and 

forms; 

(2) recognizing the effectiveness of nursing 

interventions; and 

(3) proposing modifications to the plan of care for 

review by the registered nurse or other 

individuals authorized by law to prescribe such 

a plan. 

(f)  Reporting and recording shall be those communications 

required in relation to the aspects of nursing care for which the 

licensed practical nurse has been assigned responsibility. 

(1) Reporting means the communication of 

information to other individuals responsible for 

or involved in the care of the client. The 

licensed practical nurse shall: 

(A) direct the communication to the 

appropriate individuals; 

(B) assure that these communications are 

consistent with established policies, 

procedures, practices, and channels of 

communication which lend support to 

types of nursing services offered; 

(C) communicate within a time period that 

is consistent with the client's need for 

care; 

(D) evaulate the nature of responses to 

information reported; and 

(E) determine whether further 

communication is indicated. 

(2) Recording means the documentation of 

information on the appropriate client record, 

nursing care plan, or other documents. This 

documentation shall: 

(A) be pertinent to the client's health care, 

including client's response to care 

provided; 

(B) accurately describe all aspects of 

nursing care provided by the licensed 

practical nurse; 

(C) be completed within a time period 

consistent with the client's need for 

care; 

(D) reflect the communication of 

information to other persons; and 

(E) verify the proper administration and 

disposal of controlled substances. 

(g)  Collaborating involves communicating and working 

cooperatively in implementing the health care plan with 

individuals whose services may have a direct or indirect effect 

upon the client's health care. As delegated by the registered nurse 

or other individuals authorized by law, the licensed practical 

nurse's role in collaborating in client care shall include: 

(1) participating in planning and implementing 

nursing or multidisciplinary approaches for the 

client's care; 

(2) seeking and utilizing appropriate resources in 

the referral process; and 

(3) safeguarding confidentiality. 

(h)  Participating in the teaching and counseling of clients as 

assigned by the registered nurse, physician or other qualified 

professional licensed to practice in North Carolina shall be the 

responsibility of the licensed practical nurse. Participation shall 

include: 

(1) providing accurate and consistent information, 

demonstrations, and guidance to clients, their 

families, or significant others for the purpose 

of: 

(A) increasing knowledge regarding the 

client's health status and health care; 

(B) assisting the client to reach an 

optimum level of health functioning 

and participation in self-care; and 

(C) promoting the client's ability to make 

informed decisions. 

(2) collecting evaluative data consistent with 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(i)  Accepting responsibility for self for individual nursing actions, 

competence, and behavior including: 

(1) having knowledge and understanding of the 

statutes and rules governing nursing; 

(2) functioning within the legal boundaries of 

licensed practical nurse practice; and 

(3) respecting client rights and property and the 

rights and property of others. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.20(7),(8); 90-171.23(b); 

90-171.43(4); 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 24, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0226 NURSE ANESTHESIA 

PRACTICE 

(a)  Only a registered nurse who completes a program accredited 

by the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational 

Programs, is credentialed as a certified registered nurse anesthetist 

by the Council on Certification of Nurse Anesthetists, and who 

maintains recertification through the Council on Recertification 

of Nurse Anesthetists, shall perform nurse anesthesia activities in 
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collaboration with a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or other 

lawfully qualified health care provider. A nurse anesthetist shall 

not prescribe a medical treatment regimen or make a medical 

diagnosis except under the supervision of a licensed physician. 

(b) For the purpose of this Rule, collaboration means a process by 

which the certified registered nurse anesthetist works with one or 

more qualified health care providers, each contributing his or her 

respective area of expertise consistent with the appropriate 

occupational licensure laws of the State and according to the 

established policies, procedures, practices, and channels of 

communication that lend support to nurse anesthesia services and 

that define the roles and responsibilities of the qualified nurse 

anesthetist within the practice setting. The individual nurse 

anesthetist shall be accountable for the outcome of his or her 

actions. 

(c)  Nurse Anesthesia activities and responsibilities that the 

appropriately qualified registered nurse anesthetist may safely 

accept shall depend upon the individual's knowledge, skills, and 

other variables in each practice setting as outlined in 21 NCAC 36 

.0224(a), including: 

(1) Preanesthesia preparation and evaluation of the 

client, including: 

(A) performing a pre-operative health 

assessment; 

(B) recommending, requesting, and 

evaluating pertinent diagnostic 

studies; and 

(C) selecting and administering 

preanesthetic medications. 

(2) Anesthesia induction, maintenance, and 

emergence of the client to include: 

(A) securing, preparing, and providing 

safety checks on all equipment, 

monitors, supplies, and 

pharmaceutical agents used for the 

administration of anesthesia; 

(B) selecting, implementing, and 

managing general anesthesia; 

monitored anesthesia care; and 

regional anesthesia modalities, 

including administering anesthetic and 

related pharmaceutical agents, 

consistent with the client's needs and 

procedural requirements; 

(C) performing tracheal intubation, 

extubation, and providing mechanical 

ventilation; 

(D) providing perianesthetic invasive and 

non-invasive monitoring, recognizing 

abnormal findings, implementing 

corrective action, and requesting 

consultation with appropriately 

qualified health care providers as 

necessary; 

(E) managing the client's fluid, blood, 

electrolyte, and acid-base balance; and 

(F) evaluating the client's response during 

emergence from anesthesia and 

implementing pharmaceutical and 

supportive treatment to ensure the 

adequacy of client recovery from 

anesthesia. 

(3) Postanesthesia Care of the client, including: 

(A) providing postanesthesia follow-up 

care, including evaluating the client's 

response to anesthesia, recognizing 

potential anesthetic complications, 

implementing corrective actions, and 

requesting consultation with 

appropriately qualified health care 

professionals as necessary; 

(B) initiating and administering 

respiratory support to ensure adequate 

ventilation and oxygenation in the 

immediate postanesthesia period; 

(C) initiating and administering 

pharmacological or fluid support of 

the cardiovascular system during the 

immediate postanesthesia period; 

(D) documenting all aspects of nurse 

anesthesia care and reporting the 

client's status, perianesthetic course, 

and anticipated problems to an 

appropriately qualified postanesthetic 

health care provider who assumes the 

client's care following anesthesia, 

consistent with 21 NCAC 36 .0224(f); 

and 

(E) releasing clients from the 

postanesthesia care or surgical setting 

in compliance with established agency 

policy. 

(d)  Other clinical activities for which the qualified registered 

nurse anesthetist may accept responsibility shall include: 

(1) inserting central vascular access catheters and 

epidural catheters; 

(2) identifying, responding to, and managing 

emergency situations, including initiating and 

participating in cardiopulmonary resuscitation; 

(3) providing consultation related to respiratory 

and ventilatory care and implementing such 

care according to established policies within the 

practice setting; and 

(4) initiating and managing pain relief therapy 

using pharmaceutical agents, regional 

anesthetic techniques, and other accepted pain 

relief modalities according to established 

policies and protocols within the practice 

setting. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.20(4); 90-171.20(7); 90-

171.21; 90-171.23; 90-171.42(b); 

Eff. July 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 25, 1994 for a period of 180 days 

or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2010; December 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 
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21 NCAC 36 .0228 CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALIST 

PRACTICE 

(a)  Effective July 1, 2015, only a registered nurse who meets the 

qualifications outlined in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be 

recognized by the Board as a clinical nurse specialist to perform 

advanced practice registered nursing activities listed in Paragraph 

(f) of this Rule. 

(b)  The Board shall recognize an applicant who: 

(1) has an active, unencumbered license to practice 

as a registered nurse in North Carolina or a state 

that has adopted the Nurse Licensure Compact; 

(2) has an unrestricted previous approval, 

registration, or license as a clinical nurse 

specialist if previously approved, registered, or 

licensed as a clinical nurse specialist in another 

state, territory, or possession of the United 

States; 

(3) has successfully completed a master's or higher 

level degree program that is accredited by a 

nursing accrediting body approved by the 

United States Secretary of Education or the 

Council for Higher Education Accreditation 

and meets the qualifications for clinical nurse 

specialist certification by an approved national 

credentialing body under Part (b)(4)(A) of this 

Rule; and 

(4) either: 

(A) has current certification as a clinical 

nurse specialist from a national 

credentialing body approved by the 

Board, as defined in Paragraph (h) of 

this Rule and 21 NCAC 36 .0120(26); 

or 

(B) if no clinical nurse specialist 

certification is available in the 

specialty, meets requirements that are 

equivalent to national certification. 

The Board shall determine 

equivalence based on consideration of 

an official transcript and course 

descriptions validating Subparagraph 

(b)(3) of this Rule, a current 

curriculum vitae, work history, 

professional recommendations 

indicating evidence of at least 1,000 

hours of clinical nurse specialist 

practice, and documentation of 

certificates indicating 75 contact hours 

of continuing education applicable to 

clinical nurse specialist practice 

during the previous five years. 

(c)  An applicant certified as a clinical nurse specialist by a 

national credentialing body prior to January 1, 2007, and who has 

maintained that certification and active clinical nurse specialist 

practice and holds a master's or higher degree in nursing or a 

related field shall be recognized by the Board as a clinical nurse 

specialist. 

(d)  New graduates seeking first-time clinical nurse specialist 

recognition in North Carolina shall hold a master's or doctoral 

degree or a post-master's certificate from a clinical nurse specialist 

program accredited by a nursing accrediting body approved by the 

U.S. Secretary of Education or the Council for Higher Education 

Accreditation and shall meet all requirements in Subparagraph 

(b)(1) and Part (g)(3)(A) of this Rule. 

(e)  A clinical nurse specialist seeking Board recognition who has 

not practiced as a clinical nurse specialist in more than two years 

shall complete a clinical nurse specialist refresher course 

approved by the Board in accordance with 21 NCAC 36 .0220(o) 

and (p), consisting of common conditions and their management 

related to the clinical nurse specialist's area of education and 

certification. A clinical nurse specialist refresher course 

participant shall be granted clinical nurse specialist recognition 

that is limited to clinical activities taught in the refresher course. 

(f)  The scope of practice of a clinical nurse specialist shall 

incorporate the basic components of nursing practice as defined 

in Rule .0224 of this Section as well as the understanding and 

application of nursing principles at an advanced practice 

registered nurse level in the area of clinical nursing specialization 

in which the clinical nurse specialist is educationally prepared and 

for which competency is maintained, including: 

(1) assessing clients' health status, synthesizing and 

analyzing multiple sources of data, and 

identifying alternative possibilities as to the 

nature of a healthcare problem; 

(2) diagnosing and managing clients' acute and 

chronic health problems within an advanced 

practice nursing framework; 

(3) assessing for and monitoring the usage and 

effect of pharmacologic agents within an 

advanced practice nursing framework; 

(4) formulating strategies to promote wellness and 

prevent illness; 

(5) prescribing and implementing therapeutic and 

corrective non-pharmacologic nursing 

interventions; 

(6) planning for situations beyond the clinical nurse 

specialist's expertise and consulting with or 

referring clients to other health care providers 

as appropriate; 

(7) promoting and practicing in collegial and 

collaborative relationships with clients, 

families, other health care professionals, and 

individuals whose decisions influence the 

health of individual clients, families, and 

communities; 

(8) initiating, establishing, and using measures to 

evaluate health care outcomes and modify 

nursing practice decisions; 

(9) assuming leadership for the application of 

research findings for the improvement of health 

care outcomes; and 

(10) integrating education, consultation, 

management, leadership, and research into the 

clinical nurse specialist role. 

(g)  A registered nurse seeking recognition by the Board as a 

clinical nurse specialist shall: 

(1) complete the appropriate application that 

includes the following: 
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(A) evidence of a master's or doctoral 

degree or a post-master's certificate, as 

set out in Subparagraph (b)(3) or 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule; and either 

(B) evidence of current certification in a 

clinical nursing specialty from a 

national credentialing body, set out in 

Part (b)(4)(A) of this Rule; or 

(C) meet requirements set out in Part 

(b)(4)(B) of this Rule; 

(2) renew the recognition every two years at the 

time of registered nurse renewal; and 

(3) either: 

(A) submit evidence of initial certification 

and re-certification by a national 

credentialing body at the time such 

occurs in order to maintain Board 

recognition, consistent with 

Paragraphs (b) and (h) of this Rule; or 

(B) if subject to Part (b)(4)(B) of this Rule, 

submit evidence of at least 1,000 hours 

of practice and 75 contact hours of 

continuing education every five years. 

(h)  The Board shall approve those national credentialing bodies 

offering certification and recertification in a clinical nursing 

specialty that have established the following minimum 

requirements: 

(1) unrestricted licensure as a registered nurse; and 

(2) certification as a clinical nurse specialist that is 

limited to applicant prepared with a master's or 

doctoral degree or a post-master's certificate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.20(4); 90-171.20(7); 90-

171.21(d)(4); 90-171.23(b); 90-171.27(b); 90-171.42(b); 

Eff. April 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; April 1, 2008; January 1, 2007; 

November 1, 2005; August 1, 2005; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0232 CONTINUING COMPETENCE 

(a)  Upon application for license renewal or reinstatement, each 

licensee shall: 

(1) complete a self-assessment of practice, 

including professional responsibility, 

knowledge based practice, legal and ethical 

practice, and collaborating with others; 

(2) develop a plan for continued learning; and 

(3) select and implement a learning activity option 

from those outlined in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. 

(b)  Upon application for license renewal or reinstatement, each 

licensee shall attest to having completed one of the following 

learning activity options during the preceding renewal cycle and 

submit evidence of completion if requested by the Board: 

(1) national certification or re-certification related 

to the nurse's practice role by a national 

credentialing body recognized by the Board, 

consistent with 21 NCAC 36 .0120 and 21 

NCAC 36 .0801; 

(2) 30 contact hours of continuing education 

activities related to the nurse's practice; 

(3) completion of a Board-approved refresher 

course, consistent with 21 NCAC 36 .0220 and 

21 NCAC 36 .0808(d); 

(4) completion of a minimum of two semester 

hours of post-licensure academic education 

related to nursing practice; 

(5) 15 contact hours of a continuing education 

activity related to the nurse's practice and 

completion of a nursing project as principal or 

co-principal investigator including a statement 

of the problem, project objectives, methods, 

and a summary of findings; 

(6) 15contact hours of a continuing education 

activity related to the nurse's practice and 

authoring or co-authoring a published nursing-

related article, paper, book, or book chapter; 

(7) 15 contact hours of a continuing education 

activity related to the nurse's practice and 

designing, developing, and conducting an 

educational presentation or presentations 

totaling a minimum of five contact hours for 

nurses or other health professionals; or 

(8) 15 contact hours of a continuing education 

activity related to the nurse's practice and 640 

hours of active practice within the previous two 

years. 

(c)  The following documentation shall be accepted as evidence 

of completion of learning activity options described in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule: 

(1) Evidence of national certification that includes 

a copy of a certificate that states name of 

licensee, name of certifying body, date of 

certification, date of certification expiration. 

Certification shall be initially attained during 

the licensure period, have been in effect during 

the entire licensure period, or have been re-

certified during the licensure period. 

(2) Evidence of contact hours of continuing 

education that includes the name of the 

licensee, title of educational activity, name of 

the provider, number of contact hours, and date 

of activity. 

(3) Evidence of completion of a Board-approved 

refresher course that includes written 

correspondence from the provider stating the 

name of the licensee, name of the provider, and 

verification of successful completion of the 

course. 

(4) Evidence of post-licensure academic education 

that includes a copy of a transcript stating the 

name of the licensee, name of educational 

institution, date of attendance, name of course 

with grade, and number of credit hours 

received. 

(5) Evidence of completion of a nursing project 

shall include an abstract or summary of the 

project, the name of the licensee, role of the 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2019 

1629 

licensee as principal or co-principal 

investigator, date of project completion, 

statement of the problem, project objectives, 

methods used, and a summary of findings. 

(6) Evidence of authoring or co-authoring a 

published nursing-related article, paper, book, 

or book chapter that includes a copy of the 

publication stating the name of the licensee and 

publication date. 

(7) Evidence of developing and conducting an 

educational presentation or presentations 

totaling at least five contact hours for nurses or 

other health professionals that includes a copy 

of the program brochure or course syllabi, 

objectives, content and teaching methods, and 

date and location of presentation. 

(8) Evidence of 640 hours of active practice in 

nursing shall include documentation of the 

name of the licensee, number of hours worked 

in calendar or fiscal year, name and address of 

employer, and signature of supervisor. If self-

employed, hours worked shall be validated 

through other methods such as tax records or 

other business records. If active practice is of a 

volunteer or gratuitous nature, hours worked 

shall be validated by the recipient agency. 

(d)  A licensee shall retain supporting documentation to provide 

proof of completion of the option chosen in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule for three years. 

(e)  At the time of license renewal or reinstatement, licensees shall 

be subject to audit for proof of compliance with the Board's 

requirements for continuing competence. 

(f)  The Board shall inform licensees of their selection for audit at 

the time of license renewal or request for reinstatement. 

Documentation of acceptable evidence shall be consistent with 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule and shall be submitted to the Board no 

later than the last day of the renewal month. 

(g)  Failure of a licensee to meet the requirements of this Rule at 

the time of renewal shall result in the license not being renewed 

until evidence of compliance is submitted and approved by the 

Board. 

(h)  Licensee shall not be reinstated until licensee has met all of 

the requirements of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b); 90-171.37(1) and 

(8); 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0233 OUT OF STATE STUDENTS 

(a)  Unlicensed nursing students enrolled in out-of-State nursing 

education programs who request use of North Carolina clinical 

facilities shall be allowed such experiences following approval by 

the Board. Upon receiving such a request, the chief nursing 

administrator of a North Carolina clinical facility shall provide the 

Board with the following at least 30 days prior to the start of the 

requested experience: 

(1) a letter of request for approval to provide the 

clinical offering, including proposed starting 

and completion dates; 

(2) documentation that the nursing program is 

currently approved by the Board of Nursing in 

the state in which the parent institution is 

located; 

(3) the name, qualifications, and evidence of an 

active, unencumbered registered nurse 

licensure of the faculty responsible for 

coordinating the student's experience; and 

(4) the name, qualifications, and evidence of active 

unencumbered license to practice as a 

registered nurse in North Carolina for the 

preceptor or on-site faculty. 

(b)  Copies of the following shall be distributed by the chief 

nursing administrator of the clinical facility to all students and 

faculty involved in the clinical experiences: 

(1) North Carolina Nursing Practice Act; 

(2) North Carolina administrative rules and related 

interpretations provided by the Board regarding 

the role of the registered nurse, licensed 

practical nurse, and unlicensed nursing 

personnel; and 

(3) North Carolina Board of Nursing developed 

Suggestions for Utilization of Preceptors. 

(c)  Failure to continue in compliance with the requirements of 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall result in the immediate withdrawal 

of the Board's approval of the clinical offering and student status, 

consistent with G.S. 90-171.43(2). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.3; 90-171.23(b) 90-

171.43; 90-171.83; 

Eff. April 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0302 ESTABLISHMENT OF A 

NURSING PROGRAM - INITIAL APPROVAL 

(a)  An institution seeking initial approval to operate a nursing 

program shall employ a program director qualified pursuant to 

Rule .0317(c) of this Section. 

(b)  The program director shall submit an application for initial 

approval at least six months prior to the proposed program start 

date that documents the following: 

(1) a narrative description of the organizational 

structure of the program and its relationship to 

the controlling institution, including 

accreditation status. The controlling institution 

shall be an accredited institution; 

(2) a general overview of the entire proposed 

curriculum that includes: 

(A) the program philosophy, purposes, 

and objectives; 

(B) a master plan of the curriculum, 

indicating the sequence for both 

nursing and non-nursing courses, as 

well as prerequisites and corequisites; 

(C) course descriptions and course 

objectives for all courses; and 
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(D) course syllabi pursuant to 21 NCAC 

36. 0321(i) for all first-year nursing 

courses; 

(3) the proposed student population; 

(4) the projected student enrollment; 

(5) evidence of learning resources and clinical 

experiences available to implement and 

maintain the program; 

(6) financial resources adequate to begin and 

maintain the program; 

(7) physical facilities adequate to house the 

program; 

(8) support services available to the program from 

the controlling institution; 

(9) approval of the program by the governing body 

of the controlling institution; and 

(10) a plan with a specified time frame for: 

(A) availability of qualified faculty as 

specified in 21 NCAC 36 .0318; 

(B) course syllabi as specified in 21 

NCAC 36. 0321(h) of this Section for 

all nursing courses; 

(C) student policies for admission, 

progression, and graduation of 

students, pursuant to 21 NCAC 36 

.0320; and 

(D) comprehensive program evaluation, 

pursuant to 21 NCAC 36 .0317(d). 

(c)  The application to establish a nursing program shall contain 

current and accurate information required in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule, be complete, and be signed by the program director and the 

chief executive officer of the controlling institution. 

(d)  The completed application shall be received by the Board not 

less than 120 days prior to a regular meeting of the Board to be 

considered for placement on the agenda of that meeting. 

(e)  If another program exists in the institution, the application 

shall include: 

(1) the organizational relationship of the existing 

program and the proposed program in the 

institution; 

(2) the NCLEX pass rate of the existing program 

for the past three years; and 

(3) a description of the expected impact of the 

proposed program on the existing program, 

including: 

(A) the availability of a program director 

for each program; 

(B) the availability of qualified faculty; 

(C) the physical facilities adequate to 

house both programs; 

(D) the availability of learning resources; 

(E) the availability of clinical experiences; 

and 

(F) the adequacy of student services. 

(f)  No new program application shall be considered if a nursing 

program currently exists in the institution if: 

(1) the NCLEX pass rate of the existing program 

has not met the standard for the past three years, 

pursuant to 21 NCAC 36 .0320(e); and 

(2) resources are not demonstrated to be adequate 

to maintain both the existing and the proposed 

program in compliance with Rules .0300 to 

.0323 of this Section. 

(g)  Programs on initial approval may admit students. 

(h)  The Board shall conduct an on-site survey of the proposed 

program after the application meets all the requirements set forth 

in this Rule, shall prepare a survey report, and afford the 

petitioning institution an opportunity to respond to the survey 

report. 

(i)  The Board shall consider all evidence, including the 

application, the survey report, comments from representatives of 

the petitioning institution, public comments, and the status of 

other nursing programs at the institution in determining whether 

to approve the application. 

(j)  If the application is approved, the Board shall grant initial 

approval and shall establish a maximum enrollment and 

implementation date. 

(k)  The Board shall rescind the initial approval of a program if 

the controlling institution fails to submit documentation as set 

forth in the plan required by Subparagraph (b)(10) of this Rule. 

l) The Board shall rescind the initial approval of a program if the 

first class of students is not enrolled in the program within one 

year after issuing the initial approval. 

(m)  For 12 months following rescission of approval, the 

controlling institution shall not submit an application for 

establishing a nursing program. 

(n)  A program shall retain initial approval status for the time 

necessary for full implementation of the curriculum, provided that 

the program complies with Section .0300 of this Chapter. 

(o)  Programs with initial approval shall be surveyed: 

(1) during the final term of curriculum 

implementation of the program; and 

(2) upon receipt by the Board of information that 

the program may not be complying with 

Section .0300. 

(p)  If at any time a program on initial approval is not complying 

with Section .0300 of this Chapter, the program, upon written 

notification, shall: 

(1) correct the area of noncompliance and submit 

written evidence of this correction to the Board; 

or 

(2) submit and implement a plan for correction to 

the Board. 

(q)  The Board shall rescind the initial approval of a program if 

the program does not comply with Paragraph (o) of this Rule. 

(r)  If, following the survey and during final curriculum 

implementation, the Board finds that the program is complying 

with Section .0300 of this Chapter, the Board shall place the 

program on full approval status. 

(s)  If, following the survey and during final curriculum 

implementation, the program does not comply with the Section 

.0300 of this Chapter, the Board shall rescind the program's initial 

approval and provide the program with written notice of the 

Board's decision. 

(t)  Upon written request from the program submitted within 10 

business days of the Board's written notice of rescinding the initial 

approval, the Board shall schedule a hearing at the next available 

meeting of the Board for which appropriate notice can be 
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provided, or at a meeting of the Board that is scheduled by consent 

of the parties. 

(u)  Following the hearing and consideration of all evidence 

provided, the Board shall assign the program full approval status 

or shall enter an Order rescinding the initial approval status, which 

shall constitute program closure pursuant to 21 NCAC 36 .0309. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(8); 90-171.38; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1992; January 1, 1989; November 1, 1984; 

May 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 11, 2001; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2016; January 1, 2009; December 1, 

2005; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0303 EXISTING NURSING PROGRAM 

(a)  All nursing programs that are governed by the rules in this 

Chapter may obtain national program accreditation by a nursing 

accreditation body as defined in 21 NCAC 36 .0120(30). 

(b)  Board action is based upon each program's performance and 

demonstrated compliance with the Board's requirements and 

responses to the Board's recommendations. The Board may, 

depending on the severity and pattern of violations of this 

Chapter, require corrective action for identified deficiencies, 

impose a monitoring plan, conduct a program survey, change 

program approval status, issue discipline, or close a program. 

(c)  Full Approval 

(1) The Board shall review approved programs at 

least every eight years as specified in G.S. 90-

171.40. Reviews of individual programs shall 

be conducted at shorter intervals upon request 

from the individual institution or as considered 

necessary by the Board. National accreditation 

self-study reports shall provide a basis for 

review of accredited programs. 

(2) The Board shall send a written report of the 

review no more than 20 business days 

following the completion of the review process. 

Responses from a nursing education program 

regarding a review report or warning status as 

referenced in Paragraph (d) of this Rule shall be 

received in the Board office by the deadline 

date specified in the letter accompanying the 

report or notification of warning status. If no 

materials or documents are received by the 

specified deadline date, the Board shall act 

upon the findings in the review report and the 

testimony of the Board staff. 

(3) If the Board finds a pattern of noncompliance 

with one or more rules in this Section, the Board 

may take action as outlined in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. 

(d)  Warning Status 

(1) If the Board finds that a program is not 

complying with the rules in this Section, the 

Board shall assign the program warning status 

and shall give written notice by certified mail to 

the program specifying: 

(A) the areas in which there is 

noncompliance; 

(B) the date by which the program must 

comply with the rules in this Section. 

The maximum time for compliance 

shall be two years after issuance of the 

written notice; and 

(C) the opportunity to schedule a hearing. 

Any request for a hearing regarding 

the program warning status shall be 

submitted to the Board. A hearing 

shall be afforded pursuant to the 

provisions of G.S. 150B, Article 3A. 

(2) On or before the required date of compliance 

specified in Part (d)(1)(B) of this Rule if the 

Board determines that the program is 

complying with the rules in this Section, the 

Board shall assign the program full approval 

status. 

(3) If the Board finds the program is not in 

compliance with the rules in this Section by the 

date specified in Part (d)(1)(B) of this Rule, the 

program shall remain on warning status, a 

review by the Board shall be conducted during 

that time and the Board shall either: 

(A) continue the program on warning 

status; or 

(B) withdraw approval, constituting a 

program closure consistent with 

Subparagraph (c)(3) of this Rule. 

(4) Upon written request from the program 

submitted within 10 business days of the 

Board's written notice of warning status, the 

Board shall schedule a hearing at the next 

available meeting of the Board for which 

appropriate notice can be provided, or at a 

meeting of the Board that is scheduled by 

consent of the parties. 

(5) If a hearing is held at the request of the program 

and the Board determines that the program is 

not in compliance with the rules in this Section, 

the program shall remain on warning status, a 

review by the Board shall be conducted during 

that time and the Board shall either: 

(A) continue the program on warning 

status; or 

(B) withdraw approval, constituting 

program closure consistent with 

Subparagraph (c)(3) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b); 90-171.38; 90-

171.39; 90-171.40; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2016; August 1, 2011; July 3, 2008; 

March 1, 2006; January 1, 2004; June 1, 1992; January 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 
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21 NCAC 36 .0309 PROCESS FOR PROGRAM 

CLOSURE 

(a)  When the controlling institution makes the decision to close a 

nursing program, the Administration of the institution shall 

submit a written plan for the discontinuation of the program to the 

Board and shall include the reasons for program closure, the date 

of intended closure, and a plan for students to complete this or 

another approved program. 

(b)  When the Board closes a nursing program, the program 

director shall, within 30 days, develop and submit a plan for 

discontinuation of the program for Board approval. The plan shall 

address transfer of students to approved programs. 

(c)  The controlling institution shall notify the Board of the 

arrangement for secure storage and access to academic records 

and transcripts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.38; 90-171.39; 90-

171.40; 

Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2016; December 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0317 ADMINISTRATION 

(a)  The controlling institution of a nursing program shall provide 

those human, physical, technical, and financial resources and 

services essential to support program processes and outcomes, 

including those listed in Paragraph (f) and (g) of this Rule, and 

maintain compliance with Section .0300 of this Chapter. 

(b)  The controlling institution shall ensure that a full-time 

registered nurse, qualified pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

has the authority to direct the nursing program. 

(c)  The controlling institution shall ensure that the program 

director has the authority and responsibility for maintaining 

compliance with the Rules in this Chapter and other legal 

requirements in all areas of the program. 

(d)  The controlling institution shall ensure that the program 

director has non-teaching time sufficient to allow for program 

organization, administration, continuous review, planning, and 

development. 

(e)  The program director in a program preparing students for 

initial nurse licensure shall satisfy the following requirements: 

(1) hold an active unencumbered license or 

multistate licensure privilege to practice as a 

registered nurse in North Carolina; 

(2) have two years of full-time experience as a 

faculty member in a Board-approved nursing 

program; 

(3) be experientially qualified, having clinical 

nursing experience, experience as a faculty 

member in a nursing program, and academic or 

nursing leadership experience to lead the 

program to accomplish the mission, goals, and 

expected program outcomes; 

(4) hold either a baccalaureate in nursing or a 

graduate degree in nursing from an accredited 

institution. If newly employed on or after 

January 1, 2016, hold a graduate degree from an 

accredited institution. If newly employed on or 

after January 1, 2021, hold a graduate degree in 

nursing from an accredited institution; 

(5) prior to or within the first three years of 

employment, have education in teaching and 

learning principles for adult education, 

including curriculum development, 

implementation, and evaluation, appropriate to 

the program director role. Once completed, this 

preparation need not be repeated if employing 

organization is changed. This preparation may 

be demonstrated by one of the following: 

(A) completion of 45 contact hours of 

Board-approved continuing education 

courses; 

(B) completion of a certificate program in 

nursing education; 

(C) nine semester hours of graduate course 

work in adult learning and learning 

principles; 

(D) national certification in nursing 

education; or 

(E) documentation of successful 

completion of structured, 

individualized development activities 

of at least 45 contact hours approved 

by the Board. Criteria for approval 

shall include content in the faculty role 

in curriculum implementation, 

curricular objectives to be met and 

evaluated, review of strategies for 

identified student population, and 

expectations of student and faculty 

performance. 

Any registered nurse who was employed as a nurse 

program director for the first time prior to January 1, 

1984 shall be exempt from the requirements in 

Subparagraph (e)(5) of this Rule. 

(6) maintain competence in the areas of assigned 

responsibility; and 

(7) have knowledge of current nursing practice for 

the registered nurse and the licensed practical 

nurse. 

(f)  A nursing education program shall implement, for quality 

improvement, a comprehensive program evaluation that shall 

include the following: 

(1) students' achievement of program outcomes; 

(2) evidence of program resources, including 

fiscal, physical, human, clinical, and technical 

learning resources; student support services; 

and the availability of clinical sites and the 

viability of those sites adequate to meet the 

objectives of the program; 

(3) measures of program outcomes for graduates; 

(4) evidence that accurate program information for 

the public is available; 

(5) evidence that the controlling institution and its 

administration support program outcomes; 

(6) evidence that program director and program 

faculty meet Board qualifications and are 
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sufficient in number to achieve program 

outcomes; 

(7) evidence that the academic institution assures 

security of student information; 

(8) evidence that collected evaluative data is used 

in implementing quality improvement 

activities; and 

(9) evidence of student participation in program 

planning, implementation, evaluation, and 

continuous improvement. 

(g)  The controlling institution and the nursing education program 

shall communicate information describing the nursing education 

program that is accurate, complete, consistent across mediums, 

and accessible by the public. The following shall be accessible to 

all applicants and students: 

(1) admission policies and practices; 

(2) policy on advanced placement and transfer of 

credits; 

(3) the number of credits required for completion 

of the program; 

(4) tuition, fees, and other program costs; 

(5) policies and procedures for withdrawal, 

including refund of tuition or fees; 

(6) the grievance procedure; 

(7) criteria for successful progression in the 

program, including graduation requirements; 

and 

(8) policies for clinical performance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(8); 90-171.38; 

Eff. June 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; April 1, 2008; 

March 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0318 FACULTY 

(a)  All nursing program faculty, including both full-time and part-

time faculty members, shall participate in curriculum 

implementation and evaluation. 

(b)  Policies for nursing program faculty members shall be 

consistent with those for other faculty of the controlling 

institution, with variations as needed due to the nature of the 

nursing curriculum. 

(c)  Fifty percent or more of the nursing faculty shall hold a 

graduate degree. 

(d)  As of January 1, 2021, 80 percent of the full-time faculty shall 

hold a graduate degree in nursing. 

(e)  As of January 1, 2021, 50 percent of the part-time faculty shall 

hold a graduate degree in nursing. 

(f)  All faculty shall hold an active unencumbered license or 

multistate licensure privilege to practice as a registered nurse in 

North Carolina. 

(g)  Nurses licensed pursuant to this Chapter who are full-time and 

part-time faculty and who teach in a program leading to initial 

licensure as a nurse shall: 

(1) hold either a baccalaureate in nursing or a 

graduate degree in nursing from an accredited 

institution; 

(2) have two calendar years or the equivalent of 

full-time clinical experience as a registered 

nurse; 

(3) if newly employed in a full-time faculty 

position on or after January 1, 2016, hold a 

graduate degree from an accredited institution 

or obtain a graduate degree in nursing from an 

accredited institution within five years of initial 

full-time employment; 

(4) prior to or within the first three years of 

employment, have education in teaching and 

learning principles for adult education, 

including curriculum development, 

implementation, and evaluation, appropriate to 

faculty assignment. Once completed, this 

preparation need not be repeated if employing 

organization is changed. This preparation may 

be demonstrated by one of the following: 

(A) completion of 45 contact hours of 

Board-approved continuing education 

courses; 

(B) completion of a certificate program in 

nursing education; 

(C) nine semester hours of graduate course 

work in adult learning and learning 

principles; 

(D) national certification in nursing 

education; or 

(E) documentation of successful 

completion of structured, 

individualized development activities 

of at least 45 contact hours approved 

by the Board. Criteria for approval 

shall include content in the faculty role 

in the curriculum implementation, 

curricular objectives to be met and 

evaluated, review of strategies for 

identified student population, and 

expectations of student and faculty 

performance. 

Any registered nurse who was employed as a nurse 

faculty member or program director prior to January 1, 

1984 shall be exempt from the requirements in 

Subparagraph (g)(4) of this Rule. 

(5) maintain competence in the areas of assigned 

responsibility; and 

(6) have knowledge of current nursing practice for 

the registered nurse and the licensed practical 

nurse. 

(h)  Interdisciplinary faculty who teach in nursing program 

courses shall have academic preparation in the content area they 

are teaching. 

(i)  Clinical preceptors shall have competencies, assessed by the 

nursing program, related to the area of assigned clinical teaching 

responsibilities. Clinical preceptors may be used to enhance 

faculty-directed clinical learning experiences after a student has 

received basic instruction for that specific learning experience. 

Clinical preceptors shall hold an active unencumbered license to 

practice as a registered nurse in North Carolina. 
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(j)  Nurse faculty members shall have the authority and 

responsibility for: 

(1) student admission, progression, and graduation 

requirements; and 

(2) the development, implementation, and 

evaluation of the curriculum. 

(k)  Nurse faculty members shall be academically qualified and 

sufficient in number to implement the curriculum as required by 

the course objectives, the levels of the students, the nature of the 

learning environment, and to provide for teaching, supervision, 

and evaluation. 

(l)  The faculty-student ratio for faculty-directed preceptor clinical 

experiences shall be no greater than 1:15. The faculty-student 

ratio for all other clinical experiences shall be no greater than 

1:10. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(8); 90-171.38; 90-

171.83; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; August 1, 

2011; November 1, 2008; July 1, 2006; July 1, 2000; January 1, 

1996; June 1, 1992; January 1, 1989; January 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0320 STUDENTS 

(a)  Students in nursing programs shall meet requirements 

established by the controlling institution. 

(b)  Admission requirements and practices shall be stated and 

published in the controlling institution's publications and shall 

include assessment of the student's: 

(1) record of high school graduation, high school 

equivalent, or earned credits from a post-

secondary institution; 

(2) achievement potential through the use of 

previous academic records and pre-entrance 

examination cut-off scores that are consistent 

with curriculum demands and scholastic 

expectations; and 

(3) physical and emotional health that is indicative 

of the applicant's ability to provide competent 

nursing care to the public. 

(c)  The number of students enrolled in nursing courses shall not 

exceed by more than 10 students the maximum number approved 

by the Board, as established pursuant to 21 NCAC 36 .0302(f) and 

21 NCAC 36 .0321(k). 

(d)  The nursing program shall publish policies in a nursing 

student handbook and college catalog that provide for 

identification and dismissal of students who: 

(1) present physical or emotional problems that 

conflict with the safety essential to nursing 

practice and do not respond to treatment or 

counseling within a timeframe that enables 

meeting program objectives; 

(2) demonstrate behavior that conflicts with the 

safety essential to nursing practice; or 

(3) fail to demonstrate professional behavior, 

including honesty, integrity, and appropriate 

use of social media, while in the nursing 

program of study. 

(e)  The nursing program shall maintain a three-year average at or 

above 95 percent of the national pass rate for licensure level pass 

rate on first writing of the licensure examination for calendar 

years ending December 31. 

(f)  The controlling institution shall publish policies in a nursing 

student handbook and college catalog for transfer of credits or for 

admission to advanced placement, and the nursing program shall 

determine the total number of nursing courses or credits awarded 

for advanced placement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(8); 90-171.38; 90-

171.43; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2016; January 1, 2006; August 1, 

1998; January 1, 1996; June 1, 1992; January 1, 1989; January 

1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0321 CURRICULUM 

(a)  The nursing program curriculum shall: 

(1) be planned by nursing program faculty; 

(2) reflect the stated program philosophy, 

purposes, and objectives, pursuant to 21 NCAC 

36 .0302(a)(2); 

(3) be consistent with Article 9A of G.S. 90 and the 

Rules in this Chapter governing the practice of 

nursing; 

(4) define the level of performance required to pass 

each course in the curriculum; 

(5) enable a student to develop the nursing 

knowledge, skills, and abilities necessary for 

competent practice consistent with the level of 

licensure and scope as set forth in 21 NCAC 36 

.0221, .0224, .0225, and .0231; 

(6) include content in the biological, physical, 

social, and behavioral sciences to provide a 

foundation for competent and effective nursing 

practice; 

(7) provide students the opportunity to acquire and 

demonstrate, through didactic content and 

clinical experience under faculty supervision, 

the knowledge, skills, and abilities required for 

effective and competent nursing practice across 

the lifespan; and 

(8) be revised as necessary to reflect changes and 

advances in health care and its delivery. 

(b)  Didactic content and supervised clinical experience across the 

lifespan appropriate to program type shall include: 

(1) implementing safety principles and practices 

minimizing the risk of harm to clients and 

providers through both system effectiveness 

and individual performance; 

(2) using informatics to communicate, manage 

knowledge, mitigate error, and support decision 

making; 

(3) employing evidence-based practice to integrate 

the best research with clinical expertise and 

client values for optimal care, including skills 
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to identify and apply best practices to nursing 

care; 

(4) providing client-centered, culturally competent 

care by: 

(A) respecting client differences, values, 

preferences, and expressed needs; 

(B) involving clients in decision-making 

and care management; 

(C) coordinating and managing 

continuous client care consistent with 

the level of licensure. This shall 

include a demonstrated ability to 

supervise others and provide 

leadership within the profession 

appropriate for program type; and 

(D) promoting healthy lifestyles for clients 

and populations; 

(5) working in interdisciplinary teams to cooperate, 

collaborate, communicate, and integrate client 

care and health promotion; and 

(6) participating in quality improvement processes 

to measure client outcomes, identify hazards 

and errors, and develop changes in client care. 

(c)  Clinical experience shall be comprised of sufficient hours to 

accomplish the curriculum, shall be supervised by qualified 

faculty pursuant to 21 NCAC 36 .0318, and shall ensure students' 

ability to practice at an entry level. 

(d)  All student clinical experiences, including those with 

preceptors, shall be directed by nursing faculty. 

(e)  A focused client care experience with a minimum of 120 hours 

shall be provided in the final year of curriculum implementation 

for programs preparing registered nurses. 

(f)  A focused client care experience with a minimum of 90 hours 

shall be provided in the final semester of the curriculum for 

programs preparing practical nurses. 

(g)  Learning experiences and methods of instruction, including 

distance education methods, shall be consistent with the written 

curriculum plan and shall demonstrate logical curricular 

progression. 

(h)  Objectives for each course shall indicate the knowledge, 

skills, and abilities expected for competent student performance. 

These objectives shall: 

(1) indicate the relationship between the classroom 

learning and the application of this learning in 

the clinical experience; 

(2) serve as criteria for the selection of the types of 

and settings for learning experiences; and 

(3) serve as the basis for evaluating student 

performance. 

(i)  Student course syllabi shall include a description and outline 

of: 

(1) the course content; 

(2) the learning environments and activities; 

(3) when the course is taken in the curriculum; 

(4) allocation of time for didactic content, clinical 

experience, laboratory experience, and 

simulation; and 

(5) methods of evaluation of student performance, 

including all evaluation tools used in the course. 

(j)  Each course shall be implemented in accordance with and 

evaluated by reference to the student course syllabus. 

(k)  Requests for approval of changes in, or expansion of, the 

program, accompanied by all required documentation, shall be 

submitted in the format provided by the Board at least 30 days 

prior to implementation for approval by the Board. Criteria for 

approval shall include the availability of classrooms, laboratories, 

clinical placements, equipment, and supplies and faculty 

sufficient to implement the curriculum to an increased number of 

students. Approval shall be required for any increase in 

enrollment that exceeds, by more than 10 students, the maximum 

number approved by the Board. Requests for expansion shall be 

considered only for programs with full approval status that 

demonstrate at least a three-year average licensure examination 

pass rate equal to or greater than the North Carolina three-year 

average pass rate for program type. 

(l)  The nursing education program shall notify the Board at least 

30 days prior to implementation of: 

(1) alternative or additional program schedules; 

(2) planned decrease in the Board-approved 

student enrollment number to accurately reflect 

program capacity; and 

(3) changes that alter the currently approved 

curriculum. 

(m)  For all programs using simulation experiences substituted for 

clinical experience time, the nursing education program shall: 

(1) demonstrate that simulation faculty have been 

formally educated and maintain the 

competencies in simulation and debriefing; and 

(2) provide a simulation environment with 

adequate faculty, space, equipment, and 

supplies that simulate realistic clinical 

experiences to meet the curriculum and course 

objectives. 

(n)  Programs not holding national nursing accreditation shall 

limit simulation experiences to no more than 25 percent in each 

course, including the focused client care experience. 

(o)  Programs holding national nursing accreditation shall limit 

simulation experiences to: 

(1) no more than 25 percent in the focused client 

care experience; and 

(2) no more than 50 percent of clinical experience 

time in each course. 

(p)  External standardized examinations shall not be used to 

determine a student's progression or graduation in a nursing 

education program preparing students for initial nurse licensure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(8); 90-171.38; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1992; January 1, 1989; January 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 11, 2001; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2016; December 1, 2005; August 1, 

2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0322 FACILITIES 

(a)  Campus facilities shall be appropriate in type, number, and 

accessibility for the total needs of the program. 
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(b)  Classrooms, laboratory and simulation space, and conference 

rooms shall be sufficient in size, number, and types for the number 

of students and purposes for which the rooms are to be used. 

Lighting, ventilation, location, and equipment shall be suitable for 

the number of students and purposes for which the rooms are to 

be used. 

(c)  Office and conference space for nursing program faculty 

members shall be appropriate and available for uninterrupted 

work and privacy, including conferences with students. 

(d)  Learning resources, including clinical experiences, shall be 

comprehensive, current, developed with nursing faculty input, 

accessible to students and faculty and shall support the 

implementation of the curriculum. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(8); 90-171.38; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; June 1, 1992; January 1, 1989; 

May 1, 1988; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 11, 2001; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2016; April 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0323 RECORDS AND REPORTS 

(a)  The controlling institution's publications describing the 

nursing program shall be current and accurate. 

(b)  The controlling institution shall maintain a system for 

maintaining official records. Current and permanent student 

records shall be stored in a secure manner that prevents physical 

damage and unauthorized access. 

(c)  Both permanent and current records shall be available for 

review by Board staff. 

(d)  The official permanent record for each graduate shall include 

documentation of graduation from the program and a transcript of 

the individual's achievement in the program. 

(e)  The record for each currently enrolled student shall contain 

up-to-date and complete information, including the following: 

(1) documentation of admission criteria met by the 

student; 

(2) documentation of high school graduation, high 

school equivalent, or earned credits from 

post-secondary institution approved pursuant to 

G.S. 90-171.38(a); and 

(3) a transcript of credit hours achieved in the 

classroom, laboratory, and clinical instruction 

for each course that reflects progression 

consistent with program policies. 

(f)  The nursing program shall file with the Board records, data, 

and reports in order to furnish information concerning operation 

of the program as prescribed in the rules in this Section, including: 

(1) an annual report to be filed with the Board by 

November 1 of each year; 

(2) a program description report for non-accredited 

programs filed with the Board at least 30 days 

prior to a scheduled review by the Board; and 

(3) notification by institution administration of any 

change of the nursing program director. This 

notification shall include a curriculum vitae for 

the new director and shall be submitted no later 

than 10 business days before the effective date 

of the change. 

(g)  All communications relevant to accreditation shall be 

submitted to the Board at the same time that the communications 

are submitted to the accrediting body. 

(h)  The Board may require additional records and reports for 

review at any time to provide evidence and substantiate 

compliance with the rules in this Section by a program and its 

controlling institutions. 

(i)  The part of the application for licensure by examination to be 

submitted to the Board by the nursing program shall include a 

statement verifying satisfactory completion of all requirements 

for graduation and the date of completion. The nursing program 

director shall verify completion of requirements to the Board no 

later than one month following completion of the Board-approved 

nursing program. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.23(b)(8); 90-171.38; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; December 1, 

2005; January 1, 2004; June 1, 1992; January 1, 1989; January 

1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0401 ROLES OF UNLICENSED 

PERSONNEL 

(a)  Definitions. As used in Section .0400: 

(1) "Nursing care activities" means activities 

performed by unlicensed personnel that are 

delegated by licensed nurses in accordance with 

paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule. 

(2) "Patient care activities" means activities 

performed by unlicensed personnel if health 

care needs are incidental to the personal care 

required. 

(b)  The Board, as authorized by G.S. 90-171.23(b)(1)(2)(3), shall 

determine those nursing care activities that may be delegated to 

unlicensed personnel. The registered and licensed practical nurse, 

in accordance with 21 NCAC 36 .0224 and .0225 and G.S. 90-

171.20(7)(8), may delegate nursing care activities to unlicensed 

personnel, regardless of title, that are appropriate to the level of 

knowledge, skill, and validated competence of the unlicensed 

personnel. 

(c)  Those nursing care activities that may be delegated to 

unlicensed personnel shall be determined by the following 

variables: 

(1) knowledge and skills of the unlicensed 

personnel; 

(2) verification of clinical competence of the 

unlicensed personnel by a registered nurse 

employed by the agency. 

(3) stability of the client's condition, which 

involves predictability, absence of risk of 

complication, and rate of change, and which 

excludes delegation of nursing care activities 

that do not meet the requirements defined in 21 

NCAC 36 .0221(b); 

(4) the variables in each service setting, which 

include: 
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(A) the complexity and frequency of 

nursing care needed by a given client 

population in the practice setting in 

which the nurse practices; 

(B) the proximity of clients to staff in the 

practice setting in which the nurse 

practices; 

(C) the number and qualifications of staff 

in the practice setting in which the 

nurse practices; 

(D) the accessible resources; and 

(E) established policies, procedures, 

practices, and channels of 

communication that lend support to 

the types of nursing activities being 

delegated, or not delegated, to 

unlicensed personnel in the practice 

setting in which the nurse practices. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.20(2)(4)(7)d.,e.,g.; 

90-171.43(4); 90-171.55; 42 U.S.C.S. 1395i-3 (1987); 

Eff. March 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1995; October 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0402 COORDINATION WITH 

DIVISION OF HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION  

(a)  The Board shall accept nurse aide Is listed on the Division of 

Health Service Regulation (DHSR) maintained Nurse Aide 

Registry as meeting the requirements of 21 NCAC 36 .0403(a). 

(b)  The Board shall acquire information from DHSR regarding 

all qualified nurse aide Is. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.20(2)(4)(7)d.,e.,g.; 

90-171.43(4); 90-171.55; 

42 U.S.C.S. 1395i-3 (1987); 

Eff. March 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; December 1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0403 QUALIFICATIONS 

(a)  A nurse aide I shall perform basic nursing skills and personal 

care activities after successfully completing an approved nurse 

aide I training and competency evaluation or equivalent as 

approved by the Division of Health Service Regulation (DHSR). 

A licensed nurse shall delegate these activities only after 

considering the variables defined in Rule .0401(b) and (c) of this 

Section. Pursuant to G.S. 90-171.55, no individual may function 

as a nurse aide I, regardless of title, providing nursing care 

activities, as identified in Rule .0401(a) of this Section, to clients 

or residents unless: 

(1) the individual has successfully completed, in 

addition to an orientation program specific to 

the employing facility, a State-approved nurse 

aide I training and competency evaluation 

program or its equivalent; or a State-approved 

competency evaluation program and the 

employing facility or agency has verified listing 

on the Division of Health Service Regulation 

Nurse Aide Registry (DHSR Nurse Aide 

Registry); or 

(2) the employing agency or facility has assured 

that the individual is enrolled in a State-

approved nurse aide I training and competency 

evaluation program that the individual will 

successfully complete within four months of 

employment date. During the four month 

period, the individual shall be assigned only 

tasks for which they have demonstrated 

competence and that they perform under 

supervision. 

(b)  A nurse aide II shall perform more complex nursing skills 

with emphasis on sterile technique in elimination, oxygenation, 

and nutrition after successful completion of a Board-approved 

nurse aide II training and competency evaluation program. A 

licensed nurse shall delegate these activities to the nurse aide II 

only after consideration of the variables described in Rule 

.0401(b) and (c) of this Section. Pursuant to G.S. 90-171.55, no 

individual may function as a nurse aide II unless: 

(1) the individual has successfully completed, in 

addition to an orientation program specific to 

the employing agency, a Board-approved nurse 

aide II course according to these Rules or its 

equivalent as identified by the Board; 

(2) the individual is listed as a nurse aide I on the 

DHSR Nurse Aide Registry with no 

substantiated findings of abuse, neglect, 

exploitation, mistreatment, diversion of drugs, 

fraud, or misappropriation of client or 

employing facility property listed on the DHSR 

Nurse Aide Registry and/or on the NC Health 

Care Personnel Registry; and 

(3) the employing facility or agency has inquired of 

the Board as to information in the Board of 

Nursing Nurse Aide II Registry concerning the 

individual and confirms with the Board that the 

individual is listed on the Board Nurse Aide II 

Registry as a nurse aide II. 

(c)  Listing on a Nurse Aide Registry is not required if the care is 

performed by clients themselves, their families or significant 

others, or by caretakers who provide personal care to individuals 

whose health care needs are incidental to the personal care 

required. 

(d)  Pursuant to G.S. 131E-114.2 and G.S. 131E-270, a medication 

aide shall be limited to performing technical aspects of medication 

administration, consistent with Rule .0401(b) and (c) of this 

Section, Rule .0221 of this Chapter, and only after: 

(1) successful completion of a Board-approved 

medication aide training program; 

(2) successful completion of a State-approved 

competency evaluation program; and 

(3) listing on the Medication Aide Registry. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.20(2)(4)(7)d.,e.,g.; 

90-171.43(4); 90-171.55; 90-171.56; 131E-114.2; 131E-270; 

42U.S.C.S. 1395i-3 (1987); 

Eff. March 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 11, 1989 For a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on April 6, 1990; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2006; December 1, 1995; March 1, 

1990; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0404 LISTING AND RENEWAL 

(a)  All nurse aide IIs, as defined in Rule .0403(b) of this Section 

regardless of working title, employed or assigned in a service 

agency or facility for the purpose of providing nursing care 

activities shall be listed on the Board of Nursing Nurse Aide II 

Registry and shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) successful completion of a Board-approved 

nurse aide II course or its Board-approved 

equivalent; 

(2) High School or High School Equivalency 

Diploma; 

(3) current listing as a nurse aide I on the DHSR 

Nurse Aide I Registry with no substantiated 

findings of abuse, neglect, exploitation, 

mistreatment, diversion of drugs, fraud, or 

misappropriation of client or employing facility 

property as recorded on the DHSR Nurse Aide 

I Registry or on the NC Health Care Personnel 

Registry; and 

(4) submission and approval of an application to 

the Board for placement on the Board of 

Nursing Nurse Aide II Registry prior to 

working as a nurse aide II. 

The application shall be submitted with the required fee within 30 

business days of completion of the nurse aide II course. Initial 

listing by the Board shall expire on the last day of the applicant's 

birth month of the following year. 

(b)  Nursing students currently enrolled in Board-approved 

nursing courses desiring listing as a nurse aide II shall submit: 

(1) an application and application fee; 

(2) current listing as a nurse aide I on the DHSR 

Nurse Aide I Registry with no substantiated 

findings of abuse, neglect, exploitation, 

mistreatment, diversion of drugs, fraud, or 

misappropriation of client or employing facility 

property as recorded on the DHSR Nurse Aide 

I Registry or on the NC Health Care Personnel 

Registry; and 

(3) verification completed by the nursing program 

director indicating successful completion of 

course work equivalent in content, clinical 

hours, and skill competency validation for that 

required of a nurse aide II. 

(c)  Registered nurses and licensed practical nurses who hold 

active, unencumbered licenses to practice in North Carolina may 

make application as a nurse aide II. 

(d)  An individual previously enrolled in a Board-approved 

nursing program leading to licensure a registered nurse or licensed 

practical nurse may list as a nurse aide II with no additional testing 

provided the student withdrew from school in good standing 

within the last 24 months and completed the equivalent content, 

clinical hours, and skills competency validation. Such individual 

shall submit an application as described in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. If the student was in good standing upon withdrawal from 

the school and withdrew from the school in excess of 24 months, 

the student shall successfully complete an entire nurse aide II 

course prior to being listed as a nurse aide II. 

(e)  Individuals who have completed a training course equivalent 

in content, clinical hours, and skills competency validation to the 

nurse aide II course may submit documentation of the same to the 

Board for review. If training is equivalent, the individual may 

submit the application with required fee and be listed on the Board 

of Nursing Nurse Aide Registry as a nurse aide II. 

(f)  An employing agency or facility may choose up to four nurse 

aide II tasks to be performed by nurse aide I personnel without the 

nurse aide I completing the entire nurse aide II course. These tasks 

shall be individual activities that may be performed after the nurse 

aide I has received Board-approved training and competency 

evaluation using nurse aide II education modules as defined in 

Rule .0403(b) of this Section. 

(1) The agency or facility shall be limited to 

selecting and implementing a maximum of four 

nurse aide II tasks for use throughout each 

agency or facility. 

(2) A nurse aide I who is trained and evaluated as 

competent to perform these limited nurse aide 

II tasks shall perform these tasks only in the 

specific agency or facility where the training 

and competency validation were completed; 

performance of these tasks by the nurse aide I 

shall not transfer to another healthcare setting. 

(3) Documentation of the training and competency 

evaluation shall be maintained for each nurse 

aide I who is approved to perform these nurse 

aide II tasks within the agency or facility. 

(g)  Each nurse aide II shall renew listing with the Board 

biennially on or before the listing period expiration date. The 

renewal application, posted on the Board's website at 

www.ncbon.com, shall be accompanied by the required fee. 

(1) After the nurse aide II listing expires, it will not 

be renewed unless the nurse aide II successfully 

passes a Board-approved competency 

evaluation or successfully completes an entire 

Board-approved nurse aide II course. 

(2) To be eligible for renewal, the nurse aide II 

shall have worked at least eight hours for 

compensation during the past 24 months 

performing nursing care activities under the 

supervision of a registered nurse. 

(3) Any nurse aide II who has had a continuous 

period of 24 months during which no nursing 

care activities were performed for monetary 

compensation but who has performed patient 

care activities for monetary compensation shall 

successfully complete the competency 

evaluation portion of the nurse aide II course 

and submit a renewal application and fee in 
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order to be renewed on the Board of Nursing 

Nurse Aide II Registry. 

(4) A nurse aide II who has performed no nursing 

care or patient care activities for monetary 

compensation within the past 24 months shall 

successfully complete a Board-approved nurse 

aide II course prior to submitting the 

application for renewal. 

(5) A nurse aide II who has substantiated findings 

of abuse, neglect, exploitation, mistreatment, 

diversion of drugs, fraud, or misappropriation 

of client or employing facility property as 

recorded on the DHSR Nurse Aide I Registry or 

the NC Health Care Personnel Registry shall 

not be eligible for renewal as a nurse aide II. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.19; 90-

171.20(2)(4)(7)d,e,g; 90-171.37; 90-171.43(4); 90-171.55; 90-

171.83; 42 U.S.C.S. 1395i-3 (1987); 

Eff. March 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; November 1, 2008; August 1, 2005; 

August 1, 2002; July 1, 2000; December 1, 1995; April 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0405 APPROVAL OF NURSE AIDE 

EDUCATION COURSES 

(a)  The Board shall accept nurse aide I courses that are approved 

by DHSR. 

(b)  The Board shall approve nurse aide II courses. Nurse aide II 

courses may be offered by a State-licensed individual, agency, or 

educational institution after the course is approved by the Board. 

(1) Each entity desiring to offer a nurse aide II 

course shall submit a course approval 

application 60 days prior to offering the course. 

It shall include documentation of the following 

standards: 

(A) the students shall be taught and 

supervised by qualified faculty as 

defined in Subparagraph (b)(3) of this 

Rule; 

(B) the clinical-experience faculty to 

student ratio shall not exceed 1:10; 

(C) the selection and utilization of clinical 

facilities shall support the course 

curriculum as outlined in 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule; 

(D) a written contract shall exist between 

the course provider and clinical 

facility prior to student clinical 

experience in the facility; 

(E) admission requirements shall include: 

(i) successful completion of 

nurse aide I training course or 

DHSR-established 

equivalent and current nurse 

aide I listing on DHSR 

Registry;  

(ii) High School or High School 

Equivalency diploma; and 

(iii) other admission 

requirements as identified by 

the course provider; and 

(F) a procedure for timely processing and 

disposition of course and student 

complaints shall be established. 

(2) Nurse aide II courses shall include a minimum 

of 80 hours of theory and 80 hours of clinical 

instruction, supervised by a Board-approved 

registered nurse faculty, consistent with the 

nurse aide II curriculum as defined by the Board 

in Rule .0403(b) of this Section. Changes made 

by the Board in the nurse aide II course shall be 

published in the Bulletin and posted on the 

Board's website at www.ncbon.com. A nurse 

aide II education course shall not use simulation 

as a substitute for the required 80 hours of 

clinical experience. Competency validation of 

up to three required nurse aide II skills shall be 

permitted in the simulated laboratory 

environment if validation of such skills is not 

available in the clinical experience site. 

(3) Minimum competency and qualifications for 

faculty for the nurse aide II courses shall 

include: 

(A) an active unencumbered license to 

practice as a registered nurse in North 

Carolina; 

(B) at least two years of direct patient care 

experiences as a registered nurse; and 

(C) experience teaching adult learners. 

(4) Each nurse aide II course shall furnish the 

Board with records, data, and reports requested 

by the Board that provide information 

concerning the operation of the course and all 

individuals who attended the course within the 

past five years. 

(5) When an approved nurse aide II course closes, 

the Board shall be notified in writing by the 

course. The Board shall be informed as to the 

permanent storage of student records. 

(6) A Board-approved nurse aide II course that will 

provide nurse aide II competency evaluation 

shall obtain Board approval prior to offering 

competency evaluation. 

(A) Board-approved nurse aide II course 

shall be in full approval status for at 

least one year prior to submitting an 

application to provide nurse aide II 

competency evaluation; and 

(B) full approval course status shall be 

maintained to provide nurse aide II 

competency evaluation. 

(c)  An annual course report shall be submitted by the course 

director to the Board in a Board-approved format by March 31 of 

each year. Failure to submit an annual report shall result in 

administrative action affecting approval status as described in 

Paragraphs (e) and (f) of this Rule. 
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(d)  Complaints regarding nurse aide II courses shall result in an 

on-site survey by the Board if necessary to resolve the complaint. 

(e)  Approval status shall be determined by the Board using the 

annual course report, survey report, and other data submitted by 

the program, agencies, or students. The determination shall result 

in full approval or approval with stipulations. 

(f)  If stipulations have not been met as specified by the Board, a 

hearing shall be held by the Board regarding course approval 

status. A course may continue to operate while awaiting the 

hearing before the Board; however, in the case of summary 

suspension of approval as authorized by G.S. 150B-3(c), the 

course shall immediately cease operation. 

(1) When a hearing is scheduled, the Board shall 

cause notice to be served on the course and shall 

specify a date for the hearing, to be held not less 

than 20 days from the date on which notice is 

given. 

(2) If evidence presented at hearing shows that the 

course is complying with all federal and State 

law, including the rules in this Section, the 

Board shall assign the course full approval 

status. 

(3) If evidence presented at hearing shows that the 

course is not complying with all federal and 

State law, including the rules in this Section, the 

Board shall withdraw approval. 

(A) This action shall constitute 

discontinuance of the course. 

(B) The parent institution shall present a 

plan to the Board for transfer of 

students to approved courses or shall 

fully refund tuition paid by the 

student. Closure shall take place after 

the transfer of students to approved 

courses within a time frame 

established by the Board. 

(C) The parent institution shall notify the 

Board of the arrangements for storage 

of permanent records. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.20(2)(4)(7)d.,e.,g.; 90-

171.39; 90-171.40; 90-171.43(4); 90-171.55; 90-171.83; 42 

U.S.C.S. 1395i-3 (1987); 

Eff. March 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; April 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; 

July 1, 2000; December 1, 1995; March 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0406 MEDICATION AIDE TRAINING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Faculty for the medication aide training program shall: 

(1) have an active, unencumbered license to 

practice as a registered nurse in North Carolina; 

(2) have had at least two years of practice 

experience as a registered nurse that includes 

medication administration; 

(3) have successfully completed an instructor 

training program approved by the Board 

according to these Rules; and 

(4) maintain Board certification as a medication 

aide instructor. 

(b)  A medication aide instructor certification shall be renewed 

every two years provided the following requirements are met: 

(1) the individual has taught at least one medication 

aide training program within the preceding two 

years; and 

(2) the individual has reviewed program changes 

approved by the Board and posted on the 

Board's website at www.ncbon.com. 

(c)  An applicant for a medication aide training program approved 

by the Board shall have a high school diploma or High School 

Equivalency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.56; 131E-114.2; 131E-

270; 

Eff. September 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0502 NAME OF PROFESSIONAL 

CORPORATION 

In addition to the provisions of G.S. 55B, the Professional 

Corporation Act, the name of a professional corporation that 

provides nursing care and related services shall not include any 

adjectives or words not in accordance with ethical customs of the 

nursing profession as defined by the American Nurses 

Association code of ethics and shall not be false or misleading. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-5; 55B-12; 90-171.43; 

Eff. March 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0503 PREREQUISITES FOR 

INCORPORATION 

The following requirements must be met in order to incorporate a 

professional corporation that will provide nursing and related 

services in this State: 

(1) The incorporator, whether one or more, of a 

professional corporation shall be licensed to 

practice nursing in North Carolina as a 

registered nurse. 

(2) Before the filing of the articles of incorporation 

with the Secretary of State, the incorporators 

shall file, with the Board, the original articles of 

incorporation, plus a copy, together with a 

registration fee in the maximum allowable 

amount set forth in G.S. 55B-10. 

(3) The original articles of incorporation and the 

copy shall be accompanied by an application to 

the Board, certified by all incorporators, setting 

forth the names, addresses, and certificate 

numbers of each shareholder of the corporation 

who will be practicing nursing for the 

corporation. 

(4) Included with the above shall be a statement 

that each shareholder of the corporation who 
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will be practicing nursing for the corporation is 

licensed to practice nursing in North Carolina 

as registered nurses, and stating that the 

corporation will be conducted in compliance 

with the Professional Corporation Act and these 

Rules. 

(5) If the articles are changed in any manner before 

being filed with the Secretary of State, they 

shall be re-submitted to the Board and shall not 

be filed with the Secretary of State until 

approved by the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-4; 55B-10; 55B-12; 

90-171.20(6); 

Eff. March 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0504 CERTIFICATE OF 

REGISTRATION 

The Certificate of Registration shall be issued as follows: 

(1) The Board shall issue a certificate of 

registration for the professional corporation to 

become effective only after the professional 

corporation files the articles of incorporation 

with the Secretary of State and if: 

(a) no disciplinary action is pending 

before the Board against any of the 

licensed incorporators or individuals 

who will be directors, officers, or 

shareholders of such corporation; and 

(b) such corporation will be conducted in 

compliance with the Professional 

Corporations Act and the rules in this 

Subchapter. 

(2) The proposed original articles of incorporation 

and the certificate of registration, shall be 

returned to the incorporators for filing with the 

Secretary of State. A copy of the articles of 

incorporation and a copy of the certificate of 

registration shall be retained in the Board 

office. If the required findings are not made, the 

registration fee shall be refunded to the 

incorporators. 

(3) The initial certificate of registration shall 

remain in effect until December 31 of the year 

in which it was issued, unless suspended or 

terminated as provided by law. The certificate 

of registration shall be renewed annually 

thereafter. 

(4) At least 20 days prior to the date of expiration 

of the certificate of registration, the 

professional corporation shall submit its written 

application for renewal on a form provided by 

the Board, along with a renewal fee in the 

maximum allowable amount set forth in G.S. 

55B-10. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-12; 90-171.20(6); 90-

171.23; 

Eff. April 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0505 GENERAL AND 

ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS 

The following general provisions shall apply to a professional 

corporation that will provide nursing and related services in this 

State: 

(1) If the Board declines to issue a Certificate of 

Registration required by 21 NCAC 36 .0504, 

declines to renew the same after properly 

requested, or refuses to take any other required 

action, the aggrieved party may request, in 

writing, a review of such action by the Board, 

and the Board shall provide a formal hearing for 

such aggrieved party before a majority of the 

Board. 

(2) All amendments to charters of professional 

corporations, all merger and consolidation 

agreements to which a professional corporation 

is a party, and all dissolution proceedings and 

similar changes in the corporate structure of a 

professional corporation shall be filed with the 

Board for approval before being filed with the 

Secretary of State. A true copy of the changes 

filed with the Secretary of State shall be filed 

with the Board within 10 days after filing with 

the Secretary of State. 

(3) The Board is authorized to issue the certificate 

required by G.S. 55B-6 if stock is transferred in 

a professional corporation, and such certificate 

shall be permanently attached to the stub of the 

transferee's certificate in the stock book of the 

professional corporation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-6; 55B-12; 90-171.23; 

Eff. April 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0506 FORMS 

The following forms regarding professional corporations shall be 

posted on the Board's website at www.ncbon.com: 

(1) Certificate of Incorporator(s) and Application 

for a Certificate of Registration for a 

Professional Corporation; 

(2) Certificate of Registration of a Professional 

Corporation for the Purpose of Providing 

Nursing Related Services; 

(3) Application for Renewal of Certificate of 

Registration; and 
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(4) Certificate Authorizing Transfer of Stock in 

Professional Corporation Organized to Provide 

Nursing Related Services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-12; 90-171.23; 

Eff. March 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0507 FEES 

The registration and renewal fees for a professional corporation 

shall be the maximum allowable amount under G.S. 55B-10 and 

G.S. 55B-11. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-10; 55B-11; 55B-12; 

Eff. April 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0601 NAME OF PROFESSIONAL 

LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY 

In addition to the provisions of G.S. 57D, the North Carolina 

Limited Liability Compact Act, the name of a limited liability 

company that provides nursing and related services shall not 

include any adjectives or other words not in accordance with 

ethical customs of the nursing profession as defined by the 

American Nurses Association code of ethics and shall not be false 

or misleading. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-10; 57D-2-02; 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0602 PREREQUISITES FOR 

ORGANIZATION 

(a)  The organizing members shall submit the following 

requirements to the Board prior to filing the articles of 

organization: 

(1) a certificate, certified by those registered nurses 

who are organizing members, setting forth the 

names, addresses, and license numbers of each 

individual who will be employed by the 

professional limited liability company to 

practice nursing and related services as 

specified in G.S. 55B14(c)(2), (4)-(6), stating 

that all such individuals are duly licensed to 

practice nursing in North Carolina, and 

representing that the company will be 

conducted in compliance with North Carolina 

Limited Liability Company Act and the rules in 

this Subchapter; and 

(2) a registration fee in the maximum allowable 

amount set forth in G.S. 55D. 

(b)  A certification that each of those organizing members who 

may provide nursing and related services as specified in G.S. 55B-

14(c)(2), (4)-(6) is licensed to practice nursing in North Carolina 

shall be returned to the professional limited liability company for 

filing with the Secretary of State. 

(c)  If the articles are changed in any manner before being filed 

with the Secretary of State, they shall be re-submitted to the Board 

and shall not be filed with the Secretary of State until approved 

by the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-4; 55B-10; 55B-12; 55B-

14; 57D-2-01; 57D-2-02; 90-171.23; 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0603 CERTIFICATE OF 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  A certificate of registration for a Professional Limited 

Liability Company shall remain effective until December 31 of 

the year in which it was issued unless suspended or terminated as 

provided by law. 

(b)  A certificate of registration shall be renewed annually on 

application forms supplied by the Board. The application shall be 

accompanied by the maximum allowable renewal fee as set forth 

in G.S. 57D. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-10; 55B-11; 57D-2-01; 

57D-2-02; 90-171.23; 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0604 GENERAL AND 

ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS 

The Board shall issue the certificate authorizing transfer of 

membership if membership is transferred in the company. This 

transfer form shall be permanently retained by the company. The 

membership books of the company shall be kept at the principal 

office of the company and shall be subject to inspection by 

authorized agents of the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D; 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0605 FEES 

The fee for both an initial Certificate of Registration and renewal 

is the maximum allowable fee as set forth in G.S. 57D. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-10; 55B-11; 57D; 90-

171.23; 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 
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Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0801 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to this Section: 

(1) "Approval to Practice" means authorization by 

the Medical Board and the Board of Nursing for 

a nurse practitioner to perform medical acts 

within her or his area of educational preparation 

and certification under a collaborative practice 

agreement (CPA) with a licensed physician in 

accordance with this Section. 

(2) "Back-up Supervising Physician" means the 

licensed physician who, by signing an 

agreement with the nurse practitioner and the 

primary supervising physician(s) shall provide 

supervision, collaboration, consultation and 

evaluation of medical acts by the nurse 

practitioner in accordance with the 

collaborative practice agreement when the 

Primary Supervising Physician is not available. 

Back-up supervision shall be in compliance 

with the following: 

(a) The signed and dated agreements for 

each back-up supervising physician(s) 

shall be maintained at each practice 

site. 

(b) A physician in a graduate medical 

education program, whether fully 

licensed or holding only a resident's 

training license, shall not be named as 

a back-up supervising physician. 

(c) A fully licensed physician in a 

graduate medical education program 

who is also practicing in a non-training 

situation and has a signed 

collaborative practice agreement with 

the nurse practitioner and the primary 

supervising physician may be a back-

up supervising physician for a nurse 

practitioner in the non-training 

situation. 

(3) "Board of Nursing" means the North Carolina 

Board of Nursing. 

(4) "Collaborative practice agreement" means the 

arrangement for nurse practitioner-physician 

continuous availability to each other for 

ongoing supervision, consultation, 

collaboration, referral and evaluation of care 

provided by the nurse practitioner. 

(5) "Disaster" means a state of disaster as defined 

in G.S. 166A-4(1a) and proclaimed by the 

Governor, or by the General Assembly pursuant 

to G.S. 166A-6. 

(6) "Joint Subcommittee" means the subcommittee 

composed of members of the Board of Nursing 

and members of the Medical Board to whom 

responsibility is given by G.S. 90-8.2 and G.S. 

90-171.23(b)(14) to develop rules to govern the 

performance of medical acts by nurse 

practitioners in North Carolina. 

(7) "Medical Board" means the North Carolina 

Medical Board. 

(8) "National Credentialing Body" means one of 

the following credentialing bodies that offers 

certification and re-certification in the nurse 

practitioner's specialty area of practice: 

(a) American Nurses Credentialing 

Center (ANCC); 

(b) American Academy of Nurse 

Practitioners (AANP); 

(c) American Association of Critical Care 

Nurses Certification Corporation 

(AACN); 

(d) National Certification Corporation of 

the Obstetric Gynecologic and 

Neonatal Nursing Specialties (NCC); 

and 

(e) the Pediatric Nursing Certification 

Board (PNCB). 

(9) "Nurse Practitioner" or "NP" means a currently 

licensed registered nurse approved to perform 

medical acts consistent with the nurse's area of 

nurse practitioner academic educational 

preparation and national certification under an 

agreement with a licensed physician for 

ongoing supervision, consultation, 

collaboration and evaluation of the medical acts 

performed. Such medical acts are in addition to 

those nursing acts performed by virtue of 

registered nurse (RN) licensure. The NP is held 

accountable under the RN license for those 

nursing acts that he or she may perform. 

(10) "Primary Supervising Physician" means the 

licensed physician who shall provide ongoing 

supervision, collaboration, consultation and 

evaluation of the medical acts performed by the 

nurse practitioner as defined in the 

collaborative practice agreement. Supervision 

shall be in compliance with the following: 

(a) The primary supervising physician 

shall assure both Boards that the nurse 

practitioner is qualified to perform 

those medical acts described in the 

collaborative practice agreement. 

(b) A physician in a graduate medical 

education program, whether fully 

licensed or holding only a resident's 

training license, shall not be named as 

a primary supervising physician. 

(c) A fully licensed physician in a 

graduate medical education program 

who is also practicing in a non-training 

situation may supervise a nurse 

practitioner in the non-training 

situation. 
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(11) "Registration" means authorization by the 

Medical Board and the Board of Nursing for a 

registered nurse to use the title nurse 

practitioner in accordance with this Section. 

(12) "Supervision" means the physician's function of 

overseeing medical acts performed by the nurse 

practitioner. 

(13) "Volunteer Approval" means approval to 

practice consistent with this rule except without 

expectation of direct or indirect compensation 

or payment (monetary, in kind or otherwise) to 

the nurse practitioner. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18(14); 90-

18.2; 90-171.20(4); 90-171.20(7); 90-171.23(b); 90-171.83; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(a) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; December 1, 2009; December 

1, 2006; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0802 SCOPE OF PRACTICE 

A nurse practitioner shall be held accountable by both Boards for 

the continuous and comprehensive management of a broad range 

of personal health services for which the nurse practitioner is 

educationally prepared and for which competency has been 

maintained, with physician supervision and collaboration as 

described in Rule .0810 of this Section. These services include but 

are not restricted to: 

(1) promotion and maintenance of health; 

(2) prevention of illness and disability; 

(3) diagnosing, treating and managing acute and 

chronic illnesses; 

(4) guidance and counseling for both individuals 

and families; 

(5) prescribing, administering and dispensing 

therapeutic measures, tests, procedures and 

drugs; 

(6) planning for situations beyond the nurse 

practitioner's expertise, and consulting with and 

referring to other health care providers as 

appropriate; and 

(7) evaluating health outcomes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-18(14); 90-171.20(7); 90-

171.23(b)(14); 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(b) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0803 NURSE PRACTITIONER 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  The Board of Nursing shall register an applicant as a nurse 

practitioner who: 

(1) has an unrestricted license to practice as a 

registered nurse in North Carolina and, when 

applicable, an unrestricted approval, 

registration or license as a nurse practitioner in 

another state, territory, or possession of the 

United States; 

(2) has successfully completed a nurse practitioner 

education program as outlined in Rule .0805 of 

this Section; 

(3) is certified as a nurse practitioner by a national 

credentialing body consistent with 21 NCAC 

36 .0801(8); and 

(4) has supplied additional information necessary 

to evaluate the application as requested. 

(b)  Beginning January 1, 2005, new graduates of a nurse 

practitioner program, who are seeking first-time nurse practitioner 

registration in North Carolina shall: 

(1) hold a Master's or higher degree in Nursing or 

related field with primary focus on Nursing; 

(2) have successfully completed a graduate level 

nurse practitioner education program 

accredited by a national accrediting body; and 

(3) provide documentation of certification by a 

national credentialing body. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-18(c)(13); 90-18.2; 90-

171.20(7); 90-171.23(b); 90-171.83; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; November 1, 2008; December 

1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0804 PROCESS FOR APPROVAL TO 

PRACTICE 

(a)  Prior to the performance of any medical acts, a nurse 

practitioner shall: 

(1) meet registration requirements as specified in 

21 NCAC 36 .0803; 

(2) submit an application for approval to practice; 

(3) submit any additional information necessary to 

evaluate the application as requested; and 

(4) have a collaborative practice agreement with a 

primary supervising physician. 

(b)  A nurse practitioner seeking approval to practice who has not 

practiced as a nurse practitioner in more than two years shall 

complete a nurse practitioner refresher course approved by the 

Board of Nursing in accordance with Paragraphs (o) and (p) of 21 

NCAC 36 .0220 and consisting of common conditions and their 

management directly related to the nurse practitioner's area of 

education and certification. A nurse practitioner refresher course 

participant shall be granted an approval to practice that is limited 

to clinical activities required by the refresher course. 

(c)  The nurse practitioner shall not practice until notification of 

approval to practice is received from the Board of Nursing after 

both Boards have approved the application. 

(d)  The nurse practitioner's approval to practice is terminated 

when the nurse practitioner discontinues working within the 

approved nurse practitioner collaborative practice agreement, or 

experiences an interruption in her or his registered nurse licensure 

status, and the nurse practitioner shall so notify the Board of 

Nursing in writing. The Boards shall extend the nurse 

practitioner's approval to practice in cases of emergency such as 

injury, sudden illness or death of the primary supervising 

physician. 
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(e)  Applications for approval to practice in North Carolina shall 

be submitted to the Board of Nursing and then approved by both 

Boards as follows: 

(1) the Board of Nursing shall verify compliance 

with Rule .0803 and Paragraph (a) of this Rule; 

and 

(2) the Medical Board shall verify that the 

designated primary supervising physician holds 

a valid license to practice medicine in North 

Carolina and compliance with Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

(f)  Applications for approval of changes in practice arrangements 

for a nurse practitioner currently approved to practice in North 

Carolina shall be submitted by the applicant as follows: 

(1) addition or change of primary supervising 

physician shall be submitted to the Board of 

Nursing and processed pursuant to protocols 

developed by both Boards; and 

(2) request for change(s) in the scope of practice 

shall be submitted to the Joint Subcommittee. 

(g)  A registered nurse who was previously approved to practice 

as a nurse practitioner in this state who reapplies for approval to 

practice shall: 

(1) meet the nurse practitioner approval 

requirements as stipulated in Rule .0808(c) of 

this Section; and 

(2) complete the appropriate application. 

(h)  Volunteer Approval to Practice. The North Carolina Board of 

Nursing shall grant approval to practice in a volunteer capacity to 

a nurse practitioner who has met the qualifications to practice as 

a nurse practitioner in North Carolina. 

(i)  The nurse practitioner shall pay the appropriate fee as outlined 

in Rule .0813 of this Section. 

(j)  A Nurse Practitioner approved under this Section shall keep 

proof of current licensure, registration and approval available for 

inspection at each practice site upon request by agents of either 

Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-18(13), (14); 90-18.2; 90-

171.20(7); 90-171.23(b); 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(c) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2013; January 1, 2013; December 1, 

2009; November 1, 2008; January 1, 2007; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0805 EDUCATION AND 

CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR 

REGISTRATION AS A NURSE PRACTITIONER 

(a)  A nurse practitioner with first-time approval to practice after 

January 1, 2000, shall provide evidence of certification or 

recertification as a nurse practitioner by a national credentialing 

body. 

(b)  A nurse practitioner applicant who completed a nurse 

practitioner education program prior to December 31, 1999 shall 

provide evidence of successful completion of a course of 

education that contains a core curriculum including 400 contact 

hours of didactic education and 400 hours of preceptorship or 

supervised clinical experience. The core curriculum shall contain 

the following components: 

(1) health assessment and diagnostic reasoning 

including: 

(A) historical data; 

(B) physical examination data; 

(C) organization of data base; 

(2) pharmacology; 

(3) pathophysiology; 

(4) clinical management of common health 

problems and diseases such as the following 

shall be evident in the nurse practitioner's 

academic program: 

(A) respiratory system; 

(B) cardiovascular system; 

(C) gastrointestinal system; 

(D) genitourinary system; 

(E) integumentary system; 

(F) hematologic and immune systems; 

(G) endocrine system; 

(H) musculoskeletal system; 

(I) infectious diseases; 

(J) nervous system; 

(K) behavioral, mental health and 

substance abuse problems; 

(5) clinical preventative services including health 

promotion and prevention of disease; 

(6) client education related to Subparagraph 

(b)(4)–(5) of this Rule; and 

(7) role development including legal, ethical, 

economical, health policy and interdisciplinary 

collaboration issues. 

(c)  Nurse practitioner applicants exempt from components of the 

core curriculum requirements listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

are: 

(1) Any nurse practitioner approved to practice in 

North Carolina prior to January 18, 1981, is 

permanently exempt from the core curriculum 

requirement. 

(2) A nurse practitioner certified by a national 

credentialing body prior to January 1, 1998, 

who also provides evidence of satisfying 

Subparagraph (b)(1)–(3) of this Rule shall be 

exempt from core curriculum requirements in 

Subparagraph (b)(4)–(7) of this Rule. Evidence 

of satisfying Subparagraph (b)(1)–(3) of this 

Rule shall include: 

(A) a narrative of course content; and 

(B) contact hours. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-18(14); 90-171.42; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36.0227(d) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2009; December 1, 2006; August 1, 

2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0806 ANNUAL RENEWAL 

(a)  Each registered nurse who is approved to practice as a nurse 

practitioner in this State shall annually renew each approval to 

practice with the Board of Nursing no later than the last day of the 

nurse practitioner's birth month by: 
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(1) Maintaining current RN licensure; 

(2) Maintaining certification as a nurse practitioner 

by a national credentialing body identified in 

Rule .0801(8) of this Section; 

(3) Submitting the fee required in Rule .0813 of 

this Section; and 

(4) Completing the renewal application. 

(b)  If the nurse practitioner has not renewed by the last day of her 

or his birth month, the approval to practice as a nurse practitioner 

shall lapse. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18(c)(14); 

90-171.23(b)(14); 90-171.83; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36.0227(e) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; December 1, 2009; November 1, 

2008; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0807 CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) 

In order to maintain nurse practitioner approval to practice, the 

nurse practitioner shall earn 50 contact hours of continuing 

education each year beginning with the first renewal after initial 

approval to practice has been granted. At least 20 hours of the 

required 50 hours must be those hours for which approval has 

been granted by the American Nurses Credentialing Center 

(ANCC) or Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical 

Education (ACCME), other national credentialing bodies, or 

practice relevant courses in an institution of higher learning. 

Every nurse practitioner who prescribes controlled substances 

shall complete at least one hour of the total required continuing 

education (CE) hours annually consisting of CE designed 

specifically to address controlled substance prescribing practices, 

signs of the abuse or misuse of controlled substances, and 

controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain management. 

Documentation shall be maintained by the nurse practitioner for 

the previous five calendar years and made available upon request 

to either Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1; 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-

14(a)(15); 90-18(c)(14); 90-171.23(b)(14); 90-171.42; S.L. 2015-

241, s 12F; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(f) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; December 1, 2009; April 1, 2008; 

August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0808 INACTIVE STATUS 

(a)  Any nurse practitioner who wishes to place her or his approval 

to practice on an inactive status shall notify the Board of Nursing 

in writing. 

(b)  A nurse practitioner with an inactive approval to practice 

status shall not practice as a nurse practitioner. 

(c)  A nurse practitioner with an inactive approval to practice 

status who reapplies for approval to practice shall meet the 

qualifications for approval to practice in Rules .0803(a)(1), 

.0804(a) and (b), .0807, and .0810 of this Section and receive 

notification from the Board of Nursing of approval prior to 

beginning practice after the application is approved by both 

Boards. 

(d)  A nurse practitioner who has not practiced as a nurse 

practitioner in more than two years shall complete a nurse 

practitioner refresher course approved by the Board of Nursing in 

accordance with Paragraphs (o) and (p) of 21 NCAC 36 .0220 and 

consisting of common conditions and management of these 

conditions directly related to the nurse practitioner's area of 

education and certification. A nurse practitioner refresher course 

participant shall be granted an approval to practice that is limited 

to clinical activities required by the refresher course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-18(13); 90-18.2; 90-171.36; 

90-171.83; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(g) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2013; January 1, 2013; December 1, 

2009; December 1, 2006; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0809 PRESCRIBING AUTHORITY 

(a)  The prescribing stipulations contained in this Rule apply to 

writing prescriptions and ordering the administration of 

medications. 

(b)  Prescribing and dispensing stipulations are as follows: 

(1) Drugs and devices that may be prescribed by 

the nurse practitioner in each practice site shall 

be included in the collaborative practice 

agreement as outlined in Rule .0810(2) of this 

Section. 

(2) Controlled Substances (Schedules II, IIN, III, 

IIIN, IV, V) defined by the State and Federal 

Controlled Substances Acts may be procured, 

prescribed, or ordered as established in the 

collaborative practice agreement, providing all 

of the following requirements are met: 

(A) the nurse practitioner has an assigned 

DEA number that is entered on each 

prescription for a controlled 

substance; 

(B) refills may be issued consistent with 

Controlled Substance laws and 

regulations; and 

(C) the supervising physician(s) shall 

possess the same schedule(s) of 

controlled substances as the nurse 

practitioner's DEA registration. 

(3) The nurse practitioner may prescribe a drug or 

device not included in the collaborative practice 

agreement only as follows: 

(A) upon a specific written or verbal order 

obtained from a primary or back-up 

supervising physician before the 

prescription or order is issued by the 

nurse practitioner; and 

(B) the written or verbal order as described 

in Part (b)(3)(A) of this Rule shall be 

entered into the patient record with a 

notation that it is issued on the specific 

order of a primary or back-up 

supervising physician and signed by 
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the nurse practitioner and the 

physician. 

(4) Each prescription shall be noted on the patient's 

chart and include the following information: 

(A) medication and dosage; 

(B) amount prescribed; 

(C) directions for use; 

(D) number of refills; and 

(E) signature of nurse practitioner. 

(5) Prescription Format: 

(A) all prescriptions issued by the nurse 

practitioner shall contain the 

supervising physician(s) name, the 

name of the patient, and the nurse 

practitioner's name, telephone 

number, and approval number; 

(B) the nurse practitioner's assigned DEA 

number shall be written on the 

prescription form when a controlled 

substance is prescribed as defined in 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(6) A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe 

controlled substances, as defined by the State 

and Federal Controlled Substances Acts, for the 

following: 

(A) nurse practitioner's own use; 

(B) nurse practitioner's supervising 

physician; 

(C) member of the nurse practitioner's 

immediate family, which shall mean a: 

(i) spouse; 

(ii) parent; 

(iii) child; 

(iv) sibling; 

(v) parent-in-law; 

(vi) son or daughter-in-law; 

(vii) brother or sister-in-law; 

(viii) step-parent; 

(ix) step-child; or 

(x) step-siblings; 

(D) any other person living in the same 

residence as the licensee; or 

(E) anyone with whom the nurse 

practitioner is having a sexual 

relationship. 

(c)  The nurse practitioner may obtain approval to dispense the 

drugs and devices other than samples included in the collaborative 

practice agreement for each practice site from the Board of 

Pharmacy, and dispense in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 .1703 

that is hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18.2; 90-

18(c)(14); 90-171.23(b)(14); 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(h) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; December 1, 2012; April 1, 2011; 

November 1, 2008; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0810 QUALITY ASSURANCE 

STANDARDS FOR A COLLABORATIVE PRACTICE 

AGREEMENT 

The following are the quality assurance standards for a 

collaborative practice agreement: 

(1) Availability: The primary or back-up 

supervising physician(s) and the nurse 

practitioner shall be continuously available to 

each other for consultation by direct 

communication or telecommunication. 

(2) Collaborative Practice Agreement: 

(a) shall be agreed upon and signed by 

both the primary supervising 

physician and the nurse practitioner, 

and maintained in each practice site; 

(b) shall be reviewed at least yearly. This 

review shall be acknowledged by a 

dated signature sheet, signed by both 

the primary supervising physician and 

the nurse practitioner, appended to the 

collaborative practice agreement and 

available for inspection by members 

or agents of either Board; 

(c) shall include the drugs, devices, 

medical treatments, tests and 

procedures that may be prescribed, 

ordered and performed by the nurse 

practitioner consistent with Rule .0809 

of this Section; and 

(d) shall include a pre-determined plan for 

emergency services. 

(3) The nurse practitioner shall demonstrate the 

ability to perform medical acts as outlined in the 

collaborative practice agreement upon request 

by members or agents of either Board. 

(4) Quality Improvement Process. 

(a) The primary supervising physician 

and the nurse practitioner shall 

develop a process for the ongoing 

review of the care provided in each 

practice site including a written plan 

for evaluating the quality of care 

provided for one or more frequently 

encountered clinical problems. 

(b) This plan shall include a description of 

the clinical problem(s), an evaluation 

of the current treatment interventions, 

and if needed, a plan for improving 

outcomes within an identified time-

frame. 

(c) The quality improvement process 

shall include scheduled meetings 

between the primary supervising 

physician and the nurse practitioner at 

least every six months. 

Documentation for each meeting 

shall: 

(i) identify clinical problems 

discussed, including progress 
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toward improving outcomes 

as stated in Sub-item (4)(b) 

of this Rule, and 

recommendations, if any, for 

changes in treatment plan(s); 

(ii) be signed and dated by those 

who attended; and 

(iii) be available for review by 

members or agents of either 

Board for the previous five 

calendar years and be 

retained by both the nurse 

practitioner and primary 

supervising physician. 

(5) Nurse Practitioner-Physician Consultation. The 

following requirements establish the minimum 

standards for consultation between the nurse 

practitioner and primary supervising 

physician(s): 

(a) During the first six months of a 

collaborative practice agreement 

between a nurse practitioner and the 

primary supervising physician, there 

shall be monthly meetings for the first 

six months to discuss practice relevant 

clinical issues and quality 

improvement measures. 

(b) Documentation of the meetings shall: 

(i) identify clinical issues 

discussed and actions taken; 

(ii) be signed and dated by those 

who attended; and 

(iii) be available for review by 

members or agents of either 

Board for the previous five 

calendar years and be 

retained by both the nurse 

practitioner and primary 

supervising physician. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18(14); 90-

18.2; 90-171.23(b)(14); 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(i) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0811 METHOD OF IDENTIFICATION 

When providing care to the public, the nurse practitioner shall 

identify herself/himself as specified in G.S. 90-640 and 21 NCAC 

36 .0231. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-18(14); 90-640; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(j) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0812 DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

(a)  After notice and hearing in accordance with provisions of G. 

S. 150B, Article 3A, disciplinary action may be taken by the 

appropriate Board if one or more of the following is found: 

(1) violation of G.S. 90-18 and G.S. 90-18.2 or the 

joint rules adopted by each Board; 

(2) immoral or dishonorable conduct pursuant to 

and consistent with G.S. 90-14(a)(1); 

(3) any submissions to either Board pursuant to and 

consistent with G.S. 90-14(a)(3); 

(4) the nurse practitioner is adjudicated mentally 

incompetent or the nurse practitioner's mental 

or physical condition renders the nurse 

practitioner unable to safely function as a nurse 

practitioner pursuant to and consistent with 

G.S. 90-14(a)(5) and G.S. 90-171.37(3); 

(5) unprofessional conduct by reason of deliberate 

or negligent acts or omissions and contrary to 

the prevailing standards for nurse practitioners 

in accordance and consistent with G.S. 90-

14(a)(6) and G.S. 90-171.35(5); 

(6) conviction in any court of a criminal offense in 

accordance and consistent with G.S. 90-

14(a)(7) and G.S. 90-171.37 (2) and G.S. 90-

171.48; 

(7) payments for the nurse practitioner practice 

pursuant to and consistent with G.S. 90-

14(a)(8); 

(8) lack of professional competence as a nurse 

practitioner pursuant to and consistent with 

G.S. 90-14(a)(11); 

(9) exploiting the client pursuant to and consistent 

with G.S. 90-14(a)(12) including the promotion 

of the sale of services, appliances, or drugs for 

the financial gain of the practitioner or of a third 

party; 

(10) failure to respond to inquires which may be part 

of a joint protocol between the Board of 

Nursing and Medical Board for investigation 

and discipline pursuant to and consistent with 

G.S. 90-14(a)(14); 

(11) the nurse practitioner has held himself or 

herself out or permitted another to represent the 

nurse practitioner as a licensed physician; or 

(12) the nurse practitioner has engaged or attempted 

to engage in the performance of medical acts 

other than according to the collaborative 

practice agreement. 

(b)  The nurse practitioner is subject to G.S. 90-171.37; 90-171.48 

and 21 NCAC 36 .0217 by virtue of the license to practice as a 

registered nurse. 

(c)  After an investigation is completed, the joint subcommittee of 

both boards may recommend one of the following: 

(1) dismiss the case; 

(2) issue a private letter of concern; 

(3) enter into negotiation for a Consent Order; or 

(4) a disciplinary hearing in accordance with G.S. 

150B, Article 3A. If a hearing is recommended, 

the joint subcommittee shall also recommend 
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whether the matter should be heard by the 

Board of Nursing or the Medical Board. 

(d)  Upon a finding of violation, each Board may utilize the range 

of disciplinary options as enumerated in G.S. 90-14(a) or G.S. 90-

171.37. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-18(c)(14); 90-171.37; 90-

171.44; 90-171.47; 90-171.48; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(k) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2007; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0813 FEES 

(a)  An application fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) shall be 

paid at the time of initial application for approval to practice and 

each subsequent application for approval to practice. The 

application fee shall be twenty dollars ($20.00) for volunteer 

approval. 

(b)  The fee for annual renewal of approval shall be fifty dollars 

($50.00). 

(c)  The fee for annual renewal of volunteer approval shall be ten 

dollars ($10.00). 

(d)  No portion of any fee in this Rule is refundable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-

171.23(b)(14); 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(l) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0814 PRACTICING DURING A 

DISASTER 

(a)  A nurse practitioner approved to practice in this State or 

another state may perform medical acts, as a nurse practitioner 

under the supervision of a physician licensed to practice medicine 

in North Carolina during a disaster in a county in which a state of 

disaster has been declared or counties contiguous to a county in 

which a state of disaster has been declared. 

(b)  The nurse practitioner shall notify the Board of Nursing in 

writing of the names, practice locations and telephone numbers 

for the nurse practitioner and each primary supervising physician 

within 15 days of the first performance of medical acts, as a nurse 

practitioner during the disaster, and the Board of Nursing shall 

notify the Medical Board. 

(c)  Teams of physician(s) and nurse practitioner(s) practicing 

pursuant to this Rule shall not be required to maintain on-site 

documentation describing supervisory arrangements and plans for 

prescriptive authority as otherwise required pursuant to Rules 

.0809 and .0810 of this Section. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-18(c)(13), (14); 90-18.2; 90-

171.23(b); 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(m) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0815 REPORTING CRITERIA 

(a)  The Department of Health and Human Services 

("Department") may report to the North Carolina Board of 

Nursing ("Board") information regarding the prescribing practices 

of those nurse practitioners ("prescribers") whose prescribing: 

(1) falls within the top two percent of those 

prescribing 100 morphine milligram 

equivalents ("MME") per patient per day; or 

(2) falls within the top two percent of those 

prescribing 100 MMEs per patient per day in 

combination with any benzodiazepine and who 

are within the top one percent of all controlled 

substance prescribers by volume. 

(b)  In addition, the Department may report to the Board 

information regarding prescribers who have had two or more 

patient deaths in the preceding 12 months due to opioid poisoning 

where the prescribers authorized more than 30 tablets of an opioid 

to the decedent and the prescriptions were written within 60 days 

of the patient deaths. 

(c)  The Department may submit these reports to the Board upon 

request and may include the information described in G.S. 90-

113.73(b). 

(d)  The reports and communications between the Department and 

the Board shall remain confidential pursuant to G.S. 90-113.74. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.74; 

Eff. April 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 24 - INDEPENDENT AGENCIES 

 

CHAPTER 01 – HOUSING FINANCE AGENCY 

 

24 NCAC 01N .0204 FEES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 53-269; 122A-5; 122A-5.1; 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2019. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission February 21, 2019 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (1st Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 
Jeffrey A. Poley Paul Powell 
Brian P. LiVecchi Jeanette Doran (2nd Vice Chair) 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May (919)431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919)431-3079 
Jason Thomas  (919)431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 February 21, 2019               March 21, 2019 
     April 18, 2019 May 16, 2019 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 21, 2019 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 163A-159(e) 
II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 
III. Follow-up matters 

A. Soil and Water Conservation Commission – 02 NCAC 59D .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, 
.0108, .0109, .0110; 59H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108 (Reeder) 

B. Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement - 08 NCAC 02 .0112, .0113; 03 .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, 
.0106, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0302; 04 .0302, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307; 06B .0103, .0104, .0105; 08 .0104; 
09 .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109; 10B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107 (May) 

C. DHHS/Division of Health Benefits – 10A NCAC 22F .0301 (May) 
D. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Thomas) 
E. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0209, .0308, 1704, .1705 (May) 
F. Department of Transportation – 19A NCAC 02D .0408; 02E .0412, .0418, .0419, .0420, .0421, .1006 (May)   
G. Substance Abuse Professional Practice Board - 21 NCAC 68 .0203, .0205, .0208, .0211, .0212, .0305 

(Reeder)  
IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed December 21, 2018 through January 22, 2019 

• Social Services Commission 10A NCAC 10 (Thomas) 

• Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS (Thomas) 
▪ Social Services Commission 10A NCAC 67A (May) 
▪ Industrial Commission (Thomas) 
▪ Department of Public Safety(Reeder) 
▪ Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02B (May) 
▪ Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02T (May) 
▪ Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners (May) 
▪ Medical Board (Reeder) 
▪ Board of Pharmacy (Reeder) 
▪ State Human Resources Commission (Reeder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 
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VI. Existing Rules Review 

• Review of Reports 
1. 04 NCAC 20 - Department of Commerce (May) 
2. 11 NCAC 01- Department of Insurance (Thomas) 
3. 21 NCAC 03 - Board of Athletic Trainer Examiners (May) 
4. 21 NCAC 10 - Board of Chiropractic Examiners (May) 
5. 21 NCAC 53 - Board of Licensed Professional Counselors (May) 
6. 21 NCAC 56 - Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors (May) 

VII.       Commission Business 
H. Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules Readoption Schedule 

• Next meeting: Thursday, March 21, 2019 
 

 
Commission Review 

Log of Permanent Rule Filings 
December 21, 2018 through January 22, 2019 

 

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 10 concern subsidized child care and include identifying and general information (.0100); 
requirements for the purchase of child care (.0200); requirements for child care service funds (.0300); start-up funds 
(.0400); requirements for contracts with private agencies (.0500); requirements for child care centers (.0600); 
requirements for family child care homes (.0700); requirements for nonlicensed child care homes (.0800); general 
policies for provision of subsidized child care services (.0900); eligibility for services (.1000); client fees for child care 
services (.1100); appeals (.1200). 

Scope 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0101 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0102 

Applicability 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0201 

Payment Rates 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0202 

Rates for Subsidized Child Care 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0203 

Definition of Fund 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0301 

Allocation 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0306 

Payment 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0307 

Requirements for the Administration of the Subsidized Chi... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0310 

Provider Appeal to Local Purchasing Agency 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0311 

Appeal to Division of Child Development and Early Educati... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0312 

Scope 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0501 

Approval 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0502 

Length of Contract 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0503 
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Administration of Funds 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0504 

Administration of Program 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0505 

Records 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0506 

Standards for Facilities Participating in the Subsidized ... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0601 

Standards for Family Child Care Homes Participating in th... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0701 

Scope 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0901 

Methods of Service Provision 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0902 

Definition of Service 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0903 

Availability of Funding 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0904 

Support for Employment and Training for Employment 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0905 

Support for Child Protective and Child Welfare Services 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0906 

Support for Children with or at Risk for Developmental De... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0907 

Limitations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0908 

Recipient Choice 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0909 

Children with Special Needs 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .0910 

Basic Eligibility Criteria 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1001 

Income Eligible Status 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1002 

Income Eligibility Levels 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1003 

Without Regard to Income 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1004 

Responsibility for Eligibility Determination 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1005 

Determination of Income Eligibility 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1006 

Requirements for Determination and Redetermination of Eli... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1007 

General Fee Policy 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1101 

Amount and Collection of Recipient Fees 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1102 

Adjustment in Fees 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1103 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1201 
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Notice 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1202 

Filing 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1203 

Appeal to the Local Purchasing Agency 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1204 

Operator Appeal to Division of Child Development and Earl... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 10 .1205 

MENTAL HEALTH, DD/SAS, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Subchapter 26D concern the standards for mental health and mental retardation for the department of 
correction including scope and definitions (.0100); organization responsibilities (.0200); required staff (.0300); 
organization relations (.0400); quality assurance (.0500); facilities management (.0600); client records (.0700); service 
eligibility (.0800); treatment and habilitation (.0900); clinical services (.1000); medication services (.1100); protections 
regarding certain procedures (.1200); research practices (.1300); emergency services (.1400); prevention services 
(.1500); and inpatient services for inmates who are mentally ill (.1600). 

Involuntary Administration of Psychotropic Medication 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 26D .1104 

Psychotropic Medication Education 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 26D .1105 

Use of Seclusion 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 26D .1202 

Use of Restraint 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 26D .1203 

Protective Devices 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 26D .1204 

Involuntary Referrals and Transfers 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 26D .1206 

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 67 concern social services procedures.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 67A concern general administration including administration (.0100); hearing policy (.0200); 
and regional social services departments (.0300). 

Regional Departments of Social Services Financial Obligat... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 67A .0301 

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 23B concern tort claims including administration (.0100); claims procedures (.0200); appeals 
to full commission (.0300); appeals to the court of appeals (.0400); and rules of the commission (.0500). 

Location of Main Office and Hours of Business 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0101 

Official Forms 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0102 

Filing Fees 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0103 

Electronic Filings with the Commission, How to File 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0104 
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Contact Information 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0105 

Medical Malpractice Claims by Unrepresented Prison Inmates 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0202 

Infants and Incompetents 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0203 

Motions 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0204 

Mediation 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0205 

Hearing Costs 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0208 

Appeals to the Full Commission 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0302 

Proposed Issues on Repeal 
Repeal* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0303 

Briefs to the Full Commission 
Repeal* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0305 

Motions Before the Full Commission 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0307 

Stays 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0308 

Oral Argument 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0310 

Stays 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0402 

Waiver of Rules 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 23B .0501 

The rules in Subchapter 23L concern workers' compensation forms. 

Form T-42 - Application for Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 23L .0105 

PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 05 concern the Governor's Crime Commission.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 05B grant administration including general provisions (.0100); program grants (.0200); and 
penalties (.0300). 

Purpose 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 05B .0101 

Applications for Grants 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 05B .0201 

Review of Proposals 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 05B .0202 

Administration of Grants 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 05B .0203 

Grant Termination or Suspension 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 05B .0301 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 
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The rules in Subchapter 2B pertain to surface water standards and monitoring including procedures for assignment of 
water quality standards (.0100); the standards used to classify the waters of the state (.0200); stream classifications 
(.0300); effluent limitations (.0400); monitoring and reporting requirements (.0500); and water quality management plans 
(.0600). 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: Purpose 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0620 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: Definitions 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0621 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: Applicability ... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0622 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: Program Admini... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0623 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: NonPoint Sourc... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0624 

The rules in Subchapter 2T set out the requirements for the issuance of permits for waste systems that do not discharge 
to the surface waters of the state and include general requirements (.0100); and requirements for various systems 
including: wastewater pump and haul systems (.0200); sewer extensions (.0300); system-wide collection system 
permitting (.0400); wastewater irrigation systems (.0500); single-family residence wastewater irrigation systems (.0600); 
high rate infiltration systems (.0700); other non-discharge wastewater systems (.0800); reclaimed water systems 
(.0900); closed-loop recycle systems (.1000); residuals management (.1100); coal combustion products management 
(.1200); animal waste management systems (.1300); manure hauler operations (.1400); soil remediation (.1500); and 
groundwater remediation systems (.1600). 

Animal Waste Residuals Management 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1310 

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 14H are sanitation rules for both operators and facilities including sanitation (.0100); shop 
licensing and physical dimensions (.0200); cosmetic art shop and equipment (.0300); sanitation procedures and 
practices (.0400); and enforcement, maintenance of licensure (.0500). 

Licensees and Students 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14H .0401 

Rule Compliance and Enforcement Measures 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14H .0505 

MEDICAL BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 32 include the licensing and practice standards of doctors, approval of nurse practitioners and 
physician assistants, regulation of professional corporations and mobile intensive care, and other aspects of medical 
practice and the regulatory procedures.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 32W concern the regulations of anesthesiologist assistants. 

Identification Requirements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32W .0112 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 46 cover organization of the board (.1200); general definitions (.1300); hospitals and other health 
facilities (.1400); admission requirements and examinations (.1500); licenses and permits (.1600); drugs dispensed by 
nurse and physician assistants (.1700); prescriptions (.1800); forms (.1900); administrative provisions (.2000); elections 
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(.2100); continuing education (.2200); prescription information and records (.2300); dispensing in health departments 
(.2400); miscellaneous provisions (.2500); devices (.2600); nuclear pharmacy (.2700); compounding (.2800); product 
selection (.2900); disposal of unwanted drugs (.3000); clinical pharmacist practitioner (.3100); impaired pharmacist peer 
review program (.3200); and registry of pharmacist technicians (.3300). 

Drugs and Devices to be Dispensed 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 46 .2403 

Responsibilities of Pharmacist-Manager 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 46 .2502 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 1D are the rules dealing with compensation and include administration of the pay plan (.0100); 
new appointments (.0200); promotion (.0300); demotions or reassignments (.0400); separation (.0500); reallocation 
(.0600); salary range revision (.0700); initial classification (.0800); transfer (.0900); reinstatement (.1000); longevity pay 
(.1200); holiday premium pay (.1300); shift premium pay (.1400); emergency call-back pay (.1500); foreign service pay 
(.1600); employment of physicians for extended duty (.1800); hours of work and overtime compensation (.1900); 
unemployment insurance (.2000); special salary adjustments (.2100); comprehensive compensation system (.2500); 
and in-range salary adjustments (.2600).q 

Salary Rate 
Adopt* 

 25 NCAC 01D .0913 

The rules in Subchapter 1H concern recruitment and selection including general provisions (.0600); general provision 
for priority consideration (.0700); promotional priority (.0800); reduction-in-force-priority reemployment (.0900); exempt 
priority consideration (.1000); and veteran's preference (.1100). 

Posting and Announcement of Vacancies 
Amend* 

 25 NCAC 01H .0631 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

  
    PUBLISHED     

 

18 ABC 03865 11/15/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Davidson Ventures LLC T/A Wine and 

Canvas 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 DHR 02700 11/2/2018 Myronette Alspaugh v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services Medicaid/ NC Health Choice 

Program 

May 

18 DHR 03934 11/8/2018 Erica Fennell v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 DOJ 02094 11/5/2018 Erica Nicole Selby v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Ward 

18 DOJ 02763 11/30/2018 Brice K Marshall v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

18 DOJ 02967 11/29/2018 Scott D Helton Sr v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

18 DOJ 03216 11/27/2018 Alfred Wortham v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

18 DOJ 03842 11/27/2018 Joshua M Bunton v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

18 DOJ 04489 11/27/2018 Emily Greer Bell v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 
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18 EDC 02121 11/5/2018 Renita Harvey v. North Carolina State Board of Education Ward 

        

  
    UNPUBLISHED     

 

18 ABC 05383 11/2/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Ambience Special Event Center LLC 

T/A Ambience Special Event Center 

Jacobs 

18 ABC 05594 11/28/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Crazy Iguana Bar and Grill LLC T/A 

Crazy Iguana Bar and Grill 

Jacobs 

             

17 CSE 07635 11/9/2018 John G Currall v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

18 CSE 03833 11/14/2018 Timothy F Bourque v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 05358 11/15/2018 Johnathan Lee 

Antinori 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

             

18 DHR 03955 11/15/2018 Lucia M Gonzalez v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 04726 11/14/2018 Patrice Michelle 

Harris Powell 

v. NC Healthcare Registry Department of 

Health & Human Svcs 

Ward 

18 DHR 04798 11/28/2018 Living Waters Home 

Care LLC 

v. NCDHHS NCDHHS Legal Counsel Sutton 

18 DHR 05158 11/27/2018 Dwayne S Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Lassiter 

18 DHR 05271 11/5/2018 Moyer Ideas LLC 

Brandon Moyer 

v. Buncombe County Health Department Sutton 

18 DHR 05522 11/8/2018 Margaret Newman v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 05716 11/21/2018 LSM Enterprizes Inc 

Marshall Elmore 

v. Cardinal Innovations Healthcare May 

18 DHR 05810 11/16/2018 Love and Learn 

Academy Regina 

Ross 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 05878 11/27/2018 Deborah P Reyes v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

 

 


