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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 04 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Commerce/Credit Union Division intends to adopt 

the rule cited as 04 NCAC 06C .0708. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

http://www.nccud.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2019 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A public hearing 

may be demanded by written request to Tony Knox, Deputy 

Administrator of the North Carolina Department of 

Commerce/Credit Union Division within 15 days of the 

publication of the Notice of Text. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  04 NCAC 06C .0708 

CHARITABLE CONTRIBUTIONS AND CHARITABLE 

DONATION ACCOUNTS – proposed for adoption to allow State-

chartered credit unions to make charitable contributions and to 

fund charitable donation accounts. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Tony Knox, Deputy 

Administrator, 205 W. Millbrook Road, STE 105, Raleigh, NC 

27609, phone (919) 571-4888, fax (919) 420-7919, email 

tknox@nccud.org 

 

Comment period ends: February 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 06 - CREDIT UNION DIVISION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06C - CREDIT UNIONS 

 

SECTION .0700 - ACCOUNTS 

 

04 NCAC 06C .0708 CHARITABLE 

CONTRIBUTIONS AND CHARITABLE DONATION 

ACCOUNTS 

(a)  A credit union may make charitable contributions and 

donations or may fund a charitable donation account. The 

following definitions apply throughout this Rule: 

(1) "Charitable contributions and donations" means 

gifts provided by credit unions to assist others 

through contributions of staff, equipment, 

money, or other resources. This definition 

includes donations to community groups, 

nonprofit organizations, other credit unions or 

credit union affiliated causes, political 

donations, or donations to create charitable 

foundations. 

(2) "Charitable donation account" ("CDA") means 

a hybrid charitable and investment vehicle that 

a credit union may fund as a means to provide 

charitable contributions to qualified charities. 

(3) "Qualified charity" means a charitable 

organization or other non-profit entity that 

serves either a charitable, social, welfare, or 

educational purpose, and recognized by section 

501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code as tax 

exempt. 

(4) "Total return" means the actual rate of return on 

all investments in a CDA over a given period of 

up to five years, including realized interest, 

capital gains, dividends, and distributions, but 

exclusive of account fees and expenses. 

(b)  A credit union seeking to make charitable contributions and 

donations shall adopt policies and procedures as approved by its 

Board of Directors. 

(c)  A credit union shall be allowed to fund a CDA only after it 

has satisfied the following: 

(1) Notice. The credit union shall send written 

notice of the type and amount of initial 

investment to the Administrator 10 days prior 

to funding the CDA. 

(2) Rating. The credit union shall be rated a 

CAMEL 1, 2, or 3. 
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(3) Maximum aggregate funding. The total 

aggregate investment in CDAs shall be limited 

to five percent of the applicant credit union's net 

worth for the duration of the CDAs, as 

measured every quarterly Call Report cycle. 

(4) Segregated account. The assets of a CDA shall 

be held in a segregated custodial account or 

special purpose entity and shall be labeled as a 

CDA. 

(5) Regulatory oversight. If a CDA is established 

using a trust vehicle, the trust shall be a 

revocable trust and the trustee shall be an entity 

regulated by a state financial regulatory agency 

or a federal regulatory agency. A regulated 

trustee, other person, or entity that is authorized 

to make investment decisions for a CDA 

(manager), other than the credit union itself, 

shall be either a Registered Investment Adviser 

with the U.S. Securities and Exchange 

Commission or regulated by the Office of the 

Comptroller of the Currency. 

(6) CDA documentation and other written 

requirements. The parties to the CDA shall 

document the terms and conditions controlling 

the CDA in a written agreement. The terms of 

the agreement shall be consistent with this Rule. 

A credit union's board of directors shall adopt 

written policies governing the creation, 

funding, and management of a CDA that are 

consistent with this Rule, review the policies 

annually, and may amend them. A CDA 

agreement and policies shall at a minimum: 

(A) provide that the CDA will make 

charitable contributions and donations 

only to qualified charities; 

(B) document the investment strategies 

and risk tolerances the CDA trustee or 

other manager shall follow in 

administering the account; 

(C) provide that a credit union shall 

account for the CDA, including 

distributions to charities and 

liquidation of the CDA, in accordance 

with generally accepted accounting 

principles; and 

(D) state the frequency with which the 

trustee or manager of the CDA will 

make distributions to qualified 

charities that are consistent with 

Subparagraph (c)(7) of this Rule. 

(7) Minimum distribution to charities. A credit 

union shall distribute a minimum of 51 percent 

of the CDA's total return to one or more 

qualified charities no less frequently than every 

five years. 

(d)  Upon termination of a CDA, regardless of the length of its 

term, a minimum of 51 percent of the CDA's total return on assets 

shall be distributed to one or more qualified charities. Following 

the distributions to the qualified charities, any remaining assets 

shall be distributed to the credit union either in cash or shall be 

distributed to the credit union in kind but only if those assets are 

permissible investments for State-chartered credit unions as set 

forth in Rule .1201 of this Subchapter and G.S. 54, Article 14 I. 

(e)  The Administrator may revoke or modify a previously funded 

investment to the applicable credit union, if the Administrator 

finds the previously authorized investment is no longer a safe and 

sound practice, or has become inconsistent with applicable State 

or federal law. The Administrator shall send written notice of the 

revocation or modification to the applicable credit union. A credit 

union may appeal for a final decision by the Administrator as set 

forth in 04 NCAC 06B .0501. 

 

Authority G.S. 54-109.12; 54-109.21 (19) and (20). 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to adopt the rule 

cited as 14B NCAC 15B .0114. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://abc.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date: May 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: February 13, 2019 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To adopt a permanent rule 

defining when a nonprofit organization may be reissued a limited 

special occasion permit or a special one-time permit when 

requested by the same person for the same location as a previous 

permit issued within 18 months, as permitted by G.S. 18B-903A.  

The rule also defines how often a permit may be issued under this 

Statute.  This rule is authorized by G.S. 18B-903A. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Walker Reagan, 400 East 

Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610, phone (919) 779-8367, fax (919) 

661-6165, email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends: February 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
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service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 15B - RETAIL BEER: WINE: MIXED 

BEVERAGES:  BROWNBAGGING: ADVERTISING: 

SPECIAL PERMITS 

 

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS: PERMIT 

APPLICATION PROCEDURES 

 

14B NCAC 15B .0114 ISSUANCE OF SUBSEQUENT 

NONPROFIT LIMITED SPECIAL OCCASION PERMIT 

AND SPECIAL ONE-TIME PERMIT 

(a)  A nonprofit organization, issued a limited special occasion 

permit pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(9) or a special one-time permit 

pursuant to G.S. 18B-1002(a)(2) or (a)(5), may apply for the 

issuance of a subsequent similar permit in accordance with G.S. 

18B-903A within 18 months of the date of issuance of the initial 

permit. 

(b)  A permit may be issued pursuant to this Rule no more 

frequently than once a month within 18 months of the issuance 

date of the initial permit. 

(c)  After 18 months of the date of the issuance of the initial 

permit, a person seeking a limited special occasion permit or a 

special one-time permit shall submit an application for a new 

initial permit. 

(d)  As used in this Rule, "initial permit" means the first limited 

special occasion permit or special one-time permit issued to the 

same individual for the same location on behalf of a nonprofit 

organization pursuant to G.S. 18B-903 within the previous 18 

months. The term does not include a limited special occasion 

permit or a special one-time permit subsequently issued pursuant 

to G.S. 18B-903A based on a limited special occasion permit or a 

special one-time permit previously issued. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-903A. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Private Protective Services Board intends 

to readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 14B NCAC 

16 .0110, .0804-.0809, .0901, .0904, .0906, .0909; and readopt 

without substantive changes the rules cited as 14B NCAC 16 

.0101-.0109, .0111-.0114, .0201-.0205, .0301, .0302, .0401-

.0405, .0501-.0503, .0601-.0603, .0701-.0707, .0801-.0803, 

.0902, .0903, .0905, .0907, .0908, .0910-.0912, .1001-.1003, 

1101-.1108, .1201-.1207, .1301-.1308, and .1401-.1408. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of rules to be readopted 

without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The 

text of the rules is available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://www.ncdps.gov/About-DPS/Boards-

Commissions/Private-Protective-Services-Board 

 

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 10, 2019 

Time: 2:00 p.m. 

Location: Private Protective Services Board, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This set of rules has completed 

the statutorily required review process and need to be readopted. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Phil Stephenson, Field 

Services Supervisor, 3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, 

NC 27609, phone (919) 788-5320, fax (919) 715-0370, email 

Phillip.Stephenson@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends: February 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 
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CHAPTER 16 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

BOARD 

 

SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATION AND GENERAL 

PROVISIONS 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0101 PURPOSE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0102 LOCATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0103 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0104 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0105 PROHIBITED ACTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0106 DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0107 LAW ENFORCEMENT 

OFFICERS SPECIAL PROVISIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0108 RECORDS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0109 RULEMAKING AND 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING PROCEDURES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0110 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR THE DISCHARGE OF FIREARMS 

(a)  If any licensee or certificate holder is charged with any 

criminal offense that would constitute grounds to deny, suspend 

or revoke a license or certificate under this Chapter the licensee 

or certificate holder shall self-report the criminal charge to the 

Board either in person or by telephone no later than the first 

business day following the charge. The licensee or certificate 

holder shall provide a copy of the charging document and a 

written explanation to the Board within five working days. 

(b)  If any registrant is charged with any criminal offense that 

would constitute grounds to deny, suspend or revoke a license or 

certificate under this Chapter the licensee or certificate holder 

shall self-report the criminal charge to the Board either in person 

or by telephone no later than the first business day following 

knowledge of the charge. The licensee or certificate holder shall 

provide a copy of the charging document and a written 

explanation to the Board within five working days. 

(c)  If a licensee or registrant licensee, registrant or certificate 

holder discharges a firearm while engaged in the private 

protective services business, the licensee shall notify the Board 

either in person or by telephone no later than the first business day 

following the incident. The licensee shall also file a written report 

to the Board within five working days of the incident. In the 

report, the licensee shall state the name of the individual who 

discharged the firearm, the type of weapon discharged, the 

location of the incident, the law enforcement agency investigating 

the incident, the events leading to the discharge of the firearm, and 

any bodily injuries occurring from the incident. This Rule shall 

not be construed to apply to a weapon that is discharged during a 

training course that has been approved by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0111 CHANGE OF ADDRESS OR 

TELEPHONE NUMBER (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0112 SUSPENSION OF AUTHORITY 

TO EXPEND FUNDS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0113 INVOLVEMENT IN 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0114 APPLICATION COMPLETION 

DEADLINE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

 SECTION .0200 - LICENSES: TRAINEE PERMITS  

 

14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSES 

AND TRAINEE PERMITS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0202 FEES FOR LICENSES AND 

TRAINEE PERMITS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0203 RENEWAL OR RE-ISSUE OF 

LICENSES AND TRAINEE PERMITS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0204 DETERMINATION OF 

EXPERIENCE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0205 COMPANY BUSINESS LICENSE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 SECTION .0300 - SECURITY GUARD AND PATROL: 

GUARD DOG SERVICE 

  

14B NCAC 16 .0301 EXPERIENCE 

REQUIREMENTS/SECURITY GUARD AND PATROL 

LICENSE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0302 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR GUARD DOG SERVICE LICENSE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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 SECTION .0400 - PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR: 

ELECTRONIC COUNTERMEASURES  

 

14B NCAC 16 .0401 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR LICENSE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0402 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A COUNTERINTELLIGENCE LICENSE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0403 TRAINEE PERMIT 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0404 REPORTS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0405 PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR'S 

USE OF A BADGE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 SECTION .0500 - POLYGRAPH  

 

14B NCAC 16 .0501 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A POLYGRAPH LICENSE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0502 POLYGRAPH TRAINEE 

PERMIT REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0503 POLYGRAPH EXAMINATION 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 SECTION .0600 - PSYCHOLOGICAL STRESS 

EVALUATOR (P.S.E.)  

 

14B NCAC 16 .0601 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A PSYCHOLOGICAL STRESS EVALUATOR 

LICENSE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES)  

 

14B NCAC 16 .0602 P.S.E. EXAMINATION 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0603 P.S.E. INSTRUMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 SECTION .0700 - SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(UNARMED) 

  

14B NCAC 16 .0701 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED 

SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0702 FEES FOR UNARMED 

SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0703 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

UNARMED SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0704 INVESTIGATION FOR 

UNARMED SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0705 UNARMED SECURITY GUARD 

REGISTRATION IDENTIFICATION CARDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0706 RENEWAL OR REISSUE OF 

UNARMED SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0707 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR UNARMED SECURITY GUARDS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0800 - ARMED SECURITY GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0801 APPLICATION/ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0802 FEES FOR ARMED SECURITY 

GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0803 MINIMUM STDS/ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0804 INVESTIGATION/ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a) After the administrator receives a complete application for 

registration, the administrator Director may cause to be made such 

further investigation of the applicant as deemed necessary. 

(b) Any denial of an applicant for registration by the administrator 

Director shall be subject to review by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0805 ARMED SECURITY GUARD 

FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT IDENT CARDS 

(a)  The provisions of 12 NCAC 7D .0705 14B NCAC 16 .0705 

are hereby made to apply to armed security officers guards. 

(b)  Upon termination of employment of an armed security officer 

guard, the employer shall return the employee's registration card 

to the Board within 15 days of the employee's termination. 
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Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0806 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an armed security guard firearm 

registration permit identification card or his or her employer shall 

complete a form provided by the Board. This form shall be 

submitted not more than 90 days nor fewer than 30 days prior to 

expiration of the applicant's current armed registration and shall 

be accompanied by: 

(1) two head and shoulders color digital 

photographs of the applicant in JPG format of 

acceptable quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to submission and 

submitted by e-mail to PPASL-

Photos@ncdps.gov or by compact disc; 

(2) statements of any criminal record obtained from 

the reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee; and 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected by the Private 

Protective Services Board. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal 

shall give the applicant a copy of the application that shall serve 

as a record of application for renewal and shall retain a copy of 

the application in the individual's personnel file in the employer's 

office. 

(c)  Applications for renewal shall be accompanied by a statement 

signed by a certified trainer that the applicant has successfully 

completed the training requirements of Rule .0807 of this Section. 

(d)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(e)  A registered armed security guard may utilize a dedicated 

light system or gun-mounted light for requalification. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0807 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ARMED SECURITY GUARDS 

(a)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall first complete the basic unarmed security guard 

training course set forth in Rule .0707 of this Chapter. 

(b)  Private investigator licensees applying for an armed security 

guard firearm registration permit shall first complete a four hour 

training course consisting of the courses set forth in Rule 

.0707(a)(1) and (2) of this Chapter and all additional training 

requirements set forth in that Rule. 

(c)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall complete a basic training course for armed security 

guards which consists of at least 20 hours of classroom instruction 

including: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of handguns and on 

the powers and authority of an armed security 

guard, including familiarity with rules and 

regulations relating to armed security guards 

(minimum of four hours); 

(2) handgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) handgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of three hours); 

(4) handgun fundamentals (minimum of eight 

hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum of four hours). 

Subparagraph (c)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (c)(3), and 

Subparagraph (c)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 

applicant's participation in range firing. 

(d)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 

firearms range qualification course adopted by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 

Director's office. For rifle qualification all shots shall be located 

on the target. Should a student fail to attain a score of 80 percent 

accuracy, the student may be given three additional attempts to 

qualify on the course of fire the student did not pass. Failure to 

meet the qualification after three attempts shall require the student 

to repeat the entire Basic Training Course for Armed Security 

Guards. All additional attempts must take place within 20 days of 

the completion of the initial 20 hour course. 

(e)  All armed security guard training required by this Chapter 

shall be administered by a certified trainer and shall be completed 

no more than 90 days prior to the date of issuance of the armed 

security guard firearm registration permit. 

(f)  All applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall obtain training under the provisions of this Section 

using their duty weapon and their duty ammunition or ballistic 

equivalent ammunition, to include lead-free ammunition that 

meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil of the 

duty ammunition, for all weapons. 

(g)  No more than six new or renewal armed security guard 

applicants per one instructor shall be placed on the firing line at 

any one time during firearms range training for armed security 

guards. 

(h)  Applicants for re-certification of an armed security guard 

firearm registration permit shall complete a basic recertification 

training course for armed security guards that consists of at least 

four hours of classroom instruction and is a review of the 

requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (c)(5) of 

this Rule. The recertification course is valid for 180 days after 

completion of the course. Applicants for recertification of an 

armed security guard firearm registration permit shall also 

complete the requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(i)  An armed guard registered with one company may be 

registered with a second company. The registration shall be 

considered "dual." The registration with the second company shall 
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expire at the same time that the registration expires with the first 

company. An updated application shall be required to be 

submitted by the applicant, along with the digital photograph, 

updated criminal records checks, and a forty dollar ($40.00) 

registration fee. If the guard will be carrying a firearm of the same 

make, model, and caliber, then no additional firearms training 

shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the 

guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the 

guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 

the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 

make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 

both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 

score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 

(j)  To be authorized to carry a standard 12 gauge shotgun in the 

performance of his or her duties as an armed security guard, an 

applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements of 

Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of this Rule, six hours of classroom 

training that shall include the following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of shotgun 

(minimum of one hour); 

(2) shotgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) shotgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of one hour); 

(4) shotgun fundamentals (minimum of two hours); 

and 

(5) night firing (minimum of one hour). 

Subparagraph (j)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (j)(3), and 

Subparagraph (j)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 

applicant's participation in range firing. 

(k)  An applicant may take the additional shotgun training at a 

time after the initial training in this Rule. If the shotgun training 

is completed at a later time, the shotgun certification shall run 

concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Paragraph (j) of this Rule, applicants 

shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a shotgun 

range qualification course adopted by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the Director's office. 

(l)  Applicants for shotgun recertification shall complete one hour 

of classroom training covering the topics set forth in Paragraph (j) 

of this Rule and shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(m)  To be authorized to carry a rifle in the performance of his or 

her duties as an armed security guard, an applicant shall complete, 

in addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of 

this Rule, 16 hours of classroom training which shall include the 

following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of rifles (minimum 

of one hour); 

(2) rifle safety, including range firing procedures 

(minimum of one hour); 

(3) rifle operation and maintenance (minimum of 

two hours); 

(4) rifle fundamentals (minimum of ten hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum two hours). 

Subparagraph (m)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (m)(3), 

and Subparagraph (m)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to 

the applicant's participation in range firing. 

(n)  The applicant shall pass a skills course that tests each basic 

rifle skill and the test of each skill shall be completed within three 

attempts. 

(o)  An applicant may take the additional rifle training at a time 

after the initial training in this Rule. If the rifle training is 

completed at a later time, the rifle certification shall run 

concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Paragraphs (m) and (n) of this Rule, 

applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 

rifle range qualification course adopted by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 

Director's office. 

(p)  Applicants for rifle recertification shall complete an 

additional one hour of classroom training covering the topics set 

forth in Paragraph (m) of this Rule and shall also complete the 

requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(q)  Upon written request, an applicant for an armed security guard 

firearm registration permit who possess a current firearms trainer 

certificate shall be given a firearms registration permit that will 

run concurrent with the trainer certificate upon completion of an 

annual qualification with the applicant's duty firearms as set forth 

in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(r)  The An armed security guard is required to qualify annually 

both for day and night firing with his or her duty handgun, 

shotgun, and rifle, if applicable. If the security guard fails to 

qualify on any course of fire, the security guard shall not carry the 

firearm until such time as he or she meets the qualification 

requirements. Upon failure to qualify, the firearm instructor shall 

notify the security guard that he or she is no longer authorized to 

carry the firearm and the firearm instructor shall notify the 

employer and the Private Protective Services Board staff on the 

next business day. 

(s)  A firearm training certificate of an armed security guard 

remains valid even if the guard leaves the employment of one 

company for the employment of another. The range qualifications 

shall remain valid if the guard will be carrying a firearm of the 

same make, model, and caliber, then no additional firearms 

training shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating 

the guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If 

the guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 

the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 

make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 

both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 

score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 

However, nothing herein shall extend the period of time the 

qualification is valid. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0808 CONCEALED WEAPONS 

(a)  Nothing in G.S. 74C or this Chapter shall be construed as 

permitting the carrying of concealed weapons by licensees, 

trainees, registrants or firearms trainers while in performance of 

duties regulated by the Private Protective Services Act, unless the 

Act. However, a licensee, trainer, or registrant who has complied 

with all provisions of G.S. 14, Article 54B and applicable rules 

promulgated adopted by the N.C. Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission pursuant thereto and has been 
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issued a current concealed handgun permit by a Sheriff. 

Additionally, applicants shall comply Sheriff may carry a 

concealed handgun after complying with the concealed firearm 

handgun provisions for training and qualifications set forth in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  A licensee, trainer, or registrant trainee, registrant or firearms 

trainer shall comply with each of the following requirements to 

carry a Concealed Firearm concealed handgun while engaged in a 

private protective services business. 

(1) An individual shall hold Hold a current Armed 

Security Guard Registration Permit by 

complying with all requirements for armed 

registration as prescribed in this Section. 

(2) An individual shall complete Complete 

standards set forth by the N.C. Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards Commission 

to include knowledge of North Carolina 

firearms laws including, but not limited to, the 

limitation on concealed weapon handgun 

possession on specified grounds property and 

within certain buildings. 

(3) An individual meeting the requirements of this 

Section shall be issued a concealed firearm 

endorsement to the current Armed Security 

Guard Registration Permit for the term of the 

Armed Security Guard Registration Permit 

without additional permit fees, but any 

additional training costs necessary to comply 

with this Section shall be borne directly by the 

applicant. 

(c)  Upon application to the Board, a licensee, trainee, registrant, 

or firearms trainer meeting the requirements of this Section may 

be issued a concealed handgun endorsement to the current Armed 

Security Guard Registration Permit for the term of the Armed 

Security Guard Registration Permit without additional permit 

fees, but any additional training costs necessary to comply with 

this Section shall be borne directly by the applicant. The 

endorsement shall be renewed at the time of the Armed Security 

Guard Registration Permit renewal pursuant to the applicable 

provisions of this Section on payment of the armed security guard 

registration renewal fee and proof of possession of a current 

Concealed Handgun Permit. There shall be no additional fee for 

the concealed firearms handgun endorsement renewal. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0809 AUTHORIZED FIREARMS 

Armed licensees or registrants are authorized, while in the 

performance of official duties or traveling directly to and from 

work, to carry a standard revolver from .32 caliber to .357 caliber, 

a standard semi-automatic pistol from .354 caliber to .45 caliber, 

any standard 12 gauge shotgun, or any standard semi-automatic 

or bolt action .223 or .223, .308, 5.56 X 45 mm NATO caliber 

caliber, or any above handgun caliber rifle as long as the licensee 

or registrant has been trained pursuant to Rule .0807 of this 

Section. For purposes of this Section, a "standard" firearm means 

a firearm that has not been modified or altered from its original 

manufactured design. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .0900 – TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0901 REQUIREMENTS FOR A 

FIREARMS TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Firearms trainer applicants shall: 

(1) meet the minimum standards established by 

Rule .0703 of this Chapter; 

(2) have a minimum of one year of supervisory 

experience in security with a contract security 

company or proprietary security organization, 

or one year of experience with any federal, 

state, county or municipal law enforcement 

agency; 

(3) attain a 90 percent score on a firearm's 

prequalification course approved by the Board 

and the Secretary of Public Safety, with a copy 

of the firearm's course certificate to be kept on 

file in the administrator's office; 

(4) to teach handgun qualification, complete a 

training course approved by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety that shall consist of 

a minimum of 32 hours of classroom and 

practical range training in safety and 

maintenance, range operations, night firearm 

training, control and safety procedures, and 

methods of handgun firing; 

(5) to teach shotgun or rifle qualification, complete 

a training course approved by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety that shall consist of 

a minimum of 24 12 hours of classroom and 

practical range training in shotgun and rifle 

safety and maintenance, range operations, night 

firearm training, control and safety procedures, 

and methods of shotgun and rifle firing; 

(6) to teach rifle qualification, complete a training 

course approved by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety that shall consist of a minimum 

of 16 hours of classroom and practical range 

training in rifle safety and maintenance, range 

operations, night firearm training, control and 

safety procedures, and methods of rifle firing; 

(6)(7) pay the certified trainer application fee 

established in Rule .0903(a)(1) of this Section; 

and 

(7)(8) successfully complete the requirements of the 

Unarmed Trainer Certificate set forth in Rule 

.0909 of this Section. 

(b)  The applicant's score on the prequalification course set forth 

in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule is valid for 180 days after 

completion of the course. 

(c)  In lieu of completing the training course set forth in 

Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule, an applicant may submit to the 

Board a current Criminal Justice Specialized Law Enforcement 

Firearms Instructor Certificate from the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. 

(d)  In lieu of Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (4) of this Rule, an 

applicant may establish that the applicant satisfies the conditions 
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set forth in G.S. 93B-15.1(a) for firearm instruction and two years 

of verifiable experience within the past five years in the U.S. 

Armed Forces as a firearms instructor. 

(e)  All applicants subject to Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule 

shall comply with the provisions of Subparagraph (a)(3), pay the 

application fee amount as set forth in Rule .0903 of this Section, 

and complete the eight-hour course given by the Board on rules 

and regulations. 

(f)  In addition to the requirement of Section .0200 of this Chapter, 

an applicant for a firearms trainer certificate who is the spouse of 

an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall establish 

that the application satisfies the conditions set forth in G.S. 93B-

15.1(b). 

(g)  A Firearms Trainer Certificate expires two years after the date 

of issuance.  

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13; 93B-15.1. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0902 APPLICATION FOR FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0903 FEES FOR TRAINER 

CERTIFICATE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

  

14B NCAC 16 .0904 RENEWAL OF A FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a firearms trainer certificate 

shall complete a renewal form provided by the Board and 

available on its website at www.ncdps.gov/PPS. This form shall 

be submitted not less than 30 days prior to the expiration of the 

applicant's current certificate and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) certification of the successful completion of a 

firearms trainer refresher course approved by 

the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety 

consisting of a minimum of eight hours of 

classroom and practical range training in safety 

and maintenance of the applicable firearm (i.e. 

handgun, shotgun or rifle), range operations, 

control and safety procedures, and methods of 

firing. firing, and night firing. This training 

shall be completed within 180 days of the 

submission of the renewal application; 

(2) a certified statement of the result of a criminal 

records search from the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74C-

8.1(a) for each state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 48 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee; and 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected by the Private 

Protective Services Board. 

(b)  Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the certification renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(c)  Any firearms trainer who fails to qualify with the minimum 

score during the refresher course shall not continue to instruct 

during the period between the failure to qualify and the expiration 

of his or her permit. 

(d)  The holder of a firearms trainer certificate may utilize a 

dedicated light system or gun mounted light for personal 

requalification. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0905 DETERMINATION OF 

EXPERIENCE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0906 RECORDS RETENTION 

(a)  A Certified Firearms Trainer shall retain the following in the 

individual's armed certification file: 

(1) a copy of the post delivery report listing the 

name(s) of individual(s) who qualified or 

attempted to qualify for armed security guard 

registration, and hour(s) of training, weapon 

firearms qualification scores and any other 

information thereon; 

(2) a copy of the individual's Firearm Training 

Certificate; and 

(3) the individual's B-27 target and the Certified 

Firearms Trainer's Documentation Record. 

(b)  The individual's B-27 qualification attempt target shall be 

retained for a minimum of 18 calendar months from the date of 

each qualification attempt. Each B-27 target must contain the full 

name of the individual that fired the qualification course of fire, 

the date that qualification attempt took place, the printed name 

and signature of the private protective service certified firearms 

trainer who scored the target and the score. The qualification 

target shall also show letter "N" or "D" to indicate if the 

qualification attempt was a day time ("D") or night time ("N") 

qualification attempt. The information required by this Paragraph 

shall be placed on the B-27 target in ink or permanent marker. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0907 PRE-DELIVERY REPORT FOR 

FIREARMS TRAINING COURSES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0908 POST-DELIVERY REPORT FOR 

FIREARMS TRAINING COURSES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0909 UNARMED TRAINER 

CERTIFICATE 

(a)  To receive an unarmed trainer certificate, an applicant shall 

meet the following requirements: 
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(1) comply with the requirements of Rule .0703 of 

this Chapter; 

(2) have a minimum of one year of experience in 

security with a contract security company or 

proprietary security organization, or one year of 

experience with any federal, state, county or 

municipal law enforcement agency; 

(3) successfully complete a training course 

approved by the Board and the Secretary of 

Public Safety which shall consist of a minimum 

of 24 hours classroom instruction to include the 

following topic areas: 

(A) civil liability for the security trainer -- 

(two hours); 

(B) interpersonal communications in 

instruction -- (three hours); 

(C) teaching adults -- (four hours); 

(D) principles of instruction -- (one hour); 

(E) methods and strategies of instruction -

- (one hour); 

(F) principles of instruction: audio-visual 

aids -- (three hours); and 

(G) student performance -- (45 minute 

presentation); 

(4) receive a favorable recommendation from the 

employing or contracting licensee; licensee or 

other individual knowledgeable of the 

applicant's experience and teaching skills; and 

(5) submit the application required by Rule .0910 

of this Section, which is available on the 

Board's website at www.ncdps.gov/PPS. 

(b)  In lieu of completing the training course set forth in 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule, an applicant may submit to the 

Board: 

(1) a Criminal Justice General Instructor 

Certificate from the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission; or 

(2) any training certification that meets or exceeds 

the requirements of Subparagraph (a)(3) of this 

Rule and is approved by the Director of PPS. 

(c)  In lieu of the experience requirement of Subparagraph (a)(2) 

of this Rule and completing the training course set forth in 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule, an applicant may establish that 

the applicant satisfies the conditions set forth in G.S. 93B-15.1(a) 

for an unarmed trainer and two years of verifiable experience 

within the past five years in the U.S. Armed forces as an unarmed 

guard trainer. 

(d)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for an unarmed guard trainer certificate that 

is the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces 

shall establish that the applicant satisfies the conditions set forth 

in G.S. 93B-15.1(b). 

(e)  An Unarmed Trainer Certificate shall expire two years after 

the date of issuance. 

(e)  The holder of an unarmed trainer certificate may teach as: 

(1) an employee of a licensed security guard and 

patrol business; 

(2) as a contractor of a licensed security guard and 

patrol business; and 

(3) in a program sponsored by a public high school 

defined by G.S. 115C-75(a)(2) or a community 

college established pursuant to G.S. 115D-2(2). 

(f)  An Unarmed Trainer Certificate shall expire two years after 

the date of issuance. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-8; 74C-9; 74C-11; 93B-15.1. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0910 APPLICATION FOR AN 

UNARMED TRAINER CERTIFICATE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0911 RENEWAL OF AN UNARMED 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0912 ROSTERS OF UNARMED 

TRAINER CLASSES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 SECTION .1000 - RECOVERY FUND  

 

14B NCAC 16 .1001 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1002 PETITION FOR 

HEARING/APPLICATION FOR RELIEF (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1003 PROCESSING APPLICATIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 SECTION .1100 - TRAINING AND SUPERVISION FOR 

PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR ASSOCIATES 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1101 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1102 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL ONE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1103 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL TWO (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1104 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL THREE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1105 EDUCATIONAL DEGREES AND 

NON-DEGREED TRAINING (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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14B NCAC 16 .1106 CONSIDERATION OF 

EXPERIENCE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1107 ENFORCEMENT (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1108 TRANSFERABILITY OF 

TRAINING HOURS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1200 – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

  

14B NCAC 16 .1201 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1202 REQUIRED CONTINUING 

EDUCATION HOURS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1203 ACCREDITATION STANDARDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1204 NON-RESIDENT LICENSEE 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1205 RECORDING AND REPORTING 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1206 NON-COMPLIANCE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1207 CREDIT FOR CE COURSES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1300 – ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION (UNARMED)  

 

14B NCAC 16 .1301 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1302 FEES FOR UNARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1303 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1304 INVESTIGATION FOR 

UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1305 UNARMED ARMORED CAR 

SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION IDENTIFICATION 

CARDS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1306 RENEWAL OR REISSUE OF 

UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1307 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1308 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1400 - ARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE 

GUARDS FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT  

 

14B NCAC 16 .1401 APPLICATION/ARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1402 FEES FOR ARMED ARMORED 

CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1403 MINIMUM STDS/ARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1404 INVESTIGATION/ARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1405 ARMED ARMORED CAR 

SERVICE GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT 

IDENTIFICATION CARDS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1406 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1407 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1408 UNIFORMS AND EQUIPMENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Environmental Management 

Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 02D 

.1905, readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A 

NCAC 02D .0540, .1802, .1806, .1902, .1903 and .1904; and 

readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

02D .1801, .1803, .1804, .1807, .1808, .1901, .1906 and .1907. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-

rules/rules-hearing-process 

 

Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 29, 2019 

Time: 6:00 p.m. 

Location: DEQ Green Square Office Building, 1st Floor Training 

Room (#1210), 217 West Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 31, 2019 

Time: 6:00 p.m. 

Location: Sampson County Community College, Activity Center, 

Highway 24 W, Clinton, NC 28329 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To receive comments on the 

proposed readoption of air quality rules in several sections in 15A 

NCAC 02D to meet the requirements of G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0540 – Particulates from Fugitive Dust 

Emission Sources 

This rule regulates excess fugitive dust emissions that are 

generated from activities such as loading and unloading areas, 

process areas, stockpiles, stock pile working, and facility parking 

lots and roads located at a plant. This rule is being proposed for 

readoption with substantive changes. These changes are intended 

to clarify the requirements that were already promulgated in the 

previous rule. Other changes to the rule include: general 

formatting, the addition of gender neutral language, and updating 

the format of references.  

 

15A NCAC 02D .1800 – Control of Odors 

This section consists of 7 rules for the control of objectionable 

odors from animal operations and other process facilities. Rules 

02D .1801, .1803, .1804, .1807, and .1808 are proposed for 

readoption without substantive changes. The changes to these 

rules include: general formatting, the addition of gender neutral 

language, and updating the format of references. Rules 02D .1802 

and .1806 are proposed for readoption with substantive changes. 

Rule 02D .1802 is being revised to provide clarity, remove 

obsolete text, and to redefine the best management plan 

requirements. Rule 02D .1806 is being revised to amend rule 

language to provide clarity, remove obsolete text, add a provision 

for requesting extensions. Also, the DAQ is proposing to add an 

intermediary step prior to requirement for maximum feasible 

controls. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .1900 – Open Burning 

There are 7 rules in this section that regulate open burning and 

air curtain incinerators. The rules prohibit most outdoor burning 

and sets conditions for allowable fires and what can be burned in 

those fires. The rule also sets conditions for the use of air curtain 

incinerators and the types of materials that can be burned in these 

incinerators. Rules 02D .1901, .1906, and .1907 are proposed for 

readoption without substantive changes. The changes to these 

rules include: general formatting, the addition of gender neutral 

language, and updating the format of references. Rule 02D .1905 

is proposed for amendment. Rules 02D .1902, .1903, and .1904 

are proposed for readoption with substantive changes. Rule 02D 

.1902 is being revised to remove definitions that are no longer 

needed and revise definitions to clarify different activities. In 

addition, changes were made to update the format of references 

and other administrative language. Rule 02D .1903 is being 

revised to update the name of the county office, clarify which items 

can be burned, and reformat the factors for the allowance of fire 

training burning by the regional supervisor. In addition, changes 

were made to update the format of references and other 

administrative language. Rule 02D .1904 is being revised to 

incorporate the changes to federal emissions guidelines and 

standards outlined in 40 CFR 60 Subpart DDDD and 40 CFR 

241, which were finalized by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency on June 23, 2016 and February 7, 2013, respectively. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published. The text of the rules is available on the DAQ website:  

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-

rules/rules-hearing-process. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Joelle Burleson, 217 West 

Jones St., 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1641, 

phone (919) 707-8720, fax (919) 707-8720, email 

daq.publiccomments@ncdenr.gov(please type "1/29/19 and 

1/31/19 hearings" in subject line) 

 

Comment period ends: February 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
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The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02D - AIR POLLUTION CONTROL 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

SECTION .0500 - EMISSION CONTROL STANDARDS 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0540 PARTICULATES FROM 

FUGITIVE DUST EMISSION SOURCES 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Excess fugitive dust emissions" means: 

(A) Fugitive fugitive dust is visible 

extending beyond the facility's 

property line, line; or 

(B) Upon upon inspection of settled dust 

on adjacent property, the Division 

finds that the dust came from the 

adjacent facility. 

(2) "Fugitive dust emissions" means particulate 

matter that does not pass through a process 

stack or vent and that is generated within plant 

property boundaries from activities such as 

unloading and loading areas, process areas, 

stockpiles, stock pile working, plant parking 

lots, and plant roads (including access roads and 

haul roads). 

(3) "Production of crops" means: 

(A) cultivation of land for crop planting; 

(B) crop irrigation; 

(C) harvesting; 

(D) on site curing, storage, or preparation 

of crops; or 

(E) protecting them from damage or 

disease conducted according to 

practices acceptable to the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services. 

(4) "Public parking" means an area dedicated to or 

maintained for the parking of vehicles by the 

general public. 

(5) "Public road" means any road that is part of the 

State highway system or any road, street, or 

right-of-way dedicated or maintained for public 

use. 

(6) "Substantive complaints" means complaints 

that are verified by the Division with physical 

evidence. evidence of excess fugitive dust 

emissions. 

(b)  This Rule does not apply to: 

(1) abrasive blasting covered under by Rule 15A 

NCAC 02D .0541; .0541 of this Section; 

(2) cotton ginning operations covered under by 

Rule 15A NCAC 02D .0542; .0542 of this 

Section; 

(3) non-production military base operations; 

(4) land disturbing activities, activities that do not 

require a permit pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q or 

are not subject to a requirement pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D, such as clearing, grading, or 

digging, and related activities such as hauling 

fill and cut material, building material, or 

equipment; or 

(5) public roads, public parking, timber harvesting, 

or production of crops. 

(c)  The owner or operator of a facility required to have a permit 

under pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q or of a source subject to a 

requirement under pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D shall not cause or 

allow fugitive dust emissions to cause or contribute to substantive 

complaints, or visible emissions in excess of that allowed under 

pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(d)  If fugitive dust emissions from a facility required to comply 

with this Rule cause or contribute to substantive complaints, the 

owner or operator of the facility shall: 

(1) within 30 days upon receipt of written 

notification from the Director of a second 

substantive complaint in a 12-month period, 

submit to the Director a written report that 

includes the identification of the probable 

source(s) sources of the fugitive dust emissions 

causing complaints and what measures can be 

made to abate the fugitive emissions; 

(2) within 60 days of the initial report submitted 

under pursuant to Subparagraph (1) of this 

Paragraph, submit to the Director a fugitive dust 

control plan as described in Paragraph (f) of this 

Rule; and 

(3) within 30 days after the Director approves the 

plan, be in compliance with the plan. 

(e)  If there is sufficient environmental benefit to justify a fugitive 

dust control plan, the The Director shall require that the owner or 

operator of a facility covered by Paragraph (c) of this Rule 

develop and submit a fugitive dust control plan as described in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule if: 

(1) ambient air quality measurements or dispersion 

modeling as provided in 15A NCAC 02D 

.1106(e) show that the excess fugitive dust 

emissions cause the show violation or a 

potential for a violation of an ambient air 

quality standard for particulates in 15A NCAC 

02D .0400; .0400 to be exceeded; or 
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(2) the Division observes excessive excess fugitive 

dust emissions from the facility beyond the 

property boundaries for six minutes in any one 

hour using Reference Method 22 in 40 CFR 60, 

Appendix A. 

(f)  The fugitive dust control plan shall: 

(1) identify the sources of fugitive dust emissions 

within the facility; 

(2) describe how fugitive dust will be controlled 

from each identified source; 

(3) contain a schedule by which the plan will be 

implemented; 

(4) describe how the plan will be implemented, 

including training of facility personnel; and 

(5) describe methods propose any methods that will 

be used to verify compliance with the plan. 

(g)  The Director shall approve the plan if he or she finds that: 

(1) the plan contains all required elements in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule; 

(2) the proposed schedule contained in the plan will 

reduce fugitive dust emissions in a timely 

manner; in accordance with the timeliness for 

implementing the proposed method or 

equipment; 

(3) the methods used to control fugitive dust 

emissions are sufficient to prevent fugitive dust 

emissions from causing or contributing to a 

violation of the ambient air quality standards 

for particulates; and 

(4) the described proposed compliance verification 

methods are sufficient to verify compliance 

with the fugitive dust control plan. 

If the Director finds that the proposed plan does not meet the 

requirements of this Paragraph Paragraph, he or she shall notify 

the owner or operator of the facility of any deficiencies in the 

proposed plan. The owner or operator shall have 30 days after 

receiving written notification from the Director to correct the 

deficiencies or submit a schedule describing actions to be taken 

and the time by which they will be implemented. 

(h)  If after a plan has been implemented, the Director finds that 

the plan inadequately controls fails to control excess fugitive dust 

emissions, he or she shall require the owner or operator of the 

facility to correct the deficiencies in the plan. Within 90 days after 

receiving written notification from the Director identifying the 

deficiency, the owner or operator of the facility shall submit a 

revision to his or her plan to correct the deficiencies. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5); 143-

215.108(c)(7). 

 

SECTION .1800 - CONTROL OF ODORS 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1801 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1802 CONTROL OF ODORS FROM 

ANIMAL OPERATIONS USING LIQUID ANIMAL 

WASTE MANAGEMENT SYSTEMS 

(a)  Purpose. The purpose of this Rule is to control objectionable 

odors from animal operations beyond the boundaries of animal 

operations. 

(b)  Applicability. This Rule shall apply to all animal operations. 

operations using liquid animal waste management systems. 

(c)  Required management practices. All animal operations shall 

be required to implement applicable management practices for the 

control of odors as follows: 

(1) The the carcasses of dead animals shall be 

disposed of within 24 hours after becoming 

aware of the death of the animal according to 

the methods approved by the State Veterinarian 

for disposal of dead domesticated animals 

under pursuant to G.S. 106-403; G.S. 106-403 

and 02 NCAC 52C .0102. 02 NCAC 52C .0102 

is hereby incorporated by reference and 

includes subsequent amendments or editions; 

(2) Waste waste from animal wastewater 

application spray systems shall be applied in 

such a manner and under pursuant to such 

conditions to prevent drift from the irrigation 

field of the wastewater spray beyond the 

boundary of the animal operation, except waste 

from application spray systems may be applied 

in an emergency to maintain safe lagoon 

freeboard if the owner or operator notifies the 

Department and resolves the emergency with 

the Department as written in Section III.6 III.13 

of the Swine Waste Operation General Permit; 

(3) Animal animal wastewater application spray 

system intakes shall be located near the liquid 

surface of the animal wastewater lagoon; 

(4) Ventilation ventilation fans shall be maintained 

according to the manufacturer=s manufacturer's 

specifications; and 

(5) Animal animal feed storage containers located 

outside of animal containment buildings shall 

be covered except when necessary to remove or 

add feed; removing or adding feed. this This 

Subparagraph does shall not apply to the 

storage of silage or hay or to commodity boxes 

with roofs; and roofs. 

All animal operations shall be in compliance with this Paragraph 

by June 1, 1999. 

(d)  Odor management plan (OMP) for existing animal operations 

for swine. Animal operations for swine that meet the criteria in 

the table in this Paragraph shall submit an odor management plan 

to the Director according to the schedule in the table in this 

Paragraph. Director. The odor management plan shall describe 

how odors are currently being controlled and how these odors will 

be controlled in the future. The odor management plan shall 

contain the elements described in Rule .1803(a) of this Section. 
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The animal operation shall be required to submit its odor 

management plan only once. The odor management plan shall: 

(1) identify the name, location, and owner of the 

animal operation; 

(2) identify the name, title, address, and telephone 

number of the person filing the plan; 

(3) identify the sources of odor within the animal 

operation; 

(4) describe how odor will be controlled from: 

(A) the animal houses; 

(B) the animal wastewater lagoon, if used; 

(C) the animal wastewater application 

lands, if used; 

(D) waste conveyances and temporary 

accumulation points; and 

(E) other possible sources of odor within 

the animal operation; 

(5) contain a diagram showing all structures and 

lagoons at the animal operation, forced air 

directions, and approximate distances to 

structures or groups of structures within 3,000 

feet of the property line of the animal operation; 

a recent or updated aerial photograph instead of 

a diagram provided the items required by this 

Subparagraph are shown; 

(6) for existing animal operations, contain a 

schedule not to exceed six months by which the 

plan will be implemented; 

(7) describe how the plan will be implemented, 

including training of personnel; 

(8) describe inspection and maintenance 

procedures; and 

(9) describe methods of monitoring and 

recordkeeping to verify compliance with the 

plan. 

 

100 pounds steady state 

live weight of swine 

Distance in feet to the boundary of the nearest 

neighboring occupied property with an inhabitable 

structure, business, school, hospital, church, outdoor 

recreational facility, national park, State Park parks, 

historic property, or child care center 

Date by when the odor 

management plan is to be 

submitted  

at least 

 

but less 

than 

10,000 20,000 less than or equal to 3,000 January 15, 2002 

20,000 40,000 less than or equal to 4,000 July 15, 2001 

40,000  less than or equal to 5,000 January 15, 2001 

 

For the purposes of this Rule, the distance shall be measured from 

the edge of the barn or lagoon, whichever is closer, to the 

boundary of the neighboring occupied property with an 

inhabitable structure, business, school, hospital, church, outdoor 

recreational facility, national park, State Park parks, historic 

property, or child care center. All animal operations for swine that 

are of the capacity size in the table in this Paragraph shall submit 

by the date specified in this table either an odor management plan 

or documentation that no neighboring occupied property with an 

inhabitable structure, business, school, hospital, church, outdoor 

recreational facility, national park, State Park, parks, historic 

property, or child care center is within the distances specified in 

the table as of the date that the submittal is due. table. After July 

15, 2002, the The Director may require existing animal operations 

for swine with a steady state live weight of swine between 1,000 

100,000 to 10,000 1,000,000 pounds steady state live weight 

hundredweights to submit an odor management plan if the 

Director determines pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule that 

these animal operations may cause or contribute to an 

objectionable odor. The Director may require an existing animal 

operation to submit a best management plan (BMP) pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02D .1803, under then submit the BMP pursuant to 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule if the existing animal operation fails to 

submit an odor management plan by the schedule in this 

Paragraph of this Rule. plan. 

(e)  Location of objectionable odor determinations. 

(1) For an existing animal operation that does not 

meet the following siting requirements: 

(A) at least 1500 1,500 feet from any 

occupied residence not owned by the 

owner of the animal operation; 

(B) at least 2500 2,500 feet from any 

school, hospital, church, outdoor 

recreation facility. Facility, national 

park; parks, State Park, parks, historic 

property, or child care center; and 

(C) at least 500 feet from any property 

boundary; 

 objectionable odors shall be determined at 

neighboring occupied property not owned by 

the owner of the animal operation, such as 

businesses, schools, hospitals, churches, 

outdoor recreation facilities, national parks, 

State Parks, parks, historic properties, or child 

care centers that are affected. 

(2) For a new animal operation or existing animal 

operation that meets the siting requirements in 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph, 

objectionable odors shall be determined beyond 

the boundary of the animal operation. 

(f)  Complaints. The Director shall respond to complaints about 

objectionable odors from animal operations as follows: 

(1) Complaints shall be investigated to the extent 

practicable. investigated; 

(2) Complaints may be used to assist in 

determination of a best management plan 

failure or a control technology failure. failure; 

(3) The Director shall respond to complaints within 

30 days. days of receipt of the complaint; 

(4) Complaint response shall at least include a 

written response of the Director's evaluation of 

the complaint. complaint; 
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(5) The investigation of a complaint shall be 

completed as expeditiously as possible 

considering the meteorology, activities at the 

animal operation, and other conditions 

occurring at the time of the complain. 

complaint. 

(g)  Determination of the existence of an objectionable odor. In 

deciding determining if an animal operation is causing or 

contributing to an objectionable odor, the factors the Director may 

consider one or more of the following: include: 

(1) the nature, intensity, frequency, pervasiveness, 

and duration of the odors from the animal 

operation; 

(2) complaints received about objectionable odors 

from the animal operation; 

(3) emissions from the animal operation of known 

odor causing compounds, such as ammonia, 

total volatile organics, hydrogen sulfide sulfide, 

or other sulfur compounds at levels that could 

cause or contribute to an objectionable odor; 

(4) any epidemiological studies associating health 

problems with odors from the animal operation 

or documented health problems associated with 

odors from the animal operation provided by 

the State Health Director; or 

(5) any other evidence, including records 

maintained by neighbors, that show that the 

animal operation is causing or contributing to 

an objectionable odor. 

(h)  Requirement Requirements for a best management plan for 

controlling control of odors from existing animal operations. If 

the Director finds determines that an existing animal operation is 

causing or contributing to an objectionable odor, the owner or 

operator of the animal operation shall: 

(1) submit to the Director as soon as practical, but 

not to exceed 90 days after receipt of written 

notification from the Director that the animal 

operation is causing or contributing to an 

objectionable odor, a best management plan for 

odor control as described in 15A NCAC 02D 

.1803; Rule .1803 of this Section; and 

(2) be in compliance with the terms of the best 

management plan within 30 days after the 

Director approves the best management plan 

plan, or an approved compliance schedule by 

the Director (approved compliance schedule is 

an alternate schedule to 30 days). (compliance 

with an approved compliance schedule in the 

best management plan is deemed to be in 

compliance with the plan). 

(i)  Requirement for amendment to the best management plan. No 

later than 60 days from completion of a compliance schedule in 

an approved best management plan or if the best management plan 

contains no compliance schedule, no later than 60 days from the 

implementation date of the best management plan, the Director 

shall determine whether the plan has been properly implemented. 

If the Director determines at any time that a plan submitted under 

pursuant to Paragraph (h) of this Rule does not control 

objectionable odors from the animal operation, the Director shall 

require the owner or operator of the animal operation to amend 

the plan to incorporate additional or alternative measures to 

control objectionable odors from the animal operation. The owner 

or operator shall: 

(1) submit a revised best management plan to the 

Director as soon as practical but not later than 

60 days after receipt of written notification 

from the Director that the plan is inadequate; 

and 

(2) be in compliance with the revised best 

management plan within 30 days after the 

Director approves the revisions to the best 

management plan plan (approved compliance 

schedule is an alternate schedule to 30 

days).(compliance with an approved 

compliance schedule in the best management 

plan is deemed to be in compliance with the 

plan). 

(j)  Plan failure. Any of the following conditions shall constitute 

failure of a best management plan: 

(1) failing to submit the initial best management 

plan required under Paragraph (h) of this Rule 

within 90 days of receipt of written notification 

from the Director that the animal operation is 

causing or contributing to an objectionable 

odor; 

(2) failing to submit a revised best management 

plan required under Paragraph (i) of this Rule 

within 60 days of receipt of written notification 

from the Director that the animal operation is 

causing or contributing to an objectionable 

odor; 

(3) failing to correct all deficiencies in a submitted 

best management plan under Rule .1803(c) of 

this Section within 30 days of receipt of written 

notification from the Director to correct these 

deficiencies; 

(4) failing to implement the best management plan 

after it has been approved; or 

(5) finding by the Director, using the criteria under 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule, that, after the best 

management plan has been implemented and 

revised no more than one time (voluntary 

revisions and revisions made pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 2D .1803(c) shall not be counted as 

revisions under this Subparagraph); the best 

management plan does not adequately control 

objectionable odors from the animal operation 

and will not adequately control objectionable 

odors even with further amendments. 

(j)(k)  Requirements for control technology. After the best 

management plan has been implemented and revised no more than 

one time excluding voluntary revisions and revisions made 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1803(c). If a A plan failure occurs, 

shall constitute a finding by the Director, using the criteria 

pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule. If a plan failure occurs, the 

Director shall require the owner or operator of the animal 

operation to install control technology to control odor from the 

animal operation. The owner or operator shall submit within 
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Within 90 days from receipt of written notification from the 

Director of a plan failure, the owner or operator shall submit a 

permit application for control technology and an installation 

schedule. If the owner or operator demonstrates to the Director 

that a permit application cannot be submitted within 90 days, the 

Director may shall extend the time for submittal up to an 

additional 90 days. days if the owner or operator demonstrates the 

delay in submitting the application was beyond his or her control. 

Control technology shall be determined according to 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph. The installation schedule 

shall contain the increments of progress described in 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph. The owner or operator may 

at any time request adjustments in the installation schedule and 

shall in his or her request explain why the schedule cannot be met. 

If the Director finds that the request reason for not meeting the 

schedule is valid, to be accurate, the Director shall revise the 

installation schedule as requested; however, the Director shall not 

extend the final compliance date beyond 24 months from the date 

that the permit was first issued for the control technology. The 

owner or operator shall certify to the Director within five days 

after the deadline for each increment of progress described in 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph whether the required 

increment of progress has been met. 

(1) Control technology. The owner or operator of 

an animal operation shall identify control 

technologies that are technologically feasible 

for his or her animal operation and shall select 

the control technology or control technologies 

that results in the greatest reduction of odors 

considering human health, energy, 

environmental, and economic impacts and 

other costs. The owner or operator shall explain 

the reasons for selecting the control technology 

or control technologies. If the Director finds 

that the selected control technology or control 

technologies will effectively control odors 

following the procedures in 15A NCAC 2Q 

02Q .0300 or .0500, he or she shall approve the 

installation of the control technology or control 

technologies for this animal operation upon 

permit issuance. The owner or operator of the 

animal operation shall comply with all terms 

and conditions in the permit. 

(2) Installation schedule. The installation schedule 

for control technology shall contain the 

following increments of progress: 

(A) a date by which contracts for odor 

control technology shall be awarded or 

orders shall be issued for purchase of 

component parts; parts or materials; 

(B) a date by which on-site construction or 

installation of the odor control 

technology shall begin; 

(C) a date by which on-site construction or 

installation of the odor control 

technology shall be completed; and 

(D) a date by which final compliance shall 

be achieved. 

Control technology shall be in place and operating as soon as 

practical but not to exceed 12 months from the date that the permit 

is issued for control technology. 

(k)(l)  New or modified animal operations. This Paragraph does 

not apply to activities exempted from the moratorium on 

construction or expansion of swine farms in S.L. 1997, c. 458, s. 

1.1 provided that the owner or operator demonstrates to the 

Director that the activity will not result in an objectionable odor. 

The following requirements shall apply to new or modified animal 

operations: 

(1) Before beginning construction, the owner or 

operator of a new or modified animal operation 

raising or producing swine shall submit and 

have an approved best management plan and 

shall meet the following: following setbacks. A 

house or lagoon that is a component of an 

animal operation shall be constructed: 

(A) at least 1500 1,500 feet from any 

occupied residence not owned by the 

owner of the animal operation; 

(B) at least 2500 2,500 feet from any 

school, hospital, church, outdoor 

recreation facility, national park, State 

Park, parks, historic property, or child 

care center; and 

(C) at least 500 feet from any property 

boundary; 

(2) Before beginning construction, the owner or 

operator of a new or modified animal operation 

other than swine shall submit and have an 

approved best management plan. 

(3) For new or modified animal operations raising 

or producing swine, the outer perimeter of the 

land area onto which waste is applied that is a 

component of an animal operation shall be: 

(A) at least 75 feet from any boundary of 

property on which an occupied 

residence not owned by the owner of 

the animal operation is located, 

located; and 

(B) at least 200 feet from any occupied 

residence not owned by the owner of 

the animal operation. 

(4) The Director shall either approve or disapprove 

the best management plan submitted under 

pursuant to this Paragraph within 90 days after 

receipt of the plan. If the Director disapproves 

the plan, he or she shall identify the plan=s 

plan's deficiency. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(11); 143-

215.108(a); 150B-21.6. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1803 BEST MANAGEMENT PLANS 

FOR ANIMAL OPERATIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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15A NCAC 02D .1804 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ANIMAL OPERATIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1806 CONTROL AND PROHIBITION 

OF ODOROUS EMISSIONS 

(a)  Purpose. The purpose of this Rule is to provide for the control 

and prohibition of objectionable odorous emissions. 

(b)  Definitions. For the purpose of this Rule Rule, the following 

definitions shall apply: 

(1) "Commercial purposes" means activities that 

require a state State or local business license to 

operate. 

(2) "Temporary activities or operations" means 

activities or operations that are less than 30 days 

in duration during the course of a calendar year 

and do not require an air quality permit. 

(c)  Applicability. With the exceptions exemptions in Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule, this Rule shall apply to all operations that may 

produce odorous emissions that can cause or contribute to 

objectionable odors beyond the facility's boundaries. 

(d)  Exemptions. The requirements of this Rule do not apply to: 

(1) processes at kraft pulp mills identified in 15A 

NCAC 02D Rule .0528 of this Section, and 

covered under subject to Rule 15A NCAC 02D 

.0524 or .0528 of this Section; .0528; 

(2) processes at facilities that produce feed-grade 

animal proteins or feed-grade animal fats and 

oils identified in and covered under Rule .0539; 

15A NCAC 02D .0539; 

(3) motor vehicles and transportation facilities; 

(4) all on-farm animal and agricultural operations, 

including dry litter operations and operations 

covered under Rule .1804 of this Section; 

subject to 15A NCAC 02D .1804; 

(5) municipal wastewater treatment plants and 

municipal wastewater handling systems; 

(6) restaurants and food preparation facilities that 

prepare and serve food on site; 

(7) single family dwellings not used for 

commercial purposes; 

(8) materials odorized for safety purposes; 

(9) painting and coating operations that do not 

require a business license; or 

(10) all temporary activities or operations. 

operations; or 

(11) any facility that stores products that are grown, 

produced, or generated on one or more 

agricultural operations and that are "renewable 

energy resources," as defined in G.S. 62-

133.8(a)(8) if the facility identifies the sources 

of potential odor emissions and specifies odor 

management practices in their permit pursuant 

to 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 or .0500 to minimize 

objectionable odor beyond the property lines. 

(e)  Control Requirements. The owner or operator of a facility 

subject to this Rule shall not operate the facility without 

implementing management practices or installing and operating 

odor control equipment sufficient to prevent odorous emissions 

from the facility from causing or contributing to objectionable 

odors beyond the facility's boundary. 

(f)  Odor management plan. If the Director determines, pursuant 

to Paragraph (i) of this Rule, that a source or facility subject to 

this Rule is causing or contributing to objectionable odors beyond 

its property boundary by the procedures described in Paragraph 

(i) of this Rule, the owner or operator shall develop and submit an 

odor management plan within 60 days of receipt of written 

notification from the Director of an objectionable odor 

determination. The odor management plan shall: 

(1) identify the sources of odorous emissions; 

(2) describe how odorous emissions will be 

controlled from each identified source; 

(3) describe how the plan will be implemented; and 

(4) contain a schedule by which the plan will be 

implemented. 

Upon receipt of an approval letter from the Director for the odor 

management plan, the source or facility shall implement the 

approved plan within 30 days, unless an alternative schedule of 

implementation is approved as part of the odor management plan 

submittal. If the Director finds that the odor management plan 

does not meet the requirements of this Paragraph or that the plan 

is insufficient to address the specific odor concerns, he or she shall 

notify the owner or operator of any deficiencies in the proposed 

plan. The owner or operator shall have 30 days after receipt of 

written notification from the Director to resubmit the odor 

management plan correcting the stated deficiencies with the plan 

or the schedule of implementation. If the owner or operator fails 

to correct the plan deficiencies with the second draft plan 

submittal or repeatedly fails to meet the deadlines set forth in this 

Paragraph or Paragraph (g) of this Rule, the Director shall notify 

the owner or operator in writing that they are required to comply 

with the maximum feasible control requirements in Paragraph (h) 

of this Rule. 

(g)  Odor management plan revision. If after the odor management 

plan has been implemented, the Director determines that the plan 

fails to eliminate objectionable odor emissions from a source or 

facility using the procedures described in Paragraph (i) of this 

Rule, he or she shall require the owner or operator of the facility 

to submit a revised plan. Within 60 days after receiving written 

notification from the Director of a new objectionable odor 

determination, the owner or operator of the facility shall submit a 

revision to their odor management plan following the procedures 

and timelines in Paragraph (f) of this Rule. If the revised plan, 

once implemented, fails to eliminate objectionable odors, then the 

source or facility shall comply with requirements in Paragraph (h) 

of this Rule. 

(h)(f)  Maximum feasible controls. If an amended odor 

management plan does not prevent objectionable odors beyond 

the facility's boundary, If the Director determines that a source or 

facility subject to this Rule is emitting an objectionable odor by 

the procedures described in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, the 

Director shall require the owner or operator to implement 

maximum feasible controls for the control of odorous emissions. 

(Maximum Maximum feasible controls shall be determined 

according to the procedures in Rule .1807 of this Section.) 15A 

NCAC 02D .1807. The owner or operator shall: 

(1) within 180 days of receipt of written 

notification from the Director of the 
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requirement to implement maximum feasible 

controls, complete the determination process 

outlined in 15A NCAC 2D .1807 and submit 

the completed maximum feasible control 

determination process along with a permit 

application for maximum feasible controls and 

a compliance schedule to the Division of Air 

Quality; the compliance schedule shall contain 

the following increments of progress: complete 

the process outlined in 15A NCAC 02D .1807 

and submit a complete permit application 

according to 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 or 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0500, as applicable, within 180 

days of receipt of written notice from the 

Director requiring implementation of 

maximum feasible controls. The application 

shall include a compliance schedule containing 

the following increments of progress: 

(A) a date by which contracts for the 

odorous emission control systems and 

equipment shall be awarded or orders 

shall be issued for purchase of 

component parts; 

(B) a date by which on-site construction or 

installation of the odorous emission 

control systems and equipment shall 

begin; 

(C) a date by which on-site construction or 

installation of the odorous emission 

control systems and equipment shall 

be completed; and 

(D) a date by which final compliance shall 

be achieved. 

(2) install and begin operating maximum feasible 

controls within 18 months after receiving 

written notification from the Director of the 

requirement to implement maximum feasible 

controls, have installed and begun operating 

maximum feasible controls. controls. The 

owner or operator may request an extension to 

implement maximum feasible controls. The 

Director shall approve an extension request if 

he or she finds that the extension request is the 

result of circumstances beyond the control of 

the owner or operator. 

The owner or operator shall certify to the Director within five days 

after the deadline for each increment of progress in this Paragraph 

whether the required increment of progress has been met. 

(i)(g)  Determination of the existence of an objectionable odor. A 

source or facility is causing or contributing to an objectionable 

odor when: 

(1) A a member of the Division staff determines by 

field investigation that an objectionable odor is 

present by taking into account the nature, 

intensity, pervasiveness, duration, and source 

of the odor and other pertinent factors; 

(2) The the source or facility emits known odor 

causing odor-causing compounds such as 

ammonia, total volatile organics, hydrogen 

sulfide, or other sulfur compounds at levels that 

cause objectionable odors beyond the property 

line of that source or facility; or 

(3) The the Division receives from the State Health 

Director epidemiological studies associating 

health problems with odors from the source or 

facility facility. or evidence of documented 

health problems associated with odors from the 

source or facility provided by the State Health 

Director. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5). 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1807 DETERMINATION OF 

MAXIMUM FEASIBLE CONTROLS FOR ODOROUS 

EMISSIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1808 EVALUATION OF NEW OR 

MODIFIED SWINE FARMS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1900 – OPEN BURNING   

 

15A NCAC 02D .1901 OPEN BURNING: PURPOSE: 

SCOPE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1902 DEFINITIONS 

For the purpose of this Section, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Air Curtain Burner" Incinerator" means a 

stationary or portable combustion device that 

operates by directs directing a plane of high 

velocity forced draft air through a manifold 

head into a pit onto an open chamber, pit, or 

container with vertical walls in such a manner 

as to maintain a curtain of air over the surface 

of the pit and a recirculating motion of air under 

the curtain. These incinerators can be built 

above or below ground and be constructed with 

or without refractory walls and floors. These 

shall not include conventional combustion 

devices with enclosed fireboxes or controlled 

air technology such as mass burn, modular, or 

fluidized bed combustors. 

(2) "Air Quality Action Day Code 'Orange' or 

above" means an air quality index of 101 or 

greater than 100 as defined in 40 CFR Part 58, 

Appendix G. This includes Codes Orange, Red, 

Purple, and Maroon. 

(3) "Air quality forecast area" means for: 

(a) Asheville air quality forecast area: 

Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson, 

Jackson, Madison, Swain, 

Transylvania, and Yancey Counties; 

(b) Charlotte air quality forecast area: 

Cabarrus, Gaston, Iredell South of 

Interstate 40, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, 

Rowan, and Union Counties; 
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(c) Hickory air quality forecast area: 

Alexander, Burke, Caldwell, and 

Catawba Counties; 

(d) Fayetteville air quality forecast area: 

Cumberland and Harnett Counties; 

(e) Rocky Mount air quality forecast area: 

Edgecombe and Nash Counties; 

(f) Triad air quality forecast area: 

Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, 

Forsyth, Guilford, Randolph, 

Rockingham, and Stokes Counties; 

and 

(g) Triangle air quality forecast area: 

Chatham, Durham, Franklin, 

Granville, Johnston, Person, Orange, 

Vance, and Wake Counties. 

(4)(3) "Dangerous materials" means explosives or 

containers used in the holding or transporting of 

explosives. 

(5)(4) "Initiated" means to start or ignite a fire or 

reignite or rekindle a fire. 

(6) "HHCU" means the Health Hazards Control 

Unit of the Division of Public Health. 

(7)(5) "Land clearing" means the uprooting or 

clearing of vegetation in connection with 

construction for buildings; right-of-way 

maintenance; agricultural, residential, 

commercial, institutional, or industrial 

development; mining activities; or the initial 

clearing of vegetation to enhance property 

value; but value. This term does not include 

routine regularly scheduled maintenance or 

property clean-up activities. 

(8)(6) "Log" means any limb or trunk whose diameter 

exceeds six inches. 

(9)(7) "Nonattainment area" means an area designated 

in 40 CFR 81.334 as nonattainment. 

(10)(8) "Nuisance" means causing physical irritation 

exacerbating a documented medical condition, 

visibility impairment, or evidence of soot or ash 

on property or structure other than the property 

on which the burning is done. 

(11)(9) "Occupied structure" means a building in which 

where people may live or work, can be 

reasonably expected to be present or one 

intended a building used for housing farm or 

other domestic animals. 

(12)(10) "Off-site" means any area not on the premises 

of the land-clearing activities. 

(13)(11) "Open burning" means the burning of any 

matter in such a manner that the products of 

combustion resulting from the burning are 

emitted directly into the atmosphere without 

passing through a stack, chimney, or a 

permitted air pollution control device. 

(14) "Operator" as used in .1904(b)(6) and 

.1904(b)(2)(D) of this Section, means the 

person in operational control over the open 

burning. 

(15) "Permanent site" means for an air curtain 

burner, a place where an air curtain burner is 

operated for more than nine months. 

(16)(12) "Person" as used in 15A NCAC 02D .1901(c), 

.1901 means: 

(a) the person in operational control over 

the open burning; or 

(b) the landowner or person in possession 

or control of the land when he or she 

has directly or indirectly allowed the 

open burning or the Division 

determined that the land owner has 

benefited from it. 

(17)(13) "Pile" means a quantity of combustible material 

assembled together in a mass. one place. 

(18)(14) "Public pick-up" means the removal of refuse, 

yard trimmings, limbs, or other plant material 

from a residence by a governmental agency, 

private company contracted by a governmental 

agency, or municipal service. 

(19)(15) "Public road" means any road that is part of the 

State highway system; system or any road, 

street, or right-of-way dedicated or maintained 

for public use. 

(20) "RACM" means regulated asbestos containing 

material as defined in 40 CFR 61.142. 

(21)(16) "Refuse" means any garbage, rubbish, or trade 

waste. 

(22)(17) "Regional Office Supervisor" means the 

supervisor of personnel of the Division of Air 

Quality in a regional office of the Department 

of Environment and Natural Resources. 

Environmental Quality. 

(18) "Right-of-way maintenance" means vegetation 

management, including grass cutting, weed 

abatement, tree trimming and tree/brush 

removal of existing streets, highways, and 

public places. 

(23)(19) "Salvageable items" means any product or 

material that was first discarded or damaged 

and then all, or part, all or part was saved 

recovered for future use, use. and Examples of 

these items include insulated wire, electric 

motors, and electric transformers. 

(24)(20) "Smoke management plan" means the plan 

developed following the North Carolina Forest 

Service's smoke management program and 

approved by the North Carolina Forest Service. 

The purpose of the smoke management plan is 

to manage smoke from prescribed burns of 

public and private forests to minimize the 

impact of smoke on air quality and visibility. 

(25)(21) "Synthetic material" means man-made 

material, including tires, asphalt materials such 

as shingles or asphaltic roofing materials, 

construction materials, packaging for 

construction materials, wire, electrical 

insulation, and treated or coated wood. 
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Authority G.S. 143-212; 143-213; 143-215.3(a)(1). 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1903 OPEN BURNING WITHOUT AN 

AIR QUALITY PERMIT 

(a)  All open burning is prohibited except open burning allowed 

under pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule or Rule .1904 of this 

Section. 15A NCAC 02D .1904. Except as allowed under 

Paragraphs pursuant to Subparagraphs (b)(3) through (b)(9) of 

this Rule, open burning shall not be initiated in an air quality 

forecast area a county that the Department, Department or the 

Forsyth County Office of Environmental Assistance and 

Protection Environmental Affairs Department for the Triad air 

quality forecast area, has forecasted to be in an Air Quality Action 

Day Code "Orange" or above during the 24-hour time period 

covered by that forecast. Air Quality Action Day. 

(b)  The following types of open burning are permissible without 

an air quality permit: permit. 

(1) The open burning of leaves, logs, stumps, tree 

branches branches, or yard trimmings, if the 

following conditions are met: 

(A) The the material burned originates on 

the premises of private residences and 

is burned on those premises; premises 

and does not include material 

collected from multiple private 

residences and combined for burning; 

(B) There there are no public pickup 

services available; 

(C) Non-vegetative non-vegetative 

materials, such as household garbage, 

lumber, treated or coated wood, or any 

other synthetic materials are not 

burned; 

(D) The the burning is initiated no earlier 

than 8:00 a.m. and no additional 

combustible material is added to the 

fire between 6:00 p.m. on one day and 

8:00 a.m. on the following day; 

(E) The the burning does not create a 

nuisance; and 

(F) Material material is not burned when 

the North Carolina Forest Service or 

other government agencies has have 

banned burning for that area. 

 The burning of logs or stumps of any size shall 

not be considered to create a nuisance for 

purposes of the application of the open burning 

air quality permitting exception described in 

this Subparagraph. Subparagraph; 

(2) The open burning for land clearing or right-of-

way maintenance if the following conditions 

are met: 

(A) The wind direction at the time that the 

burning is initiated and the wind 

direction as forecasted by the National 

Weather Service at the time that the 

burning is initiated are away from any 

area, including public roads within 

250 feet of the burning as measured 

from the edge of the pavement or other 

roadway surface, which may be 

affected by smoke, ash, or other air 

pollutants from the burning; 

(B) The location of the burning is at least 

500 feet from any dwelling, group of 

dwellings, or commercial or 

institutional establishment, or other 

occupied structure not located on the 

property on which where the burning 

is conducted. The regional office 

supervisor may grant exceptions to the 

setback requirements if: 

(i) a signed, written statement 

waiving objections to the 

open burning associated with 

the land clearing operation is 

obtained and submitted to, 

and the exception granted by, 

the regional office supervisor 

before the burning begins 

from a resident or an owner 

of each dwelling, commercial 

or institutional 

establishment, or other 

occupied structure within 

500 feet of the open burning 

site. In the case of a lease or 

rental agreement, the lessee 

or renter shall be the person 

from whom permission shall 

be gained prior to any 

burning; or 

(ii) an air curtain burner 

incinerator that complies 

with Rule .1904 of this 

Section, 15A NCAC 02D 

.1904 is utilized at the open 

burning site. 

  Factors that the regional supervisor 

shall consider in deciding to grant the 

exception include: all the persons who 

need to sign the statement waiving the 

objection have signed it; the location 

of the burn; and the type, amount, and 

nature of the combustible substances. 

The regional supervisor shall not grant 

a waiver if a college, school, licensed 

day care, hospital, licensed rest home, 

or other similar institution is less than 

500 feet from the proposed burn site 

when such institution is occupied. 

occupied; 

(C) Only land-cleared plant growth is 

burned. Heavy oils, asphaltic 

materials such as shingles and other 

roofing materials, items containing 

natural or synthetic rubber, synthetic 

materials, or any materials other than 
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plant growth shall not be burned; 

however, kerosene, distillate oil, or 

diesel fuel may be used to start the fire; 

(D) Initial burning begins only between 

the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m., 

and no combustible material is added 

to the fire between 6:00 p.m. on one 

day and 8:00 a.m. on the following 

day; 

(E) No fires are initiated or vegetation 

added to existing fires when the North 

Carolina Forest Service or other 

government agencies has have banned 

burning for that area; and 

(F) Materials are not carried off-site or 

transported over public roads for open 

burning unless the materials are 

carried or transported to: 

(i) Facilities permitted in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 

02D .1904 (Air Curtain 

Burners) for the operation of 

an air curtain burner 

incinerator at a permanent 

site; or 

(ii) A location, where the 

material is burned not more 

than four times per calendar 

year, that meets all of the 

following criteria: 

(I) At at least 500 feet 

from any dwelling, 

group of dwellings, 

or commercial or 

institutional 

establishment, or 

other occupied 

structure not located 

on the property on 

which the burning is 

conducted. 

conducted; 

(II) There there are no 

more than two piles, 

each no more than 

20 feet in diameter, 

being burned at one 

time. time; and 

(III) The the location is 

not a permitted solid 

waste management 

facility. facility; 

(3) camp fires and fires used solely for outdoor 

cooking and other recreational purposes, or for 

ceremonial occasions, or for human warmth 

and comfort and which that do not create a 

nuisance and do not use synthetic materials 

materials, or refuse refuse, or salvageable 

materials for fuel; 

(4) fires purposely set to public or private forest 

land for forest management practices for which 

burning is currently acceptable to the North 

Carolina Forest Service; Service and which 

follow the smoke management plan as outlined 

in the North Carolina Forest Service's smoke 

management program; 

(5) fires purposely set to agricultural lands for 

disease and pest control and fires set for other 

agricultural or apicultural practices for which 

burning is currently acceptable to the 

Department of Agriculture; Agriculture and 

Consumer Services; 

(6) fires purposely set for wildlife management 

practices for which burning is currently 

acceptable to the Wildlife Resource 

Commission; 

(7) fires for the disposal of dangerous materials 

when the Divisions has determined that it is the 

safest and most practical method of disposal; 

(8) fires purposely set by manufacturers of fire-

extinguishing materials or equipment, testing 

laboratories, or other persons, for the purpose 

of testing or developing these materials or 

equipment in accordance with a standard 

qualification program; 

(9) fires purposely set for the instruction and 

training of fire-fighting personnel at permanent 

fire-fighting training facilities; 

(10) fires purposely set for the instruction and 

training of fire-fighting personnel when 

conducted under the supervision of or with the 

cooperation of one or more of the following 

agencies: 

(A) the North Carolina Forest Service; 

(B) the North Carolina Insurance 

Department; or 

(C) North Carolina technical institutes; or 

(D)(C) North Carolina community 

Community colleges, Colleges; 

including: 

(i) the North Carolina Fire 

College; or 

(ii) the North Carolina Rescue 

College; 

(11) fires not described in Subparagraphs (9) or (10) 

of this Paragraph, purposely set for the 

instruction and training of fire-fighting 

personnel, provided that: 

(A) The the regional office supervisor of 

the appropriate regional office and the 

HHCB have has been notified 

according to the procedures and 

deadlines contained in the notification 

appropriate regional notification form. 

form and the regional office 

supervisor has granted permission for 

the burning. The information required 

to be submitted in the form include: 
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(i) the address of the fire 

department that is requesting 

the training exercise; 

(ii) the location of the training 

exercise; 

(iii) a description of the type of 

structure or object and 

amount of materials to be 

burned at the location of the 

training exercise; 

(iv) the dates that the training 

exercise will be performed; 

and 

(v) an inspection from a North 

Carolina Asbestos Inspector 

that the structure being 

burned is free of asbestos. 

The form shall be submitted 10 days 

prior to commencement of the burn. 

This form may be obtained in 

electronic format at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-

quality/air-quality-enforcement/open-

burning/firefighter-information or by 

writing the appropriate regional office 

at the address in Rule 15A NCAC 02D 

.1905 of this Section and requesting it, 

and it. 

(B) The regional office supervisor has 

granted permission for the burning. 

Factors that the regional office 

supervisor shall consider in granting 

permission for the burning include 

include: type, amount, and nature of 

combustible substances. The regional 

office supervisor shall not grant 

permission for the burning of 

salvageable items, such as insulated 

wire and electric motors or if the 

primary purpose of the fire is to 

dispose of synthetic materials or 

refuse. The regional office supervisor 

of the appropriate regional office shall 

not consider previously demolished 

structures as having training value. 

However, the regional office 

supervisor of the appropriate regional 

office may allow an exercise involving 

the burning of motor vehicles burned 

over a period of time by a training unit 

or by several related training units. 

Any deviations from the dates and 

times of exercises, including 

additions, postponements, and 

deletions, submitted in the schedule in 

the approved plan shall be 

communicated verbally to the regional 

office supervisor of the appropriate 

regional office at least one hour before 

the burn is scheduled; and 

(i) type, amount, and nature of 

combustible substances. The 

regional office supervisor 

shall not grant permission for 

the burning of salvageable 

items or if the primary 

purpose of the fire is to 

dispose of synthetic materials 

or refuse; 

(ii) the burning of previously 

demolished structures. The 

regional office supervisor 

shall not consider these 

structures as having training 

value; 

(iii) the burning of motor 

vehicles. The regional office 

supervisor may allow an 

exercise involving the 

burning of motor vehicles 

burned over a period of time 

by a training unit or by 

several related training units 

if he or she determines that 

they have training value; and 

(iv) the distance from the location 

of the fire training to 

residential, commercial, or 

institutional buildings or 

properties. 

Any deviations from the dates and 

times of exercises, including 

additions, postponements, and 

deletions, submitted in the schedule in 

the approved plan shall be 

communicated verbally to the regional 

office supervisor at least one hour 

before the burn is scheduled. 

(12) fires for the disposal of material generated as a 

result of a natural disaster, such as tornado, 

hurricane, or flood, if the regional office 

supervisor grants permission for the burning. 

The person desiring to do the burning shall 

document and provide written notification to 

the regional office supervisor of the appropriate 

regional office that there is no other practical 

method of disposal of the waste. Factors that the 

regional office supervisor shall consider in 

granting permission for the burning include 

type, amount, location of the burning, and 

nature of combustible substances. The regional 

office supervisor shall not grant permission for 

the burning if the primary purpose of the fire is 

to dispose of synthetic materials or refuse or 

recovery of salvageable materials. Fires 

authorized under this Subparagraph shall 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 17, 2018 

1290 

comply with the conditions of Subparagraph 

(b)(2) of this Rule. 

(c)  The authority to conduct open burning under pursuant to this 

Section does not exempt or excuse any person from the 

consequences, damages damages, or injuries that may result from 

this conduct. It does not excuse or exempt any person from 

complying with all applicable laws, ordinances, rules or orders of 

any other governmental entity having jurisdiction even though the 

open burning is conducted in compliance with this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5); S.L. 2011-

394, s.2. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1904 AIR CURTAIN BURNERS 

INCINERATORS 

(a)  Applicability. Air quality permits are required for air curtain 

burners subject to 40 CFR 60.2245 through 60.2265, 60.2810 

through 60.2870, 60.2970 through 60.2975, or 60.3062 through 

60.3069 or located at permanent sites or where materials are 

transported in from another site. Air quality permits are not 

required for air curtain burners located at temporary land clearing 

or right-of-way maintenance sites for less than nine months unless 

they are subject to 40 CFR 60.2245 through 60.2265, 60.2810 

through 60.2870, 60.2970 through 60.2975, or 60.3062 through 

60.3069. The operation of air curtain burners in particulate and 

ozone nonattainment areas shall cease in any area that has been 

forecasted by the Department, or the Forsyth County 

Environmental Affairs Department for the Triad air quality 

forecast area, to be in an Air Quality Action Day Code "Orange" 

or above during the time period covered by that forecast. 

(1) This Rule applies to all new and existing air 

curtain incinerators subject to 40 CFR 60.2245 

through 60.2265, 60.2810 through 60.2870, 

60.2970 through 60.2975, or 60.3062 through 

60.3069 that combust the following materials: 

(A) 100 percent wood waste; 

(B) 100 percent yard waste; or 

(C) 100 percent mixture of only wood 

waste and yard waste. 

(2) This Rule applies to new and existing 

temporary air curtain incinerators used at 

industrial, commercial, institutional, or 

municipal sites where a temporary air curtain 

incinerator is defined in Subparagraph (b)(5). 

(3) Air curtain incinerators that combust materials 

other than those listed in Parts (a)(1)(A) 

through (C) are subject to the following 

requirements; 

(A) 40 CFR 60 Subpart CCCC or 40 CFR 

60 Subpart DDDD, for air curtain 

incinerators that have a charge rate of 

greater than or equal to 35 tons per 

day; or 

(B) 40 CFR 60 Subpart EEEE or 40 CFR 

60 Subpart FFFF, for air curtain 

incinerators that have a charge rate of 

less than 35 tons per day. 

(b)  Definitions. For the purpose of this Rule, the following 

definitions apply: 

(1) "Malfunction" means any unavoidable failure 

of air pollution control equipment, process 

equipment, or a process to operate in a normal 

or usual manner. Failures caused entirely or in 

part by poor maintenance, careless operations 

or any other upset condition within the control 

of the emission source are not considered a 

malfunction. 

(2) "New air curtain incinerator" means an air 

curtain incinerator that began operating on or 

after the effective date of this Rule. 

(3) "Operator" means the person in operational 

control over the open burning. 

(4) "Permanent air curtain incinerator" means an 

air curtain incinerator whose owner or operator 

operates the air curtain incinerator at one 

facility or site during the term of the permit. 

(5) "Temporary air curtain incinerator" means an 

air curtain incinerator whose owner or operator 

moves the air curtain incinerator to another site 

and operates it for land clearing or right-of-way 

maintenance at that site at least once during the 

term of its permit. 

(6) "Temporary-use air curtain incinerator used in 

disaster recovery" means an air curtain 

incinerator that meets all of the following 

requirements: 

(A) combusts less than 35 tons per day of 

debris consisting of the materials 

listed in Parts (a)(1)(A) through (C); 

(B) combusts debris within the boundaries 

of an area officially declared a disaster 

or emergency by federal, state or local 

government; and 

(C) combusts debris for less than 16 weeks 

unless the owner or operator submits a 

request for additional time at least 1 

week prior to the end of the 16-week 

period and provides the reasons that 

the additional time is needed. The 

Director will provide written approval 

for the additional time if he or she 

finds that the additional time is 

warranted based on the information 

provided in the request. 

Examples of disasters or emergencies include 

tornadoes, hurricanes, floods, ice storms, high 

winds, or acts of bioterrorism. 

(7) "Wood waste" means tree stumps (whole or 

chipped), trees, tree limbs (whole or chipped), 

bark, sawdust, chips, scraps, slabs, millings, 

and shavings. Wood waste does not include 

treated or untreated wood products, 

construction waste, renovation waste, or 

demolition waste. 

(8) "Yard waste" means bushes, shrubs, and 

clippings from bushes and shrubs. Yard waste 

comes from residential, commercial/retail, 

institutional, or industrial sources as part of 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 17, 2018 

1291 

maintaining yards or other private or public 

lands. This does not include grass, grass 

clippings, or collected leaves. 

(b)(c)  Air curtain burners incinerators shall comply with the 

following conditions and stipulations: requirements: 

(1) the operation of air curtain incinerators in 

particulate and ozone nonattainment areas shall 

cease in a county that the Department or the 

Forsyth County Office of Environmental 

Assistance and Protection has forecasted to be 

an Air Quality Action Day Code "Orange" or 

above during the 24-hour time period covered 

by that Air Quality Action Day; 

(1)(2) The the wind direction at the time that the 

burning is initiated and the wind direction as 

forecasted by the National Weather Service 

during the time of the burning shall be away 

from any area, including public roads within 

250 feet of the burning as measured from the 

edge of the pavement or other roadway surface, 

which may be affected by smoke, ash, or other 

air pollutants from the burning; 

(2) Only collected land clearing and yard waste 

materials may be burned. Heavy oils, asphaltic 

materials, items containing natural or synthetic 

rubber, tires, grass clippings, collected leaves, 

paper products, plastics, general trash, garbage, 

or any materials containing painted or treated 

wood materials shall not be burned. Leaves still 

on trees or brush may be burned; 

(3) No no fires shall be started or material added to 

existing fires when the North Carolina Forest 

Service Service, Fire Marshall, or other 

governmental agency has banned burning for 

that area; 

(4) Burning burning shall be conducted only 

between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m.; 

p.m. No combustible materials shall be added 

to the air curtain incinerator prior to or after this 

time period; 

(5) The air curtain burner shall not be operated 

more than the maximum source operating 

hours-per-day and days-per-week. The 

maximum source operating hours-per-day and 

days-per-week shall be set to protect the 

ambient air quality standard and prevention of 

significant deterioration (PSD) increment for 

particulate. The maximum source operating 

hours-per-day and days-per-week shall be 

determined using the modeling procedures in 

Rule .1106(b), (c), and (f) of this Subchapter. 

This Subparagraph shall not apply to temporary 

air curtain burners; 

(6) An air curtain burner with an air quality permit 

shall have onsite at all times during operation of 

the burner a visible emissions reader certified 

according to 40 CFR Part 60, Method 9 to read 

visible emissions, and the facility shall test for 

visible emissions within five days after initial 

operation and within 90 days before permit 

expiration; 

(7)(6) Air air curtain burners incinerators shall meet 

manufacturer's specifications for operation and 

upkeep to ensure complete burning of material 

charged into the pit. Manufacturer's 

specifications shall be kept on site and be 

available for inspection by Division staff; 

(8) Except during start-up, visible emissions shall 

not exceed ten percent opacity when averaged 

over a six-minute period except that one six-

minute period with an average opacity of more 

than ten percent but no more than 35 percent 

shall be allowed for any one-hour period. 

During start-up, the visible emissions shall not 

exceed 35 percent opacity when averaged over 

a six-minute period. Start-up shall not last for 

more than 45 minutes, and there shall be no 

more than one start-up per day. Instead of 

complying with the opacity standards in this 

Subparagraph, air curtain burners subject to: 

(A) 40 CFR 60.2245 through 60.2265 

shall comply with the opacity 

standards in 40 CFR 60.2250; 

(B) 40 CFR 60.2810 through 60.2870 

shall comply with the opacity 

standards in 40 CFR 60.2860; 

(C) 40 CFR 60.2970 through 60.2975 

shall comply with the opacity 

standards in 40 CFR 60.2971; or 

(D) 40 CFR 60.3062 through 60.3069 

shall comply with the opacity 

standards in 40 CFR 60.3066; 

(9)(7) The owner or operator of an air curtain burner 

shall not allow ash to build up in the pit to a 

depth higher than one-third of the depth of the 

pit or to the point where the ash begins to 

impede combustion, whichever occurs first. 

The the owner or operator of an air curtain 

burner incinerator shall allow the ashes to cool 

and water the ash prior to its removal to prevent 

the ash from becoming airborne; 

(10) The owner or operator of an air curtain burner 

shall not load material into the air curtain burner 

such that it will protrude above the air curtain; 

(11)(8) Only only distillate oil, kerosene, diesel fuel, 

natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas may be 

used to start the fire; and 

(12)(9) The the location of the burning shall be at least 

300 feet from any dwelling, group of dwellings, 

or commercial or institutional establishment, or 

other occupied structure not located on the 

property on which the burning is conducted. 

The regional office supervisor may grant 

exceptions to the setback requirements if a 

signed, written statement waiving objections to 

the air curtain burning is obtained from a 

resident or an owner of each dwelling, 

commercial or institutional establishment, or 
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other occupied structure within 300 feet of the 

burning site. In case of a lease or rental 

agreement, the lessee or renter, and the property 

owner shall sign the statement waiving 

objections to the burning. The statement shall 

be submitted to and approved by the regional 

office supervisor before initiation of the burn. 

Factors that the regional supervisor shall 

consider in deciding to grant the exception 

include: all the persons who need to sign the 

statement waiving the objection have signed it; 

the location of the burn; and the type, amount, 

and nature of the combustible substances. 

Compliance with this Rule does not relieve any owner or operator 

of an air curtain burner from the necessity of complying with other 

rules in this Section or any other air quality rules. 

(d)  Exemptions. Temporary-use air curtain incinerators used in 

disaster recovery are excluded from the requirements of this Rule 

if the following conditions are met: 

(1) the air curtain incinerator meets the definition 

of a temporary-use air curtain incinerators used 

in disaster recovery as specified in 

Subparagraph (d)(5) of this Rule; 

(2) the air curtain incinerator meets all the 

requirements pursuant to 40 CFR 60.2969 or 

60.3061, as applicable; and 

(3) the air curtain incinerator is operated in a 

manner consistent with the operations manual 

for the air curtain incinerator and the charge rate 

during all periods of operation is less than or 

equal to the lesser of 35 tons per day or the 

maximum charge rate specified by the 

manufacturer of the air curtain incinerator. 

(e)  Permitting. Air curtain incinerators shall be subject to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0500. 

(1) The owner or operator of a new or existing 

permanent air curtain incinerator shall obtain a 

General Operating Permit pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0509. 

(2) The owner or operator of a new or existing 

temporary air curtain incinerator shall obtain a 

General Operating Permit pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0510 Permitting of Facilities at 

Multiple Temporary Sites. 

(3) The owner or operator of an existing permanent 

or temporary air curtain incinerator shall 

complete and submit a permit application no 

later than 12 months after the effective date of 

this Rule. 

(4) The owner or operator of a new permanent or 

temporary air curtain incinerator shall complete 

and submit a permit application 60 days prior to 

the date the unit commences operation. 

(5) The owner or operator of an existing permanent 

or temporary air curtain incinerator that is 

planning to close rather than obtaining a permit 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0509 or 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0510 shall submit a closure 

notification to the Director no later than 12 

months after the effective date of this Rule. 

(f)  Opacity limits. 

(1) The owner or operator of an existing air curtain 

incinerators shall meet the following opacity 

limits: 

(A) Maintain opacity to less than or equal 

to 35 percent opacity (as determined 

by the average of 3 1-hour blocks 

consisting of 10 6-minute average 

opacity values) during startup of the 

air curtain incinerator, where startup is 

defined as the first 30 minutes of 

operation. 

(B) Maintain opacity to less than or equal 

to 10 percent opacity (as determined 

by the average of 3 1-hour blocks 

consisting of 10 6-minute average 

opacity values) at all times, other than 

during startup or during malfunctions. 

(2) The owner or operator of a new air curtain 

incinerator shall meet the opacity limits 

specified in Subparagraph (f)(1) of this Rule 

within 60 days after air curtain incinerator 

reaches the charge rate at which it will operate, 

but no later than 180 days after its initial startup. 

(g)  Performance tests. 

(1) All initial and annual opacity tests shall be 

conducted using 40 CFR 60 Appendix A-4 Test 

Method 9 to determine compliance with the 

opacity limitations specified in Subparagraph 

(f)(1) of this Rule. 

(2) The owner or operator of an existing air curtain 

incinerator shall conduct an initial performance 

test for opacity as specified in 40 CFR 60.8 on 

or before 90 days after the effective date of this 

rule. 

(3) The owner or operator of a new air curtain 

incinerator shall conduct an initial performance 

test for opacity as specified in 40 CFR 60.8 

within 60 days after achieving the maximum 

charge rate at which the affected air curtain 

incinerator will be operated, but not later than 

180 days after initial startup of the air curtain 

incinerator. 

(4) After the initial test for opacity, the owner or 

operator of a new or existing air curtain 

incinerator subject to this Rule shall conduct 

annual opacity tests on the air curtain 

incinerator no more than 12 calendar months 

following the date of the previous test. 

(5) The owner or operator of an existing air curtain 

incinerator that has ceased operations and is 

restarting after more than 12 months since the 

previous test shall conduct an opacity test upon 

startup of the unit. 

(h)  Increments of Progress and Compliance Requirements. 

(1) The owner or operator of an air curtain 

incinerator subject to this Rule that has a charge 
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rate of greater than 35 tons per day shall meet 

the increments of progress according to 40 CFR 

60.2815 through 60.2845. 

(2) The owner or operator of an air curtain 

incinerator subject to this Rule shall 

demonstrate compliance with the emission 

limits in Subparagraph (f)(1) of this Rule. 

(c)(i)  Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements. The owner or 

operator of an air curtain burner at a permanent site shall keep a 

daily log of specific materials burned and amounts of material 

burned in pounds per hour and tons per year. The logs at a 

permanent air curtain burner site shall be maintained on site for a 

minimum of two years and shall be available at all times for 

inspection by the Division of Air Quality. The owner or operator 

of an air curtain burner at a temporary site shall keep a log of total 

number of tons burned per temporary site. Additionally, the owner 

or operator of air curtain burner subject to: 

(1) 40 CFR 60.2245 through 60.2265 shall comply 

with the monitoring, recordkeeping, and 

reporting requirements in 40 CFR 60.2245 

through 60.2265; 

(2) 40 CFR 60.2810 through 60.2870 shall comply 

with the monitoring, recordkeeping, and 

reporting requirements in 40 CFR 60.2810 

through 60.2870; 

(3) 40 CFR 60.2970 through 60.2975 shall comply 

with the monitoring, recordkeeping, and 

reporting requirements in 40 CFR 60.2970 

through 60.2975; or 

(4) 40 CFR 60.3062 through 60.3069 shall comply 

with comply with the monitoring, 

recordkeeping, and reporting requirements in 

40 CFR 60.3062 through 60.3069.  

(1) Prior to commencing construction of an air 

curtain incinerator, the owner or operator of a 

new air curtain incinerator shall submit the 

following information to the Director: 

(A) a notification of intent to construct an 

air curtain incinerator; 

(B) the planned initial startup date of the 

air curtain incinerator; and 

(C) the materials planned to be combusted 

in the air curtain incinerator. 

(2) The owner or operator of a new or existing air 

curtain incinerator shall do the following: 

(A) keep records of results of all initial and 

annual opacity tests onsite in either 

paper copy or electronic format for 

five years; 

(B) make all records available for 

submission to the Director or for an 

inspector's onsite review; 

(C) report the results of the initial and 

annual opacity tests as the average of 

3 1-hour blocks consisting of 10 6-

minute average opacity values; 

(D) submit initial opacity test results to the 

Division no later than 60 days 

following the initial test and submit 

annual opacity test results within 12 

months following the previous report; 

(E) submit initial and annual opacity test 

reports to the Division as electronic or 

paper copy on or before the applicable 

submittal date; and 

(F) keep a copy of the initial and annual 

reports onsite for a period of five 

years. 

(d)  Title V Considerations. Burners that have the potential to burn 

8,100 tons of material or more per year may be subject to Section 

15A NCAC 02Q .0500, Title V Procedures. 

(e)  Prevention of Significant Deterioration Consideration. 

Burners that burn 16,200 tons per year or more may be subject to 

15A NCAC 02D .0530, Prevention of Significant Deterioration. 

(f)  A person may use a burner using a different technology or 

method of operation than an air curtain burner as defined under 

Rule .1902 of this Section if he demonstrates to the Director that 

the burner is at least as effective as an air curtain burner in 

reducing emissions and if the Director approves the use of the 

burner. The Director shall approve the burner if he finds that it is 

at least as effective as an air curtain burner. This burner shall 

comply with all the requirements of this Rule. 

(g)(j)  In addition to complying with the requirements of this Rule, 

an air curtain burner incinerator subject to: 

(1) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart CCCC that 

commenced construction after November 30, 

1999, or that commenced reconstruction or 

modification on or after June 1, 2001, shall also 

comply with 40 CFR 60.2245 through 60.2265, 

or 60.2265; 

(2) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart EEEE that 

commenced construction after December 9, 

2004, or that commenced reconstruction or 

modification on or after June 16, 2006, shall 

also comply with 40 CFR 60.2970 through 

60.2975. 60.2975; or 

(3) 40 CFR Subpart FFFF shall also comply with 

40 CFR 60.3062 through 60.3069. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5), (10); 143-

215.65; 143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

143-215.108; 40 CFR 60.2865; S.L. 2011-394, s.2. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1905 REGIONAL OFFICE 

LOCATIONS 

Inquiries, requests requests, and plans shall be handled by the 

appropriate Department of Environment and Natural Resources 

Environmental Quality regional offices. office. They are: 

(1) Asheville Regional Office, 2090 U.S. 70 

Highway, Highway 70, Swannanoa, North 

Carolina 28778 28778; 

(2) Winston-Salem Regional Office, 585 

Waughtown Street, 450 West Hanes Mill Road, 

Suite 300, Winston-Salem, North Carolina 

27107; 27105; 

(3) Mooresville Regional Office, 610 East Center 

Avenue, Suite 301, Mooresville, North 

Carolina 28115; 
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(4) Raleigh Regional Office, 3800 Barrett Drive, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611; 27609; 

(5) Fayetteville Regional Office, Systel Building, 

225 Green Street, Suite 714, Fayetteville, North 

Carolina 28301; 

(6) Washington Regional Office, 943 Washington 

Square Mall, Washington, North Carolina 

27889; and 

(7) Wilmington Regional Office, 127 Cardinal 

Drive Extension, Wilmington, North Carolina 

28405. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1). 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1906 DELEGATION TO COUNTY 

GOVERNMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1907 MULTIPLE VIOLATIONS 

ARISING FROM A SINGLE EPISODE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Environmental Management 

Commission intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules 

cited as 15A NCAC 02H .0801-.0810, .1101-.1111. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 10, 2019 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  Ground floor conference room, Archdale Building, 

512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  N.C. Gen. Stat. §150B-21.3A 

requires state agencies to review existing rules every 10 years, 

determine which rules are still necessary, and either re-adopt or 

repeal each rule as appropriate. The proposed rulemaking 

satisfies these requirements for a portion of the North Carolina 

Environmental Management Commission’s rules. The NCAC 02H 

.0800 Laboratory Certification and .1100 Biological Laboratory 

Certification rules also needed to codify policies and Department 

of Environmental Quality approved written procedures as well as 

correct grammatical errors, provide needed clarifications, update 

names, update requirements to be consistent with changes in 

federal regulation, delete unnecessary or outdated components, 

modify or remove provisions superseded by statutes, and make 

changes to provide consistency between the .0800 and .1100 

rules. The NCAC 02H .0800 Laboratory Certification fees were 

last increased in 2002. Since that time, operating costs have 

grown due to inflation, there has been an increase in the number 

of certified laboratories in the program and regulatory and 

analytical method requirements have changed. The program is 

fee-funded and the proposed amendments to fee structure are 

required to ensure that fees generated by the program are 

sufficient to operate and support the compliance efforts of the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dana Satterwhite, 1623 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1623; phone (919) 733-3908 

ext 202; fax (919) 733-6241; email dana.satterwhite@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  February 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 15A NCAC 02H .0801-.0810 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 15A NCAC 02H .0801-.0810 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 15A 

NCAC 02H .1101-.1111 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02H - PROCEDURES FOR PERMITS: 

APPROVALS 

 

SECTION .0800 – LABORATORY CERTIFICATION 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0801 PURPOSE 

The purpose of these Rules is to set out certification criteria for 

laboratory facilities performing any tests, analyses, 

measurements, or monitoring required under G.S. 143 Article 21 

or any rules adopted thereunder, and to establish fees for 

certification program support. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10). 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0802 SCOPE 

These Rules apply to laboratory facilities which perform and 

report analyses for persons subject to G.S. 143-215.1, 143-215.63, 
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et seq.; the Environmental Management Commission Rules for 

Surface Water Monitoring and Reporting found in Subchapter 2B 

of this Chapter, Section .0500 (Only facilities classified in 

accordance with Classification of Water Pollution Control 

Systems Rules found in 15A NCAC 08G .0300 are subject to 

these Rules.); Groundwater Rules found in 15A NCAC 02L 

.0100, .0200, and .0300; Waste Not Discharged to Surface Waters 

Rules found in 15A NCAC 02H .0200; Point Source Discharges 

to the Surface Waters Rules found in 15A NCAC 02H .0100. 

These Rules also apply to all wastewater treatment plant 

laboratories for municipalities having Local Pretreatment 

Programs as regulated in 15A NCAC 02H .0900. Laboratory 

facilities performing and reporting analyses for field parameters 

only, shall be considered for certification as specified in Rule 

.0805(g) of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10). 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0803 DEFINITIONS 

The following terms as used in this Section shall have the assigned 

meaning: 

(1) "Analytical chemistry experience" means 

experience analyzing samples in a chemistry 

laboratory or supervising a chemistry 

laboratory that analyzes samples. 

(2) "Certification" means a declaration by the state 

that the personnel, equipment, records, quality 

control procedures, and methodology cited by 

the applicant are accurate and that the 

applicant's proficiency has been considered and 

found to be acceptable pursuant to these Rules. 

(3) "Certified Data" shall be defined as any 

analytical result, including the supporting 

documentation, obtained through the use of a 

method or procedure which has been deemed 

acceptable by the State of North Carolina for 

Laboratory Certification purposes pursuant to 

these Rules. 

(4) "Commercial Laboratory" means any 

laboratory, including its agents or employees, 

which is seeking to analyze or is analyzing 

samples, including Field Parameters, for others 

for a fee. 

(5) "Decertification" means loss of certification. 

(6) "Falsified data or information" means data or 

information which has been made untrue by 

alteration, fabrication, omission, substitution, 

or mischaracterization. The agency need not 

prove intent to defraud to prove data is falsified. 

(7) "Field Parameters", for the purpose of these 

Rules shall include Total Residual Chlorine, 

Conductivity, Dissolved Oxygen, pH, 

Settleable Residue, and Temperature. 

(8) "Inaccurate data or other information" means 

data or information that is in any way incorrect, 

or mistaken. 

(9) "Industrial Laboratory" means a laboratory, 

including its agents or employees, operated by 

an industry to analyze samples, including Field 

Parameters, from its wastewater or wastewater 

from its water treatment plant(s). 

(10) "Municipal Laboratory" means a laboratory, 

including its agents or employees, operated by 

a municipality or other local government to 

analyze samples, including Field Parameters, 

from its wastewater or wastewater from its 

water treatment plant(s). 

(11) "Other" laboratory means a facility that does 

not require laboratory certification as part of its 

routine operation and does not analyze samples 

for a fee, or is doing business as a non-profit 

facility. 

(12) "Pretreatment Program" means a program of 

waste pretreatment requirements set up in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02H .0900 and 

approved by the Division of Water Quality. 

(13) "State" means the North Carolina Department 

of Environment and Natural Resources, or its 

successor. 

(14) "State Laboratory" means the Laboratory 

Section of the North Carolina Division of Water 

Quality, or its successor. 

(15) "Unacceptable results" means those results on 

performance evaluation samples that exceed the 

specified acceptable range as indicated by a US 

EPA accredited vendor. 

(16) "Uncertified data" shall be defined as any 

analytical result, including the supporting 

documentation, obtained using a method or 

procedure which is not acceptable to the State 

Laboratory pursuant to these Rules. 

(1) Acceptable Proficiency Testing results means 

those results on Proficiency Testing samples 

that are within the Vendor-specified acceptable 

range as indicated by a State Laboratory-

approved Vendor or Split samples that are 

within the specified acceptance range as 

indicated by the State Laboratory. 

(2) Analytical chemistry experience means 

experience analyzing samples in a chemistry 

laboratory or supervising a chemistry 

laboratory that analyzes samples. 

(3) Approved Procedure means an analytical 

procedure developed by the State Laboratory, 

based upon relevant reference methods, and 

approved for use for monitoring subject to G.S. 

143-215.1 and 143-215.63, et seq. 

(4) Certification means a declaration by the State 

Laboratory that the personnel, equipment, 

records, quality control procedures, and 

methodology cited by the applicant comply 

with these Rules and that the applicant's 

proficiency with analytical chemistry has been 

considered and found to be acceptable pursuant 

to these Rules. 

(5) Certified Data means any analytical result, 

including the Supporting Records, obtained 

using a method or procedure which has been 
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deemed acceptable by the State Laboratory for 

laboratory Certification purposes pursuant to 

these Rules. 

(6) CFR means the Code of Federal Regulations. 

(7) Commercial Laboratory means any laboratory, 

including its agents or employees, which is 

seeking to analyze or is analyzing samples in a 

chemistry laboratory or in a field setting, 

including Field Parameters, for others for a fee. 

(8) Decertification means loss of Certification. 

(9) Director means the Director of the Division of 

Water Resources or its successor. 

(10) Division means the Division of Water 

Resources or its successor. 

(11) Falsified Data or Information means data or 

information that, whether by intent or reckless 

disregard for accuracy, has been altered, 

fabricated, or otherwise mischaracterized by 

omission or substitution, such that the value or 

information reported is incorrect, incomplete, 

or inaccurate. 

(12) Field Laboratory means a laboratory, including 

its agents or employees, that is seeking 

Certification to analyze or is analyzing samples 

in a chemistry laboratory or a field setting for 

Field Parameters only. 

(13) Field Parameters for the purpose of these Rules 

shall include Total Residual Chlorine, Free 

Available Chlorine, Conductivity, Dissolved 

Oxygen, pH, Settleable Residue, Salinity, 

Sulfite, Turbidity, Temperature, Vector 

Attraction Reduction Option 5, Vector 

Attraction Reduction Option 6, and Vector 

Attraction Reduction Option 12. 

(14) Inaccurate Data or Other Information means 

data or information that is in any way incorrect, 

or mistaken. 

(15) Industrial Laboratory means a laboratory, 

including its agents or employees, operated by 

an industry to analyze samples in a chemistry 

laboratory or in a field setting under the scope 

of these Rules. 

(16) In-situ means in the original or natural place or 

site. 

(17) Matrix Spike means an additional aliquot of an 

environmental sample to which a known 

concentration of the analytes of interest is 

added before sample preparation, cleanup, and 

determinative procedures have been 

implemented. It is used to assess the 

performance of the method by measuring the 

effects of interferences caused by the sample 

matrix and reflects the bias of the method for 

the particular matrix in question. 

(18) Mobile Laboratory means a collection of 

analytical equipment and instruments contained 

in an environmentally controlled vehicle that 

can be deployed to a project site for other than 

Field Laboratory Certification purposes. 

(19) Municipal Laboratory means a laboratory, 

including its agents or employees, operated by 

a municipality or other local government to 

analyze samples in a chemistry laboratory or in 

a field setting under the scope of these Rules. 

Municipal Laboratories may cost-share among 

Municipal Laboratories or charge a cost 

recovery fee or surcharge to operate their 

Pretreatment Program. 

(20) NPDES means National Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System. 

(21) Other Laboratory means a facility that is not 

required to obtain State Laboratory 

Certification as part of its routine operation and 

does not analyze samples in a chemistry 

laboratory or in a field setting for a fee, or is 

doing business as a non-profit facility. 

(22) Parameter means the analyte, element, 

compound, or property being measured. 

(23) Parameter Method means a type of analytical 

technique, including materials and tools, used 

to measure a parameter. 

(24) Pretreatment Program means a program of 

waste pretreatment requirements set up in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02H .0900, et seq., 

and approved by the Division. 

(25) Proficiency Testing (PT) sample means a 

performance evaluation sample whose true 

value is unknown to the laboratory and 

provided by a State Laboratory-approved 

Vendor to test whether the laboratory can 

produce analytical results within the specified 

acceptance criteria. 

(26) Recertification means re-instating Certification 

at the end of the Decertification period imposed 

by the Division pursuant to Rule .0807 of this 

Section by showing that it has corrected all 

deficiencies. 

(27) Reference Temperature-measuring Device 

means a National Institute of Standards and 

Technology (NIST) traceable temperature-

measuring device used only to verify the 

calibration of other temperature-measuring 

devices. 

(28) Second Source means reference solutions from 

a different manufacturer or from the same 

manufacturer and identified by a different lot 

number. 

(29) Split sample means two or more representative 

portions taken from a sample or subsample and 

analyzed by two or more laboratories approved 

by the State Laboratory. 

(30) Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) means a 

laboratory's analytical or operational 

procedures, described with adequate detail to 

allow someone similarly qualified to reproduce 

the procedures used to generate the test or 

desired result. 
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(31) State means the North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality or its successor. 

(32) State Laboratory means the Water Sciences 

Section or its successor, including the 

Laboratory Certification Branch of the North 

Carolina Division of Water Resources or its 

successor. 

(33) Supporting Record means any document or 

other source of information compiled, recorded, 

or stored in written form, by electronic process, 

or in any other manner that provides any 

information necessary to reconstruct or 

characterize a reported value. 

(34) Unacceptable Proficiency Testing Results 

means those results on Proficiency Testing 

samples that do not fall within the Vendor-

specified acceptable range as indicated by a 

State Laboratory approved Vendor, or Split 

samples that do not fall within the specified 

acceptable range as indicated by the State 

Laboratory, or a failure to meet a reporting 

deadline imposed by the Vendor or State 

Laboratory. 

(35) Uncertified Data means any analytical result, 

including the Supporting Records, obtained 

using a method or procedure which is not 

acceptable to the State Laboratory pursuant to 

these Rules; analytical results produced by a 

laboratory for an analysis not within the Scope 

of these Rules pursuant to Rule .0802 of this 

Section; or analytical results produced by a 

laboratory without proper Certification. 

(36) US EPA means the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency. 

(37) Vector Attraction Reduction Option refers to an 

option for demonstrating a reduction in vector 

attraction of sewage sludge listed in 40 CFR 

Part 503.33(b)(1) through (b)(12). 

(38) Vendor means an accredited Proficiency 

Testing sample provider recognized by The 

NELAC Institute (TNI) or its successor. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10). 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0804 PARAMETERS FOR WHICH 

CERTIFICATION MAY BE REQUESTED 

(a)  Commercial laboratories Laboratories are required to shall 

obtain certification Certification for parameters Parameter 

Methods used to generate data which that will be reported by the 

client to the State in accordance with Rule .0802 of this Section. 

comply with State surface water monitoring, groundwater, and 

pretreatment Rules. Municipal and Industrial Laboratories are 

required to shall obtain certification Certification for parameters 

Parameter Methods used to generate data which that will be 

reported to the State in accordance with Rule .0802 of this 

Section. to comply with State surface water monitoring, 

groundwater, and pretreatment Rules. Commercial, Municipal, 

Industrial and Other Commercial Laboratories facilities are 

required to shall obtain certification Certification for field Field 

parameters Parameter Methods used to generate data which that 

will be reported by the client to the State in accordance with Rule 

.0802 of this Section. comply with State surface water, 

groundwater, and pretreatment Rules. Municipal and Industrial 

laboratories shall obtain Certification for Field Parameter 

Methods used to generate data that will be reported to the State in 

accordance with Rule .0802 of this Section. 

(b)  Inorganics: Each of the inorganic, physical characteristic, and 

microbiological analytes listed in this paragraph shall be 

considered a certifiable parameter. Analytical methods shall be 

determined from the sources listed in Rule .0805(a)(1) of this 

Section. One or more analytical methods or Parameter Methods 

may be listed with a laboratory's certified parameters. A listing of 

certifiable inorganic inorganic, physical characteristic, and 

microbiological parameters follows: 

(1) Alkalinity 

(2) Aquatic Humic Substances 

(3) BOD 

(4) COD 

(5) Chloride 

(6) Chlorine, Total Residual 

(7) Chlorophyll 

(8) Coliform, Fecal 

(9) Coliform, Total 

(10) Color 

(11) Conductivity 

(12) Cyanide 

(13) Dissolved Oxygen 

(14) Fluoride 

(15) Hardness, Total 

(16) MBAS 

(17) Ammonia Nitrogen 

(18) Total Kjeldahl Nitrogen (TKN) 

(19) Nitrate plus Nitrite Nitrogen 

(20) Nitrate Nitrogen 

(21) Nitrite Nitrogen 

(22) Total Phosphorus 

(23) Orthophosphate 

(24) Oil and Grease 

(25) pH 

(26) Phenols 

(27) Residue, Settleable 

(28) Residue, Total 

(29) Residue, Total Dissolved 180C 

(30) Residue, Total Suspended 

(31) Salmonella 

(32) Sulfate 

(33) Sulfide 

(34) Sulfite 

(35) Temperature 

(36) Total Organic Carbon (TOC) 

(37) Turbidity 

(38) Leachate Procedures 

(39) Vector Attraction Reduction - All Options 

(1) Acidity; 

(2) Alkalinity; 

(3) Biochemical Oxygen Demand; 

(4) Bromide; 

(5) Carbonaceous Biochemical Oxygen Demand; 
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(6) Chemical Oxygen Demand; 

(7) Chloride; 

(8) Chlorine, Free Available; 

(9) Chlorine, Total Residual; 

(10) Chlorophyll; 

(11) Coliform, Fecal; 

(12) Coliform, Total; 

(13) Color; 

(14) Conductivity/Specific Conductance; 

(15) Cyanide; 

(16) Dissolved Organic Carbon; 

(17) Dissolved Oxygen; 

(18) Enterococci; 

(19) Escherichia Coliform (E. coli); 

(20) Flash Point; 

(21) Fluoride; 

(22) Hardness, Total; 

(23) Ignitability; 

(24) Surfactants as Methylene Blue Active 

Surfactants; 

(25) Nitrogen, Ammonia; 

(26) Nitrogen, Nitrite plus Nitrate; 

(27) Nitrogen, Nitrate; 

(28) Nitrogen, Nitrite; 

(29) Nitrogen, Total Kjeldahl; 

(30) Oil and Grease; 

(31) Orthophosphate; 

(32) Paint Filter Liquids; 

(33) pH; 

(34) Phenols; 

(35) Phosphorus, Total; 

(36) Residue, Settleable; 

(37) Residue, Total; 

(38) Residue, Total Dissolved; 

(39) Residue, Total Suspended; 

(40) Residue, Volatile; 

(41) Salinity; 

(42) Salmonella; 

(43) Silica; 

(44) Sulfate; 

(45) Sulfide; 

(46) Sulfite; 

(47) Temperature; 

(48) Total Organic Carbon; 

(48) Turbidity; 

(49) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 1; 

(50) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 2; 

(51) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 3; 

(52) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 4; 

(53) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 5; 

(54) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 6; 

(55) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 7; 

(56) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 8; and 

(57) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 12. 

(c)  Metals: Each of the metals and certified leaching procedures 

for metals listed in this Paragraph following will shall be 

considered a certifiable parameter. Metals analyte: One or more 

Parameter Methods shall be listed with a laboratory's certified 

parameters. Analytical methods shall be determined from the 

sources listed in Rule .0805(a)(1) of this Section. A listing of 

certifiable metals and leaching procedures follows: 

(1) Aluminum Aluminum; 

(2) Antimony Antimony; 

(3) Arsenic Arsenic; 

(4) Barium Barium; 

(5) Beryllium Beryllium; 

(6) Cadmium 

(7) Calcium 

(8) Chromium, Total 

(9) Chromium, Hexavalent 

(10) Cobalt 

(11) Copper 

(12) Iron 

(13) Lead 

(14) Magnesium 

(15) Manganese 

(16) Mercury 

(17) Molybdenum 

(18) Nickel 

(19) Selenium 

(20) Silver 

(21) Thallium 

(22) Tin 

(23) Vanadium 

(24) Zinc 

(6) Boron; 

(7) Cadmium; 

(8) Calcium; 

(9) Chromium, Hexavalent (Chromium VI); 

(10) Chromium, Total; 

(11) Chromium, Trivalent (Chromium III); 

(12) Cobalt; 

(13) Copper; 

(14) Hardness, Total (Calcium + Magnesium); 

(15) Iron; 

(16) Lead; 

(17) Lithium; 

(18) Magnesium; 

(19) Manganese; 

(20) Mercury; 

(21) Molybdenum; 

(22) Nickel; 

(23) Potassium; 

(24) Phosphorus; 

(25) Selenium; 

(26) Silica; 

(27) Silver; 

(28) Sodium; 

(29) Strontium; 

(30) Thallium; 

(31) Tin; 

(32) Titanium; 

(33) Vanadium; and 

(34) Zinc. 

(d)  Organics: Each of the organic parameters analytical 

categories and certified leaching procedures for organics listed in 

this Paragraph shall be considered a certifiable parameter. One or 

more Parameter Methods shall be listed with a laboratory's 
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certified parameters. Analytical methods shall be determined 

from the sources listed in Rule .0805(a)(1) of this Section. A 

listing of certifiable organic parameters and leaching procedures 

follows: 

(1) Purgeable Halocarbons 

(2) Purgeable Aromatics 

(3) Acrolein, Acrylonitrile, Acetonitrile 

(4) Phenols 

(5) Benzidines 

(6) Phthalate Esters 

(7) Nitrosamines 

(8) Organochlorine Pesticides 

(9) Polychlorinated Biphenyls 

(10) Nitroaromatics and Isophorone 

(11) Polynuclear Aromatic Hydrocarbons 

(12) Haloethers 

(13) Chlorinated Hydrocarbons 

(14) Purgeable Organics 

(15) Base/Neutral and Acid Organics 

(16) Chlorinated Acid Herbicides 

(17) Organophosphorus Pesticides 

(18) Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons - (TPH) 

California GC Method - Diesel Range Organics 

(19) Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons - (TPH) 

California GC Method - Gasoline Range 

Organics 

(20) Nonhalogenated Volatile Organics 

(21) N-Methylcarbamates 

(22) 1,2, Dibromoethane (EDB) 

(23) Extractable Petroleum Hydrocarbons 

(24) Volatile Petroleum Hydrocarbons 

(25) Chlorinated Phenolics 

(26) Adsorbable Organic Halides 

(1) 1,2-Dibromoethane (EDB); 1,2-Dibromo-3-

chloro-propane (DBCP); 1,2,3-

Trichloropropane (TCP); 

(2) Acetonitrile; 

(3) Acrolein, Acrylonitrile; 

(4) Adsorbable Organic Halides; 

(5) Base/Neutral and Acid Organics; 

(6) Benzidines; 

(7) Chlorinated Acid Herbicides; 

(8) Chlorinated Hydrocarbons; 

(9) Chlorinated Phenolics; 

(10) Explosives; 

(11) Extractable Petroleum Hydrocarbons; 

(12) Haloethers; 

(13) N-Methylcarbamates; 

(14) Nitroaromatics and Isophorone; 

(15) Nitrosamines; 

(16) Nonhalogenated Volatile Organics; 

(17) Organochlorine Pesticides; 

(18) Organophosphorus Pesticides; 

(19) Phenols; 

(20) Phthalate Esters; 

(21) Polychlorinated Biphenyls; 

(22) Polynuclear Aromatic Hydrocarbons; 

(23) Purgeable Aromatics; 

(24) Purgeable Halocarbons; 

(25) Purgeable Organics; 

(26) Total Organic Halides; 

(27) Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons – Diesel Range 

Organics; 

(28) Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons – Gasoline 

Range Organics; and 

(29) Volatile Petroleum Hydrocarbons. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10). 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0805 CERTIFICATION AND 

RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Prerequisites and requirements for Certification. The 

following requirements must shall be met by all laboratories, 

excluding Field Laboratories, prior to certification Certification. 

Once certified, failure to comply with any of the following items 

will shall be a violation of certification Certification requirements. 

All "Field Parameter" only facility requirements are located in 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule. 

(1) Laboratory Procedures. Analytical methods, 

sample preservation, sample containers and 

sample holding times shall conform to those 

requirements found in 40 CFR-136.3; Standard 

Methods for the Examination of Water and 

Wastewater, 18th Edition; or Test Methods for 

Evaluating Solid Waste, SW 846, Third 

Edition. These and subsequent amendments 

and editions are incorporated by reference. This 

material is available for inspection at the State 

Laboratory, 4405 Reedy Creek Road, Raleigh, 

North Carolina, 27607. Copies of the Code of 

Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 136, may be 

obtained for a cost of forty-two dollars 

($42.00), from the Superintendent of 

Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office 

(GPO), Superintendent of Public Documents, 

Washington, DC, 20402. The publication 

number is 869-042-00148-6. Standard Methods 

for the Examination of Water and Waste, is 

available for purchase from the American 

Water Works Association (AWWA), 6666 

West Quincy Avenue, Denver, CO 80235. The 

costs are as follows: 18th Edition -one hundred 

sixty dollars ($160.00), 19th Edition - one 

hundred eighty dollars ($180.00), 20th Edition 

- two hundred dollars ($200.00). Copies of Test 

Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, SW 846, 

Third Edition may be purchased for a cost of 

three hundred sixty seven dollars ($367.00) 

from the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. 

Government Printing Office (GPO), 

Washington, DC 20402. Vector Attraction 

Reduction Options shall be Control of 

Pathogens and Vector Attraction in Sewage 

Sludge; EPA/625/R-92/013, Chapter 8. The 

document is available from US EPA; Office of 

Research and Development, Washington, NC 

20460 at no cost. The method for Total 

Petroleum Hydrocarbons shall be the California 
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Gas Chromatograph Method, Eisenberg, D.M., 

and others, 1985, Guidelines for Addressing 

Fuel Leaks: California Regional Quality 

Control Board San Francisco Bay Region. The 

method for Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons is 

available from the State Laboratory at no cost. 

The methods for Volatile Petroleum 

Hydrocarbons and Extractable Petroleum 

Hydrocarbons shall be Massachusetts 

Department of Environmental Protection, 

Method for the Determination of Volatile 

Petroleum Hydrocarbons (VPH) and Method 

for the Determination of Extractable Petroleum 

Hydrocarbons (EPH); January, 1998. The 

Director may approve other analytical 

procedures that have been demonstrated to 

produce verifiable and repeatable results and 

that have a widespread acceptance in the 

scientific community. 

(1) Laboratory Procedures. Analytical methods, 

sample preservation, sample containers, and 

sample holding times shall conform to the 

requirements found in: 

(A) 40 CFR Part 136 and 40 CFR Part 503; 

(B) Standard Methods for the 

Examination of Water and 

Wastewater; 

(C) Test Methods for Evaluating Solid 

Waste, SW-846, Third Edition; 

(D) Control of Pathogens and Vector 

Attraction in Sewage Sludge; 

EPA/625/R-92/013; 

(E) Massachusetts Department of 

Environmental Protection, Method for 

the Determination of Volatile 

Petroleum Hydrocarbons (VPH) and 

Method for the Determination of 

Extractable Petroleum Hydrocarbons 

(EPH); May, 2004, Revision 1.1, et 

seq.; and 

(F) The State Laboratory may develop 

Approved Procedures for Field 

Parameters based upon the methods in 

any of the sources referenced in Parts 

(a)(1)(A) through (F) of this Rule. 

(G) The procedures and methods listed in 

this Subparagraph are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

(H) This material is available for 

inspection at the State Laboratory, 

4405 Reedy Creek Road, Raleigh, 

North Carolina, 27607 or may be 

obtained from: 

(i) Copies of the Code of 

Federal Regulations, 40 CFR 

Part 136 and 40 CFR Part 

503, may be obtained from 

the Superintendent of 

Documents, U.S. 

Government Printing Office 

(GPO), Superintendent of 

Public Documents, 

Washington, D.C., 20402 

and free of charge on the 

internet at 

http://www.ecfr.gov. 

(ii) Standard Methods for the 

Examination of Water and 

Wastewater, is available for 

purchase from American 

Water Works Association 

(AWWA), 6666 West 

Quincy Avenue, Denver, CO 

80235; American Public 

Health Association (APHA), 

8001 Street, NW, 

Washington, D.C. 20001; or 

Water Environment 

Federation (WEF), 601 

Wythe Street, Alexandria, 

VA 22314; and 

http://www.standardmethods

.org/. 

(iii) Copies of Test Methods for 

Evaluating Solid Waste, SW-

846, Third Edition may be 

obtained from the 

Superintendent of 

Documents, U.S. 

Government Printing Office 

(GPO), Washington, D.C. 

20402 and free of charge on 

the internet at 

http://www.epa.gov/osw/haz

ard/testmethods/sw846/onlin

e/. 

(iv) Vector Attraction Reduction 

Options shall be Control of 

Pathogens and Vector 

Attraction in Sewage Sludge; 

EPA/625/R-92/013. The 

document is available from 

US EPA; Office of Research 

and Development, 

Washington, D.C. 20460 and 

free of charge on the internet 

at 

http://www.water.epa.gov/sc

itech/wastetech/biosolids/. 

(v) The methods for Volatile 

Petroleum Hydrocarbons and 

Extractable Petroleum 

Hydrocarbons shall be 

Massachusetts Department 

of Environmental Protection, 

Method for the 

Determination of Volatile 
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Petroleum Hydrocarbons 

(VPH) and Method for the 

Determination of Extractable 

Petroleum Hydrocarbons 

(EPH); May, 2004, Revision 

1.1, et seq. These methods 

may be obtained from the 

Massachusetts Department 

of Environmental Protection, 

Senator William X. Wall 

Experiment Station, 37 

Shattuck Street, Lawrence, 

MA, 01843-1398 and free of 

charge on the internet at 

http://www.mass.gov/eea/do

cs/dep/cleanup/laws/vph050

4.pdf and 

http://www.mass.gov/eea/do

cs/dep/cleanup/laws/eph050

4.pdf, respectively. 

(vi) State Laboratory Approved 

Procedures for Field 

Parameters may be obtained 

by request from the State 

Laboratory or on the State 

Laboratory Certification 

website at 

http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/

wq/lab/cert. 

(J) The Director or assigned delegate may 

approve other analytical procedures, 

parameters, or Parameter Methods that 

have been demonstrated to produce 

verifiable and repeatable results. 

(2) Performance Evaluations. Annually, each 

certified laboratory must demonstrate 

acceptable performance on evaluation samples 

as required by these Rules. 

(2) Proficiency Testing. Annually, each certified 

laboratory shall demonstrate acceptable 

performance on a minimum of one evaluation 

sample for each Parameter Method listed on 

their Certified Parameters Listing for which 

Proficiency Testing samples are available from 

more than one vendor, as required by these 

Rules. When two Proficiency Testing samples 

for the same Parameter Method are analyzed 

and submitted at the same time, an unacceptable 

result on one or both samples shall be 

considered the first unacceptable result for 

Certification purposes. A laboratory that 

submits Unacceptable Proficiency Testing 

Results for two Proficiency Testing samples for 

the same Parameter Method submitted at the 

same time shall analyze a remedial Proficiency 

Testing sample to demonstrate a return to 

control and send a corrective action report to the 

State Laboratory that details the root cause of 

the failure and the corrective actions taken to 

prevent recurrence. Proficiency Testing 

samples shall be analyzed in the same manner 

that routine samples are analyzed using the 

same staff, sample tracking, sample preparation 

procedures, analytical methods, standard 

operating procedures, calibration techniques, 

quality control procedures, and acceptance 

criteria. 

(A) Municipal and Industrial laboratories 

must participate in the annual 

Environmental Protection Agency 

Discharge Monitoring Report Quality 

Assurance (EPA/DMR/QA) Study by 

analyzing performance evaluation 

samples obtained from an accredited 

vendor as unknowns, and reporting 

data produced to the State. The 

laboratory is responsible for 

submitting acceptable results for all 

parameters listed on their certificate. 

(A) All laboratories shall participate 

annually in an evaluation studies by 

analyzing Proficiency Testing samples 

obtained from a State Laboratory 

approved Vendor as unknowns, and 

arranging with the Vendor to send the 

graded results directly to the State 

Laboratory by the date due. A 

laboratory that submits Unacceptable 

Proficiency Testing Results shall 

analyze a remedial Proficiency 

Testing sample using the same 

Parameter Method to demonstrate a 

return to control and send a corrective 

action report to the State Laboratory 

that details the root cause of the failure 

and the corrective actions taken to 

prevent recurrence. 

(B) Commercial laboratories must 

participate annually in water pollution 

studies by analyzing performance 

evaluation samples obtained from an 

accredited vendor as unknowns, and 

reporting data produced to the State. 

The laboratory is responsible for 

submitting acceptable results for all 

parameters listed on their certificate. 

When two samples for the same 

parameter are submitted and analyzed 

at the same time, an unacceptable 

result on one or both samples will be 

considered the first unacceptable 

result for certification purposes and a 

rerun sample must be submitted. 

(C)(B) Laboratories requesting initial 

certification Certification or additional 

Parameter Method Certification must 

shall submit an acceptable 

performance Proficiency Testing 
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sample result from the most recent 

attempt analyzed within the last six 

months for each parameter Parameter 

Method for which performance 

Proficiency Testing samples are 

available. Laboratories shall analyze 

Proficiency Testing samples obtained 

from a State Laboratory-approved 

Vendor as unknowns and arrange with 

the Vendor to send the graded results 

directly to the State Laboratory. 

Laboratories that submit two 

consecutive unacceptable 

Unacceptable Proficiency Testing 

Results results for a particular 

parameter Parameter Method must 

shall then submit two consecutive 

acceptable Acceptable Proficiency 

Testing results from the most recent 

attempt analyzed within the six 

months prior to initial Certification for 

that parameter Parameter Method. 

prior to initial certification. 

(D)(C) If Proficiency Testing performance 

samples are not available, available for 

a parameter, Certification certification 

for that parameter will shall be based 

on the proper use of the approved 

procedure, the on-site inspection, and 

or adherence to the other requirements 

in this Section. Analysis of split Split 

samples may also be required. 

required if Proficiency Testing 

samples are not available or if analysis 

of Proficiency Testing samples is not 

representative of the entire analytical 

process. 

(3) Supervisory Requirements. 

(A) The supervisor of a commercial 

laboratory Commercial Laboratory 

must have a minimum of a B.S. or 

A.B. Bachelor's degree in chemistry or 

a closely-related closely related 

science curriculum from an accredited 

college or university plus a minimum 

of two years of laboratory experience 

in analytical chemistry, or a two year 

two-year associate degree from an 

accredited college, university, or 

technical institute in chemistry 

technology, environmental sciences, 

or a closely-related closely related 

science curriculum plus a minimum of 

four years of experience in analytical 

chemistry. 

(B) The supervisor of a municipal or 

industrial waste water treatment plant 

non-Commercial Municipal, 

Industrial, Mobile or Other Laboratory 

laboratory must shall have a minimum 

of a B.S. or A.B. Bachelor's degree in 

chemistry or a closely-related closely 

related science curriculum from an 

accredited college or university plus a 

minimum of six months of laboratory 

experience in analytical chemistry or 

an equivalent combination of 

education and work experience, or a 

two year two-year associate degree 

from an accredited college, university, 

or technical institute in chemistry 

technology, environmental sciences, 

or a closely-related closely related 

science curriculum plus a minimum of 

two years of experience in analytical 

chemistry or an equivalent 

combination of education and work 

experience. Non-degree supervisors 

must shall have at least six years of 

laboratory experience in analytical 

chemistry or an equivalent 

combination of education and work 

experience. 

(C) All laboratory supervisors are shall be 

subject to review by the State 

Laboratory. One person may serve as 

supervisor of no more than two 

certified laboratories. The supervisor 

shall provide personal and direct 

supervision of the technical personnel 

and be held responsible for the proper 

performance and reporting of all 

analyses made for these Rules. The 

supervisor must shall work in the 

laboratory or visit contact the 

laboratory once each day of normal 

operations. operations and Supporting 

Records shall be maintained as 

evidence of this supervision. If the 

supervisor is to be absent, the 

supervisor shall arrange for a 

substitute capable of insuring the 

proper performance of all laboratory 

procedures, however, the substitute 

supervisor cannot shall not be in 

charge for more than six 12 

consecutive weeks. Existing 

laboratory supervisors that do not 

meet the requirements of this Rule 

may be accepted after review by the 

State Laboratory and meeting all other 

certification requirements. Previous 

laboratory-related performance will 

shall be considered when reviewing 

the qualifications of a potential 

laboratory supervisor. 

(4) Laboratory Manager. Each laboratory must 

shall designate a laboratory manager and 
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include his their name and title on the 

application for certification. Certification. The 

laboratory manager shall be administratively 

above the laboratory supervisor and will be in 

responsible charge in the event the laboratory 

supervisor ceases to be employed by the 

laboratory and will be responsible for filling the 

laboratory supervisor position with a 

replacement qualified pursuant to these Rules. 

At commercial laboratories, Commercial 

Laboratories, where the owner is the laboratory 

supervisor, the laboratory manager and 

laboratory supervisor may be the same person 

if there is no one administratively above the 

laboratory supervisor. 

(5) Application. Each laboratory requesting initial 

state certification Certification shall submit an 

application in duplicate, accompanied by the 

application fee and the laboratory's Quality 

Assurance Manual Manual, including Standard 

Operating Procedures for all requested 

Parameter Methods, to the State Laboratory. 

Separate application and Certification shall be 

required for each Mobile Laboratory and the 

applicant shall supply the vehicle make, vehicle 

identification number, and license number. 

Separate application and certification 

Certification shall be required for all stationary 

laboratories maintained on separate premises 

even though operated under the same 

management; however, separate certification 

Certification is not shall not be required for 

separate buildings on the same or adjoining 

grounds. Analysis of Field Parameters away 

from the physical location of the laboratory 

shall be permitted without separate 

Certification. After receiving a completed 

application and prior to issuing certification, 

Certification, a representative of the State 

Laboratory may visit each laboratory to verify 

the information in the application and the 

adequacy of the laboratory. 

(6) Properly Maintained Facilities, Supplies, and 

Equipment. Facilities and equipment. Each 

laboratory requesting certification Certification 

must shall be properly maintained so as to 

ensure the security and integrity of samples. 

Samples shall be analyzed in such a manner that 

contamination or error will not be introduced. 

Each facility shall contain or be equipped with 

the following: 

(A) A minimum of 150 sq. ft. of laboratory 

space; 

(B) A minimum of 12 linear feet of 

laboratory bench space; 

(C) A sink with hot and cold water; 

(D) An analytical balance capable of 

weighing 0.1 mg, mounted on a shock 

proof table; 

(E) A refrigerator of adequate size to store 

all samples and maintain temperature 

of four degrees Celsius; 

(F) A copy of each approved analytical 

procedure being used in the 

laboratory; 

(G) A source of distilled or deionized 

water that will meet the minimum 

criteria of the approved 

methodologies; 

(H) Glassware, chemicals, supplies, and 

equipment required to perform all 

analytical procedures included in their 

certification. 

(A) A source of water that will meet the 

minimum criteria of the approved 

methodologies; and 

(B) Glassware, chemicals, supplies, and 

equipment required to perform all 

tests, analyses, measurements, or 

monitoring included in their 

Certification. 

(7) Analytical Quality Control Program. Each 

laboratory shall develop and maintain a 

document outlining the analytical quality 

control practices used for the parameters 

included in their certification. Supporting 

records shall be maintained as evidence that 

these practices are being effectively carried out. 

The quality control document shall be available 

for inspection by the State Laboratory. The 

following are requirements for certification and 

must be included in each certified laboratory's 

quality control program: 

(A) All analytical data pertinent to each 

certified analysis must be filed in an 

orderly manner so as to be readily 

available for inspection upon request. 

(B) Excluding Oil and Grease, all residue 

parameters, leachate extractions, 

residual chlorine, and coliform, 

analyze one known standard in 

addition to calibration standards each 

day samples are analyzed to document 

accuracy. Analyze one suspended 

residue, one dissolved residue, one 

residual chlorine and one oil and 

grease standard quarterly. For residual 

chlorine, all calibration standards 

required by the approved procedure in 

use and by EPA must be analyzed. 

(C) Except for Oil and Grease (EPA 

Method 413.1), settleable solids or 

where otherwise specified in an 

analytical method, analyze five 

percent of all samples in duplicate to 

document precision. Laboratories 

analyzing less than 20 samples per 

month must analyze at least one 
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duplicate each month samples are 

analyzed. 

(D) Any quality control procedures 

required by a particular approved 

method shall be considered as required 

for certification for that analysis. 

(E) All quality control requirements in 

these Rules as set forth by the State 

Laboratory. 

(F) Any time quality control results 

indicate an analytical problem, the 

problem must be resolved and any 

samples involved must be rerun if the 

holding time has not expired. 

(G) All analytical records must be 

available for a period of five years. 

Records, which are stored only on 

electronic media, must be maintained 

and supported in the laboratory by all 

hardware and software necessary for 

immediate data retrieval and review. 

(H) All laboratories must use printed 

laboratory bench worksheets that 

include a space to enter the signature 

or initials of the analyst, date of 

analyses, sample identification, 

volume of sample analyzed, value 

from the measurement system, factor 

and final value to be reported and each 

item must be recorded each time 

samples are analyzed. The date and 

time BOD and coliform samples are 

removed from the incubator must be 

included on the laboratory worksheet. 

(I) For analytical procedures requiring 

analysis of a series of standards, the 

concentrations of these standards must 

bracket the concentration of the 

samples analyzed. One of the 

standards must have a concentration 

equal to the laboratory's lower 

reporting concentration for the 

parameter involved. For metals by AA 

or ICP, a series of at least three 

standards must be analyzed along with 

each group of samples. For 

colorimetric analyses, a series of five 

standards for a curve prepared 

annually or three standards for curves 

established each day or standards as 

set forth in the analytical procedure 

must be analyzed to establish a 

standard curve. The curve must be 

updated as set forth in the standard 

procedures, each time the slope 

changes by more than 10 percent at 

mid-range, each time a new stock 

standard is prepared, or at least every 

twelve months. Each analyst 

performing the analytical procedure 

must produce a standard curve. 

(J) Each day an incubator, oven, 

waterbath or refrigerator is used, the 

temperature must be checked, 

recorded, and initialed. During each 

use, the autoclave maximum 

temperature and pressure must be 

checked, recorded, and initialed. 

(K) The analytical balance must be 

checked with one class S, or 

equivalent, standard weight each day 

used and at least three standard 

weights quarterly. The values obtained 

must be recorded in a log and initialed 

by the analyst. 

(L) Chemicals must be dated when 

received and when opened. Reagents 

must be dated and initialed when 

prepared. 

(M) A record of date collected, time 

collected, sample collector, and use of 

proper preservatives must be 

maintained. Each sample must clearly 

indicate the State of North Carolina 

collection site on all record 

transcriptions. 

(N) At any time a laboratory receives 

samples which do not meet sample 

collection, holding time, or 

preservation requirements, the 

laboratory must notify the sample 

collector or client and secure another 

sample if possible. If another sample 

cannot be secured, the original sample 

may be analyzed but the results 

reported must be qualified with the 

nature of the infraction(s) and the 

laboratory must notify the State 

Laboratory about the infraction(s). 

The notification must include a 

statement indicating corrective actions 

taken to prevent the problem for future 

samples. 

(O) All thermometers must meet National 

Institute of Standards and Technology 

(NIST) specifications for accuracy or 

be checked, at a minimum annually, 

against a NIST traceable thermometer 

and proper corrections made. 

(7) Analytical Quality Assurance and Quality 

Control Program. Each laboratory shall have a 

documented analytical quality assurance and 

quality control program. Each laboratory shall 

have a copy of each approved test, analysis, 

measurement, or monitoring procedure being 

used in the laboratory. Each laboratory shall 

develop and maintain documentation outlining 

the analytical quality control practices used for 
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the Parameter Methods included in their 

Certification, including Standard Operating 

Procedures for each certified Parameter 

Method. Quality Assurance, Quality Control, 

and Standard Operating Procedure 

documentation shall indicate the effective date 

of the document and be reviewed every two 

years and updated if changes in procedures are 

made. Each laboratory shall have a formal 

process to track and document review dates and 

any revisions made in all Quality Assurance, 

Quality Control, and Standard Operating 

Procedure documents. Supporting Records 

shall be maintained as evidence that these 

practices are implemented. The Quality 

Assurance, Quality Control, and Standard 

Operating Procedure documents shall be 

available for inspection by the State 

Laboratory. The following are requirements for 

Certification and shall be included in each 

certified laboratory's Quality Assurance and 

Quality Control program. For analysis of Field 

Parameters, a certified laboratory shall follow 

the quality assurance and quality control 

requirements in Subparagraphs (g)(1) through 

(9) of this Rule. 

(A) Unless specified by the method or this 

Rule, each laboratory shall establish 

performance acceptance criteria for all 

Quality Control analyses. Each 

laboratory shall calculate and 

document the precision and accuracy 

of all Quality Control analyses with 

each sample set. When the method of 

choice specifies performance 

acceptance criteria for precision and 

accuracy, and the laboratory chooses 

to develop laboratory-specific limits, 

the laboratory-specific limits shall not 

be less stringent than the criteria stated 

in the approved method. 

(B) If quality control results fall outside 

established limits or indicate an 

analytical problem, the laboratory 

shall identify the root cause of the 

failure. The problem shall be resolved 

through corrective action, the 

corrective action process documented 

and any samples involved shall be 

reanalyzed, if possible. If the sample 

cannot be reanalyzed, or if the quality 

control results continue to fall outside 

established limits or indicate an 

analytical problem, the results shall be 

qualified as such. 

(C) Except where otherwise specified in 

an analytical method, laboratories 

shall analyze five percent of all 

samples in duplicate to document 

precision. Laboratories analyzing 

fewer than 20 samples per month shall 

analyze one duplicate during each 

month that samples are analyzed. 

(D) Unless the referenced method states a 

greater frequency or the parameter is 

not amenable to spiking, laboratories 

shall spike 5% of samples monthly. 

Laboratories analyzing fewer than 20 

samples per month shall analyze one 

Matrix Spike during each month that 

samples are analyzed. 

(E) All analytical records, including 

original observations and information 

necessary to facilitate historical 

reconstruction of the calculated 

results, shall be maintained for five 

years. All analytical data and records 

pertinent to each certified analysis 

shall be accurate, filed in an orderly 

manner, and available for inspection 

upon request. All analytical records 

shall be readable and safeguarded 

against unauthorized amendment, 

obliteration, erasures, overwriting, 

and corruption. Records that are stored 

only on electronic media shall be 

maintained throughout the five-year 

retention period and supported in the 

laboratory by all hardware and 

software necessary for immediate data 

retrieval and review. All 

documentation errors shall be 

corrected by drawing a single line 

through the error so that the original 

entry remains legible. Entries shall not 

be obliterated by erasures or markings. 

Wite-Out®, correction tape or similar 

products designed to obliterate 

documentation shall not to be used; 

instead, the correction shall be written 

adjacent to the error. The correction 

shall be initialed by the responsible 

individual and the date of change 

documented. All manual data and log 

entries shall be written in indelible ink. 

(F) All laboratories shall use printable 

laboratory benchsheets. Certified Data 

shall be traceable to the associated 

sample analyses and shall consist of: 

(i) the method or Standard 

Operating Procedure; 

(ii) the laboratory identification; 

(iii) the instrument identification; 

(iv) the sample collector; 

(v) the signature or initials of the 

analyst; 

(vi) the date and time of sample 

collection; 
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(vii) the date of sample analyses 

(viii) the time of sample analyses 

(when required to document 

a required holding time or 

when time critical steps are 

imposed by the method, a 

federal regulation or this 

Rule); 

(ix) sample identification; 

(x) sample preparation, where 

applicable; 

(xi) the volume of sample 

analyzed, where applicable; 

(xii) the proper units of measure; 

(xiii) the dilution factor, where 

applicable; 

(xiv) all manual calculations; 

(xv) all quality control 

assessments; 

(xvi) the value from the 

measurement system; 

(xvii) the final value to be reported; 

and 

(xviii) any other data needed to 

reconstruct the final 

calculated result. 

Each item shall be recorded each time 

samples are analyzed. The date and 

time samples are placed into and 

removed from ovens, water baths, 

incubators and other equipment shall 

be documented if a time limit is 

required by the method. 

(G) If certified for total suspended residue, 

total dissolved residue or total residue, 

laboratories shall analyze one standard 

monthly during each month samples 

are analyzed. 

(H) For analytical procedures requiring 

analysis of a series of standards, the 

concentrations of these standards shall 

bracket the range of the sample 

concentrations measured. One of the 

standards shall have a concentration 

equal to or less than the laboratory's 

lowest reporting concentration for the 

parameter involved. All data sets shall 

reference the corresponding 

calibration. Laboratories shall analyze 

or back-calculate a standard at the 

same concentration as the lowest 

reporting concentration each day 

samples are analyzed. A calibration 

blank and calibration verification 

standard shall be analyzed prior to 

sample analysis, after every tenth 

sample and at the end of each sample 

group, unless otherwise specified by 

the method, to check for carry over 

and calibration drift. 

(i) The concentration of reagent, 

method, and calibration 

blanks shall not exceed 50 

percent of the lowest 

reporting concentration or as 

otherwise specified by the 

reference method. 

(ii) Laboratories shall analyze 

one known second source 

standard to verify the 

accuracy of standard 

preparation if an initial 

calibration is performed and 

in accordance with the 

referenced method 

requirements thereafter. 

(iii) For electrode analyses, a 

series of two or more non-

zero standards shall be used. 

(iv) For metals analyses, a series 

of three or more non-zero 

standards or standards as set 

forth in the analytical 

procedure shall be analyzed 

along with each sample set 

shall be used. 

(v) For colorimetric analyses, a 

series of five or more non-

zero standards for a curve 

prepared every twelve 

months or three or more non-

zero standards for curves 

established each day, or 

standards as set forth in the 

analytical procedure, shall be 

analyzed to establish a 

calibration curve. A 

manufacturer's factory-set 

calibration (internal curve) 

shall be verified with the 

same number of standards 

and frequency as a prepared 

curve. 

(vi) For ion chromatographic 

analyses, a series of five or 

more non-zero standards for 

a curve prepared every 

twelve months or three or 

more non-zero standards for 

curves established each day, 

or standards as set forth in the 

analytical procedure, shall be 

analyzed to establish a 

calibration curve. 

(I) Each day of normal business 

operations during which samples are 

placed into or removed from an 
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incubator, oven, water bath, 

refrigerator, or other temperature 

controlled device, the temperature 

shall be checked, recorded, dated, and 

initialed. If a method requires more 

frequent monitoring, the method shall 

be followed. During each use, proper 

operation of the autoclave shall be 

verified and adequate temperature and 

pressure, cycle time, and items 

autoclaved shall be checked, recorded, 

dated, and initialed. 

(J) The analytical balance shall be 

checked with one ASTM Type 1, 

Class 1 or 2, or equivalent standard 

weight each day used. These weights 

shall be verified every five years. The 

analytical balance shall be verified 

monthly with three ASTM Type 1, 

Class 1 or 2, or equivalent standard 

weights across the range of use. The 

values obtained shall be recorded, 

dated, and initialed. Laboratory 

analytical balances shall be serviced 

by a metrology vendor or technician 

every 12 months to verify that the 

balance is functioning within 

manufacturer's specifications. 

(K) Chemical containers shall be dated 

when received and when opened. 

Reagent containers shall be dated, 

identified, and initialed when 

prepared. Chemicals and reagents 

exceeding the expiration date shall not 

be used. The laboratory shall have a 

documented system of traceability for 

the purchase, preparation and use of 

all chemicals, reagents, standards, and 

consumables. 

(L) A record of sample collection date, 

sample collection time, sample 

collector, and the use of proper 

preservatives and preservation 

techniques shall be maintained. Each 

North Carolina sample shall indicate 

the collection site on all record 

transcriptions. 

(M) Sample preservation shall be verified 

and documented. If a laboratory 

receives a sample subject to G.S. 143-

215.1 and 143-215.63, et seq. that does 

not meet sample collection, holding 

time, or preservation requirements, the 

laboratory shall document the 

incident, notify the sample collector or 

client, and secure another sample that 

meets the regulatory requirements, if 

possible. If another viable sample 

cannot be secured, the original sample 

may be analyzed but the results 

reported shall be qualified with the 

nature of the sample collection, 

holding time, or preservation 

infractions and the laboratory shall 

notify the State Laboratory of the 

infractions. The notification shall 

include a statement indicating 

corrective action taken to prevent 

future infractions. 

(N) All temperature-measuring devices 

shall have accuracy appropriate for its 

intended use. All temperature-

measuring devices shall be used, 

stored, and maintained according to 

the manufacturer's instructions. 

(i) Reference Temperature-

Measuring Devices shall 

meet National Institute of 

Standards and Technology 

(NIST) specifications for 

accuracy and shall be 

recalibrated in accordance 

with the manufacturer's 

recalibration date not to 

exceed five years. If no 

recalibration date is given, 

the Reference Temperature-

Measuring Device shall be 

recalibrated every five years. 

(ii) Excluding digital, incubator, 

and infrared temperature-

measuring devices, all non-

Reference Temperature-

Measuring Devices shall be 

verified at the temperature of 

use every twelve months 

against a Reference 

Temperature-Measuring 

Device and their accuracy 

shall be corrected. 

(iii) Digital temperature-

measuring devices and 

temperature-measuring 

devices used in incubators 

shall be verified at the 

temperature of use every 

three months against a 

Reference Temperature-

Measuring Device and their 

accuracy shall be corrected. 

(iv) Infrared temperature-

measuring devices shall be 

verified every three months 

at three different 

temperatures over the 

temperature range of use 

against a Reference 

Temperature-Measuring 
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Device and their accuracy 

shall be corrected. Each day 

of use, infrared temperature-

measuring devices shall be 

verified against a non-

Reference Temperature-

Measuring Device that meets 

NIST specifications for 

accuracy. If the infrared 

temperature-measuring 

device does not agree within 

0.5 degrees Celsius during 

the daily verification, 

corrective action must be 

taken. 

(O) Mechanical volumetric liquid-

dispensing devices (e.g., fixed and 

adjustable auto-pipettors and bottle-

top dispensers) used for critical 

volume measurements shall be 

calibrated once every six months. 

(P) Each laboratory shall develop and 

implement a documented training 

program that includes documentation 

that: 

(i) staff have the education, 

training, experience, or 

demonstrated skills needed to 

generate quality control 

results within method-

specified limits and/or that 

meet the requirements of 

these Rules; 

(ii) staff have read the laboratory 

Quality Assurance Manual 

and/or applicable Standard 

Operating Procedures; and 

(iii) staff have obtained 

acceptable results on 

Proficiency Testing samples 

pursuant to Rule .0803(1) of 

this Section or other 

demonstrations of 

proficiency. 

(8) Decertification Requirements. Municipal and 

industrial laboratories that cannot meet initial 

certification requirements must comply with 

the Decertification Requirements as set forth in 

Rule .0807(e) of this Section. 

(b)  Issuance of Certification. 

(1) Upon compliance with these Rules, 

certification Certification shall be issued by the 

Director Division of Water Quality, 

Department of Environmental Quality or his 

assigned delegate, for each of the applicable 

parameters Parameter Methods requested 

within 30 days. days of receipt of the initial 

Certification invoice payment. 

(2) Initial certifications Certifications shall be valid 

for the remainder of the applicable Certification 

cycle that begins on January 1 and is valid for 

one year. issued for prorated time periods to 

schedule all certification renewals on the first 

day valid for one year. 

(c)  Maintenance of Certification. 

(1) To maintain certification Certification for each 

parameter Parameter Method, a certified 

laboratory must shall analyze up to four 

performance evaluation one Proficiency 

Testing sample samples per parameter 

Parameter Method per year year. submitted by 

an accredited vendor as an unknown. 

Laboratories submitting unacceptable results 

on a performance evaluation samples may be 

required to analyze more than four samples per 

year. A laboratory may be asked to analyze 

additional Proficiency Testing samples for a 

Parameter Method if a question about the 

accuracy of data produced arises, if there are 

changes in equipment or personnel, if 

inaccurate information is reported with 

Proficiency Testing results, or if Unacceptable 

Proficiency Testing Results are submitted. 

(2) In addition, if a Proficiency Testing sample is 

not available, the State Laboratory may request 

the analysis of Split samples. that samples be 

split into two equal representative portions, one 

part going to the State and the other to the 

certified laboratory for analysis. Acceptable 

Split sample results shall be determined by the 

State Laboratory using scientifically valid 

statistical methodology. 

(3) The State laboratory Laboratory may submit or 

require clients certified laboratories to submit 

analyze blind performance Proficiency Testing 

samples or split Split samples under direction 

of State Laboratory personnel. personnel if 

there is a question about the accuracy of data 

produced, if Proficiency Testing samples are 

not available or if analysis of Proficiency 

Testing samples does not represent the entire 

analytical process. 

(4) A certified laboratory shall be subject to 

periodic announced or unannounced 

inspections during the certification 

Certification period and shall make time and all 

records pursuant to Part (a)(7)(E) of this Rule 

available for inspections inspection. and must 

supply copies of records for any investigation 

upon written request by the State Laboratory. 

(5) A certified laboratory must provide the State 

Laboratory with written notice of laboratory 

supervisor or laboratory manager changes 

within 30 days of such changes. 

(6) A certified laboratory must submit written 

notice of any changes of location, ownership, 
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address, name or telephone number within 30 

days of such changes. 

(7) A certified laboratory must submit a written 

amendment to the certification application each 

time that changes occur in methodology, 

reporting limits, and major equipment. The 

amendment must be received within 30 days of 

such changes. 

(5) A certified laboratory shall supply copies of all 

records pursuant to Part (a)(7)(E) of this Rule 

for any investigation upon written request by 

the State Laboratory. 

(6) A certified laboratory shall provide the State 

Laboratory with written notice of laboratory 

supervisor or laboratory manager changes 

within 30 days of such changes. 

(7) A certified laboratory shall submit written 

notice of any changes of location, ownership, 

address, name, or telephone number within 30 

days of such changes. 

(d)  Certification Renewals Renewals. 

(1) Certification renewals of laboratories shall be 

issued for one year. 

(e)  Data reporting. Reporting. 

(1) Certified commercial laboratories Commercial 

Laboratories must shall provide make data 

reports to their clients that are signed by the 

laboratory supervisor. This duty signatory 

authority may be delegated in writing ; 

however, the responsibility shall remain with 

the supervisor. 

(2) Whenever If a certified commercial laboratory 

Laboratory refers or subcontracts analysis of 

samples to another laboratory certified 

laboratory for analyses, the Parameter, the 

referring laboratory must shall supply the date 

and time samples were collected to insure 

holding times are met. Subcontracted All record 

transcriptions of subcontracted samples must 

shall clearly indicate that the collection site is in 

the State of North Carolina Carolina. as the 

collection site on all record transcriptions. 

Laboratories may subcontract sample fractions, 

extracts, leachates leachates, and other sample 

preparation products provided that adherence to 

all Rules and requirements of 15A NCAC 02H 

.0800 are is documented. The initial client 

requesting the analyses must shall receive the 

original or a copy of the report made by the 

laboratory that performs the analyses. Each 

reported result shall be traceable to the 

laboratory that performed the analysis on the 

final report. 

(3) All uncertified data Uncertified Data must shall 

be clearly documented as such on the 

benchsheet and on the final report. 

(4) Sample results reported below the lowest 

reporting concentration, if required by the data 

receiver, shall be qualified as an estimated 

value. 

(5) Reported data associated with Quality Control 

failures, improper sample collection, holding 

time exceedances, or improper preservation 

shall be qualified as such. 

(f)  Discontinuation of Certification. 

(1) A laboratory may discontinue certification 

Certification for any or all parameters 

Parameter Methods by making a written request 

to the State Laboratory. 

(2) After discontinuation of certification, 

Certification, a laboratory may shall be 

recertified by meeting the requirements for 

initial certification; Certification; however, 

laboratories that discontinue certification 

Certification during any investigation shall be 

subject to Rule .0808 of this Section. 

(g)  Prerequisites and Requirements requirements for Field 

Laboratory Parameter Certification. Only the following 

requirements must be met prior to certification for Field 

Parameter Laboratories. Laboratories that meet the requirements 

of this Paragraph shall be certified as Field Laboratories. Once 

certified, failure to comply with any of the following items will 

shall be a violation of certification Certification requirements. 

(1) Data pertinent to each analysis must be 

maintained for five years. Certified Data must 

consist of date collected, time collected, sample 

site, sample collector, and sample analysis time. 

The field benchsheets must provide a space for 

the signature or initials of the analyst, and 

proper units of measure for all analyses. 

(2) A record of instrument calibration where 

applicable, must be filed in an orderly manner 

so as to be readily available for inspection upon 

request. 

(3) A copy of each approved analytical procedure 

must be available to each analyst. 

(4) Each facility must have glassware, chemicals, 

supplies, equipment, and a source of distilled or 

deionized water that will meet the minimum 

criteria of the approved methodologies. 

(5) Supervisors of laboratories certified for Field 

Parameters only must meet the requirements of 

Subparagraph (a)(3)(A) or (a)(3)(B) of this 

Section, or possess a chemistry or related 

degree with two years of related environmental 

experience, or hold any Biological Water 

Pollution Control System Operator's 

Certification as defined by 15A NCAC 08G. 

(6) Application: Each Field Parameter Laboratory 

shall submit an application in duplicate. 

(7) Performance Evaluations. Each Field 

Parameter Laboratory must participate in an 

annual quality assurance study by analyzing 

performance evaluation samples obtained from 

an accredited vendor as unknowns. If 

performance evaluations are not available for a 

parameter, certification for that parameter may 
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be based on the proper use of the approved 

procedure as determined by an announced or 

unannounced on-site inspection. 

(8) Decertification and Civil Penalties. A 

laboratory facility can be decertified for 

infractions as outlined in Rule .0807 of this 

Section. 

(9) Recertification. A laboratory facility can be 

recertified in accordance with Rule .0808 of this 

Section. 

(1) All analytical records, including original 

observations and information necessary to 

facilitate historical reconstruction of the 

calculated results, shall be maintained for five 

years. All analytical data and records pertinent 

to each certified analysis shall be accurate and 

filed in an orderly manner so as to be readily 

available for inspection upon request. All 

analytical records shall be legible and 

safeguarded against unauthorized amendment, 

obliteration, erasures, overwriting and 

corruption. Records which are stored only on 

electronic media shall be securely maintained 

throughout the five year retention period and 

supported in the laboratory by all hardware and 

software necessary for immediate data retrieval 

and review. All documentation errors shall be 

corrected by drawing a single line through the 

error so that the original entry remains legible. 

Entries shall not be obliterated by erasures or 

markings. Wite-Out®, correction tape or 

similar products designed to obliterate 

documentation are not to be used. Write the 

correction adjacent to the error. The correction 

shall be initialed by the responsible individual 

and the date of change documented. All manual 

data and log entries shall be written in indelible 

ink. Pencil entries are not acceptable. 

(2) All laboratories shall use printable laboratory 

benchsheets. Certified Data shall be traceable to 

the associated sample analyses and shall consist 

of: 

(A) the method or Standard Operating 

Procedure; 

(B) the laboratory identification; 

(C) the instrument identification; 

(D) the sample collector; 

(E) the signature or initials of the analyst; 

(F) the date and time of sample collection; 

(G) the date of sample analyses; 

(H) the time of sample analyses (when 

required to document a required 

holding time or when time critical 

steps are imposed by the method, a 

federal regulation or this Rule); 

(I) sample identification; 

(J) sample preparation, where applicable; 

(K) the volume of sample analyzed, where 

applicable; 

(L) the proper units of measure; 

(M) the dilution factor, where applicable; 

(N) all manual calculations; 

(O) the quality control assessments; 

(P) the value from the measurement 

system; 

(Q) the final value to be reported; and 

(R) any other data needed to reconstruct 

the final calculated result. 

Each item shall be recorded each time samples 

are analyzed. Analyses shall conform to 

methodologies found in Subparagraph (a)(1) of 

this Rule. 

(3) A record of instrument calibration or calibration 

verification shall be documented, filed in an 

orderly manner, and available for inspection 

upon request. 

(4) Laboratory Procedures. Laboratory procedures 

shall comply with Subparagraph (a)(1) of this 

Rule. A copy of each analytical method or 

Approved Procedure and Standard Operating 

Procedure shall be available to each analyst and 

available for review upon request by the State 

Laboratory. Standard Operating Procedure 

documentation shall indicate the effective date 

of the document and shall be reviewed every 

two years and updated if changes in procedures 

are made. Each laboratory shall have a formal 

process to track and document review dates and 

any revisions made in all Standard Operating 

Procedure documents. Supporting Records 

shall be maintained as evidence that these 

practices are implemented. 

(5) Each laboratory shall develop and implement a 

documented training program that includes the 

following: 

(A) that staff have the education, training, 

experience, or demonstrated skills, 

needed to generate quality control 

results within method-specified limits 

or that meet the requirements of these 

Rules; 

(B) that staff have read the laboratory 

Quality Assurance Manual or 

applicable Standard Operating 

Procedures; 

(C) that staff have obtained acceptable 

results on Proficiency Testing samples 

pursuant to Rule .0803(1) of this 

Section or other demonstrations of 

proficiency. 

(6) Each facility shall have glassware, chemicals, 

supplies, properly maintained equipment, and a 

source of water that meets the criteria of the 

approved methodologies. Samples shall be 

analyzed in such a manner that contamination 

or error will not be introduced. 

(7) Chemical containers shall be dated when 

received and when opened. Reagent containers 
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shall be dated, identified, and initialed when 

prepared. Chemicals and reagents exceeding 

the expiration date shall not be used. Chemicals 

and reagents shall be assigned expiration dates 

by the laboratory if not given by the 

manufacturer. If the laboratory is unable to 

determine an expiration date for a chemical or 

reagent, a one-year time period from the date of 

receipt shall be the expiration date unless 

degradation is observed prior to this date. The 

laboratory shall have a documented system of 

traceability for all chemicals, reagents, 

standards, and consumables. 

(8) If quality control results fall outside established 

limits or indicate an analytical problem, the 

laboratory shall identify the root cause of the 

failure. The problem shall be resolved through 

corrective action, the corrective action process 

documented and any samples involved shall be 

reanalyzed, if possible. If the sample cannot be 

reanalyzed, or if the quality control results 

continue to fall outside established limits or 

indicate an analytical problem, the results shall 

be qualified as such. 

(9) All temperature-measuring devices shall have 

accuracy appropriate for its intended use. All 

temperature-measuring devices shall be 

properly used, stored, and maintained. 

(A) Reference Temperature-Measuring 

Devices shall meet National Institute 

of Standards and Technology (NIST) 

specifications for accuracy and shall 

be recalibrated in accordance with the 

manufacturer's recalibration date. If no 

recalibration date is given, the 

Reference Temperature-Measuring 

Device shall be recalibrated every five 

years. 

(B) Excluding digital, incubator, and 

infrared temperature-measuring 

devices, all non-Reference 

Temperature-Measuring Devices shall 

be verified every 12 months against a 

Reference Temperature-Measuring 

Device and their accuracy shall be 

corrected. 

(C) Digital temperature-measuring 

devices and temperature-measuring 

devices used in incubators shall be 

verified at every three months against 

a Reference Temperature-Measuring 

Device and their accuracy shall be 

corrected. 

(D) Infrared temperature-measuring 

devices shall be verified every three 

months at three different temperatures 

over the temperature range of use 

against a Reference Temperature-

Measuring Device and their accuracy 

shall be corrected. Each day of use, 

infrared temperature-measuring 

devices shall be verified against a non-

Reference Temperature-Measuring 

Device that meets NIST specifications 

for accuracy. If the infrared 

temperature-measuring device does 

not agree within 0.5 degrees Celsius 

during the daily verification, 

corrective action must be taken. 

(10) Mechanical volumetric liquid-dispensing 

devices (e.g., fixed and adjustable auto-

pipettors and bottle-top dispensers) shall be 

calibrated at least once every twelve months. 

(11) Supervisors of laboratories certified only for 

Field Parameters shall: 

(A) meet the requirements of Part 

(a)(3)(A) or (a)(3)(B) of this Rule; 

(B) possess a chemistry or related degree 

with two years of related 

environmental experience or an 

equivalent combination of education 

and work experience; or 

(C) hold any Water Pollution Control 

System Operator's Certification as 

defined by 15A NCAC 08G, et seq. 

Supervisors shall provide personal and direct 

supervision of the technical personnel and be 

held responsible for the proper performance and 

reporting of all analyses governed by these 

Rules. If the supervisor is to be absent, the 

supervisor shall arrange for a substitute capable 

of insuring the proper performance of all 

laboratory procedures; however, the substitute 

supervisor shall not be in charge for more than 

twelve consecutive weeks. 

(12) A certified Field Laboratory shall be subject to 

inspections during the Certification period and 

shall make all relevant records available for 

inspection. 

(13) A certified Field Laboratory shall supply copies 

of all relevant records for any investigation 

upon written request by the State Laboratory. 

(14) A certified Field Laboratory shall pay all 

applicable fees in accordance with Rule .0806 

of this Section. 

(15) Application. Each Field Laboratory requesting 

initial Certification shall submit an application 

to the State Laboratory. 

(16) Proficiency Testing. Each certified Field 

Laboratory shall be in accordance with 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule. 

(17) Data Reporting. Each certified Field 

Laboratory shall be in accordance with 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(18) Issuance of Certification. A Field Laboratory 

shall be issued Certification in accordance with 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 
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(19) Maintenance of Certification. A certified Field 

Laboratory shall submit written notice of any 

material changes in the laboratory supervisor, 

location, ownership, address, name and 

telephone number within 30 days of such 

changes. 

(20) Certification Renewals. Certification renewals 

of certified Field Laboratories shall be issued in 

accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(21) Discontinuation of Certification. A certified 

Field Laboratory may discontinue Certification 

in accordance with Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(22) Decertification. A certified Field Laboratory 

may be decertified and must meet all 

Decertification requirements for infractions in 

accordance with Rule .0807 of this Section. 

(23) Civil Penalties. Civil Penalties may be assessed 

against a certified Field Laboratory which 

violates or fails to act in accordance with any of 

the terms, conditions, or requirements of the 

Rule .0807 of this Section or of the State 

Laboratory. 

(24) Recertification. A decertified Field Laboratory 

may be recertified in accordance with Rule 

.0808 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10) 

143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.6A. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0806 FEES ASSOCIATED WITH 

CERTIFICATION PROGRAM 

(a)  An applicant for laboratory certification, Certification, 

excluding those laboratories seeking only Field Parameter 

Certification only, must shall submit to the Department of 

Environment and Natural Resources, Laboratory Environmental 

Quality, Division of Water Resources Water Sciences Section, a 

non-refundable fee of three hundred dollars ($300.00) for the 

evaluation and processing of with each application. 

(b)  Municipal, Industrial, and Other laboratories Laboratories 

must shall pay an annual fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) eighty-five 

dollars ($85.00) for each inorganic parameter plus one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) for each organic parameter and metals analyte; 

parameter; however, the minimum fee will shall be one thousand 

three seven hundred fifty dollars ($1,350.00) ($1,750) per year. 

Municipal Laboratories may cost-share among Municipal 

Laboratories or charge a cost recovery fee or surcharge to operate 

their Pretreatment Program. 

(c)  Commercial laboratories Laboratories must shall pay an 

annual fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) eighty-five dollars ($85.00) for 

each inorganic parameter plus one hundred dollars ($100.00) for 

each organic parameter and metals analyte; however, the 

minimum fee will be two three thousand seven five hundred 

dollars ($2,700.00) ($3,500) per year. 

(d)  Prior to receiving initial certification, Certification, a Field 

Laboratory shall pay the required fee as specified in Paragraph (k) 

or (l) of this Rule and all other laboratories shall laboratory must 

pay the required fee as specified in Paragraph (b) or (c) of this 

Rule. Initial certification Excluding Field Laboratories, 

Certification fee will shall be prorated on a semi-annual quarterly 

basis. basis to make all certification All Certification renewals 

shall be due on the first day of January. 

(e)  Once certified, a Field Laboratories shall pay a fifty dollar 

($50.00) administrative fee for each Parameter Method added to 

their Certified Parameters Listing, and all other laboratories 

laboratory must shall pay the full annual parameter fee for each 

parameter Parameter Method added to their certificate. Certified 

Parameters Listing. 

(f)  A laboratory decertified for all parameters must shall pay 

initial certification Certification fees prior to recertification. 

Recertification. 

(g)  A laboratory decertified for one or more parameters Parameter 

Methods must shall pay a fee of two hundred dollars ($200.00) 

for each parameters Parameter Method for which it was 

decertified prior to recertification. Recertification. 

(h)  Out-of-state laboratories shall reimburse the state State for 

actual travel and subsistence costs incurred by laboratory 

certification staff in certification Certification and maintenance of 

certification. Certification including travel to provide technical 

assistance or complaint investigations. Out-of-state laboratories 

shall also be assessed for expenses for an on-site inspection based 

on the hourly rate of the laboratory certification staff, rounded to 

the nearest hour and inclusive of preparation time, travel time, and 

inspection time. 

(i)  Annual certification Certification fees are shall be due 60 days 

after receipt of invoice. 

(j)  A fifty dollar ($50.00) late payment fee shall be paid by Field 

Laboratories when annual Certification fees have not been paid 

by the date due. A For all other laboratories, a two hundred fifty 

dollar ($250.00) late payment fee must shall be paid when annual 

certification Certification fees are not paid by the date due. 

(k)  Commercial facilities Laboratories analyzing only samples 

for field parameters Field Parameters only must shall pay an 

annual fee of two three hundred dollars ($200.00) ($300.00) per 

year. 

(l)  Municipal and Industrial facilities Municipal, Industrial, and 

Other Laboratories analyzing only samples for field parameters 

Field Parameters only must shall pay an annual fee of one hundred 

fifty dollars ($100.00) ($150.00) per year. 

(m)  A laboratory that voluntarily discontinues Certification shall 

pay all applicable Certification fees as specified in Paragraphs (a), 

(b), (c), (d), (k), and (l) of this Rule prior to regaining 

Certification. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10). 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0807 DECERTIFICATION AND CIVIL 

PENALTIES 

(a)  Laboratory Decertification. A laboratory may be decertified, 

for any or all parameters, for up to one year for any of the 

following infractions: The following infractions may result in a 

laboratory being decertified pursuant to Paragraph (d) of this 

Section for any or all parameters for up to one year: 

(1) Failing to maintain the facilities, or records, or 

personnel, or equipment, or quality control 

program as set forth in the application, and 

these Rules; or 

(2) Submitting inaccurate data or other information 

subject to these Rules; or 
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(3) Failing to pay required fees by the date due; or 

(4) Failing to discontinue supplying data for clients 

or programs described in Rule .0802 of this 

Section during periods when a decertification 

Decertification is in effect; or 

(5) Failing to submit a split Split sample to the 

State Laboratory as requested; or 

(6) Failing to use approved methods of analysis; or 

(7) Failing to report a change of laboratory 

supervisor or equipment changes within 30 

days; days of such changes; or 

(8) Failing to report an analysis of required annual 

performance evaluation Proficiency Testing 

samples submitted by an a EPA State 

Laboratory-approved approved vendor Vendor 

within the specified time limit; or 

(9) Failing to allow an inspection by an authorized 

representative of the State Laboratory; or 

(10) Failing to supply all records and analytical data 

requested by the State Laboratory; or 

(11) Failing to submit a written notification 

amendment to the certification application 

within 30 days of applicable changes pursuant 

to Rule .0805(a)(6) and (7) and Rule 

.0805(g)(19) of this Section; changes; or 

(12) Failing to meet required requirements for 

sample holding times and preservation; times; 

or 

(13) Failing to respond to requests for information 

by the date due; or 

(14) Failing to comply with any other terms, 

conditions, or requirements of this Section or of 

a laboratory certification Certification; 

(15) Altering or modifying the laboratory's 

certificate or Certified Parameters Listing; 

(16) Sharing or comparing Proficiency Testing 

sample results with other laboratories prior to 

the study reporting deadline; 

(17) Splitting, sending, or subcontracting a 

Proficiency Testing sample or a portion of a 

Proficiency Testing sample to another 

laboratory unless the practice represents the 

routine analysis and reporting scheme utilized 

by the laboratories; 

(18) Knowingly receiving and analyzing any 

Proficiency Testing sample or portion of a 

Proficiency Testing sample from another 

laboratory for which the results of the 

Proficiency Testing sample are intended for use 

by that laboratory for initial or continued 

Certification. 

(19) Obtaining or attempting to obtain the assigned 

value of any Proficiency Testing sample used to 

satisfy initial or continued Certification 

requirements prior to the closing date of the 

study. 

(20) Failing to correct findings in an inspection 

report. 

(b)  Parameter Method Decertification. A laboratory may receive 

a parameter decertification for failing to: T he laboratory may be 

decertified pursuant to Paragraph (d) of this Rule for a Parameter 

Method for: 

(1) Obtain acceptable results on two consecutive 

blind or announced performance evaluation 

samples submitted by an EPA accredited 

vendor or the State Laboratory; or obtaining 

two consecutive Unacceptable Proficiency 

Testing sample results; or 

(2) Obtain acceptable results on two consecutive 

blind or announced split samples that have also 

been analyzed by the State Laboratory. 

obtaining two consecutive unacceptable Split 

sample results. 

(c)  Falsified Data. A laboratory that submits falsified data or other 

information may be decertified pursuant to Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule for all parameters for up to two years. years and may be 

recertified per Rule .0808 of this Section. 

(d)  Decertification Factors. In determining a period of 

decertification, Decertification, the Director shall recognize that 

any harm to the natural resources of the State arising from 

violations of these the Rules in this Section may not be 

immediately observed and may be incremental or cumulative with 

no damage that can be immediately observed or documented. 

Decertification for periods up to the maximum may shall be based 

on any and one or a combination of the following factors to be 

considered: factors set forth at G.S. 143B-282.1(b). 

(1) The degree and extent of harm, or potential 

harm, to the natural resources of the State or to 

the public health, or to private property 

resulting from the violation; 

(2) The duration, and gravity of the violation; 

(3) The effect, or potential effect, on ground or 

surface water quantity or quality or on air 

quality; 

(4) Cost of rectifying any damage; 

(5) The amount of money saved by noncompliance; 

(6) As to violations other than submission of 

falsified data or other information, whether the 

violation was committed willfully or 

intentionally; 

(7) The prior record of the laboratory in complying 

or failing to comply with any State and Federal 

laboratory Rules and regulations; 

(8) The cost to the State of investigation and 

enforcement procedures; 

(9) Cooperation of the laboratory in discovering, 

identifying, or reporting the violation; 

(10) Measures the laboratory implemented to correct 

the violation or abate the effect of the violation, 

including notifying any affected clients; 

(11) Measures the laboratory implemented to correct 

the cause of the violation; 

(12) Any other relevant facts. 

(e)  Decertification Requirements. 

(1) A decertified laboratory is not to shall not 

analyze samples for the decertified parameters 

Parameter Method for programs described in 
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Rule .0802 of this Section or for clients 

reporting to these programs. programs or other 

programs requiring Certified Data pursuant to 

this Section. 

(2) A decertified commercial laboratory 

Commercial Laboratory must shall supply 

written notification of the decertification its 

Decertification to clients with Division of 

Water Quality that are required to report to the 

Department of Environmental Quality 

reporting requirements. under G.S. 143 Article 

21. Within 30 days of Decertification, the 

decertified laboratory must supply shall provide 

the State Laboratory with a list of such clients 

involved and copies of the notices sent to each. 

(3) A commercial laboratory Commercial 

Laboratory that has received a parameter 

decertification Parameter Method 

Decertification may shall make arrangements to 

supply analysis through another certified 

laboratory certified by the State Laboratory for 

the contracted parameters during any 

decertification periods. Decertification period. 

The decertified laboratory must supply the State 

Laboratory, by written notice, the name of the 

laboratory to be used. Within 30 days of 

Decertification, the decertified laboratory shall 

supply the State Laboratory with a list of clients 

involved, copies of the notices sent to each, and 

the name and Certification number of the 

certified laboratory to be used during the 

Decertification period. 

(4) A commercial laboratory Commercial 

Laboratory decertified for all parameters cannot 

shall not subcontract samples for analyses to 

other certified laboratories during the 

decertification Decertification period. 

(5) A decertified municipal or industrial laboratory 

Municipal or Industrial Laboratory that has 

received a Parameter Method Decertification 

must shall have its samples requiring that 

Parameter Method analyzed by another 

certified laboratory certified by the State 

Laboratory for the contracted Parameter 

Method during any decertification 

Decertification period. period and supply the 

State Laboratory, by written notice, the name of 

the certified laboratory to be used. Within 30 

days of Decertification, the decertified 

laboratory shall supply the State Laboratory 

with the name and Certification number of the 

certified laboratory to be used during the 

Decertification period. 

(f)  Civil Penalties. Civil penalties may be assessed against a 

laboratory which violates or fails to act in accordance with any of 

the terms, conditions, or requirements of the Rules in this Section. 

Section or of a laboratory certification. A laboratory is subject to 

both civil penalties and decertification. In determining the civil 

penalties assessed, the Director shall recognize that any harm to 

the natural resources of the State arising from violations of the 

Rules in this Section may not be immediately observed and may 

be incremental or cumulative with no damage that can be 

immediately observed or documented. Civil penalties up to the 

maximum may be based on any one or a combination of the 

factors in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.6A; 

143B-282.1(b). 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0808 RECERTIFICATION 

(a)  A laboratory decertified in accordance with Paragraph (a) of 

Rule .0807 .0807(a) of this Section may shall be recertified at the 

end of the Decertification decertification period imposed by the 

Division pursuant to Rule .0807(a) and (d) of this Section by 

showing to the satisfaction of the State Laboratory that it has 

corrected the deficiency(ies). deficiencies for which it was 

decertified. 

(b)  A laboratory decertified for a parameter due to unacceptable 

results on two consecutive performance evaluation samples 

submitted by an EPA accredited vendor, or on two consecutive 

split samples may be recertified after 60 days by reporting 

acceptable results on two consecutive performance evaluation 

samples submitted by an EPA accredited vendor. Recertification 

samples may be requested from an EPA accredited vendor at any 

time, however, recertification must be requested in writing at the 

end of the 60 day period immediately following the date of 

decertification. 

(c)  A laboratory decertified for submitting falsified data or other 

information may be recertified at the end of the decertification 

period by demonstrating compliance with all requirements of this 

Section. 

(b)  A laboratory decertified for a Parameter Method due to two 

consecutive Unacceptable Proficiency Testing Results or on two 

consecutive Split samples shall be recertified at the end of the 30-

day period by completing all of the following: 

(1) Report acceptable results on two consecutive 

Proficiency Testing samples submitted by a 

State Laboratory-approved Vendor or report 

acceptable results on two consecutive samples 

split with the State Laboratory. Recertification 

samples may be requested from a State 

Laboratory approved Vendor at any time; 

(2) Recertification shall be requested in writing 

following Decertification; 

(3) The decertified laboratory shall supply the State 

Laboratory with the name, certification 

number, and address of the certified subcontract 

laboratory and a list of impacted clients and 

their contact information; 

(4) The decertified laboratory shall supply the State 

Laboratory with a report of the investigation of 

the root cause and corrective action taken; 

(5) The laboratory shall pay the required fee as 

specified in Rule .0806(f) or (g) of this Section; 

and 

(6) The laboratory shall have met all the 

Decertification requirements in accordance 

with Rule .0807(e) of this Section. 
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(c)  After two years after Decertification, a Parameter Method 

Recertification shall be treated as an initial Certification in 

accordance with Rule .0805 of this Section. 

(d)  A laboratory decertified for submitting Falsified Data or 

Information shall be recertified at the end of the Decertification 

period imposed by the Division pursuant to Rule .0807(c) and (d) 

of this Section by demonstrating compliance with all 

requirements of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10). 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0809 RECIPROCITY 

(a)  Laboratories certified under other state certification programs 

of other states or other certification or accreditation bodies shall 

may be given reciprocity reciprocal certification Certification 

where if such programs or certification or accreditation bodies 

meet the requirements of this Section. In requesting reciprocity 

certification, Certification, laboratories shall include with the 

application required by Rule .0805(a) of this Section a copy of 

their certification certification, a copy of the last audit report from 

the certifying body, the laboratory's response to the audit report, 

the laboratory's scope of accreditation, and Regulation applicable 

regulations from the certifying agency. 

(b)  Laboratories certified by reciprocity shall pay the fees 

required by Rule .0806 of this Section. 

(c)  Any time that a laboratory has its certification with the 

reciprocal program discontinued for any reason, If a laboratory's 

certification by another state's program or another certification or 

accreditation body is discontinued, the State Laboratory shall be 

notified and Certification certification under this Section shall be 

terminated at the same time. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10). 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0810 ADMINISTRATION 

(a)  The Director of the Division of Water Quality, Department of 

Environment and Natural Resources or his delegate, is authorized 

to issue certification, to reject applications for certification, to 

renew certification, to issue recertification, to issue 

decertification, and to issue reciprocity certification. 

(b)  Appeals. In any case where the Director of the Division of 

Water Quality, Department of Environment and Natural 

Resources or his delegate denies certification, or decertifies a 

laboratory, the laboratory may appeal to the N.C. Office of 

Administrative Hearings in accordance with Chapter 150B of the 

General Statutes. 

(c)  The State Laboratory will maintain a current list of certified 

commercial laboratories. 

(d)  Implementation of the October 1, 2001changes to this Section. 

(1) All requirements of the Rules in this Section are 

effective on the effective date of the 

amendments. 

(2) Requests for the new parameters may be made 

by submitting a properly completed amendment 

form. 

(3) Laboratories subject to the amended 

requirements of these Rules must submit a 

completed application, or amendment form, 

within three months of the effective date of the 

amendments. Laboratories submitting an 

application or amendment form for any of the 

newly certifiable parameters may analyze 

samples for these new parameters until the State 

Laboratory has issued or denied certification. 

Fees for parameter additions requested during 

the initial three month period will be calculated 

as initial certification fees. 

(4) Laboratory facilities, not currently certified, 

that are performing analyses for Field 

Parameters only must submit an application 

within three months of the effective date of the 

amendments. After submitting an application, 

these laboratories may continue to analyze 

samples until the State Laboratory has issued or 

denied certification. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); 150B-23. 

 

SECTION .1100 - BIOLOGICAL LABORATORY 

CERTIFICATION 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1101 PURPOSE 

These Rules shall set forth the requirements for certification of 

commercial, industrial, and public laboratories to perform 

biological toxicity testing and aquatic population surveys of water 

and wastewater as required for National Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (NPDES) permits by G.S. 143-215.3(a)(10) 

and Environmental Management Commission Rules for 

Classifications and Water Quality Standards Applicable to the 

Surface Waters of North Carolina, found in Subchapter 2B of this 

Chapter, Section .0200, 15A NCAC 02B .0200, and Rules for 

Surface Water Monitoring, Reporting, found in Subchapter 2B of 

this Chapter, Section .0500. 15A NCAC 02B .0500. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1102 SCOPE 

These Rules apply to commercial, industrial, or public 

laboratories which perform toxicity testing of water or wastewater 

for 

persons subject to any requirements for monitoring of toxicity 

through direct measurement of the effects of a specific water or 

wastewater or aquatic organisms in laboratory tests or through 

field surveys. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1103 DEFINITIONS 

The following terms as used in this Section shall have the assigned 

meaning: 

(1) Categories are groups of parameters which 

differ by measured test exposure regimes 

(chronic and acute) and, in the case of 

toxicological assay, through the presence or 

absence of vertebrae in the species of test 

organisms used or being a member of the plant 

kingdom. All field population survey 

techniques are contained within one category. 
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(1) "Approved Procedure" means an analytical 

procedure developed by the State Laboratory 

based upon relevant reference methods and 

approved for use for monitoring subject to G.S. 

143-215.1 and G.S. 143-215.63, et seq. 

(2) "Aquatic population survey and analysis" 

means field sampling, laboratory identification, 

analysis, and metric derivation for determining 

biological integrity, as defined in 15A NCAC 

02B .0202(11) for fish, aquatic 

macroinvertebrates, phytoplankton, and aquatic 

macrophytes using methods developed in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02B .0103(b). 

Standard operating procedures used by the State 

are available for review on the Division's 

website. 

(2)(3) Certification is "Certification" means a 

declaration by the Division that personnel, 

equipment, records, quality control procedures, 

and methodology cited by the applicant are 

accurate and that the applicants' applicant's 

proficiency has been considered and found 

acceptable. complies with the rules in this 

Section. 

(3)(4) Commercial Laboratory "Commercial 

Laboratory" means any laboratory, including its 

employees and agents, which that analyzes, for 

others, wastewater samples for toxicity 

measurements or for their resultant impacts on 

the receiving waters. 

(4)(5) Decertification is "Decertification" means the 

loss of certification. 

(5)(6) Director "Director" means the Director of the 

North Carolina Division of Environmental 

Management, Water Resources, or his 

successor. 

(6)(7) Division "Division" means the North Carolina 

Division of Environmental Management, Water 

Resources, or its successor. 

(8) Falsified data or information "Falsified data or 

information" means data or information that 

that, whether by intent, or reckless disregard for 

accuracy, has been made untrue by alteration, 

fabrication, intentional altered, fabricated, or 

otherwise reported or recorded falsely or 

mischaracterized by omission or substitution, 

or mischaracterization. such that the value or 

information reported is incorrect, incomplete, 

or inaccurate. The agency need not prove intent 

to defraud to prove data is falsified. 

(9) Inaccurate data or other information means data 

or information that is in any way incorrect or 

mistaken. 

(10)(9) Industrial Laboratory "Industrial Laboratory" 

means a laboratory, including its employees 

and agents, operated by an industry industrial 

facility to analyze samples from its wastewater 

treatment plants for toxicity measurements or 

resultant impacts to receiving waters. waters or 

to conduct aquatic population surveys. 

(11) Parameters are subgroups of categories. 

Parameters are unique and separate if they are 

in separate categories or are performed using 

different species of test organisms. For the 

category, Aquatic Population Survey, separate 

parameters are to be considered fish, 

macroinvertebrates, algae, aquatic 

macrophytes, and zooplankton. 

(7)(10) Evaluation samples are samples submitted 

"Proficiency Testing sample" means a 

performance evaluation sample provided by the 

State Laboratory or a State Laboratory 

approved vendor to the a commercial, 

municipal, industrial, or public laboratory as an 

unknown toxicant for measurement of toxicity 

toxicity, as an unknown analyte for 

measurement by laboratory equipment or wet 

chemistry methods, or as an unknown set of 

preserved organisms for identification to 

specified levels of taxonomic classification. 

(12)(11) Public Laboratory "Public Laboratory" means a 

laboratory, including its employees and agents, 

operated by a municipality, county, water and 

sewer authority, sanitary district, metropolitan 

sewerage district, or state or federal installation 

or any other governmental unit to analyze 

samples from its wastewater treatment plant(s) 

for toxicity measurements or resultant impacts 

to receiving waters. 

(13) Recertification is reaffirmation of certification. 

(14)(12) Split samples are samples from either a "Split 

samples" for surface water effluent discharge, 

surface water, or aquatic biological population 

survey which are segregated at the point of 

sampling or in the case of field survey, 

collected independently and then 

phytoplankton means two or more 

representative portions taken from a single 

sampling device. For aquatic macrophytes or 

macroinvertebrates, split sample means a single 

sample that is analyzed separately by both the 

State Laboratory and by the commercial, public 

public, or industrial laboratory. 

(15)(13) State laboratory "State laboratory" means the 

Environmental Water Sciences Branch Section 

of the Water Quality Section of the North 

Carolina Division of Environmental 

Management Water Resources, or its successor. 

(16)(14) Toxicant - Any " Toxicant" means any specific 

chemical or compound chemical, compound, or 

mixture of chemicals or compounds regulated 

within by an NPDES permit and/or or defined 

as a toxic substance in Rule .0202 of 

Subchapter 2B. 15A NCAC 02B .0202. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66. 
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15A NCAC 02H .1104 FEES ASSOCIATED WITH 

CERTIFICATION PROGRAM 

(a)  Certification Fees: 

(1) Certification Fees shall be a minimum of five 

hundred dollars per year ($500.00). The first 

category will shall be certified at a cost of five 

hundred dollars ($500.00). ($500.00) per year. 

Additional categories will shall be certified at a 

cost of four hundred dollars ($400.00) per year 

per category. The addition of parameters not 

included in the original certification will shall 

be certified at a cost of one hundred dollars 

($100.00) per year per parameter. 

(2) Certification fees are due upon application and 

no later than 45 days prior to the requested 

certification date. 

(b)  Renewal or Recertification Fees: 

(1) The certified laboratory will shall pay the state 

a four hundred dollar ($400.00) per year 

renewal fee for each category of certification or 

the minimum fee of five hundred dollars 

($500.00) per year if only one category is 

certified. Renewal certification fees are due by 

November 1 annually. 

(2) Recertification fees shall be four hundred 

dollars ($400.00) per category recertified. 

(3)(2) Out-of-state laboratories shall reimburse the 

state for actual travel and subsistence costs 

incurred in certification, recertification 

recertification, and maintenance of 

certification. The certification process requires 

visual inspection to verify that laboratories 

meet the requirements established by the rules 

of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1105 CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Certification is affirmation by the Director or his delegate that 

the requirements specified by these rules have been met for 

specific categories and parameters and that all fees associated 

with certification have been received. 

(b)(a)  Commercial, public and industrial laboratories must shall 

obtain certification from the Division of Environmental 

Management Water Resources only for biological parameters 

which will be that are required to be reported pursuant to comply 

with the rules and requirements as stated in an administrative 

letter, permit condition, permit limit, special order by consent, 

judicial order, or the biological monitoring requirements 

established by the Division. 

(c)(b)  For the purposes of certification and setting fees, 

parameters are shall be grouped in the following five categories: 

(1) Acute Toxicity Testing/Invertebrate; 

(2) Acute Toxicity Testing/Vertebrate; 

(3) Chronic Toxicity Testing/Invertebrate; 

(4) Chronic Toxicity Testing/Vertebrate; 

(5) Agal Algal and Aquatic Plant Toxicity Testing; 

and 

(6) Aquatic Population Survey and Analysis. 

(d)(c)  All certifications are shall be designated for the period of 

one year after initial certification. 

(e)  Protocol Documents considered as standard methodology and 

facilities and equipment requirements considered as minimum 

acceptable resources will be listed in the Certification 

Criteria/Procedures Document. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(1)(10); 143-215.66. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1106 DECERTIFICATION 

(a)  A laboratory certification may be revoked for all categories 

for: The Director or the Director's designee shall consider 

revoking a laboratory certification for a parameter for: 

(1) Failing failing to maintain the facilities, 

records, personnel, equipment equipment, or 

quality assurance program as set forth in the 

application or as required by these Rules; or 

(2) Submitting submitting inaccurate or falsified 

data reports or other information; or 

(3) Failing failing to pay required fees by the date 

due. 

(b)  A laboratory certification may be revoked for a category for 

failure to: 

(1) Obtain obtain acceptable results on two 

consecutive evaluation sample submittals 

proficiency testing samples. from the Division. 

Acceptable results on performance evaluation 

proficiency testing samples are those that vary 

by less than two standard deviations of the 

value established by the Division. fall within 

the specified acceptable range as indicated by 

the State Laboratory or State Laboratory 

approved vendor. The state laboratory State 

Laboratory may apply specific variance or 

statistical limits or performance criteria on 

performance evaluation samples or split 

samples for a particular testing procedure, 

including control population effects and 

taxonomic identification, as published in the 

Certification Criteria/Procedures Document; or 

these Rules; 

(2) Obtain obtain acceptable results as set out in 

Paragraph (1) Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule 

on two consecutive split samples that have also 

been analyzed by the Division; or 

(3) Submit submit a split sample to the Division as 

requested; or 

(4) Use use approved testing techniques; or 

(5) Report to the state laboratory report equipment 

changes that would affect it's the laboratory's 

ability to perform a test category to the State 

Laboratory within 30 days of such change; or 

(6) Report to the state laboratory report analysis of 

performance evaluation proficiency testing 

samples submitted by the Division to the State 

Laboratory within required time of completion; 

or 
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(7) Maintain maintain records and perform quality 

controls as set forth by these Rules and the 

Division for a particular category; or Rules; 

(8) Maintain maintain equipment required for any 

certified parameter; or 

(9) Implement implement and maintain Quality 

Control Programs approved in conjunction with 

certification; or 

(10) Maintain maintain a qualified staff. staff, as 

specified in Rule .1110 of this Section. 

(c)  Decertification Requirements: 

(1) A laboratory is not to shall not analyze samples 

for parameters in decertified categories for 

programs described in Rule .1102 governed by 

rules of this Section. 

(2) A decertified commercial laboratory must shall 

notify any clients affected by the laboratory's 

decertification of such and supply the state 

laboratory State Laboratory with a list of those 

clients affected and a written certification that 

those clients have been notified. Should If the 

decertified laboratory arrange arranges for a 

certified laboratory to perform analyses during 

the period of decertification, the decertified 

laboratory must shall supply the Division with 

the name of the replacement laboratory and the 

client(s) clients involved. The name of the 

certified laboratory's name which laboratory 

that performs analyses must shall appear on all 

data submitted to the Division. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1107 RECERTIFICATION 

(a)  A laboratory decertified for any reason, reason other than the 

submittal of falsified data reports or other information, may 

information shall be recertified after 30 days, days upon 

satisfactory demonstration demonstrating to the state laboratory 

State Laboratory that all deficiencies have been corrected. 

(b)  In the case of a laboratory decertified for submitting falsified 

data reports or other information, recertification shall not occur 

until at least prior to 12 months after the decertification and then 

only at such time as the laboratory has satisfactorily demonstrated 

to the Director Director, or their delegate, that the standards for 

initial certification have been met. 

(c)  Should decertification occur due to either failure of 

performance samples or split samples, If a laboratory that was 

decertified due to either failure of proficiency testing samples or 

split samples seeks recertification, the laboratory shall submit a 

written request must be made to the state laboratory to the State 

Laboratory requesting evaluations similar to for the parameters 

for which the laboratory was decertified. Two consecutive 

samples must shall be successfully evaluated to achieve 

recertification. The first of these samples for recertification will 

shall be submitted or arranged by the Division no later than 30 

days after receipt of the written request. The second will shall be 

submitted or arranged no later than 30 days after the first. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66. 

15A NCAC 02H .1108 RECIPROCITY 

(a)  Laboratories certified by other states or federal programs may 

shall be given reciprocal certification where if such programs 

meet the requirements of these Rules. In requesting certification 

through reciprocity, laboratories shall include with the application 

a copy of their certification and the rules of the original certifying 

agency. 

(b)  Laboratories certified on the basis of program equivalency 

shall pay all fees specified by these Rules. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1109 ADMINISTRATION 

The Director of the Division of Environmental Management, 

Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources, or 

his delegate, is delegated authority to issue certification, to reject 

applications for certification, to renew certification, to issue 

recertification, to issue decertification, and to issue reciprocity 

certification. 

(a)  Appeals. If the Director or their delegate denies certification, 

or decertifies a laboratory, the laboratory may appeal to the N.C. 

Office of Administrative Hearings in accordance with G.S. 150B. 

(b)  The State Laboratory shall maintain a current list of certified 

commercial, industrial, or public laboratories. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1110 IMPLEMENTATION 

(a)  Each laboratory requesting state certification or certification, 

certification renewal renewal, or recertification shall submit an 

application in duplicate to the Division. Each application will 

shall be reviewed to determine the adequacy of personnel, 

equipment, records, quality control procedures procedures, and 

methodology. After receiving a completed application and prior 

to issuing certification, a representative of the Division may visit 

shall inspect each laboratory to verify the information in the 

application and the adequacy of the laboratory. laboratory 

pursuant to these Rules. 

(b)  Analytical methods, sample preservation, sample containers 

containers, and sample holding times shall conform to the 

methodologies specified in the Certification/Criteria Procedures 

Document. Deviations from these methods are acceptable only 

upon prior written approval from the state laboratory. in: 

(1) 40 CFR Part 136, hereby incorporated by 

reference and including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies of the Code 

of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 136, may 

be obtained from the Superintendent of 

Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office 

(GPO), Superintendent of Public Documents, 

Washington, D.C. 20402 and free of charge on 

the Internet at http://www.ecfr.gov; and 

(2) Rule .1111 of this Section. 

(c)  The State Laboratory may develop Approved Procedures for 

Biological Procedures based upon the methods contained in 40 

CFR Part 136 and Rule .1111 of this Section. The State 

Laboratory Approved Procedures for Biological Procedures 

document shall be available for inspection at the State Laboratory, 

4401 Reedy Creek Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27607 or may 
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be obtained free of charge on the State Laboratory Certification 

website at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-resources-data/water-sciences-home-

page/aquatic-toxicology-branch. 

(d)  The Director, or assigned delegate, may approve other 

analytical procedures, parameters, or parameter methods that have 

been demonstrated to produce verifiable and repeatable results 

and that have a widespread acceptance in the scientific 

community. 

(e)  In order to maintain certification, each laboratory will shall 

demonstrate satisfactory performance on evaluation proficiency 

testing samples submitted by to the Division. These will be 

Demonstration of satisfactory performance by certified 

laboratories shall be required no more than three times annually 

of certified laboratories for each parameter certified. 

(f)  In order to receive and maintain certification certification, the 

following minimum criteria must shall be met: 

(1) The supervisor of an aquatic toxicology or 

biological survey laboratory must shall have a 

minimum of a B.S. Bachelor's degree from an 

accredited college or university in a biological 

science or closely related closely-related 

science curriculum and at least three years of 

cumulative laboratory experience in aquatic 

toxicity testing or aquatic biological survey, 

population surveying, as appropriate, or a M.S. 

Master's degree in a biological or closely 

related closely-related science and at least one 

year of cumulative laboratory experience in 

aquatic toxicity testing or aquatic biological 

survey, population surveying, as appropriate. 

(2) All laboratory supervisors are shall be subject 

to review by the Division. One person may shall 

not serve as supervisor of no more than two 

laboratories. The supervisor is to shall provide 

direct supervision and evaluation of all 

technical personnel and is shall be responsible 

for the proper performance and reporting of all 

analyses. Upon absence, the supervisor shall 

arrange for a suitable substitute who meets the 

requirements of Subparagraph (f)(1) of this 

Rule and is capable of insuring the proper 

performance of all laboratory procedures. 

Existing laboratory supervisors who do not 

meet the minimum requirements may shall be 

accepted after review by the Division if they 

meet all other certification requirements and 

previous performance is deemed adequate. 

(3) All applications and fees are shall be due 45 

days prior to the requested certification date. 

pursuant to Rule .1104 of this Section. Upon the 

State establishing compliance with the 

requirements of this Section, certification shall 

be issued within 45 days of receipt of the fees 

for certification. Problems identified with the 

applying laboratory and resolution of these 

problems may extend the requested 45 day 

period from application to certification. 

(4) Each laboratory shall develop and maintain a 

document outlining quality control procedures 

for testing of all parameters in their certification 

and dissolved oxygen, temperature, 

conductivity, and pH. All aquatic toxicology 

laboratories must shall also develop and 

maintain a document outlining quality control 

procedures for testing of total hardness and total 

residual chlorine. These documents are to shall 

be included with submittal of the application. 

(5) Each laboratory certified for the category of 

Aquatic Population Survey and Analysis shall 

develop and maintain a document outlining 

quality control procedures for taxonomic 

identifications and life-stage determinations. 

(6) Supporting records shall be maintained for five 

years as evidence that these practices are being 

effectively carried out and shall be available to 

the state laboratory State Laboratory upon 

request. 

(7) The quality control program is to shall be 

approved in conjunction with certification by 

the Director. Director or their delegate. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1111 BIOLOGICAL LABORATORY 

CERT/CRITERIA PROCEDURES DOCUMENT 

BIOLOGICAL LABORATORY CERTIFICATION AND 

QUALITY ASSURANCE 

The Biological Laboratory Certification/Criteria Procedures 

Document describes specific scientific reporting units, forms, test 

methods and procedures pertaining to certification. 

The manual, and any addition thereto, shall be approved by the 

director before it is released to the public. The manual shall be 

mailed to all certified biological laboratories and to any persons 

on the mailing list. To be placed on the mailing list, a letter must 

be sent to the director. 

If the manual is revised at any time, all changes shall be sent to 

the certified biological laboratories and those persons on the 

mailing list. 

(a)  To be considered for certification and to maintain 

certification, Aquatic Toxicology Laboratories shall have the 

following laboratory resources: 

(1) 200 square feet of laboratory space; 

(2) 20 linear feet of laboratory bench space; 

(3) one drained sink with hot and cold running 

water; 

(4) adequate control of culture environment 

including lighting, cooling, and heating to 

maintain appropriate organism requirements; 

(5) one refrigerator of adequate size which will 

maintain sample temperatures between 0.0 

degrees Celsius and 6.0 degrees Celsius; 

(6) current copies of the approved methods and 

procedures for which the laboratory is 

requesting certification; 
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(7) glassware, chemicals, supplies, and equipment 

to perform any procedures included in the 

requested certification; 

(8) instrumentation capable of measuring dissolved 

oxygen, pH, temperature, conductivity, and 

salinity (for saltwater tests) directly from test 

vessels of any procedure included in 

certification application. Equivalent surrogate 

vessels may be utilized for physical 

measurements if injury to test organisms may 

result; 

(9) instrumentation or analytical capabilities to 

perform measurements of total residual 

chlorine to a level at least as low as 0.1 mg/l and 

total hardness to a level at least as low as 1 mg/l; 

(10) a dissecting microscope and a compound 

microscope for those laboratories requesting or 

maintaining either of the categories of Acute 

Toxicity Testing/Invertebrate or Chronic 

Toxicity Testing/Invertebrate. The compound 

microscope shall have a minimum 

magnification of 400x and a maximum 

magnification of greater than or equal to 

1,000x; 

(11) a balance capable of accurately weighting 

0.0001g and Class "S" or equivalent reference 

weights. A balance capable of accurately 

weighing fish larvae to 0.00001g for those 

laboratories requesting or maintaining 

certification for the category Chronic Toxicity 

Testing/Vertebrate. 

(12) Cladocerans need to be cultured in house. All 

other organisms can be purchased from a 

supplier. 

(13) appropriate dilution water for use in whole 

effluent toxicity testing with chemical 

characteristics such that the pH is between 6.5 

S.U. and 8.5 S.U. and total hardness as calcium 

carbonate is between 30 ppm and 50 ppm for 

surface water and 80 ppm and 100 ppm for 

synthetic lab water. If receiving waters have 

characteristics outside of these stated pH and 

hardness ranges, then alternate pH and hardness 

ranges shall be accepted upon demonstration to 

the State Laboratory that the alternate ranges 

are better suited to testing objectives, and that 

quality assurance standards have been met; and 

(14) chain-of-custody documentation forms. 

(b)  To be considered for certification and to maintain 

certification, Aquatic Population Survey and Analysis 

Laboratories shall have the following laboratory resources: 

(1) 150 square feet of laboratory space; 

(2) 8 linear feet of laboratory bench space; 

(3) binocular dissecting microscopes and 

compound microscopes suitable for survey 

type; 

(4) vials, preservatives, and space to maintain 

representative sample collections for at least 

one year after collection; 

(5) current taxonomic guides and reference 

materials to support identification; 

(6) chain-of-custody documentation forms, 

laboratory records, and seals; 

(7) sampling equipment to support collection of 

appropriate biological organisms; and 

(8) settling tubes and one inverted microscope with 

a minimum magnification of 300x for those 

laboratories requesting or maintaining 

certification for the parameter algae. 

(c)  To be considered for certification and to maintain 

certification, laboratories shall adhere to the following quality 

assurance requirements: 

(1) instruments used in or associated with toxicity 

testing, including automatic sampling 

equipment, pH meter, dissolved oxygen meter, 

and conductivity meter, shall be calibrated each 

day before the instrument is used. Calibrations 

performed shall be recorded in a designated 

notebook; 

(2) a minimum of 5 valid reference toxicant tests 

shall be performed and entered on a control 

chart for each toxicity test organism and 

toxicity test type for which a lab is certified. A 

maximum of 20 data points shall be entered on 

a control chart; 

(3) a reference toxicant test shall be performed: 

(A) every two weeks for each organism 

used in acute whole effluent toxicity 

testing; or such that North Carolina 

National Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (NPDES) acute 

tests are performed within one week of 

an acute reference toxicant test for the 

organism in question. To maintain 

acute certification for an organism, 

acute reference toxicant tests shall be 

performed at least quarterly; and 

(B) once per month for each organism 

used in chronic whole effluent toxicity 

testing; or 

such that North Carolina NPDES 

chronic tests are performed within two 

weeks of a chronic reference toxicant 

test for the organism in question. To 

maintain chronic certification for an 

organism, chronic reference toxicant 

tests shall be performed at least 

quarterly. 

(4) a reference test shall be performed with each 

batch of organisms received from an outside 

supplier; 

(5) the endpoint for chronic reference toxicant tests 

shall be the IC25 as determined by the linear 

interpolation method described in EPA-821-R-

02-013 and EPA-821-R-02-014, herein 

incorporated by reference, including any 

subsequent amendments or editions. These 

methods are available at: 
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https://www.epa.gov/cwa-methods/whole-

effluent-toxicity-methods 

(6) acceptable alternative culture media utilized to 

culture the algae Selenastrum capricornutum 

for use as Ceriodaphnia food are as follows: 

(A) the MBL medium as described in the 

Handbook of Phycological Methods 

Handbook of Phycological Methods: 

Culture Methods and Growth 

Measurements. 1973. J. Stein, ed. 

University Press, Cambridge, MA, 

herein incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and 

editions; and 

(B) additional nutrients for the preparation 

of algae medium described in Section 

13.6.15 of EPA-821-R-02-013 and 

Appendix A1, Section 3.10.3 of EPA-

821-R-02-012, herein incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent 

amendments and editions. The volume 

of nutrient stock solutions found in 

Table 1 on Page 147 of EPA-821-R-

02-013 or Page 133 of EPA-821-R-02-

012 may be adjusted so that solutions 

1.A, 1.D, and 2 are added at a rate of 2 

ml/l, and solutions 1.B and 1.C are 

added at a rate of 6 ml/l. 

(7) a representative of each test organism cultured, 

including those obtained from an outside 

supplier, shall be taxonomically identified to 

the species level at least annually. Specimens 

shall be preserved and held for one additional 

year; 

(8) when closed incubators are used for toxicity 

testing or test organism culturing purposes, 

culturing and testing activities shall not be 

contained within the same incubator; 

(9) effluent samples collected for chronic 

Ceriodaphnia dubia tests shall be used within 

36 hours of collection and not more than 72 

hours after first use of the sample for test 

renewal. The beginning of this period is defined 

as the time of the collection of a grab sample or 

the time of collection of the last subsample of a 

composite sample to the time that the organisms 

are introduced to the test solution; and 

(10) a record shall be maintained for all samples 

entering the laboratory that documents the 

sample identity and includes the following 

information: 

(A) sample number; 

(B) sample temperature at receipt; 

(C) time and date of sample collection and 

receipt; 

(D) name of person from which sample 

was received; and 

(E) name of person who received the 

sample. 

(d)  The following procedure modifications have been approved 

by the EPA and shall be followed by certified laboratories: 

(1) acute and chronic toxicity tests shall be 

conducted at 25.0 degrees Celsius plus or minus 

1.0 degree Celsius, except that chronic tests for 

Mysidopsis bahia shall be conducted at 26.0 

degrees Celsius plus or minus 1.0 degree 

Celsius. Certified laboratories may request 

variances for species which require alternate 

temperatures in accordance with EPA 

procedures; 

(2) organisms used in acute toxicity tests shall have 

food made available for a minimum of two 

hours prior to initiation of testing; 

(3) for cladoceran species, the feeding amount 

prior to the acute test shall be at least 0.05 ml of 

YCT and 0.05 ml of a solution of the algae 

Selenastrum capricornutum with a cell 

concentration of 1.71 X 107 cells/ ml per 15 ml 

of culture solution; 

(4) for each sample used in a toxicity test, the 

following parameters shall be measured and 

recorded from an undiluted aliquot on the day 

the sample is first used: 

(A) pH; 

(B) specific conductance; and 

(C) total residual chlorine; 

(5) for each sample used in a toxicity test, the 

following parameters shall be measured in the 

control and the highest toxicant concentration 

tested at the beginning of the test, prior to 

renewal, following each renewal, and at the 

termination of the test: 

(A) temperature; 

(B) dissolved oxygen; and 

(C) pH;  

(6) Ceriodaphnia dubia used in toxicity tests shall 

meet the following requirements: 

(A) be obtained from individual cultures; 

(B) be obtained from third or subsequent 

broods of adults not being more than 

14 days in age and containing eight or 

more neonates with an average adult 

mortality not exceeding 20 percent per 

culture board; 

(C) chronic Ceriodaphnia dubia analyses 

shall have an additional test 

acceptability criterion of complete 

third brood neonate production by at 

least 80 percent of the surviving 

control organisms; 

(D) Ceriodaphnia dubia neonate 

reproduction totals from chronic tests 

shall include only organisms produced 

in the first through third broods; 

(E) the percentage of male Ceriodaphnia 

dubia control organisms shall not 

exceed 20 percent in chronic 

Ceriodaphnia dubia tests; and 
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(F) the Ceriodaphnia dubia control 

organism reproduction coefficient of 

variation (CV) shall be less than 40 

percent for a chronic Ceriodaphnia 

dubia test; 

(7) "Observed-effect" in a chronic Ceriodaphnia 

dubia test shall be defined as: 

(A) statistical significant decrease in 

survival of the treatment organism as 

compared to the control organisms; or 

(B) 20 percent or greater decrease in 

treatment organisms as compared to 

the control organism reproduction 

which is also determined to be 

statistically different from the control 

organism reproduction; 

(8) acute tests shall be terminated within one hour 

of their stated length; 

(9) the North Carolina Pass/Fail chronic tests and 

Phase II Ceriodaphnia dubia chronic tests shall 

meet the following requirements: 

(A) follow a schedule where the test is 

started on day 0, renewed on day 2 and 

5, and terminated no later than 7 days 

and 2 hours after the initiation of the 

test; 

(B) follow a schedule where each daily 

feeding shall consist of addition of 

0.05 ml of yeast-Cerophyll® -trout 

chow (YCT) food and 0.05 ml of a 

solution of the algae Selenastrum 

capricornutum with a cell 

concentration of 1.71 X 10 7 cells/ml 

per 15 ml of test solution; and 

(C) the percent reduction for chronic 

Ceriodaphnia dubia analysis for each 

treatment shall be calculated by 

subtracting the mean number of 

neonates produced by the treatment 

organisms from the mean number of 

neonates produced by the control 

organisms, dividing that number by 

the mean number of neonates 

produced by the control organisms, 

and multiplying by 100 percent; 

(10) the North Carolina Pass/Fail Ceriodaphnia 

dubia chronic test shall be performed as two 

treatments exposing 12 test organisms to each 

treatment. The first treatment shall be 

considered the control population and shall be 

exposed at 0 percent effluent and 100 percent 

dilution water; 

(11) the North Carolina Pass/Fail acute test shall be 

performed as two treatments with the control 

population specified as Treatment 1, and the 

effluent treatment specified as Treatment 2. 

Each treatment shall be tested using four 

identical test vessels. Each treatment shall 

contain 10 test organisms, for a total of 80 test 

organisms; and 

(12) there shall be no removal of chlorine or any 

other effluent constituent by either chemical or 

physical methods prior to testing. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); 143-215.66. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Environmental Management Commission 

intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A 

NCAC 02L .0403-.0409, .0502 and readopt without substantive 

changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02L .0401, .0402, .0410-

.0415, .0501 and .0503-.0515. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of rules to be readopted 

without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The 

text of the rules is available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-main 

 

Proposed Effective Date: May 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: January 8, 2019 

Time: 6:00 p.m. 

Location: Green Square Building, Room 1210, 217 West Jones 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  These rule changes are necessary 

to correct grammatical errors, clarify ambiguous language, 

conform to changes made to General Statute (G.S.) 143-215.94, 

replace current temporary rules required by SL 2017-57 Section 

13.19 as required to implement SL 2015-241 Section 14.16B, and 

as part of the readoption of the 15A NCAC 02L rules as required 

by G.S. 150B-21.3A (Periodic Review of Existing Rules). 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jeremy Poplawski, 

NCDEQ/DWM/UST Section, 1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 

NC 27699-1646, phone (919) 707-8151, fax (919) 715-1117, 

email Jeremy.Poplawski@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends: February 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
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on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02L - GROUNDWATER 

CLASSIFICATION AND STANDARDS 

 

SECTION .0400 - RISK-BASED ASSESSMENT AND 

CORRECTIVE ACTION FOR PETROLEUM 

UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANKS  

 

15A NCAC 02L .0401 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0402 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0403 RULE APPLICATION 

This Section applies shall apply to any discharge or release from 

a "commercial underground storage tank" or a "noncommercial 

underground storage tank," as those terms are defined in G.S. 143-

215.94A, which that is reported on or after the effective date of 

this Section. This Section shall apply to any discharge or release 

from a "commercial underground storage tank" or a 

"noncommercial underground storage tank," as those terms are 

defined in G.S. 143-215.94A which is reported before the 

effective date of this Section as provided in 15A NCAC 02L .0416 

of this Section. The requirements of this Section shall apply to the 

owner and operator of the underground storage tank from which 

the discharge or release occurred, a landowner seeking 

reimbursement from the Commercial Leaking Underground 

Storage Tank Fund or the Noncommercial Leaking Underground 

Storage Tank Fund under G.S. 143-215.94E, and any other person 

responsible for the assessment or cleanup of a discharge or release 

from an underground storage tank, including any person who has 

conducted or controlled an activity which that results in the 

discharge or release of petroleum or petroleum products as 

defined in G.S. 143-215.94A(10) to the groundwaters of the State, 

State or in proximity thereto; these persons shall be collectively 

referred to for purposes of this Section as the "responsible party." 

This Section shall be applied in a manner consistent with the rules 

found in 15A NCAC 2N 02N in order to assure that the State's 

requirements regarding assessment and cleanup from 

underground storage tanks are no less stringent than Federal 

requirements. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.94A; 143-

215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-282; 1995 (Reg. 

Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0404 REQUIRED INITIAL 

ABATEMENT ACTIONS BY RESPONSIBLE PARTY 

(a)  A responsible party for a commercial underground storage 

tank shall: 

(1) take immediate action to prevent any all further 

discharge or release of petroleum from the 

underground storage tank; identify and mitigate 

any all fire, explosion or explosion, and vapor 

hazard; hazards; remove any free product; and 

comply with the requirements of Rules 15A 

NCAC 02N .0601 through .0604 and .0604, 

.0701 through .0703 .0703, and .0705 of 

Subchapter 02N; within 24 hours of discovery; 

(2) incorporate the requirements of 15A NCAC 

02N .0704 into the submittal required under 

Item (3) of this Paragraph or the limited site 

assessment report required under 15A NCAC 

02L Rule .0405 of this Section, whichever is 

applicable. Such The submittals shall constitute 

compliance with the reporting requirements of 

15A NCAC 02N .0704(b); 

(3) submit within 90 days of the discovery of the 

discharge or release a soil contamination report 

containing information sufficient to show that 

remaining unsaturated soil in the side walls and 

at the base of the excavation does not contain 

contaminant levels which that exceed either the 

"soil-to-groundwater" or the residential 

maximum soil contaminant concentrations 

established by the Department pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02L Rule .0411 of this Section, 

whichever is lower. If such the showing is 

made, the discharge or release shall be 

classified as low risk by the Department; 

Department as defined in Rules .0406 and .0407 

of this Section. 

(b)  A responsible party for a noncommercial underground storage 

tank shall: 

(1) take necessary actions to protect public health, 

safety, and welfare and the environment, 

including actions to prevent all further 

discharge or release of petroleum from the 

noncommercial underground storage tank; to 

identify and mitigate all fire, explosion, and 

vapor hazards; and to report the release within 

24 hours of discovery, in compliance with G.S. 

143-215.83(a), G.S. 143-215.84(a), G.S. 143-

215.85(b), and G.S. 143-215.94E; and 

(2) provide or otherwise make available any 

information required by the Department to 

determine the site risk as described in Rules 

.0405, .0406, and .0407 of this Section. 
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(c)  The Department shall notify the responsible party for a 

noncommercial underground storage tank that no cleanup, no 

further cleanup, or no further action shall be required without 

requiring additional soil remediation pursuant to Rule .0408 of 

this Section if the site is determined by the Department to be low 

risk. This classification shall be based on information provided to 

the Department that: 

(1) describes the source and type of the petroleum 

release, site-specific risk factors, and risk 

factors present in the surrounding area as 

defined in Rules .0406 and .0407 of this 

Section; 

(2) demonstrates that no remaining risk factors are 

present that are likely to be affected per G.S. 

143-215.94V(b); or 

(3) documents that soils remaining onsite do not 

contain contaminant levels that exceed either 

the "soil-to-groundwater" or the residential 

maximum soil contaminant concentrations 

established by the Department pursuant to Rule 

.0411 of this Section, whichever is lower. 

The Department shall reclassify the site as high risk, as defined in 

Rule .0406(1) of this Section, upon receipt of new information 

related to site conditions indicating that the discharge or release 

from a noncommercial underground storage tank poses an 

unacceptable risk or a potentially unacceptable risk to human 

health or the environment, as described in Rule .0407 of this 

Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.94A; 143-

215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-282; 1995 (Reg. 

Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0405 REQUIREMENTS FOR LIMITED 

SITE ASSESSMENT 

If the required showing for a commercial underground storage 

tank cannot be made or if the Department determines that a release 

from a noncommercial underground storage tank represents an 

unacceptable risk under 15A NCAC 02L Rule .0404 of this 

Section, the responsible party shall submit within 120 days of the 

discovery of the discharge or release, or within such other greater 

time limit approved by the Department, a report containing 

information needed by the Department to classify the level of risk 

to human health and the environment posed by a discharge or 

release under 15A NCAC 02L Rule .0406 of this Section. When 

considering a request from a responsible party for additional time 

to submit the report, the Department shall consider the extent to 

which the request for additional time is due to factors outside of 

the control of the responsible party, the previous history of the 

person submitting the report in complying with deadlines 

established under the Commission's rules, the technical 

complications associated with assessing the extent of 

contamination at the site or identifying potential receptors, and the 

necessity for action to eliminate an imminent threat to public 

health or the environment. Such The report shall include, at a 

minimum: include: 

(1) a location map, based on a USGS topographic 

map, showing the radius of 1500 feet from the 

source area of a confirmed release or discharge 

and depicting all water supply wells and, wells, 

surface waters waters, and designated wellhead 

protection areas as defined in 42 U.S.C. 300h-

7(e) within the 1500-foot radius. 42 U.S.C. 

300h-7(e), is incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies may be obtained at no cost from the U.S. 

Government Bookstore's website at 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-

2010-title42/html/USCODE-2010-title42-

chap6A-subchapXII-partC-sec300h-7.htm. 

The material is available for inspection at the 

Department of Environmental Quality, UST 

Section, 217 West Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 

27603. For purposes of this Section, source area 

means the point of release or discharge from the 

underground storage tank system; 

(2) a determination of whether the source area of 

the discharge or release is within a designated 

wellhead protection area as defined in 42 

U.S.C. 300h-7(e); 

(3) if the discharge or release is in the Coastal Plain 

physiographic region as designated on a map 

entitled "Geology of North Carolina" published 

by the Department in 1985, a determination of 

whether the source area of the discharge or 

release is located in an area in which there is 

recharge to an unconfined or semi-confined 

deeper aquifer which that is being used or may 

be used as a source of drinking water; 

(4) a determination of whether vapors from the 

discharge or release pose a threat of explosion 

due to the accumulation of vapors in a confined 

space or pose any other serious threat to public 

health, public safety safety, or the environment; 

(5) scaled site map(s) maps showing the location of 

the following which that are on or adjacent to 

the property where the source is located: site 

boundaries, roads, buildings, basements, floor 

and storm drains, subsurface utilities, septic 

tanks and leach fields, underground storage 

tank systems, monitoring wells, borings and the 

sampling points; 

(a) site boundaries; 

(b) roads; 

(c) buildings; 

(d) basements; 

(e) floor and storm drains; 

(f) subsurface utilities; 

(g) septic tanks and leach fields; 

(h) underground and aboveground storage 

tank systems; 

(i) monitoring wells; 

(j) water supply wells; 

(k) surface water bodies and other 

drainage features; 

(l) borings; and 

(k) the sampling points; 
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(6) the results from a limited site assessment which 

that shall include: 

(a) the analytical results from soil samples 

collected during the construction of a 

monitoring well installed in the source 

area of each confirmed discharge or 

release from a noncommercial or 

commercial underground storage tank 

and either the analytical results of a 

groundwater sample collected from 

the well or, if free product is present in 

the well, the amount of free product in 

the well. The soil samples shall be 

collected every five feet in the 

unsaturated zone unless a water table 

is encountered at or greater than a 

depth of 25 feet from land surface in 

which case soil samples shall be 

collected every 10 feet in the 

unsaturated zone. The soil samples 

shall be collected from suspected 

worst-case locations exhibiting visible 

contamination or elevated levels of 

volatile organic compounds in the 

borehole; 

(b) if any constituent in the groundwater 

sample from the source area 

monitoring well installed in 

accordance with Sub-item (a) of this 

Item, for a site meeting the high risk 

classification in 15A NCAC 02L 

.0406(1), Rule .0406(1) of this 

Section, exceeds the standards or 

interim standards established in 15A 

NCAC 02L Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter by a factor of 10 and is a 

discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank, 

the analytical results from a 

groundwater sample collected from 

each of three additional monitoring 

wells or, if free product is present in 

any of the wells, the amount of free 

product in such well. The three 

additional monitoring wells shall be 

installed as follows: as best as can be 

determined, one upgradient of the 

source of contamination and two 

downgradient of the source of 

contamination. The monitoring wells 

installed upgradient and downgradient 

of the source of contamination must 

shall be located such that groundwater 

flow direction can be determined; and 

(c) potentiometric data from all required 

wells; 

(7) the availability of public water supplies and the 

identification of properties served by the public 

water supplies within 1500 feet of the source 

area of a confirmed discharge or release; 

(8) the land use, including zoning if applicable, 

within 1500 feet of the source area of a 

confirmed discharge or release; 

(9) a discussion of site specific site-specific 

conditions or possible actions which that could 

result in lowering the risk classification 

assigned to the release. Such The discussion 

shall be based on information known or 

required to be obtained under this Paragraph; 

and 

(10) names and current addresses of all owners and 

operators of the underground storage tank 

systems for which a discharge or release is 

confirmed, the owner(s) owners of the land 

upon which such systems are located, and all 

potentially affected real property owners. When 

considering a request from a responsible party 

for additional time to submit the report, the 

Division shall consider the extent to which the 

request for additional time is due to factors 

outside of the control of the responsible party, 

the previous history of the person submitting 

the report in complying with deadlines 

established under the Commission's rules, the 

technical complications associated with 

assessing the extent of contamination at the site 

or identifying potential receptors, and the 

necessity for immediate action to eliminate an 

imminent threat to public health or the 

environment. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.94A; 143-

215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-282; 1995 (Reg. 

Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0406 DISCHARGE OR RELEASE 

CLASSIFICATIONS 

The Department shall classify the risk of each known discharge 

or release as high, intermediate intermediate, or low risk unless 

the discharge or release has been classified under 15A NCAC 02L 

.0404(3) Rule .0404(a)(3) or (c) of this Section. For purposes of 

this Section: 

(1) "High risk" means that: 

(a) a water supply well, including one 

used for non-drinking purposes, has 

been contaminated by the a release or 

discharge; 

(b) a water supply well used for drinking 

water is located within 1000 feet of the 

source area of a confirmed discharge 

or release; release from a commercial 

underground storage tank or a 

noncommercial underground storage 

tank storing motor fuel as defined by 

G.S. 143-215.94A(2)a., (7); 

(c) a water supply well not used for 

drinking water is located within 250 
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feet of the source area of a confirmed 

discharge or release; release from a 

commercial underground storage tank 

or a noncommercial underground 

storage tank storing motor fuel as 

defined by G.S. 143-215.94A(2)a., 

(7); 

(d) the groundwater within 500 feet of the 

source area of a confirmed discharge 

or release from a commercial 

underground storage tank or a 

noncommercial underground storage 

tank storing motor fuel as defined by 

G.S. 143-215.94A(2)a., (7) has the 

potential for future use in that there is 

no source of water supply other than 

the groundwater; 

(e) a water supply well, including one 

used for non-drinking purposes, is 

located within 150 feet of the source 

area of a confirmed discharge or 

release from a noncommercial 

underground storage tank storing 

heating oil for consumptive use on the 

premises; 

(e)(f) the vapors from the a discharge or 

release pose a serious threat of 

explosion due to accumulation of the 

vapors in a confined space; or 

(f)(g) the a discharge or release poses an 

imminent danger to public health, 

public safety, or the environment. 

(2) "Intermediate risk" means that: 

(a) surface water is located within 500 

feet of the source area of a confirmed 

discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank 

and the maximum groundwater 

contaminant concentration exceeds 

the applicable surface water quality 

standards and criteria found in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0200 by a factor of 10; 

(b) in the Coastal Plain physiographic 

region as designated on a map entitled 

"Geology of North Carolina" 

published by the Department in 1985, 

the source area of a confirmed 

discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank 

is located in an area in which there is 

recharge to an unconfined or semi-

confined deeper aquifer which that the 

Department determines is being used 

or may be used as a source of drinking 

water; 

(c) the source area of a confirmed 

discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank 

is within a designated wellhead 

protection area, as defined in 42 

U.S.C. 300h-7(e); 

(d) the levels of groundwater 

contamination associated with a 

confirmed discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank 

for any contaminant except ethylene 

dibromide, benzene benzene, and 

alkane and aromatic carbon fraction 

classes exceed 50 percent of the 

solubility of the contaminant at 25 

degrees Celsius or 1,000 times the 

groundwater standard or interim 

standard established in 15A NCAC 

02L .0202, Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter, whichever is lower; or 

(e) the levels of groundwater 

contamination associated with a 

confirmed discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank 

for ethylene dibromide and benzene 

exceed 1,000 times the federal 

drinking water standard set out in 40 

CFR 141. 40 CFR 141 is incorporated 

by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies may 

be obtained at no cost from the U.S. 

Government Bookstore's website at 

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-

2015-title40-vol23/pdf/CFR-2015-

title40-vol23-part141.pdf. The 

material is available for inspection at 

the Department of Environmental 

Quality, UST Section, 217 West Jones 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27603. 

(3) "Low risk" means that: 

(a) the risk posed does not fall within the 

high or intermediate risk categories; 

high risk category for any 

underground storage tank, or within 

the intermediate risk category for a 

commercial underground storage tank; 

or 

(b) based on review of site-specific 

information, limited assessment 

assessment, or interim corrective 

actions, the Department determines 

that the discharge or release poses no 

significant risk to human health or the 

environment. 

If the criteria for more than one risk category applies, the 

discharge or release shall be classified at the highest risk level 

identified in 15A NCAC 02L Rule .0407 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.94A; 143-

215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-282; 1995 (Reg. 

Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1. 
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15A NCAC 02L .0407 RECLASSIFICATION OF RISK 

LEVELS 

(a)  It shall be a continuing obligation that each responsible party 

shall notify the Department of any changes that may affect the 

level of risk assigned to a discharge or release by the Department 

if the change is known or should be known by the responsible 

party, including changes in zoning of real property, use of real 

property, or the use of groundwater that has been contaminated or 

is expected to be contaminated by the discharge or release. The 

Department may shall reclassify the risk posed by a release if 

warranted by further information concerning the potential 

exposure of receptors to the discharge or release or upon receipt 

of new information concerning changed conditions at the site. 

After initial classification of the discharge or release, the 

Department may require limited assessment, interim corrective 

action, or other actions which that the Department believes will 

result in a lower risk classification. It shall be a continuing 

obligation of each responsible party to notify the Department of 

any changes that might affect the level of risk assigned to a 

discharge or release by the Department if the change is known or 

should be known by the responsible party. Such changes shall 

include, but shall not be limited to, changes in zoning of real 

property, use of real property or the use of groundwater that has 

been contaminated or is expected to be contaminated by the 

discharge or release, if such change could cause the Department 

to reclassify the risk. 

(b)  If the risk posed by a discharge or release is determined by 

the Department to be high risk, the responsible party shall comply 

with the assessment and cleanup requirements of Rule .0106(c), 

(g)(g), and (h) of this Subchapter and 15A NCAC 02N .0706 and 

.0707. The goal of any a required corrective action for 

groundwater contamination shall be restoration to the level of the 

groundwater standards set forth in 15A NCAC 02L .0202, Rule 

.0202 of this Subchapter, or as closely thereto as is economically 

and technologically feasible. In any a corrective action plan 

submitted pursuant to this Paragraph, natural attenuation shall be 

used to the maximum extent possible. possible, when the benefits 

of its use shall not increase the risk to the environment and human 

health. If the responsible party demonstrates that natural 

attenuation prevents the further migration of the plume, the 

Department may approve a groundwater monitoring plan. 

(c)  If the risk posed by a discharge or release is determined by the 

Department to be an intermediate risk, the responsible party shall 

comply with the assessment requirements of 15A NCAC 02L 

Rule .0106(c) and (g) of this Subchapter and 15A NCAC 02N 

.0706. As part of the comprehensive site assessment, the 

responsible party shall evaluate, based on site specific site-

specific conditions, whether the release poses a significant risk to 

human health or the environment. If the Department determines, 

based on the site-specific conditions, that the discharge or release 

does not pose a significant threat to human health or the 

environment, the site shall be reclassified as a low risk site. If the 

site is not reclassified, the responsible party shall, at the direction 

of the Department, submit a groundwater monitoring plan or a 

corrective action plan, or a combination thereof, meeting the 

cleanup standards of this Paragraph and containing the 

information required in 15A NCAC 02L Rule .0106(h) of this 

Subchapter and 15A NCAC 02N .0707. Discharges or releases 

which that are classified as intermediate risk shall be remediated, 

at a minimum, to a cleanup level of 50 percent of the solubility of 

the contaminant at 25 degrees Celsius or 1,000 times the 

groundwater standard or interim standard established in 15A 

NCAC 02L .0202, Rule .0202 of this Subchapter, whichever is 

lower lower, for any groundwater contaminant except ethylene 

dibromide, benzene and alkane and aromatic carbon fraction 

classes. Ethylene dibromide and benzene shall be remediated to a 

cleanup level of 1,000 times the federal drinking water standard 

set out in 40 CFR 141. as referenced in 15A NCAC 18C .1518 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions, and available free of charge at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title 15a - environmental 

quality/chapter 18 - environmental health/subchapter c/15a ncac 

18c .1518.pdf. Additionally, if a corrective action plan or 

groundwater monitoring plan is required under this Paragraph, the 

responsible party shall demonstrate that the groundwater cleanup 

levels are sufficient to prevent a violation of: 

(1) the rules contained in 15A NCAC 02B;  

(2) the standards contained in 15A NCAC 02L 

Rule .0202 of this Subchapter in a deep aquifer 

as described in 15A NCAC 02L Rule 

.0406(2)(b) of this Section; and 

(3) the standards contained in 15A NCAC 02L 

Rule .0202 of this Subchapter at a location no 

closer than one year time of travel upgradient of 

a well within a designated wellhead protection 

area, based on travel time and the natural 

attenuation capacity of the subsurface materials 

or on a physical barrier to groundwater 

migration that exists or will be installed by the 

person making the request. 

In any corrective action plan submitted pursuant to this Paragraph, 

natural attenuation shall be used to the maximum extent possible. 

possible, if the benefits of its use will not increase the risk to the 

environment and human health. 

(d)  If the risk posed by a discharge or release is determined by 

the Department to be a low risk, the Department shall notify the 

responsible party that no cleanup, no further cleanup cleanup, or 

no further action will be required by the Department unless the 

Department later determines that the discharge or release poses an 

unacceptable risk or a potentially unacceptable risk to human 

health or the environment. No notification will shall be issued 

pursuant to this Paragraph, however, until the responsible party 

has completed soil remediation pursuant to 15A NCAC 02L .0408 

of this Section except as provided in 15A NCAC 02L .0416 of this 

Section or as closely thereto as economically or technologically 

feasible. has: 

(1) completed soil remediation pursuant to Rule 

.0408 of this Section or as closely thereto as 

economically or technologically feasible; 

(2) submitted proof of public notification, if 

required; and 

(3) recorded all required land-use restrictions. 

The issuance by the Department of a notification under this 

Paragraph shall not affect any private right of action by any party 

which may be affected by the contamination. 
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Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.94A; 143-

215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-282; 1995 (Reg. 

Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0408 ASSESSMENT AND 

REMEDIATION PROCEDURES 

Assessment and remediation of soil contamination shall be 

addressed as follows: 

(1) At the time that the Department determines the 

risk posed by the discharge or release, the 

Department shall also determine, based on site-

specific information, whether the site is 

"residential" or "industrial/commercial." For 

the purposes of this Section, a site is presumed 

residential, but may be classified as 

industrial/commercial if the Department 

determines based on site-specific information 

that exposure to the soil contamination is 

limited in time due to the use of the site and 

does not involve exposure to children. For the 

purposes of this Paragraph, "site" means both 

the property upon which the discharge or 

release has occurred and any property upon 

which soil has been affected by the discharge or 

release. 

(2) The For a discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank, or for a 

discharge or release from a noncommercial 

underground storage tank classified by the 

Department as high risk, the responsible party 

shall submit a report to the Department 

assessing the vertical and horizontal extent of 

soil contamination. contamination in excess of 

the lower of: 

(a) the residential or 

industrial/commercial maximum soil 

contaminant concentration, whichever 

is applicable, that has been established 

by the Department pursuant to Rule 

.0411 of this Section; or 

(b) the "soil-to-groundwater" maximum 

soil contaminant concentration that 

has been established by the 

Department pursuant to Rule .0411 of 

this Section. 

(3) For a discharge or release from a commercial 

underground storage tank classified by the 

Department as low risk, the responsible party 

shall submit a report demonstrating that soil 

contamination has been remediated to either the 

residential or industrial/commercial maximum 

soil contaminant concentration established by 

the Department pursuant to 15A NCAC 02L 

Rule .0411 of this Section, whichever is 

applicable. 

(4) For a discharge or release classified by the 

Department as high or intermediate risk, the 

responsible party shall submit a report 

demonstrating that soil contamination has been 

remediated to the lower of: 

(a) the residential or 

industrial/commercial maximum soil 

contaminant concentration, whichever 

is applicable, that has been established 

by the Department pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02L Rule .0411 of this Section; 

or 

(b) the "soil-to-groundwater" maximum 

soil contaminant concentration that 

has been established by the 

Department pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02L Rule .0411 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.94A; 143-

215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-282; 1995 (Reg. 

Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0409 NOTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A responsible party who submits a corrective action plan 

which that proposes natural attenuation or attenuation, to cleanup 

groundwater contamination to a standard other than a standard or 

interim standard established in 15A NCAC 02L .0202, Rule .0202 

of this Subchapter, or to cleanup soil other than to the standard for 

residential use or soil-to-groundwater contaminant concentration 

established pursuant to this Section, whichever is lowest, shall 

give notice to: the local Health Director and the chief 

administrative officer of each political jurisdiction in which the 

contamination occurs; all property owners and occupants within 

or contiguous to the area containing the contamination; and all 

property owners and occupants within or contiguous to the area 

where the contamination is expected to migrate. 

(1) the local Health Director and the chief 

administrative officer of each political 

jurisdiction in which the contamination occurs; 

(2) all property owners and occupants within or 

contiguous to the area containing the 

contamination; and 

(3) all property owners and occupants within or 

contiguous to the area where the contamination 

is expected to migrate. 

Such The notice shall describe the nature of the plan and the 

reasons supporting it. Notification shall be made by certified mail 

concurrent with the submittal of the corrective action plan. 

Approval of the corrective action plan by the Department shall be 

postponed for a period of 30 60 days following receipt of the 

request so that the Department may consider comments 

submitted. comments. The responsible party shall, within a time 

frame determined by the Department to be sufficient, 30 days, 

provide the Department with a copy of the notice and proof of 

receipt of each required notice, notice or of refusal by the 

addressee to accept delivery of a required notice. If notice by 

certified mail to occupants under this Paragraph is impractical, the 

responsible party may shall give notice by posting such notice 

prominently in a manner designed to give actual notice to the 

occupants. as provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(j) or 4(j1). If notice 

is made to occupants by posting, the responsible party shall 
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provide the Department with a copy of the posted notice and a 

description of the manner in which such posted notice was given. 

(b)  A responsible party who receives a notice from the 

Department pursuant to 15A NCAC 02L Rule .0404(c) or 

.0407(d) of this Section for a discharge or release which that has 

not been remediated to the groundwater standards or interim 

standards established in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter or to the 

lower of the residential or soil-to-groundwater contaminant 

concentrations established under 15A NCAC 02L Rule .0411 of 

this Section, shall, within 30 days of the receipt of such notice, 

provide a copy of the notice to: the local Health Director and the 

chief administrative officer of each political jurisdiction in which 

the contamination occurs; all property owners and occupants 

within or contiguous to the area containing contamination; and all 

property owners and occupants within or contiguous to the area 

where the contamination is expected to migrate. 

(1) the local Health Director and the chief 

administrative officer of each political 

jurisdiction in which the contamination occurs; 

(2) all property owners and occupants within or 

contiguous to the area containing the 

contamination; and 

(3) all property owners and occupants within or 

contiguous to the area where the contamination 

is expected to migrate. 

Notification shall be made by certified mail. The responsible party 

shall, within a time frame determined by the Department, 60 days 

of receipt of the original notice from the Department, provide the 

Department with proof of receipt of the copy of the notice, notice 

or of refusal by the addressee to accept delivery of the copy of the 

notice. If notice by certified mail to occupants under this 

Paragraph is impractical, the responsible party may shall give 

notice by posting such notice prominently in a manner designed 

to give actual notice to the occupants. as provided in G.S. 1A-1, 

Rule 4(j) or 4(j1). If notice is made to occupants by posting, the 

responsible party shall provide the Department with a description 

of the manner in which such the posted notice was given. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.94A; 143-

215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-282; 1995 (Reg. 

Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0410 DEPARTMENTAL LISTING OF 

DISCHARGES OR RELEASES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0411 ESTABLISHING MAXIMUM 

SOIL CONTAMINATION CONCENTRATIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0412 ANALYTICAL PROCEDURES 

FOR SOIL SAMPLES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0413 ANALYTICAL PROCEDURES 

FOR GROUNDWATER SAMPLES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0414 REQUIRED LABORATORY 

CERTIFICATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0415 DISCHARGES OR RELEASES 

FROM OTHER SOURCES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0500 – RISK-BASED ASSESSMENT AND 

CORRECTIVE ACTION FOR PETROLEUM RELEASES 

FROM ABOVEGROUND STORAGE TANKS AND 

SOURCES 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0501 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0502 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions as set out in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter apply 

to this Section, in addition the following definitions and the 

following definitions shall apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Aboveground storage tank" or "AST" means 

any one or a combination of tanks (including 

underground tanks, including pipes connected 

thereto) thereto, that is used to contain an 

accumulation of petroleum. 

(2) "AST system" means an aboveground storage 

tank, connected underground piping, 

underground ancillary equipment, and 

containment system, if any. 

(3) "Discharge" includes any emission, spillage, 

leakage, pumping, pouring, emptying, or 

dumping of oil into groundwater or surface 

water or upon land in such proximity to such 

water that it is likely to reach the water and any 

discharge upon land which is intentional, 

knowing, or willful. 

(4) "Non-UST means as defined in G.S. 143-

215.104AA(g) and excludes underground 

storage tank releases governed by G.S. 143-

215.94V. 

(5) "Operator" means any person in control of, of 

or having responsibility for the daily operation 

of the AST system. 

(6) "Owner" means any person who owns a 

petroleum aboveground storage tank or other 

non-UST petroleum tank, stationary or mobile, 

used for storage, use, dispensing, or transport. 

(7) "Person" means an individual, trust, firm, joint 

stock company, Federal agency, corporation, 

state, municipality, commission, political 

subdivision of a state, or any interstate body. 

"Person" also includes a consortium, a joint 

venture, a commercial entity, and the United 

States Government. 

(8) "Petroleum" or "petroleum products" means as 

defined in G.S. 143-215.94A(10). 

(9) "Release" means any spilling, leaking, emitting, 

discharging, escaping, leaching, or disposing 
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into groundwater, surface water, or surface or 

subsurface soils. 

(10) "Tank" means a device used to contain an 

accumulation of petroleum and constructed of 

non-earthen materials (e.g., materials, such as 

concrete, steel, plastic) plastic, that provides 

structural support. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-212(4); 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.77; 143B-

282; 143-215.84; 143-215.104AA. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0503 RULE APPLICATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0504 REQUIRED INITIAL RESPONSE 

AND ABATEMENT ACTIONS BY RESPONSIBLE 

PARTY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0505 REQUIREMENTS FOR LIMITED 

SITE ASSESSMENT (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0506 DISCHARGE OR RELEASE 

CLASSIFICATIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0507 RECLASSIFICATION OF RISK 

LEVELS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0508 ASSESSMENT AND 

REMEDIATION PROCEDURES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0509 NOTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0510 DEPARTMENTAL LISTING OF 

DISCHARGES OR RELEASES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0511 ESTABLISHING MAXIMUM 

SOIL CONTAMINATION CONCENTRATIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0512 ANALYTICAL PROCEDURES 

FOR SOIL SAMPLES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0513 ANALYTICAL PROCEDURES 

FOR GROUNDWATER SAMPLES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0514 REQUIRED LABORATORY 

CERTIFICATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0515 DISCHARGES OR RELEASES 

FROM OTHER SOURCES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Environmental Management Commission intends to repeal the 

rules cited as 15A NCAC 02T .1601, .1602, .1604-.1608. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rules are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://deq.nc.gov/news/events/public-notice-hearings 

 

Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2019 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  If a public hearing 

is requested, contact Michael Rogers, UIC Program Manager, 

Division of Water Resources, Animal Feeding Operations and 

Groundwater Protection Branch at Michael.Rogers@ncdenr.gov 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The repeal of 15A NCAC 02T 

.1600 is proposed because 15A NCAC 02C .0225 rule, which had 

already been approved by the Environmental Management 

Commission to go to public hearing, would encompass the 

requirements for both the 15A NCAC 02C .0225 rule and the 15A 

NCAC 02T .1600 rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  2C Rule Comments, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Division of Water 

Resources, Animal Feeding Operations and Groundwater 

Protection Branch, 1636 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1636 

 

Comment period ends: February 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 
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Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02T – WASTE NOT DISCHARGED TO 

SURFACE WATERS 

 

SECTION .1600 – GROUNDWATER REMEDIATION 

SYSTEMS 

 

15A NCAC 02T .1601 SCOPE 

15A NCAC 02T. 1602 DEFINITIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 143-214.2(b); 143-215.1; 143-215.1A. 

 

 

SECTION .1600 – GROUNDWATER REMEDIATION 

SYSTEMS 

 

15A NCAC 02T .1604 APPLICATION SUBMITTAL 

15A NCAC 02T .1605 DESIGN CRITERIA 

15A NCAC 02T .1606 SETBACKS 

 

15A NCAC 02T .1607 MONITORING AND 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

15A NCAC 02T .1608 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

CLOSURE 

 

Authority G.S. 143-214.2(b); 143-215.1; 143-215.1A. 

 

 

TITLE 19A – DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Transportation intends to 

readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 19A NCAC 

02D .1101-.1112. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of rules to be readopted 

without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The 

text of the rules is available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://www.ncdot.gov/about-us/how-we-operate/policy-

process/rules/pages/default.aspx 

 

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: Tuesday, January 29, 2019 

Time: 3:00 p.m. 

Location: Transportation Mobility and Safety Conference Room 

161, 750 Greenfield Parkway, Garner, NC 27529 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapter 19A NCAC 02B, 02D and 

02E these proposed rules were determined as "Necessary With 

Substantive Public Interest" thus necessitating readoption.  

Upon review for the readoption process, the agency deemed the 

following rules to be necessary without substantive changes and 

are recommended for readoption: 02D .1101-.1112. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Hanna D. Jernigan, 1501 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1501, phone (919) 707-

2821, email Rulemaking@ncdot.gov 

 

Comment period ends: February 18, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 02 - DIVISION OF HIGHWAYS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02D – HIGHWAY OPERATIONS 

 

19A NCAC 02D .1101 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02D .1102 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02D .1103 CERTIFICATION OF FIRMS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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19A NCAC 02D .1104 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02D .1105 CHANGE IN OWNERSHIP OR 

CONTROL (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02D .1106 DECERTIFICATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02D .1107 APPEALS OF DENIAL OF 

CERTIFICATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02D .1108 GOALS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02D .1109 COUNTING PARTICIPATION 

TOWARD MEETING THE GOAL (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02D .1110 NON-ATTAINMENT OF GOALS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02D .1111 PERFORMANCE RELATED 

REPLACEMENT OF ELIGIBLE FIRMS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

19A NCAC 02D .1112 REPLACEMENT OF A FIRM 

REMOVED BY DECERTIFICATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 57 - APPRAISAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Appraisal Board intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 

57A .0204, .0211, .0407; 57B .0306, and .0606. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

www.ncappraisalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date: June 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: March 26, 2019 

Time: 9:00 a.m. 

Location: 5830 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  21 NCAC 57A .0204 is internally 

inconsistent, and the amendment clarifies the rule. 21 NCAC 57A 

.0211, the agency currently requires a letter of good standing. The 

change will allow the agency to rely on the ASC National Registry 

to verify an appraiser's credential. On 21 NCAC 57A .0407, the 

agency has seen instances where more than one trainee has 

claimed experience credit for the same appraisal report. This 

amendment would make it clear that only one trainee may get 

credit for an appraisal report. Currently, 21 NCAC 57B .0306 and 

.0606 both refer to providing a videotape. In order to keep up with 

current technology, the rule would allow a recording in any 

format.  

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Donald T. Rodgers, 5830 Six 

Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27609, email don@ncab.org 

 

Comment period ends: 9:00 a.m. on March 26, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

SUBCHAPTER 57A - REGISTRATION, LICENSING, 

CERTIFICATION AND PRACTICE 

 

SECTION .0200 -  TRAINEE REGISTRATION AND 

APPRAISER LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0204 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(a)  All registered trainees, real estate appraiser licensees, and 

certificate holders shall, upon the renewal of their registration, 

license, or certificate in every odd-numbered year, present 

evidence satisfactory to the Board of having obtained continuing 

education as required by this Section. Trainees and appraisers who 

initially registered with the Board after January 1 of an odd 

numbered year are not required to show continuing education 

credit for renewal of their registration in that odd numbered year. 

(b)  Each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder who must 

complete continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule must shall complete 28 hours of continuing education before 

June 1 of every odd numbered year. Except as provided in 

Paragraphs (g) and (h) of this Rule, such education must shall 

have been obtained by taking courses approved by the Board for 

continuing education purposes, at schools approved by the Board 
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to offer such courses. Such education must shall relate to real 

estate appraisal and must shall contribute to the goal of improving 

the knowledge, skill and competence of trainees, and licensed and 

certified real estate appraisers. There is no exemption from the 

continuing education requirement for trainees or appraisers whose 

status has been upgraded to the level of licensed residential, 

certified residential, or certified general appraiser since the 

issuance or most recent renewal of their registration, license, or 

certificate, and courses taken to satisfy the requirements of a 

higher level of certification shall not be applied toward the 

continuing education requirement. certificate. Trainees, licensees, 

and certificate holders shall not take the same continuing 

education course more than once during the two year continuing 

education cycle. 

(c)  Each appraisal continuing education course must shall involve 

a minimum of three and one-half classroom hours of instruction 

on real estate appraisal or related topics such as the application of 

appraisal concepts and methodology to the appraisal of various 

types of property; specialized appraisal techniques; laws, rules or 

guidelines relating to appraisal; standards of practice and ethics; 

building construction; financial or investment analysis; land use 

planning or controls; feasibility analysis; statistics; accounting; or 

similar topics. The trainee, licensee, or certificate holder must 

shall have attended at least 90 percent of the scheduled classroom 

hours for the course in order to receive credit for the course. 

(d)  Each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder who is required 

to complete continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule must shall, as part of the 28 hours of continuing education 

required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, complete the seven hour 

National USPAP update course between October 1 of an odd-

numbered year and June 1 of an even numbered year, as required 

by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal 

Foundation, or its equivalent. USPAP is updated every even 

numbered year, and each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder 

shall take the most recent USPAP update course prior to June 1 of 

every even numbered year. 

(e)  A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder who elects to take 

approved continuing education courses in excess of the 

requirement shall not carry over into the subsequent years any 

continuing education credit. 

(f)  Course sponsors must shall provide a certificate of course 

completion to each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder 

successfully completing a course. In addition, course sponsors 

must shall send directly to the Board a certified roster of all who 

successfully completed the course. This roster must shall be sent 

within 15 days of completion of the course, but not later than June 

15 of each year. In order to renew a registration, license, or 

certificate in a timely manner, the Board must receive proof of 

satisfaction of the continuing education requirement prior to 

processing a registration, license, or certificate renewal 

application. Proof of satisfaction shall be made by receipt of a 

roster from a school or course sponsor showing the courses 

completed by the applicant or by submission of an original 

certificate of course completion. If proof of having satisfied the 

continuing education requirement is not provided, the registration, 

license, or certificate shall expire and the trainee, licensee, or 

certificate holder shall be subject to the provisions of Rules 

.0203(e) and .0206 of this Section. 

(g)  A current or former trainee, licensee, or certificate holder may 

request that the Board grant continuing education credit for a 

course taken by the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder that is 

not approved by the Board, or for appraisal education activity 

equivalent to a Board-approved course, by making such request 

and submitting a non-refundable fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) as 

set out in G.S. 93E-1-8(d) for each course or type of appraisal 

education activity to be evaluated. Continuing education credit for 

a non-approved course shall be granted only if the trainee, 

licensee, or certificate holder provides satisfactory proof of course 

completion and the Board finds that the course satisfies the 

requirements for approval of appraisal continuing education 

courses with regard to subject matter, course length, instructor 

qualifications, and student attendance. Appraisal education 

activities for which credit may be awarded include teaching 

appraisal courses, authorship of appraisal textbooks, and 

development of instructional materials on appraisal subjects. Up 

to 14 hours of continuing education credit may be granted in each 

continuing education cycle for participation in appraisal education 

activities. Trainees or licensed or certified appraisers who have 

taught an appraisal course or courses approved by the Board for 

continuing education credit are deemed to have taken an 

equivalent course and are not subject to the fee prescribed in G.S. 

93E-1-8 (d), provided they submit verification satisfactory to the 

Board of having taught the course(s). A trainee, licensee, or 

certificate holder who teaches a Board-approved continuing 

education course may shall not receive continuing education 

credit for the same course more than once every two years, 

regardless of how often he or she teaches the course. Requests for 

equivalent approval for continuing education credit must shall be 

received before June 15 of an odd-numbered year to be credited 

towards the continuing education requirement for that odd-

numbered year. Equivalent approval shall be granted only for 

courses that are 7 hours or longer, and shall only be granted for a 

minimum of 7 hours. 

(h)  A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder may receive 

continuing education credit by taking any of the Board-approved 

precertification courses, other than Basic Appraisal Principles and 

Basic Appraisal Procedures, or their approved equivalents. 

Trainee, licensees, and certificate holders who wish to use a 

precertification course for continuing education credit must shall 

comply with the provisions of 21 NCAC 57B .0604. 

(i)  A licensee or certificate holder who resides in another state, is 

currently credentialed in another state, and is active on the 

National Registry in another state may satisfy the requirements of 

this Section, other than the seven hour National USPAP update 

course requirement in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, by providing a 

current letter of good standing from another state showing that the 

licensee or certificate holder has met all continuing education 

requirements in the other state. A licensee or certificate holder 

who became licensed in North Carolina by licensure or 

certification with another state and now resides in North Carolina 

may renew by letter of good standing for his or her first renewal 

as a resident of North Carolina only if the appraiser moved to 

North Carolina on or after January 1 of an odd numbered year. If 

an appraiser was a resident of this state before January 1 of an 

odd-numbered year, the appraiser must shall comply with the 

requirements of this section regardless of how the license or 

certificate was obtained. 
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(j)  A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder who returns from 

active military duty on or after February 1 of an odd-numbered 

year is allowed to renew his or her registration, license, or 

certificate in that odd-numbered year even if the required 

continuing education is not completed before June 1 of that year. 

All required continuing education must shall be completed within 

180 days of when the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder returns 

from active duty. Failure to complete the required continuing 

education within 180 days is grounds for revocation. This Rule 

applies to an individual who is serving in the armed forces of the 

United States and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of 

time to file a tax return. 

 

Authority G.S. 93B-15; 93E-1-7(a); 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0211 APPLICANTS CERTIFIED IN 

ANOTHER STATE 

(a)  Applicants for certification who are not residents of North 

Carolina shall file an application as stated in Rule .0101 of this 

Subchapter. The application may be found on the Board's website 

at www.ncappraisalboard.org. The application requires the name, 

contact information, educational background of the applicant, an 

experience log when required for licensure or certification, 

answers to questions regarding character (regarding both 

disciplinary matters and criminal offenses), and a sworn statement 

that the information in the application is correct. In addition, 

nonresident applicants shall also consent to service of process in 

this State and file an affidavit of residency with the application. If 

the applicant is not currently active on the Appraisal 

Subcommittee's National Registry, licensed by the appraiser 

licensing board of the applicant's resident state, the applicant shall 

also file with the application a letter of good standing from the 

appraiser licensing board of any state where the applicant is 

currently certified the resident state that was issued by that 

licensing board no later than 30 days prior to the date application 

is made in this State. 

(b)  Applicants for certification who are residents of North 

Carolina and who are certified in another state shall file an 

application as stated in Rule .0101 of this Subchapter. The 

application may be found on the Board's website at 

www.ncappraisalboard.org. The applicant shall file a letter of 

good standing from the other state that that was issued by that 

licensing board no later than 30 days prior to the date application 

is made in this State. 

(c)  Applicants for registration or certification shall obtain a 

criminal records check that complies with the requirements of 

Rule .0202(e) of this Subchapter. This records check shall have 

been performed within 60 days of the date the completed 

application for registration or certification is received by the 

Board. Applicants shall pay the reporting service for the cost of 

these reports. 

(d)  An appraiser whose certification is suspended in North 

Carolina shall not apply for certification in this State under this 

Rule while the certification is suspended. An appraiser whose 

certification was revoked in North Carolina shall not apply for 

certification in this State under this Rule for five years after the 

date of revocation. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-9(a) and (b); 93E-1-10; 12 U.S.C. 3351(a). 

SECTION .0400 – GENERAL APPRAISAL PRACTICE 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0407 SUPERVISION OF TRAINEES 

(a)  A certified real estate appraiser may engage a registered 

trainee to assist in the performance of real estate appraisals, 

provided that the appraiser: 

(1) has been certified for at least three years; 

(2) has no more than three trainees working under 

him or her at any one time. A certified 

residential appraiser may have two trainees 

working under his or her supervision at any one 

time. Once at least one of those trainees has 

completed 50 percent of the required appraisal 

experience to upgrade, a certified residential 

appraiser may add another trainee. A certified 

general appraiser may have three trainees 

working under his or her supervision. Prior to 

the date any trainee begins performing 

appraisals under his or her supervision, the 

supervisor shall inform the Board of the name 

of the trainee by filing a Supervisor Declaration 

Form with the Board. The form may be found 

on the Board's website at 

www.ncappraisalboard.org. The supervisor 

shall also inform the Board when a trainee is no 

longer working under his or her supervision by 

using the Supervisor Declaration Form; 

(3) actively and personally supervises the trainee 

on all appraisal reports and appraisal related 

activities until the trainee is no longer under his 

or her supervision; 

(4) reviews all appraisal reports and supporting 

data used in connection with appraisals in 

which the services of a trainee is utilized, and 

assures that research of general and specific 

data has been adequately conducted and 

properly reported, application of appraisal 

principles and methodologies has been properly 

applied, that the analysis is sound and 

adequately reported, and that any analysis, 

opinions, or conclusions are adequately 

developed and reported so that the appraisal 

report is not misleading; 

(5) complies with all provisions of Rule .0405 of 

this Section regarding appraisal reports; 

(6) reviews and signs the trainee's log of appraisals, 

which must shall be updated at least every 30 

days. In addition, the supervisor shall make 

available to the trainee a copy of every appraisal 

report where the trainee performs more than 75 

percent of the work on the appraisal; and 

(7) has not received any disciplinary action 

regarding his or her appraisal license or 

certificate from the State of North Carolina or 

any other state within the previous three years. 

For the purposes of this Section, disciplinary 

action means an active suspension, a 

downgrade of a credential, a revocation, or any 
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other action that affects a supervisor's ability to 

engage in appraisal practice. 

(b)  Active and personal supervision includes direction, guidance, 

and support from the supervisor. The supervising appraiser shall 

have input into and full knowledge of the appraisal report prior to 

its completion, and shall make any necessary and appropriate 

changes to the report before it is transmitted to the client. In 

addition, the supervisor shall accompany the trainee on the 

inspections of the subject property on the first 50 appraisal 

assignments or the first 1500 hours of experience, whichever 

comes first, for which the trainee will perform more than 75 

percent of the work. After that point, the trainee may perform the 

inspections without the presence of the supervisor provided that 

the supervisor is satisfied that the trainee is competent to perform 

those inspections, and that the subject property is less than 50 

miles from the supervisor's primary business location. The 

supervisor shall accompany the trainee on all inspections of 

subject properties that are located more than 50 miles from the 

supervisor's primary business location. 

(c)  The trainee shall maintain a log on a form that includes each 

appraisal performed by the trainee, the type of property appraised, 

type of appraisal performed, complete street address of the subject 

property, the date the report was signed, the experience hours 

claimed, the name of the supervisor for that appraisal, the 

supervisor's license or certificate number, and whether the 

supervisor accompanied the trainee on the inspection of the 

subject property. The log shall show all appraisals performed by 

the trainee and shall be updated at least every 30 days. A log form 

is available on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

(d)  An appraiser who wishes to supervise a trainee shall attend an 

education program regarding the role of a supervisor before such 

supervision begins. This course shall be taught only by instructors 

approved by the Board in accordance with 21 NCAC 57B .0614. 

(e)  Trainees shall assure that the Appraisal Board has received 

the Supervisor Declaration Form on or before the day the trainee 

begins assisting the supervising appraiser by contacting the Board 

by telephone or email at ncab@ncab.org. The form may be found 

on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. Trainees 

shall not receive appraisal experience credit for appraisals 

performed in violation of this Paragraph. 

(f)  Supervising appraisers shall not be employed by a trainee or 

by a company, firm, or partnership in which the trainee has a 

controlling interest. 

(g)  If a trainee signs an appraisal report or provides significant 

professional assistance in the appraisal process and thus is noted 

in the report as having provided such assistance, the appraiser 

signing the report shall have notified the Appraisal Board before 

the appraisal is signed that he or she is the supervisor for the 

trainee. If more than one appraiser signs the report, the appraiser 

with the highest level of credential shall be the declared supervisor 

for the trainee. If all appraisers signing the report have the same 

level of credential, at least one of them shall be declared as the 

trainee's supervisor before the report is signed. 

(h)  Only one trainee may receive credit for providing significant 

real property appraisal assistance on an appraisal report. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1.6.1; 93E-1-10; 93E-1-12. 

 

 

SUBCHAPTER 57B - REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL 

EDUCATION 

 

SECTION .0300 – COURSE STANDARDS FOR 

PRELICENSING AND PRECERTIFICATION 

EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0306 INSTRUCTOR REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Except as indicated in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, all 

qualifying courses or courses deemed equivalent by the Board 

shall be taught by instructors who possess the fitness for licensure 

required of applicants for trainee registration or real estate 

appraiser licensure or certification and either the minimum 

appraisal education and experience qualifications listed in this 

Rule or other qualifications that are found by the Board to be 

equivalent to those listed. These qualification requirements shall 

be met on a continuing basis. The minimum qualifications are as 

follows: 

(1) Residential appraiser courses: 200 classroom 

hours of real estate appraisal education 

equivalent to the residential appraiser education 

courses prescribed in Rules .0101 and .0102 of 

this Subchapter and two years' full-time 

experience as a certified residential or general 

real estate appraiser within the previous five 

years. At least one-half of such experience must 

shall be in residential property appraising. 

Instructors must shall also be certified as a 

residential or general real estate appraiser. 

(2) General appraiser courses: 300 classroom hours 

of real estate appraisal education equivalent to 

the general appraiser education courses 

prescribed in Rules .0101, .0102 and .0103 of 

this Subchapter and three years' full-time 

experience as a general real estate appraiser 

within the previous five years. At least one-half 

of such experience must shall be in income 

property appraising. Instructors must shall also 

be a certified general real estate appraiser and 

have been so certified for at least five years. 

(3) USPAP: certification by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board of the Appraisal 

Foundation as an instructor for the National 

USPAP Course. The instructor must shall be a 

certified residential or a certified general 

appraiser. If a USPAP instructor fails to renew 

or loses his or her certification by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board, the instructor must shall 

immediately stop teaching and notify the 

Appraisal Board of the loss of certification. 

(4) Statistics, modeling and finance: must shall 

have previously completed this class, or must 

shall have completed 3 semester hours of 

statistics in an accredited college or university. 

(b)  Guest lecturers who do not possess the qualifications stated 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may be utilized to teach collectively 

up to one-fourth of any course, provided that each guest lecturer 

possesses education and experience directly related to the 

particular subject area the lecturer is teaching. 
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(c)  Instructors shall conduct themselves in a professional manner 

when performing their instructional duties and shall conduct their 

classes in a manner that demonstrates knowledge of the subject 

matter being taught and mastery of the following basic teaching 

skills: 

(1) The ability to communicate effectively through 

speech, including the ability to speak clearly at 

an appropriate rate of speed and with 

appropriate grammar and vocabulary; 

(2) The ability to present instruction in an accurate, 

logical, orderly, and understandable manner, to 

utilize illustrative examples as appropriate, and 

to respond appropriately to questions from 

students; 

(3) The ability to effectively utilize varied 

instructive techniques other than straight 

lecture, such as class discussion or other 

techniques; 

(4) The ability to effectively utilize instructional 

aids to enhance learning; 

(5) The ability to maintain an effective learning 

environment and control of a class; and 

(6) The ability to interact with adult students in a 

manner that encourages students to learn, that 

demonstrates an understanding of students' 

backgrounds, that avoids offending the 

sensibilities of students, and that avoids 

personal criticism of any other person, agency 

or organization. 

(d)  Upon request of the Board, an instructor or proposed 

instructor must shall submit to the Board a videotape or DVD 

recording in a manner and format which depicts the instructor 

teaching portions of a qualifying course specified by the Board 

and which demonstrates that the instructor possesses the basic 

teaching skills described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(e)  The inquiry into fitness shall include consideration of whether 

the instructor has ever had any disciplinary action taken on his or 

her appraisal license or certificate or any other professional 

license or certificate in North Carolina or any other state, or 

whether the instructor has ever been convicted of or pleaded guilty 

to any criminal act. This inquiry may include consideration of 

whether disciplinary action or criminal charges are pending. 

(f)  Instructors shall not have received any disciplinary action 

regarding his or her appraisal license or certificate from the State 

of North Carolina or any other state within the previous two years. 

For the purposes of this Section, disciplinary action means a 

reprimand, suspension (whether active or inactive), or a 

revocation. 

(g)  Proposed qualifying course instructors who do not meet the 

minimum appraisal education and experience qualifications listed 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and who seek to have their 

qualifications determined by the Board to be equivalent to the 

qualifications listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, must shall 

supply the Board with copies of sample appraisal reports or other 

evidence of experience. 

(h)  Persons desiring to become instructors for qualifying courses 

must shall file an application for approval with the Board. The 

application may be accessed at the Board's website at 

www.ncappraisalboard.org.There is no fee for application for 

instructor approval. Once an instructor has been approved to teach 

a specific qualifying course, that person may teach the course at 

any school or for any course sponsor approved by the Appraisal 

Board to offer qualifying courses. 

(i)  Current Appraisal Board members shall not be eligible to teach 

qualifying courses during their term of office on the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 

 

SECTION .0600 - CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0606 COURSE OPERATIONAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

Course sponsors must shall at all times assure compliance with 

the criteria for course approval stated in Rule .0603 of this Section 

and must shall also comply with the following requirements 

relating to scheduling, advertising and conducting approved 

appraisal continuing education courses: 

(1) Courses must shall be scheduled and conducted 

in a manner that limits class sessions to a 

maximum of eight classroom hours in any 

given day and that includes appropriate breaks 

for each class session. A classroom hour 

consists of 50 minutes of classroom instruction 

and ten minutes of break time. For any class 

meeting that exceeds 50 minutes in duration, 

breaks at the rate of ten minutes per hour must 

shall be scheduled and taken at reasonable 

times. 

(2) Course sponsors must shall not utilize 

advertising of any type that is false or 

misleading in any respect. If the number of 

continuing education credit hours awarded by 

the Board for a course is less than the number 

of scheduled classroom hours for the course, 

any course advertisement or promotional 

materials which indicate that the course is 

approved for appraiser continuing education 

credit in North Carolina must shall specify the 

number of continuing education credit hours 

awarded by the Board for the course. 

(3) Course sponsors must, shall, upon request, 

provide any prospective student a description of 

the course content sufficient to give the 

prospective student a general understanding of 

the instruction to be provided in the course. 

(4) Courses must shall be conducted in a facility 

that provides an appropriate learning 

environment. At a minimum, the classroom 

must shall be of sufficient size to accommodate 

comfortably all enrolled students, must contain 

a student desk or sufficient worktable space for 

each student, must shall have adequate light, 

heat, cooling and ventilation, and must shall be 

free of distractions that would disrupt class 

sessions. Sponsors are required to shall comply 

with all applicable local, state and federal laws 

and regulations regarding safety, health and 

sanitation. Sponsors shall furnish the Board 
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with inspection reports from appropriate local 

building, health and fire inspectors upon the 

request of the Board. Sponsors must shall 

supply separate restroom facilities for males 

and females. Classes may shall not be held in a 

personal residence under any circumstances. 

(5) The course sponsor must shall require students 

to attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled 

classroom hours in order to satisfactorily 

complete the course, even if the number of 

continuing education credit hours awarded by 

the Board for the course is less than the number 

of scheduled classroom hours. Attendance must 

shall be monitored during all class sessions to 

assure compliance with the attendance 

requirement. Instruction must shall be given for 

the number of hours for which credit is given. 

Instructors may shall not accumulate unused 

break time to end the class early. 

(6) Instructors must shall require reasonable 

student attentiveness during class sessions. 

Students must shall not be permitted to engage 

in activities that are not related to the instruction 

being provided. 

(7) Course sponsors for which an application fee is 

required by Rules .0602(b) and .0611(b) of this 

Section must shall fairly administer course 

cancellation and fee refund policies. In the 

event a scheduled course is canceled, 

reasonable efforts must shall be made to notify 

preregistered students of the cancellation and 

all prepaid fees received from such 

preregistered students must shall be refunded 

within 30 days of the date of cancellation or, 

with the student's permission, applied toward 

the fees for another course. 

(8) Upon request of the Board, the course sponsor 

must shall submit to the Board a recording 

videotape in a manner and format which depicts 

the instructor teaching portions of any 

continuing education course specified by the 

Board and which demonstrates that the 

instructor possesses the basic teaching skills 

described in Rule .0306(c) of this Section. 

(9) Course sponsors shall provide the Board with 

the dates and locations of all classes the sponsor 

is or will be offering in the State of North 

Carolina at least 30 calendar days before such 

class is offered, unless circumstances beyond 

the control of the course sponsor require that the 

course be rescheduled. If the dates or location 

of the classes change after such information is 

provided to the Board, the course sponsor must 

shall notify the Board of such changes. 

(10) Course sponsors shall provide each student with 

contact information for the Appraisal Board so 

that students may contact the Board with 

questions or concerns regarding the course. 

(11) If an instructor has any disciplinary action taken 

on his or her appraisal license or any other 

professional license in North Carolina or any 

other state, or if the instructor has been 

convicted of or pleaded guilty to any criminal 

act, the school or course sponsor must shall 

report that fact to the Board within 15 business 

days. 

(12) All courses, except those taught on-line via the 

Internet, must shall have a minimum number of 

five students enrolled in the course. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10. 

 

 

TITLE 25 – OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES  

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Human Resources Commission intends to amend the rules 

cited as 25 NCAC 01E .0210, .0704, .0705; 01I .1702, .1805, 

.1902, .1903, .1905, .2003, .2302, .2303, .2304, .2305, .2306, 

.2307 and .2310, and repeal the rule cited as 25 NCAC 01I .2105. 

 

NOTE:   Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has 

determined that publication of the complete text of the rules 

proposed for repeal is impractical.  The text of the repealed rules 

is accessible on the OAH Website:  http://www.ncoah.com. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://oshr.nc.gov/about-oshr/state-hr-commission/proposed-

rulemaking 

 

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing:  

Date: January 3, 2019 

Time: 2:00 p.m. 

Location: Office of State Human Resources, Department of 

Administration, 116 Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action: 

25 NCAC 01E .0210 - Separation: Payment of Vacation Leave - 

is amended to align with 25 NCAC 01I .2005 regarding vacation 

and sick leave accumulated during first twelve months of workers' 

compensation leave and bonus leave granted at any time during 

leave when employee is separated and excess vacation leave over 

240 hours maximum if employee returns to permanent duty after 

workers' compensation leave. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .0704 - Coverage - is amended to define what State 

employees and other person shall be covered under the State's 

self-insured workers' compensation program and deleting 

language regarding employer statutory duties of handling work-

related injuries under G.S. Chapter 97. 25 NCAC 01E .0705 - 

Administration - is amended to clarify the Office of State Human 

Resources' responsibility to administer the State's self-insured 

workers' compensation program including contracting with 

vendors for workers' compensation claims services, vendor 

contracts monitoring, acting as liaison between vendors and State 
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agencies, monitoring claim status, issuing claim handling 

guidelines, and providing training materials for use in State 

agencies. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .1702 - Employment of Relatives - is amended to 

align with the North Carolina Administrative Code at 25 NCAC 

.01H .0641. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .1805 - Provisions for Tentative Temporary 

Classification - is amended to remove outdated "flat-rate" 

language to align with the North Carolina Administrative Code. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .1902 - Posting and Announcement of Vacancies 

- is amended to change posting from 7 work days to 7 calendar 

days pursuant to best practices, update the NC Works name and 

replacing shall with may as to posting with NC Works, GS 96 -29 

applies only to state agencies. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .1903 - Applicant Information and Application, is 

amended to remove NC Works posting information and update 

language to match practice as indicated by minor edits. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .1905 - Selection is amended to align with state 

admin codes: H .0634, H .0635. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2003 - Promotion is amended to align with state 

admin code (where applicable): D .0301 and comply with G.S. 

126 probationary period language and deletes outdated 

language. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2105 - Other Pay - is deleted as it is no longer 

utilized. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2302 - Dismissal for Unsatisfactory Job 

Performance of Duties - is amended to align with North Carolina 

Administrative Code cross reference 25 NCAC 01J .0605. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2303 - Dismissal for Grossly Inefficient Job 

Performance - is amended to align with North Carolina 

Administrative Code cross reference 25 NCAC 01J .0606. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2304 - Dismissal for Unacceptable Personal 

Conduct - is amended to align with North Carolina 

Administrative Code cross reference 25 NCAC 01J .0608.  

 

25 NCAC 01I .2305 - Written Warning - is amended to align with 

North Carolina Administrative Code cross reference 25 NCAC 

01J .0610. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2306 - Disciplinary Suspension Without Pay - is 

amended to align with North Carolina Administrative Code cross 

reference 25 NCAC 01J .0611. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2307 - Demotion - is amended to align with North 

Carolina Administrative Code cross reference 25 NCAC 01J 

.0612. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2310 - Appeals - is amended to align with North 

Carolina Administrative Code (a), (b) and (c) and (d) added for 

process clarity to provide consistent timeframe for FAD and 

updates language to comply with statute/practice. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Lars Nance, Office of State 

Human Resources, 1331 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1331, phone (919) 807-4890, email lars.nance@nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends: February 15, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 01 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN 

RESOURCES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01E - EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

 

SECTION .0200 - VACATION LEAVE 

 

25 NCAC 01E .0210 SEPARATION: PAYMENT OF 

VACATION LEAVE 

(a)  The agency shall pay an employee in a lump sum for vacation 

leave only at the time of separation. 

(b)  When separated from state service due to resignation, 

dismissal, or death, an employee shall be paid in a lump sum for 

accumulated vacation leave not to exceed a maximum of 240 

hours. The employee is not entitled to any scheduled holiday 

occurring after the last day of work. The employee ceases to 

accumulate leave and ceases to be entitled to take sick leave. The 

last day of work is the date of separation. 

(c)  When separated from state service due to service retirement, 

early retirement, or reduction in force, an employee may, at the 

discretion of the employee's supervisor, elect to exhaust vacation 

leave after the last day of work but prior to the effective date of 

the separation. All benefits accrue while leave is being exhausted 

including holidays that occur during the period. Unused leave not 
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exhausted shall be paid in a lump sum not to exceed 240 hours. 

An employee who was reduced in force and who had over 240 

hours of vacation leave at the time of separation shall have the 

excess leave reinstated when reemployed within one year. The 

date of separation is as follows: 

(1) If leave is exhausted, the last day of leave is the 

date of separation. 

(2) If no leave is exhausted, the last day of work is 

the date of separation. 

(d)  If an employee separates and is overdrawn on leave, the 

employing agency shall deduct the value of the overdrawn leave 

from the final salary check. 

(e)  The employing agency shall make a retirement deduction 

from all leave payments. 

(f)  Receipt of lump sum leave payment and retirement benefit is 

not considered as dual compensation. 

(g)  In the case of a deceased employee, the employing agency 

shall make a payment for unpaid salary, leave, and travel, upon 

establishment of a valid claim, to the deceased employee's 

administrator or executor. In the absence of an administrator or 

executor, the employing agency must make a payment in 

accordance with the provisions of G.S. 28A-25-6. 

(h)  In the case of an employee separated due to a workers' 

compensation injury pursuant to 25 NCAC 01C .2007, vacation 

and sick leave accumulated only during first 12 months of 

workers' compensation leave will be exhausted by lump sum 

payment, along with other unused vacation/bonus leave which 

was on hand at time of injury, as well as any bonus leave granted 

subsequently. 

(i)  If employee returns to permanent duty after workers' 

compensation leave, excess vacation leave over 240 hour 

maximum to be carried forward to next calendar year may be used 

after returning to work or carried on leave account until end of 

calendar year at which time any excess vacation shall be 

converted to sick leave. If employee separates during period 

excess vacation is allowed, vacation leave exceeding 240 hours to 

be paid in lump sum may not exceed amount accumulated during 

first 12 months of workers' compensation leave. 

 

Authority G.S. 28A-25-6(a),(c); 126-4. 

 

SECTION .0700 - WORKER'S COMPENSATION LEAVE 

 

25 NCAC 01E .0704 COVERAGE 

All North Carolina State Government employees and officers of 

the state including elected officials, members of the General 

Assembly, and persons appointed to serve on a per diem, part-

time or fee basis are covered under the State's self-insured 

workers' compensation program administered by the Office of 

State Human Resources. North Carolina Workers' Compensation 

Act. Those covered include all employees and officers of the state 

including elected officials, members of the General Assembly, 

and persons appointed to serve on a per diem, part-time or fee 

basis. Any employee who suffers an accidental injury or contracts 

an occupational disease within the meaning of the Workers' 

Compensation Act is entitled to benefits provided by the Act. The 

employee is entitled to medical benefits and compensation for 

time lost from work and any disability which results from the 

injury. The state has a "self-insured" program and expenditures 

are paid from current operating budgets. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .0705 ADMINISTRATION 

(a)  Each State agency The Office of State Human Resources shall 

administer a self-insured workers' compensation program for 

workers' compensation claims arising in State agencies. which 

may include third party administration of claims. The agency shall 

ensure the employee of the benefits provided by the Workers' 

Compensation Act and control costs related to on-the-job injuries 

and illnesses. 

(b)  The Office of State Human Resources self-insured workers' 

compensation program for State agencies shall: shall measure and 

evaluate the effectiveness of the workers' compensation program 

at each agency and recommend changes to achieve optimum 

results and ensure consistent application of coverage and 

compensation. It shall maintain contract oversight, monitoring 

and evaluation of the effectiveness of third party administration 

of claims, and act as intermediary between the third party 

administrator and the State. It shall maintain a statistical database 

summarizing a statewide analysis of total expenditures and 

injuries, and develop training and educational materials for use in 

training programs for the agencies. 

(1) Contract with vendor(s) for services for 

workers' compensation claims arising in State 

agencies. 

(2) Act as intermediary between vendor(s) and 

State agencies. 

(3) Monitor contracted vendor(s) performance. 

(c)  Each State agency shall pay for workers' compensation 

expenditures from current operating budgets. 

(d)  The Office of State Human Resources shall: 

(1) Monitor status of workers' compensation claims 

arising in State agencies. 

(2) Issue claim handling guidelines for workers' 

compensation claims arising in State agencies. 

(3) Issue workers' compensation related 

educational materials for use in State agencies. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4; 143-580; 143-581; 143-582; 143-583. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01I - SERVICE TO LOCAL 

GOVERNMENT 

 

SECTION .1700 - LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

EMPLOYMENT POLICIES 

 

25 NCAC 01I .1702 EMPLOYMENT OF RELATIVES 

(a)  The employment of close relatives within the same 

department or work unit of a local government agency subject to 

G.S. Chapter 126 is to be avoided unless significant recruitment 

difficulties exist. If there are fewer than three other available 

eligibles for a vacancy and it is necessary for relatives to be 

considered for employment or if two individuals are already 

employed and marry, the following will apply: 

Two members of an immediate family shall not be employed 

within the same department or work unit of a local government 
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agency subject to G.S. Chapter 126 if such employment will result 

in one supervising a member of his immediate family or where 

one member occupies a position which has influence over the 

other's employment, promotion, salary administration and other 

related management or personnel considerations. 

(b)  The term "immediate family" shall be understood to refer to 

that degree of closeness of relationship which would suggest that 

problems might be created within the work unit or that the public's 

philosophy of fair play in providing equal opportunity for 

employment to all qualified individuals would be violated. This 

would include wife, husband, mother, father, brother, sister, son, 

daughter, grandmother, grandfather, grandson, and 

granddaughter. Also included are the step, half and in-law 

relationships as appropriate based on the above listing. 

Members of an immediate family shall not be employed within 

the same agency if the employment results in one member 

supervising another member of the employee's immediate family, 

or if one member will occupy a position that has influence over 

another member's employment, promotion, salary administration, 

or other related management or personnel considerations. This 

includes employment on a permanent, temporary, or contractual 

basis. The term "immediate family" includes wife, husband, 

mother, father, brother, sister, son, daughter, grandmother, 

grandfather, grandson and granddaughter. Also included is are the 

step-, half- and in-law relationships based on the listing in this 

Rule. It also includes other people living in the same household, 

who share a relationship comparable to immediate family 

members, if either occupies a position that requires influence over 

the other's employment, promotion, salary administration, or 

other related management or personnel considerations. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

SECTION .1800 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

25 NCAC 01I .1805 TENTATIVE AND FLAT-RATE 

PROVISIONS FOR TENTATIVE TEMPORARY 

CLASSIFICATION 

The State Human Resources Director is authorized to establish 

temporary classifications with tentative pay grades or flat-rate 

salaries when insufficient information is available to make 

permanent classification and pay recommendations to the State 

Human Resources Commission. When sufficient information is 

available, the Director will make a recommendation to the State 

Human Resources Commission which will incorporate the 

temporary class and pay into the permanent classification plan and 

pay plan. Such temporary classes, classes and tentative pay grades 

and flat-rate salaries shall be administered according to all 

applicable rules and regulations approved by the State Human 

Resources Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

SECTION .1900 - RECRUITMENT AND SELECTION 

 

25 NCAC 01I .1902 POSTING AND 

ANNOUNCEMENT OF VACANCIES 

(a)  Vacant positions to be filled will be publicized by the agency 

having the vacancy to permit an open opportunity for all interested 

employees and applicants to apply. 

(b)  Vacancies which will be filled from within the agency 

workforce shall have an application period of not less than seven 

calendar days. These vacancies will be prominently posted in an 

area known to employees, and employees and will be described in 

an announcement which includes at minimum the title, salary 

range, key duties, knowledge and skill requirements, minimum 

training and experience standard, and contact person for each 

position to be filled. An exception to this posting requirement will 

be permissible where a formal, pre-existing "understudy" 

arrangement has been established by management. 

(c)  Any vacancy for which an agency wishes to consider outside 

applicants or outside applicants concurrently with the internal 

workforce shall may be listed with the local Job Service Office of 

the Employment Security Commission NCWorks Career Center 

of the Division of Employment Security. Listings will include the 

appropriate announcement information and vacancies so listed 

shall have an application period of not less than seven work 

calendar days. 

(d)  If an agency makes an effort to fill a vacancy from within, and 

is unsuccessful, the listing with the Employment Security 

Commission Division of Employment Security would may take 

place when the decision is made to recruit outside. A vacancy 

which an agency will not fill for any reason shall not be listed; if 

conditions change, it shall then be treated as a new vacancy. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .1903 APPLICANT INFORMATION 

AND APPLICATION 

(a)  The primary source of public information and referral for 

vacancies in subject local government programs is the 

Employment Security Commission. Interested persons may 

contact their local ESC Job Service Office. Other sources may 

also be designated by local departments and agencies. 

(a)(b)  Persons applying for a local vacancy must complete and 

submit the official application form designated by the hiring 

authority.  authority and approved by the reviewing state agency. 

It is not necessary for local agencies to accept official application 

forms in the absence of an actual vacancy under active 

recruitment. 

(b)(c)  Each agency shall be responsible for evaluating the 

accuracy of statements made in an application and may seek 

job-related evidence of the applicant's suitability for employment. 

(c)(d)  An applicant may be disqualified if he: they: 

(1) lack lacks any of the preliminary qualifications 

established for the class of the position being 

applied for; 

(2) has have made a false statement of material fact 

in the application process; 

(3) fails failed to submit an a completed application 

correctly or within the prescribed time limits; 

(4) lack lacks the physical or mental ability to 

perform the essential duties of the position even 

with reasonable accommodation. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 17, 2018 

1341 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .1905 SELECTION 

(a)  Selection of Applicants: 

(1) The selection of applicants for appointment will 

be based upon a relative consideration of their 

qualifications for the position to be filled. 

Advantage will be given to applicants 

determined to be best qualified and hiring 

authorities must shall reasonably document 

hiring decisions to verify this advantage was 

granted and explain their basis for selection. 

(2) Selection procedures and methods will be 

validly related to the duties and responsibilities 

of the vacancy to be filled. In any vacancy 

instance, the same selection process will be 

used consistently with all the applicants. Equal 

employment consideration will be afforded. 

Reference checking and other means of 

verifying applicant qualifications may be 

employed as necessary. It should be recognized 

and explained to persons applicants selected 

that the probationary period is a required 

extension of the selection process. 

(b)  Minimum Qualifications: 

(1) The employee or applicant must possess at least 

the training and experience requirements, or 

their minimum equivalent, set forth in the state 

class specification for the class of the position 

to be filled. This shall apply in new 

appointments, promotions, demotions, 

transfers, and reinstatements. 

(2) The training and experience requirements serve 

as indicators of the possession of the skills, 

knowledges, and abilities which have been 

shown through job evaluation to be important 

to successful performance, and as a guide to 

primary sources of recruitment. It is recognized 

that a specific quantity of formal education or 

numbers of years of experience does not always 

guarantee possession of the necessary skills, 

knowledges, and abilities for every position. 

Qualifications necessary to perform 

successfully may be attained in a variety of 

combinations. In evaluating qualifications, 

reasonable substitutions of formal education 

and job-related experience, one for the other, 

will be made upon request by the local 

appointing authority to the appropriate state 

review agency. 

(3) Management is responsible for determining the 

vacancy-specific qualifications that are an 

addition to minimum class standards. Such 

qualification requirements must bear a logical 

and job-related relationship to the minimum 

standard. Management shall be accountable for 

the adverse effects resulting from the use of 

qualification standards that are +unreasonably 

construed. 

(4) The review authority for qualifications in 

questionable selection situations rests first with 

the respective Regional Personnel Office and 

Central Office of the Department of Human 

Resources, or in the state Office of Crime 

Control and Public Safety, and finally with the 

Office of State Human Resources. 

(a)  Selection of Applicants: 

(1) Agencies shall select from the pool of the most 

qualified persons to fill vacant positions. 

Employment shall be offered based upon the 

job-related qualifications of applicants for 

employment using fair and valid selection 

criteria and not on political affiliation or 

political influence. 

(2) Using fair and valid selection criteria, the 

agency shall review the credentials of each 

applicant in order to determine who possesses 

the minimum qualifications including selective 

criteria. "Selective criteria" are defined as 

additional minimum qualifications identified 

by the agency. From those applicants who meet 

the minimum qualifications, a pool of the most 

qualified candidates shall be identified. The 

pool of most qualified candidates shall be those 

individuals determined to be substantially more 

qualified than other applicants. The individual 

selected for the position shall be from among 

the most qualified applicants. 

(3) Selection procedures and methods shall be 

validly related to the duties and responsibilities 

of the vacancy to be filled. 

(4) The agency shall provide timely written notice 

of non-selection to all unsuccessful candidates 

in the most qualified pool. 

(b)  Minimum Qualifications: 

(1) The employee or applicant must possess at least 

the minimum qualifications set forth in the class 

specification of the vacancy being filled. 

Additional minimum qualifications, if any, 

included on the specific vacancy announcement 

must also be met. The additional qualifications 

shall have a documented business need. 

Qualifications include training, experience, 

competencies and knowledge, skills and 

abilities. The minimum qualifications on the 

vacancy announcement shall bear a direct and 

logical relationship to the minimums on the 

class specification, class administration 

guidelines developed by the Office of State 

Human Resources, and the specific position 

description. This requirement shall apply in 

new appointments, promotions, demotions or 

reassignments, transfers, and reinstatements. 

(2) Qualifications necessary to perform 

successfully may be attained in a variety of 

combinations. Reasonable substitutions of 

formal training and job-related experience, one 

for the other, may be made. 
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(3) Agency management is responsible for 

determining and defending the vacancy-

specific qualifications that are in addition to 

minimum training and experience 

requirements. Such vacancy-specific 

qualifications shall bear a logical and job-

related relationship to the minimum 

requirements. 

(4) The Office of State Human Resources shall 

make the final determination as to whether the 

employee or applicant meets the minimum 

qualifications in questionable selection 

situations. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

SECTION .2000 - APPOINTMENT AND SEPARATION 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2003 PROMOTION 

(a)  A promotion is a change to a classification at a higher level. 

Promotion is an advancement from one position to another with a 

higher salary grade. This may result from movement to another 

position or by the present position being reallocated to a higher 

classification as a result of increases in the level of duties and 

responsibilities. 

(b)  When it is practical and feasible, a vacancy should be filled 

by promotion of a qualified permanent employee. Selection for 

promotion should be based upon demonstrated capacity, and 

quality of services. If promotion results from movement to 

another position, the candidate must possess the minimum 

training and experience for the class. If the promotion results from 

the present position being reallocated to a higher classification, 

the employee may be promoted by waiver of the stated training 

and experience requirements. requirements if he has satisfactorily 

performed for a minimum of three months prior to the 

reallocation. 

(c)  An employee in a work-against appointment cannot be 

promoted, upon reallocation of his position, by waiver of training 

and experience requirements until he has served at least one year 

in the work-against class or until qualified for the new class. The 

incumbent in a work-against situation must be promoted as soon 

as he meets the qualifications for the higher class or the position 

must be reallocated to the lower class. 

(d)  An employee in probationary or trainee status may be 

promoted to another position in a higher classification if the 

person is qualified for such an appointment. The employee's 

probationary period will continue until performance meets the 

required standard, as certified by the appointing authority, except 

that in no case shall the duration be longer than nine months after 

initial probationary appointment (unless the person is in trainee 

status). for the duration defined in G.S. 126-1.1. 

(e)  An employee in probationary status occupying a position at 

the time it is reallocated upward may be promoted to the new class 

if the person possesses the minimum training and experience 

requirements; if not qualified the employee shall remain at the 

former level working against the higher classification or be 

separated. If promoted during the probationary period, the 

employee will continue in probationary status until performance 

meets the required standard, but in no case shall the duration be 

longer than nine months after the duration defined in G.S. 126-1.1 

has been satisfied, beginning with the initial probationary 

appointment. (unless the person is in trainee status). 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

SECTION .2100 - COMPENSATION 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2105 OTHER PAY 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4; 126-5; 126-9. 

 

SECTION .2300 - DISCIPLINARY ACTION: 

SUSPENSION, DISMISSAL AND APPEALS 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2302 DISMISSAL FOR 

UNSATISFACTORY PERFORMANCE OF DUTIES 

(a)  Unsatisfactory Job Performance is work related performance 

that fails to satisfactorily meet job requirements as specified in the 

relevant job description, work plan or as directed by the 

management of the work unit or agency. 

(b)  The intent of this Section is to assist and promote improved 

employee performance, rather than to punish. This Rule covers all 

types of performance-related inadequacies. This Section does not 

require that successive disciplinary actions all concern the same 

type of unsatisfactory performance. Disciplinary actions related 

to personal conduct may be included in the successive system for 

performance-related dismissal provided that the employee 

receives at least the number of disciplinary actions, regardless of 

the basis of the disciplinary actions, required for dismissal on the 

basis of inadequate performance. Disciplinary actions 

administered under this Section are intended to bring about a 

permanent improvement in job performance. Should the required 

improvement later deteriorate, or other inadequacies occur, the 

supervisor may deal with this new unsatisfactory performance 

with further disciplinary action. 

(c)  In order to be dismissed for a current incident of unsatisfactory 

job performance, an employee must first receive at least two prior 

disciplinary actions: First, one or more written warnings, followed 

by a warning or other disciplinary action which notifies the 

employee that failure to make the required performance 

improvements may result in dismissal. 

(d)  Prior to the decision to dismiss an employee, the agency 

director or designated management representative must conduct a 

pre-dismissal pre-disciplinary conference with the employee in 

accordance with the procedural requirements of the Section. 

(e)  An employee who is dismissed must receive written notice of 

the specific reasons for the dismissal as well as notice of any 

applicable appeal rights. 

(f)  Failure to give specific written reasons for the dismissal, 

failure to give written notice of applicable appeal rights, or failure 

to conduct a pre-dismissal pre-disciplinary conference constitute 

procedural violations with remedies as provided for in 25 NCAC 

01B .0432. 25 NCAC 01J .1316. Time limits for filing a grievance 

do not start until the employee receives written notice of any 

applicable appeal rights. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4; 126-35. 
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25 NCAC 01I .2303 DISMISSAL FOR GROSSLY 

INEFFICIENT JOB PERFORMANCE 

(a)  Gross Inefficiency (Grossly Inefficient Job Performance) 

Grossly Inefficient Job Performance occurs in instances in which 

the employee fails to satisfactorily perform job requirements as 

specified in the job description, work plan, or as directed by the 

management of the work unit or agency and that failure results in: 

(1) the creation of the potential for death or serious 

harm bodily injury to a client(s), an 

employee(s), members of the public or to a 

person(s) death or serious harm or the creation 

of the potential for death or serious harm, to a 

client(s), an employee(s), members of the 

public or to a person(s) over whom the 

employee has responsibility; or 

(2) the loss of or damage to agency property or 

funds that result in a serious impact on the 

agency or work unit. 

(b)  Dismissal on the basis of grossly inefficient job performance 

is administered in the same manner as for unacceptable personal 

conduct. Employees may be dismissed on the basis of a current 

incident of grossly inefficient job performance without any prior 

disciplinary action. 

(c)  Prior to dismissal of an employee with permanent career status 

on the basis of grossly inefficient job performance, there shall be 

a pre-dismissal pre-disciplinary conference between the employee 

and the agency director or designated management representative. 

This conference shall be held in accordance with the provisions 

of 25 NCAC 01I .2308. 

(d)  Dismissal for grossly inefficient job performance requires 

written notification to the employee. Such notification must 

include specific reasons for the dismissal and notice of the 

employee's right of appeal. 

(e)  Failure to give specific written reasons for the dismissal, 

failure to give written notice of applicable appeal rights, or failure 

to conduct a pre-dismissal pre-disciplinary conference constitute 

procedural violations with remedies as provided for in 25 NCAC 

01B .0432. 25 NCAC 01J .1316. Time limits for filing a grievance 

do not start until the employee receives written notice of any 

applicable appeal rights. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4(7a). 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2304 DISMISSAL FOR 

UNACCEPTABLE PERSONAL CONDUCT 

(a)  Employees may be dismissed for a current incident of 

unacceptable personal conduct. conduct without any prior active 

disciplinary actions. 

(b)  Unacceptable personal conduct is: 

(1) conduct on or off the job that is reasonably 

related to the employee's job duties and 

responsibilities for which no reasonable person 

should expect to receive prior warning; or 

(2) job related conduct which constitutes violation 

of state or federal law; or 

(3) conviction of a felony or an offense involving 

moral turpitude that is detrimental to or impacts 

the employee's service to the agency; or 

(4) the willful violation of known or written work 

rules; or 

(5) conduct unbecoming an employee that is 

detrimental to the agency's service; or 

(6) the abuse of client(s), patient(s), student(s) or a 

person(s) over whom the employee has charge 

or to whom the employee has a responsibility, 

or of an animal owned or in the custody of the 

agency; or 

(7) falsification of an employment application or 

other employment documentation; or 

(8) insubordination which is the willful failure or 

refusal to carry out a reasonable order from an 

authorized supervisor. Insubordination is 

considered unacceptable personal conduct for 

which any level of discipline, including 

dismissal, may be imposed without prior 

warning; or 

(9) absence from work after all authorized leave 

credits and benefits have been exhausted. 

exhausted; 

(10) failure to maintain or obtain necessary 

credentials or certifications. 

(c)  Prior to dismissal of an employee with permanent career status 

on the basis of unacceptable personal conduct, there shall be a pre-

dismissal pre-disciplinary conference between the employee and 

the agency director or designated management representative. 

This pre-disciplinary conference shall be held in accordance with 

the provisions of 25 NCAC 01I .2308. 

(d)  Dismissals for unacceptable job performance personal 

conduct require written notification to the employee. Such written 

notification must include specific reasons for the dismissal and 

notice of the employee's right of appeal. 

(e)  Failure to give specific written reasons for the dismissal, 

failure to give written notice of applicable appeal rights, or failure 

to conduct a pre-dismissal pre-disciplinary conference constitute 

procedural violations with remedies as provided for in 25 NCAC 

01B .0432. 25 NCAC 01J .1316. Time limits for filing a grievance 

do not start until the employee receives written notice of any 

applicable appeal rights. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 126-34. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2305 WRITTEN WARNING 

(a)  The supervisor shall monitor and promote the satisfactory 

performance of work assignments and acceptable standards of 

personal conduct. assure that employees do not engage in 

unacceptable personal conduct. All types of performance-related 

job inadequacies may constitute unsatisfactory job performance 

under this Section. Unacceptable personal conduct may be 

work-related or non-work-related conduct and may be intentional 

or unintentional. When the supervisor determines that disciplinary 

action is appropriate for unsatisfactory job performance, a written 

warning is the first type of disciplinary action that an employee 

must shall receive. The supervisor may elect to issue a written 

warning for grossly inefficient job performance or unacceptable 

personal conduct. The written warning must: shall: 
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(1) Inform the employee in writing that this is a 

written warning, and not some other 

non-disciplinary process such as counseling; 

(2) Inform the employee of the specific issues that 

are the basis for the warning; 

(3) Tell the employee what specific improvements 

corrections, if applicable, must be made to 

address these specific issues; 

(4) Tell the employee the time frame allowed for 

making the required improvements/corrections. 

corrections. Absent a specified time frame, 60 

days is the time frame allowed for correcting 

unsatisfactory job performance. Immediate 

correction is required for grossly inefficient job 

performance or unacceptable personal conduct; 

(5) Tell the employee the consequences of failing 

to make the required 

improvements/corrections. corrections; and 

(6) Tell the employee of any appeal rights provided 

by agency policy. 

(b)  A written warning must shall be issued in accordance with the 

procedural requirements of this Section. Section, including any 

applicable appeal rights. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2306 DISCIPLINARY SUSPENSION 

WITHOUT PAY 

(a)  An employee may be suspended without pay for disciplinary 

purposes for unsatisfactory job performance after the receipt of at 

least one prior disciplinary action or without any prior warning for 

causes relating to any form of unacceptable personal conduct or 

grossly inefficient job performance. A disciplinary suspension 

without pay for an employee who is subject to the overtime 

compensation provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) 

must be for at least one full work day, but not more than two full 

work weeks. Prior to placing any employee on disciplinary 

suspension without pay pay, the agency director or designated a 

management representative shall conduct a pre-suspension pre-

disciplinary conference with the employee in accordance with the 

procedural requirements of this Section. An employee who has 

been suspended without pay must be furnished a statement in 

writing setting forth the specific acts or omissions that are the 

reasons for the suspension and the employee's appeal rights. 

(b)  An agency may impose has the option of imposing the same 

periods of disciplinary suspension without pay for upon all 

employees as long as the period is the same as for employees 

exempt from the overtime provisions of the FLSA as set forth in 

this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4(6); 126-35. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2307 DEMOTION 

(a)  Any employee may be demoted as a disciplinary measure. 

Demotion may be made on the basis of either unsatisfactory or 

grossly inefficient job performance or unacceptable personal 

conduct. 

(b)(1) Unsatisfactory Job Performance. An employee 

may be demoted for unsatisfactory job 

performance after the employee has received at 

least one prior disciplinary action. 

(c)(2) Grossly Inefficient Job Performance. An 

employee may be demoted for grossly 

inefficient job performance without any prior 

disciplinary action. 

(d)(3) Unacceptable Personal Conduct. An employee 

may be demoted for unacceptable personal 

conduct without any prior disciplinary action. 

(e)(4) An employee who is demoted must shall 

receive written notice of the specific reasons for 

the demotion, as well as notice of any 

applicable appeal rights. 

(f)(b)  Disciplinary demotions may be accomplished in three 

ways: 

(1) The employee may be demoted to a lower pay 

grade with a reduction in salary rate as long as 

the new salary rate does not exceed the 

maximum of the salary range for the new lower 

pay grade; grade; or 

(2) The employee may be demoted to a lower pay 

grade without a reduction in salary rate as long 

as the new salary rate does not exceed the 

maximum of the salary rate for the new lower 

pay grade; or 

(3) The employee may be demoted while retaining 

the same pay grade with a reduction in salary 

rate. In no event shall an employee's salary rate 

be reduced to less than the minimum salary rate 

for the applicable pay grade. grade or the 

special entry rate, if in effect. 

(g)(c)  Prior to the decision to demote an employee for 

disciplinary reasons, the agency director or designated a 

management representative must shall conduct a pre-demotion 

pre-disciplinary conference with the employee in accordance with 

the procedural requirements of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4. 

 

25 NCAC 01I .2310 APPEALS 

(a) An employee with permanent career status as defined in G.S. 

126-1.1 who has been demoted, suspended or dismissed shall 

have 15 calendar days from the date of his receipt of written notice 

of such action to file an appeal with his agency or county 

grievance procedure. procedure whichever is applicable. If an 

employee does not appeal his demotion, suspension or dismissal 

through the agency grievance procedure within 15 calendar days, 

then the employee shall have no right to file a contested case with 

the Office of Administrative Hearings under G.S. 126-35. 

Grievances which do not allege discrimination must follow the 

agency or county grievance procedure. An appeal of a final 

agency decision must be filed in accordance with G.S. 150B-23 

within 30 calendar days of receipt of the final agency decision. 

Grievances which allege unlawful workplace harassment must be 

submitted in writing to agency management, within 30 calendar 

days of the alleged harassing action, and the agency must be given 

60 calendar days in which to take remedial action, if any, unless 

the agency has waived the 60-day period, and the employee has 

acknowledged such waiver. An appeal to the State Human 
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Resources Commission of unlawful workplace harassment must 

be filed with the Office of Administrative Hearings in accordance 

with G.S. 150B-23 and within 30 calendar days of written 

notification of the remedial action, if any, taken by the agency. 

(b) Grievances which allege discrimination not including 

unlawful workplace harassment may at the election of the 

employee, proceed through the agency or county procedure or 

proceed directly to the State Human Resources Commission 

(SHRC) for a hearing by the Office of Administrative Hearings 

(OAH) and a decision by the SHRC. A direct appeal to the SHRC 

(such appeal involving a contested case hearing by the OAH and 

a decision by that agency to the SPC) alleging discrimination not 

including unlawful workplace harassment must be filed in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-23 and must be filed within 30 

calendar days of receipt of notice of the alleged discriminatory 

act. 

(b) If an employee appeals his demotion, suspension or dismissal 

through the agency grievance procedure, then the initial dismissal 

letter written notice of such action shall not constitute the final 

agency decision, but the final agency decision shall be the 

decision made at the conclusion of the employee's appeal through 

the agency grievance procedure. 

(c) Grievances filed on an untimely basis (see G.S. 126-35, G.S. 

126-36, and G.S. 126-38) must be dismissed. Allegations of 

discrimination, if raised more than 30 calendar days after the party 

alleging discrimination became aware or should have become 

aware of the alleged discrimination, must be dismissed. 

Grievances alleging unlawful workplace harassment raised more 

than 30 calendar days after written notification of remedial action, 

if any, taken by the agency must be dismissed. (a) An A An career 

state employee with permanent status with career status as defined 

in N. C. G. S. 126 - 1.1 who has been demoted, suspended without 

pay as a disciplinary measure or dismissed shall have 15 calendar 

days from the date of his or her receipt of written notice of such 

action to file an appeal with his or her agency or county grievance 

procedure, whichever is applicable. Grievances which do not 

allege discrimination must follow the agency or county grievance 

procedure. An appeal of a final agency decision must be filed with 

the Office of Administrative Hearings in accordance with G.S. 

150B-23 within 30 calendar days of receipt of the final agency 

decision. Grievances which allege unlawful workplace 

harassment must be submitted in writing to agency management, 

within 30 calendar days of the alleged harassing action, and the 

agency must be given 60 calendar days in which to take remedial 

action, if any, unless the agency has waived the 60-day period, 

and the employee has acknowledged such waiver. An appeal to 

the State Human Resources Commission Office of Administrative 

Hearings of unlawful workplace harassment must be filed with 

the Office of Administrative Hearings in accordance with G.S. 

150B-23 and within 30 calendar days of written notification of the 

remedial action, if any, taken by the agency. 

(c) Grievances that allege discrimination, harassment or 

retaliation shall follow the agency grievance procedure. 

Employees who do not follow the agency grievance procedure 

shall have no right to file a contested case with the Office of 

Administrative Hearings. 

(d) If the employee has completed the agency grievance process 

and is not satisfied with the Final Agency Decision, or is unable 

to obtain a final agency decision within 90 days from the date the 

grievance was filed, the employee may file a Petition for 

Contested Case Hearing in the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

A Petition for Contested Case Hearing must be filed within 30 

calendar days after the grievant receives the final agency decision. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-35; 126-36; 126-38; 150B-23; 150B-36. 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 17, 2018 

1346 

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission November 15 and November 26, 2018 at 

1711 New Hope Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule 

before the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  

Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing 

to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before 

the meeting.  Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (1st Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 
Jeffrey A. Poley Paul Powell 
Brian P. LiVecchi Jeanette Doran (2nd Vice Chair) 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May (919)431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919)431-3079 
Jason Thomas  (919)431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 January 17, 2019                February 21, 2019 
   March 21, 2019 April 18, 2019 
 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
November 15, 2018 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, November 15, 2018, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina Commissioners present were: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret 
Currin, Jeanette Doran, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Hyde, Jeff Poley, and Paul Powell. 
 
Commissioner Poley was not present during the discussion or vote on any matters coming before the Commission, except 
for the follow-up matter for DHHS/ Division of Medical Assistance. 
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsels Amber Cronk May, Amanda Reeder, and Jason Thomas; and Julie 
Brincefield, Alex Burgos, and Dana McGhee.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:03 a.m. with Chairman Dunklin presiding. 
 
Chairman Dunklin read the notice required by G.S. 163A-159 and reminded the Commission members that they have a 
duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
Chairman Dunklin asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the October 18, 2018 
meeting and the October 29, 2018 special meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Commission of Navigation and Pilotage for the Cape Fear River and Bar 
04 NCAC 15 .0119, .0121, .0123, .0124, .0127, and .0128 – All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement 
The agency is addressing the objections for 08 NCAC 02 .0112, .0113; 03 .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0201, 
.0202, .0301, .0302; 04 .0302, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307; 06B .0103, .0104, .0105; 08 .0104; 09 .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109; 
10B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107. No action was required by the Commission. 
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Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement, Commissioner Doran recused herself 
and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because she has a matter pending before the Board. 
 
DHHS/Division of Medical Assistance  
10A NCAC 22F .0301 was approved with Commissioners Doran and Hyde voting against. Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c), 
the Commission found that the submission was responsive to the Commission’s objection; however, the Commission also 
found that the changes were substantial 
requiring the revised rule to be published and reviewed in accordance with the procedure set forth in G.S. 150B-21.1(a3) 
and (b).  
 
10A NCAC 22J .0106 was unanimously approved. 
 
The Commission received over 10 letters of objection in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2), requesting a delayed effective 
date and legislative review of 10A NCAC 22J .0106. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from DHHS/Division of Medical Assistance, Commissioner Poley recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because his law firm represents a party. 
 
Matt Wolfe, a Partner with Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein, addressed the Commission. 
 
Jeff Horton, the Executive Director of the North Carolina Senior Living Association, addressed the Commission. 
 
Kathy McGraw, with the Attorney General’s Office representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Matthew Cochran, with the Law Firm of Ott Cone & Redpath, addressed the Commission. 
 
Ronnie Cook, with the North Carolina Healthcare Association, addressed the Commission. 
 
Richard Rutherford, Senior Manager with SebraCare, Inc., addressed the Commission. 
 
Steve Keene, General Counsel with the Medical Society, addressed the Commission. 
 
Ryan Eppenberger, the rulemaking coordinator with DHHS/Division of Health Benefits, addressed the Commission. 
 
Commission for the Blind 
The agency is addressing the objections for 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, and .0601. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
12 NCAC 09B .0203, .0301; 09G .0102, .0504, .0505, and .0701 were unanimously approved.  
 
12 NCAC 09B .0101 and 09G .0304 were withdrawn at the request of the agency. 
 
The agency is addressing the objection to 12 NCAC 09G .0103. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Department of Public Safety 
14B NCAC 07A .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0110, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0118, and .0119 
– The agency is addressing the technical change requests from the October meeting. No action was required by the 
Commission.  
 
The agency is addressing the objections for 14B NCAC 01C .0401 and .0402. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Water Pollution Control System Operator Certification Commission 
15A NCAC 08F .0406 and 08G .0802 – All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Commission for Public Health 
15A NCAC 18E .0601, .0602, .0701, .0702, .0703, .0901, .0902, .0903, .0904, .0905, .0906, .0907, .0908, .0909, .0910, 
.0911, .1001, .1002, .1101, .1102, .1103, .1104, .1105, .1106, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206, .1302, .1303, .1304, 
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.1305, .1306, .1307, .1701, .1702, .1703, .1704, .1705, .1706, .1707, .1709, .1710, .1711, .1712, and .1713 – The rules 
were unanimously approved. 
 
The Commission received over 10 letters of objection in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2), requesting a delayed effective 
date and legislative review of 15A NCAC 18E .1002, .1101, .1102, .1104, .1105, .1106, 1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206, 
.1303, .1304, .1305, .1306, .1307, .1701, .1702, .1703, .1704, .1705, .1706, .1707, .1709, .1710, .1711, .1712, and .1713. 
 
Board of Registration for Foresters 
21 NCAC 20 .0103 and .0104 – All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Pre-Reviewed Rules 
DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02K  
15A NCAC 02K .0212 was unanimously approved. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 13B 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Water Treatment Facility Operators Certification Board  
15A NCAC 18D .0206 was unanimously approved. 
 
Medical Board 
21 NCAC 32Y .0101 was unanimously approved. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Medical Board, Commissioner Atkins recused himself and did not participate in any 
discussion or vote concerning the rule because of a conflict. 
 
Non Pre-Reviewed Rules 
Department of Insurance 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Industrial Commission 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Nursing  
The Commission extended the period of review for these Rules in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. They did so in 
response to a request from the Board of Nursing to extend the period in order to allow the agency to make technical changes 
and submit the rewritten rules at a later meeting. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Nursing, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not participate in any 
discussion or vote concerning the rules because her law firm provides legal services to the Board, including questions on 
rulemaking from time to time. 
 
Building Code Council 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
EXISTING RULES REVIEW 
DHHS/Division of Health Service Regulation 
10A NCAC 14C – The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency. 
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Department of Insurance 
11 NCAC 05 -  The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency. 
11 NCAC 07 - The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency. 
 
Commission for Public Health 
15A NCAC 18A - The Commission did not address the report based upon the October 29th meeting. 
 
Private Protective Services Board 
14B NCAC 16 – As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
April 30, 2020 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 02L - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
November 30, 2022 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
Department of Environmental Quality 
15A NCAC 07O - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
November 30, 2021 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
Auctioneer Licensing Board 
21 NCAC 04 - The agency requested an extension of the schedule for readoption until February 29, 2020 for rules subject 
to readoption in 21 NCAC 04.    
 
The extension request was approved, with Commissioner Doran voting against.  
 
The Commission rescheduled the date of readoption for the rules subject to readoption in 21 NCAC 04. The agency will 
readopt the rules no later than February 29, 2020 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
The Chair called the meeting into a brief recess at 10:19 a.m. The meeting resumed at 10:27 a.m. 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
At 11:52 a.m., upon a motion and second, and unanimous vote, the Commission ended the public meeting of the Rules 
Review Commission and called the meeting into closed session pursuant to G.S. 143-318.11(a)(3) to discuss the lawsuit 
filed by the Department of Health and Human Services against the Rules Review Commission. 
 
The Commission came out of closed session and reconvened at 1:25 p.m. 
 
The meeting adjourned at 1:25 p.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, December 13th at 9:00 a.m. 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Garth Dunklin, Chair 
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

November 15, 2018 Meeting 
 

NAVIGATION AND PILOTAGE FOR THE CAPE FEAR RIVER AND BAR, COMMISSION OF 

Number of Pilots 04 NCAC 15 .0119 

Apprenticeship 04 NCAC 15 .0121 

Incidents or Accidents Involving Pilots 04 NCAC 15 .0123 

Movement of Vessels 04 NCAC 15 .0124 

Pilotage Rates 04 NCAC 15 .0127 

Fees 04 NCAC 15 .0128 

 
HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .2101 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .2103 

 
HHS - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE, DIVISION OF 

Provider Billing of Patients who are Medicaid Recipients 10A NCAC 22J .0106 

 
INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Consent To Rate Procedures: Rate Bureau Coverages 11 NCAC 10 .0602 

Consent To Rate Procedures: Commercial Coverages 11 NCAC 10 .0603 

Consent To Rate Auto Liability Coverage 11 NCAC 10 .0605 

Consent To Rate Procedures 11 NCAC 10 .0606 

 
INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

Location of Main Office and Hours of Business 11 NCAC 23A .0101 

Official Forms 11 NCAC 23A .0102 

Notice of Accident and Claim of Injury or Occupational Di... 11 NCAC 23A .0103 

Electronic Filings with the Commission; How to File 11 NCAC 23A .0108 

Required Contact Information from Carriers 11 NCAC 23A .0302 

Safety Rules 11 NCAC 23A .0411 

Notice of Last Payment Filing Requirement 11 NCAC 23A .0503 

Request for Hearing 11 NCAC 23A .0602 

Responding to a Party's Request for Hearing 11 NCAC 23A .0603 

Statement of Incident Leading to Claim 11 NCAC 23A .0608 

Medical Motions and Emergency Medical Motions 11 NCAC 23A .0609A 

Pre-Trial Agreement 11 NCAC 23A .0610 

Hearings Before the Commission 11 NCAC 23A .0611 

Disqualification of a Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner 11 NCAC 23A .0618 

 
CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Admission of Trainees 12 NCAC 09B .0203 

Certification of Instructors 12 NCAC 09B .0301 

Definitions 12 NCAC 09G .0102 

Suspension: Revocation: or Denial of Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0504 

Period of Suspension: Revocation: or Denial 12 NCAC 09G .0505 

Report: Application: and Certification Forms 12 NCAC 09G .0701 

 
 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 17, 2018 

1362 

SHERIFFS EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Documentation of Educational Requirement 12 NCAC 10B .0302 

Evaluation for Training Waiver 12 NCAC 10B .0505 

Training for School Resource Officers 12 NCAC 10B .0510 

Minimum Training Requirements 12 NCAC 10B .2005 

 
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

Definitions 14B NCAC 15A .2201 

Collector Transport or Sale Permits 14B NCAC 15A .2202 

Permissible Sales Under Collector Transport or Sale Permit 14B NCAC 15A .2203 

Special Auction Permits 14B NCAC 15A .2204 

Conditions of Sale Under Special Auction Permits 14B NCAC 15A .2205 

 
ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Additional Design Requirements 15A NCAC 02K .0212 

 
WATER POLLUTION CONTROL SYSTEM OPERATOR CERTIFICATION COMMISSION 

Revocation, Relinqushment or Invalidation of Certification 15A NCAC 08F .0406 

Disciplinary Actions 15A NCAC 08G .0802 

 
ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Definitions 15A NCAC 13B .1101 

Application Fee and Annual Permit Fee 15A NCAC 13B .1102 

Generator of Scrap Tires 15A NCAC 13B .1103 

General Conditions 15A NCAC 13B .1104 

Permit Required 15A NCAC 13B .1105 

Scrap Tire Collection Site Permit Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1106 

Scrap Tire Collection Site Operational Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1107 

Scrap Tire Disposal Site Permit and Operational Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1108 

Closure of Non-Conforming Sites 15A NCAC 13B .1109 

Scrap Tire Processing Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .1110 

 
WATER TREATMENT FACILITY OPERATORS CERTIFICATION BOARD 

Certified Operator Required 15A NCAC 18D .0206 

 
PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Location of Wastewater Systems 15A NCAC 18E .0601 

Applicability of Setbacks 15A NCAC 18E .0602 

Collection Sewers 15A NCAC 18E .0701 

Raw Sewage Lift Stations 15A NCAC 18E .0702 

Pipe Materials 15A NCAC 18E .0703 

General Design and Installation Criteria for Subsurface D... 15A NCAC 18E .0901 

Conventional Wastewater Systems 15A NCAC 18E .0902 

Bed Systems 15A NCAC 18E .0903 

Large Diameter Pipe Systems 15A NCAC 18E .0904 

Prefabricated Permeable Block Panel Systems 15A NCAC 18E .0905 

Sand Lined Trench Systems 15A NCAC 18E .0906 

Low Pressure Pipe Systems 15A NCAC 18E .0907 

Drip Dispersal Systems 15A NCAC 18E .0908 
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Fill Systems 15A NCAC 18E .0909 

Artificial Drainage Systems 15A NCAC 18E .0910 

Privies 15A NCAC 18E .0911 

Alternative Toilets 15A NCAC 18E .1001 

Reclaimed Water Systems 15A NCAC 18E .1002 

General Dosing System Requirements 15A NCAC 18E .1101 

Pump Dosing 15A NCAC 18E .1102 

Control Panels 15A NCAC 18E .1103 

Siphon Dosing 15A NCAC 18E .1104 

Timed Dosing 15A NCAC 18E .1105 

Pressure Dosed Gravity Distribution Devices 15A NCAC 18E .1106 

Advanced Pretreatment System Standards 15A NCAC 18E .1201 

Siting and Sizing Criteria for Advanced Pretreatment Syst... 15A NCAC 18E .1202 

Siting and Sizing Criteria for Advanced Pretreatment Syst... 15A NCAC 18E .1203 

Advanced Pretreatment Dispersal Systems 15A NCAC 18E .1204 

Advanced Pretreatment Sand Lined Trench Systems 15A NCAC 18E .1205 

Advanced Pretreatment Bed Systems 15A NCAC 18E .1206 

Operation and Maintenance of Advanced Pretreatment Systems 15A NCAC 18E .1302 

Owner Responsibilities for Wastewater System Operation an... 15A NCAC 18E .1303 

Management Entity Responsibilities for Wastewater System ... 15A NCAC 18E .1304 

Local Health Department Responsibilities for Wastewater S... 15A NCAC 18E .1305 

System Malfunction and Repair 15A NCAC 18E .1306 

Wastewater Systems Abandonment 15A NCAC 18E .1307 

General 15A NCAC 18E .1701 

Application 15A NCAC 18E .1702 

Department of Commission Application Review 15A NCAC 18E .1703 

Approval Criteria for Provisional Systems 15A NCAC 18E .1704 

Approval Criteria for Innovative Systems 15A NCAC 18E .1705 

Approval Criteria for Accepted Systems 15A NCAC 18E .1706 

Design and Installation Criteria for Provisional, Innovat... 15A NCAC 18E .1707 

Wastewater Sampling Requirements for Advanced Pretreatmen... 15A NCAC 18E .1709 

Compliance Criteria for Advanced Pretreatment Systems 15A NCAC 18E .1710 

Provisional and Innovative Approval Renewal 15A NCAC 18E .1711 

Authorized Designers, Installers, and Management Entities 15A NCAC 18E .1712 

Local Health Department Responsibilities 15A NCAC 18E .1713 

 
FORESTERS, BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR 

Qualifications for Registration 21 NCAC 20 .0103 

Examinations 21 NCAC 20 .0104 

 
MEDICAL BOARD 

Reporting Criteria 21 NCAC 32Y .0101 

 
BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Residential Code/Tying and bracing of wood piles  R4603.6 

2018 NC Residential Code/Girder Connection to Side of Post  AM105.1 

2018 NC Fire Prevention Code/Vehicles  314.4 

2018 NC Building Code/Stairway Doors  1010.1.9.11 
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2017 NC Electrical Code/Definition. Closet Storage Space  410.2 

2017 Electrical Code/Luminaires in Clothes Closets  410.16 

 

 
RRC Determination 

Periodic Rule Review 
November 15, 2018 

Necessary with substantive public interest 
 
HHS - Health Service Regulation, 
Division of 
10A NCAC 14C .0202 
10A NCAC 14C .0203 
10A NCAC 14C .0205 
10A NCAC 14C .0303 
10A NCAC 14C .1102 
10A NCAC 14C .1401 
10A NCAC 14C .1403 
10A NCAC 14C .1601 
10A NCAC 14C .1603 
10A NCAC 14C .1701 
10A NCAC 14C .1703 
10A NCAC 14C .1901 
10A NCAC 14C .1903 
10A NCAC 14C .2001 

10A NCAC 14C .2003 
10A NCAC 14C .2101 
10A NCAC 14C .2103 
10A NCAC 14C .2201 
10A NCAC 14C .2203 
10A NCAC 14C .2301 
10A NCAC 14C .2303 
10A NCAC 14C .2401 
10A NCAC 14C .2403 
10A NCAC 14C .2501 
10A NCAC 14C .2503 
10A NCAC 14C .2601 
10A NCAC 14C .2603 
10A NCAC 14C .2701 
10A NCAC 14C .2703 
10A NCAC 14C .2801 

10A NCAC 14C .2803 
10A NCAC 14C .3701 
10A NCAC 14C .3703 
10A NCAC 14C .3801 
10A NCAC 14C .3803 
10A NCAC 14C .3901 
10A NCAC 14C .3903 
10A NCAC 14C .4001 
10A NCAC 14C .4003 
 
Insurance, Department of 
11 NCAC 05B .0301 
11 NCAC 05D .0113 
11 NCAC 05D .0114 
11 NCAC 05D .0115 
 

 

 
RRC Determination 

Periodic Rule Review 
November 15, 2018 

Necessary without substantive public interest 
 
HHS - Health Service Regulation, 
Division of 
10A NCAC 14C .0102 
10A NCAC 14C .0204 
10A NCAC 14C .0402 
 
Insurance, Department of 
11 NCAC 05A .0101 
11 NCAC 05A .0103 
11 NCAC 05A .0202 
11 NCAC 05A .0302 
11 NCAC 05A .0303 
11 NCAC 05A .0602 
11 NCAC 05A .0603 

11 NCAC 05A .0604 
11 NCAC 05A .0701 
11 NCAC 05A .0702 
11 NCAC 05A .0703 
11 NCAC 05A .0705 
11 NCAC 05A .0801 
11 NCAC 05B .0101 
11 NCAC 05B .0102 
11 NCAC 05B .0103 
11 NCAC 05B .0201 
11 NCAC 05B .0202 
11 NCAC 05B .0302 
11 NCAC 05B .0303 
11 NCAC 05B .0401 

11 NCAC 05B .0402 
11 NCAC 05B .0501 
11 NCAC 05B .0502 
11 NCAC 05C .0101 
11 NCAC 05C .0102 
11 NCAC 05C .0103 
11 NCAC 07 .0101 
11 NCAC 07 .0105 
11 NCAC 07 .0106 
11 NCAC 07 .0303 
11 NCAC 07 .0304 
11 NCAC 07 .0305 
11 NCAC 07 .0306 
 

 

 
RRC Determination 

Periodic Rule Review 
November 15, 2018 

Unnecessary 
 
HHS - Health Service Regulation, 
Division of 
10A NCAC 14C .0101 
10A NCAC 14C .0206 
10A NCAC 14C .0207 

10A NCAC 14C .0208 
10A NCAC 14C .0209 
10A NCAC 14C .0301 
10A NCAC 14C .0304 
10A NCAC 14C .0501 

10A NCAC 14C .0502 
10A NCAC 14C .1201 
10A NCAC 14C .1203 
10A NCAC 14C .1301 
10A NCAC 14C .1303 
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10A NCAC 14C .1501 
10A NCAC 14C .1503 
10A NCAC 14C .2901 
10A NCAC 14C .2903 
10A NCAC 14C .3401 
10A NCAC 14C .3403 
10A NCAC 14C .3601 
10A NCAC 14C .3603 

Insurance, Department of 
11 NCAC 05D .0101 
11 NCAC 05D .0102 
11 NCAC 05D .0103 
11 NCAC 05D .0104 
11 NCAC 05D .0105 
11 NCAC 05D .0106 
11 NCAC 05D .0107 

11 NCAC 05D .0108 
11 NCAC 05D .0109 
11 NCAC 05D .0110 
11 NCAC 05D .0111 
11 NCAC 05D .0112 
11 NCAC 07 .0201 
 

 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING 

MINUTES 
November 26, 2018 

 
The Rules Review Commission met for a Special Telephonic Meeting on Monday, November 26, 2018.  Commissioners 
present were: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, Garth Dunklin, Brian 
LiVecchi, Jeff Poley, and Paul Powell.  The telephonic meeting was broadcast in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope 
Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina.   
 
Staff members present were Alex Burgos and Commission Counsel Amber May. 
 
The meeting was called to order at 2:01 p.m. with Chairman Dunklin presiding. 
 
Chairman Dunklin read the notice required by G.S. 163A-159 and reminded the Commission members that they have a 
duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts of interest. 
 
At 2:02 p.m., upon a motion and second, and unanimous vote, the Commission ended the public meeting of the Rules 
Review Commission and called the meeting into closed session pursuant to G.S. 143-318.11(a)(3) to discuss the lawsuit 
filed by the Department of Health and Human Services and the Commission for Public Health against the Rules Review 
Commission. 
 
The Commission came out of closed session and reconvened at 2:24 p.m.  
 
During the telephonic closed session meeting, Commissioner LiVecchi disconnected from the telephonic meeting and did 
not participate in the remainder of the meeting.   
 
Upon a motion and second, and unanimous vote, the Commission voted to adopt the following language for proposed 
legislative action:   
 

The rules adopted by the Commission for Public Health, codified in 15A NCAC 18A, which rules were 
determined to expire pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(b) on November 15, 2018 by decision of the Rules 
Review Commission (such decision having been stayed by Consent Temporary Restraining Order entered 
in Wake County Superior Court (18 CVS 13854) shall not expire pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(b), provided 
that the Commission for Public Health shall conduct the review process under G.S. 150B-21.3A(c), 
preserving comments made in the prior public comment period per G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(1), and submit the 
report to the Rules Review Commission on or before the 15th of April 2019 to be reviewed at the Rules 
Review Commission meeting in May 2019. In the event that the report is not submitted to the Rules Review 
Commission on or before the 15th of April 2019, the rules adopted by the Commission for Public Health, 
codified in 15A NCAC 18A, shall expire and shall be removed from the Code. 

 
The meeting adjourned at 2:26 p.m.   
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is December 13th at 9:00 a.m. 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Garth Dunklin, Chair 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

  
    PUBLISHED     

 

17 ABC 06296 10/24/2018; 

10/25/2018 

NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Bees Town Inc T/A Bees Town Ward 

  
          

 

17 DHR 04630 8/6/2018; 

10/9/2018 

Managed Health 

Resources, 

IncMHR), controlled 

by The Charlotte 

Mecklenburg 

Hospital Authority 

(CMHA) d/b/a 

Atrium Heatlh 

v. Cardinal Innovations Healthcare 

Solutions 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 01530 10/22/2018 Juaneza Kay Gooch v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services DSS Program 

Integrity Food Stamps 

Ward 

18 DHR 02146 10/26/2018 Emma P Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

18 DHR 02983 10/10/2018 Carla Denise Cook v. Department of Healh and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 DOJ 00592 10/10/2018 Jeffrey Laine 

Guyton 

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

18 DOJ 02968 10/30/2018 Robert O Laney Jr v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

May 

18 DOJ 02974 10/30/2018 Tyler Stockton v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

May 

  
    

 
    

 

18 DOL 01666 10/8/2018 Signature Payroll 

Services LLC D/B/A 

v. NC Department of Labor Ward 
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Signature Payroll 

Services 
  

    
 

    
 

  
    UNPUBLISHED     

 

18 ABC 03296 10/24/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Diversified Corp T/A Mansion Elkins 

  
          

 

18 BOG 05185 10/23/2018 Donald Bruce 

Nothdurft 

v. North Carolina Board for Licensing of 

Geologists 

Malherbe 

  
    

 
  

 
  

18 CPS 04672 10/19/2018 Patricia Nevins v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Mann 

  
            

18 CRA 04538 10/8/2018 Clinton Driggers Jr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

  
            

18 CSE 03326 10/3/2018 Derrick Nicholson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

18 CSE 03671 10/23/2018 William O Martin v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 DHR 03320 10/23/2018 Kezmit Howard v. The Division of Child Development and 

Early Education- Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 03448 10/24/2018 Joyce Sykes Fitch v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Public Health 

Environmental Health Section 

Overby 

18 DHR 03872 10/11/2018 Jennifer R Lewis 

Executive Director 

Youth Focus Inc 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Mental Health Licensure and 

Certification 

May 

18 DHR 04155 10/5/2018 Luis Reyes v. NC Office of EMS/Dept of Health & 

Human Services 

Mann 

18 DHR 04248 10/16/2018 Vanessa Diane 

Bradley 

v. DHHS Healthcare Registry Jacobs 

18 DHR 04614 10/11/2018 Sharpe and Williams 

Kesha Spaulding 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

18 DHR 04728 10/19/2018 Christopher D Quick v. Medicaid Mann 

18 DHR 04880 10/4/2018 Jesusito Rondon 

Guzman Tienda 

Mexicana La 

Posadita 2 

v. WIC Agency Elkins 

18 DHR 05125 10/24/2018 Paulette Powell v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 

18 DHR 05140 10/3/2018 Dianne Clark v. Dept of Health and Human Services, 

Division of Health Service 

Overby 

18 DHR 05220 10/25/2018 Daniel J Hall v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 
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18 DHR 05228 10/24/2018 Paradigm Inc Jason 

T Barnett Jeannette 

Barnett 

v. NCDHHS/ Office of Admin Hearing Jacobs 

  
          

 

18 DOJ 04889 10/10/2018 John Edward Suttles 

Jr. 

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Sutton 

18 DOJ 05016 10/10/2018 Derrick Demond Lee v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Jacobs 

18 DOJ 05261 10/19/2018 Stephen D Watson v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

  
          

 

18 DOT 02605 10/5/2018 Jannett Stickland 

Smith 

v. NC Department of Transportation Mann 

  
          

 

18 INS 04329 10/26/2018 Jennifer Weider v. North Carolina State Health Plan for 

Teachers and State Employees 

Overby 

18 INS 05085 10/31/2018 Robert Michael 

Absher 

v. State Health Plan of NC May 

  
          

 

18 OSP 04572 10/19/2018 Sanita Jefferies v. Murdoch Developmental Center Mann 
  

          
 

18 SOS 04165 10/5/2018 Paul Edward Nichols v. State of North Carolina Department of 

the Secretary of State 

Jacobs 

  
          

 

18 UNC 03931 10/5/2018 Lisa M Seaton v. UNC Hospital Patient Account Services Mann 

 

 




