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The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Social Services Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 

10A NCAC 10 .1201- .1205, amend the rule cited as 10A NCAC 

10 .0101, repeal the rules cited as 10A NCAC 10 .0202, .0301, 

.0501, .0901, and readopt with substantive changes the rules cited 

as 10A NCAC 10 .0102, .0201, .0203, .0306, .0307, .0310-.0312, 

.0502-.0506, .0601, .0701, .0902-.0910, .1001-.1007, and .1101-

.1103. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://ncchilddcare.ncdhhs.gov/Whats-New 

 

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: December 12, 2018 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: Division of Social Services, McBride Building, 820 

South Boylan Avenue, Conference Room 151, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The North Carolina Social 

Services Commission and the Division of Child Development and 

Early Education propose to readopt rules in 10A NCAC 10 in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A as part of the periodic review 

of rules process. The proposed rules direct the purchase of child 

care services with state and federal child care funds administered 

by the Division through the Subsidized Child Care Assistance 

Program. The Commission and the Division also propose to 

repeal Rules 10A NCAC 10 .0201, .0202, .0301, .0306, .0311, 

.0312, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0701, .0901, 

.0902, .0903, .0908, .1003, and .1005. In addition to repealing 

many rules, there are also rules that were rearranged to provide 

greater clarity and understanding to them such as: Rules .0101, 

.0203, .0601, .0904, .0906, .0907, .0909, .0910, .1001, .1002, 

.1004, .1006, .1007, .1101, .1103, .1202, and .1204. Rule .0102 

adds definitions that are used with the subsidized child care 

program. Proposed changes to Rule .0310 changes the name of 

the program and also clarifies language within the rule. Rule 

.1201 defines terms that are used in the appeals section. In Rule 

.0307 proposed language changes how attendance is entered in 

order to reimburse providers for services provided. Rule .0905 

clarifies language in the rule and changes post-secondary 

education maximum from 2 years to 20 months. Rule .1102 

clarifies language in the rule and changes language about the 

collection of recipient fees. Proposed language in Rule .1203 

changes the name of the rule, clarifies language in the rule and 

separates the appeals process for operators and recipients. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dedra Alston, 2201 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2201, phone (919) 527-6502, 

fax (919) 715-0970, email Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends: December 14, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected  10A NCAC 10 .0307 and 

.1102 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected  10A NCAC 10 .0307, .1102 

and .1203 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000)

 10A NCAC 10 .0905 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SUBSIDIZED CHILD CARE 

 

SECTION .0100 - IDENTIFYING AND GENERAL 

INFORMATION 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0101 SCOPE 

The rules in this Chapter govern the purchase of child care 

services with state and federal child care funds administered by 

the Division. The rules in this Chapter shall apply to child care 

facilities participating in the Subsidized Child Care Assistance 

Program. 
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Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-153; S.L. 1985, c. 757, s. 155(q). 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0102 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the terms defined in G.S. 110-86, 110-86(2), (3), 

(4a), (6), (7), and (8) the following definitions apply to the term 

used in this Chapter. shall apply: 

(1) "Child with special needs" means: 

(a) a child who is determined by the 

Division of Public Health, Children's 

Developmental Services Agency, to 

be developmentally delayed or have 

an established condition pursuant to 

10A NCAC 43G .0110, incorporated 

by reference including subsequent 

amendments. A copy of the Rule can 

be found at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title

%2010a%20%20health%20and%20h

uman%20services/chapter%2043%20

%20personal%20health/subchapter%

20g/10a%20ncac%2043g%20.0110.p

df; 

(b) a child who is determined by the local 

educational agency (LEA) to have a 

disability as defined in G.S. 115C-

106.3; or 

(c) a child who is determined to be a child 

with special needs by a Local 

Managing Entity - Managed Care 

Organization (LME-MCO) as defined 

in G.S. 122C-3(20b) and (20c). 

(1)(2) "Director" means the Director of the Division 

of Child Development and Early Education. 

(2)(3) "Division" means the Division of Child 

Development and Early Education, Department 

of Health and Human Services, located at 820 

South Boylan Avenue, Raleigh, North Carolina 

27603. 

(3)(4) "Foster Parent" parent" means anyone other 

than that a child's parent parent(s) or legal 

custodian custodian(s) who is providing full 

time care for a child who is in the custody of a 

North Carolina county department of social 

services. 

(5) "Funds" means all state and federal funds 

appropriated and otherwise made available to 

the Department of Health and Human Services 

that are administered by the Division of Child 

Development and Early Education for the 

Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program. 

(4)(6) "Homeless Children" children" means the 

definition as defined in section 725(2) of the 

McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act, 42 

U.S.C. 11434a(2), which is hereby incorporated 

by reference and includes including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy of the Act 

can be found at 

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2016-03-

17/pdf/2016-06073.pdf. 

(7) "Legal Guardian" means a person appointed by 

a court to be legally in charge of the affairs of a 

minor. 

(5)(8) "Local Purchasing Agency" means the local 

agency responsible for administering the state's 

subsidized child care program. Subsidized 

Child Care Assistance Program. 

(9) "Market Rates" means rates that more than half 

of private paying parents in the locality are 

paying for child care. 

(10) "NC FAST" means the electronic integrated 

case management system, developed and 

managed by the North Carolina Department of 

Health and Human Services. 

(6)(11) "Owner" means any person with a five percent 

or greater equity interest in a child care facility. 

center or family child care home as defined in 

G.S. 110-86(3)b. 

(7)(12) "Private Agency" means a private, for profit, 

profit or non-profit, non-profit non-

governmental entity. 

(8)(13) "Provider" means the owner of a child care 

center or family child care home. 

(9)(14) "Recipient" means the parent or responsible 

adult approved for subsidized child care 

services assistance pursuant to Section .1000 of 

this Chapter. 

(15) "Recipient Fee" means that portion of an 

operator's payment that is paid to the operator 

by a recipient approved for subsidy assistance. 

(10)(16) "Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program" 

means the North Carolina program to assist 

eligible families in paying the cost of child care 

services. the administrative, programmatic, and 

fiscal activities related to the use of public funds 

to pay for child care services for families. 

(17) "Supplemental Payment" means payment or 

reimbursement by the Division for additional 

expenses incurred by the operator to care for a 

child with special needs. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a). 

 

SECTION .0200 - REQUIREMENTS FOR THE 

PURCHASE OF CHILD CARE 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0201 APPLICABILITY 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a). 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0202 PAYMENT RATES 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(8)a. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0203 PAYMENT RATES FOR 

SUBSIDIZED CHILD CARE 

(a)  With the exception of Centers that are certified as 

developmental day centers by the Division, the The payment rates 

for child care facilities centers, and family child care homes, and 
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nonlicensed child care homes are shall be implemented in 

accordance with the annual appropriations act. act and shall be 

limited to the market rate or the child care facility's private rate, 

whichever is lower. 

(b)  Centers, as defined in G.S. 110-86(3), which For centers that 

are certified as developmental day centers by the Division of 

Child Development and Early Education and serve children who 

meet the definition of special needs set forth in 10A NCAC 10 

.0910, are exempt from the provisions of Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. The payment the following shall apply: 

(1) payment rates for special needs children with 

special needs served in developmental day 

centers are shall be calculated by deducting the 

total revenues per child per month from the total 

costs per child. child month. That rate is shall 

then be multiplied by the current inflation 

percentage provided by the Office of State 

Budget and Management. Management; 

(2) payment rates for For typically developing 

children enrolled served in developmental day 

centers the rates shall exclude those costs 

associated exclusively with serving children 

with special needs. needs; and 

(3) The payment payment rates for special needs 

children with special needs and typically 

developing children served in developmental 

day centers are shall be calculated every two 

years and are shall be implemented as state and 

federal funding allows. 

(c)  Any A facility approved for participation in the Subsidized 

Child Care Assistance Program Local Purchasing Agency (LPA) 

approved child care provider not included in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule who that provides care to children who meet the definition 

of special needs set forth with special needs, as defined in 10A 

NCAC 10 .0910 .0910, that is not a certified developmental day 

facility may be paid a supplemental rate above the provider's LPA 

supplement to the facility's approved rate, rate for a particular age 

group. subject to available funding, as follows: 

(1) the facility shall submit a request to the Local 

Purchasing Agency for approval for a 

supplemental payment; 

(2) The the supplemental rate payment shall be 

based on actual additional documented costs 

incurred by the provider facility in serving the 

child with special needs. needs such as learning 

materials, equipment, and additional staff for 

one-on-one care; 

(3) The the costs shall be determined by the early 

intervention specialist, the local education 

agency's exceptional children program 

specialist, the local purchasing agency, Local 

Purchasing Agency and the provider facility 

based on the plan developed to meet the child's 

individual needs. needs; and 

(4) the Local Purchasing Agency shall submit 

requests for all one-time supplemental 

payments in excess of one thousand dollars 

($1,000) and all recurring supplemental 

payments in excess of three hundred dollars 

($300.00) to the Division. The Division shall 

approve all requests that the Division 

determines meet the child's development needs. 

All other supplemental payments must be 

approved by the Local Purchasing Agency. 

(d)  The reimbursement of additional fees as charged by centers is 

limited to registration fees. The payment rate for registration fees 

is determined by the annual appropriations act. Registration fees 

may not be paid more than twice per year per child regardless of 

the type of center. 

(e)  Purchasing agencies may negotiate with child care center 

providers for purchase of child care services at payment rates 

lower than those prescribed by this Rule, only with approval from 

the Division. Approval shall be granted if it can be determined 

that a non-negotiated payment rate would have a negative impact 

on the purchasing agency's ability to purchase subsidized child 

care services, based on the following factors: 

(1) the number of children on the waiting list for 

subsidized child care services; 

(2) whether the non-negotiated rates exceed the 

rates for services paid by private paying 

families in the service area; and 

(3) the amount of subsidized child care funds 

available. 

(d)  Payment rates for part time care shall be prorated according 

to the number of hours the child is scheduled to attend. 

(e)  Recipient fees imposed in accordance with the annual 

appropriations act shall be subtracted from the facility's payment 

rate to determine the state payment amount for an individual child. 

(f)  Child care services Subsidized Child Care Assistance funds 

shall not be used to pay for services provided by the Department 

of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health or the 

Department of Public Instruction, Division of Exceptional 

Children's Services Services, for that portion of the service 

delivery costs which that are reimbursed by the Division of Public 

Health or Department of Public Instruction. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(8)a; 143B-153(2a). 

 

SECTION .0300 - REQUIREMENTS FOR SUBSIDIZED 

CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

REQUIREMENTS SERVICE FUNDS 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0301 DEFINITION OF FUND 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 95-97. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0306 ALLOCATION 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a). 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0307 REIMBURSEMENT PAYMENT 

Local purchasing agencies shall key information regarding 

expenditures for subsidized child care services into the Division's 

Subsidized Child Care Reimbursement System on a monthly basis 

in order for the services to be reimbursed. Operators shall enter 

accurate attendance, as defined in 10A NCAC 10 .0602(b), into 

the NC FAST Provider Portal no later than the fifth day of the 
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month for the preceding month's attendance in order to receive 

payment for services provided. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a). 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0310 REQUIREMENTS FOR THE 

ADMINISTRATION OF THE SUBSIDIZED CHILD CARE 

ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

(a)  Any agency that administers child care services funding 

through the state's subsidized child care program shall maintain 

records of administration of the program for a period of three 

years, following the final report issued to the funding agency, or 

until all audits begun within the retention period are complete, 

whichever is longer. 

Each Local Purchasing Agency shall maintain records of program 

administration including recipient records documenting eligibility 

and ongoing service, and provider records related to 

investigations of fraudulent misrepresentation, sanctions, and 

noncompliance with program requirements. These records shall 

be retained in accordance with most recent Records Retention and 

Disposition Schedule Spreadsheet issued by the Office of the 

Controller, North Carolina Department of Health and Human 

Services or until all audits begun within the retention period are 

complete, whichever is longer. The Records Retention and 

Disposition Schedule Spreadsheet is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions, and is available 

free of charge at 

https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/control/retention/retention.htm. 

(b)  Any Each Local Purchasing Agency agency that administers 

funding for the State's state's subsidized child care program 

Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program shall provide records 

of administration of the program administration upon request for 

review by local, state, or federal agency representatives. 

(c)  The Division shall require the Local Purchasing Agency to 

repay funds not spent in accordance with applicable state or 

federal regulations. Upon review of agency records of 

administration of the subsidized child care program the Division 

determines if it is found child care services funding was not spent 

in accordance with applicable state or federal regulations, the 

Division shall require the agency to pay back funds improperly 

spent. 

(d)  Any agency Each Local Purchasing Agency that both 

administers the State's state's subsidized child care program 

Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program and also owns and 

operates a child care facility receiving Subsidized Child Care 

Assistance Program funds and is a provider of subsidized child 

care services shall develop and implement a conflict of interest 

policy that shall include provision provisions for: 

(1) parental choice of child care facility for 

recipients of subsidized child care; and 

(2) separate management of the Subsidized Child 

Care Assistance Program and the child care 

facility owned or operated by the agency. 

(e)  Operators enrolled in the Subsidized Child Care Assistance 

Program shall maintain all records and forms for a period of at 

least three years or until all audits continued beyond the three-year 

period are completed by local, state, or federal officials. Program 

records and forms shall be maintained at the location of the child 

care facility and shall be made available for review upon request 

by local, state, or federal officials. Operators shall make available 

for review a record of payments received from other sources and 

each schedule of parent payments due if requested. For the 

purposes of this Paragraph, program records and forms include: 

(1) all enrollment and attendance records, 

including those contained in 10A NCAC 10 

.0602; 

(2) private paying parent rates; 

(3) receipts; and 

(4) other fiscal records related to the operator's 

participation in the Subsidized Child Care 

Assistance Program, including records related 

to a child care facility's operating budget. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a). 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0311 PROVIDER APPEAL TO LOCAL 

PURCHASING AGENCY 

10A NCAC 10 .0312 APPEAL TO DIVISION OF 

CHILD DEVELOPMENT AND EARLY EDUCATION 

SUBSIDY SERVICES REVIEW PANEL 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

SECTION .0500 - REQUIREMENTS FOR CONTRACTS 

WITH PRIVATE AGENCIES 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0501 SCOPE 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a). 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0502 APPROVAL 

10A NCAC 10 .0503 LENGTH OF CONTRACT 

10A NCAC 10 .0504 ADMINISTRATION OF FUNDS 

10A NCAC 10 .0505 ADMINISTRATION OF 

PROGRAM 

10A NCAC 10 .0506 RECORDS 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(2); 143B-153(2a). 

 

SECTION .0600 - REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSED 

CHILD CARE CENTERS FACILITIES 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0601 STANDARDS FOR CENTERS 

FACILITIES PARTICIPATING IN THE SUBSIDIZED 

CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

(a)  Any center which An operator that wishes to participate in the 

state Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program as defined in 10A 

NCAC 10 .0102 shall satisfy all applicable state child care 

requirements requirements, as codified in G.S. 110-85, et seq. and 

10A NCAC 09, and must be approved by the local purchasing 

agency for participation and payment. shall enroll in the 

Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program as set forth in 10A 

NCAC 10 .0602(a). 

(b)  Any center not required by G.S. 110 to be licensed, except for 

religious-sponsored centers operating in accordance with G.S. 

110-106, shall be licensed in order to participate in the state's 

Subsidized Child Care Program. An operator that wishes to 

participate in the Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program, with 
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the exception of religious-sponsored facilities operating in 

accordance with G.S. 110-106 and Department of Defense 

facilities operating in accordance with G.S. 110-106.2, shall hold 

a North Carolina child care license. 

(c)  Out of state operators wishing to participate in the Subsidized 

Child Care Assistance Program shall hold a license to operate a 

child care facility in the state where they are located. 

(c)(d)  The operator of any center a facility participating in the 

Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program shall assure ensure 

that the center facility complies with all applicable provisions of 

the Civil Rights Act of 1964. 1964 and all requirements imposed 

thereunder. 

(d)  Each child care center shall submit appropriate information to 

enable the local purchasing agency to establish a payment rate for 

the center in accordance with the rate setting policies in the annual 

appropriations act and codified in Section .0200. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a). 

 

SECTION .0700 - REQUIREMENTS FOR FAMILY 

CHILD CARE HOMES 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0701 STANDARDS FOR FAMILY 

CHILD CARE HOMES PARTICIPATING IN THE 

SUBSIDIZED CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

SECTION .0900 - GENERAL POLICIES FOR PROVISION 

OF SUBSIDIZED CHILD CARE SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0901 SCOPE 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0902 METHODS OF SERVICE 

PROVISION 

10A NCAC 10 .0903 DEFINITION OF SERVICE 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0904 OPTIONAL PROVISION OF 

SERVICES AVAILABILITY OF FUNDING 

(a)  Notwithstanding other rules in this Chapter, child day care 

services may be provided to children in counties receiving Smart 

Start funds authorized by G.S. 143B, Part 10B of Article 3, 

provided that the child care services are included in the local 

partnership's approved Smart Start plan. 

(b)  When If the availability of funding is less than the amount 

needed to serve all eligible children, the local agency responsible 

for determining child eligibility for subsidized child care services 

may each Local Purchasing Agency shall establish the priority for 

serving families. The order of priority shall be stated in writing 

writing, approved by the Division in accordance with annual 

appropriations act and federal law, and made available the Local 

Purchasing Agency shall provide a copy of the written order of 

priority to applicants for child care assistance. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 98.46. 

10A NCAC 10 .0905 SUPPORT TO EMPLOYMENT: 

FOR EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING FOR 

EMPLOYMENT 

(a)  Child care services shall be provided to support employment 

of the recipient. 

(b)  Child care services shall be provided to support training 

leading to employment of the recipient. 

(a)  The Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program shall pay for 

child care services provided to support: 

(1) employment of the recipient; and 

(2) training leading to employment of the recipient. 

(c)(b)  Where a recipient remains in the home and is capable of 

providing care for the child, child care services shall not be 

provided as a support for employment or training. Where the local 

purchasing agency determines the recipient is incapable of 

providing care for the child, and child care services shall be 

provided for the needs of the child and to maintain family 

stability. The Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program shall pay 

for child care services for recipients the Local Purchasing Agency 

determines are unable to work or to participate in training leading 

to employment, and who are also incapable of providing care for 

the child. The Local Purchasing Agency shall document the The 

reasons for this determination shall be documented in the client's 

record and recipient's record, which may include the following: 

(1) illness; 

(2) disability; 

(3) complications related to pregnancy; 

(4) hospitalization; 

(5) substance abuse treatment; or 

(6) that the recipient is elderly. elderly and 

incapable of caring for the child. 

(d)  Child care services may be provided when recipient is 

engaged in gainful employment on either a full-time or part-time 

basis. 

(e)(c)  Where the If a recipient is already receiving child care 

services funded through the Subsidized Child Care Assistance 

Program and is temporarily absent from employment, training, or 

an educational program with arrangements to continue the same 

employment, training, or educational program, child care services 

shall continue for at least up to 90 days. Where If an absence from 

work, training, or an educational program extends beyond 90 

days, the local purchasing agency Local Purchasing Agency shall 

determine on the basis of individual circumstances whether child 

care services shall continue beyond that time period. Where child 

care is continued beyond 90 days, The Local Purchasing Agency 

shall document the reasons for such extension shall be 

documented in the client's record and recipient's record, which 

may include the following: 

(1) the recipient is on maternity leave and intends 

to return to work; 

(2) the recipient has been temporarily laid off and 

the employer has indicated that employment 

will resume within a month; or 

(3) the recipient works in a high demand high-

demand field and is likely to find new 

employment within a month. 

(f)(d)  Where If a recipient is already receiving child care services 

funded through the Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program 

and becomes unemployed but is seeking employment, funding for 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

811 

child care services shall be provided for at least 90 days. days if 

the recipient is already receiving subsidized child care services. 

Continuation of the Funding for services service may be extended 

if the agency Local Purchasing Agency determines such extension 

is warranted, provided the reason for the extension is documented 

in the client's recipient's record and may include be based upon 

the following: 

(1) the likelihood of obtaining employment based 

upon prior job search activities; 

(2) the recipient has a job interview scheduled in 

the near future; scheduled; or 

(3) the recipient is waiting to hear the results of a 

recent job interview. 

(g)(e)  Where When a recipient is already receiving child care 

services funded through the Subsidized Child Care Assistance 

Program and no longer attends a training or educational program, 

child care services shall continue to be provided for at least 90 

days after the recipient stops attending the training or educational 

program. program to permit the recipient to seek employment or 

resume attendance at a training or educational program if the 

recipient is already receiving subsidized child care services. 

Continuation of the service funding for services may be extended 

if the agency Local Purchasing Agency determines such extension 

as warranted, provided the reason for the extension is documented 

in the client's recipient's record and may include the following: be 

based on: 

(1) recommendations from teaching staff at 

educational institutions; 

(2) the individual needs and abilities of the 

recipient; 

(3) whether the recipient has developed career 

goals; or 

(4) whether the recipient has developed a personal 

plan for completing training. 

(h)(f)  For purposes of this Rule, training leading to employment 

shall include: include the following: 

(1) continuation of high school; school within the 

school system; 

(2) basic education or a high school education or its 

equivalent in community colleges or technical 

institutes; and 

(3) post secondary post-secondary education or 

skills training, up to a maximum of 20 months 

two years enrollment. enrollment, but shall not 

include assistance when the recipient is 

participating in graduate or post-graduate 

studies. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 98.21. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0906 SUPPORT FOR CHILD 

PROTECTIVE AND CHILD WELFARE SERVICES 

(a)  Child care services shall be provided The Subsidized Child 

Care Assistance Program shall provide assistance when needed to 

enable a child to remain in his or her own home when while 

receiving child protective services. services for children. The 

child shall not receive assistance unless he or she is must be 

receiving protective services through the local department of 

social services pursuant to G.S. 7B. 

(b)  Child care services shall be provided The Subsidized Child 

Care Assistance Program shall provide assistance to children who 

need child care as a support to receiving Child Welfare Services. 

Child Welfare Services means the protection of a child from 

abuse, neglect, or dependency; or support to the dependency or; 

provision of a safe permanent home for a child as described in 

G.S. 7B-101; G.S. 7B-300; G.S. 48-1-101; G.S. 108A-14 (11) and 

(12); G.S. 108A-48; 10A NCAC 70A; and 10A NCAC 70B. 

(c)  The provisions of this Rule shall not apply to children living 

in a foster care arrangement. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0907 PROMOTE CHILD'S 

DEVELOPMENT SUPPORT FOR CHILDREN WITH OR 

AT RISK FOR DEVELOPMENTAL DELAYS 

(a)  Child care services shall be provided The Subsidized Child 

Care Assistance Program shall provide assistance to a child who 

does not meet any eligibility criteria in this Section and whose 

emotional, cognitive, social social, or physical development is 

delayed or is at risk of being delayed. in accordance with this 

Rule. 

(b)  This service may be provided by any approved center or home 

which meets the child's need for developmental care. The Local 

Purchasing Agency shall document the type of developmental 

delay or the risk of delay in writing in the recipient's record. 

Information regarding the delay or risk of delay shall be provided 

by the parent, child care director, teacher, social worker, doctor, 

or other medical professional; however, medical or psychological 

reports shall not be required for a determination of eligibility. 

(c)  In making a determination of eligibility, the Local Purchasing 

Agency shall consider factors that include whether the child: 

(1) has a severe disability or special needs; 

(2) lives in a situation which inhibits his or her 

ability to develop normally, including living 

with elderly or adults with disabilities; and 

(3) would benefit from early intervention in a child 

care setting which may prevent the child from 

experiencing serious, ongoing problems later in 

life. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0908 LIMITATIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0909 PARENTAL FREEDOM OF 

RECIPIENT CHOICE 

(a)  Parents receiving assistance for their children through the 

subsidized child care program Recipients shall choose any a child 

care provider, facility approved for participation in the subsidized 

child care program under Sections .0600, .0700, or .0800 

Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program under Section .0600 

of these Rules to provide child care services for their the 

recipient's eligible children. The parent's choice of provider shall 

be accepted when The Local Purchasing Agency shall accept the 

recipient's choice of facility if there is space available in the 
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facility and the child's enrollment will not violate the provider's 

facility's licensed capacity. capacity as set forth in G.S. 110-91(6). 

(b)  During the eligibility determination, Local Purchasing 

Agencies Purchasing agencies administering funds through the 

subsidized child care program shall notify recipients parents 

applying for participation in the program of their right to choose 

the any approved child care facility. provider which will provide 

child care services to their eligible children. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 98.30; 45 C.F.R. 98.31. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0910 DEFINITION OF SPECIAL 

NEEDS CHILD CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL NEEDS 

(a)  As used in this Chapter a special needs child is one who 

qualifies under one or more of the criteria listed in this Paragraph: 

(1) a child who is determined by the Division of 

Public Health, Children's Developmental 

Service Agency, to be developmentally delayed 

or have an established condition pursuant to 

10A NCAC 43G .0110; including subsequent 

amendments; or 

(2) a child who is determined by the local 

educational agency (LEA) to have a disability 

as defined in G.S. 115C-106.3. 

A copy of 10A NCAC 43G .0110 may be obtained from the Office 

of Administrative Hearings, 6714 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 

North Carolina, 27699-6714, (919) 431-3000. 

(b)  The Local Purchasing Agency agency determining eligibility 

for the services shall have on file an Individualized Education 

Program (IEP) as defined in G.S. 115C-106.3, an Individualized 

Family Service Plan (IFSP) as defined in 10A NCAC 27G .0903, 

a Section 504 Plan as defined in 29 USC 794 794, or a Person-

Centered Plan (PCP) as defined in 10A NCAC 70G .0402 to 

document the "special need" or "disability". for all children with 

special needs who have been determined eligible for the 

Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program that documents the 

special need or disability in accordance with these Rules. 

(c)  Eligibility for the supplemental rate is contingent upon the 

provider's compliance with the activities designated for the 

provider in the child's individualized plan. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a). 

 

SECTION .1000 - ELIGIBILITY FOR SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1001 BASIC ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA 

In addition to the requirements of 10A NCAC .0900, in order for 

an individual to be determined eligible to receive subsidized child 

care services, it must be established that he or she is eligible on 

the basis of income eligible status unless the service is available 

without regard to income as referenced in Rule .1004 of this 

Section. 

An individual shall be eligible to receive subsidized child care 

services in accordance with Section .0900 of these Rules if: 

(1) he or she meets the requirements in 10A NCAC 

10 .1002 and .1003; or 

(2) the service is available without regard to 

income pursuant to 10A NCAC 09 .1004. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1002 INCOME ELIGIBLE STATUS 

(a)  For the purpose of the rules in this Subchapter, Chapter, the 

term "income unit" shall apply to persons who reside in the same 

household and who who, according to North Carolina law, are 

responsible for the financial support of the individual whose 

eligibility for child care services is being determined. Also for For 

the purpose of determining eligibility for child care services, the 

terms "income unit" and "family" are used interchangeably shall 

have the same meaning in the rules in this Subchapter. Chapter. 

(b)  For the purposes of the rules in this Chapter, "income unit 

size" or "family size" mean the number of individuals in the 

income unit, and "gross income of the income unit" or "family 

income" mean the total amount of the income used to determine 

child care eligibility. When the amount of income available to an 

individual is a condition of eligibility for child care services, it is 

necessary to determine the number of persons in the individual's 

income unit and the amount of the gross income available to the 

income unit. The number of individuals in the income unit is 

referred to as the "income unit size" or "family size". These terms 

are used interchangeably in the rules in this Subchapter. The total 

amount of the income used to determine child care eligibility is 

referred to as the "gross income of the income unit" or "family 

income". These terms are used interchangeably in the rules in this 

Subchapter. 

(c)  If an individual meets any of the criteria set forth in 10A 

NCAC 10 .0905 or .0907, the Local Purchasing Agency shall 

determine: 

(1) the number of persons in the individual's 

income unit through the eligibility application 

in NC FAST or through the eligibility interview 

process; and 

(2) the amount of gross income available to the 

income unit in accordance with 10A NCAC 10 

.1006. 

(c)(d)  Child care services may be provided to individuals other 

than those described in 10A NCAC 10 .0906 and in Rule .1004 of 

this Section provided the gross annual income of the individual's 

income unit does not exceed the state's maximum income 

eligibility limit (as defined in Rule .1003 of this Section) for the 

number of persons in that income unit. Individuals who meet any 

of the criteria set forth in 10A NCAC 10 .0905 or .0907 shall be 

eligible to receive Subsidized Child Care Services, provided that: 

(1) for initial eligibility and annual 

redeterminations, the gross income of the 

income unit: 

(A) for children ages 0 to 5 years old shall 

not exceed the state's maximum 

income eligibility limit of 200 percent 

of the federal poverty level as set forth 

in 82 FR 8831, incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, for the 

number of persons in that income unit; 

(B) for children ages 6 to 12 years old shall 

not exceed the state's maximum 

income eligibility limit of 133 percent 

of the federal poverty level as set forth 
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in 82 FR 8831 for the number of 

persons in that income unit; or 

(C) for any child with special needs as 

defined 10A NCAC 10 .0910 shall not 

exceed the state's maximum income 

eligibility limit of 200 percent of the 

federal poverty level as set forth in 82 

FR 8831 for the number of persons in 

that income unit. 

(2) for individuals whose income increases during 

the annual eligibility period, the maximum 

income eligibility limit for children of all ages 

and special needs status shall not exceed 85 

percent of the state median income as set forth 

in 82 FR 8831 for that income unit size. 

(d)(e)  The following are defined as individuals living in a 

residence shall be separate income units for the purposes of 

determining eligibility and client fees for child care services: 

(1) Biological biological and adoptive parents and 

their minor children. A step-parent shall be 

included in the income unit with his/her his or 

her spouse when if the children in need of care 

include the step-parent and spouse's their 

biological or adoptive child children and step-

siblings; 

(2) A a minor parent and his or her children; 

(3) Each each person 18 years of age or older; adult 

whether related or unrelated, other than 

spouses; and 

(4) Each each child living with anyone other than 

their biological or adoptive parents. 

(e)(f)  Income to be considered when computing the gross income 

of the income unit is as follows: shall include: 

(1) Gross gross earned wages or salary salary, 

which are defined as (earnings earnings 

received for work performed as an employee, 

including wages, salary, commissions, tips, 

piece-rate payments, and cash bonuses earned, 

before any deductions are made such as for 

taxes, bonds, pensions, and union dues; dues, 

etc.); 

(2) Adjusted gross income from taxable self-

employment income; after deductions made for 

business expenses and any other expense that is 

deductible for purposes of federal or state tax 

returns; 

(3) Social Security benefits (includes including 

Social Security pensions, survivors' benefits 

benefits, and permanent disability insurance 

payments); payments; 

(4) Dividends, dividends, interest (on on savings or 

bonds), bonds, income from estates or trusts, 

royalties, and adjusted gross rental income on 

houses, stores stores, or other property; 

(5) Pensions pensions and annuities paid directly 

by an employer or union or through an 

insurance company; 

(6) Workers' workers' compensation for injuries 

incurred at work.; work; 

(7) Unemployment unemployment insurance 

benefits; 

(8) Alimony alimony (includes including direct 

and indirect payments, payments such as rent 

and utility payments); payments; 

(9) Child child support, direct or indirect; indirect, 

such as health care costs, school tuition, camps, 

lessons, and afterschool activities; 

(10) Pensions pensions paid to veterans or survivors 

of deceased veterans; 

(11) On-the-Job Training (OJT) payments; 

(12) Job Training Partnership Act (JTPA) payments 

made to an adult; 

(13) AmeriCorps stipend' stipend (living 

allowance); 

(14) the taxable amount of Armed Forces pay; (only 

the amounts taxable, such as base pay); 

(15) Work work release payments; 

(16) Cherokee Tribal Per Capita Income paid to 

adult family members; 

(17) Work-study payments, if the income is from a 

program not administered under Title IV of the 

Higher Education Act or the Bureau of Indian 

Affairs; and 

(18) Recurring recurring cash contributions paid 

directly to the parent. parent, such as severance 

pay or child support not paid pursuant to a 

written agreement or court-ordered 

arrangement. 

(f)(g)  The following sources of income shall not be counted when 

computing the gross income of the income unit: 

(1) Work First Family Assistance; 

(2) Supplemental Security Income (SSI); 

(3) non-recurring lump Lump sum payments such 

as (e.g. Social Security benefits, workers' 

compensation, alimony, veteran's benefits, 

HUD); and housing assistance paid to or on 

behalf of a family member by HUD; 

(4) Foster care assistance payments; 

(5) Adoption Assistance payments; 

(6) Payments/trust payments or trust funds under 

from the Indian Claims Commission; 

(7) Payments payments from the Alaska Native 

Claims Settlement Act; 

(8) Income income from sale of personal assets 

(stocks, including stocks, bonds, house, car, and 

insurance); insurance; 

(9) Bank withdrawals; 

(10)(9) Money money borrowed; 

(11)(10) Tax refunds; tax refunds, including Earned 

Income Tax Credits or Dependent Care Credits; 

(12)(11) Gifts or contributions; gifts or contributions, 

including cash, monetary gifts, and charitable 

contributions given on a regular basis to meet 

the recipient's needs; 

(13)(12) Other in-kind other, non-cash contributions 

from non-legally responsible adults; adults, 

such as food, clothing, furniture, or non-cash 

military benefits such as insurance; 
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(14)(13) Emergency Assistance, Low Income Energy 

Assistance Program, Crisis Intervention 

Program, General Assistance, or CP&L Share 

Program payments; 

(15)(14) Section VIII housing subsidy; 

(16)(15) Capital capital gains; 

(17)(16) Value the value of food stamp benefits allotted 

under the Food Stamp Act of 1977; 

(18)(17) Free free and reduced lunch program; 

(19)(18) Any and all food subsidy programs; 

(20)(19) Relocation/Acquisition Relocation or 

Acquisition Act payments; 

(21)(20) Earnings earnings of a dependent child under 

18 years of age, unless a minor parent of a child 

needing child care; 

(22)(21) Loans, loans, grants, scholarships, and money 

received to pay for job training; through 

training, Pell or Carl Perkins grants; 

(23)(22) Home home produce utilized for household 

consumption; 

(24)(23) Volunteers in Service to America (VISTA) 

earnings; 

(25) Payments received as Earned Income Tax 

Credits or Dependent Care Credits; 

(26)(24) All all subsidized housing and housing 

allotments, including military housing 

allotments. If rent is provided by an 

organization on a regular recurring basis, it 

shall be counted as income; 

(27)(25) Money money received from an employer as an 

employee benefit for child care; and 

(28)(26) Work-study payments, if the income is from the 

College Work-Study Program administered 

under Title IV of the Higher Education Act or 

the Bureau of Indian Affairs. (Likewise, if the 

income from college work-study goes directly 

to the college, it is not counted as income.) 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1003 INCOME ELIGIBILITY LEVELS 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1004 WITHOUT REGARD TO 

INCOME 

Child care services shall be provided The Subsidized Child Care 

Assistance Program shall provide assistance without regard to 

income for: 

(1) when child care services are provided in 

conjunction with protective services as children 

described in 10A NCAC 10 .0906(a); .0906(b) 

who need child care services as a support for 

Child Welfare Services; 

(2) children receiving foster care services who are 

in the custody of the county department of 

social services and are residing in licensed 

foster care homes or in the care of adults other 

than their parents; and 

(3) when child care services are provided to a child 

receiving Child Welfare Services as children 

described in 10A NCAC 10 .0906(b). .0906(a) 

who need child care in conjunction with 

protective services. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a). 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1005 RESPONSIBILITY FOR 

ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1006 VERIFICATION 

DETERMINATION OF INCOME ELIGIBILITY 

(a)  An individual that who applies for child care services shall 

provide to the local purchasing agency Local Purchasing Agency 

verification of the amount and sources of his or her countable 

income. income as set forth in 10A NCAC 10 .1002. The amount 

and source of income shall be verified by one of the following: 

(1) A a copy of a source document; document, such 

as wage stubs, pay statements, and award 

letters; or 

(2) A written statement by the social worker 

describing either the source document that was 

reviewed to verify the income or a telephone 

conversation that confirmed the required 

information; or 

(3)(2) Identification identification of an existing 

agency record confirming the required 

information. information; or 

(3) electronic verification through Online 

Verification Service (OVS) within NC FAST as 

defined in 10A NCAC 10 .0102. 

(b)  If the Local Purchasing Agency cannot verify the recipient's 

income using the methods described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule: 

(1) the recipient shall provide a written statement 

of the amount and sources of their income to the 

Local Purchasing Agency; or 

(2) the Local Purchasing Agency shall confirm 

sources of income through a telephone 

conversation or email communication with the 

source of the income. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1007 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

DETERMINATION AND REDETERMINATION OF 

ELIGIBILITY 

(a)  The Division shall establish the requirements for application 

and eligibility determination and redetermination for child care 

services. Eligibility shall be determined initially in accordance 

with 10A NCAC 10 .0900 and .1000, and annually thereafter 

unless a change occurs that impacts eligibility. Recipients who are 

employed or in school and whose income is at or below the federal 

income limit of 85 percent of State Median Income shall not have 

these activities disrupted during the 12 month eligibility period. 

The Local Purchasing Agency shall determine initial eligibility in 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

815 

accordance with Sections .0900 and .1000 of this Chapter, and 

every 12 months thereafter. 

(b)  If the Local Purchasing Agency determines that a recipient is 

eligible, the recipient shall remain eligible for the 12 month 

eligibility period unless: 

(1) the recipient ceases to be employed, in training 

leading to employment, or in an educational 

program as described in 10A NCAC 10 .0905 

for more than 90 days; 

(2) the recipient changes residency to outside the 

state; 

(3) the recipient's income exceeds 85 percent of the 

State Median Income; or 

(4) the Local Purchasing Agency or the Division 

issues the recipient a sanction for fraudulent 

(b)(c)  If the Local Purchasing Agency, upon redetermination, 

determines that the family exceeds the State's income eligibility 

limits, the family shall continue to receive subsidized child care 

services for 90 days 3 months if their income is at or below the 

federal income limit of 85 percent of State Median Income. 

(c)(d)  Annual federal income limits are shall be determined in 

accordance with the U.S. Federal Poverty Guidelines issued by 

the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is 

incorporated by reference and includes including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy of these guidelines may be 

found are available free of charge at 

http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty/index.cfm. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 C.F.R. 98.21(a)(1); 45 C.F.R. 

98.21(b)(1). 

 

SECTION .1100 - CLIENT RECIPIENT FEES FOR 

CHILD CARE SERVICES  

 

10A NCAC 10 .1101 GENERAL RECIPIENT FEE 

POLICY 

(a)  Recipient fees for child care services shall be 10 percent of 

the income unit's gross monthly income as set forth in 10A NCAC 

10 .1002; however, no No fees shall be charged to the client when 

recipient if child care services are provided to individuals in the 

following circumstances: 

(1) children receiving if child care services are 

provided in conjunction with protective 

services as described in 10A NCAC 10 

.0906(a); 

(2) when if child care services are provided as a 

support to a child receiving Child Welfare 

Services as described in 10A NCAC 10 

.0906(b); and 

(3) when if a child with no income is living with 

someone other than his or her biological or 

adoptive parent or is living with someone who 

does not have court-ordered financial 

responsibility. 

(b)  Except as provided for in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the client 

recipient shall be assessed a fee for child care services. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a). 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1102 AMOUNT AND COLLECTION 

OF RECIPIENT CLIENT FEES 

(a)  The amount of the fees charged to the client recipient shall be 

in accordance with the annual appropriations act. 

(b)  Fee charges to the client may be disregarded when the total 

amount due is less than five dollars ($5.00) per month. 

(c)(b)  Collection of fees assessed to the client shall be the 

responsibility of the child care provider. The child care provider 

shall collect recipient fees on a monthly basis. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1103 ADJUSTMENTS IN FEES 

(a)  If family recipient medical expenses exceed 10 percent of the 

family's recipient's gross income as set forth in 10A NCAC 10 

.1002 in any eligibility period, the family's recipient's fee shall be 

reassessed based on the family's recipient's adjusted income. The 

family's recipient's income shall be adjusted by deducting the 

amount of medical expenses that exceed 10 percent of the family's 

recipient's gross income. 

(b)  If the plan of care is for less than a full day, the recipient fee 

shall be assessed in accordance with the annual appropriations act. 

When the approved care plan is for less than full-day care, the 

assessed fee for the service shall be adjusted by the appropriate 

percentage relative to the approved care plan. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

SECTION .1200 – APPEALS 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1201 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the terms defined in G.S. 110-86 and in 10A NCAC 

10 .0102, the following definitions shall apply to the terms used 

in this Section: 

(1) "Administrative Review Decision" means the 

decision made by the State Subsidy Services 

Appeals Panel that is made after review and 

analysis of all documentation related to an 

appeal pursuant to this Section. 

(2) "File or Filing" means personal delivery, 

delivery by certified mail, or delivery by 

overnight express mailed to the current 

Division Director or the Subsidy Appeals 

Coordinator, North Carolina Division of Child 

Development and Early Education, 2201 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2200. 

(3) "Initial Review" means the review by the Local 

Purchasing Agency of the operator's appeal. 

(4) "Local Appeal Hearing" means a hearing held 

by a hearing officer assigned by the Local 

Purchasing Agency after the Initial Review. 

(5) "State Subsidy Services Appeals Panel" or 

"Panel" means the North Carolina Division of 

Child Development and Early Education 

internal review panel. The Panel shall be 

impartial and shall consist of one representative 

and one alternate representative for each 

Section of the Division. Representatives and 
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alternates shall be chosen by the Division 

Director. 

 

Authority G.S. 108A-79; 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1202 NOTICE 

Notice shall be given by one of the methods for service of process 

under G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(j) or Rule 4(j3). If given by registered or 

certified mail, by signature confirmation as provided by the 

United States Postal Service, or by designated delivery service 

authorized pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 7502(f)(2) with delivery receipt, 

notice shall be deemed to have been given on the delivery date 

appearing on the return receipt, copy of the proof of delivery 

provided by the United States Postal Service, or delivery receipt. 

If notice cannot be accomplished by a method under G.S. 1A-1, 

Rule 4(j) or Rule 4(j3), notice shall then be given in the manner 

provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(j1). 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1203 FILING 

For purposes of this Chapter, the following apply: 

(1) A document or paper shall be deemed filed as 

of the date it is delivered to the Division 

Director or the Subsidy Appeals Coordinator; 

or 

(2) Filings shall be denied under the following 

circumstances: 

(a) the filing is not filed in accordance 

with this Rule. 

(b) the filing fails to comply with the rules 

of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1204 APPEAL TO THE LOCAL 

PURCHASING AGENCY  

(a)  Appeals by recipients from services determinations pursuant 

to Section .1000 of this Chapter, changes in recipient fees 

pursuant to Section .1100 of this Chapter, terminations of 

payment pursuant to 10A NCAC 10 .1007, or a sanctions issued 

by the Local Purchasing Agency in accordance with 10A NCAC 

10 .0308, shall be made in accordance with G.S. 108A-79. 

(b)  Procedures for an operator to appeal to the Local Purchasing 

Agency are as follows: 

(1) An operator wishing to contest an action shall 

contact the Local Purchasing Agency in writing 

to request an initial review. Requests shall be 

made within 30 calendar days after the date of 

the Local Purchasing Agency action. 

(2) The Local Purchasing Agency shall make a 

determination on the initial review within 10 

business days of the request for an initial 

review. Within 30 calendar days of notice of the 

determination of the initial review by the Local 

Purchasing Agency, the operator may request a 

local appeal hearing by the Local Purchasing 

Agency. 

(3) The local appeal hearing shall be held within 

five business days of when the request for a 

hearing is received. The Local Purchasing 

Agency shall grant a delay of up to 10 

additional business days at the written request 

of the operator, but in no event shall the local 

appeal hearing be held more than 15 business 

days after the receipt of the request for a 

hearing. 

(4) The Local Purchasing Agency shall serve a 

written statement of decision within 10 business 

days following the local hearing. The decision 

shall include the facts and conclusions that 

support the determination by the Local 

Purchasing Agency. 

(5) The Local purchasing agency shall include with 

its written statement of decision instructions for 

appealing its decision in accordance with this 

Rule. 

(6) If the operator is not satisfied with the final 

decision of the Local Purchasing Agency, he or 

she may appeal to the State Subsidy Services 

Appeals Panel by filing a notice of appeal 

within 30 calendar days of receipt of the written 

statement of decision in accordance with this 

Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153; G.S. 108A-79. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1205 OPERATOR APPEAL TO 

DIVISION OF CHILD DEVELOPMENT AND EARLY 

EDUCATION 

(a)  The following persons may appeal to the Panel within 15 

calendar days after having exhausted the appeals process at the 

appropriate Local Purchasing Agency or within 15 calendar days 

after the Division takes action as described in Subparagraphs (2) 

and (3) of this Paragraph: 

(1) an operator to whom a Local Purchasing 

Agency has issued a sanction pursuant to 10A 

NCAC 10 .0308; 

(2) an operator whom a Local Purchasing Agency 

or the Division has failed to approve for 

participation in or has terminated participation 

from the Subsidized Child Care Assistance 

Program pursuant to Section .0600 of this 

Chapter; or 

(3) an operator contesting the determination of an 

overpayment pursuant to 10A NCAC 10 .0309. 

(b)  Upon notification of an appeal filed pursuant to this Section, 

the Local Purchasing Agency shall, within five business days of 

the date of notification, forward the appeal record to the Division 

Director or Subsidy Appeals Coordinator, with a copy to the 

appellant, consisting of the following: 

(1) a copy of its final decision; 

(2) the signed agreement between the Local 

Purchasing Agency and the operator, where 

applicable; and 

(3) all supplementary documentation considered 

during the local appeals process. 
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(c)  The Panel shall complete its review and notify the appealing 

party and the Local Purchasing Agency of its decision in writing 

within 30 business days of the Panel's receipt of the appeal record 

as follows: 

(1) the decision shall include the facts and 

conclusions that support the determination by 

the Panel; or 

(2) the decision may be delayed up to an additional 

15 business days if the Panel lacks sufficient 

information to render a decision at the initial 

administrative review. The Panel may request 

additional information from the Local 

Purchasing Agency or the operator. 

(d)  The appealing party may appeal the administrative review 

decision by filing a petition for a contested case hearing pursuant 

to G.S. 150B-23 and in accordance with G.S. 110-94. Appeals 

from the Panel shall be filed within 30 calendar days of notice of 

the Panel's decision, in accordance with G.S. 150B-23(f). 

(e)  The administrative review decision may direct a Local 

Purchasing Agency to take an action or reverse an action based 

upon its review of the record as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. 

(f)  An operator may appeal a final determination pursuant to 10A 

NCAC 10 .0308(k) by filing a petition for a contested case hearing 

pursuant to G.S. 150B-23 and in accordance with G.S. 110-94. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-153. 

 

 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Industrial Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 11 

NCAC 23B .0105; 23L .0105, amend the rules cited as 11 NCAC 

23B .0101-.0104, .0202-.0205, .0208, .0302, .0307, .0308, .0310, 

.0402, .0501, and repeal the rules cited as 11 NCAC 23B .0303 

and .0305. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.ic.nc.gov/proposedtortrules.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 29, 2018 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Room 245, 2nd Floor, Department of Insurance, 

Albemarle Building, 325 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 

27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  On its own initiative, the 

Industrial Commission conducted an internal review of its rules 

governing State tort claims.  The proposed adoptions, 

amendments, and repeals represent changes necessary to improve 

and clarify the rules, provide for increased efficiency, or to update 

the rules to reflect current processes. 

The Commission also proposes to adopt Rule 11 NCAC 23L .0105 

which codifies a new form, the T-42, required in the proposed 

amendments to Rule 11 NCAC 23B .0203. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Ashley B. Snyder, 1233 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1233; phone (919) 807-2524; 

email ashley.snyder@ic.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  December 14, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected  11 NCAC 23B .0104, .0105, .0202, 

.0204, .0205, .0302, .0310, .0501 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected  11 NCAC 23B .0104, .0204, 

.0302, .0310, .0501 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4  11 NCAC 

23B .0101-.0103, .0203, .0208, .0303, .0305, .0307, 

.0308, .0402; 23L .0105 

 

CHAPTER 23 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 23B – TORT CLAIMS RULES 

 

SECTION .0100 – ADMINISTRATION 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0101 LOCATION OF OFFICES MAIN 

OFFICE AND HOURS OF BUSINESS 

For purposes of this Subchapter, the offices The main office of the 

North Carolina Industrial Commission (Commission) are is 

located in the Dobbs Building, 430 North Salisbury Street, 

Raleigh, North Carolina. Documents that are not being filed 

electronically may be filed at the main office between the hours 

of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. only. Documents related to tort claims 

are permitted to be filed electronically may be so filed until 11:59 

p.m. on the required filing date. 
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Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0102 OFFICIAL FORMS 

(a)  Copies of the Commission's rules, forms, and minutes rules 

and forms regarding tort claims can be obtained by contacting the 

Commission in person, person at the address in Rule .0101 of this 

Section, by written request mailed to 4340 1236 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4340, 27699-1236, Attn.: Office of 

the Clerk, or from the Commission's website. website at 

http://www.ic.nc.gov/abtrules.html and 

http://www.ic.nc.gov/forms.html. 

(b)  The use of any printed forms other than those provided by the 

Commission is prohibited, except that insurance carriers, self-

insureds, attorneys and other parties may reproduce current 

Commission forms for their own use, provided: 

(1) No no statement, question, or information blank 

contained on the Commission form is omitted 

from the substituted form. form; and 

(2) The the substituted form is identical in size and 

format with to the Commission form. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0103 FILING FEES 

(a)  No tort claim shall be accepted for filing with the Commission 

unless the claim is accompanied by an attorney's check, certified 

check, money order, or electronic transfer of funds in payment of 

a filing fee in an amount equal to the filing fee required for the 

filing of a civil action in the Superior Court division of the General 

Court of Justice. 

(b)  The provisions of Paragraph (a) of this Rule notwithstanding, 

a tort claim that is accompanied by a Petition to Sue as an Indigent 

shall be accepted for filing upon the date of its receipt. 

(c)  A Petition to Sue as an Indigent shall consist of an affidavit 

sufficient to satisfy the provisions of G.S. 1-110, stating that 

plaintiff is unable to comply with Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  If the Commission determines the plaintiff is able to pay all 

or any part of the fees fee assessed under this Rule, an Order shall 

be issued directing payment of all or any part of that fee, and the 

plaintiff shall, within 30 days from his receipt of the Order, 

forward to the Commission an attorney's check, certified check, 

money order, or electronic fund transfer of funds for the full 

amount required to be paid. Failure to submit the required amount 

of the filing fee within this time shall result in the tort claim being 

dismissed without prejudice. 

(e)  Upon consideration of a prison inmate's Petition to Sue as an 

Indigent, the Commission may determine that the inmate's tort 

claim is frivolous and dismiss the claim pursuant to G.S. 1-110. 

Appeals from the dismissal of a frivolous tort claim pursuant to 

this statute G.S. 1-110 shall proceed directly to the Full 

Commission and shall be decided without oral argument. The 

Commission shall forward a copy of the file to the Attorney 

General's Office without cost upon plaintiff's notice of appeal to 

the Full Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-291.2; 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0104 FILING BY FACSIMILE 

TRANSMISSION ELECTRONIC FILINGS WITH THE 

COMMISSION; HOW TO FILE 

Filing documents pertaining to tort claims by facsimile 

transmission is permitted. Any filing fee required shall be 

received by the Commission contemporaneously with the 

facsimile by electronic transfer of funds. 

(a)  All filings to the Commission in tort claims shall be submitted 

electronically in accordance with this Rule. Any document 

transmitted to the Commission in a manner not in accordance with 

this Rule shall not be accepted for filing. Plaintiffs without legal 

representation may file all documents with the Office of the Clerk 

of the Commission via the Commission's Electronic Document 

Filing Portal ("EDFP"), electronic mail, facsimile, U.S. Mail, 

private courier service, or hand delivery. 

(b)  Except as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, all documents 

shall be transmitted to the Commission via EDFP. Information 

regarding how to register for and use EDFP is available at 

http://www.ic.nc.gov/training.html. In the event EDFP is 

inoperable, all documents required to be filed via EDFP shall be 

transmitted to the Commission via electronic mail to 

edfp@ic.nc.gov. Documents required to be filed via EDFP that 

are sent to the Commission via electronic mail when EDFP is 

operable shall not be accepted for filing. 

(c)  The tort claims forms and documents listed in Table 1 shall 

not be required to be transmitted via EDFP provided all applicable 

qualifying conditions are met. 

 

Table 1: Forms and documents exempt from EDFP filing requirements and how to file them: 

 

DOCUMENT  

 

QUALIFYING CONDITION(S)  

 

HOW TO FILE  

Form T-1  No IC file number has been 

assigned  

Hand delivery to the Industrial 

Commission's main office or by 

mail to 1236 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-

1236.  

Form T-3 No IC file number has been 

assigned 

Email to dockets@ic.nc.gov, hand 

delivery to the Industrial 

Commission's main office, or by 

mail to 1236 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, North Carolina; 27699-

1236 
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Pre-affidavit motion under Rule 

9(j)(3) of the Rules of Civil 

Procedure to extend the Statute of 

Limitations.  

No IC file number has been 

assigned. 

Hand delivery to the Industrial 

Commission's main office or by 

mail to 1236 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-

1236. 

 

(d)  A one-year waiver shall be granted to an attorney that notifies 

the Commission of the attorney's inability to comply with the 

electronic filing requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule due to 

a lack of the necessary internet technology resources. The 

notification shall indicate why the attorney is unable to comply 

with the rule and outline the attorney's plan for coming into 

compliance within the one-year period. The notification shall be 

filed with the Office of the Clerk of the Commission via facsimile 

or U.S. Mail. This Paragraph shall expire one year from the 

effective date of this Rule. 

(e)  Any party may apply to the Commission for an emergency 

temporary waiver of the electronic filing requirement set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule when it is unable to comply because of 

temporary technical problems or lack of electronic mail or internet 

access. The request for an emergency temporary waiver shall be 

included with any filing submitted via facsimile, U.S. Mail, or 

hand delivery due to such temporary technical or access issues. 

(f)  A Notice of Appeal to the North Carolina Court of Appeals 

shall be accepted for filing by the Commission via EDFP or U.S. 

Mail. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-291.2; 143-297; 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0105 CONTACT INFORMATION 

(a)  "Contact information" for purposes of this Rule shall include 

telephone number, facsimile number, email address, and mailing 

address. 

(b)  All persons or entities without legal representation with 

matters pending before the Commission shall advise the 

Commission upon any change in contact information by filing a 

written notice via the Commission's Electronic Document Filing 

Portal ("EDFP"), electronic mail, facsimile, U.S. Mail, private 

courier service, or hand delivery. 

(c)  Any plaintiff without legal representation who was an inmate 

in the North Carolina Division of Adult Corrections at the time of 

filing his or her tort claim, shall, within 30 days of release, provide 

the Commission with written notice of his or her post-release 

contact information in any manner authorized in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. Following the initial written notice of post-release 

contact information, the previously incarcerated plaintiff shall 

continue to advise the Commission upon any change in contact 

information in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  All attorneys of record with matters before the Commission 

shall inform the Commission in writing of any change in the 

attorney's or the represented party's contact information via email 

to dockets@ic.nc.gov. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-291, 143-300. 

 

SECTION .0200 - CLAIMS PROCEDURES 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0202 MEDICAL MALPRACTICE 

CLAIMS BY UNREPRESENTED PRISON INMATES 

(a)  In any tort claim medical malpractice cases filed by or on 

behalf of an unrepresented prison inmates inmate where the 

plaintiff is alleging in which the Commission determines that the 

plaintiff is alleging that a health care provider provider, as defined 

in G.S. 90-21.11 90-21.11, failed to comply with the applicable 

standard of care under G.S. 90-21.12 90-21.12, and or the 

defendant has filed a Motion to Dismiss moved to dismiss the 

claim, claim for failure to comply with Rule 9(j) of the North 

Rules of Civil Procedure, all discovery is stayed until the 

following occur: a recorded non-evidentiary hearing before the 

Commission is held for the purpose of determining whether a 

claim for medical malpractice has been stated and, if so, whether: 

(1) A recorded hearing in which no evidence is 

taken is held before a Deputy Commissioner or 

a Special Deputy Commissioner for the purpose 

of determining: 

(A) whether a claim for medical 

malpractice has been stated;  

(B)(1) whether expert testimony is necessary 

for the plaintiff to prevail; and plaintiff 

must meet the requirements of Rule 

9(j)(1) or (2) of the North Carolina 

Rules of Civil Procedure to proceed 

with the claim; or 

(2) plaintiff has alleged facts establishing 

negligence under the existing 

common-law doctrine of res ipsa 

loquitur. 

(C) if expert testimony is deemed 

necessary, whether the plaintiff will be 

able to produce such testimony on the 

applicable standard of care. 

(2) Upon receipt of a Motion to Dismiss and 

Request for Hearing from the defendant, the 

Commission issues an order setting the motion 

on a hearing docket and the case is assigned to 

a Deputy Commissioner or a Special Deputy 

Commissioner. 

If the Commission determines that a claim for medical 

malpractice has been stated, and plaintiff must meet the 

requirements of Rule 9(j)(1) or (2) of the North Carolina Rules of 

Civil Procedure, the defendant shall produce medical records to 

the plaintiff within the time period prescribed by the Commission. 

Upon receipt of the medical records, the plaintiff shall then have 

120 days to comply with Rule 9(j) of the North Carolina Rules of 

Civil Procedure. 

(b)  If the defendant's Motion to Dismiss is granted, an appeal lies 

to the Full Commission. 

(c)  If defendant's Motion to Dismiss is denied, the case shall 

proceed as any other tort claims case. Defendant shall produce 

medical records to plaintiff within 45 days of the Order of the 
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Commission denying defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Plaintiff 

shall then have 120 days to comply with Rule 9(j) of the North 

Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0203 INFANTS AND INCOMPETENTS 

(a)  Persons seeking to appear on behalf of an infant or 

incompetent, in accordance with G.S. 1A-1, Rule 17, shall apply 

on a Form 42 Form T-42 Application for Appointment of 

Guardian Ad Litem. ad Litem. The Commission shall appoint a fit 

and proper person as guardian ad litem, if the Commission 

determines it to be in the best interest of the minor or incompetent. 

The Commission shall appoint the guardian ad litem only after 

due inquiry as to the fitness of the person to be appointed. 

(b)  The Commission may assess a fee to be paid to an attorney 

who serves as a guardian ad litem for actual services rendered 

upon receipt of an affidavit of actual time spent in representation 

of the minor or incompetent as part of the costs. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-295; 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0204 MOTIONS 

(a)  All motions regarding tort claims shall be filed pursuant to 

Rule .0104 of this Subchapter. with the Docket Section, unless the 

case is currently calendared before a Commissioner or Deputy 

Commissioner. All motions in calendared cases shall be filed with 

the Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner. 

(b)  A motion shall state with particularity the grounds on which 

it is based, based with particularity, the relief sought, and a 

statement of the opposing party's position, if known. or that the 

opposing party's position could not be ascertained after a good 

faith effort. Service shall be made on all opposing attorneys of 

record, or on all opposing parties, if not represented. 

(c)  At the same time a motion is filed, the party filing the motion 

shall provide a copy of the motion to all opposing attorneys of 

record, or on all opposing parties, if not represented. 

(c)(d)  All motions and responses thereto filed electronically shall 

include a proposed Order in Microsoft Word format to be 

considered by the Commission. 

(d)(e)  By motion of the parties, or on its own motion, the 

Commission may enlarge the time for an act required or allowed 

to be done under the Rules in this Subchapter in the interests of 

justice or to promote judicial economy. An enlargement of time 

may be granted either before or after the relevant time requirement 

has elapsed. 

(e)(f)  Motions to continue or remove a case from the hearing 

docket shall be made as much in advance as possible of the 

scheduled hearing as possible and shall be made in writing. The 

moving party shall state that the other parties have been advised 

of the motion and relate the position of the other parties regarding 

the motion. Oral motions are permitted in emergency situations. 

(f)(g)  The responding party to a motion, with the exception of 

motions to continue or to remove a case from a hearing docket, 

has 10 days after a motion is served during which to file and serve 

copies of a response in opposition to the motion. The Commission 

may shorten or extend the time for responding to any motion in 

the interests of justice or to promote judicial economy. 

(g)(h)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (f)(g) of this Rule, a motion 

may be acted upon at any time by the Commission, despite the 

absence of notice to all parties and without awaiting a response. 

A party who has not received actual notice of the motion or who 

has not filed a response at the time such action is taken and who 

is adversely affected by the ruling may request that it be 

reconsidered, vacated, or modified. Motions shall be determined 

without oral argument, unless the Commission orders otherwise 

in the interests of justice. 

(h)  When a Motion to Amend Pleadings has been filed, served 

upon opposing parties, and not previously ruled upon, the 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner may permit amendment 

of pleadings at the time of the hearing and then proceed to a 

determination of the case based on the evidence presented at the 

time of the hearing without requiring additional pleadings. 

(i)  Motions to dismiss or for summary judgment filed by the 

defendant on the ground that plaintiff has failed to name the 

individual officer, agent, employee or involuntary servant whose 

alleged negligence gave rise to the claim, or has failed to properly 

name the department or agency of the State with whom such 

person was employed, shall be ruled upon following the 

completion of discovery. 

(j)  Motions to reconsider or amend an order, opinion and award, 

Order or decision and order, Decision and Order, made prior to 

giving notice of appeal to the Full Commission, shall be directed 

addressed to the Deputy Commissioner who authored the Opinion 

and Award. Order or Decision and Order. 

(k)  Upon request of either party, or upon motion of the 

Commission, motions shall be set for hearing before a 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-296; 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0205 MEDIATION (EFFECTIVE JULY 

1, 2014) 

(a)  The parties to tort claims, by agreement or Order of the 

Commission, shall participate in mediation. Any party 

participating in mediation is bound by the Rules for Mediated 

Settlement and Neutral Evaluation Conferences of the 

Commission found in 11 NCAC 23G, except to the extent the 

same conflict with the Tort Claims Act or the rules in this 

Subchapter, in which case the Tort Claims Act and the rules in 

this Subchapter apply. 

(b)  An employee or agent of the named governmental entity or 

agency shall be available via telecommunication. Mediation shall 

not be delayed due to the absence or unavailability of the 

employee or agent of the named governmental entity or agency. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-295; 143-296; 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0208 HEARING COSTS 

Costs relating Costs assessed pursuant to Rule 11 NCAC 23E 

.0202 in to tort claims payable to the Commission are due upon 

receipt of a bill or statement from the Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 7A-305; 143-291.1; 143-291.2; 143-300. 

 

SECTION .0300 - APPEALS TO FULL COMMISSION 
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11 NCAC 23B .0302 NOTICE OF APPEAL APPEALS 

TO THE FULL COMMISSION 

(a)  A letter expressing an intent to Notice of appeal shall be 

considered notice of appeal to the Full made to the Commission 

within the meaning of G.S. 143-292, 15 days from the date when 

notice of the Deputy Commissioner's Order or Decision and Order 

has been received. The notice of appeal shall specify, provided 

that the letter specifies by tort claim number and filing date, the 

Order, Opinion and Award, Order or Decision and Order from 

which appeal is taken. The notice of appeal shall include a written 

statement confirming that a copy of the notice of appeal has been 

sent to the opposing party or parties. 

(b)  After receipt of the notice of appeal, the Commission shall 

acknowledge the notice of appeal in writing. Within 30 days of 

the acknowledgement, the Commission shall prepare and provide, 

at no charge to the parties, electronic copies of any official 

transcript and exhibits, along with a Form T-44 Application for 

Review. In cases where it is not possible to provide a party with 

the official transcript and exhibits electronically, the Commission 

shall provide the official transcript and exhibits and a Form T-44 

Application for Review via any class of U.S. mail that is fully 

prepaid. 

(c)  Within 25 days of receipt of the official transcript and 

exhibits, or receipt of notice that there will be no official transcript 

and exhibits, the appellant shall submit a Form T-44 Application 

for Review or written statement stating with particularity all 

assignments of error and grounds for review, including, where 

applicable, the pages in the transcript or the record on which the 

alleged errors are recorded. The Form T-44 Application for 

Review or the written statement shall include confirmation that a 

copy of the document has been sent to the opposing party or 

parties. Failure to file the proposed issues on appeal, either by 

Form T-44 Application for Review or by written statement, may 

result in the dismissal of the appeal either upon the motion of the 

non-appealing party or upon the Full Commission's own motion. 

(d)  An appellant may file a brief in support of the grounds for 

appeal with the Commission, with a written statement confirming 

that a copy of the brief has been sent to the opposing party or 

parties, within 25 days after receipt of the official transcript and 

exhibits or receipt of notice that there will be no official transcript 

and exhibits. The appellee shall have 25 days from service of the 

appellant's brief to file a reply brief with the Commission, with a 

written statement confirming that a copy of the brief has been sent 

to the opposing party or parties. When the appellant fails to file a 

brief, the appellee shall file a brief within 25 days after the 

appellant's time for filing a brief has expired. If multiple parties 

appeal, each party may file an appellant's brief and appellee's brief 

on the schedule set forth in this Rule. If the matter has not been 

calendared for hearing, any party may file a written stipulation to 

a single extension of time not to exceed 15 days with the Office 

of the Clerk. In no event shall the cumulative extensions of time 

exceed 30 days. A party who fails to file a brief shall not be 

allowed oral argument before the Full Commission. 

(e)  Cases shall be cited to the North Carolina Reports, the North 

Carolina Court of Appeals Reports, or the North Carolina 

Reporter, and when possible, to the South Eastern Reporter. 

Counsel shall not discuss matters outside the record, assert 

personal opinions or relate personal experiences, or attribute 

wrongful acts or motives to opposing counsel or members of the 

Commission. 

(f)  Briefs to the Full Commission shall not exceed 35 pages, 

excluding attachments. No page limit applies to the length of 

attachments. Typed briefs shall be prepared using 12-point 

proportional type, shall be double spaced, and shall be prepared 

with non-justified right margins. Each page of the brief shall be 

numbered at the bottom right of the page. When a party quotes or 

paraphrases testimony or evidence from the official transcript or 

exhibits in a brief, the party shall include, at the end of the 

sentence, a parenthetic entry that designates the source and page 

number of the quoted or paraphrased material. The party shall use 

"T" for transcript and "Ex" for exhibit. For example, (1) if a party 

quotes or paraphrases material located in the transcript on page 

11, the party shall use the following format "(T 11)" and (2) if a 

party quotes or paraphrases material located in an exhibit on page 

12, the party shall use the following format "(Ex 12)". When a 

party quotes or paraphrases testimony or other evidence in the 

transcript of a deposition, the party shall include, at the end of the 

sentence, a parenthetic entry that contains the name of the person 

deposed and the page number location within the transcript of the 

deposition. For example, if a party quotes or paraphrases the 

testimony of John Smith, located on page 11 of the transcript of 

the deposition, the party shall use the following format "(Smith 

11)". 

(g)  Any request for review by the Full Commission of an order 

by a Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner made during the 

pendency of a case assigned to them shall be filed with the Office 

of the Clerk. If the order made by the authoring Commissioner or 

Deputy Commissioner is a final judgment as to one or more issues 

or parties and the order contains a certification that there is no just 

reason for delay, the request for review shall be referred directly 

to a panel of the Full Commission. If the order contains no 

certification, requests for review will be referred to the Chair of 

the Commission for a determination regarding the right to 

immediate review, and the parties shall address the grounds upon 

which immediate review shall be allowed. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-292; 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0303 PROPOSED ISSUES ON APPEAL 

 

Authority G.S. 143-292; 143-300; 362 N.C. 191 (2008). 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0305 BRIEFS TO THE FULL 

COMMISSION 

 

Authority G.S. 143-296; 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0307 MOTIONS BEFORE THE FULL 

COMMISSION 

(a)  After notice of appeal has been given to the Full Commission, 

any motions related to the claim before the Full Commission shall 

be in writing and filed with the Full Commission, with service on 

a statement confirming that copies have been provided to the other 

parties. A Motion for a New Hearing must be supported by an 

Affidavit. 

(b)  A Motion for a New Hearing must be filed in writing, and 

supported by Affidavit. Motions related to the issues for review 
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on appeal, including motions for new trial, to amend the record, 

or to take additional evidence, filed during the pendency of an 

appeal to the Full Commission shall be argued before the Full 

Commission at the time of the hearing of the appeal. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-296; 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0308 STAYS 

When a case is appealed to the Full Commission, all orders, 

opinion and awards, Orders or decision and orders Decision and 

Orders of a Deputy Commissioner are stayed pending appeal. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-292; 143-296; 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0310 WAIVER OF ORAL ARGUMENT 

Upon the request of a party or its own motion, the Commission 

may waive oral argument in the interests of justice or to promote 

judicial economy. In the event of such waiver, the Full 

Commission shall file an award, based on the record and briefs.  

(a)  A party may waive oral argument at any time with approval 

of the Commission. Upon the request of a party or on its own 

initiative, the Commission may review the case and file an Order 

or Decision and Order without oral argument. 

(b)  When presenting oral argument, each appellant(s) shall have 

20 minutes to present oral argument and may reserve any amount 

of the 20-minute total allotment for rebuttal, unless otherwise 

specified by Order of the Commission. Each appellee(s) shall also 

have 20 minutes to present oral argument, unless otherwise 

specified by Order of the Commission; however, the appellee(s) 

may not reserve rebuttal time. In the case of cross-appeals, each 

appealing party may reserve rebuttal time. 

(c)  Any party may request additional time to present oral 

argument in excess of the standard twenty-minute allowance. 

Such requests shall be made in writing and submitted to the Full 

Commission no less than 10 days prior to the scheduled hearing 

date. The written request for additional time shall state with 

specificity the reason(s) for the request of additional time and the 

amount of additional time requested. 

(d)  If any party fails to appear before the Full Commission upon 

the call of the case, the Commission may disallow the party's right 

to present oral argument. If neither party appears upon the call of 

the case, the Full Commission may decide the case upon the 

record and briefs on appeal, unless otherwise ordered. 

(e)  Parties shall not discuss matters outside the record, assert 

personal opinions or relate personal experiences, or attribute 

wrongful acts or motives to opposing counsel or members of the 

Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-292; 143-296; 143-300. 

 

SECTION .0400 - APPEALS TO THE COURT OF 

APPEALS 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0402 STAYS 

When a case is appealed to the Court of Appeals, all orders, 

opinion and awards, Orders or decision and orders Decision and 

Orders of the Full Commission are stayed pending appeal. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-292; 143-294; 143-296; 143-300. 

 

SECTION .0500 – RULES OF THE COMMISSION 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0501 WAIVER OF RULES 

In the interests of justice or to promote judicial economy, the 

Commission may, except as otherwise provided by the rules in 

this Subchapter, waive or vary the requirements or provisions of 

any of the rules in this Subchapter in a case pending before the 

Commission upon written application request of a party or upon 

its own initiative only if the employee plaintiff is not represented 

by counsel. Factors the Commission shall use in determining 

whether to grant the waiver are: 

(1) the necessity of a waiver; 

(2) the party's responsibility for the conditions 

creating the need for a waiver; 

(3) the party's prior requests for a waiver; 

(4) the precedential value of such a waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the opposing 

parties; and 

(6) the harm to the party if the waiver is not 

granted. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-300. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 23L – INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION FORMS 

 

SECTION .0100 – WORKERS’ COMPENSATION FORMS 

 

11 NCAC 23L .0105 FORM T-42 – APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN AD LITEM 

(a)  Persons seeking to appear on behalf of an infant or incompetent shall apply on a Form T-42, Application for Appointment of 

Guardian Ad Litem, in accordance with Rule 11 NCAC 23B .0203. The Form 7-42, Application for Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem, 

shall read as follows: 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

IC File # T- __________ 

Application for Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem 

The use of this Form is required under Rule 11 NCAC 23B .0203 

 

___________ Plaintiff(s) v. _________Defendant(s) 

 

To the North Carolina Industrial Commission: 
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The undersigned __________ respectfully shows unto the North Carolina Industrial Commission that __________ is an __ infant or __ 

incompetent without general or testamentary guardian in this State, and that by reason thereof can bring an action only by a guardian ad 

litem; that the infant or incompetent has a cause of action against the defendants on account of the following matter and things: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

The undersigned is a reputable person closely connected with the infant or incompetent having the relationship with the infant or 

incompetent as follows: _______________________________________________________________ 

 

Wherefore, the undersigned prays the Commission that a fit and proper person be appointed Guardian Ad Litem for the infant or 

incompetent for the purpose of bringing on his or her behalf an action as above set out. 

Signature of Applicant __________________________________________________ Date____________________ 

 

(Please complete page 2 of form) 

 

Order Appointing Guardian Ad Litem 

 

It appearing to the North Carolina Industrial Commission from the above application that ____________________ is an __ infant or __ 

incompetent having no general or testamentary guardian within this State and that said infant or incompetent appears to have a good 

cause of action against the defendant(s); and it further appearing to the Commission after due inquiry that ____________________ is a 

fit and proper person to be appointed guardian ad litem for the infant or incompetent for the purpose of bringing this action on his or her 

behalf; 

It is therefore ordered that ____________________ be and is hereby appointed guardian ad litem of ____________________ to bring 

action on his or her behalf. 

 

This __________ day of ____________________. 

 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner ____________________ 

 

Please type or print: 

 

Full name and address of minor or incompetent: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Birth date of minor: ____________________ 

Full name and address of proposed guardian ad litem: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Important Information for Parties 

Parties should take notice of the provisions set forth in Rule 11 NCAC 23B .0203. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0203 Infants and Incompetents 

(a)  Persons seeking to appear on behalf of an infant or incompetent, in accordance with G.S. 1A-1, Rule 17, shall apply on a Form T-

42 Application for Appointment of Guardian ad Litem. The Commission shall appoint a fit and proper person as guardian ad litem, if 

the Commission determines it to be in the best interest of the minor or incompetent. The Commission shall appoint the guardian ad litem 

only after due inquiry as to the fitness of the person to be appointed. 

(b)  The Commission may assess a fee to be paid to an attorney who serves as a guardian ad litem for actual services rendered upon 

receipt of an affidavit of actual time spent in representation of the minor or incompetent as part of the costs. 

 

SEND TO:  

dockets@ic.nc.gov 

Office of the Clerk 

1236 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1236 

Main telephone: (919) 807-2500 

Helpline (800) 688-8349 

Website: http://www.ic.nc.gov 

 

FORM T-42 
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(b)  A copy of the form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule can be accessed at http://www.ic.nc.gov/formt42.pdf. The form may be 

reproduced only in the format available at http://www.ic.nc.ogv/forms/formt42.pdf and may not be altered or amended in any way. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-295; 143-300. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to amend the 

rules cited as 14B NCAC 15A .1603, .1604, and .1701. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.abc.nc.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 12, 2018 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To adopt a permanent rule to 

eliminate the requirement that a distiller representative be 

present for the ABC Commission, a privately owned bonded 

warehouse, or a local ABC board to destroy distressed liquor, as 

directed by the General Assembly in S.L. 2018-100, Sec. 2. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Walker Reagan, 400 East 

Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8367; fax 

(919) 661-6165; email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  December 14, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 15A - ORGANIZATIONAL RULES:  

POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 

 

SECTION .1600 - WAREHOUSE STORAGE OF 

SPIRITUOUS LIQUORS 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1603 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

STORAGE 

All privately-owned bonded warehouses holding permits for the 

storage of spirituous liquors are required to: 

(1) store all liquor separately separate and apart 

from other merchandise; 

(2) store all military codes separately separate and 

apart from state codes; 

(3) store all liquor of the same code together and 

spaced evenly for inventory purposes; 

(4) submit to the Commission monthly reports of 

all spirituous liquors received and delivered so 

that a perpetual inventory may be kept at the 

Commission, which report must match the 

inventory at the bonded warehouse at all times 

and upon inspections for inventory purposes; 

(5) take at their expense, and submit to the 

Commission, semi-annual inventories of all 

spirituous liquors being held in the bonded 

warehouse, which inventories may be observed 

by representatives of the Commission or the 

State Auditor's Office; 

(6) return all distressed liquor received to the 

distiller within 30 days of its receipt, or destroy 

in the presence of a distiller representative; 

receipt; or 

(7) destroy, in the presence of the distiller 

representative for the brand involved, destroy 

all liquor that becomes distressed after it is 

received. received, after notifying the distiller 

and obtaining in writing the distiller's approval 

to destroy the distressed liquor. The distiller, or 

a representative of the distiller, shall be given 

an opportunity to: 

(a) be present in person or by video 

conference at the destruction, or 

(b) request proof of destruction by 

photographs or video recordings 

showing the distressed liquor before 

and after the destruction. 

The distiller shall be provided with a written or 

electronic copy of the Unsalable Merchandise 

Report for the distressed liquor destroyed. The 
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report shall contain the name and title of the 

distiller, or representative of the distiller, who 

provided written approval to destroy the 

distressed liquor and the date the approval to 

destroy was given. A written or electronic copy 

of the report shall be sent quarterly to the 

Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-204; 18B-207; S.L. 2018-100, Sec. 

2. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1604 PROHIBITED PRACTICES 

(a)  The removal of any spirituous liquors except as provided for 

in these Rules to any place except the state State ABC warehouse, 

military posts, points outside the State of North Carolina or the 

shipping distillery is prohibited. 

(b)  No liquor, distressed or otherwise, shall be given to any 

distiller representative or employee of the warehouse but shall be 

destroyed in accordance with Rule .1603 of this Section and 

recorded in the Unsalable Merchandise Report in the presence of 

a distiller representative. Report. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-204; 18B-207; S.L. 2018-100, Sec. 

2. 

 

SECTION .1700 - RETAIL SALES OF ALCOHOLIC 

BEVERAGES 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1701 REMOVAL OF BEVERAGES 

FROM ABC STORES 

(a)  Spirituous liquor, either distressed or otherwise, shall not 

leave the custody of a local board after receipt unless: 

(1) The spirituous liquor is sold at retail; 

(2) The liquor is returned to the state State ABC 

warehouse; or 

(3) The liquor is purchased, exchanged, or 

otherwise obtained by another local board as 

provided by 14B NCAC 15A .1301(e). 

Any spirituous liquor otherwise leaving the local board is 

nontaxpaid spirituous liquor. 

(b)  Distressed Liquor. Distressed liquor shall be given to a public 

or private hospital for medicinal purposes only or destroyed and 

the destruction witnessed by the manager, or his designee and a 

distiller representative. the manager's designee in accordance with 

this Paragraph. The local board shall notify the distiller, or a 

representative of the distiller, in writing of the intent to destroy 

the distressed liquor, and obtain the distiller's, or a representative 

of the disiller's, written approval to destroy the distressed liquor. 

The distiller, or a representative of the distiller, shall be given an 

opportunity to: 

(1) be present in person or by video conference at 

the destruction, or 

(2) request proof of destruction by photographs or 

video recordings showing the distressed liquor 

before and after the destruction. 

A Destruction of Unsalable Merchandise Report shall be 

completed and signed by the witnessing parties. The report shall 

contain the name and title of the distiller, or representative of the 

distiller, who provided written approval to destroy the distressed 

liquor and the date the approval to destroy was given. A written 

or electronic copy of the report shall be sent to the distiller and a 

written or electronic copy shall be sent quarterly to the 

Commission. The original shall be retained by the local board for 

a period of three years. 

(c)  No sales of alcoholic beverages shall be made to employees, 

board members or other retail customers on credit. This does not 

prohibit purchases made by the use of credit cards. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-806; 18B-807; S.L. 2018-

100, Sec. 2. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to amend the 

rule cited as 14B NCAC 15A .1901. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.abc.nc.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 12, 2018 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To adopt a permanent rule to 

eliminate the requirement that a mixed beverages tax stamp be 

placed on the label of the container and allow the tax stamp to be 

placed on any vertical portion of the container, as directed by the 

General Assembly in S.L. 2018-100, Sec. 3. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Walker Reagan, 400 East 

Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8367; fax 

(919) 661-6165; email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  December 14, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

826 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 15A - ORGANIZATIONAL RULES:  

POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 

 

SECTION .1900 - SALES OF LIQUOR TO MIXED 

BEVERAGES PERMITTEES 

 

14B NCAC 15A .1901 MIXED BEVERAGES TAX 

STAMP 

(a)  Prior to the sale of any container of spirituous liquor or antique 

spirituous liquor to a permittee, the local board shall affix to the 

container a mixed beverages tax stamp that states the following: 

(1) the local board system of sale; 

(2) the permittee's transaction number; and 

(3) the permittee's Mixed Beverage Permit number. 

(b)  The mixed beverages tax stamp shall be affixed to the original 

paper labeling of each container, except that in the case of a 

container bearing no original label, the stamp shall be affixed to 

any vertical portion of the each container. In no event shall the 

stamp be affixed to the cap or closure of a container. Where a case 

of one brand has been purchased, the mixed beverages tax stamp 

shall be affixed to each container in the case and it shall not be 

sufficient to stamp the exterior of the case. 

(c)  For sales of liquor to a guest room cabinet permittee, a local 

board may affix the mixed beverages tax stamp to any portion of 

the container other than the cap or closure. In lieu of affixing the 

stamp to each container purchased by a guest room cabinet 

permittee, a local board may choose to give to the guest room 

cabinet permittee one tax stamp for each container of liquor 

purchased for resale from a guest room cabinet, as authorized by 

Rule .1804 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Mixed beverage permittees may transport no more than eight 

liters of opened containers of spirituous liquor without a purchase-

transportation permit to and from a local board in the non-

passenger area of a motor vehicle for the purpose of replacing 

mixed beverage tax stamps that are defaced or that have worn out 

numbers. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(1); 18B-207; 18B-807; S.L. 

2018-100, Sec. 3. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to amend the 

rule cited as 14B NCAC 15B .0101. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

www.abc.nc.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: December 12, 2018 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To define what constitutes a sports 

and entertainment venue under 14B NCAC 15B .1006, and for 

purposes of permissible ABC retail establishments under G.S. 

18B-1000 and 18B-1001, as amended by S.L. 2018-65, Sec. 5.1 

and S.L. 2018-100, Sec. 4. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Walker Reagan, 400 East 

Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610, phone (919) 779-8367, fax (919) 

661-6165, email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends: December 14, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 15B - RETAIL BEER: WINE: MIXED 

BEVERAGES:  BROWNBAGGING: ADVERTISING: 

SPECIAL PERMITS 

 

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS: PERMIT 

APPLICATION PROCEDURES 
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14B NCAC 15B .0101 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions found in Sections 18B-101 and 

18B-1000 of the North Carolina General Statutes, the following 

definitions apply to this Subchapter: 

(1) "Employee" means any person who performs a 

service for any person holding an ABC permit, 

regardless of whether that person is 

compensated for the performance of those 

services. 

(2) "Intoxicated" means the condition of a person 

whose mental or physical functioning appears 

to be presently substantially impaired as a result 

of the use of alcohol or other substance, such as 

when the person appears to a reasonable 

observer to be so far under such influence that: 

(A) the person's emotions are 

conspicuously uncontrolled; or 

(B) the person's intelligence, sense-

perceptions, judgment, continuity of 

thought or of ideas, speech and 

coordination of volition with muscular 

action, or some of these faculties or 

processes are materially impaired. 

(3) "Modified Plan Permits," as used in 14B NCAC 

15B .0105 and 14B NCAC 15B .0106, mean 

on-premise malt beverage permits authorized 

by elections held pursuant to G.S. 18B-

602(a)(4). 

(4) "Original container" means a bottle, can or 

other alcoholic beverage product container 

filled by a manufacturer or bottler that has been 

approved for sale within this State. 

(5) "Premises" means the same as defined in G.S. 

18B-101(12a). A diagram attached to the 

investigative report and kept in the permittee's 

file is prima facie evidence of the premises 

covered by that permit and for which the 

permittee and his employees are responsible. 

Permits shall authorize the sale and possession 

or consumption of alcoholic beverages only on 

the premises described in the investigative 

report and diagram furnished by the 

investigating agent. 

(6) "Private dining area" means any area of a 

restaurant or hotel that is or can be substantially 

closed off from public view. 

(7) "Sports and entertainment venue", as used in 

G.S. 18B-1000(7a) and in this Subchapter, shall 

include a building, structure, or place in which 

sporting competitions or contests are held, or 

shows, performances, or other entertainment is 

provided. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1000; 18B-1008; 122C-

3(18). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to amend the 

rule cited as 14B NCAC 15B .1006. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

www.abc.nc.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: December 12, 2018 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action: To adopt a permanent rule to 

allow a sports or entertainment venue with a permanent seating 

capacity of 3,000 or more, not located on a school, college or 

university campus, to display point-of-sale advertising for malt 

beverages and unfortified wine inside the venue that is visible 

from outside the venue, as directed by the General Assembly in 

S.L. 2018-65, Sec. 5.1. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Walker Reagan, 400 East 

Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610, phone (919) 779-8367, fax (919) 

661-6165, email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends: December 14, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 15B - RETAIL BEER: WINE: MIXED 
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BEVERAGES:  BROWNBAGGING: ADVERTISING: 

SPECIAL PERMITS 

 

SECTION .1000 - ADVERTISING 

 

14B NCAC 15B .1006 ADVERTISING OF MALT 

BEVERAGES, WINE AND MIXED BEVERAGES BY 

RETAILERS 

(a)  Interior Advertising. 

(1) Point-of-Sale. Retail malt beverage, wine and 

mixed beverage permittees may utilize any 

amount of point-of-sale advertising for malt 

beverage, wine and mixed beverage products 

offered for sale in the establishment. This 

advertising may be supplied by the industry 

member unless it constitutes a fixture or has 

value other than as advertising material; except 

that an industry member may give a retailer 

brand-identified items listed in 14B NCAC 15C 

.0711(c) for use as point-of-sale advertising; 

(2) Price Boards. Retail malt beverage, wine and 

mixed beverage permittees may display inside 

price boards showing the brand names and 

prices of malt beverage, wine and mixed 

beverage products offered for sale in the 

establishment; 

(3) Menus and Beverage Lists. Retail on-premise 

malt beverage, wine and mixed beverage 

permittees may place on the menu and beverage 

lists the brand names and prices of malt 

beverage, wine and mixed beverage products 

offered for sale in the establishment. Beverage 

lists may be supplied by an industry member 

and may include up to six items from the 

retailer's food menu but shall not include the 

name, logo or other identifier of the retail 

permittee on the advertisement. A table tent is 

considered a beverage list for purposes of this 

Rule; 

(4) Retailer Advertising Specialty Items. Retailer 

advertising specialty items are items such as 

trays, coasters, mats, meal checks, paper 

napkins, glassware, cups, foam scrapers, back 

bar mats, thermometers and other similar items 

that bear advertising matter. Advertising 

specialty items may be provided to a retailer by 

an industry member as provided in 14B NCAC 

15C .0711(b)(8); 

(5) Window Displays. Retail malt beverage, wine 

and mixed beverage permittees may arrange 

unopened malt beverage, wine or spirituous 

liquor products in a window display; 

(6) Location. No Except as permitted pursuant to 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule, no point-of-sale 

advertising, advertising specialty item or price 

board shall be displayed in a manner designed 

or intended to advertise malt beverages, wine or 

mixed beverages on the outside of the 

establishment; 

(7) T-shirts. A retailer's employees shall not wear 

alcoholic beverage brand identified t-shirts 

while working on the retailer's licensed 

premises; and 

(8) Removal of Signs. A permittee shall remove 

any sign, display or advertisement in or about 

his licensed premises if the Commission finds it 

is contrary to public interest and orders its 

removal. 

(b)  Exterior Advertising. 

(1) Outside signs on the premises. 

(A) Malt Beverages. Retail malt beverage 

permittees may display the term 

"beer", "cold beer", "draught beer", 

"specialty beer", "craft beer", "North 

Carolina beer", "local beer" or 

"imported beer" on a single, non-

mechanical outside sign. This sign 

may be neon illuminated. The letters 

and figures on the sign shall not be 

more than 5 inches in height and 2 

inches apart and the sign shall be 

attached to the building on the licensed 

premises. Retail malt beverage 

permittees may also display the term 

"beer", "cold beer", "draught beer", 

"specialty beer", "craft beer", "North 

Carolina beer", "local beer" or 

"imported beer" or a similar term on a 

single, portable, non-mechanical 

sidewalk sign that is no larger than 25 

inches by 45 inches on each of its two 

sides. The sidewalk sign shall be 

displayed only during the hours of 

operation; 

(B) Wine. Retail wine permittees may 

display the term "wine permit-off 

premise", "wine permit-on premise", 

"fine wine" or a similar term on a 

single non-mechanical outside sign. 

This sign may be neon illuminated. 

The letters and figures on the sign 

shall not be more than 5 inches in 

height and 2 inches apart and the sign 

shall be attached to the building on the 

licensed premises. Instead of the sign 

described in this Paragraph, retail wine 

permittees engaged in off-premise 

sales of wine may display the term 

"Wine Shop", "Wine and Cheese" or a 

similar term on a single non-

mechanical sign. This sign may be 

neon illuminated. The letters and 

figures on the sign shall not be more 

than 18 inches in height and the sign 

shall be attached to the building on the 

licensed premises. Retail wine 

permittees may also display the term 

"wine permit-off premise", "wine 
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permit-on premise", "fine wine" or a 

similar term on a single, portable, non-

mechanical sidewalk sign that is no 

larger than 25 inches by 45 inches on 

each of its two sides. Instead of the 

sidewalk sign described in this 

Paragraph, retail wine permittees 

engaged in off-premise sales of wine 

may display the term "Wine Shop", 

"Wine and Cheese", "fine wine" or a 

similar term on a single, portable, non-

mechanical sidewalk sign that is no 

larger than 25 inches by 45 inches on 

each of its two sides. A sidewalk sign 

shall be displayed only during the 

hours of operation; 

(C) Restriction. Retail malt beverage, 

wine and mixed beverage permittees 

shall not allow price advertising or 

additional signs advertising malt 

beverages, wine and mixed beverages 

on the outside of their premises. 

Outside signs alluding to malt 

beverages, wine or mixed beverages 

by slang descriptions such as "brew," 

"suds," "six-pack," "vino" or "booze" 

are prohibited; 

(D) Exceptions; Menus; Trade Names. 

The placement of a food menu that 

also contains a list of alcoholic 

beverages by brand and price in a 

window, on the exterior of the 

retailer's building or on a sidewalk 

sign that is no larger than 25 inches by 

45 inches on each of its two sides is 

not a violation of this Rule. A sidewalk 

sign shall be displayed only during the 

hours of operation; 

(E) Mixed Beverages. Retail mixed 

beverage permittees may display the 

term "mixed beverages," "all ABC 

permits," "mixed drinks," "cocktails," 

or "spirits," on a single non-

mechanical, non-neon, or otherwise 

self-illuminated outside sign. The 

letters and figures on the sign shall not 

be more than five inches in height and 

two inches apart and the sign shall be 

attached to the building on the licensed 

premises; and 

(F) Private Club. A private club shall not 

display any exterior sign advertising 

the availability of malt beverages, 

wine or mixed beverages; 

(2) Billboards. Retail permittees shall not advertise 

malt beverage, wine or mixed beverage 

products or the availability of alcoholic 

beverages by means of a billboard or outdoor 

sign except as provided in this Section. Industry 

members with retail permits may advertise 

tastings; 

(3) Aerial Displays. Retail permittees shall not 

advertise malt beverage, wine or mixed 

beverage products or the availability of 

alcoholic beverages by means of an aerial 

display or an inflatable item that is tethered; and 

(4) Only exterior advertising permitted by local 

ordinances is authorized. 

(c)  Removal of Signs. A permittee shall remove any sign, display, 

or advertisement in or about his licensed premises if the 

Commission finds it is contrary to public interest and orders its 

removal. 

(d)  Media Advertising. A retail malt beverage, wine or mixed 

beverage permittee may advertise price and brand of malt 

beverage, wine and mixed beverage products offered for sale by 

means of circular, newspaper, magazine, radio, television and 

internet. 

(e)  Notwithstanding Subparagraph (a)(6) and Paragraph (c) of 

this Rule, a sports or entertainment venue with a permanently 

constructed seating capacity of 3,000 or more, which is not 

located on the campus of a school, college, or university, may 

display point-of-sale advertising for malt beverages and 

unfortified wine inside the venue that is visible from the outside 

of the venue, and shall not be required by the Commission to 

move or remove the advertising. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-105; 18B-207; 18B-1116(b); S.L. 

2018-65, Sec. 5.1. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to adopt the 

rules cited as 14B NCAC 15C .1301-.1306 and amend the rules 

cited as 14B NCAC 15C .0101, .0102 and .0901.  

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

www.abc.nc.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: December 12, 2018 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To adopt permanent rules to 

implement G.S. 18B-1114.7 to allow for issuance of spirituous 

liquor special event permits to supplier representatives, 

brokerage representatives and distilleries to allow these 

permittees to conduct free spirituous liquor tastings at certain 

events, to amend the commercial alcoholic beverage permit rules 

with regards to spirituous liquor special event permits, and to put 

into commercial permit application rule policies and practices 

with regards to other commercial permit applicants.  
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Comments may be submitted to:  Walker Reagan, 400 East 

Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8367; fax 

(919) 661-6165; email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends: December 14, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 15C - INDUSTRY MEMBERS: 

RETAIL/INDUSTRY MEMBER RELATIONSHIPS: SHIP 

CHANDLERS: AIR CARRIERS: FUEL ALCOHOL 

 

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS: APPLICATION 

PROCEDURES 

 

14B NCAC 15C .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The following terms shall have the following meanings when used 

in this Chapter: 

(1) "Brand," in relation to wines, means the name 

under which a wine is produced and includes 

trade names or trademarks. A brand shall not be 

construed to mean a class or type of wine, but 

all classes and types of wines sold under the 

same brand label are shall be considered a 

single brand. Differences in packaging such as 

a different style, type type, or size of container 

are not shall not be considered different brands. 

(2) "Branded merchandise" means items, including 

glassware, cups, signs, t-shirts, hats and other 

apparel, that bears the brand of the alcoholic 

beverage being served, or the brand of the 

brewery, winery, or distiller whose alcoholic 

beverages is being served, at a tasting 

conducted pursuant to G.S. 18B-1114.1, G.S. 

18B-1114.5 or G.S. 18B-1114.7. 

(3) "Brokerage" means a business that brokers in 

the State the sale of spirituous liquor on behalf 

of a spirituous liquor supplier. 

(4) "Brokerage representative" means an individual 

who promotes spirituous liquor on behalf of a 

brokerage. 

(5) "Distiller representative" means an individual 

who promotes spirituous liquor on behalf of a 

distiller, or otherwise represents a distiller. 

(2)(6) "Industry member" means any wholesaler, 

salesman, brewery, winery, bottler, importer, 

liquor importer/bottler, distiller, distiller 

representative, brokerage, brokerage 

representative, supplier representative, 

rectifier, nonresident vendor, vendor 

representative, or affiliate thereof, that sells or 

solicits orders for alcoholic beverages, whether 

or not licensed in this state. State. 

(7) "Rectifier" means a permittee that processes 

spirituous liquor by cutting, blending, mixing, 

or infusing with any ingredient that reacts with 

the constituents of the distilled spirits and 

changes the character and nature, or standards 

of identity, of the distilled spirits, but does not 

include a person who extracts spirituous liquor 

by original or continuous distillation, or who 

mixes spirituous liquor with other ingredients 

for immediate consumption. 

(3)(8) "Retail permittee" or "retailer" means any 

permittee holding a retail alcoholic beverage 

permit issued pursuant to the authority of G.S. 

18B-1001, but does not include a non-profit or 

political organization that has been issued a 

Special One-Time permit pursuant to the 

provisions of G.S. 18B-1002(a)(2) or (5). 

(4) "Representative" means any vendor 

representative, as that term is used in G.S. 18B-

1112, or any other person selling or soliciting 

orders for alcoholic beverages on behalf of a 

manufacturer, bottler, vendor, or importer. 

(5)(9) "Spirituous liquor supplier" means a distiller, 

liquor importer/bottler, or rectifier. 

(10) "Supplier representative" means, as the term is 

used in G.S. 18B-1114.7, an individual who 

promotes on behalf of a spirituous liquor 

supplier, or otherwise represents a spirituous 

liquor supplier. 

(11) "Vendor" means any brewery, winery, bottler, 

malt beverages or wine importer, or nonresident 

malt beverage vendor or nonresident wine 

vendor, vendor as those terms are used in G.S. 

18B-1113 and 18B-1114. 

(12) "Vendor representative" means any person who 

holds a permit issued pursuant to G.S. 18B-

1112. 
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(6)(13) "Wine" means both fortified wine and 

unfortified wine, as those terms are defined in 

G.S. 18B-101(7) and (15). wine. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-101; 18B-207; 18B-1112; 18B-

1113; 18B-1114; 18B-1114.7; 18B-1116. 

 

14B NCAC 15C .0102 APPLICATION PROCEDURES 

(a)  Who Files. Before any winery, brewery, distiller, wholesaler, 

importer, bottler, representative, vendor, distiller representative, 

brokerage representative, salesman, supplier representative, or 

vendor representative sells, solicits orders for, or manufactures, 

bottles bottles, or imports any alcoholic beverage in this State, that 

person shall first file written application for the appropriate permit 

and pay the any required fees, as described in G.S. 18B-902. G.S. 

18B-902, and as set forth in this Rule. Applications for permits 

for businesses shall be filed by those individuals listed in G.S. 

18B-900(c). 

(b)  Who Files. Application for permits shall be filed by those 

individuals listed in G.S. 18B-900(c). Application. Application 

forms for all ABC permits may be obtained from the North 

Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission's office or 

website as set forth in 14B NCAC 15A .0102. 

Each person shall provide in the application, under oath, the 

following information: information, as applicable: 

(1) name, address, and residence of applicant; the 

name, address, email address, last four digits of 

social security number, and telephone 

number(s) of the applicant; 

(2) the mailing address and of location address of 

the business for which a permit is desired, and 

the county and state in which where the 

business is located; 

(3) corporate or partnership name; the name of the 

business and whether the business is a sole 

proprietorship, corporation, limited liability 

company, or partnership; 

(4) the trade name of business; 

(5) name and address of owner of premises; 

(6)(5) the applicant's date and place of birth; 

(7)(6) if the business is a corporation, corporation or 

limited liability company, the name and address 

of the agent or employee person authorized to 

serve as process agent; accept service of 

process of Commission notices or orders under 

G.S, 1A, Rule 4(j). 

(8)(7) if a nonresident, the applicant is a non-resident 

intending to operate a business in the State of 

North Carolina, State, the name and address of 

person a resident of the State appointed as the 

applicant's attorney-in-fact by virtue of a duly 

executed and registered power of attorney; in 

accordance with Chapter 32C of the General 

Statutes for purposes of G.S. 18B-900(a)(2)b.; 

and 

(9)(8) if the application is for a vendor representative 

representative, brokerage representative, 

distiller representative, or supplier 

representative permit, authorization from the 

commercial permittee permittee, brokerage, 

distiller. or spirituous liquor supplier to 

represent it. it; and 

(9) that the applicant is in compliance with G.S. 

18B-900(a)(3) through (8). 

In addition the applicant shall certify, under oath, that he has not 

been convicted of a felony within three years, an alcohol or drug 

law violation within two years, nor had any permit authorizing the 

sale, importation, or manufacture of alcoholic beverages revoked 

by this State, any other state, or the federal government revoked 

within the past three years. 

(c)  Additional documentation. The following documents 

completed, signed, notarized, and recorded, as applicable, shall be 

attached to and submitted with an application, and shall be 

incorporated as part of the application: 

(1) for applicants applying on behalf of a business 

pursuant to G.S. 18B-900(c), the fingerprint 

card, Authority for Release of Information 

Form, and certified check, cashier check, 

money order, electronic payment, or credit card 

payment made payable to the North Carolina 

ABC Commission in the amount of thirty-eight 

dollars ($38.00) for payment of a state and 

national fingerprint-based criminal history 

record check pursuant to 14B NCAC 18B 

.0405; 

(2) for applicants applying for brokerage 

representative, distiller representative, or 

supplier representative permits, a certified copy 

of the applicant's State criminal history record 

check; 

(3) payment of applicable permit fees as authorized 

in 14B NCAC 15A .0104; 

(4) for businesses located in this State, a certified 

copy of any recorded power of attorney 

registered in the county where the proposed 

licensed premises is located; 

(5) for corporations not already holding a permit in 

this State, a copy of the Articles of 

Incorporation and notarized corporate 

certification of shareholders holding 25 percent 

or more of the shares of the corporation; 

(6) for limited liability companies not already 

holding a permit in this State, a copy of Articles 

of Organization and notarized organizational 

certification of members owning 25 percent or 

more interest in the company. Additionally, if 

manager-managed, a copy of the Operating 

Agreement; 

(7) a black and white copy of applicant's current 

photo identification; 

(8) for a business located in this State, a copy or 

memorandum of the lease showing the 

applicant as tenant, a copy of the deed showing 

the applicant as the grantee or owner, or a copy 

of a management agreement with the owner or 

lessee of the permitted property showing the 

applicant has the authority to operate the 

business at the permitted location; and 
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(9) a Federal Employer Identification/Social 

Security Number Verification Form. 

(c)(d)  Salesmen, Representatives, Vendors To State Companies. 

All salesmen, vendor representatives, distiller representatives, 

brokerage representatives, supplier representatives, and vendors 

shall further state on the permit application the name of every 

manufacturer, importer, wholesaler, distiller, brokerage, 

spirituous liquor supplier, or vendor that the applicant will 

represent in the State of North Carolina. State. The persons listed 

in this Paragraph shall notify the Commission when their 

authorization to represent an industry member ceases. The 

manufacturer, importer, wholesaler, distiller, brokerage, 

spirituous liquor supplier, or vendor shall notify the Commission 

whenever any of the persons listed in this Paragraph are no longer 

their authorized representative. Notification required pursuant to 

this Paragraph shall be made to the Commission in writing within 

30 days of the termination of the authorization to represent. 

(d)(e)  Resident Wholesalers. In addition to the requirements set 

forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b)(a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, every 

applicant for a permit to sell malt beverages or wine at wholesale 

shall submit with the permit application before a wholesaler 

receives, possesses, transports, sells, delivers, or ships wine or 

malt beverages in the State, the vendor shall file with the 

Commission a separate distribution agreement filing form 

specifying the brands for each brand authorized to be sold by the 

wholesaler and the specific territory in which where the product 

may be sold. sold for each wholesaler location. The distribution 

agreement filing form shall contain the vendor's and wholesaler's 

names, trade names if applicable, addresses, telephone numbers, 

ABC permit numbers, and the name of the brand and territory 

where the sales may take place in the State, by county or parts of 

counties. For wine vendors, the form shall also state whether the 

vendor ships 1,250 cases or more of wine in the State each year. 

The form shall be signed and dated by the vendor and the 

wholesaler. If any changes in the distribution agreement affect the 

information on the distribution agreement filing form filed with 

the Commission, the wholesaler shall amend the form and file it 

with the Commission on a revised distribution agreement filing 

form before the changes become effective. 

(f)  Liquor Importer/Bottler. In addition to the requirements set 

forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a liquor 

importer/bottler applying for a permit shall submit a description 

of the operations of its business, which shall include the location 

address of any storage facility or bottling plant, if different than 

the address shown on the permit application, and any associated 

federal alcoholic beverage permit numbers. 

(g)  Nonresident Vendors. In addition to the requirements set forth 

in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a nonresident malt 

beverage vendor or a nonresident wine vendor applying for a 

permit shall submit the following: 

(1) a copy of the Federal Basic Permit or Brewers 

Notice; 

(2) a statement of whether the business is a malt 

beverage vendor or a wine vendor; 

(3) a statement whether the applicant has ever been 

disapproved by any government agency for any 

application to manufacture, use, store, rectify, 

bottle, distribute, sell, import, or transport 

distilled spirits, beer or wine; 

(4) a statement whether the applicant has ever 

compromised, by payment of penalties or 

otherwise, any violation of any federal or state 

laws relating to internal revenue or customs 

taxation of alcoholic beverages; and 

(5) certification of understanding that the applicant 

can only engage in activities authorized by the 

ABC laws of this State for the permit issued, 

and that before any wine or malt beverage can 

be offered for sale in the State, the product and 

label must be approved by the Commission. 

(h)  Wine Producers. In addition to the requirements set forth in 

Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a wine producer applying 

for a permit shall submit a copy of the recorded deed or lease for 

the farming establishment that meets the requirements set forth in 

G.S. 18B-1000(10), including the address of the farm and one of 

the following: 

(1) a survey or diagram of the farm, indicating the 

areas and acreage used in the production of 

grapes, berries, or other fruits for the 

manufacture of unfortified wine; or 

(2) an affidavit stating that the farm consists of at 

least five acres committed to the production of 

grapes, berries, or other fruits for the 

manufacture of unfortified wine, listing the 

acreage used for this purpose and its function. 

(i)  Wine Shippers. In addition to the requirements set forth in 

Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a wine shipper applying 

for a permit shall submit the following: 

(1) a description of the operation of the business; 

(2) a website address through which orders will be 

received; 

(3) a statement whether the applicant has ever been 

disapproved by any government agency for any 

application to manufacture, use, store, rectify, 

bottle, distribute, sell, import or transport 

distilled spirits, beer, or wine; 

(4) a statement whether the applicant has ever 

compromised, by payment of penalties or 

otherwise, any violation of any federal or state 

laws relating to internal revenue or customs 

taxation of alcoholic beverages; 

(5) a statement whether the business entity holds a 

valid Federal Basic Permit, either as a Bonded 

Wine Cellar or Bonded Winery, and a copy of 

the Federal Basic Permit; and 

(6) a wine shipper brand listing consisting of all 

brands of fortified and unfortified wines 

identified to be shipped into the State by the 

wine shipper, including the names of the 

common carriers used for shipping. The 

permitted wine shipper may amend the brands 

of wine permitted to be shipped into the State 

by filing an amended wine shipper brand listing 

with the Commission. Only brands identified 

by the wine shipper to the Commission in 

writing may be legally shipped into the State. 
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Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-109; 18B-201; 18B-207; 18B-900; 

18B-902; 18B-1000; 18B-1001.1; 18B-1105.1; 18B-1109(b) 

;18B-1200 through 18B-1216; 18B-1113; 18B-1114; 18B-

1114.3; 18B-1114.7; 18B-1203; 18B-1303. 

 

SECTION .0900 - DISTILLERS: REPRESENTATIVES 

 

14B NCAC 15C .0901 DISTILLER DISTILLER, 

SUPPLIER AND BROKERAGE REPRESENTATIVES: 

PROHIBITED ACTS 

(a)  Representatives Prohibited from Entering Store. Distiller 

representatives representatives, supplier representatives, or 

brokerage representatives shall not enter any ABC store except 

for the purpose of calling on the buyer if the buyer's office is 

maintained in the store, for the purpose of making a purchase 

purchase, or unless given permission by a local Board for the 

purpose of visiting a store to market product, build displays, or 

attach added value items. items in accordance with written 

permission from the local Board. An initial request for permission 

to visit a store pursuant to this Paragraph shall be made in writing 

by the representative to the general manager of the local Board in 

a form acceptable to the local Board. The local Board may adopt 

policies regulating when a representative may visit the local 

Board's ABC store, which may include the times, frequency, 

purpose, method of requesting and approving, and any advance 

notice requirements. Permission granted by the general manager, 

or other persons designated by the local Board, to the 

representative to visit the local Board's ABC stores shall initially 

be made in writing and in accordance with any policies adopted 

by the local Board. The duration of the permission may be for an 

indefinite time. The local Board's policies may authorize the 

general manager, or his or her designee, to verbally authorize 

subsequent specific visits after written permission has been given. 

(b)  Representatives Prohibited from Contacting Store Personnel. 

Distiller representatives representatives, supplier representatives, 

or brokerage representatives shall not contact, either directly or 

indirectly, or call upon contact store personnel while store 

personnel are off duty for the purpose of promoting their 

merchandise. merchandise while store personnel are off-duty. 

Store personnel shall not allow distiller representatives 

representatives, supplier representatives, or brokerage 

representatives to contact them, either directly or indirectly, or 

allow the distiller representativesto call upon them in any manner 

while they are off duty for the purpose of promoting their 

merchandise. merchandise while store personnel are off-duty. 

(c)  Gifts Prohibited. Representatives Distiller representatives, 

supplier representatives, or brokerage representatives shall not 

give liquor, including samples, or anything of value to local ABC 

board members or employees, which includes including store 

managers and general managers, at any time. Local ABC board 

members or employees, which includes store managers and 

general managers, shall not accept gifts, either directly or 

indirectly, or through a third person, from any distiller 

representative, supplier representative, or brokerage 

representative. 

(d)  Soliciting and Advertising Prohibited. Except for purchases 

made by state or local officials for supply of ABC stores, salesmen 

of spirituous liquor shall not with regard to purchases of spirituous 

liquor by any person: Except for contact with the Commission, 

local ABC boards, and retail permittees, with regards to the 

promotion and purchase of spirituous liquor, no distiller 

representative, supplier representative, or brokerage 

representative shall: 

(1) solicit any order, agreement, or other 

commitment to purchase liquor, whether or not 

it is legally enforceable; or 

(2) advertise, promote promote, or encourage 

purchases by any means or method or furnish 

any means by which spirituous liquor may be 

obtained, except as provided in 14B NCAC 15B 

.1008. 

Exceptions shall be made upon notification from the Commission 

to a distiller representative when there is expressed interest by a 

fraternal or civic group in the purchase of a ceramic or 

commemorative decanter. Upon notice, distiller representatives 

may present pictorial art work or renderings in solicitation and a 

presentation to that group. This Paragraph shall not apply to a 

distiller representative, supplier representative, or brokerage 

representative who has been granted an exemption by the 

Commission to make presentations of pictorial artwork or 

renderings of the design of the decanter and solicitation of a 

special order of these decanters at the request of a local ABC 

board and non-profit, charitable corporation related to orders and 

sales of commemorative bottles pursuant to Rule 14B NCAC 15A 

.1404. Requests for an exception under this Paragraph shall be 

made in writing to the Commission. 

(e)  Relationship With Mixed Beverages Permittee. No employee 

or representative of any distiller, importer, rectifier rectifier, or 

bottler may promote or solicit orders by a mixed beverages 

permittee or aid the permittee in placing orders for any spirituous 

liquor or for any other alcoholic beverages. 

(f)  Gifts and Inducements Prohibited. No Except as permitted 

pursuant to Rules .0710 and .0711 of this Subchapter, no 

employee or representative of any rectifier or industry member 

may give or lend to any mixed beverage permittee, or his 

permittee or the permittee's employee any gift, money, services, 

equipment, furniture, fixture fixture, or other thing of value. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-807; 18B-1116. 

 

SECTION .1300 – SPECIAL EVENT PERMITS 

 

14B NCAC 15C .1301 DEFINITIONS 

As used in G.S. 18B-1114.7 and in this Section: 

(1) "Charitable, nonprofit organization" means a 

nonprofit organization that is a charitable 

organization as defined in G.S. 1-539.11(1). 

(2) "Local fund-raiser" means a special event 

sponsored or cosponsored by a local 

government, a local charitable, nonprofit 

organization, or a local political organization 

for the purpose of raising funds for a 

governmental, charitable or political purpose. 

(3) "Special event" means either: 

(a) an event in which the spirituous liquor 

special event permittee participates 

that is a trade show, convention, street 

festival, holiday festival, agricultural 
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festival, balloon race, local fund-

raisers, or other similar events 

approved pursuant to Rule .1302 of 

this Section, that is for a limited 

duration of no more than 10 days and 

organized or sponsored by a person 

other than the spirituous liquor special 

event permittee; or 

(b) an event of limited duration of no 

more than 60 days at a shopping mall 

that is organized and sponsored by the 

shopping mall or an association of 

shopping mall merchants as part of a 

promotion or sale for all merchants in 

the shopping mall. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7. 

 

14B NCAC 15C .1302 OTHER SIMILAR EVENTS 

APPROVAL 

For other events not specifically listed in G.S. 18B-1114.7, the 

holder of a spirituous liquor special event permit issued pursuant 

to G.S. 18B-1114.7 shall obtain approval of that other similar 

event from the Commission prior to the permit holder 

participating in the event. The holder of the permit shall submit a 

written application for approval to the Commission no less than 

seven business days prior to the date of the event. The application, 

available on the Commission's website, includes: 

(1) the permit holder's name, business name, 

spirituous liquor special event permit number, 

email address, and telephone and fax numbers; 

(2) the name, dates, time, location, address, and 

county of the event; 

(3) whether an admission fee will be charged of the 

attendees by the event sponsor; 

(4) the event sponsor's name, address, contact 

information, event or sponsor's social media 

link or webpage, and whether the event sponsor 

is a non-profit organization; 

(5) whether the event sponsor holds a special one-

time ABC permit pursuant to G.S. 18B-

1002(a)(2) or (5) and whether alcohol will 

otherwise be sold or given away at the event; 

and 

(6) the names of other co-sponsors, supporters, 

vendors, or exhibitors who are expected to 

participate in the event, and whether those 

persons hold ABC permits. 

The Commission shall not approve events sponsored exclusively 

by the holder of the permit. Tastings of spirituous liquor shall not 

be allowed pursuant to a spirituous liquor special event permit on 

the premises of a retail permittee or an ABC store. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7. 

 

14B NCAC 15C .1303 TASTINGS HELD FOR 

CONSUMERS 

(a)  Tasting Area Designation. Tastings permitted pursuant to a 

spirituous liquor special event permit shall only be conducted 

within a designated tasting area, delineated by vertical markings 

no less than 24 inches in height that the consumer would 

recognize as indicating the boundaries that physically separate the 

tasting area from the remainder of the special event. Only tastings, 

sale of branded merchandise, and advertising authorized pursuant 

to G.S. 18B-1114.7 may be conducted in the tasting area. No 

unrelated activities may be conducted in the designated tasting 

area. Consumers shall not be permitted to take tasting samples 

outside the designated tasting area. The permittee shall ensure that 

designated tasting area signs are displayed at the permittee's 

tastings serving tables and at the entrances and exits to the 

designated tasting area, with lettering of at least two inches in 

height, informing consumers that they must be 21 years of age to 

participate in the tastings and that no tasting samples are allowed 

to be taken out of the designated tasting area. A designated tasting 

area may include one or more permittees. A special event may 

have multiple designated tasting areas. 

(b)  Each permittee conducting a tasting may give each consumer 

tasting samples up to the limits set forth in G.S. 18B-1114.7(b)(3). 

(c)  Training. Any employee of a permittee who will be 

conducting or supervising any tasting conducted pursuant to a 

spirituous liquor special event permit shall be given training, 

including: 

(1) identification of potential underage consumers; 

(2) recognition of fictitious identification; 

(3) identification of consumers who are visibly 

intoxicated; 

(4) service of correct sample sizes; and 

(5) methods to ensure compliance with G.S. 18B-

1114.7 in accordance with Rule .1304 of this 

Section. 

(d)  Consumption prohibited. The permittee, the permittee's agent, 

or employee shall not be in the designated tasting area after 

consuming alcoholic beverages except under the following 

conditions: 

(1) the permittee, agent, or employee is off duty for 

the remainder of that day or night during which 

the individual consumes any alcoholic 

beverage; 

(2) the permittee, agent, or employee is out of 

uniform when uniforms are required to be worn 

while performing any on duty services; and 

(3) the permittee, agent, or employee shall not 

perform any on duty services of any nature 

while or after consuming alcoholic beverages. 

(e)  Limitations. Spirituous liquors provided as tastings pursuant 

to a spirituous liquor special event permit shall not be mixed with 

any other alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverage. No non-alcoholic 

beverages, other than water, shall be made available to the 

consumer in the designated tasting area. 

(f)  Source of spirituous liquor. All spirituous liquor used for 

tasting samples given in accordance with this Rule shall be 

purchased by the permittee from an ABC store. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7. 
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14B NCAC 15C .1304 SPECIAL EVENT COMPLIANCE 

PROCEDURE 

(a)  The permittee to whom the spirituous liquor special event 

permit was issued must be present in the designated tasting area 

at the time the tastings occur. A copy of the spirituous liquor 

special event permit shall be on display in the designated tasting 

area and shall be made available to law enforcement agents upon 

request. 

(b)  For other special events approved by the Commission 

pursuant to Rule .1302 of this Section, a copy of the Commission's 

approval shall be kept in the designated tasting area during the 

duration of the tastings and made available to law enforcement 

upon request. 

(c)  A spirituous liquor special event permit holder shall maintain 

a written procedure establishing the method to be used by the 

permit holder and the permit holder's employees or agents to 

ensure compliance with the requirements of G.S. 18B-

1114.7(b)(3), (4), and (5). A copy of the written procedure shall 

be available in the designated tasting area to the permit holder's 

employees and designated agents and shall be made available in 

the designated tasting area to law enforcement agents upon 

request. 

(d)  A copy of the written procedure required pursuant to 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be: 

(1) maintained for one year following the tasting; 

(2) included as part of the consumer tasting record 

maintained in accordance with G.S. 18B-

1114.7(b)(10); and 

(3) made available upon request to the Commission 

and law enforcement agents pursuant to G.S. 

18B-502. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-201; 18B-1114.7. 

 

14B NCAC 15C .1305 SPECIAL EVENT SALE OF 

BRANDED MERCHANDISE, POINT-OF-SALE 

ADVERTISING MATERIALS AND ADVERTISING 

SPECIALTIES 

(a)  In addition to the tastings permitted under this Section, a 

spirituous liquor special event permit holder may sell branded 

merchandise and provide point-of-sale advertising materials and 

advertising specialties to consumers at consumer tastings only 

within the designated tasting area. No other activities shall be 

conducted within the designated tasting area. 

(b)  For purposes of this Section: 

(1) "Point-of-sale advertising materials" means 

advertising that is located inside the designated 

tasting area established in accordance with Rule 

.1303 of this Section where the product is 

displayed or sampled. Advertising materials 

may include signs, posters, banners, and 

decorations that bear product advertising 

matter. Point-of-sale advertising materials as 

used in this Section shall not include items 

listed in 14B NCAC 15C .0711(c). 

(2) "Advertising specialties" means coasters, shot 

glasses, bottle or can openers, cork screws, ash 

trays, shopping bags, individual can coolers, 

hats, caps, visors, t-shirts (without collars or 

buttons), and key chains. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7. 

 

14B NCAC 15C .1306 SPECIAL EVENT 

PARTICIPATION LIMITATIONS 

(a)  For special events in shopping malls, the spirituous liquor 

special event permittee shall not participate in any single mall 

more than 10 days cumulatively in any three-month period. 

(b)  A spirituous liquor special event permittee shall not 

participate more than 10 days cumulatively during a three-month 

period in a special event sponsored or arranged by the same 

person or business. 

(c)  A spirituous liquor special event permittee shall not 

participate in a special event for which the permittee was the only 

spirituous liquor special event permittee invited or allowed to 

participate in the special event. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7; 18B-1116. 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 32 – MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 32S 

.0202, .0204, and .0220. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 11, 2018 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  North Carolina Medical Board, 1203 Front Street, 

Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed fees will provide 

revenue to enable the North Carolina Medical Board to carry out 

its statutory function to regulate Physician Assistants in North 

Carolina for the benefit and protection of the public. 

The proposed fee increase is the first increase for the physician 

assistants since 2005.  During this 13-year interval, physician fees 

have been increased twice.  The proposed fee increase for 

physician assistants is proportionate to the latest fee increase 

borne by physicians. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Wanda Long, Rules 

Coordinator, NC Medical Board, PO Box 20007, Raleigh, NC 

27619; email rules@ncmedboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  December 14, 2018 
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Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32S - PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 

 

SECTION .0200 – PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 

REGISTRATION 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0202 QUALIFICATIONS AND 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in this Subchapter, an individual 

shall obtain a license from the Board before practicing as a 

physician assistant. An applicant for a physician assistant license 

shall: 

(1) submit a completed application, available at 

www.ncmedboard.org, to the Board; 

(2) meet the requirements set forth in G.S. 90-9.3 

and has not committed any of the acts listed in 

G.S. 90-14; 

(3) supply a certified copy of applicant's birth 

certificate if the applicant was born in the 

United States or a certified copy of a valid and 

unexpired U.S. passport. If the applicant does 

not possess proof of U.S. citizenship, the 

applicant shall provide information about the 

applicant's immigration and work status that the 

Board shall use to verify applicant's ability to 

work lawfully in the United States; 

(4) submit to the Board proof that the applicant 

completed a Physician Assistant Educational 

Program. He or she shall also show successful 

completion of the Physician Assistant National 

Certifying Examination; 

(5) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee of two 

hundred dollars ($200.00) two hundred thirty 

dollars ($230.00) plus the cost of a criminal 

background check. There is no fee to apply for 

a physician assistant limited volunteer license; 

(6) submit National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB) and Healthcare Integrity and 

Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) reports. These 

reports shall be requested by the applicant and 

submitted to the Board within 60 days of the 

request; 

(7) submit a Board Action Data Bank Inquiry 

report from the Federation of State Medical 

Boards (FSMB). This report shall be requested 

by the applicant and submitted to the Board 

within 60 days of the request; 

(8) submit to the Board, at P. O. Box 20007, 

Raleigh, NC 27619, two complete original 

fingerprint record cards, on fingerprint record 

cards supplied by the Board upon request; 

(9) submit to the Board, at P. O. Box 20007, 

Raleigh, NC 27619 or 

license@ncmedboard.org, a signed consent 

form allowing a search of local, state, and 

national files to disclose any criminal record; 

(10) disclose whether he or she has ever been 

suspended from, placed on academic probation, 

expelled, or required to resign from any school, 

including a PA educational program; 

(11) attest that he or she has no license, certificate, 

or registration as a physician assistant currently 

under discipline, revocation, suspension, 

probation, or any other adverse action resulting 

from a health care licensing board; 

(12) certify that he or she is mentally and physically 

able to safely practice as a physician assistant 

and is of good moral character; 

(13) provide the Board with two original 

recommendation forms dated within six months 

of the application, at P. O. Box 20007, Raleigh, 

NC 27619, These recommendations shall come 

from persons under whom the applicant has 

worked or trained who are familiar with the 

applicant's academic competence, clinical 

skills, and character. At least one reference 

form shall be from a physician and the other 

reference form must be from a physician 

assistant peer under whom the applicant has 

worked or trained. References shall not be from 

any family member or, in the case of applicants 

who have not been licensed anywhere, 

references shall not be from fellow students of 

the applicant's Physician Assistant Educational 

Program; 

(14) if two years or more have passed since 

graduation from a Physician Assistant 

Educational Program, document that he or she 

has completed at least 100 hours of continuing 

medical education (CME) during the preceding 

two years, at least 50 hours of which must be 

recognized by the National Commission on 

Certification of Physician Assistants as 
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Category I CME. An applicant who is currently 

certified with the NCCPA will be deemed in 

compliance with this Subparagraph; and 

(15) In the event any of the above required 

information should indicate a concern about the 

applicant's qualifications, the applicant shall 

supply any other information the Board deems 

necessary to evaluate the applicant's 

qualifications, including explanation or 

documentation of the information required in 

this Rule. 

(b)  In the event any of the above required information should 

indicate a concern about the applicant's qualifications, an 

applicant may be required to appear in person for an interview 

with the Board, if the Board determines in its discretion that more 

information is needed to evaluate the application. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-9.3; 90-11; 90-14(a); 90-18(c)(13); 90-18.1. 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0204 ANNUAL RENEWAL 

(a)  A physician assistant shall renew his/her license each year no 

later than 30 days after his/her birthday by: 

(1) completing the Board's renewal form; and 

(2) submitting a nonrefundable fee of one hundred 

twenty dollars ($120.00), one hundred sixty-

five dollars ($165.00), except that a physician 

assistant who renews not later than 30 days after 

his/her birthday shall pay an annual renewal fee 

of one hundred dollars ($100.00); one hundred 

forty dollars ($140.00); 

(b)  If a physician assistant fails to renew his/her license, the 

Board shall send a certified notice, return receipt requested. If the 

physician assistant does not renew his/her license within 30 days 

of the date of the mailing of that notice, his/her license 

automatically becomes inactive. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-9.3(c). 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0220 EXPEDITED APPLICATION 

FOR PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT LICENSURE 

(a)  An physician assistant who has been licensed, certified, or 

authorized to practice in at least one other state, the District of 

Columbia, U.S. Territory or Canadian province for at least five 

years, has been in active clinical practice during the past two years 

and who has a clean license application, as defined in Paragraph 

(c) of this Rule, may apply for a license on an expedited basis. 

(b)  In order to apply for an expedited Physician Assistant License, 

an applicant shall: 

(1) submit a completed application, using the 

Board's form, attesting under oath that the 

information on the application is true and 

complete, and authorizing the release to the 

Board of all information pertaining to the 

application; 

(2) submit documentation of a legal name change, 

if applicable; 

(3) on the Board's form, submit a recent 

photograph, at least two inches by two inches, 

certified as a true likeness of the applicant by a 

notary public; 

(4) supply a certified copy of applicant's birth 

certificate if applicant was born in the United 

States or a certified copy of a valid and 

unexpired US passport. If the applicant does not 

possess proof of U.S. citizenship, the applicant 

must provide information about applicant's 

immigration and work status, which the Board 

will use to verify applicant's ability to work 

lawfully in the United States; 

(5) provide proof that applicant had held an active 

license, certification or authorization as a 

physician assistant in at least one other state or 

jurisdiction for the last five years immediately 

preceding this application; 

(6) submit proof of successful completion of the 

Physician Assistant National Certifying 

Examination; 

(7) submit proof of current certification by the 

National Commission on Certification of 

Physician Assistants; 

(8) provide proof of an active clinical practice, 

providing patient care for an average of 20 

hours or more per week, for at least the last two 

years; 

(9) submit a NPDB/HIPDB report dated within 60 

days of applicant's oath; 

(10) submit a FSMB Board Action Data Bank 

report; 

(11) submit two completed fingerprint cards 

supplied by the Board; 

(12) submit a signed consent form allowing a search 

of local, state, and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(13) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee of two 

hundred dollars ($200.00), two hundred thirty 

dollars ($230.00), as required by 21 NCAC 32S 

.0202, plus the cost of a criminal background 

check; 

(14) upon request, supply any additional 

information the Board deems necessary to 

evaluate the applicant's qualifications. 

(c)  A clean license application means that the physician assistant 

has none of the following: 

(1) professional liability insurance claim(s) or 

payment(s); 

(2) criminal record; 

(3) medical condition(s) which could affect the 

physician assistant's ability to practice safely; 

(4) regulatory board complaint(s), investigation(s), 

or action(s)(including applicant's withdrawal of 

a license application); 

(5) adverse action taken by a health care institution; 

(6) investigation(s) or action(s) taken by a federal 

agency, the US military, medical societies or 

associations; or 
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(7) suspension or expulsion from any school, 

including an educational program for physician 

assistants. 

(d)  All reports must be submitted directly to the Board from the 

primary source, when possible. 

(e)  An application must be completed within one year of the date 

on which the application fee is paid. If not, the applicant shall be 

charged a new application fee. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-9.3; 90-13.1. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 48 - BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 

intends to readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 

21 NCAC 48F .0102 and .0103; 48G .0504. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of rules to be readopted 

without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The 

text of the rules is available on the OAH website: 

http://reports.oah.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

www.ncptboard.org/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date: May 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: December 5, 2018 

Time: 2:00 p.m. 

Location: Siena Hotel, 1505 E. Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 

27514 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The NC Board of Physical 

Therapy Examiners proposes to readopt 21 NCAC 48F .0101, 

.0103, and 48G .0504 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A as part 

of the periodic review of rules process. These rules are 

determined to be without substantive public interest and will be 

readopted by the Board without changes. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Deborah J. Ragan, PT, DPT, 

North Carolina Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 8300 

Heath Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615; phone (919) 490-

6393; fax (919) 490-5106; email dragan@ncptboard.org 

 

Comment period ends: December 14, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48F - CERTIFICATES: FEES: 

INVESTIGATIONS: RECORD OF LICENSEES  

 

SECTION .0100 - CERTIFICATES: FEES: 

INVESTIGATIONS: RECORD OF LICENSEES  

 

 21 NCAC 48F .0102  FEES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE PUBLIC INTEREST) 

 

 21 NCAC 48F .0103  INVESTIGATIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE PUBLIC 

INTEREST) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48G - RETENTION OF LICENSE 

 

SECTION .0500 - CONTESTED CASE HEARINGS 

 

21 NCAC 48G .0504  COMPLAINTS AND 

INVESTIGATIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE PUBLIC INTEREST) 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 68 - SUBSTANCE ABUSE PROFESSIONAL 

PRACTICE BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Substance Abuse Professional Practice 

Board intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules cited 

as 21 NCAC 68 .0203, .0205-.0208, .0211, .0212, .0305, and 

.0306. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

www.ncsappb.org/rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date: February 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: December 14, 2018 

Time: 8:30 a.m. 
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Location: NCSAPPB Board Meeting, Sheraton Imperial Hotel, 

4700 Emperor Blvd., Durham, NC 27703 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 68 .0203 - Modernizes terminology, increases fee for 

Examination 

21 NCAC 68 .0205 – Modernizes terminology, increases fee for 

Registration 

21 NCAC 68 .0206 – Modernizes terminology, increases fee for 

Examination and Registration 

21 NCAC 68 .0207, .0208 – Modernizes terminology, increases 

Renewal fee 

21 NCAC 68 .0211 – Modernizes terminology, increases 

Registration, Examination and Renewal 

21 NCAC 68 .0212 – Modernizes terminology, increases 

Registration and Renewal fee 

21 NCAC 68 .0305 – Modernizes terminology, increases 

Registration and Examination Fee 

21 NCAC 68 .0306 - Modernizes terminology and increases fees. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Barden Culbreth, NCSAPPB, 

PO Box 10126, Raleigh, NC 27605, email barden@ncsappb.org  

 

Comment period ends: December 14, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

SECTION .0200 - CERTIFICATION 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0203 DESIGNATION AS SUBSTANCE 

ABUSE COUNSELOR INTERN 

(a)  An applicant may by-pass early registration at the entry level 

and seek designation as a Counselor Intern. 

(b)(a)  To be designated as a Substance Abuse Counselor Intern, 

a counselor shall submit and successfully complete the following: 

(1) A registration form provided by the Board; 

Registration status issued by the Board; 

(2) Documentation provided by to the Board 

verifying the successful completion of 300 

hours of Supervised Practice; practice by a 

Certified Clinical Supervisor or Clinical 

Supervisor Intern; 

(3) Successful completion of the written Achieving 

a passing score on the Alcohol and Drug 

Counselor examination developed by the 

IC&RC/AODA, Inc. IC&RC or its successor 

organization; and 

(4) Payment of a non-refundable, one hundred 

twenty-five dollar ($125.00) written one 

hundred fifty dollar ($150.00) exam fee plus a 

one hundred twenty-five dollar ($125.00) one 

hundred fifty dollar ($150.00) registration fee if 

not already registered Registered with the 

Board. 

(c)(b)  Upon the failure of an applicant to achieve a passing score, 

the applicant may request a reexamination and pay a non-

refundable reexamination fee of one hundred fifty dollars 

($150.00) after a period of three months from the date of the failed 

test. 

(d)(c)  Once an individual has been designated as a Substance 

Abuse Counselor Intern, he or she may function as a counselor 

intern under an approved supervisor at a ratio of one hour of 

supervision for every 40 hours of practice. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.34; 90-113.38; 90-

113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.41. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0205 CERTIFIED SUBSTANCE 

ABUSE COUNSELOR CERTIFICATION 

Requirements for certification as a Certified Substance Abuse 

Counselor shall be as follows: 

(1) Successful completion Completion of 6,000 

hours of paid or volunteer supervised 

experience earned in not less than three years, 

as set out in G.S. 90-113.40(a). If the work 

setting is not exclusively substance abuse 

focused, the applicant may accumulate 

experience proportional to the substance abuse 

services performed; performed or as 

determined and verified by the applicant 

supervisor. 

(2) Board approved education and training of at 

least 270 clock hours as follows: 

(a) Substance Abuse Specific (SAS) 

education and training in the amount 

of at least 190 hours; 

(b) Up to 80 hours may be directed toward 

general professional skill building to 

enhance counselor development; 

(c) No more than 25% of the 270 hours 

(67.5) hours may be inservice in-

service education received within the 
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applicant's organization by staff of the 

same organization; 

(d) The 190 Substance Abuse Specific 

clock hours needed for initial 

certification must be in the core 

competencies. Core competencies are 

listed as follow: 

(i) Basic alcoholism and drug 

addiction knowledge; 

(ii) Screening, intake, orientation 

orientation, and assessment; 

(iii) Individual, group group, and 

family counseling and 

intervention techniques; 

(iv) Case management, treatment 

planning, reporting 

reporting, and record 

keeping; 

(v) Crisis intervention skills: 

(vi) Prevention and client 

education; 

(vii) Consultation, referral 

referral, and networking that 

utilizes community 

resources; 

(viii) Ethics, legal issues, and 

confidentiality; 

(ix) Special populations which 

that include but are not 

limited to individuals or 

groups with specific ethnic, 

cultural, sexual orientation, 

and gender characteristics as 

well as persons dealing with 

HIV, co-occurring 

disabilities, persons with 

criminal justice related issues 

issues, and perinatal issues: 

(x) Physiology and 

pharmacology of alcohol and 

other drugs that include the 

licit and illicit drugs, 

inhalants inhalants, and 

nicotine; 

(xi) Psychological, emotional, 

personality personality, and 

developmental issues; and 

(xii) Traditions and philosophies 

of 12-step and other recovery 

support groups; 

(e) Of the 270 clock hours, applicants for 

certification as a Substance Abuse 

Professional must document six hours 

of HIV/AIDS/STDS/TB/Bloodborne 

pathogens training and education, six 

hours professional ethics education, 

and six hours of education to be 

selected from the following: 

(i) Nicotine Dependence; 

nicotine dependence; 

(ii) Psychopathology; 

psychopathology; 

(iii) Evidence-Based Treatment 

Approaches; evidence-based 

treatment; 

(iv) Substance Abuse Issues In 

Older Adults; and substance 

use disorder issues and senior 

citizens;  

(v) Substance Abuse Issues 

Affecting Veterans; 

substance use disorder issues 

affecting veterans; and 

(vi) substance use disorder and 

domestic violence. 

(3) A one hundred twenty-five dollar ($125.00) 

written one hundred fifty dollar ($150.00) exam 

fee and a one hundred twenty-five dollar 

($125.00) two hundred dollar ($200.00) non-

refundable registration fee, unless previously 

paid. The applicant may request a 

reexamination and pay a non-refundable 

reexamination fee as set out in G.S. 90-

113.38(c) for the written exam if a passing 

score is not achieved and at least three months 

have passed from the date of failed test; 

(4) Successful completion of the IC&RC/AODA, 

Inc. Achieving a passing score on the IC&RC 

or its successor organization written Alcohol 

and Drug Counselor exam; 

(5) Completed evaluation forms and contracts for 

supervision. These forms must be mailed 

directly to the Board by three references: a 

supervisor, co-worker, and colleague; by the 

professional's applicant supervisor 

documenting 6,000 hours of clinical substance 

use disorder counseling experience submitted 

to the Board, and two references from other 

substance use disorder professionals as part of 

the application for certification. 

(6) A signed form attesting to the applicant's 

adherence An attestation or otherwise signed 

adherence by the applicant to the Ethical 

Standards of the Board; 

(7) Documentation of highest level education. 

Verification of high school graduation, 

graduation or completion of GED, GED may be 

evidenced by diploma. Otherwise applicants 

presenting baccalaureate or advanced degree; 

degrees must submit a completed transcript; 

(8) Completed registration forms; application 

found on the Board's website. 

(9) Resume; and 

(10) Job description that verifies job function. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.31; 90-113.33; 90-113.36; 90-

113.39; 90-113.40. 
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21 NCAC 68 .0206 PROCESS FOR PREVENTION 

CONSULTANT CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Board shall certify an applicant as a substance abuse 

prevention consultant certified substance abuse prevention 

consultant as set out in Article 5C of Chapter 90 of the North 

Carolina General Statutes. A prevention consultant's certified 

substance abuse prevention consultant's primary responsibilities 

are to provide substance abuse use disorder information and 

education, environmental approaches, alternative activities, 

community organization, networking, and referral. and referral to 

promote personal health and well-being to individuals, families, 

and communities who may not otherwise be clients receiving 

substance use disorder treatment. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements set out in G.S. 90-113.40, the 

The requirements for certification include: 

(1) Supervised work experience as set out in G.S. 

90-113.40(a)(8) in prevention consultation. 

(2) 270 hours of academic and didactic training 

divided in the following manner: 

(A) 170 hours primary and secondary 

prevention and in the prevention 

performance domains; and 

(B) 100 hours in substance abuse use 

disorder specific studies, which 

includes six hours of 

HIV/AIDS/STDS/TB/Bloodborne 

pathogens training and education, six 

hours professional ethics education, 

and six hours of education to be 

selected from the following: 

(i) Nicotine Dependence; 

nicotine dependence; 

(ii) Psychopathology; 

psychopathology; 

(iii) Evidence-Based Treatment 

Approaches; evidence-based 

treatment; 

(iv) Substance Abuse Issues in 

Older Adults; and substance 

use disorder issues and senior 

citizens; 

(v) Substance Abuse Issues 

Affecting Veterans. 

substance use disorder issues 

and veterans; and 

(vi) substance use disorder issues 

and domestic violence. 

(3) Supervised practical training as set out in G.S. 

90-113.40(a)(7); 

(4)(3) A minimum of 300 hours of supervised 

practical training practice hours documented by 

a certified substance abuse professional; 

clinical supervisor, clinical supervisor intern, or 

certified substance abuse prevention consultant 

who has been certified more than three years; 

(5)(4) A form signed by the applicant attesting to the 

applicant's adherence An attestation or 

otherwise signed adherence by the applicant to 

the Ethical Standards of the Board; 

(6)(5) An application packet fee of twenty-five dollars 

($25.00), a certification fee of one hundred 

twenty-five dollars ($125.00), two hundred 

dollar ($200.00) and an examination fee of one 

hundred twenty-five dollars ($125.00). one 

hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.31B; 90-113.33; 90-113.34; 

90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.41. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0207 CERTIFICATION OR 

LICENSURE PERIOD 

Certification or licensure is for a period of two years after which 

re-credentialing renewal is necessary. Failure to renew a 

credential within five business days following the end of the two-

year period shall result in a late renewal fee of one hundred 

twenty-five dollars ($125.00) to be paid by the professional in 

addition to the renewal fee of one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.37; 90-113.33; 90-113.37A; 

90-113.38. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0208 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

REQUIRED RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS FOR 

COUNSELOR, CRIMINAL JUSTICE ADDICTIONS 

PROFESSIONAL AND PREVENTION CONSULTANT 

RE-CREDENTIALING 

(a)  In order to be re-credentialed, a substance abuse professional 

renew a certification, a certified substance abuse counselor, 

certified criminal justice addictions professional, and certified 

substance abuse prevention consultant shall: 

(1) Comply with the following: Complete 60 hours 

of training approved or recognized by the Board 

as follows: 

(A) No more than 25 percent may be in-

service education, received within 

your organization by staff of the same 

employment; 

(B) No more than 25 percent of workshop 

presentation with one hour of 

presentation translating to one hour of 

education. Workshop presentation 

shall be a part of an event pre-

approved by the Board as set out in 

these Rules; 

(C) An applicant shall include 

documentation of each event 

submitted; 

(D) All applicants shall include three 

hours of 

HIV/AIDS/STDS/TB/Bloodborne 

pathogens training and education, 

three hours of professional ethics 

training and education and three hours 

of education to be selected from the 

list appearing in Rule 21 NCAC 68 

.0205(2)(e)(i) through (v) for each re-

credentialing; in Rule 21 NCAC 68 

.0205(2)(e)(i); and 
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(E) No more than 50 percent self-study, 

shall be self-study or pre-recorded 

online training; and approved by the 

Board as set out in these Rules; and 

(2) Submit the following: 

(A) A completed application form with 

continuing education documented; 

renewal application found on the 

Board website; 

(B) A non-refundable one hundred 

twenty-five dollar ($125.00) one 

hundred fifty dollar ($150.00) 

recertification fee; and 

(C) A signed and dated An attestation or 

adherence statement that the applicant 

shall follow the substance abuse 

professional's code of conduct. 

(b)  Each credentialed counselor, criminal justice addictions 

professional and prevention consultant shall receive 60 hours of 

Board approved, as set out in these Rules, education during the 

current re-credentialing period that shall be documented. No more 

than 25 percent may be in-service education. A minimum of 30 

hours shall be substance abuse specific (SAS). The education may 

include a combination of hours including attending and 

conducting workshops. 

(c)  To be re-credentialed, The renewal application of a certified 

criminal justice addictions professional and a certified substance 

abuse counselor shall submit a include post-certification 

supervision contract signed by agreement between a practice 

supervisor and supervisee. The supervision required by this Rule 

shall be provided by the practice supervisor and set forth as 

follows: 

(1) The first 4,000 hours of practice shall be 

performed at the rate of one hour of supervision 

for every 40 hours of practice; 

(2) The second 4,000 hours of practice shall be 

performed at the rate of one hour of supervision 

for every 80 hours of practice; 

(3) All subsequent practice shall be performed at 

the rate of one hour of supervision for every 160 

hours of practice. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.37; 90-113.37A; 

90-113.38; 90-113.39. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0211 PROCESS FOR CLINICAL 

SUPERVISOR CERTIFICATION AND RENEWAL 

In order to be certified as a Clinical Supervisor an applicant shall: 

(a) In order to be certified as a certified clinical supervisor, an 

applicant shall: 

(1) Obtain and maintain a license as a Clinical 

Addictions Specialist licensed clinical 

addictions specialist to be eligible for Clinical 

Supervisor Certification; certified clinical 

supervisor; 

(2) Hold a master's or higher degree in a human 

services field with a clinical application from a 

regionally accredited college or university; 

(3) Submit documentation signed by the Certified 

Clinical Supervisor certified clinical supervisor 

of 4000 hours or two years full-time experience 

as a Substance Abuse Clinical Supervisor, in a 

supervisory role working or volunteer in a 

clinical setting, supervised in at a ratio of one 

hour supervision for every 80 hours of practice 

in the field of alcohol and other drug abuse; 

misuse; 

(4) Submit documentation of 30 hours of clinical 

supervision specific education for initial 

certification and 15 hours of clinical 

supervision specific education for re-

certification (which will occur every two 

years). certification. These hours shall be 

reflective of clinical supervision domains. or 

clinical supervision of the twelve core functions 

or performance domains in their clinical 

application and practice and may also be used 

as re-credentialing hours for Clinical 

Addictions Specialist. For the purpose of re-

certification as a Clinical Supervisor, 25 

percent of the required total hours may be 

obtained by providing supervision of a Criminal 

Justice Addictions Professional, Prevention 

Consultant, Substance Abuse Counselor or 

Clinical Addictions Specialist; 

(5) Submit three letters of reference. references. 

One from a substance abuse professional 

certified clinical supervisor who can attest to 

supervisory competence and two from either 

substance abuse use disorder counselors 

professionals who have been supervised by the 

candidate or substance abuse use disorder 

professionals who can attest to the applicant's 

competence; 

(6) Successfully complete an IC&RC/AODA, Inc. 

Achieved a passing score on the IC&RC or its 

successor organization's written clinical 

supervisor examination; 

(7) Pay all application fees. A fee of twenty-five 

dollars ($25.00) shall be submitted to the Board 

with a letter of intent in order to receive the 

application packet. Board. Also, an applicant 

shall submit with a completed registration 

packet a registration fee of one hundred twenty-

five dollars ($125.00) two hundred dollars 

($200.00) and a written an examination fee of 

one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125.00); of 

one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

(8) Submit a fee of one hundred twenty-five dollars 

($125.00) required as a recertification fee. 

(b) In order to renew as a certified clinical supervisor, the certified 

professional shall submit to the Board the following: 

(1) A completed renewal found on the Board 

website with 15 clock hours of continuing 

education in the field of clinical supervision; 
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(2) An attestation or adherence statement by the 

applicant stating his or her commitment to 

follow the Board's code of ethical conduct; and 

(3) A recertification or renewal fee of one hundred 

fifty dollars ($150.00). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.34; 90-113.38; 90-

113.40; 90-113.41; 90-114.41A. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0212 PROCESS FOR RESIDENTIAL 

FACILITY DIRECTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Residential facility director certification may be obtained and 

continued by any person credentialed as a Substance Abuse 

Counselor or Clinical Addictions Specialist. certified substance 

counselor or licensed clinical addictions specialist. 

(b)  Requirements for certification shall be as follows: 

(1) 50 hours of academic and didactic management 

specific training; 

(2) Recommendation of applicant's current 

supervisor; 

(3) Recommendation of a colleague and or co-

worker of the applicant; and 

(4) An application packet fee of twenty-five dollars 

($25.00), a registration fee of one hundred 

twenty-five dollars ($125.00), two hundred 

dollars ($200.00). and a certification fee of one 

hundred twenty-five dollars ($125.00). 

(c)  In addition to meeting the continuing education requirements 

to practice as a Certified Counselor certified substance abuse 

counselor or Clinical Addictions Specialist, licensed clinical 

addictions specialist, in order to maintain certification as a 

Residential Facility Director, certified substance abuse residential 

facility director, the applicant shall take 40 hours of continuing 

education every two years and maintain documentation of such 

training. years. Anyone allowing certification to lapse beyond 

three months of the re-certification due date shall reapply as a new 

applicant. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.35; 90-113.37A; 

90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.40. 

 

SECTION .0300 - CLINICAL ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0305 LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR INDIVIDUAL APPLICANT INITIAL APPLICANTS 

FOR LICENSED CLINICAL ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST 

In addition to meeting the requirements of G.S. 90-113.40, an An 

applicant seeking licensure as a clinical addictions specialist shall 

submit the following, if applicable: following: 

(1) Documentation of completion of: 

(a) Six hours of 

HIV/AIDS/STDS/TB/Bloodborne 

pathogens training and education; 

(b) Six hours of professional ethics 

training; and 

(c) Six hours of clinical supervision 

specific training. training; and 

(d) Six hours selected from the following 

list: 

(i) Nicotine Dependence; 

nicotine dependence; 

(ii) Psychopathology; 

psychopathology; 

(iii) Evidence-Based Treatment 

Approaches; evidence-based 

treatment; 

(iv) Substance Abuse Issues in 

Older Adults; and substance 

use disorder issues and senior 

citizens; 

(v) Substance Abuse Issues 

Affecting Veterans. 

substance use disorder issues 

and veterans; and 

(vi) substance use disorder issues 

and domestic violence. 

All hours listed in Sub-items (a), (b), (c) and (d) of this Item may 

be this Section may be included in the 180 hours completed for 

licensure in the core competencies by an applicant not in the 

deemed status. of substance use disorder training required for 

licensure; 

(2) Copy A copy of a substance abuse specialty 

certificate or its equivalent; or transcript if the 

applicant is applying under Criteria C as 

defined in G.S. 90-113.40(c)(3), or seeking 

education credit as described in Item (1) of this 

Rule under any other Criteria outlined in G.S. 

90-113.40(c); 

(3) Copy of his or her masters' or doctorate degree 

diploma; An official transcript of completed 

masters or other advanced degree in a human 

services field with a clinical application, if not 

previously submitted under Item (2) of this 

Rule; 

(4) Completed registration form; and A completed 

application found on the Board's website; and 

(5) Payment of the following fees: 

(a) All applicants who are in the deemed 

status group shall make payment of a 

non-refundable application fee of ten 

dollars ($10.00) and payment of a non-

refundable credentialing fee of forty 

dollars ($40.00). 

(b) All other applicants shall make 

payment of an application packet fee 

of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and 

payment of a non-refundable 

credentialing registration fee of one 

hundred twenty-five dollars 

($125.00). two hundred dollars 

($200.00). 

(c) All applicants seeking credentialing 

pursuant to Criteria A, Criteria B, and 

Criteria C Criteria C, and where 

applicable Criteria D (Deemed Status) 

of G.S. 90-113.40(c) shall make 

payment of a non-refundable 

examination fee of one hundred 
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twenty-five dollars ($125.00). one 

hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.40; 90-

113.41; 90-113.43. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0306 RENEWAL OF INDIVIDUAL 

LICENSURE AS LICENSED CLINICAL ADDICTIONS 

SPECIALIST 

(a)  An applicant who is in the deemed status group shall submit 

the following every two years: 

(1) A completed application form and a copy of the 

applicant's current substance abuse licensure or 

its equivalent from the deemed status 

professional discipline. 

(2) A non-refundable re-licensing fee of thirty-five 

dollars ($35.00). 

(b)  All other individual applicants shall: 

(1) Renew licensure as classified by the criteria for 

their original licensing every two years. 

(2) Document completing 40 hours of education 

pursuant to Section .0400 of this Chapter, 

during the current licensing period. A minimum 

of 30 hours shall be substance abuse use 

disorder specific. This education may include a 

combination of hours including attending and 

providing workshops. 

(3) Meet re-licensing educational guidelines as a 

substance abuse use disorder professional as 

follows: 

(A) No more than 25 percent may be in-

service education, received within the 

applicant's organization by staff of the 

same employment. 

(B) No more than 25 percent receiving 

supervision with two hours of 

supervision translating to one hour of 

education. 

(C) No more than 25 percent of workshop 

presentation with one hour of 

presentation translating to one hour of 

education. Workshop presentation 

shall be pursuant to Rule .0213 of this 

Chapter. 

(D) All applicants shall include three 

hours of 

HIV/AIDS/STDS/TB/Bloodborne 

pathogens training and education, 

three hours of professional ethics 

training and education, and three hours 

of education to be selected from the 

list appearing in Rule.0305(1)(d) of 

this Section. 

(4) Submit a completed application form with 

continuing education documented. 

(5) Submit a non-refundable one hundred twenty-

five dollar ($125.00) one hundred fifty dollar 

($150.00) re-licensing fee. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-113.37; 90-113.37A; 

90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.41A; 90-113.43. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Rule-making Agency:  North Carolina Medical Board 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 32B .1706, .0219; 32W .0116 

 

Effective Date:  October 2, 2018 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  September 

24, 2018 

 

Reason for Action:  On September 13, 2018, Hurricane Florence 

impacted the coast of North Carolina causing massive storm 

surge on the outer banks. The next day, Florence made landfall 

on the southeast coast near Wilmington. Heavy rains persisted for 

several days before Florence finally exited the state.  All of North 

Carolina was impacted by the storm with the brunt being felt 

heaviest in the southeast. Thousands of residents have been 

displaced and relocated to shelters, have lost power, and have had 

homes damaged or destroyed. To date, 31 fatalities in North 

Carolina have been attributed to Florence. Given the massive 

damage and displacement of individuals from their homes, North 

Carolina needs additional healthcare providers to cover the need 

created by Florence. The Board finds that Hurricane Florence 

poses a serious and unforeseen threat to the public health and 

safety.  To counter this threat, the Board adopted an emergency 

rule suspending and modifying certain licensing requirements. 

The emergency rule will allow for an expeditious influx of needed 

physicians, physician assistants (PA) and Anesthesiologist 

Assistants (AA) to the state, without having the out of state 

providers undergo the typical licensing process, which can take 

several weeks or months. The Board's present rules for 

emergencies and disasters do not allow for a quicker method of 

allowing other physicians, PAs and AAs into the state. In addition, 

the Board needs to suspend requirements for PAs who are called 

into active duty for the National Guard so that those PAs may 

practice without need to follow certain regulatory requirements.  

 

SUBCHAPTER 32B – LICENSE TO PRACTICE 

MEDICINE 

 

SECTION .1700 – OTHER LICENSES 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1706 PHYSICIAN PRACTICE AND 

LIMITED LICENSE FOR DISASTERS AND 

EMERGENCIES 

(a)  The Board shall, pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5, waive requirements 

for licensure except to the extent set forth below and after the 

Governor of the State of North Carolina has declared a disaster or 

state of emergency, or in the event of an occurrence for which a 

county or municipality has declared a state of emergency, or to 

protect the public health, safety or welfare of its citizens under 

Article 22 of Chapter 130A of the General Statutes. There are two 

ways for physicians to practice under this Rule: 

(1) Hospital to Hospital Credentialing: A physician 

who holds a full, unlimited and unrestricted 

license to practice medicine in another U.S. 

state, territory or district and has unrestricted 

hospital credentials and privileges in any U.S. 

state, territory or district may come to North 

Carolina and practice medicine at a hospital that 

is licensed by the North Carolina Department of 

Health and Human Services upon the following 

terms and conditions: 

(A) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall verify all physician credentials 

and privileges; 

(B) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall keep a list of all physicians 

coming to practice and shall provide 

this list to the Board within 10 days of 

each physician practicing at the 

licensed North Carolina hospital. The 

licensed North Carolina hospital shall 

also provide the Board a list of when 

each physician has stopped practicing 

medicine in North Carolina under this 

Section within 10 days after each 

physician has stopped practicing 

medicine under this Section; 

(C) all physicians practicing under this 

Section shall be authorized to practice 

medicine in North Carolina and shall 

be deemed to be licensed to practice 

medicine in the State of North 

Carolina and the Board shall have 

jurisdiction over all physicians 

practicing under this Section for all 

purposes set forth in or related to 

Article 1 of Chapter 90 of the North 

Carolina General Statutes, and such 

jurisdiction shall continue in effect 

even after any and all physicians have 

stopped practicing medicine under this 

Section; 

(D) a physician may practice under this 

Section for the shorter of (a) 30 days 

from the date the physician has started 

practicing under this Section or (b) a 

statement by an appropriate authority 

is made that the emergency or disaster 
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declaration has been withdrawn or 

ended and, at such time, the license 

deemed to be issued shall become 

inactive; and 

(E) physicians practicing under this 

Section shall not receive any 

compensation outside of their usual 

compensation for the provision of 

medical services during a disaster or 

emergency. 

(2) Limited Emergency License: A physician who 

holds a full, unlimited and unrestricted license 

to practice medicine in another U.S. state, 

territory or district may apply for a limited 

emergency license on the following 

conditions: 

(A) the applicant must complete a limited 

emergency license application; 

(B) the Board shall verify that the 

physician holds a full, unlimited and 

unrestricted license to practice 

medicine in another U.S. state, 

territory or district; 

(C) in response to the specific 

circumstances presented by a declared 

disaster or state of emergency and in 

order to best serve the public interest, 

the Board may limit the physician's 

scope of practice; 

(D) the Board shall have jurisdiction over 

all physicians practicing under this 

Section for all purposes set forth in or 

related to Article 1 of Chapter 90 of 

the North Carolina General Statutes, 

and such jurisdiction shall continue in 

effect even after such physician has 

stopped practicing medicine under this 

Section or the Limited Emergency 

License has expired; 

(E) this license shall be in effect for the 

shorter of (a) 30 days from the date it 

is issued or (b) a statement by an 

appropriate authority is made that the 

emergency or disaster declaration has 

been withdrawn or ended and, at such 

time, the license issued shall become 

inactive; and 

(F) physicians holding limited emergency 

licenses shall not receive any 

compensation outside of their usual 

compensation for the provision of 

medical services during a disaster or 

emergency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-12.5; 90-13.2(e); 90-14(a);  

166A-45; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. October 2, 2018. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32S - PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 

SECTION .0200 – PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 

REGISTRATION 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0219 PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 

PRACTICE AND LIMITED LICENSE FOR DISASTERS 

AND EMERGENCIES 

(a)  The Board shall, pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5, issue a limited 

physician assistant license under the following conditions: 

(1) the Governor of the State of North Carolina has 

declared a disaster or state of emergency, or in 

the event of an occurrence for which a county 

or municipality has enacted an ordinance to 

deal with states of emergency under G.S. 14-

288.12, 14-288.13, or 14-288.14, or to protect 

the public health, safety or welfare of its 

citizens under Article 22 of Chapter 130A of the 

General Statutes, G.S. 160A-174(a) or G.S. 

153A-121(a); 

(2) the applicant provides government-issued 

photo identification; 

(3) the applicant provides proof of licensure, 

certification or authorization to practice as a 

physician assistant in another state, the District 

of Columbia, US Territory or Canadian 

province; 

(4) applicant affirms under oath that such license is 

in good standing; and 

(5) no grounds exist pursuant to G.S. 90-14(a) for 

the Board to deny a license. 

(b)  In response to the specific circumstances presented by a 

declared disaster or state of emergency and in order to best serve 

the public interest, the Board may limit the physician assistant's 

scope of practice including, but not limited to, the following: 

geography; term; type of practice; prescribing, administering and 

dispensing therapeutic measures, tests, procedures and drugs; 

supervision; and practice setting. 

(c)  The physician assistant must practice under the direct 

supervision of an on-site physician. The supervising physician 

must be licensed in this State or approved to practice in this State 

during a disaster or state of emergency pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5 

and 21 NCAC 32B .1705. The physician assistant may perform 

only those medical acts, tasks, and functions delegated by the 

supervising physician and not limited by the physician assistant's 

scope of practice as set out in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  A team of physician(s) and physician assistant(s) practicing 

pursuant to this Rule is not required to maintain on-site 

documentation describing supervisory arrangements and 

instructions for prescriptive authority as otherwise required by 21 

NCAC 32S .0213. 

(e)  A physician assistant holding a Limited Physician Assistant 

License for Disasters and Emergencies shall not receive any other 

or additional compensation outside his or her usual compensation, 

either direct or indirect, monetary, in-kind, or otherwise for the 

provision of medical services during a disaster or emergency. 

(a)  The Board shall, pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5, waive requirements 

for licensure except to the extent set forth below and after the 

Governor of the State of North Carolina has declared a disaster or 

state of emergency, or in the event of an occurrence for which a 

county or municipality has declared a state of emergency, or to 
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protect the public health, safety or welfare of its citizens under 

Article 22 of Chapter 130A of the General Statutes. There are two 

ways for physician assistant assistants to practice under this Rule: 

(1) Hospital to Hospital Credentialing: A physician 

assistant who holds a full, unlimited and 

unrestricted license to practice medicine in 

another U.S. state, territory or district and has 

unrestricted hospital credentials and privileges 

in any U.S. state, territory or district may come 

to North Carolina and practice medicine at a 

North Carolina hospital that is licensed by the 

North Carolina Department of Health and 

Human Services upon the following terms and 

conditions: 

(A) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall verify all physician assistant 

credentials and privileges; 

(B) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall keep a list of all physician 

assistants coming to practice and their 

respective supervising physicians and 

shall provide this list to the Board 

within 10 days of each physician 

assistant practicing at the licensed 

North Carolina hospital. The licensed 

North Carolina hospital shall also 

provide the Board a list of when each 

physician assistant has stopped 

practicing medicine in North Carolina 

under this section within 10 days after 

each physician assistant has stopped 

practicing medicine under this 

Section; 

(C) all physician assistants practicing 

under this section shall be authorized 

to practice medicine in North Carolina 

and deemed to be licensed to practice 

medicine in the State of North 

Carolina and the Board shall have 

jurisdiction over all physician 

assistants practicing under this Section 

for all purposes set forth in or related 

to Article 1 of Chapter 90 of the North 

Carolina General Statutes, and such 

jurisdiction shall continue in effect 

even after any and all physician 

assistants have stopped practicing 

medicine under this Section; 

(D) the physician assistant must practice 

under the direct supervision of an on-

site physician and the supervising 

physician must be licensed in this 

State or approved to practice in this 

State during a disaster or state of 

emergency pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5; 

(E) a physician assistant may practice 

under this Section for the shorter of (a) 

30 days from the date the physician 

assistant has started practicing under 

this Section or (b) a statement by an 

appropriate authority is made that the 

emergency or disaster declaration has 

been withdrawn or ended and, at such 

time, the license deemed to be issued 

shall become inactive; and 

(F) physician assistants practicing under 

this section shall not receive any 

compensation outside of their usual 

compensation for the provision of 

medical services during a disaster or 

emergency. 

(2) Limited Emergency License: A physician 

assistant who holds a full, unlimited and 

unrestricted license to practice medicine in 

another U.S. state, territory or district may 

apply for a limited emergency license on the 

following conditions: 

(A) the applicant must complete a limited 

emergency license application; 

(B) the Board shall verify that the 

physician assistant holds a full, 

unlimited and unrestricted license to 

practice medicine in another U.S. 

state, territory or district; 

(C) in response to the specific 

circumstances presented by a declared 

disaster or state of emergency and in 

order to best serve the public interest, 

the Board may limit the physician 

assistant assistant's scope of practice; 

(D) the physician assistant must practice 

under the direct supervision of an on-

site physician and the supervising 

physician must be licensed in this 

State or approved to practice in this 

State during a disaster or state of 

emergency pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5; 

(E) physician assistants and physicians 

practicing pursuant to this Rule are not 

required to maintain onsite 

documentation describing supervisory 

arrangements and instructions for 

prescriptive authority as otherwise 

required by 21 NCAC 32S .0213; 

(F) the Board shall have jurisdiction over 

all physician assistants practicing 

under this section for all purposes set 

forth in or related to Article 1 of 

Chapter 90 of the North Carolina 

General Statutes, and such jurisdiction 

shall continue in effect even after such 

physician assistant has stopped 

practicing medicine under this section 

or the Limited Emergency License has 

expired; 

(G) this license shall be in effect for the 

shorter of (a) 30 days from the date it 

is issued or (b) a statement by an 



 EMERGENCY RULES 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

848 

appropriate authority is made that the 

emergency or disaster declaration has 

been withdrawn or ended and, at such 

time, the license issued shall become 

inactive; and 

(H) physician assistants holding limited 

emergency licenses shall not receive 

any compensation outside of their 

usual compensation for the provision 

of medical services during a disaster or 

emergency. 

(3) National Guard supervision waiver. The rules 

of this Subchapter are waived during a declared 

state of emergency by the Governor of the State 

of North Carolina or by a resolution of the 

North Carolina General Assembly for members 

of the North Carolina National Guard who are 

actively licensed as physician assistants in the 

State of North Carolina and are serving in a 

State Active Duty status. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-12.5; 90-18(c)(13); 90- 

13.2(e); 90-14(a); 166A-45; 

Eff. September 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. October 2, 2018. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32W - ANESTHESIOLOGIST ASSISTANT 

REGULATIONS 

 

21 NCAC 32W .0116 ANESTHESIOLOGIST 

ASSISTANT PRACTICE AND LIMITED LICENSE FOR 

DISASTERS AND EMERGENCIES 

(a) The Board shall, pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5, waive requirements 

for licensure except to the extent set for below and after the 

Governor of the State of North Carolina has declared a disaster or 

state of emergency, or in the event of an occurrence for which a 

county or municipality has declared a state of emergency, or to 

protect the public health, safety or welfare of its citizens under 

Article 22 of Chapter 130A of the General Statutes. There are two 

ways for anesthesiologist assistants to practice under this Rule: 

(1) Hospital to Hospital Credentialing: A 

anesthesiologist assistant who holds an 

unrestricted license in good standing to practice 

as an anesthesiologist assistant in another U.S. 

state, territory or district and has unrestricted 

hospital credentials and privileges in any U.S. 

state, territory or district may practice at a 

licensed North Carolina hospital upon the 

following terms and conditions: 

(A) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall verify all anesthesiologist 

assistant credentials and privileges; 

(B) the licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall keep a list of all anesthesiologist 

assistants coming to practice and 

shall provide this list to the Board 

within 10 days of each 

anesthesiologist assistant practicing at 

the licensed North Carolina hospital. 

The licensed North Carolina hospital 

shall also provide the Board a list of 

when each anesthesiologist assistant 

has stopped practicing at the hospital 

under this Section within 10 days 

after each anesthesiologist assistant 

has ceased practicing under this 

Section; 

(C) all anesthesiologist assistants 

practicing under this section shall be 

authorized to practice in North 

Carolina and deemed to be licensed in 

North Carolina and the Board shall 

have jurisdiction over all 

anesthesiologist assistants practicing 

under this Section for all purposes set 

forth in or related to Article 1 of 

Chapter 90 of the North Carolina 

General Statutes, and the Board shall 

retain jurisdiction over any and all 

anesthesiologist assistants after they 

have stopped practicing under this 

Section; 

(D) anesthesiologist assistants may 

practice under this Section for the 

shorter of (a) 30 days from the date the 

anesthesiologist assistant has started 

practicing under this Section or (b) a 

statement is made by the Governor or 

the Governor's designee that the 

emergency or disaster declaration has 

been withdrawn or ended and, at such 

time, the license deemed to be issued 

shall become inactive; and 

(E) anesthesiologist assistants practicing 

under this section shall not receive any 

compensation outside of their usual 

compensation for the provision of 

medical services during a disaster or 

emergency. 

(2) Limited Emergency License: An 

anesthesiologist assistant who holds an 

unrestricted license in good standing to 

practice as an anesthesiologist assistant in 

another U.S. state, territory or district may 

apply for a limited emergency license on the 

following conditions: 

(A) the applicant must complete an 

application; 

(B) the Board shall verify that the 

anesthesiologist assistant holds an 

unrestricted license in good standing 

to practice in another U.S. state, 

territory or district; 

(C) in response to the specific 

circumstances presented by a declared 
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disaster or state of emergency and in 

order to best serve the public interest, 

the Board may limit the 

anesthesiologist assistant's scope of 

practice; 

(D) the Board shall have jurisdiction over 

all anesthesiologist assistants 

practicing under this Section for all 

purposes set forth in or related to 

Article 1 of Chapter 90 of the North 

Carolina General Statutes, and the 

Board shall retain jurisdiction over 

any and all anesthesiologist assistants 

after they have stopped practicing 

under this Section; 

(E) this license shall be in effect for the 

shorter of (a) 30 days from the date the 

anesthesiologist assistant has started 

practicing under this Section or (b) a 

statement is made by the Governor or 

the Governor's designee that the 

emergency or disaster declaration has 

been withdrawn or ended and, at such 

time the license issued shall become 

inactive; and 

(F) anesthesiologist assistants holding 

limited emergency licenses shall not 

receive any compensation outside of 

their usual compensation for the 

provision of medical services during a 

disaster or emergency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-12.5; 90-13.2(e); 90-14(a);  

166A-45; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. October 2, 2018. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Department of Insurance 

 

Rule Citation:  11 NCAC 20 .0101 

 

Effective Date:  September 28, 2018 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  September 

20, 2018 

 

Reason for Action:  The effective date of a recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress. Cite: S.L. 2018-120, 

Part 4, Section 4.6(d). Effective Date: June 28, 2018.  This rule is 

being submitted to reflect changes enacted in SL 2018-120, Part 

4, Section 4.6(a). S.L. 2018-120 amends G.S. 58-50-56(a)(2) to 

allow preferred providers to receive reimbursement on an other 

than fee-for-service basis.  As a result, it is necessary to amend 

11 NCAC 20 .0101 to reflect this change. 

 

CHAPTER 20 - MANAGED CARE HEALTH BENEFIT 

PLANS 

 

SECTION .0100 - MANAGED CARE DEFINITIONS 

 

11 NCAC 20 .0101 SCOPE AND DEFINITIONS 

(a)  Scope. 

(1) Sections .0200, .0300, and .0400 of this Chapter 

shall apply to HMOs, licensed insurers offering 

PPO benefit plans, and any other entity that 

falls under the definition of "network plan 

carrier". is a network plan carrier as defined in 

this Rule. 

(2) Sections .0500 and .0600 of this Chapter shall 

apply only to HMOs. 

(3) Nothing in this Chapter applies shall apply to 

service corporations offering benefit plans 

under pursuant to G.S. 58-65-25 or G.S. 58-65-

30 that do not have any differences in 

copayments, coinsurance, or deductibles based 

on the use of network versus non-network 

providers. 

(b)  Definitions. As used in this Chapter: 

(1) "Carrier" means a network plan carrier. 

(2) "Health care provider" means any person who 

is licensed, registered, or certified under 

pursuant to Chapter 90 of the General Statutes; 

or a health care facility as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(9b); or a pharmacy. 

(3) "Health maintenance organization" or "HMO" 

has the same meaning as in G.S. 58-67-5(f). 

(4) "Intermediary" or "intermediary organization" 

means any entity that employs or contracts with 

health care providers for the provision of health 

care services, services and that also contracts 

with a network plan carrier or its intermediary. 

(5) "Member" means an individual who is covered 

insured by a network plan carrier. 

(6) "Network plan carrier" means an insurer, health 

maintenance organization, or any other entity 

acting as an insurer, insurer as defined in G.S. 

58-1-5(3), G.S. 58-1-5(3) that provides 

reimbursement or provides or arranges to 

provide health care services; services and uses 

increased copayments, deductibles, or other 

benefit reductions for services rendered by non-

network providers to encourage members to use 

network providers. 

(7) "Network provider" means any health care 

provider participating in a network utilized by a 

network plan carrier. 

(8) "PPO benefit plan" means a benefit plan that is 

offered by a hospital or medical service 

corporation or network plan carrier, under 

pursuant to G.S. 58-50-56, in which plan: 

(A) either or both of the following features 

are present: 

(i) utilization review or quality 

management programs are 

used to manage the provision 

of covered services; or 

(ii) enrollees are given incentives 

via benefit differentials to 

limit the receipt of covered 

services to those furnished by 

participating providers; and 

(B) health care services are provided by 

participating providers who are paid 

on negotiated or discounted fee-for-

service bases; and bases or have 

agreed to accept special 

reimbursement or other terms for 

health care services under a contract 

with the hospital or medical service 

corporation or network plan carrier. 

(C) there is no transfer of insurance risk to 

health care providers through 

capitated payment arrangements, fee 

withholds, bonuses, or other risk-

sharing arrangements. 

(9) "Preferred provider" has the same meaning as 

in G.S 58-50-56 and 58-65-1. 

(10) "Provider" means a health care provider. 
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(11) "Quality management" means a program of 

reviews, studies, evaluations, and other 

activities used to monitor and enhance the 

quality of health care and services provided to 

members. 

(12) "Service area" means the geographic area in 

North Carolina as described by the HMO 

pursuant to G.S. 58-67-10(c)(11) in which an 

HMO enrolls persons who either work in the 

service area, reside in the service area, or work 

and reside in the service and area, as approved 

by the Commissioner pursuant to G.S. 58-67-

20. 

(13) "Service corporation" means a medical or 

hospital service corporation operating under 

pursuant to Article 65 of Chapter 58 of the 

General Statutes. 

(14) "Single service HMO" means an HMO that 

undertakes to provide or arrange for the 

delivery of a single type or single group of 

health care services to a defined population on 

a prepaid or capitated basis, except for a 

member's responsibility for non-covered 

services, coinsurance, copayments, or 

deductibles. 

(15) "Utilization review" means those 

methodologies used to improve the quality and 

maximize the efficiency of the health care 

delivery system through review of particular 

instances of care, including, whenever 

performed, precertification, concurrent review, 

discharge planning, and retrospective review. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40(1); 58-50-50; 58-50- 

55; 58-65-1; 58-65-140; 58-67-150;  

Eff. October 1, 1996;  

Amended Eff. July 1, 2006;  

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 16, 2014; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 24, 2018. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission September 20, 2018 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (1st Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 
Jeffrey A. Poley Paul Powell 
Brian LiVecchi Jeanette Doran (2nd Vice Chair) 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May (919)431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919)431-3079 
Jason Thomas  (919)431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 November 15, 2018 December 13, 2018 
   January 17, 2019 February 15, 2018 

 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
September 20, 2018 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, September 20, 2018, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina. Commissioners present were: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Garth Dunklin, 
Jeff Hyde, Brian LiVecchi, and Paul Powell. 
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsels Amber Cronk May, Amanda Reeder, and Jason Thomas; and Julie 
Brincefield, Alex Burgos, and Dana McGhee.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 10:04 a.m. with Chairman Dunklin presiding. 
 
Chairman Dunklin introduced Judge Jefferson Griffin of the 10th Judicial District Court to the Commission.  
 
Judge Jefferson Griffin administered the oath of office to new Commissioner Brian LiVecchi.   
 
Chairman Dunklin read the notice required by G.S. 163A-159 and reminded the Commission members that they have a 
duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts of interest. 
 
The Chairman announced that due to the number of speakers that submitted requests to speak, the following agenda items 
be reviewed at the end of the agenda in the order set forth below, and not in the order they appear in the online agenda or 
in these minutes:   
 
Follow Up Matters and Non Pre-Reviewed Permanent Rules 
Child Care Commission  
 
Non Pre-Reviewed Permanent Rules 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, Rule 12 NCAC 09G .0403 
 
Pre-Reviewed Permanent Rules 
Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy 
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Non Pre-Reviewed Permanent Rules 
Commission for the Blind 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
Chairman Dunklin asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the August 16, 2018 
meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Commission of Navigation and Pilotage for the Cape Fear River and Bar 
The agency is addressing the objections for 04 NCAC 15 .0119, .0121, .0123, .0124, .0127, and .0128.   No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement 
08 NCAC 01 .0104, .0106; 02 .0114; 10B .0108, .0109; and 08 NCAC 20 .0101– The rules were unanimously approved.  
 
The agency is addressing the objections and technical change requests for 08 NCAC 02 .0112, .0113; 03 .0101, .0102, 
.0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0302; 04 .0302, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307; 05 .0111; 06B .0103, .0104, 
.0105; 08 .0104; 09 .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109; 10B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107; 16 .0101, .0102, .0104; 
and 18 .0102. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Child Care Commission 
10A NCAC 09 .2201, .2202, .2203, .2204, .2205, .2206, .2207, .2209, .2213, .2216, and .2217. All rewritten rules were 
unanimously approved. 
 
Andrea Stogsdill, with the NC Licensed Child Care Association, addressed the Commission. 
 
Alexi Gruber, with the Attorney General’s office and representing the agency, addressed the Commission.   
 
DHHS/Division of Medical Assistance  
10A NCAC 22F .0301 and 22J .0106. The Commission unanimously continued its objections. 
 
Water Pollution Control System Operator Certification Commission 
The agency is addressing the objections to 15A NCAC 08F .0406 and 08G .0802. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Pre-Reviewed Rules 
 
Department of Natural and Cultural Resources 
07 NCAC 13H .0404 was unanimously approved. 
 
Commission for Public Health 15A NCAC 18 
The Commission voted to extend the period of review for 15A NCAC 18A .1934, 1935, .1937, .1938, .1939, .1940, .1941, 
.1942, .1943, .1944, .1945, .1946, .1947, .1948, .1949, .1950, .1951, .1952, .1953, .1954, .1955, .1956, .1957, .1958, .1959, 
.1960, .1961, .1962, .1964, .1965, .1966, .1967, .1968, .1969, .1970, .1971; 18E .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0201, 
.0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, 
.0505, .0506, .0507, .0509, .0510, .0601, .0602, .0701, .0702, .0703, .0801, .0802, .0803, .0804, .0805, .0901, .0902, .0903, 
.0904, .0905, .0906, .0907, .0908, .0909, .0910, .0911, .1001, .1002, .1101, .1102, .1103, .1104, .1105, .1106, .1201, .1202, 
.1203, .1204, .1205, .1206, .1302, .1303, .1304, .1305, .1306, .1307, .1401, .1402, .1403, .1404, .1405, .1406, .1501, .1502, 
.1503, .1504, .1505, .1601, .1602, .1603, .1701, .1702, .1703, .1704, .1705, .1706, .1707, .1709, .1710, .1711, .1712, and 
.1713 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. They did so in response to a request from the agency to extend the period in 
order to allow the agency to address requested technical changes. 
 
Well Contractors Certification Commission 
All rules were unanimously approved.  
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Board of Registration for Foresters 
The Commission voted to extend the period of review for 21 NCAC 20 .0103 and .0104 in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.10. They did so in response to a request from the agency to extend the period to allow the agency to address requested 
technical changes and submit the rewritten rules at a later meeting. 
 
Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy 
All rules were unanimously approved with the following exceptions: 
 
The Commission objected to 21 NCAC 30 .1009 and .1010 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10.  
 
The Commission objected to 21 NCAC 30 .1009 based upon lack of statutory authority and ambiguity.  Specifically, the 
Commission found that the agency does not have statutory authority to completely forbid transfers of licenses, and as 
written, the rule appears to do that.  In addition, the rule is unclear as written because it appears to conflate licensure transfer 
with a change of ownership, and therefore, it is not clear what is intended in Paragraph (b). 
 
The Commission objected to 21 NCAC 30 .1010 for ambiguity, as it is unclear in Paragraph (a) if the agency is only requiring 
the submission of allegations of violations addressed in (a)(1) through (3), or all rules in the Chapter and the Practice Act 
as set forth in the first sentence of the Rule. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy, Commissioner Atkins recused himself 
and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because of a conflict. 
 
Mitch Armbruster, representing Massage Envy, addressed the Commission. 
 
Jeff Gray, representing the American Massage Therapy Association, addressed the Commission.  Prior to his presentation, 
the Commission voted pursuant to 26 NCAC 05 .0112 to waive the deadline to address the Commission, as set forth in 26 
NCAC 05 .0105. Commissioner Choi was not present for the vote to allow the waiver. 
 
Charles Wilkins, the rulemaking coordinator for the agency, addressed the Commission.   
 
The Commission received over 10 letters of objection in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2), requesting a delayed effective 
date and legislative review of all rules with the exception of 21 NCAC 30 .0902.      
 
Non Pre-Reviewed Rules 
Board of Agriculture 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement 
08 NCAC 04 .0301 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Child Care Commission 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Commission for Public Health 10A NCAC 41 
10A NCAC 41A .0101 was unanimously approved. 
 
Commission for the Blind 
All rules were unanimously approved with the following exceptions: 
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, and .0601 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. 
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 63C .0203, Paragraph (d)(6), because it lacks statutory authority to require an 
operator to provide a copy of his or her concealed weapons permit. The Commission also objected to Paragraphs (b) and 
(c) (“conventional means”), (d)(1) (“may be suspended or terminated”), (d)(4) (“information”), and (d)(11) and (d)(12) (“failing 
to cooperate”) because the indicated terms are unclear and ambiguous.  
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 63C .0204 because the rule as submitted for review by the Commission differs 
substantially from the rule proposed in the North Carolina Register, in violation of G.S. 150B-21.2(g). The Commission also 
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objected to 10A NCAC 63C .0204, Paragraphs (c) (criteria for evaluating “adjustments”) and (d)(7) (tie breaking procedures), 
because the indicated terms or procedures are unclear and ambiguous.  
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 63C .0403 because the rule as submitted for review by the Commission differs 
substantially from the rule proposed in the North Carolina Register, in violation of G.S. 150B-21.2(g). 
 
The Commission objected to 10A NCAC 63C .0601, Paragraphs (a)(4) (“full managerial attention”), (a)(5) (“maintain 
professional relationships”), (a)(6) (“neat, business-like appearance” and “orderly, business-like manner”), (a)(8) (“in which 
are maintained to operate”), (a)(12) (“business consultation”), (a)(13) (“consultation to support operations”), and (a)(15) 
(“appropriate actions”), because the indicated terms are unclear and ambiguous. 
 
Meisha Evans, with Disability Rights of North Carolina, addressed the Commission.  
 
Chris Hodgson, with Disability Rights of North Carolina, addressed the Commission.  
 
Dixon Snukals of McGuire Woods, representing the Elected Committee of Blind Vendors, addressed the Commission. 
 
Charles Case of McGuire Woods, representing the Elected Committee of Blind Vendors, addressed the Commission. 
 
Kathie Trotter, rulemaking coordinator for the agency, addressed the Commission.  
 
Cynthia Speight, the Director of the Division of Services for the Blind, addressed the Commission. 
 
William Walton, with the Attorney General’s office and representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Steven Shores, a member of the Elected Committee of Blind Vendors, addressed the Commission. 
 
Gerald Fischer, the Chairman for the Elected Committee of Blind Vendors, addressed the Commission. 
 
Jessica Macari, with the Attorney General’s office and representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Commissioner Powell left the meeting during the discussion of the rules from the Commission for the Blind and did not 
return for the remainder of the meeting. 
 
Home Inspector Licensure Board 
All rules were unanimously approved.  
 
Department of Insurance 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
All rules were unanimously approved with the following exceptions:  
 
The Commission extended the period of review for 12 NCAC 09B .0101, .0203, .0301 and 12 NCAC 09G .0102, .0304, 
.0504, .0505, and .0701 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. They did so in response to a request from the agency to 
extend the period in order to allow the agency to address requested technical changes and submit the rewritten rules at a 
later meeting. 
 
The Commission objected to 12 NCAC 09G .0403 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10.  
 
The Commission objected to the 12 NCAC 09G .0403 based upon ambiguity and a lack of statutory authority.  Specifically, 
the Commission found that the agency lacks authority to require the items in Subparagraphs (a)(2) (as it relates to repealed 
rules, which is also unclear as written), (a)(3), (a)(4) (as it relates to the effect on existing decisions, which is also unclear 
as written), (a)(5), (a)(6), and (a)(7).  The Commission also found that Paragraph (c) is unclear as written, as it relates to a 
cross-reference that does not exist.  Finally, in Paragraph (d), the agency did not present any statutory authority that it 
allowed it to set the deadline to request a contested case at 30 days.   
 
Charminique Williams, the rulemaking coordinator for the agency, addressed the Commission. 
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Whitney Belich, with the Attorney General’s office and representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
21 NCAC 10 .0203 was unanimously approved. 
 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Commissioner Choi recused herself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rule because her law firm represents the Board. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
Department of Insurance 
11 NCAC 20 .0101 was unanimously approved.   
 
EXISTING RULES REVIEW 
Pesticide Board 
02 NCAC 09L – The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency. 
 
Structural Pest Control Committee 
02 NCAC 34 – The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency. 
 
Office of the Commissioner of Banks 
04 NCAC 16 - The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency. 
 
Department of Natural and Cultural Resources   
07 NCAC 13B - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
January 31, 2022 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
07 NCAC 13C - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
December 31, 2022 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
07 NCAC 13F - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
January 31, 2020 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
07 NCAC 13K - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
January 31, 2021 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
07 NCAC 15 - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
October 31, 2019 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
Department of Insurance  
11 NCAC 12 - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
January 31, 2020 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
The chair called the meeting into a brief recess at 12:59 p.m.     
 
The meeting resumed at 1:08 p.m.   
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The Commission’s Bylaws require that elections be held at the September meeting.  
 
Prior to the election and pursuant to its bylaws, the Commission voted to allow the Chairman and 1st Vice-Chairman to be 
eligible for reelection for a fourth term and the 2nd Vice-Chairman for a second term. 
 
The following members were elected as officers: 
 
Garth Dunklin was re-elected Chairman. 
 
Jeff Hyde was re-elected 1st Vice-Chairman. 
 
Jeanette Doran was re-elected 2nd Vice Chair. 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

857 

The meeting adjourned at 3:20 p.m.   
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, October 18th at 10:00 a.m. 
 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Garth Dunklin, Chair 
 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

858 

 
 

 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

859 

 
 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

860 

 
 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

861 

 
 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

862 

 
 

 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

863 

 
 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

864 

 
 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

865 

 
 

 

 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

866 

 
 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

867 

 
 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

868 

 
 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

869 

 
 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

870 

 
 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

871 

 
 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

872 

 
 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

873 

 
 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

874 

 
 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

875 

 
 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

876 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

33:08 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 15, 2018 

877 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

September 20, 2018 Meeting 

AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF 

Advertising Matter 02 NCAC 20B .0103 

Alcoholic Beverages 02 NCAC 43L .0337 

 
NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Natural Heritage Program Fees; Inventory Data, Environmen... 07 NCAC 13H .0404 

 
ELECTIONS AND ETHICS ENFORCEMENT, BOARD OF 

Procedures For Political Committees 08 NCAC 01 .0104 

Emergency Powers of Executive Director 08 NCAC 01 .0106 

Dismissal of Improper Filings 08 NCAC 02 .0114 

Curbside Voting 08 NCAC 10B .0108 

Voting Site Uniformity 08 NCAC 10B .0109 

Election Observer 08 NCAC 20 .0101 

 
CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

Provisional Licenses for Facilities 10A NCAC 09 .0401 

Administrative Sanctions 10A NCAC 09 .1904 

Administrative Actions and Civil Penalties: General Provi... 10A NCAC 09 .2201 

Written Reprimands 10A NCAC 09 .2202 

Written Warnings 10A NCAC 09 .2203 

Provisional Child Care Facility License or Provisional No... 10A NCAC 09 .2204 

Probationary License 10A NCAC 09 .2205 

Suspension 10A NCAC 09 .2206 

Special Provisional Child Care Facility License or Specia... 10A NCAC 09 .2207 

Civil Penalties: Scope and Purpose 10A NCAC 09 .2208 

Revocation of a Child Care Facility License or an Order t... 10A NCAC 09 .2209 

Summary Suspension 10A NCAC 09 .2213 

Amount of Civil Penalties for Child Care Facilities 10A NCAC 09 .2216 

Schedule of Civil Penalties for Child Care Centers 10A NCAC 09 .2217 

 
PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Reportable Diseases and Conditions 10A NCAC 41A .0101 

 
BLIND, COMMISSION FOR THE 

Non-Discrimination 10A NCAC 63A .0101 

Purpose and Definitions 10A NCAC 63C .0101 

Division Responsibility 10A NCAC 63C .0102 

Business Enterprises Facility Equipment: Merchandise and ... 10A NCAC 63C .0103 

Training Program 10A NCAC 63C .0104 

Issuance of Licenses 10A NCAC 63C .0201 

Eligibility for Licensing 10A NCAC 63C .0202 

Contractual Agreement Between Division and Operator 10A NCAC 63C .0205 

Confidential Information 10A NCAC 63C .0206 
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Temporary Closing 10A NCAC 63C .0302 

Purpose 10A NCAC 63C .0401 

Policy 10A NCAC 63C .0402 

Election 10A NCAC 63C .0501 

Organization and Operation 10A NCAC 63C .0506 

Functions 10A NCAC 63C .0508 

Subcommittees 10A NCAC 63C .0509 

Committee Initiative 10A NCAC 63C .0511 

Division Responsibility and Relationship with Committee 10A NCAC 63C .0512 

Security 10A NCAC 63C .0603 

Reports 10A NCAC 63C .0604 

Minimum Fair Return and Definitions 10A NCAC 63C .0701 

Set-Aside 10A NCAC 63C .0702 

Income from Vending Machines on Federal Property 10A NCAC 63C .0704 

Eligibility for and Authorization of Services 10A NCAC 63F .0101 

Training and Training Materials 10A NCAC 63F .0102 

Economic Needs Policies 10A NCAC 63F .0402 

 
HOME INSPECTOR LICENSURE BOARD 

Definitions 11 NCAC 08 .1101 

Standards of Practice 11 NCAC 08 .1102 

Purpose and Scope 11 NCAC 08 .1103 

General Limitations 11 NCAC 08 .1104 

General Exclusions 11 NCAC 08 .1105 

Structural Components 11 NCAC 08 .1106 

Exterior 11 NCAC 08 .1107 

Roofing 11 NCAC 08 .1108 

Plumbing 11 NCAC 08 .1109 

Electrical 11 NCAC 08 .1110 

Heating 11 NCAC 08 .1111 

Air Conditioning 11 NCAC 08 .1112 

Interiors 11 NCAC 08 .1113 

Insulation and Ventilation 11 NCAC 08 .1114 

Built-in Kitchen Appliances 11 NCAC 08 .1115 

Code of Ethics 11 NCAC 08 .1116 

Continuing Education Required for Renewal of Active License 11 NCAC 08 .1302 

 
INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Applicability 11 NCAC 16 .0101 

Nonfleet Private Passenger Automobile Insurance 11 NCAC 16 .0103 

Physicians And Surgeons Professional Liability Insurance 11 NCAC 16 .0105 

Credit Property Insurance 11 NCAC 16 .0106 

Nonfiling Insurance 11 NCAC 16 .0107 

Single or Dual Interest Automobile Physical Damage Insurance 11 NCAC 16 .0108 

Minimum Loss Ratio Standards 11 NCAC 16 .0201 

Accident and Health Insurance Renewability Definitions 11 NCAC 16 .0202 

Conditionally Renewable Stated Reason Prohibited 11 NCAC 16 .0203 

Optionally Renewable Prohibited 11 NCAC 16 .0204 
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Data Requirements for Rate Revision Submission 11 NCAC 16 .0205 

Class Definition Restriction 11 NCAC 16 .0206 

Common Block 11 NCAC 16 .0207 

Annual Actuarial Certifications for Long-Term Care Forms 11 NCAC 16 .0208 

Definitions 11 NCAC 16 .0401 

General Submission Requirements 11 NCAC 16 .0402 

Calculation Procedure and Data Requirements for Rate Devi... 11 NCAC 16 .0403 

Minimum Incurred Loss Ratio 11 NCAC 16 .0501 

Definitions 11 NCAC 16 .0502 

General Submission Requirements 11 NCAC 16 .0503 

Calculation Procedure and Demonstration of Compliance 11 NCAC 16 .0504 

Definitions 11 NCAC 16 .0601 

HMO General Filing Requirements 11 NCAC 16 .0602 

HMO Rate Filing Data Requirements 11 NCAC 16 .0603 

Initial HMO Rate Filing Data Requirements And Standards 11 NCAC 16 .0604 

HMO Expansion Request Data Requirements 11 NCAC 16 .0605 

HMO Data Revision Filing Data Requirements 11 NCAC 16 .0606 

HMO Incurred Loss Ratio Standards 11 NCAC 16 .0607 

Definitions 11 NCAC 16 .0701 

Claims 11 NCAC 16 .0702 

Claim Reserve Filing Requirements 11 NCAC 16 .0703 

Claim Reserve Data and Format Requirements 11 NCAC 16 .0704 

Claim Reserve Methodology and Actuarial Certification 11 NCAC 16 .0705 

Small Employer Group Health Insurance Actuarial Certifica... 11 NCAC 16 .0801 

 
CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Basic Law Enforcement Training 12 NCAC 09B .0205 

Certification Training for School Resource Officer 12 NCAC 09B .0313 

Divulging Personnel Information 12 NCAC 09C .0103 

Report of Separation 12 NCAC 09C .0208 

Report of Separation 12 NCAC 09C .0305 

Agency Reporting of Drug Screening Results 12 NCAC 09C .0310 

Basic Criminal Justice Certificate 12 NCAC 09D .0203 

Minimum Training Specifications: Annual In-Service Training 12 NCAC 09E .0105 

Basic State Corrections Certificate 12 NCAC 09G .0603 

 
WELL CONTRACTORS CERTIFICATION COMMISSION 

Petition for Rulemaking 15A NCAC 27 .0120 

 
CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

North Carolina Examination 21 NCAC 10 .0203 

 
MASSAGE AND BODYWORK THERAPY, BOARD OF 

Display of License 21 NCAC 30 .0302 

Address of Record 21 NCAC 30 .0401 

Place of Practice 21 NCAC 30 .0405 

Continuing Education Requirements 21 NCAC 30 .0701 

Continuing Education Definitions 21 NCAC 30 .0702 
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Scope of Qualified Activities for Maintaining Continuing ... 21 NCAC 30 .0703 

Complaints 21 NCAC 30 .0902 

Disciplinary Sanctions 21 NCAC 30 .0905 

Establishment of License Required 21 NCAC 30 .1001 

Term of License 21 NCAC 30 .1002 

Initial Application for Licensure 21 NCAC 30 .1003 

Establishment Operations 21 NCAC 30 .1004 

Client Records Retention and Ownership 21 NCAC 30 .1005 

Inspections 21 NCAC 30 .1006 

Change of Trade Name 21 NCAC 30 .1007 

Change of Location 21 NCAC 30 .1008 

Continuing Duty to Report Certain Crimes and Civil Suits 21 NCAC 30 .1011 

License Renewal 21 NCAC 30 .1012 

Address of Record 21 NCAC 30 .1013 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

September 20, 2018 Meeting 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Scope and Definitions 11 NCAC 20 .0101 

 

 

RRC Determination 
Periodic Rule Review 
September 20, 2018 

Necessary with substantive public interest 
 
Pesticide Board 
02 NCAC 09L .0101 
02 NCAC 09L .0102 
02 NCAC 09L .0103 
02 NCAC 09L .0308 
02 NCAC 09L .0310 
02 NCAC 09L .0317 
02 NCAC 09L .0318 
02 NCAC 09L .0402 
02 NCAC 09L .0502 
02 NCAC 09L .0503 
02 NCAC 09L .0504 
02 NCAC 09L .0505 
02 NCAC 09L .0509 
02 NCAC 09L .0515 
02 NCAC 09L .0516 
02 NCAC 09L .0519 
02 NCAC 09L .0520 
02 NCAC 09L .0522 
02 NCAC 09L .0523 
02 NCAC 09L .0524 
02 NCAC 09L .0525 
02 NCAC 09L .0526 
02 NCAC 09L .0527 
02 NCAC 09L .0529 
02 NCAC 09L .0602 
02 NCAC 09L .0603 

02 NCAC 09L .0701 
02 NCAC 09L .0702 
02 NCAC 09L .0703 
02 NCAC 09L .0705 
02 NCAC 09L .0706 
02 NCAC 09L .0707 
02 NCAC 09L .0810 
02 NCAC 09L .1001 
02 NCAC 09L .1002 
02 NCAC 09L .1003 
02 NCAC 09L .1005 
02 NCAC 09L .1006 
02 NCAC 09L .1009 
02 NCAC 09L .1102 
02 NCAC 09L .1103 
02 NCAC 09L .1104 
02 NCAC 09L .1105 
02 NCAC 09L .1107 
02 NCAC 09L .1108 
02 NCAC 09L .1109 
02 NCAC 09L .1111 
02 NCAC 09L .1201 
02 NCAC 09L .1202 
02 NCAC 09L .1302 
02 NCAC 09L .1303 
02 NCAC 09L .1305 
02 NCAC 09L .1306 

02 NCAC 09L .1401 
02 NCAC 09L .1402 
02 NCAC 09L .1404 
02 NCAC 09L .1805 
02 NCAC 09L .1806 
02 NCAC 09L .1901 
02 NCAC 09L .1902 
02 NCAC 09L .1905 
02 NCAC 09L .1906 
02 NCAC 09L .1907 
02 NCAC 09L .1908 
02 NCAC 09L .1909 
02 NCAC 09L .1913 
02 NCAC 09L .1914 
02 NCAC 09L .2001 
02 NCAC 09L .2002 
02 NCAC 09L .2003 
02 NCAC 09L .2004 
02 NCAC 09L .2201 
02 NCAC 09L .2202 
02 NCAC 09L .2203 
 
Structural Pest Control  
Committee 
02 NCAC 34 .0302 
02 NCAC 34 .0309 
02 NCAC 34 .0328 
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02 NCAC 34 .0331 
02 NCAC 34 .0501 
02 NCAC 34 .0502 
02 NCAC 34 .0503 

02 NCAC 34 .0504 
02 NCAC 34 .0505 
02 NCAC 34 .0506 
02 NCAC 34 .0602 

02 NCAC 34 .0703 
02 NCAC 34 .1206 
 
 

 

 
RRC Determination 

Periodic Rule Review 
September 20, 2018 

Necessary without substantive public interest 
 
Pesticide Board 
02 NCAC 09L .0301 
02 NCAC 09L .0306 
02 NCAC 09L .0313 
02 NCAC 09L .0316 
02 NCAC 09L .0506 
02 NCAC 09L .0507 
02 NCAC 09L .0512 
02 NCAC 09L .0517 
02 NCAC 09L .0528 
02 NCAC 09L .0601 
02 NCAC 09L .0604 
02 NCAC 09L .1110 
02 NCAC 09L .1301 
02 NCAC 09L .1911 
02 NCAC 09L .2101 
02 NCAC 09L .2102 
02 NCAC 09L .2103 
02 NCAC 09L .2104 
02 NCAC 09L .2105 
02 NCAC 09L .2106 
02 NCAC 09L .2107 
 
Structural Pest Control  
Committee 
02 NCAC 34 .0101 
02 NCAC 34 .0102 
02 NCAC 34 .0203 
02 NCAC 34 .0301 
02 NCAC 34 .0303 
02 NCAC 34 .0305 
02 NCAC 34 .0306 
02 NCAC 34 .0307 
02 NCAC 34 .0308 
02 NCAC 34 .0310 
02 NCAC 34 .0312 
02 NCAC 34 .0313 
02 NCAC 34 .0316 
02 NCAC 34 .0317 
02 NCAC 34 .0318 
02 NCAC 34 .0320 
02 NCAC 34 .0321 
02 NCAC 34 .0323 
02 NCAC 34 .0325 
02 NCAC 34 .0326 
02 NCAC 34 .0327 
02 NCAC 34 .0329 
02 NCAC 34 .0330 

02 NCAC 34 .0401 
02 NCAC 34 .0402 
02 NCAC 34 .0403 
02 NCAC 34 .0404 
02 NCAC 34 .0405 
02 NCAC 34 .0406 
02 NCAC 34 .0407 
02 NCAC 34 .0408 
02 NCAC 34 .0507 
02 NCAC 34 .0508 
02 NCAC 34 .0509 
02 NCAC 34 .0601 
02 NCAC 34 .0603 
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04 NCAC 16I .1002 
04 NCAC 16I .1003 
04 NCAC 16I .1102 
04 NCAC 16I .1103 
04 NCAC 16I .1104 
04 NCAC 16I .1105 
04 NCAC 16I .1301 
04 NCAC 16I .1302 

04 NCAC 16K .0101 
04 NCAC 16K .0102 
04 NCAC 16K .0103 
04 NCAC 16K .0104 
04 NCAC 16K .0105 
04 NCAC 16K .0106 
04 NCAC 16K .0107 
04 NCAC 16K .0108 

04 NCAC 16K .0109 
04 NCAC 16K .0110 
04 NCAC 16K .0111 
04 NCAC 16K .0112 
04 NCAC 16K .0117 
04 NCAC 16L .0102 
04 NCAC 16L .0103 
04 NCAC 16L .0104 

 

 
RRC Determination 

Periodic Rule Review 
September 20, 2018 

Unnecessary 
 
Pesticide Board 
02 NCAC 09L .0704 
02 NCAC 09L .0901 

02 NCAC 09L .1004 
02 NCAC 09L .1807 
02 NCAC 09L .1904 

02 NCAC 09L .1910 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

  
    PUBLISHED     

 

17 CPS 07192 8/2/2018 Steve Bondi v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission Respondent 

Elkins 

  
          

 

17 DOJ 07407 8/23/2018 Brandon Reginald 

Gore 

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

18 DOJ 00497 8/30/2018 Daniel James 

Boonbumrung 

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

18 DOJ 00594 8/27/2018 LaSonya Kijafa 

Pemberton 

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Ward 

18 DOJ 01937 8/30/2018 Coty Donovan Wood v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

  
          

 

18 INS 01815 8/28/2018 Jillian Bellino v. North Carolina Department of State 

Treasurer 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 OSP 01115 8/9/2018 Cathy Callahan v. North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety 

Bawtinhimer 

18 OSP 02123 8/8/2018 Monroe Brown Sr v. NC Department of Transportation Bawtinhimer 

18 OSP 04299 8/17/2018 Okwudiri Morris 

Ekwuruke 

v. NC Department of Public Safety Overby 

  
    

 
    

 

  
    UNPUBLISHED     

 

18 ABC 01783 8/16/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Vision China Bistro LLC T/A Vision 

China Bistro 

Sutton 

18 ABC 03631 8/17/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. L C C Inc T/A Good Stop Sutton 
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18 CPS 02990 8/15/2018 Demarcus Ingram v. North Carolina Division of Victim 

Compensaton Services Division of the 

Department of Public Safety 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

17 CSE 07401 8/6/2018 Lewis Alston v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services,Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

17 CSE 07410 8/3/2018 Abdel Malik Ali v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

17 CSE 07634 8/6/2018 Roger Lee Sparks v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

17 CSE 07918 8/6/2018 Anton M Caple v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

17 CSE 08048 8/3/2018 Jeffrey R Griffith v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

17 CSE 08101 8/7/2018 Chad Atkins v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

17 CSE 08349 8/1/2018 Channing T Daye v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Overby 

17 CSE 08560 8/10/2018 Amanda Renee 

Palmer Clark 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

18 CSE 00384 8/3/2018 Clyde Doss v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

18 CSE 03688 8/30/2018 Matthew T Minga v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

  
          

 

18 DAG 03089 8/10/2018 Daimler Trucks 

North America LLC 

Gastonia 

v. NC Department of Agriculture & 

Consumer Services 

Mann 

  
          

 

18 DHR 01503 8/28/2018 Georgette Johnson 

Managing Member 

of MTC Adult Care 

LLC Licensee For 

Heritage Oaks 

Assisted Living 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, AdultCare Licensure Section 

Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 02090 8/24/2018 Brookdale Cary 

Carmen Scott 

Executive Director 

v. Dept of Health and Human Services, 

Division of Health Service Regulation 

Mann 

18 DHR 02143 8/13/2018 Kimmy L Ellis v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Ward 

18 DHR 02372 8/13/2018 Selena Harrell v. DHHS Ward 

18 DHR 02426 8/2/2018 Holly Chadwick v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Food and Nutrition Services 

Elkins 

18 DHR 02992 8/15/2018 Joy Medical Supply 

Benson Ejindu 

v. Dept of Health and Human Services Malherbe 

18 DHR 03003 8/6/2018 Grace Massala v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Overby 
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18 DHR 03241 8/10/2018 TLC W MHL-036-

323 Tina Wilson 

CEO 

v. Ms. Lisa Corbett Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Mann 

18 DHR 03258 8/27/2018 Catering II You LLC v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Public Health 

Environmental Health Section 

Mann 

18 DHR 03347 8/10/2018 Asha Bs Closet v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Medical Assistance 

Mann 

18 DHR 03509 8/27/2018 Segrest International 

Realtors 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Mann 

18 DHR 03609 8/3/2018 Arvenise Walker v. Division of Child Development and 

Early Education- Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Elkins 

18 DHR 03630 8/13/2018 Julius Byass v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Elkins 

18 DHR 03694 8/30/2018 Bryant's Family 

Home Care 

v. NCDHHS May 

18 DHR 03881 8/10/2018 Martha M Smith v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

18 DHR 04256 8/17/2018 Sharie Leonard v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services, Division of Health 

Service Regulation 

Ward 

18 DHR 04417 8/30/2018 Marquetta Renee 

Scott 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

May 

18 DHR 04491 8/24/2018 Veronica Smith v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 

  
          

 

18 DOJ 01921 8/31/2018 Ki-Yon Amari 

Walden 

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Elkins 

  
          

 

18 DOL 03804 8/30/2018 William C Elmore 

OD DBA American 

Eye Care Optometric 

CTRS PA 

v. NC Department of Labor Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 HFA 02856 8/23/2018 Samantha Hooker 

a/k/a Samantha 

Peterson 

v. North Carolina Housing Finance Agency Lassiter 

  
          

 

18 INS 02058 8/10/2018 Ashley Foster 

Schauer 

v. The North Carolina State Health Plan for 

Teachers and State Employees' (the Plan) 

2018 Open Enrollment 

Bawtinhimer 

18 INS 02781 8/20/2018 Hadijatou Joyce 

Jarra Administrator 

of the Estate of 

Brenda P Jarra 

v. North Carolina State Health Plan A 

Division of the Department of State 

Treasurer 

Overby 

  
          

 

18 OSP 02759 8/6/2018 Anthony Reeves v. DHHS Overby 

18 OSP 03853 8/28/2018 Shaunna L Carlton v. University of North Carolina at Chapel 

Hill 

Overby 

18 OSP 04083 8/15/2018 Nancy Newkirk v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Lassiter 
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18 UNC 02733 8/29/2018 Desma George v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Overby 

18 UNC 03532 8/24/2018 Rebecca Carrington v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Mann 

 


