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Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 

 

 

 

GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Commission for Mental Health, 

Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services 

intends to readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 

10A NCAC 26D .1104, .1105, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1206. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of rules to be readopted 

without substantive changes are not required to be published.  The 

text of the rules is available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/mhddsas/councils-

commissions/rulemakingprocess/proposedrules 

 

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2019 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing:  (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice): An agency must 

hold a public hearing on a rule it proposes to adopt if the agency 

publishes the text of the proposed rule in the North Carolina 

Register and the agency receives a written request for a public 

hearing on the proposed rule within 15 days after the notice of 

text is published.  A request for a public hearing must be submitted 

in writing to dmhddsasrules@dhhs.nc.gov. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  These rules must be readopted per 

the requirements of G.S. 150B-21.3A as they were determined 

necessary with substantive public interest during the periodic 

review process. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  W. Denise Baker, 3001 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-3001; email 

dmhddsasrules@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 16, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 26 -  MENTAL HEALTH, GENERAL 

 

SUBCHAPTER 26D - NORTH CAROLINA 

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION: STANDARDS FOR 

MENTAL HEALTH AND MENTAL RETARDATION 

 

SECTION .1100 – MEDICATION SERVICES 

 
10A NCAC 26D .1104  INVOLUNTARY 

ADMINISTRATION OF PSYCHOTROPIC MEDICATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 26D .1105  PSYCHOTROPIC MEDICATION 

EDUCATION (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .1200 -  PROTECTIONS REGARDING 

CERTAIN PROCEDURES 

 

10A NCAC 26D .1202  USE OF SECLUSION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 26D .1203  USE OF RESTRAINT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 26D .1204  PROTECTIVE DEVICES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

10A NCAC 26D .1206  INVOLUNTARY REFERRALS 

AND TRANSFERS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Social Services Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 10A 

NCAC 67A .0301. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:06 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 17, 2018 

568 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/dss/sscommission/index.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 14, 2018 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  NC Department of Social Services, 820 Boylan 

Avenue, McBryde Building 1st Floor, Room 151, Raleigh, NC 

27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Session Law 2017-41 requires 

that the Social Services Commission shall adopt rules governing 

the obligations of counties to contribute financially to regional 

social services departments in accordance with G.S. 108A-

15.3A(e). 

NC Session Law 2017-41 (House Bill 630), Rylan's 

Law/Family/Child Protection and Accountability Act requires the 

Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to establish 

a regional system for supervision of county departments of social 

services to improve accountability and state oversight of social 

services programs.  Specific emphasis is placed upon improving 

outcomes for families and children involved with child welfare 

services.  Recent federal and statewide reviews have identified 

troubling gaps and flaws in North Carolina's child welfare system 

that place children's safety at risk and transforming the child 

welfare systems is necessary to better ensure the safety, 

permanency, and well-being of children and families.  The 

evaluations of the child welfare system have concluded that 

counties require performance improvement in several areas. 

Additionally, county social services agencies are facing 

significant resource and administration challenges in areas other 

than child welfare, such as public assistance and adult services, 

and are not meeting standards for timeliness and accuracy. 

Among a host of other provisions to improve child welfare and 

other social services programs, Rylan's Law gives counties 

authority to voluntarily consolidate programs or whole 

departments of social services.  If one or more counties choose to 

consolidate, this option creates a regional department of social 

services (RDSS).  Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 108A-15.3A(a), "a 

regional social services department, including more than one 

county, may be formed upon agreement of the county boards of 

commissioners and, if applicable, either the county board of 

social services or consolidated human services board having 

jurisdiction over each of the counties involved." 

A RDSS will be its own governmental entity and function 

separately from the counties.  The option to create a RDSS allows 

counties the flexibility to combine resources to improve the 

provision of social services amongst more than one county. 

Proposed Rule 10A NCAC 67A .0301 is responsive to the 

overarching goal of giving counties maximum flexibility to meet 

the administrative and programmatic needs of their social 

services agencies and regions.  The proposed rule considers the 

myriad of potential options to combine county resources to 

improve the provision of services to citizens in their respective 

regions. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Belivia Spaulding, 820 South 

Boylan Avenue, MSC 2402, Raleigh, NC 27603; phone (919) 527-

6335; fax (919) 334-1198; email SSCommission@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 16, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 67 - SOCIAL SERVICES - PROCEDURES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 67A - GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

 

SECTION .0300 - REGIONAL SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENTS 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0301 REGIONAL DEPARTMENTS OF 

SOCIAL SERVICES FINANCIAL OBLIGATIONS OF 

COUNTIES 

Counties creating or joining a regional social services department 

pursuant to G.S. 108A-15.7, shall enter into a written agreement 

that sets forth, at a minimum, the following financial obligations 

and the amount or method in which each county will appropriate 

funds to the regional social services department for: 

(1) the administration of programs of social 

services and public assistance; 

(2) the county share of public assistance program 

costs; 

(3) any recoupments following fiscal or program 

monitoring or audit findings. 

 

Authority G.S. 108A-15.7; 143B-153(9). 

 

 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Industrial Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 11 

NCAC 23A .0109, .0620, amend the rules cited as 11 NCAC 23A 

.0501, .0502, .0604, .0609, .0617, .0619, .0701, .0702, .0801; 23B 

.0206, .0503, and repeal the rule cited as 11 NCAC 23B .0207. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the codifier has determined to 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The Text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

http://www.ic.nc.gov/proposedGroup2Rules.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: October 31, 2018 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: Room 240, 2nd Floor, Department of Insurance, 

Albemarle Building, 325 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 

27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  On its own initiative, the 

Industrial Commission ("Commission") conducted an internal 

review of its workers' compensation rules and sought informal 

stakeholder feedback on rules in 11 NCAC 23A. The proposed 

adoptions and amendments reflect changes necessary to clarify 

the rules, provide for increased efficiency, or update the rules to 

current reflect practices. 

 

The Commission also conducted an internal review of its rules 

governing State tort claims. The proposed amendments to 11 

NCAC 23B reflect changes necessary to clarify the rules, provide 

for increased efficiency, or update the rules to reflect current 

practices. 

 

The Commission proposes to repeal Rule 11 NCAC 23B .0207 

because the necessary contents of the rule are proposed to be 

added to Rule 11 NCAC 23B .0206. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Ashley B. Snyder, 1233 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1233; phone (919) 807-2524; 

email Ashley.snyder@ic.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends: November 16, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 11 NCAC 23A .0109, .0501, .0502, 

.0609, .0619, .0620, .0701, .0702, .0801; 23B .0206 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 11 NCAC 23A .0109, .0501, .0502, 

.0609, .0619, .0620, .0701, .0702, .0801 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 11 NCAC 

23A .0604, .0617; 23B .0207, .0503 

 

CHAPTER 23 – INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 23A – WORKERS COMPENSATION 

RULES 

 

SECTION .0100 - ADMINISTRATION 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0109 CONTACT INFORMATION  

(a)  "Contact information" for purposes of this Rule shall include 

telephone number, facsimile number, email address, and mailing 

address. 

(b)  All attorneys of record with matters before the Commission 

shall inform the Commission in writing of any change in the 

attorney's contact information via email to dockets@ic.nc.gov. 

(c)  All unrepresented persons or entities with matters pending 

before the Commission shall advise the Commission upon any 

change to their contact information in the following manner: 

(1) All employees who are not represented by 

counsel shall inform the Commission of any 

change in contact information by filing a 

written notice via the Commission's Electronic 

Document Filing Portal ("EDFP"), electronic 

mail, facsimile, U.S. Mail, private courier 

service, or hand delivery. 

(2) All non-insured employers that are not 

represented by counsel shall inform the 

Commission of any change in contact 

information by filing a written notice via the 

Commission's Electronic Document Filing 

Portal ("EDFP"), electronic mail, facsimile, 

U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand 

delivery. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-80. 

 

SECTION .0500 – AGREEMENTS 
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11 NCAC 23A .0501 AGREEMENTS FOR PROMPT 

PAYMENT OF COMPENSATION 

(a)  To facilitate the payment of compensation within the time 

prescribed in G.S. 97-18, the Commission shall accept 

memoranda of agreements on Commission forms. 

(b)  No agreement for permanent disability shall be approved until 

the relevant medical and vocational records records, including a 

job description if the employee has permanent work restrictions 

and has returned to work for the employer of injury, known to 

exist in the case have been filed with the Commission. When 

requested by the Commission, the parties shall file any additional 

documentation necessary to determine whether the employee is 

receiving the disability compensation to which he or she is entitled 

and that an employee qualifying for disability compensation 

under G.S. 97-29 or G.S. 97-30, and G.S. 97-31 has the benefit of 

the more favorable remedy. 

(c)  All memoranda of agreements shall be submitted to the 

Commission. Agreements conforming to the provisions of the 

Workers' Compensation Act shall be approved by the 

Commission and a copy returned to the employer, carrier, or 

administrator, and a copy sent to the employee, unless amended 

by an award, in which event the Commission shall return the 

award with the agreement. 

(d)  The employer, carrier, administrator, or the attorney of record, 

if any, shall provide the employee, beneficiary, or attorney of 

record employee's attorney of record or the employee, if any, 

unrepresented, a copy of a Form 21 Agreement for Compensation 

for Disability, a Form 26 Supplemental Agreement as to Payment 

of Compensation, a Form 26A Employer's Admission of 

Employee's Right to Permanent Partial Disability, a Form 26D 

Agreement for Payment of Unpaid Compensation in Unrelated 

Death Cases, and a Form 30 Agreement for Compensation for 

Death, when the employee or appropriate beneficiary signs the 

forms. upon submission to the Commission of the executed form 

or agreement. 

(e)  All memoranda of agreements for cases that are calendared 

for hearing before a Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner shall 

be addressed sent directly to that Commissioner or Deputy 

Commissioner. Commissioner, and filed in accordance with Rule 

.0108 of this Subchapter. Before a case is calendared, or once a 

case has been continued or removed, or after the filing of an 

Opinion and Award, all memoranda of agreements shall be 

directed addressed to the Claims Section of the Commission. 

Commission, and filed in accordance with Rule .0108 of this 

Subchapter. 

(f)  After the employer, carrier, or administrator has received a 

memorandum of agreement that has been signed by the employee 

and the employee's attorney of record, if any, the employer, 

carrier, or administrator has 20 days within which to submit the 

memorandum of agreement to the Commission for review and 

approval or within which to show cause for not submitting the 

memorandum of agreement signed only by the employee. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-18; 97-80(a); 97-82. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0502 COMPROMISE SETTLEMENT 

AGREEMENTS 

(a)  The Commission shall not approve a compromise settlement 

agreement unless it contains the following information: 

(1) The employee knowingly and intentionally 

waives the right to further benefits under the 

Workers' Compensation Act for the injury that 

is the subject of this agreement. 

(2) The employer, carrier, or administrator will pay 

all costs incurred. The parties' agreement, if 

any, as to the payment of the costs due to the 

Commission pursuant to 11 NCAC 23E .0203, 

and any mediation costs pursuant to 11 NCAC 

23G .0107. If there is no agreement as to the 

payment of some or all of these costs, the 

compromise settlement agreement shall include 

the credits, including the amounts, to be applied 

by the employer or carrier against the 

settlement proceeds. 

(3) No rights other than those arising under the 

provisions of the Workers' Compensation Act 

are compromised or released by this agreement. 

(4) The Whether the employee has, or has not, 

returned to work.a job or position at the same or 

a greater average weekly wage as was being 

earned prior to the injury or occupational 

disease. 

(5) If the employee has returned to work, whether 

the employee is earning the same or greater 

average weekly wage. 

(5)(6) Where If the employee has not returned to work 

a job or position at the same or a greater wage 

at a lower average weekly wage, as was being 

earned prior to the injury or occupational 

disease, the employee has, or has not, returned 

to some other job or position and, if so, the a 

description of the particular job or position, the 

name of the employer, and the average weekly 

wage earned. This Subparagraph does not apply 

where the employee or counsel certifies that 

partial wage loss due to an injury or 

occupational disease is not being claimed. if the 

employee is represented by counsel or if the 

employee certifies that partial wage loss due to 

an injury or occupational disease is not being 

claimed. 

(6)(7) Where If the employee has not returned to 

work, a job or position at the same or a greater 

average weekly wage as was being earned prior 

to the injury or occupational disease, a 

summary of the employee's age, educational 

level, past vocational training, past work 

experience, and any emotional, mental, or 

physical impairment that predates the current 

injury or occupational disease. This 

Subparagraph does not apply upon a showing 

of: if: 

(A) it places an unreasonable burden upon 

the parties; 

(B) the employee is represented by 

counsel; or 

(C) even if the employee is not represented 

by counsel, where the employee or 
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counsel certifies that total wage loss 

due to an injury or occupational 

disease is not being claimed. 

(b)  No compromise settlement agreement shall be considered by 

the Commission unless the following requirements are met: 

(1) The relevant medical, vocational, and 

rehabilitation reports known to exist, including 

those pertinent to the employee's future earning 

capacity, are submitted with the agreement to 

the Commission by the employer, carrier, 

administrator, or the attorney for the employer. 

(2) The parties and all attorneys of record 

employee, the employee's attorney of record, if 

any, and an attorney of record or other 

representative who has been given the authority 

to sign for the employer, carrier and 

administrator, have signed the agreement. 

(3) In a claim where liability is admitted or 

otherwise has been established, the employer, 

carrier, or administrator has undertaken to pay 

all medical expenses for the compensable injury 

to the date of the settlement agreement. 

(4) In a claim in which the employer, carrier, or 

administrator has not agreed to pay all medical 

expenses of the employee related to the injury 

up to the date of the settlement agreement, the 

The settlement agreement contains a list of all 

known medical expenses of the employee 

related to the injury to the date of the settlement 

agreement. agreement, including medical 

expenses that the employer, carrier, or 

administrator disputes, when the employer or 

insurer has not agreed to pay all medical 

expenses of the employee related to the injury 

up to the date of the settlement agreement. This 

list shall include: 

(A) All known medical expenses that have 

been paid by the employer, carrier, or 

administrator; 

(B) All known medical expenses that the 

employer, carrier, or administrator 

disputes; 

(C) All known medical expenses that have 

been paid by the employee; 

(D) All known medical expenses that have 

been paid by a health benefit plan; 

(E) All known unpaid medical expenses 

that will be paid by the employer, 

carrier, or administrator; 

(F) All known unpaid medical expenses 

that will be paid by the employee. 

(5) The settlement agreement contains a list of the 

unpaid medical expenses, if known, that will be 

paid by the employer, carrier, or administrator, 

if there are unpaid medical expenses that the 

employer or carrier has agreed to pay. The 

settlement agreement also contains a list of 

unpaid medical expenses, if known, that will be 

paid by the employee, if there are unpaid 

medical expenses that the employee has agreed 

to pay. 

(6)(5) The settlement agreement provides that a party 

who has agreed to pay a disputed unpaid 

medical expense will notify in writing the 

unpaid health care provider in writing of the 

party's responsibility to pay the unpaid medical 

expense. Other unpaid health care providers 

will be notified in writing of the completion of 

the settlement by the party specified in the 

settlement agreement: 

(A) when the employee or the employee's 

attorney has notified the unpaid health 

care provider in writing under G.S. 97-

90(e) not to pursue a private claim 

against the employee for the costs of 

medical treatment, or 

(B) when the unpaid health care provider 

has notified in writing the employee or 

the employee's attorney in writing of 

its claim for payment for the costs of 

medical treatment and has requested 

notice of a settlement. 

(7)(6) Any obligation of any party to pay an unpaid 

disputed medical expense pursuant to a 

settlement agreement does not require payment 

of any medical expense in excess of the 

maximum allowed under G.S. 97-26. 

(8)(7) The settlement agreement contains a finding 

that the positions of the parties to the agreement 

are reasonable as to the payment of medical 

expenses. 

(c)  When a settlement has been reached, the written agreement 

shall be submitted to the Commission upon execution in 

accordance with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. All compromise 

settlement agreements shall be directed to the Office of the 

Executive Secretary for review or distribution distributed for 

review in accordance with Paragraphs (a) through (c) of Rule 

.0609 of this Subchapter. Any changes or addenda to the 

agreement submitted to the Commission shall be served upon the 

opposing party contemporaneously with submission to the 

Commission. 

(d)  Once a compromise settlement agreement has been approved 

by the Commission, the The employer, carrier, or administrator 

shall furnish an executed copy of the agreement to the employee's 

attorney of record or the employee, if unrepresented. 

(e)  An employee's attorney seeking that seeks fees in connection 

with a Compromise Settlement Agreement compromise 

settlement agreement shall submit to the Commission a copy of 

the attorney's fee agreement between the employee and the 

employee's previous attorney, then with the client. at the time of 

submission of a compromise settlement agreement, the 

employee's current attorney shall advise the Commission of the 

employee's fee agreement with the previous attorney and note 

whether an agreement has been reached between counsel as to the 

division of attorney's fees. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-17; 97-80(a); 97-82. 
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SECTION .0600 – CLAIMS ADMINISTRATION AND 

PROCEDURES 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0604 APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN 

AD LITEM 

(a)  Minors or incompetents may bring an action only through 

their guardian ad litem. Upon the written application on a Form 

42 Application for Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem, Ad 

Litem, the Commission shall appoint the person as guardian ad 

litem, if the Commission determines it to be in the best interest of 

the minor or incompetent. The Commission shall appoint the 

guardian ad litem only after due inquiry as to the fitness of the 

person to be appointed. 

(b)  No compensation due or owed to the minor or an incompetent 

shall be paid directly to the guardian ad litem. litem, unless the 

guardian ad litem has authority to receive the money pursuant to 

an Order from the General Courts of Justice. No compensation 

due or owed to a minor shall be paid directly to the guardian ad 

litem, except that a parent, legal guardian, or legal custodian may 

receive compensation on behalf of a minor in his or her capacity 

as parent, legal guardian, or legal custodian. 

(c)  The Commission may assess a fee to be paid by the employer 

or the insurance carrier to an attorney who serves as a guardian ad 

litem for actual services rendered upon receipt of an affidavit of 

actual time spent in representation of the minor or incompetent as 

part of the costs. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-50; 97-79(e); 97-80(a); 97-80(b); 97-91. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0609 MOTIONS PRACTICE IN 

CONTESTED CASES 

(a)  Motions and responses before a Deputy Commissioner: 

(1) in cases that are currently calendared for 

hearing before a Deputy Commissioner shall be 

filed in accordance with Rule .0108 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) to reconsider or amend an Opinion and Award, 

made prior to giving notice of appeal to the Full 

Commission, shall be addressed to the Deputy 

Commissioner who authored the Opinion and 

Award and filed in accordance with Rule .0108 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Motions and responses shall be filed with the Office of the 

Executive Secretary in accordance with Rule .0108 of this 

Subchapter: 

(1) when a case is not calendared before a Deputy 

Commissioner; 

(2) once a case has been continued or removed 

from a Deputy Commissioner's calendar; or 

(3) after the filing of an Opinion and Award when 

the time for taking appeal has run. 

(c)  Motions and responses before the Full Commission: 

(1) in cases calendared for hearing before the Full 

Commission shall be addressed to the Chair of 

the Full Commission panel and filed in 

accordance with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. 

(2) filed after notice of appeal to the Full 

Commission has been given but prior to the 

calendaring of the case shall be addressed to the 

Chair of the Commission and filed in 

accordance with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. 

(3) in cases continued from the Full Commission 

hearing docket, shall be addressed to the Chair 

of the panel of Commissioners who ordered the 

continuance and filed in accordance with Rule 

.0108 of this Subchapter. 

(4) filed after the filing of an Opinion and Award 

by the Full Commission but prior to giving 

notice of appeal to the Court of Appeals or the 

expiration of the period allowed to give notice 

of appeal to the Court of Appeals shall be 

addressed to the Commissioner who authored 

the Opinion and Award and filed in accordance 

with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Motions requesting an award of attorney's fees from ongoing 

compensation pursuant to G.S. 97-90 that are not required to be 

filed with a Deputy Commissioner or the Full Commission 

pursuant to Paragraphs (a) and (c) of this Rule shall be filed with 

the Commission's Claims Administration Section in accordance 

with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. 

(d)(e)  All Motions motions and responses thereto thereto, 

including requests for extensions of time and requests to withdraw 

motions, shall include a caption containing the Industrial 

Commission file number(s), party names, and a title identifying 

the nature of the motion or response. Motions and responses set 

forth in the body of electronic mail correspondence or contained 

in a brief will not be accepted for filing by the Commission. This 

Paragraph does not apply to parties without legal representation. 

(e)(f)  A motion shall state with particularity the grounds on which 

it is based, the relief sought, and the opposing party's position, if 

known. position or that there has been a reasonable attempt to 

contact the opposing party and ascertain its position. Service shall 

be made on all opposing attorneys of record, or on all opposing 

parties if not represented. 

(f)(g)  Motions to continue or remove a case from the hearing 

calendar on which the case is set shall be made as much in advance 

as possible of the scheduled hearing and may be made in written 

or oral form. In all cases, the moving party shall provide the basis 

for the motion and state that the other parties have been advised 

of the motion and relate the position, if known, position of the 

other parties regarding the motion. motion, or that there has been 

a reasonable attempt to contact the opposing party and ascertain 

its position regarding the motion. Oral motions shall be followed 

with a written motion from the moving party. 

(h)  Oral motions shall be followed with a written motion from the 

moving party, if requested by a hearing officer. 

(g)(i)  The responding party to a motion shall have 10 days after 

a motion is served during which to file and serve copies of a 

response in opposition to the motion. The Commission may 

shorten or extend the time for responding to any motion in the 

interests of justice or to promote judicial economy. Parties in 

agreement may submit a written stipulation to a single extension 

of time for responding to any motion, except for medical motions 

pursuant to Rule .0609A of this Section. The parties submitting a 

stipulation shall agree to an extension of a reasonable time, not to 

exceed 30 days. 

(h)(j)  A party who has not received actual notice of a motion or 

who has not filed a response at the time action is taken and who 
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is adversely affected by the action may request that it be 

reconsidered, vacated, or modified. Motions shall be determined 

without oral argument unless the Commission determines that 

oral argument is necessary for a complete understanding of the 

issues. 

(i)  Where correspondence relative to a case before the 

Commission is sent to the Commission, copies of such 

correspondence shall be contemporaneously sent by the same 

method of transmission to the opposing party or, if represented, to 

opposing counsel. Written communications, whether addressed 

directly to the Commission or copied to the Commission, may not 

be used as an opportunity to introduce new evidence or to argue 

the merits of the case, with the exception of the following: 

(1) written communications, such as a proposed 

order or legal memorandum, prepared pursuant 

to the Commission's instructions; 

(2) written communications relative to 

emergencies, changed circumstances, or 

scheduling matters that may affect the 

procedural status of a case such as a request for 

a continuance due to the health of a litigant or 

an attorney; 

(3) written communications sent to the tribunal 

with the consent of the opposing lawyer or 

opposing party, if unrepresented; and 

(4) any other communication permitted by law or 

the Rules of the Commission. 

(j)(k)  All motions and responses thereto shall include a proposed 

Order in Microsoft Word format to be considered by the 

Commission. The proposed Order shall include: 

(1) the IC File Number; 

(2) the case caption; 

(3) the subject of the proposed Order; 

(4) the procedural posture; and 

(5) the party appearances or contact information. If 

a party is represented by counsel, then the 

appearance should include the attorney and firm 

name, email address, telephone number, and 

fax number. If a party is unrepresented, then the 

proposed Order should include the party's email 

address, telephone number, and fax number, if 

available. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-79(b); 97-80(a); 97-84; 97-91. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0617 ATTORNEYS RETAINED FOR 

PROCEEDINGS 

(a)  Any attorney who is retained by a party in a proceeding before 

the Commission shall comply with the applicable rules of the 

North Carolina State Bar. A copy of a notice of representation 

shall be served upon all other counsel and all unrepresented 

parties. parties, and submitted to the Commission in accordance 

with Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. Thereafter, all notices 

required to be served on a party shall be served upon the attorney. 

No direct contact or communication concerning contested matters 

may be made with a represented party by the opposing party or 

any person on its his or her behalf, without the attorney's 

permission except as permitted by G.S. 97-32 or other applicable 

law. 

(b)  Any attorney who wishes to withdraw from representation in 

a proceeding before the Commission shall file with the 

Commission, in writing, a Motion to Withdraw that contains a 

statement of reasons for the request and that the request has been 

served on the client. The attorney shall make reasonable efforts to 

ascertain the last known address last known contact information 

as defined in Rule .0109 of this Subchapter of the client and shall 

include this information in the motion. A Motion to Withdraw 

before an award is made shall state whether the withdrawing 

attorney requests an attorney's fee from the represented party once 

an award of compensation is made or approved. 

(c)  An attorney may withdraw from representation only by 

written order of the Commission. The issuance of an award of the 

Commission does not release an attorney as the attorney of record. 

(d)  An attorney withdrawing from representation whose client 

wishes to appeal an Order, Decision, or Award to the Full 

Commission shall timely file a notice of appeal, as set out by this 

Subchapter, on behalf of his or her client either before or with his 

or her Motion to Withdraw. 

(e)  Motions to Withdraw shall be submitted in accordance with 

Rule .0108 of this Subchapter. The Motion to Withdraw shall 

include a proposed Order in Microsoft Word format that includes, 

in the appearances, the last known address of any pro se party or 

the contact information of new counsel if such counsel has been 

retained. The proposed Order shall include fax numbers for all 

parties, if known. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-80(a); 97-90; 97-91. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0619 FOREIGN LANGUAGE AND 

SIGN LANGUAGE INTERPRETERS 

(a)  When a person who does not speak or understand the English 

language or who is speech or hearing impaired is either called to 

testify in a hearing, other than in an informal hearing conducted 

pursuant to G.S. 97-18.1, or appears unrepresented before the Full 

Commission for an oral argument, the person, whether a party or 

a witness, shall be assisted by a qualified foreign language 

interpreter. interpreter upon request. 

(b)  To qualify as a foreign language interpreter, a person shall 

possess sufficient experience and education, or a combination of 

experience and education, speaking and understanding English 

and the foreign language to be interpreted, to qualify as an expert 

witness pursuant to G.S. 8C-1, Rule 702. For Spanish language 

interpretation, the interpreter must be "Level A" certified by the 

North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts. A person 

qualified as an interpreter under this Rule shall not be interested 

in the claim and shall make a declaration under oath or affirmation 

to interpret accurately, truthfully and without any additions or 

deletions, all questions propounded to the witness and all 

responses thereto. 

(c)  To qualify as a sign language interpreter, a person shall 

possess a license from the North Carolina Interpreter and 

Transliterator Licensing Board, under G.S. 90D. It is preferred 

that sign language interpreters obtain an SC:L legal certification. 

(c)(d)  Any party who is unable to speak or understand English, 

or who is speech or hearing impaired, or who intends to call as a 

witness a person who is unable to speak or understand English 

English, or who is speech or hearing impaired, shall so notify the 

Commission and the opposing party, in writing, not less than 21 
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days prior to the date of the hearing. The notice shall state the 

language(s) that shall be interpreted for the Commission. 

(d)(e)  Upon receiving or giving the notice required in Paragraph 

(c)(d) of this Rule, the employer or insurer shall retain a 

disinterested interpreter who possesses the qualifications listed in 

Paragraph (b) or (c) of this Rule to appear at the hearing and 

interpret the testimony or oral argument of all persons for whom 

the notice in Paragraph (c)(d) of this Rule has been given or 

received. 

(e)(f)  The interpreter's fee shall constitute a cost as contemplated 

by G.S. 97-80. A qualified interpreter who interprets testimony or 

oral argument for the Commission is entitled to payment of the 

fee agreed upon by the interpreter and employer or insurer that 

retained the interpreter. Except in cases where a claim for 

compensation has been prosecuted without reasonable ground, the 

fee agreed upon by the interpreter and employer or insurer shall 

be paid by the employer or insurer. Where the Commission 

ultimately determines that the request for an interpreter was 

unfounded, attendant costs shall be assessed against the movant. 

(f)(g)  Foreign language interpreters shall abide by the Code of 

Conduct and Ethics of Foreign Language Interpreters and 

Translators, contained in Part 4 of Policies and Best Practices for 

the Use of Foreign Language Interpreting and Translating 

Services in the North Carolina Court System and promulgated by 

the North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts, and shall 

interpret, as word for word as is practicable, without editing, 

commenting, or summarizing, testimony or other 

communications. The Code of Conduct and Ethics of Foreign 

Language Interpreters and Translators is hereby incorporated by 

reference and includes subsequent amendments and editions. A 

copy may be obtained at no charge from the North Carolina 

Administrative Office of the Court's website, 

http://www.nccourts.org/Citizens/CPrograms/Foreign/Document

s/guidelines.pdf, or upon request, at the offices of the 

Commission, located in the Dobbs Building, 430 North Salisbury 

Street, Raleigh, North Carolina, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. 

and 5:00 p.m. 

(h)  Sign language interpreters shall interpret, as word for word as 

is practicable, without editing, commenting, or summarizing, 

testimony or other communications. Sign language interpreters 

shall abide by the ethical standards communicated in the training 

required by G.S. 90D-8. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-79(b); 97-80(a). 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0620 WRITTEN COMMUNICATIONS 

WITH THE COMMISSION 

(a)  This Rule applies to written communications relative to a case 

before the Commission that are not governed by statute or another 

Rule in this Subchapter. 

(b)  Written communications sent to the Commission shall be 

contemporaneously sent by the same method of transmission, 

where possible, to the opposing party or, if represented, to 

opposing counsel. 

(c)  Written communications, whether addressed directly to the 

Commission or copied to the Commission, may not be used as an 

opportunity to introduce new evidence or to argue the merits of 

the case. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-80(a). 

 

SECTION .0700 - APPEALS 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0701 REVIEW BY THE FULL 

COMMISSION 

(a)  Notice of Appeal. Application for review shall be made to the 

Commission within 15 days from the date when notice of the 

Deputy Commissioner's Opinion and Award shall have been 

given. A letter expressing a request for review is considered an 

application for review to the Full Commission within the meaning 

of G.S. 97-85, provided that the letter specifies the Order or 

Opinion and Award from which appeal is taken. 

(b)  Motions to Reconsider to the Deputy Commissioner. A 

motion to reconsider or to amend the decision of a Deputy 

Commissioner shall be filed with the Deputy Commissioner 

within 15 days of receipt of notice of the award. The time for filing 

a request for review from the decision of a Deputy Commissioner 

under the rules in this Subchapter shall be tolled until a motion to 

reconsider or to amend the decision has been ruled upon by the 

Deputy Commissioner. However, if either party files a letter 

requesting review of the decision as set forth in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule after a motion to reconsider or to amend has been filed 

with the Deputy Commissioner, jurisdiction shall be transferred 

to the Full Commission. Any party who had a pending motion to 

reconsider or amend the decision of the Deputy Commissioner 

may file a motion with the Chair of the Commission requesting 

remand to the Deputy Commissioner with whom the motion was 

pending. Upon remand, jurisdiction will be transferred to the 

Deputy Commissioner. Following the Deputy Commissioner's 

ruling on the motion to reconsider or amend the decision, a party 

requesting review of the initial decision of the Deputy 

Commissioner or the ruling on the motion to reconsider or amend 

the decision shall file a letter requesting review as set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule to transfer jurisdiction of the matter 

back to the Full Commission. 

(b)(c)  Acknowledging Receipt; Form 44; Joint Certification. 

After receipt of a request for review, the The Commission shall 

acknowledge the request for review by letter. The Commission 

shall prepare the official transcript and exhibits exhibits, if any, 

and provide them along with a Form 44 Application for Review 

to the parties involved in the appeal at no charge within 30 days 

of the acknowledgement letter. The official transcript and exhibits 

and a Form 44 Application for Review shall be provided to the 

parties electronically, where possible. In such cases, the 

Commission shall send an e-mail to the parties containing a link 

to the secure File Transfer Protocol (FTP) site where the official 

transcript and exhibits may be downloaded. The e-mail shall also 

provide instructions for the submission of the parties' 

acknowledgement of receipt of the Form 44 Application for 

Review and the official transcript and exhibits to the Commission. 

Parties represented by counsel shall sign a joint certification 

acknowledging receipt of the Form 44 Application for Review 

and the official transcript and exhibits and submit the certification 

within ten days of receipt of the Form 44 Application for Review 

and the official transcript and exhibits. The certification shall 

stipulate the date the Form 44 Application for Review and the 

official transcript and exhibits were received by the parties and 

shall note the date the appellant's brief is due. The Commission 
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shall save a copy of the parties' acknowledgements in the file for 

the claim to serve as record of the parties' electronic receipt of the 

Form 44 Application for Review and the official transcript and 

exhibits. In cases where it is not possible to provide a party with 

the official transcript and exhibits electronically, the Commission 

shall provide the official transcript and exhibits and a Form 44 

Application for Review via certified U.S. Mail, with return receipt 

requested. The Commission shall save a copy of the return receipt 

to serve as record of the party's receipt of the official transcript 

and exhibits and Form 44 Application for Review. 

(1)  The official transcript and exhibits and a Form 

44 Application for Review shall be provided 

electronically to parties represented by counsel. 

In such cases, the Commission shall send an e-

mail to the parties with directions on how to 

obtain an electronic copy of the official 

transcript and exhibits. The e-mail shall also 

provide instructions for the submission of the 

parties' acknowledgement of receipt of the 

Form 44 Application for Review and the 

official transcript and exhibits to the 

Commission. Parties represented by counsel 

shall sign a joint certification acknowledging 

receipt of the Form 44 Application for Review 

and the official transcript and exhibits and 

submit the certification within ten days of 

receipt of the Form 44 Application for Review 

and the official transcript and exhibits. The 

certification shall stipulate the date the Form 44 

Application for Review and the official 

transcript and exhibits were received by the 

parties and shall note the date the appellant's 

brief is due. The Commission shall save a copy 

of the parties' acknowledgements in the file for 

the claim to serve as record of the parties' 

electronic receipt of the Form 44 Application 

for Review and the official transcript and 

exhibits. 

(2)  In cases where it is not possible to provide a 

party with the official transcript and exhibits 

electronically, the Commission shall serve the 

official transcript and exhibits and a Form 44 

Application for Review via any class of U.S. 

Mail that is fully prepaid. 

(c)  A motion to reconsider or to amend the decision of a Deputy 

Commissioner shall be filed with the Deputy Commissioner 

within 15 days of receipt of notice of the award with a copy to the 

Docket Director. The time for filing a request for review from the 

decision of a Deputy Commissioner under the rules in this 

Subchapter shall be tolled until a motion to reconsider or to amend 

the decision has been ruled upon by the Deputy Commissioner. 

However, if either party files a letter requesting review as set forth 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, jurisdiction shall be transferred to 

the Full Commission, and the Docket Director shall notify the 

Deputy Commissioner. Upon transfer of jurisdiction to the Full 

Commission, any party who had a pending motion to reconsider 

or amend the decision of the Deputy Commissioner may file a 

motion with the Chairman of the Commission requesting remand 

to the Deputy Commissioner with whom the motion was pending. 

Within the Full Commission's discretion, the matter may be so 

remanded. Upon the Deputy Commissioner's ruling on the motion 

to reconsider or amend the decision, either party may thereafter 

file a letter requesting review of the Deputy Commissioner's 

decision as set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Appellant's Form 44. The appellant shall submit a Form 44 

Application for Review upon which appellant shall state stating 

with particularity all assignments of error and grounds for review, 

the grounds for the review. The grounds shall be stated with 

particularity, including the errors allegedly committed by the 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner and, when applicable, 

including, where applicable, the pages in the transcript or the 

record on which the alleged errors are recorded. Grounds for 

review and assignments of error not set forth in the Form 44 

Application for Review are deemed abandoned, and argument 

thereon shall not be heard before the Full Commission. 

(e)  Timing Requirements. The appellant shall file the Form 44 

Application for Review and brief in support of the grounds for 

review with the Commission with a certificate of service on the 

appellee within 25 days after receipt of the transcript or receipt of 

notice that there will be no transcript. The appellee shall have 25 

days from service of the Form 44 Application for Review and 

appellant's brief to file a responsive brief with the Commission. 

The appellee's brief shall include a certificate of service on the 

appellant. When an appellant fails to file a brief, an appellee shall 

file its brief within 25 days after the appellant's time for filing the 

Form 44 Application for Review and appellant's brief has expired. 

A party who fails to file a brief shall not participate in oral 

argument before the Full Commission. If multiple parties request 

review, each party shall file an appellant's brief and appellee's 

brief on the schedule set forth in this Paragraph. If the matter has 

not been calendared for hearing, any a party may file with the 

Docket Director obtain a single extension of time not to exceed 

15 days by filing a written stipulation pursuant to Rule .0108 of 

this Subchapter. to a single extension of time not to exceed 15 

days. In no event shall the cumulative extensions of time exceed 

30 days. 

(f)  Brief Requirements. Briefs to the Full Commission shall not 

exceed 35 pages, excluding attachments. In no event shall 

attachments be used to circumvent the 35-page limit. No page 

limit applies to the length of attachments. Briefs shall be prepared 

using a 12 point proportional font and serif typeface, shall be 

double spaced, and shall be prepared with non-justified right 

margins. Each page of the brief shall be numbered at the bottom 

of the page. When a party quotes or paraphrases testimony or 

other evidence from the appellate record in the party's brief, the 

party shall include, at the end of the sentence in the brief that 

quotes or paraphrases the testimony or other evidence, a 

parenthetic entry that designates the source of the quoted or 

paraphrased material and the page number within the applicable 

source. The party shall use "T" to refer to the transcript of hearing 

testimony and "Ex" for exhibit. For example, if a party quotes or 

paraphrases material located in the hearing transcript on page 11, 

the party shall use the following format "(T 11)," and if a party 

quotes or paraphrases material located in an exhibit on page 12, 

the party shall use the following format "(Ex 12)." When a party 

quotes or paraphrases testimony in the transcript of a deposition 

in the party's brief, the party shall include the last name of the 

deponent and the page on which such testimony is located. For 
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example, if a party quotes or paraphrases the testimony of John 

Smith, located on page 11 of such deposition, the party shall use 

the following format "(Smith 11)." Parties shall not discuss 

matters outside the record, assert personal opinions or relate 

personal experiences, or attribute wrongful acts or motives to 

opposing counsel or members of the Commission. 

(g)  Reply Briefs. Within 10 days of service of the appellee's brief, 

a party may request by motion to file a reply brief. The motion 

shall not contain a reply brief. A reply brief may only be filed if 

ordered by the Full Commission. Reply briefs shall not exceed 15 

pages, excluding attachments. Reply briefs shall be prepared in 

accordance with the requirements of Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

Any reply brief filed shall be limited to a concise rebuttal of 

arguments set out in the appellee's brief, and shall not reiterate 

arguments set forth in the appellant's principal brief. 

(h)  Citations. Case citations shall be to the North Carolina 

Reports, the North Carolina Court of Appeals Reports, or the 

North Carolina Reporter, and when possible, to the South Eastern 

Reporter. An unpublished appellate decision does not constitute 

controlling legal authority. If a party believes that an unpublished 

opinion has precedential or persuasive value to a material issue in 

the case and that there is no published opinion that would serve as 

well, the party may cite the unpublished opinion. When citing an 

unpublished opinion, a party shall indicate the opinion's 

unpublished status. If no reporter citation is available at the time 

a brief is filed, the party citing to the case shall attach a copy of 

the case to its brief. 

(f)(i)  Motions. After a request for review has been submitted to 

the Full Commission, any motions related to the issues for review 

shall be filed with the Full Commission, with service on the other 

parties. Motions related to the issues for review including motions 

for new trial, to supplement the record, including documents from 

offers of proof, or to take additional evidence, filed during the 

pendency of a request for review to the Full Commission, shall be 

argued before considered by the Full Commission at the time of 

the hearing of the request for review, review of the appeal, except 

motions related to the official transcript and exhibits. The Full 

Commission, for good cause shown, may rule on such motions 

prior to oral argument. 

(g)  Case citations shall be to the North Carolina Reports, the 

North Carolina Court of Appeals Reports, or the North Carolina 

Reporter, and when possible, to the South Eastern Reporter. If no 

reporter citation is available at the time a brief is filed or if an 

unpublished decision is referenced in the brief, the party citing to 

the case shall attach a copy of the case to its brief. Counsel shall 

not discuss matters outside the record, assert personal opinions or 

relate personal experiences, or attribute wrongful acts or motives 

to opposing counsel or members of the Commission. 

(h)  Upon the request of a party or on its own motion, the 

Commission may waive oral argument in the interests of justice 

or to promote judicial economy. In the event of such waiver, the 

Full Commission shall file an award based on the record and 

briefs. 

(j)  Oral Argument. 

(1) Each appellant shall have twenty minutes to 

present oral argument and may reserve any 

amount of the twenty-minute total allotment for 

rebuttal, unless otherwise specified by Order of 

the Commission. Each appellee shall also have 

twenty minutes to present oral argument, unless 

otherwise specified by Order of the 

Commission; however, the appellee(s) may not 

reserve rebuttal time. In the case of cross-

appeals, each appealing party may reserve 

rebuttal time. 

(2) Any party may request additional time to 

present oral argument in excess of the standard 

twenty-minute allowance. Such requests shall 

be made in writing and submitted to the Full 

Commission no less than ten days prior to the 

scheduled hearing date. The written request for 

additional time shall state with specificity the 

reason(s) for the request of additional time and 

the amount of additional time requested. 

(3) An employee appealing the amount of a 

disfigurement award shall personally appear 

before the Full Commission to permit the Full 

Commission to view the disfigurement. 

(4) A party may waive oral argument at any time 

with approval of the Commission. Upon the 

request of a party or on its own initiative, the 

Commission may review the case and file an 

Order or Award without oral argument. 

(5) If any party fails to appear before the Full 

Commission upon the call of the case, the 

Commission may disallow the party's right to 

present oral argument. If neither party appears 

upon the call of the case, the Full Commission 

may decide the case upon the record and briefs 

on appeal, unless otherwise ordered. 

(6) Parties shall not discuss matters outside the 

record, assert personal opinions, relate personal 

experiences, or attribute wrongful acts or 

motives to opposing counsel or members of the 

Commission. 

(i)  Briefs to the Full Commission shall not exceed 35 pages, 

excluding attachments. No page limit applies to the length of 

attachments. Briefs shall be prepared using a 12 point type, shall 

be double spaced, and shall be prepared with non-justified right 

margins. Each page of the brief shall be numbered at the bottom 

of the page. When a party quotes or paraphrases testimony or 

other evidence from the appellate record in the party's brief, the 

party shall include, at the end of the sentence in the brief that 

quotes or paraphrases the testimony or other evidence, a 

parenthetic entry that designates the source of the quoted or 

paraphrased material and the page number within the applicable 

source. The party shall use "T" to refer to the transcript of hearing 

testimony, "Ex" for exhibit, and "p" for page number. For 

example, if a party quotes or paraphrases material located in the 

hearing transcript on page 11, the party shall use the following 

format "(T p 11)," and if a party quotes or paraphrases material 

located in an exhibit on page 12, the party shall use the following 

format "(Ex p 12)." When a party quotes or paraphrases testimony 

in the transcript of a deposition in the party's brief, the party shall 

include the last name of the deponent and the page on which such 

testimony is located. For example, if a party quotes or paraphrases 

the testimony of John Smith, located on page 11 of such 
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deposition, the party shall use the following format "(Smith p 

11)." 

(j)  An employee appealing the amount of a disfigurement award 

shall personally appear before the Full Commission to permit the 

Full Commission to view the disfigurement.  

 

Authority G.S. 97-80(a); 97-85; S.L. 2014-77. 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0702 REVIEW OF ADMINISTRATIVE 

DECISIONS 

(a)  Administrative decisions include orders, decisions, and 

awards made in a summary manner, without findings of fact, 

including decisions on the following: 

(1) applications to approve agreements to pay 

compensation and medical bills; 

(2) applications to approve the termination or 

suspension or the reinstatement of 

compensation; 

(3) applications to change the interval of payments; 

and 

(4) applications for lump sum payments of 

compensation. 

(b)  Administrative decisions made in cases not set for hearing 

before a Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner or before the 

Full Commission for review shall be reviewed upon the filing of 

a Motion for Reconsideration Reconsideration, upon a request for 

hearing on the administrative decision, or upon request for hearing 

on the ruling on a Motion for Reconsideration. A Motion for 

Reconsideration shall be filed within 15 days of receipt of the 

administrative decision and addressed to the Administrative 

Officer who made the decision. A request for hearing shall be filed 

within 15 days of the administrative decision or a ruling on a 

Motion for Reconsideration. with the Commission addressed to 

the Administrative Officer who made the decision or may be 

reviewed by requesting a hearing within 15 days of receipt of the 

decision or receipt of the ruling on a Motion to Reconsider. These 

issues may also Notwithstanding the provisions above, issues 

addressed by an administrative decision may be raised and 

determined at a subsequent hearing. 

(b)(c)  Motions for Reconsideration shall not stay the effect of the 

order, decision, or award; provided that Administrative Officer 

making the decision or a Commissioner may enter an order 

staying its effect pending the ruling on the Motion for 

Reconsideration or pending a decision by a Commissioner or 

Deputy Commissioner following a formal hearing. In determining 

whether or not to grant a stay, the Commissioner or 

Administrative Officer shall consider whether granting the stay 

will frustrate the purposes of the order, decision, or award. 

Motions to Stay shall not be filed with both the Administrative 

Officer and a Commissioner. 

(c)(d)  Any request for a hearing to review an administrative 

decision pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be made to 

the Commission and filed with the Commission's Docket 

Director. Office of the Clerk. The Commission shall designate a 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner to hear the review. The 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner hearing the matter shall 

consider all issues de novo, and no issue shall be considered moot 

solely because the order has been fully executed during the 

pendency of the hearing. 

(e)  Any request for review by the Full Commission of an 

administrative decision by a Commissioner or Deputy 

Commissioner made during the pendency of a case assigned to 

them pursuant to G.S. 97-84 shall be filed with the Office of the 

Clerk. If the administrative decision made by the authoring 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner is a final judgment as to 

one or more issues or parties and the administrative decision 

contains a certification that there is no just reason for delay, the 

request for review shall be referred directly to a panel of the Full 

Commission. If the administrative decision contains no 

certification, requests for review will be referred to the Chair of 

the Commission for a determination regarding the right to 

immediate review, and the parties shall address the grounds upon 

which immediate review shall be allowed. 

(d)(f)  Orders filed by a single Commissioner, Commissioner in 

matters before the Full Commission for review pursuant to G.S. 

97-85, including orders dismissing reviews to the Full 

Commission or denying the right of immediate request for review 

to the Full Commission, are administrative orders and are not final 

determinations of the Commission. As such, an order filed by a 

single Commissioner is not appealable to the North Carolina 

Court of Appeals. A one-signature order filed by a single 

Commissioner may be reviewed by: 

(1) filing a Motion for Reconsideration addressed 

to the Commissioner who filed the order; or 

(2) requesting a review to a Full Commission panel 

by requesting a hearing within 15 days of 

receipt of the order or receipt of the ruling on a 

Motion for Reconsideration. 

(e)(g)  This Rule shall not apply to medical motions filed pursuant 

to G.S. 97-25; provided, however, that a party may request 

reconsideration of an administrative ruling on a medical motion, 

or may request a stay, or may request an evidentiary hearing de 

novo, all as set forth in G.S. 97-25. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-79(g); 97-80(a); 97-85; S.L. 2014-77. 

 

SECTION .0800 – RULES OF THE COMMISSION 

 

11 NCAC 23A .0801 WAIVER OF RULES 

In the interests of justice or to promote judicial economy, the 

Commission may, except as otherwise provided by the rules in 

this Subchapter, waive or vary the requirements or provisions of 

any of the rules in this Subchapter in a case pending before the 

Commission upon written application request of a party or upon 

its own initiative only if the employee is not represented by 

counsel. Notwithstanding oral requests made during a hearing 

before the Commission, all requests shall be submitted in writing 

and served upon all opposing parties contemporaneously. By 

order of the Commission, oral requests shall be submitted in 

writing within five days of the request. Responses to requests 

considered pursuant to this Rule may be submitted in accordance 

with Rule .0609 of this Subchapter within five days of service of 

the original request. Citation to this Rule or use of the term 

"waiver" is not required for requests considered pursuant to this 

Rule. Factors the Commission shall use in determining whether to 

grant the waiver are: 

(1) the necessity of a waiver; 
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(2) the party's responsibility for the conditions 

creating the need for a waiver; 

(3) the party's prior requests for a waiver; 

(4) the precedential value of such a waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the opposing 

parties; and 

(6) the harm to the party if the waiver is not 

granted. 

 

Authority G.S. 97-80(a). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 23B – TORT CLAIMS RULES 

 

SECTION .0200 - CLAIMS PROCEDURES 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0206 HEARINGS 

(a)  The Commission may, on its own motion, order a hearing, 

rehearing, or pre-trial conference of any tort claim in dispute. The 

Commission shall set the date, time, and location of the hearing, 

and provide notice of the hearing to the parties. Within the 

Commission's discretion, any pre-trial conference, as well as 

hearings of claims in which the plaintiff is incarcerated at the time 

of the hearing, may be conducted via videoconference or 

telephone conference. The date and time of the hearing shall not 

be limited by the business hours of the Commission. Where a 

party has not notified the Commission of the attorney representing 

the party prior to the mailing of calendars for hearing, notice to 

that party constitutes notice to the party's attorney. Any scheduled 

hearings shall proceed to completion unless recessed, continued, 

or removed by Order of the Commission. 

(b)  When an attorney is notified to appear for a pre-trial 

conference, motion hearing, hearing, or any other appearance the 

attorney shall, consistent with ethical requirements, appear or 

have a partner, associate, or other attorney appear. Counsel for 

each party or any party without legal representation shall remain 

in the hearing room throughout the course of the hearing, unless 

released by the Commission. 

(c)  A motion for a continuance shall be allowed only by the 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner before whom the case is 

set in the interests of justice or to promote judicial economy. 

(d)  In cases involving property damage of less than five hundred 

dollars ($500.00), the Commission may, upon its own motion or 

upon the motion of either party, order a videoconference or 

telephone conference hearing on the matter. 

(e)  Unless otherwise ordered by the Commission, in the event of 

inclement weather or natural disaster, hearings set by the 

Commission shall be cancelled or delayed when the proceedings 

before the General Courts of Justice in that county are cancelled 

or delayed. 

(f)  Unless otherwise ordered or waived by the Commission, 

applications for issuance of a writ of habeas corpus ad 

testificandum requesting the appearance of witnesses incarcerated 

by the North Carolina Division of Adult Corrections, shall be filed 

in accordance with Rule .0104 of this Subchapter, with a copy to 

the opposing party or counsel, for review by the Commission in 

accordance with G.S. 143-296. 

(b)  The Commission shall set a contested case for hearing in a 

location deemed convenient to witnesses and the Commission, 

and conducive to an early and just resolution of disputed issues. 

(c)  The Commission may issue writs of habeas corpus ad 

testificandum in cases arising under the Tort Claims Act. Requests 

for issuance of a writ of habeas corpus ad testificandum shall be 

sent to the Docket Section of the Commission if the case has not 

been set on a calendar for hearing. If the case has been set on a 

hearing calendar, the request shall be sent to the Commissioner or 

Deputy Commissioner before whom the case is set. 

(d)  The Commission shall give notice of a hearing in every case. 

A motion for a continuance shall be allowed only by the 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner before whom the case is 

set in the interests of justice or to promote judicial economy. 

Where a party has not notified the Commission of the attorney 

representing the party prior to the mailing of calendars for 

hearing, notice to that party constitutes notice to the party's 

attorney. 

(e)  In cases involving property damage of less than five hundred 

dollars ($500.00), the Commission shall, upon its own motion or 

upon the motion of either party, order a telephonic hearing on the 

matter. 

(f)  All subpoenas shall be issued in accordance with Rule 45 of 

the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure, with the exception 

that production of public records or hospital records as provided 

in Rule 45(c)(2), shall be served upon the Commissioner or 

Deputy Commissioner before whom the case is calendared, or 

upon the Docket Section of the Commission should the case not 

be calendared. 

(g)  In the event of inclement weather or natural disaster, hearings 

set by the Commission shall be cancelled or delayed when the 

proceedings before the General Court of Justice in that county are 

cancelled or delayed. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-296; 143-300. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0207 HEARINGS OF CLAIMS BY 

PRISON INMATES 

 

Authority G.S. 97-101.1; 143-296; 143-300. 

 

SECTION .0500 – RULES OF THE COMMISSION 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0503 SANCTIONS 

The Commission may, on its own initiative or motion of a party, 

impose a sanction against a party, attorney, government entity, or 

any combination thereof, or attorney or both, when the 

Commission determines that such party, or attorney, government 

entity, or any combination thereof, or both failed to comply with 

the Rules in this Subchapter. Subchapter, an Order of the 

Commission, or other applicable rules, laws, or regulations. The 

Commission may impose sanctions of the type and in the manner 

prescribed by Rule 37 of the North Carolina Rules of Civil 

Procedure. 

 

Authority G.S. 1A-1, Rule 37; 143-291; 143-296; 143-300. 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
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intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09B .0101 and 09G 

.0302. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://ncdoj.gov/getdoc/82ec95af-b758-4888-b831-

8fdd5cc9beb4/Public-Hearing-02-14-17.aspx 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 28, 2018 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Wake Technical Community College-Public Safety 

Training Center, 321 Chapanoke Rd. Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To provide clarity regarding 

criminal process notification requirements for officers and 

agencies. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Charminique Williams, PO 

Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602; phone (919) 779-8206; fax 

(919) 779-8210; email cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 28, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 

TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0100 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT 

 

Note:  The text in italics is pending approval by the RRC at the 

September 20, 2018 RRC meeting. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0101 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS 

Every criminal justice officer employed by an agency in North 

Carolina shall: 

(1) be a citizen of the United States; 

(2) be at least 20 years of age; 

(3) be of good moral character pursuant to G.S. 

17C-10 and as evidenced by the following: 

(a) not having been convicted of a felony; 

(b) not having been convicted of a 

misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 

09B .0111(1) for five years or the 

completion of any corrections 

supervision imposed by the courts, 

whichever is later; 

(c) not having been convicted of an 

offense that, under 18 U.S.C. 922, 

incorporated by reference with 

subsequent amendments and editions 

(found at no cost at 

(http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USC

ODE-2011-title18-partl-chap44-

sec922.pdf), would prohibit the 

possession of a firearm or 

ammunition; 

(d) having submitted to and produced a 

negative result on a drug test within 60 

days of employment or any in-service 

drug screening required by the 

appointing agency that meets the 

certification standards of the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs. A list of certified 

drug testing labs that meet this 

requirement may be obtained, at no 

cost, at 

(https://www.samhsa.gov/programs-

campaigns/drug-free-

workplace/guidelines-resources/drug-

testing/certified-lab-list); 

(e) submitting to a background 

investigation consisting of the 

verification of age and education and a 

criminal history check of local, state, 

and national files; 

(f) being truthful in providing 

information to the appointing agency 

and to the Standards Division for the 

purpose of obtaining probationary or 

general certification; 

(g) not having pending or outstanding 

felony charges that, if convicted of 
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such charges, would disqualify the 

applicant from holding such 

certification, pursuant to North 

Carolina General Statute 17C-13; and 

(h) not engage in any conduct that brings 

into question the truthfulness or 

credibility of the officer, or involves 

"moral turpitude." "Moral Turpitude" 

is conduct that is contrary to justice, 

honesty, or morality, including 

conduct as defined in: re Willis, 299 

288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 771 appeal 

dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); in re 

State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 

2d 854 (1940); in re Legg, 325 N.C. 

658, 386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); in re 

Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 

S.E. 635 (1906); in re Dillingham, 188 

N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State 

v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 

647 (1983); and later court decisions 

that cite these cases as authority. 

(4) have been fingerprinted and a search made of 

local, state, and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(5) have been examined and certified by a licensed 

surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or 

nurse practitioner to meet physical 

requirements necessary to properly fulfill the 

officer's particular responsibilities and shall 

have produced a negative result on a drug 

screen administered according to the following 

specifications: 

(a) the drug screen shall be a urine test 

consisting of an initial screening test 

using an immunoassay method and a 

confirmatory test on an initial positive 

result using a gas 

chromatography/mass spectrometry 

(GC/MS) or other reliable initial and 

confirmatory tests as may, from time 

to time, be authorized or mandated by 

the Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs; 

(b) a chain of custody shall be maintained 

on the specimen from collection to the 

eventual discarding of the specimen; 

(c) the drug screen shall test for the 

presence of at least cannabis, cocaine, 

phencyclidine (PCP), opiates, and 

amphetamines or their metabolites; 

(d) the test threshold values meet the 

requirements established by the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR 

7920 (2017) incorporated by 

reference, including later amendments 

and editions (found at no cost at 

https://www.federalregister.gov/docu

ments/2017/01/23/2017-

00979/mandatory-guidelines-for-

federal-workplace-drug-testing-

programs); 

(e) the test conducted shall be not more 

than 60 days old, calculated from the 

time when the laboratory reports the 

results to the date of employment; 

(f) the laboratory conducting the test shall 

be certified for federal workplace drug 

testing programs, and shall adhere to 

applicable federal rules, regulations, 

and guidelines pertaining to the 

handling, testing, storage, and 

preservation of samples; 

(6) have been administered a psychological 

screening examination by a clinical 

psychologist or psychiatrist licensed to practice 

in North Carolina or by a clinical psychologist 

or psychiatrist authorized to practice in 

accordance with the rules and regulations of the 

United States Armed Forces within one year 

prior to employment by the employing agency 

to determine the officer's mental and emotional 

suitability to properly fulfill the responsibilities 

of the position; 

(7) have been interviewed personally by the 

Department head or his representative or 

representatives to determine such things as the 

applicant's appearance, demeanor, attitude, and 

ability to communicate; 

(8) make the following notifications: 

(a) within 5 business days notify the 

Standards Division and the appointing 

agency head in writing of all criminal 

offenses that the officer is arrested for 

or charged with, pleads no contest to, 

pleads guilty to or is found guilty. 

guilty of as well as Domestic Violence 

Orders (50B) that are issued by a 

judicial official. This shall include all 

criminal offenses except minor traffic 

offenses and shall specifically include 

any offense of Driving Under The 

Influence (DUI) or Driving While 

Impaired (DWI). A minor traffic 

offense is defined, for purposes of this 

Subparagraph, as an offense for which 

the maximum punishment allowable 

by law is 60 days or less. Other 

offenses under Chapter 20 (Motor 

Vehicles) of the General Statutes of 

North Carolina or similar laws of other 

jurisdictions which shall be reported to 

the Standards Division expressly 

include G.S. 20-139 (persons under 

influence of drugs), G.S. 20-
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28(b)(driving while license 

permanently revoked or permanently 

suspended), and G.S. 20-166 (duty to 

stop in event of accident); The 

notifications required under this 

Subparagraph shall be in writing and 

shall specify the nature of the offense, 

the court in which the case was 

handled, the date of the arrest or 

criminal charge, the final disposition, 

and the date thereof. The notifications 

required under this Subparagraph shall 

be received by the Standards Division 

within 30 days of the date of arrest or 

charge and of case disposition. The 

requirements of this Subparagraph 

shall be applicable at all times during 

which the officer is certified by the 

Commission and shall also apply to all 

applicants for certification. Officers 

required to notify the Standards 

Division under this Subparagraph 

shall also make the same notification 

to their employing or appointing 

executive officer within 20 days of the 

date the case was disposed of in court. 

(b) In addition, within five business days 

of service, officers shall notify the 

Standards Division of all Domestic 

Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil 

No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are 

issued by a judicial official against the 

officer as well as any notifications 

received from a District Attorney or 

other source that an officer is not fit to 

testify before court (i.e. Giglio); 

(c) within 20 days of the date the case was 

disposed of in court, notify the 

executive officer of the adjudication of 

these criminal charges, Domestic 

Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil 

No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C); 

(d) within 30 days of the date the case was 

disposed of in court, the The executive 

officer, provided he or she has 

knowledge of the officer's arrests or 

criminal charges and final 

dispositions, shall also notify the 

Standards Division of all arrests or 

criminal charges and final disposition, 

Domestic Violence Orders (50B) and 

Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C); 

dispositions within 30 days of the date 

the case was disposed of in court. 

(e) the required notifications in this 

section shall be in writing and shall 

specify the nature of the offense or 

order, the court in which the case was 

handled, the date of the arrest, criminal 

charge, or service of the order, the 

final disposition, and shall include a 

certified copy of the order or court 

documentation and final disposition 

from the Clerk of Court in the county 

of adjudication; 

(f) the requirements of this Subparagraph 

shall be applicable at all times during 

which the officer is employed and 

certified by the Commission and shall 

also apply to all applicants for 

certification; 

(g) Receipt receipt by the Standards 

Division of a single notification, from 

either the officer or the executive 

officer, shall be sufficient notice for 

compliance with this Subparagraph. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS 

EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION 

 

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF 

CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, PROBATION/PAROLE 

OFFICERS, AND INSTRUCTORS 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0302 NOTIFICATION OF CRIMINAL 

CHARGES/CONVICTIONS 

(a)  Every person employed and certified as a correctional officer 

or probation/parole officer shall make the following notifications: 

(1) within 5 business days notify the Standards 

Division and the appointing agency head in 

writing notify the Standards Division of all 

criminal offenses for which the officer is 

charged, arrested, pleads no contest, pleads 

guilty, or of which the officer is found guilty. 

Criminal offenses shall include all felony 

offenses and shall include those misdemeanor 

offenses delineated in 12 NCAC 09G .0102. 

This shall include all criminal offenses except 

minor traffic offenses and shall specifically 

include any offense of Driving Under The 

Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired 

(DWI). A minor traffic offense is defined, for 

purposes of this Subparagraph, as an offense for 

which the maximum punishment allowable by 

law is 60 days or less. Other offenses under 

Chapter 20 (Motor Vehicles) of the General 

Statutes of North Carolina or similar laws of 

other jurisdictions which shall be reported to 

the Standards Division expressly include G.S. 

20-139 (persons under influence of drugs), G.S. 

20-28(b)(driving while license permanently 

revoked or permanently suspended), and G.S. 

20-166 (duty to stop in event of accident); 

(b)  The notifications required under this Rule shall be in writing, 

specify the nature of the offense, the court in which the case was 

handled, the date of arrest or criminal charge, the final disposition, 
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and the date thereof. The notifications required under this 

Paragraph shall be received by the Standards Division within 30 

days of the date the case was disposed of in court. 

(2) In addition, within five business days of 

service, officers shall notify the Standards 

Division of all Domestic Violence Orders (50B) 

and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are 

issued by a judicial official against the officer; 

(c)  The requirements of this Rule shall be applicable at all times 

during which the officer is certified by the Commission. 

(3) within 20 days of the date the case was disposed 

of in court, notify the executive officer of the 

adjudication of these criminal charges, 

Domestic Violence Orders (50B) and Civil No 

Contact Orders (G.S. 50C); 

(d)  Officers required to notify the Standards Division under this 

Rule shall also make the same notification to their employing or 

appointing executive officer within 20 days of the date the case 

was disposed of in court. The executive officer, provided he or 

she has knowledge of the officer's arrest(s), criminal charge(s), or 

final disposition(s), shall also notify the Standards Division of all 

arrests or criminal convictions within 30 days of the date of the 

arrest and within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in 

court. Receipt by the Standards Division of a single notification, 

from either the officer or the executive officer, shall be sufficient 

notice for compliance with this Rule. 

(4) within 30 days of the date the case was disposed 

of in court, the executive officer, provided he or 

she has knowledge of the officer's arrests or 

criminal charges and final dispositions, shall 

also notify the Standards Division of all arrests 

or criminal charges and final disposition, 

Domestic Violence Orders (50B) and Civil No 

Contact Orders (G.S.50C); 

(5) the required notifications in this section shall be 

in writing and shall specify the nature of the 

offense or order, the court in which the case was 

handled, the date of the arrest, criminal charge, 

or service of the order, the final disposition, and 

shall include a certified copy of the order or 

court documentation and final disposition from 

the Clerk of Court in the county of adjudication; 

(6) the requirements of this Subparagraph shall be 

applicable at all times during which the officer 

is employed and certified by the Commission 

and shall also apply to all applicants for 

certification; 

(7) receipt by the Standards Division of a single 

notification, from the officer or the executive 

officer, shall be sufficient notice for compliance 

with this Subparagraph. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Barber Examiners intends to amend the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 06N .0101. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://www.ncbarbers.com/news.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: October 3, 2018 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: 5809 Departure Dr. Ste. 102, Raleigh, NC 27616 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The amendment describes the 

circumstances under which the Board will issue refunds for 

examination fees and the process applicants must follow to 

request refunds. The amendment also changes the process for 

requesting a waiver for mandatory online renewals. Under the 

change, waiver requests would no longer need to be notarized. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dennis Seavers, NC Board of 

Barber Examiners, 5809 Departure Dr. Ste. 102, Raleigh, NC 

27616, phone (919) 814-0641, fax (919) 981-5068, email 

dseavers@ncbarbers.com 

 

Comment period ends: November 16, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06N – FEES AND FORMS 

 

SECTION 0100 - FEES, ACCESS TO FORMS, AND 

RENEWALS 
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21 NCAC 06N .0101 FEES, ACCESS TO FORMS, AND RENEWALS 

(a)  The Board charges the following amounts for the fees authorized by G.S. 86A-25: 

(1) Certificate of registration or renewal as a barber  $50.00 

(2) Certificate of registration or renewal as an apprentice barber  $50.00 

(3) Barbershop permit or renewal  $50.00 

(4) Examination to become a registered barber  $85.00 

(5) Examination to become a registered apprentice barber  $85.00 

(6) Late fee for restoration of an expired barber certificate within first year after expiration  $35.00 

(7) Late fee for restoration of an expired barber certificate after first year after expiration but within five  

 years after expiration  $70.00 

(8) Late fee for restoration of an expired apprentice certificate within the first year after expiration   $35.00 

(9) Late fee for restoration of an expired apprentice certificate after first year after expiration but within  

 three years of first issuance of the certificate  $45.00 

(10) Late fee for restoration of an expired barber shop certificate  $45.00 

(11) Examination to become a barber school instructor  $165.00 

(12) Student permit  $25.00 

(13) Issuance of any duplicate copy of a license, certificate, or permit  $10.00 

(14) Barber school permit or renewal  $130.00 

(15) Late fee for restoration of an expired barber school certificate  $85.00 

(16) Barber school instructor certificate or renewal  $85.00 

(17) Late fee for restoration of an expired barber school instructor certificate within first year after expiration $45.00 

(18) Late fee for restoration of an expired barber school instructor certificate after first year after expiration but within 

three years after expiration  $85.00 

(19) Inspection of newly established barbershop  $120.00 

(20) Inspection of newly established barber school  $220.00 

(21) Issuance of a registered barber or apprentice certificate by certification  $120.00 

(22) Charge for certified copies of public documents $10.00 for first page, $0.25 per page thereafter 

(23) Charge for duplication services and material shall be as set forth in 26 NCAC 01 .0103(a), including any subsequent 

amendments and editions of the Rule 

(24) Certificate of registration or renewal as a barber for barbers over 70 years of age  $0.00 

(25) Administrative fee under G.S. 86A-27(d) for paying any required fee for renewal or restoration, or a civil  

penalty and attorney fee, where the apprentice barber or registered barber is subject to a pick-up order issued to an 

inspector.  $70.00 

 

(b)  Except as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, if an applicant 

is unable to attend an examination, he or she may request a refund 

of the fee. To request the refund, the applicant shall submit a 

written request to the address listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102 at 

least 10 days before the scheduled examination. 

(c)  If an applicant submits a request for a refund of examination 

fees later than 10 days before the scheduled examination, the 

Board consider the request on a case-by-case basis and only grant 

the request if the applicant demonstrates good cause for not 

complying with Paragraph (b) of this Rule. For the purpose of this 

Rule, "good cause" means that the applicant could not have 

submitted the written request as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule due to circumstances such as illness, injury, or death in the 

family. 

(b)(d)  In the event the Board's authority to expend funds is 

suspended pursuant to G.S. 93B-2, the Board shall continue to 

issue and renew licenses and all fees tendered shall be placed in 

the escrow account maintained by the Board for this purpose. 

(c)(e)  The forms set forth in this Subchapter may be obtained on 

the website or at the address listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102. 

(d)(f)  All timely renewals of licenses, permits, or certificates of 

registration shall be submitted online at the Board's website, along 

with any fees required by this Rule. 

(e)(g)  Barber school permits shall be exempt from the online 

renewal requirement in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(f)(h)  Registered barbers, apprentice barbers, barber instructors, 

or barber shops that are unable to comply with the online 

requirement of Paragraph (d) of this Rule may submit the renewal 

and payment by mail or in person after receiving a waiver from 

the Board. This waiver shall be effective only for one renewal 

period. The Board shall issue a waiver within five business days 

after receiving the following: 

(1) For registered barbers, apprentice barbers, or 

barber instructors, a notarized statement from 

the holder of the license, permit, or certificate 

of registration that the individual is not able to 

renew online; or 

(2) For barber shops, a notarized statement from 

the manager or owner that neither the manager 

nor owner are able to renew online. 

Authority G.S. 86A-5; 86A-25; 86A-27(d); 93B-2. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 16 - BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Board of Dental Examiners 

intends to readopt with substantive changes the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 16Q .0402, amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 16Q .0202, 
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.0204, .0301, .0302, .0306, .0401, .0404, .0405, and .0408, and 

repeal the rule cited as 21 NCAC 16Q .0501. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

www.ncdentalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: October 11, 2018 

Time: 6:30 p.m. 

Location: 2000 Perimeter Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 

27560 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Dental Board seeks to amend 

21 NCAC 16Q .0202, 21 NCAC 16Q .0204, 21 NCAC 16Q .0302, 

21 NCAC 16Q .0306, 21 NCAC 16Q .0401, 21 NCAC 16Q .0405 

and 21 NCAC 16Q .0408 to establish procedures for 

administering written examinations, as well as procedures for 

written re-examination, in connection with the applications for 

sedation and anesthesia permits. The Board proposes to place a 

12 month limitation on the application process, and in connection 

with this, the Board seeks to amend 21 NCAC 16Q .0301 and 21 

NCAC 16Q .0404 to eliminate the 90 day deadline for a permit 

applicant to pass an evaluation and inspection (and require PALS 

certification in Rule 21 NCAC 16Q .0404). The Board further 

proposes several additional changes to 21 NCAC 16Q .0401 to 

establish an inspection fee in connection with the application for 

a minimal conscious sedation permit, to update evaluation 

requirements in connection with the application, to update the 

educational and professional requirements for the permit, and to 

set forth the procedure for minimal conscious sedation permit 

renewal. The Board seeks to readopt 21 NCAC 16Q .0402 with a 

substantive change based on public comment. Finally, the Board 

seeks to repeal 21 NCAC 16Q .0501 not that, with amendment of 

Rule 21 NCAC 16Q .0401, renewal procedures for all permits are 

set forth in separate rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Bobby D. White, Esq., 2000 

Perimeter Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 27560 

 

Comment period ends: November 16, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16Q – GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND 

SEDATION 

 

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL ANESTHESIA 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0202 GENERAL ANESTHESIA 

EQUIPMENT AND CLINICAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A dentist administering general anesthesia shall ensure that 

the facility where the general anesthesia is administered meets the 

following requirements: 

(1) The facility shall be equipped with the 

following: 

(A) an operatory of size and design to 

permit access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to 

permit emergency management; 

(B) a CPR board or dental chair without 

enhancements, suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(C) lighting as necessary for specific 

procedures and back-up lighting; and 

(D) suction equipment as necessary for 

specific procedures, including non-

electrical back-up suction; 

(E) positive pressure oxygen delivery 

system, including full face masks for 

small, medium, and large patients, and 

back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen 

tank apart from the central system; 

(F) small, medium, and large oral and 

nasal airways; 

(G) blood pressure monitoring device; 

(H) EKG monitor; 

(I) pulse oximeter; 

(J) automatic external defibrillator 

(AED); 

(K) precordial stethoscope or capnograph; 

(L) thermometer; 

(M) vascular access set-up as necessary for 

specific procedures, including 

hardware and fluids; 

(N) laryngoscope with working batteries; 
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(O) intubation forceps and advanced 

airway devices; 

(P) tonsillar suction with back-up suction; 

(Q) syringes as necessary for specific 

procedures; and 

(R) tourniquet and tape. 

(2) The following unexpired drugs shall be 

maintained in the facility and with access from 

the operatory and recovery rooms: 

(A) Epinephrine; 

(B) Atropine; 

(C) antiarrhythmic; 

(D) antihistamine; 

(E) antihypertensive; 

(F) bronchodilator; 

(G) antihypoglycemic agent; 

(H) vasopressor; 

(I) corticosteroid; 

(J) anticonvulsant; 

(K) muscle relaxant; 

(L) appropriate reversal agents; 

(M) nitroglycerine; 

(N) antiemetic; and 

(O) Dextrose. 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols 

protocols. The permit holder shall also provide 

and training to familiarize auxiliaries in the 

treatment of clinical emergencies emergencies; 

shall be provided; 

(4) The permit holder shall maintain the following 

records for 10 years: 

(A) Patient's current written medical 

history, including a record of known 

allergies and previous surgeries; 

(B) Consent to general anesthesia, signed 

by the patient or guardian, identifying 

the risks and benefits, level of 

anesthesia, and date signed; 

(C) Consent to the procedure, signed by 

the patient or guardian identifying the 

risks, benefits, and date signed; and 

(D) Patient base line vital signs, including 

temperature, SPO2, blood pressure, 

and pulse; 

(5) The anesthesia record shall include: 

(A) base line vital signs, blood pressure 

(unless patient behavior prevents 

recording), oxygen saturation, ET 

CO2 if capnography is utilized, pulse 

and respiration rates of the patient 

recorded in real time at 15 minute 

intervals; 

(B) procedure start and end times; 

(C) gauge of needle and location of IV on 

the patient, if used; 

(D) status of patient upon discharge; and 

(E) documentation of complications or 

morbidity; and 

(6) The facility shall be staffed with at least two 

BLS certified auxiliaries, one of whom shall be 

dedicated to patient monitoring and recording 

general anesthesia or sedation data throughout 

the sedation procedure. This Subparagraph 

shall not apply if the dentist permit holder is 

dedicated to patient care and monitoring 

regarding general anesthesia or sedation 

throughout the sedation procedure and is not 

performing the surgery or other dental 

procedure. 

(b)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate the administration of anesthesia while 

the evaluator observes, and shall demonstrate competency in the 

following areas: 

(1) monitoring of blood pressure, pulse, ET CO2 if 

capnography is utilized, and respiration; 

(2) drug dosage and administration; 

(3) treatment of untoward reactions including 

respiratory or cardiac depression; 

(4) sterile technique; 

(5) use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(6) monitoring of patient during recovery; and 

(7) sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(c)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall verbally demonstrate competency in the treatment of 

the following clinical emergencies: 

(1) laryngospasm; 

(2) bronchospasm; 

(3) emesis and aspiration; 

(4) respiratory depression and arrest; 

(5) angina pectoris; 

(6) myocardial infarction; 

(7) hypertension and hypotension; 

(8) syncope; 

(9) allergic reactions; 

(10) convulsions; 

(11) bradycardia; 

(12) hypoglycemia; 

(13) cardiac arrest; and 

(14) airway obstruction. 

(d)  During the evaluation, the permit applicant shall take a written 

examination on the topics set forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 

this Rule. The permit applicant must obtain a passing score on the 

written examination by answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the permit applicant fails to obtain a passing 

score on the written examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be re-examined in accordance with Rule 

.0204(h) of this Section. 

(d)(e)  A general anesthesia permit holder shall evaluate a patient 

for health risks before starting any anesthesia procedure. 

(e)(f)  Post-operative monitoring and discharge shall include the 

following: 

(1) vital signs shall be continuously monitored 

when the sedation is no longer being 

administered and the patient shall have direct 

continuous supervision until oxygenation and 

circulation are stable and the patient is 

recovered as defined by Subparagraph (e)(f)(2) 
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of this Rule and is ready for discharge from the 

office; and 

(2) recovery from general anesthesia shall include 

documentation of the following: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 

(H) for the special needs patient or a 

patient incapable of the usually 

expected responses, the pre-sedation 

level of responsiveness or the level as 

close as possible for that patient shall 

be achieved; and 

(3) before allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the dentist shall determine that the patient has 

met the recovery criteria set out in 

Subparagraph (e)(f)(2) of this Rule and the 

following discharge criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color, and level of consciousness are 

sufficient, stable, and have been 

documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to the patient or a 

responsible adult at time of discharge; 

and 

(C) vested adult is available to transport 

the patient after discharge. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0204 PROCEDURE FOR GENERAL 

ANESTHESIA EVALUATION OR INSPECTION AND RE-

INSPECTION 

(a)  When both an evaluation and on-site inspection is required, 

the Board shall designate two or more qualified persons to serve 

as evaluators, each of whom has administered general anesthesia 

for at least three years preceding the inspection. Training in 

general anesthesia shall not be counted in the three years. The fee 

for an evaluation and on-site inspection shall be three-hundred 

seventy-five dollars ($375.00). When an on-site inspection 

involves only a facility and equipment check and not an 

evaluation of the dentist, the inspection may be accomplished by 

one evaluator, and the fee for the on-site inspection shall be two-

hundred seventy-five dollars ($275.00). 

(b)  An inspection fee of two-hundred seventy-five dollars 

($275.00) shall be due 10 days after the dentist receives notice of 

the inspection of each additional location at which the dentist 

administers general anesthesia. 

(c)  Any dentist-member of the Board may observe or consult in 

any evaluation or inspection. 

(d)  The inspection team shall determine compliance with the 

requirements of the rules in this Subchapter, as applicable, by 

assigning a grade of "pass" or "fail." 

(e)  Each evaluator shall report his or her recommendation to the 

Board's Anesthesia and Sedation Committee, setting forth the 

details supporting his or her conclusion. The Committee shall not 

be bound by these recommendations. The Committee shall 

determine whether the applicant has passed the evaluation and 

inspection and shall notify the applicant in writing of its decision. 

(f)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation shall not 

receive a permit to administer general anesthesia. If a permit 

holder's facility fails an inspection, no further general anesthesia 

procedures shall be performed at the facility until it passes a re-

inspection by the Board. 

(g)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation may 

request a re-evaluation or re-inspection within 15 days of 

receiving the notice of failure. The request shall be directed to the 

Board in writing and shall include a statement of the grounds 

supporting the re-evaluation or re-inspection. Except as set forth 

in Paragraph (h) of this Rule, the The Board shall require the 

applicant to receive additional training prior to the re-evaluation 

to address the areas of deficiency determined by the evaluation. 

The Board shall notify the applicant in writing of the need for 

additional training. 

(h)  A permit applicant who has failed the written examination 

portion of the evaluation but passed all other aspects of the 

evaluation and inspection may retake the written examination two 

additional times at the Board office. The applicant must wait a 

minimum of 72 hours before attempting to retake a written 

examination. Any applicant who has failed the written portion of 

the examination three times shall successfully complete an 

additional Board approved course of study in the area(s) of 

deficiency and provide the Board evidence of the additional study 

before written reexamination. 

(h)(i)  Re-evaluations and re-inspections shall be conducted by 

Board-appointed evaluators not involved in the failed evaluation 

or inspection. 

(j)  An applicant must complete all the requirements of Rule 

.0202, including passing the written examination, evaluation and 

inspection, within 12 months of submitting the application to the 

Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-39. 

 

SECTION .0300 - PARENTERAL CONSCIOUS 

SEDATION 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0301 CREDENTIALS AND PERMITS 

FOR MODERATE PARENTERAL AND ENTERAL 

CONSCIOUS SEDATION 

(a)  Before a dentist licensed to practice in North Carolina may 

administer or supervise a CRNA employed to administer or RN 

employed to deliver moderate conscious sedation, the dentist shall 

obtain a permit from the Board by completing the application 

requirements in this Rule and paying a fee of three hundred 

seventy-five dollar ($375.00) that includes the one-hundred dollar 

($100.00) application fee and the two-hundred seventy-five dollar 

($275.00) inspection fee. The permit shall be renewed annually 

and shall be displayed with the current renewal at all times in the 
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facility of the permit holder where it is visible to patients receiving 

treatment. 

(b)  The permit holder shall provide supervision to any CRNA 

employed to administer or RN employed to deliver sedation, and 

shall ensure that the level of the sedation does not exceed the level 

of the sedation allowed by the permit holder's permit. 

(c)  A dentist applying for a permit to administer moderate 

conscious sedation shall document the following: 

(1) Training that may consist of either: 

(A) Completion of 60 hours of Board 

approved didactic training in 

intravenous conscious sedation, and 

30 hours of clinical training that shall 

include successful management of a 

minimum of 20 live patients, under 

supervision of the course instructor, 

using intravenous sedation. Training 

shall be provided by one or more 

individuals who meet the American 

Dental Association Guidelines for 

Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to 

Dentists that is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. The 

guidelines may be found at 

www.ada.org/coda; or 

(B) Completion of a pre-doctoral dental or 

postgraduate program that included 

intravenous conscious sedation 

training equivalent to that defined in 

Part (c)(1)(A) of this Rule; 

(2) Unexpired ACLS certification; and 

(3) That all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have unexpired BLS certification. 

(d)  All applicants for a moderate conscious sedation permit shall 

be in good standing with the Board. 

(e)  Prior to issuance of a moderate conscious sedation permit, the 

applicant shall pass an evaluation and a facility inspection. The 

applicant shall be responsible for passing the evaluation and 

inspection of his or her facility. facility within 90 days of 

notification. An extension of no more than 90 days shall be 

granted if the designated evaluator or applicant requests one by 

contacting the Board in writing. 

(f)  A dentist who holds a moderate conscious sedation permit 

shall not intentionally administer deep sedation. 

(g)  A moderate conscious sedation permit holder may provide 

moderate conscious sedation at the office of another licensed 

dentist, regardless of the permit, if any held, by the hosting dentist. 

The permit holder shall ensure that the facility where the moderate 

conscious sedation is administered has been inspected and 

complies with the requirements set out in Rule .0302 of this 

Section. The permit holder shall also obtain an itinerant moderate 

conscious sedation permit and comply with the requirements of 

Rule .0304 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-39; 90-48. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0302 MODERATE PARENTERAL 

AND ENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION CLINICAL 

REQUIREMENTS AND EQUIPMENT 

(a)  A dentist administering moderate conscious sedation or 

supervising any CRNA employed to administer or RN employed 

to deliver moderate conscious sedation shall ensure that the 

facility where the sedation is administered meets the following 

requirements: 

(1) The facility shall be equipped with the 

following: 

(A) an operatory of size and design to 

permit access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to 

permit emergency management; 

(B) a CPR board or a dental chair without 

enhancements, suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(C) lighting as necessary for specific 

procedures and back-up lighting; and 

(D) suction equipment as necessary for 

specific procedures, including non-

electrical back-up suction; 

(E) positive pressure oxygen delivery 

system, including full face masks for 

small, medium, and large patients and 

back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen 

tank apart from the central system; 

(F) small, medium, and large oral and 

nasal airways; 

(G) blood pressure monitoring device; 

(H) EKG monitor; 

(I) pulse oximeter; 

(J) automatic external defibrillator 

(AED); 

(K) precordial stethoscope or capnograph; 

(L) thermometer; 

(M) vascular access set-up as necessary for 

specific procedures, including 

hardware and fluids; 

(N) laryngoscope with working batteries; 

(O) intubation forceps and advanced 

airway devices; 

(P) tonsillar suction with back-up suction; 

(Q) syringes as necessary for specific 

procedures; and 

(R) tourniquet and tape. 

(2) The following unexpired drugs shall be 

maintained in the facility and with access from 

the operatory and recovery rooms: 

(A) Epinephrine; 

(B) Atropine; 

(C) antiarrhythmic; 

(D) antihistamine; 

(E) antihypertensive; 

(F) bronchodilator; 

(G) antihypoglycemic agent; 

(H) vasopressor; 

(I) corticosteroid; 

(J) anticonvulsant; 
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(K) muscle relaxant; 

(L) appropriate reversal agents; 

(M) nitroglycerine; 

(N) antiemetic; and 

(O) Dextrose. 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols 

protocols. The permit holder shall also provide 

and training to familiarize auxiliaries in the 

treatment of clinical emergencies emergencies; 

shall be provided; 

(4) The dentist shall maintain the following records 

for at least 10 years: 

(A) patient's current written medical 

history and pre-operative assessment; 

(B) drugs administered during the 

procedure, including route of 

administration, dosage, strength, time, 

and sequence of administration; and 

(C) a sedation record; 

(5) The sedation record shall include: 

(A) base line vital signs, blood pressure 

(unless patient behavior prevents 

recording), oxygen saturation, ET 

CO2 if capnography is utilized, pulse 

and respiration rates of the patient 

recorded in real time at 15 minute 

intervals; 

(B) procedure start and end times; 

(C) gauge of needle and location of IV on 

the patient, if used; 

(D) status of patient upon discharge; 

(E) documentation of complications or 

morbidity; and 

(F) consent form, signed by the patient or 

guardian, identifying the procedure, 

risks and benefits, level of sedation, 

and date signed; and 

(6) The following conditions shall be satisfied 

during a sedation procedure: 

(A) The facility shall be staffed with at 

least two BLS certified auxiliaries, one 

of whom shall be dedicated to patient 

monitoring and recording sedation 

data throughout the sedation 

procedure. This Subparagraph shall 

not apply if the dentist permit holder is 

dedicated to patient care and 

monitoring regarding sedation 

throughout the sedation procedure and 

is not performing the surgery or other 

dental procedure; and 

(B) If IV sedation is used, IV infusion 

shall be administered before the start 

of the procedure and maintained until 

the patient is ready for discharge. 

(b)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate the administration of moderate 

conscious sedation on a patient, including the deployment of an 

intravenous delivery system, while the evaluator observes. During 

the demonstration, the applicant or permit holder shall 

demonstrate competency in the following areas: 

(1) monitoring blood pressure, pulse, ET CO2 if 

capnography is utilized, and respiration; 

(2) drug dosage and administration; 

(3) treatment of untoward reactions including 

respiratory or cardiac depression if applicable; 

(4) sterile technique; 

(5) use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(6) monitoring of patient during recovery; and 

(7) sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(c)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall verbally demonstrate competency to the evaluator in 

the treatment of the following clinical emergencies: 

(1) laryngospasm; 

(2) bronchospasm; 

(3) emesis and aspiration; 

(4) respiratory depression and arrest; 

(5) angina pectoris; 

(6) myocardial infarction; 

(7) hypertension and hypotension; 

(8) allergic reactions; 

(9) convulsions; 

(10) syncope; 

(11) bradycardia; 

(12) hypoglycemia; 

(13) cardiac arrest; and 

(14) airway obstruction. 

(d)  During the evaluation, the permit applicant shall take a written 

examination on the topics set forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 

this Rule. The permit applicant must obtain a passing score on the 

written examination by answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the permit applicant fails to obtain a passing 

score on the written examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be re-examined in accordance with Rule 

.0306(h) of this Section. 

(d)(e)  A moderate conscious sedation permit holder shall evaluate 

a patient for health risks before starting any sedation procedure as 

follows: 

(1) a patient who is medically stable and who is 

ASA I or II shall be evaluated by reviewing the 

patient's current medical history and medication 

use or; 

(2) a patient who is not medically stable or who is 

ASA III or higher shall be evaluated by a 

consultation with the patient's primary care 

physician or consulting medical specialist 

regarding the potential risks posed by the 

procedure. 

(e)(f)  Post-operative monitoring and discharge: 

(1) vital signs shall be continuously monitored 

when the sedation is no longer being 

administered and the patient shall have direct 

continuous supervision until oxygenation and 

circulation are stable and the patient is 

recovered as defined in Subparagraph (e)(f)(2) 

of this Rule and is ready for discharge from the 

office. 
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(2) recovery from moderate conscious sedation 

shall include documentation of the following: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 

(H) for the special needs patient or patient 

incapable of the usually expected 

responses, the pre-sedation level of 

responsiveness or the level as close as 

possible for that patient shall be 

achieved. 

(3) before allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the dentist shall determine that the patient has 

met the recovery criteria set out in 

Subparagraph (e)(f)(2) of this Rule and the 

following discharge criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color, and level of consciousness are 

stable, and have been documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to the patient or a 

responsible adult at time of discharge; 

and 

(C) a vested adult is available to transport 

the patient after discharge. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0306 PROCEDURE FOR MODERATE 

CONSCIOUS SEDATION EVALUATION OR 

INSPECTION AND RE-INSPECTION 

(a)  When an evaluation or on-site inspection is required, the 

Board shall designate one or more qualified persons to serve as 

evaluators each of whom has administered moderate conscious 

sedation for at least three years preceding the inspection. Training 

in moderate conscious sedation shall not be counted in the three 

years. 

(b)  An inspection fee of two-hundred seventy-five dollars 

($275.00) shall be due 10 days after the dentist receives notice of 

the inspection of each additional location at which the dentist 

administers moderate conscious sedation. 

(c)  Any dentist-member of the Board may observe or consult in 

any evaluation or inspection. 

(d)  The inspection team shall determine compliance with the 

requirements of the rules in this Subchapter, as applicable, by 

assigning a grade of "pass" or "fail." 

(e)  Each evaluator shall report his or her recommendation to the 

Board's Anesthesia and Sedation Committee, setting forth the 

details supporting his or her conclusion. The Committee shall not 

be bound by these recommendations. The Committee shall 

determine whether the applicant has passed the evaluation or 

inspection and shall notify the applicant in writing of its decision. 

(f)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation shall not 

receive a permit to administer moderate conscious sedation. If a 

permit holder's facility fails an inspection, no further moderate 

sedation procedures shall be performed at the facility until it 

passes a re-inspection by the Board. 

(g)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation may 

request a re-evaluation or re-inspection within 15 days of 

receiving the notice of failure. The request shall be directed to the 

Board in writing and shall include a statement of the grounds 

supporting the re-evaluation or re-inspection. Except as set forth 

in Paragraph (h) of this Rule, the The Board shall require the 

applicant to receive additional training prior to the re-evaluation 

to address the areas of deficiency determined by the evaluation. 

The Board shall notify the applicant in writing of the need for 

additional training. 

(h)  A permit applicant who has failed the written examination 

portion of the evaluation but passed all other aspects of the 

evaluation and inspection may retake the written examination two 

additional times at the Board office. The applicant must wait a 

minimum of 72 hours before attempting to retake a written 

examination. Any applicant who has failed the written portion of 

the examination three times shall successfully complete an 

additional Board approved course of study in the area(s) of 

deficiency and provide the Board evidence of the additional study 

before written reexamination. 

(h)(i)  Re-evaluations and re-inspections shall be conducted by 

Board-appointed evaluators not involved in the failed evaluation 

or inspection. 

(j)  An applicant must complete all the requirements of Rule 

.0302, including passing the written examination, evaluation and 

inspection, within 12 months of submitting the application to the 

Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-39; 90-48. 

 

SECTION .0400 - ENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0401 MINIMAL CONSCIOUS 

SEDATION CREDENTIALS, EVALUATION AND 

PERMIT 

(a)  Before a dentist licensed to practice in North Carolina may 

administer or supervise a certified registered nurse anesthetist to 

administer minimal conscious sedation, the dentist shall obtain a 

Board-issued permit for minimal conscious sedation, moderate 

pediatric conscious sedation, moderate conscious sedation or 

general anesthesia. A permit is not required for prescription 

administration of DEA controlled drugs prescribed for 

postoperative pain control intended for home use. A dentist may 

obtain a minimal conscious sedation permit from the Board by 

completing an application form provided by the Board and paying 

a fee of three-hundred seventy-five dollars ($375.00) that includes 

the one-hundred dollars dollar ($100.00) application fee and the 

two-hundred seventy-five dollar ($275.00) inspection fee. Such 

permit must be renewed annually and shall be displayed with the 

current renewal at all times in a conspicuous place in the office of 

the permit holder. 
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(b)  Only a dentist who holds a general anesthesia license may 

administer deep sedation or general anesthesia. 

(c)  Application: 

(1) A minimal conscious sedation permit may be 

obtained by completing an application form 

provided by Board, a copy of which may be 

obtained from the Board office, and meeting the 

requirements of Section .0400 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) The application form must be filled out 

completely and appropriate fees paid. 

(3) An applicant for a minimal conscious sedation 

permit shall be licensed and in good standing 

with the Board in order to be approved. For 

purposes of these Rules "good standing" means 

that the applicant is not subject to a disciplinary 

investigation and his or her licensee has not 

been revoked or suspended and is not subject to 

a probation or stayed suspension order. 

(d)  Evaluation: 

(1) Prior to issuance of a minimal conscious 

sedation permit the applicant shall pass an 

evaluation and undergo a facility inspection. 

The Board shall direct an evaluator qualified to 

administer minimal sedation to perform this 

inspection. The applicant shall be notified in 

writing that an inspection is required and 

provided with the name of the evaluator who 

shall perform the inspection. The applicant 

shall be responsible for successful completion 

of passing the evaluation and inspection of his 

or her facility. facility within three months of 

notification. An extension of no more than 90 

days shall be granted if the designated evaluator 

or applicant requests one. 

(2) During an inspection or evaluation evaluation, 

the applicant shall demonstrate the 

administration of minimal conscious sedation 

on a patient while the evaluator observes. 

During the observation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate competency in the 

following areas: 

(A) Monitoring of blood pressure, pulse, 

pulse oximetry and respiration; 

(B) Drug dosage and administration 

administration; (by verbal 

demonstration); 

(C) Treatment of untoward reactions 

including respiratory or cardiac 

depression (by verbal demonstration); 

(D) Sterilization; sterile technique; 

(E) Use of CPR certified personnel; Use of 

BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(F) Monitoring of patient during recovery 

recovery; (by verbal demonstration); 

and 

(G) Sufficiency of patient recovery time 

time. (by verbal demonstration). 

(3) During an inspection or evaluation, the 

applicant or permit holder shall verbally 

demonstrate competency to the evaluator in the 

treatment of the following clinical emergencies: 

(A) Laryngospasm; 

(B) Bronchospasm; 

(C) Emesis and aspiration; 

(D) Respiratory depression and arrest; 

(E) Angina pectoris; 

(F) Myocardial infarction; 

(G) Hypertension/Hypotension; 

(H) Syncope; 

(I) Allergic reactions; 

(J) Convulsions; 

(K) Bradycardia; 

(L) Insulin shock; Hypoglycemia; and 

(M) Cardiac arrest. arrest; and 

(N) Airway obstruction. 

(4) During the evaluation, the permit applicant 

shall take a written examination on the topics 

set forth in Subparagraphs (d)(2) and (d)(3) of 

this Rule. The permit applicant must obtain a 

passing score on the written examination by 

answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the permit applicant fails 

to obtain a passing score on the written 

examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be re-examined in 

accordance with Subparagraph (d)(7) of this 

Rule. 

(4)(5) The evaluator shall assign a recommended 

grade of pass or fail and shall report his or her 

recommendation to the Board, setting out the 

basis for his conclusion. The Board is not bound 

by the evaluator's recommendation and shall 

make a final determination regarding whether 

the applicant has passed the evaluation. The 

applicant shall be notified of the Board's 

decision in writing. 

(6) An applicant who fails an inspection or 

evaluation may request a re-evaluation or re-

inspection within 15 days of receiving the 

notice of failure. The request shall be directed 

to the Board in writing and shall include a 

statement of the grounds supporting the re-

evaluation or re-inspection. Except as set forth 

in Subparagraph (d)(7) of this Rule, the Board 

shall require the applicant to receive additional 

training prior to the re-evaluation to address the 

areas of deficiency determined by the 

evaluation. The Board shall notify the applicant 

in writing of the need for additional training. 

(7) A permit applicant who has failed the written 

examination portion of the evaluation but 

passed all other aspects of the evaluation and 

inspection may retake the written examination 

two additional times at the Board office. The 

applicant must wait a minimum of 72 hours 

before attempting to retake a written 
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examination. Any applicant who has failed the 

written portion of the examination three times 

shall successfully complete an additional Board 

approved course of study in the area(s) of 

deficiency and provide the Board evidence of 

the additional study before written 

reexamination. 

(8) Re-evaluations and re-inspections shall be 

conducted by Board-appointed evaluators not 

involved in the failed evaluation or inspection. 

(9) An applicant must complete all the 

requirements of this Rule, including passing the 

written examination, evaluation and inspection, 

within 12 months of submitting the application 

to the Board. 

(e)  Educational/Professional Requirements: 

(1) The dentist applying for a minimal conscious 

sedation permit shall meet one of the following 

criteria: 

(A) successful completion of training 

consistent with that described in Part I 

or Part III of the American Dental 

Association (ADA) Guidelines for 

Teaching the Comprehensive Control 

of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry, and 

have documented administration of 

minimal conscious sedation in a 

minimum of five cases; 

(B)(A) successful completion of an ADA 

accredited post-doctoral training 

program which affords comprehensive 

training necessary to administer and 

manage minimal conscious sedation; 

(C)(B) successful completion of an 18-hour 

minimal conscious sedation course 

which must be approved by the Board 

based on whether it affords 

comprehensive training necessary to 

administer and manage minimal 

conscious sedation; or 

(D)(C) successful completion of an ADA 

accredited postgraduate program in 

pediatric dentistry; or dentistry. 

(E) is a North Carolina licensed dentist in 

good standing who has been using 

minimal conscious sedation in a 

competent manner for at least one year 

immediately preceding October 1, 

2007 and his or her office facility has 

passed an on-site inspection by a 

Board evaluator as required in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

Competency shall be determined by 

presentation of successful 

administration of minimal conscious 

sedation in a minimum of five clinical 

cases. 

(2) All applicants for a minimal sedation permit 

must document successful completion of an 

ACLS a Basic Life Saving (BLS) course within 

the 12 months prior to the date of application; 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols. The 

permit holder shall also provide training to 

familiarize auxiliaries in the treatment of 

clinical emergencies. 

(f)  Annual Permit Renewal: 

(1) Minimal conscious sedation permits shall be 

renewed by the Board annually at the same time 

as dental licenses by the dentist paying a one-

hundred dollar ($100.00) fee and completing 

the application requirements in this Rule. If the 

completed permit renewal application and 

renewal fee are not received before January 31 

of each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall 

be paid. 

(2) Any dentist who fails to renew a minimal 

conscious sedation permit before March 31 of 

each year shall complete a reinstatement 

application, pay the renewal fee, late fee, and 

comply with all conditions for renewal set out 

in this Rule. Dentists whose sedation permits 

have been lapsed for more than 12 calendar 

months shall pass an inspection and an 

evaluation as part of the reinstatement process. 

(3) As a condition for renewal of the minimal 

conscious sedation permit, the permit holder 

shall meet the requirements of Rule .0402 of 

this Subchapter and shall document unexpired 

ACLS certification and obtain three hours of 

continuing education every year in one or more 

of the following areas, which may be counted 

toward fulfillment of the continuing education 

required each calendar year for license renewal: 

(A) pediatric or adult sedation; 

(B) medical emergencies; 

(C) monitoring sedation and the use of 

monitoring equipment; 

(D) pharmacology of drugs and agents 

used in sedation; 

(E) physical evaluation, risk assessment, 

or behavioral management; or 

(F) airway management. 

(4) The minimal conscious sedation permit holder 

shall further document that the permit holder 

and all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have read the practice's emergency 

manual in the preceding year and that all 

auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures 

have completed BLS certification and, within 

the past two years, completed three hours of 

continuing education in any of the areas set 

forth in Parts (f)(3)(A)-(F) of this Rule. 

(5) All permit holders applying for renewal of a 

minimal conscious sedation permit shall be in 

good standing and their office shall be subject 

to inspection by the Board. 
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(g)  A dentist who administers minimal conscious sedation in 

violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed 

by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0402 MINIMAL CONSCIOUS 

SEDATION PERMIT REQUIREMENTS, CLINICAL 

PROVISIONS AND EQUIPMENT 

(a)  Minimal conscious sedation is indicated for use only as 

defined in Rule .0101(15) of this Subchapter (relating to 

Definitions). Minimal conscious sedation is not indicated for use 

to achieve a deep deeper level of sedation. 

(b)  A minimal conscious sedation permit is not required for minor 

psychosedatives Schedule IV agents used for anxiolysis 

prescribed for administration outside of the dental office when 

pre-procedure instructions are likely to be followed. Medication 

administered for the purpose of minimal conscious sedation shall 

not exceed the maximum doses recommended by the drug 

manufacturer, sedation textbooks, or juried sedation journals. 

Except for nitrous inhalation, drugs in combination are not 

permitted for minimal conscious sedation. During longer periods 

of minimal conscious sedation, in which the amount of time of the 

procedures exceeds the effective duration of the sedative effect of 

the drug used, the incremental doses of the sedative shall not 

exceed total safe dosage levels based on the effective half-life of 

the drug used. 

(c)  Each dentist shall: 

(1) adhere to the clinical requirements as detailed 

in Paragraph (e) of this Rule; 

(2) maintain under continuous direct supervision 

any auxiliary personnel, who shall be capable 

of assisting in procedures, problems, and 

emergencies incident to the use of minimal 

conscious sedation or secondary to an 

unexpected medical complication; 

(3) utilize sufficient auxiliary personnel for each 

procedure performed who shall document 

annual successful completion of basic life 

support training; and 

(4) not allow a minimal conscious sedation 

procedure to be performed in his or her office 

by a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist 

(CRNA) unless the dentist holds a permit issued 

by the Board for the procedure being 

performed. This provision addresses dentists 

and is not intended to address the scope of 

practice of persons licensed by any other 

agency. 

(d)  Each dentist shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) Patient Evaluation. Patients who are 

administered minimal conscious sedation must 

be evaluated for medical health risks prior to the 

start of any sedative procedure. A patient 

receiving minimal conscious sedation must be 

healthy or medically stable (ASA I, or ASA II 

as defined by the American Society of 

Anesthesiologists). An evaluation is a review of 

the patient's current medical history and 

medication use. However, for individuals who 

are not medically stable or who have a 

significant health disability Physical Status III 

(ASA III, as defined by the American Society 

of Anesthesiologists) a consultation with their 

primary care physician or consulting medical 

specialist regarding potential procedure risk is 

required. 

(2) Pre-procedure preparation, informed consent: 

(A) The patient or guardian must be 

advised of the procedure associated 

with the delivery of the minimal 

conscious sedation. 

(B) Equipment must be evaluated and 

maintained for proper operation. 

(C) Baseline vital signs shall be obtained 

at the discretion of the operator 

depending on the medical status of the 

patient and the nature of the procedure 

to be performed. 

(D) Dentists administering minimal 

conscious sedation shall use sedative 

agents that he/she is competent to 

administer and shall administer such 

agents in a manner that is within the 

standard of care. 

(e)  Patient monitoring: 

(1) Patients who have been administered minimal 

conscious sedation shall be monitored during 

waiting periods prior to operative procedures. 

An adult who has accepted responsibility for 

the patient and been given written pre-

procedural instruction may provide such 

monitoring. The patient shall be monitored for 

alertness, responsiveness, breathing and skin 

coloration. 

(2) Dentists administering minimal conscious 

sedation shall maintain direct supervision of the 

patient during the operative procedure and for 

such a period of time necessary to establish 

pharmacologic and physiologic vital sign 

stability. 

(A) Oxygenation. Color of mucosa, skin or 

blood shall be continually evaluated. 

Oxygen saturation shall be evaluated 

continuously by pulse oximetry, 

except as provided in Paragraph (e)(4) 

of this Rule. 

(B) Ventilation. Observation of chest 

excursions or auscultation of breath 

sounds or both shall be performed. 

(C) Circulation. Blood pressure and pulse 

shall be taken and recorded initially 

and thereafter as appropriate except as 

provided in Paragraph (e)(4) of this 

Rule. 

(D) AED. Dentists administering minimal 

conscious sedation shall maintain a 
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functioning automatic external 

defibrillator (AED). 

(3) An appropriate time oriented anesthetic record 

of vital signs shall be maintained in the 

permanent record including documentation of 

individual(s) administering the drug and 

showing the name of drug, strength and dosage 

used. 

(4) If the dentist responsible for administering 

minimal conscious sedation must deviate from 

the requirements set out in this Rule, he or she 

shall document the occurrence of such 

deviation and the reasons for such deviation. 

(f)  Post-operative procedures: 

(1) Following the operative procedure, positive 

pressure oxygen and suction equipment shall be 

immediately available in the recovery area or 

operatory. 

(2) Vital signs shall be continuously monitored 

when the sedation is no longer being 

administered and the patient shall have direct 

continuous supervision until oxygenation and 

circulation are stable and the patient is 

sufficiently responsive for discharge from the 

office. 

(3) Patients who have adverse reactions to minimal 

conscious sedation shall be assisted and 

monitored either in an operatory chair or 

recovery area until stable for discharge. 

(4) Recovery from minimal conscious sedation 

shall include: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient easily arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 

(H) for the patient who is disabled, or 

incapable of the usually expected 

responses, the pre-sedation level of 

responsiveness or the level as close as 

possible for that patient shall be 

achieved. 

(5) Prior to allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the dentist shall determine that the patient has 

met the recovery criteria set out in Paragraph 

(f)(4) of this Rule and the following discharge 

criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color and level of consciousness are 

sufficient and stable and have been 

documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to the patient or a 

responsible adult at time of discharge; 

(C) responsible individual is available for 

the patient to transport the patient after 

discharge; 

(D) A vested adult must be available to 

transport patients for whom a motor 

vehicle restraint system is required 

and an additional responsible 

individual must be available to attend 

to the patients. 

(g)  The dentist, personnel and facility shall be prepared to treat 

emergencies that may arise from the administration of minimal 

conscious sedation, and shall have the ability to provide positive 

pressure ventilation with 100% oxygen with an age appropriate 

device. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0404 CREDENTIALS AND PERMITS 

FOR MODERATE PEDIATRIC CONSCIOUS SEDATION 

(a)  Before a dentist licensed to practice in North Carolina may 

administer moderate pediatric conscious sedation, the dentist shall 

obtain a general anesthesia or moderate pediatric conscious 

sedation permit from the Board by completing the application 

requirements of this Rule and paying a fee of three hundred 

seventy-five dollars ($375.00) that includes the one-hundred 

dollar ($100.00) application fee and the two-hundred seventy-five 

dollar ($275.00) inspection fee. The permit shall be renewed 

annually and shall be displayed with the current renewal at all 

times in the permit holder's facility where it is visible to patients 

receiving treatment. 

(b)  A dentist applying for a permit to administer moderate 

pediatric conscious sedation shall hold an unexpired PALS 

certification and meet at least one of the following criteria: 

(1) completion of a postgraduate program that 

included pediatric intravenous conscious 

sedation training; 

(2) completion of a Commission On Dental 

Accreditation (CODA) approved pediatric 

residency that included intravenous conscious 

sedation training; or 

(3) completion of a pediatric degree or pediatric 

residency at a CODA approved institution that 

includes training in the use and placement of 

IVs or intraosseous vascular access. A list of 

CODA approved institutions that is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, appears 

at www.ada.org/coda and is available at no cost. 

(c)  All applicants for moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

permits shall have completed the training required by Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule within the last two years or show evidence of 

moderate pediatric conscious sedation practice within the last two 

years in another state or U.S. Territory. 

(d)  All applicants for moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

permits shall be in good standing with the Board. 

(e)  Prior to issuance of a moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

permit, the applicant shall pass an evaluation and a facility 
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inspection. The applicant shall be responsible for passing the 

evaluation and inspection of his or her facility. facility within 90 

days of notification. An extension of no more than 90 days shall 

be granted if the designated evaluator or applicant requests one by 

contacting the Board in writing. 

(f)  A moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit holder may 

provide moderate pediatric conscious sedation at the office of 

another licensed dentist, regardless of the permit, if any held, by 

the hosting dentist. The permit holder shall ensure that the facility 

where the moderate pediatric conscious sedation is administered 

has been inspected and complies with the requirements set out in 

Rule .0405 of this Section. The permit holder shall also obtain an 

itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit and 

comply with the requirements of Rule .0406 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-39; 90-48. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0405 MODERATE PEDIATRIC 

CONSCIOUS SEDATION CLINICAL REQUIREMENTS 

AND EQUIPMENT 

(a)  A dentist administering moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

shall ensure that the facility where the sedation is administered 

meets the following requirements: 

(1) The facility shall be equipped with the 

following: 

(A) an operatory of size and design to 

permit access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to 

permit emergency management; 

(B) a CPR board or a dental chair without 

enhancements, suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(C) lighting as necessary for specific 

procedures and back-up lighting; 

(D) suction equipment as necessary for 

specific procedures, including non-

electrical back-up suction; 

(E) positive pressure oxygen delivery 

system, including full face masks for 

small, medium, and large patients and 

back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen 

tank apart from the central system; 

(F) small, medium, and large oral and 

nasal airways; 

(G) blood pressure monitoring device; 

(H) EKG monitor; 

(I) pulse oximeter; 

(J) automatic external defibrillator 

(AED); 

(K) precordial stethoscope or capnograph; 

(L) thermometer; 

(M) vascular access set-up as necessary for 

specific procedures, including 

hardware and fluids; 

(N) laryngoscope with working batteries; 

(O) intubation forceps and advanced 

airway devices; 

(P) tonsillar suction with back-up suction; 

(Q) syringes as necessary for specific 

procedures; and 

(R) tourniquet and tape. 

(2) The following unexpired drugs shall be 

maintained in the facility and with access from 

the operatory and recovery rooms: 

(A) Epinephrine; 

(B) Atropine; 

(C) antiarrhythmic; 

(D) antihistamine; 

(E) antihypertensive; 

(F) bronchodilator; 

(G) antihypoglycemic agent; 

(H) vasopressor; 

(I) corticosteroid; 

(J) anticonvulsant; 

(K) muscle relaxant; 

(L) appropriate reversal agents; 

(M) nitroglycerine; 

(N) antiemetic; and 

(O) Dextrose. 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols 

protocols. The permit holder shall also provide 

and training to familiarize auxiliaries in the 

treatment of clinical emergencies emergencies; 

shall be provided; 

(4) The following records are maintained for at 

least 10 years: 

(A) patient's current written medical 

history and pre-operative assessment; 

(B) drugs administered during the 

procedure, including route of 

administration, dosage, strength, time, 

and sequence of administration; 

(C) a sedation record; and 

(D) a consent form, signed by the patient 

or a guardian, identifying the 

procedure, risks and benefits, level of 

sedation, and date signed; 

(5) The sedation record shall include: 

(A) base line vital signs, blood pressure 

(unless patient behavior prevents 

recording), oxygen saturation, ET 

CO2 if capnography is utilized, pulse 

and respiration rates of the patient 

recorded in real time at 15 minute 

intervals; 

(B) procedure start and end times; 

(C) gauge of needle and location of IV on 

the patient, if used; 

(D) status of patient upon discharge; and 

(E) documentation of complications or 

morbidity; and 

(6) The following conditions shall be satisfied 

during a sedation procedure: 

(A) the facility shall be staffed with at least 

two BLS certified auxiliaries, one of 

whom shall be dedicated to patient 
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monitoring and recording sedation 

data throughout the sedation 

procedure. This Subparagraph shall 

not apply if the dentist permit holder is 

dedicated to patient care and 

monitoring regarding sedation 

throughout the sedation procedure and 

is not performing the surgery or other 

dental procedure; and 

(B) when IV sedation is used, IV infusion 

shall be administered before the 

commencement of the procedure and 

maintained until the patient is ready 

for discharge. 

(b)  During an inspection or evaluation, applicants and permit 

holders who use intravenous sedation shall demonstrate the 

administration of moderate pediatric conscious sedation on a live 

patient, including the deployment of an intravenous delivery 

system, while the evaluator observes. Applicants and permit 

holders who do not use IV sedation shall describe the proper 

deployment of an intravascular delivery system to the evaluator 

and shall demonstrate the administration of moderate pediatric 

conscious sedation on a live patient while the evaluator observes. 

(c)  During the demonstration, all applicants and permit holders 

shall demonstrate competency in the following areas: 

(1) monitoring blood pressure, pulse, and 

respiration; 

(2) drug dosage and administration; 

(3) treatment of untoward reactions including 

respiratory or cardiac depression if applicable; 

(4) sterile technique; 

(5) use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(6) monitoring of patient during recovery; and 

(7) sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(d)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall verbally demonstrate competency in the treatment of 

the following clinical emergencies: 

(1) laryngospasm; 

(2) bronchospasm; 

(3) emesis and aspiration; 

(4) respiratory depression and arrest; 

(5) angina pectoris; 

(6) myocardial infarction; 

(7) hypertension and hypotension; 

(8) allergic reactions; 

(9) convulsions; 

(10) syncope; 

(11) bradycardia; 

(12) hypoglycemia; 

(13) cardiac arrest; and 

(14) airway obstruction. 

(e)  During the evaluation, the permit applicant shall take a written 

examination on the topics set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of 

this Rule. The permit applicant must obtain a passing score on the 

written examination by answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the permit applicant fails to obtain a passing 

score on the written examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be re-examined in accordance with Rule 

.0408(h) of this Section. 

(e)(f)  A moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit holder shall 

evaluate patients for health risks before starting any sedation 

procedure as follows: 

(1) a patient who is medically stable and who is 

ASA I or II shall be evaluated by reviewing the 

patient's current medical history and medication 

use; or 

(2) a patient who is not medically stable or who is 

ASA III or higher shall be evaluated by a 

consultation with the patient's primary care 

physician or consulting medical specialist 

regarding the potential risks posed by the 

procedure. 

(f)(g)  Patient monitoring: 

(1) Patients who have been administered moderate 

pediatric conscious sedation shall be monitored 

for alertness, responsiveness, breathing, and 

skin coloration during waiting periods before 

operative procedures. 

(2) Vital signs shall be continuously monitored 

when the sedation is no longer being 

administered and the patient shall have direct 

continuous supervision until oxygenation and 

circulation are stable and the patient is 

recovered as defined in Subparagraph (f)(g)(3) 

of this Rule and is ready for discharge from the 

office. 

(3) Recovery from moderate pediatric conscious 

sedation shall include documentation of the 

following: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 

(H) for the special needs patient or a 

patient incapable of the usually 

expected responses, the pre-sedation 

level of responsiveness or the level as 

close as possible for that patient shall 

be achieved. 

(4) Before allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the dentist shall determine that the patient has 

met the recovery criteria set out in 

Subparagraph (f)(g)(3) of this Rule and the 

following discharge criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color, and level of consciousness are 

stable, and have been documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to a responsible 

adult at time of discharge; and 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:06 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 17, 2018 

596 

(C) a vested adult is available to transport 

the patient after discharge, and for the 

patient for whom a motor vehicle 

restraint system is required, an 

additional responsible individual is 

available to attend to the patient. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0408 PROCEDURE FOR MODERATE 

PEDIATRIC SEDATION EVALUATION OR 

INSPECTION AND RE-INSPECTION 

(a)  When an evaluation or on-site inspection is required, the 

Board shall designate one or more qualified persons to serve as 

evaluators, each of whom has administered moderate pediatric 

sedation for at least three years preceding the evaluation or 

inspection. Training in moderate pediatric sedation shall not count 

toward the three years. 

(b)  An inspection fee of two-hundred seventy-five dollars 

($275.00) shall be due 10 days after the dentist receives notice of 

the inspection of each additional location at which the dentist 

administers moderate pediatric sedation. 

(c)  Any dentist-member of the Board may observe or consult in 

any evaluation or inspection. 

(d)  The inspection team shall determine compliance with the 

requirements of the rules in this Subchapter, as applicable, by 

assigning a grade of "pass" or "fail." 

(e)  Each evaluator shall report his or her recommendation to the 

Board's Anesthesia and Sedation Committee, setting forth the 

details supporting his or her conclusion. The Committee shall not 

be bound by these recommendations. The Committee shall 

determine whether the applicant has passed the evaluation or 

inspection and shall notify the applicant in writing of its decision. 

(f)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation shall not 

receive a permit to administer moderate pediatric sedation. If a 

permit holder's facility fails an inspection, no further moderate 

pediatric sedation procedures shall be performed at the facility 

until it passes a re-inspection by the Board. 

(g)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation may 

request a re-evaluation or re-inspection within 15 days of 

receiving the notice of failure. The request shall be directed to the 

Board in writing and include a statement of the grounds 

supporting the re-evaluation or re-inspection. Except as set forth 

in Paragraph (h) of this Rule, the The Board shall require the 

applicant to receive additional training prior to the re-evaluation 

to address the areas of deficiency determined by the evaluation. 

The Board shall notify the applicant in writing of the need for 

additional training. 

(h)  A permit applicant who has failed the written examination 

portion of the evaluation but passed all other aspects of the 

evaluation and inspection may retake the written examination two 

additional times at the Board office. The applicant must wait a 

minimum of 72 hours before attempting to retake a written 

examination. Any applicant who has failed the written portion of 

the examination three times shall successfully complete an 

additional Board approved course of study in the area(s) of 

deficiency and provide the Board evidence of the additional study 

before written reexamination. 

(h)(i)  Re-evaluations and re-inspections shall be conducted by 

Board-appointed evaluators not involved in the failed evaluation 

or inspection. 

(j)  An applicant must complete all the requirements of Rule. 0405 

of this Section, including passing the written examination, 

evaluation and inspection, within 12 months of submitting the 

application to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-39; 90-48. 

 

SECTION .0500 - RENEWAL OF PERMITS 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0501 ANNUAL RENEWAL 

REQUIRED 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission August 16, 2018 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (1st Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 
Jeffrey A. Poley Paul Powell  

Jeanette Doran (2nd Vice Chair) 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May (919)431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919)431-3079 
Jason Thomas  (919)431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 September 20, 2018 October 18, 2018 
  November 15, 2018      December 13, 2018 

 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
August 16, 2018 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, August 16, 2018, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina. Commissioners present were: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Anna Baird Choi, Margaret 
Currin, Jeanette Doran, Garth Dunklin, Jeff Poley, and Paul Powell. 
 
Staff members present were Commission Counsels Amber Cronk May, Amanda Reeder, and Jason Thomas; and Julie 
Brincefield, Alex Burgos, and Dana McGhee.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 10:01 a.m. with Chairman Dunklin presiding. 
 
Chairman Dunklin read the notice required by G.S. 163A-159 and reminded the Commission members that they have a 
duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearances of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
Chairman Dunklin asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the July 19, 2018 meeting. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Commissioner of Banks 
04 NCAC 03K .0404 was unanimously approved. 
 
Commission of Navigation and Pilotage for the Cape Fear River and Bar 
The agency is addressing the objections for 04 NCAC 15 .0119, .0121, .0123, .0124, .0127, and .0128. No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
Child Care Commission 
The agency is addressing the objections for 10A NCAC 09 .2201, .2202, .2203, .2204, .2205, .2206, .2207, .2209, .2213, 
.2216, and .2217. No action was required by the Commission. 
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Following the presentation on the rules from the Child Care Commission, Commissioner Poley joined the meeting. 
 
DHHS/Division of Medical Assistance  
10A NCAC 22F .0104, .0301, .0302, .0602, .0603, .0604, and 22J .0105 and .0106 - The Commission reviewed rewritten 
rules submitted by the Division in response to the June 14, 2018 objections. The Rules Review Commission objected to 
10A NCAC 22F .0301 on the basis of ambiguity and continued their objection to 10A NCAC 22J .0106, finding that the 
rewritten rule had not met their objection.  The Commission approved all other rules.   
 
The Commission voted to waive the time limit for speaking in 26 NCAC 05 .0106(b). 
 
Mathew Cochran, with the law firm of Ott Cone & Redpath, addressed the Commission. 
 
Kathy McCraw, with the Attorney General’s office and representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Brenda Eaddy, with the Attorney General’s office and representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Virginia Niehaus, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
During the discussion of the rules, and prior to the vote, Commissioner Choi left the meeting and did not participate for the 
remainder of the meeting. 
 
The chair called the meeting into a brief recess at 11:46 a.m. 
 
The meeting resumed at 12:03 p.m.   
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Pre-Reviewed Rules 
Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02S  
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02T  
All rules were unanimously approved contingent upon receiving the properly formatted rules for 15A NCAC 02T .0301, 
.0302-.0306, .0402, .0405, and .1106. The properly formatted rules were received.            
 
Water Pollution Control System Operator Certification Commission 
All rules were unanimously approved with the following exceptions: 
 
The Commission objected to 15A NCAC 08F .0406 based upon lack of statutory authority and necessity, as well as 
ambiguity.   
 
Specifically, the Commission found that throughout the rule, the agency appears to be delegating to the Chairman or a 
committee of the Commission the authority to issue summary suspension of a certification pursuant to G.S. 150B-3(c) and 
to revoke or suspend a certification pursuant to G.S. 150B, Article 3A.  However, the APA requires a majority of the 
Commission members to make these decisions. The agency has not cited to any authority to abrogate the requirements of 
the APA and allow the Chairman to issue these decisions without approval of the Commission. 
 
In addition, it appears from Paragraph (c) that the agency is creating a disciplinary committee composed of at least four 
members of the 11-member body and this committee will hold a hearing and then make a recommendation to the Chairman, 
who will issue a decision. G.S. 150B-40(b) requires a majority of the agency to decide contested cases; if they cannot do 
so, they must request an ALJ from the Office of Administrative Hearings.  The agency has not cited to any authority to allow 
them to delegate this decision making to the Chairman, even following a consultation with a minority of the members of the 
Commission. 
 
Further, Paragraph (g) states that the decision of the Chairman becomes a final agency action unless the individual files a 
petition for a contested case.  Therefore, the Rule is unclear as written, as it is not apparent what this Rule is doing if it is 
not establishing the process for filing a contested case with the agency.  
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The Commission also found that Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (3) merely recite G.S. 90A-47.5(a)(1) through (3) and 
therefore, this portion of the rule is unnecessary. 
 
The Commission objected to 15A NCAC 08G .0802 based upon lack of statutory authority and ambiguity for the same 
reasons articulated in the objection to Rule 15A NCAC 08F .0406 regarding those grounds. 
 
Phillip Reynolds, with the Attorney General’s office and representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Water Treatment Facility Operators Certification Board 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Dental Examiners 
21 NCAC 16R .0201 was unanimously approved. 
 
Non Pre-Reviewed Rules 
Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement 
08 NCAC 18 .0101 was unanimously approved. 
 
The Commission extended the period of review for 08 NCAC 01 .0106, 08 NCAC 02 .0114, 08 NCAC 05 .0111, 08 NCAC 
10B .0109, 08 NCAC 16 .0101-.0104, 08 NCAC 18 .0101-.0102, and 08 NCAC 20 .0101 in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.10 at the request of the agency.   
 
In addition, the Commission objected to 08 NCAC 01 .0104, 08 NCAC 02 .0110-.0113, 08 NCAC 03 .0101-.0106, .0201-
.0202, .0301-.0302, 08 NCAC 04 .0302-.0307, 08 NCAC 06B .0103-.0105, 08 NCAC 08 .0104, 08 NCAC 09 .0106-.0109, 
and 08 NCAC 10B .0101-.0108 for the reasons set forth in the attached document.   
 
Following the objections by the Commission, the Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement asked the Commission to 
waive Rule 26 NCAC 05 .0108(a) and review rewritten versions of Rules 08 NCAC  02 .0110 and .0111 at the August 
meeting, in order for them to become effective September 1, 2018. The Commission granted the request, with 
Commissioner Poley opposed.  The Commission unanimously approved Rules 08 NCAC 02 .0110 and .0111 as rewritten. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement, Commissioner Doran recused herself 
and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because she has a matter pending before the Board  

of Elections and Ethics Enforcement. 
 
Katelyn Love, the rulemaking coordinator for the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02U 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Wildlife Resources Commission 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
After voting on the rules from the Wildlife Resources Commission, Commissioner Poley left the meeting and did not 
participate for the remainder of the meeting. 
 
Department of Revenue 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Licensing Board for General Contractors 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners, Commissioner Atkins recused himself and did 
not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because of a conflict. 
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Building Code Council 
All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
EXISTING RULES REVIEW 
Private Protective Services Board  
14B NCAC 16 – The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency. 
 
TSERS and LGERS Board of Trustees  
20 NCAC 02 – The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency. 
 
Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure  
21 NCAC 65 – The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency. 
 
Environmental Management Commission  
15A NCAC 02N, O, P - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later 
than January 31, 2023 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
Jennifer Everett, the rulemaking coordinator for the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Substance Abuse Professional Practice Board  
21 NCAC 68 - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule readoption of the rules no later than 
September 30, 2020 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2). 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
Chairman Dunklin asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the closed session minutes of the July 
19, 2018 meeting. There were none and the closed session minutes were approved. 
 
Chairman Dunklin reminded the Commissioners that per their revised bylaws, the election of Commission Officer selections 
will be held at the September meeting.  
 
The meeting adjourned at 1:57 p.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, September 20th at 10:00 a.m. 
 
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Garth Dunklin, Chair 
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

August 16, 2018 Meeting 

BANKING COMMISSION 

Withdrawal/Termination of Authorization as Reverse Mtg. L... 04 NCAC 03K .0404 

 
ELECTIONS AND ETHICS ENFORCEMENT, BOARD OF 

Actions of County Board as to Election Protests 08 NCAC 02 .0110 

Election Protest Form 08 NCAC 02 .0111 

Absentee Ballot Delivery 08 NCAC 18 .0101 

 
HHS - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE, DIVISION OF 

Prevention 10A NCAC 22F .0104 

Investigation 10A NCAC 22F .0302 

Administrative Sanctions and Remedial Measures 10A NCAC 22F .0602 

Provider Lock-Out 10A NCAC 22F .0603 

Withholding of Medicaid Payments 10A NCAC 22F .0604 

Payment Status 10A NCAC 22J .0105 

 
ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Scope and Purpose 15A NCAC 02S .0101 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02S .0102 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02S .0201 

Required Minimum Management Practices 15A NCAC 02S .0202 

Filing 15A NCAC 02S .0301 

Purpose and Applicability 15A NCAC 02S .0501 

Abatement of Imminent Hazard 15A NCAC 02S .0502 

Prioritization of Certification Facilities and Sites 15A NCAC 02S .0503 

Tiered Risk Assessment 15A NCAC 02S .0506 

Remedial Action Plan 15A NCAC 02S .0507 

Land-Use Restrictions 15A NCAC 02S .0508 

No Further Action Criteria 15A NCAC 02S .0509 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02T .0101 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .0102 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02T .0103 

Activities Which Require A Permit 15A NCAC 02T .0104 

General Requirements 15A NCAC 02T .0105 

Submission of Permit Applications 15A NCAC 02T .0106 

Staff Review and Permit Preparation 15A NCAC 02T .0107 

Final Action on Permit Applications to the Division 15A NCAC 02T .0108 

Permit Renewals 15A NCAC 02T .0109 

Modification and Revocation of Permits 15A NCAC 02T .0110 

Conditions for Issuing General Permits 15A NCAC 02T .0111 

Delegation of Authority 15A NCAC 02T .0112 

Permitting by Regulation 15A NCAC 02T .0113 

Wastewater Design Flow Rates 15A NCAC 02T .0114 

Operational Agreements 15A NCAC 02T .0115 
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Certificate of Completion 15A NCAC 02T .0116 

Treatment Facility Operation and Maintenance 15A NCAC 02T .0117 

Demonstration of Future Wastewater Treatment Capacities 15A NCAC 02T .0118 

Historical Consideration in Permit Approval 15A NCAC 02T .0120 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .0201 

Permitting by Regulation 15A NCAC 02T .0203 

Permitting 15A NCAC 02T .0204 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .0301 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02T .0302 

Permitting by Regulation 15A NCAC 02T .0303 

Application Submittal 15A NCAC 02T .0304 

Design Criteria 15A NCAC 02T .0305 

Local Programs for Sewer Systems 15A NCAC 02T .0306 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .0401 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02T .0402 

Permitting by Regulation 15A NCAC 02T .0403 

Multiple Collection Systems Under Common Ownership 15A NCAC 02T .0404 

Implementation 15A NCAC 02T .0405 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .0501 

Application Submittal 15A NCAC 02T .0504 

Design Criteria 15A NCAC 02T .0505 

Setbacks 15A NCAC 02T .0506 

Operation and Maintenance 15A NCAC 02T .0507 

Residuals Management 15A NCAC 02T .0508 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .0601 

Application Submittal 15A NCAC 02T .0604 

Design Criteria 15A NCAC 02T .0605 

Setbacks 15A NCAC 02T .0606 

Connection to Regional System 15A NCAC 02T .0607 

Operation and Maintenance 15A NCAC 02T .0608 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .0701 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02T .0702 

Application Submittal 15A NCAC 02T .0704 

Design Criteria 15A NCAC 02T .0705 

Setbacks 15A NCAC 02T .0706 

Operation and Maintenance 15A NCAC 02T .0707 

Residuals Management 15A NCAC 02T .0708 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .0801 

Application Submittal 15A NCAC 02T .0804 

Design Criteria 15A NCAC 02T .0805 

Setbacks 15A NCAC 02T .0806 

Operation and Maintenance 15A NCAC 02T .0807 

Residuals Management 15A NCAC 02T .0808 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .1101 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02T .1102 

Permitting by Regulation 15A NCAC 02T .1103 

Application Submittal 15A NCAC 02T .1104 
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Pollutant Limits 15A NCAC 02T .1105 

Pathogen Reduction Requirements 15A NCAC 02T .1106 

Vector Attraction Reduction Requirements 15A NCAC 02T .1107 

Setbacks 15A NCAC 02T .1108 

Residuals Management Practices 15A NCAC 02T .1109 

Operation and Maintenance 15A NCAC 02T .1110 

Monitoring and Reporting 15A NCAC 02T .1111 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .1201 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02T .1202 

Permitting by Regulation 15A NCAC 02T .1203 

Application Requirements 15A NCAC 02T .1204 

Pollutant Limits 15A NCAC 02T .1205 

Setbacks 15A NCAC 02T .1206 

Management Practices 15A NCAC 02T .1207 

Operation and Maintenance Plan 15A NCAC 02T .1208 

Monitoring and Reporting 15A NCAC 02T .1209 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .1301 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02T .1302 

Permitting by Regulation 15A NCAC 02T .1303 

State Permitting Requirements 15A NCAC 02T .1304 

NPDES Permitting Requirements 15A NCAC 02T .1305 

Closure Requirements 15A NCAC 02T .1306 

Swine Waste Management System Performance Standards 15A NCAC 02T .1307 

Evaluation and Approval of Swine Waste Management Systems 15A NCAC 02T .1308 

Lagoon Conversion Requirements 15A NCAC 02T .1309 

Animal Waste Residuals Management 15A NCAC 02T .1310 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .1401 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02T .1402 

Permitting by Regulations 15A NCAC 02T .1403 

Annual Reports 15A NCAC 02T .1404 

Scope 15A NCAC 02T .1601 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02T .1602 

Application Submittal 15A NCAC 02T .1604 

Design Criteria 15A NCAC 02T .1605 

Setbacks 15A NCAC 02T .1606 

Monitoring and Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02T .1607 

Requirements for Closure 15A NCAC 02T .1608 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02U .0101 

Scope 15A NCAC 02U .0102 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02U .0103 

Activities which Require a Permit 15A NCAC 02U .0104 

General Requirements 15A NCAC 02U .0105 

Submission of Permit Applications 15A NCAC 02U .0106 

Staff Review and Permit Preparation 15A NCAC 02U .0107 

Final Action on Permit Applications to the Division 15A NCAC 02U .0108 

Permit Renewals 15A NCAC 02U .0109 

Modification and Revocation of Permits 15A NCAC 02U .0110 
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Conditions for Issuing General Permits 15A NCAC 02U .0111 

Delegation of Authority 15A NCAC 02U .0112 

Permitting by Regulation 15A NCAC 02U .0113 

Wastewater Design Flow Rates 15A NCAC 02U .0114 

Operational Agreements 15A NCAC 02U .0115 

Certification of Completion 15A NCAC 02U .0116 

Treatment Facility Operation and Maintenance 15A NCAC 02U .0117 

Demonstration of Future Wastewater Treatment Capacities 15A NCAC 02U .0118 

Historical Consideration in Permit Approval 15A NCAC 02U .0120 

Application Submittal 15A NCAC 02U .0201 

Application Submittal for Dedicated Reclaimed Water Systems 15A NCAC 02U .0202 

Reclaimed Water Effluent Standards 15A NCAC 02U .0301 

Design Criteria for Reclaimed Water Treatment Facilities 15A NCAC 02U .0401 

Design Criteria for Dedicated Reclaimed Water Treatment F... 15A NCAC 02U .0402 

Design Criteria for Distribution Lines 15A NCAC 02U .0403 

Design Criteria for Closed-Loop Recycle Systems 15A NCAC 02U .0404 

Reclaimed Water Utilization 15A NCAC 02U .0501 

Bulk Distribution of Reclaimed Water 15A NCAC 02U .0601 

Setbacks 15A NCAC 02U .0701 

Operation and Maintenance 15A NCAC 02U .0801 

Residuals Management 15A NCAC 02U .0802 

Local Program Approval 15A NCAC 02U .0901 

Wetlands Augmentation 15A NCAC 02U .1101 

Irrigation to Food Chain Crops 15A NCAC 02U .1401 

 
WATER POLLUTION CONTROL SYSTEM OPERATOR CERTIFICATION COMMISSION 

Definitions 15A NCAC 08F .0102 

Duties and Requirements of Owners 15A NCAC 08F .0201 

Duties and Requirements of Certified Operators 15A NCAC 08F .0202 

Duties and Requirements of an Operator in Charge 15A NCAC 08F .0203 

Classification of Animal Waste Managment 15A NCAC 08F .0301 

Qualifications for Examination 15A NCAC 08F .0401 

Application Form 15A NCAC 08F .0402 

Application Procedures 15A NCAC 08F .0403 

Examination Procedures 15A NCAC 08F .0404 

Renewal of Certification 15A NCAC 08F .0405 

Recertification Following Revocation or Relinquishment 15A NCAC 08F .0407 

Who May Assess 15A NCAC 08F .0501 

When Assessable 15A NCAC 08F .0502 

Standards 15A NCAC 08F .0503 

Assessment 15A NCAC 08F .0504 

Payment and Hearing 15A NCAC 08F .0505 

Referrals 15A NCAC 08F .0506 

Definitions 15A NCAC 08G .0102 

Responsibility of System Owners to Designate Certified Op... 15A NCAC 08G .0201 

Responsibilities of An Operator In Responsible Charge (ORC) 15A NCAC 08G .0204 

Responsibilities of a Back-Up Operator In Responsible Cha... 15A NCAC 08G .0205 

Applicability 15A NCAC 08G .0301 
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Classification of Biological Water Pollution Control Trea... 15A NCAC 08G .0302 

Classification of Surface Irrigation Water Pollution Cont... 15A NCAC 08G .0304 

Classification of Land Application of Residuals Systems 15A NCAC 08G .0305 

Classification of Physical/Chemical Water Pollution Contr... 15A NCAC 08G .0306 

Classification of Subsurface Water Pollution Control Systems 15A NCAC 08G .0307 

Eligibility Requirments for Land Application of Residuals... 15A NCAC 08G .0404 

Eligibility Requirments for Physical/Chemical Water Pollu... 15A NCAC 08G .0405 

Eligibility Requirments for Suface Irrigation Water Pollu... 15A NCAC 08G .0406 

Eligibility Requirements for Subsurface Water Pollution C... 15A NCAC 08G .0407 

Reciprocity Certification 15A NCAC 08G .0410 

Applying for Examination 15A NCAC 08G .0501 

Examination Reviews 15A NCAC 08G .0505 

Requirements 15A NCAC 08G .0701 

Grounds for Disciplinary Actions 15A NCAC 08G .0801 

Certification Following Disciplinary Actions 15A NCAC 08G .0803 

 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Atlantic Beach 15A NCAC 10F .0302 

Catawba: Iredell: Lincoln and Mecklenburg Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0307 

Clay County 15A NCAC 10F .0308 

Polk County 15A NCAC 10F .0315 

Onslow County 15A NCAC 10F .0320 

Pender County 15A NCAC 10F .0321 

Swain County 15A NCAC 10F .0335 

Currituck County 15A NCAC 10F .0340 

Catawba County 15A NCAC 10F .0342 

John H. Moss Lake 15A NCAC 10F .0349 

Mountain Island Lake: Mecklenburg, Gaston and Lincoln Cou... 15A NCAC 10F .0353 

Cherokee County 15A NCAC 10F .0359 

Graham County 15A NCAC 10F .0360 

Macon County 15A NCAC 10F .0366 

Hoke County 15A NCAC 10F .0367 

Hertford County 15A NCAC 10F .0372 

Transylvania County 15A NCAC 10F .0373 

Duke Energy Corporation Hydroelectric Station Safety Zones 15A NCAC 10F .0375 

 
WATER TREATMENT FACILITY OPERATORS CERTIFICATION BOARD 

Definitions 15A NCAC 18D .0105 

Grades of Certification 15A NCAC 18D .0201 

Rating Values to Determine Various Classes of Certification 15A NCAC 18D .0203 

Public Water System Treatment, Distribution, and Cross-Co... 15A NCAC 18D .0205 

Expiration and Revocation of Certificate 15A NCAC 18D .0307 

Professional Growth Hours 15A NCAC 18D .0308 

Certification Reinstatement 15A NCAC 18D .0309 

Operator in Responsible Charge 15A NCAC 18D .0701 

 
REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Car Wash Businesses 17 NCAC 07B .3703 
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Gift Wrapping 17 NCAC 07B .3911 

Photo Tinting 17 NCAC 07B .4103 

 
GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

Qualifier 21 NCAC 12 .0205 

Application 21 NCAC 12 .0209 

 
COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Definitions 21 NCAC 14A .0101 

Water 21 NCAC 14H .0301 

Bathroom Facilities 21 NCAC 14H .0303 

Systems of Grading Beauty Establishments 21 NCAC 14H .0504 

 
DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Continuing Education Required 21 NCAC 16R .0201 

 
BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2017 Electrical Code/Cables Run Across the Top of Floor J... 320.23(A) 

2018 NC Mechanical Code/Equipment and appliances on roofs... 306.5 

2018 NC Administrative Code/Information Required 106.3.1 

 

 
RRC Determination 

Periodic Rule Review 
August 16, 2018 

Necessary with substantive public interest 
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14B NCAC 16 .1304 
14B NCAC 16 .1305 
14B NCAC 16 .1306 
14B NCAC 16 .1307 
14B NCAC 16 .1308 
14B NCAC 16 .1401 
14B NCAC 16 .1402 
14B NCAC 16 .1403 
14B NCAC 16 .1404 
14B NCAC 16 .1405 
14B NCAC 16 .1406 
14B NCAC 16 .1407 
14B NCAC 16 .1408 
 
TSERS and LGERS Board of 
Trustees 
20 NCAC 02A .0103 
20 NCAC 02A .0104 
20 NCAC 02A .0301 
20 NCAC 02A .0303 
20 NCAC 02A .0401 
20 NCAC 02A .0504 
20 NCAC 02B .0202 
20 NCAC 02B .0210 
20 NCAC 02B .0211 
20 NCAC 02B .0301 
20 NCAC 02B .0302 
20 NCAC 02B .0303 
20 NCAC 02B .0304 
20 NCAC 02B .0305 
20 NCAC 02B .0307 
20 NCAC 02B .0308 
20 NCAC 02B .0401 
20 NCAC 02B .0402 
20 NCAC 02B .0404 
20 NCAC 02B .0501 
20 NCAC 02B .0502 
20 NCAC 02B .0503 
20 NCAC 02B .0504 

20 NCAC 02B .0510 
20 NCAC 02B .0701 
20 NCAC 02B .0706 
20 NCAC 02B .0801 
20 NCAC 02B .0802 
20 NCAC 02B .0804 
20 NCAC 02B .0805 
20 NCAC 02B .0806 
20 NCAC 02B .0807 
20 NCAC 02B .0810 
20 NCAC 02B .0901 
20 NCAC 02B .0902 
20 NCAC 02B .0903 
20 NCAC 02B .0904 
20 NCAC 02B .0905 
20 NCAC 02B .0906 
20 NCAC 02B .1003 
20 NCAC 02B .1004 
20 NCAC 02B .1005 
20 NCAC 02B .1006 
20 NCAC 02B .1007 
20 NCAC 02B .1101 
20 NCAC 02B .1102 
20 NCAC 02B .1104 
20 NCAC 02B .1204 
20 NCAC 02B .1205 
20 NCAC 02B .1207 
20 NCAC 02C .0201 
20 NCAC 02C .0204 
20 NCAC 02C .0205 
20 NCAC 02C .0301 
20 NCAC 02C .0302 
20 NCAC 02C .0303 
20 NCAC 02C .0304 
20 NCAC 02C .0306 
20 NCAC 02C .0402 
20 NCAC 02C .0403 
20 NCAC 02C .0404 
20 NCAC 02C .0501 

20 NCAC 02C .0502 
20 NCAC 02C .0503 
20 NCAC 02C .0504 
20 NCAC 02C .0704 
20 NCAC 02C .0901 
20 NCAC 02C .0902 
20 NCAC 02C .0906 
20 NCAC 02C .0907 
20 NCAC 02C .0908 
20 NCAC 02C .0909 
20 NCAC 02C .1001 
20 NCAC 02C .1002 
20 NCAC 02C .1003 
20 NCAC 02C .1004 
20 NCAC 02C .1006 
20 NCAC 02C .1007 
20 NCAC 02C .1201 
20 NCAC 02C .1301 
20 NCAC 02C .1302 
20 NCAC 02C .1501 
20 NCAC 02C .1503 
20 NCAC 02C .1504 
20 NCAC 02C .1505 
20 NCAC 02C .1506 
20 NCAC 02F .0101 
20 NCAC 02F .0104 
20 NCAC 02F .0107 
20 NCAC 02F .0108 
20 NCAC 02L .0101 
20 NCAC 02L .0103 
20 NCAC 02L .0202 
20 NCAC 02L .0302 
20 NCAC 02N .0108 
20 NCAC 02N .0208 
20 NCAC 02N .0215 
20 NCAC 02N .0218 
20 NCAC 02N .0219 

 

 
RRC Determination 

Periodic Rule Review 
August 16, 2018 

Necessary without substantive public interest 
 
TSERS and LGERS Board of 
Trustees 
20 NCAC 02A .0101 
20 NCAC 02A .0102 
20 NCAC 02A .0201 
20 NCAC 02A .0202 
20 NCAC 02A .0302 
20 NCAC 02B .0101 
20 NCAC 02C .0101 
20 NCAC 02N .0106 

Recreational Therapy Licensure, 
Board of 
21 NCAC 65 .0203 
21 NCAC 65 .0204 
21 NCAC 65 .0205 
21 NCAC 65 .0301 
21 NCAC 65 .0302 
21 NCAC 65 .0401 
21 NCAC 65 .0501 
21 NCAC 65 .0601 

21 NCAC 65 .0602 
21 NCAC 65 .0603 
21 NCAC 65 .0701 
21 NCAC 65 .0801 
21 NCAC 65 .0901 
21 NCAC 65 .1001 
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TSERS and LGERS Board of 
Trustees 
20 NCAC 02A .0105 
20 NCAC 02A .0402 
20 NCAC 02A .0403 
20 NCAC 02B .0209 
20 NCAC 02B .0212 
20 NCAC 02B .0214 
20 NCAC 02B .0508 
20 NCAC 02B .0811 
20 NCAC 02B .1001 
20 NCAC 02B .1103 
20 NCAC 02B .1105 
20 NCAC 02B .1108 
20 NCAC 02B .1201 
20 NCAC 02C .0203 
20 NCAC 02C .0206 
20 NCAC 02C .0209 

20 NCAC 02C .0701 
20 NCAC 02C .0801 
20 NCAC 02C .0802 
20 NCAC 02C .0803 
20 NCAC 02C .0903 
20 NCAC 02C .0912 
20 NCAC 02C .1101 
20 NCAC 02C .1102 
20 NCAC 02C .1202 
20 NCAC 02C .1203 
20 NCAC 02C .1303 
20 NCAC 02C .1305 
20 NCAC 02C .1306 
20 NCAC 02C .1601 
20 NCAC 02C .1602 
20 NCAC 02C .1603 
20 NCAC 02F .0105 
20 NCAC 02L .0105 

20 NCAC 02L .0201 
20 NCAC 02L .0203 
20 NCAC 02L .0204 
20 NCAC 02L .0301 
20 NCAC 02N .0105 
20 NCAC 02N .0107 
20 NCAC 02N .0206 
20 NCAC 02N .0207 
20 NCAC 02N .0209 
20 NCAC 02N .0210 
20 NCAC 02N .0211 
20 NCAC 02N .0212 
20 NCAC 02N .0213 
20 NCAC 02N .0214 
20 NCAC 02N .0216 
20 NCAC 02N .0217 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

      PUBLISHED      

17 DHR 08430 6/19/2018 June Cecil Causey v. Glana Surles c/o DH & HS, Division of 

Medical Assistance 

May 

18 DHR 00802 6/11/2018 William A Meekins v. The North Carolina Department of 

Health and Human Services Division of 

Medical Assistance 

Overby 

18 DHR 01363 6/4/2018 Maximo Gutierrez 

Joe Gutierrez J and 

M Gutierrez Inc 

d/b/a Tropicana 

Foods 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services Divison of Public Health 

Lassiter 

18 DHR 01364 6/4/2018 Felipe Guiterrez 

Maximo Gutierrez 

Joe Gutierrez FJM 

Gutierrez Inc d/b/a 

Tropicana 

Supermarket 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services Divison of Public Health 

Lassiter 

             

17 EHR 07676 6/19/2018 Evan brice 

Partnership James 

Rice 

v. NC Department of Environmental 

Quality, Division of Water Resources 

Sutton 

             

16 OSP 12291 6/4/2018 Mylandia Wesley v. University of North Carolina at 

Wilmington 

Overby 

17 OSP 08518 6/13/2018 Judith M Ayers v. Currituck County Department of Social 

Services 

Lassiter 

             

      UNPUBLISHED      

18 ABC 01366 6/19/2018 Jarvis Investments 

LLC dba Anchorz 

v. North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Commission 

Overby 
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18 ABC 01768 6/8/2018 Roderick Bailey 

John Clifton Gloria 

Johnson 

v. ABC Commission Malherbe 

18 ABC 02073 6/15/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Spice and Curry LLC T/A Spice and 

Curry 

Malherbe 

             

18 CPS 00725 6/20/2018 Brenda R Stephens v. NC Crime Victims Compensation 

Commission 

Ward 

             

17 CSE 06890 6/13/2018 Fabio Oliveira v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

17 CSE 07041 6/14/2018 Daryl T Smith v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

17 CSE 07148 6/6/2018 Robert Nimocks III v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Sutton 

17 CSE 07151 6/20/2018 Maurice A Carter v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

17 CSE 07320 6/14/2018 Donnimechi 

Williams 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

17 CSE 07325 6/5/2018 Jonathan B Gailes v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

17 CSE 07375 6/14/2018 Justin R Wilson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

17 CSE 07404 6/5/2018 Wayne E Goff v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

17 CSE 07461 6/20/2018 Johntia L Barnette v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

17 CSE 07472 6/6/2018 Richard A Seagroves v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

17 CSE 07567 6/19/2018 Derrick O Dempsey v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

17 CSE 07681 6/5/2018 Keith C Alston v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

17 CSE 07839 6/5/2018 Christopher Devon 

Goodman 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

17 CSE 08175 6/14/2018 Darry D McMorris v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

17 CSE 08323 6/21/2018 Marcus A White v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 
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18 CSE 01749 6/1/2018 Samuel Hinton Jr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

18 CSE 01940 6/19/2018 Brian W Burnett v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Lassiter 

18 CSE 02046 6/8/2018 Rommell P 

Carpenter 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 02573 6/29/2018 Monquell Jenkins v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

             

17 DCS 08476 6/29/2018 Jayson Torres v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

             

17 DHR 05886 6/15/2018 Alyson Moss Wilson v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

17 DHR 06583 6/7/2018 Santana D Barrett v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Ward 

18 DHR 01476 6/8/2018 Shaquan Lesane v. Department of Human Services Ward 

18 DHR 02060 6/5/2018 Devon Strickland v. Caldwell County DSS May 

18 DHR 02062 6/27/2018 Neter Foye Stanley v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Ward 

18 DHR 02069 6/4/2018 Murray Barrie v. Division of Child Development and 

Early Education- Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Sutton 

18 DHR 02241 6/21/2018 Cathy Seals Barber v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Elkins 

18 DHR 02268 6/22/2018 Innovative 

Compliance 

Solutions Desareta 

Jones 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Sutton 

18 DHR 02398 6/18/2018 Rashonda Henley v. Mecklenburg County DSS Sutton 

18 DHR 02667 6/26/2018 Sonja R Hazelwood v. DHHS Overby 

18 DHR 02734 6/14/2018 Tiffany E Watterson v. Cleveland County Dept of Social 

Services 

May 

18 DHR 02797 6/21/2018 James Lewis 

Mitchell Jr 

v. Dept of Health and Human Services, 

Division of Health Service Regulation 

Sutton 

             

18 DOL 01764 6/8/2018 SBT Construction 

Inc Scott Taylor 

v. Jill F Cramer NC Department of Labor Ward 

             

18 DOT 01469 6/22/2018 Horace Hunter 

Bethune 

v. Commissioner of Motor Vehicles Ward 

18 DOT 02294 6/19/2018 Michael Wayne 

Perdue 

v. North Carolina Department of 

Transportation 

Malherbe 

18 DOT 02928 6/27/2018 Dillon Shane Webb 

c/oRomona Tedder 

v. NC Department of Motor Vehicles Overby 
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18 INS 02242 6/4/2018 Evan Jensen v. State Health Plan Malherbe 

18 INS 02490 6/29/2018 Rhonda Todd v. North Carolina Department of State 

Treasurer 

Lassiter 

             

18 MIS 01811 6/8/2018 Danielle A Carter v. Raleigh Police Department Ward 

             

18 SOS 03156 6/21/2018 Luther Bennett 

Williams Luther 

Bennett Williams 

v. Department of the Secretary of State 

(Ann Wall) 

Lassiter 

        
  

    PUBLISHED     
 

15 DHR 02731 7/23/2018 Coy and Shelby 

Miller 

v. APPALACHIAN DISTRICT HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT 

May 

17 DHR 08079 7/31/2018 Alana B Heuermann v. NC DHHS Bawtinhimer 

18 DHR 02002 7/3/2018 William Aguirre 

Owner Mi Barrio Su 

Tienda Hispana Inc 

d/b/a Mi Barrio Su 

Tienda Hispana 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Nutrition Services, Women 

Infants & Children Program 

Elkins 

  
          

 

17 DOJ 07274 7/11/2018 Tommy Lee Briley Jr v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Ward 

17 DOJ 07675 7/2/2018 Jody Richard Stacy v. NC Private Protective Services Board Ward 

18 DOJ 00593 7/24/2018 Olavio Diaz Lopes v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Overby 

18 DOJ 00734 7/20/2018 Richard Neal 

Shipper 

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Elkins 

18 DOJ 02717 7/9/2018 Carlos Santino 

Barbee 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Elkins 

  
          

 

18 INS 01172 7/13/2018 Julie Anne Williams v. The State Health Plan of North Carolina May 
  

    
 

    
 

17 OSP 06444 7/27/2018 Kenneth Johnson v. NC Dept of Administration Ward 

17 OSP 08095 7/3/2018; 

7/5/2018 

Ella Deaver v. New Hanover County Department of 

Social Services 

Ward 

18 OSP 00407 7/10/2018 Ray Dion Brown v. Fayetteville State University Bawtinhimer 
  

    
 

    
 

  
    UNPUBLISHED     

 

18 ABC 02323 7/16/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. A And K Mini Mart T/A A and K Mini 

Mart 

Ward 

18 ABC 02840 7/13/2018 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. Food Lion LLC T/A Food Lion 1614 Sutton 

  
          

 

18 CRA 02216 7/18/2018 Robert Brian Pierce v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

  
          

 

17 CSE 07561 7/26/2018 Dariel Jones, Inmate 

#A51801 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 
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17 CSE 07570 7/16/2018 Juan Cervantes v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Mann 

17 CSE 08108 7/31/2018 Gregory L Goodman v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

17 CSE 08139 7/12/2018 Alan Blakeborough v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

17 CSE 08142 7/19/2018 Floyd C Creecy Jr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

17 CSE 08166 7/19/2018 Vincent A Izediuno v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

17 CSE 08176 7/10/2018 Sean Garner v. NC Pitt Co CSE Agency Lassiter 

17 CSE 08254 7/25/2018 Phillip R Markunas v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 01069 7/23/2018 Eric L Dobbins v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

18 CSE 03092 7/26/2018 Antwon J Taborn v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

  
          

 

18 DHR 01355 7/25/2018 April Seibles v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Ward 

18 DHR 02093 7/23/2018 Jessica Crawford v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services Enterprise Program Integrity 

Control System Notice to Debtor DHHS 

Office of Legal Affairs 

May 

18 DHR 02326 7/23/2018 Alamance Academy 

Mollissre Peterson 

v. Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Lassiter 

18 DHR 02882 7/30/2018 Ladonna Clark v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services Division of Mental 

Health Developmental Disabilities and 

Substance Abuse Services 

Overby 

  
          

 

18 DOJ 00930 7/6/2018 Britley Jornique 

Reed 

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

18 DOJ 02970 7/11/2018 Lance Paul White Jr v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Jacobs 

  
          

 

18 INS 02643 7/12/2018 James M Faison Jr 

by Waverly M 

Faison POA 

v. North Carolina State Health Plan Bawtinhimer 

  
          

 

18 MIS 02369 7/3/2018 Erinn Denise 

Watkins 

v. Jason B Avery Fort Bragg Provost 

Marshall 

Bawtinhimer 

  
          

 

18 OSP 03792 7/26/2018 LaQueisha Booth v. Pitt County Public Health Lassiter 

 


