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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Health and Human Services/Director, DHSR 

intends to amend the rules cited as 10A NCAC 14C .2101 and 

.2103. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

http://www2.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2018 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: September 27, 2018 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: Dorothea Dix Park, Brown Building, Room 104, 801 

Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Several subject matters are 

addressed in the State Medical Facilities Plan (SMFP). The 

operating room need methodology was changed in the 2018 

SMFP that was signed by the governor on December 11, 2017 and 

became effective January 1, 2018. Temporary rules became 

effective February 1, 2018 to implement the SMFP. Permanent 

amendments are now proposed to existing Certificate of Need 

rules to complement or be made consistent with the 2018 SMFP. 

The specific subject area being addressed by these proposed rule 

changes are the criteria and standards for Surgical Services and 

Operating Rooms. The changes include clarification and 

alphabetization of the definitions, deletion of non-applicable 

terms used in the rules of this Section, and addition of definitions 

to reference the terminology in the SMFP. The performance 

standards have been revised to reference the Operating Room 

Need Methodology in the SMFP for applicants proposing to 

increase the number of operating rooms in a service area.  

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends: October 1, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 14 - DIRECTOR, DIVISION OF HEALTH 

SERVICE REGULATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14C – CERTIFICATE OF NEED 

REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .2100 – CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

SURGICAL SERVICES AND OPERATING ROOMS 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Ambulatory surgical facility" means a facility 

as defined in G.S. 131E-176(1b). "Approved 

operating rooms" means those operating rooms 

that were approved for a certificate of need by 

the Healthcare Planning and Certificate of Need 

Section (Agency) prior to the date on which the 

applicant's proposed project was submitted to 

the Agency, but that have not been licensed. 

(2) "Operating room" means a room as defined in 

G.S. 131E-176(18c), which includes an 

inpatient operating room, an outpatient or 

ambulatory surgical operating room, or a shared 

operating room. "Dedicated C-section 

operating room" means an operating room as 

defined in Chapter 6 in the 2018 State Medical 

Facilities Plan. For purposes of this Section, 

Chapter 6 in the 2018 State Medical Facilities 

Plan is hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

This document is available at no cost at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ncsmfp/index.ht

ml. 

(3) "Ambulatory surgical program" means a 

program as defined in G.S. 131E-176(1c). 
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"Existing operating rooms" means those 

operating rooms in ambulatory surgical 

facilities and hospitals that were reported in the 

Ambulatory Surgical Facility License Renewal 

Application Form or in the Hospital License 

Renewal Application Form submitted to the 

Acute and Home Care Licensure and 

Certification Section of the Division of Health 

Service Regulation, and that were licensed prior 

to the beginning of the review period. 

(4) "Dedicated cesarean section operating room" 

means an operating room as defined in the 

applicable State Medical Facilities Plan. 

"Health System" shall have the same meaning 

as defined in Chapter 6 in the 2018 State 

Medical Facilities Plan. 

(5) "Existing operating rooms" means those 

operating rooms in ambulatory surgical 

facilities and hospitals which were reported in 

the License Application for Ambulatory 

Surgical Facilities and Programs and in Part III 

of Hospital Licensure Renewal Application 

Form submitted to the Acute and Home Care 

Licensure and Certification Section of the 

Division of Health Service Regulation and 

which were licensed and certified prior to the 

beginning of the review period. "Operating 

room" means a room as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(18c). 

(6) "Approved operating rooms" means those 

operating rooms that were approved for a 

certificate of need by the Certificate of Need 

Section prior to the date on which the 

applicant's proposed project was submitted to 

the Agency but that have not been licensed. 

"Operating Room Need Methodology" means 

the Methodology for Projecting Operating 

Room Need in Chapter 6 in the 2018 State 

Medical Facilities Plan. 

(7) "Multispecialty ambulatory surgical program" 

means a program as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(15a). "Service area" means the Operating 

Room Service Area as defined in Chapter 6 in 

the 2018 State Medical Facilities Plan. 

(8) "Outpatient or ambulatory surgical operating 

room" means an operating room used solely for 

the performance of surgical procedures which 

require local, regional or general anesthesia and 

a period of post-operative observation of less 

than 24 hours. 

(9) "Related entity" means the parent company of 

the applicant, a subsidiary company of the 

applicant (i.e., the applicant owns 50 percent or 

more of another company), a joint venture in 

which the applicant is a member, or a company 

that shares common ownership with the 

applicant (i.e., the applicant and another 

company are owned by some of the same 

persons). 

(10) "Service area" means the Operating Room 

Service Area as defined in the applicable State 

Medical Facilities Plan. 

(11) "Shared operating room" means an operating 

room that is used for the performance of both 

ambulatory and inpatient surgical procedures. 

(12) "Specialty area" means an area of medical 

practice in which there is an approved medical 

specialty certificate issued by a member board 

of the American Board of Medical Specialties 

and includes the following: gynecology, 

otolaryngology, plastic surgery, general 

surgery, ophthalmology, urology, orthopedics, 

and oral surgery. 

(13) "Specialty ambulatory surgical program" 

means a program as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(24c). 

(14) "Surgical case" means an individual who 

receives one or more surgical procedures in an 

operating room during a single operative 

encounter. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2103 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  In projecting utilization, the operating rooms shall be 

considered to be available for use five days per week and 52 

weeks a year. An applicant proposing to increase the number of 

operating rooms (excluding dedicated C-section operating rooms) 

in a service area shall demonstrate the need for the number of 

proposed operating rooms in addition to the existing and approved 

operating rooms in the applicant's health system in the applicant's 

third full fiscal year following completion of the proposed project 

based on the Operating Room Need Methodology set forth in the 

2018 State Medical Facilities Plan. The applicant is not required 

to use the population growth factor. 

(b)  A proposal to establish a new ambulatory surgical facility, to 

establish a new campus of an existing facility, to establish a new 

hospital, to increase the number of operating rooms in an existing 

facility (excluding dedicated C-section operating rooms), to 

convert a specialty ambulatory surgical program to a 

multispecialty ambulatory surgical program or to add a specialty 

to a specialty ambulatory surgical program shall: 

(1) demonstrate the need for the number of 

proposed operating rooms in the facility which 

is proposed to be developed or expanded in the 

third operating year of the project based on the 

following formula: {[(Number of facility's 

projected inpatient cases, excluding trauma 

cases reported by Level I or II trauma centers, 

cases reported by designated burn intensive 

care units and cases performed in dedicated 

open heart and C-section rooms, times 3.0 

hours) plus (Number of facility's projected 

outpatient cases times 1.5 hours)] divided by 

1872 hours} minus the facility's total number of 

existing and approved operating rooms and 

operating rooms proposed in another pending 

application, excluding one operating room for 
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Level I or II trauma centers, one operating room 

for facilities with designated burn intensive care 

units, and all dedicated open heart and C-

section operating rooms or demonstrate 

conformance of the proposed project to Policy 

AC-3 in the State Medical Facilities Plan titled 

"Exemption From Plan Provisions for Certain 

Academic Medical Center Teaching Hospital 

Projects;" and 

(2) The number of rooms needed is determined as 

follows: 

(A) in a service area which has more than 

10 operating rooms, if the difference is 

a positive number greater than or equal 

to 0.5, then the need is the next highest 

whole number for fractions of 0.5 or 

greater and the next lowest whole 

number for fractions less than 0.5; and 

if the difference is a negative number 

or a positive number less than 0.5, then 

the need is zero; 

(B) in a service area which has 6 to 10 

operating rooms, if the difference is a 

positive number greater than or equal 

to 0.3, then the need is the next highest 

whole number for fractions of 0.3 or 

greater and the next lowest whole 

number for fractions less than 0.3, and 

if the difference is a negative number 

or a positive number less than 0.3, then 

the need is zero; and 

(C) in a service area which has five or 

fewer operating rooms, if the 

difference is a positive number greater 

than or equal to 0.2, then the need is 

the next highest whole number for 

fractions of 0.2 or greater and the next 

lowest whole number for fractions less 

than 0.2; and if the difference is a 

negative number or a positive number 

less than 0.2, then the need is zero. 

(c)  A proposal to increase the number of operating rooms 

(excluding dedicated C-section operating rooms) in a service area 

shall: 

(1) demonstrate the need for the number of 

proposed operating rooms in addition to the 

rooms in all of the licensed facilities identified 

in response to 10A NCAC 14C .2102(b)(2) in 

the third operating year of the proposed project 

based on the following formula: {[(Number of 

projected inpatient cases for all the applicant's 

or related entities' facilities, excluding trauma 

cases reported by Level I or II trauma centers, 

cases reported by designated burn intensive 

care units and cases performed in dedicated 

open heart and C-section rooms, times 3.0 

hours) plus (Number of projected outpatient 

cases for all the applicant's or related entities' 

facilities times 1.5 hours)] divided by 1872 

hours} minus the total number of existing and 

approved operating rooms and operating rooms 

proposed in another pending application, 

excluding one operating room for Level I or II 

trauma centers, one operating room for 

facilities with designated burn intensive care 

units, and all dedicated open heart and C-

Section operating rooms in all of the applicant's 

or related entities' licensed facilities in the 

service area; and 

(2) The number of rooms needed is determined as 

follows: 

(A) in a service area which has more than 

10 operating rooms, if the difference is 

a positive number greater than or equal 

to 0.5, then the need is the next highest 

whole number for fractions of 0.5 or 

greater and the next lowest whole 

number for fractions less than 0.5; and 

if the difference is a negative number 

or a positive number less than 0.5, then 

the need is zero; 

(B) in a service area which has 6 to 10 

operating rooms, if the difference is a 

positive number greater than or equal 

to 0.3, then the need is the next highest 

whole number for fractions of 0.3 or 

greater and the next lowest whole 

number for fractions less than 0.3, and 

if the difference is a negative number 

or a positive number less than 0.3, then 

the need is zero; and 

(C) in a service area which has five or 

fewer operating rooms, if the 

difference is a positive number greater 

than or equal to 0.2, then the need is 

the next highest whole number for 

fractions of 0.2 or greater and the next 

lowest whole number for fractions less 

than 0.2; and if the difference is a 

negative number or a positive number 

less than 0.2, then the need is zero. 

(d)  An applicant that has one or more existing or approved 

dedicated C-section operating rooms and is proposing to develop 

an additional dedicated C-section operating room in the same 

facility shall demonstrate that an average of at least 365 C-

sections per room were performed in the facility's existing 

dedicated C-section operating rooms in the previous 12 months 

and are projected to be performed in the facility's existing, 

approved and proposed dedicated C-section rooms during the 

third year of operation following completion of the project. 

(e)  An applicant proposing to convert a specialty ambulatory 

surgical program to a multispecialty ambulatory surgical program 

or to add a specialty to a specialty ambulatory surgical program 

shall: 

(1) provide documentation to show that each 

existing ambulatory surgery program in the 

service area that performs ambulatory surgery 

in the same specialty area as proposed in the 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2018 

140 

application is currently utilized an average of at 

least 1,872 hours per operating room per year, 

excluding dedicated open heart and C-Section 

operating rooms. The hours utilized per 

operating room shall be calculated as follows: 

[(Number of projected inpatient cases, 

excluding open heart and C-sections performed 

in dedicated rooms, times 3.0 hours) plus 

(Number of projected outpatient cases times 1.5 

hours)] divided by the number of operating 

rooms, excluding dedicated open heart and C-

Section operating rooms; and 

(2) demonstrate the need in the third operating year 

of the project based on the following formula: 

[(Total number of projected outpatient cases for 

all ambulatory surgery programs in the service 

area times 1.5 hours) divided by 1872 hours] 

minus the total number of existing, approved 

and proposed outpatient or ambulatory surgical 

operating rooms and shared operating rooms in 

the service area. The need is demonstrated if the 

difference is a positive number greater than or 

equal to one, after the number is rounded to the 

next highest number for fractions of 0.50 or 

greater. 

(f)(b)  The applicant shall document the assumptions and provide 

data supporting the methodology used for each projection in this 

Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177; 131E-183(b). 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to adopt the 

rules cited as 14B NCAC 15A .2201-.2205. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

www.abc.nc.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2018 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: October 10, 2018 

Time: 10:00 a.m. 

Location: ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To adopt permanent rules to 

replace the temporary rules that became effective February 23, 

2018 regulating the sale of certain alcoholic beverages at auction 

as a result of amendments to the law and the enactment of G.S. 

18B-1002.1 by the General Assembly in S.L. 2017-87, Section 3. 

 

Comments may be submitted to: Walker Reagan, 400 East 

Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610, phone (919)779-8367, fax 

(919)661-6165, email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends: October 10, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 15A - ORGANIZATIONAL RULES:  

POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 

 

SECTION .2200 – SPECIAL ONE-TIME PERMITS 

 

14B NCAC 15A .2201 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to this Section: 

(1) "Collector" means a person, other than an 

industry member, engaged in the collection of 

one or more wines, decorative decanters of 

spirituous liquor, or antique spirituous liquors. 

(2) "Decorative decanters of spirituous liquor" 

means the manufacturer's original sealed 

decanters, limited in quantities as a specialized 

limited run or as a limited edition, filled with 

spirituous liquor by a person issued a permit 

pursuant to state or federal law. 

(3) "Private sale" means a sale between two 

collectors, neither of who are required to hold 

permits pursuant to Chapter 18B of the General 

Statutes, except for permits issued pursuant to 

G.S. 18B-1002(a)(4). 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1002. 
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14B NCAC 15A .2202 COLLECTOR TRANSPORT OR 

SALE PERMITS 

To qualify for a permit issued pursuant to G.S. 18B-1002(a)(4), in 

addition to the applicable information required pursuant to G.S. 

18B-900, a collector shall submit an application to the 

Commission that requires the following information: 

(1) the basis for qualification as a collector; 

(2) whether the application is for the transportation 

or sale of wine or spirituous liquors; 

(3) a list of the specific wine or spirituous liquors 

being transported, possessed, or sold, including 

the name, brand, quantity, and volume of each 

bottle or decanter; 

(4) pictures of the containers of spirituous liquors 

to be transported, possessed, or sold in 

sufficient clarity for the content of the labels to 

be legible; 

(5) if the application is for a sale, the details of the 

method of sale including whether the sale will 

be as a special order pursuant to 14B NCAC 

15A .1403, by auction, or by private sale, 

including the name of the buyer if by special 

order or private sale, or the name of the 

auctioneer if by auction; and 

(6) certification under oath to the conditions for 

permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-900. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-900; 18B-1002. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .2203 PERMISSIBLE SALES UNDER 

COLLECTOR TRANSPORT OR SALE PERMIT 

(a)  Sales of wine or spirituous liquor by the holder of a permit 

issued pursuant to Rule .2202 of this Section shall be subject to 

the following conditions: 

(1) sales shall only be made to persons at least 21 

years of age; 

(2) sales shall only be made as a special order 

pursuant to 14B NCAC 15A .1403, by auction, 

or by private sale; 

(3) sales shall be conducted subject to the dates, 

time, place, and manner specified in the permit; 

(4) no sales shall be made to a person who is 

intoxicated as defined in 14B NCAC 15B 

.0101(2); and 

(5) the quantity of wine or spirituous liquor sold to 

a single buyer shall not be in excess of the limits 

set forth in G.S. 18B-303, unless the buyer of 

the wine or spirituous liquor has a valid permit 

issued pursuant to G.S. 18B-1002(a)(4). 

(b)  The wine or spirituous liquor sold pursuant to a permit issued 

pursuant to this Rule shall remain in the possession of the 

collector until transferred to the buyer. 

(c)  A permit issued pursuant to G.S. 18B-1002(a)(4) is not 

required for sales of wine or spirituous liquors by auction pursuant 

to G.S. 18B-1002.1. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1002. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .2204 SPECIAL AUCTION PERMITS 

(a)  To qualify for a permit issued pursuant to G.S. 18B-1002.1, 

in addition to the applicable information required pursuant to G.S. 

18B-900, an auction firm or auctioneer licensed pursuant to 

Chapter 85B of the General Statutes shall submit an application 

to the Commission that requires the following information: 

(1) a copy of the applicable active license issued by 

the North Carolina Auctioneers Commission; 

(2) the details of the date, time, duration, place, and 

manner of the auction; 

(3) a list of the specific wine or spirituous liquors 

which may be subject to auction, including the 

name, brand, quantity, and volume of each 

bottle or decanter; and 

(4) pictures of the containers of spirituous liquors 

to be sold in sufficient clarity for the content of 

the labels to be legible. 

(b)  No permit is required pursuant to G.S. 18B-1002.1 for sale at 

auction of alcoholic beverages pursuant to a permit issued 

pursuant to G.S. 18B-1002(a)(1), (2) or (3), or a permit issued 

pursuant to G.S. 18B-1002(a)(4) when the auction is conducted 

on the collector's premises and the alcoholic beverages remain in 

the possession of the collector until transferred to the buyer. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-900; 18B-1002.1. 

 

14B NCAC 15A .2205 CONDITIONS OF SALE UNDER 

SPECIAL AUCTION PERMITS 

Sales at auction of wine or spirituous liquor by the holder of a 

permit issued pursuant to Rule .2204 of this Section shall be 

subject to the following conditions: 

(1) the auctioneer shall be in physical possession of 

the wine or spirituous liquor subject to sale at 

auction; 

(2) sales shall only be made to persons at least 21 

years of age; 

(3) sales shall be conducted subject to the date, 

time, place, and manner specified in the permit; 

(4) no sales shall be made to a person who is 

intoxicated as defined in 14B NCAC 15B 

.0101(2); 

(5) delivery of possession of a quantity of wine or 

spirituous liquor sold pursuant to this Rule to a 

single buyer in excess of the limits set forth in 

G.S. 18B-303 shall not be permitted unless the 

buyer at auction of the wine or spirituous liquor 

has a valid permit issued pursuant to G.S. 18B-

1002(a)(4) or otherwise complies with the 

provisions of G.S. 18B-303; 

(6) records of sales maintained in accordance with 

G.S. 85B-7(d) of an auction conducted pursuant 

to Rule .2204 of this Section shall be open to 

inspection by the Commission and law 

enforcement agents in accordance with G.S. 

18B-502; and 

(7) purchases by the holder of a permit issued 

pursuant to Rule .2204 of this Section who bids 

on and purchases at auction wine or spirituous 

liquor shall be subject to the conditions, 
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limitations, and requirements of Items (2), (4), 

and (5) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-303; 18B-502; 18B-

1002; 18B-1002.1. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Marine Fisheries Commission 

intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A 

NCAC 03I .0120, 03J .0102, .0108, .0203, .0204, .0206, .0207, 

.0303, .0304, .0306; 03K .0402-.0405, .0501, .0502, .0504, .0507, 

.0508; 03L .0208; 03M .0101-.0103, .0501, .0502, .0506, .0507, 

.0510, .0513, .0515, .0517, .0518, .0520; 03O .0106, .0112, .0501, 

.0503; 03R .0112 and readopt without substantive changes the 

rules cited as 15A NCAC 03J .0209; 03K .0503; 03M .0521. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/mfc-proposed-rules-links 

 

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: Wednesday, August 22, 2018 

Time: 6:00 p.m. 

Location: Division of Marine Fisheries, 5285 Highway 70 West, 

Morehead City, NC 28557 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

The agency proposes 41 rules for readoption in accordance with 

G.S. 150B-21.3A for the Periodic Review and Expiration of 

Existing Rules. This is the first of four packages of rules in 15A 

NCAC 03 for readoption over a four-year period. Proposed text 

shows conforming and minor technical changes to the rules. 

Additional changes are proposed to 15A NCAC 03O .0501 and 

.0503 to alphabetize permits and delete two obsolete permits 

(Albemarle Sound Management Area for River Herring Dealer 

Permit; Permit to Waive the Requirement to use Turtle Excluder 

Devices in the Atlantic Ocean). Also, additional changes are 

proposed to 15A NCAC 03O .0112 to comply with G.S. 113-174.3 

as amended by Session Law 2013-360. Conforming changes 

include eliminating references to the previously-repealed For-

Hire Permit and a prior blanket license and replacing them with 

references to the current Blanket For-Hire Captain’s Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License (CRFL), Blanket For-Hire Vessel 

CRFL, and Non-Blanket For-Hire Vessel License, as provided in 

statute. The proposed amendments also clarify requirements for 

for-hire licenses. No changes are proposed to 15A NCAC 03J 

.0209, 03K .0503, or 03M .0521; however, the agency opted to 

publish the text of all rules proposed for readoption to minimize 

confusion and increase transparency for regulated stakeholders. 

 

Comments may be submitted to: Catherine Blum, P.O. Box 769, 

Morehead City, NC 28557; phone (252)808-8014; email 

Catherine.blum@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends: October 1, 2018 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2) 

 

CHAPTER 03 - MARINE FISHERIES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03I – GENERAL RULES 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL RULES 

 

15A NCAC 03I .0120 POSSESSION OR 

TRANSPORTATION LIMITS 

(a)  It is unlawful to possess any species of fish which that is 

subject to size season, size, or harvest restrictions, while actively 

engaged in a fishing operation, unless all fish taken are in 

compliance with the restrictions for the waterbody and area being 

fished. If State season, size, or harvest restrictions that implement 

or comply with a fishery management plan adopted by the 

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, in accordance with 

G.S. 113-252, or adopted by the United States Secretary of 

Commerce pursuant to the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery 

Conservation and Management Act, 16 U.S.C. 1801, et seq. as 

amended, differ from regulations adopted by these entities, or if 

there are no federal regulations, the State restrictions shall apply. 

Nothing provided here is intended to supersede or interrupt the 

process to address State restrictions that do not implement or 

comply with a fishery management plan as described in this 

Paragraph. This process is found in the N.C. Fishery Management 

Plan for Interjurisdictional Fisheries available at 

http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/nc-fisheries-management. 

(b)  It is unlawful to import into the state State species of fish 

native to North Carolina for sale in North Carolina that do not 

meet established size limits, limits established by rule or 
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proclamation, except as provided in 15A NCAC 03K .0202(c), 

.0202, 03K .0207, 03K and .0305, and 03M .0503. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-170; 113-170.4; 113-170.5; 113-

182; 113-182.1; 113-252; 143B-289.52. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03J - NETS, POTS, DREDGES, AND 

OTHER FISHING DEVICES 

 

SECTION .0100 - NET RULES, GENERAL 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0102 NETS OR NET STAKES 

It is unlawful to use nets or net stakes: 

(1) Within within 150 yards of any railroad or 

highway bridge crossing the Northeast Cape 

Fear River, New River, White Oak River, Trent 

River, Neuse River, Pamlico River, Roanoke 

River, and Alligator River; River. 

(2) Within within 300 yards of any highway bridge 

crossing Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, 

Croatan Sound, Currituck Sound Sound, and 

Roanoke Sound; Sound. 

(3) If if such net stakes are of metallic material. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0108 NETS PULLED BY MORE THAN 

ONE BOAT VESSEL 

It is unlawful to pull or tow a net with more than one boat vessel, 

except in long-haul fishing long haul operations. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

SECTION .0200 - NET RULES, SPECIFIC AREAS 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0203 CHOWAN RIVER AND ITS 

TRIBUTARIES 

(a)  In the Chowan River and its tributaries: tributaries, it is 

unlawful to: 

(1) It is unlawful to anchor the lead line of any net 

closer than 50 feet from shore shore, except in 

the Meherrin River. 

(2) It is unlawful to use pound nets in any tributary 

creek or within 150 yards of the mouth of any 

such tributary creek of the Chowan River. 

(3)(2) It is unlawful to set a pound net within 200 

yards parallel to any other pound net in the 

Chowan River. 

(4) It is unlawful to use a seine within 1,000 yards 

of the mouth of any creek tributary to the 

Chowan River. 

(5)(3) It is unlawful to set a trotline within 100 yards 

of a pound net from February 1 through May 

31. 

(b)  It is unlawful to set a pound net in any tributary of the Chowan 

River or within 150 yards of the mouth of any tributary of the 

Chowan River. 

(c)  It is unlawful to use a seine within 1,000 yards of the mouth 

of any tributary of the Chowan River. 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0204 CURRITUCK SOUND AND ITS 

TRIBUTARIES 

In Currituck Sound and its tributaries: tributaries, it is unlawful to 

use a seine: 

(1) It is unlawful to use any net or seine with more 

than one power boat. in long haul operations. 

(2) It is unlawful to use any seine or haul net which 

that is more than 900 yards in length or which 

that has a mesh length of less than three inches. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0206 SOUTHPORT BOAT HARBOR 

It is unlawful to use any commercial fishing gear in the Southport 

Boat Harbor, Brunswick County, north of a line beginning at a 

point on the west side of the mouth of the harbor 33°54.9656'N – 

78°01.4477' W 33° 54.9656' N – 78° 01.4477' W running easterly 

to a point on the east side of the mouth of the harbor 33°54.9656'N 

– 78°01.3797' W. 33° 54.9656' N – 78° 01.3797' W. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0207 DUKE ENERGY PROGRESS 

BRUNSWICK NUCLEAR PLANT INTAKE CANAL 

It is unlawful to use any commercial fishing equipment in the 

Duke Energy Progress Brunswick Nuclear Plant Intake Canal a 

nuclear plant intake canal between the fish diversion screen and 

the Duke Energy Progress Brunswick Nuclear Plant. nuclear 

plant. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0209 ALBEMARLE SOUND/CHOWAN 

SOUND AND CHOWAN RIVER RIVER HERRING 

MANAGEMENT AREAS (NECESSARY WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE PUBLIC INTEREST) 

It is unlawful to use drift gill nets with a mesh length less than 

three inches from January 1 through May 15 in the Albemarle 

Sound and Chowan River river herring management areas defined 

in 15A NCAC 03R .0202. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

SECTION .0300 - POTS, DREDGES, AND OTHER 

FISHING DEVICES 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0303 DREDGES AND MECHANICAL 

METHODS PROHIBITED 

(a)  It is unlawful to use any dredge weighing more than 100 

pounds pounds, except in the Atlantic Ocean. 

(b)  It is unlawful to use more than one dredge per vessel to take 

oysters or crabs or to use any dredges or mechanical methods 

between sunset and sunrise. 

(c)  It is unlawful to possess oysters aboard a vessel with a dredge 

weighing more than 100 pounds on board. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 
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15A NCAC 03J .0304 ELECTRICAL FISHING DEVICE 

IN CAPE FEAR RIVER 

It is unlawful to take catfish by the use of a hand-operated device 

generating pulsating electrical current in the Cape Fear River 

except except: 

(1) from 800 feet downstream of Lock and Dam 

No. 1 in Bladen County to where the Black 

River joins the Cape Fear River River; and 

(2) from July 1 through the last day of February. 

March 1. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0306 HOOK-AND-LINE HOOK AND 

LINE 

It is unlawful to use any hook larger than 4/0 from July 1 through 

September 30 in the internal coastal fishing waters Internal 

Coastal Waters of Pamlico Sound and its tributaries south of the 

Albemarle Sound Management Area as defined in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201 and north of a line beginning at a point 34° 59.7942' N 

- 76° 14.6514' W on Camp Point; running easterly to a point 34° 

58.7853' N - 76° 09.8922' W on Core Banks while using natural 

bait from 7:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m. unless the terminal tackle consists 

of: 

(1) A circle hook a "circle hook", defined for the 

purpose of this Rule as a hook with the point of 

the hook directed perpendicularly back toward 

the shank, shank and with the barb either 

compressed or removed; and 

(2) A a fixed sinker not less than two ounces in 

weight, secured not more than six inches from 

the fixed weight to the circle hook. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-182.1; 143B-289.52. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03K - OYSTERS, CLAMS, SCALLOPS 

SCALLOPS, AND MUSSELS 

 

SECTION .0400 - RANGIA CLAMS 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0402 SEASON, SIZE AND HARVEST 

LIMITS 

Size and harvest limits applicable to hard clams in 15A NCAC 

03K Rule .0301 of this Subchapter do not apply to Rangia clams. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 113-202; 

143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0403 DISPOSITION OF MEATS 

It is unlawful to dispose of meats from Rangia clams taken in from 

prohibited (polluted) waters for by a method that will result in 

human consumption or by a method that will create risk of human 

consumption. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 113-202; 143B-

298.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0404 DREDGES/MECHANICAL 

DREDGES AND MECHANICAL METHODS 

PROHIBITED AND OPEN SEASON 

It is unlawful to use mechanical methods for oystering or 

clamming to take Rangia clams or their shells: 

(1) within 100 feet of any pier; 

(2) within any established bed of submerged 

aquatic vegetation as defined in 15A NCAC 03I 

.0101 or salt water cordgrass (Spartina 

alterniflora) that may exist together or 

separately; 

(3) in areas designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0108, 

except on shellfish leases and franchises with a 

Permit to Use Mechanical Methods for Oysters 

and Clams Shellfish on Shellfish Leases and 

Franchises. 

(4) in areas designated in 15A NCAC 03K .0204(3) 

and 03R .0103; Rule .0204 of this Subchapter 

and 15A NCAC 03R .0103 and 

(5) except in areas and at times specified by 

proclamation as authorized by 15A NCAC 03K 

.0201 and 03K .0302. Rules .0201 and .0302 of 

this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0405 OYSTERS, MUSSELS, HARD 

CLAMS CLAMS, OR MUSSELS PROHIBITED 

While taking Rangia clams or their shells from a prohibited 

(polluted) area it It is unlawful to possess any other shellfish. 

oysters, hard clams, or mussels while taking Rangia clams or their 

shells from a prohibited (polluted) area. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 143B-289.52. 

 

SECTION .0500 - SCALLOPS 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0501 BAY SCALLOP HARVEST 

MANAGEMENT 

The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any or all 

of the following restrictions for commercial or recreational on the 

taking of bay scallop harvest scallops from public bottom: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify open seasons for the taking of bay 

scallops during the period beginning the last 

Monday in January and ending the last Friday 

in May; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity, but shall not exceed 

possession of more than 15 standard U.S. 

bushels per person per day or a total of 30 

standard U.S. bushels in any combined 

commercial fishing operation per day. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 113-221.1; 143B-

289.52. 
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15A NCAC 03K .0502 TAKING BAY SCALLOPS AT 

NIGHT AND ON WEEKENDS 

(a)  It is unlawful to take bay scallops between sunset and sunrise, 

or on Saturdays or Sundays, except as provided in 15A NCAC 

03K .0105. Rule .0105 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Bay scallops taken on Saturdays or Sundays from shellfish 

leases or franchises in accordance with G.S. 113-208 are exempt 

from this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0503 PROHIBITED BAY SCALLOP 

DREDGE PROHIBITED (NECESSARY WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE PUBLIC INTEREST) 

It is unlawful to take bay scallops with dredges weighing more 

than 50 pounds or equipped with teeth. Any other instrument or 

device designed to drag the bottom to aid in the taking of bay 

scallops is also prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0504 CALICO SCALLOP SEASON 

HARVEST MANAGEMENT 

(a)  It is unlawful to land or possess aboard a vessel calico scallops 

except except, at such times as designated by the Fisheries 

Director by proclamation. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, be proclamation, impose any or 

all of the following restrictions on the taking of calico scallops: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0507 MARKETING SCALLOPS 

TAKEN FROM SHELLFISH LEASES OR FRANCHISES 

(a)  It is unlawful to sell, purchase, or possess scallops during the 

closed season without the lease or franchise holder delivering to 

the purchaser or other recipient a certification, on a form provided 

by the Division, Division of Marine Fisheries, that the scallops 

were taken from a valid shellfish lease or franchise. Certification 

forms shall be furnished by the Division to lease and franchise 

holders upon request. 

(b)  It is unlawful for lease or franchise holders or their designees 

to take or possess scallops from public bottom while possessing 

aboard a vessel scallops taken from shellfish leases or franchises. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0508 SCALLOP SEASON AND 

AQUACULTURE HARVEST LIMIT EXEMPTIONS 

The following exemptions and restrictions shall apply to the 

possession, sale, purchase, or transport of scallops produced in an 

aquaculture operation: 

(1) Possession and sale of scallops by a scallop 

aquaculture operation shall be exempt from 

restrictions set forth in 15A NCAC 03K Rules 

.0501, .0504, and .0505. .0505 of this Section. 

(2) Purchase and possession of scallops from a 

scallop aquaculture operation shall be exempt 

from restrictions set forth in 15A NCAC 03K 

Rules .0501, .0504, and .0505. .0505 of this 

Section. 

(3) It is unlawful for a person to possess, sell, 

purchase, or transport scallops described in 

Sub-Items (1) and (2) of this Rule unless in 

compliance with all conditions of the 

Aquaculture Operation Permit, as set forth in 

15A NCAC 03O .0501 and .0503. Permit set 

forth in 15A NCAC 03O .0500. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 143B-289.52. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03L – SHRIMPS, CRAB, AND LOBSTER 

 

SECTION .0200 – CRABS 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0208 STONE CRABS (MENIPPE 

MERCENARIA) 

It is unlawful to: 

(1) Possess stone crab bodies, or fail to 

immediately return stone crab bodies to the 

waters from which taken; 

(2) Remove, take or possess any claw(s) from June 

15 through August 15; 

(3) Remove, take or possess any claw(s) from egg-

bearing stone crabs; 

(4) Use any device to take stone crabs that can 

puncture, crush, or injure the crab body, such as 

gigs, spears, grabs, hooks, or similar devices; 

and 

(5) Remove, take or possess stone crab claw(s) 

which have a propodus (forearm) less than two 

and three quarter inches in length, measured by 

a straight line from the elbow to the tip of the 

lower immovable finger. The propodus 

(forearm) is defined as the largest section of the 

claw assembly that has both a movable and 

immovable finger and is located farthest from 

the body of the crab. 

(a)  It is unlawful to possess stone crab bodies or fail to 

immediately return stone crab bodies to the waters from which 

taken. 

(b)  It is unlawful to remove, take, or possess any stone crab 

claw(s) from June 15 through August 15. 

(c)  It is unlawful to remove, take, or possess any claw(s) from 

egg-bearing stone crabs. 

(d)  It is unlawful to use any device to take stone crabs that can 

puncture, crush, or injure the crab body, such as gigs, spears, 

grabs, hooks, or similar devices. 

(e)  It is unlawful to remove, take, or possess stone crab claw(s) 

that have a propodus (forearm) less than 2 and ¾ inches in length, 

measured by a straight line from the elbow to the tip of the lower 
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immovable finger. For the purpose of this Rule, "propodus" is 

defined as the largest section of the claw assembly that has both a 

movable and immovable finger and is located farthest from the 

body of the crab. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03M - FINFISH 

 

SECTION .0100 – FINFISH, GENERAL 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0101 MUTILATED FINFISH 

It is unlawful to possess aboard a vessel or while engaged in 

fishing any species of finfish that is subject to a size or harvest 

restriction without having head and tail attached, except: 

(1) mullet when used for bait; 

(2) hickory shad when used for bait bait, provided 

that not more than two hickory shad per vessel 

or fishing operation may be cut for bait at any 

one time; and 

(3) tuna possessed in a commercial fishing 

operation as provided in 15A NCAC 03M 

.0520. Rule .0520 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0102 UNMARKETABLE FINFISH 

(a)  It is unlawful to land finfish if in violation of minimum size 

or possession limits established by rule or proclamation. 

(b)(a)  It is unlawful to land finfish finfish, taken in connection 

with a commercial fishing operations which operation, that are 

unmarketable as individual finfish by reason of size, except a 

quantity not exceeding 5,000 pounds per vessel per day may be 

sold to a dealer that is licensed under G.S. 113-169.3(f)(6), (7) and 

(7), or (8). 

(c)(b)  Menhaden, Atlantic menhaden, Atlantic thread herring, 

gizzard shad, and pinfish are exempt from this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-185; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0103 MINIMUM SIZE LIMITS 

It is unlawful to possess, sell, or purchase finfish under four inches 

in length except: 

(1) bait in the crab pot fishery in North Carolina 

with the following provision: such crab pot bait 

shall not be transported west of U.S. Interstate 

95 and when transported, shall be accompanied 

by documentation showing the name and 

address of the shipper, the name and address of 

the consignee, and the total weight of the 

shipment; 

(2) bait in the finfish fishery with the following 

provisions: 

(a) It it is unlawful to possess more than 

200 pounds of live finfish or 100 

pounds of dead finfish; and 

(b) Such such finfish bait may not be 

transported outside the State of North 

Carolina; 

(3) live finfish in aquaria, provided the finfish are 

not subject to other minimum size limits under 

the authority of Marine Fisheries Commission 

Rule; rules; and 

(4) menhaden, herring, Atlantic menhaden, 

Atlantic thread herring, gizzard shad, and 

pinfish. 

Bait dealers who possess a valid finfish dealer license from the 

Division of Marine Fisheries are exempt from Sub-Items (2)(a) 

and (b) of this Rule. Tolerance of not more than five percent by 

number of species shall be allowed. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-185; 143B-289.52. 

 

SECTION .0500 – OTHER FINFISH 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0501 RED DRUM 

(a)  It is unlawful to remove red drum from any type of net with 

the aid of any boat hook, gaff, spear, gig, or similar device. 

(b)  It is unlawful to take or possess red drum taken by any boat 

hook, gaff, spear, gig, or similar device. 

(c)  It is unlawful to possess red drum less than 18 inches total 

length or greater than 27 inches total length. 

(d)  It is unlawful to possess more than one red drum per person 

per day taken by hook-and-line hook and line or for recreational 

purposes. 

(e)  The annual Annual commercial harvest limit (September 1 

through August 31) for red drum drum: is 250,000 pounds. The 

annual commercial harvest limit is allotted in two periods: 

September 1 through April 30 at 150,000 pounds, and May 1 

through August 31 at 100,000 pounds plus any remainder from 

the first period allotment. Any annual commercial harvest limit 

that is exceeded one year will result in the poundage overage 

being deducted from the subsequent year's commercial harvest 

limit and the Fisheries Director shall adjust the period allotments 

accordingly. If the harvest limit is projected to be taken in any 

period, the Fisheries Director shall, by proclamation, prohibit 

possession of red drum taken in a commercial fishing operation 

for the remainder of that period. 

(1) The annual commercial harvest limit for red 

drum is 250,000 pounds. 

(2) The annual commercial harvest limit for red 

drum is calculated from September 1 through 

August 31 and is allotted in two periods: 

(A) September 1 through April 30 at 

150,000 pounds; and 

(B) May 1 through August 31 at 100,000 

pounds plus any remainder from the 

first period allotment. 

(3) If the harvest limit is projected to be taken in 

any period, the Fisheries Director shall, by 

proclamation, prohibit possession of red drum 

taken in a commercial fishing operation for the 

remainder of that period. 

(4) Any commercial harvest limit that is exceeded 

one year shall result in the poundage overage 

being deducted from the subsequent year's 

commercial harvest limit and the Fisheries 

Director shall, by proclamation, adjust the 
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period allotments as described in this 

Paragraph. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221; 113-221.1; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0502 MULLET 

(a)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any or 

all of the following restrictions on the taking of mullet: 

(1) Specify season, 

(2) Specify areas, 

(3) Specify quantity, 

(4) Specify means/methods, 

(5) Specify size. 

(b)(a)  It is unlawful to possess more than 200 mullet per person 

per day for recreational purposes. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any or 

all of the following restrictions on the taking of mullet: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity, except as provided in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0506 SNAPPER-GROUPER SNAPPER 

GROUPER COMPLEX 

(a)  In the Atlantic Ocean, it is unlawful for an individual fishing 

under a Recreational Commercial Gear License with seines, 

shrimp trawls, pots, trotlines trotlines, or gill nets to take any 

species of the Snapper-Grouper snapper grouper complex. 

(b)  The species of the snapper-grouper snapper grouper complex 

listed in the South Atlantic Fishery Management Council Fishery 

Management Plan for the Snapper-Grouper Snapper Grouper 

Fishery of the South Atlantic Region are hereby incorporated by 

reference and copies reference. Copies of the plan are available 

via the Federal Register posted on the Internet at www.safmc.net 

and at the Division of Marine Fisheries, 3441 Arendell Street, 

P.O. Box 769, Morehead City, North Carolina 28557 28557, at no 

cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0507 BILLFISH 

(a)  It is unlawful to take blue marlin, white marlin, roundscale 

spearfish, or sailfish, except by hook and line or for recreational 

purposes. 

(a)(b)  Marlin: Taken for recreational purposes or by hook and 

line: For blue marlin, white marlin, and roundscale spearfish, it is 

unlawful to: 

(1) It is unlawful to possess blue marlin less than 

99 inches in length from the lower jaw to the 

fork in the tail. 

(2) It is unlawful to possess white marlin or 

roundscale spearfish less than 66 inches in 

length from the lower jaw to the fork in the tail. 

(3) It is unlawful to possess more than one blue 

marlin, or white marlin marlin, or roundscale 

spearfish in the aggregate per vessel per trip. 

(4) It is unlawful to sell or offer for sale blue 

marlin, or white marlin. marlin, or roundscale 

spearfish. 

(b)(c)  Sailfish: Taken for recreational purposes or by hook and 

line: For sailfish, it is unlawful to: 

(1) It is unlawful to possess sailfish less than 63 

inches in length from the lower jaw to the fork 

in the tail. 

(2) It is unlawful to possess more than one sailfish 

per person per day. 

(3) It is unlawful to sell or offer for sale sailfish. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0510 AMERICAN EEL 

It is unlawful to: 

(1) Possess, sell or take American eels less than 

nine inches in length; 

(2) Possess more than 25 American eels per person 

per day for recreational purposes, except the 

master and each mate of for-hire vessels that 

hold a valid for-hire license may possess 50 eels 

each per day; and 

(3) Possess American eels from September 1 

through December 31 except when taken by 

baited pots. 

(a)  It is unlawful to possess, sell, or take American eels less than 

nine inches in length. 

(b)  It is unlawful to possess more than 25 American eels per 

person per day for recreational purposes, except the master and 

each mate of for-hire vessels that hold a valid for-hire license may 

possess 50 eels each per day. 

(c)  It is unlawful to possess American eels from September 1 

through December 31, except when taken by baited pots. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0513 RIVER HERRING 

It is unlawful to take or possess river herring from North Carolina 

Coastal Fishing Waters. Possession of river herring from sources 

other than North Carolina Coastal Fishing Waters shall be limited 

to fish less than or equal to six inches total length when aboard a 

vessel or while engaged in fishing. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0515 DOLPHIN 

(a)  It is unlawful to possess for recreational purposes: 

(1) more than 10 dolphin per person per day taken 

by hook and line for recreational purposes. line. 

(2) more than 60 dolphin per vessel per day 

regardless of the number of individuals on 

board, except headboat vessels with a valid U.S. 
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Coast Guard Certificate of Inspection may 

possess 10 dolphin per paying customer. 

(b)  It is unlawful to possess more than 60 dolphin per day per 

vessel regardless of the number of people on board, except 

headboat vessels with a valid U.S. Coast Guard Certificate of 

Inspection may possess 10 dolphin per paying customer. 

(c)(b)  It is unlawful to take or possess in a commercial fishing 

operation without a valid federal Atlantic Dolphin/Wahoo 

Commercial vessel permit: 

(1) to take or possess more than 10 dolphin per 

person per day, or day. 

(2) to sell dolphin. dolphin without a valid Federal 

Commercial Dolphin/Wahoo vessel permit and 

either a Standard Commercial Fishing License, 

a Retired Standard Commercial Fishing 

License, or a Land or Sell License. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0517 WAHOO 

(a)  It is unlawful to possess for recreational purposes more than 

two wahoo per person per day taken by hook and line for 

recreational purposes. line. 

(b)  It is unlawful in a commercial fishing operation: 

(1) without a valid federal Atlantic Dolphin/Wahoo 

Commercial vessel permit: 

(A) to take or possess more than two 

wahoo per person per day, or day. 

(B) to sell wahoo. wahoo without a 

Federal Commercial Dolphin/Wahoo 

permit and either a Standard 

Commercial Fishing License, Retired 

Standard Commercial Fishing 

License, or a Land or Sell License. 

(2) to possess aboard a vessel or land more than 

500 pounds of wahoo per trip. 

(c)  It is unlawful to possess aboard or land more than 500 pounds 

of wahoo per trip in a commercial fishing operation. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0518 KINGFISH KINGFISHES (SEA 

MULLET) 

The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any or all 

of the following restrictions on the taking of kingfishes:  

(1) Specify season, 

(2) Specify areas, 

(3) Specify quantity, 

(4) Specify means and methods, 

(5) Specify size. 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221; 143B-289.4 113-

221.1; 143B-289.52. 

15A NCAC 03M .0520 TUNA 

(a)  It is unlawful to possess for recreational purposes: 

(1) yellowfin tuna less than 27 inches curved fork 

length. 

(2) bigeye tuna less than 27 inches curved fork 

length. 

(3) more than three yellowfin tuna per person per 

day. 

(a)(b)  It is unlawful to possess in a commercial fishing operation: 

(1) Yellowfin yellowfin tuna less than 27 inches 

curved fork length or 27 inches from the fork of 

the tail to the forward edge of the cut of 

beheaded tuna. 

(2) Bigeye bigeye tuna less than 27 inches curved 

fork length or 27 inches from the fork of the tail 

to the forward edge of the cut of beheaded tuna. 

(3) Bluefin Atlantic bluefin tuna less than 73 inches 

curved fork length or 54 inches pectoral fin 

curved fork length. 

(b)(4) It is unlawful to possess in a commercial fishing 

operation tunas tuna subject to a size or harvest 

restriction 

 without having tails the tail attached. 

(c)  It is unlawful to possess for recreational purposes: 

(1) Yellowfin tuna less than 27 inches curved fork 

length. 

(2) Bigeye tuna less than 27 inches curved fork 

length. 

(3) More than three yellowfin tuna per person per 

day. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0521 SHEEPSHEAD (NECESSARY 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE PUBLIC INTEREST) 

The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any or all 

of the following restrictions on the taking of sheepshead:  

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 143B-289.52. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03O - LICENSES, LEASES, FRANCHISES 

FRANCHISES, AND PERMITS 

 

SECTION .0100 - LICENSES 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0106 DISPLAY OF LICENSES AND 

REGISTRATIONS 

(a)  It is unlawful: 

(1) For for any person to use a vessel required to be 

registered under the provisions of G.S. 113-

168.6 in a commercial fishing operation 

without a current commercial fishing vessel 

registration Commercial Fishing Vessel 
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Registration decal mounted on an exterior 

surface so as to be plainly visible when viewed 

from the port side; and 

(2) To to display any commercial fishing vessel 

registration Commercial Fishing Vessel 

Registration decal not issued for the vessel 

displaying it. 

(b)  It is unlawful to fail to display any fish dealer's licenses a Fish 

Dealer License required by G.S. 113-169.3, 113-169.3 or ocean 

fishing pier license Ocean Fishing Pier License required by G.S. 

113-169.4 in prominent public view in each location subject to 

licensing. 

(c)  It is unlawful for any person licensed under G.S. 113-174.3 to 

fail to display a current For-Hire License for-hire vessel decal on 

the exterior surface of the vessel so as to be visible when viewed 

from the port side while engaged in for-hire recreational fishing. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.6; 113-169.3; 113-169.4; 113-

174.1; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0112 FOR HIRE COASTAL 

RECREATIONAL FISHING FOR-HIRE LICENSE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  It is unlawful to operate a For Hire Vessel unless the vessel 

operator possesses either the For Hire Blanket Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License (CRFL) for the vessel or a Division 

of Marine Fisheries For Hire Fishing Permit for the vessel as 

provided in 15A NCAC 03O .0503(k). 

(a)  The license requirements for the operator of a vessel engaged 

in a for-hire operation are set forth in G.S. 113-174.3. Either the 

vessel owner or the for-hire vessel operator may seek to obtain the 

applicable for-hire vessel license. Only the vessel owner can seek 

to obtain the applicable registration and endorsement as set forth 

in G.S. 113-168.6. For the purposes of this rule, "for-hire vessel 

operator" includes the holder of a Blanket For-Hire Captain's 

Coastal Recreational Fishing License, Blanket For-Hire Vessel 

Coastal Recreational Fishing License, or Non-Blanket For-Hire 

Vessel License, as set forth in G.S. 113-174.3. 

(b)  It is unlawful for a For Hire Vessel for-hire vessel operator to 

operate under the For Hire Blanket CRFL without: 

(1) Holding holding the USCG United States Coast 

Guard certification required in 15A NCAC 03O 

.0101(a)(13); Rule .0101(a) of this Section; 

(2) Having the For Hire Blanket CRFL for the 

vessel or copy thereof having a copy of the for-

hire license in possession and ready at hand for 

inspection; and 

(3) Having having current picture identification in 

possession and ready at hand for inspection. 

(c) It is unlawful for the holder of the For Hire Blanket CRFL a 

for-hire vessel operator to fail to participate in and provide 

accurate information as requested by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries for biological sampling in accordance with 15A NCAC 

03I .0113 and for survey programs. programs administered by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries. 

(d) It is unlawful to fail to display a current For Hire Blanket 

CRFL decal mounted on an exterior surface of the vessel so as to 

be visible when viewed from the port side while engaged in for-

hire recreational fishing. Requirements for display of licenses and 

registrations for a vessel engaged in for-hire recreational fishing 

are set forth in Rule .0106 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.6; 113-174.1; 113-174.3; 

143B-289.52. 

 

SECTION .0500 - PERMITS 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0501 PROCEDURES AND 

REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN PERMITS 

(a)  To obtain any Division of Marine Fisheries permit, an 

applicant, responsible party, or person holding a power of attorney 

shall provide the following information: 

(1) the full name, physical address, mailing 

address, date of birth, and signature of the 

applicant on the application and, if the applicant 

is not appearing before a license agent or the 

designated Division of Marine Fisheries 

contact, the applicant's signature on the 

application shall be notarized; 

(2) a current picture identification of applicant, 

responsible party, or person holding a power of 

attorney. Acceptable attorney, acceptable forms 

of which include picture identification are 

driver's license, North Carolina Identification 

card issued by the North Carolina Division of 

Motor Vehicles, military identification card, 

resident alien card (green card), or passport, or 

if applying by mail, a copy thereof; 

(3) for permits that require a list of designees, the 

full names and dates of birth of designees of the 

applicant who will be acting under the 

requested permit; 

(4) certification that the applicant and his designees 

do not have four or more marine or estuarine 

resource convictions during the previous three 

years; 

(5) for permit applications from business entities: 

(A) the business name; 

(B) the type of business entity: 

corporation, "educational institution" 

as defined in 15A NCAC 03I .0101, 

limited liability company (LLC), 

partnership, or sole proprietorship; 

(C) the name, address, and phone number 

of responsible party and other 

identifying information required by 

this Subchapter or rules related to a 

specific permit; 

(D) for a corporation applying for a permit 

in a corporate name, the current 

articles of incorporation and a current 

list of corporate officers; 

(E) for a partnership that is established by 

a written partnership agreement, a 

current copy of such agreement shall 

be provided when applying for a 

permit; and 
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(F) for business entities other than 

corporations, copies of current 

assumed name statements if filed with 

the Register of Deeds office for the 

corresponding county and copies of 

current business privilege tax 

certificates, if applicable; and 

(6) additional information as required for specific 

permits. 

(b)  A permittee shall hold a valid Standard or Retired Standard 

Commercial Fishing License in order to hold a: 

(1) Pound Net Permit; 

(2) Permit to Waive the Requirement to Use Turtle 

Excluder Devices in the Atlantic Ocean; 

(3) Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear 

Permit; or 

(4) Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp. 

(A) An individual who is assigned a 

Standard Commercial Fishing License 

is the individual required to hold a 

Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live 

Shrimp. 

(B) The master designated on the single 

vessel corporation Standard 

Commercial Fishing License is the 

individual required to hold the Permit 

for Weekend Trawling for Live 

Shrimp. 

(b)  A permittee shall hold a valid: 

(1) Standard or Retired Standard Commercial 

Fishing License in order to hold: 

(A) an Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass 

Commercial Gear Permit; 

(B) a Permit for Weekend Trawling for 

Live Shrimp; or 

(C) a Pound Net Set Permit. 

The master designated on the single vessel 

corporation Standard Commercial Fishing 

License is the individual required to hold the 

Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp. 

(2) Fish Dealer License in the proper category in 

order to hold dealer permits for monitoring 

fisheries under a quota or allocation for that 

category. 

(c)  An individual who is assigned a valid Standard Commercial 

Fishing License with applicable endorsements is eligible to hold 

any permit that requires a Standard Commercial Fishing License 

except a Pound Net Set Permit. 

(c)(d)  If mechanical methods to take shellfish are used, a 

permittee and his designees shall hold a valid Standard or Retired 

Standard Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfish 

Endorsement in order for a permittee to hold a: 

(1) Permit to Transplant Prohibited (Polluted) 

Shellfish; 

(2) Permit to Transplant Oysters from Seed Oyster 

Management Areas; 

(3) Permit to Use Mechanical Methods for 

Shellfish on Shellfish Leases or Franchises, 

except as provided in G.S. 113-169.2; 

(4) Permit to Harvest Rangia Clams from 

Prohibited (Polluted) Areas; or 

(5) Depuration Permit. 

(1) Depuration Permit; 

(2) Permit to Harvest Rangia Clams from 

Prohibited (Polluted) Areas; 

(3) Permit to Transplant Oysters from Seed Oyster 

Management Areas; 

(4) Permit to Transplant Prohibited (Polluted) 

Shellfish; or 

(5) Permit to Use Mechanical Methods for 

Shellfish on Shellfish Leases or Franchises, 

except as provided in G.S. 113-169.2. 

(d)(e)  If mechanical methods to take shellfish are not used, a 

permittee and his designees shall hold a valid Standard or Retired 

Standard Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfish 

Endorsement or a Shellfish License in order for a permittee to 

hold a: 

(1) Permit to Transplant Prohibited (Polluted) 

Shellfish; 

(2) Permit to Transplant Oysters from Seed Oyster 

Management Areas; 

(3) Permit to Harvest Rangia Clams from 

Prohibited (Polluted) Areas; or 

(4) Depuration Permit. 

(1) Depuration Permit; 

(2) Permit to Harvest Rangia Clams from 

Prohibited (Polluted) Areas; 

(3) Permit to Transplant Oysters from Seed Oyster 

Management Areas; or 

(4) Permit to Transplant Prohibited (Polluted) 

Shellfish. 

(e)  A permittee shall hold a valid: 

(1) Fish Dealer License in the proper category in 

order to hold Dealer Permits for Monitoring 

Fisheries Under a Quota/Allocation for that 

category; and 

(2) Standard Commercial Fishing License with a 

Shellfish Endorsement, Retired Standard 

Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfish 

Endorsement, or a Shellfish License in order to 

harvest clams or oysters for depuration. 

(f)  Aquaculture Operations/Collection Permits: Aquaculture 

Operation Permit and Aquaculture Collection Permit: 

(1) A permittee shall hold a valid Aquaculture 

Operation Permit issued by the Fisheries 

Director to hold an Aquaculture Collection 

Permit. 

(2) The permittee or designees shall hold 

appropriate licenses from the Division of 

Marine Fisheries for the species harvested and 

the gear used under the Aquaculture Collection 

Permit. 

(g)  Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit: 

(1) An applicant for an Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass 

Commercial Gear Permit shall declare one of 

the following types of gear for an initial permit 

and at intervals of three consecutive license 

years thereafter: 
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(A) a gill net; 

(B) a trawl net; or 

(C) a beach seine. 

For the purpose of this Rule, a "beach seine" is 

defined as a swipe net constructed of multi-

filament or multi-fiber webbing fished from the 

ocean beach that is deployed from a vessel 

launched from the ocean beach where the 

fishing operation takes place. Gear declarations 

shall be binding on the permittee for three 

consecutive license years without regard to 

subsequent annual permit issuance. 

(2) A person is not eligible for more than one 

Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear 

Permit regardless of the number of Standard 

Commercial Fishing Licenses, Retired 

Standard Commercial Fishing Licenses, or 

assignments held by the person. 

(h)  Applications submitted without complete and required 

information shall not be processed until all required information 

has been submitted. Incomplete applications shall be returned to 

the applicant with the deficiency in the application noted. 

(i)  A permit shall be issued only after the application has been 

deemed complete by the Division of Marine Fisheries and the 

applicant certifies to abide by the permit general and specific 

conditions established under 15A NCAC 03J .0501, .0505, 03K 

.0103, .0104, .0107, .0111, .0401, 03O and Rules .0502, .0502 and 

.0503, .0503 of this Section, as applicable to the requested permit. 

(j)  In determining whether to issue, modify, or renew a permit, 

the Fisheries Director or his agent shall evaluate factors such as 

the following: 

 (1) potential threats to public health or marine and 

estuarine resources regulated by the Marine 

Fisheries Commission; 

(2) the applicant's demonstration of a valid 

justification for the permit and a showing of 

responsibility; and 

(3) the applicant's history of fisheries violations 

evidenced by eight or more violations in 10 

years. 

(k)  The Division of Marine Fisheries shall notify the applicant in 

writing of the denial or modification of any permit request and the 

reasons therefor. The applicant may submit further information or 

reasons why the permit should not be denied or modified. 

(l)  Permits are valid from the date of issuance through the 

expiration date printed on the permit. Unless otherwise 

established by rule, the Fisheries Director may establish the 

issuance timeframe for specific types and categories of permits 

based on season, calendar year, or other period based upon the 

nature of the activity permitted, the duration of the activity, 

compliance with federal or state fishery management plans or 

implementing rules, conflicts with other fisheries or gear usage, 

or seasons for the species involved. The expiration date shall be 

specified on the permit. 

(m)  For permit renewals, the permittee's signature on the 

application shall certify all information as true and accurate. 

Notarized signatures on renewal applications shall not be 

required. 

(n)  It is unlawful for a permit holder to fail to notify the Division 

of Marine Fisheries within 30 days of a change of name or 

address, in accordance with G.S. 113-169.2. 

(o)  It is unlawful for a permit holder to fail to notify the Division 

of Marine Fisheries of a change of designee prior to use of the 

permit by that designee. 

(p)  Permit applications are available at all Division of Marine 

Fisheries offices. Offices. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-169.2; 113-169.3; 113-

182; 113-210; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0503 PERMIT CONDITIONS; 

SPECIFIC 

(a)  Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use Permit: 

(1) It is unlawful to use horseshoe crabs for 

biomedical purposes without first obtaining a 

permit. 

(2) It is unlawful for persons who have been issued 

a Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use Permit to fail 

to submit an annual report on the use of 

horseshoe crabs to the Division of Marine 

Fisheries due on February 1 of each year. Such 

reports shall be filed on forms provided by the 

Division and shall include a monthly account of 

the number of crabs harvested, statement of 

percent mortality up to the point of release, 

harvest method, number or percent of males and 

females, and disposition of bled crabs prior to 

release. 

(3) It is unlawful for persons who have been issued 

a Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use Permit to fail 

to comply with the Atlantic States Marine 

Fisheries Commission Interstate Fishery 

Management Plan for Horseshoe Crab. The 

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission 

Interstate Fishery Management Plan for 

Horseshoe Crab is incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies of this plan are available via the Internet 

from the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission at 

http://www.asmfc.org/fisheries-

management/program-overview and at the 

Division of Marine Fisheries, 3441 Arendell 

Street, P.O. Box 769, Morehead City, NC 

28557 at no cost. 

(b)  Dealers Permits for Monitoring Fisheries under a 

Quota/Allocation: 

(1) During the commercial season opened by 

proclamation or rule for the fishery for which a 

Dealers Permit for Monitoring Fisheries under 

a Quota/Allocation permit is issued, it is 

unlawful for the fish dealers issued such permit 

to fail to: 

(A) fax or send via electronic mail by noon 

daily, on forms provided by the 

Division, the previous day's landings 

for the permitted fishery to the dealer 
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contact designated on the permit. 

Landings for Fridays or Saturdays 

shall be submitted on the following 

Monday. If the dealer is unable to fax 

or electronic mail the required 

information, the permittee shall call in 

the previous day's landings to the 

dealer contact designated on the 

permit. 

(B) submit the required form set forth in 

Subitem (b)(1)(A) of this Rule to the 

Division upon request or no later than 

five days after the close of the season 

for the fishery permitted; 

(C) maintain faxes and other related 

documentation in accordance with 

15A NCAC 03I .0114; 

(D) contact the dealer contact designated 

on the permit daily regardless of 

whether or not a transaction for the 

fishery for which a dealer is permitted 

occurred; and 

(E) record the permanent dealer 

identification number on the bill of 

lading or receipt for each transaction 

or shipment from the permitted 

fishery. 

(2) Striped Bass Dealer Permit: 

(A) It is unlawful for a fish dealer to 

possess, buy, sell, or offer for sale 

striped bass taken from the following 

areas without first obtaining a Striped 

Bass Dealer Permit validated for the 

applicable harvest area: 

(i) Atlantic Ocean; 

(ii) Albemarle Sound 

Management Area as 

designated in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201; and 

(iii) the Joint and Coastal Fishing 

Waters of the 

Central/Southern 

Management Area as 

designated in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201. 

(B) No permittee shall possess, buy, sell, 

or offer for sale striped bass taken 

from the harvest areas opened by 

proclamation without having a North 

Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries 

issued valid tag for the applicable area 

affixed through the mouth and gill 

cover, or, in the case of striped bass 

imported from other states, a similar 

tag that is issued for striped bass in the 

state of origin. North Carolina 

Division of Marine Fisheries striped 

bass tags shall not be bought, sold, 

offered for sale, or transferred. Tags 

shall be obtained at the North Carolina 

Division of Marine Fisheries Offices. 

The Division of Marine Fisheries shall 

specify the quantity of tags to be 

issued based on historical striped bass 

landings. It is unlawful for the 

permittee to fail to surrender unused 

tags to the Division upon request. 

(3) Albemarle Sound Management Area for River 

Herring Dealer Permit: It is unlawful to possess, 

buy, sell, or offer for sale river herring taken 

from the Albemarle Sound Management Area 

for River Herring as defined in 15A NCAC 03R 

.0202 without first obtaining an Albemarle 

Sound Management Area for River Herring 

Dealer Permit. 

(4) Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer Permit: 

(A) It is unlawful for a fish dealer to allow 

vessels holding a valid License to 

Land Flounder from the Atlantic 

Ocean to land more than 100 pounds 

of flounder from a single transaction at 

their licensed location during the open 

season without first obtaining an 

Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer 

Permit. The licensed location shall be 

specified on the Atlantic Ocean 

Flounder Dealer Permit and only one 

location per permit shall be allowed. 

(B) It is unlawful for a fish dealer to 

possess, buy, sell, or offer for sale 

more than 100 pounds of flounder 

from a single transaction from the 

Atlantic Ocean without first obtaining 

an Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer 

Permit. 

(5) Black Sea Bass North of Cape Hatteras Dealer 

Permit: It is unlawful for a fish dealer to 

purchase or possess more than 100 pounds of 

black sea bass taken from the Atlantic Ocean 

north of Cape Hatteras (35° 15.0321' N) per day 

per commercial fishing operation during the 

open season unless the dealer has a Black Sea 

Bass North of Cape Hatteras Dealer Permit. 

(6) Spiny Dogfish Dealer Permit: It is unlawful for 

a fish dealer to purchase or possess more than 

100 pounds of spiny dogfish per day per 

commercial fishing operation unless the dealer 

has a Spiny Dogfish Dealer Permit. 

(a)  Aquaculture Operation Permit and Aquaculture Collection 

Permit: 

(1) It is unlawful to conduct aquaculture operations 

utilizing marine and estuarine resources 

without first securing an Aquaculture Operation 

Permit from the Fisheries Director. 

(2) It is unlawful: 

(A) to take marine and estuarine resources 

from Coastal Fishing Waters for 

aquaculture purposes without first 
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obtaining an Aquaculture Collection 

Permit from the Fisheries Director; 

(B) to sell, or use for any purpose not 

related to North Carolina aquaculture, 

marine and estuarine resources taken 

under an Aquaculture Collection 

Permit; or 

(C) to fail to submit to the Fisheries 

Director an annual report due on 

December 1 of each year on the form 

provided by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries the amount and disposition 

of marine and estuarine resources 

collected under authority of an 

Aquaculture Collection Permit. 

(3) Lawfully permitted shellfish relaying activities 

authorized by 15A NCAC 03K .0103 and .0104 

are exempt from requirements to have an 

Aquaculture Operation Permit or Aquaculture 

Collection Permit issued by the Fisheries 

Director. 

(4) Aquaculture Operation Permits and 

Aquaculture Collection Permits shall be issued 

or renewed on a calendar year basis. 

(5) It is unlawful to fail to provide the Division 

with a listing of all designees acting under an 

Aquaculture Collection Permit at the time of 

application. 

(b)  Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit: 

(1) It is unlawful to take striped bass from the 

Atlantic Ocean in a commercial fishing 

operation without first obtaining an Atlantic 

Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit. 

(2) It is unlawful to obtain more than one Atlantic 

Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit 

during a license year, regardless of the number 

of Standard Commercial Fishing licenses, 

Retired Standard Commercial Fishing licenses, 

or assignments. 

(c)  Blue Crab Shedding Permit: It is unlawful to possess more 

than 50 blue crabs in a shedding operation without first obtaining 

a Blue Crab Shedding Permit from the Division of Marine 

Fisheries. 

(d)  Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit: 

(1) It is unlawful for the responsible party seeking 

exemption from recreational fishing license 

requirements for eligible individuals to conduct 

an organized fishing event held in Joint or 

Coastal Fishing Waters without first obtaining 

a Coastal Recreational Fishing License 

Exemption Permit. 

(2) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License 

Exemption Permit shall only be issued for 

recreational fishing activity conducted solely 

for the participation and benefit of one of the 

following groups of eligible individuals: 

(A) individuals with physical or mental 

limitations; 

(B) members of the United States Armed 

Forces and their dependents, upon 

presentation of a valid military 

identification card; 

(C) individuals receiving instruction on 

recreational fishing techniques and 

conservation practices from 

employees of state or federal marine or 

estuarine resource management 

agencies, or instructors affiliated with 

educational institutions; and 

(D) disadvantaged youths as set forth in 42 

U.S.C. 12511. 

For purposes of this Paragraph, 

educational institutions include high 

schools and other secondary 

educational institutions. 

(3) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License 

Exemption Permit is valid for the date, time, 

and physical location of the organized fishing 

event for which the exemption is granted and 

the duration of the permit shall not exceed one 

year from the date of issuance. 

(4) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License 

Exemption Permit shall only be issued when all 

of the following, in addition to the information 

required in Rule .0501 of this Section, is 

submitted to the Fisheries Director, in writing, 

at least 30 days prior to the event: 

(A) the name, date, time, and physical 

location of the event; 

(B) documentation that substantiates 

local, state, or federal involvement in 

the organized fishing event, if 

applicable; 

(C) the cost or requirements, if any, for an 

individual to participate in the event; 

and 

(D) an estimate of the number of 

participants. 

(e)  Dealer permits for monitoring fisheries under a quota or 

allocation: 

(1) During the commercial season opened by 

proclamation or rule for the fishery for which a 

dealer permit for monitoring fisheries under a 

quota or allocation is issued, it is unlawful for a 

fish dealer issued such permit to fail to: 

(A) fax or send via electronic mail by noon 

daily, on forms provided by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries, the 

previous day's landings for the 

permitted fishery to the Division; 

contact information for the Division is 

provided on the forms; landings for 

Fridays or Saturdays shall be 

submitted on the following Monday; if 

the dealer is unable to fax or 

electronically mail the required 

information, the permittee shall call in 
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the previous day's landings to the 

Division; 

(B) submit the required form set forth in 

Part (e)(1)(A) of this Rule to the 

Division upon request or no later than 

five days after the close of the season 

for the fishery permitted; 

(C) maintain faxes and other related 

documentation in accordance with 

15A NCAC 03I .0114; 

(D) contact the Division daily regardless 

of whether or not a transaction for the 

fishery for which a dealer is permitted 

occurred; and 

(E) record the permanent dealer 

identification number on the bill of 

lading or receipt for each transaction 

or shipment from the permitted 

fishery. 

(2) Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer Permit: 

(A) It is unlawful for a fish dealer to allow 

vessels holding a valid License to 

Land Flounder from the Atlantic 

Ocean to land more than 100 pounds 

of flounder from a single transaction at 

their licensed location during the open 

season without first obtaining an 

Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer 

Permit. The licensed location shall be 

specified on the Atlantic Ocean 

Flounder Dealer Permit and only one 

location per permit shall be allowed. 

(B) It is unlawful for a fish dealer to 

possess, buy, sell, or offer for sale 

more than 100 pounds of flounder 

from a single transaction from the 

Atlantic Ocean without first obtaining 

an Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer 

Permit. 

(3) Black Sea Bass North of Cape Hatteras Dealer 

Permit: It is unlawful for a fish dealer to 

purchase or possess more than 100 pounds of 

black sea bass taken from the Atlantic Ocean 

north of Cape Hatteras (35° 15.0321' N) per day 

per commercial fishing operation during the 

open season unless the dealer has a Black Sea 

Bass North of Cape Hatteras Dealer Permit. 

(4) Spiny Dogfish Dealer Permit: It is unlawful for 

a fish dealer to purchase or possess more than 

100 pounds of spiny dogfish per day per 

commercial fishing operation unless the dealer 

has a Spiny Dogfish Dealer Permit. 

(5) Striped Bass Dealer Permit: 

(A) It is unlawful for a fish dealer to 

possess, buy, sell, or offer for sale 

striped bass taken from the following 

areas without first obtaining a Striped 

Bass Dealer Permit validated for the 

applicable harvest area: 

(i) Atlantic Ocean; 

(ii) Albemarle Sound 

Management Area as 

designated in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201; or 

(iii) the Joint and Coastal Fishing 

Waters of the 

Central/Southern 

Management Area as 

designated in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201. 

(B) No permittee shall possess, buy, sell, 

or offer for sale striped bass taken 

from the harvest areas opened by 

proclamation without having a valid 

Division of Marine Fisheries-issued 

tag for the applicable area affixed 

through the mouth and gill cover or, in 

the case of striped bass imported from 

other states, a similar tag that is issued 

for striped bass in the state of origin. 

Division striped bass tags shall not be 

bought, sold, offered for sale, or 

transferred. Tags shall be obtained at 

the Division offices. The Division 

shall specify the quantity of tags to be 

issued based on historical striped bass 

landings. It is unlawful for the 

permittee to fail to surrender unused 

tags to the Division upon request. 

(f)  Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use Permit: 

(1) It is unlawful to use horseshoe crabs for 

biomedical purposes without first obtaining a 

permit. 

(2) It is unlawful for persons who have been issued 

a Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use Permit to fail 

to submit an annual report on the use of 

horseshoe crabs to the Division of Marine 

Fisheries due on February 1 of each year. Such 

reports shall be filed on forms provided by the 

Division and shall include a monthly account of 

the number of crabs harvested, statement of 

percent mortality up to the point of release, 

harvest method, number or percent of males and 

females, and disposition of bled crabs prior to 

release. 

(3) It is unlawful for persons who have been issued 

a Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use Permit to fail 

to comply with the Atlantic States Marine 

Fisheries Commission Interstate Fishery 

Management Plan for Horseshoe Crab. The 

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission 

Interstate Fishery Management Plan for 

Horseshoe Crab is incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

Copies of this plan are available via the Internet 

from the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission at 

http://www.asmfc.org/fisheries-
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management/program-overview and at the 

Division of Marine Fisheries, 3441 Arendell 

Street, P.O. Box 769, Morehead City, NC 

28557, at no cost. 

(g)  Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp: 

(1) It is unlawful to take shrimp with trawls from 

9:00 p.m. on Friday through 12:00 p.m. (noon) 

on Saturday without first obtaining a Permit for 

Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp. 

(2) It is unlawful for a holder of a Permit for 

Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp to use 

trawls from 12:01 p.m. on Saturday through 

4:59 p.m. on Sunday. 

(3) It is unlawful for a permit holder during the 

timeframe specified in Subparagraph (k)(1) of 

this Rule to: 

(A) use trawl nets to take live shrimp 

except from areas open to the harvest 

of shrimp with trawls; 

(B) take shrimp with trawls that have a 

combined headrope length of greater 

than 40 feet in Internal Coastal 

Waters; 

(C) possess more than one gallon of dead 

shrimp (heads on) per trip; 

(D) fail to have a functioning live bait tank 

or a combination of multiple 

functioning live bait tanks with 

aerator(s) and/or circulating water, 

with a minimum combined tank 

capacity of 50 gallons; or 

(E) fail to call the Division of Marine 

Fisheries Communications Center at 

800-682-2632 or 252-726-7021 prior 

to each weekend use of the permit, 

specifying activities and location. 

(d)  Permit to Waive the Requirement to Use Turtle Excluder 

Devices in the Atlantic Ocean: 

(1) It is unlawful to trawl for shrimp in the Atlantic 

Ocean without Turtle Excluder Devices 

installed in trawls within one nautical mile of 

the shore from Browns Inlet (34° 35.7000' N 

latitude) to Rich's Inlet (34° 17.6000' N 

latitude) without a valid Permit to Waive the 

Requirement to Use Turtle Excluder Devices in 

the Atlantic Ocean when allowed by 

proclamation as set forth in 15A NCAC 03I 

.0107 from April 1 through November 30. 

(2) It is unlawful to tow a shrimp trawl net for more 

than 55 minutes from April 1 through October 

31 and 75 minutes from November 1 through 

November 30 in the area described in 

Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule when working 

under this permit. Tow time begins when the 

doors enter the water and ends when the doors 

exit the water. 

(3) It is unlawful to fail to empty the contents of 

each net at the end of each tow. 

(4) It is unlawful to refuse to take observers upon 

request by the Division of Marine Fisheries or 

the National Oceanic and Atmospheric 

Administration Fisheries. 

(5) It is unlawful to fail to report any sea turtle 

captured. Reports shall be made within 24 hours 

of the capture to the Marine Patrol 

Communications Center by phone. All turtles 

taken incidental to trawling shall be handled 

and resuscitated in accordance with 

requirements specified in 50 Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) 223.206. 50 CFR 223.206 is 

hereby incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. A copy 

of the reference materials can be found at 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-

idx?SID=9088932317c242b91d6a87a47b6bda

54&mc=true&tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title50/50tab_

02.tpl, free of charge. 

(e)(h)  Pound Net Set Permit: The holder of a Pound Net Set 

Permit shall follow the Pound Net Set Permit conditions as set 

forth in  Rule 15A NCAC 03J .0505. .0505 sets forth the specific 

conditions for pound net set permits. 

(f)  Aquaculture Operation Permit and Aquaculture Collection 

Permit: 

(1) It is unlawful to conduct aquaculture operations 

utilizing marine and estuarine resources 

without first securing an Aquaculture Operation 

Permit from the Fisheries Director. 

(2) It is unlawful: 

(A) to take marine and estuarine resources 

from Coastal Fishing Waters for 

aquaculture purposes without first 

obtaining an Aquaculture Collection 

Permit from the Fisheries Director; 

(B) to sell, or use for any purpose not 

related to North Carolina aquaculture, 

marine and estuarine resources taken 

under an Aquaculture Collection 

Permit; and 

(C) to fail to submit to the Fisheries 

Director an annual report due on 

December 1 of each year on the form 

provided by the Division the amount 

and disposition of marine and 

estuarine resources collected under 

authority of an Aquaculture Collection 

Permit. 

(3) Lawfully permitted shellfish relaying activities 

authorized by 15A NCAC 03K .0103 and .0104 

are exempt from requirements to have an 

Aquaculture Operation Permit or Aquaculture 

Collection Permit issued by the Fisheries 

Director. 

(4) Aquaculture Operation Permits and 

Aquaculture Collection Permits shall be issued 

or renewed on a calendar year basis. 

(5) It is unlawful to fail to provide the Division of 

Marine Fisheries with a listing of all designees 
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acting under an Aquaculture Collection Permit 

at the time of application. 

(g)(i)  Scientific or Educational Activity Permit: 

(1) It is unlawful for institutions or agencies 

seeking exemptions from license, rule, 

proclamation, or statutory requirements to 

collect, hold, culture, or exhibit for scientific or 

educational purposes any marine or estuarine 

species without first obtaining a Scientific or 

Educational Activity Permit. 

(2) The Scientific or Educational Activity Permit 

shall only be issued for collection methods and 

possession allowances approved by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries. 

(3) The Scientific or Educational Activity Permit 

shall only be issued for approved activities 

conducted by or under the direction of 

Scientific or Educational institutions as defined 

in Rule 15A NCAC 03I .0101. 

(4) It is unlawful for the responsible party issued a 

Scientific or Educational Activity Permit to fail 

to submit an annual report on collections and, if 

authorized, sales to the Division of Marine 

Fisheries due on December 1 of each year 

unless otherwise specified on the permit. The 

reports shall be filed on forms provided by the 

Division. Scientific or Educational Activity 

permits shall be issued on a calendar year basis. 

(5) It is unlawful to sell marine or estuarine species 

taken under a Scientific or Educational Activity 

Permit without: 

(A) the required license for such sale; 

(B) an authorization stated on the permit 

for such sale; and 

(C) providing the information required in 

Rule 15A NCAC 03I .0114 if the sale 

is to a licensed fish dealer. 

(6) It is unlawful to fail to provide the Division of 

Marine Fisheries a listing of all designees 

acting under a Scientific or Educational 

Activity Permit at the time of application. 

(7) The permittee or designees utilizing the permit 

shall call the Division of Marine Fisheries 

Communications Center at 800-682-2632 or 

252-726-7021 not later than 24 hours prior to 

use of the permit, specifying activities and 

location. 

(h)(j)  Under Dock Oyster Culture Permit: 

(1) It is unlawful to cultivate oysters in containers 

under docks for personal consumption without 

first obtaining an Under Dock Oyster Culture 

Permit. 

(2) An Under Dock Oyster Culture Permit shall be 

issued only in accordance with provisions set 

forth in G.S. 113-210(c). 

(3) The applicant shall complete and submit an 

examination, with a minimum of 70 percent 

correct answers, based on an educational 

package provided by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries pursuant to G.S. 113-210(j). The 

examination demonstrates the applicant's 

knowledge of: 

(A) the application process; 

(B) permit criteria; 

(C) basic oyster biology and culture 

techniques; 

(D) shellfish harvest area closures due to 

pollution; 

(E) safe handling practices; 

(F) permit conditions; and 

(G) permit revocation criteria. 

(4) Action by an Under Dock Oyster Culture 

Permit holder to encroach on or usurp the legal 

rights of the public to access public trust 

resources in Coastal Fishing Waters shall result 

in permit revocation. 

(i)  Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit: 

(1) It is unlawful to take striped bass from the 

Atlantic Ocean in a commercial fishing 

operation without first obtaining an Atlantic 

Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit. 

(2) It is unlawful to use a single Standard 

Commercial Fishing License, including 

assignments, to obtain more than one Atlantic 

Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit 

during a license year. 

(j)  Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit: 

(1) It is unlawful for the responsible party seeking 

exemption from recreational fishing license 

requirements for eligible individuals to conduct 

an organized fishing event held in Joint or 

Coastal Fishing Waters without first obtaining 

a Coastal Recreational Fishing License 

Exemption Permit. 

(2) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License 

Exemption Permit shall only be issued for 

recreational fishing activity conducted solely 

for the participation and benefit of one of the 

following groups of eligible individuals: 

(A) individuals with physical or mental 

limitations; 

(B) members of the United States Armed 

Forces and their dependents, upon 

presentation of a valid military 

identification card; 

(C) individuals receiving instruction on 

recreational fishing techniques and 

conservation practices from 

employees of state or federal marine or 

estuarine resource management 

agencies, or instructors affiliated with 

educational institutions; and 

(D) disadvantaged youths as set forth in 

U.S. Code 42 § 12511. 

For purposes of this Paragraph, educational institutions include 

high schools and other secondary educational institutions. 

(3) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License 

Exemption Permit is valid for the date, time, 
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and physical location of the organized fishing 

event for which the exemption is granted and 

the duration of the permit shall not exceed one 

year from the date of issuance. 

(4) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License 

Exemption Permit shall only be issued when all 

of the following, in addition to the information 

required in 15A NCAC 03O .0501, is submitted 

to the Fisheries Director, in writing, at least 30 

days prior to the event: 

(A) the name, date, time, and physical 

location of the event; 

(B) documentation that substantiates 

local, state, or federal involvement in 

the organized fishing event, if 

applicable; 

(C) the cost or requirements, if any, for an 

individual to participate in the event; 

and 

(D) an estimate of the number of 

participants. 

(k)  Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp: 

(1) It is unlawful to take shrimp with trawls from 

9:00 p.m. on Friday through 12:00 p.m. (noon) 

on Saturday without first obtaining a Permit for 

Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp. 

(2) It is unlawful for a holder of a Permit for 

Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp to use 

trawls from 12:01 p.m. on Saturday through 

4:59 p.m. on Sunday. 

(3) It is unlawful for a permit holder during the 

timeframe specified in Subparagraph (k)(1) of 

this Rule to: 

(A) use trawl nets to take live shrimp 

except from areas open to the harvest 

of shrimp with trawls; 

(B) take shrimp with trawls that have a 

combined headrope length of greater 

than 40 feet in Internal Coastal 

Waters; 

(C) possess more than one gallon of dead 

shrimp (heads on) per trip; 

(D) fail to have a functioning live bait tank 

or a combination of multiple 

functioning live bait tanks with 

aerator(s) and/or circulating water, 

with a minimum combined tank 

capacity of 50 gallons; and 

(E) fail to call the Division of Marine 

Fisheries Communications Center at 

800-682-2632 or 252-726-7021 prior 

to each weekend use of the permit, 

specifying activities and location. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-169.2; 113-169.3; 113-

182; 113-210; 143B-289.52. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03R - DESCRIPTIVE BOUNDARIES 

 

SECTION .0100 - DESCRIPTIVE BOUNDARIES 

 

15A NCAC 03R .0112 ATTENDED GILL NET AREAS 

(a)  The attended gill net areas referenced in 15A NCAC 03J 

.0103(g) are delineated in the following areas: 

(1) Pamlico River, west of a line beginning at a 

point 35° 27.5768' N - 76° 54.3612' W on 

Ragged Point; running southwesterly to a point 

35° 26.9176' N - 76° 55.5253' W on Mauls 

Point; 

(2) Within within 200 yards of any shoreline in 

Pamlico River and its tributaries east of a line 

beginning at a point 35° 27.5768' N - 76° 

54.3612' W on Ragged Point; running 

southwesterly to a point 35° 26.9176' N - 76° 

55.5253' W on Mauls Point; and west of a line 

beginning at a point 35° 22.3622' N - 76° 

28.2032' W on Roos Point; running southerly to 

a point at 35° 18.5906' N - 76° 28.9530' W on 

Pamlico Point; 

(3) Pungo River, east of the northern portion of the 

Pantego Creek breakwater and a line beginning 

at a point 35° 31.7198' N - 76° 36.9195' W on 

the northern side of the breakwater near 

Tooleys Point; running southeasterly to a point 

35° 30.5312' N - 76° 35.1594' W on Durants 

Point; 

(4) Within within 200 yards of any shoreline in 

Pungo River and its tributaries west of the 

northern portion of the Pantego Creek 

breakwater and a line beginning at a point 35° 

31.7198' N - 76° 36.9195' W on the northern 

side of the breakwater near Tooleys Point; 

running southeasterly to a point 35° 30.5312' N 

- 76° 35.1594' W on Durants Point; and west of 

a line beginning at a point 35° 22.3622' N - 76° 

28.2032' W on Roos Point; running southerly to 

a point at 35° 18.5906' N - 76° 28.9530' W on 

Pamlico Point; 

(5) Neuse River and its tributaries northwest of the 

Highway 17 highrise bridge; 

(6) Trent River and its tributaries; and 

(7) Within within 200 yards of any shoreline in 

Neuse River and its tributaries east of the 

Highway 17 highrise bridge and south and west 

of a line beginning on Maw Point at a point 35° 

09.0407' N - 76° 32.2348' W; running 

southeasterly near the Maw Point Shoal Marker 

"2" to a point 35° 08.1250' N - 76° 30.8532' W; 

running southeasterly near the Neuse River 

Entrance Marker "NR" to a point 35° 06.6212' 

N - 76° 28.5383' W; running southerly to a 

point 35° 04.4833' N - 76° 28.0000' W near 

Point of Marsh in Neuse River. In Core and 

Clubfoot creeks, the Highway 101 Bridge 

constitutes the attendance boundary. 

(b)  The attended gill net areas referenced in 15A NCAC 03J 

.0103(h) are delineated in the following Internal Coastal Waters 

and Joint Fishing Waters of the state south of a line beginning on 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

33:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2018 

158 

Roanoke Marshes Point at a point 35 48.3693' N - 75 43.7232' 

W; running southeasterly to a point 35 44.1710' N - 75 31.0520' 

W on Eagles Nest Bay to the South Carolina State line: 

(1) All all primary nursery areas described in 15A 

NCAC 03R .0103, all permanent secondary 

nursery areas described in 15A NCAC 03R 

.0104, and no-trawl areas described in 15A 

NCAC 03R .0106(2), (4), (5), (8), (10), (11), 

and (12); 

(2) In in the area along the Outer Banks, beginning 

at a point 35 44.1710' N - 75 31.0520' W on 

Eagles Nest Bay; running northwesterly to a 

point 35 45.1833' N - 75 34.1000' W west of 

Pea Island; running southerly to a point 35 

40.0000' N - 75 32.8666' W west of Beach 

Slough; running southeasterly and passing near 

Beacon "2" in Chicamicomico Channel to a 

point 35 35.0000' N - 75 29.8833' W west of 

the Rodanthe Pier; running southwesterly to a 

point 35 28.4500' N - 75 31.3500' W on Gull 

Island; running southerly to a point 35 

22.3000' N - 75 33.2000' W near Beacon "2" 

in Avon Channel ; running southwesterly to a 

point 35 19.0333' N - 75 36.3166' W near 

Beacon "2" in Cape Channel; running 

southwesterly to a point 35 15.5000' N - 75 

43.4000' W near Beacon "36" in Rollinson 

Channel; running southeasterly to a point 35 

14.9386' N - 75 42.9968' W near Beacon "35" 

in Rollinson Channel; running southwesterly to 

a point 35 14.0377' N - 75 45.9644' W near a 

"Danger" Beacon northwest of Austin Reef; 

running southwesterly to a point 35 11.4833' N 

- 75 51.0833' W on Legged Lump; running 

southeasterly to a point 35 10.9666' N - 75 

49.7166' W south of Legged Lump; running 

southwesterly to a point 35 09.3000' N - 75 

54.8166' W near the west end of Clarks Reef; 

running westerly to a point 35 08.4333' N - 76 

02.5000' W near Nine Foot Shoal Channel; 

running southerly to a point 35 06.4000' N - 

76 04.3333' W near North Rock; running 

southwesterly to a point 35 01.5833' N - 76 

11.4500' W near Beacon "HL"; running 

southerly to a point 35 00.2666' N - 76 

12.2000' W; running southerly to a point 34 

59.4664' N - 76 12.4859' W on Wainwright 

Island; running easterly to a point 34 58.7853' 

N - 76 09.8922' W on Core Banks; running 

northerly along the shoreline and across the 

inlets following the COLREGS Demarcation 

Line to the point of beginning; 

(3) In in Core and Back sounds, beginning at a 

point 34 58.7853' N - 76 09.8922' W on Core 

Banks; running northwesterly to a point 34 

59.4664' N - 76 12.4859' W on Wainwright 

Island; running southerly to a point 34 

58.8000' N - 76 12.5166' W; running 

southeasterly to a point 34 58.1833' N - 76 

12.3000' W; running southwesterly to a point 

34 56.4833' N - 76 13.2833' W; running 

westerly to a point 34 56.5500' N - 76 

13.6166' W; running southwesterly to a point 

34 53.5500' N - 76 16.4166' W; running 

northwesterly to a point 34 53.9166' N - 76 

17.1166' W; running southerly to a point 34 

53.4166' N - 76 17.3500' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 34° 51.0617' N - 76° 

21.0449' W; running southwesterly to a point 

34° 48.3137' N - 76° 24.3717' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 34° 46.3739' N - 76° 

26.1526' W; running southwesterly to a point 

34° 44.5795' N - 76° 27.5136' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 34° 43.4895' N - 76° 

28.9411' W near Beacon "37A"; running 

southwesterly to a point 34° 40.4500' N - 76° 

30.6833' W; running westerly to a point 34° 

40.7061' N - 76° 31.5893' W near Beacon "35" 

in Back Sound; running westerly to a point 34° 

41.3178' N -76° 33.8092' W near Buoy "3"; 

running southwesterly to a point 34° 39.6601' N 

- 76° 34.4078' W on Shackleford Banks; 

running easterly and northeasterly along the 

shoreline and across the inlets following the 

COLREGS Demarcation lines to the point of 

beginning; 

(4) Within within 200 yards of any shoreline in the 

area upstream of the 76° 28.0000' W longitude 

line beginning at a point 35° 22.3752' N - 76° 

28.0000' W near Roos Point in Pamlico River; 

running southeasterly to a point 35° 04.4833' N 

- 76° 28.0000' W near Point of Marsh in Neuse 

River; and 

(5) Within within 50 yards of any shoreline east of 

the 76° 28.0000' W longitude line beginning at 

a point 35° 22.3752' N - 76° 28.0000' W near 

Roos Point in Pamlico River; running 

southeasterly to a point 35° 04.4833' N - 76° 

28.0000' W near Point of Marsh in Neuse River, 

except from October 1 through November 30, 

south and east of Highway 12 in Carteret 

County and south of a line from a point 34° 

59.7942' N - 76° 14.6514' W on Camp Point; 

running easterly to a point at 34° 58.7853' N - 

76° 09.8922' W on Core Banks; to the South 

Carolina State Line. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-173; 113-182; 113-221; 143B-

289.52. 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 
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CHAPTER 18 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 

ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors intends to amend 

the rule cited as 21 NCAC 18B .0201. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

http://www.ncbeec.org/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date: September 13, 2018 

Time: 8:30 a.m. 

Location: State Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors, 

3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 206, Raleigh, NC 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board seeks to hold a public 

hearing to consider reduction of the experience required to take 

the exam for Special Restricted Elevator classification to follow 

similar reduction of experience requirements for other 

classifications made previously. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Tim Norman, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 206, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 733-9042; fax 

(919) 733-6105  

 

Comment period ends: October 1, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18B - BOARD'S RULES FOR THE 

IMPLEMENTATION OF THE ELECTRICAL 

CONTRACTING LICENSING ACT 

 

SECTION .0200 - EXAMINATIONS 

 

21 NCAC 18B .0201 REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL 

EXAMINATION APPLICANTS 

(a)  To take an examination in any electrical contracting license 

classification, the applicant shall: 

(1) be 18 years of age; 

(2) submit the required duly filed application as 

defined in Rule .0210 of this Section; 

(3) submit with the application written statements 

from two persons, attesting to the applicant's 

good character; and 

(4) meet the requirements set out in Paragraph (b) 

of this Rule. 

(b)  Examination applicants shall meet the following requirements 

for the specified license classifications: 

(1) Limited classification. An applicant shall have 

two years of experience, as defined in Rule 

.0202 of this Section, of which one year shall be 

primary experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both. 

(2) Intermediate classification. An applicant shall 

have four years of experience, as defined in 

Rule .0202 of this Section, of which two and 

one half years shall be primary experience. The 

balance of experience may be primary, 

secondary, or both. 

(3) Unlimited classification. An applicant shall: 

(A) have five years of experience, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 

of which four years shall be primary 

experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both; 

and 

(B) submit with the application written 

statements from two persons who are 

knowledgeable of the applicant's 

electrical experience, attesting to the 

applicant's ability to supervise and 

direct all electrical wiring or electrical 

installation work of an electrical 

contracting business in the unlimited 

classification. 

(4) Single family detached residential dwelling 

(SP-SFD) classification. An applicant shall 

have two years of experience, as defined in 

Rule .0202 of this Section, of which one year 

shall be primary experience. The balance of 

experience may be primary, secondary, or both. 

(5) Special restricted fire alarm/low voltage (SP-

FA/LV) classification. An applicant shall have 

two years of experience, as defined in Rule 

.0202 of this Section, of which one year shall be 

primary experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both. An 

applicant in this classification may also receive 

creditable experience for service in any of the 
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capacities listed in Rule .0202 that the applicant 

gained in the low voltage field. 

(6) Special restricted elevator (SP-EL) 

classification. An applicant shall: 

(A) have four two years of experience, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 

of which two and one-half years one 

year shall be primary experience. The 

balance of experience may be primary, 

secondary, or both. An applicant in 

this classification shall also receive 

creditable experience for service in 

any of the capacities listed in Rule 

.0202 that the applicant gained in the 

elevator field; and 

(B) include on the application information 

to establish that the applicant is 

regularly on active duty in, and will be 

the listed qualified individual for a 

firm that is primarily engaged in, a 

lawful elevator business in this State, 

consistent with G.S. 87-43 and 21 

NCAC 18B .0301. 

(7) Special restricted plumbing and heating (SP-

PH) classification. An applicant shall: 

(A) have two years of experience, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 

of which one year shall be primary 

experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both. 

An applicant in this classification shall 

also receive creditable experience for 

service in any of the capacities listed 

in Rule .0202 that the applicant gained 

in the plumbing, heating, or air 

conditioning field; and 

(B) include on the application information 

verifying that the applicant is regularly 

on active duty in, and will be the listed 

qualified individual for a firm that is 

primarily engaged in, a lawful 

plumbing, heating, or air conditioning 

business in this State consistent with 

G.S. 87-43 and 21 NCAC 18B .0301. 

(8) Special restricted ground water pump (SP-WP) 

classification. An applicant shall: 

(A) have two years of experience, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 

of which one year shall be primary 

experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both. 

An applicant in this classification shall 

also receive creditable experience for 

service in any of the capacities listed 

in Rule .0202 that the applicant gained 

in the ground water pump field; and 

(B) include on the application information 

to establish that the applicant is 

regularly on active duty in, and will be 

the listed qualified individual for a 

firm that is primarily engaged in, a 

lawful ground water pump business in 

this State, consistent with G.S. 87-43 

and 21 NCAC 18B .0301. 

(9) Special restricted electric sign (SP-ES) 

classification. An applicant shall: 

(A) have two years of experience, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 

of which one year shall be primary 

experience. The balance of experience 

be primary, secondary, or both. An 

applicant in this classification shall 

also receive creditable experience in 

any of the capacities listed in Rule 

.0202 that the applicant gained in the 

electric sign field; and 

(B) include on the application information 

to establish that the applicant is 

regularly on active duty in, and will be 

the listed qualified individual for a 

firm that is primarily engaged in, a 

lawful electric sign business in this 

State. 

(10) Special restricted swimming pool (SP-SP) 

classification. An applicant shall: 

(A) have two years of experience, as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section, 

of which one year shall be primary 

experience. The balance of experience 

may be primary, secondary, or both. 

An applicant in this classification shall 

also receive creditable experience for 

service in any of the capacities listed 

in Rule .0202 that the applicant gained 

in the swimming pool field; and 

(B) include on the application information 

verifying that the applicant is regularly 

on active duty in, and will be the listed 

qualified individual for a firm that is 

primarily engaged in, a lawful 

swimming pool business in this State, 

consistent with G.S. 87-43 and 21 

NCAC 18B .0301. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-43.3; 87-43.4; 87-44. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on June 14, 2018 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Importation Requirements: Cervidae 02 NCAC 52B .0213* 32:06 NCR 

Intrastate Requirements: Cervidae 02 NCAC 52C .0701 32:06 NCR 

COMMERCE - EMPLOYMENT SECURITY, DIVISION OF 

Office Location 04 NCAC 24A .0101* 32:17 NCR 

Address Changes and Electronic Address Changes 04 NCAC 24A .0102 32:17 NCR 

Addresses for Filing Claims, Appeals, Exceptions, Request... 04 NCAC 24A .0104 32:17 NCR 

Filing/Mailing Dates and Use of Forms 04 NCAC 24A .0106 32:17 NCR 

Power of Attorney 04 NCAC 24A .0109 32:17 NCR 

Written Request Required 04 NCAC 24A .0201 32:17 NCR 

Clear Description of Records Required 04 NCAC 24A .0202 32:17 NCR 

Determination as to Disclosure 04 NCAC 24A .0203 32:17 NCR 

Release of Information to Third Party 04 NCAC 24A .0204* 32:17 NCR 

Fees for Copies and Services 04 NCAC 24A .0205 32:17 NCR 

Method of Payment 04 NCAC 24A .0206 32:17 NCR 

Payment Required Before Information Release 04 NCAC 24A .0207 32:17 NCR 

Filing a Claim 04 NCAC 24B .0101 32:17 NCR 

Weekly Certifications 04 NCAC 24B .0103 32:17 NCR 

Determination by Adjudicator 04 NCAC 24B .0401 32:17 NCR 

Determination of Labor Dispute and Referral for Hearing 04 NCAC 24B .0503 32:17 NCR 

Setoff Debt Collection Act Notice to Claimant 04 NCAC 24B .0901 32:17 NCR 

Claimant Setoff Debt Collection Act Hearings 04 NCAC 24B .0902 32:17 NCR 

Notice to Claimant of Referral to Top 04 NCAC 24B .1001 32:17 NCR 

Claimant Reevaluation of Debt 04 NCAC 24B .1002 32:17 NCR 

Timeliness Exception 04 NCAC 24C .0102* 32:17 NCR 

Base Period Employer Denied Noncharging 04 NCAC 24C .0103 32:17 NCR 

Appearance by Party 04 NCAC 24C .0201 32:17 NCR 

Presenting and Scheduling Appealed Claims 04 NCAC 24C .0202 32:17 NCR 

Contents of Appeal to Appeals Section 04 NCAC 24C .0203 32:17 NCR 

Disqualification of Appeals Referee 04 NCAC 24C .0208* 32:17 NCR 

Controlled Substance Results 04 NCAC 24C .0211 32:17 NCR 

Combination Telephone and In-person Hearings 04 NCAC 24C .0213* 32:17 NCR 

Withdrawal of Appeal 04 NCAC 24C .0214* 32:17 NCR 

New Filing After Withdrawal of Appeal 04 NCAC 24C .0215* 32:17 NCR 

Notices, Service, and Legal Representation or Supervision... 04 NCAC 24C .0302* 32:17 NCR 

Admission of Out-of-State Attorney to Appear Before Appea... 04 NCAC 24C .0303* 32:17 NCR 

Issuance of Subpoenas 04 NCAC 24C .0401 32:17 NCR 

Notice to Employer of Potential Charges 04 NCAC 24D .0102* 32:17 NCR 

Determination on Requests for Noncharging 04 NCAC 24D .0105 32:17 NCR 
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Appealing Denial or Request for Noncharging 04 NCAC 24D .0106 32:17 NCR 

Determination on Grounds Contained in Protest 04 NCAC 24D .0205 32:17 NCR 

Voluntary Election by Employers 04 NCAC 24D .0401 32:17 NCR 

Election to Reimburse in Lieu of Contributions 04 NCAC 24D .0402 32:17 NCR 

Payment of Employer Taxes 04 NCAC 24D .0403 32:17 NCR 

Status Reports 04 NCAC 24D .0602* 32:17 NCR 

Transfer of Experience 04 NCAC 24D .0701 32:17 NCR 

Application for Compromise 04 NCAC 24D .0801 32:17 NCR 

Special Tax Investigations 04 NCAC 24D .0901 32:17 NCR 

Request for Redetermination of Tax Rate 04 NCAC 24D .1001 32:17 NCR 

Division's Obligations 04 NCAC 24D .1002* 32:17 NCR 

Notice to Employer of Referral to Top 04 NCAC 24D .1101 32:17 NCR 

Employer Reevaluation of Debt 04 NCAC 24D .1102 32:17 NCR 

Setoff Debt Collection Act Notice to Employer 04 NCAC 24D .1103 32:17 NCR 

Employer Setoff Debt Collection Act Hearing 04 NCAC 24D .1104 32:17 NCR 

Request for Seasonal Determination 04 NCAC 24D .1201* 32:17 NCR 

Written Determination 04 NCAC 24D .1202 32:17 NCR 

Office Location 04 NCAC 24F .0101 32:17 NCR 

Addresses for Notice and Electronic Notice 04 NCAC 24F .0102 32:17 NCR 

Addresses for Filing Appeals, Exceptions, or Requests 04 NCAC 24F .0103 32:17 NCR 

Filing/Mailing Dates and Use of Forms 04 NCAC 24F .0104 32:17 NCR 

Signatures 04 NCAC 24F .0105 32:17 NCR 

Appeal Date 04 NCAC 24F .0106* 32:17 NCR 

Timeliness Exception 04 NCAC 24F .0107* 32:17 NCR 

Requirements for Appeal Statement to Board of Review 04 NCAC 24F .0201 32:17 NCR 

Acknowledgment of Appeal 04 NCAC 24F .0202* 32:17 NCR 

Oral Arguments 04 NCAC 24F .0203 32:17 NCR 

Legal Representation or Supervision by North Carolina Att... 04 NCAC 24F .0204 32:17 NCR 

Introduction of Evidence in Higher Authority Hearings 04 NCAC 24F .0205 32:17 NCR 

Appealing a Tax Matter 04 NCAC 24F .0301 32:17 NCR 

Scheduling Tax Hearings 04 NCAC 24F .0302* 32:17 NCR 

Telephone Hearings Before the Board of Review 04 NCAC 24F .0303* 32:17 NCR 

Combination Telephone and In-person Hearings before the B... 04 NCAC 24F .0305* 32:17 NCR 

Subpoenas 04 NCAC 24F .0307* 32:17 NCR 

Conduct of Tax Hearings by the Board of Review 04 NCAC 24F .0309 32:17 NCR 

Burden of Proof in Hearings Before the Board of Review 04 NCAC 24F .0310 32:17 NCR 

Admission of Out-of-State Attorney to Appear Before Board... 04 NCAC 24F .0311* 32:17 NCR 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Definitions 10A NCAC 13P .0102* 32:11 NCR 

EMS System Requirements 10A NCAC 13P .0201* 32:11 NCR 

Transport of Stretcher Bound Patients 10A NCAC 13P .0222 32:11 NCR 

Specialty Care Transport Program Criteria 10A NCAC 13P .0301 32:11 NCR 

Scope of Practice for EMS Personnel 10A NCAC 13P .0505 32:11 NCR 

Practice Settings for EMS Personnel 10A NCAC 13P .0506 32:11 NCR 

Initial Designation Process 10A NCAC 13P .0904 32:11 NCR 

Licensed EMS Providers 10A NCAC 13P .1502 32:11 NCR 

EMS Educational Institutions 10A NCAC 13P .1505 32:11 NCR 
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HHS - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE, DIVISION OF 

Notice 10A NCAC 21A .0301* 32:13 NCR 

Good Cause for Delayed Hearings 10A NCAC 21A .0302* 32:13 NCR 

Appeal Decision 10A NCAC 21A .0303* 32:13 NCR 

Effective Date of Assistance 10A NCAC 21B .0204* 32:13 NCR 

Transfer or Resources 10A NCAC 21B .0311 32:13 NCR 

Notice of Estate Recovery 10A NCAC 21D .0101 32:13 NCR 

Permanently Institutionalized 10A NCAC 21D .0102 32:13 NCR 

Age 55 and Over 10A NCAC 21D .0103 32:13 NCR 

Reconsideration Review 10A NCAC 21D .0201 32:13 NCR 

Permanently Institutionalized 10A NCAC 21D .0301 32:13 NCR 

Age 55 and Over 10A NCAC 21D .0302 32:13 NCR 

Filing Claim Against Estate 10A NCAC 21D .0401 32:13 NCR 

Collection of Claims 10A NCAC 21D .0402 32:13 NCR 

Recovery Not Cost Effective 10A NCAC 21D .0501 32:13 NCR 

Undue Hardship 10A NCAC 21D .0502 32:13 NCR 

Determination of Undue Hardship 10A NCAC 21D .0503 32:13 NCR 

Institutional Health Services 10A NCAC 22B .0101 32:13 NCR 

Coordination with Title XVIII 10A NCAC 22B .0102* 32:13 NCR 

Institutional Standards 10A NCAC 22B .0103* 32:13 NCR 

Time Limitation 10A NCAC 22B .0104* 32:13 NCR 

Overutilizer Identification 10A NCAC 22B .0105 32:13 NCR 

Cost Sharing 10A NCAC 22C .0101 32:13 NCR 

Medically Needy 10A NCAC 22C .0102 32:13 NCR 

Categorically Needy 10A NCAC 22C .0103 32:13 NCR 

Co-Payment 10A NCAC 22D .0101 32:13 NCR 

Detection 10A NCAC 22F .0105* 32:13 NCR 

Confidentiality 10A NCAC 22F .0106* 32:13 NCR 

Record Retention 10A NCAC 22F .0107* 32:13 NCR 

Definition of Provider Fraud 10A NCAC 22F .0201* 32:13 NCR 

Investigation 10A NCAC 22F .0202* 32:13 NCR 

Referral to Law Enforcement Agency 10A NCAC 22F .0203* 32:13 NCR 

Purpose 10A NCAC 22F .0401 32:13 NCR 

Reconsideration Review for Program Abuse 10A NCAC 22F .0402* 32:13 NCR 

Recoupment 10A NCAC 22F .0601* 32:13 NCR 

Termination 10A NCAC 22F .0605 32:13 NCR 

Technique for Protecting Medicaid Overpayments 10A NCAC 22F .0606* 32:13 NCR 

Recipient Management Lock-In System 10A NCAC 22F .0704* 32:13 NCR 

Recoupment of Overpayments 10A NCAC 22F .0706* 32:13 NCR 

Reimbursement Methods for State-Operated Facilities 10A NCAC 22G .0108 32:13 NCR 

Nursing Home Provider Assessment 10A NCAC 22G .0109 32:13 NCR 

Administrative Reconsideration Reviews 10A NCAC 22G .0208 32:13 NCR 

Mental Health Clinic Services 10A NCAC 22G .0502 32:13 NCR 

Health Maintenance Organizations and Prepaid Health Plans 10A NCAC 22G .0504 32:13 NCR 

Reimbursement Principles, Hearing Aids/Accessories/Batteries 10A NCAC 22G .0509 32:13 NCR 

Appeals by Medicaid Beneficiaries 10A NCAC 22H .0101 32:13 NCR 

Requests for Formal and Informal Appeals 10A NCAC 22H .0102 32:13 NCR 
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Time Limits on Requests for Recipient/Applicant Informal ... 10A NCAC 22H .0103 32:13 NCR 

Payment Pending Appeals 10A NCAC 22H .0104 32:13 NCR 

Dismissal of Appeal 10A NCAC 22H .0105 32:13 NCR 

Definitions 10A NCAC 22H .0201* 32:13 NCR 

Transfer and Discharge Requirements 10A NCAC 22H .0202 32:13 NCR 

Initiating a Hearing 10A NCAC 22H .0203* 32:13 NCR 

Hearing Procedures 10A NCAC 22H .0204* 32:13 NCR 

Hearing Officer's Final Decision 10A NCAC 22H .0205* 32:13 NCR 

Definitions 10A NCAC 22H .0301* 32:13 NCR 

PASRR Requirements 10A NCAC 22H .0302* 32:13 NCR 

Initiating a Hearing 10A NCAC 22H .0303 32:13 NCR 

Hearing Procedures 10A NCAC 22H .0304* 32:13 NCR 

Hearing Officer's Final Decision 10A NCAC 22H .0305* 32:13 NCR 

Exit Conference 10A NCAC 22I .0102 32:13 NCR 

Reconsideration Review 10A NCAC 22I .0104 32:13 NCR 

Petition for Reconsideration Review 10A NCAC 22J .0102* 32:13 NCR 

Reconsideration Review Process 10A NCAC 22J .0103* 32:13 NCR 

Petition for a Contested Case Hearing 10A NCAC 22J .0104 32:13 NCR 

Definition 10A NCAC 22K .0101 32:13 NCR 

Agreement 10A NCAC 22K .0102* 32:13 NCR 

Presumptive Determinations 10A NCAC 22K .0103 32:13 NCR 

Program Definition 10A NCAC 22L .0101 32:13 NCR 

Coordination Fee 10A NCAC 22L .0102* 32:13 NCR 

Access To Care 10A NCAC 22L .0103 32:13 NCR 

Enrollment 10A NCAC 22L .0104* 32:13 NCR 

Program Definition 10A NCAC 22L .0201* 32:13 NCR 

Access to Care 10A NCAC 22L .0203* 32:13 NCR 

Definitions 10A NCAC 22N .0101 32:13 NCR 

Signed Agreements 10A NCAC 22N .0102 32:13 NCR 

Definitions 10A NCAC 22N .0201 32:13 NCR 

Disclosure of Ownership 10A NCAC 22N .0202 32:13 NCR 

Enrollment Restrictions 10A NCAC 22N .0203* 32:13 NCR 

Definitions 10A NCAC 22N .0301 32:13 NCR 

Disclosure of Ownership 10A NCAC 22N .0302 32:13 NCR 

Enrollment Restrictions 10A NCAC 22N .0303 32:13 NCR 

Psychiatric Admission Criteria/Medicaid Beneficiaries Und... 10A NCAC 22O .0112 32:13 NCR 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Authorized Vendors 10A NCAC 43D .0708* 32:12 NCR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Criminal Justice Instructor Training 12 NCAC 09B .0209* 32:18 NCR 

Comprehensive Written Examination - Basic Law Enforcement... 12 NCAC 09B .0406* 32:18 NCR 

Instructor Training 12 NCAC 09G .0414* 32:12 NCR 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 

Payment of Fees and Fines 14B NCAC 15A .0104* 32:18 NCR 

Applications for Permits: General Provisions 14B NCAC 15B .0102* 32:18 NCR 
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Additional Permit Limitations and Requirements 14B NCAC 15B .0103* 32:18 NCR 

Alcohol Seller/Server Training 14B NCAC 15B .0113* 32:18 NCR 

Prohibited Statements in Advertising or on Labels 14B NCAC 15B .1003* 32:18 NCR 

Administrative Fines: Payment 14B NCAC 15B .1104* 32:18 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02D .1001* 32:12 NCR 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02D .1002* 32:12 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .1003* 32:12 NCR 

On-Board Diagnostic Standards 15A NCAC 02D .1005* 32:12 NCR 

Sale and Service of Analyzers 15A NCAC 02D .1006* 32:12 NCR 

Heavy Duty Diesel Engine Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .1008* 32:12 NCR 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02D .1101 32:13 NCR 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02D .1102* 32:13 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .1103 32:13 NCR 

Toxic Air Pollutant Guidelines 15A NCAC 02D .1104* 32:13 NCR 

Facility Reporting, Recordkeeping 15A NCAC 02D .1105* 32:13 NCR 

Determination of Ambient Air Concentration 15A NCAC 02D .1106* 32:13 NCR 

Multiple Facilities 15A NCAC 02D .1107* 32:13 NCR 

Multiple Pollutants 15A NCAC 02D .1108* 32:13 NCR 

112(J) Case by Case Maximum Achievable Control Technology 15A NCAC 02D .1109* 32:13 NCR 

National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants 15A NCAC 02D .1110* 32:13 NCR 

Maximum Achievable Control Technology 15A NCAC 02D .1111* 32:13 NCR 

112(g) Case by Case Maximum Achievable Control Technology 15A NCAC 02D .1112* 32:13 NCR 

Purpose and Scope 15A NCAC 02D .1201* 32:13 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .1202* 32:13 NCR 

Hazardous Waste Incinerators 15A NCAC 02D .1203 32:13 NCR 

Large Municipal Waste Combustors 15A NCAC 02D .1205 32:13 NCR 

Hospital, Medical, and Infectious Waste Incinerators 15A NCAC 02D .1206* 32:13 NCR 

Conical Incinerators 15A NCAC 02D .1207 32:13 NCR 

Other Incinerators 15A NCAC 02D .1208* 32:13 NCR 

Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units 15A NCAC 02D .1210* 32:12 NCR 

Other Solid Waste Incineration Units 15A NCAC 02D .1211 32:13 NCR 

Small Municipal Waste Combustors 15A NCAC 02D .1212 32:13 NCR 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02Q .0701* 32:13 NCR 

Exemptions 15A NCAC 02Q .0702* 32:13 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02Q .0703* 32:13 NCR 

New Facilities 15A NCAC 02Q .0704* 32:13 NCR 

Modifications 15A NCAC 02Q .0706* 32:13 NCR 

Previously Permitted Facilities 15A NCAC 02Q .0707* 32:13 NCR 

Compliance Schedule for Previously Unknown Toxic Air Poll... 15A NCAC 02Q .0708* 32:13 NCR 

Demonstrations 15A NCAC 02Q .0709* 32:13 NCR 

Public Notice and Opportunity for Public Hearing 15A NCAC 02Q .0710* 32:13 NCR 

Emission Rates Requiring a Permit 15A NCAC 02Q .0711* 32:13 NCR 

Calls by the Director 15A NCAC 02Q .0712* 32:13 NCR 

Pollutants with Otherwise Applicable Federal Standards or... 15A NCAC 02Q .0713 32:13 NCR 
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WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Form and Contents of Petition 15A NCAC 10A .0401* n/a G.S. 150B-21.5 

Beaufort County 15A NCAC 10F .0303* 32:07 NCR 

Bladen County 15A NCAC 10F .0304* 32:07 NCR 

Brunswick County 15A NCAC 10F .0305* 32:14 NCR 

Columbus County 15A NCAC 10F .0309* 32:11 NCR 

Dare County 15A NCAC 10F .0310* 32:11 NCR 

Granville, Vance and Warren Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0311* 32:11 NCR 

Hyde County 15A NCAC 10F .0313* 32:07 NCR 

New Hanover County 15A NCAC 10F .0314* 32:07 NCR 

Forsyth: Rockingham And Stokes Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0316* 32:11 NCR 

Stanly County 15A NCAC 10F .0317* 32:11 NCR 

Warren County 15A NCAC 10F .0318* 32:07 NCR 

Washington County 15A NCAC 10F .0319* 32:07 NCR 

Union County 15A NCAC 10F .0322* 32:11 NCR 

Davidson County 15A NCAC 10F .0324* 32:11 NCR 

Pamlico County 15A NCAC 10F .0326* 32:07 NCR 

Montgomery County 15A NCAC 10F .0327* 32:11 NCR 

Martin County 15A NCAC 10F .0328* 32:07 NCR 

Rowan County 15A NCAC 10F .0329* 32:11 NCR 

Carteret County 15A NCAC 10F .0330* 32:07 NCR 

Wake County 15A NCAC 10F .0331* 32:07 NCR 

Alexander County 15A NCAC 10F .0332* 32:11 NCR 

Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0333* 32:11 NCR 

Guilford County 15A NCAC 10F .0334* 32:07 NCR 

Northampton and Warren Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0336* 32:11 NCR 

Franklin County 15A NCAC 10F .0337* 32:07 NCR 

Caldwell County 15A NCAC 10F .0338* 32:14 NCR 

Town of Lake Lure 15A NCAC 10F .0341* 32:11 NCR 

Chatham County 15A NCAC 10F .0343* 32:11 NCR 

Town Of River Bend 15A NCAC 10F .0344* 32:11 NCR 

Chatham and Wake Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0345* 32:11 NCR 

Arrowhead Beach Subdivision 15A NCAC 10F .0346* 32:11 NCR 

Craven County 15A NCAC 10F .0347* 32:11 NCR 

Person County 15A NCAC 10F .0348* 32:07 NCR 

Durham and Wake Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0350* 32:14 NCR 

New Bern 15A NCAC 10F .0351* 32:07 NCR 

Camden County 15A NCAC 10F .0352* 32:07 NCR 

Pitt County 15A NCAC 10F .0354* 32:07 NCR 

Perquimans County 15A NCAC 10F .0355* 32:07 NCR 

Pasquotank County 15A NCAC 10F .0356* 32:07 NCR 

Nash County 15A NCAC 10F .0357* 32:11 NCR 

Jones County 15A NCAC 10F .0358* 32:11 NCR 

Wilkes County 15A NCAC 10F .0361* 32:07 NCR 

Harnett County 15A NCAC 10F .0362* 32:11 NCR 

Caswell and Person Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0363* 32:07 NCR 

Greensboro 15A NCAC 10F .0364* 32:07 NCR 
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Tyrell County 15A NCAC 10F .0365* 32:07 NCR 

Town of Nags Head 15A NCAC 10F .0368* 32:07 NCR 

Town of Swansboro 15A NCAC 10F .0369* 32:11 NCR 

City of Rocky Mount 15A NCAC 10F .0370* 32:07 NCR 

Belews Lake in Stokes County 15A NCAC 10F .0371* 32:11 NCR 

Cube Yadkin Generation Safety Zones 15A NCAC 10F .0374* 32:07 NCR 

Town of Emerald Isle 15A NCAC 10F .0376* 32:11 NCR 

General Requirements 15A NCAC 10H .0301 32:14 NCR 

Minimum Standards 15A NCAC 10H .0302 32:14 NCR 

Forfeiture 15A NCAC 10H .0303 32:14 NCR 

Captive Cervid Herd Certification Program 15A NCAC 10H .0304 32:14 NCR 

IRRIGATION CONTRACTORS LICENSING BOARD 

Complaint Process 21 NCAC 23 .0208* 32:14 NCR 

Water Supply 21 NCAC 23 .0503* 32:14 NCR 

MEDICAL BOARD 

Exceptions 21 NCAC 32R .0103* 32:12 NCR 

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY, BOARD OF 

Definitions 21 NCAC 38 .0103* 32:16 NCR 

Approval of Activities for Maintaining Continuing Competence 21 NCAC 38 .0803* 32:16 NCR 

Types of Supervision 21 NCAC 38 .0903* 32:16 NCR 

Delineation of Clinical Responsibilities 21 NCAC 38 .0905* 32:16 NCR 

APPRAISAL BOARD 

Continuing Education 21 NCAC 57A .0204* 32:14 NCR 

Payment of Fee Required by G.S. 93e-1-7(c) 21 NCAC 57B .0613* 32:14 NCR 

Form of Complaints and Other Pleadings 21 NCAC 57C .0101* 32:14 NCR 

Registration Renewal 21 NCAC 57D .0202* 32:14 NCR 

Compliance Manager 21 NCAC 57D .0303* 32:14 NCR 

Removal of an Appraiser from an Appraiser Panel 21 NCAC 57D .0311* 32:14 NCR 

RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD 

Definitions 21 NCAC 61 .0103* 32:12 NCR 

Code of Ethics 21 NCAC 61 .0104* 32:12 NCR 

License Number: Display of License 21 NCAC 61 .0301* 32:12 NCR 

Grounds for License Denial or Discipline 21 NCAC 61 .0307* 32:12 NCR 

Receiving Processing Complaints 21 NCAC 61 .0801* 32:12 NCR 

 

The following rules are subject to Legislative Review. 

APPRAISAL BOARD 

Licensed Residential and Certified Residential Real Estat... 21 NCAC 57B .0102* 32:14 NCR 

Certified General Real Estate Appraiser Course Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0103* 32:14 NCR 
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TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

02 NCAC 52B .0213 IMPORTATION 

REQUIREMENTS: CERVIDS 

(a)  No farmed cervids shall be imported into North Carolina 

from: 

(1) a herd located in a county or its equivalent, if 

not within the United States or in a territory 

without counties, where Chronic Wasting 

Disease ("CWD") has been diagnosed; 

(2) a herd located in a county or its equivalent, if 

not within the United States or in a territory 

without counties, that is contiguous to a county 

or its equivalent, if not within the United States 

or in a territory without counties, where CWD 

has been diagnosed; or 

(3) a CWD-positive, exposed, or suspect farmed 

cervid facility. 

(b)  Any imported farmed cervid that fails to comply with G.S. 

106-549.97, 02 NCAC 52L, or this Rule, shall be deemed a CWD-

suspect animal until further investigation by the North Carolina 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' Veterinary 

Division. 

(c)  No CWD-susceptible cervids, as identified by the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' 

Veterinary Division or the USDA, shall be imported into North 

Carolina without first being tested negative for CWD using an 

antemortem test approved by the USDA. 

(d)  All cervids entering North Carolina shall be accompanied by 

all of the following: 

(1) an interstate certificate of veterinary inspection 

("ICVI") issued within 30 days prior to arrival;  

(2) the following statement shall also appear on the 

ICVI: "All cervidae on this certificate originate 

from a Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) 

monitored or certified herd in which these 

animals have been kept for at least one year or 

were natural additions. There has been no 

diagnosis, signs, or epidemiological evidence 

of CWD in this herd or any herd contributing to 

this herd for the previous five years."; and  

(3) proof of a negative USDA-approved 

tuberculosis test for animals six months of age 

or older conducted within 60 days prior to 

arrival if the animal originates from a 

tuberculosis accredited herd. If the animal is six 

months of age or older and originates from a 

herd of unknown status, two negative USDA 

approved tests for tuberculosis shall be required 

with the second being greater than 90 days from 

the initial test and within 60 days prior to 

arrival. If the animal is less than six months of 

age and from a herd of unknown status, one 

negative USDA approved tuberculosis test shall 

be required. The herd of origin and commingled 

susceptible species shall have had no diagnosis 

of tuberculosis in the 36 months preceding 

shipment.  

(e)  All farmed cervids entering North Carolina shall be 

accompanied by all of the following: 

(1) individual animal identification required by 02 

NCAC 52L .0112 and noted on the ICVI; and 

(2) a valid transportation permit issued by the 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services' Veterinary Division. 

(f)  The State Veterinarian of North Carolina may issue orders 

prohibiting the importation of certain farmed cervids or issue 

moratoriums pending the investigation of any threat of disease 

based on his or her expertise and experience that will pose a risk 

of spreading disease that will damage or harm the North Carolina 

farmed cervid industry, including the control or spread of CWD. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-307.5; 106-317; 106-399.4; 

106-400; 106-549.97(a2); 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

02 NCAC 52C .0701 INTRASTATE 

REQUIREMENTS: CERVIDAE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-317; 106-400; 106-

549.97(a2); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

 

TITLE 04 - DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0101 OFFICE LOCATION 

The administrative office of the North Carolina Department of 

Commerce, Division of Employment Security (hereinafter "DES" 

or "The Division") is located at 700 Wade Avenue, in Raleigh, 

North Carolina. The general mailing address is Post Office Box 

25903, Raleigh, NC 27611-5903. The office is open to the public 

during business hours, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday 

through Friday, except for State holidays as set forth in 25 NCAC 

01E .0901, including subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0102 ADDRESS CHANGES AND 

ELECTRONIC ADDRESS CHANGES 

(a)  Each employing unit that has or had individuals in 

employment as defined in G.S. 96-1 shall notify DES in writing 

of any change to its mailing address. This notice shall be 

transmitted by facsimile, via the internet on the DES website, or 

by postal mail within seven days after the effective date of the 

change. All notices shall be submitted to the Tax Administration 

Section, Attn: Address Change by mail to Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina, 27611-6504, facsimile to (919) 733-

1255, or email to des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(b)  Each claimant with an active claim or who is registered for 

work at a public employment office, shall notify DES in writing 
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of any change in address or electronic mail address within seven 

days after the effective date of the change. All notices shall be 

submitted to the DES Customer Call Center, Attn: Address 

Change, by mail to Post Office Box 25903, Raleigh, NC 27611-

5903, facsimile to (919) 857-1296, or email to 

des.ui.customerservice@nccommerce.com. Claimants may also 

make and submit address and electronic mail address changes 

from their home page in the Southeast Consortium 

Unemployment Benefits Integration (SCUBI) system. 

(c)  Each claimant who is liable to DES for an overpayment of 

benefits, shall notify DES by facsimile, via the DES website, or 

by postal mail of any change of address within seven days after 

the effective date of the change. All notices of overpayment 

address changes shall be submitted to the Benefits Integrity Unit, 

Attn: Overpayment Address Change by mail to Post Office Box 

25903, Raleigh, NC 27611-5903, facsimile to (919) 733-1369, or 

email to des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-40; 20 C.F.R. 640.1; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; September 1, 2017. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0104 ADDRESSES FOR FILING 

CLAIMS, APPEALS, EXCEPTIONS, REQUESTS OR 

PROTESTS 

(a)  Claimants shall file a claim for unemployment insurance 

benefits by internet on DES's website, or by telephone. 

(1) The telephone number for DES's Customer Call 

Center for filing a new initial claim or inquiring 

about an existing claim is (888) 737-0259. 

(2) The telephone number for filing weekly 

certifications is (888) 372-3453. 

(b)  Appeals from a Determination by Adjudicator shall be filed 

with the Appeals Section in SCUBI, by mail, facsimile, or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) The email address is 

des.public.appeals@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and appeals submitted by 

email outside the SCUBI system shall not 

include social security numbers or employer 

account numbers. 

(5) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or issue identification 

number of the determination being appealed, 

the claimant's identification number, the names 

of the claimant and employer, each reason for 

the appeal, the name of the individual filing the 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number. 

(c)  Appeals of a Non-Fraud Overpayment Determination shall be 

filed with the Benefits Integrity Unit in SCUBI, by mail, or 

facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or identification number of 

the determination being appealed, the 

claimant's identification number, the names of 

the claimant and employer, each reason for the 

appeal, the name of the individual filing the 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number. 

(5) Any questions regarding the contents of a Non-

Fraud Overpayment Determination shall be 

directed to the Benefits Integrity Unit by 

telephone to (919) 707-1338, facsimile at (919) 

857-1296, or email at 

des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com. 

(d)  Appeals of a Fraud Overpayment Determination shall be filed 

with the Benefits Integrity Unit in SCUBI, by mail, or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or identification number of 

the determination being appealed, the 

claimant's identification number, the names of 

the claimant and employer, each reason for the 

appeal, the name of the individual filing the 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number. 

(5) Any questions regarding the contents of a Fraud 

Overpayment Determination shall be directed 

to the Benefits Integrity Unit by telephone to 

(919) 707-1338, facsimile at (919) 857-1296, or 

email at des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com. 

(e)  Appeals of a Monetary Determination denying a protest to a 

Wage Transcript and Monetary Determination shall be filed with 

the Tax Administration Section in SCUBI, by mail, facsimile, or 

email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and appeals submitted by 

email outside the SCUBI system shall not 

include social security numbers or employer 

account numbers. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2018 

170 

(5) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or identification number of 

the determination being appealed, the 

claimant's identification number, the names of 

the claimant and employer, each reason for the 

appeal, the name of the individual filing the 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number. 

(6) Any questions regarding the contents of a 

determination denying a protest to a Wage 

Transcript and Monetary Determination shall 

be directed to the Wage Records Unit of the Tax 

Administration Section by telephone to (919) 

707-1191, facsimile at (919) 733-1255, or email 

at des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(f)  Protests of a Wage Transcript and Monetary Determination 

shall be filed with the Tax Administration Section in SCUBI, by 

mail, or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is . (919) 733-1255. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Protests shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

protest, the docket or identification number of 

the determination being protested, the 

claimant's identification number, the names of 

the claimant and employer, each reason for the 

protest, the name of the individual filing the 

protest, the official position of an individual 

filing the protest on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number. 

(5) Any questions regarding the contents of a Wage 

Transcript and Monetary Determination shall 

be directed to the Wage Records Unit by 

telephone to (919) 707-1191, facsimile at (919) 

733-1255, or email at 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(g)  Petitions for Waiver of Overpayment shall be filed with the 

Benefits Integrity Unit in SCUBI, by mail, or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Petitions shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

petition, docket or identification number of the 

overpayment determination, the claimant's 

identification number, the name of the claimant, 

each reason for the request to waive repayment 

of the overpayment, the name of the individual 

filing the petition, the official position of an 

individual filing the petition on behalf of the 

party, and a telephone number. 

(h)  Claimant appeals of a North Carolina Department of Revenue 

(NCDOR) Offset Letter shall be filed with the Benefits Integrity 

Unit in SCUBI, by mail, or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence regarding a claimant's 

NCDOR Offset Letter submitted by email 

outside the SCUBI system shall not include 

social security numbers or employer account 

numbers. 

(4) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or identification number of 

the offset letter being appealed, the claimant's 

identification number, the name of the claimant, 

each reason for the appeal, the name of the 

individual filing the appeal, the official position 

of an individual filing the appeal on behalf of 

the party, and a telephone number. 

(5) Any questions regarding the contents of a 

claimant's NCDOR Offset Letter shall be 

directed to the Benefits Integrity Unit by 

telephone to (919) 707-1338, facsimile at (919) 

857-1296, or email at 

des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com. 

(i)  Employer appeals of a North Carolina Department of Revenue 

(NCDOR) Offset Letter for outstanding tax debts shall be filed 

with the Tax Administration Section by mail or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, NC 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) Correspondence regarding an employer's 

NCDOR Offset Letter submitted by email 

outside the SCUBI system shall not include 

social security numbers or employer account 

numbers. 

(4) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or identification number of 

the offset letter, the name of the employer, each 

reason for the appeal, the name of the individual 

filing the appeal, the official position of an 

individual filing the appeal on behalf of the 

party, and a telephone number. 

(5) Any questions regarding the contents of an 

employer's NCDOR Offset letter for 

outstanding tax debts shall be directed to the 

Tax Administration Section by facsimile at 

(919) 733-1255, or email at 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 
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(j)  Claimant Requests for Reevaluation under the Treasury Offset 

Program (TOP) shall be filed with the Benefits Integrity Unit in 

SCUBI, by mail, or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box, 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7697. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Requests shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

request, the docket or identification number of 

the TOP notice, the claimant's identification 

number, the name of the claimant, each reason 

for the request, the name of the individual filing 

the request, the official position of an individual 

filing the request on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number. 

(5) Claimant questions regarding TOP shall be 

directed to a Recovery Specialist by telephone 

to (919) 707-1338, or email at 

des.ui.bpc@nccommerce.com. 

(k)  Employer Requests for Reevaluation under the Treasury 

Offset Program (TOP) shall be filed with the Tax Administration 

Section by mail or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Requests shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

request, the docket or identification number of 

the TOP notice, the name of the employer, each 

reason for the request, the name of the 

individual filing the request, the official 

position of an individual filing the request on 

behalf of the party, and a telephone number. 

(5) Employer questions regarding TOP shall be 

directed to the Tax Administration Section by 

telephone to (919) 707-1150, facsimile at (919) 

733-1255, or email at 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(l)  Appeals from an Appeals Decision shall be filed with the 

Board of Review in SCUBI, by mail, facsimile, or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 28263, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-8263. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-0690. 

(3) The email address is 

des.ha.appeals@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and appeals submitted by 

email outside the SCUBI system shall not 

include social security numbers or employer 

account numbers. 

(5) Appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

appeal, the docket or issue identification 

number of the determination being appealed, 

the claimant's identification number, the names 

of the claimant and employer, each reason for 

the appeal, the name of the individual filing the 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the appeal on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number. 

(m)  Protests or appeals of adequacy determinations shall be filed 

with the Claims Unit in SCUBI, by mail, or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina . 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the determination 

being protested or appealed, the name of the 

employer, each reason for the protest or appeal, 

the name of the party filing the protest or 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the protest or appeal on behalf of the 

party, and a telephone number. 

(n)  Protests or appeals of a Tax Liability Determination shall be 

filed with the Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or 

email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, NC 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 715-7197. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and protests or appeals 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(5) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the determination 

being appealed, the claimant's identification 

number, the names of the claimant and 

employer, each reason for the protest or appeal, 

the name of the individual filing the protest or 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the protest or appeal on behalf of the 

party, and a telephone number. 

(o)  Protests or appeals of a Tax Rate Assignment shall be filed 

with the Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, NC 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 
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(4) Correspondence and protests or appeals 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(5) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the rate assignment, 

the name and address of the employer, the 

employer's account number, each reason for the 

protest or appeal, the name of the individual 

filing the protest or appeal, the official position 

of an individual filing the protest or appeal on 

behalf of the party, and a telephone number. 

(p)  Protests or appeals of Audit Results shall be filed with the Tax 

Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, NC 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and protests or appeals 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(5) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the result being 

protested or appealed, the name of the 

employer, each reason for the protest or appeal, 

the name of the individual filing the protest or 

appeal, the official position of an individual 

filing the protest or appeal on behalf of the 

party, and a telephone number. 

(q)  Protests or appeals of Tax Assessments shall be filed with the 

Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, NC 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and protests or appeals 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(5) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the assessment being 

protested or appealed, the name of the 

employer, each reason for the protest or appeal, 

the name of the individual filing the protest or 

appeal, the official position of the individual 

filing the protest or appeal on behalf of the 

party, and a telephone number. 

(r)  Exceptions to a Tax Opinion shall be filed with the Board of 

Review by mail, facsimile, or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 28263, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-8263. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 715-7193. 

(3) The email address is BOR@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and exceptions submitted by 

email outside the SCUBI system shall not 

include social security numbers or employer 

account numbers. 

(5) Exceptions shall be filed by a party or a party's 

legal representative as defined in 04 NCAC 

24A .0105 and shall contain the date of the 

exceptions, the docket or identification number 

of the tax opinion, the claimant's identification 

number, the names of the claimant and 

employer, the name of the individual filing the 

exceptions, each reason for the exceptions, the 

official position of an individual filing the 

exceptions on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number. 

(s)  Requests for non-charging of benefits to an employer's 

account, and protests or appeals of benefit charges to an 

employer's account shall be filed with the Claims Unit in SCUBI, 

by mail, or facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(3) Correspondence, requests, protests, or appeals 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(4) Requests for non-charging and protests or 

appeals shall be filed by a party or a party's legal 

representative as defined in 04 NCAC 24A 

.0105 and shall contain the date of the request, 

the docket or employer's identification number, 

the name of the employer, each reason for the 

request, the name and official position of the 

individual filing the request, protest, or appeal, 

on behalf of the party, and a telephone number. 

(t)  Requests for seasonal determinations and protests or appeals 

of a Denial of Seasonal Assignment shall be filed with the Tax 

Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 26504, 

Raleigh, NC 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 715-7197. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and protests or appeal 

submitted by email outside the SCUBI system 

shall not include social security numbers or 

employer account numbers. 

(5) Protests or appeals shall be filed by a party or a 

party's legal representative as defined in 04 

NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the date of 

the protest or appeal, the docket or 

identification number of the denial being 

appealed, the name of the employer, each 
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reason for the protest or appeal, the name of the 

individual filing the protest or appeal, the 

official position of an individual filing the 

protest or appeal on behalf of the party, and a 

telephone number. 

(u)  Transmittal of interstate work search records and photo 

identification shall be filed with the Claims Unit by mail or 

facsimile. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 27967, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-7967. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 857-1296. 

(v)  Requests for oral arguments or to reschedule oral arguments 

shall be filed with the Board of Review in SCUBI, by mail, 

facsimile, or email. 

(1) The mailing address is Post Office Box 28263, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611-8263. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-0690. 

(3) The email address is 

des.ha.appeals@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence and requests for oral 

arguments submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(4) Requests for oral arguments shall be filed by a 

party or a party's legal representative as defined 

in 04 NCAC 24A .0105 and shall contain the 

date of the request, the docket or issue 

identification number of the decision being 

appealed, the claimant's identification number, 

the names of the claimant and employer, the 

name and official position of the individual 

filing the request on behalf of the party, a 

telephone number, and a statement that a copy 

of the request was served on the opposing party, 

if one exists. 

(w)  Employers may file requests for compromise of tax debts 

with DES's Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or 

email. 

(1) The address is Post Office Box 26504, Raleigh, 

NC 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(5) The letter shall contain the date of the request, 

the name of the employer, the name and official 

position of the individual filing the election on 

behalf of the employer, and a telephone 

number. 

(x)  Employers electing to pay reimbursements for benefits, rather 

than contributions, shall submit written notice of their election to 

DES's Tax Administration Section by mail, facsimile, or email. 

(1) The address is Post Office Box 26504, Raleigh, 

NC 27611-6504. 

(2) The facsimile number is (919) 733-1255. 

(3) The email address is 

des.tax.customerservice@nccommerce.com. 

(4) Correspondence submitted by email outside the 

SCUBI system shall not include social security 

numbers or employer account numbers. 

(5) The letter shall contain the date of the notice of 

election, the name and address of the employer, 

the name and official position of the individual 

filing the election on behalf of the employer, 

and a telephone number. 

(y)  Employers shall make payments to DES by credit card, money 

order, electronic check, business check with funds drawn from a 

U.S. financial institution, cashier's check from a U.S. financial 

institution, automated clearing house (ACH) credit, or cash. 

(1) Payments made by money order, business 

check, cashier's check, or cash shall be sent by 

mail or delivery service to DES's Tax 

Administration Section, Post Office Box 

26504, Raleigh, NC 27611-6504, or by delivery 

to an agent of DES designated to accept 

payments in accordance with G.S. 96-10. 

(2) Payments by electronic transmission shall be 

made on DES's website. 

(3) Payments by ACH credit shall be initiated by 

employers through their U.S. financial 

institution. 

(z)  Claimants shall make payments to DES by cashier's check 

from a U.S. financial institution, by personal check with funds 

drawn from a U.S. financial institution, by money order, or by 

credit card. 

(1) Payments by mail or delivery service shall be 

sent to the Benefit Payment Control (BPC) 

Unit, Post Office Box 25903, Raleigh, NC 

27611-5903. 

(2) Payments by credit card shall be made on DES's 

website, or by calling BPC at (919) 707-1338. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75-62; 96-4; 96-9.6; 96-9.8; 96-

10; 96-10.1; 96-14.1; 96-15; 96-17; 96-18; 96-40; 20 C.F.R. 

603.4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0106 FILING/MAILING DATES AND 

USE OF FORMS 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in this Chapter, a document or 

form shall be filed with DES on the date the document or form is 

received by DES. 

(b)  When a filing deadline or due date for a form or payment falls 

on a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday as set forth in 25 NCAC 

01E .0901, the deadline or due date shall be extended to the first 

business day following the Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday. 

(c)  When determining whether a party had good cause for filing 

a late appeal or protest, DES shall consider the date mailed in the 

order listed: 

(1) the postmark date or the postal meter date, 

where there is only one; 

(2) the postmark date if there is both a postmark 

date and a postal meter date, if they conflict; or 
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(3) the date the document was delivered to a 

delivery service, which is equivalent to a 

postmark date of the United States Postal 

Service. 

(d)  A document received in an envelope bearing no legible 

postmark, postal meter date, or date of delivery to the delivery 

service shall be considered to have been sent three business days 

before receipt by DES, or on the date of the document, if the 

document date is less than three days earlier than date of receipt. 

(e)  If the envelope is lost after delivery to DES, the date on the 

document shall control. If the document is undated, DES shall 

deem the date the writing was sent to be three business days prior 

to receipt by DES, subject to sworn testimony establishing an 

earlier date from the sender of the writing. 

(f)  Except as otherwise provided in this Chapter, the date and time 

that DES receives a document shall be used when the document 

is sent by facsimile transmission or via the internet. 

(g)  Except as otherwise provided in this Chapter, when a 

document furnishes information that is sufficient to indicate the 

purpose or intent of the document, but is not on a form prescribed 

by DES, the controlling date shall be determined as described in 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 1A-1, Rule 6; 96-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0109 POWER OF ATTORNEY 

(a)  An employer may appoint an agent with authority to act on 

his, her, or its behalf with DES in accordance with G.S. 32C-2-

214. An employer's appointment of an agent shall be made in 

writing in the manner prescribed by G.S. 32C-3-301, or by using 

the Power of Attorney and Declaration of Representative form 

found on DES's website. 

(b)  An agent appointed pursuant to a power of attorney may: 

(1) complete and submit documents for filing 

employers' tax and wage reports; 

(2) complete and submit documents regarding an 

employer's tax rate, contributions, and direct 

reimbursements; 

(3) respond to benefit claims documents, including 

responding to requests for information about a 

claimant's separation or status; 

(4) engage in discussions with DES representatives 

regarding the actions listed above; and 

(5) accept or receive correspondence sent by DES 

regarding claims for benefits or an employer's 

contributions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 32C-2-214; 32C-3-301; 96-4; 

96-9.15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; September 1, 2017. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0201 WRITTEN REQUEST 

REQUIRED 

Any individual or employing unit requesting to inspect or copy 

any record containing confidential unemployment insurance 

information shall make the request in writing. All requests shall 

be submitted to the Legal Services Section, ATTN: Legal Release 

by mail to Post Office Box 25903, Raleigh, North Carolina, 

27611-5903, or by facsimile to (919) 715-7194. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 20 CFR 603.5; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0202 CLEAR DESCRIPTION OF 

RECORDS REQUIRED 

(a)  Each written request for unemployment insurance information 

shall describe the record or records sought and provide sufficient 

details to permit identification and location of the records. 

(b)  The request shall specify: 

(1) the subject matter of the record; 

(2) the date or approximate date that the record was 

made; 

(3) the place where the record was made; 

(4) the person or office that made the record; and 

(5) any other necessary identifying details about 

the record, such as an account or form number. 

(c)  If the description is insufficient for an employee familiar with 

the subject area of the request to locate the record, the Chief 

Counsel or designee shall notify the person making the request 

and indicate the additional information required to locate the 

record. 

 

History Note Authority G.S. 96-4; 20 CFR 603.5; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0203 DETERMINATION AS TO 

DISCLOSURE 

(a)  If the Chief Counsel or designee determines that the 

applicable law does not permit disclosure of the requested 

information, the Chief Counsel or designee shall provide written 

notification to the person making the request. The notice shall 

state reasons for the denial, including the applicable law 

prohibiting disclosure. 

(b)  Where there is specific information in a record that is 

prohibited from disclosure, the specific information shall be 

deleted or redacted before providing the requested record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 20 CFR 603.5; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0204 RELEASE OF INFORMATION 

TO THIRD PARTY 

(a)  Upon written request, a claimant, employer, applicant, or 

other person who authorizes information or records to be released 

to a third party or person shall provide: 

(1) the name of the third party or person; 

(2) the address of the third party or person; and 

(3) a statement that the claimant, employer, 

applicant, or other person authorizing the 

disclosure of information waives 

confidentiality as to the information directed to 

be released. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2018 

175 

(b)  An individual requesting that DES release or disclose to a 

third party or person the individual's quarterly wage records, 

including the amount of wages and names of each employer 

reporting wages for the individual shall: 

(1) identify the third party or person by name; 

(2) provide the address of the third party or person; 

(3) contain a statement that the individual waives 

confidentiality as to the information authorized 

to be disclosed to the identified third party; and 

(4) state that the authorization and waiver is given 

on the basis of informed consent as mandated 

by 20 CFR 603.5 and any other applicable 

federal regulation that may be promulgated by 

the U.S. Department of Labor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 20 CFR 603.5; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0205 FEES FOR COPIES AND 

SERVICES 

(a)  Search Fees: 

(1) The fee for searching DES records by 

authorized staff shall be four dollars and forty 

cents ($4.40) for each one-quarter hour or 

fraction thereof required to obtain the records to 

be searched or to search the records. 

(2) If the search for requested records requires 

transportation of DES staff to the location of the 

records, or transportation of the records to DES 

staff at a cost of more than five dollars ($5.00), 

the actual transportation costs shall be added to 

the search time cost. 

(3) If the search for requested records requires 

batch processing by computer, the Chief 

Counsel or designee shall provide an estimate 

of DES's cost to produce the information to the 

individual making the request. The amount of 

the estimate provided shall be based on the 

computer programming and other actions 

necessary for the batch processing. Upon 

consenting to the estimate provided by the 

Chief Counsel or designee, DES shall send an 

invoice for the actual cost of producing the 

requested information to the individual making 

the request. 

(b)  Reproduction Fees: The fees for obtaining copies of records 

shall be computed as follows: 

(1) copying: one cent ($0.01) per page; 

(2) transcription of hearing: three dollars and 

seventy-five cents ($3.75) per quarter hour or 

fraction thereof; and 

(3) recording of hearing: three dollars and seventy-

five cents ($3.75) per compact disk or 

recording. 

(c)  No more than 10 copies of any document shall be furnished 

in response to any request. 

(d)  Administrative and Overhead Fees: The fee required for the 

time required for the Chief Counsel or designee to review a 

request and determine whether the request is authorized by G.S. 

96-4 shall be five dollars and eighty-four cents ($5.84) for each 

one-quarter hour or fraction thereof. The overhead cost for 

processing and invoicing shall be four dollars and fifty cents 

($4.50) per invoice. 

(e)  Any individual receiving records from DES under this Section 

shall be charged a minimum fee of fifteen dollars ($15.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 20 CFR 603.8; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0206 METHOD OF PAYMENT 

(a)  Fees shall be paid by money order, personal or business check 

with funds drawn from a U.S. financial institution, or cashier's 

check from a U.S. financial institution. 

(b)  An agency of state or federal government, a county, or a 

municipality may pay fees by draft. 

(c)  Payments shall be mailed to the North Carolina Department 

of Commerce, Division of Employment Security, ATTN: Finance 

and Budget, Post Office Box 25903, Raleigh, North Carolina 

27611-5903. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 20 CFR 603.8; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0207 PAYMENT REQUIRED BEFORE 

INFORMATION RELEASE 

(a)  Payment shall accompany all requests for release of 

information. If payment does not accompany a request, or is 

insufficient to cover all fees, DES shall send an invoice for all fees 

due to the individual making the request, due immediately upon 

receipt. 

(b)  If the search for requested records exceeds the minimum fee 

under 04 NCAC 24A .0205, the Chief Counsel or designee shall 

provide an estimate of DES's cost to produce the information to 

the individual making the request. Upon consenting to the 

estimate provided by the Chief Counsel or designee, DES shall 

send an invoice for the actual cost of producing the requested 

information to the individual making the request. Payment shall 

be due immediately, as set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  When exigent circumstances require the immediate release of 

information to local, state, or federal law enforcement officials, 

DES shall release the information upon receipt of a written 

assurance demonstrating a guaranty of future payment from the 

law enforcement official making the request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 20 CFR 603.8; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24B .0101 FILING A CLAIM 

(a)  An individual shall contact DES by internet or telephone to 

file a valid initial claim for benefits pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(a). 

(b)  Prior to receiving any benefits, the claimant shall register for 

work with a public employment office. 

(c)  Information for an initial claim shall include: 
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(1) the claimant's name, social security number, 

address, telephone number, email address, and 

date of birth, and gender; 

(2) immigration status; 

(3) whether the claimant worked for the federal 

government or in another state during the 

previous two years; 

(4) whether the claimant applied for or is receiving 

disability payments; 

(5) whether the claimant was or will be paid 

vacation or severance and the time frame that 

the payment covers; 

(6) whether there was a policy in effect regarding 

paid time off prior to the claimant's separation; 

(7) whether the claimant refused work since 

becoming unemployed; 

(8) whether the claimant filed for or is receiving 

benefits under any other unemployment 

insurance law; 

(9) whether the claimant applied for or is receiving 

any type of retirement pension; 

(10) the name and complete address of the claimant's 

last employer; 

(11) the reason for the claimant's separation from 

work; and 

(12) the claimant's beginning and ending dates of 

employment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-14.1; 96-14.9; 96-15; 

96-15.01; 20 CFR 602; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24B .0103 WEEKLY CERTIFICATIONS 

(a)  After a claimant files an initial claim and establishes a benefit 

year, the claimant shall file subsequent weekly certifications for 

payment of benefits by telephone, or internet on DES's website at 

intervals of no less than 7 and no more than 14 consecutive days 

for each week claimed. 

(1) Each claimant shall file weekly certifications as 

prescribed under 04 NCAC 24A .0104(a). 

(2) Any claimant who reports earnings that exceed 

the sum of his or her weekly benefit amount 

plus earnings allowance for three consecutive 

weeks shall be unable to file a weekly 

certification in the fourth week, and must 

contact DES's Customer Call Center to 

continue his or her claim as set forth in 04 

NCAC 24A .0104(a)(1). 

(3) If at any time during the benefit year, more than 

14 calendar days elapse since the claimant last 

filed a weekly certification, the claimant shall 

file an additional or reopened claim for benefits 

as defined in 04 NCAC 24A .0105, and shall 

comply with all eligibility requirements. 

(b)  Each claimant shall: 

(1) file claims and weekly certifications in 

accordance with the rules of this Chapter that 

includes the following: 

(A) information required for claims filing 

outlined in Rule .0101 of this Section. 

(B) information required for filing weekly 

certification, including each claimant's 

full name and social security number; 

(2) inform DES of whether he or she worked during 

the previous calendar week; 

(3) provide information regarding all earnings 

before deductions (gross) for work performed 

during the previous calendar week; 

(4) provide information as to whether he or she 

received holiday, vacation, bonus, or separation 

pay, and the gross amount during the previous 

calendar week; 

(5) provide information as to whether there was a 

policy in effect regarding paid time off prior to 

the claimant's separation; 

(6) inform DES of whether he or she began 

receiving or whether there was a change in any 

type of retirement pension during the previous 

calendar week; 

(7) provide information regarding whether he or 

she applied for or received any disability 

payments during the previous calendar week; 

(8) provide information regarding whether he or 

she applied for or received workers' 

compensation payments during the previous 

calendar week; 

(9) inform DES of whether he or she applied for or 

received unemployment insurance 

compensation under the law of any state or 

federal government agency; 

(10) inform DES of whether he or she was 

physically able and available for work, during 

the previous calendar week; 

(11) provide information as to whether he or she 

looked for work, refused work, or kept a record 

of work search during the previous calendar 

week as required by G.S. 96-14.9(e)(4); 

(12) inform DES of whether he or she attended 

school or training during the previous calendar 

week, and if so, whether he or she is willing to 

quit school or rearrange his or her schedule to 

accept work; 

(13) provide information as to whether he or she has 

quit a job or been discharged from a job since 

filing a claim for unemployment benefits; 

(14) sign all forms for the valid initial claim or 

weekly certification that are filed in person, by 

mail, or delivery service; and 

(15) submit all claims and weekly certifications as 

required by the Employment Security Law and 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-14.1; 96-14.9; 96-15; 

96-15.01; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 
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04 NCAC 24B .0401 DETERMINATION BY 

ADJUDICATOR 

Each adjudicator shall render a written determination resolving 

any issues related to the claim or protest under G.S. 96-15, which 

shall include: 

(1) each issue or question involved; 

(2) the docket or issue identification number of the 

case; 

(3) the resolution of each issue; 

(4) the citation of the provision of law applied to 

reach the resolution of each issue or question; 

(5) the parties' rights to file an appeal of the 

determination; 

(6) the statutory time period under G.S. 96-15(b)(2) 

within which an appeal may be filed; 

(7) instructions for requesting an in-person 

hearing; 

(8) information on filing an appeal of the 

determination as set forth in 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(b); and 

(9) notice that claims filed on or after June 30, 2013 

are subject to repayment of overpayments, 

including those resulting from any decision that 

is later reversed on appeal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 20 CFR 602; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24B .0503 DETERMINATION OF LABOR 

DISPUTE AND REFERRAL FOR HEARING 

(a)  If an issue of unemployment due to a labor dispute exists, the 

Chief Counsel shall refer the matter in writing to DES's Board of 

Review or designee for hearing. 

(b)  Hearings involving the issue of unemployment due to a labor 

dispute shall be heard upon order of the Board of Review or 

designee and conducted pursuant to 04 NCAC 24F .0303. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-14.7; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24B .0901 SETOFF DEBT COLLECTION 

ACT NOTICE TO CLAIMANT 

(a)  Consistent with G.S. 105A-8, DES shall provide written 

notice to the debtor within 10 days after receiving the debtor's 

refund. 

(b)  The notice shall include: 

(1) the claimant's name; 

(2) the type of debt; 

(3) the amount of the refund received by DES; 

(4) the total amount of the claimant's debt owed to 

DES; 

(5) the total amount of fees, as applicable; 

(6) the amount of assessed penalties, as applicable; 

(7) a citation to the legal authority that permits 

collection of the debt through setoff; 

(8) a statement of DES's intention to apply the 

refund against the debt; 

(9) an explanation that the debt is the basis for the 

agency's claim to the debtor's refund; 

(10) a statement of the claimant's right to contest the 

debt by filing a written request for a hearing; 

(11) the time period and procedure for requesting a 

hearing pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(h); 

(12) a statement that failure to request a hearing 

within the required time shall result in setoff of 

the debt; 

(13) a statement of the claimant's right to request to 

enter into a written repayment agreement with 

DES; 

(14) instructions for paying the debt; 

(15) a mailing address where payments shall be sent; 

(16) the date that the notice was mailed to the 

claimant; and 

(17) a telephone number for the claimant to seek 

information regarding the notice. 

(c)  Claimants choosing to repay the debt after receiving notice 

shall make payment to DES in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(z). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 105A-8; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24B .0902 CLAIMANT SETOFF DEBT 

COLLECTION ACT HEARINGS 

(a)  A claimant debtor may file an appeal from a notice to claim 

his or her State income tax refund pursuant to a North Carolina 

Department of Revenue Offset Letter in accordance with 04 

NCAC 24A .0104(h). 

(b)  Rule 04 NCAC 24A .0106 shall apply in determining 

timeliness of an appeal. 

(c)  Hearings pursuant to G.S. 105A-8(b) shall be conducted 

consistent with the procedures prescribed in 04 NCAC 24C .0209. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 105A-8; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24B .0901 Eff February 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24B .1001 NOTICE TO CLAIMANT OF 

REFERRAL TO TOP 

(a)  Consistent with 31 U.S.C. 3716, DES shall notify the claimant 

by mail of its intent to refer the debt to the Treasury Offset 

Program (TOP) at least 60 days before submitting the debt to 

TOP. 

(b)  The notice shall include: 

(1) the claimant's name; 

(2) the type of debt; 

(3) the total amount of the referred debt; 

(4) the total amount of the claimant's debt owed to 

DES; 

(5) the total amount of fees, as applicable; 

(6) the amount of assessed penalties, as applicable; 

(7) a citation to the legal authority that permits 

collection of the debt through TOP; 

(8) a statement of DES's intention to collect the 

debt through administrative offset; 
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(9) a statement that the claimant may request a 

copy of DES's records that support the debt; 

(10) a statement of the claimant's right to request that 

DES reevaluate the debt; 

(11) the time period and procedure for requesting a 

reevaluation pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(j); 

(12) a statement that failure to request a reevaluation 

within the required time shall result in referral 

of the debt; 

(13) a statement of the claimant's right to request to 

enter into a written repayment agreement with 

DES; 

(14) instructions for paying the debt; 

(15) a mailing address where payments shall be sent; 

(16) a mailing address and facsimile number to 

request a reevaluation of the debt; 

(17) a telephone number for the claimant to seek 

information regarding the notice; and 

(18) the date that the notice was mailed to the 

claimant. 

(c)  Claimants choosing to repay the debt after receiving notice 

shall make payment to DES in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(z). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-18; 31 CFR 285; 31 

U.S.C. 3716; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24B .1002 CLAIMANT REEVALUATION 

OF DEBT 

(a)  A claimant requesting a reevaluation of his or her debt shall 

submit a written request to DES's Benefits Integrity Unit pursuant 

to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(j). 

(1) The written request shall explain why the debt 

should not be referred to the Treasury Offset 

Program (TOP) for collection. 

(2) The written request shall be accompanied by 

documents or other clear and convincing 

evidence that shows: 

(A) the identity of the individual to whom 

the debt is assigned is incorrect; or 

(B) the amount of the debt is inaccurate. 

(b)  The Assistant Secretary or designee shall consider the 

evidence submitted by the claimant. 

(c)  The Assistant Secretary or designee shall issue a written 

decision on the request for reevaluation. The written decision shall 

be mailed or sent by electronic transmission to the claimant and 

include the following: 

(1) whether the debt shall be referred to TOP; and 

(2) reasons for the decision. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-18; 31 CFR 285; 31 

U.S.C. 3716; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0102 TIMELINESS EXCEPTION 

Timeliness sanctions shall be waived by the Appeals Referee 

when DES or an agent state representative gives misleading 

information on appeal rights to a party, if the party: 

(1) establishes what he or she was told was 

misleading and how he or she was misled, 

pursuant to the procedures in 04 NCAC 24C 

.0101; 

(2) identifies, if possible, the individual who 

misled him or her; and 

(3) establishes that DES did not provide the party 

with any written instructions contrary to the 

misleading information with service of the 

decision being appealed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0103 BASE PERIOD EMPLOYER 

DENIED NONCHARGING 

A base period employer who was not the claimant's last employer 

may file an appeal from a determination denying noncharging of 

benefits to its account as provided in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(s). The 

claimant is not a party with appeal rights in this appeal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.3; 96-11.4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0201 APPEARANCE BY PARTY 

An appearance by a party to an appeals hearing includes offering 

testimony, questioning witnesses, and presenting oral arguments. 

A submission of written documents or observation of the 

proceedings shall not constitute an appearance. 

(1) A party or witness shall appear by telephone 

when the party participates in the telephone 

conference call with the Appeals Referee on the 

date and time of the hearing and participates in 

the proceedings. 

(2) A party or witness shall appear in person at the 

location on the date and times scheduled for the 

in-person hearing, and participate in the 

proceedings. 

(3) An individual shall appear at an in-

person/telephone hearing as provided in 04 

NCAC 24C .0213 on the date and time of the 

hearing and participate in the proceedings. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0202 PRESENTING AND 

SCHEDULING APPEALED CLAIMS 

A party wishing to appeal from an adjudicator's determination 

shall file an appeal pursuant to Rule 04 NCAC 24A .0104(b). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2018 

179 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0203 CONTENTS OF APPEAL TO 

APPEALS SECTION 

A party's written appeal shall contain the following: 

(1) the date of the appeal; 

(2) the docket or issue identification number of the 

determination being appealed; 

(3) the claimant's identification number; 

(4) the names of the claimant and employer; 

(5) each reason for the appeal; 

(6) the name of the individual filing the appeal; 

(7) the official position, if any, of an individual 

filing the appeal on behalf of the party; and 

(8) a telephone number. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0208 DISQUALIFICATION OF 

APPEALS REFEREE 

(a)  An Appeals Referee shall be free of any personal interest or 

bias in the appeal over which he or she is presiding. 

(b)  An Appeals Referee shall not participate in hearing an appeal 

in which that Appeals Referee has a personal interest in the 

outcome of the appeals decision. 

(c)  An Appeals Referee may recuse himself or herself from a 

hearing to avoid the appearance of impropriety or partiality. 

(d)  A pre-hearing challenge to the impartiality of a designated 

Appeals Referee shall be in writing, addressed to the Chief 

Appeals Referee as provided in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(b), and shall 

be heard and decided by the Chief Appeals Referee or designee. 

(e)  The Chief Appeals Referee or designee's decision on any pre-

hearing challenge to the impartiality of an assigned Appeals 

Referee shall be in writing and mailed to the parties. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 20 CFR 650.2; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0211 CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE 

RESULTS 

In lieu of live testimony from a laboratory representative at a 

contested claims hearing, an affidavit from an authorized 

representative of the laboratory may be presented to prove 

controlled substance examination results, chain of custody, or 

compliance with all testing or retesting required by federal or state 

law. 

(1) When a party desires to introduce the affidavit 

at the hearing, a copy of the affidavit shall be 

received by the party against whom the 

affidavit will be offered at least two days before 

the hearing. 

(2) If the party who desires to introduce the 

affidavit is unable, despite reasonable efforts, to 

accomplish the required service within the time 

specified, the Appeals Referee may adjourn or 

continue the hearing to allow such service to be 

accomplished. However, the Appeals Referee 

shall not continue the hearing if the party 

against whom the affidavit is offered has 

refused to accept service or has taken other 

steps to avoid or delay receipt of the affidavit. 

(3) At the hearing, the party shall offer an 

authenticated copy of the affidavit as an exhibit. 

(4) If the party against whom the affidavit is 

offered objects to the entry of the affidavit into 

the official 

record, the objecting party may request an adjournment or 

continuance of the hearing to subpoena the author of the affidavit. 

The affidavit's author shall be permitted to testify by telephone at 

the reconvened hearing. 

(5) Once the affidavit is made a part of the official 

record of evidence compiled by the Appeals 

Referee, the Appeals Referee may, in his or her 

discretion, base findings of fact on the affidavit. 

(6) The results of the controlled substance 

examination and compliance with any 

applicable statutory or regulatory procedural 

requirements shall be deemed proven if the 

claimant admits or stipulates to them during the 

hearing or by affidavit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 95-230; 95-231; 95-232; 95-

233; 95-234; 95-235; 96-4; 96-15;  

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0213 COMBINATION TELEPHONE 

AND IN-PERSON HEARINGS 

(a)  The Appeals Referee may conduct an in-person/telephone 

hearing to avoid prejudice, to ensure security, to comply with 

standards for appeal promptness, or to expedite an appeal. 

(b)  A party may obtain an in-person/telephone hearing by filing 

a written objection to a telephone conference call hearing notice 

pursuant to 04 NCAC 24C .0205, or to an in-person hearing notice 

pursuant to 04 NCAC 24C .0206. 

(1) The objection shall state each reason that the 

party objects to appearing in the manner listed 

in the hearing notice. 

(2) The objecting party shall state the manner in 

which it, or its witnesses, request to appear for 

the hearing. 

(3) This request shall be directed to the Appeals 

Section as provided in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(b), 

or to the designated Appeals Referee using the 

contact information provided in the hearing 

notice. 

(c)  The Appeals Referee shall consider a party's request to change 

its witnesses' appearance from a telephone or in-person hearing, 

and shall make a determination of whether the substantial rights 

of each party would be preserved by granting the party's request. 

(d)  The Appeals Referee may grant a request to change an 

appearance by telephone or in-person for good cause as defined 

in 04 NCAC 24A .0105. If the request is granted, the official 

hearing record shall include the written request for the change, 
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reflect the Appeals Referee's determination that the substantial 

rights of each party would be preserved by granting the request, 

and each reason for the determination. 

(e)  The objecting party shall appear in person or by telephone as 

requested by the objecting party if the Appeals Referee grants the 

request. 

(f)  The Appeals Referee may deny a request to change a party's 

appearance at a hearing to telephone or in-person if: 

(1) the Appeals Referee believes that the requesting 

party's intent is to inconvenience the opposing 

party or delay the proceedings; 

(2) the party or witnesses request to appear by 

telephone, and are less than 40 miles away from 

an in-person hearing location; or 

(3) the request is made less than 24 hours before the 

hearing is scheduled to begin. 

(g)  If a party's request for a change to a telephone or in-person 

hearing is denied, the Appeals Referee shall state the grounds for 

denial on the record, include the written request in the official 

records, and state the reasons for the denial in the written decision. 

(h)  The Appeals Referee shall notify each party of the change 

prior to the hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0214 WITHDRAWAL OF APPEAL 

(a)  An appealing party may withdraw its appeal with the approval 

of the Appeals Referee. 

(b)  An appealing party's request to withdraw its appeal shall be 

in writing and contain: 

(1) the reason for the request to withdraw the 

appeal; 

(2) the date of the request; 

(3) the docket or issue identification number of the 

determination being appealed; 

(4) the claimant's identification number; 

(5) the names of the claimant and employer; 

(6) the name of the individual making the request 

to withdraw the appeal; 

(7) the official position of an individual filing the 

request to withdraw the appeal on behalf of the 

party; and  

(8) a telephone number.  

This request shall be directed to DES's Appeals Section or to the 

Appeals Referee designated to hear the case, or recorded by the 

Appeals Referee using the digital recording system used to record 

hearings in accordance with G.S. 96-15(c). 

(c)  Following receipt of a request to withdraw the appeal, the 

Appeals Referee shall review each reason for the request. 

(d)  If a request to withdraw the appeal is approved, the Appeals 

Referee shall issue an order granting the request to withdraw the 

appeal. The order shall contain no right to appeal the withdrawal 

of the appeal. 

(e)  If a request to withdraw the appeal is denied, the Appeals 

Referee shall issue an order denying the request to withdraw the 

appeal, informing the party of the information considered and the 

reason for the ruling. The order shall contain no right to appeal 

the denial of the withdrawal of the appeal. 

(f)  A copy of the party's request to withdraw the appeal and the 

Appeal Referee's order granting or denying the request shall be 

included in the official record of the case. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0215 NEW FILING AFTER 

WITHDRAWAL OF APPEAL 

(a)  A party whose request to withdraw the appeal was granted 

who then files an appeal of the same determination or issue 

number shall be deemed to have filed the appeal on the date that 

DES receives the new filing. 

(b)  The record on appeal for a matter that was closed before a 

new appeal was received shall include the appealing party's initial 

request to withdraw the appeal, the order granting the request to 

withdraw the appeal, and the new appeal filing. 

(c)  DES or a party may raise the issue of the timeliness of the 

appeal if the appeal is filed after the appeal rights have expired on 

the determination or issue being appealed. 

(d)  Timeliness of the appeal shall be determined in accordance 

with 04 NCAC 24A .0106. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0302 NOTICES, SERVICE, AND 

LEGAL REPRESENTATION OR SUPERVISION BY 

NORTH CAROLINA ATTORNEY 

(a)  Notices or certification of legal representation by an attorney 

licensed to practice law in this State shall be in writing and 

presented to the Appeals Referee to become part of the official 

record. 

(b)  Notices or certification of legal representation by an 

individual who is supervised by an attorney licensed to practice 

law in this State shall be in writing and presented to the Appeals 

Referee to become part of the official record, and shall contain: 

(1) the name, business address, and telephone 

number of the supervising attorney; 

(2) the supervising attorney's active North Carolina 

State Bar number; and 

(3) the name, address, and telephone number of the 

person being supervised. 

(c)  When a party has a legal representative, all documents or 

information required to be provided to the party shall only be 

provided to the legal representative, unless otherwise instructed 

on the record during the hearing. 

(d)  An address provided to an Appeals Referee for mailing or 

electronic transmission of an Appeals Decision in a specific case 

shall not constitute a change of address with DES as set forth in 

04 NCAC 24A .0102. 

(e)  Any information provided to a party's legal representative 

shall have the same force and effect as if it had been sent to the 

party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 84-4; 84-7.1; 96-4; 96-15; 96-

17; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 
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04 NCAC 24C .0303 ADMISSION OF OUT-OF-STATE 

ATTORNEY TO APPEAR BEFORE APPEALS REFEREE 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 84-4.1, attorneys residing in and licensed to 

practice law in another state may seek to be admitted to practice 

before DES to represent a client. 

(b)  An out-of-state attorney seeking to practice before DES, or 

the North Carolina attorney with whom the out-of-state attorney 

associates pursuant to G.S. 84-4.1(5), shall file a motion with the 

Chief Appeals Referee that complies with the requirements of 

G.S. 84-4.1. 

(c)  A proposed Order Permitting Out-Of-State Attorney to 

Appear Pro Hac Vice, found on DES's website, shall be provided 

to the Chief Appeals Referee with the motion. 

(d)  Following review of the motion, the Chief Appeals Referee 

shall issue an order granting or denying the motion. 

(e)  Pro hac vice admission granted to practice before an Appeals 

Referee shall allow continued representation before the Board of 

Review and all administrative proceedings regarding the same 

matter. The Chief Appeals Referee has the discretionary authority 

to deny a motion for pro hac vice admission even if the motion 

complies with the requirements of G.S. 84-4.1. 

(f)  Upon receipt of an order granting a motion for pro hac vice 

admission to practice before an Appeals Referee, the admitted 

out-of-state attorney or the associated North Carolina attorney 

shall pay the fees required by G.S. 84-4.1 to the North Carolina 

State Bar and General Court of Justice, and file a statement with 

the Chief Appeals Referee documenting payment of the fees and 

the submission of any pro hac vice admission registration 

statement required by the North Carolina State Bar. A copy of the 

motion, Order, registration statement, and documentation 

reflecting payment of the fees shall be provided to the Appeals 

Referee to be included in the official hearing record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 84-4.1; 96-4; 96-17; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0401 ISSUANCE OF SUBPOENAS 

(a)  Subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses and the 

production of records for any appeal hearing may be issued at the 

direction of the designated Appeals Referee. 

(1) A subpoena may be issued at the request of a 

party or on motion of the Appeals Referee. 

(2) Any documentation showing service of the 

subpoena shall become part of the official 

hearing record. 

(b)  Any party's request for a subpoena to be issued by the Appeals 

Referee shall be in writing, sent to the Appeals Referee, and shall 

include: 

(1) the name of the party requesting the subpoena; 

(2) the claimant's name, if applicable; 

(3) the employer's name, if applicable; 

(4) the docket or issue identification number of the 

case; 

(5) the name, address, and telephone number of 

each person sought for appearance at the 

hearing; 

(6) the specific identification of any document, 

recording, or item sought, including a detailed 

description of where the item is located; 

(7) the name and address of the individual or party 

in possession of any item sought; and 

(8) a statement of why the testimony or evidence to 

be subpoenaed is necessary for a proper 

presentation of the case. 

(c)  The request shall be granted only to the extent that the items 

or testimony sought appears relevant to the issues on appeal. 

(d)  Legal representatives may issue subpoenas at their own 

expense only if prior consent is obtained from the designated 

Appeals Referee. 

(e)  Subpoenas shall be issued at least five business days before 

the date of the scheduled hearing. 

(f)  Service of a subpoena shall be made by delivering a copy to 

the person, or by registered or certified mail, return receipt 

requested, unless a party or witness consents to service of the 

subpoena by other means, including electronic transmission. 

(g)  Any party or person receiving a subpoena may serve a written 

objection to the issuance of the subpoena. 

(1) The objection shall be directed to the Appeals 

Referee listed in the hearing notice prior to the 

commencement of the hearing and provide 

reasons for the objection and the relief sought 

by the objecting party. 

(2) The Appeals Referee shall rule on the objection 

and notify the parties before the hearing. The 

Appeals Referee's reasons for the ruling shall be 

in writing or stated on the record during the 

hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0102 NOTICE TO EMPLOYER OF 

POTENTIAL CHARGES 

(a)  DES shall notify each employer in writing of potential charges 

to the employer's account. The notice shall contain the: 

(1) date of the notice; 

(2) claimant's name and social security number; 

(3) date the claimant's benefit year began; 

(4) claimant's weekly benefit amount and weekly 

earnings allowance; 

(5) employer's reporting number used to report 

wages for the claimant; 

(6) base period wages reported by the employer by 

calendar quarter and dollar amount; 

(7) employer's percentage of total base period 

wages reported; 

(8) maximum potential charge amount that can be 

applied to the employer's experience rating 

account if the claimant exhausts his or her 

benefits; 

(9) a statement containing the employer's right to 

protest the notice; and 

(10) the time period within which a protest shall be 

filed pursuant to G.S. 96-15(b)(2). 

(b)  DES shall provide notice of potential charges to the 

employer's account using the following forms, as applicable: 
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(1) Notice of Combined Wage Claim and Potential 

Charges to Your Account; 

(2) Notice of Unemployment Claim, Wages 

Reported and Potential Charges; 

(3) Notice of Initial Claim and Potential Charges to 

Reimbursable Employer; 

(4) Notice of Initial Claim and Potential Charges 

for Claimants on Temporary Layoff; 

(5) Reversal of Previously Allowed Noncharging; 

(6) Reversal of Previously Denied Noncharging; 

(7) Administrative Determination Disallowing 

Noncharging; or 

(8) List of Charges to Your Account. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.1; 96-11.2; 96-11.3; 

96-11.4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0105 DETERMINATION ON 

REQUESTS FOR NONCHARGING 

DES shall render a determination in writing as to each request for 

noncharging. The determination shall contain notice of whether 

the request for noncharging has been granted or denied. 

(1) Where a request for noncharging is granted, the 

employer's account shall be protected from 

benefit charges for benefit payments made after 

the last day that the claimant worked, based on 

wages reported by the employer before the 

claimant separated from the employer. 

(2) Where a request for noncharging is denied, the 

determination shall contain: 

(a) the reason(s) for denying the request; 

(b) the mailing date of the determination; 

(c) the time period within which a protest 

of the denial must be filed; and 

(d) instructions for protesting the denial to 

DES's Claims Unit in accordance with 

04 NCAC 24A .0104(s). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.1; 96-11.3; 96-11.4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .0202 Eff. March 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0106 APPEALING DENIAL OF 

REQUEST FOR NONCHARGING 

(a)  The employing unit may file an appeal following an 

unsuccessful protest of a request for noncharging. 

(b)  Employers shall direct all appeals from denials of a request 

for noncharging to the DES's Claims Unit in accordance with 04 

NCAC 24A .0104(s). 

(c)  Rule 04 NCAC 24A .0106 shall apply in determining 

timeliness of an appeal. 

(d)  Hearings on the denial of noncharging shall be conducted 

pursuant to 04 NCAC 24C .0209. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.3; 96-11.4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .0203 Eff. March 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0205 DETERMINATION ON 

GROUNDS CONTAINED IN PROTEST 

DES's determination on the employer's protest to the list of benefit 

charges to its account shall contain: 

(1) notice of whether the relief sought by the 

employer in the protest was granted or denied; 

(2) any adjustments that have been made to the list 

of charges if the relief sought in the protest was 

granted, or the reasons for denial if the relief 

sought in the protest was denied; 

(3) the date the determination was mailed or sent to 

the employer by electronic transmission; 

(4) the employer's right to appeal the determination 

consistent with 04 NCAC 24C .0203; 

(5) the time period within which an appeal shall be 

filed; and 

(6) instructions for filing an appeal with DES's 

Claims Unit pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(s). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-11.3; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .0107 Eff. March 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; October 1, 2017. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0401 VOLUNTARY ELECTION BY 

EMPLOYERS 

(a)  Any employer electing coverage under G.S. 96-9.8 of the 

Employment Security Law shall make the election by completing 

the Employer Status Report (Form NCUI 604), available on 

DES's website. 

(b)  The information provided in the Employer Status Report 

(Form NCUI 604) shall be provided in the same manner as 

required under Rule .0602 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Voluntary election shall not be granted if DES determines that 

potential benefit payments would exceed the taxes received from 

the employer. 

(d)  Employers who satisfy the criteria for voluntary election of 

coverage pursuant to G.S. 96-9.8 shall have a contributory 

unemployment tax account, and shall not have a reimbursable 

account. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.8; 26 U.S.C. 3306; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0402 ELECTION TO REIMBURSE IN 

LIEU OF CONTRIBUTIONS 

(a)  A new qualifying employer under G.S. 96-9.6 electing to pay 

reimbursements for benefits, rather than contributions, shall make 

the election by writing a letter stating their election to DES's Tax 

Administration Section as provided in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(x) 

within 30 days after the employer receives written notification 

from the Division that it is eligible to make an election as defined 

under G.S. 96-9.6. 
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(b)  A qualifying employer under G.S. 96-9.6 electing to pay 

reimbursements for benefits, rather than contributions, shall 

within 30 days before the January 1 effective date, make the 

election by sending a letter stating their election to DES's Tax 

Administration Section pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(x). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.6; 96-9.8; 26 U.S.C. 

3309; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0403 PAYMENT OF EMPLOYER 

TAXES 

(a)  Taxes shall be due and payable to the Division of Employment 

Security and sent to DES's administrative office in Raleigh, North 

Carolina, or delivered to an agent of DES designated to accept 

payments as provided in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(y). 

(b)  Timeliness of payments shall be determined pursuant to 04 

NCAC 24A .0106. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0602 STATUS REPORTS 

(a)  Each employing unit shall complete and file an Employer 

Status Report (Form NCUI 604) with DES within 10 days of 

becoming subject to the Employment Security Law. The 

Employer Status Report is located on DES's website, and shall 

include the following: 

(1) the employing unit's federal identification 

number, if any; 

(2) the employing unit's North Carolina 

Department of Revenue's withholding 

identification number, if any; 

(3) all previously assigned unemployment 

insurance tax identification or account 

numbers; 

(4) the employing unit's legal name; 

(5) the employing unit's trade name; 

(6) the employing unit's mailing address, 

telephone, and fax numbers; 

(7) the physical address and county for each of the 

employing unit's North Carolina locations; 

(8) if the employing unit has no locations in this 

State, the primary employee's home address; 

(9) the principal activity or service performed by 

the employing unit in North Carolina; 

(10) the name and address of each of the employing 

unit's owners; 

(11) the name, telephone number, and email address 

of an individual authorized to act on behalf of 

the employing unit; 

(12) the type of business ownership; 

(13) the number of employees expected within 12 

months of the date that Form NCUI 604 is 

submitted to DES; 

(14) the date the employing unit first hired one or 

more workers in North Carolina; 

(15) whether the employing unit in this State is part 

of a larger organization and is primarily 

engaged in providing support services to that 

organization; 

(16) whether the employing unit is an employment 

service company as defined in G.S. 96-1(14); 

(17) for general employers: 

(A) whether the employing unit has or 

expects to have a quarterly payroll of 

one thousand five hundred dollars 

($1,500) or more and if so, the date 

that this occurred or is expected to 

occur; and 

(B) whether the employing unit has or 

expects to employ at least one worker 

in 20 different calendar weeks during 

a calendar year and if so, the date that 

this occurred or is expected to occur; 

(18) for agricultural employers: 

(A) whether the employing unit has or 

expects to have a quarterly payroll of 

twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) or 

more, and if so, the date that this 

occurred or is expected to occur; and 

(B) whether the employing unit has or will 

employ 10 or more workers in 20 

different weeks during a calendar year, 

and if so, the date that this occurred or 

is expected to occur; 

(19) for domestic employers, whether the employing 

unit has or will pay one thousand dollars 

($1,000) or more in a calendar quarter for 

domestic services in a private home, college 

club, fraternity, or sorority, and if so, the date 

that this occurred or is expected to occur; 

(20) for non-profit organizations, whether the 

employing unit has or will employ 4 or more 

workers in 20 different weeks during a calendar 

year, and if so, the date that this occurred or is 

expected to occur; 

(21) for employing units of government, whether the 

entity is local, state, or federal; 

(22) whether the employing unit wants to voluntarily 

cover its workers for unemployment insurance 

even if it is not subject to the Employment 

Security Law; 

(23) whether the employing unit has ever paid taxes 

pursuant to the Federal Unemployment Tax 

Act, and if so for which years the taxes were 

paid; 

(24) whether the employing unit has acquired, 

transferred assets, or merged with another 

business, or made any other change in the 

ownership of the business, and if so: 

(A) the former entity's legal name; 

(B) the former entity's trade name; 

(C) the former entity's address; 
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(D) the former entity's North Carolina 

Unemployment Insurance Tax 

Identification number; 

(E) the date on which the employing unit 

acquired the former entity, or changed 

its business; 

(F) whether the employing unit acquired 

all or a portion of the former entity, 

and if a portion, the percent acquired; 

(G) whether the former entity was 

operating when it was acquired by the 

employing unit, and if not, the date 

that the former entity closed; 

(H) whether the former entity was in 

bankruptcy when it was acquired by 

the employing unit; and 

(I) whether the former entity continues to 

have employees in North Carolina. 

(25) whether there are workers who perform 

services for the employing unit, and who the 

employing unit considers to be self-employed 

or independent contractors; 

(26) the name, signature, and official position of the 

individual filing the Form NCUI 604 on behalf 

of the employing unit; and 

(27) the date that the individual completed Form 

NCUI 604 and submitted it to DES. 

(b)  An employing unit that ceases business, continues operations 

without employees, transfers, leases, or sells all or any part of the 

assets of its business, or changes the business name, business 

entity, business location, telephone number, or mailing address of 

the business shall give notice to DES within 10 days by 

completing and filing a Change in Status Report (Form NCUI 

101A), which is available on DES's website. Form NCUI 101A 

shall state: 

(1) the employing unit's name; 

(2) the employing unit's mailing address; 

(3) the employing unit's trade name; 

(4) the employing unit's North Carolina 

Unemployment Insurance Tax Identification 

number; 

(5) whether the employing unit sold or otherwise 

transferred part or all of the business, and if so: 

(A) the name, mailing address, and 

telephone number of the entity to 

which the business was sold or 

otherwise transferred; 

(B) the trade name of the entity to which 

the business was sold or otherwise 

transferred; 

(C) whether the entire business operations, 

including equipment, merchandise, 

raw materials, and employees were 

sold, transferred, or leased to a new 

owner, and if so, the date of the sale, 

transfer or lease; 

(6) whether a partnership was formed or changed, 

including the effective date of the formation or 

change, and an explanation of what occurred; 

(7) whether the business was incorporated, 

including the effective date of incorporation; 

(8) whether the business ceased all operations in 

North Carolina, including the date that all 

operations ceased; 

(9) whether the business is operating without 

employees, including the last date on which the 

business had any employees; 

(10) whether the business name changed, and if so, 

the new name of the business and a copy of the 

corporate minutes or amended charter on file 

with the North Carolina Department of the 

Secretary of State; 

(11) whether there was a change in the address or 

telephone number, and if so, the changes to the 

address or telephone number; 

(12) whether there was a change in the employing 

unit's contact for tax matters, and if so, the new 

agent's name, address, and telephone number, if 

applicable; and 

(13) the name and signature of the individual 

submitting the Change in Status Report to DES 

on behalf of the employing unit. 

(c)  An employing unit that acquires all or any part of the assets 

of another business shall complete and file an Employer Status 

Report (Form NCUI 604) within 10 days of the acquisition. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-10; 96-11.7; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0701 TRANSFER OF EXPERIENCE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-10; 96-11.7; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0801 APPLICATION FOR 

COMPROMISE 

(a)  An employing unit may file a request for compromise of its 

tax debt with DES. 

(b)  A request for compromise shall include the following: 

(1) the name and address of the employing unit; 

(2) the date the request to compromise is made; 

(3) the date the requested compromise is requested 

to be effective; 

(4) stated reasons for the request to compromise; 

(5) evidence to support the claim or reasons for the 

request; 

(6) the amount and terms offered by the employer 

to settle the debt; and 

(7) the signature of a duly authorized representative 

of the employer. 

(c)  The employer shall provide all information requested by the 

Department pursuant to Section .0500 of this Subchapter for the 

determination of the compromise. 

(d)  The request for compromise shall be filed with DES's Tax 

Administration Section pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(w). 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-10; 96-10.1; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .0901 SPECIAL TAX 

INVESTIGATIONS 

(a)  When it is discovered by a representative of DES that a 

claimant is alleging that he or she was an employee and the 

employer is alleging that the claimant was not an employee, the 

matter shall be referred to DES's Assistant Secretary in writing. 

(b)  The Assistant Secretary, on behalf of DES, shall refer the 

matter to the Tax Administration Section for an investigation. 

Upon receipt of the findings of the investigation, the Assistant 

Secretary shall issue a Result of Investigation by the Tax 

Administration Section. The Result of Investigation shall be in 

writing and mailed to each party to the controversy pursuant to 04 

NCAC 24A .0103. 

(c)  The Result of Investigation shall provide notice of each party's 

rights for filing an appeal to obtain a hearing before the Board of 

Review, and the time period within which an appeal shall be filed 

pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(n). 

(d)  Appeal hearings pursuant to this Section shall be upon order 

of the Board of Review and conducted pursuant to 04 NCAC 24F 

.0303. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.2; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .1001 REQUEST FOR 

REDETERMINATION OF TAX RATE 

(a)  An employer may request a review and redetermination of its 

tax rate after receiving notice of the tax rate. 

(b)  An employer requesting a review and redetermination of its 

tax rate shall file its written request with DES's Tax 

Administration Section as set forth in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(o). 

(c)  The request for a review and redetermination shall be filed 

prior to May 1 following the effective date of the contribution rate 

pursuant to G.S. 96-9.2(d). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.2; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .1002 DIVISION'S OBLIGATIONS 

(a)  DES shall review the employing unit's request to review and 

redetermine its tax rate and all available facts, and shall issue a 

written ruling. The ruling shall be mailed to the employing unit's 

address as set forth in 04 NCAC 24A .0103 and include the 

following: 

(1) whether the application was granted or denied; 

(2) the applicable legal authority, with specific 

citations, for the ruling; 

(3) the mailing date of the notice; 

(4) a statement containing the employer's right to 

appeal the notice; and 

(5) the time period within which an appeal may be 

filed. 

(b)  The employing unit may file an appeal of the ruling and 

request a hearing. 

(1) The appeal shall be filed with DES's Tax 

Administration Section pursuant to 04 NCAC 

24A .0104(o). 

(2) Hearings requested pursuant to this Section 

shall be conducted as set forth in 04 NCAC 24F 

.0303. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.2; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .1101 NOTICE TO EMPLOYER OF 

REFERRAL TO TOP 

(a)  Consistent with 31 U.S.C. 3716, DES shall notify the 

employer by mail of its intent to refer the debt to the Treasury 

Offset Program (TOP) at least 60 days before submitting the debt 

to TOP. 

(b)  The notice shall include: 

(1) the employer's name; 

(2) the type of debt; 

(3) the total amount of the referred debt; 

(4) the total amount of the employer's debt owed to 

DES; 

(5) the total amount of fees, as applicable; 

(6) the amount of assessed penalties, as applicable; 

(7) a citation to the legal authority that permits 

collection of the debt through TOP; 

(8) a statement of DES's intention to collect the 

debt through administrative offset; 

(9) a statement that the employer may request a 

copy of DES's records that support the debt; 

(10) a statement of the employer's right to request 

that DES reevaluate the debt; 

(11) the time period and procedure for requesting a 

reevaluation pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(k); 

(12) a statement that failure to request a reevaluation 

within the required time shall result in referral 

of the debt; 

(13) a statement of the employer's right to request to 

enter into a written repayment agreement with 

DES; 

(14) instructions for paying the debt; 

(15) a mailing address where payments shall be sent; 

(16) a mailing address and facsimile number to 

request a reevaluation of the debt; 

(17) a telephone number for the employer to seek 

information regarding the notice; and 

(18) the date that the notice was mailed to the 

employer. 

(c)  Employers choosing to repay the debt after receiving notice 

shall make payment to DES in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(y). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.15; 96-18; 31 CFR 

285; 31 U.S.C. 3716; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 
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04 NCAC 24D .1102 EMPLOYER REEVALUATION 

OF DEBT 

(a)  An employer requesting a reevaluation of its debt shall submit 

a written request to DES's Tax Administration Section pursuant 

to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(k). 

(1) The written request shall explain why the debt 

should not be referred to the Treasury Offset 

Program (TOP) for collection. 

(2) The written request shall be accompanied by 

documents or other clear and convincing 

evidence that shows: 

(A) the identity of the employer to whom 

the debt is assigned is incorrect; or 

(B) the amount of the debt is inaccurate. 

(b)  The Assistant Secretary or designee shall consider the 

evidence submitted by the employer. 

(c)  The Assistant Secretary or designee shall issue a written 

decision on the request for reevaluation. The written decision shall 

be mailed or sent by electronic transmission to the employer and 

include the following: 

(1) whether the debt shall be referred to TOP; and 

(2) reasons for the decision. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-18; 31 CFR 285; 31 

U.S.C. 3716; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .1103 SETOFF DEBT COLLECTION 

ACT NOTICE TO EMPLOYER 

(a)  Consistent with G.S. 105A-8, DES shall provide written 

notice of receipt to the debtor employer within 10 days after 

receiving the debtor's refund. 

(b)  The notice shall include: 

(1) the employer's name; 

(2) the type of debt; 

(3) the amount of the refund received by DES; 

(4) the total amount of the employer's debt owed to 

DES; 

(5) the total amount of fees, as applicable; 

(6) the amount of assessed penalties, as applicable; 

(7) a citation to the legal authority that permits 

collection of the debt through setoff; 

(8) a statement of DES's intention to apply the 

refund against the debt; 

(9) an explanation that the debt is the basis for the 

agency's claim to the debtor's refund; 

(10) a statement of the employer's right to contest the 

debt by filing a written request for a hearing; 

(11) the time period and procedure for requesting a 

hearing pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(i); 

(12) a statement that failure to request a hearing 

within the required time shall result in setoff of 

the debt; 

(13) a statement of the employer's right to enter into 

a written repayment agreement with DES; 

(14) instructions for paying the debt; 

(15) a mailing address where payments shall be sent; 

(16) the date that the notice was mailed to the 

employer; and 

(17) a telephone number for the employer to seek 

information regarding the notice. 

(c)  Employers choosing to repay the debt after receiving notice 

shall make payment to DES in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(y). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 105A-8; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .1104 EMPLOYER SETOFF DEBT 

COLLECTION ACT HEARINGS 

(a)  An employer debtor may file an appeal from a notice to claim 

its State income tax refund pursuant to a North Carolina 

Department of Revenue Offset Letter in accordance with 04 

NCAC 24A .0104(i). 

(b)  Rule 04 NCAC 24A .0106 shall apply in determining 

timeliness of an appeal. 

(c)  Hearings pursuant to G.S. 105A-8(b) shall be conducted 

consistent with the procedures prescribed in 04 NCAC 24F .0303. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 105A-8; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24D .1201 REQUEST FOR SEASONAL 

DETERMINATION 

(a)  Each employer desiring a seasonal determination shall request 

an Application for Seasonal Determination (Form NCUI 611) 

from DES's Tax Administration Section by telephone, mail, 

facsimile, or email as provided in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(t). 

(b)  Each employer shall complete and submit the Application for 

Seasonal Determination (Form NCUI 611) to the Tax 

Administration Section as provided in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(t). 

(c)  A request submitted on Form NCUI 611 shall contain the 

following: 

(1) the employing unit's name and physical 

address; 

(2) years of operation in North Carolina; 

(3) location of each seasonal pursuit; 

(4) description of each seasonal pursuit;  

(5) an explanation of why the seasonal pursuit 

being requested cannot be conducted 

throughout the year; 

(6) beginning and ending dates of each seasonal 

pursuit for the last four years; 

(7) the name of the individual requesting the 

determination; 

(8) the official position of the individual requesting 

the determination on behalf of the employing 

unit; and 

(9) a telephone number. 

(d)  The completed Application for Seasonal Determination shall 

be filed at least 20 days before the beginning date of the period of 

production operations for which the determination is requested. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-16; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 
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04 NCAC 24D .1202 WRITTEN DETERMINATION 

(a)  DES shall issue a written determination granting or denying 

the request upon making its determination pursuant to G.S. 96-

16(c). The determination shall notify the employer of the 

following: 

(1) the specific seasonal period assigned by DES; 

(2) the effective date of the determination; and 

(3) the specific filing requirements for seasonal 

employers. 

(b)  A determination that denies the request for a seasonal 

designation shall state the reasons for the denial. 

(c)  The determination shall contain notice of each party's right to 

appeal the determination and request a hearing, the date the 

determination was mailed, and the time period within which an 

appeal shall be filed. 

(d)  The employer may file its appeal of a denial of a request for 

seasonal pursuit designation with DES's Tax Administration 

Section as prescribed in 04 NCAC 24A .0104(t). 

(e)  Hearings shall be conducted as set forth in 04 NCAC 24F 

.0303. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-16; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0101 OFFICE LOCATION FOR 

BOARD OF REVIEW 

The administrative office of the North Carolina Department of 

Commerce, Board of Review is located at 700 Wade Avenue, in 

Raleigh, North Carolina. The mailing address is Post Office Box 

28263, Raleigh, NC 27611. The office is open to the public during 

business hours, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through 

Friday, except for State holidays as set forth in 25 NCAC 01E 

.0901, including subsequent amendments and editions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0102 ADDRESSES FOR NOTICE AND 

ELECTRONIC NOTICE 

Rule 04 NCAC 24A .0103 shall apply for notice sent by the Board 

of Review. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 96-15.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0103 ADDRESSES FOR FILING 

APPEALS, EXCEPTIONS, OR REQUESTS 

Appeals, exceptions, and requests shall be filed with the Board of 

Review in accordance with 04 NCAC 24A .0104(l), (r), and (v). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 96-15.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0104 FILING/MAILING DATES AND 

USE OF FORMS 

Rule 04 NCAC 24A .0106 shall apply in determining the 

timeliness of appeals, exceptions, and requests filed with the 

Board of Review. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 96-15.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0105 SIGNATURES 

(a)  Rule 04 NCAC 24A .0107 shall apply in authenticating a 

digital signature. 

(b)  Rule 04 NCAC 24A .0108 shall apply in determining 

signatures on reports and forms. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.15; 96-15; 96-15.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0106 APPEAL DATE 

(a)  A party shall be allowed to establish an appeal date earlier 

than a postal meter date, or the date of a document by presenting 

clear and convincing evidence. 

(b)  When a party alleges that it filed an appeal that the Board of 

Review never received, the party shall present clear and 

convincing evidence of a timely filing, which may be 

corroborated by testimony or physical evidence linked to the 

appeal in question. 

(c)  The Board of Review shall allow cross-examination in de 

novo hearings to establish the timeliness of an appeal, using the 

criteria set forth in 04 NCAC 24A .0106. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 96-15.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0107 TIMELINESS EXCEPTION 

Timeliness sanctions shall be waived by the Board of Review or 

its designee when the Board of Review, DES, or an agent state 

representative gives misleading information on appeal rights to a 

party, if the party: 

(1) establishes what he or she was told was 

misleading and how he or she was misled, using 

the criteria set forth in 04 NCAC 24F .0106; 

(2) identifies, if possible, the individual who 

misled him or her; and 

(3) establishes that the Board of Review or DES did 

not provide the party with any written 

instructions contrary to the misleading 

information with service of the decision being 

appealed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 96-15.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0201 REQUIREMENTS FOR APPEAL 

STATEMENT TO BOARD OF REVIEW 

A written statement of appeal from an Appeals Decision to the 

Board of Review shall comply with 04 NCAC 24A .0104(l)(5). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24C .0501 Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 
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04 NCAC 24F .0202 ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF 

APPEAL 

(a)  The receipt of a party's appeal from an Appeals Decision shall 

be acknowledged in writing by the Board of Review or its 

designee and sent to all parties of record. 

(b)  The notice acknowledging receipt of an appeal shall inform 

each party of the following: 

(1) the right to request oral arguments; 

(2) the deadline to request oral arguments; 

(3) the right to submit written arguments regarding 

the appeal; 

(4) the deadline for submitting written arguments;  

(5) that the party may submit a written request for 

a record of the hearing proceeding pursuant to 

G.S. 96-15(f); and 

(6) the procedures for obtaining a record of the 

hearing, including recordings or transcripts. 

(c)  Records shall be provided in accordance with G.S. 96-4(x) 

and Section .0200 of 04 NCAC 24A. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 20 CFR 603; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24C .0502 Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0203 ORAL ARGUMENTS 

(a)  Oral arguments before the Board of Review shall be granted 

at the discretion of the Board of Review. 

(b)  A written request for oral arguments shall: 

(1) be directed to the Board of Review pursuant to 

04 NCAC 24A .0104(v). 

(2) be received within 15 days of the date on the 

notice acknowledging receipt of an appeal from 

the Appeals Decision; and 

(3) contain a statement that a copy of the request 

was mailed or personally delivered to the 

opposing party, if one exists. 

(c)  If the request is granted, the Board of Review shall give 

written notice to each interested party to appear for oral 

arguments. 

(d)  Notice to appear before the Board of Review to present oral 

arguments shall contain: 

(1) the Higher Authority Decision docket number; 

(2) the issue identification or Appeals Decision 

docket number; 

(3) the identity of the party requesting oral 

arguments; 

(4) the right of the non-requesting party to appear 

and present oral arguments; 

(5) the date and time for oral arguments; 

(6) the physical address of the location where oral 

arguments are scheduled to be held; and 

(7) each party's right to legal representation. 

(e)  The notice to appear for oral arguments shall be provided to 

each party by mail or electronic transmission at least 14 calendar 

days before the date scheduled for arguments in accordance with 

04 NCAC 24A .0103. 

(f)  Any request to reschedule oral arguments shall be for good 

cause as defined in 04 NCAC 24A .0105, and sent to the Board of 

Review pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(v), and to each party to 

the proceeding by personal service, mail, electronic transmission, 

or delivery service as defined under 04 NCAC 24A .0105. A 

request to reschedule oral arguments shall state each reason for 

the request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24C .0503 Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0204 LEGAL REPRESENTATION OR 

SUPERVISION BY NORTH CAROLINA ATTORNEY 

BEFORE THE BOARD OF REVIEW 

(a)  An individual who is a party to a proceeding may represent 

himself or herself before the Board of Review. 

(b)  A partnership or association may be represented by any of its 

members. 

(c)  A corporation may be represented by an officer. 

(d)  Any party may be represented by a legal representative as 

defined in 04 NCAC 24A .0105. 

(e)  Notices or certification of legal representation by an attorney 

licensed to practice law in this State shall be in writing and 

presented to the Board of Review to become part of the official 

record. 

(f)  Notices or certification of legal representation by an individual 

who is supervised by an attorney licensed to practice law in this 

State shall be in writing and presented to the Board of Review to 

become part of the official record, and shall contain: 

(1) the name, business address, and telephone 

number of the supervising attorney;  

(2) the supervising attorney's active North Carolina 

State Bar number; and 

(3) the name, address, and telephone number of the 

person being supervised. 

(g)  When a party has a legal representative, all documents or 

information required to be provided to the party shall be provided 

only to the legal representative, unless otherwise requested in 

writing to the Board of Review. 

(h)  An address provided to the Board of Review for mailing or 

electronic transmission in a specific case shall not constitute a 

change of address with DES for purposes of 04 NCAC 24A .0102. 

(i)  Any information provided to a party's legal representative 

shall have the same force and effect as if it had been sent to the 

party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 96-17; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24C .0504 Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0205 INTRODUCTION OF EVIDENCE 

IN HIGHER AUTHORITY HEARINGS 

(a)  The Board of Review shall allow each party 10 minutes from 

the time of the scheduled hearing to appear for the hearing. 

(b)  If the appealing party fails to appear for the hearing and a 

continuance had not been previously granted, the Board of 

Review shall issue a Higher Authority Decision dismissing the 

appeal. 
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(c)  A party desiring to introduce documents or other non-

testimonial evidence at a de novo hearing shall provide an 

authenticated copy plus one copy for the Board of Review to 

include in the official record of the hearing. A copy of any 

document or other evidence provided to the Board of Review shall 

be provided to the opposing party prior to the hearing. 

(d)  A party offering 20 or more documents into evidence shall 

prepare a list of the documents in the order of their presentation. 

The list shall be provided to the Board of Review and to each party 

before the hearing to become part of the official hearing record. 

(e)  If the Board of Review takes official notice of facts, whether 

under judicial notice or within the Board's specialized knowledge, 

the official notice and its source shall be stated on the record and 

noticed to the parties. Each party shall be given an opportunity to 

dispute the noticed fact by argument and submission of evidence. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 96-15.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24C .0505 Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0301 APPEALING A TAX MATTER 

(a)  A written appeal regarding monetary eligibility denying a 

protest to a Wage Transcript and Monetary Determination shall 

be filed with DES's Tax Administration Section pursuant to 04 

NCAC 24A .0104(e). 

(b)  A written appeal of a Tax Liability Determination shall be 

filed with DES's Tax Administration Section pursuant to 04 

NCAC 24A .0104(n). 

(c)  A written appeal of a Tax Rate Assignment shall be filed with 

DES's Tax Administration Section pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(o). 

(d)  A written appeal of an Audit Result shall be filed with DES's 

Tax Administration Section pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(p). 

(e)  A written appeal of a Tax Assessment shall be filed with 

DES's Tax Administration Section pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A 

.0104(q). 

(f)  Written Exceptions to a Tax Opinion shall be filed with the 

Board of Review pursuant to 04 NCAC 24A .0104(r). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .1101 Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0302 SCHEDULING TAX HEARINGS 

(a)  A notice of the hearing shall be mailed to each party at least 

14 days before the hearing date. 

(b)  The hearing notice shall include the following: 

(1) identify the determination, decision, or result 

being appealed; 

(2) the name of the appealing party; 

(3) the date and time of the hearing; 

(4) if requested at the time of the filing of the 

appeal, the physical location of an in-person 

hearing; 

(5) the telephone number at which each party will 

be called for a telephone hearing; 

(6) each issue, with statutory reference, to be heard 

and decided; 

(7) the name and contact information for the Board 

of Review or designated Hearing Officer; 

(8) the manner in which witnesses may offer 

evidence and participate in the hearing; 

(9) each party's right to obtain a legal 

representative as defined in 04 NCAC 24A 

.0105; 

(10) instructions for requesting a rescheduling of the 

hearing; 

(11) notice that a party may object to a telephone 

hearing and request an in-person hearing; and 

(12) a statement of each party's right to request the 

issuance of a subpoena for the production of 

records or individuals to appear to testify, and 

instructions for how to do so. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .1102 Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0303 TELEPHONE HEARINGS 

BEFORE THE BOARD OF REVIEW 

(a)  Hearings shall be conducted by telephone conference call, 

unless a request is made for an in-person hearing at the time the 

appeal is filed, or an objection is made pursuant to Rule .0304 of 

this Section. 

(b)  In cases of telephone hearings, the Board of Review or 

designated Hearing Officer shall provide a Telephone Hearing 

Questionnaire for each party to submit each telephone number to 

be called by the Board of Review or its designated Hearing 

Officer for the hearing.  

(c)  Each party may complete and submit the Telephone Hearing 

Questionnaire containing each number to be called for the hearing 

to the Board of Review or Hearing Officer at the address listed in 

the hearing notice. 

(d)  After receiving the hearing notice, and prior to the hearing, 

any party may contact the Board of Review or Hearing Officer to 

provide the name of each participant and each telephone number 

to be called for the hearing. In the absence of the submission by a 

party of any telephone number to be called for the hearing, the 

Board of Review or Hearing Officer shall call the party at the 

telephone number listed on the hearing notice. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .1103 Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0305 COMBINATION TELEPHONE 

AND IN-PERSON HEARINGS BEFORE THE BOARD OF 

REVIEW 

(a)  The Board of Review or designated Hearing Officer may 

conduct an in-person/telephone hearing to avoid prejudice, to 

ensure security, to comply with standards for appeal promptness, 

or to expedite an appeal. 
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(b)  A party may obtain an in-person/telephone hearing by filing 

a written objection to a telephone conference call hearing notice 

pursuant to 04 NCAC 24F .0303, or to an in-person hearing notice 

pursuant to 04 NCAC 24F .0304. 

(1) The objection shall state each reason that the 

party objects to appearing in the manner listed 

in the hearing notice. 

(2) The objecting party shall state the manner in 

which it, or its witnesses, request to appear for 

the hearing. 

(3) This request shall be directed to the Board of 

Review or Hearing Officer designated in the 

hearing notice. 

(c)  The Board of Review or Hearing Officer shall consider a 

party's request to change its witnesses' appearance from a 

telephone or in-person hearing, and shall make a determination of 

whether the substantial rights of each party would be preserved 

by granting the party's request. 

(d)  The Board of Review or Hearing Officer may grant a request 

to change an appearance by telephone or in-person for good cause 

as defined in 04 NCAC 24A .0105. If the request is granted, the 

official hearing record shall include the written request for the 

change, reflect the Board of Review's or Hearing Officer's 

determination that the substantial rights of each party would be 

preserved by granting the request, and each reason for the 

determination. 

(e)  The objecting party shall appear in-person or by telephone as 

requested by the objecting party if the Board of Review or 

Hearing Officer grants the request. 

(f)  The Board of Review or Hearing Officer may deny a request 

to change a party's appearance at a telephone or in-person hearing 

if: 

(1) the Board of Review or Hearing Officer 

believes that the requesting party's intent is to 

inconvenience the opposing party or delay the 

proceedings; 

(2) the party or witnesses request to appear by 

telephone, and are less than 40 miles away from 

an in-person hearing location; or 

(3) the request is made less than 24 hours before the 

hearing is scheduled to begin. 

(g)  If a party's request for a change to a telephone or in-person 

hearing is denied, the Board of Review or Hearing Officer shall 

state the grounds for denial on the record, include the written 

request in the official records, and state the reasons for the denial 

in the written decision. 

(h)  The Board of Review or Hearing Officer shall notify each 

party of the change prior to the hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0307 SUBPOENAS 

(a)  Subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses and the 

production of records for any tax hearing may be issued by the 

Board of Review or its designated Hearing Officer. 

(1) A subpoena may be issued at the request of a 

party or on the Board of Review's or Hearing 

Officer's own motion. 

(2) Any documentation showing service of the 

subpoena shall become part of the official 

hearing record. 

(b)  Any party's request for a subpoena to be issued by the Board 

of Review or Hearing Officer shall be in writing, sent to the Board 

of Review or Hearing Officer, and shall include: 

(1) the name of the party requesting the subpoena; 

(2) the claimant's name, if applicable; 

(3) the employer's name, if applicable; 

(4) the docket number of the case; 

(5) the name, address, and telephone number of 

each person sought for appearance at the 

hearing; 

(6) the specific identification of any document, 

recording, or item sought, including a detailed 

description of where the item is located; 

(7) the name and address of the individual or party 

in possession of any item sought; and 

(8) a statement of why the testimony or evidence to 

be subpoenaed is necessary for a proper 

presentation of the case. 

(c)  The request shall be granted only to the extent that the items 

or testimony sought appears relevant to the issues on appeal. 

(d)  Legal representatives shall issue subpoenas at their own 

expense and discretion. 

(e)  Subpoenas shall be issued at least five business days before 

the date of the scheduled hearing. 

(f)  Service of a subpoena shall be made by delivering a copy to 

the person, or by registered or certified mail, return receipt 

requested, unless a party or witness consents to service of the 

subpoena by other means, including electronic transmission. 

(g)  Any party or person receiving a subpoena may serve a written 

objection to the issuance of the subpoena. 

(1) The objection shall be directed to the Board of 

Review or Hearing Officer prior to the 

commencement of the hearing and provide 

reasons for the objection and the relief sought 

by the objecting party. 

(2) The Board of Review or Hearing Officer shall 

rule on the objection and notify the parties 

before the hearing. The reasons for the ruling 

shall be in writing or stated on the record during 

the hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 24D .1106 Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0309 CONDUCT OF TAX HEARINGS 

BY THE BOARD OF REVIEW 

(a)  The Board of Review shall allow each party 10 minutes from 

the time of the scheduled hearing to appear for the hearing. 

(b)  If the appealing party fails to appear for the hearing and a 

continuance had not been previously granted, the Board of 

Review shall issue a Tax Opinion dismissing the appeal. 

(c)  A party desiring to introduce documents or other non-

testimonial evidence at a de novo hearing shall provide an 

authenticated copy plus one copy for the Board of Review to 
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include in the official record of the hearing. A copy of any 

document or other evidence provided to the Board of Review shall 

be provided to the opposing party prior to the hearing. 

(d)  A party offering 30 or more documents into evidence shall 

prepare a list of documents in the order of their presentation. The 

list shall be provided to the Board of Review and to each party 

before the hearing to become part of the official hearing record. 

(e)  If the Board of Review takes official notice of facts, whether 

under judicial notice or within the Board's specialized knowledge, 

the official notice and its source shall be stated on the record and 

noticed to the parties. Each party shall be given an opportunity to 

dispute the noticed fact by argument and submission of evidence. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0310 BURDEN OF PROOF IN 

HEARINGS BEFORE THE BOARD OF REVIEW 

The burden of proof shall rest with the appealing party in any 

hearing on an appeal set forth in 04 NCAC 24F .0301. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

04 NCAC 24F .0311 ADMISSION OF OUT-OF-STATE 

ATTORNEY TO APPEAR BEFORE BOARD OF REVIEW 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 84-4.1, attorneys residing in and licensed to 

practice law in another state may seek to be admitted to practice 

before the Board of Review to represent a client. Attorneys 

admitted pursuant to 04 NCAC 24C .0303 for the same matter are 

not required to seek admission pursuant to this Rule. 

(b)  An out-of-state attorney seeking to practice before the Board 

of Review, or the North Carolina attorney with whom the out-of-

state attorney associates pursuant to G.S. 84-4.1(5), shall file a 

motion with the Board of Review that complies with the 

requirements of G.S. 84-4.1. 

(c)  A proposed Order Permitting Out-Of-State Attorney to 

Appear Pro Hac Vice shall be provided to the Board of Review 

with the motion. 

(d)  Following review of the motion, the Board of Review shall 

issue an order granting or denying the motion. 

(e)  Pro hac vice admission granted to practice before the Board 

of Review shall allow continued representation before the Board 

of Review in all administrative proceedings regarding the same 

matter. The Board of Review has the discretionary authority to 

deny a motion for pro hac vice admission even if the motion 

complies with the requirements of G.S. 84-4.1. 

(f)  Upon receipt of an order granting a motion for pro hac vice 

admission to practice before the Board of Review, the admitted 

out-of-state attorney or the associated North Carolina attorney 

shall pay the fees required by G.S. 84-4.1 to the North Carolina 

State Bar and General Court of Justice, and file a statement with 

the Board of Review documenting payment of the fees and the 

submission of any pro hac vice admission registration statement 

required by the North Carolina State Bar. A copy of the motion, 

Order, registration statement, and documentation reflecting 

payment of the fees shall be provided to the Board of Review to 

be included in the official hearing record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 84-4.1; 96-4; 96-17; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0102 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions in G.S. 131E-155, the following 

definitions apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Affiliated EMS Provider" means the firm, 

corporation, agency, organization, or 

association identified with a specific county 

EMS system as a condition for EMS Provider 

Licensing as required by Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) "Affiliated Hospital" means a non-trauma 

center hospital that is owned by the Trauma 

Center or there is a contract or other agreement 

to allow for the acceptance or transfer of the 

Trauma Center's patient population to the non-

trauma center hospital. 

(3) "Affiliate" or "Affiliation" means a reciprocal 

agreement and association that includes active 

participation, collaboration, and involvement in 

a process or system between two or more 

parties. 

(4) "Alternative Practice Setting" means a practice 

setting that utilizes credentialed EMS personnel 

that may not be affiliated with or under the 

oversight of an EMS System or EMS System 

Medical Director. 

(5) "Air Medical Ambulance" means an aircraft 

configured and medically equipped to transport 

patients by air. The patient care compartment of 

air medical ambulances shall be staffed by 

medical crew members approved for the 

mission by the Medical Director. 

(6) "Air Medical Program" means a SCTP or EMS 

System utilizing rotary-wing or fixed-wing 

aircraft configured and operated to transport 

patients. 

(7) "Assistant Medical Director" means a 

physician, EMS-PA, or EMS-NP who assists 

the Medical Director with the medical aspects 

of the management of a practice setting 

utilizing credentialed EMS personnel or 

medical crew members. 

(8) "Bypass" means a decision made by the patient 

care technician to transport a patient from the 

scene of an accident or medical emergency past 

a receiving facility for the purposes of 

accessing a facility with a higher level of care, 

or a hospital of its own volition reroutes a 

patient from the scene of an accident or medical 

emergency or referring hospital to a facility 

with a higher level of care. 

(9) "Community Paramedicine" means an EMS 

System utilizing credentialed personnel who 
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have received additional training as determined 

by the EMS system Medical Director to provide 

knowledge and skills for the community needs 

beyond the 911 emergency response and 

transport operating guidelines defined in the 

EMS system plan. 

(10) "Contingencies" mean conditions placed on a 

designation that, if unmet, may result in the loss 

or amendment of a designation. 

(11) "Convalescent Ambulance" means an 

ambulance used on a scheduled basis solely to 

transport patients having a known 

non-emergency medical condition. 

Convalescent ambulances shall not be used in 

place of any other category of ambulance 

defined in this Subchapter. 

(12) "Deficiency" means the failure to meet essential 

criteria for a designation that can serve as the 

basis for a focused review or denial of a 

designation. 

(13) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(14) "Diversion" means the hospital is unable to 

accept a patient due to a lack of staffing or 

resources. 

(15) "Educational Medical Advisor" means the 

physician responsible for overseeing the 

medical aspects of approved EMS educational 

programs. 

(16) "EMS Care" means all services provided within 

each EMS System by its affiliated EMS 

agencies and personnel that relate to the 

dispatch, response, treatment, and disposition 

of any patient. 

(17) "EMS Educational Institution" means any 

agency credentialed by the OEMS to offer EMS 

educational programs. 

(18) "EMS Non-Transporting Vehicle" means a 

motor vehicle operated by a licensed EMS 

provider dedicated and equipped to move 

medical equipment and EMS personnel 

functioning within the scope of practice of an 

AEMT or Paramedic to the scene of a request 

for assistance. EMS nontransporting vehicles 

shall not be used for the transportation of 

patients on the streets, highways, waterways, or 

airways of the state. 

(19) "EMS Peer Review Committee" means a 

committee as defined in G.S. 131E-155(6b). 

(20) "EMS Performance Improvement Self-

Tracking and Assessment of Targeted 

Statistics" means one or more reports generated 

from the State EMS data system analyzing the 

EMS service delivery, personnel performance, 

and patient care provided by an EMS system 

and its associated EMS agencies and personnel. 

Each EMS Performance Improvement Self-

Tracking and Assessment of Targeted Statistics 

focuses on a topic of care such as trauma, 

cardiac arrest, EMS response times, stroke, 

STEMI (heart attack), and pediatric care. 

(21) "EMS Provider" means those entities defined in 

G.S. 131E-155(13a) that hold a current license 

issued by the Department pursuant to G.S. 

131E-155.1. 

(22) "EMS System" means a coordinated 

arrangement of local resources under the 

authority of the county government (including 

all agencies, personnel, equipment, and 

facilities) organized to respond to medical 

emergencies and integrated with other health 

care providers and networks including public 

health, community health monitoring activities, 

and special needs populations. 

(23) "Essential Criteria" means those items that are 

the requirements for the respective level of 

trauma center designation (I, II, or III), as set 

forth in Rule .0901 of this Subchapter. 

(24) "Focused Review" means an evaluation by the 

OEMS of corrective actions to remove 

contingencies that are a result of deficiencies 

following a site visit. 

(25) "Ground Ambulance" means an ambulance 

used to transport patients with traumatic or 

medical conditions or patients for whom the 

need for specialty care, emergency, or non-

emergency medical care is anticipated either at 

the patient location or during transport. 

(26) "Hospital" means a licensed facility as defined 

in G.S. 131E-176 or an acute care in-patient 

diagnostic and treatment facility located within 

the State of North Carolina that is owned and 

operated by an agency of the United States 

government. 

(27) "Immediately Available" means the physical 

presence of the health professional or the 

hospital resource within the trauma center to 

evaluate and care for the trauma patient. 

(28) "Inclusive Trauma System" means an 

organized, multi-disciplinary, evidence-based 

approach to provide quality care and to improve 

measurable outcomes for all defined injured 

patients. EMS, hospitals, other health systems, 

and clinicians shall participate in a structured 

manner through leadership, advocacy, injury 

prevention, education, clinical care, 

performance improvement, and research 

resulting in integrated trauma care. 

(29) "Infectious Disease Control Policy" means a 

written policy describing how the EMS system 

will protect and prevent its patients and EMS 

professionals from exposure and illness 

associated with contagions and infectious 

disease. 

(30) "Lead RAC Agency" means the agency 

(comprised of one or more Level I or II trauma 

centers) that provides staff support and serves 

as the coordinating entity for trauma planning. 
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(31) "Level I Trauma Center" means a hospital that 

has the capability of providing guidance, 

research, and total care for every aspect of 

injury from prevention to rehabilitation. 

(32) "Level II Trauma Center" means a hospital that 

provides trauma care regardless of the severity 

of the injury, but may lack the comprehensive 

care as a Level I trauma center, and does not 

have trauma research as a primary objective. 

(33) "Level III Trauma Center" means a hospital that 

provides assessment, resuscitation, emergency 

operations, and stabilization, and arranges for 

hospital transfer as needed to a Level I or II 

trauma center. 

(34) "Licensed Health Care Facility" means any 

health care facility or hospital licensed by the 

Department of Health and Human Services, 

Division of Health Service Regulation. 

(35) "Medical Crew Member" means EMS 

personnel or other health care professionals 

who are licensed or registered in North Carolina 

and are affiliated with a SCTP. 

(36) "Medical Director" means the physician 

responsible for the medical aspects of the 

management of a practice setting utilizing 

credentialed EMS personnel or medical crew 

members, or a Trauma Center. 

(37) "Medical Oversight" means the responsibility 

for the management and accountability of the 

medical care aspects of a practice setting 

utilizing credentialed EMS personnel or 

medical crew members. Medical Oversight 

includes physician direction of the initial 

education and continuing education of EMS 

personnel or medical crew members; 

development and monitoring of both 

operational and treatment protocols; evaluation 

of the medical care rendered by EMS personnel 

or medical crew members; participation in 

system or program evaluation; and directing, by 

two-way voice communications, the medical 

care rendered by the EMS personnel or medical 

crew members. 

(38) "Mobile Integrated Healthcare" means utilizing 

credentialed personnel who have received 

additional training as determined by the 

Alternative Practice Setting medical director to 

provide knowledge and skills for the healthcare 

provider program needs. 

(39) "Off-line Medical Control" means medical 

supervision provided through the EMS System 

Medical Director or SCTP Medical Director 

who is responsible for the day-to-day medical 

care provided by EMS personnel. This includes 

EMS personnel education, protocol 

development, quality management, peer review 

activities, and EMS administrative 

responsibilities related to assurance of quality 

medical care. 

(40) "Office of Emergency Medical Services" 

means a section of the Division of Health 

Service Regulation of the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services 

located at 1201 Umstead Drive, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27603. 

(41) "On-line Medical Control" means the medical 

supervision or oversight provided to EMS 

personnel through direct communication in-

person, via radio, cellular phone, or other 

communication device during the time the 

patient is under the care of an EMS 

professional. 

(42) "Operational Protocols" means the 

administrative policies and procedures of an 

EMS System or that provide guidance for the 

day-to-day operation of the system. 

(43) "Participating Hospital" means a hospital that 

supplements care within a larger trauma system 

by the initial evaluation and assessment of 

injured patients for transfer to a designated 

trauma center if needed. 

(44) "Physician" means a medical or osteopathic 

doctor licensed by the North Carolina Medical 

Board to practice medicine in the state of North 

Carolina. 

(45) "Regional Advisory Committee" means a 

committee comprised of a lead RAC agency 

and a group representing trauma care providers 

and the community, for the purpose of regional 

planning, establishing, and maintaining a 

coordinated trauma system. 

(46) "Request for Proposal" means a State document 

that must be completed by each hospital 

seeking initial or renewal trauma center 

designation. 

(47) "Significant Failure to Comply" means a degree 

of non-compliance determined by the OEMS 

during compliance monitoring to exceed the 

ability of the local EMS System to correct, 

warranting enforcement action pursuant to 

Section .1500 of this Subchapter. 

(48) "State Medical Asset and Resource Tracking 

Tool" means the Internet web-based program 

used by the OEMS both in its daily operations 

and during times of disaster to identify, record, 

and monitor EMS, hospital, health care, and 

sheltering resources statewide, including 

facilities, personnel, vehicles, equipment, and 

pharmaceutical and supply caches. 

(49) "Specialty Care Transport Program" means a 

program designed and operated for the 

transportation of a patient by ground or air 

requiring specialized interventions, monitoring, 

and staffing by a paramedic who has received 

additional training as determined by the 

program Medical Director beyond the 

minimum training prescribed by the OEMS, or 

by one or more other healthcare professional(s) 
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qualified for the provision of specialized care 

based on the patient's condition. 

(50) "Specialty Care Transport Program Continuing 

Education Coordinator" means a Level I EMS 

Instructor within a SCTP who is responsible for 

the coordination of EMS continuing education 

programs for EMS personnel within the 

program. 

(51) "Stretcher" means any wheeled or portable 

device capable of transporting a person in a 

recumbent position and may only be used in an 

ambulance vehicle permitted by the 

Department. 

(52) "Stroke" means an acute cerebrovascular 

hemorrhage or occlusion resulting in a 

neurologic deficit. 

(53) "System Continuing Education Coordinator" 

means the Level I EMS Instructor designated 

by the local EMS System who is responsible for 

the coordination of EMS continuing education 

programs. 

(54) System Data" means all information required 

for daily electronic submission to the OEMS by 

all EMS Systems using the EMS data set, data 

dictionary, and file format as specified in 

"North Carolina College of Emergency 

Physicians: Standards for Medical Oversight 

and Data Collection," incorporated herein by 

reference including subsequent amendments 

and editions. This document is available from 

the OEMS, 2707 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 

North Carolina 27699-2707, at no cost and 

online at www.ncems.org at no cost. 

(55) "Trauma Center" means a hospital designated 

by the State of North Carolina and 

distinguished by its ability to manage, on a 24-

hour basis, the severely injured patient or those 

at risk for severe injury. 

(56) "Trauma Center Criteria" means essential 

criteria to define Level I, II, or III trauma 

centers. 

(57) "Trauma Center Designation" means a process 

of approval in which a hospital voluntarily 

seeks to have its trauma care capabilities and 

performance evaluated by experienced on-site 

reviewers. 

(58) "Trauma Diversion" means a trauma center of 

its own volition declines to accept an acutely 

injured patient due to a lack of staffing or 

resources. 

(59) "Trauma Guidelines" mean standards for 

practice in a variety of situations within the 

trauma system. 

(60) "Trauma Minimum Data Set" means the basic 

data required of all hospitals for submission to 

the Trauma Registry. 

(61) "Trauma Patient" means any patient with an 

ICD-CM discharge diagnosis as defined in the 

"North Carolina Trauma Registry Data 

Dictionary," incorporated herein by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

This document is available from the OEMS, 

2707 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27699-2707, at no cost and online at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/EMS/trauma/tra

umaregistry.html at no cost. 

(62) "Trauma Program" means an administrative 

entity that includes the trauma service and 

coordinates other trauma-related activities. It 

shall also include the trauma Medical Director, 

trauma program manager/trauma coordinator, 

and trauma registrar. This program's reporting 

structure shall give it the ability to interact with 

at least equal authority with other departments 

in the hospital providing patient care. 

(63) "Trauma Registry" means a disease-specific 

data collection composed of a file of uniform 

data elements that describe the injury event, 

demographics, pre-hospital information, 

diagnosis, care, outcomes, and costs of 

treatment for injured patients collected and 

electronically submitted as defined by the 

OEMS. The elements of the Trauma Registry 

can be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/EMS/trauma/tra

umaregistry.html at no cost. 

(64) "Treatment Protocols" means a document 

approved by the Medical Directors of the local 

EMS System, Specialty Care Transport 

Program, Alternative Practice Setting, or 

Trauma Center and the OEMS specifying the 

diagnostic procedures, treatment procedures, 

medication administration, and patient-care-

related policies that shall be completed by EMS 

personnel or medical crew members based upon 

the assessment of a patient. 

(65) "Triage" means the assessment and 

categorization of a patient to determine the 

level of EMS and healthcare facility based care 

required. 

(66) "Water Ambulance" means a watercraft 

specifically configured and medically equipped 

to transport patients. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-155(6b); 131E-162; 143-

508(b), 143-508(d)(1); 143-508(d)(2); 143-508(d)(3); 143-

508(d)(4); 143-508(d)(5); 143-508(d)(6); 143-508(d)(7); 143-

508(d)(8); 143-508(d)(13); 143-518(a)(5); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. March 3, 2009 pursuant to E.O. 9, Beverly Perdue, 

March 3, 2009; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3(c), a bill was not ratified by the 

General Assembly to disapprove this rule; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 
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10A NCAC 13P .0201 EMS SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  County governments shall establish EMS Systems. Each EMS 

System shall have: 

(1) a defined geographical service area for the EMS 

System. The minimum service area for an EMS 

System shall be one county. There may be 

multiple EMS Provider service areas within an 

EMS System. The highest level of care offered 

within any EMS Provider service area shall be 

available to the citizens within that service area 

24 hours a day, seven days a week; 

(2) a defined scope of practice for all EMS 

personnel functioning in the EMS System 

within the parameters set forth by the North 

Carolina Medical Board pursuant to G.S. 143-

514; 

(3) written policies and procedures describing the 

dispatch, coordination, and oversight of all 

responders that provide EMS care, specialty 

patient care skills, and procedures as set forth in 

Rule .0301 of this Subchapter, and ambulance 

transport within the system; 

(4) at least one licensed EMS Provider; 

(5) a listing of permitted ambulances to provide 

coverage to the service area 24 hours a day, 

seven days a week; 

(6) personnel credentialed to perform within the 

scope of practice of the system and to staff the 

ambulance vehicles as required by G.S. 131E-

158. There shall be a written plan for the use of 

credentialed EMS personnel for all practice 

settings used within the system; 

(7) written policies and procedures specific to the 

utilization of the EMS System's EMS Care data 

for the daily and on-going management of all 

EMS System resources; 

(8) a written Infectious Disease Control Policy as 

defined in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter and 

written procedures that are approved by the 

EMS System Medical Director that address the 

cleansing and disinfecting of vehicles and 

equipment that are used to treat or transport 

patients; 

(9) a listing of resources that will provide online 

medical direction for all EMS Providers 

operating within the EMS System; 

(10) an EMS communication system that provides 

for: 

(A) public access to emergency services 

by dialing 9-1-1 within the public dial 

telephone network as the primary 

method for the public to request 

emergency assistance. This number 

shall be connected to the PSAP with 

immediate assistance available such 

that no caller will be instructed to hang 

up the telephone and dial another 

telephone number. A person calling 

for emergency assistance shall not be 

required to speak with more than two 

persons to request emergency medical 

assistance; 

(B) a PSAP operated by public safety 

telecommunicators with training in the 

management of calls for medical 

assistance available 24 hours a day, 

seven days a week; 

(C) dispatch of the most appropriate 

emergency medical response unit or 

units to any caller's request for 

assistance. The dispatch of all 

response vehicles shall be in 

accordance with a written EMS 

System plan for the management and 

deployment of response vehicles 

including requests for mutual aid; and 

(D) two-way radio voice communications 

from within the defined service area to 

the PSAP and to facilities where 

patients are transported. The PSAP 

shall maintain all required FCC radio 

licenses or authorizations; 

(11) written policies and procedures for addressing 

the use of SCTP and Air Medical Programs 

resources utilized within the system; 

(12) a written continuing education program for all 

credentialed EMS personnel, under the 

direction of a System Continuing Education 

Coordinator, developed and modified based on 

feedback from EMS Care system data, review, 

and evaluation of patient outcomes and quality 

management peer reviews, that follows the 

criteria set forth in Rule .0501 of this 

Subchapter; 

(13) written policies and procedures to address 

management of the EMS System that includes: 

(A) triage and transport of all acutely ill 

and injured patients with time-

dependent or other specialized care 

issues including trauma, stroke, 

STEMI, burn, and pediatric patients 

that may require the bypass of other 

licensed health care facilities and that 

are based upon the expanded clinical 

capabilities of the selected healthcare 

facilities; 

(B) triage and transport of patients to 

facilities outside of the system; 

(C) arrangements for transporting patients 

to identified facilities when diversion 

or bypass plans are activated; 

(D) reporting, monitoring, and 

establishing standards for system 

response times using system data; 

(E) weekly updating of the SMARTT 

EMS Provider information; 

(F) a disaster plan; 
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(G) a mass-gathering plan that includes 

how the provision of EMS standby 

coverage for the public-at-large will 

be provided; 

(H) a mass-casualty plan; 

(I) a weapons plan for any weapon as set 

forth in Rule .0216 of this Section; 

(J) a plan on how EMS personnel shall 

report suspected child abuse pursuant 

to G.S. 7B-301; 

(K) a plan on how EMS personnel shall 

report suspected abuse of the disabled 

pursuant to G.S. 108A-102; and 

(L) a plan on how each responding agency 

is to maintain a current roster of its 

personnel providing EMS care within 

the county under the provider number 

issued pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule, in the OEMS credentialing and 

information database; 

(14) affiliation as defined in Rule .0102 of this 

Subchapter with a trauma RAC as required by 

Rule .1101(b) of this Subchapter; and 

(15) medical oversight as required by Section .0400 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Each EMS System that utilizes emergency medical 

dispatching agencies applying the principles of EMD or offering 

EMD services, procedures, or programs to the public shall have: 

(1) a defined service area for each agency; 

(2) appropriate personnel within each agency, 

credentialed in accordance with the 

requirements set forth in Section .0500 of this 

Subchapter, to ensure EMD services to the 

citizens within that service area are available 24 

hours per day, seven days a week; and 

(3) EMD responsibilities in special situations, such 

as disasters, mass-casualty incidents, or 

situations requiring referral to specialty 

hotlines. 

(c)  The EMS System shall obtain provider numbers from the 

OEMS for each entity that provides EMS Care within the county. 

(d)  An application to establish an EMS System shall be submitted 

by the county to the OEMS for review. When the system is 

comprised of more than one county, only one application shall be 

submitted. The proposal shall demonstrate that the system meets 

the requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. System approval 

shall be granted for a period of six years. Systems shall apply to 

OEMS for reapproval no more than 90 days prior to expiration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-155(1); 131E-155(6); 

131E-155(7); 131E-155(8); 131E-155(9); 131E-155(13a); 131E-

155(15); 143-508(b); 143-508(d)(1); 143-508(d)(2); 143-

508(d)(3); 143-508(d)(5); 143-508(d)(8); 143-508(d)(9); 143-

508(d)(10); 143-508(d)(13); 143-517; 143-518; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

10A NCAC 13P .0222 TRANSPORT OF STRETCHER 

BOUND PATIENTS 

(a)  Any person transported on a stretcher as defined in Rule .0102 

of this Subchapter meets the definition of patient as defined in 

G.S. 131E-155(16). 

(b)  Stretchers may only be utilized for patient transport in an 

ambulance permitted by the OEMS in accordance with G.S. 

131E-156 and Rule .0211 of this Section. 

(c)  The Medical Care Commission exempts wheeled chair 

devices used solely for the transportation of mobility impaired 

persons in non-permitted vehicles from the definition of stretcher. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-156; 131E-157; 143-

508(d)(8); 

Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0301 SPECIALTY CARE TRANSPORT 

PROGRAM CRITERIA 

(a)  EMS Providers seeking designation to provide specialty care 

transports shall submit an application for program approval to the 

OEMS at least 60 days prior to field implementation. The 

application shall document that the program has: 

(1) a defined service area that identifies the specific 

transferring and receiving facilities the program 

is intended to service; 

(2) written policies and procedures implemented 

for medical oversight meeting the requirements 

of Section .0400 of this Subchapter; 

(3) service available on a 24 hour a day, seven days 

a week basis; 

(4) the capability to provide the patient care skills 

and procedures as specified in "North Carolina 

College of Emergency Physicians: Standards 

for Medical Oversight and Data Collection;" 

(5) a written continuing education program for 

EMS personnel, under the direction of the 

Specialty Care Transport Program Continuing 

Education Coordinator, developed and 

modified based upon feedback from program 

data, review and evaluation of patient 

outcomes, and quality management review that 

follows the criteria set forth in Rule .0501 of 

this Subchapter; 

(6) a communication system that provides two-way 

voice communications for transmission of 

patient information to medical crew members 

anywhere in the service area of the program. 

The SCTP Medical Director shall verify that the 

communications system is satisfactory for on-

line medical direction; 

(7) medical crew members that have completed 

training conducted every six months regarding: 

(A) operation of the EMS communications 

system used in the program; and 

(B) the medical and patient safety 

equipment specific to the program; 
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(8) written operational protocols for the 

management of equipment, supplies, and 

medications. These protocols shall include: 

(A) a listing of all standard medical 

equipment, supplies, and medications, 

approved by the Medical Director as 

sufficient to manage the anticipated 

number and severity of injury or 

illness of the patients, for all vehicles 

used in the program based on the 

treatment protocols and approved by 

the OEMS; and 

(B) a methodology to ensure that each 

ground vehicle and aircraft contains 

the required equipment, supplies, and 

medications on each response; and 

(9) written policies and procedures specifying how 

EMS Systems will dispatch and utilize the 

ground ambulances and aircraft operated by the 

program. 

(b)  When transporting patients, staffing for the ground ambulance 

and aircraft used in the SCTP shall be approved by the SCTP 

Medical Director as medical crew members, using any of the 

following as determined by the transferring physician who is 

responsible for the medical aspects of the mission to manage the 

anticipated severity of injury or illness of the patient: 

(1) paramedic; 

(2) nurse practitioner; 

(3) physician; 

(4) physician assistant; 

(5) registered nurse; or 

(6) respiratory therapist. 

(c)  SCTP as defined in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter are exempt 

from the staffing requirements defined in G.S. 131E-158(a). 

(d)  SCTP approval is valid for a period to coincide with the EMS 

Provider License that is issued by OEMS and is valid for six years. 

Programs shall apply to the OEMS for reapproval no more than 

90 days prior to expiration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-155.1(b); 131E-158; 143-

508; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. January 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. March 3, 2009 pursuant to E.O. 9, Beverly Perdue, 

March 3, 2009; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3(c), a bill was not ratified by the 

General Assembly to disapprove this rule; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0505 SCOPE OF PRACTICE FOR EMS 

PERSONNEL 

EMS Personnel educated in approved programs, credentialed by 

the OEMS, and functioning under physician medical oversight 

may perform acts and administer intravenous fluids and 

medications as allowed by the North Carolina Medical Board 

pursuant to G.S. 143-514. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-508(d)(6); 143-514; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0506 PRACTICE SETTINGS FOR EMS 

PERSONNEL 

(a)  Credentialed EMS Personnel may function in the following 

practice settings in accordance with the protocols approved by the 

OEMS and by the Medical Director of the EMS System or 

Specialty Care Transport Program with which they are affiliated: 

(1) at the location of a physiological or 

psychological illness or injury; 

(2) at public or community health facilities in 

conjunction with public and community health 

initiatives; 

(3) in hospitals and clinics; 

(4) in residences, facilities, or other locations as 

part of wellness or injury prevention initiatives 

within the community and the public health 

system;  

(5) at mass gatherings or special events; and 

(6) community paramedicine programs. 

(b)  Individuals functioning in an alternative practice setting as 

defined in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter consistent with the areas 

identified in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(5) of this Rule that 

are not affiliated with an EMS System shall: 

(1) be under the medical oversight of a physician 

licensed by the North Carolina Medical Board 

that is associated with the practice setting where 

the individual will function; and 

(2) be restricted to performing within the scope of 

practice as defined by the North Carolina 

Medical Board pursuant to G.S. 143-514 for the 

individual's level of EMS credential. 

(c)  Individuals holding a valid EMR or EMT credential that are 

not affiliated with an approved first responder program or EMS 

agency and that do not administer medications or utilize advanced 

airway devices are approved to function as a member of an 

industrial or corporate first aid safety team without medical 

oversight or EMS System affiliation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-508(d)(7); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; January 1, 2017. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0904 INITIAL DESIGNATION 

PROCESS 

(a)  For initial Trauma Center designation, the hospital shall 

request a consult visit by OEMS and the consult shall occur within 

one year prior to submission of the RFP. 

(b)  A hospital interested in pursuing Trauma Center designation 

shall submit a letter of intent 180 days prior to the submission of 
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an RFP to the OEMS. The letter shall define the hospital's primary 

trauma catchment area. Simultaneously, Level I or II applicants 

shall also demonstrate the need for the Trauma Center designation 

by submitting one original and three copies of documents that 

include: 

(1) the population to be served and the extent that 

the population is underserved for trauma care 

with the methodology used to reach this 

conclusion; 

(2) geographic considerations, to include trauma 

primary and secondary catchment area and 

distance from other Trauma Centers; and 

(3) evidence the Trauma Center will admit at least 

1200 trauma patients annually or show that its 

trauma service will be taking care of at least 240 

trauma patients with an ISS greater than or 

equal to 15 yearly. These criteria shall be met 

without compromising the quality of care or 

cost effectiveness of any other designated Level 

I or II Trauma Center sharing all or part of its 

catchment area or by jeopardizing the existing 

Trauma Center's ability to meet this same 240-

patient minimum. 

(c)  The hospital shall be participating in the State Trauma 

Registry as defined in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter, and submit 

data to the OEMS weekly a minimum of 12 months prior to 

application that includes all the Trauma Center's trauma patients 

as defined in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter who are: 

(1) diverted to an affiliated hospital; 

(2) admitted to the Trauma Center for greater than 

24 hours from an ED or hospital; 

(3) die in the ED; 

(4) are DOA; or 

(5) are transferred from the ED to the OR, ICU, or 

another hospital (including transfer to any 

affiliated hospital). 

(d)  OEMS shall review the regional Trauma Registry data from 

both the applicant and the existing trauma center(s), and ascertain 

the applicant's ability to satisfy the justification of need 

information required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The OEMS 

shall notify the applicant's primary RAC of the application and 

provide the regional data submitted by the applicant in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule for review and comment. The RAC shall be given 

30 days to submit written comments to the OEMS. 

(e)  OEMS shall notify the respective Board of County 

Commissioners in the applicant's primary catchment area of the 

request for initial designation to allow for comment during the 

same 30 day comment period. 

(f)  OEMS shall notify the hospital in writing of its decision to 

allow submission of an RFP. If approved, the RAC and Board of 

County Commissioners in the applicant's primary catchment area 

shall also be notified by the OEMS that an RFP will be submitted. 

(g)  Once the hospital is notified that an RFP will be accepted, the 

hospital shall complete and submit an electronic copy of the 

completed RFP with signatures to the OEMS at least 45 days prior 

to the proposed site visit date. 

(h)  The RFP shall demonstrate that the hospital meets the 

standards for the designation level applied for as found in Rule 

.0901 of this Section. 

(i)  If OEMS does not recommend a site visit based upon failure 

to comply with Rule .0901 of this Section, the OEMS shall send 

the written reasons to the hospital within 30 days of the decision. 

The hospital may reapply for designation within six months 

following the submission of an updated RFP. If the hospital fails 

to respond within six months, the hospital shall reapply following 

the process outlined in Paragraphs (a) through (h) of this Rule. 

(j)  If after review of the RFP, the OEMS recommends the hospital 

for a site visit, the OEMS shall notify the hospital within 30 days 

and the site visit shall be conducted within six months of the 

recommendation. The hospital and the OEMS shall agree on the 

date of the site visit. 

(k)  Except for OEMS representatives, any in-state reviewer for a 

Level I or II visit shall be from outside the local or adjacent RAC, 

unless mutually agreed upon by the OEMS and the trauma center 

seeking designation where the hospital is located. The 

composition of a Level I or II state site survey team shall be as 

follows: 

(1) one out-of-state trauma surgeon who is a 

Fellow of the ACS, experienced as a site 

surveyor, who shall be the primary reviewer; 

(2) one in-state emergency physician who currently 

works in a designated trauma center, is a 

member of the American College of Emergency 

Physicians or American Academy of 

Emergency Medicine, and is boarded in 

emergency medicine by the American Board of 

Emergency Medicine or the American 

Osteopathic Board of Emergency Medicine; 

(3) one in-state trauma surgeon who is a member of 

the North Carolina Committee on Trauma; 

(4) for Level I designation, one out-of-state trauma 

program manager with an equivalent license 

from another state; 

(5) for Level II designation, one in-state program 

manager who is licensed to practice nursing in 

North Carolina in accordance with the Nursing 

Practice Act, Article 9A, Chapter 90 of the 

North Carolina General Statutes; and 

(6) OEMS Staff. 

(l)  All site team members for a Level III visit shall be from in-

state, and, except for the OEMS representatives, shall be from 

outside the local or adjacent RAC where the hospital is located. 

The composition of a Level III state site survey team shall be as 

follows: 

(1) one trauma surgeon who is a Fellow of the 

ACS, who is a member of the North Carolina 

Committee on Trauma and shall be the primary 

reviewer; 

(2) one emergency physician who currently works 

in a designated trauma center, is a member of 

the North Carolina College of Emergency 

Physicians or American Academy of 

Emergency Medicine, and is boarded in 

emergency medicine by the American Board of 

Emergency Medicine or the American 

Osteopathic Board of Emergency Medicine; 

(3) one trauma program manager who is licensed to 

practice nursing in North Carolina in 
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accordance with the Nursing Practice Act, 

Article 9A, Chapter 90 of the North Carolina 

General Statutes; and 

(4) OEMS Staff. 

(m)  On the day of the site visit, the hospital shall make available 

all requested patient medical charts. 

(n)  The primary reviewer of the site review team shall give a 

verbal post-conference report representing a consensus of the site 

review team. The primary reviewer shall complete and submit to 

the OEMS a written consensus report within 30 days of the site 

visit. 

(o)  The report of the site survey team and the staff 

recommendations shall be reviewed by the State Emergency 

Medical Services Advisory Council at its next regularly scheduled 

meeting following the site visit. Based upon the site visit report 

and the staff recommendation, the State Emergency Medical 

Services Advisory Council shall recommend to the OEMS that 

the request for Trauma Center designation be approved or denied. 

(p)  All criteria defined in Rule .0901 of this Section shall be met 

for initial designation at the level requested. 

(q)  Hospitals with a deficiency(ies) resulting from the site visit 

shall be given up to 12 months to demonstrate compliance. 

Satisfaction of deficiency(ies) may require an additional site visit. 

The need for an additional site visit shall be determined on a case-

by-case basis based on the type of deficiency. If compliance is not 

demonstrated within the time period set by OEMS, the hospital 

shall submit a new application and updated RFP and follow the 

process outlined in Paragraphs (a) through (h) of this Rule. 

(r)  The final decision regarding Trauma Center designation shall 

be rendered by the OEMS. 

(s)  The OEMS shall notify the hospital in writing of the State 

Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council's and OEMS' 

final recommendation within 30 days of the Advisory Council 

meeting. 

(t)  If a trauma center changes its trauma program administrative 

structure such that the trauma service, trauma Medical Director, 

trauma program manager, or trauma registrar are relocated on the 

hospital's organizational chart at any time, it shall notify OEMS 

of this change in writing within 30 days of the occurrence. 

(u)  Initial designation as a trauma center shall be valid for a period 

of three years. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-162; 143-508(d)(2); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1502 LICENSED EMS PROVIDERS 

(a)  The OEMS shall deny an initial or renewal EMS Provider 

license for any of the following reasons: 

(1) significant failure to comply, as defined in Rule 

.0102 of this Subchapter, with the applicable 

licensing requirements in Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) making false statements or representations to 

the OEMS or willfully concealing information 

in connection with an application for licensing; 

(3) tampering with or falsifying any record used in 

the process of obtaining an initial license or in 

the renewal of a license; or 

(4) disclosing information as defined in Rule .0223 

of this Subchapter that is determined by OEMS 

staff, based upon review of documentation, to 

disqualify the applicant from licensing. 

(b)  The Department shall amend any EMS Provider license by 

amending it to reduce the license from a full license to a 

provisional license whenever the Department finds that: 

(1) the licensee failed to comply with the 

provisions of G.S. 131E, Article 7, and the rules 

adopted under that Article; 

(2) there is a probability that the licensee can take 

corrective measures to resolve the issue of non-

compliance with Rule .0204 of this Subchapter, 

and be able to remain in compliance within a 

reasonable length of time determined by OEMS 

staff on a case-by-case basis; and 

(3) there is a probability, determined by OEMS 

staff using their professional judgment, based 

upon analysis of the licensee's ability to take 

corrective measures to resolve the issue of non-

compliance with the licensure rules, that the 

licensee will be able thereafter to remain in 

compliance with the licensure rules. 

(c)  The Department shall give the licensee written notice of the 

amendment of the EMS Provider license. This notice shall be 

given personally or by certified mail and shall set forth: 

(1) the duration of the provisional EMS Provider 

license; 

(2) the factual allegations; 

(3) the statutes or rules alleged to be violated; and 

(4) notice of the EMS provider's right to a contested 

case hearing, as set forth in Rule .1509 of this 

Subchapter, on the amendment of the EMS 

Provider license. 

(d)  The provisional EMS Provider license is effective upon its 

receipt by the licensee and shall be posted in a location at the 

primary business location of the EMS Provider, accessible to 

public view, in lieu of the full license. Pursuant to G.S. 131E-

155.1(d), the provisional license remains in effect until the 

Department: 

(1) restores the licensee to full licensure status; or 

(2) revokes the licensee's license. 

(e)  The Department shall revoke or suspend an EMS Provider 

license whenever the Department finds that the licensee: 

(1) failed to comply with the provisions of G.S. 

131E, Article 7, and the rules adopted under 

that Article and it is not probable that the 

licensee can remedy the licensure deficiencies 

within 12 months or less; 

(2) failed to comply with the provisions of G.S. 

131E, Article 7, and the rules adopted under 

that Article and, although the licensee may be 

able to remedy the deficiencies, it is not 

probable that the licensee will be able to remain 

in compliance with licensure rules; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2018 

200 

(3) failed to comply with the provision of G.S. 

131E, Article 7, and the rules adopted under 

that Article that endanger the health, safety, or 

welfare of the patients cared for or transported 

by the licensee; 

(4) obtained or attempted to obtain an ambulance 

permit, EMS nontransporting vehicle permit, or 

EMS Provider license through fraud or 

misrepresentation; 

(5) continues to repeat the same deficiencies placed 

on the licensee in previous compliance site 

visits; 

(6) has recurring failure to provide emergency 

medical care within the defined EMS service 

area in a manner as determined by the EMS 

System; 

(7) failed to disclose or report information in 

accordance with Rule .0223 of this Subchapter; 

(8) was deemed by OEMS to place the public at 

risk because the owner, any officer, or agent 

was convicted in any court of a crime involving 

fiduciary misconduct or a conviction of a 

felony; 

(9) altered, destroyed, attempted to destroy, 

withheld, or delayed release of evidence, 

records, or documents needed for a complaint 

investigation being conducted by the OEMS; or 

(10) continues to operate within an EMS System 

after a Board of County Commissioners 

terminated its affiliation with the licensee, 

resulting in a violation of the licensing 

requirement set forth in Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter. 

(f)  The Department shall give the EMS Provider written notice of 

revocation. This notice shall be given personally or by certified 

mail and shall set forth: 

(1) the factual allegations; 

(2) the statutes or rules alleged to be violated; and 

(3) notice of the EMS Provider's right to a 

contested case hearing, as set forth in Rule 

.1509 of this Section, on the revocation of the 

EMS Provider's license. 

(g)  The issuance of a provisional EMS Provider license is not a 

procedural prerequisite to the revocation or suspension of a 

license pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-155.1(d); 143-508(d)(10); 

Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; January 1, 2017. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1505 EMS EDUCATIONAL 

INSTITUTIONS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, "focused review" means an 

evaluation by the OEMS of an educational institution's corrective 

actions to remove contingencies that are a result of deficiencies 

identified in the initial or renewal application process. 

(b)  The Department shall deny the initial or renewal designation, 

without first allowing a focused review, of an EMS Educational 

Institution for any of the following reasons: 

(1) significant failure to comply with the provisions 

of Section .0600 of this Subchapter; or 

(2) attempting to obtain an EMS Educational 

Institution designation through fraud or 

misrepresentation. 

(c)  When an EMS Educational Institution is required to have a 

focused review, it shall demonstrate compliance with the 

provisions of Section .0600 of this Subchapter within 12 months 

or less. 

(d)  The Department shall revoke an EMS Educational Institution 

designation at any time whenever the Department finds that the 

EMS Educational Institution has significant failure to comply, as 

defined in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter, with the provisions of 

Section .0600 of this Subchapter, and: 

(1) it is not probable that the EMS Educational 

Institution can remedy the deficiencies within 

12 months or less as determined by OEMS staff 

based upon analysis of the educational 

institution's ability to take corrective measures 

to resolve the issue of non-compliance with 

Section .0600 of this Subchapter; 

(2) although the EMS Educational Institution may 

be able to remedy the deficiencies, it is not 

probable that the EMS Educational Institution 

shall be able to remain in compliance with 

credentialing rules; 

(3) failure to produce records upon request as 

required in Rule .0601(b)(6) of this Subchapter; 

(4) the EMS Educational Institution failed to meet 

the requirements of a focused review within 12 

months, as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule; 

(5) the failure to comply endangered the health, 

safety, or welfare of patients cared for as part of 

an EMS educational program as determined by 

OEMS staff in their professional judgment 

based upon a complaint investigation, in 

consultation with the Department and 

Department of Justice, to verify the results of 

the investigations are sufficient to initiate 

enforcement action pursuant to G.S. 150B; or 

(6) the EMS Educational Institution altered, 

destroyed, or attempted to destroy evidence 

needed for a complaint investigation. 

(e)  The Department shall give the EMS Educational Institution 

written notice of revocation and denial. This notice shall be given 

personally or by certified mail and shall set forth: 

(1) the factual allegations; 

(2) the statutes or rules alleged to be violated; and 

(3) notice of the EMS Educational Institution's 

right to a contested case hearing, set forth in 

Rule .1509 of this Section, on the revocation of 

the designation. 

(f)  Focused review is not a procedural prerequisite to the 

revocation of a designation as set forth in Rule .1509 of this 

Section. 
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(g)  If determined by the educational institution that suspending 

its approval to offer EMS educational programs is necessary, the 

EMS Educational Institution may voluntarily surrender its 

credential without explanation by submitting a written request to 

the OEMS stating its intention. The voluntary surrender shall not 

affect the original expiration date of the EMS Educational 

Institution's designation. To reactivate the designation: 

(1) the institution shall provide OEMS written 

documentation requesting reactivation; and 

(2) the OEMS shall verify the educational 

institution is compliant with all credentialing 

requirements set forth in Section .0600 of this 

Subchapter prior to reactivation of the 

designation by the OEMS. 

(h)  If the institution fails to resolve the issues that resulted in a 

voluntary surrender, the Department shall revoke the EMS 

Educational Institution designation. 

(i)  In the event of a revocation or voluntary surrender, the 

Department shall provide written notification to all EMS Systems 

within the EMS Educational Institution's defined service area. The 

Department shall provide written notification to all EMS Systems 

within the EMS Educational Institution's defined service area 

when the voluntary surrender reactivates to full credential. 

(j)  When an accredited EMS Educational Institution as defined in 

Rule .0605 of this Subchapter has administrative action taken 

against its accreditation, the OEMS shall determine if the cause of 

action is sufficient for revocation of the EMS Educational 

Institution designation or imposing a focused review pursuant to 

Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule is warranted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-508(d)(4); 143-508(d)(10); 

Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; January 1, 2017. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 21A .0301 NOTICE 

In cases involving termination or modification of assistance, no 

action shall become effective until ten business days after the 

notice is mailed, except that it may be effective immediately upon 

the mailing of notice when: 

(1) modification results in an increase in benefits to 

the applicant or beneficiary; or 

(2) permitted pursuant to 42 C.F.R. 431.213, which 

is adopted and incorporated by reference with 

subsequent changes or amendments and 

available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

79(b); 42 C.F.R. 431.211; 42 C.F.R. 431.213; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 21A .0302 GOOD CAUSE FOR DELAYED 

HEARINGS 

(a)  A local appeal hearing under G.S. 108A-79 shall be delayed 

as provided in G.S. 108-79(e) for good cause.  

(b)  A State appeal hearing under G.S. 108A-79 may be delayed 

when there is good cause. The postponement shall not exceed 30 

calendar days. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, good cause exists when: 

(1) there is a death in the appellant's family; 

(2) the appellant or someone in his or her family is 

ill; 

(3) the appellant is unable to obtain representation; 

(4) the appellant's representative has a conflict with 

the scheduled date; 

(5) the appellant receives a notice of action 

proposing a reduction or termination of 

assistance after the ten business day notice 

expires; 

(6) the appellant is unable to obtain transportation; 

or 

(7) the hearing officer determines that the hearing 

should be delayed for some other reason in the 

interests of justice or to promote judicial 

economy.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 

108A-79; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 21A .0303 APPEAL DECISION 

(a)  The hearing officer shall make a tentative decision on the 

appeal that shall be served upon the county department, the 

appellant, and representatives by mail. Decisions reversing the 

county department's action shall be sent by certified mail to the 

county department. Decisions affirming the county department's 

actions shall be sent by certified mail to the appellant. Decisions 

shall be sent by regular mail to representatives. The tentative 

decision shall contain a notification of the right to present oral and 

written argument for and against the decision as set out in this 

Rule. 

(b)  The county and the appellant may present oral and written 

argument, for and against the decision by contacting the Chief 

Hearing Officer.  

(c)  If a written argument, a request for a time extension to submit 

a written argument, or a request for oral argument is not received 

by the Chief Hearing Officer within 10 calendar days of the date 

the notice of the tentative decision is signed, the tentative decision 

shall become final. 

(d)  If a request for a time extension to submit a written argument 

or a request for an oral argument is received by the Chief Hearing 

Officer within 10 calendar days of the date the notice of the 

tentative decision is signed, an extension shall be granted and a 

letter shall be mailed stating the date the written argument is due 

or the date and time the oral argument shall be heard.  

(e)  If the party that requested oral argument fails to appear for the 

scheduled oral argument, the tentative decision shall become 

final. 
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(f)  If arguments are presented within the timeframes established 

pursuant to Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule, then all such 

arguments shall be considered and a final decision shall be 

rendered. 

(g)  The final decision shall be served upon the appellant and the 

county department by certified mail. Decisions shall be sent by 

regular mail to representatives. 

(h)  A decision upholding the appellant shall be put into effect 

within two weeks after the county department's receipt of the final 

decision by certified mail. 

(i)  As provided for in 42 C.F.R. 431.245 and G.S. 108A-79(k), 

the decision shall contain the appellant's right to seek judicial 

review. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 

108A-79; 42 C.F.R. 431.244; 42 C.F.R. 431.245; 42 C.F.R. 

431.246; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1992;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 21B .0204 EFFECTIVE DATE OF 

ASSISTANCE 

(a)  The first month of Medicaid coverage shall be: 

(1) the month of application, or for SSI recipients, 

the month of application for SSI;  

(2) as much as three months prior to the month of 

application when the client received medical 

services covered by the program and was 

eligible during the month or months of medical 

need; or 

(3) if the client applies prior to meeting a 

non-financial requirement, no earlier than the 

calendar month in which all non-financial 

requirements are met. 

(b)  Assistance shall be authorized beginning on the first day of 

the month except when: 

(1) the client's income exceeds the income level 

and he or she must spenddown the excess 

income for medical care. The assistance shall be 

authorized on the day his or her incurred 

medical care costs equal the amount of the 

excess income; or  

(2) otherwise stated in the Medicaid State Plan. 

(c)  Medicaid coverage shall end on the last day of the last month 

of eligibility except for those individuals eligible for emergency 

conditions only as described in 10A NCAC 23E .0102. The last 

month of eligibility shall be the month in which the notice of 

termination period described in 10A NCAC 21A .0301 expires.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 42 

C.F.R. 435.915;  

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1995; October 1, 1991; August 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 21B .0311 TRANSFER OF RESOURCES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-58; P.L. 

100-360; P.L. 100-485; 42 U.S.C. 1396p(c); 42 C.F.R. 435.121; 

42 C.F.R. 435.840; 42 C.F.R. 435.841; 42 C.F.R. 435.845; S.L. 

2002-126; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; August 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 21, 2003; March 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 21D .0101 NOTICE OF ESTATE  

RECOVERY 

10A NCAC 21D .0102 PERMANENTLY  

INSTITUTIONALIZED 

10A NCAC 21D .0103 AGE 55 AND OVER 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-70.5; 42 U.S.C. 1396p.; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 6, 1996 to expire on July 1, 1996, 

or the last day of the 1996 session of the General Assembly, 

whichever is later; 

Temporary Rule Expired on July 1, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1996;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 21D .0201 RECONSIDERATION REVIEW 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-70.5; 42 U.S.C. 1396p.; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 6, 1996 to expire on July 1, 1996, 

or the last day of the 1996 session of the General Assembly, 

whichever is later; 

Temporary Rule Expired on July 1, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1996;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 21D .0301 PERMANENTLY  

INSTITUTIONALIZED 

10A NCAC 21D .0302 AGE 55 AND OVER 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-70.5; 42 U.S.C. 1396p.; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 6, 1996 to expire on July 1, 1996, 

or the last day of the 1996 session of the General Assembly, 

whichever is later; 

Temporary Rule Expired on July 1, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1996;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 21D .0401 FILING CLAIM AGAINST  

ESTATE 

10A NCAC 21D .0402 COLLECTION OF CLAIMS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-70.5; 42 U.S.C. 1396p.; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 6, 1996 to expire on July 1, 1996, 

or the last day of the 1996 session of the General Assembly, 

whichever is later; 

Temporary Rule Expired on July 1, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1996;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 
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SECTION .0500 - WAIVER OF RECOVERY 

 

10A NCAC 21D .0501 RECOVERY NOT COST  

EFFECTIVE 

10A NCAC 21D .0502 UNDUE HARDSHIP 

10A NCAC 21D .0503 DETERMINATION OF  

HARDSHIP 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-70.5; 42 U.S.C. 1396p.; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 6, 1996 to expire on July 1, 1996, 

or the last day of the 1996 session of the General Assembly, 

whichever is later; 

Temporary Rule Expired on July 1, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1996;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 22B .0101 INSTITUTIONAL HEALTH 

SERVICES 

No provider shall be enrolled in the Medicaid Program to provide 

any new institutional health service for which a Certificate of 

Need is required under G.S. 131E, Article 9 without first 

obtaining a Certificate of Need and meeting the conditions 

imposed by it. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 

Eff. March 1, 1993; 

Recodified from 10 NCAC 26B .0124 Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Recodified from 10 NCAC 26B .0125 Eff. April 1, 1994; 

Recodified from 10 NCAC 26B .0126 Eff. January 1, 1998;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22B .0102 COORDINATION WITH TITLE 

XVIII 

The entire range of benefits under Part B of Title XVIII of the 

Social Security Act, which is adopted and incorporated by 

reference with subsequent changes or amendments and available 

free of charge at http://uscode.house.gov/, to Medicare-eligible 

persons shall be provided through a buy-in agreement with the 

Secretary of Health and Human Services. This agreement shall 

cover all persons eligible under the Medicaid State Plan.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1998;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22B .0103 INSTITUTIONAL STANDARDS 

Institutions shall meet standards prescribed for participation in 

Titles XVIII, XIX, and XXI of the Social Security Act, which is 

adopted and incorporated by reference with subsequent changes 

or amendments and available free of charge at 

http://uscode.house.gov/. These standards are set forth in North 

Carolina licensing law and federal regulations, and are kept on file 

in the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of 

Health Services Regulation and available on request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 131-E; 

42 C.F.R. 440.10; 42 C.F.R. Part 442; 42 C.F.R. 457.990;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22B .0104 TIME LIMITATION 

(a)  To receive payment, claims shall be filed either: 

(1) within 365 days of the date of service for 

services other than inpatient hospital, home 

health, or nursing home services;  

(2) within 365 days of the date of discharge for 

inpatient hospital services and the last date of 

service in the month for home health and 

nursing home services, not to exceed the 

limitations as specified in 42 C.F.R. 447.45, 

which is adopted and incorporated by reference 

with subsequent changes or amendments and 

available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/; or 

(3) within 180 days of the Medicare or other third 

party payment or final denial, when the date of 

the third party payment or denial exceeds the 

filing limits in Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this 

Paragraph, if it is shown that: 

(A) a claim was filed with a prospective 

third-party payor within the filing 

limits in Subparagraph (1) or (2) of 

this Paragraph;  

(B) payment from the third party payor 

with whom the claim was filed is 

pending; and 

(C) documented efforts were made to 

achieve either payment or final denial 

of the third-party claim. 

(b)  Providers shall file requests for payment adjustments or 

requests for reconsideration of a denied claim no later than 18 

months after the date of payment or denial of a claim. 

(c)  The time limitation specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule 

shall be waived by the Division when there is a correction of an 

administrative error in determining eligibility by the county or 

application of court order or hearing decision that grants 

eligibility with less than 60 days for providers to submit claims 

for eligible dates of service, provided the claim is received for 

processing within 180 days after the date the county department 

of social services approves the eligibility. 

(d)  In cases where claims or adjustments were not filed within the 

time limitations specified in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, 

and the provider shows good cause for the failure to do so, the 

provider may request a reconsideration review by the Director of 

the Division. "Good cause" is an action outside the control of the 

provider. The Director of the Division shall be the final authority 

for reconsideration reviews. If the provider wishes to contest this 

decision, he may do so by filing a petition for a contested case 

hearing in conformance with G.S. 150B-23. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 42 C.F.R. 

447.45; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 
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Amended Eff. October 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1993; June 1, 1988; November 1, 1986; July 

1, 1985;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22B .0105 OVERUTILIZER 

IDENTIFICATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 

Eff. January 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; October 4, 1979;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22C .0101 COST SHARING 

10A NCAC 22C .0102 MEDICALLY NEEDY 

10A NCAC 22C .0103 CATEGORICALLY NEEDY 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 

86; 34 C.F.R. 447.50; 42 C.F.R. 440.210; 42 C.F.R. 440.220; 42 

C.F.R. 440.240;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22D .0101 CO-PAYMENT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 

86; 42 C.F.R. 440.230(d); 

Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act of 1982, Subtitle B; 

Section 95 of Chapter 689, 1991 Session Laws; 

Eff. January 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1991 For a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on February 15, 1992; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 15, 1992 For a Period of 

180 Days or Until the Permanent Rule Becomes Effective, 

Whichever is Sooner; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0105 DETECTION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-63; 108A-64; 

42 C.F.R. Part 455; 42 C.F.R. 455.12–23; 

Eff. May 1, 1984;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0106 CONFIDENTIALITY 

All investigations by the Division concerning allegations of 

provider fraud, abuse, over-utilization, or inadequate quality of 

care shall be confidential, and the information contained in the 

files of such investigations shall be confidential, except as 

permitted by State or Federal law or regulation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-63; 108A-64; 

132-1.3; 42 C.F.R. Part 455; 42 C.F.R. 455.21; 

Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0107 RECORD RETENTION 

All Title XIX and Title XXI providers shall keep and maintain all 

Medicaid and NC Health Choice financial, medical, or other 

records necessary to disclose the nature and extent of services 

furnished to Medicaid and NC Health Choice recipients and 

claimed for reimbursement. These records shall be retained for a 

period of not less than five full years from the date of service, 

unless a longer retention period is required by applicable federal 

or state law, regulations, or data retention agreements. Upon 

notification of an audit or upon receipt of a request for records, all 

records related to the audit or records request shall be retained 

until notification that the investigation has been concluded.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-63; 

108A-64; 42 C.F.R. Part 455; 42 C.F.R. 455.12– 23; 42 C.F.R. 

431.107; 

Eff. April 1, 1988;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0201 DEFINITION OF PROVIDER 

FRAUD 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-63; 150B-

21.6; 42 U.S.C. 1396(b) et seq.; 42 C.F.R. Part 455; 

Eff. April 15, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; May 1, 1984; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0202 INVESTIGATION 

(a)  The Division shall conduct a preliminary investigation of all 

complaints received or allegations of fraud, waste, abuse, error, or 

practices not conforming to state and federal Medicaid laws and 

regulations, clinical coverage policies, or the Medicaid State Plan 

until it is determined: 

(1) whether there are sufficient findings to warrant 

a full investigation, as set out in Paragraph (b) 

of this Rule;  

(2) whether there is sufficient evidence to warrant 

referring the case for civil fraud investigation, 

criminal fraud investigation, or both; or 

(3) whether there is insufficient evidence to support 

the allegation(s) and the case may be closed. 

(b)  There shall be a full investigation if the preliminary findings 

support a credible allegation of possible fraud until: 

(1) the case is found to be one of program abuse 

subject to administrative action, pursuant to 

Rule .0602 of this Subchapter;  

(2) the case is closed for insufficient evidence of 

fraud or abuse; or 

(3) the provider is found not to have abused or 

defrauded the program. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-63; 42 U.S.C. 

1396(b) et seq.; 42 C.F.R. Part 455, Subpart A;  

Eff. April 15, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0203 REFERRAL TO LAW 

ENFORCEMENT AGENCY 

The Division shall refer credible allegations of provider fraud, 

defined as provided by 42 C.F.R. 455.2, which is adopted and 

incorporated by reference with subsequent changes or 

amendments and available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/, or suspected physical abuse of recipients 

to the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit or other law 

enforcement agency.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-63; P.L. 

95-142; 42 C.F.R. 455.2; 42 C.F.R. 455.14; 42 C.F.R. 455.15; 

Eff. April 15, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0401 PURPOSE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 C.F.R. 456; 

Eff. December 1, 1982; 

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 26I .0201 Eff. July 1, 

1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0402 RECONSIDERATION REVIEW 

FOR PROGRAM ABUSE 

(a)  The Division shall notify the provider in writing by certified 

mail of the tentative decision made pursuant to Rule .0302 of this 

subchapter and the opportunity for a reconsideration of the 

tentative decision.  

(b)  The provider shall be instructed to submit to the Division in 

writing a request for a Reconsideration Review within 30 business 

days from the date of receipt of the notice. Failure to request a 

Reconsideration Review in the specified time shall result in the 

implementation of the tentative decision as the Division's final 

decision. 

(c)  The Notice of Reconsideration Review shall be sent to the 

provider within 30 business days from receipt of the request. The 

provider shall be notified in writing to appear at a specified day, 

time, and place. The provider may be accompanied by legal 

counsel if the provider so desires. 

(d)  The provider shall provide a written statement to the Hearing 

Unit prior to the Reconsideration Review identifying any claims 

that the provider wishes to dispute and setting forth the provider's 

specific reasons for disputing the determination on those claims. 

(e)  The purpose of the Reconsideration Review includes: 

(1) clarification formulation, and simplification of 

issues; 

(2) exchange and full disclosure of information and 

materials; 

(3) review of the investigative findings; 

(4) resolution of matters in controversy; 

(5) consideration of mitigating and extenuating 

circumstances; 

(6) reconsideration of the administrative measures 

to be imposed; and 

(7) reconsideration of the restitution of 

overpayments. 

(f)  The Reconsideration Review decision shall be sent to the 

provider, in writing by certified mail, within 30 business days 

following the date the review record is closed. The review record 

is closed when all arguments and documents for review have been 

received by the Hearing Unit. The decision shall state that the 

provider may request a contested case hearing in accordance with 

G.S. 150B, Article 3 and 26 NCAC 03 .0103. Pursuant to G.S. 

150B-23(f), the provider shall have 60 days from receipt of the 

Reconsideration Review decision to request a contested case 

hearing in the Office of Administrative Hearings. Unless the 

request is received within the time provided, the Reconsideration 

Review decision shall become the Division's final decision and no 

further appeal shall be permitted.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 150B, 

Article 3; S.L. 2011-375, s. 2; 42 C.F.R. Part 455.512;  

Eff. April 15, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

ARRC Objection October 22, 1987; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1988; March 1, 1988; May 1, 1984;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0601 RECOUPMENT 

(a)  The Division shall seek full restitution of improper payments, 

as defined by 42 C.F.R. 431.958, which is adopted and 

incorporated by reference with subsequent changes or 

amendments and available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/, made to providers by the Medicaid 

Program. Recovery may be by lump sum payment, by a negotiated 

payment schedule, or by withholding from the provider's pending 

claims the total or a portion of the recoupment amount. 

(b)  A provider may seek reconsideration review of a recoupment 

imposed by the division under Rule .0402 of this Subchapter.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108C-5(g); 42 

C.F.R. Part 431, Subpart Q; 42 C.F.R. Part 455, Subpart F; 42 

C.F.R. Part 456; 

Eff. February 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0605 TERMINATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 C.F.R. Part 431; 

42 C.F.R. Part 455; 

Eff. May 1, 1984;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 
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10A NCAC 22F .0606 TECHNIQUE FOR PROJECTING 

MEDICAID OVERPAYMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-63; 

42 C.F.R. Part 455, Subpart F;  

Eff. October 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 8, 1996; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0704 RECIPIENT MANAGEMENT 

LOCK-IN SYSTEM 

(a)  The Division shall have methods and procedures for the 

control of recipient overutilization of Medicaid benefits. These 

methods and procedures shall include Lock-In of a recipient, 

shown to be an overutilizer, to specified providers of health care 

and services, as set out in 42 C.F.R. 440.230, 440.260, and 

431.54(e), which are adopted and incorporated by reference with 

subsequent changes or amendments and available free of charge 

at https://www.ecfr.gov/.  

(b)  Prior to implementing Lock-In, the following steps shall be 

taken: 

(1) Recipient's utilization pattern shall be 

documented as inappropriate; 

(2) Recipient shall be notified that the State is 

imposing a Lock-In procedure; 

(3) Recipient shall be offered the opportunity to 

select a provider; 

(4) In the event the recipient fails to select a 

provider, a provider shall be selected for him or 

her by the Division; and 

(5) Recipient shall receive an eligibility card 

indicating the selected providers. 

(c)  Recipient utilization patterns shall be reviewed to determine 

if changes have occurred. If the utilization pattern has been 

corrected, the Lock-In status shall end; if the utilization pattern 

remains inappropriate Lock-In status shall continue.  

(d)  The Division may Lock-In a recipient provided: 

(1) the recipient is given notice and an opportunity 

for a hearing before imposing restriction, 

pursuant to G.S. 150B-23; and  

(2) the Division assures that the recipient has 

reasonable access to Medicaid care and services 

of adequate quality, as set out in 42 C.F.R. 

440.230, 440.260, and 431.54, which are 

adopted and incorporated by reference with 

subsequent changes or amendments and 

available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-64; 108A-79; 

42 C.F.R. 440.230; 42 C.F.R. 440.260; 42 C.F.R. Part 431; 42 

C.F.R. 431.54; 42 C.F.R. Part 455; 42 C.F.R. Part 456; 

Eff. May 1, 1984;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0706 RECOUPMENT OF RECIPIENT 

OVERPAYMENTS 

The Division requires that: 

(1) counties recover recipient responsible 

overpayments as a debt to the participating 

local governments; 

(2) counties accept payments from each recipient 

and give the recipient a receipt for each 

transaction; 

(3) counties keep a separate accounting for 

Medicaid repayments on each recipient; 

(4) repayments shall be forwarded to the Division 

of Medical Assistance utilizing the DMA 7050 

form. This shall be done on a monthly basis; 

(5) the recoupment monies that are apportioned to 

the repayment of federal, State, and county 

funds shall be made by the State;  

(6) Medical Assistance overpayments shall not be 

recouped through the reduction of Temporary 

Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) checks; 

and 

(7) the Division receives its prorated share of 

recoupments of recipient overpayments 

involving multiple programs.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-64; 42 C.F.R. 

Part 431; 42 C.F.R. Part 455; 42 C.F.R. Part 456; 

Eff. May 1, 1984;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22G .0108 REIMBURSEMENT METHODS 

FOR STATE-OPERATED FACILITIES 

The Division's reimbursement methodology is set forth in the 

Medicaid State Plan. Any payments in excess of costs shall be 

refunded to the Division. Any costs in excess of payments shall 

be paid to the provider.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55; 

S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 86; 42 C.F.R. 447, Subpart C; 

Eff. January 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 3, 2004; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22G .0109 NURSING HOME PROVIDER 

ASSESSMENT 

(a)  In accordance with 42 USC 1396b(w) and 42 CFR, Part 433, 

Subpart B, which are adopted and incorporated by reference with 

subsequent changes or amendments; and consistent with the CMS 

Federal Waiver approved April 5, 2004 with an effective date of 

October 1, 2003, which is adopted and incorporated by reference 

with subsequent changes or amendments, a monthly nursing 

facility assessment based on all occupied nursing facility bed days 

of service shall be imposed on all nursing bed days in licensed 

nursing facilities, except: 

(1) any nursing facility bed day of service provided 

by a Continuing Care Retirement Community 

(CCRC), as defined by G.S. 58-64 and licensed 

by the North Carolina Department of Insurance; 

or 
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(2) any nursing facility bed day of service paid for 

under the Medicare program established under 

Title XVIII of the Social Security Act. 

A copy of the CMS Federal Waiver may be obtained by 

contacting the Division of Medical Assistance, 2501 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2501, (919) 855-4000. 

Copies of 42 USC 1396b(w) and 42 CFR, Part 433, Subpart B are 

available free of charge at http://uscode.house.gov/ and 

https://www.ecfr.gov/, respectively. 

(b)  The assessment is payable monthly and due to the Department 

of Health and Human Services or designee of the Department 

within 15 days of the last day of the reporting month. Facilities 

shall submit payment and an account of all actual patient days 

during the month. Failure to provide accurate reporting of days, 

and payment of assessment within 15 days of the last day of the 

reporting month shall result in a 10% reduction in facility rates for 

Medicaid participating facilities and recoupment.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55; 

S.L. 2003-284, Sec. 10.28; CMS Waiver approved April 5, 2004; 

42 CFR Part 433, Subpart B; 42 USC 1396b(w); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. August 3, 2004; 

Eff. January 1, 2005;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22G .0208 ADMINISTRATIVE 

RECONSIDERATION REVIEWS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55; 

42 C.F.R. 447, Subpart C; 

Eff. February 1, 1995;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22G .0502 MENTAL HEALTH CLINIC 

SERVICES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 

86; 

Eff. February 1, 1984;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22G .0504 HEALTH MAINTENANCE 

ORGANIZATIONS AND PREPAID HEALTH PLANS 

Reimbursement to Health Maintenance Organizations and 

Prepaid Health Plans for services rendered shall be paid as a 

monthly capitation fee developed by the Division and set out in 

contract with the Health Maintenance Organization or Prepaid 

Health Plan.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-55; 

S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 86; 42 C.F.R. Part 434; 42 C.F.R. Part 438.6; 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1985;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22G .0509 REIMBURSEMENT 

PRINCIPLES, HEARING 

AIDS/ACCESSORIES/BATTERIES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 

Eff. January 4, 1993; 

Recodified from 10 NCAC 26H .0509 Eff. January 1, 1994;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0101 APPEALS BY MEDICAID 

BENEFICIARIES  

Appeals by Medicaid beneficiaries of determinations by the 

Division to deny, terminate, suspend, or reduce a Medicaid 

service or an authorization for a Medicaid service are governed by 

G.S. 108A-70.9A and G.S. 108A-70.9B. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-70.9A; 108A-

70.9B; 42 C.F.R. 431; 42 C.F.R. 456; 

Eff. April 13, 1979; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; November 1, 1983; October 4, 1979; 

RRC objection due to lack of Authority and ambiguity Eff. 

October 18, 1995; 

Amended Eff. December 11, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0102 REQUESTS FOR FORMAL AND  

INFORMAL APPEALS 

10A NCAC 22H .0103 TIME LIMITS ON REQUESTS  

FOR RECIPIENT/APPLICANT INFORMAL APPEALS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 C.F.R. 431; 42 

C.F.R. 456; 

Eff. April 13, 1979; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1995; May 1, 1990; November 1, 

1983; October 4, 1979; 

RRC objection to Rule .0103 due to lack of Authority and 

ambiguity Eff. October 18, 1995; 

Amended Eff. December 11, 1995;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0104 PAYMENT PENDING APPEALS 

If a final decision rendered in accordance with G.S. 108A-

70.9B(g) upholds the adverse determination, as defined in G.S. 

108A-70.9A(a), the Division may institute recovery procedures 

against the beneficiary to recoup the cost of any services furnished 

resulting from the appeal process. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-70.9A; 108A-

70.9B; 42 C.F.R. 431.230(b);  

Eff. April 13, 1979; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1995; October 4, 1979;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0105 DISMISSAL OF APPEAL 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 C.F.R. Part 431; 

Eff. April 13, 1979; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1995; May 1, 1990;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0201 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout this Section:  
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(1) "Division" means the North Carolina Division 

of Medical Assistance, Department of Health 

and Human Services. 

(2) "Hearing Officer" means the person designated 

by the Chief Hearing Officer of the Division's 

Hearing Unit to preside over hearings between 

a resident and a nursing facility provider 

regarding transfers and discharges. 

(3) "Hearing Unit" means the Chief Hearing 

Officer and his or her staff in the Division of 

Medical Assistance, Department of Health and 

Human Services. 

(4) "Notice of Transfer or Discharge form" means 

the form developed by the Division containing 

the elements described at 42 C.F.R. 

483.15(c)(5), which is adopted and 

incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments and available free of 

charge at https://www.ecfr.gov/.  

(5) "Request for Hearing" means a written request 

by the resident, family member, or legal 

representative of the resident that the resident 

wants to appeal the facility's decision to transfer 

or discharge. 

(6) The "Nursing Home Hearing Request Form " 

means the form developed by the Division 

containing:  

(a) the resident's name; 

(b) the facility's name; 

(c) the date of the Notice of Transfer or 

Discharge form; 

(d) the date of the scheduled transfer or 

discharge; 

(e) the requestor's preference for a 

telephone hearing or in-person hearing 

in Raleigh, North Carolina; 

(f) the requestor's name, address, 

telephone number, and signature; and 

(g) the telephone number, fax number, 

mailing address, and email address of 

the Division's Hearing Unit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 USCS 

1396r(e)(3), (f)(3); 42 C.F.R. Part 483;  

Eff. April 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015;  

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0202 TRANSFER AND DISCHARGE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  To transfer or discharge a resident, a facility shall comply with 

all of the requirements of 42 C.F.R. 483.15, which is adopted and 

incorporated by reference with subsequent changes or 

amendments and available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

a resident and, if contact information is available, a family 

member or legal representative of the resident, shall be notified in 

writing of a facility's decision to transfer or discharge the resident. 

The Notice of Transfer or Discharge form shall be used by a 

facility when giving notice of a transfer or discharge. 

(c)  Failure to complete the Notice of Transfer or Discharge form 

shall result in the notice of the transfer or discharge being invalid.  

(d)  The resident shall be handed the Notice of Transfer or 

Discharge form on the same day that it is dated. 

(e)  A copy of the notice of Transfer or Discharge form shall be 

mailed to the family member or legal representative, if contact 

information is available, on the same day that it is dated. 

(f)  The facility shall provide a Nursing Home Hearing Request 

Form to the resident and to the family member or legal 

representative, if contact information is available, at the same time 

as providing the Notice of Transfer or Discharge form. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 150B-21.6; 42 

USCS 1396r(e)(3), (f)(3); 42 C.F.R. 483;  

Eff. April 1, 1994;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0203 INITIATING A HEARING 

(a)  In order to initiate an appeal of a facility's intent to transfer or 

discharge, a resident, family member, or legal representative shall 

submit a written request for a hearing to the Hearing Unit. The 

request for hearing shall be received by the Hearing Unit within 

11 calendar days from the date of the facility's notice of transfer 

or discharge. If the eleventh day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or 

legal holiday, then the period during which an appeal may be 

requested shall run until the end of the next business day which is 

not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. 

(b)  The request for hearing shall be submitted to the Hearing Unit 

by mail, facsimile, or hand delivery. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 USCS 

1396r(e)(3), (f)(3); 42 C.F.R. Part 483, Subpart E;  

Eff. April 1, 1994;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0204 HEARING PROCEDURES 

(a)  Upon timely receipt of a request for a hearing of a transfer or 

discharge by a nursing facility as set out in Rule .0203 of this 

Section, the Hearing Unit shall notify the parties of the request. 

(b)  The parties shall be notified by certified mail of the date, time, 

and place of the hearing. Hearings shall be conducted by 

telephone, unless an in-person hearing is requested. If the hearing 

is to be conducted in person, it shall be held in Raleigh, North 

Carolina. 

(c)  The facility shall make available to the resident all documents 

and records to be used at the hearing, to be received at least five 

business days prior to the hearing. The facility administrator shall 

forward identical information to the Hearing Unit, to be received 

at least five business days prior to the hearing. 

(d)  The hearing officer may grant continuances for good cause. 

For purposes of this Rule, circumstances beyond the control of the 

party constitute good cause. 

(e)  The hearing officer shall dismiss a request for hearing if the 

resident or family member or legal representative of the resident 

fails to appear at a scheduled hearing, unless good cause is shown.  
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(f)  The hearing officer shall proceed to conduct a scheduled 

hearing if a facility representative fails to appear at a scheduled 

hearing. 

(g)  The Rules of Civil Procedures as contained in G.S. 1A-1 and 

the General Rules of Practice for the Superior and District Courts 

as authorized by G.S. 7A-34 and found in the Rules Volume of 

the North Carolina General Statutes shall not apply in any 

hearings held by a Division Hearing Officer. Division hearings 

are not contested case hearings within the meaning of G.S. 150B 

and shall not be governed by the provisions of that Chapter unless 

otherwise stated in these Rules. Parties may be represented by 

counsel or other representative at the hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 USCS 

1396r(e)(3), (f)(3); 42 C.F.R. Part 431, Subpart E; 42 C.F.R. Part 

483, Subpart E;  

Eff April 1, 1994;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0205 HEARING OFFICER'S FINAL 

DECISION 

(a)  The Hearing Officer's final decision shall uphold or reverse 

the facility's decision regarding the transfer or discharge of a 

resident. Copies of the final decision shall be mailed via certified 

mail to the parties. 

(b)  A party may appeal the Hearing Officer's final decision by 

filing a petition for judicial review in Wake County Superior 

Court or in the superior court of the county where the petitioner 

resides within 30 days of the date of the decision letter. The 

Department as the decision maker in the appeal to the Hearing 

Unit shall not be a party of record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 USCS 

1396r(e)(3), (f)(3); 42 C.F.R. Part 483, Subpart E;  

Eff. April 1,1994;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0301 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Division" means the North Carolina Division 

of Medical Assistance, Department of Health 

and Human Services. 

(2) "Hearing Officer" means the person designated 

by the Chief Hearing Officer of the Division's 

Hearing Unit to preside over hearings regarding 

Preadmission Screening and Resident Review 

(PASRR) determinations. 

(3) "Hearing Unit" means the Chief Hearing 

Officer and his or her staff in the Division of 

Medical Assistance, Department of Health and 

Human Services. 

(4) "Preadmission Screening and Resident Review 

(PASRR) Notice of Determination" means the 

form developed by the Division, containing the 

elements described at 42 C.F.R. 483.130(k), 

which is adopted and incorporated by reference 

with subsequent changes or amendments and 

available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/.  

(5) "Request for Hearing" means a written request 

on a Hearing Request Form by the evaluated 

individual or family member or legal 

representative of the evaluated individual, that 

the evaluated individual wants to appeal the 

(PASRR) determination. 

(6) The "Hearing Request Form" means the form 

developed by the Division containing:  

(a) the individual's name; 

(b) the facility name, if the individual is 

residing in a facility; 

(c) the requestor's preference for a 

telephone hearing or in-person hearing 

in Raleigh, North Carolina; and 

(d) the requestor's name, address, 

telephone number, and signature. 

(7) The "North Carolina PASRR II Screening 

Form" means both the North Carolina PASRR-

MI Psychiatric Screening form and the North 

Carolina Dual Psychiatric and Intellectual 

Developmental Disabilities/Related Conditions 

PASRR II Screening Data form developed by 

the Division, containing the elements described 

at 42 C.F.R. 483.128(i)–(j), which is adopted 

and incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments and available free of 

charge at https://www.ecfr.gov/.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 U.S.C.S. 

1395i-3(e)(3), (f)(3); 1396r(e)(3), (e)(7)(F), (f)(3); 42 C.F.R. 

483.5; 42 C.F.R. Part 483, Subparts C and E; 42 C.F.R. 483.128; 

42 C.F.R. 483.130;  

Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015;  

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0302 PASRR REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The evaluated individual and family member or legal 

representative shall be notified in writing of the Division of 

MH/DD/SAS' PASRR determination under the provisions of 42 

CFR 483.130 which is incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments and available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/.  

(b)  The PASRR Notice of Determination form shall be used by 

Division of MH/DD/SAS when giving notice of a PASRR 

determination.  

(c)  The Division of MH/DD/SAS shall provide a Hearing Request 

form, PASRR II Screening form, and PASRR Notice of 

Determination form to the evaluated individual and legal 

representative under the provisions of 42 CFR 483.128(1) which 

is incorporated by reference with subsequent changes or 

amendments and available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 U.S.C.S. 

1395i-3(e)(3), (f)(3); 1396r(e)(3), (e)(7)(F), (f)(3); 42 C.F.R. 

483.5; 42 C.F.R. Part 483, Subparts C and E;  

Eff. October 1, 1994;  
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Readopted July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0303 INITIATING A HEARING 

(a)  In order to initiate an appeal of a PASRR determination, the 

evaluated individual, family member, or legal representative shall 

submit a Hearing Request Form to the Hearing Unit. The form 

shall be received by the Hearing Unit within 11 calendar days 

from the date of the PASRR Notice of Determination. If the 11th 

day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, then the period 

during which an appeal may be requested shall run until the end 

of the next business day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 

holiday. 

(b)  The Hearing Request Form shall be submitted to the Hearing 

Unit by mail, facsimile, or hand delivery. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 U.S.C.S. 

1395i - 3(e)(3) and - (f)(3); 1396r(e)(3), (e)(7)(F), and (f)(3); 42 

C.F.R. 431.200; 42 C.F.R. 483.5; 42 C.F.R. Part 483, Subpart E;  

Eff. October 1, 1994;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22H .0304 HEARING PROCEDURES 

(a)  Upon receipt of a Hearing Request Form to appeal a PASRR 

determination, the Hearing Unit shall notify the Division of 

MH/DD/SAS of the request. 

(b)  The parties shall be notified by certified mail of the date, time, 

and place of the hearing. Hearings shall be conducted by 

telephone, unless an in-person hearing is requested. If the hearing 

is to be conducted in person, it shall be held in Raleigh, North 

Carolina. 

(c)  The Division of MH/DD/SAS shall mail all documents and 

records to be used at the hearing to the person requesting the 

hearing by certified mail and forward identical information to the 

Hearing Unit, to be received by both the requestor and the Hearing 

Unit at least five business days prior to the hearing. 

(d)  The hearing officer may grant continuances for good cause. 

For purposes of this Rule, circumstances beyond the control of the 

party constitute good cause. 

(e)  The hearing officer shall dismiss a request for a hearing if the 

evaluated individual or legal representative fails to appear at a 

scheduled hearing, unless good cause is shown.  

(f)  The hearing officer shall proceed to conduct a scheduled 

hearing if the Division of MH/DD/SAS fails to appear at a 

scheduled hearing. 

(g)  The Rules of Civil Procedure as contained in G.S. 1A-1 and 

the General Rules of Practice for the Superior and District Courts 

as authorized by G.S. 7A-34 and found in the Rules Volume of 

the North Carolina General Statutes shall not apply in any 

hearings held by the Division Hearing Officer. Division hearings 

are not contested case hearings within the meaning of G.S. 150B 

and shall not be governed by the provisions of that chapter unless 

otherwise stated in these Rules. Parties may be represented by 

counsel or other representative at the hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 U.S.C.S. 

1395i-3(e)(3), (f)(3); 42 C.F.R. 431, Subpart E; 42 C.F.R. Part 

483, Subpart E;  

Eff. October 1, 1994;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

10A NCAC 22H .0305 HEARING OFFICER'S FINAL 

DECISION 

(a)  The Hearing Officer's final decision shall uphold or reverse 

the Division of MH/DD/SAS' PASRR decision. Copies of the 

final decision shall be mailed via certified mail to the parties. 

(b)  A party may appeal the Hearing Officer's final decision by 

filing a petition for judicial review in Wake County Superior 

Court or in the superior court of the county where the petitioner 

resides within 30 days of the date of the decision letter. The 

Division as the decision maker in the appeal to the Hearing Unit 

shall not be a party of record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 U.S.C.S. 

1395i-3(e)(3), (f)(3); 42 U.S.C.S. 1396r(e)(3), (e)(7)(F), (f)(3); 42 

C.F.R. 431.200; 42 C.F.R. Part 483, Subpart E;  

Eff. October 1, 1994;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22I .0102 EXIT CONFERENCE 

At the conclusion of the audit, the provider may request an exit 

conference to discuss the audit findings with the provider that 

shall be held by personnel of the unit conducting the audit.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 

Eff. September 24, 1980;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22I .0104 RECONSIDERATION REVIEW 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 

Eff. September 24, 1980; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1988;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22J .0102 PETITION FOR 

RECONSIDERATION REVIEW 

(a)  A provider may request a reconsideration review within 30 

calendar days from receipt of final notification of payment, 

payment denial, disallowances, payment adjustment, notice of 

program reimbursement, and adjustments. A provider may 

request a reconsideration review within 60 calendar days from 

receipt of notice of an institutional reimbursement rate. Final 

notification of payment, payment denial, disallowances and 

payment adjustment means that all administrative actions 

necessary to have a claim paid have been taken by the provider 

and the Division or the fiscal agent has issued a final adjudication. 

If no request is received within the respective 30 or 60 day 

periods, the Division's action shall become final. 

(b)  A request for reconsideration review shall be in writing and 

signed by the provider or the provider's representative and contain 

the provider's name, address, and telephone number. It shall state 

the specific dissatisfaction with the Division's action and should 

be mailed to: Appeals, Division of Medical Assistance, 2501 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2501.  

(c)  The provider may appoint another individual to represent him. 

A written statement setting forth the name, address, and telephone 

number of the representative so designated shall be sent to the 

address listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The representative 

may exercise any rights given the provider in the review process. 
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Notice of meeting dates, requests for information, or hearing 

decisions shall be sent to the authorized representative. Copies of 

such documents shall be sent to the petitioner only if a written 

request is made. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 42 U.S.C. 

1396b; 42 C.F.R. 455.512; 

Eff. January 1, 1988;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22J .0103 RECONSIDERATION REVIEW 

PROCESS 

(a)  Upon receipt of a request for a reconsideration review that is 

submitted timely pursuant to Rule .0102 of this Subchapter, the 

Deputy Director shall appoint a reviewer or panel to conduct the 

review. The Division shall arrange with the provider a time and 

date of the hearing. The provider shall reduce his arguments to 

writing and submit them to the Division no later than 14 calendar 

days prior to the review. Failure to submit written arguments 

within this time frame shall be grounds for dismissal of the 

reconsideration, unless the Division within the 14 calendar day 

period agrees to a delay for good cause. For purposes of this Rule, 

"good cause" is an action outside the control of the provider. 

(b)  The provider shall be entitled to an in-person review meeting 

unless the provider agrees to a review of documents only or a 

discussion by telephone. 

(c)  Following the review, the Division shall, within 30 calendar 

days or such additional time thereafter as specified in writing 

during the 30 day period, render a decision in writing and send it 

by certified mail to the provider or his representative. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 42 U.S.C. 

1396b; 42 C.F.R. 455.512; 

Eff. January 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-33(b)(9), Administrative Law Judge 

Augustus B. Elkins, II declared this rule void as applied in 

Psychiatric Solutions, Inc., d/b/a/ Holly Hill Hospital v. Division 

of Medical Assistance, North Carolina Department of Health and 

Human Services (02 DHR 1499);  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22J .0104 PETITION FOR A CONTESTED 

CASE HEARING 

If the provider disagrees with the reconsideration review decision, 

the provider may request a contested case hearing in accordance 

with G.S. 150B, Article 3 and 26 NCAC 03 .0103.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 42 U.S.C. 

1396b; 42 C.F.R. 455.512; 

Eff. January 1, 1988;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22K .0101 DEFINITION 

A provider qualified to make presumptive determinations of 

Medicaid eligibility for pregnant women shall meet the conditions 

required by Section 1920 of the Social Security Act, which is 

adopted and incorporated by reference with subsequent changes 

or amendments and available free of charge at 

http://uscode.house.gov/, and sign a written agreement with the 

Division of Medical Assistance (Division).  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 U.S.C. 1396r–1; 

42 C.F.R. 435.1103;  

Eff. June 1, 1998;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22K .0102 AGREEMENT 

(a)  The provider shall participate in training offered by the 

Division or its agents and make presumptive eligibility 

determinations in accordance with 42 C.F.R. 435.1103, which is 

adopted and incorporated by reference with subsequent changes 

or amendments and available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/, and the Medicaid State Plan. 

(b)  The Division shall terminate the provider's Medicaid 

Participation agreement and authority to make presumptive 

determinations if the provider fails to make required notifications 

to the county department of social services in the pregnant 

woman's county of residency within five business days or fails to 

follow procedures set forth in the Medicaid State Plan, resulting 

in eligibility denials for a majority of the provider's referrals. 

(c)  Termination of the agreement shall occur 30 calendar days 

following notification when termination is initiated by the 

Division.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 U.S.C. 1396r–1; 

42 C.F.R. 435.1103;  

Eff. June 1, 1988;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22K .0103 PRESUMPTIVE 

DETERMINATIONS 

(a)  Presumptive determinations of eligibility shall apply only to 

pregnant women whose family income does not exceed the 

federal poverty guidelines issued in the Federal Register by the 

US Department of Health and Human Services and revised 

annually, which are adopted and incorporated by reference with 

subsequent changes or amendments and available free of charge 

at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines. 

(b)  Only one presumptive determination of eligibility during a 

single pregnancy shall be made by the same qualified provider. 

(c)  A presumptive determination of eligibility may be made by a 

different qualified provider if the provider has no knowledge of a 

prior determination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 U.S.C. 1396r–1; 

42 CFR 435.1103;  

Eff. June 1, 1988;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22L .0101 PROGRAM DEFINITION 

The Division's primary care case management contractor shall 

contract with primary care physicians in participating counties to 

deliver and coordinate the health care of certain categories of 

Medicaid beneficiaries listed in 10A NCAC 22L .0104. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 

Eff. August 3, 1992; 
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22L .0102 COORDINATION FEE 

In addition to normal Medicaid payments, the Division may pay 

participating physicians a monthly fee to provide case 

management for providing or coordinating the health care 

services of enrollees who have selected them as their primary care 

physician. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 

Eff. August 3, 1992. 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22L .0103 ACCESS TO CARE 

The Division's primary care case management enrollees shall be 

eligible to receive health care services that Medicaid beneficiaries 

are eligible for. Beneficiaries receive services through their 

primary care physician who either provides or coordinates health 

care.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b);  

Eff. August 3, 1992;  

Readopted July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22L .0104 ENROLLMENT 

(a)  All Medicaid beneficiaries in participating counties who are 

eligible for primary care case management shall enroll. Eligible 

Medicaid beneficiaries include AFDC-related, MIC, Aged, Blind 

and Disabled categories, unless exempt due to institutional 

placement. Institutional placement includes nursing home, mental 

institutions, and domiciliary care. 

(b)  The following beneficiaries have the option to enroll in 

primary care case management: 

(1) Medicaid for Pregnant Women;  

(2) benefit diversion beneficiaries;  

(3) beneficiaries with end stage renal disease; and  

(4) Native Americans/Alaska Natives.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b);  

Eff. August 3, 1992;  

Readopted July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22L .0201 PROGRAM DEFINITION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 

Eff. August 3, 1992; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22L .0203 ACCESS TO CARE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 U.S.C. 1396u-

2(b)(2)(B),(C); 

Eff. August 3, 1992; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22N .0101 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Subchapter, a "provider" is defined as 

in G.S. 108C-2(10).  

(b)  For the purpose of this Subchapter, an "owner" is defined as 

in G.S. 108C-2(9). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108C-2(9),(10); 143B-

139.1; 42 C.F.R. 400.203; 42 C.F.R. 455.101; 

Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22N .0102 SIGNED AGREEMENTS 

Each provider shall sign a Provider Administrative Participation 

Agreement with the Department and shall not be reimbursed for 

services rendered prior to the effective date of the participation 

agreement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143B-139.1; 42 C.F.R. 

Part 455, Subpart E; 

Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22N .0201 DEFINITIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143B-139.1; 

Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22N .0202 DISCLOSURE OF OWNERSHIP 

Providers who undergo a change in ownership as defined in G.S. 

108C-10 shall comply with the following disclosure conditions: 

(1) when applying to participate in the North 

Carolina Medicaid program, the provider shall 

supply the legal name and social security 

number of each individual who is an owner;  

(2) an enrolled provider shall notify the Division in 

writing of a change in the legal name of any 

owner. The notification shall be received within 

30 calendar days of the effective date of any 

change;  

(3) an enrolled provider shall notify the Division in 

writing if a new owner joins the provider. The 

notification shall include the new owner's legal 

name and social security number. The 

notification shall be received within 30 calendar 

days of the effective date of any change; and 

(4) an enrolled provider shall notify the Division in 

writing if an owner withdraws his ownership 

interest in the provider. The notification shall 

include the name of the departing owner and 

shall be received within 30 calendar days of the 

effective date of any change. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108C-10; 143B-139.1; 

42 C.F.R. 455.104; 42 C.F.R. 455.106; 

Eff. July 1, 2004;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22N .0203 ENROLLMENT RESTRICTIONS 

(a)  The Department shall deny enrollment, including enrollment 

for new or additional services in accordance with G.S. 122C-

23(e1) and G.S. 131D-10.3(h).  

(b)  The Department may deny enrollment when an applicant 

meets any of the following conditions: 

(1) if the Department has initiated revocation or 

summary suspension proceedings against any 

facility licensed pursuant to G.S. 122C, Article 

2, G.S. 131D, Articles 1 or 1A, or G.S. 110, 

Article 7 that was previously held by the 

applicant and the applicant voluntarily 

relinquished the license; 

(2) there is a pending appeal of a denial, revocation, 

or summary suspension of any facility licensed 

pursuant to G.S. 122C, Article 2, G.S. 131D, 

Articles 1 or 1A, or G.S. 110, Article 7 that is 

owned by the applicant; 

(3) the applicant had an individual as part of their 

governing body or management who previously 

held a license that was revoked or summarily 

suspended under G.S. 122C, Article 2, G.S. 

131D, Articles 1 or 1A, and G.S. 110, Article 7 

and the rules adopted under these laws; or 

(4) the applicant is an individual who has a finding 

or pending investigation by the Health Care 

Personnel Registry in accordance with G.S. 

131E -256. 

(c)  When an application for enrollment of a new service is denied: 

(1) pursuant to G.S. 150B-22, the applicant shall be 

given an opportunity to provide reasons why 

the enrollment should be granted or the matter 

otherwise settled; 

(2) the Division shall give the applicant written 

notice of the denial, the reasons for the denial 

and advise the applicant of the right to request 

a contested case hearing pursuant to G.S. 150B; 

and 

(3) the provider shall not provide the new service 

until a decision is made to enroll the provider, 

despite an appeal action. 

(d)  If the denial is reversed on appeal, the provider may re-apply 

for enrollment in accordance with 42 C.F.R. 455, Subpart E, 

which is adopted and incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments and available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 122C-23(e1),(e3); 

131E-256; 143B-139.1; 42 C.F.R. 455.422; 42 C.F.R. 1002.213; 

Eff. July 1, 2004;  

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22N .0301 DEFINITIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143B-139.1; 

Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22N .0302 DISCLOSURE OF OWNERSHIP 

10A NCAC 22N .0303 ENROLLMENT RESTRICTIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143B-139.1; 

Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 22O .0112 PSYCHIATRIC ADMISSION 

CRITERIA/MEDICAID BENEFICIARIES UNDER AGE 

21 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 42 C.F.R. 

441, Subpart D; 42 C.F.R. 441.151; 

Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996;  

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 43D .0708 AUTHORIZED VENDORS 

By signing the WIC Vendor Agreement, the vendor agrees to: 

(1) Process WIC Program food instruments and 

cash-value vouchers in accordance with the 

terms of the WIC Vendor Agreement and 42 

U.S.C. 1786, 7 C.F.R. 246.1-246.28, and the 

rules of this Subchapter; 

(2) Accept WIC Program food instruments and 

cash-value vouchers in exchange for WIC 

supplemental foods. Supplemental foods are 

those foods that satisfy the requirements of 10A 

NCAC 43D .0501; 

(3) Provide only the authorized supplemental foods 

listed on the printed food instrument, or 

authorized fruits and vegetables with a printed 

cash-value voucher. Determine the charges to 

the WIC Program and complete the "Pay 

Exactly" box on the printed food instrument, or 

printed cash-value voucher, as set forth in Item 

(4) of this Rule, prior to obtaining the signature 

of the WIC customer. When transacting EBT, 

the vendor shall provide to the WIC customer 

only the approved supplemental foods, fruits, 

and vegetables contained in the authorized 

product list (APL) after it has been determined 

that the WIC customer has an available balance 

on the date of the transaction. The WIC 

customer is not required to get all of the 

supplemental foods listed on the printed food 

instrument or the full dollar value of the printed 

cash-value voucher. However, a WIC customer 

may obtain more fruits and vegetables than the 

full dollar value of a cash-value voucher if the 
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WIC customer pays the difference, as set forth 

in 7 C.F.R. 246.12(h)(3)(xi); 

(4) Enter in the "Pay Exactly" box on the printed 

food instrument or printed cash-value voucher 

only the total amount of the current shelf prices, 

or less than the current shelf prices, for the 

supplemental food provided and shall not 

charge or collect sales taxes for the 

supplemental food provided. Vendors that 

utilize EBT shall only transmit the current shelf 

price of all WIC-approved supplemental foods 

purchased in the correct sizes, quantities, and 

the total dollar amount of all WIC-approved 

supplemental foods purchased in the EBT 

system; 

(5) Charge no more for supplemental food 

provided to a WIC customer than to a non-WIC 

customer or no more than the current shelf 

price, whichever is less; 

(6) Accept payment from the State WIC Program 

only up to the maximum price set by the State 

agency for each supplemental food within that 

vendor's peer group. The maximum price for 

each supplemental food shall be based on the 

maximum prices set by the State agency for 

each supplemental food, as described in Sub-

item (4)(a) of Rule .0707 of this Section, listed 

on the food instrument. A request for payment 

submitted over the maximum price allowed by 

the State agency will only be paid up to the 

maximum price for that supplemental food; 

(7) Accept payment from the State WIC Program 

only up to the full dollar value of the cash-value 

voucher; 

(8) Not charge the State WIC Program more than 

the maximum price set by the State agency 

under Item (4)(a) of Rule .0707 of this Section 

for each supplemental food within the vendor's 

peer group; 

(9) Provide to WIC customers infant formula, 

exempt infant formula, and WIC eligible 

nutritionals purchased only from the sources 

specified in Item (3) of Rule .0707 of this 

Section. Providing infant formula, exempt 

infant formula, or WIC eligible nutritionals that 

has not been purchased from the sources 

specified in Item (3) of Rule .0707 of this 

Section shall result in termination of the WIC 

Vendor Agreement; 

(10) For free-standing pharmacies, provide only 

exempt infant formula and WIC-eligible 

nutritionals; 

(11) Excluding free-standing pharmacies, redeem at 

least two thousand dollars ($2,000) annually in 

WIC supplemental food sales. Failure to 

redeem at least two thousand dollars ($2,000) 

annually in WIC supplemental food sales shall 

result in termination of the WIC Vendor 

Agreement. The store must wait 180 days to 

reapply for authorization; 

(12) Accept WIC Program food instruments and 

cash-value vouchers only on or between the 

"First Date to Spend" and the "Last Date to 

Spend" dates; 

(13) Prior to obtaining the WIC customer's signature 

on the printed food instrument and cash-value 

voucher, enter in the "Date Transacted" box the 

month, day, and year the WIC food instrument 

or cash-value voucher is exchanged for 

supplemental food; 

(14) Ensure that the WIC customer signs the food 

instrument or cash-value voucher in the 

presence of the cashier. Vendors that utilize 

EBT shall ensure that a personal identification 

number (PIN) is used by the WIC customer to 

complete the EBT transaction in lieu of a 

signature; 

(15) Ensure that the WIC customer enters the PIN to 

initiate the EBT transaction. The vendor shall 

not enter the PIN for the WIC customer; 

(16) Refuse to transact any food instrument or cash-

value voucher that has been altered; 

(17) Not transact food instruments or cash-value 

vouchers in whole or in part for cash, credit, 

unauthorized foods, or non-food items; 

(18) Not provide refunds or permit exchanges for 

authorized supplemental foods obtained with 

food instruments or cash-value vouchers, 

except for exchanges of an identical authorized 

supplemental food when the original authorized 

supplemental food is defective, spoiled, or has 

exceeded its "sell by," "best if used by," or other 

date limiting the sale or use of the food. An 

"identical authorized supplemental food" 

means the exact brand, type and size as the 

original authorized supplemental food obtained 

and returned by the WIC customer; 

(19) Imprint the authorized WIC vendor stamp in the 

"Pay the Authorized WIC Vendor Stamped 

Here" box on the face of the printed food 

instrument or cash-value voucher to enable the 

vendor number to be read during the WIC 

Program's editing process; 

(20) Imprint the vendor's bank deposit stamp or the 

vendor's name, address, and bank account 

number in the "Authorized WIC Vendor 

Stamp" box in the endorsement on the printed 

food instrument or cash-value voucher; 

(21) Deposit WIC program printed food instruments 

and cash-value vouchers in the vendor's bank. 

All North Carolina WIC program printed food 

instruments and cash-value vouchers must be 

deposited in the vendor's bank within 60 days 

of the "First Date to Spend" on the printed food 

instrument or cash-value voucher; 

(22) Ensure that the authorized WIC vendor stamp 

is used only for the purpose and in the manner 
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authorized by the Agreement and be 

responsible for the unauthorized use of the 

authorized WIC vendor stamp; 

(23) Maintain storage of the authorized WIC vendor 

stamp so only the staff designated by the vendor 

owner or manager have access to the stamp and 

report loss of this stamp within two business 

days to the local WIC agency; 

(24) Notify the local WIC agency of misuse 

(attempted or actual) of WIC Program food 

instruments or cash-value vouchers; 

(25) Maintain a minimum inventory of supplemental 

foods in the store for purchase. Supplemental 

foods that are outside of the manufacturer's 

expiration date do not count towards meeting 

the minimum inventory requirement. The 

following items and sizes constitute the 

minimum inventory of supplemental foods for 

vendors in Peer Groups I through III of Item (1), 

vendors in Vendor Peer Groups I through IV of 

Item (2), and vendors in Vendor Peer Group IV 

of Item (3) of Rule .0706 of this Section: 

 

Food Item Type of Inventory Quantities Required 

Milk 

Whole fluid: gallon 

-and- 

Skim/lowfat fluid: gallon 

2 gallons 

 

6 gallons  

Cheese 1 pound package 2 packages 

Cereals 
2 types: whole grain 

(minimum package size 12 ounce) 
6 packages total 

Eggs 
Grade A, large, white: 

1 dozen size carton 
2 dozen 

Juices 

Single strength: 

48 ounce container 

64 ounce container 

 

4 containers 

4 containers 

Dried Peas and Beans 1 pound package 2 packages 

Peanut Butter 16 to 18 ounce container 2 containers 

Tuna 5 to 6 ounce can 6 cans 

Bread/Tortillas 16 ounce loaf of bread or package of tortillas 
2 loaves or 2 packages OR 1 

loaf and 1 package 

Rice 14 to 16 ounce package 2 packages 

Infant Cereal 8 ounce box 6 boxes 

Infant Fruits and 

Vegetables 

3.5 to 4 ounce container 

1 type of fruit and 1 type of vegetable 
64 ounces 

Infant Formula 

milk-based powder; 11.0 to 14.0 ounce 

-and- 

soy-based powder; 11.0 to 14.0 ounce 

Brands must be the primary contract infant formulas 

 

8 cans 

 

4 cans 

 

 

Fruits 14 to 16 ounce can: 2 varieties 10 cans total 

Vegetables 

(Excludes foods in 

Dried Peas and Beans 

category) 

14 to 16 ounce can: 2 varieties 10 cans total 
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All vendors in Vendor Peer Groups I through III of Item (1), Peer 

Groups I through IV of Item (2), and Vendor Peer Groups IV and 

V of Item (3) of Rule .0706 of this Section shall supply milk, soy-

based or lactose-free infant formula in 32 ounce ready-to-feed or 

lactose-free powder within 48 hours of request by the State or 

local WIC agency; 

(26) Ensure that all supplemental foods in the store 

for purchase are within the manufacturer's 

expiration date; 

(27) Permit the purchase of supplemental food 

without requiring other purchases; 

(28) Comply with the following EBT provisions: 

(a) Sign the WIC Vendor Agreement of 

the EBT Processor selected by the 

State WIC Program or a third-party 

processor that has been certified 

according to criteria established by the 

EBT Processor selected by the State 

WIC Program. Failure by a vendor to 

sign and retain a WIC Vendor 

Agreement with the State WIC 

Program's EBT Processor or a third-

party processor that has been certified 

by the State WIC Program's EBT 

Processor shall result in termination of 

the WIC Vendor Agreement. Vendors 

shall notify the WIC Program within 

24 hours of any periods of time during 

which they do not maintain an 

Agreement with the State WIC 

Program's EBT Processor or a third-

party processor that has been certified 

by the State WIC Program's EBT 

Processor; 

(b) Process EBT transactions in 

accordance with the terms of the North 

Carolina WIC Vendor Agreement, 

WIC Program State Rules, federal 

regulations, and statutes; 

(c) Maintain Point of Sale (POS) 

terminals used to support the WIC 

Program in accordance with the 

minimum lane provisions of 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(z)(2); 

(d) Maintain a North Carolina EBT 

Processor certified in-store EBT 

system that is available for WIC 

redemption processing during all 

hours the store is open; 

(e) Request the North Carolina EBT 

Processor re-certify its in-store system 

if the vendor alters or revises the 

system in any manner that impacts the 

EBT redemption or claims processing 

system after initial certification is 

completed; 

(f) For vendors with integrated systems, 

obtain EBT card readers to support 

EBT transactions within their store(s). 

The vendor shall ensure that the EBT 

card readers they obtain meets all EBT 

and North Carolina EBT Processor 

requirements; 

(g) Require an owner, manager or other 

authorized store representative to 

complete training on WIC EBT 

procedures. The vendor shall ensure 

that all cashiers and staff are fully 

trained on WIC EBT requirements, 

including training in the acceptance 

and processing of WIC EBT 

transactions; 

(h) Require the WIC customer to approve 

the WIC transaction. Vendors shall 

ensure that the vendor's staff does not 

approve the WIC transactions for WIC 

customers under any circumstances; 

(i) Release supplemental food to WIC 

customers when the transaction has 

been completed to include receipt of 

transaction approval by the EBT 

processing system, printing of the 

receipt, and updated balance of the 

WIC customer's account; 

(j) Scan or manually enter Universal 

Product Codes (UPC) only from 

approved supplemental foods being 

purchased by the WIC customer in the 

types, sizes and quantities available on 

the WIC customer's EBT account. The 

vendor shall not scan codes from UPC 

codebooks or reference sheets; 

(k) Return any EBT card found on the 

vendor's property and unclaimed for 

24 hours to the WIC Program. The 

vendor shall not hold or use a WIC 

customer's EBT card and PIN for any 

purpose whatsoever; 

(l) Connect the vendor's in-store system 

for each outlet covered by the WIC 

Vendor agreement to the State's WIC 

EBT system at least once each 24-hour 

period to download reconciliation files 

and the WIC Authorized Product 

UPC/Product Look-Up (PLU) list. 

(29) Attend, or cause a manager or other authorized 

store representative to attend, annual vendor 

training upon notification by the local WIC 

agency. Failure to attend annual vendor training 

by September 30 of each year shall result in 

termination of the WIC Vendor Agreement; 

(30) Inform and train vendor's cashiers and other 

staff on WIC Program requirements; 

(31) Be accountable for the actions of its owners, 

officers, managers, agents, and employees who 

commit vendor violations; 

(32) Allow monitoring and inspection by State and 

local WIC Program staff of the store premises 
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and procedures to ensure compliance with the 

agreement and State, and federal WIC Program 

rules, regulations, and applicable law. This 

includes providing access to all program-

related records, including access to all WIC 

food instruments and cash-value vouchers at the 

store; vendor records pertinent to the purchase 

and sale of WIC supplemental foods, including 

invoices, receipts, copies of purchase orders, 

and any other proofs of purchase; federal and 

state corporate and individual income tax and 

sales and use tax returns and all records 

pertinent to these returns; and books and 

records of all financial and business 

transactions. These records must be retained by 

the vendor for a period of three years or until 

any audit pertaining to these records is resolved, 

whichever is later. Notwithstanding any other 

provision of this Rule and Rules .0707 and 

.0710 of this Section, failure or inability to 

provide these records for an inventory audit or 

providing false records for an inventory audit 

shall be deemed a violation of 7 C.F.R. 

246.12(l)(1)(iii)(B) and Subparagraph (a)(1) of 

Rule .0710 of this Section. Invoices, receipts, 

purchase orders, and any other proofs of 

purchase for WIC supplemental foods shall 

include: 

(a) the name of the seller and be prepared 

entirely by the seller without alteration 

by the vendor or on the seller's 

business letterhead; 

(b) the date of purchase and the date the 

authorized vendor received the WIC 

supplemental food at the store if 

different from the date of purchase; 

and 

(c) a description of each WIC 

supplemental food item purchased, 

including brand name, unit size, type 

or form, and quantity; 

(33) Maintain a record of all SNAP-eligible food 

sales and provide to the State agency upon 

request a statement of the total amount of 

revenue derived from SNAP-eligible food sales 

and written documentation to support the 

amount of sales claimed by the vendor, such as 

sales records, financial statements, reports, tax 

documents or other verifiable documentation; 

(34) Submit a current completed WIC Price List 

when signing this agreement, and by April 1 

and October 1 of each year. The vendor also 

agrees to submit a WIC Price List within two 

weeks of any written request by the State or 

local WIC agency; 

(35) Reimburse the State agency in full or agree to a 

repayment schedule with the State agency 

within 30 days of written notification of a claim 

assessed due to a vendor violation that affects 

payment to the vendor or a claim assessed due 

to the unauthorized use of the WIC vendor 

stamp. Failure to reimburse the State agency in 

full or agree to a repayment schedule within 30 

days of written notification of a claim shall 

result in termination of the WIC Vendor 

Agreement. The State agency shall deny 

payment or assess a claim in the amount of the 

full purchase price of each food instrument or 

cash-value voucher invalid under 

Subparagraphs (a)(2), (a)(5), (a)(6) or (a)(7) of 

Rule .0704 of this Section. Denial of payment 

by the State agency or payment of a claim by 

the vendor for a vendor violation(s) shall not 

absolve the vendor of the violation(s). The 

vendor shall also be subject to any vendor 

sanctions authorized under Rule .0710 of this 

Section for the vendor violation(s); 

(36) Not seek restitution from the WIC customer for 

reimbursement paid by the vendor to the State 

agency or for WIC food instruments or cash-

value vouchers not paid or partially paid by the 

State agency. Additionally, the vendor shall not 

charge the WIC customer for authorized 

supplemental foods obtained with food 

instruments or cash-value vouchers; 

(37) Not contact a WIC customer outside the store 

regarding the transaction or redemption of WIC 

food instruments or cash-value vouchers; 

(38) Notify the local WIC agency in writing at least 

30 days prior to a change of ownership, change 

in store location, cessation of operations, or 

withdrawal from the WIC Program. Change of 

ownership, change in store location of more 

than three miles from the store's previous 

location, cessation of operations, withdrawal 

from the WIC Program, or disqualification 

from the WIC Program shall result in 

termination of the WIC Vendor Agreement by 

the State agency. Change of ownership, change 

in store location, ceasing operations, 

withdrawal from the WIC Program, or 

nonrenewal of the WIC Vendor Agreement 

shall not stop a disqualification period 

applicable to the store; 

(39) Return the authorized WIC vendor stamp to the 

local WIC agency upon termination of the WIC 

Vendor Agreement or disqualification from the 

WIC Program; 

(40) Not discriminate on the basis of WIC 

participation, such as failing to offer WIC 

customers the same courtesies, as set forth in 7 

C.F.R. 246.12(g)(3)(iii), offered to other 

customers or requiring separate WIC lines; 

(41) Reapply to continue to be authorized beyond 

the period of its current WIC Vendor 

Agreement. Additionally, a store shall reapply 

to become authorized following the expiration 

of a disqualification period or termination of the 
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Agreement. In all cases, the vendor applicant is 

subject to the vendor peer group criteria of Rule 

.0706 of this Section and the vendor selection 

criteria of Rule .0707 of this Section; and 

(42) Comply with all the requirements for vendor 

applicants of Items (3), (4), and (7) through 

(17), and (19) of Rule .0707 of this Section 

throughout the term of authorization. The State 

agency may reassess a vendor at any time 

during the vendor's period of authorization to 

determine compliance with these requirements. 

The State agency shall terminate the WIC 

Vendor Agreement of any vendor that fails to 

comply with Items (3), (4), (8), (9), (10), (11), 

(12), (13), (14), (16), (17), or (19) of Rule .0707 

of this Section during the vendor's period of 

authorization, and terminate the agreement of 

or sanction or both any vendor that fails to 

comply with Items (7), (15), (17),or (19) of 

Rule .0707 of this Section during the vendor's 

period of authorization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-361; 7 C.F.R. 246; 42 

U.S.C. 1786; 

Eff. March 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 23, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0209 CRIMINAL JUSTICE 

INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 

(a)  The instructor training course required for general instructor 

certification shall consist of a minimum of 78 hours of instruction 

presented during a continuous period of not more than two weeks. 

(b)  Each instructor training course shall be designed to provide 

the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function 

of a criminal justice instructor. 

(c)  Each instructor training course shall include the following 

identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each 

area: 

(1) Orientation and Pre-Test  3 Hours 

(2) Instructional Systems Design (ISD) 6 Hours 

(3) Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and 

Legal Responsibilities  3 Hours 

(4) Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership 

    4 Hours 

(5) Lesson Plan Preparation: Professional 

Resources   3 Hours 

(6) Lesson Plan Development and Formatting 

    4 Hours 

(7) Adult Learning   6 Hours 

(8) Instructional Styles and Platform Skills 

    5 Hours 

(9) Classroom Management  3 Hours 

(10) Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical 

Exercises   6 Hours 

(11) The Evaluation Process of Learning  

    4 Hours 

(12) Audio Visual Aids  4 Hours 

(13) Student 8-Minute Introductions and Video 

Critique    5 Hours 

(14) Student Performance: First 35-Minute 

Presentation   6 Hours 

Second 35-Minute Presentation 6 Hours 

Final 70-Minute Presentation and Review 

    8 Hours 

(15) Course Closing and Post-test 2 Hours 

(d)  The "Instructor Training" manual published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for instructor 

training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at 

the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; 

January 1, 2015; December 1, 2009; August 1, 2005; November 

1, 1998; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; January 

1, 1985. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0406 COMPREHENSIVE WRITTEN 

EXAMINATION - BASIC LAW ENFORCEMENT 

TRAINING 

(a)  Within 60 days of the conclusion of a school's offering of the 

Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the Commission shall 

administer a comprehensive written examination to each trainee 

who has completed all of the required course work pursuant to 

Rule .0405 of this Section. A trainee shall not be administered the 

comprehensive written examination until such time as all of the 

course work is completed or he or she is granted a medical waiver 

by the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division in 

accordance with Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(b)  The examination shall be comprised of six units as specified 

in 12 NCAC 09B .0205(b). 

(c)  The Commission's representative shall submit to the school 

director within five business days of the administration of the 

examination a report of the results of the test for each trainee 

examined. 

(d)  A trainee shall achieve a passing score on the comprehensive 

written examination upon answering a minimum of 70 percent of 

the questions correctly on each of the six units as prescribed in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(e)  A trainee who has participated in a scheduled delivery of an 

accredited training course and has achieved a passing score in 
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each motor-skill or performance area of the course curriculum but 

has failed to achieve the minimum score of 70 percent on no more 

than two units of the Commission's comprehensive written 

examination may request the Director of the Standards Division 

to authorize a re-examination of the trainee in only those units for 

which he or she failed to make a passing score of 70 percent: 

(1) The trainee's request for re-examination shall 

be made in writing on the Commission's Re-

Examination Request form and shall be 

received by the Standards Division within 30 

days of the examination. The Re-examination 

Request form is located on the agency's 

website:  

http://ncdoj.gov/getdoc/dcb72ee9-fa01-4664-

a7a0-ef33ac0941ee/Exam-Admission-

Form_F-23_4-19-17.aspx. The examination 

request form shall include the following 

information: 

(A) first-time examination training type; 

(B) trainee information; and 

(C) school information and appropriate 

signatures. 

(2) The trainee's request for re-examination shall 

include the favorable recommendation of the 

school director who administered the course(s). 

(3) A trainee shall have, within 60 days of the 

original examination(s), only one opportunity 

for re-examination and shall achieve a passing 

score on the subsequent unit examination. 

(4) The trainee shall be assigned in writing by the 

Director of the Standards Division a place, 

time, and date for re-examination. 

(5) Should the trainee on re-examination not 

achieve a minimum score of 70 percent on the 

examination, the trainee shall not be eligible for 

probationary certification, as prescribed in 12 

NCAC 09C .0303(d). The trainee shall enroll 

and complete a subsequent offering of the Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course before 

further examination is permitted. 

(f)  A trainee who sustains injury prior to the final POPAT attempt 

and who achieved a passing score on the last attempt, who has 

completed the required coursework with the exception of the final 

POPAT, may request from the Director of the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division a medical waiver to take the comprehensive 

written examination prior to completion of the final POPAT. The 

medical waiver request shall include the following information: 

(1) a memorandum from the School Director 

justifying a medical wavier;  

(2) copies of the last POPAT assessment; and  

(3) medical documentation from a surgeon, 

physician, physician assistant, or nurse 

practitioner showing the diagnosis of the injury 

and the estimated medical release date. 

Upon receipt of the information contained in this Paragraph, the 

Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division shall approve 

the medical waiver request. The School Director shall submit the 

medical waiver approval from the Director of the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division with the comprehensive examination 

admission form. The trainee must complete the final POPAT 

attempt within 120 calendar days of the original state written 

examination date. 

(g)  A trainee who fails to achieve a passing score of 70 percent 

on three or more of the units as as set forth in Rule .0205(b) of 

this Subchapter shall not be given the opportunity for re-

examination on those units; and shall enroll in and complete a 

subsequent offering of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Course before further examination is permitted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; January 1, 2015; August 1, 2000; July 

1, 1989; July 1, 1985; January 1, 1983. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0414 INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 

(a)  The instructor training course required for general instructor 

certification shall consist of a minimum of 78 hours of instruction 

presented during a continuous period of not more than two weeks. 

(b)  Each instructor training course shall be designed to provide 

the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function 

of a criminal justice instructor. 

(c)  Each instructor training course shall include the following 

identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each 

area: 

(1) Orientation and Pre-test;  3 hours 

(2) Instructional Systems Design (ISD); 

    6 hours 

(3) Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and 

Legal Responsibilities;  3 hours 

(4) Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership 

    4 hours  

(5) Lesson Plan Preparation: Professional 

Resources;   3 hours 

(6) Lesson Plan Development and Formatting 

    4 hours 

(7) Adult Learning;   6 hours 

(8) Instructional Style and Platform Skills; 

    5 hours 

(9) Classroom Management;  3 hours 

(10) Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical 

Exercises;   6 hours 

(11) The Evaluation Process of Learning ; 

    4 hours 

(12) Principles of Instruction: Audio-Visual Aids;

    4 hours 

(13) Student 8-Minute Introduction and Video 

Critique; and   5 hours 

(14) Student Performance: 

First 35-Minute Presentation; 6 hours 

Second 35-Minute Presentation; and 

    6 hours 

Final 70-Minute Presentation and Review; 

    8 hours 

(15) Course Closing and Post Test 2 hours 

(d)  The "Instructor Training Manual" published by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as the basic curriculum 

for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be 

inspected at the agency: 
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Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the 

North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; 

January 1, 2015. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 15A .0104 PAYMENT OF FEES AND FINES 

(a)  Payment of fees and fines owed to the Commission may be 

paid by certified check, cashier's check, money order, electronic 

payment, or Discover, Mastercard, or Visa credit cards. However, 

payments for permit renewals for more than nine locations shall 

not be made by credit card. 

(b)  Credit card and electronic payments may be made online 

through the Commission's website. 

(c)  All payments shall be made payable to the North Carolina 

ABC Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-104; 18B-206; 

18B-207; 18B-902; 18B-903; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

14B NCAC 15B .0102 APPLICATIONS FOR PERMITS: 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  Application forms for all ABC permits may be obtained from 

the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission's 

office or website as set forth in 14B NCAC 15A .0102. 

(b)  An applicant operating noncontiguous buildings or structures, 

except as permitted pursuant to G.S. 18B-1120, or businesses with 

separate trade names, shall obtain and hold separate permits for 

each building or business for which he or she wants permits, and 

shall pay the application fees as set forth in G.S. 18B-902(d). If 

the applicant requests a single permit for a business that is 

operated in contiguous buildings or structures over which the 

applicant has exclusive control over the buildings and the space 

between buildings, the Commission shall determine if the 

business is operating as a single business with the same operating 

scheme and purpose. If so, the Commission shall issue a single 

permit for the business. 

(c)  Each individual required to qualify for an ABC permit under 

G.S. 18B-900(c) shall file a written application with the 

Commission and in the application shall state, under oath, the 

following information: 

(1) the name, address, email address, last four 

digits of social security number, and telephone 

number(s) of the applicant; 

(2) the name of the business and whether the 

business is a sole proprietorship, corporation, 

limited liability company, or partnership; 

(3) the mailing address and location address of the 

business for which a permit is desired, and the 

county, and city if applicable, where the 

business is located; 

(4) the trade name of business; 

(5) the applicant's date of birth; 

(6) if the business is a corporation or limited 

liability company, the name and address of the 

person authorized to accept service of process 

under G.S. 1A, Rule 4(j) of Commission notices 

or orders; 

(7) if the applicant is a non-resident, the name and 

address of a resident of this State appointed as 

the applicant's attorney-in-fact in accordance 

with Chapter 32C of the General Statutes for 

purposes of G.S. 18B-900(a)(2)b.; 

(8) an actual diagram of the premises showing: 

(A) the entrances and exits; 

(B) the storage area for alcoholic 

beverages;  

(C) the locations where alcoholic 

beverages will be served or consumed; 

and 

(D) the exterior areas under lease, 

authority, or control of the applicant; 

(9) that the applicant is the actual owner or lessee 

of the premises, or controls the premises 

pursuant to a management agreement to operate 

the premises with the actual owner or lessee, 

where a permit is sought; 

(10) that the applicant is an actual resident of the 

State of North Carolina or, as a non-resident, 

has appointed, by a power of attorney, a 

resident manager, who is an actual resident of 

this State, to serve as attorney-in-fact who will 

manage the business and accept service of 

process and official Commission notices or 

orders; and 

(11) that the applicant is in compliance with G.S. 

18B-900(a)(3) through (8). 

(d)  The following documents completed, signed, notarized, and 

recorded, as applicable, shall be attached to and submitted with an 

application, and shall be incorporated as part of the application: 

(1) a Zoning and Compliance Form signed by the 

appropriate officials pursuant to G.S. 18B-

901(c); 

(2) for applicants for retail permits, a Proof of 

Alcohol Seller/Server Training Form 

containing the applicant's name, business name, 

address, and telephone number, and a 

certification of completion of an approved 

Alcohol Seller/Server training class with 

training date issued by the approved course 

provider unique to the applicant; 

(3) the fingerprint card, Authority for Release of 

Information Form, and certified check, cashier's 
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check, money order, electronic payment, or 

credit card payment made payable to the North 

Carolina ABC Commission in the amount of 

thirty-eight dollars ($38.00) for payment of a 

state and national fingerprint based check 

pursuant to 14B NCAC 18B .0405, which is 

incorporated herein by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions; 

(4) payment of applicable permit fees as authorized 

in 14B NCAC 15A .0104; 

(5) a certified copy of any recorded power of 

attorney registered in the county where the 

proposed licensed premises is located; 

(6) a Recycling Compliance Form for on-premise 

malt beverage, fortified wine, unfortified wine, 

and mixed beverage permits only; 

(7) for corporations not already holding a permit in 

this State, a copy of the Articles of 

Incorporation and notarized corporate 

certification of shareholders holding 25 percent 

or more of the shares of the corporation; 

(8) for limited liability companies not already 

holding a permit in this State, a copy of Articles 

of Organization and notarized organizational 

certification of members owning 25 percent or 

more interest in the company. Additionally, if 

manager managed, a copy of the Operating 

Agreement; 

(9) a black and white copy of applicant's current 

photo identification; 

(10) a copy or memorandum of the lease showing 

the applicant as tenant, a copy of the deed 

showing the applicant as the grantee or owner, 

or a copy of a management agreement with the 

owner or lessee of the permitted property 

showing the applicant has the authority to 

operate the business at the permitted location; 

(11) a diagram of the premises including the details 

required pursuant to Subparagraph (c)(8) of this 

Rule; and 

(12) a Federal Employer Identification/Social 

Security Number Verification Form. 

 

History Note: Authority 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-900; 18B-

901; 18B-902; 18B-903; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2011; July 1, 1992; May 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 25, 2013; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2014; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02S .0102 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Recodified Paragraphs (c)-(l) to 14B NCAC 15B .0103 Eff. July 

1, 2018; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

14B NCAC 15B .0103 ADDITIONAL PERMIT 

LIMITATIONS AND REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  No permit for the possession, sale, or consumption of 

alcoholic beverages shall be issued to any establishment when 

there are living quarters in or connected to the premises being 

permitted, and no permittee shall establish or maintain living 

quarters in or connected to the permittee's licensed premises. 

(b)  No permit for the on-premises possession, sale, or 

consumption of alcoholic beverages shall be issued to any 

establishment unless there are two restrooms in working order on 

the premises. The Commission shall waive the two-restroom 

requirement upon a showing by the permittee that it is not possible 

to have a second restroom in the existing premises due to building 

restrictions under historical preservation or zoning laws, or 

building or fire codes. 

(c)  In determining the areas where alcoholic beverages may be 

sold and consumed, the Commission shall consider the 

convenience of the permittee and patrons, allowing the maximum 

use of the premises consistent with the control of the sale and 

consumption of alcoholic beverages. Consumption shall not be 

allowed in areas open to the general public other than patrons. To 

be approved, any premises shall have delineated vertical 

boundaries that the consumer would recognize as indicating the 

boundaries that physically separate areas where consumption is 

allowed from areas open to the general public other than patrons. 

(d)  The sale and delivery of alcoholic beverages by permitted 

retail outlets located on fairgrounds, golf courses, ball parks, race 

tracks, and other similar public places are restricted to an enclosed 

establishment in a designated place. No alcoholic beverages shall 

be sold, served, or delivered by these outlets outside the enclosed 

establishment, nor in grandstands, stadiums, or bleachers at public 

gatherings, except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule. As 

used in this Paragraph, the term "enclosed establishment" includes 

a temporary structure or structures constructed and used for the 

purpose of dispensing food and beverages at events to be held on 

fairgrounds, golf courses, ball parks, race tracks, and other similar 

places. Sales of alcoholic beverages may be made in box seats 

only under the following conditions: 

(1) table service of food and non-alcoholic 

beverages are available to patrons in box seats; 

(2) no alcoholic beverages are delivered to the box 

seats area until after orders have been taken; 

and 

(3) box seat areas have been designated as part of 

the permittee's premises on a diagram 

submitted by the permittee, and the 

Commission has granted written approval of 

alcoholic beverage sales in these seating areas. 

(e)  If one permittee has more than one location within a single 

terminal of an airport boarding at least 150,000 passengers 

annually and that permittee leases space from the airport 

authority, the permittee in such a situation may: 

(1) obtain a single permit for all its locations in the 

terminal; 

(2) use one central facility for storing the alcoholic 

beverages it sells at its locations; and 

(3) pool the gross receipts from all its locations for 

determining whether it meets the requirements 

of G.S. 18B-1000(6) and 14B NCAC 15B 

.0514. 

(f)  Unless the business otherwise qualifies as a wine shop 

primarily engaged in selling wines for off-premise consumption, 

a food business qualifies for an off-premise fortified wine permit 
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only if it maintains an inventory of staple foods worth at least one 

thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) at retail value. Staple 

foods include meat, poultry, fish, bread, cereals, vegetables, fruits, 

vegetable and fruit juices, and dairy products. Staple foods do not 

include coffee, tea, cocoa, soft drinks, candy, condiments, and 

baked goods ingredients, except for ingredients also listed as 

staple foods in this Paragraph. 

(g)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (d) of this Rule, holders of a retail 

permit pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1) may have in-stand sales 

pursuant to G.S. 18B-1009, provided that: 

(1) the permittee or the permittee's employee shall 

not wear or display alcoholic beverage branded 

advertising; 

(2) the permittee or the permittee's employee shall 

not use branded carrying trays, coolers, or other 

equipment to transport malt beverage products; 

(3) the permittee or the permittee's employee may 

display the malt beverage product names and 

prices provided that all of the product names are 

displayed with the same font size and font style; 

and 

(4) in-stand sales shall cease, whichever is earlier, 

upon the cessation of other malt beverage sales 

otherwise in the sports facility or upon the 

commencement of: 

(A) the eighth inning during baseball 

games. However, if a single ticket 

allows entry to more than one baseball 

game, then the eighth inning of the 

final game; 

(B) the fourth quarter during football and 

basketball games; 

(C) the sixtieth minute during soccer 

games; 

(D) the third period during hockey games; 

(E) the final 25 percent of the distance 

scheduled for automotive races; and 

(F) the final hour of the anticipated 

conclusion of a contest or event for all 

other events. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-900; 

18B-901; 18B-902; 18B-903; 18B-1000(3); 18B-1001; 18B-

1008; 18B-1009; 

Existing rule text was recodified to 14B NCAC 15B .0109, and 

current rule text was transferred from 14B NCAC 15B .0102(c)-

(l) Eff. July 1, 2018; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

14B NCAC 15B .0113 ALCOHOL SELLER/SERVER 

TRAINING 

(a)  All applicants applying for retail ABC permits shall submit as 

part of the application proof of responsible alcohol seller/server 

training prior to obtaining an ABC permit. 

(b)  The Commission shall accept documentation provided by an 

approved course provider or approved corporate, partnership, or 

limited liability company business permittee, such as a certificate 

of training or transcript. In the event the approved course provider 

did not issue a document reflecting completion of training, the 

applicant may have the course provider sign a form provided by 

the ABC Commission attesting to completion of this training. 

(c)  Minimum course content requirements for an approved 

responsible alcohol seller/server training course shall include 

North Carolina-specific laws including: 

(1) age requirements for possessing, purchasing, 

and consuming alcoholic beverages; 

(2) age requirements for selling and serving 

alcoholic beverages; 

(3) acceptable forms of identification; 

(4) methods to detect fake, altered, and imposter 

forms of identification; 

(5) State Dram Shop laws; 

(6) sales to intoxicated persons, including: 

(A) penalties; 

(B) prevention; 

(C) typical signs of intoxication; and 

(D) methods of detecting intoxication in 

customers; 

(7) sales to underage persons, including: 

(A) penalties; 

(B) prevention; and 

(C) methods of identifying potentially 

underage customers; 

(8) hours of sale and consumption, including 

clearing of tables; 

(9) prohibited conduct on the ABC licensed 

premises, including: 

(A) drug use; and 

(B) gambling; and 

(10) amounts of alcohol that may be purchased by 

customers in accordance with G.S. 18B-303. 

(d)  Responsible alcohol seller/server training courses and 

providers shall be approved by the Commission before a 

certificate of training or transcript will be accepted by the 

Commission for purposes of this Rule. A person seeking to 

become an approved vendor for alcohol education in North 

Carolina and a business permittee that provides training for its 

own employees shall submit the course provider's name, mailing, 

physical and email addresses, telephone numbers and the contract 

person's name and contact information, together with a copy of its 

responsible alcohol seller/server training program course content, 

to the Commission for approval. The Commission shall approve 

courses and providers that meet the minimum course content 

requirements set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Course 

approval shall be valid for three years. A course provider's course 

content shall be submitted to the Commission for approval at least 

once every three years in order to maintain approved status. 

(e)  An approved course provider shall update their responsible 

alcohol seller/server training course content within 30 days of 

notice from the Commission to the course provider of changes 

needed in the alcohol education training curriculum to reflect 

changes in current ABC laws or rules. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-122; 18B-207; 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 
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14B NCAC 15B .1003 PROHIBITED STATEMENTS IN 

ADVERTISING OR ON LABELS 

(a)  General Restrictions. An advertisement or product label on 

any alcoholic product sold or distributed in this State shall not 

contain any statement, design, device, or representation that: 

(1) is contrary to the Federal Alcohol 

Administration Act, 27 C.F.R. Sections 4.39, 

4.64, 5.42, 5.65, 7.29, or 7.54, as interpreted by 

the Commission. The provisions of 27 C.F.R. 

Sections 4.39, 4.64, 5.42, 5.65, 7.29, and 7.54 

referenced in this Rule are hereby incorporated, 

including subsequent amendments and editions, 

and may be accessed for free at 

https://www.gpo.gov; 

(2) depicts the use of alcoholic beverages in a scene 

that is determined by the Commission to be 

undignified, immodest, or in bad taste; 

(3) offers a prize or award upon the completion of 

any contest in which there is a requirement to 

purchase the advertised product, except as 

otherwise permitted pursuant to 14B NCAC 

15C .0714, provided that no advertisement shall 

promote a game of chance or a lottery; 

(4) promotes or encourages the sale to, or use by, 

persons under 21 years of age of alcoholic 

beverages, including any representation 

portraying a person under 21 years of age 

consuming alcoholic beverages; 

(5) is inconsistent with the State laws of public 

safety or safe driving. 

(6) is contrary to State laws and rules governing 

sale, storage, or consumption of alcoholic 

beverages; or 

(7) is otherwise prohibited pursuant to a rule in this 

Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-105; 18B-206; 

18B-207; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1992; May 1, 1984; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-33(b)(9), Administrative Law Judge James 

L. Conner II, declared Rule 04 NCAC 02S .1005(a)(3) void as 

applied in Daniel W. Shelton t/a Shelton Broers v. NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Commission (99 ABC 1641); 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02S .1005 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

14B NCAC 15B .1104 ADMINISTRATIVE FINES: 

PAYMENT 

When the Commission orders a permittee to pay a fine as part of 

a penalty, payment shall be received in the Commission offices in 

Raleigh no later than 21 days following the meeting at which the 

Commission orders the fine. The Commission shall include, as 

part of the order, what penalty will be imposed if the fine has not 

been received by the Commission by the prescribed deadline. 

Payment shall be made in accordance with 14B NCAC 15A .0104. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-104; 18B-207; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02S .1104 Eff. August 

1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 20, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1001 PURPOSE 

This Section sets forth motor vehicle emission control standards 

in areas where a motor vehicle inspection and maintenance 

program is implemented pursuant to State law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(3); 143-215.107(a)(6); 143-215.107(a)(7); 

Eff. December 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1002 APPLICABILITY 

(a)  Until the events described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule occur, 

15A NCAC 02D .1002 through .1006 shall be applicable to all 

light-duty gasoline vehicles for model years 1996 or more recent 

model years, excluding vehicles from the three most recent model 

years with less than 70,000 miles on their odometers, and shall 

apply to all vehicles that are: 

(1) required to be registered by the North Carolina 

Division of Motor Vehicles in the counties 

identified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule; 

(2) part of a fleet primarily operated within the 

counties identified in Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule; or 

(3) otherwise required under G.S. 20-183.2(b)(5). 

(b)  On the first day of the month that is 60 days after the Secretary 

of the Department of Environmental Quality certifies to the 

Revisor of Statutes that the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency has approved an amendment to the North 

Carolina State Implementation Plan, 15A NCAC 02D .1002 

through .1006 shall apply to all light-duty gasoline vehicles that 

are a model year within 20 years of the current year, excluding 

vehicles from the three most recent model years with less than 

70,000 miles on their odometers, and to all vehicles that are: 

(1) required to be registered by the North Carolina 

Division of Motor Vehicles in the counties 

identified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule; 

(2) part of a fleet primarily operated within the 

counties identified in Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule; or 

(3) otherwise required under G.S. 20-183.2(b)(5). 

(c)  15A NCAC 02D .1002 through .1006 shall not apply to 

motorcycles, plug-in electric vehicles or fuel cell electric vehicles 

as specified in G.S. 20-183.2(b). 

(d)  The emission control standards of this Section shall become 

effective in the counties identified in G.S. 143-215.107A. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 20-128.2(a); 20-183.2; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(3); 143-215.107(a)(6); 143-

215.107(a)(7); 143-215.107A; 

Eff. December 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1992; April 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; August 1, 2002; July 1, 1994; July 

1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1003 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions of terms apply to 15A NCAC 02D 

.1002 through .1006 regulating either gasoline-powered or 

hybrid-powered motor vehicles: 

(1) "Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle" means as defined 

in G.S. 20-4.01. 

(2) "Gasoline-powered Motor Vehicle" means a 

four-wheeled motor vehicle designed primarily 

to be propelled by the burning of gasoline in an 

internal combustion engine. 

(3) "Heavy-duty Gasoline Vehicle" means either a 

gasoline-powered or hybrid-powered motor 

vehicle which is designed primarily for: 

(a) transportation of property and has a 

Gross Vehicle Weight Rating 

(GVWR) of more than 8,500 pounds 

but less than 14,001 pounds; 

(b) transportation of persons and has a 

capacity of more than 12 persons; or 

(c) use as a recreational motor vehicle that 

is designed primarily to provide 

temporary or permanent living 

quarters for travel, camping, or other 

recreational use and has a GVWR of 

more than 8,500 pounds. 

(4) "Hybrid-powered Motor Vehicle" means a 

four-wheeled motor vehicle designed to be 

propelled by a combination of one or more 

electric motors and the burning of gasoline in 

an internal combustion engine. 

(5) "Light-duty Gasoline Vehicle" means either a 

gasoline-powered or hybrid-powered motor 

vehicle which is designed primarily for: 

(a) transportation of property and has a 

GVWR of 8,500 pounds or less; or 

(b) transportation of persons and has a 

capacity of 12 persons or less. 

(6) "Model year" means the year used to designate 

a discrete vehicle model, irrespective of the 

calendar year in which the vehicle was actually 

produced, provided that the production period 

does not exceed 24 months. 

(7) "Motorcycle" means as defined in G.S. 20-4.01. 

(8) "Motor Vehicle" means as defined in G.S. 20-

4.01. 

(9) "Plug-in Electric Vehicle" means as defined in 

G.S. 20-4.01. 

(10) "Three most recent model years." For the 

purposes of 15A NCAC 02D .1002 through 

.1006, the term "three most recent model years" 

shall be calculated by adding three years to the 

vehicle's Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) 

or the registration card model year to determine 

the first calendar year an emissions inspection 

is required. 

(11) "Vendor" means any person who sells or leases 

equipment to inspection stations that is used to 

perform on-board diagnostic tests to show 

compliance with 15A NCAC 02D .1005.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-4.01; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. December 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1005 ON-BOARD DIAGNOSTIC 

STANDARDS 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to vehicles as set forth in 15A NCAC 

02D 1002.  

(b)  Vehicles covered under this Rule shall pass annually the on-

board diagnostic test described in 40 CFR 85.2222. The vehicle 

shall fail the on-board diagnostic test if any of the conditions of 

40 CFR 85.2207 are met. Equipment used to perform on-board 

diagnostic tests shall meet the requirements of 40 CFR 85.2231. 

(c)  The tester shall provide the owner of a vehicle that fails the 

on-board diagnostic test described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule a 

report of the test results. This report shall include the codes 

retrieved per 40 CFR 85.2223(a), the status of the malfunction 

indicator light illumination command, and the customer alert 

statement described in 40 CFR 85.2223(c). 

(d)  Persons performing on-board diagnostic tests shall provide 

the Division of Air Quality the data required by 40 CFR 51.365, 

Data Collection; 40 CFR 51.366, Data Analysis and Reporting; 

and 40 CFR 51.358, Test Equipment. 

(e)  Federal regulations cited in this Rule are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. All 

federal regulations referenced in this Rule can be accessed free of 

charge at 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action?collectio

nCode=CFR. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-128.2(a); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.107(a)(6); 143-215.107(a)(7); 143-215.107A(b); 

Eff. December 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; August 1, 2002; July 1, 1998; 

April 1, 1991; November 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1006 SALE AND SERVICE OF 

ANALYZERS 

(a)  Requirements. A vendor shall not sell or lease equipment 

unless it meets the requirements of 40 CFR 85.2231 Onboard 

Diagnostic Test Equipment Requirements, and has the software 

necessary to record and transmit the data required by the Division 

of Motor Vehicles and the Division of Air Quality to determine 
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compliance with the inspection and maintenance program 

requirements of this Section. 

(b)  Hardware repair. When equipment hardware fails to meet the 

requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule for a particular 

analyzer, the vendor, after receiving a call from an inspection 

station to its respective service call center, shall communicate 

with the affected station within 24 hours and: 

(1) If the hardware problem is stopping 20 percent 

or more inspections for a particular analyzer or 

is compromising the security of the inspection 

system, the vendor shall repair the problem 

within 48 hours after the initial call to its 

respective service call center. 

(2) If the hardware problem is stopping less than 20 

percent of all inspections for a particular 

analyzer and is not compromising the security 

of the inspection system, the vendor shall repair 

the problem within 72 hours after the initial call 

to its respective service call center. 

(3) If the hardware problem is not stopping 

inspections and is not compromising the 

security of the inspection system, the vendor 

shall repair the problem within 96 hours after 

the initial call to its respective service call 

center. 

(c)  Software repair revisions. If analyzer software fails to meet 

the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the vendor, after 

receiving a call from an inspection station to its respective service 

call center, shall communicate with the station within 24 hours. 

The vendor shall identify and characterize the software problem 

within five days. The vendor shall, within that same five-day 

period, inform the station owner and the Division as to the nature 

of the problem and the proposed corrective course of action; and: 

(1) If the software problem is stopping 20 percent 

or more inspections for a particular analyzer or 

is compromising the security of the inspection 

system, the vendor shall submit a new revision 

of the software to the Division for approval 

within 19 days after receiving the initial call to 

its service call center. 

(2) If the software problem is stopping less than 20 

percent of all inspections for a particular 

analyzer and is not compromising the security 

of the inspection system, the vendor shall 

submit a new revision of the software to the 

Division for approval within 33 days after 

receiving the initial call to its service call 

center. 

(3) The vendor shall distribute the new revision of 

the software to all affected stations within 14 

days after the vendor receives written 

notification from the Division that the software 

has been approved as meeting the requirements 

of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Documentation of the initial service call. The vendor's service 

call center shall assign a unique service response number to every 

reported new hardware or software problem. The time and date of 

the initial call shall be recorded and identified with the service 

response number. The service response number shall be 

communicated to the inspection station operator at the time of the 

initial contact. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(6),(14); 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1008 HEAVY DUTY DIESEL ENGINE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Definitions. For the purposes of this Rule, the following 

definitions apply: 

(1) "Heavy duty diesel engine," means any diesel 

engine used in a vehicle with a gross vehicle 

weight rating of 14,001 pounds and greater. 

(2) "Model year" means model year as defined in 

40 CFR Section 85.2302. 

(b)  Requirement. No model year 2005 or 2006 heavy duty diesel 

engine may be sold, leased, or registered within North Carolina 

unless it has been certified by the California Air Resources Board 

as meeting the requirements of Title 13 of the California Code of 

Regulations, Section 1956.8. 

(c)  Referenced Regulation. Title 13, Section 1956.8 of the 

California Code of Regulation is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. A copy of Title 

13 of the California Code of Regulations, Section 1956.8, may be 

obtained free of charge via the internet from the Office of 

Administrative Law California Code of Regulations website at 

http://ccr.oal.ca.gov/, or a hard copy may be obtained at a cost of 

five dollars ($5.00) from the Public Information Office, California 

Air Resources Board, P.O. Box 2815, Sacramento, CA, 95812. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(6)-(7); 

Eff. December 31, 2001 by Exec. Order No. 15; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1101 PURPOSE 

This Section sets forth the rules for the control of toxic air 

pollutants to protect human health. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.107(a)(1),(3),(4),(5); 143B-282; S.L. 1989, c. 168, s. 45; 

Eff. May 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1102 APPLICABILITY 

(a)  15A NCAC 02D .1103 through .1108 apply to all facilities 

that emit a toxic air pollutant that are required to have a permit 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0700. All other rules in this Section 

apply as specified therein. 

(b)  Sources at facilities subject to this Section shall comply with 

the requirements of this Section as well as with all applicable 

requirements in 15A NCAC 02D .0500, .0900, and .1200 with 

such exceptions as may be allowed pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0700. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(1),(3),(4),(5); 143B-282; S.L. 1989, c. 168, s. 45; 

Eff. May 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; December 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1103 DEFINITION 

For the purpose of this Section, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Asbestos" means asbestos fibers as defined in 

40 CFR 61.141. 

(2) "Bioavailable chromate pigments" means the 

group of chromium (VI) compounds consisting 

of calcium chromate (CAS No.13765-19-0), 

calcium dichromate (CAS No. 14307-33-6), 

strontium chromate (CAS No. 7789-06-2), 

strontium dichromate (CAS No. 7789-06-2), 

zinc chromate (CAS No. 13530-65-9), and zinc 

dichromate (CAS No. 7789-12-0). 

(3) "CAS Number" means the Chemical Abstract 

Service registry number identifying a particular 

substance. 

(4) "Chromium (VI) equivalent" means the 

molecular weight ratio of the chromium (VI) 

portion of a compound to the total molecular 

weight of the compound multiplied by the 

associated compound emission rate or 

concentration at the facility. 

(5) "Non-specific chromium (VI) compounds" 

means the group of compounds consisting of 

any chromium (VI) compounds not specified in 

this Section as a bioavailable chromate pigment 

or a soluble chromate compound. 

(6) "Cresol" means o-cresol, p-cresol, m-cresol or 

any combination of these compounds. 

(7) "GACT" means any generally available control 

technology emission standard applied to an area 

source or facility pursuant to Section 112 of the 

federal Clean Air Act. 

(8) "Hexane isomers except n-hexane" means 2-

methyl pentane, 3-methyl pentane, 2,2-

dimethyl butane, 2,3-dimethyl butane, or any 

combination of these compounds. 

(9) "MACT" means any maximum achievable 

control technology emission standard applied to 

a source or facility pursuant to Section 112 of 

the federal Clean Air Act. 

(10) "Nickel, soluble compounds" means the soluble 

nickel salts of chloride (NiCl2, CAS No. 7718-

54-9), sulfate (NiSO4, CAS No. 7786-81-4), 

and nitrate (Ni(NO3)2, CAS No. 13138-45-9). 

(11) "Polychlorinated biphenyls" means any 

chlorinated biphenyl compound or mixture of 

chlorinated biphenyl compounds. 

(12) "Soluble chromate compounds" means the 

group of chromium (VI) compounds consisting 

of ammonium chromate (CAS No. 7788-98-9), 

ammonium dichromate (CAS No. 7789-09-5), 

chromic acid (CAS No. 7738-94-5), potassium 

chromate (CAS No. 7789-00-6), potassium 

dichromate (CAS No. 7778-50-9), sodium 

chromate (CAS No. 7775-11-3), and sodium 

dichromate (CAS No. 10588-01-9). 

(13) "Toxic air pollutant" means any of those 

carcinogens, chronic toxicants, acute systemic 

toxicants, or acute irritants listed in 15A NCAC 

02D .1104. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-213; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143B-282; S.L. 1989, c. 168, s. 45; 

Eff. May 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1104 TOXIC AIR POLLUTANT 

GUIDELINES 

A facility shall not emit any of the following toxic air pollutants 

in such quantities that may cause or contribute beyond the 

facility's premises to any significant ambient air concentration 

that may adversely affect human health, except as allowed 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0700. In determining these 

significant ambient air concentrations, the Division shall be 

governed by the following list of acceptable ambient levels in 

milligrams per cubic meter at 77 F (25 C) and 29.92 inches (760 

mm) of mercury pressure, except for asbestos: 

 

Acceptable Ambient Levels (AAL) in Milligrams per Cubic Meter (mg/m3) Except Where Noted 

 

Pollutant (CAS Number) 

 

Annual 

(Carcinogens) 

 

 

 

24-hour 

(Chronic 

Toxicants) 

 

 

1-hour 

(Acute 

Systemic 

Toxicants) 

 

1-hour 

(Acute 

Irritants) 

 

  acetaldehyde (75-07-0)    27 

  acetic acid (64-19-7)    3.7 

  acrolein (107-02-8)    0.08 

  acrylonitrile (107-13-1)  0.03 1  

  ammonia (7664-41-7)    2.7 

  aniline (62-53-3)   1  

  arsenic and inorganic arsenic    

compounds 
2.1 x 10-6     
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Acceptable Ambient Levels (AAL) in Milligrams per Cubic Meter (mg/m3) Except Where Noted 

 

Pollutant (CAS Number) 

 

Annual 

(Carcinogens) 

 

 

 

24-hour 

(Chronic 

Toxicants) 

 

 

1-hour 

(Acute 

Systemic 

Toxicants) 

 

1-hour 

(Acute 

Irritants) 

 

  asbestos (1332-21-4) 2.8 x 10-6 

fibers/ml 
   

  aziridine (151-56-4)  0.006   

  benzene (71-43-2) 1.2 x 10-4    

  benzidine and salts (92-87-5) 1.5 x 10-8    

  benzo(a)pyrene (50-32-8) 3.3 x 10-5    

  benzyl chloride (100-44-7)   0.5  

  beryllium (7440-41-7) 4.1 x 10-6    

  beryllium chloride  (7787-47-5) 4.1 x 10-6    

  beryllium fluoride  (7787-49-7) 4.1 x 10-6    

  beryllium nitrate  (13597-99-4) 4.1 x 10-6    

  bioavailable chromate pigments, as 

chromium (VI) equivalent 
8.3 x 10-8    

  bis-chloromethyl ether (542-88-1) 3.7 x 10-7    

  bromine (7726-95-6)    0.2 

  1,3-butadiene (106-99-0) 4.4 x 10-4    

  cadmium (7440-43-9) 5.5 x 10-6    

  cadmium acetate  (543-90-8) 5.5 x 10-6    

  cadmium bromide  (7789-42-6) 5.5 x 10-6    

  carbon disulfide (75-15-0)  0.186   

  carbon tetrachloride (56-23-5) 6.7 x 10-3    

  chlorine (7782-50-5)  0.0375  0.9 

  chlorobenzene (108-90-7)  2.2   

  chloroform (67-66-3) 4.3 x 10-3    

  chloroprene (126-99-8)  0.44 3.5  

  cresol (1319-77-3)   2.2  

  p-dichlorobenzene  (106-46-7)    66 

  di(2-ethylhexyl)phthalate  (117-81-7)  0.03   

  dimethyl sulfate (77-78-1)  0.003   

  1,4-dioxane (123-91-1)  0.56   

  epichlorohydrin (106-89-8) 8.3 x 10-2    

  ethyl acetate (141-78-6)   140  

  ethylenediamine (107-15-3)  0.3 2.5  

  ethylene dibromide  (106-93-4) 4.0 x 10-4    

  ethylene dichloride  (107-06-2) 3.8 x 10-3    

  ethylene glycol monoethyl ether  

(110-80-5) 
 0.12 1.9  

  ethylene oxide (75-21-8) 2.7 x 10-5    

  ethyl mercaptan (75-08-1)   0.1  

  fluorides   0.016 0.25  

  formaldehyde (50-00-0)    0.15 

   hexachlorocyclopentadiene (77-47-4)  0.0006 0.01  

  hexachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin  

(57653-85-7) 
7.6 x 10-8    

  n-hexane (110-54-3)  1.1   

  hexane isomers except n-hexane    360 

  hydrazine (302-01-2)  0.0006   

  hydrogen chloride  (7647-01-0)    0.7 

  hydrogen cyanide (74-90-8)  0.14 1.1  

  hydrogen fluoride  (7664-39-3)  0.03  0.25 
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Acceptable Ambient Levels (AAL) in Milligrams per Cubic Meter (mg/m3) Except Where Noted 

 

Pollutant (CAS Number) 

 

Annual 

(Carcinogens) 

 

 

 

24-hour 

(Chronic 

Toxicants) 

 

 

1-hour 

(Acute 

Systemic 

Toxicants) 

 

1-hour 

(Acute 

Irritants) 

 

  hydrogen sulfide  (7783-06-4)  0.12   

  maleic anhydride  (108-31-6)  0.012 0.1  

  manganese and compounds  0.031   

  manganese cyclopentadienyl 

tricarbonyl (12079-65-1) 
 0.0006   

  manganese tetroxide (1317-35-7)  0.0062   

  mercury, alkyl   0.00006   

  mercury, aryl and inorganic 

compounds 
 0.0006   

  mercury, vapor (7439-97-6)  0.0006   

  methyl chloroform (71-55-6)  12  245 

  methylene chloride (75-09-2) 2.4 x 10-2  1.7  

  methyl ethyl ketone  (78-93-3)  3.7  88.5 

  methyl isobutyl ketone  (108-10-1)  2.56  30 

  methyl mercaptan (74-93-1)   0.05  

  nickel carbonyl  (13463-39-3)  0.0006   

  nickel metal (7440-02-0)  0.006   

  nickel, soluble compounds, as nickel  0.0006   

  nickel subsulfide  (12035-72-2) 2.1 x 10-6    

  nitric acid (7697-37-2)    1 

  nitrobenzene (98-95-3)  0.06 0.5  

   n-nitrosodimethylamine  (62-75-9) 5.0 x 10-5    

  non-specific chromium (VI) 

compounds, as chromium (VI) 

equivalent 

8.3 x 10-8    

  pentachlorophenol  (87-86-5)  0.003 0.025  

  perchloroethylene (127-18-4) 1.9 x 10-1    

  phenol (108-95-2)   0.95  

  phosgene (75-44-5)  0.0025   

  phosphine (7803-51-2)    0.13 

  polychlorinated biphenyls  

(1336-36-3) 

8.3 x 10-5    

  soluble chromate compounds, as 

chromium (VI) equivalent 

 6.2 x 10-4   

  styrene (100-42-5)   10.6  

  sulfuric acid (7664-93-9)  0.012 0.1  

  tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin  

(1746-01-6) 

3.0 x 10-9    

  1,1,2,2-tetrachloroethane  (79-34-5) 6.3 x 10-3    

  toluene (108-88-3)  4.7  56 

  toluene diisocyanate, 2,4- (584-84-9) 

and 2,6- (91-08-7) isomers 

 0.0002   

  trichloroethylene (79-01-6) 5.9 x 10-2    

  vinyl chloride (75-01-4) 3.8 x 10-4    

  vinylidene chloride (75-35-4)  0.12   

  xylene (1330-20-7)  2.7  65 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(3),(4),(5); 143B-282;  

Eff. May 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1992; March 1, 1992; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. July 20, 1997; 

Amended Eff. July 7, 2014; May 1, 2014; March 1, 2010; June 1, 2008; April 1, 2005; April 1, 2001; July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1105 FACILITY REPORTING, 

RECORDKEEPING 

The Director may require, pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .0600, the 

owner or operator of a source subject to this Section to monitor 

emissions of toxic air pollutants, to maintain records of these 

emissions, and to report these emissions. The owner or operator 

of any toxic air pollutant emission source subject to the 

requirements of this Section shall comply with the monitoring, 

recordkeeping, and reporting requirements in 15A NCAC 02D 

.0600. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(4),(5); 143B-282; 

Eff. May 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; October 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1106 DETERMINATION OF 

AMBIENT AIR CONCENTRATION 

(a)  Modeling shall not be used for enforcement. Modeling shall 

be used to determine process operational and air pollution control 

parameters and emission rates for toxic air pollutants to place in 

the air quality permit for that facility that will prevent any of the 

acceptable ambient levels in 15A NCAC 02D .1104 from being 

exceeded, except as allowed pursuant to 15A NCAC 2Q .0700. 

Enforcing these permit stipulations and conditions shall be the 

mechanism used to ensure that the requirements of 15A NCAC 

02D .1104, except as allowed by 15A NCAC 2Q .0700, are met. 

(b)  The owner or operator of the facility may provide a modeling 

analysis or may request the Division to perform a modeling 

analysis of the facility. If the owner or operator of the facility 

requests the Division to perform the modeling analysis, the owner 

or operator shall provide emissions rates, stack parameters, and 

other information that the Division needs to conduct the modeling. 

The data that the owner or operator of the facility provides the 

Division to use in the model or in deriving the data used in the 

model shall be the process, operational, and air pollution control 

equipment parameters and emission rates that will be contained in 

the facility's permit. If the Division's initial review of the 

modeling request indicates extensive or inappropriate use of state 

resources, or if the Division's modeling analysis fails to show 

compliance with the acceptable ambient levels in 15A NCAC 02D 

.1104, the modeling demonstration shall become the 

responsibility of the owner or operator of the facility. 

(c)  When the owner or operator of the facility is responsible for 

providing the modeling demonstration and the data used in the 

modeling, the owner or operator of the facility shall use in the 

model or in deriving data used in the model the process 

operational and air pollution control equipment parameters and 

emission rates that will be contained in his or her permit. Sources 

that are not required to be included in the model shall not be 

included in the permit to emit toxic air pollutants. 

(d)  For the following pollutants, modeled emission rates shall be 

based on the highest emissions occurring in any 15-minute period. 

The resultant modeled one-hour concentrations shall then be 

compared to the applicable one-hour acceptable ambient levels to 

determine compliance: 

(1) acetaldehyde (75-07-0); 

(2) acetic acid (64-19-7); 

(3) acrolein (107-02-8); 

(4) ammonia (7664-41-7); 

(5) bromine (7726-95-6); 

(6) chlorine (7782-50-5); 

(7) formaldehyde (50-00-0); 

(8) hydrogen chloride (7647-01-0); 

(9) hydrogen fluoride (7664-39-3); and 

(10) nitric acid (7697-37-2). 

(e)  The owner or operator of the facility and the Division may use 

any model allowed by 40 CFR Part 51, Appendix W, if the model 

is appropriate for the facility being modeled. The owner or 

operator or the Division may use a model other than one allowed 

by 40 CFR Part 51, Appendix W if the model is equivalent to the 

model allowed by 40 CFR Part 51, Appendix W.  

(f)  Ambient air concentrations shall be evaluated for annual 

periods over a calendar year, for 24-hour periods from midnight 

to midnight, and for one-hour periods beginning on the hour. 

(g)  The owner or operator of the facility shall identify each toxic 

air pollutant emitted and its corresponding emission rate using 

mass balancing analysis, source testing, or other methods that 

provides an equivalently accurate estimate of the emission rate. 

(h)  The owner or operator of the facility shall either submit a 

modeling plan prior to submitting modeling or submit a model 

protocol checklist with modeling to the Director. The modeling 

plan or protocol checklist shall include: 

(1) a diagram of the plant site, including locations 

of all stacks and associated buildings; 

(2) on-site building dimensions; 

(3) a diagram showing property boundaries, 

including a scale, key, and north indicator; 

(4) the location of the site on a United States 

Geological Survey (USGS) map; 

(5) discussion of good engineering stack height and 

building wake effects for each stack; 

(6) discussion of cavity calculations, impact on 

rolling and complex terrain, building wake 

effects, and urban or rural considerations; 

(7) discussion of reasons for model selection; 

(8) discussion of meteorological data to be used; 

(9) discussion of sources emitting the pollutant that 

are not to be included in the model with an 

explanation of why they are being excluded, 

including why the source will not affect the 

modeling analysis; and 

(10) any other pertinent information. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(3),(5); 143B-282; S.L. 1989, c. 168, s. 45; 

Eff. May 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 
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15A NCAC 02D .1107 MULTIPLE FACILITIES 

(a)  If an acceptable ambient level in 15A NCAC 02D .1104 is 

exceeded because of emissions of two or more facilities and if 

public exposure is such that human health may be adversely 

affected, the Commission shall require the subject facilities to 

apply additional controls or to otherwise reduce emissions. In 

considering whether human health may be adversely affected, the 

Commission shall consider one or more of the following: 

(1) an emission inventory; 

(2) ambient monitoring; 

(3) modeling; or 

(4) an epidemiological study. 

(b)  The allocation to the facilities of additional controls or 

reductions shall be based on their relative contributions to the 

pollutant concentrations unless the owners or operators agree 

otherwise. 

(c)  The owner or operator of a facility shall not be required to 

conduct the multi-facility ambient impact analysis described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. This type of analysis shall be done by 

the Division. In performing its analysis, the Division shall: 

(1) develop a modeling plan that includes the 

elements set out in 15A NCAC 02D .1106(h); 

(2) use for the source modeling parameters:  

(A) the modeling parameters used by the 

owner or operator of the source in his 

or her modeling demonstration; or 

(B) parameters contained in or derived 

from data contained in the source's 

permit if a modeling demonstration 

has not been done or if a needed 

parameter has not been used in the 

modeling demonstration; 

(3) use a model allowed by 15A NCAC 02D 

.1106(e); 

(4) use the time periods required by 15A NCAC 

02D .1106(f); and 

(5) only consider impacts of a facility's emissions 

beyond the premises of that facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.107(a)(3),(5); 143B-282; 

Eff. May 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1108 MULTIPLE POLLUTANTS 

If the Commission has evidence that two or more toxic air 

pollutants being emitted from a facility or combination of 

facilities act in the same way to affect human health so that their 

effects may be additive or enhanced and that public exposure is 

such that human health may be adversely affected, then the 

Commission shall consider developing acceptable ambient levels 

for the combination of toxic air pollutants or other appropriate 

control measures. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.107(a)(3),(5); 143B-282; 

Eff. May 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

15A NCAC 02D .1109 112(J) CASE-BY-CASE 

MAXIMUM ACHIEVABLE CONTROL TECHNOLOGY 

(a)  Applicability. This Rule shall apply only to sources of 

hazardous air pollutants required to have a permit pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0500 and as described in 40 CFR 63.50. This Rule 

does not apply to research or laboratory activities as defined in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  Definitions. For the purposes of this Rule, the definitions in 

40 CFR 63.2, 63.51, 15A NCAC 02Q .0526, and the following 

apply: 

(1) "Affected source" means the collection of 

equipment, activities, or both within a single 

contiguous area and under common control that 

is in a Section 112(c) source category or 

subcategory for which the Administrator has 

failed to promulgate an emission standard by 

the Section 112(j) deadline, and that is 

addressed by an applicable MACT emission 

limitation established pursuant to 40 CFR Part 

63 Subpart B. 

(2) "Control technology" means measures, 

processes, methods, systems, or techniques to 

limit the emission of hazardous air pollutants 

including measures that: 

(A) reduce the quantity or eliminate the 

emissions of such pollutants through 

process changes, substitution of 

materials, or other modifications; 

(B) enclose systems or processes to 

eliminate emissions; 

(C) collect, capture, or treat such 

pollutants when released from a 

process, stack, storage, or fugitive 

emission point; 

(D) are design, equipment, work practice, 

or operational standards, including 

requirements for operator training or 

certification, as provided in 42 USC 

7412(h); or 

(E) are a combination of Parts (A) through 

(D) of this definition. 

(3) "EPA" means the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency or its Administrator. 

(4) "Hazardous air pollutant" means any pollutant 

listed pursuant to Section 112(b) of the federal 

Clean Air Act. 

(5) "MACT" means maximum achievable control 

technology. 

(6) "Maximum achievable control technology" 

means: 

(A) for existing sources, 

(i) a MACT standard that EPA 

has proposed or promulgated 

for a particular category of 

facility or source; 

(ii) the average emission 

limitation achieved by the 

best performing 12 percent of 

the existing facilities or 
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sources for which EPA has 

emissions information if the 

particular category of source 

contains 30 or more sources; 

or 

(iii) the average emission 

limitation achieved by the 

best performing five facilities 

or sources for which EPA has 

emissions information if the 

particular category of source 

contains fewer than 30 

sources; or 

(B) for new sources, the maximum degree 

of reduction in emissions that is 

deemed achievable but not less 

stringent than the emission control that 

is achieved in practice by the best 

controlled similar source. 

(7) "MACT floor" means: 

(A) for existing sources: 

(i) the average emission 

limitation achieved by the 

best performing 12 percent of 

the existing sources for 

which EPA has emissions 

information, excluding those 

sources that have, within 18 

months before the emission 

standard is proposed or 

within 30 months before such 

standard is promulgated, 

whichever is later, first 

achieved a level of emission 

rate or emission reduction 

that complies, or would 

comply if the source is not 

subject to such standard, with 

the lowest achievable 

emission rate, as defined in 

Section 171 of the federal 

Clean Air Act, applicable to 

the source category or 

subcategory for categories 

and subcategories with 30 or 

more sources; or 

(ii) the average emission 

limitation achieved by the 

best performing five sources 

for which EPA has emissions 

or could reasonably obtain 

emissions information in the 

category or subcategory for 

categories or subcategories 

with fewer than 30 sources; 

(B) for new sources, the emission 

limitation achieved in practice by the 

best controlled similar source. 

(8) "New affected source" means a collection of 

equipment, activities, or both that was 

constructed after the issuance of a Section 

112(j) permit for the source pursuant to 40 CFR 

63.52 and is subject to the applicable MACT 

emission limitation for new sources. Each 

permit shall define the term "new affected 

source" that will be the same as the "affected 

source" unless a different collection is 

warranted based on consideration of factors 

including: 

(A) the emission reduction impacts of 

controlling individual sources versus 

groups of sources; 

(B) the cost effectiveness of controlling 

individual equipment; 

(C) the flexibility to accommodate 

common control strategies; 

(D) the cost and benefits of emissions 

averaging; 

(E) the incentives for pollution 

prevention; 

(F) the feasibility and cost of controlling 

processes that share common 

equipment such as product recovery 

devices; and 

(G) the feasibility and cost of monitoring. 

(9) "New facility" means a facility for which 

construction is commenced after the Section 

112(j) deadline or after the proposal of a 

relevant standard pursuant to Section 112(d) or 

(h) of the Federal Clean Air Act, whichever 

comes first. 

(10) "Research or laboratory activities" means 

activities whose primary purpose is to conduct 

research and development into new processes 

and products if the activities are operated under 

the supervision of technically trained personnel 

and are not engaged in the manufacture of 

products for commercial sale in commerce, 

except in a de minimis manner, and if the source 

is not in a source category specifically 

addressing research or laboratory activities that 

is listed pursuant to Section 112(c)(7) of the 

Clean Air Act. 

(11) "Section 112(j) deadline" means the date 18 

months after the date for which a relevant 

standard is scheduled to be promulgated 

pursuant to 40 CFR Part 63, except that for all 

major sources listed in the source category 

schedule for which a relevant standard is 

scheduled to be promulgated by November 15, 

1994, the Section 112(j) deadline is November 

15, 1996, and for all major sources listed in the 

source category schedule for which a relevant 

standard is scheduled to be promulgated by 

November 15, 1997, the Section 112(j) deadline 

is December 15, 1999. 
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(12) "Similar source" means that equipment or 

collection of equipment that, by virtue of its 

structure, operability, type of emissions, and 

volume and concentration of emissions, is 

substantially equivalent to the new affected 

source and employs control technology for 

control of emissions of hazardous air pollutants 

that is practical for use on the new affected 

source. 

(c)  Missed promulgation dates: 112(j). If EPA fails to promulgate 

a standard for a category of source pursuant to Section 112 of the 

Federal Clean Air Act by the date established pursuant to Sections 

112(e)(1) or (3) of the federal Clean Air Act, the owner or operator 

of any source in such category shall submit, within 18 months 

after such date, a permit application, in accordance with the 

procedures in 15A NCAC 02Q .0526, to the Director and to EPA 

to apply MACT to such sources. Sources subject to this Paragraph 

shall be in compliance with this Rule within three years after the 

date that the permit is issued. 

(d)  New facilities. The owner or operator of any new facility that 

is a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP) that is subject 

to this Rule shall apply MACT in accordance with the provisions 

of 15A NCAC 02D .1112, 15A NCAC 02Q .0528, and 

.0526(e)(2). 

(e)  Case-by-case MACT determination. The Director shall 

determine MACT according to 40 CFR 63.55(a). 

(f)  Monitoring and recordkeeping. The owner or operator of a 

source subject to this Rule shall install, operate, and maintain 

monitoring capable of detecting deviations from each applicable 

emission limitation or other standards with sufficient reliability 

and timeliness to determine continuous compliance over the 

applicable reporting period. Such monitoring data may be used as 

a basis for enforcing emissions limitations established pursuant to 

this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.107(a)(5),(10); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 8, 1994 for a period of 180 days 

or until the permanent rule is effective, whichever is sooner; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2004; July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1110 NATIONAL EMISSION 

STANDARDS FOR HAZARDOUS AIR POLLUTANTS 

(a)  With the exception of Paragraph (b) of this Rule, sources 

subject to national emission standards for hazardous air pollutants 

promulgated in 40 CFR Part 61 shall comply with emission 

standards, monitoring and reporting requirements, maintenance 

requirements, notification and record keeping requirements, 

performance test requirements, test method and procedural 

provisions, and all other provisions, as required therein, rather 

than with any otherwise-applicable Rule in 15A NCAC 02D .0500 

that would be in conflict therewith. 

(b)  Along with the notice appearing in the North Carolina 

Register for a public hearing to amend this Rule to exclude a 

standard from this Rule, the Director shall state whether or not the 

national emission standards for hazardous air pollutants 

promulgated in 40 CFR Part 61, or part thereof, will be enforced. 

If the Commission does not adopt the amendment to this Rule to 

exclude or amend the standard within 12 months after the close of 

the comment period on the proposed amendment, the Director 

shall begin enforcing that standard when 12 months has elapsed 

after the end of the comment period on the proposed amendment. 

(c)  All requests, reports, applications, submittals, and other 

communications to the administrator required under Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule shall be submitted to the Director of the Division of 

Air Quality rather than to the Environmental Protection Agency; 

except that all such reports, applications, submittals, and other 

communications to the administrator required by 40 CFR 61.145 

shall be submitted to the Director, Division of Epidemiology. 

(d)  In the application of this Rule, definitions contained in 40 

CFR Part 61 shall apply rather than those in 15A NCAC 02D 

.0100. 

(e)  15A NCAC 02Q .0102 shall not be applicable to any source 

to which this Rule applies. The owner or operator of the source 

shall apply for and receive a permit if required pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0300 or .0500. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(5); 150B-21.6; 

Eff. July 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; July 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1111 MAXIMUM ACHIEVABLE 

CONTROL TECHNOLOGY 

(a)  With the exception of Paragraph (b) or (c) of this Rule, sources 

subject to national emission standards for hazardous air pollutants 

for source categories promulgated in 40 CFR Part 63 shall comply 

with emission standards, monitoring and reporting requirements, 

maintenance requirements, notification and record keeping 

requirements, performance test requirements, test method and 

procedural provisions, and other provisions, as required therein, 

rather than with any otherwise-applicable rule in 15A NCAC 02D 

.0500 which would be in conflict therewith. 

(b)  This Rule shall not apply to: 

(1) the approval of state programs and delegation 

of federal authorities (40 CFR 63.90 to 63.96, 

Subpart E); and 

(2) the requirements for control technology 

determined for major sources in accordance 

with Clean Air Act Sections 112(g) and 112(j) 

(40 CFR 63.50 to 63.57, Subpart B). 

(c)  Along with the notice appearing in the North Carolina 

Register for a public hearing to amend this Rule to exclude a 

standard from this Rule, the Director shall state whether or not the 

national emission standard for hazardous air pollutants for source 

categories promulgated in 40 CFR Part 63, or part thereof, will be 

enforced. If the Commission does not adopt the amendment to this 

Rule to exclude or amend the standard within 12 months after the 

close of the comment period on the proposed amendment, the 

Director shall begin enforcing that standard when 12 months has 

elapsed after the end of the comment period on the proposed 

amendment. 

(d)  All requests, reports, applications, submittals, and other 

communications to the administrator required pursuant to 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be submitted to the Director of the 
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Division of Air Quality rather than to the Environmental 

Protection Agency; except that all such reports, applications, 

submittals, and other communications to the administrator 

required by 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart M for dry cleaners covered 

by Chapter 143, Article 21A, Part 6 of the General Statutes shall 

be submitted to the Director of the Division of Waste 

Management. 

(e)  In the application of this Rule, definitions contained in 40 

CFR Part 63 shall apply rather than those of Section .0100 of this 

Subchapter when conflict exists. 

(f)  15A NCAC 02Q .0102 shall not be applicable to any source 

to which this Rule applies if the source is required to be permitted 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500, Title V Procedures. The 

owner or operator of the source shall apply for and receive a 

permit if required pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 or .0500. 

Sources that have heretofore been exempted from permit 

requirements and have become subject to requirements 

promulgated in 40 CFR 63 shall apply for a permit in accordance 

to 15A NCAC 02Q .0109. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(5); 150B-21.6; 

Eff. July 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2007; April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1112 112(G) CASE BY CASE 

MAXIMUM ACHIEVABLE CONTROL TECHNOLOGY 

(a)  Applicability. This Rule applies to the construction or 

reconstruction of major sources of hazardous air pollutants unless: 

(1) the major source has been regulated or 

exempted from regulation pursuant to: 

(A) 15A NCAC 02D .1109 or .1111; or 

(B) a standard issued pursuant to Section 

112(d), 112(h), or 112(j) of the federal 

Clean Air Act and incorporated in 

another Subpart of 40 CFR Part 63; or 

(2) the owner or operator of the major source has 

received all necessary air quality permits for the 

construction or reconstruction project before 

July 1, 1998. 

(b)  Exclusions. The requirements of this Rule shall not apply to: 

(1) electric utility steam generating units unless and 

until such time as these units are added to the 

source category list pursuant to Section 

112(c)(5) of the federal Clean Air Act; 

(2) stationary sources that are within a source 

category that has been deleted from the source 

category list pursuant to Section 112(c)(9) of 

the federal Clean Air Act; or 

(3) research and development activities. 

(c)  Definitions. For the purposes of this Rule, the following 

definitions apply: 

(1) "Affected source" means the stationary source 

or group of stationary sources that, when 

fabricated on site, erected, or installed meets the 

definition of "construct a major source" or the 

definition of "reconstruct a major source" 

contained in this Paragraph. 

(2) "Affected States" means all States or local air 

pollution agencies whose areas of jurisdiction 

are: 

(A) contiguous to North Carolina and 

located less than D=Q/12.5 from the 

facility, where: 

(i) Q = emissions of the 

pollutant emitted at the 

highest permitted rate in tons 

per year; and 

(ii) D = distance from the facility 

to the contiguous state or 

local air pollution control 

agency in miles; or 

(B) within 50 miles of the permitted 

facility. 

(3) "Available information" means, for purposes of 

identifying control technology options for the 

affected source, information contained in the 

following information sources as of the date of 

approval of the MACT determination by the 

Division: 

(A) a relevant proposed regulation, 

including all supporting information; 

(B) background information documents 

for a draft or proposed regulation; 

(C) data and information available from 

the Control Technology Center 

developed pursuant to Section 113 of 

the federal Clean Air Act; 

(D) data and information contained in the 

Aerometric Informational Retrieval 

System including information in the 

MACT data base; 

(E) additional information that can be 

expeditiously provided by the 

Division and EPA; and 

(F) for the purpose of determinations by 

the Division, additional information 

provided by the applicant or others and 

additional information available to the 

Division. 

(4) "Construct a major source" means: 

(A) To fabricate, erect, or install at any 

greenfield site a stationary source or 

group of stationary sources that is 

located within a contiguous area and 

under common control and that emits 

or has the potential to emit 10 tons per 

year of any HAP's or 25 tons per year 

of any combination of HAP; or 

(B) To fabricate, erect, or install at any 

developed site a new process or 

production unit that in and of itself 

emits or has the potential to emit 10 

tons per year of any HAP or 25 tons 

per year of any combination of HAP, 

unless the process or production unit 
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satisfies Subparts (i) through (vi) of 

this Paragraph: 

(i) all HAP emitted by the 

process or production unit 

that would otherwise be 

subject to the requirements of 

this Rule will be controlled 

by emission control 

equipment that was 

previously installed at the 

same site as the process or 

production unit; 

(ii) the Division: 

(I) has determined 

within a period of 

five years prior to 

the fabrication, 

erection, or 

installation of the 

process or 

production unit that 

the existing 

emission control 

equipment 

represented best 

available control 

technology (BACT) 

pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .0530 

or lowest achievable 

emission rate 

(LAER) pursuant 

to15A NCAC 02D 

.0531 for the 

category of 

pollutants that 

includes those 

HAP's to be emitted 

by the process or 

production unit; or 

(II) determines that the 

control of HAP 

emissions provided 

by the existing 

equipment will be 

equivalent to that 

level of control 

currently achieved 

by other well-

controlled similar 

sources (i.e., 

equivalent to the 

level of control that 

would be provided 

by a current BACT, 

LAER, or MACT 

determination 

pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1109); 

(iii) the Division determines that 

the percent control efficiency 

for emissions of HAP from 

all sources to be controlled 

by the existing control 

equipment will be equivalent 

to the percent control 

efficiency provided by the 

control equipment prior to 

the inclusion of the new 

process or production unit; 

(iv) the Division has provided 

notice and an opportunity for 

public comment concerning 

its determination that criteria 

in Subparts (i), (ii), and (iii) 

of this Subparagraph apply 

and concerning the continued 

adequacy of any prior LAER, 

BACT, or MACT 

determination pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02D .1109; 

(v) if any commenter has 

asserted that a prior LAER, 

BACT, or MACT 

determination pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02D .1109 is no 

longer adequate, the Division 

has determined that the level 

of control required by that 

prior determination remains 

adequate; and 

(vi) any emission limitations, 

work practice requirements, 

or other terms and conditions 

upon which the above 

determinations by the 

Division are predicated will 

be construed by the Division 

as applicable requirements 

pursuant to Section 504(a) of 

the federal Clean Air Act and 

either have been incorporated 

into an existing permit issued 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0500 for the affected facility 

or will be incorporated into 

such a permit upon issuance. 

(5) "Control technology" means measures, 

processes, methods, systems, or techniques to 

limit the emission of hazardous air pollutants, 

including measures that: 

(A) reduce the quantity of, or eliminate 

emissions of, such pollutants through 

process changes, substitution of 

materials, or other modifications; 

(B) enclose systems or processes to 

eliminate emissions; 
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(C) collect, capture, or treat such 

pollutants when released from a 

process, stack, storage, or fugitive 

emissions point; 

(D) are design, equipment, work practice, 

or operational standards, including 

requirements for operator training or 

certification, as provided in 42 U.S.C. 

7412(h); or 

(E) are a combination of Parts (A) through 

(D) of this definition. 

(6) "Electric utility steam generating unit" means 

any fossil fuel-fired combustion unit of more 

than 25 megawatts that serves a generator that 

produces electricity for sale. A unit that co-

generates steam and electricity and supplies 

more than one-third of its potential electric 

output capacity and more than 25 megawatts 

electric output to any utility power distribution 

system for sale shall be considered an electric 

utility steam generating unit. 

(7) "Greenfield site" means a contiguous area 

under common control that is an undeveloped 

site. 

(8) "HAP" means hazardous air pollutants. 

(9) "Hazardous air pollutant" means any pollutant 

listed pursuant to Section 112(b) of the federal 

Clean Air Act. 

(10) "List of source categories" means the source 

category list required by Section 112(c) of the 

federal Clean Air Act. 

(11) "MACT" means maximum achievable control 

technology. 

(12) "Maximum achievable control technology 

emission limitation for new sources" means the 

emission limitation that is not less stringent 

than the emission limitation achieved in 

practice by the best controlled similar source, 

and that reflects the maximum degree of 

reduction in emissions that the permitting 

authority determines is achievable by the 

constructed or reconstructed source, taking into 

consideration the cost of achieving such 

emission reduction, non-air quality health and 

environmental impacts, and energy 

requirements. 

(13) "Process or production unit" means any 

collection of structures or equipment that 

processes, assembles, applies, or otherwise uses 

material inputs to produce or store an 

intermediate or final product. A single facility 

may contain more than one process or 

production unit. 

(14) "Reconstruct a major source" means the 

replacement of components at an existing 

process or production unit that emits or has the 

potential to emit 10 tons per year of any HAP 

or 25 tons per year of any combination of HAP, 

if: 

(A) the fixed capital cost of the new 

components exceeds 50 percent of the 

fixed capital cost that would be 

required to construct a comparable 

process or production unit; and 

(B) it is technically and economically 

feasible for the reconstructed major 

source to meet the applicable 

maximum achievable control 

technology emission limitation for 

new sources established pursuant to 40 

CFR Part 63, Subpart B. 

(15) "Research and development activities" means 

activities conducted at a research or laboratory 

facility whose primary purpose is to conduct 

research and development into new processes 

and products, where such source is operated 

under the close supervision of technically 

trained personnel and is not engaged in the 

manufacture of products for sale or exchange 

for commercial profit, except in a de minimis 

manner. 

(16) "Similar source" means a stationary source or 

process that has comparable emissions and is 

structurally similar in design and capacity to a 

constructed or reconstructed major source, such 

that the source could be controlled using the 

same control technology. 

(d)  Principles of MACT determinations. The following general 

principles shall be used to make a case-by-case MACT 

determination concerning construction or reconstruction of a 

major source pursuant to this Rule: 

(1) The MACT emission limitation or MACT 

requirements recommended by the applicant 

and approved by the Division shall not be less 

stringent than the emission control that is 

achieved in practice by the best controlled 

similar source, as determined by the Division. 

(2) Based upon available information, the MACT 

emission limitation and control technology, 

including any requirements pursuant to 

Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph, 

recommended by the applicant and approved by 

the Division shall achieve the maximum degree 

of reduction in emissions of HAP that can be 

achieved by using those control technologies 

that can be identified from the available 

information, taking into consideration the costs 

of achieving such emission reduction and any 

non-air quality health and environmental 

impacts and energy requirements associated 

with the emission reduction. 

(3) The owner or operator may recommend a 

specific design, equipment, work practice, or 

operational standard, or a combination thereof, 

and the Director may approve such a standard 

if it is not feasible to prescribe or enforce an 

emission limitation pursuant to the criteria set 
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forth in Section 112(h)(2) of the federal Clean 

Air Act. 

(4) If the EPA has either proposed a relevant 

emission standard pursuant to Section 112(d) or 

112(h) of the federal Clean Air Act or adopted 

a presumptive MACT determination for the 

source category that includes the constructed or 

reconstructed major source, the MACT 

requirements applied to the constructed or 

reconstructed major source shall have 

considered those MACT emission limitations 

and requirements of the proposed standard or 

presumptive MACT determination. 

(e)  Effective date of MACT determination. The effective date of 

a MACT determination shall be the date of issuance of a permit 

pursuant to procedures of 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 or .0500 

incorporating a MACT determination. 

(f)  Compliance date. On and after the date of start-up, a 

constructed or reconstructed major source that is subject to the 

requirements of this Rule shall be in compliance with all 

applicable requirements specified in the MACT determination. 

(g)  Compliance with MACT determinations. The owner or 

operator of a constructed or reconstructed major source that: 

(1) is subject to a MACT determination shall 

comply with all requirements set forth in the 

permit issued pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0300 or .0500, including any MACT emission 

limitation or MACT work practice standard, 

and any notification, operation and 

maintenance, performance testing, monitoring, 

reporting, and recordkeeping requirements; or 

(2) has obtained a MACT determination shall be 

deemed to be in compliance with Section 

112(g)(2)(B) of the federal Clean Air Act only 

to the extent that the constructed or 

reconstructed major source is in compliance 

with all requirements set forth in the permit 

issued pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 or 

.0500. Any violation of such requirements by 

the owner of operator shall be deemed by the 

Division to be a violation of the prohibition on 

construction or reconstruction in Section 

112(g)(2)(B) of the federal Clean Air Act for 

whatever period the owner or operator is 

determined to be in violation of such 

requirements, and shall subject the owner or 

operator to appropriate enforcement action 

pursuant to the General Statutes and the federal 

Clean Air Act. 

(h)  Requirements for constructed or reconstructed major sources 

subject to a subsequently-promulgated MACT standard or MACT 

requirement. If EPA promulgates an emission standard pursuant 

to Section 112(d) or 112(h) of the federal Clean Air Act or the 

Division issues a determination pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D 

.1109 that is applicable to a stationary source or group of sources 

that is a constructed or reconstructed major source pursuant to this 

Rule: 

(1) before the date that the owner or operator has 

obtained a final and legally effective MACT 

determination pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0300 or .0500, the owner or operator of the 

sources shall comply with the promulgated 

standard or determination rather than any 

MACT determination pursuant to this Rule by 

the compliance date in the promulgated 

standard; or 

(2) after the source has been subject to a prior case-

by-case MACT pursuant to this Rule, and the 

owner or operator obtained a final and legally 

effective case-by-case MACT determination 

prior to the promulgation date of such emission 

standard, and if the initial permit has not yet 

been issued pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500, 

the Division shall issue an initial permit that 

incorporates the emission standard or 

determination, or if the initial permit has been 

issued pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500, the 

Division shall revise the permit according to the 

reopening procedures in 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0517, Reopening for Cause, whichever is 

relevant, to incorporate the emission standard 

or determination. 

(i)  Compliance with subsequent 112(d), 112(h), or 112(j) 

standards. If EPA includes in the emission standard established 

pursuant to Section 112(d) or 112(h) of the federal Clean Air Act 

a specific compliance date for those sources that have obtained a 

final and legally effective MACT determination pursuant to this 

Rule and that have submitted the information required by 40 CFR 

63.43 to EPA before the close of the public comment period for 

the standard established pursuant to section 112(d) of the federal 

Clean Air Act, the Division shall incorporate that compliance date 

in the permit issued pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500. If no 

compliance date has been established in the promulgated 112(d) 

or 112(h) standard or determination pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D 

.1109 for those sources that have obtained a final and legally 

effective MACT determination pursuant to this Rule, the Director 

shall establish a compliance date in the permit that assures that the 

owner or operator complies with the promulgated standard or 

determination as expeditiously as practicable, but not longer than 

eight years after the standard is promulgated or a determination is 

made pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1109. 

(j)  Revision of permit to incorporate less stringent control. 

Notwithstanding the requirements of Paragraph (h) of this Rule, 

if the Administrator of EPA promulgates an emission standard 

pursuant to Section 112(d) or Section 112(h) of the federal Clean 

Air Act or the Division issues a determination pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1109 that is applicable to a stationary source or group 

of sources that was deemed to be a constructed or reconstructed 

major source pursuant to this Rule and that is the subject of a prior 

case-by-case MACT determination pursuant to 40 CFR 63.43, 

and the level of control required by the emission standard issued 

pursuant to Section 112(d) or 112(h) or the determination issued 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1109 is less stringent than the level 

of control required by any emission limitation or standard in the 

prior MACT determination, the Division shall not be required to 

incorporate any less stringent terms of the promulgated standard 

in the permit issued pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500 applicable 

to such sources after considering the effects on air quality. The 
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Division may consider any more stringent provision of the prior 

MACT determination to be applicable legal requirements, as 

necessary to protect air quality, when issuing or revising such an 

operating permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.107(a)(5),(10); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1201 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

(a)  The rules in this Section shall apply to incinerators and 

combustor units as defined in 15A NCAC 02D .1202 or regulated 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1208. 

(b)  The rules in this Section shall not apply to: 

(1) afterburners, flares, fume incinerators, or other 

similar devices used to reduce the emissions of 

air pollutants from processes whose emissions 

shall be regulated as process emissions; 

(2) boilers or industrial furnaces that burn waste as 

a fuel, except solid waste as defined in 40 CFR 

241.2; 

(3) air curtain burners, which shall comply with 

15A NCAC 02D .1900; or 

(4) incinerators used to dispose of dead animals or 

poultry that meet all of the following 

requirements: 

(A) the incinerator is located on a farm and 

is operated by the farm owner or by the 

farm operator; 

(B) the incinerator is used solely to 

dispose of animals or poultry 

originating on the farm where the 

incinerator is located; 

(C) the incinerator is not charged at a rate 

that exceeds its design capacity; and 

(D) the incinerator complies with 15A 

NCAC 02D .0521 (visible emissions). 

(c)  Referenced document SW-846 "Test Methods for Evaluating 

Solid Waste," Third Edition, cited by rules in this Section is 

incorporated by reference, not including subsequent amendments 

or editions, and may be obtained free of charge online at 

https://www.epa.gov/hw-sw846.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(1), (3), (4), (5); 

Eff. October 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; July 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; April 1, 

1995; December1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; December 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1202 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Section, the definitions in 40 CFR 

60.5250, 40 CFR 60.2875, and 40 CFR 60.51c shall apply in 

addition to the following definitions:  

(1) "Air curtain incinerator," also referred to as an 

"air curtain burner," means an incinerator that 

operates by forcefully projecting a curtain of air 

across an open chamber or pit in which 

combustion occurs as defined in 40 CFR 

60.2875. 

(2) "Commercial and industrial solid waste 

incinerator" (CISWI) or "commercial and 

industrial solid waste incineration unit" is 

defined in 40 CFR 60.2875.  

(3) "Co-fired combustor" is defined in 40 CFR 

60.51c. For the purposes of this definition, 

pathological waste, chemotherapeutic waste, 

and low-level radioactive waste shall be 

deemed "other" wastes when calculating the 

percentage of hospital, medical, or infectious 

waste combusted. 

(4) "Crematory incinerator" means any incinerator 

located at a crematory regulated pursuant to 21 

NCAC 34C that is used solely for the cremation 

of human remains. 

(5) "Dioxin and Furan" (also referred to as 

"dioxins/furans") means tetra- through octa- 

chlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins and 

dibenzofurans. 

(6) "Hospital, medical, and infectious waste 

incinerator (HMIWI)" means any device that 

combusts any amount of hospital, medical, and 

infectious waste. 

(7) "Large HMIWI" means: 

(A) a HMIWI whose maximum design 

waste burning capacity is more than 

500 pounds per hour; 

(B) a continuous or intermittent HMIWI 

whose maximum charge rate is more 

than 500 pounds per hour; or 

(C) a batch HMIWI whose maximum 

charge rate is more than 4,000 pounds 

per day. 

(8) "Hospital waste" means discards generated at a 

hospital, except unused items returned to the 

manufacturer. The definition of hospital waste 

does not include human corpses, remains, and 

anatomical parts that are intended for interment 

or cremation. 

(9) "Medical and Infectious Waste" means any 

waste generated in the diagnosis, treatment, or 

immunization of human beings or animals, in 

research pertaining thereto, or in the production 

or testing of biologicals that is listed in Part 

(A)(i) through (A)(vii) of this Subparagraph. 

(A) The definition of medical and 

infectious waste includes: 

(i) cultures and stocks of 

infectious agents and 

associated biologicals, 

including: 

(I) cultures from 

medical and 

pathological 

laboratories; 
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(II) cultures and stocks 

of infectious agents 

from research and 

industrial 

laboratories; 

(III) wastes from the 

production of 

biologicals; 

(IV) discarded live and 

attenuated vaccines; 

and 

(V) culture dishes and 

devices used to 

transfer, inoculate, 

and mix cultures; 

(ii) human pathological waste, 

including tissues, organs, and 

body parts and body fluids 

that are removed during 

surgery, autopsy, or other 

medical procedures, and 

specimens of body fluids and 

their containers; 

(iii) human blood and blood 

products including: 

(I) liquid waste human 

blood; 

(II) products of blood; 

(III) items saturated or 

dripping with 

human blood; or 

(IV) items that were 

saturated or 

dripping with 

human blood that 

are now caked with 

dried human blood, 

including serum, 

plasma, other blood 

components, and 

their containers, that 

were used or 

intended for use in 

either patient care, 

testing and 

laboratory analysis, 

or the development 

of pharmaceuticals. 

Intravenous bags 

are also included in 

this category; 

(iv) sharps that have been used in 

animal or human patient care 

or treatment or in medical, 

research, or industrial 

laboratories, including 

hypodermic needles, 

syringes (with or without the 

attached needle), pasteur 

pipettes, scalpel blades, 

blood vials, needles with 

attached tubing, and culture 

dishes (regardless of 

presence of infectious 

agents). Also included are 

other types of broken or 

unbroken glassware that 

were in contact with 

infectious agents, such as 

used slides and cover slips; 

(v) animal waste, including 

contaminated animal 

carcasses, body parts, and 

bedding of animals that were 

known to have been exposed 

to infectious agents during 

research (including research 

in veterinary hospitals), 

production of biologicals, or 

testing of pharmaceuticals; 

(vi) isolation wastes, including 

biological waste and 

discarded materials 

contaminated with blood, 

excretions, exudates, or 

secretions from humans who 

are isolated to protect others 

from highly communicable 

diseases, or isolated animals 

known to be infected with 

highly communicable 

diseases; and 

(vii) unused sharps, including the 

following unused or 

discarded sharps; 

(I) hypodermic 

needles; 

(II) suture needles; 

(III) syringes; and 

(IV) scalpel blades. 

(B) The definition of medical and 

infectious waste shall not include: 

(i) hazardous waste identified or 

listed in 40 CFR Part 261; 

(ii) household waste, as defined 

in 40 CFR 261.4(b)(1); 

(iii) ash from incineration of 

medical and infectious waste 

after the incineration process 

has been completed; 

(iv) human corpses, remains, and 

anatomical parts that are 

intended for interment or 

cremation; and 

(v) domestic sewage materials 

identified in 40 CFR 

261.4(a)(1). 

(10) "Medium HMIWI" means: 
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(A) a HMIWI whose maximum design 

waste burning capacity is more than 

200 pounds per hour but less than or 

equal to 500 pounds per hour; 

(B) a continuous or intermittent HMIWI 

whose maximum charge rate is more 

than 200 pounds per hour but less than 

or equal to 500 pounds per hour; or 

(C) a batch HMIWI whose maximum 

charge rate is more than 1,600 pounds 

per day but less than or equal to 4,000 

pounds per day. 

(11) "POTW" means a publicly owned treatment 

works as defined in 40 CFR 501.2. 

(12) "Sewage sludge" is defined in 40 CFR 60.5250.  

(13) "Sewage sludge incineration (SSI) unit" is 

defined in 40 CFR 60.5250. 

(14) "Small HMIWI" means: 

(A) a HMIWI whose maximum design 

waste burning capacity is less than or 

equal to 200 pounds per hour; 

(B) a continuous or intermittent HMIWI 

whose maximum charge rate is less 

than or equal to 200 pounds per hour; 

or 

(C) a batch HMIWI whose maximum 

charge rate is less than or equal to 

1,600 pounds per day. 

(15) "Small remote HMIWI" means any small 

HMIWI that is located more than 50 miles from 

the boundary of the nearest Standard 

Metropolitan Statistical Area (SMSA) and that 

burns less than 2,000 pounds per week of 

hospital, medical and infectious waste. The 

2,000 pound per week limitation does not apply 

during performance tests. 

(16) "Solid waste" means the term solid waste as 

defined in 40 CFR 241.2. 

(17) "Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area 

(SMSA)" means any area listed in Office of 

Management and Budget (OMB) Bulletin No. 

93-17, entitled "Revised Statistical Definitions 

for Metropolitan Areas" dated July 30, 1993, 

incorporated by reference not including 

subsequent amendments or editions. A copy of 

this document may be obtained through the 

internet at 

http://www.census.gov/population/estimates/m

etro-city/93mfips.txt. 

(b)  Whenever reference is made to the Code of Federal 

Regulations in this Section, the definition in the Code of Federal 

Regulations shall apply unless specifically stated otherwise in a 

particular rule. The Code of Federal Regulations is available in 

electronic form free of charge at 

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/search/home.action. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-213; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. October 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; July 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; July 1, 

1996; April 1, 1995; December 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1203 HAZARDOUS WASTE 

INCINERATORS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. October 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; August 1, 2002; July 1, 2000; July 1, 

1999; July 1, 1998; April 1, 1995; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1205 LARGE MUNICIPAL WASTE 

COMBUSTORS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(3),(4),(5); 40 CFR 60.35b; 40 CFR 60.34e; 40 CFR 

60.1515; 

Eff. October 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; July 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; July 1, 

1996; April 1, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Expired December 12, 2003; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; April 1, 2004; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1206 HOSPITAL, MEDICAL, AND 

INFECTIOUS WASTE INCINERATORS 

(a)  Applicability. This Rule shall apply to any hospital, medical, 

and infectious waste incinerator (HMIWI), except: 

(1) a HMIWI required to have a permit pursuant to 

Section 3005 of the Solid Waste Disposal Act; 

(2) a pyrolysis unit; 

(3) a cement kiln firing hospital waste or medical 

and infectious waste; 

(4) a physical or operational change made to an 

existing HMIWI solely for the purpose of 

complying with the emission standards for 

HMIWIs in this Rule. These physical or 

operational changes shall not be deemed a 

modification and shall not result in an existing 

HMIWI becoming subject to the provisions of 

40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Ec; 

(5) a HMIWI during periods when only 

pathological waste, low-level radioactive 

waste, or chemotherapeutic waste is burned, 

provided that the owner or operator of the 

HMIWI: 

(A) notifies the Director of an exemption 

claim; and 

(B) keeps records on a calendar-quarter 

basis of the periods of time when only 

pathological waste, low-level 
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radioactive waste, or 

chemotherapeutic waste was burned; 

or 

(6) a co-fired HMIWI, if the owner or operator of 

the co-fired HMIWI: 

(A) notifies the Director of an exemption 

claim; 

(B) provides an estimate of the relative 

weight of hospital, medical, and 

infectious waste and other fuels or 

wastes to be combusted; and 

(C) keeps records on a calendar-quarter 

basis of the weight of hospital, 

medical, and infectious waste 

combusted and the weight of all other 

fuels and wastes combusted at the co-

fired HMIWI. 

(b)  Definitions. For the purpose of this Rule, the definitions 

contained in 40 CFR 60.51c shall apply in addition to the 

definitions in 15A NCAC 02D .1202. 

(c)  Emission Standards. 

(1) The emission standards in this Paragraph apply 

to all HMIWIs except if 15A NCAC 02D .0524, 

.1110, or .1111 applies. However, when 

Subparagraphs (6) or (7) of this Paragraph and 

15A NCAC 02D .0524, .1110, or .1111 regulate 

the same pollutant, the more restrictive 

provision for each pollutant shall apply, 

notwithstanding provisions of 15A NCAC 02D 

.0524, .1110, or .1111 to the contrary. 

(2) Each HMIWI for which construction was 

commenced on or before June 20, 1996, or for 

which modification is commenced on or before 

March 16, 1998, shall not exceed the 

requirements listed in Table 1B of Subpart Ce 

of 40 CFR Part 60. 

(3) Each HMIWI for which construction was 

commenced after June 20, 1996, but no later 

than December 1, 2008, or for which 

modification is commenced after March 16, 

1998, but no later than April 6, 2010, shall not 

exceed the more stringent of the requirements 

listed in Table 1B of Subpart Ce and Table 1A 

of Subpart Ec of 40 CFR Part 60. 

(4) Each small remote HMIWI shall not exceed 

emission standards listed in Table 2B of 

Subpart Ce of 40 CFR Part 60. 

(5) Visible Emissions. The owner or operator of 

any HMIWI shall not cause to be discharged 

into the atmosphere from the stack of the 

HMIWI any gases that exhibit greater than six 

percent opacity (six-minute block average). 

(6) Toxic Air Pollutants. The owner or operator of 

any HMIWI subject to this Rule shall 

demonstrate compliance with 15A NCAC 02D 

.1100 according to 15A NCAC 02Q .0700. 

(d)  Operational Standards. 

(1) The operational standards in this Rule shall not 

apply to a HMIWI if applicable operational 

standards in 15A NCAC 02D .0524, .1110, or 

.1111 apply; 

(2) Annual Equipment Inspection. 

(A) Each HMIWI shall undergo an annual 

equipment inspection no more than 12 

months following the previous annual 

equipment inspection; 

(B) The equipment inspection shall 

include all the elements listed in 40 

CFR 60.36e(a)(1)(i) through (xvii); 

(C) Necessary repairs found during the 

inspection shall be completed within 

10 operating days after the inspection 

unless the owner or operator submits a 

written request to the Director for an 

extension of the 10 operating day 

period; and 

(D) The Director shall grant an extension 

to a small remote HMIWI if the owner 

or operator submits a written request 

to the Director for an extension of the 

10 operating day period, if the owner 

or operator demonstrates that 

achieving compliance by the time 

allowed under this Part is not feasible, 

if the Director does not extend the time 

allowed for compliance by more than 

30 days following the receipt of the 

written request, and if the Director 

concludes that the emission control 

standards would not be exceeded if the 

repairs were delayed; 

(3) Air Pollution Control Device Inspection. 

(A) Each HMIWI shall undergo air 

pollution control device inspections 

annually, no more than 12 months 

following the previous annual air 

pollution control device inspection, to 

inspect air pollution control devices 

for proper operation, if applicable: to 

ensure proper calibration of 

thermocouples, sorbent feed systems, 

and all other monitoring equipment; 

and to observe that the equipment is 

maintained in good operating 

condition. Necessary repairs found 

during the inspection shall be 

completed within 10 operating days of 

the inspection unless the owner or 

operator submits a written request to 

the Director for an extension of the 10 

operating day period; and 

(B) The Director shall grant the extension 

if the owner or operator of the HMIWI 

demonstrates that achieving 

compliance by the 10 operating day 

period is not feasible, the Director 

does not extend the time allowed for 

compliance by more than 30 days 
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following the receipt of the written 

request, and the Director concludes 

that the emission control standards 

would not be exceeded if the repairs 

were delayed. 

(4) Any HMIWI, except for a small HMIWI for 

which construction was commenced on or 

before June 20, 1996, or for which modification 

was commenced on or before March 16, 1998, 

and subject to the requirements listed in Table 

1B of Subpart Ce of 40 CFR Part 60, shall 

comply with 40 CFR 60.56c except sources 

subject to the emissions limits pursuant to Table 

1B of Subject Ce of 40 CFR Part 60 or the more 

stringent of the requirements listed in Table 1B 

of Subpart 1B of Subpart Ce of 40 CFR Part 60 

and Table 1A of Subpart Ec of 40 CFR Part 60 

may elect to use CO CEMS as specified in 40 

CFR 60.56c(c)(4) or bag detection systems as 

specified in 40 CFR 60.57c(h); 

(5) A small remote HMIWI constructed on or 

before June 20, 1996, or for which modification 

was commenced on or before March 16, 1998, 

shall be subject to the requirements listed in 

Table 2B of Subpart Ce of 40 CFR Part 60. The 

owner or operator shall comply with: 

(A) the compliance and performance 

testing requirements of 40 CFR 

60.56c, excluding test methods listed 

in 40 CFR 60.56c(b)(7), (8), (12), (13) 

(Pb and Cd), and (14); 

(B) the annual PM, CO, and HCl 

emissions testing requirements 

pursuant to 40 CFR 60.56c(c)(2); 

(C) the annual fugitive emissions testing 

requirements pursuant to 40 CFR 

60.56c(c)(3); 

(D) the CO CEMS requirements pursuant 

to 40 CFR 60.56c(c)(4); and 

(E) the compliance requirements for 

monitoring listed in 40 CFR 

60.56c(c)(5) through (7), and (d) 

through (k). 

(6) A small remote HMIWI for which construction 

was commenced on or before June 20, 1996, or 

for which modification was commenced on or 

before March 16, 1998, that is subject to the 

requirements listed in Table 2A or 2B of 

Subpart Ce of 40 CFR Part 60 and not equipped 

with an air pollution control device shall meet 

the following compliance and performance 

testing requirements: 

(A) establish maximum charge rate and 

minimum secondary chamber 

temperature as site-specific operating 

parameters during the initial 

performance test to determine 

compliance with applicable emission 

limits. The 2,000 pounds per week 

limitation shall not apply during 

performance tests; 

(B) the owner or operator shall not operate 

the HMIWI above the maximum 

charge rate or below the minimum 

secondary chamber temperature 

measured as three-hour rolling 

averages, calculated each hour as the 

average of the previous three 

operating hours, at all times. 

Operating parameter limits shall not 

apply during performance tests. 

Operation above the maximum charge 

rate or below the minimum secondary 

chamber temperature shall constitute a 

violation of the established operating 

parameters; and 

(C) operation of a HMIWI above the 

maximum charge rate and below the 

minimum secondary chamber 

temperature, each measured on a 

three-hour rolling average, 

simultaneously shall constitute a 

violation of the PM, CO, and 

dioxin/furan emissions limits. The 

owner or operator of a HMIWI may 

conduct a repeat performance test 

within 30 days of violation of 

applicable operating parameters to 

demonstrate that the designated 

facility is not in violation of the 

applicable emissions limits. Repeat 

performance tests shall be conducted 

under process and control device 

operating conditions duplicating as 

nearly as possible those that indicated 

during the violation. 

(7) A small HMIWI for which construction was 

commenced after June 20, 1996, but no later 

than December 1, 2008, or for which 

modification is commenced after March 16, 

1998, but no later than April 6, 2010, shall 

comply with: 

(A) the compliance and performance 

testing requirements of 40 CFR 

60.56c, excluding the annual fugitive 

emissions testing requirements 

pursuant to 40 CFR 60.56c(c)(3); 

(B) the CO CEMS requirements pursuant 

to 40 CFR 60.56c(c)(4); and 

(C) the compliance requirements for 

monitoring listed in 40 CFR 

60.56c(c)(5)(ii) through (v), (c)(6), 

(c)(7), (e)(6) through (10), (f)(7) 

through (10), and (g)(6) through (10). 

The owner or operator may elect to use CO 

CEMS as specified in 40 CFR 60.56c(c)(4) or 

bag leak detection systems as specified in 40 

CFR 60.57c(h). 
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(8) The owner or operator of a HMIWI equipped 

with selective noncatalytic reduction 

technology shall: 

(A) establish the maximum charge rate, 

the minimum secondary chamber 

temperature, and the minimum reagent 

flow rate as site-specific operating 

parameters during the initial 

performance test to determine 

compliance with the emissions limits; 

(B) ensure that the affected facility does 

not operate above the maximum 

charge rate or below the minimum 

secondary chamber temperature or the 

minimum reagent flow rate measured 

as three-hour rolling averages, 

calculated each hour as the average of 

the previous three operating hours, at 

all times. Operating parameter limits 

shall not apply during performance 

tests; and 

(C) operation of any HMIWI above the 

maximum charge rate, below the 

minimum secondary chamber 

temperature, and below the minimum 

reagent flow rate simultaneously shall 

constitute a violation of the NOX 

emissions limit. The owner or operator 

may conduct a repeat performance test 

within 30 days of a violation of 

applicable operating parameters to 

demonstrate that the affected facility is 

not in violation of the applicable 

emissions limits. Repeat performance 

tests shall be conducted using the 

identical operating parameters that 

indicated a violation. 

(e)  Test Methods and Procedures. 

(1) The test methods and procedures described in 

15A NCAC 02D .2600, 40 CFR Part 60 

Appendix A, and 40 CFR Part 61 Appendix B 

shall be used to determine compliance with 

emission rates. Method 29 of 40 CFR Part 60 

shall be used to determine emission rates for 

metals. However, Method 29 shall be used to 

sample for chromium (VI) and SW 846 Method 

0060 shall be used for the analysis. 

(2) The Director shall require the owner or operator 

to test the HMIWI to demonstrate compliance 

with the emission standards listed in Paragraph 

(c) of this Rule if necessary to assure 

compliance. 

(f)  Monitoring, Recordkeeping, and Reporting. 

(1) The owner or operator of an HMIWI subject to 

the requirements of this Rule shall comply with 

the monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting 

requirements in 15A NCAC 02D .0600. 

(2) The owner or operator of an HMIWI subject to 

the requirements of this Rule shall maintain and 

operate a continuous temperature monitoring 

and recording device for the primary chamber, 

and if there is a secondary chamber, for the 

secondary chamber. The owner or operator of 

an HMIWI that has installed air pollution 

abatement equipment to reduce emissions of 

hydrogen chloride shall install, operate, and 

maintain continuous monitoring equipment to 

measure the pH for wet scrubber systems and 

the rate of alkaline injection for dry scrubber 

systems. The Director shall require the owner 

or operator of an HMIWI with a permitted 

charge rate of 750 pounds per hour or more to 

install, operate, and maintain continuous 

monitors for oxygen, carbon monoxide, or both 

as necessary to determine proper operation of 

the HMIWI. The Director may require the 

owner or operator of an HMIWI with a 

permitted charge rate of less than 750 pounds 

per hour to install, operate, and maintain 

monitors for oxygen or for carbon monoxide or 

both if necessary to determine proper operation 

of the HMIWI. 

(3) In addition to the requirements of 

Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph, the 

owner or operator of a HMIWI shall comply 

with the reporting and recordkeeping 

requirements in 40 CFR 60.58c(b) through (g), 

excluding 40 CFR 60.58c(b)(2)(ii) and (b)(7). 

(4) In addition to the requirements of 

Subparagraphs (1), (2) and (3) of this 

Paragraph, the owner or operator of a small 

remote HMIWI shall: 

(A) maintain records of the annual 

equipment inspections, all required 

maintenance, and all repairs not 

completed within 10 days of an 

inspection; 

(B) submit an annual report containing 

information recorded in Part (A) of 

this Subparagraph to the Director no 

later than 60 days following the year 

in which data were collected. 

Subsequent reports shall be sent no 

later than 12 calendar months 

following the previous report. The 

report shall be signed by the HMIWI 

manager; and 

(C) submit the reports required by Parts 

(A) and (B) of this Subparagraph to 

the Director semiannually if the 

HMIWI is subject to the permitting 

procedures of 15A NCAC 02Q .0500, 

Title V Procedures. 

(5) Waste Management Guidelines. The owner or 

operator of a HMIWI shall comply with the 

requirements of 40 CFR 60.55c for the 

preparation and submittal of a waste 

management plan. 
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(6) Except as provided in Subparagraph (7) of this 

Paragraph, the owner or operator of any 

HMIWI shall comply with the monitoring 

requirements in 40 CFR 60.57c. 

(7) The owner or operator of a small remote 

HMIWI shall: 

(A) install, calibrate, maintain, and operate 

a device for measuring and recording 

the temperature of the secondary 

chamber on a continuous basis, the 

output of which shall be recorded, at a 

minimum, once every minute 

throughout operation; 

(B) install, calibrate, maintain, and operate 

a device that automatically measures 

and records the date, time, and weight 

of each charge fed into the HMIWI; 

and 

(C) obtain monitoring data at all times 

during HMIWI operation except 

during periods of monitoring 

equipment malfunction, calibration, or 

repair. Valid monitoring data shall be 

obtained for 75 percent of the 

operating hours per day and for 90 

percent of the operating hours per 

calendar quarter that the HMIWI is 

combusting hospital, medical, and 

infectious waste. 

(8) An HMIWI, except for small remote HMIWI 

not equipped with an air pollution control 

device, that is subject to the emissions 

requirements in Table 1B or Table 2B of 

Subpart Ce of 40 CFR Part 60 or the more 

stringent of the requirements listed in Table 1B 

of Subpart Ce of 40 CFR Part 60 and Table 1A 

of Subpart Ec of 40 CFR Part 60 shall perform 

the monitoring requirements listed in 40 CFR 

60.57c. 

(9) The owner or operator of a small remote 

HMIWI, not equipped with an air pollution 

control device and subject to the emissions 

requirements in Table 2B of Subpart Ce of 40 

CFR Part 60 shall: 

(A) install, calibrate to manufacturers' 

specifications, maintain, and operate a 

device for measuring and recording 

the temperature of the secondary 

chamber on a continuous basis, the 

output of which shall be recorded, at a 

minimum, once every minute 

throughout operation; 

(B) install, calibrate to manufacturers' 

specifications, maintain, and operate a 

device which automatically measures 

and records the date, time, and weight 

of each charge fed into the HMIWI; 

and 

(C) obtain monitoring data at all times 

during HMIWI operation except 

during periods of monitoring 

equipment malfunction, calibration, or 

repair. Valid monitoring data shall be 

obtained for 75 percent of the 

operating hours per day for 90 percent 

of the operating hours per calendar 

quarter that the designated facility is 

combusting hospital, medical and 

infectious waste. 

(10) An HMIWI for which construction commenced 

on or before June 20, 1996, or for which 

modification was commenced on or before 

March 16, 1998, and is subject to requirements 

listed in Table 1B of Subpart Ce of 40 CFR Part 

60 or any HMIWI for which construction was 

commenced after June 20, 1996, but no later 

than December 1, 2008, or for which 

modification is commenced after March 16, 

1998, but no later than April 6, 2010, and that 

is subject to the requirements of Table 1B of 

this Subpart and Table 1A of Subpart Ec of 40 

CFR Part 60 may use the results of previous 

emissions tests to demonstrate compliance with 

the emissions limits, provided that: 

(A) previous emissions tests had been 

conducted using the applicable 

procedures and test methods listed in 

40 CFR 60.56c(b); 

(B) the HMIWI is currently operated in a 

manner that would be expected to 

result in the same or lower emissions 

than observed during the previous 

emissions test and has not been 

modified such that emissions would be 

expected to exceed; and 

(C) the previous emissions tests had been 

conducted in 1996 or later. 

(11) An HMIWI, (with the exception of small 

remote HMIWI and HMIWIs for which 

construction was commenced no later than 

December 1, 2008, or for which modification is 

commenced no later than April 6, 2010, and that 

is subject to the requirements listed in Table 1B 

of Subpart Ce of 40 CFR Part 60 or the more 

stringent of the requirements listed in Table 1B 

of Subpart Ce of 40 CFR Part 60 and Table 1A 

of Subpart Ec), shall include the reporting and 

recordkeeping requirements listed in 40 CFR 

60.58c(b) through (g) in Subpart Ec.  

(12) An HMIWI for which construction was 

commenced no later than December 1, 2008, or 

for which modification is commenced no later 

than April 6, 2010, and that is subject to the 

requirements listed in Table 1B or the more 

stringent of the requirements listed in Table 1B 

of Subpart Ce of 40 CFR Part 60 and Table 1A 

of Subpart Ec of 40 CFR Part 60 shall not be 
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required to maintain records required in 40 CFR 

60.58c(b)(2)(xviii) (bag leak detection system 

alarms), (b)(2)(xix) (CO CEMS data), and 

(b)(7) (siting documentation). 

(g)  Operator Training and Certification. 

(1) The owner or operator of a HMIWI shall not 

allow the HMIWI to operate at any time unless 

a fully trained and qualified HMIWI operator is 

available at the facility or is available within 

one hour. The trained and qualified HMIWI 

operator may operate the HMIWI directly or be 

the direct supervisor of one or more HMIWI 

operators. 

(2) Operator training and qualification shall be 

obtained by completing the requirements of 40 

CFR 60.53c(c) through (g). 

(3) The owner or operator of a HMIWI shall 

maintain, at the facility, all items required by 40 

CFR 60.53c(h)(1) through (h)(10). 

(4) The owner or operator of a HMIWI shall 

establish a program for reviewing the 

information required by Subparagraph (3) of 

this Paragraph annually with each HMIWI 

operator.  

(5) The information required by Subparagraph (3) 

of this Paragraph shall be kept in a readily 

accessible location for all HMIWI operators. 

This information, along with records of 

training, shall be available for inspection by 

Division personnel upon request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(5); 40 CFR 60.34e; 

Eff. October 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2011; June 1, 2008; August 1, 2002; July 

1, 2000; July 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; April 1, 1995; 

December 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1207 CONICAL INCINERATORS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(4),(5); 

Eff. October 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; July 1, 1998; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1208 OTHER INCINERATORS 

(a)  Applicability. 

(1) This Rule shall apply to an incinerator not 

regulated by 15A NCAC 02D .1204, .1206, or 

1210. 

(2) An incinerator shall be exempt from 

Subparagraphs (b)(6) through (b)(9) and 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule if: 

(A) the incinerator is used solely to 

cremate pets; or 

(B) the emissions of all toxic air pollutants 

from an incinerator subject to this Rule 

and associated waste handling and 

storage are less than the levels listed in 

15A NCAC 02Q .0711. 

(b)  Emission Standards. 

(1) The emission standards in this Rule shall apply 

to an incinerator subject to this Rule except if 

15A NCAC 02D .0524, 1110, or .1111 apply. 

However, if Subparagraphs (8) or (9) of this 

Paragraph and 15A NCAC 02D .0524, .1110, 

or .1111 regulate the same pollutant, the more 

restrictive provision for each pollutant shall 

apply notwithstanding provisions of 15A 

NCAC 02D .0524, .1110, or .1111 to the 

contrary. 

(2) Particulate Matter. An incinerator subject to 

this Rule shall comply with one of the following 

emission standards for particulate matter: 

(A) For refuse charge rates between 100 

and 2000 pounds per hour, the 

allowable emissions rate for 

particulate matter from each stack or 

chimney of an incinerator subject to 

this Rule shall not exceed the level 

calculated with the equation E=0.002P 

calculated to two significant figures, 

where "E" equals the allowable 

emission rate for particulate matter in 

pounds per hour and "P" equals the 

refuse charge rate in pounds per hour. 

For refuse charge rates of 0 to 100 

pounds per hour the allowable 

emission rate shall not exceed 0.2 

pounds per hour. For refuse charge 

rates of 2000 pounds per hour or 

greater the allowable emission rate 

shall not exceed 4.0 pounds per hour. 

Compliance with this Part shall be 

determined by averaging emissions 

over a three-hour block period. 

(B) Instead of meeting the standards in 

Part (A) of this Subparagraph, the 

owner or operator of an incinerator 

subject to this Rule may choose to 

limit particulate emissions from the 

incinerator to 0.08 grains per dry 

standard cubic foot corrected to 12 

percent carbon dioxide. In order to 

choose this option, the owner or 

operator of the incinerator shall 

demonstrate that the particulate 

ambient air quality standards will not 

be violated. To correct to 12 percent 

carbon dioxide, the measured 

concentration of particulate matter 

shall be multiplied by 12 and divided 

by the measured percent carbon 

dioxide. Compliance with this Part 

shall be determined by averaging 
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emissions over a three-hour block 

period. 

(3) Visible Emissions. An incinerator subject to 

this Rule shall comply with 15A NCAC 02D 

.0521 for the control of visible emissions. 

(4) Sulfur Dioxide. An incinerator subject to this 

Rule shall comply with 15A NCAC 02D .0516 

for the control of sulfur dioxide emissions. 

(5) Odorous Emissions. An incinerator subject to 

this Rule shall comply with 15A NCAC 02D 

.1806 for the control of odorous emissions. 

(6) Hydrogen Chloride. An incinerator subject to 

this Rule shall control emissions of hydrogen 

chloride such that they do not exceed four 

pounds per hour unless they are reduced by at 

least 90 percent by weight or to no more than 

50 parts per million by volume corrected to 

seven percent oxygen (dry basis). Compliance 

with this Subparagraph shall be determined by 

averaging emissions over a one-hour period. 

(7) Mercury Emissions. Emissions of mercury and 

mercury compounds from the stack or chimney 

of an any incinerator subject to this Rule shall 

not exceed 0.032 pounds per hour. Compliance 

with this Subparagraph shall be determined by 

averaging emissions over a one-hour period. 

(8) Toxic Emissions. The owner or operator of an 

incinerator subject to this Rule shall 

demonstrate compliance with 15A NCAC 02D 

.1100 according to 15A NCAC 02Q .0700. 

(9) Ambient Standards. 

(A) In addition to the ambient air quality 

standards in 15A NCAC 02D .0400, 

the following ambient air quality 

standards, measured by an annual 

average in milligrams per cubic meter 

at 77 degrees Fahrenheit (25 degrees 

Celsius) and 29.92 inches (760 mm) of 

mercury pressure and in increments 

above background concentrations, 

shall apply aggregately to all 

incinerators at a facility subject to this 

Rule: 

(i) arsenic and its compounds 

   2.1x10-6 

(ii) beryllium and its compounds

   4.1x10-6 

(iii) cadmium and its compounds

   5.5x10-6 

(iv) chromium (VI) and its 

compounds 8.3x10-8 

(B) The owner or operator of a facility 

with incinerators subject to this Rule 

shall demonstrate compliance with the 

ambient standards in Subparts (i) 

through (iv) of Part (A) of this 

Subparagraph by following the 

procedures set out in 15A NCAC 02D 

.1106. Modeling demonstrations shall 

comply with the requirements of 15A 

NCAC 02D .0533. 

(C) The emission rates computed or used 

under Part (B) of this Subparagraph 

that demonstrate compliance with the 

ambient standards under Part (A) of 

this Subparagraph shall be specified as 

a permit condition for the facility with 

incinerators subject to this Rule as 

their allowable emission limits unless 

15A NCAC 02D .0524, .1110 or .1111 

requires more restrictive rates. 

(c)  Operational Standards. 

(1) The operational standards in this Rule shall not 

apply to any incinerator subject to this Rule 

when applicable operational standards in 15A 

NCAC 02D .0524, .1110, or .1111 apply. 

(2) Crematory Incinerators. Gases generated by the 

combustion in a crematory incinerator shall be 

subjected to a minimum temperature of 1600 

degrees Fahrenheit for a period of not less than 

one second. 

(3) Other Incinerators. An incinerator not subject to 

any other rule in this Section shall meet the 

following requirement: Gases generated by the 

combustion shall be subjected to a minimum 

temperature of 1800 degrees Fahrenheit for a 

period of not less than one second. The 

temperature of 1800 degrees Fahrenheit shall be 

maintained at least 55 minutes out of each 60-

minute period, but at no time shall the 

temperature go below 1600 degrees Fahrenheit. 

(4) Except during a start-up procedure that has 

been approved pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D 

.0535(g), waste material shall not be loaded into 

any incinerator subject to this Rule when the 

temperature is below the minimum required 

temperature. Start-up procedures may be 

determined on a case-by-case basis pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02D .0535(g). An incinerator 

subject to this Rule shall have automatic 

auxiliary burners that are capable of 

maintaining the required minimum temperature 

in the secondary chamber excluding the heat 

content of the wastes. 

(d)  Test Methods and Procedures. 

(1) The test methods and procedures described in 

15A NCAC 02D .2600 and in 40 CFR Part 60 

Appendix A and 40 CFR Part 61 Appendix B 

shall be used to determine compliance with 

emission rates. Method 29 of 40 CFR Part 60 

shall be used to determine emission rates for 

metals. However, Method 29 shall be used to 

sample for chromium (VI), and SW 846 

Method 0060 shall be used for the analysis. 

(2) The Director shall require the owner or operator 

to test his incinerator to demonstrate 

compliance with the emission standards listed 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule if necessary to 
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determine compliance with the emission 

standards of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(e)  Monitoring, Recordkeeping, and Reporting. 

(1) The owner or operator of an incinerator subject 

to the requirements of this Rule shall comply 

with the monitoring, recordkeeping, and 

reporting requirements in 15A NCAC 02D 

.0600. 

(2) The owner or operator of an incinerator, except 

an incinerator meeting the requirements of 15A 

NCAC 02D .1201(b)(4)(A) through (D), shall 

maintain and operate a continuous temperature 

monitoring and recording device for the 

primary chamber and, if there is a secondary 

chamber, for the secondary chamber. The 

Director shall require a temperature monitoring 

device for incinerators meeting the 

requirements of 15A NCAC 02D 

.1201(b)(4)(A) through (D) if the incinerator is 

in violation of the requirements of 15A NCAC 

02D .1201(b)(4)(D). The owner or operator of 

an incinerator that has installed air pollution 

abatement equipment to reduce emissions of 

hydrogen chloride shall install, operate, and 

maintain continuous monitoring equipment to 

measure the pH for wet scrubber systems and 

the rate of alkaline injection for dry scrubber 

systems. The Director shall require the owner 

or operator of an incinerator with a permitted 

charge rate of 750 pounds per hour or more to 

install, operate, and maintain continuous 

monitors for oxygen or for carbon monoxide or 

both as necessary to determine proper operation 

of the incinerator. The Director shall require the 

owner or operator of an incinerator with a 

permitted charge rate of less than 750 pounds 

per hour to install, operate, and maintain 

monitors for oxygen or for carbon monoxide or 

both if necessary to determine proper operation 

of the incinerator. 

(f)  Excess Emissions and Start-up and Shut-down. An incinerator 

subject to this Rule shall comply with 15A NCAC 02D 0535. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2008; June 1, 2008; July 1, 2007; January 

1, 2005; August 1, 2002; July 1, 2000; July 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1210 COMMERCIAL AND 

INDUSTRIAL SOLID WASTE INCINERATION UNITS 

(a)  Applicability. Unless exempt pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule, this Rule shall apply to existing commercial and industrial 

solid waste incineration (CISWI) units, including energy recovery 

units, kilns, small remote incinerators, and air curtain incinerators 

that burn solid waste, pursuant to 40 CFR 60.2550 and as defined 

in 40 CFR 60.2875. An "existing CISWI unit" means a unit that 

commenced construction on or before June 4, 2010, or 

commenced modification or reconstruction after June 4, 2010, but 

no later than August 7, 2013. 

(b)  Exemptions. The following types of combustion units shall be 

exempted from this Rule: 

(1) incineration units subject to Rules 15A NCAC 

02D .1203 through 15A NCAC 02D .1206 and 

15A NCAC 02D .1212; 

(2) pathological waste incineration units burning 

90 percent or more by weight on a calendar-

quarter basis, excluding the weight of auxiliary 

fuel and combustion air, of pathological waste, 

low-level radioactive waste, or 

chemotherapeutic waste, as defined in 40 CFR 

60.2875, if the owner or operator of the unit: 

(A) notifies the Director that the unit 

qualifies for this exemption; and 

(B) keeps records on a calendar-quarter 

basis of the weight of pathological 

waste, low-level radioactive waste, or 

chemotherapeutic waste burned and 

the weight of all other fuels and wastes 

burned in the unit; 

(3) small power production or cogeneration units 

if: 

(A) the unit qualifies as a small power-

production facility pursuant to Section 

3(17)(C) of the Federal Power Act (16 

U.S.C. 796(17)(C)) or as a 

cogeneration facility pursuant to 

Section 3(18)(B) of the Federal Power 

Act (16 U.S.C. 796(18)(B)); 

(B) the unit burns homogeneous waste, not 

including refuse-derived fuel, to 

produce electricity, steam, or other 

forms of energy used for industrial, 

commercial, heating, or cooling 

purposes; 

(C) the owner or operator of the unit 

notifies the Director that the unit 

qualifies for this exemption; and 

(D) the owner or operator of the unit 

maintains the records specified in 40 

CFR 60.2740(v) for a small power-

production facility or 40 CFR 

60.2740(w) for a cogeneration facility; 

(4) units that combust waste for the primary 

purpose of recovering metals; 

(5) cyclonic barrel burners; 

(6) rack, part, and drum reclamation units that burn 

the coatings off racks used to hold small items 

for application of a coating; 

(7) chemical recovery units as defined in 40 CFR 

60.2875; 

(8) laboratory analysis units that burn samples of 

materials for the purpose of chemical or 

physical analysis; 

(9) air curtain incinerators that meet the 

requirements specified in 15A NCAC 02D 
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.1904 and that burn only the following 

materials: 

(A) 100 percent wood waste; 

(B) 100 percent clean lumber; or 

(C) 100 percent mixture of only wood 

waste, clean lumber, and/or yard 

waste; 

(10) sewage treatment plants that are subject to 40 

CFR 60 Subpart O Standards of Performance 

for Sewage Treatment Plants; 

(11) space heaters that meet the requirements of 40 

CFR 279.23; 

(12) soil treatment units that thermally treat 

petroleum contaminated soils for the sole 

purpose of site remediation; and 

(13) the owner or operator of a combustion unit that 

is subject to this Rule may petition for an 

exemption to this Rule by obtaining a 

determination that the material being 

combusted is; 

(A) not a solid waste pursuant to the 

legitimacy criteria of 40 

CFR 241.3(b)(1); 

(B) a non-waste pursuant to the petition 

process submitted pursuant to 40 CFR 

241.3(c); or 

(C) a fuel that has been processed from a 

discarded non-hazardous secondary 

material pursuant to 40 CFR 

241.3(b)(4). 

(c)  Definitions. For the purpose of this Rule, the definitions 

contained in 40 CFR 60.2875 shall apply in addition to the 

definitions in 15A NCAC 02D .1202. Solid waste is defined 

pursuant to 40 CFR 60.2875 and 40 CFR Part 241 Standards for 

Combustion of Non-Hazardous Secondary Materials (NHSM). 

(d)  Compliance Schedule. All CISWI units subject to this Rule 

shall be in compliance with this Rule no later than February 7, 

2018. 

(e)  Emission Standards. The emission standards in this Rule shall 

apply to all CISWI units subject to this Rule except if 15A NCAC 

02D .0524, .1110, or .1111 applies. If Subparagraph (4) of this 

Paragraph and 15A NCAC 02D .0524, .1110, or .1111 regulate 

the same pollutant, the more restrictive provision for each 

pollutant shall apply, notwithstanding provisions of 15A NCAC 

02D .0524, .1110, or .1111 to the contrary. 

(1) CISWI units subject to this Rule, including 

bypass stacks or vents, must meet the emissions 

limits specified in Tables 6 through 9 of 40 CFR 

60 Subpart DDDD. The emission limitations 

shall apply at all times the unit is operating, 

including and not limited to startup, shutdown, 

or malfunction. 

(2) Units that do not use wet scrubbers shall 

maintain opacity to less than or equal to 10 

percent opacity using an averaging time of three 

1-hour blocks consisting of ten 6-minute 

average opacity values as measured by 40 CFR 

60 Appendix A-4 Test Method 9 pursuant to 

Table 2 of 40 CFR 60 Subpart DDDD. 

(3) Odorous Emissions. An incinerator subject to 

this Rule shall comply with 15A NCAC 02D 

.1806 for the control of odorous emissions. 

(4) Toxic Emissions. The owner or operator of a 

CISWI unit subject to this Rule shall 

demonstrate compliance with 15A NCAC 02D 

.1100 according to 15A NCAC 02Q .0700. 

(f)  Operational Standards. 

(1) The operational standards in this Rule shall not 

apply to any CISWI unit subject to this Rule if 

applicable operational standards in 15A NCAC 

02D .0524, .1110, or .1111 apply. 

(2) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall operate the CISWI unit 

according to the provisions in 40 CFR 60.2675.  

(3) If an air pollution control device other than a 

wet scrubber, activated carbon sorbent 

injection, selective non-catalytic reduction, 

fabric filter, electrostatic precipitator, or dry 

scrubber is used to comply with this Rule or if 

emissions are limited in some other manner, 

including mass balances, to comply with the 

emission standards of Subparagraph (e)(1) of 

this Rule, the owner or operator shall petition 

the EPA Administrator in accordance with the 

requirements in 40 CFR 60.2680 for specific 

operating limits that shall be established during 

the initial performance test and be continuously 

monitored thereafter. 

(g)  Test Methods and Procedures. 

(1) For the purposes of this Paragraph, 

"Administrator" in 40 CFR 60.8 means 

"Director." 

(2) The test methods and procedures described in 

15A NCAC 02D .2600, in Tables 6 through 9 

of 40 CFR 60 Subpart DDDD, in 40 CFR 

60.2670(b), and in 40 CFR 60.2690 shall be 

used to determine compliance with emission 

standards in Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule.  

(3) Compliance with the opacity limit in 

Subparagraph (e)(2) of this Rule shall be 

determined using 40 CFR 60 Appendix A-4 

Test Method 9. 

(h)  Initial Compliance Requirements. 

(1) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall demonstrate initial 

compliance with the emission limits in 

Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule and establish 

the operating standards in Paragraph (f) of this 

Rule according to the provisions in 40 

CFR 60.2700 through 40 CFR 60.2706. If an 

owner or operator commences or recommences 

combusting a solid waste at an existing 

combustion unit at any commercial or industrial 

facility, the owner or operator shall comply 

with the requirements of this Paragraph. 

(2) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall conduct an initial performance 

test pursuant to 40 CFR 60.2670, 40 CFR 
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60.2690, and Paragraph (g) of this Rule. The 

initial performance test shall be conducted no 

later than 180 days after February 7, 2018, or 

according to 40 CFR 60.2705(b) or (c). The use 

of the bypass stack during a performance test 

shall invalidate the performance test. The initial 

performance test shall be used to: 

(A) determine compliance with the 

emission standards in Subparagraph 

(e)(1) of this Rule; 

(B) establish compliance with opacity 

operating limits in 40 

CFR 60.2675(h); 

(C) establish the kiln-specific emission 

limit in 40 CFR 60.2710(y), as 

applicable; and 

(D) establish operating limits using the 

procedures in 40 CFR 60.2675 or 40 

CFR 60.2680 and in Paragraph (f) of 

this Rule. 

(3) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall also conduct: 

(A) a performance evaluation of each 

continuous emissions monitoring 

system (CEMS) or continuous 

monitoring system within 60 days of 

installation of the monitoring system; 

and 

(B) an initial air pollution control device 

inspection no later than 180 days after 

February 7, 2018, pursuant to 40 CFR 

60.2706. 

(i)  Continuous Compliance Requirements. 

(1) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall demonstrate continuous 

compliance with the emission limits in 

Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule and the 

operating standards in Paragraph (f) of this Rule 

according to the provisions in 40 CFR 60.2710 

through 40 CFR 60.2725. 

(2) If an existing CISWI unit that combusted a fuel 

or non-waste material commences or 

recommences combustion of solid waste, the 

owner or operator shall: 

(A) be subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 

60 Subpart DDDD on the first day 

solid waste is introduced or 

reintroduced into the combustion 

chamber, and this date constitutes the 

effective date of the fuel-to-waste 

switch; 

(B) complete all initial compliance 

demonstrations for any Section 112 

standards that are applicable to the 

facility before commencing or 

recommencing combustion of solid 

waste; and 

(C) provide 30 days prior notice of the 

effective date of the waste-to-fuel 

switch identifying the parameters 

listed in 40 CFR 60.2710(a)(4)(i) 

through (v). 

(3) Pursuant to 40 CFR 60.2710(v), the use of a 

bypass stack at any time shall be an emissions 

standards deviation for particulate matter, 

hydrogen chloride, lead, cadmium, mercury, 

nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide, and 

dioxin/furans. 

(4) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall conduct an annual 

performance test for the pollutants listed in 

Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule, including 

opacity and fugitive ash, to determine 

compliance with the emission standards in 40 

CFR 60 Subpart DDDD Tables 6 through 9. 

The annual performance test shall be conducted 

according to the provisions in Paragraph (g) of 

this Rule. Annual performance tests shall not be 

required if CEMS or continuous opacity 

monitoring systems are used to determine 

compliance. 

(5) The owner or operator shall continuously 

monitor the operating parameters established in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule and as specified in 40 

CFR 60.2710(c) and 40 CFR 60.2735. 

(6) The owner or operator of an energy recovery 

unit subject to this Rule shall only burn the 

same types of waste and fuels used to establish 

applicability to this Rule and to establish 

operating limits during the performance test. 

(7) The owner or operator shall comply with the 

monitoring system-specific, unit-specific, and 

pollutant-specific provisions pursuant to 40 

CFR 60.2710(e) through (j), (m) through (u), 

and (w) through (y). 

(8) The owner or operator shall conduct an annual 

inspection of air pollution control devices used 

to meet the emission limitations in this Rule, as 

specified in 40 CFR 60.2710(k). 

(9) The owner or operator shall develop and submit 

to the Director for approval a site-specific 

monitoring plan pursuant to the requirements in 

40 CFR 60.2710(l). This plan shall be 

submitted at least 60 days before the initial 

performance evaluation of a continuous 

monitoring system. The owner or operator shall 

conduct a performance evaluation of each 

continuous monitoring system in accordance 

with the site-specific monitoring plan. The 

owner or operator shall operate and maintain 

the continuous monitoring system in 

continuous operation according to the site-

specific monitoring plan. 

(10) The owner or operator shall meet all applicable 

monitoring system requirements specified in 40 

CFR 60.2710(m) through (u) and (w) through 

(y). 

(j)  Monitoring. 
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(1) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall comply with the monitoring 

requirements in 15A NCAC 02D .0600 and 40 

CFR 60.2730 through 60.2735. 

(2) For each continuous monitoring system 

required or optionally allowed pursuant to 40 

CFR 60.2730, the owner or operator shall 

monitor and collect data according to 40 CFR 

60.2735. 

(3) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall establish, install, calibrate to 

manufacturers specifications, maintain, and 

operate: 

(A) devices or methods for monitoring 

parameters used to determine 

compliance with the operating 

parameters established under 

Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule, as 

specified in 40 CFR 60.2730; 

(B) devices or methods necessary to 

monitor compliance with the site-

specific operating parameters 

established pursuant to Subparagraph 

(f)(3) of this Rule, as specified by 40 

CFR 60.2730(c). 

(4) To demonstrate continuous compliance with an 

emissions limit, a facility may substitute use of 

a CEMS, a continuous automated sampling 

system, or other device specified by 40 CFR 

60.2730 for conducting the annual emissions 

performance test and for monitoring 

compliance with operating parameters, as 

specified by 40 CFR 60.2730. 

(5) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule with a bypass stack shall install, 

calibrate to manufacturers' specifications, 

maintain, and operate a device or method for 

measuring the use of the bypass stack. including 

date, time, and duration. 

(6) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall conduct all monitoring at all 

times the CISWI unit is operating, except 

during: 

(A) monitoring system malfunctions and 

associated repairs specified in 40 CFR 

60.2735; 

(B) monitoring system out-of-control 

periods specified in 40 CFR 

60.2770(o); 

(C) required monitoring system quality 

assurance or quality control activities, 

including calibrations checks and 

required zero and span adjustments of 

the monitoring system; and 

(D) scheduled maintenance as defined in 

the site-specific monitoring plan 

required by Subparagraph (i)(9) of this 

Rule. 

(7) The data recorded during monitoring 

malfunctions, out-of-control periods, repairs 

associated with malfunctions or out-of-control 

periods, required quality assurance or quality 

control activities, and site-specific scheduled 

maintenance shall not be used in assessing 

compliance with the operating standards in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule. Owners and 

operators of a CISWI unit subject to this Rule 

shall use all the data collected during all other 

periods, including data normalized for above-

scale readings, in assessing the operation of the 

control device and the associated control 

system. 

(8) Owners or operators of a CISWI unit subject to 

this Rule shall perform monitoring system 

repairs in response to monitoring system 

malfunctions or out-of-control periods and 

return the monitoring system to operation as 

expeditiously as practicable. 

(9) Except for periods of monitoring system 

malfunctions or out-of-control periods, repairs 

associated with monitoring system 

malfunctions or out-of-control periods, and 

required monitoring system quality assurance 

or quality control activities, including, as 

applicable, calibration checks and required zero 

and span adjustments, failure to collect required 

monitoring data shall constitute a deviation 

from the monitoring requirements. 

(k)  Deviations, Malfunctions, and Out of Control Periods. 

(1) Owners and operators of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall report all deviations as defined 

in 40 CFR 60.2875 including the following: 

(A) a deviation from operating limits in 

Table 3 of 40 CFR 60 Subpart DDDD 

or a deviation from other operating 

limits established pursuant to 

Paragraph (f), 40 CFR 60.2675(c) 

through (g), or 40 CFR 60.2680, 

including any recorded 3-hour average 

parameter level that is above the 

established maximum operating limit 

or below the established minimum 

operating limit; 

(B) a deviation from the emission 

limitations established pursuant to 

Tables 6 through 9 of 40 CFR 60 

Subpart DDDD that is detected 

through monitoring or during a 

performance test; 

(C) a deviation from the CISWI operator 

qualification and accessibility 

requirements established pursuant to 

40 CFR 60.2635; or 

(D) a deviation from any term or condition 

included in the operating permit of the 

CISWI unit. 
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(2) Owners and operators of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall submit all required deviation 

reports as specified by Paragraph (l) of this 

Rule. The deviation report shall be submitted by 

August 1 of the year for data collected during 

the first half of the calendar year (January 1 to 

June 30), and by February 1 of the following 

year for data collected during the second half of 

the calendar year (July 1 to December 31). In 

addition, the owner and operator shall report the 

deviation in the annual report specified by 

Paragraph (l) of this Rule. 

(3) Owners and operators of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall report all malfunctions, as 

defined in 40 CFR 60.2875, in the annual report 

specified by Paragraph (j) and Paragraph (l) of 

this Rule. 

(4) Owners and operators of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall report all periods during which 

a continuous monitoring system, including a 

CEMS, was out of control in the annual report 

specified by Paragraph (j) and Paragraph (l) of 

this Rule. 

(l)  Recordkeeping and Reporting. 

(1) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall maintain records required by 

this Rule on site for a period of five years in 

either paper copy, electronic format that can be 

printed upon request, or an alternate format that 

has been approved by the Director. 

(2) Combustion units that are exempt units 

pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be 

subject to the recordkeeping and reporting 

requirements in 40 CFR 60.2740(u) through 40 

CFR 60.2740(w). 

(3) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall maintain all records required 

by 40 CFR 60.2740 through 60.2800. 

(4) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall submit the following reports 

with the required information and by the 

required due dates specified in Table 5 of 40 

CFR 60, Subpart DDDD: 

(A) the waste management plan specified 

in 40 CFR 60.2755; 

(B) the initial test report specified in 40 

CFR 60.2760; 

(C) the annual report specified in 40 CFR 

60.2765 and 60.2770; 

(D) the emission limitation or operating 

limit deviation report specified in 40 

CFR 60.2775 and 60.2780; 

(E) the qualified operator deviation 

notification specified in 40 CFR 

60.2785(a)(1); 

(F) the qualified operator deviation status 

report, specified in 40 CFR 

60.2785(a)(2); 

(G) the qualified operator deviation 

notification of resuming operation 

specified in 40 CFR 60.2785(b). 

(5) The owner or operator shall maintain CISWI 

unit operator records specified by 40 CFR 

60.2660, 60.2665, and 60.2740(g) through (i). 

If the CISWI unit has been shut down by the 

Director pursuant to 40 CFR 60.2665(b)(2) due 

to failure to provide an accessible qualified 

operator, the owner or operator shall notify the 

Director that the operations have resumed after 

a qualified operator is accessible. 

(6) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule may request changing semiannual 

or annual reporting dates specified in this 

Paragraph, and the Director shall review the 

requested change using the procedures 

specified in 40 CFR 60.19(c). 

(7) Reports shall be submitted to US EPA as 

specified in 40 CFR 60.2795. 

(A) The owner or operator of the CISWI 

unit shall submit initial, annual, and 

deviation reports electronically on or 

before the submittal due dates 

specified in 40 CFR 60.2795(a) via the 

Compliance and Emissions Data 

Reporting Interface (CEDRI), which 

can be accessed through the EPA's 

Central Data Exchange (CDX) 

(https://cdx.epa.gov/). Reports 

required pursuant to this Rule shall be 

submitted electronically or in paper 

format and postmarked on or before 

the submittal due dates. 

(B) The owner or operator shall submit 

results of each performance test and 

CEMS performance evaluation within 

60 days of the test or evaluation 

following the procedure specified in 

40 CFR 60.2795(b). 

(i) For data collected using test 

methods supported by the 

EPA's Electronic Reporting 

Tool (ERT) listed on the 

EPA's ERT Web site 

(https://www3.epa.gov/ttn/c

hief/ert/ert_info.html) at the 

time of the test, the owner or 

operator shall submit the 

results of the performance 

test to the EPA via the 

CEDRI. 

(ii) For data collected using test 

methods that are not 

supported by the EPA's ERT 

listed on the EPA's ERT Web 

site at the time of the test, the 

owner or operator shall 

submit the results of the 
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performance test to the 

Director. 

(m)  Operator Training and Certification. 

(1) The owner or operator of the CISWI unit 

subject to this Rule shall not allow the CISWI 

unit to operate at any time unless a fully trained 

and qualified CISWI unit operator is present at 

the facility or can be present at the facility 

within one hour. The trained and qualified 

CISWI unit operator may operate the CISWI 

unit directly or be the direct supervisor of one 

or more plant personnel who operate the unit. 

(2) Operator training and qualification shall be 

obtained by completing the requirements of 40 

CFR 60.2635(c) by the later of: 

(A) six months after CISWI unit startup;  

(B) six months after an employee assumes 

responsibility for operating the CISWI 

unit or assumes responsibility for 

supervising the operation of the 

CISWI unit; or 

(C) February 7, 2018. 

(3) Operator qualification shall be valid from the 

date on which the training course is completed 

and the operator passes the examination 

required by 40 CFR 60.2635(c)(2). 

(4) Operator qualification shall be maintained by 

completing an annual review or refresher 

course covering, at a minimum, the topics 

specified in 40 CFR 60.2650(a) through (e). 

(5) Lapsed operator qualification shall be renewed 

by: 

(A) completing a standard annual refresher 

course as specified in Subparagraph 

(4) of this Paragraph for a lapse less 

than three years; or 

(B) repeating the initial qualification 

requirements as specified in 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph for 

a lapse of three years or more. 

(6) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall: 

(A) have documentation specified in 40 

CFR 60.2660(a)(1) through (10) and 

(c)(1) through (c)(3) available at the 

facility, accessible for all CISWI unit 

operators, and suitable for inspection 

upon request; 

(B) establish a program for reviewing the 

documentation specified in Part (A) of 

this Subparagraph with each CISWI 

unit operator. The initial review of the 

documentation specified in Part (A) of 

this Subparagraph shall be conducted 

no later than February 7, 2018, or no 

later than six months after an 

employee assumes responsibility for 

operating the CISWI unit or assumes 

responsibility for supervising the 

operation of the CISWI unit; and 

(C) conduct subsequent annual reviews of 

the documentation specified in Part 

(A) of this Subparagraph no later than 

twelve months following the previous 

review. 

(7) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall meet one of the two criteria 

specified in 40 CFR 60.2665(a) and (b), if all 

qualified operators are temporarily not at the 

facility and not able to be at the facility within 

one hour. 

(n)  Prohibited waste. The owner or operator of a CISWI subject 

to this Rule shall not incinerate any of the wastes listed in G.S. 

130A-309.10(f1). 

(o)  Waste Management Plan. 

(1) The owner or operator of a CISWI unit subject 

to this Rule shall submit a written waste 

management plan to the Director that identifies 

the feasibility and the methods used to reduce 

or separate components of solid waste from the 

waste stream in order to reduce or eliminate 

toxic emissions from incinerated waste. 

(2) The waste management plan shall include: 

(A) consideration of the reduction or 

separation of waste-stream elements 

such as paper, cardboard, plastics, 

glass, batteries, or metals and the use 

of recyclable materials; 

(B) a description of how the materials 

listed in G.S. 130A-309.10(f1) are to 

be segregated from the waste stream 

for recycling or proper disposal; 

(C) identification of any additional waste 

management measures; and 

(D) implementation of those measures 

considered practical and feasible 

based on the effectiveness of waste 

management measures already in 

place, the costs of additional 

measures, the emissions reductions 

expected to be achieved, and the 

environmental or energy impacts that 

the measures may have. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4),(5); 40 CFR 60.215(a)(4); 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; January 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1211 OTHER SOLID WASTE 

INCINERATION UNITS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4), (5), (10); 40 CFR 60.3014 

through 60.3020; 

Eff. August 1, 2007; 
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Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1212 SMALL MUNICIPAL WASTE 

COMBUSTORS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(3),(4),(5); 40 CFR 60.35b; 40 CFR 60.34e; 40 CFR 

60.1515; 

Eff. July 1, 2010; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0701 APPLICABILITY 

Except as set forth in 15A NCAC 02Q .0702, no person shall 

cause or allow any toxic air pollutant named in 15A NCAC 02D 

.1104 to be emitted from any facility into the atmosphere at a rate 

that exceeds the applicable rate(s) in 15A NCAC 02Q .0711 

without having received a permit to emit toxic air pollutants as 

follows: 

(1) new facilities pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0704; or 

(2) modifications pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0706. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107; 

143-215.108; 143B-282; 

Rule originally codified as part of 15A NCAC 2H .0610; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; July 10, 2010; February 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0702 EXEMPTIONS 

(a)  A permit to emit toxic air pollutants shall not be required 

pursuant to this Section for: 

(1) residential wood stoves, heaters, or fireplaces; 

(2) water heaters that are used for domestic 

purposes only and are not used to heat process 

water; 

(3) maintenance, structural changes, or repairs the 

do not change capacity of that process, fuel-

burning, refuse-burning, or control equipment 

and do not involve any change in quality or 

nature or increase in quantity of emission of any 

regulated air pollutant or toxic air pollutant; 

(4) housekeeping activities or building 

maintenance procedures, including painting 

buildings, resurfacing floors, roof repair, 

washing, cleaning with portable vacuum 

cleaners, sweeping, use and associated storage 

of janitorial products, or non-asbestos-bearing 

insulation removal; 

(5) use of office supplies, supplies to maintain 

copying equipment, or blueprint machines; 

(6) paving parking lots; 

(7) replacement of existing equipment with 

equipment of the same size, type, and function 

if the new equipment: 

(A) does not result in an increase to the 

actual or potential emissions of any 

regulated air pollutant or toxic air 

pollutant; 

(B) does not affect compliance status; and 

(C) fits the description of the existing 

equipment in the permit, including the 

application, such that the replacement 

equipment can be operated pursuant to 

that permit without any changes to the 

permit; 

(8) comfort air conditioning or comfort ventilation 

systems that do not transport, remove, or 

exhaust regulated air pollutants to the 

atmosphere; 

(9) equipment used for the preparation of food for 

direct on-site human consumption; 

(10) non-self-propelled non-road engines regulated 

by rules adopted by the Environmental 

Protection Agency pursuant to Title II of the 

federal Clean Air Act, except generators; 

(11) stacks or vents to prevent escape of sewer gases 

from domestic waste through plumbing traps; 

(12) use of fire-fighting equipment; 

(13) the use for agricultural operations by a farmer 

of fertilizers, pesticides, or other agricultural 

chemicals containing one or more of the 

compounds listed in 15A NCAC 02D .1104 if 

such compounds are applied according to 

agronomic practices for agricultural operations 

acceptable to the North Carolina Department of 

Agriculture; 

(14) asbestos demolition and renovation projects 

that comply with 15A NCAC 02D .1110 and 

that are being done by persons accredited by the 

Department of Health and Human Services 

pursuant to the Asbestos Hazard Emergency 

Response Act; 

(15) incinerators used only to dispose of dead 

animals or poultry as identified in 15A NCAC 

02D .1201(b)(4) or incinerators used only to 

dispose of dead pets as identified in 15A NCAC 

02D .1208(a)(2)(A); 

(16) refrigeration equipment that is consistent with 

Section 601 through 618 of Title VI 

(Stratospheric Ozone Protection) of the federal 

Clean Air Act, 40 CFR Part 82, and any other 

regulations promulgated by EPA pursuant to 

Title VI for stratospheric ozone protection, 

except those units used as or with air pollution 

control equipment; 

(17) laboratory activities: 

(A) bench-scale, on-site equipment used 

exclusively for chemical or physical 

analysis for quality control purposes, 

staff instruction, water or wastewater 

analyses, or non-production 

environmental compliance 

assessments; 

(B) bench scale experimentation, 

chemical or physical analyses, or 
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training or instruction from nonprofit, 

non-production educational 

laboratories; 

(C) bench scale experimentation, 

chemical or physical analyses, or 

training or instruction from hospital or 

health laboratories pursuant to the 

determination or diagnoses of 

illnesses; and 

(D) research and development laboratory 

activities that are not required to be 

permitted pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0500, provided the activity produces 

no commercial product or feedstock 

material; 

(18) combustion sources as defined in 15A NCAC 

02Q .0703, except new or modified combustion 

sources permitted on or after July 10, 2010;  

(19) storage tanks used only to store: 

(A) inorganic liquids with a true vapor 

pressure less than 1.5 pounds per 

square inch absolute; 

(B) fuel oils, kerosene, diesel, crude oil, 

used motor oil, lubricants, cooling 

oils, natural gas, liquefied petroleum 

gas, or petroleum products with a true 

vapor pressure less than 1.5 pounds 

per square inch absolute; 

(20) dispensing equipment used solely to dispense 

diesel fuel, kerosene, lubricants, or cooling oils; 

(21) portable solvent distillation systems that are 

used for on-site solvent recycling if: 

(A) the portable solvent distillation system 

is not owned by the facility; 

(B) the portable solvent distillation system 

is not operated for more than seven 

consecutive days; and 

(C) the material recycled is recycled at the 

site of origin; 

(22) processes: 

(A) electric motor burn-out ovens with 

secondary combustion chambers or 

afterburners; 

(B) electric motor bake-on ovens; 

(C) burn-off ovens for paint-line hangers 

with afterburners; 

(D) hosiery knitting machines and 

associated lint screens, hosiery dryers 

and associated lint screens, and 

hosiery dyeing processes in which 

bleach or solvent dyes are not used; 

(E) blade wood planers planing only green 

wood; and 

(F) saw mills that saw no more than 

2,000,000 board feet per year, 

provided only green wood is sawed; 

(23) wood furniture manufacturing operations as 

defined in 40 CFR 63.801(a) that comply with 

the emission limitations and other requirements 

of 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart JJ, provided that the 

terms of this exclusion shall not affect the 

authority of the Director pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0712; 

(24) wastewater treatment systems at pulp and paper 

mills for hydrogen sulfide and methyl 

mercaptan only; 

(25) natural gas and propane fired external 

combustion sources with an aggregate 

allowable heat input value less than 450 million 

Btu per hour that are the only source of benzene 

at a facility; 

(26) internal combustion sources that are either of 

the following: 

(A) emergency engines with an aggregate 

total horsepower less than 4843 

horsepower that are the only source of 

formaldehyde at a facility; or 

(B) stationary combustion turbines with 

an aggregate allowable heat input 

value less than 56 million Btu per hour 

that are the only source of 

formaldehyde at a facility; 

(27) an air emission source that is any of the 

following: 

(A) subject to an applicable requirement 

pursuant to 40 CFR Part 61, as 

amended; 

(B) an affected source pursuant to 40 CFR 

Part 63, as amended; or 

(C) subject to a case-by-case MACT 

permit requirement issued by the 

Division pursuant to Paragraph (j) of 

42 U.S.C. Section 7412, as amended; 

(28) gasoline-dispensing facilities or gasoline 

service station operations that comply with 15A 

NCAC 02D .0928 and .0932 and that receive 

gasoline from bulk gasoline plants or bulk 

gasoline terminals that comply with 15A 

NCAC 02D .0524, .0925, .0926, .0927, .0932, 

and .0933 via tank trucks that comply with 15A 

NCAC 02D .0932; 

(29) the use of ethylene oxide as a sterilant in the 

production and subsequent storage of medical 

devices or the packaging and subsequent 

storage of medical devices for sale if the 

emissions from all new and existing sources at 

a facility described in 15A NCAC 02D .0538(d) 

are controlled to the degree described in 15A 

NCAC 02D .0538(d) and the facility complies 

with 15A NCAC 02D .0538(e) and (f); 

(30) bulk gasoline plants, including the storage and 

handling of fuel oils, kerosenes, and jet fuels 

but excluding the storage and handling of other 

organic liquids, that comply with 15A NCAC 

02D .0524, .0925, .0926, .0932, and .0933 

unless the Director finds that a permit to emit 

toxic air pollutants is required under Paragraph 
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(b) of this Rule or 15A NCAC 02Q .0712 for a 

particular bulk gasoline plant; or 

(31) bulk gasoline terminals, including the storage 

and handling of fuel oils, kerosenes, and jet 

fuels but excluding the storage and handling of 

other organic liquids, that comply with 15A 

NCAC 02D .0524, .0925, .0927, .0932, and 

.0933 if the bulk gasoline terminal existed 

before November 1, 1992, unless: 

(A) a permit to emit toxic air pollutants is 

required under Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule or 15A NCAC 02Q .0712 for a 

particular bulk gasoline terminal; or 

(B) the owner or operator of the bulk 

gasoline terminal meets the 

requirements of 15A NCAC 02D 

.0927(i). 

(b)  Emissions from the activities identified in Subparagraphs 

(a)(28) through (a)(31) of this Rule shall be considered in 

determining compliance with the toxic air pollutant requirements 

of this Section and shall be addressed in the permit if necessary to 

assure compliance. Emissions from the activities identified in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(27) of this Rule shall not be 

considered in determining compliance with the toxic air pollutant 

requirements in this Section if the terms of this exclusion will not 

affect the authority of the Director pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0712. 

(c)  The addition or modification of an activity identified in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall not cause the source or facility to 

be evaluated for emissions of toxic air pollutants. 

(d)  A source that is exempt from being permitted under this 

Section shall not be exempt from any applicable requirement 

other than those pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0700 and 02D 

.1100. Additionally, the owner or operator of the source shall not 

be exempt from demonstrating compliance with any applicable 

requirement other than those exempt pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0700 and 02D .1100. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107; 

143-215.108; 143B-282; 

Rule originally codified as part of 15A NCAC 02H .0610; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; July 10, 2010; April 1, 2005; July 1, 

2002; July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0703 DEFINITIONS 

For the purposes of this Section, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Actual rate of emissions" means: 

(a) for existing sources: 

(i) for toxic air pollutants with 

an annual averaging period, 

the average rate or rates at 

which the source emitted the 

pollutant during the two-year 

period preceding the date of 

the particular modification 

and that represents the 

normal operation of the 

source. If this period does not 

represent the normal 

operation, the Director may 

allow the use of a different, 

more representative, period. 

(ii) for toxic air pollutants with a 

24-hour or one-hour 

averaging period, the 

maximum actual emission 

rate at which the source 

emitted the pollutant for the 

applicable averaging period 

during the two-year period 

preceding the date of the 

particular modification and 

that represents normal 

operation of the source. If 

this period does not represent 

normal operation, the 

Director may require or allow 

the use of a different, more 

representative, period. 

(b) for new or modified sources, the 

average rate or rates, determined for 

the applicable averaging periods, that 

the proposed source will emit the 

pollutant as determined by 

engineering evaluation. 

(2) "Applicable averaging period" means the 

averaging period for which an acceptable 

ambient limit has been established by the 

Commission in 15A NCAC 02D .1104, 

including the provisions in 15A NCAC 02D 

.1106(d). 

(3) "Bioavailable chromate pigments" means the 

group of chromium (VI) compounds consisting 

of calcium chromate (CAS No.13765-19-0), 

calcium dichromate (CAS No. 14307-33-6), 

strontium chromate (CAS No. 7789-06-2), 

strontium dichromate (CAS No. 7789-06-2), 

zinc chromate (CAS No. 13530-65-9), and zinc 

dichromate (CAS No. 7789-12-0). 

(4) "CAS Number" means the Chemical Abstract 

Service registry number identifying a particular 

substance. 

(5) "Chromium (VI) equivalent" means the 

molecular weight ratio of the chromium (VI) 

portion of a compound to the total molecular 

weight of the compound multiplied by the 

associated compound emission rate or 

concentration at the facility. 

(6) "Combustion sources" means boilers, space 

heaters, process heaters, internal combustion 

engines, and combustion turbines that combust 

wood, unadulterated fossil fuels, or non-

hazardous secondary materials that are not solid 

wastes pursuant to 40 CFR Part 241. It does not 

include incinerators, waste combustors, kilns, 
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dryers, or direct heat exchange industrial 

processes. 

(7) "Creditable emissions" means emission 

decreases that have not been previously relied 

on to comply with Subchapter 15A NCAC 02D 

as part of a permit condition. 

(8) "Cresol" means o-cresol, p-cresol, m-cresol, or 

any combination of these compounds. 

(9) "Evaluation" means: 

(a) a determination that the emissions 

from the facility, including emissions 

from sources exempted by 15A NCAC 

02Q .0702(a)(28) through (31), are 

less than the rate listed in 15A NCAC 

02Q .0711; or 

(b) a determination of ambient air 

concentrations as described pursuant 

to 15A NCAC 02D .1106, including 

emissions from sources exempted by 

15A NCAC 02Q .0702(a)(28) through 

(31). 

(10) "GACT" means a generally available control 

technology emission standard applied to an area 

source or facility pursuant to Section 112 of the 

federal Clean Air Act. 

(11) "Hexane isomers except n-hexane" means 2-

methyl pentane, 3-methyl pentane, 2,2-

dimethyl butane, 2,3-dimethyl butane, or any 

combination of these compounds. 

(12) "MACT" means a maximum achievable control 

technology emission standard applied to a 

source or facility pursuant to Section 112 

federal Clean Air Act. 

(13) "Maximum feasible control" means the 

maximum degree of reduction for each 

pollutant subject to regulation under this 

Section using the best technology that is 

available taking into account, on a case-by-case 

basis, human health, energy, environmental, 

and economic impacts and other costs. 

(14) "Modification" means a physical changes or 

changes in the methods of operation that result 

in a net increase in emissions or ambient 

concentration of a pollutant listed in 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0711 or that result in the emission 

of any pollutant listed in 15A NCAC 02Q .0711 

not previously emitted. 

(15) "Net increase in emissions" for a modification 

means the sum of all increases in permitted 

allowable and decreases in the actual rates of 

emissions from the proposed modification from 

the sources at the facility for which the air 

permit application is being filed. If the net 

increase in emissions from the proposed 

modification is greater than zero, all other 

increases in permitted allowable and decreases 

in the actual rates of emissions at the facility 

within the five years immediately preceding the 

filing of the air permit application for the 

proposed modification that are otherwise 

creditable emissions may be included. 

(16) "Nickel, soluble compounds" means the soluble 

nickel salts of chloride (NiCl2, CAS No. 7718-

54-9), sulfate (NiSO4, CAS No. 7786-81-4), 

and nitrate (Ni(NO3)2, CAS No. 13138-45-9). 

(17) "Non-specific chromium (VI) compounds" 

means the group of compounds consisting of 

any chromium (VI) compounds not specified in 

this Section as a bioavailable chromate pigment 

or a soluble chromate compound. 

(18) "Polychlorinated biphenyls" means any 

chlorinated biphenyl compound or mixture of 

chlorinated biphenyl compounds. 

(19) "Pollution prevention plan" means a written 

description of current and projected plans to 

reduce, prevent, or minimize the generation of 

pollutants by source reduction and recycling 

and includes a site-wide assessment of pollution 

prevention opportunities at a facility that 

addresses sources of air pollution, water 

pollution, and solid and hazardous waste 

generation. 

(20) "Soluble chromate compounds" means the 

group of chromium (VI) compounds consisting 

of ammonium chromate (CAS No. 7788-98-9), 

ammonium dichromate (CAS No. 7789-09-5), 

chromic acid (CAS No. 7738-94-5), potassium 

chromate (CAS No. 7789-00-6), potassium 

dichromate (CAS No. 7778-50-9), sodium 

chromate (CAS No. 7775-11-3), and sodium 

dichromate (CAS No. 10588-01-9). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107; 

143-215.108; 143B-282; 

Rule originally codified as part of 15A NCAC 02H .0610; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0704 NEW FACILITIES 

(a)  This Rule shall apply only to new facilities. 

(b)  The owner or operator of a facility that is required to have a 

permit pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 or .0500 and is subject 

to a Section in 15A NCAC 02D, other than 15A NCAC 02D 

.1100, shall receive a permit to emit toxic air pollutants before 

beginning construction and shall comply with the permit when 

beginning operation. This Rule shall not apply to facilities whose 

emissions of toxic air pollutants result only from sources 

exempted pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0102. 

(c)  The owner or operator of the facility shall submit a permit 

application to comply with 15A NCAC 02D .1100 if emissions of 

any toxic air pollutant, excluding sources exempt from evaluation 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0702, exceed the levels set forth in 

15A NCAC 02Q .0711. Sources meeting the exemption set forth 

in 15A NCAC 02Q .0702(a)(27) shall be reviewed by the Division 

pursuant to G.S. 143-215.107(a)(5)b. 

(d)  A permit application filed pursuant to this Rule shall include 

an evaluation for all toxic air pollutants. All sources at the facility, 
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excluding sources exempt from evaluation pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0702, emitting these toxic air pollutants shall be 

included in the evaluation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107; 

143-215.108; 143B-282; 

Rule originally codified as part of 15A NCAC 2H .0610; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0706 MODIFICATIONS 

(a)  The owner or operator shall comply with Paragraphs (b) and 

(c) of this Rule for a modification that is subject to a Section in 

15A NCAC 02D other than 15A NCAC 02D .1100 and that: 

(1) requires a permit pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0300; or 

(2) occurs at a facility with a permit pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02Q .0500 and emits a pollutant 

that is part of the facility's previous modeling 

demonstration conducted pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1104 and 15A NCAC 02Q .0709, 

if that modification is not exempted pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02Q .0702. 

This Rule shall not apply to facilities whose emissions of toxic air 

pollutants result only from insignificant activities, as defined in 

15A NCAC 02Q .0103(20), or result only from sources exempted 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0102. 

(b)  The owner or operator of the facility shall submit a permit 

application to that complies with 15A NCAC 02D .1100 if the 

modification results in: 

(1) a net increase in emissions or ambient 

concentration as previously determined 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1106 and  15A 

NCAC 02Q .0709 of any toxic air pollutant that 

the facility was emitting before the 

modification; or 

(2) emissions of any toxic air pollutant that the 

facility was not emitting before the 

modification if such emissions exceed the 

levels set forth in 15A NCAC 02Q .0711. 

(c)  The permit application filed pursuant to this Rule shall include 

an evaluation for all toxic air pollutants identified pursuant to 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule.  

All sources at the facility, excluding sources exempt from 

evaluation pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0702, emitting these 

toxic air pollutants shall be included in the evaluation. Sources 

meeting the exemption set forth in 15A NCAC 02Q .0702(a)(27) 

shall be reviewed by the Division pursuant to G.S. 143-

215.107(a)(5)b. 

(d)  If a source is included in an air toxic evaluation but is not the 

source that is being added or modified at the facility, and if the 

emissions from this source must be reduced in order for the 

facility to comply with the rules in this Section and 15A NCAC 

02D .1100, the emissions from this source shall be reduced by the 

time the new or modified source begins operating such that the 

facility shall be in compliance with the rules of this Section and 

15A NCAC 02D .1100. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107; 

143-215.108; 143B-282; 

Rule originally codified as part of 15A NCAC 2H .0610; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; July 10, 2010; December 1, 2005; 

April 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0707 PREVIOUSLY PERMITTED 

FACILITIES 

A facility with a permit that contains a restriction based on the 

evaluation of a source exempted pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0702 may request a permit modification to adjust the restriction 

by removing from consideration the portion of emissions resulting 

from the exempt source unless the removal of the exempt source 

will result in an acceptable ambient level in 15A NCAC 02D 

.1104 being exceeded. The Director shall modify the permit to 

remove the applicability of the air toxic rules to the exempt 

source. No fee shall be charged solely for such a permit 

modification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.108; 

143B-282; S.L. 1989, c. 168, s. 45; 

Rule originally codified as part of 15A NCAC 2H .0610; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0708 COMPLIANCE SCHEDULE FOR 

PREVIOUSLY UNKNOWN TOXIC AIR POLLUTANT 

EMISSIONS 

(a)  The owner or operator of a facility permitted to emit toxic air 

pollutants shall submit a permit application within six months 

after the owner or operator learns of an emission of a previously 

unknown toxic air pollutant from a source at the facility that 

would have been included in the permit when it was issued. The 

application shall include the information required by Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule. 

(b)  When an application to revise a permit is submitted under this 

Rule, the owner or operator shall in addition to the application, 

submit to the Director: 

(1) an evaluation for the pollutant required by this 

Section and 15 NCAC 02D .1100 that 

demonstrates compliance with the acceptable 

ambient level set forth in 15A NCAC 02D 

.1104; or 

(2) a compliance schedule containing the 

information required by Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule for the proposed modifications to the 

facility, required to assure compliance with the 

acceptable ambient level pursuant to this 

Section and Section 15A NCAC 02Q .1100. 

(c)  The compliance schedule required under Subparagraph (b)(2) 

of this Rule shall contain the following increments of progress, as 

applicable: 

(1) a date by which contracts for emission control 

and process equipment will be awarded or 

orders will be issued for the purchase of 

component parts; 
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(2) a date by which on-site construction or 

installation of the emission control and process 

equipment will begin; 

(3) a date by which on-site construction or 

installation of the emission control and process 

equipment will be completed; and 

(4) the date by which final compliance will be 

achieved. 

(d)  Final compliance shall be achieved no later than: 

(1) six months after the permit modification or 

renewal was issued if construction or 

installation of emission control or process 

equipment was not required; 

(2) one year after the permit modification or 

renewal was issued if construction or 

installation of emission control or process 

equipment is required; or 

(3) the time that was normally required to construct 

a stack or install other dispersion enhancement 

modifications but not more than one year after 

the permit modification or renewal was issued. 

(e)  The owner or operator shall certify to the Director, within 10 

days after each applicable deadline for each increment of progress 

required in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, whether the required 

increment of progress has been met. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(3),(5); 143B-282; S.L. 1989, c. 168, s. 45; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0709 DEMONSTRATIONS 

(a)  Demonstrations. The owner or operator of a source that is 

applying for a permit or permit modification to emit toxic air 

pollutants shall: 

(1) demonstrate to the Director through dispersion 

modeling conducted pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02D .1106 that the emissions of toxic air 

pollutants from the facility will not cause any 

acceptable ambient level listed in 15A NCAC 

02D .1104 to be exceeded beyond the facility's 

premises with such exceptions as may be 

allowed pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0700; or 

(2) demonstrate to the Commission or its delegate 

that the ambient concentration beyond the 

premises (adjacent property boundary) for the 

subject toxic air pollutant will not adversely 

affect human health (e.g., with a risk 

assessment specific to the facility) though the 

concentration is higher than the acceptable 

ambient level in 15A NCAC 02D .1104 by 

providing one of the following demonstrations: 

(A) the area where the ambient 

concentrations are expected to exceed 

the acceptable ambient levels in 15A 

NCAC 02D .1104 is not inhabitable or 

occupied for the duration of the 

averaging time of the pollutant of 

concern; or 

(B) new toxicological data that show that 

the acceptable ambient level in 15A 

NCAC 02D .1104 for the pollutant of 

concern is too low and the facility's 

ambient impact is below the level 

indicated by the new toxicological 

data. 

(b)  Technical Infeasibility and Economic Hardship. This 

Paragraph shall not apply to any incinerator governed by 15A 

NCAC 02D .1200. The owner or operator of any source 

constructed before May 1, 1990, or a combustion source as 

defined in 15A NCAC 02Q .0703 permitted before July 10, 2010, 

that cannot supply a demonstration described in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule shall: 

(1) demonstrate to the Commission or its delegate 

that complying with the guidelines in 15A 

NCAC 02D .1104 is technically infeasible, 

because the technology necessary to reduce 

emissions to a level to prevent the acceptable 

ambient levels in 15A NCAC 02D .1104 from 

being exceeded does not exist; or 

(2) demonstrate to the Commission or its delegate 

that complying with the guidelines in 15A 

NCAC 02D .1104 would result in serious 

economic hardship. In deciding if a serious 

economic hardship exists, the Commission or 

its delegate shall consider market impact; 

impacts on local, regional, and state economy; 

risk of closure; capital cost of compliance; 

annual incremental compliance cost; and 

environmental and health impacts. 

If the owner or operator makes a demonstration pursuant to 

Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this Paragraph, the Director shall 

require the owner or operator of the source to apply maximum 

feasible control. Maximum feasible control shall be in place and 

operating within three years from the date that the permit is issued 

for the maximum feasible control. 

(c)  Pollution Prevention Plan. The owner or operator of any 

facility using the provisions of Part (a)(2)(A) or Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule shall develop and implement a pollution prevention plan 

consisting of the following elements: 

(1) a statement of corporate and facility 

commitment to pollution prevention; 

(2) an identification of current and past pollution 

prevention activities; 

(3) a timeline and strategy for implementation; 

(4) a description of ongoing and planned employee 

education efforts; and 

(5) an identification of internal pollution 

prevention goals selected by the facility and 

expressed in either qualitative or quantitative 

terms. 

The facility shall submit the plan along with the permit 

application. The plan shall be maintained on site. A progress 

report on implementation of the plan shall be prepared by the 

facility annually and be made available to Division personnel for 

review upon request. 

(d)  Modeling Demonstration. If the owner or operator of a facility 

demonstrates by modeling that no toxic air pollutant emitted from 
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the facility exceeds the acceptable ambient level values set out in 

15A NCAC 02D .1104 beyond the facility's premises, further 

modeling demonstration shall not be required with the permit 

application. However, the Commission may still require more 

stringent emission levels based on its analysis pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1107. 

(e)  Change in Acceptable Ambient Level. When an acceptable 

ambient level for a toxic air pollutant in 15A NCAC 02D .1104 is 

changed, any condition that has previously been put in a permit to 

ensure compliance with the previous acceptable ambient level for 

that toxic air pollutant shall not be changed until: 

(1) The permit is renewed, at which time the owner 

or operator of the facility shall submit an air 

toxic evaluation, excluding sources exempt 

from evaluation in 15A NCAC 02Q .0702, 

showing that the new acceptable ambient level 

will not be exceeded. If additional time is 

needed to bring the facility into compliance 

with the new acceptable ambient level, the 

owner or operator shall negotiate a compliance 

schedule with the Director to protect public 

health as demonstrated pursuant to this Rule. 

The compliance schedule shall be written into 

the facility's permit and final compliance shall 

not exceed two years from the effective date of 

the change in the acceptable ambient level; or 

(2) The owner or operator of the facility requests 

that the condition be changed and submits along 

with that request an air toxic evaluation, 

excluding sources exempt from evaluation in 

15A NCAC 02Q .0702, showing that the new 

acceptable ambient level shall not be exceeded. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107; 

143-215.108; 143B-282; 

Rule originally codified as part of 15A NCAC 2H .0610; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; July 10, 2010; February 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0710 PUBLIC NOTICE AND 

OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC HEARING 

(a)  If the owner or operator of a facility chooses to make a 

demonstration pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0709(a)(2) or (b), the 

Commission or its delegate shall approve or disapprove the permit 

after a public notice with an opportunity for a public hearing. 

(b)  The public notice shall be given by publication in a newspaper 

of general circulation in the area where the facility is located and 

shall be mailed to persons who are on the Division's mailing list 

for air quality permit notices. 

(c)  The public notice shall identify: 

(1) the affected facility; 

(2) the name and address of the permittee; 

(3) the name and address of the person to whom to 

send comments and requests for public hearing; 

(4) the name, address, and telephone number of a 

Divisional staff person from whom interested 

persons may obtain additional information, 

including copies of the draft permit, the 

application, compliance plan, pollution 

prevention plan, monitoring and compliance 

reports, all other relevant supporting materials, 

and all other materials available to the Division 

that are relevant to the permit decision; 

(5) the activity or activities involved in the permit 

action; 

(6) emissions change involved in the proposed 

permit modification; 

(7) a brief description of the public comment 

procedures; 

(8) the procedures to follow to request a public 

hearing unless a public hearing has already 

been scheduled; and 

(9) the time and place of a hearing that has already 

been scheduled. 

(d)  The notice shall allow at least 30 days for public comments. 

(e)  If the Director determines that significant public interest exists 

or that the public interest will be served, the Director shall require 

a public hearing to be held on a draft permit. Notice of a public 

hearing shall be given at least 30 days before the public hearing. 

(f)  The Director shall make available for public inspection, in at 

least one location in the region affected, the information submitted 

by the permit applicant and the Division's analysis of that 

application. 

(g)  Any persons requesting copies of material identified in 

Subparagraph (c)(4) of this Rule shall pay ten cents ($0.10) per 

page for each page copied. Confidential material shall be handled 

in accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q .0107. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.108; 

143B-282; S.L. 1989, c. 168, s. 45; 

Rule originally codified as part of 15A NCAC 2H .0610; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0711 EMISSION RATES REQUIRING 

A PERMIT 

(a)  A permit to emit toxic air pollutants shall be required for any 

facility, excluding sources exempt from evaluation by 15A NCAC 

02Q .0702, if one or more emission release points are obstructed 

or non-vertically oriented whose actual rate of emissions by 

pollutant from all sources is greater than any one of the following 

toxic air pollutant permitting emissions rates: 

 

Obstructed or Non-Vertical Oriented Toxic Air Pollutant Permitting Emission Rates (TPER) 

Pollutant (CAS Number) 
Carcinogens 

 

lb/yr 

Chronic 

Toxicants 

 

lb/day 

Acute 

Systemic 

Toxicants 

lb/hr 

Acute Irritants 

 

lb/hr 

acetaldehyde (75-07-0) 
   

6.8 
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Obstructed or Non-Vertical Oriented Toxic Air Pollutant Permitting Emission Rates (TPER) 

Pollutant (CAS Number) 
Carcinogens 

 

lb/yr 

Chronic 

Toxicants 

 

lb/day 

Acute 

Systemic 

Toxicants 

lb/hr 

Acute Irritants 

 

lb/hr 

acetic acid (64-19-7) 
   

0.96 

acrolein (107-02-8) 
   

0.02 

acrylonitrile (107-13-1) 
 

0.4 0.22 
 

ammonia (7664-41-7) 
   

0.68 

aniline (62-53-3) 
  

0.25 
 

arsenic and inorganic arsenic compounds 0.053  
   

asbestos (1332-21-4) 5.7 X 10-3 
   

aziridine (151-56-4) 
 

0.13 
  

benzene (71-43-2) 8.1 
   

benzidine and salts (92-87-5) 0.0010 
   

benzo(a)pyrene (50-32-8) 2.2 
   

benzyl chloride (100-44-7) 
  

0.13 
 

beryllium (7440-41-7) 0.28 
   

beryllium chloride (7787-47-5) 0.28 
   

beryllium fluoride (7787-49-7) 0.28 
   

beryllium nitrate (13597-99-4) 0.28 
   

bioavailable chromate pigments, 

as chromium (VI) equivalent 

0.0056 
   

bis-chloromethyl ether (542-88-1) 0.025 
   

bromine (7726-95-6) 
   

0.052 

1,3-butadiene (106-99-0) 11 
   

cadmium (7440-43-9) 0.37 
   

cadmium acetate (543-90-8) 0.37 
   

cadmium bromide (7789-42-6) 0.37 
   

carbon disulfide (75-15-0) 
 

3.9 
  

carbon tetrachloride (56-23-5) 460 
   

chlorine (7782-50-5) 
 

0.79 
 

0.23 

chlorobenzene (108-90-7) 
 

46 
  

chloroform (67-66-3) 290 
   

chloroprene (126-99-8) 
 

9.2 0.89 
 

cresol (1319-77-3) 
  

0.56 
 

p-dichlorobenzene (106-46-7) 
   

16.8 

di(2-ethylhexyl)phthalate (117-81-7) 
 

0.63 
  

dimethyl sulfate (77-78-1) 
 

0.063 
  

1,4-dioxane (123-91-1) 
 

12 
  

epichlorohydrin (106-89-8) 5600 
   

ethyl acetate (141-78-6) 
  

36 
 

ethylenediamine (107-15-3) 
 

6.3 0.64 
 

ethylene dibromide (106-93-4) 27 
   

ethylene dichloride (107-06-2) 260 
   

ethylene glycol monoethyl ether (110-80-5) 
 

2.5 0.48  

ethylene oxide (75-21-8) 1.8 
   

ethyl mercaptan (75-08-1) 
  

0.025 
 

fluorides 
 

0.34 0.064 
 

formaldehyde (50-00-0) 
   

0.04 

hexachlorocyclopentadiene (77-47-4) 
 

0.013 0.0025 
 

hexachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin (57653- 85-7) 0.0051 
   

n-hexane (110-54-3) 
 

23 
  

hexane isomers except n-hexane 
   

92 

hydrazine (302-01-2) 
 

0.013 
  

hydrogen chloride (7647-01-0) 
   

0.18 

hydrogen cyanide (74-90-8) 
 

2.9 0.28 
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Obstructed or Non-Vertical Oriented Toxic Air Pollutant Permitting Emission Rates (TPER) 

Pollutant (CAS Number) 
Carcinogens 

 

lb/yr 

Chronic 

Toxicants 

 

lb/day 

Acute 

Systemic 

Toxicants 

lb/hr 

Acute Irritants 

 

lb/hr 

hydrogen fluoride (7664-39-3) 
 

0.63 
 

0.064 

hydrogen sulfide (7783-06-4) 
 

1.7 
  

maleic anhydride (108-31-6) 
 

0.25 0.025 
 

manganese and compounds 
 

0.63 
  

manganese cyclopentadienyl tricarbonyl 

(12079-65-1) 

 
0.013 

  

manganese tetroxide (1317-35-7) 
 

0.13 
  

mercury, alkyl 
 

0.0013 
  

mercury, aryl and inorganic compounds 
 

0.013 
  

mercury, vapor (7439-97-6) 
 

0.013 
  

methyl chloroform (71-55-6) 
 

250 
 

64 

methylene chloride (75-09-2) 1600 
 

0.39 
 

methyl ethyl ketone (78-93-3) 
 

78 
 

22.4 

methyl isobutyl ketone (108-10-1) 
 

52 
 

7.6 

methyl mercaptan (74-93-1) 
  

0.013 
 

nickel carbonyl (13463-39-3) 
 

0.013 
  

nickel metal (7440-02-0) 
 

0.13 
  

nickel, soluble compounds, as nickel 
 

0.013 
  

nickel subsulfide (12035-72-2) 0.14 
   

nitric acid (7697-37-2) 
   

0.256 

nitrobenzene (98-95-3) 
 

1.3 0.13 
 

n-nitrosodimethylamine (62-75-9) 3.4 
   

non-specific chromium (VI) compounds, as 

chromium (VI) equivalent 

0.0056 
   

pentachlorophenol (87-86-5) 
 

0.063 0.0064 
 

perchloroethylene (127-18-4) 13000 
   

phenol (108-95-2) 
  

0.24 
 

phosgene (75-44-5) 
 

0.052 
  

phosphine (7803-51-2) 
   

0.032 

polychlorinated biphenyls (1336-36- 3) 5.6 
   

soluble chromate compounds, as chromium 

(VI) equivalent 

 
0.013 

  

styrene (100-42-5) 
  

2.7 
 

sulfuric acid (7664-93-9) 
 

0.25 0.025 
 

tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin (1746- 01-6) 0.00020 
   

1,1,2,2-tetrachloroethane (79-34-5) 430 
   

toluene (108-88-3) 
 

98 
 

14.4 

toluene diisocyanate,2,4-(584-84-9) and 2,6- 

(91-08-7) isomers 

 
0.003 

  

trichloroethylene (79-01-6) 4000 
   

vinyl chloride (75-01-4) 26 
   

vinylidene chloride (75-35-4) 
 

2.5 
  

xylene (1330-20-7) 
 

57 
 

16.4 

 

(b)  A permit to emit toxic air pollutants shall be required for any facility if all emission release points are unobstructed and vertically 

oriented whose actual rate of emissions from all sources is greater than any one of the following toxic air pollutant permitting emissions 

rates: 
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Unobstructed Toxic Air Pollutant Permitting Emission Rates (TPER) 

Pollutant (CAS Number) 
Carcinogens 

 

lb/yr 

Chronic 

Toxicants 

 

lb/day 

Acute 

Systemic 

Toxicants 

lb/hr 

Acute Irritants 

 

lb/hr 

acetaldehyde (75-07-0) 
   

28.43 

acetic acid (64-19-7) 
   

3.90 

acrolein (107-02-8) 
   

0.08 

acrylonitrile (107-13-1) 
 

1.3 1.05 
 

ammonia (7664-41-7) 
   

2.84 

aniline (62-53-3) 
  

1.05 
 

arsenic and inorganic arsenic compounds 0.194 
   

asbestos (1332-21-4) 7.748 x 10-3 
   

aziridine (151-56-4) 
 

0.3 
  

benzene (71-43-2) 11.069 
   

benzidine and salts (92-87-5) 1.384 x 10-3 
   

benzo(a)pyrene (50-32-8) 3.044 
   

benzyl chloride (100-44-7) 
  

0.53 
 

beryllium (7440-41-7) 0.378 
   

beryllium chloride (7787-47-5) 0.378 
   

beryllium fluoride (7787-49-7) 0.378 
   

beryllium nitrate (13597-99-4) 0.378 
   

bioavailable chromate pigments, 

as chromium (VI) equivalent 

0.008 
   

bis-chloromethyl ether (542-88-1) 0.034 
   

bromine (7726-95-6) 
   

0.21 

1,3-butadiene (106-99-0) 40.585 
   

cadmium (7440-43-9) 0.507  
   

cadmium acetate (543-90-8) 0.507 
   

cadmium bromide (7789-42-6) 0.507 
   

carbon disulfide (75-15-0) 
 

7.8 
  

carbon tetrachloride (56-23-5) 618.006 
   

chlorine (7782-50-5) 
 

1.6 
 

0.95 

chlorobenzene (108-90-7) 
 

92.7 
  

chloroform (67-66-3) 396.631 
   

chloroprene (126-99-8) 
 

18.5 3.69 
 

cresol (1319-77-3) 
  

2.32 
 

p-dichlorobenzene (106-46-7) 
   

69.50 

di(2-ethylhexyl)phthalate (117-81-7) 
 

1.3 
  

dimethyl sulfate (77-78-1) 
 

0.1 
  

1,4-dioxane (123-91-1) 
 

23.6 
  

epichlorohydrin (106-89-8) 7655.891 
   

ethyl acetate (141-78-6) 
  

147.41 
 

ethylenediamine (107-15-3) 
 

12.6 2.63 
 

ethylene dibromide (106-93-4) 36.896 
   

ethylene dichloride (107-06-2) 350.511 
   

ethylene glycol monoethyl ether (110-80-5) 
 

5.1 2.00  

ethylene oxide (75-21-8) 2.490 
   

ethyl mercaptan (75-08-1) 
  

0.11 
 

fluorides 
 

0.7 0.26 
 

formaldehyde (50-00-0) 
   

0.16 

hexachlorocyclopentadiene (77-47-4) 
 

2.5 x 10-2 0.01 
 

hexachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin (57653- 85-7) 0.007 
   

n-hexane (110-54-3) 
 

46.3 
  

hexane isomers except n-hexane 
   

379.07 

hydrazine (302-01-2) 
 

2.5 x 10-2 
  

hydrogen chloride (7647-01-0) 
   

0.74 
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Unobstructed Toxic Air Pollutant Permitting Emission Rates (TPER) 

Pollutant (CAS Number) 
Carcinogens 

 

lb/yr 

Chronic 

Toxicants 

 

lb/day 

Acute 

Systemic 

Toxicants 

lb/hr 

Acute Irritants 

 

lb/hr 

hydrogen cyanide (74-90-8) 
 

5.9 1.16 
 

hydrogen fluoride (7664-39-3) 
 

1.3 
 

0.26 

hydrogen sulfide (7783-06-4) 
 

5.1 
  

maleic anhydride (108-31-6) 
 

0.5 0.11 
 

manganese and compounds 
 

1.3 
  

manganese cyclopentadienyl tricarbonyl 

(12079-65-1) 

 
2.5 x 10-2 

  

manganese tetroxide (1317-35-7) 
 

0.3 
  

mercury, alkyl 
 

2.5 x 10-3 
  

mercury, aryl and inorganic compounds 
 

2.5 x 10-2 
  

mercury, vapor (7439-97-6) 
 

2.5 x 10-2 
  

methyl chloroform (71-55-6) 
 

505.4 
 

257.98 

methylene chloride (75-09-2) 2213.752 
 

1.79 
 

methyl ethyl ketone (78-93-3) 
 

155.8 
 

93.19 

methyl isobutyl ketone (108-10-1) 
 

107.8 
 

31.59 

methyl mercaptan (74-93-1) 
  

0.05 
 

nickel carbonyl (13463-39-3) 
 

2.5 x 10-2 
  

nickel metal (7440-02-0) 
 

0.3 
  

nickel, soluble compounds, as nickel 
 

2.5 x 10-2 
  

nickel subsulfide (12035-72-2) 0.194 
   

nitric acid (7697-37-2) 
   

1.05 

nitrobenzene (98-95-3) 
 

2.5 0.53 
 

n-nitrosodimethylamine (62-75-9) 4.612 
   

non-specific chromium (VI) compounds, as 

chromium (VI) equivalent 

0.008 
   

pentachlorophenol (87-86-5) 
 

0.1 0.03 
 

perchloroethylene (127-18-4) 17525.534 
   

phenol (108-95-2) 
  

1.00 
 

phosgene (75-44-5) 
 

0.1 
  

phosphine (7803-51-2) 
   

0.14 

polychlorinated biphenyls (1336-36- 3) 7.656 
   

soluble chromate compounds, as chromium 

(VI) equivalent 

 
2.6 x 10-2 

  

styrene (100-42-5) 
  

11.16 
 

sulfuric acid (7664-93-9) 
 

0.5 0.11 
 

tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin (1746- 01-6) 2.767 x 10-4 
   

1,1,2,2-tetrachloroethane (79-34-5) 581.110 
   

toluene (108-88-3) 
 

197.96 
 

58.97 

toluene diisocyanate,2,4-(584-84-9) and 2,6- 

(91-08-7) isomers 

 
8.4 x 10-3 

  

trichloroethylene (79-01-6) 5442.140 
   

vinyl chloride (75-01-4) 35.051 
   

vinylidene chloride (75-35-4) 
 

5.1 
  

xylene (1330-20-7) 
 

113.7 
 

68.44 

 

(c)  For the following pollutants, the highest emissions occurring 

in any 15-minute period shall be multiplied by four and the 

product shall be compared to the value in Paragraph (a) or (b), as 

applicable: 

(1) acetaldehyde (75-07-0); 

(2) acetic acid (64-19-7); 

(3) acrolein (107-02-8); 

(4) ammonia (7664-41-7); 

(5) bromine (7726-95-6); 

(6) chlorine (7782-50-5); 

(7) formaldehyde (50-00-0); 

(8) hydrogen chloride (7647-01-0); 

(9) hydrogen fluoride (7664-39-3); and 

(10) nitric acid (7697-37-2). 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215-107; 

143-215.108; 143B-282; 

Rule originally codified as part of 15A NCAC 02H .0610; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; May 1, 2014; January 1, 2010; June 

1, 2008; April 1, 2005; February 1, 2005; April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0712 CALLS BY THE DIRECTOR 

Notwithstanding any other provision of this Section or 15A 

NCAC 02D .1100, upon a written finding that a source or facility 

emitting toxic air pollutants presents an unacceptable risk to 

human health based on the acceptable ambient levels in 15A 

NCAC 02D .1104 or epidemiology studies, the Director shall 

require the owner or operator of the source or facility to submit a 

permit application to comply with 15A NCAC 02D .1100 for any 

or all of the toxic air pollutants emitted from the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.108; 

143B-282; S.L. 1989, c. 168, s. 45; 

Rule originally codified as part of 15A NCAC 2H .0610; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0713 POLLUTANTS WITH 

OTHERWISE APPLICABLE FEDERAL STANDARDS OR 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.108; 

143B-282; S.L. 1989, c. 168, s. 45; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 10A .0401 FORM AND CONTENTS OF 

PETITION 

(a)  A written petition requesting rulemaking shall be sent to the 

Executive Director of the Wildlife Resources Commission at 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1700 for U.S. 

Postal Service delivery or 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 

27606-2576 for other delivery services or in person and must 

contain: 

(1) the name and address of the petitioner; 

(2) the name and address of the person, group, or 

organization, if any, on behalf of which the 

petition is made, together with the 

representative capacity of the petitioner; 

(3) the citation to any rule sought to be adopted, 

amended, or repealed; 

(4) suggested language for any rule sought to be 

adopted or amended and a statement of its 

desired effect; and 

(5) the signature of the petitioner. 

(b)  In addition to the foregoing, the petition may contain 

expression of any reasons in support or arguments in favor of the 

regulatory action proposed. Any tables, charts, maps, 

publications, photographs, or other supporting materials that the 

petitioner deems pertinent to the proposal may be included by way 

of exhibits or attachments. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-20; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; July 1, 1993; April 15, 1979. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0303 BEAUFORT COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Beaufort County: 

(1) the portion of Broad Creek south of a line from 

a point on the east shore at 35.49472 N, 

76.95693 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.49476 N, 76.96028 W and north of a line 

from a point on the east shore at 35.48485 N, 

76.95178 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.48495 N, 76.95619 W; 

(2) the portion of Blounts Creek south of a line 100 

yards north of the Blounts Creek Boating 

Access Area, from a point on the east shore at 

35.40846 N, 76.96091 W to a point on the west 

shore at 35.40834 N, 76.96355 W, and north of 

a line 100 yards south of Cotton Patch Landing, 

from a point on the east shore at 35.40211 N, 

76.96573 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.40231 N, 76.96702 W; 

(3) the waters of Battalina Creek, within the 

territorial limits of the Town of Belhaven; 

(4) the navigable portion of Nevil Creek extending 

upstream from its mouth at the Pamlico River; 

(5) the portion of Blounts Creek north of a line 35 

yards south-southeast of the Mouth of the Creek 

Bridge from a point on the east shore at 

35.43333 N, 76.96985 W to a point on the west 

shore at 35.43267 N, 76.97196 W and south of 

a line 350 yards north-northeast of the Mouth of 

the Creek Bridge from a point on the east shore 

at 35.43553 N, 76.96962 W to a point on the 

west shore at 35.43679 N, 76.97011 W;  

(6) the portion of Tranters Creek east of a line from 

a point on the north shore at 35.56961 N, 

77.09159 W to a point on the south shore at 

35.56888 N, 77.09118 W and north of a line 

from a point on the east shore at 35.56714 N, 

77.08941 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.56689 N, 77.09029 W; and 

(7) the waters of Little Creek beginning at a line 

near its mouth from a point on the east shore at 

35.41917 N, 76.97102 W to a point on the west 

shore at 35.41900 N, 76.96940 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas identified in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Beaufort County and the City Council of the City of Washington 

shall be the designated agencies for placement of the markers 

implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the United 

States Coast Guard and United States Army Corps of Engineers. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; September 1, 2010; June 1, 

1998; April 1, 1997; June 1, 1989; March 1, 1987; April 1, 1986; 

March 4, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; November 1, 2017. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0304 BLADEN COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of White 

Lake in Bladen County. 

(b)  Restricted Area. The waters of White Lake between the 

shoreline and the offshore marker poles shall be designated as a 

restricted area. 

(c)  Swimming. Swimming, except skin diving, shall not be 

permitted outside of the restricted area. 

(d)  Skiing. No skiing shall be permitted in the restricted area, 

except to leave from within or return into that area. All vessels 

pulling skiers shall leave from within the restricted area on a 

course perpendicular to the nearest shoreline. Upon returning, all 

vessels pulling skiers shall reduce to no-wake speed when the 

skiers have entered the restricted area. 

(e)  Speed Limit. Within the restricted area all vessels, except 

those engaged in skiing as regulated by Paragraph (d) of this Rule, 

shall be operated at a no-wake speed. Operation of any vessel on 

a course parallel to the shoreline is prohibited in the restricted 

area. 

(f)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Board of 

Commissioners of Bladen County, the Town of White Lake, and 

the State Parks Division shall be the designated agencies for 

placement and maintenance of the markers implementing this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1990; August 1, 1988; June 17, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0305 BRUNSWICK COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters and 

portions of waters described as follows: 

(1) Lockwoods Folly River in the Town of 

Varnamtown, from a point at 33.94966 N, 

78.22587 W 500 yards northwest of the boat 

ramp located at the end of SR 1123 otherwise 

known as Fisherman Road, to a point at 

33.94498 N, 78.22206 W, 180 yards southeast 

of the boat ramp, and including the portion of 

the river otherwise known as Mill Creek where 

it meets Lockwoods Folly River directly across 

from the boat ramp, to a point 100 feet northeast 

at 33.94687 N, 78.22235 W;  

(2) Calabash River in the Town of Calabash, from 

a point in the water at the end of Marina Drive 

at 33.88638 N, 78.56254 W to a point 650 yards 

southwest at the southern end of the deep-sea 

fishing docks at 33.88344 N, 78.56751 W; 

(3) the Small Boat Harbor, shore to shore 

beginning at its intersection with the 

Intracoastal Waterway at a point at 33.91685 N, 

78.02865 W; 

(4) Shallotte River east of SR 1233, otherwise 

known as Village Point Road SW south of the 

Town of Shallotte, shore to shore from its 

intersection with the Intracoastal Waterway at a 

point at 33.91477 N, 78.37103 W to point 500 

feet north at 33.91613 N, 78.37126 W; 

(5) Montgomery Slough otherwise known as Davis 

Creek, within 100 yards of the hotel and marina 

at the northern end of 57th Place West in the 

Town of Oak Island; 

(6) the waters in the natural and concrete canals 

located on the south side of the Intracoastal 

Waterway, east of N.C. Highway 904 in the 

Town of Ocean Isle Beach; 

(7) Town Creek east of SR 1609, otherwise known 

as Clearview Lane in Town Creek Township, 

shore to shore from a point at 34.16788 N, 

78.07139 W, north and east around a bend in 

the creek to a point at 34.16910 N, 78.07030 W; 

(8) Montgomery Slough, otherwise known as 

Davis Creek, shore to shore from its entrance at 

the Intracoastal Waterway west of SW Yacht 

Drive at a point at 33.92145 N, 78.19408 W, to 

the canal end at NE 40th Street in the Town of 

Oak Island; and  

(9) Intracoastal Waterway in the Town of Sunset 

Beach, shore to shore from a point 150 yards 

east of the Sunset Boulevard South bridge at 

33.88173 N, 78.50995 W, to a point 50 yards 

west of the bridge at 33.88111 N, 78.51194 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall be the 

designated agencies for the placement of markers implementing 

this Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard 

and the United States Army Corps of Engineers: 

(1) the Board of Aldermen of Varnamtown for 

areas indicated in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this 

Rule; 

(2) the Board of Commissioners of Brunswick 

County for areas indicated in Subparagraphs 

(a)(2) through (8) of this Rule; and 

(3) the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission for the area indicated in 

Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; January 

1, 1989; January 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; April 1, 1999; 
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0309 COLUMBUS COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of Lake 

Waccamaw. 

(b)  Restricted Area. The waters of Lake Waccamaw between the 

shoreline and the offshore marker poles are designated as the 

restricted area. 

(c)  Swimming. Swimming shall not be allowed outside any 

marked public swimming areas. 

(d)  No person shall operate a vessel within a marked public 

swimming area. 

(e)  Skiing. No skiing shall be permitted in the restricted area 

except to leave from within or return into that area. All vessels 

pulling skiers shall leave from within the restricted area on a 

course perpendicular to the nearest shoreline. Upon returning, all 

vessels pulling skiers shall reduce to no-wake speed when the 

skiers have entered the restricted area. 

(f)  Speed Limit. Within the restricted area all vessels, except 

those engaged in skiing as regulated by Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

shall be operated at a no-wake speed. Operation of a vessel on a 

course parallel to the shoreline is prohibited in the restricted area. 

(g)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Board of 

Commissioners of Columbus County, the Town of Lake 

Waccamaw, and State Parks Division shall be the designated 

agencies for placement and maintenance of markers 

implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0310 DARE COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

and portions of waters in Dare County: 

(1) Manteo. Doughs Creek off of Shallowbag Bay 

and all canals off of Shallowbag Bay. 

(2) Hatteras. 

(A) the waters of Pamlico Sound 

otherwise known as Hatteras Harbor 

and Muddy Creek bounded on the 

north and south by the high-water 

mark, on the west by a straight line 

between channel markers number 20 

and 17 at the entrance to Hatteras 

Harbor, and on the east by the mouth 

of Muddy Creek at Sandy Bay at a 

point at 35.22801 N,75.68050 W; and 

(B) Hatteras Ferry Terminal and United 

States Coast Guard basins ending at 

Coast Guard Beacon Number One in 

the Hatteras Channel. 

(3) Mann's Harbor. Old Ferry Dock Road Canal, 

beginning at a point at 35.90654 N, 75.76916 

W. 

(4) Nags Head. 

(A) the canals of Old Nags Head Cove 

where the canal entrance meets 

Roanoke Sound beginning at a point at 

35.94192 N, 75.62571 W; 

(B) the Roanoke Sound inlets at Pond 

Island on either side of W. Marina 

Drive extending north from U.S. 

Highway 64-264. 

(5) Wanchese. 

(A) Wanchese Harbor otherwise known as 

Mill Landing Creek, beginning at its 

entrance from Roanoke Sound at a 

point at 35.84006 N, 75.61726 W; and 

(B) the canal from its beginning where it 

connects with Roanoke Sound south 

of the dead-end road SR 1141 

otherwise known as Thicket Lump 

Drive, extending northwest roughly 

parallel to SR 1141, SR 1142 

otherwise known as The Lane, and SR 

1143 otherwise known as Tink Tillet 

Road, then westward roughly parallel 

to N.C. Highway 345, and finally 

curving to the southwest roughly 

parallel to SR 1289 otherwise known 

as C B Daniels SR Road to its end. 

(6) Stumpy Point Canal shore to shore, beginning 

50 yards west of the Wildlife Resources 

Commission boating access area. 

(7) Stumpy Point Basin off of Stumpy Point Bay, 

east of U.S. Highway 264 where it intersects 

Stumpy Point Bay at a point at 35.69591 N, 

75.77264 W. 

(8) Town of Southern Shores. canals and lagoons 

within the Town of Southern Shores north of 

U.S. Highway 158. 

(9) Colington Harbour. The waters in the canals of 

Colington Harbour Subdivision on Albemarle 

Sound. 

(10) Kitty Hawk. the waters contained in the canals 

of Kitty Hawk Landing Subdivision. 

(11) Washington Baum Bridge. Roanoke Sound 

from marker 24B north of the bridge to marker 

24A south of the bridge, and 50 yards east of 

the navigation span west to the shore as 

designated by the appropriate markers. 

(12) Kill Devil Hills. Baum Bay Harbor, beginning 

at a point at 36.00572 N, 75.68105 W. 

(13) Avon. Mill Creek beginning at its entrance at 

Pamlico Sound at a point at 35.36434 N, 

75.50603 W.  

(14) Jean Guite Creek. Jean Guite Creek from where 

it meets Kitty Hawk Bay at 36.04887 N, 

75.72754 W, north to a line from a point on the 

east shore in Southern Shores at 36.10460 N, 
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75.74192 W to a point on the west shore in 

Martin's Point Subdivision at 36.10452 N, 

75.73948 W. 

(15) Frisco. The waters of the marina canal and boat 

basin at Palmetto Shores Subdivision, shore to 

shore beginning at the canal's entrance at 

Pamlico Sound at a point at 35.25427 N, 

75.60301 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of any vessel, surfboard, water skis, or jet skis shall 

permit it to enter the marked swimming area at Colington Island 

on the west shore, from a point where the canal enters the harbor 

at 36.01797 N, 75.72681 W, north 600 feet to a point at 36.01964 

N, 75.72683 W and extending 300 feet west into Albemarle 

Sound. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall be the 

designated agencies for placement of markers implementing this 

Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and 

the United States Army Corps of Engineers: 

(1) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of 

Manteo for the areas indicated in Subparagraph 

(a)(1) of this Rule; 

(2) the Board of Commissioners of Dare County 

for the areas indicated in Subparagraphs (a)(2) 

through (a)(7), (a)(9) and (a)(11) through 

(a)(15) of this Rule; 

(3) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of 

Southern Shores for the areas indicated in 

Subparagraph (a)(8) of this Rule; and 

(4) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of 

Kitty Hawk for the area indicated in 

Subparagraph (a)(10) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; December 1, 1994; May 1, 1994; 

March 1, 1993; May 1, 1988; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0311 GRANVILLE, VANCE AND 

WARREN COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

of John H. Kerr Reservoir in Granville, Vance and Warren 

Counties: 

(1) Kimball Point, Warren County - Within 50 

yards of the shoreline in the northernmost cove 

of the Kimball Point Recreation Area located at 

the western end of SR 1204, from the northern 

end of the cove at 36.54362 N, 78.31753 W, to 

the southern end of the cove at 36.53984 N, 

78.31371 W; 

(2) Camp Kerr Lake, Vance County - The waters 

of the cove where the Camp Kerr Lake boat 

ramp is located, shore to shore beginning at a 

line from a point on the eastern shore at the 

mouth of the cove at 36.440345 N, 78.34970 W 

to a point on the northwest shore of the cove at 

36.44167 N, 78.35129 W; 

(3) Mill Creek, Vance County - The waters of Mill 

Creek shore to shore from its headwaters to 

where it intersects the North Carolina - Virginia 

state boundary at a line from a point on the east 

side of the creek at 36.54311 N, 78.39514 W; 

to a point on the west side of the creek at 

36.54309 N, 78.39626 W;  

(4) Flat Creek at N.C. Highway 39 bridge, Vance 

County - Within 50 yards east and west of the 

N.C. Highway 39 bridge; and 

(5) Satterwhite Point State Recreation Area, Vance 

County, including the waters in the vicinity of 

Satterwhite Point Marina docks at the end 

Satterwhite Point Marina Road, and the waters 

of the marked swimming area in the cove west 

of the end of SR 1319 otherwise known as 

Satterwhite Point Road, beginning at a line at 

the mouth of the cove from a point on the north 

shore at 36.44572 N, 78.37356 W, to a point on 

the south shore at 36.44442 N, 78.37359 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any concrete boat 

launching ramp located on the reservoir. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a designated 

mooring area established by or with the approval of the US Army 

Corps of Engineers on the waters of the reservoir. 

(d)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any regulated area of the reservoir 

described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter a designated 

swimming area established by or with the approval of the US 

Army Corps of Engineers on the waters of the reservoir. 

(f)  Placement of Markers. Each of the Boards of Commissioners 

of the above-named counties shall be the designated agency for 

placement of markers implementing this Rule for regulated areas 

within their territorial jurisdiction, subject to the approval of the 

US Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1994; March 25, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 1998; January 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2013; May 1, 2005; April 1, 1999; July 1, 

1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 
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15A NCAC 10F .0313 HYDE COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Hyde County: 

(1) Swan Quarter Canal near the Town of Swan 

Quarter beginning at its entrance at point at 

35.40215 N, 76.34033 W in Swanquarter Bay 

and extending the entire length of the canal; 

(2) Carawan Canal near the Town of Swan Quarter 

beginning at its entrance at a point at 35.39758 

N, 76.33312 W in Swanquarter Bay and 

extending the entire length of the canal; 

(3) the waters within 50 yards of all public boat 

launching areas providing access to Pamlico 

Sound; 

(4) the portion of Far Creek in the Town of 

Engelhard shore to shore, beginning at a point 

at 35.51051 N, 75.98693 W and ending at the 

Roper Lane bridge at 35.50869 N, 76.00229 W; 

(5) Fodrey Canal. the portion of Fodrey Canal 

shore to shore, beginning in Swanquarter Bay 

at a point at 35.40345 N, 76.34175 W and 

extending inland 300 yards ending at a point at 

35.40469 N, 76.33944 W; 

(6) Silver Lake in Ocracoke, harbor-wide; 

(7) the entire waters of the Hydeland Canal 

beginning at the Hydeland Canal Access Area 

at 35.42131 N, 76.20915 W and ending at the 

end of SR 1122 at 35.40873 N, 76.21185 W; 

(8) the waters of Gray Ditch beginning north of the 

SR 1110 bridge at the intersection of Great 

Ditch Road and Nebraska Road, at 35.45926 N, 

76.07527 W and ending at 35.45027 N, 

76.06862 W; and 

(9) the portion of Outfall Canal, otherwise known 

as Main Canal off of Mattamuskeet Lake in the 

vicinity of Mattamuskeet Lodge, beginning in 

East Main Canal at 35.45226 N, 76.17359 W, 

and extending to a point in West Main Canal at 

35.45174 N, 76.18132 W, and that portion of 

Central Canal beginning at its intersection with 

Outfall Canal and extending northward to 

35.45687 N, 76.1751 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed on the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Hyde 

County shall be the designated agency for placement of the 

markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2014; January 1, 2012; December 1, 

2010; October 1, 1995; March 1, 1993; January 1, 1989; March 

29, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

15A NCAC 10F .0314 NEW HANOVER COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in New Hanover County: 

(1) the area bounded on the north by the US 74-76 

Bridge crossing the Intracoastal Waterway, on 

the south by a line shore to shore intersecting 

Intracoastal Waterway marker number 127, on 

the west by the shore of Wrightsville Sound, 

and on the east by a line perpendicular to US 

Highway 74-76 and intersecting marker 

number 25 in Motts Channel; 

(2) the area of Motts Channel between marker 

number 25 at the Intracoastal Waterway on the 

west and marker number 16 at the entrance 

from Banks Channel on the east; 

(3) the area bounded on the west by the US 76 

Bridge crossing Bradley Creek, on the north 

and south by the banks of Bradley Creek, on the 

east by a line from a point on the southwest 

shore at 34.21298 N, 77.83173 W, to a point on 

the northeast shore at 34.21446 N, 77.83063 W; 

(4) Lee's Cut from its western intersection with the 

Intracoastal Waterway at 34.21979 N, 

77.80965 W, to its eastern intersection with 

Banks Channel at 34.21906 N, 77.79645 W; 

(5) the unnamed channel lying between the shore 

west of Bahama Drive in the Town of 

Wrightsville Beach and an unnamed island 

located approximately 500 feet northeast of the 

US 74 bridge over Banks Channel; and 

(6) the waters of the Northeast Cape Fear River 

between the US Hwy. 117 bridge and the 

railroad trestle 60 yards east of the Castle 

Hayne Boating Access Area. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of New 

Hanover County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1993; May 1, 1989; June 1, 1987; May 1, 

1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; April 1, 2017. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0316 FORSYTH, ROCKINGHAM AND 

STOKES COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to Belews Lake in 

Forsyth, Rockingham and Stokes Counties. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat launching ramp 

on the waters of Belews Lake in any of the counties listed in (a) 
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of this Rule, or within 50 yards of any bridge crossing any portion 

of Belews Lake in Forsyth County. 

(c)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Boards of 

Commissioners of Forsyth County, Rockingham County and 

Stokes County, or their designees shall be the designated agencies 

for placement and maintenance of markers implementing this 

Rule. All markers warning of a no-wake speed zone must be 

buoys or floating signs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1976; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0317 STANLY COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

and portions of waters described as follows: 

(1) Narrows Reservoir, otherwise known as Badin 

Lake; and 

(2) Lake Tillery: Turner Beach Cove shore to 

shore, south of a point at 35.22529 N, 80.09318 

W. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat 

launching ramp while on the waters of a regulated area described 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the waters of a regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule: 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Stanly 

County shall be the designated agency for placement of markers 

implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1995; March 25, 1978; November 1, 1977; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0318 WARREN COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to that portion of Lake 

Gaston which lies within the boundaries of Warren County. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat 

launching ramp while on the waters of Lake Gaston in Warren 

County. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 

mooring area on the waters of Lake Gaston in Warren County. 

(d)  Restricted Swimming Areas. No person operating or 

responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter 

any marked public swimming area on the waters of Lake Gaston 

in Warren County. 

(e)  No person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake 

speed: 

(1) within those waters of the Camp Willow Run 

Canoe/Sail Cove, beginning at a point shore to 

shore from a point on the southwest shore at 

36.49355 N, 77.91795 W, to a point on the 

north shore at 36.49534 N, 77.91508 W. 

(2) within the waters of the cove on Hubquarter 

Creek, shore to shore beginning at a line from a 

point on the northeast shore at 36.50030 N, 

78.00474 W to a point on the southwest shore 

at 36.49947 N, 78.00553 W. 

(f)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Warren County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1992; March 25, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 17, 2002; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on February 20, 2003; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0319 WASHINGTON COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

and portions of waters: 

(1) the portion of Mackey's Creek, otherwise 

known as Kendrick Creek, shore to shore, from 

a point at 35.93253 N, 76.60875 W to a point at 

35.93401 N, 76.60637 W; and  

(2) the portion of Conaby Creek shore to shore, 

from a point east of the N.C. 45 Bridge at 

35.89613 N, 76.70603 W, east northeast to a 

point at 35.89757 N, 76.70413 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed in the regulated area described in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Washington County shall be the designated agency for placement 

of the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of 

the United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps 

of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2018 

269 

15A NCAC 10F .0322 UNION COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to Cane Creek Lake in 

Union County. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat 

launching ramp or within 50 yards of the boat ramp at the Cane 

Creek Campground, at a point at 34.83485 N, 80.68605 W. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Congested Area. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 75 yards of the waters 

that separate Cane Creek Park from Cane Creek Campground, 

shore to shore from at a point at 34.83838 N, 80.68174 W, 

northwest to a point at 34.83875 N, 80.68233 W. 

(d)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the regulated area described in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Union 

County shall be the designated agency for placement of markers 

implementing this Rule.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. May 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1987; March 25, 1978; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0324 DAVIDSON COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to those portions of 

High Rock Lake, Tuckertown Lake, and Badin Lake that lie 

within the boundaries of Davidson County. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed: 

(1) within 50 yards of any marked public boat 

launching ramp, bridge, dock, marina, boat 

storage structure, boat service area or pier while 

on the waters of High Rock Lake, Tuckertown 

Lake, and Badin Lake in Davidson County; 

(2) High Rock Shores Drive Cove on High Rock 

Lake in Hi-Roc Shores Subdivision in Silver 

Hill Township, shore to shore northeast of a line 

from a point on the east shore at 35.67720 N, 

80.24526 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.67663 N, 80.24437 W; 

(3) Flat Swamp Creek on High Rock Lake shore to 

shore, from a point 50 yards north of the docks 

at Camp Walter Johnson at 35.67130 N, 

80.16592 W to a point 100 yards south of the 

docks at 35.66993 N, 80.16582 W; 

(4) the cove in Oakwood Acres on Abbotts Creek 

Cove on High Rock Lake shore to shore, west 

of a line from a point on the south shore at 

35.64704 N, 80.24787 W to a point on the north 

shore at 35.64809 N, 80.24870 W; and 

(5) Beaverdam Creek Cove on Badin Lake, shore 

to shore north of a line from a point on the east 

shore at 35.50714 N, 80.09994 W to a point on 

the west shore at 35.50715 N, 80.10086 W. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 

mooring area on the waters of High Rock Lake, Tuckertown Lake, 

and Badin Lake in Davidson County. 

(d)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the waters of High Rock Lake, Tuckertown 

Lake, and Badin Lake in Davidson County. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Davidson County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the markers implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. July 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2012; May 1, 2004; December 1, 1995; 

December 1, 1991; August 1, 1991; September 1, 1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0326 PAMLICO COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

or portions of waters in Pamlico County: 

(1) Silverthorn Bay off of Burton Creek: the waters 

of Burton Creek known as Silverthorn Bay, 

north of a line at a point on the east shore at 

35.09531 N, 76.60791 W to a point on the west 

shore at 35.09572 N, 76.60883 W. 

(2) Minnesott Beach: the Minnesott Beach Yacht 

Basin and its access channel extending 30 yards 

beyond the outermost rock jetties in Neuse 

River. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed in the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Pamlico County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. May 1, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1985; November 1, 1977; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 15, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Expired October 12, 2003; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; May 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0327 MONTGOMERY COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters and 

portions of waters described as follows: 

(1) Badin Lake. 

(A) the cove west of Lakeshore Drive and 

east of Strand Drive, southeast of a 

line at the mouth of the cove from a 

point on the east shore at 35.49242 N, 
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80.09241 W to a point on the west 

shore at 35.49242 N, 80.09241 W; 

(B) Lake Forest Drive Cove shore to 

shore, west of a point 50 yards east of 

the fueling site at the marina at 

35.48739 N, 80.10918 W; 

(C) Garr Creek shore to shore, north of a 

line beginning at a point on the east 

shore at 35.47952 N, 80.13633 W to a 

point on the west shore at 35.47946 N, 

80.13932 W; and 

(D) the channel between Beyer's Island 

and the mainland, shore to shore 

beginning at a line from a point on 

Beyer's Island at 35.49102 N, 

80.10221 W to a point on the mainland 

at 35.49230 N, 80.10241 W, ending at 

a line westward, from a point on 

Beyer's Island at 35.48988 N, 

80.10573 W to a point on the mainland 

at 35.49077 N, 80.10702 W. 

(2) Lake Tillery. 

(A) the waters within 50 yards of the boat 

ramp in the south end of Woodrun 

Cove at 35.33113 N, 80.06277 W; 

(B) Carolina Forest Cove shore to shore 

and the waters within 50 yards of the 

boat ramps and boat slips at the end of 

Arroyo Drive in Carolina Forest 

Community, from a point on the south 

shore at 35.36276 N, 80.05386 W, 

northeast to a point on the north shore 

at 35.36405 N, 80.05304 W; and  

(C) Lilly's Bridge Boating Access Area 

shore to shore, from line 25 feet north 

of the SR 1110 bridge otherwise 

known as Lillys Bridge Road at a point 

on the east shore at 35.23223 N, 

80.06166 W, to a point on the west 

shore at 35.23289 N, 80.06318 W, to a 

line 200 feet southwest of the Lilly's 

Bridge Boating Access Area, from a 

point on the east shore at 35.23067 N; 

80.06262 W, to a point on the west 

shore at 35.23156 N; 80.06437 W. 

(3) Tuckertown Reservoir. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Shore Facilities. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any 

marked boat launching area, dock, pier, bridge, marina, boat 

storage structure, or boat service area on the waters of the 

regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any regulated area described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the waters of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Montgomery County shall be the designated agency for 

placement of the markers implementing Parts (a)(1)(A), (B), (C), 

(2)(A) and (B), and Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. The North 

Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission is the designated 

agency for placement and maintenance of the markers 

implementing Part (a)(2)(C) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. November 1, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1990; May 1, 1989; March 25, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; April 1, 2003; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; April 1, 2017. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0328 MARTIN COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to those waters of 

Gardner's Creek located in Martin County. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat launching ramp 

while on the waters of the regulated area designated in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Martin County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. June 18, 1978; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0329 ROWAN COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the portions of High 

Rock Lake and Tuckertown Lake within Rowan County. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat 

launching ramp while on the waters of the regulated areas 

described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 

mooring area on the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

(d)  Speed Limit in Specific Zones. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed in the following locations on 

the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule: 

(1) within 50 yards of the Tamarac Marina on 

Second Creek on High Rock Lake, located at 

35.61012 N, 80.30795 W; 

(2) the cove on the north side of Second Creek east 

of SR 2138 otherwise known as Poole Road on 

High Rock Lake, shore to shore, north of a line 

from a point on the east shore at 35.60800 N, 
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80.31985 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.60741 N, 80.32106 W; 

(3) the waters within 50 yards southeast and 50 

yards northwest of the I-85 bridge over High 

Rock Lake, from a point southeast of the bridge 

at 35.71930 N, 80.38873 W, to a point 

northwest of the bridge at 35.72012 N, 8039903 

W; 

(4) the waters within 50 yards southeast and 50 

yards northwest of the SR 2168 bridge 

otherwise known as the Goodman Lake Road 

bridge at Crane Creek on High Rock Lake, from 

a point southeast of the bridge at 35.55354 N, 

80.35344 W, to a point northwest of the bridge 

at 35.66406 N, 80.35435 W; 

(5) the waters within 50 yards northeast and 50 

yards southwest of the SR 1002 bridge 

otherwise known as the Bringle Ferry Road 

bridge at Second Creek on High Rock Lake, 

from a point northeast of the bridge at 35.60916 

N, 80.30626 W, to a point southwest of the 

bridge at 35.60840 N, 80.30693 W; 

(6) the waters within 50 yards north and 50 yards 

south of SR 1004 bridge otherwise known as 

the Stokes Ferry Road bridge at Riles Creek on 

Tuckertown Lake, from a point north of the 

bridge at 35.50535 N, 80.21680 W, to a point 

south of the bridge at 35.50452 N, 80.21720 W; 

(7) the waters within 50 yards northwest and 50 

yards southeast of the N. C. Highway 8-49 

bridge at Tuckertown Lake from a point 

northwest of the bridge at 35.50642 N, 

80.18430 W, to a point southeast of the bridge 

at 35.50538 N, 80.18372 W; and 

(8) the waters within 50 yards of the Rowan Shrine 

Club dock located at 35.66776 N, 80.31425 W 

on High Rock Lake. 

(e)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the waters of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(f)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Rowan County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

markers implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. June 18, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2010; December 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0330 CARTERET COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Carteret County: 

(1) the waters of Money Island Slough, beginning 

at the east end of Money Island near the 

Anchorage Marina Basin at a point at 34.70187 

N, 76.72938 W and ending at the west end of 

Money Island where Brooks Avenue dead ends 

at a point at 34.70235 N, 76.73271 W; 

(2) the waters of Taylor Creek in Beaufort, shore to 

shore from its intersection with the Newport 

River at the western end, to a line at the eastern 

end between a point on the north shore at 

34.70762 N, 76.61784 W, south-southwest to 

the eastern tip of Carrot Island; 

(3) the waters of Peletier Creek, beginning at the 

entrance to Peletier Creek at the Intracoastal 

Waterway at a point at 34.72543 N, 76.78044 

W and ending at U.S. Highway 70; 

(4) the waters of Bogue Sound Harbor Channel in 

Morehead City, between Sugarloaf Island and 

the seawall on the south side of Evans, Shepard, 

and Shackleford Streets, from the east at the 

State Ports Authority, west to a point at 

34.71848 N, 76.72015 W at the southern end of 

South 13th Street; 

(5) the waters of Gallants Channel, from the U.S. 

70 Grayden Paul Bridge at a point at 34.72248 

N, 76.66936 W, south to Taylor Creek at a point 

at 34.71775 N, 76.66950 W; 

(6) the waters of Cedar Island Bay and Harbor in 

the Town of Cedar Island, from N.C. Highway 

12 to Cedar Island Bay Channel Light 8; 

(7) the waters of the small cove on the west side of 

Radio Island south of Old Causeway Road; 

(8) the waters of the Newport River, from a point 

north of the U.S. 70 Grayden Paul Bridge at 

34.72265 N, 76.66930 W, north northwest to 

marker #6; 

(9) the waters of Spooner Creek in Morehead City, 

north of a point where it enters the Intracoastal 

Waterway at 34.72570 N, 76.80294 W; 

(10) the waters of the Newport River at Bogue 

Sound, including all waters surrounding the 

Port of Morehead City to Goat Island as 

delineated by appropriate markers; 

(11) the waters of Newport River, known as Morgan 

Creek, west northwest of a point at the mouth at 

34.71611 N, 76.67814 W; 

(12) the waters of Cannonsgate Marina and the 

Cannonsgate Marina Channel, beginning at its 

intersection with Bogue Sound at 34.70163 N, 

76.98157 W, as delineated by appropriate 

markers; 

(13) the waters of the Newport River within 200 

yards of the Newport River Beach Access Boat 

Ramp, beginning at the shore north of the U.S. 

70 Newport River Bridge at a point at 34.72141 

N, 76.68707 W, west to a point at 34.72128 N, 

76.68893 W, north to a point at 34.72376 N, 

76.68911 N, then east to the shore at 34.72371 

N, 76.68631 W; 

(14) the waters of Palmetto Drive canal, a tributary 

to the White Oak River, beginning at a point on 

the western shore at 34.67903 N, 77.10142 W 

to a point on the eastern shore at 34.67899 N, 
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77.10098 W and extending the entire length of 

the canal; and 

(15) the portion of the canal at Dolphin Bay Estates, 

a tributary to the White Oak River, beginning 

30 yards inside the entrance to the canal and 

extending the entire length of the canal. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at a speed 

greater than no-wake speed while on the waters of the regulated 

areas designated in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall be the 

designated agencies for placement of the markers implementing 

this Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard 

and the United States Army Corps of Engineers: 

(1) the Board of Commissioners of Carteret 

County, for the regulated areas designated in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1), (3), (5) through (8),(11), 

and (12) of this Rule; 

(2) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of 

Beaufort, for the regulated area designated in 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule; 

(3) the Board of Commissioners of Morehead City, 

for the regulated areas designated in 

Subparagraphs (a)(4), (9), and (13) of this Rule; 

(4) the North Carolina State Ports Authority, for the 

regulated area designated in Subparagraph 

(a)(10) of this Rule; and 

(5) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of 

Cedar Point for the regulated areas designated 

in Subparagraphs (a)(14) and (15) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. March 4, 1979; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1997; May 1, 1995; June 1, 1994; 

February 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 1999; November 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2016; July 1, 2012; September 1, 2010; July 

1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0331 WAKE COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of Lake 

Wheeler located in Wake County. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat launching ramp 

while on the waters of the regulated area designated in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Raleigh City Council shall be the 

designated agency for placement of the markers implementing 

this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. March 4, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

15A NCAC 10F .0332 ALEXANDER COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of Lake 

Hickory within Alexander County: 

(1) the waters shore to shore at a line 150 yards 

southeast of SR 1137 bridge otherwise known 

as the Rink Dam Road bridge in Taylorsville, 

from a point on the south shore at 35.82843 N, 

81.26389 W to a point on the north shore at 

35.82919 N, 81.26272 W, northwest to a point 

at the Rink Dam at 35.83035 N, 81.26669 W; 

(2) the waters within 50 yards of the Taylorsville 

Beach Marina and docks, located at 420 

Taylorsville Beach Court in Taylorsville; 

(3) the waters within 50 yards of Rivers Edge 

Marina and docks, located at 5803 Icard Ridge 

Road in Hickory; and 

(4) the waters within 50 yards of the Lakeside 

Marina and docks located at 81 Marina Drive in 

Hickory. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat launching ramp 

or while on the waters of any regulated areas designated in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Alexander County shall be the designated agency for placement 

of markers implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. March 25, 1979; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; February 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2010; July 1, 2000; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0333 MECKLENBURG AND GASTON 

COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

of Lake Wylie within Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties: 

(1) McDowell Park. The waters of the coves 

adjoining McDowell Park and the Southwest 

Nature Preserve in Mecklenburg County shore 

to shore, east of the mouth of the cove at a line 

from a point on the south shore at 35.10272 N, 

81.03026 W to a point on the north shore at 

35.10556 N, 80.02964 W; 

(2) Gaston County Wildlife Club Cove. The waters 

of the cove west of the Gaston County Wildlife 

Club on South Point Road in Belmont, north of 

a line at the mouth of the cove from a point on 

the east shore at 35.15628 N, 81.01427 W to a 

point on the west shore at 35.15628 N, 

81.01615 W; 

(3) Buster Boyd Bridge. The waters from point 250 

feet east of the Buster Boyd Bridge on N.C. 

Highway 49 in Mecklenburg County at 

35.10293 N, 81.03932 W, to a point 150 feet 
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west of the Buster Boyd Bridge at 35.10242 N, 

81.04089 W; 

(4) N.C. Highway 27 bridge. The waters shore to 

shore, from a point 50 yards north of the N.C. 

Highway 27 bridge in Mecklenburg and Gaston 

counties at 35.29849 N, 81.00346 W to a point 

190 yards south of the N.C. Highway 27 bridge 

at 35.29635 N, 81.00424 W; 

(5) Brown's Cove. The area beginning at the mouth 

of Brown's Cove in Mecklenburg County shore 

to shore, at a point at 35.16453 N, 81.00474 W, 

west to a point at 35.16480 N, 81.00309 W;  

(6) Paradise Point Cove. The waters of Paradise 

Point Cove in Gaston County between Paradise 

Circle and Lake Front Drive, west of a line from 

a point on the south shore at 35.18853 N, 

81.04036 W to a point on the north shore at 

35.18991 N, 81.04136 W; 

(7) Withers Cove. The waters from a point 50 feet 

southeast of the Withers Bridge on SR 1116, 

otherwise known as Shopton Road W. in 

Mecklenburg County at 35.14576 N, 81.00187 

W, to a point 50 feet northwest of the bridge at 

35.14599 N, 81.00222 W; 

(8) Sadler Island. The waters shore to shore 

beginning at a line from a point on the west 

shore of Lake Wylie in Gaston County at 

35.27481 N, 81.0138 W east to a point on the 

east shore of the Lake in Mecklenburg County 

at 35.27423 N, 81.01111 W, extending south on 

the Lake west of Sadler Island to a line from a 

point on the west shore of the Lake in Gaston 

County at 35.27079 N, 81.01525 W, east to a 

point on the west side of Sadler Island in 

Mecklenburg County at 35.27051 N, 81.01396 

W, and the waters shore to shore east of Sadler 

Island in Mecklenburg County from a point at 

35.27441 N, 81.01185 W, south-southwest to a 

line from a point on the south shore of Sadler 

Island at 35.26635 N, 81.01432 W, south to a 

point on the Lake shore at 35.26494 N, 

81.01368 W; and 

(9) Other bridges. The areas within 50 feet of any 

bridge in North Carolina that crosses the waters 

of Lake Wylie that is not otherwise specifically 

mentioned in this Paragraph. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat-

launching ramp, dock, pier, marina, boat storage structure, or boat 

service area. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Marked Swimming or Mooring Areas. No 

person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 

50 yards of any marked mooring area or marked swimming area. 

(d)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Lake Wylie 

Marine Commission shall be the designated agency for placement 

and maintenance of markers implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. July 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; June 1, 1985; June 1, 1984; March 1, 

1983; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 4, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; June 1, 2004; July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0334 GUILFORD COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of Oak 

Hollow Lake, also known as High Point Reservoir, in Guilford 

County. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat 

launching ramp. 

(c)  Speed Limit Near Piers. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any pier operated 

by the City of High Point for public use. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. The City Council of High Point shall 

be the designated agency for placement of markers implementing 

this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. August 31, 1980; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0336 NORTHAMPTON AND 

WARREN COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of Lake 

Gaston the in Northampton and Warren counties. 

(b)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 

mooring area on the waters of Lake Gaston within Northampton 

and Warren counties. 

(c)  Speed Limit Near Shore Facilities. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any 

marked boat launching area, dock, pier, bridge, marina, boat 

storage structure, or boat service area on the waters of the 

regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Speed Limit in specific waters. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed within the following bodies 

of water: 

(1) the cove on the north shore of Lake Gaston in 

Northampton County east of SR 1252 

otherwise known as Vincent Lane, shore to 

shore from a point on the north shore at 

36.51660 N, 77.82226 W to a point on the south 

shore at 36.51578 N, 77.82269 W; 

(2) Big Stone House Creek in Warren County 

within 50 yards of the culvert under N.C. 

Highway 903 at 36.48789 N, 77.95009 W; 

(3) Songbird Creek in Warren County within 50 

yards of the culvert under N.C. Highway 903 at 

36.53260 N, 77.97330 W; 
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(4) Sixpound Creek in Warren County within 50 

yards of the culvert under SR 1701 otherwise 

known as Nocarva Road at 36.52950 N, 

78.07283 W; and 

(5) Lizard Creek in Warren County within 50 yards 

of the culvert under SR 1362 otherwise known 

as Lizard Creek Road at 36.52501 N, 77.91187 

W. 

(e)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the waters of Lake Gaston in Northampton and 

Warren counties. 

(f)  Placement of Markers. The Boards of Commissioners of 

Northampton County and Warren County shall be the designated 

agencies for placement of the markers implementing this Rule, 

subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and 

United States Army Corps of Engineers.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. March 29, 1981; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1994; March 1, 1993; September 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 15, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Expired October 12, 2003; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; May 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0337 FRANKLIN COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to Lake Royale in 

Franklin County. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat 

launching ramp while on the waters of Lake Royale. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 

mooring area on the waters of Lake Royale. 

(d)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the waters of Lake Royale. 

(e)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Board of 

Commissioners of Franklin County shall be the designated agency 

for placement and maintenance of the markers implementing this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. August 23, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0338 CALDWELL COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Caldwell County: 

(1) Catawba River; 

(2) Lake Rhodhiss; 

(3) Little Gunpowder Lake; and 

(4) Lake Hickory in the City of Hickory. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat 

launching ramp while on the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 

mooring area on the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

(d)  Specific Speed Zones. Lake Hickory within the boundaries of 

the City of Hickory. No person shall operate a vessel at greater 

than no-wake speed within 30 yards of the docks at the Lake 

Hickory Marina and Boat Rentals on Limbaugh Lane. 

(e)  Restricted Swimming Areas. No person operating or 

responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter 

any marked public swimming area on the regulated areas 

described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(f)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Caldwell County and the City of Hickory shall be the designated 

agencies for placement of the markers implementing this Rule, 

subject to the approval of the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. August 23, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0341 TOWN OF LAKE LURE 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of Lake 

Lure in the Town of Lake Lure, in Rutherford County. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within 50 yards of any boat launching area, dock, 

pier, marina, boat storage structure, boat service area, swimming 

area, cove or dam in the regulated area described in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

(c)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked swimming 

area in the regulated area described by Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Water skiers. On the regulated area described by Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule: 

(1) no more than two skiers shall be towed at once 

by any boat; 

(2) each skier is required to wear a ski belt or a 

personal flotation device; and 

(3) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of 

Lake Lure may issue special permission for 

towing more than two skiers, with or without 

flotation devices, to persons or groups 

practicing for or participating in skiing 

exhibitions or shows. 

(e)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Board of 

Commissioners of the Town of Lake Lure shall be the designated 

agency for placement and maintenance of markers implementing 

this Rule.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. May 1, 1982; 
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0343 CHATHAM COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the portion of the B. 

Everette Jordan Reservoir otherwise known as Jordan Lake in 

Chatham County. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed on the regulated area as follows: 

(1) within 50 yards of any public boat launching 

ramp; 

(2) within 100 yards of the piers and boat slips 

adjacent to the Crosswinds Boating Center 

located at 565 Farrington Road in Apex; 

(3) within 100 feet of all bridges. 

(c)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of any vessel, surfboard or water skis shall permit it to 

enter any marked swimming area located on the regulated area. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Chatham County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. March 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2004; September 1, 1989; April 1, 1984; 

June 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0344 TOWN OF RIVER BEND 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

located in the Town of River Bend in Craven County: 

(1) the waters of Plantation Canal shore to shore, 

beginning at its entrance from the Trent River 

at a line from a point on the northeast shore at 

35.07226 N, 77.13303 W, to a point on the 

south shore at 35.07187 N, 77.13335 W, and 

including the waters of the River Bend Yacht 

Club Marina Basin; and 

(2) the waters of Island Lake shore to shore, and its 

access waters off of the Trent River beginning 

at points at 35.06508 N, 77.13600 W and at 

35.06653 N, 77.13716 W. 

(b)  Speed limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Town Council of the Town of 

River Bend shall be the designated agency for placement of 

markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. June 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0345 CHATHAM AND WAKE 

COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

of the Shearon Harris Nuclear Power Plant Reservoir, otherwise 

known as Harris Reservoir, in Chatham and Wake counties: 

(1) all waters within 50 yards of any marked boat 

launching ramp, pier, dock, mooring area, boat 

storage structure, bridge, or service area; 

(2) in Chatham County, a portion of the waters of 

the cove at the Cross Point Landing Boating 

Access Area on SR 1914 otherwise known as 

Cross Point Road, shore to shore beginning at a 

line west of a point on the north shore at 

35.57351 N, 78.97411 W to a point on the south 

shore at 35.57187 N, 78.97384 W; and a 

(3) in Wake County, the waters within 150 yards of 

the Holleman's Boating Access Area located at 

4420 Bartley Holleman Road in Holly Springs 

at 35.60861 N, 78.93899 W.  

(b)  Exclusionary Zones. Except for authorized personnel of the 

power company, no person shall operate a vessel in any 

exclusionary zone which is marked to prevent entry by boats. 

(c)  Mast Height. No person shall place or operate on the regulated 

area described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule a sailboat or other 

vessel having a mast or any superstructure extending vertically 

above water level a distance of 35 feet or more. 

(d)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Swimming Areas. No person shall operate a vessel or water 

skis within a marked public swimming area. 

(f)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Chatham County and the Board of Commissioners of Wake 

County shall be the designated agencies for placement of markers 

implementing this Rule within their respective counties.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. August 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2013; July 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0346 ARROWHEAD BEACH 

SUBDIVISION 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

or portions of waters in Chowan County: 

(1) Chowan River. The waters within 350 feet of 

the shoreline of the Arrowhead Beach 

Subdivision Park pier and swim area, from a 

point in the water southwest of the pier at 

36.22691 N, 76.70711 W, to a point in the water 

northeast at 36.22838 N, 76.70637 W; 
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(2) Indian Creek. The portion adjoining the 

Arrowhead Beach Subdivision shore to shore 

from a point at 36.23615 N, 76.69494 W to a 

point at 36.23084 N, 76.69231 W; and 

(3) Chowan River. The waters of an unnamed canal 

in Arrowhead Beach Subdivision, shore to 

shore at its intersection with the Chowan River 

at 36.22508 N, 76.70787 W. 

(b)  Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the swimming area 

described in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

(c)  Obstruction of Swimmers or Boats. No person shall place or 

maintain within the recreational area described in Subparagraph 

(a)(1) of this Rule any poles, cables, lines, nets, trotlines, fish traps 

or other obstructions or hazards to swimmers or boats, excepting 

those necessary to mark the area pursuant to this Rule. 

(d)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed in the area described in Subparagraphs (a)(2) and 

(a)(3) of this Rule. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The board of Commissioners of 

Chowan County shall be the designated agency for the placement 

of markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3: 75A-15; 

Eff. August 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; January 1, 2017. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0347 CRAVEN COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Craven County: 

(1) the portion of Northwest Creek from the 

entrance buoys at Northwest Creek Marina 

north of a line from a point on the east shore at 

35.06357 N, 76.96934 W to a point on the west 

shore at 35.06343 N, 76.97106 W, to south of a 

line from a point on the east shore of Northwest 

Creek at 35.06903 N, 76.97030 W to a point on 

the west shore at 35.06779 N, 76.97225 W, 

northeast to include all waters, shore to shore, 

of the bulkheaded area of Fairfield Harbour 

otherwise known as Spring Creek; 

(2) Olde Towne Lake, shore to shore from its 

intersection with the Trent River west of a point 

at 35.08098 N, 77.05833 W;  

(3) the triangular area in the waters at the end of the 

Matthews Point Marina main pier located at the 

confluence of Clubfoot and Mitchell Creeks off 

of the Neuse River, between a point 300 feet 

east of the pier at 34.90619 N, 76.76490 W, and 

a point 300 feet west of the pier at 34.90610 N, 

76.76262 W, and a point 150 feet south of the 

pier at 34.90571 N, 76.76377 W;  

(4) the waters within 50 yards of the fuel dock at 

Eastern Carolina Yacht Club on the Trent River 

in Trent Woods; and 

(5) the portion of Southwest Prong Slocum Creek 

in the City of Havelock, shore to shore east of a 

line from a point on the north shore at 34.89122 

N, 76.92302 W to a point on the south shore at 

34.89102 N, 76.92304 W and extending 

northeast, shore to shore to a line from a point 

on the north shore at 34.89370 N, 76.92109 W 

to a point on the southeast shore at 34.89358 N, 

76.92089 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any swimming area 

described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. Subject to the approval of the United 

States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers, the following agencies shall be the designated agencies 

for placement of markers implementing this Rule: 

(1) the Board of Commissioners of Craven County 

for areas indicated in Subparagraphs 

(a)(1),(2),(3), and (4) of this Rule; and 

(2) the City of Havelock for the area indicated in 

Subparagraph (a)(5) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1990; October 1, 1989; June 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2016; July 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0348 PERSON COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the Mayo Electric 

Generating Plant Reservoir, otherwise known as Mayo Reservoir, 

in Person County. 

(b)  Restricted Zones. Except for authorized personnel of the 

power company, no person shall operate a vessel in any restricted 

zone which is marked to prevent entry by boats. 

(c)  Mast Height. No person shall place or operate on the regulated 

area described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule a sailboat or other 

vessel having a mast or any superstructure extending vertically 

above water level a distance of 35 feet or more. 

(d)  Speed Limit. Except as provided in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

no person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed 

within 50 yards of any marked bridge, boat launching ramp, pier, 

boat storage structure, or boat service area on the regulated area 

described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Skiing. Except to leave or return to the shore or a boat 

launching ramp, no skiing is permitted within any speed zone 

described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. In leaving or returning to 

the shore or boat ramp, all vessels pulling skiers shall be operated 

on a course perpendicular to the shore line. Upon returning, all 

vessels pulling skiers shall reduce to no-wake speed when the 

skiers have entered the restricted area. 

(f)  Swimming Areas. No person shall operate a vessel or water 

skis within a marked public swimming area. 
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(g)  Boating Access. No vessel shall be placed on the regulated 

area described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule from any point other 

than the Triple Springs Boating Access Area on SR 1515. 

(h)  No Wake Zone. No person shall operate a vessel at greater 

than no wake speed within the waters of the channel on Mayo 

Reservoir beginning north of the Triple Springs Boating Access 

Area, shore to shore from 36.48054 N, 78.87754 W to 36.47992 

N, 78.87972 W, southward ending at an area below the Mayo Park 

ADA Fishing Pier shore to shore from 36.48054 N, 78.87754 W 

to 36.47718 N, 78.87836 W. 

(i)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Person 

County shall be the designated agency for placement of markers 

implementing this Rule.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2010; April 1, 1997; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0350 DURHAM AND WAKE 

COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters of Falls 

Lake in Durham and Wake counties. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed: 

(1) while within a designated mooring area 

established on the regulated area by or with the 

approval of the Corps and State Parks; 

(2) within 50 yards of any public boat launching 

ramp or boat service facility, including docks 

used for fueling or boat repair, located on the 

regulated area; 

(3) within 50 yards of any state road bridge 

crossing over the portion of Falls Lake located 

within Wake County; 

(4) the waters of the Holly Point Recreation Swim 

and boat launch area shore to shore, from a line 

at a point on the southwest shore at 35.99751 N, 

78.66075 W to a point on the north shore at 

36.00030 N, 78.65963 W, east to a line from a 

point on the southeast shore at 35.99941 N, 

78.65520 W to a point on the northwest shore 

at 36.00087 N, 78.65731 W; and  

(5) within 50 yards east and 50 yards west of the 

New Light Road bridge. 

(c)  Restricted Zones. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel, surfboard or water skis shall enter: 

(1) any marked swimming area located on the 

regulated area; 

(2) any areas near the dam structures located on the 

regulated area that is marked against entry by 

vessels by or with the approval of the United 

States Army Corps of Engineers.  

(d)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Durham County, the Board of Commissioners of Wake County, 

and North Carolina State Parks shall be the designated agencies 

for placement of markers implementing this Rule in their 

respective counties, subject to the approval of the United States 

Army Corps of Engineers.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. December 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2007; August 1, 1990; April 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0351 NEW BERN 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to that part of the Trent 

River that is located within the city limits of New Bern in Craven 

County. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed on the Trent River between the Trent River 

Railroad Bridge and the Trent River Bridge on East Front Street.  

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Alderman of the City of 

New Bern shall be the designated agency for placement of the 

markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. October 1, 1986; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0352 CAMDEN COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters described 

below: 

(1) the waters of Edgewater Canal, beginning at a 

point at 36.17539 N, 75.97945 W, parallel with 

and along the south shore of Camden Point and 

the connecting channels to Albemarle Sound in 

Camden County; 

(2) the portion of Turners Cut, otherwise known as 

South Mills Shore Canal, for a distance of 

approximately 1000 feet, south of a line from a 

point on the east shore at 36.41129 N, 76.30598 

W to a point on the west shore at 36.41096 N, 

76.30654 W and north of a line from a point on 

the east shore at 36.40912 N, 76.30402 W to a 

point on the west shore at 36.40880 N, 

76.30462 W; 

(3) the canals of Whitehall Shores subdivision on 

the Pasquotank River; and 

(4) the cove south of Sawyers Creek on the east 

side of the Pasquotank River in the town of 

Camden, east of a line from a point on the north 

shore at 36.32353 N, 76.18054 W to a point on 

the south shore at 36.32254 N, 76.18017 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated area described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Camden County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 
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United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. June 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 15, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Expired October 12, 2003; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2014; May 1, 2013; May 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0354 PITT COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters described 

in this Paragraph: 

(1) the waters of Tar River, known as Hardee 

Creek, shore to shore, west of a line at its 

confluence with the main course of Tar River 

from a point on the north shore at 35.59878 N, 

77.31168 W to a point on the south shore at 

35.59813 N, 77.31157 W; and 

(2) the portion of Tranters Creek east of a line from 

a point on the north shore at 35.56961 N, 

77.09159 W to a point on the south shore at 

35.56888 N, 77.09118 W and north of a line 

from a point on the east shore at 35.56714 N, 

77.08941 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.56689 N, 77.09029 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Pitt 

County shall be the designated agency for placement and 

maintenance of markers implementing this Rule, subject to the 

approval of the United States Coast Guard and United States 

Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. May 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; September 1, 2010; July 1, 1995; 

April 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0355 PERQUIMANS COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following 

waters: 

(1) Perquimans River: 

(A) the canals of Holiday Island 

subdivision at Albemarle Sound; and 

(B) Town of Hertford: the part of the 

Perquimans River beginning 75 yards 

northeast of the Perquimans River 

Bridge, otherwise known as the 

Hertford S-shaped Bridge, parallel to 

the bridge, shore to shore, and ending 

approximately 550 yards southwest, at 

a line from a point on the north shore 

36.19305 N, 76.46957 W to a point on 

the south shore at 36.19150 N, 

76.47099 W. 

(2) Yeopim River: 

(A) the canal between Navaho Trail and 

Cherokee Trail beginning at a point at 

36.07893 N, 76.42278 W; 

(B) the canal between Cherokee Trail and 

Ashe Street beginning at a point at 

36.07865 N, 76.42603 W; 

(C) within 50 yards of the boat ramp at 

Ashe and Pine Street; 

(D) the canal between Pine Street and 

Linden Street beginning at a point at 

36.07951 N, 76.43402 W; 

(E) the canal between Willow Street and 

Evergreen Drive beginning at a point 

at 36.08005 N, 76.43735 W; 

(F) the canal between Sago Street and 

Alder Street beginning at a point at 

36.07986 N, 76.44063 W; and 

(G) Bethel Creek north of a line from a 

point on the west shore at 36.09566 N, 

76.47928 W to a point on the east 

shore at 36.09534 N, 76.47738 W to a 

line from a point on the west shore at 

36.10532 N, 76.48080 W to a point on 

the east shore at 36.10516 N, 76.48047 

W. 

(3) Yeopim Creek: 

(A) the canal between Mohave Trail and 

Iowa Trail beginning at a point at 

36.08521 N, 76.41802 W; 

(B) the canal between Iowa Trail and 

Shawnee Trail beginning at a point at 

36.08511 N, 76.41763 W; 

(C) the area within 75 yards of the 

Albemarle Plantation Marina Piers; 

(D) the area of the cove known as Beaver 

Cove, shore to shore beginning at a 

point at 36.08767 N, 76.42151 W; and 

(E) the waters of Yeopim Creek adjacent 

to Heritage Shores North, shore to 

shore, east of a line from a point on the 

north shore at 36.11356 N, 76.43138 

W to a point on the south shore at 

36.11288 N, 76.43173 W, to a line 

northwest from a point on the east 

shore at 36.11219 N, 76.42445 W to a 

point on the west shore at 36.11178 N, 

76.42596 W. 

(4) Little River: the entrance to the cove known as 

Muddy Gut Canal that extends from the waters 

known as Deep Creek, shore to shore beginning 

at a line from a point on the east shore at 

36.17729 N, 76.28011 W to a point on the west 

shore at 36.17667 N, 76.28331 W. 
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(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated area described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the swimming area at 

the Snug Harbor Park and Beach on the Yeopim River. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Perquimans County shall be the designated for placement of 

markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. November 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 4, 2000; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; September 1, 2013; May 1, 2006; 

June 1, 2005; July 1, 2000; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; June 1, 2017. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0356 PASQUOTANK COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This area shall apply to the canals of the Glen 

Cove Subdivision in Pasquotank County. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed while on the waters of the regulated area 

designated in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of County Commissioners 

of Pasquotank County shall be the designated agency for 

placement of the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the 

approval of the United States Coast Guard and the United States 

Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. December 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0357 NASH COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

of the Tar River Reservoir near the City of Rocky Mount in Nash 

County:  

(1) beginning 50 yards northwest of the bridge 

located on SR 1745, otherwise known as Bend 

of the River Road, from a line northwest of the 

bridge at a point on the south shore at 35.88347 

N, 77.89666 W, northeast to a point in the water 

at 35.88395 N, 77.89576 W, and ending 

southeast of the bridge at a point within 50 

yards of the Bend of the River boat ramp 

located at 35.88224 N, 77.89605 W. 

(2) beginning 185 yards northwest of the Sapony 

Creek bridge and boat ramp located on SR 

1603, otherwise known as S. Old Carriage Road 

at 35.88545 N, 77.91154 W, shore to shore at a 

line from a point on the south shore at 35.88540 

N, 77,91365 W to a point on the north shore at 

35.88643 N, 77.91309 W, and ending at a line 

east of the bridge from a point on the south 

shore at 35.88479 N, 77.91148 W to a point on 

the northeast shore at 35.88565 N, 77.91085 W; 

and 

(3) the waters 50 yards southwest of the Low 

Bridge on SR 1603 otherwise known as S. Old 

Carriage Road from a point in the water at 

35.85446 N, 77.90760 W to a line northeast of 

the bridge shore to shore, from a point on the 

southeast shore at 35.85590 N, 77.90545 W to 

a point on the northwest shore at 35.85718 N, 

77.90757 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The City of Rocky Mount shall be the 

designated agency for the placement of markers implementing 

this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0358 JONES COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of the 

Trent River shore to shore in Pollocksville, from a line 25 yards 

west of the U.S. Highway 17 bridge from a point on the north 

shore at 35.01023 N, 77.21938 W to a point on the south shore at 

35.00979 N, 77.21942 W, eastward to a line 100 yards east of the 

Pollocksville Public Fishing and Boating Access Area, from a 

point on the north shore at 35.00967 N, 77.21696 W to a point on 

the south shore at 35.00931 N, 77.21718 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated area described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Jones County Board of 

Commissioners shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the markers implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0361 WILKES COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to those waters within 

50 yards of any marked boat launching area, bridge, dock, pier, 

marina, boat storage structure, or boat service area located on W. 

Kerr Scott Reservoir in Wilkes County. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
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(c)  Placement of Markers. The Wilkes County Board of 

Commissioners shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the markers implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. September 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0362 HARNETT COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Harnett County: 

(1) the waters of Lake Carolina within 50 yards of 

any marked boat launching ramp, boat service 

area, boat pier, boat dock, boat mooring area, 

boat storage structure, or bridge; and 

(2) the canal between Lake Carolina and Ski Lake 

from its west end at Lake Carolina at a point at 

35.28164 N, 79.03218 W to its east end where 

it enters Ski Lake at a point at 35.28038 N, 

79.02662 W. 

(b)  Restricted Zones. Except for authorized personnel of State, 

County, and Municipal governments and emergency response 

personnel, no person shall operate a vessel in any restricted zone 

marked to prevent entry by boats, including designated swimming 

areas and danger zones near dams and spillways. 

(c)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas delineated in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Harnett County shall be the designated agency for placement and 

maintenance of markers implementing this Rule.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0363 CASWELL AND PERSON 

COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters of Hyco 

Lake in Caswell and Person counties.  

(b)  Speed Limit Near Bridges. No person shall operate a vessel 

at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any bridge that 

crosses the waters of Hyco Lake. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Canals. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within any canals on Hyco Lake. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Caswell and Person Counties shall be the designated agencies for 

placement of the markers implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. November 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0364 GREENSBORO 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of Lake 

Brandt, Lake Higgins, and Lake Townsend, otherwise known as 

Greensboro Municipal Reservoirs, within the city limits of 

Greensboro in Guilford County. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no wake speed within 50 yards of any marked public boat 

launching ramp, bridge, dock, marina, boat storage structure, boat 

service area or pier operated by the City of Greensboro for public 

use. 

(c)  Restricted Zones. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of any vessel shall permit it to enter any restricted zone 

marked to prevent entry by vessels. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Guilford County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

markers implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. August 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0365 TYRRELL COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Tyrrell County: 

(1) the portion of the Scuppernong River from 300 

yards north-northwest of the U.S. Highway 64 

bridge to 100 yards south-southwest of the U.S. 

Highway 64 bridge. 

(2) the portion of the Scuppernong River from the 

point where the canal to the Columbia Boating 

Access Areas intersects the river and extending 

200 feet into the river. 

(3) the waters of the canal that leads to the marina 

at Taylor's Beach on Albemarle Sound in 

Columbia, beginning at a point at 35.95559 N, 

76.30219 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed in the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Tyrrell County shall be the designated agency for the placement 

of the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of 

the United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps 

of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. December 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2011; December 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0368 TOWN OF NAGS HEAD 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of the 

Roanoke Sound extending 600 feet from the shoreline; from the 

northern boundary of the Old Nags Head Cove Subdivision at a 

point at 35.95136 N, 75.63233 W to the southern boundary of the 
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Old Nags Head Cove Subdivision at a point at 35.93676 N, 

75.62223 W.  

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Town of Nags Head shall be the 

designated agency for placement of the markers implementing 

this Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard 

and United States Army of Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 71A-15; 72A-3; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0369 TOWN OF SWANSBORO 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of the 

White Oak River within approximately 50 yards of the shoreline 

of the Swansboro Town Limits in Onslow County and outside the 

United States Army Corps of Engineers Swansboro Channel 

setback, as marked by no-wake buoys, beginning at the N.C. 

Highway 24 bridge and ending at a point 50 yards southwest of 

the Casper's Marina pier at 34.68495 N, 77.12195 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Town of Swansboro shall be the 

designated agency for placement of the markers implementing 

this Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard 

and United States Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 71A-15; 72A-3; 

Eff. October 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2005; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0370 CITY OF ROCKY MOUNT 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters of the 

Tar River shore to shore, beginning up at the N.C. Highway 

Bridge on Peachtree Street, eastward 100 yards and ending at the 

Rocky Mount Mill Dam.  

(b)  Swimming or boating. No swimming or other entry of a 

person in or upon a boat, raft, or other floating object shall be 

permitted within the exclusionary zone established in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall not apply to persons who, with 

consent of the City of Rocky Mount, require access for 

maintaining or repairing facilities associated with the Rocky 

Mount Mill Dam or the Rocky Mount Mill. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. The City of Rocky Mount shall be 

designated as the entity for placement of buoys and other signs 

indicating the areas in which boating and swimming are 

prohibited by this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. May 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0371 BELEWS LAKE IN STOKES 

COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the areas described 

in Paragraphs (b) and (c) in Belews Lake in Stokes County. 

(b)  No swimming or boating in exclusionary zone. No swimming 

or other entry of a person in or upon a boat, raft, or other floating 

object shall be permitted in the exclusionary zone in the cove 

containing the power station's plant intakeon the western side of 

Belews Lake, approximately 1,000 feet northeast of Belews Creek 

Steam Station, as marked by warning buoys and signs. 

(c)  No swimming or boating in evacuation area in event of alarm. 

In the event of a siren or audible alarm generated by the Belews 

Creek Steam Station, all persons swimming, boating, or 

occupying a raft or other floating object on the lake shall evacuate 

the area on the western side of Belews Lake approximately 4,000 

feet northeast of Belews Creek Station as marked by warning 

buoys and signs. 

(d)  Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule shall not apply to persons 

who, with consent of Duke Energy Corporation, access the area 

for the purpose of responding to an emergency or maintaining or 

repairing facilities of Duke Energy Corporation. 

(e)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Duke Energy 

Corporation shall be the designated entity for placement and 

maintenance of buoys, barriers and other signs implementing this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 1, 2005; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 2005; 

Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0374 CUBE YADKIN GENERATION 

SAFETY ZONES 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the area one hundred 

feet upstream or downstream from the stations and dams, 

associated structures, abutments and equipment at the following 

stations: 

(1) Narrows Hydroelectric Station on the Yadkin 

River in Stanly and Montgomery Counties; 

(2) High Rock Hydroelectric Station on the Yadkin 

River in Rowan and Davidson Counties. 

(b)  Fishing. Except as otherwise provided in this Paragraph or in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule, no person shall enter the waters within 

the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, except 

persons engaged in fishing within the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule may enter these waters in connection 

with such fishing activities provided that they shall wear at all 

times a U.S. Coast Guard-approved personal flotation device in 

serviceable condition and of appropriate size for the wearer. 

(c)  Boating. Any person in or upon a boat, raft, or other floating 

object that enters into the regulated areas described in Paragraph 
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(a) of this Rule shall wear at all times a U.S. Coast Guard 

approved personal flotation device in serviceable condition and of 

appropriate size for the wearer. 

(d)  No vessel shall tie off to any part of the hydroelectric station 

structure or the accessory portions thereof within regulated areas 

described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule or anchor or otherwise 

secure a vessel in these areas. 

(e)  Paragraph (d) of this Rule shall not apply to persons who enter 

with consent of Cube Yadkin Generation for the purpose of 

maintaining, repairing, or evaluating facilities of Cube Yadkin 

Generation; law enforcement or emergency personnel; or N.C. 

state employees acting in an official capacity. 

(f)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. Cube Yadkin 

Generation shall be the designated entity for placement and 

maintenance of buoys and other signs implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0376 TOWN OF EMERALD ISLE 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

located in the Town of Emerald Isle in Carteret County: 

(1) Bogue Sound Drive Channel shore to shore, 

roughly parallel to the shoreline in the vicinity 

of Bogue Sound Drive, from a point where the 

channel meets Bogue Sound in the west at 

34.67471 N, 76.98684 W to a point where it 

meets Bogue Sound in the east at 34.67588 N, 

76.97760 W; 

(2) Coast Guard Channel shore to shore from the 

north entrance of the channel where it intersects 

Bogue Sound near 419 Channel Drive, south 

from a point in the water at 34.65348 N, 

77.09560 W, to the west end of the channel 

where it intersects Bogue Sound, near 116 

Bogue Court, east-northeast from a point in the 

water at 34.64820 N, 77.09731 W; and 

(3) the waters within approximately 100 yards of 

the shoreline of Bogue Sound adjacent to 

Archer Point, south of and including a portion 

of the Emerald Isle channel, bounded on the 

west side by a line running north from 34.67553 

N, 77.01535 W to the northern side of the 

channel, and on the east side by a line running 

northeast from 34.67519 N, 77.01279 W to the 

northern side of the channel. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Town of Emerald Isle shall be the 

designated agency for placement of the markers implementing 

this Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard 

and the United States Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. September 1, 2008; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2011; April 1, 2009; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0301 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

15A NCAC 10H .0302 MINIMUM STANDARDS 

15A NCAC 10H .0303 FORFEITURE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-11; 106-549.97(b); 113-

131; 113-134; 113-272.5, 113-272.6; 113-274; 114-292; 150B-3; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1991; December 1, 1990; September 1, 

1990; June 1, 1990; July 1, 1988; November 9, 1980; February 

7, 1979; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 8, 2002; May 17, 2002; July 

1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2010; December 1, 2005; August 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 2, 2014; 

Temporary Amendment Expired September 11, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 27, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Expired December 11, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0304 CAPTIVE CERVID HERD 

CERTIFICATION PROGRAM 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-549.97(b); 113-134; 113-

272.5; 113-272.6; 113-274; 113-292; 

Eff. May 1, 2010; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 27, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Expired December 11, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 23 - IRRIGATION CONTRACTORS' 

LICENSING BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 23 .0208 COMPLAINT PROCESS 

(a)  An individual who wishes to make a complaint alleging 

violation of G.S. 89G or the Board's rules shall submit a complaint 

form online through the Board's website (http://www.nciclb.org ) 

or by printing the form from the Board's website and mailing it to 

the Board office at P.O. Box 41421 Raleigh, N.C. 27629. The 

following information shall be included in the complaint form: 

(1) date of complaint; 

(2) complainant name; 

(3) complainant mailing address; 

(4) complainant contact number; 

(5) alleged violator name; 

(6) location of violation site, including city; 

(7) date alleged violation was noted; 

(8) how complainant became aware of alleged 

violation; 

(9) description of the work being performed; and 
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(10) statement that the information provided by the 

complainant is true and accurate to the best of 

his or her knowledge. 

(b)  The Board shall not respond to or investigate anonymous 

complaints or inquiries. 

(c)  The Board office shall administratively close any complaint 

that: 

(1) is anonymously submitted; 

(2) is withdrawn by the complainant at any stage of 

the investigation; or 

(3) is submitted more than two years after the 

irrigation system was completed by a licensee 

of the Board. 

(d)  If the complaint is not administratively closed pursuant to 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the Board's Investigative Committee 

shall determine whether further investigation is necessary to 

resolve the complaint based on the type and nature of the 

complaint. If further investigation is necessary, the Investigative 

Committee shall refer the matter to the Board's investigator. 

(e)  Upon completion of the investigation into the complaint, the 

Investigative Committee shall: 

(1) find that there is probable cause to believe a 

violation occurred and send the respondent a 

notice of violation; or 

(2) find that there is no probable cause to believe a 

violation occurred and send the respondent and 

complainant notification of the same. 

(f)  If the Investigative Committee finds that there is probable 

cause to believe a violation occurred, then the complaint shall be 

resolved in the following manner: 

(1) settlement agreement; or 

(2) hearing in accordance with the rules of this 

Section and as required by G.S. 150B, Article 

3A. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89G-2; 89G-5; 89G-11; 89G-

12; 150B; 

Eff. November 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 23 .0503 WATER SUPPLY 

(a)  Before commencing installation, an irrigation contractor shall 

verify that the point of connection, water supply, flow rate, and 

static and dynamic pressures meet design criteria. 

(b)  All new irrigation systems that have a pressurized water 

supply under continuous pressure must include an isolation valve. 

The isolation valve's location must be in the main line before the 

first zone valve or quick coupler. 

(c)  On all new installations, if a master valve is used, it shall be 

installed on the discharge side of the backflow prevention device. 

(d)  If the water supply is potable water, an irrigation contractor 

shall verify that a backflow prevention device is installed 

upstream of the irrigation system before pressurizing the 

irrigation mainline. 

(e)  For local government water systems and large community 

water systems, an irrigation contractor shall, when required by 

local code, install a separate meter for new in-ground systems on 

lots platted and recorded after July 1, 2009, in the office of the 

register of deeds in the county or counties in which the real 

property is located. This Rule shall not apply to lots with privately 

owned septic tanks systems or other types of privately owned 

innovative on-site wastewater systems if a lockable cutoff valve 

approved by the water system and a testable backflow prevention 

device approved by the water system for the appropriate level of 

risk associated with the irrigation system or other identified risk 

are installed on the water supply line for the irrigation system. The 

lockable cutoff value shall be installed on the water supply line 

for the irrigation system within 24 inches of the water meter and 

the testable backflow device shall be installed on the water supply 

line for the irrigation system 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89G-5; 143-355.4; 

Eff. July 1, 2011; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. September 22, 2014; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; November 1, 2016. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 32R .0103 EXCEPTIONS 

(a)  A physician shall be exempt from the requirements of Rule 

.0101 of this Section if the licensee is: 

(1) Currently enrolled in an AOA or Accreditation 

of Council of Graduate Medical Education 

(ACGME) accredited graduate medical 

education program and holds a residency 

training license; 

(2) In good standing with the Board and is either: 

(A)  serving in the armed forces of the 

United States or serving in support of 

such armed forces, and serving in a 

combat zone; or 

(B)  serving with respect to a military 

contingency operation as defined by 

10 U.S.C.101(a)(13); or 

(3) Serving as a member of the General Assembly's 

House or Senate Health Committee. 

(b)  A physician who obtains initial certification from an ABMS, 

AOA or RCPSC specialty board shall be deemed to have satisfied 

his or her entire CME requirement for the three year cycle in 

which the physician obtains board certification. However, if the 

physician prescribes controlled substances, then the physician 

shall complete at least three hours of CME that is designed to 

address controlled substance prescribing practices as required in 

21 NCAC 32R .0101 during that three year cycle. If the physician 

completed CME as part of their initial certification that satisfies 

the requirement in 21 NCAC 32R .0101, then the physician shall 

not be required to take controlled-substance prescribing CME 

beyond that included in their initial certification process. 

(c)  A physician who attests that he or she is engaged in a program 

of recertification or maintenance of certification from an ABMS, 

AOA or RCPSC specialty board shall be deemed to have satisfied 

his or her entire CME requirement for that three year cycle. 

However, if the physician prescribes controlled substances, then 

the physician shall complete at least three hours of CME that is 

designed to address controlled substance prescribing practices as 
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required in 21 NCAC 32R .0101 during that three year cycle. If 

the physician completed CME as part of their program for 

recertification or maintenance of certification process that 

satisfies the requirement in 21 NCAC 32R .0101, then the 

physician shall not be required to take controlled-substance 

prescribing CME beyond that included in their recertification or 

maintenance of certification process. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-14(a)(15); 90B-15; 

Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012; January 1, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 38 – BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 

 

21 NCAC 38 .0103 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions in G.S. 90-270.67 apply to this Chapter. The 

following definitions also apply to the Chapter: 

(1) "Activities of daily living" (ADL) means self-

care activities. 

(2) "Assessment" means the tools or instruments 

that are used during the evaluation process. 

(3) "Client" means a person, group, program, 

organization, or community for whom the 

occupational therapy practitioner is providing 

services. 

(4) "Entry-level" means a person who has no 

experience in a specific position, such as a new 

graduate, a person new to the position, or a 

person in a new setting with no previous 

experience in that area of practice. 

(5) "Evaluation" means the process of obtaining 

and interpreting data necessary for intervention. 

This includes planning for and documenting the 

evaluation process and results. 

(6) "Instrumental activities of daily living" (IADL) 

means multi-step activities to care for self and 

others, such as household management, 

financial management, and childcare. 

(7) "Intervention" means treatment. 

(8) "Intervention plan" is the program established 

by the occupational therapist for the delivery of 

occupational therapy services. It may also be 

referred to as treatment plan, individualized 

education plan (IEP), individualized family 

service plan (IFSP), plan of care, or other 

terminology as determined by the occupational 

therapy service delivery setting. 

(9) "Level I Fieldwork" provides introductory level 

clinical training opportunities. 

(10) "Level II Fieldwork" provides clinical training 

in preparation for entry-level practice. 

(11) "Neglect of duty" occurs when a Board member 

fails to attend a majority of the official meetings 

of the Board within any 12 month period. 

(12) "Occupational Therapy", as defined in G.S. 90-

270.67(4), may include evaluation of activities 

of daily living (ADL), instrumental activities of 

daily living (IADL), education, work, play, 

leisure, and social participation. 

(13) "Occupational Therapy evaluation, treatment, 

and consultation" include the following: 

(a) remediation or restitution of 

performance abilities that are limited 

due to impairment in biological, 

physiological, psychosocial, and 

developmental process; 

(b) adaptation of skills, process or 

environment, or the teachings of 

compensatory techniques in order to 

enhance performance; 

(c) disability prevention methods and 

techniques that facilitate the 

development or safe application of 

performance skills; 

(d) promotion of health and wellness to 

those who have or are at risk for 

developing an illness, injury, disease, 

disorder, condition, impairment, 

disability, activity limitation, or 

participation restriction; and 

(e) interpretation of the physical, 

cognitive, psychosocial, sensory, and 

other aspects of performance in a 

variety of contexts to support 

engagement in everyday life activities 

that affect health, well-being, and 

quality of life. 

(14) "Occupational therapy practitioner" means an 

individual licensed by the Board as an 

occupational therapist or an occupational 

therapy assistant. 

(15) "Occupational therapy services" include the 

following: 

(a) Methods or strategies selected to 

direct the process of interventions 

such as: 

(i) Establishment, remediation, 

or restoration of a skill or 

ability that has not yet 

developed or is impaired; 

(ii) Compensation, modification, 

or adaptation of activity or 

environment to enhance 

performance; 

(iii) Maintenance and 

enhancement of capabilities 

without which performance 

in everyday life activities 

would decline; 

(iv) Health promotion and 

wellness to enable or enhance 

performance in everyday life 

activities; and 
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(v) Prevention of barriers to 

performance, including 

disability prevention. 

(b) Evaluation of factors affecting 

activities of daily living (ADL), 

instrumental activities of daily living 

(IADL), education, work, play, 

leisure, and social participation, 

including: 

(i) Client factors, including 

body functions (such as 

neuromuscular, sensory, 

visual, perceptual, cognitive) 

and body structures (such as 

cardiovascular, digestive, 

integumentary, genitourinary 

systems); 

(ii) Habits, routines, roles, and 

behavior patterns; 

(iii) Cultural, physical, 

environmental, social, and 

spiritual contexts and activity 

demands that affect 

performance; and 

(iv) Performance skills, including 

motor, process, and 

communication/interaction 

skills. 

(c) Interventions and procedures to 

promote or enhance safety and 

performance in activities of daily 

living (ADL), instrumental activities 

of daily living (IADL), education, 

work, play, leisure and social 

participation, including: 

(i) Therapeutic use of 

occupations, exercises, and 

activities; 

(ii) Training in self-care, self-

management, home 

management, and 

community or work 

reintegration; 

(iii) Development, remediation, 

or compensation of physical, 

cognitive, neuromuscular, 

sensory functions and 

behavioral skills; 

(iv) Therapeutic use of self, 

including one's personality, 

insights, perceptions, and 

judgments, as part of the 

therapeutic process; 

(v) Education and training of 

individuals, including family 

members, caregivers, and 

others; 

(vi) Care coordination, case 

management, and transition 

services; 

(vii) Consultative services to 

groups, programs, 

organizations, or 

communities; 

(viii) Modification of home, work, 

school, or community 

environments and adaptation 

of processes, including the 

application of ergonomic 

principles; 

(ix) Assessment, design, 

fabrication, application, 

fitting, and training in 

assistive technology, 

adaptive devices, and 

orthotic devices, and training 

in the use of prosthetic 

devices; 

(x) Assessment, 

recommendation, and 

training in techniques to 

enhance functional mobility, 

including wheelchair 

management; 

(xi) Driver rehabilitation and 

community mobility; 

(xii) Management of feeding, 

eating, and swallowing to 

enable eating and feeding 

performance; and 

(xiii) Application of physical agent 

modalities and use of a range 

of specific therapeutic 

procedures to enhance 

performance skills. 

(16) "Occupational therapy student" means an 

individual enrolled in an occupational therapist 

or occupational therapy assistant program 

accredited by the Accreditation Council for 

Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE). 

(17) "Practice Act" refers to the North Carolina 

Occupational Therapy Practice Act found in 

G.S. 90-270.65 et. seq. 

(18) "Screening" means obtaining and reviewing 

data relevant to a potential client to determine 

the need for further evaluation and intervention. 

(19) "Service Competency" is the ability to provide 

occupational therapy services in a safe and 

effective manner. It means that two 

practitioners can perform the same or 

equivalent procedure and obtain the same 

result. 

(20) "Skilled occupational" therapy services when 

rendered by an occupational therapist or 

occupational therapy assistant means functions 

that require the exercise of professional 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2018 

286 

occupational therapy judgment, including the 

interpretation of referrals, screening, 

assessment, evaluation, development or 

modification of intervention plans, 

implementation of intervention, reassessment, 

or discharge planning. 

(21) "Supervision" is the process by which two or 

more people participate in joint effort to 

establish, maintain, and elevate a level of 

performance to ensure the safety and welfare of 

clients during occupational therapy. 

Supervision is structured according to the 

supervisee's qualifications, position, level of 

preparation, depth of experience and the 

environment within which the supervisee 

functions. Levels of supervision are: 

(a) "General supervision," which is 

required for all occupational therapy 

assistants by an occupational therapist. 

It includes a variety of types and 

methods of supervision and may 

include observation, modeling, co-

treatment, discussions, teaching, 

instruction, phone conversations, 

videoconferencing, written 

correspondence, electronic exchanges, 

and other telecommunication 

technology. Methods of observation 

include face-to-face, synchronous or 

asynchronous videoconferencing. The 

specific frequency, methods, and 

content of supervision may vary by 

practice setting and are dependent on 

the complexity of client needs, number 

and diversity of clients, demonstrated 

service competency of the 

occupational therapist and the 

occupational therapy assistant, type of 

practice setting, requirements of the 

practice setting, and federal and state 

regulatory requirements. General 

supervision shall be required at least 

monthly; and  

(b) "Direct supervision," which is 

required for all unlicensed personnel 

and volunteers. It means the 

Occupational Therapy supervisor 

must be within audible and visual 

range of the client and unlicensed 

personnel and available for immediate 

physical intervention. 

Videoconferencing is not allowed for 

direct supervision. 

(22) "Unlicensed personnel" means individuals 

within an occupational therapy setting who 

provide supportive services to the occupational 

therapist and the occupational therapy assistant 

and who function only under the guidance, 

responsibility, and supervision of the licensed 

occupational therapist or occupational therapy 

assistant to provide only specifically selected 

client-related or non-client related tasks for 

which the unlicensed personnel has been 

trained and has demonstrated competence. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.67; 90-270.69(4); 

Eff. July 1, 1985; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; May 1, 1989; May 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 38 .0803 APPROVAL OF ACTIVITIES 

FOR MAINTAINING CONTINUING COMPETENCE 

(a)  Provided the activities meet the requirements of Rule .0804, 

the Board shall approve: 

(1) Continuing competence activities sponsored or 

approved by the North Carolina Occupational 

Therapy Association; 

(2) Continuing competence activities sponsored or 

approved by the American Occupational 

Therapy Association; and 

(3) Continuing competence activities sponsored by 

AOTA approved providers. 

(b)  A provider of a continuing competence activity shall furnish 

documentation for demonstrating completion to all participants, 

specifying the following information: 

(1) name of the participant; 

(2) name of the provider; 

(3) dates of the activity and completion; 

(4) title and location of the activity; 

(5) number of contact hours; and 

(6) signature of the provider or representative. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.69; 90-270.75(a); 

Eff. July 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 38 .0903 TYPES OF SUPERVISION 

(a)  Occupational therapy assistants at all levels shall require 

general supervision by an occupational therapist pursuant to Rule 

.0103(21)(a) of this Chapter.  

(b)  Occupational therapy students shall require supervision by an 

occupational therapy practitioner as follows: 

(1) An occupational therapy practitioner shall 

comply with Accreditation Council for 

Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE) 

requirements for experience when supervising 

Level II fieldwork occupational therapist and 

occupational therapy assistant students, which 

ACOTE requirements, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, are incorporated by 

reference. Copies of the incorporated material 

are available for inspection at the Board office 

and are available for purchase for five dollars 

($5.00); 
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(2) The occupational therapist may supervise Level 

I and Level II fieldwork occupational therapist 

and occupational therapy assistant students; and 

(3) The occupational therapy assistant may: 

(A) Supervise Level I occupational 

therapist or occupational therapy 

assistant students; 

(B) Supervise Level II occupational 

therapy assistant students; and 

(C) Participate in the supervision of Level 

II occupational therapist students 

under the direction and guidance of the 

supervising occupational therapist. 

(c)  Unlicensed personnel and volunteers require direct 

supervision. Unlicensed personnel or volunteers may be 

supervised by occupational therapists or occupational therapy 

assistants. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.69; 

Eff. July 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 38 .0905 DELINEATION OF CLINICAL 

RESPONSIBILITIES 

Regardless of the setting in which occupational therapy services 

are delivered, the occupational therapist and the occupational 

therapy assistant shall have the following responsibilities during 

client evaluation, intervention, and outcome evaluation: 

(1) Evaluations: 

(a) The occupational therapist shall; 

(i) Direct the evaluation 

process; 

(ii) Determine the need for 

services; 

(iii) Define the problems within 

the domain of occupational 

therapy that need to be 

addressed; 

(iv) Determine the client's goals 

and priorities in collaboration 

with the occupational therapy 

assistant and the client or 

caregiver; 

(v) Interpret the information 

provided by the occupational 

therapy assistant and 

integrate that information 

into the evaluation decision-

making process; 

(vi) Establish intervention 

priorities; 

(vii) Determine specific future 

assessment needs; 

(viii) Determine specific 

assessment tasks that can be 

delegated to the occupational 

therapy assistant; and 

(ix) Initiate and complete the 

evaluation, interpret the data, 

and develop the intervention 

plan in collaboration with the 

occupational therapy 

assistant. 

(b) The occupational therapy assistant 

may contribute to the evaluation 

process by implementing assessments 

delegated by the occupational 

therapist. 

(2) Intervention Planning: 

(a) The occupational therapist shall 

develop the occupational therapy 

intervention plan. The plan may be 

developed collaboratively with the 

occupational therapy assistant and the 

client or caregiver; and 

(b) The occupational therapy assistant 

may provide input into the 

intervention plan. 

(3) Intervention implementation: 

(a) The occupational therapist: 

(i) Shall implement the 

occupational therapy 

intervention; 

(ii) May delegate aspects of the 

occupational therapy 

intervention to the 

occupational therapy 

assistant; and 

(iii) Shall supervise all aspects of 

intervention delegated to the 

occupational therapy 

assistant. 

(b) The occupational therapy assistant 

shall implement delegated aspects of 

intervention in which the occupational 

therapy assistant has established 

service competency; and 

(c) Occupational therapists shall not be 

subject to disciplinary action by the 

Board for refusing to delegate or 

refusing to provide the required 

training for delegation, if the 

occupational therapist determines that 

delegation may compromise client 

safety. 

(4) Intervention review: 

(a) The occupational therapist shall meet 

with each client who has been 

assigned to an occupational therapy 

assistant to further assess the client, to 

evaluate intervention, and, if 

necessary, to modify the individual's 

intervention plan; 

(b) The occupational therapist shall 

determine the need for continuing or 

discontinuing services; and 
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(c) The occupational therapy assistant 

may contribute to the process of 

determining continuing or 

discontinuing services by providing 

information about the client's response 

to intervention to assist with the 

occupational therapist's decision 

making. 

(5) Documentation: 

(a) The occupational therapy practitioner 

shall document each evaluation, 

intervention, and discharge plan 

recognizing the requirements of 

practice settings, payors, and service 

delivery models. Documentation shall 

include the following elements: 

(i) Client name or identifiable 

information; 

(ii) Signature with occupational 

therapist or occupational 

therapy assistant designation 

of the occupational therapy 

practitioner who performed 

the service; 

(iii) Date of the evaluation, 

intervention, or discharge 

plan; 

(iv) Objective and measurable 

description of contact or 

intervention and client 

response; and 

(v) Length of time of 

intervention session or 

evaluation. 

(b) The occupational therapist shall 

determine the overall completion of 

the evaluation, intervention, or 

discharge plan; and 

(c) The occupational therapy assistant 

shall; 

(i) Document intervention, 

intervention response, and 

outcome; and 

(ii) Document client's level of 

function at discharge. 

(6) Discharge: 

(a) The occupational therapist shall 

determine the client's discharge from 

occupational therapy services; and 

(b) The occupational therapy assistant 

shall: 

(i) Report data for discharge 

summary; and 

(ii) Formulate discharge or 

follow-up plans under the 

supervision of the 

occupational therapist. 

(7) Outcome evaluation: 

(a) The occupational therapist is 

responsible for the selection, 

measurement, and interpretation of 

outcomes that are related to the client's 

ability to engage in occupations; and 

(b) The occupational therapy assistant 

must be knowledgeable about duties 

delegated by the occupational 

therapist that relate to the client's 

targeted occupational therapy 

outcome and provide information 

relating to outcome achievement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.69; 

Eff. July 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2009; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 57 - APPRAISAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0204 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(a)  All registered trainees, real estate appraiser licensees, and 

certificate holders shall, upon the renewal of their registration, 

license, or certificate in every odd-numbered year, present 

evidence satisfactory to the Board of having obtained continuing 

education as required by this Section. Trainees and appraisers who 

initially registered with the Board after January 1 of an odd-

numbered year are not required to show continuing education 

credit for renewal of their registration in that odd-numbered year. 

(b)  Each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder who must 

complete continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule shall complete 28 hours of continuing education before June 

1 of every odd-numbered year. Except as provided in Paragraphs 

(g) and (h) of this Rule, the education must have been obtained by 

taking courses approved by the Board for continuing education 

purposes, at schools approved by the Board to offer these courses. 

Such education must relate to real estate appraisal and contribute 

to the goal of improving the knowledge, skill and competence of 

trainees, and licensed and certified real estate appraisers. There 

shall be no exemption from the continuing education requirement 

for trainees or appraisers whose status has been upgraded to the 

level of licensed residential, certified residential, or certified 

general appraiser since the issuance or most recent renewal of 

their registration, license, or certificate, and courses taken to 

satisfy the requirements of a higher level of certification shall not 

be applied toward the continuing education requirement. 

Trainees, licensees, and certificate holders shall not take the same 

continuing education course more than once during the two year 

continuing education cycle. 

(c)  Each appraisal continuing education course must involve a 

minimum of three and one-half classroom hours of instruction on 

real estate appraisal or related topics such as: 

(1) the application of appraisal concepts and 

methodology to the appraisal of various types 

of property; 
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(2) specialized appraisal techniques; 

(3) laws, rules, or guidelines relating to appraisal; 

(4) standards of practice and ethics; 

(5) building construction; 

(6) financial or investment analysis; 

(7) land use planning or controls; 

(8) feasibility analysis; 

(9) statistics; or 

(10) accounting. 

The trainee, licensee, or certificate holder must have attended at 

least 90 percent of the scheduled classroom hours for the course 

in order to receive credit for the course. 

(d)  Each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder who is required 

to complete continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule must, as part of the 28 hours of continuing education 

required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, complete the seven hour 

National USPAP update course between October 1 of an odd-

numbered year and June 1 of an even-numbered year, as required 

by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal 

Foundation, or its equivalent. USPAP is updated every even-

numbered year, and each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder 

shall take the most recent USPAP update course prior to June 1 of 

every even-numbered year. 

(e)  A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder who elects to take 

approved continuing education courses in excess of the 

requirement shall not carry over those hours into the subsequent 

years any continuing education credit. 

(f)  Course sponsors must provide a certificate of course 

completion to each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder 

successfully completing a course. In addition, course sponsors 

must send directly to the Board a certified roster of all who 

successfully completed the course. This roster must be sent within 

15 days of completion of the course, no later than June 15 of each 

year. In order to renew a registration, license, or certificate in a 

timely manner, the Board must receive proof of satisfaction of the 

continuing education requirement prior to processing a 

registration, license, or certificate renewal application. Proof of 

satisfaction shall be made by receipt of a roster from a school or 

course sponsor showing the courses completed by the applicant or 

by submission of an original certificate of course completion. If 

proof of having satisfied the continuing education requirement is 

not provided, the registration, license, or certificate shall expire 

and the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder shall be subject to 

the provisions of Rules .0203(e) and .0206 of this Section. 

(g)  A current or former trainee, licensee, or certificate holder may 

request that the Board grant continuing education credit for a 

course taken by the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder that is 

not approved by the Board, or for appraisal education activity 

equivalent to a Board-approved course, by making such request 

and submitting a non-refundable fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) as 

set out in G.S. 93E-1-8(d) for each course or type of appraisal 

education activity to be evaluated. Continuing education credit for 

a non-approved course shall be granted only if the trainee, 

licensee, or certificate holder provides satisfactory proof of course 

completion and the Board finds that the course satisfies the 

requirements for approval of appraisal continuing education 

courses with regard to subject matter, course length, instructor 

qualifications, and student attendance. Online courses shall satisfy 

the provisions of 21 NCAC 57B .0603(6). Appraisal education 

activities for which credit may be awarded include teaching 

appraisal courses, authorship of appraisal textbooks, and 

development of instructional materials on appraisal subjects. A 

maximum of 14 hours of continuing education credit may be 

granted in each continuing education cycle for participation in 

appraisal education activities. Trainees or licensed or certified 

appraisers who have taught an appraisal course or courses 

approved by the Board for continuing education credit shall be 

deemed to have taken an equivalent course and are not subject to 

the fee prescribed in G.S. 93E-1-8(d), provided they submit 

verification satisfactory to the Board of having taught the 

course(s). A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder who teaches a 

Board-approved continuing education course may not receive 

continuing education credit for the same course more than once 

every two years, regardless of how many times he or she teaches 

the course. Requests for equivalent approval for continuing 

education credit must be received before June 15 of an odd-

numbered year to be credited towards the continuing education 

requirement for that odd-numbered year. Equivalent approval 

shall be granted only for courses that are 7 hours or longer, and 

shall only be granted for a minimum of 7 hours. 

(h)  A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder may receive 

continuing education credit by taking any of the Board-approved 

precertification courses, other than Basic Appraisal Principles and 

Basic Appraisal Procedures, or their approved equivalents. 

Trainees, licensees, and certificate holders who wish to use a 

precertification course for continuing education credit must 

comply with the provisions of 21 NCAC 57B .0604. 

(i)  A licensee or certificate holder who resides in another state, is 

currently credentialed in another state, and is active on the 

National Registry in another state may satisfy the requirements of 

this Section, other than the seven hour National USPAP update 

course requirement in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, by providing a 

current letter of good standing from another state showing that the 

licensee or certificate holder has met all continuing education 

requirements in the other state. A licensee or certificate holder 

who became licensed in North Carolina by licensure or 

certification with another state and now resides in North Carolina 

may renew by letter of good standing for his or her first renewal 

as a resident of North Carolina only if the appraiser moved to 

North Carolina on or after January 1 of an odd-numbered year. If 

an appraiser was a resident of this state before January 1 of an 

odd-numbered year, the appraiser must comply with the 

requirements of this section regardless of how the license or 

certificate was obtained. 

(j)  A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder who returns from 

active military duty on or after February 1 of an odd-numbered 

year shall be allowed to renew his or her registration, license, or 

certificate in that odd-numbered year even if the required 

continuing education is not completed before June 1 of that year. 

All required continuing education must be completed within 180 

days of when the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder returns 

from active duty. Failure to complete the required continuing 

education within 180 days shall be grounds for revocation. This 

Rule applies to an individual who is serving in the armed forces 

of the United States and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an 

extension of time to file a tax return. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93B-15; 93E-1-7(a); 93E-1-10; 
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Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; July 1, 2011; July 1, 

2010; January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; March 1, 2006; July 1, 

2005; July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999;  

Pursuant to G.S. 150B.21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0102 LICENSED RESIDENTIAL AND 

CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER 

COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Each applicant for licensure as a licensed residential real 

estate appraiser or for certification as a certified residential real 

estate appraiser shall complete a minimum of 200 hours of 

education, consisting of the following: 

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 

Principles;  

(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 

Procedures;  

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Market 

Analysis and Highest and Best Use;  

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential 

Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach; 

(5) A minimum of 30 Hours in Residential Sales 

Comparison and Income Approaches; 

(6) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Report 

Writing and Case Studies; 

(7) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 

(USPAP); 

(8) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling, 

and Finance; 

(9) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced 

Residential Applications and Case Studies; and 

(10) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject 

matter electives. 

(b)  An applicant who is currently registered with the Board as a 

trainee shall satisfy the educational requirements to become a 

licensed or certified residential real estate appraiser by completing 

the following education: 

(1) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential 

Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach; 

(2) A minimum of 30 Hours in Residential Sales 

Comparison and Income Approaches; 

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in Residential Report 

Writing and Case Studies; 

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling, 

and Finance; 

(5) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced 

Residential Applications and Case Studies; and 

(6) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject 

matter electives. 

(c)  An applicant who was licensed as a licensed residential 

appraiser before January 1, 2015 shall satisfy the educational 

requirements to become a certified residential real estate appraiser 

by completing the following education: 

(1) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling, 

and Finance; 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours in Advanced 

Residential Applications and Case Studies; and 

(3) A minimum of 20 hours of appraisal subject 

matter electives. 

(d)  Credit for the courses required by this Rule shall be earned 

from a Board-approved course sponsor or school, and all courses 

shall comply with the course content standards prescribed in Rule 

.0302 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  An applicant who is not currently registered by the Board as 

a trainee or who is not currently licensed by the Board as a 

licensed residential real estate appraiser must have completed all 

required courses no earlier than January 1, 2008. 

(f)  An applicant who is currently registered by the Board as a 

trainee or who is currently licensed by the Board as a licensed 

residential real estate appraiser must have completed all courses 

required beyond those required for his or her current registration, 

license, or certification no earlier than January 1, 2008. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(b); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-

10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; 

September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; July 1, 

2003; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0103 CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL 

ESTATE APPRAISER COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  An applicant for certification as a certified general real estate 

appraiser shall complete the following precertification courses: 

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 

Principles; 

(2) A minimum of 30 hours in Basic Appraisal 

Procedures; 

(3) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 

Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use; 

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling, 

and Finance; 

(5) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 

Sales Comparison Approach; 

(6) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 

Site Valuation and Cost Approach; 

(7) A minimum of 60 hours in General Appraiser 

Income Approach; 

(8) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 

Report Writing and Case Studies; 

(9) A minimum of 30 hours of appraisal subject 

matter electives; and 

(10) A minimum of 15 hours in The Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 

(USPAP). 

(b)  An applicant who is currently registered with the Board as a 

trainee shall satisfy the educational requirements to become a 

general real estate appraiser by completing the following 

education: 

(1) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 

Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use; 
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(2) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling, 

and Finance; 

(3) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 

Sales Comparison Approach; 

(4) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 

Site Valuation and Cost Approach; 

(5) A minimum of 60 hours in General Appraiser 

Income Approach;  

(6) A minimum of 30 hours in General Appraiser 

Report Writing and Case Studies; and 

(7) A minimum of 30 hours of appraisal subject 

matter electives. 

(c)  An applicant who is currently licensed with the Board as a 

licensed residential real estate appraiser shall satisfy the 

educational requirements to become a general real estate appraiser 

by completing the following education: 

(1) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 

Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use; 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling, 

and Finance; 

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 

Sales Comparison Approach; 

(4) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 

Site Valuation and Cost Approach; 

(5) A minimum of 45 hours in General Appraiser 

Income Approach; 

(6) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 

Report Writing and Case Studies; and 

(7) A minimum of 30 hours of appraisal subject 

matter electives. 

(d)  An applicant who is currently certified with the Board as a 

certified residential real estate appraiser shall satisfy the 

educational requirements to become a general real estate appraiser 

by completing the following education: 

(1) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 

Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use; 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 

Sales Comparison Approach; 

(3) A minimum of 15 hours in General Appraiser 

Site Valuation and Cost Approach; 

(4) A minimum of 45 hours in General Appraiser 

Income Approach; and 

(5) A minimum of 10 hours in General Appraiser 

Report Writing and Case Studies. 

(e)  Credit for the courses required by this Rule shall be earned 

from a Board-approved course sponsor or school, and all courses 

shall comply with the course content standards prescribed in Rule 

.0302 of this Subchapter. 

(f)  An applicant who is not currently registered by the Board as a 

trainee or who is not currently licensed or certified by the Board 

as a licensed residential or certified residential real estate 

appraiser must have completed all the required courses no earlier 

than January 1, 2008. 

(g)  An applicant who is currently registered by the Board as a 

trainee or who is not currently licensed or certified by the Board 

as a licensed residential or certified residential real estate 

appraiser must have completed all courses required beyond those 

required for his or her current registration, licensure or 

certification no earlier than January 1, 2008. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-

10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008; 

January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0613 PAYMENT OF FEE REQUIRED 

BY G.S. 90E-1-7(b1) 

Schools and course sponsors who are required by G.S. 93E-1-

7(b1) to pay a fee to the Board for each licensee completing an 

approved continuing education course conducted by the school or 

course sponsor shall remit the fee to the Board within 30 days after 

the date the course is completed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c)(d); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. September 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive pubic interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 57C .0101 FORM OF COMPLAINTS AND 

OTHER PLEADINGS 

(a)  Complaints shall be in writing, identify the trainee, appraiser, 

or appraisal management company, identify the Complainant by 

name, provide a physical address and contact information for the 

Complainant, and state the facts that form the basis of the 

complaint. 

(b)  When the Board investigates a complaint, the scope of the 

investigation shall not be limited to the persons or transactions 

described or alleged in the complaint. 

(c)  Complainants are not parties to contested cases heard by the 

Board, but may be witnesses in the cases. 

(d)  There is no specific form required for answers, motions, or 

other pleadings submitted prior to the hearing relating to contested 

cases before the Board, except they shall be in writing. The 

document shall identify the file number and state the matters it 

alleges, answers, or requests. Motions may be made on the record 

during the course of the hearing before the Board. 

(e)  During the course of an investigation of a licensee, the Board, 

through its legal counsel or staff, may send a trainee, appraiser, or 

appraisal management company one or more letters of inquiry 

requesting a response from the trainee, appraiser, or appraisal 

management company. The initial letter of inquiry, or attachments 

thereto, shall set forth the subject matter being investigated. Upon 

receipt of a letter of inquiry, the trainee, appraiser, or appraisal 

management company shall respond within 30 calendar days. The 

response shall include copies of all documents requested in a letter 

of inquiry. 

(f)  Hearings in contested cases before the Board shall be 

governed by the provisions of Article 3A of Chapter 150B of the 

General Statutes. 

(g)  A complaint shall not be accepted if the applicable time period 

for retention of the work file for that appraisal assignment 

pursuant to the Recordkeeping Rule of the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice has expired. This Section does not 
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apply to complaints involving the actions outlined in G.S. 93E-1-

12(b)(1),(2),(4), and (5). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-10; 93E-1-12; 93E-2-3; 

93E-2-8; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; July 1, 2003; August 

1, 2002. 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 57D .0202 REGISTRATION RENEWAL 

(a)  All registrations shall expire on June 30 of each year, unless 

renewed before that time. The renewal period shall be from May 

1 through June 30 of each year. 

(b)  A holder of an appraisal management company registration 

desiring the renewal of registration shall apply in writing and shall 

forward the renewal fee. The renewal fee shall be two thousand 

dollars ($2000). The renewal fee is not refundable. 

(c)  In addition to the renewal fee, an appraisal management 

company shall submit with its renewal the annual appraisal 

management company fee required by the Appraisal 

Subcommittee pursuant to 12 C.F.R. 1102.402. The fee shall then 

be transmitted by the Board to the Appraisal Subcommittee. 

(d)  Any company who acts or holds itself out as a registered 

appraisal management company while its appraisal management 

company registration is expired shall be subject to disciplinary 

action and penalties in G.S. 93E-2-8 and G.S. 93E-2-10. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-2-3; 93E-2-6; 

Eff. January 1, 2011; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 57D .0303 COMPLIANCE MANAGER 

(a)  A compliance manager shall be designated with the Board for 

each appraisal management company. The compliance manager 

shall be a certified real estate appraiser certified under G.S. 93E, 

Article I or in another state. 

(b)  An appraisal management company shall file an application 

with the Board for approval of the designated compliance 

manager. This application shall provide the Board with the 

compliance manager's name, mailing and physical address, and 

phone and email contact information, and shall be signed by the 

designated compliance manager. The application may be accessed 

at the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

(c)  The designated compliance manager shall obtain a criminal 

records check pursuant to 93E-2-11. Applicants shall pay all 

required fees to perform the check. This records check shall have 

been performed within 60 days of the date the completed 

application is received by the Board. The criminal records check 

results must be attached to the application for approval as a 

compliance manager. 

(d)  The designated compliance manager is responsible for: 

(1) notifying the Board of any change of trade 

name or contact information of the appraisal 

management company and the registration of 

any assumed business name adopted by the 

appraisal management company for its use; 

(2) the retention and maintenance of records 

relating to appraisals conducted by or on behalf 

of the appraisal management company; 

(3) the maintenance of a record of all appraisers in 

North Carolina who perform appraisals for the 

appraisal management company, including a 

log of payments to appraisers; and 

(4) the conduct of advertising of appraisal 

management services by or in the name of the 

appraisal management company. 

(e)  If an appraisal management company intends to change its 

compliance manager, it must submit an application for approval 

of the new compliance manager at least 10 business days before 

the effective date of the change. 

(f)  If a compliance manager leaves the appraisal management 

company and the company is unable to give at least 10 days' notice 

of the change, the company shall have 15 business days from the 

date the compliance manager leaves to obtain a new compliance 

manager. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-2-3; 93E-2-4(b); 93E-2-5; 

Eff. January 1, 2011; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 57D .0311 REMOVAL OF AN APPRAISER 

FROM AN APPRAISAL PANEL 

(a)  If an appraisal management company decides to remove an 

independent appraiser from its list of qualified appraisers, the 

appraisal management company shall notify the appraiser in 

writing of the reason for removal. 

(b)  Such notice shall be sent to the appraiser by any method that 

provides proof of delivery, including registered mail, return 

receipt requested. 

(c)  If applicable, the notice shall include a description of the 

appraiser's illegal conduct, substandard performance, or otherwise 

improper or unprofessional behavior, or of any violation of the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice or State 

licensing standards. 

(d)  The appraisal management company shall also notify the 

appraiser of any dispute resolution process that it may have in 

place through which the appraiser may dispute the removal. 

(e)  An appraisal management company shall not remove an 

appraiser from its panel in retaliation for the appraiser filing a 

complaint with the Board against the company. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-2-3; 93E-2-7(a); 

Eff. January 1, 2011; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 61 - RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD 
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21 NCAC 61 .0103 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions of terms contained in G.S. 90-648 shall apply to 

the rules in this Chapter. In addition, the following definitions 

shall apply to the rules in this Chapter: 

(1) "Assessment" means a clinical evaluation of an 

individual patient by a Respiratory Care 

Practitioner (RCP) or other licensed health care 

provider within their scope of practice to 

determine the ability and efficacy of a 

respiratory care procedure, protocol, or 

treatment, including an assessment of the 

suitability and efficacy of equipment for an 

individual patient if equipment is to be used in 

the procedure or treatment.  

(2) "Respiratory care" means the health care 

discipline that specializes in the promotion of 

optimum cardiopulmonary function and health 

and wellness using scientific principles to 

identify, treat and prevent acute or chronic 

dysfunction of the cardiopulmonary system 

pursuant to G.S. 90-648(11) that is taught in 

accredited educational programs pursuant to 

G.S. 90-653(3) or in approved continuing 

education programs pursuant to the rules of this 

Chapter within the guidelines established by the 

American Association for Respiratory Care, 

incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions, pursuant to G.S. 90-

648(10)(f). Copies of the guidelines may be 

found at 

https://www.aarc.org/resources/clinical-

resources/clinical-practice-guidelines/ at no 

cost. 

(3) "The practice of respiratory care" means the 

performance of assessments and diagnostic 

tests, and implementation of treatment 

procedures and protocols related to the 

cardiopulmonary system pursuant to G.S. 90-

648(10) and the activities defined by the 

American Association of Respiratory Care 

clinical guidelines, incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions, 

pursuant to G.S. 90-648(10)(f). Copies of the 

guidelines may be found at 

https://www.aarc.org/resources/clinical-

resources/clinical-practice-guidelines/ at no 

cost. 

(4) "Medical gases" mean those inhaled gases used 

in the treatment of cardiopulmonary disease. 

(5) "Humidity" means adding heat or moisture to 

an inhaled medical gas. 

(6) "Aerosols" mean the suspension of particles 

dispersed in air or gas to deliver medication or 

humidity to the airways. 

(7) "Pharmacologic agent" means a medication or 

medical gas delivered during a respiratory care 

procedure for the treatment of cardiopulmonary 

disease. 

(8) "Hyperbaric oxygen therapy" means inhalation 

of high concentrations of oxygen at increased 

levels of atmospheric pressures within a total 

body chamber for the treatment of 

cardiopulmonary disorders or wounds. 

(9) "Mechanical or physiological ventilatory 

support" means the provision of an apparatus to 

support gas exchange associated with 

cardiopulmonary dysfunction. 

(10) "Hemodynamic monitoring" means a procedure 

required to monitor blood pressure invasively 

or noninvasively. 

(11) "Diagnostic testing" means a procedure for 

assessing the function of the cardiopulmonary 

system and diagnosing cardiopulmonary 

disease or sleep related disorders. 

(12) "Therapeutic application" means utilizing 

evidenced-based protocols, procedures, 

treatments, or modalities defined in this 

Chapter to maintain cardiopulmonary health or 

treat cardiopulmonary disease. 

(13)  "Active status" means a license issued to an 

individual after meeting the requirements of 

G.S. 90-653. 

(14)   "Endorsement" means a license issued by the 

Board recognizing the person named on the 

certificate as having met the requirements to 

perform respiratory care procedures pursuant to 

the rules of this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-652; 90-648(2),(10), and 

(11); 90-660; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 15, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2010; January 1, 2007; March 1, 

2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 61 .0104 CODE OF ETHICS 

(a)  The American Association of Respiratory Care (AARC) Code 

of Ethics are incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A free copy may be obtained from the 

American Association of Respiratory Care online at 

www.aarc.org. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-652(3); 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 61 .0301 LICENSE NUMBER: DISPLAY 

OF LICENSE 

(a)  Each license issued by the Board shall be valid for a period of 

one year, except as otherwise provided in G.S. 90-654 and G.S. 

93B-15.1. 

(b)  Each individual who is issued a license shall be issued a 

license number that shall be displayed on the Board's website. 

Should that number be retired for any reason, such as death, 

failure to renew the license, or any other reason, that number shall 
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not be reissued. A web-based license verification displaying the 

status, credentials, degree level, dates for registration, renewal, 

and expiration shall be accessible by the licensee in their principal 

place of business so as to be available for inspection in a printed 

or electronic format.  

(c)  In accordance with the provisions of G.S. 90-640, whenever 

a licensee is providing respiratory care to a patient, the licensee 

shall wear identification that displays, in readily visible type, the 

licensee's name and the designation "RCP". Provisional license 

holders shall wear identification that displays, in readily visible 

type, the licensee's name and the designation "RCP-Provisional." 

A licensee shall ensure any person working under his or her 

supervision who is exempted by G.S. 90-664(2) and (4) is 

properly identified by wearing identification that designates the 

person's affiliation and position in readily visible type. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-652(2),(4); 90-658(b); 90-

640; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 15, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 61 .0307 GROUNDS FOR LICENSE 

DENIAL OR DISCIPLINE 

The following behaviors and conduct that shall constitute 

unprofessional conduct by persons licensed pursuant to G.S. 90-

647 and shall be grounds for license denial or disciplinary action 

by the Board pursuant to G.S. 90-659(a) and (b), G.S. 90-652(4); 

(1) failing to meet minimum licensure 

requirements set by Article 38 of G.S. 90 or 

rules of this Chapter; 

(2) attempting to obtain or renew a license as 

provided by this Chapter by bribery, by 

fraudulent misrepresentation, or by knowingly 

perpetuating an error of the Board; 

(3) violating a rule adopted by the Board or of a 

lawful order of the Board, including violations 

of the Code of Ethics pursuant to 21 NCAC 61 

.0104; 

(4) engaging in the delivery of respiratory care with 

a revoked, suspended, or inactive license; 

(5) failing to perform a statutory or legal obligation 

placed upon a respiratory care practitioner 

licensed pursuant to this Chapter; 

(6) failing to make the disclosures required by 21 

NCAC 61 .0308; 

(7) permitting, aiding, assisting, procuring, or 

advising a person to violate a rule of the Board 

or provision of the Respiratory Care Practice 

Act, including engaging in the practice of 

respiratory care without a license; 

(8) having licensure, certification, registration, or 

other authority, by whatever name known, to 

deliver respiratory care revoked, suspended, or 

otherwise acted against, including the denial of 

licensure, certification, registration, or other 

authority to deliver respiratory care by the 

licensing authority of another state, territory, or 

country; 

(9) willfully failing to report a violation of these 

Rules; 

(10) engaging in unprofessional conduct related to 

the delivery of respiratory care, including an act 

or practice that is hazardous to public health, 

safety, or welfare; 

(11) performing professional services that have not 

been duly ordered by a physician licensed 

pursuant to G.S. 90, Article 1 and that are not in 

accordance with protocols established by the 

hospital, other health care provider, or the 

Board; 

(12) accepting and performing professional 

responsibilities that the licensee knows, or has 

reason to know, he or she is not competent to 

perform; 

(13) delegating professional responsibilities to a 

person if the licensee delegating such 

responsibilities knows, or has reason to know, 

that such person is not qualified by training, 

experience, or licensure to perform; 

(14) being unable to deliver respiratory care services 

with reasonable skill and safety to patients by 

reason of incapacitating illness or use of 

alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or other 

material; 

(15) failing to create and maintain respiratory care 

records documenting the assessment and 

treatment provided to each patient; 

(16) discontinuing professional services unless 

services have been completed, the client 

requests the discontinuation, alternative or 

replacement services are arranged, or the client 

is given reasonable opportunity to arrange 

alternative or replacement services; 

(17) engaging or attempting to engage a patient in a 

sexual relationship;  

(18) promoting or selling services, goods, 

appliances, or drugs that are not medically 

indicated or necessary to a patient; 

(19) making deceptive, untrue, or fraudulent 

representations in the delivery of respiratory 

care; 

(20) intentionally communicating deceptive 

information to a patient; 

(21) paying or receiving any commission, bonus, 

kickback, or rebate to or from, or engaging in 

any fee-splitting arrangement in any form 

whatsoever with, a person, organization, or 

agency, either directly or indirectly, for goods 

or services rendered to patients referred by or to 

providers of health care goods and services, 

including hospitals, nursing homes, clinical 

laboratories, ambulatory surgical centers, and 

pharmacies. The provisions of this paragraph 

shall not be construed to prevent the licensee 
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from receiving a fee for professional 

consultation services; 

(22) soliciting patients, either personally or through 

an agent, through by means of intimidation or 

undue influence; 

(23) willfully making or filing a false report or 

record or willfully impeding or obstructing such 

filing or inducing another person to do so. Such 

reports or records shall include only those 

reports or records that require the signature of a 

licensee; 

(24) being convicted or found guilty of, or entering 

a plea of nolo contendere to, regardless of 

adjudication, a crime in any jurisdiction that 

relates to a licensee's competence or ability to 

provide respiratory care; or 

(25) failing to comply with a court order for child 

support or failing to comply with a subpoena 

issued pursuant to child support or paternity 

establishment proceedings as defined in G.S. 

110-142.1. In revoking or reinstating a license 

under this provision, the Board shall follow the 

procedures outlined in G.S. 93B-13. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-652(2),(4); 90-647; 90-

659(a),(b); 90-652(1),(2),(4); 150B-3; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 15, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 61 .0801 RECEIVING AND PROCESSING 

COMPLAINTS 

(a)  Any person who has a concern or adverse information about 

the conduct or competence of a person licensed by the Board or 

of a person who has applied to the Board for a license may present 

a complaint to the Board. 

(b)  Complaints may be delivered to the Board by transmitting a 

paper copy of the completed complaint by mail, hand-delivery, or 

other means to the Board's office; by sending the completed 

complaint form to the email account identified on the Board's 

website; or by completing the complaint form online on the 

Board's website at www.ncrcb.org. 

(c)  Each complaint shall identify the sender of the complaint, 

provide the sender's contact information, and set forth specific 

facts known to the sender relating to the conduct or competence 

of each person who is the subject of the complaint. 

(d)  Upon receipt of a complaint, the Board's staff shall confirm 

receipt of the complaint to the sender and shall send each person 

who is a subject of the complaint, using the mail or electronic mail 

address of record in the Board's records for each person, a 

summary of the complaint. 

(e)  Investigations may be conducted by the Board staff or by other 

persons authorized by the Board. 

(f)  The Board staff shall assign a case number to the initial 

complaint, review the contents of the complaint, and conduct a 

preliminary review of information to determine whether an 

individual's conduct or competence relates to the Respiratory Care 

Practice Act or the Board's rules. 

(g)  If preliminary information in the complaint does not relate to 

an individual's conduct or competence related to the Respiratory 

Care Practice Act or the Board's rules, the Board staff shall close 

the case and send a notice to the sender and to each person who 

was the subject of the complaint and no further action shall be 

taken by the Board. 

(h)  If the information about an individual's conduct or 

competence is related to the Respiratory Care Practice Act or the 

Board's rules, Board staff shall open an investigative file and 

begin an investigation of the matters described in the complaint. 

(i)  If the Board staff concludes from the information received that 

it is possible that there has been a violation of the Respiratory Care 

Practice Act or the Board's rules, the Board staff shall place the 

matter on the quarterly schedule of the Board's investigative 

committee and issue notice to each person who is the subject of 

the investigation, requesting that each person attend the 

committee meeting to be interviewed. 

(j)  When a matter comes before the investigative committee, the 

committee shall conduct an interview with each person whose 

conduct or competence is the subject of the investigation if he or 

she is willing to be interviewed. 

(k)  The Board shall authorize the Investigative Committee to 

make a recommendation at the next quarterly Board meeting if the 

complaint is not resolved by the Investigative Committee. 

(l)  The Board shall consider the investigative committee 

recommendation on unresolved complaints at the next regularly 

scheduled meeting and shall determine whether to: 

(1) conduct further investigation of particular 

aspects of the matter; 

(2) close the case; 

(3) issue a consent order to a subject of an 

investigation, specifying disciplinary sanctions 

to be applied and, if the consent order is not 

accepted, issue a notice of hearing; 

(4) issue a notice of hearing to a subject, specifying 

disciplinary sanctions; or 

(5) apply to the courts for injunctive relief, refer a 

matter to a district attorney for prosecution, or 

take other actions, including reporting matter to 

appropriate state or federal agencies. 

(m)  A copy notice of hearing shall be sent to the complainant. 

(n)  Notification of the Board's final decision shall be sent to the 

complainant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-652(2)(5); 

Eff. July 1, 2018. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission August 16, 2018 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (1st Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 
Jeffrey A. Poley Paul Powell  

Jeanette Doran (2nd Vice Chair) 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May (919)431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919)431-3079 
Jason Thomas  (919)431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 August 16, 2018 September 20, 2018 
 October 18, 2018 November 15, 2018 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, AUGUST 16, 2018 10:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 

A. Commissioner of Banks - 04 NCAC 03K .0404 (Reeder) 
B. Commission of Navigation and Pilotage for the Cape Fear River and Bar – 04 NCAC 15 .0119, .0121 .0123, 

.0124, .0127, .0128 (Thomas) 
C. Child Care Commission - 10A NCAC 09 .2201, .2202, .2203, .2204, .2205, .2206, .2207,  .2209, .2213, .2216, 

.2217 (May) 
D. DHHS/Division of Medical Assistance – 10A NCAC 22F .0104, .0301, .0302, .0602, .0603, .0604; 22J .0105, 

.0106 (May) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed June 21, 2018 through July 20, 2018 

• Pre-Reviewed Rules 

• Environmental Management Commission 02S (May) 

• Environmental Management Commission 02T (Thomas) 

• Water Pollution Control System Operator Certification Commission (Reeder) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission (May) 

• Water Treatment Facility Operators Certification Board (Reeder) 

• Board of Dental Examiners (May) 
▪ Non Pre-Reviewed Rules 

• Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement (May) 

• Environmental Management Commission 02U (Reeder) 

• Department of Revenue (Reeder) 

• Licensing Board for General Contractors (May) 

• Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners (May) 

• Building Code Council Reeder) 
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V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review 

• Review of Reports 
1. 14B NCAC 16 – Private Protective Services Board (May ) 
2. 20 NCAC 02 – TSERS and LGERS Board of Trustees (Reeder) 
3. 21 NCAC 65 – Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure (Reeder) 

VII. Commission Business 
 E.   Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules Readoption Schedule 

• Next meeting: Thursday, September 20, 2018 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

June 21, 2018 through July 20, 2018 

ELECTIONS AND ETHICS ENFORCEMENT, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 1 are departmental rules. 

Procedures for Political Committees 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 01 .0104 

Emergency Powers of Executive Director 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 01 .0106 

The rules in Chapter 2 concern elections protests. 

Actions of County Board as to Election Protests 
Readopt with Changes* 

 08 NCAC 02 .0110 

Election Protest Form 
Readopt with Changes* 

 08 NCAC 02 .0111 

Appeal to the State Board of Elections 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 02 .0112 

New Elections Ordered by State Board of Elections 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 02 .0113 

Dismissal of Improper Filings 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 02 .0114 

The rules in Chapter 3 concern charges against county elections officials including members of county board of elections 
(.0100); precinct elections officials (.0200); and investigation and reports of criminal violation (.0300). 

Voter Complaints 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 03 .0101 

Charges 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 03 .0102 

Hearing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 03 .0103 

Rights 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 03 .0104 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 03 .0105 

Witnesses 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 03 .0106 

Filing Charges: Adoption of Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 03 .0201 
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Hearings Date and Disposition 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 03 .0202 

Summary Investigation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 03 .0301 

Reports of Evidence of Criminal Violation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 03 .0302 

The rules in Chapter 4 concern voting equipment including use of mechanical voting machines (.0100); use of punch-
card voting equipment (.0200); and approval and operation of voting systems (.0300). 

Approval of Voting Systems 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 04 .0302 

Operation and Matter of Voting on Voting Systems 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 04 .0304 

Instruction of Precinct Officials and Voters in the use o... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 04 .0305 

Duties of Custodians of Voting Systems 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 04 .0306 

Testing of Voting System Before use in an Election 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 04 .0307 

The rules in Chapter 5 concern the modified full time registration system. 

Modified Full-Time Offices 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 05 .0111 

The rules in Chapter 6 concern partisan elections. The rules in subchapter 6b concern ballots. 

Arrangement of Official Ballots 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 06B .0103 

Late Changes in Ballots 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 06B .0104 

Counting of Official Ballots 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 06B .0105 

The rules in Chapter 8 concern compliance with federal P.L. 98-435; The voting accessibility for the elderly and 
handicapped act. 

Handicapped Transfer Prior to Election Day 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 08 .0104 

The rules in Chapter 9 concern conduct of vote recounts by county boards of elections. 

General Guidelines 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 09 .0106 

Recount of Optical Scan/Marksense/Punchcard Ballots 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 09 .0107 

Direct Record Electronic and Lever (Direct Record Mechani... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 09 .0108 

Manual Hand to Eye Recounts 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 09 .0109 

The rules in Chapter 10 concern election day matters. The rules in Subchapter 10B concern voting, voting places and 
precinct officials' duties and tasks. 

Tasks and Duties of Precinct Officials at Voting Places 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 10B .0101 

Setting up Polling Place Prior to Voting  08 NCAC 10B .0102 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Voting Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 10B .0103 

Leaving the Voting Enclosure, Spoiled or Incomplete Ballots 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 10B .0104 

Procedures at the Close of Voting 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 10B .0105 

Election Supplies Return 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 10B .0106 

Assistance to Voters in Primaries and General Elections 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 10B .0107 

Curbside Voting 
Readopt without Changes* 

 08 NCAC 10B .0108 

Voting Site Uniformity 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 10B .0109 

The rules in Chapter 16 concern multipartisan assistance teams. 

Multipartisan Assistance Teams 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 16 .0101 

Team Members 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 16 .0102 

Visits by Multipartisan Assistance Teams 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 16 .0104 

The rules in Chapter 18 concern absentee ballots. 

Absentee Ballot Delivery 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 18 .0101 

In-Person Return of Absentee Ballots 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 18 .0102 

The rules in Chapter 20 concern elections observers. 

Election Observer 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 20 .0101 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 02S concern the rules and criteria for the administration of the dry-cleaning solvent cleanup 
fund including general provisions (.0100); minimum management practices (.0200); petitions for certification (.0300); 
assessment agreements (.0400); and risk-based corrective action approach (.0500). 

Scope and Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02S .0101 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02S .0102 

Applicability 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02S .0201 

Required Minimum Management Practices 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02S .0202 

Filing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02S .0301 

Purpose and Applicability 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02S .0501 
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Abatement of Imminent Hazard 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02S .0502 

Prioritization of Certification Facilities and Sites 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02S .0503 

Tiered Risk Assessment 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02S .0506 

Remedial Action Plan 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02S .0507 

Land-Use Restrictions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02S .0508 

No Further Action Criteria 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02S .0509 

The rules in Subchapter 2T set out the requirements for the issuance of permits for waste systems that do not discharge 
to the surface waters of the state and include general requirements (.0100); and requirements for various systems 
including: wastewater pump and haul systems (.0200); sewer extensions (.0300); system-wide collection system 
permitting (.0400); wastewater irrigation systems (.0500); single-family residence wastewater irrigation systems (.0600); 
high rate infiltration systems (.0700); other non-discharge wastewater systems (.0800); reclaimed water systems 
(.0900); closed-loop recycle systems (.1000); residuals management (.1100); coal combustion products management 
(.1200); animal waste management systems (.1300); manure hauler operations (.1400); soil remediation (.1500); and 
groundwater remediation systems (.1600). 

Purpose 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0101 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0102 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0103 

Activities Which Require a Permit 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0104 

General Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0105 

Submission of Permit Applications 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0106 

Staff Review and Permit Preparation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0107 

Final Action on Permit Applications to the Division 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0108 

Permit Renewals 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0109 

Modification and Revocation of Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0110 

Conditions for Issuing General Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0111 

Delegation of Authority 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0112 

Permitting by Regulation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0113 

Wastewater Design Flow Rates 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0114 

Operational Agreements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0115 

Certificate of Completion 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0116 
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Treatment Facility Operation and Maintenance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0117 

Demonstration of Future Wastewater Treatment Capacities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0118 

Historical Consideration in Permit Approval 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0120 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0201 

Permitting by Regulation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0203 

Permitting 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0204 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0301 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0302 

Permitting by Regulation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0303 

Application Submittal 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0304 

Design Criteria 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0305 

Local Programs for Sewer Systems 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0306 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0401 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0402 

Permitting by Regulation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0403 

Multiple Collection Systems Under Common Ownership 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0404 

Implementation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0405 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0501 

Application Submittal 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0504 

Design Criteria 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0505 

Setbacks 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0506 

Operation and Maintenance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0507 

Residuals Management 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0508 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0601 

Application Submittal 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0604 

Design Criteria 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0605 
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Setbacks 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0606 

Connection to Regional System 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0607 

Operation and Maintenance 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0608 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0701 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0702 

Application Submittal 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0704 

Design Criteria 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0705 

Setbacks 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0706 

Operation and Maintenance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0707 

Residuals Management 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0708 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0801 

Application Submittal 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0804 

Design Criteria 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0805 

Setbacks 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0806 

Operation and Maintenance 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0807 

Residuals Management 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02T .0808 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1101 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1102 

Permitting by Regulation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1103 

Application Submittal 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1104 

Pollutant Limits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1105 

Pathogen Reduction Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1106 

Vector Attraction Reduction Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1107 

Setbacks 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1108 

Residuals Management Practices 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1109 

Operation and Maintenance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1110 
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Monitoring and Reporting 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1111 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1201 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1202 

Permitting by Regulation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1203 

Application Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1204 

Pollutant Limits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1205 

Setbacks 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1206 

Management Practices 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1207 

Operation and Maintenance Plan 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1208 

Monitoring and Reporting 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1209 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1301 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1302 

Permitting by Regulation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1303 

State Permitting Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1304 

NPDES Permitting Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1305 

Closure Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1306 

Swine Waste Management System Performance Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1307 

Evaluation and Approval of Swine Waste Management Systems 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1308 

Lagoon Conversion Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1309 

Animal Waste Residuals Management 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1310 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1401 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1402 

Permitting by Regulations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1403 

Annual Reports 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1404 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1601 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1602 
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Application Submittal 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1604 

Design Criteria 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1605 

Setbacks 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1606 

Monitoring and Reporting Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1607 

Requirements for Closure 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02T .1608 

The rules in Subchapter 2U concern reclaimed water including general requirements (.0100); application requirements 
(.0200); effluent standards (.0300); design standards (.0400); general utilization requirements (.0500); bulk distribution 
of reclaimed water (.0600); setbacks (.0700); operational plans (.0800); local program approval (.0900); wetlands 
augmentation (.1100); and irrigation to food chain crops (.1400). 

Purpose 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0101 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0102 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0103 

Activities which Require a Permit 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0104 

General Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0105 

Submission of Permit Applications 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0106 

Staff Review and Permit Preparation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0107 

Final Action on Permit Applications to the Division 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0108 

Permit Renewals 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0109 

Modification and Revocation of Permits 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0110 

Conditions for Issuing General Permits 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0111 

Delegation of Authority 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0112 

Permitting by Regulation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0113 

Wastewater Design Flow Rates 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0114 

Operational Agreements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0115 

Certification of Completion 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0116 

Treatment Facility Operation and Maintenance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0117 

Demonstration of Future Wastewater Treatment Capacities 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0118 

Historical Consideration in Permit Approval  15A NCAC 02U .0120 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Application Submittal 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0201 

Application Submittal for Dedicated Reclaimed Water Systems 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0202 

Reclaimed Water Effluent Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0301 

Design Criteria for Reclaimed Water Treatment Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0401 

Design Criteria for Dedicated Reclaimed Water Treatment F... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0402 

Design Criteria for Distribution Lines 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0403 

Design Criteria for Closed-Loop Recycle Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0404 

Reclaimed Water Utilization 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0501 

Bulk Distribution of Reclaimed Water 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0601 

Setbacks 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0701 

Operation and Maintenance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0801 

Residuals Management 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0802 

Local Program Approval 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .0901 

Wetlands Augmentation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .1101 

Irrigation to Food Chain Crops 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02U .1401 

WATER POLLUTION CONTROL SYSTEM OPERATOR CERTIFICATION COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 08F concern the certification of operators of animal waste management systems including 
general purpose and definitions (.0800); duties and requirements (.0200); classification (.0300); certification of operators 
(.0400); and civil penalties (.0500). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0102 

Duties and Requirements of Owners 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0201 

Duties and Requirements of Certified Operators 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0202 

Duties and Requirements of an Operator in Charge 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0203 

Classification of Animal Waste Management 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0301 

Qualifications for Examination 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0401 

Application Form 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0402 

Application Procedures  15A NCAC 08F .0403 
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Amend* 

Examination Procedures 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0404 

Renewal of Certification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0405 

Revocation, Relinquishment or Invalidation of Certification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0406 

Recertification Following Revocation or Relinquishment 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0407 

Who May Assess 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0501 

When Assessable 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0502 

Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0503 

Assessment 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0504 

Payment and Hearing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0505 

Referrals 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08F .0506 

The rules in Subchapter 8G concern authority organization structure definitions and include general purpose and 
definitions (.0100); duties and responsibilities (.0200); classification of water pollution control systems (.0300); eligibility 
requirements for examinations (.0400); certification by examination (.0500); certification without examination (.0600); 
renewal of certification (.0700); disciplinary actions (.0800); contract operation of water pollution control systems (.0900); 
and rule making procedures and petitions for regulatory activity (.1000). 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0102 

Responsibility of System Owners to Designate Certified Op... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0201 

Responsibilities of An Operator In Responsible Charge (ORC) 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0204 

Responsibilities of a Back-Up Operator In Responsible Cha... 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0205 

Applicability 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0301 

Classification of Biological Water Pollution Control Trea... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0302 

Classification of Surface Irrigation Water Pollution Cont... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0304 

Classification of Land Application of Residuals Systems 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0305 

Classification of Physical/Chemical Water Pollution Contr... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0306 

Classification of Subsurface Water Pollution Control Systems 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0307 

Eligibility Requirements for Land Application of Residuals... 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0404 

Eligibility Requirements for Physical/Chemical Water Pollu... 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0405 

Eligibility Requirements for Surface Irrigation Water Pollu...  15A NCAC 08G .0406 
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Amend* 

Eligibility Requirements for Subsurface Water Pollution C... 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0407 

Reciprocity Certification 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0410 

Applying for Examination 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0501 

Examination Reviews 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0505 

Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0701 

Grounds for Disciplinary Actions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0801 

Disciplinary Actions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0802 

Certification Following Disciplinary Actions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 08G .0803 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10F cover motorboats and water safety including boat registration (.0100); safety equipment 
and accident reports (.0200); and local water safety regulations covering speed limits, no-wake restrictions, restrictions 
on swimming and other activities, and placement of markers for designated counties or municipalities (.0300). 

Atlantic Beach 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0302 

Catawba: Iredell: Lincoln and Mecklenburg Counties 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0307 

Clay County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0308 

Polk County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0315 

Onslow County 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0320 

Pender County 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0321 

Swain County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0335 

Currituck County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0340 

Catawba County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0342 

John H. Moss Lake 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0349 

Mountain Island Lake: Mecklenburg, Gaston and Lincoln Cou... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0353 

Cherokee County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0359 

Graham County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0360 

Macon County 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0366 

Hoke County  15A NCAC 10F .0367 
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Amend* 

Hertford County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0372 

Transylvania County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0373 

Duke Energy Corporation Hydroelectric Station Safety Zones 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0375 

WATER TREATMENT FACILITY OPERATORS CERTIFICATION BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 18 deal with environmental health.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 18D concern water treatment facility operators including general policies (.0100); qualification 
of applicants and classification of facilities (.0200); applications and fees (.0300); issuance of certificate (.0400); rule-
making procedures (.0500); contested cases (.0600) and operation and management (.0700). 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18D .0105 

Grades of Certification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18D .0201 

Rating Values to Determine Various Classes of Certification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18D .0203 

Public Water System Treatment, Distribution, and Cross-Co... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18D .0205 

Expiration and Revocation of Certificate 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18D .0307 

Professional Growth Hours 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18D .0308 

Certification Reinstatement 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18D .0309 

Operator in Responsible Charge 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18D .0701 

REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 7 are sales and use tax.  
 
The rules in Chapter 7B concern state sales and use tax including general provisions (.0100); general application of law 
to manufacturing and industrial processing (.0200); specific tangible personality classified for use by industrial users 
(.0300); specific industries (.0400); exempt sales to manufacturers (.0500); sales of mill machinery and accessories 
(.0600); specific industry purchases (.0700); adjustments, replacements and alterations and installation sales (.0800); 
advertising, advertising agencies and public relations firms (.0900); barbers, beauty shop operators, shoe and watch 
repairmen (.1000); sales of bulk tobacco barns and farm machines and equipment (.1100); hotels, motels, tourist camps 
and tourist cabins (.1200); sales in interstate commerce (.1300); sales of medicines, drugs and medical supplies (.1400); 
finance companies, finance charges and carrying charges (.1500); sales to or by hospitals, educational, charitable or 
religious institutions, and refunds thereto (.1600); sales to or by the state, counties, cities and other political subdivisions 
(.1700); hospitals and sanitariums (.1800); tire recappers and retreaders: and tire and tube repairs (.1900); sales and 
gifts by employers to employees or other users (.2000); electricity, piped natural gas, bottled gas, coal, coke, fuel oil, 
oxygen, acetylene, hydrogen, liquefied petroleum gas and other combustibles (.2100); food and food products for 
human consumption (.2200); sales to out-of-state merchants for resale (.2300); sales of medical supplies and equipment 
to veterinarians (.2400); furniture and storage warehousemen (.2500); liability of contractors, use tax on equipment 
brought into state and building materials (.2600); dentists, dental laboratories and dental supply houses (.2700); florists, 
nurserymen, greenhouse operators and farmers (.2800); vending machines (.2900); articles taken in trade, trade-ins, 
repossessions, returned merchandise and used or secondhand merchandise (.3000); radio and television stations and 
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motion picture theatres (.3100); telecommunications and telegraph companies (.3200); orthopedic appliances (.3300); 
memorial stone and monument dealers and monument manufactures (.3400); machinists, foundrymen and pattern 
makers (.3500); funeral expenses (.3600); lubricants and oils and greases (.3700); premiums and gifts and trading 
stamps (.3800); containers, wrapping and packing and shipping materials (.3900); fertilizer, seeds and feed and 
insecticides (.0400); artists, art dealers and photographers (.4100); sales to the United States government or agencies 
thereof (.4200); refunds to interstate carriers (.4300); lease or rental (.4400); laundries, dry cleaning plants, launderettes, 
linen rentals and solicitors for such businesses (.4500); motor vehicles and boats (.4600); printers and newspaper or 
magazine publishers (.4700); basis of reporting (.4800); transportation charges (.4900); eyeglasses and other 
ophthalmic aids and supplies, oculists and optometrists and opticians (.5000); leased departments and transient sellers 
(.5100); baby chicks and poults (.5200); certificate of authority and bond requirements (.5300); and forms used for sales 
and use tax purposes (.5400).  

Car Wash Businesses 
Repeal* 

 17 NCAC 07B .3703 

Gift Wrapping 
Repeal* 

 17 NCAC 07B .3911 

Photo Tinting 
Repeal* 

 17 NCAC 07B .4103 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

The rules of the Licensing Board for General Contractors include the board's organization (.0100); licensing 
requirements (.0200); application procedures (.0300); examinations (.0400); licenses (.0500); disciplinary procedures 
(.0700); contested cases (.0800); and home-owners recovery fund (.0900). 

Qualifier 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12 .0205 

Application 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12 .0209 

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 14A are the Cosmetic Art Board of Examiners departmental rules including organizational rules 
(.0100); and license renewal waiver for armed forces (.0400). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14A .0101 

The rules in Subchapter 14H are sanitation rules for both operators and facilities including sanitation (.0100); shop 
licensing and physical dimensions (.0200); cosmetic art shop and equipment (.0300); sanitation procedures and 
practices (.0400); and enforcement, maintenance of licensure (.0500). 

Water 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14H .0301 

Bathroom Facilities 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14H .0303 

Systems of Grading Beauty Establishments 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14H .0504 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 16R concern continuing education requirements of dentists (.0100 and .0200). 

Continuing Education Required 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16R .0201 
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BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2017 Electrical Code/Cables Run Across the Top of Floor J... 
Amend* 

 320.23(A) 

2018 NC Mechanical Code/Equipment and appliances on roofs... 
Amend* 

 306.5 

2018 NC Administrative Code/Information Required 
Amend* 

 106.3.1 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    PUBLISHED    

17 DHR 07556 5/15/2018 Kathleen Yvette 

Hoffler 

v. Division of Child Development and 

Early Education- Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Elkins 

  
          

 

17 DOJ 04367 5/24/2018 Michael Peter 

Brigandi 

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

18 DOJ 00857 5/25/2018 Edmund Brian 

Naumann 

v. NC Private Protective Services Board Ward 

  
          

 

17 EHR 01382 5/11/2018 8 1/2 Marina Village 

John F Matthews VP 

v. NC Department of Environmental 

Quality 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

16 OSP 09787 5/17/2018 Thomas C 

Wetherington 

v. NC Department of Public Safety, NC 

Highway Patrol 

Overby 

  
    

 
    

 

  
    UNPUBLISHED     

 

18 ABC 01673 5/23/2018 Camille Carroll v. ABC Commission Mann 
  

          
 

17 CSE 06879 5/21/2018 Giovanni Arnaboldi 

1317 Overland 

Drive- High Point, 

(NC)-27262 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Social Services 

Child Support Services 

Malherbe 

17 CSE 06967 5/23/2018 Jacquese L Allen v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

17 CSE 06968 5/23/2018 Jacquese L Allen v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 
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17 CSE 06970 5/23/2018 Jacquese L Allen v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Overby 

17 CSE 07196 5/29/2018 Paul P Vossen v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

17 CSE 07347 5/11/2018 Steven H Viebrock v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

17 CSE 07412 5/21/2018 Aslam Mohammed v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

17 CSE 07460 5/8/2018 Wesley J Booth v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

17 CSE 07511 5/15/2018 Jay C Underkofler v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

17 CSE 07576 5/8/2018 Chad D Lacroix v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

17 CSE 07604 5/30/2018 Nicholas P Chonko 

III 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

17 CSE 07606 5/29/2018 William B McPhail v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

17 CSE 07678 5/31/2018 Thomas E Tillery v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Overby 

17 CSE 07685 5/31/2018 Dwayn Moore v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

17 CSE 07766 5/8/2018 Gina R Bond v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

17 CSE 07785 5/14/2018 Naim Wakim v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

17 CSE 07808 5/7/2018 Johnathon R Beadle v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

17 CSE 07853 5/8/2018 Joseph E Rands v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

17 CSE 08083 5/8/2018 Phillip C Henson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

17 CSE 08126 5/22/2018 Luighino Quintanilla v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

17 CSE 08350 5/30/2018 Angel L Rivas Jr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

18 CSE 00034 5/8/2018 Marc E Simpers v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 
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18 CSE 00296 5/8/2018 Timothy A Giresi v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 01240 5/16/2018 Brian Burnett v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

18 CSE 01354 5/18/2018 Quadius N Gaines v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 01472 5/11/2018 Javier D Jackson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Lassiter 

18 CSE 01508 5/8/2018 Jack Perry v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

  
          

 

17 DCS 08253 5/8/2018 Amanda Renee 

Palmer Clark 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

  
          

 

18 DHR 00494 5/11/2018 Bonita Carlisle v. North Carolina Health Care Personnel 

Registery 

Elkins 

18 DHR 00534 5/9/2018 George P Wagner III 

For Cardinal Care 

Inc (HAL-045-001) 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Adult Care Licensure 

Sutton 

18 DHR 00537 5/9/2018 George P Wagner III 

for Blue Ridge 

Retirement (HAL-

045-008) 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, Adult Care Licensure 

Sutton 

18 DHR 00731 5/9/2018 ARJ, LLC Alvin and 

Kendell Jasper 

v. Division of Health Services Regulation 

(DHSR) 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 00921 5/11/2018 Shannon L Smith v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Lassiter 

18 DHR 01394 5/24/2018 Karen Love v. Office of Administrative Hearings Malherbe 

18 DHR 01703 5/23/2018 Restoration Home 

Care Services Diane 

M Sherrill 

v. Public Consulting Group North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Mann 

18 DHR 02148 5/23/2018 Tonia Mitchell v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Child Development 

and Early Education 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 DOJ 00630 5/25/2018 James Edward 

Whiteside 

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Sutton 

18 DOJ 00740 5/2/2018 Bernard Walker v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

May 

  
          

 

18 EHR 01071 5/22/2018 Pembroke Hardware 

Co Inc Milton 

Locklear 

v. Department of Environmental Quality 

Division of Air Quality 

Ward 

18 EHR 01528 5/7/2018 Francis X Deluca v. NC Department of Environmental 

Quality 

Ward 

  
          

 

18 INS 01510 5/23/2018 Kimberly Yvette 

Best 

v. North Carolina State Health Plan Mann 

18 INS 01654 5/9/2018 Frankie Webster v. NC State Health Plan Sutton 
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18 INS 01697 5/30/2018 Tomica L Sobers v. North Carolina State Health Plan Overby 

18 INS 02193 5/17/2018 Jonas E Okeagu v. North Carolina State Health Plan Elkins 

18 INS 02297 5/18/2018 JaMese Bazemore v. North Carolina State Health Plan Ward 
  

          
 

18 MIS 02481 5/15/2018 Danielle A Carter v. Wake County Public Safety Center The 

Sherrif's Office (Sheriff) 

Lassiter 

  
          

 

18 OSP 01782 5/30/2018 Virgil Christopher 

Scott 

v. North Carolina Central University 

Human Resources 

Bawtinhimer 

18 OSP 02149 5/30/2018 Vladimir Zaytsev v. North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality(DEQ) 

Bawtinhimer 

  
          

 

18 SOS 01762 5/3/2018 Connie A Morse 

Executive Director 

Friendship Adult 

Day Services Inc 

v. State of North Carolina Department of 

the Secretary of State 

Lassiter 

        

 

 


