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Commission Counsel 

RRC STAFF OPINION  

PLEASE NOTE: THIS COMMUNICATION IS EITHER 1) ONLY THE RECOMMENDATION OF AN RRC 

STAFF ATTORNEY AS TO ACTION THAT THE ATTORNEY BELIEVES THE COMMISSION SHOULD TAKE ON THE 

CITED RULE AT ITS NEXT MEETING, OR 2) AN OPINION OF THAT ATTORNEY AS TO SOME MATTER 

CONCERNING THAT RULE. THE AGENCY AND MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO SUBMIT THEIR 

OWN COMMENTS AND RECOMMENDATIONS (ACCORDING TO RRC RULES) TO THE COMMISSION. 

AGENCY: North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

RULE CITATION:  12 NCAC 09C .0401 (Temporary) 

RECOMMENDATION DATE:  July 26, 2024 

RECOMMENDED ACTION: 

X Approve, but note staff’s comment 

Object, based on: 

Lack of statutory authority 

Unclear or ambiguous 

Unnecessary 

Failure to comply with the APA 

Extend the period of review 

COMMENT: 

At its June 2024 meeting the North Carolina Rules Review Commission (“RRC”) objected to this 
temporary rule pursuant to G.S.150B-21.9(a)(4) having found that the rule was not adopted in 
accordance with Part 2 of Article 2A of Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes. See 
the attached opinion by counsel which was adopted by the RRC. 

In short, the agency adopted the rule on June 17, 2024 which was less than 30 business days 
from submitting the proposed rule and notice of public hearing to the codifier required by G.S. 
150B-21.1(a3)(1).  The agency could not have lawfully adopted the rule for an additional five 
business days.  

In response to the RRC’s objection, the agency, pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(b1) re-adopted the 
temporary rule1 on July 22, 2024, which is well beyond the June 24, 2024 adoption exclusion 
period specified in G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(1). 

It should be noted that the agency held a public comment period from May 17, 2024 to June 7, 
2024 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(3), prior to the initial adoption of the temporary rule 
on June 17, 2024. 

1 THE AGENCY MADE CHANGES TO THE TEMPORARY RULE AFTER THE INITIAL ADOPTION BUT PRIOR THE SECOND 

ADOPTION.   
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As the June 17th adoption did not truncate the public’s ability to comment to the agency, and the 
subsequent July 22nd adoption has well exceeded the 30 days that the proposed rule was required 
to be published by the Codifier, it appears that the agency has satisfied the RRC’s objection by 
re-adopting the temporary rule on July 22, 2024.  

Accordingly, staff recommends that the RRC find that the agency has satisfied the RRC’s 
objection and approve the temporary rule.  
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§ 150B-21.9.  Standards and timetable for review by Commission. 

(a)        Standards. - The Commission must determine whether a rule meets all of the following 
criteria: 

(1)        It is within the authority delegated to the agency by the General Assembly. 
(2)        It is clear and unambiguous. 
(3)        It is reasonably necessary to implement or interpret an enactment of the General 

Assembly, or of Congress, or a regulation of a federal agency. The Commission 
shall consider the cumulative effect of all rules adopted by the agency related 
to the specific purpose for which the rule is proposed. 

(4)        It was adopted in accordance with Part 2 of this Article. 
The Commission shall not consider questions relating to the quality or efficacy of the rule but 

shall restrict its review to determination of the standards set forth in this subsection. 
The Commission may ask the Office of State Budget and Management to determine if a rule 

has a substantial economic impact and is therefore required to have a fiscal note. The Commission 
must ask the Office of State Budget and Management to make this determination if a fiscal note 
was not prepared for a rule and the Commission receives a written request for a determination of 
whether the rule has a substantial economic impact. 

(a1)      Entry of a rule in the North Carolina Administrative Code after review by the 
Commission creates a rebuttable presumption that the rule was adopted in accordance with Part 2 
of this Article. 

(b)        Timetable. - The Commission must review a permanent rule submitted to it on or 
before the twentieth of a month by the last day of the next month. The Commission must review a 
rule submitted to it after the twentieth of a month by the last day of the second subsequent month. 
The Commission must review a temporary rule in accordance with the timetable and procedure set 
forth in G.S. 150B-21.1. (1991, c. 418, s. 1; 1995, c. 507, s. 27.8(f); 2000-140, s. 93.1(a); 2001-
424, s. 12.2(b); 2003-229, s. 9.) 
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§ 150B-21.1.  Procedure for adopting a temporary rule. 
(a) Adoption. - An agency may adopt a temporary rule when it finds that adherence to the 

notice and hearing requirements of G.S. 150B-21.2 would be contrary to the public interest and 
that the immediate adoption of the rule is required by one or more of the following: 

(1) A serious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety, or welfare. 
(2) The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or the United States 

Congress. 
(3) A recent change in federal or State budgetary policy. 
(4) A recent federal regulation. 
(5) A recent court order. 
(6) The need for a rule establishing review criteria as authorized by G.S. 131E-183(b) 

to complement or be made consistent with the State Medical Facilities Plan 
approved by the Governor, if the rule addresses a matter included in the State 
Medical Facilities Plan, and the proposed rule and a notice of public hearing is 
submitted to the Codifier of Rules prior to the effective date of the Plan. 

(7) The need for the Wildlife Resources Commission to establish any of the following: 
a. No wake zones. 
b. Hunting or fishing seasons, including provisions for manner of take or any 

other conditions required for the implementation of such season. 
c. Hunting or fishing bag limits. 
d. Management of public game lands as defined in G.S. 113-129(8a). 

(8) The need for the Secretary of State to implement the certification technology 
provisions of Article 11A of Chapter 66 of the General Statutes, to adopt 
uniform Statements of Policy that have been officially adopted by the North 
American Securities Administrators Association, Inc., for the purpose of 
promoting uniformity of state securities regulation, and to adopt rules 
governing the conduct of hearings pursuant to this Chapter. 

(9) The need for the Commissioner of Insurance to implement the provisions of 
G.S. 58-2-205. 

(10) The need for the State Chief Information Officer to implement the information 
technology procurement provisions of Article 15 of Chapter 143B of the 
General Statutes. 

(11) The need for the State Board of Elections to adopt a temporary rule after prior 
notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice or hearing the agency finds 
practical for one or more of the following: 
a. In accordance with the provisions of G.S. 163-22.2. 
b. To implement any provisions of state or federal law for which the State Board 

of Elections has been authorized to adopt rules. 
c. The need for the rule to become effective immediately in order to preserve 

the integrity of upcoming elections and the elections process. 
(12) Repealed by Session Laws 2015-264, s. 22, effective October 1, 2015. 
(13), (14) Reserved. 
(15) Expired pursuant to Session Laws 2002-164, s. 5, effective October 1, 2004. 
(16) Expired pursuant to Session Laws 2003-184, s. 3, effective July 1, 2005. 
(17) To maximize receipt of federal funds for the Medicaid or NC Health Choice 

programs within existing State appropriations, to reduce Medicaid or NC 
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Health Choice expenditures, and to reduce Medicaid and NC Health Choice 
fraud and abuse. 

(a1) Recodified as subdivision (a)(16) of this section by Session Laws 2004-156, s. 1. 
(a2) A recent act, change, regulation, or order as used in subdivisions (2) through (5) of 

subsection (a) of this section means an act, change, regulation, or order occurring or made effective 
no more than 210 days prior to the submission of a temporary rule to the Rules Review 
Commission. Upon written request of the agency, the Commission may waive the 210-day 
requirement upon consideration of the degree of public benefit, whether the agency had control 
over the circumstances that required the requested waiver, notice to and opposition by the public, 
the need for the waiver, and previous requests for waivers submitted by the agency. 

(a3) Unless otherwise provided by law, the agency shall: 
(1) At least 30 business days prior to adopting a temporary rule, submit the rule and a 

notice of public hearing to the Codifier of Rules, and the Codifier of Rules shall 
publish the proposed temporary rule and the notice of public hearing on the 
Internet to be posted within five business days. 

(2) At least 30 business days prior to adopting a temporary rule, notify persons on the 
mailing list maintained pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(d) and any other interested 
parties of its intent to adopt a temporary rule and of the public hearing. 

(3) Accept written comments on the proposed temporary rule for at least 15 business 
days prior to adoption of the temporary rule. 

(4) Hold at least one public hearing on the proposed temporary rule no less than five 
days after the rule and notice have been published. If notice of a public hearing 
has been published and that public hearing has been cancelled, the agency shall 
publish notice at least five days prior to the date of any rescheduled hearing. 

(a4) An agency must also prepare a written statement of its findings of need for a temporary 
rule stating why adherence to the notice and hearing requirements in G.S. 150B-21.2 would be 
contrary to the public interest and why the immediate adoption of the rule is required. If the 
temporary rule establishes a new fee or increases an existing fee, the agency shall include in the 
written statement that it has complied with the requirements of G.S. 12-3.1. The statement must 
be signed by the head of the agency adopting the temporary rule. 

(b) Review. - When an agency adopts a temporary rule it must submit the rule and the agency's 
written statement of its findings of the need for the rule to the Rules Review Commission. Within 
15 business days after receiving the proposed temporary rule, the Commission shall review the 
agency's written statement of findings of need for the rule and the rule to determine whether the 
statement meets the criteria listed in subsection (a) of this section and the rule meets the standards 
in G.S. 150B-21.9. The Commission shall direct a member of its staff who is an attorney licensed 
to practice law in North Carolina to review the statement of findings of need and the rule. The staff 
member shall make a recommendation to the Commission, which must be approved by the 
Commission or its designee. The Commission's designee shall be a panel of at least three members 
of the Commission. In reviewing the statement, the Commission or its designee may consider any 
information submitted by the agency or another person. If the Commission or its designee finds 
that the statement meets the criteria listed in subsection (a) of this section and the rule meets the 
standards in G.S. 150B-21.9, the Commission or its designee must approve the temporary rule and 
deliver the rule to the Codifier of Rules within two business days of approval. The Codifier of 
Rules must enter the rule into the North Carolina Administrative Code on the sixth business day 
following receipt from the Commission or its designee. 
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(b1) If the Commission or its designee finds that the statement does not meet the criteria listed 
in subsection (a) of this section or that the rule does not meet the standards in G.S. 150B-21.9, the 
Commission or its designee must immediately notify the head of the agency. The agency may 
supplement its statement of need with additional findings or submit a new statement within 30 
days of the notification. If the agency fails to supplement its statement of need with additional 
findings or submit a new statement to the Commission within 30 days, or submits written notice 
within 30 days to the Commission that the agency does not intend to supplement its statement of 
need with additional findings or submit a new statement, the Commission or its designee shall 
immediately return the rule to the agency. If the agency provides additional findings or submits a 
new statement within 30 days of the notification, the Commission or its designee must review the 
additional findings or new statement within five business days after the agency submits the 
additional findings or new statement. If the Commission or its designee again finds that the 
statement does not meet the criteria listed in subsection (a) of this section or that the rule does not 
meet the standards in G.S. 150B-21.9, the Commission or its designee must immediately notify 
the head of the agency and return the rule to the agency. When the Commission returns a rule to 
an agency in accordance with this subsection, the agency may file an action for declaratory 
judgment within 30 days after notification of the return of the rule by the Commission in Wake 
County Superior Court pursuant to Article 26 of Chapter 1 of the General Statutes. 

(b2) If an agency decides not to provide additional findings or submit a new statement when 
notified by the Commission or its designee that the agency's findings of need for a rule do not meet 
the required criteria or that the rule does not meet the required standards, the agency must notify 
the Commission or its designee of its decision. The Commission or its designee shall then return 
the rule to the agency. When the Commission returns a rule to an agency in accordance with this 
subsection, the agency may file an action for declaratory judgment in Wake County Superior Court 
pursuant to Article 26 of Chapter 1 of the General Statutes within 30 days of the date the rule is 
returned to the agency. 

(b3) Notwithstanding any other provision of this subsection, if the agency has not complied 
with the provisions of G.S. 12-3.1, the Codifier of Rules shall not enter the rule into the Code. 

(b4) When the Commission returns to an agency a proposed permanent rule intended to replace 
a temporary rule, the holder of a permit from the agency may submit revised plans for a revised 
permit removing the impacts of the returned rule if all of the following conditions apply: 

(1) The permit was conditioned upon adherence to the requirements of a temporary rule
that the returned proposed permanent rule was intended to replace. 

(2) The revised plans comply with all other applicable regulations.
The agency shall review the revised plans and approve or deny the revised permit within 45 

days of the receipt of the revised plans. The agency may not impose an additional permit fee for 
review of a revised plan resulting from the expiration of a temporary rule. 

(c) Standing. - A person aggrieved by a temporary rule adopted by an agency may file an action
for declaratory judgment in Wake County Superior Court pursuant to Article 26 of Chapter 1 of 
the General Statutes. In the action, the court shall determine whether the agency's written statement 
of findings of need for the rule meets the criteria listed in subsection (a) of this section and whether 
the rule meets the standards in G.S. 150B-21.9. The court shall not grant an ex parte temporary 
restraining order. 

(c1) Filing a petition for rule making or a request for a declaratory ruling with the agency that 
adopted the rule is not a prerequisite to filing an action under this subsection. A person who files 
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an action for declaratory judgment under this subsection must serve a copy of the complaint on the 
agency that adopted the rule being contested, the Codifier of Rules, and the Commission. 

(d) Effective Date and Expiration. - A temporary rule becomes effective on the date specified
in G.S. 150B-21.3. A temporary rule expires on the earliest of the following dates: 

(1) The date specified in the rule.
(2) The effective date of the permanent rule adopted to replace the temporary rule, if

the Commission approves the permanent rule. 
(3) The date the Commission returns to an agency a permanent rule the agency adopted

to replace the temporary rule. 
(4) The effective date of an act of the General Assembly that specifically disapproves

a permanent rule adopted to replace the temporary rule. 
(5) 270 days from the date the temporary rule was published in the North Carolina

Register, unless the permanent rule adopted to replace the temporary rule has 
been submitted to the Commission. 

(6) Notwithstanding subdivision (5) of this subsection, 12 months after the effective
date of the temporary rule. 

(e) Publication. - When the Codifier of Rules enters a temporary rule in the North Carolina
Administrative Code, the Codifier must publish the rule in the North Carolina Register. (1973, c. 
1331, s. 1; 1981, c. 688, s. 12; 1981 (Reg. Sess., 1982), c. 1232, s. 1; 1983, c. 857; c. 927, ss. 4, 8; 
1985, c. 746, s. 1; 1985 (Reg. Sess., 1986), c. 1022, s. 1(1), 1(8); 1987, c. 285, ss. 10-12; 1991, c. 
418, s. 1; 1991 (Reg. Sess., 1992), c. 900, s. 149; 1993, c. 553, s. 54; 1995, c. 507, s. 27.8(c); 1996, 
2nd Ex. Sess., c. 18, ss. 7.10(c), (d); 1997-403, ss. 1-3; 1998-127, s. 2; 1998-212, s. 26B(h); 1999-
434, s. 16; 1999-453, s. 5(a); 2000-69, ss. 3, 5; 2000-148, ss. 4, 5; 2001-126, s. 12; 2001-421, ss. 
2.3, 5.3; 2001-424, ss. 27.17(b), (c), 27.22(a), (b); 2001-487, s. 21(g); 2002-97, ss. 2, 3; 2002-164, 
s. 4.6; 2003-184, s. 3; 2003-229, s. 2; 2003-413, ss. 27, 29; 2004-156, s. 1; 2011-398, s. 4; 2013-
360, s. 12H.9(d); 2013-413, s. 39; 2015-241, s. 7A.4(ee); 2015-264, s. 22; 2017-6, s. 3; 2018-146,
ss. 3.1(a), (b), 6.1; 2020-3, s. 4.25(a); 2022-74, s. 9D.15(z); 2023-11, s. 3.2(h); 2023-134, s.
21.2(a).)
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150B-21.1 as amended by S.L. 2023-134 
 

"§ 150B-21.1.  Procedure for adopting a temporary rule. 
… 
(b1)      If the Commission or its designee finds that the statement does not meet the 

criteria listed in subsection (a) of this section or that the rule does not meet the standards 
in G.S. 150B-21.9, the Commission or its designee must immediately notify the head 
of the agency. The agency may supplement its statement of need with additional 
findings or submit a new statement. statement within 30 days of the notification. If the 
agency fails to supplement its statement of need with additional findings or submit a 
new statement to the Commission within 30 days, or submits written notice within 30 
days to the Commission that the agency does not intend to supplement its statement of 
need with additional findings or submit a new statement, the Commission or its 
designee shall immediately return the rule to the agency. If the agency provides 
additional findings or submits a new statement, statement within 30 days of the 
notification, the Commission or its designee must review the additional findings or new 
statement within five business days after the agency submits the additional findings or 
new statement. If the Commission or its designee again finds that the statement does 
not meet the criteria listed in subsection (a) of this section or that the rule does not meet 
the standards in G.S. 150B-21.9, the Commission or its designee must immediately 
notify the head of the agency and return the rule to the agency. When the Commission 
returns a rule to an agency in accordance with this subsection, the agency may file an 
action for declaratory judgment within 30 days after notification of the return of the rule 
by the Commission in Wake County Superior Court pursuant to Article 26 of Chapter 
1 of the General Statutes. 

(b2)      If an agency decides not to provide additional findings or submit a new 
statement when notified by the Commission or its designee that the agency's findings 
of need for a rule do not meet the required criteria or that the rule does not meet the 
required standards, the agency must notify the Commission or its designee of its 
decision. The Commission or its designee shall then return the rule to the agency. When 
the Commission returns a rule to an agency in accordance with this subsection, the 
agency may file an action for declaratory judgment in Wake County Superior Court 
pursuant to Article 26 of Chapter 1 of the General Statutes.Statutes within 30 days of 
the date the rule is returned to the agency. 

(b3)      Notwithstanding any other provision of this subsection, if the agency has 
not complied with the provisions of G.S. 12-3.1, the Codifier of Rules shall not enter 
the rule into the Code. 

(b4)      When the Commission returns to an agency a proposed permanent rule 
intended to replace a temporary rule, the holder of a permit from the agency may submit 
revised plans for a revised permit removing the impacts of the returned rule if all of the 
following conditions apply: 
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(1) The permit was conditioned upon adherence to the requirements of a
temporary rule that the returned proposed permanent rule was intended
to replace.

(2) The revised plans comply with all other applicable regulations.
The agency shall review the revised plans and approve or deny the revised permit 

within 45 days of the receipt of the revised plans. The agency may not impose an 
additional permit fee for review of a revised plan resulting from the expiration of a 
temporary rule. 

(c) Standing. – A person aggrieved by a temporary rule adopted by an agency
may file an action for declaratory judgment in Wake County Superior Court pursuant 
to Article 26 of Chapter 1 of the General Statutes. In the action, the court shall determine 
whether the agency's written statement of findings of need for the rule meets the criteria 
listed in subsection (a) of this section and whether the rule meets the standards in 
G.S. 150B-21.9. The court shall not grant an ex parte temporary restraining order. 

(c1)      Filing a petition for rule making or a request for a declaratory ruling with 
the agency that adopted the rule is not a prerequisite to filing an action under this 
subsection. A person who files an action for declaratory judgment under this subsection 
must serve a copy of the complaint on the agency that adopted the rule being contested, 
the Codifier of Rules, and the Commission. 

(d) Effective Date and Expiration. – A temporary rule becomes effective on the
date specified in G.S. 150B-21.3. A temporary rule expires on the earliest of the 
following dates: 

(1) The date specified in the rule.
(2) The effective date of the permanent rule adopted to replace the

temporary rule, if the Commission approves the permanent rule.
(3) The date the Commission returns to an agency a permanent rule the

agency adopted to replace the temporary rule.
(4) The effective date of an act of the General Assembly that specifically

disapproves a permanent rule adopted to replace the temporary rule.
(5) 270 days from the date the temporary rule was published in the North

Carolina Register, unless the permanent rule adopted to replace the
temporary rule has been submitted to the Commission.

(6) Notwithstanding subdivision (5) of this subsection, 12 months after
the effective date of the temporary rule.

(e) Publication. – When the Codifier of Rules enters a temporary rule in the
North Carolina Administrative Code, the Codifier must publish the rule in the North 
Carolina Register." 
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RRC STAFF OPINION 
 PLEASE NOTE: THIS COMMUNICATION IS EITHER 1) ONLY THE RECOMMENDATION OF AN RRC 

STAFF ATTORNEY AS TO ACTION THAT THE ATTORNEY BELIEVES THE COMMISSION SHOULD TAKE ON THE 

CITED RULE AT ITS NEXT MEETING, OR 2) AN OPINION OF THAT ATTORNEY AS TO SOME MATTER 

CONCERNING THAT RULE. THE AGENCY AND MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO SUBMIT THEIR 

OWN COMMENTS AND RECOMMENDATIONS (ACCORDING TO RRC RULES) TO THE COMMISSION. 

 

AGENCY: North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission  

RULE CITATION:  12 NCAC 09C .0401 (Temporary) 

RECOMMENDATION DATE:  June 22, 2024 (revised June 24, 2024) 

RECOMMENDED ACTION: 

  Approve, but note staff’s comment 

X Object, based on: 

   Lack of statutory authority 

   Unclear or ambiguous 

   Unnecessary 

  X Failure to comply with the APA 

  Extend the period of review 

COMMENT:  

 
The proposed temporary rule was submitted to the Codifier of Rules at the Office of Administrative 
Hearings (OAH) on May 9, 2024 for publication on the OAH website.   
 
The agency submitted the Findings of Need Form 0500 (attached hereto) and the rule for RRC 
consideration on June 18, 2024.  On the Form 0500 filed, the agency states that the rule was 
adopted on June 21, 2024, three days in the future of the filing date.2   
 
A review of the agency website reveals that the adoption of the rule was on the agency agenda3 
of its June 17, 2024 meeting, the day before the Form 0500 and the rule were submitted for RRC 
consideration.  
 
Neither the agency’s website nor the Secretary of State’s website contain information indicating 
an agency meeting on June 21, 2024. Accordingly, the agency could not have adopted the Rule 
on June 21, 2024.  
 
It appears that the temporary rule was adopted on June 17, 2024 and that Form 0500 is 
inaccurate.  
 

 
2 POSSIBLE IF THE AGENCY HAS MADE A TIME MACHINE OUT OF A DELOREAN. 

3 THE ONE-DAY AGENDA IS ATTACHED HERETO. 
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(1), at least 30 business days prior to adoption an agency shall 
submit the proposed rule and a notice of public hearing to the Codifier of Rules.  Put another way, 
agencies cannot adopt a rule within 30 business days of submission to the Codifier.   

Thirty business days from May 9, 2024 is June 21, 2024.4   Accordingly, the temporary rule could 
not have lawfully be adopted by the agency prior to June 24, 2024.   

Whether the agency adopted the temporary rule on June 17, 2024 or on June 21, 2024 as the 
Form 0500 purports, the adoption was within 30 business days of May 9, 2024. 

Assuming arguendo that a June 21, 2024 filing would comply with G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(1), it does 
not appear that the agency adopted the rule on June 21, 2024.   

Staff recommends objection to the temporary rule pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9(a)(4) as the rule 
was not adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act. 

4 JUNETEENTH IS CONSIDERED A BUSINESS DAY UNDER THIS ANALYSIS. 
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12 NCAC 09C .0401 is being submitted for temporary rule amendment as follows: 1 
 2 
12 NCAC 09C .0401 ACCREDITATON OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS 3 

(a)  Any school requesting accreditation,  accreditation or re-accreditation, pursuant to the Commission's authority to 4 

certify criminal justice training schools in G.S. 17C-6, as meeting and which is in compliance with the requirements 5 

contained in 12 NCAC 09B ,0200 Section .0200 of this subchapter, must shall submit a completed Form F-10(SA) 6 

Request for School Accreditation. The Form F-10(SA) is available on the agency's website: 7 

http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/9134b822-24a7-4d70-8a3b-b2bd807100c4/F-10(SA)-6-11.aspx. The F-10(SA) 8 

Request for School Accreditation shall contain the following: 9 

 (1) The name of the requesting institution/agency; 10 

 (2) The mailing address, phone number, and name of the institution head or executive officer; 11 

 (3) The name, title or rank, address and phone number of the designated School Director; 12 

 (4) The type of Commission approved training course in which accreditation is being sought; 13 

(5) The type and location of all facilities to be used in administering the Commission approved training 14 

course; and 15 

(6) The signature of the institution head or executive officer. 16 

(b)  Upon receipt of a completed Request for School Accreditation application: 17 

(1) The Standards Division staff reviews the application and conducts a site visit to tour facilities, 18 

confirm information on the application, and determine if and where deficiencies exist; 19 

(2) The Standards Division Staff contacts the applying institution or agency concerning deficiencies 20 

and provides assistance on correcting problem areas; 21 

(3) The Standards Division staff recommends to the Education and Training Committee when the 22 

accredited institution has satisfied the requirements outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0200; and 23 

(4) The Education and Training Committee recommends to the full Commission at its next regularly 24 

scheduled meeting the approval or denial of accreditation for the applicant institution or agency. 25 

(b) (c)  Accreditation or Re-accreditation of a school shall remain effective for five years from issuance unless earlier 26 

suspended or revoked for failure to maintain compliance with the requirements set forth in 12 NCAC 09B .0200, 27 

Minimum Standards for Criminal Justice Schools and Criminal Justice Training Programs or Courses of Instruction. 28 

(c)  The identity of those schools accredited under this Rule are published and distributed by the Standards Division, 29 

via the agency's website: http://www.ncdoj.gov/CMSPages/GetFile.aspx?nodeguid=6cb7e157-87f7-40a3-b281-30 

d95a36807bb9 and the schedule of criminal justice training courses planned for delivery during the succeeding year. 31 

(d)  A school may request reaccreditation from the Commission by submitting a completed Form F-10(SA) Request 32 

for School Accreditation form, located on the agency's website: http://ncdoj.gov/getdoc/9134b822-24a7-4d70-8a3b-33 

b2bd807100c4/F-10(SA)-6-11.aspx. The Form F-10(SA) shall contain information on changes in facilities, 34 

equipment, and staffing. Upon receipt of a completed application: 35 

(1) The Standards Division staff reviews the request for reaccreditation, conducts a site visit to tour 36 

facilities, confirms information on the application, determines if and where deficiencies exist, and 37 

attaches copies of the reports of site visits to the application; 38 
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(2) The Standards Division staff submits the application and staff reports to the Education and Training 1 

Committee for review; and2 

(3) The Education and Training Committee recommends to the full Commission at its next regularly3 

scheduled meeting the approval or denial of accreditation of the applicant institution or agency.4 

(e) In instances where certified schools have been found to be in compliance with  by whom 12 NCAC 09B .02005 

through favorable site visit reports, Standards Division staff shall reaccredit on behalf of the Commission. Such action 6 

shall be reported to the Education and Training Committee at its next scheduled meeting. 7 

(f) (d) In instances where the Education and Training Committee determines the school seeking accreditation or8 

reaccreditation is not in compliance with 12 NCAC 09B .0200, the requirements contained in Section .0200 of this 9 

subchapter, the school application and staff reports shall be reviewed by the Probable Cause Committee, as specified 10 

in 12 NCAC 09A .0201. 11 

(g) (e)  The Commission may shall suspend or revoke a school's accreditation when it finds that the school has failed12 

to meet or continuously maintain any requirement, standard, or procedure for school or course accreditation.  The 13 

Commission, by and through the Probable Cause Committee, shall summarily suspend the accreditation of a criminal 14 

justice school if the public health, safety, or welfare requires action pursuant to G.S. 150B-3.  15 

(1) For the purpose of considering a summary suspension of accreditation, the Probable Cause16 

Committee shall meet only during its regularly scheduled quarterly meeting or upon notice given 17 

by mail, telephone, or other means not less than 48 hours in advance of the meeting; 18 

(2) A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified in the order of the summary19 

suspension or upon service of the certified copy of the order at the last known address of the school, 20 

whichever is later.  The summary suspension shall remain effective during the proceedings for 21 

suspension and revocation; 22 

(3) Upon oral notification to the executive officer or officers of the institution or agency sponsoring any23 

criminal justice training program or course of instruction by the Director that the accreditation of a 24 

school is being summarily suspended by written order, the school shall not perform any duties or 25 

conduct any courses requiring accreditation by the Commission; 26 

(4) The Director shall send a report of all summary suspensions for a formal hearing before the Probable 27 

Cause Committee at the next scheduled Commission meeting. 28 

(h)  The Accreditation of a school whose accreditation is scheduled to expire in calendar year 2015 and who has29 

submitted a request for recertification shall be extended for a maximum of two years under the following conditions: 30 

(1) accreditation has not expired;31 

(2) the school has submitted a request for reaccreditation along with the required documentation by32 

December 31, 2015.33 

(3) the Standards Division staff was unable to complete the recertification process by December 31,34 

2014; and35 

(4) the school is not denied reaccreditation prior to the expiration of the current accreditation.36 

Accreditation or accreditation extension according to this Paragraph expires when reaccreditation is37 

15



3 
 

denied or revoked or the Standards Division staff is able to complete the reaccreditation process and 1 

it is determined that the school is in compliance with the Rules for Reaccreditation. If the school 2 

reaccreditation is denied or revoked, the school shall not deliver Commission accredited criminal 3 

justice courses until such reaccreditation has been granted or reinstated by the Commission. 4 

 5 
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-11; 6 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 7 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2004, January 1, 1996; 8 
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2007; 9 
Temporary Amendment Expired October 13, 2007; 10 
Amended Eff. February 1, 2016; April 1, 2008; 11 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 12 
2019. 13 
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2024 14 
 15 

 16 

16
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	12 NCAC 09C .0401  Accreditation of Criminal Justice Schools
	(a)  Any school requesting accreditation,  accreditation or re-accreditation, pursuant to the Commission's authority to certify criminal justice training schools in G.S. 17C-6, as meeting and which is in compliance with the requirements contained in 1...
	(1) The name of the requesting institution/agency;
	(2) The mailing address, phone number, and name of the institution head or executive officer;
	(3) The name, title or rank, address and phone number of the designated School Director;
	(4) The type of Commission approved training course in which accreditation is being sought;
	(5) The type and location of all facilities to be used in administering the Commission approved training course; and
	(6) The signature of the institution head or executive officer.
	(b)  Upon receipt of a completed Request for School Accreditation application:
	(1) The Standards Division staff reviews the application and conducts a site visit to tour facilities, confirm information on the application, and determine if and where deficiencies exist;
	(2) The Standards Division Staff contacts the applying institution or agency concerning deficiencies and provides assistance on correcting problem areas;
	(3) The Standards Division staff recommends to the Education and Training Committee when the accredited institution has satisfied the requirements outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0200; and
	(4) The Education and Training Committee recommends to the full Commission at its next regularly scheduled meeting the approval or denial of accreditation for the applicant institution or agency.

	(b) (c)  Accreditation or Re-accreditation of a school shall remain effective for five years from issuance unless earlier suspended or revoked for failure to maintain compliance with the requirements set forth in 12 NCAC 09B .0200, Minimum Standards f...
	(c)  The identity of those schools accredited under this Rule are published and distributed by the Standards Division, via the agency's website: http://www.ncdoj.gov/CMSPages/GetFile.aspx?nodeguid=6cb7e157-87f7-40a3-b281-d95a36807bb9 and the schedule ...
	(d)  A school may request reaccreditation from the Commission by submitting a completed Form F-10(SA) Request for School Accreditation form, located on the agency's website: http://ncdoj.gov/getdoc/9134b822-24a7-4d70-8a3b-b2bd807100c4/F-10(SA)-6-11.as...
	(1) The Standards Division staff reviews the request for reaccreditation, conducts a site visit to tour facilities, confirms information on the application, determines if and where deficiencies exist, and attaches copies of the reports of site visits ...
	(2) The Standards Division staff submits the application and staff reports to the Education and Training Committee for review; and
	(3) The Education and Training Committee recommends to the full Commission at its next regularly scheduled meeting the approval or denial of accreditation of the applicant institution or agency.

	(e) In instances where certified schools have been found to be in compliance with  by whom 12 NCAC 09B .0200 through favorable site visit reports, Standards Division staff shall reaccredit on behalf of the Commission. Such action shall be reported to ...
	(f) (d) In instances where the Education and Training Committee determines the school seeking accreditation or reaccreditation is not in compliance with 12 NCAC 09B .0200, the requirements contained in Section .0200 of this subchapter, the school appl...
	(g) (e)  The Commission may shall suspend or revoke a school's accreditation when it finds that the school has failed to meet or continuously maintain any requirement, standard, or procedure for school or course accreditation.  The Commission, by and ...
	(1) For the purpose of considering a summary suspension of accreditation, the Probable Cause Committee shall meet only during its regularly scheduled quarterly meeting or upon notice given by mail, telephone, or other means not less than 48 hours in a...
	(2) A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified in the order of the summary suspension or upon service of the certified copy of the order at the last known address of the school, whichever is later.  The summary suspension shall rema...
	(3) Upon oral notification to the executive officer or officers of the institution or agency sponsoring any criminal justice training program or course of instruction by the Director that the accreditation of a school is being summarily suspended by w...
	(4) The Director shall send a report of all summary suspensions for a formal hearing before the Probable Cause Committee at the next scheduled Commission meeting.
	(h)  The Accreditation of a school whose accreditation is scheduled to expire in calendar year 2015 and who has submitted a request for recertification shall be extended for a maximum of two years under the following conditions:
	(1) accreditation has not expired;
	(2) the school has submitted a request for reaccreditation along with the required documentation by December 31, 2015.
	(3) the Standards Division staff was unable to complete the recertification process by December 31, 2014; and
	(4) the school is not denied reaccreditation prior to the expiration of the current accreditation. Accreditation or accreditation extension according to this Paragraph expires when reaccreditation is denied or revoked or the Standards Division staff i...





