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12 NCAC 09B .0203 is being amended as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0203 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES 3 

(a)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law 4 

Enforcement Training Course (BLET) who is not a citizen of the United States. 5 

(b)  The school shall not admit any individual younger than 20 years of age as a trainee in any basic criminal justice 6 

training course. Individuals under 20 years of age may be granted authorization for early enrollment as trainees in a 7 

presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course BLET with prior written 8 

approval from the Director of the Standards Division. The Director shall approve early enrollment if the individual 9 

will be 20 years of age prior to the date of the State Comprehensive Examination for the course. 10 

(c)  The school shall give priority admission in certified criminal justice training courses to individuals holding full-11 

time employment with criminal justice agencies. 12 

(d)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Criminal 13 

Justice Instructor Training Course who does not meet the education and experience requirements for instructor 14 

certification under Rule .0302 of this Subchapter.  15 

(e)  The school shall not admit an individual, including limited enrollment trainees, pursuant to Rule .0405 of the 16 

Subchapter, as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 17 

BLET unless the individual, within one year prior to admission to the Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement 18 

Training Course, BLET, scores at or above mastery level on the NROC EdreadyTM Skills Inventory for English or 19 

places into course DRE 098 or above at a North Carolina Community College as a result of taking the Reading and 20 

English component of the North Carolina Diagnostic Assessment and Placement test as approved by the State Board 21 

of Community Colleges on October 17, 2014, (http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/state-board-community-22 

colleges/meetings/october-17-2014), or has taken the reading component of a nationally standardized test and has 23 

scored at or above the tenth grade level or the equivalent. For the purposes of this Rule: 24 

(1) Limited enrollment trainees do not include enrollees who hold or have held within 12 months prior 25 

to the date of enrollment, general certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0304. 26 

(2) A "nationally standardized test" means a test that: 27 

(A) reports scores as national percentiles, stanines, or grade equivalents; and 28 

(B) compares student test results to a national norm. 29 

(f)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law 30 

Enforcement Training Course BLET unless the individual has provided to the School Director a medical examination 31 

report, completed by a physician, a physician's assistant, or a nurse practitioner, who holds a current license in the 32 

United States to practice medicine, as issued by a state medical board, to determine the individual's fitness to perform 33 

the essential job functions of a criminal justice officer. The Director of the Standards Division shall grant an exception 34 

to this requirement for a period of time not to exceed the commencement of the physical fitness topical area when 35 

failure to receive the medical examination report is not due to neglect on the part of the trainee. 36 
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(g)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law 1 

Enforcement Training Course BLET unless the individual is a high school, college, or university graduate or has 2 

received a high school equivalency credential recognized by the issuing state. High school diplomas earned through 3 

correspondence enrollment in an entity that charges a fee and requires the individual to complete little or no education 4 

or coursework to obtain a high diploma shall not be recognized toward the educational requirements. 5 

(h)  The school shall not admit any individual trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law 6 

Enforcement Training Course BLET unless the individual has provided the School Director one of the following types 7 

of record checks in the manner set forth in Paragraph (l) of this Rule: 8 

(1) a written notification, known as a "Criminal Record Conviction History for B.L.E.T. Enrollment," 9 

Form F-25, located at https://www.ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-10 

Standards/Criminal-Justice-Education-and-Training-Standards/Forms-and-Publications.aspx, from 11 

a department head stating that a criminal record check for local and state records has been conducted 12 

and no criminal convictions as listed in Paragraph (m) of this Rule were found that prohibit the 13 

individual trainee's enrollment in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law 14 

Enforcement Training Course. BLET. The hiring agency or the individual trainee shall also provide 15 

certified court documentation for each criminal conviction; 16 

(2) a certified criminal record check for local and state records, and certified court documentation for 17 

each criminal conviction. For the purpose of this Rule "Certified court documentation" and "record 18 

check" mean a document with either a raised seal or other visible verification that the document is 19 

authentic as a copy of the court's official record as authorized by law; 20 

(3) if the individual trainee has only resided in North Carolina since obtaining the age of majority, 21 

provide a fingerprint-based criminal history background check known as a "Right to Review" 22 

performed by the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation. For the purpose of this Rule 23 

"Resided in" means any place the trainee has lived, worked, attended school, or participated in an 24 

internship. The individual shall also provide certified court documentation for each criminal 25 

conviction; 26 

(4) a fingerprint-based criminal history background check known as a "Right to Review" performed by 27 

a federal agency including all locations where the trainee has lived since obtaining the age of 28 

majority. The individual shall also provide certified court documentation for each criminal 29 

conviction, including domestic and foreign locations where the individual has resided; or 30 

(i) Trainees who have served in the United States Armed Forces, in addition to one of the types of criminal records 31 

checks listed in Subparagraphs (h)(1) through (4) of this Rule shall provide a copy of their Certificate of Discharge, 32 

DD Form 214, that shows their "Character of Service" and "Narrative Reason for Separation." Individuals showing a 33 

"Character of Service" as "Bad Conduct" or "Dishonorable" shall provide certified copies of their court-martial 34 

proceedings to include the final disposition. Trainees shall also provide documentation to show that they have 35 

requested their official military personnel file, which shall be provided upon receipt. 36 
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(j)  A trainee who has been naturalized as a United States Citizen is exempt from providing the criminal record checks 1 

for locations where they resided outside of the United States prior to naturalization. 2 

(k)  A trainee who has resided outside the United States, other than those described in Paragraph (j) of this Rule, who 3 

cannot obtain a criminal record check from any location outside the United States shall document the following, to be 4 

forwarded to the Standards Division: 5 

(1) the name of the agencies contacted, 6 

(2) the date the agencies were contacted, 7 

(3) the contact information for the agencies contacted, and 8 

(4) the reason the information cannot be provided. 9 

(l)  Documents obtained in accordance with Paragraph (h) of this Rule shall meet the following requirements: 10 

(1) any records provided shall fall within the time period beginning when the trainee obtains the age of 11 

majority and continuing through the date of application; 12 

(2) any records provided shall include all locations where the trainee has resided since obtaining the 13 

age of majority; and 14 

(3) any records provided shall include all legal names utilized by the trainee since obtaining the age of 15 

majority. 16 

(m)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law 17 

Enforcement Training Course BLET who has been convicted of the following: 18 

(1) a felony; 19 

(2) a crime for which the punishment could have been imprisonment for more than two years; 20 

(3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a Class B Misdemeanor within the five year period prior to the  21 

date of scheduled graduation; date of application for employment, unless the individual intends to 22 

seek certification through the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 23 

Commission;  24 

(4) a crime or unlawful act defined as a “Class B Misdemeanor” occurring after the date of certification; 25 

(4)(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class B Misdemeanors, regardless of the date of 26 

conviction; 27 

(5)(6) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class A Misdemeanors, except the trainee is not 28 

barred from enrollment if the last conviction date occurred more than two years prior to the date of 29 

enrollment; scheduled graduation; or 30 

(6)(7) a combination of four or more Class A Misdemeanors or Class B Misdemeanors regardless of the 31 

date of conviction, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the North Carolina 32 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. date;  33 

(8) an offense that pursuant to 18 USC 922(g)(8) would prohibit the possession of a firearm. 34 

(n)  Individuals charged with crimes specified in Paragraph (m) of this Rule are not barred from enrollment into the 35 

Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course BLET if such offenses were dismissed or the person 36 

was found not guilty, but completion of the Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course BLET 37 
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does not ensure that certification as a law enforcement officer or justice officer through the North Carolina Criminal 1 

Justice Education and Training Standards Commission will be issued. Every individual who is admitted as a trainee 2 

in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course BLET shall notify the School Director of all criminal 3 

offenses the trainee is arrested for or charged with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty to, or is found guilty of, and of 4 

all Domestic Violence Protective Orders (G.S. 50B) that are issued by a judicial official after a hearing that provides 5 

an opportunity for both parties to be present. This includes all criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses and 6 

includes any offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI). A "minor traffic 7 

offense" is defined, for the purposes of this Paragraph, as an offense where the maximum punishment allowable by 8 

law is 60 days or fewer. Other offenses under G.S. 20 (Motor Vehicles) or similar laws of other jurisdictions that shall 9 

be reported to the School Director are G.S. 20-138.1 (driving while under the influence), G.S. 20-28 (driving while 10 

license permanently revoked or permanently suspended), G.S. 20-30(5)(fictitious name or address in application for 11 

license or learner's permit), G.S. 20-37.8 (fraudulent use of a fictitious name for a special identification card), G.S. 12 

20-102.1 (false report of theft or conversion of a motor vehicle), G.S. 20-111(5)(fictitious name or address in 13 

application for registration), G.S. 20-130.1 (unlawful use of red or blue lights), G.S. 20-137.2 (operation of vehicles 14 

resembling law enforcement vehicles), G.S. 20-141.3 (unlawful racing on streets and highways), G.S. 20-141.5 15 

(speeding to elude arrest), and G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in event of accident). The notifications required under this 16 

Paragraph shall be in writing and specify the nature of the offense, the court where the case was handled, the date of 17 

the arrest or criminal charge, the date of issuance of the Domestic Violence Protective Order (50B), and the final 18 

disposition and the date thereof. The notifications required under this Paragraph shall be received by the School 19 

Director within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court. The requirements of this Paragraph are applicable 20 

at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course. BLET. The requirements 21 

of this Paragraph are in addition to the notifications required under 12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 09B .0101 22 

(13). 23 

(o)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in the presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law 24 

Enforcement Training Course BLET who has an active Domestic Violence Order of Protection or Civil Non-Contact 25 

Order issued against the individual.  The student must provide a signed and dated written statement from the individual 26 

certifying that no such active Orders exist related to the individual. unless the individual has provided to the School 27 

Director: 28 

(1) copies of all active Domestic Violence Orders of Protection and Civil Non-Contact Orders issued 29 

to the individual; or 30 

(2) a signed and dated written statement from the individual certifying that no such active Orders exist 31 

related to the individual. 32 

(p)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in the presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 33 

Course BLET unless the individual has provided to the School Director a copy of their valid driver's license.  The 34 

trainee’s driver’s license must remain valid throughout the delivery of the BLET. 35 

 36 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 93B-9; 37 
Eff. January 1, 1981; 38 
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Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; November 1, 1 
2015; March 1, 2015; January 1, 2015; June 1 ,2012; February 1, 2011; June 1, 2010; December 2 
1, 2004; July 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1992; July 1, 3 
1989; January 1, 1985; 4 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 5 
2019; 6 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2025; January 1, 2025; July 1, 2020. 7 

 8 



12 NCAC 09B .0210 is being amended as follows:  1 

 2 
12 NCAC 09B .0210 RADAR INSTRUCTOR TRAINING COURSE COURSES 3 

(a)  The radar instructor training RADAR Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the 4 

skills and knowledge to perform the function of a criminal justice radar RADAR instructor. This course The RADAR 5 

Instructor Training course shall consist of a minimum of 60 hours of classroom instruction and motor-skill 6 

performance testing.   This course shall be for a period not to exceed six consecutive weeks. If the Governor declares 7 

a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division shall 8 

allow additional breaks in a specific course delivery when the Director determines that doing so is necessary based on 9 

consideration of the following factors: 10 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed; 11 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused by continuation of the course; 12 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the 13 

State of Emergency; 14 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 15 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction. 16 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-17 

enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses that 18 

began began, or were in effect, during the effective period of the State of Emergency. 19 

(b)  The radar instructor training RADAR Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas 20 

and minimum instructional hours for each area: required for radar instructor certification shall include the topic areas 21 

and minimum number of hours as outlined in the Radar Instructor Training Course. To qualify for radar instructor 22 

certification, an applicant shall meet the requirements as outlined in the Radar Instructor Training Course and meet 23 

the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409. 24 

 (1) Orientation       2 Hours 25 

 (2) Introduction to RADAR Training     2 Hours 26 

 (3) Speed Offenses and Speed Enforcement    4 Hours 27 

 (4) Basic Principles of RADAR Speed Measurement   6 Hours 28 

 (5) North Carolina Administrative Code and SMI Forms   8 Hours 29 

 (6) Legal and Operational Considerations    8 Hours 30 

 (7) Familiarization and Operation of Specific RADAR Instruments            16 Hours 31 

 (8) Courtroom Preparation      4 Hours 32 

 (9) Motor-Skill Performance Testing     8 Hours 33 

 (10) Course Review       2 Hours 34 

(c)  Each applicant for radar instructor training the RADAR Instructor Training course shall: 35 

(1) present Present the endorsement of a Commission-recognized Commission-certified school director 36 

or agency executive officer or his designee; 37 



(2) possess Possess full current criminal justice general instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 1 

09B .0302; and 2 

(3) possess Possess a current and valid radar RADAR operator certification. 3 

(d) The RADAR Instructor Re-Certification Training course shall consist of a minimum of 18 hours of classroom 4 

instruction and motor-skill performance testing and not exceed one week.  Each RADAR Instructor  Re-Certification 5 

Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:  6 

 (1) Orientation       1 Hour 7 

 (2) Speed Offenses and Speed Enforcement    1 Hour 8 

 (3) Basic Principles of RADAR Speed Measurement   1.5 Hours 9 

 (4) North Carolina Administrative Code and SMI Forms   2 Hours 10 

 (5) Legal and Operational Considerations    1.5 Hours 11 

 (6) Familiarization and Operation of Specific RADAR Instruments              3 Hours 12 

 (7) Motor-Skill Performance Testing     8 Hours 13 

(e)  Each applicant for radar instructor training the RADAR Instructor Re-Certification Training course shall: 14 

(1) Possess full current criminal justice general instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B 15 

.0302;  16 

(2) Have been certified as a RADAR instructor within the three years preceding the completion date of 17 

the  re-certification course; and 18 

(3) Present the endorsement of a Commission-certified school director, agency executive officer, or his 19 

designee. 20 

(d)  The "Radar Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as 21 

basic curriculum for the radar instructor training course for radar instructors as administered by the Commission. 22 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency: 23 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 24 

North Carolina Department of Justice 25 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 26 

Post Office Drawer 149 27 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 28 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address: 29 

North Carolina Justice Academy 30 

Post Office Box 99 31 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 32 

(f) (e)  Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the "Radar Instructor Training Course" is The North 33 

Carolina Justice Academy. The North Carolina Justice Academy is the only Commission-accredited school authorized 34 

to administer the RADAR Instructor and RADAR Instructor Re-Certification Training Courses. 35 

 36 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 37 
Eff. November 1, 1981; 38 



Readopted w/change Eff. July 1, 1982; 1 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; November 1, 1998; August 1, 1995; July 1, 1989; 2 
February 1, 1987; August 1, 1984; 3 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 4 
2019; 5 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2025; April 1, 2022. 6 
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12 NCAC 09B .0211 is being repealed as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0211 TIME DISTANCE INSTRUCTOR TRAINING COURSE 3 

(a)  The time-distance instructor training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge 4 

to perform the function of a time-distance instructor. This course shall be for a period not to exceed eight consecutive 5 

weeks. If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal 6 

Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a specific course delivery when the Director determines 7 

that doing so is necessary based on consideration of the following factors: 8 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed; 9 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused by continuation of the course; 10 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the 11 

State of Emergency; 12 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 13 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction. 14 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-15 

enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses that 16 

began during the effective period of the State of Emergency. 17 

(b)  Each applicant for the time-distance speed measurement instrument instructor training course shall meet the 18 

requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0210(c)(1) and (2) and 12 NCAC 09B .0309. The time-distance instructor training 19 

course required for time-distance instructor certification shall include the topic areas and minimum number of hours 20 

as outlined in the Time-Distance Instructor Training Course. To qualify for time-distance instructor certification, an 21 

applicant shall meet the requirements as outlined in the Time-Distance Instructor Training Course and meet the 22 

requirement of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409. 23 

(c)  The "Time-Distance Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be 24 

applied as basic curriculum for the criminal justice time-distance speed measurement instrument instructor training 25 

course for time-distance speed measurement instructors as administered by the Commission. Copies of this publication 26 

may be inspected at the office of the agency: 27 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 28 

North Carolina Department of Justice 29 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 30 

Post Office Drawer 149 31 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 32 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address: 33 

North Carolina Justice Academy 34 

Post Office Box 99 35 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 36 
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(d)  Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the "Time Distance Instructor Training Course" is The North 1 

Carolina Justice Academy. 2 

 3 
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 4 

Eff. November 1, 1981; 5 
Readopted w/change Eff. July 1, 1982; 6 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; April 1, 1999; November 1, 1998; November 1, 1993; July 1, 7 
1989; February 1, 1987; August 1, 1984; 8 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 9 
2019; 10 
Amended Eff. April 1, 2022. 11 
Repeal Eff.  October 1, 2025 12 
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12 NCAC 09B .0218 is being repealed as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0218 RE-CERTIFICATION TRAINING FOR RADAR INSTRUCTORS 3 

(a)  The radar instructor re-certification training course shall be designed to provide the instructor with the skills and 4 

knowledge to continue to proficiently perform the function of a criminal justice radar instructor. This course shall be 5 

presented within a period not to exceed one week. 6 

(b)  Each applicant for a radar instructor re-certification course shall: 7 

(1) possess criminal justice general instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0302; 8 

(2) have been certified as a radar instructor within the three years preceding the completion date of the 9 

re-certification course. 10 

(c)  The radar instructor re-certification training course required for radar instructor re-certification shall include the 11 

topic areas and minimum number of hours as outlined in the Radar Instructor Training Course. To qualify for radar 12 

instructor re-certification, an applicant shall meet the requirements as outlined in the Radar Instructor Training Course 13 

and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409. 14 

(d)  The "Radar Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy is to be applied as 15 

basic curriculum for the radar instructor re-certification training course for radar instructors as administered by the 16 

Commission. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency: 17 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 18 

North Carolina Department of Justice 19 

114 West Edenton Street 20 

Post Office Drawer 149 21 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 22 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address: 23 

North Carolina Justice Academy 24 

Post Office Box 99 25 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 26 

(e)  Commission-accredited schools that are accredited to offer the "Radar Instructor Re-Certification Training 27 

Course" are: The North Carolina Justice Academy. 28 

 29 
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 30 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 31 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1989; February 1, 1987; 32 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 33 
2019. 34 
Repeal Eff.  October 1, 2025 35 
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12 NCAC 09B .0219 is being repealed as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0219 RE-CERTIFICATION TRAINING FOR TIME-DISTANCE INSTRUCTORS 3 

(a)  The time-distance instructor re-certification training course shall be designed to provide the instructor with the 4 

skills and knowledge to continue to proficiently perform the function of a criminal justice time-distance instructor. 5 

This course shall be presented within a period not to exceed one week. 6 

(b)  Each applicant for the time-distance instructor re-certification course shall: 7 

(1) Meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0218(b) and shall have successfully completed the re-8 

certification courses of 12 NCAC 09B .0218(c). 9 

(2) Have been certified as a time-distance instructor within the three years preceding the completion 10 

date of the re-certification course. 11 

(c)  The time-distance instructor re-certification training course required for time-distance instructor re-certification 12 

shall include the topic areas and minimum number of hours as outlined in the Time-Distance Instructor Training 13 

Course. To qualify for time-distance instructor re-certification, an applicant shall meet the requirements as outlined in 14 

the Time-Distance Instructor Training Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409. 15 

(d)  The "Time-Distance Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be 16 

applied as basic curriculum for the time-distance instructor re-certification training course for time-distance instructors 17 

as administered by the Commission. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency: 18 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 19 

North Carolina Department of Justice 20 

114 West Edenton Street 21 

Post Office Drawer 149 22 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 23 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address: 24 

North Carolina Justice Academy 25 

Post Office Box 99 26 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 27 

(e)  Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the "Time-Distance Instructor Re-Certification Training 28 

Course" are: The North Carolina Justice Academy. 29 

 30 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 31 
Eff. July 1, 1983; 32 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1989; February 1, 1987; 33 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 34 
2019. 35 
Repeal Eff.  October 1, 2025 36 
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12 NCAC 09B .0224 is being repealed as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0224 BASIC TRAINING -- COUNTY CONFINEMENT FACILITY 3 

(a)  The basic training course for detention officers as prescribed in 12 NCAC 10B by the North Carolina Sheriffs' 4 

Education and Training Standards Commission is hereby incorporated by reference, and shall automatically include 5 

any subsequent amendments and editions of the incorporated material as provided by G.S. 150B-21.6, to be the 6 

minimum basic training course required for county confinement facility personnel. The "Detention Officer 7 

Certification Training Manual" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall apply as the basic 8 

curriculum for county confinement facility personnel. Copies of this manual may be obtained by contacting the North 9 

Carolina Justice Academy, Post Office Box 99, Salemburg, North Carolina 28385-0099. The cost of this manual is 10 

forty dollars ($40.00) per copy. 11 

(b)  Notice of successful course completion issued by the Sheriffs' Standards Division shall be sufficient to satisfy this 12 

requirement. 13 

 14 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10; 15 
Eff. June 1, 1986; 16 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; January 1, 1992; July 1, 1989; 17 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 18 
2019. 19 
Repealed Eff:  October 1, 2025 20 

 21 
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2 NCAC 09B .0237 is being amended as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0237 LIDAR INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION TRAINING AND RE-3 

CERTIFICATION COURSES COURSE 4 

(a)  The Lidar LIDAR Instructor Training Course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge 5 

to perform the function of a lidar LIDAR instructor. The LIDAR Instructor Training Course shall consist of a minimum 6 

of 18 hours of classroom instruction and motor-skill performance testing. This course shall be for a period not to 7 

exceed six consecutive weeks. If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the 8 

Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a specific course delivery when 9 

the Director determines that doing so is necessary based on consideration of the following factors: 10 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed; 11 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused by continuation of the course; 12 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the 13 

State of Emergency; 14 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 15 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction. 16 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-17 

enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses that  18 

began began, or were in effect, during the effective period of the State of Emergency. 19 

(b)  The Lidar Instructor Training Course required for lidar instructor certification shall include the topic areas and 20 

number of hours as outlined in the Lidar Instructor Training Course. To qualify for lidar instructor certification, an 21 

applicant shall meet the requirements as outlined in The Lidar Instructor Training Course and meet the requirements 22 

of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409. 23 

(c) (b)  Each applicant for the LIDAR lidar instructor Instructor Training course training shall: 24 

(1) present the endorsement of a Commission-recognized Commission-certified school director or 25 

agency executive officer or his designee; 26 

(2) possess full current criminal justice General Instructor Certification instructor certification as 27 

required in 12 NCAC 09B .0302; and 28 

(3) possess a current and valid lidar LIDAR operator certification. 29 

(d)  The "Lidar Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as 30 

basic curriculum for the lidar instructor training course for lidar instructors as administered by the Commission. Copies 31 

of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency: 32 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 33 

North Carolina Department of Justice 34 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 35 

Post Office Drawer 149 36 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 37 
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and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address: 1 

North Carolina Justice Academy 2 

Post Office Box 99 3 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 4 

(c)   The LIDAR Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum 5 

instructional hours for each area: 6 

 (1) Orientation       2 Hours 7 

 (2) Introduction to LIDAR Training     ½ Hour 8 

 (3) Basic Principles of LIDAR Speed Measurement   1 Hour 9 

 (4) Legal and Operational Considerations    1 Hour 10 

 (5) North Carolina Administrative Code and SMI Forms   1 Hour 11 

 (6) Familiarization and Operation of Specific LIDAR Instruments  7 Hours 12 

 (7) Courtroom Preparation      ½ Hour 13 

 (8) Motor-Skill Performance Testing     4 Hours 14 

 (9) Course Review       1 Hour 15 

(d)    The LIDAR Instructor Re-Certification Training course shall consist of a minimum of 4 hours of classroom 16 

instruction and motor-skill performance testing and not exceed one week.  Each LIDAR Instructor Re-Certification 17 

Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area: 18 

 (1) Course Orientation      ½ Hour 19 

 (2) Legal and Operational Considerations    1 Hour 20 

 (3) Familiarization and Operation of Specific LIDAR Instruments  1 Hour 21 

 (4) Motor-Skill Performance Testing     1½ Hours 22 

(e)  Each applicant for the LIDAR Instructor Re-Certification Training course shall: 23 

(1) Possess full current criminal justice instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0302;  24 

(2) Have been certified as a LIDAR instructor within the three years preceding the completion date of 25 

the  re-certification course; and 26 

(3) Present the endorsement of a Commission-certified school director, agency executive officer, or his 27 

designee. 28 

(f)    If the trainee fails to demonstrate 100% competence in each motor-skill performance test, he or she shall be 29 

authorized one opportunity for a re-test.  Failure to score 100% on the re-test will require enrollment in a subsequent 30 

LIDAR Instructor course. 31 

(e) (g) Those individuals who have previously held LIDAR Instructor Certification and have not exceeded a six  32 

year time period from when his or her LIDAR Instructor Certification expired are eligible to reapply for  33 

reissuance of the previously held LIDAR Instructor Certification. An application for re-issuance shall contain  34 

documentation that the applicant:  35 

(1)         Holds current criminal justice instructor certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0302;  36 

(2) Has completed the pre-qualification skills assessments;   37 
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(3) Must complete the Commission-approved LIDAR Instructor Re-Certification Training course, 1 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0210; 2 

(4) Has passed the LIDAR Instructor comprehensive state examination with a minimum score of 75; 3 

and 4 

(5) Has obtained the recommendation of a Commission-certified school director, agency executive or 5 

his designee. 6 

(h) Applicants for re-issuance of the LIDAR Instructor Certification shall have one opportunity to pass the  7 

prequalification skills assessment and the LIDAR Instructor comprehensive state examination. Should an applicant  8 

not achieve a passing score on either the prequalification skills assessment or the comprehensive state examination,  9 

the applicant shall complete the LIDAR Operator and LIDAR Instructor Course in its entirety.  10 

(i) Applicants whose LIDAR Instructor Certification is suspended or revoked shall not qualify for re-issuance. 11 

(j)  The term of a LIDAR Instructor is three years from the date of issuance.  All LIDAR Instructors seeking re- 12 

certification shall complete the re-certification course, as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0218, within 12 months of the 13 

expiration of the initial certification period.   The 12-month period does not extend the instructor certification period. 14 

(k)  Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the LIDAR Instructor Training Course is The North Carolina 15 

Justice Academy. The North Carolina Justice Academy is the only Commission-accredited school authorized to 16 

administer the LIDAR Instructor and LIDAR Instructor Re-Certification Courses. 17 

 18 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 19 
Eff. May 1, 2004; 20 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; 21 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 22 
2019; 23 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2025; April 1, 2022. 24 

 25 



12 NCAC 09B .0239 is being repealed as follows: 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0239 RE-CERTIFICATION TRAINING FOR LIDAR INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  The Lidar Instructor Re-Certification Training Course shall be designed to provide the instructor with the skills 

and knowledge to continue to proficiently perform the function of a lidar instructor. This course shall be presented 

within a period not to exceed one week. 

(b)  Each applicant for a Lidar Instructor Re-Certification Training Course shall: 

(1) possess criminal justice General Instructor Certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0302; and 

(2) have been certified as a lidar instructor within the three years preceding the completion date of the 

re-certification training course. 

(c)  The Lidar Instructor Re-Certification Training Course required for lidar instructor re-certification shall include 

the topic areas and number of hours as outlined in the Lidar Instructor Training Course. To qualify for lidar instructor 

re-certification, an applicant shall meet the requirements as outlined in the Lidar Instructor Training Course and meet 

the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409. 

(d)  The "Lidar Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as 

basic curriculum for the Lidar Instructor Re-Certification Training Course for lidar instructors as administered by the 

Commission. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(e)  Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the Lidar Instructor Re-Certification Training Course are: 

The North Carolina Justice Academy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 
Eff. May 1, 2004; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 
2019. 
Repeal Eff:  October 1, 2025 
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12 NCAC 09B .0303 is being amended as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0303 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF GENERAL INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 3 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for certification as a general instructor shall, shall be in a probationary 4 

status, status for a period not to exceed 12 months, until satisfying the requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule.  5 

(b)  The probationary instructor shall be eligible for General Instructor status certification if the instructor, instructor 6 

submits to the Commission the following forms: forms which are found on the agency website https://ncdoj.gov/law-7 

enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/: 8 

(1) a Form F-12A, F-12, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0301,  signed by a certified School Director of In-9 

Service Training Coordinator, indicating a favorable recommendation; and 10 

(2) a Form F-16, Commission Instructor Evaluation Form, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B . 0202 indicating 11 

the Instructor taught a minimum of eight hours of Commission-accredited basic training, 12 

Commission-recognized in-service training course, or training course pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 13 

.0601, 10B. 1302, or 10B .2005, during the probationary period. The Instructor shall achieve a 14 

minimum of 64 points on all instruction evaluations submitted to the Commission. 15 

(c)  Probationary Instructors may request an extension of up to one year to teach the 8-hour minimum requirement. 16 

The Director may grant the requested extension upon showing of for just cause based upon the circumstances that 17 

created the need for an extension. For purposes of this Rule, "just cause" includes an accident, illness, emergency, or 18 

course cancellation that precluded the instructor from fulfilling the teaching requirement. 19 

(d)  The term of certification as a general instructor is indefinite, provided the instructor completes during each 20 

calendar year a minimum of one hour of instructor refresher training provided by North Carolina Justice Academy. 21 

Probationary instructors and general instructors earning their initial certification are not required to complete this 22 

training in the year they are awarded their certification. The Standards Division shall post on its website on January 1 23 

of the current year the list of instructors who have met this requirement during the previous calendar year. 24 

(e)  If the instructor fails to meet the instructor refresher training specified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, he or she shall 25 

deliver eight hours of evaluated instruction in a Commission-accredited basic training, Commission-recognized in-26 

service training course, or training course pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, or .2005, and complete the 27 

instructor refresher training specified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule within 60 days from the last day of the previous 28 

calendar year. 29 

(f) (e) If an instructor fails to meet the requirements of Paragraph (d) or (e) of this Rule, the certification period for 30 

the instructor shall cease, and the instructor shall be required to complete the requirements of Rule 09B .0302 of this 31 

Section in order to obtain probationary instructor status. 32 

(g) (f) The use of guest participants in a delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course is permissible. 33 

However, such guest participants shall be supervised on-site by a Commission-certified instructor and must be 34 

authorized by the School Director. A guest participant shall only be used to complement the primary certified 35 

instructor of the block of instruction and shall not replace the primary instructor. 36 

(h) (g)  "Commission-recognized in-service training" shall mean training meeting the following requirements: 37 
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(1) training is taught by an instructor certified by the Commission; 1 

(2) training utilizes a lesson plan in the Instructional Systems Design format; and 2 

(3) completion of training shall be demonstrated by a passing score on a written test as follows: 3 

(A) a written test comprised of at least five questions per credit shall be developed by the 4 

agency or the North Carolina Justice Academy for each in-service training topic requiring 5 

testing. Written courses that are more than four credits in length are required to have a 6 

written test comprising of a minimum of 20 questions. The Firearms Training and 7 

Qualifications in-service course is exempt from this written test requirement; 8 

(B) a student shall pass each test by achieving at least 70 percent correct answers; and 9 

(C) a student who completes a topic of in-service training in a traditional classroom setting or 10 

online and fails the end of topic exam shall be given one attempt to re-test. If the student 11 

fails the exam a second time, the student shall complete the in-service training topic in a 12 

traditional classroom setting before taking the exam a third time. 13 

(D) Topics delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 09E .0104(1) and 12 NCAC 09E .0105(a)(1) shall 14 

not require written testing. 15 

 16 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17 
Eff. January 1, 1981; 18 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; December 1, 2007; November 1, 2007; August 1, 2006; January 1, 19 
2006; August 1, 2000; July 1, 1991; October 1, 1985; January 1, 1985; January 1, 1983; 20 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 21 
2019; 22 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2025; July 1, 2020; August 1, 2019. 23 

 24 



12 NCAC 09B .0308 is being amended as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0308 RADAR INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION AND RE-CERTIFICATION 3 

REQUIREMENTS 4 

To qualify for radar instructional assignments, an applicant shall demonstrate a combination of education and 5 

experience in criminal justice and proficiency in the instructional process satisfactory to the Commission. The 6 

applicant shall meet the following requirements for radar instructor certification: 7 

(a) A person participating in a Commission-approved RADAR Operator or RADAR Instructor training course as an 8 

instructor shall meet the following requirements for RADAR Instructor certification: 9 

(1) Initial Certification: 10 

(A) must be employed or appointed as a law enforcement officer by a state or local law 11 

enforcement agency or be a federal law enforcement officer; 12 

(B) if the applicant is a deputy sheriff, he/she must be in total compliance with the standards 13 

established by the North Carolina Sheriff’s Education and Training Standards 14 

Commission; 15 

(C)(1) Must must hold general criminal justice instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 16 

09B .0302; and 17 

(D) must hold current RADAR Operator certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0308; 18 

(E)(2) Must must successfully complete the Commission-approved radar instructor training 19 

RADAR Instructor Training course as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0210; and 20 

(F)(3) Obtain obtain the recommendation of a Commission-recognized Commission-certified 21 

school director or agency executive officer or his designee. designee; and 22 

(G) shall not instruct in any RADAR Instructor/Operator or RADAR Instructor/Operator Re-23 

certification courses until their certification is received from the Commission. 24 

(2) Re-Certification: 25 

(A) must hold current criminal justice instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B 26 

.0302; 27 

(B) must hold current Radar Operator certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0308;  28 

(C) must complete the Commission-approved RADAR Instructor Re-Certification Training 29 

course, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0210; 30 

(D) must have been certified as a RADAR Instructor within the three years preceding the 31 

completion of the re-certification course;   32 

(E) has participated in the classroom instruction and motor skill performance testing in the 33 

RADAR Operator Training course, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0212, during the previous 34 

certification period; and 35 

(F) obtain the recommendation of a Commission-certified school director, agency executive 36 

officer, or his designee.  37 



(b)  Those individuals who have previously held RADAR Instructor Certification and have not exceeded a six  1 

year time period from when his or her RADAR Instructor Certification expired are eligible to reapply for  2 

reissuance of the previously held RADAR Instructor Certification. An application for re-issuance shall contain  3 

documentation that the applicant:  4 

(1)         holds current criminal justice instructor certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0302;  5 

(2) has completed the pre-qualification skills assessments;   6 

(3) must complete the Commission-approved RADAR Instructor Re-Certification Training course, 7 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0210; 8 

(4) has passed the RADAR Instructor comprehensive state examination with a minimum score of 75; 9 

and 10 

(5) has obtained the recommendation of a Commission-certified school director, agency executive or 11 

his designee. 12 

(c) Applicants for re-issuance of the RADAR Instructor Certification shall have one opportunity to pass the  13 

prequalification skills assessment and the RADAR Instructor comprehensive state examination. Should an applicant  14 

not achieve a passing score on either the prequalification skills assessment or the comprehensive state examination,  15 

the applicant shall complete the RADAR Operator and RADAR Instructor Course in its entirety.  16 

(d) Applicants whose RADAR Instructor Certification is suspended or revoked shall not qualify for re-issuance. 17 

(e)  The term of a RADAR Instructor is three years from the date of issuance.  All RADAR Instructors seeking re- 18 

certification shall complete the re-certification course, as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0218, within 12 months of the 19 

expiration of the initial certification period.   The 12-month period does not extend the instructor certification period. 20 

Note:   If Time Distance speed measuring instruments are reinstated for use at any point between years 2026 and 2036,  21 

individuals who currently hold a RADAR Instructor Certification and have previously held a Time/Distance Instructor  22 

Certification will be grandfathered and eligible to reinstate their Time/Distance Instructor Certification. 23 

 24 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 25 
Eff. November 1, 1981; 26 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 1982; 27 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; April 1, 1984; 28 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 29 
2019. 30 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2025 31 

 32 



12 NCAC 09B .0309 is being repealed as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0309 TIME-DISTANCE INSTRUCTORS 3 

In addition to all requirements contained in 12 NCAC 9B .0308 of this Section, applicants in this category shall 4 

complete an instructor training course in time-distance speed measurement as required in 12 NCAC 9B .0211. An 5 

applicant meeting the requirements for time-distance speed measurement instrument instructor certification shall be 6 

issued a certification to run concurrently with the existing radar instructor certification. 7 

 8 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 9 
Eff. November 1, 1981; 10 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 1982; 11 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; November 1, 1993; December 1, 1987; 12 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 13 
2019. 14 
Repeal Eff.  October 1, 2025 15 

 16 



12 NCAC 09B .0310 is being repealed as follows: 1 
 2 
12 NCAC 09B .0310 TERMS AND CONDITIONS -- SMI INSTRUCTORS 3 

(a)  The term of a Speed Measurement Instrument (SMI) instructor, which includes radar, time-distance, and lidar 4 

instructors, is three years from the date the Commission issues the certificate, unless sooner terminated by the 5 

Commission. The certificate may be renewed for subsequent three year periods. The SMI instructor desiring renewal 6 

shall: 7 

(1) Hold general instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0303. 8 

(2) Have been active in the SMI classroom instructional process during the previous certification period. 9 

(3) Successfully complete a Commission-approved SMI instructor re-certification course as required in 10 

12 NCAC 09B .0218, .0219, or .0239. 11 

(b)  All SMI instructors seeking re-certification shall successfully complete the re-certification course within 12 12 

months from expiration of the initial certification period or re-certification period. If re-certification training is not 13 

obtained within the 12-month period, successful completion of the appropriate instructor training program as required 14 

in 12 NCAC 09B .0308 is required to obtain instructor certification. This prescribed 12-month period does not extend 15 

the instructor certification period. 16 

 17 
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 18 

Eff. November 1, 1981; 19 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 1982; 20 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2007; April 1, 1999; November 1, 1993; February 1, 1991; July 1, 1989; 21 
December 1, 1987; 22 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 23 
2019; 24 
Emergency Amendment Eff. May 5, 2020; 25 
Emergency Amendment Expired Eff. July 31, 2020. 26 
Repeal Eff:  October 1, 2025 27 

 28 
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12 NCAC 09B .0401 is being repealed as follows: 1 
 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0401   TIME REQUIREMENT FOR COMPLETION OF TRAINING 3 
(a)  Each criminal justice officer, with the exception of law enforcement officers, holding probationary certification 4 
shall complete, with passing scores, a Commission-accredited basic training course as prescribed in Rules .0225, 5 
.0235, .0236, .0411 and .0412 of this Subchapter that includes training in the skills and knowledge necessary to 6 
perform the duties of his or her office. The officer shall complete the course within one year from the date of his or 7 
her original appointment, as determined by the date of the probationary certification. 8 
(b)  Each law enforcement officer shall have completed with passing scores the accredited basic training course as 9 
prescribed in Rule .0205 of this Subchapter prior to obtaining probationary certification. 10 
(c)  If a trainee completes the basic training course as prescribed in Rule .0205 of this Subchapter prior to being 11 
employed as a law enforcement officer, the trainee shall be duly appointed and sworn as a law enforcement officer 12 
within one year of passing the comprehensive written exam as specified in Rule .0406 of this Subchapter for that basic 13 
training course to be recognized under these Rules. 14 
(d)  An active duty member of the armed forces who begins the basic training course as prescribed in Rule .0205 of 15 
this Section within five years prior to separating from active duty status, and completes the basic training course in its 16 
entirety pursuant to Rule .0405 of this Section and achieves a passing score on the comprehensive written examination 17 
pursuant to Rule .0406 of this Section shall be eligible for probationary certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0303 18 
for a period of 12 months from the date the individual separates from active duty status in the armed forces. 19 
(e)  If local confinement supervisory and administrative personnel complete basic training prior to being employed by 20 
a facility in a supervisory and administrative position that requires certification as prescribed in G.S. 153A-217 and 21 
G.S. 153A-218, the personnel shall be duly appointed to a local confinement facility supervisory and administrative 22 
position within one year of the completion of training for the basic training course specified in 12 NCAC 09B .0205. 23 
This one year period shall begin with the date the applicant achieves a passing score on the comprehensive written 24 
exam, as specified in Rule .0411 of this Section. 25 
 26 
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10; Eff. January 1, 1981; 27 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; January 1, 2015; January 1, 1995; March 1, 28 
1992; July 1, 1989; June 1, 1986; 29 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 30 
2019. 31 
Repealed Eff. October 1, 2025. 32 



12 NCAC 09B .0402 is being repealed as follows: 1 
 2 
12 NCAC 09B .0402 WAIVER OF COMPLETION OF TRAINING 3 
(a)  The Commission may waive an officer's completion of the commission-accredited training course upon receiving 4 
documentary evidence from the employing department that the officer has satisfactorily completed equivalent training. 5 
All such officers, however, shall serve a one year period of probation. 6 
(b)  Training received in states with laws governing or regulating criminal justice officer training shall, if subject to 7 
such review, have been approved or certified by the appropriate agency of the state in which the training was received. 8 
(c)  The Commission may prescribe as a condition of certification supplementary or remedial training deemed 9 
necessary to equate previous training with current standards. 10 
(d)  The Commission shall require satisfactory performance on a commission approved written examination as proof 11 
of equivalent training. 12 
 13 
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 14 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 15 
Amended Eff. March 1, 1992; 16 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 17 
2019. 18 
Repealed Eff. October 1, 2025. 19 



12 NCAC 09B .0416 is being repealed as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0416 SATISFACTION OF MINIMUM TRAINING - SMI INSTRUCTOR 3 

(a)  To acquire successful completion of the "Speed Measurement Instrument (SMI) Instructor Training Courses," and 4 

the "SMI Instructor Re-Certification Courses", the trainee shall complete all required course work as specified in Rules 5 

.0210, .0211, .0218, .0219, .0237, or .0239 of this Subchapter for the specific course in attendance. 6 

(b)  If the trainee fails to demonstrate 100 percent competence in each motor-skill or performance area, he or she shall 7 

be authorized one opportunity for a re-test. Such re-test shall be at the recommendation of the school director and a 8 

request shall be made to the Standards Division within 30 days of the original testing. Re-examination shall be 9 

completed within 90 days of the original testing. Failure to score 100 percent on the re-test requires enrollment in a 10 

subsequent SMI operator course and an SMI instructor course. 11 

 12 
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 13 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 14 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; November 1, 2007; April 1, 1999; 15 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 16 
2019. 17 
Repeal Eff:  October 1, 2025 18 

 19 



12 NCAC 09C .0104 is being amended as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09C .0104 AGENCY HEAD RESPONSIBILITIES: CRITICAL INCIDENT REPORTING 3 

(a)  For all criminal justice agencies in the State that employ personnel certified by the North Criminal Justice 4 

Education and Training Standards Commission, the Agency head shall submit the Critical Incident Report, (F-27), to 5 

the Criminal Justice Standards Division no later than 30 days after making the determination that an incident involving 6 

any use of force by a law enforcement officer that resulted in death or serious bodily injury to a person has occurred. 7 

The Critical Incident Report (F-27) shall contain the following: 8 

(1) date of incident; 9 

(2) location of incident; 10 

(3) person(s) involved and their participation; and name of officer who utilized force; and 11 

(4) whether the incident involved serious bodily injury or death. 12 

(b)  In addition to the reporting in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the Agency head for any criminal justice agency in the 13 

State that employs personnel certified by the North Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, 14 

shall submit the Annual Critical Incident Report, (F-27A), to the Criminal Justice Standards Division no later than the 15 

following January 15th of each year, listing all incidents involving any use of force by a law enforcement officer that 16 

results in death or serious bodily injury to a person. The Annual Critical Incident Report (F-27A) shall contain the 17 

following: 18 

(1) the total number of incidents involving the use of force resulting in death or serious bodily injury; 19 

(2) date of incident; incidents; 20 

(3) location of incident; incidents; and 21 

(4) whether the incident incidents had previously been reported on the Critical Incident Report (F-27). 22 

(5) for incidents not previously reported, an accompanying F-27 must be submitted along with the F-23 

27A. 24 

(c) Within 30 days of receipt of an F-27, the Division shall give written notice to any law enforcement officer who is 25 

reported to the Division as having been involved in a critical incident. The notice will contain language notifying the 26 

officer that, if the officer disputes being involved in a critical incident, the officer has a right to request a hearing in 27 

superior court for a determination of whether the officer's involvement should be properly placed in the database. The 28 

notice will inform the officer that the Division will not place the officer's involvement in the database if it receives 29 

notice from the officer within 30 days of receipt of notice that the officer has requested a hearing in superior court. If 30 

the officer requests a hearing in superior court, the Division will not place the officer's involvement in the database 31 

until a determination is made by superior court that the officer's involvement would be properly placed in the database. 32 

If, subsequent to the placement of an officer's involvement in the database, a superior court determines that the officer's 33 

involvement is not properly placed, the Division will remove the officer's involvement from the database. 34 

(c)  The Critical Incident form (F-27) shall provide the following notice to officers:   35 

(1) information is being collected for a database as directed by N.C.G.S. 17C-15; 36 

(2) information collected will remain confidential in compliance with State and federal law; 37 



(3)  law enforcement officers reported to the Division have a right, prior to being placed in the database, 1 

to request a hearing in superior court for a determination of whether the officer’s involvement should 2 

be properly placed in the database; 3 

The form will then provide check boxes and a location to sign for officers to indicate that they understand their rights 4 

and are either waiving their rights and agreeing to have the information entered into the database or that they plan to 5 

dispute the entry of their information in the database.  If the officer indicates they plan to request a hearing in superior 6 

court, the Division will not place the officer's involvement in the database until the superior court makes a 7 

determination or until 30 days following the date of the officer’s signature has elapsed and the Division has not 8 

received proof of filing. Any forms already entered into the database will be removed if a subsequent review by the 9 

superior court determines that the officer's involvement is not properly placed.   10 

 11 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17-6; 17C-15; 12 
Eff. January 1, 2025. 13 
Amended Eff:  October 1, 2025 14 
 15 

 16 
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12 NCAC 09E .0103 is being amended as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09E .0103 DEPARTMENT AGENCY HEAD RESPONSIBILITIES: ANNUAL IN-SERVICE 3 

TRAINING 4 

The state or local law enforcement agency head shall ensure that the annual in-service training is conducted according 5 

to specifications as outlined in Rules 09E .0105 and pursuant to 12 NCAC 09E .0106. .0111. In addition, the state or 6 

local law enforcement agency head or designated representative: 7 

(1) shall ensure all annual in-service training topics are delivered either in person or through the North 8 

Carolina Justice Training and Certification portal, or by a North Carolina community college; 1)  9 

(2) shall review departmental policies regarding the use of force during the agency's annual in-service 10 

training program; and 11 

(2) (3) shall report to the Criminal Justice Standards Division once each calendar year a roster of all law 12 

enforcement officers who fail to successfully complete the annual in-service training and firearms 13 

qualification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09E .0106, and shall certify that all law enforcement officers in 14 

the agency not listed did successfully complete the training. This roster shall reflect the annual in-15 

service training and firearms qualification status of all law enforcement officers employed by the 16 

agency as of December 31 of each calendar year and shall be received by the Criminal Justice 17 

Standards Division no later than the following January 15th. Officers having completed Basic Law 18 

Enforcement Training Training as a full-time student or lateral transfer and passed the 19 

comprehensive state final examination in this same calendar year must complete the annual in-20 

service training for the year if they were sworn in between January 1st and June 30th of that year. 21 

Officers sworn in between July 1st and December 31st must complete the annual in-service training 22 

by June 30th of the following year, and 23 

(3) (4) shall maintain in each officer's file documentation that the officer has completed the annual in-24 

service training requirement; and 25 

(4) (5) shall, where the officer fails to successfully qualify with any of the weapons specified in Rule 09E 26 

.0106(a) and (b), prohibit access to such weapon(s) until such time as the officer obtains 27 

qualification; and 28 

(5) (6) shall, where the officer fails to successfully qualify with any of the weapons specified in Rule 09E 29 

.0106(d), prohibit the possession of such weapon(s) while on duty or when acting in the discharge 30 

of that agency's official duties, and shall deny the officer authorization to carry such weapon(s) 31 

concealed when off-duty, except when the officer is on his own premises; and 32 

(6) (7) shall, where an officer has access to any specialized or tactical weapon(s) not specifically covered 33 

in Rule .0106(a) and (b) of this Section, prohibit the officer's use of the weapon(s) while engaged in 34 

the officer's official capacity unless the agency head determines the officer is competent to use the 35 

weapon in a lawful and prudent manner based upon the officer's experience, training, education, and 36 

disciplinary record. 37 



2 
 

 1 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 2 
Eff. July 1, 1989; 3 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; January 1, 1995; 4 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 5 
2019; 6 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2025; March 1, 2024. 7 

 8 



12 NCAC 09E.0111 is being adopted as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09E .0111 COMPLETION OF ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING 3 

 4 
(a)  Law enforcement officers certified by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 5 

Commission shall complete annual in-service training as outlined in 12 NCAC 09E .0108.  6 

(b)   Failure to complete all topics required for the annual in-service training shall result in the law enforcement 7 

officer’s certification being summarily suspended, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09E .0108. 8 

(c)   All annual in-service training topics must be taken in a seated delivery or through the North Carolina Justice 9 

Training and Certification portal, or by a North Carolina community college.   10 

(d)    All annual in-service training involving motor skills assessment and/or qualification shall be conducted in person 11 

using certified Specialized Instructors, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0304. 12 

 13 

 14 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 15 
Adoption Eff. October 1, 2025 16 



12 NCAC 09G .0209 is being amended as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09G .0209 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS 3 

(a)  The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all applicants for certification and shall also apply at all items during 4 

which the probation/parole officer is certified by the Commission. 5 

(b)  Every probation/parole officer employed by the North Carolina Department of Adult Correction shall: 6 

(1) be a citizen of the United States 7 

(2) be at least 20 years of age 8 

(3) have attained one of the following:  a bachelor's degree as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0204; 9 

 (A) a bachelor’s degree as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0204; or 10 

(B) an associate’s degree as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0204, [in a Human Services field] 11 

and five (5) years of [directly related] experience as a sworn law enforcement officer, 12 

probation/parole officer, correctional case manager, correctional program supervisor, 13 

juvenile court counselor, and/or military police officer; 14 

(4) have been fingerprinted by the employing agency in the manner provided in 12 NCAC 09G .0207; 15 

(5) have had a medical examination as required by 12 NCAC 09G .0205; 16 

(6) have produced a negative result on a drug screen as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0211; 17 

(7) have been administered a psychological screening examination in accordance with G.S. 17C-10(c). 18 

The psychological screening examination shall be valid for a period of one year from the date on 19 

which it was administered; 20 

(8) have a background investigation conducted by the Department of Adult Correction, including a 21 

personal interview as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0210; 22 

(9) not have committed or been convicted of a crime or crimes as specified in 12 NCAC 09G . 0302; 23 

(10) for personnel who are authorized to carry a firearm in the execution of their duties, satisfactorily 24 

Complete the Department of Adult Correction's departmental firearms training program as 25 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09G .0412. Such firearms training compliance must have occurred within 26 

one year of the date of employment and by using the department approved service handgun(s); and, 27 

(11) be of good moral character, including possessing the characteristics of honesty, maturity, discipline, 28 

attention to detail, and respect for the rights of others as more fully discussed and interpreted in: In 29 

re Willis 288 N.C. 1.215 S.E. 2d 771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris, 216 30 

N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174 (1989); in re Applicants 31 

for License, 143 N.C.1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); 32 

State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 47 (1983); and later court decisions; and 33 

(12) make the following notifications: 34 

(A) within 30 days of the qualifying event, notify the Standards Division and the appointing 35 

agency head in writing of all criminal offenses for which the officer is charged or arrested. 36 



This shall include traffic offenses identified in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual and 1 

offenses of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI); 2 

(B) within 30 days of the qualifying event, notify the Standards Division and the appointing 3 

agency head in writing of all criminal offenses for which the officer pleads no contest, 4 

pleads guilty, or of which the officer is found guilty. This shall include traffic offenses 5 

identified in the Department of Adult Correction section of the Class B Misdemeanor 6 

Manual and offense of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI); 7 

(C) within 30 days of service, officers shall notify the Standards Division of all Domestic 8 

Violence Protective Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are 9 

issued by a judicial official against the officer; 10 

(D) within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court, the agency head, provided he 11 

or she has knowledge of the officer's arrests or criminal charges and final dispositions, shall 12 

also notify the Standards Division of arrests or criminal charges and final disposition; 13 

(E) within 30 days of the issuance of all Domestic Violence Protective Orders (G.S. 50B) and 14 

Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C), the agency head, provided he or she has knowledge 15 

of the order, shall also notify the Standard Division of these orders; and 16 

(F) The required notifications in this Rule shall be in writing and shall specify the nature of the 17 

offense or order, the court in which the case as handled, the date of the arrest, criminal 18 

charge, or service of the order, and the final disposition. The notification shall include a 19 

certified copy of the order or court documentation and final disposition from the Clerk of 20 

Court in the county of adjudication. The requirements of this Item shall be applicable at all 21 

times during which the officer is employed and certified by the Commission and shall also 22 

apply to all applicants for certification. Receipt by the Standards Division of a single 23 

notification, for the officer or the agency head, shall be sufficient notice for compliance 24 

with this Item. 25 

 26 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 27 
Eff. May 1, 2023. 28 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2025 29 

 30 



12 NCAC 09G .0305 is being amended as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09G .0305 RECERTIFICATION FOLLOWING SEPARATION 3 

(a)  Previously certified corrections officers, with a minimum of one year of service who have been separated from 4 

the North Carolina Department of Adult Correction for less than three years, may have their certification reinstated 5 

following a reverification of employment standards in 12 NCAC 09G .0202, .0203, .0208 (excluding 12 NCAC 09G 6 

.0208(4) and .0209 (excluding 12 NCAC 09G .0209(4), but are exempt from the job appropriate basic training course 7 

described in 12 NCAC 09G .0411. 8 

(b)  Previously certified corrections officers with less than one year of service who have been separated from the North 9 

Carolina Department of Adult Correction for less than two years, may have their certification reinstated following a 10 

reverification of employment standards 12 NCAC 09G .0202, .0203, and .0208 (excluding 12 NCAC 09G .0208(5)) 11 

and .0209 (excluding 12 NCAC 09G .0209(5)), and shall complete the job appropriate basic training course described 12 

in 12 NCAC 09G .0411. . 13 

(b)  Previously certified corrections officers who have been separated from the North Carolina Department of Adult 14 

Correction for more than three years, but less than five years, upon their return shall complete the verification of 15 

employment standards and shall complete the job appropriate basic training course described in 12 NCAC 09G .0411. 16 

following: 17 

(1) [an] the appropriate abbreviated course of instruction focused on current standards of the North 18 

Carolina Department of Adult Correction (NCDAC), delivered by the NCDAC Office of Staff 19 

Development and Training; and 20 

(2) the mandatory firearms classroom training and achieves a passing qualification score on the firearms 21 

range qualification with the agency duty weapon(s). 22 

[(d)] (c) Applicants pursuant to subsection [(c)] (b) will be allowed to remediate one failure under each subsection 23 

[(c)(1)] (b)(1) and [(c)(2),] (b)(2), but, upon a second failure, will be required to complete the entire commission 24 

[accredited] approved basic training for correctional or probation/parole officers before being eligible for certification.  25 

 26 

 27 
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10;  28 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;  29 
Eff. August 1, 2002;  30 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 31 
2019;  32 
Amended Eff. October 1,2025; May 1, 2023. 33 

 34 



12 NCAC 09G 0410 is being amended as follows: 1 

 2 
12 NCAC 09G .0410 WAIVER OF COMPLETION OF TRAINING LATERAL TRANSFERS 3 

(a)  The Commission may waive an officer's completion of the Commission-accredited training course upon receiving 4 

documentary evidence from the North Carolina Department of Correction that the officer has satisfactorily completed 5 

equivalent training. All such officers, however, shall serve a one year period of probationary certification as defined 6 

in 12 NCAC 09G .0303. 7 

(b)  Training received in states with laws governing or regulating corrections officer training shall, if subject to such 8 

review, have been approved or certified by the appropriate agency of the state in which the training was received. 9 

(c)  The Commission shall prescribe as a condition of certification supplementary or remedial training deemed 10 

necessary to equate previous training with current standards. 11 

(d)  The Commission shall require satisfactory performance on a written examination as proof of equivalent training. 12 

(a)  A Corrections Officer holding prior certification from another state, federal, or military Department of Correction 13 

or equivalent is eligible to transfer certification from one state, federal, or military Department of Correction or 14 

equivalent to the North Carolina Department of Adult Correction (NCDAC) and be certified by the Commission if the 15 

officer:  16 

(1) has a minimum of two years full-time service as a state, federal, or military correctional officer or  17 

                probation/parole officer;  18 

(2) has less than a one-year break in service from their most recent certified role;   19 

(3) provides documentary evidence of the completion of training that has been approved by the  20 

appropriate state, federal, or military entity charged with regulating correctional or probation/parole  21 

officers in the jurisdiction in which the training was received; 22 

(4) has completed [an] the appropriate abbreviated course of instruction focused on current standards 23 

of the NCDAC, delivered by the NCDAC Office of Staff Development and Training;  24 

(5) has completed the mandatory firearms classroom training and achieves a passing qualification score  25 

on the firearms range qualification with the agency duty weapon(s); and  26 

(6) has achieved a passing score on the [Commission-accredited] Commission-approved basic training 27 

course for correctional officers or probation/parole officers, whichever is applicable.  28 

(b) Applicants pursuant to subsection (a) will be allowed to remediate one failure under each subsection (a)(5) 29 

and (a)(6), but, upon a second failure of either, will be required to complete the entire commission accredited basic 30 

training for correctional or probation/parole officers before being eligible for certification.  31 

(c) A North Carolina justice officer, as defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0301, is eligible to transfer certification from 32 

one state or local law enforcement agency to NCDAC and be certified as a correctional officer by the Commission if 33 

the officer:  34 

(1) has a minimum of two years full-time service as a justice officer as defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0301;  35 

(2) has less than a one-year break in service from their most recent certified role;  36 



(3) provides documentary evidence of the completion of the Detention Officer Certification Course 1 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0605, and holds a general certification or probationary certification from 2 

the Sheriffs’ Education and Training and Standards Commission;  3 

(4) has completed an abbreviated course of instruction focused on current standards of NCDAC, 4 

delivered by the NCDAC Office of Staff Development and Training;  5 

(5) has completed the mandatory firearms classroom training and achieves a passing qualification score 6 

on the firearms range qualification with the agency duty weapon(s); and  7 

(6) has achieved a passing score on the [Commission-accredited] Commission-approved basic training 8 

course for correctional officers.  9 

(d) Applicants pursuant to subsection (c) will be allowed to remediate one failure under each subsection (c)(4) 10 

and (c)(5), but, upon a second failure of either, will be required to complete the entire commission accredited basic 11 

training for correctional or probation/parole officers before being eligible for certification.  12 

(e) Prior to certification, NCDAC must submit to the Division evidence of compliance with the requirements of 13 

12 NCAC 09G .0208 for any applicants pursuant to this section.   14 

 15 
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 16 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 17 
Eff. August 1, 2002; 18 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 19 
2019. 20 
Amended Eff:  October 1, 2025 21 

 22 



12 NCAC 09H .0102 is being amended as follows: 1 

 2 
12 NCAC 09H .0102 MINIMUM TRAINING SPECIFICATIONS 3 
 4 
(a)  Firearms Training and Qualification shall consist of a minimum of four hours and include the requirements of 5 

Paragraphs (c), and (d) and (e) of this Rule. 6 

(b)  Pursuant to 12 NCAC 09E .0106(a), each Each qualified retired law enforcement officer shall qualify with each 7 

handgun he or she carries. carries in accordance with the guidelines in the In-Service Firearms Qualification Manual 8 

as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy relating to rounds fired, distances, the ratio of shots fired from 9 

each yard line and positions of fire.  10 

(c)  Qualification shall include a day and night qualification course with each handgun he or she carries, and a single 11 

day and night combat course with one handgun that he or she carries. 12 

(d)  (c) Each qualified retired law enforcement officer shall receive a minimum of two hours of instruction on the 13 

North Carolina laws of self-defense, the use of force by private citizens, detention of persons by private persons, and 14 

assistance to law enforcement officers by private citizens.  15 

(e)  (d) Instruction shall include a review of firearms safety and basic marksmanship fundamentals.  16 

(f)  (e) The qualification requirements shall be achieved at least once in a single day in no more than three attempts 17 

per day for each course of fire and for each weapon for which qualification is required. Officers not qualifying in a 18 

single day for each course of fire shall be deemed as a failure and the retired qualified law enforcement officers shall 19 

not be allowed to carry that weapon until such time as the qualification requirements have been met. 20 

(g) (f) Qualified retired law enforcement officers shall be certified for a period of 12 months from the date the 21 

application is approved by the Commission. Upon application for renewal, the certification shall be renewed by the 22 

Commission for 12-month periods provided the qualified retired law enforcement officer meets the rules specified in 23 

this Subchapter. 24 

 25 
History Note: Authority G.S. 14-415.10; 14-415.25; 14.415.26; 17C-6; 26 

Eff. May 1, 2009; 27 
Amended Eff. April 1, 2017; 28 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 29 
2019; 30 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2025; July 1, 2020. 31 
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12 NCAC 09H .0103 is being amended as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09H .0103 INSTRUCTORS 3 

(a)  Only instructors who hold Specialized Instructor Certification in Law Enforcement Firearms issued by the 4 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission as outlined in Rules Rule 09B .0302 and 09B .0304 5 

09B .0304(a) may shall conduct the firearms qualification training as specified in Rule 09H .0102. 6 

(b)  Each instructor specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall record and retain the firearms qualification scores for 7 

each qualified retired law enforcement officer trained by the instructor for a period of five years. These The scores 8 

shall not be transmitted to the Criminal Justice Standards Division unless requested but must be available for 9 

inspection by Criminal Justice Standards Division representatives at reasonable times. representatives. If the instructor 10 

is conducting training on behalf of a North Carolina governmental law enforcement agency, the North Carolina Justice 11 

Academy, or a North Carolina Community College, the institution shall maintain the records in lieu of the instructor 12 

in order to comply with this Rule. 13 

(c)  Upon successful qualification, the instructor shall sign and date the Retired Law Enforcement Officers Firearms 14 

Qualification Certification Application Form (F-9R) attesting to the successful qualification.  The Retired Law 15 

Enforcement Officer Firearms Qualification Application (F-9R) shall contain the following: 16 

 (1)  type of application; 17 

 (2)  applicant’s name, address, phone number, email address, and date of birth;  18 

 (3)  Applicant Attestation regarding qualification for certification; 19 

 (4)  date and location of the applicant’s successful completion of the firearms qualification; 20 

 (5)  instructor’s name and Acadis number; 21 

(6)  the make, model, and serial number of the weapon and the day and night score achieved for each weapon 22 

qualified with;  23 

       and 24 

(7)  signature of the applicant. 25 

 26 

 27 
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 14-415.10; 14-415.25; 14-415.26; 28 

Eff. April 1, 2009; 29 
Amended Eff. December 1, 2009; 30 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 31 
2019. 32 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2025 33 

 34 



12 NCAC 09H .0104 is being amended as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09H .0104 SANCTIONS 3 

(a)  The Commission shall deny or revoke the applicant for firearms qualification certification an applicant’s or the 4 

qualified retired law enforcement officer's firearms qualification certification when the Commission finds the 5 

applicant or retired officer has willfully and intentionally falsified any application or documentation required for 6 

qualification certification. Any applicant or qualified retired law enforcement officer denied or revoked may request 7 

an administrative hearing with the Commission subsequent to the summary denial or revocation in accordance with 8 

G.S. Chapter 150B, Article 3A. 9 

(b)  The Commission may shall deny or suspend the applicant or retired law enforcement officer's firearms 10 

qualification certification when the Commission finds the applicant or retired officer: 11 

(1) has failed to successfully complete the required training or qualification specified in Rule 09H 12 

.0102; or 13 

(2) is ineligible to receive and possess firearms under federal or state law. 14 

(c)  Before taking action, the Standards Division shall investigate the alleged violation of Paragraph (b) of this Rule 15 

and present a report of its findings to the Probable Cause Committee of the Commission. 16 

(d)  The Probable Cause Committee may: shall: 17 

(1) direct the Standards Division to conduct a further investigation of the alleged violation; or 18 

(2) direct the Standards Division to conduct an administrative hearing in the matter, pursuant to 12 19 

NCAC 09A .0107 and 26 NCAC 03; or 20 

(3) (2) determine the appropriate sanctions against the violator pursuant to Paragraphs (f) and (g) of this 21 

Rule. 22 

(e)  Denials or revocations in accordance with Paragraph (a) of this Rule are permanent. The retired officer is ineligible 23 

to ever receive firearms qualification certification from the Commission. 24 

(f)  Denials or suspensions in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule are: are in effect until the applicant or retired 25 

law enforcement officer: 26 

(1) until the applicant or retired officer has successfully completed the required training or qualification 27 

specified in Rule 09H .0102; or 28 

(2) until the applicant or retired officer is eligible to receive or possess firearms under federal or state 29 

law. 30 

(g)  Any applicant or qualified retired law enforcement officer who receives firearms qualification certification under 31 

the rules Rules in this Section who becomes ineligible under any of the standards enumerated in this Rule shall notify 32 

the Criminal Justice Standards Division of such disqualification within 10 5 calendar days of the occurrence of the 33 

event. 34 

 35 
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 14-415.10; 14-415.25; 14-415.26; 36 

Eff. April 1, 2009; 37 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 38 
2019. 39 



Amended Eff. October 1, 2025 1 
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12 NCAC 09H .0105 is being amended as follows: 1 
 2 
12 NCAC 09H .0105 FILING AND FEES 3 

Each applicant for firearms qualification certification under the Qualified Retired Law Enforcement Officers Firearms 4 

Qualification Certification Program shall submit the following to the Commission: 5 

(1) a Commission application form (Form F-9R) (Form F-9R) pursuant to 12 NCAC 09H.0102. 6 

containing the applicant's notarized signature which attests that the applicant meets the definition of 7 

qualified retired law enforcement officer set forth in G.S. 14-415.10 and is eligible to receive or 8 

possess firearms under federal and state law. The Form F-9R, available on the agency's website at 9 

http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/23af3614-2aa2-4416-bbae-25cbe9441e06/1F-9R-8-09.aspx, shall 10 

include the signature of a Commission certified Specialized Firearms Instructor attesting that the 11 

applicant has met the training and qualification standards as specified in Rule 09H .0102 and lists 12 

the handguns with which the qualified retired officer qualified; 13 

(2) a copy of the qualified retired officer's photographic identification indicating retirement status issued 14 

by the law enforcement agency from which the applicant retired; and 15 

(3) a fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) for the initial one-year qualification and a fee of twenty-five dollars 16 

($25.00) for the annual renewal thereafter.  Applications and fees shall be submitted via the Acadis 17 

portal utilizing the RLEO Initial and RLEO Renewal Webforms. Applications and fees shall be 18 

submitted to: 19 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 20 

North Carolina Department of Justice 21 

Post Office Drawer 149 22 

Raleigh, NC 27602. 23 

All fees shall be paid by certified check or money order made payable to the North Carolina Department of Justice. 24 

 25 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-415.10; 14-415.25; 14-415.26; 17C-6; 26 
Eff. April 1, 2009; 27 
Amended Eff. April 1, 2017; 28 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 29 
2019. 30 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2025 31 
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	(o)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in the presentation of the Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course BLET who has an active Domestic Violence Order of Protection or Civil Non-Contact Order issued against t...
	(1) copies of all active Domestic Violence Orders of Protection and Civil Non-Contact Orders issued to the individual; or
	(2) a signed and dated written statement from the individual certifying that no such active Orders exist related to the individual.

	(p)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in the presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course BLET unless the individual has provided to the School Director a copy of their valid driver's license.  The trainee’s driver’s...

	12 NCAC 09B .0210 Radar Instructor Training Course
	(a)  The radar instructor training RADAR Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a criminal justice radar RADAR instructor. This course The RADAR Instructor Training ...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses that began began, or were in ...
	(b)  The radar instructor training RADAR Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area: required for radar instructor certification shall include the topic areas and minimum...
	(1) Orientation       2 Hours
	(2) Introduction to RADAR Training     2 Hours
	(3) Speed Offenses and Speed Enforcement    4 Hours
	(4) Basic Principles of RADAR Speed Measurement   6 Hours
	(5) North Carolina Administrative Code and SMI Forms   8 Hours
	(6) Legal and Operational Considerations    8 Hours
	(7) Familiarization and Operation of Specific RADAR Instruments            16 Hours
	(8) Courtroom Preparation      4 Hours
	(9) Motor-Skill Performance Testing     8 Hours
	(10) Course Review       2 Hours
	(c)  Each applicant for radar instructor training the RADAR Instructor Training course shall:
	(1) present Present the endorsement of a Commission-recognized Commission-certified school director or agency executive officer or his designee;
	(2) possess Possess full current criminal justice general instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0302; and
	(3) possess Possess a current and valid radar RADAR operator certification.

	(d) The RADAR Instructor Re-Certification Training course shall consist of a minimum of 18 hours of classroom instruction and motor-skill performance testing and not exceed one week.  Each RADAR Instructor  Re-Certification Training course shall inclu...
	(1) Orientation       1 Hour
	(2) Speed Offenses and Speed Enforcement    1 Hour
	(3) Basic Principles of RADAR Speed Measurement   1.5 Hours
	(4) North Carolina Administrative Code and SMI Forms   2 Hours
	(5) Legal and Operational Considerations    1.5 Hours
	(6) Familiarization and Operation of Specific RADAR Instruments              3 Hours
	(7) Motor-Skill Performance Testing     8 Hours
	(e)  Each applicant for radar instructor training the RADAR Instructor Re-Certification Training course shall:
	(1) Possess full current criminal justice general instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0302;
	(2) Have been certified as a RADAR instructor within the three years preceding the completion date of the  re-certification course; and
	(3) Present the endorsement of a Commission-certified school director, agency executive officer, or his designee.

	(d)  The "Radar Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic curriculum for the radar instructor training course for radar instructors as administered by the Commission. Copies of this public...
	(f) (e)  Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the "Radar Instructor Training Course" is The North Carolina Justice Academy. The North Carolina Justice Academy is the only Commission-accredited school authorized to administer the RADA...

	12 NCAC 09B .0211 Time Distance Instructor Training Course
	(a)  The time-distance instructor training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a time-distance instructor. This course shall be for a period not to exceed eight consecutive weeks. If...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses that began during the effecti...
	(b)  Each applicant for the time-distance speed measurement instrument instructor training course shall meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0210(c)(1) and (2) and 12 NCAC 09B .0309. The time-distance instructor training course required for time-dist...
	(c)  The "Time-Distance Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic curriculum for the criminal justice time-distance speed measurement instrument instructor training course for time-distanc...
	(d)  Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the "Time Distance Instructor Training Course" is The North Carolina Justice Academy.

	12 NCAC 09B .0218 Re Certification Training for Radar Instructors
	(a)  The radar instructor re-certification training course shall be designed to provide the instructor with the skills and knowledge to continue to proficiently perform the function of a criminal justice radar instructor. This course shall be presente...
	(b)  Each applicant for a radar instructor re-certification course shall:
	(1) possess criminal justice general instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0302;
	(2) have been certified as a radar instructor within the three years preceding the completion date of the re-certification course.

	(c)  The radar instructor re-certification training course required for radar instructor re-certification shall include the topic areas and minimum number of hours as outlined in the Radar Instructor Training Course. To qualify for radar instructor re...
	(d)  The "Radar Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy is to be applied as basic curriculum for the radar instructor re-certification training course for radar instructors as administered by the Commission. Copi...
	and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address:
	(e)  Commission-accredited schools that are accredited to offer the "Radar Instructor Re-Certification Training Course" are: The North Carolina Justice Academy.

	12 NCAC 09B .0219  Re Certification Training for Time-Distance Instructors
	(a)  The time-distance instructor re-certification training course shall be designed to provide the instructor with the skills and knowledge to continue to proficiently perform the function of a criminal justice time-distance instructor. This course s...
	(b)  Each applicant for the time-distance instructor re-certification course shall:
	(1) Meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0218(b) and shall have successfully completed the re-certification courses of 12 NCAC 09B .0218(c).
	(2) Have been certified as a time-distance instructor within the three years preceding the completion date of the re-certification course.

	(c)  The time-distance instructor re-certification training course required for time-distance instructor re-certification shall include the topic areas and minimum number of hours as outlined in the Time-Distance Instructor Training Course. To qualify...
	(d)  The "Time-Distance Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic curriculum for the time-distance instructor re-certification training course for time-distance instructors as administered...
	and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address:
	(e)  Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the "Time-Distance Instructor Re-Certification Training Course" are: The North Carolina Justice Academy.

	12 NCAC 09B .0224  Basic Training - County Confinement Facility
	(a)  The basic training course for detention officers as prescribed in 12 NCAC 10B by the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission is hereby incorporated by reference, and shall automatically include any subsequent amendmen...
	(b)  Notice of successful course completion issued by the Sheriffs' Standards Division shall be sufficient to satisfy this requirement.

	12 NCAC 09B .0237 Lidar Instructor Training Courses
	(a)  The Lidar LIDAR Instructor Training Course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a lidar LIDAR instructor. The LIDAR Instructor Training Course shall consist of a minimum of 18 hours of ...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses that  began began, or were in...
	(b)  The Lidar Instructor Training Course required for lidar instructor certification shall include the topic areas and number of hours as outlined in the Lidar Instructor Training Course. To qualify for lidar instructor certification, an applicant sh...
	(c) (b)  Each applicant for the LIDAR lidar instructor Instructor Training course training shall:
	(1) present the endorsement of a Commission-recognized Commission-certified school director or agency executive officer or his designee;
	(2) possess full current criminal justice General Instructor Certification instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0302; and
	(3) possess a current and valid lidar LIDAR operator certification.

	(d)  The "Lidar Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic curriculum for the lidar instructor training course for lidar instructors as administered by the Commission. Copies of this public...
	(e)  Each applicant for the LIDAR Instructor Re-Certification Training course shall:
	(1) Possess full current criminal justice instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0302;
	(2) Have been certified as a LIDAR instructor within the three years preceding the completion date of the  re-certification course; and
	(3) Present the endorsement of a Commission-certified school director, agency executive officer, or his designee.

	(k)  Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the LIDAR Instructor Training Course is The North Carolina Justice Academy. The North Carolina Justice Academy is the only Commission-accredited school authorized to administer the LIDAR Inst...

	12 NCAC 09B .0239 Re Certification Training for Lidar Instructors
	(a)  The Lidar Instructor Re-Certification Training Course shall be designed to provide the instructor with the skills and knowledge to continue to proficiently perform the function of a lidar instructor. This course shall be presented within a period...
	(b)  Each applicant for a Lidar Instructor Re-Certification Training Course shall:
	(1) possess criminal justice General Instructor Certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0302; and
	(2) have been certified as a lidar instructor within the three years preceding the completion date of the re-certification training course.

	(c)  The Lidar Instructor Re-Certification Training Course required for lidar instructor re-certification shall include the topic areas and number of hours as outlined in the Lidar Instructor Training Course. To qualify for lidar instructor re-certifi...
	(d)  The "Lidar Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic curriculum for the Lidar Instructor Re-Certification Training Course for lidar instructors as administered by the Commission. Copi...
	and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address:
	(e)  Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the Lidar Instructor Re-Certification Training Course are: The North Carolina Justice Academy.

	12 NCAC 09B .0303 Terms and Conditions of General Instructor Certification
	(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for certification as a general instructor shall, shall be in a probationary status, status for a period not to exceed 12 months, until satisfying the requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule.
	(b)  The probationary instructor shall be eligible for General Instructor status certification if the instructor, instructor submits to the Commission the following forms: forms which are found on the agency website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-t...
	(1) a Form F-12A, F-12, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0301,  signed by a certified School Director of In-Service Training Coordinator, indicating a favorable recommendation; and
	(2) a Form F-16, Commission Instructor Evaluation Form, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B . 0202 indicating the Instructor taught a minimum of eight hours of Commission-accredited basic training, Commission-recognized in-service training course, or training cou...

	(c)  Probationary Instructors may request an extension of up to one year to teach the 8-hour minimum requirement. The Director may grant the requested extension upon showing of for just cause based upon the circumstances that created the need for an e...
	(d)  The term of certification as a general instructor is indefinite, provided the instructor completes during each calendar year a minimum of one hour of instructor refresher training provided by North Carolina Justice Academy. Probationary instructo...
	(e)  If the instructor fails to meet the instructor refresher training specified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, he or she shall deliver eight hours of evaluated instruction in a Commission-accredited basic training, Commission-recognized in-service tr...
	(f) (e) If an instructor fails to meet the requirements of Paragraph (d) or (e) of this Rule, the certification period for the instructor shall cease, and the instructor shall be required to complete the requirements of Rule 09B .0302 of this Section ...
	(g) (f) The use of guest participants in a delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course is permissible. However, such guest participants shall be supervised on-site by a Commission-certified instructor and must be authorized by the School Dir...
	(h) (g)  "Commission-recognized in-service training" shall mean training meeting the following requirements:
	(1) training is taught by an instructor certified by the Commission;
	(2) training utilizes a lesson plan in the Instructional Systems Design format; and
	(3) completion of training shall be demonstrated by a passing score on a written test as follows:


	12 NCAC 09B .0308 Radar Instructor Certification and Re-Certification Requirements
	To qualify for radar instructional assignments, an applicant shall demonstrate a combination of education and experience in criminal justice and proficiency in the instructional process satisfactory to the Commission. The applicant shall meet the foll...
	(a) A person participating in a Commission-approved RADAR Operator or RADAR Instructor training course as an instructor shall meet the following requirements for RADAR Instructor certification:
	(1) Initial Certification:
	(A) must be employed or appointed as a law enforcement officer by a state or local law enforcement agency or be a federal law enforcement officer;
	(B) if the applicant is a deputy sheriff, he/she must be in total compliance with the standards established by the North Carolina Sheriff’s Education and Training Standards Commission;
	(C) must complete the Commission-approved RADAR Instructor Re-Certification Training
	course, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0210;
	(D) must have been certified as a RADAR Instructor within the three years preceding the completion of the re-certification course;
	(E) has participated in the classroom instruction and motor skill performance testing in the RADAR Operator Training course, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0212, during the previous certification period; and

	12 NCAC 09B .0309 Time Distance Instructors
	In addition to all requirements contained in 12 NCAC 9B .0308 of this Section, applicants in this category shall complete an instructor training course in time-distance speed measurement as required in 12 NCAC 9B .0211. An applicant meeting the requir...

	12 NCAC 09B .0310  Terms and Conditions - SMI Instructors
	(a)  The term of a Speed Measurement Instrument (SMI) instructor, which includes radar, time-distance, and lidar instructors, is three years from the date the Commission issues the certificate, unless sooner terminated by the Commission. The certifica...
	(1) Hold general instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0303.
	(2) Have been active in the SMI classroom instructional process during the previous certification period.
	(3) Successfully complete a Commission-approved SMI instructor re-certification course as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0218, .0219, or .0239.

	(b)  All SMI instructors seeking re-certification shall successfully complete the re-certification course within 12 months from expiration of the initial certification period or re-certification period. If re-certification training is not obtained wit...

	12 NCAC 09B .0401 Time Requirement for Completion of Training
	12 NCAC 09B .0402  Waiver of Completion of Training
	12 NCAC 09B .0416 Satisfaction of Minimum Training - SMI Instructor
	(a)  To acquire successful completion of the "Speed Measurement Instrument (SMI) Instructor Training Courses," and the "SMI Instructor Re-Certification Courses", the trainee shall complete all required course work as specified in Rules .0210, .0211, ....
	(b)  If the trainee fails to demonstrate 100 percent competence in each motor-skill or performance area, he or she shall be authorized one opportunity for a re-test. Such re-test shall be at the recommendation of the school director and a request shal...

	12 NCAC 09C .0104 Agency Head Responsibilities  Critical Incident Reporting
	(a)  For all criminal justice agencies in the State that employ personnel certified by the North Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, the Agency head shall submit the Critical Incident Report, (F-27), to the Criminal Justice S...
	(1) date of incident;
	(2) location of incident;
	(3) person(s) involved and their participation; and name of officer who utilized force; and
	(4) whether the incident involved serious bodily injury or death.

	(b)  In addition to the reporting in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the Agency head for any criminal justice agency in the State that employs personnel certified by the North Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, shall submit the ...
	(1) the total number of incidents involving the use of force resulting in death or serious bodily injury;
	(2) date of incident; incidents;
	(3) location of incident; incidents; and
	(4) whether the incident incidents had previously been reported on the Critical Incident Report (F-27).
	(5) for incidents not previously reported, an accompanying F-27 must be submitted along with the F-27A.

	(c) Within 30 days of receipt of an F-27, the Division shall give written notice to any law enforcement officer who is reported to the Division as having been involved in a critical incident. The notice will contain language notifying the officer that...
	(c)  The Critical Incident form (F-27) shall provide the following notice to officers:
	(1) information is being collected for a database as directed by N.C.G.S. 17C-15;
	(2) information collected will remain confidential in compliance with State and federal law;
	(3)  law enforcement officers reported to the Division have a right, prior to being placed in the database, to request a hearing in superior court for a determination of whether the officer’s involvement should be properly placed in the database;
	The form will then provide check boxes and a location to sign for officers to indicate that they understand their rights and are either waiving their rights and agreeing to have the information entered into the database or that they plan to dispute th...

	12 NCAC 09E .0103  Department Head Responsibilities Annual In-Service Training
	The state or local law enforcement agency head shall ensure that the annual in-service training is conducted according to specifications as outlined in Rules 09E .0105 and pursuant to 12 NCAC 09E .0106. .0111. In addition, the state or local law enfor...
	(1) shall ensure all annual in-service training topics are delivered either in person or through the North Carolina Justice Training and Certification portal, or by a North Carolina community college; 1)
	(2) shall review departmental policies regarding the use of force during the agency's annual in-service training program; and

	12 NCAC 09E .0111 Completion of Annual In-Service Training
	(a)  Law enforcement officers certified by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission shall complete annual in-service training as outlined in 12 NCAC 09E .0108.
	(b)   Failure to complete all topics required for the annual in-service training shall result in the law enforcement officer’s certification being summarily suspended, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09E .0108.
	(c)   All annual in-service training topics must be taken in a seated delivery or through the North Carolina Justice Training and Certification portal, or by a North Carolina community college.
	(d)    All annual in-service training involving motor skills assessment and/or qualification shall be conducted in person using certified Specialized Instructors, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0304.

	12 NCAC 09G .0209  Minimum Standards for Probation-Parole Officers
	(a)  The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all applicants for certification and shall also apply at all items during which the probation/parole officer is certified by the Commission.
	(b)  Every probation/parole officer employed by the North Carolina Department of Adult Correction shall:
	(1) be a citizen of the United States
	(2) be at least 20 years of age
	(3) have attained one of the following:  a bachelor's degree as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0204;
	(A) a bachelor’s degree as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0204; or
	(B) an associate’s degree as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0204, [in a Human Services field] and five (5) years of [directly related] experience as a sworn law enforcement officer, probation/parole officer, correctional case manager, correctional program ...
	(4) have been fingerprinted by the employing agency in the manner provided in 12 NCAC 09G .0207;
	(5) have had a medical examination as required by 12 NCAC 09G .0205;
	(6) have produced a negative result on a drug screen as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0211;
	(7) have been administered a psychological screening examination in accordance with G.S. 17C-10(c). The psychological screening examination shall be valid for a period of one year from the date on which it was administered;
	(8) have a background investigation conducted by the Department of Adult Correction, including a personal interview as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0210;
	(9) not have committed or been convicted of a crime or crimes as specified in 12 NCAC 09G . 0302;
	(10) for personnel who are authorized to carry a firearm in the execution of their duties, satisfactorily Complete the Department of Adult Correction's departmental firearms training program as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09G .0412. Such firearms training c...
	(11) be of good moral character, including possessing the characteristics of honesty, maturity, discipline, attention to detail, and respect for the rights of others as more fully discussed and interpreted in: In re Willis 288 N.C. 1.215 S.E. 2d 771 a...
	(12) make the following notifications:


	12 NCAC 09G .0305  Recertification Following Separation
	(a)  Previously certified corrections officers, with a minimum of one year of service who have been separated from the North Carolina Department of Adult Correction for less than three years, may have their certification reinstated following a reverif...
	(b)  Previously certified corrections officers with less than one year of service who have been separated from the North Carolina Department of Adult Correction for less than two years, may have their certification reinstated following a reverificatio...
	(b)  Previously certified corrections officers who have been separated from the North Carolina Department of Adult Correction for more than three years, but less than five years, upon their return shall complete the verification of employment standard...
	(1) [an] the appropriate abbreviated course of instruction focused on current standards of the North Carolina Department of Adult Correction (NCDAC), delivered by the NCDAC Office of Staff Development and Training; and
	(2) the mandatory firearms classroom training and achieves a passing qualification score on the firearms range qualification with the agency duty weapon(s).
	[(d)] (c) Applicants pursuant to subsection [(c)] (b) will be allowed to remediate one failure under each subsection [(c)(1)] (b)(1) and [(c)(2),] (b)(2), but, upon a second failure, will be required to complete the entire commission [accredited] appr...

	12 NCAC 09G .0410 Lateral Transfers
	(a)  The Commission may waive an officer's completion of the Commission-accredited training course upon receiving documentary evidence from the North Carolina Department of Correction that the officer has satisfactorily completed equivalent training. ...
	(b)  Training received in states with laws governing or regulating corrections officer training shall, if subject to such review, have been approved or certified by the appropriate agency of the state in which the training was received.
	(c)  The Commission shall prescribe as a condition of certification supplementary or remedial training deemed necessary to equate previous training with current standards.
	(d)  The Commission shall require satisfactory performance on a written examination as proof of equivalent training.
	(a)  A Corrections Officer holding prior certification from another state, federal, or military Department of Correction or equivalent is eligible to transfer certification from one state, federal, or military Department of Correction or equivalent to...
	(1) has a minimum of two years full-time service as a state, federal, or military correctional officer or
	probation/parole officer;
	(2) has less than a one-year break in service from their most recent certified role;
	(3) provides documentary evidence of the completion of training that has been approved by the
	appropriate state, federal, or military entity charged with regulating correctional or probation/parole
	officers in the jurisdiction in which the training was received;
	(4) has completed [an] the appropriate abbreviated course of instruction focused on current standards of the NCDAC, delivered by the NCDAC Office of Staff Development and Training;
	(5) has completed the mandatory firearms classroom training and achieves a passing qualification score
	on the firearms range qualification with the agency duty weapon(s); and
	(6) has achieved a passing score on the [Commission-accredited] Commission-approved basic training course for correctional officers or probation/parole officers, whichever is applicable.
	(b) Applicants pursuant to subsection (a) will be allowed to remediate one failure under each subsection (a)(5) and (a)(6), but, upon a second failure of either, will be required to complete the entire commission accredited basic training for correcti...
	(c) A North Carolina justice officer, as defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0301, is eligible to transfer certification from one state or local law enforcement agency to NCDAC and be certified as a correctional officer by the Commission if the officer:
	(1) has a minimum of two years full-time service as a justice officer as defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0301;
	(2) has less than a one-year break in service from their most recent certified role;
	(3) provides documentary evidence of the completion of the Detention Officer Certification Course pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0605, and holds a general certification or probationary certification from the Sheriffs’ Education and Training and Standards Co...
	(4) has completed an abbreviated course of instruction focused on current standards of NCDAC, delivered by the NCDAC Office of Staff Development and Training;
	(5) has completed the mandatory firearms classroom training and achieves a passing qualification score on the firearms range qualification with the agency duty weapon(s); and
	(6) has achieved a passing score on the [Commission-accredited] Commission-approved basic training course for correctional officers.
	(d) Applicants pursuant to subsection (c) will be allowed to remediate one failure under each subsection (c)(4) and (c)(5), but, upon a second failure of either, will be required to complete the entire commission accredited basic training for correcti...
	(e) Prior to certification, NCDAC must submit to the Division evidence of compliance with the requirements of 12 NCAC 09G .0208 for any applicants pursuant to this section.

	12 NCAC 09H .0102 Minimum Training Requirements
	(a)  Firearms Training and Qualification shall consist of a minimum of four hours and include the requirements of Paragraphs (c), and (d) and (e) of this Rule.
	(b)  Pursuant to 12 NCAC 09E .0106(a), each Each qualified retired law enforcement officer shall qualify with each handgun he or she carries. carries in accordance with the guidelines in the In-Service Firearms Qualification Manual as published by the...
	(c)  Qualification shall include a day and night qualification course with each handgun he or she carries, and a single day and night combat course with one handgun that he or she carries.
	(d)  (c) Each qualified retired law enforcement officer shall receive a minimum of two hours of instruction on the North Carolina laws of self-defense, the use of force by private citizens, detention of persons by private persons, and assistance to la...
	(e)  (d) Instruction shall include a review of firearms safety and basic marksmanship fundamentals.
	(f)  (e) The qualification requirements shall be achieved at least once in a single day in no more than three attempts per day for each course of fire and for each weapon for which qualification is required. Officers not qualifying in a single day for...
	(g) (f) Qualified retired law enforcement officers shall be certified for a period of 12 months from the date the application is approved by the Commission. Upon application for renewal, the certification shall be renewed by the Commission for 12-mont...

	12 NCAC 09H. 0103 Instructors
	(a)  Only instructors who hold Specialized Instructor Certification in Law Enforcement Firearms issued by the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission as outlined in Rules Rule 09B .0302 and 09B .0304 09B .0304(a) may shall conduct...
	(b)  Each instructor specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall record and retain the firearms qualification scores for each qualified retired law enforcement officer trained by the instructor for a period of five years. These The scores shall not ...
	(c)  Upon successful qualification, the instructor shall sign and date the Retired Law Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification Certification Application Form (F-9R) attesting to the successful qualification.  The Retired Law Enforcement Officer Fi...
	(1)  type of application;
	(2)  applicant’s name, address, phone number, email address, and date of birth;
	(3)  Applicant Attestation regarding qualification for certification;
	(4)  date and location of the applicant’s successful completion of the firearms qualification;
	(5)  instructor’s name and Acadis number;
	(6)  the make, model, and serial number of the weapon and the day and night score achieved for each weapon qualified with;
	and
	(7)  signature of the applicant.

	12 NCAC 09H .0104 Sanctions
	(a)  The Commission shall deny or revoke the applicant for firearms qualification certification an applicant’s or the qualified retired law enforcement officer's firearms qualification certification when the Commission finds the applicant or retired o...
	(b)  The Commission may shall deny or suspend the applicant or retired law enforcement officer's firearms qualification certification when the Commission finds the applicant or retired officer:
	(1) has failed to successfully complete the required training or qualification specified in Rule 09H .0102; or
	(2) is ineligible to receive and possess firearms under federal or state law.

	(c)  Before taking action, the Standards Division shall investigate the alleged violation of Paragraph (b) of this Rule and present a report of its findings to the Probable Cause Committee of the Commission.
	(d)  The Probable Cause Committee may: shall:
	(1) direct the Standards Division to conduct a further investigation of the alleged violation; or
	(2) direct the Standards Division to conduct an administrative hearing in the matter, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09A .0107 and 26 NCAC 03; or
	(3) (2) determine the appropriate sanctions against the violator pursuant to Paragraphs (f) and (g) of this Rule.

	(e)  Denials or revocations in accordance with Paragraph (a) of this Rule are permanent. The retired officer is ineligible to ever receive firearms qualification certification from the Commission.
	(f)  Denials or suspensions in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule are: are in effect until the applicant or retired law enforcement officer:
	(1) until the applicant or retired officer has successfully completed the required training or qualification specified in Rule 09H .0102; or
	(2) until the applicant or retired officer is eligible to receive or possess firearms under federal or state law.

	(g)  Any applicant or qualified retired law enforcement officer who receives firearms qualification certification under the rules Rules in this Section who becomes ineligible under any of the standards enumerated in this Rule shall notify the Criminal...

	12 NCAC 09H .0105 Filing and Fees
	Each applicant for firearms qualification certification under the Qualified Retired Law Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification Certification Program shall submit the following to the Commission:
	All fees shall be paid by certified check or money order made payable to the North Carolina Department of Justice.


