12 NCAC 09B .0209 is amended with changes as published in 37:19 NCR 1927-1940

1 2 3

10

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

## 12 NCAC 09B .0209 CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

- 4 (a) The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor certification shall consist of a minimum of 40 38 hours of classroom instruction, plus the time required to conduct practical exercises, student presentations, and post testing presented during a period of no more than 15 business days. If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a specific course delivery when the Director determines that doing so is necessary based on consideration of the following factors:
  - (1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
- 11 (2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused by continuation of the course;
  - (3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called on action to help address the State of Emergency;
  - (4) The specific need for the waiver; and
  - (5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.
  - Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses that began during the effective period of the State of Emergency.
  - (b) Each Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the functions of a criminal justice instructor.
- (c) Each Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:

23	(1)	Orientation and Pre-Test	1 <u>2</u> Hour
24	(2)	Instructional Systems Design (ISD)	5 <u>3</u> Hours
25	(3)	Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and Legal Responsibilities	2 Hours
26	(4)	Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership	4 Hours
27	(5)	Lesson Plan Preparation: Professional Resources	2 Hours
28	(6)	Lesson Plan Development and Formatting	3 Hours
29	(7)	Adult Learning	2 Hours
30	(8)	Instructional Styles and Platform Skills	5 Hours
31	(9)	Classroom Management	3 Hours
32	(10)	Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical Exercises	3 Hours
33	(11)	The Evaluation Process of Learning	4 <u>3</u> Hours
34	(12)	Audio Visual Aids	5 Hours
35	(13)	Course Closing and Post-test	1 Hour

(14) Completion of tasks associated with practical exercises, student presentations, and post testing; the	he
number of hours required to complete this portion of the curriculum shall be based on the numb	er
of enrolled students, available facilities, and number of instructors.	
(d) The most current version of the "Instructor Training" manual published by the North Carolina Justice Academ	ny
shall be the curriculum for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the agency:	
Criminal Justice Standards Division	
North Carolina Department of Justice	
1700 Tryon Park Drive	
Post Office Drawer 149	
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602	
and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the Academy at the following address:	
North Carolina Justice Academy	
Post Office Drawer 99	
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385	
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; Eff. January 1, 1981; Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2015; December 1, 200 August 1, 2005; November 1, 1998; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; January 1985; Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 2 2019; Amended Eff. October 1, 2023; April 1, 2022; July 1, 2021; January 1, 2021.	1,
	of enrolled students, available facilities, and number of instructors.  (d) The most current version of the "Instructor Training" manual published by the North Carolina Justice Academ shall be the curriculum for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the agency:  Criminal Justice Standards Division  North Carolina Department of Justice  1700 Tryon Park Drive  Post Office Drawer 149  Raleigh, North Carolina 27602  and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the Academy at the following address:  North Carolina Justice Academy  Post Office Drawer 99  Salemburg, North Carolina 28385  History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6;  Eff. January 1, 1981;  Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2015; December 1, 200 August 1, 2005; November 1, 1998; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; January 1985;  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 2 2019;

## 12 NCAC 09B .0403 EVALUATION FOR TRAINING WAIVER

- (a) The Standards Division staff shall evaluate each law enforcement officer's training and experience to determine if equivalent training has been completed as specified in Rule .0402(a) of this Section. Applicants for certification with prior law enforcement experience shall have been employed in a full-time, sworn law enforcement position in order to be considered for training evaluation under this Rule. Applicants for certification with a combination of full-time and part-time experience shall be evaluated on the basis of the full-time experience only. The following criteria shall be used by Standards Division staff in evaluating a law enforcement officer's training and experience to determine eligibility for a waiver of training requirements:
  - (1) Persons having completed a Commission-accredited basic training program and not having been duly appointed and sworn as a law enforcement officer within one year of completion of the program shall complete a subsequent Commission-accredited basic training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405(a) of this Section, and shall achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination prior to obtaining probationary law enforcement certification, unless the Director determines that a delay in applying for certification was not due to neglect on the part of the applicant, in which case the Director shall accept a Commission-accredited basic training program that is over one year old. The appointing agency shall request in writing the extension of the one year period, which shall not exceed 30 days from the first year anniversary of the passing of the State Comprehensive Examination;
  - Out-of-state transferees shall be evaluated to determine the amount and quality of their training and experience. Out-of-state transferees shall not have a break in service exceeding three years. At a minimum, out-of-state transferees shall have two years' full-time, sworn law enforcement experience and have completed a basic law enforcement training course accredited by the transferring state. An individual's attendance at his or her basic law enforcement class shall not count towards the two years' full-time sworn law enforcement experience. Prior to employment as a certified law enforcement officer, out-of-state transferees shall complete with a passing score the employing agency's in-service firearms training and qualification program as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0106. In addition, out-of-state transferees shall complete the Legal Unit in a Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course as prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination within the 12 month probationary period;
  - (3) Persons who have completed a 369-hour basic law enforcement training program accredited by the Commission under guidelines administered beginning October 1, 1984, have been separated from a sworn position for over one year but less than three years, and who have had a minimum of two years' experience as a full-time, sworn law enforcement officer in North Carolina shall complete the Legal Unit in a Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course as prescribed in

Rule .0205(b)(1) of this Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on the State Comp	rehensive
Examination within the 12 month probationary period. Prior to employment as a cer	tified law
enforcement officer, these persons shall complete with a passing score the employing	; agency's
in-service firearms training and qualification program as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E;	

- (4) Persons who have completed a 396-hour basic law enforcement training program accredited by the Commission under guidelines administered beginning October 1, 1984, have been separated from a sworn position more than one year but less than five years and who have a minimum of two years' experience as a full-time, sworn law enforcement officer in North Carolina, who have not been convicted of a disqualifying criminal offense as listed in Rule .0111(1) of this Subchapter, and who have successfully completed the mandatory in-service training requirements pursuant to 12 NCAC 09E .0105 or 12 NCAC 10B .2005, with the exception of Firearms Training and Requalification, during each year the person was separated from a sworn position prior to employment as a certified law enforcement officer shall complete the topic areas within the following time frames:
  - (A) Prior to employment as a certified law enforcement officer, the person shall complete the appointing agency's in-service firearms training and qualification program as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E;
  - (B) Prior to employment as a certified law enforcement officer, the person shall achieve a passing score on the practical skills testing for the First Responder, Law Enforcement Driver Training, and Subject Control Arrest Techniques topics set forth in Rule .0205(b)(5) of this Subchapter. The person shall also successfully complete the Police Officer Physical Abilities Test. The practical skills testing and the Police Officer Physical Abilities Test may be completed either in a Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training course or under the instruction of a Commission-certified instructor for that particular skill. The person shall also meet the requirements per Rule .0101 of this Subchapter; and
  - (C) Within 12 months of being issued probationary certification, the person shall complete the remaining topics in the legal unit of instruction in the Basic Law Enforcement Training course as set forth in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this Subchapter. The person shall achieve a passing score on the appropriate topic tests for each course. The person may undertake each of these legal unit topics of instruction either in a Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training course or under the instruction of a Commission-certified instructor for that particular topic of instruction.

An individual's attendance at his or her basic law enforcement class shall not count towards the two years' full-time sworn law enforcement experience. Persons who meet the criteria of this Part shall be processed as a probationary certification and shall serve a one-year probationary period as defined in 12 NCAC 09C .0303;

(5) Persons out of the law enforcement profession for over one year but less than three years who have had less than two years' experience as a full-time, sworn law enforcement officer in North Carolina

- shall complete a Commission-accredited basic training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405(a) of this Section, and achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination;
- (6) Persons out of the law enforcement profession for over three years who do not meet the criteria of Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph shall complete a Commission-accredited basic training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405(a) of this Section, regardless of prior training or experience, and shall achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination;

- (7) Persons who separated from law enforcement employment during their probationary period after having completed a Commission-accredited basic training program and who have separated from a sworn law enforcement position for more than one year shall complete a subsequent Commission-accredited basic training program and shall achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination;
- (8) Persons who separated from a sworn law enforcement position during their probationary period after having completed a Commission-accredited basic training program and who have separated from a sworn law enforcement position for less than one year shall serve a new 12 month probationary period as prescribed in Rule .0401(a) of this Section, but shall not be required to complete an additional training program;
- (9) Persons who have completed a minimum 160-hour basic law enforcement training program accredited by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Training and Standards Council under guidelines administered beginning on July 1, 1973, and continuing through September 30, 1978, and who have separated from a sworn law enforcement position for over one year but less than two years shall complete the Legal Unit and the topical area entitled "Law Enforcement Driver Training" of a Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course as prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) and .0205(b)(5)(C) of this Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination within the 12 month probationary period;
- (10) Persons who have completed a minimum 160-hour basic law enforcement training program accredited by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Training and Standards Council under guidelines administered beginning on July 1, 1973, and continuing through September 30, 1978, and have been separated from a sworn law enforcement position for two or more years shall complete a Commission-accredited basic training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405 of this Section, regardless of training and experience, and shall achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination;
- (11) Persons who have completed a minimum 240-hour basic law enforcement training program accredited by the Commission under guidelines administered beginning October 1, 1978, and continuing through September 30, 1984, and have been separated from a sworn position over one year but less than three years shall complete the Legal Unit in a Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course as prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination within the 12 month probationary period;

(12) Persons previously holding law enforcement certification in accordance with G.S. 17C-10(a) who have been separated from a sworn law enforcement position for over one year and who have not previously completed a minimum basic training program accredited by either the North Carolina Criminal Justice Training and Standards Council or the Commission shall complete a Commission-accredited basic training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405 of this Section, and shall achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination prior to employment;

- (13)Individuals seeking certification with the Commission who have been appointed as a Criminal Investigator, as defined in 5 U.S.C. 5541(3) and the Office of Personnel Management GS-1811 series in the General Schedule classification system, Special Agents with the Federal Bureau of Investigation; United States Secret Service; Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms; and Drug Enforcement Administration; as well as United States Marshals and Deputy United States Marshals, who have not had a break in service exceeding three years, shall be evaluated to determine the amount and quality of their training and experience. At a minimum, federal law enforcement officers shall have two years' full-time, sworn law enforcement experience and have completed a basic law enforcement training course as required by their appointing federal agency. Prior to employment as a certified law enforcement officer, these individuals shall complete with a passing score the employing agency's in-service firearms training and qualification program as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0106. These individuals shall complete the Basic Law Enforcement Training topics pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0205(b)(1)(A), (b)(1)(C), (b)(1)(D), (b)(1)(F), (b)(2)(A), (b)(2)(C), (b)(2)(E), (b)(2)(F), (b)(2)(I), (b)(3)(B), (b)(3)(D), (b)(4)(E), (b)(5)(A), (b)(6)(A), (b)(6)(B),(b)(6)(C), and shall achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0406 within the 12 month probationary period. Individuals who submit to the Commission documentation of completion of training equivalent to the topics set forth in 12 NCAC  $09B \cdot 0205(b)(2)(A), (b)(2)(C), (b)(2)(E), (b)(2)(F), (b)(2)(I), (b)(3)(B), (b)(3)(D), (b)(4)(E),$ (b)(5)(A), (b)(6)(A), (b)(6)(B), and (b)(6)(C) shall not be required to complete those topics;
- (14) Federal law enforcement transferees other than those listed in Paragraph (13) of this Rule who have not had a break in service exceeding three years shall be evaluated to determine the amount and quality of their training and experience. At a minimum, federal law enforcement officers shall have two years' full-time, sworn law enforcement experience and have completed a basic law enforcement training course as required by their appointing federal agency. Prior to employment as a certified law enforcement officer, transferees shall complete with a passing score the employing agency's in-service firearms training and qualification program as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0106. At a minimum, transferees shall complete the Legal Unit in a Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course as prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination within 12 month probationary period;

1	(15)	Applicants wit	h part-time experience who have a break in service in excess of one year shal
2		complete a Co	mmission-accredited basic training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405 of this
3		Section, and s	hall achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination prior to
4		employment;	
5	(16)	Applicants wh	o hold or previously held certification issued by the North Carolina Sheriffs
6		Education and	Training Standards Commission (Sheriffs' Commission) shall be subject to
7		evaluation bas	ed on the applicant's active or inactive certification status with the Sheriffs
8		Commission. A	a deputy sheriff certified with the Sheriffs' Commission shall be considered active it
9		he or she has p	performed any law enforcement function during the previous 12 months. A deputy
10		sheriff certified	d with the Sheriffs' Commission shall be considered inactive if he or she has no
11		performed a lav	w enforcement function during the previous 12 months.
12		(A) The S	standards Division shall issue certification to an applicant holding active genera
13		certifi	cation with the Sheriffs' Commission provided that the applicant:
14		(i)	Does not have a break in service of greater than 12 months;
15		(ii)	Has completed the mandatory in-service training requirements pursuant to 12
16			NCAC 10B .2005 for each year certification was held; and
17		(iii)	Held active status with the Sheriffs' Commission within 12 months of the date the
18			applicant achieved a passing score on the Basic Law Enforcement Training State
19			Comprehensive Examination.
20		(B) The S	Standards Division shall issue certification to an applicant holding inactive
21		certifi	cation with the Sheriffs' Commission provided that the applicant:
22		(i)	Holds inactive probationary or general certification with the Sheriffs
23			Commission;
24		(ii)	Has served a minimum of 24 months of full time sworn service or does not have
25			a break in service of greater than 12 months;
26		(iii)	Has completed the mandatory in-service training requirements pursuant to 12
27			NCAC 10B .2005, with the exception of Firearms Training and Requalification
28			during each year certification was held; and
29		(iv)	Held active status with the Sheriffs' Commission within 12 months of the date the
30			applicant achieved a passing score on the Basic Law Enforcement Training State
31			Comprehensive Examination.
32		(C) An ap	plicant awarded certification with the Sheriffs' Commission by means of the Sheriffs
33		Standa	ards BLET Challenge as prescribed in 12 NCAC 10B .0505(6)(b) shall meet the
34		follow	ving requirements in order to obtain probationary certification from the Commission
35		(i)	Have a minimum of 24 months of sworn, full-time law enforcement service;
36		(ii)	Not have a break in service of greater than 12 months; and

1 (iii) Have completed all mandatory in-service requirements pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 2 .0505 during the previous two years. 3 (D) An applicant who is a criminal justice officer, as defined in G.S. 17C-2(3), and who is 4 elected Sheriff shall be reinstated by the Commission upon the conclusion of the period of service as Sheriff and in conformance with 12 NCAC 09C .0303; 5 Alcohol law enforcement agents who received basic alcohol law enforcement training prior to 6 (17)7 November 1, 1993, and transfer to another law enforcement agency in a sworn capacity shall be 8 subject to evaluation of their prior training and experience on an individual basis. The Standards 9 Division staff shall determine the amount of training required of these applicants, based upon the 10 type of certification held by the applicant and the length of any break in the applicant's sworn, full-11 time service; 12 (18)Wildlife enforcement officers who separate from employment with the Wildlife Enforcement 13 Division and transfer to another law enforcement agency in a sworn capacity shall be subject to 14 evaluation of their prior training and experience on an individual basis. The Standards Division staff 15 shall determine the amount of training required of these applicants, based upon the type of 16 certification held by the applicant and the length of any break in the applicant's sworn, full-time 17 service; 18 (19)Active duty, guard, or reserve military members failing to complete all of the required annual in-19 service training topics, as defined in 12 NCAC 09E .0105 of this Chapter, due to military obligations 20 are subject to the following training requirements as a condition for return to active criminal justice 21 status. The agency head shall verify the person's completion of the appropriate training by 22 submitting a statement, on Form F-9C, Return to Duty Request form. This form is located on the 23 agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-24 publications/; 25 (A) Active duty members of the armed forces eligible for probationary certification pursuant 26 to this Paragraph and active duty, guard, or reserve military members holding probationary 27 or general certification as a criminal justice officer who fail to complete all of the required 28 annual in-service training topics due to military obligations for up to a period of three years 29 shall complete the previous year's required in-service training topics, the current year's 30 required in-service training topics, and complete with a passing score the appointing 31 agency's in-service firearms training and qualification program as prescribed in 12 NCAC 32 09E prior to their return to active criminal justice status; 33 (B) Active duty, guard, or reserve military members holding probationary or general 34 certification as a criminal justice officer who fail to complete all of the required annual in-35 service training topics due to military obligations for a period greater than three years shall complete the following topic areas within the following time frames: 36

(i) The person shall complete the previous year's required in-service training topics, the current year's required in-service training topics, and complete the appointing agency's in-service firearms training and qualification program as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E prior to their return to active criminal justice status;

- (ii) The person shall achieve a passing score on the practical skills testing for the First Responder, Law Enforcement Driver Training, and Subject Control Arrest Techniques topics enumerated in Rule .0205(b)(5) of this Subchapter prior to returning to active criminal justice status. This practical skills testing may be completed either in a Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training course or under the instruction of a Commission-certified instructor for that particular skill. The person shall complete one physical fitness assessment in lieu of the Fitness Assessment and Testing topic. The person shall also be examined by a physician per Rule .0104(b) of this Subchapter; and
- (iii) The person shall complete some of the topics in the legal unit of instruction in the Basic Law Enforcement Training course as set forth in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this Subchapter. The required topics include Motor Vehicle Law; Juvenile Laws and Procedures; Arrest, Search and Seizure/Constitutional Law; and ABC Laws and Procedures. The person shall achieve a passing score on the appropriate topic tests for each course. The person may undertake each of these legal unit topics of instruction either in a Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training course or under the instruction of a Commission-certified instructor for that particular topic of instruction. The person shall complete each of the enumerated topics of instruction within 12 months from the beginning of his or her return to active criminal justice status; and
- An active duty member of the armed forces who completes the basic training course in its entirety as prescribed in Rule .0405 of this Subchapter, annually completes the mandatory in-service training topics as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0105, with the exception of the Firearms and Qualification testing requirements contained in 12 NCAC 09E .0105(a)(3) for each year subsequent to the completion of the basic training course, and achieves a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination as prescribed in Rule .0406 of this Subchapter within five years of separating from active duty status shall be eligible for probationary certification as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09C .0303 for a period of 12 months from the date he or she separates from active duty status in the armed forces. All mandatory in-service training topics as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0105 shall be completed by the individual prior to receiving probationary certification.
- (b) In the event the applicant's prior training is not equivalent to the Commission's standards, the Commission shall prescribe as a condition of certification supplementary or remedial training to equate previous training with current standards.

- 1 (c) If certifications issued by the Commission require satisfactory performance on a written examination as part of
- 2 the training, the Commission shall require the examinations for the certification.
- 3 (d) If an evaluation of the applicant's prior training and experience determines that required attendance in the entire
- 4 Basic Law Enforcement Training Course is unnecessary, the Director of the Standards Division shall determine the
- 5 amount of training the individual shall complete during his or her probationary period.
- 6 (e) The following criteria shall be used by Standards Division staff in evaluating prior training and experience of local confinement personnel to determine eligibility for a waiver of training requirements:
  - (1) Persons who hold probationary, general, or grandfather certification as local confinement personnel and separate after having completed a Commission-accredited course as prescribed in Rule .0224 or .0225 of this Subchapter and have been separated for one year or more shall complete a subsequent Commission-accredited training course and achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination during the probationary period as prescribed in Rule .0401(a) of this Section;
  - (2) Persons who separated from a local confinement personnel position after having completed a Commission-accredited course as prescribed in Rule .0224 or .0225 of this Subchapter and who have been separated for less than one year shall serve a new 12 month probationary period, but shall be required to complete an additional training program;
  - (3) Applicants who hold or previously held "Detention Officer Certification" issued by the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission shall be subject to evaluation of their prior training and experience on an individual basis. No additional training shall be required where the applicant obtained certification and successfully completed the required 120 hour training course and has not had a break in service in excess of one year; and
  - (4) Persons holding certification for local confinement facilities who transfer to a district or county confinement facility shall complete the course for district and county confinement facility personnel, as adopted by reference in Rule .0224 of this Subchapter, and achieve a passing score on the State Comprehensive Examination during the probationary period as prescribed in Rule .0401(a) of this Section.

29 History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10; 93B-15.1;

30 Eff. January 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; January 1, 2017; October 1, 2016; November 1, 2014; August 1, 2000; November 1, 1002; March 1, 1002; July 1, 1000; February 1, 1007;

2000; November 1, 1993; March 1, 1992; July 1, 1989; February 1, 1987;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019:

35 Amended Eff. <u>October 1, 2023</u>; July 1, 2021.

1 12 NCAC 09B. 0501 is amended with changes as published in 37:19 NCR 1927-1940 2 3 12 NCAC 09B .0501 CERTIFICATION OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS 4 (a) Any person designated to act as, or who performs the duties of, a School Director in the delivery or presentation 5 of a Commission-certified criminal justice training course shall be and continuously remain certified by the 6 Commission as a school director. 7 (b) To qualify for initial certification as a School Director, an applicant shall: 8 (1) Attend and complete a Commission certified instructor training course or an equivalent instructor 9 training program as determined by the Commission (if certified after July 1, 2004); Hold current 10 General Instructor certification as issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 11 Training Standards Commission; 12 (2) Present documentary evidence showing that the applicant: 13 Furnish documentary evidence of high school, college, or university graduation to the employing 14 agency. Documentary evidence of high school graduation consists of diplomas or transcripts from 15 public schools or private schools which meet standards adopted by either the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, the Division of Non-Public Instruction, or a comparable out of 16 17 state agency; or such documentation as described in Paragraphs (A), (B), (C), (D) and (E) of this 18 Rule. Documentary evidence of college or university graduation consists of diplomas or transcripts 19 from colleges or universities accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the institution is located, an accredited body recognized by either the U.S. Department of Education 20 21 or Council for Higher Education Accreditation, or the state university of the state in which the 22 institution is located. 23 (A)High school diplomas earned through home school programs must be accompanied by a 24 true and accurate or certified transcript and must meet the requirements of Part 3 of Article 25 39 of Chapter 115C of the North Carolina General Statutes, or a comparable out-of-state 26 statute. 27 (B) Diplomas earned from high schools or equivalent institutions outside of the United States 28 must be translated into English and be accompanied by an authentic transcript. The 29 Division's staff shall evaluate the transcripts to ensure they are scholastically comparable 30 to United States curriculum requirements. (C) The Division's staff shall evaluate high school diplomas earned through on-line or 31 32 correspondence courses on a case by case basis. Such diplomas must meet state and local 33 requirements for the jurisdiction from which the diploma was issued.

Documentary evidence of having earned a High School Equivalency (HSE) diploma shall be satisfied by a certified copy of a high school equivalency credential or an adult high

school diploma, both of which must be recognized by the U.S. Department of Education,

34

35

36

(D)

1		the state Department of Education, or educational agency that is authorized in the state to
2		issue High School Equivalency (HSE) diplomas.
3		(E) Documentary evidence of the attainment of satisfactory scores on any military high school
4		equivalency examination is acceptable as evidence of high school graduation if verified by
5		a true copy of the veteran's DD214, Certificate of Release from Active Duty.
6		is a high school, college, or university graduate or has received a high school equivalency
7		credential as [awarded from colleges or universities accredited by the Department of
8		Education of the state in which the institution is located, from an accredited body
9		recognized by either the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education
10		Accreditation, or from the state university of the state in which the institution is located
11		recognized by the issuing state and has acquired five years of practical experience as a
12		criminal justice officer or as an administrator or specialist in a field directly related to the
13		criminal justice system. At least one year of the required five years experience must have
14		been while actively participating in criminal justice training as a Commission-certified
15		instructor; or
16		(B)(F) has been awarded an associate degree and has acquired four years of practical experience
17		as a criminal justice officer or as an administrator or specialist in a field directly related to
18		the criminal justice system. At least one year of the required four years experience must
19		have been while directly participating in criminal justice training as a Commission-certified
20		instructor; or
21		(C)(G) has been awarded a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited institution of higher
22		learning;
23	(3)	Attend or must have attended the most current offering of the School Director's orientation as
24		developed and presented by the Commission staff, otherwise an individual orientation with a staff
25		member shall be required; and
26	(4)	Submit a written request for the issuance of such certification executed by the executive officer of
27		the institution or agency currently certified, or which may be seeking certification, by the
28		Commission to make presentation of certified training programs and for whom the applicant will be
29		the designated School Director.
30	(c) To qualify f	or certification as a School Director in the presentation of the Criminal Justice Instructor Training
31	Course, an applie	cant shall:
32	(1)	Document that he or she has been awarded a baccalaureate degree from colleges or universities
33		accredited by the Department of Education of the state in which the institution is located, from an
34		accredited body recognized by either the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for Higher
35		Education Accreditation, or from the state university of the state in which the institution is located;
36		a regionally accredited institution of higher learning;

<del>(2)</del>	Present evidence showing completion of a Commission certified instructor training course or an
	equivalent instructor training course utilizing the Instructional Systems Design model, an
	international model with applications in education, military training, and private enterprise;
<del>(3)</del> (2)	Be currently certified as a eriminal justice-General Instructor instructor by the Commission; and
<del>(4)</del> ( <u>3</u> )	Document completion of a special program the Instructor Training Orientation presented by the
	North Carolina Justice Academy on delivery of the instructor training course and trainee evaluation.
History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; Eff. January 1, 1985; Amended Eff. February 1, 2016; November 1, 2015; July 1, 2004; Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; <u>Amended Eff. October 1, 2023.</u>
	( <del>3)(2)</del> ( <del>4)(3</del> )

1	12 NCAC 09B .0	0502 is amended as published in 37:19 NCR 1927-1940
2		
3	12 NCAC 09B .	0502 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF SCHOOL DIRECTOR CERTIFICATION
4	(a) The term of	certification as a School Director is two years from the date the Commission issues the certification,
5	unless earlier te	rminated by action of the Commission. Upon application, the certification may subsequently be
6	renewed by the C	Commission for three-year periods. The application for renewal shall contain documentation meeting
7	the requirements	of Rule .0501(b)(2) and (3) of this Section.
8	(b) To retain cer	tification as a Basic Law Enforcement Training School Director, the School Director shall:
9	(1)	Participate in annual training conducted by commission staff;
10	(2)	Maintain and comply with the current version of the "Basic Law Enforcement Training Course
11		Management Guide";
12	(3)	Maintain and ensure compliance with the current version of the "Basic Law Enforcement Training
13		Instructor Notebook" assigned to each certified school; and
14	(4)	Perform the duties and responsibilities of a School Director as specifically required in Rule .0202
15		of this Subchapter.
16	(c) To retain cer	rtification as a Speed Measuring Instrument, Instructor Training, or Specialized Instructor <u>Training</u> ,
17	School Director,	<u>Juvenile Justice</u> , <u>or Diversion Investigator/Supervisor Training School Director</u> , the school director
18	shall:	
19	(1)	Participate in annual training conducted by commission staff;
20	(2)	Maintain and ensure compliance with the current version of the specific speed measuring instrument
21		or Instructor Training notebook assigned to each certified school; and
22	(3)	Perform the duties and responsibilities of a School Director as specifically required in Rule .0202
23		of this Subchapter.
24	(d) The Director	may grant a waiver of attendance at the annual training for just cause. For purposes of this Rule, just
25	cause means acc	eident, illness, emergency, or other exceptional circumstances, which precluded the School Director
26	from attending t	he scheduled annual training. School Directors who receive a waiver of attendance shall be required
27	to complete a ma	tke up training session prior to the end of the calendar year in which the training requirement applies.
28		
29 30 31 32 33 34	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; Eff. January 1, 1985; Amended Eff. February 1, 2016; May 1, 2014; April 1, 2009; Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; <u>Amended Eff. October 1, 2023.</u>

## 1 12 NCAC 09C .0306 is amended as published in 37:19 NCR 1927-1940 2 3 12 NCAC 09C .0306 LATERAL TRANSFER OF LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS 4 (a) A law enforcement officer with general certification from either the Criminal Justice Education and Training 5 Standards Commission or the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission may transfer from one law 6 enforcement agency to another law enforcement agency with less than a 12 month break in law enforcement service. 7 Prior to employing the officer, the employing agency shall: 8 (1) verify the certification of the officer with the Criminal Justice Standards Division or the Sheriffs' 9 Standards Division; 10 (2) submit a new fingerprint check to the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation, in compliance 11 with the requirements set forth in 12 NCAC 09B .0103(a) and (b), in the same manner as prescribed 12 for non-certified new applicants. No certification shall be transferred if the holder has been 13 convicted since initial certification of any offense for which revocation or suspension of certification 14 is authorized; 15 (3) advise the officer that he will be serving under a probationary appointment with the agency for one 16 vear; and 17 (4) notify the Commission by submitting a Report of Appointment that the officer is being employed 18 and stating the date on which employment will commence; and 19 complete a background investigation on all applicants for certification, as set forth in 12 NCAC 09B <u>(5)</u> 20 .0102. 21 (b) Prior to transfer of certification, the law enforcement officer shall: 22 (1) complete a Medical History Statement Form within one year prior to the transfer to the employing 23 agency; 24 submit to examination by a surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner licensed to (2) 25 practice medicine in North Carolina in the same manner prescribed for non-certified new applicants 26 in 12 NCAC 09B .0104 within one year prior to the transfer to the employing agency; 27 (3) submit results of the physical examination to the employing agency for placement in the officer's 28 permanent personnel file; 29 (4) produce a negative result on a drug screen administered according to the specifications outlined in 30 12 NCAC 09B .0101(5)(6); and 31 (5) either: 32 (A) submit a copy of the Commission's annual in-service training report form to the employing 33 agency for placement in the officer's permanent personnel file when the duty and off duty 34 weapons remain the same as those previously used to qualify. Such in-service training 35 compliance shall have occurred within the 12 month period preceding transfer; or 36 (B) satisfactorily complete the employing agency's in-service firearms training program as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0105 and .0106. 37

- 1 (c) Officers previously certified who were not previously required to meet the educational or basic training
- 2 requirements shall not be required to meet such requirements when laterally transferring to another agency with less
- 3 than a 12-month break in law enforcement service.
- 4 (d) For currently certified full time officers with no break in service, upon written request from the department head
- of the hiring agency, the Division shall waive for a period of no more than 60-days from the receipt of the Report of
- 6 Appointment by the Standards Division the requirements of Subparagraphs of (b)(1), (b)(2), (b)(3), (b)(4), and (b)(5)
- 7 of this Rule. The Report of Appointment Form is located on the agency's website:
- 8 http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/64d263a3-a598-4c45-9541-04ef088cf288/F-5A-(DJJDP)--6-11.aspx.

12

- 10 History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
- 11 Eff. January 1, 1981;
  - Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; May 1, 2009; July 1, 1990; March 1, 1990; July 1,
- 13 1989; July 1, 1982;
- 14 Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25,
- 15 <u>2019; Amended Eff. October 1, 2023.</u>

## 12 NCAC 09G .0405 CERTIFICATION OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS

- (a) Any person designated to act as, or who performs the duties of, a School Director in the delivery or presentation of a Commission-certified corrections training course shall be and continuously remain certified by the Commission as a School Director.
- (b) To qualify for initial certification as a corrections School Director, an applicant shall:
  - (1) Attend and successfully complete a Commission certified instructor training course or an equivalent instructor training program as determined by the Commission (if certified after January 1, 2006);

    Hold current General Instructor Certification as issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission;
    - present documentary evidence showing that the applicant: Furnish documentary evidence of high school, college, or university graduation. Documentary evidence of high school graduation consists of diplomas or transcripts from public schools or private schools which meet standards adopted by either the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, the Division of Non-Public Instruction, or a comparable out of state agency; or such documentation as described in Paragraphs (A), (B), (C), (D) and (E) of this Rule. Documentary evidence of college or university graduation consists of diplomas or transcripts from colleges or universities accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the institution is located, an accredited body recognized by either the U.S. Department of Education or Council for Higher Education Accreditation, or the state university of the state in which the institution is located.
      - (A) High school diplomas earned through home school programs must be accompanied by a true and accurate or certified transcript and must meet the requirements of Part 3 of Article 39 of Chapter 115C of the North Carolina General Statutes, or a comparable outof-state statute.
      - (B) Diplomas earned from high schools or equivalent institutions outside of the United States must be translated into English and be accompanied by an authentic transcript. The Division's staff shall evaluate the transcripts to ensure they are scholastically comparable to United States curriculum requirements.
      - (C) The Division's staff shall evaluate high school diplomas earned through on-line or correspondence courses on a case by case basis. Such diplomas must meet state and local requirements for the jurisdiction from which the diploma was issued.
      - (D) Documentary evidence of having earned a High School Equivalency (HSE) diploma shall be satisfied by a certified copy of a high school equivalency credential or an adult high school diploma, both of which must be recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, the state Department of Education, or educational agency that is authorized in the state to issue High School Equivalency (HSE) diplomas.

1		<u>(E)</u>	Documentary evidence of the attainment of satisfactory scores on any military high
2			school equivalency examination is acceptable as evidence of high school graduation if
3			verified by a true copy of the veteran's DD214, Certificate of Release from Active
4			Duty.
5			is a high school, college, or university graduate or has received a high school equivalency
6			credential as [awarded from colleges or universities accredited by the Department of
7			Education of the state in which the institution is located, from an accredited body
8			recognized by either the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education
9			Accreditation, or from the state university of the state in which the institution is located
10			(A) is a high school graduate or has received a high school equivalency credential
11			[awarded by the Department of Education of the state in which the institution is located, or
12			from an accredited body recognized by either the U.S. Department of Education or the
13			Council for Higher Education Accreditation recognized by the issuing state and has
14			acquired five years of practical as recognized by the issuing state and has acquired five
15			years of practical experience as a criminal justice officer, corrections officer, or as an
16			administrator or specialist in a field directly related to the corrections system. At least one
17			year of the required five years experience must have been while actively participating in
18			corrections training as a Commission-certified instructor;
19		( <u>B)(F)</u>	has been awarded an associate degree from colleges or universities accredited by the
20			Department of Education of the state in which the institution is located, from an accredited
21			body recognized by either the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for Higher
22			Education Accreditation, or from the state university of the state in which the institution is
23			<u>located</u> recognized by the issuing state and has acquired four years of practical experience
24			as a criminal justice officer, corrections officer, or as an administrator or specialist in a
25			field directly related to the corrections system. At least one year of the required four years
26			experience must have been while directly participating in corrections training as a
27			Commission-certified instructor; or
28		<del>(C)</del> (G)	has been awarded a baccalaureate degree from from colleges or universities accredited by
29			the Department of Education of the state in which the institution is located, from an
30			accredited body recognized by either the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for
31			Higher Education Accreditation, or from the state university of the state in which the
32			institution is located; recognized by the issuing state a regionally accredited institution of
33			higher learning;
34	(3)	attend o	r have attended the most current offering of the School Director's orientation as developed
35		and pres	sented by the Commission staff, otherwise an individual orientation with a staff member
36		shall be	required; and

(4)	submit a completed Form F-10(SD), Request for School Director Certification to the Commission	
	for the issuance of such certification. This request shall be executed by the executive officer of the	
	Office of Staff Development and Training of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety,	
	Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice. The Form F-10(SD) is located on the agency's	
	website: http://ncdoj.gov/getdoc/f23e5e4d-d56d-4aba-af1e-44712690d5d5/F-10(SD)-6-11.aspx.	
(c) To qualify f	or certification as a School Director in the presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor Training	
7 Course" an applicant shall:		
(1)	document that he or she has been awarded a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited	
	institution of higher learning;	
(2)	present evidence showing successful completion of a Commission certified instructor training	
	course or an equivalent instructor training program as determined by the Commission; Hold current	
	General Instructor certification; and,	
(3)	be currently certified as a criminal justice instructor by the Commission; and	
<del>(4)</del> (3)	$document \ \underline{successful\ participation\ in\ a\ special\ progra} m\ \underline{successful\ completion\ of\ Instructo} r\ \underline{Training}$	
	Orientation presented by the Justice Academy for purposes of familiarization and supplementation	
	relevant to delivery of the instructor training course and trainee evaluation.	
History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; Temporary Adoption Expired December 20, 2001; Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2003; Eff. April 1, 2004; Amended Eff. February 1, 2016; January 1, 2006; Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019.  Amended Eff. October 1, 2023	
	(c) To qualify for Course" an applie (1)  (2)  (3)  (4)(3)	

1 12 NCAC 09G .0406 is amended as published in 37:19 NCR 1927-1940 2 3 12 NCAC 09G .0406 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF SCHOOL DIRECTOR CERTIFICATION 4 (a) The term of certification as a School Director is two years from the date the Commission issues the certification, 5 unless earlier terminated by action of the Commission. Upon application the certification may subsequently be 6 renewed by the Commission for two-year periods. The application for renewal shall contain documentation meeting 7 the requirements of 12 NCAC 09G .0405(b)(2) and (b)(3). 8 (b) To retain certification as a School Director, the School Director shall perform the duties and responsibilities of a 9 School Director as specifically required in 12 NCAC 09G .0408. 10 (c) To retain certification, School Directors must participate in annual training conducted by commission staff. The 11 Director may grant a waiver of attendance at the annual training for just cause. For purposes of this Rule, just cause 12 means accidents, illness, emergency, or other exceptional circumstances which precluded the School Director from attending the scheduled annual training. School Directors who receive a waiver of attendance shall be required to 13 14 complete a make up training session prior to the end of the calendar year in which the training requirement applies. 15 16 History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17 Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 18 Temporary Adoption Expired December 20, 2001; 19 Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2003; 20 Eff. April 1, 2004; Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 21 2019; Amended Eff: October 1, 2023. 22 23