1 21 NCAC 18B .1101 is amended as published in NCR 38:14, pages 1195-1196, with changes, as follows: 2 3 **CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS:** LISTED 21 NCAC 18B .1101 **QUALIFIED** 4 **INDIVIDUALS** 5 (a) Upon becoming a qualified individual, as defined in G.S. 87-41.1(c), all qualifiers shall complete a free, four-6 hour Laws and Rules Course conducted by Board staff within twelve (12) 12 months after becoming a qualified 7 individual or ninety (90) 90 days prior to becoming a qualified individual. Completion of the Laws and Rules Course 8 pursuant to this requirement, shall satisfy four (4) 4 of the required contact hours of continuing education for the initial 9 renewal of the individual's qualification. 10 (a)(b) Every listed qualified individual, as defined in G.S. 41.1(2), including listed qualified individuals pursuant to G.S. 87-50, shall complete continuing education for prior to each annual license period to renew the license on which 11 12 the qualified individual is currently listed, for the next annual license period, except as follows: 13 individuals becoming qualified by examination during the 12 month period immediately preceding 14 the license renewal date; 15 qualified individuals unable to fulfill the required number of hours as the result of illness as certified $\frac{(2)}{(1)}$ 16 in writing by the attending physician; or 17 persons presenting approved courses of continuing education. (3)(2)18 The number of required contact hours for every listed qualified individual shall be determined by the 19 classification of license on which the qualified individual is currently listed or is eligible to be listed as follows: 20 (1) qualified individuals currently listed on a license in the limited, intermediate, unlimited and special 21 restricted single family dwelling classifications shall complete at least eight hours of approved 22 continuing education for license renewal, and 23 (2) qualified individuals currently listed on a license in the special restricted fire alarm/low voltage (SP-FA/LV), special restricted elevator (SP-EL), special restricted plumbing and heating (SP-PH), 24 25 special restricted ground water pump (SP-WP), special restricted electric sign (SP-ES) and special 26 restricted swimming pool (SP-SP) classifications shall complete at least four hours of approved 27 continuing education for license renewal. 28 (e)(d) The Board, pursuant to Rules .1102 and .1103 of the Section, approves courses. Because of differences in the 29 electrical contracting industry and individual needs of listed qualified individuals, each qualified individual must 30 exercise judgment in selecting courses for which continuing education is claimed and in choosing only those courses 31 that will advance the individual's knowledge. 32 (d)(e) Course sponsors may be colleges or universities, community colleges, trade associations, providers of self-33 study programs, employers, third party professional examination companies, private instructors and the like. 34 (e)(f) North Carolina listed qualified individuals residing within the state must obtain the required continuing 35 education hours by taking a course provided by an approved sponsor. 36 (f)(g) North Carolina listed qualified individuals residing outside of North Carolina, including listed qualified 37 individuals pursuant to G.S. 87-50, may obtain credit for courses offered in North Carolina. They may also obtain

1 credit for courses offered in their state, province or country of residence provided the Board subsequently approves 2 the courses taken, pursuant to Rule .1102(b) of this Section. 3 (g)(h) Effective for renewals on or after July 1, 2008, all persons seeking to renew qualification must demonstrate 4 that a minimum of one-half the continuing education hours for each annual license period were obtained by in-person 5 classroom or seminar attendance. 6 7 Authority G.S. <u>87-41.1;</u> 87-42; 87-44.1; History Note: 8 Eff. October 1, 1990; 9 Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; January 1, 2006; March 1, 1999; 10 Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016. 11 12 Amended Eff. January 1, 2025; 13