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12NCAC 10B .0301 is amended WITH CHANGES as published in 37:01 NCR 17-19 as follows:   1 
 2 
12 NCAC 10B .0301 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR JUSTICE OFFICERS 3 
Every Justice Officer justice officer employed or certified in North Carolina shall: 4 

(1) be a citizen of the United States; 5 
(2) be 21 at least 20 years of age for all deputies and detention officers [and or be at least 18 years of 6 

age for all telecommunicators;] telecommunicators;  7 
(3) be a high school graduate, or the equivalent (GED); as defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0302; 8 
(4) have been fingerprinted by the employing agency; agency in the manner provided in 12 NCAC 10B 9 

.0303; 10 
(5) have had a medical examination as required by 12 NCAC 10B .0304; 11 
(6) have produced a negative result on a drug screen administered according to the following 12 

specifications: as described in 12 NCAC 10B .0410; 13 
(A) the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting of an initial screening test using an 14 

immunoassay method and a confirmatory test on an initial positive result using a gas 15 
chromatography/mass spectrometry (GC/MS) or other initial and confirmatory tests as may 16 
be authorized or mandated by the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal 17 
Workplace Drug Testing Programs [https://www.samhsa.gov/workplace]; 18 

(B) a chain of custody shall be maintained on the specimen from collection to the eventual 19 
discarding of the specimen; 20 

(C) the drugs whose use shall be tested for shall include cannabis, cocaine, phencyclidine 21 
(PCP), opiates, and amphetamines or their metabolites; 22 

(D) the test threshold values established by the Department of Health and Human Services for 23 
Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs are incorporated by reference, including 24 
subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of this information may be obtained from the 25 
National Institute on Drug Abuse, 5600 Fisher Lane, Rockville, Maryland 20857 26 
[http://www.drugabuse.gov/] at no cost; 27 

(E) the test results shall be dated no more than 60 days before employment or appointment, 28 
whichever is earlier; 29 

(F) the laboratory conducting the test shall be certified for federal workplace drug testing 30 
programs, and shall adhere to applicable federal rules, regulations, and guidelines 31 
pertaining to the handling, testing, storage, and preservation of samples; and 32 

(G) each drug test laboratory report shall be reviewed by a medical review officer (MRO), who 33 
shall be a licensed physician; 34 

(7) make the following notifications: 35 
(A) within five business days, notify the Standards Division and the appointing department 36 

head in writing of all criminal offenses with which the officer is charged. This shall include 37 
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all criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses. A minor traffic offense means any 1 
offense under G.S. 20 or similar laws of other jurisdictions; except those Chapter 20 2 
offenses defined as either a Class A or B Misdemeanor in 12 NCAC 10B .0103(10). The 3 
initial notification required must specify the nature of the offense, the date of offense, and 4 
the arresting agency. Within five business days, notify the Standards Division of all 5 
Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are 6 
issued by a judicial official against the justice officer and that provide an opportunity for 7 
both parties to be present; 8 

(B) within 20 days of the date the case was disposed, notify the appointing department head of 9 
the adjudication of these criminal charges, Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B), and Civil 10 
No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C). The department head, provided he or she has knowledge of 11 
the officer's charges, Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B), and Civil No Contact Orders 12 
(G.S. 50C), shall also notify the Division within 30 days of the date the case or order was 13 
disposed of in court. 14 

(C) within 30 days of the date the case was disposed, notify the Standards Division of the 15 
adjudication of these criminal charges, Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B), and Civil 16 
No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C); 17 

(D) the required notifications of adjudication shall specify the nature of the offense, the court 18 
in which the case was handled, and the date of disposition and shall include a certified copy 19 
of the final disposition from the Clerk of Court in the county of adjudication; 20 

(E) receipt by the Standards Division of timely notification of the initial offenses charged and 21 
of adjudication of those offenses, from either the officer or the department head, shall be 22 
sufficient notice for compliance with this Subparagraph; 23 

(7) have been administered a psychological screening examination as [described by] in accordance with 24 
G.S. 17E-7. This psychological screening examination shall be valid for a period of one year from 25 
the date on which it was administered; 26 

(8) be of good moral character as defined in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 771 (1975), appeal 27 
dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 28 
N.C. 658, 386 S.E.2d 174 (1989); In re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In 29 
re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 30 
(1983); and later court decisions that cite these cases as authority; 31 

(8) have been interviewed as described in 12 NCAC 10B .0306; 32 
(9) have a background investigation conducted by the employing [agency] agency, including a personal 33 

interview prior to employment as required by Rules .0305 and .0306 of this Section. as required by 34 
12 NCAC 10B .0305; 35 

(10) not have committed or been convicted of a crime or crimes specified in 12 NCAC 10B .0307; 36 
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(11) for personnel who are authorized to carry a firearm in the execution of their duties, satisfactorily 1 
complete the employing agency's in-service firearms training program as prescribed in 12 NCAC 2 
10B .2103 and .2104. Such firearms training compliance must have occurred prior to submission of 3 
the application for appointment to the Commission and must be completed using the agency 4 
approved service [handgun(s)] handguns and any other [weapons(s)] weapons that the applicant has 5 
been issued or authorized to use by the agency; and 6 

(12) be of good moral character as defined in: In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E.2d 174 (1989); State v. 7 
Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 (1983); In re [Willis,] Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 771 8 
(1975), [appeal dismissed] appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); [State v. Harris,] State v. Harris, 9 
216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 (1940); [In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E.2d 174 (1989);] In re 10 
Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); [in] In re [Applicants for License,] Applicants for 11 
License 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); [In re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State 12 
v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 (1983);] and later court decisions. 13 

(13) make the following notifications: 14 
(a) within five business days of the qualifying event, [outlined in this section of the Rule,] 15 

notify the Standards Division and the appointing agency head in writing of all criminal 16 
offenses for which the officer is [charged or arrested.]  charged, arrested, pleads no contest, 17 
pleads guilty or of which the officer is found guilty. This shall include traffic offenses 18 
identified in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of driving under the influence 19 
(DUI) or driving while impaired [(DWI);] (DWI).   20 

[(b)] [within five business days of the qualifying event, notify the Standards Division and the 21 
appointing agency head in writing of all criminal offenses for which the officer pleads no 22 
contest, pleads guilty, or of which the officer is found guilty. This shall include traffic 23 
offenses identified in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of driving under the 24 
influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI);] 25 

[(c)] (b) within five business days of service, officers shall notify the Standards Division of all 26 
Domestic Violence Protective Order [(G.S. 50B)] pursuant to G.S. 50B and any Civil No 27 
Contact [Orders (G.S. 50C)] Order pursuant to G.S. 50C that are issued by a judicial official 28 
against the officer; 29 

[(d)] (c) within five business days of the date the case was disposed of in court, the agency head, 30 
provided he or she has knowledge of the officer's arrests or criminal charges and final 31 
dispositions, shall also notify the Standards Division of arrests or criminal charges and final 32 
disposition; 33 

[(e)] (d) within five business days of the issuance of all Domestic Violence Protective [Orders (G.S. 34 
50B)] Orders pursuant to G.S. 50B and Civil No Contact [Orders (G.S. 50C),] Orders 35 
pursuant to G.S. 50C, the agency head, provided he or she has knowledge of the order, 36 
shall also notify the Standards Division of these orders. 37 
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[(f)] (e) The required notifications in this Rule shall be in writing and shall specify the nature of the 1 
offense or order, the court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest, criminal 2 
charge, or service of the order, and the final disposition. The notification shall include a 3 
certified copy of the order or court documentation and final disposition from the Clerk of 4 
Court in the county of adjudication. The requirements of this Item shall be applicable at all 5 
times during which the officer is employed and certified by the Commission and shall also 6 
apply to all applicants for certification. Receipt by the Standards Division of a single 7 
notification, from the officer or the agency head, shall be sufficient notice for compliance 8 
with this Item. 9 

(b) (14) The [the] requirements of this Rule shall apply to all applications for certification and shall also 10 
apply at all times during which the justice officer is certified by the Commission. 11 

 12 
History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-7; 13 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 14 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; February 1, 2014; January 1, 2006; January 1, 2005; August 1, 15 
2002; January 1, 1996; January 1, 1994; January 1, 1993; January 1, 1992; July 1, 1990; January 16 
1, 1990; 17 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 18 
2018; 19 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2023. 20 
[Amended Eff. January 1, 2023.] 21 
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