1	21 NCAC 66 .01	08 is am	ended as published in 37:21 NCR page 2050 as follows:
2	21 NCAC 66 .01	08	FEES
3	The following fe	es establi	ished by the Board shall be paid in advance to the Executive Director of the Board:
4	(1)	Veterin	ary License
5		(a)	Issuance or Renewal \$170.00
6		(b)	North Carolina License Examination \$250.00
7		(c)	Late Renewal Fee \$50.00
8		(d)	Reinstatement \$100.00
9	(2)	Veterina	ary Technician Registration
10		(a)	Issuance or Renewal \$50.00
11		(b)	North Carolina Veterinary Technician Examination \$50.00
12		(c)	Late Renewal Fee \$50.00
13		(d)	Reinstatement \$100.00
14	(3)	Professi	ional Corporation Certificate of Registration
15		(a)	Issuance or Renewal \$160.00
16		(b)	Late Renewal Fee \$50.00
17		(c)	Reinstatement \$100.00
18	(4)	Limited	Veterinary License
19		(a)	Issuance or Renewal \$170.00
20		(b)	Late Renewal Fee \$50.00
21		(c)	Reinstatement \$100.00
22	(5)	Veterina	ary Faculty Certificate
23		(a)	Issuance or Renewal \$170.00
24		(b)	Late Renewal Fee \$50.00
25		(c)	Reinstatement \$100.00
26	(6)	Zoo Ve	terinary Certificate
27		(a)	Issuance or Renewal \$170.00
28		(b)	Late Renewal Fee \$50.00
29		(c)	Reinstatement \$100.00
30	(7)	Tempor	ary Permit: Issuance \$150.00
31	(8)	Veterina	ary Student Intern Registration: Issuance \$25.00
32	(9)	Veterina	ary Student Preceptee Registration: Issuance \$25.00 Veterinary Facility Permit
33		<u>(a)</u>	Issuance or Renewal \$150.00
34		<mark>(b)</mark>	Late Renewal Fee \$50.00
35		<mark>(c)</mark>	-Reinstatement \$100.00
36	(10)	Veterin	ary Practice Facility Inspection \$125.00

1	(11) <u>(1</u>	0) Copies of Board publications, rosters, or other materials available for distribution from the
2		Board shall be free or at a minimal cost unless otherwise specifically provided by law. As
3		used herein, "minimal cost" shall mean the actual cost of reproducing the public record or
4		public information.
5		
6	History Note:	Authority 90-185(6); 90-186(6); 90-187(b); 90-187.5; 132-6.2;
7		Eff. February 1, 1976;
8		Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977;
9		Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; January 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; May 1, 1996; May 1, 1989;
10		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January 9,
11		2018.
12		Amended Eff. November 2, 2023

1 21 NCAC	66 .0206 is amended	with changes as pu	blished in 37:21 NCR	pages 2047-2049 as follows:
-----------	---------------------	--------------------	----------------------	-----------------------------

2 21 NCAC 66 .0206 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION

3 Each person holding a veterinary license, limited license, a faculty certificate, or a zoo veterinary certificate

4 (collectively referred to herein as "veterinarian") or a veterinary technician registration issued by the Board shall

5 comply with the standards in this Rule. The standards shall be a condition precedent to the renewal of a license,

6 certificate, or registration respectively. The standards are as follows:

7	(1)	Cor	atinuing education credit hours shall relate to veterinary medicine.
8	(2) (1)	<u>)</u>	A veterinarian shall earn 20 [15] continuing education credit hours for the calendar year license
9			renewal period. A maximum of five hours may be obtained pursuant to courses described in
10			Item (3) of this rule.
11	(3) (2)	<u>)</u>	A registered veterinary technician shall earn 12 continuing education credit hours for the two-
12			calendar year registration renewal period. A maximum of four hours may be obtained pursuant
13			to course described in Item (3) of this rule.
14	<u>(3)</u>	One c	ontinuing education hour may be earned for each hour of independent self-study courses,
15		prerec	orded webinars, audio conferences, and non-interactive on-line presentations approved by
16		approv	ved continuing education credit providers.
17	<u>(4)</u>	One co	ontinuing education credit hour may be earned for each hour of in-person attendance or live
18		<u>interac</u>	ctive attendance at courses presented or approved by approved continuing education credit
19		<u>provid</u>	iers.
20	<u>(5)</u>	<u>A live</u>	interactive presentation shall:
21		<u>(a)</u>	include instant or synchronous two-way communication:
22		<u>(b)</u>	provide access to both technical personnel and professional faculty, as well as interactivity
23			among participants for the exchange of questions and answers via instant messaging or a
24			moderated teleconference, and
25		<u>(c)</u>	document the level of participation by keeping a record of the participant's activity in
26			asking or answering questions during the presentation and the score of any examination
27			administered at the end or the presentation.
28	(4) (6)	A vet	terinarian or registered veterinary technician may request and be granted an extension of time,
29		not to	o exceed six months, to satisfy the continuing education requirement if the veterinarian or
30		regist	tered veterinary technician provides evidence of a debilitating injury or illness or circumstance
31		that p	prevents the veterinarian or registered veterinary technician from being able to obtain continuing
32		educa	ation. The Board shall consider any evidence submitted of a circumstance preventing the
33		veter	inarian or registered veterinary technician from being able to obtain continuing education on a
34		case-	by-case basis. If the veterinarian or veterinary technician submits evidence of failure to
35		comp	plete continuing education due to debilitating injury or illness or hardship, the Board shall
36		consi	der the evidence submitted on a case by case basis. If the board finds that the debilitating injury
37		or ill i	ness or hardship was the basis for non-compliance with the continuing education requirement,

1		the Board shall exempt that individual from completing the unearned portion of the continuing
2		education for that renewal period.
3	(<u>7)</u>	If the Board finds that the circumstance that was the basis for non-compliance with the continuing
4		education requirement justified the non-compliance, the Board may exempt that individual from
5		completing the unearned portion of the continuing education for that renewal period.
6	(5)<u>(8)</u>	Continuing education credits hours may be earned from courses, programs, or materials presented or
7		approved by the following providers:
8		(a) the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA);
9		(b) the American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA);
10		(c) the North Carolina Veterinary Medical Association (NCVMA);
11		(d) the United Stated Department of Agriculture-Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service:
12		(d) (e) the American Association of Veterinary State Boards' (AAVSB) Registry of
13		Approved Continuing Education (RACE); and
14		(e) (f) academies, schools, or colleges of veterinary medicine.
15		These providers are designated herein as "approved continuing education credit providers." The
16		Board shall consider additional courses, presentations, or materials eligible for approval for
17		continuing education credit hours, provided that the individual seeking the credit furnishes the Board
18		with information to establish that the content of the course, presentation, or material are-of an
19		education level reflective of the audience (veterinarians or veterinary technicians). sufficiently
20		educational for veterinarians or registered veterinary technicians. Board approval for continuing
21		education credits for such additional courses, presentations, or materials shall be obtained prior to
22		attendance or participation; however, the Board shall waive the requirement of prior approval if
23		illness, injury, or natural disaster prevented the individual from obtaining the prior approval.
24	(6)	Subject to the limitations in this Rule, continuing education credit hours may be earned by:
25		(a) attendance at in person courses or presentations;
26		(b) completion of independent self study courses;
27		(c) non interactive on line presentations, courses, or materials; or
28		(d) completion of live interactive on line presentations or courses.
29	(7)	One continuing education credit hour, up to 100% of the CE requirement for renewal, may be earned
30		for each hour of in person attendance at courses presented or approved by approved continuing
31		education credit providers. Up to 25% of the CE requirement for renewal may be obtained from
32		independent self study courses, videos, DVDs, CDs, prerecorded webinars, audio conferences, and
33		non interactive on line presentations approved by approved continuing education credit providers.
34		Up to 50% of the CE requirement for renewal may be obtained from live interactive on line
35		presentations or courses approved by approved continuing education credit providers. However,
36		the number of credit hours earned from live interactive on line presentations or courses shall be
37		reduced by the number of credit hours earned from independent self study courses or materials and

1	noi	n interactive on line presentations or courses. A live interactive on line presentation or course
2	sha	ll!
3	(a)	include instant or asynchronous two way communication;
4	(b)	provide access to both technical personnel and professional faculty, as well as interactivity
5		among participants for the exchange of questions and answers via instant messaging or a
6		moderated teleconference; and
7	(c)	document the level of participation by keeping a record of the participant's activity in
8		asking or answering questions during the presentation and the score of any examination
9		administered at the end or the presentation.
10	<u>(8)</u> <u>(9)</u>	Each veterinarian and registered veterinary technician shall keep a record file containing for the
11		three most recent renewal periods of the content of courses submitted to the Board for
12		continuing education credit hours.
13	(9) <u>(10)</u>	A veterinarian licensed in the year of graduation from a veterinary medical college is not
14		required to earn continuing education credit hours to be eligible for license renewal for the
15		next renewal period.
16	(10)<u>(11)</u>	A veterinary technician registered in the year of graduation from a veterinary medical
17		technology program is not required to earn continuing education credit hours to be eligible for
18		registration renewal for the next renewal period.
19	(11) <u>(12)</u>	A veterinarian or veterinary technician serving in the armed forces of the United States and to
20		whom an extension of time to file a tax return is granted pursuant to G.S. § 105-249.2 is granted
21		the same extension of time to comply with the continuing education requirement of this Rule.
22		
23	History Note: Au	thority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(1); 93B-15;
24	Eff	f. February 1, 1976;
25	Re	adopted Eff. September 30, 1977;
26	Am	nended Eff. June 1, 2003; May 1, 1996; May 1, 1989; January 1, 1987;
27	Pu	rsuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January 9,
28	20	18;
29	Am	nended Eff. February 1, 2018.
30	Am	nended Eff. September 1, 2023.

SECTION 2000 - VETERINARY FACILITY PERMITS <section-header></section-header>	21 N	CAC 66 .0	901 is adopted as published in 37:21 NCR page 2050 as follows:
In addition to the terms set forth in G.S. 90-181, the following definitions apply to this Subchapter: (1) "Owner" means the person whose business provides services that constitute the practice of veterinary medicine as defined by G.S. 90-181(6). (2) "Facility" means any physical location, including mobile units, in which the practice of veterinary medicine occurs. (3) "Veterinary Facility Permit" means a document authorizing an owner to operate a facility which engages in the practice of veterinary medicine. History Note: Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8);			SECTION .0900 – VETERINARY FACILITY PERMITS
In addition to the terms set forth in G.S. 90-181, the following definitions apply to this Subchapter: (1) "Owner" means the person whose business provides services that constitute the practice of veterinary medicine as defined by G.S. 90-181(6). (2) "Facility" means any physical location, including mobile units, in which the practice of veterinary medicine occurs. (3) "Veterinary Facility Permit" means a document authorizing an owner to operate a facility which engages in the practice of veterinary medicine. History Note: Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8);			
 (1) "Owner" means the person whose business provides services that constitute the practice of veterinary medicine as defined by G.S. 90-181(6). (2) "Facility" means any physical location, including mobile units, in which the practice of veterinary medicine occurs. (3) "Veterinary Facility Permit" means a document authorizing an owner to operate a facility which engages in the practice of veterinary medicine. 	<u>21 N</u>	CAC 66. 0	1901 DEFINITIONS
veterinary medicine as defined by G.S. 90-181(6). (2) "Facility" means any physical location, including mobile units, in which the practice of veterinary medicine occurs. (3) "Veterinary Facility Permit" means a document authorizing an owner to operate a facility which engages in the practice of veterinary medicine. History Note: Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8);	In ad	ldition to th	te terms set forth in G.S. 90-181, the following definitions apply to this Subchapter:
 (2) "Facility" means any physical location, including mobile units, in which the practice of veterinary medicine occurs. (3) "Veterinary Facility Permit" means a document authorizing an owner to operate a facility which engages in the practice of veterinary medicine. <u>History Note:</u> Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8); 		<u>(1)</u>	"Owner" means the person whose business provides services that constitute the practice of
medicine occurs. (3) "Veterinary Facility Permit" means a document authorizing an owner to operate a facility which engages in the practice of veterinary medicine. History Note: Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8);			veterinary medicine as defined by G.S. 90-181(6).
 (3) "Veterinary Facility Permit" means a document authorizing an owner to operate a facility which engages in the practice of veterinary medicine. <u>History Note:</u> Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8); 		(2)	"Facility" means any physical location, including mobile units, in which the practice of veterinary
engages in the practice of veterinary medicine. <u>History Note:</u> Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8);			medicine occurs.
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8);		<u>(3)</u>	"Veterinary Facility Permit" means a document authorizing an owner to operate a facility which
			engages in the practice of veterinary medicine.
<i>Eff. November 2, 2023</i>	<u>Histe</u>	ory Note:	Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8);
			<u>Eff. November 2, 2023</u>

1	21 NCAC 66. 0902 is adopted with changes as published in 37:21 NCR pages 2050-2051 as follows:
2	21 NCAC 66 .0902 VETERINARY FACILITY PERMITS
3	(a) Any person who owns a business which operates a facility providing services that constitute the "practice of
4	veterinary medicine" on a full, part-time, or temporary basis shall have a veterinary facility permit issued by the Board
5	prior to offering or delivering any veterinary medical services to the public. Veterinary or Veterinary Technician
6	teaching programs offering services to the public shall have a veterinary facility permit.
7	(b) As a condition of any veterinary facility permit issued by the Board, the owner shall designate a supervising
8	veterinarian [to oversee practice of veterinary medicine].
9	(c) The Board shall issue a veterinary facility permit to an owner after the owner submits an application, pays the
10	veterinary facility permit fee, and passes a facility inspection. The Board shall inspect the veterinary facility
11	pursuant to ensure compliance with Rule .0207(b)(16) and .0208 of this chapter if an inspection has not been
12	performed in the last two years. The facility inspection shall be conducted to ensure compliance with statutes and
13	the rules of this Chapter, particularly Rules .0207 and .0208 of this Chapter. It is the responsibility of the owners to
14	ensure that the veterinary facility meets the minimum veterinary facility standards in Rules .0207 and .0208 of this
15	Chapter.
16	(d) The application for a veterinary facility permit shall be on a form prescribed by the Board and available on the
17	Board's website. The application shall contain:
18	(1) the owner's name, physical address, mailing address, email address, and telephone number;
19	(2) proposed or existing name of the facility, as set forth in G.S. 90-181.1, physical address, mailing
20	address, email address, and telephone number; and
21	(3) designation of a supervising veterinarian of the facility subject to the provisions of Rules .0903 of
22	this section.
23	(e) Each veterinary facility permit shall be renewed yearly. The veterinary facility must have passed an inspection pursuant
24	to Rule .0207(b)(16) of this Chapter within the 24 months prior to issuance of renewal.
25	(f) Each veterinary facility that is identified by a separate physical address or that is located at the same physical address
26	as another veterinary facility but has different owners or supervising veterinarians shall be a separate veterinary facility
27	requiring a separate veterinary facility permit. Each mobile veterinary facility shall be inspected pursuant to G.S. 90-
28	186(2) whether operating under its own veterinary facility permit or operating under an existing veterinary facility
29	permit. The physical address for a veterinary facility shall be the primary business location.
30	(g) The owner shall notify the Board within [five]ten10 business days of any changes in contact information.
31	(h) The owner shall notify the Board in writing of a planned change in the ownership or in the supervising
32	veterinarian of the veterinary facility at least 20 business days prior to the planned change.
33	(i) In the event of an owner's inability to maintain the facility's compliance with Chapter 90 of the General Statutes
34	and the rules of this Chapter, the Board shall be notified within 10 business days by [one of the following:] an owner,
35	or if the owner is unable to do so as a result of physical inability, the supervising veterinarian, or a member of
36	the veterinary facility's staff.

1	(j) In the event of a natural or physical event that [results in the loss of the safe and effective utilization of the facility:
2	pursuant to] prevents the facility from being able to comply with the rules of this Chapter, particularly Rules .0207
3	and .0208 of this Chapter, the Board shall be notified within 10 business days by the owner(s) or the supervising
4	veterinarian.
5	(k)(j) In the event that the Board is notified that the owner to whom a facility permit is issued is dissolved voluntarily,
6	administratively, or by operation of <i>[law,] law;</i> suspended by the NC Department of [Revenue,] Revenue; or has its
7	certificate of authority revoked by the NC Secretary of State, the Board shall also suspend the permit issued to the
8	owner. The suspension shall remain in effect until the suspension has been lifted by NC Department of Revenue, or
9	the person has been reinstated by the NC Secretary of State, or both.
10	(H(k) The Board may issue a temporary veterinary facility permit to the owners of a veterinary facility for a period of
11	35 business days to allow the owners to address and resolve violations of the rules of this Chapter, particularly,
12	Rules .0207 and .0208 of this chapter, discovered during the veterinary facility inspection. However, the Board
13	shall not issue a temporary veterinary facility permit if the violations present a danger to the health or safety of the public
14	or animals. Upon request of the owner, the Board may extend a temporary permit for an additional period of no more
15	than 35 business days, as long as satisfactory progress has been made as determined by the Board. In the event of the
16	death of an owner, the permit remains valid for 35 business days from the date of the death of the owner, so long as
17	the facility continues to have an active, supervising veterinarian registered with the Board.
18	(m)(1) The following are exempt from the requirement for a veterinary facility permit:
19	(1) those exempted by licensure under G.S. 90-187.10;
20	(2) a veterinary facility owned and operated by the State of North Carolina, a political subdivision
21	thereof, or the federal government, so long as the facility does not offer or provide veterinary
22	services to the public; or
23	(3) a temporary veterinary facility established as a result of an emergency declared by the Governor of
24	North Carolina.
25	(n)(m) A person operating without a veterinary facility permit is subject to the provisions of G.S. 90-187.13.
26	(o)(n) The veterinary facility permit shall be displayed by the owners at the facility at a location viewable by the
27	public. Veterinary facility permits for mobile facilities shall be available upon request.
28	(p)(o) An owner or supervising veterinarian shall provide a copy of medical records maintained pursuant to Rule
29	.0207 of this Chapter within 10 business days of receipt of a request by a current or former patient's owner. The
30	veterinary facility may charge the patient's owner the actual cost of reproducing the records as a reasonable fee.
31	(q)(p) Owners shall post on [the veterinary facility website home page, the emergency services available at the
32	veterinary facility when the veterinary facility is open and the veterinary facility name, address, and telephone number
33	for the provider of after hours emergency services.] any existing veterinary facility website home page:
34	(1) The facility's name, address, and telephone number,
35	(2) The facility's regular business hours.
36	(3) Availability of after-hours emergency care at the facility: and
37	(4) If after-hours emergency care is not available, the name, address, and telephone number of an

- 1 21 NCAC 66. 0903 is adopted <u>with changes</u> as published in 37:21 NCR pages 2051-2052 as follows:
- 2 21 NCAC 66 .0903 SUPERVISING VETERINARIAN
- 3 (a) The owners of a veterinary facility shall designate a supervising veterinarian who shall be responsible for
- 4 informing the owners as to the instances of non-compliance [of] with [Board Rules] 21 NCAC 66 .0207 and 21 NCAC
- 5 <u>66.0208 [of this chapter] at the veterinary facility.</u>
- 6 (b) The supervising veterinarian shall be currently licensed by and in good standing with the Board.
- 7 (c) The owners may designate an interim supervising veterinarian to serve [as the supervising veterinarian] for a
- 8 period not to exceed 25 business days.
- 9 (d) A veterinarian may be a supervising veterinarian at more than one veterinary facility. At
- 10 each veterinary facility that is open for 159 hours or less per month, [The]the supervising veterinarian
- 11 <u>shall be physically onsite [at each veterinary facility that is open for 159 hours or less per month,]</u> for a minimum of
- 12 <u>25 percent of the total time a veterinary facility is open</u>. At each veterinary facility that is open for 160 hours or more
- 13 per month, [The] the supervising veterinarian shall be physically onsite at each veterinary facility [that is open for 160
- 14 hours or more per month,] for a minimum of 40 hours per month. Electronic or handwritten documentation stating the
- 15 dates and times that the supervising veterinarian was present at the veterinary facility shall be maintained by the
- 16 supervising veterinarian at each individual facility and made available by the owner, supervising veterinarian, or the
- 17 staff at each facility at the time of inspection or investigation by the Board.
- 18 (e) The owners of a veterinary facility may designate more than one supervising veterinarian for a veterinary facility,
- 19 in which case the onsite physical presence of each of the supervising veterinarians at the veterinary facility shall be
- 20 counted toward satisfaction of the onsite physical presence requirement of Board Rule 0.0903(d).
- 21
- 22 <u>History Note:</u> Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(9);
- 23 <u>Eff. November 2, 2023</u>

1 21 NCAC 66. 0904 is adopted as published in 37:21 NCR page 2052 as follows: 2 21 NCAC 66 .0904 DISCIPLINE VETERINARY FACILITY PERMITS 3 (a) The Board shall investigate any complaint or information within its jurisdiction. The investigation and any resulting 4 hearings shall be conducted pursuant to Sections .0600 and .0700 of the Chapter. Following an investigation and the owner's opportunity to be heard [pursuant to the provisions of Sections .0600 and .0700 of this chapter], the Board 5 6 may: 7 (1)revoke or suspend a veterinary facility permit issued under this [Article]Chapter; 8 (2)discipline the owner of a facility permitted under this Article Chapter in accordance with the 9 disciplinary measures set forth in Sections .0600 and .0700 of this Chapter; 10 deny a veterinary facility permit required by [this Article in accordance with the provisions of] G.S. (3) 11 90-186(8) [90 Article 11] and the rules of this Chapter based on violations of Board Rules including 12 but not limited to .0207 and .0208 of this Chapter. 13 For the purpose of this rule, references [References] to licensee or registrant in the provisions of sections .0600 and 14 .0700 of this chapter are treated as references to owner and permittee. References to license are treated as references 15 to facility permit. 16 (b) The Board may suspend, revoke, or deny issuance of a veterinary facility permit, without hearing, if: 17 A veterinary facility has not had a supervising veterinarian or an interim supervising veterinarian (1)18 serving in that capacity for more than five business days. 19 [Per] The Board obtains a summary emergency order pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 90-186(3). (2)20 (3) The owners of the veterinary facility have failed to notify the Board after 10 business days of a 21 change in ownership of the facility or change in the supervising veterinarian. 22 (c) An owner shall cease to operate a veterinary facility as of the date the Board notifies the owner of the revocation of his or her veterinary facility permit. Within 24 hours of receiving notification of revocation, an owner shall display 23 the following information at the facility and through any existing medium of communication with the public, such as 24 25 social media, a telephone answering system, or facility website: information that the veterinary facility is closed; 26 (1)27 (2)the means by which clients may obtain their animal's medical records; and 28 (3) notice of the Board's revocation of the facility permit. 29 30 *History Note:* Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8); 90-186(9); 31 Eff. November 2, 2023

1 21 NCAC 66. 0905 is proposed for adoption as follows:

2 21 NCAC 66 .0905 REINSTATEMENT AFTER REVOCATION OF FACILITY PERMIT

- 3 Any person whose facility permit been suspended or revoked pursuant to the provisions of rule .0904 of this Section
- 4 <u>may apply for reinstatement subject to any terms and conditions contained in the final agency decision issued by the</u>
- 5 Board upon revoking or suspending the person's facility permit. The Board may conduct an inspection prior to
- 6 reinstatement to determine if the terms and conditions stated in the final agency decision have been addressed.
- 7

9

- 8 <u>History Note:</u> Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8); 90-186(9);
 - <u>Eff. November 2, 2023</u>