| 1  | 10A NCAC 13F .0703 is proposed for readoption with substantive changes as follows:                                      |
|----|---|
| 2  | 10.1 NG 1 G 10E 0702 THUREDGIN OGIG TEGT. MEDICAN EVANDALTION AND MANUALTIONS   |
| 3  | 10A NCAC 13F .0703 TUBERCULOSIS TEST, MEDICAL EXAMINATION AND IMMUNIZATIONS   |
| 4  | (a) Upon admission to an adult care home each resident shall be tested for tuberculosis disease in compliance with      |
| 5  | the control measures adopted by the Commission for Public Health as specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0205 including           |
| 6  | subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of the rule are available at no charge by contacting the Department of       |
| 7  | Health and Human Services, Tuberculosis Control Program, 1902 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina              |
| 8  | <del>27699-1902.</del>  |
| 9  | (b) Each resident shall have a medical examination completed by a licensed physician or physician extender prior to     |
| 10 | admission to the facility and annually thereafter. For the purposes of this Rule, "physician extender" means a licensed |
| 11 | physician assistant or licensed nurse practitioner. The medical examination completed prior to admission shall be used  |
| 12 | by the facility to determine if the facility can meet the needs of the resident.  |
| 13 | (c) The results of the complete examination required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule are to be entered on the FL 2, North |
| 14 | Carolina Medicaid Program Long Term Care Services, or MR 2, North Carolina Medicaid Program Mental                      |
| 15 | Retardation Services, which shall comply with the following:  |
| 16 | (1) The examining date recorded on the FL 2 or MR 2 shall be no more than 90 days prior to the person's                 |
| 17 | admission to the home.  |
| 18 | (2) The FL 2 or MR 2 shall be in the facility before admission or accompany the resident upon                           |
| 19 | admission and be reviewed by the facility before admission except for emergency admissions.                             |
| 20 | (3) In the case of an emergency admission, the medical examination and completion of the FL 2 or MR                     |
| 21 | 2 as required by this rule shall be within 72 hours of admission as long as current medication and                      |
| 22 | treatment orders are available upon admission or there has been an emergency medical evaluation,                        |
| 23 | including any orders for medications and treatments, upon admission.  |
| 24 | (4) If the information on the FL 2 or MR 2 is not clear or is insufficient, the facility shall contact the              |
| 25 | physician for clarification in order to determine if the services of the facility can meet the                          |
| 26 | individual's needs.   |
| 27 | (5) The completed FL 2 or MR 2 shall be filed in the resident's record in the home.                                     |
| 28 | (6) If a resident has been hospitalized, the facility shall have a completed FL 2 or MR 2 or a transfer                 |
| 29 | form or discharge summary with signed prescribing practitioner orders upon the resident's return to                     |
| 30 | the facility from the hospital.   |
| 31 | The medical examination shall be completed no more than 90 days prior to the resident's admission to the facility,      |
| 32 | except in the case of emergency admission.  |
| 33 | (d) In the case of an unplanned, emergency admission, the medical examination of the resident shall be conducted        |
| 34 | within 72 hours after admission. Prior to an emergency admission, the facility shall obtain current medication and      |
| 35 | treatment orders from a licensed physician or physician extender.   |
| 36 | (e) The result of the medical examination required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be documented on the North       |
| 37 | Carolina Medicaid Adult Care Home FL-2 form which is available at no cost on the Department's Medicaid website          |

| 1  | at https://medica                  | id.ncdhhs.gov/media/6549/open. The Adult Care Home FL-2 shall be signed and dated by the                    |
|----|------------------------------------|---|
| 2  | physician or phy                   | visician extender completing the medical examination. The medical examination shall include the             |
| 3  | following:                         |   |
| 4  | (1)                                | resident's identification information, including the resident's name, date of birth, sex, admission         |
| 5  |                                    | date, county and Medicaid number, current facility and address, physician's name and address, a             |
| 6  |                                    | relative's name and address, current level of care, and recommended level of care;                          |
| 7  | (2)                                | resident's admitting diagnoses, including primary and secondary diagnoses and dates of onset;               |
| 8  | (3)                                | resident's current medical information, including orientation, behaviors, personal care assistance          |
| 9  |                                    | needs, frequency of physician visits, ambulatory status, functional limitations, information related        |
| 10 |                                    | to activities and social needs, neurological status, bowel and bladder functioning status, manner of        |
| 11 |                                    | communication of needs, skin condition, respiratory status, and nutritional status including orders         |
| 12 |                                    | for therapeutic diets;  |
| 13 | <u>(4)</u>                         | special care factors, including physician orders for blood pressure, diabetic urine testing, physical       |
| 14 |                                    | therapy, range of motion exercises, a bowel and bladder program, a restorative feeding program,             |
| 15 |                                    | speech therapy, and restraints;   |
| 16 | <u>(5)</u>                         | resident's medications, including the name, strength, dosage, frequency and route of administration         |
| 17 |                                    | of each medication;   |
| 18 | <u>(6)</u>                         | results of x-rays or laboratory tests determined by the physician or physician extender to be               |
| 19 |                                    | necessary information related to the resident's care needs; and   |
| 20 | <u>(7)</u>                         | additional information as determined by the physician or physician extender to be necessary for the         |
| 21 |                                    | care of the resident.   |
| 22 | (f) If the inform                  | nation on the Adult Care Home FL-2 is not clear or is insufficient, or information provided to the          |
| 23 | facility related to                | the resident's condition or medications after the completion of the medical examination conflicts           |
| 24 | with the informa                   | tion provided on the Adult Care Home FL-2, the facility shall contact the physician or physician            |
| 25 | extender for clar                  | ification in order to determine if the facility can meet the individual's needs.                            |
| 26 | (g) The results o                  | f the medical examination shall be maintained in the resident's record in accordance with Rule .1201        |
| 27 | of this Subchapte                  | er. Discharge medication orders shall be clarified in accordance with Rule .1002(a) of this Subchapter.     |
| 28 | (h) Upon a resid                   | ent's return to the facility from a hospitalization, the facility shall obtain and review the hospital      |
| 29 | discharge summ                     | ary or discharge instructions, including any discharge medication orders. If the facility identifies        |
| 30 | discrepancies bet                  | tween the discharge orders and current orders at the facility, the facility shall clarify the discrepancies |
| 31 | with the resident                  | 's physician or physician extender.   |
| 32 | (d)(i) Each resid                  | ent shall be immunized against pneumococcal disease and annually against influenza virus according          |
| 33 | to G.S. <del>13D-9,</del> <u>1</u> | 31D-9, except as otherwise indicated in this law.   |
| 34 | (e)The facility sh                 | nall make arrangements for any resident, who has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility within 12      |
| 35 | months before er                   | ntering the home and who does not have a current plan for psychiatric care, to be examined by a local       |
| 36 | physician or a pl                  | nysician in a mental health center within 30 days after admission and to have a plan for psychiatric        |
| 37 | follow-up care w                   | then indicated.   |

2

| 1  | (j) The facility | y shall make arrangements for a resident to be evaluated by a licensed mental health professional,      |
|----|------------------|---|
| 2  | licensed physic  | ian or licensed physician extender for follow-up psychiatric care within 30 days of admission or re-    |
| 3  | admission to the | e facility when the resident:   |
| 4  | (1)              | has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility within 12 months prior to admission to the facility and |
| 5  |                  | does not have a current plan for follow-up psychiatric care; or   |
| 6  | (2)              | has been hospitalized due to threatening or violent behavior, suicidal ideation or self-harm, or other  |
| 7  |                  | psychiatric symptoms that required hospitalization within 12 months prior to admission to the           |
| 8  |                  | facility and does not have a current plan for follow-up psychiatric care.                               |
| 9  |                  |   |
| 10 | History Note:    | Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165;   |
| 11 |                  | Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 2003;  |
| 12 |                  | Eff. June 1, <del>2004.</del> 2004;   |
| 13 |                  | <u>Readopted Eff. [<del>January 1, 2024.</del>] June 1, 2024.</u>                                       |

10A NCAC 13F .0704 is proposed for readoption with substantive changes as follows:

## 10A NCAC 13F .0704 RESIDENT CONTRACT, INFORMATION ON HOME FACILITY, AND RESIDENT REGISTER

- (a) An adult care home administrator or administrator in charge or their management designee shall furnish and review with the resident or responsible person the resident's authorized representative as defined in Rule .1103 of this Subchapter information on the home facility upon admission and when changes are made to that information. The facility shall involve the resident in the review of the resident contract and information on the facility unless the resident is cognitively unable to participate in the discussion. A statement indicating that this information has been received upon admission or amendment as required by this Rule shall be signed and dated by each person to whom it is given and retained in the resident's record in the home facility. The information shall include consist of the following:
  - (1) the resident contract to which the following applies:
    - (A) the contract shall specify <u>rates charges</u> for resident services and accommodations, including the cost of different levels of service, <u>if applicable</u>, <u>description of levels of care and services</u>, and any other charges or fees;
    - (B) the contract shall disclose any health needs or conditions that the facility has determined it cannot meet pursuant to G.S. 131D 2(a1)(4); meet;
    - (C) the contract shall be signed and dated by the administrator or administrator in charge management designee and the resident or responsible person, the resident's authorized representative, a copy given to the resident or responsible person the resident's authorized representative and a copy kept in the resident's record;
    - (D) the resident or responsible person the resident's authorized representative shall be notified as soon as any change is known, but not less than 30 days before the change for rate changes initiated by the facility, of any changes in the contract given a written 30-day notice prior to any change in charges for resident services and accommodations, including the cost of different levels of service, description of level of care and services, and any other charges or fees, and be provided an amended contract or an amendment to the contract for review and signature; confirmation of receipt;
    - (E) gratuities in addition to the established rates shall not be accepted; and
    - (F) the maximum monthly adult care home rate that may be charged to Special Assistance recipients is as established by the North Carolina Social Services Commission and the North Carolina General Assembly.
- Note: Facilities may accept payments for room and board from a third party, such as family member, charity or faith community, if the payment is made voluntarily to supplement the cost of room and board for the added benefit of a private room or a private or semi-private room in a special care unit.

| 1  | (2)                       | a written copy of all house rules, including facility policies on smoking, alcohol consumption,                 |
|----|---------------------------|---|
| 2  |                           | visitation, refunds and the requirements for discharge of residents consistent with the rules of this           |
| 3  |                           | Subchapter, and amendments disclosing any changes in the house rules; rules. The house rules shall              |
| 4  |                           | be in compliance with G.S. 131D-21;   |
| 5  | (3)                       | a copy of the Declaration of Residents' Rights as found in G.S. 131D-21;  |
| 6  | (4)                       | a copy of the home's facility's grievance procedures which that shall indicate how the resident is to           |
| 7  |                           | present complaints and make suggestions as to the home's facility's policies and services on behalf             |
| 8  |                           | of himself or herself or others; and  |
| 9  | (5)                       | a statement as to whether the home facility has signed Form DSS-1464, Statement of Assurance of                 |
| 10 |                           | Compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 for Other Agencies, Institutions,                      |
| 11 |                           | Organizations or Facilities, and which shall also indicate that, if the home facility does not choose           |
| 12 |                           | to comply or is found to be in non compliance, non-compliant, the residents of the home facility                |
| 13 |                           | would not be able to receive State-County Special Assistance for Adults and the home facility would             |
| 14 |                           | not receive supportive services from the county department of social services.                                  |
| 15 | (b) The admin             | nistrator or administrator in charge their management designee and the resident or the resident's               |
| 16 | responsible per           | son representative shall complete and sign the Resident Register initial assessment within 72 hours of          |
| 17 | the resident's ac         | dmission to the facility and revise the information on the form as needed. in accordance with G.S.              |
| 18 | 131D-2.15. The            | e facility shall involve the resident in the completion of the Resident Register unless the resident is         |
| 19 | cognitively una           | ble to participate. The Resident Register shall [include] consist of the following:                             |
| 20 | <u>(1)</u>                | resident's identification information including the resident's name, date of birth, sex, admission              |
| 21 |                           | date, medical insurance, family and emergency contacts, advanced directives, and physician's name               |
| 22 |                           | and address;  |
| 23 | (2)                       | resident's current care needs including activities of daily living and services, use of assistive aids,         |
| 24 |                           | orientation status;   |
| 25 | <u>(3)</u>                | resident's preferences including personal habits, food preferences and allergies, community                     |
| 26 |                           | involvement, and activity interests;  |
| 27 | <u>(4)</u>                | resident's consent and request for assistance including the release of information, personal funds              |
| 28 |                           | management, personal lockable space, discharge information, and assistance with personal mail;                  |
| 29 | <u>(5)</u>                | name of the individual identified by the resident who is to receive a copy of the notice of discharge           |
| 30 |                           | per G.S. 131D-4.8; and  |
| 31 | <u>(6)</u>                | resident's consent including a signature confirming the review and receipt of information contained             |
| 32 |                           | in the form.  |
| 33 | The Resident R            | egister is available on the internet website, https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/resregister.pdf or at       |
| 34 | no <del>charge from</del> | the Division of Health Service Regulation, Adult Care Licensure Section, 2708 Mail Service Center,              |
| 35 | Raleigh, NC 27            | 699 2708. charge. The facility may use a resident information form other than the Resident Register             |
| 36 | as long as it con         | tains at least the same information as the Resident Register. <u>Information on the Resident Register shall</u> |
| 37 | be kept updated           | and maintained in the resident's record.  |

2 of 3 5

| 1 |               |  |
|---|---------------|--|
| 2 | History Note: | Authority <u>131D-2.15;</u> 131D-2.16; 143B-165;                   |
| 3 |               | Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2004;                              |
| 4 |               | Eff. July 1, 2005.   |
| 5 |               | Amended Eff. April 1, <del>2022.</del> <u>2022:</u>                |
| 6 |               | <u>Readopted Eff. [<mark>January 1, 2024.</mark>]June 1, 2024.</u> |

6 3 of 3

1 10A NCAC 13F .1103 is proposed for amendment as follows: 2 3 10A NCAC 13F .1103 **LEGAL AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE OR PAYEE** 4 (a) In situations where the facility determines a resident of an adult care home is unable to manage his their monetary funds, the administrator shall contact a family member the resident's responsible person or the county department of 5 6 social services regarding the need for a legal representative or payee. an authorized representative. For the purposes 7 of this [Rule,] Section, an "authorized representative" shall mean a person who is legally authorized or designated in 8 writing by the resident to act on his or her behalf in the management of their funds. The administrator and other staff 9 of the home facility shall not serve as a resident's legal [authorized] representative, payee, or executor of a will, except 10 as indicated in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 11 (b) The administrator and other staff of the home facility shall not serve as a resident's authorized representative, 12 payee, or executor of a will except in In the case of funds administered by the Social Security Administration, the 13 Veteran's Administration or other federal government <mark>agencies, the</mark> <u>agencies. The</u> administrator of the <del>home</del> <u>facility</u> 14 may serve as a payee when so authorized as a legally constituted authority by the respective federal agencies. 15 (c) The administrator shall give the resident's legal authorized representative or payee receipts for any monies received 16 on behalf of the resident. 17 18 Authority G.S. 35A-1203; 108A-37; 131D-2.16; 143B-165; History Note: 19 Eff. July 1, 2005; 20 Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 21 <del>2018.</del> <u>2018;</u> Amended Eff. [January 1, 2024.] June 1, 2024. 22

10A NCAC 13F .1104 is proposed for amendment as follows:

1 2 3

#### 10A NCAC 13F .1104 ACCOUNTING FOR RESIDENT'S PERSONAL FUNDS

- (a) To document a resident's receipt of the State-County Special Assistance personal needs allowance after payment 4
- 5 of the cost of care, a statement shall be signed by the resident or marked by the resident with two witnesses' signatures.
- 6 resident. If the statement is marked by the resident, there shall be one witness signature. For residents who have been
- 7 adjudicated incompetent, the signature of the resident's authorized representative shall be required. Witnesses cannot
- 8 include the staff handling the residents' personal funds transactions. The statement shall be maintained in the home.
- 9 facility.

12

- 10 (b) Upon the written authorization of the resident or his legal representative or payee, [their authorized representative,]
- 11 an administrator or the administrator's designee may handle the personal money for a resident, provided an accurate
- accounting of monies received and disbursed and the balance on hand is available upon request of the resident or his
- 13 legal representative or payee. [their authorized representative during the facility's established business days and
- 14 hours.] No employee of a facility shall handle the personal funds for a resident, except for the facility administrator
- 15 or the administrator's designee after having received prior written authorization from the resident or the resident's
- authorized representative. The facility administrator or their designee shall maintain an accurate account balance and 16
- 17 accounting of all funds received, disbursements, and the balance on hand which shall be available upon request to the
- 18 resident or their authorized representative during the facility's regular business office hours.
- (c) A record of each transaction involving the use of the resident's personal funds according to Paragraph (b) of this 19
- 20 Rule shall be signed by the resident, legal representative or payee [the resident or the resident's authorized]
- 21 representative,] or marked by the resident, if not adjudicated incompetent, with two witnesses' signatures [resident,]
- 22 at least monthly verifying the accuracy of the disbursement of personal funds. [If marked by the resident, there shall
- 23 be one witness signature. For residents who have been adjudicated incompetent, the facility shall provide the resident's
- 24 authorized representative with a copy of the monthly resident's funds statement and shall obtain verification of receipt.
- 25 The record records shall be maintained in the home. facility.] The facility shall provide each resident or the resident's
- 26 authorized representative a written monthly accounting of the resident's funds handled by the administrator or the
- 27 administrator's designee. The facility shall maintain at the facility a record signed by the resident or their authorized
- 28 representative indicating whether the resident or their authorized representative agrees that the monthly accounting is
- 29 accurate. The records shall be maintained by the facility for at least one year.
- 30 (d) A resident's personal funds shall not be commingled with facility funds. The facility shall not commingle the
- 31 personal funds of residents in an interest-bearing account.
- 32 (e) All or any portion of a resident's personal funds shall be available to the resident or his legal representative or
- 33 payee their authorized representative upon request during regular office hours, the facility's established business days
- 34 and hours except as provided in Rule .1105 of this Subchapter. Section.
- 35 (f) The resident's personal needs allowance shall be credited to the resident' resident's account within 24 hours of the
- 36 cheek being deposited following endorsement. one business day of the funds being available in the facility's resident
- 37 personal funds account.

| 1 |               |  |
|---|---------------|--|
| 2 | History Note: | Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165;  |
| 3 |               | Eff. July 1, 2005;   |
| 4 |               | Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6, |
| 5 |               | <del>2018.</del> <u>2018:</u>  |
| 6 |               | Amended Eff. [January 1, 2024.]  |

10A NCAC 13F .1106 is proposed for readoption without substantive changes as follows:

### 10A NCAC 13F .1106 SETTLEMENT OF COST OF CARE

- (a) If a resident of an adult care home, after being has been notified by the facility of its intent to discharge the resident in accordance with Rule .0702 of this Subchapter, moves out of the facility before the period of time specified in the notice has elapsed, the facility shall refund the resident an amount equal to the cost of care for the remainder of the month minus the amount charged for any nights spent in the facility during the notice period. The refund shall be made within 14 days after the resident leaves the facility. For the purposes of this Rule, "cost of care" means any monies paid by the resident or the resident's legal representative in advance for room and board and services provided by the facility as agreed upon in the resident's contract.
- (b) If When a resident moves out of the facility without giving notice, as may be required by the facility according to Rule .0702(h) .0702(i) of this Subchapter, or before the facility's required notice period has elapsed, the resident owes the facility and the facility shall charge the resident no more than the amount equal to the cost of care for the required notice period. If a resident receiving State-County Special Assistance moves before the facility's required notice period has elapsed, the former facility is entitled to may charge to the resident for the required payment for the notice period before the new facility receives any payment. period. The facility shall refund the resident the remainder of any advance payment following settlement of the cost of care. The refund shall be made within 14 days from the date of notice or, if no notice is given, within 14 days after the resident leaves the facility.
- (c) When there is an exception to the notice, notice as provided in Rule .0702(h) .0702(i) of this Subchapter, to protect the health or safety of the resident or others in the facility, or when there is a sudden, unexpected closure of the facility that requires the resident to relocate, the resident is only required to pay the facility shall only charge the resident for any nights spent in the facility. A refund shall be made to the resident by the facility within 14 days from the date of notice.
- (d) When a resident gives notice of leaving the facility, as may be required by the facility according to Rule :0702(h) .0702(i) of this Subchapter, and leaves at the end of the notice period, the facility shall refund the resident the remainder of any advance payment within 14 days from the date of notice. If notice is not required by the facility, the refund shall be made within 14 days after the resident leaves the facility.
- (e) When a resident leaves the facility and the resident or his or her responsible person has notified the facility of with the intent of returning to it, the following apply:
  - (1) The facility may reserve the resident's If the resident or their responsible party reserves their bed for a set number of days with days, the facility shall have a written agreement of the facility and the resident or his [or her] responsible person and thereby require for the payment for the days the bed is held. held in accordance with Rule .0704(1)(A) of this Subchapter.
  - (2) If, after leaving the facility, the resident decides not to return to it, the resident or someone acting on his or her behalf may be required by the facility shall require no more than to provide up to a 14-day written notice that he or she is not returning.

10 1 of 2

| 1  | (3)               | If the facility requires a 14-day written notice, the requirement Requirement of a notice, if it is to be |
|----|-------------------|---|
| 2  |                   | applied by the facility, shall be a part of the written agreement and explained by the facility to the    |
| 3  |                   | resident and his or her family or responsible person before signing.                                      |
| 4  | (4)               | On notice by the When a resident or someone acting on his or her behalf notifies the facility that he     |
| 5  |                   | or she will not be returning to the facility, the facility shall refund the remainder of any advance      |
| 6  |                   | payment to the resident or his or her responsible person, person. The refund shall include the minus      |
| 7  |                   | amount equal to the cost of care for the period covered by the agreement. The refund shall be             |
| 8  |                   | made within 14 days after notification that the resident will not be returning to the facility.           |
| 9  | (5)               | The facility In no situation involving a recipient of State County Special Assistance may a facility      |
| 10 |                   | shall not require payment from a resident that receives State County Special Assistance for more          |
| 11 |                   | than 30 days since State County Special Assistance is not authorized unless the resident is actually      |
| 12 |                   | residing in the facility or it is anticipated that he or she will return to the facility within 30 days.  |
| 13 | (6)               | Exceptions to the two weeks' 14-day notice, if required by the facility, are cases where returning to     |
| 14 |                   | the facility would jeopardize the health or safety of the resident or others in the facility as certified |
| 15 |                   | by the resident's physician or approved by the county department of social services, and in the case      |
| 16 |                   | of the resident's death. In these cases, the facility shall provide a refund the rest of any advance      |
| 17 |                   | payment calculated beginning with the day the facility is notified. The facility shall provide the        |
| 18 |                   | refund to the authorized representative with 14 days after the resident leaves the facility or within     |
| 19 |                   | 30 days after the resident's death.   |
| 20 | (f) If a resident | dies, the administrator of his or her estate or the Clerk of Superior Court, when no administrator for    |
| 21 | his or her estate | has been appointed, shall be given a refund equal to the cost of care for the month minus any nights      |
| 22 | spent in the faci | lity during the month. This is to be done within 30 days after the resident's death.                      |
| 23 |                   |   |
| 24 | History Note:     | Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-165;   |
| 25 |                   | Eff. July 1, <del>2005.</del> <u>2005:</u>  |
| 26 |                   | <u>Readopted Eff. [<del>January 1, 2024.</del></u> ] <u>June 1, 2024.</u>                                 |

| 1  | 10A NCAC 13G .0702 is proposed for readoption with substantive changes as follows:                                     |
|----|--|
| 2  |  |
| 3  | 10A NCAC 13G .0702 TUBERCULOSIS TEST AND MEDICAL EXAMINATION EXAMINATION, AND  |
| 4  | <u>IMMUNIZATIONS</u>   |
| 5  | (a) Upon admission to a family care home each resident shall be tested for tuberculosis disease in compliance with     |
| 6  | the control measures adopted by the Commission for Public Health as specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0205 including          |
| 7  | subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of the rule are available at no charge by contacting the Department of      |
| 8  | Health and Human Services, Tuberculosis Control Program, 1902 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina             |
| 9  | <del>27699-1902.</del>   |
| 10 | (b) Each resident shall have a medical examination completed by a licensed physician or physician extender prior to    |
| 11 | admission to the home and annually thereafter. For the purposes of this Rule, "physician extender" means a licensed    |
| 12 | physician assistant or licensed nurse practitioner. The medical examination completed prior to admission shall be used |
| 13 | by the facility to determine if the facility can meet the needs of the resident.                                       |
| 14 | (c) The results of the complete examination are to be entered on the FL 2, North Carolina Medicaid Program Long        |
| 15 | Term Care Services, or MR 2, North Carolina Medicaid Program Mental Retardation Services, which shall comply           |
| 16 | with the following:  |
| 17 | (1) The examining date recorded on the FL 2 or MR 2 shall be no more than 90 days prior to the person's                |
| 18 | admission to the home.   |
| 19 | (2) The FL 2 or MR 2 shall be in the facility before admission or accompany the resident upon                          |
| 20 | admission and be reviewed by the administrator or supervisor in charge before admission except                         |
| 21 | for emergency admissions.  |
| 22 | (3) In the case of an emergency admission, the medical examination and completion of the FL 2 or MR                    |
| 23 | 2 shall be within 72 hours of admission as long as current medication and treatment orders are                         |
| 24 | available upon admission or there has been an emergency medical evaluation, including any orders                       |
| 25 | for medications and treatments, upon admission.  |
| 26 | (4) If the information on the FL 2 or MR 2 is not clear or is insufficient, the administrator or                       |
| 27 | supervisor in charge shall contact the physician for clarification in order to determine if the services               |
| 28 | of the facility can meet the individual's needs.   |
| 29 | (5) The completed FL 2 or MR 2 shall be filed in the resident's record in the home.                                    |
| 30 | (6) If a resident has been hospitalized, the facility shall have a completed FL 2 or MR 2 or a transfer                |
| 31 | form or discharge summary with signed prescribing practitioner orders upon the resident's return to                    |
| 32 | the facility from the hospital.  |
| 33 | The medical examination shall be completed no more than 90 days prior to the resident's admission to the facility.     |
| 34 | except in the case of emergency admission.   |
| 35 | (d) In the case of an unplanned, emergency admission, the medical examination of the resident shall be conducted       |
| 36 | within 72 hours after admission. Prior to an emergency admission, the facility shall obtain current medication and     |
| 37 | treatment orders from a licensed physician or physician extender.  |

12 1 of 3

| I  | ~ ,  | of the medical examination required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be documented on the North           |
|----|--|--|
| 2  |  | aid Adult Care Home FL-2 form which is available at no cost on the Department's Medicaid website             |
| 3  | at https://medic                                     | aid.ncdhhs.gov/media/6549/open. The Adult Care Home FL-2 shall be signed and dated by the                    |
| 4  | physician or ph                                      | ysician extender completing the medical examination. The medical examination shall include the               |
| 5  | <u>following:</u>                                    |  |
| 6  | <u>(1)</u>   | resident's identification information, including the resident's name, date of birth, sex, admission          |
| 7  |  | date, county and Medicaid number, current facility and address, physician's name and address, a              |
| 8  |  | relative's name and address, current level of care, and recommended level of care;                           |
| 9  | (2)  | resident's admitting diagnoses, including primary and secondary diagnoses and dates of onset;                |
| 10 | <u>(3)</u>   | resident's current medical information, including orientation, behaviors, personal care assistance           |
| 11 |  | needs, frequency of physician visits, ambulatory status, functional limitations, information related         |
| 12 |  | to activities and social needs, neurological status, bowel and bladder functioning status, manner of         |
| 13 |  | communication of needs, skin condition, respiratory status, and nutritional status including orders          |
| 14 |  | for therapeutic diets;   |
| 15 | <u>(4)</u>   | special care factors, including physician orders for blood pressure, diabetic urine testing, physical        |
| 16 |  | therapy, range of motion exercises, a bowel and bladder program, a restorative feeding program,              |
| 17 |  | speech therapy, and restraints;  |
| 18 | <u>(5)</u>   | resident's medications, including the name, strength, dosage, frequency and route of administration          |
| 19 |  | of each medication;  |
| 20 | (6)  | results of x-rays or laboratory tests determined by the physician or physician extender to be                |
| 21 |  | necessary information related to the resident's care needs; and  |
| 22 | <u>(7)</u>   | additional information as determined by the physician or physician extender to be necessary for the          |
| 23 |  | care of the resident.  |
| 24 | (f) If the inform                                    | nation on the Adult Care Home FL-2 is not clear or is insufficient, or information provided to the           |
| 25 | facility related t                                   | to the resident's condition or medications after the completion of the medical examination conflicts         |
| 26 | with the inform                                      | ation provided on the Adult Care Home FL-2, the facility shall contact the physician or physician            |
| 27 | extender for cla                                     | rification in order to determine if the facility can meet the individual's needs.                            |
| 28 | (g) The results                                      | of the medical examination shall be maintained in the resident's record in accordance with Rule .1201        |
| 29 | of this Subchapt                                     | er. Discharge medication orders shall be clarified in accordance with Rule .1002(a) of this Subchapter.      |
| 30 | (h) Upon a resi                                      | dent's return to the facility from a hospitalization, the facility shall obtain and review the hospital      |
| 31 | discharge sumn                                       | nary or discharge instructions, including any discharge medication orders. If the facility identifies        |
| 32 | discrepancies be                                     | etween the discharge orders and current orders at the facility, the facility shall clarify the discrepancies |
| 33 | with the resident's physician or physician extender. |  |
| 34 | (d)(i) Each resid                                    | dent shall be immunized against pneumococcal disease and annually against influenza virus according          |
| 35 |  | except as otherwise indicated in this law.   |
| 36 | -  | hall make arrangements for any resident, who has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility within 12       |
| 37 |  | ntering the home and who does not have a current plan for psychiatric care, to be examined by a local        |

| 1  | <del>physician or a p</del>    | physician or a physician in a mental health center within 30 days after admission and to have a plan for psychiatric       |  |  |
|----|--------------------------------|--|--|--|
| 2  | follow up care when indicated. |  |  |  |
| 3  | (j) The facility s             | (j) The facility shall make arrangements for a resident to be evaluated by a licensed mental health professional, licensed |  |  |
| 4  | physician or lice              | ensed physician extender for follow-up psychiatric care within 30 days of admission or re-admission                        |  |  |
| 5  | to the facility w              | hen the resident:  |  |  |
| 6  | (1)                            | has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility within 12 months prior to admission to the facility and                    |  |  |
| 7  |                                | does not have a current plan for follow-up psychiatric care; or  |  |  |
| 8  | (2)                            | has been hospitalized due to threatening or violent behavior, suicidal ideation or self-harm, or other                     |  |  |
| 9  |                                | psychiatric symptoms that required hospitalization within 12 months prior to admission to the                              |  |  |
| 10 |                                | facility and does not have a current plan for follow-up psychiatric care.  |  |  |
| 11 |                                |  |  |  |
| 12 | History Note:                  | Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165;  |  |  |
| 13 |                                | Eff. January 1, 1977;  |  |  |
| 14 |                                | Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977;   |  |  |
| 15 |                                | Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; July 1, 1990; April 1, 1987; April 1, 1984;   |  |  |
| 16 |                                | Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003;  |  |  |
| 17 |                                | Amended Eff. June 1, <del>2004.</del> <u>2004:</u>   |  |  |
| 18 |                                | <u>Readopted Eff. [<del>January 1, 2024</del>.</u> ] <u>June 1, 2024.</u>  |  |  |

14 3 of 3

| 1  | 10A NCAC 13G .0703 is proposed for repeal through readoption as follows:                 |            |
|----|--|------------|
| 2  |  |            |
| 3  | 10A NCAC 13G .0703 RESIDENT REGISTER   |            |
| 4  |  |            |
| 5  | History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165;  |            |
| 6  | Eff. January 1, 1977;  |            |
| 7  | Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977;   |            |
| 8  | Amended Eff. July 1, 1990; April 1, 1987; April 1, 1984;                                 |            |
| 9  | Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2004;   |            |
| 10 | Amended Eff. April 1, 2022; July 1, <del>2005.</del> <u>2005;</u>                        |            |
| 11 | <u>Repealed Eff. January 1, 2024.</u> [ <del>January 1, 2024</del> .] <u>June 1, 20.</u> | <u>24.</u> |

10A NCAC 13G .0704 is proposed for readoption with substantive changes as follows:

# 10A NCAC 13G .0704 RESIDENT CONTRACT AND INFORMATION ON HOME CONTRACT, INFORMATION ON FACILITY, AND RESIDENT REGISTER

- (a) The administrator or supervisor-in-charge shall furnish and review with the resident or his responsible person-the resident's authorized representative as defined in Rule .1103 of this Subchapter information on the family care home facility upon admission and when changes are made to that information. The facility shall involve the resident in the review of the resident contract and information on the facility unless the resident is cognitively unable to participate in the discussion. A statement indicating that this information has been received upon admission or amendment as required by this Rule shall be signed and dated by each person to whom it is given. This statement shall be retained in the resident's record in the home. facility. The information shall include: [include: consist of the following:
  - (1) a copy of the home's resident contract specifying rates for resident services and accommodations, including the cost of different levels of service, if applicable, any other charges or fees, and any health needs or conditions the home has determined it cannot meet pursuant to G.S. 131D 2(a1)(4).

    In addition, the following applies: the resident contract to which the following applies:
    - (A) the contract shall specify charges for resident services and accommodations, including the cost of different levels of service, description of levels of care and services, and any other charges or fees;
    - (B) the contract shall disclose any health needs or conditions that the facility has determined it cannot meet;
    - (a)(C) The the contract shall be signed and dated by the administrator or supervisor-in-charge and the resident or his responsible person the resident's authorized representative and a copy given to the resident or his responsible person; the resident's authorized representative and a copy kept in the resident's record;
    - (b)(D) The the resident or his responsible person the resident's authorized representative shall be notified as soon as any change is known, but not less than 30 days for rate changes initiated by the home, of any rate changes or other changes in the contract affecting the resident services and accommodations given a written 30-day notice prior to any change in charges for resident services and accommodations, including the cost of different levels of service, description of level of care and services, and any other charges or fees, and be provided an amended copy of the contract for review and signature; confirmation of receipt;
    - (c) A copy of each signed contract shall be kept in the resident's record in the home;
    - (d)(E) Gratuities gratuities in addition to the established rates shall not be accepted; and
    - (e)(F) The maximum monthly rate that may be charged to Special Assistance recipients is as established by the North Carolina Social Services Commission and the North Carolina General Assembly;

16 1 of 3

| 1  |                   | Note: Facilities may accept payments for room and board from a third party, such as family               |
|----|-------------------|--|
| 2  |                   | member, charity or faith community, if the payment is made voluntarily to supplement the                 |
| 3  |                   | cost of room and board for the added benefit of a private room.  |
| 4  | (2)               | a written copy of any house rules, including the conditions for the discharge and transfer of residents, |
| 5  |                   | the refund policies, and the home's facility's policies on smoking, alcohol consumption and              |
| 6  |                   | visitation consumption, visitation, refunds, and the requirements for discharge of residents             |
| 7  |                   | consistent with the rules in this Subchapter and amendments disclosing any changes in the house          |
| 8  |                   | rules; rules. The house rules shall be in compliance with G.S. 131D-21;                                  |
| 9  | (3)               | a copy of the Declaration of Residents' Rights as found in G.S. 131D-21;                                 |
| 10 | (4)               | a copy of the home's facility's grievance procedures which that shall indicate how the resident is to    |
| 11 |                   | present complaints and make suggestions as to the home's facility's policies and services on behalf      |
| 12 |                   | of self or others; and   |
| 13 | (5)               | a statement as to whether the home facility has signed Form DSS-1464, Statement of Assurance of          |
| 14 |                   | Compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 for Other Agencies, Institutions,               |
| 15 |                   | Organizations or Facilities, and which shall also indicate that if the home facility does not choose     |
| 16 |                   | to comply or is found to be in non compliance non-compliant the residents of the home facility           |
| 17 |                   | would not be able to receive State-County Special Assistance for Adults and the home facility would      |
| 18 |                   | not receive supportive services from the county department of social services.                           |
| 19 | (b) A family c    | are home's administrator or supervisor-in-charge and the resident or the resident's responsible person   |
| 20 | shall complete    | and sign the Resident Register initial assessment within 72 hours of the resident's admission to the     |
| 21 | facility in accor | rdance with G.S. 131D-2.15. The facility shall involve the resident in the completion of the Resident    |
| 22 | Register unless   | the resident is cognitively unable to participate. The Resident Register shall [include] consist of the  |
| 23 | following:        |  |
| 24 | (1)               | resident's identification information including the resident's name, date of birth, sex, admission       |
| 25 |                   | date, medical insurance, family and emergency contacts, advanced directives, and physician's name        |
| 26 |                   | and address;   |
| 27 | (2)               | resident's current care needs including activities of daily living and services, use of assistive aids,  |
| 28 |                   | orientation status;  |
| 29 | (3)               | resident's preferences including personal habits, food preferences and allergies, community              |
| 30 |                   | involvement, and activity interests;   |
| 31 | <u>(4)</u>        | resident's consent and request for assistance including the release of information, personal funds       |
| 32 |                   | management, personal lockable space, discharge information, and assistance with personal mail;           |
| 33 | (5)               | name of the individual identified by the resident who is to receive a copy of the notice of discharge    |
| 34 |                   | per G.S. 131D-4.8; and   |
| 35 | <u>(6)</u>        | resident's consent including a signature confirming the review and receipt of information contained      |
| 36 |                   | in the form.   |

1 The Resident Register is available on the internet website, https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/resregister.pdf, at no 2 charge. The facility may use a resident information form other than the Resident Register as long as it contains same 3 information as the Resident Register. Information on the Resident Register shall be kept updated and maintained in 4 the resident's record. 5 6 History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 7 Eff. April 1, 1984; 8 Amended Eff; July 1, 1990; April 1, 1987; 9 Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2004;

Amended Eff. July 1, <del>2005.</del> 2005;

Readopted Eff. [January 1, 2024.] June 1, 2024.

18 3 of 3

10

11

1 10A NCAC 13G .1102 is proposed for readoption with substantive changes as follows: 2 3 10A NCAC 13G .1102 **LEGAL AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE OR PAYEE** 4 (a) In situations where the facility determines a resident of a family care home is unable to manage his funds, their 5 monetary funds the administrator shall contact a family member, responsible person, or the county department of 6 social services regarding the need for a legal representative or payee. authorized representative. For the purposes of 7 this [Rule,] Section, an "authorized representative" shall mean a person who is legally authorized or designated in 8 writing by the resident to act on his or her behalf in the management of their funds. The administrator and other staff of the home [facility] shall not serve as a resident's legal [authorized] representative, payee, or executor of a will, 9 10 except as indicated in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 11 (b) The administrator and other staff of the facility shall not serve as a resident's authorized representative, payee, or 12 executor of a will, except in In the case of funds administered by the Social Security Administration, the Veteran's 13 Administration or other federal government agencies, the agencies. The administrator of the home facility may serve 14 as a payee when so authorized as a legally constituted authority by the respective federal agencies. 15 (c) The administrator shall give the resident's legal authorized representative or payee receipts for any monies received 16 on behalf of the resident. 17 18 Authority G.S. 35A-1203; 108A-37; 131D-2.16; 143B-165; History Note: 19 Eff. January 1, 1977; 20 Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 21 Amended Eff. July 1, 2005; April 1, 1984. 1984; 22 Readopted Eff. [January 1, 2024.] June 1, 2024.

10A NCAC 13G .1103 is proposed for readoption with substantive changes as follows:

1 2 3

### 10A NCAC 13G .1103 ACCOUNTING FOR RESIDENT'S PERSONAL FUNDS

- 4 (a) To document a resident's receipt of the State-County Special Assistance personal needs allowance after payment
- of the cost of care, a statement shall be signed by the resident or marked by the resident with two witnesses' signatures.
- 6 resident. If the statement is marked by the resident, there shall be one witness signature. For residents who have been
- 7 adjudicated incompetent, the signature of the resident's authorized representative shall be required. Witnesses cannot
- 8 include the staff handling the residents' personal funds transactions. The statement shall be maintained in the home.
- 9 <u>facility</u>.
- 10 (b) Upon the written authorization of the resident or his legal representative or payee, [their authorized representative,]
- 11 an administrator or the administrator's designee may handle the personal money for a resident, provided an accurate
- 12 accounting of monies received and disbursed and the balance on hand is available upon request of the resident or his
- 13 legal representative or payee. [their authorized representative during the facility's established business days and
- 14 hours.] No employee of a facility shall handle the personal funds for a resident, except for the facility administrator
- or the administrator's designee after having received prior written authorization from the resident or the resident's
- 16 <u>authorized representative. The facility administrator or their designee shall maintain an accurate account balance and</u>
- 17 accounting of all funds received, disbursements, and the balance on hand which shall be available upon request to the
- 18 resident or their authorized representative during the facility's regular business office hours.
- 19 (c) A record of each transaction involving the use of the resident's personal funds according to Paragraph (b) of this
- 20 Rule shall be signed by the resident, legal representative or payee the resident or the resident's authorized
- 21 representative, or marked by the resident, if not adjudicated incompetent, with two witnesses' signatures [resident,]
- 22 at least monthly verifying the accuracy of the disbursement of personal funds. [If marked by the resident, there shall
- 23 be one witness signature. For residents who have been adjudicated incompetent, the facility shall provide the resident's
- 24 authorized representative with a copy of the monthly resident's funds statement and shall obtain verification of receipt.
- 25 The record records shall be maintained in the home, facility.] The facility shall provide each resident or the resident's
- 26 <u>authorized representative a written monthly accounting of the resident's funds handled by the administrator or the</u>
- administrator's designee. The facility shall maintain at the facility a record signed by the resident or their authorized
- 28 representative indicating whether the resident or their authorized representative agrees that the monthly accounting is
- 29 accurate. The records shall be maintained by the facility for at least one year.
- 30 (d) A resident's personal funds shall not be commingled with facility funds. The facility shall not commingle the
- 31 personal funds of residents in an interest-bearing account.
- 32 (e) All or any portion of a resident's personal funds shall be available to the resident or his legal their authorized
- 33 representative or payee upon request during regular office hours, the facility's established business days and hours
- except as provided in Rule .1105 of this Subchapter.
- 35 (f) The resident's personal needs allowance shall be credited to the resident's account within 24 hours of the check
- 36 being deposited following endorsement. one business day of the funds being available in the facility's resident personal
- 37 funds account.

20

1
2 History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165;
3 Eff. April 1, 1984;
4 Amended Eff. July 1, 2005; April 1, <del>1987.</del> 1987;
5 Readopted Eff. [<del>January 1, 2024.</del>] June 1, 2024.

10A NCAC 13G .1106 is proposed for readoption without substantive changes as follows:

1 2 3

### 10A NCAC 13G .1106 SETTLEMENT OF COST OF CARE

- 4 (a) If a resident of a family care home, after being has been notified by the home facility of its intent to discharge the resident in accordance with Rule .0705 of this Subchapter, moves out of the home before the period of time specified in the notice has elapsed, the home facility shall refund the resident an amount equal to the cost of care for the
- 7 remainder of the month minus the amount charged for any nights spent in the home facility during the notice period.
- 8 The refund shall be made within 14 days after the resident leaves the home. facility. For the purposes of this Rule,
- 9 "cost of care" means any monies paid by the resident or the resident's legal representative in advance for room and
- 10 <u>board and services provided by facility as agreed upon in the resident's contract.</u>
- 11 (b) If-When a resident moves out of the home facility without giving notice, as may be required by the home facility
- according to Rule <u>.0705(h)</u> <u>.0705(i)</u> of this Subchapter, or before the home's facility's required notice period has
- elapsed, the resident owes the home the facility shall charge the resident no more than the an amount equal to the cost
- of care for the required notice period. If a resident receiving State-County Special Assistance moves without giving
- notice or before the notice period has elapsed, the former home facility is entitled to may charge the resident for the
- required payment for the notice period before the new home [facility] receives any payment, period. The home facility
- shall refund the resident the remainder of any advance payment following settlement of the cost of care. The refund
- shall be made within 14 days from the date of notice or, if no notice is given, within 14 days of the resident leaving
- 19 the home. facility.

31

32

- 20 (c) When there is an exception to the notice as provided in Rule .0705(h) .0705(i) of this Subchapter to protect the
- 21 health or safety of the resident or others in the home, facility, or when there is a sudden, unexpected closure of the
- 22 facility that requires the resident to relocate, the resident is only required to pay the facility shall only charge the
- 23 resident for any nights spent in the home. facility. A refund shall be made to the resident by the home facility within
- 24 14 days from the date of notice.
- 25 (d) When a resident gives notice of leaving the home, <u>facility</u>, as may be required by the home <u>facility</u> according to
- Rule .0705(h) .0705(i) of this Subchapter, and leaves at the end of the notice period, the home facility shall refund the
- 27 resident the remainder of any advance payment within 14 days from the date of notice. If notice is not required by the
- 28 home, facility, the refund shall be made within 14 days after the resident leaves the home. facility.
- 29 (e) When a resident leaves the home facility and the resident or his or her responsible person has notified the facility
- 30 of with the intent of returning to it, the following apply:
  - (1) The home [facility] may reserve the resident's If the resident or their responsible party reserves their bed for a set number of days with days, the facility shall have written agreement of the home
- [facility] and the resident or his [or her] responsible person and thereby require for the payment for
- the days the bed is held in accordance with Rule .0704(1)(A) of this Subchapter.
- 35 (2) If, after leaving the home, facility, the resident decides not to return to it, the resident or someone
- 36 <u>acting on his or her behalf may be required by</u> the home facility shall require no more than to provide
- 37 up to a 14-day written notice that he or she is not returning.

22 1 of 2

| 1  | (3)                      | If the facility requires a 14-day written notice, the requirement Requirement of a notice, if it is to be   |
|----|--------------------------|---|
| 2  |                          | applied by the home, [facility,] shall be a part of the written agreement and explained by the home         |
| 3  |                          | facility to the resident and his or her family or responsible person before signing.                        |
| 4  | (4)                      | On notice by the When a resident or someone acting on his or her behalf notifies the facility that he       |
| 5  |                          | or she will not be returning to the home, facility, the home facility shall refund the remainder of any     |
| 6  |                          | advance payment to the resident or his or her responsible person, person. The refund shall include          |
| 7  |                          | the minus an amount equal to the cost of care for the period covered by the agreement. The refund           |
| 8  |                          | shall be made within 14 days after notification that the resident will not be returning to the home.        |
| 9  |                          | facility.   |
| 10 | (5)                      | The facility In no situation involving a recipient of State County Special Assistance may shall not         |
| 11 |                          | a home [facility] require payment from a resident that receives State County Special Assistance for         |
| 12 |                          | more than 30 days since State County Special Assistance is not authorized unless the resident is            |
| 13 |                          | actually residing in the home facility or it is anticipated that he or she will return to the home facility |
| 14 |                          | within 30 days.   |
| 15 | (6)                      | Exceptions to the two weeks' 14-day notice, if required by the home, facility, are cases where              |
| 16 |                          | returning to the home facility would jeopardize the health or safety of the resident or others in the       |
| 17 |                          | home facility as certified by the resident's physician or approved by the county department of social       |
| 18 |                          | services, and in the case of the resident's death. In these cases, the home facility shall provide a        |
| 19 |                          | refund of any advance payment calculated beginning with the day the home facility is notified. The          |
| 20 |                          | facility shall provide the refund to the authorized representative with 14 days after the resident leaves   |
| 21 |                          | the facility or within 30 days after the resident's death.  |
| 22 | (f) If a resident        | t dies, the administrator of his or her estate or the Clerk of Superior Court, when no administrator for    |
| 23 | his <u>or her</u> estate | has been appointed, shall be given a refund equal to the cost of care for the month minus any nights        |
| 24 | spent in the hon         | ne-facility during the month. This is to be done within 30 days after the resident's death.                 |
| 25 |                          |   |
| 26 | History Note:            | Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-165;   |
| 27 |                          | Eff. January 1, 1977;   |
| 28 |                          | Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977;  |
| 29 |                          | Amended Eff. July 1, 1990; June 1, 1987; April 1, 1984;   |
| 30 |                          | Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2001;   |
| 31 |                          | Temporary Amendment Expired October 13, 2001;   |
| 32 |                          | Amended Eff. July 1, <del>2005.</del> <u>2005;</u>  |
| 33 |                          | <u>Readopted Eff. [<del>January 1, 2024.</del>]</u> <u>June 1, 2024.</u>                                    |

33